Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Wisconsin Department of Transportation v. Reno

Supreme Court brief2000

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, Ug.

FILED

WV 9 8 1818 MAY 1 11999

No.

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1998

*

THE DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES OF THE WISCONSIN

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION AND ITS

ADMINISTRATOR,

Petitioners,

Vv.

JANET RENO, ATTORNEY GENERAL OF THE UNITED

STATES, AND THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondents.

a

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED

STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

4

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

+

JAMES E. DOYLE

Attorney General

SUSAN K. ULLMAN*

Assistant Attorney General

State Bar #1012889

Attorneys for Petitioners

_ Wisconsin Department of Justice

Post Office Box 7857

Madison, Wisconsin 53707-7857

(608) 267-2775

*Counsel of Record

—$—$—$——<——_

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether Congress’ enactment of the Driver's Privacy

Protection Act of 1994, 18 U.S.C. §§ 2721-2725, violates the

Tenth Amendment to the United States Constitution.

LIST OF PARTIES

Actual parties to the proceedings in the Court of

Appeals were:

Roger D. Cross, in his capacity as Administrator of the

Division of Motor Vehicles of the Wisconsin Department of

Transportation, and the Division of Motor Vehicles of the

Wisconsin Department of Transportation,

Petitioners herein,

State Representative David M. Travis, State Senator Fred

Risser, State Representative Robert K. Zukowski, State

Representative Eugene Hahn, State Representative Michael

D. Huebsch, David Zweifel and Pamela Moorshead,

Plaintiffs-Appellees in the United

States Court of Appeals for the

Seventh Circuit

Janet Reno, Attorney General of the United States, and the

United States of America,

Respondents herein.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

TOT ELT i

a A al A I il

EI ES a TE 2

SETS ROAD OO ER ae oO 2

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

a NT OI, WEEP o, -sscvesssvverensssapereteccacerencccotcncccss. 2

See I RUE CO ni cocecocevevencencsesencudsccbaseccecti. 3

A. Statutory Background............0.c..c:c006. 3

B. Procedural Background ...................... 4

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ........ccccccccceccceseees 7

I. THE DECISION OF THE COURT

OF APPEALS CONFLICTS WITH

THE DECISIONS FROM OTHER

NC laiiiiabas cial doe ssis cideiicencibanondssecovendeeness 7

THIS CASE PRESENTS AN

IMPORTANT CONSTITUTIONAL

I is 8

CER PIT snisiciicscciscsintivtinicinnniued tctianinasictaliadihiigienssniianiateteidln 13

CASES

Condon vy. Reno,

155 F.3d 453 (CA4 1998),

petition for cert. filed, (U.S. Mar. 15, 1999)

Si TE sieiniictnscitceincecieciabseinbahonctilaenicdiamiinpaniniien 2, 7,8

National League of Cities v. Usery,

ee a TR inissidcnctesniincinintinaenbiiitiastiaiiiiinatianiages 5

New York v. U.S.,

Fee Es CO De wiseciviictticstctenrivncinatas 5, 6,9, 11, 12

Printz v. U.S.,

521 U.S. 898,

yg Be Bes 2). ) : ne naeomnnn ee 5,9, 10, 11, 12

Pryor, et al. v. Reno,

ee hee

Se Wks BO FRe CTRL, BOF e Picscccsnscensntiestvscivonsee 7,8

South Carolina v. Baker,

gt ef Lee

Vv

State of Oklahoma ex rel. Oklahoma

Dep't of Public Safety v. United States,

161 F.3d 1266 (CA10 1998),

petition for cert. filed, (U.S. May 3, 1999)

Pe iil 2,7,8

Travis v. Reno,

12 F. Supp. 2d 921 (W.D. Wis. | 2, 4, 6,9

Travis v. Reno,

163 F.3d 1000 (CA7 1998)... eccccccccececcececeec... passim

FEDERAL STATUTES

Driver's Privacy Protection Act of 1994,

Se BE SPAN BIAS scitcserassctcstsstsserieiseseccccs..., i Tadeo

FO Ries BE BPD aeesissccinisinibditenscssieeidcaie sa. 3,9

Oe MON einitetnheciiingieresiiiniiaue ee ae 3,9

BE BE FATT I ssi en ccevinnesihasosttitincie 3

OW ties 6 Acetic ane EN ram 4

OD iit BE a incenthcedibioniccliaitdabieiege ci 3

etch cece, tM RSME EER 4

Slips Fi, SE eR re x?

temas Lc . : : SRGCORESDI IEC Ret eleirer aii re 2

Wis. Stat.

WISCONSIN STATUTES

iF FOL T UNE Saacevevcicivduiaccabunsduathiqubebdoniavaainenna 4,9

iF SUE de Fale irravenidevsneusiioiaheveensouiaipebinnesebianeiaian 4,9

I Pea Picaictinsevisvatenvesunnceneennsbinsieedgpeenimicaiainstiten 4,9

By EOE 3 4,9

OTHER AUTHORITIES

A RSM Sod Li PME LEAD ae ee

yn

AE CII, Za gO SP eciacvsiccotssensinineseanaeteeaanienn 5

No.

-_—_—_

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1998

¢

THE DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES OF THE

WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

AND ITS ADMINISTRATOR,

Petitioners,

V.

JANET RENO, ATTORNEY GENERAL OF THE UNITED

STATES, AND THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondents.

+

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED

STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

+

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

+

Petitioners, the Division of Motor Vehicles of the

Wisconsin Department of Transportation and its

Administrator, respectfully pray that a writ of certiorari issue

to review the judgment of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Seventh Circuit entered on December 16, 1998, that

the Driver's Privacy Protection Act of 1994, 18 U.S.C.

§§ 2721-2725, does not violate the Tenth Amendment.

2

This petition presents the same question raised in the

petition filed on March 15, 1999 in Reno, et al. v. Condon,

No. 98-1464, and the petition filed on May 3, 1999, in

Oklahoma ex rel. Oklahoma Dep't of Public Safety v. United

States, No. 98-1760.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Seventh Circuit is reported at 163 F.3d 1000 (CA7 1998)

(Pet.-Ap. 9a-24a). The opinion of the United States District

Court for the Western District of Wisconsin is reported at 12

F. Supp. 2d 921 (W.D. Wis. 1998) (Pet.-Ap. 27a-46a).

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Seventh Circuit was entered on December 16, 1998.

Petitioners filed a timely Petition for Rehearing With

Suggestion of Rehearing En Banc which was denied by

Order dated February 11, 1999 (Pet.-Ap. 7a-8a). The

jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

INVOLVED

The Tenth Amendment to the United States

Constitution provides: "[t]he powers not delegated to the

United States by the Constitution, nor prohibited by it to the

States, are reserved to the States respectively, or to the people."

U.S. Const. amend. X.

The Driver's Privacy Protection Act of 1994, 18

U.S.C. §§ 2721-2725 is reprinted in full in the Appendix

(Pet.-Ap. la-6a).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Statutory Background

This case involves a constitutional challenge under the

Tenth Amendment to the Driver's Privacy Protection Act of

1994 ("DPPA"), 18 U.S.C. §§ 2721-2775. The Driver's

Privacy Protection Act is a detailed federal scheme prohibiting

the disclosure and use of certain State motor vehicle records,

except for enumerated purposes. The DPPA defines "personal

information." See 18 U.S.C. § 2725(3). The DPPA mandates

disclosure of that "personal information" by a "State

department of motor vehicles" in sore circumstances (see 18

U.S.C. §2721(b)), prohibits it in others (see 18 U.S.C.

§ 2721(a)) and permits it in yet others (see 18 U.S.C.

§ 2721(b)(1)-(14)).

Compliance with the DPPA requires that for each

request to a State department of motor vehicles for information

a State employee must make a determination of whether the

requested information is "personal" under the DPPA. If the

information is not "personal," then the State employee may.

release the information. If the State employee determines the

requested information is "personal," he must determine

whether it is subject to mandatory disclosure, permissive

disclosure, or may never be disclosed under the federal DPPA.

Compliance with the DPPA is not voluntary; the

DPPA compels State departments of motor vehicles to

administer the federal program by having substantial criminal

fine and civil penalty provisions. Petitioner Wisconsin

Division of Motor Vehicles faces a civil penalty of up to

$5,000 per day for "substantial noncompliance" with the

DPPA. 18 U.S.C. § 2723(b). Petitioner Roger D. Cross, the

Administrator of the Division of Motor Vehicles, and all

employees of that Division, face individual criminal fines

4

and civil damage suits if they release information that should

not have: been released under the DPPA. 18 U.S.C.

§§ 2723(a) and 2724(a).

The DPPA's prohibitions on disclosure conflict with

Wisconsin's public records law. In Wisconsin motor vehicle

registration information is a public record under Wis. Stat.

§§ 19.35(1)(a) and 341.17(6). Driver license information is a

public record under Wis. Stat. §§ 19.35(1)(a) and 343.24(1)

and (2m).

The record is undisputed that petitioners had to make

significant changes in how the Wisconsin Division of Motor

Vehicles conducted its business as a result of compliance

with the DPPA. The Wisconsin Division of Motor Vehicles

has incurred large burdens and costs as a result of compliance

with the DPPA. See generally, R. 24, Schwartz Aff., Wehrle

Aff., Thiel Aff.; 12 F. Supp. 2d at 923 (Pet.-Ap. 30a).

B. Procedural Background

1. This case involves a constitutional challenge to the

Driver's Privacy Protection Act brought by five members of

the Wisconsin Legislature, an editor of a Wisconsin

newspaper whose job requires access to records of the

Wisconsin Division of Motor Vehicles and an attorney in

Wisconsin whose practice focuses on criminal and traffic

defense and requires her to have access to records of the

Wisconsin Division of Motor Vehicles. Petitioners herein,

the Division of Motor Vehicles of the Wisconsin Department

of Transportation and its Administrator, Roger D. Cross,

were named as defendants in the district court action, along

with the United States of America and Janet Reno

(respondents herein). Petitioners moved to be realigned as

plaintiffs. The district court granted the motion for

realignment. Respondents moved to dismiss the action and

petitioners moved for summary judgment. The district court

5

granted petitioners' motion for summary judgment and

enjoined the enforcement of the DPPA on the grounds that

the DPPA violates the Tenth Amendment and is not saved by

§ 5 of the Fourteenth Amendment. The Seventh Circuit

Court of Appeals reversed, and denied petitioners' motion for

a stay of mandate. By Order dated March 31, 1999,

Associate Justice of the Supreme Court of the United States

John Paul Stevens granted petitioners’ application to recall

and stay the mandate of the Seventh Circuit pending the

filing and disposition of this petition for a writ of certiorari

(No. A-795).

2. The district court held that the DPPA violates the

Tenth Amendment. The district court discussed this Court's

decisions in New York v. U.S., 505 U.S. 144 (1992), and

Printz v. U.S., 521 U.S. 898, 117 S. Ct. 2365 (1997), noting

this Court's determination that federal laws that direct state

officials to administer or enforce federal regulatory programs

violate the Tenth Amendment. The district court found that

the DPPA is not a law of general applicability comparable to

those upheld in cases such as National League of Cities vy.

Usery, 426 U.S. 833 (1976), and South Carolina v. Baker,

485 U.S. 505 (1988). —

After careful analysis the district court concluded that

the DPPA violates the Tenth Amendment because it forces

state officials to administer and enforce a federally enacted

regulatory program:

The act establishes a detailed set of rules to

control the circumstances under which

Wisconsin may disclose certain information in

its driver's license and motor vehicle records to

third parties; these rules displace conflicting

policies regarding disclosure established by

Wisconsin legislators through the state's open

records law; state officials are responsible for

insuring that this information is disclosed only

6

for designated purposes specified by the federal

rules; and the federal government has no role in

this process, financially or otherwise. If this

does not describe a federal law that directs state

officials to administer or enforce a federal

regulatory program, the standard articulated by

the Supreme Court in New York and Printz has

done great damage to the English language.

12 F. Supp. 2d at 928 (Pet.-Ap. 40a).

3. The Seventh Circuit reversed. The Seventh

Circuit's decision itself acknowledged that "each side to this

controversy can take comfort from the decisions of the

Supreme Court" but went on to overturn the decision of the

district court. 163 F.3d at 1001 (Pet.-Ap. 10a). The Court of

Appeals found that the DPPA was within Congress’

commerce power and _ consistent with constitutional

principles of federalism. The Seventh Circuit wrote that the

“basic distinction” between cases such as South Carolina vy.

Baker and New York, “is that states and private parties may be

the objects of regulation, although states cannot be compelled

to become regulators of private conduct.” 163 F.3d at 1004

(Pet.-Ap. 14a). The Seventh Circuit’s decision relies on

creating the distinction that the DPPA "affects states as owners

of databases; it does not affect them in their role as

governments.” /d.; see also id. at 1004-05. However, there is

no authority for this “distinction,” and the Court of Appeals

cited none. Furthermore, the Seventh Circuit reasoned that the

DPPA was in fact a law of general applicability because other

federal acts (such as the Video Privacy Protection Act, the

Bank Secrecy Act and the Stored Wire and Electronic

Communications and Transactional Records Access Act)

regulate the disclosure of similar information from other

databases. 163 F.3d at 1004-05 (Pet.-Ap. 14a-19a).

7

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The Court of Appeals itself recognized that the

circuits are split on the issue raised in this petition, whether

the Driver's Privacy Protection Act is constitutional. 163

F.3d at 1001 (Pet.-Ap. 10a), petition for cert. pending, No.

98-1760 (filed May 3, 1999). The Seventh Circuit and the

Tenth Circuit upheld the DPPA. See State of Oklahoma ex

rel. Oklahoma Dep't of Public Safety v. United States, 161

F.3d 1266 (CA10 1998). The Fourth and Eleventh Circuits

found the DPPA to be unconstitutional. See Condon v. Reno,

155 F.3d 453 (CA4 1998), petition for cert. pending, No.

98-1464 (filed Mar. 15, 1999); Pryor, et al. v. Reno, _ F.3d

___, 1999 WL 187050 (CA11 1999).

This case is also of great national importance. The

DPPA requires every State's department of motor vehicles to

comply with Congress' directives on when a State department

of motor vehicles must release information in its records, may

release information in its records or is prohibited from

releasing information in its records. This issue affects every

State in the nation. The Seventh Circuit's resolution on the

question of whether the DPPA is constitutional addressed

broader federalism issues potentially applicable to numerous

other laws, which makes the case one of even more national

importance.

I. THE DECISION OF THE COURT

OF APPEALS CONFLICTS WITH

THE DECISIONS FROM OTHER

CIRCUITS.

Four circuits have explicitly addressed the question

raised in this petition, whether the Driver's Privacy Protection

Act violates the Tenth Amendment. Two circuits have

upheld the DPPA. See Travis v. Reno, 163 F.3d 1000

(CA7 1998) (Pet.-Ap. 9a), and State of Oklahoma ex rel.

Oklahoma Dep't of Public Safety v. United States, 161 F.3d

8

1266 (CA10 1998). Two circuits have found the DPPA to be

unconstitutional. See Condon v. Reno, 155 F.3d 453 (CA4

1998), and Pryor, et al. v. Reno, — F.3d _, 1999 WL

187050 (CAI1 1999).

The Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals specifically

noted that its decision was consistent with that of the Tenth

Circuit, but conflicted with that of the Fourth Circuit. 163

F.3d at 1001 (Pet.-Ap. 10a). Four months after the Seventh

Circuit's decision, the split in the circuits was deepened by

the Eleventh Circuit's determination that the DPPA is

unconstitutional. See Pryor v. Reno.

This issue that has split the circuits is ready for this

Court's resolution.

II. THIS CASE PRESENTS’ AN

IMPORTANT CONSTITUTIONAL

QUESTION.

This case involves a_ significant question of

constitutional law concerning the limitations on Congress’

power to require States to implement and administer a federal

regulatory program. The issue raises the interest of States in

protecting their sovereignty and their ability to remain

responsive and accountable to their citizens. In petitioning

for certiorari in Reno v. Condon, the respondents here have

effectively supported petitioners’ position that this petition

raises an issue of national importance.

In enacting the DPPA Congress has effectively

required State departments of motor vehicles and State

officers to implement the DPPA by applying it to requests for

information from State departments of motor vehicles and

authorizing penalties for non-compliance. Under Congress’

directive, a State employee determines whether the requested

information is "personal" under the DPPA, and if so, who

must, may or may not receive the requested information

|

9

under the DPPA. See 18 U.S.C. §§ 2721(a) and (b) and

2725(3). The DPPA undermines the State of Wisconsin's

legislation on the use of records created and maintained by

the State, which are public documents pursuant to Wisconsin

statute. See Wis. Stat. §§ 19.35(1)(a), 341.17(6) and

343.24(1) and (2m). The Wisconsin Department of

Transportation, like State departments of motor vehicles

across the country, has had to change its practices with

respect to information requests to comply with the DPPA,

and has had to go against the State of Wisconsin's policies

and practices of open, public governmental records. See

generally, R. 24, Schwartz Aff., Wehrle Aff., Thiel Aff.; 12

F. Supp. 2d at 923 (Pet.-Ap. 30a).

Furthermore, the Court of Appeals’ resolution of the

issue of the constitutionality of the DPPA in this particular

case addressed broader federalism issues potentially

applicable to numerous other laws. New York and Printz

ensured (laws of general applicability aside) that the federal

government may not mandate that States legislate or

administer federal programs. The Seventh Circuit's decision

creates a gaping hole in that principle and warrants review by

this Court.

In New York, this Court struck down the "take title”

provision of the Low-Level Radioactive Waste Policy

Amendments Act of 1995, which offered States the choice of

accepting ownership of waste or regulating according to

Congress’ instructions, on the grounds that it violated the Tenth

Amendment. This Court held that the flaw in the provision

was that "[a] State may not decline to administer the federal

program. No matter which path the State chooses, it must

follow the direction of Congress." Jd at 177. The Seventh

Circuit misapprehended the precedent of New York when it

upheld the DPPA despite its own admission that “[iJn order to

comply with the Act the Division of Motor Vehicles must

adopt new rules by regulation or legislation.” 163 F.3d at 1003

(Pet.-Ap. 14a).

10

The issue before this Court in Printz was whether the

Tenth Amendment was violated by interim provisions of the

Brady Handgun Violence Prevention Act that required a chief

law enforcement officer (CLEO) of a handgun transferee's

residence to run a background check to determine whether the

possession of the gun would violate the law. This Court

described the Brady Act as "purport[ing] to direct state law

enforcement officers to participate, albeit only temporarily, in

the administration of a federally enacted regulatory scheme."

117 S. Ct. at 2369. This Court noted that "the Federal

Government may not compel the States to implement, by

legislation or executive action, federal regulatory programs."

Id. at 2380. This Court wrote:

By forcing state governments to absorb the

financial burden of implementing a federal

regulatory program, Members of Congress can —

take credit for "solving" problems without

having to ask their constituents to pay for the

solutions with higher federal taxes. And even

when the States are not forced to absorb the

costs of implementing a federal program, they

are still put in the position of taking the blame

for its burdensomeness and for its defects. ... .

Under the present law, for example, it will be

the CLEO and not some federal official who

stands between the gun purchaser and

immediate possession of his gun. And it will

likely be the CLEO, not some federal official,

who will be blamed for any error . . . that causes

a purchaser to be mistakenly rejected.

Id. at 2382.

The scenario established by the DPPA is parallel to the

one struck down in Printz. The Seventh Circuit itself admits:

“Moreover, the Act compels employees of the Division of

Motor Vehicles to take certain actions in response to requests

a

1]

for information and pay penalties if they fail.” 163 F.3d at

1003 (Pet.-Ap. 14a). State employees must determine whether

requested information is "personal" under the DPPA. If it is

personal information the State employees must then determine

whether the DPPA prohibits disclosure of that information,

mandates disclosure of that information or permits disclosure

of that information, and then take the appropriate action. As

with the CLEO in Printz who faced the blame if the wrong

person was permitted to purchase a handgun, it is the

Wisconsin Department of Transportation that has faced a loss

of goodwill from the public it serves as a result of the new

measures put into place to comply with the DPPA.

The Seventh Circuit stated that the “basic distinction”

between cases such as South Carolina v. Baker and New York,

“is that states and private parties may be the objects of

regulation, although states cannot be compelled to become

regulators of private conduct.” 163 F.3d at 1004 (Pet.-Ap.

14a). But the Seventh Circuit failed to understand how the

DPPA is requiring States to regulate disclosure and not merely

to be passive objects of regulation. The Seventh Circuit's

decision relies on creating the distinction that “[t]he Driver’s

Privacy Protection Act affects states as owners of databases; it

does not affect them in their role as governments.” Jd; see

also id. at 1004-05. The Seventh Circuit cites no authority for

this “distinction” that it views as determinative. The Seventh

Circuit's view of the Wisconsin Department of Transportation

as a ‘market participant’ that “owns” a database is also off the

mark. The Wisconsin Department of Transportation is a

regulator of driving in the State, and therefore creates a

database of that information. The Wisconsin Department of

Transportation does charge a fee for producing requested

materials pursuant to State law, however, it is not engaged in

the business of buying and selling databases. Certainly

whether the DPPA is constitutional could not turn on whether a

State charges a fee to those who request information the State

collects. Moreover, there is no real distinction between what

the Wisconsin Department of Transportation is doing and what

12

the State law enforcement officer was doing in Printz. The

CLEO was being required to research the State and local

government's record-keeping systems to determine whether the

firearms transaction would be unlawful, but he was not

required to take any governmental or enforcement action. See

Printz, 117 S. Ct. at 2369. Likewise here, an employee of the

Wisconsin Division of Motor Vehicles is required to research

each request for information and to determine whether the

disclosure is lawful or not under the DPPA.

The Seventh Circuit wrote that in South Carolina v.

Baker, this Court "sustained a statute that was addressed

exclusively to the states" and relied heavily on that case.

Travis v. Reno, 163 F.3d at 1005 (Pet.-Ap. 19a). However,

in South Carolina v. Baker this Court itself noted that the

challenged law was one of general applicability. 485 U.S. at

526-27 (provisions apply to all publicly offered long-term

bonds). In New York and Printz this Court expressly

distinguished South Carolina v. Baker on the grounds that it

and other such cases addressed laws that were (or were

conceded to be) of general applicability. See New York, 505

U.S. at 160; Printz, 117 S. Ct. at 2383. The DPPA is

regulating the way in which Wisconsin disseminates

information collected by its Department of Transportation, it is

not a law of general applicability regulating “personal

information” anywhere the State or private entities may have it.

The significant question of constitutional law this

case presents is ready for resolution by this Court.

13

CONCLUSION

For the above reasons, the petition for a writ of

certiorari should be granted.

JAMES E. DOYLE

Attorney General

SUSAN K. ULLMAN*

Assistant Attorney General

State Bar #1012889

Attorneys for Petitioners

Wisconsin Department of Justice

Post Office Box 7857

Madison, Wisconsin 53707-7857

(608) 267-2775

*Counsel of Record

May 1999

No.

——

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1998

e

THE DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES OF THE

WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

AND ITS ADMINISTRATOR,

Petitioners,

Vv.

JANET RENO, ATTORNEY GENERAL OF THE UNITED

STATES, AND THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondents.

S

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED

STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

°

APPENDIX FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

a a»

APPENDIX

Table of Contents

Item

a

Driver's Privacy Protection Act of 1994

Fae ie GF BOR UAE TAD costsnstdectaiesheciceiececoctnecees,

Travis v. Reno

No. 98-2881

Order Denying Petition for Rehearing

rae Oe ee ie

Travis v. Reno

No. 98-2881, 163 F.3d 1000

Decision (7th Cir., Dec. 16, ia ae

Travis v. Reno,

Judgment in a Civil Case

COPE, Wiig SUID BE, TIMID ccsccovercciovesesse scscccoeseses

Travis v. Reno

Opinion and Order, 12 F. Supp. 2d 921

(W.D. Wis., Jun. 9, 1998)... .ccccccscscscsssssesecceesees

Nee eerie 25a

-la-

CHAPTER 123-PROHIBITION ON RELEASE

AND USE OF CERTAIN PERSONAL

INFORMATION FROM

STATE MOTOR VEHICLE RECORDS

§ 2721. Prohibition on release and use of certain

personal information from State motor

vehicle records

(a) In general.—Except as provided in subsection

(b), a State department of motor vehicles, and any officer,

employee, or contractor, thereof, shall not knowingly

disclose or otherwise make available to any person or entity

personal information about any individual obtained by the

department in connection with a motor vehicle record.

(b) Permissible uses.—Personal information referred

to in subsection (a) shall be disclosed for use in connection

with matters of motor vehicle or driver safety and theft,

motor vehicle emissions, motor vehicle product alterations,

recalls, or advisories, performance monitoring of motor

vehicles and dealers by motor vehicle manufacturers, and

removal of non-owner records from the original owner

records of motor vehicle manufacturers to carry out the

purposes of titles I and IV of the Anti Car Theft Act of 1992;

the Automobile Information Disclosure Act (15 U.S.C. 1231

et seq.), the Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. 7401 et seq.), and

chapters 301, 305, and 321-331 of title 49, and may be

disclosed as follows:

(1) For use by any government agency, including any

court or law enforcement agency, in carrying out its

functions, or any private person or entity acting on behalf of

a Federal, State, or local agency in carrying out its functions.

(2) For use in connection with matters of motor

vehicle or driver safety and theft; motor vehicle emissions;

-2a-

motor vehicle product alterations, recalls, or advisories;

performance monitoring of motor vehicles, motor vehicle

parts and dealers; motor vehicle market research activities,

including survey research; and removal of non-owner records

from the original owner records of motor vehicle

manufacturers.

(3) For use in the normal course of business by a

legitimate business or its agents, employees, or contractors,

but only—

(A) to verify the accuracy of personal information

submitted by the individual to the business or its agents,

employees, or contractors; and

(B) if such information as so submitted is not

correct or is no longer correct, to obtain the correct

information, but only for the purposes of preventing fraud by,

pursuing legal remedies against, or recovering on a debt or

security interest against, the individual.

(4) For use in connection with any civil, criminal,

administrative, or arbitral proceeding in any Federal, State, or

local court or agency or before any self-regulatory body,

including the service of process, investigation in anticipation

of litigation, and the execution or enforcement of judgments

and orders, or pursuant to an order of a Federal, State, or

local court.

(5) For use in research activities, and for use in

producing statistical reports, so long as the personal

information is not published, redisclosed, or used to contact

individuals.

(6) For use by any insurer or insurance support

organization, or by a self-insured entity, or its agents,

employees, or contractors, in connection with claims

-3a-

investigation activities, antifraud activities, rating or

underwriting.

(7) For use in providing notice to the owners of towed

or impounded vehicles.

(8) For use by any licensed private investigative

agency or licensed security service for any purpose permitted

under this subsection.

(9) For use by an employer or its agent or insurer to

obtain or verify information relating to a holder of a

commercial driver's license that is required under chapter 313

of title 49.

(10) For use in connection with the operation of

private toll transportation facilities.

(11) For any other use in response to requests for

individual motor vehicle records if the motor vehicle

department has provided in a clear and conspicuous manner

on forms for issuance or renewal of operator's permits, titles,

registrations, or identification cards, notice that personal

information collected by the department may be disclosed to

any business or person, and has provided in a clear and

conspicuous manner on such forms an opportunity to prohibit

such disclosures.

(12) For bulk distribution for surveys, marketing or

solicitations if the motor vehicle department has

implemented methods and procedures to ensure that—

(A) individuals are provided an opportunity, in a

clear and conspicuous manner, to prohibit such uses; and

(B) the information will be used, rented, or sold

solely for bulk distribution for Surveys, marketing, and

solicitations, and that surveys, marketing, and solicitations

- 4a-

will not be directed at those individuals who have requested

in a timely fashion that they not be directed at them.

(13) For use by any requester, if the requester

demonstrates it has obtained the written consent of the

individual to whom the information pertains.

(14) For any other use specifically authorized under

the law of the State that holds the record, if such use is

related to the operation of a motor vehicle or public safety.

(c) Resale or redisclosure.—An authorized recipient

of personal information (except a recipient under subsection

(b)(11) or (12)) may resell or redisclose the information only

for a use permitted under subsection (b) (but not for uses

under subsection (b)(11) or (12)). An authorized recipient

under subsection (b)(11) may resell or redisclose personal

information for any purpose. An authorized recipient under

subsection (b)(12) may resell or redisclose personal

information pursuant to subsection (b)(12). Any authorized

recipient (except a recipient under subsection (b)(11)) that

resells or rediscloses personal information covered by this

chapter must keep for a period of 5 years records identifying

each person or entity that receives information and the

permitted purpose for which the information will be used and

must make such records available to the motor vehicle

department upon request.

(d) Waiver procedures.—A State motor vehicle

department may establish and carry out procedures under

which the department or its agents, upon receiving a request

for personal information that does not fall within one of the

exceptions in subsection (b), may mail a copy of the request

to the individual about whom the information was requested,

informing such individual of the request, together with a

statement to the effect that the information will not be

released unless the individual waives such individual's right

to privacy under this section.

- 5a-

§ 2722. Additional unlawful acts

(a) Procurement for unlawful purpose.—lIt shall be

unlawful for any person knowingly to obtain or disclose

personal information, from a motor vehicle record, for any

use not permitted under section 2721(b) of this title.

(b) False representation.—It shall be unlawful for

any person to make false representation to obtain any

personal information from an individual's motor vehicle

record.

§ 2723. Penalties

(a) Criminal fine—A person who knowingly

violates this chapter shall be fined under this title.

(b) Violations by State department of motor

vehicles.—Any State department of motor vehicles that has a

policy or practice of substantial noncompliance with this

chapter shall be subject to a civil penalty imposed by the

Attorney General of not more than $5,000 a day for each day

of substantial noncompliance.

§ 2724. Civil action

(a) Cause of action.—A person who knowingly

obtains, discloses or uses personal information, from a motor

vehicle record, for a purpose not permitted under this chapter

shall be liable to the individual to whom the information

pertains, who may bring a civil action in a United States

district court.

- 6a -

(b) Remedies.—The court may award—

(1) actual damages, but not less than liquidated

damages in the amount of $2,500;

(2) punitive damages upon proof of willful or reckless

disregard of the law;

(3) reasonable attorneys’ fees and other litigation

costs reasonably incurred; and

(4) such other preliminary and equitable relief as the

court determines to be appropriate.

§ 2725. Definitions

In this chapter—

(1) "motor vehicle record" means any record that

pertains to a motor vehicle operator's permit, motor vehicle

title, motor vehicle registration, or identification card issued

by a department of motor vehicles;

(2) "person" means an individual, organization or

entity, but does not include a State or agency thereof; and

(3) "personal information" means information that

identifies an individual, including an individual's photograph,

social security number, driver identification number, name,

address (but not the 5-digit zip code), telephone number, and

medical or disability information, but does not include

information on vehicular accidents, driving violations, and

driver's status.

- 7a-

United States Court of Appeals

For the Seventh Circuit

Chicago, Illinois 60604

February 11 , 1999

Before

Hon. JOEL M. FLAUM, Circuit Judge

Hon. FRANK H. EASTERBROOK, Circuit Judge

Hon. MICHAEL S. KANNE, Circuit Judge

DAVID M. TRAVIS, et al., ) Appeal from the United

Plaintiffs-Appellees, ) States District Court

) for the Western

)

No. 98-2881 Vv. District of Wisconsin.

)

JANET RENO, Attorney General )

of the United States, and UNITED) No. 97-C-0701-C

STATES OF AMERICA, ) Barbara B. Crabb,

) Judge.

Defendants-Appellants. _ )

Order

Plaintiffs-appellees filed a petition for

rehearing and petition for rehearing en banc on February 1,

-8a-

1999. No judge in regular active service has requested a vote

on the petition for rehearing en banc; and all of the judges on

the panel have voted to deny rehearing. The petition for

rehearing is therefore DENIED.

- 9a -

In the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Seventh Circuit

No. 98-2881

DAVID M. TRAVIS, et al.,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

v.

JANET RENO, Attorney General of the

United States, and UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Defendants-Appellants.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Western District of Wisconsin.

No. 97-C-0701-C-Barbara B. Crabb, Judge.

ARGUED NOVEMBER 12, 1998-DECIDED

DECEMBER 16, 1998

Before FLAUM, EASTERBROOK, and KANNE,

Circuit Judges.

EASTERBROOK, Circuit Judge. This case poses the

question whether Congress has the power to enact the

Driver's Privacy Protection Act, 18 U.S.C. §§ 2721-25,

which regulates disclosures of the information that states

maintain in drivers' records. The district court held that the

Act exceeds Congress’ authority under the commerce clause

(read in light of the tenth amendment) because the Act

commandeers states to do the national government's bidding.

- 10a -

12 F. Supp. 2d 921 (W. D. Wis. 1998). After the district

court released its opinion, the fourth circuit concluded that

the Act is unconstitutional because it applies exclusively to

states. Condon v. Reno, 155 F.3d 453 (4th Cir. 1998). But

the tenth circuit has disagreed and held that the Act is valid.

Oklahoma vy. Reno, 161 F.3d 1266 (10th Cir. 1998), reversing

994 F. Supp. 1358 (W. D. Okla. 1997). Accord, Pryor v.

Reno, 998 F. Supp. 1317 (M. D. Ala. 1998). Although each

side to this controversy can take comfort from decisions of

the Supreme Court, we conclude that, whatever may be said

about the Act's wisdom, it is within the commerce power and

compatible with constitutional principles of federalism. This

eliminates any need to discuss whether the Act also is within

the legislative power under §5 of the fourteenth amendment.

The Act forbids the disclosure of "personal

information about any individual obtained by the [State's]

department [of motor vehicles] in connection with a motor

vehicle record" except to the extent that the Act itself permits

or requires disclosure. 18 U.S.C. § 2721(a). Elsewhere the

Act requires disclosure for law enforcement and pollution-

control uses; forbids disclosure for commercial uses (such as

the creation of mailing lists); and makes disclosure optional

for other uses, such as research and insurance. Violations of

the Act are punishable by fines up to $5,000 per day. 18

U.S.C. § 2723. Wisconsin contends, and we must assume,

that in order to comply with the Act it must make costly

changes in the way it handles requests for access to its motor

vehicle licensing records. Moreover, because Wisconsin

formerly sold its records for use in creating mailing lists, and

for other purposes, the Act deprives the state of

approximately $8 million in annual revenue. ("Wisconsin" is

shorthand for the state's Division of Motor Vehicles and its

director, who intervened as plaintiffs after questions were

raised about the standing of the original plaintiffs. The

Division, as the regulated entity, has an Article III

-lla-

controversy with the United States, so we need not discuss

the original plaintiffs’ standing.)

A

Driving is an interstate activity, as is the mailing-list

business. Information about Wisconsin's drivers readily can

affect movement and business transactions outside that state's

borders. Wisconsin does not doubt that, but for the

principles of state sovereignty that underlie our Nation's

federal structure (and are acknowledged by the tenth and

eleventh amendments), Congress would possess power under

Art. I § 8 cl. 3 of the Constitution to enact this statute. The

interstate components are substantial in the aggregate even if

a single disclosure has but a slight effect on commerce. See

United States v. Lopez, 514 U.S. 549, 558-61, 115 S. Ct.

1624, 131 L.Ed.2d 626 (1995); Wickard v. Filburn, 317 U.S.

111, 63 S. Ct. 82, 87 L.Ed.2d 122 (1942); United States vy.

Hicks, 106 F.3d 187 (7th Cir. 1997).

Nonetheless, ever since McCulloch vy. Maryland, 17

U.S. (4 Wheat.) 316, 4 L.Ed. 579 (1819), the Supreme Court

has recognized that suppositions implicit in the structure of

the Constitution limit the power of the states to tax or

regulate the national government. The intergovernmental tax

immunity doctrine that Chief Justice Marshall articulated in

McCulloch (and that the Court extended in Collector v. Day,

78 U.S. (11 Wall.) 113, 20 L.Ed.2d 122 (1871), and Pollock

v. Farmers' Loan & Trust Co., 157 U.S. 429, 15 S. Ct. 673,

39 L.Ed. 759 (1895), to federal taxation of states and their

contractors) foreclosed all taxation of a governmental body

or its instrumentalities on the ground that the power to tax is

the power to destroy, a rationale equally applicable to the

imposition of costly regulation. (It is through the power to

regulate the movement of goods in interstate commerce that

Congress has forbidden child labor, United States v. Darby,

312 U.S. 100, 61 S. Ct. 451, 85 L.Ed. 609 (1941), and for a

time prohibited lotteries. Lottery Case, 188 U.S. 321, 23 S.

- 12a-

Ct. 321, 47 L.Ed. 492 (1903).) Gradually intergovernmental

immunity turned into a rule of nondiscrimination, under

which the governmental body's protection is vicarious: one |

government may tax (or regulate) another's trading partners \

only to the extent it imposes equivalent burdens on those

who do business with private citizens. See South Carolina v.

Baker, 485 U.S. 505, 515-27, 108 S. Ct. 1355, 99 L.Ed.2d

592 (1988). Neutrality between governmental and private

spheres is a principal ground on which the Supreme Court

has held that states may be subjected to regulation when they

participate in the economic marketplace--for example, by

hiring workers covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act.

Garcia v. San Antonio Metropolitan Transit Authority, 469

U.S. 528, 105 S. Ct: 1005, 83 L.Ed.2d 1016 (1985);

Maryland v. Wirtz, 392 U.S. 183, 88 S. Ct. 2017, 20 L.Ed.2d

1020 (1968). See also South Carolina, 485 U.S. at 511-15,

108 S. Ct. 1355 (states may be required to issue bonds in

registered form); United Transportation Union v. Long

Island R.R., 455 U.S. 678, 102 S. Ct. 1349, 71 L.Ed.2d 547

(1982) (labor laws apply to state-owned railroads); Fry v.

United States, 421 U.S. 542, 95 S. Ct. 1792, 44 L.Ed.2d 363

(1975) (states are bound by generally applicable wage and

price controls). So long as public market participants are

treated the same as private ones, they enjoy the protection the

latter have been able to secure from the legislature; and as

Congress is not about to destroy private industry (think what

that would do to the tax base!) it can not hobble the states

either. National League of Cities v. Usery, 426 U.S. 833, 96

S. Ct. 2465, 49 L.Ed.2d 245 (1976), adopted a proviso to this

approach: that Congress may not disrupt the states’ ability to

manage-core governmental functions such as police and fire

protection. Garcia overruled National League of Cities after

concluding that the set of traditional or essential \

governmental functions is too indistinct to be a constitutional

norm. Even if Garcia should be overruled in turn, this

branch of analysis would do Wisconsin no good. Nothing in

the Driver's Privacy Protection Act interferes with states’

ability to license drivers and remove dangerous ones from the

- l3a-

road; it regulates external rather than internal uses of the

information.

Alongside the prohibition of discrimination against

the states is a rule that remains absolute, a genuine

"immunity." Congress may not "commandeer the legislative

processes of the States by directly compelling them to enact

and enforce a federal regulatory program." Hodel v. Virginia

Surface Mining & Reclamation Ass'n, Inc., 452 U.S. 264,

288, 101 S. Ct. 2352, 69 L.Ed.2d 1 (1981). See also Printz v.

United States, 521 U.S. 898, 117 S. Ct. 2365, 138 L.Ed.2d

914 (1997); New York v. United States, 505 U.S. 144, 112 S.

Ct. 2408, 120 L.Ed.2d 120 (1992); FERC v. Mississippi, 456

U.S. 742, 762-66, 102 S. Ct. 2126, 72 L.Ed.2d 532 (1982).

When Congress enacted legislation requiring states to pass

laws regulating nuclear waste--and to pay the steep penalty

of taking title to all waste within their borders if they failed to

comply--the Court replied (in New York) that the national

government simply may not direct the states to use their

legislative powers to regulate private conduct. Printz adds

that the same principle applies to the federal government's

direction that a state's executive branch enforce federal rules.

Although the Constitution's supremacy clause precludes any

effort by states to divorce themselves from the application of

federal law when they choose to act, see Printz, 117 S. Ct. at

2374; FERC v. Mississippi, 456 U.S. at 759-69, 102 S. Ct.

2126; Howlett v. Rose, 496 U.S. 356, 110 S. Ct. 2430, 110

L.Ed.2d 332 (1990); Testa v. Katt, 330 U.S. 386, 67 S. Ct.

810, 91 L.Ed.2d 967 (1947); Claflin v. Houseman, 93 U.S.

130, 23 L.Ed.2d 833 (1876); Alleghany Corp. v. Haase, 896

F.2d 1046, 1053-56 (7th Cir. 1990) (concurring opinion),

vacated in part as moot, 499 U.S. 933, 111 S. Ct. 1383, 113

L.Ed.2d 441 (1991), Congress must assign the enforcement

duty to federal officials unless the Constitution itself

authorizes use of the states as agents (see Art. I §4 cl. 1;

Association of Community Organizations for Reform Now vy.

Edgar, 56 F.3d 791 (7th Cir. 1995)). When the national

government conscripts the legislative or executive arms of a

- 14a-

state, the law violates a structural immunity and "a

‘balancing’ analysis is inappropriate." Printz, 117 S. Ct. at

2383.

Wisconsin seeks to persuade us that the Act has the

same vice as the statutes condemned in Printz and New York.

In order to comply with the Act the Division of Motor

Vehicles must adopt new rules by regulation or legislation.

Moreover, the Act compels employees of the Division of

Motor Vehicles to take certain actions in response to requests

for information and pay penalties if they fail. Wisconsin's

brief observes that "the mandatory and permissible disclosure

provisions of 18 U.S.C. § 2721(b) effectively command State

departments of motor vehicles to establish a mechanism for

determining when it [sic] has a mandatory or permissive

disclosure situation". The need to establish a mechanism is

the forbidden commandeering, the argument concludes. But

if this is the same thing as the situation in Printz and New

York, then the application of the Fair Labor Standards Act to

the states likewise is unconstitutional, for the FLSA requires

states to establish record-keeping systems and to establish

mechanisms for paying employees according to a national

formula. Every federal law that affects the way states

participate in the marketplace may do the same. Yet the

basic distinction between cases such as South Carolina and

cases such as New York is that states and private parties may

be the objects of regulation, although states cannot be

compelled to become regulators of private conduct. The

Driver's Privacy Protection Act affects states as owners of

databases; it does not affect them in their role as

governments.

Congress borrowed the Act's approach from the

Video Privacy Protection Act, 18 U.S.C. § 2710. Wisconsin

conceded at oral argument that if the state operated a video

tape rental service it would be required to comply with

- |Sa-

§ 2710. But that gives away the game. Compliance with

§ 2710 requires the same kind of screening as does

compliance with § 2721. This must mean that the steps a

state agency takes to identify mandatory, discretionary, and

forbidden disclosures of information from a database in its

control is not the sort of "conscription" to which Printz and

New York refer. South Carolina makes the point in language

equally applicable to the Driver's Privacy Protection Act:

Section 310 [which requires the states to issue

bonds in registered form] regulates state

activities; it does not . . . seek to control or

influence the manner in which States regulate

private parties. The NGA _ [National

Governors’ Association] nonetheless contends

that §310 has commandeered the state

legislative and administrative process because

many state legislatures had to amend a

substantial number of statutes in order to issue

bonds in registered form and because state

officials had to devote substantial effort to

determine how best to implement a registered

bond system. Such "commandeering" is,

however, an inevitable consequence of

regulating a state activity. Any federal

regulation demands compliance. That a State

wishing to engage in certain activity must take

administrative and sometimes legislative

action to comply with federal standards

regulating that activity is a commonplace that

presents no constitutional defect. After

Garcia, for example, several States and

municipalities had to take administrative and

legislative action to alter the employment

practices or raise the funds necessary to

comply with the wage and overtime

provisions of the Federal Labor Standards

Act. Indeed, even the pre-Garcia line of

- 16a -

Tenth Amendment cases recognized that

Congress could constitutionally impose

federal requirements on States that States

could meet only by amending their statutes.

See EEOC v. Wyoming, 460 U.S. 226, 253-

254, and n.2, 103 S. Ct. 1054, 75 L.Ed.2d 18

(1983) (Burger, C.J., dissenting) (citing state

statutes from over half the States that did not

comply with the federal statute upheld by the

Court). Under the NGA's theory, moreover,

any State could immunize its activities from

federal regulation by simply codifying the

manner in which it engages in those

activities. In short, the NGA's theory of

"commandeering" would not only render

Garcia a nullity, but would also restrict

congressional regulation of state activities

even more tightly than it was restricted under

the now overruled National League of Cities

line of cases.

485 U.S. at 514-15, 108 S. Ct. 1355 (footnote omitted).

Wisconsin might respond that states did not have to issue

bonds, but that states invariably license drivers and therefore

cannot escape the federal rule by withdrawing from the

activity (as they could stay out of the video rental business).

Yet the activity under consideration is not licensing but

disclosure. Wisconsin elected to reveal (often to sell)

information from its drivers’ database; it could substantially

limit the difficulty of compliance by limiting disclosure to

the lawenforcement uses that no holder of a database (state or

private) can avoid. Ability to withdraw completely from an

activity has never been essential to federal regulation.

Issuing bonds is a way to raise money, which states must do

to operate. Likewise states must hire employees, for which

federal rules determine recordkeeping and compensation

obligations. There is just no blinking the fact that federal law

pervasively regulates states as marketplace participants; the

- 17a-

anti-commandeering rule comes into play only when the

federal government calls on the states to use their sovereign

powers as regulators of their citizens. Because the Driver's

Privacy Protection Act affects states as owners of data, rather

than as sovereigns, it does not commandeer states in

violation of the Constitution. Wisconsin is no more a

regulator or law enforcer when it decides what information to

release from its database than is the corner Blockbuster

Video outlet.

C

What persuaded the fourth circuit in Condon that the

Act exceeds Congress’ powers is a belief that the Act not

only requires states to administer a federal program but also

discriminates against them. The Driver's Privacy Protection

Act applies only to states, the fourth circuit stated, and thus

cannot be classified with neutral laws such as the FLSA that

regulate all participants in a marketplace. A state-specific

law does not provide states with the protection that private

groups have arranged for themselves; it could in principle be

a vehicle of destruction. Although the Driver's Privacy

Protection Act applies to contractors that administer a

database on a state's behalf, and to recipients of information

from a state, see 18 U.S.C. § 2721(a), (c), these efforts to

avoid loopholes do not ensure that public and private

operators of different databases experience similar costs of

compliance. For the same reason, redrafting the statute so

that it would apply to "any state or private entity that operates

a department of motor vehicles" (rather than to every "State

department of motor vehicles", as § 2721(a) does) would be

pointless; there is no equivalent private enterprise. Although

the lack of private licensing bureaus makes states a legitimate

class for legislation, cf. Nixon v. Administrator of General

Services, 433 U.S. 425, 97 S. Ct. 2777, 53 L.Ed.2d 867

(1977), it does not offer any protection from discriminatorily

severe burdens on the databases that states operate.

- 18a-

Conceding this--and implicitly conceding that a law

placing states at a disadvantage relative to similarly-situated

private entities would be unconstitutional--the United States

responds that the Act does not bear unequally on the states.

Statute books teem with laws regulating the disclosure of

information from databases. The Bank Secrecy Act specifies

what records banks must keep, and what information they

must, may, or must not disclose (see California Bankers

Ass'n v. Shultz, 416 U.S. 21, 94 S. Ct. 1494, 39 L.Ed.2d 812

(1974)); the Stored Wire and Electronic Communications and

Transactional Records Access Act, 18 U.S.C. §§ 2701-11,

deals with data maintained by phone companies; other

statutes regulate the disposition of data in the hands of cable

TV operators (47 U.S.C. § 551), hospitals, pharmacies,

universities, accountants, credit card issuers, bill collectors

(15 U.S.C. § 1618b), and so on. Professionals such as

physicians and lawyers encounter additional common-law

limitations on the disclosure of information from their files.

The national government has subjected itself to the Freedom

of Information Act, 5 U.S.C. § 552, the Privacy Act, 5 U.S.C.

§ 552a, the Government in the Sunshine Act, 5 U.S.C.

§ 552b, and the Federal Advisory Committee Act, 5 U.S.C.

App. 2 §§ 1-16, and pays penalties for improper disclosure of

tax return information, 26 U.S.C. § 7431. These statutes

adopt record-keeping and information-disclosure criteria at

least as complex, and impose a burden at least as great, as the

Driver's Privacy Protection Act. It is hard to name any

substantial collection of information yet to be regulated. At

oral argument counsel for both Wisconsin and the original

plaintiffs disclaimed any contention that Wisconsin's burden

exceeds the travail of banks or other entities regulated by

statutory equivalents to the Driver's Privacy Protection Act;

they do not seek an opportunity to show at trial that the

state's cost per motorist surpasses the cost per bank depositor

or hospital patient or federal employee. Instead the argument

is formal: Congress’ failure to combine all information-

handling rules for the entire economy into a single statute

makes the Driver's Privacy Protection Act unconstitutional.

- 19a-

By like reasoning, if an economy-wide statute differentiated

in any way between state and private databases--something

all but inevitable--no duties at all could be laid on the states.

So cast, the argument is incompatible with South

Carolina, which sustained a statute that was addressed

exclusively to the states. The law in question, § 310(b)(!) of

the Tax Equity and Fiscal Responsibility Act of 1982,

Pub. L. 97-248, 96 Stat. 596, dealt with state and local

governments alone. It amended 26 U.S.C. § 103, another

statute limited to governmental bodies. Section 103(a) says

that "[e]xcept as provided in subsection (b), gross income

does not include interest on any State or local bond."

Subsection (b) allows taxation of three kinds of state and

local bonds, of which an unregistered bond is one. Congress

used the tax system to induce states to issue registered bonds;

the Supreme Court assumed that the "inducement" was no

different from compulsion but nonetheless rejected a

constitutional challenge to the statute. Congress had

effectively required private borrowers to use registered

bonds, too, but it did this in a different statute. If one statute

addressed only to states passes muster when other laws place

private parties under equivalent obligations, why not the

Driver's Privacy Protection Act? Even in the world of the

dormant commerce clause, where the Court enforces a rule

that states may not discriminate against interstate commerce,

the Justices do not insist that the nondiscriminatory

framework be accomplished within a single statute or

section; a burden on interstate commerce imposed by one law

may be offset by another, if the bottom line is substantially

equal burdens. See General Motors Corp. v. Tracy, 519 U.S.

278, 117 S. Ct. 811, 136 L.Ed.2d 761 (1997).

To all of this the fourth circuit responded: "Congress

may regulate the conduct of the States only through laws of

general applicability." Condon, 155 F.3d at 462 (emphasis in

original). The critical word is "only", and the case cited for

the proposition is New York. The fourth circuit wrote: "the

- 20a -

Court specifically stated that under the Garcia line of cases,

Congress may only 'subject[ ] a State to the same legislation

applicable to private parties." 155 F.3d at 461 n.5, quoting

from New York, 505 U.S. at 160, 112 S. Ct. 2408 (brackets in

Condon). Once again, the word "only" comes from the

fourth circuit rather than the Supreme Court. The full

sentence in New York reads: "Most of our recent cases

interpreting the Tenth Amendment have concerned the

authority of Congress to subject state governments to

generally applicable laws." This is some distance from a

holding that duties imposed on state and private parties must

appear in "the same legislation". Discrimination against

states is forbidden, but a nondiscriminatory system may take

more than one law to implement. A statute covering all

databases would rival the Internal Revenue Code for

complexity without offering states any real defense from the

cost and inconvenience of regulation. The Clean Air and

Clean Water Acts, which could be given as examples of

"generally applicable" laws affecting the states, are so riddled

with exceptions, provisos, and special rules that they do not

ensure equal costs for similar activities. Cf. Chicago v.

Environmental Defense Fund, 511 U.S. 328, 1148S. Ct. 1588,

128 L.Ed.2d 302 (1994). Anyway, Brobdignagian legislation

is not the Constitution's objective, even when consolidation is

feasible. Wisconsin has forsworn any desire to show that

Congress has imposed on the states greater practical burdens

in data handling than private parties bear and therefore has

forfeited any argument that the anti-discrimination

component of intergovernmental immunities scuttles the Act.

Plaintiffs and amici curiae supporting them offer

additional constitutional objections to the Act. None is

persuasive.

-2la-

A

Both Wisconsin and the original plaintiffs insist that

the Act violates the eleventh amendment, but that part of the

Constitution deals with the location of private litigation, not

‘ with the substance of laws. Section 2723 permits criminal

and civil fines for violations of the Act's requirements. Any

action under § 2723 would be brought by the United States,

and the eleventh amendment does not curtail the national

government's ability to sue a state in federal court. West

Virginia v. United States, 479 U.S. 305, 311 n.4, 107 S. Ct.

702, 93 L.Ed.2d 639 (1987). Section 2724 authorizes private

litigation against "[a] person who knowingly . . . discloses or

uses" information that the Act keeps confidential, but under

§ 2725(2) "'person’ means an individual, organization or

entity, but does not include a State or agency thereof". This

prevents private actions against states, and one would think

that it forestalls any concern under the eleventh amendment.

Wisconsin fears that § 2724 will be read to authorize actions

against public employees in their official capacities, leading

to monetary awards that must be paid from the public fisc,

but the statute seems to limit suits to personal-capacity

actions, which avoids constitutional problems. Hafer v. Melo,

502 USS. 21, 112 S. Ct. 358, 116 L.Ed.2d 301 (1991). If in

the future a suit under § 2724 exposes the state to financial

liability, there will be time enough to determine whether the

Constitution authorizes that step--which will present a

question we have ducked: whether § 5 of the fourteenth

amendment supports the Act and therefore authorizes

Congress to override the eleventh amendment. See City of

Boerne v. Flores, 521 U.S. 507, 117 S. Ct. 2157, 138 L.Ed.2d

624 (1997); Velasquez v. Frapwell, 160 F.3d 389 (7th Cir.

1998).

B

The original plaintiffs--five members of Wisconsin's

legislature, one newspaper editor, and one attorney--contend

- 22a -

that the Act violates the first amendment (applied to the

states by the fourteenth) by limiting their access to

information in public records. One response is that the first

amendment differs from the Freedom of Information Act.

Peering into public records is not part of the "freedom of

speech" that the first amendment protects. "There is no

constitutional right to have access to particular government

information, or to require openness from the bureaucracy.”

Houchins v. KQED, Inc., 438 U.S. 1, 14, 98 S. Ct. 2588, 57

L.Ed.2d 553 (1978) (plurality opinion). No one thinks that

the Privacy Act violates the first amendment. Well, maybe

these plaintiffs do think this, but the position is untenable.

Although the Supreme Court's holdings that some

access rights connected to the judicial process are protected

by the first amendment, see Richmond Newspapers, Inc. v.

Virginia, 448 U.S. 555, 100 S. Ct. 2814, 65 L.Ed.2d 973

(1980), means that we cannot exclude the possibility that

some particular record in a drivers-license system may in the

future be deemed constitutionally exempt from the Act, this

facial attack is not the time or place to explore that subject.

We do not have a demand for a particular record that would

put the constitutional issue in context. We do not have the

right defendant, either. Persons who want to assert a

constitutional right of access to a particular record should

request that record and, if access is denied, sue the record's

custodian who could have disclosed it. The United States

and its Attorney General, the two defendants in this suit, do

not maintain systems of drivers’ records and can neither grant

nor deny access to any particular information. As we have

stressed in recent cases, the proper defendant is the person

whose actions cause injury, not the author of the legal rule

that leads to those actions. J/linois v. Chicago, 137 F.3d 474,

478 (7th Cir. 1998); Quinones v. Evanston, 58 F.3d 275, 277

(7th Cir. 1995); Mueller v. Reich, 54 F.3d 438 (7th Cir.

1995), vacated on unrelated grounds under the name

Wisconsin v. Mueller, _ U.S. __, 117 S. Ct. 1077, 137

L.Ed.2d 212 (1997).

- 23a-

¢

The original plaintiffs and an amicus curiae contend

that the Act violates Art. 4 § 4 of the Constitution: "The

United States shall guarantee to every State in this Union a

Republican Form of Government, and shall protect each of

them against Invasion; and on Application of the Legislature,

or of the Executive (when the Legislature cannot be

convened) against domestic Violence." Even if we were to

put to one side the Supreme Court's holding that claims under

the guarantee clause are not justiciable when raised by

private persons, see Luther v. Borden, 48 U.S. (7 How.) 1, 12

L.Ed. 581 (1849), and perhaps even when raised by states,

see New York, 505 U.S. at 185, 112 S. Ct. 2408, we would

see little merit to the contention. How does compliance with

the Act deprive states of “a Republican Form of

Government"? Surely plaintiffs don't mean that all federal

laws violate the Constitution when applied to states, because

they may contradict the choices made by the states’ elected

legislators. No sensible person believes that the supremacy

clause, which explicitly binds states to federal law,

contradicts the guarantee clause and thereby puts the

Constitution at war with itself. No sensible person thinks

that when states raise money by issuing securities in

interstate commerce, they are free to commit fraud because

§ 17 of the Securities Act of 1933, 15 U.S.C. § 77q, the anti-

fraud rule, violates the guarantee clause! Or that states are

constitutionally entitled to fill their treasuries by stealing

from federally-insured banks. But if some federal laws can

apply to states and others cannot, how are judges to choose?

It is quite enough to say that the Driver's Privacy Protection

Act leaves the state's internal and political affairs alone and

regulates only how it interacts with private parties who seek

information in its possession.

- 24a -

Il

Many thoughtful people believe that National League

of Cities is more faithful to the original constitutional plan

than is Garcia. But our part is to apply the Supreme Court's

jurisprudence as we find it. Indeed, for reasons we have

discussed, Wisconsin's position would be doubtful even if

National League of Cities were resurrected. The Driver's

Privacy Protection Act affects the states as operators of

databases, not as sovereigns, and does not interfere with the

achievement of any essential state function or discriminate

against the states. Accordingly, the judgment of the district

court is

REVERSED.

A true Copy:

Teste:

Clerk of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

- 25a -

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF WISCONSIN

STATE REPRESENTATIVE DAVID M. TRAVIS,

STATE SENATOR FRED RISSER, STATE

REPRESENTATIVE ROBERT K. ZUKOWSKI,

STATE REPRESENTATIVE EUGENE HAHN,

STATE REPRESENTATIVE MICHAEL D.

HUEBSCH, DAVID ZWEIFEL and PAMELA

MOORSHEAD,

Plaintiff(s),

JUDGMENT IN A CIVIL CASE

and Case No. 97-C-0701-C

ROGER D. CROSS, in his official capacity

as Administrator of the Division of Motor

Vehicles of the Wisconsin Department of

Transportation, and the DIVISION OF

MOTOR VEHICLES OF THE WISCONSIN

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION,

Realigned Plaintiffs,

v.

JANET RENO, Attorney General of the

United States, and the UNITED STATES

OF AMERICA,

Defendant(s).

- 26a -

This action came for consideration before the court

with U.S. DISTRICT JUDGE BARBARA B. CRABB

presiding. The issues have been considered and a decision

has been rendered.

IT IS ORDERED AND ADJUDGED

that the motion for summary judgment of plaintiffs Roger

Cross and the Division of Motor Vehicles of the Wisconsin

Department of Transportation is GRANTED.

IT IS ORDERED AND ADJUDGED that the Driver's

Privacy Protection Act violates the Tenth Amendment of the

United States Constitution. IT IS FURTHER ORDERED

AND ADJUDGED that defendants are enjoined permanently

from enforcing the Driver's Privacy Protection Act against

plaintiffs, and this case is CLOSED.

Approved as to form this 10th day of June , 1998.

/s/

BARBARA B. CRABB

U.S. DISTRICT JUDGE

/s/ June 11, 1998

Joseph W. Skupniewitz, Clerk of Court

- 27a -

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF WISCONSIN

STATE REPRESENTATIVE DAVID M.

TRAVIS, STATE SENATOR FRED RISSER,

STATE REPRESENTATIVE ROBERT K.

ZUKOWSKI, STATE REPRESENTATIVE

EUGENE HAHN, STATE REPRESENTATIVE

MICHAEL D. HUEBSCH, DAVID ZWEIFEL

and PAMELA MOORSHEAD,

OPINION AND

ORDER

Plaintiffs,

97-C-701-C

and

ROGER D. CROSS, in his official capacity as

Administrator of the Division of Motor Vehicles

of the Wisconsin Department of Transportation,

and the DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES OF

THE WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF

TRANSPORTATION,

Realigned Plaintiffs,

v.

JANET RENO, Attorney General of the United

States, and the UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Defendants.

In this civil action for declaratory and injunctive

relief, plaintiffs challenge the Driver's Privacy Protection Act

of 1994, 18 U.S.C. §§ 2721-2725, which prohibits states

from disclosing "personal information" collected by their

- 28a -

motor vehicle departments in connection with automobile

and driver's license registration except for certain permissible

uses. Plaintiffs contend that the act violates the First, Tenth

and Eleventh Amendments as well as the Guarantee Clause

of Article IV of the Constitution and they seek an order

enjoining enforcement of the act. Defendants contend that

even if the act runs afoul of the Tenth Amendment, Congress

has authority to pass it under the Fourteenth Amendment

because it is an attempt to enforce the right of privacy in the

nondisclosure of confidential information.

The case is before the court on the motion of

defendants Janet Reno and United States of America to

dismiss for lack of subject matter jurisdiction and for failure

to state a claim on which relief may be granted. In addition,

both sets of plaintiffs have filed motions for summary

judgment. I conclude that the act forces state officials and

state employees to administer and enforce a _ federal

regulatory scheme in violation of the Tenth Amendment.

Furthermore, the act is not a valid exercise of Congress's

authority under § 5 of the Fourteenth Amendment because

the right of privacy does not encompass the type of

information covered by the act.

Defendants raise compelling doubts about the

standing of the original plaintiffs, Travis, Risser, Zukowski,

Hahn, Huebsch, Zweifel and Moorshead, to bring their

claims. However, there is no need to reach the merits of

these arguments. It is undisputed that the state plaintiffs,

Cross and Division of Motor Vehicles, are proper parties to

this action; both sets of plaintiffs raise Tenth Amendment

challenges; and resolution of this issue in favor of the state

plaintiffs is dispositive of the entire case. For the same

reasons, there is no need to address plaintiffs’ arguments

regarding the First and Eleventh Amendments or the

Guarantee Clause. The state plaintiffs’ motion for summary

judgment will be granted, defendants’ motion to dismiss will

- 29a -

be denied with prejudice and the original plaintiffs’ motion

for summary judgment will be denied without prejudice.

As an initial matter, I note that even though the State

of Wisconsin is not a stranger to this court, the state plaintiffs

have disregarded this court's standing procedures to be

followed on motions for summary judgment by citing

numerous factual propositions not contained in their

proposed findings of fact. These proposed facts will be

disregarded. For the sole purpose of deciding this motion, I

find from the parties’ proposed findings of fact and from the

record that there is no genuine dispute with respect to the

following material facts.

UNDISPUTED FACTS

Defendant United States of America is a sovereign

constitutional government of those limited enumerated

powers specified in and restrained by the United States

Constitution. Defendant Janet Reno is Attorney General of

defendant United States and is responsible for the

enforcement of the criminal and civil penalties that may be

imposed pursuant to the Driver's Privacy Protection Act.

Plaintiffs David Travis, Robert Zukowski, Eugene

Hahn and Michael D. Huebsch are duly elected members of

the Wisconsin Assembly. Plaintiff Fred Risser is a duly

elected member of the Wisconsin Senate. Along with other

legislators, plaintiffs Travis, Zukowski, Huebsch and Risser

are responsible for making decisions about issues facing state

government. Plaintiff David Zweifel is the editor of the

Capitol Times, a Madison newspaper, and president of the

Wisconsin Freedom of Information Council, an organization

composed of representatives of state media outlets dedicated

to preserving maximum public access to government records.

Plaintiff Pamela Moorshead is an attorney licensed to

practice law in the state of Wisconsin. Much of her practice

- 30a -

concentrates on the defense of individuals charged with

criminal and traffic violations.

Plaintiff Roger Cross is Administrator of plaintiff

Division of Motor Vehicles of the Wisconsin Department of

Transportation. Plaintiffs Cross, Division of Motor Vehicles

and their officers and employees are responsible for

implementing the Driver's Privacy Protection Act. They

have had to develop a form to ascertain whether individuals

requesting driver record information are entitled to personal

information under the act. In addition, the state plaintiffs

have had to train employees and monitor their compliance

with the act, mail a form to bulk mail account holders, review

completed forms, answer questions about the act and send

forms to individuals upon request. Congress has provided no

federal funds to states for such activities. The state plaintiffs

have received numerous complaints about restrictions

imposed by the act. Plaintiff Division of Motor Vehicles

receives approximately $8 million each year in revenue from

sales of driving record abstracts to paying customers at a rate

of $3 - 4 per record. It is possible that implementation of the

act will have adverse effects on this revenue stream.

Recently, the original plaintiffs, through counsel,

requested the driver record information of Louis Kent

Ostrom of Madison. The Wisconsin State Journal had

reported that Ostrom had been arrested for drunk driving and

destruction of property while on his way to court for an

appearance on an earlier charge of drunk driving. Plaintiffs

requested this information to determine whether Ostrom was

subject to a court-ordered interlock device and, if so, whether

he had complied with that order. Counsel for plaintiffs Cross

and the Division of Motor Vehicles refused to grant this

request because of the act.

-3la-

OPINION

A. Motor Vehicle and Driver Record Information

under Federal and Wisconsin Law

The Driver's Privacy Protection Act prohibits state

motor vehicle departments from disclosing personal

information obtained in connection with a motor vehicle

record. 18 U.S.C. §2721. The act defines "personal

information" as anything "that identifies an individual,

including an individual's photograph, social security number,

driver identification number, name, address (but not the

5-digit zip code), and medical or disability information, but

does not include information on vehicular accidents, driving

violations, and driver's status." § 2725(3). There are

numerous exceptions to the general rule against disclosure.

States must disclose information in connection with various

matters related to vehicle and driver safety and to carry out

certain federal statutes related to driving and automobiles.

§ 2721(b). In addition, Congress has provided fourteen

“permissible uses" for which information may be disclosed.

§ 2721(b)(1)-(14). | For example, state motor vehicle

departments may release personal information for use by a

governmental agency, insurer, tow truck operator, or licensed

private investigator. Also, information may be released in

connection with judicial or arbitral proceedings, for bulk

distribution and to anyone who has written permission of the

individual to whom the information pertains. Finally, motor

vehicle departments may allow individuals to opt out of these

restrictions, thereby permitting free disclosure of any

information provided to the departments by such individuals.

§ 2721(b)(11). Authorized recipients of personal information

are prohibited from reselling or redisclosing information

except as provided in the act. § 2721(c).

State motor vehicle departments, including plaintiff

Division of Motor Vehicles, face civil penalties of $5,000 a

day for each day they maintain a policy or practice of

- 32a-

substantial noncompliance with the act. § 2723(b). Persons

who violate the act knowingly, including plaintiff Cross and

the officers and employees of plaintiff Division of Motor

Vehicles, face criminal fines. § 2723(a). In addition, persons

may be subject to individual civil actions for actual and

punitive damages and other sanctions for knowingly

disclosing, obtaining or using any personal information in

violation of the act. § 2724. The act defines "person" as "an

individual, organization or entity, but does not include a State

or agency thereof." § 2725(2).

Under Wisconsin law, driver license and motor

vehicle registration information is a public record. Wis. Stat.

§§ 19.35(1)(a), 341.17(6), 343.24(1) and (2m). Custodians

of driver record information are prohibited from requiring

persons requesting such information to disclose their names

or the purposes of their request. § 19.35(1)(i).

B. Fourteenth Amendment

The Supreme Court has indicated that when Congress

passes a law pursuant to § 5 of the Fourteenth Amendment

the limitations on congressional authority imposed by the

Tenth Amendment are "attenuated" because the post-Civil

War amendments "were specifically designed as an

expansion of federal power and an intrusion on state

sovereignty." Gregory v. Ashcroft, 501 U.S. 452, 468, 111

S.Ct. 2395, 115 L.Ed.2d 410 (1991) (citation and quotation

marks omitted). Defendants observe that the Court has

located the right to privacy in the Fourteenth Amendment,

see Whalen v. Roe, 429 U.S. 589, 598 n. 23, 97 S.Ct. 869, 51

L.Ed.2d 64 (1977), and argue that Congress passed the

Driver's Privacy Protection Act pursuant to § 5 of this

amendment to safeguard the privacy of personal information

collected by state motor vehicle departments. Thus,

according to defendants, even if the act runs afoul of the

Tenth Amendment, it is constitutional under the Fourteenth

Amendment.

eee a

- 33a-

In Pesce v. J. Sterling Morton High School, 830 F.2d

789, 795-796 (7th Cir.1987) (citing Whalen, 429 U.S. at

598-600, 97 S.Ct. 869), the Seventh Circuit concluded that

the right of privacy encompasses an interest in the

confidentiality of private information, holding that an

individual cannot be compelled to divulge such information

under certain circumstances. The court acknowledged that

the Fifth Circuit had held that the right of privacy might

prohibit the government from disclosing private information,

but it noted that the circumstances in that case, Fadjo v.

Coon, 633 F.2d 1172 (Sth Cir.1981), were not those of

plaintiff Pesce. (Fadjo alleged that the state breached his

federal right of confidentiality when it released private

information to insurance investigators; Pesce was disciplined

for failing to disclose to school officials the sexual abuse of a

student he learned about in a confidential counseling

session.) See Pesce, 830 F.2d at 797 (citing Fadjo, 633 F.2d

at 1175-1176). Although other courts of appeal have joined

the Fifth Circuit in concluding that there is a right to privacy

in the nondisclosure of private information, some circuits are

skeptical of this notion. See American Federation of

Government Employees v. Department of Housing and

Urban Development, 118 F.3d 786, 791-793 (D.C.Cir.1997)

(collecting cases and "expressing grave doubts as to the

existence" of such a right).

Even assuming that there is a constitutional right to

privacy in the nondisclosure of private information,

defendants breeze by the operative question whether

information protected by the act is "private." It is not.

Because the right of privacy is not absolute, see Walls v. City

of Petersburg, 895 F.2d 188, 192 (4th Cir.1990), the

Constitution does not prohibit disclosure of all information

about an individual. There must be a legitimate expectation

of privacy in the confidentiality of information to justify

constitutional protection. See id. "The legitimacy of an

individual's expectations depends, at least in part, upon the

intimate or otherwise personal nature of the material which

- 34a -

the state possesses." Mangels v. Pena, 789 F.2d 836, 839

(10th Cir.1986). Under this standard, courts have held that

there is a legitimate expectation of privacy regarding medical

records, see United States v. Westinghouse Electric Corp.,

638 F.2d 570, 577 (3d Cir.1980), the contents of a personal

diary, see Sheets v. Salt Lake County, 45 F.3d 1383,

1387-1388 (10th Cir.1995), and financial records. See

Fraternal Order of Police, Lodge No. 5 v. City of

Philadelphia, 812 F.2d 105, 115 (3d Cir.1987). However,

privacy interests are not implicated by an_ internal

investigation report conducted by a city fire department

indicating that certain firefighters had used illegal drugs, see

Mangels, 789 F.2d at 839, or information regarding an

individual's marital and family criminal history that is "freely

available in public records." Walls, 895 F.2d at 193.

The act prohibits disclosure of "an individual's

photograph, social security number, driver identification

number, name, address ..., telephone number, and medical or

disability information....". 18 U.S.C. § 2725(3). There is no

constitutional right to privacy in the disclosure of this

information because there is no legitimate expectation of

confidentiality regarding it. One's name, address and

_ telephone number are available to anyone with a phone book.

Although the other information subject to the act is arguably

more personal in nature, it is hardly more sensitive than one's

marital, drug abuse and family criminal history. Driver

identification and social security numbers are disclosed

regularly, usually when cashing a check, applying for credit

or in any situation in which an individual must produce a

driver's license. Defendants concede this point, but counter

that individuals "only expect to produce their driver's licenses

... selectively and voluntarily." Defs.' Br. in Opp. to Mot. for

Summ. J. (Dkt.# 26) at 13. Though defendants may be

correct, the level of confidentiality between individuals and

their doctors and accountants and the sensitivity of

information entrusted to these professionals is not on par

with the type of transactions engaged in with supermarket

NN re SSS

- 35a-

cashiers and others who are frequently on the receiving end

of information subject to the act. In any event, plaintiffs note

correctly that it is doubtful whether the act will safeguard

anyone's privacy. The act is riddled with exceptions that any

determined, resourceful person could exploit, particularly

since there are no standards for verifying the truth or

accuracy of claims made by individuals requesting

information.

ed Tenth Amendment

The Tenth Amendment provides that "[t]he powers

not delegated to the United States by the Constitution, nor

prohibited by it to the States, are reserved to the States

respectively, or to the people." Plaintiffs contend that the

Driver's Privacy Protection Act violates the Tenth

Amendment because it "commandeers" Wisconsin within the

meaning of two recent Supreme Court opinions, Printz v.

United States, 521 U.S. 98, 117 S.Ct. 2365, 138 L.Ed.2d 914

(1997) and New York v. United States, 505 U.S. 144, 112

S.Ct. 2408, 120 L.Ed.2d 120 (1992). To date, three district

courts have analyzed whether the act runs afoul of the Tenth

Amendment. See Pryor v. Reno, 998 F. Supp. 1317

(M.D.Ala.1998) (held constitutional); Condon v. Reno, 972

F. Supp. 977 (D.S.C.1997) (held unconstitutional); State of

Oklahoma ex rel. Oklahoma Dept. of Public Safety v. United

States, 994 F. Supp. 1358 (W.D.Okla.1997) (same).

Although Tenth Amendment jurisprudence has been a

moving target over the past two decades, see, e.g., National

League of Cities v. Usery, 426 U.S. 833, 96 S.Ct. 2465, 49

L.Ed.2d 245 (1976); Garcia v. San Antonio Metropolitan

Transit Authority, 469 U.S. 528, 105 S.Ct. 1005, 83 L.Ed.2d

1016 (1985) (overruling National League of Cities), the

Court has recognized consistently that the amendment is one

of many ways in which the Constitution preserves a

structural balance between a federal government of limited

- 36a -

powers and fifty autonomous states. Just as the Bill of

Rights prohibits the federal government from encroaching

upon certain individual liberties and just as the Commerce

Clause confines federal lawmaking authority to matters

related to interstate commerce, the Tenth Amendment

"restrains the power of Congress." New York, 505 U.S. at

156, 112 S.Ct. 2408. Such restraints do not exist for the sake

of restraint itself. Rather, they are an acknowledgment that

"the Constitution established a system of dual sovereignty ...

in which States surrendered many of their powers to the new

Federal Government ... [but] retained a residual and

inviolable sovereignty." Printz, _US.at__,117S.Ct. at

2376 (citations and quotation marks omitted). In this sense,

"the Tenth Amendment confirms that the power of the

Federal Government is subject to limits that may, in a given

instance, reserve power to the states." New York, 505 U.S. at

157, 112 S.Ct. 2408. Such limits are "not derived from the

text of the Tenth Amendment itself," but from other

constitutional provisions. Jd. In essence, the Court has

reasoned that the Tenth Amendment not only reserves certain

powers to the states but sets some structural limits on the way

in which Congress may exercise its limited powers.

Under this formulation, although Congress may not

"directly compel[ ] [states] to enact or enforce a federal

regulatory program,” Hodel v. Virginia Surface Mining

Reclamation Ass'n, Inc., 452 U.S. 264, 288, 101 S.Ct. 2352,

69 L.Ed.2d 1 (1981), Congress has at its disposal several

acceptable methods of "encouraging a State to regulate in a

particular way" and "influencing a State's policy choices."

New York, 505 U.S. at 166, 112 S.Ct. 2408. For example,

Congress may use its spending power to "attach conditions

on the receipt of federal funds" so long as a nexus exists

between these conditions and the purpose of the federal

spending. See id. at 167, 112 S.Ct. 2408. In addition,

Congress may give states the option of regulating private

Commerce Clause activity according to federal standards or

"having state law pre-empted by federal regulation." /d. at

- 37a -

167-168, 112 S.Ct. 2408 (citing various environmental laws

as examples of this so-called "cooperative federalism").

In New York, 505 U.S. at 175, 112 S.Ct. 2408, the

Court struck down a provision of the Low-Level Radioactive

Waste Policy Amendments Act of 1985, 42 U.S.C.

§§ 2021b-2021j. The offending provision presented states

with a choice: either they could take title to radioactive

waste generated within their borders or regulate storage and

disposal of such waste according to the direction of

Congress. The Court held that this provision went too far:

Because an instruction to state governments to

take title to waste, standing alone, would be beyond

the authority of Congress, and because a direct order

to regulate, standing alone, would also be beyond the

authority of Congress, it follows that Congress lacks

the power to offer the states a choice between the two.

* * *£* *£ * *

Respondents emphasize the latitude given to

the States to implement Congress’ plan. The Act

enables the States to regulate pursuant to Congress’

instructions in any number of different ways.... This

line of reasoning, however, only underscores the

critical alternative a State lacks: A State may not

decline to administer the federal program. No matter

which path the State chooses, it must follow the

direction of Congress.

Id. at 176-177, 112 S.Ct. 2408. In summary, the Court

declared that the "Federal Government may not compel the

States to enact or administer a federal regulatory program."

id. at 188, 112 S.Ct. 2408. In Printz, _US.at__,117

S.Ct. at 2384, the Court took this notion one step further,

holding that the strictures of the Tenth Amendment are not

limited solely to federal authority over state legislatures:

- 38a -

"The Federal Government may ... [not] command the States'

officers, or those of their political subdivisions, to administer

or enforce a federal regulatory program." Unlike the "take

title" provision in New York, the statute at issue in Printz did

not compel state lawmakers to adopt federal regulations or

legislation. However, it required "state law enforcement

officers to participate, albeit only temporarily, in the

admimistration of a federally enacted regulatory scheme."

Printz, __ U.S. at __, 117 S.Ct. at 2369. The Court held

that no constitutionally significant distinction could be drawn

betwe'en compelling a state legislature to make federal law

and compelling state officials to enforce federal law. /d. 117

S.Ct. at 2380.

Printz involved a challenge to select provisions of the

Brady Handgun Violence Prevention Act, 18 U.S.C. § 922,

that required local law enforcement officers to perform three

duties related to the sale of firearms: 1) conduct a

background check on individuals interested in purchasing a

gun; 2) provide would-be purchasers who are determined to

be ineligible to own a firearm with a written statement of the

reason for this determination; and 3) destroy all records

relate:d to the background checks of individuals determined to

be eligible to own a firearm. See Printz, _U.S.at_,117

S.Ct. at 2369. The second obligation applied only if an

officer chose to notify a gun dealer that a pending sale would

be illegal. /d. The Court noted that although the act did not

requisre such notification and although officers

are subjected to no federal requirement that they

prevent the sales determined to be unlawful (it is

perhaps assumed that their state-law duties will

require prevention or apprehension), they are

empowered to grant, in effect, waivers of the

federally prescribed 5-day waiting period for handgun

purchases by notifying the gun dealers that they have

no reason to believe the transactions would illegal.

*

t

>

.*

My

%

Si

- 39a -

Id. As already indicated, the Court held that a federal law

that directs state officials to administer or enforce a federal

regulatory scheme violates the Tenth Amendment. Of

course, this begs the question of identifying such laws.

Unfortunately, the Court provided little explicit guidance

apart from describing the Brady Act and stating that from this

description it was "apparent" that the act directed state law

enforcement officers to administer a federal regulatory

scheme. /d. Nevertheless, the Court provides some

illumination in its discussion of why laws such as the Brady

Act and the "take title" provision violate the Tenth

Amendment.

In New York and Printz, the Court did not come to the

defense of state sovereignty for the purpose of preserving or

increasing state power. Instead, the Court recognized that

when federal regulations bear the imprimatur of a state

because they are enacted by state lawmakers at the direction

of Congress, a fundamental attribute of sovereignty is

threatened: democratic accountability. See New York, 505

U.S. at 168-169 and 180-183, 112 S.Ct. 2408 (discussing

ways in which state and federal officials could shift

responsibility for siting waste incinerator in absence of Tenth

Amendment limitations). Applying this concept to the Brady

Act, the Court stated:

By forcing state governments to absorb the financial

burden of implementing a federal regulatory program,

Members of Congress can take credit for "solving"

problems without having to ask their constituents to

pay for the solutions with higher federal taxes. And

even when the States are not forced to absorb the

costs of implementing a federal program, they are still

put in the position of taking the blame for its

burdensomeness and for its defects.... Under the

present law, for example, it will be the CLEO [law

enforcement officer] and not some federal official

who stands between the gun purchaser and immediate

- 40a -

possession of his gun. And it will likely be the

CLEO, not some federal official, who will be blamed

for any error (even one in the designated federal

database) that causes purchasers to be mistakenly

rejected.

Printz, 521 U.S. at__, 117 S.Ct. at 2382.

The Driver's Privacy Protection Act forces state

officials to administer and enforce a federally enacted

regulatory program in violation of the Tenth Amendment.

The act establishes a detailed set of rules to control the

circumstances under which Wisconsin may disclose certain

information in its driver's license and motor vehicle records

to third parties; these rules displace conflicting policies

regarding disclosure established by Wisconsin legislators

through the state's open records law; state officials are

responsible for insuring that this information is disclosed

only for designated purposes specified by the federal rules;

and the federal government has no role in this process,

financially or otherwise. If this does not describe a federal

law that directs state officials to administer or enforce a

federal regulatory program, the standard articulated by the

Supreme Court in New York and Printz has done great

damage to the English language. That the act presses state

officials into federal service is confirmed further by

consideration of the way in which it will diminish

accountability. To paraphrase the Court in Printz, 117 S.Ct.

at 2382, the Driver's Privacy Protection Act will put state

officials in the position of taking the blame for the act's

burdensomeness and defects because it will be some state

official who stands between an individual interested in

obtaining information subject to the act and possession of

this information and it will be a state official who is blamed

for any error that causes an applicant to be rejected

mistakenly. That states may avoid obligations imposed by

the act by "choosing" to close their motor vehicles records to

the public entirely does not avoid this problem because

-4la-

states, not the federal government, will remain accountable to

their citizens for such a decision. Thus, although defendants

insist that the act implicates nothing more remarkable than

Congress's authority under the preemption clause, New York

and Printz establish that when the federal government

preempts and such preemption entails the administration or

enforcement of federal regulations, the federal government

must take political responsibility and pay the costs of

regulation--something that Congress has declined to do in

this instance.

Defendants assert that states are not required to

administer or enforce the rules and exceptions provided in

the Driver's Privacy Protection Act but do not explain how

these provisions are administered and enforced in the first

place. Instead, defendants suggest two ways in which the act

can be distinguished from a law that presses state officials

into federal service. Defendants draw a distinction between:

1) positive and negative injunctions, maintaining that while

the Brady Act required local law enforcement officers to take

certain actions (conduct background checks), the Driver's

Privacy Protection Act prohibits state officials from taking

certain actions (releasing personal information to the wrong

people for the wrong purposes); and 2) Congressional

enactments that require states to regulate third parties and

those that apply to the states directly and are an effort to

resolve state-created problems.

There is no explicit support in New York or Printz for

anchoring Tenth Amendment jurisprudence in_ these

distinctions. Rather, they are based loosely on a series of

opinions involving so-called laws of general applicability

that have survived Tenth Amendment scrutiny. See

Maryland v. Wirtz, 392 U.S. 183, 88 S.Ct. 2017, 20 L.Ed.2d

1020 (1968) (Fair Labor Standards Act); National League of

Cities v. Usery, 426 U.S. 833, 96 S.Ct. 2465, 49 L.Ed.2d 245

(1976) (same); Garcia, 469 U.S. 528, 105 S.Ct. 1005, 83

L.Ed.2d 1016 (same); Fry v. United States, 421 U.S. 542, 95

- 42a -

S.Ct. 1792, 44 L.Ed.2d 363 (1975) (Economic Stabilization

Act); United Transportation Union v. Long Island R. Co.,

455 U.S. 678, 102 S.Ct. 1349, 71 L.Ed.2d 547 (1982)

(Railway Labor Act); Equal Employment Opportunity

Commission v. Wyoming, 460 U.S. 226, 103 S.Ct. 1054, 75

L.Ed.2d 18 (1983) (Age Discrimination in Employment Act);

South Carolina v. Baker, 485 U.S. 505, 108 S.Ct. 1355, 99

L.Ed.2d 592 (1988). In Printz, _U.S.at___, 117 S.Ct. at

2383 and New York, 505 U.S. at 160, 112 S.Ct. 2408, the

Court acknowledged that it has drawn a consistent distinction

between laws of general applicability and laws targeted

exclusively at states. However, the Court disowned any

similarity between laws of general applicability and the

Brady Act and the "take title" provision. Defendants are

correct that the purpose of drawing a distinction between ~

laws of general applicability and laws directed exclusively at

States is not to suggest that the former are always

constitutional and the latter are always unconstitutional or to

create two different standards for evaluating Tenth

Amendment claims. Rather, the distinction is one indication

how much a congressional enactment upsets the structural

balance between federal and state sovereignty, if at all.

By way of example, South Carolina v. Baker, 485

U.S. 505, 108 S.Ct. 1355, 99 L.Ed.2d 592, involved a federal

law that effectively required states to issue registered bonds

and stop issuing bearer bonds. The law applied with equal

force to bonds issued by the federal government and private

corporations. Responding to South Carolina's contention that

the law required it to amend existing state statutes and figure

out how to implement a system for issuing registered bonds,

the Court stated that

[s}uch "commandeering" is an inevitable consequence

of regulating a state activity. Any federal regulation

demands compliance. That a State wishing to engage

in certain activity must take administrative and

sometimes legislative action to comply with federal

- 43a -

standards regulating that activity is a commonplace

that presents no constitutional defects.

Id. at 514-515, 108 S.Ct. 1355. This law and the type of laws

upheld in National League of Cities and Fry involved "the

incidental application to the States of a federal law of general

applicability." Printz, _: U.S. at ___, 117 S.Ct. at 2383.

By contrast, "it is the whole object of the [Brady Act] to

direct the functioning of the state executive, and hence to

compromise the structural framework of dual sovereignty..."

Id.; see also New York, 505 U.S. at 160, 112 S.Ct. 2408

(radioactive waste statute not example of legislation that

applies equally to state and private parties alike). In Printz,

the Court acknowledged that it has responded with greater

deference to laws of general applicability and that a more

forgiving analysis of the Brady Act might have been

warranted had the act fit such a characterization. However,

because laws such as the ones at issue in Printz and New

York offend "the very principle of separate state

sovereignty," any attempt to balance the relevant state and

federal interests at stake is inappropriate. /d. When states

must conform their policies regarding areas such as

employment and bonds to the same federal regulations

applicable to any other private employer or bond issuer, the

threat to sovereignty is reduced, presumably because there is

less cause for concern when Congress tells everyone what to

do, as opposed to just the states. See Garcia, 469 U.S. at

554, 105 S.Ct. 1005 (San Antonio "faces nothing more than

the same minimum-wage and overtime obligations that

hundreds of thousands of other employers, public as well as

private, have to meet"). As explained by the Court in Baker,

485 U.S. at 514, 108 S.Ct. 1355, laws of general applicability

may regulate state activities, but they do not "seek to control

or influence the manner in which States regulate private

parties."

To state the obvious, the Driver's Privacy Protection

Act is not a law of general applicability. Only states collect

- 44a -

driver's license and motor vehicle information and, if they so

choose, disseminate it. By contrast, the taxation law in Baker

applied generally to any state, federal or private entity that

issued bonds; the employment laws in Garcia, Fry, and

Equal Employment Opportunity Commission v. Wyoming

applied generally to any state, federal or private employer.

To be sure, the Driver's Privacy Protection Act restricts the

way in which private parties who obtain personal information

from a motor vehicle department may resell or redisclose

such information and provides civil and criminal liability for

those who violate these restrictions. See 18 U.S.C.

§$§ 2721(c) and 2722-2725. These provisions establish that it

is not the entire object of the act to direct the functioning of

state motor vehicle departments. However, the act's

applicability to private parties is incidental to its foremost

purpose: regulating the way in which states disseminate

information collected by their motor vehicle departments.

Contrary to defendants’ assertion, the act does not attempt to

regulate the market for information generally but only a

small, state-controlled facet of this market. The Driver's

Privacy Protection Act does not resemble this "general

applicability" line of cases in any other significant way.

In support of the position that act's injunctions are

positive as opposed to negative and that the act directly

regulates state-created problems, defendants cite the

following passage from Pryor, 998 F.Supp. at 1331:

The DPPA does not violate the Tenth Amendment, as

it is a direct prohibition on the State from releasing

personal DMV records for impermissible purposes,

rather than a regulation requiring the State to enforce

the federal government's ban on personal DMV

disclosures.

Also, in Pryor, the district court concluded that the act differs

from the provisions at issue in Printz because "the DPPA

neither asks State officials to arrest or report violators of the

- 45a -

DPPA, nor does it require States to ensure that state citizens

do not use or otherwise re-disclose personal DMV

information." Jd. at 1329. With respect, | disagree with

these conclusions. Although the obligations imposed upon

state employees by the Driver's Privacy Protection Act may

not be as onerous as those created by the Brady Act, the act is

not self-enforcing or self-administering: someone must do

something to insure that the state is in compliance with the

act. Specifically, states must disclose personal information to

carry out various federal statutes, see 18 U.S.C. § 2721(b),

and state employees are required to review requests for

information to determine whether such requests are for

permissible uses. The act contains no explicit instructions

regarding the extent to which state employees must

investigate and confirm the accuracy of claims made by

individuals requesting information. However, this does not

mean that the states’ obligation is not "affirmative,"

particularly when state employees face personal liability for

violating the act knowingly. Furthermore, contrary to the

court's reading in Pryor of the Brady Act, nothing in the act

required local law enforcement officers to arrest or report

violators or stop unauthorized transactions. See Printz,

U.S. at__, 117 S.Ct. at 2369 ("The Act does not require the

CLEO to take any particular action if he determines that a

pending transaction would be unlawful; he may notify the

firearms dealer to that effect, but he is not required to do

so"). Stripped of this distinction, the Driver's Privacy

Protection Act and the Brady Act each require states to

regulate the conduct of third parties to the extent that states

are forced to control who may obtain access to certain things,

whether information or handguns, without the direct

participation or financial backing of the federal government.

Finally, the Supreme Court has never endorsed the notion

that the constitutionality of a federal law challenged under

the Tenth Amendment turns on whether the law is an attempt

by Congress to resolve problems attributable to states, as

opposed to private parties or the federal government.

Regardless who is responsible for the expanding market in

- 46a -

consumer information and the proliferation of handguns and

radioactive waste, Congress must exercise its authority

within the structural limits delineated by the Constitution and

the Supreme Court should it choose to enlist the states in

addressing these problems.

ORDER

IT IS ORDERED that:

1. The motion of defendants Janet Reno and United

States of America to dismiss for lack of subject matter

jurisdiction and for failure to state a claim on which relief

may be granted is DENIED;

2. The motion for summary judgment of plaintiffs

David Travis, Fred Risser, Robert Zukowski, Eugene Hahn,

Michael Huebsch, David Zweifel and Pamela Moorshead is

DENIED without prejudice;

3. The motion for summary judgment of plaintiffs

Roger Cross and the Division of Motor Vehicles of the

Wisconsin Department of Transportation is GRANTED;

4. The Driver's Privacy Protection Act violates the

Tenth Amendment of the United States Constitution.

5. Defendants are enjoined permanently from

enforcing the Driver's Privacy Protection Act against

plaintiffs.

Entered this 9th day of June, 1998.

BY THE COURT:

/s/

BARBARA B. CRABB

District Judge

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.