Opposition Brief — Anderson v. Electronic Data Systems Corp.

Supreme Court brief1994

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

| mprene we “ss =

Fité&ED

2) \\ Jun 24 1994

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

No. 93-1670

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1993

4

GEORGE RAYMOND ANDERSON,

Petitioner

¥.

ELECTRONIC DATA SYSTEMS CORP.,

DOUGLAS M. CROW,

ANTHONY E. WEYNAND,

RICHARD P. SHLAKMAN,

and DARRELL JOHNSON,

Respondents.

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Fifth Circuit

,%

+.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

PHILLIP N. SMITH JR.

Counsel of Record

JEFFREY A. CARTER

MICHAEL ANDREW PIAZZA

McKoo_ SmIrTH, P.C.

300 Crescent Court, Suite 1500

Dallas, Texas 75201

214-978-4000

Counsel for Respondents,

Electronic Data Systems Corporation,

Anthony E. Weynand, Richard P.

Shlakman, and Darrell Johnson

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the district court erred in finding that Plaintiff's

state law cause of action for wrongful discharge, which referred to

an employee benefit plan and the Employee Retirement Income

Security Act (“ERISA”), which contained allegations that he

was asked to violate ERISA, and which required the existence of

an ERISA plan to pursue the action, was preempted by ERISA,

either because the action related to an ERISA plan or it con-

flicted with ERISA’s civil enforcement scheme, § 502(a).

2. Whether the district court erred in applying the doctrine

of complete preemption to Plaintiffs wrongful discharge claim

which fell within the scope of ERISA’s civil enforcement scheme,

§ 502(a).

**

RULE 29.1 LIST OF PARENTS AND SUBSIDIARIES

The parent company of respondent Electronic Data Systems

Corporation is General Motors Corporation. The North American

subsidiaries (other than wholly owned subsidiaries) in which

Electronic Data Systems Corporation holds at least a five percent

equity interest are Aristacom International, Inc., The ASK

Group, Inc., Behaviortech, Inc., CAPSCO Software Canada

Ltd., CLS Corporation, Comtrac Corporation, Convergent Cor-

poration, Hitachi Data Systems Holding Corporation, Neodata

Corporation, One Touch Systems, Inc., Soft-Switch, Inc., Spec-

trum Investment Systems Inc., Systems Control Technology Inc.,

Telecommunications Data Services, Incorperated, and Thomas

Group, Inc. International subsidiaries (other than wholly owned

subsidiaries) in which Electronic Data Systems Corporation

holds at least a five percent equity interest are Klockner Datem

Technik GmbH, Aeronautical Systems Designers Limited, COG-

SYS Limited, BSS Belgique, GMB Belgique, Informatique

Proget (Brussels), CLIOR, E.A.I. (Europe Assurance Informa-

tique), F.I.J. (France Informatique Juridique), GESTHELP

HUISSIER, Infosys, OGIP ORGA, PROGICAL, SLIB,

SONIA, TELEMAC, BSS Grece, and EDS Hellas.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

hye Fs 5

RULE 29.1 LIST OF PARENTS AND

secs ccecssccccececees

I. THE FIFTH CIRCUIT FOLLOWED THE

DECISIONS OF THIS COURT AND DID

NOT ERR IN UPHOLDING THE DISTRICT

COURT’S REFUSAL TO REMAND THE

ee pally See he ae ee a

A. Anderson’s Wrongful Discharge Cause Of

Action Was Preempted Because It Relates To

toes gon oy lap decdtssee

B. Anderson’s Wrongful Discharge Claim Was

Preempted Because It Conflicted With ERISA’s

Civil Enforcement Scheme..................

C. Anderson’s Wrongful Discharge Cause Of Action

Was Completely Preempted By ERISA Because

It Was Within The Scope Of ERISA’s Civil

EPOUOONONE BOROMES .. ww. cee cece cece:

~~ UW” WN

Page

Il. IT IS ANDERSON WHO IS NOT

FOLLOWING THE DECISIONS OF

Be EE hr obs Cite ha od needed oéaxd 12

A. State Law Claims Are Subject To Preemption

And Removal Under ERISA................ 12

B. A State Law Claim Is Removable Even If

ERISA Does Not Provide A Remedy For The

Gs: 'o0s Guirao se decnies tana de od 14

C. Complete Preemption May Occur Even If

ERISA Does Not Provide An Action Identical to

the Action Being Preempted Or The Plaintiff Is

Not Seeking Any Relief Under ERISA ....... 16

Ill. ADDITIONAL GROUNDS EXIST TO

SUPPORT THE DECISION OF THE COURT

OF APPEALS UPHOLDING THE DISTRICT

COURT'S REFUSAL

a EE B65 kx ve du kin cs ona xawee vie ee’s 17

A. The District Court Had Removal Jurisdiction

Under The Well-Pleaded Complaint Rule..... 18

B. The District Court Had Original Jurisdiction At

The Time It Entered Judgment For EDS ..... 19

C. Anderson Admitted That The District Court Had

Supplemental Jurisdiction................... 21

ee FE Pe, ee Pe eee PEF Eee yer ae 21

ee

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Page

Alessi v. Raybestos-Manhattan, Inc., 451 U.S. 504,

ci eeeN vader platnressaconsanee 14

American Fire & Casualty Co. v. Finn, 341 U.S. 6,

Pe ee cc eee ey vagd bevels vehast e%é 19

Anderson v. EDS, 11 F.3d 1311 (Sth Cir. 1994)....... 9, 10, 11, 13

Authier v. Ginsberg, 757 F.2d 796 (6th Cir.), cert. denied,

Gre UA es He es Be COPE ee Sea Fic cedecvsvcsees 16

Baris v. Sulpicio Lines, Inc., 932 F.2d 1540 (Sth Cir.),

cert. denied, ____ US. Siva tek 2) ) eee 20

Corcoran v. United Healthcare, Inc., 965 F.2d 1321 (Sth Cir.),

cert. denied, ____ US. =» BOD re Ed COPUED 0 cc ceveee 15

Granfinanciera, S.A. v. Nordberg, 492 U.S. 33,

BR BT RR Se er pe eee 17

In re Digicon Marine, Inc., 966 F.2d 158 (Sth Cir. 1992) ...... 20

District of Columbia v. Greater Washington Board of Trade,

Se caiadied GOO? a EEE bn:4e o's oye bab epen as 7,8

Franchise Tax Board of CA. v. Construction Laborers Vacation

Trust for Southern CA., 463 U.S. 1, 103 S.Ct. 2841 (1983) .. 18

Grubbs v. GECC, 405 U.S. 699, 92 S.Ct. 1344 (1972) ..... 6, 19, 20

Gully v. First Nat'l Bank in Meridian, 299 U.S. 109,

Oe ee Ss acgake tay chads bs br wenaeoedesnnees 18

Hansen v. Continental Ins. Co., 940 F.2d 971 (Sth Cir. 1991) .. 15

Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon, 498 U.S. 133,

CES Ae Gre LUOeee vecvbwsinss 5, 7, 8, 10, 11, 13, 14, 15, 17

Kidd v. Southwest Airlines, Co., 891 F.2d 540

EE Mat baton cae he dato ehed ee He8e 18, 19

Mackay v. Uinta Development Company, 229 U.S. 173,

ns os his acts o6 rl bes bebecveesiusaes 19

Massachusetts Mutual Life Ins. Co. v. Russell, 473 U.S. 134,

ro Wc b be Gee ealedeaka betes te ceva 15

Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Taylor, 481 U.S. 58,

SG? SAA. S568 CEPST) on ce ccvesvees S$, 7, 18, 83, 15, 16, 19, 18

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

Nowoc v. Rheem Mfr. Co., 772 F. Supp. 977

Cs SEE nk a ROPERS nhede Vetebey dé cueedctecncads 14

Pilot Life Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux, 481 U.S. 41,

Be es ITD Faee bloc bduebiceussecess 7, 8, 10, 15, 17

Sabine Pilot Service, Inc. v. Hauck, 687 S.W.2d 733

Ces SEE ce nkse cates Dead kde bob asekwanenesbarsetsec 9

Shaw v. Delta Air Lines, 463 U.S. 85, 103 S.Ct. 2890 (1983)... 8

In re Shell Oil Co., 932 F.2d 1518 (Sth Cir. 1991),

cert. denied, ____ US. , 112 S.Ct. 914 (1992) ...... 20, 21

Sperling v. Texas Health Enterprises, Inc., 791 F. Supp. 662

Ce es SE ere Wi reed Chad daundeaekn bes édénadses 14

Washington v. Yakima Indian Nation, 439 U.S. 463,

Se Ce EP ci caddies dh bn gdGs ctu eect bebcodsecs cs 17

Whitley v. Albers, 475 U.S. 312, 106 S.Ct. 1078 (1986) ....... 17

Williams v. AC Spark Plugs Div. of General Motors Corp., 985

ae FRR CE 540 6i'tb Sos 0866608 64 0 bods Race oeee 20

Willy v. Coastal Corp., 855 F.2d 1160 (Sth Cir. 1988) ...... 13, 14

STATUTES

ee EE PE ch osie a sv 0-6 06s Chae <> 0 cores budeadiee 4400 4,7

IED ns wate bwiccdeseeeetsds tpeeninead ees 20

ee ti emkd sd Saad anes bieeee ed deeuee thas 10

29 U.S.C. § 1002(7),(8),(21) [ERISA §3].................. 10

29 U.S.C. § 1104(a)(1) [ERISA § 404(a)(1)] .............. 14

29 U.S.C. § 1105(a) [ERISA § 405(a)} ..............2.0.8. 14

29 US.C. § 1109(8) [ERISA § 400(a)) .. 2. cece cc ceees 14

29 U.S.C. § 1132(a) [ERISA § 502(a)]............. 9, 14, 16, 17

BP UAE Oe SN RE 06 bie cccscescucccesvscscces 10

29 U.S.C. § 1144(a) [ERISA § 514(a)]................. 7, 8, 15

Labor Management Relations Act,

G8 UE Sa a a nh oeeeceverccucescneevasee 11, 15

Vil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

MISCELLANEOUS

ROE AG xe rc c bbb evdnencncsteccebiacetneens 4, 20

Brief-in-Chief of Appellant Anderson ........:.............. 2

DUE Ae PED Sec hbd bare needececsccoss 4, 6, 7, 14, 15, 17, 18

Motion for Leave to File Plaintiff's Second

Amended Complaint ........ pideddddecdnvenapenei detest 2

EE due sc dou was dos¥d beccnecépices 1, 4, 7, 18, 21

eS er cecnngees bia bas beh beewe died 1, 2, 3, 4, 14

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari................. 12, 13, 14, 16, 18

Plaintiff's Responses to Douglas M. Crow’s Interrogatories ..... 4

es I dateccseevebervesadeddudnt-s 2, 3

APPENDIX

ER es wine ns ponbasdarecedert cussvvestheresiyes A-l

es he aa ea dkdénadiekenan B-1

Additional Statutory Provisions ....................02.0e0005- C-1

ee ce acs pe badewdawianeseterecni ates D-!

Re ND on oo oc ci delc ccidvedcccecvedeees E-!

[ Filed Separately Under Seal]

ADDITIONAL STATUTES INVOLVED

The statutory provisions listed below are set out in the

Appendix beginning at page C-1.

nt ciceeonnccsouas C4

in endéuvbwhewsbon C-1

LS C-1

| seb eb odens C-2

ee eebevoane ah weet

SR TE TT OOS Ra EO C-4

ee

SAA OR SRR DOs Suid SE Renae AR A tah _ aie thee aA. 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Course Of Proceedings And Disposition Of The Case.

Petitioner George Raymond Anderson (“Anderson”) filed

suit on June 26, 1991 in Texas state court against Respondents

Electronic Data Systems Corporation (“EDS”), a Texas corpora-

tion, and four present or former EDS employees, Douglas M.

Crow (“Crow”), Anthony E. Weynand (“Weynand”), Richard

P. Shlakman (“Shlakman”), and Darrell Johnson (“Johnson”),

all Texas residents.’ Anderson alleged that he too was a Texas

resident.”

On July 25, 1991, the Respondents joined in removing the

case to the United States District Court for the Northern District

of Texas, Dallas Division.’ Over four months later, on Decem-

ber 5, 1991, Anderson moved to remand the case back to state

court.’ The district court denied Anderson’s motion.°

Crow obtained a summary judgment in December 1992.° In

April 1993, Anderson filed a second amended complaint in which

he voluntarily dismissed the remaining individual defendants,

Weynand, Shlakman, and Johnson, leaving EDS as the sole

' Plaintiff's Original Petition | 1 dated June 26, 1991 (hereinafter

“Original Petition”) (R. 92-104; A. 1-2). The unsealed portions of the

record are cited in this Brief in Opposition by referring to the page

number of the record as follows: “R. page no.” The sealed portions of

the record are identified by asterisks on the docket sheet and are cited in

this Brief as ““R. Sealed.” Materials in the Appendix are cited as “A, B,

C, D, or E page no.” as appropriate. Appendix E is being filed separately

under seal.

2 Id.

> Notice of Removal (R. 1-5).

* Motion to Remand (R. 299-300; B. 1).

> Order dated January 7, 1992 (R. 331).

®° Memorandum Order dated December 2, 1992 (R. 631).

remaining defendant and dismissed all claims against EDS except

for a claim for wrongful discharge under Texas common law.’ The

district court granted EDS’ motion for summary judgment in

June 1993.8 Anderson appealed to the United States Court of

Appeals for the Fifth Circuit to challenge the district court’s

denial of his motion to remand. He did not, however, raise any

issue on appeal with respect to the district court’s summary

judgment rulings.’

B. Statement Of Facts.

Anderson joined EDS in October 1984.'° According to

Anderson, he became the “Manager of Investments and Debts”

in EDS’ Domestic Treasury Department in 1985, and as such, he

was responsible for all domestic investments made on behalf of

” Second Amended Complaint (R. 672-679). In his motion for

leave to file the Second Amended Complaint, Anderson expressly asked

for leave to dismiss his claims against each of the individual defendants.

Motion for Leave to File Plaintiff's Second Amended Complaint p. 2,

dated March 5, 1993 (R. 647).

Weynand, Shlakman, and Johnson moved to dismiss Anderson’s

appeal against them. The Fifth Circuit did not rule on their motion. By

joining in this Brief in Opposition, Weynand, Shlakman, and Johnson do

not intend to waive or forego, and want to preserve, any rights they may

have to the dismissal of Anderson’s appeal against them.

* Judgment dated June 4, 1993 (R. 709); Memorandum Order

dated June 4, 1993 (R. 701).

* Brief-in-Chief of the Appellant, George Raymond Anderson,

Anderson v. EDS, No. 93-1606 (Sth Cir.) (hereinafter “Appellant’s

Brief”).

© Original Petition ¢ V (R. 94-95; A. 4); Second Amended

Complaint § 5 (R. 673).

3

the investment portfolios of EDS, including EDS’ pension

funds.'' EDS terminated Anderson in August 1989."

In his Original Petition, Anderson contended that he was

terminated because (i) he refused to do illegal acts requested by

Crow, his supervisor, (ii) he reported Crow’s illegal acts to EDS

management, and (iii) his accusations about Crow embarrassed

management.'? Anderson listed four allegedly illegal acts that he

contended Crow asked him to do, two of which Anderson claimed

would have violated ERISA.’* Anderson further alleged that

when he refused to do the acts requested by Crow, Crow either

did them himself or forced someone else to do them; Crow

threatened him after he refused to do the acts; and Crow and

Weynand “actively sought occasion to discriminate against and

ultimately terminate him because he refused to commit the illegal

acts and because of his accusations against Crow.”"”

'' Original Petition § IV (R. 94-95; A. 3-4); Second Amended

Complaint J 5 (R. 673).

'2 Original Petition XIII (R. 100; A. 9).

? Id.

'* According to Anderson, he was asked to:

sign on two separate occasions approval of payment invoices on

behalf of the pension portfolios under [Anderson’s] manage-

ment and supervision who (sic) had been retained by Crow

without approval of the pension trustees. Such action would have

been a violation of the Federal Employee Retirement Income

Security of 1974 (“Erisa”) Laws governing management of such

pension funds.

> * *

write up minutes for meetings which [ Anderson] did not attend

in connection with the EDS Retirement Plan. This also in

violation of ERISA (sic).

Original Petition § VII (R. 96-97; A. 4-5).

'S Original Petition ¥] VIII (R. 97; A. 6) and XI (R. 99; A. 8).

4

In his Motion to Remand, Anderson contended that

(i) certain of the illegal activities Crow asked him to do would

have violated ERISA, (ii) his refusal as a plan administrator to

violate ERISA was “a reason in whole or in part for his termina-

tion,” and (iii) his refusal to violate ERISA comprised a part of

his claim for wrongful discharge.'®

Anderson also admitted in his Motion to Remand that the

district court had supplemental jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1367." He urged the court, however, to decline to exercise its

supplemental jurisdiction “since all bases for federal jurisdiction

have been eliminated by pleading amendment.”'®

In April 1993, EDS took Anderson’s deposition. Anderson

testified that he was living and working in Oklahoma City,

Oklahoma.'? He further testified that he took the job in

Oklahoma City approximately nine months after he was termi-

nated in August 1989, which would have been about May or

June 1990." Anderson sued EDS in June 1991.

'® Motion to Remand p. 2 (R. 300; B. 2). In answers to interroga-

tories, Anderson maintained that Crow also violated ERISA by asking

him to sign the invoices and prepare the minutes. Plaintiff's Responses

to Douglas M. Crow’s Interrogatories (August 1, 1991), Answer to

Interrogatory 11 (Volume 4 of the Record, R. 58-60). See Brief of

Appellees p. 8, n. 20 (D. 15).

" 28 U.S.C. § 1367(a) provides in pertinent part that:

in any civil action of which the district courts have original

jurisdiction, the district courts shall have supplemental jurisdic-

tion over all other claims that are so related to claims in the

action within such original jurisdiction that they form part of the

same Case or controversy under Article III of the United States

Constitution. (C. 1).

'* Motion to Remand p. 4 (R. 302; B. 3).

'° Anderson Deposition at pp. 7-8 (R Sealed: E. 6-7).

” Id. at p. 6 (E. 6).

5

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

The circumstances of this case do not warrant the Court’s

exercise of its certiorari power. Anderson has made no showing of

conflict between the Fifth Circuit’s decision in this case and the

decisions of other federal or state courts. He argues only that the

Fifth Circuit failed to follow the decisions of this Court. The law

applicable to the issues raised by Anderson is well settled and was

correctly applied by the Fifth Circuit.

This Court’s decision in Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon,”'

makes clear that Anderson’s action “relates to” an ERISA plan.

His action referred to ERISA, was based on the existence of an

ERISA plan, and required the district court to inquire into

whether the actions alleged by Anderson would have violated

ERISA or an employee benefit plan covered by ERISA. More-

over, Anderson’s action conflicts with the civil enforcement

scheme of ERISA.

Likewise, this Court’s decisions in Metropolitan Life Ins. Co.

v. Taylor’? and McClendon teach that ERISA completely

preempts actions, like Anderson’s, that are within the civil en-

forcement scheme of ERISA. Anderson’s claim that he was

demoted, discriminated against, and terminated because he re-

fused to violate his fiduciary duties under ERISA and because he

reported the violations or attempted violations to EDS manage-

ment falls within the scope of § 502(a) of ERISA, resulting in

the district court having jurisdiction over his claim.

The arguments Anderson raises in his Petition for Certiorari

have been rejected by this Court. As this Court ruled in McClen-

don, ERISA is not merely collateral or incidental to a state

common law cause of action, but in fact relates to that action, if

that action refers to ERISA or an ERISA plan is necessary to

21 498 U.S. 133, 111 S.Ct. 478 (1990).

22 481 U.S. 58, 107 S.Ct. 1542 (1987).

6

pursue the action. In addition, this Court ruled in McClendon and

Taylor that ERISA completely preempts state common law

causes of action within the scope of § 502(a) even when ERISA

does not provide the same remedies available at common law,

ERISA does not provide a cause of action identical to the state

claim, or the plaintiff is not seeking any of the relief provided by

ERISA.

In addition to the grounds cited by the Fifth Circuit, EDS

respectfully contends that the district court’s finding of subject

matter jurisdiction could also be upheld based on the well-

pleaded complaint rule.” Resolution of Anderson’s wrongful

discharge claim under Texas law required Anderson to plead and

the district court to determine whether an ERISA plan existed,

whether Anderson was asked to commit acts which would have

violated that plan, and whether Anderson was fired solely for

refusing to commit those acts, satisfying the well-pleaded com-

plaint rule.

EDS further respectfully contends that given Anderson’s

failure to move for remand in a timely manner, under Grubbs v.

GECC,™ the proper test on appeal was whether the district court

could have had original jurisdiction of the case at the time it

entered summary judgment for EDS. *° Applying the Grubbs test,

the district court had original jurisdiction at that time based on

the complete diversity of the parties.

Finally, EDS notes Anderson admitted in his Motion to

Remand that the district court had supplemental jurisdiction

® Brief of Appellees pp. 16-18 (D. 22-25).

** 405 U.S. 699, 92 S.Ct. 1344 (1972).

°° Brief of Appellees pp. 39-45 (D. 44-49).

7

under 28 U.S.C. § 1367.° Anderson’s appeal and Petition for a

Writ of Certiorari are inconsistent with that admission.

EDS respectfully urges the Court to deny Anderson’s Peti-

tion for a Writ of Certiorari.

ARGUMENT

I. THE FIFTH CIRCUIT FOLLOWED THE DECISIONS

OF THIS COURT AND DID NOT ERR IN

UPHOLDING THE DISTRICT COURT’S REFUSAL

TO REMAND THE CASE.

The Fifth Circuit did not err in finding that Anderson’s

wrongful discharge cause of action (i) was preempted because it

related to an ERISA plan and conflicted with ERISA’s civil

enforcement scheme and (ii) stated a federal cause of action

under the complete preemption doctrine because it fell within the

scope of ERISA’s civil enforcement scheme. This Court has

addressed the issues raised by Anderson in several decisions,

including decisions in Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon and

Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Taylor. The Fifth Circuit correctly

applied and followed those decisions in upholding the district

court’s denial of remand.

A. Anderson’s Wrongful Discharge Cause Of Action Was

Preempted Because It Relates To An ERISA Plan.

This Court has confirmed on numerous occasions the broad

reach of ERISA’s preemption provision, § 514(a).”” ERISA

% Motion to Remand p. 4 (R. 302; B. 3); Brief of Appellees p. 11,

n. 32 (D. 17).

2” See, e.g., District of Columbia v. Greater Washington Board of

Trade, _ U.S. —, —, 113 S.Ct. 580, 583 (1992); Ingersoll-Rand Co. v.

McClendon, 498 U.S. at 137, 111 S.Ct. at 482; Pilot Life Ins. Co. v.

Dedeaux, 481 U.S. 41, 46, 107 S.Ct. 1549, 1552 (1987).

displaces any state law that relates to an employee benefit plan

covered by ERISA, including state common law causes of ac-

tion.” This Court noted that a “law ‘relates to’ an employee

benefit plan, in the normal sense of the phrase, if it has a

connection with or reference to such a plan,””’ even if “the law is

not specifically designed to affect such [a] plan[ ], or the effect is

only indirect.”

In McClendon, this Court applied these ERISA preemption

principles to find McClendon’s Texas common law claim that his

employer wrongfully discharged him to avoid paying pension

benefits was preempted by ERISA.*' McClendon’s cause of

action related to an ERISA plan because the existence of a

pension plan was a critical factor in establishing liability:

(i) McClendon’s action made specific reference to the existence

of a pension plan; (ii) to prevail, McClendon had to plead and

prove the existence of a pension plan; and (iii) the court had to

direct its inquiry to the plan to rule on the claim.”

Following McClendon, the Fifth Circuit correctly held that

Anderson’s wrongful discharge claim also related to an ERISA

plan since it too required the existence of an ERISA plan to

8 § 514(a) and (c)(1), 29 U.S.C. § 1144(a) and (c) (1).

*? Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon, 498 U.S. at 139, 111 S. Ct. at

483, quoting, Shaw v. Delta Air Lines, 463 U.S. 85, 96-97, 103 S.Ct.

2890, 2900 (1983).

® Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon, 498 U.S. at 139, 111 S.Ct. at

483. See, e.g., District of Columbia v. Greater Washington Board of

Trade, — U.S. at —, 113 S.Ct. at 583 (1992); Pilot Life Ins. Co. v.

Dedeaux, 481 U.S. at 47-48, 107 S.Ct. at 1553.

*' Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon, 498 U.S. at 139-41, 111 S.Ct.

at 483-84.

2 Id. at 140, 111 S.Ct. at 483.

9

establish liability.*? As the Fifth Circuit noted, Anderson claimed

that he was wrongfully terminated because he refused to violate

ERISA and reported the requested violations to management.”

Under Texas common law, a discharged employee has a cause of

action if he can show he was terminated solely because he refused

to do an illegal act.** Thus, as in McClendon, the existence of a

pension plan was critical to establishing liability on Anderson’s

cause of action. Anderson’s claim made specific reference to an

ERISA plan; Anderson had to plead and prove the existence of a

pension plan; and the court had to direct its inquiry to the plan to

rule on the claim. In addition, ERISA was critical to Anderson’s

claim because to establish the claim Anderson also had to prove

the acts he refused to commit would have violated the plan or

ERISA.*

B. Anderson’s Wrongful Discharge Claim Was Preempted

Because It Conflicted With ERISA’s Civil Enforcement

Scheme.

This Court has also consistently recognized the comprehen-

sive nature of ERISA’s civil enforcement scheme embodied in

§ 502(a),°” and Congress’ intent that the enforcement scheme

33 Anderson v. Electronic Data Systems Corp., \1 F.3d 1311, 1314

(Sth Cir. 1994).

4 Id.

33 Sabine Pilot Service, Inc. v. Hauck, 687 S.W.2d 733, 735 (Tex.

1985).

% Id. (“it is the plaintiff's burden to prove by a preponderance of

the evidence that his discharge was for no reason other than his refusal

to perform an illegal act.”).

7 29 U.S.C. § 1132(a). Section 502(a) provides in part that any

participant, beneficiary, or fiduciary may bring a civil action:

(A) to enjoin any act or practice which violates any provision of

this subchapter or the terms of the plan, or (B) to obtain other

10

serve as the exclusive remedy for ERISA related violations.”

This Court found that McClendon sought a remedy under Texas

common law for the violation of a right expressly guaranteed by

§ 510°” and exclusively enforced by § 502(a) of ERISA, and held

that McClendon’s state law claim was preempted because of this

conflict.”

Relying on McClendon, the Fifth Circuit found that Ander-

son’s claim “conflict[ed] with the detailed and carefully balanced

remedy provisions of ERISA.”*' The Fifth Circuit explained that

“§ 502(a) provides remedies for participants, beneficiaries, and

fiduciaries of ERISA plans” and that based on Anderson’s allega-

tions, he was both a participant and a fiduciary.” The court

further explained that Anderson’s claim of discharge for refusing

to commit certain acts as a fiduciary and for reporting those

requested violations, fell squarely within the ambit of § 510 which

makes it unlawful to discharge or discriminate against any person

“for exercising ERISA rights or for the purpose of interfering

appropriate equitable relief (i) to redress such violations or (ii) to

enforce any provisions of this subchapter of the terms of the plan.

8 See, e.g., Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon, 498 U.S. at 144, 111

S.Ct. at 485; Pilot Life Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux, 481 U.S. at 54, 107 S.Ct. at

1566.

% 29 U.S.C. § 1140.

“ Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon, 498 U.S. at 145, 111 S.Ct. at

486.

*! Anderson v. EDS, \1 F.3d at 1314.

* Id. See 29 U.S.C. § 1002(7),(8), and (21) (C. 1-2). Section

502(a) is the exclusive enforcement scheme for all matters within

subchapter one of ERISA which includes all of the administrative and

enforcement provisions regarding ERISA plans, including, inter alia,

provisions pertaining to disclosure, reporting, preparation of plan de-

scriptions, filing and furnishing information, fiduciary duties and liabil-

ity, and coercion and interference with protected rights. 29 U.S.C. §§

1001-1145.

1]

with the attainment of ERISA rights, as well as for discharges for

providing information or testimony relating to ERISA.”

C. Anderson’s Wrongful Discharge Cause Of Action Was

Completely Preempted By ERISA Because It Was Within

The Scope Of ERISA’s Civil Enforcement Scheme.

Although federal preemption is ordinarily a defense and does

not support removal of a case to federal court, this Court has

recognized that Congress can so completely preempt an area of

the law that any state law cause of action within the area

preempted is treated as federal in character and is removable.” In

Taylor, this Court determined that the “complete preemption

doctrine” first applied to claims preempted by § 301 of the Labor

Management Relations Act*® (“LMRA”), also applies to claims

within the scope of the civil enforcement provisions of § 502(a) of

ERISA.* Furthermore, in McClendon, this Court recognized that

under the complete preemption doctrine announced in Taylor,

“an ERISA preemption defense provides a sufficient basis for

removal of a cause of action” to federal court.*”

Applying Taylor, the Fifth Circuit correctly held that Ander-

son’s claim of demotion and termination for refusing to violate

ERISA and reporting such violations fell within the scope of

§ 502(a) and was, therefore, removable.“ Anderson, a participant

*® Anderson v. EDS, 11 F.3d at 1314.

“ See, e.g., Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Taylor, 481 U.S. 58, 63-

64, 107 S.Ct. | 542, 1546 (1987).

** 61 Stat. 156, 29 U.S.C. § 185.

“ Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Taylor, 481 U.S. at 66-67, 107

S.Ct. at 1547-48.

“’ Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon, 498 U.S. at 145; 111 S.Ct. at

486.

* Anderson v. EDS, 11 F.3d at 1315.

12

and fiduciary, alleged he was asked to violate ERISA provisions

which are enforced under § 502(a), that his supervisor committed

the violations when he refused, and that he was threatened,

demoted, discriminated against, and eventually terminated be-

cause of his refusal to violate ERISA. These allegations bring

Anderson’s claim within the scope of § 502(a).

II. IT IS ANDERSON WHO IS NOT FOLLOWING THE

DECISIONS OF THIS COURT.

In support of his Petition, Anderson argues that the district

court erred in refusing to remand the case because (i) ERISA is

collateral to his claim and, therefore, his claim is not related to an

ERISA plan, (ii) ERISA does not provide a remedy for his

claim, and (iii) his claim does not fall within the scope of

§ 502(a) because ERISA does not provide an action identical to

his wrongful discharge claim and he is not seeking any of the

relief provided by ERISA. Anderson’s arguments ignore and are

contrary to the teachings of this Court in McClendon and Taylor.

A. State Law Claims Are Subject To Preemption And

Removal Under ERISA.

Anderson argues that his wrongful discharge claim does not

relate to ERISA because it is based solely on state law. According

to Anderson, ERISA is collateral to his claim because it merely

identifies the type of law he refused to violate.” This Court

expressly and implicitly has rejected both arguments.

The facts of both Taylor and McClendon establish that state

law causes of action are subject to preemption and removal under

ERISA. Taylor asserted only state law claims for breach of

contract, to reimplement employment benefits and insurance

coverage, for wrongful termination, and for wrongful failure to

© Petition for a Writ of Certiorari pp. 11-12.

Ee

“ee

cts

13

promote.” McClendon asserted a wrongful discharge claim under

Texas common law.*' This Court in each case recognized the

application of the complete preemption doctrine to the state law

claims.”

In addition, as does Anderson, McClendon argued that the

pension plan was not relevant to his wrongful discharge action.

According to McClendon, the only issue was whether his em-

ployer’s motive for firing him was improper. This Court rejected

that argument because it missed the point “that under the Texas

court’s analysis there [was] simply no cause of action if there

[was] no plan.” Similarly, as the Fifth Circuit recognized,

Anderson can not establish his claim that he was fired because he

refused to violate an ERISA plan without establishing the exis-

tence of a plan and that the requested act would have violated

either the plan or ERISA.“

® Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Taylor, 481 U.S. at 61, 107 S.Ct. at

1545.

‘!_ Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon, 498 U.S. at 136, 111 S.Ct. at

481.

2 Id at 145, 111 S.Ct. at 486; Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Taylor,

481 U.S. at 67, 107 S.Ct. at 1548.

53 Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon, 498 U.S. at 140, 111 S.Ct. at

483-84.

* Anderson v. EDS, \\ F.3d at 1314.

Anderson cited Willy v. Coastal Corp., 855 F.2d 1160 (Sth Cir.

1988) in support of his position that ERISA was merely collateral.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari pp. 9-11. The Fifth Circuit’s finding

that Willy’s claim of wrongful discharge for refusing to violate state and

federal environmental laws was not federal in nature is distinguishable

from the facts of this case and was not relied upon by the Fifth Circuit

below.

One, unlike Willy, who did not have a private cause of action under

federal environmental laws, Anderson could have had a private action

under ERISA. He could have brought an action to enjoin any of Crow’s

14

B. A State Law Claim Is Removable Even If ERISA Does

Not Provide A Remedy For The Claim.

Anderson further argues that removal of a state law claim is

impermissible unless ERISA provides a remedy for that claim.”

This Court rejected that argument in Taylor, McClendon, and

other ERISA decisions.

4

=

acts that allegedly violated ERISA or an action against Crow and others

for allegedly threatening, demoting, or terminating him for complying

with ERISA and providing information to management regarding the

alleged violations. See §§ 404(a)(1), 405(a), 409(a), and 502(a) of

ERISA, 29 U.S.C. §§ 1104(a)(1), 1105(a), 1109(a), 1132(a) (C. 1-

3); Original Petition J IV & VIII (R. 94-95, 97, A. 3-4, 6).

Two, as the Willy court recognized, a distinction exists between the

areas of environmental law, where the states and federal government

have been “traditional partners,” and employee benefit plan law, where

Congress through ERISA took from the states any shared responsibility

for the regulation of covered plans. Willy v. Coastal Corp., 855 F.2d at

1166 and 1167, n. 10. See Alessi v. Raybestos-Manhattan, Inc., 451 U.S.

504, 523, 101 S.Ct. 1895, 1906 (1981). Three, after Willy, this Court

determined in McClendon that ERISA is related to, and not merely

“collateral,” to a wrongful discharge claim that involves or is based on

an alleged violation of ERISA. Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon,

498 US. at 140, 111 S.Ct. at 483.

Anderson also cited two district court decisions from the Fifth

Circuit. Sperling v. Texas Health Enterprises, Inc., 791 F. Supp. 662

(S.D. Tex. 1992) and Nowoc v. Rheem Mfr. Co., 772 F. Supp. 977

(S.D. Tex. 1991). Each is distinguishable. Unlike McClendon (and

Anderson), Sperling was not a plan participant or beneficiary; Sperling

did not allege a violation of ERISA or of an ERISA plan as did

McClendon (and Anderson); and unlike McClendon (and Anderson),

Sperling had a cause of action even if an ERISA plan did not exist.

Sperling v. Texas Health Enterprises, Inc., 791 F. Supp. at 664-65.

Unlike McClendon (and Anderson), Nowoc did not allege a violation of

ERISA or that an ERISA violation was involved in any way with his

termination. Nowoc v. Rheem Mfr. Co., 772 F. Supp. at 979. See Brief of

Appellees pp. 21-25 and accompaning notes, (D. 26-30).

* Petition for a Writ of Certiorari p. 15.

15

In modeling § 502(a) after § 301, “Congress was well aware

that the powerful preemptive force of §301 of the LMRA

displaced all state law claims, even when the state action pur-

ported to authorize a remedy unavailable under the federal

provision.” The careful crafting of ERISA’s enforcement

scheme is “strong evidence that Congress did not intend to

authorize other remedies it simply forgot to incorporate ex-

pressly.”°’ As this Court recognized, the policy choices reflected

in the inclusion of certain remedies and the exclusion of others

from ERISA’s comprehensive enforcement scheme would be

completely undermined if participants and beneficiaries were free

to obtain remedies under state law that Congress rejected in

ERISA.*

© Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon, 498 U.S. at 144, 111 S.Ct. at

485-86. See also Corcoran v. United Healthcare, Inc., 965 F.2d 1321

(Sth Cir.), cert. denied, _ U.S. —, 113 S.Ct. 812 (1992) and Hansen v.

Continental Ins. Co., 940 F.2d 971 (Sth Cir. 1991) discussed in Brief of

Appellees pp. 37-39 (D. 42-44).

*” Pilot Life Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux, 481 U.S. at 54, 107 S.Ct. at 1556,

quoting, Massachusetts Mutual Life Ins. Co. v. Russell, 473 U.S. 134,

146, 105 S.Ct. 3085, 3092 (1985).

8 Jd. at 144, 111 S.Ct. at 485; Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Taylor,

481 U.S. at 64-65; 107 S.Ct. at 1547; Pilot Life Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux,

481 U.S. at 54, 107 S.Ct. at 1556.

Congress sought “to ensure that plan and plan sponsors would be

subject to a uniform body of law; the goal was to minimize the

administrative and financial burdens of complying with conflicting

directives among States or between States and the Federal Govern-

ment.” Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon, 498 U.S. at 142, 111 S.Ct. at

484. Allowing state common law actions such as McClendon’s, and

Anderson’s here, to proceed “would subject plans and plan sponsors to

burdens not unlike those that Congress sought to foreclose through

§ 514(a).” Id.

It is foreseeable that state courts, exercising their common law

powers, might develop different substantive standards applicable to

the same employer conduct, requiving the tailoring of plans and

employer conduct to the peculiarities of the law of each jurisdiction.

16

C. Complete Preemption May Occur Even If ERISA Does

Not Provide An Action Identical to the Action Being

Preempted Or The Plaintiff Is Not Seeking Any Relief

Under ERISA.

Anderson further argues that his cause of action is not within

the scope of §502(a) of ERISA because ERISA does not

provide a specific cause of action for someone terminated for

refusing to violate ERISA. In addition, Anderson argues that his

claim is not within the scope of § 502(a) because he is not

seeking any of the relief provided in the section.” Anderson,

however, misconstrues the test announced in Taylor, and followed

in McClendon, for applying the complete preemption doctrine.

As the Taylor decision teaches, the test for complete pre-

emption is not whether ERISA provides a cause of action

identical to the state law action being preempted, but whether

that state law action is “within the scope of the civil enforcement

provisions of § 502(a)." The Taylor test is consistent with

Congress’ desire for uniformity and the recognition of the policy

choices that went into formulating the exclusive federal remedy.

Such an outcome is fundamentally at odds with the goal of

uniformity that Congress sought to implement. Jd.

This court left standing a decision in the Sixth Circuit that ERISA

preempted a claim of wrongful discharge for fulfilling ERISA duties.

See Authier v. Ginsberg, 757 F.2d 796, 802 (6th Cir.), cert. denied,

474 U.S. 888, 106 S.Ct. 208 (1985) (“allowing the remedies available

to an ERISA fiduciary discharged for complying with ERISA to tum

upon the state of his employment and a state court’s interpretation of

ERISA’s provisions runs contrary to Congress’ desire to establish a

uniform federal law regulating pension laws’’).

*® Petition for a Writ of Certiorari pp. 16-19.

© Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Taylor, 481 U.S. at 66-67, 107

S.Ct. at 1548. This Court found that Taylor’s state law claims, including

a claim for wrongful termination, were all properly removed even though

ERISA did not provide a cause of action identical to any of his state law

claims.

17

This Court has applied the test to find state law actions without

counterparts in ERISA preempted.”

In McClendon, this Court also rejected Anderson’s argument

that he is not seeking any of the specific relief provided by

§ 502(a). This Court found that “there is no basis in § 502(a)’s

language for limiting ERISA actions to only those which seek

‘pension benefits’ . . . . Consequently, it is no answer to a

preemption argument that a particular plaintiff is not seeking

recovery of pension benefits.” =

[l. ADDITIONAL GROUNDS EXIST TO SUPPORT

THE DECISION OF THE COURT OF APPEALS

UPHOLDING THE DISTRICT COURT’S REFUSAL

TO REMAND.

Additional grounds exist for finding that the district court

had jurisdiction to enter summary judgment in favor of EDS.”

One, under the well-pleaded complaint rule, Anderson’s claim

was federal in nature which gave the district court removal

jurisdiction.” Two, the district court had original subject matter

jurisdiction at the time it entered the summary judgment in favor

‘' Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon, 498 U.S. at 136 and 145, 111

S.Ct. at 481 and 486; Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Taylor, 481 U.S. at

66-67, 107 S.Ct. at 1548; Pilot Life Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux, 481 U.S. 43

and 56, 107 S.Ct. 1551 and 1558.

® Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon, 498 U.S. at 145, 111 S.Ct. at

486.

6} “1 A} prevailing party may . . . defend its judgment on any

ground properly raised below whether or not that ground was relied

upon, rejected, or even considered by the District Court or the Court of

Appeals . . . . ” Granfinanciera, S.A. v. Nordberg, 492 U.S. 33, 38, 109

S.Ct. 2782, 2788 (1989), quoting, Washington v. Yakima Indian Na-

tion, 439 U.S. 463, 476, n. 20, 99 S.Ct. 740, 749, n. 20 (1979). See, e.g.,

Whitley v. Albers, 475 U.S. 312, 326, 106 S.Ct. 1078, 1087 (1986).

* Brief of Appellees pp. 16-18 (D. 22-24).

18

of EDS.® Three, Anderson admitted in his Motion to Remand

that the district court had supplemental jurisdiction.”

A. The District Court Had Removal Jurisdiction Under The

Well-Pleaded Complaint Rule.

In determining whether a civil action arises under federal

law, courts apply the “well-pleaded complaint” rule. The rule

provides that a cause of action arises under federal law only when,

at the time of removal, the plaintiff's well-pleaded complaint

raises issues of federal law or discloses a federal controversy.*’

When “the vindication of a right under state law necessarily turns

upon some construction of federal law,” or when the ~ction

requires the resolution of a substantial question of federal law,

that action arises under federal law.”

Anderson’s Original Petition, the pleading upon which re-

moval was based, raised issues of federal law that had to be

resolved to rule on his claim.” To succeed on his wrongful

® Id. at pp. 39-45 (D. 44-49).

Jd. at p. 11, n. 32 (D. 17).

®’ Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Taylor, 481 U.S. at 63, 107 S.Ct. at

1546; Gully v. First Nat'l Bank in Meridian, 299 U.S. 109, 112-13, 57

S.Ct. 96, 97-98 (1936).

% Kidd v. Southwest Airlines, Co., 891 F.2d 540, 542 (Sth Cir.

1990).

® Franchise Tax Board of CA. v. Construction Laborers Vacation

Trust for Southern CA., 463 U.S. 1, 27-28, 103 S.Ct. 2841, 2856

(1983).

” Anderson argues that the well-pleaded complaint rule is not

applicable because, as the Fifth Circuit noted, his Original Petition did

not contain a federal cause of action. Petition for a Writ of Certiorari

pp. 9 & 22. Contrary to Anderson’s assertion, this is the exact situation

in which the rule is applied. The rule is used to determine whether the

State action requires resolution of a federal question. Franchise Tax

Board of CA. v. Construction Laborers Vacation Trust for Southern CA.,

19

discharge claim, Anderson had to show that he was asked to

commit an act in violation of ERISA and was fired solely because

he refused to do so. To rule on Anderson’s claim, a court would

have had to determine whether an ERISA plan existed and

whether the acts allegedly requested of Anderson would have

violated the plan or ERISA.

B.. The District Court Had Original Jurisdiction At The

Time It Entered Judgment For EDS.

Based on Anderson’s delay in seeking to remand the case,

the district court had original jurisdiction to enter summary

judgment in favor of EDS in June 1993. This Court held in

Grubbs v. GECC that an alternative standard governs the deter-

mination of subject matter jurisdiction when (i) a case is improp-

erly removed to federal court, (ii) the federal court nonetheless

tries the case on the merits and enters judgment, and (ili) no

objection is raised regarding removal until after judgment is

entered.’’ Under Grubbs, the judgment is upheld if the district

court would have had original jurisdiction over the case based on

the record and the pleadings as they existed at the time of the

judgment.”

Assuming for the sake of argument that Anderson is correct

that EDS improvidently removed this case, the first factor in

Grubbs is satisfied. Similarly, the second factor is satisfied by the

entry of the summary judgment in favor of EDS.” The third

factor is satisfied by Anderson’s failure to file a timely motion to

463 US. at 13, 103 S.Ct. at 2848 (Even though state law creates

plaintiff's cause of action, his case might still “arise under” federal law,

as determined under the well-pleaded complaint rule).

7) 405 U.S. 699, 702, 92 S.Ct. 1344, 1347 (1972).

72 Id See also American Fire & Casualty Co. v. Finn, 341 US. 6,

16, 71 S.Ct. 534, 541 (1951); Mackay v. Uinta Development Company,

229 U.S. 173, 33 S.Ct. 638, 639 (1913).

73 Kidd v. Southwest Airlines, 891 F.2d 540, 546 (Sth Cir. 1990).

20

remand.”* Anderson waived any defect in the removal except for

lack of subject matter jurisdiction by not moving to remand the

case within 30 days of its removal.”®

The record at the time of entry of the judgment established

that diversity of citizenship existed between Anderson, an

Oklahoma resident, and EDS, a Texas resident.”® Initially, and at

the time of the summary judgment, the case could have been

™ 28 U.S.C. § 1447(c) (30 day period to move for remand)

(C. 1).

> If a federal district court has original jurisdiction of an action

improperly removed and the plaintiff fails to file a timely motion to

remand, then the district court may retain jurisdiction of the action even

if it lacked removal jurisdiction. See, e.g. Williams v. AC Spark Plugs

Div. of General Motors Corp., 985 F.2d 783, 787 (Sth Cir. 1993); In re

Digicon Marine, Inc., 966 F.2d 158, 160 (Sth Cir. 1992); Baris v.

Sulpicio Lines, Inc., 932 F.2d 1540, 1543 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, —

U.S. —, 112 S.Ct. 430 (1991).

The basis for the court’s original jurisdiction does not have to have

been asserted as a basis for removal, Baris v. Sulpicio Lines, Inc., 932

F.2d at 1545-46, and often could not have served as a basis for removal,

In re Shell Oil Co., 932 F.2d 1518, 1519 (Sth Cir. 1991), cert. denied,

— U.S. —, 112 S.Ct. 914 (1992) (the diversity of the parties’ residence

supported original jurisdiction but not removal jurisdiction).

© Anderson alleged in his Original Petition that he was a Texas

resident. When EDS took Anderson’s deposition in April 1993, it

learned for the first time that Anderson was not a Texas resident when

he filed suit. Anderson testified that he moved to Oklahoma City,

Oklahoma and got a job there within nine or ten months of being

terminated by EDS in August 1989, which would have been sometime

in May or June 1990. Anderson filed suit in June 1991. Anderson further

testified at his deposition that he had held that same job through the

date of the deposition. Anderson Deposition pp. 6-8, 28 (E. 6-9).

This Court in Grubbs relied on record excerpts from discovery

proceedings to establish the original jurisdiction of the district court.

Grubbs v. GECC, 405 U.S. at 704, 92 S.Ct. at 1348.

21

brought in a federal district court sitting in Dallas, Texas.”

Original jurisdiction based on diversity of citizenship existed from

the beginning of the suit through the entry of summary judgment

in favor of EDS.

C. Anderson Admitted That The District Court Had

Supplemental Jurisdiction.

In his Motion to Remand, Anderson admitted that the

district court had supplemental jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

§ 1367.” He urged the court, however, to exercise its discretion

and not keep the case based on that jurisdiction.” Anderson did

not argue on appeal and does not argue now that the district court

abused its discretion under § 1367 in retaining the case. Ander-

son’s appeal and Petition for Certiorari are inconsistent with his

admission that the district court had supplemental jurisdiction.

CONCLUSION

Anderson is asking this Court to allow him to pursue his

claim in the face of the clear intent of Congress, as recognized by

this Court, to provide a uniform body of law applicable to ERISA

plans and plan administration, to establish a comprehensive

enforcement scheme within ERISA to address violations, and to

preempt all state actions that fall within the scope of that scheme.

To allow Anderson to proceed in state court, this Court would

have to ignore the well established body of law addressing ERISA

preemption.

See, e.g., In re Shell Oil Co., 932 F.2d at 1519 (upheld district

court decision not to remand because plaintiff failed to move for remand

within 30 days and district court had original jurisdiction based on

diversity of citizenship, even though the diversity would not have

supported removal jurisdiction).

78 Motion to Remand p. 4 (R. 302; B. 3)(C. 1).

” Id.

22

The Fifth Circuit correctly followed the decisions of this

Court, including McClendon and Taylor, in finding that the

district court had jurisdiction to enter summary judgment in favor

of EDS. At the time it entered judgment for EDS, the district

court had removal jurisdiction under the complete preemption

doctrine as found by the Fifth Circuit. The district court also had

removal jurisdiction under the well-pleaded complaint rule and

original subject matter jurisdiction based on diversity of citizen-

ship. In addition, Anderson recognized at the time he sought to

remand the case that the district court had supplemental

jurisdiction.

EDS requests that this Court deny Anderson’s Petition for

Certiorari and allow the decision of the Fifth Circuit to stand.

Respectfully submitted,

Phillip N. Smith Jr.

Counsel of Record

Jeffrey A. Carter

Michael Andrew Piazza

McKool Smith, P.C.

300 Crescent Court, Suite 1500

Dallas, Texas 75201

214-978-4000

Counsel for Respondents,

Electronic Data Systems

Corporation, Anthony E. Weynand,

Richard P. Shlakman, and

Darrell Johnson

NO. 91-7509

GEORGE RAYMOND (ANDY)

ANDERSON IN THE DISTRICT

COURT OF

vs.

DALLAS COUNTY,

ELECTRONIC DATA SYSTEMS Corp., TEXAS

DouGLas M. Crow,

ANTHONY E. WEYNAND,

AND RICHARD P. SHLAKMAN,

DARRELL JOHNSON

JUDICIAL DISTRICT

PLAINTIFF’S ORIGINAL PETITION

TO THE HONORABLE JUDGE OF SAID COURT:

COMES NOW, GEORGE RAYMOND (ANDY)

ANDERSON (“Anderson”) Plaintiff in above-styled and num-

bered cause, and files this his Plaintiff's Original Petition, com-

plaining of Electronic Data Systems Corporation (“EDS”),

Douglas M. Crow (“Crow”), Anthony E. Weynand (“Wey-

nand”’), Richard P. Shlakman (“Shlakman”) and Darrell John-

son (“Johnson”) Defendants, and for cause of action would show

the Court the following:

I.

Plaintiff is a resident of the State of Texas, and was at the

time of the incident.

Defendant EDS is a Texas corporation whose principal place

of business is located in Dallas County, Texas. Service of process

on EDS may be accomplished by serving its attorney, Phillip N.

Smith, BAKER & BOTTS, 2001 Ross Avenue, Suite 800,

Dallas, Texas 75201, who has indicated he will accept service on

behalf of such Defendant.

A-2

Defendant Crow is a resident of Dallas County, Texas.

Service of process may be accomplished by serving his attorney,

Patrick Shaw, WOODWARD & SHAW, 6688 North Central

Expressway, Suite 1190, Dallas, Texas 75206, who has indicated

he will accept service on behalf of such Defendant.

Defendant Weynand is a resident of Dallas County, Texas.

Service of process on Defendant Weynand may be accomplished

by serving his attorney, Phillip N. Smith, BAKER & BOTTS,

2001 Ross Avenue, Suite 800, Dallas, Texas 75201, who has

indicated he will accept service on behalf of such Defendant.

Defendant Shlakman is a resident of Dallas County, Texas.

Service of process on Defendant Shlakman may be accomplished

by serving his attorney, Phillip N. Smith, BAKER & BOTTS,

2001 Ross Avenue, Suite 800, Dallas, Texas 75201, who has

indicated he will accept service on behalf of such Defendant.

Defendant Johnson is a resident of Dallas County, Texas.

Service of process on Defendant Johnson may be accomplished

by serving his attorney, Phillip N. Smith, BAKER & BOTTS,

2001 Ross Avenue, Suite 800, Dallas, Texas 75201, who has

indicated he will accept service on behalf of such Defendant.

Il.

This Court has jurisdiction over this suit because it is a suit

for damages in an amount in excess of the minimum jurisdictional

limits of this Court. This Court further has venue over this cause

of action because (1) Plaintiff's cause of action arose in whole or

in part in Dallas County, Texas; (2) one or more of the individual

Defendants is a resident of Dallas County, Texas; and (3)

corporate Defendant EDS has its principal place of business, as

well as an agent or representative, in Dallas County, Texas. No

mandatory venue provision exists which would mandate venue as

to any of the Defendants in any other county.

A-3

Il.

Anderson is a well qualified individual, by virtue of educa-

tion, training, and work experience, in the fields of finance,

financial management, investments, and investment portfolio

management. Anderson has a Bachelor of Business Administra-

tion degree with a major in Finance from the University of

Oklahoma/Central State University, and a Masters Degree in

Business Administration in Finance/Management from Central

State University. Prior to October 1984, Anderson had worked as

an assistant cashier for the First State Bank & Trust Company of

Guthrie, Oklahoma, at United Oklahoma Banc Shares in

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma in a variety of positions including

Assistant Vice President in the investment department, as a

General Manager Trainee for Marlin Hydrocarbon, Inc. of Guth-

rie, Oklahoma and as the Economic and Planning Coordinator for

Petro-Lewis Corporation (Mid Continent Region) of Oklahoma

City, Oklahoma.

IV.

On October 15, 1984, Anderson was employed by Defen-

dant EDS for a managerial position in the Domestic Treasury

Department of Defendant EDS. From October 1984 to Octo-

ber 1985, Anderson served as the Cash Manager in the Domestic

Treasury Department, where his responsibilities included man-

agement of all cash operations, short term investments, cash

forecasting, and related information systems plus consulting with

various groups within the EDS system. In October of 1985,

Plaintiff was promoted to position of Manager of Investments and

Debt in the Domestic Treasury Department. In that position,

Plaintiff had responsibilities for all domestic short and long-term

investments for all pension portfolios, corporate portfolios, and

Title 1X portfolios. In this position, Plaintiff was charged with the

responsibility of administering investment assets totaling approxi-

mately 1.3 billion dollars. In addition, Anderson was responsible

A-4

for all Domestic lines of credit as well as all letters of credit and

all related investment systems plus consulting for various groups

within EDS.

. &

In his position as Manager of Investments and debt in the

Domestic Treasury Department, Anderson never lost money from

the investments he initiated on behalf of the various EDS entities

in his charge. His performance in his job was consistently judged

to be superior by his supervisors and others, and he received

numerous commendations on his performance. Prior to Janu-

ary 1988, Anderson had never received any reprimands for or

complaints about his performance in his position with EDS.

VI.

In his position as Cash Manager in the Domestic Treasury

Department of EDS, Anderson reported directly to Crow, who

held the position at that time as Assistant Treasurer of the

Domestic Treasury Department of EDS. Crow in turn reported to

Weynand, who was the Treasurer/Comptroller and Vice-Presi-

dent of EDS Corporation.

VII.

During the course of his employment with EDS, Anderson

was asked by Crow, his immediate supervisor, to commit certain

illegal acts, at Crow’s direction. These illegal acts included;

1. Being asked to sign on two separate occasions approval

of payment invoices on behalf of the pension portfolios

under his management and supervision who had been

retained by Crow without approval of the pension trust-

ees. Such action would have been a violation of the

Federal Employee Retirement Income Security Act of

1974 (“Erisa”) Laws governing management of such

pension plans.

A-5

Plaintiff was asked by Crow to intentionally fail invest-

ment transactions made on behalf of EDS. The appar-

ent motive behind such a request was Crow’s effort to

get another manager in the EDS system, who was

associated with the transacticn in question, in trouble

with EDS management. Such intentional failure of an

investment transaction would have been a violation of

various laws and regulations promulgated and enforced

by the Federal Securities and Exchange Commission.

Plaintiff was also asked to write up minutes for meetings

which he did not attend in connection with the EDS

Retirement Plan. This also is in violation of ERISA.

Crow also asked Plaintiff to falsify interest income

projections, thereby committing criminal fraud, in con-

nection with the ZX Hierarchy Revenue Account. This

account was used as a repository for interest income

generated by investments managed by Anderson’s de-

partment. By deliberately under-reporting the projected

income in such account, Crow was able to use the

income in the account in excess of the under-reported

projections to make purchases in the department and

pay expenses without the required approval of his super-

iors, in complete circumvention of the EDS Financial

Accounting System/Budget for the Domestic Treasury

Department, and without any type of accounting to

anyone within EDS for where the money would be

going. Because the corporate management at EDS did

not expect income in the ZX Hierarchy account to

exceed the under-reported projections, Crow, by under-

reporting the income projections, in essence created a

pool of funds in the ZX Hierarchy Account from which

expenditures or disbursements could be made at Crow’s

sole discretion and under his sole control.

A-6

VIL.

Plaintiff refused these requests to permit illegal acts thereby

incurring the enmity of Crow including verbal threats made to

Anderson by Crow on three separate occasions. In several in-

stances, after Anderson had refused to perform the illegal acts,

Crow either performed them himself or forced other employees of

EDS Corporation to perform such acts.

IX.

Additionally, during the course of his employment, Plaintiff

became aware that Crow was engaging in various illegal acts, or

unauthorized activities, himself. The illegal or unauthorized activ-

ities of which Plaintiff became aware, in addition to those previ-

ously listed in which Plaintiff was asked by Crow to participate,

included the following:

1. Insider trading by Crow with respect to EDS stock,

Class E stock in the General Motors Corporation which

arose from an October 18, 1984 purchase of EDS by the

General Motors Corporation, and subsequent trades

thereafter in both GM stock and stock of various third

parties who contracted with EDS. In particular, Crow

purchased substantial volumes of EDS stock prior to the

merger with General Motors, at a time when Crow was

aware of the pending purchase by General Motors by

virtue of his position within EDS but the General Public

had not yet been advised of the pendency of the

purchase. When the General Motors takeover was an-

nounced, EDS stock substantially rose in value and

Crow was able to make a substantial profit as a result of

his insider knowledge regarding the proposed

transaction.

2. Crow engaged in various conflict of interest transactions

with vendors and suppliers of products and services of

A-7

EDS. Crow utilized favored vendors and awarded them

contracts without letting such contracts out for bids, as

required by EDS as established procedures. Crow fur-

ther utilized his influence within EDS and over his

subordinates in his department to eliminate work done

by competitors of these favored firms, and to force

contracts to be given to these favored firms, even though

such contracts were unauthorized, or unapproved by the

necessary parties within the EDS system, and even

though the services and products offered by these fa-

vored vendors were of lessor quality and/or higher cost

than similar products offered by other parties.

3. Making unauthorized purchases of equipment.

4. Misuse of corporate funds related to various products

H within his department.

5. Requesting that bank accounts be intentionally over-

drafted and that individuals in the department inten-

tionally lie to various department heads of other subsidi-

aries in order to hide the fact that checks were being

written within the department without proper

authorization.

6. Violations of the internal written code of ethics promul-

gated by EDS for its employees.

X.

In January, 1988, Anderson approached Darrell Johnson, the

Assistant Treasurer over the International Treasury Department

of EDS who basically held a management position equivalent to

that of Crow in another department, about the illegal activities in

which he had been asked to participate by Crow and about the

other irregularities which Crow had committed. Anderson made

Jchnson aware that EDS was about to be audited by auditors

from General Motors Corporation, and stressed to Johnson that if

A-8

'

these problems surfaced during the audit process, EDS and the

entire department would be substantially damaged. Between Jan-

uary of 1988 and May of 1988, Anderson made detailed, specific,

and written reports to Johnson regarding Crow’s activities. At

Anderson’s request, Johnson was asked to raise these concerns

with Weynand and to investigate these perceived problems

further.

XI.

In May or June 1988, Johnson brought to Weynand’s atten-

tion, the problems regarding Crow’s activities. Weynand, rather

than conducting an investigation or taking corrective action,

instead made known to Crow the allegations that had been made

by Anderson regarding Crow’s activities. From that point forward,

Weynand and Crow actively sought occasion to discriminate

against and ultimately terminate Plaintiff from his employment

with EDS because of his refusal to participate in illegal activities

at Crow’s direction and because of the allegations which he had

leveled against Crow’s activities within the department.

XII.

Although Anderson’s performance within the department

continued to be superior, in January 1989, Anderson was in-

formed by Crow that he was being demoted to a managerial

position one level below that previously held by him. Anderson’s

investment responsibilities were taken from him and turned over

to another individual in his department who had no investment

experience whatsoever. The demotion was solely motivated by a

desire on the part of Weynand and Crow, acting as managerial

agents and employees of EDS, to retaliate against Anderson for

his refusal to participate in the illegal activities and for his

reporting of the irregular activities of Crow to his superior. The

demotion was also part of a well organized plan on the part of

Crow, Weynand, and EDS to find a reason to get Anderson out of

A-9

the department and retaliation for his refusal to participate in

illegal activities and in retaliation for his leveling charges of

irregular conduct against Crow. Upon notification of the demo-

tion, Anderson immediately spoke with EDS in-house counsel

and also spoke with Davis Hamlin (Chief Financial Officer) at

EDS regarding this matter and was subsequently reinstated ap-

proximately one week later.

XIII.

Despite a continuance of his superior performance, Plaintiff

was terminated from his employment with EDS on August 23,

1989. The termination of employment was made solely in retalia-

tion against Plaintiff for his refusal to participate in illegal

activities of Crow’s request and in retaliation for his leveling of

additional charges against Crow regarding Crow’s irregular per-

formance and for the subsequent embarrassment this created for

senior management of EDS.

XIV.

Since his termination at EDS, Plaintiff has interviewed with

numerous companies throughout the United States seeking a

management level position within his field in finance, financial

management, and investments. A number of respective employers

have expressed interest in retaining Anderson as an employee in

such a position, but in each instance have been dissuaded from

giving Plaintiff employment in this field by the comments and

remarks of EDS, Crow, Weynand, Shlakman, and/or Johnson.

Such conduct and remarks by EDS were done solely with the

intent of denying Plaintiff employment in his field in retaliation

for his refusal to participate in illegal acts at Crow’s direction and

because of his reporting of the illegal or irregular activities of

Crow’s direction. and because of his reporting of the illegal or

irregular activities of Crow to his superiors in the EDS system.

A-10

XV.

At all times relevant to this cause of action, Crow, Weynand,

Shlakman and Johnson have been management level employees

and officers of EDS at all time relevant to this cause of action,

Crow, Weynand, Shlakman and Johnson have been acting in the

course and scope of their employment for EDS.

XVI.

EDS has breached its contract of employment with Plaintiff

and has wrongfully discharged Plaintiff from his position of

employment with EDS, by demoting and then discharging Plain-

tiff from his position of employment at EDS because of, and in

retaliation for, Plaintiffs refusal to commit illegal activities at

Crow’s request and because of his reporting of Crow’s own illegal

or irregular activities to EDS Management. Such breach of

contract and such wrongful termination is a proximate cause of

damages to Plaintiff.

XVII.

Further, Defendants Crow, Weynand, Shlakman, Johnson,

and EDS have intentionally and tortiously interfered with Plain-

tiffs perspective business and prospective contractual relation-

ships with other prospective employers following his wrongful

discharge with EDS. Such interference was done maliciously,

with the intent to retaliate against Plaintiff for his refusal to

participate in illegal activities and for his reporting of the illegal or

irregular activities of Crow, and was done without legal justifica-

tion or excuse. Such acts of interference have been a proximate

cause of damages to Plaintiff.

XVIII.

Further, Defendants Crow, Weynand, Shlakman, Johnson,

and EDS have negligently, or in the alternative intentionally,

A-11

sought to inflict emotional distress to Anderson in retaliation for

Anderson’s refusal to participate in illegal activities at Crow’s

direction and reporting of Crow’s own illegal or irregular activi-

ties. Such actions have in fact been a proximate cause of emo-

tional distress and other damages to Plaintiff.

XIX.

As a direct and proximate result of the above and foregoing

activities on behalf of Defendants, Plaintiff has been damaged in

an amount in excess of the minimum jurisdictional limits of this

Court. The elements of the Plaintiff's actual damage include past

and future mental anguish, past and future loss of earning

capacity, past and future loss of fringe benefits, and past and

future incidental and consequential damages.

XX.

Further, Defendants Crow, Weynand, Shlakman, Johnson,

and EDS have committed the above and fore-mentioned actions

with malice and intentionally. Alternatively, Defendants Crow,

Weynand, Shlakman, Johnson, and EDS have committed such

actions in conscious disregard of the rights and welfare of Ander-

son and other similarly situated, and therefore have acted with

gross negligence. Such actions by Defendant are a proximate

cause of damage to Plaintiff. The aforementioned acts were

further committed by Defendant EDS by its managerial agents or

vice-principals, or alternatively, were authorized or ratified by

Defendant EDS. Accordingly, Plaintiff is entitled to recover

exemplary damages from Defendants Crow, Weynand,

Shlakman, Johnson and/or EDS. The amount of exemplary

damages sought by EDS are in excess of the minimum jurisdic-

tional limits of this Court.

XXI.

Further, Plaintiff has been forced to retain the undersigned

attorney in order to prosecute his claims against Defendants EDS,

Crow, Weynand and Shlakman. Plaintiff has promised to pay said

attorney reasonable fee in Dallas County, Texas for legal services

necessarily expended or incurred in connection with the prosecu-

tion of these claims and the prosecution of this suit. Plaintiff has

heretofore made written demand upon Defendants in connection

with this claim more than thirty days prior to the institution of

this suit. Plaintiff is therefore entitled to recover his reasonable

attorneys fees, both through the trial and on appeal from Defend-

ants pursuant to §38.001 et. seq. of the Texas Civil Practice and

Remedies Code. The amount of the attorneys fees sought in this

regard is in excess of the minimal jurisdictional limitations of this

court.

A-13

WHEREFORE, PREMISES CONSIDERED Plaintiff

prays that Defendants be cited to appear herein, that upon final

hearing hereof, Plaintiff do have and recover judgment of and

from Defendants, jointly and severally, for Plaintiff's actual dam-

ages, pre-judgment interest on such actual damages, cost of suit,

and post-judgment interest on such amounts; that Plaintiff further

do have and recover judgment of and from Defendants severally

for exemplary damages with post-judgment interest on such

amounts; for such other and further relief both at law and in

equity, to which the Plaintiff may show himself to be justly

entitled and to which he will ever pray.

Respectfully submitted,

STRADLEY, SCHMIDT, AND WRIGHT

One, Campbell Centre

Dallas, Texas 75206

(214) 696-4880

Fax: 696-8134

By

C. L. MIKE SCHMIDT, P.C.

State Bar No. 17766000

Attorneys for Plaintiffs

=

a

B-1

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

DALLAS DIVISION

GEORGE RAYMOND (ANDY)

ANDERSON

)

)

VS.

ELECTRONIC DATA SYSTEMS ) CIVIL ACTION

)

)

)

)

CORP., DOUGLAS M. CROW, NO. CA3-91-1489-G

ANTHONY E. WEYNAND, AND

RICHARD P. SHLAKMAN,

DARRELL JOHNSON

MOTION TO REMAND

TO THE HONORABLE JUDGE OF SAID COURT:

COMES NOW GEORGE RAYMOND (ANDY)

ANDERSON, Plaintiff in the above styled and numbered cause,

and files this his Motion to Remand, and as grounds therefore

would show the Court the following:

1.

PROCEDURAL HISTORY OF THE CASE

1. This is a cause of action arising out of Plaintiffs former

employment with Defendant Electronic Data Systems Corpora-

tion (“EDS”). Plaintiff filed this cause of action in the 191st

Judicial District Court of Dallas County, Texas. His suit was

based upon allegations of wrongful discharge and other tortious

conduct by Defendants, and his cause of action was predicated

entirely upon the law of the state of Texas. No federal causes of

action were alleged in Plaintiff's petition.

B-2

2. Asa part of his wrongful discharge claim, Plaintiff alleged

in his Plaintiff's Original Petition that he had been terminated by

EDS in whole or in part because he had refused to participate in

illegal activities which he had been directed to perform by his

supervisor at EDS, Defendant Douglas M. Crow (“Crow”).

Certain of those activities would, had Plaintiff performed them,

have been in violation of the Employee Retirement Income

Security Act (“ERISA”), Plaintiff's job at EDS having been at

least in part to participate in the administration of pension and

profit sharing plans of EDS. Plaintiff's Original Petition alleged

that his refusal to perform violations of ERISA as a plan

administrator was a reason in whole or in part for his termination.

3. Such allegations stated a cause of action for wrongful

discharge under the common law of the state of Texas. No cause

of action was stated by Plaintiff under ERISA, and no damages

were sought by Plaintiff against Defendants because of claims

handling of ERISA benefit claims. The refusal of Plaintiff to

violate ERISA was pled merely as one of the improper reasons for

Plaintiff's termination by EDS, and formed a portion of the

allegations which comprised Plaintiffs claim for common law

wrongful discharge.

4. Defendants thereafter timely removed this case from state

court to this Court in July 1991. The basis for the removal was

federal question jurisdiction arising from the allegations involving

ERISA, which Defendants alleged triggered the exclusive federal

jurisdiction provisions of ERISA itself.

5. Subsequent to the removal, Plaintiff in October 1991 filed

his First Amended Original Complaint under leave granted by

this court. The First Amended Original Complaint eliminated all

references to ERISA, even as a reason for Plaintiffs wrongful

termination. The First Amended Original Complaint is Plaintiffs

current live pleading.

B-3

GROUNDS FOR REMAND

6. The motion to remand is based upon the absence of

subject matter jurisdiction.

7. There is no federal question jurisdiction in this cause of

action. Plaintiff's current live pleading has eliminated all refer-

ences to ERISA, and the references to ERISA formed the basis

of the removal by Defendants from state court. Even assuming,

therefore, that Plaintiff's Original Petition properly invoked fed-

eral question jurisdiction under ERISA', that basis for federal

question jurisdiction has been eliminated and there is presently no

basis for federal question jurisdiction in this court over any aspect

of Plaintiff's claim.

8. There is similarly no other basis of federal jurisdiction over

the removed action. Plaintiff and Defendants are non-diverse,

private parties, and Plaintiff's cause of action is one brought under

state law.

9. The only remaining claims now pending before the Court,

therefore, are Plaintiff's claims for wrongful discharge and other

tortious conduct by Defendants, which are actionable under Texas

state law. This Court has jurisdiction of such claims only within

this Court’s supplemental jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1367.

However, 28 U.S.C. § 1367(c) (3) permits the Court to decline to

exercise supplemental jurisdiction if it has dismissed all claims

over which it has original jurisdiction. Plaintiff would show the

Court that since all bases for federal jurisdiction have been

eliminated by pleading amendment, this court should decline to

exercise its supplemental jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

§ 1367(c)(3) and (4).

' Plaintiff makes this assumption for purposes of argument only.

Piaintiff would take the position that his Original Petition did not

support removal under ERISA and that the case was improvidently

removed. However, that issue has been rendered moot by the subsequent

amendment to Plaintiff's pleadings to eliminate all ERISA references.

B-4

10. Plaintiff would show the court that the refusal of this

court to exercise supplemental jurisdiction would be particularly

appropriate under the procedural posture of this case as it pres-

ently exists. This case has been pending in federal court for only a

little over three months. The parties have conducted only written

discovery, no depositions have been taken, and there is no

immediate trial setting. Indeed, the case could probably be

reached for trial sooner in state court than in federal court, given

the crowded condition of this court’s docket. Remand at this time

of the remaining state law claims would work no hardship on any

party.

11. Further, Plaintiff would show the court that a basic

refusal to exercise supplemental jurisdiction exists under

28 U.S.C. § 1367(c)(1) because Plaintiff's claim in part raises

unsettled and important questions of Texas law. Plaintiff's wrong-

ful discharge claim is based in part upon allegations that he is

terminated for recording illegal activity committed by Crow to

EDS. The exact perimeters of this type of “whistle blower”

wrongful discharge cause of action remain unsettled under Texas

law following the decision in Winters v. Houston Chronicle

Publishing Company, 795 S.W.2d 723 (Tex. 1990). Such unset-

tled issues are best left to state courts for determination.

B-5

PRAYER

WHEREFORE, PREMISES CONSIDERED, Plaintiff

prays that this motion to remand be granted, and that this case be

remanded to the 191st District Court of Dallas County, Texas.

Respectfully submitted,

STRADLEY, SCHMIDT & WRIGHT

ONE CAMPBELL CENTRE

DALLAS, TEXAS 75206

(214) 696-4880

FAX # (214) 696-8134

BY: C. L. MIKE SCHMIDT

C. L. MIKE SCHMIDT

STATE BAR No. 17766000

ATTORNEYS FOR PLAINTIFF

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the foregoing

instrument has been served on all counsel of record by certified

mail, return receipt requested, this Sth day of December, 1991.

C. L. MIKE SCHMIDT

oF

. MIKE SCHMIDT

C-]

28 U.S.C. § 1367. Supplemental jurisdiction

(a) Except as provided in subsections (b) and (c) or as

expressly provided otherwise by Federal statute, in any civil action

of which the district courts have original jurisdiction, the district

courts shall have supplemental jurisdiction over all other claims

that are so related to claims in the action within such original

jurisdiction that they form part of the same case or controversy

under Article III of the United States Constitution. Such supple-

mental jurisdiction shall include claims that involve the joinder or

intervention of additional parties.

28 U.S.C. § 1447. Procedure after removal generally

* + *

(c) A motion to remand the case on the basis of any defect

in removal procedure must be made within 30 days after the filing

of the notice of removal under section 1446(a). If at any time

before final judgment it appears that the district court lacks

subject matter jurisdiction, the case shall be remanded. An order

remanding the case may require payment of just costs and any

actual expenses, including attorney fees, incurred as a result of the

removal. A certified copy of the order of remand shall be mailed

by the clerk to the clerk of the State court. The State court may

thereupon proceed with such case.

29 U.S.C. § 1002. Definitions

For purposes of this subchapter:

* + a

(7) The term “participant” means any employee or former

employee of an employer, or any member or former member of an

employee organization, who is or may become eligible to receive a

C-2

benefit of any type from an employee benefit plan which covers

employees of such employer or members of such organization, or

whose beneficiaries may be eligible to receive any such benefit.

(8) The term “beneficiary” means a person designated by a

participant, or by the terms of an employee benefit plan, who is or

may become entitled to a benefit thereunder.

o * *

(21)(A) Except as otherwise provided in subparagraph

(B), a person is a fiduciary with respect to a plan to the extent (i)

he exercises any discretionary authority or discretionary control

respecting management of such plan or exercises any authority or

control respecting management or disposition of its assets, (ii) he

renders investment advice for a fee or other compensation, direct

or indirect, with respect to any moneys or other property of such

plan, or has any authority or responsibility to do so, or (iii) he has

any discretionary authority or discretionary responsibility in the

administration of such plan. Such term includes any person

designated under section 1105(c)(1)(B) of this title.

29 U.S.C. § 1104. Fiduciary duties

(a) Prudent man standard of care

(1) Subject to sections 1103(c) and (d), 1342, and 1344 of

this title, a fiduciary shall discharge his duties with respect to a

plan solely in the interest of the participants and beneficiaries

and —

(A) for the exclusive purpose of:

(i) providing benefits to participants and their

beneficiaries; and

(ii) defraying reasonable expenses of administering

the plan;

C-3

(B) with the care, skill, prudence, and diligence under

the circumstances then prevailing that a prudent man acting

in a like capacity and familiar with such matters would use in

the conduct of an enterprise of a like character and with like

aims;

(C) by diversifying the investments of the plan so as to

minimize the risk of large losses, unless under the circum-

stances it is clearly prudent not to do so; and

(D) in accordance with the documents and instruments

governing the plan insofar as such documents and instru-

ments are consistent with the provisions of this subchapter or

subchapter III of this chapter.

29 U.S.C. § 1105. Liability for breach of co-fiduciary

(a) Circumstances giving rise to liability

In addition to any liability which he may have under any

other provision of this part, a fiduciary with respect to a plan shall

be liable for a breach of fiduciary responsibility of another

fiduciary with respect to the same plan in the following

circumstances:

(1) if he participates knowingly in, or knowingly under-

takes to conceal, an act or omission of such other fiduciary,

knowing such act or omission is a breach;

(2) if, by his failure to comply with section 1104({a) (1)

of this title in the administration of his specific responsibili-

ties which give rise to his status as a fiduciary, he has enabled

such other fiduciary to commit a breach, or

(3) if he has knowledge of a breach by such other

fiduciary, unless he makes reasonable efforts under the

circumstances to remedy the breach.

C-4

29 U.S.C. § 1109. Liability for breach of fiduciary duty

(a) Any person who is a fiduciary with respect to a plan who

breaches any of the responsibilities, obligations, or duties imposed

upon fiduciaries by this subchapter shall be personally liable to

make good to such plan any losses to the plan resulting from each

such breach, and to restore to such plan any profits of such

fiduciary which have been made through use of assets of the plan

by the fiduciary, and shall be subject to such other equitable or

remedial relief as the court may deem appropriate, including

removal of such fiduciary. A fiduciary may also be removed for a

violation of section 1111 of this title.

D-1

NO. 93-1606

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

GEORGE RAYMOND ANDERSON

Appellant,

V.

ELECTRONIC DATA SYSTEMS CORP.,

DOUGLAS M. CROW, ANTHONY E.

WEYNAND, RICHARD P. SHLAKMAN,

and DARRELL JOHNSON,

Appellees.

APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

DALLAS DIVISION

91-7509-M

BRIEF OF APPELLEES

PHILLIP N. SMITH, JR.

JEFFREY A. CARTER

MICHAEL A. PIAZZA

McKoor Smith, P.C.

300 Crescent Court, Suite 1500

Dallas, Texas 75201

(214) 978-4000

(214) 978-4044 (facsimile)

Attorneys for Appellees,

ELECTRONIC DATA SYSTEMS

CORPORATION, ANTHONY E.

WEYNAND, RICHARD P. SHLAKMAN,

AND DARRELL JOHNSON

Pn nee ne

D-2

CERTIFICATE OF INTERESTED PERSONS

The undersigned counsel of record certifies that the following

listed persons and entities may have an interest in the outcome of

this case. These representations are made in order that the Judges

of this Court may evaluate possible disqualification or recusal.

1. Electronic Data Systems Corporation, a subsidiary of

General Motors Corporation

2. Douglas M. Crow

3. Anthony E. Weynand

4. Richard P. Shlakman

5. Darrell Johnson

6. George Raymond (Andy) Anderson

7. Phillip N. Smith, Jr., Jeffrey A. Carter, and Michael A.

Piazza, attorneys with McKool Smith, P.C.

8. J. Thomas Scott, attorney with Electronic Data Systems

Corporation

9. John R. Woodward and Patrick Shaw, attorneys with

Woodward and Shaw

10. C. L. Mike Schmidt and Ronald Wren, attorneys with

the Law Offices of C. L. Mike Schmidt

11. Kenneth W. Biermacher, attorney with Kane, Russell,

Coleman & Logan

12. Cheryl P. Hunter and Jon W. Laasch, attorneys with

Hammons and Hunter

D-3

STATEMENT REGARDING ORAL ARGUMENT

Appellees do not request oral argument.

D-4

TABLE OF CONTENTS

——

age

CERTIFICATE OF INTERESTED PERSONS .. i D-2

STATEMENT REGARDING ORAL

Fe oe ns ohne ce bev nb iee ii D-3

TA EEE 6 dip weno vos cece eb bte seer iii D-4

pe RB ee Boles 8) | Vv D-5

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION ............ | D-8

STATEMENT OF THE ISSUE ON APPEAL ... 2 D-8

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ................. 2 D-9

Pi, Te ee I ire eked deer éenvacds 2 D-9

B. Course of Proceedings and Disposition of

i ete O's ode os vie.e a eb 6s hs 3 D-9

(Fe ee i ban 4 D-10

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT............ 13 D-20

ARETE EE seth hci el ois cia iis oe ce 16 D-22

I. THE DISTRICT COURT HAD SUBJECT 4g

MATTER JURISDICTION TO ENTER

SUMMARY JUDGMENT AGAINST

PPE kk i ss Pea on bo in 6s 16 D-22

A. The District Court Had Removal

Jurisdiction Based on Anderson’s Well

Pe es 16 D-22

1. Anderson’s Petition Raised Federal

Question Issues Under ERISA ...... 16 D-22

2. The ERISA Issues Raised By

Anderson Were Not Collateral, But

Were Critical To His Claims........ 19 D-25 -

3. Willy v. Coastal Corp. Does Not &

Support A Contrary Result ......... 21 D-26 4

B. The District Court Had Removal 4

Jurisdiction Based On The Complete -

PrOCUMGINE EPRGUIIID so iic cv cccccccdccees 25 D-31 z

1. The Complete Preemption Doctrine

Applied to Anderson’s Suit ......... 25 ~D-31 4

2. Anderson’s Claim Was Preempted by =

cbinxGs i0c cede sas hare es 30 D-36 :

3. Anderson’s Claim Was Removable f

I inc cea tab ah'y es he ane 37 ~D-42 ¢

C. The District Court Had Original 7

Jurisdiction at the Time of Judgment..... 39. D-44 |

CO a ee kt ne rcicekhchseveeresedesswn 45 D-49 id

CEM EMPCAAS TS OP SEI VICE 6. cv sccecsbescas 48 D-51

uv sf

v

§

APPENDIX

wer

SETTERS ELIS Re A TRS Rho eR RU RT RRR at cl “DAR RRATEEE ay GRA eer a

D-5

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Aaron v. National Union Fire Ins. Co. of Pittsburg, 876

F.2d 1157 (Sth Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 110 S. Ct. 1121

“eee eee eeeeenweewee eee eee eee

American Fire & Casualty Co. v. Finn, 71 S. Ct. 534

EL SEIS 41, 42

Avco Corp. v. Machinists, 88 S. Ct. 1235 (1968) ........... 26, 27

Baris v. Suipicio Lines, Inc., 932 F.2d 1540 (Sth Cir.),

cert. denied, 112 S. Ct. 430 (1991)......... 15, 40, 42, 43, 44, 45

Brown v. Southwestern Bell Telephone Co., 901 F.2d 1250

EE EE EE 11

In re Carter, 618 F.2d 1093 (Sth Cir. 1980), cert. denied,

ee 11, 12

Christopher v. Mobil Oil Corp., 950 F.2d 1209 (Sth Cir.

1992), cert. denied, 113 S. Ct. 68 (1992) ......... 24, 31, 32, 34

Corcoran v. United Healthcare, Inc., 965 F.2d 1321

(Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 113 S. Ct. 812

EI EMEEGs inked oa chsbceucesecsses 31, 32, 34, 37, 38

District of Columbia v. Greater Washington Board of Trade,

ee ee ew eccesscers 32

Franchise Tax Board of Cal. v. Construction Laborers Vacation

Trust of Southern Cal., 103 S. Ct. 2841 (1983) ............ 16

Griffith v. Johnston, 899 F.2d 1427 (Sth Cir. 1990) ........... 38

Grubbs v. General Electric Credit Corp, 92 S. Ct. 1344

ERO SB eee eet Tree eee 14, 40, 41, 42, 44

Gully v. First Nat'l Bank in Meridian, 57 S. Ct. 96 (1936) .. 16, 19

Hansen v. Continental Ins. Co., 940 F.2d 971

TE ETT PCT LETTE T ETE Te 38, 39

Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon, 111 S. Ct. 478

20, 21, 24, 25 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36

D-6

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

Iron Workers Mid-South Pension Fund v. Terotechnology

Corp., 891 F.2d 548 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 110 S. Ct. 3272

CROPS FA as bade cheese nonce Hol 31, 37

Jones v. Petty-Ray Geophysical, Geosource, Inc., 954 F.2d 1061

OP SS EN eos SSE rei cane hale be ie suceleele a. 44

Kidd v. Southwest Airlines, Co., 891 F.2d 540

ee I hiss is ee 15, 16, 40, 41, 42

Kliebert v. Upjohn Co., 915 F.2d 142 (3h Ce, 190)... ....... 4]

Mackey v. Lanier Collection Agency & Service, 108 S. Ct. 2182

ctinay een ae ce TT Ora dR 3]

McLean v. Carlson Companies, Inc. 777 F. Supp. 1480

OR as cde 20, 29, 36

Memorial Hospital System v. Northbrook Life Ins. Co.,

er ae ee Oe Ge PD os. ne 39

Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. y. Taylor, 107 S. Ct. 1542

(eRe stb cutee gle ee 14, 16, 25, 26, 27 28, 29, 37

NLRB vy. Scrivener, 92 S. Ct. 798 ES RI, asi ia si: 30

Nowoc v. Rheem Mfg. Co., 772 F. Supp. 977 (S.D. Tex.

Vickie GEEAAE TE) Creer he ep een a aS 24, 25

Pease v. Pakhoed Corp., 980 F.2d 995 (Sth Cie. 1993)......... 17

Pilot Life Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux, 107 S. Ct. 1549

GOD ierciGina secur eee 24, 27, 30, 31, 32, 34, 35

Rayner v. Smirl, 873 F.2d 60 oe | Res ee 30

Richardson v. United Steelworkers of America, 864 F.2d 1162

(Sth Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 110 S. Ct. 2204 i ee 26

Sabine Pilot Service, Inc. v. Hauck, 687 S.W.2d 733

iinet cantante oO Sas ae 12, 13, 17, 18

Shaw v. Delta Air Lines, 103 S. Ct. Pe Ce sd ioe 31, 34

Sperling v. Texas Health Enterprises, Inc., 791 F. Supp. 662

re MN Ms aiisac leek oitee ssl ccu, ine 24, 25

St. Paul Mercury Indemnity Co. v. Red Cab Co., 58 S. Ct. 586

sides ARE TEENS OT ET eT ORS 1]

D-7

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

Winters v. Houston Chronicle Publishing Co., 795 S.W.2d 723 :

iy SRN Sears Mitac oars cans Aaa i ee 17, 18

STATUTES

i ae et eee dae bs br baa oadawee ails I

EE i irek uA touwotn aber k iu edad ab eeease. l

SS as i as a aed le oe cage l

EN iw ls Ne Roadie wy bubUhournlncaonrines 42

ET atk 2b Do. Sade opi aii an adiue dakenenbaee i]

Rr en ei ee rari 1, 16

Oe CE aE OE ee Tee 40

EI Sets Gas ckeeuucdbe wes catkebvsnuee es 15, 43

Riss ala aie wind ge ke mabe 40

I io Oi hdl veered icbeawonace 23, 29

et skh L sic s worlheuedwoe wae Os eede ae 22

ee EBON ee svin'iven vowed ovedcadsedes 23, 30

tee Uae lon tne ack ¢idceecw kore noere 23

ED id Grn 35504 bub oe ¥scses tween 14, 22, 23, 29

eas cll wii nbd bk ane oT 22, 29

SI aed os as beak ssebhsccdvovedéocueees 23, 31

ee I ne a Sop caw ee dedaned veceea 34

See a NE CINE GS cnc ccekseedbdsescdcucseeds 32

D-8

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The Appellees removed this case from Texas state court to

the United States District Court for the Northern District of

Texas, pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1441. Removal was based on

allegations in the Original Petition that Appellant George Ray-

mond Anderson (“Anderson”) had been wrongfully terminated

because he refused to violate the Employee Retirement Income

Security Act. At the time of removal, the district court had

subject matter jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1331. At the

time the district court entered summary judgment for Electronic

Data Systems Corp. (“EDS”), it had subject matter jurisdiction

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §§ 1331 and 1332.

This Court has jurisdiction of Anderson’s appeal as to EDS,

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1291. The district court entered final

judgment on June 4, 1993. As discussed in the accompanying

Motion to Dismiss Appeal, this Court does not have jurisdiction

over the other named appellees. Anderson voluntarily dismissed

the other appellees in April 1993.'

STATEMENT OF THE ISSUE ON APPEAL

Did the United States District Court for the Northern

District of Texas have subject matter jurisdiction when it entered

summary judgment in favor of EDS on Anderson’s claim for

wrongful discharge?

' In the event this Court denies the motion of Anthony E. Wey-

nand, Richard P. Shlakman, and Darrell Johnson to dismiss this appeal

as to them, this Brief is filed on their behalf as well as on behalf of EDS.

By joining in this Brief, Messrs. Weynand, Shlakman, and Johnson do

not intend to waive or forego any rights they might have to the dismissal

of this appeal as to them.

D-9

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Nature of the Case.

Appellant George Raymond Anderson (“Anderson”), an

employee at-will under Texas law, alleges that Appellee Elec-

tronic Data Systems Corporation (“EDS”) wrongfully termi-

nated him for refusing to commit illegal acts requested of him by

his supervisor and for accusing his supervisor of committing

certain improper acts. In his Original Petition, Anderson, inter

alia, alleged that his supervisor asked him to violate the Em-

ployee Retirement Income Security Act (“ERISA”) and that his

refusal to violate ERISA led to his termination.

Anderson filed this action originally in state court against

EDS and others (collectively, the “Defendants”). The Defend-

ants removed to federal court. Anderson voluntarily dismissed all

Defendants, but EDS. EDS obtained summary judgment on

Anderson’s claims. On appeal, Anderson does not challenge the

propriety of the court’s summary judgment ruling. Instead, he

challenges the district court’s denial of his motion to remand the

case to state court. The only issue before this Court is whether the

district court had subject matter jurisdiction to enter summary

judgment in favor of EDS.

B. Course of Proceedings and Disposition of Case.

On June 26, 1991, Anderson filed suit in state court in Dallas

County against EDS, and four present or former EDS employees,

Douglas M. Crow (“Crow”), Anthony E. Weynand (“Wey-

nand”), Richard P. Shlakman, and Darrell Johnson.’ On July 25,

2 Plaintiff's Original Petition {| 1 (hereinafter “Original Petition”)

(R. 92-104). The unsealed portions of the record are cited in this brief

by referring to the page number of the record as follows: "us See

sealed portions of the record are identified by asterisks on the docket

sheet and are cited in this brief as “R. Sealed” along with reference to

the document’s docket number and date filed.

D-10

1991, the Defendants joined in removing the case to the Northern

District of Texas, Dallas Division.’

Anderson filed his first amended complaint in October 1991

and purportedly dropped all references to ERISA. In Novem-

ber 1991, Defendant Crow moved for summary judgment. In

December 1991, in conjunction with filing his response to Crow’s

motion for summary judgment, Anderson moved to remand the

case to Texas state court. The District Court denied Anderson’s

remand motion on January 7, 1992. After two extensions re-

quested by Anderson, the district court granted Crow’s motion for

summary judgment in December 1992.

In April 1993, Anderson filed a second amended complaint.

He voluntarily dismissed all Defendants except EDS and dis-

missed all claims against EDS except for his claim of wrongful

termination. After briefing, the district court granted EDS’ mo-

tion for summary judgment on the remaining claim in June 1993.

Anderson appealed. He now challenges the district court’s

refusal to remand the case to state court. He does not, however,

appeal either of the court’s summary judgment rulings.

C. Statement of Facts.

Anderson joined the Domestic Treasury Department of EDS

in October 1984 as a cash manager.* Subsequently, Anderson

> Notice of Removal (R. 1-5). Anderson admitted in his “Motion

to Remand” that the Defendants timely removed this case from state

court. Motion to Remand p. 2, dated December 5, 1991 (R. 300). His

argument on appeal is limited solely to whether the district court had

subject matter jurisdiction.

* Original Petition | IV (R. 94-95); Second Amended Complaint

q 5 (R. 673); Anderson Deposition at pp. 24, 27-28 (R. Sealed, Docket

Numbers 71-75, Filed May 4, 1993, Anderson Deposition Excerpts

attached to Affidavit of Michael A. Piazza). At the time Anderson

joined EDS, he signed an employment agreement which provided that

either Anderson or EDS could terminate the employment relationship at

D-11

became the Department’s Manager of Investments and Debt.

According to Anderson, he was responsible for all domestic long

and short-term investments for all of the investment portfolios of

EDS, including EDS’ pension funds.? Until January 1989,

Anderson reported to Crow, the assistant treasurer of EDS.°

In January 1989, Crow developed a plan to reorganize the

Domestic Treasury Department. Anderson believed that he was

being demoted under the proposed plan and complained to

Weynand, Crow’s boss.’ Shortly after he went to Weynand,

Weynand told Crow to drop his plan and informed Anderson that

the reorganization proposed by Crow would not be implemented.*

any time, with or without cause. Anderson Deposition at pp. 24-25;

Employment Agreement {| 7 (R. Sealed, Docket Numbers 71-75, Filed

May 4, 1993, Anderson Deposition Excerpts and Exhibit B attached to

Affidavit of Michael A. Piazza).

> Original Petition IV (R. 94-95); Second Amended Complaint

q 5 (R. 673).

® Original Petition VII (R. 96-97); Second Amended Complaint

| 7 (R. 673-674); Anderson Deposition at p. 19 (R. Sealed, Docket

Numbers 71-75, Filed May 4, 1993, Anderson Deposition Excerpts

attached to Affidavit of Michael A. Piazza).

” Second Amended Complaint ff 7, 14, and 15 (R. 673-674, 676-

677); Anderson Deposition at pp. 141-43, 146-47, and 149-50

(R. Sealed Docket Numbers 71-75, Filed May 4, 1993, Anderson

Deposition Excerpts attached to Affidavit of Michael A. Piazza);

Affidavit of Anthony E. Weynand (“Affidavit of Weynand”) {| 6

(R. Sealed, Docket Numbers 71-75, Filed May 4, 1993).

Anderson also complained to Weynand’s boss, Davis Hamlin

(“Hamlin”). Second Amendment Complaint Jf 7, and 15 (R. 673-674,

676-677); Anderson Deposition at pp. 146-147, and 149-50 (R. Sealed,

Docket Numbers 71-75, Filed May 4, 1993, Anderson Deposition

Excerpts attached to Affidavit of Michael A. Piazza).

® Affidavit of Weynand § 6 (R. Sealed, Docket Numbers 71-75,

Filed May 4, 1993).

D-12

Based on his conversation with Anderson and with other

Domestic Treasury employees, Weynand decided to reassign

Crow. In Weynand’s judgment Crow could no longer effectively

manage the Domestic Treasury Department.” Weynand assigned

Crow to a position outside the Department and in another

building.'°

Weynand named Don Ulm (“Ulm”) to replace Crow as the

assistant treasurer and placed Ulm in charge of the Domestic

Treasury Department.'’ Ulm had not worked in the Domestic

Treasury Department nor had he ever discussed Anderson with

anyone before being named assistant treasurer.’

* Id. at § 7 (R. Sealed, Docket Numbers 71-75, Filed May 4,

1993).

'° Second Amended Complaint § 15 (R. 676-677); Anderson

Deposition at p. 153 (R. Sealed, Docket Numbers 71-75, Filed May 4,

1993, Anderson Deposition Excerpts attached to Affidavit of Michael A.

Piazza); Affidavit of Weynand 7 (R. Sealed, Docket Numbers 71-75,

Filed May 4, 1993).

During his conversations with Weynand and Hamlin, Anderson

accused Crow of improper and unethical conduct. Original Petition

q9 XI, XII (R. 99-100); Second Amended Complaint §§ 13,15

(R. 676-677).

Weynand and Hamlin investigated Anderson’s accusations

against Crow, but uncovered no evidence of wrongdoing on the part of

Crow. Affidavit of Weynand § 7 (R. Sealed, Docket Numbers 71-75,

Filed May 4, 1993); Second Amended Complaint § 15 (R. 676-677).

'' Second Amended Complaint § 15 (R. 676-677); Anderson

Deposition at p. 154 (R. Sealed, Docket Numbers 71-75, Filed May 4,

1993, Anderson Deposition Excerpts attached to Affidavit of Michael A.

Piazza); Affidavit of Weynand J 7 (R. Sealed, Docket Numbers 71-75,

Filed May 4, 1993). Anderson did not name Ulm as a defendant.

'? Affidavit of Don Ulm (“Affidavit of Ulm”) 9 5 (R. Sealed,

Docket Numbers 71-75, Filed May 4, 1993).

Neither Crow, Anderson, Weynand, not anyone else at EDS

informed Ulm of Anderson’s accusations against Crow. /d. at 9] 10-12

Rupa Se Sick ae ge een YON Ee cat:

Sai

etalon ER

y

sy

‘

*

.

lm AS eo nS ik a2 CN a an en el

> et. ae Ma ERRORS

D-13

In August 1989, based on his experience in supervising

Anderson since January 1989, Ulm concluded that Anderson was

a poor manager and exercised poor judgment.'* Ulm believed that

Anderson too often treated his employees, and the vendors and

brokers doing business with the Domestic Treasury Department,

rudely and in an unprofessional manner.'* He further believed

that Anderson’s behavior was inappropriate as a manager and

representative of EDS.'° Ulm terminated Anderson on August 23,

1989."°

(R. Sealed, Docket Numbers 71-75, Filed May 4, 1993); Affidavit of

Weynand § 8 (R. Sealed, Docket Numbers 71-75, Filed May 4, 1993);

Anderson Deposition at p. 155 (R. Sealed, Docket Numbers 71-75,

Filed May 4, 1993, Anderson Deposition Excerpts attached to Affidavit

of Michael A. Piazza).

'> Affidavit of Ulm 9 6 (R. Sealed, Docket Numbers 71-75, Filed

May 4, 1993).

'* Id. (R. Sealed, Docket Numbers 71-75, Filed May 4, 1993).

'S Id. (R. Sealed, Docket Numbers 71-75, Filed May 4, 1993).

'© Id. at 9 9 Id. (R. Sealed, Docket Numbers 71-75, Filed May 4,

1993); Anderson Deposition at p. 28 (R. Sealed, Docket Numbers 71-

75, Filed May 4, 1993, Anderson Deposition Excerpts attached to

Affidavit of Michael A. Piazza).

Ulm’s decision to terminate Anderson was his own. No one at EDS

instructed him to, requested him to, or suggested to him that he

terminate Anderson. Affidavit of Ulm at 99 7-9 (R. Sealed, Docket

Numbers 71-75, Filed May 4, 1993); Affidavit of Weynand at 79 (R

Sealed, Docket Numbers 71-75, Filed May 4, 1993).

Anderson alleged that Crow was involved in his termination. In

ruling on Crow’s motion for summary judgment, the district court,

however, found that Anderson had failed to produce any evidence of

Crow’s involvement. Memorandum Order dated December 2, 1992, p. 4

(R. 634).

Subsequently, Anderson admitted that he had no factual basis to

support his claim that Crow was involved in his termination nor any

evidence to dispute Ulm’s testimony that Ulm alone made the decision

to terminate Anderson. Anderson Deposition at pp. 120-23, 185-86 (R.

Sealed, Docket Numbers 71-75, Filed May 4, 1993, Anderson Deposi-

D-14

On June 26 1991, Anderson sued the Defendants in state

court in Dallas County, Texas. In his Original Petition, Anderson

alleged that EDS breached its employment agreement with him

by wrongfully discharging him."

Specifically, Anderson contended that he was terminated

because (i) he refused to participate in illegal activities requested

by Crow, (ii) he reported Crow’s illegal or irregular performance

of his duties to EDS management, and (iii) his accusations

against Crow embarrassed the management of EDS."* Anderson

listed four allegedly illegai acts that he claimed Crow asked him

to do, two of which involved alleged violations of ERISA."

Anderson alleged that Crow asked him:

tion Excerpts attached to Affidavit of Michael A. Piazza).

In addition, Ulm’s uncontradicted testimony was that he did not

terminate Anderson because Anderson refused to perform illegal acts

that Crow allegedly asked him to perform. He was not aware of

Anderson’s allegations in this regard when he terminated Anderson.

Affidavit of Ulm {J 10-12 (R. Sealed, Docket Numbers 71-75, Filed

May 4, 1993).

Anderson never alleged that Ulm or anyone other than Crow ever

requested him to perform illegal acts. He also never alleged any

wrongdoing on the part of Ulm. Anderson Deposition at p. 244

(R. Sealed, Docket Numbers 71-75, Filed May 4, 1993, Anderson

Deposition Excerpts attached to Affidavit of Michael A. Piazza).

'’ Original Petition {| XVI (R. 101-102). He also alleged that all

of the Defendants had intentionally interfered with his prospective

business and contractual relationships and had negligently or intention-

ally inflicted emotional distress on him. Jd. J XVII and XVIII

(R. 102).

'® Original Petition ] XIII (R. 100).

'? Original Petition VII (R. 96-97).

Anderson also alleged that Crow asked him (i) not to provide

certain stock certificates needed to close an acquisition by EDS, which

Anderson alleged violated “various laws and regulations p: »mulgated

and enforced by the Federal Securities and Exchange Commission,” and

(ii) to under-report to EDS senior management the interest income he

D-15

to sign on two separate occasions approval of payment

invoices on behalf of the pension portfolios under his man-

agement and supervision who (sic) had been retained by

Crow without approval of the pension trustees. Such action

would have been a violation of the Federal Employee Retire-

ment Income Security Act of 1974 (“Erisa”’) Laws gov-

erning management of such pension plans.

* * *

to write up minutes for meetings which he did not attend in

connection with the EDS Retirement Plan. This also is in

violation of ERISA.”°

was projecting EDS would make on one of its accounts used as a

repository for interest income generated by EDS’ investments. Anderson

did not allege what law he would have violated if he had under-reported

the projected income. Jd. (R. 96-97) (emphasis added).

0 Id. at 9 VII (R. 96-97) (emphasis added).

In answers to interrogatories served after the case was removed,

Anderson further described the conduct Crow allegedly asked him to do

in violation of ERISA: (i) to approve invoices for the payment of a

consultant, from the funds of EDS’ retirement plan, even though the

trustees of the retirement plan had not approved hiring the consultant

and (ii) to draft minutes for meetings of the trustees of the retirement

plan, meetings which Anderson had not attended. Anderson stated that

he refused to sign the invoices or draft the minutes and told Crow that

both would constitute violations of ERISA. Plaintiff's Responses to

Douglas M. Crow’s Interrogatories (August 1, 1991), Answer to Inter-

rogatory 5 (hereinafter “Anderson Interrogatory Answer __”) (Vol-

ume 4 of the Record, R. 53-55, Exhibit to Crow’s Brief in Support of

Motion for Summary Judgment).

Anderson also answered that Crow violated ERISA (i) by asking

Anderson to write the meeting minutes and (ii) by hiring a consultant to

work on projects for EDS’s retirement plan without trustee approval.

Anderson Interrogatory Answer 11 (Volume 4 of the Record, R. 58-60,

Exhibit to Crow’s Brief in Support of Motion for Summary Judgment).

Anderson also identified five people with knowledge f either the

“EDS Retirement Plan,” “authorizing payment of invoices without

budget approval/trustee approval,” or “problems associated with the

401(k) and EDS Retirement Plan.” Anderson Interrogatory Answer |

D-16

Anderson further alleged that when he refused to do the acts

requested by Crow, Crow either did them himself or forced

someone else to do them.”' Anderson also alleged that Crow

threatened him on three separate occasions after he refused to

commit the illegal acts.” In addition, Anderson alleged that Crow

and Weynand “actively sought occasion to discriminate against

and ultimately terminate” him because he refused to commit the

illegal acts and because of his accusations against Crow.”

On July 25, the Defendants jointly removed the case to

federal court.“* The Defendants maintained that Anderson’s alle-

gations that he was terminated because he refused to violate

provisions of ERISA gave the district court subject matter

jurisdiction.”

In October 1991, Anderson filed his First Amended Original

Complaint.” In his amended complaint, Anderson purported to

drop all reference to the ERISA violations.

Anderson moved to remand the case to Texas state court in

December 1991.”’ In his motion, Anderson explained that part of

his job involved the administration of EDS’ pension and profit

(Volume 4 of the Record, R. 44-51, Exhibit to Crow’s Brief in Support

of Motion for Summary Judgment).

2! Original Petition | VIII (R. 97).

2 Id. (R. 97).

3 Id. at XI (R. 99). Anderson later dropped this allegation. See

Plaintiff's Second Amended Complaint ff 12-15 (R. 675-677).

* Notice of Removal (R. 1-5)

> Id. (R. 1-5)

© Plaintiff's First Amended Original Complaint dated October 21,

1991 (R. 187-200).

27 Motion to Remand dated December 5, 1991 (R. 299-303).

D-17

sharing plans.” He admitted that certain of the illegal activities

Crow directed him to perform would have violated ERISA had

he performed them.” He further admitted that his “Original

Petition alleged that his refusal to perform violations of ERISA as

a plan administrator was a reason in whole or in part for his

termination.” Anderson additionally admitted that “[t]he re-

fusal of Plaintiff to violate ERISA was pled merely as one of the

improper reasons for Plaintiff's termination by EDS, and formed

a portion of the allegations which comprised Plaintiff's claim for

common law wrongful discharge.”*' Anderson maintained, how-

ever, that his ERISA allegations did not give the district court

federal question jurisdiction.”

The Defendants responded and argued that removal was

proper under the Original Petition and that Anderson could not

defeat the district court’s jurisdiction by amending his complaint

8 Jd. at p. 2 (R. 300).

° Id. (R. 300).

© Id. (R. 300).

*' Id. at p. 2 (R. 300) (emphasis added).

2 Id. at p. 3 (R. 301). Alternatively, Anderson argued that the

Defendants’ removal had been predicated on the references to ERISA in

the Original Petition, that he had “eliminated all references to ERISA”

in his First Amended Original Petition,” and that the “issue ha[d] been

rendered moot by the subsequent amendment to Plaintiff's pleadings t-

eliminate all ERISA references.” Id. at p. 3 and n. | (R. 300-301).

Finally, Anderson admitted that the district court had supplemental

jurisdiction of the case under 28 U.S.C. § 1367, but urged the court to

decline that jurisdiction based on the fact that “all bases for federal

jurisdiction ha[d] been eliminated by the pleading amendment.” /d. at

p. 4 (R. 302).

D-18

to delete the basis for federal jurisdiction.** The district court

denied Anderson’s motion to remand on January 7, 1992.*4

In November 1992, counsel for Anderson wrote a letter to

defense counsel reciting an agreement between counsel that

Anderson intended to file an amended complaint and dismiss the

individual defendants from the case. Counsel for Anderson fur-

ther represented that Anderson would “not be making any

ERISA claims” in the new amended pleading.*°

In April 1993, Anderson filed his Second Amended Com-

plaint.*° In that complaint, Anderson dismissed all claims against

all of the Defendants except EDS and dismissed all claims against

EDS except for wrongful termination based on his refusal to

commit illegal acts and his accusations against Crow.””

> Defendants’ Response to Plaintiff's Motion to Remand pp. 4-8,

dated December 30, 1991 (R. 322-326). See, e.g., St. Paul Mercury

Indemnity Co. v. Red Cab Co., 58 S.Ct. 586, 593 (1938) (after filing

petition over which federal court has original jurisdiction, plaintiff can

not, at his election, subsequently act to defeat that jurisdiction or

defendant’s right to remove); Brown v. Southwestern Bell Telephone

Co., 901 F.2d 1250, 1255 (Sth Cir. 1990) (federal court’s should guard

against forum shopping when plaintiff deletes his federal claims and

then requests the court to remand the case); Jn re Carter, 618 F.2d 1093,

1101 (Sth Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 101 S.Ct. 1410 (1981) (“the plaintiff

cannot rob the district court of subject matter jurisdiction by electing to

amend away the grounds for federal jurisdiction.”).

** Order dated January 7, 1992 (R. 331).

*> Letter from C. L. Schmidt, attorney for Anderson, to Phillip N.

Smith, Jr., attorney for all of the named Defendants but Crow, dated

November 16, 1992 (R. Sealed, Docket Numbers 71-75, Filed May 4,

1993, Exhibit “D” to Affidavit of Michael A. Piazza).

*© Second Amended Complaint filed April 13, 1993 (R. 672-679).

7 Td. (R. 672-679). In his motion for leave to file the Second

Amended Complaint, Anderson expressly asked for leave to dismiss his

claims against each of the individual defendants. Motion for Leave to

D-19

After Anderson dropped his ERISA based claims, EDS

moved for summary judgment based on the remaining claims

against it. EDS argued that as a matter of law (i) Anderson was

an employee-at-will who could be discharged for no cause,

(ii) Anderson did not fall within the Sabine Pilor® exception to

the employment-at-will doctrine, and (iii) Anderson’s claim that

he was terminated for reporting the illegal or irregular conduct of

Crow did not state a cause of action for wrongful termination or

anything else under Texas law.”

The district court granted summary judgment. It found that

Texas did not recognize a “whistle blower” cause of action under

the facts alleged by Anderson. The court further found that

Anderson was an employee-at-will who failed to meet the require-

ments of the Sabine Pilot exception.” The court entered judg-

File Plaintiff's Second Amended Complaint p. 2, dated March 5, 1993

(R. 647).

After filing the Second Amended Complaint, counsel for Anderson

and EDS had the following colloquy at Anderson’s deposition regarding

Anderson’s ERISA claims:

Mr. Smith: Mike, let me, on the record here, make sure that

my understanding is correct... ERISA in any

form or fashion is out of the case?

Mr. Schmidt: Yes. We have amended it out of the case. Anderson

Deposition at p. 112 (R. Sealed, Docket Numbers 71-75, Filed May 4,

1993, Anderson Deposition excerpts attached to Affidavit of Michael A.

Piazza).

8 Sabine Pilot Service, Inc. v. Hauck, 687 S.W.2d 733 (Tex. 1985)

(recognized a cause of action when an employee is fired solely because

he refused to commit a criminal act).

Defendant's Brief in Support of Motion for Summary Judgment

dated May 4, 1993 (R. Sealed, Docket Numbers 71-75, Filed May 4,

1993).

“ Memorandum Order pp. 5-8, dated June 4, 1993 (R. 705-708).

D-20

ment for EDS, concluding all issues as to all parties.*' This appeal

then ensued.

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

The district court had subject matter jurisdiction to enter

summary judgment in favor of EDS and against Anderson on

three separate grounds. One, under the well pleaded complaint

rule, Anderson’s Original Petition raised issues of federal law

which created federal question jurisdiction. Anderson claimed

that he was terminated because he refused to do certain acts that

would have violated ERISA. For Anderson to succeed on his

claim, the court would have had to determine whether an ERISA

covered benefit plan was involved and whether the acts Anderson

was requested to do would in fact have violated ERISA or the

terms of an employee benefit plan covered by ERISA. The

decision in Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon teaches that these

ERISA related issues are critical to a wrongful discharge claim

based on alleged violations of ERISA.

Two, the district court also had federal question jurisdiction

under the complete preemption doctrine. In Metropolitan Life

Ins. Co. v. Taylor, the Supreme Court extended the doctrine to

any state law cause of action that falls within the scope of the civil

enforcement provisions of ERISA, 29 U.S.C. § 1132(a). Ander-

son’s claim falls within the scope of ERISA’s civil enforcement

scheme, which includes enforcement of ERISA’s provisions con-

cerning the administration of covered plans and the enforcement

of the fiduciary duties created by ERISA. Anderson alleged facts

indicating that he served as a plan manager, administrator, and

fiduciary. Anderson claims that in his role managing and adminis-

tering EDS’ ERISA plans, he was requested to violate ERISA

and that when he refused, his supervisor either committed the

violation or forced someone else to commit it. Anderson’s claims

*' Judgment dated June 4, 1993 (R. 709).

D-21

fall within the scope of section 1132. For example, as a partici-

pant, beneficiary, or fiduciary of an ERISA covered plan, Ander-

son could have brought suit under section 1132(a) to enjoin any

violation of ERISA, an ERISA plan, or his rights under ERISA

or an ERISA plan.

Three, the district court also had original subject matter

jurisdiction at the time it entered summary judgment in favor of

EDS. The Supreme Court decision in Grubbs v. General Electric

Credit Corp. and this Circuit’s decisions in Baris v. Sulpicio Lines,

Inc. and Kidd v. Southwest Airlines provide that when a case is

improvidently removed and tried on the merits either without

objection by the plaintiff or after the plaintiff has waived his right

to object, the test for determining jurisdiction is whether the

district court would have had original jurisdiction over the case if

the plaintiff had chosen to bring it in federal court. This determi-

nation is made based on the facts, pleadings, and record as they

existed at the time of judgment. By failing to file his motion to

remand in a timely manner, as required by 28 U.S.C. § 1447(c),

Anderson waived his right to oppose the removal. At the time the

district court entered summary judgment for EDS, it had original

subject matter jurisdiction based on the diversity of the parties.

Anderson admitted in his deposition taken less than two months

before the judgment that he was living and working in Oklahoma

City, Oklahoma, and that he had been working in Oklahoma City

continually at the same job since before he filed suit. EDS was a

Texas resident.

D-22

ARGUMENT

I. THE DISTRICT COURT HAD SUBJECT MATTER

JURISDICTION TO ENTER SUMMARY JUDGMENT

AGAINST ANDERSON.

A. The District Court Had Removal Jurisdiction Based on

Anderson’s Well Pleaded Petition.

1. Anderson’s Petition Raised Federal Question Issues

Under ERISA.

A defendant may remove to federal court any civil action

over which the federal courts have original jurisdiction founded

on a claim or right arising under federal law.” For purposes of

removal, a civil action arises under federal law when “the vindica-

tion of a right under state law necessarily turns upon some

construction of federal law’ or when the action requires the

resolution of a substantial question of federal law.“

_In determining whether a cause of action arises under federal

law, courts apply the “well-pleaded complaint” rule. The rule

provides that a cause of action arises under federal law only when,

at the time of removal, the plaintiff's well-pleaded complaint

raises issues of federal law or discloses a federal controversy.*°

Anderson’s Original Petition, the pleading upon which re-

moval was based, raised issues of federal law — issues that would

have to be resolved for him to succeed on his claim. Anderson has

*? 28 U.S.C. § 1441(a) and (b). See, e.g., Metropolitan Life Ins.

Co. v. Taylor, 107 S. Ct. 1542, 1546 (1987).

* Kidd v. Southwest Airlines, Co., 891 F.2d 540, 542 (Sth Cir.

1990).

“ Franchise Tax Board of Cal. v. Construction Laborers Vacation

Trust for Southern Cal., 103 S. Ct 2841, 2845-46, 2856 (1983).

*° Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Taylor, 107 S. Ct. at 1546; Gully v.

First Nat'l Bank in Meridian, 57 S. Ct. 96, 98 (1936).

D-23

admitted that he was an employee-at-will. Under Texas law, an

employee-at-will can be terminated at any time for any or no

reason.*’ The Texas supreme court announced the only common

law exception to the Texas employee-at-will doctrine in Sabine

Pilot: an employee could not be lawfully terminated solely be-

cause he refused his employer’s request to commit an illegal act.”

In his Original Petition, Anderson alleged that he was

discharged “from his position of employment at EDS because of,

and in retaliation for, [his] refusal to commit illegal activities at

Crow’s request ....’*? Anderson alleged specifically that Crow

retained a consultant to do certain work on behalf of EDS’s

retirement plan without obtaining the approval of the trustees of

the plan, and then asked Anderson to approve the consultant’s

invoice for payment, again without trustee approval. According to

Anderson “[s]uch action would have been a violation of the

Federal Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974

“ See Plaintiff's Brief in Opposition to Motion for Summary

Judgment of Defendant Electronic Data Systems Corp. p. 4, dated

May 25, 1993 (hereinafter “Anderson Summary Judgment Brief at ”)

(R. Sealed, Docket Numbers 79-80, Filed May 25, 1993).

Anderson further admitted in response to EDS’ summary judgment

motion that for him to have a cause of action based on his discharge, he

had to establish a Sabine Pilot exception to the employment-at-will

doctrine. Jd. at 4-5 (R. Sealed, Docket Numbers 79-80, Filed May 25,

1993).

*” See, e.g. Pease v. Pakhoed Corp., 980 F.2d 995, 1000 (Sth Cir.

1993) (“In Texas, the employment-at-will doctrine is well settled and

mandates that a worker may be terminated without cause and at the will

of either party.”); Winters v. Houston Chronicle Publishing Co., 795

S.W.2d 723, 723 (Tex. 1990) (“The long standing rule in Texas is that

employment for an indefinite term may be terminated at will and

without cause.”’).

© Sabine Pilot Service, Inc. v. Hauck, 687 S.W.2d at 735.

* Original Petition { XVI (R. 101-102).

D-24

..”° Anderson further alleged that Crow asked him to “write

up” minutes of the meetings of the trustees of the retirement plan,

meetings that Anderson had not attended. Anderson alleged that

“[t]his also is in violation of ERISA.”*'

For Anderson to succeed under Sabine Pilot, not only did

Anderson have to be able to show that he was terminated solely

because he refused to commit the acts requested by Crow, but

also that the acts requested were illegal.’ This latter showing

would have required the parties and the court to review, interpret,

and apply ERISA law. Put another way, in order for Anderson to

vindicate his rights, the district court would have had to

(i) determine whether the plan or plans to which Anderson was

referring were covered by ERISA, and, if so, (ii) construe

ERISA and the relevant plan or plans to determine if approval of

the invoices or preparation of the minutes would have violated

either ERISA or the plans. The need for that inquiry raised a

federal question.”

°° Id. § VII (R. 96-97).

*! Id. (R. 96-97).

* Sabine Pilot Services, Inc. v. Hauck, 687 S.W.2d at 735 (“it is

the plaintiff's burden to prove by a preponderance of the evidence that

his discharge was for no reason other than his refusal to perform an

illegal act.”). See Winters v. Houston Chronicle Publishing Co., 795

S.W.2d 723, 724 (Tex. 1990) (employee must be put in the position of

having to choose between continued employment and risking criminal

liability).

*> Anderson’s pleadings also support the propriety of the removal

and the district court’s refusal to remand the case. In his Motion to

Remand, Anderson admitted that the allegations that he was wrongfully

terminated for refusing to violate ERISA comprised a portion of his

claim. Motion to Remand at p. Z (R. 300).

In his August 1991 answers to interrogatories, Anderson reinforced

the fact that his claims raised issues under ERISA. He clarified his

accusations that Crow asked him to violate ERISA, accused Crow of

D-25

2. The ERISA Issues Raised By Anderson Were Not Collat-

eral, But Were Critical To His Claims.

Anderson argues that his wrongful discharge claim is based

solely on Texas state law and that ERISA is purely collateral and

incidental to his claim. The Supreme Court rejected a similar

argument in Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon.*°

McClendon claimed that his employer discharged him to

avoid having to make contributions to his pension fund. He sued

his employer, Ingersoll-Rand, in Texas state court for wrongful

termination. The Texas supreme court ruled that McClendon

could recover for wrongful discharge if he proved that the princi-

pal reason for his termination was his employer’s desire to avoid

contributing to, or paying benefits under, an employee benefit

plan.*’ The United States Supreme Court found ERISA to be an

integral part of McClendon’s wrongful discharge action.

The Court held that “the existence of a pension plan is a

critical factor in establishing liability under the State’s wrongful

violating ERISA, and identified people with knowledge of the accusa-

tions. See supra. note 20.

The well-pleaded complaint rule instructs a court not to be per-

suaded when making its determination by either the defenses the

plaintiff may be anticipating in its complaint or the notice of removal

filed by the defendant. See Gully v. First Nat'l Bank in Meridian, 57

S.Ct. 96, 98 (1936). The rule does not, however, prohibit a court from

taking notice of any admissions by the plaintiff regarding the nature of

the claims he asserted in his complaint.

** Anderson Appeal Brief at p. 10.

* 111 S. Ct. 478 (1990).

*© McCiendon claimed that his pension benefits were due to vest

shortly. Jd. at 481.

? Id. at 481.

VV

D-26

discharge law.”** It explained that the “Texas cause of action

makes specific reference to, and indeed is premised on, the

existence of a pension plan.” “Thus, in order to prevail, a

plaintiff must plead, and the court must find, that an ERISA plan

exists and the employer had a pension-defeating motive in termi-

nating the employment.”

As Anderson has done, McClendon argued that the pension

plan was irrelevant to his cause of action; the only issue was

whether Ingersoll-Rand’s motive for terminating him was im-

proper. The Court rejected McClendon’s argument because it

missed the poiut “that under the Texas court’s analysis there

simply is no cause of action if there is no plan.””*'

3. Willy v. Coastal Corp. Dees Not Support A Contrary

Result.

Anderson cited Willy v. Coastal Corp.” in support of his

argument.” Willy, decided before the Supreme Court’s decision

in Ingersoll-Rand, is not controlling.

Willy alleged that he was wrongfully discharged because he

refused to violate certain state and federal environmental laws and

*8 Id. at 483. See McLean v. Carlson Companies, 777 F. Supp.

1480, 1483 (D. Minn. 1991) (McLean’s claim that she was terminated

because she reported ERISA violations to her employer referred to, and

depended on the existence of, an ERISA plan).

7 i

© Id. See McLean v. Carlson Companies, 777 F. Supp. at 1483 (to

prove her claim, McLean had to describe the conduct she claimed

violated ERISA and the ERISA provisions violated).

*' Jd. at 484 (emphasis in original).

*? 855 F.2d 1160 (Sth Cir. 1988).

®? See Anderson Appeal Brief at p. 9.

D-27

because he insisted that his employer comply with the laws.™ The

court found that Willy’s wrongful discharge claim did not arise

under federal law because (i) the federal environmental laws did

not provide Willy a private cause of action, (ii) Willy stated

alternative theories of recovery under both state and federal

environmental law, and (iii) the federal issues in Willy’s wrongful

discharge case — whether he had been asked to act in violation of

the environmental laws — were collateral in nature and not sub-

stantial in relation to the claim as a whole.”

None of the three grounds relied upon in Willy, let alone all

three, are present in this case. First, unlike Willy, Anderson did

have a cause of action under ERISA if he had chosen to pursue it.

Anderson alleged that Crow asked him to violate ERISA and

when he refused, Crow either committed the violation himself or

forced someone else to do it. Section 502(a) of ERISA provides

that a participant, beneficiary, or fiduciary may bring a civil action

to enjoin any act or practice that violates the administrative

provisions of ERISA or of an ERISA covered plan.®’ As defined

by ERISA, Anderson is a participant, a beneficiary, and a

fiduciary.

* Willy v. Coastal Corp., 855 F.2d at 1162-63.

6° Jd. at 1169-71.

Original Petition ] VIII (R. 97).

6” 29 U.S.C. § 1132(a) (3).

% “The term ‘participant’ means any employee or former employee

of an employer, . . . who is or may become eligible to receive a benefit of

any type from an employee benefit plan which covers employees of such

employer . . ., or whose beneficiaries may be eligible to receive any such

benefit.” 29 U.S.C. § 1002(7).

“The term ‘beneficiary’ means a person designated by a participant,

or by the terms of an employee benefit plan, who is or may become

entitled to a benefit thereunder.” 29 U.S.C. § 1002(8).

“[ A] person is a fiduciary with respect to a plan to the extent (i) he

exercises any discretionary authority or discretionary control respecting

D-28

In addition, Anderson alleged that (i) Crow threatened him

on three separate occasions after he refused to commit illegal acts

and (ii) Crow and Weynand sought to discriminate against him

and terminate him because of his refusal and because he accused

Crow of wrongdoing.” Section 510 of ERISA prohibits any

person from discharging, fining, suspending, expelling, disciplin-

ing, or discriminating against a participant or beneficiary for

exercising any right he may have under subchapter one of

ERISA.” Again, section 502 provides a cause of action for

violation of section 510.”

management of such plan or exercises any authority or control respect-

ing management or disposition of its assets,...or (iii) he has any

discretionary authority or discretionary responsibility in the administra-

tion of such plan.” 29 U.S.C. § 1002(21) (A). Anderson alleged that he

was responsible for all domestic and long term investments for all of

EDS’ investment portfolios, including EDS’ pension funds. Original

Petition J IV (R. 94-95).

® Jd. (R. 94-95) Anderson later dropped the second allegation. See

Plaintiff's Second Amended Complaint at {12-15 (R. 675-677).

” 29 U.S.C. § 1140. Subchapter one of ERISA includes provisions

on disclosure, reporting, preparation of plan descriptions, filing and

furnishing of information, participation standards, accrual and payment

of benefits, funding standards, establishment of a plan, fiduciary duties

and liability, and coercion and interference with protected rights.

29 U.S.C. §§ 1001-1145.

” 29 U.S.C. § 1132(a) (3). In addition, Anderson would have had

an action under § 1132(a)(2) to seek relief under 29 U.S.C. § 1109.

The latter section creates liability when a fiduciary breaches a duty owed

to the plan. Those duties include, inter alia, (i) administering the plan

as would a prudent man acting in the same capacity, (ii) acting solely in

the interest of the participants and beneficiaries in defraying the reason-

able expenses of administering the plan, and (iii) not knowingly allowing

another fiduciary to breach his duties. 29 U.S.C. §§ 1104 and 1105.

Anderson alleged facts making Crow a fiduciary as well. Original

Petition 4 VI, VII, and VIII (R. 95-97).

D-29

Second, Anderson’s claims concerned violations of ERISA,

not violations of the environmental laws as in Willy. The states

have been “traditional partners” with the federal government in

the field of environmental regulation.” ERISA, on the other

hand, took from the states any shared responsibility for the

regulation of employee benefit plans.” Congress preempted all

state laws that related to employee benefit plans covered by

ERISA.” Congress deliberately “establish[ed] pension plan reg-

ulation as exclusively a federal concern.””* Due to ERISA’s broad

preemption provision, Anderson, unlike Willy, could not assert

that the acts he was allegedly asked to do in violation of ERISA

also violated state law.”

” Willy v. Coastal Corp., 855 F.2d at 1167, n. 10.

” ERISA’s preemption provision “demonstrates that Congress

intended to depart from its previous legislation that ‘envisioned the

exercise of state regulation power over pension funds,’ ... and meant to

establish pension plan regulations as exclusively a federal concern.”

Alessi v. Raybestos-Manhattan, Inc., 101 S. Ct. 1895, 1906 (1981).

™ U.S.C. § 1144(a). See infra. text accompanying notes 97-101.

> Pilot Life Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux, 107 S. Ct. 1549, 1552 (1987).

Christopher v. Mobil Oil Corp., 950 F.2d 1209, 1217 (Sth Cir. 1992)

(“The Supreme Court has consistently emphasized the expansiveness of

[ERISA’s preemption provision] and its purpose of establishing the

regulation of pension plans as an exclusively federal concern.”), cert.

denied, 113 S. Ct. 68 (1992).

© The court in Willy recognized this distinction. It noted that

“Congress had expressed an explicit intent for actions preempted by

section 502(a) [of ERISA] to arise under federal law,” but that the

legislative history of the environmental statutes underlying Willy’s claim

did not evidence the same Congressional intent, Willy v. Coastal Corp.,

855 F.2d at 1166.

Also, unlike Willy, Anderson did not specifically allege in his

Original Petition that he was asked to violate any state laws. Original

Petition at VII (R. 96-97).

D-30

Third, as discussed above, the Court in Ingersoll-

Rand rejected Willy's third ground for ruling: that the federal

issues in a wrongful discharge case are collateral and not substan-

tial.”’ Due to the differences between the environmental laws in

Willy and ERISA, differences which the court in Willy noted,

and the Supreme Court’s rejection of Willy's view of the collat-

eral nature of the federal issues, the decision in Willy is not

controlling.”

” Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon, 111 S. Ct. at 483. See supra.

text accompanying notes 58-61.

8 Anderson also cited Sperling v. Texas Health Enterprises, Inc.,

791 F. Supp. 662 (S.D. Tex. 1992); and Nowoc v. Rheem Mfg. Co., 772

F. Supp. 977 (S.D. Tex. 1991). Again, neither decision is controlling.

As the district court recognized in Sperling, that case is distinguish-

able from /ngersoll-Rand. It is also distinguishable from the facts of this

case. Sperling sued for wrongful discharge alleging that he was termi-

nated because he refused to participate in his employer’s accident plan.

Sperling v. Texas Health Enterprises, Inc., 791 F. Supp. at 663. The

court found that such an action was not preempted by ERISA and

distinguished the case on three grounds. One, unlike McClendon (and

Anderson), Sperling was not a plan participant or beneficiary. Two,

Sperling did not allege a violation of ERISA or an employee benefit plan

as McClendon (and Anderson) alleged. Three, Sperling would have had

a cause of action even if there was no ERISA covered plan. The court

found that the same could not be said for McClendon. Similarly, based

on Ingersoll-Rand, the same can not be said for Anderson either. Jd. at

664-65.

The court in Nowoc also distinguished its case from Ingersoll-Rand.

It, too, is distinguishable from the facts in this case. Nowoc alleged that

he was fired in violation of an alleged duty of good faith and fair dealing.

Among the damages he sought were “fringe benefits.” The court

distinguished the case from Ingersoll-Rand because (i) Nowoc had not

alleged a violation of ERISA in his pleadings and (ii) the loss of

Nowoc’s pension benefits was a mere consequence of his termination.

Unlike in Ingersoll-Rand and this case, no ERISA violations were

alleged to have been involved in the decision to terminate Nowoc.

Nowoc v. Rheem Mfr. Co., 772 F. Supp. at 979.

: ‘

D-31

Under the well-pleaded complaint rule, Anderson’s Original

Petition stated claims arising under federal law. As Ingersoll- ;

Rand instructs, the federal issues went to the heart of Anderson’s |

claim. The district court had federal question subject matter

jurisdiction.

B. The District Court Had Removal Jurisdiction Based On The

Complete Preemption Doctrine.

1. The Complete Preemption Doctrine Applied to Ander-

son’s Suit.

Even if Anderson’s Original Petition did not state a claim

arising under federal law, removal was still proper under the

“complete preemption” doctrine. Federal preemption is ordinarily

a defense and does not support removal under the “well-pleaded

complaint” rule.” The Supreme Court, however, has recognized

that Congress can so completely preempt an area of law that any

state law cause of action within that area is treated as federal in

character and is removable without regard to the well-pleaded

complaint rule.”

The Supreme Court first applied the complete preemption

doctrine to section 301 of the Labor Management Relations Act

(“LMRA”) in Avco Corp. v. Machinists.*' The Court later

explained that:

the preemptive force of § 301 is so powerful as to displace

entirely any state cause of action ‘for violation of contracts

between an employer and a labor organization.’ Any such

suit is purely a creature of federal law, notwithstanding the

” Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Taylor, 107 S. Ct. 1542, 1546

(1987).

© Id.

*' 88 S. Ct. 1235 (1968). See, e.g., Richardson v. United Steel-

workers of America, 864 F.2d 1162, 1167 (Sth Cir. 1989), cert. denied,

110 S. Ct. 2204 (1990).

D-32

fact that state law would provide a cause of action in the

absence of § 301.”

The Supreme Court extended the complete preemption doctrine

to ERISA in Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Taylor.®

Taylor, a participant in a health insurance plan offered by his

employer and insured by Metropolitan Life, sued both when the

latter denied him benefits under the plan. He asserted state law

claims for breach of contract, reimplementation of all benefits and

insurance coverage, wrongful termination, and wrongful failure to

promote. The defendants removed. The district court upheld the

removal, but the court of appeals reversed. It found that Taylor’s

complaint stated only state law causes of action subject to the

federal defense of ERISA preemption which did not support

removal.** The Supreme Court reversed the court of appeals.

The Court framed the issue before it as whether the

Avco principle could be extended to recharacterize a state law

complaint displaced by section 502(a) of ERISA as an action

arising under federal law.® It began its analysis of the issue by

finding that the policy choices underlying ERISA’s enforcement

®? Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Taylor, 107 S. Ct. at 1546, quoting,

Franchise Tax Board of Cal. v. Construction Laborers Vacation Trust

for Southern Cal., 103 S. Ct. 2841, 2853 (1983). See also Arron v.

National Union Fire Ins. Co. of Pittsburg, 876 F.2d 1157, 1161 (Sth Cir.

1989) (Avco Corp. “holds that federal law can so completely preempt a

field of state law that the plaintiff's complaint must be recharacterized as

stating a federal cause of action.”), cert. denied, 110 S. Ct. 1121 (1990).

® 107 S. Ct. 1542, 1547-48 (1987).

* Id. at 1545.

2

* Id. at 1547. Before reaching the ultimate issue the Court

recognized that under its decision in Pilot Life Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux, 107

S. Ct. 1549 (1987), announced the same day, Taylor’s state common

law tort and contract claims were preempted by ERISA. Id. at 1546.

D-33

scheme would be undermined if plaintiffs were allowed to pursue

state law remedies.

The policy choices reflected in the inclusion of certain

remedies and the exclusion of others under the federal

scheme would be completely undermined if ERISA-plan

participants and beneficiaries were free to obtain remedies

under state law that Congress rejected in ERISA.®’

The Court next found that the language of ERISA’s jurisdictional

provision closely paralleled that of section 301 of the LMRA and

noted that similar language in two labor laws should have a

similar meaning.™ The Court further found that this presumption

of similarity was “fully confirmed by the legislative history of

ERISA’s civil enforcement provisions.”®

Based on the policies underlying ERISA and its enforcement

scheme, the similarities between the language of ERISA’s juris-

dictional provision and section 301 of the LMRA, and the

legislative history of ERISA, the Court held that Congress

“clearly manifested an intent to make causes of action within the

scope of the civil enforcement provisions of § 502(a) removable

to federal court.”” The Court found Taylor’s claims within the

scope of section 502(a), and properly removable.”!

*” Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Taylor, 107 S. Ct. at 1547.

88

Id.

* Jd. For example, the Conference Report on ERISA stated that

“{AJll such actions in Federal or State courts are to be regarded as

arising under the laws of the United States in similar fashion to those

brought under section 301 of the Labor-Management Relations Act of

1947. Id. at 1547, quoting, H.R.Conf.Rep.No. 93-1280, p. 327.

* Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Taylor, 107 S. Ct. at 1546-48.

*' Id. The Court concluded that “this suit, though it purports to

raise only state law claims, is necessarily federal in character by virtue of

the clearly manifested intent of Congress. It, therefore, ‘arise[s] under

the ... laws . . . of the United States,’ 28 U.S.C. § 1331, and is

D-34

Under the teaching of Taylor, Anderson’s suit was properly

removed to federal court. Anderson’s claim of wrongful discharge

based on his refusal to do certain administrative acts in violation

of ERISA is within the scope of section 502(a) of ERISA.

Section 502(a) provides in part that any participant, benefi-

ciary, or fiduciary may bring a civil action:

“(A) to enjoin any act or practice which violates any provi-

sion of this subchapter or the terms of the plan, or (B) to

obtain other appropriate equitable relief (i) to redress such

violations or (ii) to enforce any provisions of this subchapter

or the terms of the plan.””

Subchapter one, in which section 502(a) is located, includes all of

the administrative and enforcement provisions regarding ERISA

employee benefit plans: provisions regarding disclosure, reporting,

preparation of plan descriptions, filing and furnishing of informa-

tion, participation standards, accrual and payment of benefits,

funding standards, establishment of a plan, fiduciary duties and

liability, and coercion and interference with protected rights.”

Anderson’s allegations that he was requested to take certain

administrative actions in violation of ERISA, and in violation of

his fiduciary duties under ERISA, fall within the scope of

subchapter one and section 502(a).™ As a result, under Taylor,

removable to federal court by the defendants, 28 U.S.C. § 1441(b).” Jd.

at 1548.

% §02(a) (3); 29 U.S.C. 1132(a) (3).

% 29 U.S.C. §§ 1001-1145.

See supra. text accompanying notes 66-71. Anderson’s allega-

tions that he was terminated for reporting Crow’s wrongful conduct,

including ERISA violations, also falls within section 502(a). Sec-

tion 510 makes it unlawful to discharge or discriminate against any

person because he has given information regarding an ERISA violation

or as part of an ERISA investigation. 29 U.S.C. § 1140. See McLean v.

Carlson Companies, 777 F. Supp. at 1484 (“Plaintiff clearly would have

D-35

Anderson’s claim was properly characterized as federal in nature

and removable to federal court.”

recourse under § 510 had she been discharged in retaliation for com-

mencing legal action against defendant to correct what she perceived to

be violations of ERISA. In view of the express authorization to sue to

remedy violations of ERISA, the court finds it logical to infer the

plaintiff also possesses the right to inform plan administrators of sus-

pected violations of ERISA”). Cf Rayner v. Smirl, 873 F.2d 60, 63-64

(4th Cir. 1989) (held that whistleblower provision in Federal Railroad

Safety Authorization Act, which provided an exclusive remedy preempt-

ing state claims for wrongful discharge and making removal appropriate,

extended to intra-corporate complaints finding that the distinction be-

tween intra-corporate complaints and complaints to outside agencies to

be artificial in light of the comprehensive nature of the Act).

In addition, as a fiduciary, Anderson owed certain duties and

obligations to the plan. 29 U.S.C. §§ 1104, 1105. One of those duties

involved not allowing a lary to violate ERISA, the plan, or his

duties. Jd. at § 1105. Asa tary, Anderson had the right to enjoin

others from violating ERISA, including other fiduciaries. Jd at

§ 1132(a)(2) and (3). It would be consistent with the purposes of

ERISA and the enforcement scheme for Anderson also to have the night

to enjoin Crow, another fiduciary, from forcing him to violate ERISA

and his duties.

** Broad removal is consistent with Congress’ desire (i) for uni-

formity of regulation, (ii) for exclusivity of federal regulation, and

(iii) to have ERISA’s preemption provision broadly construed. Allowing

Anderson to proceed in state court with his claim, requiring a determi-

nation whether certain conduct would violate ERISA or an ERISA

plan, is inconsistent with Congress’ desires and the structure and

purpose of ERISA. See supra. notes 96-100, 104-105, 107. See also Pilot

Life Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux, 107 S. Ct. at 1555 (in expounding on a statute,

a court should be guided by the provisions of the entire statute and by its

object and policy). NLRB v. Scrivener, 92 S. Ct. 798, 802 (1972)

(whether other provisions of a statute have been interpreted broadly or

narrowly is pertinent precedent when construing another provision of the

statute).

D-36

2. Anderson’s Claim Was Preempted by ERISA.

Although Anderson did not discuss the “complete preemp-

tion’’ doctrine in his brief, he did assert that his claim is neither

preempted by ERISA nor removable because ERISA does not

provide a specific remedy for wrongful termination based on a

refusal to violate ERISA.” Anderson is incorrect. His claim is

preempted by ERISA and removable under ERISA regardless of

whether ERISA provides him with an identical cause of action.

The Ingersoll-Rand decision teaches that Anderson’s wrong-

ful discharge claim is preempted by ERISA regardless of whether

ERISA contains a cause of action identical to Anderson’s state

law claim. The Court noted that ERISA’s preemption clause is

“conspicuous for its breadth” and that its “deliberately expansive

language was designed to establish pension plan regulation as

exclusively a federal concern.”

ERISA’s preemption provision is embodied in section

514(a) which provides that ERISA displaces any and all laws

that relate to an employee benefit plan covered by ERISA.” The

%° Anderson Appeal Brief at pp. 13-14.

*” Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon, 111 S. Ct. at 482, quoting,

FMC Corp. v. Holliday, 111 S. Ct. 403, 407 (1990) and Pilot Life Ins.

Co. v. Dedeaux, 107 S. Ct. 1549, 1552 (1987). See, e.g., Christopher v.

Mobil Oil Corp., 950 F.2d 1209, 1217 (Sth Cir. 1992).

% 29 U.S.C. § 1144(a). See, e.g, Mackey v. Lanier Collection

Agency & Service, 108 S. Ct. 2182, 2185 (1988) (ERISA’s preemption

provision displaces all state laws that fall within its sphere); Jron

Workers Mid-South Pension Fund v. Terotechnology Corp., 891 F.2d

548, 553 (Sth Cir.) (“Because of the breadth of the preemption clause

and the broad remedial purpose of ERISA, ‘state laws found to be

beyond the scope of [the preemption clause] are few.’”), cert. denied,

110 S. Ct. 3272 (1990).

ERISA lists the general areas of state concern exempt from the

reach of its preemption provision — insurance, banking, securities, and

general criminal laws. See, e.g., Pilot Life Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux, 107 S.

D-37

Court noted that Congress rejected more limited preemptive

language which would have limited the provision’s application to

state laws relating to the specific subjects covered by ERISA.

“{T ]o underscore its intent that § 514(a) be expansively applied,

Congress used equally broad language in defining the ‘State law’

that would be preempted. Such laws include ‘all laws, decisions,

rules, regulations, or other State action having the effect of

law.’ ””

The Court further noted that a “law ‘relates to’ an employee

benefit plan, in the normal sense of the phrase, if it has a

connection with or reference to such a plan.”'™ This holds true,

even if the law is not “specifically designed to affect” employee

benefit plans, or “the effect is only indirect.”'”'

Ct. at 1552; Shaw v. Delta Air Lines, 103 S. Ct. 2890, 2903 (1983).

“There is no reason to believe that Congress intended implicitly to

exempt a whole range of state laws when it showed itself perfectly

capable of carving out specific exemptions.” Corcoran v. United Health-

care, Inc., 965 F.2d 1321, 1334 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 113 S.Ct. 812

(1992).

* Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon, 111 S.Ct. at 482-83, quoting,

29 U.S.C. § 1144(c) (1). See, e.g., Pilot Life Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux, 107

S.Ct. 1549, 1552 (1987), quoting, Sen. Williams, one of the sponsors of

ERISA, 120 Cong.Rec. 29933 (1974) (preemption “is intended to

apply in its broadest sense to all actions of State or local governments, or

any instrvmentality thereof, which have the force or effect of law.”’);

Corcoran v. United Healthcare, Inc., 965 F.2d at 1328 n.10 (“Statutory,

decisional, and all other forms of state law are included within the scope

of the preemption clause.”).

'© Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon, 111 S.Ct. at 483, quoting,

Shaw v. Delta Air Lines, 103 S.Ct. 2890, 2900 1983). See, e.g., Corcoran

v. United Healthcare, Inc., 965 F.2d 1321, 1328-29 (Sth Cir.), cert

denied, 113 S.Ct. 812 (1992).

‘©! Ingersol. Rand Co. v. McClendon, 111 S.Ct. at 483. See, eg.

District of Columbia v. Greater Washington Board of Trade, 113 S.Ct.

580, 583 (1992); Pilot Life Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux, 107°S.Ct. at 1553;

Corcoran v. United Healthcare, Inc., 965 F.2d at 1329 (“a law is not

D-38

Based on the foregoing principles, the Court found that

McClendon’s wrongful termination cause of action was a state

law related to ERISA and therefore preempted by section

514(a).'" The Court noted that it was not dealing with “a

generally applicable statute that makes no reference to, or indeed

functions irrespective of, the existence of an ERISA plan.”'”

Instead, the existence of a pension plan was a “critical factor in

establishing liability under the State’s wrongful discharge law.”'™

The Court believed that Congress’ purposes for having a

broad preemption provision supported its finding of preemption.

By providing for broad preemption, the Court noted that Congress

sought to ensure the creation of uniform standards thereby

avoiding the administrative and financial cost of complying with

varying state standards.

Section 514(a) was intended to ensure that plans and plan

sponsors would be subject to a uniform body of benefit law;

the goal was to minimize the administrative and financial

burden of complying with conflicting directives among States

or between States and the Federal Government. Otherwise,

saved from preemption merely because it does not target employee

benefit plans. Indeed, much preemption litigation involves laws of

general application which, when applied in particular settings, can be

said to have a connection with or a reference to an ERISA plan.”);

Christopher v. Mobil Oil Corp., 950 F.2d at 1218-19 (“preempted state

law includes any state law cause of action as it relates to an employee

benefit plan, even if it arises under a general laws which in and of itself

has no connection to employee benefit plans.”’).

'©2 Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon, 111 S.Ct. at 483.

103 Id.

'* Jd. “Because the court’s inquiry must be directed to the plan,”

the Court concluded that McClendon’s “judicially created cause of

action ‘relates[s] to’ an ERISA plan.” Jd.

D-39

the inefficiencies created could work to the detriment of plan

beneficiaries.'”°

The Court voiced concern that allowing state common law claims

like McClendon’s to proceed would subject plans and plan spon-

sors to differing state substantive laws an outcome that “‘is

fundamentally at odds with the goal of uniformity that Congress

sought to implement.”'™

'5 Id. at 484. Reviewing the legislative history and the Court's

prior decisions, the Supreme Court in Fort Halifax concluded that

“Congress intended preemption to afford employers the advantages of a

uniform set of administrative procedures governed by a single set of

regulations.” Fort Halifax Packing Co. v. Coyne, 107 S. Ct. at 2217.

Congress wanted to “ensur[e] that employers would not face ‘conflict-

ing or inconsistent State and local regulation of employee benefit

plans’”’. Shaw v. Delta Air Lines, 103 S. Ct. at 2904. See, e.g., Pilot Life

Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux, 107 S. Ct. 1549, 1552 (1987), quoting, Sen.

Williams, 120 Cong. Rec. 29933 (1974) (preemption designed to

eliminate “the threat of conflicting or inconsistent State and local

regulation of employee benefit plans.”’); Shaw v. Delta Air Lines, 103 S.

Ct. 2890, 2901 (1983), quoting, Rep. Dent, House sponsor of ERISA,

120 Cong. Rec. 29197 (1974) (the “crowning achievement” of ERISA

was “the reservation to Federal authority the sole power to regulate the

field of employee benefit plans.”).

‘© Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon, 111 S. Ct. at 484 (“Particu-

larly disruptive is the potential for conflict in substantive law. It is

forseeable that state courts, exercising their common law powers, might

develop different substantive standards applicable to the same employer

conduct, requiring the tailoring of plans and employer conduct to the

peculiarities of the law of each jurisdiction.”). See, e.g, Corcoran v.

United Healthcare, Inc., 965 F.2d at 1332 (“allowing the Corcorans’ suit

to go forward would contravene Congress’ goals of ’ensur[ ing] that plans

and plan sponsors would be subject to a uniform body of benefit law’ and

‘minimiz[ing] the administrative and financial burdens of complying

with conflicting directives among States or between States and the

Federal Government.”); Christopher v. Mobil Oil Corp., 950 F.2d 1209,

1219 (Sth Cir. 1992) (“Superimposing state law fraud standards on the

elaborate ERISA provisions governing the content and timing of notice

of plan provisions and amendments . . . would undercut the goal of

D-40

The Court’s preemption analysis was not dependent on

whether McClendon had an identical or any cause of action

awaiting him under ERISA.'” The Court noted that when

Congress chose to base section 502(a) on the exclusive remedy

found at section 301 of the LMRA, it knew that section 301

displaced all state law claims “even when the state action pur-

ported to authorize a remedy unavailable under the federal

provision.”

uniform national regulations in the manner that section 514(a) seeks to

prevent.”).

‘©’ Only as an alternative ground for finding McClendon’s claim

preempted did the Court analyze whether ERISA provided a remedy.

The Court found that “[e]ven if there were no express preemption in

this case, the Texas cause of action would be preempted because it

conflicts directly with an ERISA cause of action.” /ngersoll-Rand Co. v.

McClendon, 111 S. Ct. at 484-85. Obviously, whether McClendon had a

cause of action under ERISA played no role in the Court’s primary

preemption analysis.

‘8 Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon, 111 S. Ct. at 486.

The Supreme Court in Pilot Life summed up the balance sought in

ERISA’s civil enforcement scheme and its exclusive nature;

[T]he detailed provisions of § 502(a) set forth a comprehen-

sive civil enforcement scheme that represents a careful balanc-

ing of the need for prompt and fair claims settlement

procedures against the public interest in encouraging the

formation of employee benefit plans. The policy choices re-

flected in the inclusion of certain remedies and the exclusion of

others under the federal scheme would be completely under-

mined if ERISA-plan participants and beneficiaries were free

to obiain remedies under state law that Congress rejected in

ERISA. ‘The six carefully integrated civil enforcement provi-

sions found in § 502(a) of the statute as finally en-

acted . . . provide strong evidence that Congress did not

intend to authorize other remedies that it simply forgot to

incorporate expressly.’

The court in Pilot Life found the plaintiff's state law claims

were preempted even though all of the remedies available

D-41

Like McClendon, Anderson’s wrongful discharge claim ref-

erenced ERISA and was premised on the existence of an ERISA

plan. Anderson’s allegations required the court to determine

whether an ERISA plan existed and whether Anderson was asked

to do certain acts in violation of ERISA. If there was no ERISA

plan, then there could have been no violation of ERISA. In

addition, like McClendon, to allow Anderson to go forward on his

claim would have the effect of subjecting an ERISA plan and

plan sponsor to differing standards and rules for administering its

ERISA plans.'”

The only difference between McClendon’s claim and Ander-

son’s claim is the alleged motivation of their respective employers.

McClendon alleged that his employer terminated him to keep his

pension benefits from vesting. Anderson claims EDS terminated

him because he refused to violate ERISA. The Court in Ingersoll-

Rand, however, recognized this to be a distinction without a

difference when determining preemption. The Court found that

“there is no basis in § 502(a)’s language for limiting ERISA

actions to only those which seek ‘pension benefits’. . . . Conse-

quently, it is no answer to a preemption argument that a particular

plaintiff is not seeking recovery of pension benefits.””''°

under the state law were not available under ERISA Pilot Life

Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux, 107 S. Ct. at 1556.

'° See McLean v. Carlson Companies, 777 F. Supp. at 1483

(ERISA preempts “laws that provide remedies for misconduct growing

out of the administration of ERISA plans.”).

‘1° Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon, 111 S. Ct. at 486.

D-42

3. Anderson’s Claim Was Removable Under ERISA.

The decision in Taylor defeats Anderson’s contention that

removal is inappropriate unless ERISA provides a private cause

of action identical to his claim for wrongful termination. Ander-

son’s argument misinterprets the test announced in Taylor.

Taylor does not provide that a state action can not be

removed unless ERISA also provides the exact same federal

cause of action. To the contrary, the test for removal announced

in Taylor is whether the cause of action is “within the scope of

the civil enforcement provisions of § 502(a) ....”''' The Court in

Taylor found that Taylor’s claims for breach of contract, wrongful

termination of disability benefits, wrongful termination, and re-

fusal to promote were all properly removed to federal court,''”

even though ERISA does not provide identical causes of action.

This Circuit, too, has recognized that the existence of an

identical remedy, or any remedy, under ERISA is not a prerequi-

site for either preemption or removal. For example, in Corcoran v.

United Healthcare, Inc.,''? the Corcorans sought authorization

from United Healthcare, the utilization manager of the employee

benefit plan that covered the Corcorans, for certain treatment for

Mrs. Corcoran during her pregnancy. United Healthcare denied

authorization. When their unborn child died, the Corcorans sued

United Healthcare in state court claiming that United Healthcare

negligently refused to authorize the necessary treatment. United

''! Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Taylor, 107 S. Ct. at 1548. See,

e.g., Iron Workers Mid-South Pension Fund v. Terotechnology Corp.,

891 F.2d 548, 551 (Sth Cir. 1990) (“a state law cause of action that is

within the scope of the civil enforcement provisions of ERISA § 502(a)

was a well-pleaded federal claim.”’).

"2 Id at 1545-46.

'' 965 F.2d 1321 (Sth Cir. 1992).

™ aa

D-43

Healthcare removed and alleged that the Corcoran’s claims were

preempted by ERISA.''*

Acknowledging that ERISA’s civil enforcement scheme did

not provide a private cause of action for medical malpr

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Opposition Brief — Anderson v. Electronic Data Systems Corp. · 513 U.S. 808 | Frix