Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Foreman v. Dallas County

Supreme Court brief2000

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No. 991334 FEB7 - 2000

——————

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

B.C. FOREMAN, IDA CLARK, OTIS TARVER,

Louis Davis, and MAnpy PEsINA,

¥ Petitioners,

DALLAS COUNTY, TEXAS; COMMISSIONERS COURT OF

DALLAS County, TExAsS; LEE F. JACKSON, Dallas

County Judge; Jim JACKSON, JOHN WILEY PRICE, MIKE

CANTRELL, and KENNETH MAYFIELD, Dallas County

Commissioners; and BRUCE SHERBET, Elections Ad-

ministrator of Dallas County, Texas,

Respondents.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Fifth Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

PAUL M. SMITH * J. GERALD HEBERT

DONALD B. VERRILLI, JR. J. GERALD HEBERT, P.C.

SAM HIRSCH 5019 Waple Lane

JENNER & BLOCK Alexandria, VA 22304

601 Thirteenth Street, N.W. (703) 567-5873

Washington, D.C. 20005 Counsel for Petitioners

(202) 639-6000

KENNETH H. MOLBERG

ROGER G. WILLIAMS

WILSON, WILLIAMS &

MOLBERG, P.C.

2214 Main Street

Dallas, TX 75201-43824

(214) 748-5276 * Counsel of Record

FE RE EE PEE DENIAL OE AL LTE TOS LES TLE OD LS ET ROI TIS IID

WILSON-Epgs PRINTING Co., INC. - (202) 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether this Court’s decision in Farrar v. Hobby, 506

U.S. 103 (1992), repudiated the “catalyst theory” for

determining whether a civil-rights plaintiff is a “prevailing

party” eligible to recover attorneys’ fees.

2. Whether plaintiffs who brought an enforcement action

under Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act, 42 U.S.C. § 1973c,

“prevailfed]” and hence became eligible to recover attorneys’

fees under Section 14(e) of the Act, id. § 1973/(e), when they

succeeded in forcing the defendants to replace a voting

procedure that was racially and ethnically discriminatory and

had not been precleared under Section 5 with a new voting

procedure that is not discriminatory and has been precleared.

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ........-------++++0+00> i

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ..........--2eeeeeecces iV

¢ . § 4 26) ge aie 2

ee inc wk p eas vse seeceereseese seen 2

STATUTE TNVOLVED .o nc csc e esc ccccccenssecess 2

EE ep ee ee ee ee ee ee 2

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT .........--- 12

I. THE FIFTH CIRCUIT’S RULING EFFECTIVELY

PRECLUDES RELIANCE ON THE CATALYST THEORY

AND THUS SQUARELY CONFLICTS WITH RULINGS

OF MOST OTHER CIRCUITS. .....-----2eeeeeceees 14

Il. THE CONFLICT OVER THE CATALYST THEORY

SHOULD BE RESOLVED NOW. .......----+-eeee85 20

cape wear aveee ee teseneee eee 27

APPENDICES

APPENDIX A

Foreman vy. Dallas County, 193 F.3d 314

(Sth Cir. 1999)... 0.2... ccc e eee cece ee eeees la

APPENDIX B

Foreman v. Dallas County, Civil Action No.

3:96-CV-2764-D (N.D. Tex. Oct. 3, 1996)

(Temporary Restraining Order) .....---.-.--- 28a

ill

APPENDIX C

Foreman vy. Dallas County, 521 U.S. 979 (1997) ... 3la

APPENDIX D

Foreman vy. Dallas County, No. Civ. A.

3:96-CV-2764 (N.D. Tex. June 25, 1998)

(awarding attorneys’ fees)..------+--s5505 7" 34a

APPENDIX E

Foreman vy. Dallas County, No. 98-10864

(Sth Cir. Nov. 9, 1999) (denying rehearing) .... 50a

APPENDIX F

Statutory Provisions ee: Pe ree eee 52a

APPENDIX G

Declaration of Royce West ....------+sssrrttte 56a

APPENDIX H

Declaration of Debra Danburg ..---------++++7° 6la

APPENDIX I

Declaration of Terri Hodge ....-------ssssrttte 65a

APPENDIX J

Declaration of Steve McDonald ......----+:-++: 70a

Bibi seen. oe

~~

iV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Baumgartner v. Harrisburg Housing Authority,

21 F.3d 541 (3d Cir. 1994) ..........-04-- 13, 21, 27

Beard v. Teska, 31 F.3d 942 (10th Cir. 1994) ......... 13

Board of Education of Oak Park v. Nathan R. ex rel.

Richard R., 199 F.3d 377 (7th Cir. 2000) .......-.- 20

Brooks v. Georgia State Board of Elections,

997 F.2d 857 (fith Cir. 1993) ..... 0. cece eeccees 17

Christiansburg Garment Co. v. EEOC, 434 U.S. 412

Li | eee meh onnas te Dare ei ras 2 ee ea 2 eee 17

Citizens Against Tax Waste v. Westerville City School,

985 F.2d 255 (6th Cir. 1993) ........--- eee ee eens 13

City of Riverside v. Rivera, 477 U.S. 561 (1986) . . . 20, 21

Farrar v. Hobby, 506 U.S. 103 (1992) ........-. passim

Fogerty v. Fantasy, Inc., 510 U.S. 517 (1994) .....--- 23

Friends of the Earth, Inc. v. Laidlaw Environmental

Services (TOC), Inc., 120 S. Ct. 693 (2000) .... passim

Garcia v. Guerra, 744 F.2d 1159 (Sth Cir. 1984),

cert. denied, 471 U.S. 1065 (1985) ...........- 15, 16

Haley v. Pataki, 106 F.3d 478 (2d Cir. 1997) .......-. 16

Hanrahan vy. Hampton, 446 U.S. 754 (1980) ......--- 22

Hensley v. Eckerhart, 461 U.S. 424 (1983) ....-- passim

Hewitt v. Helms, 482 U.S. 755 (1987) ........--- passim

v

Institutionalized Juveniles v. Secretary of Public

Welfare, 758 F.2d 897 (3d Cir. 1985) ...---- eee eee 19

Kilgour v. City of Pasedena, 53 F.3d 1007

i ) ee a Sao Se cca 13

Little Rock School District v. Pulaski County Special

School District, #1, 17 F.3d 260 (8th Cir. 1994)..... 13

Lopez v. Monterey County, 119 S. Ct. 693 (1999) ...... 3

Maduka v. Meissner, 114 F.3d 1240 (D.C. Cir. 1997) .. 13

Maher v. Gagne, 448 U.S. 122 (1980) .....----- . 22,24

Maloney v. City of Marietta, 822 F.2d 1023

RO Cie IGRT) qo in ne es hadnt ees tne ne eens 15

Marbley v. Bane, 57 F.3d 224 (2d Cir. 1995) ..-.-- 13, 20

Marek v. Chesney, 473 U.S. 1 (1985)... +--+ see ere 12

Missouri v. Jenkins, 491 U.S. 274 (1989) ......----- 21

Morris v. City of West Palm Beach, 194 F.3d 1203

ANG Cie, T9DD) oss 55 6 5 Free savin s ns Coes 13

Morse v. Republican Party, 972 F. Supp. 355

CULT. Vin. TST) uw co nce c ns ese senor ren cccsse es 6

National Black Police Association v. District of

Columbia Board of Elections & Ethics,

168 F.3d 525 (D.C. Cir. 1999) ....----- seer erecee 16

Paris v. United States Department of Housing &

Urban Development, 988 F.2d 236 (Ist Cir. 1993) ... 13

Pennsylvania v. Delaware Valley Citizens’ Council

for Clean Air, 478 U.S. 546 (1986) ...-- eee eee 18

Rhodes v. Stewart, 488 U.S. 1 (1988) ...---++-- passim

vi

Robinson y. Kimbrough, 652 F.2d 458 (Sth Cir. 1981) . 10

Ruckelshaus v. Sierra Club, 463 U.S. 680 (1983) ..... 12

S-1 & S-2 v. State Board of Education, 6 F.3d 160

(4th Cir.), vacated and reh'g granted (4th Cir. 1993) . 22

S-1 & S-2 v. State Board of Education, 21 F.3d 49

(4th Cir.), cert. denied, 513 U.S. 876 (1994) ... passim

Texas State Teachers Association v. Garland

Independent School District, 489 U.S. 782

ih, Seewenreroe tree rrrere frre hore er passim

Williams v. Leatherbury, 672 F.2d 549 (Sth Cir. 1982) ..8

Zinn vy. Shalala, 35 F.3d 273 (7th Cir. 1994) 13, 20, 26, 27

STATUTES & REGULATIONS

y BRE Yam or. |) errr errs re eee ere ee 2

SS UIA. BUS oo concen cancsaebeyarvasesys 21

tk foe Oo: rr ere ree re ee eee 3

Peg bh Soe Dk er ee ee ee ee ee passim

42 U.S.C. § 197T3BK]) 2... cccenncscesecsnccees passim

ek ee | ree eT eee or 21, 23

po ae ee Gr ey ei ee eg ce YS 3

Tex. Elec. Code Ann. § 32.002(c)

(West Supp. 1998) .........--- eee eeeeeeees passim

Vil

LEGISLATIVE MATERIAL

S. Rep. No. 94-295 (1975), reprinted in

1975 U.S.C.C.A.N. 774 ...cccecceeces 18, 20, 21, 25

Civil Rights Attorney's Fees Awards Act of 1976,

OG Geet DEAL... wb dy ccc cae cr bins Ce en e o'e'e 22

as oot C—

Weta ns Lait ue

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

No.

B.C. FOREMAN, IDA CLARK, OTIS TARVER, LOUIS DAVIS, and

MANDY PESINA,

Petitioners,

V.

DALLAS COUNTY, TEXAS; COMMISSIONERS COURT OF DALLAS

COUNTY, TEXAS; LEE F. JACKSON, Dallas County Judge; Jim

JACKSON, JOHN WILEY PRICE, MIKE CANTRELL, and KENNETH

MAYFIELD, Dallas County Commissioners; and BRUCE

SHERBET, Elections Administrator of Dallas County, Texas,

Respondents.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Fifth Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioners seek review of a decision of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit reversing an award of

attorneys’ fees under Section 14(e) of the Voting Rights Act, 42

U.S.C. § 1973i(e).'

' All parties in the court below are listed in the caption, except for

Dominic De La Cruz, a plaintiff below who is now deceased.

2

OPINIONS BELOW

The Court of Appeals’ opinion is reported at 193 F.3d 314

(Sth Cir. 1999) and reprinted at Pet. App. la, and its order

denying rehearing is reprinted at Pet. App. 50a. The District

Court’s opinion and order granting the plaintiffs’ motion for an

award of attorneys’ fees is reprinted at Pet. App. 34a.

JURISDICTION

The Court of Appeals issued its decision on October 14,

1999, and its order denying a timely petition for rehearing on

November 9, 1999. This Court has jurisdiction under 28

U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTES INVOLVED

Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, 79 Stat. 439,

as amended, 42 U.S.C. § 1973c, is reprinted at Pet. App. 52a.

Section 14(e) of the Voting Rights Act, 89 Stat. 404 (1975), 42

U.S.C. § 1973K(e), is reprinted at Pet. App. 54a. Section

32.002(c) of the Texas Election Code, as amended in 1997,

Tex. Elec. Code Ann. § 32.002(c) (West Supp. 1998), is

reprinted at Pet. App. 55a.

STATEMENT

Six African-American and Hispanic citizens brought a

successful enforcement action under Section 5 of the Voting

Rights Act, 42 U.S.C. § 1973c, which forced the defendant

Dallas County to implement a new, nondiscriminatory

procedure for appointing precinct election judges. The District

Court held that the plaintiffs were “prevailing parties” within

3

the meaning of the Act and ordered Dallas County to pay them

reasonable attorneys’ fees. A divided panel of the Court of

Appeals for the Fifth Circuit reversed. The Fifth Circuit's

decision misread this Court’s precedents and exacerbated an

existing conflict among the circuits — a circuit split that this

Court expressly recognized (but did not resolve) earlier this

Term, in Friends of the Earth, Inc. v. Laidlaw Environmental

Services (TOC), Inc., 120 S. Ct. 693, 711-12 (2000) (citing

cases). See infra page 13-14 and note 6. This Court should

grant certiorari now to resolve that circuit split.

Like other political subdivisions of the State of Texas,

defendant Dallas County, because of its history of

discriminatory voting practices, is a jurisdiction covered by

Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act. See 42 U.S.C. §§ 1973b,

1973c; 28 C.F.R. Pt. 51, App. It therefore may not implement

any change in a “standard, practice, or procedure with respect

to voting” without first obtaining either administrative

preclearance from the Attorney General or judicial preclearance

from the United States District Court for the District of

Columbia. 42 U.S.C. § 1973c. A proposed voting change can

be precleared only if the covered jurisdiction proves that the

change “does not have the purpose and will not have the effect

of denying or abridging the right to vote on account of race or

color, or [membership in a language minority group].”” /d. See

generally Lopez v. Monterey County, 119 S. Ct. 693, 696-97

(1999).

The issue in this case involved the methods that Dallas

County used to select precinct election judges — officials who

supervise polling places on election days. Between November

1, 1972, when Texas and its political subdivisions first became

covered jurisdictions under Section 5, and October 3, 1996,

when plaintiffs filed this case, Dallas County changed its

procedures for selecting and appointing clection judges at least

4

twice,’ but never sought preclearance for any of these voting

changes. Pet. App. 3a. In September 1996, Dallas County

adopted a new appointment procedure that caused at least 75

African-American and Hispanic election judges, including the

six plaintiffs in this case, to lose their positions. See Pet. App.

Sa.

After Dallas County refused to seek preclearance of this

new method, the plaintiffs filed a Section 5 enforcement action

in the United States District Court for the Northern District of

Texas. Pet. App. 4a, 18a-19a, 36a. Plaintiffs sought to block

Dallas County from implementing the new, unprecleared

method and to force it to adopt a racially and ethnically

nondiscriminatory, precleared method in its place. Pet. App.

4a, 19a, 31a, 35a. Within a year, plaintiffs achieved precisely

those goals and were reappointed as election judges, along with

several dozen other African-American and Hispanic citizens.

See Pet. App. 6a & n.3, 27a, 38a & n.3.

On October 3, 1996, the day they filed their original

complaint, the plaintiffs won a temporary restraining order

(TRO) from the District Court, which prevented the defendants

from implementing their unprecleared September 1996 method

for appointing election judges. Pet. App. 4a, 19a, 27a-30a, 36a,

39a-40a. On October 8, 1996, just five days after the District

Court issued the TRO, Dallas County rescinded the September

1996 method and replaced it with a new method, which it also

2 The record in this case does not disclose how Dallas County

appointed election judges before 1983, so it is unclear how many times, if

any, the procedures changed between 1972 and 1983. See Brief for United

States as Amicus Curiae at 2-3, Foreman v. Dallas County, 521 U.S. 979

(1997) (per curiam) (Nos. 96-987 & 96-1389). The parties stipulated that

Dallas County changed its appointment procedures in August 1995 and in

September 1996. See id. at 4-5. And, since the filing of this suit, it changed

them again two more times. See infra pages 4-5.

5

refused to submit for preclearance. Pet. App. 4a-5a, 19a-20a,

37a. Plaintiffs therefore amended their complaint to challenge

the latest unprecleared method. Pet. App. 5a, 20a, 37a.

The three-judge District Court denied plaintiffs’ motion for

a preliminary injunction and later dismissed their amended

complaint for failure to state a claim upon which relief could be

granted. Pet. App. 5a, 20a, 32a. But the plaintiffs prevailed

again when they appealed the dismissal and won a decision

from this Court, which required Dallas County to obtain

Section 5 preclearance before implementing any new method

for selecting and appointing election judges. Foreman v.

Dallas County, 521 U.S. 979, 980-81 (1997) (per curiam)

(vacating the District Court’s dismissal of plaintiffs’ amended

complaint), Pet. App. 31a; see also Pet. App. 27a. Because the

record was silent on the precise procedures Dallas County had

used to appoint election judges when it became a covered

jurisdiction in 1972 — a potentially dispositive fact under

Section 5 — this Court remanded the case for further

proceedings. Pet. App. 20a n.2, 33a.

While the case was on remand, a new Texas statute took

effect. Tex. Elec. Code Ann. § 32.002(c) (West Supp. 1998),

Pet. App. 55a. The statute mandated that all Texas counties use

a new, nondiscriminatory method for appointing election

judges. The Attorney General precleared the statute on

September 2, 1997, and Dallas County reappointed the

plaintiffs as election judges five weeks later. Pet. App. 6a &

n.3, 27a, 38a & n.3. Thus, the plaintiffs achieved their ultimate

goal — the replacement of a procedure that was racially and

ethnically discriminatory and had not been precleared with one

that was nondiscriminatory and had been precleared. The

plaintiffs’ success largely mooted the litigation, see Pet. App.

2a, 6a, 20a-21a, 40a, but raised the issue whether Dallas

County should pay the fees for the plaintiffs’ attorneys.

6

Pursuant to Section 14(e) of the Voting Rights Act, 42

U.S.C. § 1973e),’ the plaintiffs moved for an award of

attorneys’ fees, expenses, and costs, totaling roughly $183,000.

Pet. App. 34a-35a. The plaintiffs filed four affidavits

demonstrating that their lawsuit had been the “catalyst” for the

introduction and passage of the new Texas statute requiring

Dallas County to alter its method for appointing election

judges. Pet. App. 56a, 61a, 65a, 70a. Three affiants were

members of the Legislature, including the bill’s Senate sponsor

(who represented part of Dallas County) and the bill’s House

sponsor (who chaired the Committee on Elections). Pet. App.

23a-24a, 43a-45a. The fourth affiant was a Democratic Party

official who had testified in favor of the bill at a Texas Senate

hearing and had specifically cited this litigation as a reason for

enacting the bill. Pet. App. 70a; see also Pet. App. 25 n.3. The

affidavits explained that the Texas Legislature had decided to

enact the new procedure as a result of the plaintiffs’ suit. Pet.

App. 23a-24a, 43a-45a. Dallas County filed no counter-

affidavits from other legislators or hearing witnesses. It merely

pointed out that, in 1995, a similar bill had been introduced and

had passed in the Texas House of Representatives. Pet. App.

24a-25a, 27a, 47a. That bill, however, died in the Texas

Senate, and no other such bill was introduced until after the

plaintiffs brought this suit and obtained a TRO. Pet. App. 14a

& n.7, 25a.

* Section 14(e) provides, in full: “In any action or proceeding to

enforce the voting guarantees of the fourteenth or fifteenth amendment, the

court, in its discretion, may allow the prevailing party, other than the United

States, a reasonable attorney’s fee as part of the costs.” 42 U.S.C. §

1973e); see also Morse v. Republican Party, 972 F. Supp. 355, 358-61

(W.D. Va. 1997) (three-judge court) (awarding attorneys’ fees under Section

14(e) to prevailing plaintiffs in a Section 5 enforcement action).

On June 25, 1998, the District Court granted in full the

plaintiffs’ motion for attorneys’ fees. Pet. App. 34a, 49a. The

judge — who had sat on the three-judge District Court as well —

held that the plaintiffs were the “prevailing part[ies|” within the

meaning of Section 14(e) because they had prevailed in

obtaining a TRO and because their lawsuit had been “a

substantial factor or a significant catalyst in causing the Texas

Legislature to enact [the statute requiring Dallas County] to

alter its method for appointing election judges.” Pet. App. 34a;

see also Friends of the Earth, 120 S. Ct. at 711 (explaining

that, under the “catalyst theory,” a “plaintiff can be a

‘prevailing party’ for purposes of [a fee-shifting statute] if it

was the ‘catalyst’ that triggered a favorable outcome’). The

court also found that the plaintiffs’ attorneys had charged

reasonable hourly rates and that the total sum requested was

‘amply supported by the record.” Pet. App. 48a.

On appeal, a divided panel of the Fifth Circuit reversed the

award of attorneys’ fees and, rather than remand the case to the

District Court, “render[{ed] judgment that the plaintiff's [sic]

take no attorney’s fees.”” Pet App. 2a. The opinion of the two-

judge majority did not question the reasonableness of the

award, but instead held that the plaintiffs - who had not

formally obtained a consent decree, a settlement agreement, or

an enforceable final judgment against Dallas County — had not

“prevail[ed].” Pet. App. 10a-1la, 15a.

The court began its discussion of “prevailing party” status

by quoting extensively from this Court’s opinion in Farrar v.

Hobby, 506 U.S. 103 (1992), a case involving a plaintiff who

had received an enforceable final judgment but only for

nominal damages, see id. at 105, 107. Pet. App. 7a-10a.

Although the majority opinion expressly invoked Farrar 17

times, Pet. App. 7a-15a, it never mentioned or even alluded to

Farrar’s actual holding — that the plaintiff, who had received

8

only one dollar in nominal damages, was nonetheless a

“prevailing party” eligible to recover attorneys’ fees. Farrar,

506 U.S. at 105, 112, 116. Instead, the court stated that Farrar

“seemed to narrow the circumstances in which a party may

claim prevailing party status.” Pet. App. 9a (emphasis added).

The court based that conclusion on a few lines of dicta from

Farrar that arguably implied that a plaintiff could be deemed

a “prevailing party” only if he became “‘entitled to enforce a

judgment, consent decree, or settlement against the

defendant.’” Pet. App. 9a (quoting Farrar, 506 U.S. at 113

(dicta)) (emphasis added by the court below); see also Farrar,

506 U.S. at 111 (“The plaintiff must obtain an enforceable

judgment against the defendant from whom fees are sought . .

. or comparable relief through a consent decree or settlement .

.. .”) (citations omitted) (dicta), quoted in Pet. App. 9a.

Having elevated those dicta to a “guiding principle[],” Pet.

App. 7a, the court then went on to address at some length

Dallas County’s argument that “prevailing party status can no

longer be based on a catalyst theory after the Supreme Court's

decision in Farrar.” Pet. App. 8a. The “catalyst theory,” the

court explained, had been “routinely applied” in the 1980s and

early 1990s to allow “a plaintiff to achieve prevailing party

status — even in the absence of a formal victory in court — if the

plaintiffs suit was a ‘substantial factor or a significant catalyst’

in obtaining the relief sought.” Pet. App. 8a (quoting Williams

v. Leatherbury, 672 F.2d 549, 550-51 (Sth Cir. 1982)).

The court asserted that Farrar had placed “the continuing

validity of the catalyst theory . . . in serious doubt” and that

Farrar’s language (the dicta quoted above) was “seemingly at

odds with the catalyst theory” and had “‘led at least one court to

conclude that Farrar has swept the catalyst theory into the

judicial trash heap.” Pet. App. 8a-9a (citing S-/ & S-2 v. State

Bd. of Educ., 21 F.3d 49, 51 (4th Cir.) (en banc) (per curiam),

9

cert. denied, 513 U.S. 876 (1994)). The Fourth Circuit opinion

that the court cited was a 7-to-6 en banc decision expressly

overruling the catalyst theory and holding that a plaintiff may

only qualify as a “prevailing party” by virtue of “having

obtained an enforceable judgment, consent decree, or

settlement giving some of the legal relief sought.” S-/ & S-2,

21 F.3d at 51 (citing Farrar, 506 U.S. at 111-13).4

The court below recognized that at least five other circuits

had expressly disagreed with the Fourth Circuit, but noted that

the question remained open in the Fifth Circuit. Pet. App. 9a-

10a (citing cases). Rather than expressly addressing the

question, the court said it would “[a]ssum[e], without deciding,

that the catalyst theory still applies in th{e Fifth] Circuit.” Pet.

App. 10a; see Pet. App. 15a.

Having thus skirted the “potential conflict between the

catalyst theory and Farrar,” Pet. App. 10a, the majority below

purported to apply the catalyst theory to the facts of the case

and ruled against the plaintiffs. First, the court held that a TRO

cannot make a plaintiff a prevailing party because it is not “a

final remedy” and it does not provide ‘actual relief on the

merits.” Pet. App. 15a (quoting Farrar, 506 U.S. at 111).

Second, the court held that the plaintiffs did not in fact

obtain the relief they sought in their lawsuit. Pet. App. 1la-

12a. It stated that the plaintiffs’ complaint requested four

specific forms of declaratory and injunctive relief under Section

* The Fourth Circuit, sitting en banc, vacated the panel’s decision, and

the seven-judge majority adopted as its own the dissenting panel opinion of

Judge Wilkinson. See S-/ & S-2, 21 F.3d at 51 (adopting S-/ & S-2 v. State

Bd. of Educ., 6 F.3d 160, 168-72 (4th Cir. 1993) (Wilkinson, J.,

dissenting)). The six dissenting judges adopted Judge Phillips’ opinion for

the panel majority. See id. (adopting S-/ & S-2, 6 F.3d at 161-68 (Phillips,

J.)).

2

| nee et a a ae

10

5 of the Voting Rights Act and did not expressly ask Dallas

County to adopt a new method for appointing election judges.

Pet. App. 11-12a. The court stated “that the relief sought by the

plaintiffs’ suit, i.e., preclearance by the Department of Justice

of a change in voting procedures, is entirely separate and

distinct from . . . a substantive change in the procedure for

selecting [election] judges.” Pet. App. 14a n.7; see also id. at

12a (referring to the latter as perhaps one of plaintiffs’ “hidden

motives”). That Dallas County adopted a new procedure for

selecting election judges was immaterial, the court explained,

because the plaintiffs never received the permanent injunction

or the specific declaratory judgments requested in their

complaint. Pet. App. lla-12a. Thus, the court reasoned, “the

plaintiffs went home empty handed . . . [and] received none of

the substantive relief for which they originally filed suit.” Pet.

App. lla.

Third, the court held that, even assuming the plaintiffs

obtained the relief they sought, there was insufficient evidence

of a causal connection between their lawsuit and the Texas

Legislature’s decision to revamp the procedures for appointing

election judges in Dallas County. Pet. App. 12a-15a. That is,

the plaintiffs had not proved that “the lawsuit itself, as a

discrete event,” was “‘a substantial factor or a significant

catalyst’” in achieving the relief sought. Pet. App. lla, 13a

(quoting Robinson v. Kimbrough, 652 F.2d 458, 466 (Sth Cir.

1981)). The court explained that it would be “a formidable

task” for any plaintiff to prove that his lawsuit “was the catalyst

behind the passage of general legislation” because “the

legislative process is fraught with compromises, competing

concerns, and unspoken motives.” Pet. App. 13a. Therefore,

the court held, three affidavits from state legislators who

introduced and fought for passage of the bill — even if

uncontradicted by any counter-affidavits or other substantive

evidence — could not prove that a lawsuit had been a substantial

ONE kh NW Sen DO

1]

factor in a legislature’s decision. Pet. App. 13a-14a.

In dissent, Judge Stewart argued that the majority had not

applied the catalyst theory properly and had failed to accord

“broad discretion” to “the district court’s superior

understanding of the litigation.” Pet. App. 17a.

As for the TRO, Judge Stewart argued that the plaintiffs,

within five days of filing their suit, had successfully induced

Dallas County to abandon its September 1996 method for

appointing election judges. Pet. App. 19a. It was irrelevant,

Judge Stewart explained, that the plaintiffs achieved this goal

through a TRO rather than through a declaratory judgment that

the September 1996 method was legally unenforceable. Pet.

App. 19a, 26a-27a.

As for the plaintiffs’ obtaining the relief they sought in

their amended complaint, Judge Stewart noted that this Court

had agreed with plaintiffs that procedures for appointing

election judges are subject to Section 5’s preclearance

requirement, that the Texas Legislature had sought and

obtained preclearance of a statute requiring new appointment

procedures; that the Texas statute had forced Dallas County “to

implement a system of selection which was precleared” under

Section 5; and that the plaintiffs had all been reappointed to

their offices. Pet. App. 19a-21a. Thus, the plaintiffs had in fact

obtained the relief they sought. Pet. App. 26a-27a.

Finally, Judge Stewart rejected the majority’s analysis of

the causation issue because “a// the substantive evidence

presented to the district court [demonstrated that] this new

legislation was catalyzed by the plaintiffs’ lawsuit.” Pet. App.

27a (emphasis added); see Pet. App. 56a-74a. He explained

that, in denying any weight to the affidavits of the three Texas

legislators, the majority had confused legislative intent, that is,

the interpretation of a statute’s meaning — a question best

12

answered by the statute’s plain text — with legislative motive,

the relevant inquiry here. Pet. App. 21a-23a. In attempting to

determine whether a lawsuit motivated the introduction and

passage of a piece of legislation, the text will rarely answer the

question; but affidavits from legislative sponsors can provide

powerful evidence, Judge Stewart explained. Pet. App. 23a.

Wholesale rejection of affidavits about legislative motive

would be tantamount, Judge Stewart suggested, to “holding that

a party can never conclusively establish that a lawsuit is a

catalyst for legislation.” Pet. App. 23a (emphasis added). “It

is important to note,” Judge Stewart wrote, “that the defendants

offered no affidavits or evidence that contradicted the swom

testimony of [the] three Texas legislators who all clearly stated

that the present lawsuit was a significant factor in the

introduction and passage of the legislation which forced [Dallas

County] to adopt the precleared . . . method for appointing

election judges.” Pet. App. 24a-25a. Finally, Judge Stewart

took the majority to task for ignoring the plaintiffs’ fourth

affidavit, in which a party official recounted his testimony at a

Texas Senate hearing “specifically cit[ing] this litigation as a

reason for the Senate to adopt the bill.” See Pet. App. 25a-26a

n.3.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The decision below conflicts with decisions of this Court

and of almost every other Court of Appeals, with the exception

of the Fourth Circuit. The case hinges on an important

interpretive issue — the proper definition of the term “prevailing

party,” which appears in numerous federal fee-shifting statutes. °

> See Ruckelshaus v. Sierra Club, 463 U.S. 680, 684 & n.3 (1983)

(listing statutes authorizing fee awards to the “prevailing party”); id. at 701

(continued...)

13

Although this Court has repeatedly given that term a broad

reading consistent with congressional intent, a few lines of

dicta in the most recent opinion, Farrar v. Hobby, 506 U.S.

103, 111, 113 (1992), have led the Fourth Circuit and now the

Fifth Circuit to go astray by effectively holding that a plaintiff

cannot “prevail” unless he obtains an enforceable final

judgment, consent decree, or settlement agreement. As this

Court acknowledged earlier this Term, that interpretation

squarely conflicts with the decisions of seven Courts of

Appeals that “have expressly concluded that Farrar did not

repudiate the catalyst theory” and two “{o]ther Courts of

Appeals [that] have likewise continued to apply the catalyst

theory notwithstanding Farrar.” Friends of the Earth, 120 S.

Ct. at 711 (citing cases in the First, Second, Third, Sixth,

Seventh, Eighth, Ninth, Tenth, and Eleventh Circuits®); see also

*(...continued)

n.12 (Stevens, J., dissenting) (same); cf. Marek v. Chesney, 473 U.S. 1, 43-

51 (1985) (Brennan, J., dissenting) (listing 119 federal statutes authorizing

court-awarded attorneys’ fees).

° Marbley v. Bane, 57 F.3d 224, 234 (2d Cir. 1995) (expressly

concluding that Farrar did not repudiate the catalyst theory); Baumgartner

v. Harrisburg Hous. Auth., 21 F.3d 541, 546-50 (3d Cir. 1994) (same); Zinn

v. Shalala, 35 F.3d 273, 276 (7th Cir. 1994) (same); Little Rock Sch. Dist.

v. Pulaski County Special Sch. Dist., #1, 17 F.3d 260, 263 n.2 (8th Cir.

1994) (same); Kilgour v. City of Pasadena, 53 F.3d 1007, 1010 (9th Cir.

1995) (same); Beard v. Teska, 31 F.3d 942, 951-52 (10th Cir. 1994) (same);

Morris v. City of West Palm Beach, 194 F.3d 1203, 1207 (11th Cir. 1999)

(same); see Paris v. United States Dep't of Hous. & Urban Dev., 988 F.2d

236, 238 (Ist Cir. 1993) (applying the catalyst theory notwithstanding

Farrar); Citizens Against Tax Waste v. Westerville City Sch., 985 F.2d 255,

257 (6th Cir. 1993) (same); see also Maduka v. Meissner, 114 F.3d 1240,

1241 (D.C. Cir. 1997) (per curiam) (holding that a plaintiff had not

“prevailed” because his lawsuit was not “a catalytic, necessary or substantial

factor” in obtaining the relief for which he filed his lawsuit). But see S-/ &

(continued...)

14

id. (quoting the Fifth Circuit’s majority opinion in this case,

and citing the Fourth Circuit’s en banc decision in S-/ & S-2,

21 F.3d at 51). Having percolated in the lower courts for seven

years, the question whether Farrar effectively repudiated the

catalyst theory is now ripe for this Court’s disposition. In

Friends of the Earth, this Court recognized the importance of

that question, but declined to address it because the district

court in that case had neither denied nor awarded attorneys’

fees to the plaintiffs. Friends of the Earth, 120 S. Ct. at 711-

12. By contrast, this case squarely presents the question.

I. THE FIFTH CIRCUIT’S RULING EFFECTIVELY

PRECLUDES RELIANCE ON THE CATALYST THEORY AND

THUS SQUARELY CONFLICTS WITH RULINGS OF MOST

OTHER CIRCUITS.

Although the majority below purported to assume the

continued validity of the catalyst theory, its reasoning

effectively bars any award of attorneys’ fees to a plaintiff who

has not received a final judgment awarding the precise relief

sought in the complaint. As the District Court and the dissent

below recognized, see Pet. App. 17a-27a, 34a-49a, if there were

ever acase in which the plaintiffs should be awarded fees under

the catalyst theory, this was such a case. But the Court of

Appeals overturned the fee award in a manner that will ensure

that no plaintiff in the Fifth Circuit will ever succeed in

obtaining fees on the basis of the catalyst theory. It follows that

this case presents the Court with an opportunity to resolve the

conflict among the circuits on this important question.

The court below made three erroneous holdings. First, the

*(...continued)

S-2, 21 F.3d at 51.

[5

court held that a TRO can never be a basis for a finding of

prevailing-party status because it is not a final adjudication on

the merits. See Pet. App. 14a-15a. But that ruling is not only

contrary to the intent of Congress, see infra pages 20-21 — it

also amounts to a ruling that the catalyst theory is a dead letter.

After all, in many cases, preliminary relief will lead defendants

to rectify their conduct permanently. Here, for example, Dallas

County abandoned the September 1996 selection method that

was the subject of the TRO — albeit replacing it with another

method that was then challenged in an amended complaint.

But the Court of Appeals has held that, no matter how

significant the effects of preliminary relief may be on the

conduct of defendants, a final order is required.

By contrast, the majority view is that a “final remedy” is

not a prerequisite for “prevailing party” status. The practicality

of the majority view is particularly apparent in voting-rights

cases. When a State or county threatens to adopt a

discriminatory procedure for an upcoming election, a TRO or

preliminary injunction blocking that procedure is often the only

meaningful relief plaintiffs can seek, as there typically is not

enough time before the election to litigate the case to a final

conclusion on the merits. In those circumstances, federal

courts applying the catalyst theory have not hesitated to award

fees to voting-rights plaintiffs solely on the basis of their having

obtained nonfinal relief such as a TRO or a preliminary

injunction. See, e.g., Maloney v. City of Marietta, 822 F.2d

1023, 1024-27 (11th Cir. 1987) (holding that plaintiffs in a

Section 5 enforcement action were “prevailing parties” because

they received a TRO that induced the defendant city to seek

preclearance for its new election ordinance, even though the

ordinance proved to be nondiscriminatory and therefore was

precleared); Garcia v. Guerra, 744 F.2d 1159, 1161-66 (Sth

Cir. 1984) (reversing a denial of attorneys’ fees where plaintiffs

in a Section 5 enforcement action got no formal relief other

16

than a TRO restraining the county from holding the election on

an unprecleared date when Hispanic farm workers would be

unable to go to the polls), cert. denied, 471 U.S. 1065 (1985).’

Second, the court below held that plaintiffs did not prevail

on the claims stated in their amended complaint (challenging

the selection procedure adopted after the TRO) because they

did not obtain precisely the same relief they had sought from

the District Court — a formal order requiring preclearance of the

challenged selection method. See Pet. App. 11a-12a. But here

again, that ruling is utterly inconsistent with the Fifth Circuit’s

purported assumption that a catalyst theory can be valid.

In every practical sense, the plaintiffs prevailed. They

successfully forced Dallas County to replace an election

procedure that was racially and ethnically discriminatory and

that had not been submitted for preclearance, let alone

precleared, with one that is nondiscriminatory and has been

submitted and precleared. That change in election procedure

directly and “materially alter[ed] the legal relationship”

between Dallas County and the plaintiffs, as the County quickly

reappointed several dozen African-American and Hispanic

election judges, including the plaintiffs. Farrar, 506 U.S. at

111 (citing Texas State Teachers Ass'n v. Garland Ind. Sch.

Dist., 489 U.S. 782, 792-93 (1989)). These are precisely the

benefits the plaintiffs sought in bringing their Section 5

enforcement action. Cf. Farrar, 506 U.S. at 109-13; Garland,

489 U.S. at 791-92; Rhodes v. Stewart, 488 U.S. 1, 4 (1988)

(per curiam); Hewitt v. Helms, 482 U.S. 755, 760-61, 763

(1987); Hensley v. Eckerhart, 461 U.S. 424, 433 (1983). The

County’s change in conduct redressed the plaintiffs’ grievances

’ See also National Black Police Ass'n v. District of Columbia Bd. of

Elections & Ethics, 168 F.3d 525, 527-29 (D.C. Cir. 1999); Haley v. Pataki,

106 F.3d 478, 483-84 (2d Cir. 1997).

a,

8

%

=

q

»f

%

ay

mae

Seditciecitgis

17

no less than if the District Court had formally entered an

enforceable final judgment against Dallas County. Cf. Rhodes,

488 U.S. at 4; Hewitt, 482 U.S. at 760-61. Only 12 months

after filing their lawsuit, the plaintiffs had obtained “essentially

complete relief.” Hensley, 461 U.S. at 431; see also Farrar,

506 U.S. at 111.

In the course of that year, the plaintiffs were successful in

the courtroom, as well as in the legislative arena. They obtained

first a TRO that blocked Dallas County from implementing an

unprecleared election procedure, Pet. App. 28a-30a, and then

an opinion from this Court holding that changes in that election

procedure were, contrary to Dallas County’s contention, subject

to Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act. Pet. App. 3la-33a.®

Thus, on their principal claim — that changes in the method for

appointing election judges had to be precleared — the plaintiffs

prevailed on the merits, in the highest Court in the land. Cf

Farrar, 506 U.S. at 109, 111-12; Garland, 489 U.S. at 791-92;

Hewitt, 482 U.S. at 758; Hensley, 461 U.S. at 434. There can

be no doubt that the plaintiffs vindicated their rights under

Federal law. Cf. Farrar, 506 U.S. at 111; Garland, 489 U.S. at

* This Court’s June 1997 decision was unequivocal: Any new method

that Dallas County adopted for selecting and appointing election judges

would be subject to Section 5’s preclearance requirement. This Court

vacated and remanded, rather than reversed, only to allow Dallas County an

opportunity to prove that its October 1996 method was the same as its

November 1972 method — a purely factual point unaddressed in the record.

Pet. App. 33a. But the County’s September 1996 method differed from all

previous methods. Therefore, Dallas County clearly violated the Voting

Rights Act when it failed to seek preclearance of the September 1996

method. See Christiansburg Garment Co. v. EEOC, 434 U.S. 412, 418

(1978).

793.?

Thus, the plaintiffs served the “private attorney general”

role that Congress meant to promote when it enacted Section

14(e) of the Voting Rights Act. See S. Rep. No. 94-295, at 40

(1975) [hereinafter S. Rep.], reprinted in 1975 U.S.C.C.A.N.

774, 807; see also Garland, 489 U.S. at 793. Because they

prevailed on the significant issues in their litigation and

obtained the relief they sought, the plaintiffs are “prevailing

parties” within the meaning of Section 14(e). See Farrar, 506

US. at 109; Garland, 489 U.S. at 791-93; Hewitt, 482 U.S. at

760; Hensley, 461 U.S. at 433. The Fifth Circuit’s contrary

decision — based on the plaintiffs’ failure to obtain a final

judgment before the case was rendered moot by remedial

legislation — amounts to a complete repudiation of the catalyst

theory.

Third, the court below held that uncontradicted affidavits

from key players in the Texas Legislature stating that this

lawsuit was the catalyst of the legislative remedy were not

sufficient proof of causation. See Pet. App. 12a-14a. That

ruling means, in effect, that it is impossible -- as a matter of law

— to demonstrate the motive of a legislature in passing a law

that mooted a civil-rights suit by providing all the relief sought.

As the dissent below recognized, if plaintiffs cannot

demonstrate legislative motivation through uncontradicted

sworn testimony, “a party can never conclusively establish that

a lawsuit is a catalyst for legislation.” Pet. App. 23a (emphasis

* In Brooks v. Georgia State Board of Elections, 997 F.2d 857 (11th

Cir. 1993), the court affirmed an award of fees not only for the time that

plaintiffs’ counsel spent litigating the Section 5 enforcement action, but also

for the time spent opposing administrative preclearance, because the latter

work was “crucial to the vindication of [plaintiffs’] rights.” /d. at 864

(citing Pennsylvania v. Delaware Valley Citizens’ Council for Clean Air,

478 U.S. 546, 561 (1986)).

added).'°

In so ruling, the Fifth Circuit not only effectively barred

catalyst claims but also created an additional, more specific

circuit conflict. In a comparable case, the Third Circuit

expressly relied on an affidavit from a legislator in determining

that a lawsuit had been an important catalyst in the enactment

of legislation. See, e.g., Institutionalized Juveniles v. Secretary

of Pub. Welfare, 758 F.2d 897, 916-17 & nn.30-31 (3d Cir.

1985) (relying on a former state senator’s affidavit and

upholding a fee award).

If, to qualify as a prevailing party, a civil-rights plaintiff

must triumph in a “final” order, must obtain precisely the relief

requested in his complaint, and cannot rely on uncontradicted

testimony from key legislators to prove that his lawsuit induced

remedial legislation, then nothing remains of the catalyst

theory. It is now as dead in the Fifth Circuit as it has been for |

years in the Fourth Circuit.

'° In his dissent, Judge Stewart also correctly observed that “all the

substantive evidence presented to the district court [had demonstrated that]

this new legislation was catalyzed by the plaintiffs’ lawsuit.” Pet. App. 27a

(emphasis added); see Pet. App. 22a-27a. Plaintiffs’ four affidavits — from

three legislators and one hearing witness — were unambiguous and

uncontradicted. Pet. App. 23a-24a, 25a n.3. Dallas County offered no

counter-affidavits. Its only factual argument was that a similar bill had been

introduced in 1995. But the fact that the 1995 bill died and the 1997 bill

passed only strengthens the conclusion that the 1997 enactment was

catalyzed by the lawsuit filed in 1996. Sze Pet. App. 25a; see also Pet. App.

67a.

Given the County’s failure here to raise a genuine issue as to any

material fact, the court below apparently resolved the causation issue as a

matter of law, and hence its ruling should be reviewed de novo. See Pet.

App. 6a.

20

Il. THE CONFLICT OVER THE CATALYST THEORY SHOULD

BE RESOLVED Now.

In the wake of the ruling below, in two circuits civil-rights

plaintiffs can lose their eligibility for attorneys’ fees simply

because defendants acquiesce to their demands “voluntarily”

before a formal adjudication is obtained. In at least nine other

circuits, precisely the opposite rule applies. See supra page 13

and note 6.'' This conflict needs resolution now, for two

reasons.

First, it makes no sense to allow such a conflict to continue

to exist. Congress has made available attorneys’ fees for

prevailing plaintiffs in civil-rights cases based on a recognition

that these plaintiffs serve to protect and vindicate fundamental

rights and liberties. Like other civil-rights fee-shifting

provisions, Section 14(e) of the Voting Rights Act was enacted

because “Congress depends heavily upon private citizens to

enforce the fundamental rights involved” and “[f]ee awards are

a necessary means of enabling private citizens to vindicate

these Federal rights.” S. Rep., supra, at 40, reprinted in 1975

U.S.C.C.A.N. at 807. Congress limited the recovery of fees to

“prevailing parties,” however, to “filter out meritless cases.”

Marbley v. Bane, 57 F.3d 224, 233 (2d Cir. 1995).

As this case illustrates, there are many cases in which the

relief at stake, while important, is nonpecuniary and therefore

the plaintiffs might be unable to hire adequate counsel absent

a chance of fee-shifting. See City of Riverside v. Rivera, 477

'' Misreadings of Farrar’s dicta continue to spawn confusion in the

lower courts. Recently, the Seventh Circuit indicated that it also may be

reconsidering the validity of the catalyst theory in light of Farrar. See, e.g.,

Board of Educ. of Oak Park vy. Nathan R. ex rel. Richard R., 199 F.3d 377,

382 (7th Cir. 2000) (possibly creating an intracircuit split with Zinn v.

Shalala, 35 F.3d at 276).

i

Piatti Sash VRE

fig ht OAS ns hea RE Eine

BERS La ROG ORD Tar ED eo PDs

fee beh ne aE THEN ot oe

RNS.

21

U.S. 561, 574-80 (1986) (plurality opinion); id. at 594-95

(Rehnquist, J., dissenting). Because of the importance of this

area of the law, the Court should be especially attentive to the

need to maintain consistency among the circuits.

Second, on the merits, the position of the Fourth and Fifth

Circuits is plainly contrary to the intent of Congress. Given the

importance that Congress attached to the vindication of

fundamental Federal voting rights, defendants’ strategic

avoidance of court-awarded fees had to be checked: “{I]f

defendants could deprive plaintiffs of attorneys’ fees by

unilaterally mooting the underlying case by conceding to

plaintiffs’ demands, attorneys might be more hesitant about

bringing these civil rights suits, a result inconsistent with

Congress’ intent ....” Baumgartner v. Harrisburg Hous.

Auth., 21 F.3d 541, 548 (3d Cir. 1994).

Congress therefore authorized fee awards not only for

plaintiffs who prevail in a formal, final judgment on the merits,

but also for plaintiffs who vindicate their civil rights either by

prevailing “on an important matter in the course of litigation”

or by obtaining informal relief. S. Rep., supra, at 41 (emphasis

added), reprinted in 1975 U.S.C.C.A.N. at 808; see also

Garland, 489 U.S. at 791-92 (recognizing that Congress has

authorized interim fee awards pendente lite); Missouri v.

Jenkins, 491 U.S. 274, 283 n.6 (1989) (same). Congress

certainly knew how to restrict fee awards to plaintiffs who have

won a final judgment. See, eg.,. 33 U.S.C. § 1365(d)

(authorizing the award of attorneys’ fees only by courts issuing

a “final order”). But Congress deliberately chose not to do so

in the context of civil rights. See, e.g., 42 U.S.C. §§ 1973/(e),

1988(b).

Prior to Farrar, this Court repeatedly recognized that

Congress intended to allow civil-rights plaintiffs to obtain fees

when they prevail without obtaining a formal and final

22

judgment.'* Just as the court below never mentioned or even

alluded to Farrar’s actual holding, it never referred to any of

the precedents that the Farrar Court itself had cited as

authoritative on the general issue of prevailing-party status.

See Farrar, 506 U.S. at 109-14 (citing Garland, 489 U.S. at

790-93; Rhodes, 488 U.S. at 2-4; Hewitt, 482 U.S. at 757, 760-

64; Hensley, 461 U.S. at 433, 436-38; Maher v. Gagne, 448

U.S. 122, 129 (1980)). Had the Fifth Circuit studied those

cases, it wouid have found that each of them “either expressly

or tacitly recognized the catalyst theory’s viability.” S-/ & S-2

v. State Bd. of Educ., 6 F.3d 160, 167 (4th Cir.), vacated and

reh’g granted, 6 F.3d at 160 (4th Cir. 1993) (en banc).

In Maher v. Gagne, 448 U.S. 122 (1980), this Court upheld

an award of fees in a case that had been settled by the entry of

a consent decree, without full litigation of the issues, without

the plaintiff formally obtaining relief, and without any judicial

determination that her rights had been violated. See id. at 124,

129-30.

The Court in Hensley v. Eckerhart, 461 U.S. 424 (1983),

then held that plaintiffs’ failure to prevail on some (but not all)

of their claims for relief did not deny them “prevailing party”

Status, but rather that the extent of their success should go to

the proper amount of a reasonable fee award. See id. at 436-37,

440. Writing for the majority, Justice Powell explained that the

Court’s “generous formulation” of the term “prevailing party”

'? The Court’s decisions deal primarily with the Civil Rights Attorney’s

Fees Awards Act of 1976, Pub. L. No. 94-559, 90 Stat. 2641, as amended,

42 U.S.C. § 1988 [hereinafter “Section 1988”], which was patterned after,

and is textually almost identical to, Section 14(e) of the Voting Rights Act.

See Hanrahan v. Hampton, 446 U.S. 754, 758 n.4 (1980) (per curiam).

This Court has generally applied the same standards to Section 14(e),

Section 1988, and all other federal statutes authorizing an award of fees to

a “prevailing party.” See Hensley, 461 U.S. at 433 n.7.

i ab NA i TRE ILO iba

Vannes

ithe!

7

aa

Ba SO aN Bh ND ne ANE i Ee al a aeca A MN

ee gr ee ee ree Onn) ade

eee a Ce Te ee Ee

23

“brings the plaintiff only across the statutory threshold. It

remains for the district court to determine what fee,” if any, is

“reasonable.” Jd. at 433; see Garland, 489 U.S. at 792

(reaffirming Hensley’s “generous formulation”).

Moreover, Justice Powell’s opinion for the Court tacitly

recognized the catalyst theory’s viability. The Court remanded

the case for a possible recalculation of the amount of the award.

See 461 U.S. at 438-40 & 439 n.15. In doing so, Justice Powell

explained that the size of the award might depend upon the

plaintiffs’ ability to show that their lawsuit had been the

“catalyst” for the defendants’ change in conduct. Jd. at 439

n.15. Justice Powell apparently believed the catalyst theory

was good law as of 1983, and no other Justice contradicted that

belief.

In Hewitt v. Helms, 482 U.S. 755 (1987), the Court simply

held that a plaintiff who had litigated to judgment, had lost on

all of his claims, and had obtained nothing from the defendants

was not a “prevailing party.” See id. at 759-62. Justice Scalia’s

opinion for the Court recognized, however, that “[i]t is settled

law, of course, that relief need not be judicially decreed in order

to justify a fee award.” Jd. at 760. “A lawsuit sometimes

produces voluntary action by the defendant that affords the

plaintiff all or some of the relief he sought through a judgment

~ €.g., a monetary settlement or a change in conduct that

redresses the plaintiff's grievances.” Id. at 760-61 (emphasis

added). “When that occurs,” the Court explained, “the plaintiff

'’ A “generous” definition of the term “prevailing party” creates little

risk of excessively burdening governmental defendants because a prevailing

plaintiff is merely eligible to recover attorneys’ fees; he is never entitled to

do so. The district court, in the sound exercise of its equitable discretion,

may determine that only a small award is “reasonable” within the meaning

of the statute. 42 U.S.C. §§ 1973/(e), 1988(b); cf. Fogerty v. Fantasy, Inc.,

510 U.S. 517, 534 (1994).

24

is deemed to have prevailed despite the absence of a formal

judgment in his favor.” /d. at 761 (citing Maher, 448 U.S. at

129). “In all civil litigation,” Justice Scalia continued, “the

judicial decree is not the end but the means. At the end of the

rainbow lies not a judgment, but some action (or cessation of

action) by the defendant that the judgment produces — the

payment of damages, or some specific performance, or the

termination of some conduct. Redress is sought through the

court, but from the defendant.” Jd. at 761 (emphasis in the

original). “/I]f the defendant, under pressure of the lawsuit,

alters his conduct (or threatened conduct) towards the plaintiff

that was the basis for the suit, the plaintiff will have prevailed.

That is the proper equivalent of a judicial judgment which

would produce the same effect... .” Jd. at 761 (emphasis

added).

The plaintiff in Hewitt also expressly raised the catalyst

theory, arguing that there was a clear causal link between his

lawsuit and the State’s amendment of its prison regulations.

See id. at 759, 763-64. The Court rejected that argument on the

ground that the plaintiff had been released from prison long

before the new regulations were promulgated and thus he “did

not and could not get redress from [them].” Jd. at 763.

One year later, the Court confronted a similar fact pattern.

Both cases had been filed by prisoners seeking changes in

prison policy, but unlike the plaintiff in Hewitt, the plaintiff in

Rhodes v. Stewart, 488 U.S. 1 (1988) (per curiam), had

obtained a declaratory judgment. See id. at 2-3. That

distinction proved irrelevant. The Court held that Rhodes was

controlled by the holding in Hewitt because plaintiffs in both

cases had been released from prison and therefore could not get

redress from any changes in prison policy caused by their

lawsuits. See id. at 4. Because the declaratory judgment did

not affect “the behavior of the defendant toward the plaintiff,”

25

it afforded him no relief whatsoever; and, in the absence of

relief, the plaintiff did not “prevail” and therefore was

precluded from recovering attorneys’ fees. Jd. at 4 (emphasis

added).

The Court’s last major decision on “prevailing party”

status prior to Farrar was delivered by Justice O’ Connor in her

opinion for a unanimous Court in Texas State Teachers

Association v. Garland Independent School District, 489 U.S.

782 (1989). Like the present case, Garland arose in Texas and

presented a circuit split in which the Fifth Circuit and one other

Court of Appeals had narrowly interpreted the phrase

“prevailing party,” contrary to holdings of the Second, Seventh,

Eighth, Ninth, and Tenth Circuits. See id. at 784 (citing cases).

This Court reversed the Fifth Circuit’s judgment and held that

plaintiffs are “prevailing parties” eligible for an award of

attorneys’ fees if they have “succeeded on any significant issue

in litigation which achieved some of the benefit the parties

sought in bringing suit.” Jd. at 791-92 (citations and internal

quotation marks omitted). “The touchstone of the prevailing

party inquiry must be the material alteration of the legal

relationship of the parties in a manner which Congress sought

to promote in the fee statute.” Jd. at 792-93. After reviewing

legislative history and this Court’s holding in Hensley, Justice

O’Connor noted that Congress intended to make interim fee

awards available to partially prevailing civil-rights plaintiffs:

“A prevailing party must be one who has succeeded on any

significant claim affording it some of the relief sought, either

pendente lite or at the conclusion of the litigation.” Jd. at 790-

91. Thus, Garland left no doubt that a party could “prevail”

without obtaining an enforceable final judgment against the

defendant. See S. Rep., supra, at 41, reprinted in 1975

U.S.C.C.A.N. at 808.

26

Finally, this Court decided Farrar v. Hobby in 1992. Once

again, this Court granted certiorari to resolve a circuit split over

the proper definition of the term “prevailing party” in a federal

civil-rights fee-shifting statute. See Farrar, 506 U.S. at 105,

108-09 & n.2. The case also arose in Texas and the split pitted

the Fourth and Fifth Circuits against the Second, Eighth, Ninth,

Tenth, and Eleventh Circuits. See id. at 105-07, 108 n.2 (citing

cases). And, as in the present case, a divided panel of the Fifth

Circuit had reversed an award of attorneys’ fees after holding

that the plaintiffs were not “prevailing parties.” See id. at 107-

09. All nine Justices disagreed with that conclusion, and the

Court held that the plaintiffs — who had sought $17 million in

damages from six defendants, but had ultimately received only

one dollar in nominal damages from one defendant — were

nonetheless “prevailing parties.” See id. at 105, 112, 116; see

also id. at 116-17 (O’Connor, J., concurring); id. at 122-23

(White, J., concurring in part). By a vote of 5 to 4, the Court

affirmed, however, on the basis that the most reasonable fee for

these plaintiffs was no fee at all. See 506 U.S. at 114-16.

Although Farrar included dicta arguably implying that an

enforceable judgment, consent decree, or settlement was a

prerequisite for prevailing-party status, there is no reason to

think the Court intended to nullify the reasoning of five recent

opinions on this subject sub silentio. The plaintiffs in Farrar

had obtained an enforceable final judgment against the

defendant (albeit for only one dollar in nominal damages). As

this Court recognized earlier this Term, Farrar “involved no

catalytic effect,” and therefore the issue of the continuing

validity of the catalyst theory “was not presented for this

Court’s decision in Farrar.” Friends of the Earth, 120 S. Ct.

at 711. It seems “implausible that [this] Court meant to abolish

a rule employed by nearly every circuit and previously

recognized by the Court itself as ‘settled law,’ without

expressly indicating that it was doing so.” Zinn v. Shalala, 35

27

F.3d 273, 276 (7th Cir. 1994) (quoting Hewitt, 482 U.S. at

760); see Baumgartner, 21 F.3d at 547 (“We believe it is not

likely that the Supreme Court would overturn such a wide-

spread theory without even once mentioning it, particularly

when it was inapplicable to the case at hand.”’).

This Court should grant certiorari, reaffirm the principles

enunciated in Farrar and the precedents it cited, respect the

Statute’s plain text, and resolve the conflict among the circuits

by rejecting the position of the Fourth and Fifth Circuits.

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

PAUL M. SMITH* J. GERALD HEBERT

DONALD B. VERRILLI, JR. J. GERALD HEBERT, P.C.

SAM HIRSCH 5019 Waple Lane

JENNER & BLOCK Alexandria, VA 22304

601 Thirteenth Street, N.W. (703) 567-5873

Washington, D.C. 20005

(202) 639-6000 Counsel for Petitioners

KENNETH H. MOLBERG

ROGER G. WILLIAMS

WILSON, WILLIAMS &

MOLBERG, P.C.

2214 Main Street

Dallas, TX 75201-4324

(214) 748-5276 * Counsel of Record

APPENDICES

i

APPENDIX A

B.C. FOREMAN; Ida Clark; Otis Tarver; Dominic De La

Cruz; Louis Davis; Mandy Pesina,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

v.

DALLAS COUNTY, TEXAS; Commissioners Court of Dallas

County, Texas; Lee F. Jackson, Dallas County Judge; Jim

Jackson; John Wiley Price; Mike Cantrell; Kenneth A.

Mayfield, Dallas County Commissioners; Bruce Sherbet,

Elections Administrator of Dallas County, Texas,

Defendants-Appellants.

No. 98-10864.

United States Court of Appeals,

Fifth Circuit.

Oct. 14, 1999.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the Northern

District of Texas.

Before SMITH, DeMOSS and STEWART, Circuit Judges.

DeMOSS, Circuit Judge:

The plaintiffs-appellees, B.C. Foreman, Ida Clark, Otis

Tarver, Dominic De La Cruz, Louis Davis, and Mandy Persina

(“plaintiffs”), served as precinct election judges in Dallas

County, Texas. The plaintiffs subsequently lost those positions

when the defendants-appellants, Dallas County, the

Commissioners Court of Dallas County, and _ other

(“defendants”), adopted a new method of appointing precinct

2a

election judges. The plaintiffs subsequently sued the

defendants under § 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965

(“VRA”), 42 U.S.C. § 1973 et seq., alleging that the defendants

had not precleared the appointment method for precinct judges

with the United States Department of Justice as required by

statute, 42 U.S.C. § 1973c. After lengthy and protracted

litigation, which included an appeal to the United States

Supreme Court, Foreman vy. Dallas County, Tex., 521 U.S. 979

(1997) (per curiam), the suit was dismissed by a three-judge

district court as moot when the Texas legislature eventually

enacted a new and different appointment method. In this

appeal we are asked to decide whether the district court erred

in granting the plaintiffs attorney’s fees as prevailing parties

under 42 U.S.C. § 1973Ke). We reverse the district court’s

award of attorney’s fees and render judgment that the plaintiff's

take no attorney’s fees.

I,

In Texas presiding election judges are assigned to local

precincts and are responsible for managing the elections which

occur there. See Tex. Elec.Code § 32.071. An election judge’s

responsibilities include administering oaths at polling places,

preserving order and preventing breaches of the peace, and

enforcing the provisions of the Texas Election Code. See Tex.

Elec.Code §§ 32.072-.075. The alternate presiding judge serves

as presiding judge for an election if the presiding judge is

unable to serve. Tex. Elec. Code § 32.001(b); Foreman v.

Dallas County, Tex., 990 F. Supp. 505 (N.D. Tex.1998)

(outlining various responsibilities of election judges).

In 1996, before this suit was filed, the Texas Election

Code required the Dallas County Commissioners Court to

appoint on an annual basis presiding and alternate election

3a

judges for each precinct. Tex. Elec. Code § 32.002(a) (repealed

1997). Although the Code required the Commissioners Court

to “consider” the recommendations of the County Elections

Administrator before making an appointment, the statute vested

the Commissioners Court with the discretion to appoint any

qualified person. Tex. Elec. Code § 32.002(d) (repealed 1997).

Between November 1, 1972, when Texas became a

covered jurisdiction under the Voting Rights Act, and October

1996, when the Commissioners Court adopted the appointment

plan at issue, the Commissioners Court adopted various

methods for selecting election judges, without first obtaining

preclearance from the Department of Justice. See Foreman,

990 F. Supp. at 507 (detailing the chronology of changes). For

example, between 1982 and 1995, the Commissioners Court

appointed election judges pursuant to a presidential election

formula. This formula required the presiding judge to be a

member of the party whose presidential candidate carried the

precinct in the most recent presidential election. The alternate

judge was appointed from the other party. In 1995, however,

the Commissioners Court adopted a senatorial method for

appointing election judges. This method was based on which

party carried a precinct in the most recent senate race. Dallas

County, Texas Order No. 95-1313 (1995) (repealed 1996)

(hereinafter “1995 Order’).

In September 1996, the Commissioners Court changed

its appointment method again. This time, in all precincts where

the Republican candidate for Senate received the most votes in

the 1994 election, the person submitted or approved by the

Republican party would be named the presiding election judge. '

' The person submitted or approved by the Democratic party would be

named alternate presiding election judge.

4a

A majority of the Commissioners Court could vote, however,

not to appoint the proposed judge. In all other precincts, the

commissioner who represented the precinct determined whether

the person submitted or approved by the Republican or

Democratic party would be appointed presiding election judge.

The person submitted or approved by the party whose candidate

was not chosen was named the alternate election judge, subject

to the veto of a majority of the Commissioners Court. Dallas

County, Texas Order No. 96-1630 (1996) (repealed 1996)

(hereinafter “1996 Order”). Because this new methodology

gave the individual commissioners influence over the

appointment of election judges in precincts where the

Republican Senate candidate did not win a majority, the

practical effect was more Republican and fewer Democratic

presiding judges.

On October 3, 1996, the plaintiffs — black and Hispanic

voters who had not been reappointed as election judges — filed

suit alleging that the 1996 Order, and its appointment

procedure, had not received preclearance as required by § 5 of

the Voting Rights Act. The plaintiffs also filed a motion for a

temporary restraining order to enjoin the defendants from

implementing the 1996 Order.? The district court granted the

motion and issued a temporary restraining order, and convened

a three-judge court as required by the VRA to consider the

merits.

A few days later the Commissioners Court rescinded the

1996 Order and, claiming authority from § 32.002 of the

Election Code, proceeded to appoint election judges in a purely

discretionary manner. The Commissioners Court, which

’ The plaintiffs also moved to enjoin the defendants from implementing

the previous 1995 Order.

Sa

consisted of four Republicans and one Democrat, then

appointed only Republicans as presiding election judges, and

Democrats as alternate presiding election judges. In addition

to clearing the precincts of all presiding election judges from

the Democratic party, at least 54 black and 33 Hispanic election

judges were not reappointed. Dallas County, Texas Order No.

96-1950 (1996) (repealed 1997) (“October Order’).

The plaintiffs subsequently amended their complaint

and sought declaratory and injunctive relief enjoining the

Commissioners Court from implementing the October Order

for failure to receive preclearance under § 5 of the VRA. The

three-judge court denied the request for injunctive relief and

allowed the 1996 elections to take place under the supervision

of the election judges that had been appointed under the

October Order. After the election was over, the three-judge

court dismissed the plaintiffs’ suit, holding that § 5 ofthe VRA

did not apply to the Commissioner Court’s procedures for

appointing precinct election judges. Because the entire Texas

Election Code had been precleared in 1985, the three-judge

court reasoned that the Commissioners Court was merely

exercising its discretion pursuant to the precleared Election

Code.

On appeal, the Supreme Court rejected the holding of

the three-judge court and found that the appointment

procedures were properly covered by § 5 of the VRA. Foreman

v. Dallas County, Tex., 117 S. Ct. 2357, 2358 (1997) (per

curiam). The Court noted, however, that the determinative

question was whether the county sought to administer a

procedure that was different from the one in place on

November 1, 1972, the date the VRA went into effect in Texas.

Id. at 2358-59. Because the record was silent on the procedures

for appointing election judges in 1972, the Supreme Court on

6a

June 27, 1997 vacated the three-judge court’s ruling and

remanded the case for further findings. /d. at 2359.

However, prior to the Supreme Court’s decision the

Texas legislature amended § 32.002 of the Texas Election

Code and adopted a gubernatorial method for selecting election

judges. See Tex. Elec. Code § 32.002 (1999). The Justice

Department precleared the revised statute on September 2,

1997, and on October 7, 1997, the Commissioners Court

appointed new election judges in accordance with the new

method.’ On January 8, 1998, the three-judge court dismissed

the plaintiffs’ § 5 preclearance claim as moot, leaving open the

question of attorney’s fees. On the plaintiffs’ motion, a single

district judge found that the plaintiffs were prevailing parties

within the meaning of 42 U.S.C. § 1973/(e), and awarded the

plaintiffs roughly $183,263 in attorney’s fees. The defendants

timely appealed.

Il.

We review a district court’s award of attorney’s fees for

abuse of discretion and its supporting factual findings for clear

error. Wilson v. Mayor of St. Francisville, 135 F.3d 996, 998

(Sth Cir. 1998). We review the conclusions of law underlying

the award of attorney’s fees de novo. Marre v. United States,

117 F.3d 297, 301 (Sth Cir. 1997) (citing Jexas Food Indus.

Ass'n v. United States Dept. of Agric,, 81 F.3d 578, 580 (Sth

Cir. 1996)).

iil.

On appeal the defendants assail the district court’s

* All six plaintiffs were reappointed as presiding judges.

7a

finding that the plaintiffs qualify as prevailing parties under 42

U.S.C. § 1973(e).* As reflected in its memorandum order, the

district court based that determination on two separate grounds.

The district court first found that the plaintiffs were prevailing

parties because their suit was a “significant catalyst” behind the

Texas legislature’s decision to amend § 32.002 of the Election

Code and enact a gubernatorial appointment procedure. The

court also found that the plaintiffs were prevailing parties

because the plaintiffs were successful in obtaining a temporary

restraining order. We begin our review of those two findings

with a brief look at our guiding principles.

Only “prevailing parties” may recover attorney’s fees

under 42 U.S.C. § 1973/(e).° What it means to “prevail” was

recently clarified by the Supreme Court in Farrar v. Hobby,

506 U.S. 103, 109(1992). There, the Supreme Court explained

that a plaintiff prevails “when actual relief on the merits of his

claim materially alters the legal relationship between the parties

by modifying the defendant’s behavior in a way that directly

benefits the plaintiff.” Jd. at 111-12; TK’s Video, Inc. y.

Denton County, Texas, 24 F.3d 705, 711 (Sth Cir. 1994). The

Court further observed that “[n]o material alteration of the legal

relationship between the parties occurs until the plaintiff

* Section 1973/(e) provides in relevant part:

In any action or proceeding to enforce the voting guarantees of the

fourteenth or fifteenth amendment, the court, in its discretion, may allow the

prevailing party, other than the United States, a reasonable attorney’s fee as

part of the costs.

42 U.S.C. § 1973i(e).

* Because the phrase “prevailing party” connotes the same general

meaning under § 1973/(e) and 42 U.S.C. § 1988, cases under both Acts

apply the same principles when determining plaintiffs’ entitlement to

attorney’s fees. See Posada v. Lamb County, 716 F.2d 1066, 1071 (Sth Cir.

1983).

8a

becomes entitled to enforce a judgment, consent decree, or

settlement against the defendant.” Farrar, 506 U.S. at 113.

Thus, “the plaintiff must be able to point to a resolution of the

dispute which changes the legal relationship between itself and

the defendant.” /d. at 111. With those standards in mind, we

turn to the substantive merits of this appeal.

A.

The first matter we address is the district court’s finding

that the plaintiffs are prevailing parties because their suit was

a significant “catalyst” behind the Texas legislature’s decision

to amend the appointment procedures. On appeal the

defendants argue that the district court’s finding is incorrect

because prevailing party status can no longer be based on a

catalyst theory after the Supreme Court’s decision in Farrar.

The defendants further contend that even if the catalyst theory

remains good law, it cannot be applied the acts of third parties

and, in particular, to the acts of a general legislature.

By bringing this challenge to the district court’s use of

the catalyst theory, the defendants have ventured into an

unsettled area of the law. Before the Supreme Court’s decision

in Farrar, the catalyst theory was routinely applied in this and

other circuits. See Heath v. Brown, 858 F.2d 1092, 1094 (Sth

Cir. 1988); Garcia v. Guerra, 744 F.2d 1159, 1162 (Sth Cir.

1984); Williams v. Leatherbury, 672 F.2d 549, 550-51 (5th Cir.

1982). It allowed a plaintiff to achieve prevailing party status

— even in the absence of a formal victory in court — if the

plaintiff's suit was a “substantial factor or a significant

catalyst” in obtaining the relief sought. See Leatherbury, 672

F.2d at 550-51 (explaining catalyst theory).

After Farrar, however, the continuing validity of the

RS eR oan ctw eh BIS 5

awit

BOA akan tacaey aR Ra

Naa i ih

ie

9a

catalyst theory is in serious doubt. In Farrar the Supreme

Court seemed to narrow the circumstances in which a party

may claim prevailing party status. The Court noted that “to

qualify as a prevailing party . . . [t]he plaintiff must obtain an

enforceable judgment . . . or comparable relief through a

consent decree or settlement.” Id. at 111 (emphasis added).

The Court declared that “[o]nly under these circumstances can

civil rights litigation effect ‘the material alteration of the /egal

relationship of the parties’ and thereby transform the plaintiff

into a prevailing party.” Jd. (emphasis added). The Court

added that “(nJo material alteration of the legal relationship

between the parties occurs until the plaintiff becomes entitled

to enforce a judgment, consent decree, or settlement against the

defendant.” /d. at 113 (emphasis added).

The language in Farrar strongly suggests that a plaintiff

must obtain some merits-based relief which alters its legal

standing with the defendant before it may claim prevailing

party status. That, however, is seemingly at odds with the

catalyst theory which allows a plaintiff to claim prevailing party

status even if there is no material change in the legal

relationship between the parties. See Leatherbury, 672 F.2d at

550 (“Success by judgment may be self-evident, but a party

may still ‘prevail’ if its ends are accomplished as a result of the

litigation even without formal judicial recognition”). This has

led at least one court to conclude that Farrar has swept the

catalyst theory into the judicial trash heap. See S-] & S-2 v.

State Bd. of Educ., 21 F.3d 49, 51 (4th Cir.) (en banc), cert.

denied, 513 U.S. 876 (1994) (expressly overruling the

“catalyst” theory and stating that a plaintiff may only qualify as

a “prevailing party” by virtue of “having obtained an

enforceable judgment, consent decree, or settlement giving

some of the legal relief sought”). Other courts have disagreed,

finding that their respective versions of the catalyst theory

TE OO EE ll

10a

remain viable. See, e.g., Ellis v. University of Kansas Med.

Ctr, 163 F.3d 1186 (10th Cir. 1998); Brown v. Local 58, Int'l

Bd. of Elec. Workers, AFL-CIO, 76 F.3d 762 (6th Cir. 1996);

Marbley v. Bane, 57 F.3d 224 (2d Cir. 1995); Kilgour v. City

of Pasadena, 53 F.3d 1007 (9th Cir. 1995); Zinn v. Shalala, 35

F.3d 273 (7th Cir. 1994).

This Court has never fully explored the impact of

Farrar on the catalyst theory. There have been a few cases

after Farrar that have continued to apply the catalyst rule. See,

e.g., Watkins v. Fordice, 7 F.3d 453, 456 (Sth Cir. 1993)

(acknowledging the catalyst theory without discussing the

potential conflict with Farrar); Pembroke v. Wood County,

981 F.2d 225, 231 n. 27 (Sth Cir. 1993) (distinguishing Farrar

and seeming to limit its holding to suits seeking money

damages, but not discussing potential conflict between the

catalyst theory and Farrar); Milton v. Shalala, 17 F.3d 812,

814-15 (Sth Cir. 1994) (acknowledging the catalyst theory

without discussing potential conflict with Farrar). And in one

opinion we acknowledged the question and observed that the

catalyst theory “might” still be good law. Craig v. Gregg

County, 988 F.2d 18, 20-21 (Sth Cir. 1993). But we have never

addressed the issue directly. Though the defendants now urge

us to engage in that close debate, we decline the invitation.

Assuming, without deciding, that the catalyst theory still

applies in this Circuit, the facts of this case do not support a

finding that the plaintiffs were prevailing parties under 42

U.S.C. § 1973/(e).

We have held that under the catalyst theory a plaintiff

may obtain attorney’s fees as a prevailing party only if it

establishes (1) that the relief sought by plaintiff was in fact

obtained, and (2) that the suit itself caused the defendant to

alter its conduct. Pembroke, 981 F.2d at 230. In order to prove

lla

the requisite causation, the lawsuit must have been a “a

substantial factor or a significant catalyst” in motivating the

defendants to alter their behavior. Robinson vy. Kimbrough, 652

F.2d 458, 466 (Sth Cir. 1981). Here, the defendants assert that

the plaintiffs do not qualify as prevailing parties because they

failed to obtain the relief sought in their suit. The defendants

also contend that there is insufficient evidence that the

plaintiffs’ action was a substantial factor in the Texas

legislature’s decision to adopt the gubernatorial appointment

procedure. We agree on each count.

The plaintiffs brought suit under § 5 of the VRA. The

gravamen of their complaint is that the defendants adopted the

1996 appointment procedure without preclearing it with the

Department of Justice, as required by the statute. For relief the

plaintiffs requested: (1) a declaration from the district court

that the 1996 Order was legally unenforceable; (2) a temporary

and permanent injunction against the defendants’ use of any

procedure that had not been precleared; (3) a declaration from

the district court ordering the defendants to preclear the

procedure; and (4) a declaration from the district court

ordering that the 1996 election be conducted using a legally

enforceable procedure, or, alternatively, the procedure used

from 1982 to 1995.

From a cursory reading of the plaintiffs’ complaint it is

evident that the plaintiffs filed this action solely to enforce §

5’s preclearance procedures. It is equally apparent that all of

the plaintiffs’ requested relief flowed from the rights that

accrued under § 5 of the VRA. Thus, when the Texas

legislature adopted an entirely different appointment method,

mooting the litigation, the plaintiffs went home empty handed.

They received none of the substantive relief for which they

originally filed suit.

12a

The plaintiffs, however, would have us believe that they

successfully obtained relief in the form of the newly-enacted

gubernatorial method. They would point to the fact that under

that new method they were reappointed to their old positions.

Though carrying some initial appeal, their argument fails under

close scrutiny.

The plaintiffs’ complaint is filed under the narrow

confines of § 5 of the VRA, with the stated intent of forcing the

defendants to preclear the 1996 appointment procedure. !t may

be true that the plaintiffs filed this action with the goal of

pressuring the defendants into adopting a different procedure.

But hidden motives are not the stuff on which attorney’s fees

are based. A defendant cannot be asked to pay attorney’s fees

for relief which was never demanded, or even made clear, in

the plaintiffs complaint. Similarly, even under the catalyst

theory it will be a rare case indeed where a defendant is made

to pay attorney’s fees for relief that was secured from an

independent third-party who was never a party to the lawsuit.°

We conclude that the district court clearly erred in finding that

the plaintiffs were successful in obtaining the relief sought by

filing this action.

Likewise, even if we assume that the plaintiffs did

obtain some relief, there is insufficient evidence of a causal

connection between the plaintiffs’ individual suit and the Texas

legislature’s decision to revamp the appointment procedure. As

evidenced by its name, the catalyst theory requires that a

plaintiff prove that the suit itself was a catalyst for relief. That

is, the plaintiff must prove that the plaintiff's suit was a

“substantial facior” in achieving the relief sought. Robinson,

° We have been able to find no Fifth Circuit case which applies the

catalyst theory under such circumstances.

A AA A Wd PA Be RR al

l3a

652 F.2d at 466. Critically, a plaintiff does not satisfy that

standard with evidence of a causal connection in the most basic

sense. Instead, the plaintiff must prove the lawsuit itself, as a

discrete event, had a significant and identifiable influence on

the attainment of relief. Considering that the legislative process

is fraught with compromises, competing concerns, and

unspoken motives, a plaintiff who attempts to prove that his

individual suit was the catalyst behind the passage of general

legislation faces a formidable task. See Milton v. Shalala, 17

F.3d at 815 (“The mere possibility that Congress acted because

of an individual claimant’s suit (or reacted to a large number of

similar suits) is too speculative in our view considering the

many influences upon members of Congress in casting their

votes. We agree with the cases that have refused to credit the

change in law to a claimant’s individual Jaw suit and found the

nexus between Congress’s action and the law suit too

attenuated.’’)

In this case, the district court found the necessary level

of causation based solely on the affidavits of three Texas

legislators filed after the new appointment method was adopted

and after the suit was dismissed. In those affidavits the

legislators essentially stated that the Texas legislature decided

to enact the new procedure as a result of the plaintiffs’ suit.

The district court’s exclusive reliance on those three affidavits

was Clearly erroneous.

No one legislator, or even a group of three legislators,

has sufficient personal knowledge to declare the overall intent

of the Texas legislature. See Bread Political Action Comm. vy.

Federal Elec. Comm., 455 U.S. 577, 582 n. 3 (1982) (expressly

refusing to give probative weight to after-the-fact affidavit of

amendment sponsor regarding legislative intent); Milton, 17

F.3d at 815. For that we rely on the official legislative record,

i ee a tee

Se ae ey eet ey a ee ae

OT Pee Oe, bial

14a

which is itself often insufficient, unhelpful or confusing. In this

case, three post hoc, after-the-fact, affidavits do not, standing

alone, prove that the plaintiffs’ suit was a substantial factor in

the legislature’s decision. They may show that the plaintiffs’

lawsuit was a factor, to be sure. But they in no way show that

it was a “substantial factor.” We are strengthened in that

conclusion by the fact that the plaintiffs have pointed to no

other evidence in the legislative record which affirmatively

shows that the Texas legislature enacted the gubernatorial

method in response to the plaintiffs’ suit. Moreover, we find

it significant that the Texas legislature began the process of

amending the appointment method well before the plaintiffs

initiated this action.’

Thus, even were we to find that the plaintiffs received

the relief they sought, there is insufficient evidence that the

plaintiffs’ suit caused the Texas legislature to amend § 32.002

of the Election Code. We find that the district court committed

clear error in finding that the plaintiffs’ suit was the catalyst

behind that legislative decision. This leaves us with the last

remaining issue in this appeal, whether the district court erred

7 The defendants correctly point out that an almost identical version of

the bill that eventually became revised § 32.002 was introduced in the 1995

iexislative session. Compare Tex. H.B. 2241, 74th Leg., R.S. (1995), with

Tex. HB. 331, 75th Leg., R.S. (1997) (introduced version), and Tex.

Elec.Code § 32.002 (1999). The 1995 bill passed the Texas House as part

of an omnibus election bill, but never passed the Senate. Then, a nearly

identical bill was filed in the 1997 session. Tex. H.B. 331, 75th Leg., R.S.

(1997) (introduced version). Therefore, the statutory change that the

plaintiffs claim to have catalyzed was in fact being considered by the Texas

legislature well before the plaintiffs’ suit was filed. We note, additionally,

that the relief sought by the plaintiffs’ suit, i.e., preclearance by the

Department of Justice of a change in voting procedures, is entirely separate

and distinct from the change contemplated by the legislative acts, 1.¢., a

substantive change in the procedure for selecting precinct judges.

an nt ae Sata

Pee OP eee ee

pike geal, Shia

serene Rac.

Lite ASE SER ALS IEE LIA CELLED ALLE OLED LAIRD PGR

A

4

%

15a

in finding that the plaintiffs acquired prevailing party status by

seeking and receiving a temporary restraining order.

B.

In its written order the district court held that “the

plaintiffs did prevail with respect to their request for a

temporary restraining order to enjoin the September 3, 1996,

order.”” That, however, was the total extent of the district

court’s reasoning. On appeal the defendants assert that a

temporary restraining order does not make a plaintiff a

prevailing party. The defendants assert that it is merely a

transitory order that has no affect on the merits of the litigation.

We agree.

Farrar is clear. To achieve prevailing party status there

must be “actual relief on the merits” which “materially alters

the legal relationship between the parties.” Farrar, 506 U.S. at

111, 113 S. Ct. 566. A temporary restraining order is not

merits-based relief. Nor is it a final remedy. A temporary

restraining order is a “stay put,” equitable remedy that has as its

essential purpose the preservation of the status quo while the

merits of the cause are explored through litigation. As such, a

temporary restraining order cannot constitute the type merit-

based relief that affords a plaintiff prevailing party status. The

district court committed clear error in reaching a contrary

conclusion.

IV.

Although today we do not decide whether the catalyst

theory survives Farrar in this Circuit, we hold that even under

the catalyst theory the district court clearly erred in finding that

the plaintiffs were prevailing parties. Accordingly, as the

i

l6a

district court abused its discretion in granting attorney’s fees

under 42 U.S.C. § 1973/(e), we reverse and render judgment

that plaintiffs take no attorney’s fees.

ine . ee wannee . ‘ aks Pee ar eee sh ise °

pe La Rae Weal ni NR ve Rea ar aie LS Se ENDER A i SESE IS . Veen

dP aS ARR ADS SOURCE Pa NTN

eyed a ae!

RS et. Cte Lae ere peor Glen oe oe te atte eal

17a

CARL E. STEWART, Circuit Judge, dissenting:

The majority has held that the district court clearly erred

in finding that the plaintiffs were prevailing parties, and that

therefore the district court abused its discretion in awarding the

plaintiffs attorneys’ fees under 42 U.S.C. § 1973/(e). While I

agree that the catalyst theory is the appropriate basis upon

which to decide this case, I cannot agree with the conclusion

reached by the majority. For the following reasons |

respectfully dissent.

This court reviews the district court’s award of

attorneys’ fees for abuse of discretion, and the underlying

factual findings are reviewed for clear error. See League of

United Latin American Citizens No. 4552 (LULAC) v. Roscoe

Independent School District, 119 F.3d 1228, 1232 (Sth Cir.

1997). This court has clearly emphasized that a district court

has broad discretion in determining the appropriate award of

attorneys’ fees. See Associated Builders and Contractors of

Louisiana Inc. v. Orleans Parish School Board, 919 F.2d 374,

379 (Sth Cir. £990); ZLULAC, 119 F.3d at 1232. The

determination of attorneys’ fees is an “intensely factual’’

inquiry, and thus the district court’s broad discretion in this

area 1S appropriate because of the district court’s superior

understanding of the litigation and the desirability of avoiding

frequent appellate review of what essentially are factual

matters. Associated Builders, 919 F.2d at 379 (quoting Hensley

v. Eckerhart, 461 U.S. 424, 437 (1983)); see also Posada v.

Lamb County, Tex., 716 F.2d 1066, 1072 (Sth Cir. 1983).

Viewing the facts of the present case from this deferential

standard of review, and considering the broad discretion that

should be accorded the district court in this area I cannot agree

with the majority that the district court clearly erred in its

factual findings, and abused its discretion in awarding

18a

attorneys’ fees to the plaintiffs.

To establish prevailing party status under the catalyst

theory,' the plaintiffs must demonstrate (1) that the relief they

sought was in fact obtained, and (2) that the suit itself caused

the defendant to alter its conduct. See Pembroke v. Wood

County, 981 F.2d 225, 230 (Sth Cir. 1993). The majority opines

that the plaintiffs filed this action solely to enforce the

preclearance procedures mandated by § 5 of the Voting Rights

Act, and that when the Texas legislature adopted a method of

appointment that was different from the one specifically

advocated by either the plaintiffs or defendants, the plaintiffs

“went home empty handed”. The record, however, does not

support the majority’s conclusion.

The plaintiffs, a group of African-American and

Hispanic voters of Dallas County who had served as election

judges, brought this complaint after the Commissioners Court

of Dallas County (“defendants”) sought to make changes in the

appointment procedures for election judges. These changes

which were adopted September 3, 1996 (“1996 Order”) meant

that the plaintiffs would lose their positions as election judges.

The plaintiffs’ original complaint, filed on October 3, 1996,

alleged that the defendants changed the procedures for

' In deciding this case the majority applies the catalyst theory, but

states that “the continuing validity of the catalyst theory is in serious doubt”

due to the Supreme Court's decision in Farrar v. Hobby, 506 U.S. 103, 109

(1992). The majority declines to decide whether the catalyst theory still

applies in this Circuit, however, it is critical to acknowledge that post-

Farrar this Circuit and the majority of other circuits have continued to apply

the catalyst theory. See, e.g., Pembroke v. Wood County, 981 F.2d 225, 231

n.27 (Sth Cir. 1993); Craig v. Gregg County, 988 F.2d 18 (Sth Cir. 1993);

Ellis v. University of Kansas Medical Center, 163 F.3d 1186 (10th Cir.

1999): Zinn v. Shalala, 35 F.3d 273 (7th Cir. 1994).

2...

OOOO

Bidi sh Gad e ao Oy otis en ae

4 DEP ei ik Dy Dt BALSA hin RE Geb SINNER AAT EASE SAA REHEATING 7

Ste tie Geka eae

4

$

2

é

é

=

bi

19a

appointing election judges without the preclearance of the

Department of Justice as required under § 5 of the Voting

Rights Act. The plaintiffs sought declaratory and injunctive

relief to block the implementation of any procedure that was

not precleared, including a specific declaration that the 1996

Order was not legally enforceable. The plaintiffs were

immediately successful on two fronts. First, the district court

granted the plaintiffs’ request for a temporary restraining order

which blocked the defendants from implementing the 1996

Order. Furthermore, a few days after the district court issued

the temporary restraining order the defendants rescinded the

1996 Order, and implemented a different procedure which

granted the Commissioners Court of Dallas County discretion

in selecting the election judges (“October Order’). As a result

of the defendants response to the temporary restraining order

the plaintiffs were successful in one of their goals for the

litigation which was to insure that the 1996 Order was not

implemented. While the plaintiffs did not achieve this goal

through a declaration from the district court that the 1996 Order

was legally unenforceable, it is clear from the record that the

defendants abandoned the 1996 Order in response to the

litigation. The defendants abandoned the 1996 Order only five

days after the temporary restraining order was issued that

resulted in a short term cessation of the implementation of the

1996 Order. This court has recognized that when a lawsuit

motivates a defendant to take voluntary action to alleviate the

conditions outlined in the complaint, the plaintiff can be

considered a prevailing party although they received no judicial

decree. See Pembroke, 981 F.2d at 230.

The second goal of the plaintiffs’ complaint was to have

the procedures for appointing election judges precleared by the

Department of Justice as prescribed in § 5 of the Voting Rights

Act. After the defendants abandoned the 1996 Order and

20a

replaced it with a discretionary method of selecting election

judges, the plaintiffs amended their complaint seeking § 5

preclearance of this procedure. The defendants steadfastly

maintained throughout this litigation that the procedures to

select election judges were not subject to preclearance under §

5 of the Voting Fights Act because these were discretionary

activities as provided for in the Texas Election Code, which

was precleared in 1985. The three judge district court agreed

with the defendants’ theory and refused the plaintiffs’

application for a permanent injunction on the grounds that the

defendants’ procedures were a proper exercise of discretion

granted by the state election statute.

Despite this setback, the plaintiffs were eventually

successful in receiving a judicial declaration that the procedures

for appointing election judges are subject to the requirements

of § 5 of the Voting Rights Act. The Supreme Court, in

Foreman v. Dallas County, 521 U.S. 979, 980 (1997) held that

the actions of the Commissioners Court of Dallas County in

selecting election judges may require preclearance because the

County’s exercise of its discretion under the Texas Election

Code does not shield its actions from § 5.2 Foreman v. Dailas

County, 521 U.S. 979, 980 (1979). This Supreme Court

decision meant that the defendants would no longer be able to

implement any procedure for appointing election judges

without meeting the requirements of § 5 of the Voting Rights

Act, including preclearance if the defendants sought to

implement procedures that had not previously been precleared.

The Supreme Court remanded the case for further

? The Supreme Court did not make a final determination whether

preclearance was required for the October Order because the record did not

contain sufficient information. See Foreman, 521 U.S. at 981.

2la

proceedings, but while the case was on appeal to the Supreme

Court the Texas Legislature amended § 32.002 of the Texas

Election Code to provide that all precinct election judges would

be chosen based on the results from the gubernatorial elections

(“gubernatorial method”’). Texas submitted the gubernatorial

method for Preclearance from the Department of Justice which

was granted by the Attorney General in September 1997. Thus,

the October 1996 Orders which were the subject of this

litigation were superceded by the precleared gubernatorial

method of selection adopted by the Texas legislature. As a

result of the legislation the plaintiffs were all reappointed as

election judges, and the defendants were forced to implement

a system of selection which was precleared under § 5 of the

Voting Rights Act.

The actions of the Texas legislature helped provide the

plaintiffs with one aspect of the relief they sought by forcing

the defendants to adopt a precleared method of appointing

election judges. Therefore to be prevailing parties under the

catalyst theory the plaintiffs must demonstrate that their suit

was a Significant contributing factor in the Texas legislature’s

actions. See Posada, 716 F.2d at 1072. The lawsuit need not be

the sole reason for the legislature’s action, but the plaintiffs’

actions must have made an important contribution to the

improvements which were achieved. /d.

The majority finds that the district court clearly erred in

finding that there was a causal link between the plaintiffs’

lawsuit and the actions of the Texas legislature. Specifically,

the majority holds that the district court clearly erred in its

reliance on the affidavits of three Texas legislatc~s to establish

this causal link. I disagree with the majority that the district

court clearly erred in relying on these affidavits.

22a

The majority cites Bread Political Action Committee v.

Federal Election Commitiee, 455 U.S. 577, 582 n.3(1982) for

the proposition that no single legislator, or even a group of

three legislators has sufficient personal knowledge to declare

the overall intent of the legislature. In Bread Political Action

Committee, the Supreme Court interpreted the language of the

Federal Election Campaign Act of 1971(“FECA”). The

plaintiffs argued that to interpret the meaning of FECA the

Court should not rely solely on the language of the statute but

instead should expansively construe the statute. See Bread

Political Action Comm., 455 U.S. at 581, 102 S. Ct. 1235. As

part of their evidence to convince the Court to adopt this

expansive construction of FECA the plaintiffs offered the

affidavit of the senator who sponsored the amendment as proof

that the legislature intended for the bill to be liberally construed

by the courts. The senator’s opinion contradicted the language

of the bill itself, and the Court concluded that the senator’s

statements should be given no probative weight regarding the

legislative intent. See Bread, 455 U.S. at 582 n. 3, 102 S. Ct.

1235.

The present case is clearly distinguishable from Bread

because in this case the district court did not rely on the

affidavits of the Texas legislators to interpret the meaning of

the Texas Election Code, or the legislative intent in regards to

how the statute should be applied. Instead the plaintiffs offered

these affidavits to demonstrate that their lawsuit was a catalyst

in the passage of the legislation, including motivating the

introduction of the legislation. The question in Bread was

legislative intent, and the question in this case is legislative

motive. In determining legislative motive it is helpful to

examine different factors.

It is logical that in seeking to interpret the meaning of

sre ANAS Wa dra AS Oar SN OD

23a

a Statute that courts should reject the post-hoc opinions of

legislators as controlling evidence because the courts already

have adequate information that can be gleaned from the

language of the statute itself or the official legislative history.

See Bread, 455 U.S. at 580, 102 S. Ct. 1235 (stating that

analysis of the issue of statutory construction must begin with

the language of the statute itself). However, what will often not

be found in the language of a statute or the official legislative

history is the motivation for introducing a bill, or each member

of the legislatures reasons for supporting the legislation. The

majority acknowledges that legislative history is often

“insufficient, unhelpful or confusing.” Absent a holding that a

party can never conclusively establish that a lawsuit is a

catalyst for legislation because of the impreciseness of the

proof available, we must acknowledge some reasonable method

for parties to prove that their actions were a catalyst in the

passage of legislation. One reasonable method of establishing

that a lawsuit was a significant factor in the introduction and

passage of legislation is to determine the legislators’ motivation

by considering the legislators’ statements about their

motivation.

The plaintiffs received affidavits from three Texas

legislators, Senator Royce West (“Senator West’),

Representative Debra Danburg (“Representative Danburg’’),

and Representative Terri Hodge (“Representative Hodge’).

Senator West stated that he introduced Senate Bill 130, which

advocated the gubernatorial method of appointing election

judges after hearing about the defendants’ 1996 Order which

would have altered the selection procedures. Senator West

further revealed that he attended a public meeting to voice his

concerns to the defendants about the change of procedures in

choosing presiding election judges. Finally, Senator West

stated that he was involved in discussions with the plaintiffs’

24a

counsel about pursuing the present lawsuit, and that the present

lawsuit served as a catalyst for his introduction of the

legislation in the Texas Senate. The majority states that the

legislators do not have personal knowledge of the motivations

of the legislature, however, as the sponsor of the Senate bill

Senator West certainly has personal knowledge of what caused

him to introduce the legislation which eventually was passed

into law by the legislature.

Representative Danburg, who serves as the chair of the

Texas House of Representatives Committee on Elections,

introduced House Bill 331 which was similar to Senator West’s

Senate bill in that it also advocated the use of the gubernatorial

method for appointing election judges. Representative

Danburg stated that when she introduced House Bill 331 she

was aware of the lawsuit and it served as a catalyst for her to

introduce the bill, and that the lawsuit was a causal factor in the

action taken by the legislature. It is difficult to dispute that a

legislator knows their own motivations for introducing bill and

what influenced them to take that action.

Representative Hodge who is a member of the Dallas

County delegation to the Texas House of Representatives

declared that she became aware of this lawsuit in the Fall of

1996, this lawsuit was the subject of conversation among her

colleagues in the legislature, and that the lawsuit was a catalyst

in the bringing about the legislative action.

It is important to note that the defendants offered no

affidavits or evidence that contradicted the sworn testimony of

these three Texas legislators who all clearly stated that the

present lawsuit was a significant factor in the introduction and

passage of the legislation which forced the defendants to adopt

the precleared gubernatorial method for appointing election

PEAR

Be ee

25a

judges. The only support the defendants offered to bolster their

argument that the lawsuit was not a catalyst for the legislation

was a copy of a 1995 house bill with almost identical language

to the language used in Senate Bill 130 and House Bill 331.

The majority determines that the existence of a bill which

proposed the gubernatorial method of selection before the

lawsuit was filed demonstrates that the 1997 legislation was

already under consideration by the Texas legislature, and

therefore the 1997 legislation could not have been catalyzed by

the plaintiffs’ lawsuit. However, the 1995 bill which passed in

the Texas House was not adopted by the Texas Senate.

Therefore, a bill proposing the gubernatorial method of

appointment was not under consideration by the legislature

when the plaintiffs filed their lawsuit in the fall of 1996.

Moreover, there is no support in the case law for the notion that

the preexistence of a legislative concept is a per se bar to an

evidentiary determination of catalytic effect. Senator West and

Representative Danburg who introduced the 1997 bills in the

Senate and Houses were unequivocal in their testimony that it

was the plaintiffs’ lawsuit that was the catalyst for their

introduction of the bill. The majority does not appear to

question the truthfulness or veracity of Senator West or

Representative Danburg’s testimony. Therefore, absent the

presence of contradicting affidavits or other substantive

evidence the defendant’s alternative explanation of the 1995

bill as a motivation for the legislator’s introduction of the 1997

bill was correctly found by the district court to be unavailing.’

> The majority states that their conclusion that the three Texas

legislators’ statements are not sufficient evidence is strengthened by the fact

that plaintiffs’ point to no other evidence in the legislative record which

affirmatively shows that the Texas legislature acted in response to the

plaintiffs’ lawsuit. However, there was one mention of the lawsuit in the

legislative record. Steve McDonald, an employee of the Texas Democratic

party, submitted an affidavit to the district court which stated that he

26a

Finally, the majority cites Milton v. Shalala, 17 F.3d

812 (Sth Cir. 1994) for their proposition that it is difficult to

establish a causal connection between the legislature’s actions

and an individual suit. In Milton, this court rejected a

plaintiff's claim for attorneys’ fees where the plaintiff was one

of the thousands of litigants whose lawsuits may have helped

spur the enactment of a social security disability reform act.

The panel stated that the mere possibility that the United States

Congress acted because of an individual claimant’s suit is too

speculative to credit a change in the federal law to a claimant’s

individual lawsuit. Milton, 17 F.3d at 815. I do not quarrel

with the holaing in Milton. Unlike Milton, the present

plaintiffs’ lawsuit was not simply one of thousands of lawsuits

that all sought redress for the same complaint making it

difficult to establish a nexus between any one of the many

lawsuits and the congressional action. The record does not

indicate that there were any cther lawsuits pending to address

appointment procedures for election judges in Texas. Unlike

Milton, the plaintiffs’ action in this case was unique in its

challenge, and is specifically credited by the sponsoring

legislators as a catalyst in the introduction and passage of the

legislation. Furthermore, there is no indication that the plaintiff

in Milton offered any evidence to establish a causal link

between his individual lawsuit and the congressional action

taken. In contrast, these plaintiffs have offered the

uncontradicted, sworn declarations of three Texas legislators

who state that the present lawsuit was a catalyst in the passage

of the 1997 legislation.

For the above reasons I disagree with the majority that

testified about the 1997 bill in the Texas Senate, and during his testimony

specifically cited this litigation as a reason for the Senate to adopt the bill.

No counter affidavit is found in the record.

RNA ded EE RS SLATER IE DAS Be TERRE 4

4 etdanphash ADK.

RAPED BER IAD © a Mies TaN taker

Wa ye Bad BRE Spe

27a

the district court clearly erred in finding that the plaintiffs’

lawsuit was not a substantial factor in the passage of legislation

which forced the defendants to adopt the precleared

gubernatorial method of appointing election judges. The

plaintiffs met the goals of their lawsuit in that the lawsuit

caused the defendants to abandon the 1996 order. The

plaintiffs also received a favorable decision from the Supreme

Court that the appointment procedures for election judges are

subject to § 5 of the Voting Rights Act. Finally, the plaintiffs

were reappointed to their offices as election judges. This

occurred as a result of the 1997 Texas legislation which forced

the defendants to modify their procedures. According to all the

substantive evidence presented to the district court this new

legislation was catalyzed by the plaintiffs’ lawsuit. The factual

determinations of the district court are amply supported by the

record. Therefore, the district court did not abuse its discretion

in awarding attorneys fees to the plaintiffs under 42 U.S.C. §

1973Ke). Accordingly, I respectfully dissent.

28a

APPENDIX B

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

DALLAS DIVISION

B.C. FOREMAN, et al., §

Plaintiffs, § Civil Action No.

§ 3:96-CV-2764-D

VS. §

DALLAS COUNTY, TEXAS, §

et al., §

Defendants. §

TEMPORARY RESTRAINING

ORDER

(Filed Oct. 3, 1996)

In this action brought pursuant to § § 5 and 12(d) of the

Voting Rights Act of 1965, plaintiffs have applied for a

temporary restraining order (“TRO”) to prevent defendants

from implementing two orders of the Dallas County

Commissioners Court that effect changes in the procedures for

selection and appointment of precinct election judges and

alternates in Dallas County, Texas. Plaintiffs have also applied

for a preliminary injunction, and they request that a three-judge

court be convened to consider their application.

A single judge of a three-judge court “may grant a

temporary restraining order on a specific finding, based on

evidence submitted, that specified irreparable damage will

result if the order is not granted.” 28 U.S.C. § 2284(b)(3).

Having considered plaintiffs’ evidentiary submissions

:

x

%

:

3

a

Ps

%

&

is

29a

and arguments of counsel in chambers, the court finds and

concludes that plaintiffs have made the necessary preliminary

showing to obtain part of the TRO relief for which they have

applied. Specifically, they have demonstrated a substantial

likelihood that implementation of Dallas county commissioners

court Order No. 95-1313 and/or Order No. 96-1630 for the

November 5, 1996 election will violate § 5 of the Voting

Rights Act of 1965, 42 U.S.C. § 1973c, because the orders

effect changes in voting practices or procedures that have not

received pre-clearance from the Attorney General of the United

States. Plaintiffs have also demonstrated irreparable damage

from defendants’ maintaining and effecting election procedures

that violate federal law. They have also shown that the harm to

them outweighs the harm to defendants, and that entering a

TRO will not disserve the public interest.

Accordingly, pending further order of the undersigned

or of the three-judge court, or, if longer, for a period of 10 days,

defendants, their officers, agents, servants, employees, and

attorneys, and all persons in active concert or participation with

them who receive actual notice of this order by personal service

or otherwise, are temporarily restrained from implementing

Dallas County Commissioners Court Order No. 95-1313

(adopted August 8, 1995) and Order No. 96-1630 (adopted

September 3, 1996) for the November 5, 1996 election. This

restraining order also applies to Dallas County Commissioners

Court Order No. 96-1632 (adopted September 3, 1996) to the

extent necessary to effect the restraint hereby imposed on

implementation of Order No. 96-1630.

The three-judge court shall by separate order direct the

manner in which plaintiffs’ application for a preliminary

injunction shall be heard and considered.

30a

Nothing in this order precludes defendants from

rescinding the orders hereby restrained or from taking such

other actions as may be necessary in order for necessary pre-

clearance to be obtained.

SO ORDERED.

October 3, 1996 at 4:23 p.m.

/s/ Sidney A. Fitzwater

SIDNEY A. FITZWATER

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

3la

APPENDIX C

B.C. FOREMAN, et al.

Vv

DALLAS COUNTY, TEXAS, et al. (Two Cases)

Nos. 96-987, 96-1389.

Supreme Court of the United States

June 27, 1997.

PER CURIAM.

Texas by statute authorizes counties to appoint election

judges, one for each precinct, who supervise voting at the polls

on election days. In 1983 and several times thereafter, Dallas

County changed its procedures for selecting these officials.

Each of the new methods used party-affiliation formulas of one

sort or another. After the most recent change in 1996,

appellants sued the County and others in the United States

District Court, claiming that § 5 of the Voting Rights Act, 79

Stat. 439, as amended, 42 U.S.C. § 1973c, required that the

changes be precleared.

A three-judge court held that preclearance was not

required because the County was simply exercising, under the

state statute, its “discretion to adjust [the procedure for

appointing election judges] according to party power.” App. to

Juris. Statement 4a. The court apparently concluded that this

“discretionary” use of political power meant that the various

methods for selecting election judges were not covered changes

under § 5. The court also concluded that the Justice

Department’s preclearance of a 1985 submission from the State

~ the recodification of its entire election code — operated to

32a

preclear the County’s use of partisan considerations in selecting

election judges. The court denied injunctive relief, and later

dismissed appellant’s complaint pursuant to Fed. Rule Civ.

Proc. 12(b)(6). Appellants have brought both of these rulings

here.

We believe that the decision of the District Court is

inconsistent with our precedents. First, in NAACP v. Hampton

County Election Comm'n, 470 U.S. 166, 178 (1985), we held

that even ‘an administrative effort to comply with a statute that

had already received preclearance” may require separate

preclearance, because § 5 “reaches informal as well as formal

changes.” Thus, the fact that the County here was exercising its

“discretion” pursuant to a state statute does not shield its

actions from § 5. The question is simply whether the County,

by its actions, whether taken pursuant to a statute or not,

“enact[ed] or [sought] to administer any . . . standard, practice,

or procedure with respect to voting different from” the one in

place on November 1, 1972. § 5. The fact that the County’s

new procedures used political party affiliation as the selection

criteria does not mean that the methods were exempt from

preclearance.

Second, the State’s 1985 submission (the recodification

and a 30-page summary of changes to the old law) indicated

that the only change being made to the statute concerning

election judges was a change to “the beginning date and

duration of [their] appointment.” Thus, neither the recodified

statute nor the State’s explanations said anything about the use

of specific, partisan-affiliation methods for selecting election

judges. This submission was clearly insufficient under our

precedents to put the Justice Department on notice that the

State was seeking preclearance of the use of partisan affiliations

in selecting election judges. See, e.g., Young v. Fordice, 520

'

33a

U.S. 273, ---- - ---- , 1178S. Ct. 1228, 1236-1237 (1997); Lopez

v. Monterey Cty., 519 U.S. 9, ---- - ---- , 1178S. Ct. 340, 344-345

(1996); Clark v. Roemer, 500 U.S. 646, 658-659 (1991).

Because the parties agree that the record is silent as to

the procedure used by Dallas County for appointing election

judges as of November 1, 1972, the date on which Texas

became a covered jurisdiction under the Voting Rights Act, we

cannot make a final determination here as to whether

preclearance is in fact required. We therefore vacate the

judgment of the District Court in No. 96-1389, dismiss the

appeal from the District Court’s interlocutory judgment in No.

96-987, see Shaffer v. Carter, 252 U.S. 37, 44 (1920), and

remand for further proceedings.

It is so ordered.

34a

APPENDIX D

B.C. FOREMAN, et al., Plaintiffs,

V.

DALLAS COUNTY, Texas, et al., Defendants.

No. CIV. A. 3:96-CV-2764.

United States District Court, N.D. Texas.

June 25, 1998.

Entered on Docket, June 26, 1998,

Pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 58, 79a.

FITZWATER, District Judge.

Plaintiffs’ motion for an award of attorney’s fees,

expenses, and costs in this Voting Rights Act suit presents the

principal question whether they are prevailing parties who are

entitled to recover such relief. Concluding that plaintiffs have

established by a preponderance of the evidence that they

prevailed in obtaining a temporary restraining order, and that

their lawsuit otherwise was a substantial factor or a significant

catalyst in causing the Texas Legislature to enact TEX.

ELECTION CODE ANN. § 32.002(c) (West Supp.1998),

which in turn required defendant Dallas County, Texas (“Dallas

County’) to alter its method for appointing election judges, the

court grants the motion.

I

The relevant background facts and procedural history

of this case are set out in the opinion of the three-judge court

and need not be repeated at length. See Foreman v. Dallas

County, Tex., 990 F. Supp. 505, 506-509 (N.D. Tex.1998)

35a

(three-judge court). The court will confine its discussion of the

facts and procedural history to those that bear on the attorney’s

fees issue.'

Plaintiffs contend they are entitled, pursuant to 42

U.S.C. § 1973(e), 42 U.S.C. § 1988, and 28 U.S.C. § 1920 to

recover the sum of $183,263.95 in attorney’s fees and

expenses, together with costs and any additional sums incurred

in litigating this case in this court. Defendants oppose the

motion on various grounds.

Plaintiffs brought this suit to enjoin Dallas County and

the individual defendants from implementing changes that the

Dallas County Commissioners Court had adopted in the

method for appointing presiding and alternate presiding judges

for county election precincts for the 1996-97 term. The version

of § 32.002 of the Texas Election Code in effect in 1996

required that the Commissioners Court annually appoint

presiding and alternate presiding election judges for each

regular county election precinct. TEX. ELECTION CODE

ANN. § 32.002(a) (repealed 1997). The Code mandated that

the Commissioners Court consider the recommendations of the

County Elections Administrator before making an appointment,

id. § 32.002(d) (repealed 1997), but vested the Commissioners

Court with the discretion to appoint any qualified person. From

1982 until 1995 Dallas County used a Presidential election

formula. In 1995 the Commissioners Court adopted a

Senatorial method to be followed during the 1995- 97 period.

DALLAS COUNTY, TEXAS ORDER NO. 95-1313 (1995)

(repealed 1996).

' The motion for attorney’s fees, expenses, and costs is to be decided

as a single judge matter. See id. at 508 n.8.

36a

In 1996 the Commissioners Court initiated the first of

a series of orders that culminated in the present litigation. On

September 3, 1996 it superseded the 1995 order by adopting the

following appointment procedures for the 1995-1997 period:

(1) In all voting precincts in which the Republican candidate

for United States Senator received the most votes in the 1994

general election, the person submitted or approved by the

Republican party would be named presiding election judge, and

the person submitted or approved by the Democratic party

would be named alternate presiding election judge, provided,

however, that a majority of the Commissioners Court could

choose not to appoint any individual. (2) In all other precincts,

the Commissioner who represented the precinct would

determine whether the person suggested or approved by the

Republican or Democratic party would be the presiding

clection judge. The person named or approved by the party

whose preference was not chosen to be presiding election judge

would be named alternate presiding election judge, provided,

however, that a majority of the Commissioners Court could

choose not to appoint any individual. DALLAS COUNTY,

TEXAS ORDER NO. 96-1630 (1996) (repealed 1996).

After the Commissioners Court adopted this new

method, plaintiffs filed this suit on October 3, 1996, seeking to

block implementation of the order on the ground that the

changes in the method of appointing election judges had not

received § 5 preclearance. This court entered a temporary

restraining order the same day,’ and on October 8, 1996 the

Commissioners Court rescinded its September order and

implemented a procedure that followed § 32.002 of the

Election Code, which had been precleared in 1985. DALLAS

* The undersigned issued the temporary restraining order as a single

judge matter

pence RNC 2A RET

37a

COUNTY, TEXAS ORDER NO. 96-1950 (1996) (repealed

1997). The Commissioners Court received and considered the

recommendations of the County Elections Administrator. It

appointed Republican party recommendees as _ presiding

election judges, and Democratic party recommendees as

alternate presiding election judges, to hold special and general

elections for the term beginning August 1, 1996 and ending

July 31, 1997.

Plaintiffs responded to the new order by amending their

complaint to allege that the October 1996 method violated § 5.

They applied for a temporary restraining order and a

preliminary injunction to preclude defendants from

implementing the order, contending the necessary preclearance

had not been obtained. The three-judge court denied the

application. The Supreme Court denied plaintiffs’ request to

stay the order pending appeal. Foreman v. Dallas County,

Tex., --- U.S. ----, 117 S. Ct. 378 (1996). The general elections

in Dallas County were then conducted under the direction of

presiding judges and alternate presiding judges selected under

the method adopted on October 8, 1996.

The three-judge court later dismissed plaintiffs’ suit on

the merits pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(b)(6). Plaintiffs

appealed the judgment and the Supreme Court vacated and

remanded for further proceedings. Foreman v. Dallas County,

Tex., --- U.S. ----, 117 S. Ct. 2357, 2359 (1997) (per curiam).

The Court held that the fact that Dallas County “was exercising

its ‘discretion’ pursuant to a state statute [did] not shield its

actions from § 5.” /d. at ----, 117 S. Ct. at 2358. Instead, the

controlling question was whether the County by its actions

enacted or sought to administer any standard, practice, or

procedure with respect to voting that was different from the one

in place on November |, 1972. /d. The Court also rejected the

38a

holding of the three-judge court that the 1985 preclearance of

the Election Code was sufficient to satisfy § 5. /d. Because the

record was silent concerning the procedure used on November

1, 1972 for approving election judges, the Court held that “we

cannot make a final determination here as to whether

preclearance is in fact required.” /d. at ----, 117 S. Ct. at 2358-

59. The Court accordingly vacated the judgment of the three-

judge court and remanded for further proceedings. /d. at ----,

117 S. Ct. at 2359.

On May 28, 1997, prior to the Supreme Court’s remand,

the Texas Legislature amended § 32.002. Effective September

1, 1997, revised § 32.002(c) adopts a Gubernatorial method.

The Attorney General precleared the revised version of §

32.002(c) on September 2, 1997. On October 7, 1997 the

Commissioners Court appointed new presiding judges and

alternate presiding judges according to the Gubernatorial

method. All six plaintiffs were appointed presiding judges.

Plaintiffs now maintain that they were prevailing parties

in this case and/or that their lawsuit was a substantial factor or

significant catalyst in bringing about a change in the method for

selectirg presiding election judges in Dallas County.’

I]

The court first considers whether plaintiffs are

* Plaintiffs also contend that they received concrete, personal benefits

as a direct result of this suit, in that each was selected in 1997 as a presiding

election judge and the 1997 legislation was precleared under § 5, and that

the goals of their suit were achieved when the Supreme Court ruled that §

5 preclearance is required when changes are made to the procedures used to

select presiding election judges. The court need not address these grounds

of plaintiffs’ motion.

39a

prevailing parties based on having obtained against defendants

an enforceable judgment or comparable relief through a consent

decree or settlement. See Farrar v. Hobby, 506 U.S. 103, 111

(1992).

A

The court holds that plaintiffs did prevail with respect

to their request for a temporary restraining order to enjoin the

September 3, 1996 order.

Defendants maintain that plaintiffs are not prevailing

parties because the court’s order was temporary and was not

followed by a preliminary or permanent injunction. Assuming

arguendo that the temporary nature of the order deprived

plaintiffs of prevailing party status, the court finds for the

reasons stated below that the instant suit was a substantial

factor or significant catalyst in causing Dallas County to

rescind the September 3, 1996 order and adopt the October 8,

1996 order.

Defendants also assert that plaintiffs’ suit was not an

impetus for changing the September 3, 1996 order because their

counsel informed plaintiffs before suit was filed, and advised

the court at the time it considered the application for a

temporary restraining order, that Dallas County planned to

rescind, at the next meeting of the Commissioners Court, any

formulas for appointing election judges. Defendants have

offered no plausible explanation, however, for why - absent the

instant lawsuit — the Commissioners Court would undo within

a matter of weeks a duly adopted order for appointing election

judges.

Plaintiffs are therefore entitled to recover their

40a

attorney's fees and expenses in securing the temporary

restraining order.

B

Plaintiffs did not prevail in the Farrar sense, however,

with respect to the balance of their suit. The three-judge court

dismissed this case for failure to state a claim. Foreman vy.

Dallas County, Tex., Civil Action No. 3:96-CV-2764-D, order

at 1 (N.D.Tex. Feb. 7, 1997). The Supreme Court did not

decide the case on the merits. Despite its conclusion that the

preclearance requirements of § 5 of the Voting Rights Act

apply to changes in the method of appointing election judges,

Foreman, --- U.S. at ----, 117 S. Ct. at 2358, it held that

because the record was silent concerning the procedure used on

November |, 1972, “we cannot make a fina! determination here

as to whether preclearance is in fact required.”’ /d. at ----, 117

S. Ct. at 2358-59. The Court accordingly vacated the judgment

of the three-judge court and remanded for further proceedings.

Id. at ----, 117 S. Ct. at 2359. Its interlocutory ruling — which

did not finally decide whether Dallas County’s October 8, 1996

order required preclearance - did not confer prevailing party

status on plaintiffs. See Hewitt v. Helms, 482 U.S. 755, 760

(1987).

By the time the three-judge court considered the case on

remand, the Texas Legislature had already amended the Texas

Election Code, Dallas County had adopted the Gubernatorial

method for appointing election judges, and plaintiffs had each

been appointed as presiding election judges, thereby rendering

plaintiffs’ case largely moot. Foreman, 990 F. Supp. at 509

(holding that “plaintiffs” suit is largely moot”). To the extent

that the case was not moot, the court rejected plaintiffs’ claims

on the merits. /d. at 515.

*. rere see ‘

=. ea

4la

‘No material alteration of the legal relationship between

the parties occurs until the plaintiff becomes entitled to enforce

a judgment, consent decree, or settlement against the

defendant.” Farrar, 506 U.S. at 113. Except for the temporary

restraining order, plaintiffs obtained no such judgment, consent

decree, or settlement in this case. They do not qualify on this

basis as prevailing parties.

If]

A

Relief need not be judicially decreed, however, in order

to justify a fee award. Hewitt, 482 U.S. at 760; see Craig v.

Gregg County, Tex., 988 F.2d 18, 21 (Sth Cir. 1993). Plaintiffs

may still recover fees, expenses, and costs if they establish that

this lawsuit was “a substantial factor or a significant catalyst in

motivating the defendants to end their... behavior.” Williams

v. Leatherbury, 672 F.2d 549, 551 (Sth Cir. 1982) (quoting

Robinson v. Kimbrough, 652 F.2d 458, 466 (5th Cir. 1981)).

To meet this burden, plaintiffs do not have to prove that their

lawsuit was the sole reason for the defendants’ rectifying

actions. It is sufficient if they show that their “actions made an

important contribution to the improvements achieved.” Posada

v. Lamb County, 716 F.2d 1066, 1072 (Sth Cir. 1983). So long

as the lawsuit is a significant contributing factor, it need not be

the sole causative factor. /d.; Leroy v. City of Houston, 831

F.2d 576, 580 (Sth Cir. 1987). The inquiry is intensely

pragmatic and factual. Posada, 716 F.2d at 1072. The

chronology of events is a relevant and important consideration.

Craig, 988 F.2d at 21 (citing Hennigan v. Ouachita Parish Sch.

Bd., 749 F.2d 1148, 1152 (Sth Cir. 1985)).

In the present case, Dallas County did not change to the

Gubernatorial method for appointing election judges in 1997 as

a direct consequence of this lawsuit. It did so because the

Texas Legislature altered § 32.002 of the Texas Election Code

to mandate this method of appointing election judges.

Plaintiffs recognize that to establish that their lawsuit was a

substantial factor or significant catalyst, they must demonstrate

that the suit was a significant contributing factor in causing the

Texas Legislature to modify the Texas Election Code. See Ps.

Br. at 3 (contending that “plaintiffs can show this suit was a

catalyst for remedial legislation enacted in 1997 that prescribed

anew procedure for choosing presiding election judges”) & 11

(arguing that “the chronology of events supports the conclusion

that the remedy enacted by the Texas Legislature and

implemented in Dallas County in 1997 was caused, at least in

substantial and significant part, by the plaintiffs’ lawsuit’); Ps.

Rep. Br. at 5 n.3 (contending that this lawsuit “directly led to

a change in defendants’ conduct, and that this lawsuit produced

that change by provoking the Legislature to enact a bill

constraining the discretion of Dallas County officials in the

manner of selecting presiding election judges”).

It is possible for plaintiffs to recover attorney’s fees

when their lawsuit is a substantial factor or significant catalyst

in producing state-wide legislation that effects the voting

change that they seek locally. In Williams the Fifth Circuit

affirmed a decision of this court (Mahon, J.) denying such fees,

but did so because the lower court’s factual findings concerning

the absence of a causal link were not clearly erroneous.

Williams, 672 F.2d at 551. The panel noted that the district

court might well have taken another view of the evidence (i.e.,

awarded fees), thus intimating that a fee award would have

43a

been legally permissible had the evidence demonstrated the

requisite causal link between plaintiffs’ suit (a challenge to at-

large election of school board trustees) and the Texas law

(which mandated single member district elections). /d.*

Plaintiffs have submitted pertinent evidence from three

members (one Senator and two Representatives) of the Texas

Legislature in support of their assertion of a causal connection

between this suit and the revision of § 32.002. According to

their evidence, in January 1997 Senator Royce West (“Senator

West”), a Texas Senator whose district includes a large part of

Dallas County, introduced S.B. 130, which required that

counties adopt the Gubernatorial method. West Decl. at 4 1

& 3. Senator West had opposed the Commissicners Court’s

orders in the fall of 1996, helped spur and pursue the instant

suit, and introduced S.B. 130 to address Dallas County’s

decision to appoint only Republicans as presiding election

judges. Jd. at {2 & 4. Senator West testified that the lawsuit

served as a catalyst for the introduction of S.B. 130, id. at ¥ 6,

and there was a direct causal link between the lawsuit and the

legislation that amended § 32.002, id. at 4 7.

Representative Tern Hodge (“Representative Hodge’),

* Defendants maintain that in the Fifth Circuit, the notion that a lawsuit

was a Catalyst for passage of general legislation is not favored. The case on

which they rely, Milton v. Shalala, 17 F.3d 812 (Sth Cir. 1994), is

distinguishable on its facts. In Milton an individual plaintiff, who was

among literally thousands of litigants, attempted to recover attorney's fees

under a catalyst theory following enactment of a social security reform

statute that entitled him to obtain a remand of his application for disability

benefits. The panel agreed with the cases that refuse to credit a change in

law to a claimant’s individual suit and that find the nexus between Congress’

action and the lawsuit to be too attenuated. /d. at 815. In the present case,

for the reasons the court explains below, plaintiffs have made a sufficient

showing of the requisite nexus.

44a

a member of the Dallas County delegation in the Texas House

of Representatives, testified that the lawsuit caused her and

other delegation members to introduce and work for passage of

legislation that would remedy the problem that was the focus of

this suit. Hodge Decl. at 43. According to Representative

Hodge, many of her colleagues in the House and Senate agreed

that legislation was needed to prevent one political party from

controlling all the appointments of presiding election judges.

Id. at 45. Representative Hodge also averred that the lawsuit

was a catalyst in bringing about the legislative solution to the

problem. /d. The three-judge court's denial of an injunction,

and the pendency of the appeal to the Supreme Court,

emphasized to other legislators the need and desire for remedial

legislation. /d. The lawsuit provoked the Legislature to act and

caused it to remedy the situation in Dallas County and ensure

that it would never happen again in Dallas County or

elsewhere. /d. at 4 7.

Representative Debra Danburg (“Representative

Danburg’’), Chair of the Texas House Committee on Elections,

and a member of the House of Representatives from Harris

County, testified that she introduced H.B. 331, the Omnibus

Election Bill, which eventually became the law that inter alia

amended § 32.002. Danburg Decl. at ff 3-5.° Her reasons for

introducing the legislation were in part the result of the actions

taken by the Commissioners Court in 1996 and to prevent

similar actions in the future in Dallas County and elsewhere.

Id. at 43. Representative Danburg testified that the instant

lawsuit served as a catalyst for introducing H.B. 331, id. at 45,

and opined that the unfairness complained of in this lawsuit

was a causal factor in the action taken by the Legislature. /d.

> Senator West's bill, $.B. 130, was rolled into H.B. 331. Danburg

Decl. at 94; West Decl. at 4 5.

ered,

pour ba

Piaiibiratianieiisitcsin, sina aortas

4Sa

at 4 6.

.;

Defendants oppose the competence of plaintiffs’

evidence on various grounds, and contend for other reasons that

the evidence is insufficient to establish the requisite causal link.

l

Defendants first contend that plaintiffs’ evidence is

inadmissible because it is not based on personal knowledge and

because individual legislators are incompetent to testify

concerning the intent of a legislature as a whole. The court

rejects these assertions. Defendants have failed to show that

Senator West and Representatives Danburg and Hodge were

not testifying based on personal knowledge. The nature of their

testimony indicates that they were. And _ defendants

acknowledge, as they must, that the authorities on which they

rely concerning the competence of an individual legislator to

address the issue of legislative intent in the context of the

meaning of a statute, do not apply in deciding whether he can

testify that a particular lawsuit was causally related to the

legislature’s decision to enact the statute.

2

Defendants also advance the following arguments in

opposition to plaintiffs’ claim. (1) The chronology of events

defeats plaintiffs’ catalyst theory because a bill virtually

identical to H.B. 331 was introduced in the 1995 legislative

session as part of an Omnibus Election Bill, the bill passed the

House during that session and was automatically refiled in the

1997 session, and the Speaker of the House instructed the

46a

House Committee on Elections to study the matters contained

in that bill in anticipation of the 1997 legislative session. (2)

The lawsuit could not have been a catalyst because in order to

obtain passage of the bill, its supporters intentionally stressed

the need for bipartisan selection of election judges and

intentionally avoided discussing this lawsuit. The suit would

have been a detriment to passage, not acatalyst. The legislative

record contains only a single reference to the lawsuit, a

comment by a witness on behalf of the Texas Democratic Party,

made during a meeting of the Senate State Affairs Committee.°

(3) The fact that the bill affected the entire state is inconsistent

with the assertion that the Texas Legislature intended to

address this suit. Because most Senators and Representatives

do not represent Dallas County, it is more likely that they acted

for general policy reasons rather than changed the election

systems in the counties they represent merely to remedy a

problem in a county that they do not represent.

Defendants’ arguments undoubtedly have some

theoretical appeal. Common sense dictates that legislators act

for myriad reasons and often with the principal intent of

satisfying the interests of their constituents. Individual

legislators may have viewed a law that ties the selection of

* The court declines to accept defendants’ “stealth catalyst” argument,

in which they contend that this suit could not have caused the Texas

Legislature to act because the proponents of the legislation deliberately

chose not to the discuss the lawsuit, or to attack Republicans in Dallas

County, in order to obtain broad bipartisan support. The evidence that

plaintiffs introduced states that the lawsuit was not openly discussed, that is,

that there were no attacks on Dallas County officials in legislative hearings

or debates, not that it was not discussed among legislators. See Hodge Decl.

at "J 5-6. Defendants’ evidence of the absence of public comment merely

corroborates plaintiffs’ position, and does not address the private dynamics

of individual legislator interaction.

47a

presiding election judges to the success of a party’s candidate

for governor, rather than upon the composition of the local

county’s commissioners court, as fairer to both major political

parties or, for partisan reasons, as a more palatable allocation

of political power. Additionally, the Gubernatorial method

adopted in 1997 was part of an Omnibus Election Bill that

passed the House in 1995, prior to the filing of this suit.

Nevertheless, the question the court must decide is “intensely

factual.” Posada, 716 F.2d at 1072. Defendants’ opposition to

plaintiffs’ fee application is devoid of the facts necessary to

counter plaintiffs’ proof.

In its January 9, 1998 order prescribing the procedure

for submission of attorney’s fees materials, the court stated that

it would decide plaintiffs’ motion on the papers, in accordance

with Rule 43(e), unless a controlling credibility question was

presented. Jan. 9, 1998 Order at 2. Plaintiffs have introduced

evidence from the Senate and House sponsors of the bills that

culminated in the amendment to § 32.002, and from another

member of the House. These witnesses have testified without

contradiction that this lawsuit was a catalyst and that there was

a causal link between the litigation and enactment of revised §

32.002. Apart from chalienging the legal competence of the

witnesses to testify concerning the catalytic and provocative

nature of the lawsuit, defendants have neither questioned the

credibility of this evidence nor introduced proof of their own

from other legislators to counters plaintiffs’ evidence. Instead,

what they have primarily done is explain why they think

plaintiffs’ evidence supports their arguments. Under a

preponderance of the evidence standard, however, the court is

left inescapably with evidence from the House and Senate

sponsors, including the Chair of the Texas House Committec

on Elections and sponsor of the bill that eventually became law,

that this lawsuit played a significant role in causing the

48a

Legislature to amend § 32.002. Plaintiffs do not have to prove

that their actions were the sole reason, but need only show that

this lawsuit made an important contribution and was a

significant contributing factor. Plaintiff's proof is sufficient to

satisfy their evidentiary burden, by a preponderance of the

evidence, that the lawsuit played such a role in provoking the

1997 revision to § 32.002.

IV

Having determined that plaintiffs are entitled to recover

their attorney’s fees, the court must now consider defendants’

challenges to the sum requested.

In opposition to the amount of the award, defendants

repeat their assertion that plaintiffs are not prevailing parties,

argue that plaintiffs obtained only de minimis or merely

technical relief that does not support any fee award, contend

that one attorney’s hourly rate is unreasonable, and posit that

plaintiffs at most obtained limited relief in the form of a

temporary restraining order, thus justifying a modest fee.

The court has considered each of the relevant factors for

an attorney’s fees award. See, e.g., Hensley v. Eckerhart, 461

U.S. 424, 433-37 (1983). Absent any challenge to the evidence

that pertains to those factors — apart from the assertion that the

hourly rate charged by Kenneth H. Molberg, Esq. (“Molberg’’)

is excessive — the court need not address them in detail. The

court finds that plaintiffs’ request for fees and expenses of

$183,263.95 is amply supported by the record. Defendants’

attacks on Molberg’s hourly rate are refuted by record evidence

that supports the rate of $285.00 per hour. See Molberg Decl.

at J4 2, 5(a)-(g), 12, & 13. The court finds that his hourly rate

is reasonable. The court also rejects defendants’ assertion that

plaintiffs obtained only limited relief. Having concluded that

49a

this lawsuit was a substantial factor and significant catalyst in

causing Dallas County, via the Texas Legislature, to replace its

method for appointing election judges, and in view of the

Supreme Court’s decision that § 5 preclearance requirements

apply to changes in such appointment methods, it follows that

plaintiffs achieved more than de minimis or merely technical

relief.

Plaintiffs’ motion for an award of attorney’s fees,

expenses, and costs is granted, and it is ordered that they

recover from defendant Dallas County the sum of $183,263.95.

SO ORDERED.

June 25, 1998.

/s/ Sidney A. Fitzwater

SIDNEY A. FITZWATER

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

50a

APPENDIX E

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

NO. 98-10864

B C FOREMAN; IDA CLARK; OTIS TARVER; DOMINIC

DE LA CRUZ; LOUIS DAVIS; MANDY PESINA

Plaintiffs - Appellees

V.

DALLAS COUNTY TEXAS; COMMISSIONERS COURT

OF DALLAS COUNTY TEXAS; LEE F JACKSON, Dallas

County Judge; JIM JACKSON: JOHN WILEY PRICE; MIKE

CANTRELL; KENNETH A MAYFIELD, Dallas County

Commissioners; BRUCE SHERBET, Elections Administrator

of Dallas County Texas

Defendants - Appellants

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Northern District of Texas, Dallas

ON PETITION FOR REHEARING EN BANC

(Filed Nov. 9, 1999)

| __-- Before SMITH, DeMOSS and STEWART, Circuit Judges.

Sla

PER CURIAM:

Treating the Petition for Rehearing En Banc as a Petition for

Panel Rehearing, the Petition for Panel Rehearing is DENIED.

No member of the panel nor judge in regular active service of

the court having requested that the court be polled on

Rehearing En Banc (Fed. R. App. P. and Sth Cir. R. 35), the

Petition for Rehearing En Banc is DENIED.

ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

/s/ Harold R. DeMoss, Jr.

United States Circuit Judge

Judges Politz and Higginbotham did not participate in the

consideration of the rehearing en banc.

52a

APPENDIX F

42 U.S.C. § 1973c

§ 1973c. Alteration of voting qualifications and procedures;

action by State or political subdivision for declaratory judgment

of no denial or abridgement of voting rights; three-judge

district court; appeal to Supreme Court

Whenever a State or political subdivision with respect

to which the prohibitions set forth in section 1973b(a) of this

title based upon determinations made under the first sentence

of section 1973b(b) of this title are in effect shall enact or seek

to administer any voting qualification or prerequisite to voting,

or standard, practice, or procedure with respect to voting

different from that in force or effect on November 1, 1964, or

whenever a State or political subdivision with respect to which

the prohibitions set forth in section 1973b(a) of this title based

upon Ceterminations made under the second sentence of section

1973b(b) of this title are in effect shall enact or seek to

administer any voting qualification or prerequisite to voting, or

standard, practice, or procedure with respect to voting different

from that in force or effect on November 1, 1968, or whenever

a Statz or political subdivision with respect to which the

prohibitions set forth in section 1973b(a) of this title based

upon Ceterminations made under the third sentence of section

1973b’b) of this title are in effect shall enact or seek to

admin ster any voting qualification or prerequisite to voting, or

standard, practice, or procedure with respect to voting different

from that in force or effect on November 1, 1972, such State or

subdivision may institute an action in the United States District

Court for the District of Columbia for a declaratory judgment

that sich qualification, prerequisite, standard, practice, or

procecure does not have the purpose and will not have the

53a

effect of denying or abridging the right to vote on account of

race or color, or in contravention of the guarantees set forth in

section 1973b(f)(2) of this title, and unless and until the court

enters such judgment no person shall be denied the right to vote

for failure to comply with such qualification, prerequisite,

standard, practice, or procedure: Provided, That such

qualification, prerequisite, standard, practice, or procedure may

be enforced without such proceeding if the qualification,

prerequisite, standard, practice, or procedure has been

submitted by the chief legal officer or other appropriate official

of such State or subdivision to the Attorney General and the

Attorney General has not interposed an objection within sixty

days after such submission, or upon good cause shown, to

facilitate an expedited approval within sixty days after such

submission, the Attorney General has affirmatively indicated

that such objection will not be made. Neither an affirmative

indication by the Attorney General that no objection will be

made, nor the Attorney General’s failure to object, nor a

declaratory judgment entered under this section shall bar a

subsequent action to enjoin enforcement of such qualification,

prerequisite, standard, practice, or procedure. In the event the

Attorney General affirmatively indicates that no objection will

be made within the sixty-day period following receipt of a

submission, the Attorney General may reserve the right to

reexamine the submission if additional information comes to

his attention during the remainder of the sixty-day period which

would otherwise require objection in accordance with this

section. Any action under this section shall be heard and

determined by a court of three judges in accordance with the

provisions of section 2284 of Title 28 and any appeal shall lie

to the Supreme Court.

S4a

42 U.S.C. § 1973/

1973/. Enforcement proceedings

(ec) Attorney’s fees

In any action or proceeding to enforce the voting

guarantees of the fourteenth or fifteenth amendment, the court,

in its discretion, may allow the prevailing party, other than the

United States, a reasonable attorney’s fee as part of the costs.

55a

Texas Election Code § 32.002(c)

§ 32.002. Judges for County Election

x * *

(c) The presiding judge and alternate presiding judge must be

affiliated or aligned with different political parties, subject to

this subsection. Before July of each year, the county chair of a

political party whose candidate for governor received the

highest or second highest number of votes in the county in the

most recent gubernatorial general election shall submit in

writing to the commissioners court a list of names of persons

in order of preference for each precinct who are eligible for

appointment as an election judge. The commissioners court

shall appoint the first person meeting the applicable eligibility

requirements from the list submitted in compliance with this

subsection by the party with the highest number of votes in the

precinct as the presiding judge and the first person meeting the

applicable eligibility requirements from the list submitted in

compliance with this subsection by the party with the second

highest number of votes in the precinct as the alternate

presiding judge. The commissioners court may reject the list

if the persons whose names are submitted on the list are

determined not to meet the applicable eligibility requirements.

* *

56a

APPENDIX G

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

DALLAS DIVISION

B.C. FOREMAN; IDA CLARK;

)

OTIS TARVER; )

DOMINIC DE LA CRUZ; )

LOUIS DAVIS; and )

MANDY PESINA, yCivil Action No.

)3:96-CV-2764-D

Plaintiffs,

¥.

DALLAS COUNTY, TEXAS;

COMMISSIONERS’ COURT OF

DALLAS COUNTY, TEXAS;

LEE F. JACKSON,

County Judge of Dallas County,

Texas; JIM JACKSON,

MIKE CANTRELL,

JOHN WILEY PRICE, and

KENNETH A. MAYFIELD,

County Commissioners of Dallas

County, Texas; and

BRUCE R. SHERBET,

Elections Administrator of

Dallas County, Texas,

Defendants.

lll i i i i i i eee

57a

DECLARATION OF ROYCE WEST

Pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1746, I declare that:

1. My name is Royce West. I reside in Dallas County,

Texas. I am a practicing attorney in Dallas, Texas, and a

member of the Texas State Senate. My senate district, District

23, includes a part of Dallas County and a part of Tarrant

County. I am executing this Declaration at the request of

counsel for the plaintiffs in the above-captioned case.

2. In the Fall of 1996, I appeared before a public

meeting of the Dallas County Commissioners Court concerning

actions that the Commissioners Court was planning to take

with regard to changing the procedures for choosing presiding

election judges. At that time, the Commissioners Court was

considering a change in the procedures for selecting judges that

would have chosen only Republicans to serve as presiding

judges. I appeared before the Commissioners Court to oppose

the planned change and I urged members of the Commissioners

Court to maintain some degree of bipartisanship in the selection

of presiding election judges. Despite my concerns, the

Commissioners Court appointed new presiding judges on

October 6, 1996, and only Republicans were named as

presiding judges. As a result, the current lawsuit was pursued.

I was involved personally in discussions with plaintiffs’

counsel Kenneth H. Molberg about pursuing this litigation, and

I am one of those individuals who helped spur this lawsuit.

Plaintiffs’ counsel and | actively conferred about the plan to

challenge the Commissioners’ actions through litigation. It was

my hope that this case or the information obtained during the

course of the case would correct or help correct what I believed

to be a violation of the Voting Rights Act.

58a

3. In January 1997, the Texas Legislature was

convened in regular session. During that session, I introduced

legislation, Senate Bill 130, that prescribed a new and uniform

method of selecting presiding election judges in counties

throughout the state of Texas. Under this legislation, the county

chair of a political party whose candidate received the highest

or second highest number of votes in the county in the most

recent gubernatorial general election is to submit a list of names

of persons in order of preference for each precinct ‘who are

eligible for appointment as election judges. A copy of the

Senate Bill I introduced is attached hereto.

4. In January 1997, I introduced legislation that was

intended to resolve the situation in Dallas County and the

issues raised in this lawsuit. I did so because I was extremely

concerned that Dallas County had appointed only members of

one political party to serve as presiding election judges. I felt

that legislation was needed which would constrain the

discretion available to county officials, and that specific

procedures should be put in place to insure bipartisanship with

regard to future procedures used to select presiding judges. I

also believed that positions of presiding election judges, whose

duties should be carried out in a nonpartisanship fashion,

should not be used as instruments of partisanship, as had been

done by Dallas County in 1996. The instant lawsuit hi ghlighted

the extreme partisan position taken by the Dallas County

Commissioners Court in 1996, and the burden imposed on

ordinary citizens who were forced to go to court and challenge

Dallas County’s conduct as violative of the Voting Rights Act.

5. The legislation I introduced, SB 130, passed the

Texas Senate and was sent over for approval in the House.

Upon the request of State Rep. Debra Danburg in the House,

the author of similar legislation, I agreed to allow the Omnibus

59a

Election Bill, HB 331, to serve as the vehicle to achieve the

goals set forth in SB 130. The Omnibus Election Bill, which

was approved by both the Texas senate and house, was si gned

into law by Governor Bush.

6. As indicated, at the time I introduced SB 130, I was

aware that the instant lawsuit had been filed in the Fall of 1996.

The instant lawsuit filed against the County Commissioners

Court by the plaintiffs herein, and the proceedings in that

lawsuit, served as a catalyst for the introduction of legislation

in the Texas Legislature, which ultimately became law, and

changed the procedures for selecting presiding election judges

in Texas.

7. As a result of this lawsuit and the passage of new

procedures that now govern the selection of presiding election

judges, there has been a change in the behavior of the

defendants. Indeed, the Dallas County Commissioners Court

appointed new presiding judges in October 1997, and pursuant

to the new procedures requiring the results of the last

gubernatorial election to be used as the basis for appointment,

both Democrats and Republicans have been appointed as

presiding election judges. There is a direct causal link

between this lawsuit and the legislation that passed the Texas

legislature in 1997 prescribing new procedures for selecting

presiding election judges, and thus there is also a direct causal

link between this lawsuit and the change brought about in the

defendants’ behavior in 1997 when Dallas County selected new

presiding election judges pursuant to the procedures established

in SB 130, which ultimately became law.

60a

I declare under penalty of perjury that the foregoing is

true and correct.

Executed on this 12 day of February, 1998.

/s/ Royce West

ROYCE WEST

6la

APPENDIX H

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

DALLAS DIVISION

B.C. FOREMAN; IDA CLARK:

OTIS TARVER;

DOMINIC DE LA CRUZ;

LOUIS DAVIS; and

MANDY PESINA,

Plaintiffs,

V.

DALLAS COUNTY, TEXAS:

COMMISSIONERS’ COURT OF

DALLAS COUNTY, TEXAS:

LEE F. JACKSON,

County Judge of Dallas County,

Texas; JIM JACKSON,

MIKE CANTRELL,

JOHN WILEY PRICE, and

KENNETH A. MAYFIELD,

County Commissioners of Dallas

County, Texas; and

BRUCE R. SHERBET,

Elections Administrator of

Dallas County, Texas,

Defendants.

)Civil Action No.

)3:96-CV-2764-D

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

62a

DECLARATION OF DEBRA DANBURG

Pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1746, I declare that:

1. My name is Debra Danburg. I reside in Houston,

Texas. 1am a member of the Texas House of Representatives.

My House district, District 137, is located within Harris

County. I have been elected to the State House of

Representatives since 1980. For the past four legislative

sessions, I have chaired the House Committee on Elections, and

was previously also a member of that committee.

2. In 1996, the Dallas County Commissioners’ Court

was planning to change the formula and procedures for

choosing presiding elections judges. The Commissioners’

Court proposed a plan that would have chosen only

Republicans to serve as presiding judges. In 1996 the Dallas

Commissioners Court implemented new procedures for

appointing presiding precinct judges. That new procedure

resulted in the appointment of only Republican Party loyalists

to what had previously been a bipartisan position charged with

administering fair, even-handed elections.

3. In January 1997, the Texas Legislature was

convened in regular session. As Chair of the House Committee

on Elections, I introduced House Bill 331 which included

similar language to that introduced in Senate Bill 130 by

Senator Royce West. Like Senator West, my reasons to file

this legislation were, in part, a result of the actions taken by the

Dallas County Commissioners’ Court in 1996 and to prevent

this from continuing in Dallas County or happening elsewhere

in the state of Texas. The language in both pieces of legislation

prescribed a new and uniform method of selecting presiding

election judges in counties throughout the state of Texas.

Under these proposals, the county chair of a political party

63a

whose candidate received the highest or second hi ghest number

of votes in the county in the most recent gubernatorial general

election is to submit a list of names of persons in order of

preference for each precinct who are eligible for appointment

as election judges. The commissioners’ court is to appoint the

first person meeting the applicable eli gibility requirements from

the list submitted in compliance by the party with the highest

number of votes in the precinct as the presiding judge.

4. Senate Bill 130 passed the Texas Senate and was

sent over to the House for approval. As the legislative session

drew to a close, Senator West agreed to let his bill get rolled

into H.B. 331, the Omnibus Election Bill, that had already

passed the Texas House. Senator West’s bill was eventually

included in the Omnibus Election Bill, which was approved by

both the Texas Senate and House and was signed by Governor

Bush.

5. During the 75th Legislative Session when the House

Committee on Elections was meeting, | was aware that the

instant lawsuit had been filed in the Fall of 1996. The instant

lawsuit filed against the County Commissioners’ Court by the

plaintiffs herein served as a catalyst for the introduction of

legislation in the Texas legislature, which ultimately became

law, and changed the procedures for selecting presiding

election judges in Texas.

6. It is my understanding that as a result of the lawsuit

and the passage of H.B. 331, which included provisions

originally proposed in S.B. 130, that now govern the selection

of presiding election judges, there has been a change in the

behavior of the defendants. It is my opinion that the unfairness

complained of in this lawsuit was a causal factor in the action

taken by the Legislature.

64a

I declare under penalty of perjury that the foregoing is

true and correct.

Dated: Feb. 12, 1998

/s/ Debra Danburg

DEBRA DANBURG

65a

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

APPENDIX I

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

DALLAS DIVISION

B.C. FOREMAN; IDA CLARK; )

OTIS TARVER; )

DOMINIC DE LA CRUZ; )

LOUIS DAVIS; and )

MANDY PESINA, )Civil Action No.

)3:96-CV-2764-D

Plaintiffs,

V.

DALLAS COUNTY, TEXAS;

COMM

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Foreman v. Dallas County · 529 U.S. 1067 | Frix