Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Nakamura v. Babbitt

Supreme Court brief1999

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

FiILkD

99 865 JUN8 1999

No.

OFFICE OF JHE 7,

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

October Term, 1999

ERIC K. NAKAMURA and RONALD N. SATO

Petitioners,

v.

BRUCE BABBITT, in his official capacity as

Secretary of the United States Department of the Interior,

Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari

To the United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

CLAYTON C. IKEI

Counsel of Record

1100 Ward Avenue, Suite 1065

Honolulu, Hawaii 96814

(808) 533-3777-1617

Attorney for Petitioners

—ooEEEEEE=S=aBDh"SEp]llSESlEaEaEa=SEeEeEE™l_leleee_e_e___eeeeeeeeeeeee

to

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Whether the Ninth Circuit erred in affirming the trial court’s

dismissal of Plaintiff Sato’s claim of discrimination following

a Fed. R. Civ. Pro. Rule 43(e) evidentiary hearing.

Whether the Ninth Circuit erred in affirming the trial court’s

dismissal of Petitioner Nakamura’s discrimination and

retaliation claim filed in December 1993.

Whether the Ninth Circuit erred in affirming the trial court’s

decision to grant Defendant’s Fed. R. Civ. Pro. Rule 50

Renewed Motion for Judgment as a Matter of Law.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Questions Presented for Review ..........cccecsceecvceeses 1

‘Table Of AmB ONe occ co ca Feu ccc e eae tee eve exes Vv

Citations of the Official Reports of the Opinions Entered in the Case

WY COM occ dcccrecsaces eee Hi ian eeee eer ewe ss s4 l

FOUPUOGICUIOR «oc ov ocean USO Eee eee es es ae ow ce os ]

Constitutional Provisions, Treaties, Statutes, Ordinances, and

Regulations Involved i the Case... cc cccccsvsceccusveves l

Statement of Che CAR oc ccvcnecU¥o net eee eerie 2

Reasons Relied on for Allowance of the Writ ........... 14

CONCLAIGIOIN . cccccsikinnckeegeees lees 23

APPENDIX

Memorandum of Law Denying Appeal ............. A-1

Order of the United States District Court for the District of

Hawaii Denying Defendant’s Motion for Summary

FUGGMIONE ook one 04nek 0k eee ea A-6

ll

Order of the United States District Court for the District of

Hawaii Denying Defendant’s Motion to Dismiss Regarding

Exhaustion of Administrative Remedies, Granting in Part

Defendant's Motion for Rule 43(e) Hearing, Granting in

Part Defendant’s Motion for summary Judgment Regarding

Informal Resolution Agreement, Denying Defendant’s

Motion for summary Judgment Regarding Plaintiff

Nakamura’s Retaliation Claim, Denying Defendant’ s

Motion for Partial Summary Judgment Based on

Appropriate Employer Remedial Measures, and Granting

Defendant’s Motion for Partial Summary Judgment

Regarding Limitations as to a Jury Trial ........... A-20

Order of the United States District Court for the District of

Hawaii Granting Defendant's Rule 12 (h) (3) Motion to

Dismiss, Granting Defendant’s Renewed Rule 50 Motion

for Judgment as a Matter of Law, Denying Plaintiffs

Motion for Judgment as a Matter of Law as to Claims One

and Three, Denying Plaintiff's Motion for Order Granting

Back Pay, Reinstatement or, Alternatively, Front Pay, and

Denying Plaintiff's Motion for Order Granting an Award of

Attorney’s Fees and Costs of Litigation ........... A-49

Order Appeal from the United States District Court for the

District of Hawaii Denying Appellants’ Petition for

ts FECL soe Vb Sew pon oe veek ealeb ses A-117

Judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Ninth Circuit Affirming Judgment of the United States District

Court for the District of Hawaii ........................ A-118

ill

TABLE OF CONTENTS — Continued

ry See Ee. | re rr ee A-119

ee Pe ere ry Se eee A-120

eget pet ee Pr nt ne A-125

a Oe ET, hbk ad Keone ek PAR eee ee, A-128

yg a ee Rr Tae A-130

ee re DOE: 0a vee chee O0GS Cha wee ee A-131

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure Rule 43 ......... A-133

Full text of Federal Rules of Civil Procedure

SE <5 gaa eos eee hh n babi wb Pee & A-135

Order of the United States District Court for the District of

Hawaii Denying Defendant’s Motion for Summary

PE ede cdi we cba cod bere od Ce eee A-138

Order of the United States District Court for the District of

Hawaii Dismissing Plaintiff Sato’s Claims for Failure to

Exhaust Administrative Remedies in a Timely

PD hdc kd Vecvkte ebe be di euoeerdereenio wns A-152

iV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Bayer v. United States Department of Treasury, 956 F.2d 330

i lay SUE 4.0 04 WES be Vuk aee KEG These eee tee 13,15

Cockrum v. Whitney, 479 F.2d 84 (9th Cir., 1973) ............ 18

Fisher v. Vassar College, 114 F.3d 1332 (2nd Cir., 1997) ...... 20

Kline v. Tennessee Valley Authority, 128 F.3d 337

Gig CEN chives 6 00845 0iek 1 0d04es eek cae 21

Ritza v. International Longshoreman’s and Warehouseman's Union,

SOT Oe Oe Cr Gilg SIO vv ko va ace enenwees woke 13, 15

Saksenasingh v. Secretary of Educ., 126 F.3d 347 (C.A.D.C.,

Os ee eee ret in Se ere Hae Simon being Oh 15, 16

Sheridan v. E.J.duPont de Nemours and Co., 100 F.3d 1061

CE Cari, Fre Oe UNE occ vcceccunvbossebe ene cua 21

Sosa v. Hiraoka, 920 F.2d 1451 (9th Cir., 1990) ........... 16, 18

Spivey v. U.S., 912 F.2d 80 (4th Cir., 1990) .............. 13, 15

St. Mary's Honor Center v. Hicks, 509 U.S. 502, 113 S. Ct. 2742,

Soe hats Be GET CONGO oo 66d iv eaisdiaa neice 20, 21

Stewart v. RCA Corp., 790 F.2d 624 (7th Cir., 1986) .... 13, 14, 15

Williams v. Runyon, 130 F.3d 568 (3rd Cir., 1997) ......... 16, 18

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Statutes and Regulations

BP CH ie G OPED 86 60h 6 been eos ere eee it

yore BS ere rere arr ee re 9

Se Cs G PONE v5 shack ar erwheee bes tdavenseen kena ae

WCER. CMI inci cseee 1, 15, 16

ae VBA, § TGR) oon cecatsicvasnseusacneeeseetere l

G3 UBA.A, Ba iin csi eee eee eee l

45 USA.A. § FROe . 6 xs ceveckwhevevss viene 15

Court Rules

Foe. R. Civ. Pee. Rate Ge) os iciices seewetewseeve 1,3, 13,14

FOG. R. Cow. Feb. ROOD iis ihc nine nth pea weeeseaeeee 18

Vi

CITATIONS OF THE OFFICIAL REPORTS OF THE

OPINIONS ENTERED IN THE CASE BY COURTS

The official citation of the Memorandum Opinion entered

by the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals of the instant case is 165 F.3d

916 (9th Cir., 1998)

CONCISE STATEMENT OF THE BASIS

OF JURISDICTION IN THIS COURT

This Court has jurisdiction to hear this case pursuant to 28

U.S.C.A. § 1254(1). The Order of the Ninth Circuit Denying

Appellant’s Petition for Rehearing and Suggestion for Rehearing En

Banc was filed on March 11, 1999. The Memorandum of the Ninth

Circuit No. 97-17288; D.C. No. CV 95-00243-HG was filed on

December 23, 1998. Notifications required by Rule 29.4(b) have been

made.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS, TREATIES, STATUTES,

ORDINANCES, AND REGULATIONS

INVOLVED IN THE CASE

The statutes, regulatory and court rules pertinent to this appeal

are: 42 U.S.C.A. § 2000e-16, 29 C.F.R. § 1614.105, 29 C.F.R. §

1614.504 and Rule 43(e) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

1. Petitioner Sato’s Failure to Exhaust Administrative

Remedies.

Ronald N. Sato [“Sato”], an American of Japanese ancestry,

began employment in the Maintenance Division of Haleakala National

Park [*Park’’] in January 1978. His immediate supervisor was David

Puu. Within a week after he became employed, Sato was the recipient

of racial slurs from David Puu being called “fucking Jap, stupid Jap”

at least three times a week during his employment, until he resigned in

January 1992.

Sato reported these racial slurs to the Chief of Maintenance,

Cliff McCall, and the Park Superintendent, Hugo Huntzinger. After he

reported the racial harassment, it continued. In August 1982, Sato

attended a National Park Service [“NPS”’] conference in San Francisco.

At the conference, he learned that Becky Mills was an EEO counselor,

approached her and reported to her the raciai slurs to which he was

subjected- He was advised by Ms. Mills that “it was personal.”

Subsequently, in 1985, he attended an NPS conference at Hawaii

Volcanoes National Park and complained

to Ms. Mills about his inability to secure a promotion or transfer as a

result of Mr. Puu.

Ronald Sato, during the term of his employment with the NPS

was not advised that the racial slurs of which he was the victim was

racial discrimination, nor was he told that he could file a

discrimination complaint as a result of the racial slurs. Lastly, Sato

looked at the bulletin boards at the headquarters building at Haleakala

National Park for job and training postings. He did not observe any

EEO posters on the bulletin boards. Sato sustained a back injury on

the job in October 1991 which required him to remain home. On

October 31, 1991; November 29, 1991; December 11, 1991 and

December 27, 1991, he received telephone calls from David Puu and

was again subjected to racial slurs. When Sato sought to present these

facts at the Rule 43(e) hearing, the Court prohibited the testimony.

Sato did not learn that he could file a discrimination complaint against

David Puu until December 1993.

At the Rule 43(e) hearing conducted by the Court, Ms. Mills,

when shown Mr. Sato’s affidavit of April 5, 1996, testified that it was

not possible for her to make such a statement. On cross-examination,

Ms. Mills testified that she did not have a specific recollection of

attending a conference in August 1982 or of what she told Sato at that

conference.

As aresult of the Rule 43(e) hearing, the trial court found Ms.

Mills’s testimony “to be highly credible and sincere” and found that

“Sato was not correct in his recollection of his conversation with Ms.

Mills as reflected in his affidavit and his testimony. . . .”

ae Dismissal of Nakamura’s December 1993 Discrimination

and Retaliation Complaint.

On November 18, 1993, Eric K. Nakamura [“Nakamura”]

submitted a written informal complaint and sought counseling with a

Park EEO Counselor concerning racial and sexual harassment of Park

employees by David Puu and concerning the harassment he had

i

suffered in his efforts to raise his discrimination complaints against

Mr. Puu and the Park management. Subsequently, on December 2,

1993, Nakamura filed another written informal complaint.

On February 14, 1994, Nakamura and Don Reeser. [“Reeser”]

the Park Superintendent, entered into an Informal Resolution

Agreement of Informal Discrimination by Eric K. Nakamura. The

agreement required the Agency to reinstate Nakamura to 153 hours of

annual leave; required Reeser to ensure that the 153 hours of annual

leave be restored on or before March 20, 1994: provided that

Nakamura would be returned to work on March 20, 1994, and finally,

the Agency agreed that it would not take reprisal against Nakamura for

the filing of his discrimination complaint.

On April 9, 1994, when he received his pay stub for the

previous period, Nakamura received a pay statement that showed that

his annual leave had not been restored. He notified Ron Nagata, the

EEO counselor, who advised Nakamura that he would immediately

check into it. In April 1994, Nakamura took sick and annual leave

from work. On or about May 10, 1994, Nakamura received his leave

and earnings statements and realized that he was being charged with

10 hours without pay, instead of the time being charged to annual

leave. On May 22, 1994, he submitted a written statement to the

National Park Service, through Melia Lane-Hamasaki, EEO Counselor,

requesting that his informal complaint be reinstated on the basis that

the NPS had not reinstated his 153 hours of annual leave, and that he

was subjected to co-worker hostility which was known by Ron Nagata

and Park Superintendent Reeser.

a ii ees

On May 31, 1994, Nakamura’s counsel wrote a letter to Melia

Lane-Hamasaki re-stating Nakamura’s request that Nakamura’s

informal complaint be re-instated and amended to include co-worker

retaliation. Nakamura’s counsel requested that Lane- Hamasaki advise

him as to Nakamura’s attempt to reinstate his informal complaint. On

June 4, 1994, Nakamura filed a formal complaint with the Agency,

complaining of “Breachment of EEO Agreement,” also of being a

victim of retaliation because he was a whistleblower and because he

exercised his First Amendment right to free speech. On June 6, 1994,

Lane-Hamasaki acknowledged receipt of Nakamura’s counsel's letter

and advised that it had been forwarded via the Western Regional EEO

Office in San Francisco to the NPS’s Washington EEO office. Finally

on June 6, 1994, Mary E. Kline, Lead EEO Counselor, Western

Region, forwarded a letter to Nakamura acknowledging receipt of his

request to Lane-Hamasaki that Nakamura’s informal complaint be

reinstated.

Ms. Kline acknowledged that Nakamura’s annual leave had not been

previously restored and that on June 3, 1994, she had been advised that

it had been restored. Regarding Nakamura’s claim of retaliation,

Ms. Kline advised Nakamura that he needed to contact an EEO

counselor and begin the informal complaint process. Ms. Kline did not

address Nakamura’s formal complaint filed on June 4, 1994, nor did

she dismiss or otherwise act upon it.

On November 22, 1994, Nakamura’s counsel wrote to the

Director, Equal Employment Program, National Park Service and

requested that the Agency issue an Immediate Agency Decision

pursuant to 29 C.F.R. § 1614.110. On March 28, 1995, Nakamura’s

civil complaint was filed. On August 27, 1996, the Director of the

EEO Program of the Department of the Interior acknowledged receipt

of Nakamura’s June 4, 1994 formal complaint and dismissed it on the

basis that a civil action had been filed.

} 4 Reconsideration and Dismissal as a Matter of Law of

Nakamura’s Wrongful Termination Claim.

Nakamura began his employment at Haleakala National Park

as a seasonal employee in February 1989. For the years from 1989 to

1992, Nakamura worked as a seasonal employee receiving

performance evaluations ranging from “satisfactory” to “exceeds fully

successful.” Finally, Nakamura received specialized training as a

firefighter, helicopter safety employee, asbestos worker, and safe

drinking water worker.

During the course of his employment, Nakamura became

aware that the maintenance foreman, David Puu, was subjecting his

subordinate employees to racial and sexual harassment. In early 1993,

Nakamura informed Park Superintendent Reeser of the racial

harassment that he had witnessed. When informed of this racial

harassment committed by David Puu, Reeser laughed at Nakamura’s

complaint as unlikely, and said that he would check on the complaint

and get back to Nakamura. After the initial complaint, when

Nakamura brought further complaints to Reeser, Reeser would laugh

at or criticize Nakamura’s complaints.

On April 7, 1993, ata meeting arranged by his grandfather and

aunt, Nakamura and 14 other maintenance workers met with Bryan

Harry, Pacific Area Director of the National Park Service, and U.S.

Representative Patsy Mink and voiced their complaints. As a result of

the meeting, an investigation team of NPS managers was established

and conducted an investigation at Haleakala National Park from April

27 to April 30, 1993. As aresult of the investigation, the National Park

Service issued a report dated May 18, 1993; it recommended that

David Puu be removed as a supervisor.

Eric Nakamura, both as a result of the investigation and the

removal of David Puu as maintenance foreman, was retaliated against

by David Puu and his supporters within the Maintenance Division.

Such retaliation included refusals to provide Nakamura assistance to

perform his maintenance duties, not doing Nakamura’s assigned work

on his days off, and the removal of necessary tools, keys and test kits

from their usual storage places. On September 29, 1993, Nakamura

applied for and received intermittent status owing to his becoming

stressed because of his friction with his co-workers.

From September 1993 to March 1994, Nakamura was on

intermittent status, leave without pay. On November 18, 1993,

Nakamura submitted a written informal complaint and sought

counseling with a Park EEO counselor concerning racial and sexual

harassment of park empioyees by David Puu and the harassment he

had suffered in his efforts to raise his discrimination complaints

against Mr. Puu and the Park management. On December 2, 1993,

Nakamura filed his written informal complaint. Pursuant to 29 C-F.R.

§ 1614.105, the Agency had 90 days from November 18, 1994 to

resolve Nakamura’s informal complaint. On February 14, 1994,

Nakamura agreed to an Informal Resolution Agreement of Informal

Discrimination Complaint.

On May 23, 1994, Nakamura, upon concluding that the

National Park Service had not complied in terms of restoring 153 hours

of annual leave and refraining from retaliating against him, requested

that his Informal Complaint be reinstated and amended to include the

charge that he had been subjected to co-worker retaliation since April,

1993. On May 26, 1994, as a result of an argument with Pete Lucero,

Maintenance Division Supervisor, Nakamura requested leave, which

was denied.

Nakamura sought and obtained psychological treatment from

Dr. Richard Sword who recommended that Nakamura remain out of

work for an undetermined period.

On September 9, 1994, Pete Lucero, forwarded a letter

advising Nakamura, that owing to a lack of funding, he was being

terminated. No attempt was made by Lucero to contact Nakamura

prior to September 1994 to ascertain his ability and willingness to

return to work.

On June 4, 1994, Nakamura filed a formal discrimination

complaint. The basis of his complaint was breach of the informal

resolution agreement of his informal discrimination complaint and

retaliation as a result of his whistleblowing activities and exercise of

his First Amendment rights to free speech. The Agency did not

investigate Nakamura’s formal complaint filed on June 4, 1994.

On November 22, 1994, Nakamura’s counsel sent a letter to

Sandra McCrary regarding the Nakamura’s discrimination and

retaliation complaint first initiated on November 18, 1993, detailing

the procedural history of the complaint and referring to Mr.

Nakamura’s subsequent formal discrimination and _ retaliation

complaint filed on July 26, 1994. Nakamura’s counsel requested that

the two formal complaints be consolidated and that an Immediate

Agency Decision be made pursuant to 29 C.F.R. § 1614.110. The

Agency did not respond to Nakamura’s counsel's request. The District

Court Complaint was filed on March 28, 1995. On August 27, 1996,

the Director of the Office of Equal Opportunity of the Department of

Interior, wrote to Nakamura’s counsel and referred to Nakamura’s

formal complaint filed on June 4, 1994. Noting that a civil action had

been filed, the Director of the Office of Equal Opportunity of the

Department of the Interior dismissed Nakamura’s formal complaint on

the basis that a court action had been filed, pursuant to 29 C.F.R. §

1614.107(c).

On February 12, 1996, the Defendant filed a Motion for

Summary Judgment seeking to dismiss Nakamura's complaint. On

September 10, 1996, the trial court denied the Motion; the court's

order did not address the issue of Petitioner Nakamura’s wrongful

termination claim. On December 12, 1996, the Defendant filed a

further motion raising the issue of Petitioner Nakamura’s wrongful

termination claim. On February 20, 1997, the trial court denied the

Defendant’s motion to dismiss Nakamura’s wrongful termination

claim on failure to exhaust administrative remedies.

At tnal, the Petitioner presented evidence establishing the

retaliatory motives of both Don Reeser and Pete Lucero. A three-page

stipulation, prepared by Defendant's counsel, and approved by the

Court, was submitted in lieu of testimony relating to testimony

detailing the substance of the EEO complaints first made by the

Petitioner in April 1993 and contained in his subsequent informal EEO

complaint. The stipulation provided that the findings of the National

Park Service was critical of Haleakala National Park's management,

headed by Superintendent Reeser, and recommended that personnel

changes be made by Don Reeser. Don Reeser himself testified that he

was embarrassed by the findings of the fact- finding team in that it

recommended the removal of his maintenance foreman, upon whom he

had depended heavily and who he had defended before the fact-finding

committee. Don Reeser further testified he was stressed by the

investigation and findings of the fact-finding team. When queried as

to whether he believed that Nakamura was directly responsible for the

fact-finding committee being established and tasked to inspect the

Park, Don Reeser stated an unequivocal yes response and volunteered

that it was Nakamura, and “his political contacts” which caused the

inspection.

Pete Lucero further testified that he became aware of the NPS

inspection of April 1993, when he read the findings in October 1993.

The findings had been collected and placed in a notebook in his desk.

Testimony was presented that Pete Lucero had terminated a

maintenance employee named Billy Han, after Mr. Han had filed an

EEO complaint against Lucero, that Lucerno had verbally abused a

secretary after the secretary advised Billy Han of his right to file an

EEO complaint, that Lucero had reprimanded Wendall Sagon, when

Mr. Sagon reported that another maintenance worker and a foreman

were engaged in smoking marijuana while working, and had warned

Wendall Sagon that if he spoke on a radio show about the problems at

Haleakala Park, he would be a “labeled” man and would not get ahead

in the park service.

10

Reeser testified that he reviewed closely the February 1994

settlement agreement into which he entered with Nakamura and he

testified that he noted that Nakamura’s continued employment with the

National Park Service after September 1994 was dependent on

sufficient funding being available to offer Nakamura employment after

that date. Reeser further testified that he reduced the budget of the

Maintenance Division by $50,000 as a result of the retirement of David

Puu despite his admission that he had not received any written

verification from his superiors that his overall funding would be

reduced by $50,000. Mr. Reeser further testified that he permitted

Lucero to keep two temporary maintenance workers on the job, after

their proposed termination dates. Mr. Reeser did not receive written

verification that their funding was not taken away by his superiors until

December 1994, months after their funding was expected to cease.

Pete Lucero testified that James Korn, a_ temporary

maintenance employee, who was continued in his employment with the

National Park Service, had been suspended in July 1994 for drug use

while at the Park. Mr. Korn was one of the temporary employees

retained. Elizabeth Havelin, the second employee retained by the

National Park Service, did not have the specialized training in welding,

sign making, or power tools as did Eric Nakamura and further, had

never received a performance rating of “exceeds fully successful.”

Pete Lucero testified that Eric Nakamura’s work performance was

satisfactory during the period of his employment.

In rebuttal, Nakamura presented the testimony of Audrey

Cordeiro who testified that she has been employed at the Park for 23

years and that in 1993-1994, she worked as the Administrative

Assistant with duties of “taking care” of the budget, finances,

ll

personnel, property — all the administrative functions at Haleakala

Park. Regarding her work on the budget, Ms. Cordeiro further testified

that each division within the Park had control of its allocated budget,

with overall control exercised by Don Reeser. Further, Ms. Cordeiro

testified that at times, monies were shifted from one division’s budget

to another division’s budget. Lastly, Ms. Cordeiro testified that the

manpower level within the Maintenance Division was presently the

same as it was in 1994.

In its verdict, the jury found that the Defendant terminated

Nakamura because he complained about alleged discrimination and

awarded Nakamura compensatory damages in the amount of $30,000.

12

REASONS RELIED ON

FOR ALLOWANCE OF THE WRIT

1. Validity of Rule 43(e) Hearing to Dismiss Sato’s Claim

The court of appeals and the trial court relied upon the case of

Ritza v. International Longshoremen's andWarehousemen's Union,

837 F.2d 365 (9th Cir., 1988) to sustain the dismissal of Sato’s claim.

However, the Ritza holding is clearly distinguished from the instant

case. The Ritza plaintiffs’ claims were dismissed without prejudice

based on their failure to utilize the union’s grievance procedure before

filing their court action. The Ritza plaintiffs did not deny that they

were aware of the union’s grievance procedure; they argued that they

did not proceed in the grievance procedure because the decision

makers were hostile, that there was unreasonable delay in processing

the grievance and that the remedy was inadequate.

However, Petitioner’s cited cases held that the Rule 43(e)

hearing was improper to resolve disputed issues of facts as to the

timeliness of a discrimination complaint. Spivey v. U.S., 912 F.2d 80

(4th Cir., 1990) and Stewart v. RCA Corp., 790 F.2d 624 (7th Cir.,

1986). That summary judgment on the issue of exhaustion of

administrative remedies is reversible error in a case in which there are

disputed issues of fact relative to the Petitioner’s knowledge of his

right to file a discrimination complaint and the applicable time limits

prior to December 1993, was aptly illustrated by the holding in Bayer

v. United States Department of Treasury, 956 F.2d 330 (D.C. Cir.,

1992).

13

Further, in Stewart the Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals held

that the trial court committed error by conducting a pre-trial hearing at

which the trial court received oral testimony and ruled that the

Plaintiff's discrimination cornplaint was not timely filed. The Rule

43(e) hearing was preceded by a written order by the trial court stating

that a Rule 43(e) hearing would be held at which the Plaintiff’ s counsel

appeared and participated. Nevertheless, the Appeals Court stated:

The district judge stated that under Rule 43(e) the

court may “receive and weigh” oral and written

evidence, quoting and adding emphasis to Shaffer v.

Coty, Inc., 183 F. Supp. 662, 665 (S. D. Cal. 1960). If

this were right, it would be the end of the difference

between summary judgment and trial; indeed it would

be the end of the jury trial. All a judge would have to

do is identify a dispositive issue, set a hearing under

Rule 43(e), and resolve all factual disputes. This is

not right. Rule 43(e) has more limited roles, which do

not include hearings of the sort held in this case.

A court may choose among methods for gathering the

evidence, when it will resolve all factual disputes.

Rule 43(e) gives the judge the full menu — oral

testimony, depositions, affidavits, and documents...

The power to select among kinds of evidence does not

14

a

imply a power to resolve disputed questions of fact.

That power must be found outside Rule 43(e).

790 F.2d 624 at 628.

Thus, Ninth Circuit’s reliance on Ritza conflicts with the

holdings of Spivey, Bayer and Stewart.

2. Dismissal of Nakamura 1993 Claim of Unlawful

Retaliation.

The Ninth Circuit affirmed the trial court’s holding that

Nakamura failed to exhaust his administrative remedies by failing to

comply with 29 C.F.R. §1614.504.

However in Saksenasingh v. Secretary of Educ., 126 F.3d 347

(C.A.D.C., 1997), the D.C. Circuit held:

The judgment of the District Court on exhaustion was

in error. The statute which these regulations interpret,

42 U.S.C. § 2000e-16(c), permits, but does not

require, appeal to the EEOC, and has been so

understood by this court. We have held that under 42

U.S.C. § 2000e-16(c), a complainant may either file

suit after the appropriate number of days has elapsed

since complaining to the agency, or “elect[ |] instead

to appeal the agency’s decision to the EEOC.”

Likewise, the court has explained that Title VII

requires a complainant to file “an initial charge with

15

the employing agency. Upon exhaustion of the

administrative proceedings, a complainant is entitled

to trial de novo.” This description neither mentions

nor envisions required appeal to the EEOC.

126 F.3d 347 at 350 to 351.

Therefore, there is a conflict between the Ninth Circuit’s

decision and Saksenasingh and 29 C.F.R. § 1614.504.

3. Dismissal of Nakamura’s Claim of Retaliatory

Termination.

The court of appeals’ affirmation of the trial court’s dismissal

of Nakamura’s retaliatory termination claim not only reversed its own

prior order denying dismissal of the retaliatory termination claim, but

also was contrary to the Ninth Circuit’s holding in Sosa v. Hiraoka,

920 F.2d 1451 (9th Cir., 1990). The Appellant Panel also did not

address Nakamura’s argument that the trial court’s prior ruling was

“law of the case” which barred the district court from reconsidering

ruling for defendant on the same issue, post trial.

In addition, under Williams v. Runyon, 130 F.3d 568 (3rd Cir.,

1997) the Third Circuit held that if it construed a pre-trial order as a

judgment as a matter of law as opposed to a ruling that material facts

were still in dispute, the district court’s post-trial reconsideration of

that decision is barred by the “law of the case” doctrine.

16

Acknowledging that the application of the doctrine of “law of

the case” is discretionary, the Third Circuit stated:

Although it is often said that the law of the case

doctrine does not limit the power of trial judges to

reconsider their prior decisions, this court has

identified two prudential considerations that limit a

court’s authority to do so.

Although the district court satisfied the first element

of this test, we hold that the court did not satisfy the

second element. Williams was clearly prejudiced by

her reliance on the prior ruling: she put on her case at

trial, and was awarded a favorable verdict, without

presenting any evidence that she had in fact exhausted

her administrative remedies. Had the court expressed

its second thoughts about its earlier ruling prior to the

end of Williams’ case, Williams would have had the

opportunity to present appropriate evidence to the

jury. By revisiting the issue after trial on the same

record that was before it earlier, however, the court

denied Williams this opportunity. Because the district

court, by its earlier ruling and expression, did not alert

Williams to its concern about exhaustion, Williams

was undeniably prejudiced. Recognizing the district

court’s earlier ruling and its reasoning in reaching the

conclusion that it would forego reliance on exhaustion

and reach the merits of Williams’ claims, it was error

17

iii i.

to have reconsidered the issue after the jury verdict

was returned. See United States v. Mendel, 746 F.2d

155, 161 (2d Cir.1984) (holding that prejudice would

result if counsel were not given the opportunity to

offer new evidence at trial following a reconsideration

; by the court of an earlier ruling).

130 F.3d 568 at 573

Therefore, the Ninth Circuit erred by not adhering to its own

opinion under Sosa, and is in conflict with Williams.

Ce eee ek. Sea

4. Trial Court Vacating the Jury Verdict and Entering

Judgment as a Matter of Law.

In Cockrum vy. Whitney, 479 F.2d 84 (9th Cir., 1973), the Ninth

Circuit held that it was improper for a trial court to reweigh the

evidence and set aside the jury verdict merely because the jury could

have drawn different inferences or conclusions or because the judge

felt that other results are more reasonable. In its Order Granting

Defendant’s Renewed Rule 50 Motion for Judgment as a Matter of

Law, the trial court pointed to Nakamura’s reference to Don Reeser’s

testimony that it was Nakamura’s political “connections” (instead of

“contacts” as referenced in the trial transcript) and Don Reeser’s

demeanor at trial, stating that Reeser “was not equivocal” answered in

a “straightforward and consistent manner,” and that:

Reeser’s testimony regarding the fact that the NPS

investigation caused him stress and his

acknowledgment that Petitioner played a key role in

18

initiating that investigation are insufficient, without

more, to support a reasonable finding of retaliatory

intent in Plaintiff's termination by a separate

individual approximately a year and a half later.

Nakamura would submit that a reasonable juror can infer a

retaliatory intent when Nakamura proved the first two elements of

unlawful retaliation, in that he not only played a key role in initiating

an NPS investigation in April 1993, but moreover proved that:

l. He filed a discrimination complaint against Donald Reeser in

November 1993;

2. That Donald Reeser entered into a settlement agreement with

Nakamura in February 1994;

5 That Donald Reeser did not comply with the terms of the

settlement agreement of restoring his annual leave before the

agreed-upon date of March 20, 1994.

In addition to presenting evidence of other acts of retaliatory

conduct by Pete Lucero against other employees who filed EEO

complaints, Nakamura further proved that the articulated reasons for

Nakamura’s termination were pretextual — that the justification for

Nakamura’s termination in September 1994 was that Haleakala Park’s

budget was reduced by $50,000 as a result of the retirement of David

Puu. However, the Defendant failed to produce any documentary

evidence that established that Haleakala Park’s budget was, in fact,

reduced by $50,000.

19

Further, the sequence of events as presented by the Defendant

could reasonably cause a reasonable juror to reject the articulated

reason for Nakamura’s termination, and find that the termination was

based on retaliatory animus. The events were as follows:

l. Pre-September 1994 — no verification that Haleakala’s Park

budget was reduced by $50,000;

ra September 1994 — Nakamura terminated; the stated reason

for the termination being a lack of funding;

zm October 1994 — no verification that budget was reduced or

affected by Puu’s retirement;

4. October 17, 1994 — James Korn and Elizabeth Havelin given

termination notices, effective date, November 12, 1994:

$. November 1994 — No verification that Haleakala’s Park

budget was reduced or affected by Puu’s retirement:

6. November 13, 1994 — James Korn and Elizabeth Havelin

remain on the job despite the termination notices of October

17, 1994;

7. December 23, 1994 — e-mail to Haleakala Park that its budget

was not affected by Puu’s retirement.

The trial court relied on Fisher v. Vassar College, 114 F.3d

1332 (2nd Cir. 1997) and St. Mary’s Honor Center v. Hicks, 509 U.S.

20

502, 113 S. Ct. 2742, 125 L. Ed. 2d 407 (1993) when it determined that

Nakamura failed to present specific, substantial evidence that

Defendant did not terminate him because of budgetary reasons, and

that Defendant terminated Nakamura in retaliation for his EEO

activities.

However, the Sixth Circuit has interpreted the Hicks decision

such that once a plaintiff has disproved the reasons offered by the

defendant, the factfinder is permitted to infer discrimination. The

plaintiff's prima facie case, along with disbelief of the employer’s

proffered reasons permits finding of discrimination. (Kline v.

Tennessee Valley Authority, 128 F.3d 337 (6th Cir. 1997); Hicks, 509

U.S. at 511.

Similarly in Sheridan v. E.I. duPont de Nemours and Co., 100

F.3d 1061 (3rd Cir. 1996)(en banc), the Third Circuit held that plaintiff

may survive summary judgment or judgment as a matter of law

(“JAML”) in an employment discrimination complaint if plaintiff

produces sufficient evidence to raise genuine issue of fact as to

whether employer’s proffered reason were not the true reasons for the

challenged action. The court in Sheridan interpreted Hicks to hold that

once a plaintiff establishes a prima facie case, disbelief of the

defendant’s proffered reasons creates a situation where the fact-finder

is permitted to infer intentional discrimination. /d. at 1066-1067.

Moreover, the court in Sheridan expressly rejected the

requirement of the introduction of additional evidence following a

rejection of the defendant's alleged reasons for the adverse action. Jd.

21

Pe ee eT ee ae

Therefore, there is a conflict among the Circuits as to the

proper standard in finding of pretext in a JAML situation that this

Court should resolve.

22

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petition for writ of certiorari

should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

CLAYTON C. IKEI

Hawaii Bar No. 1260-0

Counsel of Record

Attorney for Petitioners

23

APPENDIX

ERIC K. NAKAMURA, et al., Plaintiff.

BRUCE BABBITT, in his official capacity as Secretary of the

United States Department of the Interior, Defendant.

Civ. No. 95-00243 HG

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the District of Hawaii

Helen Gillmor, District Judge, Presiding

Argued and Submitted, November 6, 1998

Honolulu, Hawaii

Before: GOODWIN, BEEZER and T.G. NELSON, Circuit Judges.

MEMORANDUM*

Ronald Sato and Eric Nakamura appeal the dismissal of their

complaint alleging racial discrimination and retaliation. Sato appeals

the dismissal of his complaint for failure to exhaust administrative

remedies. Nakamura appeals the dismissal of his 1993 retaliation

*This disposition is not appropriate for publication and may not be cited to or used by

the courts of the circuit except as provided by Ninth Circuit Rule 36-3.

A-1l

claims and his wrongful termination claim for failure to exhaust

administrative remedies, the grant of judgment as a matter of law as

to his wrongful termination claim, and the exclusion of evidence

regarding his protected activities. We have jurisdiction and we affirm.

We review a dismissal for failure to state a claim pursuant to

Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(b) (6) de novo. See Steckman v. Hart Brewing, Inc.,

143 F.3d 1293, 1295 (9th Cir. 1998). The district court properly

held a Rule 43(e) evidentiary hearing to determine whether the time

limit on Sato’s administrative discrimination complaint should be

equitably tolled.

Nonenumerated Rule 12(b) motions are governed

by the general motion provisions in the federal

rules, including Rule 43(e), which permits the hearing of

motions based on facts outside the record...

Ritza v. International Longshoremen’s and Warehousemen’s Union,

837 F.2d 365, 369 (9th Cir. 1998) (citations and internal quotation

marks omitted). Sato was not automatically entitled to a jury trial on

this issue. See Jd. at 369 (no right of jury trial for a jurisdictional or

related type of motion). We agree with the district court that Sato’s

claim should not be tolled because he had not been misled by EEO

officals and had been given official notice of the time limit. We affirm

the district court’s dismissal of Sato’s claim for failure to exhaust

administrative remedies in a timely manner.

I]

The district court correctly found that the Informal Resolution

Agreement between Nakamura and the Park Service barred

Nakamura’s pursuit of his 1993 informal discrimination and retaliation

claims. We review a grant of summary judgment de novo. See

Margolis v. Ryan, 140 F.3d 850, 852 (9th Cir. 1998). Although

Nakamura is correct that under the Agreement he was entitled to have

his complaint reinstated, he did not comply with the terms of the

agreement and provide notice of noncompliance within 30 days.

Additionally, the Park Service’s breach was not material because the

Park Service corrected its error within a short time of notification. We

affirm the district court’s grant of summary judgment.

il

The district court granted the government’s Rule 12(h) (3)

post-judgment motion dismissing Nakamura’s 1993 retaliatory

termination claims for lack of subject matter jurisdiction because

Nakamura filed to present this claim to the National Park Service. The

existence of subject matter jurisdiction is a question of law that we

review de novo. See Galt G/S v. JSS Scandinavia, 142 F.3d 1150,

1153 (9th Cir. 1998). The district court denied summary judgment on

Nakamura’s retaliatory termination claims prior to trial due to the

complex factual situation. By the conclusion of the trial, it was

apparent that Nakamura had failed to claim retaliatory termination

despite filing an EEO complaint after his termination and that an EEO

investigation would not have reasonably included termination within

A-3

its scope. We affirm the district court’s dismissal for lack of subject

matter jurisdiction.

IV

We review a judgment as a matter of law de novo. See

Lawason v. Umatilla County, 139 F.3d 690, 692 (9th Cir. 1998). Such

a judgment is proper when the evidence, construed in a light most

favorable to the nonmoving party, permits only one reasonable

conclusion, and that conclusion is contrary to that reached by the jury.

See Id.; Forrett v. Richardson, 112 F.3d 416, 419 (9th Cir. 1997), cert.

denied, 118 S. Ct. 1366 (1998). At trial Nakamura established a prima

facie case of retaliation. The government presented evidence that

Nakamura was terminated for budgetary reasons — a legitimate,

nondiscriminatory reason. Nakamura did not meet his burden of

producing specific evidence of pretext to prove that the government’s

budgetary reason for the termination was false. We affirm the

judgment as a matter of law.

V

Nakamura sought to introduce testimony that would describe

other employees’ personal knowledge of discrimination and retaliation

by co-workers. We review a trial court’s decision to exclude evidence

for abuse of discretion. See United States v. Hernandez, 109 F.3d

1450, 1452 (9th Cir. 1997). The district court ordered the parties to

produce a stipulation that provided the jury with conclusive evidence

that Nakamura had been previously involved in Title VII protected

activity and that laid a sufficient basis for Nakamura’s retaliation

A-4

claims. Additionally, the court considered the testimony of each

potential witness with counsel to determine the relevancy of the

testimony to Nakamura’s present allegations. The district court did not

abuse its discretion by ordering the stipulation.

AFFIRMED.

A-5

ERIC K. NAKAMURA, et al., Plaintiff,

BRUCE BABBITT, in his official capacity as Secretary

of the United States Department of the Interior, Defendant.

Civ. No. 95-00243-HG

United States District Court,

District of Hawaii

September 19, 1996

ORDER DENYING DEFENDANT’S MOTION

FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT

GILMOR, District Judge.

On March 28, 1995, Plaintiffs Eric K. Nakamura

(“Nakamura”), Ronald N. Sato (“Sato”), and David A. Texeira

(“Texeira’’) filed a complaint against Defendant Bruce Babbitt, in his

official capacity as Secretary of the United States Department of the

Interior (“Defendant”). Plaintiffs are former employees of the

Maintenance Division of Haleakala National Park (the “Park”’), and

allege that various Park employees discriminated against them in

violation of Title VII, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e, et seq.

A-6

oo tie

ee ee ee

a

On February 12, 1996, Defendant filed a motion for summary

judgment dismissing the Tile VII claims asserted by Plaintiffs

Nakamura, Sato and Texeira. This motion came on for hearing on

May 6, 1996, with Clayton C. Ikei and Sherell N. McFarlane appearing

on behalf of Plaintiffs Nakamura, Sato and Texeira, and Assistant U.S.

Attorney R. Michael Burke appearing on behalf of Defendant.

Plaintiff Texeira has since stipulated to a dismissal of his claims

against Defendant. See Stipulation for Dismissal with Prejudice Claim

of David A. Texeira, filed July 8, 1996. Accordingly, this order only

addresses Defendant's motion for summary judgmentas it relates to the

outstanding Title VII claims asserted by Plaintiffs Nakamura and Sato

(collectively referred to as “Plaintiffs”). For the reasons set forth

below, the Court DENIES the motion of Defendant for summary

judgment dismissing Plaintiffs, claims.

SUMMARY JUDGMENT STANDARD

Rule 56(c) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure provides

that summary judgment shall be entered when

the pleadings, depositions, answers to interrogatories,

and admissions on file, together with the affidavits, if

any, show that there is no genuine issue as to any

material fact and that the moving party is entitled to a

judgment as a matter of law.

The moving party has the initial burden of “identifying for the

court those portions of the materials on file that it believes demonstrate

the absence of any genuine issue of material fact.” 7.W. Elec. Serv.,

A-7

Inc. v. Pacific Elec.Contractors Ass'n, 809 F.2d 626, 630 (9th Cir.

1987) (citing Celotex Corp. v. Catrett,477 U.S. 317, 323 (1986) ). The

movant need not advance affidavits or similar materials to negate the

existence of an issue on which the opposing party will bear the burden

of proof at trial. Celotex, 477 U.S. at 323.

If the moving party meets its burden, then the opposing party

must come forward with “specific facts showing that there is a genuine

issue for trial” in order to defeat the motion. Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(e); T.

W. Elec., 809 F.2d at 630. The opposing party cannot stand on the

pleadings nor simply assert that it will discredit the movant’s evidence

at trial. /d. “If the factual context makes the [opposing] party’s claim

implausible, that party must come forward with more persuasive

evidence than would otherwise be necessary to show that there is a

genuine issue for trial.” Cal. Arch. Bldg. Prods. v. Franciscan

Ceramics, 818 F.2d 1466, 1468 (Sth Cir. 1987) (citing Matsushita

Elec. Indus. Co. v. Zenith Radio Corp., 475 U.S. 574, 587 (1986)),

cert. denied 484 U.S. 1006 (1988).

The standard for summary judgment reflects the standard

governing a directed verdict. Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477

U.S. 242, 250 (1986). When there is a genuine issue of material fact,

“the judge must assume the truth of the evidence set forth by the

[opposing] party with respect to that fact.” 7. W. Elec., 809 F.2d at 631.

Inferences from the facts must be drawn in the light most favorable to

the non moving party. Jd.

A-8

Ws ae eaten AA eet ae

en net

te Cle nian NE a al tte Mn.

., ——— —

DISCUSSION

Defendant moves for summary judgment dismissing the Title

VII claims of Plaintiffs Nakamura and Sato. Defendant contends that

Plaintiffs’ suit is subject to summary judgment because their Title VII

discrimination claims: (1) were untimely, having not been brought to

the Park’s attention as required by law; and/or (2) have been fully

compromised; and/or (3) state a claim for which no relief can be

granted. Defendant’s Memorandum in Support at 1. The Court

disagrees.

I. Plaintiff Nakamura’s Title VII Retaliation Claims

A. Background

Plaintiff Nakamura’s Title VII claim is premised on a

chronology of events which date back to April 1993. The Complaint

asserts that Plaintiff Nakamura was subjected to a hostile work

environment from May 1993 until September 30, 1993, when he took

a temporary leave of absence from his seasonal maintenance

employment, in retaliation for instigating an April 1993 NPS

investigation into allegations of racial harassment and

discrimination by Park Supervisor David Puu. Plaintiff Nakamura and

the Park eventually resolved this matter by way of Informal Resolution

Agreements dated February 14, 1994 and April 11, 1994.

Plaintiff Nakamura also asserts that he endured retaliation

upon his return to work on March 20, 1994, which culminated in his

termination on September 30, 1994. In one instance, this alleged

A-9

retaliation surfaced in connection with Plaintiff Nakamura’s leave

during the May 22-26, 1994 period. In a letter to Equal Employment

Opportunity (“EEO”) Counselor Ronald Nagata dated June 27, 1994,

Plaintiff Nakamura recounted that, on May 22, 1994, his immediate

supervisor Doug Buttery granted his request to take “stress leave” for

the remainder of the day, and through May 25, 1994, but on May 23,

1994, Maintenance Supervisor Peter Lucero informed him that any

“annual leave” would not be approved. Exhibit E to Declaration of

Donald W. Reeser in support of Defendant’s Motion for Summary

Judgment, filed February 12, 1996 (“Reeser Decl.”) at 67-69. With

respect to May 26, 1994, Plaintiff Nakamura recounted that he had

submitted a leave slip for leave without pay to Acting Superintendent

Bob Butterfield, and that Butterfield verbally authorized him to leave,

but that Lucero later charged him with being absent without leave

(“AWOL”). Jd. Plaintiff Nakamura explained in the letter that his

leave was necessitated by stress linked to “the hardship” created by the

Park Service, and specifically referenced the Park’s “breachment of my

agreement.”

B. Analysis: Title VII Retaliation Claim Regarding May

22-26, 1994 Leave

1. No Issue of Settlement Bar or Administrative

Exhaustion

On Defendant’ s motion for summary judgment, the Court

need not address (1) whether, and to what extent, the administrative

exhaustion requirements set forth in 29 C.F.R. § 1614, et seq., preclude

adjudication of Plaintiff Nakamura’s Title VII claims, nor (2) whether,

and to what extent, the Informal Resolution Agreements dated

A-10

February 14, 1994 and April 11, 1994 bar Plaintiff Nakamura from

recovering for allegations of pre-April 11, 1994 retaliatory acts. At

least one element of Plaintiff's Title VII claim was administratively

exhausted in a timely manner and was not resolved by any agreement.

Plaintiff Nakamura’s Title VII claim includes an allegation of

post-April 11, 1994 retaliation in connection with his May 22-26, 1994

leave (the “Leave Incident”). Defendant does not dispute that Plaintiff

Nakamura timely exhausted his administrative remedies with respect

to the Leave Incident. See Defendant’s Memorandum in Support at 1,

18. Indeed, through his June 27, 1993 letter to EEO Counselor Ron

Nagata, Plaintiff Nakamura clearly initiated contact with an EEO

counselor regarding the Leave Incident within 45 days of its May 22-

26, 1994 occurrence, as required by 29 C.F.R. § 1614. 105(a) . Plaintiff

Nakamura also participated in EEO Counseling with respect to the

alleged retaliatory Leave Incident. See Exhibit E to Reeser Decl. at 31-

48. On July 20, 1994, EEO Counselor Ron Nagata issued a Notice of

Final Interview and Right to File a Discrimination Complaint

regarding the Leave Incident.

2. Prima Facie Elements of Retaliation Claim

Satisfied

Defendant contends that the Title VII claim regarding the

Leave Incident is subject to dismissal because Plaintiff Nakamura has

failed to establish his prima facie case for a retaliation claim.

A showing of three elements is required in order to make out

a prima facie case of retaliation: (1) the plaintiff engaged in activity

protected by Title VII; (2) an adverse employment action occurred; and

A-11

(3) there was a causal connection between the participation in the

protected activity and the adverse employment action. See Wallis v.

Simplot, 26 F.3d 885, 891 (9th Cir. 1994).

Defendant does not dispute here that Plaintiff Nakamura

engaged in “protected activity” within the meaning of Title VII. To be

sure, such activity can be found in Plaintiff Nakamura’s participation

in the NPS Investigation and his prior filing of a informal EEO

complaint which was settled by the Informal Resolution Agreements.

Defendant, however, takes issue with the second and third

requirements as they relate to Plaintiff Nakamura’s Leave Incident

claim. Defendant’s Memorandum in Support at 20 and n.7. The Court

finds that such requirements have been fulfilled.

a. Adverse Employment Action

Defendant asserts that the Leave Incident did not involve an

“adverse employment action” within the meaning of Title VII because

the Park eventually granted Plaintiff Nakamura “sick leave” for his

May 22-25, 1994 absence, as he originally requested. Plaintiff

Nakamura, however, is not limited to complaining about the type of

leave that was eventually granted for his May 22-25, 1994 absence.

Defendant may be liable for Plaintiff Nakamura’s need to take leave

itself, if the leave was in fact necessitated by a retaliatory hostile work

environment, as Plaintiff Nakamura asserts. A hostile work

environment, as opposed to mere ostracism, may constitute an

“adverse employment action.” See Strother v. Southern California

Permanente Medical Group, 79 F.3d 859, 869 (9th Cir. 1996) (citing

Fisher v. San Pedro Peninsula Hosp. , 262 Cal. Rptr. 842, 856 (1989)).

A-12

Additionally, the issue of Plaintiff Nakamura’s AWOL status

on May 26, 1994 remains unresolved. A decision to deny an employee

leave is an “adverse employment action,” regardless of the length of

requested leave. See Page v. Volger, 645 F.2d 227, 233 (4th Cir.) (en

banc), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 892 (1981). Equally significant, if

Plaintiff Nakamura is correct that he was actually granted leave

without pay on May 26, 1994, the AWOL mark on his employment

record alone rises to the leave of an “adverse employment action”

within the meaning of Title VII. See Jd.

b. Causal Connection

Defendant also contends that there can be no factual basis for

Mr. Nakamura’s allegation in the pleadings that the work absence

dispute was causally connected to the protected activity. Defendant’s

Memorandum in Support at 20. The Court finds that Plaintiff

Nakamura has proffered sufficient evidence of a causal connection to

satisfy his prima facie burden. A causal connection may be

demonstrated by evidence of circumstances that justify an inference of

retaliatory motive, such as protected conduct closely followed by

adverse action. Burrus v. United Tel. Co. of Kansas, Inc., 683 F.2d

339, 343 (10th Cir.), cert. denied, 459 U.S. 1071 (1982); see also

Knickerbocker v. City of Stockton, 81 F.3d 907, 912 (9th Cir. 1996)

(citing Burrus). In the instant case, the events surrounding the Leave

Incident occurred within one year of Plaintiff's protected activities. In

addition, Plaintiff Nakamura stated in his affidavit that, after the NPS

Investigation, there was ongoing friction between himself and many of

his Park coworkers, who were friends with Puu. Nakamura Aff. at 918.

Defendant has not proffered any evidence suggesting that Plaintiff

Nakamura’s May 22-25, 1994 sick leave was wholly unrelated to the

A-13

alleged hostile work environment, and has not provided a legitimate,

non-retaliatory reason for Plaintiff's AWOL status on May 26, 1994.

The Court concludes that Plaintiff Nakamura has presented

sufficient evidence to support a finding that the alleged retaliatory

Leave Incident was causally connected to his protected activities.

Plaintiff Nakamura has satisfied his prima facie burden for his Title

VII retaliation claim, insofar as it relates to the Leave Incident.

Accordingly, the Court DENIES the motion of Defendant for summary

judgment dismissing Plaintiff Nakamura’s Title VII claim in the

entirety.

Il. Plaintiff Sato

A. Background

Plaintiff Sato asserts Title VII claims against Defendant for

racial harassment and racial discrimination by Park Supervisor Puu.

During the thirteen-year period between January 1978 and January

1992, Plaintiff Sato was employed as a full-time, permanent

maintenance worker in the Park Maintenance Division under the

supervision of Park Supervisor Puu. Affidavit of Ronald Sato in

support of Plaintiffs’ Concise Statement filed April 18, 1996 (“Sato

Aff.”) at § 2. Plaintiff Sato asserts that, throughout this period, Park

Supervisor Puu racially harassed him at least three times a week by

referring to him in a racially derogatory manner. Jd. at §§] 3, 4. Plaintiff

Sato further contends that Puu assigned him to permanent sanitation

duties — cleaning toilets, working with raw sewage, cleaning windows

and waxing floors — on account of his Japanese ancestry, and that Puu

A-14

gave him negative job referrals when he sought transfers to other

departments within the Park, or to other national parks. Jd. at § 6.

B. Analysis

Defendant contends that Plaintiff Sato's Title VII claim for

racial] harassment and discrimination should be dismissed in their

entirety because (1) he failed to satisfy the administrative exhaustion

requirement set forth at 29 C.F.R. § 1613.214(a)(1)(i) (“Section

1613.214 (a) (1) (i)”) , Defendant’s Memorandum in Support at 13-14,

and (2) Defendant took appropriate remedial measures after learning

of Plaintiff Sato’s allegations. /d. at 22-25. The Court disagrees.

1. Section 1613.214(a)(1)(i)

Where, as here, the alleged discriminatory events occurred

prior to October 1, 1992, Section 1613.214 (a) (1) (i) required Plaintiff

Sato to bring the alleged discriminatory matter to the attention of an

EEO counselor within 30 days of its event. 29 C.F.R. §

1613.214(a)(1)(i). Contrary to Defendant’s assertions, this regulation

did not require Plaintiff Sato to file a written and signed informal EEO

complaint with the EEO office within the 30 days, but only to bring the

matter “to the attention” of an EEO counselor within the time

limitation. Richardson v. Frank, 975 F.2d 1433, 1436 (10th Cir. 1992).

Plaintiff Sato states in his affidavit that:

In the mid to late 1980s, I met Becky Mills at two

orientations in . . . California and found that she was

an Equal Employment Officer for the western Region

A-15

office. I told her that my supervisor, Mr. Puu, was

calling me “one stupid Jap” and “fucking Jap’ [sic] on

a regular basis. I also told her that since I had started

at Haleakala in 1978 I have only been assigned to

sanitation duties despite the fact that I am qualified to

do other work such as carpentry and masonry. Ms.

Mills responded that my situation was personal. She

did not inform me that I had the right to file an equal

employment opportunity complaint or any other

complaint for that matter... .

On October 22, 1985 I spoke to Ms. Mills while

attending a women’s conference on the Island of

Hawaii. I informed her that Mr. Puu was hindering

my transfer to other departments or national parks by

putting “I cannot judge” in the supervisor’s section of

my application, and would just assign me sanitation

duties. She simply replied that it was “up to my

supervisor, that he has to rate how good you are;” she

did not inform me that I could file any complaints.

Sato Aff. at 11 9-10. There are genuine issues of material fact as to

whether these contacts with EEO Officer Mills were notification of the

kind intended to satisfy Section 1613.214(a)(1)(i).

If Plaintiff Sato’s discussions with EEO Officer Mills served

to bring at least one incident of alleged racial harassment “to her

attention” within the 30-day deadline imposed by Section 1613.214 (a)

(1) (i) , the continuing violations doctrine may apply to bring all

incidents of alleged racial harassment, reaching back to January 1978,

A-16

within this regulation. In the instant case, the frequency of racial

harassment alleged by Plaintiff Sato certainly suggests a continuing

violation, that is, a series of separate acts of racial harassment

emanating from the same animus and amounting to a hostile work

environment. See Waltman v. International Paper Co., 875 F.2d 468,

476 (Sth Cir. 1989) . Under the “continuing violations” doctrine, if one

or more of the acts constituting the continuing violation is “brought to

the attention” of an EEO counselor within the 30-day statutory

deadline set by Section 1613.214 (a) (1) (i) , all acts constituting the

“continuing violation” are brought within this administrative

regulation, and may be considered. Jd. ; see also Green v. Los Angeles

County Superintendent of Sch., 883 F.2d 1472, 1480 (9th Cir. 1989).

Accordingly, the Court finds that there are genuine issues as

to whether Plaintiff Sato has satisfied the administrative requirement

set forth in Section 1613.214 (a) (1) (i) with respect to his Title VII

claim of racial harassment and discrimination. While Defendant

makes much of the fact Plaintiff Sato was a member of the Park’s

informal EEO committee in 1988, Defendant’s Mem. Supp. 13, such

participation did not heighten Section 1613.214 (a) (1) (i) , s notice

requirements as to Plaintiff Sato, nor did it strip him of the continuing

violations doctrine.

2. Remedial Obligations

Under Title VII, an employer is liable for a hostile work

environment only if the employer failed to take adequate remedial or

disciplinary action after the employer knew or should have known of

A-17

oe

the conduct generating the hostile work environment. Fuller v. City of

Oakland, 47 F.3d 1522, 1528 (9th Cir. 1995). Defendant contends that

Plaintiff Sato’s racial harassment and discrimination claim should be

dismissed because the Park promptly took remedial action after

learning of such allegations. Defendant relies on the remedial steps

taken by Park Superintendent Donald Reeser during and after April |

1993. Defendant’s Memorandum in Support at 22-25. That is,

Defendant proceeds on the basis that his remedial obligation did not

commence until April 1993.

There is evidence suggesting that Plaintiff Sato informed the

Park management in the mid to late 1980’s [sic], if not earlier, that

Park Supervisor Puu was racially harassing and discriminating against

him. See Sato Aff. at 9§ 7-10. Such evidence therefore raises

questions as to whether the Park's remedial obligations commenced

well before April 1993, and if so, whether Reeser’s remedial action in

April 1993 absolves Defendant from Title VII liability.

In light of the above, the Court DENIES the motion of

Defendant for summary judgment dismissing Plaintiff Sato’s Title VII

claim for racial harassment and discrimination.

CONCLUSION

In accordance with the foregoing, it is HEREBY ORDERED

1 . The motion of Defendant Babbitt for summary judgment

dismissing Plaintiff Nakamura’s Title VII claim is DENIED.

A-18

2. The motion of Defendant Babbitt for summary judgment

dismissing Plaintiff Sato’s Title VII Claim is DENIED.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

ERIC K. NAKAMURA, et al., Plaintiff, H

BRUCE BABBITT, in his official capacity as Secretary of the

United States Department of the Interior, Defendant.

Civ. No. 95-00243 HG

United States District Court

District of Hawaii |

February 20, 1997

ORDER DENYING DEFENDANT’S MOTION TO DISMISS

REGARDING EXHAUSTION OF ADMINISTRATIVE

REMEDIES, GRANTING IN PART DEFENDANT’S MOTION

FOR RULE 43(e) HEARING, GRANTING IN PART

DEFENDANT’S MOTION FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT

REGARDING INFORMAL RESOLUTION AGREEMENT,

DENYING DEFENDANT’S MOTION FOR SUMMARY

JUDGMENT REGARDING PLAINTIFF NAKAMURA’S |

RETALIATION CLAIM, DENYING DEFENDANT’S |

MOTION FOR PARTIAL SUMMARY JUDGMENT BASED ;

UPON APPROPRIATE EMPLOYER REMEDIAL

MEASURES, AND GRANTING DEFENDANT’S MOTION

FOR PARTIAL SUMMARY JUDGMENT REGARDING

LIMITATION AS TO A JURY TRIAL |

GILLMOR, District Judge.

A-20

On March 28, 1995, plaintiffs Eric K. Nakamura

(“Nakamura”) and Ronald N. Sato (“Sato’’) (collectively, “Plaintiffs”’)

filed a complaint against Defendant Bruce Babbitt, in his official

capacity as Secretary of the United States Department of the Interior

(“Defendant”).' Plaintiffs are former employees of the maintenance

Division of Haleakala National Park (the “Park”), and allege that

various Park employees discriminated against them in violation of

Title VII, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e, et seq.

On February 12, 1996, Defendant filed a motion for summary

judgment with respect to all of the Title VII claims asserted by

Plaintiffs. On May 6, 1996, the Court heard arguments on the motion

and issued an oral ruling denying it. Prior to the issuance of the

Court’s September 10, 1996 written Order Denying Defendant’s

Motion for Summary Judgment, Defendant filed a motion to Dismiss,

or in the Alternative, to Reconsider Order Denying Summary

Judgment, or in the Alternative Motion for a Rule 43 (e) Evidentiary

Hearing (the “Second Motion”).

On October 4, 1996, the Court denied Plaintiffs’ Ex Parte

Motion to Strike Defendant’s Second Motion, and granted Plaintiff s

alternative Ex Parte Motion to Extend the Time to File a Memorandum

in Opposition to such motion. On October 16, 1996, the Court

informed Defendant that the Second Motion failed to comply with

Local Rule 220-10 regarding concise statements of fact, and granted

Defendant leave to withdraw this motion and instead file multiple

motions, each focusing on a particular issue.

' A third plaintiff, David A. Texeira, stipulated to a dismissal of all of his claims

against Defendant on July 8, 1996.

A-21

Defendant filed a new set of seven pre-trial motions dated

December 12, 13 and 27, 1996 (the “Third Set of Motions”). This

Third Set of Motions consists of a motion to dismiss, a motion for a

Rule 43(e) evidentiary hearing, and five motions for summary

judgment. These motions came on for hearing before the Court on

January 27, 1997.

STATEMENT OF FACTS

This case arises out of incidents alleged to have occurred atthe

Park between January 1978, when Sato began his employment with the

Park, and September 1994, when Nakamura was terminated. On April

7, 1993, Nakamura and a number of his Park co-workers met with

United States Congresswoman Patsy Mink and Bryan Harry, the

National Park Service’s Pacific Area Director. Defendant’s Concise

Statement in Support of Motion for Summary Judgment re: Remedial

Measures at § 2, and Plaintiff's Response thereto at § 2. At this

meeting, Nakamura lodged numerous complaints, including claims of

racial and sexual harassment of employees by the Supervisor of the

Park’s Maintenance Division, David Puu (“Puu”). J/d.; Nakamura

Affidavit, attached as Exhibit A to Plaintiff's Opposition to Motion to

Dismiss (“Nakamura Aff.”), at 9] 7-11.

This led to a National Park Service (“NPS”) investigation of

these and other claims of wrongdoing at the Park, conducted by high-

ranking NPS officials between April 27 and April 30, 1993 (“NPS

Investigation”). Defendant’s Concise Statement in Support of Motion

for Summary Judgment re: Remedial Measures at § 4, and Plaintiff's

Response thereto at § 4. The report issued following the NPS

A-22

Investigation (“NPS Report”) concluded that Puu had exhibited

abusive conduct toward Park employees, including incidents of abusive

language, racist remarks, and insulting demeanor, but that there was no

evidence of such behavior by other Park supervisors. NPS Report,

attached to Plaintiffs’ March 28, 1995 Complaint, at 2.

The NPS Report contained a number of recommendations,

leading to an effort by Park management to implement many of these

recommendations and improve Equal Employment Opportunity

(“EEO”) measures. NPS Report; Defendant’s Concise Statement in

Support of Motion for Summary Judgment re: Remedial Measures at

{{ 6-16, and Plaintiff's Response thereto at 4 6-16.

Sato had already resigned from the Park in January 1992, prior

to the NPS investigation. Sato Affidavit, attached as Exhibit B to

Plaintiff's Opposition to Motion to Dismiss (“Sato Aff.”), at § 2.

Nakamura was terminated from his temporary employment position

with the Park on September 30, 1994. Defendant’s Concise Statement

in Support of Motion for Summary Judgment re: Resolution

Agreement at 18, and Plaintiff's Response thereto at § 18; Informal

Resolution Agreement, attached as Exhibit A to Defendant's Motion

for Summary Judgment re: Resolution Agreement at 4.

ANALYSIS

I. Defendant’s Motion to Dismiss Regarding Failure to Exhaust

Administrative Remedies

A-23

The Court first addresses Defendant’s Motion to Dismiss

Regarding Failure to Exhaust Administrative Remedies (“Defendant’s

Motion to Dismiss”). Defendant filed this motion on December 27,

1996, although he had already filed a nearly identical motion for

summary judgment on these same grounds on December 12, 1996.

Defendant contends that a motion to dismiss is the proper form in

which to bring this claim and that the Court, rather than a jury, should

determine whether Plaintiffs properly exhausted their administrative

remedies because it is a jurisdictional or jurisdictionally-related issue.

The Ninth Circuit has held that{[:]

({Ijack of jurisdiction and failure to exhaust

administrative remedies are matters in abatement, and

ordinarily do not deal with the merits . . . . Therefore,

they should be raised by a motion to dismiss.

Studio Elec. Technicians Local 728 v. International Photographers of

the Motion Picture Indus., Local 659, 598 F.2d 551, 552 n.2 (9th Cir.

1979). In the context of a Title VII action, however, the Supreme

Court has explicitly held[:]

that filing a timely charge of discrimination with the

° EEOC is not a jurisdictional prerequisite to suit in

federal court, but a requirement that, like a statute of

limitations, is subject to waiver, estoppel, and

equitable tolling.

Zipes v. Trans World Airlines, Inc., 455 U.S. 385, 393 (1982).

A-24

The Supreme Court subsequently eliminated any potential

mischaracterization of Zipes as standing for the proposition that the

timely filing requirement need not be met or that it should be lightly

excused:

Procedural requirements established by Congress for

gaining access to the federal courts are not to be

disregarded by courts out of a vague sympathy for

particular litigants. As we stated in Mohasco Corp. v.

Silver, 447 U.S. 807, 826. ... (1980), “[iJn the long

run, experience teaches that strict adherence to the

procedural requirements specified by the legislature is

the best guarantee of evenhanded administration of

the law.”

Baldwin County Welcome Ctr. v. Brown, 466 U.S. 147, 152 (1984). In

Vinieratos v. United States Dep't of Air Force, 939 F.2d 762, 768 n.5

(9th Cir. 1991), the Ninth Circuit indicated that it does not{[:]

recognize administrative exhaustion under Title VII as

a jurisdictional requirement per se; [but] as a legal

question under the de novo standard because the issue

is whether the plaintiff has satisfied a statutory

precondition to suit.

Accordingly, Defendant's motion to dismiss regarding

Plaintiffs’ alleged failure to exhaust their administrative remedies is

not analyzed pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 12 (b) (1) (“lack of junsdiction

over the subject matter’’), but Fed. R. Civ.P.12 (b) (6) (“failure to state

a claim upon which relief can be granted”). Whether Plaintiffs did

A-25

adequately exhaust their administrative remedies is a question of law

for the Court to decide. These issues are not, as Plaintiffs contend, so

intertwined with the merits of Plaintiffs’ Title VII claims that they

must be resolved at trial. They involve whether Plaintiffs are entitled

to relief for their claims in this forum by having fulfilled all of the

statutory and regulatory preconditions to filing suit. These procedural

matters are properly resolved by the Court and in no way go to the

merits of Plaintiffs’ substantive claims.

The Court already has held that Nakamura did adequately

exhaust his administrative remedies with respect to his “Leave

Incident” retaliation claim. September 10, 1996 Order Denying

Defendant's Motion for Summary Judgment (“September 10, 1996

Order”) at 5-6. The Court further found that there were genuine issues

as to whether Sato had satisfied this requirement or is entitled to

equitable estoppel with respect to his claim as well. /d. at 11-12.

Defendant urges the Court to hold a Rule 43 (e) evidentiary

hearing, which Defendant contends will provide the Court with

sufficient evidence to make all necessary factual findings to decide the

exhaustion issue. The consequence of holding such a hearing,

however, is to take the matter outside the bounds of a Fed. R.Civ. P. 12

(b) (6) motion and to convert it into a motion for surmmary judgment

governed by Fed. R. Civ. P. 56.” Accordingly, the Court DENIES

Defendant’s Motion to Dismiss and will consider it instead pursuant

? Fed. R. Civ. P. 12 (b) provides in pertinent part: If, on a motion asserting a

defense numbered (6) to dismiss for failure to state a claim upon which relief can be

granted, matters outside the pleadings are presented to and not excluded by the

court, the motion shall be treated as one for summary judgment and disposed of as

provided in rule 56 ....

A-26

to Rule 56 along with Defendant’s motion for summary judgment on

the same grounds.

Il. Defendant's Motion for Rule 43(e) Hearing

Defendant moves for the Court to hold a Rule 43 (e)

evidentiary hearing regarding several issues he contends that the Court

should consider prior to trial. These issues include whether Plaintiffs

are entitled to equitable estoppel to excuse their untimely filing of EEO

complaints, whether the Informal Resolution Agreement is applicable

and bars Nakamura’s claims, whether Nakamura is entitled to a trial

on the merits of his claims of wrongful termination and retaliation, and

whether Defendant took appropriate remedial measures and

disciplinary action thereby relieving it from liability. Plaintiffs

contend that such a hearing is not appropriate because these issues are

completely intermeshed with the facts going to the merits of the case

and should be left for the jury to decide.

For the reasons set forth below in the analysis of Defendant’s

motions for summary judgment, the Court agrees with Defendant that

a pretrial evidentiary hearing would be appropriate and useful to assist

the Court in determining whether Plaintiff Sato has fulfilled his

statutory preconditions to filing suit. A Rule 43 (e) evidentiary hearing

would be either unnecessary or inappropriate, however, in deciding the

other issues proposed by Defendant. The Court GRANTS IN PART

Defendant's Motion for a Rule 43(e) Hearing.

A-27

Il. Defendant’s Motions for Summary Judgment

Defendant has filed five separate motions for summary

judgment covering the issues of Plaintiffs, failure to exhaust

administrative remedies, Nakamura’s informal resolution agreement,

Nakamura’s retaliation claim, Defendant's implementation of

appropriate remedial measures, and the limitation on Plaintiffs, right

to a jury trial.

A. Summary Judgment Standard

Rule 56(c) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure provides

that summary judgment shall be entered when:

the pleadings, depositions, answers to

interrogatories, and admissions on file, together with

the affidavits, if any, show that there is no genuine

issue as to any material fact and that the moving party

is entitled to a judgment as a matter of law.

The moving party has the initial burden of “identifying for the court

those portions of the materials on file that it believes demonstrate the

absence of any genuine issue of material fact.” 7.W. Elec. Serv., Inc.

v. Pacific Elec. Contractors Ass'n, 809 F.2d 626, 630 (9th Cir. 1987)

(citing Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S.317, 323 (1986)). The

movant need not advance affidavits or similar materials to negate the

existence of an issue on which the opposing party will bear the burden

of proof at trial. Celotex, 477 U.S. at 323.

A-28

If the moving party meets its burden, then the opposing party

must come forward with “specific facts showing that there is a genuine

issue for trial” in order to defeat the motion. Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(e),

T.W. Elec., 809 F.2d at 630. The opposing party cannot stand on the

pleadings nor simply assert that it will discredit the movant’s evidence

at trial. Jd. “If the factual context makes the [opposing] party’s claim

implausible, that party must come forward with more persuasive

evidence than would otherwise be necessary to show that there is a

genuine issue for trial.” Cal. Arch. Bldg. Prods. v. Franciscan

Ceramics, 818 F.2d 1466, 1468 (9th Cir. 1987) (emphasis added)

(citing Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. v. Zenith Radio Corp., 475 U.S.

574, 587 (1986)), cert. denied 484 U.S. 1006 (1988).

The standard for summary judgment reflects the standard

governing a directed verdict. Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477

U.S. 242, 250 (1986). When there is a genuine issue of material fact,

“the judge must assume the truth of the evidence set forth by the

[opposing] party with respect to that fact.” 7. W. Elec., 809 F.2d at 631.

Inferences from the facts must be drawn in the light most favorable to

the non-moving party. Jd.

B. Sato

Sato claims that his supervisor at the Park, Puu, subjected him

to a persistent barrage of ethnic slurs and discriminated against him on

the basis of his Japanese ancestry in violation of Title VII.

Defendant’s primary argument with respect to Sato is that his suit is

barred because he failed to exhaust his administrative remedies. “Title

VII specifically requires a federal employee to exhaust his

administrative remedies as a precondition to filing suit.” Vinieratos,

A-29

939 F.2d at 767-768 (citing Brown v. General Servs. Admin., 425 U.S.

820, 832 (1976)). Defendant argues that Sato failed to exhaust his

administrative remedies because he filed his first informal EEO

complaint over two years after he had resigned from the Park Service,

and thereby failed to comply with the statutory requirements.

Sato contends that he did exhaust his administrative remedies

or, in the alternative, that he is entitled to equitable estoppel. The

Ninth Circuit has “recognized that strict compliance with the filing

period may be excused ‘if the plaintiff had neither official notice nor

actual knowledge of the filing period.’” Thornhill v. Marsh, 866 F.2d

1182, 1184 (9th Cir. 1989).

Sato claims that during the period he was employed by the

Park from January 1978 to January 1992, he was racially harassed at

least three times a week by Puu. Sato Aff. at § 3. As these incidents

occurred prior to October 1, 1992, 29 C.F.R. Part 1613 governs the

question of whether Sato properly exhausted his administrative

remedies.’ Section 1613.214(a) provides, in pertinent part:

(1) Am agency shall require that a complaint be

submitted in writing by the complainant or

representative and be signed by the complainant...

The agency may accept the complaint for processing

in accordance with this subpart only if:

(i)The complainant brought to the attention of the

Equal Employment Opportunity Counselor the matter

* The current regulatory provision governing Title VII complaints, 29 C.F.R. Part

1614, did not go into effect until October 1, 1992. 57 Fed. Reg. 12634 (1992).

A-30

causing him/her to believe that he/she had been

discriminated against within 30 calendar days of the

date of the alleged discriminatory event, the effective

date of an alleged discriminatory personnel action, or

the date that the aggrieved person knew or reasonably

should have known of the discriminatory event or

personnel action; and

(ii) The complainant or representative submitted the

written complaint to an appropriate official within 15

calendar days after the receipt of the notice of the

right to file a complaint....

(4) The agency shall extend the time limits in this

section when the complainant shows that he/she was

Se ee eed

not notified of the time limits and was not otherwise

SN eel nee

- aware of them, was prevented by circumstances

beyond the complainant’s control from submitting the

matter within the time limits; or for other reasons

considered sufficient by the agency.

29 C.F.R. § 1613.214(a) (1991) (emphasis added).

The Department of the Interior dismissed Sato’s complaint for

failure to comply with the statutory time limits because he did not

initiate contact with an EEO counselor until February 4, 1994, over

two years after he had resigned in January 1992. September 19, 1996

letter from Melodee Stith, EEO Director for the Department of the

Interior (“Stith Letter”), attached as Exhibit Y to Plaintiffs’ Opposition

to Motion to Dismiss, at 2. Sato claims in affidavit, however, that:

A-31

[in] the mid to late 1980s, I met Becky Mills at two

orientations in ... California and found out that she

was an Equal Employment Officer for the Western

Region office. I told her that my supervisor, Mr. Puu,

was Calling me “one stupid Jap” and “fucking Jap” on

a regular basis. I also told her that since I had started

at Haleakala in 1978 I have only been assigned to

sanitation duties despite the fact that I am qualified to

do other work such as carpentry and masonry. Ms.

Mills responded that my situation was personal. She

did not inform me that I had the right to file an equal

employment opportunity complaint or any other

complaint for that matter.

Sato Aff. at§ 9.

If these allegations are true, Sato may have satisfied the first

requirement of reporting the discriminatory matter to an EEO officer

within 30 days. The second requirement, however, is that a written

complaint be submitted within 15 calendar days after the date of

receipt of the notice of the right to file a complaint. it is undisputed that

Sato never filed a written complaint until over two years after he had

resigned from the Park and the alleged incidents of discrimination

against him had ended.

Sato alleges in his affidavit that he was not aware of his right

to file an EEO complaint of discrimination until late December 1993,

when Nakamura informed him that he had such a right. Sato Aff. at

§ 12. If Sato’s allegations are true, the fifteen-day time limit for filing

a written EEO complaint would have begun to run on that date. Sato

A-32

did not approach an EEO counselor until February 4, 1994, after this

fifteen-day period had run. Stith Letter at 2. His formal EEO

complaint was filed on May 13, 1994. Jd. at 1.

Sato would have been entitled to have the NPS excuse him

from the mandated time limits, if he could show that there was no

official notice of the time limits or that he was not otherwise aware of

them. 29 C.F.R. § 1613.214 (a) (4) (1991) ; Thornhill, 866 F.2d at

1184. If Sato received actual or official notice of the applicable time

limits at any time prior to filing his written complaint, the 15-day time

limit for filing the complaint would have been triggered at the time he

received such notice.

In July 1988, the Park superintendent issued a memorandum

addressed to all employees that two new EEO counselors were being

appointed and that they would be available to serve the needs of the

employees. Defendant’s Motion to Dismiss at Exhibit A. Plaintiffs

maintain that the Park’s system of distributing memoranda to

employees was grossly inadequate and that they never received any

such memoranda. Nakamura Aff. at § 13. Defendant has provided

declarations of numerous park employees claiming that EEO posters

were put up on Park bulletin boards with pictures of the EEO

counselors and directing employees to approach them with any

questions or complaints. An October 25, 1988 memorandum from the

NPS Western Region office, relaying the results of an EEO

performance evaluation conducted in September 1988, states that,

“(t]he right to complain and the steps in preparing and submitting

complaints are explained in writing to employees via posting on

A-33

employee bulletin boards.” Defendant’s Motion to Dismiss at Exhibit

A. ;

Defendant also has provided evidence that Sato served as the

maintenance representative on the Park’s EEO committee from 1988

through 1990, and that memoranda addressed to all employees were

issued instructing employees to discuss questions or relevant problems

with such representatives. Jd. Sato claims in his affidavit that Puu told

him that he was on the committee because they needed a “body” from

the maintenance division, and that he only attended one meeting of the

committee, in which the members merely “s{a]t around and talk[ed]

story.” Sato Aff . at] 11. One of Defendant’s own declarants, Susan

Nikaido, admits that the committee was not very active, but adds that

the few times they did meet Sato usually attended. Defendant’s

Motion to Dismiss at Exhibit A. .

Sato alleges that although he realized the purpose of the

committee was to discuss the Park’s hiring and firing practices with

respect to minorities, the topic of employees, rights to be free from

racial discrimination and ethnic slurs was never mentioned. Sato Aff.

at 4 11-12. Sato claims that it was not until December 1993, after

speaking with Nakamura, that he became aware that Puu’s conduct

towards him had constituted discrimination and entitled him to file an

EEO complaint. Jd. Sato also relies on the findings of the NPS Report,

that “[mJany employees appeared to have little knowledge of their

rights,” and which recommends that the Park “[u}pdate and

prominently post grievance procedures and equal opportunity

counselors.” NPS Report at §j 2.

A-34

The Court held in its September 10, 1996 Order that, based on

the evidence presented to it at that time, a genuine issue existed as to

Sato’s alleged failure to exhaust his administrative remedies.

September 10, 1996 Order at 11-12. As stated in the preceding section,

the Court will hold an evidentiary hearing to determine this issue given

the conflicting evidence presented. If Sato did approach Ms. Mills

back in the mid-1980s with actionable complaints of racial

discrimination, and he was not informed of his right to be free from

discrimination and his ability to file a complaint concerning that right,

he would be entitled to equitable tolling of the time requirement for

filing such a complaint. This tolling would last, however, only until

the point when he was provided with actual or official notice of his

right to file a complaint. As the Supreme Court has stated in another

Title VII case, “[o]ne who fails to act diligently cannot invoke

equitable principles to excuse that lack of diligence,” Baldwin County

Welcome Ctr., 466 U.S. at 151 (1984).

At the Rule 43 (e) evidentiary hearing, the parties may present

all admissible evidence regarding Sato’s alleged failure to exhaust his

administrative remedies as well as evidence pertaining to Sato’s

request for equitable relief excusing him from any such failure that the

Court may find. If the Court determines on the basis of the evidence

presented that Sato did fail to properly exhaust his administrative

remedies and that he is not entitled to equitable relief therefrom, Sato’s

claims would be dismissed accordingly. If, however, the Court does

not so determine and Sato is allowed to pursue his claims against

Defendant, Defendant requests that the subsequent jury trial be limited

to conduct which occurred on or after November 21, 1991.

A-35

The Civil Rights Act of 1991 (the “Act”) went into effect on

November 21, 1991. In Landgraf v. USI Film Products, 511 U.S. 244,

114S.Ct. 1483, 1508 (1994), the Supreme Court held that Section 102

of the Act, which allows Title VII plaintiffs to seek compensatory and

punitive damages and provides them with the nght to a jury trial when

they seek such damages, does not have retroactive effect. Prior to the

enactment of the Act, “Title VII afforded only ‘equitable’ remedies[,”]

primarily in the form of backpay, and no right to a jury trial existed.

Id. at 1490.

Accordingly, Defendant's Motion for Partial Summary

Judgment Regarding Limitation as to a Jury Trial is GRANTED to the

extent that Plaintiffs are entitled to a jury trial only with respect to

claims of discrimination arising out of conduct that occurred on or

after November 21, 1991.

C. Nakamura

Due to the vague nature of the complaint filed with the Court,

Plaintiffs’ counsel was asked at the January 27, 1997 hearing to specify

the nature and extent of Nakamura’s claims. Plaintiffs’ counsel

indicated that Nakamura has three claims: (1) discrimination based on

his Japanese ancestry for events that occurred prior to April 1993; (2)

a retaliation complaint for events occurring between April and

September 1993 stemméng from his involvement in instigating the

National Park Service’s investigation of possible Title VII violations

at the Park by Puu; and (3) a second retaliation complaint for incidents

that took place after his return to the Park in March 1994 up through

and including his termination in September 1994.

A-36

7 Racial Discrimination Clai

Plaintiffs have not identified for the Court any evidence of

incidents occurring prior to April 1993 that indicate that Nakamura

was discriminated against on the grounds of race. Mr. Nakamura’s

pleadings all appear to center around his belief that he was retaliated

against by his co-workers and supervisors as a result of exposing Puu’s

alleged racial and sexual harassment of others.

In his Informal Complaint Regarding Sexual/Racial

Harassment dated December 2, 1993, he states that he is a “third party

complainant on a racial discrimination and harassment charges

against Mr. David Puu.” December 2, 1993 Complaint, attached as

Exhibit M to Plaintiff's Opposition to Motion to Dismiss. Nakamura

brought the informal complaint on behalf of Sato and Francis Silva,

neither of whom signed the complaint. He further states in the

complaint that “[t}here are other employees (former and current) that

have informed me that Mr. Puu had been racially abusive or otherwise

very insulting to their sex, work efforts, or intelligence.” Jd.

Although Nakamura’s informal complaint contains several

allegations that Puu racially and sexually harassed a number of other

employees, not once does Nakamura claim in his complaint that he was

subjected to racial discrimination himself during this period. The sole

item in the record that the Court has been able to find with respect to

a racial harassment claim by Nakamura, is an incomplete and vague

allegation contained in a written statement of Nakamura dated

November 26, 1993 (“Nakamura Statement”), that “Mr. Puu has

racially harassed me by calling one of my family member a

(Blank appears in original). Plaintiff's Opposition to Motion to

A-37

Dismiss at Exhibit L. The record is unclear as to whether the

Nakamura Statement was ever submitted as a complaint, but it appears

to be a prior version of the December 2, 1993 Complaint filed the

following week.

There is ample evidence in the record indicating that Puu may

have racially harassed and discriminated against certain Park

employees, including Sato. With nothing more than an alleged

unspecified racial comment directed at a family member, however,

Nakamura has not presented the Court with enough evidence to sustain

an individual claim of racial discrimination. See Meritor Savings

Bank, FSB v. Vinson, 477 U.S. 57, 67 (1986) (“‘mere utterance of an

ethnic or racial epithet which engenders offensive feelings in an

employee would not affect the conditions of employment to

sufficiently significant degree to violate Title VIII’’) (citing Rocers v.

EEOC, 454 F.2d 234, 238 (Sth Cir. 1971), cert. denied, 406 U.S. 957

(1972)).

Even assuming there was sufficient evidence of racial

discrimination against Nakamura prior to April 1993, he would also be

barred from bringing this claim due to the Informal Resolution

Agreement he entered into with the Park on February 15, 1994 which

covered all of Nakamura’s previous complaints. Accordingly, the

Court GRANTS IN PART Defendant’s motions for summary judgment

with respect to Nakamura’s racial discrimination claim.

A-38

> Retaliation Claim f 1s 99

Incidents

The second claim Nakamura brings is based on retaliation he

allegedly suffered during the period from April to September 1993

stemming from his involvement in triggering the aforementioned NPS

Investigation. Defendant contends that Nakamura is barred from

bringing this claim due to an Informal Resolution Agreement he

entered into with the NPS in February 1994. Nakamura asserts that

Defendant committed a material breach of that agreement, entitling

him to revive this claim.

On November 18, 1993, Nakamura submitted a written

informal complaint and sought counseling with a Park EEO Counselor

concerning racial and sexual harassment of Park employees by Puu and

apparently because of harassment he endured in attempting to expose

these alleged violations. Plaintiffs’ Opposition to Motion to Dismiss

at Exhibit K. This led to his filing, on December 2, 1993, an Informal

Complaint Regarding Sexual/Racial Harassment with the Park

Superintendent covering these same allegations. As a result of these

complaints, Nakamura and the NPS entered into an Informal

Resolution Agreement of Informal Discrimination Complaint by Enc

K. Nakamura dated February 14, 1994 (the “Resolution Agreement”).

Plaintiffs’ Opposition to Motion to Dismiss at Exhibit N.

The Resolution Agreement agreed to all of Nakamura’s

demands in his Informal Complaint and provided him with additional

consideration. Pursuant to the Resolution Agreement, the Park Service

agreed to counsel Puu regarding racial and sexual harassment, remove

him from the Maintenance Division and place him in a non-

A-39

supervisory position until his retirement, return Nakamura to his

previous temporary position for the duration of Fiscal Year 1994, pay

Nakamura a cash settlement of $4,000 and reinstate 153 hours of

annual leave, and to not retaliate against Nakamura for having filed

this complaint.

The agreement is authorized and governed by 29 C.F.R. Part

1614. Section 1614.603 provides that

“feJach agency shall make reasonable efforts to

voluntarily settle complaints of discrimination as

early as possible in, and throughout, the

administrative processing of complaints, including the

pre-complaint counseling stage. Any settlement

reached shall be in writing and signed by both parties

and shall identify the allegations resolved.”

Section 1614.504 governs compliance with the Resolution

Agreement and sets forth the proper procedures a complainant must

follow to allege breach on the part of the agency. Section 1614.504(a)

provides, in pertinent part:

If the complainant believes that the agency

has failed to comply with the terms of a

settlement agreement or final decision, the

complainant shall notify the EEO Director, in

writing, of the alleged noncompliance within

30 days of when the complainant knew or

should have known of the alleged

noncompliance. The complainant may

A-40

|

:

:

request that the terms of settlement agreement

be specifically implemented or, alternatively,

that the complaint be reinstated for further

processing from the point processing ceased.

The Informal Agreement itself reiterates the need to file a written

notice of noncompliance within 30 calendar days of the date

Nakamura became aware of the noncompliance.

Nakamura claims that the Park’s failure to credit his 153 hours

of annual leave by March 20, 1994, the date by which all action in the

agreement was to occur, constitutes a breach of the agreement by the

Park and allows him to reinstate his original complaint. Defendant

asserts that the annual leave hours were simply not input into the NPS

computer by the deadline due to a clerical error in the Denver office

where such inputting takes place. Defendant claims that such a failure

to input these hours does not constitute a material breach of the

agreement as the hours were available to Nakamura if he had merely

gone to Superintendent Reeser, the individual specified in the

agreement as responsible for fulfilling the Park’s obligations

thereunder, and requested them. Once the Park became aware of the

oversight by way of Nakamura’s May 22, 1994 complaint on the

matter, it took prompt action and the hours were input into the system

by June 3, 1994.

The Court agrees with Defendant that given the circumstances

and the Park’s prompt remedial action once Nakamura notified it of the

problem, the mere failure to input these hours into the computer does

not appear to constitute a material breach of the agreement. Even

assuming there had been a material breach, however, Plaintiff would

A-41

be barred from bringing his claim here because he failed to fully

exhaust his administrative remedies pursuant to 29 C.F.R. 1614.504.

Because Nakamura became aware of the Park’s failure to input

his leave into the payroll computer on April 9, 1994, his May 22, 1994

complaint regarding the alleged breach did not meet the

aforementioned 30-day deadline for filing a written complaint.

Plaintiff's Concise Statement in Opposition to Motion for Summary

Judgment re: Resolution Agreement at 4 12. Nakamura claims that he

orally notified EEO Counselor Nagata about the matter upon becoming

aware of it on April 9 and that Nagata promised to investigate. /d. It

was only upon Nakamurals return to work on May 16, 1994 that he

realized that Nagata had not resolved the matter and he filed a written

complaint six days later. Jd.

Even assuming Nakamura is entitled to have his failure to meet

the 30-day deadline for filing a wntten complaint equitably tolled

based on Nagata’s alleged promise to investigate, he still would not

have fully complied with the requirements of Section 1614.504. A June

6, 1994 letter to Nakamura from Mary Kline, the Park Service’s Lead

EEO Counselor for the Western Region, informed him that his leave

had been input into the system, but that if he still desired to pursue

reopening his case, he had to send the letter to the Park Service’s

Washington office and follow the rest of Section 1614.504’s

requirements, which she attached to the letter. Defendant’s Motion for

Summary Judgment re: Resolution Agreement at Exhibit C.

A June 6, 1994 letter from the Park’s EEO Counselor Melia

Lane-Hamasaki informed Nakamura’s counsel that a copy of counsel’s

May 31, 1994 letter regarding reinstatement of Nakamura’s informal

A-42

complaint and alleging breach of the Resolution Agreement was being

forwarded to the NPS Washington office. Plaintiffs’ Opposition to

Motion to Dismiss at Exhibit T. Apparently, Nakamura also filed an

official informal complaint with NPS regarding retaliation and the

alleged breach of the agreement due to failure to credit him annual

leave on June 1, 1994, though the date of the complaint is illegible on

the copy submitted to the Court and it is unclear where this complaint

was sent. Plaintiffs’ Opposition to motion for Summary Judgement re:

Resolution Agreement at 8; Exhibit K to Concise Statement attached

thereto.

Again, even assuming that the above facts could establish that

Nakamura had met the appropriate 30-day deadline for filing his

complaint of breach with NPS, he failed to file the required written

appeal with the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

(“EEOC”), and is therefore barred from bringing a claim of breach

before this Court for failure to exhaust his administrative remedies. If

Nakamura was not satisfied with the Park Service’s resolution of his

breach allegation, he needed to appeal that agency’s action to the

EEOC.

If the agency has not responded to the complainant, in

writing, or if the complainant is not satisfied with the

agency’s attempt to resolve the matter, the

complainant may appeal to the Commission for a

determination as to whether the agency has complied

with the terms of the settlement agreement or final

decision. The complainant may file such an appeal 35

days after he or she has served the agency with the

allegations of noncompliance, but must file an appeal

A-43

within 30 days of his or her receipt of an agency’s

determination. The complainant must serve a copy of

the appeal on the agency and the agency may submit

a response to the Commission within 30 days of

receiving notice of the appeal.

29 C.F.R. 1614.504(b).

There is no evidence that Nakamura ever filed such an appeal

to the EEOC indicating that it was unhappy with the Park’s resolution

of the matter by finally crediting him with the additional hours on the

computer. A plaintiff may not cut short the administrative process

prior to its final disposition, “for upon abandonment a claimant fails to

exhaust administrative relief and may not thereafter seek redress from

the courts.” Greenlaw v. Garrett, 59 F.3d 994, 997 (9th Cir. 1995).

Nakamura did not exhaust his administrative remedies pursuant to

Section 1614.504, therefore he is not entitled to bring this claim before

the Court. See Lee v. United States, 33 Cl. Ct. 374, 380 (1995); Davis

v. Secretary of Treasury, Internal Revenue Serv. , 896 F. Supp. 978,

981 (N.D. Cal. 1995).

Defendant’s motions for summary judgment are GRANTED

IN PART with respect to Nakamura’s retaliation claim for incidents

occurring between April and September 1993.

A-44

ee i eae Mth tte en

hw i ing el

Incidents

Nakamura’s final claim is for alleged retaliatory events that

occurred following his return to work on March 20, 1994 up through

and including his termination on September 30, 1994. In its September

10, 1996 Order Denying Defendant’s Motion for Summary Judgment,

the Court held that Nakamura had established a prima facie case of

retaliation for incidents that occurred during this time period. The

Court also held that this claim was not barred by any resolution

agreements nor by any alleged failure by Nakamura to exhaust his

administrative remedies. Defendant has not presented any new

evidence or arguments that persuade the Court that its prior decision

was in error.

The Court also rejects Defendant’s request for a pre-trial

evidentiary hearing on the issues of retaliation by co-workers,

employment termination, and whether Defendant implemented

appropriate remedial measures. The Ninth Circuit has held that

“[o}nce a prima facie case is established. ..summary

judgment for the defendant will ordinarily not be

appropriate on any ground relating to the merits

because the crux of a Title VII dispute is the elusive

factual question of intentional discrimination.”

Warren v. City of Carlsbad, 58 F.3d 439, 443 (9th Cir.

1995), cert. denied, ____ ==» U'S.__, 116 S.Ct. 1261

(1996) (citations omitted). Once a plaintiff has set

forth a prima facie case of retaliation as well as a

A-45

genuine issue of fact as to pretext, which the Court

already has decided that Nakamura has done, the

district court does not hear and weigh the evidence to

decide whether a defendant violated Title VII. That

task is within the province of the jury.

The Court is also not persuaded by Defendant's argument that

Nakamura is precluded from bringing his employment termination

based on retaliation claim because he did not amend his EEO

complaint to include that claim. The Ninth Circuit has stated that

district courts may hear claims from events occurring after the filing

of an EEO charge, so long as they are “like or reasonably related to”

the conduct complained of in the charge. Sosa v. Hiraoka, 920 F.2d

1451, 1456 (9th Cir. 1990). Nakamura’s EEO complaints alleged that

he was being retaliated against by his supervisors and co-workers

because of his activity in exposing Puu’s conduct. The Court does not

agree with Defendant that Nakamura needed to file an additional EEO

complaint regarding his alleged retaliatory termination, when he had

already complained of adverse employment actions against him based

on retaliation.

Defendant has characterized Nakamura’ s retaliation complaint

as stemming from his mere receipt of the “cold-shoulder” from his co-

workers. Nakamura has offered evidence that the conduct of his co-

workers upon his return to work rose beyond a mere failure to extend

friendly overtures. He has alleged that his co-workers behaved

towards him in a manner that interfered with his ability to perform his

job. See January 7, 1997 Nakamura Affidavit (“Second Nakamura

Aff.”), attached as Exhibit E to Plaintiff's Concise Statement in

A-46

opposition to Defendant’s Motion for Summary Judgment Re:

Retaliation Claim, at ¥J 4-20.

As stated in the Court’s previous order, if Nakamura can prove

at trial that the conduct of his co-workers and supervisors created a

hostile work environment that led to his stress leave, that would

constitute an adverse employment action within the ambit of Title VII.

See Strother v. Southern California Permanente Medical Group, 79

F.3d 859, 869 (9th Cir. 1996). Although it is not disputed that

Defendant attempted remedial measures to stem any retaliation against

Nakamura by his co-workers, the Ninth Circuit has repeatedly held that

“an employer’s actions will not necessarily shield it from liability if

harassment continues.” Fuller v. City of Oakland, 47 F.3d 1522, 1529

(9th Cir. 1995) (citation omitted).

For the reasons set forth above and in the Court’s September

10, 1996 order, Defendant’s motions for summary judgment are

DENIED with respect to Nakamura’s retaliation claim following his

return to work in March 1994.

CONCLUSION

In accordance with the foregoing, it is HEREBY ORDERED that:

1. Defendant’s Motion to Dismiss Regarding Failure to

Exhaust Administrative Remedies is DENIED.

2. Defendant's Motion for Rule 43(e) Hearing Re:

A-47

Equitable Estoppel; the Informal Resolution Agreement; Employment

Termination 1s GRANTED IN PART. The Court will hold an

evidentiary hearing limited to Defendant's motion for summary

judgment as to Sato’s claims based on his alleged failure to exhaust

administrative remedies.

3. Defendant's Motion for Summary Judgment

Regarding Informal Resolution Agreement is GRANTED IN PART

with respect to Nakamura’s racial discrimination claim and his April

to September 1993 retaliation claim.

4. Defendant's Motion for Summary Judgment

Regarding Plaintiff Nakamura’s Retaliation Claim is DENIED.

5. Defendant's Motion for Partial Summary Judgment

Based Upon Appropriate Employer Remedial Measures is DENIED.

6. Defendant's Motion for Partial Summary Judgment

Regarding Limitation as to a Jury Trial is GRANTED to the extent that

Plaintiffs are entitled to a jury trial only with respect to claims of

discrimination arising out of conduct that occurred on or after

November 21, 1991.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

A-48

ERIC K. NAKAMURA, et al., Plaintiff,

BRUCE BABBITT, in his official capacity as Secretary of the

United States Department of the Interior, Defendant.

Civ. No. 95-00243 HG

United States District Court

District of Hawaii

October 30, 1997

ORDER GRANTING DEFENDANT’S RULE 12(h)(3)

MOTION TO DISMISS, GRANTING DEFENDANT’S

RENEWED RULE 50 MOTION FOR JUDGMENT AS A

MATTER OF LAW, DENYING PLAINTIFF’S MOTION FOR

JUDGMENT AS A MATTER OF LAW AS TO CLAIMS ONE

AND THREE, DENYING PLAINTIFF’S MOTION FOR

ORDER GRANTING BACK PAY, REINSTATEMENT, OR,

ALTERNATIVELY, FRONT PAY, AND DENYING

PLAINTIFF’S MOTION FOR ORDER GRANTING AN

AWARD OF ATTORNEY’S FEES AND COSTS OF

LITIGATION

Plaintiff Eric K. Nakamura (“Plaintiff”) is a former temporary

maintenance employee at Haleakala National Park (the “Park”’), who

was terminated in September 1994. Plaintiff filed a Title VII

complaint against defendant Bruce Babbitt, in his official capacity as

A-49

Secretary of the United States Department of the Interior

(“Defendant”), alleging various claims of retaliatory treatment by Park

co-workers and supervisors stemming from Plaintiff s involvement in

certain protected equal employment opportunity (“EEO”) activities.

After the pre-trial dismissals of two co-plaintiffs and all but three of

Plaintiff's claims, Plaintiff's remaining claims of retaliation by

refusing to grant requested leave status for one-half day (“Claim

One”), terminating Plaintiff (“Claim Two”), and failure to stop

Plaintiff's co-workers from creating a hostile work environment

(“Claim Three”) were tried before a jury, commencing on June 3,

1997. On June 24, 1997, the jury returned a verdict in favor of

Defendant on Claims One and Three, and in favor of Plaintiff on Claim

Two. The jury awarded Plaintiff $30,000 in compensatory damages

with respect to Claim Two.

On June 24, 1997, the Court ordered the parties to submit all

post-trial motions within ten days. Presently before the Court are five

post-trial motions submitted by the parties on July 7, 1997 in

accordance with the Court's instruction.

STATEMENT OF FACTS*

In 1989, Plaintiff began working at the Park as a temporary

maintenance worker. In April 1993, Plaintiff and several of his

co-workers contacted a member of Congress and lodged numerous

‘For a more complete statement of the factual and procedural history

of this case, please see the Court’s orders of September 10, 1996,

February 20, 1997, and June 2, 1997.

A-50

complaints, including claims of racial and sexual harassment, against

a supervisor in the Park’s Maintenance Division, David Puu (“Puu”’).

At the Congress member’s request, the National Park Service (“NPS”)

sent a team of NPS officials to the Park to investigate Plaintiff's

complaints. The investigators issued a report concluding that Puu had

exhibited abusive behavior toward maintenance employees on many

occasions, including the use of racist remarks, but that there was no

evidence of such conduct on the part of other supervisors. The report

directed Park officials to make human resource management a top

priority, and steps were taken to improve EEO training and

communications at the Park.

At the end of September 1993, Plaintiff requested that he be

allowed to take time off from his temporary position due to stress, and

Park officials authorized Plaintiff to go on intermittent status. Plaintiff

remained off work until March 20, 1994. During this period that

Plaintiff was away from the Park on intermittent status, he filed two

EEO complaints with the NPS.

In November 1993, Plaintiff lodged an EEO complaint

alleging that Puu had engaged in sexual and racial harassment of some

of Plaintiff’ s co-workers, and claiming that Plaintiff had been harassed

for his involvement in generating the NPS investigation. Plaintiff's

EEO complaint was resolved via an informal resolution agreement

between Plaintif f and the Park. The Park agreed to transfer Puu out

of the maintenance division and place him in a non-supervisory

capacity until his upcoming retirement. The informal resolution

agreement also provided that Plaintiff was to return to work on March

20, 1994 to his previous temporary position for the duration of fiscal

year 1994.

A-51

Pnor to Plaintiff's return to work, the new chief of the

maintenance division, Pedro Lucero (“Lucero”), held a meeting to

ensure that Plaintiff's co-workers in the maintenance division

understood that management was welcoming Plaintiff's return to the

understaffed maintenance division. Lucero was a career NPS

employee who was transferred from another National Park into

Haleakala National Park during the time Plaintiff was on intermittent

status. Lucero informed the maintenance employees that they were to

put the past behind them and start a new beginning as a team. Some

of Plaintiff's fellow maintenance employees had worked with Puu for

many years and were upset about Puu’s removal from the maintenance

division. Plaintiff's fellow maintenance workers Elizabeth Havelin

(“Havelin”), Bob Kokubun, and Jesse Mercado (“Mercado”) testified

at trial that they did not agree with some of Plaintiff's allegations

against Puu and disapproved of Plaintiff's activities that led to Puu’s

removal. At the meeting held by Lucero prior to Plaintiff's return to

work, Mercado made comments regarding his concerns about the

possible ramifications of Plaintiff's return to work and stated that he

did not want to work with Plaintiff. Maintenance employees were

warned that acts of reprisal would not be tolerated and that appropriate

management actions would be taken if inappropriate behavior

occurred.

After Plaintiff was informed of Mercado’s comments at the

meeting, Plaintiff lodged an EEO complaint in response to Mercado’s

comments on approximately February 19, 1994. At Plaintiff's request,

Lucero held another meeting with both Mercado and Plaintiff, where

he allowed them to air any differences and Lucero reaffirmed

management’s expectations of professional attitudes and work

behavior. Lucero also issued two memoranda to all maintenance

A-52

employees reiterating that professionalism must be maintained at all

times and that reprisal actions would not be tolerated. Plaintiff and the

Park entered into a second informal resolution agreement documenting

the above actions in response to Plaintiff's second EEO complaint.

Plaintiff returned to his temporary maintenance position at the

Park on March 20, 1994. After two months back on the job, Plaintiff

requested and was granted leave for stress on May 19, 1994. Plaintiff

did not return to work until May 26, 1994. On the morning of May

26th, Plaintiff approached Lucero to complain that the Jet Johns were

not pumped out when Plaintiff was off on leave. Lucero told Plaintiff

not to worry about it and that Lucero would have it done the following

day, which was Plaintiff's day off. Plaintiff became upset because he

felt that his co-workers were deliberately refusing to cover for Plaintiff

while he was on leave. Plaintiff kicked a NPS vehicle, drove away,

and did not finish his shift. Lucero disapproved a leave slip submitted

by Plaintiff for the hours that he missed that day, and noted on the slip

that Plaintiff left without authority when he was needed at work.

Plaintiff claimed that the acting Park superintendent gave him

permission to leave work that day.

Plaintiff did not return to work at the Park after May 26, 1994

and requested leave from work due to occupational stress. All of

Plaintiff’ s subsequent requests for leave after May 26th were approved.

On August 2, 1994, Plaintiff completed an application for leave

requesting indefinite leave without pay until further notice by Plaintiff.

On September 9, 1994, Lucero notified Plaintiff that he would be

terminated effective September 30, 1994, due to the Park’s inability to

fund Plaintiff's temporary maintenance position for fiscal year 1995.

A-53

Defendant presented testimonial and documentary evidence

that, in preparing the proposed maintenance division budget for fiscal

year 1995 in September 1994, Lucero was operating under a number

of budgetary constraints. The Park was operating in anticipation that

a continuing resolution of Congress would go into effect on October

1, 1994 that would freeze federal agency expenditures at 1994 fiscal

year levels. Lucero testified that he was told to anticipate a further

reduction of $50,000 from the maintenance division budget due to the

early retirement buyout of Puu. The Park received memoranda from

NPS headquarters indicating that, for every employee that opted for

early retirement, the salary and benefits from that position would be

lost unless the position was filled by a transfer from a central NPS

office. These requirements were set forth in the buyout bill signed by

the President, the goal of which was to help the federal government

meet its goal of cutting approximately 252,000 federal employees.

Evidence was presented that Lucero had to operate under this reduced

budgetary figure despite the May 1994 transfer to the maintenance

division of a permanent sanitation employee from another National

Park, Donald Perkey (““Perkey”), and other cost increases.

Defendant presented testimonial and documentary evidence

that the budgetary figure Lucero was given to work with meant that a

total of three temporary employee positions would have to be

eliminated in fiscal year 1995. Bryan Harry (“Harry”), the NPS Pacific

Area Director in 1994, testified that when funds are short, temporary -

employees must be discharged prior to permanent employees pursuant

to federal civil service regulations, and that terminations of temporary

employees for lack of funds was not unusual. Park Superintendent

Donald Reeser (“Reeser”) testified that numerous temporary

employees were let go by the Park between 1988 and 1994 for

A-54

financial reasons. Lucero decided to terminate Plaintiff, Havelin, and

Jimmy Korn (“Korn”), and all three received termination letters.

Lucero testified that he used the little money he had in the

budget for temporary employees to keep Havelin and Kom on the

payroll for the first four pay periods in fiscal year 1995. He testified

that Plaintiff was not kept on the payroll at the beginning of fiscal year

1995 like Korn and Havelin, because Plaintiff was still out on

indefinite requested stress leave and had not indicated that he was able

to return to work. Plaintiff was terminated effective September 30,

1994. Lucero testified that the scheduled November 1994 terminations

of Korn and Havelin did not take place because the Park received

notice in November that the expected loss of $50,000 from Puu’s

buyout did not occur because NPS headquarters failed to record the

buyout. Lucero and Reeser both testified that the temporary

maintenance position held by Plaintiff has not been filled since his

termination because they have never had the funds to do so.

Plaintiff disputed Defendant’s budgetary explanation for

terminating Plaintiff through cross-examination of Defendant’s

witnesses, and by calling as a witness Audrey Cordeiro (“Cordeiro”’),

who was a Park administrative assistant during 1993 and 1994 whose

responsibilities included handling of budgetary and financial matters.

Cordeiro testified as a lay witness who was familiar with general Park

budgetary matters, but she was on maternity leave from approximately

October 1994 though June or July 1995 and-did not provide any

testimony specifically related to the 1995 fiscal year budget. Cordeiro

testified that she learned that, at times, monies had been shifted

between Park divisions, but that she could not recall any specific

instance of a shift of monies between divisions from 1990 to October

A-55

1994. Cordeiro also testified that she was not sure if Plaintiff was

replaced after he was terminated.

Between November 1993 and January 1995, Plaintiff filed

three formal and several informal EEO complaints with the NPS

involving claims of retaliatory treatment by Plaintiff's co-workers and

supervisors. After considering the evidence presented at trial, the jury

found that Plaintiff’ s co-workers did not subject Plaintiff to an abusive

or hostile work environment. The jury also found that Defendant’s

decision not to give Plaintiff requested leave status for a half day on

May 26, 1994, after Plaintiff left work without Lucero’s permission,

did not result from retaliation by Defendant for Plaintiff's EEO

activities. The jury did find, however, that Plaintiff was terminated by

the Park in retaliation for having engaged in protected activities. None

of the EEO complaints submitted by Plaintiff to the NPS contained an

allegation that he was terminated from his temporary position in

retaliation for having engaged in Protected activities. The sole EEO

complaint filed by Plaintiff after his termination, dated January 24,

1995, involved a yearly performance evaluation and was resolved by

Defendant’s withdrawal of the challenged evaluation.

ANALYSIS

1. DEFENDANT’S RULE 12(h)(3) MOTION TO DISMISS

On July 7, 1997, Defendant lodged a Rule 12(h)(3) Motion to

Dismiss (“Defendant’s Motion to Dismiss”) along with an Ex Parte

Motion to Shorten Time to Hear Defendant’s Rule 12 (h)(3) Motion to

Dismiss (“Defendant’s Ex Parte Motion’’). On July 17, 1997, Plaintiff

filed a Memorandum of Law in Opposition to Defendant’s Rule

A-56

12(h)(3) Motion to Dismiss (“Plaintiff's Opposition to Defendant's

Motion to Dismiss”) . On July 28, 1997, Defendant filed a Reply to

Plaintiff's Opposition to Rule 12(h)(3) Motion to Dismiss. On

September 10, 1997, the Court denied Defendant’s Ex Parte Motion

and indicated it would rule on Defendant’s Motion to Dismiss without

a hearing, pursuant to Local Rule 220-2(d). For the reasons set forth

below, Defendant’s Motion to Dismiss is GRANTED.

Defendant moves the Court for an order setting aside the jury’s

verdict on Plaintiff's claim of retaliatory employment termination, due

to the Court’s lack of subject matter jurisdiction over that claim

stemming from Plaintiff's failure to include that claim in his EEO

complaints filed with the NPS. Defendant’s Motion to Dismiss is

based on Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(h)(3) , which permits dismissal of an

action or claim at any time when it appears that the Court lacks

jurisdiction over the subject matter thereof. Defendant’s Motion is

properly before the Court because “[i]t is elementary that the subject

matter jurisdiction of the district court is not a waivable matter and

may be raised at anytime by one of the parties, by motion or in the

responsive pleadings, or sua sponte by the trial or reviewing court."

Emrich v. Touche Ross & Company 846 F.2d 1190, 1194 n.2 (9th Cir.

1988) (citations omitted); see also Carlislev. U.S.,__U.S.__, 116

S. Ct. 1460, 1470 (1996) (Ginsburg, J., concurring) (defining “subject

matter jurisdiction” as the “authority [of the court] to adjudicate the

type of controversy involved in the action”; quoting Restatement

(Second) of Judgments § 11 (1982)).

Defendant raised the jurisdictional issue with respect to

Plaintiff's failure to include a claim of retaliatory termination in any

of his EEO complaints submitted to the NPS twice before, in

A-57

Defendant’s Motion for Summary Judgment, filed February 12, 1996,

and in Defendant’s Motion for Summary Judgment Regarding Plaintiff

Nakamura’s Retaliation Claim, filed December 12, 1996. In an order

filed on February 20, 1997, which involved six separate pre-trial

motions filed by Defendant, the Court stated that Plaintiff's failure to

file a separate EEO complaint for retaliatory termination, or to amend

his previous complaints to include that claim, did not preclude Plaintiff

from pursuing his termination based on retaliation claim in this Court.

(February 20, 1997 Order at 25.)

The Court based its February 20, 1997 holding on the Ninth

Circuit’s holding in Sosa v. Hiraoka, 920 F.2d 1451 (9th Cir. 1990),

that federal courts have jurisdiction to hear incidents of discrimination

not included in an EEO charge if they are “‘like or reasonably related

to the allegations contained in the EEOC charge.’” Sosa, 920 F.2d at

1456 (quoting Green v. Los Angeles County Superintendent of Schools,

883 F.2d 1472, 1475-76 (9th Cir.1989)) (further citation omitted). In

an abundance of caution based upon the complex and confusing factual

allegations in the record before the Court and a liberal interpretation of

Plaintiff's EEO complaints, the Court did not dismiss Plaintiff's

retaliatory termination claim at that time. /d. Defendant requests that

the Court revisit its February 20, 1997 ruling because the jury trial on

Plaintiff's claims “sheds light on the factual issues surrounding the

jurisdictional issue.” (Defendant’s Motion to Dismiss at 2.)

The Ninth Circuit has indicated that:

[t]o establish federal subject matter jurisdiction, a

plaintiff must exhaust his administrative remedies

before filing a federal complaint. As we have

A-58

expiained, “‘[t]he jurisdictional scope of a Title VII

claimant’s court action depends upon the scope of

both the EEOC charge and the EEOC investigation.’”

[A] district court [has jurisdiction over a claim not

specified in the EEOC charge] if “that claim fell

within the scope of the EEOC’s actual investigation or

an EEOC investigation which [could] reasonably be

expected to grow out of the charge of discrimination.”

Paige v. State of California, 102 F.3d 1035, 1041 (1996) (citing EEOC

v. Farmer Bros. Co., 31 F. 3d 891, 899 (9th Cir. 1994) (quoting Sosa,

920 F.2d at 1456) (further citation omitted)) In Brown v. Pugent

Sound Elec. Apprenticeship & Training Trust, 732 F.2d 726, 730 (9th

Cir. 1984), the Ninth Circuit held that:

[w]here claims are not so closely related that agency

acticn would be redundant, the EEOC must be

afforded an opportunity to consider disputes before

federal suits are initiated. Bypassing the

administrative process under such circumstances

frustrates the policy of encouraging informal

conciliation and fostering voluntary compliance with

Title VII.

After careful consideration of all of the documents and other

evidence presented to this Court prior to and during trial, it is apparent

that this Court did not have jurisdiction over Plaintiff's termination

claim due to Plaintiff's failure to present that claim to the NPS despite

his representation by counsel, his familiarity with the EEO process,

and his filing of an EEO complaint after his termination which did not

A-59

raise a claim regarding (or even mention) his termination. Plaintiff did

not produce any evidence, either in response to Defendant’s motions

or at tral, that he presented his claim of termination based on

retaliation in any of the three formal EEO complaints and other

numerous informal complaints that he submitted to the NPS. Plaintiff

does not assert that he did raise his claim of retaliatory termination

administratively. Plaintiff simply relies on Sosa and contends that:

it is clear that having alleged co-worker and

supervisory retaliation, Plaintiff was under no duty to

amend his prior complaint and allege retaliatory

termination, as such an adverse employment action

was “like or reasonably related to[’] the co-worker

and supervisory retaliation which he suffered after

February 1994.

(Plaintiffs Opposition to Defendant’s Motion to Dismiss at 3.)

Applying the requisite inquiry set forth by Paige and Sosa,

however, it is clear that Plaintiff is not entitled to raise his claim of

retaliatory termination, which was not brought to the attention of the

NPS, to seek judicial relief in this Court. Plaintiff's EEO complaints

did not include a charge of retaliatory termination of Plaintiff (or any

charge with respect to Plaintiffs termination), the EEO investigation

did not include such a charge, and such a charge would not have

reasonably been included in the investigation.

None of the formal or informal complaints submitted by

Plaintiff to the EEO officers of the Park or the NPS included any

mention of Plaintiff's termination, or his belief that he had been

A-60

LL

terminated in retaliation for his engagement in protected activities.

(See Defendant’s Motion to Dismiss at Exhs. A-F, I.) Evidence

presented to the Court by Plaintiff himself indicates that the EEO

investigation conducted by the NPS with respect to Plaintiff's claims

never included any inquiry into Plaintiffs September 1994

termination. Attached as an exhibit to one of Plaintiff's memoranda,

is a letter from the EEO Director of the Department of the Interior to

Plaintiff's counsel that describes the allegations contained in Plaintiff's

EEO complaints that had been identified by the agency for processing.

(See Plaintiffs Memorandum in Opposition to Defendant Bruce

Babbitt’s Motion to Dismiss Regarding Failure to Exhaust

Administrative Remedies, filed January 9, 1997, at Exh. W.) This letter

indicates that the agency did not investigate any claims by Plaintiff of

retaliatory termination, but was limited to the following allegations

made in Plaintiff's EEO complaints:

FNP-94-104

Mr. Nakamura was discriminated against on the basis

of reprisal when he filed an informal complaint as a

third party when he was bothered by statements from

coworkers regarding the sexual and racial harassment

by a Maintenance Supervisor at Haleakala National

Park. (December 2, 1993)

FN. 94 -125

Mr. Nakamura was discriminated against on the basis

of reprisal when he received a harassing telephone

call from Chief of Maintenance, who threatened to

A-61

place him on absent without leave status (AWOL). :

(May 26, 1994)

FNP-95-073

Mr. Nakamura was discriminated against on the basis

of reprisal when he received an unfair performance

appraisal from a supervisor who was allegedly

smoking marijuana. (September 16, 1994)

Id.

Plaintiff did not allege or present any evidence that he

attempted to amend any of his EEO complaints to raise a claim of

retaliatory discharge, despite Plaintiff's ample opportunity to make

such an amendment. The final EEO complaint submitted by Plaintiff

to the agency, containing the allegation that Plaintiff was retaliated

against on September 16, 1994 when he received an unfair

performance appraisal, is dated January 24, 1995. (Defendant's Motion

to Dismiss at Exh. D.) This final complaint was not submitted until

approximately three months after Plaintiff s termination on September

30, 1994, and it is limited to a performance evaluation Plaintiff

received after the September 9, 1994 termination notification and an

allegation that his evaluating supervisor had been using drugs on the

job. (/d.) Although Plaintiff's January 24, 1995 complaint mentioned

that other employees had been terminated or left the Park, Plaintiff did

not mention his own termination let alone inform the agency that he

believed his termination resulted from unlawful retaliation.

A-62

In light of Plaintiff's failure to present his claim of retaliatory

termination to the NPS, despite his filing of an EEO complaint with the

agency after his termination which dealt with events occurring after

Plaintiff had received notice of his termination, the Court holds that

the EEO investigation would not have reasonably included within its

scope such a claim. An investigation of Plaintiff's claims regarding

incidents that occurred while Plaintiff was still employed by the Park,

many of which were resolved informally, would not encompass his

subsequent claim (not raised until he filed this suit) that he was

ultimately terminated because of unlawful retaliation. Green, 883 F.2d

at 1476.

Plaintiff's EEO complaints involved claims of co-worker

harassment and retaliation by his supervisors in failing to grant him

requested leave, placing him on AWOL status, failing to timely credit

him with the annual leave received as part of an informal resolution

agreement, and giving him an unfair performance evaluation.

Plaintiff's claim, first raised in this suit, that he was terminated based

on retaliation is not so similar to his other claims of supervisor and

co-worker retaliation that one would reasonably expect the agency’s

investigation of those claims to include an inquiry into possible

retaliatory motives behind his termination. The agency’s investigation

of the allegations raised in Plaintiff's EEO complaints would also not

make a separate inquiry into his subsequent retaliatory discharge claim

redundant. Plaintiff’s termination was a separate and discrete act that

Plaintiff was obligated to present to the agency in a timely EEO

complaint or by amending his previously filed complaints, if he

believed that his termination was the result of unlawful discrimination.

See Grimes v. City and County of San Francisco, 951 F.2d 236, 238-

39 (9th Cir. 1991) (reaffirming the Ninth Circuit’s view that “the

A-63

continuing violations doctrine does not apply to employee termination

cases’’).

In Ong v. Cleland, 642 F.2d 316 (9th Cir. 1981), the Ninth

Circuit held that a claim of constructive discharge was not reasonably

related to a charge of discrimination in promotion. The Ong court

based its holding on the fact that:

{t]he issue of Ong’s disability retirement and

particularly, whether it was proximately caused by the

agency's promotional decision was not presented

administratively. The agency was therefore not given

the opportunity to consider this issue before initiation

of the Title VII suit. The failure to raise an issue

administratively subverts the procedures and policies

of Title VII and justifies precluding its presentation in

federal court.

Ong, 642 F.2d at 320. The Court holds that, as in Ong, Plaintiff's

failure to raise the termination issue administratively deprived the NPS

of the opportunity to consider this issue and thereby subverted Title

VII's policy of encouraging informal conciliation of employment

discrimination suits. The Court notes that many of the claims Plaintiff

did bring administratively were resolved by way of this informal

conciliation process, including the Park’s invalidation of the

performance appraisal complained of in Plaintiffs January 1995

complaint and its entry into the February and April 1994 informal

resolution agreements with Plaintiff.

A-64

Plaintiff argues that Defendant’s alleged failure to comply with

the 180-day time period for conducting a full investigation of

Plaintiffs numerous EEO complaints, pursuant to 29 C.F.R.

§ 1614.106(d)(2), excuses Plaintiff's failure to file an EEO complaint

alleging retaliatory termination. (Plaintiffs Memorandum in

Opposition to Defendant's Motion to Dismiss at 2.) Plaintiff's

contention is unavailing.

First, the Court notes that Plaintiff's Complaint in this suit

was filed in this Court on March 28, 1995, long before 180 days had

passed since the filing of Plaintiffs final EEO complaint dated

January 24, 1995. Second, the relief Plaintiff seeks does not logically

follow from the conduct alleged. The failure of the NPS to issue a

report within 180 days of the filing of Plaintiff's other EEO complaints

involving separate claims, does not excuse Plaintiff from the

requirement of filing an EEO complaint with respect to his retaliatory

termination claim. As noted above, many of Plaintiffs other EEO

claims were resolved informally within 180 days after they were

brought to the agency’s attention. It would be pure speculation for the

Court to hold that because a final NPS decision was not issued within

180 days of each EEO complaint filed by Plaintiff, that, had Plaintiff

filed an EEO complaint alleging retaliatory termination, the agency

would have failed to fully investigate that claim or file a final decision

within 180 days. This was not a situation where the agency refused to

allow Plaintiff to amend his prior EEO complaints or engaged in

affirmative misconduct to lull Plaintiff into inaction. See, e.g., Albano

v. Schering-Plough Corp., 912 F.2d 384 (9th Cir. 1990). Plaintiff

A-65

simply did not raise his claim of retaliatory termination with the NPS,”

despite his familiarity with the EEO process and representation by

experienced counsel, and thereby deprived the agency of the

opportunity to investigate that claim.

Even if the Court could excuse Plaintiff s failure to present his

retaliatory termination claim to the NPS, the Court finds that Plaintiff

would not be entitled to any equitable relief from this failure. As noted

above, this was not a case where agency misconduct caused Plaintiff

to miss the statutory deadline for filing an EEO complaint of

retaliatory termination. Plaintiff simply failed to present that claim

administratively in any manner, timely or untimely. Moreover, the

Ninth Circuit’s doctrine of liberally cons uing Title VII complaints

and not applying Title VII’s procedural requirements too mechanically

is based, at least in part, on the recognition that laypersons generally

initiate the administrative process for resolving employment

discrimination complaints. Greenlaw v. Garrett, 59 F.3d 994, 999 (9th

Cir. 1995) (citing Ong, 642 F.2d at 319) (additional citations omitted).

Since May 1994, Plaintiff has been represented by an attorney

who has worked on Title VII employment discrimination cases since

the early 1970s. (See Aff. of Clayton C. Ikei, attached to Plaintiff

*See Macy v. Dalton, 853 F. Supp. 350, 357 (E.D. Cal. 1994) (explaining that “{iJn

the context of Title VII, the jurisdictional presentment requirement is met when the

employee/ plaintiff presents her claims to the employer/agency or an appropriate

administrative review body such as the MSPB or EEOC, even if the claims are not

timely presented. However, the presentment requirement is not met and the court

lacks jurisdiction when the plaintiff's claims have never been presented for agency

or administrative review.”) (citations omitted).

A-66

iia iii iil,

Nakamura’s Motion for Order Granting an Award of Attorney’s Fees

and Costs of Litigation, at § § 2-3, 5-6 and Exh. C thereto.) Moreover,

Plaintiff's trial testimony indicated that Plaintiff's counsel played a

role in the composition of Plaintiff's EEO complaints filed with the

agency. Plaintiff's counsel sent the NPS EEO office a letter on May

31, 1994, informing the agency that he was representing Plaintiff with

respect to his retaliation claims against the Park. (Plaintiff's

Memorandum in Opposition to Defendant Bruce Babbitt’s Motion to

Dismiss Regarding Failure to Exhaust Administrative Remedies, filed

January 9, 1997, at Exh. S.) On November 22, 1994, approximately

two months after Plaintiff was terminated, Plaintiffs counsel sent

another letter to the agency requesting consolidation of Plaintiff's two

prior EEO complaints and that the agency issue an immediate decision

thereon, but that letter did not mention Plaintiff's termination or any

allegation of retaliation with respect to his termination. (/d. at Exh. V).

The Court holds that given Plaintiff's representation by

counsel and repeated contact with the agency both before and after his

termination, no reasonable EEO investigation would have included a

claim that Plaintiff's termination was retaliatory because such a claim

was never mentioned, let alone formally presented, by Plaintiff or his

attorney prior to the filing of this suit. Plaintiff's claim of retaliatory

termination is not so closely related to his other claims of retaliation

that agency action in investigating that claim would have been

redundant. Brown, 732 F.2d at 730. The Court finds that Plaintiff is

not entitled to equitable relief for his failure to present his termination

claim to the NPS, and that Plaintiff is precluded from bringing that

claim before this Court.

A-67

In accordance with the foregoing, Defendant’s Motion to

Dismiss is GRANTED. Plaintiffs failure to present his retaliatory

termination claim to the NPS and to exhaust his administrative

remedies with respect to that claim, deprives this Court of subject

matter jurisdiction over that claim. See Paice, 102 F.3d at 1041; Macy,

853 F. Supp. at 356-57; see also Hashimoto v. Dalton, 118 F.3d 671,

678-79 (9th Cir. 1997) (holding that district court did not have

jurisdiction over a discriminatory termination claim not raised

administratively before the Merit Systems Protection Board). The

jury’s verdict on Plaintiff's retaliatory termination claim (Claim Two)

must be set aside because Plaintiff's failure to present that claim

administratively precludes Plaintiff from raising that claim in this

Court.

Il. DEFENDANT’S RENEWED RULE 50 MOTION FOR

JUDGMENT AS A MATTER OF LAW*

On June 17, 1997, the conclusion of Plaintiff's case-in-chief,

Defendant moved for judgment as a matter of law and submitted a

detailed written Rule 50 Motion for Judgment as a Matter of Law

(“Defendant’s Rule 50 Motion”). Defendant asserted in his Rule 50

Motion that, inter alia, Plaintiff had failed to offer evidence legally

sufficient for a jury to find that Defendant’s proffered budgetary

reason for terminating Plaintiff was a pretext for retaliation against

Plaintiff due to his EEO activities. (Defendant’s Rule 50 Motion at

°Although the result of the Court’s ruling on Defendant’s Motion to Dismiss is that

the jury’s verdict on Claim Two is set aside, the Court addresses the merits of

Defendant’s Renewed Rule 50 Motion for Judgment as a Matter of Law to show

that, even if the Court did have jurisdiction over Plaintiff's retaliatory termination

claim, Defendant would still be entitled to judgment as a matter of law on that

claim.

A-68

11-13.) The Court stated that it would take Defendant's Rule 50 Motion

under advisement until the conclusion of Defendant’s case.

At the conclusion of Defendant’s case, Defendant renewed his

Rule 50 motion and Plaintiff made an oral Rule 50 motion, both of

which the Court took under advisement. The parties made their closing

arguments and the case was submitted to the jury. The jury returned

a verdict in favor of Defendant on the leave-incident retaliation claim

(Claim One) and the retaliatory hostile work environment claim (Claim

Three), and in favor of Plaintiff on the retaliatory employment

termination claim (Claim Two). Both Defendant and Plaintiff renewed

their Rule 50 motions and the Court ordered both parties to submit

written Rule 50 Motions within 10 days, with opposing memoranda

due 10 days thereafter.

On July 7, 1997, Defendant lodged a Renewed Rule 50 Motion

for Judgment as a Matter of Law (“Defendant’s Renewed Rule 50

Motion”). On July 17, 1997, Plaintiff submitted a Memorandum in

Opposition to Defendant’s Renewed Rule 50 Motion (“Plaintiff's

Opposition to Defendant’s Renewed Rule 50 Motion”) . On July 28,

1997, Defendant filed a reply to Plaintiff's Opposition (“Defendant’s

Reply”) . On July 31, 1997, Plaintiff filed, without leave of the Court,

a pleading styled as a Supplemental Memorandum of Law in

Opposition to Defendant’s Rule 50 Motion (“Plaintiff's Supplemental

Memorandum”). On August 7, 1997, Defendant filed a pleading styled

as a Supplemental Reply Memorandum Re Defendant’s Renewed Rule

50 Motion (“Defendant’s Supplemental Reply”). On August 18, 1997,

the Court granted Defendant’s request to file Defendant’s

Supplemental Reply pursuant to Local Rule 220-4. The Court has

reviewed and considered both Plaintiff's Supplemental Memorandum

A-69

and Defendant’s Supplemental Reply in ruling on Defendant’s

Renewed Rule 50 Motion.

A. APPLICABLE LAW AND STANDARD OF

REVIEW

In order to prevail on his claim of retaliatory employment

termination, Plaintiff was first required to establish a prima facie case

of retaliation. Jordan v. Clark, 847 F.2d 1368, 1376 (9th Cir. 1988).

To establish such a case, Plaintiff was required to show that he

“engaged in a protected activity, that [he] was thereafter subjected by

[his] employer to adverse employment action, and that a causal link

exists between the two.’” Jd. (quoting Cohen v. Fred Meyer, Inc., 686

F.2d 793, 796 (9th Cir. 1982)). The parties stipulated that Plaintiff had

engaged in protected activity by filing EEO complaints. Plaintiff's

termination constitutes an adverse employment action. Nidds v.

Schindler Elevator Corp., 113 F.3d 912, 919 (9th Cir. 1997), petition

for cert. filed, 66 U.S.L.W. 3171 (July 29, 1997) (No. 97- 364).

The Ninth Circuit has indicated that the final causal link

requirement:

may be established by an inference derived from

circumstantial evidence, “such as the employer’s

knowledge that the [employee] engaged in protected

activities and the proximity in time between the

protected action and the allegedly retaliatory

employment decision.”

A-70

Jordan, 847 F.2d at 1376 (citing Yartzoff v. Thomas, 809 F.2d 1371,

1376 (9th Cir. 1987) (additional citations omitted)). Plaintiff engaged

in several instances of protected activities. The parties stipulated that,

as a result of Plaintiff's actions, a member of Congress requested that

the U.S. Department of the Interior investigate claims of EEO

violations at the Park, which investigation took place in April 1993.

Park Superintendent, Donald Reeser, testified that he was aware of

Plaintiff's involvement in generating the investigation. The parties also

stipulated that certain management personnel of Defendant knew of

four EEO complaints filed by Plaintiff in November 1993, February

1994, May 1994 and January 1995. Plaintiff was informed in a letter

dated September 9, 1994, that he would be terminated effective

September 30, 1994. The Court holds that the proximity in time

between Plaintiff's engagement in protected activities, particularly his

May 22, 1994 EEO complaint alleging supervisor retaliation, and his

subsequent termination in September 1994 is sufficient circumstantial

evidence for Plaintiff to fulfill the final requirement for his prima facie

case. See Yartzoff, 809 F.2d at 1376.

Once Plaintiffs prima facie case is established, a presumption

of discrimination is created, and the burden of production then shifts

to Defendant to produce admissible evidence that Plaintiff's

termination was taken “‘for a legitimate, nondiscriminatory reason.””

St. Mary's Honor Ctr. v. Hicks, 509 U.S. 502, 506-07 (1993) (citing

Texas Dep’t of Community Affairs v. Burdine, 450 U.S. 248, 254

(1981)). Defendant satisfied this burden by producing admissible

evidence that Plaintiff was discharged due to budgetary considerations,

not retaliation. Defendant offered evidence that Plaintiff s termination

resulted from severe fiscal constraints surrounding the preparation of

the fiscal year 1995 budget, which made the elimination of three

A-71

temporary maintenance employee positions necessary and that

Plaintiff was terminated first due to the fact that he had claimed that

he was unable to work at all, and already had been on _ indefinite

requested leave for four months. As a result,

[t]he presumption [of discrimination], having fulfilled

its role of forcing the defendant to come forward with

some response, simply drops out of the picture. The

defendant’s “production” (whatever its persuasive

effect) having been made, the trier of fact proceeds to

decide the ultimate question: whether plaintiff has

proven “that the defendant intentionally discriminated

against [him]” because of his [engagement in

protected activities].

Id. at 510-11 (citing Burdine , 450 U.S. at 253, 255).

Once Defendant produced this legitimate, nondiscriminatory

reason, “in order to prevail, [Plaintiff] must demonstrate that

[Defendant’s] alleged reason for the adverse employment decision is

a pretext for another motive which is discriminatory.” Wallis v. JR.

Simplot Co., 26 F.3d 885, 890 (9th Cir. 1994) (quoting Lowe v. City of

Monrovia, 775 F.2d 998, 1005 (9th Cir. 1985), as amended, 784 F.2d

1407 (1986)). Plaintiff

“must do more than establish a prima facie case and

deny the credibility of [Defendant’s] witnesses.” In

response to the defendant’s offer of nondiscriminatory

reasons, the plaintiff must produce “specific,

substantial evidence of pretext.”

A-72

ee

Wallis, 26 F.3d at 890 (citing Schuler v. Chronicle Broadcasting Co.,

793 F.2d 1010, 1011 (9th Cir. 1986); Steckl v. Motorola, Inc., 703 F.2d

392, 393 (9th Cir. 1983)) . As noted in Hicks, references “to proving

or demonstrating simply ‘pretext,’ are reasonably understood to refer

to the previously described pretext, i.e., ‘pretext for discrimination.’”

Hicks, 509 U.S. at 515-16 (citing Burdine, 450 U.S. at 258) (footnote

omitted).

In Hicks, the Court explicitly rejected the view that the

factfinder’s disbelief of Defendant’s proffered reason compels a

verdict for Plaintiff or that “if the plaintiff proves the asserted reason

to be false, the plaintiff wins.” Jd. at 511,515. The Court recognized

that

[t]he factfinder’s disbelief of the reasons put forward

by the defendant (particularly if disbelief is

accompanied by a suspicion of mendacity) may,

together with the elements of the prima facie case,

suffice to show intentional discrimination.

Id. at 511 (emphasis added). The Court proceeded to clarify, however,

that “a reason cannot be proved to be ‘a pretext for discrimination,

unless it is shown both that the reason was false, and that

discrimination was the real reason.” Jd. at 515 (emphasis added). The

Court emphasized that it is not enough to disbelieve the employer; the

factfinder must believe the plaintiff's explanation of intentional

discrimination. Jd. at 519. Both the Burdine and Hicks decisions

stress that the plaintiff always retains the ultimate burden of

persuading the trier of fact that the defendant intentionally

discriminated against the plaintiff. Burdine, 450 U.S. at 253; Hicks,

509 U.S. at 518.

A-73

In applying the controlling Supreme Court and Ninth Circuit

Title VII case law set forth above, Plaintiff's burden at trial in order to

prevail on his retaliatory termination claim becomes evident. Plaintiff

was required to prove, by a preponderance of the evidence, that

Defendant’s budgetary reason for terminating Plaintiff was merely a

pretext for Defendant’s true reason for terminating Plaintiff in

retaliation for having engaged in protected activities. The jury found

that Plaintiff satisfied this burden and proved that he was terminated

due to Defendant’s unlawful retaliation. Defendant asserts that he is

entitled to judgment as a matter of law pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 50,

because Plaintiff did not present sufficient evidence of pretext or

retaliatory intent for a reasonable jury to find for Plaintiff on the

termination issue.

Judgment as a matter of law is proper if the evidence,

construed in the light most favorable to the

nonmoving party, permits only one reasonable

conclusion and that conclusion is contrary to that of

the jury.

Forrett v. Richardson, 112 F.3d 416, 419 (9th Cir. 1997) (citing Bank

of the West v. Valley Int’l Bank of Ariz., 41 F.3d 471, 477 (9th Cir.

1994)). In ruling on the motion,

[t]he court may not assess the credibility of witnesses,

resolve conflicting evidence, or otherwise substitute

its conclusions for that of the jury. In order to rebut a

motion for judgment as a matter of law, the

non-moving party must present sufficient evidence in

support of a material issue.

A-74

9 James Wm. Moore et al., Moore’s Federal Practice § 50.03 (3d ed.

1997) (footnotes omitted).

While the district court may not resolve conflicts in

the testimony or weigh the evidence, it may evaluate

evidence at least to the extent of determining whether

there is substantial evidence to support the verdict.

“{A] mere scintilla of evidence will not suffice.”

Von Zuckerstein v. Argonne Nat’! Laboratory, 984 F. 2d 1467, 1471

(7th Cir. 1993) (citing La Montagne v. American Convenience

Products, Inc., 750 F.2d 1405, 1410 (7th Cir. 1984)). The Ninth Circuit

has defined substantial evidence as “such relevant evidence as

reasonable minds might accept as adequate to support a conclusion

even if it is possible to draw two inconsistent conclusions from the

evidence.” Maynard v. City of San Jose, 37 F.3d 1396, 1404 (9th Cir.

1994) (citing George v. City of Long Beach, 973 F. 2d 706, 709 (9th

Cir. 1992)).

The Supreme Court has indicated that, although the factfinder

is responsible for deciding whether Defendant’s stated reason is

unpersuasive and that Plaintiff's proffered reason of unlawful

discrimination is correct, “none of this means that trial courts or

reviewing courts should treat discrimination differently from other

ultimate questions of fact.” Hicks, 509 U.S. at 524. The Court held

that, in Title VII bench trials, the trial court’s finding of discrimination

is subject to appellate review under the “clearly erroneous” standard

of Fed. R. Civ. P. 52(a), and implied that jury findings of

discrimination would be subject to standard trial court review under

A-75

Fed. R. Civ. P. 50 by stating that discrimination should not be treated

any differently from other ultimate questions of fact. Jd.

There does not appear to be any dispositive Ninth Circuit case

on the proper standard of review to be applied by a district court in

evaluating, under Rule 50, a jury’s finding of discrimination in a Title

VII pretext case. The Supreme Court’s ruling in Hicks indicates,

however, that it should be treated no differently than any other ultimate

question of fact. Jd. In a recent en banc decision, the Second Circuit

conducted an in-depth analysis of Hicks and Burdine and interpreted

those decisions as requiring the following standard of review:

To summarize, we consider how district courts should

analyze discrimination cases in which the plaintiff has

advanced a prima facie case, the defendant has

proffered an explanation capable of being found false,

and a jury has found for the plaintiff. When should

such a verdict be left in place, when set aside?

The rule is that there is no rule peculiar to

discrimination cases. As in all other areas, the answer

depends on how forcefully the evidence has shown

what plaintiff has the burden of showing — that the

adverse employment action suffered by plaintiff was

attributable to the alleged discrimination. If the

evidence (and the inferences reasonably flowing from

it) can demonstrate that the plaintiff was likely injured

by the defendant’s illegal discrimination, then the

evidence gives rise to a jury issue, and a verdict in

plaintiff's favor must be left undisturbed. If they

A-76

ees ea eee

cannot, and the jury is left to mere speculation, then

the lack of evidentiary support compels the court to

conclude that a mistake has been made. The court in

those circumstances must find the plaintiff's verdict

to be clearly erroneous and set it aside.

Fisher v. Vassar College, 114 F.3d 1332, 1346 (2d Cir. 1997) (en

banc), petition for cert. filed, 66 U.S.L.W. 3178 (U.S. Sept. 2, 1997)

(No. 97-404).

Accordingly, the Court analyzes the evidence presented at trial

in the light most favorable to Plaintiff to determine whether there was

specific, substantial evidence of pretext to support the jury’s verdict

that Defendant did not terminate Plaintiff for budgetary reasons, but in

retaliation for his EEO activities.

B. SUFFICIENCY OF THE EVIDENCE

As indicated above, at trial Plaintiff had the burden of proving

both that Defendant’s proffered reason for terminating Plaintiff was

false and that unlawful retaliation was the real reason. Hicks, 509 U.S.

at 515; Nidds, 113 F.3d at 918 n.2. These two elements are analyzed

separately below.

l. Evidence of Pretext

Plaintiff's Opposition to Defendant’s Renewed Rule 50

Motion identifies several alleged pieces of evidence presented at trial

that Plaintiff claims support a reasonable finding of pretext by the

jury.

A-77

¥ Reeser’s allegedly equivocal

testimony regarding the amount of,

and his control over, the 1995 Park

Budget

Plaintiff claims that Reeser was initially “equivocal” as to the

amount of the Park’s operating budget and his role in the formulation

and control of that budget. (Plaintiff's Opposition to Defendant’s

Renewed Rule 50 Motion at 4.) Although it is unclear from Plaintiff's

memorandum, Plaintiff apparently contends that Reeser’s alleged

equivocality on these points could cause a reasonable jury to find

Reeser’s testimony regarding Defendant’s termination not credible,

and infer therefrom that the true reason was unlawful retaliation.

Reeser was not equivocal in his testimony regarding the

amount of the 1995 budget. Reeser initially responded to Plaintiff's

counsel’s question regarding the amount of the Park’s 1995 budget by

giving an approximate figure of $550,000, but that answer was quickly

corrected to an approximate figure of $2.2 million after clarification

that the question pertained to the budget for the entire Park and not just

the maintenance division. There was no equivocation in Reeser’s

response. The two separate answers resulted from an initial

misunderstanding of the question. Although Reeser later stated after

further questioning that the amount of the budget may have been as

high as either $2.3 million or $2.4 million, he indicated that he could

only give an approximate figure from memory and would have to

check the records if a precise figure was needed.

Plaintiff's contention that Reeser was equivocal as te his role

in formulating and controlling the budget is also inaccurate. The

A-78

fn dle.

circuitous questioning on this issue was a result of either Plaintiff S

counsel’s apparent misunderstanding of, or dissatisfaction with,

Reeser’s answers regarding his role in overseeing the Park’s budget

vis-a-vis the funding levels approved by Congress and the proposed

budgets submitted to him by the Park’s division chiefs. The Court did

not find Reeser to be at all equivocal in his testimony regarding the

1995 budget. Reeser answered Plaintiff s counsel’s repeated questions

on this issue in a straightforward and consistent ..aanner.

In ruling on Defendant’s Renewed Rule 50 Motion, the Court

does not, and may not, make a credibility determination regarding

Reeser’s testimony. The Court does note, however, that Plaintiff's

assertion that Reeser was “equivocal” in his answers regarding the

amount of the Park’s 1995 budget and his role in preparing that budget

is a mischaracterization of both the record and the proceedings in this

matter. Even if there had been something in Reeser’s testimony that

the jury could have found equivocal regarding the amount of the Park’s

operating budget and his role in planning and controlling that budget,

that still would not constitute specific, substantial evidence from which

a reasonable jury could infer that Defendant’s proffered reason for

terminating Plaintiff was a mere pretext for unlawful retaliation. As

discussed below, Defendant produced ample uncontradicted

documentary evidence from the time in question supporting

Defendant’s budgetary reason for terminating Plaintiff.

b. Reeser’s alleged reduction of the

maintenance division’s budget by

$50,000 without written verification.

A-79

Plaintiff asserts that[:]

Don Reeser further testified that he reduced the

budget of the Maintenance division by $50,000 as a

result of the retirement of David Puu despite his

admission that he had not received any written

verification that his overall funding would be reduced

by $50,000 by his superiors.

Id.at 4-5. Again, Plaintiff's memorandum misrepresents the testimony

presented at trial.

Reeser testified that it was NPS policy that once an employee,

like Puu, opted for the early retirement buyout program, the salary and

benefits from that position would be lost unless the position was filled

by a transfer from a central NPS office. Defendant produced copies of

e-mail messages from NPS headquarters that were sent to the Park in

March and April 1994, which clearly indicate that for every buyout

accepted, a full-time employee position must be cut as well as the

associated salary. (Defendant’s Exhs. 519 & 520.) The expected loss

of $50,000 by the Park’s maintenance division due to Puu’s buyout

was determined by policy set by NPS headquarters in Washington, not

by Reeser. As indicated in Defendant’ s exhibits and by the testimony

of Harry, this NPS policy reflected the requirements of the “buyout

bill” passed by Congress and signed by President Clinton, the goal of

which was to help contribute to a massive downsizing of the entire

federal bureaucracy.

Reeser testified that based on the documents and information

that he received from his NPS superiors, in mid-August 1994 he told

A-80

Lucero to anticipate a loss of $50,000 from the maintenance division’s

budget as a result of Puu’s buyout. Reeser further testified that in

preparing the proposed division budgets for the 1995 fiscal year

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Nakamura v. Babbitt · 528 U.S. 1004 | Frix