Opposition Brief — Vento v. Colorado National Bank

Supreme Court brief1999

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

— —— ee

Suprema Cowt, U.S

FILED

| SEP 13 1599

No. 99-255 ) OF EOF THE CLERN

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

¢

JOSEPH A VENTO,

Petitioner,

U.S. BANK, f/k/a COLORADO NATIONAL BANK;

C. JEAN STEWART; DAVID W. STARK;

AND JACK M. MERRITTS,

Respondents.

+

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari To The

United States Court Of Appeals For The Tenth Circuit

+

OPPOSITION TO PETITION

FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

+

KENNETH B. SiecGet*

BARBARA Welt GALL

SHERMAN & Howarp L.L.C.

633 Seventeenth Street, Suite 3000

Denver, Colorado 80202

(303) 297-2900

Counsel for Respondents U.S. Bank,

f/k/a Colorado National Bank

and David W. Stark

*Counsel of Record

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

COUNTER-STATEMENT OF THE CASE............ 1

Statement of Facts and Procedural History....... 4

ARGUMENT AGAINST GRANTING CERTIORARI... 9

A. There Is No Basis For Granting The Writ Of

Certiorari Under Rule 10, As There Is No Con-

flict Between Federal Appellate Courts On An

Important Question Of Federal Law ......... 9

1. Petitioner Failed To Raise The “Height-

ened Pleading Standard” Argument

Below, And May Not Raise It For The

First Time Before This Court........... 10

2. There Is No Inconsistency Between Fed-

eral Appellate Courts On The Issue Of

The Heightened Pleading Standard..... 11

B. The Court Of Appeals For The Tenth Circuit

Correctly Ruled That The District Court

Lacked Subject Matter Jurisdiction Over An

Appeal Of A State Court Ruling And Properly

Dismissed Petitioner’s Complaint .........--. 16

C. Judge Stewart Had The Authority And Juris-

diction To Enter The Interpleader Order ..... 18

D. Petitioner Failed To State Allegations Sufficient

To Sustain A § 1983 Claim Against CNB Or Mr.

DO, on on.cnbe ch ccekendehss vonage cexemnnaee és 20

1. Mr. Vento Cannot Demonstrate That

CNB Or Mr. Stark Acted “Under Color

TN i oe en ee da abie we 21

TABLE OF CONTENTS -— Continued

Pa ge

2. CNB And Mr. Stark’s Participation In

The Interpleader Action Cannot Form

The Basis Of A § 1983 Action ......... 23

E. Petitioner Has Not Been Denied Due Process

Because He Has Regularly Invoked The Juris-

diction Of Colorado State Courts ............ 25

CONCLUBGUIN ccsccsccicsuscenesdbeuseustisendunes 27

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES

Anderson v. State of Colorado, 793 F.2d 262 (10th Cir.

NUNN EE Te ee adeno tented ooee ch bo coe ne ances. 18

Arrington v. Dickerson, 915 F. Supp. 1503 (M.D.

ied ae evi ois 5 wnss csawkcencee ccc .c. 12

Bottone v. Lindsley, 170 F.2d 705 (10th Cir. 1948)

cert. denied, 336 U.S. 944, 69 S. Ct. 810 (1949) ..25, 26

Boulter v. Jordan, 733 F Supp. 85 (D. Colo. 1990)... .21, 22

Branch v. Tunnell, 937 F.2d 1382 (9th Cir. 1991)...... 13

Brown v. Chaffee, 612 F.2d 497 (10th Cir. og SETUEED

District of Columbia Court of Appeals v. Feldman, 460

U.S. 462, 103 S. Ct. 1303, 75 L. Ed.2d 206 (1983) .... 16

Dubinka v. Judges of Superior Court, 23 F.3d 218 (9th

iv bi Sane wn 660000406 ov h6e%oeceegcnce,, 16

Feliciano v. DuBois, 846 F. Supp. 1033 (D. Mass.

TT ee Pia 0g nd 6 icp di Dh bie nee Genki... 13

G.D. Searle & Co. v. Cohn, 455 US. 404, 102 S. Ct.

1137, 71 L. Ed.2d 250 (1982)...................... 10

Gentner v. Shulman, 55 F.3d 87 (2d Cir. 1995)........ 16

Hagerty v. Succession of Clement, 749 F.2d 217 (Sth

Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 968, 106 S. Ct.

333, 88 L. Ed.2d 317 (1988)....................... 17

Harris v. District Bd. of Trustees of Polk Community

College, 981 F. Supp. 1459 (M_D. Fla. ne 12

Hill v. McClellan, 490 F.2d 859 (5th Cir. og PPR ESE 24

Housley v. United States, 35 F.3d 400 (9th Cir.

RE Sieh eke Dine s eh? doccy ss 04. oa: . 43 13, 14

iV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

Hunt v. Sparkman, 17 F.3d 1263 (10th Cir. 1994)...... 20

Kimes v. Stone, 84 F.3d 1121 (9th Cir. 1996)....... 13, 14

Kiowa Indian Tribe v. Hoover, 150 F.3d 1163 (10th

Gt ED 6a. 6 6 cob ddaae ahs side eabe cee eekee ees 8

Leatherman v. Tarrant County Narcotics Intelligence

and Coordination Unit, 507 U.S. 163, 113 S. Ct.

1160, 122 L. Ed.2d 517 (1993).......... 11, 12, 13, 14

Lee v. Town of Estes Park, 820 F.2d 1112 (10th Cir.

PO Pee keus veccéckaeee sd odeticdescueteeeecloscsones 21

Lindley v. Amoco Prod. Co., 639 F.2d 671 (10th Cir.

SS cwdccndeks becsuvn ec eurerdnuteviiaeienuvces 23

Lugar v. Edmondson Oil Co., 457 U.S. 922 (1982) ..21, 24

McCain v. Scott, 9 F. Supp.2d 1365 (N.D. Ga. 1998) .... 12

Monell v. Department of Social Services of the City of

New York, 436 U.S. 658, 98 S. Ct. 2018, 56

ec ER EE GENE be cvervevavvesvecrviseneredeses 15

Monroe v. Pape, 365 U.S. 167, 81 S. Ct. 473 (1961) ....15

Musselwhite v. State Bar of Texas, 32 F.3d 942 (5th

Cir. 1994), cert. denied, 515 U.S. 1103, 115 S. Ct.

yr Me: ee UE | pre rer rT errrce 16

Neely v. Martin K. Eby Const. Co., 386 U.S. 317, 87

S. Ct. 1072, 18 L. Ed.2d 75 (1967), rehearing

denied 386 U.S. 1027, 87 S. Ct. 1366, 18 L. Ed.2d

ge. Se ee eee ye oe rr eer ery 10

Norton v. Liddel, 620 F.2d 1375 (10th Cir. 1980) ...... 21

Polk County v. Dodson, 454 U.S. 312, 102 S. Ct. 445,

fe & fr ee mre 2's 23

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ~ Continued

Page

Ritter v. Ross, 992 F.2d 750 (7th Cir. 1993), cert.

denied, 510 U.S. 1046, 114 S. Ct. 694, 126 L. Ed.2d

ee MARR nat Oy ue haat RT! yt 17

Rooker v. Fidelity Trust Co., 263 U.S. 413, 44S. Ct.

149, 68 L. Ed.2d 362 (1923).......... yeaa as 16

Sexton v. Barry, 233 F.2d 220 (6th Cir. 1956), cert

denied, 352 U.S. 870, 77 S. Ct. 94 (1956) 25

Sooner Products Co. v. McBride, 708 F.2d 510 (10th

Re Be 26¥i ded bderet edie ee 22

Sparks v. Duval County Ranch Co., 604 F.2d 976 (5th

Cir. 1979), affirmed, 449 U.S. 24, 101 S. Ct. 183, 66

kee BG.2G 185 (1960)... 2. cccces ne i 24

Torres v. First State Bank, 588 F.2d 1322 (10th Cir.

RE As ire De PI AG RN cate PLE al) cee Yin 23, 24

Williams v. Texaco, Inc., 165 B.R. 662 (D.N.M. 1994) .... 25

STATUTES

We Bees PDs es co ob abet he eel passim

Colo. Rev. Stat. 13-9-103(5)(1999).................... 18

RULEs

ae Rs a ee Se eer ro ren ri hte ee )

| ee ees ee 22

Fed. Rules of Evidence, Rule 201 ................... 27

Fed. Rules of Evidence, Rule 803(8)................. 27

Colo. Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 1........... 19, 20

Colo. Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 22.......... 19, 20

Colo. Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 82............. 19

OPPOSITION TO

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

U.S. Bank, formerly known as Colorado National Bank

(“CNB"),’ and David W. Stark, Respondents, respectfully

request that the Court deny the Petition for Writ of Cer-

tiorari to the United States Court of Appeals for the Tenth

Circuit filed by the petitioner Joseph A. Vento.

+

COUNTER-STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Mr. Vento asks this Court to review a decision of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit

affirming the dismissal of a suit brought in federal court

by Mr. Vento. Petitioner had sued a party, attorneys, and

the presiding judge in an interpleader action in the Pro-

bate Court for the City and County of Denver, Colorado

(“Denver Probate Court”), alleging that they had con-

spired to deprive him of his property and the right to

litigate without due process of law. Although Petitioner

has attempted to cast this as a civil rights action, he in

fact has sought both to appeal the decision of the Denver

Probate Court in the U.S. District Court for the District of

Colorado in violation of the Rooker-Feldman doctrine, and

to obtain double recovery of a judgment he has already

collected from CNB.

Petitioner's “Statement of Facts” omits details of

his many attempts to overturn the order of the Denver

' CNB has now been acquired by U.S. Bancorp and is

currently known as U.S. Bank. For purposes of this appeal, all

references to the bank will remain “CNB.”

Probate Court dated January 3, 1996 (“Interpleader

Order,” Petition for Writ of Certiorari [“Petition”], App. B-2,

pp. 30-32), and to obtain double recovery of the judgment

awarded to him by the District Court for Pueblo County,

Colorado (“Pueblo District Court”). Petitioner has stead-

fastly refused to accept the ruling of the Denver Probate

Court that CNB’s payment of the amount of Mr. Vento’s

judgment into the registry of the Denver Probate Court

—~durmg a dispute over the proceeds of the judgment

a relieved CNB of further responsibility for the judgment.

Indeed, Mr. Vento has attempted unsuccessfully to over-

turn the Interpleader Order in six separate requests to the

Denver Probate Court,? and an appeal to each of the

2 The following pleadings are listed in the Excerpts from the

Certified Record of Denver Probate Court, Appendix A at pp. 1-4:

(1) Motion to Change Venue, filed January 8, 1996,

denied April 26, 1996;

(2) Motion to Vacate, filed January 8, 1996, denied

April 26, 1996);

(3) Renewed Motion to Change Venue, filed January

24, 1996, denied April 26, 1996;

(4) Motion for Relief from January 3 Order on

Interpleader, filed February 8, 1996, denied April

26, 1996;

(5) Objection by Defendant Joseph A. Vento to CNB

Being Discharged From All Further Liability and

Dismissed From This Case; Affirmatively for a

Motion for an Order to Dismiss this Case, or

Alternatively for an Order Vacating or

Dissolving the Preliminary or Temporary

Injunction, filed October 18, 1996, denied

December 13, 1996; and

+ oe oR eel

a sm

Colorado Court of Appeals and Colorado Supreme

Court.? He has unsuccessfully sought to hold CNB in

contempt for allegedly failing to pay the amount of the

judgment*, and has commenced two separate actions

attempting to recover damages equal the amount of the

judgment®, all after CNB paid the amount of the judg-

ment into the registry of the Denver Probate Court.

(6) Amended Answer of Joseph A. Vento (alleging

lack of due process as an affirmative defense),

filed September 25, 1996.

* Mr. Vento applied to the Colorado Supreme Court for

Writs of Prohibition and Mandamus against the Denver Probate

Court on June 20, 1996, with the petition being denied one week

later (Appendix B at pp. 5-6). On July 26, 1996, Mr. Vento

appealed the April 26, 1996 Denver Probate Court Order to the

Colorado Court of Appeals, which dismissed the appeal with

prejudice on August 9, 1996 (Appendix C at p. 8).

4 On April 26, 1996, in case no. 87 CV 867, Pueblo District

Court Judge O’Rourke denied Mr. Vento’s request that she hold

CNB in contempt for CNB’s alleged failure to pay the judgments

in that action, and ruled that the jurisdiction of the Denver

Probate Court was a question that only the Denver Probate

Court could decide (Appendix D at pp. 10-13). Mr. Vento

appealed this decision to the Colorado Court of Appeals which

affirmed the decision. Vento v. Colorado National Bank, 1999 WL

46924 (Colo. App. 1999).

° In addition to the present action, Mr. Vento brought case

no. 97 CV 31 against CNB in the Pueblo District Court, claiming

that CNB had breached the Letter of Credit it posted as a

supersedeas bond by filing the action in the Denver Probate

Court. The Pueblo District Court granted summary judgment in

favor of CNB in that case on April 1, 1997 (Appendix E at pp.

14-20). Mr. Vento appealed tnat decision to the Colorado Court

Statement of Facts and Procedural History

In 1968, the Joseph A. Vento Trust, the Dominic A.

Vento Trust, the Irene C. Coulter Trust and the Cecilia

DeFellippie Trust became co-owners of an undivided one-

quarter interest in coal mining property in Fremont

County, Colorado. CNB and its predecessors (the First

National Bank of Pueblo, which became Colorado

National Bank-Pueblo, which became CNB) acted as the

sole Trustee of each of the four trusts which owned the

coal mining property. (Affidavit of David Stark at { 2,

Appendix N at p. 38).®

On or about September 8, 1987, Mr. Vento and Cecilia

DeFellippie (“Ms. DeFellippie”) filed suit in Pueblo Dis-

trict Court against CNB’s predecessor asserting breach of

fiduciary duty in managing and administering their

trusts and the Trust property, styled Joseph A. Vento and

Cecilia DeFellippie v. Colorado Nat'l Bank-Pueblo, Case No.

87CV867 (“the 1987 Action”). CNB was represented by

Respondent Mr. Stark. On June 15, 1993, the plaintiffs in

the 1987 Action each won a judgment against CNB in the

amount of $931,962.50, plus costs and interest at 8% per

annum from March 22, 1985 (“the Judgments”). The total

judgments, including pre- and post-judgment interest

was approximately $4,347,307.48. (Affidavit of David

Stark at ¥ 3, Appendix N at p. 39).

of Appeals, which affirmed Judge Vigna’s judgment on April 23,

1998 (Appendix F at pp. 21-24). A petition for certiorari to the

Colorado Supreme Court was denied on December 7, 1998.

(Appendix G at pp. 25-26).

6 Mr. Stark’s affidavit was part of the record in the appeal

below.

CNB unsuccessfully appealed the Judgments to the

Colorado Court of Appeals, posting a supersedeas bond

in the form of a letter of credit in the amount of $4 million

(“the Letter of Credit”). The Colorado Supreme Court

denied CNB’s petition for certiorari on December 11,

1995. (Affidavit of David Stark at | 3, Appendix N at p. 39)

Meanwhile, in June 1994, the beneficiaries of the

Irene C. Coulter Trust and the Dominic A. Vento Trust

sued CNB and Mr. Vento in the District Court for the City

and County of Denver, Colorado, in a case styled Richard

G. Vento, Angelina Vento, Marihelen Vento, and Irene C.

Coulter v. Colorado National Bank-Pueblo, Joseph A. Vento,

and John Does A-Z, Case No. 94 CV 2890 (the “1994

Action”), alleging, among other claims, breach of fiduci-

ary duty and negligence, because they were not included

in or advised of the 1987 Action. The beneficiaries also

filed an action against Mr. Stark, his law firm, and other

attorneys who defended CNB in the 1987 Action, based

on the same allegations. CNB settled with the plaintiffs in

the 1994 Action, and Mr. Vento thereafter prevailed on

the claims against him following a jury trial in April 1996.

(Affidavit of David Stark at { 4, Appendix N at p. 39)

While CNB’s appeal of the 1987 Action was pending,

serious disputes arose among members of the Vento fam-

ily concerning the division of the proceeds of the Judg-

ments payable to Mr. Vento and Ms. DeFellippie.

Following the denial of CNB’s petition for certiorari on

December 11, 1995, CNB received conflicting demands

from the beneficiaries of the Irene C. Coulter and

Dominic A. Vento Trusts, as well as from attorneys for

Ms. Saunders and Mr. Kettelkamp (Mr. Vento’s attorney

in the 1997 Action), all claiming some interest in the

proceeds of the Judgments secured by the Letter of

Credit. (Affidavit of David Stark at [ 6, Appendix N at p.

40). Because these claims might have exposed CNB to

multiple liability, CNB invoked the provisions of Colo. R.

Civ. P. 22 regarding interpleader.

On December 29, 1995, CNB filed an action in the

Denver Probate Court, styled Colorado National Bank v.

Joseph A. Vento, Linda Saunders, Personal Representative of

the Estate of Cecilia DeFellippie, Irene Coulter, Richard G.

Vento, Angelina Vento, Marihelen Vento, and Wesley C. Ket-

telkamp, Jr., Case No. 95PR2379 (“the Interpleader

Action”) as a means of resolving the :ompeting claims.

On January 3, 1996, Judge C. Jean Stewart (a respon-

dent in this appeal), presiding over the Denver Probate

Court, entered the Interpleader Order directing CNB to

transfer approximately $4.4 million to a bank account in

the name of the Denver Probate Court f/b/a Vento Bene-

ficiaries, representing the amount of the Judgments,

including interest accrued through January 3, 1996. The

Interpleader Order provided that “upon transfer of the

Judgment amount . . . CNB shall be considered to have

satisfied the Judgment. .. . ” CNB deposited that sum,

disclaiming any further interest in the funds. The Inter-

pleader Order stated in pertinent part:

D. Pursuant to C.R.C.P. 22 the Defendants, and

each of them, are restrained and enjoined from

instituting or prosecuting in any court of the

state any action against CNB, wherein the

Defendants or any of them, in any manner, seek

to recover the amount of the Judgment or any

part thereof, to execute on the Judgment, . . . to

execute on any asset of CNB, or to recover any

damages for failure of CNB to deliver funds to

any of the Defendants to satisfy the Judgment.

(Petition for Writ of Certiorari [“Petition”], App. B-2, pp.

30-32).

Mr. Vento has tried unsuccessfully to appeal and

overturn the Interpleader Order many times, including

Six separate requests to the Denver Probate Court (see

footnote 2, supra). Most of these motions were considered

and denied on April 26, 1996 by a second judge in the

Interpleader Action after Judge Stewart recused herself at

Mr. Vento’s request. Mr. Vento’s appeals to the Colorado

Supreme Court and Colorado Court of Appeals were

likewise dismissed (see footnote 3, supra).

In sum, CNB satisfied the Judgments by depositing

$4.4 million into a court-supervised bank account, pur-

suant to the Interpleader Order. The defendants in the

Interpleader Action, which includes Mr. Vento, were pro-

hibited by the Interpleader Order from suing CNB for

damages by reason of CNB’s failure to pay the amount of

the Judgments directly to Mr. Vento and the heirs of Ms.

DeFellippie. The present action is Mr. Vento’s latest

attempt to attack the validity of the Interpleader Order.

Mr. Vento has now turned to the federal court system,

asserting claims under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 against Judge

Stewart, CNB, and attorneys who filed and participated

in the Interpleader Action.

In his discussion of the district court’s opinion, Mr.

Vento omitted the final reason for the district court's

findings, which took into account the procedural history

set out above:

The complaint appears to be nothing more than

an attempt to relitigate issues already litigated

in the state courts. This lawsuit meets the stan-

dards of meritless, frivolous, and vexatious liti-

gation under Fed. R. Civ. P. 11 and 42 U.S.C.

§ 1988.

(Petition, App. B-1, page 28.)

Mr. Vento likewise omitted the third reason the Court

of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit affirmed the District

Court’s decision:

[Petitioner’s] arguments to this court demon-

strate only a disagreement with the state court’s

decisions. Therefore, we invoke the Rooker-Feld-

man doctrine, which prohibits federal district

courts from hearing federal claims whose only

purpose is to obtain review of state court judg-

ments... ”

(Petition for Certiorari, App. A, pp. 23-24 (citing Kiowa

Indian Tribe v. Hoover, 150 F.3d 1163, 1165 (10th Cir.

1998)).)

Incredibly, Mr. Vento continues to improperly use the

federal court system to contest the Interpleader Order,

despite the fact that he was awarded approximately $2.75

million in the Interpleader Action on June 7, 1997, and

collected the funds from the registry of the Denver Pro-

bate Court on October 15, 1997. ( Certified Copy of the

Registry of Court in Case No. 95 PR 2379, Appendix H p.

27).

ARGUMENT AGAINST GRANTING CERTIORARI

A. There Is No Basis For Granting The Writ Of Cer-

tiorari Under Rule 10, As There Is No Conflict

Between Federal Appellate Courts On An Impor-

tant Question Of Federal Law.

Review on a writ of certiorari is not a matter of right,

but of judicial discretion, and is not granted lightly. A

petition for a writ of certiorari will be granted only for

“compelling reasons.” These include a conflict between

the circuit courts of appeals or between a circuit court of

appeals and a state court of last resort “on the same

important matter,” a conflict between state courts of last

resort on a federal question, or a decision by a state court

of last resort or a federal court of appeals on “an impor-

tant question of federal law ” that has not been settled by

this Court. S. Ct. R. Civ. P. 10.

The centerpiece of Petitioner’s Petition is his claim

that the Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit improp-

erly applied a “heightened pleading standard” to his

complaint. Petitioner argues that the Court of Appeals for

the Tenth Circuit’s application of “heightened pleading

standards” to § 1983 actions “is inconsistent with the

rulings of other United States Courts of Appeal.” (Petition

at 6.) Petitioner, however, never raised this claim before

the court of appeals, and cannot raise it now.

be

10

1. Petitioner Failed To Raise The “Heightened

Pleading Standard” Argument Below, And May

Not Raise It For The First Time Before This

Court.

As a preliminary matter, the Court may not consider

Petitioner’s arguments regarding the “heightened plead-

ing standard,” because the arguments were not raised in

the appeal below. Petitioner made four arguments in his

briefs before the Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit:

first, the complaint stated a claim for relief and should

not have been dismissed; second, Judge Stewart did not

have jurisdiction to enter the Interpleader Order and

declare the Judgments satisfied; third, the District Court

was wrong in finding no conspiracy to violate Peti-

tioner’s rights among the various attorneys, CNB and

Judge Stewart; and fourth, Petitioner stated a claim for

relief under § 1983 because he was deprived of property

through state action without substantive due process.

Petitioner never raised any issue in the Court of Appeals

for the Tenth Circuit regarding the “heightened pleading

standard” which forms the centerpiece of his Petition

before this Court. See Appellant’s Opening Brief in the

Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit (“Opening Brief”)

(Appendix O at pp. 44-85).

This Court has stated its “normal policy of not con-

sidering issues which have not been presented to the

Court of Appeals and which are not properly presented

for review here.” Neely v. Martin K. Eby Const. Co., 386

U.S. 317, 87 S. Ct. 1072, 1081, 18 L. Ed.2d 75 (1967),

rehearing denied, 386 U.S. 1027, 87 S. Ct. 1366, 18 L. Ed.2d

471 (1967). See also G.D. Searle & Co. v. Cohn, 455 U.S. 404,

102 S. Ct. 1137, 1144, 71 L. Ed.2d 250 (1982) (“In this

11

Court, petitioner has attempted to put forward a new due

process argument . . . Because petitioner did not present

this argument to the Court of Appeals, we do not address

it.”). Because Mr. Vento did not properly raise the

“heightened pleading standard” argument before the

Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit, the Court may not

consider it now.

2. There Is No Inconsistency Between Federal

Appellate Courts On The Issue Of The Height-

ened Pleading Standard.

To support his untimely claim, Petitioner cites two

cases from the Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit and

this Court's decision in Leatherman v. Tarrant County Nar-

cotics Intelligence and Coordination Unit, 507 US. 163, 113

S. Ct. 1160, 122 L. Ed.2d 517 (1993). Each of these cases is

distinguishable from the present action. There is no

inconsistency, apparent or otherwise, between the Court

of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit's ruling in the decision

below and other cases involving pleading standards for

§ 1983 claims.

In Leatherman, homeowners in Texas brought a civil

rights claim under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 against local law

enforcement officers acting in their official Capacity, as

well as the county and two municipal corporations that

employed the officers. The homeowners maintained that

the officers had violated their Fourth Amendment protec-

tions against unreasonable searches and seizures, and

based liability against the municipalities on the failure of

such entities to adequately train the officers. Id. at 165.

12

Their complaint was dismissed by the United States Dis-

trict Court for the Northern District of Texas for failure to

meet the “heightened pleading standard” for municipal

liability, and the Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

affirmed. This Court determined that courts could not

apply a heightened pleading standard to § 1983 claims

against municipal corporations. Id. at 167-168.

4

Petitioner reads the decision in Leatherman to “sug-

gest[ ] strongly that any heightened pleading standard is

impossible to square with the Federal Rules of Civil Pro-

cedure and is therefore invalid and is not permissible.”

(Petition at 7.) This is an utterly inaccurate reading of the

case. First, the Court in Leatherman acknowledged that

Rule 9(b) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure requires

a heightened pleading standard in certain circumstances,

such as when the plaintiff alleges fraud or mistake. 507

U.S. at 168. Second, and more importantly, the Court

specifically limited its holding to § 1983 claims brought

against municipalities. The Court explicitly discussed the

difference between a municipal government and its offi-

cials, and stated that it had “no occasion to consider

whether our qualified immunity jurisprudence would

require a heightened pleading in cases involving individ-

ual government officials.” Id. at 167. Lower courts have

seized upon this phrase to limit the Leatherman holding

and require or permit heightened pleading for cases

brought against government officials in an individual

capacity. See, e.g., McCain v. Scott, 9 F. Supp.2d 1365, 1369

(N.D. Ga. 1998); Harris v. District Bd. of Trustees of Polk

Community College, 981 F. Supp. 1459, 1461-62 (M.D. Fla.

1997); Arrington v. Dickerson, 915 F. Supp. 1503, 1512-1513

13

(M.D. Ala. 1996); Feliciano v. DuBois, 846 F. Supp. 1033,

1042 (D. Mass. 1994).

Petitioner cites two decisions of the Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit to support his contention that the

Leatherman doctrine applies to all § 1983 claims, regard-

less of whether the defendant is an individual or a munic-

ipality. Citing Housley v. United States, 35 F.3d 400 (9th Cir.

1994) and Kimes v. Stone, 84 F.3d 1121 (9th Cir. 1996).

Petitioner concludes without further explanation that

“these courts have adopted the view that Leatherman

ought to mark the absolute end of the ‘heightened plead-

ing’ requirement.” (Petition at 6-7.) Once again, a careful

examination of the cases demonstrates that Petitioner’s

reading is untenable.

Housley involved a pro se plaintiff who accused fed-

eral agents of an illegal search and seizure. The court of

appeals held that a heightened pleading standard was

inappropriate because the plaintiff did not allege subjec-

tive intent on the part of the defendants. The court of

appeals distinguished the facts of Housley with those of

Branch v. Tunnell, 937 F.2d 1382 (9th Cir. 1991) (Branch 1).

In Branch I, the Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

held “that when subjective intent is an element of the

constitutional tort action and qualified immunity is

plead, the plaintiff is subject to a heightened pleading

standard which requires nonconclusory allegations set-

ting forth specific evidence of unlawful intent.” Housley,

35 F.3d at 401. Because the Branch I decision remains good

14

law,’ Housley does nothing to suggest the “absolute end”

of the heightened pleading requirement, as Petitioner

claims. Indeed, the distinction made in Housley supports

the position of CNB and its co-defendants, since Peti-

tioner is alleging subjective intent of the defendants to

conspire against him.

Nor is Kimes particularly supportive of Petitioner’s

core assertion that Leatherman should mark the “absolute

end” of the heightened pleading requirement. The Court

of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit in Kimes did not even

mention Leatherman. In Kimes, a case procedurally very

similar to the present case, the plaintiff sued a state judge

and two attorneys under § 1983, alleging conspiracy to

overturn a verdict setting aside a decedent’s will. The

court of appeals rejected any claim against the judge as

barred by judicial immunity. See Kimes, 84 F.3d at 1126.

The attorneys put forth two arguments in their defense.

First, they claimed litigation immunity under the Califor-

nia Rules of Civil Procedure. Second, they argued that

Kimes’ pleadings were insufficient under Rule 8(a) of the

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. The Court spent the

majority of its time addressing the attorney immunity

issue, only mentioning the pleadings argument at the

very end of the opinion. Even then the pleadings discus-

sion seems almost an afterthought, clearly secondary to

the more substantial discussion of attorney liability. Id. at

1129. While the bare text of Kimes seems to require only

regular pleading for § 1983 claims, the context of the

7 The Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit reaffirmed the

Branch I doctrine after Leatherman was decided. See Housley, 35

F.3d at 401 n. 3.

nea

ea

ae

15

discussion and the court of appeals’ failure to even men-

tion, much less reject, heightened pleading significantly

weakens its persuasive value.

Finally, Petitioner cites Monroe v. Pape, 365 U.S. 167,

171, 81 S. Ct. 473, 476 (1961)8 for the Proposition that the

“[a]llegation of facts constituting a deprivation under

color of state authority of a right guaranteed by the

Fourteenth Amendment satisfies to that extent the

requirement” of 42 U.S.C. § 1983. This may be the case,

but both the quote and the general discussion in Monroe

relate to the requirements to allege a cause of action

under the statute, not the requirements to plead with

sufficient specificity. The Court in Monroe was determin-

ing whether the plaintiff’s claims were theoretically

actionable, not whether they were well-pleaded. Put

another way, the passage from Monroe discusses only

what can be alleged under § 1983, not how it is to be

alleged.

Because there is no conflict between the Courts of

Appeals for the Ninth and Tenth Circuits, and because

Petitioner has failed to timely raise this issue, the Petition

for Writ of Certiorari must be denied.

8 Monroe was overruled by Monell v. Department of Social

Services of the City of New York, 436 U.S. 658, 98 S. Ct. 2018, 56

L. Ed.2d 611 (1978) on grounds related to municipal liability

under § 1983.

16

B. The Court Of Appeals For The Tenth Circuit Cor-

rectly Ruled That The District Court Lacked Subject

Matter Jurisdiction Over An Appeal Of A State

Court Ruling And Properly Dismissed Petitioner’s

Complaint.

Federal district courts do not have appellate jurisdic-

tion over state court decisions. Rooker v. Fidelity Trust Co.,

263 U.S. 413, 44 S. Ct. 149, 150, 68 L. Ed.2d 362 (1923);

District of Columbia Court of Appeals v. Feldman, 460 U.S.

462, 103 S. Ct. 1303, 1315, 75 L. Ed.2d 206 (1983). This has

become known as the Rooker-Feldman doctrine. See, e.g.,

Musselwhite v. State Bar of Texas, 32 F.3d 942, 946 n. 11 (5th

Cir. 1994), cert. denied, 515 U.S. 1103, 115 S. Ct. 2248, 132

L. Ed.2d 256 (1995). The Rooker-Feldman doctrine pre-

cludes Petitioner from contesting the Interpleader Order

entered by the Denver Probate Court in the federal

courts. “The reach of the Rooker-Feldman doctrine is sub-

stantial. It is not limited to the decisions coming from the

state’s highest court.” Dubinka v. Judges of Superior Court,

23 F.3d 218, 221 (9th Cir. 1994). The doctrine applies to

both interlocutory and final state court decisions. Gentner

v. Shulman, 55 F.3d 87, 89 (2d Cir. 1995).

The present action is precisely the type of action the

Rooker-Feldman doctrine was designed to prevent. All of

Petitioner’s claims are based on the alleged impropriety

of the proceedings and rulings in the Interpleader Action,

and the relief which Petitioner seeks is, in effect, a rever-

sal of the Interpleader Order. The Interpleader Order

allowed CNB to satisfy the Judgments by depositing the

full amount of the Judgments into the registry of the

Denver Probate Court. The Interpleader Order also pro-

hibited Petitioner from “instituting or prosecuting in any

es

17

court of this state any action against CNB .. . to recover

the amount of the Judgment or any part thereof... . ”

(Petition, App. B-2, pp. 31-32.) As a basis for this action,

Petitioner claims that the proceedings in the Interpleader

Action deprived him “of his property and rights to prop-

erty without appropriate process, that is, the right to

execute and collect on the judgment granted him by the

Pueblo District Court on June 15, 1993.” (Petition, App.

D-1, pp. 52-53.) It is clear that this action is nothing more

than an attempt to overturn the state court’s decision in

the Interpleader Action and recover damages against

CNB, and as such, it is prohibited.

Further, the fact that Petitioner has framed his allega-

tions in the context of a § 1983 suit did not provide the

district court with subject matter jurisdiction, because

“[a] plaintiff may not seek a reversal of a state court

judgment simply by casting the complaint in the form of

a civil rights action.” Ritter v. Ross, 992 F.2d 750, 754 (7th

Cir. 1993), cert. denied, 510 U.S. 1046, 114 S. Ct. 694, 126

L. Ed.2d 66 (1994) (quoting Hagerty v. Succession of Clem-

ent, 749 F.2d 217, 220 (5th Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 474 U.S.

968, 106 S. Ct. 333, 88 L. Ed.2d 317 (1988)). Moreover,

Petitioner has already raised these constitutional claims

in the Interpleader Action itself, with no success.? “Where

® The following pleadings are listed in the Excerpts from

the Certified Record of Denver Probate Court, Appendix A at pp.

1-4: Mr. Vento’s Motion for Court to Reconsider and Set Aside

its Order for Contempt and the Contempt Citation; Amendment

of Answer by Joseph A. Vento; Objection by Defendant Joseph

A. Vento to CNB Being Discharged From All Further Liability

and Dismissed From This Case; Affirmatively for a Motion for

an Order to Dismiss This Case, or, Alternatively, for an Order

18

a constitutional issue could have been reviewed on direct

appeal by the state appellate courts, a litigant may not

seek to reverse or modify the state court judgment by

bringing a constitutional claim under 42 U.S.C. § 1983.”

Anderson v. State of Colorado, 793 F.2d 262, 263 (10th Cir.

1986).

C. Judge Stewart Had The Authority And Jurisdiction

To Enter The Interpleader Order.

Petitioner next argues that Judge Stewart lacked the

jurisdiction to enter the Interpleader Order, and that it

was error for the Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit

to hold otherwise. This is simply another attempt to have

a federal court review the decision of a state court, and is

impermissible under the Rooker-Feldman doctrine. In

addition, Petitioner has not identified any conflicting

decisions of the federal circuit courts of appeals, or of

state courts of last resort, regarding this issue. Nor has

Petitioner articulated any other reason why this Court

should consider this issue under its rules of procedure.

Should the Court wish to consider this argument, how-

ever, the Court will find Petitioner’s position to be insup-

portable.

The Colorado legislature has vested the Denver Pro-

bate Court with jurisdiction “to determine every legal

and equitable question arising out of or in connection with

express trusts.” Colo. Rev. Stat. § 13-9-103(5) (emphasis

added). Petitioner’s argument that this Court should

Vacating or Dissolving the Preliminary or Temporary

Injunction.

ee a ell, 8a

ee ee a oe

ee a ee

19

overturn the Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit's

ruling on the jurisdiction issue largely consists of his

denial that the Interpleader Action “arose out of or was

connected with” anything having to do with an express

trust. For example, Petitioner states in his Opening Brief

that “[n]o money owed as a result of the Pueblo District

Court judgment belonged to an express trust.” \.ippendix

O at p. 71.) However, the proceeds from the Judgment

arose from Petitioner’s claims that CNB had mismanaged

the Joseph A. Vento Trust and the trust property. In

addition, CNB initiated the Interpleader Action because

of competing claims from other trusts which were co-

owners of the Vento trust property, demonstrating that

the Interpleader Action was connected with express trusts.

In that light, the Denver Probate Court had jurisdiction

under Colo. Rev. Stat. § 13-9-103(5) to address in the

Interpleader Action the legal questions associated with

the $4.4 million Judgment.

Petitioner further asserts that Colo. R. Civ. P. 22 pre-

vents the Denver Probate Court from maintaining juris-

diction over an interpleader action because the rule

provides that a district court may enter its order in any

civil interpleader action. Consequently, according to Peti-

tioner, the Denver Probate Court could not have ruled on

such a matter because it is not a district court. (Petition at

p. 13.) But Petitioner ignores Colo. R. Civ. P. 1, which

states that the rules of civil procedure are applicable to

probate courts in the City and County of Denver. Thus,

the Rule 22 interpleader procedures apply to the Denver

Probate Court.

Petitioner argues, however, that Colo. R. Civ. P. 82

provides that the rules “shall not be construed to extend

20

the jurisdiction of any court,” and thus Rule 22 cannot be

expanded to encompass probate courts. (Opening Brief at

25, Appendix O at p. 75). But, in light of Rule 1, there is no

extension of jurisdiction of the Denver Probate Court

beyond what the legislature and the Rules already grant.

Consequently, the Denver Probate Court acted within its

jurisdiction when it heard the Interpleader Action on

January 3, 1996 and subsequently entered its Interpleader

Order.

D. Petitioner Failed To State Allegations Sufficient To

Sustain A § 1983 Claim Against CNB Or Mr. Stark.

In his Complaint, Petitioner claimed that he was

deprived of his constitutional rights under 42 U.S.C.

§ 1983 by (1) the initiation of the Interpleader Action by

CNB; (2) the Denver Probate Court’s order allowing CNB

to satisfy the Judgments by depositing the $4.4 million

into the registry of the court; and, (3) the manner in

which the January 3, 1996 hearing, at which he was

represented by counsel, was conducted. (Petition, App.

D-1, pp. 47-52 JY 21-24, 26.) The Court of Appeals for the

Tenth Circuit ruled that Petitioner’s “[c]onclusory allega-

tions of conspiracy are insufficient to state a valid § 1983

claim.” (citing Hunt v. Sparkman, 17 F.3d 1263, 1266 (10th

Cir. 1994)) (Petition, App. A, p. 23.) Again, there exists no

basis under the Supreme Court's rules of procedure for

the Court to consider this issue on a Petition for Writ of

Certiorari, nor has Petitioner even attempted to articulate

such a basis.

To state a claim for relief under § 1983, Mr. Vento

must show that the alleged wrongful conduct at issue

(

21

was committed by a defendant acting under color of state

law, and that the conduct deprived the plaintiff of rights,

privileges or immunities protected by the Constitution of

the United States. See Boulter v. Jordan, 733 F. Supp. 85, 87

(D. Colo. 1990). Because Mr. Vento’s allegations, even if

taken as true, cannot satisfy either of these requirements,

his Complaint against CNB and Mr. Stark must fail.

1. Mr. Vento Cannot Demonstrate That CNB Or

Mr. Stark Acted “Under Color Of State Law”

This Court has set forth a two-part inquiry to deter-

mine whether a private individual acts under color of

state law for purposes of § 1983. First, “the deprivation

must be caused by the exercise of some right or privilege

created by the State or by a rule of conduct imposed by

the State or by a person for whom the State is responsi-—

ble,” and second, “the party charged with the deprivation

must be a person who may fairly be said to be a state

actor.” Lugar v. Edmondson Oil Co., 457 US. 922, 937

(1982). To fulfill the state actor requirement, a plaintiff

must demonstrate that the actions of the private defen-

dant are “fairly attributable” to the state. Lee v. Town of

Estes Park, 820 F.2d 1112, 1115 (10th Cir. 1987). Thus, the

Petitioner must show “the existence of a significant nexus

of entanglement between [the State official] and the pri-

vate party in relation to the steps taken by each to fulfill

the objects of their [alleged] conspiracy.” Norton v. Liddel,

620 F.2d 1375, 1380 (10th Cir. 1980). Nexus may be estab-

lished by a showing that “the state official and private

person(s) reached an understanding between themselves

22

to deprive the plaintiff of rights guaranteed under the

Constitution.” Boulter, 733 F. Supp. at 87.

Petitioner’s § 1983 claim against CNB and Mr. Stark

fails as a matter of law. Petitioner has not alleged, and

cannot allege consistent with Fed. R. Civ. P. 11, any facts

which could demonstrate that Mr. Stark or CNB are “state

actors,” nor has he adequately alleged that a “conspir-

atorial nexus” existed between CNB, Mr. Stark, and Judge

Stewart. Petitioner did not allege even one instance

where Mr. Stark or CNB reached any understanding with

Judge Stewart to deprive Petitioner of his constitutional

rights. In fact, Petitioner did not suggest, nor can he, that

there was any communication whatsoever between Mr.

Stark, CNB, and Judge Stewart outside of the January 3,

1996 hearing. Instead, Petitioner summarily claimed that

“(t]he actions of the defendants through the Denver Pro-

bate Court” violated § 1983. (Petition, App. D-1, p. 52.)

Such vague and unsubstantiated allegations are

insufficient to withstand a motion to dismiss. See, e.g.

Boulter, 733 F. Supp. at 87. Where a plaintiff seeks to

establish the requisite “state action” through allegations

of conspiracy between a judge and private parties, the

plaintiff must do more than assert conclusory allegations;

he must “specifically present facts tending to show agree-

ment and concerted action.” Sooner Products Co. v.

McBride, 708 F.2d 510, 512 (10th Cir. 1983). In Petitioner’s

Opening Brief, he listed seven “overt acts” which, he

believes, indicate a conspiracy between the Defendants.

(Opening Brief at 18-19, Appendix O at pp. 67-68.) These

“overt acts” are nothing more than routine events occur-

ring during the course of litigation which could be

23

present in any interpleader action. They are not unique,

and certainly not “clandestine” as Mr. Vento asserts.

As additional support that there was concerted action

between the Defendants, Mr. Vento maintains that there

was absolutely no reason why CNB needed to interplead

the funds in the first place, and that “there is nothing in

the record to show that there were claims against CNB

exposing it to double or multiple liability.” (Opening

Brief at 20, Appendix O at pp. 69-70.) This is simply untrue,

as set out in the factual discussion above.

Nor can Mr. Vento’s § 1983 claim Survive based upon

an argument that Mr. Stark’s efforts on behalf of CNB ina

state court proceeding constitute state action. Lawyers do

not act under color of law solely by engaging in private

litigation on behalf of their clients. Polk County v. Dodson,

454 U.S. 312, 325, 102 S. Ct. 445, 70 L. Ed.2d 509 (1981):

Brown v. Chaffee, 612 F.2d 497, 501 (10th Cir. 1979); see also

Lindley v. Amoco Prod. Co., 639 F.2d 671, 673 (10th Cir.

1981).

2. CNB And Mr. Stark’s Participation In The Inter-

pleader Action Cannot Form The Basis Of A

§ 1983 Action

Petitioner’s claims amount to nothing more than

assertions that Mr. Stark and CNB wrongfully used state

court proceedings to obtain a ruling unfavorable to Mr.

Vento. Where, as here, the conduct complained of consists

of “private litigation in which the state does no more than

furnish the forum and has no interest in the outcome,”

the plaintiff cannot maintain a cause of action under

§ 1983. Torres v. First State Bank, 588 F.2d 1322, 1326 (10th

24

Cir. 1978) (quoting Hill v. McClellan, 490 F.2d 859, 860 (5th

Cir. 1974), overruled on other grounds, Sparks v. Duval

County Ranch Co., 604 F.2d 976 (5th Cir. 1979), affirmed,

449 U.S. 24, 101 S. Ct. 183, 66 L. Ed.2d 185 (1980)).

To state a claim under the theory that Mr. Stark and

CNB used the state judicial process in violation of § 1983,

Petitioner is required to show that the state court pro-

ceedings were a “complete nullity.” Torres, 588 F.2d at

1326. In other words, Petitioner must plead specific facts

that indicate the judge and defendants conspired to vio-

late his right to due process and consequently rendered

void any judicial proceeding. However, Petitioner failed

to allege any facts which indicate that Mr. Stark or CNB

“obtained significant aid” from Judge Stewart or other-

wise received special treatment which rendered the judi-

cial proceedings void. See Lugar, 457 U.S. at 937.

Petitioner argues that CNB and Mr. Stark are state

actors because they acted jointly with Judge Stewart to

deprive him of property. He contends that these Defen-

dants interfered with his property interest simply by

bringing the Interpleader Action. This line of reasoning

would lead to the absurd result that all lawsuits would

constitute illegal state action, which would in turn choke

the courts with § 1983 claims. Petitioner’s characteriza-

tion of CNB’s and Mr. Stark’s roles in the Interpleader

Action is improper and illogical, and cannot form the

basis of a valid § 1983 claim. The § 1983 claim against Mr.

Stark and CNB was properly dismissed.

|

{

;

;

}

25

E. Petitioner Has Not Been Denied Due Process

Because He Has Regularly Invoked The Jurisdiction

Of Colorado State Courts

As a separate claim, Petitioner alleged that the

Respondents violated his due process rights through the

Denver Probate Court. The claim that Petitioner has been

deprived of the right to litigation is absurd. In addition to

the instant action, Petitioner has litigated the issue of due

process, along with the propriety of jurisdiction, venue,

and the Interpleader Action itself, in no fewer than six

separate pleadings in the Interpleader Action, two actions

in the Pueblo District Court, and appeals from every one

of those adverse decisions.1°

A party cannot have been denied due process if he

regularly invoked the jurisdiction of a state court, the

case was tried, and a judgment was rendered and

appealed. Bottone v. Lindsley, 170 F.2d 705, 707 (10th Cir.

1948), cert. denied, 336 U.S. 944, 69 S. Ct. 810 (1949)

(affirming dismissal of action under §§ 42 and 43 of the

Civil Rights Act against the litigants, lawyers and judge

who participated in a case that the appellant unsuc-

cessfully brought in Colorado state court). See also, Wil-

liams v. Texaco, Inc., 165 B.R. 662, 674 (D.N.M. 1994) (party

was afforded due process in the determination of whether

sanctions should be imposed because party had adequate

notice and opportunity to respond, and court’s decision

not to hold hearing on whether sanctions should be

imposed was matter within sound discretion of the

court); Sexton v. Barry, 233 F.2d 220, 224 (6th Cir. 1956),

'0 See footnotes 2-5, supra.

26

cert. denied, 352 U.S. 870, 77 S. Ct. 94 (1956) (party has not

been denied due process merely because he lost his case

where party had a full hearing in three state courts on all

questions presented). Indeed, the Court of Appeals for

the Tenth Circuit has noted that “[t]he doctrine of due

process does not confer the right to litigate the same

question twice.” Bottone, 170 F.2d at 707.

In its April 1, 1997 Summary Judgment Order, the

Pueblo District Court ruled that Mr. Vento’s claims

against CNB were barred by collateral estoppel precisely

because he had litigated the issues so many times:

This court finds that the Order on Interpleader

Petition is a “final judgment” as to the issues of

whether CNB has satisfied the judgment and

whether CNB’s institution of the Interpleader

Action constituted an anticipatory repudiation

of the letter of credit for purposes of collateral

estoppel. Additionally, the Court finds that the

Plaintiff is a party in the Interpleader Action,

that the Plaintiff has fully litigated the same

argument in the Interpleader Action, having

made five separate requests to the Denver Pro-

bate Court to overturn the Denver Probate

Court order on interpleader and having applied

to the Colorado Supreme Court for writs of pro-

hibition and mandamus against the Denver Pro-

bate Court, which was subsequently denied, and

by having unsuccessfully appealed an April 26,

1996, order of the Denver Probate Court which

affirmed its January 3, 1996, Interpleader Order.

(Appendix E at pp. 19-20.11) As the Pueblo District Court

recognized, Petitioner has had several opportunities to

11 Petitioner has previously argued, without any legal

basis, that the District Court was somehow prohibited from

considering orders entered by, and pleadings filed in, the state

satin pal =—e

tee et) oft eet we

27

litigate the allegations asserted here and has, in fact, fully

litigated these issues in Colorado state courts. His claims

that CNB and Mr. Stark somehow violated his due pro-

cess rights were appropriately dismissed.

a

CONCLUSION

Petitioner has articulated no basis for this Court to

consider his Petition. Unhappy with the rulings issued by

Colorado’s state courts, Petitioner has resorted to filing a

frivolous and groundless federal suit. Petitioner filed his

complaint, and now this appeal, with complete disregard

for basic principles of law which indisputably prohibit

this action. CNB and Mr. Stark ask this Court to deny the

Petition for Writ of Certiorari.

DATED September 13, 1999.

Respectfully submitted,

KENNETH B. SIEGEL

(Counsel of Record)

BARBARA Weit GALL

SHERMAN & Howarp L.L.C.

633 Seventeenth Street, Suite 3000

Denver, Colorado 80202

(303) 297-2900

Counsel for Respondents U.S. Bank,

f/k/a Colorado National Bank

and David W. Stark

courts (Opening Brief at 12, Appendix O at p. 62). The District

Court was permitted to take judicial notice of those orders and

pleadings pursuant to F.R.E. 201, and the evidence was properly

before the Court pursuant to F.R.E. 803(8).

H.

Table of Contents of Appendix

Excerpts of the Certified Record of the Docket

of Colorado National Bank v,. Joseph A. Vento, et

al., Case No. 95 PR 2379, Probate Court for

the City and County of Denver, Colorado. -App.

Order of the Colorado Supreme Court in Jos-

eph A. Vento v. Probate Court et al., case no.

96SA241, dated June 27, 1996...........__. App.

Order of Colorado Court of Appeals in Joseph

A. Vento v. Colorado National Bank, et al., case

no. 96 CA 1298, dated August 9, 1996..... App.

Order on Citation for Contempt in Joseph A.

Vento et al. v. Colorado National Bank-Pueblo,

Case No. 87 CV 867, District Court, Pueblo

County, Colorado, dated April 26, 1997... .App.

Order on Summary Judgment in Joseph A.

Vento v. Colorado National Bank, case no. 96 CV

31, District Court, Pueblo County, Colorado,

dated EE Be BO ev tknvedceececeso App.

Order of Colorado Court of Appeals in Joseph

A. Vento v. Colorado National Bank, case no. 97

CA 0685, dated April 23, 1998............. App.

Order of Colorado Supreme Court in Joseph A.

Vento v. Colorado National Bank, case no. 98 SC

376, dated Decetnber 7, 1998............._. App.

Certified Registry of the Probate Court for the

City and County of Denver, Colorado in Colo-

rado National Bank v. Joseph A. Vento, et al.,

Case No. 95 PR 2379...................... App.

We We WE MI Ss heb kt Fo cliec ne App.

10

14

21

25

27

28

Z

ii

Table of Contents of Appendix — Continued

Federal Rules of Evidence, Rule 201. Judicial

Notice of Adjudicative Facts............... App.

Federal Rules of Evidence, Rule 803. Hearsay

Exceptions; Availability of Declarant Imma-

terial... ce eee cece eee eeeees App.

Colorado Revised Statutes § 13-9-103. Juris-

SNE. auvcnthwed seen edb usuebasdeewenseoveser App.

Colorado Rules of Civil Procedure 1, 22,

ES RE Ape One rk Toy 4 Pes be ans ne TT App

Affidavit of David W. Stark ............... App.

Opening Brief of Joseph A. Vento in the Court

of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit........... App.

App. 1

APPENDIX A

EXCERPTS FROM THE

CERTIFIED COPY OF REGISTER OF ACTIONS FOR

CASE NO 95 PR 2379 PROBATE COURT, CITY AND

COUNTY OF DENVER, COLORADO

COLORADO NATIONAL BANK vy.

JOSEPH A. VENTO et al.

+ + *

FILE DATE EVENT DESCRIPTION

SCHD DATE TIME ROOM

01/08/1995 Miscellaneous

FLG FEDWIRE WIRE ADVICE STATEMENT OF

DEPOSIT FM NORWEST BANK COLORADO, NA:

FILE DATE EVENT DESCRIPTION

SCHD DATE TIME ROOM

$4,352,761.56 | /MW

12/29/1995 Filing Other

VERIFIED MOTN FOR LEAVE TO DEPOSIT MONEY

WITH COURT PAID FOR INJUNCTIVE RELIEF PUR-

SUANT TO RULE 22C RCP

[SEAL]

* * *

FILE DATE EVENT DESCRIPTION

SCHD DATE TIME ROOM

01/03/1996 Order

FINDINGS ASF. ORD: A. CNB DRCTD T-TRNSFR

T-ACCT ASF AT NORWEST SUM OF APPROX $4,400,000

ASF. B. ACCT T-B HELD AT INTEREST IN NAME OF

DEVER PROB CT F/B/O VENTO BENEFICIARIES ASF.

C. UPON TRNSFR OF JOGMNT AMT AND SUBJ ONLY

T ADJSTMNTS OF CALCULATION CNB SHL B-CON-

SIDERED T-HAVE STSFD THE JDGMNT. THIS SATIS-

FACTION CANNOT B-CONSTRUED T-HINDER OR SHL

IT B-CONSTRUD BY ANY CT T-HINDER ANY OTHR

App. 2

CLMS AGAINST CNB. D. DENDNTS RSTRND FROM

INSTITUTING OR PROSECUTING ANY ACTION

AGAINST CNB WHEREIN THEY SEEK T-RECOVER

AMT OF JGMNT ASF

[SEAL]

+ * *

01/08/1996 Miscellaneous

FILE DATE EVENT DESCRIPTION

SCHD DATE TIME ROOM

MOTN TO DISQUALIFY OR ALTERNATIVELY FOR

RECUSAL AND MOTN TO VACATE JAN

03 ORDR ON INTERPLEADER CERT/SERVICE EXHB

(A)-(D)

MOTN TO DISQUALIFY OR ALTERNATIVELEY [sic]

FOR RECUSAL CERT/SERVICE EXHB (A)-(D)

MOTN FOR CHANGE OF VENUE CERT/MLG EXHB

(A)-(B) /KLA

[SEAL]

* * +

01/24/1996 Miscellaneous

SECOND MOTN TO DISQUALITY OR ALTERNATIVELY

FOR RECUSAL CERT/MLG #1 EXHB (A)-(B)

MOTN TO DISMISS CROSS CLAIM RENEWAL OF

MOTN FOR CHANGE OF VENUE AND RECITATION

OF AUTHORITY CERT/MLG #1-#4

[SEAL]

* * +

02/08/1996 Miscellaneous

DEFENDANTS JOSEPH VENTO AND WESLEY C KET-

TELKAMP JRS MOTN FOR RELIEF FROM JANUARY 3

ORDR ON INTERPLEADER PURSUANT TO CRCP

CERT/SERVICE EXHB (A)-(C)

[SEAL]

. ~~ ‘

Six i paises lot eek.

ney SE nn ete he

ee ee ieee

}

a

4

App. 3

FILE DATE EVENT DESCRIPTION

SCHD DATE TIME ROOM

04/25/1996 Miscellaneous

MOTN FOR CONTINUANCE OF APRIL 26, 1996 HRG

BY PHILLIP D BARBER

MOTN FOR LEAVE TO W/DRAW /KLA

04/25/1996 Hearing 05/14/1996 08:00 AM 2

Judicial Officer ........._. : SANDRA FRANKLIN

WN tae : 1.00 Hour(s)

ctepeoagt hE Te On es ‘ HELD - Hearing Held

Calendar Note.........._. : MOTN W/DRA

ORD: VENTO’S MOTNTO DISMISS IS DENIED

ORD: MOTN FOR ORDR DIRECTING ISSUANCE OF

CONT CITN IS DEFERRED

ORD: MOTN FOR RELIEF FROM ORDR OF 01-03-96 IS

DENIED

ORD: MOTN FOR EXT OF TIME TO RSPD TO CROSS

CLAIM IS GRNTD /PRO

[SEAL]

* * *

09/26/1996 Miscellaneous

CPR/CPR VENTO, JOSEPH A

FILE DATE EVENT DESCRIPTION

SCHD DATE TIME ROOM

AMENDMENT OF ANSWER BY JOSEPH A VENTO

CERT/MLG /KLA

App. 4

FILE DATE EVENT DESCRIPTION

SCHD DATE TIME ROOM

10/21/1996 Miscellaneous

CPR/CPR VENTO, JOSEPH A

OBJEC BY DEFENDANT JOSEPH A VENTO TO CNB

BEING DISCHARGED FROM ALL FURTHER LIABILITY

AND DISMISSED FROM THIS CASE AFFIRMATIVELY

FOR A MOTN FOR AN ORDR TO DISMISS THIS CASE

OR ALTERNATELY FOR AN ORDR VACATING OR DIS-

SOLVING THE PRELIMINARY OR TEMPORARY

INJUNCTION CERT/MLG /KLA

[SEAL]

+ * +

12/13/1996 Minute Order (print)

JUDGE: RICE CLERK: TRG REPORTER: K. RINK

PARTIES APPR RE MOTNS HRG

HEARING HELD

ORD: DEFT KETTELKAMP’S MOTN FOR LEAVE TO

ASSERT COUNTERCLAIMS AGAINST PTF IS

GRANTED; KETTELKAMP’S COUNTERCLAIMS

AGAINST PTF CNB ARE DEEMED FILED

ORD: THE PARTIES’ JOINT MOTN FOR MODIFICA-

TION OF CMO IS GRNTD

ORD: DEFT VENTO’S MOTN TO DISMISS CLAIMS IS

DENIED

ORD: DEFT SAUNDERS’ MOTN TO COMPEL DEFT

VENTO TO RESPOND TO DISC IS GRNTD

*WORDS (4) (CC ALL PARTIES OF RECORD) /PRO

[SEAL]

COE PEE. +S Dae

App. 5

APPENDIX B

SUPREME COURT, STATE OF COLORADO

CASE NO. 96SA241

ORIGINAL PROCEEDING, PROBATE COURT, CITY &

COUNTY OF DENVER,

95PR2379

ORDER OF COURT

JOSEPH A. VENTO,

Petitioner,

V.

THE PROBATE COURT IN AND FOR THE CITY AND

COUNTY OF DENVER, STATE OF COLORADO, and

THE HONORABLE C. JEAN STEWART AND NANCY

E. RICE, the Judges thereof,

Respondents.

Upon consideration of the Petition for Writs in the

Nature of Prohibition and Mandamus filed in the above

cause, and now being sufficiently advised in the prem-

ises,

IT IS THIS DAY ORDERED that said Petition shall be,

and the same hereby is, DENIED.

BY THE COURT, EN BANC, JUNE 27, 1996.

[SEAL]

ce:

App. 6

Joseph A. Vento

102 S. Tejon, Suite 1100

Colorado Springs, CO 80903

The Honorable Nancy E. Rice

Denver District Court

City and County Building

1437 Bannock Street

Denver, CO 80202

The Honorable C. Jean Stewart

Probate Judge

City and County Building

1437 Bannock Street, Suite 230

Denver, CO 80202

Clerk of the Probate Court

Denver Probate Court

City and County Building

1437 Bannock Street, Suite 230

Denver, CO 80202

Jack M. Merritts

BURNS, WALL, SMITH AND MUELLER, P.C.

303 E. Seventeenth Street

Denver, CO 80203-1260

David W. Stark

Kenneth K. Skogg

OTTEN, JOHNSON, ROBINSON,

NEFF & RAGONETTILI, P.C.

950 Seventeenth Street, Suite 1600

Denver, CO 80202

James Littlepage

DANZO & LITTLEPAGE

4155 East Jewell Ave., Suite 500

Denver, CO 80222

App. 7

John A. Purvis

PURVIS, GRAY, SCHUETZE & GORDON

1050 Walnut Street, Suite 501

Boulder, CO 80302

Kenneth B. Sigel

Barbara Weil Gal]

SHERMAN & HOWARD, L.L.C.

633 17th Street, Suite 3000

Denver, CO 80202

App. 8

APPENDIX C

(Filed Aug. 1, 1996)

COURT OF APPEALS, STATE OF COLORADO

[cd]

Case No. 96 CA 1298

[or]

MOTION TO DISMISS APPEAL

JOSEPH A. VENTO,

Defendant-Appellant

V.

COLORADO NATIONAL

BANK, Plaintiff-Appellee,

and

IRENE C. COULTER,

RICHARD G. VENTO,

ANGELINA VENTO,

MARIHELEN VENTO and

LINDA SAUNDERS,

Personal Representative of

the Estate of Cecilia

DeFellippie, Defendants-

Appellees

V.

JOSEPH A. VENTO,

Defendant-Appellee

[COPIES MAILED TO

COUNSEL OF RECORD

Tri. Ct. Clerk

ON 8/9/96

BY dh

COLORADO COURT OF

APPEALS]

(X) GRANTED

( ) DENIED

Aug. 9, 1996

Appeal dismissed with

prejudice.

Plank, Hume, Jones, JJ.

By the Court

Colorado Court of

Appeals]

Defendants-Appellees, Irene C. Coulter, Richard

Vento, Angelina Vento, and Marihelen Vento, by and

:

:

7

|

POD TaN Ga hast ARS PO te

App. 9

through their undersigned Counsel, hereby move to dis-

miss the Appeal taken by Defendant-Appellant Joseph A.

Vento as untimely filed in violation of C.A.R. 4(a). As

grounds therefor, the Defendants-A ppellees State as fol-

lows:

1. Joseph A. Vento, appearing pro-se but who is an

attorney licensed to practice law in the State of Colorado

(Registration No. 637), filed a Notice of Appeal on or

about July 18, 1996, which expressly states that the appeal

concerns only the

App. 10

APPENDIX D

DISTRICT COURT, PUEBLO COUNTY, COLORADO

CASE NO. 87 CV 867 DIV. A

ORDER ON CITATION FOR CONTEMPT

(Apr. 26, 1996)

a ee ee EEE EEE LLL LALLA LE EL

JOSEPH A. VENTO and CECILIA DE FELLIPPIE,

Plaintiffs,

v.

COLORADO NATIONAL BANK-PUEBLO,

Defendant.

-<<--- ---- -- ae we ee we we we ew ew ew ew wwe

This matter came on April 14, 1996, for hearing a

Petition for an Order finding the Defendant Colorado

National Bank, hereinafter referred to as the Bank, in

contempt of Court filed on behalf of the Plaintiff Joseph

A. Vento, hereinafter referred to as Vento. The Plaintiff

appears to assert that the Defendant Bank is in contempt

of this Court’s Order of June 15, 1993 granting a money

judgement to each of the Plaintiffs in the amount of

$931,962.50 and this Court’s Order of September 16, 1993,

which permitted the Bank to file a Letter of Credit as a

supersedeas bond in order to stay execution on the judge-

ment pending appeals.

The situation giving rise to this controversy is as

hereinafter set out. The Court of Appeals affirmed the

trial Courts order and judgement of June 15, 1993 and the

Supreme Court denied certiorari on December 11, 1995.

On January 3, 1996, two days before the mandate of the

el

ee eee eee

eS a ee ee

App. 11

Court of Appeals issued, the Bank obtained an Order of

Interpleader from the Denver Probate Court which autho-

rized the Bank to deposit in Norwest Bank Colorado N.A.

$4,400,000.00 representing the amount of the Previously

mentioned judgement, plus costs and interests, to be held

at interest in the name of “The Denver Probate Court

f/b/o Vento Beneficiaries” pursuant to the provisions of

CRS 11-10.5-101 et seq. Upon such deposit, the Bank was

to be deemed to have satisfied the judgement Previously

mentioned. In addition the above named plaintiffs, their

counsel and certain other Parties were enjoined from

executing on said judgement or collecting on the Letter of

Credit.

The Plaintiffs assert that the Bank is in contempt of

this Court’s Order of Judgement of June 15, 1993, by

seeking interpleader in that it has deprived this Court of

jurisdiction. This is an issue which can only be raised in

the Denver Court to which the interpleader action has

been transferred. It is up to that Court to determine if it

Properly has jurisdiction of the controversy. It is clear

that one district court does not have jurisdiction to deter-

mine whether another district court has jurisdiction of a

particular controversy. The entry of a judgement against a

defendant for money damages does not prevent that

defendant from seeking the relief which can be obtained

pursuant to Rule 22 of the Colorado Rules of Civil Pro-

cedure (providing such defendant brings him/her self

within the provisions of such rule). Or in other words, a

judgment debtor who seeks relief pursuant to Rule 22

cannot be said to be in contempt of court by reason of

such action.

App. 12

However, the Plaintiff claims that the Bank is in

contempt of court with respect to this Court’s Order of

September 16, 1993, by an inaccurate statement made by

Bank’s counsel during a hearing on the Bank’s Motion for

leave to file a letter of credit in lieu of a supersedeas

bond. Counsel did represent to the Court at the Septem-

ber 16, 1993 hearing that the Defendant Bank was an

independent Bank that was simply part of the Colorado

National Bank system. The point being that the letter of

credit was backed up by all of the assets of the entire

Colorado National Bank system rather than being limited

to the assets of the Colorado National Bank at Pueblo.

Thus the system of banks would act in a manner similar

to that of a surety for the Pueblo bank. Counsel now

freely admits that he was misinformed and in error. Colo-

rado National Bank at Pueblo is integrated into Colorado

National Bank and is not an independent bank. However,

an honest mistake does not constitute contempt of court.

Under either set of facts, the letter of credit was indeed

backed up by the assets of the entire Colorado National

Bank system.

At this same hearing, the issue arose whether the

Plaintiff would have to institute a separate action against

the Bank in order to collect on the letter of credit. In this

connection counsel for the Bank stated that the Bank was

already in the jurisdiction of the Court and all the plain-

tiffs had to do to collect was to move the Court for an

order calling the letter of credit. The order that entered

on the September 16, 1993 hearing simply granted the

Defendant’s motion permitting it to file the Letter of

Credit in lieu of a supersedeas bond; it did not forbid the

Defendant from seeking interpleader in this or another

aad Pes

DHEA eS nt tes ar wt LL

Be wh rar ae emt So oll bt

=

— a

App. 13

court. In order to find conte

mpt of court based on viola-

tion of a court order, the

order must clearly spell out

either the required action of the forbidden action. The

order of September 16, 1993, did not forbid the Defendant

Bank from seeking interpleader,

IT IS THEREFOORE [sic] ORDERED THAT the Plain-

tiff’s Petition for an Order finding the Defendant Bank in

contempt of Court be and the same hereby is denied.

DONE THIS 26TH DAY OF APRIL, BY THE COURT

/s/ Patti F. O'Rourke 4-26-96

PATTI F. O'ROURKE.

SENIOR DISTRICT COURT JUDGE

xc James Littlepage

Kenneth Siegel

D. Stark

Kettlekamp 4-29-96

App. 14

APPENDIX E

DISTRICT COURT, COUNTY OF PUEBLO, STATE OF

COLORADO

CASE NO. 96CV31, Division A

SUMMARY JUDGMENT

JOSEPH A. VENTO, (Filed Mar. 31, 1997)

Plaintiff,

V.

COLORADO NATIONAL

BANK,

Defendant.

This matter is before the Court on Plaintiff’s Motion

for Summary Judgment filed November 27, 1996, and

Defendant’s Motion for Summary Judgment filed Novem-

ber 14, 1996, the Court having reviewed said motions the

responses and replies thereto, and having heard oral

argument on March 19, 1997, DOES NOW FIND AND

CONCLUDE AS FOLLOWS:

I. LEGAL STANDARD

C.R.C.P. 56(c) provides in pertinent part:

(c) .. . [Summary judgment] shall be rendered

forthwith if the pleadings, depositions, answers

to interrogatories, and admissions on file,

together with the affidavits, if any, show that

es

i a Seo aint

App. 15

there is no genuine issue as to any material fact

and that the moving party is entitled to a judg-

ment as a matter of law.

“Summary judgment is a drastic remedy and should

be granted only upon a clear showing that there is no

genuine issue as to any material fact.” Peterson v. Halsted,

829 P.2d 373, 375 (Colo. 1992). “The existence of a difficult

or complicated question of law, when there is no issue of

facts, is not a bar to summary judgment.” Jones v, Dressel,

623 P.2d 370, 373 (Colo. 1981).

Il. FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

In 1968, the Joseph A. Vento Trust, the Dominic A.

Vento Trust, the Irene C. Coulter Trust and the Cecilia

DeFellippie Trust became co-owners of an undivided one-

quarter interest in coal mining property in Fremont

County, Colorado. CNB and its predecessors (the First

National Bank of Pueblo, which became Colorado

National Bank-Pueblo, which became CNB) acted as the

sole trustee of each of the four trusts which owned the

coal mining Property. On or about September 8, 1987,

Plaintiff Joseph A. Vento and Cecilia DeFellippie filed an

action in Pueblo District Court, 87CV867-A, against

CNB’s predecessor asserting breach of fiduciary duty in

managing and administering their trusts and the trust

Property. On June 15, 1993, the Plaintiffs, in 87CV867-A

each obtained a judgment against CNB in the amount of

$931,962.50. The trial court also awarded costs and inter-

est at a rate of 8% from March 22, 1985.

CNB appealed the judgments. On August 26, 1993, a

hearing was held in 87CV867-A on Defendant's renewed

App. 16

motion for stay of execution of the judgments. Joseph

Vento contended at said hearing that a letter of credit was

insufficient as a supersedeas bond. The trial court, find-

ing that Rule 121, Section 1-23(4) of the C.R.C.P autho-

rized a letter of credit ruled that 1) “the Defendant's

renewed motion for a stay of execution be and the same

hereby is granted upon the Defendant's filing of a letter

of credit in the amount of $4,000,000 in the form hereto

furnished by the Defendant to the Court.” (See Exhibit 3

attached to Plaintiffs request that the Court take judicial

notice, filed 2-8-97).

An irrevocable letter of credit dated October 4, 1993

(attached as Exhibit A to Plaintiff’s Brief in Support of

Plaintiff's Motion for Summary Judgment) was issued by

CNB in this matter in lieu of a supersedeas bond.

The Colorado Court of Appeals affirmed the judg-

ments entered in 87CV867-A. The Court [sic] Supreme

Court denied CNB’s petition for certiorari on December

11, 1995.

On or about December 22, 1995, Linda Saunders filed

an action, as personal representative of the estate of

Cecilia DeFellippie in the District Court, Pueblo County,

Colorado, in which Ms. Saunders alleged that a dispute

existed regarding the division of proceeds of the judg-

ments between the Plaintiffs in the 1987 action and

Wesley Kettelkamp, who acted as attorney for Plaintiffs

in the 1987 action. See transcript of hearing of January 3,

1996, in Case No. 95PR2379, attached as Exhibit B to

Defendant's Brief in Support of Defendant’s Motion for

Summary Judgment (“Transcript”) at 26:4 to 27:11 (state-

ment by attorney for Ms. Saunders).

App. 17

Also, CNB received or became aware of letters from

the beneficiaries of the Irene C. Coulter and Dominic A.

Vento Trusts, as well as from attorneys for Ms. Saunders

and Mr. Kettelkamp, all claiming some interest in the

Proceeds of the judgments. On December 29, 1995, CNB

filed an action in the Denver Probate Court, Case No.

95PR2379 (the “Interpleader Action”) in response to these

competing claims, and in order to Satisfy the judgments

entered in the 1987 action.

On January 3, 1996, the Denver Probate Court

entered an order in the Interpleader Action directing

CNB to transfer to an account at Norwest Bank approxi-

mately $4.4 million, representing the amount of the judg-

ments against CNB and costs awarded and interest

accrued as of January 3, 1996 (the “Interpleader Order”).

The Interpleader Order Provided that “upon transfer of

the judgment amount . . . CNB shall be considered to

have satisfied the judgment . . . ” See Exhibit C attached

to Defendant’s Brief in Support of Defendant's Motion for

Summary Judgment.

Ill. PLAINTIFF’S CLAIMS/GROUNDS FOR SUMMARY

JUDGMENT

1. Plaintiff claims that the letter of credit is a con-

tract between CNB and the Plaintiff, which CNB

breached.

2. Plaintiff further claims that CNB’s institution of

the Interpleader Action constituted an anticipatory repu-

diation of the letter of credit.

App. 18

The “beneficiary” of a letter of credit is defined in

C.R.S. Section 4-5-103(1)(d) (1992 Repl. Vol.) as “a person

who is entitled under its terms to draw or demand pay-

ment.”

A review of the letter of credit (Exhibit A, Plaintiff's

Motion for Summary Judgment) reveals that the letter of

credit was issued to the Pueblo District Court. Accord-

ingly, Pueblo District Court was the beneficiary. Argua-

bly, Plaintiff, along with Cecilia DeFellippie, may be

third-party beneficiaries of the letter of credit. However,

third-party beneficiaries have no standing to bring an

action for wrongful dishonor of a letter of credit. See

Interchemicals Co., Inc. v. Bank of Credit and Commercial

International, 222 A.D. 273; 635 N.Y.S. 2d 194 (1995). The

Court, therefore, finds that there was no contract between

CNB and Plaintiff.

Assuming arguably that the letter of credit created a

contract between CNB and Plaintiff, the Court finds that

there has been no breach of said contract. The letter of

credit was posted in lieu of a supersedeas bond to guar-

antee payment of the judgment. CNB satisfied the judg-

ment by paying approximately $4.4 million into the

registry of the Denver Probate Court (see Order Inter-

pleader Action).

Finally, in light of the Court’s finding above, the

Court finds that the Plaintiff's claim that the Interpleader

Action constitutes an anticipatory repudiation of the let-

ter of credit is without merit.

eS at ele aah aR

ee ee een eam SiN -

App. 19

IV. DEFENDANT’S GROUNDS FOR SUMMARY

JUDGMENT

Defendant claims that the Plaintiff’s claims are

barred by collateral estoppel and res judicata.

“The doctrines of res judicata and collateral estoppel

relieve the parties of the cost and vexation of multiple

lawsuits, conserve judicial resources, and, by preventing

inconsistent decision, encourage reliance on adjudica-

tion.” City and County of Denver v. Block 173 Associates, 814

P.2d 824, 830 (Colo. 1991).

“Res judicata operates as a bar to a second action on

the same claim as one litigated in a prior proceeding

where there is a final judgment, identity of subject matter

claims for relief and Parties to the action.” Block 173

Associates, 1.D. at 830.

“Collateral estoppel is directed to issue preclusion

(citation omitted) when an issue of fact or law is actually

litigated and determined by a valid and final judgment,

and the determination is essential to the judgment, the

determination is conclusive in a subsequent action

between the parties whether on the same or a different

claim.” Block 173 Associates, 1.D. at 831.

“An issue is actually litigated for purposes of collat-

eral estoppel when the issue has been raised by the

parties in the previous action, by the pleadings or other-

wise was submitted for determination and determined.”

Leahy v. Guaranty National Ins. Co., 907 P.2d 697, 699 (Colo.

App. 1995).

This court finds that the Order on Interpleader Peti-

tion is a “final judgment” as to the issues of whether CNB

App. 20

has satisfied the judgment and whether CNB’s institution

of the Interpleader Action constituted an anticipatory

repudiation of the letter of credit for purposes of collat-

eral estoppel. Additionally, the Court finds that the Plain-

tiff is a party in the Interpleader Action, that the Plaintiff

has fully litigated the same argument in the Interpleader

Action, having made five separate requests to the Denver

Probate Court to overturn the Denver Probate Court

order on interpleader and having applied to the Colorado

Supreme Court for writs of prohibition and mandamus

against the Denver Probate Court, which was subse-

quently denied, and by having unsuccessfully appealed

an April 26, 1996, order of. the Denver Probate Court

which affirmed its January 3, 1996, Interpleader Order.

The Court accordingly finds the Plaintiff’s claims are

barred by collateral estoppel.

IT IS THEREFORE THE ORDER OF THE COURT that

summary judgment enter for the Defendant CNB and

against the Plaintiff Joseph A. Vento as to Plaintiff's

claims.

DONE this 1st day of April 1997.

BY THE COURT:

/s/ Rosalie Vigna

Rosalie Vigna, District Judge

xc: Joseph A. Vento

Kenneth B. Siegel

4-3-97

cc

Cuemdtdanu ee

App. 21

APPENDIX F

COLORADO COURT OF APPEALS April 23, 1998

No. 97CA0685 NOT SELECTED FOR PUBLICATION

Joseph A. Vento,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

v.

Colorado National Bank,

Defendant-Appellee.

Appeal from the District Court of Pueblo County

Honorable Rosalie Vigna, Judge

No. 96CV31

Division | JUDGMENT AFFIRMED

Opinion by JUDGE

METZGER

Davidson and Roy, JJ.,

concur

Joseph A. Vento, Pro Se

Sherman & Howard, L.L.C., Kenneth B, Siegel, Barbara

Weil Gall, Denver, Colorado, for Defendant-Appellee

Plaintiff, Joseph A. Vento, appeals the summary judg-

ment entered in favor of defendant, Colorado National

Bank. We affirm.

Initially, we note that defendant has questioned

plaintiff’s standing to bring this action. While defendant

may well be correct that a third-party beneficiary such as

App. 22

plaintiff has no standing to bring an action for wrongful

dishonor of a letter of credit, see Schmidt-Tiago Construc-

tion Co. v. City of Colorado Springs, 633 P.2d 533 (Colo.

App. 1981), we elect to address plaintiff's major conten-

tion of error.

Plaintiff contends the trial court erred in determining

that his claims in this action are barred by collateral

estoppel and in entering summary judgment in favor of

defendant. We disagree.

Summary judgment is a drastic remedy and should

be granted only when no genuine issue of material fact

exists and the moving party is entitled to judgment as a

matter of law. Mancuso v. United Bank, 818 P.2d 732 (Colo.

1991). It is appropriate to rely on the doctrine of collateral

estoppel to award summary judgment. See Rael v. Taylor,

832 P. 2d 1011 (Colo. App. 1991), aff'd in part, rev'd in part,

876 P.2d 1210 (Colo. 1994).

Collateral estoppel bars relitigation of issues if (1) the

issue is identical to an issue actually and necessarily

adjudicated at a prior proceeding; (2) the party against

whom estoppel is asserted is a party or in privity with a

party in the prior proceeding; (3) there was a final judg-

ment on the merits; and (4) the party against whom

estoppel is asserted had a full and fair opportunity to

litigate the issue in the prior proceeding.” City and County

of Denver v. Block 173 Associates, 814 P.2d 824, 831 (Colo.

1991).

Here, the facts are undisputed. Plaintiff’s central

claim in this litigation is that defendant breached a letter

of credit it had tendered as a supersedeas bond securing a

$4 million judgment entered in plaintiff's favor. This

gine ai ee

App. 23

judgment, for which plaintiff has since received payment,

arose from a breach of fiduciary duty claim brought by

plaintiff as a beneficiary of a trust which defendant had

administered.

The trial court determined that an order, entered by

the Denver Probate Court in an interpleader action

brought by defendant, was a final judgment on the same

issues raised here, i.e., whether defendant had satisfied

the underlying judgment and whether defendant's insti-

tution of the interpleader action constituted an anticipa-

tory repudiation of the letter of credit.

The trial court also determined that plaintiff had

been a party to the interpleader action and that he had

fully litigated the same issues raised here. The trial court

Specifically noted that plaintiff had made five separate

requests, advancing the same arguments as presented

here, to the probate court to Overturn its interpleader

order, had also applied to the supreme court for writs of

probation and mandamus against the probate court, and

had unsuccessfully appealed the order of the probate

court.

Thus, the trial court concluded, plaintiff’s claims in

the current action were barred by collateral estoppel and

it entered summary judgment in favor of defendant.

Having reviewed the record, including that of the

Denver Probate Court interpleader action, we conclude

the record fully supports the trial court’s determinations.

Thus, we find no error.

App. 24

In light of this disposition, we need not address

plaintiff's remaining contentions of error.

The judgment is affirmed.

JUDGE DAVIDSON and JUDGE ROY concur.

App. 25

APPENDIX G

SUPREME COURT, STATE OF COLORADO

CASE NO. 98SC376

CERTIORARI TO THE COLORADO

COURT OF APPEALS, 97CA0685

DISTRICT COURT, PUEBLO COUNTY, 96CV31

ORDER OF COURT

JOSEPH A. VENTO,

Petitioner,

V.

COLORADO NATIONAL BANK,

Upon consideration of the Petition for Writ of Cer-

tiorari to the Colorado Court of Appeals, and after review

of the record, the briefs, and the opinion of said Court of

Appeals,

IT IS THIS DAY ORDERED that said Petition for Writ

of Certiorari shall be, and the same hereby is, DENIED.

BY THE COURT, EN BANC, DECEMBER 7, 1998.

[SEAL]

cc:

Joseph A. Vento

102 South Tejon, Suite 1100

Colorado Springs, CO 80903

App. 26

Kenneth B. Siegel

Barbara Weil Gall

633 Seventeenth St., Suite 3000

Denver, CO 80202

Clerk of District Court

Pueblo County Judicial Building

320 West 10th Street

Pueblo, CO 81003

Honorable Rosalie Vigna

Pueblo County Judicial Building

320 West 10th Street

Pueblo, CO 81003

Patrick H. Stanford, Clerk

Colorado Court of Appeals

ore,

Senteieibeen tee ea ee ee

App. 27

APPENDIX H

Print Key Output Page 1

5769SS1 V4R3MO 980729 ICONP1 09/08/99 09:28:03

Display Device ........... : TL021666

Sa, fo ee B161DHS

Work With Registry 9/08/99 9:26 AM

Status: CLSD District Court, Denver County

Case #: 1996 CV 3557 Div/Room: 7 Type: Other

COLORADO NATL BANK VS VENTO, JOSEPH A et al

Total Dollars Available as of: 9/08/1999

SPEC 00

Options: 2=Chg 4=Del 5=Dsp 9=Payments 14=Prt Chk

17=Post Chk 19=UnApply

Opt Tran Seq Amount Amount Amt Jf/S

Party Mthd Adr Due Paid To Pay Disb.

DEFOO1 SPEC SEQ 1H 2932855.21 2932855.21 .00 .00

JOSEPH A VENTO

SPEC SEQ 1H _ 919987.78 919987.78 00 00

Estate Of Cecilia Defellippie

SPEC MANL 1H 745891.34 74589134 90 00

Wesley C. Kettelkamp Jr

SPEC MANL 1H 5509317 55093.17 090 00

Wesley C. Kettelkamp Jr

IMP003 SPEC SEQ 1H 12.00 12.00 .00 00

CLERK OF THE DENVER DISTRICT COURT

Bottom

F3-Exit F5=Refresh F6=Add Payee F10=Jump F12=Cancel

Fl4=Fin Dtl F17=Apply

[SEAL]

App. 28

APPENDIX I

United States Code, Title 42, Sec. 1983. Civil action for

deprivation of rights

Every person who, under color of any statute, ordinance,

regulation, custom, or usage, of any State or Territory or

the District of Columbia, subjects, or causes to be sub-

jected, any citizen of the United States or other person

within the jurisdiction thereof to the deprivation of any

rights, privileges, or immunities secured by the Constitu-

tion and laws, shall be liable to the party injured in an

action at law, suit in equity, or other proper proceeding

for redress, except that in any action brought against a

judicial officer for an act or omission taken in such offi-

cer’s judicial capacity, injunctive relief shall not be

granted unless a declaratory decree was violated or

declaratory relief was unavailable. For the purposes of

this section, any Act of Congress applicable exclusively to

the District of Columbia shall be considered to be a

statute of the District of Columbia.

ee ee 7

App. 29

APPENDIX J

Federal Rules of Evidence, Rule 201. Judicial Notice of

Adjudicative Facts

(a) Scope of rule. This rule governs only judicial notice

of adjudicative facts.

(b) Kinds of facts. A judicially noticed fact must be one

not subject to reasonable dispute in that it is either (1)

generally known within the territorial jurisdiction of the

trial court or (2) capable of accurate and ready determina-

tion by resort to sources whose accuracy cannot reason-

ably be questioned.

(c) When discretionary. A court may take judicial

notice, whether requested or not.

(d) When mandatory. A court shall take judicial notice

if requested by a party and supplied with the necessary

information.

(e) Opportunity to be heard. A party is entitled upon

timely request to an Opportunity to be heard as to the

Propriety of taking judicial notice and the tenor of the

matter noticed. In the absence of Prior notification, the

request may be made after judicial notice has been taken.

(f) Time of taking notice. Judicial notice may be taken

at any stage of the proceeding.

(g) Instructing jury. In a civil action or Proceeding, the

court shall instruct the jury to accept as conclusive any

fact judicially noticed. In a criminal case, the court shall

instruct the jury that it may, but is not required to, accept

as conclusive any fact judicially noticed.

App. 30

APPENDIX K

Federal Rules of Evidence, Rule 803. Hearsay Excep-

tions; Availability of Declarant Immaterial

The following are not excluded by the hearsay rule, even

though the declarant is available as a witness:

* * *

(8) Public records and reports. Records, reports, state-

ments, or data compilations, in any form, of public offices

or agencies, setting forth (A) the activities of the office or

agency, or (B) matters observed pursuant to duty

imposed by law as to which matters there was a duty to

report, excluding, however, in criminal cases matters

observed by police officers and other law enforcement

personnel, or (C) in civil actions and proceedings and

against the Government in criminal cases, factual find-

ings resulting from an investigation made pursuant to

authority granted by law, unless the sources of informa-

tion or other circumstances indicate lack of trustworthi-

ness

App. 31

APPENDIX L

Colorado Revised Statutes § 13-9-193. Jurisdiction

(1) The probate court of the city and county of

Denver has Original and exclusive jurisdiction in said city

and county of:

(a) The administration, settlement, and distribution

of estates of decedents, wards, and absentees;

(b) Property vested in any person under a legal

disability but Paid to or held by another for such person’s

(c) Property vested in any minor pursuant to the

“Colorado Uniform Transfers to Minors Act”, or any pre-

decessor act thereto, or any act having a substantially

Similar legal effect;

(d) The probate of wills;

(e) The granting of letters testamentary, of adminis-

tration, of guardianship, and of conservatorship;

(f) The administration of guardianships of minors

and of mentally competent persons and of conservator-

ships of mentally ill or mentally deficient Persons and of

absentees;

(g) Proceedings under article 23 of title 17 and arti-

cles 10 to 15 of title 27, C.R.S.;

(h) The determination of heirship in probate pro-

ceedings and the devolution of title to Property in pro-

bate Proceedings;

App. 32

(i) Actions on the official bonds of fiduciaries

appointed by it;

(j) The construction of wills;

(k) The administration of testamentary trusts,

except as provided in subsection (2) of this section; and

(1) All other probate matters.

(2) If a testamentary trust is established by the will

of the decedent and if it appears that it was not the

intention of the testator that the court should continue

the administration of the estate after the payment in full

of all debts and legacies except the trust property, the

court shall proceed to final settlement of such estate as in

other cases, order the trust fund or property to be turned

over to the trustee as such, and shall not require the filing

of inventories and accounts, or supervise the administra-

tion of the trust; except that any party in interest of such

trust, including the trustee thereof, may invoke the juris-

diction of the probate court with respect to any matters

pertaining to the administration or distribution of such

trust or to construe the will under which it was estab-

lished.

(3) The court has jurisdiction to determine every

legal and equitable question arising in connection with

decedents’, wards’, and absentees’ estates, so far as the

question concerns any person who is before the court by

reason of any asserted right in any of the property of the

estate or by reason of any asserted obligation to the

estate, including, without limiting the generality of the

foregoing, the jurisdiction:

or en a a no

App. 33

(a) To give full and complete legal and equitable

relief in any case in which it is alleged that the decedent

breached an agreement to make or not to make a will;

(b) In any case in which a district court could grant

such relief in a separate action brought therein, to impose

Or raise a trust with respect to any of the Property of the

decedent or any property in the name of the decedent,

individually or in any other capacity, in any case in which

the demand for such relief arises in connection with the

administration of the estate of a decedent:

(c) To partition any of the real or Personal property

of any estate in connection with the settlement thereof.

(5) The court has jurisdiction to determine every

legal and equitable question arising out of or in connec-

tion with express trusts.

(6) The provisions of articles 10 to 20 of title 15,

article 23 of title 17, and articles 10 to 15 of title 27, C.R.S.,

App. 34

(7) With respect to any trust established by or for an

individual with his or her assets, income, or property of

any kind, notwithstanding any statutory provision to the

contrary, the court shall not authorize, direct, or ratify

any trust that either has the effect of qualifying or pur-

ports to qualify the trust beneficiary for federal supple-

mental security income, or public or medical assistance

pursuant to title 26, C.R.S., unless the trust meets the

criteria set forth in sections 15-14-409.6 to 15-14-409.9,

C.R.S., and any rule adopted by the medical services

board pursuant to section 26-4-506.6, C.R.S.

App. 35

APPENDIX M

Colorado Rules of Ciyj] Procedure, Rule 1. Scope of

Rules

(a) Procedure Governed. These rules govern the pro-

cedure in the Supreme court, court of appeals, district

court and superior courts and in the juvenile and probate

courts of the City and County of Denver, in all actions,

Suits and Proceedings of a civil nature, whether cogniza-

ble as cases at law or in equity, and in all special statutory

proceedings, with the exceptions stated in Rule 81. They

shall be liberally construed to secure the just, speedy, and

inexpensive determination of every action. Rules of civil

procedure governing county courts shall be in accordance

with Chapter 25 of this volume. Rules of Procedure gov-

erning probate courts and probate Proceedings in the

district courts shall be in accordance with these rules and

Chapter 27 of this volume. (In case of conflict between

rules, those set forth in Chapter 27 shall control.) Rules of

Procedure governing juvenile courts and juvenile pro-

ceedings in the district courts shall be in accordance with

these rules and Chapter 28 made effective on the same

date as these rules. In case of conflict between rules those

set forth in Chapter 28 shall control. Rules of Procedure

in Municipal Courts are in Chapter 30.

(b) Effective Date. These rules will take effect on April

1, 1970, and thereafter al] laws in conflict therewith shall

be of no further force or effect. They govern all proceed-

ings in actions brought after they take effect and also all

further Proceedings in actions then Pending, except to the

extent that in the opinion of the court their application in

a particular action pending when the rules take effect

App. 36

would not be feasible or would work injustice, in which

event the former procedure applies.

(c) How Known and Cited. These rules shall be known

and cited as the Colorado Rules of Civil Procedure, or

Cie

Colorado Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 22. Inter-

pleader

(1) Persons having claims against the plaintiff may be

joined as defendants and required to interplead when

their claims are such that the plaintiff is or may be

exposed to double or multiple liability. It is not ground

for objection to the joinder that the claims of the several

claimants or the titles on which their claims depend do

not have a common origin or are not identical but are

adverse to and independent of one another, or that the

plaintiff avers that he is not liable in whole or in part to

any or all of the claimants. A defendant exposed to simi-

lar liability may obtain such interpleader by way of cross

claim or counterclaim. The provisions of this Rule supple-

ment and do not in any way limit the joinder of parties

permitted in Rule 20.

(2) In any civil action of interpleader, a district

court may enter its order restraining all claimants from

instituting or prosecuting any proceeding in any court of

this state affecting the property, instrument, or obligation

involved in the interpleader action until further order of

the court. Such district court shall hear and determine the

App. 37

case, and may discharge the plaintiff from further lia-

bility, make the injunction permanent, and make all

appropriate orders to enforce its judgment.

Colorado Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 82. Jurisdiction

Unaffected

These rules shall not be construed to extend or limit the

jurisdiction of any court.

App. 38

APPENDIX N

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLORADO

Civil Action No. 97-S-463

JOSEPH A. VENTO

Plaintiff,

vs.

COLORADO NATIONAL BANK, C. JEAN STEWART,

DAVID W. STARK, and JACK M. MERRITTS,

Defendants.

AFFIDAVIT OF DAVID W. STARK

David W. Stark, being first duly sworn, states as

follows:

1. Iam an attorney licensed to practice law in Colo-

rado. I represent and have represented Colorado National

Bank (“CNB”) in connection with various legal actions

involving Joseph A. Vento since 1987, and as such, have

personal knowledge of the matters contained in this affi-

davit.

2. In 1968, the Joseph A. Vento Trust, the Dominic

A. Vento Trust, the Irene C. Coulter Trust and the Cecilia

DeFellippie Trust became co-owners of an undivided one-

quarter interest in coal mining property in Fremont

County, Colorado. CNB and its predecessors (the First

National Bank of Pueblo, which became Colorado

National Bank-Pueblo, which became CNB) acted as the

sole Trustee of each of the four trusts which owned the

coal mining property.

App. 39

3. On or about September 8, 1987, Joseph A. Vento

and Cecilia DeFellippie filed an action against CNB’s

predecessor asserting breach of fiduciary duty in manag-

ing and administering their trusts and the Trust property

(the “1987 Action”). On June 15, 1993, the plaintiffs in the

1987 Action each obtained a judgment against CNB in the

amount of $931,962.50 (the “Judgments”). The trial court

also awarded costs and interest at a rate of 8% from

March 22, 1985. The amount of the Judgments, including

pre- and post-judgment interest, was approximately

$4,347,307.48 as of January 3, 1996. CNB unsuccessfully

appealed the Judgments. The Colorado Supreme Court

denied CNB’s petition for certiorari on December 11,

1995.

4. In June 1994, the beneficiaries of the Irene i.

Coulter Trust and the Dominic A. Vento Trust sued CNB

and Joseph A. Vento in the Denver District Court, alleg-

ing among other claims breach of fiduciary duty and

negligence, because they were not included in or advised

of the 1987 Action. These beneficiaries also filed an action

against me, my law firm, and other attorneys who

worked on the 1987 Action, based on the same allega-

tions. CNB settled with the plaintiffs in that case, and

Joseph A. Vento prevailed on the claims against him

following a jury trial in April 1996.

5. On or about December 22, 1995, Linda Saunders

filed an action, as Personal Representative of the Estate of

Cecilia DeFellippie in the District Court, Pueblo County,

Colorado in which Ms. Saunders alleges that a dispute

exists regarding the division of proceeds of the Judg-

ments between the plaintiffs in the 1987 Action and

Wesley Kettelkamp, who acted as attorney for plaintiffs

App. 40

in the 1987 Action. Mr. Kettelkamp claims entitlement to

a portion of the proceeds of the Judgments for payment

of legal services he rendered to Plaintiff and Cecilia

DeFellippie in the 1987 Action.

6. Following the denial of CNB’s petition for cer-

tiorari, CNB received or became aware of letters from the

beneficiaries of the Irene C. Coulter and Dominic A.

Vento Trusts, as well as from attorneys for Ms. Saunders

and Mr. Kettelkamp, all claiming some interest in the

proceeds of the Judgments. On December 29, 1995, CNB

filed an action in the Denver Probate Court, Case No. 95

PR 2379 (the “Interpleader Action”) in response to these

competing claims, and in order to satisfy the Judgments

entered in the 1987 Action.

7. On January 3, 1996, the Denver Probate Court

entered an order in the Interpleader Action directing

CNB to transfer to an account at Norwest Bank approxi-

mately $4.4 million, representing the amount of the Judg-

ments against CNB, plus costs awarded and interest

accrued as of January 3, 1996. The order provided that

“upon transfer of the Judgment amount .. . CNB shall be

considered to have satisfied the Judgment...” A certi-

fied copy of this order is attached to Defendants Colo-

rado National Bank and David W. Stark’s Motion to

Dismiss, or in the Alternative, Motion for Summary Judg-

ment (“Motion”) as Exhibit B. Prior to January 3, 1996, 1

provided Mr. Vento and his counsel, Mr. Barber with

copies of the Complaint and Motion in the Interpleader

Action. I asked Mr. Vento if he would accept service of

the complaint in the Interpleader Action, but he did not

agree to do so.

App. 41

8. Mr. Vento has made six separate requests to the

Denver Probate Court itself in the Interpleader Action to

overturn the Denver Probate Court’s January 3 ruling:

a.

Motion to Change Venue, filed January 8,

1996, denied April 26, 1996;

Motion to Vacate, filed January 8, 1996,

denied April 26, 1996;

Renewed Motion to Change Venue, filed Jan-

uary 25, 1996, denied April 26, 1996;

Motion for Relief from January 3 Order on

Interpleader, filed February 8, 1996, denied

April 26, 1996; and

Objection By Defendant Joseph A. Vento to

CNB Being Discharged From All Further Lia-

bility and Dismissed From This Case; Affir-

matively for a Motion for an Order to

Dismiss this Case, or Alternatively for an

Order Vacating or Dissolving the Preliminary

or Temporary Injunction, filed October 18,

1996, and denied December 13, 1996; and

Amended Answer of Joseph A. Vento (alleg-

ing lack of due process as an affirmative

defense) filed September 25, 1996.

A certified copy of the Register of Actions in the

Interpleader Action is attached to the Motion as Exhibit C.

9. In response to the Denver Probate Court’s Janu-

ary 3 order, Mr. Vento applied to the Colorado Supreme

Court for Writs of Prohibition and Mandamus against the

Denver Probate Court on June 20, 1996, and the petition

was denied on June 27, 1996. Mr. Vento also appealed the

April 26, 1996 order of the Denver Probate Court, which

affirmed its January 3, 1996 Order, to the Colorado Court

App. 42

of Appeals on July 26, 1996, and the appeal was dis-

missed, with prejudice, on August 9, 1996.

10. On April 26, 1996, The Honorable Patti F.

O’Rourke denied Vento’s request that she hold CNB in

contempt in the 1987 Action for CNB’s alleged failure to

pay the Judgments, and ruled that the jurisdiction of the

Denver Probate Court was a question that only the

Denver Probate Court could decide. A certified copy of

Judge O’Rourke’s Order on Citation for Contempt is

attached to the Motion as Exhibit D.

11. The Honorable Rosalie Vigna granted summary

judgment in the Pueblo Action on April 1, 1997, ruling

that CNB satisfied the Judgments in the Interpleader

Action, and that Vento’s claims were barred by collateral

estoppel. A certified copy of Judge Vigna’s Summary

Judgment Order is attached to the Motion as Exhibit E.

12. Vento has now moved to disqualify or recuse

Judge Rice trom the Interpleader Action, less than twenty

days prior to the April 28, 1997 trial date. A copy of

Vento’s Motion to Disqualify, or Alternatively, for

Recusal, is attached to the Motion as Exhibit F.

/s/ David W. Stark

David W. Stark

App. 43

STATE OF COLORADO )

) SS.

COUNTY OF DENVER )

I hereby certify that the foregoing Affidavit was sub-

scribed and sworn to before me on this 21st day of April,

1997.

WITNESS my official hand and seal.

My commission expires: 9-27-98.

/s/ Diana Frogge

Notary Public

[SEAL]

App. 44

APPENDIX O

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

JOSEPH A. VENTO,

Plaintiff-Appeliant,

v. No. 98-1236

)

)

)

)

COLORADO NATIONAL BANK; ?

C. JEAN STEWART; )

DAVID W. STARK;

JACK M. MERRITTS, .

)

Defendants-Appellees.

OPENING BRIEF OF PLAINTIFF-APPELLANT

JOSEPH A. VENTO

Appeal From The United States District Court

For The District Of Colorado,

Case No. 97-S-463

/s/

Joseph A. Vento, #637

Pro se

102 S. Tejon, Suite 1100

Colorado Springs, CO 80903

(719) 578-3329

App. 45

TABLE OF CONTENTS

AUTHORITIES PAGE

STATEMENT OF SUBJECT MATTER AND APPEL-

LATE JURISDICTION 2.0... ccccccccccccccececee.

STATEMENT OF THE ISSUES PRESENTED FOR

chats sernuilh Ee RE:

(1) The Nature of the Case.......................

(2) The Course of Proceedings and Disposition In

WO I Py on ves ceduceevacvevseecen...

(3) Statement of the Facts ........................

1. The United States District Court For The District Of

Colorado Erred In Granting The Motions To Dismiss

Of The Defendant Colorado National Bank, Defén-

dant C. Jean Stewart, Defendant David W. Start, and

Defendant Jack M. Merritts......................

2. The District Court Erred In Finding That Appel-

lee C. Jean Stewart As The Denver Probate Judge

Had Jurisdiction Over The Interpleader Action

Hearing On January 3, 1996, In The Denver Pro-

bate Court In Case No. 95 PR 2379............

3. The District Court Erred In Granting The Motions

To Dismiss Without Considering That The Defen-

dants Acted To Deprive The Appellant Vento Of

His Property Without Due Process Of Law In The

Interpleader Proceeding In The Denver Probate

RNC 6shaUibctedssdnlnnse dun ade cue. aca, os

10

11

21

App. 46

AUTHORITIES

Table of Cases

Adickes v. S. H. Kress & Co., 398 US 144, 90 S Ct

i e oe PF Be ere ere 15

Ament v. Commonwealth Nat. Bank, 404 F.Supp. 911

CRUE a vuscucevvasSea0uUCs Nada tresesenucocyces cabs’ 15

Anderson v. Pinkett, 439 F.2d 619 (1971).............. 23

Auster Oil & Gas, Inc. v. Stream, 764 F.2d 381 (1985) .... 16

Bounds v. Smith, 430 US 817, 917 S Ct 1491, 52 L.Ed

De Fe GRR OO I rahi wa enone nce cede vunseeane 0644000 11

Brucar v. Ruben, 638 F.2d 987 (1980)................. 17

Coleman v. Turpen, 697 F.2d 1341 (10th Cir. 1983)....12, 29

Conley v. Gibson, 355 US 41, 78 S Ct 99, 2 L.Ed 2d

OD I aac decease aiee eee iie iees 11

Crabtree v. Muchmore, 904 F.2d 1475 (10th Cir.

FOSicvcceendebene ss lkkcceccesec cde ctlocteen 14, 19

Daniels v. Williams, 474 US at 441, 1065 Ct 662, 88

RS F FO SE. RS enn ee 30

Davis v. Adams, 328 S.W.2d 851 (1965)............... 23

Dennis v. Sparks, 449 US 24, 101 S Ct 183, 66 L.Ed

es Ss OE so erGees fae cur bua c leces cs vane oc 15

Dykes v. Hosemann, 743 F.2d 1488 (1984).......... a a

Faulkner v. American Casualty, 584 A.2d 734 (1991) .... 31

First National Bank of Denver v. District Court, 652

rr Pree rrr Peer 27

Flagg Brothers, Inc. v. Brooks, 436 US 149 98 S Ct

57am, OO Le BO BBD CUOTE)... cece csccessvcntcecess 20

Garrett v. Garrett, 490 P.2d 313 (Colo. App. 1971) .... 27

Rae tia casa a a ce cen

App. 47

Hrabczuk v. John Lucas Landscaping, 888 P.2d 367

Sigs aro oa ROCCO ee ae 27

Hylton v. Colo. Spgs, 505 P.2d 26 (Colo. App. 1973) .... 28

In re Krystal, 584 A.2d 672 OP er Sisevevid. cae 23

In re Kus, 356 N.W.2d 23 So eT ee 23

In re Marriage of Stroud, 631 P.2d 168 (Colo. App.

RES iseieivcsiscasiveve 22

In re Milliman’s Estate, 406 P.2d 873 (a 23

Jacobs, Visconsi & Jacobs v. City of Lawrence, 927 F.

2d 1111 (10th Cir. siege ee PIA 10

Jeffries v. Turkey Run Consolidated School District,

Be fen cciiescicerstcce 30

Lee v. Town of Estes Park, Colo., 820 F.2d 1112 (10th

Eres ed se disviess sce... 14

Longshore v. City of Homewood, 171 S.2d 453 (1965) .... 23

Lugar v. Edmondson Oil Co., 457 US 992, 1025 Ct

2744, 73 L. Ed 2d 482 i. | re ---.12, 15, 16

Matter of Mahoney Estate, 396 N.W.2d 494 (1986)... __ 23

McKee v. Heggy, 703 F.2d 479 (10th Cir. 1983)... 32

Miller v. City of Mission, Kan., 705 F.2d 368 (1983)... . 32

Monument Builders v. American Cemetery Assn., 891

F.2d 1473 (10th Cir. sae sao ll

Mullane v. Central Hanover Bank and Trust Co , 339

US 396 aS he 32

Norton v. Liddell, 620 F2d 1375 (10th Cir 1980)...15, 17

Paine, Webber, Jackson and Curtis, Inc. v. Adams, 718

P.2d 508 (Colo. vteina ba eer ee TO ae 22

App. 48

Parratt v. Taylor, 451 US 527, 68 L.Ed 2d 420, 101S

GE Fe Cee ac crn cescencescesccctsnteedeticenes 33

People v. Jones, 631 P.2d 1132 (Colo. 1981)........... 27

People v. Kniss, 144 Colo. 351, 357 P.2d 352 (1960) .... 25

People in the Interest of Maddox, 597 P.2d 573 (Colo.

PEPE n ecerecavusavescsvdscceseeecessesessegada viene 27

Picking v. Pennsylvania R. Co., 5 F.R.D. 76 (1946)..... 20

Pierce v. United States, 252 US 239, 250 (1919) ....... 19

Regina v. Murphy, 8 C. & P. 297, 310 (1837) (Cool-

MOGI, BP oc cvccccvctcvccccacveccdsccvecesvesoeces 19

Richardson v. Fleming, 651 F.2d 366 (1981) ........... 17

Sparkman v. McFarlin, 601 F.2d 261 (1979) ........... 17

Texaco, Inc. v. Pennzoil Co., 784 F.2d 1133, 1147

Ph but ddaseeudeeedéie sein shen seeelin ibabevase 19

Tulsa Professional Collection Services v. Pape, 485 US

478, 486, 108 S Ct 1340, 1345, 99 L.Ed 2d 565

PD ccebsced wubeketusede $ededdeudeedearsun acaeek 17

United States v. Price, 380 US 784, 86 S Ct 1152, 16

i 2 2 adsl. fee telt ee hadainawnekbe me Oa 15

Voytka v. Ramada Inn of Altantic City, 445 F.Supp.

Paty See COPED oc vecsvdngnksédesevadsesccaesenvess 15

Walker Process Equipment, Inc. v. Food Machinery

Chemical Corp., 382 US 172, 174 (1965) ............ 12

Westinghouse Electric Corp. v. United Elec. R. & M.

Workers, 99 F.Supp. 597 (1951) .........0--eeeeeeee 31

Zinermon v. Burch, 498 US 113, 110 S Ct 975, 108

* § 68 % ££ £4x°=P Oe eer |

ite eemnersn see peers

Sa

App. 49

Statutes

Colorado Revised Statutes § gE 21, 22

Ty ee Re te eee! Oe 1

42 U.S.C. § 1983....._. 1, 2, 9, 11, 12, 14, 15, 17, 19, 29

FS Ber shcteveitrecset ee a

Rules

Fed. R. Civ. P. PEN sh wns's Vennuiiny series ncies x. 2

Fed. R. Civ. P. WOES ood v cs erescsccy,. 2, 9, 10, 11, 12

Colo. Appellate Rule OF 9466 +8 een dn esnnnenien de. don 27

MO NMUM Bitrsirnciier coviisiecspustecs, 25

Colo. R. Civ. P22.......0.....0 6, 7, 20, 22, 23, 24

seks Wcvig sing Met LT ee 25

a ER Basse sce viedeccxdbvsiseeds 0... 3

Fed. R. Civ. P WO + Hs erevevssescnccsccsnecesee.,.. 21

aes ete ining ere 2

Other Authorities

20 Am Jur 2d Courts § 110.....0.00000000......0. 28

Colorado Constitution, Article VI Section | eee 9, 21

United States Constitution, Fourteenth Amend-

ret beter ire Mivustelts [1.05 15, 16, 17, 29, 32

Wright, Miller & Kane, Federal Practice and Pro-

cedure, Civil 2d douaid as 11

App. 50

STATEMENT OF SUBJECT MATTER

AND APPELLATE JURISDICTION

The District Court had subject matter jurisdiction

pursuant to 42 U.S.C. §1983 and 42 U.S.C. §1988. The

judgment appealed from is a final order. This Court has

jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §1291. The Order of

June 4, 1998, by the District Court was entered on June 8,

1998. The Notice of Appeal was filed on June 22, 1998,

which renders it timely under Rule 4(b) of Fed. R. App. P.

STATEMENT OF THE ISSUES PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

(1) Whether The United States District Court For The

District Of Colorado Erred In Granting The Motion To

Dismiss Of Each Of The Appellees, Colorado National

Bank, C. Jean Stewart, David W. Stark and Jack M.

Merritts?

(2) Whether The District Court Erred In Finding

That Appellee C. Jean Stewart As The Denver Probate

Judge Had Jurisdiction Over The Interpleader Action

Hearing On January 3, 1966, In The Denver Probate

Court In Case No. 95 PR 2379?

(3) Whether The District Court Erred In Granting

The Motions To Dismiss Without Considering That The

Appellees Acted To Deprive The Appellant Joseph A.

Vento Of His Property Without Due Process Of Law In

The Interpleader Action In The Denver Probate Court

In Case No. 95 PR 2379?

App. 51

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

(1) The Nature of the Case

This is a civil rights case pursuant to 42 U.S.C.

§1983.

(2) The Course of Proceedings and Disposition In

the Court Below

On March 7, 1997, Joseph A. Vento (Vento) as plaintiff

filed an action under 42 U.S.C. §1983 against Colorado

National Bank (CNB), C. Jean Stewart (Judge Stewart),

David W. Stark, an attorney (Stark), and Jack M. Merritts,

an attorney (Merritts) in the United States District Court

for the District of Colorado, Civil Action No. 97-S-463.

On April 1, 1997, Merritts filed a motion to dismiss

for failure to state a claim for which relief can be granted

Pursuant to Rule 12(b)(6) of Fed. R. Civ. P.

On April 22, 1997, CNB and Stark filed a motion to

dismiss pursuant to Fed. R. Ciy. P 12(b)(1) and 12(b)(6),

or in the alternative, motion for summary judgment pur-

suant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 56.

On June 17, 1997, Judge Stewart filed a motion to

dismiss Pursuant to Rules 12(b)(1) and 12(b)(6) of Fed. R.

Civ. P.

On July 21, 1997, the District Court ordered that the

Court’s July 9, 1997, Order of Reference to Magistrate

Judge Bruce D. Pringle shall include the foregoing

motions to dismiss.

On April 28, 1998 the Recommendation of United

States Magistrate Judge Bruce D. Pringle was filed. He

recommended that all three of the foregoing motions to

App. 52

dismiss be granted; that the case be dismissed with preju-

dice; and that the motions for attorney fees and expenses

under Fed. R. Civ. P. 11 be granted to CNB and Stark; and

that the motion for attorney fees by Merritts under 42

U.S.C. §1988 be granted.

On June 4, 1998, United States District Judge Daniel

B. Spaar agreed with the Recommendation of Magistrate

Judge Bruce D. Pringle in its entirety and Ordered:

1. Defendant Jack M. Merritts’ Motion to Dismiss

(filed April 1, 1997) is GRANTED.

2. Defendants Colorado National Bank’s and David

W. Stark’s Motion to Dismiss (filed April 22, 1997) is

GRANTED.

3. Defendant C. Jean Stewart’s Motion to Dismiss

(filed June 17, 1997) is GRANTED.

4. Defendants Colorado National Bank’s and David

W. Stark’s Motion for Injunction Prohibiting Joseph Vento

from Filing Additional Complaints Against David W.

Stark, Colorado National Bank, or Any of Their Agents or

Attorneys Without Leave of Court (filed April 22, 1997) is

DENIED.

5. Defendant C. Jean Stewart’s Motion to Stay Dis-

covery (filed June 17, 1997) is DENIED as moot.

6. Defendants Colorado National Bank’s and David

W. Stark’s Motion for Sanctions Under Fed. R. Civ. P. 11

(filed April 29, 1997) is GRANTED. This matter is hereby

referred back to the Magistrate Judge for determination

of the amount of reasonable attorney fees and expenses to

be awarded.

Wisteiccommemenasneess tues: 5s ene es mmr

App. 53

7. Defendant Jack M. Merritts’ request for costs,

including reasonable attorney fees pursuant to 42 U.S.C.

§1988 (made April 1, 1997) is GRANTED. This matter is

hereby referred back to the Magistrate Judge for deter-

mination of the amount of reasonable attorney fees and

expenses to be awarded.

8. Defendant Stewart's request for costs and attor-

ney fees (made June 17, 1997) is DENIED.

9. Plaintiff Vento’s request for attorney fees for

responding to the Motion for Injunction (made May 21,

1997) is DENIED.

10. This civil action is dismissed with Prejudice.

On June 22, 1998, Vento filed a Notice of Appeal to

the United States Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit.

(3) Statement of the Facts

On September 3, 1987, Vento and his sister, Cecilia De

Fellippie (she died on December 1, 1995), filed an action

in the Pueblo County District Court, Civil Action No. 87

CV 867, against Colorado National Bank-Pueblo (CNB-

Pueblo) for breach of fiduciary duty. After a long span

including two trials, on June 15, 1993, District Court

Judge Patti F. O’Rourke entered judgment in favor of

Vento and his sister individually and against CNB-Pueblo

in its corporate capacity. In that Order of Judgment Vento

was granted a judgment for damages to certain seams of

coal property held in trust in accordance with his propor-

tionate interest. Later, the judgment was amended to

include prejudgment interest from March 22, 1985. His

Sister was granted the same judgment.

App. 54

CNB-Pueblo initiated an appeal to the Colorado

Court of Appeals and in order to obtain a stay of execu-

tion during the appeal moved for an order staying execu-

tion of the District Court’s judgment entered on June 15,

1993, stating its intention to file a letter of credit as a

supersedeas bond. Vento and his sister objected to the

filing of a letter of credit as a supersedeas bond instead of

filing a supersedeas bond. A hearing was held on Sep-

tember 16, 1993, before Judge O’Rourke, and on Septem-

ber 24, 1993, she granted CNB-Pueblo’s motion for stay of

execution upon Colorado National Bank (CNB) as the

parent of CNB-Pueblo filing its own (CNB) letter of credit

| in the form submitted by CNB.

CNB-Pueblo, by this time having merged into CNB,

appealed the judgments to the Colorado Court of Appeals

where they were affirmed. Thereafter on December 11,

1995, the Colorado Supreme Court denied CNB-Pueblo’s

petition for writ of certiorari. Then the Colorado Court of

Appeals issued its mandate to the Pueblo County District

Court on January 5, 1996.

On December 21, 1995, the defendant Jack M. Mer-

ritts (Merritts) wrote a letter (Appendix, page 94) to

Thomas J. Bissell, Assistant General Counsel for CNB,

objecting to any distribution of funds by CNB to Vento

because of the unsuccessful appeal by CNB of the judg-

ment in the 1987 Action. In that letter Merritts demands

that CNB immediately take all appropriate action includ-

ing seeking an order of the appropriate court to deposit

the funds that would otherwise be paid to Vento (under

the judgment of June 15, 1993, in the Pueblo County

District Court) in an account with a national bank in

Denver. The letter ends with the statement that, “Mr.

a

App. 55

Siegel requested that I address this letter directly to you.”

Mr. Siegel is Kenneth B. Siegel, one of the attorneys for

the defendants CNB and Stark in this action.

On December 29, 1995, CNB filed a Complaint for

Interpleader and Injunctive Relief in the Denver Probate

Court, Case No. 95 PR 2379, with respect to the judg-

ments of the Pueblo County District Court of June 15,

1993, or the proceeds therefrom. The caption of the case

in the Denver Probate Court was: Colorado National Bank,

Plaintiff, v. Joseph A. Vento, Linda Saunders, Personal Repre-

sentative of the Estate of Cecilia De Fellippie, Irene C. Coulter,

Richard G. Vento, Angelina Vento, Marihelen Vento and

Wesley C. Kettelkamp, Jr.

The interpleader action was based on the following

three matters: (1) a claim of Vento’s attorney, W.C. Ket-

telkamp, Jr., to some portion of the judgments; (2) a

pending action by the Estate of Cecilia De Fellippie, in

the Pueblo County District Court; and (3) the letter of

Merritts dated December 21, 1995, mentioned above and

set forth in Paragraph 14 of the Complaint. Then in the

prayer of the Complaint CNB asks that the Denver Pro-

bate Court Satisfy judgments of the Pueblo County Dis-

trict Court.

The Denver Probate Court only has one judge who at

that time was Judge Stewart. The record shows a prior

relationship between CNB and Judge Stewart (Appendix,

Page 93). Without disclosing that in Case No. 95 PR 2379

as she had in a recent companion case, and a motion for

disqualification filed, she recused herself but without

first rescinding the Order on Interpleader Petition

(Appendix, Page 26) she issued on January 3, 1996.

App. 56

Under Rule 22 of the Colorado Rules of Civil Pro-

cedure, the interpleader rule, CNB joined the aforesaid

seven defendants in the action and then the Denver Pro-

bate Court required them to interplead. This included

Vento. On January 5, 1996, the Colorado Court of Appeals

in Case No. 93 CA 1375 issued its mandate ordering the

judgment is affirmed in Case No. 87 CV 867 in the Pueblo

County District Court. All that remained to occur in the

Pueblo County District Court was for the judgments to be

paid. Instead of paying off the judgments to Vento and

his sister and ending the litigation, CNB chose to inter-

plead the amounts of the Pueblo County District Court

judgments in the Denver Probate Court in Case No. 95 PR

2379. Of the seven parties joined as defendants by CNB

only two were judgment creditors, Vento and his sister's

estate. The other five parties were joined as defendants

because CNB alleged that each of them asserted claims

against the judgments or the proceeds therefrom,

although none of them were judgment creditors with

respect to the Pueblo County District Court judgments.

Rule 22 of the Colorado Rules of Civil Procedure provides

that, “persons having claims against the plaintiff (CNB)

may be joined as defendants. . . . That Rule 22 states

nothing about joining persons alleging claims against a

judgment on the proceeds therefrom.

After CNB’s interpleader complaint was filed on

December 29, 1995, in the Denver Probate Court, a hear-

ing was set on January 3, 1996. On that same day after a

non-evidentiary hearing that lasted for about one and on-

[sic] half hours, Judge Stewart, the Denver Probate Court

Judge, entered an Order on Interpleader Petition (Appen-

dix, page 26). Notice to Vento of that hearing at 10:30 a.m.

App. 57

on January 3, 1996, was given to him by serving him with

Process and notice of the hearing on January 3, 1996, at

his home in Pueblo, Colorado, which is more than 100

miles from Denver, at 7:45 a.m. On January 3, 1996, the

same day as the hearing.

On or about 9:15 a.m. on January 3, 1996, Vento

called the law firm of Dufford & Brown, PC. in Denver

and asked them to appear at that 10:30 a.m. hearing on

January 3, 1996, on his behalf. Upon appearing for Vento

at that hearing, the said law firm through Phillip D.

Barber requested a continuance, which request was

abruptly denied (Appendix, pages 35-36).

In that Order on Interpleader Petition (Appendix,

page 26) on January 3, 1996, the Denver Probate Court

Purported to satisfy the judgment obtained against CNB-

Pueblo on June 15, 1993, in Civil Action No. 87 CV 867

without any payments being made to the judgment credi-

tors and before the Mandate issued out of the Colorado

Court of Appeals on January 5, 1996, affirming the judg-

ment granted in the 1987 action in the Pueblo County

District Court. All of this was done by CNB simply

depositing the judgment amounts with the Denver Pro-

bate Court in the interpleader action in Case No. 95 PR

2379. The seven defendants were then ordered to inter-

plead and file claims for the interpleaded funds. Even

though his judgment had been affirmed by the appellate

courts of Colorado, Vento had to once again compete for

the interpleaded funds with six other defendants.

App. 58

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Vento respectfully submits that the District Court's

Order of June 4, 1998 (Appendix, page 115), granting the

Motions to Dismiss of Defendant Jack M. Merritts, Defen-

dants Colorado National Bank and David W. Stark, and

Defendant C. Jean Stewart is erroneous and should be

reversed for the following reasons and each of them:

1. The District Court erroneously dismissed Vento’s

Complaint for failure to state a claim upon which relief

can be granted pursuant to Rule 12(b)(6) of Fed. R. Civ. P.

The Complaint together with Exhibits A through H

attached to and made a part thereof adequately pleads

facts to state a claim for relief against the defendants.

There is alleged in Count I of the Complaint (Appendix,

page 10) a claim for relief against the defendants based

upon the private defendants being jointly engaged and

acting together with Judge Stewart and willfully partici-

pating in joint activity with Judge Stewart. Alternately,

there is alleged in Count II of the Complaint (Appendix,

page 22) a claim for relief based upon the defendants

being involved in a conspiracy.

2. The District Court held that Judge Stewart had

jurisdiction over the interpleader suit because, “Plaintiff

(Vento) fails to understand that the interpleader action

was brought in the Denver Probate Court because the

money owed as a result of the Pueblo District Court

judgment belonged to an express trust.” (Appendix, page

116.) The District Court was erroneous. The judgments

belonged to individuals, Joseph A. Vento and his sister,

Cecilia De Fellippie. Furthermore, Judge Stewart acted

with a complete absence of jurisdiction because, among

3. The District Court held that the Private party

defendants, CNB, Stark and Merritts did not act under

color of state law for Purposes of §1983. The District

Court erred because they jointly engaged with, acted

[sic], causing harm and injury to Vento (Appendix, Pages

19-22; Paragraphs 23-26 of the Complaint). Also, it is

involved in a conspiracy with Judge Stewart (Appendix,

Pages 11-14; Par<graphs 25 and 27-30 of the Complaint).

App. 60

ARGUMENT AND AUTHORITIES

The Standard Of Review

The standard of review for a District Court’s dis-

missal of a complaint pursuant to Rule 12(b)(6) of Fed. R.

Civ. P. for failure to state a claim for relief for which relief

could be granted is reviewed de novo. Jacobs, Visconsi &

Jacobs v. City of Lawrence, 927 F. 2d 1111 (10th Cir. 1991). A

dismissal for failure to state a claim upon which relief

may be granted cannot be upheld “unless it appears

beyond doubt that the plaintiff can prove no set of facts

in support of his claim which would entitle him to relief.

Conley v. Gibson, 355 US 41, 45-46, 78 S Ct. 99, 101-102, 2

L.Ed 2d 80 (1957). In reviewing such a dismissal, the

appellate court must examine only the pleadings, accept

the factual averments as true and view them in a light

most favorable to the plaintiff. Monument Builders v.

American Cemetery Assn, 891 F.2d 1473, 1476 (10th Cir.

1989).

1. The United States District Court For The District Of

Colorado Erred In Granting The Motions To Dis-

miss Of The Defendant Colorado National Bank,

Defendant C. Jean Steward, Defendant David W.

Stark, And Defendant Jack M. Merritts.

A motion to dismiss brought pursuant to Rule

12(b)(6) of Fed. R. Civ. P. for failure to state a claim upon

which relief can be granted requires the court to deter-

mine whether the plaintiff has pleaded cognizable claims.

The Federal Rules of Civil Procedure do not require a

claimant to set out in detail the facts upon which he bases

his claim. To the contrary, all the Rules require is a short

quately does that.

Two Primary issues in a §1983 action are: (1) whether

the defendants violated the plaintiff’s constitutional

(1) After numerous unsuccessfy] attempts in the

Denver Probate Court, the Pueblo District Court, the

Colorado Court of Appeals and the Colorado Supreme

App. 62

Court to either overturn the interpleader order or obtain

relief from its adverse effects. . . . (Page 3 of the Judge

Magistrate’s Recommendation) (Appendix, page 104).

There were no documents or contents to show or explain

the unsuccessful attempts indicating that this was spin

lifted from the defendants’ motions and briefs.

(2) This expansively worded provision invests the

probate court with at least colorable jurisdiction over

competing claims of several express trusts to a particular

asset or fund. (Page 5 of the Judge Magistrate’s Recom-

mendation) (Appendix, page 106).

(3) “Plaintiff fails to understand that the inter-

pleader action was brought the Denver Probate Court

because “the money owed as a result of the Pueblo Dis-

trict Court judgment belonged to an express trust.” (Page

2 of the District Court Order of June 4, 1998) (Appendix,

page 116). The money owed as a result of the Pueblo

County District Court belonged to Joseph A. Vento and

his sister, Cecilia De Fellippie, individually, because the

judgment was granted to them individually.

(4) “Because Defendant Stewart did not act in the

clear absence of all jurisdiction, she is entitled to absolute

immunity from Plaintiff’s claims based on her rulings

and orders in the interpleader action before the Denver

Probate Court.” (Page 2 of the District Court Order of

June 4, 1998) (Appendix, page 116)

(5) “Plaintiff objects to the Magistrate Judge’s state-

ment of the facts. Upon review, the court is satisfied that

the Magistrate Judge did not materially misstate Plain-

tiff’s factual allegations and that the Magistrate Judge

applied the appropriate standard of review for a motion

App. 63

to dismiss.” (Page 3 of the District Court Order of June 4,

1998) (Appendix, Page 117). The only facts the District

Court should consider are those pleaded in the Com-

plaint.

(6) “This Complaint appears be nothing more than

an attempt to relitigate issues already litigated in the

state courts.” (Page 3 of the District Court Order of June

4, 1998) (Appendix, Page 117).

Vento presented three counts in his Complaint. Count

I alleges a separate claim for ;elief in which private

individuals and a Private entity engage with and act

jointly with state Officials in the challenged action

(Appendix, page 10). Count II alleges a separate claim for

relief for conspiracy (Appendix, Page 22). Count III seeks

Punitive or exemplary damages (Appendix, Page 23).

The District Court did not focus on alternate theories

of recovery and the inability to state claim under one

approach does not preclude consideration of a second

approach. Crabtree v, Muchmore, 904 F.2d 1475, 1480 (10th

Cir. 1990).

The Complaint alternately alleges three different

ways that the private defendants (CNB, Stark and Mer-

ritts) were acting under color of law:

(1) Jointly engaged with, acting jointly, and/or acting

together with Judge Stewart. See Paragraphs 23, 24 and

25 of the Complaint (Appendix, Pages 19-21).

(2) Willful Participant in joint activity with Judge

Stewart. See Paragraphs 15, 16, 17, 19, 23, 24 and 25 of the

Complaint (Appendix, Pages 15 and 19-21).

App. 64

(3) Involvement in a conspiracy with Judge Stewart.

See paragraphs 25 and 27 through 30 of the Complaint

(Appendix, pages 20-23).

Acting Under Color Of Law By

Joint Engagement - Count I

It is well established that private individuals can be

held liable under §1983. In order to hold a private indi-

vidual liable under §1983 it must be shown that the

private person, (a) was jointly engaged with state officials

in the challenged action, or (b) has received significant

aid from state officials, or (c) that the private individual’s

conduct is in some way chargeable to the state. Lee v.

Town of Estes Park, Colo., 820 F. 2d 1112, 1114 (10th Cir.

1987).

Where a plaintiff alleges that the attorney “joined or

cooperated with” or conspired with state officials who

acted under color of state law, state action will exist.

Ament v. Commonwealth Nat. Bank, 404 F. Supp 911, 914 n:6

((1981). In Adickes v. S. H. Kress & Co., 398 US 144, 90S Ct

1598, 26 L.Ed.2d 142 (1970) the Supreme Court reaffirmed

the rule that “private persons jointly engaged with state

officials in the prohibited action are acting “under color

of law” for purposes of §1983. See also, Norton v. Liddell,

620 F.2d 1375, 1378 (10th Cir. 1980). A private person

acting jointly with state officials in the prohibited action

acts under color of low [sic]. United States v. Price, 380 US

784, 86 S Ct 1152, 16 L.Ed 2d 267 (1966).

To act under color of state law for §1983 purposes

does not require that the defendant be an officer of the

state. It is enough that he is a willful participant in joint

App. 65

action with the State or its agents. Private persons, jointly

engaged with state officials in the challenged action, are

acting “under color” of law for purposes of § 1983

actions. Dennis v. Sparks, 449 US 24, 1015S Ct 183, 66 L.Ed

2d 185, 189 (1980).

There is no bright line by which the conduct of

private parties become state action for Purposes of the

Fourteenth Amendment and civil rights statutes. Voytko v.

Ramada Inn of Atlantic City, 445 F.Supp. 315, 321 (1978).

In this case unlike Lugar v. Edmondson Oil Co., 452 US

992 (1982) and similar cases, there was no seizure of the

property in a physical manner or by the act of an officer

of the State taking custody. What we have here is the

private parties putting the Property into the custody of

the law in an interpleader suit and taking it away from

and removing it form [sic] the reach of the plaintiff Vento

through his judgment and interfering with his rights to

execute on the judgment or have his judgment satisfied.

In Lugar v. Edmondson Oil Co., 457 US 992, 102 S Ct

2744, 73 L. Ed 2d 482 (1982), the conduct allegedly caus-

ing the deprivation of a federal right to be fairly attrib-

uted to the State was reflected in a two part approach:

First, the deprivation must be caused (a) by the exercise

of some right or privilege created by the State (in the case

at hand C.R.C.P. 22 - Interpleader) or (b) by a person for

whom the State is responsible, in the case at hand, Judge

Stewart, and second, the party charged with the depriva-

tion be one who fairly may be said to be a state actor.

There is no doubt that Judge Stewart is a state actor

because she is a state official. Defendants CN B, Stark and

Merritts are state actors because they acted together with

App. 66

and were jointly engaged with Judge Stewart and with

each other in causing the deprivation. In Lugar, the

Supreme Court explained that a private party’s joint par-

ticipation with State officials in the seizure of disputed

property is sufficient to characterize that party as a “state

actor” for purposes of the Fourteenth Amendment and

that, “A private party invoking state prejudgment attach-

ment procedure acts under color of law,” and that “The

private use of challenged state procedures with the help

of state officials constitutes state action for purposes of

the Fourteenth Amendment.”

A seizure of property occurs when there is some

meaningful interference with an individual’s possessory

interest in that property. Auster Oil & Gas, Inc. v. Stream,

764 F.2d 381, 388 (1985). In the case at hand these defen-

dants interfered with Vento’s interest in his property by

bringing the interpleader action. When private parties

make use of state procedures with the overt, significant

assistance of state officials, state action may be found.

Tulsa Professional Collection Services v. Pape, 485 US 478,

486, 108 S Ct 1340, 1345, 99 L.Ed 2d 565 (1988).

If the misuse of the legal procedure is so egregious as

to subject the aggrieved individual to a deprivation of

constitutional dimensions and the tort feasor is acting

under color of state law, §1983 may be employed. Norton

v. Liddell, 620 F.2d 1375, 1378 (10th Cir. 1980).

Acting Under Color of Law With

A Conspiracy — Count II

The defendants in challenging the sufficiency of

Vento’s complaint argued that he had failed to state a

App. 67

claim under §1983 since he had failed to allege ade-

quately a conspiracy among the defendants. The involve-

ment of a state judge in a conspiracy plainly provides the

State action essential to show a violation of a plaintiffs

Fourteenth Amendment rights. Sparkman v,. McFarlin, 601

F.2d 261, 263 (1979). A Private party involved in such a

conspiracy, even though not an Official of the state, can be

liable under §1983. Sparkman, supra at page 264. Private

attorneys alleged to have conspired with state officials

may be held liable under §1983. Richardson v. Fleming, 651

F.2d 366, 368 (1981).

Conspiracies are ordinarily clandestine. A fact finder

could reasonably conclude on the basis of Vento’s allega-

tions, “not only that CNB, Stark and Merritts used the

State court Proceedings (the Denver Probate Court) to

produce a constitutional wrong, but that there was agree-

ment between them and Judge Stewart beyond ordinary

request and persuasion by CNB, and that Judge Stewart

invidiously used her office to deprive Vento of a federally

Protected right. Brucar v. Ruben, 638 F.2d 987, 993 (1980).

The following overt acts indicate that a conspiracy

existed between Judge Stewart, CNB, Stark and Merritts:

(1) Under the circumstances then prevailing, Vento

was not given a continuance on January 3, 1996 (Appen-

dix, pages 35-36).

(2) Vento was not given any time to file an answer

or otherwise respond to the complaint (Appendix, Page

13; paragraph 11 of the Complaint).

(3) On page 15 of the transcript of the hearing on

January 3, 1996, in the Denver Probate Court attached as

App. 68

Exhibit B to the Complaint before defendant Stark as

attorney for CNB finished his presentation, Judge Stew-

ard [sic] said, “Mr. Stark, I don’t think there is any

question that the bank is entitled to the relief you asked

for.” (Appendix, page 42)

(4) At page 53 of that transcript, Judge Stewart

stated the following even before the hearing was con-

cluded, “Well, I made a preliminary contract a few

moments before I came on the bench with Norwest Bank

Colorado.” (Appendix, page 79)

(5) The Denver Probate Court on January 3, 1996, in

an Order on Interpleader Petition satisfied a judgment of

the Pueblo County District Court with four or five days

after CNB filed an interpleader action in said Denver

Probate Court on December 29, 1995. At a hearing with-

out any evidence produced, the Denver Probate Court

satisfied that judgment on January 3, 1996 (Appendix,

pages 26-27).

(6) On December 21, 1995, defendant Merritts

demanded that CNB take all appropriate action to seek an

order of an appropriate court to deposit the funds that

would otherwise be paid to Vento in an interest bearing

account (Appendix, pages 94, 95). On January 3, 1996, a

little over ten days after December 21, 1995, defendants

did just that with an interpleader action in the Denver

Probate Court.

(7) The Denver Probate Court issued an Order on

Interpleader Petition on January 3, 1996 (Appendix,

pages 26-27), within a matter of hours after service of

process was made upon Vento (Appendix, pages 12, 13).

App. 69

Though the common design is the essence of the

charge, it is not necessary to prove that the defendants

came together and actually agreed in terms, to have that

design, and to pursue it by common means. If it is shown

that the defendants pursued by their acts the same object,

often by the same means, one performing one part and

another part of the Same, SO as to complete it, with a view

to the attainment of the Same object, the jury will be

justified in the conclusion that they were engaged in a

conspiracy to effect that object. Regina v. Murphy, 8 C. & P.

297, 310 (1837) (Cooleridge, J.). See Pierce v. United States,

252 US 239, 250 (1919).

The facts demonstrate that CNB, Stark and Merritts

acted outside the confines of the normal judicial pro-

cess ... The allegations demonstrate willful Participation

in a joint activity to cause harm and injury to Vento which

would justify characterization of these three defendants

court system in the course of an ordinary lawsuit. See

Crabtree v. Muchmore, 904 F.2d 1475, 1482 (10th Cir. 1990).

This is not a case where a private litigant and attorney

merely brought suit and sought a judicial ruling. See

Texaco, Inc. v. Pennzoil Co., 784 F.2d 1133, 1147 (1986).

These defendants went beyond the concept that, “private

use of state sanctioned Private remedies or Procedures

” See, e.g.,

Flagg Brothers, Inc. v, Brooks, 436 US 149, 98S Ct 1729, 56

There is no apparent reason or legal liability or bene-

fit to CNB that caused it to interplead the funds instead

of paying off the judgments. Rule 22 of the Colorado

App. 70

Rules of Procedure (Interpleader) provides in part that,

“(1) Persons having claims against the plaintiff may be

joined as defendants and required to interplead when

their claims are [sic] such that the plaintiff is or may be

exposed to double or multiple liability.” There is nothing

in the record to show that there were claims against CNB

exposing it to double or multiple liability. CNB’s argu-

ments that there were claims against the judgments is

meaningless.

Inasmuch as there was no basis for an interpleader

action in this matter because there were not two or more

claimants having claims against CNB the plaintiff, there

had to be agreement and concerted action to accomplish

what was done, i.e., for CNB to file an interpleader action

on December 29, 1995, and have the Denver Probate

Court to issue an Order on Interpleader Petition on Janu-

ary 3, 1996 (Appendix, pages 26-27).

The Complaint was sufficiently specific in alleging

that the defendants conspired to do an unlawful act and

set forth facts as to the acts performed by each defendant

in furtherance of the conspiracy, facts as to overt acts in

furtherance of the alleged conspiracy, and facts from

which the court could have seen the damages that natu-

rally would have resulted from the acts stated. See Pick-

ing v. Pennsylvania R. Co., 5 F.R.D. 76 (1946).

App. 71

2. The District Court Erred In Finding That Appel-

lee C. Jean Stewart As The Denver Probate Judge Had

Jurisdiction Over The Interpleader Action Hearing On

January 3, 1996, In The Denver Probate Court In Case

No. 95 PR 2379.

The District Court found that Judge Stewart did not

act in the absence of all jurisdiction for the following

reason, “Plaintiff fails to understand that the interpleader

action was brought in the Denver Probate Court because

the money owed as a result of the Pueblo District Court

judgment belong to an express trust.” (Appendix, page

116). This finding is clearly erroneous under the standard

of review set forth in Rule 52(a) of Fed. R. Civ. P. The

money owed as a result of the Pueblo County District

Court judgment belongs to Plaintiff Vento and his sister

as individuals. No money Owed as a result of the Pueblo

County District Court judgment belonged to an express

trust.

There is no jurisdiction of the interpleader action in

the Denver Probate Court under the Colorado Constitu-

tion or the Colorado statutes. The jurisdiction of the

Denver Probate Court stems from Article VI Section 9(3)

of the Colorado Constitution and C.RS. §13-9-103; Said

Section 9(3) of the Colorado Constitution provides as

follows:

(3) In the city and county of Denver, exclusive

Original jurisdiction in all matters of probate,

settlements of estates of deceased persons,

appointment of guardians, conservators and

administrators, and settlement of their accounts,

the adjudication of the mentally ill, and such

other jurisdiction as may be provided by law

App. 72

shall be vested in a probate court, created by

section 1 of this article, and to which court all of

such jurisdiction of the county court of the city

and county of Denver shall be transferred,

including all pending cases and matters, effec-

tive on the second Tuesday of January, 1965.

The defendants attempt to give the Denver Probate

Court jurisdiction in this matter by relying upon C.R.S.

§13-9-103 as follows:

(1) The probate court of the City and County of

Denver has original and exclusive jurisdiction in said city

and county of:

XXXX

(5) The court has jurisdiction to determine every

legal and equitable question arising out of or in connec-

tion with express trusts.

The action in interpleader in Case No. 95 PR 2379 in

the Denver Probate Court has nothing to do with express

trusts. It is an interpleader action only and all the parties

are either individuals or corporations acting in their cor-

porate capacity. Nor are there any legal or equitable

questions arising out of or in connection with express

trusts.

The Denver Probate Court is a court of limited juris-

diction and does not have jurisdiction over the inter-

pleader action under Rule 22 of the Colorado Rules of

Civil Procedure in Case No. 95 PR 2379. Subject matter

jurisdiction concerns the Court’s authority to deal with

the class of cases in which it renders judgment and refer-

ence must be made to the nature of the claim and the

relief sought. Paine, Webber, Jackson and Curtis, Inc. v.

App. 73

Adams, 718 P.2d 508 (Colo. 1986); In Re Marriage of Stroud,

631 P.2d 168 (Colo. App. 1981). In Case No. 95 PR 2379 in

the Denver Probate Court, the nature of the claim was

one dealing with interpleader and the relief sought was

interpleader and nothing else.

Nor did the Denver Probate Court have the power or

authority to render the Order on Interpleader Petition on

January 3, 1997, in Case No. 95 PR 2379 (Appendix, pages

26, 27).

Probate courts are courts of limited jurisdiction and

have only that jurisdiction which is expressly given by

Statute, and neither the probate judge nor the probate

court can have any greater authority than that conferred

by statute. Longshore v. City of Homewood, 171 $.2d 453

(1965). A probate court is a court of limited authority and

if it purports to act outside its statutory jurisdiction, its

decrees are null and void. In Re Milliman’s Estate, 406 P.2

873 (Ariz. App. 1965); In Re Krystal, 584 A.2d 672 (1991).

Probate courts do not become courts of general jurisdic-

tion just because an estate is involved. Matter of Mahoney

Trust, 396 N.W.2d 494 (Mich. App. 1986); In Re Kus, 356

N.W.2d 23 (Mich. App. 1984). Illustration of a clear lack

of subject matter jurisdiction would be a situation where

a probate judge, with jurisdiction over wills and estates,

would try a criminal case. The probate judge would not

be immune from suit. Dykes v. Hosemann, 743 F.2d 1488,

1495 (1984). It cannot, without more, be taken as an

authoritative abandonment of the long established doc-

trine in this jurisdiction that the modes of proceeding of

the probate court make it an inappropriate forum for the

resolution of conflicts over title to property, and one

which is, in any event, not Statutorily endowed with such

App. 74

authority. Anderson v. Pinkett, 439 F.2d 619 (1971). The

probate court is not the proper forum to enforce contrac-

tual rights. Davis v. Adams, 328 S.W.2d 851 (1965).

There is no jurisdiction under the Colorado Rules of

Civil Procedure or the Colorado Rules of Probate Pro-

cedure for interpleader actions in the Denver Probate

Court.

Rule 22(2) of the Colorado Rules of Civil Procedure

provides in part, “In any civil action of interpleader, a

district court (emphasis added) may enter its order. . . .

Such district court (emphasis added) shall hear and deter-

mine the case. The whole of Rule 22 is as follows:

“Rule 22. Interpleader

(1) Persons having claims against the plaintiff may

be joined as defendants and required to interplead when

their claims are such that the plaintiff is or may be

exposed to double or multiple liability. It is not ground

for objection to the joinder that the claims of the several

claimants or the titles on which their claims depend do

not have a common origin or are not identical but are

adverse to and independent of one another, or that the

plaintiff avers that he is not liable in whole or in part to

any or all of the claimants. A defendant exposed to simi-

lar liability may obtain such interpleader by way of cross

claim or counterclaim. The provisions of this Rule supple-

ment and do not in any way limit the joinder of parties

permitted in Rule 20.

(2) In any civil action of interpleader, a district

court may enter its order restraining all claimants from

instituting or prosecuting any proceeding in any court of

App. 75

this state affecting the property, instrument, or obligation

involved in the interpleader action until further order of

the court.

Such district court shall hear and determine the case,

and may discharge the plaintiff from further liability,

make the injunction permanent, and make all appropriate

orders to enforce its judgment.”

No subject matter jurisdiction is given to the Denver

Probate Court under Rule 22. Only district courts have

jurisdiction over an interpleader action under Rule 22 of

the Colorado Rules of Civil Procedure.

In his Recommendation the Magistrate Judge

attempted to give jurisdiction to the Denver Probate

Court by citing the following Rule (Appendix, page 106):

(a) Rule 1 of the Colorado Rules of Civil Procedure

provides that, “These rules govern the procedure in the

probate court for the City and County of Denver... . In

case of conflict between these rules and the Colorado

Rules of Civil Procedure. ..., these rules shall control.”

However, the Magistrate Judge overlooks Rule 82 of

the Colorado Rules of Civil Procedure which provides

that, “These rules shall not be construed to extend the

jurisdiction of any court.” Also, People v. Kniss, 144 Colo.

351, 357 P.2d 352 (1960) holds that the Colorado Supreme

Court by rule cannot invest a court with expanded juris-

diction.

The Magistrate Judge is mistaken when at pages 106

and 107 of his Recommendation he states that, “Suffice it

to say that at least a colorable argument can be made that

Rule 1 of the Colorado Rules of Civil Procedure vests the

App. 76

probate court with jurisdiction to pass on interpleader

claims (Appendix, pages 106-107).

On December 29, 1995, jurisdiction over the matters

involved in Case No. 95 PR 2379 in the Denver Probate

Court still rested in the Colorado Court of Appeals or the

Pueblo County District Court.

On December 29, 1995, the Appellee CNB filed a

Complaint For Interpleader And Injunctive Relief in the

Denver Probate Court, Case No. 95 PR 2379. Interpleaded

was the amount of the judgments in the 1987 Action

which judgments were granted to the Appellant Joseph

A. Vento and his sister Cecilia De Fellippie individually

by the Pueblo County District Court on June 23, 1993.

These judgments were appealed to the Colorado Court of

Appeals where they were affirmed and then to the Colo-

rado Supreme Court where certiorari was denied on

December 11, 1996. The Complaint also requested the

Denver Probate Court to satisfy the judgments granted by

the Puebio County District Court on June 23, 1993, which

it did on January 3, 1996. On January 3, 1996, the Denver

Probate Court issued an Order on Interpleader Petition

(Appendix, pages 26, 27).

On January 5, 1996, Mandate issued by the Colorado

Court of Appeals affirming the judgments of June 15,

1993, of the Pueblo County District Court.

The date of December 29, 1995, when CNB filed its

Complaint for Interpleader, was about seven days before

the Colorado Court of Appeals issued its Mandate on

January 5, 1996. Also, January 3, 1996, the date that the

Denver Probate Court issued its Order on Interpleader

Petition (Appendix, pages 26-27), was two days before

App. 77

January 5, 1996, when the Mandate issued by the Colo-

rado Court of Appeals. Therefore, at the time the Com-

plaint was filed on December 29, 1995, and the Order on

Interpleader Petition issued on January 3, 1996, jurisdic-

tion of the judgments and the amounts of those judg-

ments was in the Colorado Court of Appeals until

January 5, 1996, when the Mandate issued. Jurisdiction of

the judgments and the amounts of those judgments was

not in the Denver Probate Court on December 29, 1995,

and January 3, 1996, but either in the Colorado Court of

Appeals or the Pueblo County District Court.

Also, the jurisdiction with respect to the Pueblo

County District Court judgments remained at all times

with the Pueblo County District Court except for appel-

late purposes and the Denver Probate Court never had

nor got subject matter jurisdiction over these judgments

and so acted with a complete absence of jurisdiction.

“The mandate provided for in C.A.R. 41 (Rule 41 of the

Colorado Appellate Rules) is intended to establish the

finality of the judgment upon which the parties can rely

and a direct attack upon the judgment after the mandate

has issued as not contemplated by the appellate rules.

Garrett v. Garrett, 30 Colo. App. 167, 490 P.2d 313

(1971). ...In our view, the function of the mandate is to

establish the finality of the court’s judgment, . . . to

restore jurisdiction in the tribunal from which the appeal

or petition for review is taken, People v. Jones, 631 P.2d

1132 (Colo. 1981), and to communicate the court’s judg-

ment to that tribunal. Hrabczuk v. John Lucas Landscaping,

888 P.2d 367 (Colo. App. 1994).

Exclusive jurisdiction concerning the payment, col-

lection and execution of such judgments lies with the

App. 78

District Court of Pueblo County. “Once a court takes

jurisdiction of an action, it thereafter has exclusive juris-

diction of the subject and matters ancillary thereto. People

in Interest of Maddox v. District Court, 597 P.2d 573, 575

(Colo. 1979).

It is a general rule in Colordo [sic] that a court may

not stay execution and thereby impair or destroy the

statutory right of a creditor to enforce collection of its

judgment against non-exempt property of the judgment

debtor. First National Bank of Denver v. District Court, 652

P.2d 613, 616 (Colo. 1982).

Under normal appellate procedures a trial court loses

its jurisdiction over a case as soon as an appeal is per-

fected in the appellate court. ... Until the disposition of

the appeal is announced, the trial court defers to the

appellate court, but when the appellate court announces

its decision to affirm, reverse, remand or modify, then

under Colorado law the trial court is automatically rein-

vested with jurisdiction. .. . Upon regaining jurisdiction

the trial court, through the use of its own enforcement

procedures, is then responsible for execution of its own

judgment in accordance with any directions issued by the

appellate court. Hylton v. Colo. Spgs., 32 Colo. App. 9, 505

P.2d 26 (1973).

Under the foregoing principles the trial court, the

Pueblo County District Court, is automatically reinvested

with jurisdiction for execution of its own judgment.

The jurisdiction of a court is continuing; once a court

has acquired jurisdiction of a case, its jurisdiction con-

tinues until the court has done all that it can do to

App. 79

exercise that jurisdiction to determine, subject to appel-

late review, all the issues involved, and to grant such

complete relief as is within its jurisdictional powers to

grant. 20 Am Jur. 2d Courts §110.

On January 3, 1996, in Case No. 95 PR 2379, the

Denver Probate Court did not have jurisdiction over the

Defendant, Linda Saunders, Personal Representative of

the Estate of Cecilia De Fellippie.

The Denver Probate Court issued its Order on Inter-

pleader Petition when it did not have jurisdiction over

the defendant, Linda Saunders, Personal Representative

of the Estate of Cecilia De Fellippie because of a pending

action in the District Court, Pueblo County, Colorado,

Linda Saunders, as Personal Representative for the Estate of

Cecilia De Fellippie v. Joseph A. Vento and Wesley C. Ket-

telkamp, Jr., as set forth in paragraph 13 of the Complaint

for Interpleader and Injunctive Relief.

The Denver Probate Court also recognized that it did

not have such jurisdiction as shown at lines 10-14 on page

38 of Exhibit B to the Complaint herein which is the

transcript of the hearing on January 3, 1996, as follows:

“The Court:. ... And I realize I don’t have jurisdic-

tion over Mr. Littlepage (attorney for the Estate of Cecilia

De Fellippie), but I am relying on a representation he

made to me this morning that he will bring the action

here and consolidate it with this case.” (Appendix, page

65)

For the foregoing reasons, Judge Stewart was acting

with a complete absence jurisdiction on January 3, 1996,

in Case No. 95 PR 2379 in the Denver Probate Court.

App. 80

3. The District Court Erred In Granting The

Motions To Dismiss Without Considering That The

Defendants Acted To Deprive The Appellant Vento Of

His Property Without Due Process Of Law In The Inter-

pleader Proceeding In The Denver Probate Court.

Vento has a cause of action under §1983 because he

was deprived of property through state action without

due process of law. See Coleman v. Turpen, 697 F.2d 1341,

1343 (10th Cir. 1983).

Substantive Due Process

The Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amend-

ment provides that no state shall deprive any person

of. ... property without due process of law. The law of

substantive due process prevents excessive government

encroachment on fundamental rights and interests, and is

intended to secure the individual from the arbitrary exer-

cise of the powers of government. The Due Process

Clause contains a substantive component that bars cer-

tain arbitrary, wrongful actions regardless of the fairness

of the procedures used to implement them. The touch-

stone of due process is protection of the individual

against arbitrary action of the government. Daniels v.

Williams, 474 US at 441, 1065 Ct [sic] 662, 88 L. Ed 2d 662,

668, 672; Zinermon v. Burch, 498 US 113, 110 S Ct 975, 108

L.Ed 2d 100, 113 (1990).

The claim that a person is entitled to “substantive

due process” means, as we understand the concept, that

state action which deprives him of property must have a

rational basis — that is to say, the reason for the depriva-

tion may not be so inadequate that the judiciary will

App. 81

characterize it as “arbitrary.” No person shall be arbi-

trarily deprived of his property. The essence of substan-

tive due process is Protection from arbitrary and

unreasonable action. A deprivation is arbitrary unless it

is substantially justified. See Jeffries v. Turkey Run Consoli-

dated School District, 492 F.2d 1, 3, 4 (1974).

The defendants acted without just cause and unrea-

sonably and unexcusably under the circumstances in the

interpleader action in the Denver Probate Court. There

was no reason, legal or otherwise, for the defendants to

Start that interpleader action except to harass Vento and

make it vexatious for him.

The defendants had deprived Vento of property with-

out adequate justification. Vento was arbitrarily deprived

of his property in an arbitrary and unreasonable manner.

He was entitled to the Protection of his property right

from and against state interference without due process

of law. The defendants had taken his property without

providing constitutionally mandated Procedures. There

was no interest of the defendants to be protected by

bringing the interpleader action. There were no substan-

tive policy reasons for filing the interpleader action. The

defendants were not proceeding under a claim of legal

right. The filing of the interpleader action was arbitrary

action.

Provisions in the Complaint showing lack of substan-

tive due process are as follows:

(1) In paragraph 11 of the Complaint (Appendix,

Pages 12, 13) interpleader was ordered before Vento

could file an answer or responsive pleading setting forth

any defense he may have had to the interpleader action

App. 82

or otherwise contest the interpleader complaint. A decree

cannot be entered in an interpleader action until all of the

defendants have had an opportunity to answer or contest

the interpleader complaint. A decree cannot be entered in

an interpleader action until all of the defendants have

had an opportunity to answer or contest the interpleader

complaint. Faulkner v. American Casualty, 584 A.2d 734,

748 (1991); Westinghouse Electric Corp. v. United Elec. R. &

M. Workers, 99 F. Supp. 597 (1951).

(2) In paragraph 12 of the Complaint, Vento’s law-

yer appeared at that hearing at 10:30 a.m. on January 3,

1996, in the Denver Probate Court and requested a con-

tinuance but the request was denied (Appendix, page 13).

(3) In paragraph 13 of the Complaint it is alleged

that the Denver Probate Court’s Order on Interpleader

Petition issued on January 3, 1996, satisfied Vento’s judg-

ment obtained against CNB on June 15, 1993, in the

District Court in Pueblo County in Case No. 87 CV 867

Appendix, pages 26, 17 [sic]).

The interpleader action in the Denver Probate Court

is in effect a taking of property when the government

action — the Order on Interpleader Petition on January 3,

1996 — directly interferes with or substantially disturbed

Vento’s use and enjoyment of the property.

The fact of filing the interpleader action under the

circumstances of this case together with the Denver Pro-

bate Court issuing the Order on Interpleader Petition

deprived Vento of property without due process of law.

aiid

App. 83

Procedural Due Process

The Fourteenth Amendment prohibits a state from

depriving a person of liberty or property without due

process of law. The fundamental requirement of due pro-

cess is the opportunity to be heard at a meaningful time

and in a meaningful manner. . . . An impartial tribunal is

an essential element of a due process hearing... . A

tribunal is not impartial if it is biased with respect to the

factual issues to be decided at the hearing. . . . Due

Process also requires that one be given notice of the

charges against him a reasonable time before the hearing

is to take place. See Miller v. City of Mission, Kan., 705 F.2d

368 (1983).

With respect to adequacy of notice is “notice reason-

ably calculated to reach all interested parties in time to

afford them a reasonable Opportunity to be heard:.... ”

(P)rovisions for a hearing satisfies due Process only when

notice is given which is reasonably calculated, under all

circumstances, to apprise interested parties of the pen-

dency of the action and afford them an Opportunity to

Present their objections. Mullane v. Central Hanover Bank

and Trust Co., 339 US 396 (1950); McKee v. Heggy, 703 F.2d

479 (10th Cir. 1983).

The fundamental requirement of due Process is the

Opportunity to be heard and it is an “opportunity which

must be granted at a meaningful time and in a meaning-

ful manner. Parratt Taylor, 451 US 527, 68 L.Ed 2d 420, 432,

101 S Ct 1908 (1981).

App. 84

Provisions in the Complaint showing lack of pro-

cedural due process are as follows:

(1) In paragraph 10 it is alleged that the complaint,

summons and motion to deposit money with the court

were served by Vento at 7:45 a.m. on January 3, 1996, at

his home in Pueblo, Colorado, which is about 100 miles

from Denver, for a hearing at 10:30 a.m. on that same day

of January 3, 1996, in Denver (Appendix, page 12).

(2) In paragraph 12 of the complaint it is alleged

that Vento’s attorney, Phillip Barber of Dufford & Brown,

P.C., in Denver, requested a continuance at the inception

of the hearing on January 3, 1996, which request for a

continuance was summarily denied by the Denver Pro-

bate Court (Appendix, page 13).

(3) In paragraph 14 of the complaint it is alleged

that Vento through is attorneys moved to disqualify

Judge Stewart for a conflict of interest (Appendix, page

14). See also Exhibits C and D attached to the Complaint

which are affidavits of attorneys about this matter

(Appendix, pages 85-88 and pages 89-92). Thereafter

Judge Steward [sic] signed a recusal order without vacat-

ing her previous Order on Interpleader Petition that she

had granted on January 3, 1996.

App. 85

CONCLUSION

The District Court’s Order of June 4, 1998 should be

reversed totally and Plaintiff Joseph A. Vento’s Complaint

reinstated and the defendants ordered to answer said

Complaint.

Respectfully submitted this 16th day of October,

1998.

/s/ Joseph A. Vento G

Joseph A. Vento, #637 |

Pro se

102 S. Tejon, Suite 1100

Colorado Springs, CO 80903

(719) 578-3329-

7 = 2 _ - Ir ores 2 es pares 1 Oi 6. Ton ha

SSE ee Re ot AE aT Sea ery een Pe DN Baie RET So cel eek RINE Be ay ST, =

wise wl ener Rae ak ‘ <3

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.