Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Swenson v. Washington Department of Social & Health Services

Supreme Court brief2000

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

\ } 4 Supreme Court, U *

—— F | L i ,

No.________. 99 3 BY JAN 26 2000

INTHE . OFFICE O& IHE CLERK

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1999

IN RE THE WELFARE OF HANNAH S.

B.S. and L.S.,

Petitioners,

V.

THE WASHINGTON DEPARTMENT OF

SOCIAL AND HEALTH SERVICES,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE COURT OF APPEALS OF THE

STATE OF WASHINGTON

*TIMOTHY K. FORD

KATRIN E. FRANK

MacDONALD, HOAGUE & BAYLESS

705 2nd Avenue, Suite 1500

- Seattle, WA 98104

(206) 622-1604

ATTORNEYS FOR PETITIONERS

*Counsel of Record

DG

eer ee, oe ae

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

This petition presents the following questions

regarding the Fourteenth Amendment standards governing

state proceedings to permanently terminate parental rights,

see MLB. v. S.L.J., 519 U.S. 102 (1996), Santosky v.

Kramer, 455 U.S. 745 (1982):

1. Whether the constitutional requirement that the

State must establish the basis for a parental rights

termination by clear and convincing evidence can be

satisfied by proof of the fact that the parents did not

prevail in separate child welfare proceedings in which they

bore the burden of proving that there was no reason for the

continued removal of their child from their home.

2. Whether the constitutional requirement that the

basis for a parental rights termination be established by

clear and convincing evidence can be satisfied by an

“implicit” determination of current parental unfitness.

3. Whether the constitutional requirement that the

basis for a parental rights termination be established by

clear and convincing evidence applies to a statutory

requirement that termination be shown to be in the child’s

best interests.

4. Whether a state can utilize statutory criteria

governing parental rights termination decisions which are

SO vague as to permit wholly arbitrary enforcement.

— ee ers

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

OPINIONS BELOW ..,...................

ION Sg sk oo es eben iawn.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND

oe jl ige D4 8 By ) ea

SrAToMeen OF Tie CASE .... 2.2 csccesee

A. The Law Governing Parental Termination

Proceedings in the State of Washington ....

B. The Proceedings Below ...............

l. The Dependency Proceedings ......

& The Termination Proceedings ......

3. The Decision of the Court of Appeals . .

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT.......

I. CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED IN

THIS CASE TO ENFORCE AND CLARIFY

THE STANDARDS OF DUE PROCESS

APPLICABLE TO STATE PROCEEDINGS

LEADING TO THE TERMINATION OF

ae tt ee

A. The Decisions Below Directly Conflict With

a ee ee ee ee ee

il

5 Washington Law Requires Parents to

Prove Their Fitness to Keep Their

fe ee ae eo eee 21

2. Washington Law Does Not Require

"Clear and Convincing" Proof That

Termination Is In The Child’s

Best Interest, a Statutory Element ..... 23

B. The Decisions Below Raise Unresolved

Questions Regarding the Due Process

Limits on Vagueness in Parental Termination

re ire ee rer eee ear ar 25

CREE 6k os os och a RESO Fee we es 28

Det a ik Der Abs

ar eee ee See ee, ee |

2 ee eee

lil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

FEDERAL CASES

Alsager v. District Court of Polk County, lowa,

406 F. Supp. 10 (S.D.lowa 1975)

aff'd per curiam, 545 F.2d 1137

(SOE <5 coke Cera aians Sen eee 27

Government of Virgin Islands v. Ayala,

853 F. Supp. 160 (D.V.I. 1993) ........... 28

Grayned v. City of Rockford, 408 U.S. 104 (1972) ... 26

Joint Antifascist Refugee Committee v. McGrath,

it U4. HIS. oo oe 19

M.L.B. v. S.LJ., 519 U.S. 102 (1996) ....... 2,19,27

Roe v. Conn, 417 F. Supp. 769 (M.D. Ala. 1976)... 27

Santosky v. Kramer, 455 U.S. 745 (1982) . 2,18,19,24,27

STATE CASES

In re A.V.D., 62 Wn. App. 562, 815 P.2d 277 (1991) . 24

In re A.W., 53 Wash. App. 22, 765 P.2d 307

(1988), review denied, 112 Wash. 2d

NTT Clee. 5 cowed eae 6

Adoption of Kimberly, 609 N.E.2d 73 (Mass. 1993) .. 24

Davis v. Smith, 583 S.W.2d 37 (Ark.1979) ........ 27

In re Dependency of J.C., 130 Wash. 2d 418,

ee el. | rr rarer ere 6,7

iv

In re Dependency of K.R., 128 Wash. 2d 129,

ee Rit ei err er Se eee 7

In re Elijah R., 620 A.2d 282 (Maine 1993) ....... 25

In re Gonzales v. Department of Human Resources,

933 P.26 196 (lev. TORT). 8 6 ee 25

In re J.C., 130 Wn.2d 418, 924 P.2d 21 (1996) ...... 5

In re K.R., 128 Wn.2d 129, 904 P.2d 1132 (1995) ....7

In Re Maricopa County Juvenile Action

No. JS-5209, 143 Ariz. 178, 692 P.2d

MET CASE ss kee eee eG eee eee eee 24

Matter of M.G.M., 654 P.2d 994 (Mont. 1982) ..... 25

In re Ramquist, 52 Wn. App. 854, 860,

TOs Fae OCR 8 a eee See 24

In re the Welfare of H.S., 94 Wn. App. 511,

793 P.2d 474 (1999) .......... ee re a 2

FEDERAL STATUTES

28 USL. SURG sk eh ee ae be eee eee 2

STATE STATUTES

SOW 1534 Sa oes ee 5

oO OMIM Ae ee 5

ROW SAIS co ice g

om Bee fe | wreerrre Pree ree ers 5,22

i Ren ne eer arena Smee grar on 6,7,

Be A ei a0 eee

Rie Se nk lee eee kee ee

Ee EF A ok oc ees ee Se eee

Pe AOE cc rhs eee ene 6,

Be COON ess eh ke eee eee 16,

te Bee, | rere neers crs"

Bk a8 | er re ere earn ee aes 5,

WO TE brea Ca abs ca ne ee ea er

MISCELLANEOUS

Annotation, Validity of State Statute Providing

for Termination of Parental Rights,

22 A.L.R. 4th 774 (1981 and Supp. 1998)

oar

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1999

IN RE THE WELFARE OF HANNAH S.

B.S. and L.S.,

Petitioners,

Vv.

THE WASHINGTON DEPARTMENT OF

SOCIAL AND HEALTH SERVICES,

Respondent’.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE COURT OF APPEALS OF THE

STATE OF WASHINGTON

Petitioners Brent and Lorilei Swenson pray that a

writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment of the Court

of Appeals for the State of Washington, which affirmed a

trial court’s order terminating their relationship with their

only child, their daughter Hannah.

\The parties to the proceedings below included

petitioners Brent and Lorilei Swenson, their daughter Hannah,

Hannah’s guardian ad litem Mildred Staley, and Hannah’s foster

parents Mitch and Laura Swenson.

2

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals below is

reported at Jn re the Welfare of H.S., 94 Wn. App. 511,

793 P.2d 474 (1999) and is set forth as Appendix A to this

petition. The order of the Supreme Court of Washington

denying petitioners’ timely-filed petition for review of the

Court of Appeals decision appears at Appendix B. The

Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order of

Termination of Parent-Child Relationship entered by the

Superior Court of the State of Washington for Spokane

County which was affirmed by the Court of Appeals, is

reproduced as Appendix C.

JURISDICTION

The order of the Supreme Court of Washington

denying petitioners’ petition for review of the decision of

the Court of Appeals was entered on September 28, 1999.

App. B 1. The time for filing this petition was extended

by Justice O’Connor on December 16, 1999.

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28

U.S.C. § 1257(a), as petitioners are claiming a violation of

their rights, privileges and immunities guaranteed by the

Constitution of the United States.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

AND STATUTES INVOLVED

This case involves the Fourteenth Amendment to

the Constitution of the United States, which provides in

pertinent part:

No state shall make or enforce any law which shall

abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens of

the United States; nor shall any State deprive any

3

person of life, liberty, or property, without due

process of law; nor deny any person within its

jurisdiction the equal protection of the laws.

This case also involves several Washington statutes,

which are lengthy and are therefore set forth in Appendix

E to this petition.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This petition seeks review of the judgment of the

Court of Appeals of the State of Washington terminating

the parent-child relationship between petitioners Brent and

Lorilei Swenson and their daughter, Hannah.

Petitioners were forever deprived of all rights with

respect to their daughter because the Washington courts

found their parenting skills showed “deficiencies that are

manifestations of mental illness.” App. A 1. These

deficiencies involved what the State deemed the child’s

“emotional and developmental needs.” App. A 15. There

was no claim Hannah was beaten, abused or abandoned.

The decision below acknowledged that petitioners

“unquestionably love” their daughter (App. A 1) and it was

undisputed that--when the State would let them--they fed

and clothed her, kept her clean, provided her a home and

medical care, read to her, played with her, and took her

places.

The decisions below also acknowledged that

petitioners made their “best and sincerest efforts to resolve

their parental deficiencies.” App. A 2. In fact, the courts

below found that the specific problems that originally led

the State to intervene in the Swensons’ life were resolved

before the termination proceedings even began. See App.

A 9-10. However, the juvenile court denied petitioners’

requests to have Hannah returned to them--which under

4

Washington law led to the termination of their relationship

with her--because petitioners could not show that no other

“valid reason for removal of this child from the parents’

home still exists ....” See App. D 1.

The termination decision was ultimately based on

conclusions regarding petitioners’ inability to provide

“proper care” and the unlikelihood that “conditions” would

change--statutory terms the lower courts refused to define

except by reference to all the facts in this case. See App.

A 11-12. The termination was ordered and upheld despite

the trial court’s failure to find by clear and convincing

evidence that it was in Hannah’s best interest. See App..A

17. To the contrary, announcing its termination decision,

the trial court said that it would be a “travesty” if

petitioners were not allowed “continued involvement ... in

the life of their daughter”--but its order unequivocally put

an end to that involvement. See App. C 16.

An understanding of how this “travesty” occurred,

and the federal constitutional questions it raises, requires

some familiarity with Washington’s child dependency and

parental termination laws. We turn to that subject first,

before describing in more detail how those laws were

applied and upheld in petitioners’ case.

A. The Law Governing Parental Termination

Proceedings In the State of Washington.

Parental termination proceedings in the State of

Washington are governed by two basic statutes, RCW

13.34.180 and 13.34.190. See Appendix E 4-6.

Under these statutes, an order permanently

terminating a parent-child relationship often follows from a

“dependency” or child welfare action, as it did in

petitioners’ case. A dependency action involves temporary

—

5

state intervention and can be based on proof of one of

several statutory grounds--abandonment, some form of

abuse or neglect, or the absence of a “parent, guardian, or

custodian capable of adequately caring for the child.” See

RCW 13.34.030(2), App. E 1. Because this deprivation is

not permanent, the State needs to establish the grounds for

dependency only by a preponderance of the evidence.

RCW 13.34.130; see In re J.C., 130 Wn.2d 418, 421n.3,

924 P.2d 21 (1996). If a child is found dependent and

removed from her parents’ custody, she cannot be returned

to the parents’ home “unless the court finds that a reason

for removal ... no longer exists” RCW 13.34.130(5), App.

E 2; see App. D 1.

The fact that a child has been found dependent,

removed from the home, and not returned to her parents’

custody for more than six months, constitute the first three

elements which the State must prove in order to

permanently terminate the parent-child relationship. RCW

13.34.180(1)-(3), App. E 4. These elements must be

proved by “clear, cogent and convincing evidence.” See

RCW 13.34.190(1), App. E 7. The other three elements

that must be proved by this standard? in a termination

hearing are: that all “reasonably available” services have

been provided, that there is “little likelihood that conditions

will be remedied so that the child can be returned to the

parent in the near future,” and that “continuation of the

parent and child relationship clearly diminishes the child’s

prospects for early integration into a stable and permanent

home.” RCW 13.34.180(4)-(6), App. E 4.

2In addition, to enter a termination order the trial court

must find that “such an order is in the best interests of the

child.” RCW 13.34.190(4), App. E 7. However, under

Washington law this factor need not be proved by “clear, cogent

and convincing evidence”. Ibid.

6

Neither the statute nor Washington caselaw defines

the crucial word “conditions” in the fifth of these

elements.? In fact, as reflected in the decision of the Court

of Appeals below, the Washington courts have refused to

hold even that “the ‘conditions’ of RCW 13.34.180(5) are

limited to the facts of the original dependency.” App. A 9.

At the same time, as the Court of Appeals below

emphasized, the Washington cases have held that

[i]t is not necessary to re-establish the original

dependency at termination. Jn re Dependency of

J.C., 130 Wash.2d 418, 428, 924 P.2d 21 (1996).

The review process results in repeated, updated

findings of the dependency. Former RCW

13.34.130(5); In re A.W., 53 Wash.App. 22, 28,

765 P.2d 307 (1988), review denied, 112 Wash.2d

1017 (1989). .

App. A 10. Rejecting arguments that these rules and the

lower standard of proof at dependency proceedings

undermine the constitutionally required burden of proof at

termination, the Washington courts have declared that "if

the state proves the allegations [required by RCW

13.34.180] ... an implicit finding of current parental

34 subsection of that section which was relied upon by

the trial court in this case provides that “[i]n determining

whether the conditions will be remedied the court may consider,

but is not limited to” “[p]sychological incapacity or mental

deficiency of the parent that is so severe and chronic as to

render the parent incapable of providing proper care for the

child for extended periods of time, and ... documentation that

there is no treatment that can render the parent capable of

providing proper care for the child in the near future.” RCW

13.34.180(5)(b), App. E 4; see App. C 15. No statute or

Washington case defines the phrase “proper care” as it appears

in this subsection.

7

unfitness has been made," Jn re K.R., 128 Wn.2d 129, 142,

904 P.2d 1132 (1995). As the Court of Appeals’ decision

below put it:

[T]ermination proceedings are not a relitigation of

the dependency issues, and the accuracy of the facts

underlying the original dependency adjudication is.

not deemed critical. Krause [v. Catholic

Community Services,| 47 Wash.App. [734] at 743,

737 P.2d 280 [(1987)]. The issue at termination is

current unfitness. Jn re Dependency of K.R., 128

Wash.2d 129, 142, 904 P.2d 1132 (1995). If the

elements of RCW 13.34.180 are proved, current

parental unfitness is implicitly established. J.C.,

130 Wash.2d at 428, 924 P.2d 21; K.R., 128

Wash.2d at 142, 904 P.2d 1132.

App. A 10.

B. The Proceedings Below.

The contradictions of this statutory system

manifested themselves with a vengeance in this case.

1. The Dependency Proceedings.

The judicial intervention in the Swensons’ family

life began with the filing of a dependency action in March,

1993, when Hannah was four months old. Petitioners

agreed to the orders of dependency and complied with the

conditions imposed upon them to deal with the specific

problems identified in the dependency action: a concern

that Hannah was not gaining weight and could be at risk

for “failure to thrive”; and fear, arising from a statement

8

Lorilei Swenson had volunteered to a social worker, that

Hannah might be at risk of sexual abuse.‘

Under treatment and supervision by State selected

examiners, petitioners successfully addressed these original

concerns. However, as they did, in the trial court’s words,

“(t]he circumstances of the dependency evolved” and the

“focus ... shifted.” App. C 11.

When the case came back to court for review in

early October, 1993, the Juvenile Court Commissioner

found that "a reason for removal of the child from his/her

home as set forth in RCW 13.34.130(1)(b) ... continues to

exist," which it explained as follows:

The parents visit regularly and have participated in

services. No reports have documented that they

have been able to make the changes necessary to be

able to parent this child or that progress has been

made.

Three weeks later--without waiting the statutorily required

six months after the dependency and removal, see RCW

13.34.180(3)--the State filed its first petition for the

termination of petitioners’ relationship with Hannah. In

February, 1994, this termination petition was dismissed,

and the dependency went on.

In June, 1994, the doctor who Lorilei Swenson had

been ordered to see for a psychosexual evaluation reported

that "Lori has made considerable strides in the past year,"

and found her "credible in stating that she no longer had

4Mrs. Swenson told the social worker in January 1993,

when Hannah was two months old, "I’m afraid to change the

baby’s diaper, because I feel like 1 want to kiss her on the

labia.”

acre

9

sexual impulses involving Hannah." He also found Mrs.

Swenson’s "[c]oncentration and attention appeared to be

within normal limits" and "no indications of hallucinations

or delusions." Yet the dependency went on.

Petitioners’ visitation was increased in the spring of

1995 to the point where Hannah was staying with them for

40 hours a week, unsupervised. However, a dependency

review in July, 1995, again found that "a reason for

removal of the child from his/her home ... continues to

exist". This time, the reason was that "[t]he parents

continue to require significant support during visits

regarding judgment concerning the child and stress levels."

In September, 1995, petitioners were ordered to

submit to yet another psychiatric evaluation. This

examiner, Dr. Michael Manz--to whom petitioners objected

as biased--reported that he found no "evidence ... which

would conclude [sic] that they [petitioners] could

adequately parent their daughter" and recommended that

the State reduce visitation and seek termination.

The Juvenile Court accordingly reduced petitioners’

visitation schedule and, citing court congestion, put off

their pending Motion to have Hannah returned to them.

That Motion was finally heard and denied--after a new

termination petition was filed--in April, 1996.

In denying the motion to return Hannah to her

parents, the Juvenile Court Commissioner said expressly

that he was doing so although the factual basis for the

original dependency and removal no longer existed.

Are things the same now as they were when the

dependency started and the child was originally

removed? I think the answer to that is no. ... There

were issues about the mother having thoughts of

10

placing the child at risk for sexual abuse. Frankly,

that, at present, does not constitute a risk tq this

child. And frankly, | don’t see the case as being

about that issue. There was initially question about

failure to thrive of a three-month-old child. And I

think the issues have completely changed there,

also.

App. D 1. The Commissioner noted that under

Washington’s dependency and removal statutes the fact

things had "completely changed" with regard to the original

grounds for the dependency did not end the matter.

In dealing with the applicable statute, 13.34.130, in

a context of a review hearing, the legislature has

shifted the focus. Initially, in a dependency, the

focus is, in terms of language, that the child shall, .

essentially, not be removed from the home unless

the state shows (a), (b) and (c). In the context of a

review hearing, that focus switches, and it says the

child shall not be returned unless the court finds a

valid reason for removal no longer exists. So, the

question at this point is whether, simply stated, a

valid reason for removal of this child from the

parents’ home still exists today.

Ibid. (emphasis added). The Commissioner found none of

the usual "valid reasons" for dependency or removal.

There’s never been any claim of intentional

abuse of this child, and that certainly is not

an issue in this case. No one would

anticipate or expect that either of these

parents would do anything to damage this

child on an intentional basis. To the

contrary, they have, in most respects,

complied with the requests of the court

2 ________eGC"O

1]

along the way, and engaged in and benefited

from services to the extent that they have

been able.

App. D 3.

If we look at just the basic parenting functions, if

we break this down into its component parts in

terms of simple things -- preparing meals, cleaning

a house, doing laundry, reading books to a child --

in many respects the parents, having stabilized their

mental conditions, have made dramatic progress.

The parents are now able to meet the basic day-to-

day needs of this child in this respect. They can

keep a home. They can clean a house. They can

provide meals. They can do that within acceptable

standards, at least to the level that it would not pose

a serious risk of harm to this child.

Ibid. However, the new "focus of the case," the

Commissioner said, was "where would we go from here in

terms of parenting.” Ibid.

At this point the court would find that rather

than being in danger of physical needs going unmet,

that the real risk to this child would be to the

child’s emotional development if returned home.

App. D 5. The Commissioner’s written order reflected

similar considerations.

In light of the Commissioner’s finding that the

original grounds for dependency and removal no longer

existed, petitioners moved to dismiss the dependency. In

support of this motion, they argued that they were denied

due process by the failure to provide notice and a hearing

on specific allegations of grounds for continued

12

dependency. The Commissioner denied that motion and

petitioners sought appellate review. That review was

pending in October, 1996, when the trial court held a

hearing on the State’s second petition to permanently

terminate petitioners’ relationship with their daughter.

2. The Termination Proceedings.

The termination hearing was conducted before a

different trial judge, and went on for several days.

The testimony at the termination resembled that

before the Juvenile Court Commissioner. There was

general agreement that any danger that Lorilei Swenson

might have inappropriate sexual contact with Hannah had

disappeared, if it ever existed. Although Hannah was still

quite thin, there was no doubt she was healthy. There was

no testimony that petitioners had ever deprived Hannah of

clothing, shelter, or medical care or food--to the contrary,

the State at one point argued they tried to feed her too

much. There were absurd descriptions of scenes where

more evaluators than family members were present in the

petitioners’ small apartment, documenting the family’s

every movement and word. There were detailed logs of

years of visits and observations, and no testimony from

anyone that the Swensons had done anything that had

actually harmed or endangered their daughter.°

5The closest thing to a "danger" was testimony that

petitioners had failed to tape the cord of an electrical crockpot in

their kitchen to the wall. Although petitioners testified that they

had dealt with the problem by moving the crockpot away from

the edge of the shelf, some of the State social workers did not

believe their response was adequate.

13

At the end of the testimony, the trial court

announced its decision, which echoed the decision of the

Juvenile Court Commissioner six months earlier:

I would mention that I re-read Commissioner

Valente’s April, ‘96, Oral Decision several times,

and it would appear to this Court that his

observations at that time are very similar to this

Court’s observation at the present time. We have a

diagnosis of schizophrenia. There are some

questions about the legitimacy about that. There is

no question, however, that both Brent and LoriLei

suffer from mental illness of some kind. ...

Testimony is that Brent still suffers from stress that

can be overwhelming and that he takes steps to

avoid that stress when he feels it oncoming, such as

when Hannah becomes too difficult to handle, will

leave the room, et cetera; that LoriLei sometimes is

rigid, concrete, inflexible, and hasn’t overcome

those problems....

There are two common themes that run

through the testimony. One is that this matter

needs some finality. Number two, that change for

Hannah would be traumatic. There’s a third theme

that was developed, that there should be ongoing

contact between Hannah and both the birth parents

and the foster parents...

As I have indicated previously, if I didn’t

make a decision today, it would just extend that for

a longer period of time, and the evidence before

this Court does not give this Court any assurance

that it would ever result in reunification.

Consequently, the Court grants the Petition for

Termination.

14

_ The court then went on to add two "suggestions:"

However, the Court wants to add two things, and I

don’t know if it can be made part of the Order, but

I want it in there, at least as a suggestion from this

Court, that there be continued involvement by Brent

and LoriLei in the life of their daughter, Hannah. |

think it would be a travesty if they were not

allowed that opportunity. And the other thing is

that the foster parents should continue to use the

name of Hannah...

The written Termination Order similarly

acknowledged that the original bases for these dependency

no longer existed® but said that "[t]he circumstances of the

dependency evolved" and "the focus has shifted to inability

of the parents to meet the child’s needs." App. C 11.

However, it said that "the parents are unable to parent this

child with little or no likelihood of change in the near and

foreseeable future" because "[c]hronic mental health issues

interfere with the parents’ abilities to meet the child’s

physical, emotional and developmental needs." App. C 7.

The Order also held that termination was in the

child’s “best interests”. App. C 16. However,

inconsistently, it said that "some contact between the child

and her biological parents may be in her best interests."

App. C 14. In an apparent effort to resolve this dilemma,

the Termination Order repeated the trial court’s

"recommendation" that, after termination, petitioners be

6The Termination Order referred only to testimony "that

Lorilei Swenson has worked her way through any issues

concerning her sexual abuse as a teenager and that issue is not a

matter of concern now or in the future." App. C 7. It made no

mention of any danger Hannah would "fail to thrive."

15

allowed to "maintain contact" with their daughter. Ann. C

14.

The Termination Order did not identify any specific

"findings of fact" as having been made pursuant to the

"clear, cogent and convincing evidence" standard.

However, responding to an objection on this score from

petitioners’ counsel, the court added those words to this

summary statement in its conclusions of law:

The elements of RCW 13.34.180(1), (2), (3),

(4), (5) and (6) have been met by clear,

cogent and convincing evidence. The

elements of RCW 13.34.190 are also met.

Therefore, pursuant to RCW 13.34.180 and

13.34.190, the parent-child relationship

between the minor child and Brent Swenson

and Lorilei Swenson should be terminated.

App. C 15.

Although the trial court was provided with a copy

of the then-recent decision in M.L.B. v. S.L.J., and a brief

on the Fourteenth Amendment standards applicable to

termination proceedings, it made no mention of them in

either its oral or written decision. It denied petitioners’

counsel’s request that it specify the factual findings it was

making under the “clear, cogent and convincing evidence”

standard, and refused to define the “conditions” it found

unlikely to change and the “proper care” it found

petitioners unable to provide, in reaching its conclusion

that “the elements” of RCW 13.34.180(5) were “met.”

Report of Proceedings at 1745-1747. It specifically

declined to hold that those terms referred to “conditions”

and a lack of “proper care” that would, themselves, support

a dependency order filed in the first instance. Ibid.

16

3. The Decision of the Court of Appeals.

Petitioners’ appeal challenged the termination order

on both statutory and constitutional grounds.

Citing Santosky and M.L.B., petitioners argued that °

the trial court had denied them due process in two major

respects. First, they argued that “The State Was Not

Required To Prove Its Case For Termination By “Clear,

Cogent and Convincing” Evidence,” because “The Trial

Court Did Not Find The Factual Basis For Termination

Proved By [That Standard]," “The Trial Court’s Reliance

on a Dependency Whose Basis No Longer Existed

Reversed the Constitutional Burden Of Proof,” and “The

Trial Court Did Not Apply the “Clear, Cogent and

Convincing” Standard To The Issue Of The Child’s Best

Interests.” Appellant’s Opening Brief, Jn re Hannah S., at

51-63. In addition, analogizing to “void for vagueness”

precedents from criminal law, petitioners argued that the

trial court’s refusal to define the crucial terms “conditions”

and “proper care” denied them due process by allowing

selective enforcement. Id. at 51-56; see also Appellant’s

Reply Brief at 27-32.

The Court of Appeals paid little attention to these

constitutional arguments. It rejected the argument that the

burden of proof had been misapplied, saying that this claim

“misinterpret[ed] the dependency statute.” App. A 10. In

termination proceedings, it said, it is “not necessary to

re-establish the original dependency at termination” and

“the accuracy of the facts underlying the original

dependency adjudication is not deemed critical” since

“(t]he issue at termination is current unfitness” which is

“implicitly established” if the statutory elements are found.

Ibid. Regarding the burden of proof on the element of

child’s best interests, the Court of Appeals said it found no

inconsistency between the trial court’s ultimate conclusion

17

and its “expressed opinion that ‘some contact between the

child and her biological parents may be in her best interests

as she continues to grow older’” App. A 17. Rejecting

petitioners’ vagueness arguments, it said a “statute is

unconstitutional as applied only if the record shows the

decision was arbitrary,” and that the statutory “term

‘conditions’ clearly refers to present and continuing

objective deficits in [petitioners’] parenting skills.” App. A

12.

Petitioners moved for rehearing, which was denied

without comment. Petitioners then petitioned the

Washington Supreme Court for review, reiterating their

federal due process challenges to the placement of the

burden of proof and the vagueness of the statutory terms

upon which the termination was based. The Petition for

Review was denied. App. B.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED IN

THIS CASE TO ENFORCE AND CLARIFY

THE STANDARDS OF DUE PROCESS

APPLICABLE TO STATE PROCEEDINGS

LEADING TO THE TERMINATION OF

PARENTAL RIGHTS.

Santosky v. Kramer, 455 U.S. 745 (1982) held that

“Tbjefore a State may sever completely and irrevocably the

rights of parents in their natural child, due process requires

that the State support its allegations by at least clear and

convincing evidence.” Jd. at 748. The Court in Santosky

based that holding on a recognition of the extent to which

a parent faced with a termination proceeding “may be

“condemned to suffer a grievous loss.’" Santosky v.

Kramer, 455 U.S. at 758, quoting Joint Antifascist Refugee

Committee v. McGrath, 341 U.S. 123, 168 (1951).

18

The Court has since expanded upon Santosky’s rule

and held that, because of the stakes involved, a parent

_ facing termination proceedings is due procedural

protections greater than those required in any other type of

civil proceeding.

The object of the proceeding is "not simply to

infringe upon [the parent’s] interest ...but to end it";

thus, a decision against the parent "work(s] a unique

kind of deprivation." Lassiter [v. Department of

Social Servs. of Durham Cty.,] 452 U.S. [18], at 27

((1981)] .... For that reason, "(a] parent’s interest in

the accuracy and justice of the decision ... iS ...

commanding one." Ibid. ...

... [A] termination decree is "final and irrevocable."

[Santosky v. Kramer, 455 U.S. 745, 759, 102 S.Ct.

1388, 71 L.Ed.2d 599 (1982) (emphasis in original).

"Eew forms of state action ... are both so severe and

so irreversible." Jbid. [In Santosky,] {a}s in

Lassiter, the Court characterized the parent’s

interest as "commanding," indeed, "far more

precious than any property right." 455 U:S., at

758-759, 102 S.Ct., at 1397.

ML.B. v. S.L.J., 519 US. at 118-19 (footnotes omitted).

Santosky’s due process rule was also grounded in an

understanding of the practical realities of parental

termination proceedings (or, as they were called in New

York at the time, “permanent neglect proceedings”).

Permanent neglect proceedings employ imprecise

substantive standards that leave determinations

unusually open to the subjective values of the

judge. See Smith v. Organization of Foster

Families, 431 U.S., at 835, n. 36. In appraising the

, —

19

nature and quality of a complex series of encounters

among the agency, the parents, and the child, the

court possesses unusual discretion to underweigh

probative facts that might favor the parent.

Because parents subject to termination proceedings

are often poor, uneducated, or members of minority

groups, id., at 833-835, such proceedings are often

vulnerable to judgments based on cultural or class

bias. The State’s ability to assemble its case almost

inevitably dwarfs the parents’ ability to mount a

defense. Furthermore, the primary witnesses at the

hearing will be the agency’s own professional

caseworkers whom the State has empowered both to

investigate the family situation and to testify against

the parents. Indeed, because the child is already in

agency custody, the State even has the power to

shape the historical events that form the basis for

termination. ,

The disparity between the adversaries’

litigation resources is matched by a striking

asymmetry in their litigation options. Unlike

criminal defendants, natural parents have no "double

jeopardy" defense against repeated state termination

efforts. If the State initially fails to win termination,

as New York did here ... it always can try once

again to cut off the parents’ rights after gathering

more or better evidence. Yet even when the parents

have attained the level of fitness required by the

State, they have no similar means by which they

can forestall future termination efforts.

Santosky v. Kramer, 455 U.S. 462-64 (footnotes omitted).

The facts and procedural history of this case suggest things

have changed little since Santosky, at least in Washington

State.

20

A. The Decision Below Directly Conflicts With

Santosky v. Kramer.

The Washington termination statute and caselaw

treats Santosky 's constitutional proof standard as a

meaningless incantation. Although the Washington statute

recites the words “clear, cogent and convincing evidence,”

it limits and applies those words in a fashion that

undermines and even reverses the constitutional burden of

proof this Court has mandated in. termination proceedings.

1. Washington Law Requires Parents to

Prove Their Fitness to Keep Their Child.

By law in Washington, the threshhold “facts” which

must be proved by “clear, cogent and convincing evidence”

to terminate parents’ rights to their children are matters of

procedural history: that the child has been found

dependent and has been removed from the parents’ home

for more than six months. See RCW 13.34.180(1)-(3),

App. E 4. This presents a conundrum, because a

dependency finding can be based on a mere preponderance

of the evidence, and once removed from her home a child

cannot be returned unless it is shown that “a valid reason

for removal no longer exists.” See RCW 13.34.130(5)(4),

App. E 2.-

Thus, in Washington, parents’ rights can be

terminated, as petitioners’ were, by “clear and convincing”

proof that they previously have been unable to prove that

there is no reason to keep their child from them. This

convoluted standard places the ultimate burden of

persuasion on the parent; the requirement of "clear and

convincing evidence" is mere window dressing. ]t would

make no difference if the State’s nominal burden of proof

were absolute certainty: to say that it is “certain” or

“clear” that another court has earlier found that a parent

21

failed to prove there was no “valid reason” for his child’s

continued removal does not change the fact the burden of

proof was on the parent with respect to the only real

factual determination made in the case.’

That is where the burden was clearly and quite

explicitly placed in this case. By its terms and under the

law, the termination order was based on the fact Hannah

had not been returned home for more than six months and

would not likely be anytime soon. See App. C 15; page

14, above. The fact Hannah had not been and would not

soon be returned home was the result of her parents

inability to disprove any “valid reason” for her continued

removal. See App. D-1.

7The Washington courts have tried to make the

contradictions built into this statutory scheme disappear with the

by declaring that the elements of RCW 13.34.180(1)}-(6) add up

to an where we said that RCW 13.34.180. “an implicit finding

of current parental unfitness. " Jn re K.R, 128 Wn.2d 129,

141-42, 904 P.2d 1132 (1995); see In re J.C., 130 Wn.2d 418,

428, 924 P.2d 21 (1996); App A 10. This fiction cannot

eliminate the real constitutional problems with this statute. For

one thing, the presumption that present unfitness has been

clearly established simply does not logically follow from the

“fact” of a previous dependency adjudication made under a

lower evidentiary standard and on facts that may well have

changed. Cf. Leary v. United States, 395 U.S. 6 (1969)

(presumption can be utilized in criminal law only if presumed

facts more likely than not follow from proven facts). Second, a

finding cannot both be “clear and convincing” and “implicit,” at

the very least, afinding required to be made under an elevated

standard of proof the finding must be stated directly. In the

absence of a direct statement by the trial court that he found

“present unfitness” at all, it can hardly be said that he found

such unfitness “clearly and convincingly” proved, as Santosky

requires.

22

If, as Santosky held, the Due Process Clause does

not permit States to terminate parents’ rights on the basis

of a mere preponderance of the evidence, a fortiorari it

cannot permit the burden to be placed on the parents to

disprove all "valid reasons" their child might be kept from

them. This aspect of Washington’s law and the

proceedings below thus conflict directly with Santosky

itself to an extent that warrants this Court’s intervention.

y a Washington Law Does Not Require

“Clear and Convincing” Proof That

Termination Is In The Child’s Best

Interest, A Statutory Element.

The law of Washington also ignores Santosky with

respect to a key statutory prerequisite to an order

terminating parental rights: a showing that “[s]uch an

order is in the best interests of the child.” See RCW

13.34.190(4), App. E 6. The Washington statute makes it

clear that, unlike the procedural “facts” delineated in RCW

13.34.180(1)-(6), this element need not be proved by

“clear, cogent and convincing evidence” or any particular

standard of proof. Compare RCW 13.34.190(1)-(3), App.

E 6.

The termination order in petitioner's case followed

that distinction, reciting:

The elements of RCW 13.34.180(1), (2), (3), (4),

(5) and (6) have been met and proven by clear,

cogent and convincing evidence. The elements of

RCW 13.34.190 are also met.

App. C 15. This was no accident: the trial judge plainly

had doubts about whether termination was in Hannah’s best

interests. one. As noted above, in his oral opinion the

judge said it would be a “travesty” for petitioners not to

23

continue to be involved in their daughter’s life. The

written termination order added that "some contact between

the child and her biological parents may be in her best

interests as she continues to grow older...” App. C 14.

Having said that, the trial court would have been hard

pressed to find by “clear and convincing evidence” that it

would be best for Hannah to have her birth parents

permanently and completely excluded from her life; and it

did not so find, because Washington law did not require it

to do so.

The Court of Appeals below was presented with all

this but cast it aside, saying only that the trial court

“unequivocally recogniz[ed] that termination of parental

rights is in the best interests of this child.” App. A20. In

light of the above, that is debatable; but more importantly

it is irrelevant. A finding made by a preponderance of the

evidence is not “equivocal”; but under Santosky, neither is

it constitutional.

There is no apparent justification for Washington’s

statutory exclusion of this element from the “clear, cogent

and convincing” evidence standard, which dates from the

enactment of this statutory scheme in 1977, five years

before Santosky was decided. See Wash. Laws 1977,

Chap. 291 sec. 47. The Washington cases have never

attempted to explain this disparity. None of the principles

underlying the decision in Santosky would explain it; in

fact, the child’s best interests would appear to be an issue

particularly subject to “judgments based on cultural or

class bias” and the influence of the State’s “power to

8The Washington cases have simply applied the lower

standard of proof to this issue without comment. See Jn re

Ramquist, 52 Wn. App. 854, 860, 765 P.2d 30 (1988); In re

A.V.D., 62 Wn. App. 562, 571, 815 P.2d 277 (1991).

24

shape the historical events that form the basis for

termination.” Santosky v. Kramer, 455 U.S. at 463.

Apparently recognizing this, other states which

make a finding regarding the child’s best interests a |

prerequisite to termination require that finding to be made

under Santosky’s heightened proof standard. See In Re

Maricopa County Juvenile Action No. JS-5209, 143 Ariz.

178, 692 P.2d 1027, 1038 (1984); Adoption of Kimberly,

609 N.E.2d 73, 75 (Mass. 1993); Jn re Elijah R., 620

A.2d 282, 284 (Maine 1993); Matter of M.G.M., 654 P.2d

994, 997 (Mont. 1982);; In re Gonzales v. Dept. of Human

Resources, 933 P.2d 198, 202 (Nev. 1997). Washington

appears to be alone in its assumption that this factor is

exempt from Santosky’s constitutional rule.

The inconsistency between the law of Washington

and other states in this regard, and the lack of any apparent

justification for the exemption of this issue from Santosky's

constitutional rule, are additional reasons review is called

for here. Rule 10(c).

B. The Decisions Below Raise Important Unresolved

Questions Regarding the Due Process Limits on

Vagueness in Parental Termination Statutes.

Apart from the burden of proof issues directly

controlled by Santosky, this case presents a question about

the application of another type of due process rule to

parental termination proceedings: the limits on statutory

vagueness required to prevent arbitrary enforcement of

laws impacting on fundamental rights.

The record of this case presents that issue clearly.

Under the Washington statute, once the State proved the

undeniable fact that Hannah had been found dependent and

removed from petitioners’ home, the crucial remaining

alana blintaieiiaamaamaallal

25

issue was the likelihood “the conditions” would soon be

remedied. RCW 13.34.180(5), App. E 4. The trial court

found they would not be, applying a statutory presumption

"conditions" will not change if they stem from

psychological problems which render a parent incapable of

providing “proper care." RCW 13.34.180(5)(b), App. E 4;

see App. C 15.

The Court of Appeals decision below rejected

petitioners’ challenge to the trial court’s refusal to provide

any definition of these vague statutory terms, saying that

the trial court’s decision could be challenged on this

ground “only if the record shows the decision was

arbitrary,” holding that it was not because “[t]he term

"conditions" clearly refers to present and continuing

objective deficits in B.S.’s and L.S.’s parenting skills.”

App. A 12.!2

*Because of the "evolution" of the State’s allegations

regarding petitioners’ parental deficiencies, their counsel asked

the trial court to define or specify what "conditions" it was

considering in this regard and the "proper care" petitioners had

to show themselves capable of providing; the trial court refused

to do so. RP 1758-60. The trial court refused even to say

whether it considered "proper care” to be a level of care

sufficient to avoid a finding the child was dependent. Ibid.

‘OThe Respondent Attorney General of the State of

Washington similarly answered in its Brief below that the

word “conditions”had no general definition but simply

referred to "parental deficiencies viewed in the context of

the care for the child at issue." Brief of Respondent at 24,

In re Hannah S.

26

This, of course, misses a basic point of the

constitutional requirement of reasonable statutory

specificity: the need to protect against arbitrary and

unequal judicial enforcement of statutes impinging on

fundamental constitutional rights. Even where it gives

adequate notice, a statute may be “impermissibly vague

because it fails to establish standards for the police and

public that are sufficient to guard against the arbitrary

deprivation of liberty interests. Kolender v. Lawson, 461

U.S. 352, 358, 103 S.Ct. 1855, 75 L.Ed.2d 903 (1983).”

Chicago v. Morales, 527 U.S. 41, 119 S.Ct. 1849, 1857

(1999) (plurality opinion). “[I)f arbitrary and

discriminatory enforcement is to be prevented, laws must

provide explicit standards for those who apply them. A

vague law impermissibly delegates basic policy matters to

policemen, judges, and juries for resolution on an ad hoc

and subjective basis...” See Grayned v. City of Rockford,

408 U.S. 104. 108-09 (1972).

This Court has not had occasion to address directly

the extent to which the constitutional prohibition of

vagueness, which has largely developed in the context of

the criminal law, applies to parental termination

proceedings. In light of the Court’s recent reiteration that

such proceedings most closely resemble criminal

prosecutions in the magnitude of their impact on individual

liberty, M.L.B. v. S.L.J., 519 U.S. at 120, and its

recognition of particular risks of unequal enforcement such

proceedings involve, Santosky v. Kramer, 455 U.S. at 463,

it would appear clear that it does.

Lower courts generally have recognized that the

vagueness principle does extend to termination

proceedings. See Annotation, Validity of State Statute

Providing for Termination of Parental Rights § 3(c)-(f),

22 A.L.R. 4th 774 (1981 and Supp. 1998), and cases there

cited. The majority of these case have upheld necessarily

27

general statutory provisions governing termination issues

against such challenges; yet a number, examining

unadorned terms similar to those involved in this case,

have held otherwise. See, e.g., Alsager v. District Court,

406 F.Supp. 10, 18 (S.D. Iowa 1975) aff'd per curiam, 545

F.2d 1137 (8th Cir.1976) (statute unconstitutionally vague

for allowing termination where the parent "substantially

and continuously or repeatedly refused to give the child

necessary parental care and protection," or for "conduct ...

detrimental to the physical or mental health or morals of

the child"); Roe v. Conn, 417 F.Supp. 769, 780 (M.D.

Ala. 1976) (finding that statutory definition of neglect

circular and couched in terms such as "unfit" and

"improper" that have no common meaning). Davis v.

Smith, 583 S.W.2d 37, 42-44 (Ark.1979) (finding lack of

adequate judicial guidelines in statute allowing termination

where parents were unable to provide "proper home" for

children).

The cases that have upheld termination laws against

vagueness challenges, unlike the decision below, have

recognized that due process requires a minimum level of

control against arbitrariness as well as fair notice and have

provided that control by construing general statutory terms

to require actual harm or a threat of harm to the child’s

physical as well as emotional well being. See, e.g., Jn re

Maricopa County Juvenile Action No. JS-5209, 692 P.2d at

1035; In Re Doe, 123 N.H. 634, 641-42, 465 A.2d 924,

929 (1983).

It was just such a construction petitioners’ counsel

asked the trial court to apply in this case--defining the

unacceptable “conditions” and absence of “proper care”

that justify termination under RCW 13.34.180(5) to include

at least the level of “danger of substantial damage to the

child’s psychological or physical development” required to

establish a dependency in the first place under RCW

28

13.34.030(4)(c). Report of Proceedings 1758-1760. The

trial court refused to define these critical terms in this or

any other fashion. As a result, it could terminate

petitioners’ relationship with their daughter without finding

any danger that they would “damage” her, but only that

they could not meet “her needs,” “her emotional

requirements” and give her “the best chance she can have

of healthy maturation.” See App. C 9-11. And also as a

result, the Court of Appeals below could brush off

petitioners’ vagueness objections by saying that what the

statutory language meant was nothing more or less than

whatever the State had proved about the “deficits in [their]

parenting skills.” App. A 12.

If, as this Court has suggested, the liberty interests

involved in parental termination actions are analogous to

those in criminal prosecutions, see MLB. v. S.L.J., 519

U.S. at 120, the constitution cannot permit this. See

Government of Virgin Islands v. Ayala, 853 F.Supp. 160

(D.V.1. 1993) (striking down law making it a crime to

create "situation where it is reasonably foreseeable that a

child may suffer ... mental or emotional injury").

Certiorari should be granted here to determine whether

parents’ rights to a relationship with their natural children

is a matter that can be delegated to judges “for resolution

on an ad hoc and subjective basis.” Grayned v. City of

Rockford, 408 U.S. at 109.

29

CONCLUSION

The petition for certiorari should be granted and the

judgment below reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

*TIMOTHY K. FORD

KATRIN E. FRANK

MacDONALD, HOAGUE &

BAYLESS

705 2nd Avenue, Suite 1500

Seattle, WA 98104

(206) 622-1604

ATTORNEYS FOR

PETITIONERS

*Counsel of Record

January 26, 2000

APPENDIX A

In re the WELFARE OF H.S., A Minor.

B.S. and L.S., Appellants,

Vv.

Department of Social and Health Services, Respondent.

No. 17264-3-III.

Court of Appeals of Washington,

Division 3, Panel Nine.

March 9, 1999.

The Washington juvenile dependency statutory scheme

permits termination of parental rights for deficiencies that are

manifestations of chronic mental illness. B.S. and L.S.

appeal the termination of their parental rights; both suffer

from chronic mental illness. Their child H.S., now six years

old, was removed from their home under an agreed order of

dependency at the age of three months. The State sought

termination when she was still in foster care after three and

a half years. The court was persuaded that B.S. and L.S.

unquestionably love H.S. But despite their best and sincerest

efforts to resolve their parental deficiencies, B.S. and L.S.

remained incapable of meeting the child’s needs. They were

unlikely to benefit’ from further services. And the child’s

need for a stable and permanent home required an end to the

dependency.

In challenging whether clear, cogent and convincing

evidence supports the court’s findings of fact, B.S. and L.S.

contend that necessary services failed to accommodate their

handicap and their parental rights were terminated solely

because of their disability, in violation of state and federal

handicap- discrimination statutes. They also direct several

due process challenges to basing the termination on facts

Appendix A-1

different than those in the original dependency. First, they

contend that RCW 13.34.180(5)(b), which permits

consideration of chronic, severe mental illness in termination

proceedings, 1s unconstitutionally vague as applied. Second,

they contend they were effectively deprived of notice of the

State’s allegations, and that the burden of proof was shifted

by requiring them to prove that undefined "conditions" had

improved. Finally, they contend that secondary interests of

the child were erroneously given precedence over their

primary constitutional parental rights.

Clear, cogent and convincing evidence supports the requisite

statutory elements, so we affirm the decision of the court. —

FACTS

H.S. was born on November 25, 1992. When she was three

weeks old, her parents requested that she be placed in

voluntary care, and in March 1993 she was placed in shelter

care. She was made dependent in May 1993 as to B.S., and

in June 1993 as to L.S. H.S. has not lived with her parents

since that time. H.S. was placed in foster care with B.S.’s

cousins, where she remains. They offer H.S. a permanent

home.

B.S. and L.S. both suffer from chronic mental illness. Both

were hospitalized with acute symptoms in October 1992,

right before HS.’s birth. L.S. is diagnosed as paranoid

schizophrenic, and B.S. has been treated for severe

Jepression. L.S. was hospitalized again shortly after H.S.

was born. Both parents are currently diagnosed with

schizophrenia, although L.S. disputes her diagnosis. Both

parents are presently stabilized on medication as to acute

symptoms.

The dependency arose primarily from concerns about lack of

parent-child bonding and the baby’s failure to thrive. The

Appendix A-2

dependency court found there was no parent capable of

providing adequate care. The underlying findings were that

L.S.’s rigid and obsessive thinking endangered the baby’s

health, her thinking was confused, and she could not respond

to questions about the baby’s daily care. She was

uncooperative and resistant to support. The baby was below

the fifth weight-for-length percentile. L.S. also experienced,

but did not act on, strong sexual urges toward the infant.

The records of the final dependency review and termination

hearings contain exhaustive expert testimony that the

problems giving rise to the dependency remain unresolved.

Ongoing problems include B.S.’s and L.S.’s inability to

handle the stress of H.S.’s visits; rigid and concrete

application of suggested parenting techniques resulting in

inappropriate feeding, putting the child to bed too much and

waking her up too soon; inability or unwillingness to

respond to safety concerns; unwillingness or inability to

accept suggested parenting skills; failure to pick up on the

child’s cues, or understand or address her needs; continued

absence of bonding; and the father’s tendency to remove

himself, either physically or mentally. Throughout, B.S. and

L.S. had regular supervised or monitored visitation. In May

1995, in an effort to reunite the family, visitation was up to

40 hours per week in B.S. and L.S.’s home. As on previous

occasions, however, the length and frequency of the visits

had to be reduced because of stress to both the parents and

the child. At the recommendation of H.S.’s psychiatrist, the

court limited visits to three hours a week at the visitation

center.

B.S. and L.S. complied with services to the best of their

ability, in spite of delaying or rejecting some services. They

were referred to the Child Abuse Project (CAP), but were

denied admission because the program was not deemed

appropriate to their needs. B.S. and L.S. declined a second

CAP referral.

Appendix A-3

The record includes extensive expert testimony that while

the parents’ capacity for improvement had reached a plateu,

the child’s condition was disintegrating. H.S.’s

court-appointed guardian ad litem, after spending over 1,500

hours with the family, strongly urged termination for H.S.’s

sake. Pamela Aden, engaged by B.S. and L.S. to facilitate

reunification, also recommended termination. There was

testimony throughout that the child’s need for resolution,

permanence and stability had become urgent. The

recommendation was for permanent placement with the foster

parents.

The court entered extensive written findings in the

termination order of February 3, 1997. B.S. and L.S.’s

petition for direct review to the Supreme Court was referred

to this court.

DISCUSSION

The trial court has broad discretion to terminate parental

rights if it finds that the elements of RCW 13.34.180(1)

through (6) are established by clear, cogent, and convincing

evidence and that termination is in the best interests of the

child. Former RCW 13.34.190(1), (4); In re Welfare of

A.J.R., 78 Wash.App. 222, 228, 896 P.2d 1298, review

denied, 127 Wash.2d 1025, 904 P.2d 1157 (1995). There are

no more specific criteria because the facts of each case are

unique. In re Welfare of Aschauer, 93 Wash.2d 689, 695,

611 P.2d 1245 (1980).

Former RCW 13.34.180 provides in part:

(1) That the child has been found to be a dependent child

under RCW 13.34.030(2); and

(2) That the court has entered a dispositional order pursuant

to RCW 13.34.130; and

(3) That the child has been removed or will, at the time of

the hearing, have been removed from the custody of the

Appendix A-4

Mr) Bt regi A NN Arte BREE The BS Dic ht on DE

Sie ie SR BAK

FM Bact bonabbaralh WAS a

parent for a period of at least six months pursuant to a

finding of dependency under RCW 13.34.030(2); and

(4) That the services ordered under RCW 13.34.130 ‘have

been offered or provided and all necessary services,

reasonably available, capable of correcting the parental

deficiencies within the foreseeable future have been offered

or provided; and

(5) That there is little likelihood that conditions will be

remedied so that the child can be returned to the parent in

the near future. In determining whether the conditions will

be remedied the court may consider ...

(b) Psychological incapacity or mental deficiency of the

parent that is so severe and chronic as to render the parent

incapable of providing proper care for the child for

extended periods of time, and documented unwillingness of

the parent to receive and complete treatment or

documentation that there is no treatment that can render the

parent capable of providing proper care for the child in the

near future; and

(6) That continuation of the parent and child relationship

clearly diminishes the child’s prospects for early integration

into a stable and permanent home{.]}

Clear, cogent and convincing evidence means that the

ultimate fact in issue must be shown by substantial evidence

to be "highly probable." Krause v. Catholic Community

Servs., 47 Wash.App. 734, 746, 737 P.2d 280, review denied,

108 Wash.2d 1035 (1987). We determine sufficiency of the

evidence based on the record as a whole. Jn re Dependency

of C.R.B., 62 Wash.App. 608, 618, 814 P.2d 1197 (1991).

B.S. and L.S. do not dispute the first three elements the

child was found dependent, the court entered a dispositional

order, and the child has been removed for six months. The

disputed elements are that all necessary and reasonably

available services capable of correcting the parental

Appendix A-5

deficiencies within the foreseeable future have been offered

or provided (RCW 13.34.180(4)); that there is little

likelihood that conditions will be remedied in the near future

because of severe and chronic psychological incapacity, and

that there is no treatment that can render the parents capable

of providing proper care for the child in the near future

(RCW 13.34.180(5) and (5)(b)): that continuation of the

parent-child relationship clearly diminishes the child’s

prospects for early integration into a stable and permanent

home (RCW 13.34.180(6)); and that termination is in the

best interests of the child (former RCW 13.34.190(4)).

Findings: B.S. and L.S. contend generally that the court did

not base its findings of fact on clear, cogent and convincing

evidence. They assign error to all the substantive findings.

Although the court states in its conclusions of Jaw that RCW

13.34.180(1) through (6) were established by clear, cogent

and convincing evidence, the order does not use the language

"clear, cogent and convincing” in its findings. B.S. and L.S.

argue that the findings merely parrot the statute and are not

specific enough to support the conclusions. They do not

assign error to particular findings or set forth the portions of

findings which they assign error to as required by RAP

10.3(g) and RAP 10.4(c).

Assignments of error as to findings of fact must comply

with RAP 10.3(g) and 10.4(c). We need not review

challenged findings without citation to the record showing

why the findings are not supported by the record. In re

Haskell, 136 Wash.2d 300, 310-11, 962 P.2d 813 (1998).

Given the extensive findings and the size of the record, it is

impossible to review a blanket assignment of error to

findings. Morris v. Woodside, 101 Wash.2d 812, 815, 682

P.2d 905 (1984). We therefore review only findings argued

in the brief. Valley View Indus. Park v. City of Redmond,

107 Wash.2d 621, 630, 733 P.2d 182 (1987).

Appendix A-6

RA PS Re SEES AIT:

Services: RCW 13.34.180(4) requires that all reasonably

available services ordered under RCW 13.34.130 (dependency

review provisions) have been offered and provided. B.S. and

L.S. contend this element was not established, because they

were denied participation in CAP based solely on their

mental illness, contrary to the Americans with Disabilities

Act(ADA), 42 U.S.C. sec. 12132. [FN1]

FN1. 42 U.S.C. sec. 12132 provides: "[N]o qualified

individual with a disability shall, by reason of such

disability be excluded from participation in or be

denied the benefits of the services, programs, or

activities of a public entity, or be subjected to

discrimination by any such entity."

Pursuant to former RCW 13.34.130(5)(b)(vii), the court

ordered that CAP be offered. This order was conditional on

the CAP program at some point deeming these parents

‘eligible. CAP is a service of Spokane Mental Health, an

independent, outside agency with its own eligibility criteria,

which exists solely for the purpose of providing services to

the mentally ill. The Department complied with the order

and referred B.S. and L.S. to CAP twice.

The ADA was not violated. The ADA requires public

entities to make reasonable accommodation for disabled

persons. A.J.R., 78 Wash.App. at 230, 896 P.2d 1298. The

Act does not require public entities to provide the disabled

with services not offered to others. 42 U.S.C. sec. 12132.

In addition to the denial by both B.S. and L.S. of the

existence of any parenting problems, which is incompatible

with successful treatment, CAP rejected B.S. and L.S.

because of their long-term therapeutic needs and the length

of time H.S. had already been out of the home. The

admissions evaluator felt CAP would be able to recommend

reunification only after longterm treatment. In the event H.S.

Appendix A-7

were returned, reintegration would require individual therapy

and ongoing monitoring. CAP could provide neither.

Because of their mental illness, ongoing treatment with Adult

Outpatient Services was perceived as more beneficial than the

"insight oriented group psychotherapy" offered through CAP.

% S. and L.S. refused the second CAP referral.

B.S. and L.S. are contending that they should be immunized

from termination because the unavailability of a single

offered service makes it impossible to prove RCW

13.34.180(4). But this case has been saturated with services

from the beginning, [FN2] establishing RCW 13.34.1 80(4) by

clear, cogent and convincing evidence. It would defeat the

purpose of the entire dependency and termination scheme if

a single unsuccessful referral were sufficient to preclude a

finding that all necessary and available services had been

offered.

FN2. Before the dependency: Mental health services;

First Stepps, Public Health Nurse; Spokane County

Health Department social work services; Division of

Children and Family Services (DCFS) social worker

services; Paul Wert, Ph.D. (parents delayed); Vanessa

Behan Crisis Nursery (parents refused); Spokane

Child Abuse and Neglect Prevention Services

(resisted); Parenting aide; Parenting classes; Edwina

Skinner, in-home social worker; Bonnie Johnson,

public health nurse. After dependency: Sex Offender

Counseling; Carol Thomas, MA; Kathy Seeley of

Spokane Consultants in Family Living; Parenting

classes; Deborah Kelly, parenting/visitation training;

Mildred Staley, guardian ad litem; James Mahoney,

parent-child evaluation and visitation

assessment/supervision; supervised visitation; Dr.

Wert; Michael Manz, MD, psychiatrist;

pharmaceutical, medical, transportation, financial

services; Pam Aden (terminated by the parents when

Appendix A-8

she concluded reunification was not feasible); Joe

Reeves, DCFS (services refiised); Cerena Lauren;

Pat James, MA, Spokane Mental Health Adult

Services. Most of these providers had experience in

working with the mentally ill.

Little likelihood conditions will be remedied: If all

necessary services reasonably capable of correcting the

parental deficiencies within the foreseeable future are offered

or provided and the parental deficiencies are not substantially

improved within 12 months of the dependency order, a

rebuttable presumption arises that there is little likelihood that

conditions will be remedied so that the child can be returned

to the parents. RCW 13.34.180.

B.S. and L.S. mistakenly believe the "conditions" of RCW

13.34.180(5) are limited to the facts of the original

dependency, and if termination is not based on these precise

facts, it must be reversed. They argue that the only grounds

for H.S.’s dependency were the baby’s failure to thrive, the

mother’s inappropriate sexual impulses, and the acute nature

of the mother’s mental illness at that time. Because RCW

13.34.040 limits the court’s jurisdiction to these grounds, they

contend that when the court found all of these conditions had

been resolved, it lost jurisdiction. Jn re Welfare of Boatman,

73 Wash.2d 364, 367, 438 P.2d 600 (1968). A proceeding

begun on one ground and continued on another, without any

opportunity to define and contest the new allegations,

constitutes a fundamental deprivation of due process. Cole v.

Arkansas, 333 U.S. 196, 68 S.Ct. 514, 92 L.Ed. 644 (1948);

In re Detention of Cross, 99 Wash.2d 373, 384-85, 662 P.2d

828 (1983).

In the termination proceedings, they contend the "conditions"

shifted to the alleged incapacity of the parents to provide for

H.S.’s emotional and developmental needs. A dependency

petition based on these "conditions," they argue, would have

Appendix A-9

failed. They urge that they were wrongfully deprived of

rights to their child without a showing that they are currently

sufficiently "unfit" to permit a declaration of dependency

under RCW 13.34.130.

B.S. and L.S. misinterpret the dependency statute. It is not

necessary to re-establish the original dependency at

termination. Jn re Dependency of J.C., 130 Wash.2d 418,

428, 924 P.2d 21 (1996). The review process results in

repeated, updated findings of the dependency. Former RCW

13.34.130(5); In re A.W., 53 Wash.App. 22, 28, 765 P.2d

307 (1988), review denied, 112 Wash.2d 1017 (1989). The

language of the statute contemplates that circumstances will

evolve between the dependency of an infant and termination

involving a four-year-old child. For instance, RCW

13.34.145(1)(b) provides that "identified outcomes and goals

of the permanency plan may change over time based upon

the circumstances of the particular case." RCW 13.34.150

provides for changes to court orders "upon a showing of a

change in circumstances[.]" Changed circumstances do not

necessarily reflect resolution of the parental deficiencies

giving rise to the dependency, even though the manifestations

of the problems necessarily change over time.

For this reason, termination proceedings are not a relitigation

of the dependency issues, and the accuracy of the facts

underlying the original dependency adjudication is not

deemed critical. Krause, 47 Wash.App. at 743, 737 P.2d

280. The issue at termination is current unfitness. In re

Dependency of K.R., 128 Wash.2d 129, 142, 904 P.2d 1132

(1995). If the elements of RCW 13.34.180 are proved,

current parental unfitness is implicitly established. J.C., 130

Wash.2d at 428, 924 P.2d 21; KR., 128 Wash.2d at 142, 904

P.2d 1132.

Jurisdiction: Insofar as B.S. and L.S.’s argument amounts

to a challenge of subject matter jurisdiction, their contention

Appendix A-10

is without merit. The superior court has broad and

comprehensive original jurisdiction unless jurisdiction is

vested exclusively in some other court. Wash. Const. art. IV,

sec. 6. Because of this broad constitutional grant of

jurisdiction, exceptions are read narrowly. Orwick v. City of

Seattle, 103 Wash.2d 249, 251, 692 P.2d 793 (1984). Unless

the Legislature demonstrates an intent to limit jurisdiction, an

act should be construed as imposing no limitation. Burnside

v. Simpson Paper Co., 66 Wash.App. 510, 517, 832 P.2d 537

(1992), aff'd, 123 Wash.2d 93, 864 P.2d 937 (1994).

Under the statutory dependency scheme, once dependency is

established, the court retains jurisdiction until the child has

been returned to the parents for six months. RCW

13.34.145(7). The court had subject matter jurisdiction.

Due process: Based on their misplaced insistence on identity

of dependency and termination facts, B.S. and L.S. challenge

the constitutionality of the statute, raising several due process

issues.

Vagueness: B.S. and L.S. first contend that RCW

13.34.180(5) is unconstitutionally vague as applied. They

contend the court refused to define the crucial statutory terms

"conditions" and "proper care." Therefore, it was never

specified what precise "conditions" had to change and what

B.S. and L.S. could do to provide "proper care" so as to

avoid termination. Because the conditions that led to the

original dependency no longer existed and no other

conditions justifying the dependency were ever alleged or

found, B.S. and L.S. argue, the terms are unconstitutionally

vague.

We presume statutes are constitutional. K.R., 128 Wash.2d

at 142, 904 P.2d 1132. The challenging party has the burden

to prove otherwise beyond a reasonable doubt. Jn re

Dependency of C.B., 79 Wash.App. 686, 689, 904 P.2d 1171

Appendix A-11

(1995), review denied, 128 Wash.2d 1023 (1996). Since First

Amendment freedoms are not involved, we consider only

whether the statute is constitutional as applied. I

Wash.App. at 689, 904 P.2d 1171. In reviewing a vagueness

challenge to a provision of RCW 13.34, the statute is

unconstitutional as applied only if the record shows the

decision was arbitrary. In re Welfare of Aschauer, 93

Wash.2d 689, 697-98, 611 P.2d 1245(1980) (vagueness

challenge to the terms "proper parental care" and "proper

maintenance"). The provisions of the statute are taken as a

whole. Jd. at 697, 611 P.2d 1245.

The court’s written findings include specific language

describing the nature of the parents’ impairments and the

effect on their parenting capabilities. The oral ruling

discusses the specific testimony on which the decision relies.

The term "conditions" clearly refers to present and continuing

objective deficits in B.S.’s and L.S.’s parenting skills. The

termination was based on present inability to correct the

parenting problems that were litigated throughout the

dependency. See A.W., 53 Wash.App. at 29, 765 P.2d 307.

As the court observed in denying B.S. and L.S.’s motion to

dismiss, B.S. and L.S. were at all times informed of the

nature of the issues and the Department’s position thereon.

Notice: Due process requires notice that is "reasonably

calculated, under all the circumstances," to apprise the parties

of the pendency of the action and enable them to present a

defense. Duskin v. Carlson, 136 Wash.2d 550, 557, 965 P.2d

611 (1998). B.S. and L.S. contend that they were denied due

process because they did not have notice of the specific

issues to be considered. In re Welfare of Martin, 3

Wash.App. 405, 410, 476 P.2d 134 (1970).

Notice must permit adequate preparation for the hearing.

Cross, 99 Wash.2d at 384, 662 P.2d 828. The State

complied with LJuCR 3.9 provisions governing notice for

Appendix A-12

€

ra

«

"

+

review hearings. B.S. and L.S. had the Individual Service

Plans which provided notice of the agency’s position and

plans with regard to developing issues. B.S. and L.S. do not

dispute that these were filed, served and received. The issues

underlying the termination are the same issues that were

repeatedly litigated throughout: inability to meet the child’s

emotional and developmental needs, inability to respond

outside the concrete, lack of flexibility and inability to react

to new scenarios, and poor judgment.

Even if defective notice does implicate due process, it is

harmless beyond a reasonable doubt when the complaining

party subsequently participates in dependency review hearings

and the termination adjudication. A.W., 53 Wash.App. at 27,

765 P.2d 307.

Notice is a matter of personal jurisdiction, objection to

which was waived when B.S. and L.S. repeatedly appeared

and litigated these issues. A.W., 53 Wash.App. at 26-28, 765

P.2d 307. Collateral attacks based on notice are disfavored,

and CR 12(h)(1) waiver provisions are applied a fortiori to

dependency proceedings. A.W., 53 Wash.App. at 26, 765

P.2d 307. Moreover, failure to seek review of the resulting

orders waives notice for all but the April 16, 1996 review

proceedings.

In the hearing, B.S. and L.S. were apprised of and litigated

the issues underlying the termination. The court was satisfied

that B.S. and L.S. knew at every stage of the proceeding

what the State’s position was. Due process was satisfied by

notice and an opportunity to be heard. Jn re Welfare of Key,

119 Wash.2d 600, 611, 836 P.2d 200 (1992), cert. denied,

507 U.S. 927, 113 S.Ct. 1302, 122 L.Ed.2d 691 (1993).

Burden of proof: B.S. and L.S. next contend that the court’s

reliance on a dependency whose basis no longer existed

violated due process by reversing the constitutional burden of

Appendix A-13

proof, shifting the burden of persuasion with respect to facts

the State is required to prove. State v. Dault, 19 Wash.App.

709, 713-14, 578 P.2d 43 (1978).

Termination must be based on current unfitness, as

established by RCW 13.34.180(1) through (6). KR. 128

Wash.2d at 142, 904 P.2d 1132. The burden of proof is

clear, cogent and convincing evidence. Santosky v. Kramer,

455 U.S. 745, 102 S.Ct. 1388, 71 L.Ed.2d 599 (1982). B.S.

and L.S. argue that after determining that the grounds for the

dependency were resolved, the court improperly required

them to prove the absence of continuing grounds and

impermissibly presumed they were unfit when they could not.

The record does not support this contention. The State

presented extensive evidence of current deficiencies. The

court expressly found that the State established RCW

13.34.180(1) through (6) by clear, cogent and convincing

evidence. The court also expressly states the appropriate

burdens of proof were applied. The findings recite in detail

the affirmative evidence on which the court relied in

establishing current unfitness.

RCW 26.44.015(3): B.S. and L.S. next contend the State

failed to establish RCW 13.34.180(5)(b), the presence of

severe and chronic psychological incapacity or mental

deficiency rendering them incapable of providing proper care

with foreseeably available remedial treatments. They assert

that they were found neglectful solely because of their mental

illness in violation of RCW 26.44.015(3), which provides that

no parent may be deemed abusive or neglectful solely by

reason of handicap.

RCW 26.44.015(3) does not preclude termination. Mental

‘lIness or no mental illness, parental rights can be terminated

if the parents lack the capacity to adequately nurture and care

for the child. Aschauer, 93 Wash.2d at 694, 611 P.2d 1245.

Appendix A-14

DE

The Swensons read RCW 26.44.015(3) as _ prohibiting

consideration of any parental deficiency that might be a

manifestation of mental illness. This is contrary to the intent

of the statutory framework.

That RCW 26.44.015(3) does not supersede RCW

13.34.180(5)(b) to prevent termination of parental rights in

the face of a parent’s chronic, severe mental illness is evident

from the fact that RCW 26.44.015(3) and RCW

13.34.180(5)(b) were enacted in the same legislation. Laws

of 1993, ch. 412, sec. 11, enacted RCW 26.44.015(3). This

same chapter at sec. 2 amended RCW 13.34, specifically

adding RCW 13.34.180(5)(b) and expressly authorizing the

courts to consider severe and chronic mental illness in

termination proceedings. We construe original acts and

amendments as one law passed at the same time. Jn re

Dependency of Ramquist, 52 Wash.App. 854, 859, 765 P.2d

30 (1988), review denied, 112 Wash.2d 1006 (1989). The

provisions of RCW 13.34.180(5)(b) were properly applied in

these proceedings.

B.S. and L.S. argue that the court simply ignored RCW

26.44.015(3) and based both dependency and termination

explicitly on their mental illness. This is simply not

supported by the record. While the State is barred from

arbitrarily removing children merely because the parents are

mentally ill, the mentally ill are not immune from having

their children removed if they are unfit. The court considers

behavior manifesting mental illness within the totality of the

circumstances. Jn re Welfare of Hauser, 15 Wash.App. 231,

235, 548 P.2d 333 (1976). A child should not be left in the

custody of a parent whose mental illness renders the parent

unable to understand or meet the needs of the child. Jn re

Welfare of Frederiksen, 25 Wash.App. 726, 733, 610 P.2d

371 (1979), review denied, 94 Wash.2d 1002 (1980);

Aschauer, 93 Wash.2d 689, 611 P.2d 1245. This is so even

though the parent is stabilized on medication, if there is no

Appendix A-15

foreseeable likelihood of further improvement. In re

Moseley, 34 Wash.App. 179, 186, 660 P.2d 315, review

denied, 99 Wash.2d 1018 (1983). The parents’ lack of

insight into their condition may be considered. Krause v.

Catholic Community Servs., 47 Wash.App. 734, 747, 737

P.2d 280, review denied, 108 Wash.2d 1035 (1987).

There was conflicting testimony about the precise diagnosis,

but it was not disputed that both parents were severely and

chronically mentally ill. The court reminded the parties

numerous times that not the label but the behavior was of

concern.

The record is replete with testimony that B.S. and L.S. have

not benefited from the available parenting services and are

unlikely to improve in the foreseeable future. One recurring

theme throughout the record is the mother’s unwillingness to

accept advice or suggestions. Even when willing, both

parents are unable to adapt instructions given in a particular

situation to analogous situations. They therefore remain

inadequate to deal with everyday parenting challenges. They

exhibit an inflexibility that leaves them unable to deviate

from a planned activity when changing circumstances made

it inappropriate. This is a common manifestation of

schizophrenia. In re Dependency of P.D., 58 Wash.App. 18,

23-24, 792 P.2d 159, review denied, 115 Wash.2d 1019, 802

P.2d 125 (1990). In P.D., as in this case, the parent was

unable to understand or pick up on a child’s cues as to basic

needs, and unable to generalize from specific instructions.

Although the specific instances were minor, they added up to

an inability to understand and respond to the child’s basic

needs. Id.

It was B.S.’s and L.S.’s behavior and H.S.’s reaction to

them that were the conditions the court identified as parental

deficiencies. Suicidal tendencies in the mother, extreme

passivity in the father, rigid thinking, inability to put the

Appendix A-16

ee ee a

a

‘

child’s needs before their own, and inability to generalize

information in both parents may be manifestations of mental

illness. However, the cumulative testimony presented clear,

cogent and convincing evidence of the inability of these

parents to recognize and respond to their child’s needs. These

deficiencies are aggravated, not ameliorated, by medication.

Even though the positive symptoms of hallucinations and

delusions are controlled, their disease continues to have

significant impact on these parents’ daily functioning and

capacity to tolerate stress.

The child: RCW 13.34.180(6) and former RCW

13.34.190(4) require that the record must support the

conclusion that continuation of the parent and child

relationship clearly diminishes the child’s prospects for early

integration into a stable and permanent home and that

termination is in the best interests of the child.

B.S. and L.S. contend that the court did not find by clear,

cogent and convincing evidence that termination was in

H.S.’s best interests. In support of this, they point to the

court’s expressed opinion that "some contact between the

child and her biological parents may be in her best interests

as she continues to grow older..."

The child’s anticipated permanent placement is within B.S.’s

extended family. The court did express the hope that there

_would be contact. Psychiatrist Michael Manz also expressed

this hope. However, both expressed this sentiment in the

context of unequivocally recognizing that termination of

parental rights is in the best interests of this child.

B.S. and L.S. believe their most sacred rights have been

subordinated to the State’s shifting and amorphous view of

the child’s best interests, and that the length of H.S.’s

dependency is the fault of the State. They argue that

advocacy in the best interests of the child does not permit

Appendix A-17

any interest of the child to outweigh all rights of the parents.

They contend that termination is justified only when the child

is treated with cruelty or exposed to immoral or debasing

conditions. In re Welfare of Hudson, 13 Wash.2d 673, 693,

126 P.2d 765 (1942).

Parents do have a fundamental liberty and privacy interest

in the care and custody of their children, and termination

should be allowed only for the most powerful reasons. In re

Welfare of Sego, 82 Wash.2d 736, 738, 513 P.2d 831 (1973);

In re Welfare of A.J.R., 78 Wash.App. 222, 229, 896 P.2d

1298, review denied, 127 Wash.2d 1025, 904 P.2d 1157

(1995). But the court may not accommodate the parents’

rights when to do so would ignore the basic needs of the

child. Jn re Welfare of Aschauer, 93 Wash.2d 689, 695, 611

P.2d 1245 (1980). The child’s right to basic nurturing

includes "the right to a safe, stable, and permanent home and

a speedy resolution of [dependency] proceedings." RCW

13.34.020; In re Dependency of C.R.B., 62 Wash.App. 608,

615, 814 P.2d 1197 (1991). H.S. has been dependent and in

foster care since she was three months old. She is now six

years old. The alternative to termination is not to return H.S.

permanently to B.S. and L.S., but to continue her dependency

indefinitely. No child should languish for years in foster

care. H.S. should be freed to move on with her life.

‘

The termination orders are affirmed.

KURTZ, A.C.J., and KATO, J., concur.

Appendix A-18

is erence i ES NO st OLE SEIN EO OE SET

a

APPENDIX B

SUPREME COURT OF WASHINGTON

In re the Welfare of )

) NO. 68087-6

H.S., )

A Minor. ) ORDER

)

B.S. and L.S., ) C/A NO. 17264-3-III

)

Petitioner, )

V. )

)

DEPARTMENT OF )

SOCIAL AND HEALTH _)

SERVICES, )

)

Respondent. )

)

Department II of the Court considered this matter at

its September 28, 1999, Motion Calendar, and unanimously

agreed that the following order be entered.

IT IS ORDERED:

That the Petition for Review is denied.

DATED at Olympia, Washington this 28th day of

September, 1999.

/s/ Richard P. Guy

CHIEF JUSTICE

Appendix B-1

APPENDIX C

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF

WASHINGTON

IN AND FOR THE COUNTY OF SPOKANE

JUVENILE DIVISION

In re Termination of: ) NO. 96-7-002225-8

)

HANNAH SWENSON ) FINDINGS OF FACT,

) CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

(DOB: 11/25/92) ) AND ORDER OF

) TERMINATION OF PARENT-

) CHILD RELATIONSHIP

) [x] CLERK’S ACTION

) REQUIRED

THIS MATTER came on for hearing before the

undersigned Judge of the Superior Court of Spokane County,

Juvenile Division, on October 21, 1996, following the filing

of a Petition for Termination of Parent-Child Relationship

filed herein. Present before the court at the hearing were:

Brent Swenson, the child’s father; Lorilei Swenson, the

child’s mother; Tom May, the parents’ attorney; Joseph

Reeves, social worker on behalf of the Division of Children

and Family Services (DCFS), Department of Social and

Health Services (DSHS); Sylvia Glover, Assistant Attorney

General, representing DSHS/DCFS; Mildred Staley, the

child’s court-appointed guardian ad litem; and Frank Hoover,

the GAL’s attorney.

Appendix C-1

The court having reviewed the file and records herein,

the testimony and documentary evidence admitted, and

having heard argument of counsel, now, therefore, makes the

following:

FINDINGS OF FACT

]

Hannah Swenson is a minor child born on November

25, 1992. The child currently resides in Spokane County.

II

The mother of the minor child is Lorilei Swenson.

She currently resides at Spokane, WA.

Ill

The father of the minor child is Brent Swenson. He

currently resides at Spokane, WA.

IV

The child, Hannah Swenson, was found to be

dependent under RCW 1 3.34.030(2)(now RCW 13.34.030(4])

(b) and (c) on May 3, 1993 as to the father and on June 16,

1993 as to the mother, under Spokane County Juvenile Court

Cause No. 93-7-00117-0. The court entered a dispositional

order pursuant to RCW 13.34.130 on May 3, 1993 as to the

father and on June 16, 1993 as to the mother, under the same

cause number. Subsequent review orders were entered, some

contested and some stipulated.

The child has been removed from the custody of the

natural parents for a period of at least six months pursuant to

a finding of dependency under RCW 13.34.030(2). She has

not been returned home since removal from the parents’

home.

Vv

Services ordered under RCW 13.34.130 and all

necessary services, reasonably available, capable of correcting

parental deficiencies within the foreseeable future have been

offered or provided. The services were appropriate to the

parents’ needs and consistent with any disabilities they

suffered from mental disorders. Further, the Department in

this case was willing to accept providers proposed by the

Appendix C-2

parents in several instances. The parents terminated services

with some providers; this occurred prior to dependency when

they wished to avoid intrusion or intervention and after

dependency when they disagreed with the provider opinions.

The parents have had the opportunity to engage in services

over the course of more than 3% years; there is little or no

likelihood that further observation, assessment, services and

litigation will result in any benefit to the parents, much less

the child.

From June 1993 to June 1994 the DCFS case plan

called for termination and adoption. Reunification did not

become the case plan until June 1994, at which time DCFS

adopted a concurrent plan. Always, the Department has in

mind reunification/ concurrent planning regardless of

permanent plan. Ms. Caryl Ann Herman became the social

worker in June 1994. She had the Swensons’ case considered

at a Child Protective Team (an independent organization used

for the purpose of assisting the State in making its

determinations and decisions). CPT notes indicate that the

direction of the people making comments was toward

termination of parental rights [and no suggestion was made

as to how reunification could be accomplished].

VI

A. The following services were offered or

provided prior to the dependency in efforts to avoid removal

of the child from the parents’ home: Mental health services;.

First Stepps; Public

Health Nurse services in the home; Spokane County Health

social work services in the home; DCFS social work services

in the home; evaluation by Paul Wert, Ph.D.; Vanessa Behan

Crisis Nursery Services; and Spokane Child Abuse and

Neglect Prevention (SCAN) services including evaluation, a

parenting aid, and parenting classes.

Edweena Skinner, social worker from Spokane Public

Health, testified that she contacted the family before

Hannah’s birth upon referral from Sacred Heart Medical

Center where both parents had been voluntarily hospitalized

Appendix C-3

in October 1992 for mental health problems. After working

with the family in the home for several months, Ms. Skinner

observed failure to thrive on the infant’s part and was

concerned regarding the mother’s comments about sexual

feelings toward Hannah. She reported her observations and

concerns to Child Protective Services as a mandated reporter

of child abuse and neglect.

Ms. Skinner found the family only able or willing to

cooperate intermittently. In February 1993, the father

instructed her not to return to the home.

Bonnie Johnson, Public Health Nurse, worked with

the family before and after Hannah’s birth. As she testified,

the parents were stressed to a point where they could not

provide adequate care for the infant. Both the public health

nurse and Dr. Tomeo (the baby’s pediatrician with whom Ms.

Johnson was in contact) concluded that the baby suffered

from failure to thrive in that her weight to height ratio

dropped below the 5th percentile.

Lorelei and Brent Swenson both have cooperated

extensively in what the court believes was the best of their

ability in trying to resolve their problems so that they could

have Hannah back on a permanent basis. However, the

mother delayed engagement with Dr. Wert, canceling her first

appointment, failing to show at her second appointment and

appearing finally at her third appointment.. The family

resisted services with SCAN and requested that it close their

file. The parents refused Vanessa Behan Crisis Nursery

services. The DCFS social worker testified that the parents

were only marginally amenable to her services.

B. The following services were offered or

provided during the dependency: Parenting assessment and

services at PAIR; parenting assessment and treatment with

Pam Aden, MSW; counseling with a certified sex offender

treatment provider, assessment and services from Carol

Thomas, MA; assessment and services from Kathy Seeley,

MSW, Consultants in Family Living; parenting classes; in-

home _parenting/visitation training from Deborah Kelley,

Appendix C-4

Mildred Staley (the child’s guardian ad litem) and DCFS

social workers; visitation assessment and supervision by

James Mahoney, MSW; visitation supervision and services at

The Visitation Center; updated psychological assessment with

Dr. Wert for the mother; psychiatric assessment of the

parents and child by Michael Manz, M.D.; updated

psychiatric assessment; pharmaceutical assistance;

transportation services; medical assistance; financial

assistance; and DCFS social services.

G Cerena Lauren (formerly Mary Lou Meckel)

referred the parents to the Child Abuse Project (CAP)

pursuant to their request via review hearing and on behalf of

DCFS. She hoped that the intensive program would admit

the parents and that it would be the answer to their service

issues. The program did not admit the parents, noting that

their issues made them inappropriate to the program and that

they would need intervention more long-term than CAP

provides because of their mental illnesses.

The parents proposed Pam Aden, MS, as a provider.

She has extensive experience working with parents and

children; her goal was to facilitate reunification. Although

Ms. Aden was intent on facilitating reunification, she

concluded after ten to twelve sessions that the parents could

not fulfill Hannah’s needs then or in the future. The parents

terminated her involvement.

Deborah Kelley also provided an independent

approach. She observed some parenting problems, including

inappropriate use of naps and wake-ups, too much use of

food to placate the child, and tendency to overstimulate the

child even after she worked with the parents on the issue.

Ms. Kelley, a mental health counselor and a foster parent,

testified as follows: As a volunteer for DSHS, Ms. Kelley

was asked by the DCFS social worker to observe Lorilei and

Brent Swenson with their daughter, Hannah, during July 1994

for one time a week for three hours. Her job was to observe

their parenting techniques, to observe their judgment, and to

see if they were following through with parenting skills. She

Appendix C-5

again observed and assisted with parenting tips in 1995. She

observed that both parents tended to seek each other’s

~ approval, verbal and nonverbal.

Ms. Kelley testified that both parents seemed to show

good judgment around safety issues concerning Hannah.

Overall, Ms. Kelley felt that the Swensons were competent in

keeping Hannah safe and following through with parenting

techniques they had learned.

Ms. Kelley’s opinion at one time was that the

Swensons could adequately parent with services. Although

Ms. Kelley is sympathetic to Mr. and Mrs. Swenson and

wanted reunification, she testified that the case should be put

to rest and that it was not in Hannah’s best interests to return

her to her parents’ custody.

DCFS social workers provided direct services. The

parents at least twice directly refused these services from Joe

Reeves, DCFS social worker. The parents were again

referred to the Child Abuse Project by Joe Reeves pursuant

to agreed review order. They did not choose to engage in the

program. The parents did not accept an updated psychiatric

assessment with a provider agreeable to all parties.

Spokane Mental Health Adult Services remain

available to the parents. The parents are consistent (with a

few minor exceptions) in attending medication monitoring.

According to Faye Stephenson, LPN and case manager at the

Evergreen Club (a day program for the chronically mentally

ill at Spokane Mental Health) who testified as an advocate

for the parents, they have failed to take advantage of

Evergreen Program as much as they should over the last year.

They have not taken as much advantage of the Evergreen

Club in the last year, but they have had other things they

were dealing with also, and they have not shown the

symptoms of mental illness that they had in the past.

Pat James, MA, at Spokane Mental Health, Adult

Services, has worked with the mother regarding issues of sex

abuse. She testified that the mother has worked through

these issues. Ms. James concluded that Lorilei Swenson has

Appendix C-6

worked her way through any issues concerning her sexual

abuse as a teenager and that the issue is not a matter of

concern now or in the future.

D. The child has received the following services:

Medical/dental care; mental health services including weekly

psychiatric services with Michael Manz, M.D., since mid-

1996; relative care; and guardian ad litem services.

VII

The parents are unable to parent this child with little

or no likelihood of change in the near and foreseeable future.

There is little likelihood that conditions will be remedied so

that the child could be returned to the parents in the near

future.

A. Chronic mental health issues interfere with the

parents’ abilities to meet the child’s physical, emotional and

developmental needs. As William Bennett, M.D., (a

psychiatrist who monitors the parents’ medications at

Spokane Mental Health and who was a witness for both the

parents and the DCFS), testified, the parents maintain

diagnoses of schizophrenia in adult services at Spokane

Mental Health. He has some doubts about the diagnoses, but

has not seen fit to change them or the parents’ medication.

The mother does not believe she suffers from schizophrenia.

The parents remain medicated with substantial

amounts of Mellaril, an antipsychotic medication used in

adults for control of the symptoms of schizophrenia; although

some schizophrenics take larger doses of the drug than do the

Swensons, the amount that they take would make a person

without mental illness unable to function.

Mr. Swenson has also suffered from depression and

has been treated with electroconvulsive therapy (ECT).

Stress is a significant problem for both parents, and it

becomes overwhelming at times for Mr. Swenson. He also

appeared to have difficulty recalling incidents upon

examination before this court. Mr. Swenson is a person who

is “laid back." He is not one who pushes himself into

conversations or activities and is content to sit back and

Appendix C-7

observe. However, the testimony (of Joe Reeves, DCFS

social worker) also was that, as far as parenting is concerned,

he seemed to have the ability to pick up on Hannah’s cues,

possibly better than Mrs. Swenson and either step in and take

some action or suggest that Lorilei take some action.

Michael Manz, M.D., the psychiatrist ordered by the

court to evaluate the parents and child, is medical director of

the Child and Adolescent Department (psychiatric) at Sacred

Heart Medical Center. He diagnosed both parents as

schizophrenic based on history and presentation. Dr. Manz

opined with reference to texts and treatises read into evidence

that a child of two schizophrenic parents has a 37-40%

chance of developing the disease. The parents own

limitations will hinder them in addressing Hannah’s

developmental needs as she matures whether or not she

develops schizophrenia, and their limitations will make

recognition of and response to Hannah’s emotional needs

particularly difficult.

The parents pursued assessment with E. Clay

Jorgensen, Ph.D., and Donovan Clark, M.D. Neither

questions that the parents suffer from mental disorders,

although both question the diagnoses of schizophrenia. Like

Dr. Manz and Dr. Bennett, neither Dr. Jorgensen nor Dr.

Clark has seen the parents in acute phases of their mental

illnesses.

Although the parents’ expert, E. Clay Jorgensen,

Ph.D., opined that he was unsure that the parents’ were

properly diagnosed as schizophrenic he did not provide any

certain alternative diagnoses.

Donovan Clark, M.D., is a board certified psychiatrist

retained by the parents. He has had limited contact with

Hannah but testified that he saw no distress during visits with

the parents. Although he believes that the parents do not

suffer from schizophrenia, he offered no differential or

alternative diagnoses. He conceded that Mellaril is used in

adults to treat psychotic symptoms. Dr. Clark was unaware

or unaccepting of the statistic cited by other providers herein

Appendix C-8

and set forth in the psychiatric literature/learned treatises that

children of two schizophrenic parents have a 37-40% chance

of inheriting the disease. This calls into question his

credibility with the court, causing the court to wonder why

he made this statement or whether he is simply unaware.

Dr. Wert is the only evaluator herein to have seen the

mother during an acute exacerbation of her mental illness.

As set forth in his reports entered as evidence, Dr. Wert

diagnosed the mother as suffering from major depression,

recurrent, with psychotic features, and schizophrenia, residual

type.

As family members, professionals and the parents

testified, the parents have long histories of mental illness

including psychiatric hospitalizations. The parents have taken

psychotropic medications for the last several years.

Based on differences of opinion among the experts,

the court does not find by clear and convincing evidence that

either parent does or does not suffer from schizophrenia. The

pragmatic implications of the parents’ mental illnesses rather

than the precise label applied are of concern here. Here, the

parents’ impairments preclude them from meeting the child’s

emotional and developmental needs to such an extent that no

court would return the child to her parents’ home throughout

the course of the dependency. These inabilities continue to

exist. Although the parents try to follow scripts they learn

via parenting instruction, their mental illnesses manifest in a

concrete inflexible approach to dealing with new scenarios.

The parents lack problem-solving abilities and abilities to

respond to new, unforeseen, unscripted problems. These are

the daily course of parenthood, as scripts for each situation

that will confront the parents do not exist.

B. Despite extensive visitation opportunities,

reunification has not proved possible during the course of the

dependency. The child suffers confusion in having parents

who cannot meet her emotional requirements or establish

clear boundaries. During the course of the dependency,

expansions of visitation in duration and frequency could not

Appendix C-9

be tolerated by the child; visits had to be reduced by the

court for the child’s health, safety and welfare.

VIII

The continuation of the parent-child relationship

clearly diminishes the child’s prospects for early integration

into a stable and permanent home. The child is entitled to a

safe, stable, permanent home. She is entitled speedy

resolution of these proceedings. Although resolution of this

matter has not been speedy, the court does not fault either

party in this regard because development of the case over

time required further investigation and opportunities for

participation by the parents.

The child cannot exist forever in the limbo of

temporary care, however. As here, when the rights of the

parents and the child conflict, the child’s rights are

paramount. She requires finality at this time.

A. The parents have not progressed sufficiently

during the course of the dependency that they can meet the

child’s developmental and emotional needs over time. As

Ms. Aden testified, the parents could not fulfill Hannah’s

needs vvhen she worked with them with the intent to reunify

and will be unable to do so as she gets older. Kathy Seeley,

MSW, did not find the parents minimally adequate,

particularly in that they would not be able to meet Hannah’s

increasingly sophisticated needs as she grew older.

B. As Caryl Ann Herman (DCFS social worker)

and other witnesses testified, the parents are too concrete to

cope with changing situations or needs on Hannah’s part.

They can learn a response to one situation but cannot apply

it to anew one. The mother is unrealistic in her expectations

of Hannah. The father tends to be overly passive and too

placid to parent effectively. As Ms. Herman testified, the

father expressed concern about having permanent placement

of Hannah, recognizing problems he and the mother had in

dealing with the difficulties of raising a child; Mrs. Swenson

has been singular, however, in seeking return of the child

home and does not express such doubts.

Appendix C-10

Bi sees STA LOSES LLCS ETSI AT

NNN nne

id As testified by Cerena Lauren (formerly Mary

Lou Meckel), now a professor at Eastern Washington

University and previously the Swensons’ DCFS social worker

from June 1993 to July 1994, Mrs. Swenson was unduly rigid

in a manner that interfered with her ability to meet Hannah’s

needs. Mr. Swenson expressed concern to her about his

ability to parent and meet Hannah’s needs; Mrs. Swenson did

not.

D. As Joe Reeves, the current DCFS social

worker since March 1995, testified, the father is so passive

that he fails to push himself into conversations or activities

with the child. He could pick up on Hannah’s cues better

than did the mother, however. Visits were not beneficial to

the child’s health, safety and welfare, in Mr. Reeves’ opinion.

E. Finally, assuming that both parents are

schizophrenic, the child has a 37-40% chance of developing

schizophrenia as she gets older (with onset of symptoms

typically in the late teens or into the twenties). She suffers

from insecurity and anxiety now that require psychiatric

intervention, in the opinion of Joe Reeves, social worker, and

Michael Manz, M.D., the child’s psychiatrist. A stable home

is necessary to give Hannah the best chance she can have of

healthy maturation.

IX

Based on the evidence adduced at the termination

proceedings, this court agrees with the dependency court in

its August 2, 1996 and April 26, 1996 findings and observes

that Commissioner Valente’s observations at that time are

similar to the court’s present observations.

The child was found dependent originally because she

was abused and/or neglected and because no parent was

capable of meeting her needs. The circumstances of the

dependency evolved, as is the case in any dependency.

Here, the focus has shifted to inability of the parents

to meet the child’s needs. Reasons for removal continued to

exist throughout the dependency, as adjudicated by various

Appendix C-11

judicial officers of this county’s Superior Court. Although

the parents have progressed in comparison to their issues at

the time dependency was established, they appear to have

reached a plateau of significant duration, have not made

ongoing progress for the last year or more, and are unlikely

to do so.

X

It is in the child’s best interests that an order of

termination be entered terminating the parent-child

relationship between the child and her parents.

As Carol Thomas, MA, testified, the child is deeply

stressed by involvement in two homes. She requires a single

base and one caregiving environment rather than two families

claiming her. According to Ms. Thomas, Hannah would be

severely traumatized if she were removed from her current

placement. Hannah’s best interests require that she remain

where she is primarily attached in the relatives’ home.

As Dr. Manz testified, Hannah was deeply stressed

when she had lengthy visits with her parents in their home.

The ongoing stress of having no permanent home has resulted

in somatic complaints and stuttering on Hannah’s part. Dr.

Manz testified that Hannah needs to settle now. He opined

that Hannah’s needs and the deficiencies of the parents taken

together require that parental rights be terminated and Hannah

be freed for adoption.

Mildred Staley, the child’s court-appointed guardian

ad litem, spent many hours with the birth parents, relative

caretakers and Hannah (alone and in combination with her

parents and relative caretakers). She has been the child’s

guardian ad litem for more than two years. Although reports

indicate that the first guardian ad litem for the child was

more inclined to recommend reunification, Ms. Staley did not

share that opinion. She saw little or no progress in the

parents during the time she has been appointed to the case.

Rather, having observed for many hours during visits and

having consulted with the professionals involved in the case,

Ms. Staley recommended that the court grant termination of

Appendix C-12

in cement SNE SBCA AU BIR OIRO IEEE NSE ROADS AE TI NI SS

NN e aa

parental rights. She opined that such was in Hannah’s best

interests as the parents were unable to meet Hannah’s

emotional, developmental or physical needs.

Clay Jorgensen, Ph.D., is a clinical psychologist who

over the years has substantial and continuing involvement

with children and parents of those children who are in need.

He met with Lorilei and Brent Swenson. He reviewed files

and reports as reflected in his testimony. He did an MMPI

on the parents in 1993. He had contact with the parents at

two different points during the process.

In 1993, Dr. Jorgensen’s opinion was that the parents

were rehabilitated; however, he felt they still would need a

lot of help. On or about February 7, 1994, he suggested

more visits. Visits were expanded. However, that did not

work out and the visitations were substantially cut back

again.

Dr. Jorgensen testified that removal of Hannah from

her relatives’ home would be traumatic to her and suggested

alternatives including open adoption. Dr. Jorgensen opined

that while Ms. Swenson was rigid, she had potential to parent

with extensive services, but he noted the passage of time and

opined that return would be difficult for Hannah. Dr.

Jorgensen testified that it was of import that this matter not

drag on. Dr. Jorgensen declined to opine in detail as to the

child, as he has not been a proyider for her and has not had

extensive contact with her.

Dr. Clark was not in a position to opine about the

child’s best interests or the appropriateness of termination of

parental rights in that he has not had adequate contact with

the child to do so.

Mitch Swenson, Mr. Swenson’s relative and one of

Hannah’s foster parents, testified the he has known Brent

Swenson since childhood. He acknowledged that conflicts

have arisen in the family since Brent Swenson’s marriage to

Lorilei Swenson and during Hannah’s placement. Mitch

Swenson testified as well that the family is close and that

Brent Swenson will always be a part of it. He noted that

Appendix C-13

Hannah has been doing better since the visits have been

reduced. Although recognizing that it does not have

authority to order ongoing contact between the biological

parents and Hannah, this court recommends that the family

relationship be healed to an extent that Hannah can have

ongoing, occasional contac: with the biological parents and

that she be called by her given name (Hannah).

XI

The court considered alternatives to termination of

parental rights.

Open adoption is a matter requiring agreement of the

parties (parents, prospective adoptive parents, guardian ad

litem on behalf of the child, and agency). The fact that this

matter (a contested proceeding on the State’s petition. to

terminate parental rights) is before the court indicates that no

such agreement has been reached. While the court

recommends that the adoptive parents maintain contact

between the child and her biological parents, it has no

authority to order the parents or prospective adoptive parents

to accept an open adoption. Further, although some contact

between the child and her biological parents may be in her

best interests as she continues to grow older, this factor

cannot be used to delay permanence for the child indefinitely.

This is especially the case given that reunification with the

parents is not possible in the foreseeable future.

Guardianship is not appropriate for this child in that

she needs a stable, permanent home; guardianship is by its

nature impermanent. It is not appropriate for a child of this

young age, especially in that her special needs make finality

and permanence of pivotal importance for her.

XIl

The child is not a member of a federally recognized

Indian Tribe, thus, no notice is required.

XII

The Soldier’s and Sailor’s Relief Act, 50 U.S.C. Sec.

501 et seq. does not apply to this proceeding.

Appendix C-14

Ey ica A Rn 2 Rs A ON

a

From the foregoing Findings of Fact, the court makes

the following:

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

I

The court has jurisdiction of the parties and subject

matter of this action.

II

All parties were properly served with notice pursuant

to statute and are properly before the court.

I]

The elements of RCW 13.34.180(1), (2), (3), (4), (5)

and (6) have been met and proven by clear, cogent and

convincing evidence. The elements of RCW 13.34.190 are

also met. Therefore, pursuant to RCW 13.34.180 and

13.34.190, the parent-child relationship between the minor

child and Brent Swenson and Lorilei Swenson should be

terminated.

IV

The presumption set forth in RCW 13.34.180(5)(a) is

not herein alleged or established.

The presumption set forth in RCW 13.34.180(5)(b) is

established.

V

The court has taken into consideration the applicable

burdens of proof in making its determinations. Further, the

court has considered the presumptions set forth under RCW

13.34 as well as references in the parents’ brief to RCW

74.14 and to the Americans with Disabilities Act.

DATED this 3rd day of February, 1997.

/s/

JUDGE RICHARD SCHROEDER

ORDER

The court having made its Findings of Fact and

Conclusions of Law and having found that the elements of

RCW 13.34.180 and 13.34.190 have been met, and that the

order of termination of the parental rights of Brent Swenson

Appendix C-15

and Lorilei Swenson is in the child’s best interests, now,

therefore, it is hereby

ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND DECREED that all

parental rights, powers, privileges, immunities, duties, and

obligations, including any rights to custody, control,

visitation, or support existing between the child and all

parental interests of the above-named parents, shall be

severed and terminated and Brent Swenson and Lorilei

Swenson shall have no standing to appear at any further legal

proceeding concerning the child.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND

DECREED that the child is committed to the permanent legal

custody, control and supervision of the Department of Social

and Health Services, and thus, making the Department of

Social and Health Services permanent legal custodian of the

child. The Department shall have the authority to consent to

the adoption of the child, the marriage of the child, the

enlistment of the child in the Armed Forces of the United

States, necessary surgical and all other medical treatment for

the child and to consent to such other matters as might

normally be required of the parent of the child.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND

DECREED that the dependency review hearings for Hannah

Swenson, Cause No. 93-700117-0, be stricken and that a

permanent ward review hearing be set for April 22, 1997,

1:30 p.m., Spokane County Superior Court, Juvenile

Division.

DATED this 3rd day of February, 1997.

/s/

JUDGE RICHARD SCHROEDER

Presented by:

/s/

SYLVIA GLOVER

Assistant Attorney General

WSBA #18285

Appendix C-16

a _eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

{ ] Approved as to Form;

{ ] Notice of Presentment Waived:

/s/

FRANK HOOVER #10791

Attorney for Guardian ad Litem

Copy Received only T.P. May

TOM MAY ~ #10798

Attorney for the Parents

Appendix C-17

APPENDIX D

Oral Decision of the Juvenile Court Commissioner

April 17, 1996

THE COURT: This is been a vigorously contested

case. The case itself has created a problem, significant

problem, for the health and welfare of this child, simply by

virtue of its duration. It probably would have been better for

both the child and the parents -- and the foster parents, for

that matter -- to have reached closure on these issues a long

time ago.

In dealing with the applicable statute, 13.34.130, ina

context of a review hearing, the legislature has shifted the

focus. Initially, in a dependency, the focus is, in terms of

language, that the child shall, essentially, not be removed

from the home unless the state shows (a), (b) and (c). In the

context of a review hearing, that focus switches, and it says

the child shall not be returned unless the court finds a valid

reason for removal no longer exists. So, the question at this

point is whether, simply stated, a valid reason for removal of

this child from the parents’ home still exists today.

Are things the same now as they were when the

dependency started and the child was originally removed? |

think the answer to that is no. Perhaps, initially, there were

some questions that precipitated removal of the child. We

haven’t really focused on some of them. There were issues

about the mother having thoughts of placing the child at risk

for sexual abuse. Frankly, that, at present, does not

constitute a risk to this child. And frankly, I don’t see the

case as being about that issue. There was initially question

about failure to thrive of a three-month-old child. And I

think the issues have completely changed there, also.

At the time the dependency started I think the parents

were in acute distress in terms of their mental illness. There

had been hospitalizations, and psychotic symptoms, and

delusions, and hallucinations, and depression, such that the

Appendix D-1

household was in chaos, and the parents were seriously

impaired in their ability to provide care for a young child.

Initially, they were having trouble with the simplest of things;

setting up a schedule to have three meals a day, to do the

laundry on a regular basis, to clean the house; simple, day-to-

day functions were overwhelming, and unable to be carried

out. And the child could not be responsibly cared for under

those circumstances. And I don’t think there’s any real

question that the correct thing was done at the initial removal

of the child from the parents’ home.

Again, are the parents in the same situation they were

at the beginning of this case? And the answer to that -

question is no. The experts, through this hearing today and

yesterday, have been in conflict over their respective -

diagnoses and prognoses as to both the mother and the father.

They both -- Well, each of the experts have agreed, however,

that the parents each have a mental illness which affects their

life, has affected their functioning seriously in the past, and

potentially will impact their ability to function in the future.

There are certainly different degrees and different

prognoses over the future years, depending on which analysis

you subscribe to, Dr. Manz versus Dr. Clark. I think the

parents have shown that there is serious reason to question

some of the specific details of Dr. Manz’ diagnosis of each

of their mental conditions. It appears that Dr. Manz may

have accepted uncritically a previous diagnosis of

schizophrenia, and projected from that diagnosis a number of

observations. It is certainly within the realm of possibility

that Dr. Manz’ observations were colored by this initial

diagnosis. However, this does not negate Dr. Manz’ analysis

in any significant respect. It does indicate that this is not --

and by that, I mean, psychiatry is not an exact science. And

there is room for reasonable trained professionals to disagree.

Neither Dr. Manz nor Dr. Clark has seen either of the

parents in the acute phases of their distress. Both, are, in a

sense, forced to rely on historical information that’s provided

to them. Dr. Bennett also indicates that the mother, in

Appendix D-2

particular, has improved over time in her functioning, and the

diagnosis of schizophrenia initially arrived at by the Mental

Health Center may in fact be a misdiagnosis.

The real issue, however, is not the label which we

attach to either of the parents. Perhaps, looking at this from

a more pragmatic standpoint, it’s more important to

determine how the mental iliness manifests itself, and how it

impacts each of the parents in their day-to-day functioning

with regard to this child. The experts may continue to argue

about their respective opinions and labels.

The court does find that the parenting skills and the

parenting practices of the parents were initially impaired

through their mental illness. There’s never been any claim

of intentional abuse of this child, and that certainly is not an

issue in this case. No one would anticipate or expect that

either of these parents would do anything to damage this

child on an intentional basis. To the contrary, they have, in

most respects, complied with the requests of the court along

the way, and engaged in and benefited from services to the

extent that they have been able.

If we look at just the basic parenting functions, if we

break this down into its component parts in terms simple

things -- preparing meals, cleaning a house, doing laundry,

reading books to a child -- in many respects the parents,

having stabilized their mental conditions, have made dramatic

progress. The parents are now able to meet the basic day-to-

day needs of this child in this respect. They can keep a

home. They can clean a house. They can provide meals.

They can do that within acceptable standards, at least to the

level that it would not pose a serious risk of harm to this

child.

The focus of the case, then, has really shifted from

meeting basic, concrete physical needs of a child, to a rather

complex emotional dilemma that confronts the court and the

parties. Looking forward, serious questions are raised about

where would we go from here in terms of parenting.

Appendix D-3

Parenting classes have been offered; the parents have

attended; they’ve benefited: they’ve learned parenting skills.

A particular problem that the court has in this area is

that -- I think the best way I could describe it would be to

say that the parents, in good faith, will follow a parenting

script that is provided for them by a specialist. They act in

good faith. They -- Provided information on how to deal

with a particular situation, they follow the script, and can get

through a scripted scenario successfully. The difficulty is

that one of the manifestations of the mental illness seems to

be a sort of concrete, inflexible approach to dealing with new

scenarios. There seems to be a lack of what I would have to

describe as problem-solving, kind of spontaneous problem-

solving ability. There is not a demonstrated ability to

respond to unforeseen or new situations that have not been

previously scripted for the parents. If you can identify a

problem, you can give the parent the solution and they will

implement it. On their own, the court does not see them

encountering a new problem and, on their own, being able to

arrive, necessarily, at the solution to that problem.

This is of particular concern because the course of

parenting involves, on a day-to-day basis, constantly dealing

with new scenarios and situations that a child confronts their

parents with. No one knows with a child what is going to

happen next. And it is impossible to prepare the parents with

a script for every imaginable situation. Life is somewhat

simpler at age three, and the court is particularly concerned,

as time goes on, when life becomes more complex and more

sophisticated, whether the parents can adapt and respond with

answers to those more complex questions.

Another manifestation of the mental illness seems to

be in the area, simply, of judgment, for lack of a better

description, that the mother, in particular, seems to blur the

boundaries between her role as a parent and a playmate to the

child. And certainly acting in good faith, trying to do the

right thing, engaging the child in activities, seems to

inadvertently end up either monopolizing the activity, or

Appendix D-4

intruding on the child’s activity, or reducing herself to more

of a playmate for the child, and controlling a child activity to

the point where it irritates the child and frustrates the child.

There seems to be a lack of insight into the need of the child

to have clear boundaries between who the parent is and who

the child is, and what their respective roles are.

Another area that seems to be a manifestation of the

illness of the parents is their inability to empathize with the

child, and to adequately perceive the cues given off by the

child and the specific needs of the child. There’s a tendency

to over-simplify things, and to be somewhat naive, about

what has turned into very complex emotional issues

confronting this child. The suggestion on the part of the

parents that if the child is turned over to them that it would

be a good idea to leave town and move to Ellensburg or

Wenatchee, is, in my opinion, a dramatic disregard of the

need of this child, to somehow come to terms with the fact

that the child is attached to another family, essentially as her

-- in her mind, her parents.

The court, in other contexts, in disputes over

placement of a child, recognizes the concept of psychological

parent. And one would have to conclude, in this case, that

the foster parents are the psychological parents to this child.

Remarkably, the biological parents seem to have no real

understanding of this, and conceivably, if the child were

placed with them, would create a serious risk, from an

emotional standpoint, of not accommodating this child’s

needs for some sort of transition.

At this point the court would find that rather being in

danger of physical needs going unmet, that the real risk to

this child would be to the child’s emotional development if

returned home. There’s been testimony that the parents

cannot fully educate this child in terms of modeling behavior

in the problem-solving area; that they can’t necessarily

educate this child in terms of abstract or complex thought.

A child, even at age three, I think, is on a steep learning

curve, and is learning things day by day at a furious pace,

Appendix D-5

and is very dependent upon the individuals that are providing

care for them to be stimulated in the full range of human

activities, emotional and intellectual. And there are serious

concerns that, in this area, the parents may not be really up

to fulfilling the child’s needs for stimulation.

If returned home there would be potential confusion,

and a risk to this child of, I think, developing very unclear

boundaries about the role of parent and child. There’s the

potential for this child to become, in a sense, parentified, and

to a certain extent this dynamic seems to already be

manifesting itself, even with the visitation schedule that we

have; that the child reverses roles with the parents, and

essentially dictates -- improperly, in my opinion -- the

outcome of certain decisions within the family. And it may

be simple things like whether the family has waffles. or

pancakes, but there seems to be a reluctance on the part of

the parents to draw firm lines about who decides what, and

what a parent’s role is and what the child’s role is.

Perhaps the most serious issue is really the potential

trauma of separation from the primary and psychological

parents. If this case has been going on over three years, --

well, if there were 36 months, 33 of those would have been

in placement with this other family. Everyone would agree

that the child will be bonded to these foster parents. And

uprooting this child would create a high risk special needs

child, after all this litigation.

The special needs and risks to this child are of grave

concern to the court. In order for this child to be returned

home, it would have to successfully negotiate its way through

this very serious trauma. It would need assistance from

caregiving adults to do that. It would be a very sophisticated

process. The parents have not shown to the court the

sensitivity to the cues and needs of this child that would be

required to assist the child in negotiating through this

complex process. If it is not successfully negotiated, the

entire, you know, future emotional development of this child

could be seriously derailed and impaired.

Appendix D-6

At this point I think everyone would agree that the

primary need is for finality. And perhaps it’s correct at this

point that the case proceed to a termination hearing and we

get a decision one way other the other, you know, which way

this case is going to go. In the meantime, it would make no

sense to this court to uproot the child, and given all the

impending risks, and return the child to the parents at this

stage.

As indicated, the department has provided reasonable

services. This case has been saturated with services from the

beginning. I think they’ve been itemized correctly by Ms.

Glover. I think the department has acted correctly in placing

the child in the least restrictive placement, in a relative

placement, in a family that has a history with this child,

where if this placement needs to be permanent, the parents

and child will still have access to one another. At present

there’s a continuing need for placement. 1 think the

department has complied with the case plan. I think the

parents have made substantial compliance in terms of

participating in the various assessments and evaluations,

numerous as they are. The visits have been attended on a

very regular basis, with minor few exceptions.

The parents, as | indicated, have made dramatic

progress since the filing of the dependency case, in terms of

stabilizing their mental health situation. They have, however,

reached a plateau, and we are no longer seeing continued

progress. In terms of a target date, we would see, I suppose,

the termination trial as an ultimate decision point as far as

implementation of the state’s proposed plan.

Assuming we maintain the dependency, we maintain

the current placement, we need to arrive at a visitation

arrangement. The court is concerned with the manifestations

of stress on the part of the child, the child’s expressed

resistance to visitation on a regular basis, the observations of

acting out on the child’s part, of becoming irritable and

petulant. And we even have furies of possible weight loss

related to this stress. The court would set the visits at this

Appendix D-7

point, this late stage in the case, at twice per week, with one

visit being longer -- a minimum of two hours -- and the other

visit being shorter, up to one hour. The visits can take place

at a location which would provide a maximum sense of

security for the child, which apparently could be the

visitation center. The court really can’t order the foster

parents to open their home. The parties are free to enter into

negotiations to see if that would be workable; the court

would have no objection to that location.

The parents should be required to continue in

individual treatment at the Mental Health Center, to maintain

on their medication. The department should offer services

through the CAP program, if at some point the program

deems these parents eligible. The only additional service,

other than what has been previously ordered, would be the --

It may be helpful for the parents to have a more specific

focus on their mental illness diagnosis and their medication

regimen. It seems that the Mental Health Center has taken

the path of least resistance, and not wanted to, as it was said,

fix something that isn’t broken. The parents are functioning

at a -- on a reasonable plateau; they’re not having any acute

problems. Maybe everyone should be satisfied with that. It’s

possible that the parents might reach an even higher plateau

if a psychiatrist approached the situation with an open mind

and was willing to reconsider the medication regimen, and

reevaluate their diagnosis. Dr. Bennett seemed to have an

open mind toward that, and I wouldn’t exclude him. But

seems to me that that should be a directive, to examine

closely the mental status, and their future treatment and

medication regimen.

All right. That would seem to address most of the

issues that have been raised. I assume, Ms. Glover, you’d be

in charge of preparing an order?

Appendix D-8

APPENDIX E

Relevant Washington Statutes'

RCW_13.34.030(2) (1993)

"Dependent child" means any child:

(a) Who has been abandoned; that is, where the child's

parent, guardian, or other custodian has evidenced either by

siatement or conduct, a settled intent to forego, for an extended

period, all parental rights or all parental responsibilities despite

an ability to do so;

(b) Who is abused or neglected as defined in chapter 26.44

RCW by a person legally responsible for the care of the child;

(c) Who has no parent, guardian, or custodian capable of

adequately caring for the child, such that the child is in

circumstances which constitute a danger of substantial damage

to the child's psychological or physical development; or

(d) Who has a developmental disability, as defined in RCW

71A.10.020 and whose parent, guardian, or legal custodian

together with the department determines that services

appropriate to the child's needs can not be provided in the

home. However, (a), (b), and (c) of this subsection may still

be applied if other reasons for removal of the child from the

home exist.

'Washington's child dependency and parental

termination statutes have been amended several times since the

proceedings in this case--though not in any respect relevant to

the questions presented. The versions of the statutes in this

appendix are those in effect at the time of the relevant

proceedings below.

Appendix E-1

RCW_13.34.130 (5) (1993)

Except for children whose cases are reviewed by a citizen

review board under chapter 13.70 RCW, the status of all

children found to be dependent shall be reviewed by the court

at least every six months from the beginning date of the

placement episode or the date dependency is established,

whichever is first, at a hearing in which it shall be determined

whether court supervision should continue. The review shall

include findings regarding the agency and parental completion

of disposition plan requirements, and if necessary, revised

permanency time limits.

(a) A child shall not be returned home at the review hearing

unless the court finds that a reason for removal as set forth in

this section no longer exists. The parents, guardian, or legal

custodian shall report to the court the efforts they have made

to correct the conditions which led to removal. If a child is

returned, casework supervision shall continue for a period of

six months, at which time there shall be a hearing on the need

for continued intervention.

(b) If the child is not returned home, the court shall establish

in writing:

(i) Whether reasonable services have been provided to or

offered to the parties to facilitate reunion, specifying the

services provided or offered;

(ii) Whether the child has been placed in the least-restrictive

setting appropriate to the child’s needs, including whether

consideration and preference has been given to placement with

the child’s relatives;

(iii) Whether there is a continuing need for placement and

whether the placement is appropriate,

(iv) Whether there has been compliance with the case plan by

the child, the child’s parents, and the agency supervising the

placement;

(v) Whether progress has been made toward correcting the

problems that necessitated the child’s placement in out-of-

home care;

Appendix E-2

(vi) Whether the parents have visited the child and any

reasons why visitation has not occurred or has been infrequent;

(vii) Whether additional services are needed to facilitate the

return of the child to the child’s parents; if so, the court shall

order that reasonable services be offered specifying such

services; and

(viii) The projected date by which the child will be returned

home or other permanent plan of care will be implemented.

(c) The court at the review hearing may order that a petition

seeking termination of the parent and child relationship be

filed.

Appendix E-3

RCW_13.34.180 (1996)

A petition seeking termination of a parent and child

relationship may be filed in juvenile court by any party to the

dependency proceedings concerning that child. Such petition

shall conform to the requirements of RCW 13.34.040, shall be

served upon the parties as provided in RCW 13.34.070(8), and

shall allege:

(1) That the child has been found to be a dependent child

under RCW 13.34.030[(2)]; and

(2) That the court has entered a dispositional order pursuant

to RCW 13.34.130; and

(3) That the child has been removed or will, at the time of

the hearing, have been removed from the custody of the parent

for a period of at least six months pursuant to a finding of

dependency under RCW 13.34.030(2); and

(4) That the services ordered under RCW 13.34.130 have

been offered or provided and all necessary services, reasonably

available, capable of correcting the parental deficiencies within

the foreseeable future have been offered or provided; and

(5) That there is little likelihood that conditions will be

remedied so that the child can be returned to the parent in the

near future. In determining whether the conditions will be

remedied the court may consider, but is not limited to, the

following factors:

(a) Use of intoxicating or controlled substances so as to

render the parent incapable of providing proper care for the

child for extended periods of time and documented

unwillingness of the parent to receive and complete treatment

or documented multiple failed treatment attempts; or

(b) Psychological incapacity or mental deficiency of the

parent that is so severe and chronic as to render the parent

incapable of providing proper care for the child for extended

periods of time, and documented unwillingness of the parent

to receive and complete treatment or documentation that there

is no treatment that can render the parent capable of providing

proper care for the child in the near future; and

Appendix E-4

aii ai iin rele

(6) That continuation of the parent and child relationship

clearly diminishes the child's prospects for early integration

into a stable and permanent home; or

(7) In lieu of the allegations in subsections (1) through (6) of

this section, the petition may allege that the child was found

under such circumstances that the whereabouts of the child's

parent are unknown and no person has acknowledged paternity

or maternity and requested custody of the child within two

months after the child was found.

A parent's failure to substantially improve parental

deficiencies within twelve months following entry of the

dispositional order shall give rise to a rebuttable presumption

that there is little likelihood that conditions will be remedied

so that the child can be returned to the parent in the near

future. The presumption shall not arise unless the petitioner

makes a showing that all necessary services reasonably capable

of correcting the parental deficiencies within the foreseeable

future have been offered or provided.

Notice of rights shall be served upon the parent, guardian, or

legal custodian with the petition and shall be in substantially

the following form:

"NOTICE

A petition for termination of parental rights has been filed

against you. You have important legal rights and you must

take steps to protect your interests. This petition could result

in permanent loss of your parental rights.

1. You have the right to a fact-finding hearing before a

judge.

2. You have the right to have a lawyer represent you at the

hearing. A lawyer can look at the files in your case, talk to

the department of social and health services and other agencies,

tell you about the law, help you understand your rights, and

help you at hearings. If you cannot afford a lawyer, the court

will appoint one to represent you. To get a court-appointed

lawyer you must contact: (explain local procedure).

Appendix E-5

3. At the hearing, you have the right to speak on your own

behalf, to introduce evidence, to examine witnesses, and to

receive a decision based solely on the evidence presented to the

judge.

You should be present at this hearing. You may call (insert

agency) for more information about your child. The agency's

name and telephone number are (insert name and telephone

number)."

RCW_13.34.190 (1996)

After hearings pursuant to RCW 13.34.110, the court may

enter an order terminating all parental rights to a child if the

court finds that:

(1) The allegations contained in the petition as provided in

RCW 13.34.180 (1) through (6) are established by clear,

cogent, and convincing evidence; or

(2) RCW 13.34.180 (3) and (4) may be waived because the

allegations under RCW 13.34.180 (1), (2), (5), and (6) are

established beyond a reasonable doubt; or

(3) The allegation under RCW 13.34.180(7) is established

beyond a reasonable doubt. In determining whether RCW

13.34.180 (5) and (6) are established beyond a reasonable

doubt, the court shall consider whether one or more of the

aggravated circumstances listed in RCW 13.34.130(2) exist;

and :

(4) Such an order is in the best interests of the child.

Appendix E-6

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Swenson v. Washington Department of Social & Health Services · 529 U.S. 1108 | Frix