Opposition Brief — Taylor v. Meacham
Supreme Court brief1996
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
Supreme Court, U.S. a | |
~ FILED
Ci AUG 20 1996
No. 96-211 eames
In The
Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1995
S
DALE TAYLOR,
Petitioner,
vs.
LLOYD MEACHAM and UINTAH COUNTY,
Respondents.
On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Tenth Circuit
¢
BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
S
Rosert R. WALLACE,
Counsel of Record
Attorney for Respondents
4 Triad Center, Suite 500
Salt Lake City, Utah 84180
(801) 363-7611
COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831
i
ISSUES PRESENTED FOR REVIEW
Whether this Court should reassess the complex,
voluminous facts and determine the propriety of the fac-
tual analysis made by the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals,
through which analysis Petitioner was denied relief?
Whether this Court should give an advisory opinion
on the existence of a federal claim for malicious prosecu-
tion, where 1) a decision that such a cause of action exists
would merely affirm the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals’
recognition of such a cause, yet leave Petitioner without
relief because, as a matter of fact, he was not entitled to
relief under such a cause of action, and 2) a decision that
no such cause of action exists would eliminate the legal
basis of Petitioner’s claims, also leaving him without
relief?
If there is a federal cause of action for malicious
prosecution, whether this Court should issue an advisory
opinion clarifying the elements thereof, where all circuit
courts agree that one element is lack of probable cause,
and where Petitioner’s claims were dismissed because
factually there was ample probable cause for the actions
taken against him?
il
LIST OF ALL PARTIES
The caption in this Court contains the names of all of
the parties.
iil
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
ISSUES PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ................ i
I ss 5 oo oss vaca cencscsasncece ii
Os ok San os ud ovens duvenbdavesds iii
pe ee or. iv
CITATIONS OF THE OFFICIAL REPORT........... 1
STATEMENT OF BASIS OF JURISDICTION ........ 1
STATEMENT OF THE CASE (FACTS).............. 1
MISSTATEMENTS OF FACT ............00.cceeeees 17
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS, TREATIES, STAT-
UTES, ORDINANCES AND REGULATIONS ..... 18
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT...................000. 18
CTE CUR eis Waka Apa eke vd sh ne iscen bcc’ 19
POINT I PETITIONER ASKS THIS COURT
TO REASSESS IMMENSE FACTUAL
DATA, NOT A USUAL FUNCTION
Se EN EE 0S An asa Ad eb stnsascese 19
POINT II A DECISION ON THE ASSERTED
LEGAL ISSUE WOULD NOT PRO-
VIDE PETITIONER ANY RELIEF
AND WOULD BE AN ADVISORY
ORT ESOL ET TERT ERT STL CT EEE 21
Ec Ub AE UA5 0's bia us ov ka scuba vauheds 24
iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES
Graver Mfg. Co. v. Linde Co., 336 U.S. 271 (1949)..... 19
National Bank of Oregon v. Insurance Agents, 508
8 eR i ey ee error 21
NLRB v. Hendricks County Rural Electric Corp., 454
OS 26 OOo). kv koe 19
Preiser v. Newkirk, 422 U.S. 395, 95 S.Ct. 2330
SR ea ia oe eae ue ere 21
Taylor v. Meacham/Uintah County, 82 F.3d 1556
Peeee Ao Se Ss sob vo'b.ce awk EERG cewek ene eee eeu 1
Texas v. Mead, 465 U.S. 1041 (1984).................. 19
United States v. Johnston, 268 U.S. 220 (1925)......... 19
STATUTES
Pk Toe | Are eS Per errs ee ere es oe 1
ie ess Te Ca Sade ean 65k ees eens Ok as 18, 21
RULES
Rule 10, Rules of the Supreme Court of the United
NE 6a se Bk ees 4 len Vike AG Oa OS Cw a i 1, 19
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS
Fourth Amendment, United States Constitution...... 18
Fourteenth Amendment, United States Constitu-
SE ee
CITATIONS OF THE OFFICIAL REPORT
Taylor v. Meacham/Uintah County, 82 F.3d 1556 (10th
Cir. 1996)
STATEMENT OF BASIS OF JURISDICTION
The Petitioner has 90 days from the date of judgment
to petition this Court for certiorari. Judgment was
entered May 7, 1996. Jurisdiction is not contested under
28 U.S.C. § 1254 and Rule 10, Rules of the Supreme Court
of the United States (1995).
¢
STATEMENT OF THE CASE (FACTS)
Petitioner was arrested pursuant to warrant and
charged with an eighteen year old homicide. After having
been bound over for trial following a two-day prelimi-
nary hearing, DNA results from some untagged, uniden-
tified women’s pants, which may or may not have been
the victim’s, resulted in the prosecutor dismissing the
charges. Petitioner sued for malicious prosecution. The
district court granted summary judgment. The Tenth Cir-
cuit Court of Appeals affirmed.
A. The crime, generally, and the initial probable cause
regarding the Petitioner.
1. On or about November 26, 1972, a murder
occurred in Uintah County, Utah (hereafter the
“County”). Gregory Nickells was shot and killed while
sitting in his car with a female companion at a remote
overlook. The female companion, Ranelle Stanger (hereaf-
ter sometimes referred to as “the Victim”), was raped and
eventually released by the murderer and his companion.
2. After the homicide, Susan Dixon, Petitioner’s
Stepdaughter (hereafter “the Stepdaughter”) talked to
Detective Ladd of the Salt Lake County Sheriff’s Office,
declaring that her stepfather, the Petitioner, had admitted
to the murder under circumstances which indicated his
involvement. (Supp. App.! at 1-150.) See paras. 25-32,
below, for details.
3. She was so reliable that a recorded statement was
taken from her, before Detective Ladd and Don Sawaya of
the Salt Lake County Attorney’s Office. (Supp. App. at
1-14.)
4. Susan Dixon was even willing to take a poly-
graph examination concerning her statements. (Supp.
App. at 14.)
5. Her statement was so reliable that it was sent to
Arden Stewart, the Uintah County Sheriff, for his use.
However, Sheriff Stewart does not recall ever having
received the transcribed statement. (Supp. App. at 192.)
6. Sheriff Stewart later opined that that statement
must have been accidentally placed in an inactive or
completed portion of his investigation file. (Supp. App. at
196.)
7. Sheriff Stewart’s investigation became inactive.
1 References to Supp. App. are to the Supplemental
Appendix filed with the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals.
ee
B. Additional investigation by Sheriff Meacham.
8. In 1991, Lloyd Meacham, the Respondent herein
(hereafter “the Sheriff”), was Sheriff of the County and
began to review the unsolved murder. (Supp. App. at
203.)
9. He came across the transcribed statement of
Susan Dixon and found it so reliable that he began doing
follow-up on it. (Supp. App. at 212, 462.)
10. He re-interviewed the Stepdaughter (by then
Susan Dixon Saxton) twice. (Supp. App. at 15-65, 203-204,
210-217).
11. He re-interviewed the Victim (by then Ranelle
Simmons) twice. (Supp. App. at 206-210, 219-254,
255-271.)
12. He did significant other follow-up investigation.
C. Independent actions by the County Attorney and
Judges leading to Petitioner’s arrest and incarcera-
tion.
13. Eventually, Sheriff Meacham went to the Uintah
County Attorney with the evidence for screening for
prosecution. The County Attorney, in an independent
review, found the information so reliable that he felt
sufficient probable cause existed and authorized prosecu-
tion pursuant to Utah Code Ann. § 17-18-1(1)(b) and
(3)(b); § 77-2-1; Rule 5(b) Ut.R.Crim.Proc.
14. An Affidavit of Probable Cause concerning the
murder was prepared; it was executed by Sheriff Meac-
ham before the Honorable A. Lynn Payne, State District
Judge, on or about August 11, 1992, who issued an arrest
warrant. (Supp. App. at 197-218, 292).
15. On September 10, and 11, 1992, a two-day pre-
liminary hearing was held before a different judge, the
Honorable John R. Anderson. Petitioner was represented
by counsel, and confronted the witnesses against him.
(Supp. App. at 66-150, 151-196, 273-384, 385-415, 416-427,
428-437, 438-460, 461-501.) The witnesses included the
Stepdaughter and the Victim. (Supp. App. at 66-150,
273-384.)
16. After the preliminary hearing, the court found
the testimony of the Stepdaughter and the Victim suffi-
cient for probable cause and bound the Petitioner over for
trial.
D. The Murder, Kidnapping and Rape.
17. The Victim stated that on November 26, 1972,
she and a Gregory Nickells had parked at an overlook
near Vernal, Utah in the evening. (Supp. App. at 198, 206,
307-308.)
18. A stranger tapped on the car window, indicating
that he had had car trouble. (Supp. App. at 198, 206, 310.)
The stranger then pulled a gun and shot Greg several
times. (Supp. App. at 198, 313.) The Victim describes the
shooting in some detail, including seeing fire shoot out of
the muzzle of the gun, a fact relating to shooting not
generally known unless experienced. (Supp. App. at 207,
502.)
19. The murderer then got into the car, pushing
Greg over onto the Victim, and drove away. (Supp. App.
acini sciatica
at 198, 314), soon linking up with another car driven by
an accomplice. (Supp. App. at 198-199, 207, 279, 324, 326.)
20. Eventually the Victim was raped by the mur-
derer (Supp. App. at 199, 207, 280, 325, 505), and later by
the accomplice (Supp. App. at 199, 207, 285, 340, 342, 343,
507).
21. The perpetrators eventually burned Greg’s car
with his body in it. (Supp. App. at 199, 207.)
22. The perpetrators eventually released the Victim
who ran to a rural home, where she broke down emo-
tionally in front of the residents, which added to her
credibility. (Supp. App. at 200, 508.)
23. The authorities found the burned car with
Greg’s body in it, consistent with her story. (Supp. App.
at 153, 201.)
24. The Victim was examined at a hospital, and
given a polygraph, showing her reliable. (Supp. App. at
240-241.)
E. Probable Cause for Petitioner’s Arrest.
The following probable cause known to the Sheriff is
just part of the evidence of guilt known at the time.
Evidence is often broken into two parts, (a) evidence
known prior to arrest, most of which was presented in
the affidavit for the search warrant, and (b) corroborating
evidence known after arrest.
- =
6
(1) Petitioner admitted/confessed to committing
the murder under circumstances which indi-
cated that he did.
(a) Probable Cause Known Prior to Peti-
tioner’s Arrest.
25. The Stepdaughter stated? and testified® that on
November 26, 1972, her stepfather, the Petitioner, came
home in Salt Lake City about 10:00 a.m. (Supp. App. at 1,
204.)
26. He was “upset, anxious, pacing, paranoid.”
(Supp. App. at 1, 2, 68, 144-145, 204.)
27. He smelled like a bonfire, strong smoke smell.
(Supp. App. at 1, 204-205, 213.)
28. He left and returned at 7:00 p.m., still “para-
noid, anxious.” (Supp. App. at 1, 16, 144, 204, 213.) He
kept looking outside through the curtains. (Supp. App. at
204-205.) She testified, “I’ve never seen him like that. I’ve
seen him a lot of ways, but not like that.” (Supp. App. at
144-145, 205.)
29. When asked why he was so nervous, he confes-
sed that he had “just killed a guy, shot him and then
burned him up in a car.” (Supp. App. at 2, 7, 15, 70,
120-121, 143-144, 145.)
2 References to statements or reporting are to statements
given other than testimony.
3 References to testifying are to the preliminary hearing
testimony.
30. He stated that he had killed the man over a drug
deal which had gone sour, and mentioned the name of
the murder victim, Nickells. (Supp. App. at 121, 202, 204.)
31. Later, on the 10:00 p.m. news, the Stepdaughter
heard of the homicide in Vernal and the Victim’s having
been burned in his car. just as the Petitioner had
described. (Supp. App. at 5, 15, 22, 119, 205, 211.)
32. He described what had happened “before it was
even on the news.” (Supp. App. at 15, 119, 205, 211.)
Detective Ladd verified that the first news report of the
incident was at 10:00 p.m., enhancing the Stepdaughter’s
reliability.
(b) Probable Cause Known Shortly After
Arrest Corroborating the Original Proba-
ble Cause.
33. Timothy Kent Redman was a prisoner housed in
the cell with the Petitioner during Petitioner’s prelimi-
nary hearing. After he talked with the Petitioner, he
wrote down notes of the conversations, and gave a state-
ment. (Supp. App. at 510-519.)
34. Petitioner told his cellmate that his:
[D]aughter-in-law remembers what he said that
day after he killed soldier boy. Whatever that
means. Okay, um, said his wife is scared, won’t
say anything against him because she’s scared
to.
(Supp. App. at 511.) The mention of “soldier boy” added
reliability to the cellmate. The murder Victim had
recently been discharged from the service, a fact
unknown to the cellmate.
35. The cellmate stated:
Then he [Petitioner] . . . said something after
[the] preliminary [hearing] that he was lucky
that the chick that was in the car couldn’t
remember that he was left handed ‘cause some-
thin about twirling a gun. He was twirlin’ a gun
and she remembered the wrong hand so he was
really lucky.
(Supp. App. at 511.)
36. Redman continued:
Apparently somethin’ happened. He said they
drew a picture of the cowboy hat on him and
she, he was scared she was goin’ to remember
him that way with the hat on it. He was nervous
about that. I don’t know if that makes any sense.
It, its somethin’ he really rattled on a lot about
the cowboy hat. Scared she might, scared
because she remembered he was a cowboy .. .
(Supp. App. at 512.)
37. He continued:
That he felt good that she couldn’t remember he
was left handed. He said that she remembered me
twirling the gun around but she thought I was
doin’ it with this hand while I was driving. He
goes it was the other way.
(Supp. App. at 514.)
(2) Petitioner did have drug dealings in the Vernal
area and knew the area well.
(a) Probable Cause Known Prior to Peti-
tioner’s Arrest.
38. The Petitioner dealt drugs and often went to
Uintah County for that purpose. (Supp. App. at 2, 9, 19,
134.)
(b) Probable Cause Known Shortly After
Arrest Corroborating the Original Proba-
ble Cause.
39. David Reynolds, a close friend of Petitioner dur-
ing 1972, was aware of Petitioner’s large drug dealings in
that area. (Supp. App. at 386, 390, 405.)
40. Steven Allred, an alcohol/drug rehabilitation
director and counselor, a reformed drug user (Supp. App.
at 417), knew the Petitioner in 1972, and his drug dealings
in Uintah County. (Supp. App. at 417-418.) Petitioner
went there several times a week to sell drugs. (Supp.
App. at 2, 7, 9, 19, 67, 100, 389, 417-418, 419, 672, 683-684,
706.)
41. George D. McKinney, a resident of the area,
recognized Petitioner’s picture from the newspaper, and
identified him as being there shortly before the murders.
10
(3) Petitioner denied knowledge of any contacts
with the Duchesne/Vernal area.
(b) Probable Cause Known Shortly After
Arrest Corroborating the Original Proba-
ble Cause.
42. After his arrest, Plaintiff denied to the police
that he had ever been in the Uintah County area. (Supp.
App. at 475, 481, 716.) Later, he indicated that he had
been in that area only once eight years before. (Supp.
App. at 525-526.)
(4) The murderer bragged of raping a thirteen year
old, as did Petitioner.
(a) Probable Cause Known Prior to Peti-
tioner’s Arrest.
43. The Victim testified and reported that the killer
said he had raped a thirteen-year-old girl and bragged
about other rapes. (Supp. App. at 208, 227, 334, 372, 502,
508.)
44. The Stepdaughter testified and stated that sev-
eral times the Petitioner had bragged about raping a
thirteen-year-old. (Supp. App. at 4, 71, 126, 128, 208, 213.)
(b) Probable Cause Known Shortly After
Arrest Corroborating the Original Proba-
ble Cause.
45. Steven Allred and David Reynolds testified and
had reported that after the homicide Petitioner bragged
about rapes, including one in the Uintah County area.
(Supp. App. at 405, 420, 421, 540, 576-577, 671, 675.)
11
(5) The murderer was enamored with cowboy out-
laws, as was Petitioner, both even stating they
were descended from outlaws.
(a) Probable Cause Known Prior to Peti-
tioner’s Arrest.
46. The Victim testified and had reported that the
killer talked a lot about the Old West and being like
western outlaws like Jesse James. (Supp. App. at 199-200,
208, 219-220.)
47. The killer even talked of having horses ready for
a getaway, as if pretending to be a western outlaw. (Supp.
App. at 199, 208-209, 287, 333, 507.)
48. The Victim testified and reported that the killer
played with his gun a very lot. (Supp. App. at 504.) He
“enjoyed his gun,” and was “very busy with it.” (Supp.
App. at 278.)
49. The Stepdaughter testified and earlier stated
that Petitioner had a lot of interest in western outlaws.
(Supp. App. at 214.) He even named one of his sons,
“John Wesley” after the Old West outlaw John Wesley
Harden. (Supp. App. at 73.) “Western outlaws were like
his heroes and he would play like he was one.” (Supp.
App. at 73, 214.) He “fantasized western.” (Supp. App. at
80.) He stated he was descended from a western outlaw.
(Supp. App. at 214.) He twirled and played with his gun a
lot. (Supp. App. at 214-215.)
50. The Stepdaughter testified that Petitioner had a
lot of books in his home about Old West outlaws. (Supp.
App. at 73.) See para. 54, below, corroborating her state-
ment.
12
(b) Probable Cause Known Shortly After
Arrest Corroborating the Original Proba-
ble Cause.
51. Petitioner’s wife confirmed Petitioner’s strong
interest in Old West outlaws. (Supp. App. at 661.)
52. David Reynolds testified that the Petitioner
“admired the old west,” and tried to be like John Wesley
Harden, after whom he named his child (Supp. App. at
387, 541), and Jesse James and Dillinger (Supp. App. at
387), and had a lot of western books (Supp. App. at
578-579).
53. He twirled his gun (Supp. App. at 403, 541-542),
and claimed to be a descendant of Butch Cassidy. Id.
Petitioner played with guns a lot, twirling them and
showing them off. (Supp. App. at 389, 419.)
54. The search of Petitioner’s home revealed the
following old west books which corroborated the Step-
daughter and Mr. Reynolds:
A Dynasty of Western Outlaws
b. The Complete and Authentic Life of Jesse
James
c. Who Rides with Wyatt
d. The Dalton Gang
e. They Died with Their Boots On
f. Doc Holiday
g- The Dillinger Days
h. Wild, Woolly & Wicked
13
i. The Great Train Robbery
j. Rifle for Rent
(6) Petitioner denied any interest in cowboys.
(b) Probable Cause Known Shortly After
Arrest Corroborating the Original Proba-
ble Cause.
55. Petitioner denied he ever had interest in western
outlaws or cowboys. (Supp. App. at 735.)
(7) The killer talked of his horse named Trigger, as
did Petitioner.
(a) Probable Cause Known Prior to Peti-
tioner’s Arrest.
56. The Victim testified and had stated that the
killer talked about horses and indicated that he had a
horse named Trigger. (Supp. App. at 199, 209, 282.)
57. The Stepdaughter testified that she believed ear-
lier in his life Petitioner had horses. (Supp. App. at 205,
215.) He had talked of a horse named Trigger, but that
may have been a fantasy, she said. (Supp. App. at 27, 80,
199-200, 215.)
14
(8) The killer wore cowboy boots the same size as
those of Petitioner in length of heel and width
of sole.
(a) Probable Cause Known Prior to Peti-
tioner’s Arrest.
58. The killer wore cowboy boots. (Supp. App. at
217.)
59. The Stepdaughter stated that the Petitioner wore
cowboy boots. (Supp. App. at 217.)
60. Reynolds testified Petitioner would “always
wear cowboy boots.” (Supp. App. at 387, 561-562.)
(b) Probable Cause Known Shortly After
Arrest Corroborating the Original Proba-
ble Cause.
61. At the crime scene, plaster casts were made of
cowboy boot prints where the killer walked. The casts
matched boots of the Petitioner almost exactly. (Supp.
App. at 482.)
(9) The car used by the murderer had orangeish
colored, lace-up work boots like those worn by
the Petitioner.
(a) Probable Cause Known Prior to Peti-
tioner’s Arrest.
62. Inside the car of the perpetrators was a pair of
“orangeish color” work boots which lace up the front.
(Supp. App. at 200, 296, 324, 507.)
15
63. The Stepdaughter described Petitioner’s work
boots as “burnt orange/tan.” (Supp. App. at 28, 206.)
Allred testified that Petitioner had “reddish tan” work
boots which lace up the front. (Supp. App. at 422, 427,
693.) Petitioner’s wife also confirmed such boots. (Supp.
App. at 635.)
(10) The killer got upset when his accomplice
called him a name which could have been a
unique nickname of Petitioner.
(b) Probable Cause Known Shortly After
Arrest Corroborating the Original Proba-
ble Cause.
64. The Victim testified and had stated that the
accomplice called the killer “Robert, . . . or something
that sounds like Robert. . . .” She could not hear the exact
name. (Supp. App. at 283, 331, 336-337, 370, 509.) The
killer became very upset and thereafter the killer and the
accomplice began to call each other George I and George
II. (Supp. App. at 283, 509.)
65. David Reynolds and the Stepdaughter testified
that the Petitioner had a unique nickname, “Redbird,”
(Supp. App. at 102, 398). Paul Champneys so stated also.
(Supp. App. at 776, 780, 807, 809.)
16
(11) The killer used a revolver with a pearl or light
handle, as did Petitioner.
(a) Probable Cause Known Prior to Peti-
tioner’s Arrest.
66. The killer’s revolver which he used had light-
colored, or pearl handles. (Supp. App. at 217, 316.)
67. The Stepdaughter stated Petitioner had a pearl
handled revolver. (Supp. App. at 217.)
68. The Petitioner had been arrested with a pearl
handled revolver. (Supp. App. at 443.)
(b) Probable Cause Known Shortly After
Arrest Corroborating the Original Proba-
ble Cause.
69. David Reynolds testified that the Petitioner had
a pearl handled revolver. (Supp. App. at 388.)
(12) The car used by the killer was light-colored
with an American flag and another decal, as
was Petitioner’s car.
(a) Probable Cause Known Prior to Peti-
tioner’s Arrest.
70. The Victim testified and had reported that the
car which the killer and the accomplice occupied, which
she only saw at night under artificial light, was “light
colored.” (Supp. App. at 198, 502, 503, 509.) She stated,
“light color, maybe a cream or light gold or something.”
(Supp. App. at 509.) She also stated: “The only thing I
17
could notice was it was a light-colored car.” (Supp. App.
at 502.)
71. The Victim testified and had reported that the
car had two decals in a back window: an American flag,
and another about Jackson Hole. (Supp. App. at 200, 288,
509.)
72. The car had a square trunk. (Supp. App. at 509.)
The killer cussed it as a Ford, either its real make or
merely an epithet about how it ran. (Supp. App. at 509.)
73. The Stepdaughter testified and had reported
that her mother’s car, a white Chevrolet, 1963, had two
stickers in a back window, one an American flag, but she
didn’t know what the other was. (Supp. App. at 69, 103,
216.)
(b) Probable Cause Known Shortly After
Arrest Corroborating the Original Proba-
ble Cause.
74. The Petitioner and his wife had been to Jackson
Hole before the homicide, and they did collect window
stickers. (Supp. App. at 630, 632.)
¢
MISSTATEMENTS OF FACT
While Petitioner’s statement that the victim, Stanger,
never identified Petitioner (Pet. at 3) is true, it implies
that he was never identified. However, his stepdaughter,
to whom he confessed the crime, clearly identified him.
18
Petitioner declares that the individual defendant
falsely stated to the victim that someone in a photo line-
up had confessed (Pet. at 3). One of the persons in the
line-up, the Petitioner, had confessed to his stepdaughter.
See Statement of Case, above, at paras. 25-32. The victim,
who had only seen the killer at night, could not identify
the Petitioner, but also could not exclude him.
The Petitioner did fit the description of the assailant,
contrary to Petitioner’s allegation.
¢
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS, TREATIES,
STATUTES, ORDINANCES
AND REGULATIONS
42 U.S.C. § 1983; Fourth Amendment to the Constitu-
tion; Fourteenth Amendment to the Constitution.
é
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
Because the lower court recognized a federal cause of
action for malicious prosecution, Petitioner’s request for
this Court to recognize such a cause of action would only
result in an advisory opinion. If this Court also recog-
nizes such a cause of action, the Petitioner will not obtain
relief because the lower court also found that factually
the Petitioner was not entitled to relief under such a
cause of action. If this Court does not recognize such a
cause of action, the legal basis for Petitioner’s claim fails,
and he is again without relief through an advisory opin-
ion.
19
All of the circuit courts agree that the common law
elements of the tort of malicious prosecution, including
lack of probable cause, are elements of a federal cause of
action, although the circuit courts may disagree on addi-
tional elements. Because the lower court in this case
found ample probable cause, any resolution of the ele-
ments by this Court, which would undoubtedly include
lack of probable cause, would leave Petitioner with no
relief, and this Court’s opinion would again be advisory
only.
Petitioner’s real criticism is with the lower court's
analysis of massive, complex facts, which this Court
rarely reviews.
¢
ARGUMENT
POINT I
PETITIONER ASKS THIS COURT TO REASSESS
IMMENSE FACTUAL DATA, NOT A USUAL FUNC-
TION OF THIS COURT.
This Court rarely accepts certiorari to reassess a
lower court’s factual analysis. See, e.g. Rules of the
Supreme Court of the United States, Rule 10 (1995);
United States v. Johnston, 268 U.S. 220, 227 (1925) (“We do
not grant a certiorari to review evidence and discuss
specific facts.”); Texas v. Mead, 465 U.S. 1041 (1984)
(Stevens, J.); NLRB v. Hendricks County Rural Electric
Corp., 454 U.S. 170, 176 n.8 (1981) (improvident grant of
certiorari which presented primarily a factual question,
“which does not merit Court review.”); Graver Mfg. Co. v.
Linde Co., 336 U.S. 271, 275 (1949) (This Court is “a court
20
of law ... rather than a court for correction of errors in
fact finding .. . ”).
Petitioner states that the only issue in his Petition is
the simple legal issue concerning the existence of a fed-
eral malicious prosecution claim. See Petition at p.i: Ques-
tion Presented. However, Petitioner’s real complaint is
with the lower court’s factual analysis concerning the
application of malicious prosecution to him which
resulted in a finding that Petitioner was not entitled to
relief.
Petitioner spends most of his argument in his Petition
excoriating the Court of Appeals for its factual analysis
under malicious prosecution. See, e.g. Petition at pp.
12-14, 11. Only page 15 of his Petition sets out Petitioner's
argument with respect to the only question he declares as
being at issue. The following are partial quotes from the
Petition herein which illustrate that Petitioner’s concern
is with the lower court’s factual analysis: “A. Factual
Problems,” (Pet. at 12; bold in the original); “two flaws in
its [the lower court’s] factual analysis .. . ” Id.; “This
[factual] analysis initially fails because ...” Id.; “The
analytical approach [concerning the facts] . . . reenforces
the very evil...” Id.; “The factual analysis . . . fails in the
reality ...” Id.; “The analysis . . . whereby it [the lower
court] ignored exculpatory information . . .” (Pet. at 13);
“The second major problem with the factual analy-
sis . . . demonstrates the analysis was erroneous.” [d.;
“. . . yet another example of how the Tenth Circuit
. .. did not contemplate the record before it . . . ” (Pet. at
14); “In summary, the factual analysis .. . ” Id.; “The
Tenth Circuit substituted its factual judgment for that
Bina” &
ae
21
Factually this case is immense. Petitioner himself
admits that “hundreds of pages of documents exist with
respect to the investigation” at issue. (Pet. at 3.) This
Court rarely engages in reviews of such issues and mate-
rials, and no reason exists for it to do so here.
In addition, Petitioner’s claimed legal issue (even if
the legal issue is viable, which is disputed, see Point II,
below), is so factually intertwined and enmeshed that this
Court would need to reanalyze the complex facts in order
to grant Petitioner relief. See Point II, below.
POINT II
A DECISION ON THE ASSERTED LEGAL ISSUE
WOULD NOT PROVIDE PETITIONER ANY RELIEF
AND WOULD BE AN ADVISORY OPINION.
This Court does not give advisory opinions. National
Bank of Oregon v. Insurance Agents, 508 U.S. 439, 446, 113
S.Ct. 2173 (1993), citing Preiser v. Newkirk, 422 U.S. 395,
401, 95 S.Ct. 2330 (1975) (“a federal court [lacks] the
power to render advisory opinions .. . ”).
(THE EXISTENCE OF A MALICIOUS
PROSECUTION CLAIM)
In the present case, Petitioner brought a malicious
prosecution action under 42 U.S.C. § 1983. Petitioner
admits that the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals found in
his favor that such a cause of action exists (Pet. at 6, 11,
and 15), and that a majority of the circuit courts also
recognized such a cause of action (Pet. at 7). The lower
court found, however, that Petitioner was not entitled to
22
relief factually under malicious prosecution. See Point I,
above.
Because the lower court recognized a cause of action
for malicious prosecution and yet factually found the
cause inapplicable to Petitioner, this Court’s affirmance of
the lower court’s recognition of malicious prosecution
would not provide relief to Petitioner. Factually, the cause
of action would still not apply to Petitioner, and the
opinion would be advisory only. On the other hand, a
holding by this Court that there is no such cause of action
would also afford Petitioner no relief, because Petitioner
relied on such a cause. Again, the opinion would be
advisory.
(ELEMENTS OF A MALICIOUS
PROSECUTION CLAIM)
Petitioner argues that this Court should resolve the
varying way the circuit courts describe the elements of
malicious prosecution. However, Petitioner would realize
no relief from such a resolution.
The primary difference among the circuit courts
regarding the elements of malicious prosecution is
whether the elements comprehend 1) only the common
law elements of the tort, or 2) those common law ele-
ments plus a constitutional violation. (See the Tenth Cir-
cuit Court’s synopsis of the circuit court cases at Pet.
App. at 7-10.) All of the circuit courts require, at least, the
common law elements. Id. Petitioner admits that the
Tenth Circuit Court, “reconciling” prior Tenth Circuit
cases, held that a malicious prosecution analysis starts
23
with “the common law elements of malicious prosecu-
tion,” but ends with necessary proof of a “constitutional
violation.” (Pet. at 10; App. at 10.)
Lack of probable cause is one of the common law
elements as recognized by all of the circuit courts.
Because the lower court found as a matter of factual
analysis that ample probable cause existed (Pet. App. at
11-16), under any recitation of elements, which would
undoubtedly include lack of probable cause, Petitioner's
claim fails. Therefore, any resolution of the elements of
malicious prosecution by this Court would afford Peti-
tioner no relief and would again amount only to an
advisory opinion.
Petitioner fails to show how the lower court's recita-
tion of the elements resulted in error to him, nor how an
allegedly more appropriate recitation of elements, which
again would undoubtedly include lack of probable cause,
would change the result in his case, considering the
immense weight of the facts against him. In short, Peti-
tioner merely seeks an advisory opinion on malicious
prosecution and the elements thereof.
(LACK OF IMPORTANCE)
This case is not of great public importance or interest.
By holding that a malicious prosecution action exists, and
properly holding that lack of probable cause is an ele-
ment thereof, the lower court has, at most, provided
potential federal protection to some persons oppressed
by law enforcement. By finding, however, that Petitioner
did not factually carry the day, the lower court also
24
protected law enforcement officers who acted appro-
priately on weighty probable cause. Petitioner is also not
harmed because, factually, he was never entitled to relief
under malicious prosecution. This Court’s eventual opin-
ion of the lower court’s recognition of malicious prosecu-
tion and the elements thereof should await a proper case
and controversy which may provide the appropriate
importance for consideration by this Court.
¢
CONCLUSION
This Petition should be dismissed as frivolous
because Petitioner has shown 1:0 way in which he was
prejudiced by the lower court's recognition of a malicious
prosecution claim or the elements thereof, and because
his only real complaint is with the lower court’s factual
analysis of immense probable cause.
RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED this 20th day of
August, 1996.
Rosert R. WALLACE,
Counsel of Record
Attorney for Respondents
4 Triad Center, Suite 500
Salt Lake City, Utah 84180
(801) 363-7611
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.