Amicus Curiae Brief — Dakota Central Telephone Co. v. South Dakota Ex Rel. Payne

Supreme Court brief1919

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

STATEMENT OF THE POINTS OF LAW

I. The suits for injunction by various states are not

actions against the United States, and it is not

II. No question of war power involved, because im-

perative necessity in extreme case only justifi-

cation for taking private property even by mili-

tary officer without due process

III. There is nothing in the language of the resolution

or in the purpose to be served warranting the

inference that Congress intended to interfere

with state regulation of intrastate rates, but,

on the contrary, it affirmatively appears that

it did not intend such interference

1. Clear and explicit language required to take power

of regulation from state government

(a) In delegation to municipalities

(b) In assumption by federal government------- ‘

2. No language used clearly manifesting intention to

divest state of rate making power

(a) President sole judge of necessity of taking, but

. not of method of operation. Cannot exer-

cise arbitrary power

(b) Question whether given manner of operation is

needful or desirable is question for court---

3. Terms, ‘‘supervision,’’ ‘‘possession,’’ ‘‘control,’’

and ee connote function of recetver-

4. — to the powers of the alien property cus-

sad shes

5. Power to fix rates granted in express terms in other

I cicaiccceeimcicennbaiidininiatangtninnmbatvanninte 33-36

6. Provigo specially reserves rate making power to the

GED dehiieeentndinidivabaudiaticiigeinn 36-41

i I TN i Gn daientnpeiiencnwiriinie 36-37

(b) Purpose to insure constitutionality.........- 37

(ce) Regulation of telephone rates included in

“ees TE” ccctccccneneeusinenen 38

(d) The use of the phrase, ‘‘the issue of stocks

and bonds,’’ indicating preservation of po-

lice power to fullest extent.............-.- 38-41

7 Language being ambiguous, we have the right to

consult debates in Congress, to ascertain evil to

Oe: CURING etcditditntindnsarucniceudeancs 41-51

(a) Authorities permitting examination of debates 42

(b) History of wire control act__............--- 42-51

a. Debates disclose that evil to be remedied

was not regulation by state commis-

SUED Gncuiociectnnatncceesateees 44451

8. Argument based on the analogy to control exercised

COI PEGE eevddiancdinmedadinnbaninibiieie 51-73

(a) Act for wire control is in pari materia with

UII CE elsiksatratibarindicedsneeaeletetataine §1-52

(b). Rule stated, permitting examination of statutes

in pari materia or on merely cognate subjects 52-58

(c) Railroad legislation summarized... ........... 58-61

(d) Interpretation of railroad act..............-. 61-62

(e) Evil to be remedied as disclosed by testimony

I CIID cp centdendeaiseneannens 63-66

(f) Discussion on bill in congress ..............- 66-68

(g) Proposed amendment, inserting in proviso

words, ‘‘the regulation of rates’’........-- 68-72

(h) Demonstrates that congress used police regula-

tion to include rate regulations. ........... 72-73

(i) Right to consult amendment in construing act 73

— ae

. Provisions giving Interstate Commeree Commisgion

power to fix telephone rates not repealed ; con-

sequently it still retains power, and Postmaster

General does not posseas it, either as to inter-

state or intrastate rates_

. Repeals by implication not favored

. Commerce act gives power to regulate rates; makes

unreasonable rates unlawful

. Commerce act and resolution in pari materia; must

. Commerce commission retains power to fiz rates.

V. The joint resolution and presidential proclamation

cannot be construed as contended by the gov-

ernment and telephone companies, because such

construction would render the resolution void,

by reason of conflict with the fifth amendment

and the tenth amendment of the federal con-

stitution, and would violate the rule against the

delegation of legislative power

2. As contrary to tenth amendment

(a) The nature of the right to the use of a public

(c) Right to receive service of public utility at rea-

sonable rates as within due process clause---

8. As contrary to tenth amendment

(a) Police power reserved to the states

(b) Especially as to regulation of intrastate rates

(c) Only limitation must not impair efficient exer-

cise of federal function

(d) The question of when it does trench on federal

function is a judicial one

Does regulation ‘‘in truth’’ impair power to

eerve government!

Page

113-118

118-120

Page

(e) Federal function in question defined efficient

‘‘transmission of government communica-

| gat SERRE PRIS Seam aneare a 131-132

(f) Regulation of rates does not, in truth or in fact,

hinder or retard the discharge of federal

IE ntekinitbcinas wibniiantinmiaduie 132-134

3. The President cannot arrogate, congress cannot

delegate legislative or arbitrary power_..~--- 134-147

(a) As to legislative power per se_...-...------- 134-144

1. Congress could not delegate to President power to

decide between three separate capacities in

which he might deal with the telephone and

GEE inctisctedentenbbiesntadinboine 135-141

2. The power to fix rates could net be delegated___-_- 141-144

(b) A delegation such as claimed would also be void

as an attempt to delegate arbitrary power. 144-147

VI. Assuming that the President was given the rate

making power by the act in question, it was not

delegated by him to the Postmaster General... 147-150

VII. Rate making power, if granted by joint resolution,

vested in President personally, and cannot be

GREE sccinininsdbanntietiieniconindees 151-158

VIII. Does attempt by President to delegate all, or as

in this case, more than the discretion vested in

him entirely invalidate proclamation, so as to

confer no authority on Postmaster General at

GRD sciacnsidincindictinicieuaetiitnindinainnee nails 158-172

(a) The language of the Presidential proclamation

confers all the discretion confided in him... 159-165

(b) The proclamation, construed as a legislative

enactment, undertakes to confer greater dis-

cretion than the President himself received. 165-167

(ec) Rule of law that clauses giving the Postmaster

General power evidently a material induce-

ment to valid parts of proclamation, and

therefore whole proclamation void ------ 168-170

Page

(d) Nor can the Presidential proclamation be saved

by resort to the preamble-_-_-.------------- 170-172

1X. Practical construction of the law by the Postmaster

General and the telephone companies, as illus-

trated by compensation agreement.--------- 173-179

1. In compensation agreement with telephone com-

ponies ....------------------------------- 173-178

(a) As to suits against company---------------- 174-176

(b) In doing things necessary to preserve franchise

a 176-178

2. Construction by failure to assert power of regula

tion during the war...--------------------- 178-179

INDEX OF CASES

Chesapeake & Potomac Tel. Co. v. Manning, 186 U. S.

Page

Aldnutt v. Inglis, 12 East 527 ....-....------------- 99

American Net & Twine Co. v. Worthington, 141 U. 8.

CE Se cid ccitnsedereibedaieinenmnninrs 42

American School of Megnetic Healing v. McAnnulty,

BOT T. & 06, FAR, WED cecantwretedoweooncncecens 7, 27, 109

Aquino v. Riegelman, 171 N. Y. S. 716, 718 ~-.------- 107

Arkansas Rate Cases, In re, 187 Fed. 290, 297 -...---- 119

Arnold v. Pawtucket, 41 Atl. 576, 578 _......--.----- 155

Austin v. United States, 155 U. S. 417, 431 .....------ 37

Ayres, In re, 123 U. S. 443, 504, 506 ...------------- 7

Bailey v. P. W. B. R. R. Co., 44 Am. Dee. 602 -.------ 102

Beer Co. v. Massachusetts, 97 U. S. 25, 33 -.---------- 156

Belknap v. Schild, 161 U. S. 10 ---.....-.---------- 2,8

Bennett v. Twin Falls North Side Land & Water Co.,

I I aa siiss ciciisilinhicinhipbibentnetrmmernnens 103

Birdsall v. Clark, 29 Am. Rep. 105, 106-107 .._-..----. 157

Board of Liquidation v. McComb, 92 U. S. 531, 541 ~--- 7

Boske v. Comingore, 177 U. S. 459 -.....--..-------- 84

Buttfield v. Stranahan, 192 U. S. 470 ~.----.-------- 7,27

Central Pac. R. R. Co. v. California, 162 U. S. 91, 123,

gl tcenillipiaibeiieniees 124

+ eee ©, Baw, FE BL WBS ccnemetedanccsmesenes 57

wz

antl cia

Cincinnati, W. & Z. R. R. Co. v. Coms. of Clinton Co.,

So a ceaiemienativar 135

Citzens’ St. Ry. v. Detroit Ry. Co., 171 U. 3. 48 ~----- 21

Civil Rights Cases, 109 U. S. 3, 10 ------------------ 114

Clark v. Washington, 12 Wheat. 40, 52 _.------------ 153

Commonwealth v. Ross, 122 S, W. 161 -.------------ 53

Converse v. United States, 62 How. 463 ___----------- 55

Cook v. Marshall Co., 196 U. S. 261 ~--------------- 117

Corbin v. Marsh, 63 Ky., II Duvall, 193...----------- 17

Covington & Cincinnati Bridge Co. v. Kentucky, 154

Oe nas ania eemenembennibadinemines 118

Covington & Lexington T. R. Co. v. Sandford, 164 U.

Sf = | Seer eres 101

Cumberland Tel. & Tel. Co. v. City of Memphis, 183

I ia daa ndaptepes ibiplntdetlibe 133

Cummings v. Everett, 19 Atl. 456 _..-.---------_--- 56

Dartmouth College v. Woodward, 4 Wheat. 518 ---- 112

Degge v. Hitchcock, 229 U. S. 162, 171 ------------.- 27

Egan, In re, 5 Blatchf. 319 ......-.--....-.-..----- ll

Ekern v. McGovern, 154 Wis. 157, 254-255 -_____---- 103

Employers Liability Cases, 207 U. S. 463, 496, 498,

a ada al a el a sali eal las hiatal 130, 131

Engelhard, In re, 231 U. S. 646, 651 __.--_-_-__--__- 92

Fairfield Floral Co. v. Bradbury, 87 Fed. 415, 417 _-_- 111

Field v. Clark, 143 U. S, 649, 693 -_..-____ hisses 7, 27, 136

Flint v. Stone Tracy Co., 220 U. S, 107, 176 --.----- 84

Freeport Water Co. v. Freeport City, 180 U. S. 587,

SRE aCe ECON Ea IRATE Oe 20

Friesen v. C. R, I. & P. Ry. Co., 254 Fed. 875 -------- 8

Gardner, In re, 33 L. R. A. (N. S.) 956, 958, 959, 960 _15, 16, 95

Gas & Electric Securities Co. vy. Manhattan & Queens

Traction Corporation, 253 Fed, 453_.........-_- 30

Gegiow v. Uhl, 239 U. 8. 3, 9 -.....-..--...-.....-- 27

Gerdau, In re, 54 Fed. 143, 145_-..--.---__---_-__ 42

Greenbush Cemetery Ass’n v. Van Natta, (Ind. ) 94 N.

iy SI soci cbbecsihaiaceicansinntetste s caicniamatinaaaiibiaauationdaticts 55

— viii —

Page

Hagood v. Southern, 117 U. 8. 52, 70.---.---_---.--- 7

Hammer v. Dagenhart, 247 U. S. 251, 274, 276 __..-. 118, 131

Helm v. City of Grayville, 79 N. E. 689, 691 _..._.-__- ot

Hibernia Savings & Loan Society v. San Francisco, 200

ly AE “ED epcnantiitpenainabocieneeeinahiniiiabiaineartyariamaisigee 122, 129

Hitchcock v. Galveston, 96 U. S. 341, 348 -------._. 157

Ho Ah Kow v. Nunan, Fed. Cas. No. 6, 546 -...._---- 42

Home Tel. Co. v. Carthage, Ann. Cas. 1912D 308 _-_- 38

Home Tel. Co. v. Los Angeles, 211 U. S. 265, 273 _._. 20,177

Hoover v. McChesney, 81 Fed. 472, 480, 481, 485 -_111, 112, 113

House v. Mayes, 219 U. S. 270 -------.----------.. 117

Illinois Cent. R. R. Co. v. Ill. Publie Utilities Com., 245

a I TO aac aii caer item 23

Indianapolis Northern Traction Co. v. Ramer, 76 N. E.

ee FI iteiieecetietinhsesiiedigehcisctaspeciaaictnpnaincigcetialiliniuibeianalnes 54

International Postal Supply Co. v. Bruce, 194 U. S. 601,

AGEPC SACRE Mt APE, RSI OO ree Sere LONE SRE OI 2,8

Interstate Commerce Commission v. Louisville & Nash-

vine BR. BR. Co., S87 0. &. 66, 91 .... ............. 7, 26

Jacksonville v. Ledwith, (Fla.) 7 So. 885, 891_.__-__- 155

Jennison v. Kirk, 98 U. S. 453, 459 _-__--_--___--_- 42

Johnson v. Jones, 92 Am. Dec. 159, 170, 179__-_..---- 14

Jones v. Seward, 40 Barbour 563, 573 _-_.__-_..---- 17

Joplin v. Light Co., 191 U. 8. 150, 156 __--_---__---- 21

Kansas v. Colorado, 206 U. S. 46, 88._..-.------------ 84

Keller v. United States, 213 U. S. 138, 144-145, 146__ 116, 118

Kemp, In re, 16 Wis. 359, 368, 376, 377.-_----------- 10, 11

i fe i & See 118

Kinney v. Howard, 133 Ia. 94, 105 _.._..---------- 154

Knights Templars Indemnity Co. v. Jarman, 187 U. S.

seinen 83

Kohl v. Beach, 107 Wis. 409, 415-416__.-...--------- 156

Lackland v. Walker, 52 S. W. 414 --------..-------- 170

Lake Shore & Michigan Ry. Co. v. Ohio, 173 U. S. 285_- 119

Land Commissioners of Kaskaskia v. Kaskaskia, 94

I a a any sq animubteehieangeipiien 107

ee

Legal Tender Case, 110 U. S. 421, 441 __-----___..__

Legal Tender Cases, 12 Wall. 457, 539 _.____....___- 83

Lewis v. Frick, 233 U. S. 291, 297 --....-_..-..-.__- 27

Little v. Barreme, 2 Cranch. 170_.-----...-.--.-_-_- 6

Little Chute v. Van Camp, 136 Wis. 526.........___- 145, 168

Logan v. United States, 144 U. S. 263 __--_-_._-__.. 84

Lord v. City of Oconto, 47 Wis. 386, 388 __..._...___ 151, 152

Louisiania v. Garfield, 211 U. S. 70, 77 ---_..-------- 8

McClellan v. Chipman, 164 U. 8, 347 _----_..-----_-- 122

McCray v. United States, 195 U. S. 27, 61 _--_._____ 88

McCulloch v. Maryland, 4 Wheat. 316 __.._-....-__- 83

McGahey v. Virginia, 135 U. S. 662, 684 __.._..-___- 7

McLaughlin v. Green, 50 Miss. 453, 467 _..-----___- 13

Manitowoc v. Manitowoc & Northern T. Co., 145 Wis.

ERSTE nee a Onn NT I aE aR 19

Meade v. Dane County, 155 Wis. 632, 639 __._.______ 167

Miller v. United States, 11 Wall. 268, 304, 306, 307, 309,

ED. swiniteies cd snkenteaiaiiiaianatacniapeiiainiiaiy aecuiilda Masai tie aid 14, 85, 86

Milligan, Ex parte, 4 Wall. 2, 120-121, 141-142______ 9,18

Milwaukee v. Ruplinger, 155 Wis. 391, 397_...______ 146

Minneapolis, St. P. & S.S. M. R. Co. v. Railroad Com-

mission, 136 Wis. 146, 163, 164_____________- 136, 142, 143

Missouri, K. & T. Ry. Co. v. Harris, 234 U. S. 412,

NEE Metiacibeens eciibcintihinkiiahataéinleeriinieaae 23

Mitchell v. Harmony, 13 How. 115_----------------- 13

Muir v. Louisville & N. R. Co., 247 Fed. 888, 894, 895__ 152, 163

Munger v. Lenroot, 32 Wis. 541_-_-------_---_----- 53

Munn v. Illinois, 94 U. S. 113, 128, 133, 1384______ 99, 100, 105

Naganab v. Hitcheock, 202 U. S. 473__-------------- 8

National Bank v. Commonwealth, 9 Wall. 353, 361,

OO a bisceiciascatetcielltedadeeiek teciclnligtibieaheniahadlbaickaltga 120, 122, 123

Nelson v. City of Murfreesboro, 179 Fed. 905____---- 21

New England Telegraph Co. v. Town of Essex, 206

Piel FR Bi cinckcintcciinmcnaciitiiiccnee 123

New York City v. Miln, 11 Pet. (12 U. S. 357) 139___- 116

Ohio & M. R. Co. v. Russell, (Ill.) 3 N. E. 561_-_----- 30

Oliver, In re, 17 Wis. 681, 685

—sz—

Page

Oregon v. Hitchcock, 202 U. S. 60_----...------..-- ~

Owensboro v. Owensboro Waterworks Co., 191 U. 8. 358 21

Pacific Railway Commission, In re, 32 Fed. 241, 245___- 117

People v. England, 91 Hun 152, 155_.------.------- 57

People v. Klinck Packing Co., 214 N. Y. 121, 138-139__ 161, 167

Philadelphia Co. v. Stimson, 233 U. S. 605, 620__.-_- 27

Plumley v. Massachusetts, 155 U. 8. 461_-.---------- 117

Poindexter v. Greenhow, 114 U. S, 270, 288, 304___-_- 7, 169

Postal Telegraph Cable Co. v. Adams, 155 U. S. 688_- 124

Prather v. Jeffersonville, Madison and Indianapolis R.,

eo eethootras 57

Price v. Forrest, 173 U. S. 410, 427_----------------- 171

Railroad Commission Cases, 116 U. 8. 307, 325_.__---- 19

Railroad Company v. Peniston, 18 Wall. 5, 29, 30, 36,

Ce ARS Ey Skee ee 121, 122, 123, 128

Raymond v. Thomas, 91 U. 8. 712, 716_------------- 13

Reagan v. Mercantile Trust Co., 154 U. S. 413, 416,

a eebenete 22, 73, 122, 123

Rector v. United States, 148 U. S. 467__-.---------- 42

Reid v. Colorado, 187 U. 8. 137, 148.--.------------- 22

Rhodes v. Tatum, 206 8. W. 114_------------------- 153

Roberts v. Southern Pac. Co., 186 Fed. 934, 938_._--.- 42

Rochester Water Commissioners, In re, 66 N. Y. 413,

© URES RR eer Seat SS 57

Rossmiller v. State, 114 Wis. 169, 187-188_.._------- 105, 106

Runkle v. United States, 122 U. S. 548, 557_-.------ 158

Rutherford v. Union Pac. R. Co., 254 Fed. 880, 881_--- 30

Ryan’s Estate, In re, (Mo. App.) 156 8. W. 759_----- 55

Sabre v. Rutland R. Co., 85 Atl. 693, 701_..---.----- 137

Salamandra Ins. Co. v. N. Y. L. Ins. T. Co., 264 Fed. 852 86

Savage v. Jones, 225 U. S. 501, 533__--------------- 23

School of Magnetic Healing v. McAnnulty, 187 U. S.

94, 106, 109 ......-....--.--.--- isis ipininnaseineney 7, 27, 109

Schmidt v. Raymond, 148 Wis. 271, 274_------------~ 55

Seott v. Donald, 165 U. 8. 107, 112.....------------- 7

Shallus v. United States, 162 Fed. 654......--------- 42

=

Page

Sheldon v. Hoyne, 103 N. E. 1021, 1022__-------- 144, 166,170 |

Smith v. Black, 115 U. 8. 308, 319__---.------------ 152

Smith v. People, 47 N. Y. 330, 339___..---.--------- 53, 56

Smyth v. Amés, 169 U. S. 466, 547_.._-------------- 100, 123

Soo Railroad Co. v. Railroad Commission, 136 Wis.

. 5 9 —RR 136, 142, 143

South Carolina v. United States, 199 U. S. 437, 448___ 127

Spring Valley Water Co. v. City and County of San

Frariciseo, 165 Fed. 667, 676___...------------- 104

Standard Oil Co. v. United States, 221 U. 8. 1, 50__-- 42

Stanislaus County v. San Joaquin, 192 U. 8. 201, 210-

RO ETRE PR aes oe AN a 20

Stanley v. Schwalby, 162 U. 8. 255_...-------------- 174

State ex rel. Caldwell et al. v. American Ry. Express

Co. et al., (S. D.) 170 N. W. 570_-.------------ 8

State ex rel. Carey v. Ballard, 148 N. W. 1090_------- 156

3S S & FO 8) 6 55

State ex rel. Mays v. Brown, 45 L. R. A. (N. 8.) 996 16

State v. Budge, (N. D.) 105 N. W. 824, 727--_------- 138

State v. Butler, (Me.) 18 Am. & Eng. Ann. Cas. 487_- 166

State ex rel. Payne v. Dakota Central Telephone Co.,

8 36 ' 8 Sf 8 82, 83

State ex rel. Garrabad v. Dering, 84 Wis. 585, 595___- 146

State ex rel. Walsh v. Dousman, 28 Wis. 541, 547_.__ 168, 169

State v. Duval County, 79 So. 692, 696___.---------- 137

State v. Eggers, (Nev.) 1386 Pac. 100 -...----------- 55

State v. Esser, (Nev.) 129 Pac. 557 ___.------------- 55

State ex rel. Buell v. Frear, 146 Wis. 291.......----- 136, 137

State ex rel. Nehrbass v. Harper, 162 Wis. 589, 593_- 156

State v. Parker, 26 Vt. 357_..--------------------- 143

State v. Patterson, 105 8. W. 1048__.-.....-------.-- 57

State v. Rogers, 73 N. E. 461, 463._.-.-----------.- 137

State v. Summers, 44 S. W. 797_...-----------.---- ' 686

State ex rel. Miller v. Taylor, 145 N. W. 425__-...---- 138

State v. Wiggins Ferry Co., 106 8. W. 1006__.-_----- 57

State v. Woodson, 31 8. W. 105_..--.----.---.--.--

— vm

Page

Stewart v. Kahn, 11 Wall. 493 84

Stout v. Board of Coms., 107 Ind. 343, 348_...______ 57

Tap Line Cases, 234 U. S. 1, 27 ‘eit on 42

Telegraph Company v. Texas, 105 U. S. 460_..._.____ 125

Thompson v. Pacific Railroad, 9 Wall. 579__._.._____ 120, 123

Thompson v. Schermerhorn, 55 Am. Dec. 385_......___ 157

Tindal v. Wesley, 167 U. S. 204___--.--_______-__-___- 6

Union Bridge Co. v. United States, 204 U. S. 364______ 7,27

Union Dry Goods Co. v. Georgia P. S. Corp., 248 U. S.

ERE SET ee - COV Seo Dee en 73, 107

United States, Ex parte, 226 U. S. 420 _....._________ 75

United States v. Barnes, 222 U. S. 513, 520 _.._..____ 75

United States v. Board of Commissioners of Osage Co.

Okla. et al., 193 Fed. 485, 486 _........_._______ 42

United States v. Casey, 247 Fed. 362 _._....________ 84

United States v. Chicago & N. W. Ry. Co., 157 Fed. 616,

SEER OTC Fe aCe Ie eS aR 42

United States v. Delaware & Hudson Co., 213 U. S. 366,

RUE ae ea nee ee 83

United States v. Diekelman, 92 U. S. 520, 526 ________ 11

United States v. Hoke, 187 Fed. 992, 994 ___...______ 84

United States v. Lee, 106 U. S. 196 _--.--.____-______ 6

United States v. Levois, 17 How. 85 _......_._______ 75

United States v. Russell, 13 Wall. 623, 627-629 ________ 13

United States Railroad Administration v. Burch, 254

RRR CRD EN be Gee ER 7,27

Vane v. Newcomb, 132 U. 8S. 220, 236 ___.__._.________ 57

Wadsworth v. Boysen, 148 Fed. 771, 778, 779 __----_- 6, 42

Wainwright v. Pennsylvania R. Co., 253 Fed. 459, 465 134

Waite v. Dowley, 94 U. S. 527, 583 -.--.--.__---_--_- 122

Warren v. Mayor and Aldermen of Charleston, 2 Gray

ID WI SR UD ei cthsine © encdciiceiidinensieninmure waaieene 169

Washington v. Miller, 235 U. S. 422, 428 _.______.___ 74

Wells v. Roper, 246 U. S. 535 ....-------...------.. 2

Western Union Telegraph Co. v. Massachusetts, 125

RISER RATE EIS TES Ser Soa eA 123

Western Union Telegraph Co. v. Pendleton, 122 U. S.

ER a RRS AES SS ee ee Be

Westport Stone Co. v. Thomas, (Ind.) 94 N. E. 406___-

. ER Se roe Rene seman

White v. United States, 191 U. S. 551 __-_--____..__

Wilcox v. Jackson, 13 Pet. 497 ___-.--_--..____..__

Williams v. Talladega, 226 U. S. 404____-___________

Williams v. United States, 1 How. 290 ..___________-

Yazoo Railroad Co. v. Thomas, 132 U. S. 174, 188_____-

Yick Wo v. Hopkins, 118 U. S. 356, 369, 370 ________

Young, Ex parte, 209 U. S. 123, 159 _-.-___..-.--.-..

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES.

October Term, 1918.

No. 967.

DAKOTA CENTRAL TELEPHONE COMPANY,

A CORPORATION, NORTHWESTERN TELE-

PHONE EXCHANGE COMPANY, A CORPOR-

TION, NEBRASKA TELEPHONE COMPANY,

A CORPORATION, AND SOUTH DAKOTA

STATE TELEPHONE COMPANY, A COR-

PORATION,PLAINTIFFS IN ERROR,

vs

STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA, EX REL. BYRON

S. PAYNE, AS ATTORNEY GENERAL, AND

JOHN J. MURPHY AND P. W. DOUGHERTY,

AS AND CONSTITUTING THE BOARD OF

RAILROAD COMMISSIONERS OF THE

STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA.

IN ERROR TO THE SUPREME COURT OF SOUTH DAKOTA

The State of Wisconsin, upon the relation of its

Attorney General, has heretofore brought an action

in the original jurisdiction of the supreme court of

that state, for the purpose of restraining and enjoin-

ing the Wisconsin Telephone Company, a corporation

of Wisconsin, and the agencies under its direction and

a ‘

control, from charging rates for telephone messages

in excess of those fixed by the provisions of its statutes

and the order and determination of the Railroad

Commission of Wisconsin. The supreme court of

Wisconsin, on the 29th day of April, 1919, rendered

a decision in said matter by a divided court, denying

the application for injunction and dismissing the

complaint, the ground of its decision being in sub-

stance that the police regulations referred to in the

proviso of the joint resolution are ‘“‘undoubtedly such

regulations intended to insure the lives, health, moral

and physical welfare and good order of the public and

of the employees, as the state may see fit to pre-

scribe.” The court further holds that the suit was

in effect a suit against the government, upon the

authority of Belknap v. Schild, 161 U. S. 10; Inter-

national P. S. Co. v. Bruce, 194 U. S. 601, and Wells

v. Roper, 246 U. S. 535. Said decision was rendered

too late to enable the state to bring the same to this

court by writ of error in the regular course, in time

to permit consolidation with the actions involving

the determination of the same questions, now pend-

ing herein, and it is assumed that, if brought here for

review in due course, additional briefs will not be

desired. In lieu thereof, by virtue of said facts, and

by reason of the interest of the State of Wisconsin

and its citizens in the decision of these actions, the

undersigned, representing the State of Wisconsin,

with the consent of the Attorney General of South

Dakota, do hereby pray leave of this court to file

this, their brief, as amici curiae, in support of the

power, authority, and duty of this court and the

appropriate courts of the various states to grant

relief by injunction, restraining the various telephone

companies acting under the direction of the Post-

master General from putting into effect rates in

excess of those determined to be reasonable and law-

ful by the properly constituted tribunals of the

various states.

It being assumed that the briefs already filed con-

tain a statement of the case, the questions involved,

and the manner in which they are raised and a

specification of the errors relied upon, this argument

will be confined to a discussion of the following points

of law which it is believed are decisive of the present

controversy.

STATEMENT OF THE POINTS OF LAW

I. The suits for injunction by the various states

are not actions against the United States, and it is

not a necessary party.

Il. No question of war power involved, because

imperative necessity in extreme case only justifica-

tion for taking private property even by military

officer without due process.

III. There is nothing in the language of the reso-

lution or in the purpose to be served warranting the

inference that Congress intended to interfere with

state regulation of intrastate rates, but, on the con-

trary, it affirmatively appears that it did not intend

such interference.

IV. Provisions giving Interstate Commerce Com-

mission power to fix telephone rates not repealed;

consequently it still retains power, and Postmaster

entine

General does not possess it either as to interstate or

intrastate rates.

V. The joint resolution and presidential procla-

mation cannot be construed as contended by the

government and telephone companies, because such

construction would render the resolution void, by

reason of conflict with the fifth amendment and the

tenth amendment of the federal constitution, and

would violate the rule against the delegation of

legislative power.

VI. Assuming that the President was given the

rate making power by the act in question, it was not

delegated by him to the Postmaster General.

VII. Rate making power, if granted by joint reso-

lution, vested in President personally, and cannot be

delegated.

VIII. Does altempt by President to delegate all,

or as in this case, more than the discretion vested in

him entirely invalidate proclamation, so as to con-

fer no authority on Postmaster General at all?

IX. Practical construction of the law by the

Postmaster General and the telephone companies, as

illustrated by compensation agreement.

ARGUMENT

I

THE SUITS FOR INJUNCTION BY THE VARIOUS

STATES ARE NOT ACTIONS AGAINST THE UNITED

STATES, AND IT IS NOT A NECESSARY PARTY.

The conception that the United States is in any

way interested in the present controversy and that

the court can dispose of the issues without considera-

tion or interpretation of the Joint Resolution of

Congress and the Proclamation of the President pur-

suant thereto presents a curious inversion of logic

which in effect begs the whole question. This, it

seems to us, is what the learned court of Massa-

chusetts has done.

We submit that if the postmaster general has the

power to fix intrastate telephone rates, then his act

is that of the United States; if he has no such power,

then his attempt to fix such rates is a mere personal

assumption of authority, which affords him no pro-

tection, and which affords no protection to those

acting or pretending to act by his direction. The

court cannot escape the determination of the extent

of the authority of the postmaster general. That is

a necessary preliminary to any decision.

Supposing that the postmaster general underwent

a like misconception as to his powers in postal

matters and sought to collect a ten cent postage

where the law permitted only three cents. Would it

then be contended that, if suit were brought in a state

eile

court to restrain such extortion, the United States

Government was being sued without its consent, or

that we were attempting to interfere with the

revenues of the United States? Obviously not. The

seven cents of excessive postage would not be revenue,

and the action of the postmaster general would not

be the action of the United States, but merely

his individual assumption of arbitrary power, whose

exercise a court of equity would promptly restrain.

There is no controversy between the state and

federal government here, in any sense whatever. The

sole question is that of proper construction of a

federal law, with a view of determining whether

Albert S. Burleson has issued legal instructions as

postmaster general within the scope of properly

delegated power, to the defendant companies or

whether the order is his mere personal pronuncia-

mento, obedience to which affords the defendants no

protection.

That these actions are not suits against the United

States and in no way involve the government of the

United States unless they question or seek to chal-

lenge a valid exercise of authority under a valid law,

has in our judgment been so conclusively and satis-

factorily established by the brief of Mr. Hughes and

his associate counsel, in the recently argued case of

the Commercial Cable Company v Albert S. Burleson

and Newcomb Carlton, that we shall only refer to the

cases there cited, to-wit, Little. v Barreme, 2 Cranch.

170; U. S. v. Lee, 106 U. S. 196; Lindal v. Wesley,

167 U. S. 204, to which we would add these additional

citations:

— v. Boysen, 148 Fed. 771, at page

a

Board sienna v. McComb, 92 U. S. 531,

at p. ‘

In re Ayres, 123 U. S. 443, at p. 504 and p. 506.

McGahey v. Virginia, 135 U. S. 662, at p. 684.

en v. Greenhow, 114 U. S. 270, at p.

“The ratio decidendi in this class of cases is very

plain. A defendant sued as a wrong-doer, who

seeks to substitute the State in his place, or to

justify by the authority of the State, or to defend

on the ground that the State has adopted his act

and exonerated him, cannot rest on the bare asser-

tion of his defence. He is bound to establish it.”

Hagood v. Southern, 117 U. S. 52, at p. 70.

Scott v. Donald, 165 U. S. 107, at p. 112.

Ex parte Young 209 U. S. 123 p. 159.

Their argument (p. 26) is equally decisive on the

proposition of the power and the duty of the court to

inquire as to the scope of the authority asserted.

Field v. Clark, 143 U. S. 649.

Buttfield v. Stranahan, 192 U. S. 470.

Union Bridge Co. v. U. S., 204 U. S. 364.

American School of Magnetic Healing v. Mc-

Anulty, 187 U. S. 94.

Interstate Commerce Commission v. L. & N. R.

Co., 227 U. S. 88, 91.

And we cite these additional cases:

U. S. Railroad Administration v. Burch, 254 Fed.

140, passing upon the extent of the power of the

director general of railroads under the cognate

statute for the control of railroads, contains this

language:

“All acts done and all property taken possession

of within the adjudicated extent of the powers

allowed might be a ministerial question: but as to

iiidiin

the extent of those powers, and whether the powers

were given, must always, under the Constitution

of the United States, remain a judicial question,

and one to be decided by the courts of the land.”

State ex rel. Caldwell, 170 N. W. 570 (S. Dak.)

(Advance Sheets, Februrary 21, 1919):

Head Note 1: “The jurisdiction and power of

civil courts may extend to ministerial acts which

an executive officer of state, such as the President,

or those acting under him, may assume to do by

virtue of his office, but which may be found to have

been in excess, beyond the scope, or a misuse of his

authority.”

Friesen v. Chicago, R. I. & P. Ry. Co., 254 Fed. 875.

The court in construing the railroad administration

act says of the powers of the President thereunder—

“*he may not take action contrary to the provisions

of this act of Congress.”

The cases relied upon by the supreme court of

Massachusetts:

Belknap v. Schild, 161 U. S. 10, 16 Sup. Ct.

443, 40 L. Ed. 599;

Louisiana v. Garfield, 211 U.S. 70, 77, 29 Sup.

Ct. 31, 53 L. Ed. 92;

Oregon v. Hitchcock, 202 U. S. 60, 26 Sup. Ct.

568, 50 L. Ed. 935;

Naganab v. Hitchcock, 202 U. S. 473, 26 Sup.

Ct. 667, 50 L. Ed. 1113;

International Postal Supply Co. v. Bruce, 194

U. S. 601, 606, 24 Sup. Ct. 820, 821 (48 L.

Ed. 1134);

as demonstrated in the brief of Messrs. Cook and

Hughes (pp. 35-5) are quite beside the point.. The

paliead

present actions are brought, not to interfere with the

possession or use of property by the United States,

but are brought to prevent the infringement of indi-

vidual right under the guise or pretext that authority

to do so is conferred by federal statute, and the very

question to be answered is: Does the statute con-

fer such authority?

II

NO QUESTION OF WAR POWER INVOLVED,

BECAUSE IMPERATIVE NECESSITY IN EXTREME

CASE ONLY JUSTIFICATION FOR TAKING PRI-

VATE PROPERTY EVEN BY MILITARY OFFICER

WITHOUT DUE PROCESS.

Neither is the issue to be confused by any misty

conception of supposed war power on the part of the

President. The war power and the peace power of

the President, outside of the three kinds of military

jurisdiction under the constitution set forth by Chief

Justice Chase in Ex Parte Milligan, 4 Wall. 2, at

pages 141-42, are one and the same thing. We have

nothing to do here with the class of military rule

covering the conduct of military forces in the govern-

ment of occupied territory, nor are we dealing with

that other class of military government concerned

with the government of the Army and Navy proper.

Congress, had it seen fit to do so, might no doubt

have passed an enactment as it did during the Civil

War (Vol. 12, U. S. Stats. at Large, p. 334, ch. 15,

37th Congress):

“to place under military control all the officers,

aw 19 ..-

agents, and employes belonging to the telegraph

and railroad lines thus taken possession of by the

President, so that they shall be considered as a

post road and a part of the military establishment

of the United States, subject to all the restrictions

imposed by the rules and articles of war.”

There is sufficient similarity to the Civil War act

in the resolution under consideration to lead to the

belief that Congress consciously rejected this alter-

native of making the telephone business a part of the

military organization of the United States. This

being true, both the first and second classes of

military rule do not obtain. The only possible

theory, there could be then, is that a species of

stratified martial law must have been projected

across and athwart the existing subdivisions of

government, and have completely enveloped and

controlled the conduct of this business.

This is an impossible conception, because, we sub-

mit, the government of no state and no portion

thereof can be part martial and part civil. It must

either be all one or all the other. As phrased Jn re

Kemp, 16 Wis 359, 376:

“‘When martial law exists, it must be supreme

in order to be effectual. It cannot co-exist with

the civil power; if it does, the latter must be in

entire subordination to it.”

The implication of the language in the pleadings

leads to a definition quite as strong as that stated by

the Duke of Wellington:

‘**Martial law is neither more nor less than the

will of the general who commands the army.”

ow jj...

And as stated In re Egan, 5 Blatchford 319 (Federal

Cases, No 4303), at p..321:

“The entire population of the country, within

the confines of its power, is subjected to the mere

will or caprice of the commander. He holds the

— liberty and property of all in the palm of his.

and.”

U. S. v. Diekelman, 92 U. S. 520, at p 526:

*“Martial law is the law of military meena J in

the actual presence of war. It is administered by

the general of the army, and is in fact his will.”

Is it not a sufficient answer to this proposition, that

the court, in common with every citizen of the nation,

knows that martial law and nothing approximating

it has either been declared or attempted to be

declared?

In the absence of such declaration of martial law,

the rule governing even the military department of

government, from the commander-in-chief down

through all of his subordinates, as to the violation of

the individual right to life, liberty, and property, has

repeatedly been declared. Chief Justice Dixon said:

In Re Kemp supra 368.

“The powers of the president as commander-in-

chief of the army and navy in time of war, are

strictly constitutional powers.”

And Justice Cole phrased it, at p. 377:

““‘Wherever war exists there martial law may be

declared. But it must be confined to fields of strife

and actual conflict, and cannot be extended to

states not the theater of military operations.”

As it appeals to us, this confusion has arisen—

because the telephone and telegraph properties hav-

en

ing been taken under the war power of Congress and

their operation entrusted to the President, he being

the commander-in-chief of the army and navy, it

has been assumed that in the exercise of the power

delegated—the operation of the business—the mili-

tary commander is discharging military functions.

Sight has been lost, apparently, of the proposition

that so far as this exercise of authority is concerned,

both the President and postmaster general, and any-

one acting under them or either of them, are acting

solely and entirely as the agents of Congress. We

insist most earnestly that, except as the President

asserts his power through one of the three appropriate

channels of military government in the strict sense,

he has no other or different power in time of war than

he has always had. We insist that Conress did not

and could not confer any addition or enlargement to

his power in that respect, because it in turn is bounded

and limited and hedged about by the constitution. It

can confer no power to violate the constitution,

because it possesses none itself. It cannot delegate

either to the President or the postmaster general, in

their purely civil capacity, absolutely unrestricted

authority to disregard constitutional restraints, be-

cause Congress itself does not possess that power.

Neither can Congress enlarge his military powers,

because within their sphere they are already absolute

and supreme. Congress cannot, we insist, engraft a

military power, a “‘war power,” so-called, upon the

discharge of a purely civil function, nor invest with

military attributes a purely civil power.

When we find how jealously the courts have

viewed the exercise of purely military functions them-

— po

selves, where they transgressed civil rights, we should

naturally expect this to be the rule. We find the

supreme court of the United States, speaking through

its Chief Justice, in Mitchell v. Harmony, 13 Howard

115. This case contains a discussion of the right of

even a military officer to take private property of a

citizen without due process of law.

The holding of this case was likewise discussed in

detail in the brief in the Commercial Cable case

(pp. 17, 18, 19, 20), and we shall not repeat the

language because the court has recently had the

reasoning thereof thus fully presented. Further

support of this position, however, is found in Ray-

mond v. Thomas, 91 U. S. 712, at p. 716:

“It is an unbending rule of law that the exercise

of military power, where the rights of the citizen

are concerned, shall never be pushed beyond what

the exigency requires.”

McLaughlin v. Green, 50 Miss. 453, at p. 467:

“In flagrant war, power does not belong to a

military officer, merely as such, to take or to

destroy the property of the citizen, unless a neces-

sity exists to apply it to military purposes, or to

prevent its capture by the enemy.”

United States v. Russell, 13 Wall. 623, 627-629:

“Taking of private property by the government>

when the emergency of the public service in time of

war or impending public danger is too urgent to

admit of delay, is everywhere regarded as justified,

if the necessity for the use of the property is im-

perative and immediate, and the danger, as hereto-

fore described, is impending, and it is equally clear

that the taking of such property under such cir-

—i14-.

cumstances creates an obligation on the part of the

government to reimburse the owner to the full value

of the service. Private rights, under such extreme

and imperious circumstances, must give way for the

time to the public good, but the government must

make full restitution for the sacrifice.”

Miller vs. United States, 11 Wall. 268, at p. 310:

_ “It may be conceded that the laws of war do not

justify the seizure and confiscation of any private

property except that of enemies.”

Willoughby on the Constitution, Vol. II, p. 1235:

“‘Whatever interference there may be with his

(the citizen’s) personal freedom or property rights

must be justified, as in the case of the police power,

by necessity, actual or reasonably presumed.”

We are not surprised at the firmness with which

the arrogation of military power in the discharge of

civil duties has been unanimously rebuked by courts,

even when their judgment seemed to draw in question

the martyred Lincoln’s acts.

The supreme court of Illinois, speaking in Johnson

v. Jones, 44 Ill. 142, 92 Am. Dec. 159, at p. 170, said:

“The doctrine that a state of war of itself sus-

pends, at once and everywhere, the constitutional

guaranties for liberty and property, finds no sup-

port in the constitution, and is inconsistent with

every principle of civil liberty and free govern-

ment.”

And in the concurring opinion, at p. 179, Justice

Breese said:

“The constitution of the United States was de-

signed by its framers, and has been hitherto so

— 15 —

understood by the people, to be the same protecting

instrument in war as in peace; that a state of war

does not enlarge the powers of any one department

of the government established by it, nor has any

one of these defendants any right to urge ‘neces-

sity,’ or ‘extraordinary emergencies,’ as a plea for

the usurpation of powers not granted.”

A case arose in Kansas where a law had been

enacted providing that members of the national

guard should, while in the performance of military

duty, be transported on all railroads of the state at

the rate of one cent per mile, a situation quite closely

analogous to a similar enactment by Congress, or an

enactment purporting to confer power to have

governmental messages transmitted at one-half or

one-third their cost, or at such amount as Congress

might have seen fit to fix, the only difference being

that in the supposed case Congress acted directly,

while in this case the postmaster general is seeking to

act in the exercise of some supposed delegation of

power.

As the Kansas court said In re Gardner, 84 Kans.

264, 113 Pac. 1054, 33 L. R. A. (N. S.) 956, at 958:

“Without any ground, therefore, for the classi-

fication, and without any regard to the reasonable-

ness or unreasonableness of the regulation, the

state simply demands that its troops be trans-

ported by rail at the purely arbitrary rate, which,

so far as the principle involved is concerned, might

be 1 cent per hundred miles, or nothing at all.”

And at p. 959:

“An effort is made to justify the statute as an

exercise of the military power of the state to pre-

a tem

serve peace, to suppress riots and insurrections,

and to repel invasion. These are ends which every

sovereignty must have the power to attain, and

every citizen holds his property upon the implied

condition that it must be surrendered when needed

for the preservation of the government. Fields

and farms may be traversed and occupied, sub-

sistence, stores, and other movables may be ap-

propriated, and transportation lines may be seized

and operated, under the stress of due occasion, just

as city blocks may be demolished to arrest the

progress of a fire. Doubtless, in cases where

neither the power of taxation nor the credit of the

government would avail, a forced loan could be

effected by the seizure of money itself. The power

exercised in such cases is lawful, although not de-

rived from constitutions or statutes. It rests upon

the principle that every sovereignty may in time

of peril adopt such extreme measures as may be

necessary for existence and perpetuity. But it is

limited to emergencies which cannot wait upon due

process of law. The law governing military im-

pressment of private property was well stated by

Chief Justice Tenn in the case of Mitchell v. Har-

mony, 13 How. 115, 14 L. ed. 75,” as quoted above.

And on page 960:

“When, however, the government is in no ex-

tremity in fact which requires the suspension, in

whole or in part, of the civil laws, contributions to

its support cannot be levied upon private persons

or corporations, except pursuant to laws which

prescribe the occasion, modes, conditions, and

agencies for the appropriation, and which bear

equally upon all those who are similarly situated.”

State ex rel. Mays v. Brown, 45 L. R. A. 996

(N. S.) 77 S. E. 243 (W. Va.)

oe

Willoughby on the Constitution, p. 1243:

“Private property may be seized and appropri-

ated to a public use without the consent of the

owner, when the public necessity demands. This

taking of private property is, however, the courts

have declared, not an exercise of military power

which gives to the owner no claim for compensa-

tion, but a taking for the public use which, under

the provision of the Fifth Amendment, demands

that compensation be made. The manner of taking

may, however, be that of the or power, in that

the urgency may not permit the ordinary proceed-

ings for valuation and condemnation.”

Jones v. Seward, 40 Barbour 563, at p. 573:

“In sudden emergencies, caused by invasion or

insurrection, the power expressly given by the con-

stitution and the acts of congress, to repel the one

and suppress the other, are ample and effective;

and it requires no exercise of arbitrary power over

the sacred rights of personal liberty to accomplish

this purpose. It is as manifest as the day, it is be-

yond all controversy, that these rights, in war or in

peace, during invasion or domestic violence, even

during the hideous rebellion which now confronts

us, are, except in the cases which | have stated,

inviolable. The president, therefore, whether in

his civil capacity or as commander in chief of the

army and navy of the United States has, unques-

tionably, no power to authorize the act of which

the plaintiff complains.”

Corbin v. Marsh, 63 Ky., I] Duvall, 193:

“* * * We premise that the constitution of the

United States, in its declared and necessary su-

premacy, is the same fundamental, paramount,

and inviolable /aw of the sovereign people, at all

times and under all circumstances--that it is

supreme over all—-the cilizens, the States, and the

ou 18 ao

national government in all its departments and

operations, military as well as civil--and that it is

as supreme in war as in peace.”

And finally, the fallacy of this proposition would

have seemed forever set at rest by this court in its

classic statement of the law in Ex parte Milligan,

4 Wall. 2, at pp. 120-121, which is likewise quoted in

the brief of Mr. Hughes (p. 32).

Ill

THERE IS NOTHING IN THE LANGUAGE OF

THE RESOLUTION OR IN THE PURPOSE TO BE

SERVED WARRANTING THE INFERENCE THAT

CONGRESS INTENDED TO INTERFERE WITH

STATE REGULATION OF INTRASTATE RATES, BUT

ON THE CONTRARY, IT AFFIRMATIVELY AP-

PEARS THAT IT DID NOT INTEND SUCH INTER-

FERENCE.

1. The rule that clear and explicit language is

required to take the power of regulation

from the state government.

Assuming that Congress might by appropriate

action invade the exclusive domain of state regula-

tion of intrastate matters, we contend that such

invasion is never to be presumed and is never to be

held consummated, except and unless the act of

Congress employs such phraseology, as to leave the

intention to divest the states of their sovereign

power, an absolutely unescapable conclusion from

the words employed. Cases will be submitted below,

eee

— |

arising necessarily and naturally under phraseology

where it was contended that the state had volun-

tarily divested itself of the power of regulation.

And if, as we shall see, a very strict rule is laid down

to guard against such result, unless an absolute

necessity from the language of the act construed,

how much more rigid must the rule be where the

court is asked to find that such power is being taken

from a sovereign state, not by its voluntary act, but

involuntarily over its protest, and from a domain or

sphere that has always been jealously protected and

guarded as peculiarly and exclusively within the

scope of state regulation, and state regulation alone.

(a) In delegation to municipalities.

The supreme court of Wisconsin has ruled upon this

proposition.

Manitowoc v. Manitowoc & Northern T.Co., 145

Wis. 13, at p. 28:

“It is only where the right is very clearly con-

ferred that the state will be held to have relin-

quished its power to enact laws regulating tolls.’

The supreme court of the United States has ruled

upon the proposition in repeated instances with

decisive language. Illustrations follow:

rat Commission Cases, 116 U. S. 307, at

p. ;

“This power of regulation is a power of govern-

ment, continuing in its nature, and if it can be bar-

gained away ai all it can only be by words of posi-

tive grant, or something which is in law equivalent.

If there is reasonable doubt, it must be resolved in

favor of the existence of the power.”

mag

— 20 —

Home Telephone Co. v. Los Angeles, 211 U. S.

265, at p. 273:

“The surrender, by contract, of a power of gov-

ernment, though in certain well-defined cases it

may be made -' legislative authority, is a very

grave act, and the surrender itself, as well as the

authority to make it must be closely scrutinized.

No other body than the supreme legislature (in

this case, the legislature of the State) has the

authority to make such a surrender, unless the

authority is clearly delegated to it by the supreme

legislature. The general powers of a municipality

or of any other political subdivision of the State

are not sufficient. Specific authority for Sol el

pose is required. This proposition is sustained by

all the decisions of this court, which will be referred

to hereafter, and we need not delay further upon

this point. * * * But for the very reason that

such a contract has the effect of extinguishing pro

tanto an undoubted power of government, both its

existence and the authority to make it must clearly

and unmistakably appear, and all doubts must be

resolved in favor of the continuance of the power.”’

Stanislaus County v. San Joaquin, 192 U. S. 201,

at 210-211:

“To regulate or establish rates for which water

will be supplied is in its nature the execution of one

of the powers of the State, and the right of the

State so to do should not be regarded as parted with

any sooner than the right of taxation should be so

regarded, and the language of the alleged contract

should in both cases be equally plain.”

Freeport Water Co. v. Freeport City, 180 U. S.

587, 599. The court said:

“The statutes are certainly ambiguous, and in

resolving the ambiguity in favor of the public the

court applied the rule declared in many cases,”

quoting the language of Railroad Commission Cases

— pe

above, and adding: “The fullness of sovereignty

can be taken for granted, and naturally would be

and should be taken for granted.”

Owensboro v. Owensboro Waterworks Co., 191 U. S.

358. Same rule, citing Railroad Commission Cases,

and others.

Joplin v. Light Company, 191 U. S. 150, 156:

“The limitation contended for is upon a govern-

mental agency, and restraints upon that must not

be readily implied.”

Nelson v. City of Murfreesboro, 179 Fed. 905,

stating the strict rule to be applied in determining

whether a state has been divested of sovereign or

governmental power, adopts the language of other

cases, and says, at 911, that it must be ‘‘in language

explicit and express or necessarily to be implied

from other powers,’ and that “if inferred from

other powers, it is not enough that the authority is

tag to them, but it must be indispensable

to them.”

Citizens’ St. Ry. v. Detroit Ry. Co., 171 U. S. 48,

lays down this test for determining whether the

sovereign state has been divested of governmental

power:

“The power, therefore, must be granted in ex-

press words or necessarily to be implied. What

does the latter mean? Mr. Justice Jackson, in

Grand Rapids &c. Power Co. v. Grand Rapids &c.

Co., supra, says: . . . ‘that municipal corpora-

tions possess and can exercise only such powers as

are ‘granted in express words, or those necessarily

or fairly implied, in or incident to the powers ex-

pressly conferred, or those essential to the declared

objects and purposes of the corporation, not simply

convenient, but indispensable.’’ The italics are his.

This would make ‘necessarily implied’ mean inev-

itably implied. The Court of Appeals of the Sixth

— 22 —

Circuit, by Circuit Judge Lurton, adopts Lord

Hardwicke’s explanation, quoted by Lord Eldon in

Wilkinson v. Adam, 1 Ves. & B. 422, 466, that ‘a

necessary implication means not natural necessity,

but so strong a probability of intention, that an in-

tention contrary to that, which is imputed to the

testator, cannot be supposed.’ ”’

(b) In assumption by federal government.

We find that the supreme court of the United

States has not been silent upon the proposition sug-

gested as to its attitude when an effort was made to

pare away any of the inherent police power of the

state by congressional action, but sustains with

equal emphasis the doctrine that such jurisdiction

and control is never deemed to have been divested

by mere implication.

In Reagan v. Mercantile Trust Co., 154 U. S. 413,

speaking of the rule to be applied to its creature and

agency when engaged in purely intrastate business,

the court said:

“It must have been known that, in the nature of

things, the control of that business would be exer-

cised by the State, and if it deemed that the inter-

ests of the nation and the discharge of the duties

required on behalf of the nation from this corpora-

tion demanded exemption in all things from state

control, it would unquestionably have expressed

— intention in language whose meaning would be

clear.”

In Reid v. Colorado, 187 U. S. 137, 148, the court,

speaking by Mr. Justice Harlan, said:

“It should never be held that Congress intends

to supersede or by its legislation suspend the exer-

cise of the police powers of the States, even when

iil ie

it may do so, unless its purpose to effect that result

is clearly manifested.”

In Savage v. Jones, 225 U. S. 501, 533, the court said:

“But the intent to supersede the exercise by the

State of its police power as to matters not covered

by the Federal legislation is not to be inferred from

the mere fact that Congress has seen fit to circum-

scribe its regulation and to occupy a limited field.

In other words, such intent is not to be implied

unless the act of Congress fairly interpreted is in

actual conflict with the law of the State.” (Citing

many cases.)

M. K. & T. Ry. Co. v. Harris, 234 U. S. 412, at pp.

418-419:

‘A state law enacted under any of the reserved

powers—-especially if under the police power——is

not to be set aside as inconsistent with an act of

Congress, unless there is actual repugnancy, or un-

less Congress has, at least, manifested a purpose

to exercise its paramount authority over the sub-

ject.”

Ill. Cent. R. R. Co. v. Public Utilities Comm. 245

U. S. 493 at 510.

“In construing federal statutes enacted under

the power conferred by the commerce clause of

the Constitution the rule is that it should never

be held that congress intends to supersede or

suspend the exercise of the reserved powers of a

State, even where that may be done unless, and

—- so far as its purpose to do so is clearly mani+

ested.”

ay

a ee

2. No language used clearly manifesting inten-

tion to divest state of rate making power.

What, then, is the language ‘“‘whose meaning is

clear,’ which “fairly interpreted is in actual conflict

with the law of the state,”’ whose purpose to effect

that result is clearly manifested, under which the

states are to be held divested of the rate making

power? Where is “the actual repugnancy”’ found?

The language of the act is before the court. The

solicitor for the Postoffice Department has said:

“It would seem that language could not add

anything to the sweeping power to possess, to con-

trol, and to operate in such manner as the President

should deem needful or desirable.”

But the law does not say that. It says, “‘as may be

needful or desirable,’ not ‘‘as the President may

think needful or desirable.”” And of course the last

words quoted are clearly modified by the prior

language of the act, relating to the national security

or defense.

The proclamation of the President, in express

terms, states: “It is deemed necessary for the

national security and defense * * * to operate the

same in such manner as may be needful or desirable.”

This phrase, ‘‘needful or desirable,’ we think, must

necessarily and naturally be construed as referring to

and stating such quality of necessity or desirability

as is required for the national security and defense.

It does not, of course, refer to a need or desirability

from the standpoint of the telephone companies

themselves, but is solely the necessity or desirability

of furthering the national security or defense that is

to be considered. In other words, the postmaster

general and the President are to operate the telephone

system in such manner as may be needful or desirable

to secure or to bring about the national security and

defense.

(a) President sole judge of necessity of taking, but

not of method of operation— Cannot exercise

arbitrary power.

A distinction, we think, is here recognized. The

President is the sole judge of whether or not it is

necessary to take possession, assume control, and

operate the telephone systems, but unlimited dis-

cretion and power is not conferred upon him as to

the manner of such operation. He and the post-

master general, we think, are expressly limited in

their jurisdiction to operation in such manner as

may be needful or desirable for the national security

or defense, and they are not the sole judges of what

manner is needful or desirable for the national security

or defense.

(b) Question whether given manner of operation is

needful or desirable is for the court.

Assuming that the words employed were broad

enough to confer the power to regulate rates—and we

think they are not—the court is free to inquire as to

whether any act to be done has any necessary or

proper relation to the national security or defense,

and as a necessary preliminary to sustaining the

exercise of power, has a right to determine whether

ae

= van

or not any proposed action has, in any reasonable

view of the matter, any relation at all to the “national

security or defense.”

The act does not in express terms invest the Presi-

dent with the determination of what is ‘‘needful and

desirable.”” And consequently, having exercised the

power to take over the lines in their operation, he is

limited by what is actually needful or desirable in

the interest of the national security and defense. In

other words, it is for the court and not for the Presi-

dent or postmaster general to determine whether it

was either needful or desirable to intrude into the

domain of state regulation and arrogate the power of

regulating purely local rates. And if there is, in fact,

no basis for saying the abolition of state regulation is

either needful or desirable in the promotion of the

national security, then the court will say that the

postmaster general has not the power to make the

encroachment. Such, we think, is the clear effect of

the case of Interstate Commerce Commission v. Louis-

ville & Nashville R. R. Co., 227 U. S. 88, 91, where

the court said:

“*A finding without evidence is arbitrary and |

baseless. And if the Government’s contention is |

correct, it would mean that the Commission had a

power possessed by no other officer, administrative

body, or tribunal under our Government. It would

mean that where rights depended upon facts, the

Commission could disregard all rules of evidence,

and capriciously make findings by administrative

fiat. Such authority, however, beneficently exer-

cised in one case, could be injurously exerted in

another; is inconsistent with rational justice, and

comes under the Constitution’s condemnation of

all arbitrary exercise of power.”

_ eae

_— om

This case is cited in the brief of Mr. Hughes with

many others, to the proposition “that Congress could

not constitutionally delegate and by the joint resolu-

tion did not attempt to delegate to the President

arbitrary power.”” Among other cases cited are:

Yick Wo v. Hopkins, 118 U. S. 356, 369, 370;

Field v. Clark, 143 U. S. 649;

Buttfield v. Stranahan, 192 U. S. 470;

Union Bridge Co. v. U. S., 204 U. S. 364;

Lewis v. Frick, 233 U.S. 291, 297;

Gegiow v. Uhl, 239 U. S. 3, 9;

American School of Magnetic Healing v. McAn-

nulty, 187 U. S. 94;

Philadelphia Co. v. Stimson, 233 U. S. 605, 620;

Degge v. Hitchcock, 229 U. S. 162, 171.

Apparently that was just exactly the theory enter-

tained by the court, in the case of United States Rail-

road Administration v. Burch, 254 Fed. 140, decided

November 30, 1918, reported February 6, 1919,

where it was said: :

“Under this statute, the President could author-

ize the Secretary of War only to take possession of

such property as he himself is authorized to take

possession of under the statute. The extent of his

powers, and the definition of what property he was

authorized to take possession of under the statute,

would be necessarily a judicial question.”

The circumstances under which the power is

attempted to be exercised in the present case clearly

negative any relation whatever to the national

security and defense, because the step was not under-

taken until a full month after the armistice was

signed; and when the national security and defense

were no longer subject to any actual or even potential

challenge. This would clearly be sufficient to nega-

tive and overthrow the validity of the exercise of the

power in the instant case.

Consequently, it is our position and belief that the

act, without the proviso, does not clearly indicate a

purpose to take the rate making power from the

states.

The natural and ordinary meaning of the language

employed is that aptly used in the creation of a

receivership. This, we think, is the terminology

employed. By reference to general language on the

subject, we are struck at once with the practical

identity of the phrasing.

3. Use of terms, “‘supervision,’’ ‘‘possession,”’

*“‘control,”’ and “‘operation,”’ as found in the

law of receivership.

23 Am. & Eng. Encyc. 1000. ‘‘A receiver is an

officer of the court through whom the court takes

possession of property. * * * (1086) When

appointed he is entitled to take possession and con-

trol of the property or funds involved and to man-

age and dispose of the same under the direction of

the appointing court.”

24. Am. & Eng. Encyc. 4. ‘‘Areceiver of a rail-

road is merely such a functionary appointed for the

purpose of taking possession and generally operat-

ing and managing for a time a railroad under the

orders and control of the court.”

34 Cyc. 16 refers to a receiver as an indifferent per-

son appointed by the court “to hold possession and

control of property which is the subject matter of liti-

gation.”

tas

And it is said at page 284 that while the court “will

not usually appoint a receiver to permanently con-

tinue such operations,” it may do so, in the exercise

of a wide discretion. While it is ,of course, a common-

place of the law of receivership that the functions of

the receiver are exercised under the supervision of

the court (as appears from the subtitles, 34 Cyc. 246,

Supervision, Orders, and Instruction of Court; 248,

Exercise of Supervision), we find, therefore, that all

of the terminology employed in this act is such as is

customarily found in the law of receiverships and the

provisions for their appointment.

A receiver might have been appointed by a court

in a proper case to take possession and assume control

of any individual telephone and telegraph system and

to operate the same in the discretion of the court,

such possession, control, and operation all being exer-

cised under the supervision of the court, and it is

submitted that the only difference between such

receivership and what was intended by the present

act was that, instead of one receiver appointed for

one system, and another receiver for another system,

what was done by Congress was, in effect to sub-

ject the entire telegraph, telephone, cable, and radio

systems of the United States to a receivership, and

to invest the President, if he saw fit to exercise

the same, with jurisdiction to supervise the operations

of such systems, as a court of equity would supervise

them, and to take possession and assume control and

operate the same as a court of equity would do

through its receiver. This, we think, is the natural

and ordinary meaning of the language that Congress

used, and that the president employed in his delega-

~~

tion of power. As a receiver is appointed in an ordi-

nary case to conserve the property and prevent the

dissipation of assets on behalf of the creditors and

stockholders, so in this case, in the language of the

act as originally introduced, possession, control,

supervision, and operatioon were to be exercised,

“to insure the continuous operation of electrical.

communicating systems.”

Such has been recognized to be the status of the

Director General of Railroads. In Rutherford v

Union Pac. R. Co., 254 Fed. 880, it is said, at p. 881:

“‘Under these acts of Congress and the proclama-

tion of the President the Director General is a

carrier. He conducts the business of receiving and

transporting goods and passengers for hire. A re-

ceiver of a railway company is a carrier as to the

goods and passengers transported, (United States

v. Nixon, 235 U. S. 231, 234, 35 Sup. Ct. 49, 59 L.

Ed. 207; United States v. Ramsey, 197 Fed. 144, 146,

116 C. C. A. 568, 42 L. R. A. (N.S.) 1031), and the

office of the Director General is analogous to that

of a receiver of the railway companies.”

Gas & Electric Securities Co. v. Manhattan &

Queens Traction Corporation, 253 Fed. 453 (Ad-

vance Sheets):

Head Note: “A court cannot authorize its re-

ceivers for a street railroad company to charge a

higher rate of fare than that fixed as a maximum by

the company’s franchise.”

Ohio & M. R. Co. v. Russell (ill.), 3 N. E. 561, was

was an action that had to do with enforcing o. a

police regulation in the narrower sense of requiring

the construction of a fence on the railroad right of

way. The railroad sought to escape liability, on the

ground that it was “in the hands of a receiver” under

saitinds

an appointment of a court of competent jurisdiction

with full power to operate such road to the exclusion

of its employes. The court says:

“The action is against defendant for the nonper-

formance of a duty ey by statute, against

which, it is apprehended, no order of a court can

avail to relieve it. It is a police regulation to which

the corporation is subjected by the sovereignty of

the state, and it is not within the rightful jurisdic-

tion of the court, either state or federal, to arrest

its operation. Notwithstanding the appointment

of the receiver, the corporation is clothed with its

franchises, and such corporation still exists. The

effect of the appointment of the receiver is simply

to give him the temporary management of the

railroad, under the direction of the court, instead

of the manager appointed by the directors of the

corporation. Itis that, and nothing more. * * *

It is a principle well understood that all railroad or

other corporations transacting business in its nature

public are subject to all reasonable police —

tions deemed necessary for the common welfare.

The mere fact its property may be temporarily in

the hands of a receiver does not relieve a corpora-

tion from the operation of such regulations, any

more than a private citizen is released from the

duty to observe the law because his property may

be sequestered by the order of a court for the

benefit of his creditors.”

4. Analogy to the powers of the alien property

custodian.

Section 12 of the trading with the enemy act of

Congress, approved October 6, 1917, defines the

powers of the Alien Property Custodian, as follows

(See Clark on Receivers, p. 1219):

teat ccs

“The alien property custodian shall be vested

with all of the powers of a common-law trustee in

respect of all property, other than money, which

shall come into his possession in pursuance of the

provisions of this Act, and, acting under the super-

vision and direction of the President, and under

such rules and regulations as the President shall

prescribe, may manage such property and do any

act or things in respect thereof or make any dispo-

sition thereof or of any part thereof, by sale or

otherwise, and exercise any rights which may be or

become appurtenant thereto or to the ownership

thereof, if and when necessary to prevent waste and

protect such property and to the end that interests

of the United States in such property and rights

or of such person as may ultimately become en-

titled thereto, or to the proceeds thereof, may be

preserved and safeguarded.”’

The language used in this act is just as general and

just as broad in its results, in our opinion, as the

socalled wire control bill, except that it specifically

states that the custodian is to have the powers of a

common law trustee. It also provides, however, that

he is to act under the supervision and direction of the

President and under such rules and regulations as the

President shall prescribe. Assuming that the cus-

todian had come into possession of a telephone sys-

tem by virtue of this act, could it be successfully

argued that either he or the President had the power

to fix the rates, by virtue of the language, “‘super-

vision and direction of the President” and ‘‘rules and

regulations as the President shall prescribe?” Here

we have the use of the apt term “‘regulalions,’”’ and

yet, to our mind, it could not be said that this gave

the power to fix rates. The property, in either case,

has come into the government custody in the exercise

a...

of exactly the same so-called “war power,” but there is

no relation in either act between the necessities and

the requirements of the real situation and the regu-

lation of rates, and we think that such power was no

more conferred in the one case than in the other.

5. Power to fix rates granted in express terms in

other cases.

We find that section 582 (U. S. Comp. St. 1918,

Compact Edition), prescribing the duties of the post-

master general, provides:

, It shall be the duty of the Postmaster General:

aa

“Ninth. To superintend generally the business

of the department.”

Superintend and supervise, we take it, are absolutely

identical in meaning, and supervision is the act of

either superintending or supervising. But under the

use of this phrase, which is identical with the one

employed in the present case, the postmaster general

does not have the power to fix the rates of postage.

We find that he does have that power with refer-

ence to telegraph rates. Title LXV of the Revised

Statutes relates to telegraphs. This act in its original

form (see sec. 10076, R. S. 5267) was entitled, “An

act to aid in the construction of telegraph lines, and

to secure to the Government the use of the same for

postal, military, and other purposes.” Sec. 10075

(R. S. 5266) provides that—

‘Telegrams between the several Departments of

the Government and their officers and agents, in

their transmission over the lines of any telegraph

company to which has been given the right of way,

timber, or station lands from the public domain

shall have priority over all other business, at such

rates as the Postmaster General shall annually fiz.

Subsequently, an act was passed August 7, 1888, and

Congress again industriously wrote into the statute

the proviso:

‘“‘Nothing herein contained shall be held to deny,

exclude, or impair any right or remedy in the prem-

ises now existing in the United States, or any au-

thority that the Postmaster General now has under

title sixty-five of the Revised Statutes to fix rates,

or, of the Government, to purchase lines as provided

under said title, or to have its messages given pre-

cedence in transmission.”

Congress made use of abundant phraseology,

employing the terms, ‘‘supervision,”’ ‘‘possession,”

“control,”” and “operation.” Had it intended to

include the rate making function, it would have used

the simple expression, “‘to fix the rates.” That the

act of fixing rates is an act of regulation is, of course,

commonplace. We find that the Interstate Com-

merce Commission is created by ‘‘The act to regulate

commerce.”

U. S. Compiled Statutes, 1918 Edition—

Sec. 7707. Regulation of Commerce and Navi-

gation.

Sec. 8057. Regulation of Vessels in Domestic

Commerce.

Sec. 8151. Regulation of Steam Vessels.

Sec. 8277. Regulation of Motor Boats.

Sec. 8563. Regulation of Common Carriers of

Interstate and Foreign Commerce.

—

Sec. 3115-kk. Giving the President power

to fix price of wheat. Specifically confers

that power.

Sec. 3115-Y%q. “President * * * author-

ized to fix the price of coal and coke.”

Possibly no more significant illustration of the

practice of Congress could be given than in the “Act

to confer on the President power to prescribe charter

rates and freight rates and to requisition vessels, and

for other purposes,” approved July 18, 1918, two

days after the passage of this act, in which it is pro-

vided by sec. 6:

“That the President shall have power to deter-

mine, prescribe, and enforce reasonable freight

rates and the terms and conditions of affreightment

which shall govern the transportation of goods on

vessels of the United States, which shall be filed

with the United States Shipping Board and open

to public inspection. It shall be unlawful to charge

or collect any compensation for the transportation

of goods on any such vessel, or to enforce or at-

tempt to enforce any terms or conditions of af-

freightment, or to make or receive any payment

or do any act with respect to such transportation,

not in accordance with the rates, terms, and condi-

tions so Prescribed, anything in any contract,

whether heretofore or hereafter made, to the con.

trary notwithstanding.”

Section 7431aa, which relates to the transportation

of mail matter by urban and interurban electric rail-

‘way common carriers, was enacted July 2, 1918.

This would seem a matter peculiarly appropriate to

leave to the postmaster general, and yet we find

Congress providing:

“The Interstate Commerce Commission is here-

by empowered and directed as soon as practicable

to fix and determine from time to time the fair and

reasonable rates and compensation for the trans-

portation of mail matter.” ,

So that Congress was perfectly familiar with the

term and had frequently employed it with definite

significance, and had rate regulation been intended,

that purpose would have been naturally and ordi-

narily accomplished by using those two words in the

portion of the act conferring powers upon the

President.

6. Proviso specially reserves rate making power

to the states.

But we are not left to the necessity of judicial

determination in any given case as to whether the

intrusion into the domain of state regulation of

intrastate rates is “‘needful or desirable’ for the

‘“‘national security or defense.”” Congress has indus-

triously, and as we think, in a spirit of abundant

caution to insure the resolution from attack as

unconstitutional because in conflict with the tenth

amendment, indicated that it did not intend to

interfere in general with the police power, or police

regulation, or rate regulation of the states. The

resolution concludes with this proviso:

(a) Language used. .

_. “That nothing in this act shall be construed to

amend, repeal, impair, or affect existing laws or

owers of the states in relation to taxation or the

awful police regulations of the several states, ex-

cept wherein such laws, powers or regulations may

= on

affect the transmission of government communica-

tions, or the issue of stocks and bonds by such sys-

tem or systems.”’

(b) Purpose to insure constitutionality.

It is our judgment that probably this was unneces-

sary, and a mere confirmation of what the court

would have held the law to be, in the absence of any

proviso at all, and as we suggest, its primary office

was to insure the constitutionality of the resolution.

Chesapeake & Potomac Tel. Co. v. Manning, 186

U. S. 238, at p 242:

“As said by Mr. Justice Story, in Minis v. United

States, 15 Pet. 423, 445:

“*The office of a proviso, generally, is either to

except something from the enacting clause, or to

qualify or restrain its generalities, or to exclude

some possible ground of misinterpretation of it,

as extending to cases not intended by the legislature

to be brought within its purview.’ ”

This case is cited with approval in Austin v.

United States, 155 U. S. 417, 431, and in White v.

U. S., 191 U. S. 551.

“Ann. Cas. 1912C, 1088. Note: “The word ‘pro-

vided,’ as used in a statute generally implies a limi-

tation or restriction upon what has preceded in the

context.”

Such, we think, is the effect of the proviso here, “‘to

exclude some possible ground of misinterpretation of

it, as extending to cases not intended by the legisla-

ture to be brought within its purview.”

ie,

win Ws

(c) Regulation of telephone rates included in

‘‘police regulation.”’

Regulation of telephone rates is an exercise of the

police power of the state, consequently a police regu-

lation, and therefore excepted by the proviso.

Note, Ann. Cas. 1912D, p. 308:

*“A telephone company is engaged in a ‘business

affected with a public interest,’ and the state in the

exercise of its police power may regulate the rates

and charges of such company, and provide a maxi-

mum rate which the charge shall not exceed, pro-

vided that the rate prescribed is reasonable. Chesa-

peake, etc. Telephone Co. v. Manning, 186 U. S.

238, 22 S. Ct. 881, 46 U. S. (L. Ed.) 1144; Cumber-

land Telephone, etc. Co. v. Louisville, 187 Fed. 637;

Hockett v. State, 105 Ind. 259, 5 N. E. 178, 55 Am.

Rep. 201; Central Union Telephone Co. v. Brad-

bury, 106 Ind. 1, 5 N. E. 721; Johnson v. State,

113 Ind. 143, 15 N. E. 215; Central Union Tele-

Phone Co. v. State, 118 Ind. 194, 19 N. E. 604, 10

Am. St. Rep. 114; Pioneer Telephone, etc. Co. v.

Westenhaver, 29 Okla. 429, 118 Pac. 354; State v.

Superior Ct., 67 Wash. 37, 120 Pac. 861. See also

Munn v. Illinois, 94 U. S. 113, 24 U. S. (L. Ed.)

77; Nebraska Telephone Co. v. State, 55 Neb. 627,

76 N. W. 171, 45 : R. A. 113.”

(d) The use of the phrase, ‘“‘the issue of stocks and

bonds by such system or systems.”’

The argument has been made that the term

“police power’ has two meanings: (1) The ordinary

narrow, restricted meaning which has to do with

matters concerning the public health, public morals,

and public safety; (2) the broad police power which

has been sometimes characterized as coextensive with

the power of government itself. While conceding

that police regulations are to be treated as synony-

mous with the expression of police power, it is insisted

that, in this act, the term was used in its ordinary

or narrower sense, and that the proviso reserved to

the states only the exercise of such lawful police regu-

lations as might affect the health, safety, and morals.

It is elementary, of course, that meaning must be

given to ever yphrase and sentence in the act, and

when we find that Congress has industriously writ-

ten into the act the proviso that lawful police regu-

lations are reserved to the states, except wherein they

“may affect * * * the issue of stocks and bonds

by such system or systems,” we are confronted at

once by the proposition that whatever power of

police regulation was intended to be preserved to

the state by the proviso was one which, in legislative

contemplation, necessitated an exception so as to

make it inapplicable to the “issue of stocks and

bonds by such system or systems.”

The issue of stocks and bonds, of course, cannot in

any way be affected by regulations that have to

do ‘with the public health or the public safety or

the public morals, unless, of course, argument should

be made that such restraint as might exist to pre-

vent the exercise of fraud—that is, the criminal

jurisdiction of the state—was to be suspended in

behalf of the postmaster general. It will not be

seriously contended, we think, that Congress had

any such idea in mind. Obviously, what it had

in mind was the provisions found in public utility

statutes quite generally, and which are embodied

in sections 1753—1 to 1753—22, Wis. Stats., which

provide for application to the railroad commission

and the issue of a certificate of authority stating the

amount of such stocks, purposes for which they are

issued, etc., and provide for the ascertainment of the

value of the property of the utility, preliminary to

the issuance of such certificate. This, we submit,

most obviously was the character of police regula-

tions that Congress had in mind, and it requires no

argument, of course, to establish that this matter of

regulation and supervision of the issue of corporate

securities stands upon exactly the same footing and is

referable to that broad form of the police power

under which the power to regulate rates is derived.

The preliminary investigation preceding the fixing

of a rate, and that preceding the authorization of

stocks and bonds, are substantially the same. In the

one case (1753—9, subsec. 2 to 1753—9, subsec. 8),

it may make a true valuation of the property pre-

liminary to authorizing the issue of stocks and

bonds, while 1797m—5 provides for such valuation

as a basis for the determination of reasonable and

just rates. So that if the power to regulate the issue

of stocks and bonds had remained unimpaired up to

the insertion of this exception in the proviso, it must

unquestionably follow that the power to regulate

rates had been preserved up to that point, because

the two species of regulation are absolutely referable

to the same classification of power. The power

reserved could not have been broad enough to

authorize the valuation of property with a view of

determining the amount of stocks and bonds that

might be legitimately issued, without, as a necessary

corollary, having been broad enough to preserve

exactly the same species of power predicated upon an

—

shall Sn

almost identical procedure under which the state

regulated the rate of return upon the utility.

We have therefore, in this concluding sentence of

the resolution, an express declaration that, in the

contemplation of the framers of the law, up to the

point where this exception was inserted in the reso-

lution, the fundamental residuum of police power in

its very broadest sense, under which it is agreed the

power to regulate rates arises, had been left unim-

paired and undisturbed in the inherent possessors of

that power—the states.

7. The debates in Congress disclose that the

evil against which both the telephone and

telegraph and the railroad acts were di-

rected was not the evil of diverse state

regulation.

We are entirely disposed to agree with the Solicitor

for the Post Office Department that ‘“‘The circum-

stances in which it was enacted and the ends and

aims it was to subserve are all-important factors in

_ determining its meaning.”” What, then, were the

circumstances surrounding the enactment of the

legislation? To ascertain them we have under

elementary rules the right to consult the debates in

Congress to ascertain the evil which the legislation

was designed to correct—the circumstances in which

it was enacted. These debates are not, of course,

controlling as determining “‘the meaning of that

language of a statute passed by that body.”

It has been repeatedly held, however, that such

debates may be consulted for the purpose of ascer-

taining the evil which the legislation was designed to

correct. Declarations of this rule are frequent. .

(a) Authorities permitting examination of debates

Ho Ah Kow v. om. 5 Sawy. 552, Fed. Cas.

No. 6, at

Jenison v. Rinks 98 U. S. 453, 459, 25 L. Ed.

— “4 Southern Pac. Co., 186 Fed. 934, at

p

——— v. Boysen, 148 Fed. 771, at page

American Net & Twine Co. v. Worthington, 141

U. S. 469, 473.

Standard Oil Co. v. U. S., ‘ay U.S. 1, at p. 50.

Tap Line Cases, 234 U. S. p. 27.

In re Gerdau, 54 Fed 143, 145"

ars U. S. 143 U. S. 457, 12 Sup. Ct. 511,

Shallus v. United States, 162 Fed. 654, h. n

United States v. Chicago & N. W. Ry. Co., at

Fed. 616, 618.

United States v. Board of Commissioners of

“a 4 Co. Okl. et al., 193 Fed. 485, 486, h.

Black on Interpretation of Laws, 2d ed., Con-

temporary History, 285.

(b) The history of the wire control act.

This was first introduced as a joint resolution by

Mr. Aswell, June 27, 1918, page 9080, Congressional

Record, referred to the Committee on Interstate and

Foreign Commerce. Page 9368, July 2nd by unani-

mous consent the resolution was transferred to the

Committee on Military Affairs.

9378—Motion was made to reconsider this action

by the chairman of the committee to whom it was

originally referred and after debate, this was agreed

to; and on reconsideration, the matter was left with

the original committee (9380).

On July 4, page 9411, the resolution was reported

with an amendment. The discussion of the measure

commenced July 5th. At page 9465, the original

resolution and the amendment are set out in full.

The same follow:

“Joint resolution (H. J. Res. 309) to insure the

continuous operation of electrical communicating

systems, to guard the secrecy of war dispatches,

and prevent communications between public ene-

mies.

“Resolved, eic., That the President, if in his dis-

cretion it is deemed desirable, in order to insure

their continuous operation, or to guard the secrecy

of military and governmental communications, or

to prevent communication by spies and other pub-

lic enemies thereon, or for other military or public

reasons, shall have power to take possession and

control of any telegraph, telephone, marine cable,

or radio systems, and operate the same subject to

those conditions of law, so far as applicable, which

are in force as to steam railroads while under Fed-

eral control.

ig the following committee amendment was

read:

“Committee amendment: Strike out all after the

enacting clause down to and og the word

‘control,’ in line 4, page 2, and insert in lieu thereof

the re:

“ ‘That the President in time of war is author-

ized and empowered to supervise or to take posses-

sion and assume control of any telegraph, tele-

phone, marine cable, or radio system or systems,

or any part thereof, and to operate the same in such

manner as may be needful or desirable for the dura-

po a

tion of the war, which supervision, possession, con-

trol, or operation shall not extend beyond the date

of the proclamation by the President of the ex-

“= of ratifications of the treaty of peace:

“*Provided, That just compensation shall be

made for such supervision, possession, control, or

operation.’ ”’

(a) Debates disclose that evil to be remedied was not regulated by

state commissions.

During the course of the debate, Mr. Esch offered

the amendment as it now stands, relative to com-

pensation, stating that it was the language in the

bill giving “the power of taking over the ship yards”

(page 9466).

On the same day, July 5, 1918, (See Congressional

Record, page 9473), the last part of the resolution

was introduced by Mr. Montague.

Mr Sims said (Congressional Record, July 5, 1918,

p. 9475):

“But looking at the resolution, which is in the

exact language, word for word, of the act of 1916

under which the railroads were all taken over, and

then considering the great railroad-control bill as we

did for many weeks, in which every question per-

taining in nature and substance to this resolution

was discussed, I thought it would be an assumption

on my part to repeat at great length in a report in-

formation which everybody knows. * *

“I am not prepared to say that it will not become

necessary, but I hope it will not become necessary,

and if it does not it will not be done. Therefore

there was no use in a long program of detailed legis-

lation as to the operation, as to the compensation,

in advance of whether or not it would ever become

necessary to consider such legislation. If it is

found necessary by the President to exercise the

_ power herein conferred, as a matter of course Con-

— will do as it did in the railroad-control matter.

. There will be supplementary legislation to take

care of every question that will arise, and it will not

be railroaded through the House without ample

time for consideration.”

“I do not think there is the remotest possibility

of the Government taking supervision because the

= " supervised by different States.” (P.

At page 9478 the proviso was read again by the

clerk and the following question and answer appear

with reference to it:

“Mr. Escu. Is that language the language of

the railroad act?

Mr. MonraGueE. It is, except that the language

of the railroad act is ‘transportation of troops, war

materials, and Government supplies.’ Of course,

that oy is inapplicable to this bill, and I sim-

ply used the language “Government communica-

tions,’ which would embrace all communications by

’ wire or telephone.”

’ And again it was stated:

“Mr. Montacue. Does the gentleman carry

- in his mind the distinction between regulation and

limitation? Wein this committee have not —

in any measure of a regulatory character. he

amendment that I proposed is simply an amend-

ment of limitation and preservation of existing

powers.”

At 9479, we find the interesting statement in

response to the suggestion which has been urged in

other arguments, that the President already had the

power:

“Mr. Sims: I think I can suggest a fair approach

to an answer to the question whether or not the

President has the power contained in this resolu-

tion, that it was submitted to the Department of

Justice and after a thorough investigation and

study the Depwrtment of Justice reported to the

President that he did not have the authority.”

At page 9481, the title was then amended by

unanimous consent to correspond with the resolution.

The matter came up for consideration in the Senate

in its amended form (July 6, page 9502), and under

its present title was referred to the Committee on

Interstate Commerce. On July 8th, page 9610, it

was reported back with recommendation, after con-

sideration of a little over an hour (9611).

On page 9614, we find the suggestion made as to

the possibility of a strike. It was stated at 9614 by

Mr. Penrose:

**Mr. President, I do not think in the history of

any — body from here to Russia has a

more high-handed proceeding been perpetrated

than that which we have witnessed this afternoon.

I speak coolly and advisedly, although my indigna-

tion runs high. We are pie to be in a battle

for liberty and to be engaged in a tremendous con-

flict to bring about the downfall of autocracy, and

yet here in the Senate of the United States every

principle of orderly constitutional procedure and

of liberty has been outraged and violated.”

And at 9617, it was referred back to the com-

mittee. On July 10th, Congressional Record, page

9685, it was again reported and read by title. At

9729 on July 11th, the matter was again brought up

for consideration. Reference was made by Mr.

— 47 —

Smith to the question of tolls in the following

language and upon possible abuse:

“The question of tolls and rental and hours of

service is very important to the telephone patrons,

and any unnecessary interference with present

plans should have the most careful consideration.”

This discussion was resumed on July llth, page

9732. It was stated at 9733 by Mr. Underwood.

“T will say to the Senator from Ohio that so far

as I know there is no emergency which exists in this

hour for this legislation. That is the reason why

I did not think there were any hearings necessary. :

And again at 9735, a colloquy took place between

Mr. Harding and Mr. Underwood:

‘Mr. HARDING. I want to ask the Senator from

Alabama if he will not admit, however, that the

public-service utilities, which he is proposing to give

authority to take over, are already essentially under

license and control on the part of the various public

utilities commissions throughout the States?

“Mr. UNDERWOOD: ell, I think they are

throughout the States; and that very fact might

hamper the hands of the Federal Government.

“Mr. HARDING: Now, if the Senator will tell the

Senate how it will hamper the Government, we

shall be obliged to him.

‘MIR. UNDERWOOD: I do not know how it

would; I can not answer that question definitely; .

I say that it might; I do not say that it would; but

the fact that those companies are regulated can

not affect the situation.”

And again at 9736 Mr. Underwood said:

“But I do not think there is any probability

whatever of the taking over of the telephones in

this land, except it might be to meet a local situa-

tion in some seaport for the moment or the hour;

but so far as taking over the telephones of the

country is concerned, eee or in any large

class or as a system, I do not think there is any

possibility of it.”

On the same page a communication from Mr.

Burleson is reproduced which says:

“At this moment the paralysis of a large part of

the system of electrical communication is threat-

ened, with possible consequences prejudicial to our

military preparations and other public activities

that might prove serious or disastrous.”

And this danger is characterized by Mr. Reed:

“That the emergency now exists in the threat-

ened strike.”

9746—July 12th, an amendment was introduced

by Mr. Reed. Page 9749, it was stated:

“That the genesis of this proposition is at the

Post Office Department, where they hope, under

the present exigency, to give it force and effect.

I think they are making use of this extraordinary

situation to get control of these great arteries and

avenues of communication.”

At page 9755, letters and telegrams were intro-

duced tending to demonstrate that there was no

danger of a strike among the telegraph employees.

At page 9801 the speech of Mr. Kellogg on July 11th

appears. At 9850 under date of July 13th Mr.

Reed states:

“If then the Government should tomorrow take

over these utilities and there is no clause written

aw 49

into the law which will perpetuate the legal right

of the citizen to this service, any citizen can be re-

fused that service and he is totally and absolutely

without redress, first, because the public use has

been absorbed in the sovereignty itself and, second,

because he can not sue that sovereignty. Nobody

can sue the United States of America except where

Congress has expressly granted that permission.”

To which Mr. Shields, reading the resolution, replied:

‘“‘Now, the question I wish to ask is, Are not the

rights of the citizens of which the Senator speaks

protected by the provision that this measure shall

not be construed to amend, repeal, impair, or affect

existing laws referring to taxation or the local

police regulations of the several States? Is it not

a fact that the right of the general public to be

served by public utilities, such as common carriers,

hotels, telegraph companies, and telephone com-

panies, comes under the police regulation? Are

not all the laws, both common and statutory, SOv-

erning these public utilities police regulations, and

must not the public utility render this service, and

is not that preserved in the bill?”

his proposed amendment:

“But let us assume that the Senator from Ten-

nessee is right, I do nothing in this amendment but

reaffirm and reassert a right and make it clear.

‘When these utilities are taken over the adminis-

tration of their business affairs will be turned over

to a vast multitude of men. It almost always hap-

pens that some men put into public position be-

come more or less arbitrary, and if they are under

no restraints whatever great damage and injury

may be done.”

At 9851, Mr. Reed stated further, with reference to

wien i

At the same page, Mr. Knox stated:

“Tt is only written into the resolution that which

is approved as a matter of course. It is not a right

in ef judgment that rests in the police power. It is

a right that grows out of the nature of the service

that these corporations offer to render to the gen-

eral public, and we are only writing into the resolu-

tion a proposition that in our opinion no operations

of these lines, if they are taken over by the Govern-

ment, will interfere with that natural right. The

amendment contemplates and specifically provides

that in any situation where the private right and

the Government right conflict the private right

must give way.”

The amendment was rejected by a vote of 27—for

and 32 against, 37 not voting. The joint resolution

itself was adopted on July 13th, page 9852.

This detailed history of the resolution and its

passage is presented, not at all upon the theory of

demonstrating what the intention of Congress was,

because we think the reference to the debates lends

peculiar emphasis to the proposition of their untrust-

worthy character as a guide to the intention of the

legislative body. We find that while there was dis-

cussion on the matter in question, Mr. Reed thought

it necessary to pass an amendment to insure the

citizens’ rights; Mr. Shields thought it unnecessary

because they were already provided for by the term

‘police regulation” and Mr. Knox stood for the view

that the amendment would only write into the reso-

lution that which was approved as.a matter of course.

It is, of course, absolutely beyond human power to

determine which view governed the action of Con-

gress, in either house, in adopting the resolution; but

po one

this much does appear: that while a sort of nebulous

military necessity was suggested, the exact nature of

which no one seemed to be able to find and which all

apparently agreed did not exist at the time that the

bill was under consideration as a reason for its

adoption and that the fact that a strike was threat-

ened was touched upon as a reason for adopting the

resolution, throughout the entire debate, discussion

and proceedings that have to do with the resolution,

there is neither phrase, syllable or suggestion in the

remotest possible way indicating that state regulation

of rates was a reason for passing the bill. Mr.

Underwood in a vague way suggested such inter-

ference as a possibility without apparently indicating

in what respect it might arise.

8. Argument based on the analogy to control

exercised over railroads.

(a) Act for wire control is in pari materia with

railroad bill.

It will be admitted that the Federal control of

transportation and the same control of the wire

communicating systems both relate to the same

general subject matter. This, we think, follows from

whichever one of several standpoints the matter may

be considered. The terms of the rail act authorize

the President ‘‘to take possession and assume control

of any system or systems of transportation” in time

of war ‘for the transfer or transportation of troops,

war material and equipment, or for such other pur-

a te

poses connected with the emergency as may be

needful or desirable.” (Vol. 39, Statutes, p. 645.)

As above set forth, the joint resolution for wire

control states that the President, during the con-

tinuance of the present war, is authorized, ‘‘whenever

he shall deem it necessary for the national security

or defense, to supervise or to take possession and

assume control * * * and to operate the same in

such manner as may be needful or desirable for the

duration of the war.”

The Presidential Proclamation, in the case of

assumption of control of the transportation system

recites:

“It has now become necessary in the national de-

fense to take possession and assume control of cer-

tain systems of transportation and to utilize the

same, to the exclusion, as far as may be necessary,

of other than war traffic thereon, for the transporta-

tion of troops, war material, and equipment there-

for, and for other needful and desirable purposes

connected with the prosecution of the war.”

The Proclamation assuming control of the wire

systems uses the language:

“It is deemed necessary for the national security

and defense to a pipe] and to take possession

and assume control of all telegraph and telephone

systems and to operate the same in such manner as

may be needful or desirable.”

(b) Rule stated permitting examination of statutes

in pari materia or on merely cognate sub-

jects.

In other words, it very clearly appears that the two

acts and the proceedings thereunder are related to the

general subject of the national security and defense.

In another aspect, they are likewise in pari materia,

as having to do with the general subject of the

Federal operation and control of public utilities.

They are upon the same general subject, in the sense

that they deal with the question of interstate com-

merce, and its regulation with reference to the

powers of the states over intrastate commerce.

But even though the court should conclude that they

are not strictly in pari materia, it is very clear that

they relate to cognate matters; and whether they are

strictly in pari materia or merely cognate, under

authorities that govern construction established by

this jurisdiction and by the supreme court of the

United States, they may be referred to.

Smith v. People, 47 N. Y. 330, p. 339:

“Statutes in pari materia relate to the same sub-

ject, the same person or thing, or the same class of

persons or things, and are to be read together, for

the reason that it is to be implied that a code of

statutes relating to one subject is governed by the

same spirit, and are intended to be harmonious and

consistent. They are to be taken together as if

they were one in law, as one statute.”

Munger v. Lenroot, 32 Wis. 541. Two statutes

giving liens on logs although enacted at different

sessions and relating to two different sets of counties

were characterized by the court as follows:

*‘These statutes relating to laborers’ liens are in

pari materia and we may look at one to discover the

true interpretation of another.”

Com. v. Ross, 122 S. W. 161, 135 Ky. 315.

by the following cases:

_

Endlich on the Interpretation of Statutes, 43, 51.

36 Cyc. 1147:

“Statutes in pari materia are those which relate

to the same person or thing, or to the same class of

persons or things.”’

Helm v. City of Grayville, 79 N. E. 691:

“In arriving at the proper construction to be

given a statute, other statutes relating to the same

subject should be considered. ‘Statutes are in pair

materia which relate to the same person or thing or

to the same class of persons or things, and the

ang is applicable to public statutes or general

aws made at different times and reference to the

same subject.” 26 Am. & Eng. Encyc. of Law (2d

Ed.) 621; South Park Comrs. v. First Nat. Bank,

177 Ill. 234, 52 N. E. 365; Stribling v. Prettyman,

57 Ill. 371.”

Indianapolis Northern Traction Co. v. Ramer,

76 N. E. 808, 810:

“The rule of construction by the aid of statutes

in pari materia does not restrict the court to the

consideration of other legislation enacted on the

same day or at the same session. The use of the

rule, like all other methods of construction, is to as-

_ certain the intention of the legislature by reference

to other enactments relating to the same matter or

subject—-to the same person or thing, or to the

same class of persons or things.”

The application of the rule and the classification of

legislative acts, no more closely related than here, as

appertaining to the same general subject matter

within the meaning of this rule, are further illustrated

—————

—' —

a! Ryan’s Estate, (Mo. App.) 156 Ss. W.

Converse v. The U. S., 62 How. 463;

State v. Esser, (Nev.) 129 Pac. 557;

—— Stone Co. v. Thomas, (Ind.) 94 N. E.

Greenbush Cemetery Ass’n v. Van Natta, (Ind.)

94 N. E. 899;

State v. Eggers, (Nev.) 136 Pac. 100.

Sutherland Statutory Const.: “Statutes upon cog-

nate subjects may be referred to, though not strictly

in pari materia.”

State v. Summers, 44 S. W. 797:

“Even cognate statutes, though not strictly in

pari materia, may be invoked and referred to in

order to elucidate the legislative intent. Suth. St.

Const. 283, 284; Ex parte Marmaduke, 91 Mo. 257,

4S. W. 91.”

Schmidt v. Raymond, 148 Wis. 271, 274, construing

the effect of the statutory provision for curtesy to a

husband in a deceased wife’s estate, provisions on

| the cognate subject of dower were considered: “Tt is

| quite significant that, while sec. 3885, Stats. (1898)

provides for the admeasurement of dower, in the

event of it being necessary to sell the lands of a

| deceased husband to pay debts, no such provision is

| found in regard to curtesy. If the legislature had

considered that the rights of the husband by curtesy

took precedence over the claims of the creditors, no

doubt a provision would have been made for the

admeasurement of curtesy as well as of dower.”

State v. Beck, 21 R. 1. 288, 43 Atl. 366, 45 L. R. A.

269:

wn

“‘A familiar rule in the construction of statutes

is that a statute must be construed with reference

to the whole system of which it forms a part, and

that statutes upon cognate subjects may be referred

to though not strictly in pari materia. Sutherland

Stat. Const. 284.”

Smith v. People, 47 N. Y. 330, 339:

**So in case of doubt or uncertainty, acts in pari

materia, passed before or after, and whether re-

pealed or unrepealed, may be referred to in order

to discern the intent of the legislature in the use

of particular terms; and within the same rule, and

the reason of it, contemporaneous legislation, al-

— not precisely in pari materia, may be re-

ferred to for the same purpose.”

Whitcomb v. Rood, 20 Vt. 49:

**‘But when terms or modes of expression are em-

ployed, in a new statute, which had acquired a

definite meaning and application in a previous stat-

ute, on the same subject, or one analogous to it,

they are generally supposed to be used in th. same

sense; and in — e construction of such stat-

e

ute, regard should had to the known and es-

tablished interpretation of the old.”

State v. Woodson, 31 S. W. 105, 128 Mo. 497:

“Statutes not strictly ‘in pari materia’—statutes

on cognate subjects—may be brought within range

of the construing vision as needed auxiliaries in the

work of interpretation.”

Cummings v. Everett, 19 Atl. 456:

“The whole body of previous and contemporan-

eous legislation should be considered in interpreting

any statute.”

— §7 —

Endlich Interpretation of Statutes, Sec. 52, p. 65:

“The construction which has been put upon acts

on similar subjects, even though the language

should be different, should for a similar reason be

referred to.”

26 Am. & Eng. Encyc. 623:

““Contemporaneous legislation, not precisely in

ag materia with the statute to be construed may

e referred to on the question of intent.”

Vane v. Newcomb, 132 U. S. 220, quotes this lan-

guage at 236 from Stout v. Board of Coms., 107 Ind.

343, 348, which makes use of it and in turn refers to

the earlier case of Prather v. The Jeffersonville, Madi-

son and Indianapolis R., 52 Ind. 16, where it originally

appeared. Chase v. Lord, 77 N. Y. 1, 18, employs

almost the same words. Matter of Rochester Water

Coms., 66 N. Y. 422, as does People v. England, 91 Hun

152, 155: “Where other acts of the legislature,

passed at or about the same time, corroborate the

evidence of intent, as gathered from the statutes

under review, the duty of the courts is to give effect

to the intent rather than to the literal terms of the

act.”

State v. Wiggins Ferry Co., 106 S. W. 1005, quotes

with approval from Sutherland that “statutes on

cognate subjects may be referred to,”’ as does State v.

Patterson, 105 S. W. 1048.

Under elementary rules where a statute or part

thereof, adopted from another state or re-enacted in

a subsequent statute in the same state, has received

a prior construction, such construction is binding

upon the court in its interpretation of the statute so

adopted from a foreign state or re-enacted from the

body of statutes previously existing. We contend

that the reason of this rule sustains this proposition

—that where the language of a statute having to do

with the same general subject matter is subse-

quently taken over in substance and in form in

another enactment, in case the first enactment has

not received definitive interpretation by legislative

construction or by the court, in interpreting the

second or subsequent enactment, the court will have

the right to examine into the facts and circum-

stances and the general situation surrounding the

enactment of the first provision with a view of

ascertaining what the particular evil was that the

legislative body sought to remedy by the insertion of

the particular phrase—and has a right to resort to

all legitimate aids in enabling it to arrive at a correct

interpretation of the meaning and intent of the first

of the two provisions, whether intrinsic in the lan-

guage employed, or extrinsic thereto, in order to

enable it to properly interpret the second enactment

in the light of and with the aid of such assistance as

would have been available and as would have

enabled the court to put a proper construction upon

the language of the statute furnishing the source for

the enactment in question.

(c) Railroad legislation summarized.

The first provision relative to control of the rail-

roads is found at page 645 of Vol. 39 of the Statutes,

the same being the revenue bill passed by the 64th

Congress on August 29, 1916.

“The President, in time of war, is empowered,

through the Secretary of War, to take possession

and assume control of any system or systems of

transportation, or any part thereof, and to utilize

the same, to the exclusion as far as may be neces-

sary of all other traffic thereon, for the transfer or

transportation of troops, war material and equip-

ment, or for such other purposes connected with

the emergency as may be needful or desirable.”

The authority conferred by this proviso was not

exercised until the Presidential proclamation of

December 26, 1917, which provided that—

“* * * The possession, control, operation, and

utilization of such transportation systems, hereby

by me undertaken, shall be exercised by and

through William G. McAdoo, who is hereby ap-

pointed and designated Director General of Rail-

roads. Said director may perform the duties im-

posed upon him, so long and to such extent as he

shall determine, through the boards of directors,

receivers, officers, and employees of said systems of

transportation. Until and except so far as said

director shall from time to time 4 general or

special orders otherwise provide, the boards of di-

rectors, receivers, officers, and snevest of the

various transportation systems shall continue the

= thereof in the usual and ordinary course

of the business of common carriers, in the names

of their respective companies.

“Until and except so far as said director shall

from time to time otherwise by general or special

orders determine, such systems of transportation

shall remain subject to all existing statutes and

orders of the Interstate Commerce Commission and

to all statutes and orders of regulating commissions

of the various States in which said systems or

any part thereof may be situated.. But any

orders, general or special, hereafter made by dais

director shall have paramount authority and be

obeyed as such.”

Following this, and under date of March 21, 1918,

the 65th Congress provided for the ascertainment of

just compensation for the carriers taken, providing a

revolving fund of five hundred million dollars for the

purpose of paying the expenses of the federal control,

and, so far as necessary, the amount of just compen-

sation. Section 10 expressly provides:

‘“*That carriers while under Federal control shall

be subject to all laws and liabilities as common

carriers, whether arising under State or Federal

laws, or at common law, except in so far as may be

inconsistent with the provisions of this act or any

other act applicable to such Federal control or

with any order of the President. * * *

“That during the period of Federal control,

whenever in his opinion the public interest re-

quires, the President may initiate rates, fares,

charges, classifications, regulations, and practices

by filing the same with the Interstate Commerce

Commission, which said rates, fares, charges, classi-

fications, regulations, and practices shall not be

suspended by the commission pending final deter-

mination.

“Said rates, fares, charges, classifications, regu-

lations, and practices shall be reasonable and just

and shall take effect at such time and upon such

notice as he may direct, but the Interstate Com-

merce Commission shall, upon complaint, enter up-

on a hearing concerning the justness and reason-

ableness of so much of any order of the President

as establishes-or changes any rate, fare, charge,

classification, regulation, or practice of any car-

rier under Federal control, and may consider all

the facts and circumstances existing at the time

— 6] —

of the making of the same. In determining any

uestion concerning any such rates, fares, charges,

classifications, regulations, or practices or changes

therein, the Interstate Commerce Commission shall

give due consideration to the fact that the trans-

portation systems are being 0 erated under a uni-

fied and coordinated national control and not in

competition.”

Section 15 provides:

“That nothing in this act shall be construed to

amend, repeal, impair, or affect the existing laws

or powers of the States in relation to taxation or

the lawful police regulations of the several States,

except wherein such laws, powers or regulations

may affect the transportation of troops, war ma-

terials, Government supplies, or the issue of stocks

and bonds.”’

(d) Interpretation of railroad act.

The foregoing would appear to demonstrate very

clearly that by the terms of the original Presidential

proclamation, the railroads were kept expressly sub-

ject to “all existing statutes and orders of the Inter-

state Commerce Commission and to all statutes and

orders of regulating commissions.” The act of

March 21, 1918, varied this only to the extent of

conferring upon the President the power to initiate

rates, fares, charges, classifications, regulations, and

practices by filing the same with the Interstate Com-

merce Commission, while section 15, which provides

that ‘“‘nothing in the act shall be construed to amend,

repeal, impair or affect the existing laws or powers of

the States in relation to taxation or the Jawful

police regulations of the several States,” is merely

declaratory of the presidential purpose that such

systems of transportation should remain subject to

all statutes and orders or regulating commissions of

the various states, in which said systems or any part

thereof may be situated, with a proviso that the

orders of the Director should “‘have paramount

authority and be obeyed as such.” In other words,

the net effect of the provisions covering the railroad

situation was: first, to leave them expressly subject

to the control of state commi.sions and the Inter-

state Commerce Commission, and, secondly, to give

the President authority to initiate interstate rates;

but in our opinion, by legislative silence on the sub-

ject, to deny him the power to initiate intrastate

rates, and by express declaration to re-affirm the

policy of leaving the roads subject to the police

regulation of the states—clearly used as inclusive

and synonymous with the expression used in the

Presidential Proclamation of “regulatory commis-

sions.”

The foregoing provisions amply demonstrate the

contention that we make, that whatever results that

were sought to be obtained, were to be accomplished

through the medium of speeding up railroad opera-

tions from the standpoint of their internal manage-

ment, and that the status quo, so far as existing laws

and arrangements were concerned, was to be dis-

turbed just as little as possible, and only in the

specific particulars provided by the Presidential

Proclamation and the act of Congress.

_— a

(e) The evil sought to be remedied by Congress, as.

discussed in the hearing before the Interstate

Commerce Committee of the United States

Senate prelimary to the passage of the bill

under which the President received the power

to initiate railroad rates.

Prior to the enactment of the legislation of March

23, 1918, the situation of the railroads under the act

of Congress and under the proclamation of the

President was akin, at least, to the situation of the

telephone companies at the present time, and Con-

gress in enacting this legislation had before it the

committee hearing on the matter.

It appears at page 499 of the hearing on govern-

ment control and operation of railroads, pursuant to

S. Res. 171:

“Commissioner ANDERSON. I think the power

to fix rates, either under the interstate-commerce

act or under any State act, has already been taken

away, so far as the assertion of the war power of

the President under the act of August, 1916, makes

reasonably necessary, and that section 11 carries

forward precisely the status which I think now

exists.”

And at p. 751:

“Senator KELLoGG. While the roads are being

managed by the Government itself, as a Govern-

ment institution, do you think the State commis-

sions should be allowed to fix any parts of the rates

on the Government gh gg ii

“Mr. WALTER. do, Senator, for this reason:

I do not understand that the Government has

taken possession of the railroads as it would take

possession of a piece of property and erect a buildé-

es

ing thereon. My thought is that all the possession

they have is the possession to operate the freight

thereon, and that you leave to the Interstate Com-

merce Commission and to the State commissions

the exercise of all functions not in conflict with the

exercise of the power of movement.”

Again, at p. 752:

“Senator KELtocc. * * * Of course that

possession has been taken through the various

corporations, but if the Government has the con-

structive possession of the railways of the country

and is operating them as a Government institution,

do you think any power except the Federal power

should fix the rates and direct the operation of

lines in the country?

“Mr. WALTER. Viewing the conditions as they

are now, I will say yes, that the State commissions

ought to be preserved, for these reasons, Senator,

if you will permit me a little bit of a long answer.

In the first place, it takes a man with some expe-

rience and judgment to determine what the reason-

able rate is. The State commissions are just as

patriotic, as energetic and as desirous of proper

results as anybody else. I would leave to them the

exercise of their power.”

Mr. McAdoo testified before the committee (pp.

843-844):

‘“‘The President’s proclamation has expressly left

that status unimpaired except to the extent that it

_ may be determined in the public interest to alter it

from time to time. As it stands to-day the State

commissions are exercising precisely their same

functions. The Interstate Commerce Commission

is exercising its same function, and, for my own

part, I think as little disturbance should be made as

possible in those matters; yet, at the same time,

_itis very essential that the President should exercise

his full powers as the public necessity requires.

“It is not only a question of the amount of the

rate, but of the effect of the rate upon different com-

munities. Those rates have relation to the econ-

omic status and the industrial activities of the

country. I think that any man who undertook

lightly to disturb that rate structure would be

doing a very foolish thing, and naturally the Presi-

dent would not undertake to exercise the power he

has under the law to destroy or disturb rates lightly

or unnecessarily.

**As I said to the State commissioners who called

on me the other day, the ordinary procedure will

continue to be observed; that the advice and sug:

estion and assistance of these commissions could

e made of great value in the management of the

railroads; that the purpose of the President was

and is not to exercise any power he possesses to

override the authority of the Interstate Commerce

Commission and various State commissions except

in cases where it is clearly necessary to do so to

meet the war emergencies or to serve the public

interest.”

Mr. Cowan testified at p. 1148:

“I say, therefore, that if a railroad company, or

any other carrier, or Congress, or the State legis-

lature, shall impose a charge above what is rea-

sonable, it is in the nature of a tax. It is unlawful,

it is not the standard that the shipper is rea-

sonably entitled to, it is not the standard which

the public is entitled to, the railroad has no right

> exact more, and the shipper is obliged to pay

that.

“* * * T say, therefore, that the suggestion

that has been made—and I may parenthetically

remark that it is an astonishing proposition to me,

coming from the source that it does—-that under

this bill the President, the Director General, or

whoever executes this law might raise the rates

— va

for the purpose of producing revenue for the Gov-

ernment. In other words, exercise the taxing

power, if they raise it beyond what is reasonable.’

(f) Discussion of bill in Congress.

The bill was presented in the Senate February 11th

(see p. 1939, Congressional Record). At 1944 it was

stated by Mr. Smith, who had charge of the same:

“The bill under consideration was drafted by

the administration and modified by the Interstate-

Commerce committee of the Senate to meet the

situation.”

In presenting his summary of the bill to the house,

Mr. Sims, who apparently had charge of the same for

the administration, stated in the house on February

19, 1918, at page 2337:

“On the other hand, it is manifestly impractic-

able and undesirable for the President or any

- agencies he may create to readjust our present rate

_ fabric. Comparatively little of it ought to be

readjusted, and such necessary adjustment should

come tentatively and only to meet obvious needs.

Our committee was of the opinion that section il

meets the situation in the least objectionable and

in the most practicable way. It provides that,

except as the President may from time to time

otherwise order, rates shall continue to be and to

be determined as hitherto.

“This leaves the Interstate Commerce Commis-

sion and the state commissions to proceed, precisely

as hitherto, in the determination of all rate ques-

tions unless and until the President, in the exer-

cise of the war power, shall order otherwise.”

Vol. 56, Part III, 65th Congress, p. 2360, contains

_

a discussion by Mr. Snook of the clause relative to

the authority to initiate and fix rates. And on that

page appears an excerpt from the testimony of Mr.

McAdoo before the committee, in which he states,

as to intrastate rates, “I think that the state com-

missions ought to continue to consider such ques-

tions as they rise,’”’ and that in a conference he had

told them that they should go ahead and hear cases

and exercise their powers as theretofore, subject to

the power of the President to override their decision

when he thought it necessary to do so in the public

interest, and stated: “It is therefore plain that there

is to be no change in the present method of fixing

rates, except in exceptional cases, and then only

when an emergency arises making such course neces-

sary.”

Senator Underwood, February 20, p. 2377, Con-

gressional Record, contended—

“that the bill should not be passed unless within the

folds of the bill remains the provision to allow the

Interstate Commerce Commission to continue to

functionate and review any rate that is put upon

the people of this country from any source.”

At page 2378, Senator Sherman objected to impair-

ing or invading the power of the Interstate Com-

merce Commission. ;

Mr. Poindexter stated in the Senate (p. 2387):

“It was the avowed purpose of the Directér Gen-

eral not to interfere in general with the rate making

duties and authority either of the Interstate or

state commissions.”

In referring to this section as “11,” Mr. Sims ob-

viously misspoke as the section then, as now was

numbered 10 and is the same as printed above and

practically identical with the section as finally enact-

ed. At that time, however, there was nothing in the

bill in any way corresponding to Section 15 thereof,

quoted as above, as finally enacted, except that Sec-

tion 13 of the act provided: “that nothing in this

act shall be construed to amend, repeal, impair or

affect the existing laws or powers of the states in

relation to taxation.”

In this form the bill passed the Senate on February

21, calendar day, February 22, Congressional Record,

Second Session, 65th Congress, Page 2519.

When the bill went into the House of Representa-

tives it was amended by striking out everything after

the enacting clause, making various changes therein,

but the most significant was to present for the first

time the equivalent of Section 15 as it now appears.

(g) Proposed amendment inserting in proviso the

words “‘the regulation of rates.”’

Section 16 of the bill so amended provided:

“That nothing in this Act shall be construed to

amend, repeal, impair, or affect the existing laws

or powers of the states in relation to taxation, or the

lawful police regulations of the several states, ex-

cept wherein these regulations may affect the

transportation of troops, war materials, or Govern-

ment supplies, the regulation of rates, the expendi-

ture of revenues, the addition to or improvement

of properties, or the issue of stocks and bonds.”

oe

This bill, as so amended passed the House of Rep-

resentatives by a vote of 339 voting “aye,” six voting

“nay,” one voting “present,” and eighty-one not

voting.

Following the passage of the bill as thus amended

in the House, it appears at 2838 and 2839 that the

House insisted upon its amendment, and arrange-

ment was made for further conference upon the bill.

Thereafter, conference committees were duly ap-

pointed, and the bill in its present form reported to

both Houses, with the phrase “regulation of rates”

omitted.

The conference report on the railroad bill was pre-

sented to the Senate, March 13, 1918, debated, and

rejected on a point of order, which appeared to call

for the discussion of the intent and effect of the pro-

viso under consideration here.

The Vice-President stated (p. 3420, Congressional

Record):

“The Senate of the United States passed this

proviso in this bill:

“That nothing in this act shall be construed

to amend, repeal, impair, or affect the existing laws

or powers of the states in relation to taxation.’

“The House of Representatives, in the substi-

tuted bill, included that language exactly, and

added to it:

‘or the lawful police regulations of the several

states, except wherein these regulations may affect

the transportation of troops, war materials, or gov-

ernment rin the regulation of rates, the ex-

penditure of revenues, the addition to or improve-

ment of properties, or the issue of stocks and

bonds.’ ”’

Mr. Pomerene stated:

“It is true that one of the subjects of state con-

trol has been the question of taxation. The Senate

adopted the provision as read. The House adopted

that provision plus something more, namely, a lim-

itation upon the power of the State over the subject

of taxation. But that was not all. The House went

further and said upon the subject of control, we

are going to reserve to the States the power over

the subject of taxation and also the police power of

the states as theretofore.”

At page 3432, Senate Bill 3752 was again sub-

mitted to the Senate by Mr. Smith, of South Caro-

lina. The bill as finally adopted appears in the

Record in full (pp. 3433-3435). From 3436 to 3443,

there is a discussion of the bill, and the record of its

adoption appears on that page, on March 13, 1918;

but nothing in the discussion throws any further

light on the intent and meaning of the proviso here in

question. On the same date (3461-3462), conference

report was presented in the House by Mr. Sims of

the committee. At 3492, it was again called up by

Mr. Sims. At 3495, March 14, there appears a

statement presented to accompany the bill, in which

it was said:

“The conferees agreed to strike out section 16

of the House amendment and substituted therefor

a new section as set out in section 15 of the confer-

ence report. The substitute section provides that

this act shall not be construed to amend, repeal,

impair, or affect existing laws or powers of the states

in relation to the lawful police regulations of the

states, except wherein such laws, powers, or regu-

lations may affect the transportation of troops, war

materials, government supplies, or the issue of

stocks and bonds.”

— oe

At 3496, there is a significant and interesting state-

ment not bearing on the question here, but in a

general way bearing on the scope of the power con-

ferred by Congress, made in the House by the chair-

man of the conference committee, Mr. Sims:

“Mr. Speaker, if the order of the President vio-

lated the provisions of this act or was not author-

ized by it, it would be void, because he would have

no authority to make it, and of course, any order

made by him must be made in accordance with

and in pursuance of the authority given him by

the act of August, 1916, or by this act, and any

order made outside of the authority conferred by

those acts would be absolutely void.”

At 3496, the following exchange of views took

place:

Mr. OsporNE: “I call the attention of the

gentleman from Tennessee to the explanation in

the statement of the managers of section 15, page

11. That explanation is as follows:

“The substitute section also provides that this

act shall not be construed to amend, repeal, im-

pee, or affect existing laws or powers of the states

n relation to the lawful police regulations of the

states——’

“And so forth, leaving out the word ‘taxation,’

which appears in the section. Was that intended?”

Mr. Sims: “The act plainly exempts the states

from any kind of control with reference to taxa-

tion. The other language that the gentleman

refers to simply has reference to the police powers

of the states.”

Mr. Esch, also a member of the conference com-

mittee, speaking at 3499, said, as to the power of

the President generally, and as to this section:

=

“With reference to the provision that was re-

ferred to here as to ‘any order of the President,’ I

think that has been explained. We must interpret

those words in the light of the section in which the

words appear; and if so interpreted they will not

give to the President this broad and unlimited

pated to repeal or suspend any statute of the

nited States or any statute of a state.

“With reference to section 15, relating to the tax-

ing power, we have practically gotten back to the

house provision.”

Thereupon (March 14, p. 3500), the conference report

was agreed to.

(h) Use by Congress of *“‘police regulation” includes

‘rate regulation.”’

We find then that there was the same general

diversity of view of just what the net result of the

various provisions of the bill might be but we think

the phrasing of the amended bill as it first passed the

House, conclusively sets at rest any doubt there may

be as to the sense in which the term “police regula-

tions” was used by Congress in both of the acts in

question. Jt was used in the sense of regulation of

rates; and the inference is that having omitted the

phrase from both the Railroad Control Bill and the

Wire Control Bill, it was expressly intended not to

except the regulation of rates by the states from the

terms of the proviso. We submit, in other words,

that Congress understood and intended to use the

words “police regulation” in these enactments, how-

ever they may have been intended in other enact-

ments, in exactly the same sense as the Supreme

—3—

Court of the United States used those words. In the

sense, for instance, in which they are applied in Reagan

v. Mercantile Trust Co., 154 U. S. at p. 417, where lan-

guage substantially parellel to the proviso is used:

“We are of opinion that the Texas and Pacific Rail-

way Company is, as to business done wholly within

the state, subject to the control of the State, in all

matters of taxation, rates and other police regulations.”

Congress contemplated, to use the language of this

court in the recent case of Union Dry Goods Co. v.

Georgia P. S. Corp., 248 U. S. 372, “rate regulation by

a state in the exercise of its police power.”

(i) Right to consult amendment in construing act.

So that, we think that this consideration alone dis-

poses of all need of inquiry as to the meaning of “po-

lice regulations.” It is a final demonstration that rate

regulation is included within the power of police regu-

lation preserved. That this amendment may be con-

sulted to determine what Congress meant in the Rail-

road Act, and hence in the Wire Act, is, of course,

obvious.

Sutherland, Stat. Const., 470, p. 880.

“Amendments made, or proposed and defeated,

may also throw light on the construction of the act as

finally passed, and may properly be taken into con-

sideration.”

IV

PROVISIONS GIVING INTERSTATE COMMERCE

COMMISSION POWER TO FIX TELEPHONE RATES

NOT REPEALED; CONSEQUENTLY IT STILL RE-

TAINS POWER, AND POSTMASTER GENERAL DOES

NOT POSSESS IT, EITHER AS TO INTERSTATE OR

INTRASTATE RATES.

1. Repeals by implication not favored.

The proper angle of approach to be assumed by the

court in determining whether or not the so-called wire

act has operated to suspend or repeal pro tanto the

provisions of the statutes found under Title LVI A,

entitled, ‘‘Regulation of common carriers of inter-

state and foreign commerce,” is sufficiently illustrated

in Black on Interpreation of Laws, Sec. 107, p. 351:

“‘Repeals by implication are not favored. A

statute will not be construed as repealing prior acts

on the same subject (in the absence of express

words to that effect) unless there is an irreconcilable

repugnancy between them, or unless the new law

is evidently intended to supersede all prior acts

on the matter in hand and to comprise in itself the

_ sole and complete system of legislation on the

subject.”

Numerous decisions of the Supreme Court of the

United States fortify and sustain the rule.

bg oye v. Miller, 235 U. S. 422, at 428:

“In these circumstances we think there was no

implied repeal, and for these reasons: First, such

—

rs

nee en

where there is such an irreconcilable conflict be-

v. Healey, 160 U. S. 136, 146; United States v.

Greathouse, 166 U. S. 601, 605); second, where there

tended to remain in force as an exception to the

— (Townsend v. Little, 109 U. S. 504, 512;

xz parte Crow Dog, Ie 556, 570; Rodgers v. United

S. 83, 87

United States v. Barnes, 222 U. S. 513, at p- oe

odied in

this court that where there is subsequent legisla-

tion upon such a subject it carries with it an im-

lication that the general rules are not superseded,

ut are to be app ied in its enforcement, save aS

the contrary clearly a ears.”

Ex parte U. S., 226 U. S. 420;

U. S. v. Levois, 17 How. 85.

Also see note, Book XX (L. ed.) Sup. Ct. Rep.

“The repeal by implication of a statute is not favored

by the court.”

2. Commerce act gives Interstate Commerce

Commission power to regulate rates; makes

unreasonable rates unlawful.

Turning then to Title LVI A, Secs. 8563-8604, U.

S. Compiled Statutes, Compact Edition, we find that

by express proviso—

“The provisions of this Act shall apply to any

corporation or any person or persons * * * and

to telegraph, telephone, and cable companies (whether

wire or wireless) engaged in sending messages from

one State, Territory, or District of the United

States, to any other State, Territory, or District of

the United States, or to any foreign country, who

shall be considered and held to be common carriers

within the meaning and purpose of this Act. *

* * * Provided, however, That the provisions

of this Act shall not apply, * * * nor shall they

apply to the transmission of messages by telephone,

telegraph, or cable wholly within one State and not

transmitted to or from a foreign country from or

to any State or Territory as aforesaid.

**(3) All charges made for any service rendered

* * * and for the transmission of messages by

telegraph, telephone, or cable, as aforesaid, or in

connection therewith, shall be just and reasonable;

and every unjust and unreasonable charge for such

service or any part thereof is prohibited and de-

clared to be unlawful.”

Section 8574 provides:

“Any common carrier subject to the provisions

of this Act, * * * any director or officer thereof,

or any receiver, trustee, lessee, agent, or person

acting for * * * such corporation, who, . ag

shall willingly suffer or permit to be done, any act,

matter, or thing in this Act prohibited or declared

=<

to be unlawful, or who shall aid or abet therein,

or shall willfully omit or fail to do any act, matter,

or thing * * * shall be deemed guilty of a mis-

demeanor, and shall, upon conviction thereof in

any district court of the United States within the

‘jurisdiction of which such offense was committed,

subject to a fine of not to exceed five thousand

dollars for each offense.”

3. Commerce act and resolution in pari mate-

ria; must be harmonized.

Such was the law as it stood at the time of the

enactment of the joint resolution, now appearing as

sec. 3115 (x, which has already been printed in full.

Reading these two sections together, certainly as a

matter of first impression, there is absolutely nothing

inconsistent between them, nothing whatever in the

latter act even to suggest an implied intention to re-

peal the former. But the rule, as we have seen, is that

if such implication might arise, it will not be favored

under the law, and will not be held effective if there is

any possibility of reconciling the two statutes. They

are clearly in pari materia, and must be construed, if

possible, so as to harmonize.

Black on Interpretation of Laws, 331, sec. 104:

“Statutes in pari materia are to be construed

together; each legislative act is to be interpreted

with reference to other acts relating to the same

matter or subject.”

Black, 345, sec. 105:

“Every statute should receive such a construc-

tion as will make it harmonize with the preexisting

body of law. Antagonism between the act to be

oe

interpreted and the previous laws, whether stat-

utory or unwritten, is to be avoided, unless it was

clearly the intention of the legislature that such

antagonism should arise.”

4. Commerce commission retains power to fix

rates.

Clearly, then, the interstate commerce act is not to

be deemed repealed, and is to be read in connection

with the wire control act, and we find the two acts

existing side by side in the most recent revision of the

federal statutes. We find that it is stated expressly

that the provisions of the act apply to telegraph, tele-

phone, and cable companies doing an interstate busi-

ness; that every unjust and unreasonable charge for

their services is prohibited and declared unlawful, un-

der penalty reaching a possible maximum of five thou-

sand dollars. The conclusion that no change was in-

tended is confirmed by the revision of the act to regu-

late commerce, as published by the Interstate Com-

merce Commission, from which we see that express

provision is made (40 Stat. L. 272, p. 10 of Act in

pamphlet form):

“That during the continuance of the war in

which the United States is now engaged the Presi-

dent is authorized, if he finds it nec for the

national defense and security, to direct that such

traffic or such shipments of commodities as, in his

judgment, may be essential to the national de-

ense and security shall have preference or p> d

in transportation by any common carrier by rail-

road, water, or otherwise.”

ee ee

And as we have seen in another connection, section

10 of the Federal Control Act expressly provides:

“The President may initiate rates, fares, charges,

classifications, regulations, and practices, by filing

the same with the Interstate Commerce Commis-

_ gion.”

So we see that, in the case of the railroad control

act, express provision was made therein for correlat-

ing and adjusting it to the terms of the interstate com-

merce commission act, and that act itself was in turn

modified so as to recognize the right of the President,

during the continuance of the war, to designate cer-

tain priorities. The inference seems irresistible that

Congress, in dealing with two related matters, and

passing an act in July with express reference to the

terms of a similar act passed in March, having ex-

ptessly modified the law in connection with railroads,

and having said nothing with reference to telephones

and telegraphs, intended to leave the jurisdiction of the

Interstate Commerce Commission just exactly where

it found it. If it was contemplated that the Postmas-

ter General should fix rates at all, we would hardly

have a proviso declaring any but a reasonable rate

unlawful, under specific penalty. The claim to the

unrestrained, uncontrollable power to fix all rates

at such point as he sees fit can not be reconciled with

the specific statutory declaration that such charges

“shall be just and reasonable; and every unjust and

unreasonable charge * * * is prohibited and de-

clared to be unlawful.” This is not a mere restraint

on the making of such charges by the employees of

the company, but it prohibits in the broadest terms

the making of such charges at all. Can it be that the

Postmaster General is given the implied power to do

something which is expressly forbidden to be done,

under penalty of $5,000 fine? The statement that we

can spell out of the two statutes—one of which con-

strued most favorably still permits of the construc-

tion that the power claimed is denied, and the other

which specifically forbids its exercise—a power to do

the thing not granted in the one statute and made a

criminal act in the other, is carrying the doctrine of

implied repeal, never favorably regarded, into an

ultrahostile atmosphere. There is no escape, then,

from the proposition that the control of the Interstate

Commerce Commission has not in any way been al-

tered or changed.

Is it not equally apparent that if the Postmaster

General has any power to make rates, he has power to

make all rates; that if it clearly appears that the law

did not contemplate that he should make interstate

rates (as to which it may be observed there would be

far greater reason for conferring the power), then very

clearly he has no power to initiate intrastate rates.

Such power as he has is either all inclusive, or non-

existent; and having found that he is expressly pro-

hibited under penalty from regulating interstate rates,

it naturally follows that he has no power to regulate

rates at all.

Should it be urged, notwithstanding, that he has

such power to fix rates, then, there being nothing in-

consistent in such provision, and the statute being, as

we have seen, in pari materia, the court must hold

that the provision of the Interstate Commerce Act as

a FN

to interstate telephone rates that the same shall “‘be

just and reasonable; and every unjust and unreason-

able charge for such service or any part thereof is pro-

hibited and declared to be unlawful,” remains intact

and unabridged. Very clearly, it was never contem-

plated that interstate rates should be reaonable, and

that intrastate rates may be fixed arbitrarily, and

hence be unreasonable.

There might have been some reason to grant the

power over interstate rates; in fact, if a federal agency

were to exercise such power, that would be the normal ~

sphere for its activity. This will certainly be the first

instance where such agancy had power over the do-

mestic concerns of a state, and none outside. Such

an anomaly is unthinkable.

v

' THE JOINT RESOLUTION AND PRESIDENTIAL

PROCLAMATION CANNOT BE CONSTRUED AS

CONTENDED BY THE GOVERNMENT AND TELE-

PHONE COMPANIES, BECAUSE SUCH CONSTRUC-

TION WOULD RENDER THE RESOLUTION VOID,

BY REASON OF CONFLICT WITH THE FIFTH

AMENDMENT AND THE TENTH AMENDMENT OF

THE FEDERAL CONSTITUTION, AND WOULD VIO-

LATE THE RULE AGAINST THE DELEGATION OF

LEGISLATIVE POWER.

We conclude, then, that the decision of the present

case involves nothing more nor less than an examina-

tion and interpretation of the joint resolution of Con-

gress and the Presidential proclamation thereunder,

;

pee Mee

in the light of settled constitutional principles, and

guided by the ordinary rule of statutory construction.

We believe that the court will be convinced that the

plain reading of the statute, construed in the light of

all the circumstances surrounding its enactment and

the purpose it was intended to serve, together with its

practical construction since, will leave neither shred

nor suggestion of foundation on which to ground the

conclusion that Congress intended to authorize either

the Postmaster General or the President to fix the

rates of the telephone and telegraph.

The Supreme Court of South Dakota, in its opinion

below, well said (171 N. W. 278):

“If by that proviso Congress intended to de-

prive the states of the power to regulate rates for

intrastate messages, then, but not until then, we

would have to consider the power and authority of

. Congress so to do.”

We do not think that this court will need to reach

this question at all.

Merely as one of the considerations confirming that

interpretation, we submit that to construe the act as

written, as one conferring upon the Postmaster Gen-

eral the arbitrary power that he claims, would render

it unconstitutional. Our position is, in other words,

that Congress passed a perfectly valid enactment;

that the Postmaster General is seeking to put upon it

a construction that would render it unconstitutional.

The considerations next submitted, therefore, are pur-

suant to the familiar principle that, if the plain mean-

ing of the language as written permits a construction

which will not run counter to constitutional prohibi-

tion, the court should adopt such construction, and

thus sustain the validity of the enactment.

U. S. v. Delaware & Hudson Co., 213 U. S.

366, 407-408;

~*" hts Templars Indemnity Co. v. Jarman,

187 U. S. 197, 205.

The Supreme Court of South Dakota in its opinion

also said (171 N. W. 277, at 278:

“Much has been said in the brief about the war

powers of Congress and of the President, but we

are of the opinion that those questions are beside

the issues of this case.’

The theory of the defense is that Congress has un-

der the constitution power to make all laws necessary

and proper for carrying into execution the powers by

that instrument vested in the Govrnment. It is ar-

' gued that Congress is given the power to make war;

that this connotes the power to make all laws neces-

sary and proper for carrying into execution the power

of making war. This, of course, is true, subject, how-

ever, to the one fundamental, continuing, undeviat-

ing condition and qualification recognized in McCulloc

v. Maryland, 4 Wheat, 316, and consistently adhered to

in every case construing this clause of the constitution,

down to the present time. Wherever the broad rule

of power to enact all necessary and proper legislation

has been asserted, it has been coupled with the limita-

tion first expressed by Justice Marshall, that the

means must be such as “are not prohibited, but con-

sist with the letter and spirit of the constitution.”

This language is quoted and reaffirmed in the

Legal Tender Cases, 12 Wall. 457, at p. 539, and the

pay Teed

court indicated at the foot of the same page that it

would hold the legal tender acts unconstitutional if

“they were prohibited.”

Legal Tender Cases, 110 U. S. 421. After quoting

from McCulloch v. Maryland, the court said, at page

441:

“The rule of interpretation thus laid down has

been constantly adhered to and acted on by this

court, and was accepted as expressing the true test

by all the eg who took part in the former dis-

cussions of the pag of Congress to make the

treasury notes of the United States a legal tender

in payment of private debts.”

Logan v. United States, 144 U. S. 263, quotes again

and states:

“Congress may use any means * * * consist-

ent with the letter and spirit of the constitution.”

Boske v. Comingore, 177 U. S. 459, reaffirms the

test that the power is to pass laws “‘which are not pro-

hibited, but consist with the letter and spirit of the

Constitution.”

These words are repeated in the following cases:

Flint v. Stone Tracy Co., 220 U. S. 107, at 176.

Kansas v. Colorado, 206 U. S. 46, at 88, and the

court adds: ‘‘a statement which has become the

setlled rule of construction.”

United States v. Hoke, 187 Fed. 992, at 994.

And in Stewart v. Kahn, 11 Wall. 493, much relied

on “the act is within the canons of construction laid

down by Chief Justice Marshall.”

United States v. Casey, 247 Fed. 362, contains at

page 366 the same significant quotation, so that

arco,

ais

from first to last, the war power and its exericse must

“consist with the letter and spirit of the constitution.”

As to the meaning of war power, Miller v. United

States, 11 Wall. 268, contains to our mind a compre-

hensive and exact definition of just what is meant by

“war power.” Construing the so-called confiscation

acts of August 6, 1861 and July 17, 1862 as constitu-

tional, the court used this language in pointing out

the true distinction between what it understood as

the meaning of war power and municipal or sovereign

power. It said at page 304:

“If the statutes were not enacted under the

municipal power of Congress to legislate for the

punishment of crimes against the sovereignty of

the United States, if, on the contrary, they are an

exercise of the war powers of the government, it is

clear they are not affected by the restrictions im-

posed by the fifth and sixth amendments. This

we understand to have been conceded in the argu-

ment. The question, therefore, is, whether the

action of my was a legitimate exercise of the

war power. The Constitution confers upon Con-

gress expressly power to declare war, grant letters

of marque and reprisal, and make rules respectin

captures on land and water. Upon the exercise 0

these powers no restrictions are imposed.”

Now then, as to the character of this war power

upon which no restriction is imposed, we find it

stated, at page 306:

“The whole doctrine of confiscation is built upon

the foundation that it is an instrument of coercion,

which, af depriving an enemy of property within

reach of his power, whether within his territory or

without it, impairs his ability to resist the confis-

cating government, while at the same time it fur-

nishes to that government means for carrying on

the war. Hence any property which the enemy

can use, either by actual appropriation or by the

exercise of control over its owner, or which the

adherents of the enemy have the power of devoting

to the enemy’s use, is a proper subject of confisca-

tion.”

And at p. 307, the court says:

“We come, then, directly to the question whether

the act of 1861, and the fifth, sixth, and seventh

sections of the act of 1862 were an exercise of this

war power, the power of confiscation, or whether

they must be regarded as mere municipal regula-

tions for the punishment of crime.”

And at p. 309:

“The purpose avowed then was legitimate, such

as Congress, in the situation of the country, might

constitutionally entertain, and the provisions made

to carry out the purpose, viz., confiscation, were

legitimate, unless applied to others than enemies.”

And then at p. 310:

“It has been argued, however, that the provisions

of the act for confiscation are not confined in their

operation to the property of enemies, but that they

are applicable to the property of persons not ene-

mies within the laws of nations. If by this is

meant that they direct the seizure and confiscation

of property not confiscable under the laws of war,

we cannot yield to it our assent. Jt may be conceded

that the laws of war do not justify the seizure and

confiscation of any private property except that of

enemies.”

Salamandra Ins. Co. v. New York Life Ins.

Trust Co. 254 Fed. 852.

—87—

These citations seem superfluous, for the constitu-

tion itself declares “this constitution and the laws of

the United States which shall be made in pursuance

thereoy * * * shall be the supreme law of the land.”

Neither in peace nor in war is aught the law of the

land not enacted pursuant to the constitution. It is

indeed a “fighting constitution” and no mere “im-

posing spectacle of impotency.” Truly, “the power

to wage war is the power to wage war successfully.”

But the constitution has determined what power is

necessary in waging war successfully, and the power

to nullify the constitution is not a necessary power in

making war. Counsel and possibly some courts

emphasizing the plenary character of the war power

have failed to bear in mind that it is not what a par-

ticular Congress or a particular court may think is

necessary in waging war successfully or what the

exigencies of a particular lawsuit may require that

determines the scope of the war power. The consti-

tution asserts its scope and sets its limit because it

arises out of and under the constitution. While that

instrument does not contemplate national helpless-

ness, neither does it contemplate its own destruction.

It nowhere authorizes its own violation. Instances

of unpermitted possibilities might be multiplied.

Congress could not constitutionally create the Presi-

dent dictator for the period of the war. No more

could it formally vote to invest him with complete

legislative and judicial power, no matter how de-

sirable some might think it that this be done. Nor

could the President be authorized by Congress purely

in his civil capacity and entirely apart from a declar-

ation of martial law to supersede the existing civil

Ser jae

governments of the states, on the theory that the

necessities of war required that they should be so

displaced, because the continuance of state adminis-

tration was unduly cumbrous and a burden upon the

natural, harmonious, and logical cevelopment of the

national resources in the interest of the national se-

curity and defense. Neither couid Congress as a war

measure divest all the courts of a state of civil jurisdic-

tion and disband the public utility commissions for

the period of the war, upon the theory that jurors,

judges, and commissioners might better spend their

time in the fields with hoe and spade, stimulating

and speeding up production, and upon that exclusive

ground, turn over the performance of their functions

to some national instrumentality designated by Con-

gress or to be designated by the President.

Congress could no more authorize the Postmaster

General to raise revenue with which to carry on a

war by arbitrarily increasing the telephone rates for

that purpose, than it could authorize him to go out

and seize private property of citizens generally, in

order to realize revenue for war purposes. The im-

pairment of property rights would be wholly analog-

ous in either case.

The Constitution has determined by the fifth

amendment the taking of private property by civil

agencies is not necessary to the waging of war suc-

cessfully.

McCray v. United States, 195 U. S. 27, at p. 61:

“Undoubtedly both the fifth and tenth amend-

ments qualify, in so far as they are applicable, all

the provisions of the constitution.”

_ gee

,

. If the federal government has the right to take over

the telephone and give to the Postmaster General the

arbitrary power to fix rates, and inferentially the

power to exclude all users of the telephone other than

governmental employes, and exclude all messages

except government messages, without compensation

to the private user, then on principle there would be

nothing to prevent the government, for instance, in

connection with Camp Grant at Rockford, to com-

mandeer all the public utilities of the city, to the

exclusion of citizens and users. An exact parallel in

principle would exist had the government, by gen-

eral legislation in like terms, authorized the President

or the Secretary of War, when in his judgment it was

necessary, to take existing water works, existing gas

plants, existing light plants, and cause the same to

minister solely to the comfort and the needs of the

army. We would then have the anomclous situation

under which, without legal proceeding of any kind,

without compensation, without notice, and without

hearing, the inhabitants of an entire city could be

left without water, light, or fuel for cooking and yet

neither Congress nor president nor military com-

mander apart from extreme military necessity whose

existence is always a fact for judicial ascertainment

vould commandeer so much as a ton of coal or can

of kerosene from any individual citizen without due

process and without just compensation.

To construe the act as permitting the Postmaster

General to do what he has done and what the plead-

ings claim for him the right to do, would necessitate a

holding that the act was unconstitutional, first, be-

—

cause it would violate the fifth amendment, which

restrains the taking of property without due process

of law and without just compensation; second, it

would violate the tenth amendment, by reason of

trenching or seeking to trench upon those powers

which are reserved to the separate states; third, it

would violate the fundamental rule that Congress

cannot deleg

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Amicus Curiae Brief — Dakota Central Telephone Co. v. South Dakota Ex Rel. Payne · 250 U.S. 163 | Frix