Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Sayco Ltd. v. Dalton

Supreme Court brief1996

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

ALG

96 88 JUL 16 1996

cece. OF THE CLERK

No. OFF

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1996

SAYCO LTD.,

Petitioner,

VS.

John H. Dalton,

SECRETARY OF THE NAVY,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

GILBERT H. WEIL

Counsel of Record

MICHAEL M. MALKIN

WEIL, GUTTMAN & MALKIN, LLP

Attorneys for Petitioner

60 East 42nd Street, Suite 4210

New York, New York 10165

(212) 687-8573

we © tole». BPOR

* lillie bat nel Pot Mapas.

le IP Cg nea Sal fame Sa

Questions Presented for Review.

Should not the decision of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Federal Circuit in Sayco Lid. v. John H.

Dalton, Secretary of the Navy, _ F.3d ___ (April 3, 1996),

be set aright for flouting stare decisis doctrine in a case

representative of every case on appeal from a decision by a

contracting officer under the Contract Disputes Act of 1978,

41 U.S.C. § 601 et seq. and where such decision

1) summarily refuses to order the Armed Services Board of

Contract Appeals (“ASBCA”) to review the decision of a

contracting officer de novo in the face of a long-standing body

of judicial law to the contrary, culminating most recently in

an in banc decision by that very circuit, and where the court

2) does so by simply characterizing arguments basically

and essentially governed by such precedents as “without

merit”

3) with no explanation for such disregard of precedent, nor

for such asserted lack of merit; with not even any reference

Whatever to the decisional precedent - nor even a

denomination of it; and where the court

4) violates its own rule that only a decision that does not

add significantly to the body of the law shall bear a legend

that it is not to be cited as precedent; and

5) summarily disregards important public policy firmly

established by Congress by baldly characterizing arguments

basically and essentially governed by such public policy as

“without merit”, with no explanation for such conclusion nor

for such asserted lack of merit, and with not even any

reference to or discussion of that public policy; and where the

court

6) does all of the foregoing covertly.

Parties to the Proceeding Below.

The parties to the proceeding below were petitioner, Sayco

Ltd. (a wholly-owned subsidiary of Herley Industries, Inc.)

(“Sayco”) and John H. Dalton, Secretary of the Navy.

No.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1996

SAYCO LTD.,

Petitioner,

vs.

John H. Dalton,

SECRETARY OF THE NAVY,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Reports of Opinions and Orders Below.

Appeal of Sayco Ltd., 92-1 BCA 4 24,573 (November 8.

1991) (decision by ASBCA denying cross-motions for sum-

mary judgment).

Appeal of Sayco Ltd., 94-3 BCA 4 27,284 (November 7.

1994) (final decision by ASBCA granting in part and denying

in part Sayco’s claims).

Sayco Ltd. v. John H. Dalton, Secretary of the Navy, __

F.3d, 40 CCF 976,919 (Fed. Cir., April 3, 1996) (decision

and judgment of the court below).

Sayco Lid. v. John H. Dalton, Secretary of the Navy,

__F.3d__, 40 CCF 4____ (Fed. Cir., May 8, 1996) (order

denying Sayco’s petition for rehearing and suggestion that it

be heard in banc).

Jurisdictional Statement.

The judgment sought to be reviewed was entered on April

3, 1996.

An order denying rehearing of that judgment was entered

on May 8, 1996.

The statute conferring jurisdiction on this Court to review

the judgment on a writ of certiorari is 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

Statute Involved.

The statute involved in this case is the Contract Disputes

Act of 1978, 41 U.S.C. § 605, providing, in pertinent part, as

follows:

§ 605. Decision by contracting officer

(a) Contractor claims

** * *

Specific findings of fact are not required, but, if

made, shall not be binding in any subsequent pro-

ceeding... .

** * *

(b) Review; performance of contract pending

appeal

The contracting officer's decision on the claim

sha!l be final and conclusive and not subject to re-

view by any forum, tribunal, or Government

3

agency, unless an appeal or suit is timely com-

menced as authorized by this chapter... .

Statement of the Case and Basis for

Federal Jurisdiction.

The basis for federal jurisdiction in the court of first in-

stance, i.e., the United States Court of Appeals for the Federal

Circuit, was the Contract Disputes Act of 1978, 41 U.S.C. §§

601 et seq.; most specifically § 607(g)(1)(A).

Reasons Relied on for Allowance of the Writ.

The United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit

has, in this instance, sanctioned such a departure by ASBCA

from controlling and most important law (stare decisis as to

the scope of appellate review of contracting officers’ deci-

sions) as to call for an exercise of this Court’s supervisory

power, and the Court of Appeals’ refusal to order ASBCA to

review a contracting officer’s decision de novo as required by

stare decisis is in conflict with relevant decisions of this

Court.

Background.

Petitioner Sayco, as a supplier of certain materials to the

Navy, became entitled to supplemental payments under Value

Engineering Changes (“VEC”) regulations (Defense Acquisi-

tion Regulations 7-104.44 et seq.). The contracting officer

rejected many of Sayco’s claims for VEC payments. Appen-

dix (“A”) A-46 - A-52. Notably, he did so not for their

amounts as such, but rather upon erroneous determinations of

fact, or even of substantive law. Idem. Accordingly, Sayco

petitioned ASBCA to review the contracting officer’s deci-

sion de novo. A-53. ASBCA refused to do that, holding that it

could review the contracting officer’s decision only for arbi-

trariness and capriciousness. A-18 - A-19; A-35 - A-37.

Sayco then petitioned the court below to order ASBCA to re-

view the contracting officer’s decision de novo. A-54 - A-55.

That court did not even mention Sayco’s argument in its

decision, or the firmly established chain of authorities

supporting it - capped by the court’s own in banc decision in

Wilner v. The United States, 24 F.3d 1397 (Fed. Cir. 1994).

The plain language of the CDA and our decision

in Assurance [Co. v. United States, 813 F.2d 1202

(Fed. Cir. 1987)] make it clear that when suit is

brought following a contracting officer’s decision,

the findings of fact in that decision are not binding

upon the parties and are not entitled to any defer-

ence.

Wilner, 24 F.3d at 1401.

Instead, the court below apparently summarily disposed of

this critical issue sub silentio under a conclusory catchall

characterization , “without merit”. A-3.

The Stare Decisis Imperative.

Perhaps no doctrine short of constitutional level is as de-

manding as stare decisis.

Time and time again, this Court has recognized that

“the doctrine of stare decisis is of fundamental im-

portance to the rule of law.” [Citations.] Adherence

to precedent promotes stability, predictability, and

respect for judicial authority. Vasquez v. Hillery,

474 U.S. 254, 265-266 (1986). For all of these rea-

sons, we will not depart from the doctrine of stare

decisis without some compelling justification.

[Citation. ]

Hilton v. South Carolina Public Railways

Commission, 502 U.S. 197, 202 (1991).

Stare Decisis is usually the wise policy, because in

most matters it is more important that the applicable

rule of law be settled than that it be settled right.

Burnet v. Coronado Oil and Gas Co., 285

U.S. 393, 406 (1932) (Brandeis, J., dis-

senting). Cited with approval in Hilton,

ee Te wee TY

supra and Payne v. Tennessee, 501 U.S.

808, 827 (1991).

The stare decisis status of de novo review by ASBCA

(supra) stands beyond argument.

If, possibly, there might be some reason for the court below

to have turned its back upon the doctrine it has not offered

any explanation for doing so. No reason. Not even a mere

declaration of a reason; much less a reasoned reason, or a

“better” reason. Much less “some compelling justification”.

Hilton, supra.

“[S]tability, predictability, and respect for judicial author-

ity” are all forsaken if a United States Court of Appeals is to

be left free under a blanket of silence and unaccountability to

act in square contravention of firmly rooted stare decisis.

Hence, petitioner now seeks this Court’s exercise of its su-

pervisory power to set straight the lower court’s decision,

which stands in sharp conflict with relevant decisions of this

Court.

Dated: New York, New York

July 15, 1996

Respectfully submitted,

L\ (WAS

GILBERT H. WEIL

Counsel of Record

MICHAEL M. MALKIN

WEIL, GUTTMAN & MALKIN, LLP

Attorneys for Petitioner

60 East 42nd Street, Suite 4210

New York, New York 10165

(212) 687-8573

APPENDIX

Se

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Sayco Ltd. v. John H. Dalton, Secretary of the Navy,

_ F.3a » 40 CCF § 76,919 (Fed. Cir., April 3,

1996) (decision and judgment of the court below)... A-1

Appeal of Sayco Ltd., 94-3 BCA 4 27,284

(November 7, 1994) (final decision by ASBCA

granting in part and denying in part Sayco’s claims). A-7

Appeal of Sayco Ltd., 92-1 BCA { 24,573

(November 8, 1991) (decision by ASBCA denying

cross-motions for summary judgment). .............06...... A-25

Sayco Ltd v. John H. Dalton, Secretary of the Navy,

__F.3d___,40CCF4___ (Fed. Cir., May 8,

1996) (order denying Sayco’s petition for rehearing

and suggestion that it be heard in banc)..................... A-44

Final Decision of Thomas J. Fura, Contracting

Officer, pages 13-19, dated May 8, 1990................... A-46

Sayco’s Post-Hearing Submissions, page 17, before

ASBCA, dated February 14, 1994.00.00 ccc. A-53

Brief of Appellant Sayco, pages 15-17, in the

United States Court of Appeals for the Federal

Circuit, dated May 5, 1995. ............. \ipendediapaiclavaialesieis A-54

EEE

A-1

NOTE: Pursuant to Fed. Cir. R. 47.6, this disposi-

tion is not citable as precedent. It is a public record.

The disposition will appear in tables published peri-

odically.

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR

THE FEDERAi CIRCUIT

95-1226

SAYCO LTD.,

Appellant,

v.

John H. Dalton,

SECRETARY OF THE NAVY,

Appellee.

DECIDED: April 3, 1996

Before CLEVENGER, RADER, and SCHALL. Circuit

Judges.

SCHALL, Circuit Judge.

DECISION

Sayco, Ltd. (“Sayco”) appeals the decision of the Armed

Services Board of Contract Appeals (“Board”) awarding it

$151,747.19 as its share of the total cost savings under two

separate contracts between Sayco and the Department of the

Navy for submarine connector plugs. Appeal of Sayco, Ltd.,

ASBCA No. 39366, 94-3 BCA (CCH) 4 27,284 (Nov. 7,

1994) (“Sayco IT’). The Board awarded Sayco $131,109.58

under Contract Number N00104-84-C-1565 and $20,637.61

under Contract No. N00104-84-C-1504. We affirm.

A-2

DISCUSSION

I.

Sayco’s two contracts incorporated by reference the Value

Engineering clause set forth in what then was Defense Ac-

quisition Regulation 7-104.44 (Oct. 1982). Sayco II, 94-3

BCA at 135,921. Under this clause, Sayco was entitled to

share with the Navy any cost savings resulting from a value

engineering change proposal (“VECP”) which it submitted

under the contracts and which was accepted by the Navy. See

Sayco, Ltd, ASBCA No. 39366, 92-1 BCA (CCH) 4 24,573

at 122,586 (November 8, 1991) (“Sayco ot The clause rec-

ognized both “instant contract savings” (savings under the

contracts) and “collateral savings” (savings in agency costs

relating to operation of, and maintenance and logistic support

for, goods furnished under the contracts). Jd. Under the

clause, Sayco was to be compensated for such savings by re-

ceiving additional compensation under the contracts. Id.

The VECP which Sayco submitted and was accepted in-

creased the cost to the Navy of each connector plug delivered

under the contracts. Consequently, the parties were con-

fronted with what the Navy’s contract administrator called

“negative acquisition savings.” At the same time, however,

Sayco’s VECP did result in collateral savings to the Navy. In

due course, Sayco appealed to the Board under the Contract

Disputes Act of 1978, 41 U.S.C. §§ 601-13, the Navy’s de-

termination as to the additional compensation to which Sayco

was entitled under the contracts resulting from the combina-

tion of negative acquisition savings and collateral savings.

Before the Board, Sayco argued that, for purposes of comput-

ing the contractor’s share of collateral savings under each of

the contracts, the “firm fixed price” referred to in the Value

Engineering clause included the contractor's share of

' The findings the Board made in Sayco | were incorporated by reference

into the Board’s opinion in Sayco II. Sayco II, 94-3 BCA at 135,921. Be-

cause both Sayco | and Sayco I/ present the same issues, we cite to the

Board’s findings and conclusions in Sayco / where necessary.

A-3

collateral savings. Sayco also argued that the sharing period

for collateral savings should be three years, and that evidence

of what the parties meant by the offset provision contained in

Modification A00003 to each of the contracts was barred by

the parol evidence rule. Sayco II, 94-3 BCA at 135,926.

The Board determined (1) that the contract price’s “firm

fixed price” did not include collateral savings; (2) that the

sharing period for collateral Savings was only one year; and

(3) relying upon patol evidence, that the parties had agreed

that negative acquisition savings would be offset against col-

lateral savings. Jd. at 135,926-27. Having rejected Sayco’s

claims, the Board held that Sayco was entitled to the award

noted above.

ay.

We treat the decision of an agency board on any question

of fact as final and conclusive unless the decision is

“fraudulent, or arbitrary, or capricious, or so grossly errone-

ous as to necessarily imply bad faith, or if such decision is not

supported by substantial evidence.” 41 U.S.C. § 609(b)

(1994). We review the decision of an agency board on any

question of law de novo. Fruin-Colnon Corp. v. United States,

912 F.2d 1426 (Fed. Cir. 1990). We address here three of the

arguments raised by Sayco on appeal.

First, Sayco argues that the Board erred in its interpretation

of the collateral savings provisions contained in the Value

Engineering clause. The Board concluded that the “firm fixed

price” for purposes of the collateral Savings paragraph of the

Value Engineering clause was the contract price at the time a

VECP was accepted and, therefore, did not include any in-

creases or decreases in that price because of collateral sav-

ings. Sayco II, 94-3 BCA at 135,926. We agree.

2 ; ‘. ‘

~ We have considered Sayco’s other contentions and have found them all

to be without merit.

ee -

A-4

The Value Engineering clause provided that the contrac-

tor’s share of collateral savings “shall not exceed (i) the con-

tract’s firm fixed price ... at the time the VECP is accepted,

or (ii) $100,000, whichever is greater.” Jd. Sayco urges us to

interpret the clause to mean that the “firm fixed price” in-

cluded collateral savings. In rejecting this argument the Board

observed that “[t]he clause says ‘at the time the VECP is ac-

cepted’ not ‘after the VECP is accepted.’” Sayco I, 92-1 BCA

at 122,590. The Board further observed that to accept Sayco’s

interpretation would “effectively read limitation (i)... out of

the Value Engineering clause.” /d. The reason is that adding

the anticipated collateral savings to the existing contract price

means that “the total will always be greater than the collateral

savings since ... [collateral savings] is one of the amounts

making up the total.” /d. We see no error in this analysis.

We also agree with the Board that the sharing period for

collateral savings was only one year. Paragraph (g) of the

Value Engineering clause stated that “the instant contract

amount shall be increased .. . by 20 percent of the projected

net reduction in collateral costs determined to be realized in a

typical year of use. . ..” It is quite clear that the contract calls

for a sharing period for collateral savings of one year, not

three years.

Finally, the Board correctly determined that the parties

agreed that negative acquisition savings would be offset

against collateral savings. Sayco urges us to hold that the

Board erred by relying upon parol evidence to determine the

parties’ intent. We find that the Board’s reliance on parol evi-

dence was proper. Parol evidence is admissible if the terms of

a contract are ambiguous. Beta Sys., Inc. v. United States, 838

F.2d 1179, 1183 (Fed. Cir. 1988). In the present case, the

contract, as modified, provided the negative acquisition sav-

ings would be offset in accordance with FAR 52.248-1(J) [sic:

(j)|. FAR 52.248-1(j) limits that increase in the price of a

contract after acceptance of a VECP to “20 percent of any

projected collateral savings determined to be realized in a

typical year of use after subtracting any Government costs not

previously offset.” FAR 52.248-1(j). To the extent that the

+ tte at

PONT RA TGS ri wr

ON tO ne LAM Say OD Rae S

A-5

contract is ambiguous as to what government costs the parties

intended to offset against collateral savings, we do not find

erroneous the Board’s resort to parol evidence to determine

that it was the intent of the parties regarding this provision to

offset. negative acquisition savings against collateral savings.

For the foregoing reasons, we hold that the decision of the

Board is supported by substantial evidence and is free of legal

error. Accordingly, it is affirmed.

Each party shall bear its own costs.

A-6

NOTE: Pursuant to Fed. Cir. R. 47.6, this disposition is not

citable as precedent. It is a public record. The disposition will

appear in tables published periodically.

United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit

95-1226

SAYCO LTD.,

Appellant,

V.

John H. Dalton,

SECRETARY OF THE NAVY,

Appellee.

Judgment

ON APPEAL from the ARMED SERVICES BOARD OF

CONTRACT APPEALS

in CASE NO(S). 39366

This CAUSE having been heard and considered it is

ORDERED and ADJUDGED: AFFIRMED

ENTERED BY ORDER OF THE COURT

/s/ Francis X. Gindhart

Francis X. Gindhart, Clerk

DATED: APR 03 1996

ISSUED AS A MANDATE: May 28, 1996

A-7

ARMED SERVICES BOARD OF

CONTRACT APPEALS

Appeal of -- )

)

Sayco Ltd. ) ASBCA No. 39366

Under Contract Nos. N00104-84-C- _)

1565 and N00104-84-C-1504 )

APPEARANCE(S) FOR THE APPELLANT:

Jacob H. Fischman, Esq.

Forest Hills, NY

Gilbert H. Weil, Esq.

Weil, Gut[t}man & Malkin

New York, NY

APPEARANCE(S) FOR THE GOVERNMENT:

Arthur H. Hildebrandt, Esq.

Navy Chief Trial Attorney

Brad L. Johnson, Esq.

Trial Attorney

OPINION BY ADMINISTRATIVE

JUDGE BURG

This appeal concerns what amount, if any, appellant should

receive from the Government for an approved Value Engi-

neering Change Proposal (VECP). The parties’ Cross-

Motions for Summary Judgment were considered in a non-

dispositive opinion, 92-1 BCA 4 24,573. We affirmed our

conclusions in that opinion on appellant’s motion for recon-

sideration of our denial of its motion for summary judgment,

92-3 BCA 4 25,124. Appellant filed an appeal with the Court

of Appeals for the Federal Circuit which was docketed as

Sayco Lid. v. ‘Navy, No. 92-1219, on 10 March 1992 and

dismissed on motion of the appellee, 12 June 1992. Thereaf-

ter, there was an oral hearing at which time the parties pre-

sented evidence on the material facts which the Board had

concluded were in dispute.

eee

A-8

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. In our opinion on the cross-motions for summary judg-

ment, we made detailed findings regarding the matters here in

dispute. They are incorporated herein by reference and will be

repeated only to the extent necessary in this opinion.

2. At some point after submittal of the VECP, appellant

began to manufacture the connector plugs as proposed by its

VECP. Since they did not comply with the then existing con-

tract requirements, the Government inspector at appellant’s

plant would not accept the plugs and sign the Form DD-250s.

Appellant could not be paid until the Form DD-250s were

executed.

3. Appellant was anxious to obtain acceptance and execu-

tion of the DD-250s so it could be paid. Several meetings oc-

curred between appellani’s president, its attorney and

Government personnel. As we found in our opinion on the

cross-motions for summary judgment:

Modification A00003 to Contract 1504 dated 28

October 1987 and Modification A00003 to Contract

1565 dated 9 November 1987 incorporated the

VECP into each contract. These bilateral modifica-

tions provided (1) that Contract 1565 [Contract No.

N00104-84-C-1565] was the “instant contract” and

Contract 1504 [Contract N00104-84-C-1504] was

the “concurrent contract”, (2) that approval of

VECP 001 resulted in “Negative Acquisition Sav-

ings” for Contract 1565 of $387,639 and for Con-

tract 1504 of $154,225 (a total of $541,864), (3) that

the definitized negative acquisition savings would

be offset in accordance with FAR 52.248.1, para (J)

[sic], (4) that collateral savings would be calculated

and determined by the procuring contracting officer

(PCO) and incorporated by contract modifications

at a later date, and (5) that the contract price for

Contract 1565 became $636,999 and for Contract

1504 became $254,405.

RE TR RRS At PAT DBS OCR M EI Nin PRISER RN

Ee APE Re TR

A-9

(92-1 BCA at 122,585-86) Modification A00003 for Contract

1565 is set forth in our prior opinion (92-1 BCA at 122,587)

and will not be repeated here.

4. The Value Engineering (VE) clause, DAR 7-104.44

(1982 OCT), incorporated by reference into appellant’s con-

tracts did not define “Negative Acquisition Savings”. The

applicable provisions of the clause are set forth in our prior

opinion (92-1 BCA at 122,586-87). Prior to issuance of

Modification A00003 for each of these contracts, the contract

administrator who prepared both modifications carefully con-

sidered the requirements of the clause. This was a unique

situation since the VECP resulted in an increase rather than a

decrease in the cost of each unit. The unit cost prior to accep-

tance of the VECP, $29.00; was increased to $101.00 per unit

after acceptance. Certain tasks were performed by the contrac-

tor at its plant rather than on the ship.

5. The contract administrator did not consider the increased

manufacturing costs were covered by the definition of

“negative instant contract savings” which were described as

the “excess of contractor’s development and implementation

costs as compared to the unit cost reduction”. Negative instant

contract savings result in an equitable adjustment increasing

the instant contract price and are not considered a Govern-

ment cost. (DAR 7-104.44(b)(7))

6. While “net acquisition Savings” were defined as

“acquisition savings” less Government costs, there was no

provision in the clause when the “net acquisition savings”

were negative rather than positive. The Government contract

administrator concluded that the increased acquisition costs

did not comply with the definition of “Government costs” in

the VE clause which defined such costs as:

(5) “Government costs” means those agency costs

that result directly from developing and implement-

ing the VECP and any net increase in the cost of

testing, operations, maintenance, and logistics sup-

port. They do not include the normal administrative

costs of processing the VECP.

A-10

(DAR 7-104.44(b)(5)) Therefore, after consultation with

Government personnel and officials involved in the Value

Engineering program and its implementation, he used the

phrase “negative acquisition savings” as distinguished from

“negative instant contract savings.” In preparing bilateral

Modification A00003 for Contract 1565 dated 9 November

1987, the language was carefully prepared by the contract

administrator and reviewed by his superiors. It provided, in

pertinent part:

1. ACQUISITION SAVINGS: The approval of

VECP-001, 12 Nov 85, has resulted in

“Negative” Acquisition Savings. Specifically,

the VECP-001 results in a unit and total con-

tract price increase on this, the instant contract

[Contract 1565]; the aforementioned concur-

rent contract [Contract 1504] and on future

contracts for the procurement of the applicable

NSN(s). Accordingly, negative acquisition

savings in the amount established below, will

be offset in accordance with FAR 52.248-1,

para (J) [sic]

NEGATIVE ACQUISITION

SAVINGS - $379,728.00 Recurring

7,911.00 Non-recurring

Total $387,639.00

2. COLLATERAL SAVINGS: Collateral savings

will be calculated and determined by the

NSPCC, PCO. The amount to be shared with

and paid to the contractor shall be approved

and incorporated into the contract at a later

time via contract modification to be issued by

the NSPCC, PCO.

3. INCREASE IN UNIT PRICE/CONTRACT

PRICE

a. Based on contract modifications A00001,

04 Sep 85 and A00002, 15 Aug 86;

A-I1

wherein the contractor paid consideration

in return for delivery schedule changes,

the total contract amount was reduced

FROM: $250,260 TO: $249,360.00. Ac-

cordingly, the unit price at the time of ne-

gotiation of this VECP-001 was

4

;

established at $29.00 per unit as follows:

($249,360.00 divided by 8600 Ea. units =

$28.995 or $29.00)

b. The following changes are hereby made

to the unit price/contract amount for the

remaining 5,274 Ea. units.

RECURRING COSTS:

Unit price for 5,274, Ea. items is in-

creased by $72.00

FROM. $29.00 TO: $101.00

NON-RECURRING COSTS: Non-recurring

development costs of $1.50 per unit for

5,274 Ea. units, or total development

costs of $7,911.00 are hereby added to the

eA Nida lA a Et ee

contract.

TOTAL CONTRACT AMOUNT is increased as

follows:

Established total amount: $249,360.00

Additional recurring costs: 379,728.00

Addition{al] Non-recurring costs: 2,911.00

New Total Contract Amount: $636,999.00

(R4, tab 1) A more complete version of Modification A00003

is set forth at 92-1 BCA at 122,587.

7. Bilateral Modification A00003 to Contract 1504 dated

28 October 1987 was similar to the one set forth above. It

recited that the Negative Acquisition Savings for Contract

1504 were $151,240 for recurring and $2,985 for non-

recurring costs, a total of $154,225. The unit price at the time

of negotiation was $50.00 and was increased by $76.00 per

unit to a unit price of $126 per unit. The total contract price at

A-12

the time of negotiation of the VECP was established to be

$100,180 and was increased to $254,405.00. (R4, tab 2)

8. The contract administrator testified that during negotia-

tions for determination of the amount appellant was to receive

for acceptance of the VECP the matter was discussed with

appellant and its counsel and that he made it quite clear that

the negative acquisition savings would be offset against any

amount determined for collateral savings. He did not consider

this a deviation from the VE clause which required advance

permission because it was outside the provisions of the clause

itself. The matter was discussed on more than one occasion

with Mr. Eli Natan, appellant’s president, who was an experi-

enced Government contractor and former Government em-

ployee. Mr. Natan testified that at that time appellant was

seeking recovery of savings as acquisition savings, not as

collateral savings, and that he thought that any offset of

“negative acquisition savings” would be offset against the ac-

quisition savings appellant was claiming. Appellant’s primary

concern was to have the units which had been manufactured

using the VECP and had been completed since May 1987 ac-

cepted so that it could get paid. When he saw the language in

Modifications A00003, it was unclear so he checked with his

counsel who indicated that the provision had no effect and

that Mr. Natan should ask that the language be crossed out.

Mr. Natan was informed that the ACO would not agree to any

change in the language. A memorandum for the record by

Paul M. Hayes, Jr., dated 1 May 1987 corroborates the fact

that the ACO would not change the language. It recites:

During the past week numerous attempts have

been made by me and Mr. Natan to permit the

shipment of 3000 ea. plug sleeves from Job 344.

DCASMA Reading (Mr. A. Vesloski [the contract

administrator] & Mr. J. Thomas) informed me that a

contract modification (bilateral agreement) incorpo-

rating the technical aspect of VECP 001 would be

required before the government would accept the

product.

- PAE ORE ta oe Sect dads Boon

A-13

I informed Mr. Vesloski that SAYCO could agree to

a bilateral modification provided the language of the

modification did not arrogate [sic] SAYCO’s rights

under the VECP.

The language proposed by the Government was re-

viewed by SAYCO counsel and found to be unac-

ceptable. SAYCO recommended to the Government

changes in the language. The Government (Mr.

Vesloski) informed me that his ACO would not

change the language. Mr. Vesloski informed me that

he was referring the issue to SPCC with the recom-

mendation that SPCC issue a unilateral change or-

der incorporating the technical aspects of VECP

001. In this way SAYCO could ship the units while

the change order was being resolved.

(R4(b), tab 4)

9. The contemporaneous Correspondence indicates that

SAYCO, having manufactured the items incorporating the

VECP, was extremely anxious to have them accepted. The

Government would not accept them without the contract

modification. There was difficulty in obtaining the requisite

cost information from appellant which was necessary to de-

termine the amount to which appellant was entitled because of

acceptance of the VECP. Finally, bilateral Modifications

A00003 for Contracts 1565 and 1504 were prepared and exe-

cuted without all the information which the contract adminis-

trator considered should be available and the collateral

Savings were deferred to later modifications.

10. Initially, appellant had submitted its cost analysis of the

VECP showing acquisition savings by including the amount

the Government would save in labor using the VECP. How-

ever, this submittal did not adequately reflect the increased

costs of the units which resulted in the increased manufactur-

ing costs of the contractor and the increased unit costs termed

“negative acquisition savings.” When, after execution of the

Modification A00003 to each contract, Mr. Natan was in-

formed that there were no acquisition savings, he transferred

A-14

some of the amounts originally claimed as acquisition savings

to collateral savings. Prior to execution of those modifications

appellant had calculated collateral savings as $240,000 and

appellant was not too concerned about them since its share

was minor, $48,000, compared with the quantity of items on

hand which it wanted to deliver so it could receive payment.

Thereafter, appellant submitted a revised cost analysis seeking

recovery of collateral savings.

11. By letter dated 2 February 1988, appellant submitted its

collateral savings analysis, seeking the following:

Savings from reduced maintenance of

government owned equipment $ 240,000.00

Savings on operational expenditure

due to the increase in service life 3,332,347.20

Savings resulting from the reduction

of government costs in maintaining

the end unit in service 5,509,082.00

Savings resulting from reduced logis-

tics costs of procurement, transporta-

tion, storage and inventory

maintenance 109,003.62

Total $9,190,432.82

20% x $9,190,432.92 = $1,838,086.56

(Exhs. 580-584) In that same document appellant indicated

that it was unable to quantify the following, but felt that they

could double the amount of collateral savings:

a. Material costs, such as solvents, containers, heat

lamps or sources which are required to fabricate

plugs were not included in the above.

b. Cost of systems checks required after plug re-

placement were not included in the above calcula-

tions.

Lae ahem PML 4 Gane ation -

A-15

c. Costs of support and technical personnel were not

included in the above calculations.

d. Costs of ancillary equipment replacements, [i.e.,

damage to transducers/hydrophones caused by wa-

ter intrusion due to failed plugs] were not used in

the above calculation.

12. By letter dated 29 February 1992, appellant quantified

the above four items, as follows:

a. Material cost savings on 3126

plugs @ $26.84 = $ 83,901.00

b. Savings on cost of System checks: 718,018.00

c. Savings on cost of technical and

support personnel 3,590,092.00

d. Savings on cost of damage to

transducers/hydrophones cause[d]

by water intrusion _4,085,199.00

TOTAL SAVINGS $8.477.210.00

(Exh. 667-670) These claimed collateral savings were in ad-

dition to the $9,190,432.82 set forth above.

13. Because of lack of data concerning savings because of

the VECP and the escalating nature of appellant’s claim, the

contracting officer was confused and had problems quantify-

ing the amount of collateral savings. On 7 June 1989 appel-

lant filed a certified claim for $11,028,519 as its share of

collateral savings from its VECP under Contract 1565 and

1504. On 16 August 1989 appellant appealed from failure of

the contracting officer to issue a decision on its claim. There-

after, on 6 May 1990 the contracting officer issued his deci-

sion concluding that the collateral Savings from the VECP

were $1,300,600 fra year.

14. Prior to issuing his decision, the contracting officer re-

peatedly reviewed the VE clause. When the contracting offi-

cer received appellant’s first proposal of collateral savings, he

A-16

referred it to the appropriate technical branch and informed

that branch of how the VE clause defines collateral savings.

Because of his concern about the methodology to use in this

instance, he consulted with the person in charge of the De-

partment of Defense VE program and with the instructor of

the VE course at Wright Patterson Air Force Base. He also

consulted with individuals involved with the VE program for

the Navy, Army and Air Force. His purpose was several fold.

He attempted to determine whether there is still a value engi-

neering change when there is a unit price increase. He also

inquired whether there was any operating procedure, instruc-

tion or computer model which could be used. He was in-

formed there was no guidance or computation instruction.

While “upper management” at the buying agency understood

the issue which the contracting officer was raising (whether

there could be collateral savings when there was a unit price

increase as a result of a VECP), they did not feel it was a

matter of concern in this instance.

15. In making the actual computations in his decision, the

contracting officer relied a great deal on the technical advice

from the technical branch. It was not possible to obtain actual

figures because there were not many units is operation which

incorporated the change, there was no model to use and it was

extremely difficult, if not impossible, to segregate the units

with the VECP from those which were not manufactured us-

ing the VECP.

16. It was possible to determine the Navy typical year us-

age of plugs by determining one third of the three year cycli-

cal data usage of the plugs. This quantity, 6,253, was the same

quantity used by appellant in its claim of 2 February 1988.

The contracting officer also accepted appellant’s manufactur-

ing savings of 5 hours per item and labor costs of $40.00 per

hour. The 5 hour savings was because of labor standards es-

tablished in a Government manual and the contracting officer

used that figure rather than the 1/2 hour savings per unit

which he was informed was the actual amount of time saved.

He concluded it was more appropriate to use the time in-

cluded in the standards manual. Extending these figures and

;

|

|

|

;

|

A-17

adding the $50,000 to which he concluded appellant was en-

titled from its original proposal, the contracting officer con-

cluded that the collateral Savings were:

6,253 x 5 x $40.00 = $1,250,600 + $50,000 = $1,300,600

(R4, tab 20)

17. After consultation with the electrical engineer in the

technical branch who analyzed appellant’s claims, the con-

tracting officer concluded that -there was no entitlement or

basis for recovery for the other items for which appellant

sought a share as collateral savings. He, therefore, calculated

the collateral Savings to which appellant was entitled under

the VE clause (20 percent of one year’s Savings) to be

$260,000. The $260,000 had to be divided between Contracts

1565 and 1504. He developed a percentage based on a ratio of

the quantity purchased under each contract over the three year

usage for the item. This calculated to:

Contract 1565 86.4% x $260,000 = $224,640.00

Contract 1504 13.6% x $260,000 = $ 35,360.00

18. The contracting officer believed that pursuant to Modi-

fication A00003, the negative acquisition savings would be

offset against the contractor’s twenty percent share of the

collateral savings. Since the negative acquisition savings,

$387,639 for Contract 1565 and $154,225 for Contract 1504,

exceeded the contractor’s twenty percent share of collateral

savings for each contract, the contracting officer concluded

that appellant’s share of collateral savings after offset was

$0.00 for each contract. (R4, tab 20)

19. Having carefully considered all of the facts present in

the record, many of which we have set forth in detail, we find

that the decision by the contracting officer as to the amount of

collateral savings was not arbitrary or capricious. To the con-

trary, because of the unique situation which existed here, an

increase rather than decrease in the unit price because of ac-

ceptance of the VECP, the contracting officer made a great

effort to determine just how the matter should be handled.

A-18

DECISION

In our decision on the cross-motions for summary judg-

ment we reached the following conclusions:

The cross-motions for summary judgment are

denied. The partial motions for summary judgment

are granted to the extent set forth above that (1) the

determination of the contracting officer is review-

able for the limited purpose of determining whether

it was arbitrary or capricious with the burden on ap-

pellant to prove such was the case and also to prove

any amounts over those recognized by the contract-

ing officer if it sustains its burden on entitlement;

(2) the firm-fixed price for purposes of the collateral

savings paragraph of the Value Engineering clause

is that price at the time the VECP is accepted and,

therefore, does not include any increases or de-

creases in that price because of such acceptance or

any amount attributable to the collateral savings; (3)

the sharing period for collateral savings is one year;

(4) that in calculating any offset of negative acqui-

sition savings which are appropriate under the col-

lateral savings clause and the contract, the offset is

subtracted from estimated yearly savings before the

20 percent to which the contractor is entitled is cal-

culated; and (5) appellant’s share of collateral sav-

ings shall not exceed $249,360 for Contract 1565 or

$100,180 for Contract 1504.

(92-1 BCA at 122,592) In that opinion, we concluded that

whether the contracting officer had abused his discretion in

determining the amount of collateral savings, what was in-

tended by the “offset” language in Modification A00003 to

each contract and whether the contracting officer had erred in

concluding that the contractor should not share in certain col-

lateral savings were material facts in dispute and were not ap-

propriate for summary judgment. On reconsideration, we

affirmed those conclusions. We reaffirm them here.

Sonie's “eit. Nas

A-19

Appellant argues eight issues. Many of the issues were ar-

gued in its various motions to the Board. They were discussed

at great length in our earlier opinions and we shall not discuss

them in detail here.

Appellant’s first argument is that the Board reviews the

contracting officer’s decision de novo. This argument was

considered in our decisions on the cross-motions for summary

judgment and on reconsideration. After detailed discussion,

we followed the precedent established in JCSD Corporation,

ASBCA No. 28028, 90-3 BCA 4 23,027; aff'd 934 F.2d 313

(Fed.Cir. 1991). We concluded that paragraph (g) of the VE

clause providing for collateral savings which states that

“... The Contracting Officer shall be the sole determiner of the

amount of collateral savings, and that amount shall not be

subject to the Disputes clause....” stil] permitted us to deter-

mine whether the decision was arbitrary or capricious so that

there was an abuse of discretion by the contracting officer.

We, further, concluded that the appellant has the burden of

establishing whether such determination was arbitrary and

capricious and, if so, the amounts which were arbitrary and

capricious. In its briefs, appellant completely ignores JCSD.

supra, and our earlier opinions on this matter. We reaffirm

our conclusions reached in those opinions. (92-1 BCA at

122,588-90; 92-3 BCA at 125,260)

_ Many of appellant’s arguments concern the amount to

which appellant is entitled over and beyond the amount de-

termined by the contracting officer. We have not made de-

tailed findings of fact as to these various amounts because we

reaffirm the conclusions reached in our previous opinions

concerning the limitations on amounts recoverable for collat-

eral savings under paragraph (g) of the VE clause in appel-

lant’s contracts. It provided:

(g) Collateral Savings. If a VECP is accepted, the

instant contract amount shall be increased . . . by 20

percent of the projected net reduction in collateral

costs determined to be realized in a typical year of

use after subtracting any Government costs not

A-20

previously offset. However, the Contractor’s share

of collateral savings shall not exceed (i) the con-

tract’s firm fixed price, target price, target cost, or

estimated costs at the time the VECP is accepted, or

(ii) $100,000, whichever is greater.

In our earlier opinions we discussed in detail the limitations

in recovery of collateral savings established by the language

of the clause. We reiterate our conclusion reached in those

opinions that the “firm fixed price” for purposes of that clause

means the contract price before determination of collateral

savings (92-1 BCA at 122,590; 92-3 BCA at 125,260).

Appellant argues that the contract price for limitation pur-

poses of the collateral savings clause should be the price set

forth in Modification A00003 for each contract after increas-

ing the unit price of the items. We do not agree. If that were to

be the proper interpretation of the clause, in most instances

the unit price is decreased, not increased, a result which

would lead to a lower contract price and less recovery in

many cases. We consider such a conclusion incorrect and that

the phrase “at the time the VECP is accepted” means the con-

tract price without considering any adjustment due to the

value engineering change itself.

This leaves for consideration the question of just what was

intended by Modification A00003 to each of the contracts

here in question insofar as the offset provision is concerned.

Appellant argues that evidence of what was meant by those

provisions is barred by the parol evidence rule. We considered

that matter in our opinion on appellant’s motion for reconsid-

eration. We concluded:

(4) Offset for “negative acquisition savings”

Appellant argues that consideration by the Board

of evidence of negotiations which resulted in Modi-

fication A0003 [sic] to each of the contracts in-

volved in this appeal would violate the parol

evidence rule and that the agreement is clear on its

face. In this instance the parties by negotiation

me ot

SE ee lle ire Ct: arte Pll i a tk a

Sen ee, tne ee

A-21

agreed that negative acquisition Savings would be

offset in accordance with a specified FAR provi-

sion. There is nothing which prohibits the parties

from resolving a matter by negotiation and, unless it

specifically constitutes a deviation from a regulation

for which a waiver would be required, it could

constitute a valid agreement. We addressed this in

Our Opinion on the motions [92-1 BCA at 122,591].

We do not agree with appellant that the regulations

necessarily preclude such an offset if the parties, by

negotiation, agree that such will be the case. Were

we to decide this issue on the record before us, as

argued by appellant, we would conclude that such

offset should be made in the manner spelled out in

these modifications. However, we were willing to

allow appellant an Opportunity to develop factually

that this was not the situation. If it does not wish to

avail itself of same and wishes to rest on the modi-

fications, we would conclude that, in addition to any

items of offset established pursuant to the collateral

Savings provision, the parties agreed that negative

acquisition savings would be offset against collat-

eral savings...

(92-3 BCA at 125,260) We reiterate the conclusions set forth

in our prior opinions.

At the hearing the testimony of the contracting officer and

contract administrator was straightforward that the question of

offset of negative acquisition savings was a matter discussed

with appellant on several occasions while the increase in unit

price under these contracts was being negotiated and that Mr.

Natan was informed that the increased costs would be offset

against any collateral savings resulting from the VECP. At the

hearing appellant’s then president, Mr. Natan, testified that

the language was unclear. At that time, appellant was seeking

recovery of savings as acquisition Savings, not as collateral

savings, and that any offset of “negative acquisition savings”

would be offset against the acquisition savings appellant was

claiming. Appellant’s primary concern was to have the units

A-22

which had been manufactured using the VECP and had been

completed since May 1987 accepted so that it could get paid.

Mr. Natan checked with his counsel who indicated that the

provision had no effect and that Mr. Natan should ask that the

language be crossed out. Mr. Natan was informed that the

ACO would not agree to any change in the language. It was

not until later, when Mr. Natan was informed that there were

no acquisition savings that he transferred some of the amounts

originally claimed as acquisition savings to collateral savings.

We find the testimony of the Government contracting offi-

cer and the contract administrator more credible than that of

appellant. While Mr. Natan might have felt the language was

“unclear” he was an experienced Government contractor and

former Government employee. Language is not put into a

contract modification if it has no effect. We have considered

appellant’s arguments why Mr. Natan’s testimony was more

credible than that of the Government witnesses and find they

have no merit. We also point to the contemporaneous memo-

randum for the record which indicated even in May 1987 the

language of the modifications was under discussion and that

the ACO would not agree to any change. Certainly, appellant

should have been aware, therefore, that the Government con-

sidered it to have some meaning and, if unaware of what was

meant, should have clarified the purpose for the language or

assume the risk it did have some effect.

Essentially what was accomplished by the VECP was to

reduce the labor by Government personnel and increase the

labor manufacturing costs of the supplier. The record, both

oral and written, shows a serious concern and effort on the

part of the Government personnel to determine the amount of

collateral savings under an unusual situation, an increase

rather than decrease in the unit price, taking into consideration

the increased cost to the Government. We do not view this as

bias on the part of the Government employees but a recogni-

tion of their obligation to protect the Government fisc.

Mek Ang Oe Due Rew A te die

OF RNG Tea) Do deseo

ee wi weep! Dex!

- oowe

ee ee ee re

SRD RO etn Na HE Be

OF 0 Rt ia NS tt Dee Loc

A-23

We, therefore, reiterate our conclusion that under the facts

of this appeal the negative acquisition savings should be off-

set against the collateral savings.

The Government argues that it was the contracting officer’s

understanding that the negative acquisition savings be offset

against appellant’s share of the collateral savings. The record

fails to support a finding that this was made clear to appellant.

We, therefore, conclude that our interpretation, namely, that

such amounts be set off against collateral savings before

computation of the contractor’s 20 percent share, is appropri-

ate. We calculate it as follows:

$1,300,600 - ($387,639 [Cont. 1565] + $154,225

[Cont. 1504]) = $758,736

Twenty percent of this amount, $151,747.20, allocated be-

tween the two contracts is as follows:

Contract 1565 $151,747.20 x 86.4% = $131,109.58

Contract 1504 $151,747.20 x 13.6% = $ 20,637.61

Appellant introduced oral and written evidence and re-

quested numerous findings concerning the $17,667,642.82 to

which it claims it is entitled. Because of our conclusions that

the contracting officer was not arbitrary or capricious in

reaching his decision on collateral savings and that the nega-

tive acquisition savings be offset against the collateral sav-

ings, we have not cluttered this opinion with such findings.

The appeal is sustained in the amount of $131,109.58 for

Contract 1565 and $20,637.61 for Contract 1504 plus interest.

The record fails to disclose when appellant’s claim of 7 June

1989 was received. We conclude that interest should be com-

puted from the date the contracting officer received the 7 June

1989 claim.

Dated: 7 November 1994

I concur

/s/ Alan M. Spector

ALAN M. SPECTOR

Administrative Judge

Acting Chairman

Armed Services Board

of Contract Appeals

A-24

/s/ Ruth C. Burg

RUTH C. BURG

Administrative Judge

Armed Services Board

of Contract Appeals

I concur

/s/ Mark. N. Stempler

MARK N. STEMPLER

Administrative Judge

Acting Vice Chairman

Armed Services Board

of Contract Appeals

I certify that the foregoing is a true copy of the Opinion and

Decision of the Armed Services Board of Contract Appeals in

ASBCA No. 39366, Appeal of Sayco Ltd., rendered in con-

formance with the Board’s Charter.

Dated: 10 NOV 1994

/s/ Donald D. Mills

for EDWARD S. ADAMKEWICZ

Recorder, Armed Services

Board of Contract Appeals

A-25

ARMED SERVICES BOARD OF

CONTRACT APPEALS

Appeal of -- )

‘ s )

SAYCO LTD. ) ASBCA No.

Under Contract Nos. N00104-84-C-1565__) 39366

N00104-84-C-1504 )

APPEARANCE(S) FOR THE APPELLANT:

Jacob H. Fischman, Esq.

Forest Hills, NY

Gilbert H. Weil, Esq.

Weil, Gut[t}man & Malkin

New York, NY

APPEARANCE(S) FOR THE GOVERNMENT:

C. John Turnquist, Esq.

Navy Chief Trial Attorney

Brad L. Johnson, Esq.

Trial Attorney

OPINION BY ADMINISTRATIVE JUDGE BURG

ON CROSS MOTIONS FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT

This appeal concerns the amount, if any, to which appellant

is entitled for collateral Savings to the Government from an

approved Value Engineering Change Proposal. Appellant

filed this appeal from failure of the contracting officer to issue

a decision pursuant to the Contract Disputes Act (CDA), 41]

U.S.C. § 605(c)(5). Thereafter the contracting officer issued a

decision determining the amount to which appellant was enti-

tled for collateral savings and concluding that, because of off-

sets resulting from increased contract costs to effect the

change, the net amount to which appellant is entitled is zero.

The parties have filed cross motions for summary judgment.

FINDINGS OF FACT

These contracts for parts kit connector plugs, N00104-84-

C-1565 (Contract 1565) and N00104-84-C-1504 (Contract

1504), were awarded appellant on 15 August 1984 and 10

A-26

July 1984, respectively. Under date of 12 November 1985,

appellant submitted a Value Engineering Change Proposal

(VECP 001) for Contract 1565 concerning the items covered

by both contracts involved in this appeal. By letter dated 6

October 1986, appellant submitted its estimated costs for im-

plementation of VECP 001 in appellant’s contracts of $17.76

per unit for SAYCO and $90.15 for the Navy and its estimate

of yearly collateral savings to the Government for implemen-

tation of VECP 001 of $240,000.

Modification A00003 to Contract 1504 dated 28 October

1987 and Modification A00003 to Contract 1565 dated 9 No-

vember 1987 incorporated the VECP into each contract.

These bilateral modifications provided (1) that Contract 1565

was the “instant contract” and Contract 1504 was the

“concurrent contract”, (2) that approval of VECP 001 resulted

in “Negative Acquisition Savings” for Contract 1565 of

$387,639 and for Contract 1504 of $154,225 (a total of

$541,864), (3) that the definitized negative acquisition sav-

ings would be offset in accordance with FAR 52.248-1. para

(J) [sic], (4) that collateral savings would be calculated and

determined by the procuring contracting officer (PCO) and

incorporated by contract modifications at a later date, and (5)

that the contract price for Contract 1565 became $636,999

and for Contract 1504 became $254,405.

Applicable portions of the Value Engineering clause, DAR

7-104.44 (Oct 1982), incorporated into the contracts by refer-

ence, provide:

VALUE ENGINEERING (1982 OCT)

(b) Definitions.

(1) “Acquisition savings” means savings result-

ing from the application of VECPs to contracts

awarded by the same contracting office or its

successor for essentially the same unit. Ac-

quisition savings include:

(i) instant contract savings...:

A-27

(ii) concurrent contract Savings...;

(iii) future contract savings...

(2) “Collateral costs” means agency costs of

operation, maintenance, logistic support, or

Government-furnished property.

(3) “Collateral savings” means those measur-

able net reductions resulting from the VECP in

the agency’s overall projected collateral costs,

exclusive of acquisition savings, whether or

not the acquisition cost changes.

** *

(7) “Negative instant contract Savings” means

that the acceptance of the VECP results in:

* * *

(ii) an excess of contractor’s development

and implementation costs as compared to the

unit cost reduction multiplied by the number

of units affected; and

(ili) a consequent equitable adjustment in-

creasing the instant contract price.

These savings are not a Government cost.

(8) “Net acquisition savings” means acquisi-

tion savings less Government costs.

(9) “Sharing period” means that period that

extends to the 3 years after acceptance of the

first item incorporating the VECP, or the de-

livery schedule in effect for all affected end

items on the instant contract when the VECP is

accepted, whichever is longer.

** *

(f) Sharing.

A-28

* *

(3) Contract Adjustment and Payment. The

modification accepting the VECP shall:

* * *

(111) specify the amount of any Government

costs or negative instant contract savings to

be offset against net acquisition savings real-

ized from concurrent or future contract sav-

ings; and

(iv) provide the Contractor’s share of any

net acquisition savings under the instant

contract in accordance with the following:

(A) Fixed-price contracts--add to contract

price

* * *

(g) Collateral Savings. If a VECP is accepted, the

instant contract amount shall be increased, as

specified in (f)(3)(iv), by 20 percent of the pro-

jected net reduction in collateral costs determined

to be realized in a typical year of use after sub-

tracting any Government costs not previously

offset. However, the Contractor’s share of collat-

eral savings shall not exceed (i) the contract’s

firm fixed price, target price, target cost, or esti-

mated costs at the time the VECP is accepted, or

(ii) $100,000, whichever is greater. The Contract-

ing Officer shall be the sole determiner of the

amount of collateral savings, and that amount

shall not be subject to the Disputes clause.

Modification A00003 for Contract 1565 provided the follow-

ing:

WHEREAS: The PCO partially approved the Tech-

nical Aspects of the Contractor’s

VECP-001, via. NSPCC, Letter, 4400

POF a Sl ne To Dae Nt Mint teats

ee ee

WHEREAS:

WHEREAS:

A-29

SER 02511.1/TJF/1 10 Oct 86 and ap-

proved all technical aspects of VECP-

001, via NSPCC, Letter, 4330, SER

02511/TJF/56, 12 Feb 86, and:

The PCO has designated this contract

as the instant contract and Contract

N00104-84-C-1504 as the concurrent

contract and has delegated authority to

the ACO DCASMA Reading, to ne-

gotiate and finalize the VECP-001,

via NSPCC Letter, 4330 SER.

02511/TJF/4 dated 14 Nov 86 and;

Negotiation of the Contractor’s Cost/

Price proposal dated 19 Jun 87 was ac-

complished and completed on 13 Oct

87 through attainment of mutual

agreement of the parties.

NOW THEREFORE: The contractor’s VECP-001.

dated 12 Nov 85 is attached hereto and

hereby made to be part of the contract

and is definitized as follows:

1. ACQUISITION SAVINGS: The approval of

VECP-001, 12 Nov 85, has resulted in

“Negative” Acquisition Savings. Spe-

cifically, the VECP-001 results in a

unit and total contract price increase on

this, the instant contract; the afore-

mentioned concurrent contract and on

future contracts for the procurement of

the applicable NSN(s). Accordingly,

negative acquisition savings in the

amount established below, will be off-

set in accordance with FAR 52.248-1,

para (J) [sic]

A-30

NEGATIVE ACQUISITION SAVINGS -

$379,728.00 Recurring

7,911.00 Non-recurring

Total $387,639.00

2. COLLATERAL SAVINGS: Collateral! savings will

be calculated and determined by the NSPCC, PCO.

The amount to be shared with and paid to the con-

tractor shall be approved and incorporated into the

contract at a later time via contract modification to

be issued by the NSPCC, PCO.

* * *

The modification recited that the contract price, after certain

prior modifications, at the time of negotiation of VECP 001

was $249,360.

Modification A00003 to Contract 1504 was similar to the

one set forth above. It recited that the Negative Acquisition

Savings for Contract 1504 were $151,240 for recurring and

$2,985 for non-recurring costs, a total of $154,225, and that

the contract price at the time of negotiation of the VECP was

established to be $100,180.

While the modifications referred to the FAR Value Engi-

neering clause, 52.248-1, paragraph (j), that clause was almost

identical to the DAR 7-104.44, paragraph (g) set forth above.

The only difference was that instead of a reference to

(f)(3)(iv), the reference was to (h)(5). The text of paragraph

(h)(5) in the FAR clause was substantially identical to para-

graph (f)(3)(iv) in the DAR clause set forth above.

By submittal dated 2 February 1988 to the contracting offi-

cer, appellant noted that it still had not been notified of the

amount to which it was entitled for collateral savings and

submitted its analysis of collateral savings for a typical year

to be $9,190,432.82 resulting in its 20 percent share as

$1,838,086.56. It also indicated that this amount did not in-

clude material costs, costs of systems checks, costs of support

and technical personnel and costs of ancillary equipment

A-31

replacements since it had no means of estimating same, but

estimated that such costs would double its estimated figure.

| By letter dated 8 December 1988 to SAYCO, the Com-

mander, Naval Sea Systems Command stated:

1. Reference (a) requested Naval Sea Systems

Command (NAVSEA) to confirm SAYCO’s con-

clusion on the relative life expectancy of MIL-C-

24231 pressure proof plugs.

2. It is understood by NAVSEA that the Value En-

gineering Change Proposal (VECP) submitted by

SAYCO Ltd. would:

a) Provide each kit with the contacts molded into

; a prepot.

; b) Supply the monel plug sleeves without the

{ four fill holes.

c) Furnish the plug sleeves sandbasted [sic] and

primed.

i 3. Pressure proof connector plugs with an epoxy

. back fill of the monel plug shell is a practice used

by the U.S. Navy to enhance the life of the connec-

tor plug. This method of supplying the plug kits will

intensify the reliability and subsequently prolong

the life of the connector plug. Data from trial instal-

lations yields a life expectancy of at least twice that

of connector plugs fabricated without using this

method.

dare A diet ecnd Ae Ne eth AEA As. weet vite

4. NAVSEA concurs that plug kits submitted within

the guidelines stated above will result in a consider-

able installation time savings for the user activities

and provide a more reliable end product.

5. The contents of this correspondence do not in any

way change the terms of any understanding, agree-

ment, solicitation or contract existing with the gov-

ernment and will not be effective or binding upon

A-32

the government unless formalized by an appropriate

contractual document executed by the cognizant

Procuring or Administrative Contracts Officer

(PCO/ACO).

Appellant submitted a certified claim dated 7 June 1989 in

the amount of $11,028,519. In calculating this amount, it

doubled the computation it had submitted dated 2 February

1988 in line with its statement in the prior submittal that it felt

such doubling appropriate because of the costs for which it

had no basis to estimate. It calculated its share of total yearly

savings as $3,676,173, and multiplied this times three years as

SAYCO’s sharing period, to reach the total amount of its

claim.

When appellant failed to receive any action on its claim, it

filed this appeal which was docketed by the Board on 16

August 1989. In its answer to appellant’s complaint, the Gov-

ernment challenged the jurisdiction of the Board on the basis

that the contract provided, in paragraph (g) of the Value En-

gineering clause, supra, that the contracting officer would be

the sole determiner of collateral savings and that this determi-

nation would not be subject to the Disputes clause of the con-

tract. No Motion to Dismiss was filed. On 3 January 1990

appellant filed a “Motion for Summary Judgment as to Enti-

tlement” to which the Government filed its objection on the

grounds that appellant had failed to establish (1) that there

were no genuine issues of material fact or (2) that it was enti-

tled to judgment as a matter of law. Ruling on the motion was

deferred by the Board until discovery could determine

whether any material facts were in dispute in this appeal.

On 8 May 1990 the contracting officer issued a decision in

which he concluded that appellant’s 20 percent share in col-

lateral savings in Contract 1565 were $224,640, which after

offset against the “negative acquisition savings” of $387,639,

resulted in appellant’s share due under Contract 1565 to be

zero. The contracting officer further concluded that appel-

lant’s share in collateral savings in Contract 1504 was

$35,360 which after offset against the “negative acquisition

— ee

A-33

savings” of $154,225 also resulted in a zero amount being due

to appellant for collateral savings. This decision of the con-

tracting officer, entitled a final decision and including the

standard language on right of appeal, was filed with the Board

as Rule 4 tab 20.

Appellant objected to inclusion of the contracting officer’s

decision as Rule 4 tab 20 on the grounds that:

..-1) as of the time the contracting officer issued said

document he no longer had jurisdiction to render a

final decision, it being egregiously untimely and

such jurisdiction having been removed by appel-

lant’s long since appeal herein on August 14, 1989;

2) said document being no more than a self-serving

instrument, suitable only as a memorandum or other

form of argumentation; 3) said document being in-

admissible as part of any evidentiary record because

it is replete with hearsay materials and if, to any

extent, it is supposedly based upon the contracting

officer’s personal knowledge it is unsworn and not

amenable to confrontation and cross-examination.

By Order of the Board dated 30 May 1990, the document was

removed from the Rule 4 file, as follows:

Rule 4(e) requires removal from the Rule 4 file of

any document(s) objected to by a party. In accor-

dance with Board Rule 4(e), the referenced docu-

ments have been constructively removed from the

Rule 4 file. No evidentiary ruling will be made on

these documents at this time. The Government re-

tains the right to offer the documents in accordance

with Board Rule 13 and 20.

The parties continued voluntary discovery. On 20 Novem-

ber 1990 the Government filed a Motion for Summary Judg-

ment on the bases that no genuine issues of material fact exist

and that it is entitled to judgment in its favor as a matter of

law. In the alternative, the Government moved for partial

summary judgment on the issue of the maximum amount of

A-34

collateral savings recoverable by appellant in this matter. Ap-

pellant filed its opposition to the Government’s Motion for

Summary Judgment and its cross Motion for Summary Judg-

ment. It agrees with the Government that there are no material

facts in dispute and that the matter is ripe for summary judg-

ment. In the alternative, it also moves for partial summary

judgment and that the Board should specify those issues of

material fact it concludes must go to a hearing so that a hear-

ing can be focused and shortened.

DECISION

The issues which the parties have addressed in the cross

motions for summary judgment and which we must decide are

discussed below.

(1) Did the contracting officer's failure to issue a decision

within the time limits established by the Contract Disputes

Act on appellant's claim of the amount of collateral savings

resulting from its accepted VECP and appellant's appeal

from such failure and docketing of such appeal by the Board,

deny the contracting officer of the authority to issue such a

determination? Since the contracting officer has now issued a

determination does the Board have jurisdiction to review such

determination, and, if so, what is the extent of such review?

Appeliant argues that the failure of the contracting officer

to issue a determination concerning collateral savings prior to

docketing of this appeal deprives the contracting officer of the

jurisdiction to make such a determination. We do not agree.

The contracting officer retains his or her authority and re-

sponsibilities under a contract at least until such contract is

completed and closed. Thus, a contracting officer can and

does settle a dispute even while it is pending before this

Board or some other forum, or withdraws or modifies a deci-

sion during pendency of an appeal. Such authority is not lim-

ited to instances where a decision is issued prior to an appeal.

Section 6(c)(4) of the Contract Disputes Act specifically gives

the Board authority to order a contracting officer to issue a

decision should a contractor so request. While an appeal to

the Board is de novo, on occasion this Board has ordered a

ee ee ne oe

A-35

contracting officer to issue a decision so that the Govern-

ment’s position is clarified even after an appeal is taken, pur-

suant to Section 6(c)(5) of the Act which provides:

(5) Any failure by the contracting officer to issue a

decision on a contract claim within the period re-

quired will be deemed to be a decision by the con-

tracting officer denying the claim and will authorize

the commencement of the appeal or suit on the

claim as otherwise provided in this Act. However,

in the event an appeal or suit is so commenced in

the absence of a prior decision by the contracting

Officer, the tribunal concerned may, at its, option,

stay the proceedings to obtain a decision on the

claim by the contracting officer. [Emphasis added]

The fact that the decision was issued without a Stay does not,

in our opinion, make it any less appropriate. To the contrary,

it expedites the processing of the appeal. Nor has appellant

understood the purpose of our removing the decision from the

Rule 4 file. As our Order clearly stated, this did not constitute

a ruling on its admissability as evidence. It merely conformed

to the requirements of Board Rule 4(e) which provides:

(¢) Status of Documents in Appeal File - Docu-

ments contained in the appeal file are considered,

without further action by the parties, as part of the

record upon which the Board will render its deci-

sion. However, a party may object, for reasons

stated, to consideration of a particular document or

documents reasonably in advance of hearing or, if

there is no hearing, of settling the record. If such

objection is made the Board shall remove the

document or documents from the appeal file and

permit the party offering the document to move its

admission as evidence in accordance with Rules 13

[Settling of the Record] and 20 [Hearing].

Both parties argue that the Board should reconsider its de-

cision in JCSD Corporation, ASBCA No. 28028, 90-3 BCA §

23,027; affd (after motions in this appeal filed) 934 F2d 313

A-36

(Fed.Cir.1991). The Government argues that paragraph (g) of

the Value Engineering clause providing for collateral savings

which provides that “...The Contracting Officer shall be the

sole determiner of the amount of collateral savings, and that

amount shall not be subject to the Disputes clause...” de-

prives any forum from reviewing that determination. Appel-

lant argues that review of any determination of collateral

savings should be de novo and not a limited review.

In ICSD Corporation, supra, we carefully considered the

Government’s arguments that it could “reserve unto itself the

prerogative to make a unilateral finding on the amount of a

collateral savings award, and to keep that determination be-

yond the pale of any review.” We concluded “that appellant’s

claim seeking review of the contracting officer’s decision re-

garding the amount of collateral savings to which appellant is

entitled, is subject to limited review by this Board under the

CDA” to determine whether it was arbitrary or capricious so

that there was an abuse of discretion by the contracting offi-

cer. That opinion carefully considered the positions argued in

this appeal and we see no need to reiterate them here. Only

ICSD filed an appeal. The Government did not appeal our

conclusion that we had limited jurisdiction to review despite

the language in paragraph (g). While the Federal Circuit did

not directly address this question in affirming our decision, it

did agree that the appellant has the burden of proving abuse of

discretion and considered the issues as to amount which ap-

pellant had appealed. We, therefore, conclude that it found no

error in our interpretation of limited reviewability of the col-

lateral savings determination. Having also considered appel-

lant’s arguments that our review should not be limited as set

forth in JCSD Corporation, supra, we conclude that our

holding as set forth in that appeal is the correct one and that

the contracting officer’s decision regarding the amount of

collateral savings to which appellant is entitled is subject to

our determining whether such decision was arbitrary or ca-

pricious so that there was an abuse of discretion by the con-

tracting officer.

abe a lt ae ln Mae nied ey

:

:

A-37

Appellant has the burden of establishing that there was an

abuse of discretion in this instance. It also has the burden of

establishing the amount attributable as to those determinations

which are found to be arbitrary or capricious and, thus, an

abuse of discretion. In this regard, we note that in its claim

appellant merely doubled its calculated amount because of the

difficulty of determining or estimating the precise amount due

for various categories of savings. While we recognize that the

contract in the present appeal contained a later version of the

Value Engineering clause than was in the contract considered

in ICSD Corporation, supra, here, the clause defines

“collateral savings” in paragraph (b)(3) as “those measurable

net reductions” resulting from the VECP in the agency’s col-

lateral costs. As was affirmed by the Federal Circuit, 934 F2d

at 317, appellant must still establish the amount attributable to

these reduced costs.

Since the question of whether the contracting officer

abused his discretion in determining the amount to which ap-

pellant is entitled for collateral Savings is a material question

of fact upon which the parties do not agree, neither motion for

summary judgment is appropriate in this appeal. Having so

concluded, we must consider the issues presented by the par-

ties in their motions for partial summary judgment.

(2) Does the “firm fixed price...at the time the VECP is ac-

cepted” as used in the Value Engineering clause paragraph

(g), the collateral Savings provision, include an amount at-

tributable to the anticipated collateral Savings or is it limited

to the fixed price before determination of collateral savings?

Paragraph (g) of the Value Engineering clause provides that

“the Contractor’s share of collateral savings shall not exceed

(i) the contract’s firm fixed price...at the time the VECP is

accepted, or (ii) $100,000, whichever is greater.” Appellant

argues that in determining the limitation of the amount of

collateral savings to which it is entitled, the contract price

must be increased by the amount of collateral savings which

are determined to be due under the contract. The Government

A-38

argues that the contract price is that which exists without the

addition of the collateral savings.

We find appellant’s interpretation unreasonable. The clause

says “at the time the VECP is accepted” not “after the VECP

is accepted”. In addition, to interpret the provision as argued

by appellant would effectively read limitation (i) in the collat-

eral savings paragraph (g) out of the Value Engineering

clause. If one adds the anticipated collateral savings to the

existing contract price, the total will always be greater than

the collateral savings since, using appellant’s approach, that

figure is one of the amounts making up the total. We conclude

that for purposes of paragraph (g) the contract price does not

include any collateral savings.

(3) Is the sharing period for collateral savings one year or

three years?

Appellant argues that at best the Value Engineering clause

is ambiguous, that its interpretation is reasonable, and that

under the doctrine of contra proferentem its interpretation that

it is entitled to share in three years of collateral savings should

prevail. Appellant is certainly correct that when there are two

reasonable interpretations to a contract there is an ambiguity

which generally will be interpreted against the drafter. How-

ever, we do not find that to be the case in the present appeal.

Appellant argues that since, in the definition section, “sharing

period” is defined to mean three years that this definition

pertains to collateral savings sharing. The definition section of

the clause attempts to define terms which are used within the

clause so that the clause can be properly interpreted. The

words “sharing period” do not appear in paragraph (g) of the

clause concerning collateral savings. To the contrary, the

clause is quite specific that “the instant contract amount shall

be increased, as specified in (f)(3)(iv), by 20 percent of the

projected net reduction in collateral costs determined to be

realized in a typical year of use.” [Emphasis added] While we

concur with appellant’s argument that a contract must be read

as a whole, reading it as such would not result in the position

advocated by appellant. We recognize that paragraph

A-39

(f)(3)(iv) delineates the manner in which the contract modifi-

cation should provide for net acquisition savings. However,

we interpret paragraph (g) as referencing the entire subpara-

graph (f) and, more specifically, the provision which indicates

the administrative manner in which the contract shall provide

for any increase recognized because of collateral savings,

namely (f)(3)(iv)(A). That portion is subsequent to the lan-

guage relied on by appellant, and indicates that any collateral

savings shall be reflected in a contract modification which, in

the case of a fixed-price contract, should be added to the con-

tract price.

Therefore, reading the contract as a whole, we conclude

that recognition of collateral savings, unless precluded by

some other contract provision, will be reflected in a contract

modification increasing the contract price by 20 percent of the

projected net collateral savings determined to be realized in

one typical year of use, not the three years requested by appel-

lant.

(4) Should “negative acquisition Savings” on the instant and

concurrent contracts be offset against collateral Savings un-

der those contracts?

The Government offset the “negative acquisition savings”

resulting from the implementation of the value engineering

change in appellant’s instant contract and concurrent contract,

the contracts involved in this appeal, against appellant’s 20

percent share of the collateral Savings it calculated it would

enjoy. The contract modification incorporating the change

into each of these contracts provided that the negative acqui-

sition savings would be offset in accordance with FAR

52.248-1(J) [sic]. That clause is not the one incorporated into

the contracts by reference. We assume that the referenced

clause would be paragraph (j) of the 1984 version of the

Value Engineering clause. The text of the 1984 collateral

savings clause was almost identical to the DAR 1982 clause

set forth in our findings. Under either the FAR or DAR

clause, offset against collateral savings is limited to Govern-

ment costs. Neither clause defines “negative acquisition

A-40

savings.” The definition section of both of those clauses spe-

cifically excludes negative instant contract savings as a Gov-

ernment cost. (DAR 7-104.44(b)(7) or FAR 52.248-1(b)

“Government costs’’).

Modification A00003 to each of the contracts involved in

this appeal recites that:

Negotiation of the Contractor’s Cost/Price proposal

dated 19 Jun 1987 was accomplished and completed

on 13 Oct 87 through attainment of mutual agree-

ment of the parties.

The record in this appeal is devoid of any evidence concern-

ing such negotiations. We consider these facts material in de-

termining whether there was a meeting of the minds by the

parties concerning how the negative acquisition savings were

to be offset. In addition, “negative acquisition savings” for

Contract 1565, would appear to equate to “negative instant

contract savings” which are excluded from the definition of

“Government cost” in the definition section of both the 1982

and 1984 Value Engineering clauses. The record contains

nothing to indicate that a deviation from the clause was re-

quested if, in fact, such agreement would constitute a devia-

tion for which a waiver would be necessary. In our view, the

facts concerning the negotiations which resulted in Modifica-

tion A00003 to both Contracts 1565 and 1504 are material

facts which are necessary for deciding this issue. This ques-

tion, therefore, is not appropriate for a summary judgment

determination under the present state of the record.

We do conclude that the manner in which the Government

offset the negative acquisition savings is in error. The collat-

eral savings paragraph in both the 1982 and 1984 clauses,

provides that the contractor is entitled to 20 percent after off-

set. The only reasonable interpretation is that the offset must

occur prior to computation of the contractor’s share. The con-

tracting officer offset 100 percent of the negative acquisition

savings against 20 percent of the calculated collateral savings.

In our view, this was in error and should be corrected for any

negotiations which the parties hold to resolve the amount due

A-41

appellant for collateral savings. As previously discussed, the

contractor’s share of collateral savings is limited to the con-

tract price at the time the VECP was accepted or $100,000,

whichever is greater. Thus, appellant would be limited to re-

cover no more than $249,360 under Contract 1565 and

$100,180 under Contract 1504.

(5) Additional Issues

In addition to the issues addressed above, appellant argues

that the Government erred in its conclusion that appellant

should not share in certain collateral savings because the

Navy had already included a recommendation for a procedure

similar to that accepted here in its technical manual in August

1985 and because the release of certain equipment from Navy

use would result in no collateral savings since the equipment

had to be used for other tasks. We consider that these consti-

tute material facts in dispute since they go to the question of

whether the contracting officer’s determination of collateral

Savings was arbitrary or capricious and that they are not ap-

propriate for summary judgment.

Conclusion

The cross motions for summary judgment are denied. The

partial motions for summary judgment are granted to the ex-

tent set forth above that (1) the determination of the contract-

ing officer is reviewable for the limited purpose of

determining whether it was arbitrary or capricious with the

burden on appellant to prove such was the case and also to

prove any amounts over those recognized by the contracting

officer if it sustains its burden on entitlement; (2) the firm-

fixed price for purposes of the collateral savings paragraph of

the Value Engineering clause is that price at the time the

VECP is accepted and, therefore, does not include any in-

creases or decreases in that price because of such acceptance

or any amount attributable to the collateral savings; (3) the

sharing period for collateral Savings is one year; (4) that in

calculating any offset of negative acquisition savings which

are appropriate under the collateral savings clause and the

contract, the offset is subtracted from estimated yearly

A-42

savings before the 20 percent to which the contractor is enti-

tled is calculated; and (5) appellant’s share of collateral sav-

ings shall not exceed $249,360 for Contract 1565 or $100,180

for Contract 1504.

The parties shall establish a schedule for further proceed-

ings and submit it to the Board within 30 days of receipt of

this opinion and indicate the matters which, based upon this

opinion, still require stipulations or an oral hearing. The

schedule shall provide for serious. settlement negotiations

based on the partial summary judgment conclusions set forth

in this opinion and shall establish a time for a telephone pre-

hearing conference to discuss further scheduling in this appeal

which time will be after the parties have discussed settlement

of this appeal. In this regard, the Board notes that a number of

additional motions have been filed which have not been ad-

dressed in this decision because they have either been with-

drawn or have become moot. The parties are urged to discuss

further scheduling on a voluntary basis and avoid the time and

expense of formal motions addressing various matters.

Dated: 8 November 1991

/s/ Ruth C. Burg

RUTH C. BURG

Administrative Judge

Member of the Armed

Services Board of Contract

Appeals

I concur

/s/ Alan M. Spector

ALAN M. SPECTOR

Administrative Judge

Acting Chairman, Armed

Services Board of Contract

Appeals

I concur

/s/ William J. Rubbery

WILLIAM J. RUBBERY

Administrative Judge

Vice Chairman, Armed

Services Board of Contract

Appeals

A-43

I certify that the foregoing is a true copy of the Opinion and

Decision of the Armed Services Board of Contract Appeals in

ASBCA No. 39366, Appeal of SAYCO LTD., rendered in

conformance with the Board’s Charter.

Dated: 8 NOV 199]

/s/ Edward S. Adamkewicz

EDWARD S. ADAMKEWICZ

Recorder, Armed Services

Board of Contract Appeals

A-44

United States Court of Appeals for the

Hederal Circuit

ORDER

A combined petition for rehearing and suggestion for re-

hearing in banc having been filed by the APPELLANT, and

the petition for rehearing having been referred to the panel

that heard the appeal, and thereafter the suggestion for rehear-

ing in banc having been referred to the circuit judges who are

in regular active service,

UPON CONSIDERATION THEREOF, it is

ORDERED that the petition for rehearing be, and the same

hereby is, DENIED and it is further

ORDERED that the suggestion for rehearing in banc be,

and the same hereby is, DECLINED.

The mandate of the court will issue on May 28, 1996 unless

another time becomes appropriate under Rule 41.

FOR THE COURT,

FRANCIS X. GINDHART, CLERK

Dated: May 8, 1996

By _/s/ BLD

Brian P. LeDuc

Associate Chief Deputy

Clerk —

cc: GILBERT H. WEIL U.S. COURT OF

DOMENIQUE KIRCHNER APPEALS FOR THE

FEDERAL CIRCUIT

SAYCO LTD V NAVY, 95-1226

(BCA - 39366) MAY 08 1996

FRANCIS X.

GINDHART

CLERK

A-45

Note: Pursuant to Fed. Cir. R. 47.6, this order is not cit-

able as precedent. It is a public record.

A-46

Final Decision of Thomas J. Fura, Contracting

Officer, pages 13-19, dated May 8, 1990.

Computation of Collateral Savings

Contracting Officer’s Determination and Findings.

The Value Engineering Clause is clear with respect to compu-

tation of collateral savings. Paragraph (g) of the Value Engi-

neering Clause states in full: “If a VECP is accepted, the

instant contract amount shall be increased, as specified in (f)

(3) (iv), by 20 percent of the projected net reduction in collat-

eral costs determined to be realized in a typical year of use

after subtracting any Government costs not previously offset.

However, the contractor’s share of collateral savings shall not

exceed (i) the contract’s firm fixed price, target price, target

cost, or estimated cost at the time the VECP is accepted, or

(ii) $100,000, whichever is greater. The Contracting Officer

shall be the sole determiner of the amount of collateral sav-

ings, and that amount shall not be subject to the Disputes

clause. In all cases, degradation of performance, service life

or capability shall be cc..:sidered in determining savings.”

The Contractor’s letter dated 2 February 1988 (attachment 9

of the claim) (R4 tab 19) was reviewed with respect to com-

putation of collateral savings utilizing procedures stipulated

by DAR 1-1704 and the Value Engineering Clause of the

contract.

The majority of the collateral savings claimed in the contrac-

tor’s analysis is based on an increase in the service life of the

connector by a factor of two (2), thereby reducing mainte-

nance of Government owned equipment, expenditure of Gov-

ernment material and labor, Government costs in maintaining

the end unit in service, and logistics costs of procurement,

transportation, storage and inventory maintenance.

The increase in service life is directly related to the require-

ment to provide an epoxy waterblock in the molded connec-

tor. NAVSEA incorporated this requirement in the approved

procedures via a tech manual change in August 1985. This

date precedes the original VECP submittal by three (3)

A-47

months. This requirement was implemented prior to the

VECP submittal. Therefore the Contracting Officer deter-

mines that no entitlement exists to share in collateral savings

under the contracts for this element which was implemented

as a tech manual change before the VECP submittal.

With respect to the elimination of Government equipment al-

leged in the contractor’s letter the following findings are ren-

dered:

1. Elimination of all maintenance and support costs

associated with the operation of Grit-blasting ma-

chinery: The Contracting Officer finds that this item

will be used in other operations and determines that

no collateral savings entitlement exists.

2. Eliminates the requirement to maintain local or

national stock numbers for #50 angular steel grit.

Eliminates all costs of purchase, storage and trans-

portation of same to using activities: The Contract-

ing Officer finds that this item will be used in other

operations and determines that no collateral savings

entitlement exists.

3. Eliminates the requirement to maintain local or

national stock numbers for metal primers. Elimi-

nates all costs of purchase, Storage and transporta-

tion of same to the using activities: The Contracting

Officer finds that these items will be used in other

operations and determines that no collateral savings

entitlement exists.

4. Eliminates need for alignment heads and pre-pot

rings used in molds required to fabricate SYM713

plugs by the using activities. Cost of mold mainte-

nance by using activities will be reduced by a factor

of two due to a corresponding decrease in useage

rate: The Contracting Officer determines that enti-

tlement exists for sharing of collateral savings

within this element and finds that $50,000.00 is a

fair and reasonable sharing amount.

A-48

5. A 50 percent reduction of maintenance costs on

ancillary equipment required to manufacture

SYM713 type plugs will be achieved. The equip-

ment used by the Government for this work include,

but is not limited to, the following:

Vacuum Equipment

Freezers

Ovens

The Contracting Officer finds that any anticipated savings is

due to the increase in service life which is in turn directly re-

lated to the requirement to provide an epoxy waterblock in the

molded connector; said requirement was incorporated as a

tech manual change prior to submittal of the VECP. There-

fore, the Contracting Officer determines that no collateral

savings entitlement exists.

With respect to the Contractor’s allegation of savings on op-

erational expenditures due to the increase in service life, the

Contracting Officer finds that any increase in service life of

the plugs due to the epoxy waterblock is not attributable to the

Contractor’s VECP and therefore determines that no entitle-

ment exists for the contractor to share in any such savings,

with respect to this element if so realized.

With respect to the Contractor’s allegation of savings result-

ing from the reduction of Government costs in maintaining

the end unit in service, the Contracting Officer finds that

submarines do not normally drydock for the sole purpose of

changing plugs and when plugs are replaced during drydock,

no data is available measuring the cost of such effort. Fur-

thermore, the contractor’s allegation of savings is based on

increased service life (due to the epoxy waterblock). There-

fore, the Contracting Officer determines that no entitlement

exists for the contractor to share in any such savings, within

this element, since the requirement to provide an epoxy wa-

terblock was incorporated as a tech manual change in August

1985, thereby preceeding the contractor's VECP by three

months.

tr fr

A-49

With respect to the Contractor’s allegation of savings result-

ing from reduced logistics costs of procurement, transporta-

tion, storage and inventory maintenance, the Contracting

Officer finds that this allegation of savings is based on in-

creased service life (due to the epoxy waterblock). Therefore,

the Contracting Officer determines that no entitlement exists

for the contractor to share in any such savings within this

element, since the requirement to provide an epoxy water-

block was incorporated as a tech manual change in August

1985, thereby preceeding the contractor’s VECP by three

months.

Additionally, the Contracting Officer finds that the contrac-

tor’s VECP does, however, provide the plug kit in a manner

which is more conducive to molding the plug with the epoxy

as required in that it reduces the time required for fabrication.

The Contracting Officer determines that entitlement exists for

the Contractor to share in collateral savings with regard to this

element.

In determining the Contractor’s proper share of collateral

savings pursuant to the Value Engineering Clause of the con-

tracts, the Contracting Officer utilizes the following informa-

tion which is considered to be the best information that is

currently available:

1. A typical year’s usage for Parts Kit connector,

NSN 1H 5935-00-177-2220 QA and 1H 5935-00-

177-2221 QA is established at 6253 units per year

when employing the epoxy waterblock,

2. The Government will concede that time saved per

plug is 5 hours.

3. Government hourly rate (used in Contractor’s

cost savings analysis dated 21 July 1986, R4 tab 5)

is $40.00.

4. Savings resulting from reduced logistics costs is

established at $31.87 per plug, and

A-50

5. The Contracting Officer does not take exception

to the assertion that the epoxy waterblock will yield

a doubling of the plug’s service life.

Therefore, pursuant to the Value Engineering Clause, the

Contractor’s proper share of collateral savings is computed as

follows:

6253 plugs for a typical year’s usage

X 5 hours saved per plug

X $40.00 per hour Government labor rate

+ $50,000.00 eliminates need for alignment heads

and pre-pot rings

= $1,300,600.00 subtotal

X 20% sharing rate mandated by paragraph (g) of

the VECP Clause

= $260,000.00 collateral savings before offset

agreed upon in contract Modification A00003

The parties agreed in bilateral contract modification A00003

(R4 tabs 1 & 2) of contracts “1565” and “1504” that “negative

acquisition savings. . . will be offset in accordance with FAR

52.248-1 Paragraph J.” The parties furthermore agreed that

negative acquisition savings for contracts “1565” and “1504”

were $387,639.00 and $154,225.00 respectively.

The 6253 plugs cited above are segregated as follows to arrive

at a typical year’s useage for each NSN:

Contract “1565”

NSN 1H 5935-00-177-2221 QA 5401 yearly

Contract “1504”

NSN 1H 5935-00-177-2220 QA 853 yearly

The 853 units applicable to contract “1504” constitute 13.6%

of the 6253 units cited above. The firm fixed price of this

contract (without reconsignment charges) is $99,800.00.

A-51

Pursuant to DAR 7-104.44 (g) the Contracting Officer estab-

lishes the collateral Savings under this contract portion prior

to offset at $35,360.00 and is not affected by the “cap” speci-

fied in paragraph (g) of the VECP clause. “Negative” acquisi-

tion savings offset against this figure is $154,225.00 resulting

in a negative balance of $118,865.00. Since “negative” ac-

quisition savings under this contract was not fully offset, the

Contractor’s proper share of collateral Savings under this

contract is $0.00.

The 5401 units applicable to contract “1565” constitute 86.4%

of the 6253 units cited above. The firm fixed price of the

contract (including the option excercised) is $250,260.00.

Pursuant to DAR 7-104.44 (g) the Contracting Officer estab-

lishes the collateral savings portion (under this contract) prior

to offset at $224,640.00. “Negative” acquisition savings offset

against this figure is $387,639.00 resulting in a negative bal-

ance of $162,999.00. Since “negative” acquisition savings

under this contract were not fully offset, the Contractor’s

proper share of collateral savings under this contract is $0.00.

This is the final decision of the Contracting Officer. You may

appeal this decision to the Armed Services Board of Contract

Appeals. If you decide to appeal, you must, within 90 days

from the date you receive this decision, mail or otherwise

furnish written notice to the Board of Contract Appeals and

| provide a copy to the Contracting Officer from whose deci-

| sion the appeal is taken. The notice shall indicate that an ap-

peal is intended, reference this decision, and identify the

contract by number. Instead of appealing to the Board of

Contract Appeals, you may bring an action directly in the

U.S. Claims court (except as provided in the Contract Dis-

putes Act of 1978, 41 U.S.C. 603, regarding Maritime Con-

tracts) within 12 months of the date you receive this decision.

If you appeal to the Board of Contract Appeals, you may,

solely at your election, proceed under the Board’s small

claims procedure for claims of $10,000 or less or its acceler-

ated procedure for claims of $50,000 or less.

4

| en

A-52

Sincerely,

/s/ Thomas J. Fura

Thomas J. Fura

Contracting Officer

A-53

APPELLANT’S [SAYCO’S] POST-HEARING

SUBMISSIONS, page 17

before the ASBCA

[dated February 14, 1994}

ARGUMENT

POINT I

The Board Reviews the Contracting Officer’s

Decision de novo.

In proceedings under the CDA, “the facts, as well as

the law, are decided de novo by the . . . court.” Sea-

board Lumber Co. v. United States [36 CCF q

75,900], 903 F.2d 1560, 1562 (Fed.Cir. 1990)

(citing 41 U.S.C. § 609(a)(3) (1982)), cert. denied,

_U.S._, 111 S.Ct. 1308 (1991); accord Lathan Co..

Inc. v. United States [36 CCF 4 75,842], 20 C1.Ct.

122, 125 (1990) (citing Assurance Co. v. United

States (33 CCF 4 75,181], 813 F.2d 1202, 1206

Fed.Cir. 1987)). “The court is not bound by either

the findings of fact or the conclusions [of law] of

the [contracting officer]. Lathan Co. v. United

States [36 CCF 4 75,842], 20 CLCt. 122, 125

(1990); accord 41 U.S.C. § 605(a). The administra-

tive award of time or money under the Changes

Clause is not to be treated as if it were the unap-

pealed determination of a lower court or a board of

contract appeals that might be owed some sort of

special deference on appeal. Wilner v. United States

[38 CCF § 76,517], 994 F.2d 783 (Fed.Cir.

fy ae

Mego Construction Company vy.

United States, 39 CCF 4 76,564 at

88,309, _F.2d_(Fed.Cir. 1993).

To same effect as Mego, and authorities there cited: Allen

County Builders Supply, 93-1. BCA § 25,398 at 126.491

(ASBCA 1993).

A-54

BRIEF OF APPELLANT SAYCO LTD., pages 15-17

in the United States Court of

Appeals for the Federal Circuit

[dated May 5, 1995]

ARGUMENT

Point I

The Board erred as a matter of law by refusing to

review the contracting officer’s decision de novo.

At pages 10-11 of its decision (A10-A11) the Board, rely-

ing upon its own imputation of meaning into JCSD Corpora-

tion, 90-3 BCA ¥ 23,027, aff'd, 934 F.2d 313 (Fed.Cir. 1991),

held that it could review the contracting officer’s decision

only for abuse of discretion. This critically polluted its deci-

sions on other issues involved here. E.g., “Because of our

conclusions that the contracting officer was not arbitrary or

capricious in reaching his decisions on collateral savings and

that the negative acquisition savings be offset against the col-

lateral savings, we have not cluttered this opinion with such

findings.” Decision, page 14 (A14).

The latest pertinent authority we have found is Wilner v.

The United States, 24 F.3d 1397 (Fed.Cir. May 26, 1994) (en

banc, Judges Bennett and Newman dissenting). That was

more than five months before the Board’s decision; and Wil-

ner is definitive that the Board should instead have exercised

de novo review. '

' E.g.: “The plain language of the CDA and our decision in Assurance

[Co. v. United States, 813 F.2d 1202 (Fed.Cir. 1987)] make it clear that

when suit is brought following a contracting officer’s decision, the find-

ings of fact in that decision are not binding upon the parties and are not

entitled to any deference.” 24 F.3d at 1401. “De novo review precludes

reliance upon the presumed correctness of the decision. See Renegotiation

Bd. v. Bannercrajt Clothing Co., 415 U.S. 1, 23 [parallel citations omit-

ted] (1974) (de novo proceeding is ‘unfettered by any prejudice from the

agency proceeding and free from any claim that the [prior] determination

is supported by substantial evidence’). Thus, once an action is brought

(Footnote continued)

A-55

Having so overruled Hedin, Wilner must be deemed to

have overruled the Board’s attribution of the meaning of

ICSD similarly and to the same extent.

We respectfully suggest that the Court need not incur the

judicial and administrative waste of remanding to the Board

for consideration of the contracting officer’s decisions on a de

novo basis, but should, under 41 U.S.C. § 609(c), remand

with an appropriate order for final disposition of the case. As

will be shown below, in passing, his determinations were er-

roneous wholly as a matter of law; they should, as a matter of

law, have been set aside de novo by the Board, and can be

now by this Court, without wasting further time, effort and

expense.

following a contracting officer’s decision, the parties start in court or be-

fore the board with a clean slate.” 24 F.3d at 1401-1402. And,

“Accordingly, we today expressly overrule Hedin to the extent that it

stands for the proposition that a contracting officer’s decision constitutes a

strong presumption or an evidentiary admission of the extent of the gov-

ernment’s liability, albeit subject to rebuttal.” 24 F.3d at 1402-1403.

To the same effect: “In proceedings under the CDA, ‘the facts, as well

as the law, are decided de novo by the . . . court.” Seaboard Lumber Co. vy.

United States, 903 F.2d 1560, 1562 (Fed.Cir. 1990) (citing 41 U.S.C. §

609(a)(3) (1982)), cert. denied 499 U.S. 919, 111 S.Ct. 1308, 113

L.Ed.2d 243 (1991); accord. Lathan Co., Inc. v. United States, 20 Cl.Ct.

122, 125 (1990) (citing Assurance Co. v. United States, 813 F.2d 1202,

1206 (Fed.Cir. 1987)). ‘The court is not bound by either the findings of

fact or the conclusions [of law] of the [contracting officer]. Lathan Co. v.

United States, 20 Cl.Ct. 122, 125 (1990): accord, 41 U.S.C. § 605(a). The

administrative award of time or money under the Changes clause is not to

be treated as if it were the unappealed determination of a lower court or a

board of contract appeals that might be owed some sort of special defer-

ence on appeal.[’] Wilner v. United States [38 CCF ¥ 76,517], 994 F.2d

783 (Fed.Cir. 1993)... .” Mega Construction Company v. United States,

29 Fed.Cl. 396 at 414 (1993).

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.