Petition for Writ of Certiorari — United States v. SCS Business & Technical Institute, Inc.

Supreme Court brief2000

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

\ Supreme Court, U.S.

iP

FILED

99 21S Au 2 1999

No.

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

In the Supreme Court of the Anited States

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, PETITIONER

Vv.

SCS BUSINESS & TECHNICAL INSTITUTE, INC., ET AL.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT -

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

SETH P. WAXMAN

Solicitor General

Counsel of Record

DAVID W. OGDEN

Acting Assistant Attorney

General

BARBARA D. UNDERWOOD

Deputy Solicitor General

MALCOLM L. STEWART

Assistant to the Solicitor

General

MICHAEL F. HERTZ

DOUGLAS N. LETTER

JOAN E. HARTMAN

T. REED STEPHENS

Attorneys

Department of Justice

Washington, D.C. 20530-0001

(202) 514-2217

‘ae AANA EAE Ne RN ASN LAAN CICA SEE AREER ANAT IRIN IER I aS

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether a State or state agency is a “person” subject

to suit under the False Claims Act, 31 U.S.C. 3729 et

seq.

(I)

II

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

The United States of America, represented by the

Attorney General of the United States, was an inter-

venor in the court of appeals and is the petitioner in this —

Court. The State of New York was an appellant/cross-

appellee in the court of appeals. The United States of

America ex rel. Ronald E. Long was an appellee/cross-

appellant in the court of appeals. Joseph P. Frey was an

appellant in the court of appeals. The following parties

were defendants in the district court and were treated

as appellees by the court of appeals: SCS Business &

Technical Institute, Inc.; Kamal Alsultany; Mohammed

(“Michael”) Alharmoosh; Sylvana Alharmoosh; Margue-

rite Alsultany; Casablanca Resorts Development of

Anguilla, Ltd.; Casablanca Resorts, Ltd.; Intervest

International Holding Corp.; and Intervest Holding

Corp.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Opinion below ...........ss0:00000 pelememtionamniin

ASEAN SR LIC oe ROT

Constitutional and statutory provisions involved

Statement .............0000

eeeerereeseseesees

RITE ccmmnnnmnnmnnnmnnniimmmmmmenen

LI ET

eeecceeeeecrescees

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Vermont Agency of Natural Resources v.

United States ex rel. Stevens, cert. granted,

No. 98-1828 (June 24, 1999)

Se eeeccerecesecces

Constitution and statutes:

8 eS ¢

False Claims Act, 31 U.S.C. 3729 et seq. ............

I lac terastnasiridheianianasiseainetiinnnt

ee

Seeeesceeceesesses

Seeeeceseeseescese

31 U.S.C. 3729(a)(1) ....

BL U.S.C. STZOANZ)H(T) ~-eorcverrcvverveseresvveeseveve

et EE: STEIN siinesinsindionsenieanseieevsiemnesinnsonne

Ot |

Be CIN erneecrensemevesioneniteenmeniens

31 U.S.C. 3730(c)(3) ....

Peereseccoresese

Seeeerecccecsrcees

Seeeereeseccsecess

Ee |

28 U.S.C. 2408(8) cecscceecceccceveerveeveeceeeeeeccc. ty

Peeerececcecseseees

(III)

*

a

EPWwWNwWwwwwnwnor wo Pp

In the Supreme Court of the United States

No.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, PETITIONER

Vv.

SCS BusINESS & TECHNICAL INSTITUTE, INC., ET AL.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

The Solicitor General, on behalf of the United States

of America, petitions for a writ of certiorari to review

the judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for

the District of Columbia Circuit in this case.

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (App., infra, 1a-

42a) is reported at 173 F.3d 870. A supplemental

opinion of the court of appeals (App., infra, 43a-60a) is

reported at 173 F.3d 890. The opinion of the district

court (App., infra, 61a-103a) is reported at 999 F. Supp.

78.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on

April 2, 1999. On June 17, 1999, the Chief Justice ex-

tended the time for filing a petition for a writ of certio-

(1)

2

rari to and including August 2, 1999. The jurisdiction of

this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

1. The Eleventh Amendment to the United States

Constitution provides:

The Judicial power of the United States shall not be

construed to extend to any suit in law or equity,

commenced or prosecuted against one of the United

States by Citizens of another State, or by Citizens

or Subjects of any Foreign State. |

2. Section 3729(a) of Title 31, United States Code,

provides in pertinent part:

False claims

(a) LIABILITY FOR CERTAIN ACTS.

—Any person who-

(1) knowingly presents, or causes to be

presented, to an officer or employee of the

United States Government or a member of the

Armed Forces of the United States a false or

fraudulent claim for payment or approval;

* * * * *

is liable to the United States Government for a

civil penalty of not less than $5,000 and not more

than $10,000, plus 3 times the amount of damages

which the Government sustains because of the act

of that person.

STATEMENT

1. The False Claims Act (FCA), 31 U.S.C. 3729

et seq., prohibits any “person” from “knowingly

present[ing], or caus[ing] to be presented, to an officer

or employee of the United States Government or a

member of the Armed Forces of the United States a

false or fraudulent claim for payment or approval.” 31

U.S.C. 3729(a)(1). The FCA also prohibits a variety of

related deceptive practices involving government

funds and property. 31 U.S.C. 3729(a)(2)-(7). A

“person” who violates the FCA “is liable to the United

States Government for a civil penalty of not less than

$5,000 and not more than $10,000, plus 3 times the

amount of damages which the Government sustains.”

31 U.S.C. 3729%(a).

Suits to collect the statutory penalties may be

brought either by the Attorney General, or by a private

person (known as a relator) in the name of the United

States, in an action commonly referred to as a qui tam

action. See 31 U.S.C. 3730(a) and (b)(1). When a qui

tam action is brought, the government is given an

opportunity to intervene to take over the suit. 31

U.S.C. 3730(b)(2) and (c)(3). If the government declines

to intervene, the relator conducts the litigation. 31

U.S.C. 3730(c)(3). If a qui tam action results in the re-

covery of civil penalties, those penalties are divided

between the government and the relator. 31 U.S.C.

3730(d).

2. The instant case involves a qui tam action filed by

Ronald E. Long, a former employee of the State of New

York. The defendants (respondents in this Court)

included, inter alia, the State of New York and a state

official. The state defendants moved to dismiss the

claims against them on various grounds.

4

The district court denied the state defendants’

motion to dismiss the qui tam claims against them.

App., infra, 61a-103a. The district court “rejectied])

New York’s argument that the Eleventh Amendment

bars an FCA action against a state.” Id. at 68a. The

court explained that “(t]he Eleventh Amendment is

not a bar to an FCA action because the United States

is always the plaintiff in a qui tam action and the

Eleventh Amendment does not prohibit suits by the

United States against States in federal court.” Jbid.

The court also held that a State is a “person” subject to

potential FCA liability under 31 U.S.C. 3729. App.,

infra, 69a-73a.

3. The State of New York filed an interlocutory

appeal, contending that it is not a “person” subject to

liability under the FCA, and that a qui tam suit against

it is barred by the Eleventh Amendment. The United

States government, represented by the Attorney

General, intervened pursuant to 28 U.S.C. 2403(a) to

defend the constitutionality of the FCA’s qui tam

provisions. See App., infra, 5a. The court of appeals

reversed the decision of the district court, holding that

a State is not a “person” within the meaning of Section

3729(a). Id. at la-42a. Although the court did not

squarely decide whether qui tam suits against state

defendants would violate the Eleventh Amendment, its

interpretation of Section 3729(a) was based in part on

the principle that ambiguous statutory provisions

should be construed in a manner that avoids substantial

constitutional questions. Jd. at 34a-42a.'

' The court of appeals subsequently issued a supplemental

opinion explaining the court’s determination that it was not re-

quired to resolve the Eleventh Amendment question before ad-

5

ARGUMENT

On June 24, 1999, this Court granted the petition for

a writ of certiorari in Vermont Agency of Natural

Resources v. Uniied States ex rel. Stevens, No. 98-1828.

The first question presented in that case is “[w]hether a

State is a ‘person’ subject to liability under 31 U.S.C.

3729(a) of the False Claims Act.” 98-1828 Pet. at i

The petition explains that the Second Circuit’s resolu-

tion of that interpretive question in Vermont Agency of

Natural Resources conflicts directly with the D.C.

Circuit’s decision in the instant case. See 98-1828 Pet.

at 7-12.

As our response to the certiorari petition in Vermont

Agency of Natural Resources explains (98-1828 U.S.

Br. at 11-13), the position of the United States is that a

State or state agency is a “person” subject to potential

FCA liability under 31 U.S.C. 3729(a). The Court’s de-

cision in Vermont Agency of Natural Resources will

very likely affect the proper disposition of the instant

case. The petition for a writ of certiorari should there-

fore be held pending this Court’s decision in Vermont

Agency of Natural Resources and then disposed of as

appropriate.

dressing the issue of statutory construction. See App., infra, 48a-

60a.

2 Vermont Agency of Natural Resources also presents the

question “[w]hether the Eleventh Amendment precludes a private

relator from commencing and prosecuting a False Claims Act suit

against an unconsenting State.” 98-1828 Pet. at i.

mr)

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be held

pending this Court’s decision in Vermont Agency of

Naiural Resources v. United States ex rel. Stevens, No.

98-1828, and disposed of as appropriate in light of the

resolution of that case.

Respectfully submitted.

SETH P. WAXMAN

Solicitor General

DAVID W. OGDEN

Acting Assistant Attorney

General

BARBARA D. UNDERWOOD

Deputy Solicitor General

MALCOLM L. STEWART

Assistant to the Solicitor

General

MICHAEL F. HERTZ

DOUGLAS N. LETTER

JOAN E. HARTMAN

T. REED STEPHENS

Attorneys

AUGUST 1999

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

Nos. 98-5133, 98-5149 AND 98-5150

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, EX REL.

RONALD E. LONG, APPELLEE/CROSS-APPELLANT

Vv.

SCS BUSINESS & TECHNICAL

INSTITUTE, INC., ET AL., APPELLEES

STATE OF NEW YORK, APPELLANT/CROSS-APPELLEE

Vv.

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF THE UNITED STATES,

INTERVENOR

[Argued Jan. 14, 1999

Decided April 2, 1999]

OPINION

Before: WALD, SILBERMAN, and SENTELLE, Circuit

Judges.

Opinion for the Court filed by Circuit Judge

SILBERMAN.

(la)

2a

SILBERMAN, Circuit Judge:

The question presented in this appeal is whether

states are defendant persons under the False Claims

Act. Contrary to the decisions of the Second and Eighth

Circuits, see United States ex rel. Stevens v. Vermont

Agency of Natural Resources, 162 F.3d 195 (2d Cir.

1998); United States ex rel. Zissler v. Regents of the

Univ. of Minn., 154 F.3d 870 (8th Cir.1998), we hold

that they are not.

I.

Ronald Long was the Coordinator of Investigations

and Audit for the Bureau of Proprietary School Super-

vision of the New York State Department of Education,

the state agency that regulates proprietary schools. In

1989, he conducted an investigation of SCS Business

and Technical Institute, which operates five business

and technical schools in New York City, and discovered

that SCS allegedly had made false and fraudulent

claims to the federal government in return for federal

funding for students attending SCS schools under

tuition assistance programs. He also determined, ac-

cording to his complaint subsequently filed in district

court, that Joseph P. Frey, his supervisor at the

Bureau, and other officials in the State Department of

Education, knew about SCS’ fraudulent claims and

conspired with SCS to conceal the fraud in order to

secure further federal funding for SCS. They did so

because, after a 1990 change in New York State law,

the Bureau’s funding depended in substantial part on

tuition assessments and fines that SCS paid to the

Bureau. Long’s theory was that since the Bureau re-

ceived a share of the federal funds that SCS fraudu-

lently obtained from the United States, the Bureau had

sitieiiiiiinaiaiilaiiiiasiaaaiaa iin

3a

every incentive to see that fraud continue. He claims

that after he reported the results of his investigation to

state and federal authorities, Frey and other state

officials took actions to limit and subvert his investi-

gation.

Long was taken off the investigation and then fired in

1992, shortly after SCS settled administrative charges

brought against one of SCS’ schools by the state educa-

tion department. According to him, the settlement

agreement, which did not benefit the United States in

any way and grossly understated the extent of SCS’

fraudulent practices, was a sweetheart deal that was

but another instance of the state’s conspiracy with SCS

to conceal and perpetuate SCS’ fraud—a conspiracy

that he alleges continued until SCS filed for bankruptcy

in 1995. He alleges that after the settlement, New

York ignored evidence of SCS’ continuing fraud and

falsely represented to the United States that SCS’

fraud had ceased and that it was actively monitoring

SCS.

Long filed a complaint in the district court against

Frey, other state officials, the State of New York, SCS,

and various SCS officials. He brought his case as a qui

tam relator under the False Claims Act, 31 U.S.C.

§§ 3729 et seq. (1994), suing in the name of the United

States for the benefit of the United States and himself.

He contended that the state defendants violated the

Act by conspiring with SCS to have false claims

submitted to the United States and by causing false

claims to be submitted. The state defendants were also

alleged to have violated the whistle-blower provision of

the Act by harassing and wrongfully discharging Long,

and to have been unjustly enriched under state common

4a

law. The United States (the government) subsequently

intervened in the case against the SCS defendants, but

declined to intervene against the state defendants. The

state defendants moved to dismiss the complaint on the

grounds that states are not defendant persons under

the Act and that, even if they were, the Eleventh

Amendment to the United States Constitution would

bar the suit. It was also asserted that Long’s suit

against the state defendants was barred by the Act

because the allegations of fraud had been publicly dis-

closed and because Long was not an “original source” of

the information.

The district court denied in part the state defendants’

motion to dismiss, concluding that states are defendant

persons under the Act and that the Eleventh Amend-

ment does not bar the suit. See United States ex rel.

Long v. SCS Bus. & Technical Inst., 999 F. Supp. 78

(D.D.C. 1998).' The state defendants filed an interlocu-

tory appeal challenging the district court’s rejection of

their Eleventh Amendment defense, over which we

have jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1291 (1994) and the

collateral order doctrine. See Puerto Rico Aqueduct &

Sewer Auth. v. Metcalf & Eddy, Inc., 506 U.S. 139, 144-

45, 113 S. Ct. 684, 121 L.Ed.2d 605 (1993). We exercise

pendent appellate jurisdiction over the “inextricably

intertwined” statutory question, Gilda Marz, Inc. v.

Wildwood Exercise, Inc., 85 F.3d 675, 679 (D.C. Cir.

1 The district court granted the motion to dismiss Long’s

whistleblower and unjust enrichment claims, the former because

the Eleventh Amendment bars private suits brought against the

state (although it does not bar Long’s claim for prospective relief

against Frey, a state official), and the latter because Long has no

standing to assert the government’s claim of unjust enrichment

under state common law. See Long, 999 F. Supp. at 91-93.

5a

1996) (quoting Swint v. Chambers County Comm’n, 514

U.S. 35, 51, 115 S. Ct. 1203, 131 L.Ed.2d 60 (1995)), of

whether states are defendant persons under the Act.’

Thirty-six states join as amici curiae in support of

appellant New York’s statutory and Eleventh Amend-

ment arguments, and appellee Long, the relator, is

joined by the government as intervenor defending the

constitutionality of the Act.

Il.

To persuade us to uphold the decision below,

appellees Long and the government must demonstrate

that the district court correctly interpreted the term

2 The district court also concluded that Long’s suit was not bar-

red by the public disclosure and original source provisions of the

Act. See Long, 999 F. Supp. at 87-89. Although the parties chal-

lenge aspects of those rulings on appeal, we need not address them

further given our resolution of the case in favor of New York. We

also decline to exercise pendent appellate jurisdiction over the

statutory whistle-blower and constitutional claims against appel-

lant Frey in his individual capacity. Although these claims are not

foreclosed by anything in our opinion, they are not in any way

related to the Eleventh Amendment and statutory construction

questions that we decide today. And although an inextricable

relation between claims is not a necessary condition for pendent

appellate jurisdiction, see Jungquist v. Sheikh Sultan Bin Khalifa

Al Nahyan, 115 F.3d 1020, 1027 (D.C. Cir. 1997), and efficiency

interests might counsel in favor of resolving these claims now, we

could not possibly terminate the entire case against Frey—even if

we agreed with him—because Long also asserted § 1983 claims

against him that the district court did not dismiss and from which

Frey does not now seek to appeal. That, coupled with the other-

wise unappealable nature of the order as to Frey, a separate

appellant, see Gilda Marz, 85 F.3d at 678, and the presence of

factual disputes in the briefs on the “original source” and “public

disclosure” questions, see id. at 679, leads us to reject Frey’s re-

quest that we resolve these claims now.

6a

“person” (liable for making a false claim) in § 3729(a) of

the False Claims Act to include states.* In that respect,

they have no little burden because the statute does not

define the term “person” and, as the Supreme Court

has remarked before, “in common usage, the term ‘per-

son’ does not include the sovereign, [and] statutes em-

ploying the [word] are ordinarily construed to exclude

it.” Will v. Michigan Dep’t of State Police, 491 U.S. 58,

64, 109 S. Ct. 2304, 105 L.Ed.2d 45 (1989) (quoting

Wilson v. Omaha Indian Tribe, 442 U.S. 653, 667, 99 S.

Ct. 2529, 61 L.Ed.2d 153 (1979) (quoting United States

v. Cooper Corp., 312 U.S. 600, 604, 61 S. Ct. 742, 85

L.Ed. 1071 (1941))) (alteration in original); see also, e.g.,

Georgia v. Evans, 316 U.S. 159, 161-62, 62 S. Ct. 972, 86

L.Ed. 1346 (1942).‘

3 The statute provides, in relevant part:

(a) Liability for certain acts. Any person who—

(2) knowingly makes, uses, or causes to be made or

used, a false record or statement to get a false or fraudulent

claim paid or approved by the Government;

(3) conspires to defraud the Government by getting a

false claim allowed or paid . . . is liable to the United States

Government. .. .

31 U.S.C. § 3729 (1994).

4 As appellees observe, the Eighth Circuit rejected application

of this rule in interpreting the False Claims Act on the ground that

the presumption of sovereign exclusion applies only to the enacting

sovereign. See Zissler, 154 F.3d at 874. However, the Court in

Will applied this rule even though the enacting sovereign (the

United States) was different from the state sovereigns excluded

from the term person, see Will, 491 U.S. at 64, 109 S. Ct. 2304,

implicitly rejecting the Eighth Circuit’s position as it was then

ee

Ta

This “often-expressed understanding,” Will, 491 U.S.

at 64, 109 S. Ct. 2304, is not a “hard and fast rule of

exclusion,” Wilson, 442 U.S. at 667, 99 S. Ct. 2529

(quoting Cooper, 312 U.S. at 604-05, 61 S. Ct. 742), and

depends in important part on the “context, the subject

matter, legislative history, and executive interpreta-

tion,” id.—which sounds like rather garden variety

statutory interpretation. But if the Will-Wilson rule

has any meaning at all, it must create at minimum a

default rule; states are excluded from the term person

absent an affirmative contrary showing. See Inter-

national Primate Protection League v. Administrators

of Tulane Educ. Fund, 500 U.S. 72, 83, 111 S. Ct. 1700,

114 L.Ed.2d 134 (1991) (noting that the “conventional

reading” of person to exclude states may be “dis-

regarded” if there is an affirmative showing of Con-

gress’ intent to include them). This interpretive princi-

ple, the Supreme Court tells us, is “particularly applica-

ble” where, as here, “it is claimed that Congress has

subjected the states to liability to which they had not

been subject before.” Will, 491 U.S. at 64, 109 S. Ct.

2304; see also Wilson, 442 U.S. at 667, 99 S. Ct. 2529.

We think, therefore, that the district court had it back-

wards when it concluded that it found “no indication

that Congress sought to create an exception for state

actors to perpetrate fraud upon the federal government

Long, 999 F.Supp. at 85.°

articulated in Justice Brennan’s dissent, see id. at 73, 109 S. Ct.

2304 (Brennan, J., dissenting).

5 In reaching this conclusion, the district court was guided by

its assumption that the “clear statement” rule of Will, 491 U.S. at

65, 109 S. Ct. 2304, did not apply—an issue which we take up be-

low. But the district court incorrectly equated Will’s “clear state-

ment” rule with the traditional rule presuming that the term

8a

Our review of the “legislative environment,” Evans,

316 U.S. at 161, 62 S. Ct. 972, leads us to doubt

appellees have met their burden. As we noted, neither

the Act as currently written nor as originally passed in

1863 defines the term person. Indeed, the original Act

distinguished for punishment purposes between fraudu-

lent acts committed by “any person in the land or naval

forces of the United States,” Act of March 2, 1863, 37th

Cong., 3d Sess., ch. 67, § 1, 12 Stat. 696, and “any person

not in the military or naval forces of the United States,”

id. at § 3, 12 Stat. 698. Since states would not have

been thought to fall within either classification, that Act

can hardly be said to supply facially the requisite aff-

irmative showing that the Will-Wilson default rule

requires.°

person does not include states. Compare Will, 491 U.S- at 65 (clear

statement rule), with id. at 64, 109 S. Ct. 2304 (default rule that

person does not include states). Even if the former rule were not

implicated here, the latter rule—which all parties concede applies-

dictates a presumption opposite to the one the district court

applied.

6 The Second Circuit explained this problem away by reasoning

that the Congress’ undeniable intent to include military contrac-

tors in the Act refuted any attempt to read “persons not in the

military” as impliedly referring only to natural, as opposed to cor-

porate, persons. See Stevens, 162 F.3d at 205-06. The default rule

of statutory construction governing corporations as “persons,”

however, is precisely the opposite of the default rule that we must

apply in this case. See Wilson, 442 U.S. at 666, 99 S. Ct. 2529 (stat-

ing that the “word ‘person’ for purposes of statutory construction,

unless the context indicates to the contrary, is normally construed

to include” corporations). Since we must look for an affirmative

intent to include states, that contractors, under the default rule for

corporations, could have been thought to be “person([s] not in the

military” is hardly supportive of appellees’ case.

9a

Appellees nevertheless invoke the broad purposes

and legislative history of the Civil War statute. We

think that is not helpful because, as the Supreme Court

has said, Congress’ primary concern at the time—

admittedly not its exclusive one—was to put an end to

“frauds perpetrated by large [military] contractors

during the Civil War.” United States v. Bornstein, 423

U.S. 308, 309, 96 S. Ct. 523, 46 L.Ed.2d 514 (1976); see

United States ex rel. Graber v. City of New York, 8 F.

Supp.2d 348, 352 (S.D. N.Y. 1998).’ Appellees point to

the Supreme Court’s statement that Congress sought

to “reach all types of fraud, without qualification, that

might result in financial loss to the Government.”

United States v. Neifert-White Co., 390 U.S. 228, 232, 88

S. Ct. 959, 19 L.Ed.2d 1061 (1968) (holding that the

term “claim” was not limited to claims submitted for

payments due and owing from the government, but

included claims for favorable action by the government

upon applications for loans). But we think that descrip-

tion is too general—it was also made in an entirely dif-

ferent context—to answer the serious question whether

states were made potential defendants under the Act.

(According to appellees’ reasoning, foreign govern-

ments that entered into commercial dealings with the

United States would also be potential defendants.)

Similarly unpersuasive is the policy proposition put

forward by the Eighth Circuit, see Zissler, 154 F.3d at

874, that a truly effective anti-fraud statute would sub-

ject states to liability since states receive substantial

amounts of money from the federal government. See

also JOHN T. BOESE, CIVIL FALSE CLAIMS AND QUI

TAM ACTIONS, at 2-91 (1993) (stating that states can be

defendant persons because they are “major recipients

7 Of course, Stevens, not Graber, is Second Circuit law.

10a

of federal funds”). A court looks to legislative purpose

under the default rule in order to locate a congressional

intent “to bring state or nation within the scope of the

law,” Cooper, 312 U.S. at 605, 61 S. Ct. 742, not to

“engraft on a statute additions which [the court]

think[s] the legislature logically might or should have

made,” id. Even if one assumes that states commit a

good deal of fraud against the federal government, it

cannot seriously be argued that the very purpose of the

Act would be thwarted if states were not liable under

the Act. Compare California v. United States, 320 U.S.

577, 585, 64 S. Ct. 352, 88 L.Ed. 322 (1944).°

That takes us to the legislative history. Appellees

point us first to an 1862 House Committee Report that,

in discussing various frauds committed during the Civil

War, referred to certain state officials that had used

war contracts for personal profit. See H.R. REP. No. 2,

37th Cong., 2d Sess., at xxxviiixxxix (1862). But the

report specifically stated that these examples of fraud

were not committed against the United States govern-

ment. See id. at xxxviii. So the prior report is a rather

8 In Zissler, 154 F.3d at 874, the Eighth Circuit relied on

United States v. California, 297 U.S. 175, 186, 56 S. Ct. 421, 80

L.Ed. 567 (1936), for the proposition that it would be a mistake to

exclude the states from an “act of Congress, all-embracing in scope

and national in its purpose, which is as capable of being obstructed

by state as by individual action,” id. But the Supreme Court made

that statement only after it had “fairly . . . inferred” that the

purpose of the Federal Safety Appliance Act, albeit implicit, was to

subject state-run railroads to liability. See id. If the mere use of

the term person in a broad statute with national purposes, which

states were equally capable of violating, were sufficient to bring

the states within the statute’s scope, the interpretive rule pre-

suming the opposite would be largely ineffectual, if not wholly

eviscerated.

a

lila

tenuous link to the Act Congress passed one year later.

But see Stevens, 162 F.3d at 206 (concluding that “it is

difficult to suppose” that Congress “had forgotten the

results of this extensive investigation” when it passed

the False Claims Act) (emphasis added). Even if there

were a stronger tie, the Supreme Court has held that

legislative history indicating an intent to impose liabil-

ity on state officials is not evidence of an intent to

subject the states themselves to liability. See Will, 491

U.S. at 68-69, 109 S. Ct. 2304. The bottom line is that

appellees have not pointed to anything in the legislative

history of the 1863 Act, or in the events leading up to it,

indicating that Congress actually contemplated impos-

ing liability on the states.

Because the enacting Congress’ intent is, to be

charitable, rather opaque, appellees turn our attention

to the 1986 amendments to the False Claims Act and to

a related statute also passed in 1986. The provision of -

the 1986 amendments that changed 31 U.S.C. § 3729(a)

from imposing liability on “[a] person not a member of

an armed force of the United States” to “[a]ny person”

did not, however, substantively expand the meaning of

defendant persons under the Act. See Stevens, 162 F.3d

at 206-07 (holding that states are persons but conceding

that this change was not “envisioned as broadening the

class of persons who could be held liable under the

Act”); Graber, 8 F. Supp.2d at 354-55. It is true that the

amendment expanded the types of individuals subject

to the Act to include those in the military. Still, that

change tells one nothing about the basic meaning of the

term person, or more specifically, whether Congress

intended to include states within that term. The legis-

lative history accompanying the amendment reveals

Congress’ extremely limited objective. See S. REP. No.

12a

345, 99th Cong., 2d Sess., at 17-18 (1986), reprinted in

U.S.C.C.A.N. 5266, 5282-83 (explaining that the alt-

eration of § 3729(a) was intended to provide for mone-

tary recovery against persons in the military and that,

prior to 1986, a court martial was the only available

remedy).’ It is understandable, therefore, why appel-

lees do not actually claim that states were made

defendant persons by virtue of the 1986 amendment to

§ 3729(a). Instead, their argument is that states have

been defendant persons all along; various provisions

added by the 1986 Congress—which we discuss be-

low—simply make that clear. In other words, appellees,

by relying on these recent amendments, seek to

illuminate the 1863 Congress’ “original intent.” We are

rather dubious about such an approach. As the Su-

preme Court has observed, such subsequent provisions

are really “beside the point” because they do not

“reflect any direct focus by Congress upon the meaning

of the earlier enacted provisions.” Almendarez-Torres

v. United States, 523 U.S. 224, 118 S. Ct. 1219, 1227, 140

L.Ed.2d 350 (1998); Atkinson v. Inter-American Dev.

Bank, 156 F.3d 1335, 1342 (D.C.Cir.1998).

Be that as it may, we are not persuaded that these

added provisions can bear the weight appellees would

place on them. Appellees argue that Congress’ decision

to define “person” to include states in the Civil In-

vestigative Demand section of the Act, see 31 U.S.C.

® The Eighth Circuit thought that this amendment more

broadly “evidenced consideration of whom to hold liable” under the

amended Act. Zissler, 154 F.3d at 874. But there is nothing in the

text of the statute or in any of the legislative history indicating

that Congress’ consideration of “whom to hold liable” extended

beyond its intent, expressed in the statute, to bring military per-

sons within the scope of the Act.

13a

§ 3733(1)(4) (1994), indicates (some) Congress’ intent to

include states as persons throughout the whole Act,’°

even though this provision applies only to the Civil

Investigative Demand section. See 31 U.S.C. § 3733(/)

(For purposes of this section . . .) (emphasis added).

Appellees question why Congress would create a

discovery tool to be used to gain information possessed

by states if the Act did not already authorize false

claims actions against them. See also Stevens, 162 F.3d

at 207. It seems rather obvious, however, that states

could provide useful evidence to establish that private

contractors, for example, made false claims. Nor do

appellees gain very much by pointing to the Program

Fraud Civil Remedies Act, 31 U.S.C. § 3801 et seq.

(1994), which Congress also passed in 1986 to create an

alternative administrative remedy to lawsuits under

the False Claims Act. Unlike the False Claims Act, this

Act expressly defined the persons subjected to admi-

nistrative liability yet omitted states from the defini-

tion. See id. at § 3801(a)(6). Appellees suggest that the

exclusion of states from § 3801(a)(6) compels an infer-

ence that § 3729(a) includes states. We do not agree

because the two provisions are not part of the same

legislative enactment (not even the same century). See

Halverson v. Slater, 129 F.3d 180, 186 (D.C. Cir. 1997)

(citing Russello v. United States, 464 U.S. 16, 23, 104 S.

Ct. 296, 78 L.Ed.2d 17 (1983)). We share appellant’s

view, moreover, that, since both acts proscribe essen-

tially the same conduct, compare 31 U.S.C. § 3802(a)(1)-

(2) with 31 U.S.C. § 3729(a), it would have been quite

10 The CID section permits the government to conduct dis-

covery of persons who “may be in possession, custody, or control of

any documentary material or information relevant to a false claims

investigation.” 31 U.S.C. § 3733(a)(1).

14a

bizarre for Congress to exempt states from administra-

tive liability if it had thought that states already were

subject to the more onerous False Claims Act liability

of treble damages and penalties. In sum, we are in-

clined to view the omission of states from the definition

of person in the administrative act, to the extent it is

relevant at all, as more supportive of New York’s

argument.

Indeed, appellant and its amici, turning the blade,

point out that the 1986 amendments, which increased

liability from double to treble damages and increased

the civil penalty, see 31 U.S.C. § 3729(a), created a form

of punitive damages that would be palpably incon-

sistent with state liability. Congress is not thought to

impose punitive damages on public entities lightly.

Imposition of such a penalty has been held to be

inconsistent with public policy since it gives the plaintiff

a windfall at the expense of the blameless or unknowing

taxpayers who must foot the bill for the government’s

transgressions. See City of Newport v. Fact Concerts,

Inc., 453 U.S. 247, 258-71, 101 S. Ct. 2748, 69 L.Ed.2d

616 (1981). It is true that the Supreme Court has al-

ready analyzed the Act in a related context and con-

cluded that the statute is remedial in nature, see, e.g.,

Bornstein, 423 U.S. at 314-15, 96 S. Ct. 523, but as

appellant rightly points out, it did so when the statute

provided for double damages of which the government

received a one-half share, so that the statute at that

time truly did no more than make the government

whole, see Graber, 8 F. Supp.2d at 349 n. 3. Even as-

suming that it is possible to characterize the increased

liability imposed by the 1986 amendments as remedial,

that would only indicate at best that in this respect the

1986 Congress legislated in such a way that would have

15a

been consistent with state liability. The 1863 Congress,

by contrast, made clear as day that it intended criminal,

and a fortiori punitive, sanctions: the original statute

provided for criminal penalties, including imprisonment

for one to five years, for non-military persons (the class

of persons said to include states) convicted under the

Act, as well as fines. See § 3, 12 Stat. at 698. Those

provisions are surely inconsistent with the concept of

state liability.

Appellees’ last sortie into the background of the 1986

amendments uncovered a piece of legislative history

that they regard as the “smoking gun.” They point to a

Senate Report issued at the time Congress amended

certain provisions of the Act that includes a section

entitled “History of the False Claims Act and Court

Interpretations.” See S. REP. No. 345, 99th Cong., 2d

Sess., at 8 (1986), reprinted in U.S.C.C.A.N. 5266, 5273.

As part of what purported to be purely descriptive

history, see id. (“In its present form, the False Claims

Act. . . .“), the Report states:

The False Claims Act reaches all parties who may

submit false claims. The term “person” is used in its

broad sense to include partnerships, associations,

and corporations . . . as wellas States and

political subdivisions thereof. Cf. Ohio v. Helvering,

292 U.S. 360, 370, 54 S. Ct. 725, 78 L.Ed. 1307 (1934);

Georgia v. Evans, 316 U.S. 159, 161, 62 S. Ct. 972, 86

L.Ed. 1346 (1942); Monell v. Department of Social

Services of the City of New York, 436 U.S. 658, 98 S.

Ct. 2018, 56 L.Ed.2d 611 (1978).

Id. (emphasis added) (footnote omitted).

l6a

According to appellees, the Report confirms that the

Congress of 1863, over a hundred years before, in-

tended to include states as defendant persons—an

argument that two of our sister circuits and the district

court below accepted. See Stevens, 162 F.3d at 206-07;

Zissler, 154 F.3d at 874-75; Long, 999 F. Supp. at 84-85.

This portion of the Report, it should be understood, is

not linked with any of the substantive amendments

made by the 1986 Congress. It is instead a legislative

observation about what § 3729(a), enacted by an earlier

Congress, means. Courts sensibly accord such “post-

enactment legislative history,” arguably an outright

“contradiction in terms,” Sullivan v. Finkelstein, 496

U.S. 617, 631, 110 S. Ct. 2658, 110 L.Ed.2d 563 (1990)

(Scalia, J., concurring), only marginal, if any, value, see

Wright v. West, 505 U.S. 277, 295 n. 9, 112 S. Ct. 2482,

120 L.Ed.2d 225 (1992) (“[T]he views of a subsequent

Congress form a hazardous basis for inferring the

intent of an earlier one.”) (quoting Consumer Product

Safety Comm’n v, GTE Sylvania, Inc., 447 U.S. 102,

117, 100 S. Ct. 2051, 64 L.Ed.2d 766 (1980) (quoting

United States v. Price, 361 U.S. 304, 318, 80 S. Ct. 326, 4

L.Ed.2d 334 (1960)))." Post-enactment legislative

'! It is unclear what appellees think they add by pointing to a

1981 General Accounting Office Report that documented recent

instances of state officials defrauding the United States govern-

ment—of which the Senate apparently was aware when amending

the statute in 1986. See S. REP. No. 345, 99th Cong., 2d Sess., at 2

& n.1 (1986), reprinted in U.S.C.C.A.N. at 5266, 5267 (citing GAO

Report to Congress, FRAUD IN GOVERNMENT PROGRAMS: How

EXTENSIVE Is IT? HOW CAN IT BE CONTROLLED ? (1981)). Not

only is evidence of an intent to impose liability on state officials

(which itself would be a tenuous inference from this report)

distinct from an intent to impose liability on the states themselves,

see Will, 491 U.S. at 68-69, 109 S. Ct. 2804, but a report

17a

history—perhaps better referred to as “legislative

future”—becomes of absolutely no significance when

the subsequent Congress (or more precisely, a commit-

tee of one House) takes on the role of a court and in its

reports asserts the meaning of a prior statute. See

Pierce v. Underwood, 487 U.S. 552, 566, 108 S. Ct. 2541,

101 L.Ed.2d 490 (1988); In re North, 50 F.3d 42, 45-46

(D.C. Cir. 1995). The Senate Report actually was more

modest; it appeared only to describe the way in which

the Supreme Court had interpreted the Act. Still, its

author either did not read the cited cases very care-

fully, or perhaps more likely, made an unforgivably

misleading use of the “cf.” signal. None of the cases

interpreted the term “person” under the False Claims

Act, and all three stand for the unremarkable proposi-

tion that governmental entities can be included in the

term person when Congress so intends.” In short, the

Report is of no legal significance. Accord United States

ex rel Graber, 8 F. Supp.2d at 354-55.”

documenting contemporary instances of state fraud could hardly

be thought to illuminate the intent of the enacting Congress in

1863.

2 The Report’s resort to these inapposite cases is unsurprising

since, at the time of the 1986 amendments, only one decision in-

volved a qui tam suit against the state, and that decision held that

states were not persons under the Act. See United States ex rel.

Weinberger v. Florida, 615 F.2d 1370, 1371 (5th Cir. 1980) (describ-

ing district court’s decision to that effect and vacating on the

ground that, under an older and since modified version of the

present 31 U.S.C. § 3730, the district court lacked subject matter

jurisdiction because the federal government had knowledge of the

facts underlying the relator’s suit).

8The Eighth Circuit thought that 1986 amendments to

§ 3729(a) warranted giving the 1986 Report greater interpretive

weight, even on the assumption that the Report’s understanding of

the pre-1986 caselaw was incorrect. See Zissler, 154 F.3d at 874.

18a

Nevertheless, appellees contend that we have asked

the wrong question in searching the legislative materi- -

als for affirmative indications that Congress intended to

include states as defendant persons in § 3729(a).

Instead, they would have us start with the presumption

that states are defendant persons and look only for

some indication that Congress intended to exclude

states. They justify this approach by arguing that

states can be plaintiffs under § 3730(b)(1) (providing

that “[a] person may bring a civil action for a violation

of section 3729 for the person and for the United States

Government”), and that the same statutory term, per-

son, is used to describe the eligible class of plaintiffs."

The word person is presumed to have the same mean-

ing in different sections of the same statute. See, e.g.,

Commissioner v. Lundy, 516 U.S. 235, 250, 116 S. Ct.

647, 133 L.Ed.2d 611 (1996). Appellees, then, would use

the canon of consistent meaning (following the Second

and Eighth Circuits) to trump the Will-Wilson default

rule. See Stevens, 162 F.3d at 205; Zissler, 154 F.3d at

875; see also BOESE, supra, at 2-92 (reasoning that

states are defendant persons under the Act because

they are proper qui tam plaintiffs).

The consistent meaning canon is brandished as if the

question whether states could be qui tam relators were

Again, the change to § 3729(a) had nothing to do with the meaning

of the term person. The portion of the Report in question, more-

over, makes no reference whatsoever to the slight alteration actu-

ally made to § 372%a). It is merely a commentary on the past.

14 Although New York seemed insistent that it can have it both

ways—that it can be a plaintiff but not a defendant—the states,

appearing as amici, seemed quite prepared to abandon any claim

that they could sue as plaintiffs; the threat of being a qui tam

defendant apparently “concentrated their minds.”

19a

a statutory given. But it is not. We recognize that

other courts have assumed that states can be qui tam

relators, see, e.g., United States ex rel. Woodard v.

Country View Care Ctr., Inc., 797 F.2d 888 (10th

Cir.1986); United States ex rel. Wisconsin v. Dean, 729

F.2d 1100 (7th Cir. 1984), even though the term person

under § 3730(b)(1) is no more clearly defined than it is

under § 3729(a). The argument that states are plaintiffs

is based on a provision passed in 1986 conferring juris-

diction on the district courts “over any action brought

under the laws of any State for the recovery of funds

paid by a State or local government if the action arises

from the same transaction or occurrences as [a qui tam

suit] brought under Section 3730.” 31 U.S.C. § 3732(b).

If states are the only parties who could bring a state

law suit to recover state funds, the argument goes, and

if a state is forbidden by § 3730(b)(5) from intervening

in another party’s qui tam suit, see id. at § 3730(b)(5)

(providing that “[wJhen a person brings an action under

this subsection no person other than the Government

may intervene or bring a related action based on the

facts underlying the pending action”), it seems to follow

that the Congress which enacted § 3732(b) intended

states to be qui tam relators under the Act. Otherwise,

it is argued, the provision conferring jurisdiction over

the state’s claim under state law has little meaning.

The legislative history lends.some support to this rea-

soning. See S. REP. No. 345, 99th Cong., 2d Sess., at 16

(1986), reprinted in 1986 U.S.C.C.A.N. 5266, 5281

(explaining that the provision was enacted in response

to comments from the National Association of Attor-

neys General and was intended to allow “State and local

governments to join State law actions with False

Claims Act actions brought in Federal district court if

such actions grow out of the same transaction or occur-

20a

rence”); see also id. at 12-13, reprinted in 1986

U.S.C.C.A.N. at 5277-78 (disapproving of Dean decision

on unrelated jurisdictional grounds but not questioning

the State of Wisconsin’s ability to be a qui tam

plaintiff); Stevens, 162 F.3d at 204-05 (discussing Senate

Report).

The more obvious reading of § 3732(b), however, is

that it authorizes permissive intervention by states for

recovery of state funds (creating what is in effect an

exception to § 3730(b)(5)’s apparent general bar on

intervention by all other parties except for the United

States).. See BOESE, supra, at 4-13 (explaining that

§ 3732(b) “does not require the state to be a relator for

jurisdiction to exist,” noting the possibility that it

permits intervention by states, but making no reference

to § 3730(b)(5)). Or Congress might even have meant

§ 3732(b) to provide supplemental jurisdiction for a non-

state relator to join a federal false claim action with an

action to recover state funds under a state qui tam sta-

tute, which several states have enacted. See, e.g., Cal.

Gov’t Code § 12650 et seq. (West 1998); Fla. Stat Ann.

§ 68.081-092 (West 1998).

In any event, the argument that states are relators

under § 3730(b)(1) is rather strained. To the extent it

relies on the Senate Report author’s knowledge of one

suit by a state relator, it is no more persuasive than the

analogous argument based on the Report’s “recogni-

tion” of prior suits against state defendants. The

argument, moreover, depends on the proposition that

§ 3730(b)(5) prevents all parties, except for the United

States, from intervening in another relator’s qui tam

action. Yet it is not at all clear that this provision pre-

cludes all forms of party joinder, which would effec-

2la

tively limit gui tam actions to single relators. See

United States ex rel. Precision Co. v. Koch Indus., Inc.,

31 F.3d 1015, 1017 (10th Cir. 1994) (holding that

§ 3730(b)(5) does not prohibit all forms of joinder but

only prevents permissive intervention in a relator’s suit

by unrelated parties under Fed. R. Civ. P. 24(b)(2)). If

states could join as co-plaintiffs with private relators or

the federal government, then § 3732(b) could be given

full meaning without reading § 3730(b)(1) to include

states as relators.

It should be apparent, then, that whether states can

be qui tam relators presents an extraordinarily difficult

question of statutory interpretation in its own right.

Although appellees do not acknowledge it, their argu-

ment would require us to puzzle through that ques-

tion—not squarely presented to us—in order to resolve

the actual question before us (itself no easy one) in their

favor. The consistent meaning canon does not have

much usefulness if in order to apply it a court has to

struggle that hard to determine the second meaning,

against which the first is to be compared. Given the

uncertainty governing the question whether states can

be relators, we think the proper course is to decide only

the issue before us.”

16 Even assuming arguendo that states can be relators, we

doubt that the consistent meaning canon is appropriately applied

in this case. The canon itself has an important exception “[w]Jhere

the subject-matter to which the words refer is not the same in the

several places where they are used.” Atlantic Cleaners & Dyers,

Inc. v. United States, 286 U.S. 427, 433, 52 S .Ct. 607, 76 L.Ed. 1204

(1982). Imposing liability is quite different from conferring a right

to sue, and as we noted above, the Will-Wilson default rule has

added force when the question is whether states are subject to

liability as persons. See Will, 491 U.S. at 64, 109 S. Ct. 2304. The

22a

canon also encounters potentially insurmountable difficulties when

the “meanings” are enacted by two different Congresses—which is

an obvious flaw in appellees’ effort to use the 1986 amendments’

effect on the term person in § 3730(b)(1) to give consistent meaning

to the term person in § 3729(a), which was enacted by the 1863

Congress. ,

It might be argued that the 1986 amendments merely clarified

that Congress has intended states to be relators since 1863, and

that the consistent meaning canon really applies to the 1863 Con-

gress alone. But this theory would require us, quite illogically, to

interpret the 1986 legislative action as a declaration of what a

Congress over a century earlier intended. The action of the 1986

Congress tells us, at most, what the 1986 Congress thought about

states as qui tam relators (and as we noted above, it does not tell

us very much); it does not purport to tell us, nor could it, what the

1863 Congress intended. See Rainwater v. United States, 356 U.S.

590, 593, 78 S. Ct. 946, 2 L.Ed.2d 996 (1958) (stating that 1918

amendment to the criminal provisions of the False Claims Act was

at most “merely an expression of how the 1918 Congress inter-

preted a statute passed by another Congress more than a half

century before” and had “very little, if any, significance” in inter-

preting the original Act’s civil provisions). Although the Supreme

Court occasionally says that “[s]ubsequent legislation which

declares the intent of an earlier law is entitled to great weight in

statutory construction,” Loving v. United States, 517 U.S. 748, 770,

116 S. Ct. 1737, 135 L.Ed.2d 36 (1996) (quoting Conswmer Product

Safety Comm’n v. GTE Sylvania, Inc., 447 U.S. 102, 118 n. 3, 100

S. Ct. 2051, 64 L.Ed.2d 766 (1980) (quoting Red Lion Broadcasting

Co. v. FCC, 395 U.S. 367, 380-81, 89 S. Ct. 1794, 23 L.Ed.2d 371

(1969))), the Supreme Court’s application of that principle has been

rather inconsistent, see Paramount Health Sys., Inc. v. Wright,

138 F.3d 706, 709-11 (7th Cir. 1998) (comparing this rule with the

competing rule that the views of a subsequent Congress in legisla-

tive history form a hazardous basis for inferring the intent of an

earlier one). And we are unaware of any Supreme Court holding in

which a subsequent declaration has been used, not to discern the

current meaning of a statute post-declaration, see, e.g., Seatrain

Shipbuilding Corp. v. Shell Oil Co., 444 U.S. 572, 595-96, 100 S. Ct.

800, 63 L.Ed.2d 36 (1980); Red Lion Broadcasting, 395 U.S. at 380-

23a

Ill.

Appellees have not persuasively demonstrated a

congressional intent to include states as defendant

persons under the False Claims Act. That being so, the

default rule would seem to dictate that they are not.

We hesitate in resting solely on this ground, however,

since the Supreme Court has never explained just how

much of a showing suffices to overcome the presump-

tion against interpreting persons to include states, and

indeed on occasion has employed the rule in a somewhat

diluted fashion. See, e.g., Sims v. United States, 359

U.S. 108, 111-12, 79 S. Ct. 641, 3 L.Ed.2d 667 (1959);

United States v. California, 297 U.S. 175, 186, 56 S. Ct.

421, 80 L.Ed. 567 (1936); Ohio v. Helvering, 292 U.S. at

370-71, 54 S. Ct. 725. We think there are additional con-

siderations, however, that resolve all doubts in New

York’s favor.

A.

Were we to agree with appellees that states can be

defendants under the False Claims Act, we would be

obliged to decide whether, as appellant New York con-

tends, the Eleventh Amendment bars a qui tam suit by

a private relator against a state in federal court. The

Amendment states that “[t]he Judicial Power of the

United States shall not be construed to extend to any

suit in law or equity, commenced or prosecuted against

one of the United States by Citizens of another State,

or by Citizens or Subjects of any Foreign State.” U.S.

81, 89 S. Ct. 1794, but instead to interpret the meaning of a statute

prior to the declaration. Appellees’ attempt to apply the consistent

meaning canon to the 1863 Congress depends on precisely such a

“retroactive clarification.”

24a

Const. amend. XI. Although it has been read to bar

suits by plaintiffs not identified in the text of the

amendment itself, such as citizens of the state being

sued, see Hans v. Louisiana, 134 U.S. 1, 10-11, 10S. Ct.

504, 383 L.Ed. 842 (1890), and foreign sovereigns, see

Principality of Monaco v. Mississippi, 292 U.S. 313,

330-32, 54 S. Ct. 745, 78 L.Ed. 1282 (1934), it is well

settled that it poses no bar to a suit by the United

States against a state in federal court. The states’ con-

sent to such suits is thought to be inherent in the con-

stitutional plan and necessary to the very permanence

of the Union. See, e.g., West Virginia v. United States,

479 U.S. 305, 311, 107 S. Ct. 702, 98 L.Ed.2d 639 (1987);

Monaco, 292 U.S. at 329, 54 S. Ct. 745; United States v.

Texas, 143 U.S. 621, 641-46, 12 S. Ct. 488, 36 L.Ed. 285

(1892). Reasoning from this unobjectionable proposi-

tion, three of our sister circuits have held that, since a

qui tam suit against a state is essentially a suit by and

for the United States, the Eleventh Amendment does

not preclude a qui tam suit in federal court. See

Stevens, 162 F.3d at 201-03; United States ex rel.

Rodgers v. Arkansas, 154 F.3d 865, 868 (8th Cir. 1998);

United States ex rel. Milam v. University of Texas

M.D. Anderson Cancer Ctr., 961 F.2d 46, 50 (4th Cir.

1992); see also United States ex rel. Fine v. Chevron,

U.S.A., Inc., 39 F.3d 957, 962-63 (9th Cir. 1994), vacated

on other grounds, 72 F.3d 740 (9th Cir. 1995) (en banc).

We think our sister circuits have paid insufficient

attention to the Supreme Court’s decision in Blatchford

v. Native Village of Noatak, 501 U.S. 775, 111 S. Ct.

2578, 115 L.Ed.2d 686 (1991). In Blatchford, the Court

held that a statute giving federal district courts original

jurisdiction of suits brought by an Indian tribe in-

volving federal law did not constitute a delegation to

25a

the tribes of the United States’ ability, free from the

Eleventh Amendment bar, to sue the states as the

tribes’ trustee. See id. at 785-86. Although the Court

held that Congress intended no delegation in the jurisd-

ictional statute, the Court was dubious that such a

delegation would have been constitutionally permissi-

ble:

We doubt . . . that that sovereign exemption can

be delegated-even if one limits the permissibility of

delegation ... to persons on whose behalf the United

States itself might sue. The consent, “inherent in

the convention,” to suit by the United States—at the

instance and under the control of responsible

federal officers—is not consent to suit by anyone

whom the United States might select; and even con-

sent to suit by the United States for a particular

persons’s benefit is not consent to suit by that

person himself.

Id. at 785 (emphasis added).

It seems to us that permitting a qui tam relator to

sue a state in federal court based on the government’s

exemption from the Eleventh Amendment bar involves

just the kind of delegation that Blatchford so plainly

questioned. See Rodgers, 154 F.3d at 869 (Panner, J.,

dissenting). Nor are we persuaded by the argument

that the Court in Blatchford was concerned about a

possible delegation of the United States’ Eleventh

Amendment exemption just because the injury to be

remedied was the tribe’s and not the United States’.

See Stevens, 162 F.3d at 203. The problems inherent in

expanding the states’ consent to suit by the United

States to suits “by anyone whom the United States

might select,” Blatchford, 501 U.S. at 785, 111 S. Ct.

26a

2578, are no less troublesome where, as here, the injury

on which the suit is premised is a pecuniary injury to

the United States. One should bear in mind that the

United States’ ability to sue is broad; it is not limited to

suits to protect the federal fisc. See, e.g., In re Debs,

158 U.S. 564, 584, 15 S. Ct. 900, 39 L.Ed. 1092 (1895),

disapproved of on other grounds Bloom v. Illinois, 391

U.S. 194, 208, 88 S. Ct. 1477, 20 L.Ed.2d 522 (1968).

Indeed, the United States’ very ability to sue as the

tribes’ trustee, which was unquestioned in Blatchford,

depended on an injury to the United States as sover-

eign when injury was inflicted on the tribes. See

United States v. Minnesota, 270 U.S. 181, 194, 46 S. Ct.

298, 70 L.Ed. 539 (1926). It does not seem reasonable,

therefore, to distinguish Blatchford as an anti-delega-

tion principle applicable only where the “injury” is an

injury to someone other than the United States. The

problem in either case is whether, consistent with the

constitutional plan, the United States can delegate its .

own exemption from the Eleventh Amendment bar to

another party.

Whatever the ultimate resolution of the question, we

think it presents a serious constitutional issue. It is

quite a stretch to claim that such a delegation was part

of the inherent constitutional design, or that the per-

manence of the union somehow depends on giving the

United States broad latitude to permit private parties

to sue the states in the federal courts on the United

States’ behalf. Compare United States v. Texas, 143

USS. at 644-45, 12 S. Ct. 488. To assume that the United

States possesses plenary power to do what it will with

its Eleventh Amendment exemption is to acknowledge

that Congress can make an end-run around the limits

that that Amendment imposes on its legislative choices.

27a

Imagine that Congress is contemplating a new statute,

to be enacted pursuant to its Article I powers, which

would create a private cause of acticn against the states

in federal court. Since the Court’s decision in Seminole

Tribe of Florida v. Florida, 517 U.S. 44, 116 S. Ct. 1114,

134 L.Ed.2d 252 (1996), Congress would not be able to

enact such a statute, irrespective of its clarity in

imposing liability against the states, because Congress

is without constitutional power to abrogate the states’

Eleventh Amendment immunity under its Article I

powers. See id. at 57-73, 116 S. Ct. 1114. Yet if Con-

gress is permitted to use the qui tam device to create a

private cause of action against the states brought on

behalf and in the name of the United States, it can

reach precisely the same end without constitutional

impediment. See Jonathan R. Siegel, The Hidden

Source of Congress’s Power to Abrogate State Sover-

eign Immunity, 73 TEX. L. REV. 539, 556-64 (1995)

(approving of this outcome); see also Blatchford, 501

U.S. at 785-86, 111 S. Ct. 2578 (noting that the tribe’s

“delegation theory” was designed to avoid the con-

straints on congressional abrogation of the states’

Eleventh Amendment immunity). Admittedly, Con-

gress could have imposed liability against the states if it

chose to put enforcement of the statute “at the instance

end under the control of responsible federal officers.”

Blatchford, 501 U.S. at 785, 111 S. Ct. 2578; see also

Seminole Tribe, 517 U.S. at 71 n. 14, 116 S. Ct. 1114.

But the quite different legislative choice of authorizing

private parties to haul sovereign states into federal

court against their will, ordinarily foreclosed unless

Congress successfully abrogates the states’ immunity,

suddenly becomes an all too easy legislative option.

28a

Long and the government would avoid the Blatch-

ford delegation difficulty by asserting that in qui tam

suits the United States is the real party in interest; a

qui tam suit is therefore essentially a suit by and for

the United States. See, e.g., Stevens, 162 F.3d at 202;

Milam, 961 F.2d at 49 (concluding that the United

States is the real party in interest because of “the

structure of the qui tam procedure, the extensive

benefit flowing to the government from any recovery,

and the extensive power the government has to control

the litigation”). This argument appears to us merely to

sidestep the core problem because it ignores the

relator’s undisputed role as a party with a cause of

action under the Act. The “real party in interest” rule

ordinarily requires that the suit be brought by the

“person who, according to the governing substantive

law, is entitled to enforce the right.” 6A CHARLES

ALAN WRIGHT, ARTHUR R. MILLER & MARY KAY

KANE, FEDERAL PRACTICE & PROCEDURE § 1543, at

334 (2d ed.1990); see Fed R. Civ. P. 17(a) (stating that

“every action shall be prosecuted in the name of the

real party in interest”). There is no question that the

False Claims Act gives such a right to the relator, see

31 U.S.C. § 3730(b) (“A person may bring a civil action

for a violation of section 3729 for the person and for the

United States Government.”) (emphasis added), and the

statutory right to bring suit is sufficient to satisfy the

real party in interest requirement, even if the suit is

brought for the benefit of some other party, see Fed. R.

Civ. P. 17(a) (second sentence); 6A Charles Alan

Wright, Arthur R. Miller & Mary Kay Kane, Federal

Practice & Procedure § 1550, at 384. In any event,

contrary to the suggestion of the district court, see

Long, 999 F. Supp. at 83-84, a qui tam action is brought

for the benefit of both the relator and the United

29a

States, not for the benefit of the United States alone.

See 31 U.S.C. § 3730(b) (authorizing gui tam suit “for

the person and for the United States Government”).

Nor does it make any difference that the False Claims

Act requires the relator to sue “in the name of the

Government,” 31 U.S.C. § 3730(b), because the pro-

cedural question of in whose name the suit must be

brought is distinct from the substantive legal question

whether the plaintiff has a cause of action. See 6A

Charles Alan Wright, Arthur R. Miller & Mary Kay

Kane, Federal Practice & Procedure § 1544, at 340."

Accordingly, we do not think the relator’s technical

status as a “real party in interest” is inconsistent with

the conclusion of our sister circuits that the United

States is a “real party in interest” as well. See, e.g.,

Stevens, 162 F.3d at 202; Rodgers, 154 F.3d at 868;

United States ex rel. Hyatt v. Northrop Corp., 91 F.3d

1211, 1217 n. 8 (9th Cir. 1996); Milam, 961 F.2d at 49. It

is, after all, not unheard of for there to be two real

parties in interest to a cause of action. See 6A

CHARLES ALAN WRIGHT, ARTHUR R. MILLER & MARY

KAY KANE, FEDERAL PRACTICE & PROCEDURE § 1545,

at 351-53 (in cases of partial assignments, the assignor

and assignee are both real parties in interest); id. §

1546, at 360 (same for partial subrogation). More

6 The district court concluded that Long’s claim under the

whistle-blower provision of the False Claims Act, 31 U.S.C.

§ 3730(h), was barred by the Eleventh Amendment because, unlike

a qui tam suit under § 3730(b) brought in the name of the United

States, a claim under § 3730(h) is a true “private right of action.”

Long, 999 F. Supp. at 92. We disagree; a qui tam suit under

§ 3730(b) is no less a cause of action, and the relator is no less a

party prosecuting that action, because the action is brought in the

name of the United States.

30a

important, although we are aware of a variant of the

doctrine used in a related Eleventh Amendment

context, see, e.g., Ford Motor Co. v. Department of

Treasury, 323 U.S. 459, 464, 65 S. Ct. 347, 89 L.Ed. 389

(1945) (analyzing whether a state defendant is the “real

party in interest” such that a suit against a state entity,

though not nominally against the state, would be barred

by the Eleventh Amendment), we do not see how the

doctrine can be used to convert a party with a statutory

cause of action into a “nonparty-party.””” In short, we

think the real party in interest doctrine is plainly

irrelevant to the Eleventh Amendment question

presented in this case. See Rodgers, 154 F.3d at 869

(Panner, J., dissenting).

Nor do we think, as appellees suggest, that the

government’s control over a relator’s suit alters the

result. We acknowledge that the government takes

the greater share of any recovery, see 31 U.S.C. §

3730(d)(1),(2), and that the statute gives the United

States considerable control over the relator’s suit, see,

e.g., id. at § 3730(b)(2)(providing that the government

can intervene in the suit as of right within sixty days

after receiving the relator’s complaint, evidence, and

information); id. at § 3730(b)(1) (relator cannot dismiss

his own suit without written consent of the court and

the Attorney General); id. at § 3730(c)(3)-(4) (even if the

17 One of the principal concerns motivating the Eleventh

Amendment inquiry into whether the state is the “real party in

interest” defendant (or in other words that the actual defendant is

an “arm of the state”) is that an individual plaintiff’s recovery will

be paid out of the state treasury. See Regents of the University of

California v. Doe, 519 U.S. 425, 117 S. Ct. 900, 904, 187 L.Ed.2d 55

(1997). That is the precise concern presented by a private relator

recovering against a state defendant in a qui tam suit.

3la

government does not intervene, it may monitor the

proceedings and stay discovery in certain situations);

id. at 3730(c)(3) (government can intervene at any time

upon a showing of good cause); id. § at 3730(c)(2)(A)

(government may dismiss the suit after notice to the

relator and a hearing); id. at § 3730(c)(2)(B) (govern-

ment may settle the suit with the defendant over the

relator’s objection if the court approves after a

hearing). Still, we simply do not see how the govern-

ment’s potential exercise of its power renders the

relator any less a party. Whatever the degree of con-

trol the United States exercises, we think it is telling

that, although there are some intimations to that effect,

no court has actually held that the relator is not a party

to the qui tam suit merely because of the United

States’ potential ability to control the prosecution of the

suit.

The relator appears to remain a party whether or not

the United States intervenes. In either situation, the

relator’s rights must be protected under the statute.

See 31 U.S.C. § 3730(c)(3) (providing that the court may

permit the United States to intervene for good cause

but must not “limit[ ] the status and rights of the per-

son initiating the action”); id. at § 3730(c)(1) (providing

that the relator “shall have the right to continue as a

party to the action,” subject to certain limitations, even

after the United States intervenes). This is important

because the Eleventh Amendment must be satisfied for

every claim in the suit, see Pennhurst State Sch. &

Hosp. v. Halderman, 465 U.S. 89, 121, 104 S. Ct. 900, 79

18 There are, however, substantial restrictions on the United

States’ power incorporated within these provisions. See Stevens,

162 F.3d at 223-24 (Weinstein, J., dissenting).

32a

L.Ed.2d 67 (1984), and the presence of the United

States as a co-plaintiff does not ordinarily remove the

Eleventh Amendment bar for claims by other plaintiffs,

see id. at 103 n. 12, 104 S. Ct. 900; but see Rodgers, 154

F.3d at 870 (Panner, J., dissenting) (distinguishing for

Eleventh Amendment purposes between cases in which

the United States intervenes from those in which it

does not). But assuming arguendo that the Eleventh

Amendment would not pose a problem in cases in which

the United States actually intervenes in a suit against a

state, the government did not do so in the present case.

That fact, coupled with the government’s intervention

limited to the claim against the private defendants,

suggests that the government does not lightly take on

the task of probing into the internal operations of the

sovereign states, and may well think it better to leave

such politically unpalatable tasks for the qui tam

relators of the world. Yet, the government wishes the

option to sit back while the relator brings an action

against a state, thus removing itself from direct

accountability and from the subtle political pressures

that might have precluded the lawsuit in the first place

had the United States been more actively involved from

the start. See Stevens, 162 F.3d at 225-29 (Weinstein,

J., dissenting). That seems quite at odds with the

obvious purpose of the Eleventh Amendment since

such a suit is emphatically not one brought “at the in-

stance and under the control of responsible federal

officers.” Blatchford, 501 U.S. at 785, 111 S. Ct. 2578.

We seriously doubt that the government, under the

Eleventh Amendment, is entitled to transfer all of the

benefits that accrue to it as a plaintiff in the federal

courts when it chooses to watch from the sidelines.

That could be described as allowing the government to

have its constitutional cake and eat it too.

33a

It has also been contended that, despite the clear

statutory language giving relators a cause of action and

treating them as parties vested with rights and

protections, relators should be seen instead as self-

appointed government counsel. See Stevens, 162 F.3d

at 202; Milam, 961 F.2d at 49 (“Congress has let loose a

posse of ad hoc deputies to uncover and prosecute

frauds against the government.”); Siegel, supra, 73

TEX. L. REV. at 556-57; Evan Caminker, The Con-

stitutionality of Qui Tam Actions, 99 YALE L. J. 341,

353 (1989). It has even been suggested that the rela-

tor’s economic interest in the lawsuit makes him more

like a contingency fee lawyer than a party. See Stevens,

162 F.3d at 202 (acknowledging that the qui tam

plaintiff has an interest in the action’s outcome, but

stating that “his interest is less like that of a party than

that of an attorney working for a contingent fee” and

citing cases noting that relators’ primary motivation is

a monetary reward and not the public good). We

simply do not understand the analogy; typically both

the client and the attorney have an economic interest in

litigation. In this sense, a relator looks no different to us

than, let us say, an applicant for a broadcast license. It

is therefore not possible to contend that the False

Claims Act is an open-ended letter of engagement from

the government as client to a posse of prospective

attorneys. See United States ex rel. Farrell v. SKF,

USA, Inc., 32 F. Supp.2d 617, 617-18 (W.D.N.Y. 1999)

(rejecting contention by qui tam defendant that, since

the relator is only the United States’ lawyer and the

United States always remains a party litigant, the

defendant was entitled to discovery from the United

States even though the United States had not

intervened in the suit). To accept the “private

Attorneys General” characterization as anything more

34a

than an inapt convention would run headlong into the

problems of how a party with a statutory right to sue

on his own behalf can be thought to be acting in a

representational capacity, see 31 U.S.C. § 3730(b), why

the client would need the court’s permission to inter-

vene in his own suit, see id. at § 3730(c)(3), or to dismiss

the lawyer’s “suit,” see id. at § 3730(c)(2)(A), and why

the lawyer’s “status and rights” would be worthy of

statutory protection in the event the client chooses to

intervene in the lawyer’s action, see id. at § 3730(c)(3).”

Although, as we have indicated, we have profound

doubts that the Eleventh Amendment permits this

lawsuit against New York even if Congress implicitly

authorized relators to bring suits against the states, we

do not rest our decision on an interpretation of the

Constitution. Instead, bearing in mind that we must

decide this difficult constitutional issue only if the term

person in the Act is interpreted as including states, and

that it seems quite dubious that Congress intended that

result, the appropriate course seems to us to interpret

“person” as not including states.

The venerable doctrine of construing statutes in such

a way as to avoid serious constitutional questions has

two important prerequisites. First, the “statute must

be genuinely susceptible to two constructions,” and this

determination must be made “after, and not before, [the

19 Of course, if the government actually hired a lawyer to bring

its own cause of action, the Blatchford delegation problem would

not arise. But as we have explained at length, that is not what the

False Claims Act does.

35a

statute’s] complexities are unraveled.” Almendarez-

Torres, 118 S. Ct. at 1228; see also United States v.

Espy, 145 F.3d 1369, 1372 (D.C. Cir. 1998); Association

of Am. Physicians & Surgeons, Inc. v. Clinton, 997

F.2d 898, 906, 910-11 (D.C. Cir. 1993). Furthermore,

the constitutional question must be one that presents a

“serious likelihood that the statute will be held uncon-

stitutional.” Almendarez-Torres, 118 S. Ct. at 1228; see

also Association of Am. Physicians & Surgeons, 997

F.2d at 906 (constitutional question must be a “grave”

one); Espy, 145 F.3d at 1372.

It is obvious from what we have said already that

these requirements are satisfied in this case. As we

have just explained at length, the Eleventh Amend-

ment question is, at bare minimum, a serious one. It

could not be suggested, moreover, that we are dis-

torting the language of the statute in order to avoid a

constitutional question. The more obvious reading is to

exclude states from “person.” The more difficult task is

to demonstrate that the inclusion of states as defen-

dant persons is a fair reading of the statute. There can

be no objection to avoiding a constitutional question

that is implicated only by a rather strained reading of

the statute.

We think it relevant—if not decisive—to observe

that the avoidance canon coincides in this case with two

additional related canons of construction that impose

upon Congress an obligation of specificity. When “Con-

gress intends to alter the ‘usual constitutional balance

between the States and the Federal Government,’

“federal courts insist that Congress “make its intention

to do so ‘unmistakably clear in the language of the

statute.’” Will, 491 U.S. at 65, 109 S. Ct. 2304 (quoting

36a

Atascadero State Hosp. v. Scanlon, 473 U.S. 234, 242,

105 S. Ct. 3142, 87 L.Ed.2d 171 (1985)); see also Gregory

v. Ashcroft, 501 U.S. 452, 464, 111 S. Ct. 2395, 115

L.Ed.2d 410 (1991) (linking clear statement rule with

constitutional avoidance canon). The Court in Will

derived this “clear statement” rule from the Eleventh

Amendment cases requiring an explicit textual intent

to abrogate a state’s Eleventh Amendment immunity,

but noted its applicability in a range of contexts in

which Congress alters the federal-state balance of

power. See Will, 491 U.S. at 65, 109 S.Ct. 2304.” In

Gregory, the Court applied this “plain statement” prin-

ciple where Congress’ imposition of liability under the

Age Discrimination in Employment Act would “upset

the usual constitutional balance” by interfering with the

states’ fundamental role in defining the qualifications of

their state judges. Jd. at 460-61, 111 S. Ct. 2395; see id.

at 464-67, 111 S. Ct. 2395 (holding that Congress did not

make a sufficiently clear statement in the ADEA that

state judges are within the Act’s coverage). It cannot

seriously be disputed that if Congress were required to

make its intentions “clear and manifest,” Will, 491 U.S.

at 65, 109 S. Ct. 2304, in order to impose False Claims

Act liability on the states, it has failed to do so.

Appellees contend that there is no justification for

applying this clear statement rule of Will or Gregory

because treating states as defendant persons would not

actually alter the constitutional balance of powers

between the federal and state governments. Such an

2 Indeed, in Will itself the Eleventh Amendment was not a

concern because the question whether states were persons under

§ 1983 arose in the context of a state court case, and the Eleventh

Amendment does not apply in state courts. See Will, 491 U.S. at

63-64, 109 S. Ct. 2304.

37a

alteration occurs, for example, when Congress seeks to

remove the states’ sovereign immunity in their own

courts, as in Will, 491 U.S. at 67, 109 S. Ct. 2304, or

when Congress attempts to interfere with an essential

governmental function, as in Gregory, 501 U.S. at 460,

111 S. Ct. 2395. Since this case arose in federal court

and because the fraudulent conduct proscribed cannot

be thought an essential governmental function, appel-

lees argue that neither Will nor Gregory apply.

We are unpersuaded by various crabbed analyses of

the Court’s “clear statement” jurisprudence that we

have seen. To characterize the relevant state function

at issue, as the Second Circuit did, as frawdulent con-

duct, see, e.g., Stevens, 162 F.3d at 204 (“The States

have no right or authority, traditional or otherwise, to

engage in [fraudulent] conduct.”), is to assume the con-

clusion that the function is not an essential one. Using

that logic, the Court in Gregory would have declined to

apply a clear statement rule because it is not essential

for the state to discriminate against elderly judges.

Appellees, for their part, describe the governmental

function at issue in this case as the process by which a

state receives federal funding-which they argue cannot

possibly be described as an essential state function. The

state, in other words, is simply a supplicant coming to

the federal sovereign. That characterization, in our

view, is still too narrow because the Act’s imposition of

liability necessarily interferes with a state’s sovereign

performance of a range of indisputably essential func-

tions, such as the administration of a state education

department involved in the present case. See Ambach

v. Norwick, 441 U.S. 68, 76, 99 S. Ct. 1589, 60 L.Ed.2d

49 (1979) (“Public education, like the police function,

‘fulfills a most fundamental obligation of government to

38a

its constituency.’”) (quoting Foley v. Connelie, 435 U.S.

291, 297, 98 S. Ct. 1067, 55 L.Ed.2d 287 (1978)); Brown

v. Board of Educ., 347 U.S. 483, 493, 74 S. Ct. 686, 98

L.Ed. 873 (1954) (“[E]ducation is perhaps the most

important function of state and local governments.”).

That the federal government funds in part that function

does not destroy its essentiality to the state. To accept

that hypothesis, given present tax and spending mecha-

nisms, would go a long way toward burying federalism.

The Supreme Court has applied Gregory as we do,

focusing on the state functions necessarily affected by

operation of the statute, and not exclusively on the

actual conduct proscribed by Congress. See Gregory,

501 U.S. at 463, 111 S. Ct. 2395 (essential state function

with which ADEA liability would interfere was the

“authority of the people of the States to determine the

qualifications of their most important government offi-

cials” in their state Constitutions); see also Pennsylva-

nia Dep’t of Corrections v. Yeskey, 524 U.S. 206, 118 S.

Ct. 1952, 1953-54, 141 L.Ed.2d 215 (1998) (assuming

that imposition of ADA liability against state prisons

would interfere with the essential state function of

“exercising ultimate control over the management of

state prisons”); BFP v. Resolution Trust Corp., 511

U.S. 531, 544 & n. 8, 114 S. Ct. 1757, 128 L.Ed.2d 556

(1994) (applying Gregory to Bankruptcy Code provi-

sions governing constructively fraudulent transfers,

and explaining that the state function was not general

authority over debtor-creditor law, but the “essential

sovereign interest in the security and stability of title

to land” necessarily affected by application of the

Bankruptcy Code to foreclosure sales). We thus do not

think it is appropriate to look myopically only to the

state’s formal submission of the claim to the govern-

39a

ment and to ignore the underlying governmental func-

tions to which the claim relates.”

Appellees similarly give an overly restrictive reading

of Will. It is true that the Court in Will pointed to the

states’ sovereign immunity in their own courts as a

supporting reason for concluding that Congress did not

intend to make states persons under 42 U.S.C. § 1983.

See Will, 491 U.S. at 66-67, 109 S. Ct. 2304. But the

Court nowhere even suggested that abrogation of state

sovereign immunity was the only alteration of the

constitutional balance that justified use of the clear

statement rule, nor did it rely on the idea of essential

state functions implicit in the later decision in Gregory.

Will could be read to suggest—although we are uncer-

tain of this—that it was the very imposition of a new

liability against the state that would have altered the

constitutional balance of powers.

Whether or not Will or Gregory can be taken as far

as we have suggested,” there is a second related clear

21 It could be argued, we suppose, that because False Claims

Act liability is only triggered when the state requests money from

the federal government, it brings any interference with its essen-

tial functions on itself. But we do not see any basis in Gregory for

eliminating the need for a clear statement simply because the

liability imposed is conditioned on a voluntary act by the state.

The clear statement rule of Pennhurst State School and Hospital

v. Halderman, 451 U.S. 1, 17, 101 S. Ct. 1531, 67 L.Ed.2d 694

(1981)—which requires a clear statement when Congress imposes

conditions on grants of federal money—seems flatly inconsistent

with such an argument.

2 The government would have us instead limit the Court’s clear

statement rules because of the significant reliance interests

created by Congress’ and the federal agencies’ assumption that

states, to whom they entrusted large sums of money, are covered

40a

statement canon that bears on our case. In cases in-

volving congressional abrogation of a state’s Eleventh

Amendment immunity, the applicability of the clear

statement rule is well-established and the uncertainties

in defining the scope of the Will and Gregory versions

of that rule disappear. See Dellmuth v. Muth, 491 U.S.

223, 230, 109 S. Ct. 2397, 105 L.Ed.2d 181 (1989). Appel-

lees contend that that rule does not apply, however,

because they conclude that the Eleventh Amendment is

not a bar to a qui tam suit (and thus that no abrogation

is necessary). But it seems highly artificial to conclude

that Congress labors under an obligation of utmost

textual specificity when it seeks to abrogate the states’

Eleventh Amendment immunity when that immunity is

otherwise certain, but that liability against the states—

potentially implicating the Eleventh Amendment—can

be imposed willy-nilly, using as imprecise a term as

by the Act. For the proposition that reliance interests can trump

clear statement rules, the government relies on Hilton v. South

Carolina Public Railways Comm'n, 502 U.S. 197, 205-07, 112 S.

Ct. 560, 116 L.Ed.2d 560 (1991) (holding that Will is a rule of statu-

tory construction, not of constitutional law, and that the reliance

interests created by the Court’s prior decision interpreting the

Federal Employers’ Liability Act to include state-owned railroads

warranted adherence to stare decisis rather than to the clear state-

ment rule). That the Court feels obliged to disregard the clear

statement rule because of reliance interests that it created through

its own precedent is of course quite different from the govern-

ment’s contention. Any reliance interests in this case are not the

judiciary’s doing, but rather stem from the legislature’s and the

federal agencies’ assumption, based on weak post-enactment leg-

islative history, that states were, or ought to be, covered by the

Act. Since Congress easily could have included states within the

definition of person if it so intended, the government can hardly be

heard to complain now (on behalf of Congress) that Congress, in

effect, wrote the states a blank check.

4la

“person.” We think there is significant conceptual

overlap—though admittedly not an identity—between

the abrogation inquiry and the statutory construction

question whether Congress intended to include states

as defendant persons. The Supreme Court’s conclusion

that Congress has failed to abrogate with the requisite

specificity is often based on Congress’ failure explicitly

to provide for suits against the states in federal

court—the precise failing of the False Claims Act that

raises the question in this appeal. See, e.g., Dellmuth,

491 U.S. at 231-32, 109 S. Ct. 2397; Atascadero State

Hosp., 473 U.S. at 245-46, 105 S. Ct. 3142. So although

we recognize that the Eleventh Amendment’s clear

statement rule has always been applied to an abrogaion

inquiry—rather than to a threshold question as to

whether the Eleventh Amendment applies—we do not

think it wholly irrelevant to the latter.

Appellees’ argument against using the Eleventh

Amendment’s clear statement rule follows from their

prior conclusion that the Eleventh Amendment does

not apply to this case. Appellees therefore assume that

states are persons for the purpose of rejecting New

York’s Eleventh Amendment defense, and then pro-

ceed to reject the Eleventh Amendment’s clear state-

ment rule when actually interpreting the statute pre-

viously assumed to include states—sort of a divide and

conquer strategy. The statutory construction issue is,

however, inextricably linked with the jurisdictional one,

which is precisely why we decline to assume that states

are persons in order to conduct an Eleventh Amend-

ment inquiry that could be avoided if the assumption

were not made in the first place. We think thé correct

resolution is to read the Act in such a way that avoids

the serious constitutional question whether the Elev-

42a

enth Amendment bars qui tam suits against the state in

federal court. In so doing, we rely on the constitutional

avoidance canon buttressed by the family of “clear

statement” rules applicable when Congress attempts to

legislate in the way that appellees contend it has

legislated.”

*x* * *

In the end it comes to this: if we must decide whether

states constitutionally can be defendants in federal

court under the Act, Congress must make its intent

clear. The decision of the district court is therefore

reversed.

So ordered.

“3 New York would also have us apply the clear statement rule

of Pennhurst, 451 U.S. at 17, 101 S. Ct. 1531, under which Con-

gress must unambiguously set forth conditions it imposes on the

grant of federal money when it exercises its spending power.

Because we have enough—more than enough—clear statement

rules to resolve this case, we need not decide whether False

Claims Act liability can be seen as a condition imposed on a grant

of federal money.

43a

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS DISTRICT

OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

Nos. 98-5133, 98-5149 AND 98-5150

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, EX REL. RONALD E.

LONG, APPELLEE/CROSS-APPELLANT

Vv.

SCS BusINESS & TECHNICAL INSTITUTE, INC., ET AL.,

APPELLEES

STATE OF NEW YORK, APPELLANT/CROSS-APPELLEE

Vv.

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF THE UNITED STATES,

INTERVENOR

[April 30, 1999]

SUPPLEMENTAL OPINION

Before: WALD, SILBERMAN, and SENTELLE, Circuit

Judges.

Opinion for the Court filed by Circuit Judge

SILBERMAN.

44a

SILBERMAN, Circuit Judge:

In the same week that our opinion issued, the Fifth

Circuit held that the Eleventh Amendment bars a False

Claims Act qui tam suit against a state in federal court.

See United States ex rel. Foulds v. Texas Tech Univer-

sity, 171 F.3d 279 (5th Cir. 1999). The court thought it

was obliged to decide that issue before reaching the

question we decided—whether the statute provides for

a qui tam action against a state—because the Eleventh

Amendment issue is jurisdictional. Although we cer-

tainly discussed the serious nature of the Eleventh

Amendment issue as it bore on our order of decision, we

did not consider whether, as a matter of judicial

authority, we too were obliged to decide that issue.

Since our sister circuit implicitly challenged our juris-

diction—even though no party before us did—and our

mandate has not issued, under these unusual circum-

stances, we think it appropriate to issue this supple-

mental opinion to explain why we believe we should

stick with the order of decision we adopted.

The Fifth Circuit reasoned as follows: since the ques-

tion whether a relator can sue a state under the Act is a

cause of action or merits question, and since the ques-

tion whether a federal court can hear such a suit under

the Eleventh Amendment is a jurisdictional one, the

latter must be resolved before the former. See id. at

286. The principal authority that the Fifth Circuit

relied on is Steel Co. v. Citizens for a Better Environ-

ment, 523 U.S. 83, 118 S. Ct. 1003, 140 L.Ed.2d 210

(1998), in which the Supreme Court held that a question

of Article III standing must be decided before the

statutory question whether a cause of action exists. See

id. at - , 118 S. Ct. at 1012-16. In so holding,

ia

45a

the Court rejected the doctrine of “hypothetical

jurisdiction,” under which lower courts—including this

one, see, ¢.g., Cross-Sound Ferry Servs., Inc. v. ICC,

934 F.2d 327, 333 (D.C. Cir. 1991)—had assumed

jurisdiction in order to reach the merits, where the

merits question was easier and the prevailing party on

the merits would be the same as the prevailing party

were jurisdiction denied. See Steel Co., 523 U.S. at

—___, 118 S. Ct. at 1012 (disapproving of Cross-Sound

and other lower court decisions). The doctrine, the

Court said, is flatly inconsistent with core principles

limiting the role of Article III courts: “For a court to

pronounce upon the meaning or the constitutionality of

a state or federal law when it has no jurisdiction to do

so is, by very definition, for a court to act ultra vires.”

Id. at__, 1188S. Ct. at 1016.

We did not address this Steel Co. question in our

opinion, we confess, because we did not focus on it.

Indeed, New York—whose immunity from suit is at

stake—specifically urged us, apparently unlike Texas in

Foulds, to decide the statutory question first on the

ground that nonconstitutional grounds should be con-

sidered before constitutional ones. Admittedly, we

ordinarily are obliged to raise jurisdictional questions

on our own, so the parties’ litigating tactics would not

excuse our oversight. Still, the Eleventh Amendment

bar on suits against the states in federal court is not a

garden variety jurisdictional issue. Although the

Amendment speaks in terms of the limits of the judicial

power, see U.S. Const. Amend. XI (“The Judicial power

of the United States shall not be construed to extend

. .. . ), a State can waive its Eleventh Amendment

defense and consent to suit in federal court, and the

Supreme Court has held that there is no obligation for

46a

the Court to raise the issue swa sponte. See Wisconsin

Dep’t of Corrections v. Schacht, 524 U.S. 381, ____ -

___, 118 S. Ct. 2047, 2052-53, 141 L.Ed.2d 364 (1998)

(citing Atascadero State Hsp. v. Scanlon, 473 U.S. 234,

241, 105 S. Ct. 3142, 87 L.Ed.2d 171 (1985) and Patsy v.

Board of Regents of Fla., 457 U.S. 496, 515 n. 19, 102 S.

Ct. 2557, 73 L.Ed.2d 172 (1982)).

To be sure, the Court has also held that the “Elev-

enth Amendment defense sufficiently partakes of the

nature of a jurisdictional bar so that it- need not be

raised in the trial court,” Edelman v. Jordan, 415 U.S.

651, 678, 94 S. Ct. 1347, 39 L.Ed.2d 662 (1974); see Burk-

hart v. Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Author-

ity, 112 F.3d 1207, 1216 (D.C. Cir. 1997), and indeed can

be raised for the first time in the Supreme Court, see

Ford Motor Co. v. Department of Treasury, 323 U.S.

459, 467, 65 S. Ct. 347, 89 L.Ed. 389 (1945). Given these

somewhat conflicting rules, see Schacht, 524 U.S. at

___, 118 S. Ct. at 2055 (Kennedy, J., concurring), the

Court has frankly recognized that the Eleventh

Amendment is a rather peculiar kind of “jurisdictional”

issue. See Calderon v. Ashmus, 523 U.S. 740, sin. 2,

118 S. Ct. 1694, 1697 n. 2, 140 L.Ed.2d 970 (1998)

(“While the Eleventh Amendment is jurisdictional in

the sense that it is a limitation on the federal court’s

judicial power, and therefore can be raised at any stage

of the proceedings, we have recognized that it is not

coextensive with the limitations on judicial power in

Article III.”); Idaho v. Coeur d’Alene Tribe of Idaho,

521 U.S. 261, 267, 117 S. Ct. 2028, 1388 L.Ed.2d 438

(1997) (“The Amendment, in other words, enacts a sov-

ereign immunity from suit, rather than a nonwaivable

limit on the federal judiciary’s subject-matter juris-

diction.”). The Court’s most recent opinion noted that

47a

the question whether Eleventh Amendment immunity

is a matter of subject matter jurisdiction is an open one.

See Schacht, 524 U.S. at , 1188S. Ct. at 2054.

New York’s explicit request that we first decide the

statutory question could therefore be seen as a kind of

agreement to assert its Eleventh Amendment defense

only if it loses on the statutory one (a “springing”

defense, as it were). As the Supreme Court has recently

made clear, “[tJhe Eleventh Amendment . . . does not

automatically destroy original jurisdiction,” but instead

“grants the State a legal power to assert a sovereign

immunity defense should it choose to do so.” Schacht,

524 US. at__, 118 S. Ct. at 2052 (emphasis added). A

state can waive its immunity from suit in the context of

a litigation, see, e.g., Ford Motor Co., 323 U.S. at 467-69,

65 S. Ct. 347, as long as it does so unequivocally, see

Atascadero, 473 U.S. at 246-47, 105 S. Ct. 3142. Al-

though there are difficult questions about whether the

state’s attorneys must be authorized by state law to

waive the state’s immunity, and about whether such

authorization, if needed, has been granted, compare id.

(suggesting that such authorization is necessary) with

Schacht, 524 U.S. at - , 118 S. Ct. at 2055-56

(Kennedy, J., concurring) (questioning whether in the

removal context specific authorization is required), it

may well be that New York’s approach amounts to a

partial consent to suit on the statutory question—

subject to a later Eleventh Amendment defense. And if

so, we might be obligated to decide the statutory

question first.

But even if we were not so obligated, we think that

we are at least permitted to do so. Had New York

chosen not to assert its Eleventh Amendment defense

48a

below, or even before us, it would not have been pre-

cluded from raising it thereafter. See Calderon, 523

U.S. at ___s in. 2, 118 S. Ct. at 1697 n. 2 (Eleventh

Amendment “can be raised at any stage of the proceed-

ings”); but cf. Schacht, 524 U.S. at ___, 118 S. Ct. at

2055 (Kennedy, J., concurring) (criticizing this rule

because “permitting the belated assertion of the Elev-

enth Amendment bar . . . allow/[s] States to proceed

to judgment without facing any real risk of adverse

consequences”). Unless that defense is asserted by the

state, a court is arguably not obliged to raise the issue

itself since the Supreme Court has made clear that the

usual obligation to raise jurisdictional issues swa sponte

does not apply (at least to the Court itself) in Eleventh

Amendment cases. See Patsy, 457 U.S. at 515 n. 19, 102

S.Ct. 2557.1 Therefore New York’s litigation strat-

egy—an Eleventh Amendment argument in the alter-

native—suggests that, at least, we are entitled to

reverse the Steel Co. order. After all, Steel Co.’s rule is

premised on a court’s lack of power to reach the merits

without establishing its jurisdiction. In the Eleventh

Amendment context, where a court lacks power only if

a state claims that it does, it is arguable that we have

no obligation to decide the Eleventh Amendment issue

first if the state does not demand that we do so.

1 Whether the Patsy rule relieves lower courts of the sua

sponte obligation to raise the Eleventh Amendment issue is a

matter of some controversy. See Coolbaugh v. Louisiana, 136 F.3d

430, 442 n. 5 (5th Cir. 1998) (Smith, J., dissenting) (collecting cases

and authorities). We have raised an Eleventh Amendment ques-

tion on our own in a prior case, see Morris v. Washington Metro-

politan Area Transit Auth., 702 F.2d 1037, 1040 (D.C. Cir. 1983),

but do not appear ever to have held whether we must do so, not-

withstanding Patsy.

49a

Moreover, the quasi-jurisdictional or “hybrid” status

of the Eleventh Amendment, see Schacht, 524 U.S. at

___, 118 S. Ct. at 2055 (Kennedy, J., concurring), raises

questions about Steel Co.’s applicability in this context,

quite apart fron. New York’s request that we interpret

the statute first. Since the Eleventh Amendment at

most “partakes of the nature of a jurisdictional bar,”

Edelman, 415 U.S. at 678, 94 S. Ct. 1347, it seems fair

to ask whether the Eleventh Amendment is sufficiently

jurisdictional to require us to decide a state’s claim of

Eleventh Amendment immunity before turning to the

merits. One indication to the contrary is Calderon, in

which the Supreme Court decided that it “must first

address” whether a particular action for a declaratory

judgment was an Article III case or controversy before

deciding the Eleventh Amendment question on which

certiorari had been granted, observing that the Elev-

enth Amendment is “not co-extensive with the limita-

tions of judicial power in Article III.” Calderon, 523

U.S. at__s & n. 2, 118 S. Ct. at 1697 & n. 2. As be-

tween two jurisdictional issues, there ordinarily is no

obligation to decide one before the other. See Steel Co.,

523 U.S. at __in. 8, 118 S. Ct. at 1015 n. 3; In re

Minister Papandreou, 139 F.3d 247, 255 (D.C. Cir.

1998) (stating that dismissing on nonmerits grounds

such as personal jurisdiction or forum non conveniens,

before deciding subject-matter jurisdiction, is permissi-

ble under Steel Co.).2 That the Court in Calderon

thought itself obliged to decide the case or controversy

2 The Fifth Circuit has concluded otherwise, holding that in the

removal context, a district court must decide subject matter juris-

diction before personal jurisdiction. See Marathon Oil Co. v.

Ruhrgas, 145 F.3d 211, 215-25 (5th Cir.) (en banc), cert. granted,

__ U.S. ___, 119 S. Ct. 589, 142 L.Ed.2d 532 (1998).

50a

question first suggests that the Eleventh Amendment,

a less than pure jurisdictional question, need not be

decided before a merits question. One former judge of

this court, in a concurring opinion criticizing the hypo-

thetical jurisdiction doctrine later rejected in Steel Co.,

pointed in that direction. See Cross-Sound Ferry, 934

F.2d at 341 (Thomas, J., concurring in part and concur-

-ring in the denial of petition) (reasoning that the rule

requiring consideration of jurisdictional issues before

non-jurisdictional issues might not apply if “the ground

passed over sufficiently, though not entirely, ‘partakes

of the nature’ of a merits ground, or if the ground

rested upon ‘sufficiently,’ though not entirely, ‘partakes

of the nature of a jurisdictional bar’” (quoting Edel-

man, 415 U.S. at 678, 94 S. Ct. 1347)).

Another difficulty in applying Steel Co. here is that

classifying the statutory question in an Eleventh

Amendment case as a “cause of action” or merits ques-

tion is, though technically accurate, somewhat mislead-

ing. The determination of whether a particular action is

properly asserted against a state is also a kind of logical

prerequisite to the jurisdictional inquiry. The Eleventh

Amendment only bars a federal court from hearing

a “suit in law or equity, commenced or prosecuted

against one of the United States,” and so it would seem

perfectly appropriate—perhaps even necessary—for

courts to determine whether there is even such a suit

before the court. That kind of inquiry—sometimes

classified as “jurisdiction to determine our jurisdiction,”

Nestor v. Hershey, 425 F.2d 504, 511 (D.C. Cir. 1969)

(inquiring whether student deferment sought was

mandated by statute or within the discretion of the

draft board, as jurisdiction existed only for the

former)—is fairly common, even though the rulings

5la

made in determining jurisdiction are made without

certainty that jurisdiction actually exists. Occasionally,

as in this case, what a court says about an issue of

statutory interpretation that logically precedes the

ultimate jurisdictional determination removes any

contention that the court’s jurisdiction is in question.

See, e.g., Webster v. Doe, 486 U.S. 592, 603-04, 108 S. Ct.

2047, 100 L.Ed.2d 632 (1988) (using clear statement

principles and the constitutional avoidance canon to

hold that statutory provision did not, despite language

indicating that the statute was committed to agency

discretion, preclude judicial review of constitutional

claims).

If the Eleventh Amendment were a statutory pro-

vision stripping the federal courts of jurisdiction, the

inquiry whether the case before the court was of the

kind that the statute forbade would be a fairly routine

form of jurisdictional analysis.* Accordingly, in

3 One analogy is cases involving the Norris-LaGuardia Act’s

bar on federal courts issuing certain injunctions in labor disputes.

See 29 U.S.C. § 104 (1994) (“No court of the United States shall

have jurisdiction to issue any restraining order or temporary or

permanent injunction in any case involving or growing out of any

labor dispute to prohibit any person or persons participating or

interested in such dispute [from doing certain acts].”). Not sur-

prisingly, the Supreme Court has had to interpret that provision,

together with the provision defining it, see id. at § 113 (“A case

shall be held to involve or grow out of a labor dispute when the

case involves persons who are engaged in the same industry, trade,

craft, or occupation. . . .”), to determine whether particular kinds

of cases fall within the jurisdictional bar. See, e.g., Burlington

Northern R. Co. v. Brotherhood of Maintenance of Way Em-

ployees, 481 U.S. 429, 440-44, 107 S .Ct. 1841, 95 L.Ed.2d 381 (1987)

(rejecting restrictive interpretation of Norris-LaGuardia Act,

under which a “labor dispute” would only include disputes in which

the picketed employer is “substantially aligned” with the primary

52a

determining whether the Eleventh Amendment bars a

particular suit, federal courts must decide a variety of

issues that relate to the question whether the suit is

actually one brought against the state, and do so before

jurisdiction is finally resolved. See, e.g., Regents of the

University of California v. Doe, 519 U.S. 425, 429-30 &

n. 5, 117 S. Ct. 900, 904 & n. 5, 187 L.Ed.2d 55 (1997)

(noting that determining whether a state agency is an

“arm of the state” for Eleventh Amendment purposes,

such that the suit is one against the state itself, involves

an analysis of the state law provisions that define the

agency’s character); Seminole Tribe of Florida v.

Florida, 517 U.S. 44, 55-57, 116 S. Ct. 1114, 134 L.Ed.2d

252 (1996) (analyzing Indian Gaming Regulatory Act for

the purpose of determining if Congress, consistent with

Eleventh Amendment abrogation requirements, set

forth a clear statement of its intent to provide for suits

against the states in federal court, and concluding that

it did); Hafer v. Melo, 502 U.S. 21, 24 n. *, 30-31, 112 S.

Ct. 358, 116 L.Ed.2d 301 (1991) (discussing, although

not resolving, competing methods for determining

whether a suit for monetary damages is against a state

official in his or her official capacity, and thus against

employer); United States v. United Mine Workers of America, 330

U.S. 258, 269-89, 67 S. Ct. 677, 91 L.Ed. 884 (1947) (interpreting

general language of §§ 104 and 113 to exclude the United States,

such that where the United States seizes actual possession of

mines or other facilities and operates them, and where the United

States is the employer of the workers, the Norris-LaGuardia Act

does not apply); id. at 250-51, 67 S. Ct. 677 (holding that district

court properly issued restraining order to preserve existing condi-

tions while it determined whether it had jurisdiction to issue injun-

ctive relief, and that it had power to punish violations of its orders

as criminal contempt before the jurisdictional question was re-

solved).

53a

the state itself, or against a state official in his or her

personal capacity, to which the Eleventh Amendment

does not apply).

Still, it might be thought that the “jurisdiction to

determine jurisdiction” concept is not wholly satisfac-

tory because whether states are persons under the

False Claims Act is also a cause of action question

(which is what the Fifth Circuit emphasized). But even

if the cause of action aspect of the statutory question

takes it outside the “jurisdiction to determine jurisdic-

tion” doctrine, two additional considerations justify the

approach we have taken.

As our discussion already indicates, the “merits”

question is, in the Eleventh Amendment context, inex-

tricably related to the “jurisdictional” question. We

noted this relationship in our opinion in explaining why

the Eleventh Amendment’s clear statement rule, ordi-

narily applied to an abrogation inquiry, is relevant in

determining whether there is a cause of action against

the states. Even if we were to assume that states are

defendant persons, and then actually to decide that the

Eleventh Amendment applied, we would then have to

ask whether, for abrogation purposes, the statute con-

tains a clear statement that states are to be defen-

dants—which is more-or-less the same statutory analy-

sis that we previously undertook. This can be seen in

the Fifth Circuit’s opinion, where the court held that

the state’s Eleventh Amendment immunity was not ab-

rogated because the Act did not contain the requisite

clear statement. See Foulds, 171 F.3d at 292. The only

real difference between the Fifth Circuit’s analysis of

the statute and our own is that the Fifth Circuit had to

54a

actually hold that the Eleventh Amendment applied—a

serious constitutional issue—in order to get there.

We think this close relationship between the statu-

tory and “jurisdictional” issues, even putting aside

“jurisdiction to determine jurisdiction,” provides an

independent ground on which to distinguish Steel Co.

The relationship between these two issues is quite

different from the relationship between an ordinary

“cause of action” question and a pure jurisdictional

issue such as standing. The Court in Steel Co. rejected

the contention that merits questions could be decided

before constitutional standing questions because the

Article III redressability requirement, for example,

“has nothing to do with the text of the statute relied

upon” (except with regard to entirely frivolous claims).

Steel Co., 523 U.S. at__s in. 2, 118 S. Ct. at 1013 n. 2.

By contrast, the Court explained why merits questions

can be decided before statutory or prudential standing

questions: the two questions overlap to such an extent

that it would be “exceedingly artificial to draw a dis-

tinction between the two.” Jd. If an inextricable rela-

tionship between statutory standing and the merits

permits a court to decide the merits first, the same

order would seem appropriate for the two claims before

us.

In addition, we do not think our approach even im-

plicates the concerns underlying the Supreme Court’s

rejection of “hypothetical jurisdiction” because the

statutory question is logically antecedent to the Elev-

enth Amendment question (even if it were not thought

an aspect of “jurisdiction to determine jurisdiction”).

We have not chosen to decide a pure (and relatively

easier) merits question on the asswmption that we have

55a

jurisdiction—the paradigm of the hypothetical juris-

diction model. When a court decides, as we do, that a

statute does not provide for a suit against the states,

there is no risk at all that the court is issuing a

hypothetical judgment—an advisory opinion by a court

whose very power to act is in doubt. See Steel Co., 523

U.S. at__, 118 S. Ct. at 1016. Rather, the conclusion

that the statute does not provide for suits against the

states in federal court is, in effect, a resolution of the

jurisdictional question, in that the Eleventh Amend-

ment can no longer be said to apply (which is quite

different from saying, as courts do under the hypo-

thetical jurisdiction doctrine, that jurisdiction does not

matter because the same party arguing a lack of juris-

diction prevails on the merits). The Supreme Court

recently adopted precisely this reasoning in deciding a

class action certification issue before an asserted “array

of jurisdictional barriers,” inciuding ripeness, standing,

and subject matter jurisdiction. See Amchem Products,

Inc. v. Windsor, 521 U.S. 591, ___, 117 S. Ct. 2231,

2244, 138 L.Ed.2d 689 (1997). The Court said that, be-

cause resolution of the class certification issues was

“logically antecedent to the existence of any Article III

issues, it [was] appropriate to reach them first.” Jd.

The Fifth Circuit’s view instead is that a court must

assume that states are defendants under the Act and

address the Eleventh Amendment question at the

outset, lest the court give an interpretation of the

statute that it has no power to give. See Foulds, 171

F.3d at 288 (“(I]f the Eleventh Amendment removes

our jurisdictional authority to hear [the] case, we have

no power to determine whether the False Claims Act

creates a cause of action against states. . . .”). But

such an approach ostensibly avoids the evils of “hypo-

thetical jurisdiction” (not really at issue) in favor of

56a

deciding a purely hypothetical jurisdictional issue—that

is, a jurisdictional issue that arises solely by virtue of

the statutory question assumed. Since the Eleventh

Amendment issue in this case “would not exist but for”

that assumption, Amchem, 521 U.S. at ___, 117 S. Ct.

at 2244 (quoting Georgine v. Amchem Prods., Inc., 83

F.3d 610, 623 (3d Cir. 1996)), we think it is appropriate

for us to decide the logically prior issue first.‘

Perhaps most important, our reasoning is confirmed

by several Eleventh Amendment cases in which the

Supreme Court itself has decided “cause of action”

questions before turning to the Eleventh Amendment.

See, e.g., Hafer, 502 U.S. at 21-30, 112 S. Ct. 358 (hold-

ing that state officials sued in their individual capacities

are persons under 42 U.S.C. § 1983, and then holding

that the Eleventh Amendment presents no bar to such

a suit); Lake Country Estates, Inc. v. Tahoe Regional

Planning Agency, 440 U.S. 391, 398-402, 99 S. Ct. 1171,

59 L.Ed.2d 401 (1979) (deciding that a claim against an

interstate compact that required federal approval was a

claim alleging a deprivation of constitutional rights

“under color of state law” within the meaning of § 1983,

and then deciding that the compact was not entitled to

Eleventh Amendment immunity)’, Monell v. Depart-

* Of course, we recognize some tension between Amchem and

Steel Co., in that a cause of action question is, in a sense, logically

antecedent to jurisdiction too: without a cause of action, the ques-

tion whether a party satisfies jurisdictional requirements would

not arise. Yet Steel Co. clearly requires a court to decide jurisdic-

tion first. But the Court did not cast any doubt on Amchem in

Steel Co., and we think logical priority, as in Amchem, should

control here.

5 Lake Country Estates went so far as to state that this order

of decision was required. See Lake Country Estates, 440 U.S. at

57a

ment of Social Servs., 436 U.S. 658, 664-90 & n. 54, 98 S.

Ct. 2018, 56 L.Ed.2d 611 (1978) (deciding that

municipalities are persons under § 1983 and, in

conclusion, noting that the Eleventh Amendment would

not bar such suits to the extent that a municipality is

not considered a part of the state for Eleventh

Amendment purposes); Mt. Healthy City Sch. Dist. Bd.

of Educ. v. Doyle, 429 U.S. 274, 278-80, 97 S. Ct. 568, 50

L.Ed.2d 471 (1977) (deciding first that the contention

that municipalities were not persons under § 1983

was a merits question that had been waived, and then

deciding that the Eleventh Amendment does not bar a

suit against a municipality in federal court); see also

Doe v. Chiles, 1386 F.3d 709, 713-21 (11th Cir. 1998)

(deciding first that a provision of the Medicaid Act

created a federal right to reasonably prompt provision

of assistance enforceable under § 1983, and only then

concluding that the suit was not barred by the Eleventh

398, 99 S. Ct. 1171 (“Before addressing the immunity issues [of

which the Eleventh Amendment was one], we must consider

whether petitioners properly invoked the jurisdiction of a federal

court [under 28 U.S.C. § 1331].”). Of course, as the Court went on

to explain, the question whether a plaintiff has a federal cause of

action sufficient to create jurisdiction under § 1331 is not itself a

jurisdictional argument (except in the rare circumstances in which

the cause of action is frivolous, see Steel Co., 523 U.S. at __, 118

S. Ct. at 1010 (citing Bell v. Hood, 327 U.S. 678, 682, 66 S .Ct. 773,

90 L.Ed. 939 (1946))). See Lake Country Estates, 440 U.S. at 398,

99 S. Ct. 1171 (“[RJespondents’ ‘jurisdictional’ arguments are not

squarely directed at jurisdiction itself, but rather at the existence

of a remedy for the alleged violation of their federal rights.”). Still,

after identifying the argument as a cause of action argument, the

Court resolved that issue before even turning to the Eleventh

Amendment question. If the Fifth Circuit were right, the Court

should have assumed the cause of action existed once it satisfied

itself that the claim was not a jurisdictional one.

58a

Amendment). Though these cases pre-date Steel Co.,

we think they lend considerable support—albeit im-

plicit—to our approach.

On the other hand, the Court in Welch v. Texas De-

partment of Highways and Public Transportation, 483

U.S. 468, 107 S. Ct. 2941, 97 L.Ed.2d 389 (1987), decided

an Eleventh Amendment abrogation question and spec-

ifically reserved the question whether the statute

created a cause of action. See id. at 476 n. 6, 107 S. Ct.

2941 (“Because Eleventh Amendment immunity ‘par-

takes of the nature of a jurisdictional bar,’ we have no

occasion to consider the State’s additional argument

that Congress did not intend to afford seamen em-

ployed by the States a remedy under the Jones Act”

(quoting Edelman, 415 U.S. at 678, 94 S. Ct. 1347)).

This decision is hardly support for our position. But we

do not think the Court’s comment that it had “no

occasion” to consider the cause of action question fairly

should be read as a holding that cause of action ques-

tions must be decided second. See also Petty v.

Tennessee-Missouri Bridge Com’n, 359 U.S. 275, 277-

83, 79 S.Ct. 785, 3 L.Ed.2d 804 (1959) (holding that the

two states had waived their Eleventh Amendment

immunity from suit in an interstate compact, and only

then deciding that interstate compacts were not

exempt from the term “employer” in the Jones Act, but

giving no indication that that order of decision was

required). If that were so, Welch would be flatly incon-

sistent with the cases cited above. Again, the Court in

Welch referred to the quasi-jurisdictional nature of the

Eleventh Amendment—that it “partakes” of the nature

of a jurisdictional bar—which of course suggests that

the order of decision adopted was not a mandatory one.

59a

Nor do we think, as did the Fifth Circuit, see Foulds,

171 F.3d at 286, that Blatchford v. Native Village of

Noatak, 501 U.S. 775, 111 S. Ct. 2578, 115 L.Ed.2d 686

(1991), is to the contrary. The Supreme Court did note

in Blatchford that, given the Eleventh Amendment bar,

it would not express a view about whether the respon-

dent was a “tribe” within the meaning of the statute in

question, see Blatchford, 501 U.S. at 788 n. 5, 111 S. Ct.

2578. But the statutory question was not a “cause of

action” question at all but rather a question concerning

the jurisdictional statute under which the respondent

had sued, see 28 U.S.C. § 1362 (providing for federal

court jurisdiction for suits by tribes involving federal

law). At most, the Court in Blatchford, for reasons

not entirely clear to us, decided the case on Eleventh

Amendment jurisdictional grounds instead of address-

ing a purely statutory jurisdictional argument—

whether the tribe had even established jurisdiction in

the first place as a “tribe” under § 1362—that could

have made unnecessary its various constitutional hold-

ings. See id. at 779-82, 111 S. Ct. 2578 (holding that

suits by tribes are barred by the Eleventh Amend-

ment); id. at 783-86, 111 S. Ct. 2578 (holding that § 1362

did not effect a delegation of the United States’ exemp-

tion from the Eleventh Amendment bar to tribes); see

id. at 786-88, 111 S. Ct. 2578 (holding that § 1362 did not

abrogate the states’ Eleventh Amendment immunity).°

And again, while there does not appear to be a

6 The Ninth Circuit, interestingly enough, had decided the

statutory jurisdictional question before turning to the Eleventh

Amendment issues. See Native Village of Noatak v. Hoffman, 896

F.2d 1157, 1160-61 (9th Cir. 1990), rev'd, 501 U.S. 775, 111 S. Ct.

2578, 115 L.Ed.2d 686 (1991). The Supreme Court obviously chose

a different order, but did not in any way purport to reject this

aspect of the Ninth Circuit’s approach.

60a

requirement that some jurisdictional grounds be de-

cided before others, see Steel Co., 523 U.S. at__n.. 8,

118 S. Ct. at 1015 n. 3, the Court’s statement in

Calderon that it was required to decide a case or

controversy question before reaching the Eleventh

Amendment, see Calderon, 523 U.S. at ——, 118 S. Ct.

at 1697, casts considerable doubt on Blatchford’s order

of decision. In any event, Blatchford certainly cannot

be said to mandate the Fifth Circuit’s view that the

Eleventh Amendment issue must always be decided

first.

We have taken pains to discuss the issue that the

Fifth Circuit identified because of its importance. Al-

though the issue is complex, and the case law not

altogether clear, we are confident that no authority or

principle prohibits our approach. And because it has

the significant virtue of avoiding a difficult constitu-

tional question, we think it is also the preferable one.

6la

APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

No. CIV. A. 92-2092 (EGS)

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA EX REL.

RONALD E. LONG, PLAINTIFF/RELATOR

Vv.

SCS BUSINESS & TECHNICAL

INSTITUTE, ET AL., DEFENDANTS

[Filed March 26, 1998]

MEMORANDUM OPINION & ORDER

SULLIVAN, District Judge.

Ronald E. Long (“Long” or “relator”) brought this

action as a relator on behalf of the United States

alleging violations of the False Claims Act (“FCA” or

“the Act”), 31 U.S.C. §§ 3729-3733, and on his own

behalf pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1983. Long named as

defendants SCS Business & Technical Institute, Inc.

(“SCS”), Mohammed (a.k.a. Michael) Alharmoosh,

President of SCS, Kamal Alsultany, principal owner

and Chairman of the Board of SCS, the State of New

York (“New York”), and Joseph P. Frey (“Frey”). Pur-

suant to the qui tam provisions of the FCA, the com-

plaint was immediately put under seal. See 31 U.S.C.

§ 3730(b)(2). The government intervened in July 1995,

and the Department of Justice filed a first amended

62a

complaint against SCS, Michael Alharmoosh, and

Kamal Alsultany in September 1995.’ The government

declined, however, to intervene against New York and

Frey. Long then filed his second amended complaint in

June 1996.

Pending before the Court are defendant New York’s

and defendant Joseph P. Frey’s motions to dismiss rela-

tor Long’s second amended complaint for lack of sub-

ject matter jurisdiction and for failure to state a claim

upon which relief can be granted, or, in the alternative,

to dismiss Counts I and II for failure to plead fraud

with particularity.

I. FACTUAL ALLEGATIONS

Long, relator and plaintiff in this action, served as

Coordinator of Investigations and Audit for the Bureau

of Proprietary School Supervision (“BPSS”) of the New

York State Department of Education (“NYSED”) from

August 21, 1989 to April 8, 1992. BPSS is the state

agency that regulates proprietary schools in New York.

Frey was Long’s supervisor at BPSS. SCS managed

five proprietary schools in New York: two in Brooklyn,

and one each in the Bronx, Queens, and Manhattan.

Long’s second amended complaint contains three

counts against New York and Frey. Count I alleges

that New York, Frey, and SCS formed a conspiracy to

1 Together with Mr. Alsultany, the government also named as

defendants Ms. Marguerite Alsultany, Casablanca Resorts Devel-

opment of Anguilla, Ltd., Casablanca Resorts, Ltd., Intervest In-

ternational Holding Corporation, and Intervest Holding Corpora-

tion (collectively, the “Alsultany and Caribbean Defendants”). In

April 1996, the government filed a second amended complaint and,

at that time, Ms. Sylvana Alharmoosh was added as a defendant.

63a

have false claims paid by the United States in violation

of 31 U.S.C. § 3729(a)(3). Count II alleges that New

York and Frey caused false claims and reports to be

presented to the United States for payment in violation

of 31 U.S.C. § 3729(a)(1) and (2). Count II also alleges

that New York and Frey were unjustly enriched as a

result of the payments they received from SCS. Count

III alleges that New York and Frey harassed and

wrongfully discharged Long in violation of 31 U.S.C.

§ 3730(h) and 42 U.S.C. § 1983.

As Coordinator of Investigations for BPSS, Long

directed an investigation of SCS beginning in Septem-

ber 1989. SCS allegedly received federal funding under

a variety of federal programs for student financial

assistance.’ Long has alleged that the investigation he

coordinated uncovered a variety of fraudulent policies

and acts by SCS that resulted in SCS receiving federal

moneys. This fraud included allegedly falsifying

enrollment-eligibility scores, training low-level SCS

staff how to falsify records, assigning students to

courses for which they were ineligible and in which

they were incapable of participating, and refusing to

make required refunds to students. BPSS responded to

Long’s investigation by instituting administrative pro-

ceedings against SCS. In February 1992, BPSS issued

an “Order to Show Cause” and a “Bill of Particulars”

alleging that SCS had engaged in a number of violations

of New York law. BPSS and SCS reached a settlement

in March 1992.

2 These programs include Pell Grants, Supplemental Educa-

tional Opportunity Grants, PLUS/SLS loans, and federally-guaran-

teed Stafford Loans.

64a

Long alleges, however, that this was a “sweetheart”

settlement because the violations upon which it was

based were confined to actions of low-level personnel

and to a small number of violations at one school, even

though, according to Long, New York officials, includ-

ing Frey, knew that the fraud was occurring at more

than one school and that it included actions by SCS

management. Long further alleges that as a result of

this settlement, New York falsely represented to the

federal government that SCS was no longer engaging

in fraud, and that New York was monitoring SCS.

Central to Long’s claim is that BPSS allegedly

received a share of the federal funding that SCS

fraudulently obtained. BPSS allegedly received this

share through tuition assessments and fines that SCS

paid for violations of state law. Long alleges that

BPSS’s share of SCS’s federal funding was so large that

SCS was one of BPSS’s major sources of funding.

Further, Long alleges that as a result of BPSS’s in-

terest in SCS’s continued operation, BPSS engaged in

two illegal activities: it limited Long’s investigation

and it ignored evidence that SCS continued to present

fraudulent claims.

First, Long alleges that BPSS placed limitations on

Long’s investigation of SCS resulting in the “sweet-

heart” settlement with SCS which allowed SCS to

continue to fraudulently receive federal moneys. Long

alleges that BPSS placed the following limitations on

his investigation of SCS: reducing the number of

incidents of alleged fraud he was authorized to investi-

gate, rejecting evidence that SCS management and

owners were involved in the fraud, limiting the number

of schools he was authorized to investigate, and placing

RES ik Pia gS IS eco ne ae om as acct

65a

limitations on his documentation of evidence. Further,

Long alleges that BPSS refused to investigate infor-

mation Long had gathered indicating that SCS believed

it was protected by its contacts in BPSS. Long also

alleges that in October 1991, Frey specifically prohib-

ited Long from investigating evidence of fraud by SCS

management and owners.

After the 1992 settlement with SCS, Long alleges

that BPSS ignored evidence that SCS continued to

receive federal moneys on a fraudulent basis in order to

allow SCS to continue receiving federal moneys. Ac-

cording to Long, New York officials, including Frey,

falsely represented to the federal government that SCS

was not engaged in fraud and that BPSS was con-

tinuing its investigation when in fact it was not. More-

over, Long alleges that New York officials, including

Frey, indicated to the federal government in the 1992

settlement that there was no indication of widespread

fraud nor of involvement by management, even though

BPSS knew this was false.

Long asserts that he refused to follow his superiors’

instructions regarding the investigation of SCS and

that, as a result, in November 1991, Frey informed him

that he would be demoted with a loss of pay effective

April 8, 1992, if Long had not resigned by that date.

Long further alleges that in December 1991, he con-

tacted the FBI to inform them of the evidence of fraud

that he had gathered, and that he felt BPSS’s limita-

tions on his investigation were a resuli of the agency’s

interest in continuing to receive a share of the federal

moneys that SCS received. According to Long, the

FBI then launched an investigation (the Court assumes

of SCS) in which Long assisted the FBI by obtaining

66a

evidence from SCS. Long allegedly reported his coop-

eration with the FBI to Frey. On January 14, 1992,

Frey removed Long from the investigation of SCS.

Long alleges that Frey then ordered him to prepare a

final report of the investigation consisting of reporting

one type of violation at one school. Long alleges that he

prepared this report under protest. On January 22,

1992, Long was placed on administrative leave.

Long finally alleges various acts by New York

officials following his placement on administrative leave

and eventual termination. The essence of Long’s alle-

gations are that New York colluded with SCS’s con-

tinuing fraud, thereby allowing SCS and BPSS to

continue to receive federal moneys based on false

claims. Long alleges that New York officials, including

Frey, ignored State Comptroller reports in April and

December 1992 which indicated that there was con-

tinuing and broader fraud than had been stated in the

1992 “Order to Show Cause.” Long alleges that in

February 1993, BPSS investigators noticed indications

of continuing fraud at SCS. Long alleges that New

York officials, including Frey, refused to act on that

information, and instead unreasonably ordered further

investigation rather than taking steps to stop the fraud.

Thus, Long alleges that, between at least March 1993

and April 1994, New York and Frey knew that SCS

continued to engage in fraudulent activities, but did not

act upon that information. SCS declared bankruptcy in

January 1995. Long alleges that between 1988 and

1991, the United States paid SCS over $25 million per

year in response to SCS’s false claims, with BPSS

receiving a portion of these payments.

67a

Il. DISCUSSION

A complaint may be dismissed for failure to state a

claim upon which relief can be granted. Fed. R. Civ. P.

12(b)(6). The motion will be denied only if the plaintiff

could prove no set of facts which would entitle him to

relief. See Conley v. Gibson, 355 U.S. 41, 45-46, 78 S.Ct.

99, 2 L.Ed.2d 80 (1957). In responding to a motion to

dismiss, the Court treats all allegations of fact in the

complaint to be true, and draws all reasonable infer-

ences from those facts in favor of the plaintiff. See id;

EEOC v. St. Francis Xavier Parochial School, 117 F.3d

621, 624 (D.C. Cir. 1997); United States ex rel. Alexan-

der v. Dyncorp, Inc., 924 F Supp. 292, 296 (D.D.C. 1996)

(citing United Parcel Serv., Inc. v. International Bhd.

of Teamsters, 859 F. Supp. 590, 593 (D.D.C.1994)).

Federal courts are courts of limited jurisdiction. The

party who invokes federal court jurisdiction must

“allege in [its] pleading the facts essential to show

jurisdiction,” and “must support [those facts] by com-

petent proof.” McNutt v. General Motors Acceptance

Corp., 298 U.S. 178, 189, 56 S.Ct. 780, 80 L.Ed. 1135

(1936).

New York has moved to dismiss the second amended

complaint on the grounds of lack of subject matter

jurisdiction, failure to state a claim, and failure to plead

fraud with particularity as to Counts I and II. Defen-

dant Frey has moved to dismiss the second amended

complaint on the grounds of plaintiff's failure to state a

claim, or, in the alternative for summary judgment on

the basis of Eleventh Amendment immunity and quali-

fied immunity.

68a

A. Whether New York and its Officials Are Proper

Defendants in an False Claims Act Suit

The first issue the Court considers in this case is

New York’s argument that it has Eleventh Amendment

immunity from suit under the FCA. This Court rejects

New York’s argument that the Eleventh Amendment

bars an FCA action against a state. The Eleventh

Amendment is not a bar to an FCA action because the

United States is always the plaintiff in a qui tam action

and the Eleventh Amendment does not prohibit suits

by the United States against States in federal court.

See Seminole Tribe of Florida v. Florida, 517 U.S. 44,

71 n. 14, 116 S. Ct. 1114, 184 L.Ed.2d 252 (1996)(citing

United States v. Texas, 143 U.S. 621, 644-45, 12 S. Ct.

488, 36 L.Ed. 285 (1892)) (noting that state compliance

with federal law is ensured by the fact that the federal

government can sue a state in federal court for a viola-

tion of federal law); United States v. Mississippi, 380

U.S. 128, 140, 85 S. Ct. 808, 138 L.Ed.2d 717 (1965)

(“[N]othing in [the Eleventh Amendment] or any other

provision of the Constitution prevents or has ever been

seriously supposed to prevent a State’s being sued by

the United States”). For this reason, states have often

been defendants in qui tam suits under the FCA. See

United States ex rel. Berge v. Board of Trustees of the

Univ. of Alabama, 104 F.3d 1453 (4th Cir.) (state uni-

versity defendant), cert. denied, —— U.S. ——, 118 S.

Ct. 301, 1389 L.Ed.2d 232 (1997); United States ex rel.

Milam v. University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer

Center, 961 F.2d 46 (4th Cir. 1992) (state university

defendant); United States ex rel. Weinberger v. Florida,

615 F.2d 1370 (5th Cir. 1980) (state defendant); Wilkins

ex rel. United States v. Ohio, 885 F. Supp. 1055 (S.D.

Ohio 1995) (state defendant); United States ex rel.

69a

Milam v. Regents of Univ. of California, 912 F. Supp.

868 (D. Md. 1995) (state university defendant); United

States ex rel. Moore v. University of Mich., 860 F. Supp.

400 (E.D. Mich. 1994) (state defendant); United States

ex rel. Fine v. University of California, 821 F. Supp.

1356 (N.D. Cal. 1993) (state university defendant), aff'd,

72 F.3d 740 (9th Cir. 1995); United States ex rel.

Navarette v. Rockwell Int’l Corp., 730 F. Supp. 031,

1035 (D. Colo. 1990) (laboratory, operated and managed

by state university, was defendant).

In view of the foregoing persuasive authority, this

Court holds that a qui tam action may be brought

against the State of New York because a qui tam suit is

commenced on behalf of the United States and the

Eleventh Amendment does not bar suits by the federal

government against a state.

B. Whether New York and Its Officials Are “Persons”

Within the Meaning of the FCA

New York next argues that it is shielded from liabil-

ity under the FCA because a state cannot be considered

a “person” under that statute. The FCA provides, in

pertinent part, that “any person” who causes false

claims and reports to be presented to the United States

for payment, or who forms a conspiracy to have false

claims paid by the United States, will be liable

for treble damages and civil penalties. See 31 U.S.C.

§ 3729. This section of the FCA, however, does not

define the word “person.”

The “fundamental task in interpreting the FCA is ‘to

give effect to the intent of Congress.’” United States ex

rel. D.J. Findley v. FPC-Boron Employees’ Club, 105

F.3d 675, 681 (D.C. Cir.) (citations omitted), cert. de-

70a

nied, —— U.S. ——, 118 S. Ct. 172, 189 L.Ed.2d 114

(1997). “The starting point for interpreting a statute is

the language of the statute itself.” Jd. To determine

the meaning of the statute, the Court considers the

statute’s language and structure, and its legislative his-

tory. See California State Bd. of Optometry v. Federal

Trade Comm’n, 910 F.2d 976, 979 (D.C. Cir. 1990). Al-

though the word “person” is ordinarily construed to ex-

clude a sovereign, this reading “may . . . be dis-

regarded if ‘(t]he purpose, the subject matter, the

context, the legislative history, [or] the executive

interpretation of the statute . . . indicate an intent, by

the use of the term, to bring a state or nation within the

scope of the law.’” International Primate Protection

League v. Administrators of Tulane Educ. Fund, 500

U.S. 72, 83, 111 S. Ct. 1700, 114 L.Ed.2d 134 (1991) (in-

ternal quotations omitted).

Although Congress did not define the word “person”

in § 3729, it did define that term in § 3733 of the FCA.’

That section defines a “person,” specifically for the pur-

poses of that section, to include a “state.” 31 U.S.C.

§ 3733(1)(4). Moreover, courts have allowed states to

act as relators and bring civil suits for violations of §

3729 on behalf of the United States where the qui tam

provisions allow a “person” to bring a civil suit. See 31

U.S.C. § 3730(b); United States ex rel. Woodard v.

Country View Care Center, Inc., 797 F.2d 888 (10th Cir.

3 Section 3733 of the FCA provides the federal government

with a Civil Investigative Demand (“CID”). The CID enhances the

federal government’s investigatory powers to enable it to obtain

documents or testimony relevant to a FCA investigation. 31

U.S.C. § 3733(a); S. Rep. No. 99-345, at 33, 1986 U.S. Code Cong. &

Admin. News 5266. Thus, this section requires states to provide

this information to the federal government. See 31 U.S.C. § 3733.

Tla

1986) (State of Colorado as relator); United States ex

rel. Wisconsin v. Dean, 729 F.2d 1100 (7th Cir. 1984)

(State of Wisconsin as relator). In allowing states to act

as relators, courts have thus interpreted “person” to

include a state in the context of who may commence a

qui tam action.

In the absence of express judicial authority as to

whether a state may be a defendant in a qui tam action,

however, it is necessary to consider the legislative

history of the Act. The FCA was originally enacted

during the Civil War to combat the rampant fraud

being perpetrated on the government by defense

contractors. See S. Rep. No. 99-345, at 8, 1986 U.S.

Code Cong. & Admin. News 5266. The FCA has been

amended three times, with major revisions in 1986. See

id . The purpose of the 1986 amendments was to “make

the statute a more useful tool against fraud” in the face

of continuing fraud against the Government. /d. at 2.

The Senate Report accompanying the 1986 amend-

ments to the FCA sets out the broad reach of the

statute. “In its presert form . . . [t]he False Claims

Act reaches all parties who may submit false claims.

The term ‘person’ is used in its broad sense to include

partnerships, associations, and corporations . . . as

well as States and political subdivisions thereof.” See

id. at 8 (citations omitted). —

On the other hand, New York argues that the Court

should be guided by the general understanding that

construing the word “person” to include states is

generally disfavored. See Will v. Michigan Dep't of

State Police, 491 U.S. 58, 64, 109 S. Ct. 2304, 105

L.Ed.2d 45 (1989)(citing Wilson v. Omaha Tribe, 442

U.S. 653, 667, 99 S. Ct. 2529, 61 L.Ed.2d 153 (1979)).

12a

New York’s reliance upon Will is, however, misplaced.

First, 42 U.S.C. § 1983 is clearly distinguishable from

the FCA because § 1983 establishes a cause of action for

individual plaintiffs, whereas the FCA establishes

civil liabilities for frauds at the expense of the United

States.° See 31 U.S.C. § 3729. In an FCA action, there-

fore, the suit is always on behalf of the federal govern-

ment. See 31 U.S.C. §§ 3729, 3730(b). Since § 1983

creates a private cause of action, the analysis in Will

necessarily included Eleventh Amendment considera-

tions. See Will, 491 U.S. at 66-67. The reasoning

4 See id. at 64, 1986 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News 5266.

The full text of 42 U.S.C. § 1983 provides:

Every person who, under color of any statute, ordinance,

regulation, custom, or usage, of any State or Territory or the

District of Columbia, subjects, or causes to be subjected, any

citizen of the United States or other person within the

jurisdiction thereof to the deprivation of any rights, privileges,

or immunities secured by the Constitution and laws, shall be

liable to the party injured in an action at law, suit in equity, or

other proper proceeding for redress.

5 New York urges, however, that in Will, the Supreme Court

announced the “rule” that States are never “persons” in federal

statutes regardless of whether the suit brought pursuant to the

statute would be brought by an individual plaintiff or by the

United States, relying upon a case from this circuit. California

State Bd. of Optometry v. Federal Trade Comm’n, 910 F.2d 976

(D.C. Cir. 1990). In California State Board, the question facing the

D.C. Circuit was whether a state, acting in its sovereign capacity,

is subject to regulation by the FTC under the Magnuson-Moss

Amendments to the Federal Trade Commission Act, which

granted the FTC rulemake authority to define specific acts or

practices as unfair. Jd. at 978-79. In addition to New York’s

overbroad reading of the holding in Will, its reliance on California

State Board, a case construing an agency’s power, in that case, the

FTC, to regulate states under a statute enacted by Congress,

pursuant to its Commerce Clause power, is misplaced.

73a

underlying the Will Court’s reluctance to construe

“persons” to include States for the purposes of § 1983

was “that if Congress intend[ed] to alter the ‘usual con-

stitutional balance between the States and the Federal

Government,’ it must make its intention to do so ‘un-

mistakably clear in the language of the statute.’” Will,

491 U.S. at 65 (quoting Atascadero State Hospital v.

Scanlon, 473 U.S. 234, 242, 105 S. Ct. 3142, 87 L.Ed.2d

171 (1985)). Because states are not immune from suits

by the federal government, however, Congress was not

required to state in the FCA that it intended to abro-

gate the states’ sovereign immunity, as Congress would

have been required to do if it intended to subject states

to private suits by individuals.

After reviewing the language and purpose of the

statute, this Court finds no indication that Congress

sought to create an exception for state actors to perpe-

trate fraud upon the federal government, especially

since states are not immune to suits by the federal

government in federal court. See United States v.

Rockwell Int'l Corp., 730 F. Supp. 1031, 1035 (D. Colo.

1990) (holding that state defendants are not entitled to

Eleventh Amendment immunity from suits brought

pursuant to the FCA and noting that to “hold otherwise

would render meaningless the FCA’s provision author-

izing qui tam actions against state agencies and officials

operating under government contracts”). Consistent

with the intent and purpose of the FCA, the Court

therefore concludes that states are “persons” for the

purposes of § 3729 and that Congress did not intend to

exempt states from the FCA.

74a

C. Whether the FCA’s Damages Provisions Are Puni-

tive and Therefore Inapplicable to a State

As a final point, New York argues that the damages

provision of the FCA suggests that the statute has a

punitive purpose, and consequently, that the FCA

cannot apply to the states because states enjoy a

common law immunity to punitive damages which can

only be overcome by a clear congressional statement of

abrogation.

The purpose of the FCA is to enable the federal

government to recover losses it sustains as a result of

fraud. See S. Rep. No. 99-345, at 2-8, 1986 U.S. Code

Cong. & Admin. News 5266. In interpreting the pre-

1986 version of the FCA, which provided for double

damages and penalties, the Supreme Court held that

the FCA was a remedial, rather than punitive statute.

See United States v. Halper, 490 U.S. 435, 446, 449, 109

S. Ct. 1892, 104 L.Ed.2d 487 (1989) (the FCA’s damages

provision represents “rough remedial justice” as long as

rational relation exists between the government’s loss

and the damages imposed); United States v. Bornstein,

423 U.S. 303, 314-315, 96 S. Ct. 523, 46 L.Ed.2d 514

(1976) (FCA’s damages provision are remedial except

under extreme circumstances); United States ex rel.

Marcus v. Hess, 317 U.S. 537, 551-52, 63 S. Ct. 379, 87

L.Ed. 443 (1943) (purpose of the FCA is to make the

government whole for its losses and therefore statute

not punitive). The Court further reasoned that the

federal government is entitled to “rough remedial jus-

tice” and declined to impose a more exact method of ac-

counting on the Congress. United States v. Bornstein,

423 U.S. at 314-315.

75a

With regard to the treble damages provision of the

amended FCA, the Eighth Circuit has held that the

amended provision does not transform the statute from

a remedial to a punitive one. In United States v.

Brekke, 97 F.3d 1048 (8th Cir. 1996), the court held that

the FCA’s treble damages were compensatory rather

than punitive. Jd. at 1047. The court based its decision

upon the Supreme Court’s reasoning in Halper that the

““Government is entitled to rough remedial justice, that

is, it may demand compensation according to a some-

what imprecise formula.’” Brekke, 97 F.3d at 1047

(quoting Halper, 490 U.S. at 446). This Court agrees

with the reasoning in Brekke and concludes that the

federal government’s recovery of treble damages gives

it “rough remedial justice” and therefore that the FCA

is a remedial statute.

Furthermore, there is no indication that Congress

intended to change the purpose of the statute from a

remedial to a punitive one when it enacted the 1986

Amendments. See S. Rep. No. 99-345, at 7, 1986 U.S.

Code Cong. & Admin. News 5266 (noting that the Com-

mittee clarified that knowing standard did not require

actual knowledge of fraud or specific intent to commit

the fraud in order to make it more appropriate for

remedial actions) (emphasis added).

Rather, the damages provision was amended for

other reasons. First, Congress saw the need to mod-

ernize the provision, which had not been changed since

the FCA was originally enacted 123 years ago. See id.

at 2. Second, the provision was changed to make it

consistent with the false claims provision in the 1986

Department of Defense Appropriations Act. See id. at

17. Third, the increased damages provision gives effect

16a

to the overall purpose of the 1986 amendments to make

the FCA more effective and to encourage qui tam

actions. See id. at 2. Although the amended FCA does

not provide for a significant increase in the percentage

of the recovery to a qui tam relator,’ by virtue of the

increased damages, the relator stands to receive a

larger recovery. This increased recovery therefore

serves the purpose of encouraging qui tam actions.

The Court therefore concludes that the FCA’s penal-

ties are not punitive, but rather remedial, as long as a

rational relation exists between the government’s loss

and the damages assessed.

Given the Court’s conclusions that New York may be

sued under the FCA, that New York may be considered

a “person” within the context of the FCA, and that the

damages provisions of the FCA are not punitive, the

Court goes on to consider the subject matter jurisdic-

tion provisions of the FCA.

D. Whether this Court Has Subject Matter

Jurisdiction Under the FCA

Long brings his action under the FCA against New

York and against his supervisor, Joseph P. Frey. New

York, in its motion to dismiss, argues that the FCA

6 Under the former FCA, when the government intervened,

the relator would receive 10% of the recovery; and when the gov-

ernment did not intervene, the relator would receive 25% of the

recovery. See S. Rep. No. 99-345, at 27, 1986 U.S. Code Cong. &

Admin. News 5266. Under present law, when the government in-

tervenes, the relator receives between 10% and 20% of the recov-

ery; and when the government does not intervene, the relator re-

ceives between 20% and 30% of the recovery. 31 U.S.C. §

3730(d)(1), (2).

77a

precludes this Court from asserting subject matter

jurisdiction over this action. The Court must look to

the language of the statute itself to assess the merits of

defendant’s contention. Consumer Product Safety

Comm’n v. GTE Sylvania Inc., 447 U.S. 102, 100 S. Ct.

2051, 64 L.Ed.2d 766 (1980).

The FCA sets out a two-part test to determine

whether a court has subject matter jurisdiction over

plaintiff’s qui tam action and prohibits

private plaintiff suits based upon the public dis-

closure of allegations or transactions in a criminal,

civil, or administrative hearing, in a congressional,

administrative, or Government Accounting Office

report, hearing, audit, or investigation, or from the

news media, unless the action is brought by the

Attorney General or the person bringing the action

is an original source of the information.

31 U.S.C. § 3730(e)(4)(A) (emphasis added). The statute

defines an “original source” as

an individual who has direct and independent

knowledge of the information on which the allega-

tions are based and has voluntarily provided the

information to the Government before filing an

action under this section which is based on the infor-

mation.

$1 U.S.C. § 3730(e)(4)(B) (emphasis added).

Thus, the Court must first determine if the allega-

tions raised in this suit were publicly disclosed under

the meaning of the statute. If the allegations were

publicly disclosed, the Court may only assert subject

78a

matter jurisdiction over this qui tam action if plaintiff

was an original source of the information.

1. Public Disclosure Inquiry -

Although both Long and New York agree that the

allegations of fraud against SCS were publicly disclosed

under the FCA as part of New York’s 1992 admini-

strative proceedings against SCS, the parties disagree

as to whether New York’s alleged fraud was publicly

disclosed.

New York argues that because the allegations

against SCS and New York are inextricably linked,

Long can not “parse out” each claim and treat the

allegations separately for purposes of determining

whether public disclosure has occurred. In support of

its position, New York cites a Tenth Circuit case which

held that when a “qui tam action is based in any part

upon publicly disclosed allegations or transactions,” the

court must then proceed to the “original source”

inquiry. See United States ex rel. Precision Co. v. Koch

Industries, 971 F.2d 548 (10th Cir. 1992).

Long first asserts that even though the allegations

against SCS were publicly disclosed, the allegations

against New York and Frey were not publicly dis-

closed, and therefore Long is not jurisdictionally barred

from raising this claim. See United States ex rel.

Springfield Terminal Ry. Co. v. Quinn, 14 F.3d 645,

657 (D.C. Cir. 1994) (holding public disclosure under

§ 3730(e)(4)(A) occurs “only when specific allegations of

fraud or the vital ingredients to a fraudulent trans-

action exist in the public eye”) Here, only two of the

many components of the alleged conspiracy by New

York were publicly disclosed: that the SCS had acted

79a

fraudulently and that New York had settled with SCS.

These two details, however, do not constitute the “vital

ingredients” of the allegations against New York.

Further, this circuit stated that “Congress sought to

limit qui tam actions ‘to those in which the relator has

contributed significant independent information [that is

not already in the public domain].’” United States ex

rel. D.J. Findley v. FPC Boron Employees’ Club, 105

F.3d 675, 682 (D.C. Cir. 1977) (citing Quinn, 14 F.3d at

653). In his claim, Long demonstrates that he has

knowledge of substantive information concerning the

allegations of fraud against New York and Frey, sepa-

rate from what has already been disclosed concerning

SCS. In reviewing Long’s allegations, the Court con-

cludes that the allegations against New York and Frey

are separate and distinct from those against SCS.

New York next argues that even if the allegations

against SCS are found to be separate from those

against New York, Long’s disclosures to federal

authorities and to the United States Department of

Education (“DOE”) constitute a public disclosure be-

cause they took place within the course of his admini-

strative investigation. See United States ex rel. Fine v.

Advanced Sciences, Inc., 99 F.3d 1000, 1004 (10th Cir.

1996) (holding relator publicly disclosed when he

provided information regarding contractor fraud to his

to age discrimination representative); United States ex

rel. Doe v. John Doe Corp., 960 F.2d 318, 323 (2d Cir.

1992) (holding public disclosure occurred when fraud

disclosed to defendant’s employees during investiga-

tion).

Long asserts that disclosure to federal authorities

and to the DOE is not within the statute’s meaning of

80a

“public disclosure.” Specifically, Long argues that dis-

closure of the results of the investigation conducted by

three year a state administrative agency to federal

authorities does not fit within the meaning of the

“public disclosure” provision of the FCA.

Allegations of fraud are publicly disclosed “when

they are placed in the public domain.” United States ex

rel. Dick v. Long Island Lighting Co., 912 F.2d 13, 18

(2d Cir. 1990). In this case, the results of Long’s

administrative investigation were disclosed to federal

authorities. Courts have recognized that this is suf-

ficient to place the government on the trail of the

alleged wrongdoing:

In deciding whether the information conveyed to

the court is “based upon a publicly disclosed alle-

gation or transaction,” the question is whether the

information in the public domain “... could at least

have alerted law enforcement authorities to the

likelihood of wrongdoing. . .”

United States ex rel. Alexander v. Dyncorp, Inc., 924 F.

Supp. 292, 299 (D.D.C. 1996) (quoting Quinn, 14 F.3d at

654). Here, because Long alerted federal authorities,

making them aware of the purported fraudulent con-

duct, the allegations became “publicly disclosed” within

the meaning of the FCA. This leads the Court to the

“original source” inquiry.

2. Original Source Inquiry

It is well established that the purpose of the 1986

amendments to the FCA was to allow a relator’s claim

where disclosure to federal authorities has taken place,

but where the relator is an original source. Hughes

8la

Aircraft Co. v. United States ex rel. Schumer, 520 U.S.

939, 117 S. Ct. 1871, 188 L.Ed.2d 185 (1997). Under

§ 3730(e)(4)(B), Long must demonstrate that he has

“direct and independent knowledge” of the information

on which the allegations are based, and that he

“voluntarily provided [such] information” to the

government prior to filing suit. See also United States

ex rel. D.J. Findley v. FPC-Boron Employees’ Club,

105 F.3d at 690 (“To qualify as an ‘original source,’ the

relator must also have ‘voluntarily provided the infor-

mation to the government’ before filing a qui tam suit

which is ‘based on the information.’”).

First, New York argues that Long did not have

“direct” knowledge because as coordinator of the in-

vestigation, Long received his information from other

people. “Direct” signifies “marked by absence of an

intervening agency.” Quinn, 14 F.3d at 656. New York

further argues that Long did not have independent

knowledge because it was his job to obtain this

information. Quinn elucidates that the original source

provision requires the “relator to possess direct and

independent knowledge of the ‘information’ supporting

any essential element of the underlying fraud trans-

action,” but “does not require that the qui tam relator

possess direct and independent knowledge of all of the

vital ingredients to a fraudulent transaction.” Quinn,

14 F.3d at 657. Long more than satisfies the “direct

knowledge” aspect of the FCA provision because,

through his own labor, he gained first hand knowledge

of defendant’s fraudulent conduct. See Cooper ex rel.

United States v. Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Fla., Inc.,

19 F.3d 562, 568 (11th Cir. 1994) (per curiam) (finding

“direct knowledge” when relator acquired information

82a

through three years of his own research prior to public

disclosure).

Moreover, Long’s knowledge of the allegations is

“independent” because it is “knowledge that is not itself

dependant on public disclosure to federal authorities.”

See Quinn, 14 F.3d at 656. In fact, the reverse occurred

in that Long was the one to notify the federal

authorities. To find that Long is barred from bringing

this qui tam action would undermine the purpose

behind the 1986 amendments: to discourage “parasitic

suits” while encouraging parties to reveal fraudulent

conduct to the government.

Finally, New York argues that Long does not satisfy

the “voluntarily provided” element of § 3730(e)(4)(B)

because reporting such information to his employer and

the federal government was his job. The Court finds

this argument without merit because Long was

employed by a state agency and therefore, Long had no

duty to report the results of his investigation to federal

authorities.

The Court concludes that Long is an “original source”

of the allegations against New York and Frey within

the meaning of the FCA. Thus, this Court properly

invokes subject matter jurisdiction over this action

under § 3730(e)(4) of the FCA because, even though

there was public disclosure, Long meets the statutory

requirement for an original source.

E. Whether Long has Pled Fraud with Particularity

as to Count I

A failure to plead fraud with particularity is a ground

for dismissal for failure to state a claim upon which

83a

relief can be granted. Fed. R. Civ. P. 9(b); see United

States ex rel. Alexander v. Dyncorp, Inc., 924 F. Supp.

292, 302 (D.D.C. 1996) (citing Shushany v. Allwaste,

Inc., 992 F.2d 517, 520 (5th Cir. 1993)).

Count I of the complaint alleges that New York and

defendant Frey engaged in a conspiracy in violation of

31 U.S.C. § 3729(a)(3). In support of this allegation,

Long alleges that New York officials agreed among

themselves and with SCS to conceal and protect

pervasive fraud in which the New York officials knew

SCS was engaging, thereby allowing the fraud to

continue. New York argues that Long has not pled the

fraud he has alleged against them with particularity

because he has not specified the material elements of

the conspiracy, and because he has not “demonstrated”

that the New York officials and SCS reached an agree-

ment in order to get a false claim paid.

Section 3729(a)(3) of the FCA makes liable any

person who “conspires to defraud the Government by

getting a false or fraudulent claim allowed or paid.”

Under this section, the relator must show:

(1) that defendant conspired with one or more

persons to have a fraudulent claim paid by the

United States,

(2) that one or more of the conspirators performed

any act to have such a claim paid by the United

States, and

(3) that the United States suffered damages as a

result of the claim.

84a

United States v. Bouchey, 860 F.Supp. 890, 893 (D.D.C.

1994) (citing cases). Since the first criterion of §

3729(a)(3) involves an allegation of fraud, under Rule

9(b) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, “the cir-

cumstances constituting fraud [must] . . . be stated

with particularity.” See Quinn, 14 F.3d at 655 n. 10.

This requires that the Long describe the fraudulent

conduct rather than merely make conclusory allegations

of fraud. See United States ex rel. Stinson v. Provident

Life & Accident Ins. Co., 721 F. Supp. 1247, 1258 (S.D.

Fla. 1989) (citing Lincoln Nat'l Bank v. Lampe, 414

F.Supp. 1270, 1278-79 (N.D. Ill. 1976)). To survive a

motion to dismiss, the complaint must contain the fol-

owing particulars: the time, place and content of the

false misrepresentations, the fact misrepresented, what

was given up or retained as a result of the fraud, and

the individual who made the misrepresentation. See

Bouchey, 860 F. Supp. at 893. However, an exception

to these requirements exists when this information is

exclusively within the knowledge and control of the

moving party. See Wilkins ex rel. United States v.

Ohio, 885 F. Supp. 1055, 1061 (S.D. Ohio 1995). Long is,

however, only required to allege this information, not

“demonstrate” it, as defendants contend. See Blusal

Meats, Inc. v. United States, 688 F. Supp. 824, 828

(S.D.N.Y. 1986).

To satisfy the first criterion of § 3729(a)(3), that

defendant conspired to have a false claim paid, Long

alleges that New York officials conspired with SCS “to

conceal and to protect” the pervasive fraud of the SCS

defendants in order to have the United States pay false

claims. Long does not, as New York contends, however,

stop here. Rather, in support of this allegation, Long

alleges that t

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.