Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Green Tree Financial Corp.-Ala. v. Randolph

Supreme Court brief2000

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

99123 5 Jan 2 1 0099

Ne, 5——— OFFICE OF THE epg

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

GREEN TREE FINANCIAL CorP.—ALABAMA,

AND GREEN TREE FINANCIAL CORPORATION,

Petitioners,

Vv.

LARKETTA RANDOLPH,

Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Eleventh Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

ROBERT A. HUFFAKER CARTER G. PHILLIPS *

WILLIAM H. WEBSTER PAUL J. ZIDLICKY

RUSHTON, STAKELY, JOHNSTON SIDLEY & AUSTIN

& GARRETT, P.A. 1722 Eye Street, N.W.

184 Commerce Street Washington, D.C. 20006

Montgomery, AL 36101-0270 (202) 736-8000

(334) 206-3100

Counsel for Petitioners

January 21, 2000 * Counsel of Record

PEATE I TIN PP” TTT PEELE EEO OSM OY TORI SETI ELE A ATE TNE

WILSON-Epzs Printine Co., Inc. - (202) 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the court of appeals erred in concluding

that an order compelling arbitration and dismissing a law-

suit’s underlying claims is a “final decision with respect

to an arbitration” appealable under 9 U.S.C. § 16(a)(3).

2. Whether the court of appeals erred in concluding

that an arbitration provision that was “silent” on the issue

of costs and fees was unenforceable under the Federal

Arbitration Act because the risk that plaintiff “might” be

required to bear unknown costs and fees potentially

undermined her ability to vindicate statutory rights.

(i)

ii

STATEMENT REQUIRED BY RULE 29.6

Pursuant to Rule 29.6 of the Rules of this Court, peti-

tioners state that they are wholly owned subsidiaries of

Conseco, Inc., an Indiana corporation whose stock is

publicly traded. Petitioners further state that no publicly

owned company owns ten percent or more of the stock

of Conseco, Inc.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED 2000.0... ..ec.eccccecesecteseeeseeeeses

STATEMENT REQUIRED BY RULE 29.6 ..................

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ....0.00..............c.-csceseeeeeeesenes

I EEIDNIIT .dacscdeelcraiicinanikaneiesneesnectcaiehacicibivinseintiiene

I lise ldieidbiiidtanitononiailomiaibtinbanhace

RELEVANT STATUTORY PROVISIONS

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ...................202..................

I le ceablnaeeenbeine

Em Ree REST Be 1 OOS RE NE

Decision of the Court of Appeals ..........

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION ............

I.

II.

THE CASE SQUARELY PRESENTS AN IM-

PORTANT ISSUE REGARDING THE SCOPE

OF APPELLATE JURISDICTION OF OR-

DERS DISMISSING CASES IN FAVOR OF

ARBITRATION UNDER THE FEDERAL

ARBITRATION ACT THAT HAS SHARPLY

DIVIDED THE COURTS OF APPEALBS..........

THE COURT OF APPEALS’ DECISION

THAT THE ARBITRATION CLAUSE WAS

UNENFORCEABLE PRESENTS AN IMPOR-

TANT ISSUE OF FEDERAL LAW THAT

HAS GENERATED A CONFLICT AMONG

THE COURTS OF APPEALS .............................

EEE Le

at

Cece rene eeeeeeeeceeese

ii

iv

ow nN N

12

14

83

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page

Altman Nursing, Inc. v. Clay Capital Corp., 84

if &. BF: | 3 | RRemreeences 18

Armijo v. Prudential Ins. Co., 72 F.3d 793 (10th

I a a i cealeieaeleaainl 12, 19, 20

Arnold v. Arnold Corp., 920 F.2d 1269 (6th Cir.

Ree erate ane ee eA ORIN NNER sh Daan 12, 19, 21

Cole v. Burns Int’l Sec. Servs., 105 F.3d 1465 (D.C.

aaa 25, 26

Dobbins v. Hawks Enters., No. 99-1582, 1999 WL

1256184 (8th Cir. Dec. 23, 1999) ...........000000000..... 25, 26

Dorsey Vv. H.C.P.S. Sales, Inc., 46 F. Supp. 2d 804

SE Is UII sciecisip cassia celeriac ieedlheeeiinmcicaed 25

Filanto, S.p.A. v. Chilewich Int'l Corp., 984 F.2d

. fe eee eee 2, 18, 21

Gammaro vy. Thorp Consumer Discount Co., 15

F.3d 93 (8th Cir. 1994) ................. 17

Ex Parte Gates, 675 So. 2d 371 (Ala. 1996) ............. 24

Gilmer v. Interstate/Johnson Lane Corp., 500 U.S.

5 ee es RO ey Denese 23, 25

Green Tree Agency, Inc. v. White, 719 So. 2d 1179

PI UI cinch tials delete oceaalaaa 24

Green Tree Financial Corp. v. Davis, 729 So. 2d

gg Se FRR rie er en 24

Green Tree Financial Corp. v. Vintson, No.

1972191, 1999 WL 778496 (Ala. Oct. 1, 1999)... 24

Green Tree Financial Corp. v. Wampler, Nos.

1970983, 1971029, 1999 WL 667292 (Ala. Aug.

Bs Fe in vd sees teacosachseaetienrnctiaendeadiieceaiindbincamaitiebansiianaenlbis 24, 25

Harris v. Green Tree Financial Corp., 183 F.8d

SR CT, Te pisiiissadeicitbabhademeeinniaccnnscbinaliiadioe 25

Humphrey v. Prudential Sec. Inc., 4 F.8d 313 (4th

| Serer Pere Sr a ee ee ORO ce 17, 18

John Hancock Mut. Life Ins. Co. v. Olick, 151 F.3d

153 (Oe Cot. See edit ceeds 18

Koveleskie vy. SBC Capital Markets, Inc., 167 F.3d

861 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 120 S. Ct. 44

ID sssisin oedbaciighanaicaaiesicastteahesccuanidisaenseinihaligidalesidaimeitibiial 27, 28

Lackey v. Green Tree Financial Corp., 498 S.E.2d

898 (S.C. Ct. App. 1998) ..... is 25

a re re eae ne

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

McCarthy v. Providential Corp., 122 F.3d 1242

(9th Cir. 1997), cert. denied, 119 S. Ct. 275

ITI sxcevssnstinsenesinhsthiespebioiisoesisgteidshsnciieiiaaiaiaeaamaelieiinalacsss 16, 17, 22

Mitsubishi Motors Corp. vy. Soler Chrysler-Ply-

mouth, Inc., 473 U.S. 614 (1985) -....000220200.22-e. ee 24

Moses H. Cone Mem’l Hosp. vy. Mercury Constr.

SS 8! SS eee 23

Ex Parte Napier, 723 So. 2d 49 (Ala. 1998) .......... 24

Napleton v. General Motors Corp., 138 F.3d 1209

(7th Cir.), cert. denied, 119 S. Ct. 341 (1998) .... 15, 16,

18, 21, 22

Ex Parte Parker, 730 So. 2d 168 (Ala. 1999) ........ 24

In re Pate, 198 B.R. 841 (Bankr. S.D. Ga. 1996).... 25

Patrick Home Ctr. Inc. vy. Karr, 730 So. 2d 1171

EAT, SED <isecocnksSnssuisssibaiouiedilesaccteieibaiinddeihdaiaiieacublanaadinige 24

Perera Vv. Siegel Trading Co., 951 F.2d 780 (7th

PEs MM chseiee cisceharesaeiehcesttaiins edad ie ORG Dare ee Alas 2, 16, 21

Pierman vy. Green Tree Financial Servicing Corp.,

933 P.2d 955 (Okla. Ct. App. 1997) ..................... 25

Rosenberg v. Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner &

Smith, Inc., 170 F.3d 1 (1st Cir. 1999) ................ 27,28 ~

Seacoast Motors of Salisbury, Inc. v. Chrysler

Corp., 143 F.3d 626 (1st Cir.), cert. denied, 119

eR Re eee Le ee, 15, 20, 22

Security Watch, Inc. v. Sentinel Sys., Inc., 176 F.3d

369 (6th Cir. 1999), petition for cert. filed, 68

USLW 3291 (U.S. Oct. 18, 1999) (99-669) ........ 19

Shearson/American Express Inc. v. McMahon, 482

it & Bi) eeeverees suaceegiiclaciaibiasiecan 24, 28

Ex Parte Smith, 736 So. 2d 604 (Ala. 1999).......... 24

FEDERAL STATUTES

Judicial Improvements Act of 1990, Pub. L. No.

a I i 1

9 UB, 6G BBS q2.2.2.0-- css einiihaceielcasimiliaiigbeiabsatabincepnns 1

OF sschotinbeneneniiconseiaiciioahinnsaeninegpacientinioaadmimimalide 2, 23

TROD sibchensasiciinsestisitainainitacintiannlbieeiiesdeaadiesaodasalddaiinn 7

OD winicctctintintcsmralenemasiinionisanisiphialgdaghalia 1, 2, 3, 15

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Oe i I OG OI, siienissicecciitenesesctiteatecisonciitilennisis 5

SESE U DE oe SEMEN Eh 5

OTHER AUTHORITY

David R. Siegel, Practice Commentary to 9

U.S.C.A. §16 (West 1999) 0 2

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioners Green Tree Financial Corp.—Alabama and

Green Tree Financial Corporation respectfully request

that this Court grant their petition for certiorari to review

the decision of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Eleventh Circuit.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals is published at 178

F.3d-1149 (11th Cir. 1999) and appears in the Appen-

dix.to this Petition (“Pet. App.”) at la-19a. The court

of appeals’ unpublished order denying the petition for

rehearing en banc appears at Pet. App. 55a-56a. The

district court’s memorandum opinion and order is pub-

lished at 991 F. Supp. 1410 (M.D. Ala. 1997) and

appears at Pet. App. 20a-50a. The district court’s order

denying respondent’s motion for reconsideration is pub-

lished at 991 F. Supp. at 1425-26 and appears at Pet.

App. 51a-54a. |

JURISDICTION

The court of appeals entered judgment on June 22,

1999, and denied a timely petition for rehearing on Octo-

ber 28, 1999. This Court has jurisdiction under 28

U.S.C. § 1254(1).

RELEVANT STATUTORY PROVISIONS

The Federal Arbitration Act (“FAA”), 9 U.S.C. §§ 1-

16, provides appellate jurisdiction for appeals from vari-

ous categories of district court orders relating to arbitra-

tion. Id. § 16. Included among the category of appeal-

able orders is “a final decision with respect to an arbitra-

tion.” Id. § 16(a)(3).4 Section 16 also provides that

1 Section 16 originally was codified at 9 U.S.C. § 15, and was

renumbered without change by the Judicial Improvements Act of

1990, Pub. L. No. 101-650, § 325(a)(1), 104 Stat. 5089, 6120.

2

“an appeal may not be taken from an interlocutory order

. .. directing arbitration to proceed... .” Id. § 16(b)(2).

Finally, Section 2 of the FAA provides that arbitration

agreements “shall be valid, irrevocable, and enforceable,

Save upon such grounds as exist at law or in equity for

the revocation of any contract.” Id. § 2.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Statutory Background

This case presents the issue of the proper construction

of Section 16 of the 1988 Amendments to the FAA, 9

U.S.C. § 16. Prior to 1988, an arbitration decision that

did not qualify for either injunctive appeal under 28

U.S.C. § 1292(a) or discretionary appeal under § 1292(b)

was appealable only if it qualified as a “final decision”

under 28 U.S.C. § 1291. To determine whether an order

constituted a “final decision” under 28 U.S.C. § 1291,

courts of appeals drew a distinction “between cases in

which arbitration [wa]s the only claim for relief [i.e., “in-

dependent” proceedings] and cases in which arbitration

{wa]s raised in the midst of a proceeding for other relief

[i.e., “embedded” proceedings].” Perera v. Siegel Trad-

ing Co., 951 F.2d 780, 784 (7th Cir. 1992). Arbitration

orders in “independent” proceedings were classified as

“final decisions” appealable under 28 U.S.C. § 1291;

arbitration orders in “embedded” proceedings were classi-

fied as interlocutory and could not be appealed under

28 U.S.C. § 1291. See, e.g., id. at 784.

Against this background, Congress enacted Section 16

“to prevent the appellate aspect of the litigation process

from impeding the expeditious disposition of an arbitra-

tion” (David R. Siegel, Practice Commentary to 9

U.S.C.A. § 16, at 495 (West 1999)) and to “promote

appeals from orders barring abitration and limit appeals

from orders directing arbitration,” Filanto, S.p.A. v.

Chilewich Int'l Corp., 984 F.2d 58, 60 (2d Cir. 1993).

a UN

3

That congressional purpose is reflected in the fact that

Section 16 grants jurisdiction over anti-arbitration orders

and denies appellate jurisdiction over orders favoring

arbitration. Thus, Section 16 allows immediate appeals

from orders “refusing a stay of any action { pending arbi-

tration],” 9 U.S.C. § 16(a)(1)(A), denying a petition

“to order arbitration to proceed,” id. § 16(a)(1)(B),

denying an application “to compel arbitration,” id.

§ 16(a)(1)(C), “denying confirmation of an {arbitra-

tion] award or partial award,” id. § 16(a)(1)(D), and

“modifying, correcting, or vacating an award,” id. § 16

(a)(1)(E). Similarly, Section 16 authorizes immediate

appeal from “an interlocutory order granting, continuing,

or modifying an injunction against an arbitration that is

subject to [the FAA],” id. § 16(a) (2).

On the other hand, Section 16(b), which largely mir-

rors Section 16(a)(1), severely limits “interlocutory” ap-

peals from pro-arbitration orders. Jd. § 16(b). Thus,

absent compliance with the discretionary requirements of

28 U.S.C. § 1292(b), a party is prohibited from appeal-

ing an interlocutory order “granting a stay of any action

[pending arbitration],” id. § 16(b)(1), “directing arbi-

tration to proceed,” id. § 16(b)(2), “compelling arbitra-

tion,” id. § 16(b)(3), or “refusing to enjoin an arbitra-

tion that is subject to {Title 9],” id. § 16(b)(4). Because

these orders favor arbitration, Congress dictated that ap-

pellate review of them must await a “final decision” by

the district court terminating the controversy following

the completion of the arbitration. Id. § 16(a)(3).

Factual Background

On January 25, 1994, respondent Larketta Randolph

(“Respondent”) purchased a mobile home from Better

Cents Home Builders Inc. (“Better Cents”). Pet. App.

2a. Respondent financed the purchase through Petitioner

Green Tree Financial Corp.—Alabama, a wholly owned

4

subsidiary of Green Tree Financial Corporation (collec-

tively, “Petitioners”). Jd. The financing documents for

the purchase required that respondent acquire “ ‘vendor's

single interest’” insurance, which protects a vendor or

lienholder against the costs associated with repossession

of the property in the event of a loan default. Id. Re-

spondent’s retail installment contract with Better Cents

identified petitioner Green Tree Financial Corp.—Ala-

bama as the assignee and contains the arbitration provi-

sion at the center of this dispute. Jd. at 2a-3a.

The arbitration provision provides that “ ‘{aJll disputes,

claims, or controversies arising from or relating to this

Contract or the relationships that result from this Con-

tract, or the validity of this arbitration clause or the entire

Contract, shall be resolved by binding arbitration by one

arbitrator selected by Assignee with the consent of

Buyer(s).’” Pet. App. 3a. Moreover, by entering into

the contract, the parties acknowledged that “ ‘[t]his arbi-

tration Contract is made pursuant to a transaction in in-

terstate commerce” that is “governed by the Federal Arbi-

tration Act at 9 U.S.C. Section 1.’” Id. In addition, the

arbitration provision provides:

The parties agree and understand that all disputes

arising under case law, statutory law, and all other

laws including, but not limited to, all contract, tort,

and property disputes, will be subject to binding arbi-

tration in accord with this Contract. The parties

agree and understand that the arbitrator shall have

all powers provided by the law and the Contract.

These powers shall include all legal and equitable

remedies, including, but not limited to, money dam-

ages, declaratory relief, and injunctive relief.

Id. at 57a (emphases added). The arbitration provision

is reproduced in its entirety at Pet. App. 57a-58a.

In January 1996, respondent filed an action in the

United States District Court for the Middle District of

5

Alabama, alleging that petitioners violated the Truth in

Lending Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1601 et seg. (“TILA”), by

failing to include the requirement that respondent pur-

chase vendor’s single interest insurance in the TILA dis-

closure, and violated the Equal Credit Opportunity Act,

15 U.S.C. §§ 1691-1691f (“ECOA”), by requiring arbi-

tration of all statutory claims. Pet. App. 21a-22a. Re-

spondent requested certification of a class action of all

individuals that had entered into similar agreements

with petitioners and sought monetary damages, including

attorneys’ fees and recovery of litigation expenses. Id. at

22a, 27a. In lieu of an answer, petitioners responded by

filing a Motion to Stay Action and Compel Arbitration.

Id.

In resolving that Motion to Stay, the district court did

not address the merits of respondent’s underlying claims

but instead focused on whether respondent could be com-

pelled to arbitrate those claims. Pet. App. 26a n.5. Be-

cause the contract satisfied the necessary interstate com-

merce nexus, the court ruled that the FAA applied. Id.

at 23a n.4 (citing Allied-Bruce Terminix Cos. v. Dobson,

513 U.S. 265 (1995)). The district court noted that by

enacting the FAA, Congress “manifested a ‘liberal federal

policy favoring arbitration agreements,’” and sought

“to reverse the longstanding judicial hostility to arbitra-

tion agreements that had existed at English common law

and had been adopted by American courts’ ” by “plac[ing]

arbitration agreements upon the same footing as other

contracts.” Jd. at 24a (quoting Gilmer v. Interstate/

Johnson Lane Corp., 500 U.S. 20, 25 (1991) and Moses

H. Cone Mem’! Hosp. v. Mercury Constr. Corp., 460

U.S. 1, 24 (1983)). Further, the district court acknowl-

edged that “ ‘questions of arbitrability must be addressed

with a healthy regard for the federal policy favoring arbi-

tration.”” Jd. (emphasis added) (quoting Moses H.

Cone, 460 U.S. at 24).

6

To resolve whether respondent could be compelled to

arbitrate her statutory claims, the district court applied a

settled two-part test that required determination of “[1]

whether the Parties’ agreement to arbitrate reaches the

Statutory issues, and . . . [2] whether legal constraints

external to the Parties’ agreement foreclosed the arbitra-

tion of those claims.” Pet. App. 27a. First, the district

court concluded that the arbitration provision encom-

passed respondent’s statutory claims under TILA and the

ECOA. Id. at 28a. Noting that, by its terms, the arbi-

tration provision applied to “‘[a]ll disputes, claims or

controversies arising from or relating to this Contract

or the relationships which result from this Contract, or

the validity of th[e] arbitration clauses or the entire con-

tract,” and “ ‘that all disputes arising under case law,

statutory law, and all other laws, including, but not lim-

ited to, all contract, tort and property disputes will be

subject to binding arbitration in accord with this Con-

tract,’” the district court concluded that this language

was “sufficiently broad to encompass [respondent’s] TILA,

[ECOA], and other claims.” Jd. (emphasis added).

Second, the district court explained that by agreeing

to arbitrate a statutory claim “‘a party does not forgo

the substantive rights afforded by the statute; it only

submits to their resolution in an arbitral, rather than a

judicial, forum. It trades the procedures and opportunity

for review of the courtroom for the simplicity, informality,

and expedition of arbitration.” Pet. App. 29a (quoting

Mitsubishi Motors Corp. v. Soler Chrysler-Plymouth, Inc.,

473 U.S. 614, 628 (1985)). Accordingly, the district

court concluded that respondent bore the burden of show-

ing that Congress intended to preclude a waiver of judi-

cial remedies based on “either the text of the statute(s),

their legislative histories, or from an inherent conflict be-

tween arbitration and the statutes’ underlying purposes.”

Id. at 30a.

7

Because respondent did “not cite any provision of the

text or legislative history of either the TILA or the

[ECOA] that expressly preclude{[d] waiver of judicial

remedies,” the district court considered whether there was

evidence of a “conflict between arbitration and the stat-

utes’ underlying purpose.” Pet. App. 30a. The district

court explained that “ ‘the fact that [TILA] provides for

the possibility of bringing a collective action does not

mean that individual attempts at conciliation were in-

tended to be barred.’” Id. at 33a (quoting Gilmer, 500

U.S. at 32). Because respondent did not “cite any com-

pelling evidence in support of her position,” the district

court concluded that she “failed to meet her burden of

showing why the arbitration provision in her contract

should not be enforced.” Id. at 38a. Similarly, the dis-

trict court rejected as “unpersuasive” respondent’s argu-

ment that 15 U.S.C. § 1691(a)(3), which bars a creditor

from extending credit conditioned on the release of poten-

tial claims for TILA violations that arose in the past,

rendered the arbitration provision unenforceable. Jd. at

34a-35a.?

Accordingly, the district court granted petitioners’ mo-

tion to compel respondent to submit her claims “to bind-

ing arbitration pursuant to the arbitration provision in her

contract.” Pet. App. 49a. Acknowledging that it was

authorized to stay the proceedings and compel arbitration,

see 9 U.S.C. § 3, the district court instead concluded that

dismissal was appropriate because all of respondent's

claims were to be submitted to arbitration in accordance

with the arbitration provision. Pet. App. 48a.

2The district court also rejected respondent’s arguments that

(1) the arbitration provision was not “[e]nforceable for lack of

mutuality of obligation,” Pet. App. 40a, 42a, and (2) respondent

did not “knowingly enter into an agreement to arbitrate,” id. at

46a. Finally, the district court ruled that it was bound by circuit

precedent to reject respondent’s request to “certify a class” for

arbitration. Jd. at 48a.

8

On reconsideration, the district court adhered to its

prior ruling, explaining that it would “gladly modify and/

or vacate its [prior] Order,” if circumstances warranted.

Pet. App. 54a.

Decision of the Court of Appeals

The Eleventh Circuit reversed. Pet. App. 2a. First,

the court of appeals addressed whether the district

court’s order was a “ ‘final decision with respect to an

arbitration that is subject to [the FAA].’” Id. at 7a

(quoting 9 U.S.C. § 16(a)(3)). On that issue, the court

of appeals acknowledged that “a number of circuits” had

‘drawn a distinction between “ ‘embedded’ ” proceedings

in “which the arbitration issue arises as part of a broader

action dealing with other issues,” and “ ‘independent’ ”

proceedings, in which “the motion to compel arbitration

is the only issue before the court.” Jd. at 7a, 8a (em-

phasis in original omitted). The Eleventh Circuit recog-

nized that these “circuits have held that orders compelling

arbitration which arise in embedded proceedings must be

treated as interlocutory and non-appealable, not as ‘final

decisions’ under § 16(a)(3).” Id. at 7a3 Moreover, it

explained that at least five courts of appeals that had

adopted the embedded/independent framework for analyz-

3 Specifically, the court of appeals identified eight circuits in

which orders compelling arbitration in “embedded” proceedings

would be considered non-final for purposes of Section 16(a)(3).

Pet. App. 7a-8a (citing John Hancock Mut. Life Ins. Co. v. Olick,

151 F.3d 132, 185-36 (3d Cir. 1998); Seacoast Motors of Salisbury,

Inc. v. Chrysler Corp., 143 F.3d 626, 628 (1st Cir.), cert. denied,

119 S. Ct. 410 (1998); Napleton v. General Motors Corp., 188 F.3d

1209, 1212 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 119 S. Ct. 341 (1998) ;

‘McCarthy v. Providential Corp., 122 F.8d 1242, 1243 (9th Cir.

- 1997), cert. denied, 119 S. Ct. 275 ( 1998); In re Pisgah Contrac-

. tors, Inc., 117 F.8d 133, 186 (4th Cir. 1997) ; Altman Nursing, Inc.

Vv. Clay Capital Corp., 84 F.3d 769, 771 (5th Cir. 1996); Gammaro

v. Thorp Consumer Discount Co., 15 F.3d 93, 95 (8th Cir. 1994);

. Filanto, S.p.A. v. Chilewich Int'l Corp., 984 F.2d 58, 60-61 (2d Cir.

1993) ).

9

ing finality under Section 16(a)(3) had held ‘that “a dis-

trict court’s order compelling arbitration in an embedded

Proceeding is interlocutory and non-appealable, even if

the district court dismisses the remaining claims.” Jd. at

8a (emphasis in Original omitted) (citing cases).

On the other hand, the Eleventh Circuit recognized

that “the Sixth and Tenth Circuits” had adopted a differ-

ent “approach to the question of whether an arbitration

order is an appealable ‘final decision’ under § 16(a)(3).”

Pet. App. 9a. In contrast to the majority rule, these two

circuits treated orders dismissing cases in favor of arbi-

tration as “final decisions” appealable under Section

16(a)(3). Id. ( citing Armijo v. Prudential Ins. Ca, 72

F.3d 793, 797 (10th Cir. 1995) and Arnold v. Arnold

Corp., 920 F.2d 1269, 1276 (6th Cir. 1990) ) 4

Having identified “a circuit split on the question

whether a district court’s order compelling arbitration in

an embedded proceeding is an appealable ‘final decision’

when it dismisses the remaining claims,” the court of

appeals explained that this was an issue “of first impres-

sion” in the Eleventh Circuit. Pet. App. 9a. In analyzing

the term “final decision” under Scction 16(a)(3), the

court of appeals explained that it would “proceed from a

different position than circuits such as the Seventh Circuit”

that had accorded “ ‘talismanic significance’ . . . to the

distinction between independent and embedded proceed-

ings.” Id. at 10a (citation omitted) (quoting Napleton

Vv. General Motors Corp., 138 F.3d 1209, 1211 (7th Cir.

1998). In doing so, the court of appeals acknowledged

that its rejection of the independent/embedded framework

was outcome determinative because, if it “followed the

# The court of appeals also noted that this minority approach was

supported by judges who had issued dissenting opinions in cases in

the Seventh and Ninth Circuits. Pet. App. 9a (citing Napleton,

188 F.8d at 1214-15 (Wood, J., dissenting) and McCarthy, 122

F.3d at 1246-47 (Pregerson, J., dissenting) ). '

10

other circuits (save the Sixth and Tenth) and attached

excessive significance to the ‘embedded’ versus ‘independ-

ent’ proceeding distinction,” then it would “lack jurisdic-

tion here.” Jd. at 11a.

Rejecting what it characterized as a “‘myopic’” reli-

ance on the “embedded/independent distinction,” the

Eleventh Circuit “decline[d]” to adopt the majority rule.

Pet. App. 8a, lla. Instead, it stated that the intent of

Section 16 was to “clear away the deadwood” and to

“furnish a clear rule for appealability of orders relating

to arbitration proceedings.’” Id. at 12a. (quoting Naple-

ton, 138 F.3d at 1217 (Wood, J., dissenting) ). Ignoring

the fact that the “embedded/independent” distinction pro-

vided just such a clear rule, the court of appeals looked

instead to statements in the legislative history of Section

16 to conclude that an “ ‘{a]ppeal can be taken from .. .

a final judgment dismissing an action in deference to

arbitration.” Jd. at 13a (quoting Arnold, 920 F.2d at

1274-75). Specifically, the court of appeals criticized the

analysis by the majority of the other Circuits, id. at 14a,

and held that the district court’s “order compelling arbi-

tration was an appealable ‘final decision’ under 9 U.S.C.

§ 16(a)(3),” id. at 15a.

Second, on the merits, the Eleventh Circuit considered

whether the arbitration provision was unenforceable.

While paying lip service to the “ ‘strong federal policy

favoring arbitration’” and recognizing that “procedural

apparatus of an arbitration ‘should not make an arbitra-

tion clause unenforceable,” Pet. App. 15a (quoting

5 The panel noted that the dismissal by the district court in this

case was “with prejudice,” Pet. App. 14a, and that was a “feature”

not present “in most” cases “relying on the embedded/independent

distinction.” Id. Of course, the cases applying the majority view

“did not clearly state the nature of the dismissal,” id., because

that factor has no bearing on the bright-line test that they had

adopted to determine whether an order comyelling arbitration was

a “final decision” under Section 16(a)(3).

11

Paladino v. Avnet Computer Techs., Inc., 134 F.3d 1054,

1062 (11th Cir. 1998)), the court of appeals ignored

these principles in ruling that the arbitration provision

was unenforceable because it “failfed] to provide the

minimum guarantees required to ensure that [respondent’s]

ability to vindicate her statutory rights will not be undone

by steep filing fees, steep arbitrators’ fees, or other high

costs of arbitration.” Jd. at 18a.

In doing so, the court of appeals failed to identify any

provision of TILA that would be frustrated by arbitra-

tion of respondent’s claims. Nor could the court of ap-

peals identify any evidence that arbitration of respondent’s

Statutory claims would result in the imposition of sub-

stantial arbitration costs or that she would bear those

costs. Indeed, the Eleventh Circuit ignored the fact that

the arbitration provision expressly provided that the arbi-

trator would have “all powers provided by the law.” Pet.

App. 57a. Instead, it relied upon the absence of any

record evidence on these issues to rule that the arbitra-

tion provision “raises serious concerns with respect to

filing fees, arbitrators’ costs and other arbitration expenses

that may curtail or bar a plaintiffs access to the arbitral

forum.” Jd. at 17a. While it acknowledged that (1)

the arbitration “clause is silent on the subject of arbitra-

tion fees and costs,” id. at 19a, and (2) that there was

no evidence regarding the amount or apportionment of

those costs, the Eleventh Circuit nevertheless resolved

that failure of proof against arbitration by speculating

that respondent “might be required to bear substantial

costs of the arbitration even if she were to prevail.” Id.

(emphasis added).

Petitioners, joined by amici curiae, sought rehearing of

the court of appeals’ decision because, if allowed to stand,

it could jeopardize thousands, if not millions of arbitra-

tion agreements that do not specifically identify the costs

associated with arbitration or provide that the claimant

12

will not bear the costs of pursuing arbitration. The court

of appeals denied the petition for rehearing. Pet. App.

55a-56a.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

Further review of the decision of the Eleventh Circuit

is necessary in this case to ensure the proper and uniform

resolution of a recurring and important issue of appellate

jurisdiction that has sharply divided the courts of appeals.

Specifically, the case squarely presents the issue whether,

under Section 16(a)(3) of the FAA, a court of appeals

has jurisdiction over an appeal from a district court order

dismissing a case so that it may be resolved through arbi-

tration in accordance with the agreement of the parties.

The clear majority of circuit courts answer no, (see

note 3, supra), resolving this issue by analyzing the nature

of the underlying action to determine whether an order

compelling arbitration is truly a “final decision” under

Section 16(a)(3). Where the underlying action seeks

only a determination regarding arbitrability—i.e., an in-

dependent proceeding—an order compelling arbitration is

“final” and immediate appeal is authorized under Section

16(a)(3). Where the underlying action seeks relief other

than an order requiring or prohibiting arbitration—i.e.,

an embedded proceeding—an order compelling arbitration

is non-final and cannot be appealed immediately under

Section 16(a)(3). The majority rule provides a bright-

line, workable standard that implements the language of

Section 16 and furthers the strong federal policy favoring

arbitration that Section 16 was designed to foster.

While recognizing that the vast majority of circuit

courts had adopted this standard, the Eleventh Circuit in

this case expressly rejected it in favor of the minority

approach adhered to by two other courts of appeals. See

Armijo v. Prudential Ins. Co., 72 F.3d 793, 797, 799

(10th Cir. 1995); Arnold v. Arnold Corp., 920 F.2d

1269, 1275-76 (6th Cir. 1990). These courts of appeals

13

reject the “independent/embedded” framework and in-

stead employ a case-by-case analysis developed largely on

the basis of their review of statements culled from the

legislative history of Section 16. Specifically, the minority

approach looks to the label affixed by the district court

to an order compelling arbitration as the means for deter-

mining whether such order constitutes a “final decision”

immediately appealable under Section 16(a)(3). This

minority approach undermines the express purpose of the

FAA by forcing parties to appeal when there is doubt,

thereby causing delay and increasing the costs of the arbi-

tration process even when a district court has concluded

that claims brought in a lawsuit should, in accordance

with the parties’ agreement, be resolved in an arbitration.

The Court should grant certiorari to resolve this dis-

pute and adopt the majority view that dismissals in favor

of arbitration are not appealable where the relief sought

in the district court is broader than a determination

whether a controversy is subject to arbitration. This case

squarely presents that controversy. Indeed, the Eleventh

Circuit correctly acknowledged that if it “followed the

other circuits (save the Sixth and Tenth),” then it would,

contrary to its ultimate conclusion, “lack jurisdiction

here.” Pet. App. 11a. In short, this case presents a

recurring issue of paramount importance to the congres-

sional scheme governing arbitration under the FAA that

has generated substantial conflicts among the courts of

appeals.

Even if the court of appeals had jurisdiction to review

the district court’s order compelling arbitration, the Elev-

enth Circuit’s analysis and holding that the arbitration

provision was unenforceable independently calls for plen-

ary review by this Court. While recognizing that the arbi-

tration provision was “silent” on issues such’ as the filing

fees, arbitrators’ fees and other “costs of arbitration,” the

court of appeals’ approach adopted a presumption against

14

arbitration and imposed the burden of proof on petitioners

to establish that arbitration would not undermine respond-

ent’s ability to vindicate her statutory rights. That ap-

proach conflicts with clear rulings by this Court and de-

cisions of the courts of appeals that properly interpret

such provisions in light of the strong federal policy favor-

ing arbitration and impose the burden of proving unen-

forceability on the party seeking to avoid arbitration.

If left unreviewed, the decision below would have a

dramatic effect on the ability of parties to order their

affairs by adopting arbitration as their chosen means to

resolve potential disputes. Under the Eleventh Circuit's

analysis, an arbitration agreement must anticipate and

expressly address in a comprehensive manner all of the

potential costs and procedural issues associated with

arbitration lest an omission be construed against arbitra-

tion, rendering the agreement to arbitrate unenforceable.

I. THE CASE SQUARELY PRESENTS AN IMPOR-

TANT ISSUE REGARDING THE SCOPE OF AP-

PELLATE JURISDICTION OF ORDERS DISMISS-

ING CASES IN FAVOR OF ARBITRATION UNDER

THE FEDERAL ARBITRATION ACT THAT

HAS SHARPLY DIVIDED THE COURTS OF

APPEALS.

The decision of the court of appeals deepens an already

mature conflict among the Circuits on the recurring issue

of whether an order compelling arbitration in “embedded

proceedings” is a “final decision with respect to an arbi-

tration” subject to immediate review under 9 U.S.C.

-§ 16(a)(3). As acknowledged by the court of appeals

in this case, the decision below is flatly inconsistent with

holdings by five other courts of appeals and conflicts with

the reasoning of at least three others. Pet. App. 7a-9a.

By contrast, the legal standard adopted below is sup-

ported by that of two other courts of appeals. Further

review by this Court is plainly warranted to provide uni-

formity on a fundamental issue involving the FAA.

15

a. On one side of this legal divide are courts of ap-

peals that distinguish between “independent” and “em-

bedded” proceedings as the means for determining whether

a district court order compelling arbitration is “a final

decision with respect to an arbitration that is subject to

{Title 9].” 9 U.S.C. § 16(a). These courts have held

that an order compelling arbitration in an embedded pro-

ceeding cannot be appealed immediately, regardless of

whether the district court enters a stay or dismisses the

case in its entirety.

In Seacoast Motors of Salisbury, Inc. v. Chrysler Corp.,

143 F.3d 626 (1st Cir. 1998), the First Circuit dismissed

for want of jurisdiction an appeal by an auto dealership

from an order compelling arbitration and dismissing the

case with costs. Jd. at 627. Recognizing that “other cir-

cuits have been divided on the issue,” id. at 628, the Sea-

coast Court sided with the “circuits [that] have focused on

the distinction between embedded and independent pro-

ceedings to determine whether jurisdiction exists over an

appeal from a dismissal of an order favoring arbitration,”

id. Expressly rejecting the analysis of several other courts

of appeals, id., and adopting the analysis of the Ninth,

Eighth, Seventh, Fifth, and Fourth Circuits, id. at 628-

29, the Seacoast Court held that it lacked jurisdiction

under Section 16(a)(3) to review whether an order com-

pelling arbitration was proper and explained that its anal-

ysis “avoid{ed] elevating form over substance and pro-

mote[d] both the pro-arbitration purposes of the FAA and

the institutional goal of avoiding piecemeal appeals and

systemic delays.” Id. at 629.

The ruling in Seacoast built directly on the Seventh

Circuit’s decision in Napleton v. General Motors Corp.,

138 F.3d 1209 (7th Cir. 1998). There, the court of

appeals considered whether the dismissal of an embedded

case “ ‘to allow for arbitration’ constitutes an appealable

—i.e. final—decision.” Id. at 1212. Noting that other

16

circuits had addressed similar questions without reaching

“unanimity in their answers,” id., the Seventh Circuit ex-

plained that “the jurisdictional lodestar of appealability is

whether the decision favoring arbitration is from an in-

dependent or from an embedded proceeding,” id. (em-

phasis added). The Seventh Circuit held that “it is the

nature of the underlying action, not the style of the dis-

trict court’s decision requiring arbitration, that determines

whether we have jurisdiction over appeals from decisions

granting arbitration.” Jd. In contrast, adoption of the

contrary rule, would render determinative “whether the

district judge dismissed rather than stayed an action,”

thereby permitting the district court to manipulate whether

a “party seeking to avoid arbitration could appeal im-

mediately,” an arbitrary result that Congress could not

have intended. Id. at 1213. Accordingly, the Napleton

court concluded that it would have “jurisdiction over ap-

peals from independent proceedings” and would “decline

to find jurisdiction over appeals from embedded proceed-

ings.” Id. at 1212.8

Similarly, in McCarthy v. Providential Corp., 122 F.3d

1242 (9th Cir. 1997), the Ninth Circuit considered an

appeal from an order requiring plaintiffs to arbitrate their

claims under the TILA and dismissing the underlying ac-

tion. Id. at 1243. Applying the bright-line embedded/

independent “analysis” that had “been followed by the

majority of courts,” the McCarthy Court concluded that

the order compelling arbitration arose in an embedded

proceeding and therefore was not a “final decision” under

9 U.S.C. § 16(a)(3). Id. at 1244 (identifying conflict-

ing analysis by Tenth and Sixth Circuits). Relying on

precedent from the Eighth Circuit, the McCarthy Court

6 Accord Perera v. Siegel Trading Co., 951 F.2d 780, 786 (7th

Cir. 1992) (holding that order compelling arbitration and entering

judgment under Rule 54(b) was not a final decision under Section

16(a)(3)).

ee ee eee

17

rejected a separate test for cases where the district court

ordered dismissal, rather than a stay, of the judicial pro-

ceeding because that distinction would “ignor[e] the clear

dictates of the FAA” and would contravene the intent of

Congress. Id. at 1245.

In Gammaro vy. Thorp Consumer Discount Co., 15

F.3d 93 (8th Cir. 1994), the Eighth Circuit dismissed

an appeal from the district court’s decision ordering the

parties to proceed to arbitration to resolve allegations

arising under the TILA and dismissing plaintiffs’ class

action allegations. Id. at 94. Relying on “a number of

well-reasoned decisions handed down” by other courts of

appeals, the Eighth Circuit agreed that in enacting Sec-

tion 16, “Congress simply ‘built upon the distinction the

courts had previously recognized between so-called “in-

dependent” proceedings and so-called “embedded” pro-

ceedings.’” Id. at 95 (quoting Filanto, 984 F.2d at 60)

(noting that Sixth Circuit adopted conflicting analy-

sis). The Gammaro court explained that this “bright-line

rule” was a “product of Congress’s purpose” which would

be undermined if the court of appeals adopted “a more

attenuated, case-by-case determination of jurisdiction.”

Id. at 96 (citing Humphrey v. Prudential Sec. Inc., 4

F.3d 313, 318 (4th Cir. 1993)). Indeed, warning that

it would “brook no delay in requiring compliance with

orders compelling arbitration,” the Eighth Circuit made

clear that “[f]uture appeals from such orders in embedded

proceedings will be subject to dismissal without opinion,

sua sponte if necessary.” Id.

Finally, in Humphrey v. Prudential Securities Inc., 4

F.3d 313 (4th Cir. 1993), the Fourth Circuit dismissed

for lack of jurisdiction an appeal of a decision ordering

arbitration of all the substantive claims raised in a com-

plaint. Id. at 314, 319. There, the district court “re-

tained jurisdiction through - its stay only to enforce or

vacate a forthcoming arbitration award.” Id. at 317. ‘As

T8

a result, the Court was required to address “whether an

embedded action may give rise to a final decision subject

to section 16(a)(3) review when all the claims in which

the arbitration issue is embedded are disposed of.” Jd. at

318. Concluding that Congress intended courts to rely

upon “ ‘preexisting judicial interpretation’” to define the

term “ ‘final decision,’” the Fourth Circuit ruled that “ ‘ar-

bitration orders [are] final if arbitration is the sole issue

before the court and interlocutory if raised in an em-

bedded proceeding.’” Jd. (alteration in original) (quot-

ing Perera v. Siegel Trading Co., 951 F.2d 780, 784, 785

(7th Cir. 1992)). Accordingly, the Humphrey Court

held “that an embedded proceeding may not give rise

to a final decision subject to section 16(a)(3) review.”

Id."

Taken together, these cases establish that the clear ma-

jority of the courts of appeals have adoned the embedded/

independent framework as the “jurisdictional lodestar of

appealability.” Napleton, 138 F.3d at 1212. Accordingly,

the order in this case compelling arbitration in an em-

bedded proceeding could not give rise to a “final decision”

under section 16(a)(3) in those Circuits and thus the

arbitration proceeding would have had to run its course

before the courts could intervene. By the happenstance

of geography, that majority rule was not followed by the

court below.

b. On the opposite side of this debate are decisions by

the Sixth and Tenth Circuits and the decision by the

7 See also John Hancock Mut. Life Ins. v. Olick, 151 F.3d 132, 185-

36 (3d Cir. 1998) (adopting embedded/independent analysis to as-

sess whether order constitutes final decision appealable under 9

U.S.C. § 16(a)(8)); Altman Nursing, Inc. v. Clay Capital Corp., 84

F.3d 769, 771 (5th Cir. 1996) (“[T]here can never be an interlocu-

tory appeal from an embedded proceeding”); Filanto, S.p.A. v.

Chilewich Int’l Corp., 984 F.2d 58, 60 (2d Cir. 1993) (holding that

orders directing arbitration in embedded proceedings “are not im-

mediately appealable” ).

eee See eee

19

Eleventh Circuit in this case, each of which has exercised

jurisdiction under 9 U.S.C. § 16(a)(3) to review arbitra-

tion orders in embedded proceedings.

The earliest of these cases was Arnold vy. Arnold Corp.,

920 F.3d 1269 (6th Cir. 1990), where the Sixth Cir-

Cuit considered an appeal from an order compelling ar-

bitration and dismissing plaintiff's claims under the Secur-

ities and Exchange Act of 1934. Jd. at 1272, 1273.

Relying on snippets culled from the legislative history,

the Sixth Circuit concluded, in a circular fashion, that “a

final order [under section 16] is one which dismisses ‘an

action in deference to arbitration’ and enters a final judg-

ment.” Id. at 1275 (quoting Committee on the Judiciary,

Section by Section Analysis on $1482, 134 Cong. Rec.

$16,284 (daily ed. Oct. 14, 1988)). The Sixth Circuit

argued that by enacting Section 16, Congress “rejectfed]

the prior distinction made between orders brought solely

to compel specific performance of an agreement to arbi-

trate and orders granting or denying requests to compel

arbitration entered into . . . in an ongoing action for

legal relief on the underlying claims.” Jd. at 1276. See

also Security Watch, Inc. v. Sentinel Sys., Inc., 176 F.3d

369, 371 (6th Cir. 1999) (relying on Arnold to con-

clude that “an order dismissing an action in favor of ar-

bitration is a final order appealable under § 16(a)(3)”),

petition for cert. filed, 68 USLW 3291 (U.S. Oct. 18,

1999) (99-669).

Similarly, in Armijo v. Prudential Insurance Cm, 78

F.3d 793 (10th Cir. 1995 ), the Tenth Circuit held that

it had jurisdiction to review the district court’s decision

compelling arbitration of plaintiffs’ federal and state dis-

crimination claims and dismissing plaintiff's lawsuit. Id.

at 797. The Tenth Circuit drew a distinction between

orders compelling arbitration in which the lawsuit was

stayed—which were “non-final”—and orders compelling

arbitration and dismissing the proceedings—which were.

20:

“final order[s]” for which 9 U.S.C. § 16(a)(3) expressly

provided immediate appeal. Jd. Because the district

court’s decision ordering arbitration also dismissed the

case—rather than entering a stay—the Tenth Circuit con-

cluded that it was a “final order” expressly appealable

under 9 U.S.C. § 16(a)(3). Id.

Finally, in this case, the Eleventh Circuit acknowledged

the conflict among the courts of appeals, recognized that

the case before it implicated that conflict, and embraced

the minority position that an order compelling arbitration

and dismissing the case is a “final decision” for which

an immediate appeal lies under 9 U.S.C. § 16(a)(3).

First, the Eleventh Circuit identified the deep conflict

among the courts of appeals on the question “whether a

district court’s order compelling arbitration in an em-

bedded proceeding is an appealable ‘final decision’ where

it dismisses the remaining claims.” Pet. App. 9a. Second,

the court of appeals acknowledged that this case impli-

cated that conflict because, if it followed “the other cir-

cuits (save the Sixth and the Tenth),” then it would “lack

jurisdiction here.” Id. at 1la. Third, the court of appeals

placed itself firmly in the camp with the Sixth and Tenth

Circuits by rejecting reliance on the “embedded/inde-

pendent” framework and adopting instead a case-by-case

approach where “appeals should be available where there

is nothing left to be done in the district court.” Id. at 13a.

c. As demonstrated above, the issue whether an order

dismissing a case in favor of arbitration is a “final deci-

sion” under 9 U.S.C. § 16(a)(3) has generated a deep

and persistent conflict among the courts of appeals.

Courts on both sides of this debate have acknowledged

the existence of the conflict and criticized the approach

taken by the other side. See, e.g., Seacoast, 143 F.3d

at 628 (“[{O]ther circuits have been divided on this ‘is-

sue.”); Pet. App. 9a (“We are thus faced with a circuit

split on the question whether a district court’s order

2f

compelling arbitration in an embedded proceeding is an’

appealable ‘final decision’ where it dismisses the re~

maining claims.”). Under the majority view, it is clear

that the Eleventh Circuit would have lacked jurisdiction

to review the district court’s order because this case in-

disputably is an embedded proceeding in which the arbitra-.

tion issue arose in the midst of claims for other relief.

See, e.g., Perera, 951 F.2d at 784 (defining “embedded”

proceeding); Filanto S.p.A. v. Chilewich Int'l Corp., 984

F.2d 58, 60 (2d Cir. 1993) (same). Accordingly, this

case presents an ideal vehicle for resolving the dispute re-

garding the proper analysis for determining whether an

order is a final decision under Section 16(a)(3) of the

FAA.

Moreover, this issue is a matter of considerable im-

portance to the statutory scheme governing arbitration

adopted by Congress in 1988. Courts on both sides of

the conflict acknowledge that the 1988 amendments sought

to promote arbitration by delaying the review of decisions

in favor of arbitration until after the arbitration had taken

place. See, e.g., Arnold, 920 F.2d at 1274 (noting that

under section 16, “interlocutory orders directing the par-

ties to arbitration are not appealable”) ; Filanto, 984 F.2d

at 60 (Congress “endeavored to promote appeals from

orders barring arbitration and limit appeals from orders

directing arbitration”). Absent corrective action by this

Court, however, that legislative policy favoring arbitra-

tion over litigation will be frustrated by the circuits ap-

plying the minority rule. In those circuits, orders dismis-

sing an action in favor of arbitration may result in lengthy

appeals that will result in unnecessary delay and ex-

pense associated with the appellate process even before

an arbitration has begun. See, e.g., Napleton, 138 F.3d

at 1214 (“the most economical approach is not to allow

an intermission for appellate review, but rather for the

parties to proceed expeditiously to arbitration”). That

22

result cannot be reconciled with the language of 16(a)(3),

which permits an appeal only from “a final decision with

respect to an arbitration” or with the strong federal policy

favoring arbitration over litigation.

Finally, the minority approach adopted by the Sixth,

Tenth and Eleventh Circuits allows district courts to

manipulate the jurisdiction of an appellate court based

solely on the label they choose to affix to orders com-

pelling arbitration, an absurd result that Congress simply

could not have intended. See, e.g., id. at 1213 (identi-

fying instance where district court entered Rule 54(b)

judgment because it “seemingly wanted the appellate

court to extend jurisdiction over [the] appeal”). As the

court of appeals in McCarthy explained when it rejected

the minority approach:

[D]istinguishing between stays and dismissal for pur-

poses of appellate review would condition the result

on the district court’s decision. If the circumstances

compelled the court to stay the action, the case

would proceed to an arbitrator; if the court dismissed

all claims the case could be appealed immediately.

We do not believe that Congress intended this arbi-

trary result when it barred appellate review of inter-

locutory orders compelling arbitration. We interpret

the bar on appellate review to be just that, regardless

of the terminology used by the trial court.

122 F.3d at 1245; see also Napleton, 138 F.3d at 1213

(refusing to “elevate the form of a district court’s order

over its substance”); Seacoast, 143 F.3d at 629 (same).

In short, this case squarely presents an issue that has

generated an acknowledged conflict among the courts of

appeals on an important and recurring issue of federal

jurisdiction. Further review by this Court is accordingly

warranted.

23

If. THE COURT OF APPEALS’ DECISION THAT THE

ARBITRATION CLAUSE WAS UNENFORCEABLE

PRESENTS AN IMPORTANT ISSUE OF FEDERAL

LAW THAT HAS GENERATED A CONFLICT

AMONG THE COURTS OF APPEALS

Even if the panel had jurisdiction to reach the merits

prior to the arbitration, it resolved the challenge to the en-

forceability of the arbitration provision in a manner that,

if left unreviewed, would have a profound effect on the

ability of parties to choose arbitration instead of litiga-

tion as the means by which they wish to resolve their

disputes. Under the court of appeals’ decision, arbitration

provisions that are “silent” as to the costs of arbitration or

as to the manner in which those costs wil be allocated

among the parties would be unenforceable because those

costs “might” be substantial and the claimant “might” be

required to bear them. That conclusion contravenes the

strong federal interest favoring arbitration expressed in

decisions by this Court and conflicts with decisions by

the courts of appeals.

Section 2 of the FAA provides that arbitration agree-

ments “shall be valid, irrevocable, and enforceable, save

upon such grounds as exist at law or in equity for revoca-

tion of any contract.” 9 U.S.C. §2. In Moses H. Cone

Memorial Hospital v. Mercury Construction Corp., 460

U.S. 1 (1983), this Court explained that “Section 2 is

a congressional declaration of a liberal federal policy favor-

ing arbitration agreements,” id. at 24, and therefore, “as

a matter of federal law, any doubts concerning the scope

of arbitrable issues should be resolved in favor of arbitra-

tion, whether the problem at hand is the construction of

the contract language itself or an allegation of waiver,

delay, or a like defense to arbitrability,” id. at 24-25: ac-

cord Gilmer v. Interstate/Johnson Lane Corp., 500 U.S.

20, 26 (1991). Moreover, the “duty to enforce arbitra-

24

tion agreements is not diminished when a party bound by

an agreement raises a claim founded on statutory rights.”

Shearson/American Express Inc. v. McMahon, 482 USS.

220, 226 (1987); see also Mitsubishi Motors Corp. V.

Soler Chrysler-Plymouth, Inc., 473 U.S. 614, 626 (1985)

(same). Indeed, “we are well past the time when judicial

suspicion of the desirability of arbitration and of the com-

petence of arbitral tribunals inhibited development of ar-

bitration as an alternative means of dispute resolution. /d.

at 626-27. Accordingly, “there is no reason to assume at

the outset that arbitrators will not follow the law.”

McMahon, 482 U.S. at 232. In fact, review of arbitra-

tion awards, though limited, “is sufficient to ensure that

arbitrators comply with the requirements of the statute.”

Id. To be sure, while the FAA’s mandate in favor of

arbitration agreements “may be overridden by a contrary

congressional command,” the “burden is onthe party

opposing arbitration . . . to show that Congress intended

to preclude a waiver of judicial remedies for the statutory

right at issue.” Id. at 226-27.

Here, however, the panel trampled on these settled

standards in its rush to invalidate the arbitration provision.

By contrast, the enforceability of the arbitration provision

involved in this case has been upheld by the Alabama

Supreme Court on numerous occasions. Green Tree Fi-

nancial Corp. v. Vintson, No. 1972191, 1999 WL 778496,

at *6 (Ala. Oct. 1, 1999); Green Tree Financial Corp. v.

Wampler, Nos. 1970983, 191029, 1999 WL 667292, at

*8 (Ala. Aug. 27, 1999); Ex Parte Smith, 736 So. 2d

604, 612-13 (Ala. 1999); Patrick Home Ctr. Inc. v.

-Karr, 730 So. 2d 1171, 1174 (Ala. 1999); Ex Parte

Parker, 730 So. 2d 168, 172 (Ala. 1999); Green Tree

Financial Corp. v. Davis, 729 So. 2d 329, 329 (Ala.

1999); Ex Parte Napier, 723 So. 2d 49, 54 (Ala. 1998);

Green Tree Agency, Inc. v. White, 719 So. 2d 1179,

1180 (Ala. 1998); Ex Parte Gates, 675 So. 2d 371, 375

ee ee ee

25

(Ala. 1996). Indeed, in Wampler, the Alabama Su-

preme Court rejected the analysis of the Eleventh Circuit

in this case and instead held that “{w]here a... contract

is silent on a particular question,” a reviewing court must

not “indulg[e] an assumption that the proof would sup-

port a ‘worst case’ scenario.” 1999 WL 667292, at *6.

Indeed, the Third Circuit has expressly upheld the Green

Tree arbitration provision against a challenge that it was

unconscionable. Harris v. Green Tree Financial Corp.,

183 F.3d 173, 182-84 (3d Cir. 1999).

Not only is the enforceability of this specific provision

a matter of conflict among the lower courts, but the Elev-

enth Circuit’s fundamental approach to enforceability is

flatly at odds with decisions of other courts of appeals

and with the strong federal policy favoring arbitration.

First, the panel disregarded the obligation to resolve

doubts regarding arbitrability in accordance with the

“ ‘the federal policy favoring arbitration.’ ” Gilmer, 500

U.S. at 26 (quoting Moses H. Cone, 460 USS. at 24).

Instead, the panel resolved doubts against arbitration by

assuming the worst possible outcome. That analysis con-

flicts with the Eighth Circuit’s decision in Dobbins v.

Hawk’s Enterprises, No. 99-1582, 1999 WL 1256184

(8th Cir. Dec. 23, 1999) and the District of Columbia

Circuit’s decision in Cole v. Burns International Security

Services, 105 F.3d 1465 (D.C. Cir. 1997).

In Dobbins, plaintiffs filed suit claiming damages based

on alleged statutory violations of TILA. Defendant

sought to compel arbitration. After initially compelling

8 Further, this arbitration clause has been scrutinized and upheld

by other federal and state courts throughout the country. See, e.g.,

Dorsey v. H.C.P.S. Sales, Inc., 46 F. Supp. 2d 804, 806-08 (N.D.

Ill. 1999) ; In re Pate, 198 B.R. 841, 844-46 (Bankr. S.D. Ga. 1996) ;

Lackey v. Green Tree Financial Corp., 498 S.E.2d 898, 902-05 (S.C.

Ct. App. 1998); Pierman v. Green Tree Financial Servicing Corp.,

933 P.2d 955, 956-57 (Okla. Ct. App. 1997).

26

-arbitration, the district court ultimately ruled that the ar-

bitration provision was unenforceable because the “final

fee determination” of $23,000 precluded the Dobbinses

“from availing themselves of the arbitral forum.” Jd. at

*1. The Eighth Circuit reversed. It held that the Dob-

binses were required “to fully explore” whether they could

reduce the fees by seeking a waiver or by making a “more

realistic demand for damages.” Jd. at *2 & n.3. More-

over, even if these avenues proved to be fruitless and

failed to reduce the arbitration fee to a reasonable

amount, the court of appeals directed the district court

to “accept appellant’s offer to pay the arbitration ‘fees.”

Id. at *6 (footnote omitted).

Similarly, in Cole, the court of appeals considered an

arbitration agreement that was “silent” on the issue of

who would bear the costs of arbitration. 105 F.3d at

1485. Unlike the Eleventh Circuit, however, the Cole

Court concluded that “the arbitration agreement .. .

{was] valid and enforceable” because it interpreted the

agreement to require the employer “to pay all arbitrators’

fees in connection with the resolution of [the employee’s

Statutory] claims.” Jd. at 1485, 1486. In doing so, the

District of Columbia Circuit explained that it adopted

that interpretation “to uphold the validity of the parties’

contract.” Jd. at 1486.

Second, the Eleventh Circuit aggravated its error by

improperly imposing upon petitioners the burden of dis-

proving the parade of horribles imagined by the court.

For example, when petitioners informed the panel that

“the arbitrator may apportion the fees of the arbitration

in his award,” the panel responded that petitioners’ failed

to “guarantee that a consumer successfully arbitrating

under {the arbitration clause] will not be saddled with a

prohibitive costs order.” Pet. App. 18a. When petitioners

informed the panel that “no filing fees are required,” the

“27

panel responded that “whether there are fees is likely to

depend on who conducts the arbitration, something the

arbitration clause is silent about.” Jd.

That analysis conflicts with the Seventh Circuit’s deci-

sion in Koveleskie v. SBC Capital Markets, Inc., 167

F.3d 361 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 120 S. Ct. 44 (1999)

and the First Circuit’s decision in Rosenberg v. Merrill

Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith, Inc., 170 F.3d 1, 15-16

(1st Cir. 1999). In those cases, plaintiffs argued that an

arbitration agreement was unenforceable in the context

of claims arising under Title VII because the industry

arbitrators “routinely fail to follow Title VII’s fee-shifting

principle by refusing to award statutory attorneys’ fees to

prevailing plaintiffs and by charging plaintiffs expensive

forum fees.” Koveleskie, 167 F.3d at 366; Rosenberg,

170 F.3d at 15. In rejecting that claim, the Seventh

and First Circuits explained that the record failed to

establish that “a plaintiff is asked to bear forum fees.”

Koveleskie, 167 F.3d at 366 (internal quotation marks

omitted); accord Rosenberg, 170 F.3d at 15.

The panel below sought to distinguish Rosenberg, but

in doing so highlighted that it had shifted the burden of

proof to petitioners. Specifically, the panel below stated

that

the court in Rosenberg had before it a record sug-

gesting that most successful arbitral claimants were

awarded fees and costs; we lack similar information

about how claimants fare under Green Tree’s arbi-

tration clause.

Pet. App. 18a-19a. But in Rosenberg, the party seeking

to invalidate the arbitration attempted to satisfy her bur-

den of proof by “plac[ing] in the record” evidence of

“thirty-three arbitration cases.” 170 F.3d at 16. The rec-

ord developed by Rosenberg, however, simply did not

support the conclusion about the alleged misconduct of

(28

arbitrators because “only one plaintiff who prevailed on

Statutory grounds was denied fees and costs.” Id.

In this case, as in Rosenberg and Koveleskie, the rec-

ord evidence did not support the conclusion that the ar-

bitrators would violate governing federal statutes and re-

quire respondent to “bear substantial costs of the arbitra-

tion even if she were to prevail.” Pet. App. 19a.

Nevertheless, the panel concluded that this absence of

record evidence provided a basis for invalidating the ar-

bitration provision. In doing so, the Eleventh Circuit

shifted the burden of proof onto petitioners in contraven-

tion of well-established precedent. McMahon, 482 US.

at 227 (“The burden is on the party opposing arbitration

.... ). Indeed, because there was no evidence in the

record supporting the conclusion that the arbitrator would

disregard the law, the panel decision further violated

settled precedent because it assumed, without any legiti-

mate basis, that the arbitrator would disregard the statu-

tory requirements of TILA. McMahon, 482 U.S. at 232

(“[T]here is no reason to assume at the outset that arbi-

trators will not follow the law. . . .”).®

In sum, the Eleventh Circuit’s decision violates well-

settled principles that require a reviewing court to resolve

doubts about the arbitrability of statutory claims in favor

of arbitration and to impose the burden of proving that

an arbitration provision is unenforceable squarely on the

party opposing the arbitration. Here, the Eleventh Cir-

8 Moreover, in contrast to the decision below, the First and Sev-

enth Circuits ruled that even if an arbitrator might impose, in a

particular case, unreasonable costs in violation of federal statutory

rights, that result “could be presented by the [claimant] to the

reviewing court” after the arbitration under section 10 of the FAA.

Rosenberg v. Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith, Inc., 170

F.3d 1, 16 (1st Cir. 1999) (citing Cole v. Burns Int’l Sec. Servs.,

105 F.3d 1465, 1486 (D.C. Cir. 1997)); accord Koveleskie vy. SBC

Capital Markets, Inc., 167 F.3d 361, 366 (7th Cir. 1999).

—~

ets

729

cuit, resolved any and all doubts against arbitration and

imposed the burden of proof Squarely—and improperly—

on the party seeking arbitration of the underlying statu-

tory claims. The decision below conflicts with numerous

appellate decisions and sets a dangerous precedent that,

if left uncorrected, would sow substantial confusion in an

area of law where settled and clear standards are of para-

mount importance. The error is doubly disturbing be-

Cause it is the product of an equally fundamental error by

the court below in exercising appellate jurisdiction. Be-

cause the holding below raises two fundamental questions

arising out of the proper enforcement of the FAA, this

Court should grant review.

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

ROBERT A. HUFFAKER CARTER G. PHILLIPS *

WILLIAM H. WEBSTER PAUL J. ZIDLICKY

RUSHTON, STAKELY, JOHNSTON SIDLEY & AUSTIN

& GARRETT, P.A. 1722 Eye Street, N.W.

184 Commerce Street Washington, D.C. 2000¢

Montgomery, AL 36101-0270 (202) 786-8000

(334) 206-8100

Counsel for Petitioners

January 21, 2000 * Counsel of Record

PPENDICES

la

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 98-6055

LARKETTA RANDOLPH, on behalf of herself

and all others similarly situated,

Plaintiff-A ppellant,

Vv.

GREEN TREE FINANCIAL CoRP.—ALABAMA;

and GREEN TREE FINANCIAL CORPORATION,

Defendants-A ppellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Middle District of Alabama

June 22, 1999

Before HATCHETT and CARNES, Circuit Judges,

and FARRIS *, Senior Circuit Judge.**

* Honorable Jerome Farris, Senior U.S. Circuit Judge for the

Ninth Circuit, sitting by designation.

** This decision is rendered by a quorum, due to the retirement

of then-Chief Judge Hatchett on May 14, 1999. 28 U.S.C. § 46(d).

24

CARNES, Circuit Judge:

Plaintiff Larketta Randolph appeals the district court’s

order compelling arbitration of her claim against defend-

ants Green Tree Financial Corporation and Green Tree

Financial Corp.—Alabama (collectively, “Green Tree”),

' which financed her purchase of a mobile home. She

alleges that Green Tree’s financing documents violate the

Truth in Lending Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1601 et seq. (“TILA”),

that its mandatory arbitration requirement violates the

Equal Credit Opportunity Act, 15 U.S.C. §§ 1691-1691f

(“Equal Credit Act”), and that the TILA precludes the

arbitration of disputes arising under that legislation. The

district court ordered the parties to proceed to arbitration

and dismissed the action with prejudice. Green Tree chal-

lenges our jurisdiction to hear this appeal. We conclude

that the district court’s judgment was an appealable “final

decision.” We also hold that the arbitration agreement in

this case defeats the remedial purposes of the TILA and

is unenforceable.

I. BACKGROUND

This case stems from Randolph’s January 25, 1994,

purchase of a mobile home from Better Cents Home

Builders, Inc., in Opelika, Alabama. Randolph financed

her purchase through Green Tree Financial Corp.—Ala-

bama, a wholly-owned subsidiary of Green Tree Financial

Corporation. Randolph contends that Green Tree re-

quired her to obtain “vendor’s single interest” insurance,

which protects a vendor or lienholder against the costs of

repossession in the event of default, but did not mention

this requirement in its Truth in Lending Act disclosure.

Randolph’s retail installment contract with Better Cents,

which names Green Tree Financial Corp. as the assignee,

3a

contains an arbitration provision. It reads, in pertinent

part:

17. ARBITRATION: All disputes, claims, or con-

troversies arising from or relating to this Contract

or the relationships which result from this Contract,

or the validity of this arbitration clause or the entire

Contract, shall be resolved by binding arbitration

by one arbitrator selected by Assignee with consent

of Buyer(s). This arbitration Contract is made pur-

Suant to a transaction in interstate commerce, and

shall be governed by the Federal Arbitration Act at

9 U.S.C. Section 1. Judgment upon the award ren-

dered may be entered in any court having jurisdic-

tion. The parties agree and understand that they

choose arbitration instead of litigation to resolve

disputes. The parties understand that they have a

right or opportunity to litigate disputes through a

court, but that they prefer to resolve their disputes

through arbitration, except as provided herein. THE

PARTIES VOLUNTARILY WAIVE ANY RIGHT

THEY HAVE TO A JURY TRIAL EITHER

PURSUANT TO ARBITRATION UNDER THIS

CLAUSE OR PURSUANT TO A COURT AC-

TION BY ASSIGNEE (AS PROVIDED HERE-

IN). The parties agree and understand that all dis-

putes arising under case law, statutory law, and all

other laws including, but not limited to, all con-

tract, tort, and property disputes will be subject to

binding arbitration in accord with this Contract. The

parties agree and understand that the arbitrator shall

have all powers provided by the law and the Con-

tract . . . {including] money damages, declaratory

relief, and injunctive relief. Notwithstanding any-

thing hereunto the contrary, Assignee retains an

option to use judicial or nonjudicial relief to enforce

4a

a security agreement relating to the Manufactured

Home secured in a transaction underlying this arbi-

tration agreement, to enforce the monetary obligation

secured by the Manufactured Home or to foreclose

on the Manufactured Home.... The initiation and

maintenance of an action for judicial relief in a

court [on the foregoing terms] shall not constitute

a waiver of the right of any party to compel arbitra-

tion regarding any other dispute or remedy subject

to arbitration in this Contract, including the filing of

a counterclaim in a suit brought by Assignee pursu-

ant to this provision.

Randolph brought this suit in district court in January,

1996, alleging that Green Tree violated the TILA by

failing to include the requirement of vendor’s single in-

terest insurance in its TILA disclosure, and violated the

Equal Credit Act by requiring arbitration of all claims.?

She sought certification of a class of indivisaals who had

entered into similar agreements with Gree» Tree. In re-

sponse, Green Tree moved to compel Randolph to arbi-

trate her complaint pursuant to the arbitration agreement.

It also moved to stay’ the action pending arbitration or,

in the alternative, to dismiss it.

The district court granted the motion to compel arbi-

tration, and declined to certify a class. See Randolph v.

Green Tree Fin. Corp., 991 F.Supp. 1410, 1424-25

(M.D.Ala. 1997). Because it concluded that all the issues

raised in Randolph’s complaint must be submitted to arbi-

1 Her suit also named as a defendant Green Tree Financial Serv-

icing Corporation. The district court dismissed this party from the

action.

2In her initial complaint, Randolph also alleged fraud in the in-

ducement of the arbitration agreement, but she omitted that claim

in her amended complaint. It was deemed waived by the district

court, and Randolph does not raise it on appeal.

Sa

tration, it denied the motion to Stay the action and in-

stead dismissed her claims with prejudice. See id. Ran-

dolph filed this appeal. Green Tree subsequently moved

to dismiss the appeal for lack of jurisdiction.

II. STANDARD OF REVIEW

The jurisdictional issue is a question of law, which we

review de novo. See, e.g., Triggs v. John Crump Toyota,

Inc., 154 F.3d 1284, 1287 (11th Cir.1998). We review

de novo the district court’s order compelling arbitration.

See, e.g., Sunkist Soft Drinks, Inc. v. Sunkist Growers,

Inc., 10 F.3d 753, 756 (11th Cir.1993).

Ill. ANALYSIS

A. WHETHER THE DISTRICT COURT’S ORDER

WAS APPEALABLE AS A “FINAL DECISION”

UNDER THE FEDERAL ARBITRATION ACT

As a threshold matter, we decide whether we have juris-

diction over this appeal. Though we would normally look

to 28 U.S.C. § 1291 to determine our jurisdiction over the

dismissal of this action, “Congress has set forth special

rules governing appeals from a district court’s arbitration

order.” McCarthy v. Providential Corp., 122 F.3d 1242.

1243 (9th Cir.1997). Those rules are set forth in section

16 of the Federal Arbitration Act, 9 U.S.C. § 16. That

provision states:

(a) An appeal may be taken from—

(1) an order—

(A) refusing a stay of any action under

section 3 of this title,

(B) denying a petition under section 4 of

this title to order arbitration to pro-

ceed,

6a

(C) denying an application under section

206 of this title to compel arbitration,

(D) confirming or denying confirmation of

an award or partial award, or

(E) modifying, correcting, or vacating an

award;

(2) an interlocutory order granting, continuing,

or modifying an injunction against an arbi-

tration that is subject to this title; or

(3) a final decision with respect to an arbitra-

tion that is subject to this title.

(b) Except as otherwise provided in section 1292(b)

of title 28, an appeal may not be taken from an

interlocutory order—

(1) granting a stay of any action under section

3 of this title;

(2) directing arbitration to proceed under sec-

tion 4 of this title;

(3) compelling arbitration under section 206

of this title; or

(4) refusing to enjoin an arbitration that is

subject to this title.

9 U.S.C. § 16. Put succinctly, the provision “identifies

two broad classes of cases in which an appeal is possible,

and one in which it is not.” Napleton v. General Motors

Corp., 138 F.3d 1209, 1216 (7th Cir. 1998) (Wood, J.,

dissenting). Subsection § 16(a)(1)-(2) allows appeals

“from orders that somehow prevent arbitration from going

forward”; conversely, § 16(b) bars appeals “from inter-

locutory orders that in one way of another allow the

arbitration to proceed.” Id.

7%

The other circumstance under which appeals are al-

lowed is set out in § 16(a)(3)—“a final decision with

respect to an arbitration that is subject to this title.” The.

question here is whether the district court’s order com-

pelling arbitration of the issues raised in Randolph’s com-

plaint and dismissing her claims with prejudice falls within

that category. If it does, we have jurisdiction. If it does

not, the parties must proceed to arbitration.

In arguing that we lack jurisdiction, Green Tree dis-

tinguishes between “embedded” and “independent” pro-

ceedings, a distinction which has been drawn by a num-

ber of circuits that have considered § 16(a)(3). An “em-

bedded” proceeding is one in which the arbitration issue

arises as part of a broader action dealing with other issues.

In this case, for example, Randolph’s action alleges a sub-

stantive violation of the TILA as well as raising the arbi-

trability question; indeed, the motion to compel arbitra-

tion was filed by the defendant, Green Tree. In an “inde-

pendent” proceeding, the motion to compel arbitration is

the only issue before the court.

Several circuits have held that orders compelling arbi-

tration which arise in embedded proceedings must be

treated as interlocutory and non-appealable, not as “final

decisions” under § 16(a)(3). See, e.g., John Hancock

Mut. Life Ins. Co. v. Olick, 151 F.3d 132, 135-36 (3d

Cir.1998); Seacoast Motors of Salisbury, Inc. v. Chrysler

Corp., 143 F.3d 626, 628 (1st Cir.1998) (“The general

rule governing what constitutes a final decision under sec-

tion 16 is that an order compelling arbitration is not final,

and therefore not immediately reviewable, if the arbitra-

bility issue is ‘embedded’. . . .”); Napleton, 138 F.3d at

1212 (7th Cir.) (“[T]he jurisdictional lodestar of appeal-

ability is whether the decision favoring arbitration is from

an indenendent or from an embedded proceeding.”): Mc-

Carthy, 122 F.3d at 1244 (9th Cir.) (“ ‘{I]f the motion

8a

to compel arbitration is “embedded” in a substantive suit

pending before that court, the district court’s decision to

compel arbitration of some or all of the claims before it

is not considered to be final, and therefore not review-

able.’” (quoting Prudential Ins. Co. »f Am. v. Lai, 42

F.3d 1299, 1302 (9th Cir.1994))); In re Pisgah Con-

tractors, Inc., 117 F.3d 133, 136 (4th Cir.1997); Altman

Nursing, Inc. v. Clay Capital Corp., 84 F.3d 769, 771

(Sth Cir.1996) (“An order involving an embedded pro-

ceeding is always an interlocutory order; an order involv-

ing an independent claim is always final.”); Gammaro v.

Thorp Consumer Discount Co., 15 F.3d 93, 95 (8th Cir.

1994); Filanto, S.p.A. v. Chilewich International Corp.,

984 F.2d 58, 60-61 (2d Cir. 1993).

In most embedded proceedings treating orders compel-

ling arbitration as interlocutory makes sense, because after

the arbitrability issue has been decided, other issues remain

in the case for the district court to resolve; so an order

directing the parties to proceed to arbitration could not

possibly be considered a “final decision” under § 16(a)(3).

In cases like this one, however, where the district court’s

dismissal of the action leaves no additional issues for it

to resolve, treating the distinction between embedded and

independent proceedings as decisive makes less sense.

Nevertheless, a number of circuits have adhered, with a

concededly “myopic[]” focus, to the embedded /independ-

ent distinction when determining whether they had juris-

diction to hear an appeal under § 16(a)(3). See Naple-

ton, 138 F.3d at 1213 (“[T}his Circuit has focused, al-

most myopically, on whether a proceeding is independent

or embedded.”).

The circuits taking this approach have insisted that a

district court’s order compelling arbitration in an em-

bedded proceeding is interlocutory and non-aprealable.

even if the district court dismisses the remaining claims.

9a

See, e.g., Seacoast, 143 F.3d at 628-29 (dismissal of em-

bedded proceeding without prejudice is non-appealable);

Napleton, 138 F.3d at 1212 (same); McCarthy, 122 F.3d

at 1244-45 (arbitration order in embedded proceeding not

appealable where district court dismissed action and or-

dered court clerk to close file); Altman Nursing, 84 F.3d

at 771 (arbitration order in embedded proceeding non-

appealable, even though district court’s order ended all

litigation); Gammaro, 15 F.3d at 95-96 (arbitration order

non-appealable where court dismissed remaining issues).

By contrast, both the Sixth and Tenth Circuits have

taken a less mechanical approach to the question of

whether an arbitration order is an appealable “final de-

cision” under §$ 16(a)(3). In Armijo v. Prudential Insur-

ance Co. of America, 72 F.3d 793, 797 (10th Cir.1995),

the Tenth Circuit treated the district court’s dismissal of

the plaintiffs’ remaining claims, apparently with prejudice,

as an appealable final decision. Similarly, in Arnold v.

Arnold Corp.—Printed Communications for Business, 920

F.2d 1269, 1276 (6th Cir.1990), the Sixth Circuit recog-

nized its appellate jurisdiction over an order compelling

arbitration in an embedded proceeding, relying on the fact

that the district court had entered final judgment and had

“nothing left . . . to do but execute the judgment.” See

also Napleton, 138 F.3d at 1214-15 (Wood, J., dissent-

ing); McCarthy, 122 F.3d at 1246-47 (Pregerson, J., dis-

senting); Filanto, S.p.A., 984 F.2d at 61 n.3 (dicta

noting that at least a limited appeal might have been

available “[h]ad the complaint been dismissed”).

We are thus faced with a circuit split on the question

whether a district court’s order compelling arbitration in

an embedded proceeding is an appealable “final decision”

where it dismisses the remaining claims. This question is

one of first impression in our circuit. In answering it. we

begin by recognizing that “final decision” is a term of art

-10a

which was of long standing when Congress enacted § 16

(a)(3), and we will therefore take guidance from prior

judicial interpretations of the term. See, e.g., Napleton,

138 F.3d at 1211. In interpreting this term, however, we

proceed from a different position than circuits such as the

Seventh Circuit, because we have never accorded the same

degree of “talismanic significance,” id., that others have to

the distinction between independent and embedded

proceedings.

Instead, our interpretation of the term “final decision”

has generally followed “the simplest traditional definition

of finality: the decision has disposed of all the issues

framed by the litigation, leaving nothing to be done but

execute the order.” 15B Charles Alan Wright. Arthur R.

Miller & Edward H. Cooper, Federal Practice and Proce-

dure § 3914.17, at 18-19 (2d ed.1992). See also Catlin

v. United States, 324 U.S. 229, 233. 65 SCt. 631. 633.

89 L.Ed. 911 (1945) (decision of the district court is

final if it “ends the litigation on the merits and leaves

nothing for the court to do but execute the iudgment.”).

We have taken that approach both with resnect to the

general provision dealing with the anrealabilitv ‘of final

decisions of the district courts. 28 U.S.C. § 1291% see,

e.g, Shannon v. Jack Eckerd Corn., 55 F.3d 561. 563

(11th Cir.1995). and with respect to the FAA itself. see

Thomson McKinnon Securities. Inc. v. Salter. 873 F 2d

1397. 1399 (11th Cir.1989).* See also Morewitz v. West

328 US.C. § 1291 states that “[t]he courts of appeals .. . shall

have jurisdiction of appeals from all final decisions of the district

courts of the United States... .”

_ 4In Thomson McKinnon, we held that under what is now 9 US.C.

8 16(a)(3), “decisions of the district court are final if they ‘end[]

the litigation on the merits and leave[] nothing for the [district]

court to do but execute the judgment.’” Thomson McKinnon, 873

F.2d at 1399 (quoting Catlin, 324 U.S. at 238, 65 S.Ct. at 633).

We also noted, however, that the finality of an order granting or

“dla

of England Ship Owners Mut. Protection & Indem. Ass'n

(Luxembourg), 62 F.3d 1356, 1361 (11th Cir.1995)

(FAA case holding that decisions of the district court are

final if they leave the district court with nothing to do

but execute judgment, but relying on 28 U.S.C. § 1291,

not 9 U.S.C. § 16(a)(3)).

In most arbitration appeals there will be little difference

between the traditional definition of “final decision” and

one that relies on the distinction between embedded and

independent proceedings. If the district court’s order com-

pelling arbitration in a so-called embedded proceeding

leaves other issues unresolved, the court will have more

left to do than simply execute the judgment, so there will

be no final decision. But that is not true in cases such

as this one, where the district court dispensed with the

remaining issues by dismissing the case. Only if we fol-

lowed the other circuits (save the Sixth and Tenth) and

attached excessive significance to the “embedded” versus

“independent” proceeding distinction, instead of applying

the venerable definition of “final decision,” would we lack

jurisdiction here.

That we decline to do. Nothing in the plain language

of the statute requires us to make the embedded /independ-

ent distinction decisive. Moreover, the history of § 16(a)

denying a request to compel arbitration may depend on whether

the order was “entered in the course of ongoing actions for legal

or equitable relief on the underlying claims.” Jd. We held that

because the sole question before the district court was subject to

arbitration, its decision was final and appealable. We thus recog-

nized the embedded/independent distinction (without using those

labels), but did not need to decide whether an order like the one

here, dismissing all the plaintiffs’ claims in an embedded proceeding

with prejudice, is a “final decision.” More importantly, we did not

attach a “talismanic significance” to the distinction between em-

bedded and independent proceedings, but treated it as a part of our

usual inquiry into whether the district court’s decision leaves noth-

ing for it to do but execute the judgment.

12a

(3)’s enactment favors our standard reading of “final deci-

sion,” and counsels against attaching undue significance to

the embedded/independent distinction. Section 16 was

enacted against the background of the demise of the

Enelow-Ettelson doctrine, which had employed the old

distinction between law and equity to determine when a

stay could be appealed. See Ettelson v. Metropolitan Life

Ins. Co., 317 U.S. 188, 191-92, 63 S.Ct. 163, 164-65,

87 L.Ed. 176 (1942); Enelow v. New York Life Ins. Co.,

293 U.S. 379, 382-83, 55 S.Ct. 310, 311-12, 79 L.Ed.

440 (1935). The Supreme Court, applying the Enelow-

Ettelson doctrine to arbitration law, acknowledged that

the continuing application of this doctrine illustrated “the

persistence of outmoded procedural differentiations.” Balti-

more Contractors v. Bodinger, 348 U.S. 176, 184, 75

S.Ct. 249, 254, 99 L.Ed. 233 (1955), but it did so none-

theless, “leaving Congress to make such amendments as

it may find proper.” Id. at 185, 75 S.Ct. at 254.

Ultimately, the Court abandoned the Enelow-Ettelson

doctrine altogether. See Gulfstream Aercspace Corp. Vv.

Mayacamas Corp., 485 U.S. 271, 287, 108 S.Ct. 1133,

1142, 99 L.Ed.2d 296 (1988). Soon after, Congress

stepped in to “make Gulfstream, and the case law that it

overruled, largely academic on the arbitration scene” by

enacting what is now 9 U.S.C. § 16 as part of the Judicial

Improvements and Access to Justice Act of 1988, Pub.L.

100-702, Title X, § 1019(a), 102 Stat. 4642, 4671

(1988). See David D. Siegel, Practice Commentary, 9

U.S.C. § 16, at 501 (West 1999).

In short, § 16 was enacted to clear away the deadwood

and “furnish a clear rule for appealability of orders re-

lating to arbitration proceedings,” not to erect a set of

distinctions as esoteric as the law-equity distinction.

Napleton, 138 F.3d at 1217 (Wood, J., dissenting); see

also Arnold, 920 F.2d at 1275 n. 5 (“[OJne purpose in

ee -

13a

passing the amendment was to give clarity to an area of

the law that had become confused, obscure and relied on

the procedural posture of the case.”); Campbell v.

Dominick & Dominick, Inc., 872 F.2d 358, 361 (11th

Cir.1989) (quoting a statement by Senator Howell

Heflin that “under the prior doctrine, ‘[t]he appealability

of orders that direct arbitration, stay arbitration, or stay

judicial proceedings depend[ed] on accidents of procedure

that c[id] not respcnd to any rational needs of either

appeals timing or arbitration.’ 134 Cong. Rec. $16284,

$16309 (daily ed. Oct. 14, 1988).”). The intent behind

§ 16 is equally evident in the provision’s legislative history,

especially the Senate Judiciary Committee’s statement that

“under the proposed statute, appealability does not turn

solely on the policy favoring arbitration. Appeal can be

taken from .. . a final judgment dismissing an action in

deference to arbitration. These appeals preserve the gen-

eral policy that appeals should be available where there is

nothing left to be done in the district court.” Arnold,

920 F.2d at 1274-75 (quoting Committee on the Judi-

ciarv, Section by Section Analvsis on $1482, 100th Cong.,

2d Sess.. 134 Cong. Rec. $16284, Oct. 14, 1988) (al-

teration in original omitted).

Our view that the embedded/independent distinction

ought not defeat our jurisdiction in this case is also sup-

ported by logic and common sense. The Fifth Circuit’s

assertion that “[a]n order involving an embedded proceed-

ing is always an interlocutory order,” Altman Nursing,

Inc., 84 F.3d at 771 (emphasis added), is wrong. “While

orders compelling arbitration in all independent arbitra-

bility proceedings are necessarily final decisions, it does

not logically follow that orders in all embedded arbitra-

bility proceedings are necessarily interlocutory.” Mc-

Carthy, 122 F.3d at 1247 (Pregerson, J., dissenting)

(emphasis omitted).

14a

That proposition is confirmed by this case. The district

court could have stayed Randolph’s claim pending arbitra-

tion, but it determined that all of the issues raised were

arbitrable. Accordingly, it dismissed the case. Moreover,

the dismissal was with prejudice. That is a feature that

apparently was not present in most of the cases decided

by circuits relying on the embedded/independent distinc-

tion. The opinions in those cases either involved dismis-

sals without prejudice or did not clearly state the nature

of the dismissal. “‘A dismissal with prejudice clearly is a

decision that ends the litigation on the merits and leaves

nothing for the court to do but execute a judgment.’”

Morewitz, 62 F.3d at 1361 (quoting Nichols v. Mobile

Bd. of Realtors, Inc., 675 F.2d 671, 673 (5th Cir. Unit

B 1982) (quotations omitted) ).5

Thus, our reading of § 16(a)(3) compels our conclu-

sion that where the district court effectively disposes of all

other issues by issuing an order compelling arbitration and

dismissing the remaining claims with prejudice, we have

appellate jurisdiction over the case. Whatever usefulness

the terms “embedded” and “independent” may have in

describing some proceedings involving arbitration claims,

we decline to follow the same “myopic and talismanic ad-

herence to the independent/embedded distinction,” Naple-

ton, 138 F.3d at 1217 (Wood, J., dissenting) (quotations

and citation omitted), that some circuits have exhibited.

Because the district court’s dismissal of Randolph’s action

with prejudice left it with “nothing . . . to do but execute

the judgment,” Morewitz, 62 F.3d at 1361 (quotation and

5 We have no occasion to decide whether an appeal from an order

compelling arbitration in an embedded proceeding is a “final deci-

sion” when the district court dismisses the action without prejudice.

We do note that this court has said that “dismissals wihout preju-

dice may be appealable [under 28 U.S.C. § 1291], [but] they are

only appealable if they are ‘final orders.’” Grayson v. K Mart

Corp., 79 F.8d 1086, 1094 n.7 (11th Cir.1996) (citation omitted).

‘15a

citation omitted), we hold that its order compelling arbi-

tration was an appealable “final decision” under 9 U.S.C.

§ 16(a) (3).

B. THE ENFORCEABILITY OF THE ARBITRA-

TION CLAUSE

Having determined that we have jurisdiction over this

appeal, we now turn to the question whether the TILA

_ precludes the enforcement of the arbitration clause in the

retail installment agreement signed by Randolph. Be-

cause the arbitration clause signed by Randolph in this

case fails to provide the minimum guarantees required to

ensure that she can vindicate her statutory rights under

the TULA, we conclude that the arbitration clause in this

case is unenforceable. eae

As an initial matter, we recognize that “[a]rbitration

ordinarily brings hardships for litigants along with poten-

tial efficiency. . . . In light of a strong federal policy

favoring arbitration,” some “inherent weaknesses” in the

procedural apparatus of an arbitration “should not make

an arbitration clause unenforceable.” Paladino v. Avnet

Computer Technologies, Inc., 134 F.3d 1054, 1062 (11th

Cir.1998). The Supreme Court has stated, “ {S]o long

as the prospective litigant effectively may vindicate [his

or her] statutory cause of action in the arbitral forum,

the statute will continue to serve both its remedial and

deterrent function.’” Gilmer v. Interstate/Johnson Lane

Corp., 500 U.S. 20, 28, 111 S.Ct. 1647, 1653, 114

L.Ed.2d 26 (1991) (quoting Mitsubishi Motors Corp.

v. Soler Chrysler-Plymouth, Inc., 473 U.S. 614, 637, 105

“Ct 3346 3359, 87 L.Ed.2d 444 (1985).)

Nevertheless, we held in Paladino that some ‘proce-

dural flaws present such barriers to a would-be litigant’s

xercise of his or her statutory rights that they render an

-16a

arbitration clause unenforceable. “When an arbitration

clause has provisions that defeat the remedial purpose of

[a] statute, . . . the arbitration clause is not enforceable.”

Paladino, 134 F.3d at 1062 (citation omitted). As the

Tenth Circuit has stated,

As Gilmer emphasized, arbitration of statutory

claims works because potential litigants have an ade-

quate forum in which to resolve their statutory

claims and because the broader social purposes be- -

hind the statute are adhered to. This supposition[ ]

falls apart, however, if the terms of an arbitration

agreement actually prevent an individual from effec-

tively vindicating his or her statutory rights. Ac-

cordingly, an arbitration agreement that prohibits

use of the judicial forum as a means of resolving

statutory claims must also provide for an effective

and accessible alternative forum.

Shankle v. B-G Maintenance Management of Colorado,

Inc., 163 F.3d 1230, 1234 (10th Cir.1999) (citations

omitted). While the arbitral forum usually serves as just

such an alternative, some barriers of access to that forum

may render an arbitration clause unenforceable. See id.

at 1234 n. 3.

In particular, we held in Paladino that forcing a plain-

tiff to bear the brunt of “hefty” arbitration costs and

“steep filing fees” constitutes “a legitimate basis for a

conclusion that the [arbitration] clause does not comport

with statutory policy.” Paladino, 134 F.3d at 1062.

Thus, we held that an employer’s arbitration agreement

did not “comport with [the] statutory policy” of Title

VII because the plaintiff would have had to pay a filing

fee of $2000 to arbitrate her claim of gender discrimina-

tion, and might have had to bear at least half the sub-

stantial cost of the arbitration. Id.

174

Other courts have raised similar concerns. See Shankle,

163 F.3d at 1234-35 & n. 3 (concluding that a “fee-

splitting” provision of an arbitration agreement substan-

tially limited an employee’s use of the arbitral forum and

therefore rendered the arbitration agreement unenforce-

able); Cole v. Burns International Sec. Services, Inc., 105

F.3d 1465, 1484-85 & n. 12 (D.C. Cir.1997) (requiring

an employer to bear the sole costs of an arbitrator’s fees

where the arbitration was imposed by the employer, and

noting but declining to address the question whether an

arbitrator’s “refusal to waive filing and other administra-

tive fees could preclude enforcement of an arbitration

agreement”).

The arbitration clause in this case raises serious con-

cerns with respect to filing fees, arbitrators’ costs and

other arbitration expenses that may curtail or bar a plain-

tiffs access to the arbitral forum, and thus falls within

our holding in Paladino. This clause says nothing about

the payment of filing fees or the apportionment of the

costs of arbitration. It neither assigns an initial respon-

sibility for filing fees or arbitrators’ costs, nor provides

for a waiver in cases of financial hardship. It does not

say whether consumers, if they prevail, will nonetheless

be saddled with fees and costs in excess of any award.

It does not say whether the rules of the American Arbi-

tration Association, which provide at least some guide-

lines concerning filing fees and arbitration costs, apply to

the proceeding, whether some other set of rules applies,

or whether the parties must negotiate their own set of

rules.

At oral argument, Green Tree asserted that arbitra-

tions arising under this clause typically do not use the

AAA rules, but did not specify what set of rules applies.

Nor did Green Tree describe the atypical cases in which

ia

the AAA rules do apply. Green Tree also asserted at

oral argument that the arbitrator may apportion the fees

of the arbitration in his award, but that provides no guar-

antee that a consumer successfully arbitrating under this

clause will not be saddled with a prohibitive costs order,

despite the small sum that is likely to be the object of

the dispute in arbitrations of this kind. Finally, Green

Tree stated to us that no filing fees are required, but the

arbitration clause itself says nothing about that, and

whether there are filing fees is likely to depend on who

conducts the arbitration, something the arbitration clause

is silent about.

Accordingly, we conclude that the arbitration clause

in this case is unenforceable, because it fails to provide

the minimum guarantees required to ensure that Ran-

dolph’s ability to vindicate her statutory rights will not

be undone by steep filing fees, steep arbitrators’ fees, or

other high costs of arbitration. See Paladino, 134 F.3d

at 1062 (“When an arbitration clause has provisions that

defeat the remedial purpose of the statute, . . . the arbi-

tration clause is not enforceable.” (citation omitted) ).

The facts of this case distinguish it from cases in which

other circuits have held that an arbitration agreement was

enforceable despite substantial arbitration costs. In Rosen-

berg v. Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith, Inc., 170

F.3d 1, 15-16 (1st Cir.1999), the First Circuit rejected

an argument that the New York Stock Exchange’s arbi-

tration procedures were unenforceable to arbitrate a

Title VII claim merely because plaintiffs could be charged

high forum fees. But the court in Rosenberg had before

6 The court did find, however, that the plaintiff should not be

compelled to arbitrate her claims, because she was not given ade-

quate notice that her statutory claims would be subject to arbitra-

tion. See Rosenberg, 170 F.3d at 20-21.

194

it a record suggesting that most successful arbitral claim-

ants were awarded fees and costs; we lack similar infor-

mation about how claimants fare under Green Tree’s

arbitration clause. Because the clause is silent on the

subject of arbitration fees and costs, Randolph might be

required to bear substantial costs of the arbitration even if

she were to prevail on her TILA claim.

Another distinguishable case is Doctor's Associates,

_ Inc. v. Stuart, 85 F.3d 975 (2d Cir.1996). There, the

defendants argued that an arbitration agreement was un-

conscionable and unenforceable because of high filing

fees and arbitrators’ costs. The Second Circuit held that

the agreement was not unconscionable. See Stuart, 85

F.3d at 980-81; see also Doctor’s Assocs., Inc. v. Hamil-

ton, 150 F.3d 157, 163 (2d Cir.1998) (relying on Stuart

to find an arbitration agreement enforceable in a similar

case, where the plaintiff's estimated total costs of arbitra-

tion were between $28,000 and $32,000). But the arbi-

tration clause in Stuart arose in the context of a commer-

cial franchise agreement, see Stuart, 85 F.3d at 977-78,

not a small consumer transaction (as in this case) or an

employment agreement (as in Paladino). It was chal-

lenged on the general grounds that the clause was uncon-

Scionable, whereas Randolph argues that the clause in

this case prevents her from vindicating specific statutory

rights under the TILA.

We conclude that the arbitration clause at issue here

is unenforceable. Because we decide the issue on this

ground, we need not decide whether the TILA precludes

all arbitration agreements.

IV. CONCLUSION

For these reasons, we REVERSE the district court’s

order and REMAND for further proceedings consistent

with this opinion.

20a

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

M.D. ALABAMA

NORTHERN DIVISION

No. 96-D-11-N

LARKETTA RANDOLPH, et al.,

9 Plaintiffs,

GREEN TREE FINANCIAL CorpP., et al.,

Defendants.

Nov. 26, 1997

MEMORANDUM OPINION AND ORDER

DE MENT, District Judge.

On January 25, 1994, Plaintiff Larketta Randolph pur-

chased a mobile home from Better Cents Home Builders,

Inc. in Opelika, Alabama. Randolph financed her pur-

chase through Green Tree Financial Corp.—Alabama.

Her financing documents required “vendors single inter-

est” insurance, which protects the vendor or lienholder

against the costs of repossession in the event of a default.

(See Pl.’s Am.Compl., Ex. A.) The installment contract

also contains an arbitration provision requiring the reso-

lution of disputes “arising from or relating to” the con-

tract.1 (See Pl.’s Am.Compl., Ex. B, 4 17.)

1The arbitration provision contained in Plaintiff’s installment

contract reads in pertinent part:

2la

On January 3, 1996, Randolph filed the instant action.

Her Complaint, as amended on December 10, 1996 and

September 29, 1997, seeks recovery from Green Tree

Financial Corp.—Alabama, Green Tree Financial Corp.,

and Green Tree Financial Servicing corporation (collec-

tively “Green Tree”)? under two theories: (1) violation

17. ARBITRATION: All disputes, claims or controversies

arising from or relating to this Contract or the relationships

which result from this Contract, or the validity of this arbitra-

tion clause or the entire contract, shall be resolved by binding

arbitration. ... This arbitration Contract is made pursuant to

a transaction in interstate commerce, and shall be governed by

the Federal Arbitration Act at 9 U.S.C.A. Section 1.... The

parties agree and understand that they choose arbitration in-

stead of litigation to resolve disputes. The parties understand

that they have a right or opportunity to litigate disputes

through a court, but that they prefer to resolve their disputes

through arbitration, except as provided herein. THE PAR-

TIES VOLUNTARILY AND KNOWINGLY WAIVE ANY

RIGHT THEY HAVE TO A JURY TRIAL EITHER PUR-

SUANT TO ARBITRATION UNDER THIS CLAUSE OR

PURSUANT TO A COURT ACTION BY ASSIGNEE (AS

PROVIDED HEREIN). The parties agree and understand

that all disputes arising under case law, statutory law, and all

other laws including, but not limit 1 to, all contract, tort and

property disputes will be subject ~~ binding arbitration in

accord with this Contract.

(See Compl., Ex. B) (emphasis in original).

Paragraph 16 of Plaintiff’s contract also states:

16. WAIVER OF JURY TRIAL. I hereby waive any right to

a trial by jury that I have in any subsequent litigation between

me and the seller, or me and any assignee of the Seller, where

such litigation arises out of, is related to, or is in connection

with any provisions of this Contract whether the Contract is

asserted as the basis for a claim, counterclaim, or cross claim,

or a defense to a claim, counterclaim, or cross claim.

(Id.)

2 The retail installment contract executed by Randolph identifies

Green Tree Corp. as the assignee. Green Tree—Alabama provides

contract services for, and is a wholly owned subsidiary of, Green

Tree Corp. Defendants contend that Green Tree Financial Servic-

22a

of the Truth In Lending Act (“TILA”) for failure to

disclose the “vendors single interest” requirement; and

(2) violation of the Equal Credit Opportunity Act

(“ECOA”) for requiring waiver of statutory causes of

action? Randolph also brings this action on behalf of a

similarly situated class. (Am.Compl. §§ 12-19.)

In lieu of an Answer, Green Tree filed a Motion To

Stay Action and Compel Arbitration, as well as several

subsequent briefs and memorandums in support thereof.

Pursuant to a request from the court, Green Tree filed

one consolidated pleading on October 31, 1997 styled

“Motion Of [Green Tree] to Compel Arbitration, Motion

To Stay, Or, In The Alternative, Motion To Dismiss And

ing Corporation was not involved with Randolph’s transaction, and

that its activities in Alabama have not involved consumer finance

transactions. Defendants submitted the Affidavit of Brian F. Corey

in support of these contentions. Plaintiff has not presented any

evidence in rebuttal, nor does the record disclose any evidence of

Green Tree Financial Servicing Corporation’s involvement in Ran-

dolph’s transaction, or, consequently, the propriety of it remaining

in this action. Accordingly, the court finds that Green Tree Finan-

cial Servicing Corporation is due to be dismissed from the above-

styled action. See Fed.R.Civ.P. 12(b)(6); Fed.R.Civ.P. 41(b).

3 Plaintiff has filed a total of three Complaints: her original on

January 3, 1996, a “Second Amended Complaint” on December 10,

1996, and an “Amended Complaint” on September 29, 1997. Her

Second Amended Complaint alleges that the “procurement of the

arbitration contract is a fraudulent scheme effectuated by the su-

perior bargaining power of defendant to prevent litigation, in that

it is placed in an inconspicuous place on the contract, and is there-

fore void and unenforceable.” (PI.’s Second Am.Compl. 12.) Her

Second Amended Complaint alleges that this “fraudulent scheme”

amounts to fraud in the inducement of the arbitration contract.

(Id. 29-33.) In her subsequent Amended Complaint, however,

Plaintiff does not reallege any fraudulent scheme on the part of

Green Tree, nor do her subsequent pleadings on dispositive motions

address this contention. The sole issue before the court, however,

is the enforceability of the arbitration provision in Plaintiff’s con-

tract, not the merits of Plaintiff’s Complaint.

23a.

Brief In Support Thereof.” (“Defs.’ Consolidated Mot.”)

These Motions are the subject of this Memorandum Opin-

ion and Order. After careful consideration of the argu-

ments of counsel, relevant law, and the record as a whole,

the court finds that the collective Green Tree Motion To

Compel Arbitration is due to be granted. Rather than

stay this action, however, the court finds that dismissal

with prejudice is appropriate. Accordingly, the court

finds that the collective Green Tree Motion To Stay Ac-

tion is due to be denied, but that the Motion To Dismiss

is due to be granted. Finally, the court finds that Green

Tree Financial Servicing Corp. is due to be dismissed as a

party to this action.

JURISDICTION

The court properly exercises subject matter jurisdiction

pursuant to 28 U.S.C.A. § 1331 (federal question) and

15 U.S.C.A. § 1640. The parties do not contest personal

jurisdiction or venue.

DISCUSSION

Section 2 of the Federal Arbitration Act (“FAA”)

provides that a written agreement to arbitrate in a con-

tract involving interstate commerce “shall be valid, irre-

vocable, and enforceable, save upon such grounds as exist

at law or in equity for the revocation of any contract.” 4

9 US.C.A. § 2. The effect of § 2 is “to create a body of

4The parties do not contest the question of whether Plaintiffs’

contract in this action satisfies the nexus to interstate commerce

requirement of the FAA. (See Pl.’s Opp. at 6, n.2; Defs.’ Con-

solidated Mot. at 2-8.) Accordingly, the court finds that for the

purposes of this Memorandum Opinion and Order, Plaintiff’s con-

tract satisfies this jurisdictional prerequisite of the FAA. Sce gen-

erally, Allied-Bruce Terminix Companies, Inc. v. Dobson, 513 US.

265, 115 S.Ct. 834, 180 L.Ed.2d 753 (1995) ; Staples v. Money Tree,

Inc., 936 F.Supp. 856 (M.D.Ala. 1996).

24a i

federal substantive law of arbitrability, applicable to any

arbitration agreement within the coverage of the Act.”

Moses H. Cone Memorial Hosp. v. Mercury Constr. Corp.,

460 US. 1, 24, 103 S.Ct. 927, 74 L.Ed.2d 765 (1983).

Section 3 provides for the stay of proceedings in federal

district courts when an issue in the proceedings is refer-

able to arbitration. 9 U.S.C.A. § 3. Section 4 provides

for orders compelling arbitration when one party has

failed, neglected, or refused to comply with an arbitration

agreement. 9 U.S.C.A. § 4.

Whether an arbitration provision is enforceable, as op-

posed to the merits of the underlying dispute, is a ques-

tion for the court. Dean Witter Reynolds, Inc. v. Byrd,

470 U.S. 213, 218, 105 S.Ct. 1238, 84 L.Ed.2d 158

(1985); Kelly v. Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith,

Inc., 985 F.2d 1067 (11th Cir.1993). Any doubts about

the scope of arbitrable issues should be resolved in favor

of arbitration, even if the result is piecemeal litigation.

See Byrd, 470 U.S. at 218-21; Moses H. Cone, 460 U.S.

at 24; Kelly, 985 F.2d at 1069.

In enacting the FAA, Congress manifested a “liberal

federal policy favoring arbitration agreements.” Gilmer

v. Interstate/Johnson Lane Corp., 500 U.S. 20, 25, 111

S.Ct. 1647, 114 L.Ed.2d 26 (quoting Moses H. Cone, 460

U.S. at 24). The Act’s purpose “was to reverse the long-

standing judicial hostility to arbitration agreements that

had existed at English common law and had been adopted

by American courts, and to place arbitration agreements

upon the same footing as other contracts.” Jd. at 24.

Therefore, “questions of arbitrability must be addressed

with a healthy regard for the federal policy favoring ar-

bitration,” Moses H. Cone, 460 U.S. at 24, and courts

must “rigorously enforce agreements to arbitrate.” Byrd,

470 US. at 221.

25a

Even with this strong federal policy in mind, however,

arbitration is a matter of contract, and a party cannot be

compelled to arbitrate any claims which he or she has

not agreed to submit to arbitration. AT & T Technolo-

gies, Inc. v. Communications Workers of Am., 475 U.S.

643, 648, 106 S.Ct. 1415, 89 L.Ed.2d 648 (1986). Ac-

cordingly, “as with any other contract, the parties’ in-

tentions control, but those intentions are generously con-

Strued as to issues of arbitrability.” Mitsubishi Motors

Corp. v. Soler Chrysler-Plymouth, Inc., 473 US. 614,

627, 105 S.Ct. 3346, 87 L.Ed.2d 444 (1985). Section

2 of the FAA allows courts to give relief where the party

Opposing arbitration presents “well Supported claims that

the agreement to arbitrate resulted from the sort of fraud

or overwhelming economic power that would provide

grounds ‘for the revocation of any contract.’” Rodriguez

De Quijas v. Shearson/ American Express, Inc., 490 U.S.

477, 483-84, 109 S.Ct. 1917, 104 L.Ed.2d 526 (1989)

(quoting Mitsubishi Motors, 473 US. at 627; 9 U.S.C.A.

§ 2).

Plaintiff bears the burden of demonstrating why the

arbitration agreement in this action should not bind the

parties, Shearson/American Express, Inc. y. McMahon,

482 U.S. 220, 225-26, 107 S.Ct. 2332, 96 L.Ed2d 185

(1987), and raises several grounds as to why the court

should not compel arbitration. Alternatively, Plaintiff

requests that the court certify a class before ordering

arbitration.

I. Enforcement Of The Arbitration Provision Is Not

Statutorily Barred

A. Background

Plaintiff contends that Green Tree’s actions both in

requiring “vendors single interest” insurance and in re-

quiring arbitration of her claims violates her rights under

26a

the TILA and #ke ECOA. Plaintiff's first argument is that

requiring “vendors single interest” insurance “imposes an

extra charge for insurance each year in the approximate

amount of $15.00 and constitutes a clear violation of the

[TILA],” because this charge was not disclosed.> (PI's

Opp. at 1.) The TILA requires the disclosure of certain

credit charges articulated in the Act. See 15 US.C.A.

§ 1601, et seq.

Additionally, Plaintiff contends that under 15 U.S.C A.

§ 1691(a)(3), a provision of the ECOA, “a consumer

who wishes to reserve the right to iudicial redress for such

violations cannot be denied credit.” (Pl.’s Opp. at 11.)

Plaintiff further cites regulation B implementing the

ECOA. which she contends “prohibits presenting terms

which violate the Act to a consumer in such a manner

as to convey the impression to a reasonable consumer that

thev are mandatory.” (PI.’s Renlv at 3 (citire 12 C.F R

§ 902.4(1). Commentarv).) Plaintiff argues that “in order

to finance with Green Tree. it is necessary to eybmit all

dicnntes .. . to arbitration.” (PI.’s Renlv at 1.) Accord-

ingly, “[blv reaviring consumers to sign a contract waiv-

ing statutory causes of action, Green Tree violates {the

ECOAI which prohibits a creditor from requiring 1 waiver

of rights.” (Am Compl. € 27.) Ecsentiallv. Plaintiff con-

5 Plaintiff contends that: (1) “Green Tree is a creditor within

the meaning of TILA;” (2) “The notes and security instruments

signed by plaintiff and borrowers for the purchase of mobile homes

were extensions of credit subject to TILA ;” (3) “The requirement

that insurance policies contain provisions covering Green Tree’s

possible repossession expenses are credit charges as defined by

TILA and occur annually when each policy is renewed ;” and (4)

“No TILA disclosures are given by Green Tree.” (See Am.Compl.

{| 21-23.) Green Tree does not rebut these contentions and instead

only addresses the merits of the arbitration issue. In this Memo-

randum Opinion and Order, however, the court only addresses the

question of whether Plaintiff may be compelled to arbitrate her

claims, not the merits of the underlying claims themselves.

27a

tends that “{a] creditor may not condition the ex-

tension of consumer credit upon the consumer’s waiving

his right to judicial redress for violations of [TILA].”

(Pl.’s Opp. at 19; see also Pl.’s Reply at 1.) In other

words, “a creditor cannot insist that the consumer sign

a predispute arbitration clause covering claims under

[TILA].” (Pl.’s Opp. at 12.).

Hence, Plaintiff contends that because Green Tree fails

to disclose the “vendors single interest” requirement in its

TILA disclosures, she is entitled to damages, including

attorney’s fees and litigation expenses pursuant to 15

U.S.C.A. § 1640. (Am.Compl. at 6.) She requests simi-

lar damages for the alleged ECOA violations. (Am.

Compl. at 7.)

Green Tree argues that “[e]nforcement of arbitration in

the context of TILA claims does not run afoul of any

of the provisions of the [ECOA]. Plaintiff has available to

her the full panoply of rights granted by the ECOA, and

the only limitation imposed is that her remedies be pur-

sued in arbitration rather than in the judicial arena.”

(Defs.’ Consolidated Mot. at 3.)

B. Analysis

In determining whether Congress intended to preclude

waiver of judicial remedies, the Supreme Court has pre-

scribed a two-step inquiry. First, the court must determine

whether the Parties’ agreement to arbitrate reaches the

Statutory issues, and then, upon finding it does, the court

must consider whether legal constraints external to the

Parties’ agreement foreclosed the arbitration of those

claims. Mitsubishi Motors, 473 U.S. at 629; see also Mc-

Mahon, 482 U.S. at 226-27.

As for the first prong of the Mitsubishi Motors test, and

resolving all doubts in favor of arbitration, Byrd, 470 U.S.

28a

at 218-21; Moses H. Cone, 460 U.S. at 24; Kelly, 985

F.2d at 1069, the court finds that the arbitration provision

at issue here reaches the statutory issues. The arbitration

provision provides for binding arbitration of “{ajll dis-

putes, claims or controversies arising from or relating to

this Contract or the relationships which result from this

Contract, or the validity of this arbitration clauses or the

entire contract.” (See supra, n. 1.) The provision also

provides that “[t]he parties agree and understand that all

disputes arising under case law, statutory law, and all

other laws, including, but not limited to, all contract, tort

and property disputes will be subject to binding arbitration

in accord with this Contract.” Jd. The court finds the

terms of the provision to be sufficiently broad to encom-

pass Plaintiff's TILA, ECOA, and other claims in this

suit, notwithstanding Plaintiffs’ protestations that the pro-

vision does not specifically reference applicable statutes.

(Pl.’s Reply at 4); see, e.g. Green Tree v. Lipham, CV-

96-D-208-N (M.D.AI=.1997) (De Ment, J.) (broadly

construing same provision at issue here); Ex parte Isbell,

1997 WL 531100 (Ala., August 29, 1997) (same); Ex

parte Gates, 675 So.2d 371 (Ala.1996) (same); see also

McCarthy v. Providential Corp., 1994 WL 387852 (N.D.

Cal. July 19, 1994) (enforcing arbitration provision ap-

plicable to “any controversy or claim arising out of or re-

lating to” loan documents even though it did not speci-

fiically reference any federal statute); Lopez v. Plaza Fi-

nance Co., 1996 WL 210073 (N.D.IIl. April 25, 1996)

(similar).

As for the second prong of the Mitsubishi Motors anal-

ysis, in McMahon, the Supreme Court stated that “[t]he

Arbitration Act, standing alone, . . . mandates enforce-

ment of agreements to arbitrate statutory claims.” 482

US. at 226. Indeed, as the Mitsubishi Motors court noted:

29a

By agreeing to arbitrate a statutory claim, a party

does not forgo the substantive rights afforded by the

strtute; it only submits to their resolution in an ar-

bitral, rather than a judicial, forum. It trades the

procedures and opportunity for review of the court-

room for the simplicity, informality, and expedition

of arbitration. We must assume that if Congress in-

tended the substantive protection afforded by a given

statute to include protection against waiver of the

right to a judicial forum, the intention will be de-

ductible from text or legislative history.®

Mitsubishi Motors, 473 U.S. at 628. The Supreme Court

found “no warrant in the Arbitration Act for implying in

every contract within its ken a presumption against ar-

bitration of statutory claims.” Jd. at 625.

Even though there is no presumption against the arbit-

rability of statutory claims, and courts are to “rigorously

enforce agreements to arbitrate,” Byrd, 470 U.S. at 221,

the party opposing arbitration may show that “Congress

intended to preclude a waiver of judicial remedies for the

statutory rights at issue,” and avoid arbitration. Mc-

Mahon, 482 US. at 227. “If Congress did intend to limit

or prohibit waiver of a judicial forum for a particular

claim, such an intent ‘will be deductible from [the stat-

ute’s] text or legislative history,’ . . . or from an inherent

conflict between arbitration and the statute’s underlying

6 See also Gilmer, 500 U.S. at 28 (holding that claims arising

under the Age Discrimination In Employment Act may be subject

to arbitration); Rodriguez de Quijas, 490 U.S. at 480-83 (holding

that claims arising under § 12(a)(2) of the Securities Act of 1933,

15 U.S.C.A. § 77l(a) (2), may be subject to arbitration) ; McMahon,

482 U.S. at 238-42 (holding that claims arising under the Racketeer

Influenced and Corrupt Organizations Act, 18 U.S.C.A. §§ 1961-

1968, may be subject to arbitration) ; Mitsubishi Motors, 473 U.S.

at 629 (holding that claims arising under the Sherman Act, 15

U.S.C.A. §§ 1-7, may be subject to arbitration).

- 30a

purpose.” /d. (citing Mitsubishi Motors, 473 U.S. at

632-37; Byrd, 470 U.S. at 217). Accordingly, Plaintiff

must show that Congress intended to preclude a waiver of

judicial remedies from either the text of the statute(s),

their legislative histories, or from an inherent conflict be-

tween arbitration and the statutes’ underlying purposes.

Id. at 227; see also Gilmer, 500 U.S. at 26-27. Green

Tree argues, and the court agrees, that Plaintiff does not

meet her burden.

First, Plaintiff does not cite any provision of the text

or legislative history of either the TILA or the ECOA

that expressly precludes waiver of judicial remedies. In

other words, Plaintiff has not shown that Congress in-

tended for all disputes arising thereunder to be resolved

solely by the courts. Instead, Plaintiffs’ principal argu-

ment is based on her perceived conflict between arbitra-

tion and the statutes’ underlying purpose: “[u]nder TILA,

a consumer has a statutory right to judicial redress, in-

cluding the right to bring a class action.” (Pl.’s Opp. at

11 (citing 15 U.S.C.A. § 1640).) The possibility of class-

action exposure, argues Plaintiff, “ ‘is essential to the pro-

phylactic intent of the Act, and is necessary to elevate

truth-in-lending lawsuits from the ineffective nuisance

category to the type of suit which has enough sting to

insure that management will strive with diligence to

achieve compliance.’” (Pl.’s Opp. at 12 (citing Banto-

lina v. Aloha Motors, 419 F.Supp. 1116, 1120 (D.Haw.

1976);) see also Pl.’s Reply at 1-2). Plaintiff argues that

“flew, if any, borrowers will submit claims to arbitration

in this amount [$15-20 per year]. The purpose of the

Truth in Lending Act will thus be completely thwarted

by allowing an arbitration clause to stand.” (PI.’s Reply

at 2-3.)

Further, Plaintiff argues that under 15 U.S.C.A. § 1691.

“a consumer who wishes to reserve the right to judicial

3la

redress for such violations cannot be denied credit.”

(Pl.’s Opp. at 11.) Section 1691 provides in pertinent

part:

(a) It shall be unlawful for any creditor to dis-

criminate against any applicant, with respect to

any aspect of a credit transaction—

(3) because the applicant has in good faith exer-

cised any right under this chapter.

15 U.S.C.A. § 1691(a)(3). Plaintiff contends that this

provision prevents a creditor from requiring a consumer

to waive their “statutory right” to judicial redress under

the TILA. (PIl.’s Opp. at 11-12.) Because of this “statu-

tory right,” Plaintiff contends that “a creditor cannot dis-

criminate with respect to the extension of credit if the con-

sumer insists on preserving the right to seek judicial re-

dress.” In essence, Plaintiff's argument is that “a creditor

cannot insist that the consumer sign a predispute arbitra-

tion clause covering claims under [TILA].” (Pl.’s Opp.

at 12.)

As an initial matter, the court notes that contrary to

Plaintiffs’ assertion, a creditor insisting that a consumer

sign a predispute arbitration clause is not similar to a

creditor discriminating with respect to the extension of

credit if the consumer insists on preserving the right to

seek judicial redress. (See Id. at 12.) Indeed, Plaintiff

apparently recognizes as much when she argues that

Green Tree admits that: “fI]f Plaintiff had asked to

obtain credit without an arbitration clause so she could

nursue rights under TILA and been denied, plaintiff would

have an ECOA claim.’ (PIl.’s Reply at 3.) It is important

7Green Tree contends that contrary to Plaintiff's assertion, it

does not “admit” to anything. (Defs.’ Consolidated Mot. at 27,

n. 9.) Regardless of this dispute, the court merely utilizes Plain-

tiff’s statement to show that Plaintiff recognizes the distinction

between a creditor bargaining for an arbitration provision in its

32a

to note that Plaintiff’s statutory argument is not that she

was denied credit because she refused to sign an arbitra-

tion clause. Rather, Plaintiff concedes that she signed the

contract with the arbitration provision. Her contention

is merely that arbitration should not be required under

the TILA and the ECOA3

A creditor can bargain for any provision in a contract,

including an arbitration provision, as long as it is legal

or does not violate public policy. A consumer who volun-

tarily enters into a contract with a creditor is bound by

the terms and conditions of that contract, assuming no

applicable legal or equitable conditions work to render

the contract void or voidable. The situation where a con-

sumer enters into a contract containing an arbitration pro-

vision, and thus precludes judicial remedies, is much dif-

ferent from the consumer being denied credit because he

or she refuses to sign a contract with an arbitration pro-

vision. In this action, Green Tree is merely attempting to

enforce a predispute arbitration provision. Contrary to

Plaintiffs suggestions in her pleadings, she does not argue

that she was forced to sign an arbitration provision against

her will, or that she was denied credit because she refused

to sign a contract with an arbitration provision. She

merely contends that requiring arbitration, even though

she signed a contract agreeing to arbirate, would violate

the underlying purpose of TILA in two ways: (1) by

precluding class action litigation as provided for in the

statute: and (2) by thwarting the underlying consumer

protection purposes of the Act.

Plaintiff relies on the provisions of 15 U.S.C.A. § 1640

for the proposition that because Congress provided for

contract, and a creditor refusing to extend credit to a consumer

because the consumer refuses to accede to an arbitration provision.

8 Plaintiff also proffers various contractual grounds for not en-

forcing the arbitration provision which the court addressess infra.

—————————

33a

class actions under the TILA, Green Tree cannot condi-

tion credit on preclusion of class actions or other judicial

remedies. Plaintiff also contends that 15 U.S.C.A. § 1691

(a)(3) prohibits the conditioning of the extension of

credit on a consumer’s waiver of rights provided under

the TILA and other consumer protection statutes. How-

ever, § 1640 does not create a “statutory right” to pursue

class action litigation or other judicial redress, as Plaintiff

contends. Section 1640 merely provides for jurisdictional

requirements and liability limitations. See 15 U.S.C.A.

§ 1640; see also Lopez, 1996 WL 210073 at *3; Trucken-

brodt v. First Alliance Mortgage Co., 1996 WL 422150

(N.D.11.1996). Providing for class action litigation does

not necessarily preclude any other type of dispute resolv-

tion or provide Plaintiff with a substantive “right.” As the

Gilmer court noted: “the fact that the [statute] provides

for the possibility of bringing a collective action does not

mean that individual attempts at conciliation were in-

tended to be barred.” 500 US. at 32.

The underlying purposes of a statute may, however,

preclude waiver of class claims, regardless of contractual

provisions entered into between the parties. See Mitsu-

bishi Motors, 473 U.S. at 632-37; Byrd, 470 US. at 217.

But, a statute containing provisions governing class action

litigation, without more, does not provide a plaintiff with

the substantive right to bring her claims as the repre-

sentative of a similiarly situated class. The Supreme Court

addressed this argument in Gilmer, where, in the context

of the Age Discrimination In Employment Act, it stated

that submitting a claim to arbitration does not operate to

waive the consumer’s rights: “By agreeing to arbitrate a

statutory claim, a party does not forgo the substantive

rights afforded by the statute; it only submits to their

resolution in an arbitral, rather than a judicial forum.”

Gilmer, 500 U.S. at 26; see also Rodriguez de Quijas, 490

34a

U.S. at 480; McMahon, 482 U.S. at 229-30. Congress

did not explicitly preclude arbitration or other nonjudicial

resolution of TILA and/or ECOA claims, and Plaintiff

has not shown such intention discernible from the text or

legislative history.

Additionally, permitting binding arbitration of these

Statutory claims is consistent with statutory provisions,

such as 15 U.S.C.A. § 1640(e), that grant concurrent

State and federal jurisdiction for hearimg such claims.

Where Congress provides for alternate fora, it does not

necessarily follow that Congress intended tto preclude fora

not specifically provided for in the statutte. Nor does it

follow that Congress intended to limit fora to only those

specifically enunciated. Unless otherwise indicated, Con-

gress is merely providing procedural avenues of redress

that do not necessarily preclude other avenues; Congress

is not providing a substantive right to pursue a class ac-

tion. As the Gilmer court noted: “arbitration agreements,

‘like the provision for concurrent jurisdiction, serve to ad-

vance the objective of allowing [claimants] a broader

right to select the forum for resolving disputes, whether it

be judicial or otherwise.’” 500 U.S. at 29 (quoting Rod-

riguez de Quijas, 490 U.S. at 483). Cliass actions are

procedural devices, while “arbitration is contractual and

therefore substantive.” Sanders v. Robinson Humphrey/

American Exp. Inc., 634 F.Supp. 1048, 1065 (N.D.Ga.

1986), aff'd in part, Kirkpatrick v. J.C. Bradford & Co.,

827 F.2d 718, 725 n. 5 (11th Cir.1987) (noting the

Supreme Court’s holding in McMahon precluding class

treatment of plaintiffs subject to an arbitration agree-

ment). Procedural devices may not supersede substantive

rights. Jd.

The court finds unpersuasive Plaintiff's reliance on

case law holding that § 1691(a)(3) bars a creditor from

conditioning an extension of credit on the release of po-

354

tential claims for TILA violations arising in the past.

(Pl.’s Opp. at 12-14.) In this regard, Plaintiff relies

heavily on Parker v. DeKalb Chrysler Plymouth, 673 F.2d

1178 (11th Cir.1982). In that case, the sole issue be-

fore the Eleventh Circuit was “whether a general release

discharging [a creditor] from any claims arising out of the

purchase of an automobile constitutes a valid waiver of

(Plaintiff's) claims under TILA.” Jd. at 1179. More

specifically, the court was solely addressing the question

of “whether a person may waive a TILA claim.” Id. at

1180 (emphasis added). The court held that under the

Jacts of that case, the particular release executed by the

Plaintiff did not bar a claim under TILA. 7d. at 1182.

Although it discussed the statutory purpose behind TILA,

the court specifically held only that the plaintiff's release

“{did] not bar her TILA claim because we are convinced

that she was unaware that the release encompassed her

TILA rights.” Id. (emphasis added). The court did not

explicitly base its holding on the underlying purpose of

the TILA, but rather on the plaintiff’s level of knowledge.

As Green Tree notes, “there is a vast distinction be-

tween an instrument which completely absolves a creditor

from liability for a previously committed TILA violation

(a release) and an instrument which preserves the

debtor’s rights to pursue future claims against the cred-

itor but prescribes that these claims be resolved by arbi-

tration (an arbitration clause).” (Defs.’ Consolidated

Mot. at 14.) Preclusion of a claim through a release is

fundamentally different from an arbitration provision spe-

cifying the particular forum for resolution of a claim.

The former prevents a claim from being brought at all;

the latter merely provides the forum for its resolution—

it does not preclude the consumer from bringing a claim.

See Gilmer, 500 U.S. at 26; see also Rodriguez de Quijas,

490 U.S. at 480; McMahon, 482 US. at 229-30.

36a

In that context—the preclusion of bringing a TILA

claim—the Parker court noted that:

The public benefits from enforcement of TILA be-

cause it creates a system of disclosure that improves

the bargaining posture of all borrowers. To ensure

the realization of this goal, Congress granted con-

sumers a minimum recovery, plus costs and reason-

able attorney’s fees, without having to prove actual

damages. ... This type of remedy provides a deter-

rent comparable to exemplary damages because it

encourages individuals to bring TILA actions and

discourages noncompliance. Strict technical compli-

ance, regardless of actual injury, promotes the stand-

ardization of credit terms for the benefit of all bor-

rowers, not just the individual claimant.

Not only does TILA contemplate a public inter-

est in the enforcement of individual rights, but the

public must rely largely on the efforts of individual

consumers acting as “private attorneys general” to

achieve the disclosure system envisioned by the Act.

... If these private attorneys general are permitted

to waive TILA claims in circumstances such as those

presented in this case, the public interest in Ceterring

inconsistent and undecipherable lending practices

would be greatly hampered. The significance of this

possibility becomes clearer when we consider that

the confusion, and perhaps ignorance, that has led

consumers in the past to accept draconian credit

terms leaves them equally vulnerable when the len-

der gives them a general release of prospective

claims to sign. The Truth In Lending Act was nec-

essary exactly because borrowers could not force

creditors to provide voluntarily a system of credit

within which consumers could function intelligently.

AREA OM HEN IRR RYN wR EN AN OR TN RAUL RANTIM INL oe Se SS

37a

Parker, 673 F.2d at 1181 (citations omitted). Signifi-

cantly, the Parker court spoke only of the conflict be-

tween a release and the underlying purposes of the TILA.

Noticeably absent from the above quoted passage is any

discussion of conflict, actual or apparent, between arbi-

tration and the TILA’s underlying purpose. As noted,

a release precludes claims; in contrast, an arbitration pro-

vision merely prescribes the forum for hearing those

claims. See also Kelly vy. UHC Management, Co., Inc.,

967 F.Supp. 1240, 1258 (N.D. Ala.1997) (noting dis-

tinction between a complete release of liability and an

arbitration provision’s mere choice of forum).

Plaintiff also relies on Parker for the proposition that

“TILA is imbued with a public purpose with individuals

and their attorneys serving as private attorneys-general.

The specific grant of the right to bring class action litiga-

tion is part of enforcing that public purpose. ... {T]he

removal of class action relief through arbitration would

in essence eliminate compliance with TILA.” (Pl.’s Re-

ply at 4.) A close reading of Parker, however, shows that

the Eleventh Circuit noted that to “ensure realization”

of the enforcement of TILA’s system of disclosure (com-

pliance), “Congress granted consumers a minimum re-

covery, plus costs and reasonable attorney’s fees, without

having to prove actual damages. 15 U.S.C. § 1640(a).

This type of remedy provides a deterrent comparable to

exemplary damages because it encourages individuals to

bring TILA actions and discourage non-compliance.

Strict technical compliance, regardless of actual injury,

promotes the standardization of credit terms for the bene-

fit of all borrowers, not just the individual claimant.”

Parker, 673 F.2d at 1181.

Thus, although the language of Parker could be con-

strued to support the assertion that class action litigation

acts to ensure compliance in addition to the provisions

38a

for minimum recovery without having to prove actual

damages, the Eleventh Circuit has not expressly so held

An equally logical reading of the class action provisions

of the TILA, absent Parker, could be that because they

provide for limits on recovery in class actions, Congress

was actually concerned with consumers inundating credi-

tors with class actions and securing large recoveries, and

thus § 1640 was enacted to actually protect creditors as

opposed to ensuring compliance with the Act as Plaintiff

contends.

The court emphasizes that it is not indicating that this

was the actual intent of Congress. Parker, however, is

essentially inapplicable to the facts of this action. The

Eleventh Circuit addressed a preclusion of claims through

a release rather than an arbitration provision’s prescrip-

tion of a forum for hearing those claims. Further, the

Eleventh Circuit limited its holding in Parker to the facts

of the case before it. Parker, 673 F.2d at 1182. Con-

sequently, Parker falls out of the analysis, and the court

is left with Plaintiff's bare assertion, without supporting

authority, of what she perceives to be the Congressional

intent behind § 1640. While it is true that compliance

with TILA, and realization of its deterrent effect, is even

more likely if creditors are subject to class actions in

addition to Plaintiffs not being required to show actual

damages, Plaintiff fails to cite any compelling evidence

in support of her position. Absent such evidence, the

court finds that Plaintiff has failed to meet her burden of

showing why the arbitration provision in her contract

should not be enforced.®

9 Plaintiff also cites Prudential Ins. Co. v. Lai, 42 F.3d 1299

(9th Cir. 1994) in support of her position. The court deems it

sufficient to note that: (1) the factual situation in Lai was far

removed from the facts of this case, and are not analogous; (2)

Lai is not binding precedent in this Circuit; and (3) a multitude of

39a

II. Plaintiff's Contractual Arguments Fail

As noted supra, “arbitration is a matter of contract,

and a party cannot be required to submit to arbitration

any dispute which he has not agreed so to submit.”

United Steelworkers v. Warrior & Gulf Navig. Co., 363

U.S. 574, 582, 80 S.Ct. 1347, 4 L.Ed.2d 1409 (1960);

see also, Volt Info. Sciences, Inc. y. Board of Trustees,

489 U.S. 468, 479, 109 S.Ct. 1248, 103 L.Ed.2d 488

(1989) (citing Byrd, 470 USS. at 219); AT & T Tech.,

475 U.S. at 648. Plaintiffs contends that there is no

consideration for the arbitration clause in her financing

documents because the arbitration clause requires the con-

sumer to arbitrate all suits, but gives Green Tree the

option of using judicial or non-judicial relief to enforce

a security agreement. (PI.’s Reply at 5; Pl.’s Opp. at 15.)

In other words, the arbitration provision “requires the

consumer to arbitrate everything but does not require

Green Tree to arbitrate anything.” (Pl.’s Opp. at 15-16.)

Plaintiff also contends that she did not knowingly agree

to arbitrate her statutory claims. (PI.’s Opp. at 20.)

Plaintiff argues that “a litigant can only be required to

arbitrate a federal Statutory claim ‘if she has knowingly

agreed to submit such disputes to arbitration.’ ” (7d.

(quoting Lai, 42 F.3d at 1305).) In response, Green

Tree admits that a contract generally requires considera-

tion, but argues that the provision at issue in this action

was amply supported by consideration. Green Tree also

contends that Plaintiff did, in fact, knowingly agree to

arbitrate her claims.

Because Plaintiff's contractua! arguments are directed

exclusively to the arbitration provisions, and not to her

courts have either limited Lai’s holding or restricted its applica-

tion. (See Defs.’ Consolidated Mot. at 16, n.4, and accompanying

text.)

40a

contract as a whole, the court may properly address these

issues. See Prima Paint Corp. v. Flood Conklin Mfg.

Co., 388 U.S. 395, 87 S.Ct. 1801, 18 L.Ed.2d 1270

(1967); Wheat, First Securities, Inc. v. Green, 993 F.2d

814 (11th Cir.1993); Boyd v. Homes of Legend, Inc.,

981 F.Supp. 1423, 1441-42 (M.D.Ala.1997). In doing

so, the court applies state law governing the formation of

contracts, keeping in mind the strong federal policy favor-

ing arbitration. See First Options of Chicago v. Kaplan,

514 U.S. 938, 115 S.Ct. 1920, 131 L.Ed.2d 985 (1995);

Volt Info., 489 U.S. at 468; American Express Fin. Ad-

visors v. Makareiwicz, 122 F.3d 936, 940 (11th Cir.

1997); Roberson v. Money Tree of Ala., 954 F.Supp.

1519, 1528 (M.D.Ala.1997).

A. The Arbitration Provision Is Supported By Consid-

eration

Plaintiff contends that the arbitration provision requires

the consumer to arbitrate everything, but does not re-

quire Green Tree to arbitrate anything. (Pl.’s Opp. at

15-16.) Pursuant to Hull v. Norcom, Inc., 750 F.2d

1547 (11th Cir.1985), Plaintiff argues such “one-way”

arbitration clauses are not enforceable. (/d.) Plaintiff's

consideration argument, essentially, is that the arbitration

provision is unenforceable for lack of mutuality of obli-

gation. See WMX Technologies, Inc. v. Jackson, 932

F.Supp. 1372, 1374 (M.D. Ala.1996) (“mutuality of ob-

ligation is properly viewed as an elaboration of the con-

cept of consideration”).

In Hull, the Eleventh Circuit, utilizing New York law,

addressed an arbitration agreement that required one

party to arbitrate but left the other party free to choose

between arbitration and judicial enforcement. 750 F.2d

at 1549-50. The Eleventh Circuit held that under New

York contract law, “the consideration exchanged for one

4la

Party’s promise to arbitrate must be the other party’s

Promise to arbitrate at least some specified class of claims.

Mere presence of an arbitration clause is insufficient to

enforce the arbitration provision.” Jd. at 1550. New

York law required mutuality; an arbitration provision was

unenforceable unless both parties to the contract ex-

changed reciprocal promises to arbitrate.

Hulls mutuality requirement, based on New York law,

has not been widely acepted. Indeed, New York itself

has subsequently overruled its mutuality requirement. See

Sablosky v. Edward S. Gordon Co., 73 N.Y.2d 133, 538

N.Y.S.2d 513, 535 N.E.2d 643, 646 (1989) (“mutuality

of remedy is not required in arbitration contracts. If

there is consideration for the entire agreement that is suffi-

cient; the consideration supports the arbitration option, as

it does every other obligation in the agreement”); see also

Latifi v. Sousa, 1996 WL 735260 at *5 ( recognizing

same and quoting Design Benefit Plans, Inc. vy. Enright,

940 F.Supp. 200, 204 (N.D. 111.1996) (“as far as New

York law is concerned, Hull is no longer good law”) ).

Latifi also notes Hull’s lackluster reception in a multitude

of jurisdictions, including distinguishment on the grounds

that Hull’s mutuality requirement was unique to New

York state, or outright rejection of its holding. See Latifi,

1996 WL 735260 at *4; see also Kelly, 967 F.Supp. at

1259 (declining to follow Hull because New York law

was inapplicable); W.L. Jorden & Co. v. Blythe Ind.,

Inc., 702 F.Supp. 282, 284 (N.D. Ga.1988) (same).

Because the Hull court was following New York law, and

Alabama law is applicable in the instant action, Plain-

tiff’s reliance on Hull is misplaced.

Contrary to Plaintiff's assertions, Alabama law is not

similar to pre-Sablosky New York law, the law interpreted

in Hull; in Alabama, mutuality in arbitration provisions

is not required. Under Alabama law, mutuality:

42a

[D]oes not mean equal rights under the contract, or

that each party is entitled to the same rights or cove-

nants under the contact. So long as there is a valu-

able consideration moving from one side to the other,

or there are binding promises on the part of each

party to the other, there is adequate consideration

for a valid contract.

Marcrum v. Embry, 291 Ala. 400, 282 So.2d 49 (1973).

“If there is consideration, there need to be” mutuality of

obligation. Sherrill v. Alabama Appliance Co., 240 Ala.

46, 197 So. 1 (1940). Further, in a recent decision, the

Alabama Supreme Court acknowledged that no severable

or identical consideration is required for an arbitration

provision to be enforceable. Northcom, Ltd. v. James, 694

So.2d 1329, 1335-36 (Ala.1997). The court merely re-

quired ample consideration between the parties in the

contract the arbitration provision governs. /d.; see also

Goodwin v. Ford Motor Credit Co., 970 F.Supp. 1007,

1011 (M.D.Ala.1997).

Alabama contract law does not require mutuality—

“equal or reciprocal consideration is not required... . So.

under Alabama law, even a unilateral arbitration agree-

ment is enforceable, so long as the contract in which it is

contained contains some consideration given by each side.”

Latifi, 1996 WL 735260 at *5 (citing in accord WMX

Technologies, 932 F.Supp. at 1375). Having noted that

Plaintiff's contentions are unsupported by Hull or by Ala-

bama law, the court finds that the contract between the

parties at issue here—and consequently the arbitration

provision contained therein—is supported by ample con-

sideration. There are mutually enforceable promises in

the contract. Plaintiff's argument accordingly fails.

43a

B. Plaintiff Knowingly Consented To Arbitration

Plaintiff contends that “a litigant can only be required

to arbitrate a federal Statutory claim if ‘she knowingly

agreed to submit such disputes to arbitration.’ ” (P1.’s

Opp. at 20 (citing Lai, 42 F.3d at 1305) (emphasis

added).) She argues that Parker supports her contentions

because the Eleventh Circuit “held that a release was in-

effective to bar plaintiff's TILA claim ‘because we are con-

vinced that she was unaware that the release encom-

passed her TILA rights.’” (Jd. at 20-22 (citing Parker,

673 F.2d at 1182) (emphasis added).) Essentially, Plain-

tiff is arguing that she has to have “knowledge” of any

“right” that she is waiving.

Green Tree contends that “if Plaintiff did not know of

the existence of the arbitration provision, it was because

she did not take the time to read the installment contract.”

(Defs.’ Consolidated Mot. at 47.) Green Tree points to

portions of Plaintiff's deposition which it contends estab-

lishes that “any lack of knowledge on her part was not

because she could not have read and understood the ar-

bitration clause when she entered into it but, instead, was

because of her lack of diligence in taking the time to read

the contract when she signed.” (Jd. at 48.)

In arguing that Parker precludes enforcement of the

arbitration provision, Plaintiff is arguing that enforcement

is only appropriate if she “knowingly” agreed to arbitra-

tion. In other words, Plaintiff contends that the arbitration

provision requires her to waive what she contends to be a

substantive right (the right to proceed with a class ac-

tion), and Parker requires the waiver of a substantive

right to be made with knowledge. In Parker, the Eleventh

Circuit held that the plaintiffs release did not bar her

TILA claims because “she was unaware that the release

encompassed her TILA rights.” Parker, 673 F.2d at 1182

(emphasis added).

44a

As noted, supra, a release operates as a waiver of

substantive rights—the right to pursue claims. In con-

trast. an arbitration provision docs not operate to waive

substantive rights (claims), it merely prescribes the forum

for enforcing those rights and resolving those claims.

Accordingly, Parker's holding that on the facts of that

case the release did not bar plaintiff's TILA claims be-

cause the plaintiff was unaware that the ;elease operated

to waive such claims, is inapplicable to the facts of this

action. Plaintiff's argument that because Parker requires

a knowing waiver of rights in a release, the same standard

of knowledge should be applied to an arbitration provision

is simply incongruous. Again, the court notes the Supreme

Court's language in Gilmer: [A] party does not forgo the

substantive rights afforded by the statute, it only submits

to their resolution in an arbitral, rather than a judicial,

forum.” 500 U.S. at 26 (citing Mitsubishi Motors, 473

U.S. at 628). Plaintiff's agreement to arbitrate does not

involve a waiver of a substantive right, and the heightened

knowledge standard articulated in Parker is not applicable

to the case at bar. See also Puentes v. United States Serv.,

Inc., 86 F.3d 196, 198 (11th Cir.1996) (applying know-

ing and voluntary standard to employee’s release of em-

ployer from Title VIT and 42 U.S.C. § 1981 liability);

Kelly, 967 F.Supp. at 1257-58.

In her deposition, Plaintiff states that when she received

the contract containing the arbitration provision, she “went

over the front and glanced over the back.” (Randolph

Dep. at 51, See Green Tree Evidentiary Submission In

Supp.. Ex 3.) At that time, she did not see anything that

caused her any concern. (/d.) Plaintiff admits that she

could have taken the time to look at the hack of the cen-

tract if she had wanted to. (/d. at 79.) Plaintiff also ad-

mits that Green Tree representatives did not say anything

to her on a visit to her home that she now contends was

VY ROR

45a

false or untrue. (Pl.’s Dep. at 73.) Nor is there any

contention elsewhere in Plaintiff's deposition or pleadings

that Green Tree intentionally misled her, made statements

that she now contends are false or untrue, or coerced

her in anyway into signing her contract.

Plaintiff's deposition testimony establishes that she read

the front of her contract, and “glanced” at the back.

Green Tree did not pressure Plaintiff or force her to sign

the contract without reading it—she admits she could

have taken more time if she had wanted to. Nothing con-

cerned her at that time. There is no evidence that Green

Tree made any false statements to Plaintiff, or misled her

in any way. The evidence merely shows that Plaintiff did

not read the back page of her contract—where the arbi-

tration provision was located.

Plaintiff cannot complain now about an agreement to

arbitrate she admittedly did not read at the time she

signed the contract. Kelly, 967 F.Supp. at 1257. Plain-

tiff’s failure to read what she signed does not insulate her

from her contractual obligations, including the agreement

to arbitrate. Coleman v. Prudential Bache Sec. Inc., 802

F.2d 1350 1352 (11th Cir.1986) (per curiam) (“absent

a showing of fraud or mental incompetence, a person who

signs a contract cannot avoid her obligations under it by

showing that she did not read what she signed”); Ex parte

Stripling, 694 So.2d 1281, 1283-84 (Ala.1997) (holding

that even though plaintiffs did not read the contracts be-

fore signing, “ordinarily when a competent adult, having

the ability to read and understand an instrument, signs a

contract, he will be held to be on notice of all the pro-

visions contained in that contract and will be bound

thereby”).

This action does not involve a release of liability. as

did Parker. Instead, it involves an agreement to arbitrate

claims arising out of or related to Plaintiff's contract

46a

rather than pursuing those claims in a court of law. Plain-

tiff had an unfettered opportunity to read her contract.

Yet, by Plaintiff's own admission, she merely “glanced

over” the back—the page with the arbitration provision.

Plaintiff! cannot argue that she did not knowingly enter

into the arbitration provision based on her admitted failure

to read those provisions dealing with arbitration. Under

these facts. the court finds that Plaintiff voluntarily and

knowingly entered into her contract, including the arbitra-

tion provisions contained therein, notwithstanding Plain-

tiffs contentions that Parker's heightened knowledge re-

quirement applies. The court finds that a release is suffi-

ciently dissimilar in terms of legal effect so as to distin-

guish the facts and holding of Parker from the facts

of this case. Accordingly, Plaintiff's argument that she

did not knowingly enter into an agreement to arbitrate

must fail.

Ill. The Court Declines To Certify A Class

It is true that compelling arbitration in this instance

will eliminate Plaintiff's ability to arbitrate her claims on

behalf of a class. Nevertheless, Congress has not created

a statutory right—as opposed to a procedural mechanism

—to bring class actions under the TILA. Further, the

Supreme Court has repeatedly emphasized that courts are

to rigorously enforce the partics’ agreement as they wrote

it; the FAA “requires piecemeal resolution when necessary

to give effect to an arbitration agreement.” Moses H.

Cone, 460 U.S. at 21 (emphasis in original); see also

Byrd, 470 US. at 221.

In addition, Plaintiff mistakenly asserts that “the Court's

authority to certify a class to proceed in arbitration is

questionable.” (Pl.’s Opp. at 22.) It is not. In Protective

Life Ins. v. Lincoln Nat. Life Ins., 873 F.2d 281 (11th

Cir.1989) (per curiam), the Eleventh Circuit addressed

poh ented Pichi the

47a

the issue of “whether a district court may consolidate ar-

bitration proceedings if the parties have not provided for

consolidation in their arbitration agreements.” Jd. at 282.

The Eleventh Circuit concluded “that [a district court]

may not.” /d. The court noted that § 4 of the FAA “lim-

its the power of the court to determining whether a writ-

ten arbitration agreement exists, and if it does, to enforc-

ing it ‘in accordance with its terms.’" /d. (citing 9 U.S.C.

§ 4). The court quoted the Ninth Circuit’s observation in

Weyerhaeuser Co. v. Western Seas Shipping Co., 743 F.2d

635, 637 (9th Cir.1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1061,

105 S.Ct. 544, 83 L.Ed.2d 431 (1984), that:

this interpretation of section 4 “comports with the

statute’s underlying premise that arbitration is a

creature of contract, and that ‘[a]n agreement to

arbitrate before a special tribunal is, in effect. a

specialized kind of forum-selection clause that posits

not only the situs of suit but also the procedure to be

used in resolving the dispute.’" /d. (quoting Scherk

v. Alberto-Culver Co., 417 U.S. 306, 94 S.Ct. 2449,

41 L.Ed.2d 270 (1974)). Parties may negotiate for

and include provisions for consolidation of arbitra-

tion proceedings in their arbitration agreements, but

if such provisions are absent, federal courts may

not read them in.

Protective Life, 873 F.2d at 282.

The court went on to hold that the agreements between

the parties in Protective Life “contain their own arbitra-

tion clauses, and each clause requires arbitration only

between the parties to that agreement. The [parties]

never agreed to consolidated arbitration.” J/d.; see also

Kirkpatrick, 827 F.2d at 725, n. 5. Therefore, because

the contracts did not provide for arbitration on a class

basis, the Eleventh Circuit declined to read such a pro-

48a

vision into them, and instead, merely enforced the terms

of the contract requiring individualized arbitration. The

Second, Fifth, Sixth, Seventh, Eight and Ninth Circuits

have also held that absent either an express provision in

an arbitration clause or statutory authority, courts should

not order consolidated arbitration. See, ¢.g., Champ v.

Siegel Trading Co., Inc., 55 F.3d 269 (7th Cir.1995);

Government of United Kingdom v. Boeing Co., 998 F.2d

68 (2d Cir.1993); American Centennial Ins. v. National

Casualty Co., 951 F.2d 107 (6th Cir.1991); Baesler v.

Continental Grain Co., 900 F.2d 1193 (8th Cir.1990);

Del E. Webb Constr. v. Richardson Hosp. Auth., 823

F.2d 145 (5th Cir.1987); Weyerhaeuser Co., 743 F.2d at

635: c.f. Compania Espanola de Petroleos S.A. v. Nereus

Shipping, S.A., 527 F.2d 966, 975 (2d Cir.1975), cert.

denied. 426 U.S. 936, 96 S.Ct. 2650, 49 L.Ed.2d 387

(1976) (holding that a district court could order consoli-

dated arbitration pursuant to Federal Rules of Civil Pro-

cedure 42(a) and 81(a)(3)).

Accordingly, regardless of the wisdom of denying class

certification because the agreement between the parties

did not provide for class certification for arbitration pur-

poses, see Champ, 55 F.3d at 277-78 (Ilana Diamond

Rovner, J., concurring), this court is bound by circuit

precedent, and thus is required to decline Plaintiff's invi-

tation to certify a class.

TV. Conclusion

Section 3 of the FAA allows a court to stay the pro-

ceeding in an action and compel arbitration. 9 U.S.C.A.

§ 3. However, where all of the issues raised in a com-

plaint must be submitted to arbitration, dismissal of an

action is appropriate. See Alford v. Dean Witter Revn-

olds. Inc.. 975 F.2d 1161. 1164 (Sth Cir.1992): Bovd v.

Homes Of Legend, Inc., 981 F.Supp. 1423, 1997 WL

toed Mahl Ey ob tabs

% ala‘. «Powe 2+,

Shy sath ha + Sa

r

y * +34 aap hs Wats he bnlt sales Sale Xabi Ad Se

ott Bele A A se «ab ea Ea lla he Sanaa had 0 en OS Medea FRR lt

'

49a

619208 *20 (M.D.Ala. 1997); McCarthy, 1994 WL

387852 at *9. Accordingly, the court will dismiss Plain-

tiffs’ claims, with prejudice, and compel her to submit

them to binding arbitration pursuant to the arbitration

provision in her contract.

Based

50a

ORDER

on the foregoing, it is CONSIDERED and

ORDERED that:

(1)

(2)

(3)

(4)

(5)

The collective Defendants’ Motion To Compel

Arbitration be and the same is_ hereby

GRANTED.

The collective Defendants’ Motion To Stay Ac-

tion be and the same is hereby DENIED.

The collective Defendants’ Motion To Dismiss

be and the same is hereby GRANTED. Such

dismissal is WITH PREJUDICE.

Defendant Green Tree Financial Servicing Cor-

poration be and the same is hereby DISMISSED

as a party Defendant to this action.

Plaintiff is herewith ENJOINED and RE-

STRAINED from failing forthwith to arbi-

trate her claims against the remaining Green

Tree Defendants.

sea!

Sia

APPENDIX C

[Filed Jan. 5, 1998]

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE MIDDLE DISTRICT OF ALABAMA

NORTHERN DIVISION

Case No. 96-D-11-N

LARKETTA RANDOLPH, et al.,

Plaintiff,

Vv.

GREEN TREE FINANCIAL CoRP.—ALABAMA, et al.,

Defendants.

ORDER

Before the court is Plaintiff's Motion For Reconsidera-

ation filed December 10, 1997. Defendants filed a re-

sponse on December 29, 1997. Plaintiff initially filed suit

alleging violations of the Truth In Lending Act (“TILA”)

and the Equal Credit Opportunity Act (““ECOA”). Plain-

tiff also brought this action on behalf of a similarly situ-

ated class. On November 26, 1997, the court issued a

Memorandum Opinion and Order (“Order”) granting

Defendants’ Motion To Compel Arbitration, denying

Plaintiff's request to certify a class, dismissing this action,

with prejudice, and enjoining Plaintiff from failing to arbi-

trate her claims against the Defendants.

In its November 26, 1997 Order, the court noted that

the only way Plaintiff could avoid arbitration would be

through a showing of Congress’ intent to preclude arbi-

tration of TILA or ECOA claims. (Order at 9-11.) Such

52a

an intent must be shown either through the text of the

Acts, their legislative histories, or from an inherent con-

flict between arbitration and the Acts’ underlying pur-

poses. (Order at 11.) Plaintiff bore the burden of show-

ing why the arbitration agreement at issue in this case

should not bind the parties. (Order at 6.)

In her Motion For Reconsideration, Plaintiff asserts that

the court ignored “the only binding precedent with respect

to this particular issue,” namely Wilson v. Waverlee

Homes, Inc., 954 F. Supp. 1530 (M.D. Ala. 1997), aff'd

127 F.3d 40 (11th Cir. 1997). (Mot. For Recons. at 1

(emphasis in original).) Plaintiff contends that Waverlee

Homes, a decision rendered pursuant to the Magnuson-

Moss Warranty-Trade Commission Improvement Act, con-

trols the court’s disposition of this action. In Waverlee

Homes, the court analyzed highly detailed and specific

provisions of the Magnuson-Moss Act and concluded that

Congress intended to preclude binding arbitration of writ-

ten warranty claims arising under the Act. Id. at 1537-39;

see also Boyd v. Homes of Legend, Inc., 1997 WL 619-

208, *12-13 (M.D. Ala. 1997). In Boyd, however, the

court concluded that non-written and implied warranty

claims arising under the Magnuson-Moss Act could be

subject to arbitration. Boyd, 1997 WL 619208 at *18.

In other words, the court found that even though Con-

gress intended to preclude arbitration of written warranty

claims under the Magnuson-Moss Act, it did not intend

to preclude arbitration of non-written or implied warranty

claims. Boyd, 1997 WL 619208 at *14, *18.

Significantly, these findings were made even though the

Congressional intent of the Magnuson-Moss Act was to

“improve the adequacy of information available to con-

sumers, [and] prevent deception,” see Boyd, 1997 WL

619208 at *11. The court in Waverlee Homes rested its

findings on other, specific provisions of the Act, not solely

Bidar ciy Rata tan sas Aegis oleae: aN PTT RE EEE a cn ae el

Mia prada Bade diese dic hie ho, hae erastins

Seedy

iy onR eR HEIN

534

on Congress’ stated intent in passing the Act. If it had,

Boyd may have been decided differently. Indeed, in Boyd,

the court ordered the arbitration of non-written and im-

plied warranty claims arising under the Magnuson-Moss

Act, see Boyd, 1997 WL 619208 at *14, even though it

declined to do so for written warranties in Waverlee

Homes. Waverlee Homes, 954 F. Supp. at 1537-39. Ac-

cordingly, not only are Waverlee Homes and Boyd in-

. applicable to the court’s analysis under the TILA and the

ECOA, Plaintiff is simply wrong in asserting that “[i]n

both Boyd and [Waverlee Homes], the Court found that

enforcement of the arbitration clause at issue would over-

ride the desires of Congress in creating the legislation,”

(Mot. For Recons. at 2); wrong in asserting that “there

is no distinction to be drawn between [Magnuson-Moss

and TILA] (/d. at 7); and misguided in asserting as sup-

port the fact that “all of these consumer protection statutes

were passed in a relatively short period of time between

1968-1974.” (1d.)

The court finds unpersuasive Plaintiff's assertions re-

garding class certification and finds it unnecessary to re-

visit that portion of its Order denying Plaintiff's request

to certify a class. (Mot. For Recons. at 7-9.) Finally,

Plaintiff requests that the court reconsider its Order en-

joining Plaintiff from failing to arbitrate her claims against

the Defendants. (Mot. For Recons. at 9.) Plaintiff asserts

that she does not have the resources to arbitrate and that

consequently her “only option... is to forego any

claims that she may hav

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Green Tree Financial Corp.-Ala. v. Randolph · 531 U.S. 79 | Frix