Opposition Brief — Norris v. Orndorff

Supreme Court brief1994

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

[IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED

STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1993

LARI NORRIS, Interi Directo!

Arkansas Department of Correcti

PETITIONER

MICHAEL RAY ORNDORFF

RESPONDENT

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI

NITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

[TO THE UD

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENT

IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR

WRIT OF CERTIORARI

MICHAEL RAY ORNDORFF, Responden

BY: Kenneth Breckenridge

534 Ouachita Avenue

Hot Springs, Arkansas 7190

(501) 623-7500

AR BAR NO. 84015

Attorney for Respondent

1

A

1

NO.93-1012

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1993

LARRY NORRIS, Interim Director

Arkansas Department of Correction

PETITIONER

Vv.

MICHAEL RAY ORNDORFF

RESPONDENT

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENT

[IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR

WRIT OF CERTIORARI

MICHAEL RAY ORNDORFF, Respondent

BY: Kenneth Breckenridge

534 Ouachita Avenue

Hot Springs, Arkansas 71901

(501) 623-7500

AR BAR NO. 84015

Attorney for Respondent

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

WHETHER THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS' DETERMINATION THAT

AFTER BRECHT, THE CHAPMAN HARMLESS ERROR STANDARD STILL BE APPLIED

IN A HABEAS CASE, IS ERROR?

PARTIES

The parties to this proceeding are Larry Norris, Interim

Director, Arkansas Department of Correction, Petitioner, and

Michael Ray Orndorff, an inmate on death row in the Arkansas

Department of Correction, Respondent. Respondent files this

response to petition for writ of certiorari to the United States

Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

i i Ces CC h6eeedesevreeecetccecéceeccecececéene iv

tt CCT e Seo e a web E.6 66 6666 6666 6eecccceeccececcceacun v-vi

CCC eC eh we webb 6660600 Cease ce reecécecccetecekceensae vii

i ne 6 oss es eee ecenewnesceteeeeéentunen vii

Pt Mr Me cc ns eeeeeeescoecetececeveceecesos viii-ix

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

THE COURT OF APPEALS' DETERMINATION THAT

AFTER BRECHT THE CHAPMAN HARMLESS ERROR

STANDARD STILL APPLIED TO THIS HABEAS CASE,

Dt Pee SeCCRRAUOE HOES ONU UU 0666606060 60s6eeers 1-9

De CSecC ch een ene ee ew 68 ON 06 6666665 0-0 60 ceccecerecéeceres 10

APPENDIX A: Eighth Circuit Opinion,

ts Sete hn ewe ehaebeb ene ee esecceecececeecscech A-1

APPENDIX B: Eighth Circuit Order,

i a) eh eh oe en db e660 0.0 e666 066 066 46% 6b be we B-1

APPENDIX C: United States District Court Opinion,

i ee ete ee ee eek ae ke ene ek dae eee ous 6 bbb hx C-]

APPENDIX D: Arkansas Supreme Court Opinion,

ih nee eee Cees ee be Ube 6460 66 600k e 66 6660 cerewenci pI

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

“ASES PAGE

.)

a

i

Ct)

oF

nD

Chapman v. California, 386 U.S. 18 BPO Ee pecccvccccce cds oebs bebe?

Kotteakos v. United States, 328 U.S. 750 [eeebedeebeececeeawvacan

Orndorff v. Lockhart, 707 F.Supp. 1062 (E. D. Ark. 1988).......2

Orndorff v. Lockhart, 906 F.2d 1230 Sth Cir

denied, 111 S.Ct. 1338 SPW RN 66 06 66666608660 O bbb bebe CdaRaweennel

7.

S

WO

ty

+

A

Orndorff v. Lockhart, 998 F.2d 142

e.

co

ct

~~

~

|

—_

ve

-<

A

N

Rock v. Arkansas, 483 pe. a Bee ba 6 8668 8 bed 6 be oe obeeeceecnenu

United States v. Adams, 581 F.2d 193 7uenm Cif. i977

cert. denied, 439 U.S. 1006(1978 TEMVR RTS T Cee eee ee eee Te eee

: Yakes v. Evatt, 5( U.S. Lil -Ct. 1884, 114 L.Ed.2d

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Arkansas Supreme Court on Direct appeal is

contained in the appendix. The official citation to the opinion is

Clines v. State, 280 Ark. 77, 656 S.W.2d 684 (1993), cert. denied,

465 U.S. 1051 (1993).

The opinion of the Arkansas Supreme Court in the Case for

collateral relief pursuant to Arkansas State law is Clines v.

State, 282 Ark. 541, 669 S.W.2d 883 (1984); it is reproduced as

appendix "B" hereto.

The opinion of the Untied States District Court for the

Eastern District of Arkansas, by the Honorable Henry Woods, is

reproduced as appendix "C" hereto, and is reported as Orndorff v.

Lockhart, 707 F.Supp. 1062.

The opinion from with Certiorari is sought is from the United

States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit, and is reproduced

as appendix "D" hereto, and is reported as Orndorff v. Lockhart,

906 F.2d 1230 (8th Cir. 1990).

The opinion, after remand, of the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Arkansas, by the Honorable Henry Woods,

(denying petitioner relief), is reproduced as appendix "E" hereto.

The split opinion of the three judge panel of the United

States court of Appeals for the Eight Circuit (denying relief to

three of the four petitioners), is reproduced as appendix "F"

hereto.

The split opinion of the en banc United States Court of

Appeals for the Eight Circuit (affirming the denial of relief t

three of the four petitioners) is reproduced as appendix G

hereto. [t is from this decision that certiorari is s ught

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

Petitioner asserts that this Court has

jurisdiction to review this case pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

’

The Confrontation Clause of the Sixth Amendment to

states Constitution provides:

In all criminal prosecutions, the accused

shall enjoy the right....to be confronted with

the witnesses against him;...

vii

discretionary

the United

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Respondent, Michael Ray Orndorff, was convicted of capitol

murder for the killing of Donald Lehman and sentenced to death.

There were three other co-defendants convicted with him, Hoyt F.

Clines, James W. Holmes, and Darryl V. Richley, and they also

received the death penalty. The victim's daughter, Vickie Lehman,

who was an eyewitness to the murder, gave two statements to the

police shortly after the crime describing the events of that night.

The prosecution then had Vickie Lehman undergo hypnosis on two

separate occasions prior to trial to try and help her remember more

details about the crime and the killers. During the second

hypnosis the prosecution staged a reenactment of the crime. The

prosecution failed to tell the defense attorneys about the

hypnosis. This was discovered during the federal habeas

proceedings. The district court found that the prosecutor's

failure to inform the defense about the hypnosis was constitutional

error but found that it was harmless as to the guilt phase of the

bifurcated trial, but held that the error was not harmless as to

the penalty phase of the trial. Orndorff v. Lockhart, 707 F.Supp.

1062 (E.D. Ark. 1988). On appeal, the Eighth Circuit Court of

Appeals agreed that the error was harmless as to the guilt phase,

but remanded that case to reconsider the question regarding the

penalty phase. Orndorff v. Lockhart, 906 F.2d 1230 (8th Cir.

1990), cert. denied, 111 S.Ct. 1338 (1991). On remand, the

district court found the error was harmless beyond a reasonable

viii

doubt under Chapman v. California, 286 U.S. 18 (1967). On appeal,

the Eighth Circuit held that in spite of this Court's recent

decision in Brecht v. Abrahamson, 113 S.Ct. 1710 (1993), the

Standard to be applied was still the Chapman standard in this

habeas case.

The Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals reversed as to Respondent

Orndorff finding that the error was not harmless beyond a

reasoneble doubt. Orndorff v. Lockhart 988 F.2d 1426 (8th Cir.

1993). Petitioner seeks review of certiorari from that decision.

ix

REASCNS FOR DENYING THE WRIT OF CERTIORARI

THE COURT OF APPEALS DETERMINATION

THAT AFTER BRECHT THE CHAPMAN HARMLESS

ERROR STANDARD STILL APPLIED TO

THIS HABEAS CASE, IS CORRECT.

The Separate Respondent, Michael Orndorff, had raised a claim

of Vv

Olation of the Confrontation Clause in his original habeas

petition. The Respondent along with his three co-defendants were

convicted of capitol murder for the murder of Donald Lehman, during

the robbery of Lehman's home in Rogers, Arkansas. Vickie Lehman,

the victims daughter and Virginia Lehaan, the victim's wife, were

eyewitnesses to the incident. Vickie Lehman gave two statements to

the police after the incident. The first statement was given of

the night of the crime and the second statement was given four days

later. Vickie Lehman was then hypnotized on two separate

occasions, in an attempt to enhance her memory and to hopefuliy

discover more details about the crime. The first hypnosis was

conducted in the hypnotist's office in Rogers, Arkansas. The

second hypnosis was conducted immediately prior to the re-enactment

of the crime. The prosecuting attorney was present at the re

enactment of the crime. It is not argued that the defense was not

told about they had hypnosis until after the direct appeal was

filed with the Supreme Court of the State of Arkansas. Therefore,

this issue is not raised in state court.

The District Court found that the prosecutor's failure to

inform the defense about the hypnosis was a constitutional error

but that it was harmless beyond a reasonable doubt as to the guilt

phase of the bifurcated trial. However, it held that the error was

not harmless as to the penalty phase of the trial. Orndorff v.

Lockhart, 707 F.Supp 1062 (E.D. Ark. 1988). On appeal, the Eight

Circuit Court of Appeals agreed that the error was harmless beyond

a reasonable doubt as to the guilt phase, but remanded the case to

the district court to reconsider the question regarding the penalty

phase. Orndorff v. Lockhart, 906 F.2d 1230 (8th Cir. 1990), cert.

denied, 111 S. Ct. 1338 (1991). The Court of Appeals instructed

the District Court to conduct a comparison of Vickie Lehman's trial

testimony with the two statements given before her hypnosis in

order to determine if a confrontation clause violation occurred

and, if so, whether it was harmless beyond a reasonable doubt.

Orndorff v. Lockhart, 906 F.2d at 1232. After the parties had

filed briefs with the case, this court decided the case of Brecht

v. Abrahamson, 507 U.S.-, 113 S.Ct. 1710, 123 L.Ed.2d 353 (1993).

The Eighth Circuit Court then requested additional briefs regarding

the impact of Brecht on this case. After oral argument, the Eight

Circuit Court of Appeals held that because this Confrontation

Clause issue was not raised in state court, there had been no

harmless beyond a reasonable doubt analysis under Chapman v.

California, 386 U.S. 18 (1967), and therefore, this Court's

decision in Brecht would not apply. Orndorff v. Lockhart, 998 F.2d

1426, 1430 (8th Cir. 1993). The Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals

-2-

agreed that an analysis under Brecht would normally cover this

issue but not in the present case. The Eighth Circuit Court of

Appeals thus reversed its original denial of relief as to the

respondent Orndorff. Orndorff v. Lockhart, 998 F.2d at 1436.

The sole issue raised on this petition by the state is whether the

alleged constitutional violation, i.e. the State's failure to

disclose that one of its witnesses had been hypnotized, constituted

harmless error and which standard to apply. The Court recently

modified the standard to be applied for reviewing a constitutional

violation. It is correct that the Court has modified the standard

to be applied for reviewing a constitution violation for harmless

error. Brecht v. Abrahamson, 507 U.S. _—_s,- 113 S.Ct. 1710 (1993).

The new standard is "whether the error ‘had substantial and

injurious effect or influence in determining the jury's verdict.

The Eighth Circuit declined to apply the standard and instead to

apply the standard previously established in Chapman v. California,

386 U.S. 18 (1967).

Despite the petitioners contention, the Eighth Circuit Court

of Appeals was correct in its analysis of the facts of this case

when it stated:

The Brecht rule is based on the notion that because the

State courts can properly apply the Chapman harmless

error standard on direct review, the federal habeas

courts need only review those decisions under. the

Kotteakog harmless error standard. However, in the case

before us, thee state courts did not have the opportunity

to review the error at all and the federal habeas court

was the first court to review the constitutional error

under the Chapman harmless errors standard. As a result,

we find the rule announced in Brecht does not apply and

that the Chapman harmless error standard and is the

appropriate test in this case.

-3-

Orndorff, 988 F.2d at 1430.

The Court's finding in Brecht was based upon a number of

factors. First, state courts are qualified to perform the review

of constitutional errors under the harmless error analysis of

Chapman _v. California, 386 U.S. 181 (1967). Second, continued

review of a case by a federal court under the same standard of

review used by the state court is a threat to the state's

sovereignty over criminal matters, and ignores the state's interest

in the finality of their trial decisions. The basic philosophical

undermining of Brecht is that harm results from continued review of

the same issue under the same standard by state courts and then by

federal courts. Therefore, the Supreme Court determined that

different standard of review should be applied to habeas review of

state court decisions on constitutional trial errors.

However, the Court specifically validated Chapman, pointing

out that this review was a necessary component of the protection

against constitutional violations and was necessary to insure

proper review of constitutional errors. The Court stated:

State course are fully qualified to identify

constitutional error and evaluate its prejudicial effect

on the trial process under Chapman, and State courts

often occupy a superior vantage point from which it

evaluate the effect of trial error.

Brecht 61 L.W.at 4340.

Based upon the reasoning, the Court chose not to apply the

Chapman review to habeas cases, although it had specifically done

so previously in Yakes v. Evatt, 500 U.S. (1991), a case with the

Appellants relied upon in their prior brief.

-4-

The instant case involved a Confrontation Clause violation.

(The District Court also found a 14th Amendment Due Process clause

violation.) If these violations had been brought to the attention

of the Arkansas Supreme Court on direct appeal, that court would

have been obliged to perform a Chapman review, determining whether

the State had proven that the violation was harmless beyond a

reasonable doubt. However, the violation in this case was the

hypnosis of the main state witnesses, which violation was not

discovered until the habeas proceeding.

Brecht is distinguishable from the case at bar in that it does

not involve successive (or excessive) reviews under the Chapman

Standard. This is the first review of this issue by any court, and

it should be conducted under the Chapman standard, not under

Brecht.

The thrust of the Brecht decision is that the Chapman standard

of proof of harmless error beyond a reasonable doubt is an

important protection of the rights of defendants against

Constitutional trial errors. The Court merely pointed out that the

scate courts were in a position to properly review Constitutional

errors under Chapman standard. The harm of excessive reviews, a

threat to state sovereignty over criminal matters, and the State's

interest in the finality of its decisions are not present in this

case because the Arkansas Courts have never had the opportunity to

review this error.

In fact, the majority opinion concurrences and the dissents in

Brecht recognize the "notion that Chapman's harmless-error standard

-5-

is required to protect constitutional. rights." (White, J.,

dissenting, 61 L.W. at 434). The only issue, therefore, is whether

the Federal Court should also apply this standard.

Thus, Brecht is completely distinguishable from the case at

bar. Because there has never been a Chapman review by any court in

this case, it is required that one be done by this court, as it is

the only remaining forum available to the Appellants. Every

criminal defendant should be entitled to a Chapman review of

possible constitutional violations, which would have been given had

the issue been presented to the State Court.

Because of the importance of the Chapman review, if this court

finds that the fact that the State court did not perform the review

because the issue was not presented is insufficient to trigger an

exception to Brecht, then the additional fact that the issue was

not presented because of the State's conduct should create an

exception and trigger the Chapman review. This is not an argument

under Footnote 9 of Brecht because it is appellant's contention

that, due to the importance of the Chapman review, all that is

necessary to trigger this exception is that there was a

constitutional error which would have been presented to the State

Court for Chapman review and the State's conduct not precluded that

review.

The State court has not had the opportunity to review this

constitutional violation, solely because of the State's conduct.

To decline to apply the Chapman standard in this case would make

the standard of review applicable to constitutional violations

-6§-

dependant upon when the violation was discovered, and thus become

hostage to the State's actions. To refuse to conduct this review

under the Chapman standard would therefore reward the prosecutor

for his misconduct and would, in effect, encourage other

prosecutors to knowingly hide errors, since they would benefit by

hiding constitutional violations until the post-conviction stage.

The District Court, in its original 1988 Opinion, found that

the prosecutor's action was intentional, in that he know or should

have known that the hypnosis had to be disclosed. The District

Court also found that the prosecutor knowingly failed to disclosed

the hypnosis in response to interrogatories and in violation of

state law.

This court can never know what the State court's conclusion

may have been had the error been reviewed under the Chapman

Standard, since the prosecutor's nondisclosure circumvented this

safe guard in the system. Therefore, the State should not benefit

by having to meet a lessor standard of proof than the Chapman

standard because of its misconduct. To do so would allow the

prosecutors to dictate the standards of review by their disclosure

and benefit from nondisclosure.

This case falls under the exception noted in Footnote 9 of the

Brecht decision. The Supreme Court, in Brecht, stated in Footnote

Our holding does not foreclose the possibility that in an

unusual case, a deliberate and especially egregious error

of the trial type, or one that is combined with a pattern

of prosecutorial misconduct, might so infect the

integrity of the proceeding as to warrant the grant of

habeas relief, even it did not substantially influence

the jury's verdict.

-7-

This is exactly the sort of case that the exception was meant to

remedy.

It is undisputed that the prosecutor's error in this case was

deliberate. The prosecutor did not disclose the hypnosis, in

violation of Arkansas Rule of Criminal Procedure 17.1 and in

violation of a pre-trial court order (July 29, 1988, District Court

Opinion at 14). In addition, the prosecutor testified at the

habeas hearing that he had done legal research and located the case

of United States v. Adams, 581 F.2d 193 (9th Cir. 1977), cert.

denied, 439 U.S. 1006 (1978), which expressly states that the fact

the hypnosis has been undertaken must be disclosed. (July 29, 1998,

District court Opinion at 13).

The Prosecutor, in spite of this knowledge, decided not to

disclose the hypnosis.

The District Court's original Decision pointed out the harm of

hypnosis and the haphazard and the unprofessional manner in which

this hypnosis was conducted. (July 29, 1988, District Court

Opinion at 4-7) The error was the use of hypnosis in such an

unprofessional manner, and the resulting reliance up on the witness

by the prosecuting attorney and his arguments to the jury that they

Should rely on the "amazing recollection" of the hypnotized

witness. (July 29, 1988, District Court Opinion at 11) As the

District Court pointed out in its original decision, the action of

the Prosecutor and his conduct during the trial indicates that he

was intentionally misleading the jury as to the source of Vicki

Lehman's newly discovered memory, and misleading the jury and court

-§gs-

as to whether hypnosis had been conducted. (July 29, 1988, Opinion

at 8-12)

To apply the word "error" to the facts of this instant case is

a misnomer. It is not a constitutional error, but deliberate

violation of the Confrontation Clause.

A review of the Appellant's 1988 original brief, pages 1-1l1l,

sets out the basis for this claim. The scope of the misconduct can

be seen in the later case of Rock v. Arkansas, supra, where this

same prosecutor, who had hypnotised Vicki Lehman, objected to the

introduction of hypnotically enhanced testimony by the defendant,

Rock, during his prosecution. This prosecutor apparently discloses

evidence and applies the rules only when they enure to his benefit.

This violation infected the entire integrity of the

proceeding, as seen by the hypnotically enhanced statements of

Vickie Lehman, and in the sentence of death. Four men are on death

row, only one of whom actually shot the victim and only two (or

maybe three, 9r four, according to Lehman's’ post-hypnotic

testimony) of whom were armed with guns. The severity of the

result, despite the differing culpability and mitigation, shows the

extent to which this proceeding was infected.

Because of the misconduct set out above, and the pattern of

deception with which the prosecutor set out to hide his misdeeds,

the case fulls under the Footnote 9 exception.

CONCLUSION

This case does not present any issues that are worthy of any

review of the decision by the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals. The

Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals was correct in granting relief to

the Respondent. There are no special or important reasons for this

Court to review on Writ of Certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

Michael Orndorff, Resondent

BY: KENENTH BRECKENRIDGE

Attorney for Respondent

534 Ouachita Avenue

Suite II

Hot Springs, AR 71901

(50,1) 623-7500

JO > —

VE: - }

(Kenneth Breckénridge /

AR BAR NO. 84015

-10-

CERTI

ICATE OF SERVICE

I, Kenneth Breckenridge, do hereby certify that I have served

a copy of the above and foregoing pleading upon all attorneys of

record for all other parties in this action, by placing a copy of

same in U.S. mail, postage prepaid, on this 7€- day of March,

1994.

Mr. Marshall Carlisle Mr. Olan Reeves

16 East Spring 200 Tower Bldg.

Fayetteville, AR 72701 323 Center Street

Little Rock, AR 72201

Mr. Gerald A. Coleman Mr. Mark Cambiano

P.O. Box 1667 108 South Moose Street

West Memphis, AR 72301 Morrilton, AR 72110

LZ

J ra — . —

a

ie

” -

Kenneth Breckenridge

.

684 Ark.

280 Ark. 77

Hoyt Franklin CLINES, James William

Holmes, Darryl V. Richley and Michael

Ray Orndorff, Appellants,

v.

STATE of Arkansas, Appellee.

No. CR 82-4.

Supreme Court of Arkansas

July 5, 1983

tehearing Denied Oct. 3, 1983

Defendants were convicted in the Ben

ton County Circuit Court, William H. En

field, J., of capital murder, and were sen-

tenced to death, and they appealed. The

Supreme Court, Hays, J., held that: (1) the

capital murder statute did not violate de-

fendants’ constitutional rights on basis that

the statutory scheme did not require the

jury to consider the culpability of each indi-

vidual defendant; (2) the trial court did not

abuse its discretion in refusing to grant

separate trials; (3) the trial court did not

abuse its discretion in limiting the four

defendants to a total of 12 peremptory chal-

lenges; (4) it was not an abuse of discretion

for the trial court to order a five-day re-

cess; (5) reversible error did not occur due

to introduction of evidence of other crimes

and acts against two defendants; and (6)

the uncorroborated testimony of aa accom-

plice that he and two defendants had previ-

ously committed another felony by the use

or threat of violence was properly admitted

to prove the aggravating circumstance that

a crime of violence was previously commit-

ted.

Affirmed.

Dudley, J., concurred in part, dissented

in part, and filed opinion

Purtle, J., dissented and filed opinion.

lL. Homicide #351

Capital murder statute did not violate

defendants’ constitutional rights on basis

that the statutory scheme did not require

jury to consider culpability of each individu-

656 SOUTH WESTERN REPORTER, 2d SERIES

al defendant, since blame for the murder

rested with near equality on all defendants,

and safeguards existed in the system

against arbitrary imposition of the death

penalty. Ark.Stats. § 41-1501(1(a)

2. Criminal Law @=622(2)

In prosecution of four defendants for

capital murder, trial court did not abuse its

discretion in refusing to grant a separate

trial for each defendant, since defenses

were not antagonistic, and joint trial of

defendants did not result in substantial in-

justice. Rules Crim.Proc., Rule 22.3

3. Jury © 108

In prosecution of four defendants for

capital murder, trial court did not abuse its

discretion in its exclusion of two veniremen

for cause and acceptance of one venireman

based on their attitude toward the death

penalty.

4. Jury @136(6)

In prosecution of four defendants for

capital murder, trial court did not err in

limiting defendants to a total of 12 peremp-

tory challenges where no argument was

offered that for a specific reason one pro-

spective juror was objectionable to one of

the defendants, though not to the others

5. Criminal Law ¢=649(1)

In prosecution of four defendants for

capital murder, trial court did not abuse its

discretion in ordering a five-day recess be-

tween taking of testimony and the instruc-

tions and argument.

6. Criminal Law ¢=1038.1(3)

Supreme Court would decline to con-

sider defendants’ objection that it was error

for jury to find aggravating circumstance

that in commission of the capital murder,

each of the defendants knowingly created a

great risk of death to a person other than

the victim, where such point was not pre-

served by an objection to the instructions or

to the verdict forms.

7. Criminal Law ¢=1169.11

In prosecution of four defendants for

capital murder, reversible error did not oc-

cur due to introduction of evidence of other

_ ces

oD os Oo

~> *- *> -

—

~

om

an ee

CLINES v. STATE

? Cite as 656 S.W.2d 684 (Ark. 1983)

crimes and acts against two of the defend-

ants. Rules of Evid., Rule 404(b)

8. Criminal Law #=—986.6(3)

In sentencing phase of prosecution of

four defendants for capital murder, trial

court properly allowed uncorroborated testi-

mony of accomplice that he and two of the

defendants had previously committed an-

other felony by the use or threat of violence

in order to prove the aggravating circum

stance that a crime of violence was prev)

ously committed. Ark.Stats. § 41-1303

9. Criminal Law 867

for

In prosecution of four defendants

capital murder, trial court did not err in

refusing to grant a mistrial after testimony

concerning out-of-court statements of one

defendant which allegedly implicated an

other defendant

10. Criminai Law ¢=867

Objections must be timely, and mistnal

should be declared only when trial court ts

certain the trial cannot, in fairnes

5, contin-

ue

11. Searches and Seizures 3.9

Evidence was sufficient to sustain find-

ing that affidavit for search warrant of

defendant's car and apartment was proper,

and that defendant gave a lawful consent

to the search. Rules Crim.Proc., Rule 36.24;

Sup.Ct.Rules, Rule 11(f)

Marshall N. Carlisle, Fayetteville, Donald

R. Huffman, Bentonville, Priscilla Karen

Pope, Fayetteville, and Thomas J. Tucker,

Siloam Springs, for appellants.

Steve Clark, Atty. Gen. by Dennis R

Molock, Deputy Atty. Gen., Little Rock, for

appellee.

HAYS, Justice.

-These four appellants were jointly tned

and convicted of the January 8, 1981 capital

murder of Don Lehman, a Rogers house-

holder, and of the aggravated robbery of

his wife and daughter. They were sen-

tenced to death by electrocution on the

capital murder charge and to life sentences

Ata. 00vU

on the two aggravated robbery charges.

On appeal they allege a number of errors of

law and procedure as grounds for reversal

Finding no error, we affirm the convictions

and the sentences imposed

[

THE TRIAL COURT ERRED IN FIND.-

ING THE ARKANSAS CAPITAL

MURDER STATUTE CONSTITU-

TIONAL.

Appellants make a four-fold attack on

the constitutionality of the Arkansas felony

murder statute, Ark.Stat.Ann § 41

1501(1a) (Repl.1977), which provides that

capital murder occurs if a person, acting

alone or with others, commits one of several

felonies, including robbery, in the course of

which either he or an accomplice causes the

death of any person under circumstances

manifesting extreme indifference to the

value of human life. Appellants argue that

the statute is vague and overbroad; that it

denies equal protection of the law inasmuch

as there are currently twenty-three men,

but no women, on death row, that the

imposition of the death penalty is arbitrary

and capricious because the prosecuting at

torney Is given

waive the death penalty and because the

jury must return a death verdict if they

find aggravating circumstances outweigh

mitigating circumstances; and finally that

our statutory scheme does not require the

jury to consider the culpability of each indi-

vidual defendant.

discretionary power

The vagueness argument has been raised

and answered more than once. In Crom-

well v. State, 269 Ark. 104, 598 S.W.2d 733

(1980), we pointed out that in the definition

of criminal offenses some generalization is

both unavoidable and desirable so that pros-

ecutors and juries may have leeway to

lighten the punishments that might be im-

posed for conduct that falls within overlap-

ping offenses. (See Cromwell at p. 107, 598

S.W.2d 733).

The claim that the equal protection clause

of the constitution is offended because men

are given the death penalty disproportion-

686 Ark.

ately to women is raised initially on appeal

, 2 ' " Ar 4

and, beyond that, upported b

alan

Wi ¢ ipTe ‘

tatulory

rf f

ath the 4 iva ng

f jtweignh milif f

: ‘ (x ts } ;

'

| r a ,

'

f

va

, f ;

; u

Vi

f W 1 A

4) '

|

‘

4 f

i stuts .

; 7 f aif

‘ ; rm t i f

j

’ ret

: . ;

é

¥ ta i t f

1921

(1351 I that of

wT} ; ; ‘

l f

' in seek +} ant °

trary al u Ox dé

the § re Cr t f the Ur

,

(Bordenkirct v. Mayes, 434 |

f :

8 (it 6 f { ] A 1 &

Af

i i} M \ ? I A

Ul ‘ '

o.W.2d 4 (1 it 1 i

review

{1] T} ‘ ‘ t ¢ tatut

/ sat ytyir

dor not require tne jury t

wich sh deaf lant's

weigh each delendants role in

werveng ¢ apital murder, so as to

individual culpabilit

on procedural grounds, as the

was not clearly raised

ly

objection to the capital

the appellants

murder ir

tender ti

court an instruction

y of the law pgs

Ark. 388, 602 S.W.2,

consistent

Ev

we ch

hose to consider the mer

argument

Appellants cite Enmund v. Fl

US 102 5.Ct 68, 73 L.I

.

(1982). There, the Supreme Court

y

be] WwW, Le. We

)

Mw

pument

656 SOUTH WESTERN REPORTER, 2d SERIES

for one who had participated in a robbery

Goring which murders were committ ted, but

was | . preseite at the Kcllings an

tend that the victims be killed

that

the record supported no mo

no moré

than an inference that Enmund, the peti

ner, was the person waiting in a car ur

t} ene of a robbery. Two other x

gone to the rear of a nearby farmhous

: etext of having car trouble. coax.

victim outside to rob him When tr

tim called for help his wife came out and

ne of the robbers The two victin

were killed in a gun battle and the r ‘

+} 21 sAneay

with their money to a waitir

ig on the Eighth Amendment. th:

that

that a robbery

irt held

one who does not inter

victim be killed, is n

present when the killing occurs, and doe

not contemplate that lethal force wili b

sed in carrying out the robbery, is r

subject to the death

ry had found Enmund and a co-de

penalty. A Florida

guilty and recommended the death t

for both defendants, which the trial court

d. Acknowledging

ny direct evidence that Enmund wa

present at the killings

of Florida affirmed,

the Supreme Court

explaining that the

interaction of the felony murder rule and

the law of principals combine to make

felon generally responsible for the lethal

acts of his co-felons. As it did with death

as a penalty for rape (see Coker v. Georgia,

3 U.S. 584, 97 S.Ct 2861, §3 L.Ed.2d 982

peo the court reasoned that an over

whelming number of states and of Ameri

would repudiate the death penal

ty for crimes such as Enmund’s

can juries

Significant comments arc in the opinion,

first, that there was no evidence that En

mund had any intention of participating in,

or facilitating, a murder and, second, the

court emphasized that “[i]t would be very

different if the likelihood of a killing in the

course of a robbery were so substantial that

one should share the blame for the killing if

he somehow participated in the felony.”

a number of distinguishing factors

immediately appear. At about 9:45

Here,

p.m.,

after he and his family had retired for the

CLINES v. STATE

Cite as 656 S.W.2d 684 (Ark 1983)

evening, Don Lehman answered a knock at

his front door. He asked who was there

and someone “David.” His

daughter, Vickie, also responding to the

knocking, said as her father unlocked the

door the four appellants, masked and arm

ed, burst into the room with such force that

her father was knocked backward off his

answered

feet and the doorknob of the front door was

jammed through a cioset door behind

or three of the appellants struggled with

her father toward the bedroom, where Mr

Lehman was wrestled onto the bed and a

fatal shot to the head and one to the abdo

men were delivered

Two

There was direct evidence from more

than one source that appellants had dis

cussed among themselves the necessity of

murder if they met resistance; at least two

of the appellants were armed with pistols,

perhaps three of them, and the fourth with

a lethal weapon fashioned

chain. All four wore ski masks and all fou

burst into the Lehman home when the latch

was opened. The proceeds, some $1,200,

were presumably divided to the appellants’

liking. It must be noted, too, that Lehman

was given no opportunity to yield, he was

immediately attacked by appellants, sus-

taining blows to his head and face from the

metal chain and a mortal wound to the

chest before reaching the bedroom.

from a metal

Although perhaps only two of the appel-

lants were in the bedroom when Mr. Leh-

raan was killed, it cannot be ignored that

when a group of individuals agree to exe-

cute a criminal enterprise involving the

forced, nighttime entry of a private dwell-

ing, known to be occupied, wearing masks

and armed with pistols, intent on robbery, it

follows that murder is a most probable con-

sequence. We think the likelihood of a

homicide under the circumstances is so sub-

stantial as to bring this case clearly within

the quoted exception of the Enmund deci-

sion, on those circumstances alone. Added

to that is the evidence that murder was

plainly contemplated by the appellants.

We conclude the blame for Don Lehman's

murder rests with near equality on all of

the appellants

656 S$. W2Id6—16

ae

Ark. 687

As a final response to this phase of the

argument, we point out that there are add-

ed safeguards in our system against the

arbitrary imposition of the death penalty.

In Collins v. State, 261 Ark. 195, 548 S.W.2d

106 (1977), we noted the power of the trial

court to reduce a death sentence to life

imprisonment and in that opinion we com-

m’ ‘ed this court to a policy of comparative

review, by examining the death penalty in

every case on a comparable basis. We have

demonstrated our readiness to modify the

death sentence where it is imposed capri-

ciously (see Sumlin v. State, 273 Ark. 185,

617 S.W.2d 372 (1981)), or where the culpa-

bility of co-felons is disproportionate (see

Henry v. State, 278 Ark. 478, 647 S.W.2d

419 (1983) ], or where death is unduly harsh

under the circumstances [Neal v. State, 274

Ark. 217, 623 S.W.2d 191 (1981) and Giles v

State, 261 Ark. 413, 549 S.W.2d 479 (1977) }

not overlooking the suggestion

that Michael Orndorff's participation in the

crime was half-hearted; that he may have

asked to be taken home as the appellants

were leaving the Baker residence; and that

after the shooting he disclaimed any wish to

be involved in a murder. But the jury

unanimously rejected as a mitigating factor

that any appellant played a minor role.

Too, Orndorff's request to be taken home

may have been due to Steve Baker’s having

declined to go along, rather than because of

any compunctions over the undertaking.

And his belated comment that he didn’t

want to be a part of a murder must be

judged from the standpoint that it came

after the fact and against the uncontradict-

ed proof that he burst into the Lehman

home along with the others, masked and

intent on robbing, killing, if need be, any-

one who resisted. We need not repeat what

we have already said about the shared cul-

pability for Don Lehman's death under the

circumstances of this case. To selectively

exclude this appellant from the penalty im-

posed by the jury for conduct readily as-

sumed by all of them would be to arbitrari-

ly excuse him from the predictable conse-

quences of his own actions, consequences

which the proof showed he expressly recog-

nized

We ar

688 Ark.

IT.

THE TRIAL COURT ERRED IN RE-

FUSING TQ GRANT A SEPARATE

TRIAL FOR EACH DEFENDANT.

(2] Prior to the adoption of the Arkan-

sas Rules of Criminal Procedure in 1976,

defendants in capital cases were entitled to

severance as a matter of right pursuant to

Ark.Stat.Ann. § 43-1802 (Repl.1977)

However, A.R.Cr.P. Rule 22.3 superseded

§ 43-1802 and gives discretion to the trial

court to try the defendants jointly in capital

cases. Hallman and Martin v. State, 264

Ark. 900, 575 S.W.2d 688 (1979).

Appellants submit that our recent deci-

sion in McDaniel and Gookin v. State, 278

Ark. 631, 648 S.W.2d 57 (1983), req tires a

reversal of this case, but the argument can-

not be sustained. There are fundamental

differences between the two cases and in

McDaniel we did not disturb the rule that

severance of defendants rests within the

sound discretion of the trial court. We

pointed out that such discretion is broad,

though to be exercised judiciously in capital

cases, with careful scrutiny to be given to a

number of elements which could affect the

fairness of the trial. (See McDaniel and

Gookin v. State, page 638, 648 S.W.2d 57).

In McDaniel, the defenses of the defendants

were utterly antagonistic, each defendant

claiming the murder was committed unex-

pectedly by the other. No such similarity

exists here. It is argued that the defenses

in this case are antagonistic, but that claim

cannet be supported. We find no effort

among the defendants to point to another

defendant as the murderer; the proof on

behalf of each defendant (only one of whom

testified) was aimed for the most part at

proving he was not in the bedroom, where

the murder occurred. These defenses are

not in the least antagonistic in the same

sense as in McDaniel.

The final and essential difference is that

the McDaniel case had the added element

that where culpability was distinctly dispro-

portionate, the jury was admittedly unable

to decide which of the two defendants com-

mitted a heinous act, resulting in two de-

fendants being convicted of a capital crime

656 SOUTH WESTERN REPORTER, 2d SERIES

for which only one may have been guilty.

Whereas here, there is substantia] evidence,

indeed overwhelming evidence, that all four

appellants planned and executed a robbery,

expressly deliberating on murder as a possi-

ble consequence. Nothing in this record

suggests that for these appellants to be

tried jointly resulted in substantial injustice

and we find no abuse of discretion in the

trial court’s refusal to grant separate trials.

IT]

‘

THE USE OF A DEATH QUALIFIED

JURY IN THE INSTANT CASE DE-

NIED THE APPELLANTS AN IM-

PARTIAL JURY. ON THE ISSUES

OF GUILT AND PUNISHMENT AS

REQUIRED BY THE SIXTH AND

FOURTEENTH AMENDMENTS TO

THE CONSTITUTION

The gist of this argument is that when

those members of a jury panel holding reli-

gious or conscientious scruples against capi-

tal punishment are eliminated, the cross-

section of the population which remains is

not impartial and unbiased on the issues of

guilt and punishment. They are, it is

urged, favorable to the prosecution and,

hence, guilt prone. The argument is not

new and needs no reiteration. It has been

considered and rejected here as well as in

the Supreme Court of the United States.

Witherspoon v. Illinois, 391 U.S. 510, 88

S.Ct. 1770, 20 L.Ed.2d 776 (1968); Miller v.

State, 269 Ark. 341, 605 S.W.2d 430 (1980).

IV.

THE JURY SELECTED IN THE IN-

STANT CASE WAS NOT SELECTED

IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE

STANDARD PRESCRIBED IN

WITHERSPOON AND HOBBS.

(3] The Witherspoon rule, as interpreted

in Hobhs v. State, 273 Ark. 125, 617 S.W.2d

347 (1981) permits the exclusion of persons

as prospective jurors only if they irrevoca-

bly oppose or favor the death penalty re-

gardless of the evidence. Appellants insist

that two of the veniremen, Mrs. Kaiser and

Mrs. Dick should not have been excused for

cause because of their uncertainty as to

capital punishment and Mr. Harley Wood,

k3

th

a

Ramenremers 500:

- ———- —_———— a

; CLINES v. STATE

Ark. 689

Cite as 656 S.W.2d 684 (Ark. 1983)

* who showed some preference for it, should

have been excused for cause.

We have examined the questions asked in

voir dire and the responses given typi

cally, no clear conclusion can be drawn

The answers are tentative or equivocal, and

the trial court is in a better position

we are to gauge the attitude of the venire-

and,

than

men and decide whether each will weigh

the evidence and, if appropmate, will con

sider all the penalties provided by law. W

cannot say his discretion was used wrongly

¢

in any instance complained of. Hulsey \

State, 268 Ark. 312, 595 $.W.2d 934 (1980)

McCree v. State, 266 Ark. 465, 585 S.W.2d

938 (1979)

V

THE TRIAL COURT ER

ING THE APPE LLANTS TO A

TAL OF TWE LVE PERE!

CHALLENGES.

(4] The trial court limited the four de

fendants to a total of twelve peremptory

challenges, which they claim is error. We

have held in three cases that where defend-

ants are tried jointly each defendant is not

entitled to the full allotment of peremptory

challenges, but a challenge by one is a chal

lenge by all. Williams v. State, 267 Ark

527, 593 S.W.2d 8 (1979); Lewis v. State,

220 Ark. 914, 251 S.W.2d 490 (1952);

Hearne v. State, 121 Ark. 460, 181 S.W.2d

291 (1915).

No absolute right to peremptory chal-

lenges exists under the oe a see

Stilson v. United States, 250 U.S , 40

S.Ct. 28, 63 L.Ed. 1154 (1919) Pore we see no

prejudice resulting from the position we

have taken in the earlier decisions. The

right to challenge a prospective juror on

peremptory grounds may be exercised sim-

ply because counsel has reservations that

certain groups might be skeptical of its

theory of the case; it is a very general

response and such criteria as occupation,

education, age, residence, social back-

ground, sex, and even facial expression,

may influence its use, depending on the

nature of the case. But ordinarily these

considerations are applicable to the defend-

ants as a whole and not individually.

Here,

Alo

it appears the peremptory challenges were

exercised collectively by the defense, as

might be expected, and no aga is

offered that for a specific

tive juror was objectionable to one

reason one f y

the defendants, though not to the othe

We adhere to our holding in Willian

State, supra

CALLING A FIVE DAY RE A

CLOSE OF TESTIMO? N fp

ABUSE OF THE COURT'S |

TION

(5) Appellants allege that ,

abuse of discretion for the tria t

order a five Gay rece as the tral wv

nearing a closé The recess oc é

dently, between the taking of test

and the instructions and arguments, &

cause of the trial judge's scheduled part

pation in a meeting of the Arkansa Jud

cial Council. The trial seems to have

menced well in advance of the meeting,

moved at a slower pace ree expected

Such matters as recesses and sequestrat

of the jury are not amenable to inflexible

rules and must be governed to a

extent by the exigencies of the day and the

calendar. We see no reason why it «

work to the appellants’ greater prejudice to

from Wednesday to Monday

recess

from Friday to Monday, as often occurs 11

trials. We find no abuse of discreti

Vil

IT WAS ERROR FOR THE JURY TO

FIND THE AGGRAVATING CIR

CUMSTANCE THAT, “IN THE COM

MISSION OF THE CAPITAL MI JR-

DER, EACH OF THE APPELLANTS

KNOWINGLY CREATED A GREAT

RISK OF DEATH TO A PERS(

OTHER THAN THE VICTIM.”

(6] Citing Williams v 274 Ark. 9,

621 S.W.2d 686 (1981), ellants contend

that because Vickie and V

State,

rginia

Lehman were victims of the underlying fe!

&

ony of aggravated robbery to the capital

murder Don Lehman, the evidence w

not warrant a finding as an aggravating

circumstance that appellants knowingly cre

vvy aes tee On, ee

ated a great risk of death to a person other

than the victim. Appellants assert that

Williams v. State, supports the argument,

but fail to explain how. The holding there

has no particular relevance to this case.

Williams’ death sentence was reduced be

f the ‘

cause one aggravating circumstances

found by the jury, commission of a prior

felony, did not involve violence as required

by Ark.Stat.Anr § 41-1303 (Repl.1977)

The deci that where a jury

finds no mitigating rcumstances and three

agpravating circumstance ne of which is

erroneno “A 2 the error a

narmiess simply because two agpravating

circumstance re is we are not in a

position t peculats i u what a jury

would do on a finding of two aggravating

factors instead

The app t this point wa

not pre ? r '

structior t r [orr Without

implying that t t therwise mento

rious, we ¢ for tl ack

of pro eT

IT WAS ERI] FOR THE TRIAL

COURT 17 PERMIT THE INTRO

DUCTION OF EVIDENCE OF OTH

ER CRIMI AND ACTS AGAINST

APPELLANT LINES AND ORN-

DORF!

(7] Mrs. Tammy Baker was called by

the state to prove that the appellants had

been at her home the evening of the Leh

man murder, drinking beer and playing

cards with her husband, Steve Baker. She

said when she answered the door the four

appellants were there, that one was wear-

ing a ski mask and stuck a gun in her face

She was ordered to “stick ‘em up’,” before

realizing that a joke was being played. The

four stayed until about 9:30 p.m. and she

overheard discussions involving the robbery

of someone who lived nearby

On cross-examination she was asked by

counsel for one of the defendants, Clines,

whether her husband was then facing

charges of roblx any committed the night be

fore the Lehman crime. She said he was

and was then asked 1 if any of the appellants

were involved and she said Orndorff and

Clines were. Orndorff's objections to this

i Sah Ry oN Ree

line of questioning were overruled and

when Steve Baker followed his wife to the

stand the state was permitted to go into the

incident in greater detail.

Appellants Clines and Orndorff

that the admission of this evidence. a

as a statement by Billy Weaver that Darre

Richley told him he was the one wh

Don Lehman, that he had bx

stealing and robbing te

t admitting evider r

Ling Allor t; A

of W | 804 1904)

if Rule 404(b), Uniform R

and the Baker testimony t 4

ined light of the fact that

awyer who pointedly asked th

that broughf€ the evidence into t

U ‘ }

Winether the objec’ was

and Steve Baker's te

that Baker was charged

duct is speculation, but we are not per

suaded that reversible error occurred. It

entirely possible that the evidence

have been received by the trial court

Rule 404(b) had it be é f {

[ ir px e of proving ider Lit y. pp rt

intent, preparation, or absenc«

Certainly the evidence of a robbery

ng similar methods committed in c

wit} the offense on ty

th + tr, l acre

Value ine prejuciciai asp

ous that we can say th

IX

IT WAS ERROR FOR THE COURT

ALLOW THE JURY, IN THE SE

TENCING PHASE, TO FIND APPEL

LANTS CLINES AND ORNDOR FF

HAD “PREVIOUSLY COMMITTEI

ANOTHER FELONY, AN ELEMENT

OF WHICH WAS THE USE OR

THREAT OF VIOLENCE TO AN

OTHER PERSON OR CREATING A

SUBSTANTIAL RISK OF DEATH OR

SERIOUS PHYSICAL INJURY TO

NOTHER PERSON” ON THE UN

CORROBORATED TESTIMONY Of]

AN ACCOMPLICE.

{8] After the appellants’ guilt had been

established and the penalty phase of the

TY

irr

A

A7

ULINES Vv. SIALEC

Cite as 656 S.W.2d 684 (Ark 1983)

trial was in progress the state was permit-

ted to prove one of the seven aggravating

circumstances listed in Ark.Stat.Ann. § 41-

1303 (Repl.1977) by the testimony of Steve

Baker that ne, Clines and Orndorff had

. . tad 5 har o 1 t

previously committed another felony by the

use or tnreat f violence Bake said «tne

the f them rahhad |} rey }} » T

tnree ol em rooved barry UAl 1

+ , n Te 2

re a f [ Jar | ;

A 4 art tha

, ,

wa ¢ the a f Y

t — os t até

A ’ A

r : n |

’ > . ) n ’ tr >

r nm tr f r 2

4)" ‘ ¥ a

+> ¢ at f ‘

A té + té ’ rT ny Na

tex ) 4 t Air tnat ¢

T . ; } .

if ars a é

A ’

P

eai ; i

g 4 : th nr ,

: ' } ;

f was previ vy comn

Vy 1 tha M le r State . ? er

that the ; e l\POTE of prool r

1€f i pro

1 + « ‘ rn finding hat 7

] re Ai 2 LINdail tha Pt i

ting r tis at gy cir tar ‘

w i be required to susta a ‘

that cir tance wa ; ) ts

A

MM , Ark af f > YY 4

t

WV ¢ ea af there Ww é j

. af

ipprava ga

4

now ( il t

> » + ’

at f

rik, i I

mT)

ALiN\y 3 \ i

U7 . . dnl , desley nth «

We ne not delay unduly with the issue

raised by this argument, as the admission of

the evidence itself was of little or no conse

quence. An investigating officer testified

that he took an impression of a foot print

from a flower bed of the Lehman

that there was a high degree of probability

home;

that it matched Hoyt Clines’ tennis shoe,

however, he said it was impossible to be

absolutely certain. But Clines’ presence at

the scene in company with the other appel

lants was amply evidenced by other proof

and no objection to this evidence was of-

fered until the tral, as required by AR

Cr.P. Rule 16.2 P

XI.

THE TRIAL COURT ERRED IN NOT

GRANTING A MISTRIAL FOR TES-

TIMONY CONCERNING IMPLICAT-

ING OUT-OF-COURT STATE

MENTS OF A CO-DEFENDANT

APPELLANT CLINE

9 LQ} Freddi Barker wa a iC tne

ate pr e tha yi f ame t

é a da tw ai Le ur me

ge the Let ar far ask } he f

g¢ the guns taken from the Lehma

. t} murdé and told him four «

t went to the do wilh SKi MasKS and

ted on i that » of the four started

ng Le! an with a motor chain Delt

ade a break |! the bedroom “and

guy f k off and kept hitting

He uid he ¢ tr bed and that

vy) shot | and said the guy kept

for a gun above the bed and he sai

put the gun up to his head and shot

him - The aquectionin contin ed 2a ienot

ne yuesvIONni ) inved at ienegrn,

"ead

th no other reference to the removal of a

k. and not until the state fully complet

é t te pr: t wa a ( ject

i At that point insel { Hoyt

1 f ; | » th ‘

move a | al on the ground

e E

+} ‘ the re wa prev testimony th at t

4 e

was Clines who had re ved | ask and

— j f .

hence Clines was deprived of his right t

, ane

confront opposing vitnesses inis argu

lacks merit, as objections must be

timely, Earl v. State, 272 Ark. 5, 612 S.W.2d

98 (1981), and mistrials should be declared

ment

»!

;

only when the trial court is certain the trial

cannot, in fairne continue Floyd vv

‘tate, 278 Ark. 85, 643 S.W.2d 555 (1982)

THE EVIDENCE OBTAINED FROM THE

SEARCH OF APPELLANT RICH

LEY’'S CAR AND APARTMEN

SHOULD HAVE BEEN _ SUP-

PRESSED, BECAUSE THE SEARCH

WARRANT WAS NOT BASED ON

PROBABLE CAUSE AND THE CON-

SENT TO SEARCH GIVEN BY RICH-

LEY WAS NOT GIVEN VOLUNTAR

ILY

(11] Appellant Richley urges that the

affidavit for the search warrant was defi-

692 Ark.

cient in that no underlying circumstances

for the affiant’s conclusions were stated.

He also argues that his consent was not

voluntary. However, the search warrant

and affidavit are not abstracted, as re-

quired by our rules, and the trial court

found the appellant did give a lawful con-

sent to the search. An independent deter-

mination of that issue has been made on

review and we are satisfied the trial court's

finding was entirely consistent with the evi

dence, particularly in view of Richley’s tes

timony

Finally, under A.R.Cr.P. Rule 36.24, and

our rule 11(f), we find the treatment of

other objections of appellants which were

overruled, as well as rulings adverse to ap-

pellants, do not constitute reversible error

On a comparative basis we are not disposed

to say the death penalty in this case is so

wantonly, arbitrarily or freakishly imposed,

or so excessive in relation to the crime, that

we are compelled to modify the verdicts

There was sufficient evidence to support

the findings of aggravating circumstances

which were not outweighed by mitigating

circumstances. We are satisfied the jury's

verdict was relatively free of passion or

prejudice. Accordingly, the judgments and

sentences are affirmed

DUDLEY, J., concurs in part and dissents

in part.

PURTLE, J

| nf

, aGissen

DUDLEY, Justice, concurring in part,

dissenting in part

The State adduced overwhelming evi-

dence that the four appellants were guilty

of jointly committing a capital murder and

two robberies. Their individual defenses

were not mutually antagonistic. Although

‘the charges were joined and the appellants

were jointly tried, the appellants as well as

the State were afforded a just and fair

proceeding through the accusatorial phase

of the bifurcated capital murder trial.

However, that holding does not mandate

the conclusion that the due process protec-

tions were sufficiently afforded at the joint

Ao

656 SOUTH WESTERN REPORTER, 2d SERIES

sentencing phase of the capital murder tri-

al. The two phases of the bifurcated trial!

serve vastly differing purposes. The es-

sence of the accusatorial phase is the formal

adversary presentation of evidence relative

to guilt. The adversary concept places the

State and the accused on an equal footing

and so, in fairness to the State, joint trials

are oftentimes required through this stage

Markedly different, the essence of the sen-

tencing phase is the search for relevant

information to choose which of the two

penalties, life without parole or death, is

appropriate for the person already found

guilty. This second phase search for infor-

mation is not based upon the same adver-

sary concept. Our applicable statute pro

vides that mitigating circumstances may be

presented regardless of their admissibility

under the rules of evidence while aggravat-

ing circumstances may be presented only

when they are admissible under the rules of

Ark.StatAnn. § 41-1301(4)

(Repl.1977). The underlying reason for this

is that the penalty ef death is qualitatively

different fror ‘ther punishments.

When the de enalty is sought, justice

demands individual, not joint, sentencing.

[t is for this sarne reason that mandatory

death sentences for particular crimes have

been declared unconstitutional. Gregg v.

Georgia, 428 U.S. 153, 96 S.Ct. 2909, 49

L.Ed.2d 859 (1976). It is only after a struc-

tured exercise of discretion which guaran-

tees individualized sentencing that the

death sentence may be imposed. Proffitt v.

Florida, 428 U.S. 242, 96 S.Ct. 2960, 49

L.Ed.2d 913 (1976); Woodson v. North Car-

olina, 428 U.S. 280, 96 S.Ct. 2978, 49 L.Ed.2d

944 (1976). Accordingly, after a finding of

guilty of capital murder, juries in this State

may impose a sentence of death only after

considering aggravating and mitigating cir-

cumstances. Ark.StatAnn. §§ 41-1301 &

1302 (Repl.1977). Aggravating circum-

stances are principally related to the per-

sonal history of the individual defendant

and not to the nature of the crime commit-

ted. Ark.Stat.Ann. § 41-1303 (Repl.1977).

Mitigating circumstances are totally related

to the personal background of the defend-

evidence

te

1

— a ae

Oo porno .

ed

es

oO

La

- &

—

eke CN

a¢

aa

1°

i)

7

oO

—-

~~

=

wes

“~

r= |

=

-

.

ant. Id. Individualized sentencing re-

quires structured detailed consideration of

the personal history of the guilty person

before the death

4

sentence may be impose

Any impediment to that individualized ex

| ae of discretion is violative of the pr

tection of due proce

The clear issue whether the joint

PJecrsing proc jure used in th ase all

each appellant the structured and deta

consideratior f hi ndaividual dackegr

which is required before the sentence

| ie may be impose re e ca

doubt that when the jury was sent out f

the courtroor to fix the pul hment f

equally guilty persons at one sitting

that after fixing the penalty for the first

three at death, there wa

to give the fourth a lesser sentence

reluctance al

a fourth death penalty for the part

crime regardless of the guilty

sonal history. This impediment to the ir

vidual exercise of discretion violate

' reece sa the rohinit r =

process and (tne proniodi I aga a

trary death sentences

Such a scenario fr Ly well have y irre

in the case at bar. In the sentencing phase

ppellant Clines was shown to have plead

Be'o in 1978 to burglary, a non-violent

crime. No other convictions or feloni

actions were shown to have been c

by him during this stage of the trial. The

only other proof of a prior bad action, for

which there was no conviction, came during

the accusatorial phase of the trial when ar

accomplice gave uncorroborated testim pny

Yet, he,

on a collateral matter.

given the death sentence

For this reason I dissent from that

of the well written majority opini

affirms the joint proceeding to fix the pun

ishments at death. I concur in

part of the opinion affirming the life sen

tences for the aggravated robberie

PURTLE, Justice, dissenting

I believe at least one of the appellants,

Michael Orndorff, was prejudiced by the

trial court's refusal to give him a separate

CLINES v. STATE

Cite as 656 S.W.2d 684 (Ark 1983)

Ark. 693

trial. To grant him a separate trial would

have in no way selectively excluded him

from culpability in regard to the crime for

which he was convicted. In fact it seem:

me that holding him to trial

murderers practically insured his convict

Guilt by association is a common |

error and in this case have j

[ ayed a big part in the {

who meted out ident

form penalties to all four appe

cart '

When each of the appellants atter

place himself outside the bedr

decedent was shot the result was that «

defendant put before the san

fense inconsistent with the other defer

ants’ defenses

The majority opinion seems t

type of guilt from some of the app

failure to testify. If the tra rt did t

we would vote unanimously to rever

The trial court should have pr

ed a severance

remand

f _ 1

A total of twelve peremptory aller

were allowed the four defendant {

them did not get to exercise a sing

emptory challenge Had the be tr

separately each would have bee 4

twelve challenge Therefore, these ay

lants were denied rights which are exter

ed to others tried separately on ident

charges. There is nothing to prevent a tr

judge from allowing more than twelve p<

emptory challenges if fairness and

tiality demand it

Furthermore, it

allow evidence of

pellants had not

this

phase of the

|

was clearly prejudicial

crimes for which the ap

been convicted eve

though was during the sentencing

What hap

pened to the old law that held every ind

bifurcated trial

vidual is presumed innocent? Soon it wil

be legal for the state to charge an accused

of spurious crimes in order to help secure 2

For

appellants were

conviction all we know none of the

or will ever be found t

have committed the alleged crime wi

was used during the sentencing phase

I am still of the opinion that a death

4

qualified jury is not comprised of a cro:

J

:

694 Ark.

section of ihe population as required by the

Constitutions of Arkansas and the United

States. It appears to me that there is a

misunderstanding of the Witherspoon doc-

trine when prospective jurors are excluded

because of religious or moral scruples

against the death penalty. Perhaps some

member or members of this very court have

religious or moral scruples against the

death sentence, yet we affirm such sen

tences if we find no reversible error. One

who does not believe in the death sentence

may honestly and conscientiously vote for

such a sentence in upholding the law. For

In re ARKANSAS SUPREME COURT

BOARD OF CERTIFIED COURT

REPORTER EXAMINERS.

No. 82-283.

As Amended Dec. 19, 1983

Voluntary nonprofit association of

court reporters filed petition for adoption of

rule providing for certification of court re-

porters and the establishment of an exam

iners’ board. The Supreme Court held that

board governing certification of court re

porters would be established and rule

adopted providing for such certification

Ordered accordingly.

Regulations adopted, Ark., 658 S.W2d

366.

lL. Courts ¢=57

Board governing certification of court

reporters would be established and rule

adopted providing for such certification.

Const. Art. 7, § 4.

656 SOUTH WESTERN REPORTER, 2d SERIES

2. Courts #78

Supreme Court has inherent rule-mak-

ing authority under provision of State Con-

stitution conferring upon Supreme Court

superintending control over all inferior

courts of law or equity. Const. Art 7, § 4

Henry C. Morris, Judge of the Municipal

Court of DeQueen, Sevier County, De

Queen. Joan Morgan Porter, President of

e Arkansas Court Reporters ss'n by

James B. Blair, Atty., Springdale, David

Burnett, Circuit Judge, Osceola, Donn Mix-

Jonesboro, Gill, Skokos, Simpson, Bu-

ford & Owen, P.A. by Theodore C. Skokos,

Little Rock and Sigrid J. Cox, Court Re

porter, DeQueen, amici curnae

PER CURIAM

On December 13, 1982, the Arkansas

court Reporters Association, a voluntary

and non-profit association of court reporters

in Arkansas, filed a petition asking the Su-

preme Court to adopt a rule providing for

the certification of court reporters and the

establishment of an Examiners’ Board

The petition stated that standards were

needed to protect the quality, accuracy, and

professionalism of court reporting, that is,

r

persons who take depositions and other

matters within the purview of court report-

ing which may be admitted into evidence

under the laws of Arkansas.

{1] On January 10, 1983, the Court ac-

cepted the petition and requested all inter-

ested parties to file briefs by May 1, 1983.

After fully considering the various respons-

es we conclude that a board governing the

certification of court reporters should be

established.

(2) Article 7, section 4 of the Arkansas

Constitution confers upon this Court super-

intending control over all inferior courts of

law or equity. This Court has inherent rule

making authority under this provision of

the Constitution. In Re Arkansas Criminal

Code Revision Commission, ex parte, 259

Ark. 863, 530 S.W.2d 672 (1975). . Therefore,

the following Rule is adopted providing for

. Add

SPREE PRE

the certi

State of

Section ji

A. Th

er

as

Section

ings.

At wu

Boar:

mem

tary.

year

The

treas

Rock

“a7 BS

te

Spb t 7

. RQ * By .e,

7 m

<

4% Fer e-uep

Lee, "4% Nese Vuh

>.

* sem

* me Peetediiotes Loednee ts

. : \ %*

co

-

~

-

CLINES y. STATE

Cite as 669 S.W.2d 843 (Ark. 1984)

The pioneers of this state no

doubt Survived in less comfortable circum-

Stances than they desired

this father would

we are to believe it is in the best interest of

a child to transplant him into what we

Perceive to be a

we open the Fate to the highest bidder.

Children should

It is MY Opinion that the

should have done more to

Social Services

was two years old

the court had taken him from his Parents

entitled to the love and

4 normal home. |

es determine the child Was not loved or that

the parents were unfit? By allowing the

Parents to visit with their child under close

Scrutiny and apparently Spasmodically. [¢

is obvious from the record that the foster

mother was as Unpredictable as the natural

under close supervi-

I agree with appellant

to reunite this child and Parents as

required by Ark. Stat Ann § 56-128(F)

(Supp 1983) were not Provided in this case

A.B. v, Arkansas Social Services, 273 Ark.

261, 620 S.W.2d 27] (1981).

I would not grant the PeQtion without

Proof of attempts by

the Social Services. A my opinion the

the father, is not

ex-

appeal, Petitioners

ignorant is not by itself rounds for perma-

their natura] relation.

It seems to me there must be more

than this record reveals before a child and

his parents are separated forever

9

CCT mumace sYSlim)>

~ums)

282 Ark $4]

Hoyt Franklin CLINES, James William

Holmes, Darryl v. Richley and Mi-

chael Ray Orndorff, Petitioners,

Vv

STATE of Arkansas,

No. CR 82-54.

Respondent.

Supreme Court of Arkansas

May 29, 1984

Petitioners Were

cuit Court, Benton

der and aggravated

sel.

Petition denied.

Dudley and Hollingsworth, JJ., would

grant.

Be Criminal Law =998(3)

By not raising issue at trial and on

Seeking post conviction

Penn ae &

Pon. e een

——— ee

884 Ark.

relief waived claim that rule which gave

discretion to trial court to try defendants

jointly in capital case unconstitutionally re

pealed initiated act which entitled codefend

ants in capital cases to separate trials as

matter of right. Rules Crim.Proc., Rule

22.1 et seq.; Const.Amend. No. 7

2. Criminal Law <998(3)

No issue, even if it presents question

of constitutional dimension, 1s preserved

beyond direct appeal unless it is of such

fundamental nature that judgment would

be rendered void.

3. Criminal Law €998(6)

Lack of jurisdiction is sufficient to void

judgment.

4. Criminal Law 161

Conviction obtained in violation of pr

visions against double jeopardy is void

U.S.C.A. Const.Amend. 5

5. Criminal Law €998(13)

Trial court's denial of petitioners’ mo

tion for severance on grounds advanced at

trial and considered on appeal was unavail

able to petitioners as basis for postconvic

tion relief. Rules Crim.Proc., Rule 37.1 et

seq.

6. Criminal Law <998(3)

Challenges which are not made at trial

or on appeal in a court with controlling

rules of procedure are waived for purposes

of postconviction proceeding

7. Criminal Law <=998(5)

Postconviction relief is limited to

grounds sufficient to void judgment or

open it to collateral attack.

8. Criminal Law @641.13(1)

To establish ineffective assistance of

counsel, petitioner must first show that he

was prejudiced by conduct of counsel.

9. Criminal Law <—998(13)

Petitioners failed to establish ineffec-

tive assistance of counsel for failure to

raise severance issue on grounds that rule

unconstitutionally repealed initiated act

which entitled codefendants in capital cases

to separate trials as a matter of right,

G2.

669 SOUTH WESTERN REPORTER, 2d SERIES

where petitioners failed to demonstrate on

appeal that jury was unable to fairly distin

guish between them in guilt and penalty

phase of trial and death penalty was not

capriciously or arbitrarily imposed

10. Criminal Law €998(3)

Allegations that prosecutor failed to

comply with discovery provisions and that

capital murder statute was unconstitutional

in that individual culpability was not taken

into account, and that it was improper to

place burden on codefendant to prove that

he did not himself commit murder could

have been raised at trial and on appeal on

grounds stated in postconviction petition,

and were not sufficient to render judgment

void, and therefore, were waived

Marshall N

Holmes

Matthew Horan, Fayetteville, for Rich

ley

Priscilla Karen Pope,

Orndorff

Charles E

Clines

Carlisle, Fayetteville, for

Fayetteville, for

Hanks, Fayetteville, for

Steve Clark, Atty. Gen. by Alice Ann

Burns, Deputy Atty. Gen., Little Rock, for

appellee

PER CURIAM

The four petitioners were jointly tried

and found guilty of the capital murder of

Don Lehman and the aggravated robbery

of his wife and daughter. We affirmed.

Clines, Holmes, Richley and Orndorff v.

State, 280 Ark. 77, 656 S.W.2d 684 (1983),

cert. denied, — US. ——, 104 S.Ct. 1328,

19 LEd.2d 723 (1984). The petitioners

have now filed a petition for relief pursu-

ant to our postconviction rule, Rule 37.

Petitioners first allege that A.R.Cr.P.

Rule 22 which gives discretion to the trial

court to try defendants jointly in a capital

case unconstitutionally repealed Initiated

Act I of 1937. Act I entitled co-defendants

in capital cases to separate trials as a mat-

ter of right. Rule 22 was promulgated

pursuant to Act 470 of 1971, which was

~a-

yr fm sffa> -

™—

TK

Pee

¥

LP MOA eens *

ee So ee a

on

5 5 & =|-b ee &

em ma ES aS a = = oe ‘-— os @

_

L

os

~

ay

os

- - -<S - Oo

~

"FTF @

a

Yt a

ne

a

CLINES v. STATE Ark. 885

Cite as 669 S.W2d 883 (Ark. 1984)

adopted unanimously by the General As-

sembly and “in harmony with the Court's

constitutional superintending control over

all trial courts.” Jn Re Arkansas Crimi-

nal Code Revision Commission, 259 Ark.

863, 530 S.W.2d 672 (1975). Petitioners

contend that counsel was ineffective in fail-

ing to raise the severance issue on this

ground even though counsel did ask for a

severance and further raised the issue of

denial of severance on appeal. Petitioners

base their allegation on Amendment 7 to

the Arkansas Constitution which provides

No measure approved by a vote of the

people shall be amended or repealed by

the General Assembly or by any City

Council, except upon a yea and nay vote

on roll call, of two-thirds of all the mem

bers elected to each house of the General

Assembly, or of the City council, as the

case may be.

(1-7) It is true that Act 470 of 197]

(Ark.StatAnn. § 22-242) which allowed

adoption of rules of criminal procedure had

the effect of repealing some provisions

which had been enacted by initiated acts.

It is also true that when Act 470 was

passed, the legislators could not know

which initiated acts would eventually be

replaced. We further agree that Act 470 in

conjunction with this court's power to

promulgate rules of procedure had the ef-

fect of denying petitioners separate trials.

Nevertheless, while there is a serious ques-

tion as to whether Initiated Act I was con-

stitutionally repealed by Rule 22, we need

not reach that question here because peti-

tioners waived the issue by not raising it at

trial and on appeal. No issue, even if it

presents a question of constitutional dimen-

sion, is preserved beyond direct appeal un-

less it is of such fundamental nature that

the judgment would be rendered void.

Neal v. State, 270 Ark. 442, 605 S.W.2d 421

(1980). Such fundamental questions are

few. Lack of jurisdiction is sufficient to

void a judgment; as is a conviction ob-

tained in violation of the provisions against

double jeopardy. See Martin v. State, 277

Ark. 175, 639 S.W.2d 738 (1982); Rowe v.

State, 215 Ark. 37, 627 S.W.2d 16 (1982).

The repeal of an initiated act by means of a

83

vote of the legislature allowing the adop-

tion of non-specific rules of criminal proce-

dure, however, does not void judgments in

cases tried under the adopted rules of pro-

cedure. Moreover, the trial court's denial

of the petitioner's motion for severance on

the grounds advanced at trial and con

sidered on appeal is also unavailable to

petitioners as a basis for postconviction

relief. Grounds raised on appeal are ex-

hausted and cannot be reargued under

Rule 37. Hill v. State, 278 Ark. 194, 644

S.W.2d 282 (1983). If criminal cases are to

have finality, it must be recognized that a

fair trial and a full consideration of assert-

ed error on appeal are the means by which

the majority of issues are finally settled

Challenges which are not made at trial or

on appeal in accordance with the control

ling rules of procedure are waived. Col

lins v. State, 271 Ark. 825, 611 S.W.2d 182.

cert. denied, 452 U.S. 973, 101 S.Ct. 3127,

69 L.Ed.2d 984 (1981). Postconviction re

lief is limited to grounds sufficient to void

the judgment or open it to collateral attack

(8,9] Petitioners have attempted to col-

laterally attack their judgments on the ba-

sis of ineffective assistance of counsel,

alleging that counsel was ineffective for

failing to raise the severance issue on the

grounds that Rule 22 unconstitutionally re-

pealed Act I of 1937; but to establish inef-

fective assistance counsel, a petitioner

must first show that he was prejudiced by

the conduct of counsel. Strickland v.

Washington, — US. ——, 104 S.Ct. 2052,

80 LEd.2d 674 (1984). On appeal, the

issue of whether petitioners were preju-

diced by the denial of the motion for sever-

ance was considered and decided adversely

to them. Petitioners failed to demonstrate

on appeal that the jury was unable to fairly

distinguish between them in the guilt and

penalty phases of the trial. As we said on

appeal, the facts before the jury indicated

that the blame for Mr. Lehman's murder

rested with near equality on all four peti-

tioners. The safeguards in our law where-

by capital defendants are tried and sen-

tenced are intended to prevent the arbi-

trary and capricious imposition of the death

—_—:.

——— ee ee ee

a

886 Ark

penalty The de

wa not capr

" netit ers }

. '

ra t Va

‘ ‘ f

} a :

) Pe

‘ f

" ‘

.

1.4 lant ¢

‘ ia

4 illegati

il and <«

tl petit

the widome f

Ah

Waived Wi?

‘ VY

t . '

‘ ‘ Lliegat

were ra ed

f rie { ra

re I r

tr I

; , "

appeal v

Petiti j

ryTINT

| Ass

Vy |

:

w

(o !

Virgil DAUGH

Ruby SHIPLEY.

arroll, Jo Shir

teve

669 SOUTH WESTERN REPORTER, 2d SERIES

} '

at enalty in this case dies His

‘ Y lied. His heirs brought suit against «

y ior $1,666, estimated cost of re;

fa ‘ | , ‘ tat , if . | ; . : ; .

' f é ‘ Low owner filed motion

rote ‘ Aa :

| ~~ iwsuit contending heir had

1é1 cd

aay’ ¢ f

. f bring it on truck w ne

} OW owner al f ed } é ied

eserving pround lor ad }

‘ ‘ f tributor rolio

itory negligence, and f

y ‘ i SceKking $300 45 Vaiue of a

ut Court, Randolpt County, A

ew | Ponder, J.. dismi sed mot

a nt ] j

ea counterciair nd

, , | and fo

fa heirs for $1.66 ind N OWI!

LT Supreme C .

r r } : th if j ) } ‘ } : tar

’ ) nee ra ‘ } '

law { ind {

na tat

J alu . j j

e¢ , '

ttor

hye

Ark {

- : Automobil. {

id ( for dar pre iga t A

ad

} ? were f t re [

Appeal and Error 1036(1)

t harmke err whe

e al wed ti titute | {

Damages 113

Ma ure 9

— Me ire for damages for damage

nal property is difference in fair ma

k value of property immediately befor

ediately after occurrs AM

A x

i\ETEE, Appellant

4. Damages 113

vy

T? 7

. | e costs of repai n t

Yancy Jone brenda } let

rea in determining diff nce e

y, Aller hiple and , - Ss Cupwenee |

| ‘ ‘ . | }

f market vaiue of property in

ey, Appelle ,

[ tely hefare and fmmediatela afi

{ LO! and immediate! aiver o

R4 na

1using damage to propert

Damages @=188(1)

4 |

- ,

Where there was no test ‘

f ft kK either before or after «

ind no direct testi: I :

P

P , done to cow. trial «

}

Ky

en ae a

' gies

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT JUL 29 1933

H ONETERN DISTRICT OF ARKANSAS capt R. BRENTS, CLERK

PINE BLUFF DIVISION

By: DEP. CLERK

3 L RAY ORNDORFF, PB-C-84-300 (consolidate with)

4 WILLIAM HOLMES, PB-C-84-301 ,

yT FRANKLIN CLINES, PB-C-84-302

4 Vv. RICHLEY PB-C-84-303 PETITIONERS

LOS DEPAS DIRECTOR,

KMRSAS DEPARTMENT OF

IRRECTIONS RESPONDENT

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

Bo the 20th day of April, 1987, a hearing was held on the

ynsolidated petitions for habeas corpus filed by the

Hoyt Franklin Clines and

petitioners,

jd@mael Ray Orndorff, James William Holmes,

aml V. Richley-s pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 2254. FOr the reasons stated

n this opinion the relief sought is granted in part and denied in

| af.

\AGK GROUND

sifted in part in narrative form,

The facts giving rise to the instant petitions for habeas relief,

are as follows. At approximately

9:45 p.m. on the night of January 8, 1981, the front doorbell rang at

D Lehman's home in Rogers, Arkansas. Lehman opened the door just a

f inches .to see who was there but was {immediately shoved back.as four

masked men forced their way into his home. At least two of the men

fre armed with handguns and one was carrying 4 chain. Following 4

i

T C4

i

i . | ave

Apo “O° «-<co cee

brief struggle with the intruders Lehman was thrown into his bedroom.

He was probably shot once as he was thrown into the room, and was shot

twice more while held down on his own bed. He died of the gunshot

wounds within minutes. Approximately fifteen to thirty minutes later

Bf the four intruders fled the scene, taking with them over $1,200.00 in

cash and Don Lehman's collection of guns. Lehman's wife and daughter

aS present during the entire incident.

Six days later an information was filed by the Benton County,

Arkansas prosecuting attorney charging Orndorff, Holmes, Clines and

Bf Richiey, collectively referred to as the petitioners, with capital

felony murder. The information alleged that during or in furtherance

of a robbery one or more of the petitioners caused the death of Don

Lehman under circumstances manifesting extreme indifference to the

value of human life. see Ark. Stat. Ann § 41-1501(1) (a) (Repl. 1977)

| oe codified at Ark. Code Ann. § 5=10-101 (1987)). On May 14, 1981 an

amended information was filed which charged the petitioners each, in

addition to the felony murder counts, with two counts of aggravated

— for the alleged use of a deadly weapon with the purpose of

committing a theft from Lehman's wife and daughter. See Ark. Stat.

gee. S$ 41-2102 (Repl. 1977) (now codified at Ark. Code Ann. § 5-12-103

(1987)).

? | The petitioners were tried jointly, despite numerous motions for

severance, and the jury returned verdicts of guilty on all counts. On

September 28, 1981 the trial judge sentenced each of the petitioners to

consecutive life terms on the aggravated robbery counts and, follcwing

ata rl ee... tit«iw#C#

“the unanimous recommendation of the jurors, sentenced each of them to

death by electrocution on the felony murder counts. The convictions

were affirmed on appeal to the Arkansas Supreme Court and petitions for

collateral relief pursuant to Arkansas Rule of Criminal Procedure 37

were summarily denied. See Clines v. State, 280 Ark. 77, 656 S.W. 2d

684 (1983), cert. denied, 465 U.S. 1051 (1983).

On June 28, 1984 appointed counsel filed in this court separate

petitions for habeas corpus relief on behalf of each petitioner. These

petitions were consolidated for disposition by order of October 23,

1984. Between June, 1985, and August, 1986, the case was closed for

administrative purposes as there was a case before the United States

Supreme Court which, if decided in the petitioners' favor, would have

mandated that habeas relief be granted. It was not 50 decided and a

hearing was scheduled for April, 1987, on the remaining issues raised

in the consolidated petitions. See Lockhart v. McCree, 476° U.S.162

(1986), reversing sub non, Grigsby v. Mabry, 758 F.2d 226, (8th Cir.

1985) (en banc) (in which the Eighth Circuit held the "death qualified

Jury" unconstitutional). At the habeas hearing the court ordered that

post-hearing briefs be filed and agreed to let counsel for each of the

petitioners divide the issues raised so that they did not duplicate

each other's efforts, and so they could each devote more time to the

research of each issue. Pollowing a delay of over one year, occasioned

by numerous requests for extensions of time in which to file the briefs

and the necessity of appointing substitute counsel for one of the

petitioners after the briefs had been filed, the case is now realy Sou

(3

Ey...

disposition.

In their consolidated petition and common briefs the petitioners |

allege as grounds for relief: (1) that the Arkansas Capital Felony |

Murder Statute is unconstitutional; (2) that the trial court's denial

of notions for severance violates their Pourteenth Amendment Cight of |

due process; (3) that the use of a "death qualified jury" violates the

fair cross section requirement of the Sixth Amendment; (4) that the |

jury was improperly "death qualified" under Witherspoon v. Illinois,

391 U.S. 510 (1968); (5) that the crial court's decision limiting them

to a total of twelve peremptory challenges violates their Fourteenth

Amendment right to equal protection of the law; (6) that non disclosure

of the fact that two state witnesses had been subjected to hypnosis at

the prosecutor's direction violates their Sixth and Fourteenth

Amendment rights; (7) that allowing the jury to consider the motive of

of the trial violates their Eighth Amendment rights; and (8) that

petitioner Clines was denied his Sixth Amendment right to effective

assistance of counsel. The respondent concedes that all state remedies

have been exhausted. Each issue will be addressed below, not

necessarily in the order raised.

I. HYPNOSIS

The murder victim's wife, Virginia Lehman, and their daughter,

| Vicki Lehman, were at home on January 8, 1981 and were witness to the

OO —————— ——

CH

i “pecuniary gain" as an aggravating circumstance in the sentencing phase

t

“tragic events which took place that evening. On January 9 and January

gu. 1981 both Virginia and Vicki were interviewed by the police and

their statements were recorded. Vicki was able to give the police a

D tesesineios of the four masked men and she helped a police artist

sketch the one who had removed his mask during the commission of the

| She later identified petitioner Clines in a police line up as

Bf chet man. The prosecutor testified at the habeas hearing, however,

that on February 10, 1981 he had made the decision to have the Lehman

ee hypnotized. The reason articulated for this decision was that

;omee descriptions were vague and that Vicki was unable to recall

the name one of the intruders had called the other.

j Carrying out his decision to hypnotize Virginia and Vicki the

prosecutor enlisted the aid of one Gene Peters, who had learned how to

teas people in a six month course at the Springfield School of

jee" in Springfield, Missouri. That school has no official degree

Program, offers no diploma and has a faculty of one -- the owner.

JJ rotiowins his "graduation" Peters made his living for a time by helping

people to lose weight and stop smoking with the aid of hypnosis. He

Betas worked with a couple of patients of a local dentist and hypnotized

witnesses to a string of gas station hold-ups for the Rogers police

_ Peters has never testified as an expert witness but was

poate to the stand once in a criminal trial when a former client of

his asserted as a defense that he committed a bank robbery under the

Binsiuence of a post-hypnotic suggestion. Peters has no cegree from any

accredited college or university.

|

; C5

i

At the prosecutor's suggestion Virginia and Vicki Lehman went to

Peters' office to be hypnotized on February 18, 1981. Peters eskeg

that the prosecutor not show him the Lehmans' prior statements because

he did not want to be in a position to ask questions which suggested

the answer. Peters had, however, previously seen newspaper accounts of

?

:

é

:

the crime and he conducted more than ‘one session with the Lehmans at

: which their stories were recited. In his deposition, which was

i introduced in evidence at the habeas hearing, Peters testified that he

did not think Virginia was a good subject for hypnosis but that he

DT weesa Stand corrected if someone told’ him otherwise. He recalled that

Vicki, on the other hand, was quite good and that he had four or five

I sessions with her. He only twice tried to hypnotize Virginia, and she

if testified at the hearing that she thought he had only two sessions with

Vicki.

i Virginia was permitted to attend Vicki's sessions with Peters,

. and Vicki was present at Virginia's. But other than Peters no others

I... present. During the sessions Peters would try to get his subjects

| i revisualize and relive the events of January 8 and, following each

session, he and the Lehmans would report to the prosecutor's office.

Bf veters took notes of each session but no electronic recording devices

were used. His notes were never turned over to the prosecutor and have

B dince been destroyed. Neither Peters or the prosecutor have any record

oo questions asked and the responses civen.

At the habeas hearing the prosecutor testified that he did not

Bf incorm defense counsel that the Lehmans had been hypnotized because no

|

i | Oly

—_—_—_ --— --

new information had been elicited and he did not consider the fact that

hypnosis had been performed to be exculpatory evidence. In fact,

counsel for the petitioners were not aware that hypnosis had been

performed until after the appeal was filed with the Arkansas Supreme

B court. The petitioners argue now that this failure to disclose the

fact of hypnosis violates their Sixth Amendment right of confrontation

and their Fourteenth Amendment right of due process. The state

responds that the non disclosure was harmless error beyond a reasonable

doubt.

A. The Sixth Amendment Claim

The Sixth Amendment to the United States Constitution provides

that "filn all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall enjoy the right

q... to be confronted with witnesses against him." The purpose of this

right to confrontation is to secure for the defendant the opportunity

for cross-examination, and the right is applicable to state as well as

federal proceedings. Davis v. Alaska, 415 U.S. 308, 315 (1974);

Douglas v. Alabama, 380 U.S. 415, 418 (1965). A defendant shows a

Jf victation of the Sixth Amendment right to confrontation if he proves

that he was prevented from exposing facts to the jury from which they

B coyia reasonably make inferences about the reliability of the witness.

oe v. Van Arsdall, 475 U.S. 673, 680 (1985); Davis v. Alaska,

supra at 318; United States v. Gregory 808 ‘Fe 2d 679, 680-81 (8th Cir.

B 1987); United States v. Dempewolf, 817 F.2d 1318 (8th Cir.), cert.

é

i 07

denied, 108 S.Ct. 245 (1987). But an otherwise valid conviction should

not be set aside if the reviewing court is able to confidently Say, on

the whole record, that the constitutional error was harmless beyond a

reasonable doubt. Delaware v. Van Arsdall, supra at 684; Chapman y,.

California, 386 U.S. 18 (1967). In this case the court finds that

there was constitutional error committed and that the error was not

harmless beyond a reasonable doubt.

There have been a plethora of recent federal and state court

decisions concerning the effects of hypnotically enhanced testimony,

most of which are noted in the Supreme Court's recent decision on the

subject. See Rock v. Arkansas, 0.8. , 107 S.Ct. 2704 (1987).

Although Rock decided the converse of the issue presented here -- the

right of a previously hypnotized criminal defendant to testify on his

own behalf -- that opinion is, nonetheless, instructive. In Rock, the

Supreme Court granted certiorari to review a Supreme Court of Arkansas

ruling which limited the testimony of a criminal defendant who had been

hypnotized to "matters remembered and stated to the examiner prior to

being placed under bypnosis.* The basis for the Arkansas court's

decision was that hypnotically refreshed testimony of a witness is

inadmissible per se because the dangers of admitting such testimony

alvays outweigh whatever probative value it may have. The Supreme

Court vacated and remanded, reasoning instead that the per se

exclusionary rule impermissibly infringed on a criminal defendant's

right to testify on his own behalf, in part because the Arkansas rule -

left the trial court with no discretion to admit such testimony even if

C8

=

_,

The Court

107 S.Ct.

suggested

it was determined to be reliable.

Discussing the reliability of hypnotically refreshed testimony the

Court stated that the most common response to hypnosis appears to be an

increase in both correct and incorrect recollections. Id. at 107 s.ct.

2713. In the Court's words this occurs because

{t]he subject becomes "suggestible" and may try to please the

hypnotist with answers the subject thinks will be met with

approval; the subject is likely to "confabulate," that is, to

fill in details from the imaginacion in order to make answers

more coherent and complete; and, the subject experiences

"memory hardening," which gives him great confidence in both

true and false memories, making effective cross-examination

more difficult.

went on to say that

{t]he inaccuracies the process introduces can be reduced,

although perhaps not eliminated, by the use of procedural

safeguards. One set of suggested guidelines calls for

hypnosis to be performed only by a psychologist or

psychiatrist with special training in its use and who is

independent of the investigation. These procedures reduce

the possibility that biases will be communicated to the

hypersuggestive subject by the hypnotist. Suggestion: will be

less likely also if the hypnosis is conducted in a neutral

setting with no one present but the hypnotist and the

subject. Tape or video recording of all interrogations,

before, during, and after hypnosis, can help reveal if

leading questions were asked ... Cross~examination, even in

the face of a confident defendant, is an effective tool for -

revealing inconsistencies. Moreover, a jury can be educated

to the risks of hypnosis through expert testimony and

cautionary instructions. (citations omitted).

at 2713-14. Similar procedural safeguards have also been

by the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals. See Sprynczynatyk v.

Jf General Motors Corp., 771 F.2d 1112 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 475 U.S.

C4

au \

1046 (1986).

In the instant case it is undisputed that Vicki Lehman, one of

only two occurrence witnesses, had been hypnotized prior to the time |

she participated in a reenactment of the crime and before she testified

at trial. It is further undisputed that the trial court never had an

opportunity to rule on the admissibility or reliability of her

hypnotically refreshed testimony, because the fact that she had been

hypnotized was never disclosed by the prosecution. Purthermore, it is

apparent that virtually no procedural safeguards were followed. The

hypnotist had no college degree in psychology or any other subject. He

conducted his sessions without charge in the hope of uncovering a new

lead which he could later “brag on." Virginia Lehman, the only other

occurence witness, was present each time Vicki underwent hypnosis

and the sessions were not electronically recorded. The only notes of

the sessions have been destroyed and had been, prior to their

destruction, in the sole possession of the hypnotist thereby making it

virtually impossible to determine whether subtle or overt suggestions

were introduced.

This haphazard manner in which the sessions were eininens leaves

no doubt that the state's failure to disclose the fact that hypnosis

was performed on one of its two occurrence witnesses prevented the

petitioners from exposing facts to the jury from which they could make

inferences about the reliability of the witness's testimony — a

violation of the confrontation clause of the Sixth Amendment. And the

:

|

had read of the events in question in the local newspaper and had t

:

i

| (10 ae | 4

|

eT me

‘prosecutor's own arguments at trial, in which he emphasized the clarity

| Vicki Lehman's memory and the importance of her testimony, prevents

the court from concluding that the error was harmless beyond a

en doubt. An example is illustrative.

The prosecutor began his opening statement by stating that the

jury was going to be “amazed at the recollections" of Vicki Lehman.

Breen, in closing, he stated that

t (iln spite of being faced with the traumatic ordeal as it

happened, [Vicki] did not lose her presence of mind. She did

not lose her sense of observation or objectivity. It was

i Stored there. It took a little while to get it out of her,

we had to talk to her several times. We had to go back and

re-enact that scene finally and jerk her hair around, just

3 like it was. Just like it happened to her to get her to

remember if a gun was pointed here, who was here and who was

there. It was stored in there and she was later able to

: recall it. And she recalled it well on the stand. I suggest

to you that she saw and heard exactly what she testified to

could not be doubted. Her physical description of these four

; people, just incredible. (Tr. 4269). © :

This girl has powers of observation that were working

and working right then and never quit working. There were

E times when things were confusing, but I suggest: to you that

her testimony was unimpeachable. They tried to attack it and

they got nowhere. (Tr. 4269-70).

Her testimony is real important. Important for several

reasons, two in particular. One, becuase it just describes

the hideous crime, the hideous, unprovoked attack on --

breaking in the door and attacking her father. But two, her

testimony showed unequivocally, that all four of these

defendants -—- each and every one of them -—— were involved

= on in the attack that resulted in her father's death.

Tr. 4270).

| Had the fact of hypnotism been disclosed to defense counsel and the

court this court may well have decided this issue differently.

Pederal courts are in agreement that a witnesss' hypnotically enhanced

testimony does not violate the confrontation clause, in and of itself,

where both the witness and the hypnotist are available for

cross-examination concerning the effects of the procedure.

See, e.g.

Clay v. Vose, 771 F.2d 1 (lst Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 475 U.S. 1022

(1986); Chaussard v. Fulcomer, 816 F.2d 925 (3rd Cir. 1987), cert.

denied, 108 S.Ct. 139 (1988); McQueen v. Garrison, 814 F.2d 951 (4th

Cir.), cert. denied, 108 S.Ct. 332 (1987); Harker v. State of Maryland,

800 F.2d 437 (4th Cir. 1986); Beck v. Norris, 801 F.2d 242 (6th Cir.

1986); United States v. Charles, 561 P.Supp. 694 (S.D.Tex. 1983). And

the Eighth Circuit has adopted a flexible rule for the admissibility of

hypnotically refreshed testimony whereby the district court may allow

it after conducting a pretrial hearing to assess the effect of hypnosis

upon the reliability of the testimony. The proponent of such evidence

bears the burden of proof and, if such evidence is admitted, the

opposing party may cross-examine concerning hypnosis and both parties

may bring in experts to testify to the problems and benefits of

hypnosis. Sprynczynatyk v. General Motors Corpe, Supra at 1122-24;

Little v. Armontrout, 835 P.2d 1240 (8th Cir. 1987) (failure to provide

indigent defendant with hypnotic expert violated defendant's right to

fair trial).

The procedures followed in this case, however, compounded by the

prosecutor's fadiuce to disclose, denied the trial court_an opportunity

to assess the reliability of the testimony, denied the petitioners the

right to full and effective cross~examination and denied the jury the

CIQ

opportunity to assess the credibility of a key state witness from a

Proper perspective. All of the instances where Ms. Lehman's trial

testimony differed from or added to her previous statements need not be

discussed because the court finds that the prosecutor's failure to

disclose was inherently prejudicial. As stated by one court,

(oJnce a witness makes a recitation under hypnosis, his

confidence in that supposed memory -- whether genuine or

invented -- is greatly strengthened (sic). The witness then

may have an unshakeable subjective conviction that gives his

account on the witness stand the imprimatur of absolute

confidence. (citations omitted).

United States v. Valdez, 722 F.2d 1196, 1202 (Sth Cir. 1984). The

petitioners have the right to bring this, and other problems associated

with hypnotically refreshed memory before the jury on

cross~examination.

The prosecutor knew, or should have known, that his failure to

disclose may constitute reversible error. At the habeas hearing he

testified that he did some legal research regarding hypnosis in which

he located the case of United States v. Adams, 581 P.2d 193 (9th Cir.),

cert. denied, 439 U.S. 1006 (1978). That case expressly states that

reversals. have been predicated on the failure to disclose the fact of

hypnosis. Id. at 198. Yet, the prosecutor chose not to reveal that

two witneses had been hypnotized and, in part because of that decision,

this court.finds that the petitioners' Sixth Amandment right to

confront witnesses against them has been denied.

B. The Pourteenth Amendment Claim

i

The petitioners argue that their right to due process under the

ae Amendment was denied because the prosecutor failed to inform

prone counsel that a state witness, Vicki Lehman, had been

hypnotized. The court agrees. Brady v. Maryland, 373 U.S. 83 (1963),

| ee that the suppression of evidence favorable to an accused upon

equest violates due process where the evidence is favorable either to

| or punishment. And evidence which may be used to impeach a

pyitness’s credibility has been held to come within the Brady rule.

Giglio v. United States, 405 U.S. 150, 154-55 (1972). Constitutional

Becor occurs, however, only if the evidence is material in the sense

in its suppression undermines confidence in the outcome of the trial.

nited States v. Bagley, 473 U.S. 667, 678 (1984). The court concludes

Er this case that there was constitutional error.

Arkansas Rule of Criminal Procedure 17.1 requires the prosecutor

| i. disclose to defense counsel upon timely request

7 any reports or statements of experts, made in connection

with the particular case, including results of physcal or

mental examinations, scientific tests, experiments or

comparisons.

Baaitionariy, &@ pretrial order was issued by the trial court which |

required the prosecutor to disclose, inter alia, the "results of

cilentific tests when available." -The court has no doubt that

_ falls within the broad category of “scientific tests."

|

| |

i .

: CH | | 7 |

Therefore, construing the pretrial order as conclusive evidence of a

Beinery request, the court finds that disclosure was required under

Brady.

Although numerous witnesses testified as to events which occurreq

gerier to or after the robbery and murder, only Vicki and Virginia

Lehman were witness to what took place inside their home. Moreover,

Bsince Virginia Lehman was instructed by the intruders to remain on the

floor in a face down position Vicki's testimony became most important.

7 described in detail the way the four masked men broke through the

_ and the positions each of them took up inside the home. She

retraced their movements and it was her testimony alone that placed all

Beour intruders in the bedroom where the murder took place -- a

deviation from her pretrial statement in which she could place only

Ries men in that room when the shots were fired.

In contrast to Vicki's vivid testimony, Virginia -Lehman's ~

testimony was brief and was lacking in detail as to the events which

ffnroiaea. She remembers hearing the commotion when the intruders broke

in and then she remembers hearing a shot, but cannot be sure where the

eople were when she heard it. Her testimony only places three of the

intruders in the room and she remembers only one gun and one gunshot.

This lack of detail in Virginia's testimony and the gaps.in her memory

Brigntignt the importance of Vicki's testimony to the jury.

The court's review of the entire record does reveal, beyond a

— ees doubt, that the petitioners were responsible for the robbery

for which they were tried. Their activities in preparation

i e

i C15

for the armed break-in and the events which later lead to their

© apptehension were fully documented through the testimony of thirty four

Prosecution witnesses. However, even though there is no question of

ie guilt for the crimes charged, the court is unable to say with

§ confidence that the jury would have recommended the death penalty for

each and every petitioner had defense counsel been informed of Vicki

B vehman's hypnosis. Critical portions of her testimony may have been

disregarded by the jury had they known of the effects of hypnosis, or

I

the trial court may have deemed some testimony inadmissible altogether.

gc: Little v. Armontrout, Supra (trial court's refusal to appoint an

expert in hypnosis for an indigent defendant violated due process and

B rendered the trial fundamentally fair).

Therefore, it is the finding and decision of this court that the

ee Sixth and Fourteenth Amendments rights were violated, and

te unless the state either retries the petitioners or commutes their

death sentences to life without parole within 120 days, the writ shall

| issue. Por appeal purposes the court will now address the remaining

= raised by the petitioners.

| ARKANSAS* PELONY MURDER STATUTE

t The petitioners assert that the Arkansas Felony Murder Statute is

unconstitutional because (a) it does not require the jury to consider

the culpability of each defendant, (b) it provides for a mandatory

death penalty, and (c) it is vague and overbroad. Each of these issues

was fully addressed and rejected by the Arkansas Supreme Court ina

Been written opinion with which this court concurs. See Clines vy.

= Supra. Accordingly, without further discussion, this claim for

relief is denied.

III. SEPARATE TRIALS

i

The petitioners take the position that the trial court's denial of

A aes: motions for separate trials was an abuse of discretion which

i resulted in a "smear effect" among them and the exclusion of certain

out of court statements alleged to be exculpatory to individual

Deattticnurs. Inasmuch as this argument turns on alleged violations of

Arkansas procedural rules it does not state a claim for habeas relief.

B oocner, the petitioners must show that the trial court's failure to

Bsrcent their motions for severance rendered the joint proceeding

fundamentally unfair so as to violate due process. Johnson v. Dugger,

| fe P.2d 726 (llth Cir. 1987); Manning v. Warden, Louisiana State

apmgrengsd 786 P.2d 710 (Sth Cir. 1986); Cf. Robnson v. Wyrick, -735

F.2d 1091 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 983 (1984) (to obtain

federal habeas relief for failure to sever offenses, the joinder must

render the trial fundamentally unfair). Upon review of the record the

B court finds that the petitioners have failed to meet their burden of

proof.

z At voir dire each of the jurors stated under oath that he or she -

_— consider each defendant separately and they were instructed at

i

Ue

the close of trial that they must so consider each defendant, rendering

Separate verdicts as if each had been tried separately. The record

shows more than ample evidence from which the jury could have found,

beyond a reasonable doubt, that each petitioner was guilty of the

orines charged. There is simply no indication of a "smear" effect and,

in the face of evidence showing unequivocally that the petitioners

was committed the court cannot say that the petitioners were prejudiced

by evidentiary rulings so as to make their trial fundamentally unfair.

Accordingly, this claim for habeas relief is denied.

IV. JURY SELECTION UNDER WITHERSPOON

Witherspoon v. Tllinois, 391 U.S. 510 (1968), holds that a state

i jointly planned and executed an armed robbery during which a homocide

may not carry out a sentence of‘ death imposed by a jury which was

selected by excluding veniremen for cause simply because they voiced

general objections to the death penalty or expressed religious or

t conscientious scruples against its infliction. Id. at 521-22. The

most that can be demanded of a prospective juror is that he or she be

é willing to consider all of the penalties provided by state law, and

that he or she not be irrevocably committed before the trial has begun

y to vote against the death penalty regardless of the facts and

' circumstances that might emerge. Id. at 522, n. 21. The petitioners

contend here that the Witherspoon rule was violated with respect to od

5 three veniremen. The court disagrees.

H CAR

E because she stated that she didn't "think" she would impose the death

The petitioners argue that Betty Kaiser was excused for cause

penalty, and that Karen Dick was excused for cause because of her

F veneanene that she "might could" vote for the death penalty. They

ges state that their request to have Harley Woods excused was refused

even though he said he could not vote for anything other than the death

B penaity on the first ballot, and that they had to exercise a peremptory

Strike against him which would have been used later.

i In ruling on these claims on appeal the Arkansas Supreme Court

eT that, in context, the statements relied on were tentative or

equivocal. The court went on to rule that the trial court was in the

Best position to gauge the attitude of the veniremen and that the trial

court's discretion was not wrongly used. Clines v. State, 280 Ark. at

eee 656 S.W.2d at 688-89. These rulings of the trial court and the

ee supreme court are entitled to a presumption of correctness under

28 U.S.C. § 2254(d). Wainright v. Witt, 469 U.S.412 (1985). The

Poretitioners have not overcome the presumption.

In addition to the excerpts of the voir dire relied on by the

| ee Kaiser stated that she could not impose the death penalty

herself, and that that feeling was fairly firmly fixed. When asked by

the prosecutor if she could consider alternatively life without parole

| a death she answered that she could not. And she stated without

equivocation that even. though she believes some people deserve the

death penalty she would not vote for it.

i Dick was excused for cause both because she had preconceived

notions of guilt and because of her inability to consider the death

penalty. She stated that at the time she received information from

the media and third parties she had formed an opinion as to guilt or

a; And she placed herself ina category of persons who, while

Brct opposed to the death penalty, could not personally impose it. In

addition, she stated that if the evidence presented a close question as

i... guilt or innocence she would feel some pressure to vote for guilt

because of the expectations of third parties,

i Woods, whom the trial court refused to excuse for cause, stated

Bi chac facts and circumstances may dictate a sentence of life without

parole as opposed to the death penalty. He assured the court that he

® could keep an open mind on punishment uutil he had heard all of the

evidence in the Sentencing phase of the trial. In response to defense

Boone's question whether he thought the only permissible punishment

Bor one convicted of capital murder was death he replied that it would

shave to be considered after weighing the evidence. Moreover, in

| response to a question by the court Woods stated that he could consider

either life without parole or death and base his decision on the

ne

‘ ‘Accordingly, the court finds that the trial court's rulings are

supported by the record, that the Witherspoon rule was not violated and

Benat this claim for habeas relie* must be denied.

i. PEREMPTORY CHALLENGES

((20

_—_——— challenges pursuant to Ark. Stat. Ann. § 43-1929 (Repl.

The trial court limited the petitioners to a total of twelve

$77) (mow codified at Ark. Code Ann. § 16-33-307 (1987)), which

tee that when several defendants are tried jointly a challenge by

= shall be the challenge by all. . The petitioners argue that, had

they been tried separately, each would have been entitled to twelve

Bpevenptecy challenges, and that because they were limited to a total of

welve in the joint proceeding they have been denied equal protection

. the laws under the Pourteenth Amendment. This argument is without

Perit.

Pirst, there is no constitutional right to perémptory challenge.

Besison v. United States, 250 U.S. 583 (1919). All that is guaranteed

y the constitution is the right to an impartial jury. Id.; U.S.

eS Amend. VI. This the petitioners received. Second, since it is

et argued that persons tried jointly comprise a suspect class, and

there is not at issue a fundamental right guaranteed by the

: Renetttesion, this court must analyze the petitioners’ Claim under the

- ag basis standard of review. Harris v. McCrae, 448 U.S. 297, 322

1979) (quoting McGowan v. Maryland, 366 U.S. at 425). Under that

es the petitioners' claim fails beseuse the state's legitimate

interest in expediting trials, thereby conserving judicial resources,

§. rationally related to the procedural rule enacted. For the same

the petitioners’ argument that the state rule is arbitrary and

rrational in violation of the due process clause of the Fourteenth

‘eo must also fail. See, e.g. Tarter v. James, 667 F.2d 964

i

i | C2I

(llth Cir. 1982) (statute allocating peremptory Challenges on basis of

f county population rationally related to state's Purpose). This claim

E for relief is, therefore, denied.

i VI. INEFFECTIVE ASSISTANCE OF COUNSEL

4 Petitioner Clines alleges that his counsel at trial was

} ineffective because (a) on cross-examination of a state witness he

elicited testimony that Clines had been involved in another crime

: the night before the Lehman incident, (b) he failed to timely object to

introduction of a co-defendant's out of court statement which

B snpricatea Clines as the one who beat and/or killed Don Lehman, and (c)

.* failed to object to the introduction of Clines' tennis shoe into

evidence, Analyzing these claims under the Standard set forth in

fj Strickiana v. Washington, 466 U.S. 668 (1984), the court finds that

Clines

was not denied his Sixth Amendment right to effective assistance

gt of counsel and that this claim for relief must be denied.

fg Peover functioning of the adversarial Process that the trial cannot be

To prevail on a claim of ineffective assistance of counsel the

petitioner must establish that counsel's conduct 50 undermined the

In order to do

relied on as having produced a just result. Id. at 686.

§ .. he must show first that the defense was prejudiced. To be-

— the errors of the petitioner's counsel must give rise to a

reasonable probability that, in the absence of error, the result of the

crs would nave been different. Id. at 694. And to be deficient

(“22

the counsel's performance must fall below an objective standard of

reasonableness when all circumstances are considered. Id. at 687~g8,

The petitioner must overcome the presumption that the challenged action

might be considered sound trial Strategy, and the reasonableness of

counsel's actions may be determined Or substantially influenced by the

petitioner's own statements or actions. Id. at 691.

As to Clines' first claim, that counsel elicited damaging

testimony from a state witnes S, the court need not reach the prejudice

component of the Strickland test because counsel's strategy was not

tt

‘

i

i

E

i

é unreasonable, In his deposition, Clines' trial counsel stated that: he

had asked Clines about his involvement in prior crimes with the other

i three defendants. He said that Clines "categorically denied any

involvement at all" ana that “he made excuses, alibis, swore to us that

i he was not involved in anything" the state witness was testifying to.

i The alleged damaging questions were asked because counsel’ was “relying

on what Clines had told Uhim]" and, on that basis, he made a "judgment

B cain. . The court finds counsel's actions to be objectively

reasonable,

i Clines admits in his brief that the prejudice resulting from the

oa two alleged errors was “very small" or “may or may not have been

strong." The court agrees with this assessment. The admission of

B cuines: tennis shoe into evidence had virtually no bearing on the

outcome of the trial as there was overwhelming evidence which placed

Clines at the scene of the crime. The out of court statement of

— Richley, that Clines was the one who removed his mask -and

i ,

i hn

«<*

beat Lehman with a chain, was likewise not prejudicial because Vicki

Lehman had previously identified Clines as that man. She helped a

Police artist sketch Clines and she later identified him in a line-up.

Moreover, State witness Tammy Baker established that Clines had

possession of a chain shortly before he went to the Lehman home, and

the state medical examiner testified that Lehman had been struck with a

‘VII. THE DEATH QUALIFIED JURY

In Lockhart v. McCree, 476 U.S.162 (1986), the Supreme Court ruled

|

i

$

i

i link type instrument.

i

t

a that death qualification -- the removal of jurors whose opposition to

: the death penalty is so Strong that it would prevent or substantially

impair the performance of their duties as jurors -- does not violate

Bf the "fair cross section" or "impartiality" guarantees of the Sixth

Amendment. This case fully disposes of the petitioners’ argument that

death qualification is unconstitutional and that claim for relief is,

— denied.

§ vir. PECUNIARY GAIN AS AN ELEMENT OF THE UNDERLYING OFPENSE AND AS AN

In Lowenfield vy. Phelps, 108 S.Ct. 546 (1988), the Supreme Court

|

“AGGRAVATING CIRCUMSTANCE* TO JUSTIPY A PENALTY OF DEATH

fully explored the "double counting" issue and held that there is no

§j Eighth Amendment violation where an “aggravating circumstance" used to

i

: C24

i

i ————i—i—‘(iswsSCisS

a offense. This case igs disppositive of the issue as raised by the

justify the death penalty duplicates an element of the underlying

pe and, accordingly, this claim for relief is denied.

i IX. VOLUNTARY WITHDRAWAL OP ISSUES RAISED

i At the habeas hearing both petitioners Clines and Orndorff

testified, against advice of counsel, that they would like to withdraw

i. issues which, if decided in their favor, could result at best in

gtr reduction of their sentences to life without parole. And more

recently, petitioner Richley has filed a pro se motion to dismiss his

B netition in its entirety. Counsel for each of the three have asked the

court to order psychiatric examinations before ruling on the merits of

i... petitioners" requests -- which if granted would result in the

Jjrctitioners: executions. Por the reasons that follow the court deems

it unnecessary to order the examinations or to rule on the requests to

withdraw the petitions.

The state trial was a joint proceeding involving all four of the

_ ite as co-defendants. And the court has ruled, above, that the

trial was constitutionally defective. Bedeuse petitioner Holmes has

not asked to withdraw his petition the court finds that all issues

Breretofore addressed in this opinion, with the exception of Clines’

claim of ineffective assistance, were properly before it. Because of

i ,

he role this court plays in the administration of justice it cannot

| the state to execute three of four co-defendants sentenced to .

{

3 C25

death following an unconstitutional proceeding.

It is icc the court's

® concern whether Clines, Orndorff and Richley wish to die at the hand of

the state. Rather, it is the court's concern that if the State chooses

‘ to execute one convicted of a crime, it do soina manner that Comports

J with the Constitution of the United States. This the state has not

done,

N The petitioners' reliance on Gilmore v. Utah, 429 u.s. 1012 (1976)

is misplaced. In that case the Supreme Court held Only that it had no

jurisdiction to hear an appeal of Gilmore's death Sentence brought by a

friend where there had been no showing that Gilmore was unable to

seek relief on his Own behalf. In the instant case the court does have

Bf jurisdiction by virtue of Holmes’ petition for habeas relief. Because

Clines, Orndorff ana Richley were Holmes' co-defendants in a joint

Becta, a finding by this court that the joint trial Was conducted in an

Re manner must inure to their benefit whether they sought

X~- CONCLUSION

‘Por the foregoing reasons I? IS HEREBY ORDERED that the writ shall

in 120 days unle

to gain such relief Or not,

SS the petitioners are given a new trial or, in

Fee alternative, their sentences

parole,

of death commuted to life without

é

a

THIS Z 7 DAY OF » 1988

Lfbenu ef

Y or ws GLZTZA_—

HENRY WOODS, BIS ICT JUDGE

THIS DOCUMENT ENTERED ON DOCKET

SHEET IN

7 at, ne ta ae

On_7

CA]

Te eS Te MOLL TTS RN ee OT RT ME WET OTIS Mae eT TE en eR OT eae ES

.

| United States Court of Appeals

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

_ o

No. 88-2344

J al S 4 ne | ‘a A4

:

‘ ; uc€

J c vv i .

: Appeal irom the United

i * * State: is curt

a wie, ~tates District Court

= Cor

‘for the Eastern District

a t. e- ©

| vw *> |

Hoyt Franklin Cline: oe

—~

Appe

Vv ;

. Je 2Cckh:; t

ae < ar , Dir ector ,

~< 2aSs Dept . C 4 , - j

On,

Appellee.

A, y

» Appel] lant

V«

A. L Lockhart ; Direct OY ;

*

*

*

.

7

*

7

2

Darryl v. Richley, .

*

*

*

.

+

*

Arkansas Dept :

Dept. of Correction, *

i

*

Appellee.

Appendix: ‘py Ht

rr r—“‘<‘<‘isS

No. 88-2405

Michael Ray Orndorff,

Appellee,

A. L. Lockhart, Direct or,

Arkansas Dept. of Correction

/

2

> nrnernenenee @& &

Appellant.

James William Holmes,

Appellee,

Vv.

A. L. Lockhart, Director,

Arkansas Dept. of Correction,

Appellant.

eee ee a Appeal from the United

States District Court

for the Eastern District

of Arkansas.

Hoyt Franklin Clines,

Appellee,

Ve

A. L. Lockhart, Director,

Arkansas Dept. of Correction,

Appellant.

zx zeke tk

Darryl V. Richley,

Appellee,

Vv.

A; L. Lockhart, Director,

Arkansas Dept. of Correction,

"OS oseeeeeseeseeoeecaeseeesseeesseevessunsseeceauanc

Appellant.

DA nee

p~

~~

~

‘

‘

‘ ‘ . .

4 ‘ ‘ ‘ ‘ ‘ ‘

— ‘ tL. <4 >

. rt ‘ ‘

‘ ‘ ‘ . —

. + 4 ‘ 4 + =

’ - ¥ s . .

A> . > + + ’ » +)

> a " ‘ . - a* -

. - > ’ ‘ + ‘ . , . + 7 r

i i Vv « P 4

f 4 10 + 7 ? Ages ‘ 140% 10 4

: 4 P . . , = . . as 2 \ 4 : ;

. . : : “4 ; = + —

reiler was denied, Clines v. State, 282 Ark

7 . t + + y Y Fs loaA notte 4 to f = he =>: h

>, i | 4 A Sio £4460 petitil ns Or labea

+} : r+ at aie i ak a *~117°4 Wi~eaciant . 72 Cc _ eek -e,

sat WMilSL-ITIC\ \ Ul \ DUIrSUaANL to 2 weomet« LZaI%

984 and the cases were consolidated for joint

f

r conducting an evidentiary hearing, the District

rough memorandum and order from which the partie:

itioners raised a number of grounds for habeas

trict Court, the principal issue below, and the

the District Court granted relief, concerned the

0 = aA cme Sf

Mm <_e 7

~~ eA\4406 | i }

-O evidence of the testimony of

e Henry Woods, United States District Judge for

“ict of Arkar

iSas.

Vickie Lehman, the victim's daughter and a key prosecution witness.

Unbeknownst to petitioners or to their trial counsel, Vickie and

her mother Virginia Lehman had been placed under hypnosis by one

Gene Peters roughly one month after the murder at the behest of the

prosecutor. As the District Court found:

During the sessions Peters would try to get his subjects

to revisualize and relive the events of January 8 [1981]

and, following each session, he and the Lehmans would

report to the prosecutor's office. Peters took notes of

each session but no electronic recording devices were

used. His notes were never turned over to the prosecutor

and have since been destroyed. Neither Peters [{njor the

prosecutor have any record of the questions asked and the

responses given.

Orndorff v. Lockhart, 707 F. Supp. 1062, 1066 (E.D. Ark. 1988).

Petitioners' attorneys did not learn that Vickie Lehman had been

hypnotized prior to trial until after they had filed the direct

appeal in the Arkansas Supreme Court. Id.

The District Court ruled that the prosecutor's failure to

apprise opposing counsel that Vickie Lehman had undergone hypnosis

violated the Confrontation Clause of the Sixth Amendment and the

Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment, and that the use

of her testimony at trial was not harmless error. In fashioning

its remedy, however, the District Court permitted the state, as an

alternative to retrying petitioners, to commute their death

sentences to life imprisonment without the possibility of parole.

Petitioners appeal from this ruling, claiming that the District

Court erred in permitting the state the option of commutation.

Lockhart concedes that the use of Vickie Lehman's testimony without

disclosure .of her hypnosis was constitutional error, but cross-

appeals from the District Court's finding that the error was not

harmless.

: na

Given the scope of the cross-appeal, we assume without

‘deciding that the District Court was correct in holding that the

use of Vickie Lehman's post-hypnotic testimony violated the

Confrontation Clause. In the District Court, petitioners sought

to establish that the use of this testimony was not harmless error

by demonstrating that Vickie Lehman's trial testimony differed

Significantly from statements she had given the police shortly

after the crime occurred; the state sought to show that any

variations were not material and that the error was therefore

harmless. At issue were some 137 instances of such variations.

Our difficulty with the District Court's treatment of the hypnosis

issue stems from the fact that, although it purperted to make a

harmless-error inquiry, the District Court did not analyze these

variations but rather held that the prosecutor's failure to

disclose that Vickie Lehman had been hypnotized was “inherently

prejudicial." Orndorff, 707 F. Supp. at 1069. The District Court

reasoned that Vickie Lehman's testimony at trial was “inherently

prejudicial" because post-hypnotic testimony may, generally

speaking, appear more credible than ordinary testimony since the

witness, through hypnosis, may gain a heightened conviction that

what he or she believes to be the truth actually represents

reality. See id. We believe this resolution of the harmless error

inquiry to be unsound.

Assuming that the prosecutor's nondisclosure of Vickie

Lehman's hypnosis ran afoul of the Confrontation Clause, that error

is not harmful simply because the jury might have found her.

testimony less credible had defense counsel been able to probe the

issue of her hypnosis on cross-examination. The fact that defense

counsel was denied use of a legitimate means of cross~examining an

adverse witness is not in and of itself grounds for disturbing a

guilty verdict. See Delaware v. Van Arsdall. 475 U.S. 673, 680-81

(1986). The District Court's view of the matter, we believe,

amounts to the contrary view, since it premises a finding of

harmful error on little more than the (presumptively) enhanced

credibility of Vickie Lehman's testimony and defense counsel's

inability to counteract it. As the Supreme Court stated in van

Arsdall:

The correct inquiry is whether, assuming that the

damaging potential of the cross~examination were fully

realized, a reviewing court might nonetheless say that

the error was harmless beyond a reasonable doubt.

Whether such an error is harmless in a particular case

depends upon a host of factors ..., includ{ing} the

importance of the witness' testimony in the prosecution's

case, whether the testimony was cumulative, the presence

or absence of evidence corroborating or contradicting the

testimony of the witness on material points, the extent

of cross-examination otherwise permitted, and, of course,

the overall stre ngth of the prosecution's case.

475 U.S. at 684 (citations omitted).

testify without aid of hypnosis (that is, from actual memory) from

those things about which she could testify only after being

hypnotized. Unless this sorting process reveals Significant

variations, the error Should be deemed harmless.*

witness's testimony on any major point. 9880 F.2d at 10, n.10: We

made this observation despite defendant's contention that the

witness's belief in her post~hypnosis testimony had been enhanced

by the hypnosis. See Byrd, 686 F. Supp. 743, 771 (E.D. Mo. 1988).

Similarly, in Williams V- _Armontrout, 877 F.2d 1376 (8th Cir.

1989), cert. denied, 110s. Ct. 1140 (1990), we concluded that even

though hypnosis had rendered a witness's in-court identification

‘of the defendant unreliable, habeas relief was not warranted

because this identification "did not contrib

ute to the conviction."

Id. at 1380-81. °- . -- ; et .

oe © Vet sme e

-6-

Dlo

We therefore vacate the judgment of the District Court in part

and remand the matter to the District court for further

proceedings.? The District Court already has determined that,

beyond a reasonable doubt, the error here (if indeed there was

harmful error) affected only the penalty phase of the trial, not

the jury verdict finding petitioners guilty as charged.

The court's review of the entire record does reveal,

beyond a reasonable doubt, that the petitioners were

responsible for the robbery homicide for which they were

tried. Their activities in preparation for the armed

break-in and the events which later lead to their

apprehension were fully documented through the testimony

of thirty four prosecution witnesses. However, even

though there is no question of their guilt for the crimes

charged, the court is unable to say with confidence that

the jury would have recommended the death penalty for

each and every petitioner had defense counsel been

informed of Vicki Lehman's hypnosis. Critical portions

of her testimony may have been disregarded by the jury

had they known of the effects of hypnosis, or the trial

court may have deemed some testimony inadmissible

altogether. Cf. Little v. Armontrout, supra (trial

court's refusal to appoint an expert in hypnosis for an

indigent defendant violated due process and rendered the

trial fundamentally (un)fair).

Orndorff v. Lockhart, 707 F. Supp. at 1070. Having reviewed the

record, we are thoroughly satisfied, as was the District Court,

that the harmful error here (if any) goes only to the imposition

of the death penalty and not to the jury verdict finding

petitioners guilty of capital felony murder. The evidence of.

petitioners' guilt, even without Vicki Lehman's testimony, is

overwhelming.

as resolution of the due process claim would not affect in any way

our disposition of this appeal.

-7J-

07.

i]

Lockhart argues that, because the District Court found error

affecting only the penalty phase of the trial, the court erred in

ordering that the writ of habeas corpus issue unless the state

either retries petitioners or commutes their death sentences to

life without parole. We agree. In a habeas case, no less than any

other, the remedy must be commensurate with the harm. Accordingly,

if in light of this opinion the District Court finds on remand that

the use of Vicki Lehman's testimony was not harmless error insofar

as its effect upon the jury's recommendation that petitioners

receive the death penalty is concerned, the court's order granting

habeas relief should give the state the option of either conducting

a new sentencing proceeding or reducing the sentences to life

without parole. See Pickens v. Lockhart, 714 F.2d 1455, 1469 (8th

Cir. 1983).°

We have considered petitioners' additional claims of error and

find them to be without merit.

For the foregoing reasons, the judgment of the District Court

is affirmed in part, vacated in part, and the matter remanded for

further proceedings consistent with this opinion.

“tn its cross-appeal the state also argues that the District

Court erred in granting habeas relief to defendants Orndorff and

Clines because they had requested the District Court not to

consider any claim that would result only in the commutation of

their death sentences to life imprisonment without parole, and to

defendant Richley, who had moved the District Court:-to dismiss his

habeas petition. However, in the joint reply brief filed by all

four petitioners, they argue that the District Court did not err

We take this to

constitute an abandonment by Orndorff, Clines, and Richley of the

positions they took in this regard in the District Court, which

abandonment renders the issue moot and thus not properly before us

in granting habeas relief to all of then.

in this appeal.

-8-

o%

A true copy.

Attest:

>

|

)

O

ry

nee

an

UO

aL

>

=e

UO

|

fx)

OF APPEALS,

COURT

o

W«

U.

CLERK,

Pa x - =

“RA

V. No. PB-C-84-300

JAMES WILLIAM HOLMES

V. No. PB-C-84-301

A.L. LOCKHART, Director of the

Arkansas Department of Correction

HOYT PRANKLIN-CLINES

V. No. PB-C-84-302

A.L. LOCKHART, Director of the a

Arkansas Department of Correction

DARRYL V. RICHLEY

v. ‘Gee No. PB-C~84~303

A.L. LOCKHART, Director of these:

Arkansas Department of Correction.

\

©

ys

.

iota

IN THE UNITEDSSTATES DISTRICT ,COURT

RESPONDENT

PETITIONER

RESPONDENT

PETITIONER -

RESPONDENT:

orl ee

«* >

RESPONDENT :”

.

.

Ag

-

2 aif -s

Pg Sag > bate

Baste ER

5g ‘that if the assumed error was Evacmie a8, it SS

| #3

(red

at cite $ nyt:

ae Bo: REN, Z

i nae 1062, 1069 (E.D.Ark. 1988). “the 6 Court OP RDS ee ‘Yeversed,

could not be

PRS Ponies eas Oh gate:

Fe Age for habeas corpus relief. “eats 'v. Lockhart, 906 F.2d

1230 (8th Cir. 1990). The Court of Appeals directed me to

a Vicki Lehman‘s pre-hypnosis statements with sher trial

estimony with "an eye toward sorting those things about which [Ms]

hman could testify without aid of hypnosis (that is, from actual

Fpenory) from those things about which she could testify only after

being hypnotized." Id. The Court of Appeals stated that “[{uJ]nless

his sorting process reveals significant variations, the error

ieee be deemed harmless." Id. at 1232.

In compliance with the mandate of the Court of Appeals, I have

carefully compared the two pre-trial statements of Vicki Lehman

with the trial testimony. Her accounts of- the robbery-murder on

the night of January 8, 1981 were given in question and answer

form. The first interrogation was by Don Townsend, a Benton County

Deputy Sheriff. It took place slightly more than three hours after

Brox father was murdered and began a few minutes after 1:00 A.M. on

the morning of January 9, 1981. The wertten transcript of the

B snvecZogatiia is twenty-six pages in length. The answers to the

-" au.

gj ceerttons. posed to Miss Lehman were intelligent and; seogent. They

is 4

° ~

oz =. gq Sf? o . a ek ey SS sao

‘

were also concise. The second interrogatior ‘five; days later on

% ia —

edger an conducted by-. ‘théfprosectt ing Btesrney, David

= e; nye as

z. BEE A oe TER Po

aes

estion anid’ answerstorm ieieconaecansctipt.

Ss > Seine HES ie . ee eon! FP pce 35 we PAe fiee ee oe

et eS 2 ee ‘ Bim ee ters AeeoTs A Qin, Sra

Meferences

Bf acegines gion ‘by the witness. There are a Le

Ns ey : een oe oa

aiffézences, which would be expected in intgzeouaed

different occasions. At any rate,

ie . pe

statements are not an issue because both*);were*= ‘taken before

hypnosis. The issue is whether there was significant’ variation

between the trial testimony and the January 9 and January 14

eatatements.

In contrast to the other interrogations, Ms. Lehman‘’s trial

i

4

t

|

i testimony was one hundred forty pages in the trial transcript. Her

direct examination consisted of 80 pages and the four cross-~-

H examinations consumed 60 pages. The in-trial questioning of Miss

4 Lehman was obviously much more detailed than the two prior

interrogations. She had gone to her home and participated in 4

f reenactment of the crime. Between her initial statements and the

trial, the witness had eight months to. reflect on events

i surrounding the murder without the enormous stress that must have

¥ surrounded the statements of January 9 and January 14--one right

after the murder and the other right after the funeral.

The prosecutor, in preparing the trial testimony of his

principal witness, obviously spent a great deat: “Of” time on his

direct examinaticn and went into more detail on. evsntasy He fleshed

Ala shige rE fen

t out.the bare ‘bones accounts of the carl ter fatereogattone. Such

s ee ra So “Saf ue : om bei anid 2 > oe Z mt. %

a ‘procedure is” nomial ° merertens after

ma, ary %: ¥? by a of.

interrogator, {guinterested in obtai

crs. -

"ee

: las Soi Ws

BEA , Bt. “ Rese ae: > v«

=the’ : Prosecutors BE Sfforts. are. ——

sp ey ic: ar PR at rea nies

and;detailed, account;

Bf inetance, she testified at trial as follows:

Appeals has held to ba necessary.

I do not find ‘the -eignificant variation which ;

. a

PB 3 eae QS

a

Beno witness simply elaborated on her previous Agtatements,

ee 4

: aos

a* arts *

e ‘

ry MMos S ag

petitioners point out saveral instances of variation between Ms.

Lehman's

trial testimony and her previous statements.

a.

For

"There were like

three masked men and they all had guns and for an instant they were

| a pointed right at me.” (T. 3029). It is true that in her

‘

Q.

A.

A.

Q.

initial interrogation, she stated:

They got into the house. Then what happened?

Then a couple of them were wrestling with him, they

just kind of rolled over to the edge of the dining

room table and I was just standing there and I saw

the other two had guns on me.

(T. 4161-62). On January 14, she stated:

At that time I could see dad and I could see him

pushing back at the door and I...and as I was going

to start pushing back at the door with him then

that’s when they all just came in. They were...from

over there I could see three of them just all

standing there with their guns and I just said what

do you want, I can remember saying what do you want

and then they were just fighting with dad.

(T. 4190). Later she stated:-

Do you remember seeing any of those boys with guns

in their hands? The two that were fighting with

him? ee 3 es:

é

I can’t recall. The only thing.I can recall®is

whenever I saw the: gun was...I ‘know two of ‘them

standing there at me holding guns.

fighting

’

<3 4c5

on the floor.

AN oo

as

ans -

. ~ *ebyy + s¢ +o ten -

7 3 ' aor 5403, “esgyGa® ‘

WBsigniticant, if it is actually a variation. That one of the men

was identified as asking about the on does not exclude the fact

at the other two may have asked similar questions.

Another purported variation has to do with tail lights on the

| ake car. (T. 3054, 4169, 4186). This information was

uont to assist in apprehension of the suspects and has no

relevance to the crime and the punishmont assessed by the jury.

flarly, in her initial interview, Ms. Lehman could not remember

ything about the footwear of the man who was holding her. Like

i tail light information, the police officer was making this

Bouiry to aid in the man’s apprehension. It had nothing to do

th guilt or punishment. This interrogation was made when the

was under a great deal of stress. It is not surprising

| i she later could not remember every detail about the man’s

appearance.

t After carefully considering the three interrogations of Ms.

hman, I have concluded that there is a remarkable consistency in

(. recitations on all three occasions. There are no significant

acc in her trial testimony and the previous interrogations.

The questions were more detailed and her answers were more

Botatied. Petitioners have- failed to shoulder the burden

rae by the Court of Appeals. They have failed to show any

ignificant variation in her pre-hypnotic and posthypnotic

arena te

: slag Sw - :

Ph ANS Te 1. ver

ct.

i The habeas petitions by Michael R. Orndorff, James William

Holmes, Hoyt Franklin Clines and Darryl v. Richley are therefore

| denied and dismissed.

This 29th day of April, 1991.

4 J

aa _f (LLL. YL yg A

iENRY WOOD -5. District aos

THIS DOCUMENT ENTERED ON DOCKET SHEET IN

COMPL nS Do 58 AND/OR 79{a) FRCP

ON BY

a

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

No. 91-3510

Michael Ray Orndorff, *

+

Appellant, *

*

Vv. *

+

A. L. Lockhart, Director, * Appeals from the United States

Arkansas Department of * District Court for the

Correction, * Eastern District of Arkansas.

*

Appellee. *

No. 91-3512

James William Holmes, *

*

Appellant, *

*

Vv. *

*

A. L. Lockhart, Director, *

Arkansas Department of *

Correction, *

*

Appellee. *

No. 91-3513

Hoyt Franklin Clines, *

+

Appellant, *

+

*

Vv. *

; 7

A. L. Lockhart, Director, *

Arkansas Department of *

Correction, *

- *

Appellee. *

Arpensdin. F

a

“ ri]

Darryl Richley, *

*

Appellant, *

*

vV. *

7

A. L. Lockhart, Director, *

Arkansas Department of *

Correction, *

*

Appellee. *

Submitted: June 8, 1992

Filed: July 15, 1993

Before RICHARD S. ARNOLD, Chief Judge, HENLEY, Senior Circuit

Judge, and MAGILL, Circuit Judge.

HENLEY, Senior Circuit Judge.

We visit this habeas case for the second time. Michael Ray

Orndorfft, James William Holmes, Hoyt Franklin Clines, and Darryl V.

Richley (petitioners) appeal from the -judgment of the district

court denying their requests for habeas relief under 28 U.S.C. §

2254. Petitioners were convicted of capital murder and were

sentenced to suffer the death penalty. The district court found

that at trial petitioners were denied their sixth amendment right

to confront the witnesses against them. The court granted

petitioners partial relief, finding that this error was harmless

with respect to their convictions and affected only their death

sentences. Respondent Lockhart concedes the error at trial, but

contends this error was harmless with respect to the convictions

and sentences. We affirmed that part of the decision denying

-2-

Fa

ek Ne eee een ee eS

4+ Sea auu rcemanaqeaq ror IXIUrCiMec CVS szuciatciuis Mate eee

. Lockhart, 906 F.2d 1230 (8th Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 111 S. Ct.

1338 (1991). On remand from this court, the district court held

that the error was harmless with respect to the petitioners’

sentences and denied their requests for habeas relief. We affirm

in part and reverse and remand in part.

Le

Petitioners broke into and robbed the house of Don Lehman in

eee fies

Rogers, Arkansas. In addition to stealing several hundred dollars

and some guns, one or more of the petitioners shot and killed Don

Lehman and threatened to kill his wife and daughter, who were in

"rr a

” ~ .

the house at the time.

At trial, Don Lehman’s daughter, Vicki Lehman, testified in

great detail about the murder-robbery. In addition to her trial

RP ee tf ee ey Tr”

testimony, she gave the police two statements which were recorded

and transcribed: one within hours after the murder and another

row we

several days later. Although there are some variations between her

trial testimony and her two pretrial statements, there are many

Similarities in her descriptions of what happened that night.

Vicki Lehman has consistently stated that at approximately

9:45 on the evening of January 8, 1981, she heard the front

doorbell ring and got out of bed to go to the door. Vicki met her

father in the hall on the way to the door and followed closely

behind him. When her father unlocked the door, four men wearing

ski.masks forced their way into the house and attacked him. Vicki

was held at gunpoint by one of the men while two or three others

attempted to subdue her father who was struggling. Vicki was

: ordered to kneel down, face the wall, and put her head in her

hands. She could sense that the fight had moved down the hall and

into the bedroom. Vicki then heard two gunshots. Moments later,

one of the men grabbed her by the back of the hair and led her

through the house, searching for money and other valuables.

-3-

F3

follows: (1) the tallest man who wore wire rim glasses that were

visible through the ski mask, later identified as petitioner

Richley; (2) the heavy or biggest man, later identified as

petitioner Holmes; (3) the short or smallest man, later identified

as petitioner Orndorff; and (4) the medium-sized man who removed

his mask during the robbery, later identified as petitioner Clines.

She got a very good look at the man who removed his mask, and

within hours after the murder helped an investigator create a

composite drawing of that man. Several days later she positively

identified petitioner Clines in a line-up.

Vicki has also consistently described the sequence of events

as she was led through the house. After she heard the gunshots,

the tallest man with the glasses grabbed her and demanded to know

where some money was. This tal] intruder never let go of her until

he left and constantly had his gun pointed at her head or back.

She led him into her bedroom and produced an envelope containing

Some money she had received for Christmas. From her bedroom, Vicki

was taken back down the hall, upstairs to a loft or office area

above the main room, and then back downstairs. She was then led

into her parents’ bedroom where she saw her father laying

motionless on the bed and her mother cowering in the corner. While

in that bedroom, the medium-sized man found several hundred dollars

in a drawer. He became excited and removed his mask. Then he and

the heavy man began tearing out drawers and throwing clothes about

the room searching for more money. The smallest man then suggested

that she be allowed to call an ambulance for her father.

Vicki was taken into the kitchen area to use the phone.

Before she was able to make the call, however, the medium-sized man

grabbed the phone from her and stated she was not going to call

anyone. Vicki then stared eye-to-eye with this unmasked man. All

four attackers were in the kitchen area and they demanded more

money and guns. Vicki directed them to the gun cabinet in the

-4-

FH

; living room. The tallest man, still holding Vicki, orderea two o1

‘the attackers, the smallest and medium-sized man, to get in the car

and ordered the heavy man to remove the guns from the cabinet. The

heavy man took the guns out to the car and the tallest man

followed.

The police arrested all four petitioners within several days

of the murder. After a joint trial, petitioners were convicted of

armed robbery and capital murder. The death penalty was imposed on

all four.' Petitioners exhausted their state remedies and filed

petitions for habeas corpus relief in federal court. Petitioners

raised several claims in their habeas petitions, but only one was

found to have merit.

After petitioners had appealed to the Arkansas Supreme Court,

they discovered that Vicki Lehman had been hypnotized prior to

trial in an attempt to enhance her memory. The prosecutor had

arranged for this hypnosis, but failed to inform the defendants or

the trial court. In their habeas petitions, petitioners claimed

they were denied their sixth amendment right to confront the

witnesses against them because they were denied the opportunity to

2 The district court

cross-examine Vicki Lehman about the hypnosis.

found that the prosecutor’s failure to inform the defendants about

this hypnosis was constitutional error. The court further found

that this error was harmless with respect to the petitioners’

convictions of capital murder, but held that the error was not

In Arkansas, a person convicted of capital murder may receive

the death penalty or life imprisonment without parole. Ark. Code

Ann. § 5-10-110 (1987) (“A person commits capital murder if. .

he commits ... robbery . . . and in furtherance of the felony

. « he or an accomplice causes the death of any person under

circumstances manifesting extreme indifference to the value of

human life.").

2*Tn all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall enjoy the

right .. . to be confronted with the witnesses against him." U.S.

‘Const. amend. VI.

-5=-

FS

harmless with respect to the petitioners’ sentences. Orndorff v.

Lockhart, 707 F. Supp. 1062 (E.D. Ark. 1988).

On appeal from that decision, we affirmed the district court’s

holding that the error did not warrant reversal of the convictions

because "(t)jhe evidence of petitioners’ guilt, even without Vicki

Lehman’s testimony, is overwhelming." Orndorff, 906 F.2d at 1233.

We remanded the case, however, with directions for the district

court to reconsider the question whether the error was harmless

with respect to the petitioners’ death sentences. Id. On remand,

the district court found the error harmless and denied petitioners’

request for habeas relief. Petitioners appeal from that decision.

II.

We begin with the premise that when reviewing a constitutional

violation for harmless error, courts traditionally required "the

beneficiary of a constitutional error to prove beyond a reasonable

doubt that the error complained of did not contribute to the

verdict obtained." Chapman v. California, 386 U.S. 18, 24 (1967).

The Supreme Court has recently altered this premise, holding that

the correct harmless error standard in most habeas corpus cases is

“whether the error ‘had substantial and injurious effect or

influence in determining the jury’s verdict.‘" Brecht v.

Abrahamson, 113 S.Ct. 1716, 1722 (1993) (quoting Kotteakos v.

United States, 328 U.S. 750, 776 (1946).3 This court has recently

noted the question whether the Brecht standard applies if the state

courts never considered the harmless error issue because they found

no error. Hoversten v. Jowa, No. 92-2402 (8th Cir. July 13, 1993).

In Hoversten, however, this court declined to answer that question

because the error was not harmless under either standard. Id. slip

op. at 6. We now reach the unresolved question.

‘After this case was argued and submitted, the Supreme Court

decided Brecht. At this court’s request, the parties filed

Supplemental briefs discussing the effect Brecht may have on this

case,

-6-

- | ?

=*

MeCN RPS SEES NEN nes ST MURDS Senin abe GM MSURE ct Te ARN AOA oT TAME, HNC MN ea A AAT: See mean sa oe tee eae

: Brecht reached the Supreme Court after two state appessace ,

‘courts, a federal district court, and a federal court of appeals

had reviewed the error under the Chapman harmless error standard.

Petitioners argue that the Court declined to apply the Chapman

harmless error standard on collateral review because to do so would

undermine “the finality of convictions that have survived direct

review within the state court system.“ Brecht, 113 S.Ct. at 1720

(citations omitted). The Court noted that “({sjtate courts are

fully qualified to identify constitutional error and evaluate its

prejudicial effect on the trial process under Chapman," and that

"it scarcely seems logical to require federal habeas courts to

engage in the identical approach to harmless~-error review that

Chapman requires state courts to engage in on direct review." Id.

at 1721.

We believe the Brecht rule is based largely on the notion that

because the state courts can properly apply the Chapman harmless

error standard on direct review, the federal habeas courts need

only review those decisions under the Kotteakos harmless error

standard. In the case before us, however, the state courts did not

have the opportunity to review the error at all, and the federal

habeas court was the first court to review the constitututional

error under the Chapman harmless error standard. As a result, we

find that rule announced in Brecht does not apply and that the

Chapman harmless error standard is the appropriate test in this

case.

We therefore must determine whether the error in this case

“was harmless beyond a reasonable doubt." Chapman, 386 U.S. at 24.

More specifically, in the context of this confrontation clause

violation, “{t]he correct inquiry is whether, assuming that the

damaging potential of the cross-examination were fully realized, a

reviewing court might nonetheless say that the error was harmless

beyond a reasonable doubt." Delaware v. Van Arsdall, 475 U.S. 673,

684 (1986) (listing five factors a reviewing court should evaluate

~J=-

A

——E——————L_E_voaaaeeE

+46 MANASY ALD MOULDS LOI) «

In remanding this case, we instructed the district court to

conduct its inquiry using the harmless error analysis set forth in

Van Arsdall. We noted that the court should compare the pre-

hypnotic statements to the trial testimony “with an eye toward

sorting out those things about which Vicki Lehman could testify

without the aid of hypnosis (that is, from actual memory) from

those things about which she could testify only after being

hypnotized." Orndorff, 906 F.2d at 1232. We further stated that

“(ujnless this sorting process reveals Significant differences, the

error should be deemed harmless." id. (footnote omitted). The

district court found there to be a “remarkable consistency" jin

Vicki Lehman‘’s recitations of the murder-robbery and therefore

concluded the error was harmless.

After the district court made its ruling on remand, the

Supreme Court decided Yates v. Evatt, 111 S. ct. 1884 (1991).

'

}

I

i

I

i

:

I Petitioners argue that Yates changes the legal test announced in

Van _Arsdall and therefore the case must be remanded because the

Hi district court’s legal analysis is flawed.‘ Respondent Lockhart

argues that Yates deals with harmless error in the context of an

' improper presumption and therefore is not relevant to this

I

i

¢

i

7

E

:

:

é

confrontation clause harmless error analysis. We find that Yates

is consistent with Van Arsdal] and does not require us to remand.

In Yates, it was determined that the trial court’s jury

instructions created certain presumptions which improperly shifted

the burden of proof from the prosecution to the defendant. In

‘After Yates was decided, petitioners requested the district

court to reconsider its decision. The district court denied this

request stating, "The Court will not resolve this question because

it is a matter for the Court of Appeals." Orndorff v. Lockhart,

No. PB-C-84-300 (E.D. Ark. Oct. 7, 1991) (order denying motions for

new trial or hearing).

-8-

FS,

ee

|

‘

oie tienda) a sw we wee ee ad ee ee er me ee ee er ee

shifting jury instruction was harmless, the Court employed a two-

step approach. In essence, a reviewing court must first establish

“what evidence the jury actually considered in reaching its

verdict." 111 S. Ct. at i893. The purpose of this first step is

to determine what evidence may have been considered as tending to

prove the improperly presumed fact. The second step is to “weigh

the probative force of that evidence (determined in the first step]

as against the probative force of the presumption standing alone."

id. The Court concluded that the proper test is “whether the jury

actually rested its verdict on evidence establishing the presumed

fact beyond a reasonable doubt, independently of the presumption."

Id.

Petitioners argue that the methodology used in Yates should be

“extrapolated" to the present harmless error ana’ysis of this

confrontation clause violation. They argue that Yates requires a

reviewing court to first determine what evidence the jury

considered on the issue of the death sentence. According to

petitioners, the court must then determine if there are any

differences in the pre- and post-hypnotic testimony of Vicki

Lehman, and finally determine whether the verdict of death actually

rested on the hypnotically enhanced testimony. We agree with

petitioners that Yates is instructive of our analysis, but we do

not agree that Yates changes the Van Arsdal] analysis.

In analyzing a violation of the confrontation clause for

harmless error, the Court in Van Arsdal]l stated that:

Whether such an error is harmless in a particular case

depends upon a host of factors, all readily accessible to

reviewing courts. These factors include the importance

of the witness’ testimony in the prosecution’s case,

whether the testimony was cumulative, the presence or

absence of corroborating or contradicting testimony of

the witness ‘on material points, the extent of cross-

examination: otherwise permitted, and, of course, the

~Q-

FS

| Zz = = aS lL OU ro

'

overall strength of the prosecution’s case.

475 U.S. at 684. The fifth factor described in Van Arsdall (the

overall strength of the prosecution’s case) requires us to examine

the evidence presented by the prosecution which the jury may have

considered in deciding to impose the death sentence. In Lufkins v.

Leapley, 965 F.2d 1477 (8th Cir. 1992), we analyzed a confrontation

clause violation for harmless error and cited Yates for the

proposition that “to determine whether the [error] was harmless

beyond a reasonable doubt, we must examine the other evidence

introduced at trial and determine whether it appears ‘beyond a

reasonable doubt that the error complained of did not contribute to

the verdict obtained.’" Id. at 1481.

In sum, our analysis under Yates, Van Arsdall, and Lufkins

must proceed as follows. We must first compare the pre- and post-

hypnotic statements to determine if any “significant differences"

exist. If no significant differences are found, the error is

deemed to be harmless. If, however, significant differences do

exist, we must determine if the variations nevertheless are

harmless. To accomplish that task, we assume that Vicki Lehman had

been cross-examined about the hypnosis, and we also assume that the

damaging potential of that cross-examination was fully realized.

See Van Arsdall, 475 U.S. at 684. That is, we assume the jury was

made aware of any changes in Vicki Lehman’s story after the

hypnosis, as well as the possibility of “confabulation,"

“suggestibility," and “memory-hardening" that is associated with

hypnosis.’ After making these assumptions, we must determine if we

can still say that the error was harmless beyond a reasonable

doubt. To determine whether the defendants’ inability to cross-

examine Vicki Lehman about the hypnosis did not contribute to the

‘The dangers associated with using hypnotically-enhanced

testimony in a criminal trial are discussed in some detail in

Little v. Armontrout, 835 F.2d 1240, 1243 (8th Cir. 1988) (en banc)

(citing Rock v. Arkansas, 483 U.S. 44, 58-60 (1987)).

-10-

FIO

et de > sAlipyuosveawesr ve ae ee ee e«---

. evidence introduced at trial which supported the verdict, as well

as the other factors listed in Van Arsdall.

III.

We review the district court’s harmless error analysis de

novo, as a mixed question of law and fact. See, @.g., Gunn _v,.

Newsome, 881 F.2d 949, 964 (11th Cir. 1989) (en banc); Graham v.

Wilson, 828 F.2d 656, 659-60 (10th Cir. 1987). We therefore begin

our analysis, as did the district court, with a comparison of Vicki

Lehman’s pre- and post-hypnotic statements. On appeal, petitioners

claim Vicki Lehman made 134 post-hypnotic statements which contain

significant variations from her two pre-hypnotic statements. They

contend 83 of the statements are "new" and 51 of the statements are

"changed" from her pre-hypnotic statements. °

Petitioners emphatically claim that Vicki Lehman has been

inconsistent in remembering the number of guns_ she saw.’

Petitioners argue that Vicki’s pre-hypnotic statements indicate

that at different times she saw either two or three guns, while at

trial she testified that all four petitioners had guns.

Vicki Lehman has stated that she remembered seeing the

petitioners with guns at two distinct times during the robbery.

The first instance was immediately after the petitioners forced

their way into the house. Vicki stated in her second pre-hypnotic

statement that when the intruders forced their way in the door,

three of the men pointed their guns at her for an instant while the

fourth man attacked her father. Of those three men with guns, one

then turned to the fight with her father, the tallest man grabbed

twe refer to these statements as “New Statements Nos. 1- ~83" and

"Changed Statements Nos. 1-51" as they are numbered in petitioners’

briefs.

™his claim is made in Changed Statement No. 1.

-l1li-

Fil

4aicaea 241i MeAUW £6BEKL ME a Re ee CASE 8 ee ee ques *.

with his gun. In her first statement, Vicki stated that two men

immediately began wrestling with her father and the other two had

their guns on her. In any event, Vicki has never wavered from her

statement that petitioner Richley, the tallest man, had a gun. She

saw the gun pointed at her and felt it pressed to her head and back

throughout most of the ordeal. In addition, she has stated twice

(once in the first pre-hypnotic statement and once in the second)

that petitioner Orndorff, the smallest man, had a gun when he first

entered the house.

The second instance Vicki remembered seeing guns was later

that night when all four panes ioners were with her in the kitchen.

She recounted this event consistently in both of her pre-hypnosis

statements. Vicki was taken to the kitchen from her parents’

bedroom to call an ambulance, but petitioner Clines intervened and

ripped the phone from the wall. Moments later, three of the

petitioners stood in front of her with their guns. At trial, Vicki

testified that she believed at that moment all four men had guns in

their hands, one at her back and three in front of her. She

testified later on cross-examination, however, that it was possible

that there were only two guns pointed at her, but “it seem[(ed)

like" there were three guns in front of her.

In sorting through these statements, we conclude, as did the

district court, that there is no material or significant difference

between Vicki Lehman’s pre- and post-hypnotic statements concerning

the number of guns involved in this crime. She indicated before

and after hypnosis that at least three of the petitioners, and

possibly all four, carried guns.

Petitioners argue that Vicki Lehman’s pre-hypnotic statements

indicate that only three of the petitioners were in the bedroom at

the time Don Lehman was murdered, but that her trial testimony

F eletietited ——— ~~“ ~~sc—ClU OO OO Oe

first pre-hypnotic statement, Vicki clearly indicated that the

tallest man, Richley, stayed with her in the hall while the others

were in the bedroon. In her second pre-hypnotic statement,

however, Vicki was less sure that the tall man stayed with her.

She indicated that she had her head down on the floor and that he

could have gone into the bedroom with the others. Moreover, her

second

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.