Opposition Brief — Metro Industries, Inc. v. Sammi Corp.

Supreme Court brief1996

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

(2) sie Supreme Court, U.S.

e234. BD

aan ae AUG 28 1996

3 CLERK |

In The pod

Supreme Court of the United States.

October Term, 1995

4

METRO INDUSTRIES, INC.,

Petitioner,

V.

SAMMI CORPORATION, SAMMI (AMERICA) CORP.,

and KEN CARTER INDUSTRIES, INC.,

Respondents. «

cy

Petition For Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Ninth Circuit

¢

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

¢

Rosert J. BAGDASARIAN*

THomas G. Bamey, Jr.

JoHN E. TAaRDERA

WHITMAN Breep Assott & MorGAN

200. Park Avenue

New York, New York 10166

(212) 351-3000

Counsel for Respondents

*Counsel of Record

August 28, 1996

RULE 29.1 STATEMENT

Parent and Subsidiaries of the Respondents

(excluding wholly owned subsidiaries):

None

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

JURISDICTION AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

EVO VG) oc pivcccesaseussreseveves nest aenunee 1

OPINIONS BELOW .. a cccdcccccvevtvensJacun view 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE...........ccccccescoeses ‘2

REASONS WHY THE PETITION SHOULD BE

DINED 5 op cvcscvapescvwnsdasbevengen et eeernngs 7

I. The Holding In This Case Is Not Unique: It

Involves No More Than An Ordinary Failure

OF PYOOE. «2 osc ss ssaccale ons eves yee 7

II. This Court’s Prior Rulings Would Not Have

Permitted Per Se Treatment In Light Of

Metro’s Dependence On The Record From The

Volirath Case «otis vcandvsaevacnys kabuseteees 11

III. Consideration Of Petitioner’s Questions

Would Not Change The Result Below....... 15

IV. This Court Generally Avoids Rendering Advi-

BOTY OCOMNGGRS 6 aos cin c cade nkewseuwevacoueas 17

V. The Questions Presented Lack Any Special

EMPOTUATIOS 2... civics ree dsosvcnateee when ges 18

CONC AIIIN 6 icc sac evind bandas uavesbuss pee 21

PERRO a anim mi Ta eid lll

——————

iii

f

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

FEDERAL CAsEs

Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242 (1986) ..... 8

Broadcast Music, Inc. v. Columbia Broadcasting Sys-

en RD ee 12, 14

Business Electronics Corp. v. Sharp Electronics Corp.,

Fs ose oie deka enn ssc 13

Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317 | Ea as 8

FTC v. Indiana Federation of Dentists, 476 U.S. 447

co hE ES OSE TRIS TOES se 13

Flast v. Cohen, 392 US. 83 Ry ey erate 18

Goodman v. Lukens Steel Co., 482 US. 656 (1987)..... 16

Graver Tank and Mfg. Co. v. Linde Air Products Co.,

ee EE UO 5 soo ssy C2G% obi neck. ce. 16

Hartford Fire Insurance Co. v. California, 509 U.S.

EGS PSS en a 20

Matsushita Elect. Indus. Co., Ltd. v. Zenith Radio

Corp., 475 U.S. 574 rd ig ee 3 a 8, 9, 18, 19

N.C.A.A. v. Board of Regents of the University of

Oklahoma, 468 U.S. 85 SOR ASI eet 14

National Society of Professional Engineers v. United

States, 435 U.S. 679 SSS RT Sec a nea 12

U.S. Nat’! Bank of Oregon v. Independent Ins. Agents

of America, Inc., 508 U.S. 439 | BP Sa See 18

United States v. Aluminum Co. of America, 148 F.2d

eR 8 Se il sae cee. 19

United States v. Topco Associates, Inc., 405 U.S. 596

(ERS ROSES Og 13

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES —- Continued

Page

FEDERAL STATUTES

Foreign Trade Antitrust Improvements Act of

py ee. Bibs ey ” eee Perey rer iy ere rT 19

Snermat Act; 15: US. BF ois vase ceusnan 1; 3; 43

MIsCELLANEOUS

Ped. B63 Fe iis i tas avec ewes cae 16

ad, Be: Fe as Se iss hi ktinw inca teelas eee eee 8

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

Respondents Sammi Corporation (“Sammi”), Sammi

America Corporation (“Sammi America”) and Ken Carter

Industries, Inc. (“Ken Carter”) (collectively “the Sammi

group” or “respondents”) respectfully submit this brief in

opposition to the petition for a writ of certiorari submitted

by petitioner Metro Industries, Inc. (“Metro” or “peti-

tioner”). As described herein, certiorari should be denied

in this case because:

1) The holding below involved nothing more than a

simple failure of proof on petitioner’s part;

2) Per se review was precluded by factual findings

on the prior record of the Vollrath case;

3) This Court’s consideration of the questions

sought to be presented would not change the result

below. Thus, the granting of certiorari would result in no

more than an advisory opinion of this Court; and

4) The issues raised by the petition are not “new” as

petitioner claims, but, rather, follow closely numerous

prior decisions of this Court. Nor do they present special

or important reasons for granting certiorari.

¢

JURISDICTION AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Petitioner’s brief accurately describes the jurisdic-

tional grounds and the statutory provision involved, Sec-

tion 1 of the Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1.

¢

OPINIONS BELOW

In its section describing the “opinion below,” Peti-

tioner’s brief refers only to the opinion of the Ninth

Circuit and the order of the district court entered in this

case. Petitioner has failed to mention that, at petitioner’s

insistence,! the record before both the district court and

the Ninth Circuit incorporated the entire record from a

closely related case entitled The Vollrath Company v. Sammi

Corporation, Sammi (America) Corp. and Ken Carter Indus-

tries, Inc. The district court’s j.n.o.v. decision in Vollrath is

reported at 1990 Trade Reg. Rep. (CCH) { 68,955 (C.D.

Cal. 1989). See App. 1 hereto. The Ninth Circuit’s opinion

affirming the district court in Vollrath is reported at 9 F.3d

1455 (9th Cir. 1993). See App. 54 hereto. This Court’s

denial of certiorari was reported at 114 S. Ct. 2163 (1994).

See App. 74 hereto.

For purposes of this Court’s review, the district

court’s decision in Vollrath (App. 1-53) and the opinion of

the Ninth Circuit panel in Metro (Pet. at 1a-21a) contain

the vast majority of the consequential findings referred to

in either petitioner’s brief or this opposition.

¢

1 By letter dated August 17, 1994, petitioner’s counsel

designated only the record in Vollrath, in its entirety, as Metro’s

proposed record on its appeal. On August 23, 1994 Sammi

objected to petitioner’s omission of the entire record from Metro,

which was then included despite petitioner’s objection to all but

one transcript from this proceeding below. See Petition at 20a.

eS Ee =

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Each of Petitioner’s references to testimony con-

tained in the Reporter’s Transcript or to documents

entered into evidence at trial refer to the record of the

seventeen day jury trial in Vollrath, not to the seven day

partial bench trial in Metro. Obviously, the evidence pre-

sented in the Vollrath trial had previously been the subject

of legal and factual conclusions entered by the district

court and the Ninth Circuit panel reviewing that case,

prior to its reconsideration by the courts below in this,

the Metro proceeding. Moreover, following this Court's

denial of certiorari in Vollrath (see App. 74), the factual

conclusions from Vollrath are no longer subject to collat-

eral attack.

The lone theory pursued by petitioner is whether the

district court should have granted summary judgment on

Metro’s Sherman Act Section 1 theory that Sammi and

other non-defendant members of the Korean Holloware

Association conspired with one another to create a “mar-

ket division arrangement” whereby they could control

the output of stainless steel steamers exported from

Korea to the United States.2 (Pet. at 9a). The crux of

petitioner’s argument is that the courts in Metro should

have accepted an advocate’s characterization of Sammi’s

acts as warranting application of a per se standard of

review, should have ignored factual findings to the

2 Petitioner has not appealed the district court’s grant of

summary judgment in favor of defendants Sammi America and

Ken Carter. These parties are included as respondents herein

only because petitioner has so identified them.

contrary by the Vollrath courts, and should have pro-

ceeded directly to a damages phase of a trial.

The Parties

Plaintiff/petitioner Metro was a privately owned

California corporation, with its principal place of busi-

ness located in Gardena, California. During the relevant

period of time, 1981-1985, Metro was an importer and

reseller of giftware, housewares, and a full line of stain-

less steel kitchenware products, including certain hollow

cooking vessels or accessories commonly known in the

industry as “holloware.” The stainless steel steamers at

issue herein were simply one of the dozens of products

within the holloware line distributed by Metro through-

out the relevant period.

Defendant/respondent Sammi was and is a trading

company incorporated under the laws of the Republic of

Korea with headquarters in Seoul, Korea. Sammi pur-

chases a large variety of Korean goods for export to the

U.S. and other countries, including a full line of hol-

loware, cookware, kitchenware and bakeware. Vollrath

R.T.3 Vol. 11, pp. 11-12. During the relevant time period,

Sammi imported and sold stainless steel steamers in the

United States.

Sammi is not itself a manufacturer of holloware but

arranged to purchase holloware from one or more of the

numerous independently owned factories in Korea.

3 For clarity, respondents’ references to the Vollrath

transcript of proceedings will be by “Vollrath R.T.” and to the

Metro transcript of proceedings will be “Metro R.T.”

e a i ici niet aed

—_

Sanur Men 1s he halewware, ether. ta a.dazen_or so

U.S. importers/distributors such as Metro and Vollrath‘,

or directly to large retail stores, or to its own subsidiaries

Sammi America and Ken Carter. Vollrath R.T. Vol. 11, pp.

25-30. By March 1988, Ken Carter and Sammi America

had left the industry and no longer exist as corporate

entities. Vollrath R.T. Vol. 9 p.m., p. 140.

Facts Regarding The Steamer Blockage

During the relevant period, Sammi was a member of

the Korean Metal Flatware Association, c only known

as the “Holloware Association,” and coat Ganon’ staff

members sat on the Holloware Association’s Design Reg-

istration Committee. Vollrath R.T. Vol. 11, pp. 147, 152.

Mr. K.H. “Tony” Park, a Managing Director of Sammi and

a then current member of the Holloware Association,

testified at the Vollrath trial that during the relevant

period, there were 30-40 Holloware Association members

who regularly exported stainless steel holloware to the

United States and that there were 13 members of the

4 As found at the Vollrath trial, the Vollrath Company was

also a large cookware and holloware fabricator and importer

until it withdrew from the consumer holloware business in May,

1984. App. 1 at 24a. The Vollrath trial record also evidenced that

besides Vollrath, Metro and the Sammi group, there were

numerous other U.S. importers and wholesalers of steamers

during the relevant period, including the Leyse Company

(Vollrath Ex. 851), National Silver (Vollrath Ex. 350),

Progressive, Trend Company, and Daeware. (Vollrath R.T. Vol.

4B at 21, 28-30, 128; Vollrath R.T. Vol. 6 at 19-20). No evidence

was presented in either the Vollrath or Metro proceedings to

indicate that any of the other importers experienced disruption

in their steamer supplies.

Design Registration Committee, three of whom came

from the Korean government or governmental agencies.

Vollrath R.T. Vol. 11, pp. 136-137, 152-153.

The Holloware Association adopted a design regis-

tration program entitling the first manufacturing regis-

trant and the first trading company registrant to a jointly

held exclusive right to manufacture and export newly

registered products for a three-year period. Vollrath R.T.

Vol. 11, pp. 152-156. Sammi, as a trading company, and

Dae Sung, an independent manufacturer, were granted

the initial export rights to the stainless steel steamers at

issue. Vollrath R.T. Vol. 5, pp. 157, 179; Vol. 3 p.m., p. 51.

When Vollrath tried to circumvent the system in 1983,

Sammi and Dae Sung apparently sought to invoke their

design registration rights to prevent another trading com-

pany, Dae Lim, from shipping its steamers for a short

period of time in the fall of 1983. App. 68-69. By late 1983,

Sammi had agreed to waive its design registration rights,

although Dae Sung continued to abject that Vollrath’s

steamer infringed on its pattern design. Vollrath R.T. Vol.

5, pp. 177-178; App. 69. Subsequently, Dae Sung also

waived its rights, and Vollrath received steamers begin-

ning in early January 1984. Vollrath R.T. Vol. 4-B,

pp. 29-30; Vollrath R.T. Vol. 9, pp. 28-29. Vollrath’s “block-

age” claim thus amounted to delay of a mere three

months. App. 68-69.

Evidence was also presented at the Vollrath trial, and

in the partial trial herein, that Metro experienced a dis-

ruption of steamer deliveries from Sammi at some point

during the 1983 time frame. (Pet. at 6a). However, as a

Metro vice president testified in the 1986 Metro trial, after

experiencing some delays at some time earlier in 1983,

starting in late 1983 Metro secured a source of steamers

from an independent Korean company called Sambo,

instead of Sammi, curing any disruption. Metro R.T. Vol.

3, pp. 58-61, 111; Pet. at 6a.

Both the district court in Vollrath and the Ninth Cir-

cuit panel in Metro concluded that despite the temporary

disruptions experienced by Metro and Vollrath, the pur-

ported “steamer blockage” did not result in any restraint

of trade, nor did it have any impact whatsoever on U.S.

markets. (App. 36; Pet. at 21a).

This Court shculd note that petitioner’s Statement of

the Case continues to contain many of the same mis-

characterizations and misstatements which originally

appeared in Vollrath’s papers opposing the Sammi

Group’s motion j.n.o.v. Such mischaracterizations were

previously described by the district judge in Vollrath as

“an outright distortion” of the record. (App. 35, n. 36).

For an objective statement of the pertinent factual back-

ground of this case, including a concise explanation of its

unusual procedural history, respondents respectfully

refer the Court to the section entitled “Facts and Pro-

cedural History” in the Ninth Circuit’s opinion in the

Metro case. (Pet. at 5a to 9a).

¢

REASONS WHY THE PETITION SHOULD BE DENIED

I. The Holding In This Case Is Not Unique: It Involves

No More Than An Ordinary Failure Of Proof.

Summary judgment was properly granted because, as

noted by the same district judge in both cases and by two

separate panels of the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals,

petitioner failed to provide sufficient evidence to sustain

its claims. For the past decade, a troika of Supreme Court

cases decided in 1986 have set the standard for a non-

movant’s obligations in opposing a motion for summary

judgment. Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co., Ltd. v. Zenith Radio

Corp., 475 U.S. 574 (1986); Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc.,

477 U.S. 242 (1986); and Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S.

317 (1986). These cases provide that it is sufficient for

moving parties, such as the Sammi group, to demonstrate

that there is an absence of evidence to support the non-

moving party’s legal claims (Celotex, 477 U.S. at 325) or

that existing evidence precludes the non-movant from

prevailing. Liberty Lobby, 477 U.S. at 251-52. The nonmov-

ing party then must come forward with evidence suffi-

cient to demonstrate that there remain genuine issues of

material fact to be decided at trial. An issue is genuine “if

the evidence is such that a reasonable jury could return a

verdict for the nonmoving party.” Liberty Lobby, 477 U.S.

at 248 Once challenged, the non-movant

must do more than simply show that there is

some metaphysical doubt as to the material

facts. .. . In the language of the Rule [56], the

nonmoving party must come forward with

“specific facts showing that there is a genuine

issue for trial.” .. . Where the record taken as a

whole could not lead a rational trier of fact to

5 The decision in Vollrath was affirmed by Ninth Circuit

Judges Hug, Norris, and Leavy. The Ninth Circuit panel in

Metro consisted of Judges Poole, Wiggins, and Rymer.

9

find for the norimoving party, there is no “genu-

ine issue for trial.”

Matsushita, 475 U.S. at 586-87 (internal citations omitted).

Metro failed to meet this burden. As the Ninth Circuit

panel in Metro has noted, Metro “merely suggests that it

could present evidence.” Pet. at 19a.

The decision to grant Sammi’s motion for summary

judgment was based on the lower court’s review of both

the Metro record (seven day partial bench trial) and the

Vollrath record (seventeen day jury trial). Despite the

length of the two proceedings, neither Metro nor Vollrath

provided evidence that supported any of their antitrust

claims. This complete failure of proof is emphasized

throughout the Ninth Circuit’s opinion in Metro:

° “[TJhere is no evidence that the purpose of

the design registration system was to restrain

trade. ...” Pet. at 12a.

* “Because the Vollrath panel determined on

the same facts before us that the relevant

market and Sammi’s power within that mar-

ket had not been sufficiently defined, Metro

cannot prove injury to competition based on

the Vollrath record and cannot recover on its

Sherman Act claim.” Pet. at 10a.

° “Metro has produced no evidence of actual

injury to competition in the United States.”

Pet. at 19a.

6 Upon the record in the Vollrath case, District Judge

Pfaelzer had granted j.n.o.v. on a similar, but slightly more

stringent standard, holding that a rational juror could not find

against the Sammi group.

10

e “Metro cannot make the more-commonly uti-

lized circumstantial showing of negative

impact on competition because the record

insufficiently establishes a relevant market.”

Pet. at 20a.

e “Metro has produced no evidence of reduced

output or increased prices. Metro merely

relied on the Vollrath record and speculated

that it could provide direct evidence of injury

to competition in the future. These assertions

are insufficient to satisfy Matsushita's

requirement that Metro come forward with

specific facts supporting its claims of injury

to competition when responding to a motion

for summary judgment.” Pet. at 19a-20a.

The determination by the Ninth Circuit that Metro

completely failed to prove its claim restates the district

judge’s ultimate factual findings which provided the

grounds for her decision to grant j.n.o.v. in Vollrath:

e “There is no proof of harm to distributors or

to competition in the United States from the

temporary steamer blockage. . . . On this

state of the record, the harm to American

consumers of steamers or the distributors

selling those steamers is impossible to dis-

cern.” App. 36.

e “[{T]jhe record is also silent with respect to

proof of any of the requisite elements of an

antitrust case on any theory in relation to the

steamer blockage.” App. 50.

11

II. This Court’s Prior Rulings Would Not Have Permit-

ted Per Se Treatment In Light Of Metro’s Depen-

dence On The Record From The Vollrath Case

Although the Vollrath case involved identical facts,

most of the same theories, the same attorneys, the same

economic expert, and many of the same witnesses, no

violation meriting per se treatment was alleged or prop-

erly put before the Vollrath courts. Nonetheless, Metro

has elected to rest upon the Vollrath record alone, without

reference to any other facts or evidence whatsoever. (Pet.

at 20a). Thus, when the district court in Metro and subse-

quently the Ninth Circuit panel in Metro were asked to

consider Metro’s new per se theory concerning the alleged

market division arrangement, they did not have clean

slates before them. The Metro courts were confronted

with the Vollrath courts’ factual findings (left undisturbed

by this Court’s denial of certiorari), which effectively pre-

cluded them from extending per se treatment in response

to Metro’s new per se theory.

For instance, both Metro courts already knew from

the Vollrath record that the alleged “steamer blockage”

did not cause a substantial restraint of trade, as required

by Section 1 of the Sherman Act, but created, at most, a

three month delay in receiving steamers from the facto-

ries of choice. (App. 36; App. 68-69). The Metro courts

also knew that whatever impact the Korean design regis-

tration system may have had overseas, it created no dis-

cernable impact on U.S. commerce (App. 36). Nor did it

cause any perceptible injury to U.S. distributors or to

American consumers (App. 36). In short, the Metro courts

knew without a shadow of a doubt that they had no

authority to apply a per se standard to activities that were

12

not, in fact, so automatically pernicious as to require no

further scrutiny in terms of market impact or procompeti-

tive justifications.

As to Sammi’s role in the design registration system,

the district court in Vollrath had already made factual

findings: (i) that Sammi held pattern design rights jointly

with an unrelated manufacturer (App. 7); (ii) that Sammi

and the manufacturer briefly invoked their design rights

to try to prevent another trading company from infring-

ing such rights (App. 7-8); (iii) that after only a three

month delay, Sammi and the manufacturer waived their

rights and allowed the other trading company to ship its

steamers (App. 8). Further the Vollrath district court had

found that there was no evidence to indicate that Sammi

in any way dominated the association, (App. 35-36, n.37),

and that there was no evidence indicating that Sammi’s

temporary invocation of its design rights was made in

bad faith. (App. 34). The only restriction that might have

been caused by Sammi or the Holloware Association

proven at trial was that two of the importers experienced

brief delays in obtaining steamers from the factory of

their choice. App. 35, n.35; App. 68-69.

This Court has long reasoned that only where a

“practice facially appears to be one that would always or

almost always tend to restrict competition and decrease

output” and is not one that appears to be “designed to

increase economic efficiency and render markets more,

rather than less competitive,” it should it be deemed to be

per se illegal so that it is condemned without any further

analysis. Broadcast Music, Inc. v. Columbia Broadcasting

System, Inc., 441 U.S. 1, 19-20 (1979) (internal citations

omitted). See also National Society of Professional Engineers

ee

13

v. United States, 435 U.S. 679, 692 (1978) (agreements are

treated as per se illegal only if their “nature and necessary

effect are so plainly anticompetitive that no elaborate

study of the industry is needed to establish their ille-

gality.”)

Additionally, as this Court has repeatedly noted, per

se rules of antitrust illegality are reserved for those situa-

tions where experience shows that the risk of injury to

competition from the defendant’s behavior is so great

that it is unnecessary to conduct any factual inquiry into

the effects of the activities. Business Electronics Corp. v.

Sharp Electronics Corp., 485 U.S. 717, 723 (1988) (“Ordi-

narily, whether a particular concerted action violates § 1

of the Sherman Act is determined through case-by-case

application of the so-called rule of reason. . . . ”). This

Court has repeatedly emphasized that labels should not

be hastily applied to practices that have not become so

familiar to courts as to overcome the danger of wrongly

condemning those activities. “It is only after considerable

experience with certain business relationships that courts

classify them as per se violations of the Sherman Act.”

United States v. Topco Associates, Inc., 405 U.S. 596, 607-08

(1972). Finally, this Court has been very reluctant to

extend the application of the per se rule beyond situations

where a violation is obvious. FTC v. Indiana Federation of

Dentists, 476 U.S. 447, 458 (1986) (“we decline to resolve

this case by forcing the Federation’s policy into the ‘boy-

cott’ pigeonhole and invoking the per se rule.”).

On the state of the record presented to the Metro

courts, the courts already knew that the Holloware Asso-

ciation activities had no meaningful impact on U.S. mar-

kets, and that no holloware distributors or consumers

14

had been injured by respondents’ acts. (App. 36, App.

68-69). Under these circumstances, each of the above five

precedents, as well as a host of other decisions of this

Court, preclude treating the practices at issue as being so

plainly anticompetitive that no further analysis should be

required. Broadcast Music, 441 U.S. at 19-20.

Moreover, the gravaman of a “market division

arrangement,” such as that claimed by petitioner, is a

clear horizontal agreement to place an artificial ceiling or

limit on the quantity of products made available to the

public. See N.C.A.A. v. Board of Regents of the University of

Oklahoma, 468.U.S. 85 (1984). A decrease in the quantity of

available products is inevitably accompanied by an agree-

ment to set an artificially high uniform price for the

products. N.C.A.A., 468 U.S. at 96-100.

No evidence was introduced that the price of stain-

less steel steamers in the United States was artificially

high, as would be expected in an output restriction case.

In fact, petitioner tried to prove the exact opposite, that

respondents were selling steamers below cost as part of a

predatory scheme to drive competitors from the mar-

ketplace. (Vollrath R.T. Vol. 3 at 49-54; Vol. 5 at 180-181).

Based on the record sponsored by petitioner, the

Ninth Circuit panel in Metro reviewed the prior factual

findings of the courts in Vollrath and concluded that the

Korean Holloware Association: (i) was a quasi-govern-

mental group (Pet. at 12a); (ii) that it was formed to

ensure product and design quality and to protect from

copying (Pet. at 12a); (iii) that it was not a “classic hori-

zontal market division arrangement” (Pet. at 11a), and

(iv) that there was “no evidence that the purpose of the

15

design registration system was to restrain trade.” (Pet. at

12a).

In sum, petitioner did not produce any evidence at

either trial that the overall production of steamers manu-

factured in Korea or that the quantity of steamers

exported to and sold in the United States was reduced or

suppressed at any time. Accordingly, the lower courts

clearly understood that the factual premises assumed by

petitioner’s questions to this Court - that there were

market division arrangments - were completely unsup-

ported by the facts of record.

III. Consideration Of Petitioner’s Questions Would

Not Change The Result Below

The factual findings in the courts below would pre-

clude liability on any antitrust theory. Based on the evi-

dence introduced at the trial, the district court in Vollrath

justifiably concluded that no harm to competition in the

United States had been shown:

The record is also silent with respect to proof of any

of the requisite elements of an antitrust case on any

theory in relation to the steamer blockage. The

Court can only assume that the steamer incident

was introduced as a makeweight to bolster the

intent element of the predatory pricing claim.

{Emphasis supplied]

(App. 50).

The Vollrath district court’s holding that Vollrath had

failed to prove its claims was affirmed by the Ninth

Circuit panel in Metro on exactly the same basis. The

Ninth Circuit panel in Metro held:

16

[Blecause the facts of this case are identical to

and indistinguishable from the facts of Vollrath,

we follow Vollrath and conclude that Metro has

not presented sufficient evidence from which a

rational finder of fact could conclude... that

the Korean registration system had a negative

impact on competition or consumer welfare in

the United States.

(Pet. 21a).

Thus, petitioner’s claims under any Sherman Act

theory were simply doomed by its reliance on the prior

record in Vollrath. As this Court has stated on several

occasions, the Court is reluctant to disturb the factual

findings of lower courts unless they are clearly erro-

neous. F.R.C.P. 52(a). Moreover, when two or more lower

courts have made consistent factual findings on the same

factual issue, this Court is reluctant even to initiate a

review of such factual findings in the absence of a very

obvious and exceptional showing of error. Goodman v.

Lukens Steel Co., 482 U.S. 656, 665 (1987) (“[B]oth courts

below having agreed on the facts, we are not inclined to

examine the record for ourselves absent some extraordin-

ary reason for undertaking this task.”). See also Graver

Tank and Mfg. Co. v. Linde Air Products Co., 336 U.S. 271,

275 (1949) (Supreme Court “cannot undertake to review

concurrent findings of fact by two courts below in the

absence of a very obvious and exceptional showing of

error.”)

Notably, the facts of this case come before this Court

having been reviewed and fully agreed upon by a district

court judge in Vollrath and two separate panels of the

Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals. This Court should be

17

exceedingly reluctant to disturb such findings where

three lower courts have been in clear agreement.”

IV. This Court Generally Avoids Rendering Advisory

Opinions.

The questions presented by Petitioner might theo-

retically be of interest to this Court; however, since they

do not address the key holding of the Ninth Circuit in

Metro - that Metro failed to substantiate its case — the

verdict below will be unchanged however this Court

might decide such questions. The first question submitted

by the Petitioner, whether a “new” antitrust principle

should be established that foreign conduct cannot be

examined under the per se rule, is neither new nor inte- ;

gral to the determination of the case at bar. The Ninth

Circuit’s holding affirmed the grant of summary judg-

ment based on Metro’s failure to present sufficient evi-

dence in support of its claims to allow it to go forward.

As is always true in such circumstances, the language

” Petitioner’s inclusion of four pieces of evidence from the

Vollrath trial as Appendices D and E appear to be nothing more

than an effort to have this Court overrule the findings of the

courts below that these materials lacked significance. Appendix

D was discussed at length by the district court in Vollrath (see

App. 7, n.11). The telexes reproduced as Appendix E were

introduced without testimony in the Vollrath trial, were used by

petitioner in closing argument, and were argued to the Ninth

Circuit panel in Metro. (Excerpts of Record 4, 5, 6). We cannot

imagine that this Court can or would want to attribute any more

meaning to Appendices D and E than did the courts below.

18

stating that per se analysis is inapplicable to foreign con-

duct is clearly confined to the facts of the Metro and

Vollrath records, and is no more than an alternative

ground underlying the Ninth Circuit’s holding. This is

made clear by the Metro panel’s statement that, “Even if

Metro could prove that the registration system constitu-

ted a ‘market division’ . . . application of the per se rule is

not appropriate where the conduct in question occurred

in another country.” (Pet. at 12a) (emphasis added).

Whatever standard of analysis was appropriate, the

Ninth Circuit had already found grounds to affirm the

grant of summary judgment because Metro did not meet

its burden under Matsushita. (Pet. at 19a-20a). In effect,

petitioner has asked this Court to grant its petition

requiring that this Court render a decision that will be no

more than an advisory opinion vis-a-vis the facts of this

case. This Court has often cautioned that federal courts

should not render advisory opinions. See, e.g., U.S. Nat'l

Bank of Oregon v. Independent Ins. Agents of America, Inc.,

508 U.S. 439, 446 (1993). Accord Flast v. Cohen, 392 U.S. 83,

96 (1968) (“The oldest and most consistent thread in the

federal law of justiciability is that federal courts will not

give advisory opinions.”)

V. The Questions Presented Lack Any Special Impor-

tance

As the opinions of this Court demonstrate, the Ninth

Circuit’s caution in applying a per se standard to the set of

facts inherited by Metro from the Vollrath proceeding is

hardly revolutionary.

19

As was carefully noted by the Ninth Circuit panel in

Metro, certain basic factual analysis, akin to limited “rule

of reason” type analysis, is always required when review-

ing foreign activities in order to determine whether the

U.S. court has subject matter jurisdiction. (Pet. at

14a-18a). For years, it was fundamental under traditional

Sherman Act Section 1 analysis that subject matter juris-

diction does not exist unless agreements entered into and

consummated outside the United States by foreign com-

panies were “intended to affect U.S. imports” and did

materially affect them. See, e.g. United States v. Aluminum

Co. of America, 148 F.2d 416, 444 (2d Cir. 1945). More

recently, the “intended effects” language has been

amended by the Foreign Trade Antitrust Improvements

Act of 1982, codified at 15 U.S.C. § 6a, to permit subject

matter jurisdiction where effects on U.S. commerce,

though not deliberate, should have been “direct, substan-

tial and reasonably foreseeable.” Under either standard, a

federal court examining foreign conduct cannot, as the

Ninth Circuit suggested in Metro, simply skip to per se

treatment without first making sufficient factual analysis

to establish jurisdiction over the claims.

Furthermore, petitioner purports to challenge the

Ninth Circuit’s adoption of a “new” substantive princi-

ple, that foreign conduct should not be subjected to per se

review. Far from being “new”, the Ninth Circuit’s rulings

on this issue are dutifully respectful of this Court’s prior

rulings. In Matsushita, 475 U.S. at 582 n.6, this Court

unequivocably stated that “[t]he Sherman Act does reach

conduct outside our borders, but only when the conduct

has an effect on American commerce.” Both the district

20

‘

court in Vollrath and the Ninth Circuit panel >in Metro

applied this principle by measuring the “effect on Ameri-

can commerce” and found none. App. 36; Pet. at 19a. This

Court has also previously ruled in Hartford Fire Ins. Co. v.

California, 509 U.S. 764, 796 (1993), that “it is well estab-

lished by now that the Sherman Act applies to foreign

conduct that was meant to produce and did in fact produce

some substantial effect in the United States.” (Emphasis

supplied). Again, the Metro courts simply applied this

Court’s longstanding principles and, in the process,

decided that there was no evidence that the purpose of

the design registration system was to restrain trade, (Pet.

at 12a; App. 34), nor was there any discernable harm to

American consumers or distributors. App. 36. Although

the Ninth Circuit’s formulation of the standard of review

to be given to foreign activities may sound “new”, it

represents only the faithful application of years of juris-

prudence of this Court to the unique facts and unusual

record on appeal presented to it in this litigation.

+

21

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petition for certiorari

should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

Rosert J. BAGDASARIAN*

THomas G. BAILey, Jr.

JoHN E. TARDERA

WHITMAN Breep Assott & MorGAN

200 Park Avenue

New York, New York 10166

(212) 351-3000

Counsel for Respondents

Dated: August 28, 1996

*Counsel of Record

poe ere ee

SSS Re eae SF NEES TY LE A RTS) Cit 5 REPEP INS NERO RANE I

App. 1

[Y 68,955] The Vollrath Co. v. Sammi Corp., Sammi

(America) Corp., and Ken Carter Industries, Inc.

U.S. District Court, Central District of California.

Case No. CV 85-820 MRP. Filed December 20, 1989.

For plaintiff: Weldon V. Zufelt, Gen. Counsel, The

Vollrath Co., Sheboygan, Wis., William P. Tedards, Jr.,

New York, N.Y., Eliot G. Disner, P.C., and Eric D.

Berkowitz, of Shapiro, Posell & Close, Los Angeles, Cal.,

for The Vollrath Co. For defendants: Whitman & Ransom,

Thomas G. Bailey, Jr., John E. Tardera and Glenn S. Ker-

ner, Los Angeles, Cal.

Memorandum of Decision

Pracizer, D.J.: Plaintiff the Vollrath Company (“Vol-

lrath”) is a Wisconsin corporation; Vollrath’s Consumer

Products Division was an importer and distributor of

stainless steel hollowware! in the United States. Defen-

dant Sammi Corporation (“Sammi”) is a Korean steel

manufacturer and trading company that, in one of its

lines of business, exports stainless steel hollowware.

Defendant Sammi (America) Corporation (“Sammi Amer-

ica”) is a Washington corporation and a wholly owned

subsidiary of Sammi. Defendant Ken Carter Industries,

Inc., is a New York corporation and a wholly owned

subsidiary of Sammi America; Ken Carter, like Vollrath,

was an importer and distributor of stainless steel hollow-

ware in the United States. Vollrath withdrew from the

stainless steel hollowware market in 1984 and subse-

quently filed this action, alleging that the anticompetitive

acts of defendants caused it to exit the market.

1 Hollowware is specialty cookware used in the kitchen for

food preparation and storage; hollowware includes mixing

bowls, colanders, roasters, steamers and similar accessories.

App. 2

This action was tried to a jury on several legal theo-

ries: (1) conspiracy to restrain trade under section 1 of the

Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. §§ 1, (2) conspiracy to monopolize

under section 2 of the Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. §§ 2, (3)

attempt to monopolize under section 2 of the Sherman

Act, 15 U.S.C. §§ 2, (4) price discrimination under section

2(a) of the Clayton Act as amended by the Robinson-

Patman Act, 15 U.S.C. § 13(a), and (5) violations of the

California Unfair Trade Practices Act, Cal. Bus. & Prof.

Code § 17000 et seq. After seventeen days of trial, the jury

returned a verdict against defendants Sammi and Ken

Carter as to all claims, and against defendant Sammi

America as to the Sherman Act claims only. The jury

awarded damages of $9,478,676 for the federal claims and

$711,803 for the state claims, making the total award of

damages, after trebling the federal claims, $29,147,831.

Defendants moved post-trial for judgment notwithstand-

ing the verdict or in the alternative for a new trial or

remittitur.

I. Facts.

Defendant Sammi’s business is located in Korea. Its

affiliate Sammi Steel supplies raw steel to small Korean

manufacturers to construct mixing bowls and other hol-

lowware items. Stipulated fact 30.2 These small manufac-

turers in turn supply Sammi, in its capacity as a trading

company, with the finished stainless steel hollowware for

export. There were at least 25 to 45 manufacturers of

stainless steel hollowware in Korea in the mid-1980’s.

Record at 3PM-96; 6-10. At the same time, there were 20

to 50 exporters of stainless steel hollowware in Korea. Of

2 All references to stipulations of fact refer to this Court’s

“Stipulation of Facts” as read to the jury and filed April 5, 1989.

App. 3

this number, there were three major exporters, Sammi

being the largest.3 Record at 3PM-95-99; 6-11.

Both Vollrath* and Ken Carter purchased their stain-

less steel hollowware from Korea and competed to sell it

to large retailers in the United States, such as Sears or

Target. Stipulated facts 26 and 27. Korean trading com-

panies other than Sammi also sold stainless steel hollow-

ware directly to retailers in the United States.5 Stipulated

fact 27.

Prior to November 6, 1981, Ken Carter had no legal

affiliation with Sammi or Sammi America. However, in

this period before November 1981, Ken Carter did a

substantial amount of business with Sammi, accumulat-

ing a debt of close to $2 million to Sammi for stainless

steel hollowware purchased on open credit terms. More-

over, On a number of occasions Ken Carter held itself out

to the American extension of Sammi® or Sammi America.”

On November 6, 1981, Sammi America acquired Ken

> The other two major exporters of stainless steel

hollowware were Hai Dong and Daewonsa.

* Prior to 1982, Vollrath manufactured stainless steel

kitchenware in the United States. During the time relevant to

this lawsuit, however, Vollrath was exclusively an importer and

distributor of products manufactured outside of the United

States. Stipulated fact 5.

° The evidence sustains defendants’ contention that there

are many market participants operating on multiple levels of

distribution.

© At least one document listed Sammi’s Korean address.

7 A number of invoices, documents and letters to retailers

from 1980 and 1981 identified Ken Carter as a “Division of

Sammisa (America) Corp.”

App. 4

Carter, and thereafter Ken Carter operated as a wholly

owned subsidiary of Sammi America.® According to

defendants, Sammi America acquired Ken Carter in order

to protect the large debt owing to Sammi and Sammi

America, and to avoid certain limitations imposed by

Korean law as to the amount of capital permitted to be

invested in an unaffiliated company abroad. Plaintiff

accepted defendants’ description of the limitations

imposed by Korean law, but argued that Sammi America

acquired Ken Carter to implement a predatory pricing

scheme aimed at driving Vollrath and other competitors

from the United States market for the distribution of

stainless steel hollowware. Sammi and Sammi America

are said to have enabled Ken Carter to set predatory

prices by extending low-interest and interest-free credit

and loans to it.

Although the record does not disclose the details of

defendants’ post-acquisition interrelationships, it does

contain uncontroverted evidence sufficient to permit an

understanding of the basic structure of the transactions

between Sammi, Sammi America and Ken Carter. After

Sammi America’s acquisition of Ken Carter, Ken Carter

8 Sammi America purchased all the stock of Keh Carter

from Kenneth Min, Ken Carter’s president and sole shareholder,

for $50.00. Under the terms of the acquisition, Sammi America

agreed to release Min from his personal guarantee on the $1.6

million debt owing to Sammi America. The acquisition also

provided for the resignation of the officers and directors of Ken

Carter. Under Sammi America’s management, Ken Carter

entered into a two-year employment agreement with Min, who

became Ken Carter’s marketing director. Stipulated facts 15 and

16.

App. 5

purchased all of its stainless steel hollowware from

Sammi or Sammi America.® Stipulated facts 11 and 17. All

of Sammi’s hollowware sales to Ken Carter were made on

“documents against acceptance” (hereinafter “D/A”)

terms. Plaintiff’s exhibit 486 at 41. Cf. Aimor Elec. Works,

Ltd. v. Omaha Nat'l Bank, 727 F.2d 688 (8th Cir. 1984)

(explaining documents against acceptance terms). Under

the D/A contracts, Ken Carter was not required to make

immediate payment for the hollowware purchased from

Sammi. Instead, Sammi and Ken Carter would agree to

the quantity and price of hollowware to be shipped, and

to a date for payment, ranging from 30 to 180 days after

receipt of the goods. Sammi would tender the bills of

lading and the bills of exchange to its negotiating bank in

Korea. The Korean bank then would forward the docu-

ments to its collecting bank in the United States. When

Sammi shipped the hollowware and Ken Carter accepted

the bills of exchange, the collecting bank would endorse

the bills of lading to allow Ken Carter to take delivery of

the goods.

Ken Carter’s payments were tendered to the collect-

ing bank in the United States. Ken Carter could only

obtain an extension of the payment date with the

approval of the banks; to seek an extension, Ken Carter

would contact the collecting bank in the United States,

and the collecting bank would seek approval from the

negotiating bank in Korea. Plaintiff’s exhibit 486 at 45-46.

® Ken Carter purchased hollowware from Sammi America

on letter of credit terms until sometime in 1982. There was no

evidence as to whether Ken Carter incurred any interest costs

from these purchases. Plaintiff’s exhibit 486 at 49.

App. 6

Although there is no evidence as to what it cost Sammi to

make these D/A terms available to Ken Carter, Sammi

did include a charge for interest in its invoice price of the

goods to Ken Carter. Plaintiff’s exhibit 486 at 43.

Plaintiff established that Ken Carter often did not

have sufficient funds to make the D.A. payments to the

collecting bank on a timely basis. To meet the required

payments, Ken Carter secured loans from Sammi Amer-

ica. James Kim, who was president of Ken Carter, was the

sole witness who testified as to the terms of these loans.

Kim stated that Sammi America did not require interest

payments on any loans made in 1983, and that Sammi

America charged Ken Carter interest at prime plus a half-

point on $2.1 million of loans made in 1984. Record at

10-86, 98; 8-216. Plaintiff argued that all along, the sched-

ule for D/A payments, on shipments by Sammi, and the

loans from Sammi America amounted to a continuing

“big bankroll” from Korea permitting Ken Carter to

underprice its competitors. Record at 6-162. Nevertheless,

plaintiff did not claim that Ken Carter engaged in any

predatory pricing until 1983. At trial, plaintiff’s theory

was that Ken Carter priced its products below cost

throughout 1983 and 1984, and that finally its pricing was

so low that Vollrath could no longer compete.

Vollrath also sought to show that in late 1983, when it

was feeling the pressure of Ken Carter’s prices, Sammi

prevented it from exporting a stainless steel steamer?

from Korea to the United States. Vollrath ordered this

10 Steamers are used on the top of the stove to steam

vegetables, rice and seafood. Stipulated fact 25.

App. 7

steamer, made to its specifications, from Daelim, a Korean

manufacturer. Sammi, as a trading company, and

Daesung, a hollowware manufacturer, were co-owners of

Korean design registration rights for a stainless steel

steamer sold by Ken Carter. These design rights had been

granted to them by the Korean Metal Flatware Associa-

tion’s Committee on Design Registration which, accord-

ing to plaintiff, is an association of private companies

empowered to grant export licenses.11 From October 1983

until January 1984, Sammi invoked its design rights to

prevent Daelim from shipping the Vollrath steamer to the

" Plaintiff relied on the declaration of Howard Kim, Ken

Carter’s sales manager, to prove that the Korean Metal Flatware

Association was a non-governmental entity. Plaintiff’s exhibit

783. Mr. Kim stated that the Association was a self-regulating

organization with no governmental or legal powers and that

registration of design rights did not confer any property rights

on the holder, or entitle the holder to protection. Rather, Kim

stated, “[The Association] is merely an administrative priority

for exporters.” Plaintiff’s exhibit 783 at 3.

Defendants insist that Mr. Kim’s description of the

Association misstates the role of the Korean government. To

contradict Mr. Kim’s declaration, defendants called Mr. Park, a

member of the Association, to testify at trial. Mr. Park stated

that the Korean Metal Flatware Association is a quasi-

governmental organization: the Association was established

with government approval and three of the thirteen

representatives were government officials. Record at 11-150,

153. The remaining representatives come from private industry:

officials of manufacturing and trading companies. Although the

Court found Mr. Park’s testimony more credible than Mr. Kim’s

testimony, since Mr. Park actually served on the Association

board, the Court accepts, for the purpose of the Motion for

Judgment Notwithstanding the Verdict, that the Association

was non-governmental.

App. 8

United States.12 Although the steamers were ultimately

shipped to Vollrath with Sammi’s consent, Vollrath claims

to have suffered this three or four month delay during a

time period critical to its survival in the hollowware

market.}5

In May 1984, according to the testimony of several

employees of Vollrath’s Consumer Product Division, Voll-

rath could no longer compete and made the decision to

withdraw from the stainless steel hollowware business.

Vollrath terminated all operations with respect to stain-

less steel hollowware by the end of that year. Record at

2-106 to 110; 3-54.

12 Plaintiff's witness Warren Kashuk, a buyer for Metro

Industries, testified that Mr. Nam, a section chief in Sammi’s

export division, stated that Sammi was “not going to let

[Daelim] ship the [Vollrath steamer] to the United States... .

Because [Sammi has] this design patent registration on the quart

unit.” Record at 3PM-58.

13 Some of plaintiff’s witnesses testified that the timing of

the steamer blockage was critical because Christmas is the

important shopping season for hollowware. Record at 2-82 to

83. After Carol Storn, Vollrath’s marketing director for the

Consumer Products Division, revealed that most of Vollrath’s

orders would not have been available until well after the

Christmas shopping season, however, Vollrath’s attorneys

abandoned this argument. Record at 4B-120; Record of

Proceedings on April 3, 1989 at 37. It is now argued that the

delay was critical because it harmed Vollrath’s reputation as a

supplier.

App. 9

II. Standard of Review.

A motion for judgment notwithstanding the verdict

should be granted where,

the evidence is such that, without weighing the

credibility of the witnesses or otherwise consid-

ering the weight of the evidence, there can be

but one conclusion as to the verdict that reason-

able men could have reached.

Walker v. KFC Corp., 728 F.2d 1215, 1223 (9th Cir. 1984)

(citations omitted). Although judgment notwithstanding

the verdict is an extreme remedy, a court may properly

enter judgment notwithstanding the verdict where the

jury verdict is not supported by substantial evidence. The

Jeanery, Inc. v. James Jeans, Inc. [1988-1 TRADE CASES

{I 67,988], 849 F.2d 1148, 1151 (9th Cir. 1988).

III. Attempt to Monopolize.

To succeed on a claim of attempted monopolization,

the plaintiff must prove four elements: (1) specific intent

to control prices or eliminate competition, (2) anticom-

petitive conduct directed at accomplishing the unlawful

objective, (3) a dangerous probability of success, and (4)

causal antitrust injury. Marsann Co. v. Brammall, Inc.

[1986-1 Trape Cases ¥ 67,072], 788 F.2d 611 (9th Cir. 1986).

The Ninth Circuit has recognized that these elements,

while distinct requirements for the proof of attempted

monopolization, necessarily interact. Because of the diffi-

culty of proving anticompetitive intent directly, the Ninth

Circuit has repeatedly held that proof of “conduct

App. 10

[which] is predatory or clearly in restraint of competi-

tion” may support an inference of specific intent. Thur-

man Indus., Inc. v. Pay ‘N Pak Stores, Inc. [1989-1 Trape

Cases J 68,592], 875 F.2d 1369, 1378 (9th Cir. 1989).

The Ninth Circuit has also circumscribed the neces-

sity of showing a dangerous probability of success.

Because this element is “not designed as a means of

screening out cases of minimal concern to antitrust pol-

icy,” William Inglis & Sons Baking Co. v. ITT Continental

Baking Co. [1981-2 Trave Cases { 64,229], 668 F.2d 1014,

1029 (9th Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 459 U.S. 825 (1982), a

plaintiff is not required to show a “probability of actual

monopolization.” Forro Precision, Inc. v. International Busi-

ness Machines Corp. [1982-1 Trape Cases | 64,708], 673

F.2d 1045, 1059 (9th Cir. 1982), cert. denied, 471 U.S. 1130

(1985). Rather, this element is “a way of gauging more

accurately the purpose of a defendant’s actions.” William

Inglis, 668 F.2d at 1029. Thus, a dangerous probability of

success may be inferred (1) from direct evidence of speci-

fic intent to control prices or eliminate competition

together with proof of conduct directed at accomplishing

that purpose, or (2) from evidence that the defendant’s

conduct was predatory or clearly in restraint of competi-

tion. Vollrath claims to have shown two types of conduct

by the defendants which were predatory or clearly in

restraint of competition: below cost pricing by Ken Carter

and blockage of steamer shipments by Sammi.

App. 11

A. Predatory pricing.

1. Legal standard.

Since lowering prices can be either the essence or the

antithesis of competition, courts must “distinguish preda-

tory price cuts intended to eliminate competition from

legitimate price cuts designed to meet or beat competi-

tion.” Transamerica Computer Co. v. International Business

Machines Corp. [1982-83 Trape Cases { 65,218], 698 F.2d

1377, 1384 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 955 (1983). To

assess whether pricing is predatory, a court must recog-

nize the economic reality that predatory pricing is “rarely

tried, and even more rarely successful.” Matsushita Elec.

Indus. Co. v. Zenith Radio Corp. [1986-1 Trape Cases

{ 67,004], 475 U.S. 574, 589 (1986). This reality stems from

the fact that to succeed at below cost pricing, a would-be

monopolist must forgo short-term profits long enough to

drive competitors from the market, and then maintain

monopoly power long enough to recoup the losses and

realize additional gain. Id. at 588-89.

Absent some assurance that the hoped-for

monopoly will materialize, and that it can be

sustained for a significant period of time, the

predator must make a substantial investment

with no assurance that it will pay off.

Id. at 589 (citations omitted).

To distinguish competitive from predatory pricing,

then, courts have focused on one or more of three kinds

of evidence. See A.A. Poultry Farms, Inc. v. Rose Acre

Farms, Inc. [1989-2 Trape Cases I 68,706], 881 F.2d 1396

(7th Cir. 1989) (collecting cases). First, some courts look to

the pricing firm’s intent, inquiring whether the defendant

App. 12

hoped that its prices would eliminate competition and

secure a monopoly. Second, some courts employ a com-

parison of the defendant’s costs and prices: prices below

some appropriate measure of cost may reveal a scheme to

sacrifice current profits in the hope of eliminating compe-

tition and reaping monopoly gains later. Third, some

courts focus on the back end of the predatory pricing

scheme, inquiring whether the monopolist could later

raise its prices to recoup its losses and realize monoply

gains. In focusing on recoupment, courts consider pri-

marily evidence of market structure and the possibility of

maintaining monopoly prices for a comfortable period

without inviting in new entrants whose costs are as low

as or lower than those of the monopolist.

The two most recent predatory pricing decisions of

the Supreme Court focus on recoupment.!* At least one

court has read these decisions to require a plaintiff alleg-

ing predatory pricing to establish, at a minimum, that the

market structure would permit the would-be monopolist

to maintain monopoly power long enough to recoup its

losses. See A.A. Poultry Farms, supra.5 In the Ninth

14 Cargill, Inc. v. Monfort of Colorado, Inc. [1986-2 TRADE

CASES { 67,366], 479 U.S. 104, 119-20 n.15 (1986) (“in order to

succeed in a sustained campaign of predatory pricing, a

predator must be able to absorb the market shares of its rivals

once prices have been cut... . It is also important to examine the

barriers to entry in the market because without barriers to entry

it would presumably be impossible to maintain

supracompetitive prices for an extended time.”); and

Matsushita, supra.

15 In A.A. Poultry Farm, supra, the Seventh Circuit adopted

the approach that in a predatory pricing case, it is plaintiff’s

initial burden to establish that recoupment is possible. The court

a plaintiff must Prove that the anticipated bene-

fits of defendant's Price depended on its ten-

dency to discipline or eliminate competition and

of litigation. Only if a market Structure makes recoupment

feasible need a court inquire into the relation between price and

cost.”

881 F.2d at 1401.

App. 14

thereby enhance the firm’s long-term ability to

reap the benefits of monopoly power.

Id. at 1035.

In applying this standard, this circuit employs a cost-

based test to allocate the burden of proof on the issue of

predation. Transamerica Computer, 698 F.2d at 1386. If a

plaintiff establishes that the defendant set its prices

below its average variable costs,!7 the defendant bears

the burden of showing that the prices were not predatory.

If the plaintiff establishes that the prices were below

average total cost, but above average variable cost, the

plaintiff bears the burden of showing that the prices were

predatory. And, if defendant’s prices were above average

total cost, the plaintiff must show, by clear and convinc-

ing evidence, that the prices were predatory. Id. at

1386-88; William Inglis, 668 F.2d at 1035-36. Although this

cost-based test is a starting point in analyzing a firm’s

pricing behavior, the presumptions created by the test are

rebuttable.!8 The ultimate standard remains whether

17 Both parties’ economic experts defined variable costs as

those costs which rise in direct proportion to sales. Record at

6-117; 12-176. The determination as to which costs are fixed and

which costs are variable is a factual determination. William

Inglis, 668 F.2d at 1038.

18 Although the law of attempted monopolization seems to

eliminate considerations of market power after plaintiff offers

evidence of pricing below average variable cost, in order for a

defendant to effectively rebut the inference of predation,

defendant must be able to place market power, re and

a dangerous probability of success in issue.

A price is only predatory “if its anticipated benefits depended

on its tendency to eliminate competition.” William Inglis, 668

App. 15

defendant, viewing its position in the market, set its

Prices in the hope that competition would be eliminated,

allowing defendant to reap monopoly profits.19

F.2d at 1034 (emphasis added). Thus, the most effective way for

the defendant to rebut the presumption that its below average

In Janich Bros., Inc. v, American Distilling Co. [1978-1 TRADE

Cases J 61,826], 570 F.2d 848 (9th Cir. 1977), cert. denied, 439

“the product must be such that if Predatorily priced, rivals

are likely to be driven out of the market or excluded, allowing

App. 16

2. Plaintiff's proof.

As evidence that Sammi, Sammi America and

Ken Carter intended to control prices or eliminate

to drive out competition so that it can charge monopoly prices,

and reap monopoly profits, at a later time.”) (emphasis added).

At least one district court in this circuit, recognizing that

market power and recoupment are the keys to predatory

pricing, has implicitly adopted the showing of market power as

an essential element of a predatory pricing case. In re Air

Passenger Computer Reservations Sys. Antitrust Litig. [1988-2

Trave Cases { 68,316], 694 F.Supp. 1443, 1469-70 (C.D. Cal. 1988)

(allegation of predatory pricing makes no economic sense

unless alleged would-be monopolist has a significant market

share and barriers to entry in market are low).

If Vollrath were required to show that Ken Carter could

have maintained a monopoly over the import/distribution

stage of the United States hollowware market long enough to

recoup losses, plaintiff’s predatory pricing claim would fail as a

matter of law. In general, monopolization of the distribution

stage of most markets is considered to be implausible. P. Areeda

& H. Hovenkamp, Antitrust Law: 1988 Supplement 492-93 (1988).

Even if Ken Carter were to succeed in driving out the several

importer/distributors with which it competed, Ken Carter

could not possibly recoup its losses and raise prices. It is

undisputed that the retailers who were Ken Carter’s customers

could, and in fact did, purchase hollowware directly from

Korean trading companies other than Sammi. These retail

customers could, then, prevent any drastic increase in Ken

Carter’s prices.

Although plaintiff’s expert, Dr. Shepherd, testified that the

hollowware distribution market had “moderate” entry barriers,

Dr. Shepherd based his opinion on the fact that there were no

new entries into the market after Vollrath’s exit. Entry barriers

must be measured at the time of supra-competitive prices.

Cargill, Inc., 479 U.S. at 120, n.15.

App. 17

competition, Richard Hiteman, a Vollrath employee, testi-

fied that:

Mr. Min [Ken Carter’s vice-president of sales

and marketing] . . . stated directly to me [at a

trade show] that I better get out of this business

because I can’t make any money at all.

Record at 4-73. Although Min’s ambiguous statement

could be construed as an expression by Ken Carter of an

intent to eliminate Vollrath as a competitor, “the intent to

vanquish a rival in an honest competitive struggle cannot

help to establish an antitrust violation.” Airweld, Inc. v.

Airco, Inc. [1984-2 Trave Cases ] 66,197], 742 F.2d 1184,

1192 (9th Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1213 (1985)

(citations omitted) (evidence that defendant’s officials

targeted plaintiff’s accounts and stated that defendant

would increase market share “any way it could” is not

substantial evidence of specific intent). Evidence of speci-

fic intent must reveal an intent to vanquish the rival

“through unfair or predatory means.” William Inglis, 668

F.2d at 1028. Having no direct evidence of such an intent

on the part of any of defendants, Vollrath attempted to

prove predatory conduct from which the necessary infer-

ence of intent could be drawn.

Vollrath’s theory of predatory conduct treated

Sammi, Sammi America and Ken Carter as together

engaged in an attempt to monopolize the market for the

distribution of stainless steel hollowware in the United

States. Plaintiff argued that, even before Sammi Amer-

ica’s acquisition of Ken Carter, but certainly following it,

Sammi, Sammi America and Ken Carter “acted in a man-

ner which inexorably linked them together.” Plaintiff’s

App. 18

Opposition to Motion for JNOV at 46. Specifically, plain-

tiff contended that Sammi funded the predatory pricing

scheme by extending credit to Ken Carter through the

favorable payment schedule provided by D/A contracts.

Sammi America is also claimed to have funded the preda-

tory scheme by extending low interest and interest free

loans to Ken Carter to meet the D/A payments. Ken

Carter, then, used these favorable credit arrangements

and loans to carry out the predatory scheme aimed at

eliminating importer/distributors like Vollrath.2° The

financial arrangements between the three defendants are

the heart of the case for plaintiff. If an analysis of these

financial arrangements does not establish that Ken Carter

was engaged in predatory pricing, plaintiff’s case must

fall.

Plaintiff relied entirely on the testimony of its expert

witness Dr. John W. Buckley, an economist, to establish

that Ken Carter’s conduct was predatory in that its prices

were below cost. Dr. Buckley calculated average variable

cost by adding: (1) the invoice price that Sammi charged

Ken Carter, plus (2) Ken Carter’s costs to import and sell

the hollowware and Ken Carter’s variable general and

administrative expenses, plus (3) an “imputed interest”

cost. This last component of average variable cost -

20 As evidence of the close affiliation of the parent

corporations and their subsidiary, plaintiff established that the

three presidents of Ken Carter following the acquisition — Sil D.

Kim, Won In Rhee and James Kim - were all former Sammi

employees. Stipulated facts 7 and 10. Also, Howard Kim, Ken

Carter’s import manager throughout most of 1983, had

previously served as a sales manager for Sammi America and as

the head of the export department for Sammi. Stipulated fact 8.

App. 19

imputed interest - was an estimate of the cost of funds

made available to Ken Carter from Sammi and Sammi

America to permit Ken Carter to purchase inventory from

Sammi. To calculate imputed interest, Dr. Buckley multi-

plied, for each month, the dollar amount of Ken Carter’s

unpaid inventories by the interest rate on loans commer-

cially available in the United States to corporations like

Ken Carter for that month, the prime rate plus two

points. Plaintiff’s exhibits 701A and 720. Imputed inter-

est, then, represents the costs that Ken Carter would have

incurred if Ken Carter had been required to borrow

money from banks in the United States in order to pur-

chase inventory. Dr. Buckley testified that these interest

costs were variable and that, based on a proper analysis

of them, Ken Carter’s prices to retailers for a select

number of Ken Carter’s hollowware products were below

cost. See plaintiff’s exhibits 701A at 7-A to 7-E; 701D at

A-9 to A-10. Plaintiff’s proof of sales below cost is based

solely on Dr. Buckley’s testimony regarding imputed

interest.

[Market Power]

With respect to dangerous probability of success,

plaintiff called an expert, Dr. William G. Shepherd, also

an economist. He testified that stainless steel mixing

bowls constituted a distinct submarket of the United

States market for mixing bowls. He also testified that it

was his understanding that “more or less all” stainless

steel mixing bowls came from Korea in the period of time

relevant to this case. Other witnesses called by the plain-

tiff gave anecdotal testimony to support Dr. Shepherd’s

conclusions. Record at 7-17. This testimony furnishes the

App. 20

basis for plaintiff’s present contention that at trial it

clearly established power in a relevant market.

Plaintiff’s argument on market power is obscure, but

seems to be that if stainless steel mixing bowls constitute

the relevant submarket, and all these bowls came from

Korea, “tracking” Sammi’s share of the bowls exported

from Korea must somehow establish Ken Carter’s market

power in the United States. Thus, despite the fact that

Ken Carter was identified as the entity responsible for the

predatory pricing, Ken Carter’s share of the market for

the distribution of stainless steel mixing bowls to retailers

in the United States was not actually calculated, but

rather estimated at about 10%, and the evidence of mar-

ket power was focused instead on Sammi. Dr. Shepherd

calculated Sammi’s share of the Korean market to export

stainless steel mixing bowls to the United States, conclud-

ing that Sammi produced 40 percent of the bowls sold to

importer/distributors in the United States. Record at

7-136 to 150; 8-64 to 74.21 Presumably, the inference that

21 Vollrath argued that Sammi used its position as Korea’s

largest producer of stainless steel and as Korea’s largest or

second largest trading company to exploit the small

manufacturers of hollowware in Korea. This argument

represents pure speculation by Vollrath; there is no evidence

that Sammi actually used its leverage over the small

manufacturers. Assuming plaintiff’s argument is correct,

however, this fact would aid defendants’, not plaintiff’s case. If

‘Sammi were able to reduce its costs for producing stainless steel

bowls by leveraging its power as a supplier of steel and exporter

of bowls, any anticompetitive harm would be suffered by the

Korean hollowware manufacturers, not distributors such as

Vollrath or American consumers. The harm to the small Korean

manufacturers could not form the basis of an antitrust claim

App. 21

plaintiff asked the trier of fact to draw was that Ken

Carter engaged in predatory pricing as part of an attempt

to extend Sammi’s power into the market for the distribu-

tion of stainless steel hollowware in the United States. No

extended analysis of the proof as to relevant market or

market share is required or even possible. It is enough to

say that there was no proof of either. If plaintiff is to

prevail, it must do so in the absence of proof of these

elements.

a. Sammi, Sammi America and Ken Carter act-

ing as a single economic unit.

Defendants object to plaintiff’s attempt to aggregate

the conduct of Sammi, Sammi America and Ken Carter.”

Viewing each defendant separately, defendants claim that

the only act by Sammi of which plaintiff complains was

enabling Ken Carter to purchase hollowware on D/A

because “American antitrust laws do not regulate the

competitive conditions of other nations’ economies.”

Matsushita, 475 U.S. at 582. Nor could Vollrath complain of harm

to the small manufacturers, since Vollrath would suffer no

injury therefrom. Id. at 583.

22 Defendants view the three corporations as separate and

distinct entities whose acts cannot be attributed one to the other.

Defendants have taken this same position in support of their

argument that this Court cannot exercise personal jurisdiction

over Sammi Corporation. Defendants have maintained

throughout this litigation that Sammi does not have sufficient

minimum contacts with California to be subject to suit here.

Although this Court initially held that it did not have personal

jurisdiction over Sammi, the Court later reversed itself. Order

Granting Plaintiff Vollrath’s Motion to Reinstate Defendant

Sammi Corporation, entered February 17, 1988.

App. 22

terms; and the only act by Sammi America of which

plaintiff complains was making loans to Ken Carter to

enable it to purchase hollowware. Insisting that the cor-

porate conduct of the three defendants be viewed sep-

arately, defendants argue that Sammi and Sammi

America did not sell products below cost and cannot be

found to have priced predatorily. They are able to make

this argument because there is virtually no evidence that

would warrant treating the three defendants as one

excepting only their legal relationship to each other as

parent and subsidiary. The fact of the existence of this

relationship alone, however, does seriously impact the

analysis of the predatory pricing issue in this case and

requires examination.

In Copperweld Corp. v. Independence Tube Corp. [1984-2

TRADE Cases J 66,065], 467 U.S. 752 (1984), the Supreme

Court considered the applicability of Sherman Act theo-

ries to parent corporations and their wholly owned sub-

sidiaries. Although the Court in Copperweld articulated a

narrow holding - “[a corporation] and its wholly owned

subsidiary . . . are incapable of conspiring with each other

for purposes of § 1 of the Sherman Act,” id. at 777 — the

rationale of the case has broader implications. The hold-

ing in Copperweld builds on the

basic fact that the ultimate interests of the sub-

sidiary and the parent are identical, so the par-

ent and the subsidiary must be viewed as a

single economic unit.

Id. at 772 n.18. Certainly, in the situation where the parent

supplies the product and the subsidiary distributes the

product, it is not unreasonable to infer that the parent

App. 23

and subsidiary are acting with a “unity of purpose” — id.

at 771 -- to maximize profits on that product.

The evidence here was that Sammi, the parent, sup-

plied the products, sold them to Ken Carter on D/A

terms, and permitted its subsidiary, Sammi America, to

make loans to Ken Carter to pay for the products. From

these interrelated transactions the trier-of-fact could infer

that the three defendant corporations had a working

arrangement of some kind to market hollowware in the

United States. From the parent/subsidiary relationship

and this working arrangement, plaintiff argues that it is

appropriate to treat Sammi, Sammi America and Ken

Carter as a single economic unit for all purposes, includ-

ing liability for predatory pricing.

Treating the defendants as a single economic unit,

however, makes it impossible to accept Dr. Buckley’s

method of establishing that Ken Carter’s prices were

below average variable cost. The largest component of

average variable cost as calculated by Dr. Buckley was

the invoice price that Sammi charged Ken Carter for

hollowware.% For the purpose of a predatory pricing case

against these three related defendants, however, the

invoice price from Sammi to Ken Carter cannot be viewed

in the same way as Sammi’s invoice price to an unrelated

entity. Obviously, an intracorporate transfer price may

reflect profit to the parent/seller even as it reflects cost to

23 On every hollowware item, Dr. Buckley’s figures show

that the invoice cost from Sammi to Ken Carter constitutes the

“ ”

major component of average variable cost. Column “g” to

plaintiff’s exhibit 701A at 7-A to 7-E; and column “g” to

plaintiff’s exhibit 701D at A-9 and A-10.

App. 24

the subsidiary/buyer. Thus, to establish the cost of the

product to the single economic unit, the trier-of-fact

would have to know what Sammi’s margin of profit was.

Presumably, Sammi did make a profit on the product

because it is undisputed that it sold to Ken Carter’s

competitors at the same or lower invoice prices as it sold

to Ken Carter. And, if it did, that profit logically should

have found its way into Dr. Buckley’s calculations. Cer-

tainly, treating the defendants as a single economic unit,

Ken Carter’s invoice price is far less relevant than

Sammi’s cost figure. Plaintiff did not, however, introduce

any evidence as to Sammi’s cost.?4 Thus, if the plaintiff’s

theory was that these defendants were acting as a single

economic unit, Dr. Buckley’s calculation fails to take into

account the likely possibility that the single economic

unit was making a profit overall.?5

24 On cross-examination, Dr. Buckley testified:

“Q: [H]ave you tried to compute the average variable cost

of Sammi Corporation’s -

“A: No.

“Q: And would the same be true of Sammi America

Corporation. .. . [Y]ou never tried to compute average variable

—

“A: That’s correct.”

Record at 6-177.

25 Dr. Shepherd testified that after buying hollowware from

the Korean manufacturers, importer/distributors generally

marked up the price of the product 30 to 40 percent. This large

mark-up suggests that the combined entity could have made

money even if Ken Carter’s mark-up was very small. Record at

8-75.

App. 25

In determining whether there is harm to competitors

and competition, it is losses on the product, not losses to

the subsidiary, that the Sherman Act prohibits.26 The

26 Citing England v. Chrysler Corporation [1974-1 Trapve Cases

{ 74,931], 493 F.2d 269 (9th Cir. 1974), cert. denied, 419 U.S. 869

(1974), plaintiff argued, in opposition to the post-trial motions,

that Sammi could be held liable under the antitrust laws for

recklessly operating Ken Carter such that other distributors

would be forced to function at an unprofitable level. In England,

plaintiff Sunset Dodge — a privately owned Dodge dealer — sued

Chrysler Corporation - the manufacturer of Dodge cars — and

Van Ness Dodge - a Dodge dealer wholly owned by Chrysler.

Sunset argued that Chrysler operated Van Ness in an effort to

increase Chrysler’s share of the automobile market. Although

Chrysler turned a profit on all its sales, Chrysler allegedly

subsidized Van Ness and operated Van Ness regardless of Van

Ness’ retail profit, thereby pressuring Sunset and other

independent dealers to reduce prices. The Ninth Circuit

assumed, without deciding, that,

“the predominant emphasis on market penetration, which

results in the deliberately reckless operation of a subsidized

retailer and which has the inevitable effect of forcing competing

and non-subsidized dealers to function at an unprofitable level,

could, if proved, constitute an unreasonable restraint of trade.”

Id. at 273. The court further stated that plaintiff would have to

prove that the defendant parent deliberately determined to

manage the subsidiary regardless of retail profit. Since Sunset

failed to prove that Chrysler deliberately disregarded Van Ness’

profits, the court entered judgment for defendants.

England does not aid Vollrath. First, England addressed only

section 1 of the Sherman Act, stating that the reckless operation

of a subsidiary may be an unreasonable restraint of trade. Under

Copperweld, this theory is no longer valid; parents and their

wholly owned subsidiaries cannot conspire in violation of

section 1. Second, to the extent that Sammi could be accused of

attempting to monopolize the market to distribute hollowware

by reckless operation of Ken Carter, plaintiff would be required

——————

App. 26

rationale of Copperweld impels the conclusion that a plain-

tiff should not be permitted to isolate the distributor/

subsidiary transaction, treat the intracorporate transfer

price as a real cost, add imputed interest because of

financing by the parent, and hold the parent and the

subsidiary both liable for the subsidiary’s below cost

pricing.” If Sammi had opted to run Ken Carter as a

division, rather than as a subsidiary, Vollrath could not

have made a case by showing that, while Sammi may

have been making a profit on the production of the

hollowware, the division was losing money on the sale of

it. Under these circumstances, Vollrath would have been

required to present its predatory pricing case in the light

of economic reality. So should Vollrath have to do so here.

“Antitrust liability [cannot] turn[{ ] on the garb in which a

corporate subunit [is] clothed.” Copperweld, 467 U.S. at

773.

to establish specific intent. England, however, held that reckless

operation of a subsidiary is not a per se violation of section 1, nor

a clearly predatory act. See also Mt. Lebanon Motors, Inc. v.

Chrysler Corp. [1968 Trape Cases { 72,523], 283 F.Supp. 453 (W.D.

Pa. 1968). Vollrath, then, would not be entitled to an inference of

specific intent. Having failed to prove specific intent directly,

any section 2 claim based on the theory assumed in England

must fail. See Marquis v. Chrysler Corporation [1978-2 Trape Cases

{ 62,155], 577 F.2d 624 at 640 n.27, and 641 (9th Cir. 1978). See

also In re Coordinated Pretrial Proceedings in Western Liquid

Asphalt Cases [1979-2 Trape Cases | 62,968], 478 F.Supp. 785

(N.D. Cal. 1979).

27 Since Vollrath was purchasing almost all of its

hollowware from other Korean trading companies - such as Hai

Dong - and could have purchased from a number of others, this

is not a price squeeze case.

App. 27

As stated, the defendants each have maintained

throughout that their individual conduct must be viewed

separately. Thus, the defendants did not introduce evi-

dence of Sammi’s costs either, viewing them as irrelevant

in a case based on Ken Carter’s costs. Defendants, of

course, did not have the burden of establishing anything

other than that plaintiff’s economic theory was wrong.

Plaintiff, on the other hand, chose this theory to prove its

predatory pricing case, and it had the burden of treating

the defendants in a manner consistent with the theory it

selected. The difficulty is that if the plaintiff’s theory was

that the defendants were acting together as a single eco-

nomic unit, there is a major flaw in Dr. Buckley’s calcula-

tion: it treats the invoice price in a manner consistent

only with their being separate and unreiated. For the pur-

pose of analyzing the antitrust claims in this case, the fact

that the three defendants are part of the same economic

unit has significance. The transactions between them

must be viewed in the light of that economic reality.

There is a further legal problem with Dr. Buckley’s

testimony. The predatory pricing claim stands or falls on

the concept that interest must be imputed to transactions

between parts of a single economic unit. In a proper case

involving separate and unrelated entities, imputing inter-

est in the calculation of cost might be warranted, but

what are in effect subsidies extended by a parent to a

subsidiary clearly require a different legal analysis. Par-

ents can subsidize and extend favorable treatment to

subsidiaries without violating the antitrust laws. A sub-

sidy or favorable treatment extended to a subsidiary by a

App. 28

parent, without more, does not establish an antitrust vio-

lation. England v. Chrysler Corporation, 493 F.2d 269 (9th

Cir. 1974), cert. denied, 419 U.S. 869 (1974).

b. Sammi, Sammi America and Ken Carter act-

ing as separate entities.

In order to treat Sammi’s invoice price as a true cost

for the purpose of this predatory pricing case, Ken Carter

must be treated as a separate and unrelated entity in its

transactions with Sammi and Sammi America. An anal-

ysis of the plaintiff’s arguments from this standpoint is

necessary to be sure that no injustice is done in the

evaluation of Dr. Buckley’s testimony. However, even

under this theory, plaintiff’s claim of predatory pricing

cannot be sustained.

In antitrust cases, “[rlealities must dominate the

judgment.” Appalachian Coals, Inc. v. United States

[1932-1939 Trape Cases J 55,025], 288 U.S. 344, 360 (1933).

Therefore, to prove that a competitor set prices below

cost, an antitrust plaintiff must calculate the actual costs

incurred by the would-be monopolist. Although an esti-

mate of defendant’s costs will always be imperfect,

because “[e]conomics is an inexact science,” D&S Redi-

Mix v. Sierra Redi-Mix and Contracting Co. [1982-83 TRapE

Cases J 65,017], 692 F.2d 1245, 1248 (9th Cir. 1982), the

plaintiff must, at a minimum, show that the defendant

actually incurred the costs that plaintiff attributes to

defendant. Thus, in Matsushita, the Supreme Court held

that an expert’s study had little probative value where

the expert did not base “on actual cost data” his finding

that defendants priced below average variable cost. 475

App. 29

U.S. at 594 n.19. Given the inherently speculative nature

of an allegation of predatory pricing, the Court dismissed

the expert’s calculations because they were “both implau-

sible and inconsistent with record evidence.” Id.78

Similarly, Dr. Buckley attributed to Ken Carter the

cost of “imputed interest” even though Dr. Buckley

repeatedly admitted that Ken Carter never incurred those

costs.29? Indeed, plaintiff did not offer any evidence to

rebut the testimony of defendants’ witnesses that Ken

Carter’s interest payments on purchases from Sammi

were included in the invoice price of the D/A contracts.

Ignoring this reality, Dr. Buckley’s estimate of interest

double counted Ken Carter’s costs by adding an addi-

tional amount of imputed interest to Sammi’s invoice cost

to Ken Carter. As to the loans from Sammi America to

28 The Ninth Circuit’s reasoning in D&S Redi-Mix v. Sierra

Redi-Mix & Contracting Co., 692 F.2d 1245 (9th Cir. 1982), also

supports the insistence on actual costs. In D&S Redi-Mix,

defendant concrete company’s financial statements did not

include the costs for equipment rental and materials used by

defendant; plaintiff’s economic expert, however, imputed these

costs to calculate whether defendant had priced predatorily. The

Court approved of the expert’s methodology because there was

no evidence that the actual “costs were other than as [plaintiff’s]

experts assumed.” Id. at 1248.

29 When asked, “[I]mputed interest is not something that

Ken Carter actually pays; is that right?” Buckley responded,

“Well, somebody paid for it. Money isn’t free. So if [Ken] Carter

didn’t pay for it, Sammi[] paid for it or Sammi America paid for

it. But it’s all part of the cost of doing business.” Record at 6-168;

Plaintiff’s exhibit 701C, Ref: MVCF-1 at S-4 “Evaluation of Ken

Carter Industries’ Financial Performance,” (recognizing that

Ken Carter was not required io pay interest on loans from

Sammi America, rather Sammi America carried the interest).

App. 30

Ken Carter, the record evidence is undisputed that these

loans were treated as investment capital; Ken Carter paid

interest on only a portion of these loans. Again, Dr.

Buckley’s imputed interest calculations ignored the real-

ity of the transactions, and attributed to Ken Carter inter-

est payments on all the loans from Sammi America.

Furthermore, Dr. Buckley used interest rates set by Amer-

ican banks for commercial loans. The only record evi-

dence as to the actual transactions, however, is that Ken

Carter paid Sammi America at a lesser rate. Dr. Buckley

made no effort to calculate the actual amount of debt on

which interest was required to be paid at the actual rate.

Once defendants are viewed as separate and unrelated

entities, then, imputed interest, as a cost incurred by Ken

Carter, is “inconsistent with record evidence” and should

be excluded from consideration.”

Without imputed interest, every product in Ken Car-

ter’s hollowware line was priced above average variable

cost, except for two mixing bowls and a colander in 1983,

30 This case presents an even stronger case for excluding

the expert’s calculations than Matsushita. In Matsushita, the

Court based its understanding of defendants’ actual costs on a

single affidavit of one of defendants’ officers. The Court granted

summary judgment for defendants based on the failure to show

an intent to price below costs. 475 U.S. at 594 n.19, aff’g Zenith

Radio Corp. v. Matsushita Elec. Industries Co., 505 F.Supp. 1313

(E.D. Pa. 1981). Here, the Court’s understanding of the

transactions at issue and of Ken Carter’s costs are based on the

full record at trial. Moreover, plaintiff’s expert freely admitted

that his cost estimates were not based upon debts Ken Carter

actually incurred.

App. 31

and a five-piece bowl set in 1984.5! Plaintiff argues, nev-

ertheless, that the below cost pricing on these few items

constitutes predatory conduct. This pricing behavior

would be “economically senseless”, however, and does

not constitute substantial evidence of anticompetitive

conduct and intent. Matsushita, 475 U.S. at 597-98. Plain-

tiff made no showing that the few products priced below

cost in 1983 would “necessarily drive out rivals who were

selling a full line [of hollowware],” as all of Ken Carter’s

competitors did. Janich Bros., Inc. v. American Distilling

Co., 570 F.2d 848, 856 (9th Cir. 1977), cert. denied, 439 U.S.

829 (1978). The record contains no evidence that the two

bowls and the colander priced below cost in 1983 were

particularly important products in the hollowware mar-

ket. As to the five-piece bowl set priced below cost in

1984, plaintiff did introduce evidence that a retailer might

select a hollowware supplier based on the price of similar

items.32 Even assuming, however, that below cost pricing

31 Dr. Buckley calculated the various components of

average variable cost for 18 Ken Carter products in 1983 and 19

Ken Carter products in 1984. Plaintiff’s exhibit 701A, at 7-A to

7-E; exhibit 701D, at A-9 and A-10. To calculate average variable

cost exclusive of imputed interest, the trier-of-fact would

subtract column “1” from column “m.” Comparing this figure to

the average selling price for each item, column “c,” only a few

items are below average variable cost: the “CLD-13” colander,

and “MB-2” and “MB-5” mixing bowls in 1983, and the “5108”

five-piece bowl set in 1984.

32 Harold Burgeson, a hollowware buyer for Montgomery

Wards, testified that the key item in the Vollrath line in 1983 was

a six-piece mixing bowl set; Burgeson stated that he might

purchase the entire line based on the price of that item. Record

at 7-42 to 43. Carol Storn, Vollrath’s director of marketing, also

emphasized the importance of the five-piece bowl set in

App. 32

of this single product could eventually drive competitors

from the market, Vollrath contends that Ken Carter’s

price on the five-piece bow] set caused Vollrath to exit the

entire hollowware market in a mere five months. The

short duration of this below cost pricing cannot support

an inference of predation. William Inglis & Sons Baking

Company, Inc., 668 F.2d at 1034 n. 29 (not all short-run

pricing below average variable cost is predatory). Plain-

tiff also contends that it has proved that Ken Carter

priced below average total cost, and that such pricing is

sufficient to sustain the jury’s verdict. Pricing below aver-

age total cost, however, is only anticompetitive if plaintiff

establishes by other evidence that the pricing was preda-

tory, id.; there is no substantial evidence in the record

from which the inference can be drawn that Ken Carter

intended anticompetitive consequences to flow from its

pricing.

B. Steamer blockage.

As stated, it is plaintiff’s position that the Korean

Metal Flatware Association is a non-governmental orga-

nization of flatware and hollowware manufacturers and

exporters. Upon application, the Association may grant

an exclusive export license for a particular product to a

manufacturer or trading company. Sammi, as a trading

company, and Daesung, a hollowware manufacturer,

were co-owners of the export rights to a quart steamer.

securing accounts of retailers. Record at 4B-44, 51, 55 and 56.

There was no testimony as to the amount a hollowware

distributor would have to cut prices on a bowl set in order to

win an account.

App. 33

Vollrath showed that from October 1983 until January

1984 Sammi invoked its design registration rights to pre-

vent Daelim from exporting the steamers to Vollrath.

Record at 4-25; 5-181. Plaintiff contends that Sammi

caused this delay of three months as part of its attempt to

monopolize the United States market to distribute stain-

less steel, top-of-stove, free standing steamers.* Dr.

Shepherd testified that these steamers could be treated as

a distinct product and “in a sense” could be viewed as

constituting “a market of their own.” Record at 7-111.

Plaintiff relies on Handgards, Inc. v. Ethicon, Inc.

[1984-2 Trape Cases J 66,134], 743 F.2d 1282 (9th Cir.

1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1190 (1985), for the proposi-

tion that Sammi’s invocation of its design registration

rights, like misuse of a patent, may form the basis of an

attempted monopolization claim under section 2. Hand-

gards makes clear, however, that the mere invocation of

patent rights is not clearly predatory conduct from which

a trier-of-fact is entitled to infer specific intent to monop-

olize.34 Since Sammi’s conduct was consistent with a

33 Vollrath has argued that Sammi’s anticompetitive intent

in blocking the steamers is evidence of a specific intent to price

below cost. The argument is that if Sammi had an intent to

monopolize the market for steamers, a jury could infer that

Sammi had intent to monopolize the market for bowls as well.

The argument is untenable.

34 The concern in Handgards — that an attempt to enforce

patent rights is not to be considered clearly predatory conduct -

stems from an effort to reconcile the goals of the antitrust laws

and the patent laws. A holder of a patent should neither be

encouraged to invoke a patent to dampen competition, nor

discouraged from invoking a patent out of fear of a claim of

attempted monopolization. Thus, in Handgards, Inc. v. Ethicon,

App. 34

legitimate concern to protect its design registration

rights,

[Vollrath] had to prove that the agents, officers,

and directors of [Sammi] responsible for .. .

maintaining the [objection to Daelim’s export]

were in possession of facts that prevented them

from holding a good faith belief that the

[steamer design registration rights] were valid.

Handgards, 743 F.2d at 1290. It is the knowing misuse of

an inapplicable patent that makes the conduct anticom-

petitive, and a plaintiff must prove that knowledge and

intent by direct or circumstantial evidence.

The record in this case contains no evidence to sup-

port a finding that Sammi’s invocation of its design rights

was in bad faith. Plaintiff made no effort to establish

what criteria govern the scope of Sammi’s design rights,

whether Vollrath’s steamer did or did not infringe on

those rights, and whether Sammi’s objection to Daelim’s

export was so lacking in merit that a trier-of-fact could

Inc. [1979-1 Trapve Cases J 62,625], 601 F.2d 986, 996 (9th Cir.

1979), cert. denied, 444 U.S. 1025 (1980), the court held that a

patentee’s infringement action is presumptively in good faith,

and to prevail on a Sherman Act claim, a plaintiff must prove, by

clear and convincing evidence, that the patentee used the patent

in bad faith, knowing the patent to be invalid.

Although this case concerns rights granted by the Korean

Metal Flatware Association, not the United States Patent Office,

some of the concerns implicated in Handgards apply here. At a

minimum, as a factual matter, the trier-of-fact cannot infer bad

faith from defendant’s invocation of legitimate design rights.

App. 35

infer that Sammi knowingly invoked an inapplicable pat-

ent. Instead, plaintiff was content to rely on the state-

ments of several witnesses that they “liked” the Vollrath

steamer better than the Ken Carter steamer.*5 In an anti-

trust context, this testimony is meaningless.

Having failed to prove that Sammi acted to inten-

tionally abuse the rights granted by the Association,

plaintiff claims that the operation of the Korean Metal

Flatware Association itself violated the antitrust laws.

Arguing from unsupported innuendo,* plaintiff attempts

to portray the Association as an organization dominated

35 For example, in an effort to prove that Sammi’s design

rights did not cover the Daelim steamer, plaintiff cites the

testimony of Mr. Burgeson, a hollowware buyer for

Montgomery Wards. Mr. Burgeson said that he “liked the look”

of the Daelim steamer, that it “had a gourmetish flavor” and

that other steamers “didn’t appeal to [him] as much.” Plaintiff’s

Opposition to Motion for JNOV at 24. Several Vollrath

employees echoed Mr. Burgeson’s preference for the Daelim

steamer.

Despite the abundant testimony as to how Vollrath’s

steamer was aesthetically more pleasing than Sammi’s steamer,

plaintiff failed to introduce any evidence as to why Sammi’s

design rights would not cover the Vollrath product. Indeed,

Vollrath’s Manager of imported products, Ernest Keppler,

candidly admitted that Vollrath and Daelim “weren’t even

thinking of design registration” in producing the competing

steamer. Record at 5-170.

36 For example, plaintiff argued that Mr. Park, a member of

the Association, admitted that an “express purpose” of the

Association was to “stop price competition.” Plaintiff’s

Opposition to Motion for JNOV at 25. This is an outright

distortion of Mr. Park’s testimony; Mr. Park stated that the

purposes of the Association were to ensure product quality and

compliance with the laws against dumping. Record at 11-182.

App. 36

by Sammi’s whims. Plaintiff contends that Sammi used its

influence as a dominant trading company and steel sup-

plier to intimidate Daelim into withholding export of the

steamer to Vollrath. There is absolutely no evidentiary

support in the record for this factual theory.” Even if

plaintiff’s accusation were true, however, Vollrath could

not make an antitrust violation out of that one fact alone.

There is no proof of harm to distributors or to competi-

tion in the United States from the temporary steamer

blockage. The parties agree that Sammi offered to sell

steamers to Vollrath at the same price charged to Ken

Carter and numerous unaffiliated importer/distributors

and on the same terms. On this state of the record, the

harm to American consumers of steamers or the distribu-

tors selling those steamers is impossible to discern.%8

37 Indeed, plaintiff admits that the chairman of the Korean

Metal Flatware Association during the time of the steamer

blockage was the president of Daelim, the manufacturer of

Vollrath’s steamer. Record at 6-32 to 33. Yet Vollrath’s attorneys

insisted, without a shred of evidence, that Sammi’s power in

Korea was so great that even Daelim would collapse under

Sammi’s pressure or that Sammi controlled all of the other

members of the board. Moreover, if Sammi had such power,

there is no explanation in the record as to why Sammi relented

and ultimately permitted the Daelim steamer to be shipped.

38 If Sammi did have monopoly power over steel

production and used that power to prevent Daelim from

entering the market to produce stainless steel steamers, that

conduct would certainly be anticompetitive in Korea. However,

the “American antitrust laws do not regulate the competitive

conditions of other nations’ economies,” Matsushita, 475 U.S. at

582. Thus, plaintiff would be required to prove how the harm to

Daelim affected competition in the United States.

App. 37

IV. Conspiracy.

Copperweld establishes that a parent and its wholly

owned subsidiary are legally incapable of conspiring

with each other under section 1 of the Sherman Act. The

Copperweld rule should be equally applicable to an allega-

tion of conspiracy under section 2. H.R.M., Inc. v. Tele-

Communications, Inc. [1987-1 Trape Cases ] 67,475], 653

F.Supp. 645, 648 (D. Colo. 1987). Copperweld recognized,

however, that where separate corporations become affili-

ated in furtherance of an illegal conspiracy, common

ownership and control do not protect subsequent action

from scrutiny under section 1. 467 U.S. at 761; see also Rio

Vista Oil Ltd. v. Southland Corp. [1987-2 Trape Cases

{ 67,696], 667 F.Supp. 757, 761 (D. Utah 1987). To avoid

the Copperweld prohibition against intra-corporate con-

spiracies, then, plaintiff contended that, prior to the

acquisition, Sammi and Sammi America conspired with

Ken Carter to price hollowware below cost.

Although plaintiff introduced evidence from which it

could be inferred that Sammi and Sammi America had

some sort of relationship with Ken Carter prior to the

acquisition, there is absolutely no evidence that this com-

bination had an anticompetitive purpose. Prior to the

acquisition, Ken Carter purchased substantial amounts of

inventory from Sammi, thereby incurring a debt as large

as $2 million, and at times Ken Carter held itself out to be

a division of Sammi or Sammi America. Plaintiff offered

no evidence that either the debt or the relationship

allowed Ken Carter to price its products below cost. In

fact, there is no evidence of sales below cost in this pre-

acquisition period. Nor has plaintiff identified any aspect

App. 38

of the acquisition documents that might tend to restrain

or injure competition.

Instead, Vollrath relied on defendants’ post-acquisi-

tion conduct to create an inference that Sammi America’s

intent in acquiring Ken Carter was to carry out a preda-

tory pricing scheme. There is no other evidence from

which such an inference could be drawn. As to the post-

acquisition conduct, of course, plaintiff failed to intro-

duce substantial evidence that Ken Carter actually set

prices below cost at any time, or that Sammi and Sammi

America operating through Ken Carter carried out a

predatory scheme. Thus, if plaintiff’s attempted monopo-

lization claim against the defendants fails, so must plain-

tiff’s conspiracy claim. Second, even if Vollrath had

succeeded on its attempted monopolization claim, plain-

tiff failed to offer any reason why a trier-of-fact could

reasonably infer that there was any anticompetitive

scheme in existence prior to the acquisition of Ken Carter

by Sammi America. Sammi America purchased Ken Car-

ter in November 1981, yet Ken Carter is not accused of

engaging in predatory pricing until 1983. The only legiti-

mate inference from the delay is that if defendants con-

ceived of a scheme, they did so long after the acquisition.

This is especially true since plaintiff has offered no expla-

nation of how or in what way the acquisition could have

aided defendants in their predatory pricing. There is

nothing in the record to suggest that the defendants

could do anything respecting pricing in 1983 that they

could not have done in 1981, before the acquisition.

Under these circumstances, the conspiracy claim under

section 2 must fail.

App. 39

V. Robinson-Patman Act.

A. Legal Standard.

In addition to its predatory pricing claims under

sections 1 and 2 of the Sherman Act, Vollrath attempted

to prove that Ken Carter sold hollowware at lower prices

to certain retailers than to other retailers in an effort tu

take over accounts serviced by Vollrath; plaintiff con-

tends that this discriminatory pricing violates section 2(a)

of the Clayton Act as amended by the Robinson-Patman

Act, 15 U.S.C. § 13(a). Although price discrimination and

predatory pricing are governed by distinct statutes, it is

critical to recognize that in this case, the two legal theo-

ries “are directed at the same economic evil and have the

same substantive content.” Janich Bros., 570 F.2d at 855.

Vollrath’s price discrimination claim is merely a subpart

of its predatory pricing claim; the predatory pricing claim

is that Ken Carter generally lowered its prices to elimi-

nate competition thereby attempting to gain a monopoly,

and the discriminatory pricing claim is that Ken Carter

selectively lowered prices to accounts serviced by Vollrath

to discipline or eliminate it from the market. Thus, the

evil which the Robinsun-Patman Act proscribes — where

the alleged injury is to the competitors of the price setting

firm (i.e. “primary-line” injury) — is the same evil pro-

scribed by the Sherman Act: the setting of an “improper

price.”39

39 P. Areeda & H. Hovenkamp, Antitrust Law: 1988

Supplement 574 (1988).

App. 40

With this general consideration as a guide, Vollrath

must prove several jurisdictional and substantive ele-

ments to prevail on its discriminatory pricing claim. First,

plaintiff must establish that Ken Carter made two or more

contemporaneous sales of like products to different

retailers at different prices; and, at least one of the sales

must have been made in interstate commerce. Rutledge v.

Elec. Hose & Rubber Co. [1975-1 Trape Cases J 60,151], 511

F.2d 668, 677 (9th Cir. 1975). Mere price discrimination,

however, does not violate section 2(a). Since selective

price cutting to particular customers, like the lowering of

prices generally, can be the essence or the antithesis of

competition, section 2(a) distinguishes “between vig-

orous, but honest, price competition and predatory

assaults on the competitive process.” William Inglis, 668

F.2d at 1042.

Therefore, plaintiff must also prove that the effect of

the price discrimination

may [have been] substantially to lessen competi-

tion or tend to create a monopoly in any line of

commerce, or to injure, destroy, or prevent com-

petition with [Ken Carter].

15 U.S.C. § 13(a). This requisite effect on competition may

be inferred from evidence of predatory intent, or, in the

absence of such evidence, from proof of predatory con-

duct. William Inglis, 668 F.2d at 1040-41. Because Voll-

rath’s discriminatory pricing claim is a subpart of its

predatory pricing claim, whether defendants’ conduct

will support an inference of predation is judged by the

same analytical standards applicable to attempt to

App. 41

monopolize claims under section 2 of the Sherman Act.

Id. at 1041.40

Finally, to prevail on a section 2(a) claim, a private

plaintiff must establish that the discrimination caused

actual harm to it. J. Truett Payne Co. v. Chrysler Motors

Corp. [1981-1 Trape Cases { 64,013], 451 USS. 557, 562

(1981).

B. Plaintiff's proof.

1. Ken Carter

The jury returned a verdict against both Sammi and

Ken Carter on the discriminatory pricing claim. This

claim is. based solely on the claim that Ken Carter

engaged in discriminatorily low pricing to Target stores, a

retailer that had been a Vollrath account. Plaintiff intro-

duced evidence that, in June 1983, Ken Carter sent price

quotes to Target for over twenty hollowware items. Plain-

tiff’s exhibit 110. On one of these items — The “5108” five-

piece mixing bowl set — Ken Carter’s offered price was

© Thus, the cost based test applicable to predatory pricing

claims under the Sherman Act also applies to Robinson-Patman

claims. A defendant's discriminatory pricing is presumptively

predatory if the lower price set by defendant is below

defendant’s average variable cost; if the lower price is above

average variable cost, however, the burden remains on plaintiff

to prove that the price is predatory. Ultimately, however, the

cost based test, as with the Sherman Act, merely serves to

allocate the burden of proof on the issue of predation. A

discriminatory price is predatory only if defendant justifies the

price on the anticipated benefit of disciplining or eliminating

competition.

App. 42

less than average variable cost.*! Target, however, did not

actually purchase any hollowware from Ken Carter in

1983. Plaintiff’s exhibit 701C, “Summary of Carter’s Sales

of Relevant Products to its Major Customers,” dated Sep-

tember 18, 1986, at 4.

Vollrath’s vice-president of marketing, Carol Storn,

testified that, in early 1984, Target pressured Vollrath to

lower its prices. Vollrath responded by offering a special

price on its own five-piece mixing bowl set for a Target

promotional sale in March 1984. See plaintiff’s exhibit

123. In its attempt to keep competitive, however, Vollrath

was losing money on each shipment of bowls to Target,

and in May 1984, Storn informed Target that Vollrath

would increase its prices. In response to Vollrath’s price

increase, Target told Vollrath that Target would seek a

new supplier.42 During this same month, Vollrath made

the decision to exit the hollowware distribution market.

41 Compare Dr. Buckley’s calculation of the average

variable cost to Ken Carter of selling a “5108” set in 1983 (less

imputed interest) —- $6.27 - to the price quoted to Target — $5.00.

Plaintiff’s exhibit 701A at C; plaintiff’s exhibit 110.

42 The following is Storn’s complete testimony as to these

events:

“We had extreme pricing pressure from Target and had to

lower our prices to them as a result of it. The ultimate result was

that every time we made a shipment to Target we were losing

money, and the next thing that I did - I went to see the buyer at

Target in Minneapolis, and one of the things that I learned is

that she was not going to add any other products to the line.

“They were strictly going to buy mixing bowls, and in effect

that meant we had no opportunity to make up lost profits [on

our mixing bowls], so I gaveher a price increase. I was informed

that they would look for another-supplier and buy from us only

App. 43

Subsequently, Ken Carter secured the Target account.

Although Carol Storn testified that Ken Carter may have

made sales to Target in May or June of 1984, plaintiff

offered evidence only of sales and the terms of sales from

Ken Carter to Target beginning in late July 1984; there is

substantial evidence that, from July through December

1984, Ken Carter sold its “5108” and “MBS-5C” bow! sets

to Target at prices below the prices charged to other

retailers. Plaintiff’s exhibit 701C, “Summary of Carter’s

Sales of Relevant Products to its Major Customers,” dated

September 18, 1986, at 2U-202. The prices offered to Target

on these two items were also below average variable cost.

Plaintiff’s Robinson-Patman claim, if it is based on

pricing pressure stemming from Ken Carter’s offer to sell

five-piece mixing bowls, fails to meet the jurisdictional

requirements of the statute. Section 2(a) expressly requires

that the price discrimination be based on two completed,

contemporaneous sales, and “a mere ‘offer’ to sell to com-

peting customers at different prices does not satisfy this

requirement.” Foremost Pro Color, Inc. v. Eastman Kodak Co.

[1983-1 Trape Cases ¥ 65,239], 703 F.2d 534, 547 (9th Cir.

1983), cert. denied, 465 U.S. 1038 (1984). Thus, plaintiff

must base its Robinson-Patman claim on the actual sales

that Ken Carter made to Target beginning in July 1984. If

plaintiff relies on these sales to support its price discrimi-

nation claim, however, the price disparities cannot have

caused any injury to Vollrath because it made the decision

to exit the hollowware business, in May. After Vollrath

if they had to, because they ran out of inventory in the

meantime.”

Record at 4B-61.

App. 44

made its decision to exit the market, there is no evidence

that Vollrath attempted to obtain the Target account, or

any other retailer’s account. Ken Carter’s discriminatory

pricing in 1984, then, did not cause Vollrath to lose the

Target account. Plaintiff has no standing to recover for an

alleged Robinson-Patman violation that did not cause it

any harm. J. Truett Payne, 451 U.S. at 562.

Even assuming that the record contained substantial

evidence that Ken Carter’s discriminatory prices to Tar-

get caused Vollrath to lose the Target account, plaintiff

did not establish the requisite effect on competition.

Although Vollrath boldly claimed that the loss of Target

“plunged” Vollrath into losses leading to the demise of

the Consumer Products Division, the record dos [sic] not

support the claim that Vollrath’s loss of the Target

account could have resulted in an immediate decision to

cease operations. Vollrath’s price discrimination claim, at

best, is based on the shifting of a single account from

Vollrath to Ken Carter, with no resulting change in the

number of importer/distributors in the market. Foremost

Pro Color, 703 F.2d at 548 (“injury to a specific competitor

is not enough from which a court may infer that an

alleged price discrimination may ‘substantially’ injure

competition.” )4#

43 Defendants also argue that judgment notwithstanding the

verdict should be granted because Ken Carter proved that it was

merely meeting competition by setting its five-piece bowl price at

five dollars. Defendants’ Reply to Opposition to Motion for

JNOV at 23. It is an absolute defense to a charge of violating

section 2(a) to show that defendant’s pricing “was a good faith

effort to meet price competition.” William Inglis, 668 F.2d at 1045.

Le a oe oe

App. 45

2. Sammi.

Plaintiff introduced absolutely no evidence that

Sammi sold hollowware to different purchasers at differ-

ent prices.* It is undisputed that Sammi sold its hollow-

ware to other importer/distributors at the same prices

charged to Ken Carter. Thus, there is no factual basis for

holding both Sammi and Ken Carter liable under section

2(a) unless Ken Carter was eng>ged in discriminatory

pricing and the acts of Ken Carter can be attributed to

Sammi.

No facts have been established which would furnish

a legal basis for attributing Ken Carter’s pricing conduct

with respect to Target to Sammi. All the record shows is

that Sammi is a parent and Ken Carter a subsidiary in the

same economic unit. Moreover, taking Sammi and Ken

Carter as part of a single economic unit, there is no

Although Vollrath’s Carol Storn admitted that Target’s

buyer told her that National Silver had offered its five-piece

bowl set for $4.90, a price lower than Ken Carter had offered,

Record at 5-4 to 5, this testimony alone does not satisfy the

demanding requirements for JNOV. Since the record does not

reveal whether Ken Carter made its offer in response to

National Silver or vice-versa, defendants have not established

the meeting competition defense as a matter of law. Id.

44 Plaintiff did not, and could not, allege that ‘ «mmi’s sales

of hollowware to Ken Carter on D/A terms conten “oraneously

with sales of hollowware to other importer/distributors on

other terms violated section 2(a); a parent corporation may set

prices more favorably to its subsidiary than to other buyers

without violating the laws against discriminatory pricing. See

Russ’ Kwik Car Wash, Inc. v. Marathon Petroleum Co. [1985-2

Trave Cases J 66,796], 772 F.2d 214 (6th Cir. 1985).

App. 46

evidence that defendants set prices below average vari-

able cost.4° The burden on predation, then, did not shift

to defendants, and plaintiff was required to introduce

other evidence that the pricing was predatory.

However, no basis for establishing the requisite

competitive injury, other than by proof of preda-

tory intent and predatory pricing, is evident in

the record before [the Court], nor has [Vollrath]

argued one. Certainly, the mere fact that [Voll-

rath] suffered losses and eventually ceased

operations is not sufficient to establish a section

2(a) Robinson-Patman Act violation.

William Inglis, 668 F.2d at 1042. Plaintiff did not do that.

Thus, the Robinson-Patman claim cannot stand as to

defendant Sammi.

VI. California Unfair Trade Practices Act.

The jury found Sammi and Ken Carter, but not

Sammi America, liable for violating two provisions of the

California Unfair Trade Practices Act: (1) the prohibition .

against sales below cost, Ca!. Bus. & Prof. Code § 17043,46

and (2) the loss leader provision, prohibiting a sale below

cost of one product to induce purchase of a full line of

45 See supra Part II.A.2.a.

46 Section 17043 states:

“It is unlawful for any person engaged in business within

this State to sell any article at less than the cost thereof to such

vendor .. . for the purpose of injuring competitors or destroying

competition.”

App. 47

products or to injure competitors, Cal Bus. & Prof. Code

§ 17044.47

Although Dr. Buckley’s study of Ken Carter’s pricing

practices, if accepted, is sufficient to prove that Ken Car-

ter, in 1983, sold two bowls and a colander and, in 1984,

sold its five piece mixing bowl set at less than cost,48

there is no evidence in the record that these sales took

place in California.49 Thus, Vollrath has not proved a

47 Section 17044 states:

“It is unlawful for any person engaged in business within

this State to seller [sic] use any article or product as a ‘loss

leader’... . ” Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code § 17030 defines a “loss

leader” as:

“any article or product sold at less than cost: (a) Where the

purpose is to induce, promote or encourage the purchase of

other merchandise; . . . (c) Where the effect is to divert trade

from or otherwise injure competitors.”

48 Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code § 17026 sets forth the relevant

definition of costs as to Ken Carter:

‘Cost’ as applied to distribution means the invoice . . . cost

of the article or product to the distributor and vendor, plus the

cost of doing business by the distributor and vendor.”

49 In fact, only one plaintiff witness even addressed

California. Mr. Kashuk, an employee of Metro, a competitor of

both Vollrath and Sammi, testified that Mervyns, a San

Francisco retailer, refused to purchase hollowware from Metro

because “[Mervyns could] continue to buy the goods from Ken

Carter at 10 percent less than the price [Metro] had offered.”

Record at 3PM-84 to 86.

Kashuk’s testimony only shows that Ken Carter offered to

sell products below Metro’s costs, not Ken Carter’s costs.

Moreover, even assuming that this testimony could support a

finding of injury to Metro, plaintiff Vollrath cannot rest its case

on injury to a competitor.

App. 48

nexus between Ken Carter’s pricing and any injury to

Vollrath or to consumers in California.

Furthermore, even if Ken Carter had violated the

California Unfair Practices Act, there is insufficient evi-

dence to support such a finding against Sammi. Sammi is

a supplier of stainless steel hollowware; thus, whether

Sammi priced below cost must be measured by its costs

of supplying stainless steel hollowware.*! There is no

evidence on the record, however, as to Sammi’s costs.

VII. Conclusion

Antitrust cases must be predicated on economic real-

ities. Here, however, plaintiff eschewed the realities in

favor of factual theories that were directly contradicted

by actual circumstances. In an attempt to piece together a

case, plaintiff picked and chose mismatched items of

50 Plaintiff never attempted to identify particular sales

affecting California. Rather, plaintiff claimed that since Ken

Carter eliminated Vollrath from competition and Vollrath

serviced retailers which operated nationally, California must

have been affected. Plaintiff has failed to establish, however,

that Ken Carter’s anticompetitive acts eliminated Vollrath.

Therefore, plaintiff must make a specific showing of harm to

California to prevail on the pendent claims.

51 Sammi’s costs would differ from those of Ken Carter;

Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code § 17026 states:

‘Cost’ as applied to production includes the cost of raw

materials, labor and all overhead expenses of the producer.”

To the extent that Sammi and Ken Carter are treated as a

single economic entity, it would be more rational to use the cost

of production in lieu of the invoice cost applicable to

distributors.

App. 49

evidence which taken together do not present a coherent

legal or factual theory. Actually, it is clear that the more

mixed up and confusing the theories became, the easier it

was for the jury to accept the kind of argument that was

made in closing.5? Plaintiff made that argument, of

course, based on absolutely neutral facts. First, defen-

dants are in a parent/subsidiary relationship with one

another. Second, they are in fact part of a single economic

unit. Third, Sammi supplied the product at issue here and

Ken Carter distributed it. Fourth, Sammi America loaned

large sums of money to Ken Carter to pay for the prod-

uct. Fifth, Sammi had Korean design rights in a steamer.

The difficulty is that these neutral facts, without more,

52 Vollrath seized upon the nationalistic undercurrents of

the dispute to sell its case to the jury. For example, in closing,

plaintiff’s attorney argued:

“What we are asking you to do is to find of course for

Vollrath . . . but there is another message too. What we are really

asking for is you [to] send a message to anyone who wishes to

come into our country to do business here, people even in our

country. Korea operates differently than us. You have heard Mr.

Park testify that the design registration system committee

concerned itself with price fixing. We don’t do that in this

country, at least not legally. That is fine. They can do that in

Korea. When Koreans or anyone else come into this country [ - ]

and we want them here - when they come here they ought to

obey our laws. They ought to obey the laws we have here. They

ought to know those laws and they ought to honor them. All we

are asking is that you give us what we deserve, but also send a

message to anyone who wants to come into this country that

they better do business by our laws, our way, if they want to

come here. And then we will have a marketplace that we are all

happier with and all the choice and all the variety that we want.

And that’s what we are are seeking.”

Record of Proceedings on April 4, 1989 at 35-36.

App. 50

cannot make Sammi and Sammi America liable for Ken

Carter’s acts, nor Ken Carter liable for Sammi’s. There

are, of course, various legal bases for the attribution of

the acts of one defendant to another defendant, but in the

antitrust context, the mere existence of a parent/subsid-

iary relationship — without more — is not enough to estab-

lish liability on the part of one for the acts of the other.

Looking at the evidence in this case, the Court cannot

find a basis for attributing the pricing conduct of Ken

Carter to Sammi or to Sammi America. Nor can it find

any basis for attributing Sammi’s steamer blockage con-

duct to Ken Carter or Sammi America. The proof shows,

at the most, only what appears to have been in effect

subsidization by way of credit and loans to a subsidiary

from a parent. With what intent this subsidization was

carried on, the record is silent. The record is also silent

with respect to proof of any of the requisite elements of

an antitrust case on any theory in relation to the steamer

blockage. The Court can only assume that the ste** -r

incident was introduced as a makeweight to bolster the

intent element of the predatory pricing claim.

The conspiracy allegations did not provide a basis for

attributing the acts of one defendant to the other, because

of Copperweld. To avoid Copperweld, plaintiff pieced

together whatever it could find in an attempt to establish

that Ken Carter was acquired to further the aims of an

already exising conspiracy. To this end, evidence was

offered to prove that prior to the acquisition of Ken

Carter in 1981, Ken Carter had some kind of working

relationship with Sammi, Sammi America and Ken Carter.

Yet, if the conspiracy existed prior to 1981, it was not

until 1983 that Ken Carter is claimed to have sold any

App. 51

goods at prices below cost. In the face of this reality, it is

nevertheless plaintiff’s position that Ken Carter’s post-

acquisition conduct proves that the conspiracy existed

pre-acquisition. The fact that defendants did it in 1983 is

offered to show that they conspired to do it before 1981.

This kind of evidence is persuasive in many antitrust

cases, but here it is pure surmise. If the post-acquisition

predatory pricing proof is disregarded, the pre-acquisi-

tion proof does not establish a conspiracy. Since there

cannot legally be one post-acquisition, plaintiff’s conspir-

acy claims must fail.

The same trick with timing mentioned above also

occurred with respect to the proof in support of the

Robinson-Patman Act claim. Plaintiff asked the trier-of-

fact to find that discriminatorily priced sales made in July

1984 were the cause of Vollrath losing an account in May

1984, despite testimony by plaintiff’s own witness that

the retailer terminated Vollrath due to a price increase

from Vollrath-befere May 1984. This is not a difference in

timing of @ few days; this is a crucial piece of evidence on

causation, and it does not fit.

Mixing facts and theories appears in its most objec-

tionable form in the proof of predatory pricing. Actually,

the jury verdict may be credited to a talented economist

who made the case by imputing interest on intra-corpo-

rate transactions between the defendants. The interest

imputed between the parent and the subsidiary furnished

the basis for the conclusion that some sales of some

products had been below cost, and, thus, there had been

predatory conduct. The predatory conduct furnished the

basis for an inference that the defendants intended to

control prices or eliminate competition as well as all the

App. 52

other elements of the plaintiff’s claims. The whole case is

based on imputed interest between a parent and a subsid-

iary. Yet, here too the theories do not go with the facts.

In a case in which the theory is that the supplier/

parent is directing and subsidizing the predatory pricing

conduct of the distributor subsidiary, it would seem clear

that the cost to the economic unit engaged in the scheme

should be the focus of the inquiry. On the other hand, the

evidence in a given case might show that the parent was

not involved in the predatory pricing. If so, a different

calculation of costs, focussed on the subsidiary alone,

would seem to be required. In short, the question of who

is in on the scheme necessarily impacts how the preda-

tor’s costs are to be calculated. Here, the theory was not

that Ken Carter was going it alone, but that Sammi,

Sammi America and Ken Carter were all in it together.

Nevertheless, Dr. Buckley’s calculation of Ken Carter’s

costs incorporates numbers appropriate for inclusion on

both the theory that Sammi, Sammi America and Ken

Carter were acting together, and on the theory that Ken

Carter was acting alone. Both theories are included in the

same calculation at the same time.

The most serious flaw in the plaintiff’s predatory

- pricing theory remains for final mention: it is simply that

a would-be monopolist confronting the market structure

at issue in this case surely would be aware that he could

not succeed. No matter how the market is defined — and

certainly plaintiff did not define it — the ease of entry into

it and the number of potential participants on every level

of it abundantly demonstrate that recoupment by the

monopolist would never be possible. This is the classic

case for the application of the teaching of Matsushita.

App. 53

r@ as

=*

¢

The motion for judgment not

is granted.

App. 54

The VOLLRATH COMPANY,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

Vv.

SAMMI CORPORATION; Ken Carter

Industries, Inc.; Sammisa (America) Corp.,

Defendants-Appellees.

No. 90-55201.

United States Court of Appeals,

Ninth Circuit.

Argued May 9, 1991.

Submission Deferred May 9, 1991.

Resubmitted Aug. 7, 1991.

Submission Withdrawn July 27, 1993.

Resubmitted Nov. 19, 1993.

Decided Nov. 29, 1993.

William P. Tedards, Jr., Washington, DC, for plaintiff-

appellant.

Thomas G. Bailey, Jr., Whitman & Ransom, New York

City, for defendants-appellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Central District of California.

Before: HUG, NORRIS, and LEAVY, Circuit Judges.

App. 55

OPINION

HUG, Circuit Judge:

Vollrath Company (“Vollrath”) appeals the district

court’s order granting the defendants’ motion for judg-

ment notwithstanding the verdict in Vollrath’s antitrust

action. Vollrath contends there was sufficient evidence

from which the jury could have concluded that the defen-

dants violated sections 1 and 2 of the Sherman Antitrust

Act by a predatory pricing scheme for stainless steel

mixing bowls and by restricting output in Korea of stain-

less steel steamer cookware. Vollrath further contends

there was sufficient evidence from which the jury could

reasonably have concluded the defendants’ pricing of the

stainless steel mixing bowls violated the California Unfair

Trade Practices Act. Vollrath also asserts that the district

court erred when ‘t barred Vollrath from amending its

complaint to allege a claim for tortious interference with

a contractual and business relationship. We affirm the

district court’s judgment.

I.

FACTS

The parties to this dispute include a number of cor-

porations engaged in the manufacture and distribution of

Stainless steel mixing bowls and steamers. Vollrath, a

Wisconsin company, was engaged in the business of

importing stainless steel steamers and mixing bowls pur-

chased from companies in Korea. Sammi Corporation

(“Sammi”) is a large Korean trading company that pur-

chases a large variety of Korean goods for export to the

App. 56

United States and other countries. Among the products

exported are stainless steel steamers (which are used in

the kitchen on stove burners to cook food by steaming)

and stainless steel mixing bowls (which are used in the

kitchen for preparation and storage). Sammisa (America)

Corporation (“Sammi America”) is Sammi’s United States

subsidiary, which is primarily engaged in the importation

and sale of industrial steel products. Ken Carter Indus-

tries is a subsidiary of Sammi America. Ken Carter Indus-

tries imports and sells stainless steel steamers and mixing

bowls exported by Sammi, which are the subject of this

action.

Vollrath sued Sammi, Sammi America, and Ken Car-

ter Industries for violating sections 1 and 2 of the Sher-

man Act and section 2(a) of the Clayton Act. Vollrath’s

complaint also included charges that the defendants vio-

lated California Bus. & Prof.Code §§ 17043 and 17044.

Before trial, Vollrath attempted to amend its complaint so

as to submit the additional charge that Sammi’s output

restriction gave rise to a claim of tortious interference

under California law. However, on March 10, 1989, the

first day of trial, the district court ruled that Vollrath

would not be able to proceed with its tortious interfer-

ence charge. The trial continued until April 5, 1989 and

on April 11, 1989, the jury returned a verdict in favor of

Vollrath on all of the federal and state claims. The jury

awarded $9,478,676 in federal damages and $711,803 in

state damages, making the total award of damages, after

trebling the award on the federal claims, $29,147,831.

The defendants moved for a judgment notwithstand-

ing the verdict (“JNOV”) and for a new trial on July 17,

1989. On November 15, 1989, the district court informed

App. 57

the parties the JNOV motion would be granted but that

the court would reserve judgment on the motion for new

trial until the appeal from the JNOV was resolved. The

court entered its judgment granting the JNOV motion on

December 27, 1989. Vollrath filed a notice of appeal on

January 22, 1990.1

Il.

JURISDICTION

Initially, we face a jurisdictional question. Rule 50(c)

of Federal Rules of Civil Procedure requires that, when a

motion for a new trial is joined with a motion for JNOV

or is prayed for in the alternative, the district court is

required to issue a conditional ruling on the new trial

motion.” The district court in this instance did not issue

* Vollrath does not contest on appeal the granting of the

JNOV on the claim under section 2(a) of the Clayton Act.

2 Effective December 31, 1991, Rule 50 of the Federal Rules

of Civil Procedure was amended. A motion for “directed

verdict” is redesignated as a motion for “judgment as a matter

of law,” and if not granted before submission to the jury, it is

deemed to have been submitted subject to a later determination

of the legal questions upon a motion for renewal of that motion.

Thus, the prior terminology of such a renewed motion as a

motion for judgment notwithstanding the verdict (“JNOV”) has

been replaced as a renewal of the motion for judgment as a

matter of law. The operation of Rule 50(c) remains unchanged,

though the reference is now to a judgment as a matter of law

rather than a judgment notwithstanding the verdict. Because

the motions here involved were made prior to the 1991

amendment, we shall continue to use the term JNOV and quote

the language from Rule 50(c) as it then existed. We note,

however, that our interpretation of Rule 50(c) is equally

App. 58

an alternate ruling as required by Fed.R.Civ.P. 50(c) but,

rather, reserved its ruling on the new trial until after the

appeal from the JNOV was resolved. There is no doubt

that this is error, but the question becomes whether this

deprives us of appellate jurisdiction. Rule 50(c) does not

specify the consequences for failure to issue a conditional

ruling on the new trial motion. Specifically, Rule 50(c)

does not indicate that such a conditional ruling is a

prerequisite to appellate jurisdiction.%

applicable to the new terminology. We also note that the

standard for granting the post-verdict motion is the same

whether designated as a JNOV or a renewed motion for

judgment as a matter of law. The change merely emphasizes that

the grounds for the motion must have been stated in the motion

made prior to submitting the case to the jury.

3 Rule 50(c) at the time of the order provided:

Conditional Rulings on Grant of Motion.

(1) If the motion for judgment notwithstanding

the verdict, provided for in subdivision (b) of this

rule, is granted, the court shall also rule on the motion

for a new trial, if any, by determining whether it

should be granted if the judgment is thereafter

vacated or reversed, and shall specify the grounds for

granting or denying the motion for the new trial. If

the motion for a new trial is thus conditionally

granted, the order thereon does not affect the finality

of the judgment. In case the motion for a new trial has

been conditionally granted and the judgment is

reversed on appeal, the new trial shall proceed unless

the appellate court has otherwise ordered. In case the

motion for a new trial has been conditionally denied,

the appellee on appeal may assert error in that denial;

and if the judgment is reversed on appeal, subsequent

proceedings shall be in accordance with the order of

the appellate court.

App. 59

In considering whether the failure to comply with the

requirements of Rule 50(c) deprives this court of appel-

late jurisdiction, we must consider Rule 50(c) itself and

also Fed.R.App.P. 4(a)(4). The authorities prior to the 1979

amendment adopting Fed.R.App.P. 4(a)(4) are in general

agreement that the district court’s failure to rule on a new

trial motion in the alternative is, at most, a procedural

flaw that does not affect appellate jurisdiction.

In at least two cases, this court has previously

addressed the merits of an appeal after explicitly noting

that the trial court failed to issue a conditional ruling

pursuant to Fed.R.Civ.P. 50(c). In both Cockrum v. Whitney,

479 F.2d 84, 85 (9th Cir.1973), and Gordon Mailloux Enter-

prises, Inc. v. Firemen’s Insurance Co. of Newark, 366 F.2d

740, 742 (9th Cir.1966), this court addressed the merits of

an appeal notwithstanding the trial court’s failure to

issue a conditional ruling and then subsequently

remanded the cause for a ruling on the new trial motion.

This approach is consistent with that of other authorities

which suggest it may be proper for a court of appeals

either to rule on the merits of an appeal or to decide the

pending new trial motion when a district court fails to

comply with Rule 50(c). See Motter v. Everest & Jennings,

Inc., 883 F.2d 1223, 1229 (3d Cir.1989) (appeals court

should treat new trial motion as granted); Mays v. Pioneer

Lumber Corp., 502 F.2d 106, 109-110 (4th Cir.1974), cert.

denied, 420 U.S. 927, 95 S.Ct. 1125, 43 L.Ed.2d 398 (1975).

See also 9 Wright & Miller, Federal Practice and Procedure,

§ 2539 (Supp.1993) (citing Mays with approval); 5A

Moore’s Federal Practice | 50.12 at 50-105 (court may

order either entry of judgment or a new trial or remand

App. 60

case to trial court for reconsideration of new trial

motion).

A somewhat closer question is presented by the sub-

sequent amendment to Fed.R.App.P. 4(a). That provision

was amended in 1979 so as to include subdivision 4(a)(4),

which provides:

If a timely motion under Federal Rules of

Civil Procedure is filed in the district court by

any party: (i) for judgment under Rule 50(b); (ii)

under Rule 52(b) to amend or make additional

findings of fact, whether or not an alteration of

the judgment would be required if the motion is

granted; (iii) under Rule 59 to alter or amend the

judgment; or (iv) under Rule 59 for a new trial,

the time for appeal for all parties shall run from

the entry of the order denying a new trial or

granting or denying any other such motion. A

notice of appeal filed before the disposition of

any of the above motions shall have no effect. A

new notice of appeal must be filed within the

prescribed time measured from the entry of the

order disposing of the motion as provided

above. ...

(Emphasis added.) Because the order granting the JNOV

under Rule 52(b) is an order granting “any other such

motion,” the time for appeal commences to run. A notice

of appeal is not rendered premature because no alternate

ruling on the motion for a new trial has been made. The

express words of Rule 4(a)(4) do not require such a result

and the policy behind the rule does not counsel that

result.

App. 61

Rule 4(a) prevents a party from appealing a judgment

when a pending post-judgment motion renders the judg-

ment non-final. Fed.R.App.P. Rule 4(a). Specifically, the

Advisory Committee note to the 1979 amendment to Rule

4(a)(4) makes clear that the rule was intended to prevent

the appellate court from assuming jurisdiction in a case

“while the district court has before it a motion the grant-

ing of which would vacate or alter the judgment appealed

from.” Fed.R.App.P. 4(a)(4) Advisory Committee’s note to

1979 amendment (emphasis added). When a district court

grants a motion for JNOV, that order is the final judgment

of the court. The district court does not have before it a

motion “the granting of which would vacate or alter that

judgment.” The judgment based on the JNOV could be

altered only by reversal on appeal, not by any ruling by

the district court.

We therefore conclude that we may properly exercise

appellate jurisdiction over this case.

Il.

PLAINTIFF’S LEGAL THEORIES

Vollrath’s action was submitted to the jury on several

legal theories. The theories argued on appeal are:

(1) An attempt to monopolize in violation of

section 2 of the Sherman Act, based upon

(a) Ken Carter’s predatory pricing of

stainless steel mixing bowls, and

(b) Sammi’s invoking design registration

rights to prevent another exporter in Korea

from exporting stainless steel steamers.

ea |

App. 62

(2) Conspiracy to

(a) restrain trade in violation of section 1

of the Sherman Act, and

(b) monopolize in violation of section 2 of

the Sherman Act.

(3) Violations of the California Unfair Trade

Practices Act, Cal.Bus. & Prof.Code § 17000 et

seq.

Vollrath also raises for the first time on appeal a

contention that the restriction of output by Sammi was a

“naked restraint of trade” and a per se violation of Section

1 of the Sherman Act. Vollrath also asserts as error the

district court’s order denying Vollrath’s motion, on the

eve of trial, to amend its complaint to allege a state law

claim of tortious interference with a contractual and busi-

ness relationship.

In reviewing a district court’s order granting JNOV,

we review the decision de novo, applying the same stan-

dard as the district court. The Jeanery, Inc. v. James Jeans,

Inc., 849 F.2d 1148, 1151 (9th Cir.1988). A JNOV is proper

if the evidence, construed in the light most favorable to

the nonmoving party, permits only one reasonable con-

clusion, and that conclusion is contrary to the jury’s.

Venegas v. Wagner, 831 F.2d 1514, 1517 (9th Cir.1987).

The district court, in a thorough and carefully rea-

soned 54-page unpublished opinion, analyzed the evi-

dence presented in light of the governing law, and

concluded that the evidence could not support the verdict

and that a judgment for the defendants was required. We

affirm essentially for the reasons expressed in that

unpublished opinion.

App. 63

IV.

ATTEMPTED MONOPOLIZATION

Vollrath’s claims of attempted monopolization are

based upon two theories: (1) that Ken Carter engaged in

predatory pricing of stainless steel mixing bowls, and (2)

that Sammi invoked Korean design registration rights to

block another exporter in Korea from exporting stainless

steel steamers. In order to establish an attempt to monop-

olize “a plaintiff must prove (1) that the defendant has

engaged in predatory or anticompetitive conduct with (2)

a specific intent to monopolize and (3) a dangerous prob-

ability of achieving monopoly power.” Spectrum Sports,

Inc. v. McQuillan, __ US. P © inp Bid Ba Ee,

890-91, 122 L.Ed.2d 247 (1993).

A. Predatory Pricing of Stainless Steel Mixing Bowls

Two prerequisites to recovery under section 2 of the

Sherman Act for predatory pricing must be proved:

1. “[A] plaintiff seeking to establish competi-

tive injury resulting from a rival’s low prices

must prove that the prices complained of are

below an appropriate measure of its rival’s

costs.”

Brook Group, Ltd. v. Brown & Williamson Tobacco Corp., ___

U.S. ___, __, 113 S.Ct. 2578, 2587, 125 L.Ed.2d 168 (1993)

(footnote omitted).

2. “[T]he competitor had a . . . dangerous prob-

ability[ ] of recouping its investment in below-

cost prices.”

Id. at 2588.

App. 64

Economic reality is that, generally, price reduction is

the very essence of competition. Thus, care must be taken

in drawing the line between pricing that enhances com-

petition and predatory pricing that is designed to elimi-

nate competition. The Supreme Court has noted that

predatory pricing is “rarely tried, and even more rarely

successful.” Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. v. Zenith Radio

Corp., 475 U.S. 574, 589, 106 S.Ct. 1348, 1357, 89 L.Ed.2d

538 (1986). The reason is that, in order for the business

entity to eliminate competition by pricing below cost, it

must forego short-term profits long enough to drive com-

petitors from the market and then maintain monopoly

power long enough to recoup the iosses and realize addi-

tional gain. Id. at 588-89, 106 S.Ct. at 1356-57. Thus, “the

predator must make a substantial investment with no

assurance it will pay off.” Id. at 589, 106 S.Ct. at 1357.

In this case, the alleged predatory pricing relates to

the stainless steel mixing bowls exported by Sammi and

sold by Ken Carter. The basis for the claim is that Ken

Carter sold the mixing bowls below its average variable

cost. As the district court noted, the basic defect is that

the plaintiff presented a mismatch of evidence to support

the claim. It sought to show below-cost sales by Ken

Carter as an independent entity by imputing costs from

Sammi and Sammi America and Ken Carter as a com-

bined unit. If Ken Carter is viewed as an independent

unit, then we must consider only the costs actually

incurred by Ken Carter to determine if it sold below its

costs. If Ken Carter, Sammi, and Sammi America are

considered as a combined unit, then the appropriate con-

sideration is the costs of the combined group to deter-

mine if the combined group sold below its costs.

App. 65

We first consider the claim viewing Ken Carter as an

independent unit. Vollrath contends there was sufficient

evidence from which the jury could have concluded that

Ken Carter priced its stainless steel mixing bowls below

average variable cost. At trial, Vollrath sought to show

that during the period from June 1981 to May 1982, Ken

Carter sold $2.8 million worth of Sammi products at

prices which were approximately 28% below its variable

costs.

The facts underlying Vollrath’s claim are as follows:

Prior to November 1981, Sammi America advanced over

$1 million worth of merchandise to Ken Carter on credit.

In November of 1981, Sammi America purchased Ken

Carter. During the ownership transaction, the unpaid

debt to Sammi America reached $3 million. In 1984,

Sammi America advanced another $2 million for working

capital. James Kim, from Ken Carter, testified that the

unpaid debt was treated by the companies as investment

capital which was not to be paid back. Vollrath objected

to the characterizations of the transactions and offered

the expert testimony of Dr. Buckley to show the average

variable cost of the products sold by Ken Carter was

higher than the company claimed.

Dr. Buckley’s testimony does not support a finding

that Ken Carter priced its product line of mixing bowls

below the average variable cost, with the exception of one

item in its product line. The testimony relied in large part

on the concept of “imputed interest,” which was an esti-

mate of the cost of the funds made available to Ken

Carter in order to permit Ken Carter to purchase inven-

tory from Sammi. The crux of Dr. Buckley’s testimony

was that Ken Carter would have had to borrow money

App. 66

from other sources and pay for interest on the borrowed

money in order to purchase the inventory.

Dr. Buckley’s testimony, however, is insufficient as a

matter of law. Even if Ken Carter dic not pay interest on

the funds or credit advanced, it would not mean that the

average variable cost of the goods was higher. The

absence of interest would only mean that Ken Carter

received favorable treatment from Sammi, not that Ken

Carter actually incurred a cost. Without proof that Ken

Carter somehow incurred a cost, the concept of imputed

interest is unsound. There was evidence that in 1983 and

1984 Ken Carter did sell one item of its product line

below costs without considering Dr. Buckley’s imputed

interest. This was the five-piece mixing bowl set. This

would be scant proof of an intent to monopolize.

The more serious flaw in the whole theory of viewing

Ken Carter as an individual unit engaged in predatory

pricing is that there was no possibility of Ken Carter

achieving monopoly power by predatory pricing because

it controlled only 10% of the market. There is no danger

of monopoly power, and there certainly would be no

hope of recouping losses from below-cost pricing.

If we consider Ken Carter as a part of an integrated

entity with Sammi and Sammi America, both before and

after its acquisition by Sammi America in 1981, there also

is a lack of proof of predatory pricing. The evidence

cannot sustain a finding that the integrated entity sold

below its average variable costs because there was no

evidence of Sammi’s costs. Vollrath’s entire argument is

based upon the contention that the subsidiary corpora-

tion, Ken Carter, sold below its average variable costs and

App. 67

that this was sufficient for a jury to find predatory pric-

ing. However, to show below-cost sales by the integrated

entity, the costs of the integrated entity must be proved.

Furthermore, there was insufficient evidence from which

the jury could reasonably conclude that there was a dan-

gerous probability of achieving monopoly power. There

also was no showing from the evidence that the defen-

dants could have recouped any losses from below-cost

pricing.

The Supreme Court recently stated that, “{[D]emon-

strating the dangerous probability of monopolization in

an attempt case . . . requires inquiry into the relevant

product and geographic market and the defendant's eco-

nomic power in that market.” Spectrum Sports, __ U.S. at

__ 113 S.Ct. at 892. As the district court noted, “No

matter how the market is defined — and certainly plaintiff

did not define it — the ease of entry into it and the number

of potential participants on every level of it abundantly

demonstrates that recoupment of the monopolist would

never be possible. This is the classic case for the applica-

tion of Matsushita.” Vollrath’s expert testimony was not

based upon sufficient evidence adduced at trial concern-

ing market power or market facts to justify a conclusion

that there was a dangerous probability of recouping an

investment in below-cost prices. As noted in the Brown &

Williamson decision:

When an expert opinion is not supported by

sufficient facts to validate it in the eyes of the

law, or when indisputable record facts contra-

dict or otherwise render the opinion unreason-

able, it cannot support a jury’s verdict. Expert

App. 68

*

testimony is useful as a guide to interpreting

market facts, but it is not a substitute for them.

Brown & Williamson, __ U.S. at __, 113 S.Ct. at 2598

(citation omitted).

B. Design Rights to Steamers

The evidence at trial showed the existence and func-

tion in Korea of the Korean Hollowware [sic] Association.

This association through a 13-member Pattern and Design

Registration Committee grants pattern and design regis-

tration rights for particular products to Korean manufac-

turers and trading companies based on shape,

appearance, and color of the products. The 13 members of

the committee are from the following groups: four mem-

bers from manufacturers, four members from trading

companies, one member from the Korean Holloware

Association, one member from the Association of patent

attorneys, atid three members from Korean government

organizations.

A trading company, such as Sammi, can only hold a

pattern design right jointly with a manufacturer. Sammi

was a co-holder of a pattern and design registration with

a manufacturer, Dae Sung, for certain stainless steel

steamers in the years 1983 and 1984. Vollrath tried to

have its steamer design registered but could not do so

because a similar design was already registered to Sammi

and Dae Sung.

Sammi and Dae Sung sought to invoke their design

registration rights to prevent another trading company,

Dae Lim, from shipping its steamers. This lasted for only

a three-month period from October, 1983 to January, 1984.

App. 69

Sammi and Dae Sung, although still claiming infringe-

ment of their design rights, waived their rights and Voll-

rath received steamers in early January, 1984.

This three-month assertion of Korean design rights

constitutes Vollrath’s sole claim for attempted monopoliz-

ation of a market Vollrath contended was the stainless

steel steamer market. There are many evidentiary defi-

ciencies in establishing this claim, which the district court

pointed out. There was no evidence that the assertion of

design rights in Korea was done with an intent to monop-

olize a stainless steel steamer market in the United States.

It was also highly doubtful that stainless steel steamers

constituted a relevant market. Vollrath’s expert testified

that these steamers could be treated as a product distinct

from other steamers, such as those made from aluminum

or other materials, and “in a sense” could be viewed as

constituting “a market of their own.” This is hardly a firm

conclusion of a separate market for stainless steel

steamers. Furthermore, even this inconclusive opinion

was not reasonably based on sound data. There was no

detailed examination of market data or any analysis of

cost, comparable usage, or comparative features of other

competing products. The opinion was based on limited

anecdotal evidence.

The most significant deficiency in the claim, also

noted by the district court, is that no evidence of a

dangerous probability of monopoly power in the United

States resulted from this three-month delay in shipment

of steamers to Vollrath. This is particularly true in light of

the Supreme Court’s recent decisions in Spectrum Sports

and Brown & Williamson. There was insufficient evidence

App. 70

concerning the relevant product and geographic market

and Sammi’s economic power in that market.4

V.

CONSPIRACY CLAIMS

The district court properly held that there could be

no conspiracy among Sammi, Sammi America, and Ken

Carter, after the latter’s acquisition, relying on Copperweld

Corp. v. Independence Tube Corp., 467 U.S. 752, 104 S.Ct.

2731, 81 L.Ed.2d 628 (1984). Under Copperweld, companies

under common ownership and control cannot initiate

Sherman Act conspiracy violations among themselves.

Vollrath argues that Copperweld is inapplicable because

the evidence demonstrates Ken Carter was engaging in

predatory pricing even before Sammi, Sammi America,

and Ken Carter were combined.

Vollrath’s claim of conspiracy in the district court

was based solely on an alleged conspiracy among Ken

Carter, Sammi, and Sammi America and was submitted to

the jury on that basis. On appeal, Vollrath seeks to

expand the number of alleged conspirators to non-defen-

dants, Dae Sung and the Korean Holloware Association.

4 Vollrath also argues on appeal that Sammi and nonparty

Dae Sung engaged in a naked restraint of trade in Korea and

that this constituted a per se violation of section 1 of the Sherman

Act. This theory was not presented in the district court, and we

decline to consider it on appeal. See Kline v. Johns-Manville, 745

F.2d 1217, 1221 (9th Cir.1984).

App. 71

Here again, we decline to consider this expanded allega-

tion of a conspiracy when asserted for the first time on

appeal. See Johns-Manville, 745 F.2d at 1221.

We are thus concerned with whether there was a

conspiracy among Sammi, Sammi America, and Ken Car-

ter before Ken Carter became a subsidiary of Sammi

America. Vollrath sought to prove that Sammi America

acquired Ken Carter for the purpose of launching a pred-

atory pricing program. The district court concluded that

the record does not support any inference of an anti-

competitive conspiracy prior to Ken Carter’s acquisition.

Although there were advances of credit for merchandise

sold by Sammi and loans from Sammi America, and

Sammi dealt with Ken Carter as supplier and distributor,

the district court held that there was no evidence of anti-

competitive purpose. Vollrath contends that Sammi’s

motive before and after acquiring Ken Carter was to

engage in below-cost pricing so as to monopolize the

stainless steel mixing bow! market.

It is worth repeating the requirements to establish

such a competitive injury as set forth by the Supreme

Court in Brown & Williamson:

First, a plaintiff seeking to establish competitive

injury resulting from a rival’s low prices must

prove that the prices complained of are below

an appropriate measure of its rival’s costs.

The second prerequisite to holding a com-

petitor liable under the antitrust laws for charg-

ing low prices is a demonstration that the

competitor had a reasonable prospect, or under

App. 72

§ 2 of the Sherman Act, a dangerous probability,

of recouping its investment in below-cost prices.

=n Uo at =, 15 S.Ct. at Zon -eo.

For the reasons earlier expressed, there was insuffi-

cient evidence of below-cost pricing for the Sammi group

because the costs for the Sammi group were never

proved. Sammi was the alleged perpetrator and benefici-

ary of such a conspiracy; therefore, the costs of the whole

group are the relevant costs.

More significantly, for the reasons earlier expressed,

there is insufficient evidence to support a conclusion that

there was a reasonable prospect or a dangerous proba-

bility that Sammi could have recouped the losses from

any below-cost pricing. There was no evidence analyzing

the nature of the market, its participants, ease of entry,

and the defendants’ ability to lessen or destroy competi-

tion in that market.

VI.

VIOLATION OF CALIFORNIA LAW

Vollrath next contends there was sufficient evidence

showing that the Sammi group violated the California

Unfair Trade Practices Act.

The Cal.Bus. & Prof.Code § 17043 prohibits the sale,

within the state, of any product at less than the product’s

cost for the purpose of injuring competitors or destroying

App. 73

competition. Similarly, Cal.Bus. & Prof.Code § 17044 pro-

hibits the use of a “loss leader.”5 Vollrath did not present

any evidence to the jury that Sammi, Sammi America or

Ken Carter intended to sell or actually made any below-

cost or loss-leader sales in California. The district court

properly granted JNOV on this claim.

Vil.

MOTION TO AMEND COMPLAINT

Vollrath contends the district court erred when it

denied Vollrath’s motion to amend its complaint to

include a claim for tortious interference with a contrac-

tual or business relationship. This contention is meritless.

A motion for leave to amend is addressed to the

sound discretion of the district court. See Thomas-Lazear v.

FBI, 851 F.2d 1202, 1206 (9th Cir.1988). Here, Vollrath

waited until almost a year after being reinstated as a

party to the case before attempting to amend the com-

plaint. Additionally, by the time Vollrath attempted to

amend the complaint, the discovery cutoff date had

already passed. The district court did not abuse its discre-

tion when it rejected the amendment as untimely. See id.

at 1206-07.

The district court’s judgment is AFFIRMED.

5 Cal.Bus. & Prof.Code § 17030 defines a “loss leader” in

part as: “any article or product sold at less than cost: (a) Where

the purpose is to induce, promote or encourage the purchase of

other merchandise; . . . (c) Where the effect is to divert trade

from or otherwise injure competitors.”

App. 74

The VOLLRATH COMPANY, petitioner, v.

SAMMI CORPORATION, et al.

No. 93-1617.

June 6, 1994.

Case below, 9 F.3d 1455.

Petition for writ of certiorari to the United States

Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit denied.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.