Opposition Brief — Official Committee of Tort v. Dow Corning Corp., 117 S. Ct. 718 (1997) (No. 96-330)
Supreme Court brief1997
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
3) \3
Nos, 96-330 & 96-74:
Iu the Supreme Court of the iPptten ’
OcTOBER TERM, 1996 ae aS wee
OFFICIAL COMMITTEE OF TorT C Ss,
Petitioner, CLERK
Vv.
Dow CORNING CORPORATION, THE Dow CHEMICAL
COMPANY, CORNING INCORPORATED, BAXTER INTER-
NATIONAL INCORPORATED, MINNESOTA MINING AND
MANUFACTURING COMPANY, BRISTOL-MYERS SQUIBB
COMPANY AND MEDICAL ENGINEERING CORPORATION,
Respondents.
BREAST IMPLANT TORT CLAIMANTS REPRESENTED
BY O’QUINN, KERENSKY, MCANINCH
V.
Re
On Petitions for a Writ of Certio em:
United States Court of
for the Sixth Circuit
BRIEF IN OPPOSITION OF RESPONDENTS
BAXTER INTERNATIONAL INC. AND
BAXTER HEALTHCARE CORPORATION
THOMAS E. PirTts, JR. CARTER G. PHILLIPs *
SHELLEY C. CHAPMAN SIDLEY & AUSTIN
SIDLEY & AUSTIN 1722 Eye Street, N.W.
875 Third Avenue Washington, D.C. 20006
New York, NY 10022 (202) 736-8000
(212) 906-2000 LARRY J. NYHAN
JuDY O’ NEILL JAMES F. CONLAN
LAURA J. EISELE SIDLEY & AUSTIN
DYKEMA GOSSETT PLLC One First National Plaza
400 Renaissance Center Chicago, IL 60603
Detroit, MI 48248 (312) 853-7000
(318) 568-6800
Counsel for Respondents Baxter International Inc. and
Baxter Healthcare Corporation
November 27, 1996 * Counsel of Record
WILSON - Epes Printine Co., Inc. - 789-0086 - WasHIneToN, D.C. 20001
QUESTIONS PRESENTED
1. Whether the court below erred in finding “related
to” subject matter jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C.
§ 1334(b) over tort claims pending against Baxter that
were asserted jointly and severally against Baxter and a
Chapter 11 Debtor, Dow Corning Corporation, in pre-
bankruptcy tort actions.
2. Whether the court below erred in concluding that
28 U.S.C. § 157(b)(5) authorizes a district court in
which a Chapter 11 bankruptcy case is pending to trans-
fer civil actions “related to” the bankruptcy case, when
such actions allege a single cause of action against both
Baxter and Dow Corning Corporation.
(i)
ii
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS BELOW
In addition to the parties listed by petitioners, Baxter
Healthcare Corporation was a party to the proceedings
below.
iii
STATEMENT REQUIRED BY RULE 29.6
Respondent Baxter Healthcare Corporation is a wholly-
owned subsidiary of respondent Baxter International Inc.,
which is a publicly-owned corporation. Baxter Health-
care Corporation has no non-wholly owned subsidiaries.
The non-wholly owned subsidiaries of Baxter International
Inc. are Baxter S.A. (Belgium); Baxter S.A. (France);
Baxter Healthcare (Holdings) Ltd. (U.K.); Baxter
Healthcare Limited (U.K.); Baxter World Trade S.A.
(Belgium); Baxter Healthcare Pty. Ltd. (Australia); Bax-
ter A.G. (Switzerland); and Baxter S.A. de C.V.
(Mexico).
TABLE OF CONTENTS
QUESTIONS PRESENTED
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING BELOW ........_.
STATEMENT REQUIRED BY RULE 29.6...
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES oc ccccccceoos-s
OPTNTORG DW ssc esi ei
REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITIONS ....._.
I.
II.
ITT.
CERTIORARI SHOULD BE DENIED BE-
CAUSE THIS CASE PRESENTS NO ISSUE
THAT IS RIPE FOR THIS COURT’S CONSID-
PE Martine Ge
CERTIORARI SHOULD BE DENIED BE-
CAUSE THE COURT BELOW CORRECTLY
APPLIED SETTLED LAW IN A DECISION
THAT DOES NOT CONFLICT WITH THE
DECISIONS OF THIS COURT OR OF ANY
OTHER COURT OF APPEALS...
CONTRARY TO PETITIONERS’ ASSERTION,
THE SIXTH CIRCUIT WAS ENTIRELY COR-
RECT IN ITS READING OF 28 U.S.C. § 157
CI) CD Stes Aine t ening a
IV. THE PETITIONS PRESENT NO ISSUE OF
“DOCTRINAL SIGNIFICANCE” THAT WAR-
RANTS REVIEW BY THIS COURT...
sce ec ch COE EE VN SE SES
FAE'S TRINAP EMD ie ig ee
]
Ls)
15
17
19
la
vi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES Page
8300 Newburgh Road Partnership v. Time Con-
struction, Inc. (In re Time Construction, Inc.),
43 F.3d 1041 (6th Cir. 1995) ..........-.220.2 11
A.H. Robins Co., Inc. v. Piccinin (In re A.H.
Robins Co., Inc.), 788 F.2d 994 (4th Cir.), cert.
denied, 479 U.S. 876 (1986) ............2.002.220.....--0-- 16
American Construction Co. v. Jacksonville, T. & K.
fe ee Mel Rk By: | rem n 6
American Hardwoods, Inc. v. Deutsche Credit Corp.
(In re American Hardwoods, Inc.), 885 F.2d 621
COGR CAP: DD sien net kee 10
Brotherhood of Locomotive Firemen & Enginemen
v. Bangor & A. R.R. Co., 389 U.S. 327 (1967)... 6
Calumet National Bank v. Levine (In re Levine),
pb WOR See ges A.” Me, 5 Pe Antntiemten 16
In re Celotex Corp., 140 B.R. 912 (Bankr. M.D.
|g Rs —_y MesieRerecaleem iene eh celle bits eR ie cai eee Q
Celotex Corp. v. Edwards, 115 S. Ct. 1493 (1995) ..passim
Coker v. Pan American World Airways, Inc. (In
re Pan American Corp.), 950 F.2d 839 (2d Cir.
1008) (24) AU ae es 16
In re Fedpack Systems, Inc., 80 F.3d 207 (7th Cir.
000) .03-. a aee a 14
Hamilton-Brown Shoe Co. v. Wolf Bros. & Co., 240
U.S. 251 (1916) ............ sesibilapaahicch insaindiiaie deine ti ei, 6, 7
Indianapolis v. Chase National Bank, 314 U.S. 63
EC RANAA,) visasteniteioeine “ahsignstcateiadnas demndomaaataianicoaia as 7
Kelley v. Nodine (In re Salem Mortgage Co.), 783
PAE OOS COG Cr. SOD werner ccs 10
MacArthur Co. v. Johns-Manville Corp. (In re
Johns-Manville Corp.), 887 F.2d 89 (2d Cir.),
cert. denied, 488 U.S. 868 (1988) —......0.- 10
In re Marcus Hook Development Park, Inc., 948
me & ' Ge ge SB. i) Reem eerbeNS Lys! 11, 12, 18
Mercer v. Theriot, 377 U.S. 152 (1964) —....00000000.... 7
Michigan Employment Security Commission v.
Wolverine Radio Co. (In re Wolverine Radio
Co.), 930 F.2d 11382 (6th Cir. 1991), cert. dis-
missed, 508 U.S. 978 (1992) ............. cee eee 1l
vii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Miller v. Kemira (In re Lemco Gypsum, Inc.), 910
wae ee Clits Cle, 1900) 13, 18
Murray v. Pan American World Airways, Inc. (In
re Pan Am Corp.), 16 F.8d 518 (2d Cir. 1994)... 16
Oberg v. Aetna Casualty & Surety Co. (In re A.H.
Robins Co.), 828 F.2d 1023 (4th Cir. 1987),
cert. denied, 485 U.S. 969 (1988) ......000.. 10
Pacor, Inc. v. Higgins, 743 F.2d 984 (1984) ............ 11
Robinson v. Michigan Consolidated Gas Co., 918
Fame Ore (Ge Cae 200) oo 11
Sanders Confectionery Products, Inc. v. Heller
Financial, Inc., 973 F.2d 474 (6th Cir. 1992),
cert. denied, 506 U.S. 1079 (19938)... 11
Scott v. United States, 486 U.S. 128 (1978) .......... 7
The Monrosa v. Carbon Black Export, Inc., 359
Boies SU CR ia ike cn paienicrceiis. 6
Torkelsen v. Maggio (In re Guild and Gallery
Plus, Inc.), 72 F.3d 1171 (3d Cir. 1996)... 13
In re Turner, 724 F.2d 388 (2d Cir. 1983) 13
Wood v. Wood (In re Wood), 825 F.2d 90 (5th Cir.
Ne eatin lidiansiatand nave detalaak seat iuiiin see siopis 18
STATUTES
im I sa 5, 15
Ir Nt I 4, 15, 16, 17
Ba Pam ND ii cia atin incipient naps asks vcines passim
Se a MND ihctataitarscctaacadctkice ek heck 2, 5,17
i RN pahtchtien one cS Nee PCERR OS 15
Ju the Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1996
No. 96-330
OFFICIAL COMMITTEE OF ToRT CLAIMANTS,
e: Petitioner,
Dow CORNING CORPORATION, THE Dow CHEMICAL
COMPANY, CORNING INCORPORATED, BAXTER INTER-
NATIONAL INCORPORATED, MINNESOTA MINING AND
MANUFACTURING COMPANY, BRISTOL-MYERS SQUIBB
COMPANY AND MEDICAL ENGINEERING CORPORATION,
Respondents.
No. 96-742
BREAST IMPLANT TORT CLAIMANTS REPRESENTED
BY O’QUINN, KERENSKY, MCANINCH & LAMINACK,
- Petitioners,
Dow CorRNING CoRPORATION, et al.,
Respondents.
On Petitions for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Sixth Circuit
BRIEF IN OPPOSITION OF RESPONDENTS
BAXTER INTERNATIONAL INC. AND
BAXTER HEALTHCARE CORPORATION
Se ee eee eT
2
Baxter International Inc. and Baxter Healthcare Corpo-
ration (collectively, “Baxter”) hereby oppose the peti-
tions for a writ of certiorari filed by the Official Com-
mittee of Tort Claimants (the “Committee Petition”) and
by the breast implant tort claimants represented by
O’Quinn, Kerensky, McAninch & Laminack (the
“O’Quinn Petition”, and, together, the “Petitions”). The
merits of this case involve the application of the provisions
of a discrete jurisdictiona: statute to the facts of a mass
tort litigation in which Baxter, among others, and a Chap-
ter 11 debtor, Dow Corning Corporation, are defendants.
Given the procedural posture of the case, the questions
presented are not ripe for this Court’s consideration, and
the Petitions should be denied on that basis alone. Even
if the merits were ripe for consideration, however, the
questions presented are not worthy of this Court’s atten-
tion. The decision below is not at odds with any decision
of any court of appeals, and is entirely consistent with this
Court’s recent decision in Celotex Corp. v. Edwards, 115
S. Ct. 1493 (1995). Accordingly, the Petitions should be
denied.
OPINIONS BELOW
In addition to the opinions cited by petitioners, the
opinions below include the opinion issued on July 30,
1996 by the district court, in which that court, pursuant
to 28 U.S.C. § 1334(c), declined to exercise jurisdiction
over the claims against Baxter and the other nondebtor
co-defendents, which the Sixth Circuit had held to be
“related to” the Debtor’s bankruptcy. This opinion is
reprinted at Resp. App. la-8a.
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
Petitioners load their statements of the case with “facts”
that are both highly disputed and immaterial to the issues
presented by the decision below. Baxter will not burden
the Court with a point-by-point response, but will instead
confine its statement to material facts relevant to the
questions presented for the Court’s consideration.
errr
3
1. Breast implants containing silicone have been on
the market for more than 30 years. Originally designed
by plastic surgeons in cooperation with Dow Corning
Corporation (“Dow Corning” or the “Debtor”), these
devices were believed to be superior in their cosmetic and
reconstructive uses to implants made of other sub-
stances. By most accounts, the Debtor manufactured at
least one-half of the silicone gel-filled implants sold during
that period. The balance were manufactured by other
companies including 3M (or its affiliates), Bristol-Myers
(or its affiliates), and Heyer-Schulte, the manufacturer
whose products are the cause of Baxter’s involvement in
this dispute (collectively, the “Co-defendants”).’ The
Debtor was also the source of much of the silicone gel
used in implants manufactured by other companies, in-
cluding more than 90 percent of the implants sold by
Heyer-Schulte. Moreover, every single implant manu-
factured by Heyer-Schulte had at least one silicone com-
ponent manufactured by the Debtor.
Because the Debtor itself manufactured massive num-
bers of implants and was a principal supplier of the sili-
cone used by these other implant makers, the Debtor and
its affiliates were routinely named as co-defendants in law-
suits involving implants manufactured by others. By the
date of the Debtor’s Chapter 11 petition, tens of thousands
of suits involving silicone breast implants had been
brought in the United States. The actions in which both
the Debtor and Baxter are defendants number more than
5,000, involving more than 14,000 plaintiffs. In most of
these actions, the Debtor and Baxter are alleged to be
? Baxter has never designed, manufactured, or marketed breast
implants. Baxter is a defendant in these cases only because Baxter
is, as a consequence of a series of corporate acquisiticns and
mergers, responsible for certain liabilities of Heyer-Schulte, the
entity that manufactured the implants. Accordingly, the name
“Heyer-Schulte” is used where appropriate in this opposition.
4
joint tortfeasors and jointly and severally liable for the
damages asserted.
Indeed, every plaintiff who has sued both the Debtor
and Baxter on account of silicone breast implants alleges
that she suffers from one or more diseases caused by sili-
cone, and that silicone was introduced into her body by
both companies in one of two ways—either the plaintiff
underwent multiple implants with devices manufactured
and sold by both the Debtor and Heyer-Schulte, or the
plaintiff received Heyer-Schulte implants containing sili-
cone gel (or other components) manufactured by the
Debtor. Thus, each plaintiff alleges a single set of symp-
toms, a single chemical agent of disease, and a single
cause of action involving two defendants—two defendants
whose responsibility for those symptoms and that disease
is, from each plaintiff’s perspective, unitary. This describes
the thousands of cases in which Baxter and the Debtor are
co-defendants that were the subject of the motion filed
by Baxter in the district court pursuant to 28 U.S.C.
§ 157(b)(5); similar motions were filed by 3M and
Bristol Meyers (collectively, the “Co-defendant Motions”).
2. The Co-defendant Motions asked the district court
to exercise its jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1334(b) and
to exercise its power under 28 U.S.C. § 157(b)(5) to
order that the personal injury tort and wrongful death
claims “be tried in the district court in which the bank-
ruptcy case is pending, or in the district court in which
the claim arose, as determined by the district court in which
the bankruptcy case is pending.” 28 U.S.C. § 157(b)(5).
On September 12, 1995, the district court denied transfer
of the claims covered by the Co-defendant Motions on
the ground that it lacked subject matter jurisdiction over
the tort actions. Committee Pet. App. at 57a-64a.
On appeal, the court of appeals was required to decide
whether the billions of dollars in lawsuits against Baxter
and the other Co-defendants, with the attendant billions
of dollars in contribution claims against the Debtor by
the Co-defendants, could conceivably have an effect on
5
the administration of the Debtor’s estate. The Sixth Cir-
cuit decided that, under well-established and non-contro-
versial legal principles, the lawsuits could have such
an effect and, accordingly, held that “related to” jurisdic-
tion under 28 U.S.C. § 1334(b) exists with respect to
these personal injury claims. Committee Pet. App. at
la-28a. :
The Sixth Circuit further concluded that 28 U.S.C.
§ 157(b)(5) permits the district court to fix the trial
venue of all breast implant cases pending against Baxter
and the other Co-defendants that are “related to” the
Debtor’s bankruptcy proceeding. Committee Pet. App. at
23a-26a. The court of appeals then remanded the case to
the district court to determine “whether the abstention ex-
ception in Section 157(b)(4) applies to claims pending
against nondebtor defendants and, if not, whether the
factors calling for mandatory exemption [sic] under Sec-
tion 1334(c)(2) have been met.” Committee Pet. App.
at 28a. The district court was also directed to address
the issue of discretionary abstention under 28 U.S.C.
§ 1334(c)(1). Id.
3. On July 30, 1996, the district court on remand
ruled that all of the personal injury actions against all of
the Co-defendants were subject to mandatory abstention
under 28 U.S.C. § 1334(c)(2) and, in the alternative,
exercised its discretion to abstain from hearing those ac-
tions pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1334(c)(1 ). Resp. App. at
la-8a. Baxter and the other Co-defendants have appealed
the abstention order to the Sixth Circuit, which has ex-
pedited review, notwithstanding petitioners’ attempt to
have such appeals dismissed. Thus, as this opposition
brief is being submitted to this Court, this case is awaiting
a second Sixth Circuit decision. Although a successful ap-
peal by the Debtor or the Co-defendants could potentially
make this issue ripe—although certainly not worthy of
certiorari—the procedural posture of the action below
makes review of these petitions premature. The district
court is not currently exercising jurisdiction over any of
the claims that are covered by the Co-defendant Motions,
6
and not a single case against the Co-defendants has been
transferred to the district court.
REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITIONS
I. CERTIORARI SHOULD BE DENIED BECAUSE
THIS CASE PRESENTS NO ISSUE THAT IS RIPE
FOR THIS COURT'S CONSIDERATION.
As this Court noted long ago, “[wJhile this Court decides
questions of public importance, it decides them in the con-
text of meaningful litigation.” The Monrosa v. Carbon
Black Export, Inc., 359 U.S. 180, 184 (1959). That con-
text is wholly absent here. See also Brotherhood of Loco-
motive Firemen & Enginemen v. Bangor & A. R.R. Co.,
389 U.S. 327, 328 (1967) (“because the Court of Appeals
remanded the case, it is not yet ripe for review by this
Court”); Hamilton-Brown Shoe Co. v. Wolf Bros. & Co.,
240 U.S. 251, 258 (1916); American Construction Co. v.
Jacksonville, T. & K. W. R. Co., 148 U.S. 372, 384
(1893).
Indeed, petitioner Tort Committee recognizes this
problem, acknowledging that, at least for now, the dis-
trict court’s decision to abstain stands. Undaunted, how-
ever, petitioner Tort Committee argues that “the general
significance of what the Sixth Circuit has held remains
unimpaired” and that the “sweeping dimensions of ‘related
to’ jurisdiction as defined by the Sixth Circuit may be
counted on to serve the visible purpose of both blocking
state litigation and transferring it from the court in which
plaintiffs have exercised their right to proceed.” Com-
mittee Pet. at 11-12.
Petitioners’ invitation to the Court to issue a sweeping
advisory opinion should be declined. If the Sixth Circuit
were to reverse the July 30 district court order and if,
upon remand, the district court were to exercise jurisdic-
tion over the claims against Baxter and the other Co-
defendants, petitioners would be free to present their argu-
7
ments anew in a second petition for certiorari. It is well
established that this Court may reach back and decide
“all of the substantial federal questions determined in the
earlier stages of the litigation.” Mercer v. Theriot, 377
U.S. 152, 153 (1964) (quoting Reece v. Georgia, 350
U.S. 85, 87 (1955)); see also Scott v. United States, 436
U.S. 128 (1978) (same); Indianapolis v. Chase National
Bank, 314 U.S. 63 (1941) (same); Hamilton-Brown Shoe
Co., 240 U.S. at 257 (same). Granting the Petitions at
this stage of the litigation would be a waste of this Court's
limited resources.”
Il. CERTIORARI SHOULD BE DENIED BECAUSE
THE COURT BELOW CORRECTLY APPLIED SET-
TLED LAW IN A DECISION THAT DOES NOT
CONFLICT WITH THE DECISIONS OF THIS
COURT OR OF ANY OTHER COURT OF APPEALS.
Petitioner Tort Committee asserts that the opinion
issued by the Sixth Circuit “represents an unprecedented
expansion of bankruptcy jurisdiction.” Committee Pet.
at 4. It does not. As a review of the substantial prece-
dent interpreting 28 U.S.C. § 1334(b) makes quite clear,
virtually all of the courts of appeals, and this Court,
have articulated the same standard for determining
whether a bankruptcy court or district court has juris-
diction over a case that is “related to” 2 case under
Chapter 11. The Sixth Circuit’s opinion is neither un-
precedented nor is it any jurisdictional expansion at all;
in fact, the approach of the Sixth Circuit to determining
whether a proceeding is “related to” a Chapter 11 case is
thoroughly conservative.
*The argument made in the O’Quinn Petition, that mootness
should not preclude review at this juncture because the issue at
bar is “capable of repetition yet evading review,” O’Quinn Pet. at
2. n.2, is sorely misplaced. This Court’s opinion in Celoter makes
clear that this issue is not capable of evading review.
8
Only last term, in Celotex Corp. v. Edwards, 115 S. Ct.
1493 (1995), this Court construed Section 1334(b) sub-
ject matter jurisdiction broadly, citing with approval the
numerous decisions of courts of appeals that have held
that a case is “related to” a Chapter 11 case if its out-
come could “conceivably have any effect on the estate
being administered in bankruptcy.” Jd. at 1499 n.6 (citing
Pacor, Inc. v. Higgins, 743 F.2d 984, 994 (3d Cir. 1984)).
Indeed, this Court noted that in crafting Section 1334,
Congress broke with narrower, past jurisdictional grants to
bestow broad and comprehensive, though certainly not
limitless, jurisdiction on bankruptcy courts. Celotex, 115
S. Ct. at 1499.
A careful reading of Celotex is itself sufficient to de-
feat petitioners’ argument. In Celotex, this Court ex-
plicitly adopted the Third Circuit’s conclusion in Pacor
that “Congress intended to grant comprehensive jurisdic-
tion to the bankruptcy courts so that they might deal
efficiently and expeditiously with all matters connected
with the bankruptcy estate,” along with its rather obvious
caution that “ ‘related to’ jurisdiction cannot be limitless.”
Celotex, 115 S. Ct. at 1499 (citing Pacor, 743 F.2d at
994). While the Court did not explicitly endorse the
“conceivable effect” test (or any other test for that mat-
ter) for “related to” jurisdiction adopted by virtually
every circuit, it did cite with approval the leading bank-
ruptcy treatise that was the source of the “any effect” or
“conceivably have any effect” standard. Celotex, 115
S. Ct at 1498-99 n.5 (citing 1 Collier on Bankruptcy
¢ 3.01[1][c]liv] at 3-28 to 3-29 (15th ed. 1995)). And
this Court did point out that the “conceivable effect” test
is the law in nine of the eleven circuits that have spoken
on the issue. /d. at 1499 n.6.*
8 As will be discussed below, this Court did not find that the
circuits were split on this issue. Rather, it noted that two of the
circuits (the Sixth not among them) have adopted a “slightly
different test.” 115 S. Ct. at 1499 n.6. Under any formulation of
the test, the claims in these cases are unquestionably “related.”
a
.
9
Moreover, the Court did not endorse the Third Circuit's
somewhat restrictive application of the “conceivable effect”
test in Pacor. In essence, the Court held that under any
relevant test, the injunction in Celotex fell within the
“related to” jurisdiction of the bankruptcy court. The
same is true of the ruling here.
There is much in Celotex that supports the approach
employed by the Sixth Circuit. In deciding not to dis-
solve the injunction against certain non-debtor third par-
ties, the bankruptcy court in Celotex made the following
findings:
[I]f the Section 105 stay were lifted to enable the
judgment creditors to reach the sureties, the sureties
in turn would seek to lift the Section 105 stay to
reach Debtor’s collateral, with corresponding actions
by Debtor to preserve its rights under the settlement
agreements. Such a scenario could completely de-
stroy any chance of resolving the prolonged insur-
ance coverage disputes currently being adjudicated
in this Court. The settlement of the insurance cov-
erage disputes with all of Debtor’s insurers may well
be the linchpin of Debtor’s formulation of a feasible
plan. Absent the confirmation of a feasible plan,
Debtor may be liquidated or cease to exist after a
ec feast by the victors in a race to the court-
ouse.
In re Celotex Corp., 140 B.R. 912, 915 (Bankr. M.D.
Fla. 1992), quoted in Celotex, 115 S. Ct. at 1500. This
Court’s repetition of such a chain of “conceivable effects”
as supporting its jurisdictional conclusion in Celotex is
striking. And its reason for this reference was to drive
home a fundamental, long-standing point about bank-
ruptcy jurisdiction:
In light of these findings by the Bankruptcy Court, it
is relevant to note that we are dealing here with a
reorganization under Chapter 11, rather than a liqui-
dation under Chapter 7. The jurisdiction of bank-
10
ruptcy courts may extend more broadly in the former
case than in the latter. Cf. Continental Illinois Nat.
Bank & Trust Co. v. Chicago, RI. & P.R. Co., 294
U.S. 648, 676, 79 L. Ed. 1110, 55 S. Ct. 595, 606
(1935).
Celotex, 115 S. Ct. at 1500.
The Court noted that its holding “is in accord with
representative recent decisions of the Courts of Appeals.”
Celotex, 115 S. Ct. at 1500. It then listed three decisions
_ that epitomize the practical approach to jurisdiction that
the Sixth Circuit has followed for over a decade. Ameri-
can Hardwoods, Inc. v. Deutsche Credit Corp. (In re
American Hardwoods, Inc.), 885 F.2d 621, 624 (9th Cir.
1989); MacArthur Co. v. Johns-Manville Corp. (In re
Johns-Manville Corp.), 837 F.2d 89 (2d Cir.), cert. de-
nied, 488 U.S. 868 (1988); Oberg v. Aetna Casualty &
Surety Co. (In re A.H. Robins Co.), 828 F.2d 1023 (4th
Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 485 U.S. 969 (1988). Each of
these cases involved the exercise of bankruptcy jurisdic-
tion over claims between non-debtors, and each of these
cases was resolved by determining whether substantive pro-
visions of the Bankruptcy Code authorized or prohibited
the relief sought. “Related to” jurisdiction, if discussed
at all, was upheld summarily.
The decision below follows longstanding Sixth Circuit
precedent. For over a decade, the Sixth Circuit has con-
sistently held that where the facts of a case suggest that
the potential for contribution claims against the debtor is
real and there is therefore a genuine likelihood that tort
actions could have an impact on the debtor’s estate, the
underlying tort actions that originally named the debtor
as a co-defendant are “related to” the bankruptcy case.
Moreover, the Sixth Circuit, for years, has consistently
applied the holding that automatic debtor liability is not
a prerequisite to “related to” jurisdiction. See Kelley v.
Nodine (In re Salem Mortgage Co.), 783 F.2d 626 (6th
Cir. 1986) (upholding “related to” jurisdiction despite
11
absence of automatic debtor liability); Robinson v. Michi-
gan Consolidated Gas Co., 918 F.2d 579 (6th Cir. 1990)
(same); Michigan Employment Security Commission v.
Wolverine Radio Co. (In re Wolverine Radio Co.), 930
F.2d 1132 (6th Cir. 1991), cert. dismissed, 503 U.S. 978
(1992) (same); Sanders Confectionery Products, Inc. v.
Heller Financial, Inc., 973 F.2d 474 (6th Cir. 1992),
cert. denied, 506 U.S. 1079 (1993) (same); 8300 New-
burgh Road Partnership v. Time Construction, Inc. (In re
Time Construction, Inc.), 43 F.3d 1041 (6th Cir. 1995)
(per curiam) (similar conclusion in dicta).
Furthermore, there simply is no circuit split on this
issue. To attempt to create a split with the Sixth Circuit,
petitioners allege a “direct conflict” (Committee Pet. at 9,
O’Quinn Pet. at 8-10) with the Third Circuit’s holding in
Pacor, Inc. v. Higgins, 743 F.2d 984 (1984). This Court
found no such split last year, when it noted in Celotex
that eight circuits had adopted the Pacor “any conceivable
effect” test with “little or no variation,” and that two
circuits “seem to have adopted a slightly different test.”
Celotex, 115 S. Ct. at 1499 n.6. Even more importantly,
this Court cited the Sixth Circuit’s decision in Salem
Mortgage—which applied the exact same rule of law as
did the opinion below—as one of the many circuit opin-
ions that had followed the approved portion of Pacor
with little or no variation.
Indeed, it is evident from opinions rendered after Pacor,
that the Third Circuit perceives no conflict with its sister
circuits and has retreated from the very narrow facet of
Pacor upon which the Tort Committee places total reliance,
i.e., that a claim against a third party must “automatically”
create liability against the debtor to fall within the court’s
“related to” jurisdiction.* Thus, in Im re Marcus Hook
*It is also important to note that the Sixth Circuit below, apply-
ing the approach that has pervaded its analysis and the analysis of
12
Development Park, Inc., 943 F.2d 261 (3d Cir. 1991),
the Third Circuit held that “related to” jurisdiction existed
over an action between two third parties relating to prop-
erty that had once been part of the debtor’s estate, even
though there was no certainty that resolution of the dispute
would have any impact on the debtor’s estate. Construing
the very statutory subsection at issue here, the Third Cir-
cuit repeatedly quoted from and relied upon decisions from
the Fifth and Sixth Circuits, including Salem:
A proceeding is related to bankruptcy if “the out-
come of that proceeding could conceivably have any
effect on the estate being administered in bankruptcy,”
Pacor, Inc. v. Higgins, 743 F.2d 984, 994 (3d Cir.
1984) (emphasis in original). Accord In re Fietz,
825 F.2d 455, 457 (9th Cir. 1988); Matter of Wood,
825 F.2d at 93 [Sth Cir. 1987]; In re Dogpatch
U.S.A., Inc., 810 F.2d 782, 786 (8th Cir. 1987);
In re A.H. Robins Co., Inc., 788 F.2d 994, 1002
n.11 (4th Cir.), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 876, 107 S.
Ct. 251, 93 L. Ed.2d 177 (1986); In re Salem
Mortgage Co., 783 F.2d 626, 634 (6th Cir. 1986).
A key word in this test is “conceivable.” Certainty,
or even likelihood, is not a requirement. In re
Wolverine Radio Co., 930 F.2d at 1143 [6th Cir.
1991]. Bankruptcy jurisdiction will exist so long as
other circuit courts for over a decade, indicated that the facts before
it distinguished this case from Pacor. The Sixth Circuit held that:
[T]here is a qualitative difference between the single suit in-
volved in Pacor and the overwhelming number of cases asserted
against Dow Corning and the nondebtor defendants in this
case. A single possible claim for indemnification or contribu-
tion simply does not represent the same kind of threat to a
debtor’s reorganization plan as that posed by the thousands of
potential indemnification claims at issue here. Cognizant of the
fact that “related to” jurisdiction cannot be limitless and con-
cerned about granting benefits of the automatic stay in bank-
ruptcy to solvent co-defendants, we nevertheless believe the pos-
sibility of contribution or indemnification liability in this case
is far from attenuated.
Committee Pet. App. at 20-21a.
13
it is possible that a proceedin g may impact on “the
debtor’s rights, liabilities, options, or freedom of ac-
tion” or the “handling and administration of the
bankrupt estate.” In re Smith, 866 F.2d 576, 580
(3d Cir. 1989). Accord Pacor, Inc. v. Higgins, 743
F.2d at 994.
943 F.2d at 264 (emphasis in original, bracketed notations
supplied). Accordingly, even if the Third Circuit may
have started out in a slightly different position as to how
the “related to” standard applies, subsequent rulings of
that court make clear that it views its position as in accord
with the other circuits.’ See also Torkelsen v. Maggio (In
re Guild and Gallery Plus, Inc.), 72 F.3d 1171, 1181
(3d Cir. 1996) (applying Marcus Hook holding). There
® The argument of the O’Quinn Petitioners, that the opinion below
splits with the Second and Eleventh Circuits, borders on frivolous.
The Eleventh Circuit correctly noted that the decision in Salem
Mortgage—in a specific holding that was directly quoted and re-
affirmed in the opinion below—was among the more conservative
opinions on the issue of “related to” jurisdiction, because it required
that the connection to the estate not be overly remote. See Miller
v. Kemira (In re Lemco Gypsum, Inc.), 910 F.2d 784, 788 (11th Cir.
1990) (citing Salem approvingly and noting Sixth Circuit’s con-
servative requirement that possibility of effect on estate not be
remote). In the opinion below, the Sixth Circuit, citing Salem,
again reaffirmed that “ ‘situations may arise where an extremely
tenuous connection to the estate would not satisfy the jurisdictional
requirement’ of Section 1334(b).” Committee Pet. App. at 10a
(citing Robinson v. Michigan Consolidated Gas Co., Inc., 918 F.2d
579, 584 (6th Cir. 1990), citing Salem Mortgage, 788 F.2d at 634).
Like this Court, the Sixth Circuit has repeatedly made clear that
“related to” jurisdiction is not limitless.
The contention of a split with the Second Circuit is equally mis-
guided. The O’Quinn Petition alleges a split with the Second Cir-
cuit based on one line in Jn re Turner, 724 F.2d 338 (2d Cir. 1988),
in which that court noted that a “significant connection” to the
estate was lacking in the case before it. In addition to the fact
that this Court cited the Turner opinion in Celoter and found no
split, there is simply no divergence between the Turner holding
and that of the Sixth Circuit.
14
is simply no existing circuit conflict warranting this
Court’s review.°
Petitioners present no basis for disturbing the Sixth
Circuit’s application of well-settled precedent to the facts
of this mass tort bankruptcy. The claims of the tort plain-
tiffs against Baxter are at least as closely “related to” the
Debtor’s bankruptcy as the claims of numerous entities as
to whom jurisdiction was upheld in cases cited without
objection by this Court in Celotex.
Baxter is a co-defendant with the Debtor in single
causes of action that, in the aggregate, were the cause of
the Debtor’s resort to Chapter 11. It is a co-defendant,
either because a plaintiff received multiple implants manu-
factured by both Heyer-Schulte and the Debtor, or be-
cause—if a Heyer-Schulte implant alone was at issue—
every single implant ever made by Heyer-Schulte contained
a silicone component manufactured by the Debtor. As a
Co-defendant, Baxter has contingent, unliquidated claims
for contribution and indemnity the size of which will be
determined exclusively by the success of the plaintiffs’
claims against Baxter. Moreover, as a party potentially
co-liable with the Debtor, Baxter has the right to file, and
intends timely to file, claims in the bankruptcy case for
every Claimant who asserts claims against Baxter for which
* Respondents recognize that the Seventh Circuit, citing no judi-
cial precedent but its own, has applied a slightly more restrictive
inquiry. See In re Fedpack Systems, Inc., 80 F.3d 207 (7th Cir.
1996). Seemingly defensive about its decision not to follow the
otherwise universal “conceivable effect” standard, that circuit court
noted that “[wJhile the United States Supreme Court appears to
favor a broad interpretation, it has not mandated such an ap-
proach.” Id. at 218. The Seventh Circuit’s somewhat more conserva-
tive variation of the Pacor test scarcely constitutes a split with its
sisters. In any event, that the Seventh Circuit might apply a
“slightly different test” Celotez, supra, 115 S. Ct. at 1499 n.16, is
surely no reason to grant certiorari on a centrist opinion issued by
the Sixth Circuit and on facts that would readily satisfy the
Seventh Circuit standard.
15
the Debtor may be co-liable. 11 U.S.C. § 501(b); Fed.
R. Bankr. P. 3005. Indeed, Baxter has already filed over
13,000 such claims in the Debtor’s bankruptcy proceedings.
Although acknowledging that billions of dollars are at
stake, petitioners nevertheless maintain that it is a “flight
of advocates’ fancy” (Committee Pet. at 18) to assume
that any of the Co-defendants would seek indemnity or
contribution from the company that was both the domi-
nant manufacturer of breast implants and the prircipal
supplier of raw materials used by other manufacturers
in the production of breast implants. If a flight of fancy
is anywhere to be found, it is in this contention. Baxter
fully intends timely to file all proofs of claim necessary
to preserve its legal rights against the Debtor.
Indeed, the repeated assertions in the Petitions that the
Co-defendants have not yet filed contribution and indem-
nity claims—from which the petitioners ask this Court
to draw various conclusions—are of no moment. The
deadline for filing such claims is January 15, 1997. As
Baxter has told every court and every attorney in this
case from its inception, Baxter will file the claims neces-
Sary to preserve its rights by that date. Furthermore, it is
ironic that the same plaintiffs who filed complaints assert-
ing joint and several liability against Baxter and the Deb-
tor now assert that there is no conceivable connection be-
tween their cases against Baxter and their cases against
the Debtor—cases severed only because of the Debtor’s
intervening bankruptcy filing.
If, CONTRARY TO PETITIONERS’ ASSERTION, THE
SIXTH CIRCUIT WAS ENTIRELY CORRECT IN
ITS READING OF 28 U.S.C. § 157(b)(5).
Petitioners also argue that the court below erred in
holding that 28 U.S.C. § 157(b)(5) allows a district
court to fix the trial venue of breast implant cases pend-
ing against Baxter and other Co-defendants that are “re-
lated to” the Debtor’s bankruptcy proceedings pursuant
to Section 1334(b). The Sixth Circuit’s holding, argue
16
petitioners, is not only a “misreading” of the statute but
also a threat to “the balance struck by Congress in setting
forth the powers of courts sitting in bankruptcy.” Com-
mittee Pet. at 19; O’Quinn Pet. at 17. On the contrary,
the holding of the Sixth Circuit is based squarely on the
only logical reading of the text of the statute, is consistent
with the few cases that have interpreted it, and unques-
tionably promotes the statute's “oft-stated goal of central-
izing the administration of a bankruptcy estate.” Com-
mittee Pet. App. at 26a.
Petitioners’ argument is based on words not found in
the statute rather than on the language of the statute itself.
First, petitioners note that the word “transfer” does not
appear in the text of § 157(b)(5), and from this conclude
American World Airways, Inc. (In re Pan Am Corp.), 16
F.3d 513 (2d Cir. 1994); Coker v. Pan American World
Airways, Inc. (In re Pan American Corp.), 950 F.2d 839
(2d Cir. 1991); A.A. Robins Co., Inc. v. Piccinin (In re
A.H. Robins Co., Inc.), 788 F.2d 994 (4th Cir.), cert.
denied, 479 U.S. 876 (1986); Calumet National Bank v.
er ae
17
omitted). Transfer is the only efficient means by which to
accomplish these goals.
Recognizing the enormous implications to any Dow
Corning reorganization posed by the thousands of poten-
tial contribution and indemnity claims held by the Co-
defendants, the Sixth Circuit fully embraced the Fourth
Circuit’s reasoning in A.H. Robins that, especially in the
context of a mass tort case, the centralization of all per-
sonal injury claims “increases the debtor's odds of devel-
oping a reasonable plan of reorganization which will ‘work
a rehabilitation of the debtor and at the same time assure
fair and non-preferential resolution of the . . . claims.’” |
Committee Pet. App. at 24a, citing A.H. Robins, 788 F.2d )
at 1011. Petitioners offer no reason, compelling or other-
wise, to disturb the Sixth Circuit’s correct application of
§ 157(b) (5) to the facts of this case.
IV. THE PETITIONS PRESENT NO ISSUE OF “DOC-
TRINAL SIGNIFICANCE” THAT WARRANTS RE-
VIEW BY THIS COURT.
The issue of national importance purportedly raised by .
petitioners is that under the rule of law applied by the )
Sixth Circuit here, legions of tort claims that should prop- .
erly be prosecuted in state courts will now improperly be
placed in the “deep freeze” of bankruptcy. A review of |
the statutory structure and of the subsequent events on
remand in this case make clear that this alleged concern
18
[t]he abstention visions of 28 U.S.C. § 1334(c)
qualify Section 1334(b)’s broad grant of jurisdiction.
It is for the district court to “determine in each in-
dividual case whether hearing it would promote or
impair efficient and fair adjudication of bankruptcy
cases.”
Committee Pet. App. at 27a (citing Salem, supra).*
In sum, petitioners’ policy concerns are as exaggerated
as their legal issues are premature. Accordingly, the Court
should decline to review this case.
8 See also Wood v. Wood (In re Wood), 825 F.2d 90, 98 (5th Cir.
1987) (“the abstention provisions of the Act demonstrate the
intent of Congress that concerns of comity and judicial convenience
should be met, not by rigid limitations on the jurisdiction of federal
courts, but by the discretionary exercise of abstention when appro-
priate in a particular case) ; Miller v. Kemira (In re Lemco Gypsum,
Inc.), 910 F.2d 784, 788 n.16 (llth Cir. 1990) (“[wle agree with
the Fifth Circuit’s opinion in Wood that the abstention provisions
of 28 U.S.C. §1884(c) (1) (1988) at least partially address the
comity issue and obviate the need for an overly restrictive inter-
pretation of the jurisdictional grant of § 18384(b)”).
19
CONCLUSION
The petitions for a writ of certiorari should be denied.
THOMAS E. Pirts, JR.
SHELLEY C. CHAPMAN
SIDLEY & AUSTIN
875 Third Avenue
New York, NY 10022
(212) 906-2000
JuDY O’ NEILL
LAURA J, EISELE
DYKEMA GOSSETT PLLC
400 Renaissance Center
Detroit, MI 482438
(313) 568-6800
Respectfully submitted,
CARTER G. PHILLIPs *
SIDLEY & AUSTIN
1722 Eye Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20006
(202) 736-8000
LARRY J. NYHAN
JAMES F’, CONLAN
SIDLEY & AUSTIN
One First National Plaza
Chicago, IL 60603
(312) 858-7000
Counsel for Respondents Baxter International Inc. and
Baxter Healthcare Corporation
November 27, 1996
* Counsel of Record
APPENDIX
wy
We
ee
—
RON a eter ee
~
oo
on
la
APPENDIX
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
EASTERN DISTRICT OF MICHIGAN
SOUTHERN DIVISION
Case No. 95-CV-72397-DT
Hon. Denise PaGE Hoop
IN RE: Dow CorNING CORPORATION,
Debtor.
MEMORANDUM OPINION AND ORDER
ON REMAND REGARDING SECTION 1334(C)
ABSTENTION
I. INTRODUCTION:
This matter is before the Court on remand from the
United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit. In
re: Dow Corning Corporation, Nos. 95-2034/2082/2084/
2106/2107, 86 F.3d 482 (6th Cir. 1996) (Amended).
This Court previously entered an order finding that it did
not have subject matter jurisdiction over the tort claims
against the nondebtor defendants pursuant to 28 U.S.C.
§ 157(b)(5). The Sixth Circuit reversed this Court’s
determination on this issue and found that this Court had
subject matter jurisdiction over the tort claims pending
against the nondebtor defendants pursuant to 28 U.S.C.
§ 157(b)(5). The Sixth Circuit remanded this case on
the issue of whether or not this Court should abstain from
the tort claims against the nondebtors pursuant to 28
U.S.C. § 1334(c)(1) and/or (2).
2a
II. ANALYSIS:
A. Whether this Court must abstain or, alternatively,
exercise its discretion to abstain pursuant to 28
U.S.C. § 1334(c).
1. Mandatory Abstention.
The Sixth Circuit has concluded that this Court has
“related to” jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1334(b)
over the actions pending against the nondebtors Dow
Chemical, Corning Incorporated, Minnesota Mining, Bax-
ter, and Bristol-Myers Squibb in nonbankruptcy forums
nationwide. In re Dow Corning Corp., supra at 494. In
a section 157(b)(5) motion, an abstention analysis is
required. In re Pan American Corp., 950 F.2d 839, 844
(2nd Cir. 1991); In re Dow Corning Corp., supra at 497.
The Tort Claimants’ briefs and other claimants’ objections
and responses to the nondebtors’ motions under Section
157(b)(5) requested this Court to abstain under 28
U.S.C. § 1334(c).
Section 1334(c) qualifies Section 1334(b)’s broad
grant of jurisdiction. In re Dow Corning Corp. at 497.
There are two types of abstention under Section 1334(c):
discretionary abstention under 28 U.S.C. § 1334(c)(1)
and mandatory abstention under 28 U.S.C. § 1334(c) (2).
Id. Mandatory abstention will be addressed first.
In order for mandatory abstention to apply, a proceed-
ing must: 1) be based on a state law claim or cause of
action; 2) lack a federal jurisdictional basis absent the
bankruptcy; 3) be commenced in a state forum of appro-
priate jurisdiction; 4) be capable of timely adjudication;
and 5) be a non-core proceeding. /d.
As to the first factor, the claims and causes of action
at issue against the nondebtors are personal injury tort
claims which are essentially state law claims. Addressing
the second factor, this Court notes that the Sixth Circuit
held that this Court has “related to” bankruptcy jurisdic-
3a
tion over the nondebtors. The personal injury tort actions
against the nondebtors are not proceedings which need a
determination under the bankruptcy laws and do not
arise in a bankruptcy case. Absent the bankruptcy of the
debtor in this matter, this Court would lack federal juris-
diction over the actions against the nondebtors.' With re-
spect to the third factor, there have been no allegations
that the actions against the nondebtors have not been
commenced in a state forum of appropriate jurisdiction.
Satisfying the fourth factor, the parties have informed the
Court that there are numerous cases ready for trial against
the nondebtors. Furthermore, the Honorable Sam C.
Pointer, Jr. in his March 19, 1996 (Order 29) and April
16, 1996 (Order 29B) orders and the Multidistrict Litiga-
tion Panel’s April 10, 1996 Conditional Remand Order,
indicate there are numerous cases against the nondebtors
which are indeed ready for trial.
Considering the fifth factor, the Court must determine
whether the actions against the nondebtors are non-core
proceedings. There are two categories of core proceed-
ings: proceedings “arising under” title 11 and proceedings
“arising in” title 11. Jn re Harris Pine Mills, 44 F.3d
1431, 1435 (9th Cir. 1995), cert. denied, 115 S.Ct. 2555
(1995). Proceedings “arising under” title 11 “involve a
cause of action created or determined by a statutory pro-
vision of title 11.” Jd. Proceedings “arising in” title 11
are a reference to those “administrative” matters that
1 The only cases against the nondebtors over which this Court
would have jurisdiction, sitting in the Eastern District of Michigan,
are those cases that involve complete diversity. The Court notes
that most of the cases involving the nondebtors also include the
Debtor Dow Corning Corporation which would defeat this Court’s
diversity jurisdiction. (See the Court’s Discretionary Abstention
analysis, infra.) The Court notes that mandatory abstention also
apply to removed cases. William v. Shell Oil Co., 169 B.R. 684, 690-
691 (S.D. Cal. 1994). The Court further notes that absent the
bankruptcy, the Court has no jurisdiction over the cases against the
nondebtors where the claims arose outside of the Eastern District
of Michigan.
4a
arise only in bankruptcy cases and are not based on any
right expressly created by title 11, but nevertheless, would
have no existence outside of the bankruptcy. Jd. Section
157(b)(2) provides a nonexclusive list of proceedings
which are core proceedings. Non-core proceedings are
only “related to” a case under title 11. Jd. at 1435. A
non-core proceeding “does not invoke a substantive right
created by the federal bankruptcy law and is one that
could exist outside of bankruptcy.” Jd.
Personal injury tort or wrongful death claims are ex-
cluded from the catalog of core proceedings by 28 U.S.C.
§ 157(b)(2)(B) and (O) which state in pertinent part:
(b) (2) Core proceedings include, but are not limited
to—
* * *
(B) allowance or disallowances of claims against
the estate or exemptions from property of the estate,
and estimation of claims or interests for the purposes
of confirming a plan under chapter 11, 12, or 13 of
title 11 But not the liquidation or estimation of con-
tingent or unliquidated personal injury tort or wrong-
ful death claims against the estate for purposes of
distribution in a case under title 11;
(O) other proceedings affecting the liquidation of
assets of the estate or the adjustment of the debtor-
creditor or the equity security holder relationship,
except personal injury tort or wrongful death claims.
28 U.S.C. § 157(b)(2)(B) and (QO) (emphasis added).
In re Hughes, 98 B.R. 115, 118 (D.C. 1988). The ac-
tions against the nondebtor defendants are non-core pro-
ceedings under 28 U.S.C. § 157.
Section 157(b)(4) provides that “[nJon-core proceed-
ings under § 157(b)(2)(B) of title 28 [liquidation of
personal injury tort or wrongful death cases], shall not be
subject to the mandatory abstention provisions of Sec-
tion 1334(c)(2).” In re Pan Am, 950 F.2d at 845; 28
5a
U.S.C. § 157(b) (4). As indicated above, the non-core
proceedings included in Section 157(b)(2)(B) are “liqui-
dation or estimation of contingent or unliquidated personal
injury tort or wrongful death claims against the estate for
purposes of distribution in a case under title 11.” (Em-
phasis added). Here, the personal injury and/or wrong-
ful death tort actions are not “against the estate” of the
debtor but against the nondebtors. Consequently, the non-
core proceedings and actions against the nondebtors are
not exempt from mandatory abstention under Section
157(b)(4). Moreover, 28 U.S.C. § 1334(c)(2) pro-
vides for mandatory abstention in cases involving state
law claims for which the sole basis of bankruptcy juris-
diction is “related to” jurisdiction. Celotex Corp. v. Ed-
wards, 115 S.Ct. 1493, 1506, note 10 (1995) (Stevens,
J., dissenting). In the instant case, the Sixth Circuit held
that this Court had Section 1334(b) or “related to” jur-
isdiction over the actions pending against the nondebtors
in nonbankruptcy forums nationwide. In re Dow Corn-
ing, supra at 494. Based on the above, the Court finds
that the four factors calling for mandatory exemption
under Section 1334(c)(2) have been met.
2. Discretionary Abstention.
Alternatively, the Court exercises its discretion to re
mand pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1334(c)(1). Section
1334(c)(1) provides:
Nothing in this section prevents a district court in the
interest of justice, or in the interest of comity with
State courts or respect for State law, from abstaining
from hearing a particular proceeding arising under
title 11 or arising in or related to a case under
title 11.
In In re White Motor Credit, 761 F.2d 270 (1985), the
Sixth Circuit noted:
. . . federal courts should be hesitant to exercise
jurisdiction when state issues substantially predomi-
6a
nate, whether in terms of proof, of the scope of the
issues raised, or of the comprehensiveness of the rem-
edy sought.
Id. at 274 (quotations omitted). Here, the personal
injury/tort claims against the nondebtors are predomi-
nantly state law claims. The proof and scope of issues
in dispute and the comprehensiveness of the remedies
sought varies state to state. The Sixth Circuit in Jn re
White Motor further noted that:
. . . in large bankruptcy cases with hundreds or even
thousands of tort litigants beating on the door of one
federal judge, . . . at least judicial economy and ex-
peditiousness, may depend on the court’s authority
to refer cases to other courts. Since the 1984 Bank-
ruptcy Act prevents reference of these tort cases to
bankruptcy courts, as in the past, it makes good sense
to give the district courts wide latitude in referring
the cases through abstention to other courts.
Id. The Court finds that discretionary abstention from
the cases against the nondebtors would best serve the in-
terest of justice and comity. Waiting until the estimation
and confirmation of a plan of reorganization before the
actions against the nondebtors are liquidated would not
result in a more precise estimation of the assets needed
by the debtor’s estate to cover any indemnification and
contribution claims against the debtor’s estate. The esti-
mation of any possible indemnification and contribution
claims by the nondebtors against the debtor’s bankruptcy
estate would not be any different than if the cases against
the nondebtors proceed to trial at this stage. To the con-
trary, as the various trials proceed against the nondebtors,
a clearer picture would emerge as to whether the non-
debtors would have any indemnification or contribution
claims against the debtor’s estate.
The Sixth Circuit opinion addresses the Joint Insurance
issue between Dow Corning, Dow Chemical and Corning
Ta
Incorporated finding that the Court had “related to” jur-
isdiction based on the Joint Insurance between the parties.
The Sixth Circuit opinion does not address the Joint In-
surance issue as it pertains to the abstention issue. This
Court addresses this issue as it relates to the interest of
justice and comity issues which must be addressed in an
analysis of discretionary abstention. Although Dow Chem-
ical has apparently notified insurers that it is asserting
claims against the jointly-held policies, it has been argued
that as to Dow Chemical, the joint policies are in fact
excess policies and that Dow Chemical has sufficient pri-
mary insurance. (Ex. A, p. 5, Official Committee of Tort
Claimants’ Brief, filed June 7, 1996). The Sixth Circuit's
opinion addresses the insurance issue from the point of
view of whether the Debtor’s estate will have sufficient
resources. The Debtor itself has not put forth proof that
its estate would be dissipated based upon the “threat”
posed to those insurance policies by Dow Chemical and
Corning Incorporated. In The Matter of Zale Corp., 62
F.3d 746 (Sth Cir. 1995), the Fifth Circuit found that
even if the bankruptcy court had “related to” jurisdiction
over certain insurance policies with indemnification con-
tracts, a nondebtor should not be shielded by the powers
of the bankruptcy court. /d. at 760-761. The Bank-
ruptcy Code discharges the Debtor’s liabilities and not
those owed by third parties. Jd. at 760, notes 42, 43, and
44; 11 U.S.C. §524(e). If the Court does not abstain
from the tort claims against the nondebtors, the tort claims
against the nondebtors would effectively be determined
by this Court which would be contrary to 11 U.S.C.
§ 524(e). Section 524(e) does not allow the Bankruptcy
Code to be used to discharge the debts of nondebtors. /d.,
at 760, notes 42, 43, and 44. The Court finds that the
“threat” posed to the insurance policies by the nondebtors
does not overcome factors in favor of discretionary ab-
stention. Specifically, the Court finds the interests of jus-
tice and comity weigh in favor of discretionary abstention.
8a
Ill, CONCLUSION:
This Court finds that the cases against the nondebtors
are subject to mandatory abstention under 28 U.S.C.
§ 1334(c)(2). Alternatively, the Court finds that in the
interest of justice, comity and judicial economy, it will
exercise its discretion to abstain from the cases against
the nondebtors under 28 U.S.C. § 1334(c) (1).
Accordingly,
IT IS ORDERED that the actions against the non-
debtor defendants are subject to mandatory abstention
under 28 U.S.C. § 1334(c) (2); alternatively,
IT IS ORDERED that the Court will exercise its dis-
cretion to ABSTAIN from the cases against the non-
debtors under 28 U.S.C. § 1334(c) (1).
DATED: Jui. 30, 1996
/s/ Denise Page Hood
DENISE PAGE Hoop
United States District Judge
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.