Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Cal-Almond, Inc. v. United States, 117 S. Ct. 385 (1996) (No. 96-11)

Supreme Court brief1996

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No. 96 -11 JUL1 19%

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

hen

October Term, 1995

CAL-ALMOND, INC., GOLD HILLS NUT COMPANY,

SAULSBURY ORCHARDS AND ALMOND

PROCESSING, INC., BROWNS LAKE RANCH, MAC

ENTERPRISES, INC., VAN KAY, INC., and DERK VAN

KONYNENBURG,

Petitioners,

VS.

THE UNITED STATES,

Respondent.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States

Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

JAMES A. MOODY BRIAN C. LEIGHTON

Attorney at Law Counsel of Record

2300 “N” Street, N.W. 701 Pollasky Avenue

Suite 600 Clovis, California 93612

Washington, D.C. 20037 (209) 297-6190

(202) 663-9011

Attorneys for Petitioners

9047

LE Z ellate (800) 3 APPEAL * (800) 5 APPEAL « (800) BRIEF 21

/ VS emices, inc.

i

QUESTION PRESENTED

The Agricultural Marketing Agreement Act of 1937 (7

U.S.C. § 601 et seg.) authorized the Secretary of Agriculture to

regulate handlers tc benefit producers by raising prices to parity

and to avoid unreasonable fluctuations in supplies and prices. (7

U.S.C. §§ 602(2) and (4). The Secretary issued the Marketing

Order for almonds (7 C.F.R. § 981.1 ef seq.) in 1950 which

provided, inter alia, for the Secretary to have the authority to

order a percentage of the cropcalleda “reserve” to be kepi off the

market during large crop years and subsequently sold in

subsequent small crop years (as almonds were considered an

“alternate bearing” crop) or order the nutritious “reserve”

almonds disposed into “non-competitive” economically

worthless markets like cattle feed, almond oil or USDA’s school

lunch programs. The Secretary imposed reserves ranging from

2% to 10% from and including 1982 through 1985 and 1990

which almonds he ordered disposed of, costin g Petitioners over

four million dollars. With respect to these reserves, the Secretary

gave the Petitioner handlers the “choice” of either disposing of

the almonds in these economical] y worthless outlets acting as the

Secretary’s agent, or delivering physical possession of the

“reserve” almonds to the Secretary. In 1988 the Secretary

ordered a 25% reserve and ordered it held by, and at considerable

expense to, the handlers (for the account of the Secretary), and

later released it at the beginning of the next crop year. The

Secretary described the legal effect of these “reserve”

announcements as giving him “plenary control” and “complete

power” over the reserve almonds. The Secretary’s actions

present the following questions:

1. Whether the Secretary took Petitioners’ almonds

without payment of just compensation in violation of the

Fifth Amendment, to wit:

.

4

:

:

il

a. Whether the Secretary committed a per se

TAKING by giving Petitioners the illusory “choice”

between surrendering physical possession or

disposing of the “reserve” almonds as the

Secretary’s agent?

b. If not a per se TAKING, then whether the

Secretary committed aregulatory TAKING when he

destroyed all economic viability of the “reserve”

almonds without demonstrating that the destruction

of “reserve” almonds substantially advanced the

government’s asserted objectives of either raising

prices or avoiding unreasonable fluctuations in

supplies and prices?

c. Whether Congress and the Secretary can

defeata TAKING claim by the mere possibility that

annually the Secretary might determine that a

percentage of the crop will later be banned from the

market and destroyed after the crop has been

planted, grown, harvested and processed?

d. Whether Congress and the Secretary can

defeat a TAKING claim by contending that the

Petitioners entered into the almond industry

business after Congress decided that the Secretary

can, on an annual basis, decide whether to “regulate”

almond sales?

ili

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

The Petitioners are Cal-Almond, Inc., Gold Hills Nut

Company, Saulsbury Orchards and Almond Processing (or Ellen

Briones, Chapter 7 Trustee in Bankruptcy for Saulsbury

Orchards and Almond Processing, Inc.), Browns Lake Ranch,

Mac Enterprises, Inc., Van Kay, Inc. and Derk Van Konynenburg.

None of the Petitioners have any parent companies nor any

subsidiaries nor do any of them issue shares of stock to the

public. (Rules of the Supreme Court, Rule 29(6)). The

Respondent is the United States of America.

ee ee ee ee

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

rg oe rena er i

FS OU PIO 5.5.5 x kode echccdecwneess iii

po ee iv

See CE: as ocdceetesny eeeevas ees iv

8 BSC TOT Prey rr EE Perris l

en Pee 2

Constitutional, Statutory, and Regulatory Provisions

NE se bk s bicinnn cencnad ke dwins Va ee es 2

eee Soe ey ie 3

ic: FP. Seek So a i x ouneeechukiheeean 3

D FR Sid ae 8

Reasons for Granting the Writ ..................... 13

CAE isis wae de wcben se deaweabiee eres sees 25

TABLE OF CITATIONS

Cases Cited:

Andrus v. Allard, 444 U.S8.51(1979) ................ 20, 21

Vv

Conteats

Page

Bolger v. Youngs Drug Products, Corp., 463 U.S. 60

SOUS) bck bo weyn kas ¥c0 keene wes 14

California Housing Sec., Inc. v. United States, 959 F.2d

eR WMD. Ncscndadévecncdeeaesvunbucna 14

Chevron U.S.A., Inc. v. Natural Resources Defense

Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837 (1984) ............... 16

Dolan v. City of Tigard, __U.S.__, 1148. Ct. 2309 (1994)

cuveh dd baW UAibay Cds Sue Rhee nas 13,14, 19, 23,24

FCC v. Florida Power Corp., 480 U.S.245 (1987) .... 22

Golden Pac. Banicorp v. United States, 15 F.3d 1066 (Fed.

CAPD bh ab bawes peuddbadies boy cae eutine seas 14

Kaiser Aetna v. United States, 444 U.S. 164(1979) .... 16,18

Loretto v. Teleprompter Manhattan CA TV Corp., 458 U.S.

ad oe | Ee ee Peer ie 12,15, 16, 18, 19,21, 22

Lucas v. South Carolina Coastal Council, _U.S.__,112

i Ok, SENDA) do cca ac ctacdeestouencieeneen 5,16

Nixon v. United States, 978 F.2d 1269 (D.C. Cir. 1992) . 20

Nollan v. California Coastal Commission, 483 U.S. 825

COMET AEE oh 5s oh ae ba Oe nies 23,24

Ruckelshaus v. Monsanto, 467 U.S.986(1984) ....... 20

vi

Contents

Page

Smiley v. -U.S.- Citibank (South Dakota), N.A., __U.S.__,

pee. SS-BGG GNC, FUNG 5, FPO hk ski cdc as dvoscesws 16

United States v. Causby, 328 U.S. 256 (1946) ......... 16

United States v. General Motors Corporation, 323 U.S.

PEE be eo eae eRe te os ta awe eae 21

United States v. Pe Wee Coal Co., Inc., 341 U.S. 114(1951)

SOV OCE Cou de oO Ke baad eee Pe Ee ae 19,22

United States v. Ruzika, 329 U.S. 287 (1946) ......... i)

UNR Industries v. United States, 962 F.2d 1013 (Fed. Cir.

SUONED 6 KER RG S oa wRKED OSA E Reha ees 10, 11

Webbs Fabulous Pharmacies, Inc. v. Beckwith, 449 U.S.

SPREE 6X 5.05 3k CANS Ca L oe ee Coen eae 13,20

Statutes Cited:

py St TT re te rie eet reer a i,2,3

Te OE a s.a ikke Sade sks ee Rook ee be ees 2

Deb eae NRE ka 6a Sake hie Rw oe ee a 7

cg eS aR Tn 5 RPO a Reet gan arene ey Bot eh Py

Ses EEE 8 ccs $4a RAR EA Daa eee he

FB PS 6.6 bv icc keene banhadaeerenvadaas 2,6

teats i aa aca

vil

Contents

Page

Spas ONO) a von rc cndacckdaenaeere eles 2

Fabia EOE OND) hat ncincuinccdcsabevnasecas 5

ee tS CC epee rie Pres ir 2

FI TE Fea vinsccvcunscnaccusaveniie 4

Een OPTED bck wien nha ead edeak echoes 5

F SEs BOLT OROED Cin adn Wcevncdssadeusebboeuun 3,6

Fes BLAMED is 6 0k no kA pew ee ee casdouwes 3

Fares ERMA vob id cicbniisidvadavacchu 1,3,8

Ta ROAD cS vibbestcksbagasusecsceces 1,3,10

Fes BAPE ve cance ekncs 6bbuseskeo cme ae 20

EDD Oat CREE 6k 26 6k Rhee Lande kee were 2

United States Constitution Cited:

ae Pe em ceae penton F Mey afta S* 14

PIE. 4s wes chicka naedcledenneetares 14

viii

Contents

Page

Other Authorities Cited:

Fe ee I Sree cedein eKkN eR Renee 20

pe AL RES” Rr EP per re eA a 20

pace REE Teepe ec perme er ne are bap hyn 20

Fa 8 8, isecs vavivedrcies Feineeans Lo

rive! Sh} BE ere em errr en | PT ke 4,6

TR DL 5K nb ashy ok VEub Chea bevan daedoodes 6

Wr Ran kv 6 444s coc bnweseelaane Wee eiece es 6

FR ae ORD divas ccc eekudes Sabdwee ews aee enn 6

pS PPP ere ere eT ere ees oe 6

ge Se. Se Peer Ce ety Sir re Ore 3

get! Se Pere Pee eee ericson, hae ree 3

pak SA : re ma ete R Bre art <

FMA SD PRI Neb b enh aken PAS RREV ENTER eR aa

pete eer eee Pee ee pny: 3,5

FUE PERE 50k 68k 04h a ee 3,5,6,9

ix

Contents

Page

FE PRRIPE. Cea ELEC Ka Net K Maas Lae eat Ba 3,5,17

PEE RE Gia iis he eekaen ie euk Aes nnker 3,4,5,6,17

PRE POI ia bid 6 Oa EURAT EN a eos Chea aed 3

TA ERE os GER Kaas MAK Geen 5rd ReeeE eR: 3

RE PRG be rb uck ee Weeki bards ahs keds 3

PS Le, SERIE A i hermes Bone 3

re RRS ren ee oan ae 3

TRE 8 Fae a 'ccues a's SE Reed E NO ua Cee eees 3

FG ETRE si eas kas een ceces eee hiees 3,5

ee OE eee ree eer rr rr iy er eee rr eet fee 20

TE PORE 6 kv i Seve ce Fava ns ese ce eR aa ones 6

PGs BP OUIEE b htce ance saa seh evaseheacier 3,5,6,17

Pe PRET nhc cwedsew sane dane seurebhnaeene 3,17

Fe EP RMOE Ca dae cd is ctv a rks Ved estbatanvansn 3,4,5

UME ROU WANS Sates ba ckabsebeckbessbacese 3

Esa EAT: SA ks TGR Ra KdSKE KARO RAD ERESON ES an 3

Sen ee ee

x

Contents

Page

FR EO TA ak Sova chee eee ewes 6

FP BOOTIE. have one dd cea ae enks Ase we eens 20

APPENDIX =:

Appendix A — Order Denying Petition for Rehearing

TOR ANA 6, SORE. sn ood pana onekabeneacies unease la

Appendix B — Notice of Entry of Judgment and Judgment

eer re 3a

Appendix C — Decision of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Federal Circuit Decided December 20,

SOE ode RoR Nad keRPR Ske SE SRREAR ELS CEEE AES 6a

Appendix D — Judgment of the United States Court of

Federal Claims Filed January 10,1994 ............ 12a

Appendix E— Opinion of the United States Claims Court

PEG SOME SB, BIOS 5k nccdansndccscamabaceiacs 13a

Appendix F — Opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Ninth Circuit Decided December 22,

FUE be oecd kana 606000 5ds cine cous eeeenueaine 22a

Appendix G — Decision and Order of the United States

Department of Agriculture Dated December 11, 1991

xi

Contents

Appendix H — Excerpted Decision and Order of the

United States Department of Agriculture Dated March

SUE Fs COPS SAAEWE SORTASE ACRE a EER SC WEEE TSN

Appendix 1 — Excerpts of Decision and Order of the

United States Department of Agriculture Dated

SEY CUE Vuh ekcccuadewckd eoap ee ceah aes

Appendix J — First Amended Complaint Filed August 19,

hg Se Cae eee lr ipl re arena ee

DU lure ee ys gsi ga ee te a ee a

Appendix L — Letter Addressed to Frazier Nut Farms

RoE Bs BUD: civ hueassbusbscekevacus

Appendix M— Agency Agreement Dated June 15, 1991

eee nePewesenveeseeuesee eee eeaeesenaeseeoeaneseeea see oan neaenee

Page

79a

85a

llla

129a

148a

]

The Petitioners identified herein respectfully petition fora

writ of certiorari to review the judgment of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit

(App. A)' is unpublished and was decided on December 20,

1995. Petitioners’ Petition For Rehearing And Suggestion For

Rehearing En Banc (App. B) before the Federal Circuit was

denied on April 1, 1996. The United States Court of Federal

Claims decision (App. C) was entered on J anuary 5,1994, andon

January 10, 1994(App.__ judgment wasentered by it dismissing

Petitioners’ complaint (App. _).

The decision of the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals(App.__)

is reported at 14 F.3d 429 (9th Cir. 1993) which found that the

reserve requirements of the Almond Marketing Order for each

year at issue here were lawfully promulgated pursuant to the

Administrative Procedures Act (App. at Se eee F

The opinions of the Judicial Officer for the United States

Department of Agriculture (USDA)? upholding the reserve

requirement (App. __)’ is reported at 50 Agric. Dec. 23, and for

1. References to “App.” are to the appendix to the petition in this case.

2. The Judicial Officer's opinion is lengthy and encompasses many

issues not relevant here. Therefore, only the portion of the opinion addressing

the almond reserves are included in the appendix.

3. Pursuant to Title 7 U.S.C. § 608c(15)(A), Petitioners were required

to exhaust administrative remedies before USDA. Once Petitioners exhausted

administrative remedies, Title 7 U.S.C. § 608c(15)(B) required Petitioners to

seek review in the United States District Court. The District Court’s decision

regarding the legality of the imposition of the reserve parrots the Judicial

(Cont'd)

2

later crop years, the Judicial Officers opinions were issued on

March 8, 1991, (App. H) and December 11, 1991, respectively

(App. G). Petitioners herein seek review from the Federal

Circuit’s decision issued on December 20, 1995 (App. C)

following the Federal Circuit’s denial of Petitioner’s Petition

For Rehearing And Suggestion For Rehearing En Banc (App. A)

issued on April 1, 1996.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

1. The judgment of the Federal Circuit Court of Appeals

was entered on December 20, 1995. Petitioners’ Petition For

Rehearing was denied on April 1, 1996. The jurisdiction of this

Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL, STATUTORY, AND

REGULATORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The Fifth Amendment of the United States Constitution

provides in relevant part:

... hor shall private property be taken for

public use, without just compensation.

The relevant provisions of the Agricultural Marketing

Agreement Act of 1937 (Act) are:

7 U.S.C. §§ 601, 602, 608a(5), 608c(6), (7),

(Cont'd)

Officer’s decision, which was then affirmed by the Ninth Circuit (App. F).

Therefore the District Court's rulings in this regard are not included in this

appendix, especially in light of the fact that Petitioners herein seek review of

the Federal Circuit's decision finding that there was no “TAKING” under the

Fifth Amendment of the United States Constitution. The issue of TAKINGS

was not an issue before the Ninth Circuit, nor could it have been because

“money damages” are not available in administrative exhaustion proceedings.

ee ee ee

3

(14)(A), (14)(B), (15)(A) and (15)(B).

They are reproduced at App. N.

The relevant regulations implementing the Act are

7C.F.R. §§ 981.45, .46, .47, .48, .49, .50, .51,

iby se, ae a 31, 39, 65, 86, ST, 70.

.81, .466, and .467.

They are reproduced at App. N.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Relevant Facts

1. This is a case of first impression under the Fifth

Amendment TAKINGS clause. It is a challenge to the almond

reserve provisions of the Marketing Order instituted (in 1950)

for California almonds (7 C.F.R. § 981.1 ef seq.) and issued by

the Secretary of Agriculture pursuant to the authority of the

Agricultural Marketing Agreement Act of 1937 (AMAAorAct),

7U.S.C. § 601 et seq. Itinvoives specific annual determinations

by the Secretary with respect to five crop years in the 1980’s and

1990 wherein he imposed a reserve.

The Secretary took Petitioners’ almonds for the alleged

“public use” of increasing and stabilizing prices and supplies.

The Secretary carried out this TAKING by imposing “reserves”

(a percentage of the crop delivered to the Petitioner handlers that

could not be sold).

The Secretary made Petitioners’ nutritious and

economically valuable almonds (worth in excess of four million

dollars) his own by regulation; i.e., he took them without

compensation as prohibited by the Fifth Amendment. The

4

reserve regulations were imposed after the almonds were grown,

harvested, delivered to handlers, processed, and inspected. The

TAKING was completed when the Secretary later ordered the

reserve disposed of into economically worthless outlets like

cattle feed. This “TAKING” was no different than — and as

complete as —if the Secretary had hauled them off in adumpster.

For example, 7 C.F.R. § 981.52 orders Petitioners to hold “for the

account of the Board” what had been Petitioners’ almonds

moments before. The Almond Board is the Secretary’s appointed

agency (7 C.F.R. § 981.30; 7 U.S.C. § 608c(7)(C)). The

Secretary’s Judicial Officer described the reserve as giving the

Almond Board and Secretary “plenary” authority, “complete”

power, and “full power and authority” over the reserve almonds

and their disposition, and that handlers have “no voice” in the

terms and conditions of the reserve (J.0. decision, App. at 102a-

106a).

The handler Petitioners were left with none of the strands in

their bundle of property rights, only the duty to care for the

Secretary’s almonds until disposal.

The Secretary also unconstitutionally took almonds

belonging to Petitioners who are the producers (Browns Lake

Ranch, Mac Enterprises, Van Kay, Inc. and Derk Van

Konynenburg) who are not paid for their almonds because the

Secretary imposed areserve on handlers to whom they delivered

their almonds. By the time the “reserve” was imposed in the crop

years in question (described below) the producers had already

sunk their cultural costs (in excess of $2,000 per acre per year)

and handlers had already sunk substantial costs in processing

said almonds. The Secretary also required the handlers to pay

assessments on “reserve” almonds (7 C.F.R. § 981.81) even

though the almonds were rendered valueless by the Secretary’s

action. The Secretary was not required to impose a reserve.

Petitioners had no way of knowing or even guessing in advance

of growing, harvesting and processing whether the Secretary

would impose a reserve, much less the amount of the reserve. The

5

Secretary was not free to impose a reserve of his choosing, but

only when, and tothe extent necessary that, it would increase the

producer prices and avoid unreasonable fluctuations in supplies

and prices (7 U.S.C. §§ 602(2) & (4); 7 C_ER. §§ 981.47 &

981.49). These are factual inquires which should have been

resolved by a jury rather than on the government’s motion to

dismiss for failure to state a claim. The TAKING here was a per

se TAKING as described in this Court’s controlling precedent.

The Secretary was authorized pursuant to 7 U.S.C.

§ 608(c)(6)(B) of the AMAA to limit the amount of an

agricultural product that could be sold and to provide for the

control and disposition of any surplus (7 U.S.C. § 608c(6)(D) of

said product, in order to avoid “unreasonable fluctuations in

supplies and prices (7 U.S.C § 602(4)). After the Almond

Marketing Order was issued, the Secretary, on an annual basis

(and based upon the recommendation of the Almond Board (7

C.F.R. § 981.49)), can, but is not required to, issue a “reserve”

which is an order that almond handlers must hold from sale a

certain percentage of their almonds (§§ 981.50-.52).4 Under the

Almond Marketing Order the Secretary has the authority to later

increase the saleable percentage of almonds for the crop year in

question (§ 981.48) or order the handler to dispose of said

almonds into non-competitive (and economically worthless)

outlets approved to by the Secretary (§§ 981.66 and 981.67) but

only if the handler agrees to act as an “agent” for the Almond

4. Itis important to note that each pound of almonds is a separate unit of

property. See Lucas v. South Carolina Coastal Council, __U.S.__, 1128. Ct.

2886, 2894, n.7 (1992). Handlers pay growers acertain amount of money per

pound; almonds are sold by handlers by the pound (or sometimes by the kilo);

and the Secretary assesses handlers by the pound (7 C.F.R. § 981.81) for the

Board's operations (including advertising and promotion, which has sparked

other requests for Supreme Court review; Solicitor’s Cert. Petition No. 95-

1879, Cal-Almond Cert Petition No. 95-1978).; and Solicitor’s Cert. Petition

granted, No. 95-1184 (treefruit advertising and promotion assessments.)

6

Board (§§ 981.52 and 981.67). If the handler does not “agree” to

become an agent of the Almond Board, the handler is required to

deliver physical custody of the reserve percentage to the Almond

Board which would then dispose of these almonds (§§ 981.52

and 981.67). The Secretary appointed the Almond Board, all of

whose numbers compete with Petitioners, as his agent to

administer the program (7 C.F.R. §§ 981.30-.34) The outlets

available for disposition of the reserve (7 C.F.R. § 981.66(c)) are

economically worthless outlets like almond oil, almond butter,

animal feed and charities (garnering $.03 to $.10 per pound

compared to competitive markets garnering $1.10 to $2.00 per

pound — depending upon the crop year in question.) In some

years USDA allowed a reserve outlet to »e USDA’s own school

lunch program (7 C.F.R. § 981.467(c)), where USDA purchased

them for less than half their value. The Secretary deprived

Petitioners of all economically valuable use of these almonds by

first banning their sale to normal competitive outlets and then

ordering their disposal in worthless outlets. The small amount of

money received from their “salvage” outlets does not even cover

the costs of processing, storing and fumigating the almonds.

Whether measured from the handler or grower level, the

Secretary’s action caused a net loss worse than the “ordinary”

TAKING.

The saleable almonds are each handlers’ quota fixed by the

Secretary within the meaning of 7 U.S.C. § 608a(5) (7 C.F.R.

§ 981.50) and substantial civil and criminal penalties can be

imposed on any handler who does not comply with the reserve/

quota program (7 U.S.C. § 608a(5); 7 U.S.C. § 608c(14)(A)).

Petitioners Cal-Almond, Inc., Gold Hills Nut Company and

Saulsbury Orchards and Almond Processing were almond

handlers during the relevant time in question herein. Petitioners

Browns Lake Ranch, Mac Enterprises, Inc., Van Kay, Inc. and

Derk Van Konynenburg were almond growers during this period

of time and marketed their product through Petitioner Cal-

Almond, Inc.

RS) Peet oe

|

7

The goal of the AMAA is to “establish and maintain .. .

orderly marketing conditions for agricultural commodities in

interstate commerce”, and to maintain or raise to parity prices to

producers of the agricultural product (7 U.S.C. §§ 602(1), (2) &

(4))

2. The Secretary imposed a 2% reserve on the 1982 crop

requiring all handlers to dispose of 2% of the almonds into these

non-competitive economically worthless outlets or give the

almonds to the Almond Board who would then dispose of them.

The 2% reserve in 1982 amounted to 67,099 pounds with respect

to Petitioner Cal-Almond, and 198,621 pounds with respect to

Saulsbury Orchards and Almond Processing (hereinafter

SOAP). For the 1983-1984 crop year the Secretary imposed a 3%

reserve which was 98,231 pounds to Cal-Almond, and 67,858

pounds to SOAP. For the 1984-1985 crop year the Secretary

imposed a 25% reserve, 20% was later released into fully

saleable channels, and therefore 5% of the total product was

ordered dumped into the economically worthless outlets. The

5% reserve imposed on SOAP was 857,404 pounds, and on Cal-

Almond it was 334,462 pounds. For the 1985-1986 crop year the

Secretary imposed a 20% reserve, later released half of it, and

ordered 10% of it dumped into the economically worthless

outlets. The 10% reserve amounted to 619,754 pounds to Cal-

Almond, Inc., and 905,354 pounds to SOAP (App. at pp.119a-

122a, 136a-139a).

For the 1988-1989 crop year the Secretary imposed a 25%

reserve, and ordered it held, at handler expense, pending his final

determination as to whether or not the reserve would be released

into fully saleable channels. On August 1, 1989 (a monthanda

half after the new crop year began) the Secretary ordered the

release of the entire reserve. That reserve amount was 402,408

pounds to SOAP, 317,410 pounds to Gold Hills and 2,667,128

pounds to Cal-Almond. It cost the handler Petitioners in excess

of $.17 per pound just for storing these almonds for the account

of the Secretary (App. at pp. 123a, 139a-140a).

8

For the 1990-1991 crop year the Secretary imposed a 35%

reserve, later released all of it but 7%, and ordered the 7%

dumped into the economically worthless outlets. That 7%

reserve was 38,000 pounds to SOAP, 210,000 pounds to Gold

Hills, and 1,626,151 pounds to Cal-Almond (App. at pp. 124a-

125a, 141a).

When the product must be dumped, the grower cannot

receive any payment for it because the price received by the

handler is far less than the handler’s processing and receiving

costs (App. at pp. 126a, 142a, 144a). The 7% reserve for the

1990-91 crop year attributable to Petitioner growers Browns

Lake Ranch was 34,169 pounds, 60,175 pounds to Mac

Enterprises, 6,097 pounds to Van Kay, Inc., and 23,705 pounds

to Derk Van Konynenburg (App. at pp. 125a-126a, 141a-142a).

The differences between the prices the Petitioner handlers

received for their reserve almonds dumped into outlets like cattle

feed was between $.03 and $.10 per pound (which did noteven

come close to recouping their costs), when the market price for

fully saleable almonds ranged any where from $ 1.10 per pound

to approximately $2.00 per pound, thus costing the Petitioners

(combined) well over four million dollars (App. at pp. 18a, 113a,

126a, 136a-143a).° The “reserve” did not advance “orderly

marketing” nor increase producer revenue. Indeed it

substantially decreased producer revenue (App. at pp. 122a,

136a-138a).

B. Proceedings Below

1. The present case arose from several administrative

petitions filed by the Petitioners in this case. Title 7 U.S.C.

§ 608c(15)(A) requires that handlers exhaust administrative

5. The four million dollar figure does not include the loss to Cal-Almond

for the 1988 and 1990 crop year; see footnote six and accompanying text. Cal-

Almond’s loss for 1988 and 1990 was approximately $2.5 million.

en! ta Add eT eet onal ath

)

1

9

remedies before proceeding to court. No pre-deprivation remedy

is available. United States v. Ruzika, 329 U.S. 287 (1946).

In 1987 Petitioners Cal-Almond and SOAP filed an

administrative petition challenging, among other things, the

reserve requirement for the 1982 through 1985 crop years

contending they were not lawfully promulgated and violated the

Administrative Procedures Act. On January 23, 1991 the Judicial

Officer issued a ruling and held that the reserve programs from

1982 through 1985 were not arbitrary and capricious, and did

comply with the APA (App. at pp. 85a-110a).

In the interim, Petitioners Cal-Almond, Saulsbury and Gold

Hills Nut Company filed another administrative petition

challenging the reserve requirements for the 1988-1989 crop

year (a 25% reserve which was later released) and yet another

one with respect to the 7% reserve ordered disposed of for the

1990-1991 crop year. On March 8, 1991 the Judicial Officer

issued aruling with respect to the 1988-1989 crop year finding

that the reserve was lawfully imposed (App. at pp. 79a-84a).

Finally, on December 11, 1991 the Judicial Officer issued his

decision (App. G) finding that the reserve requirements for

1990-1991 were lawful (App. at pp. 66a-78a).

In the administrative proceedings before the Secretary of

Agriculture challenging the reserve regulations, the Secretary,

through his Judicial Officer, who is the final decision maker for

USDA (7 C.F.R. §§ 900.50 et seq.), explained the Secretary’s

power over the reserve as follows: “Since the Order gives the

Board the full power and authority to sell or dispose of all reserve

almonds, subject only to the conditions of the order, and the

Secretary’s right to disapprove, it does not matter whether a

handler is economically compelled to enter into an Agency

agreement.” (App. at 106a). “Whether or not there is an Agency

agreement, the Board has complete power as to all reserve

10

almonds.” (App. at 106a). “But the Board does not have to seek

handler approval or concurrence with respect to anything

relating to the disposition of reserve almonds... .” (App. at

106a). “The Board’s plenary authority as to reserve almonds is

not challenged.” (App. at 106a). “Whether it was wise to give the

Board complete authority to dispose of the reserve almonds as it

sees fit, subject only to the conditions set forth in the order, and

the Secretary’s veto authority, is not open to question... .”

(App. at 106a). “Wisely, or unwisely, under the order, handlers

have no voice in deciding the terms and conditions applicable to

the disposition of reserve almonds and, therefore, it is enough

that the Secretary approve the minimum prices and assessments

determined by the Board for the program for almond butter and

school lunches, without seeking the advice and consent of

handlers, or promulgating the Board determination through APA

rulemaking.” (App. at 106a).

2. From each of the three Judicial Officer decisions

discussed above, the respective Petitioners filed a petition for

review in the District Court pursuant to 7 U.S.C. § 608c(15)(B).

The District Court agreed with the Judicial Officer that the

reserve obligations were properly promulgated, and, in cases

ordered consolidated by the Ninth Circuit, the Ninth Circuit

determined that the reserves were properly promulgated. The

Ninth Circuit decision was issued on December 22, 1993 (App.

at pp. 50a-64a).

However, since acompensation remedy fora TAKING was

not available through the administrative petition process,

Petitioners filed their original claim in the United States Court of

Federal Claims (hereinafter Claims Court) in April, 1991

alleging TAKINGS had occurred as a result of the almond

reserves. However, thereafter, the United States Court of

Appeals for the Federal Circuit handed down its en banc decision

in UNR Industries v. United States, 962 F.2d 1013 (Fed. Cir.

sue combine these Nl Uae att lad

11

1992) which held that regardless ofthe type of relief sought in

any other court, the Court of Claims has no jurisdiction if a case

is pending in any other court arising out of the same operative

facts. Because the handler Petitioners had filed for review in the

District Court from the Judicial Officer’s decisions, the Claims

Court complaint was dismissed without prejudice. The

Petitioners then withdrew their challenges in the District Court

with respect to the 1982 through 1985 crop year reserves, and all

the Petitioners except Cal-Almond withdiew their challenges to

the 1988-1989 and the 1990-1991 reserve so that they could

proceed in the Claims Court with respect to those crop years. Cal-

Almond alone pursued in the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals the

legitimacy of the 1988-1989 reserve and the 1990 and 1991

reserve. Petitioners then filed a new complaint in the Claims |

Court, and then amended that complaint on August 19, 1992

(App. at 111a).°

The issue as to whether or not a TAKING had occurred was

tried by the Claims Court on cross-motions for summary

judgment and the government’s motion to dismiss for failure to

state a claim. Virtually all of the underlying facts were not

disputed. The government did not dispute Petitioners’ statement

of uncontroverted facts (App. at 130a-146a).

3. On January 5, 1994 the Honorable Judge Wivse of the

Claims Court held that the Secretary’s actions were » either a

TAKING per se of Petitioners’ almonds nor a regulatory

TAKING. The Claims Court ruled that since the almond industry

6. Because of the late date of the Ninth Circuit ruling (December of

1993) and because the matter was already then and there under submission in

the Claims Court, Cal-Almond did not amend the complaint to allege its own

TAKINGS challenges for the 1988-89 or 199091 crop years, but intends to do

SO, in order to preserve its challenges to the 1988-89 and 1990-91 crop years.

If the complaint was filed now it would result in the same decision rendered in

the instant case below.

12

had been regulated for over 40 years and because Petitioners had

entered into the business after the Marketing Order was already

in existence, the Petitioners “must be understood to have had

accepted, as a condition of their continuing presence in the

industry, the very mode of regulation about which they now

complain.” (App. at 19a). The Claims Court further stated that

since the government has “plenary authority over commerce”

and, because of the “pervasive presence of the federal

governmentin the regulation of American agriculture during the

past half-century, Plaintiffs cannot reasonably assert a property

interest in their almond crops free of government control.” (App.

at 19a-21a). The Claims Court also stated: “The government’s

power to regulate the flow of agricultural products affecting

interstate commerce is a pre-existing limitation on Plaintiffs’

property interest in their almonds. The legitimate exercise of that

power cannot give rise toa TAKING claim.” (App. at 20a-21a).

The court concluded that “Plaintiffs have failed to state aclaim

on which relief can be granted,” and directed the “entry of

judgment dismissing the complaint.” (App. at 21a).

4. Petitioners filed a timely appeal from the judgment

entered on January 10, 1994 and the Federal Circuit affirmed in

an unpublished opinion. The court, held that Petitioners’

“property rights and reasonable expectations were limited by the

regulatory scheme existing upon their entry into the almond

industry,” (App. at 9a), relying on its own savings and loan cases,

but no Supreme Court cases.

5. With respect to Petitioners’ per se TAKINGS claim

under the principles of Loretto v. Teleprompter Manhattan CA

TV Corp., 458 U.S. 419 (1982) the Court relegated that

“discussion” toa single footnote, merely stating “we discern no

factual or legal basis for Appellants arguments that the almond

reserve should be considered per se TAKINGS under the

principles of [Loretto].” (App. at 9a).

hapnhilagte tate Se pie Arce cane,

13

6. Neither the Claims Court nor the Federal Circuit

addressed whether the reserve regulations “substantially

advanced” the governmental interest as would be required to

defeat aregulatory TAKINGS claim.

7. Petitioners filed a Petition For Rehearing and a

Suggestion for Rehearing En Banc with the Federal Circuit,

which was denied on April 1, 1996 (App. at 1a), leading to this

Petition for Certiorari.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The Federal Circuit has decided these important questions

in a manner that conflict with relevant decisions of this Court.

1. The Federal Circuit erred in holding that the protection

of Fifth Amendment just compensation clause is lost to those

who enter into an industry that Congress has theretofore

empowered the Secretary with the authority to decide, on an

annual basis, whether to regulate and the extent of said

regulation.

This Court has never held that the TAKINGS clause does not

apply to those who enter into a regulated industry. Indeed, this

Court has held that the government “by ipse dixit, may not

transform personal property into public property without

compensation. ... This is the very kind of thing that the

TAKINGS clause of the Fifth Amendment was meant to

prevent.” Webbs Fabulous Pharmacies, Inc. v. Beckwith, 449

U.S. 155, 164 (1980).

First, this Court has recently rejected the “business

regulation” defense in Dolan v. City of Tigard,__U.S.__,114S.

Ct. 2309, 2320 (1994). (“But simply denominating a

governmental measure as a ‘business regulation’ does not

14

immunize it from constitutional challenge on the grounds that it

violates a provision of the Bill of Rights [citations]” id at 2320).

After citing First and Fourth Amendment cases for the

proposition that these amendments fully applied as protections

to businesses this Court held: “We see no reason why the

TAKINGS clause of the Fifth Amendment, as mucha part of the

Bill of Rights as the First Amendment or the Fourth Amendment,

should be relegated to the status of a poor relation in these

comparable circumstances.” ’ (Dolan at 2320).

In Dolan, the city had its master land use plan in place for

years prior to Mrs. Dolan’s application for a building permit to

expand her hardware store. The reasoning of the Federal Circuit

decision in this case would have left Mrs. Dolan without a

remedy. This Court held the opposite.

Every case relied upon by the Federal Circuit (App. at 9a-

10a) concerned takeovers of financially troubled savings and

loans. California Housing Sec., Inc. v. United States, 959 F.2d

955,958 (9th Cir. 1992); Golden Pac. Banicorp v. United States,

15 F.3d 1066, 1073-74 (Fed. Cir. 1994). In those cases, the

federal government took over possession of those savings and

loans because the government determined that there had either

been a violation of the banking regulations or that the claimants

had committed unsafe or unsound practices that had dissipated

its assets or earnings and therefore threatened the depositors.

The Federal Circuit in those cases noted that the bank claimants

subjected themselves to the expansive statutory regulatory

7. In Bolgerv. Youngs Drug Products, Corp., 463U.S.60(1983),Youngs —

Drug Products successfully challenged, on First Amendment grounds, a one

hundred year old ban on mailing of unsolicited advertisements for

contraceptives. If “entering into a regulated field” deprives the business

person of constitutional protection then (as the Federal Circuit states) virtually

all “older” regulations would survive constitutional scrutiny. That is

obviously not the law.

15

ADLER ae a

system when they applied for and received federal deposit

insurance from, and executed contracts with, the federal

government. In the present case, Petitioners did not receive any

; government insurance or any government benefit whatsoever.

Moreover, the Petitioners in this case committed no violations of

the law.

This Court has never held that Congress’ decision to

empower an agency with the decision to regulate eviscerates

future Fifth Amendmentrights. The Federal Circuit's decision in

this case has decided an important federal question which should

be determined by this Court. If the Federal Circuit’s decision

were to stand, the government would be free to extinguish Fifth

Amendmentrights by simply deciding toregulate. Forexample,

Congress could pass a law that states that starting in 1998 an

agency “can” order the automobile manufacturing companies in

the United States to donate every tenth car to a government

approved charity, or give up physical custody of every tenth car

to the government. In 1998 when Ford, General Motors and

Chrysler are still in business, they could not be heard tocomplain

because they stayed in the business knowing that the regulation

could require the forfeiture of every tenth automobile. There is

no difference in that scenario than the current one.

Secondly, the Federal Circuit ignored the holding in Loretto

v. Teleprompter Manhattan CATV Corporation, supra, wherein

this Court held that a physical occupation or appropriation of

property isa TAKINGS per se. In Loretto, the petitioner became

a landlord of an apartment building that had for a number of years

been heavily regulated by the City of New York. The placement

of the cable box on her building could not be shown to diminish

the value of her building, but this Court had no trouble

whatsoever finding that a TAKING per se had occurred with

respect to an item the size of a bread box attached to her building.

The Federal Circuit here relegated the TAKINGS per se

2

|

16

“analysis” toaone line conclusory sentence stating that it did not

apply (App. at 9a).

2. The Federal Circuit ignored binding precedent of this

Court by not applying a per se TAKINGS analysis.

In Loretto, the Court held that there is a TAKING per se if

there has been a “physical occupation” or “appropriation” of the

property and that the government must pay just compensation,

regardless of whether the regulation has gone “too far” or

whether it achieves an important public benefit or only has

minimal economic impact on the owner. Loretio, 458 U.S. at 434.

This Court in Loretto stated that the “character of the

governmental action” not only is an important factor in resolving

whether the action works a TAKING, but is also

“determinative.” Loretto at 426 (1982). See also, Lucas v. South

Carolina Coastal Council, __ U.S. __, 112 S. Ct. 2886, 2893

(1992).®

In the present case, the Federal Circuit refused to even

address, let alone come to grips with, the nature of the

governmental action in this case. The nature of the governmental

action in this case is most succinctly set forth by the Secretary of

Agriculture’ who, with respect to the reserve, stated that: the

Almond Marketing Order “gives the Board the full power and

8. This Court has also found a TAKING per se when the government

physically “invades” airspace (United States v. Causby, 328 U.S. 256, 265 and

n. 10(1946) and when the government imposes a navigational servitude upon

a private marina (Kaiser Aetna v. United States, 444 U. S. 164 (1979). See

Loretto, at 433-434.

9. This Court gives great deference tothe Agency’s interpretation of the

statute. Chevron U.S.A., Inc. v. Natural Resources Defense Council, Inc., 467

U.S. 837, 842-45 (1984); Smiley v. -U.S.- Citibank (South Dakota), N.A., __

U.S.__, No. 95-860 Dec. June 3, 1996.

dada dinbecawiense tse ee

a w Stel a ete Dk oD acding sn “hecalap,

17

authority to sell or dispose of allreserve almonds. . .” (App. at

106a); “the Board has complete power as to all reserve almonds”

(App. at 102a); “the Board does not have to seek handler

approval or concurrence with respect to anything relating to the

disposition of reserve almonds” (App. at 106a);“. . .the hearing

record supporting the Board ‘s plenary authority as to reserve

almonds is not challenged” (App. at 106a); “whether it was wise

to give the Board complete authority to dispose of the reserve

almonds as it sees fit . . . is not open to question. . .” (App. at

106a); and “wisely or unwisely, under the order, handlers have

no voice in deciding the terms and conditions applicable to the

disposition of reserve almonds. . . .” (App. at 106a) (Emphasis

added.)

The Marketing Order itself states that when a reserve is

imposed the handlers must hold the almonds “in proper storage

for the account of the Board”. (7 C.F.R. § 981.52). (Emphasis

added.) Furthermore, if the handler signs an Agency agreement

he is merely acting as an agent of the Board in the disposition of

the reserve almonds (7 C.F.R. § 981.67 and see Agency

Agreement, App. at 15a). Ifahandlerrefuses to be conscripted as

an agent of the Almond Board the handler is required to deliver

the physical custody of the reserve to the Almond Board which

then dumps it into non-competitive outlets (7 C.F.R. § 981.51).

If the handlers sign up as an agent of the Board, but does not

dispose of the reserve almonds by September | of the following

crop year, the handler must immediately deliver the almonds to

the Almond Board who then dumps them'® (7 C.F.R. § 981.67).

And while the handler holds those almonds “for the account of

the Board” he is required to make them accessible to the Board

and the Secretary (7 C.F.R. § 981.70). Thus, based upon the

10. See App. at pp. 148a; letter of February 2, 1993 from Almond Board

to a handler stating that the deadline to dispose of the reserve for 1990-9! crop

year was December 1, 1992, that he had not disposed of them, and that Board

was coming to pick them up if handler did not deliver them to the Board.

18

Almond Marketing Order and the Secretary’s determination as

to the power given to him and the Almond Board, there are no

strands left in Petitioners’ bundle of property rights when the

reserve is imposed. In short, if the handler does not agree to be

recruited into the Secretary’s army for purposes of disposition of

reserve the Almond Board (USDA’s appointed entity) will

physically occupy those almonds, appropriate them from the

handler, take physical possession of them, and dispose of them.

The Federal Circuit erred in determining that the Secretary’s

power to regulate can thus redefine property rights which

theretofore had existed for centuries before the Almond

Marketing Order had been enacted. (Almonds have been grown

in California for well over 100 years prior to the issuance of the

Almond Marketing Order). As this Court stated in Loretto:

“Moreover, the government does not have unlimited power to

redefine property rights. [citations]” Loretto at 439.

Thus, the Federal Circuit decision conflicts with relevant

decisions of this Court with respect to the per se TAKINGS

analysis in Loretto. The Federal Circuit’s decision in this case

conflicts with this Court’s decision in Kaiser Aetna v. United

States, 444 U.S. 164, 176(1979) which held that one of the “most

essential sticks in the bundle of rights that are commonly

characterized as property” is the ability toexclude others. In this

case, once the Secretary announces areserve, the Petitioners do

not have the ability to exclude the Secretary from taking their

almonds.

The regulation is not saved by the handlers’ ability to

become an “agent” of the Secretary to avoid the Secretary’s

physical appropriation of Petitioners’ almonds, because this

Court has held that the government may not require a person to

give up aconstitutional right (in this case the right to receive just

compensation when property is taken for a public use) in

19

exchange for a “discretionary benefit conferred by the

government” — in this case, the hallow “ability” to dump, ata

huge loss, Petitioners’ own almonds. Dolan v. City of Tigard,

supra, 1148S. Ct. at2316-17; Loretto at 439, n. 17.

The fact that the handler can “agree” to become the

Secretary’s agent, is, legally irrelevant to the issue presented. In

United States v. PeWee Coal Co., Inc., 341 U.S. 114 (1951) this

Court unanimously held that when the government (in order to

avert a nationwide strike of miners) issued an “order for taking

possession” of mines and requiring the mine officials to agree to

conduct operations as “agents for the government” if they

wanted to keep whatever profits were realized (otherwise a

government official would operate the mine) committed as much

a TAKING “as if the government held full title and ownership.”

341 U.S. at 116-117. This Court in Loretto, supra treated Pe Wee

Coalasaperse TAKING. Loretto at 431.

Almonds have been grown and marketed in California for

hundreds of years. The Almond Marketing Order was issued in

1950. All of the producers cultural costs (which are substantial)"

have been expended before the producer knows whether the

Secretary will issue areserve for that year since the reserve is not

issued until long after the harvest. The handler Petitioner must

receive that product, process it, clean it, fumigate it and expend

considerable amounts of money processing that product before

the Secretary announces the reserve and then makes it

retroactive to the beginning of the crop year. A reserve is not

imposed every year and there is no set formula in the AMAA or

regulations mandating any secretarial action. When the

Secretary announces the reserve, he tells the handlers to sell the

almonds to him for his school lunch programs (at an economic

11. The grower Petitioners in this case spent $2,145 per acre, per year in

cultural costs (App at 142a).

es

20

loss to the handler and the grower), or to dump them into cattle

feed or almond butter, an economically worthless venture.’ If

the handler does not do it the Secretary takes physical possession

of the property and disposes of it,'* even though almonds will

remain valuable and nutritious through lengthy periods of cold

storage and thus available for subsequent “short” crop years.

This Court’s TAKINGS cases are not limited to real

property. In Andrus v. Allard, 444 U.S.51 (1979) this Court held

that the prohibition of the sale of eagle feathers was not a

TAKING as applied to traders of bird artifacts. Importantly

though, this Court held that “the regulations challenged here do

not compel the surrender of the artifacts, and there is no physical

invasion orrestraintuponthem. . . . Inthis case, itis crucial that

Appellees retain the rights to possess and transport their

property, and to donate or devise the protected birds . . . Loss of

future profits — unaccompanied by any physical property

restriction — provides a slender reed upon which to rest a

TAKINGS claim.” Jd. at 65-66 (Emphasis added.) See also,

Webbs Fabulous Pharmacy, supra (money); Ruckelshaus v.

Monsanto, 467 U.S. 986 (1984) (data); Nixon v. United States,

978 F.2d 1269, 1276 (D.C. Cir. 1992) (TAKINGS per se re

12. While 7 C.F.R. § 981.66(b) would otherwise authorize exports of

almonds as a reserve outlet, for all of the reserve years at issue here the

Secretary never authorized exports as an available reserve outlet.

13. The Almond Marketing Order for almonds is unique in this regard,

i.e., the “give me your almonds or become my agent and agree to dump them”

requirement. Some prograr’s limit the amount that can be grown (i.e., peanuts,

7 U.S.C. § 1358-1), or the amount a handler can acquire from a grower (i.e.,

spearmint, 7 C.F.R. § 985.52), or limit the amount that can be sold each week

(i.e., navel oranges, Valencia oranges and lemons; 7 C.F.R. §§ 907.1 et seq.,

908.1 er seg. and 910.1 et seq., respectively. The Secretary terminated those

three orders on August 26, 1994). But none of the other marketing orders give

the Secretary the authority to take possession and control if the product.

PS Ns NES SET CLD Oi eg a cars, onde Pee

BOONE ES, SEAT BRIS a

mk es PRE Se

21

regulations applied to the government taking physical custody of

President Nixon’s presidential papers even though he continued

to have access to them and other rights with respect to them).

Unlike Andrus, supra, the criteria critically absent in

Andrus are present here: The surrender of Petitioners’ almonds

are compelled; there is a physical restraint upon them and they

are “held for the account of the Board”. Petitioners can “enjoy”

temporary physical custody only if they agree to be conscripted

as the Secretary’s agent and ordered to physically part with them.

In Andrus this Court stated: “At least where an owner possesses

a full ‘bundle’ of property rights, the destruction of one ‘strand’

of the bundle is not a TAKING, because the aggregate must be

viewed in its entirety.” Jd. at 65-66. In the present case all

“strands” have been taken. It cannot be disputed that before a

reserve is announced all of the almonds belonged to the growers

and handlers. After the reserve is announced a percentage of the

almonds belong to the Secretary.

As this Court held in Loretto: “ In short, when the ‘character

of the governmental action’ [citation omitted], is a permanent

physical occupation of property, our cases uniformly have found

a TAKING to the extent of the occupation, without regard to

whether the action achieves an important public benefit or has

only minimal economic impact on the owner.” (Loretto, 458 U.S.

at 434).

This Court held in United States v. General Motors

Corporation, 323 U.S. 373, 378 (1945) that:

The courts have held that the deprivation of

the former owner rather than the accretion of

aright or interest to the sovereign constitutes

the TAKING. Governmental action short of

acquisition of title or occupancy has been

SSS _.

22

held, if its effects are so complete as to

deprive the owner of allor most of his interest

in the subject matter, to amount toa TAKING.

(Emphasis added.)

In this case, once the reserve is announced there are no

“strands” left in the handlers or growers “bundle” of property

rights. As the Secretary held, once a reserve is announced, the

Almond Board has “plenary” and “complete” power over the

reserve, and that “the Board does not have to seek handler

approval or concurrence with respect to anything relating to the

disposition of the reserve almonds.” (App. at 106a). However,

the Federal Circuit here never once addressed the nature of the

governmental action in this case.

In examining the present case, the “nature of the

governmental action” with respect to almond reserve

requirements, it is obvious that the government is not just

operating a program which adjusts the benefits and burdens of

economic life for the “common good”, or merely reducing the

value of the product through their Commerce Clause powers. In

thiscase“. . .the TAKING was as clear as if the government held

full title and ownership.” United States v. PeWee Coal Company,

supra, 341 U.S. at 116-117 (and cited in Loretto, supra, 458 U.S.

at 431.Also, when areserve is announced the handler is required

to give acquiescence to the property to the Secretary unless he

Signs an Agency agreement. “This element of required

acquiescence is at the heart of the concept of occupation.” FCC

v. Florida Power Corp., 480 U.S. 245, 252 (1987). The Federal

Circuit just never addressed the “character” of the governmental

action.

Thus, the Federal Circuit’s decision clearly conflicts with

this Court’s per se TAKINGS cases, like Loretto, PeWee Coal,

Florida Power and General Motors.

DEA SES SAM

23

3. The Federal Circuit’s analysis in this case with respect to

a “regulatory TAKING” absolutely conflicts with this Court's

decision in Dolan v. City of Tigard, supra, which held that the

regulations must “substantially advance [a] legitimate state

interest”, i.e. its not enough that they might or could advance

such interest. /d. at 2316.

The reason for the reserve regulations in this case is

purportedly for “orderly marketing” and to raise parity prices for

farmers. The fact that the Secretary may have had arational basis

for believing when he set the reserve that it would have that affect

(and therefore be in compliance with the Administrative

Procedures Act), is not sufficient to withstand a “TAKINGS”

challenge. This Court in Dolan v. Tigard, held that it was not

enough for the government toclaim that it had areasonable basis

for believing that the regulation would advance its interest, but

the city was required to prove it. Jd. at2321-2322."

In the present case, the Federal Circuit never attempted to

apply the regulatory analysis initially enunciated in Nollan v.

California Coastal Commission, 483 U.S. 825 (1987), and

clarified in Dolan. The Federal Circuit merely stuck to its

shallow “reasoning” that since Petitioners entered into a

regulated industry they could not complain about how the

Secretary regulated it, regardless of the nature or harm of the

government action in this case. In short, there is no decision

14. Asthis Court stated in Dolan: “As Justice Peterson of the Supreme

Court of Oregon explained in his dissenting opinion, however, “the findings

of fact that the bicycle pathway system ‘could offset some of the traffic

demand’ is a far cry from a finding that the bicycle pathway system will, or is

likely to, offset some of the traffic demands.” [Citations omitted.] “No precise

mathematical calculation is required, but the City must make some effort to

quantify its findings in support of the dedication for the pedestrian/bicycle

pathway beyond the conclusory statement that it could offset some of the

traffic demand generated.” /d. at 2322.

Dll

24

whatsoever from this Court that supports that Federal Circuit’s

decision, and in fact there are the Dolan and Nollan cases from

this Court that would otherwise denounce it.

In the present case, the matter was decided on cross-motions

for summary judgment and on the government’s motion to

dismiss for failure to state a claim. The United States Court of

Federal Claims held, as a matter of law, that the government’s

motion to dismiss be granted. The first amended complaint at

issue here specifically alleged that the reserves ordered by the

Secretary did not increase grower prices, but instead drastically

reduced revenue (App. at 114a, 116a). Petitioners’

uncontroverted facts with respect to its motion for summary

judgment stated the same thing (App. at 145a). The government

proposed nothing to controvert Petitioners’ factual allegation

that the imposition of the reserve did not raise parity prices to the

growers and, indeed, lowered their revenue. The fact that the

Secretary, in promulgating each of the reserves in the years in

question might have believed that it would raise grower revenue

and create orderly marketing does not at all satisfy the test first

addressed by this Court in Nollan, and further explained in Dolan

that there is a regulatory TAKING when the regulations do not

“substantially advance [a] legitimate state interest.” Dolan,

supra at 2316. Thus, Petitioners are entitled to a trial on the

merits with respect to its regulatory TAKING claim that the

reserve regulations did not substantially advance a

governmental interest because they did not promote orderly

marketing nor increase grower revenue. Thus the Federal

Circuit’s decision clearly conflicts with this Court’s decisions in

Dolan and Nollan and guaranties to muddy the waters of future

TAKINGS decisions by that court. The Federal Circuit’s point of

departure that Petitioners entered into a theretofore regulated

industry and therefore have no property rights in the almonds

that they grow and sell is not supported by any decisions from

this Court, and are contrary to decisions of this Court.

25

CONCLUSION

The Petition for a Writ of Certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

BRIAN C. LEIGHTON

Counsel of Record

701 Pollasky Avenue

Clovis,CA 93612

(209) 297-6190

JAMES A. MOODY

2300 “N” Street, N.W., Suite 600

Washington, D.C. 20037

(202) 663-9011

Attorneys for Petitioner

la

APPENDIX A — ORDER DENYING PETITION FOR

REHEARING FILED APRIL 1, 1996

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

94-5084

CAL-ALMOND, INC., GOLD HILLS NUT COMPANY,

SAULSBURY ORCHARDS AND ALMOND PROCESSING,

INC., BROWNS LAKERANCH, MAC ENTERPRISES, INC.,

VAN KAY, INC., and DERK VAN KONYNENB URG,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

v.

THE UNITED STATES,

Defendant-Appellee.

ORDER

A combined petition for rehearing and suggestion for

rehearing in banc having been filed by the APPELLANT, anda

response thereto having been invited by the court and filed by the

APPELLEE, and the petition for rehearin g having been referred

to the panel that heard the appeal, and thereafter the suggestion

for rehearing in banc and response having been referred to the

circuit judges who are in regular active service,

UPON CONSIDERATION THEREOF, it is

ORDERED that the petition for rehearing be, and the same

hereby is, DENIED and it is further

2a

Appendix A

ORDERED that the suggestion for rehearing in banc be, and

the same hereby is, DECLINED.

The mandate has already issued.

FOR THE COURT,

FRANCIS X. GINHART, CLERK

By s/ Brian P. LeDuc

Associate Chief Deputy

Dated: April 1, 1996

Clerk

cc: BRIAN CLAY LEIGHTON

ROBERT EDWARD KIRSCHMAN, JR.

CAL-ALMONDINC V US, 94-5084

(CFC —92-477C)

Note: Pursuant to Fed. Cir. R. 47.6, this order is not citable as

precedent. Itis a public record

3a

APPENDIX B — NOTICE OF ENTRY OF JUDGMENT

AND JUDGMENT DATED DECEMBER 20, 1995

UNITED STATES COURT OFAPPEALS

FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

NOTICE OF ENTRY OF

JUDGMENT ACCOMPANIED BY OPINION

OPINION FILEDAND JUDGMENT ENTERED: 12/20/95

The attached opinion announcing the judgment of the court

in your case was filed and judgment was entered on the date

indicated above. The mandate will be issued in due course.

Information is also provided about petitions for rehearing

and suggestions for rehearing in banc. The questions and

answers are those frequently asked and answered by the Clerk’s

Office.

Costs and taxed against the Appellant(s) in favor of the

Appellee(s) under Rule 39. The party entitled to costs is provided

a bill of costs form and an instruction sheet with this notice.

The parties are encouraged to stipulate to the costs. A bill of

costs will be presumed correct in the absence of a timely filed

objection.

Costs are payable to the party awarded costs. If costs are

awarded to the government, they should be paid to the Treasurer

of the United States. Where costs are awarded against the

government, payment should be made to the person(s)

designated under the governing statutes, the court’s orders, and

the parties’ written settlement agreements. In cases between

private parties, payment should be made to counsel for the party

4a

Appendix B

awarded costs or, if the party is not represented by counsel, to the

party pro se. Payment of costs should not be sent to the court.

Costs should be paid promptly.

If the court also imposed monetary sanctions, they are

payable to the opposing party unless the court’s opinion provides

otherwise. Sanctions should be paid in the same way as costs.

Exhibits and visual aids shall be promptly retrieved by the

party that lodged them with this court.

~ FRANCIS X. GINDHART

Clerk

cc: BRIAN CLAY LEIGHTON

ROBERT EDWARD KIRSCHMAN, JR.

CAL-ALMOND INC V US, 94-5084

CFC -92-477C

— eS CO

Sa

Appendix B

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

94-5084

CAL-ALMOND, INC., GOLD HILLS NUT COMPANY,

SAULSBURY ORCHARDS AND ALMOND PROCESSING,

INC., BROWNS LAKE RANCH, MAC ENTERPRISES, INC.,

VAN KAY, INC., and DERK VAN KONYNENBURG,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

v.

THE UNITED STATES,

Defendant-Appellee.

JUDGMENT

ON APPEAL from the UNITED STATES COURT OF

FEDERAL CLAIMS in CASE NO(S). 92-477C

This CAUSE having been heard and considered, it is

ORDERED andADJUDGED: AFFIRMED

ENTERED BY ORDER OF THE COURT

s/ Francis X. Gindhart

Francis X. Gindhart, Clerk

DATED DEC 20 1995 RECEIVED FEB 15/96 |

ISSUEDAS AMANDATE: February 12, 1996

4

6a

APPENDIX C — DECISION OF THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

DECIDED DECEMBER 20, 1995

NOTE: Pursuant to Fed. Cir. R. 47.6, this disposition is not

citable as precedent. It is a public record. The disposition will

appear in tables published periodically.

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

94-5084

CAL-ALMOND, INC., GOLD HILLS NUT COMPANY,

SAULSBURY ORCHARDS AND ALMOND PROCESSING,

INC., BROWNS LAKE RANCH, MAC ENTERPRISES, INC.,

VAN KAY, INC. and DERK VAN KONYNENBURG,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

v.

THE UNITED STATES,

Defendant-Appeliee.

DECIDED: December 20, 1995

Before ARCHER, Chief Judge, RICH, and CLEVENGER,

Circuit Judges.

ARCHER, Chief Judge.

7a

Appendix C

DECISION

Cal-Almond, Inc., et al. (Cal-Almond) appeal the judgment

of the United States Court of Federal Claims dismissing, for

failure to state aclaim upon which relief can be granted, their

action forcompensation for a taking under the Fifth Amendment.

30 Fed. Cl. 244 (1994). Cal-Almond are processors({“handlers”)

and growers of almonds who seek compensation for alleged

losses in the value of their crop due to the imposition of almond

marketing controls established under authority of the

Agricultural Marketing Agreement Act of 1937 (AMAA), as

amended. 7 U.S.C. §§ 601-74 (1988 & Supp. 1993). Finding that

Cal-Almond suffered no compensable intrusion upon their

property interests in their almond crop as a result of these

marketing controls, the Court of Federal Claims dismissed their

complaint. We affirm.

DISCUSSION

I.

Since 1950, almonds have been subject to marketing

controls under the AMAA. This case involves marketing orders

for the years 1982-85, 1988, and 1990, which required that a

percentage of the anticipated crop be held in reserve for sale to

non-competitive outlets. The reserve percentage imposed varied

from two percent to ten percent. Upon sale of reserve almonds to

the non-competitive outlets, the net proceeds were remitted to

the handlers.

Cal-Almond filed suit in the Court or Federal Claims

claiming that by requiring them to sell almonds in a lower priced

market their interests in the almonds were taken under the Fifth

8a

Appendix C

Amendment for which compensation was due. Cal-Almond

alleged that they received from the non-competitive outlets

approximately five percent of what they could have commanded

in the open market, resulting in a loss of several million dollars

in product sales. In addition, they requested compensation for

several thousand dollars of Almond Board' expenses which they

were required to absorb. Finally, they complained about the costs

associated with storing the almond reserves when some of the

reserves were eventually released for sale in competitive

markets.

The Court of Federal Claims rejected Cal-Almond’s claims

for compensation finding that they did not havea property right

to market their almonds free of regulation. 30 Fed. Cl. at247.The

court noted that Cal-Almond had entered the almond industry

knowing it had been highly regulated for many years, and thus

“must be understood to have accepted, as a condition of their

continuing presence in that industry, the very mode of regulation

about which they now complain.” /d.

II.

Whether the complaint was properly dismissed for failure to

state aclaim upon which relief can be granted is a question of law

which we review de novo. Gould, Inc. v. United States, 935 F.2d

1271, 1273 (Fed. Cir. 1991). In reviewing a dismissal for

failure to state a claim we assume all well-pled factual

allegations are true and make all reasonable inferences in favor

of the nonmovant. /d. at 1274.

1. The Almond Board is an industry group comprised of almond growers

and handlers created to make recommendations to the Secretary and assist in

carrying out the market controls.

9a

Appendix C

As with all takings jurisprudence, we start our analysis with

the Fifth Amendment which commands that “private property

[shall not] be taken for public use, without just compensation.”

To be a property interest within the meaning of the Fifth

Amendment, the interest at issue must be “sufficiently bound up

with the reasonable expectations of the claimant to constitute

‘property.’ ”. Penn Cent. Transp. Co. v. New York City, 438 U.S.

104, 124-25 (1978). Property rights stem from and are defined by

existing rules of law. Webb’s Fabulous Pharmacies, Inc. v.

Beckwith, 449 U.S. 155, 161 (1980) (property rights “are created

and their dimensions are defined by existing rules or

understandings that stem from an independent source such as

state law” (quoting Board of Regents v. Roth, 408 U.S. 564,577

(1972)).

In this case, appellants’ property rights and reasonable

expectations were limited by the regulatory scheme? existing

upon their entry into the almond industry. The agriculture

industry has long been pervasively regulated — the almond

industry itself has been subject to marketing controls for over

forty-five years. In highly regulated fields those whoenter do so

subject to the existing regulations and without an expectation to

be free of those regulations. California Housing Sec., Inc. v.

United States, 959 F.2d 955, 958 (Fed. Cir. 1992) (asavings and

loan institution that had “voluntarily subjected itself to an

expansive statutory regulatory sysiem” could not have

developed a “historically rooted expectation of compensation”

for action taken within that regulatory scheme); Golden Pac.

Bancorp v. United States, 15 F.3d 1066, 1073-74 (Fed. Cir. 1994)

(same). The possible restrictions and limitations on the

2. We discern no factual or legal basis for appellants’ arguments that the

almond reserves should be considered per se takings under the principles of

Loretto v. Teleprompter Manhattan CATV Corp., 458 U.S. 419 (1982).

10a

Appendix C

marketing of almonds that appellants object to were clearly laid

out in marketing orders before they entered the industry.

Appellants, when entering this regulated field, could have had no

reasonable expectation that the applicable regulatory scheme

would not be enforced. Golden Pacific, 15 F.3d at 1074.

This is not to say that in a highly regulated industry, the

government may regulate away all property interests. As with

any regulatory scheme, one which goes too far can effectuate a

taking. Pennsylvania Coa! Co. v. Mahon, 260 U.S. 393, 415

(1992). This is not the case here. Marketing orders similar to

those at issue here have existed for many years and they have

been tailored to benefit members of the almond industry as well

as consumers. Indeed, appellants have received benefits

therefrom. 30 Fed. Cl. at 247 n.4 (plaintiffs’ “businesses, as a

whole, have [not] beenrendered unprofitable by the Secretary’s

regulations”).

As we have recognized, this sharing of benefits and burdens

reduces the power of ataking claim. Florida Rock Indus., Inc. v.

United States, 18 F.3d 1560, 1570 (Fed. Cir. 1994) (“When there

is reciprocity of advantage ... then the claim that the

Government has taken private property has little force... .”

(citation omitted)); see also Penn Central, 438 U.S. at 134-35

(owner of landmark was both burdened and benefited by

landmark preservation law). Inaclosely analogous situation, our

predecessor court held that marketing controls survive a takings

challenge because they are merely one of the burdens that go

along with the benefits of the peanut industry price support

program. Carruth v. United States, 627 F.2d 1068, 1081 (Ct. Cl.

1980).

Appellants argue that a finding of no taking is tantamountto

lla

Appendix C

a finding that they have no property interest at all in the almonds

they grow or handle. The Court of Federal Claims did not find

that appellants had no property interest in their almonds. Rather,

the court found that appellants did not have a property interest to

be free of all regulation. Appellants plainly had no reasonable

expectation to be free from and receive compensation for the

complained of harm. See Loveladies Harbor, Inc. v. United

States, 28 F.3d 1171, 1177 (Fed. Cir. 1994) (takings recoveries

are limited “to owners who could demonstrate that they bought

their property in reliance ona state of affairs that did not include

the challenged regulatory regime”). Thus, looking at Cal-

Almond’s property, the right to be free of the challenged

regulatory scheme is not within Cal-Almond’s bundle of

property rights. California Housing, 959 F.2d at 958 (“As a

consequence of the regulated environment in which [appellant}

voluntarily operated, [appellant] held less than the full bundle of

property rights. .. .”). Appellants continue to enjoy the same

rights and privileges they have enjoyed since entering the

industry and remain able to put their almonds to essentially the

same use. Thus, the reserve requirements cannot be regarded as

interfering with appellants’ expectations. See Penn Central, 438

U.S. at 136.

es

a i a RAL 7k ws ON

Pe eT ne

a i a Ae

4

i

i

12a

APPENDIX D — JUDGMENT OF THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF FEDERAL CLAIMS FILED JANUARY 10, 1994

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF

FEDERAL CLAIMS

No. 92-477 C

CAL-ALMOND, INC.,A CALIFORNIA CORPORATION,

ETAL.,

Vv.

THE UNITED STATES

JUDGMENT

Pursuant to the court’s opinion of January 5, 1994, granting

defendant’s motion to dismiss, and directing entry of judgment

dismissing the complaint,

IT IS ORDERED AND ADJUDGED this date, pursuant to

Rule 58, that the complaint is dismissed.

David A. Lampen

Clerk of the Court

By:s/ illegible

Deputy Clerk

January 10, 1994

NOTE: As to appeal, 60 days from this date, see RCFC 72, re

number of copies and listing of all plaintiffs. Filing fee is

$105.00.

ECT NE Te om da shoe

I DRO Sa Ne ini SI HER BREAN AMER. RCI AN A ret Mica

(ota Aa onde ME Bin. BNE 0 ah

Oy Sea) ee eS

13a

APPENDIX E — OPINION OF THE UNITED STATES

CLAIMS COURT FILED JANUARY 5, 1994

IN THE UNITED STATES CLAIMS COURT

No. 92-477C

Filed: January 5, 1994

CAL-ALMOND, INC., a California corporation; GOLD HILLS

NUT COMPANY, a California corporation; SAULSBURY

ORCHARDS AND ALMOND PROCESSING, INC., a

California corporation; BROWNS LAKE RANCH, a

Partnership consisting of Paul McManis and William Reeves;

MAC ENTERPRISES, INC., a California corporation; VAN

KAY, INC., a California corporation; and DERK VAN

KONYNENBURG,

Plaintiffs,

v.

THE UNITED STATES,

Defendant.

Just Compensation Clause: Marketing controls, agricultural

commodities — Almond growers and handlers have no

compensable property interest in marketing almonds free of

regulatory controls.

Brian C. Leighton, Fresno, California, and James A. Moody,

Washington, D.C., for plaintiffs.

Robert E. Kirschman, Jr., with whom were Assistant

l4a

Appendix E

Attorney General Frank W. Hunger, Director David M. Cohen,

Assistant Director Jeanne E. Davidson, Department of Justice,

Washington, D.C. Frank Martin, Jr., Office of the General

Counsel, Department of Agriculture, Washington, D.C., for

defendant.

OPINION

WIESE, Judge.

Plaintiffs Cal-Almond, Inc., Gold Hills Nut Company, and

Saulsbury Orchards and Almond Processing, are processors or

“handlers” of almonds; the other plaintiffs — Browns Lake

Ranch, Mac Enterprises, Inc., Van Kay, Inc., and Derk Van

Konynenburg — are growers or producers of almonds. Both

groups come together in this suit to seek compensation under the

takings clause of the Fifth Amendment for what they allege are

losses in crop value imposed upon them through almond

marketing controls established by the Secretary of Agriculture

acting under the authority of the Agricultural Marketing

Agreement Act of 1937, as amended, 7 U.S.C. §§ 601-602, 608,

608a-c, 610, 612, 672-674 (1988 & Supp. IV 1992).

The case is presented for decision on the basis of plaintiffs’

motion for summary judgment on liability and defendant’s

cross-motion to dismiss for failure to state aclaim upon which

relief can be granted. Upon consideration of the parties’

positions, as presented to the court both through written briefs

and oral argument, it is concluded that defendant’s position is

correct. We explain below.

15a

Appendix E

FACTS

The Agricultural Marketing Agreement Act of 1937

(AMAA) is one of a number of statutes enacted during the

Depression years to assist in the rebuilding of the Nation’s

economy. The Act seeks to restore and preserve the purchasing

power of farmers through the reconstruction and maintenance of

orderly marketing conditions for agricultural commodities. 7

U.S.C. §§ 601, 602.

To facilitate this goal, the Act empowers the Secretary to

enter into agreements with producers that put into effect

marketing controls to govern the supply and distribution of

agricultural commodities. 7 U.S.C. § 608c. Such controls,

implemented through regulations known as “marketing orders,”

adopt a variety of mechanisms including restrictions on the

quantity and quality product brought to market; differentiations

in pricing between primary and secondary markets; and

limitations on production among growers. Additionally,

marketing orders may provide for producers and handlers to

share in the proceeds from the sale of commodity reserves and

surpluses and also for the self-funding of commodity research,

development, and advertising programs.

Pursuant to the authority set out at § 8c(7)(C) of the AMAA,

marketing orders involving fruits, vegetables and other

commodities (including dried fruits and nuts) are administered

by committees of industry representatives selected by the

Secretary from nominees chosen by the community of growers

and handlers. One of the tasks for which the industry committees

are responsible is submitting marketing recommendations to the

Secretary based upon assessments of anticipated crop yields and

prospective product demand. Following notice and comment

rule making, the Secretary may then adopt these

l6a

Appendix E

recommendations as final marketing orders for the crop year in

question.

The demand for compensation that we encounter in this case

grows out of the almond marketing orders that were issued by the

Secretary during the crop years 1982 through 1985 and also 1988

and 1990.' In each of these years the Secretary, acting on the basis

of recommendations provided by the Almond Board of

California — the industry group established by the Secretary’s

almond regulations, see 7 C.F.R. § 981.30 (1993)?— ordered that

a percentage of the anticipated crop be set aside, i.e., held in

reserve, for sale to non-competitive outlets such as school lunch

programs, charitable institutions, and producers of animal and

poultry feeds. The reserve percentage varied from year to year,

ranging from alow of two percent in 1982 toa high of thirty-five

percent in 1990. (The thirty-five percent figure was

subsequently modified, through incremental reductions

authorized over the course of the crop year, to a final figure of

seven percent).

Under the terms of the almond marketing order,

1. Almonds became subject to marketing controls in 1950 at the urging

of the California Almond Growers Exchange, a growers’ cooperative now

known as Blue Diamond.

2. The Almond Board of California is comprised of ten members: five

producers and five handlers. Representation on the Board is divided between

independent growers and handlers and cooperative growers and handlers on

the basis of crop tonnage, i.e., majority control is given over to that group

responsible for growing and handling more than fifty percent of the tonnage

delivered during the previous crop year. 7 C.F.R. §§ 981.30-981.32. In 39 of

the 43 years since the creation of the Almond Board, majority control has

resided with Blue Diamond

MRD aR alia ot Prete

IE ca nck tl

17a

Appendix E

implementation of the set-aside requirement is accomplished

through restrictions on distribution: each handler is required to

withhold from sale in the open market of a percentage of the

almonds under its control equal to the specified reserve

percentage. 7 C.F.R. § 981.50. To satisfy this obligation, a

handler may either (i) deliver the required percentage to the

Almond Board for sale into non-competitive channels, with the

net proceeds of the sale being remitted to the handler, 7 C.F.R.

§§ 981.51,981.66(a), (g), or (ii) retain the reserve almonds and,

at the same time, enter into an “agency agreement” with the

Almond Board agreeing to dispose of the almonds in non-

competitive outlets. 7 C.F.R. § 981.67.

In addition to making handlers the focal point of distribution

control, almond marketing orders also place upon handlers

responsibility for the administrative expenses of the Almond

Board. These expenses are addressed through Board-imposed

assessments levied on all almonds that a handler has received for

its own account. 7 C.F.R. § 981.81.

The two aspects of the almond marketing order just

described — the reserve mechanism and the handler’s liability

for the administrative expenses of the Almond Board — are the

matters that have prompted the suit. More specifically, during

the crop years in issue, the sale of almonds into the off-market

often returned less than ten cents per pound in contrast to an open

market price that ranged from $1.10 per pound to approximately

$2.00 per pound. On the basis of this difference in price,

plaintiffs maintain that the reserve system has forced upon them

losses of several million dollars in product sales. Additionally,

they say they have been required to absorb several thousand

dollars of administrative expenses related to the activities of the

Almond Board. In toto, the amount claimed approaches 5 million

18a

Appendix E

dollars.’ These facts, plaintiffs contend, establish a taking of

their property.

DISCUSSION

In considering plaintiffs’ claim, we start with what is notin

dispute. Plaintiffs concede that the Government has authority,

under the Commerce Clause, to regulate the sale and marketing

of almonds. They acknowledge also that the manner in which

that authority was exercised in this case is consistent with the

Secretary’s statutory mandate. Nevertheless, plaintiffs contend

that the scheme of regulation that we encounter here amounts to

a per se taking because it effects a displacement, in favor of the

Secretary, of virtually all of a handler’s property rights in the

almonds held in reserve; hence, aconfiscation.

To support this contention, plaintiffs point out that once a

reserve is announced, the Secretary’s regulations grant the

Almond Board plenary authority to (i) sell or dispose of the

almonds involved, (ii) permit a handler’s disposition of the

almonds only when acting in the capacity of an agent of the

Almond Board, and (iii) bar sale of the almonds in normal trade

channels. Furthermore, it is noted that while a handler retains a

3. On a cumulative basis, the almond reserve requirements imposed

during the years in issue involved in excess of 3 million pounds. Of this total

reserve amount, approximately 2.2 million pounds is attributable to

Saulsbury, roughly 1.1 million pounds is attributable to Cal-Almond and over

500,000 pounds is attributable to Gold Hills. In terms of dollars lost, Cal-

Almond and Saulsbury each assert economic injury of approximately $2

million while Gold Hills claims a direct adverse effect of almost $200,000.

Additionally, plaintiffs say the growers suffered unrecovered farming costs

approximating $200,000.

al aR tele aoe ek Mi

Serine Mae ad tt ea eerinr a's SEWER BED

Fe Pe eee

i

i

e

19a

Appendix E

right to the proceeds from these market-restricted sales, the

amounts recovered are seldom sufficient to meet the

commodity’s purchase and storage costs. On the basis of these

considerations, plaintiffs maintain that the Government has

relegated unto itself the most essential attribute of commodity

ownership — control over disposition — while leaving plaintiffs

in the position of having to accept whatever value such

disposition might yield, no matter how minimal. This

realignment of ownership rights plaintiffs call a per se taking.

The second argument plaintiffs present looks beyond the

mechanics of the reserve system and focuses instead on the

economic consequences of that system. Plaintiffs contend that

even if the court does not accept the claim of a per se taking,

nevertheless, the reserve system deprives a handler of

substantially all economic value in the almonds placed in reserve

and therefore amounts to a taking by regulation.

Defendant urges us to reject these arguments on the ground

that neither is analytically sound. Each of these arguments,

defendant contends, requires as its logical antecedent a property

right permitting plaintiffs to market their almonds free of

regulatory controls. Defendant argues that plaintiffs donot have

such a right and ‘hus have suffered no compensable intrusion

upon their interests in the almond crop. We agree with defendant.

Government regulation of the almond industry in the

manner herein described has been a fact of life for now well over

forty years. Thus, parties, like our plaintiffs, who have been

active participants in that industry throughout that time, must be

understood to have accepted, as a condition of their continuing

presence in that industry, the very mode of regulation about

which they now complain. One who “embarks in a business

20a

Appendix E

which public interest demands. . . be regulated. . . must know

regulation will ensue.” Nebbia v. New York, 291 U.S. 502, 534

(1934).

Plaintiffs do not escape the consequences of this result by

claiming, as they do, that the Secretary’s regulations go beyond

what reasonably could have been anticipated at the outset. On

more than one occasion, the Supreme Court has declared that

commercial dealings subject toregulatory control must contend

with the possibility that the “legislative scheme [may be]

buttressed by subsequent amendments to achieve the legislative

end.” Connolly v. Pension Benefit Guaranty Corp.,475U.S.211,

227 (1986) (quoting F-H.A. v. Darlington, Inc., 358 U.S. 84,91

(1958)). Indeed, only recently, in Lucas v. South Carolina

Coastal Council, 112 S. Ct. 2886, 2899 (1992), the Court

reiterated that “by reason of the State’s traditionally high degree

of control over commercial dealings, [an owner of personal

property] ought to be aware of the possibility that new regulation

might even render his property economically worthless (at least

if the property’s only economically productive use is sale or

manufacture for sale.”

What underlies this rule is the Government’s plenary

authority over commerce. That authority, where it exists, has

been described as “complete and perfect.” United States v. Rock

Royal Co-operative, Inc., 307 U.S. 533, 569 (1939). Given,

therefore, the pervasive presence of the Federal Government in

the regulation of American agriculture during the past half-

century, plaintiffs cannot reasonably assert a property interest in

their almond crops free of Government control. The

Government’s power to regulate the flow of agriculture products

affecting interstate commerce is a pre-existing limitation on

2la

Appendix E

plaintiffs’ property interest in their almonds. The legitimate

exercise of that power cannot give rise to a taking claim.‘

CONCLUSION

Property rights are created and defined “ ‘by existing rules

or understandings that stem from an independent source such as

state law.’ ”. Webb's Fabulous Pharmacies, Inc. v. Beckwith, 494

U.S. 155, 161 (1980) (quoting Board of Regents v. Roth, 408 U.S.

564, 577 (1972)). The plaintiffs in this suit can point to no

existing rules or understandings that would give substance to

their claim that, because of the marketing constraints imposed

upon them by the Government's exercise of its power over

interstate commerce, they are entitled to compensation.

Plaintiffs have failed to state aclaim on which relief can be

granted. Accordingly, we grant defendant’s motion to dismiss

and direct the entry of judgment dismissing the complaint.

4. Indeciding this case onthe single ground discussed in the opinion, we

do not mean to signify agreement with plaintiffs’ view that the almonds held

in reserve represent a separable component of property, distinct from the

remainder of the annual crop. To the contrary, for Fifth Amendment purposes,

“property” may not be defined more narrowly than the investment-backed

expectation supporting it. Keystone Bituminous Coal Ass'n v. DeBenedictis,

480 U.S. 470, 497-99 (1987). It is at least arguable, therefore, that correctly

defined, plaintiffs’ “property” consists of the entirety of their respective

annual crops. Pursuing this definition would, presumably, moot any claim to

compensation since plaintiffs do not contend that their businesses, as a whole,

have been rendered unprofitable by the Secretary's regulations. .

22a

APPENDIX F — OPINION OF THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

DECIDED DECEMBER 22, 1993

CAL-ALMOND, INC., a California corporation

Plaintiff-Appellant,

V.

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

Defendant-Appellee.

CAL-ALMOND, INC., a California corporation, Saulsbury

Orchard and Almond Processing, Inc., Carlson Farms, a sole

proprietorship

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

V.

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

Defendant-Appellee.

CAL-ALMOND, INC., a California corporation, Gourmet

Packing Co., a California corporation, Gold Hills Nut Co., Inc.,

a California corporation

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

V.

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

Defendant-Appellee.

CAL-ALMOND, INC., a California corporation, Gold Hills Nut

Co., Inc., a California corporation

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

23a

Appendix F

v.

UNITED STATES of America

Defendant-Appellee.

Nos. 92-16033, 92-16034, 92-16031 and 92-16527.

United States Court of Appeals,

Ninth Circuit.

Argued and Submitted Jan. 12, 1993.

Decided Dec. 22, 1993.

* * »*

Brian C. Leighton, Clovis, CA, for plaintiffs-appellants.

Jeffrica Lee, U.S. Dept. of Justice, Washington, DC, for

defendant-appellee.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the Eastern

District of California.

Before. CHOY, SCHROEDER, and BRUNETTI, Circuit Judges.

BRUNETTI, Circuit Judge:

Two groups of almond handlers are challenging various

provisions of the California Almond Marketing Order, which

regulates the California almond handling industry. Both groups

challenge the United States Department of Agriculture

(“USDA”) almond marketing program administered by the

California Almond Board (the “Board”). The first group is also

separately challenging the assessment imposition procedure

used by the Board from 1980 to 1986. The from 1980 to 1986.

24a

Appendix F

The second group is separately challenging the validity of the

reserve requirement rules for the crop years 1988-89 and 1990-

91. The district court affirmed a USDA Judicial Officer decision

upholding the Almond Marketing Order against these

challenges, and the handlers appeal. We affirm the district

court’s decision on the assessment imposition procedure and the

reserve requirement rules, but hold that the First Amendment

rights to freedom of expression and association.

I. THE ALMOND MARKETING PROGRAM

A. Facts and proceedings below.

Appellants Cal-Almond, Saulsbury Orchards, and Carlson

Farms are “handlers” f California almonds. They receive

almonds from growers, process them, and sell the resulting

product, primarily for use as ingredients in candy, ice cream, and

cereal. Cal-Almond and Saulsbury also operate mail-order

businesses through which they sell whole almonds.

The California almond handling industry is regulated by the

Almond Marketing Order, 7 C.F.R. Sec. 981 (the “Order’”’). The

Order was established in 1950 by USDA pursuant to the

Agricultural Marketing Agreement Act of 1937, 7 U.S.C. Sec.

608c (the “Act”). The purpose of the Act is to “establish and

maintain such orderly marketing conditions for agricultural

commodities in interstate commerce” as “to avoid unreasonable

fluctuations in supplies and prices.” 7 U.S.C. Secs. 602(1),

602(4) (1988). The Act authorizes the Secretary of Agriculture

(the “Secretary”) to issue, following notice and an opportunity

for hearing, marketing orders that will “tend to effectuate the

declared policy of [the Act]” with respect to the particular

commodity. 7 U.S.C. Sec. 608c(4) (1988).

NI SAEs ALA ihen Petite O Pd, wit

25a

Appendix F

The Order is administered by the Board, which has the

power to “make rules and regulations to effectuate the terms and

provisions” of the Order. 7 C.F.R. Sec. 981.38 (1993). The

Board has ten members, all of whom are industry representatives

appointed by the Secretary. The Board engages in a variety of

activities, including research and development, marketing,

quality control, and volume regulation. The Act specifically

provides that the Order may establish “marketing research and

development projects designed to assist, improve, or promote

the marketing” of almonds. 7 U.S.C. Sec. 608c(6)(I) (1988).

Pursuant to this authorization, the Board funds a generic pro-

almond public relations program, consisting of such items as

newspaper inserts containing almond recipes, leaflets and

magazine articles about the benefits of almonds, promotional

materials for school lunch programs, and press kits for industrial

customers.

The money to pay for the Board’s activities, including the

marketing program, comes from assessments collected from

handlers, based on the volume of almonds they handle.

However, the Act and the Order provide that a handler’s

assessment will be reduced, up toa point,' by the amount that the

handler spends on authorized advertising.” Before a handler can

1. Ahandler may receive credit against his assessment in an mount not

to exceed “that portion of his assessment designated for marketing promotion

including paid advertising.” 7 C.F.R. Sec. 981.41(c) (1993). Forexample, for

the 1986-87 crop year, the overall assessment was 2.6cents per pound, and the

maximum credit was 2.5cents per pound.

2. The Act provides that handlers may receive credit “for such

marketing promotion including paid advertising as may be authorized by the

[O}rder.” 7 U.S.C. Sec. 608c(6)(1) (1988). The Order authorizes the Board,

(Cont'd)

26a

Appendix F

receive credit for his marketing promotion expenditures, the

Board must determine that such expenditures meet the

requirements of the “creditable advertising regulations” set

forth in 7 C.F.R. Sec. 981.441.

The Order thus establishes an overall almond marketing

program, which combines generic almond promotion conducted

by the Board with Board-approved handler advertising.

Beginning in 1984, appellant Saulsbury, which strongly opposed

this program, refused to pay its annual assessments to the Board.

In 1986, the United States sought an injunction in federal district

court, pursuant to 7 U.S.C. Sec. 608a(6), to compel payment of

some $300,000 in assessments which Saulsbury allegedly owed

and had not paid to the Board. Saulsbury Orchards and Almond

Processing, Inc. v. Yeutter, 917 F.2d 1190, 1193 (9th Cir.1990).

The district court granted summary judgment in favor of the

government, and ordered Saulsbury to comply with the Order

and pay the assessments. Id. The court refused to entertain

Saulsbury’s affirmative First Amendment defenses because it

found that Saulsbury had not exhausted its administrative

remedies pursuant to 7 U.S.C. Sec. 608c(15)(A).

In April 1987, Saulsbury, joined by appellants Cal-Almond

and Carlson Farms, filed an administrative petition, pursuant to

7 U.S.C. Sec. 608c(15)(A), challenging numerous parts of the

Order (including the almond marketing program) for the crop

(Cont'd)

with the approval of the Secretary, to provide “for crediting all or any portion

of a handier’s direct expenditures for marketing promotion including paid

advertising, that promotes the sale of almonds, almond products, or their

uses.” 7C.F.R. Sec. 981.41(c) (1993).

mn

27a

Appendix F

years 1980-87. Following a hearing in the summer of 1989, a

USDA administrative law judge (“ALJ”) issued a decision on

June 22, 1990 upholding some of appellants’ challenges but

rejecting others, including the challenge to the marketing

program. Both sides appealed the ALJ’s decision to the USDA

Judicial Officer (“JO”). On January 23, 1991, the JO upheld the

Order in all respects.

Meanwhile, Cal-Almond had filed another petition

pursuant to 7 U.S.C. Sec. 608c(15)(A), challenging a specific

section of the creditable advertising regulations, 7 C.F.R. Sec.

981.441(c)(2), for the crop year 1988. The ALJ upheld the

challenge, but his decision was reversed by the JO. The two

petitions were consolidated for cross-motions for summary

judgmentto the district court. On June 3, 1992, the district court

issued an order upholding the JO’s decisions in their entirety.

Appellants appeal this order.

B. Standard of review.

We review de novo a district court’s grant of summary

judgment. T.W. Electrical Serv., Inc. v. P2cific Elec. Contractors

Ass’n, 809 F.2d 626, 629 (9th Cir.1987). We must determine,

viewing the evidence in the light most favorable to the

nonmoving party, whether there are any genuine issues of

material fact and whether the district court correctly applied the

relevant substantive law. Tzung v. State Farm Fire and Casualty

Co., 873 F.2d 1338, 1339-40 (9th Cir. 1989).

3. Saulsbury, believing that it would suffer irreparable injury if it were

forced to exhaust its administrative remedies, also filed acomplaint in district

court, again alleging that the Order was unconstitutional. The district court

again dismissed the action on the ground that Saulsbury had failed to exhaust

its administrative remedies. Saulsbury, 917 F.2d at 1193. We affirmed the

dismissal in Saulsbury. Id. at 1197.

28a

Appendix F

C. Discussion.

1. Infringement on appellants’ First Amendment rights.

The district court held that the almond marketing program

did not even implicate, let alone violate, appellants’ First

Amendment rights, “because plaintiffs are not ‘compelled’ to

advertise.” However, while the Order clearly does not compel

appellants to advertise, it does compel them to expend a certain

sum of money every year, on either assessments or creditable

advertising. Since either alternative burdens appellants’ First

Amendment rights, these rights are clearly implicated by a

program containing both.

Assume first that the creditable advertising regulations did

not exist and that handlers paid the full amount of their

assessment to the Board. A substantial portion of that amount

would be used by the Board for the generic almond promotion

program, which infringes on appellants’ First Amendmentright

to be free from compelled speech and association. See United

States v. Frame, 885 F.2d 1119 (3d Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493

U.S. 1094, 110 S.Ct. 1168, 107 L.Ed.2d 1070 (1990). Frame

involved a First Amendment challenge to the Beef Promotion

and Research Order, 7 C.F.R. Secs. 1260.101-.217, promulgated

by USDA pursuant to the Beef Promotion and Research Act, 7

U.S.C. Secs. 2901-11. The Beef Promotion Order established a

“Cattlemen’s Board,” whose goal would be to increase beef

sales, and authorized it to collect an assessment of $1.00 per head

of cattle from cattle producers and importers. Id. at 1122-23.

Frame, a cattle breeder and auctioneer, refused to pay the

assessment, and, when sued by the federal government, asserted

that the Beef Promotion Act violated his First Amendment rights

of free association and free speech. Id. at 1129.

29a

Appendix F

The Third Circuit noted first that citizens arguably do not

have the right to refuse to support financially government

| programs that involve speech they find objectionable. Id. at

| 1131. However, the court also found that the promotional

expression sponsored by the Cattlemen’s Board could not

properly be characterized as “government speech”

Both the right to be free from compelled

expressive association and the right to be free

from compelled affirmation of belief

presuppose a coerced nexus between the

individual and the specific expressive

activity. When the government allocates

| money from the general tax fund to

| controversial projects or expressive

activities, the nexus between the message

and the individual is attenuated. In contrast,

where the government requires a publicly

identified group to contribute to a fund

earmarked for the dissemination of a

particular message associated with that

group, the government has directly focused

its coercive power for expressive purposes

. . . This sort of funding scheme [establishes

a] close nexus between the individual and the

message funded.

Id. at 1132 (citations omitted) (emphasis added). The court

found that the Beef Promotion Act implicated Frame’s First

Amendmentrights because it resembled other funding schemes

that the Supreme Court had held to implicate individuals’ First

Amendmentrights. Id. at 1132-33, citing Abood v. Detroit Bd.

of Educ., 431 U.S. 209, 97 S.Ct. 1782, 52 L.Ed.2d 261 (1977)

LI A

30a

Appendix F

(union-management agency shop agreements, which require

that every employee pay the union a service charge equal in

amount to union dues, impinge on employees’ rights to be free

from compelled affirmation of belief and compelled association

for expressive purposes) and Wooley v. Maynard, 430 U.S.705,

97 S.Ct. 1428, 51 L.Ed.2d 752 (1977) (state law requiring

citizens to bear state slogan, “Live Free or Die,” on automobile

license plates, implicates First Amendment rights because law

requires individuals to participate in the dissemination of an

ideological message).

The Board’s almond promotion program closely resembles

the beef promotion program at issue in Frame. In both cases, a

“publicly identified group” (cattlemen or almond handlers) must

contribute money to fund the “dissemination of a particular

message associated with that group.” For the same reason that

the beef program implicated Frame’s First Amendment right to

be free from compelled speech and association, then, the Board’s

promotional efforts implicate appellants’.

Assume next that the Order imposed on handlers no

assessment or other compelled contribution to the Board

whatsoever, but only required that they spend the equivalent sum

every year on advertising that met the requirements of 7 C.F.R.

Sec. 981.441. Such an Order also would clearly implicate

appellants’ First Amendment rights, both because it would

compel them to speak and because it would impose content-

based restrictions on that speech. See Wooley, 430 U.S. at 714,

97 S.Ct. at 1435 (“the right of freedom of thought protected by

the First Amendment against state action includes both the right

to speak freely and the right to refrain from speaking at all.”).

Thus, both an assessment-only program and an advertising-

aaa i al nn ce acca

Se ee

3la

Appendix F

only program would implicate appellants’ First Amendment

rights. Because the Order is acombination of both, it implicates

those rights as well. USDA’s argument that the creditable

. advertising regulations do not implicate those rights because

; they donot “compel” appellants to advertise ignores the fact that

if handlers do not advertise according to the regulations, they

must contribute their assessment to the Board,‘ which is itself a

type of compulsion implicating appellants’ First Amendment

rights.

; 2. Type of speech restricted.

Having determined that the almond marketing program

implicates appellants’ First Amendment rights, we must now

select the proper standard to evaluate the constitutionality of the

program. Appellants claim, and we agree, that the program

infringes on both their right to free speech and their right to free

association. The Supreme Court has established different tests

for each of these. Restrictions on lawful and non-misleading

commercial speech*® are evaluated using the three-prong

4. Handlers may also earn credits by engaging in other promotional

activities, such as distributing sample packages of almonds to charitable or

educational outlets, purchasing promotional materials available from the

Board, or certain direct mail promotions. 7 C.F.R. 981.441(d)(1)(i)-(iii)

(1993). The availability of such options does not change the First Amendment

analysis; they simply represent other types of expressive activity the only

alternative to which is the compelled assessment. In practice, the “vast

majority” of creditable advertising expenditures are spent on advertisements

and not on these alternatives.

5. “Commercial speech” is that which “propose[s] a commercial

transaction.” Posadas de Puerto Rico Assoc. v. Tourism Co. of Puerto Rico,

478 U.S. 328, 340, 106 S.Ct. 2968, 2976, 92 L.Ed.2d 266 (1986) (quotation

(Cont'd)

I

a aa mma ama a

tha Bite Bee

32a

Appendix F

standard of Central Hudson Gas & Elec. Corp. v. Public Serv.

Comm’nofN.Y., 447 U.S. 557, 100 S.Ct. 2343, 65 L.Ed.2d 341

(1980). First, the asserted government interest behind the

restrictions must be “substantial.” Id. at566, 100 S.Ct. at 2351.

Second, the restrictions must “directly advance[ ] the

governmental interest asserted.” Id. Third, the restrictions must

be “not more extensive than is necessary to serve that interest.”

Id.

Government programs that compel association are

evaluated under a more stringent standard. The Supreme Court

has recognized that “[f]reedom of association ... plainly

presupposes a freedom not to associate.” Roberts v. United

States Jaycees, 468 U.S. 609, 623, 104 S.Ct. 3244, 3252, 82

L.Ed.2d 462 (1984). See alsoIDK, Inc. v. Clark County, 836 F.2d

1185, 1192 (9th Cir.1988) (“[t}he first amendment. . . gives us

the freedom not to assemble with those whose goals we do not

share.”). In Roberts, the Supreme Court held that infringements

on the right of free association must be “adopted to serve

compelling state interests, unrelated to the suppression of ideas,

that cannot be achieved through means significantly less

restrictive of associational freedoms.” Roberts, 468 U.S. at 623,

104 S.Ct. at3252. The Frame majority applied this test to the

Beef Promotion Act. See Frame, 885 F.2d at 1134. However,

because we hold the almond marketing program

unconstitutional even under the less stringent Central Hudson

standard, we do not decide which of these two should apply. See

id. at 1146 (Sloviter, J., dissenting).

(Cont'd)

omitted). All of the promotional efforts undertaken by the Board, whether

directly (through its own activities) or indirectly (through the inducements of

the creditable advertising regulations), are aimed at increasing almond sales.

The program therefore deals with commercial speech.

ae na Sed te a a

33a

Appendix F

Appellants contend that their own almond advertising

contains a mixture of commercial and political speech and is

therefore entitled to a higher level of protection under Riley v.

National Fed’n of Blind, 487 U.S. 781, 108 S.Ct. 2667, 101

L.Ed.2d 669 (1988). Riley addressed a First Amendment

challenge to a North Carolina requirement that professional

fundraisers disclose to potential donors, before an appeal for

funds, the percentage of charitable contributions collected

during the previous twelve months that were actually turned over

to charity. Id. at 795, 108 S.Ct. at 2676-77. The Supreme Court

found the regulation unconstitutional under strict scrutiny. Id. at

798, 108 S.Ct. at 2678. The Court applied strict scrutiny because

although the speech at issue was arguably commercial, and thus

subject to a more deferential standard of review, “the speech

[does not] retain[ ] its commercial character when it is

inextricably intertwined with otherwise fully protected

speech”—in that case, charitable solicitation. Id. at 796, 108

S.Ct. at 2677 (emphasis added).

In the present case, however, the commercial speech,

although arguably “compelled,” is not inextricably intertwined

with higher-value noncommercial speech. Appellants’ political

appeals are not essential components of their advertisements.

“[A]dvertising which links a product to a current public debate

is not thereby entitled to the constitutional protection afforded

noncommercial speech.” Zauderer v. Office of Disciplinary

Counsel, 471 U.S. 626, 637 n. 7, 105 §.Ct. 2265, 2274 n. 7, 85

L.Ed.2d 652 (quotation omitted).

Thus, the Riley rationale for applying strict scrutiny is not

present here.

34a

Appendix F

3. Application of the Central Hudson test.

Once again, for the almond marketing program to be

constitutional, (a) the asserted government interest behind it

must be “substantial,” (b) the program must “directly advance”

that interest, and (c) the program must not be more extensive than

necessary to serve that interest. Central Hudson, 447 U.S. at 566,

100 S.Ct. at 2351. USDA has the burden of justifying the

program by presenting evidence sufficient to satisfy these

requirements. Edenfield v. Fane,___ U.S. 113 S.Ct. 1792,

1800, 123 L.Ed.2d 543 (1993).

—_—-) 9

(a) Substantial government interest.

We “must identify with care the interests the State itself

asserts.” Edenfield, at__, 113 S.Ct. at 1798. USDAclaims that

the government has a “compelling and important interest in

promoting the consumption of almonds” in order to “provide for

greater stability in the products of agriculture” and “protect the

income of farmers.” Brief forthe Appellee at 32. The Act itself

states that the purpose of the creditable advertising program is to

“assist, improve, or promote the marketing, distribution, and

consumption of [almonds].” 7 U.S.C. Sec. 608c(6)(I) (1988).

See also 36 Fed.Reg. 20,887, 20,888 (1971) (the program will

“provide an additional method of stimulating almond

consumption”); 35 Fed.Reg. 7428, 7432 (1970) (the program

will provide the “opportunity to stimulate the demand for

aimonds”). We agree that stimulating the demand for almonds in

order to enhance returns to almond producers and stabilize the

health of the almond industry is a substantial state interest. See

Frame, 885 F.2d at 1134 (government has acompelling interest

in “maintaining and expanding beef markets” in order to

aise resin Se

35a

Appendix F

“prevent[ ] further decay of an already deteriorating beef

industry).

(b) Direct advancement of the interest.

Next, USDA must show that the program “directly advances

the governmental interest asserted.” Central Hudson, 447 U.S.

at 566, 100 S.Ct. at 2351. “[T]he regulation[s] may not be

sustained if [they] provide[ ] only ineffective or remote support

for the government’s purpose.” Id. at 564, 100 S.Ct. at 2350.

Furthermore, we may not simply defer to legislative and

executive judgment on this question; we must determine

ourselves whether the program directly advances USDA’s

asserted interests. City Council v. Taxpayers for Vincent, 466

U.S. 789, 803 n. 22, 104S.Ct. 2118, 2127 n. 22, 80 L.Ed.2d 772

(1984). We apply this test first to the creditable advertising

regulations specifically, and then to the overall almond

promotion program.

Because the Order forces each handler to fund Board

promotional efforts with every assessment dollar not spent on

creditable advertising, USDA must show both that the

advertising for which credit is granted is better at selling

almonds than the Board’s own efforts and that the advertising for

which credit is denied is worse at selling almonds than the

Board’s own efforts. As a starting point for our analysis,

therefore, we must determine how effective the Board’s own

almond promotion efforts are. USDA has presented little solid

evidence on this question. The following exchange, which

occurred at the hearing before the ALJ between counsel for Cal-

Almond and Skip Hubbard, chairman of the Board’s Public

Relations and Advertising Committee, is highly instructive:

36a

Appendix F

Q: [H]as the Public Relations and

Advertising Committee since you have been

chairman, ever hired somebody to analyze

whether or not the creditable advertising

rules and the assessment amount spent on

advertising, have caused more sales of

almonds?

A: It has not been—we have not ha[d] a

survey conducted.

Q: So would it be safe to say that you don’t

have any empirical data as to whether or not

the advertising assessments have assisted in

the. . .sale and consumption of almonds?

A: No study has been made on that.

Q: Has any study been made as to whether

or not certain provisions of section 981.441

have created more sales or less sales than

other provisions?

A: We have not commissioned any study

forthat. [...]

Q: [ ...] Has the Almond Board, the

Public Relations and Advertising

Committee, ever made a determination as to

whether or not the advertising itself, or the

promotion itself, done by the Board has

increased grower returns?

weal * A. WEE See We

37a

Appendix F

A: The Committee believes that the

promotional activities are beneficial to

grower returns.

Q:[. . .] Has any study been conducted?

A: No.

Transcript of 1/25/90 hearing before USDAALJ Hunt at 158-

60.° Because USDA has presented little orno evidence regarding

the effectiveness of the Board’s promotional efforts, it cannot

show that the creditable advertising regulations “directly

advance” the government’s interest in increased almond sales by

enhancing the effectiveness of those efforts.’ See Edenfield, _ wl

U.S. at__,__, 113 S.Ct. at 1800 (Florida Board of Accountancy

6. Roger Baccigaluppi, the president and chief executive officer of Blue

Diamond, testified that a professor at the University of California-Davis had

conducted a study whose results demonstrated that the advertising program

had been successful in increasing grower returns. However, this study is not

part of the record.

7. USDA asserts that creditable advertising may “reasonably be

expected to increase the sale of almonds,” Brief for the Appellee at 31, and

cites to the rule-making records underlying the regulations to support its

assertion. However, these records address only minor amendments to the

regulations made during the past decade, and not to the initial adoption of the

bulk of the regulations, including the most restrictive ones. See, e.g., 49

Fed.Reg. 19,978 (May 10, 1984) (increasing the amount of credit handlers

receive for advertising almond butter); 50 Fed.Reg. 16,451 (April 26, 1985)

(doubling the portion of creditable advertising that may be carried over from

one crop year to the next); 52 Fed.Reg. 13,427 (April 23, 1987) (allowing

credit for the cost of purchasing mailing lists, envelopes and postage used in

mail order promotions).

38a

Appendix F

fails to justify ban on personal solicitation of prospective

business clients by accountants when it provides no studies or

anecdotal evidence suggesting that such solicitation creates the

asserted dangers of fraud, overreaching, or compromised

independence).

In fact, most of the evidence in the record indicates that the

regulations hinder the handlers’ efforts to increase sales and

returns to growers. Forexample, most of appellant Saulsbury’s

sales were to cereal companies, but Saulsbury could not receive

credit for advertising the cereals containing its almonds because

the regulations deny credit for products that do not contain at

least 50 percent raw shelled almonds by weight and do not

display the handler’s brand. See 7 C.F.R. Sec. 981.441(c)(3)(iv).

When achain of mini-markets in the Boise, Idaho area agreed to

carry Saulsbury almonds, Saulsbury could not receive credit for

advertisements directing consumers to those stores becausethe

regulations deny credit for advertisements directing consumers

to retail outlets not “operated” by a handler. See 7 C.F.R. Sec.

981.441(c)(5)(iii).

Because of these restrictions, Saulsbury estimated that

every dollar spent on creditable advertising returned less ihan

fifty cents in sales.

Cal-Almond’s experience with the regulations was

similarly disappointing. Cal-Almond exports approximately 90

percent of its almonds for use as ingredient items, and nearly all

of the almonds it sells domestically are used in ice cream.

However, like Saulsbury and cereal, Cal-Almond cannot obtain

credit for advertising this ice cream because the regulations

forbid it. The only creditable advertising of any use to Cal-

Almond is that promoting its mailorder business, which is nota

Ri me cei i 2 hs a 8 et A he sa

Te Tn

©.

Cats de lat,

Es wh Rein See es

te Rind i NP ig EE eR

39a

Appendix F

profitable undertaking.* Overall, the evidence indicates that the

regulations hinder, rather than help, appellants’ efforts to sell

their almonds.

Finally, there is no evidence that the regulations stimulate

additional or more effective advertising from other handlers.

Blue Diamond is by far the largest handler and overwhelmingly

dominates the retail market;’ to “directly advance” the

government interest in increasing almond sales, the regulations

would have to give Blue Diamond an incentive to advertise more.

The record indicates, however, that they do not. Roger

Baccigaluppi, the president and chief executive officer of Blue

Diamond, testified that Blue Diamond would “probably”

continue to spend just as much money advertising even if the

regulations did not exist. Walter Payne, Blue Diamond’s vice

president for sales, marketing and distribution, testified that

Blue Diamond would advertise the same amount and in the same

manner in the absence of the regulations.

In sum, the record indicates that the regulations do not

stimulate additional or more effective advertising from Blue

Diamond. Appellants have presented evidence showing that the

regulations hinder their own marketing efforts, and USDA has

presented no evidence that the regulations assist the efforts of

other handlers. Therefore, we hold that the regulations do not

“directly advance” the government’s asserted interest in

8. Forexample, in 1987 Cal-Almond spent nearly $300,000 advertising

the business but its gross mail order sales were less than $100,000.

9. AsofJuly 1987, Blue Diamond had a 92 percent share of almonds sold

in grocery stores.

40a

Appendix F

increased almond sales and are therefore an unconstitutional

restriction on appellants’ First Amendment rights.

Whether the entire assessment-funded almond promotion

program “directlyadvances” the governmental interests in

increased almond sales and returns to growers is amore difficult

question. The Supreme Court assumes as a matter of law that

advertising increases consumption of the product or service

being advertised. See Posadas de Puerto RicoAssoc. v. Tourism

Co. of Puerto Rico, 478 U.S. 328, 342, 106S.Ct. 2968, 2977, 92

L.Ed.2d 266 (1986) (“[wJe think [that] the legislature’s belief

[that advertising of casino gambling would serve to increase the

demand for the product advertised| is a reasonable one’’);

Central Hudson, 447 U.S. at 569, 100S.Ct. at 2353 (“[t]here is an

immediate connection between advertising and demand for

electricity.”). Therefore, we may reasonably assume that the

Board’s promotional efforts have some positive effect on

almond demand (although, as noted above, the Board does not

know how significant the effect is).

However, because these efforts are funded with money that

handlers would presumably have spent on their own advertising,

we cannot compare the Board’s program with a no-advertising

situation; we must compare it to a situation where handlers spent

their assessments on their own marketing. USDA has presented

no evidence tending to show that the generic Board promotion

financed by that money sells almonds more effectively than the

specific, targeted marketing efforts of individual handlers.'° We

10. Once again, appellants have presented evidence to the contrary.

CloydAngle, the president of Cal-Almond, testified that the best way for him

to sell almonds is to bring potential customers to his plant and show them the

cleanliness and efficiency of his processing facilities. Spending money on

generic Board promotion does not help him do this.

Barnett i Oa A he neal nC ananaReRe cana mamaenNtn nn er a nn armel

Te

4la

Appendix F

agree with appellants’ argument that each handler knows best

how to sell his own almonds; we are unwilling to presume, inthe

absence of hard evidence to the contrary, that a government

agency is better at marketing than an individual businessperson.

The USDA has failed to meet its burden of showing that the

overall almond marketing program “directly advances” its stated

goals of selling more almonds and increasing returns to

producers. !!

(c) Not more extensive than necessary.

USDA must prove that the regulations are no more extensive

than necessary to serve the interest of increasing almond sales.

The Supreme Court held in Board of Trustees of State Univ. v.

Fox that this standard is notas strict as a “least restrictive means”

test:

What our decisions require is a fit between

the legislature’s ends and the means chosen

to accomplish those ends—a fit that is not

necessarily perfect, but reasonable; that

represents not necessarily the single best

disposition but one whose scope is in

proportion to the interest served; that

employs not necessarily the least restrictive

means but ... a means narrowly tailored to

achieve the desired objective.

11. The Frame majority held that mandatory assessments to the

Cattlemen's Board advanced the goals of the Beef Promotion Act because they

“prevent(ed) ‘free riders’ from receiving the benefits of the promotion and

research program without sharing the cost.” Frame, 885 F.2d at 1135. USDA

could make a similar argument here (although it has not). Such aconclusion,

however, presumes that the promotion itself advances the goals of the Act, a

presumption that we have rejected.

i iaiiiailibaa aaa

42a

Appendix F

492 U.S. 469, 480, 109 S.Ct. 3028, 3035, 106 L.Ed.2d 388

(1989).

USDA asserts that “[a]lthough it is possible that some forms

of advertising, though ineligible for credit, might also increase

the sale of almonds, the regulations reflect a reasonable

judgment that the Board will make better use of those monies in

its market promotion programs.” However, once again, USDA

offers no evidence in support of this “reasonable judgment.” It

certainly seems reasonable to assume that the advertisements for

which credit is explicitly permitted—generic advertisements,

expenditures for advertisements announcing future promotion

activities, and in-store supermarket advertisements—will

increase almond sales. However, USDA offers no justifications

for the restrictions that deny credit for certain advertisements:

ads promoting more than two complementary branded products

(Sec. 981.441(c)(5)(i)), ads promoting a product that also has

“competing nuts” (Sec. 981.441(c)(5)(ii)), or ads promoting

retail stores not owned by handlers (Sec. 981.441(c)(5)(iii)). It

is true that the fit between means and ends need not be perfect,

but there seems to be no logical justification for these types of

restrictions other than the restrictions are designed to benefit

Blue Diamond, who overwhelmingly dominates the retail

almond market, at the expense of smaller handlers such as

appellants, who sell primarily to ingredient manufacturers. This

court has interpreted Fox as holding that “restrictions which

disregard far less restrictive and more precise means are not

narrowly tailored.” Project 80’s, Inc. v. City of Pocatello, 942

F.2d 635, 638 (9th Cir.1991). The creditable advertising

regulations disregard such means, and therefore are more

extensive than necessary to serve the interest of increasing

almond sales. As the USDA has failed to present sufficient

evidence to satisfy the requirements of the Central Hudson test,

43a

Appendix F

the Almond Marketing Program violates appellants First

Amendmentrights.

II. THE ASSESSMENT IMPOSITION PROCEDURES

A. Facts and proceedings below.

As noted above, the funds required to finance the Board’s

activities are generated through assessments authorized by the

Act. The Order specifically provides that the assessment shall be

“such rate per pound of almonds... received by [the handler] for

his own account ... as the Secretary finds is necessary to

provide funds to meet the authorized [B]oard expenses and the

operating reserve requirements.” 7 C.F.R. Sec. 981.81(a)

(1993).

For the crop years 1980 through 1986, USDA issued final

rules containing budget estimates and assessment rates without

first publishing a proposed rule and requesting comments.

Appellants contend that this procedure violated the rule making

requirements of the Administrative Procedure Act (APA), which

requires “[g]eneral notice of proposed rule making ... unless

persons subject thereto are named and either personally served

or otherwise have actual notice thereof.” 5 U.S.C. Sec. 553(b)

(1988) (the “notice” requirement). The agency is also required

to give “interested persons an opportunity to participate in the

rule making” (the “comment” requirement) and “{a]fter

consideration of the relevant matter presented. . . incorporate in

the rules adopted a concise general statement of their basis and

purpose.” 5 U.S.C. Sec. 553(c) (1988). In addition to the time

required for the notice-and-comment procedure, an additional

thirty days must pass between the time the final rule is passed and

the time it takes effect. 5 U.S.C. Sec. 553(d) (1988).

44a

Appendix F

Following appellants’ administrative challenges to the

assessment imposition procedure,’? the ALJ found that notice

and comment pursuant to the APA should have been allowed.

The JO disagreed and ruled that “good cause” existed for

dispensing with notice and comment because the Secretary had

discretion to authorize such expenses as were reasonable and

likely to be incurred and because arriving at the assessment rate

was a ministerial and mechanical calculation. The district court

agreed with the JO.

B. Discussion.

1. Notice and comment.

We review de novo “the district court’s determinations on

issues of statutory interpretation, including the scope of the

notice-and-comment and publication requirements imposed by

the APA.” Mada-Luna v. Fitzpatrick, 813 F.2d 1006, 1011 (9th

Cir.1987). We hold that although the assessments are “rules”

subject to the notice-and-comment requirement of the APA, the

Secretary’s failure to give notice and request comments was

harmless.

The APA defines a “rule” as

the whole ora part of an agency statement of

generai or particular applicability and future

effect designed to implement, interpret, or

prescribe law or policy or describing the

organization, procedure, or practice

requirements of an agency and includes the

12. Outlined in section I.A. above.

45a

Appendix F

approval or prescription for the future of

rates.

5 U.S.C. Sec. 551(4) (1988) (emphasis added). We agree with

appellants that establishing an assessmentisa “prescription for

the future of rates.” The Order itself defines the assessment as

a “rate per pound of almonds.” 7 C.F.R. Sec. 981.81(a) (1993).

USDA's argument that the assessment procedure is not a rule

because it is simply the mechanical result of the Secretary’s

approving an agency’s budget fails under the D.C. Circuit's

opinion in Batterton v. Marshall, 648 F.2d 694 (D.C.Cir. 19890).

There, the court held that the exemption for budgetary approval

does not apply “where the agency action trenches on substantial

private rights and interests.” Id. at 708 (footnote omitted).

Because the assessment rate directly affects the financial

interests of appellants and other almond handlers, it is not

exempt from the notice-and-comment requirements of the APA.

The district court held that the Secretary’s failure to follow

the notice-and-comment procedure was excused by the “good

cause” exception to the APA, which excuses such failure

when the agency for good cause finds (and

incorporates the finding and a brief statement

of reasons thereof in the rules issued) that

notice and public procedure thereon are

impracticable, unnecessary, or contrary to

the public interest.

5 U.S.C. Sec. 553(b)(B) (1988) (emphasis added). The

announcement accompanying the rules provided the following

justification for dispensing with the notice-and-comment

procedure:

46a

Appendix F

To enable the Board to meet crop year

obligations, approval of the expenses and

assessment rate is necessary without delay.

Handlers and other interested persons were

given an opportunity to submit information

and views on the expense and assessment rate

at an open meeting of the Board. To

effectuate the declared purposes of the [A]ct

it is necessary to make these provisions

effective as specified.

45 Fed.Reg. 56,794 (1980). USDA contends that since the

Board’s annual harvest forecast and proposed budget both

depend on crop projections for that year, the formulation of a

recommended budget and assessment rate cannot be

accomplished early enough to allow for both notice and

comment and the postponement of the effective date of the rule

until 30 days after publication, as required by the APA.”

We disagree, based on our opinion in Riverbend Farms Inc.

v. Madigan, 958 F.2d 1479 (9th Cir.), cert.denied,__U.S.__, 113

S.Ct. 598, 121 L.Ed.2d 535 (1992). In Riverbend Farms,

handlers of navel oranges challenged the procedure used by the

Secretary to set weekly volume restrictions on the marketing of

the oranges. We first noted that

the good cause exception goes only as far as

its name implies: It authorizes departure

from the APA’s requirements only when

13. The Board recommended assessment rates at the annual July

meeting. However, in the years from 1980 to 1986, the earliest the Secretary

issued the final rule was August 26 in 1980, and the latest was October 19 in

1982.

47a

Appendix F

compliance would interfere with the

agency’s ability tocarry outits mission. The

agency thus must minimize conflict with the

APA by complying with those APA

requirements it is capable of complying with.

Id. at 1485. We then held that even though the volume-setting

meetings were conducted weekly, the Secretary had no reason

not to give notice of them (by means of publication in the Federal

Register) or allow written comments before promulgating

weekly volume restrictions. Id. at 1486. Because we found no

reason in Riverbend Farms to depart from the notice-and-

comment procedure for weekly meetings and rules, we can

discern no good cause here for the Secretary’s failure to follow

the procedure for annual meetings and rules.

We also cannot find good cause for the failure to wait thirty

days before allowing the rule to take effect. In Riverbend Farms,

we noted two reasons for the waiting period: it gives affected

parties time to adjust their behavior before the final rule takes

effect, and it usually causes no harm. Id. at 1485. These reasons

apply to the almonds context. From 1980 to 1986, delaying the

effective date of the rules by thirty days would have caused no

harm, because the Secretary always waited at least thirty days

before adopting a final rule anyway. Furthermore, the thirty days

would have given handlers an opportunity to estimate their

future costs and prices before the rule went into effect.

Therefore, we can see no reason not to follow this requirement,

and hold that the Secretary has failed to provide good cause for

his failure to follow the procedure mandated by the APA.

However, we find this failure to be harmless. “We have held

that the failure to provide notice and comment is harmless only

48a

Appendix F

where the agency’s mistake ‘clearly had no bearing on the

procedure used or the substance of decision reached.’ “

Riverbend Farms, 958 F.2d at 1487 (quoting Sagebrush

Rebellion, Inc. v. Hodel, 790 F.2d 760, 764-65 (9th Cir. 1980, ,».

Our harmless error analysis “must therefore focus on the procesis

as well as the result.” Id. (emphasis added). In Riverbend Farms,

we ultimately concluded that the Secretary’s failure to comply

with the APA’s notice-and-comment requirements im

promulgating the weekly navel orange volume restrictions was

harmless because the handlers knew that there would be

meetings every Tuesday, that proposed restrictions would be

contained in a position paper issued prior to the meetings, and

that the meetings would provide the opportunity for public

comment. Therefore, the handlers were not prejudiced by the

Secretary’s failure to follow the notice and comment procedure,

and the error was harmless. Id. at 1488.

The Secretary’s error in the instant case is harmless for the

same reasons. The Board holds open meetings in July of each

year to gather information reievant to estimating its budget and

the resulting assessment rate. During these meetings, the Board

receives comments and testimony from any and all interested

parties. After deciding on its recommendations, the Board

directly notifies each almond handler of the proposed

assessment rate. The Board then submits its recommendations

to the Secretary for approval; from 1980 to 1986, the assessment

rate set by the Secretary in the final rule was the same as the rate

that had been recommended by the Board. Therefore, under

Riverbend Farms, any error made by the Secretary in not

following the notice and comment procedure was harmless.

2. Validity of allegedly “retroactive” assessments.

From 1980 to 1986, the final rules establishing the annual

49a

Appendix F

assessments were not issued by the Secretary until at least

several weeks after the beginning of the crop year. However,

appellants had by that time already received a significant

quantity of almonds, and the assessments were applied to those

almonds as well. Appellants claim that doing so transformed the

assessments into impermissible “retroactive” rules.

The Supreme Court has noted that administrative rules must

be statements that have legal consequences only for the future.

Bowen v. Georgetown Univ. Hosp., 488 U.S. 204, 217, 109 S.Ct.

468, 476, 102 L.Ed.2d 493 (1988) (Scalia, J., concurring).

“Retroactive” rules—those that alter the past legal status of past

actions—are “not favored in the law.” Id. at 208, 109 S.Ct. at

471. However, they are permitted if the power to promulgate

them “is conveyed by Congress in express terms.” Id. (emphasis

added).

We agree with the district court that even if the assessments

are retroactive rules, Congress expressly granted the Secretary

the power to promulgate them. The Act provides that handlers

shall pay assessments for such expenses “as the Secretary may

find are reasonable and are likely to be incurred by such authority

or agency, during any period specified by him.” 7 U.S.C. Sec.

610(b)(2)(ii) (1988). Since the Order specifies the crop year to

be the relevant “period,” the Secretary may impose the

assessment on all almonds received during that time. As the

district court pointed out,

[t]he statutory language of Section

610(b)(2)(ii) mandates that each handler’s

pje volume of ail of the commodity covered

by the marketing order. The focus of the

Statute 1s on the ‘expenses likely to be

50a

Appendix F

incurred. . . during any period specified by

[the Secretary].’ The period specified by the

Secretary is the crop year July | through June

30. Therefore, the statute requires a handler

to share pro rata in any expenses likely to be

incurred by the Almond Board during a crop

year.

We hold that even if the assessment rules are “retroactive,” they

are permissible because they were authorized by Congress in the

Act.

3. Statement of basis and purpose.

Appellants contend that the final 1980-1986 assessment

rules failed to comply with the substantive requirements of the

APA because they did not include a “general statement of their

basis and purpose” as required by 5 U.S.C. Sec. 553(c).

However, regulations with no statement of basis and purpose

have been upheld where the basis and purpose was considered

obvious. See Citizens to Save Spencer County v. E.P.A., 600

F.2d 844, 884 (D.C.Cir.1979). This is just such a case. The

“purpose” of the assessment is clearly to fund the Board’s

operations, and the “basis” of the rate is the mechanical

application of the statutory formula. Because the basis and

purpose of the assessment rate are obvious, no express statement

was necessary to comply with the APA.

Ill. THE RESERVE REQUIREMENTS

A. Facts and proceedings below.

The reserve requirement is the mechznism the Board uses to

Sla

Appendix F

regulate the volume of almonds entering the market, pursuant to

the Act’s goals of protecting almond prices and maintaining an

orderly flow of almonds to market. 7 U.S.C. Sec. 608c(6)(A),

(C) (1988). Every year, the Board recommends to the Secretary

what percentage of the total almond crop should be “salable” and

what percentage should be held in “reserve” by handlers. 7

C.F.R. Sec. 981.49 (1993). Handlers may only sell the salable

percentage of almonds they receive; they must withhold from

marketing an amount equal to the reserve percentage. 7 C.F.R.

Sec. 981.50 (1993). The Secretary designates the final

percentage based on the Board’s recommendation and “any other

available information.” 7 C.F.R. Sec. 981.47 (1993).

The almond crop year begins on July 1 and ends June 30. 7

C.F.R. Sec. 981.19 (1993). For the 1988 crop year, the Board

recommended a 25 percent reserve requirement on July 20,

1988; the Secretary issued a proposed rule incorporating this

recommendation on September 16, 1988, allowing 15 days for

comment; and issued the final rule establishing the 25 percent

reserve requirement on January 25, 1989. Forthe 1990-91 crop

year, the Board recommended a 35 percent reserve requirement;

the Secretary issued a propesed rule on August 10, 1990, with the

same 15-day comment period; and the Secretary issued the final

rule on September 21, 1990.

Appellants Cal-Almond, Gourmet Packing, and Gold Hills

filed administrative petitions, pursuant to 7 U.S.C. Sec.

608c(15)(A), challenging the lawfulness of the procedures used

by the Secretary to establish the 25 percent reserve requirement

for the 1988-89 crop year; the validity of certain actions that the

Board and Secretary require handlers to take to comply with the

reserve requirement; and the validity of Secretary’s imposing

assessments on reserve almonds. After consolidation, the ALJ

52a

Appendix F

rejected most of the challenges, but held that the 1988-89 reserve

and assessmentrules were invalidly retroactive. On appeal, the

JO upheld the Secretary’s actions in all respects and the district

courtdid the same.

Appellants Cal-Almond and Gold Hills had also filed an

administrative petition challenging various USDA actions under

the Order for the crop year 1990-91. The ALJ rejected their

challenges and the JO affirmed. After appellants filed suit in

district court, the parties stipulated that the district court should

grant summary judgment for USDA without prejudice to

appellants’ right to appeal, which the district court did.

Appellants appeal both judgments.

B. Discussion.

1. Lawfulness of 1989-90 and 1990-91 reserve obligation rules.

(a) Retroactivity.

Appellants claim that the 1988-89 and 1990-91 reserve

obligation rules were unauthorized retroactive rules. We hold

that even if the rules were retroactive, they were expressly

authorized by Congress and were therefore valid. Georgetown

Univ. Hosp., 488 U.S. at 208, 109 S.Ct. at 471-72. The Act

provides that marketing orders may contain terms

{aJllotting, or providing methods for

allotting, the amount of [a] commodity. . .

which each handler may market. . . undera

uniform rule based upon the amounts which

each such handler has available for current

53a

Appendix F

shipment, or upon the amounts shipped by

each such handler in such prior period as the

Secretary determines to be representative, or

both, to the end that the total quantity of such

commodity ... to be marketed ... during any

specified period or periods shall be equitably

apportioned among all of the handlers

thereof.

7 U.S.C. Sec. 608c(6)(C) (1988). The focus of the statute is on

the total quantity of almonds to be marketed during any period

specified by the Secretary—in this case, the July 1-June 30crop

year. The statute requires the total quantity of almonds salable

during this period to be allotted “equitably” among the handlers.

To do so, the Secretary has to take into account almonds shipped

between the beginning of the crop year and the issuance of the

final reserve rule. Thus, the reserve obligation rules, even if

retroactive, are authorized by the Act.

(b) Arbitrariness.

We may set aside an agency’s decision if it was “arbitrary,

Capricious, an abuse of discretion, or otherwise not in

accordance with law.” Citizens for Clean Air v. E.P.A., 959 F.2d

839, 844 (9th Cir. 1992) (quotation omitted). Appellants contend

that the final 1988-89 reserve obligation rule was arbitrary and

capricious because it was issued after undue delay. The Board

recommended the 25 percent reserve obligation on July 20,

1988. The Secretary issued a proposed rule on September 16,

1988, but did not issue a final rule until January 25, 1989, over

four months later, and seven months into the crop year.

According to appellants, the most active times for almond sales

are in late summer and early fall; consequently, appellants argue,

54a

Appendix F

it was arbitrary and capricious for the Secretary to have waited

until well after this time had passed to issue a final reserve

obligation rule.

However, appellants have cited no cases, and we have found

none, holding that an agency’s delay in issuing arule makes the

rule itself arbitrary or capricious. Therefore, although the delay

was certainly unfortunate and should be avoided in the future, it

was not arbitrary or capricious."*

Appellants also contend that the 1988-89 and 1990-91

reserve obligation rules were arbitrary and capricious because

they did not include a sufficient statement of basis and purpose

as required by 5 U.S.C. Sec. 553(c). We disagree. Inthe 1988-89

rule, USDA set out its calculations of supply and demand for

California almonds and explained why a 25 percent reserve

obligation was necessary:

While this rule may restrict the amount of

almonds which handlers may sell in normal

domestic and expert markets, the salable and

reserve percentages are needed to lessen the

impact of the projected oversupply situation

facing the industry and to promote stronger

marketing conditions, thus avoiding

unreasonable fluctuations in prices and

supplies and improving grower returns. The

14. The cases cited by appellants address the adequacy of agency

explanations of the contents of their rules, not the delays in promulgating

them. See, e.g., North Germany Area Council v. Federal Labor Relations

Auth., 805 F.2d 1044 (D.C.Cir.1986); Celcom Communications Corp. v.

F.C.C., 789 F.2d 67 (D.C.Cir. 1986).

55a

Appendix F

reserve percentage is designed to reduce the

oversupply situation in the industry in the

1988-89 crop year by holding off the market

a percentage of the available almonds that

could be added to an already fully supplied

market. If the reserve were zero and all

available California almonds were salable,

almond prices, ina market which already has

record supplies on hand, would be expected

to drop in both domestic and foreign markets.

Thus, the Board’s recommendation for a 25

percent reserve is designed to effectuate the

purposes of the Act by avoiding unreasonable

fluctuations in supplies and prices.

54 Fed.Reg. 3584 (1989). Asimilar statement was included for

the 1990-91 reserve obligation rules. See 55 Fed.Reg. 38,793,

38,794 (1990). Both statements explain the rules’ basis (almond

supply and demand estimates) and purpose (avoiding

unreasonable fluctuations in supplies and prices).

Furthermore, USDA addressed the primary comments on

the proposed reserve obligations that were made during the 15-

day notice and comment period, such as objections to the crop

size estimates, demand estimates, and reserve obligation size.

See 54 Fed.Reg. 3584, 3585-87 (1989); 55 Fed.Reg. 38,793,

38,794-97 (1990).'* The rules thus satisfied the requirement that

15. The following example is illustrative:

Many commenters who opposed the 35 percent

reserve indicated that there is an over production of

California almonds and that holding almonds in

(Cont'd)

a oe ars

56a

Appendix F

they “indicate the major issues of policy that were raised in the

proceedings and explain why the agency decided to respond to

these issues as it did.” Independent United States Tanker Owners

Comm. v. Dole, 809 F.2d 847, 852 (D.C.Cir.), cert. denied, 484

U.S. 819, 108 S.Ct. 76, 98 L.Ed.2d 39 (1987).

Finally, appellants claim that the reserve obligation rules

were arbitrary and capricious because USDA did not follow the

dictates of Departmental Regulation (DR) 1512-1 in

promulgating them. We have no authority to review appellants’

challenge, because section i of DR 1512-1 states that “[t]his

directive ... is not intended to create any right or benefit,

substantive or procedural, enforceable at law by a party against

the Department, its agencies, its officers or employees or any

other person.” See Michigan v. Thomas, 805 F.2d 176, 187 (6th

Cir.1986) (this language evinces “clear and unequivocal intent

that agency compliance with Executive Order 12,291 not be

subject to judicial review”).

(Cont'd)

reserve this year will add to the surplus in following

years. Over the past decade, however, annual

marketable production has failed to meet trade demand

needs for the 1983-84, 1985-86, 1986-87, and 1989-90

crop years. Given the wide swings in production from

year to year which characterize the almond industry, it

is possible that the 1991 crop could fall short of 1991-

92 trade demand needs. If early projections of the 1991

crop indicate that this would likely be the case, an

appropriate quantity of 1990-91 crop year reserve

almonds would be released to the salable category to

augment 1991-92 crop year supplies.

55 Fed.Reg. 38,793, 38,794 (1990).

57a

Appendix F

2. 1990-91 agency agreements for reserve almond disposition.

A handler has two alternatives for disposing of reserve

almonds. First, the handler may turn them over to the Board,

which has the “power and authority to sell or dispose of any and

all reserve almonds withheld upon the best terms and at the

highest return obtainable.” 7 C.F.R. Sec. 981.66(a) (1993). The

Board then distributes the proceeds from such disposition to the

handlers on a pro rata basis. 7 C.F.R. Sec. 981.66(g) (1993).

Alternatively, the handler may obtain authorization from the

Board to act as the Board’s agent in disposing of the reserve; all

agents so authorized must sign agency agreements with the

Board which contain “such reasonable terms and conditions,

including inspection and certification requirements, as the

Board may specify”. 7 C.F.R. Sec. 981.67 (1993).

The agency agreements for the crop year 1990-91 contained

a provision stating: “If established by the Secretary, minimum

prices will apply to reserve almonds diverted to eligible outlets

. .. Agents will be notified of any such minimum price schedule

established.” Appellants contend that because the agency

agreements include this provision, they violate both the Act and

the APA.

(a) Agency agreements and the Act.

Appellants claim that the minimum price provision violates

the Act because the Act forbids the fixing of prices with respect

toalmonds. This is incorrect; the Act is silent regarding whether

agricultural marketing orders may set the prices that handlers

receive from their customers.'* The Act does state that almond

16. Appellants quote our observation in Pescosolido v. Block, 765 F.2d

827 (9th Cir. 1985), that “the Secretary is not empowered to fix prices for any

(Cont'd)

58a

Appendix F

marketing orders may provide for the establishment of reserve

pools of almonds and provide “for the equitable distribution of

the net return derived from the sale thereof among the persons

beneficially interested therein.” 7 U.S.C. Sac. 608c(6)(E)

(1988). The Almond Marketing Order further provides that

“[t]he Board shall have power and authority to sell or dispose of

any and all reserve almonds withheld upon the best terms and at

the highest return obtainable.” 7 C.F.R. 981.66(a) (1993)

(emphasis added). Because including minimum price

provisions in agency agreements is consistent with this mandate,

we hold that the agreements do not violate the Act.

(b) Agency agreements and the APA.

Appellants contend that the minimum price provision was

an “additional regulation” requiring the Secretary to follow the

APA’s notice-and-comment procedure before adopting the

agency agreements. '’ Appellants cite American Hosp. Ass’nv.

Bowen, 834 F.2d 1037 (D.C.Cir.1987), in support of their

argument. In American Hosp. Ass’n, the D.C. Circuit addressed

the issue of whether the Department of Health and Human

Services (HHS) had to subject certain of its contracts to APA

notice and comment. As part of the Medicare program, HHS was

(Cont'd)

[commodities other than milk] covered by the Act.” Id. at 830. Pescosolido is

inapplicable to the present case because it dealt with the prices that handlers

pay to producers, not the prices that handlers receive from their customers.

17. Agency agreements are contracts, and the APA does not apply to

matters “relating to agency management or personnel or to public property,

loans, grants, benefit, orcontracts.” 5 U.S.C. Sec. 553(a)(2) (1988) (emphasis

added). In 1971, however, USDA promulgated a regulation making the APA’s

procedural requirements applicable to all of its rule making relating to

contracts. 36 Fed.Reg. 13,804 (1971).

59a .

Appendix F

required to contract with “peer review organizations” (PROs),

private organizations of doctors that would monitor the

professional activities of Medicare service providers in their

areas. Id. at 1041. Congress granted HHS great discretion to

contract with each PRO as it saw fit, in order to tailor the service

review process to local needs. Id. at 1053. The statute provided

specifically that

Contracting authority of the Secretary under

this section may be carried out without regard

to any provision of law relating to the

making, performance, amendment or

modification of contracts of the United States

as the Secretary may determine to be

inconsistent with the purposes of this part.

Id. (quoting 42 U.S.C. Sec. 1320c-2(e)). The D.C. Circuit held

that this statutory language exempted HHS only from “the vast

corpus of laws establishing rules regarding the procurement of

contracts from the government,” and did not exempt HHS from

the “general restraints” of the APA. Id. at 1054. More

specifically, the language did not “restor[e] a broad exemption

from all APA requirements that would allow HHS on its own to

modify vitally important provisions of peer review.” Id. The

court found that since Congress had granted HHS very broad

discretion to implement the peer review program through

individualized contracts with PROs, the danger of HHS’

“legislating” the program through contractual terms was too

high unless those terms were subject to APA notice and

comment. Id. The court concluded that “any contract provisions

that are legislative are subject to Sec. 553’s notice and comment

requirements.” Id. (emphasis added).

60a

Appendix F

We find the agency agreements to be distinguishable from

the PRO agreements at issue in American Hosp. Ass’n. There,

the central mechanism for implementing the entire peer review

program was the PRO contracts, because Congress had

mandated that HHS enter into such acontract with a PRO ineach

area. Thus, there was areal danger that HHS would assume the

role of unelected legislative body and promulgate statutory law

under the guise of PRO contract terms. Here, by contrast, the

agency agreements are incidental to the administration of the

Order; they simply give handlers another, perhaps preferable,

option for disposing of their reserve almonds. Unlike the

program at issue in American Hosp. Ass’n, USDAis not required

to enter into agreements with handlers, nor is any individual

handler required to enter into an agreement with USDA.

Because the agreements are incidental to the entire program, and

because handlers have another option, there is little danger that

USDA will legislate through agency agreements.

Furthermore, even if the agency agreements did raise the

dangers identified in American Hosp. Ass’n, the only provision

that appellants specifically object to—the minimum price

provision—is not “legislative” and thus would not be subject to

APA procedures. The Act grants the Secretary the power to

“provid[e] for the equitable distribution of the net return derived

from the sale [of the reserve pool] among the persons

beneficially interested therein.” 7 U.S.C. Sec. 608c(6)(E)

(1988). We held above that a minimum price provision is a

legitimate means of enforcing this requirement; the provision is

thus a “procedural” rule exempt from the APA’s requirements.

See American Hosp. Ass’n, 834 F.2d at 1055 (“procedural” rules,

those that are “legitimate means of structuring [the agency’s]

enforcement authority,” are exempt from the APA notice and

comment requirement).

6la

Appendix F

3. Restrictions on handlers’ disposition of reserve almonds.

(a) Reserve almond storage requirements.

During the 1988-89 crop year, the Board informed handlers

that their reserve almonds had to be stored in California. The

Board instituted this requirement without foilowing the

procedural rule making requirements of the APA. Appellants

argue that the California storage rule is a substantive rule that

could have been promulgated only through compliance with the

APA.

The Order grants the Board the power to “receive,

investigate and report to the Secretary complaints of violations

of [the Order].” 7 C.F.R. Sec. 981.38 (1993). Toaid the Board in

exercising this power, the Order also provides that “[e]Jach

handler’s premises shall be accessible to authorized

representatives of the Board and the Secretary for examination

and audit of [certain] records and for inspection and cbservation

of almonds.” 7 C.F.R. Sec. 981.70 (1993). The California

storage rule helped ensure such accessibility and was thus a

“legitimate means of structuring [the agency’s] enforcement

authority.” American Hosp. Ass’n, 834 F.2d at 1055. We hold

that the California storage requirement, like the minimum price

provision, was a “procedural” rule exempt from the APA notice-

and-comment requirement. "*

18. While storing almonds in California may have inconvenienced

appellants, the mere fact that a rule may have a substantial impact “does not

automatically transform it into a legislative rule.” State ex rel. State Water

Resources Control Bd. v. Federal Energy Regulatory Comm’ n, 966 F.2d 1541,

1554 (9th Cir. 1992) (quotation omitted).

62a

Appendix F

(b) Future sales contracts for reserve almonds.

The Order prohibits the “handling” of reserve almonds. 7

C.F.R. Sec. 981.50(1993). The Order defines “to handle” as “to

sell” or “to put into channels of trade.” 7 C.F.R. Sec. 981.16

(1993). In December 1988 USDA sent out a letter stating that it

considered a contract for the disposition of reserve almonds

entered into before the release of the reserve to be a “sale” and

thus a prohibited act of “handling.” Effectively, then, USDA

prohibited handlers from entering into contracts to sell reserve

almonds.

Appellants contend that this letter was a rule that should

have been promulgated pursuant to the notice and comment

requirements of the APA. However, “interpretive” rules—

"those which merely clarify or explain existing law or

regulations”—are exempt from these requirements. Linoz v.

Heckler, 800 F.2d 871, 877 (9th Cir. 1986) (quotation omitted);

5 U.S.C. Sec. 553(b)(A) (1988). USDA’s prohibition on the pre-

release sale of reserve almonds is just such a rule, because it

interprets the Order’s prohibition on the handling of reserve

almonds. The rule is therefore exempt from APA notice and

comment.

4. Assessments on reserve almonds.

USDA currently imposes assessments on the total quantity

of almonds received by handlers, including those in the reserve.

Appellants contend that both the Act and the Order prohibit

USDA from doing so.

We disagree. The Act states that each handler shall be

assessed pro rata for reasonable Board expenses

63a

Appendix F

other than expenses incurred in receiving,

handling, holding, or disposing of any

quantity of acommodity received, handled,

held, or disposed of by such authority or

agency for the benefit or account of persons

other than handlers subject to such order.

7 U.S.C. Sec. 610(b)(2)(ii) (1988) (emphasis added). Appellants

argue that the Board does not dispose of the reserve almonds “for

the benefit of” the handlers and that therefore the Board cannot

impose assessments on those almonds to cover the expenses of

doing so. However, the proceeds from the Board’s disposition of

a handler’s almonds are turned over to the handler. 7 U.S.C. Sec.

608c(6)(E) (1988); 7 C.F.R. Sec. 981.66(g) (1993). The reserve

almonds are therefore disposed of “for the benefit” of the

handlers, and the Board may consequently impose assessments

on them.

We also reject appellants’ contention that the Order

prohibits the imposition of assessments on reserve almonds. The

Order states that a handler shall only be assessed on almonds

“received by him for his own account.” 7 C.F.R. Sec. 981.81(a)

(1993). All reserve almonds are originally “received” by

handlers for their own account, and thus subject to assessment.

Only after being received by handlers are acertain percentage of

almonds then “held” for the account of the Board. Even then,

they are not really held for the account of the Board in the sense

of the Board’s receiving the proceeds from the disposition

thereof, because the handlers get those proceeds. This

terminology and regulatory structure is admittedly somewhat

ambiguous, but “where Congressional intent is ambiguous,

courts should defer to a reasonable agency interpretation of a

statutory scheme the agency is entrusted to administer.” Railway

64a

Appendix F

Labor Executives’ Ass’n v. I.C.C., 958 F.2d 252, 256 (9th

Cir.1991). We defer to USDA’s reasonable interpretation of the

Order.

IV. THEADMINISTRATIVE REMEDY PROCEDURE

Appellants finally contend that the long and tortuous path

they have had to follow to exhaust their claims violates their right

to due process. While we understand appellants’ frustration with

the administrative remedy procedure, we must also reject their

argument. Appellants claim that the procedure does not provide

petitioners with a “clear and certain remedy;” however, we have

already held that a sufficient remedy for handlers who prevail in

their administrative petitions is a refund of any assessments

found not to have been due. Saulsbury Orchards, 917 F.2d at

1195 (quoting Navel Orange Admin. Comm. v. Exeter Orange

Co., 722 F.2d 449, 452 (9th Cir.1983)). '® As for the amount of

time appellants have spent pressing their claims, we agree with

the district court’s reasoning that

[while there is no question that completion

of the administrative process in connection

with this Section 15(A) petition was very

19. Contrary to appellants’ contention, the Supreme Court’s holding in

McKesson Corp. v. Division of Alcoholic Beverages & Tobacco, 496 U.S. 18,

110S.Ct. 2238, 110 L.Ed.2d 17 (1990), does not require the remedy to consist

of compensatory damages. The Court held only that an appropriate remedy for

taxes unlawfully collected from plaintiff could either be a refund of taxes

unlawfully collected or an assessment and collection of back taxes from the

plaintiff's competitors. }4. at 40, 110S.Ct. at2252. McKesson never held that

compensatory damages were required; it held only that a refund of unlawful

taxes was one possible way for the State to satisfy the requirements of the Due

Process Clause.

65a

Appendix F

lengthy, it is also apparent that some of the

delay resulted from the sheer number and

magnitude of the issues raised in the petition

as well as from the litigation tactics adopted

by plaintiffs... [T]he court thinks it

unrealistic of plaintiffs to expect prompt

resolution of the quality and quantity of

issues raised herein.

The length of the proceedings, although certainly

regrettable, was not a denial of due process.

V. CONCLUSION

We affirm the judgments for USDAon all issues except the

almond marketing program, which we find to violate the First

Amendment. We are now faced with the question of what remedy

to grant to appellants. Appellants request a full refund of the

assessments imposed upon them from 1980 to the present, as

well as attorneys’ fees and

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Cal-Almond, Inc. v. United States, 117 S. Ct. 385 (1996) (No. 96-11) | Frix