Opposition Brief — Brandt v. Weiner

Supreme Court brief1996

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

| BEST AVAILABLE COPY |

No. 95-631 (

ame emcees acai

October Term, 1995

IN RE: SOUTHEAST BANKING CORP. SECURITIES

LITIGATION.

+

WILLIAM A. BRANDT, JR., AS ADMINISTRATOR OF THE

INVESTMENT PLUS PLAN OF THE SOUTHEAST

BANKING CORPORATION,

Petitioner,

vs.

HARVEY WEINER, WILLIAM J. HALL, THE MAYNARD

SLESSINGER TRUST, PAULA P. FOLKMAN, GASPER

SCLAFANI, MYERS L. GIRSCH AND DCA GRANTOR

TRUST,

Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court

of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit .

Eee

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

C. OLIVER BURT, III

Counsel of Record

MICHAEL J. PUCILLO

WENDY H. ZOBERMAN

BURT & PUCILLO

Attorneys for Respondents

222 Lakeview Avenue

Esperanté Suite 300

West Palm Beach, Florida 33401

(407) 835-9400

(800) 3 APPEAL + (800) 5 APPEAL + (800) BRIEF 21

i

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether in a Rule 23(b)(3) class action, a representative of

non-named class members who has failed to intervene pursuant to

Rule 24 and who has failed to avail himself of collateral

procedures to protect the interests of the non-named class

members he represents, lacks standing to appeal the district

court’s order approving the settlement of the action.

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Question Preseseed «oo ios san kzstceceades shseieneu i

ee WT rr ree eee ee ii

Teble Of CHRMMGRS ..0 s ocacksvsngeccnnede Seaeaeenee iii

Statemest ol he Case... sccceus cavicanen ceuanapede 1

Reasons for Denying the Writ ............0ceseeeees 6

I. There Are No “Compelling Reasons” for the

Granting of a Writ of Certiorari. .............. 6

II. There Is No Major Conflict Among the Circuits,

and This Court Has Three Times Rejected

Certiorari Petitions on Cases Raising the Same

Issues Advanced by Petitioner. ............... 8

A. Subsequent to Marino v. Ortiz, the Circuit

Courts are Unanimous in the View that

Intervention Under Rule 24 is Required to

Obtain Standing to Appeal a Final Order

Approving a Class Action Settlement. ..... 8

B. Petitioner’s Claimed Conflict Among the

Ciscotts io SIGE. 6 50 cnc ac cisvedevcdssce 13

Ill. The Application of the Rule of Guthrie Did Not

Deprive Petitioner of Due Process. ............ 24

Comebeeiee asic ccccstnctaneseneeoeeeeee renee 27

—e eee

iii

Contents

Page

TABLE OF CITATIONS

Cases Cited:

Ace Heating & Plumbing, Inc. v. Cranz, 453 F.2d 30 (3d

Dn ccichesdeehsesdhacdsicdeneass études 22,23

Armstrong v. Board of School Directors, 616 F.2d 305 (7th

CT Stone seas babe dese creases daseesede 18

Bell Atlantic Corp. v. Bolger, 2 F.3d 1304 (3d Cir. 1993) .. 22,23

Bramon v. Barnett Banks, Inc., 38 F.3d 572 (11th Cir.

1994), cert. denied, 15 S.Ct. 1824(1995) ........... 8

Camden I Condominium Ass’n, Inc. v. Dunkle, 946 F.2d

POO BOOED od ba wevcncecs cise cessasceess 3,4

Carlough v. Amchem Products, Inc., 5 F.3d 707 (3d Cir.

EE Cie Cheech pesaeGneae se bedsececcccceeses 22,23

Cohen v. Young, 127 F.2d 721 (6thCir. 1942) .......... 19,20

Concorde Resources, Inc. v. Woosley (In re: Woosley), 855

F.2d 687 (10th Cir. 1988) ........ 2. cece eee eeeeees 25

Croyden Associates v. Alleco, Inc., 969 F.2d 675 (8th Cir.

1992), cert. denied, 113 S.Ct. 1251(1993) ....... 8,9, 10,22

Dosier v. Miami Valley Broadcasting Corp., 656 F.2d 1295

DOr Cle, IGRI) oo ob csc ccacccccccsccewccvccss 15

iv

Contents

Page

Gottlieb v. Wiles, 11 F.3d 1004 (10th Cir. 1993) .........

pc easeNdGd onde shad eeeeuseanennee 10, 12, 13, 17,22, 24

Guthrie v. Evans, 815 F.2d 626 (11th Cir. 1987) ........ passim

Hansberry v. Lee, 311 U.S.32(1940) ......... eee aee 25

In re Cement Antitrust Litigation, 688 F.2d 1297 (9th Cir.

SOG. wie ce akade bck Vie sdketannentacusdnuanees 15

In re Southeast Banking Corp. Securities Litigation, 51

Fee BO GRO BINED 46 Ned deed eens caenescees 10

In the Matter of VMS Limited Partnership Securities

Litigation, 976 F.2d 362 (7th Cir. 1992) ........... 10, 18,24

Insurance Company of North America v. Dynamic

Construction Co., 1995 U.S. App. Lexis 525 (6th Cir.

19DSD. cise sc eWsnsc dae cbs eseei OA 24

Loran v. Furr’s/Bishop’s, Inc., 988 F.2d 554 (Sth Cir. 1993)

coccccendbéee cddaveaduukebs pucsmeaeeehspaawa 10

Marino v. Ortiz, 484 U.S. 301 (1988) . . .8,9, 10, 11, 13, 14, 15, 19

Marshall v. Holiday Magic, Inc., 550 F.2d 1173 (9th Cir.

MOTT) voice ber oka es Ces ae ee eettan sewaekdedes is

Martin v. Wilks, 490 U.S. 755 (1989) .......-.eeeeeeee 25, 26

Midway Finance Corp. v. Walters, 1992 U.S. App. Lexis

SZTIO CCE. BOGE) oc ccciccccccccccessasscceoes 24

Vv

Contents

Page

Research Corp. v. Asgrow Seed Co., 425 F.2d 1059 (7th Cir.

i PERT C ET EET. CTC r Te Teer Eres eee 15, 16, 17, 18

Rosenbaum v. MacAllister, 64 F.3d 1439 (10th Cir. 1995)

SPIRE Deeb bagel i kaewees sib dkeesdekseesneaines 19, 20

Shores v. Sklar, 844 F.2d 1485 (11th Cir. 1988), cert.

Saad, FISD. TORS IGG) ccc scccaccnsncnses 8,10

Shults v. Champion Int’l Corp., 35 F.3d 1056 (6th Cir.

| PECTED FET NSES per ey Pere 1,9, 10, 12, 20, 21,22, 24

Silber v. Mabon, 957 F.2d 697 (9th Cir. 1992) .......... 15, 16

Tryforos v. Icarian Development Co., S.A., 518 F.2d 1258

(7th Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 1091 (1976) ... 18

Walker v. City of Mesquite, 858 F.2d 1071 (Sth Cir. 1988)

PEE eres PU Pee ET EO TCS TT Tore ETT Pree rT. 10,22

Rules Cited:

Federal Rule of Appellate Procedure 27(c) ............ 6

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure:

et Parr re pera ea rre rae 6, 11, 13, 16, 23, 24, 25, 27

UD SMOMS) oc cccccccccsecccanscesscesacseces 26

Contents

Page

REO ZINE) 6 csecccisccccedssisetevpocduss 7, 15, 16, 17

PDA) cvccccccccccusocccsncusadawaanens 7, 15,18

Rule 23(b)(3) .......... 4,6,7,9, 11, 16, 17, 18, 20,23, 25, 26

RUS TIGINGED occ cccccvcccdbeshocsdescusbeduawe 4, 12,25

RESTING) ccc cccccvcsgecccesswincdedesets 15, 16

PUEDE) cccccevccvctcccssdodedessvdueveuste 4,11,24

RUEOZRE scccccccctessdsvosedvcceevovcededesed 4,7,22

yy PPrrerri ri ry i, 1,5,6,8, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15,22

REGIME) oo. cccccccccccdsveddbicdouncuaseenus 22

REO DOD) occcccccdeccoccsccvdacdudheddeecesee 22

MORI) ccccdccccctccécccbvdvsusecedevese 16

Supreme CourtRule 10 .......... cece cc ceeceeeenee 8

APPENDIX

Appendix A— Plaintiffs’ Reply Memorandum ........ la

Appendix B — Notice of Pendency of Class Action,

Proposed Settlement, Settlement Hearing, and Right to

l

Respondents, Harvey Weiner, William J. Hall, The Maynard

Slessinger Trust, Paula P. Folkman, Gasper Sclafani, Myers L.

Girsch and DCA Grantor Trust (“Class Plaintiffs”), submit this

brief in opposition to the Petition for a Writ of Certiorari.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The Petitioner in this action seeks certiorari review of a per

curiam dismissal of the Petitioner’s appeal for lack of standing.

Petitioner is the Administrator of the Investment Plus Plan (the

“Plan”), the pension plan for former employees of Southeast

Banking Corporation (“Southeast”) and its affiliates.'

Beneficiaries of the Plan, which made purchases of Southeast

stock during the Class Period, are also members of the Class

certified by the district court. It is undisputed that Petitioner was

not a named party and, notwithstanding clear authority in the

Eleventh Circuit requiring intervention under Rule 24,

Fed.R.Civ.P. (“Rule 24”) in order to perfect rights to appeal,

Petitioner never moved to intervene as Administrator of the Plan

in the district court.? As such, Petitioner has no standing to

1. Petition for a Writ of Certiorari (hereinafter “Cert. Pet.”), p.3. Record

references to pleadings and other court documents are indicated by “R[ volume

#)}-[document #]-[page #],” and record references to transcripts are indicated

by “R[ volume #]-[page #]”.

2. Petitioner attempted to intervene in the district court in his separate

capacity as bankruptcy Trustee for the Chapter 7 estate of Southeast. He did so

not to protect the interests of the Plan or the Class, but because he claimed the

Stipulation of Settlement contained language that “might be construed by

aggressive defense counsel to impair or impede the Trustee's ability to recover

money damages on behalf of Southeast’s bankruptcy estate.” R11-225-1.

Petitioner's Motion to Intervene as Bankruptcy Trustee was never granted by

the district court. Even if it had been, the bankruptcy Trustee is not a member

of the Class, does not represent any members of the Class and would have no

standing to object to the settlement approved below.

”

—

prosecute this appeal. Petitioner now challenges the dismissal of

his appeal by attacking the precedent he failed to follow.

Petitioner attempts to describe a split among the Circuits

which, he asserts, is growing “both wider and more mature.”

Cert. Pet. p. 1. However, as discussed below, the conflict

suggested by Petitioner is neither as real nor as significant as

Petitioner suggests. Rather, there is a very definite trend among

every Circuit which has addressed the issue directly to adopt the

approach set forth by the Eleventh Circuit in Guthrie v. Evans,

815 F.2d 626 (11th Cir. 1987), which held that in order to preserve

the right to appeal from a class action settlement, a non-named

class member must formally intervene under Rule 24. As this

Court has done three times since 1990, it should deny certiorari

review on this issue.

This action arose as a consolidation of several shareholder

class actions, the first of which was filed in March of 1990. The

action concerned and preceded the collapse of Southeast Bank, a

major economic institution in South Florida. The Class Plaintiffs’

claims were brought pursuant to Section 10(b) of the Securities

Exchange Act of 1934 on behalf of those persons who purchased

the common stock and debentures of Southeast during the Class

Period. On September 20, 1991, Southeast filed for protection

under Chapter 7 of the United States Bankruptcy Code, after its

primary subsidiary, Southeast Bank, N.A., was seized by

government regulators and its assets were transferred to First

Union Bank in a federally assisted bail-out. Class Plaintiffs

subsequently moved, and were granted leave, to file a Fourth

Consolidated Amended and Supplemental Complaint which

asserted claims on behalf of those persons who purchased the

common stock and debentures of Southeast during the period

from February 27, 1989 through end including July 4, 1991.

This litigation was extremely hard fought for three and one-

3

half years, as evidenced by the more than 250 docket entries

contained in the record index. On August 19, 1993, a Stipulation

of Settlement was executed whereby the case was settled for

$5,000,000 in cash, plus interest accrued thereon. Plaintiffs’

Counsel (who had incurred over $975,500 in attorneys’ time

prior to the appeal) petitioned for an award of counsels’ fees in

the amount of $1,250,000, or 25% of the settlement fund,

pursuant to controlling Eleventh Circuit law as set forth in

Camden I Condominium Ass'n, Inc. v. Dunkle, 946 F.2d 768 (11th

Cir. 1991). The settlement and the fee were approved over the

objections of Petitioner, who was the only objector to any part of

the settlement or fee request, notwithstanding the fact that more

than 47,500 notices were mailed to Class members, as well as

nominees and brokers.’

After extensive litigation in the district court, a settlement

was reached. Competing claims had been filed by Petitioner (in

his alternate role as Trustee) and others, including the Federal

Deposit Insurance Corporation and the Resolution Trust

Corporation, that — together with mounting defense costs —

3. The settlement and fee petition were supported by extensive

memoranda as well as the sworn affidavits of Plaintiffs’ Counsel, which

included detailed time summaries, broken down by each attorney who worked

on the case, as well as the types of activity performed. See R10-221-1, R11-

235-1. Further, in Plaintiffs’ Reply Memorandum in Support of Plaintiffs’

Counsels’ Joint Petition for an Award of Attorneys’ Fees and Reimbursement

of Expenses, Class Plaintiffs specifically responded to Petitioner's objections,

noted that he relied on inapplicable authority which did not concern common

fund fee awards, questioned Petitioner's standing as well as his motives given

his conflicting loyalties as both Trustee of the Chapter 7 estate of Southeast and

Administrator of the Plan, and pointed out that his demand to inspect Counsel's

underlying time records ran counter to the Eleventh Circuit’s mandate in

Camden that “attorneys’ fees awarded from a common fund shall be based

upon a reasonable percentage of the fund established for the benefit of the

class.” 946 F.2d at 774. Resp. App. at 1a-26a. Citation to “Resp. App. at

” refers to the appendix to this Brief in Opposition.

4

threatened to deplete the available directors’ and officers’

liability insurance which, upon the collapse of Southeast, offered

the only meaningful source of recovery in this litigation as well as

for the competing actions. In the face of the numerous competing

claims, the seizure of Southeast Bank, the absence of any other

real source of recovery for the Class, and in light of a damage

analysis, based upon data evaluated by Plaintiffs’ financial

expert, of approximately $26 million (assuming Plaintiffs

established the Defendants’ liability), Plaintiffs’ Counsel, after

months of settlement negotiations, negotiated a $5 million cash

settlement. Of that amount, and following more than three years

of litigation for which they did not receive any payment,

Plaintiffs’ Counsel requested 25% of the settlement fund, the

“benchmark” identified by the Eleventh Circuit in Camden, as

attorney’s fees.

The notice program included publication in the Miami

Herald and The Wall Street Journal and the mailing of over

47,500 copies of the Class Notice.‘ This notice program elicited a

4. Contrary to Petitioner’s assertion, Rule 23(e) does not require that, in

the settlement of Rule 23(b)(3) and 23.1 class and shareholder derivative

actions, all absent class members be “summoned into court.” Cert. Pet. p.i1.

Rather, Rule 23(e), which only applies to class actions, provides that, a class

action shall not be dismissed or compromised without the approval of the

court, and that notice of any proposed dismissal or compromise “shall be given

to all members of the class in such manner as the court directs.” In accordance

with the provisions of Rule 23(c)(2) and (e) and the district court’s Order

and the Settlement Hearing, as well as their right to seek-exclusion (opt out)

from the Class, and the opportunity to appear and be heard in support of or in

opposition to the settlement. No one was “summoned into court.” See Notice

of Pendency of Class Action, Proposed Settlement, Settlement Hearing, and

Right to Appear and Notice to Nominees, Resp. App. at 27a-30a, 34a-38a, 44a-

47a.

5

total of one objection — that of the Petitioner — to any part of the

settlement or fee request.°

At what the district court characterized as “11:59,” R13-46,

Petitioner’s Counsel appeared at the November 15, 1993,

Settlement Hearing on behalf of the Trustee of the estate of

Southeast, R13-27, challenged the fee request, demanded to see

Plaintiffs’ Counsel’s underlying time records and damage

analysis and questioned the negotiation process. R13-40. At the

Settlement Hearing, during which the district court heard

extensive argument from Petitioner’s Counsel, the district judge

noted his personal familiarity with the case and the negotiation

process which culminated in the settlement, his satisfaction with

the record in so far as it supported the settlement and the fee

petition, and stated that, in his opinion, this was a “very good

settlement for all parties.” R13-43-44, 50, 52, 54,55. In an order

dated November 23, 1993, the district court approved the

settlement and Plaintiffs’ Counsel’s fee request.°

Petitioner objected at the Settlement Hearing and filed

papers in opposition to the settlement, but never bothered to

intervene under Rule 24. Upon the filing of their answer brief in

the Eleventh Circuit, Class Plaintiffs pointed out, inter alia, that

the Petitioner lacked standing to prosecute this appeal by reason

5. Petitioner never objected to the Notice in the district court, nor did he

assert any denial of due process until the filing of his Petition for Rehearing and

Suggestion for Rehearing En Banc in the Eleventh Circuit.

6. Petitioner's unwarranted claim that the district court “rubber

stamped” the proposed settlement, Cert. Pet. p.3, is belied by the record below,

particularly the district judge's statements at the Settlement Hearing as to his

own familiarity with this action as well as the extensive briefing with respect to

the settlement and Petitioner's objections thereto, and the lengthy Settlement

Hearing at which Petitioner was given a full and fair opportunity to appear and

be heard.

6

of his failure to formally intervene under Rule 24.’ The Eleventh

Circuit agreed and summarily dismissed the appeal based upon

the clear precedent set forth in Guthrie. Pet. App. at la-2a.°

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

I.

THERE ARE NO “COMPELLING REASONS” FOR

THE GRANTING OF A WRIT OF CERTIORARI.

There are no “compelling reasons” for the granting of a Writ

of Certiorari in this case as required by Rule 10 of the Rules of this

Court. The principal argument advanced by Petitioner for the

granting of a Writ of Certiorari is that a conflict exists among the

Circuits as to the requirement to intervene under Rule 24 as a

party to the litigation in order to have standing to appeal a final

order in a class action brought pursuant to Rule 23(b)(3). There is

hardly a conflict among the Circuits on this issue. Indeed, every

Circuit that has squarely addressed this issue since 1987 has

adopted the same holding as Guthrie in the context of a Rule 23

class action. There is no court that has specifically addressed the

question presented here and decided the issue in a manner

contrary to Guthrie. The decisions on which Petitioner relies to

create some “conflict” on this procedural question are cases in

which the issue was simply never addressed; discussed only in

dicta; or decided in the context, not of a Rule 23(b)(3) class

7. Since a single judge on a motion calendar is without authority to

dismiss an appeal pursuant to Rule 27(c) Fed. R. App. P., the Appellee’s Brief

was the appropriate time to raise the fact that the Appellant had failed to follow

the clearly articulated holding of prior Eleventh Circuit case law by not

intervening pursuant to Rule 24.

8. Citation to “Pet. App. at ____” refers to the appendix to the Petition

for a Writ of Certiorari.

7

action, but of a shareholder derivative action brought under Rule

23.1, where the shareholder has no claim independent of the

corporation and is not given the opportunity to opt out, or Rule

23(b)(1) or (2) class actions where there is, similarly, no right to

opt out.”

Neither Petitioner’s mischaracterization of the factual

background of the settlement, nor his untimely due process

arguments provide grounds for certiorari review. This case was

settled after extensive, hard-fought litigation, when the parties

and the district judge were in a position to evaluate the merits of

the case and the settlement. At the eleventh hour, Petitioner, who

is also the Trustee of the bankruptcy estate of Southeast and who

was spearheading a competing claim to that of the Class

Plaintiffs, appeared and objected to the settlement for reasons

known only by Petitioner. Proper notice of the settlement was

afforded Petitioner, who was represented by counsel, yet failed to

either intervene in the action or opt out of the Class, and is thus

bound by the district court’s final judgment. Petitioner’s rhetoric

does not change that fact, or in any way suggest a basis for further

review.

9. Petitioner attempts to draw a “determinative” distinction between

Rule 23(b)(1) & (2) class actions on one hand, and Rule 23(b)(3) and 23.1 class

and shareholder derivative actions on the other, based upon the fact that the

their objections, if any, to the proposed settlement. Cert. Pet. p.3. This is not

the relevant distinction in this case. Rather, a fundamental difference exists

between Rule 23(b)(3) class actions and all other class categories including

Rule 23.1 shareholder derivative actions, because the latter do not allow for

class members to opt out of a settlement, thus eliminating one of the rationales

underlying Guthrie. Apparently, Petitioner seeks to lump Rule 23(b)(3) and

23.1 actions together because Petitioner's argument that certain Circuits

adhere to the theory that intervention is not required relies upon cases which

involve Rule 23.1 derivative actions.

8

Il.

THERE IS NO MAJOR CONFLICT AMONG THE

CIRCUITS, AND THIS COURT HAS THREE TIMES

REJECTED CERTIORARI PETITIONS ON CASES

RAISING THE SAME ISSUES ADVANCED BY

PETITIONER.

This Court has consistently denied certiorari in cases which

presented the same standing issue on which Petitioner seeks

certiorari review. See Bramon v. Barnett Banks, Inc., 38 F.3d 572

(11th Cir. 1994), cert. denied, 15 S. Ct. 1824 (1995); Croyden

Associates v. Alleco, Inc., 969 F.2d 675 (8th Cir. 1992), cert.

denied, 113 S. Ct. 1251 (1993); Shores v. Sklar, 844 F.2d 1485

(11th Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 1045 (1990). This

suggests that the issues advanced by Petitioner are not

“compelling” within the meaning of Supreme Court Rule 10 and

that the conflict described by Petitioner is neither as real nor as

significant as Petitioner suggests.

A. Subsequent to Marino v. Ortiz, the Circuit Courts are

Unanimous in the View that Intervention Under Rule 24 is

Required to Obtain Standing to Appeal a Final Order

Approving a Class Action Settlement.

In Marino v. Ortiz, 484 U.S. 301 (1988), this Court was faced

with an appeal from a final hearing approving a consent decree in

settlement of an action brought under Title VII of the Civil Rights

Act of 1964. The action was brought on behalf of Black and

Hispanic police officers. The petitioners, while not absent class

members, were officers who would be affected by the final

judgment in the case and, thus, had a legally cognizable interest at

stake. The petitioners had failed to intervene, but had presented

their objections to the district court. This Court held that “since

petitioners were not parties to the lawsuit, and because they failed

9

to intervene for purposes of appeal, they may not appeal the

consent decree.” 484 U.S. at 304. In doing so, this Court adhered

to the rule that “only parties to a lawsuit, or those that properly

become parties, may appeal an adverse judgment.” Jd. (citations

omitted.) This Court went on to note that, while the Court of

Appeals had suggested there may exceptions to this rule, “. . . We

think the better practice is for such a non-party to seek

intervention.” 484 U.S. at 305.

Petitioner’s suggestion that this Court’s holding in Marino

has created “confusion” and has been “taken out of context” to

support the principle that unnamed Rule 23(b)(3) class members

must intervene in addition to objecting in order to have standing

to appeal (Cert. Pet. p.16), has been rejected by the Courts of

Appeals and this Court. In Croyden Associates v. Alleco, Inc.,

969 F.2d 675 (8th Cir. 1992), the Eight Circuit, in holding that an

unnamed class member could not appeal, even though it objected

to the settlement agreement, because it had failed to intervene,

stated, “We agree with Guthrie that Marino provides substantial

support for holding that unnamed class members who object to a

settlement must move to intervene, and they will be denied

standing to appeal when they have not done so.” Jd. at679. Upon

application for certiorari review of the court’s holding in

Croyden, that Marino does support the theory that unnamed class

members must intervene in addition to objecting in order to have

standing to appeal, this Court denied certiorari review,

suggesting that neither the Croyden Court nor the Court in

Guthrie was “confused” in its interpretation of Marino.

Similarly, Shults v. Champion Int’l Corp., 35 F.3d 1056,

1060-61 (6th Cir. 1994), recognized that Marino “addressed the

standing to appeal of non-parties and not ... of non-

representative members of a class or derivative suit.” Id.

However, based upon the reasoning set forth in Marino, the Sixth

Circuit came to the logical conclusion that, “Similarly, merely the

10

interest of unnamed, non-intervening class members in the

outcome of the class litigation is insufficient to confer standing

upon them, even if they voluntarily make their interests known,

through objections, to the district court. . .. Marino supports the

notion that persons who are not proper parties should overcome

some additional hurdle before attaining, for purposes of appeal,

party status.” Jd.

In the year prior to this Court’s holding in Marino, the

Eleventh Circuit in Guthrie v. Evans, 815 F.2d 626 (11th Cir.

1987), held that in order to preserve the right to appeal from a

class action settlement, a class member must formally intervene

under Rule 24. Subsequent to this Court’s holding in Marino,

every Circuit Court that has addressed this issue has held that,

absent intervention, a non-party class member has no standing to

appeal. See Shults v. Champion Int’ Corp., 35 F.3d 1056 (6th Cir.

1994); Gottlieb v. Wiles, 11 F.3d 1004 (10th Cir. 1993); Loran v.

Furr’s/Bishop’s, Inc., 988 F.2d 554 (Sth Cir. 1993); Croyden

Associates v. Alleco, Inc., 969 F.2d 675 (8th Cir. 1992); Walker v.

City of Mesquite, 858 F.2d 1071 (Sth Cir. 1988); Shores v. Sklar,

844 F.2d 1485 (11th Cir. 1988); as well as the court below in Jn re

Southeast Banking Corp. Securities Litigation, 51 F.3d 1003

(11th Cir. 1985). In addition, the Seventh Circuit in Jn the Matter

of VMS Limited Partnership Securities Litigation, 976 F.2d 362,

368 (7th Cir. 1992), found “Guthrie’s analysis persuasive where

an unnamed class member ... is appealing a post-settlement

order implementing the settlement agreement.” Jd.'°

10. Petitioner’s reliance upon Rosenbaum v. MacAllister, 64 F.3d 1439

(10th Cir. 1995), does not support certiorari review. Rosenbaum did not

overturn Gottlieb v. Wiles, 11 F.3d 1004 (10th Cir. 1993), wherein the Tenth

Circuit, “joined circuits that require intervention by a class member in a Rule

23(b)(3) case in order to have standing to appeal the district court's approval of

the settlement.” Rosenbaum, 64 F.3d at 1440. Additionally, the rationale set

(Cont'd)

11

Contrary to Petitioner’s assertion, the issue of whether an

unnamed, but timely objecting member of a Rule 23(b)(3) class

action may appeal the district court’s approval of the settlement

without intervention is not “unsettled.” Post-Guthrie and

Marino, there has been virtually no contrary view on this issue in

the context of a class action settlement. In order to appeal a final

judgment approving a class action settlement, one must take the

relatively simply step of intervening under Rule 24 as a party

plaintiff.

The rationale of Guthrie and subsequent cases is clear and

well-reasoned. Rule 23 establishes a procedure whereby a class

representative acts as a fiduciary on behalf of the class. Further,

under Rule 23(e) the district court acts as a fiduciary who must

serve as a guardian of the rights of absent class members. An

individual who has some interest in the outcome of litigation, but

does not assume the fiduciary responsibilities of the class

representative, and is not certified as such by the court, cannot act

on behalf of the class. The notion of non-parties bringing

appeals, often when they take interest in the litigation only at its

conclusion, is contrary to the framework for representative

litigation set forth in Rule 23. Just as merely having an interest in

the outcome of litigation was held by this Court in Marino to be

(Cont'd)

forth in Rosenbaum to justify a non-named class member’s appeal of an

attorneys’ fee award does not withstand close scrutiny. For instance, the court

theorized that, “should the dissident’s appeal succeed in reducing attorneys’

fees, there would be additional funds for later distribution to the class

members.” However, it did not take into consideration the potential enormous

costs of such a redistribution in the context of a large shareholder action or how

those costs would be paid. Further, the court’s speculation that named

plaintiffs could be biased in favor of their counsel and agree to what could be an

excessive fee award, the excess portion of which would otherwise go to the

class, ignores the fiduciary nature of the procedural framework of Rule 23 and,

renders meaningless the district court's role in determining adequacy of

representation. Rosenbaum does not provide support for Petitioner's position.

12

insufficient to confer standing, “merely the interest of unnamed,

non-intervening class members in the outcome of the class

litigation is insufficient to confer standing upon them.” Shults,

35 F.3d at 1060.

Class members have adequate procedures under the Federal

Rules of Civil Procedure to protect their substantive rights. As

Guthrie and subsequent cases point out, class members may

intervene under Rule 24 by filing a motion for intervention in the

district court. The denial of such a motion is appealable. A

second alternative is that a class member, if dissatisfied with the

representation in the class action, may pursue a collateral

proceeding. A third option is that a class member may simply opt

out of the class under Rule 23(c)(2) and, thereby, not be bound by

any final adjudication. Guthrie, 815 F.2d at 628. These are ample

means of protecting the substantive rights of absent class

members.!!

If unnamed class members who have not intervened as

11. Some of the authorities relied on by Petitioner are inapposite because

they involve non-opt out classes. As the Sixth Circuit explained in Gottlieb v.

Wiles, 11 F.3d at 110-11:

[Cjases holding that an unnamed plaintiff in a

shareholder derivative suit under Rule 23.1 has

standing to appeal are inapposite . . . . Rule 23.1 does

not offer the same protective mechanisms offered by

Rule 23. Unlike class actions under Rule 23, in

shareholder derivative suits under 23.1, a preliminary

affirmative determination that the named plaintiffs will

fairly and adequately represent the interests of the

other class members is not a prerequisite to the

maintenance of the action . . . . In addition, there is no

opt out provision in shareholder derivative suits. Thus,

all shareholders are bound by the outcome regardless

of their objections.

13

parties could initiate appellate proceedings without formally

becoming parties, class actions would become unmanageable.

“A fundamental purpose of the class action is to render

manageable litigation that involves numerous members of a

homogenous class ....” Guthrie, 815 F.2d at 629. When

procedural protections afforded class members under Rules 23

and 24 are balanced against the specter of unwieldy litigation and

the loss of manageability in class litigation, there is no question

that the balance tips in favor of precluding appeals by those who

have failed to take the simple step of intervention:

If individual appeals without formal

intervention were permitted, the class action

would break down under the burden of

unpredictable and unlimited individual

actions. Such a result would directly conflict

with the goals of Rule 23 and would

eviscerate the utility of the class action suit.

Gottlieb v. Wiles, 11 F.3d at 1009.

This Court squarely held in Marino, that the right to bring

appellate review of an adverse judgment is limited to a party. The

better practice is to adhere to that limitation in the class context,

particularly in light of the procedures whereby one can relatively

easily become a party through intervention and, if necessary,

appeal the denial of the requested intervention.

B. Petitioner’s Claimed Conflict Among the Circuits is

Illusory.

Petitioner suggests that there is a widening split among the

Circuits on this issue of standing, and that the Fifth, Eighth, Tenth

and Eleventh Circuits are “in direct conflict” with the Third,

Sixth, Seventh and Ninth Circuits. This is simply not the case. A

14

careful reading of the citations advanced by Petitioner reveals no

such conflict.

1. Ninth Circuit

Although Petitioner asserts that the Ninth Circuit has

“established that an unnamed class member has standing to

appeal a settlement agreement,” Cert. Pet. p.13, the fact is that

there has been no post-Guthrie/Marino decision in the Ninth

Circuit which squarely deals with this issue. Marshall v. Holiday

Magic, Inc., 550 F.2d 1173 (9th Cir. 1977), was decided a decade

before Guthrie and Marino, and did not squarely address the

question of whether intervention under Rule 24 is required to

obtain standing to appeal a class action settlement. Marshall

arose out of a settlement of a class action involving a pyramid

scheme. Numerous class actions with differing and somewhat

conflicting definitions of the class were consolidated into one

action. After the case was settled, an appeal was brought by an

entity sued as a defendant in one case, but also part of a defined

plaintiff class in another. While it was appellants’ status as class

members that ultimately served as a basis for standing to appeal,

the issue of whether formal intervention under Rule 24 was

required was never raised by the parties or addressed by the

Court.”

12. The Marshall court ultimately rejected the appellants’ argument that

they were not adequately represented, stating:

Appellants had the right and opportunity to opt out in

this action. They chose not to. We believe that they

should not now be allowed to play the role of spoilers

for a class of more than 31,000 people when they could

have chosen not to be bound by the settlement.

$50 F.2d at 1177.

15

Similarly, in In re Cement Antitrust Litigation, 688 F.2d

1297 (9th Cir. 1982), another pre-Guthrie/Marino decision,

which concerned a multidistrict antitrust class action wherein the

plaintiffs sought a writ of mandamus with respect to the district

judge’s recusal, the court specifically stated, “We need not decide

the general question whether class members are in fact ‘parties’

to a class action suit .... Here, we need decide only if, for

purposes of [28 U.S.C.] section 455, stock ownership in a class

member constitutes an interest in a ‘party to the proceeding.’ ”

Id. at 1310. The issue of intervention was neither raised nor

decided. Dosier v. Miami Valley Broadcasting Corp., 656 F.2d

1295 (9th Cir. 1981), also a pre-Guthrie/Marino decision,

involved a discrimination action brought pursuant to Rule

23(b)(2) which does not require that unnamed plaintiffs be

allowed to opt out. Thus, the Court’s statement in dicta that the

unnamed class member who appeared and objected to the

settlement could have challenged the settlement by direct appeal

is neither significant nor relevant.”

Finally, Silber v. Mabon, 957 F.2d 697 (9th Cir. 1992), the

only post-Guthrie/Marino Ninth Circuit authority cited by

Petitioner, involved an appeal by an unnamed class member of

the district court’s denial of his motion to opt out of the settlement

of a securities action. In Silber the class member received notice

too late to opt out, as he desired, but in time for the Rule

13. The fact that the Dosier court, in making this statement relied upon

Research Corp. v. Asgrow Seed Co., 425 F.2d 1059, 1060 (7th Cir. 1970) is,

however, significant. As discussed infra, Respondents submit that the Asgrow

court’s statement that one who intervenes, or “even appears in response to a

notice,” may maintain an appeal, referred to the non-opt out class claims under

Rule 23(b)(1) and (2), which were asserted in that case and not the Rule

23(b\(3) claims. Dosier supports this interpretation, and contradicts

Petitioner's assertion that, as opposed to class members in a 23(b)(3) class

action, “class members in Rule 23(b)(1)&(2) actions need to intervene

pursuant to Rule 24 if they wish to appear before a district court for any

purpose.” Cert. Pet. p.3.

16

23(c)(2)(C) hearing. The Silber court did not, as Petitioner

contends, hold that as long as an unnamed Rule 23(b)(3) class

member appears in response to a notice of hearing of proposed

settlement and puts forth his objections, he can attack the

dismissal or compromise on appeal. Rather, the court found that,

because one of the protective mechanisms of Rule 23 was not

heeded, (in that case adequate notice) “Appellant might have

more properly moved the district court for relief from the

proceedings pursuant to Fed.R.Civ.P. 60(b)(4) on the grounds

that the proposed settlement was void as tohim. . . . [W]e find no

barrier to construing what was done as in effect a 60(b)(4) motion

made pursuant to that provision,” 957 F.2d at 700, and allowed

the appeal on that basis. The court in Silber never addressed the

issue of intervention."

2. Seventh Circuit

The notion that the Seventh Circuit law conflicts with the

prevailing view articulated in Guthrie is also highly

questionable. Petitioner cites a 1970 opinion of the Seventh

Circuit, Research Corp. v. Asgrow Seed Co., 425 F.2d 1059 (7th

Cir. 1970), in support of the view that the Seventh Circuit does

not require formal intervention to obtain standing to appeal.

However, a review of that opinion, and subsequent opinions that

have considered it, reveals that Petitioner’s interpretation is

incorrect.

Asgrow arose out of a consent judgment as to the validity of a

patent and an infringement of that patent, and an antitrust action.

The antitrust action was maintained as a class action under Rule

23(b)(3), from which there is a right to opt out. The infringement

action was maintained as a class action under Rule 23(b)(1) and

14. In the instant case, Petitioner never challenged of Notice in the

district court and never attempted to opt out of the class.

17

(2), from which there is no right to opt out. With respect to the

antitrust action, the Court specifically stated:

We need not consider the factual questions

concerning the degree of participation by

appellants in the settlement hearing and

negotiations since the failure of appellants to

formally intervene, after receipt of notice

under Fed.R.Civ.P. 23(e) before final

judgment forecloses their right to appeal.

Asgrow, 425 F.2d at 1060, n.2 (emphasis added). Asgrow is

consistent with Guthrie on this issue. While confusion in the

reading of Asgrow arises from a further statement by the court

with respect to the non-opt out class claims under Rule 23(b)(1)

and (2) that one who intervenes or “even appears in response to a

notice,” may maintain an appeal, the above language is clear on

the issue of the need to intervene.

In Gottlieb v. Wiles, 11 F.3d 1004 (10th Cir. 1993), the Tenth

Circuit squarely pointed out that Asgrow did not support the

notion that formal intervention was not required. After pointing

to the above-quoted Asgrow footnote, the court in Gottlieb stated:

Thus, in the only portion of the Asgrow

decision directly parallel to the situation in

this case, the Seventh Circuit held that formal

intervention was a prerequisite to the right of

appeal.

11 F.3d at 1011. As the Gottlieb court noted, Asgrow stands for

the same proposition as Guthrie in the context of a Rule 23(b)(3)

class.

Further, the other Seventh Circuit authorities relied upon by

18

Petitioner for his argument that Asgrow is contrary to Guthrie,

demonstrate that Petitioner’s reliance is misplaced. The most

recent Seventh Circuit decision cited by Petitioner suggests that

the Seventh Circuit is likely to follow Guthrie if squarely

confronted with this issue. In In the Matter of VMS Limited

Partnership Securities Litigation, 976 F.2d 362 (7th Cir. 1992), a

Seventh Circuit panel appeared reluctant to depart from what it

construed as the Circuit’s prior holding in Asgrow, but failed to

apply Asgrow so as to permit an appeal from a class member who

had not intervened. After citing Guthrie and finding that its

reasoning was “persuasive,” the court in VMS held that an

unnamed class member who had failed to intervene could not

appeal a post-judgment order implementing the settlement

agreement. The Seventh Circuit’s opinion in VMS reflects a clear

departure from any notion that a class member who fails to

formally intervene has standing to bring an appeal.

Tryforos v. Icarian Development Co., S.A., 518 F.2d 1258

(7th Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 1091 (1976), also supports

the interpretation that the language appearing in the body of the

Asgrow opinion applies only to non-opt out classes. Petitioner

incorrectly paraphrases the Court’s holding. What the 7ryforos

court actually stated in footnote 22 is, “The law is clear that a non-

party shareholder who appears, pursuant to a Rule 23.1 notice, to

present objections to a proposed dismissal or settlement of a

derivative action may appeal an adverse decision even though he

has not been formally made a party to the action.” 518 F.2d at

1263, n.22 (emphasis added). Similarly, Armstrong v. Board of

School Directors, 616 F.2d 305 (7th Cir. 1980), involved a non-

opt out class action brought pursuant to Rule 23(b)(2).

No Seventh Circuit opinion has held that an unnamed class

member in a Rule 23(b)(3) class action need not intervene in

order to have standing to appeal an adverse final judgment.

Indeed, Asgrow, like Guthrie, stands for the opposite proposition.

3. Sixth Circuit

Petitioner’s assertion that the Sixth Circuit adheres to the

axiom that an unnamed class member who objects to a settlement

agreement has standing to appeal all aspects of the agreement is

simply unsupportable. In Shults v. Champion Int’l Corp., 35 F.3d

1056 (6th Cir. 1994), the court, after discussing Guthrie in detail,

and noting that it “appears to be the progenitor of the modern

trend” with respect to non-named individual class members who

seek to appeal, clearly held that, “A non-named class member has

standing to appeal a settlement order if he has formally intervened

in the action... .” Id. at 1061. (emphasis added). The court went

on to delineate two exceptions to the mandatory intervention rule,

stating:

However, a non-named party that has not

been permitted to intervene may also have

standing to bring a direct appeal if a motion to

intervene, which is then appealed, should

have been granted. A non-named party may

also haye standing to appeal if the district

court has otherwise “summoned” him into

court. Of course, as the Supreme Court has

indicated, “the better practice is...to seek

intervention for purposes of appeal.”

Id. at 1061 (quoting Marino v. Ortiz, 484 U.S. 301, 304 (1988)).'5

15. The two exceptions to the mandatory intervention rule cited in Shults

stem from two pre-Guthrie/Marino Sixth Circuit opinions, Sertic v.

Carpenters Dist. Counsel, 459 F.2d 579 (6th Cir. 1972), and Cohen v. Young,

127 F.2d 721 (6th Cir. 1942). In Cohen, an unnamed class member “received

an order in a class shareholder derivative suit to show cause why a proposed

settlement should not be approved by the district court.” Shults, 35 F.3d at

1059. The class member appeared at the hearing, objected to the settlement,

and petitioned to intervene as a plaintiff, which petition was denied. The class

(Cont'd)

20

Petitioner’s assertion that the notice required in a Rule

23(b)(3) class action is the equivalent of being “summoned into

court” (and therefore tantamount to some mandatory

intervention) is disingenuous at best. In fact, the Sixth Circuit in

Shults, after noting that the notices at issue there, like the notice in

the instant action, provided that a class member “may” appear at

the settlement hearing, either on his own behalf or through

counsel of his own choice, specifically rejected this notion:"*

The appellants have not intervened in this

action. Nor did they seek to intervene.

Further, the notices in this case do not satisfy

the requirement in Cohen that the appellants

be haled into court. The district court

allowed, pursuant to Rule 23(e), for their

appearance to make objections. However, as

(Cont'd)

member appealed the order approving the settlement, but not the order denying

him intervention. The Sixth Circuit held that the appellant’s appearance in

court pursuant to a “notice to show cause why the settlement should not be

approved” was “like a defendant who is summoned by process of court and

after an adverse ruling has the right to appeal.” Cohen, 127 F.2d at 724

(citations omitted). The Shults court thus determined that “under Cohen, an

unnamed member of a derivative suit who has not been allowed to intervene

may Ne a Tree eee

court.” 35 F.3d at 1060.

In Sertic, non-named class members whose petitions to intervene had

been denied by the district court, had standing to appeal, because, “the

appellants who were successful in their appeal of the denial of their petitions to

intervene, were essentially intervening parties and accordingly had the rights

of such parties, including the right to appeal an adverse final judgment.”

Shults, 35 F.3d at 1060.

16. The Notice sent to Class members herein also allowed for their

appearance on a non-mandatory basis. See Resp. App. 46a-47a.

21

explicitly stated in the first notice, their

appearance was not of a mandatory nature.

We are hard pressed to say that the appellants

here were like defendants “summoned by

process of court.” Cohen, 127 F.2d at 724.

Therefore, the appellants lack standing to

bring this appeal because, by not intervening

in this action below and not seeking to

intervene, they have not satisfied the

requirements of Sertic, and because the

record indicates that the requirements of

Cohen have not been satisfied.

35 F.3d at 1061.”

It cannot, in good faith, be argued that the Sixth Circuit is in

“direct conflict” with the Eleventh Circuit and other Circuits

which have held that unnamed class members generally lack

standing to appeal class settlements.

4. Third Circuit

Finally, Petitioner’s assertion that the Third Circuit has

rejected the Guthrie approach is also suspect. While Third

17. The Sixth Circuit in Shults further stated:

We note, too, that the Cohen requirement is in accord

with the public policies identified in and underlying

Guthrie and subsequent cases....[BJecause the

manageability of class litigation depends, at least in

part, on the absence of numerous individual and

divergent interests, those interests must do more than

merely appear and object in order to have standing to

appeal.

35 F.3d at 1060.

22

Circuit case law suggests a Third Circuit panel might well rule

contrary to Guthrie in the context of a class action, no Third

Circuit panel has squarely done so.

In Carlough v. Amchem Products, Inc., 5 F.3d 707 (3d Cir.

1993), several class members moved to intervene following

certification of the class in an asbestos case. The court denied

both intervention as of right under Rule 24(a) and permissive

intervention under Rule 24(b). The proposed intervenors then

took an immediate appeal. The Third Circuit dismissed the

interlocutory appeal on the theory that, under its prior holding in

Ace Heating & Plumbing, Inc. v. Crane, 453 F.2d 30 (3d Cir.

1971), the class members who had been denied intervention

would later have the right to appeal from any settlement in the

case. The Carlough court in dicta, sought to distinguish the

contrary holdings in Croyden, Guthrie and Walker,"*so as to

suggest that an appeal would be available absent intervention.

The Carlough case stands for the proposition that the denial of

intervention cannot be addressed on an interlocutory appeal. The

panel in Carlough seemed to accept, without really analyzing, the

notion that Ace Heating holds that one need not seek to intervene

as a party to obtain rights to appeal a class action settlement, and

did not address whether such a rule makes sense."

Petitioner also relies on Bell Atlantic Corp. v. Bolger, 2 F.3d

1304 (3d Cir. 1993). That case arose out of a shareholder

derivative action, not a class action. The Third Circuit held that an

objector to a shareholder derivative action brought pursuant to

Rule 23.1 had standing to object to a settlement even though he

18. Gottlieb and Shults had not yet been decided.

19. In fact, the Ace Heating opinion did not address the issue of whether

intervention under Rule 24 was required. The word “intervention” appears

nowhere in the Ace Heating opinion, as the issue simply never came up.

23

did not file a motion to intervene in the district court. While

Petitioner suggests that the distinction between a class action and

a derivative action is not a meaningful one in the standing

analysis, the Third Circuit panel in Bell Atlantic clearly

recognized that that is not the case. In a footnote, the court noted

that, “[I]n derivative suits, unlike shareholder class actions,

recoveries belong to the corporation on whose behalf the suit was

brought.” 2 F.3d at 1307, n.4. The plaintiff in a Rule 23 class

action has a personal claim that can be prosecuted outside the

context of the class case. The court in Bell Atlantic pointed out

that at least one rationale offered in support of the intervention

requirement does not apply to derivative cases. Specifically, the

court noted that in a Rule 23(b)(3) class action a shareholder has a

right to opt out of the class and bring his own separate action. /d.

In a derivative action, the named plaintiff acts solely as a

representative for the corporate entity and has no individual stake

or claim that can be pursued independently. The Plaintiff in a

class action has an individual economic stake in the outcome,

because the recovery on a damage claim is paid to the members of

~ the class. In a derivative case, a shareholder who has no monetary

interest in the outcome of the case would have little incentive to

intervene in an on-going lawsuit. Thus, the factors noted in

Guthrie as to Rule 23’s protections of substantive rights have no

application in the context of a derivative case.”

In summary, there is no clear or compelling conflict between

the Circuits as Petitioner suggests. Petitioner concedes that the

Fifth, Eighth, Tenth and Eleventh Circuits all, consistent with

Guthrie, have held that an unnamed class member who has not

intervened in the action lacks standing to appeal an order

20. The Beil Atlantic opinion is also significant in its characterization of

Ace Heating & Plumbing. Unlike Carlough, the court in Bell Atlantic noted

only that “it is suggested” in Ace Heating & Plumbing that an objecting class

member need not intervene to protect the right to appeal. Bell Atlantic, 2 F.3d

at 1309.

24

approving a settlement. Cert. Pet. pp.7,14. Further, the Sixth

Circuit’s approach, as set forth in Shults, is in accord with the

public policies identified in and underlying Guthrie and its

progeny. The Seventh Circuit is at least leaning in the direction of

Guthrie as evidenced by VMS, and because a close reading of the

Asgrow opinion suggests that that Circuit’s view is actually

consistent with Guthrie. Finally, the Ninth Circuit does not

represent a countervailing view, since the issue of intervention in

the same context as the instant action has not been raised or

decided. At most, it may be said that the Third Circuit appears to

be leaning in a direction contrary to Guthrie.

Il.

THE APPLICATION OF THE RULE OF GUTHRIE

DID NOT DEPRIVE PETITIONER OF DUE PROCESS.

Petitioner has not been denied due process by virtue of the

Eleventh Circuit’s application of Guthrie. Petitioner was given

proper notice pursuant to the mandate of Rule 23. He never

objected to the Notice in the district court.”" Rule 23(e) does not

require that class members be informed of every procedural step

necessary to preserve an appeal. Petitioner’s argument to the

contrary has been specifically rejected. See Gottlieb v. Wiles, 11

F.3d at 1013:

[Objectors] further argue that the notice of the

21. Because this issue was not timely raised by Petitioner below, it is

questionable whether the issue can properly be raised before this Court.

Insurance Company of North America v. Dynamic Construction Co., 1995 U.S.

- App. Lexis 525 (6th Cir. 1995) (Where appellant did not raise issue until

motion for reconsideration, issue was raised too late to be preserved for

appeal.); Midway Finance Corp. v. Walters, 1992 U.S. App. Lexis 32229 (9th

Cir. 1992) (same with respect to issue first raised in a motion made after the

entry of the district court's final judgment).

inate

25

settlement was constitutionally deficient

because it failed to inform the class members

of the need to intervene in order to preserve

their right to appeal from the approval of the

settlement .... Rule 23(e) requires only

notice of the proposed dismissal or

compromise, not a tutorial on the Rules of

Civil Procedure.

Moreover, Petitioner’s citations in support of the general

principal that a party affected by a final order has standing to

appeal such order are inapposite to this action.” Petitioner

acknowledges that there is an exception to the general rule that a

judgment or decree among parties to a lawsuit resolves issues

among them, but does not conclude the rights of strangers to those

proceedings, where “the non-party is otherwise adequately

represented.” Cert. Pet. p.19. Among the specific exceptions set

forth by this Court in Martin v. Wilks, 490 U.S. 755, 762 n.2

(1989) are “class” or “representative” suits. Jd. (citing

Hansberry v. Lee, 311 U.S. 32, 41-42 (1940)).

There is a very good reason why class actions are exempt

from the general rule. It is because the Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure impose procedural regulations on the class action not

applicable to any other. The mechanics of Rule 23 assure that

class members are afforded minimal due process. If aclass action

is maintained under subsection (b)(3), minimum due process is

guaranteed through the requirements of subsection (c)(2). The

class is entitled to notice, as well as the right to opt out of the

litigation and not be bound by the class judgment. If class

22. In fact, the court in Concorde Resources, Inc. v. Woosley (In re:

Woosley), 855 F.2d 687 (10th Cir. 1988), relied upon by Petitioner, specifically

noted that, “a ‘non-party does not have standing to appeal in the absence of

most extraordinary circumstances.’ ” /d. at 687 (citations omitted).

26

members decide to stay in, the Court must still determine whether

they would be adequately represented under Rule 23(a)(4). See

Fed. R. Civ. P. 23, Notes of Advisory Committee, 1966

Amendment (“This mandatory notice pursuant to subdivision

(c)(2), together with any discretionary notice which the court

may find it advisable to give under subdivision (d)(2) is designed

to fulfill requirements of due process ....”). Because of the

various procedural safeguards built into Rule 23(b)(3), as well as

the collateral proceedings available to an unnamed class member,

as set forth in Guthrie, 815 F.2d at 628, requiring a class member,

especially one who is represented by counsel, to take the

relatively easy step of intervening in an action does not, as

Petitioner suggests, “severely impair the due process rights of

unnamed class members.” Cert. Pet. p.19.

Petitioner is incorrect in his assertion that “only through an

appeal and a substantive review of the district court’s decision

can an appellate court determine whether an unnamed Rule

23(b)(3) . . . class member has become a stranger vis-a-vis the

settlement.” Jd. That determination is neither available to

Petitioner nor appropriate here. Petitioner had his interests

“adequately represented by someone with the same interests who

is a party,” in this class action. Martin v. Wilks, 490 U.S. at 762

n.2. Petitioner never complained of inadequate representation.

Where, as here, the unnamed class member never bothered

to intervene, never objected to the notice in the district court, and

only became involved in the action at the “eleventh hour,”” and

where the record indicates the district court judge’s familiarity

23. As the district court stated to Petitioner's Counsel at the Settlement

Hearing:

Where were you, representing your client, in all of

those prior hearings when this record was being made?

R13-46.

eee a ee

27

with the litigation, such second guessing of the district court’s

determination would simply vitiate the court’s role in class

litigation and render the representative framework of Rule 23

meaningless. Petitioner was afforded full due process.

CONCLUSION

Petitioner has not demonstrated any true split among the

Circuits. Petitioner simply failed to follow clear Eleventh Circuit

precedent that required him to intervene in order to establish the

right to prolong this litigation through appeals. For the reasons

stated above, this Court should deny the Petition for Writ of

Certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

C. OLIVER BURT, III

Counsel of Record

MICHAEL J. PUCILLO

WENDY H. ZOBERMAN

BURT & PUCILLO

Attorneys for Respondents

222 Lakeview Avenue

Esperante Suite 300

West Palm Beach, Florida 33401

(407) 835-9400

la

APPENDIX A — PLAINTIFFS’ REPLY MEMORANDUM

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

MIAMI DIVISION

IN RE: SOUTHEAST BANKING CORP. MASTER FILE

SECURITIES LITIGATION CIVILACTION NO.

90-0760-CIV-MOORE

THIS DOCUMENT RELATES

TOALLACTIONS JURY TRIAL DEMANDED

PLAINTIFFS’ REPLY MEMORANDUM IN SUPPORT

OF PLAINTIFFS’ COUNSELS’ JOINT

PETITION FOR AN AWARD OF ATTORNEYS’ FEES AND

REIMBURSEMENT OF EXPENSES

Michael J. Pucillo Jules Brody

Wendy H. Zoberman Mark Levine

CHIMICLES, BURT & STULL, STULL & BRODY

JACOBSEN 6 East 45th Street

Esperanté, Suite 960 New York, New York 10017

22 Lakeview Avenue (212) 687-7230

West Palm Beach, FL 33401

(407) 835-9400

C. Oliver Burt, III Joseph H. Weiss

CHIMICLES, BURT & LAW OFFICE OF JOSEPH H.

JACOBSEN WEISS

One Haverford Centre 319 Sth Avenue

361 W. Lancaster Avenue New York, New York 10016

Haverford, PA 19041 (212) 532-4171

(215) 642-8500

PLAINTIFFS’ LEAD COUNSEL

2a

Appendix A

PRELIMINARY STATEMENT

William A. Brandt, Jr., as Administrator of the Investment

Plus Plan (the “Plan”), of Southeast Banking Corp. (“Southeast”)

has filed a Memorandum of Law (“Brandt Mem.”) in Opposition

to Plaintiffs’ Counsel’s Joint Petition for an Award of Attorneys’

Fees and Reimbursement of Expenses (“Joint Petition”).' Mr.

Brandt’s opposition, in essence, advocates ignoring the mandate

of the Eleventh Circuit as set forth in Camden I Condominium

Association, Inc. v. Dunkle, 946 F.2d 768 (11th Cir. 1991)

(“Camden I’), and instead returning to the “lodestar” method of

calculating attorneys’ fees as set forth in Lindy Brothers Builders,

Inc. v. American Radiator and Standard Sanitary Corp., 487 F.2d

161 (3d Cir. 1974), appeal following remand, 540 F.2d 102 (3d

Cir. 1976).

Mr. Brandt’s Memorandum contains a number of

misstatements of fact and is supported solely by inapplicable

authority.2, Moreover, this Court should note that the

1. Although the Certificate of Service on Brandt’ s opposition Memorandum

states that it was served by “regular mail” on October 31, 1993, October 31, 1993

was a Sunday and, as indicated by the envelope in which the opposition

Memorandum was received (a copy of which is attached hereto as Exhibit “1"’), the

opposition Memorandum was postmarked on November 1, 1993. Thus, this Reply

would have been due on November 11, 1993. Because November 11 is a “legal

holiday” as defined in Rule 6, Fed. R. Civ. P., this Reply is being filed on Friday,

November 12, 1993.

2. Before the Court attaches any credibility to the representations of Mr.

Brandt's counsel herein, J. Joseph Bainton, Esquire, the Court should review the

Second Circuit opinion in Warner Brothers, Inc. v. Dae Rim Trading, Inc.,877 F.2d

1120, 1128 (2d Cir. 1989) in which Mr. Bainton, consistent with his conduct in this

Court, was sanctioned for vexatious litigation and demonstrated his view of

(Cont'd)

eeraeerreeeeneeeneremeecmmmmmeasssaeiiiiiiiiiiiiia eal

3a

Appendix A

“Administrator” is also the “Trustee in Bankruptcy” for

Southeast and has filed a number of actions which seek to recover

from the same sources of funds that will fund the settlement

herein. Mr. Brandt has been unsuccessful to date, however, in his

efforts to litigate against the former officers and directors of

Southeast, and based upon his own predictions as to the value of

Southeast’s Estate, there is little chance that Southeast

shareholders will derive any benefit at all from the activities of

the Trustee. Notwithstanding this, special counsel for the Trustee,

Mr. Bainton and his former law firm have been paid enormous

fees by the bankrupt Estate and appear to be seeking an avenue to

justify additional awards through this collateral and unjustified

attack on Plaintiffs’ counsel herein.’

Given the complete lack of legal authority to support Mr.

Brandt’s position, as well as the suspect motives of Mr. Brandt

and his counsel, this Court should give short shrift to the

litigation as akin to a sport. (“In this Court, as well as in the district court, attorney

Bainton has demonstrated a blatant disregard of the rules and regulations which

permit the judicial machinery to function smoothly. An obligation is imposed on

this Court to exercise its disciplinary powers to deter such happenings in the

future.”)

3. Originally, J. Joseph Bainton, Esquire and the law firm of Whitman &

Ransom were retained by the Trustee and approved by the bankruptcy court as

special counsel to the Trustee to investigate and prosecute the Trustee’s claims

against former officers and directors of Southeast and against former attorneys and

accountants of Southeast. Effective February 1, 1993, Whitman & Ransom

determined that they could no longer represent both the Trustee and the FDIC. As a

result, Mr. Bainton withdrew from Whitman & Ransom and joined Ross & Hardies

which has been substituted as special counsel in place of Whitman & Ransom. See

Whitman & Ransom’s Application for Final Compensation and Reimbursement of

Expenses, attached to the Joint Petition as Exhibit “L,” pp. 2, 6,7. Mr. Bainton and

Ross & Hardies are representing the Trustee/Administrator in his opposition to

Plaintiffs’ counsel’ s fees herein.

4a

Appendix A

objection. Plaintiffs’ counsel submit, as set forth in the Joint

Petition, that an award of counsel fees representing 25% of the

settlement fund is reasonable under the controlling authority of

this Circuit and should be approved.

I. IT IS UNCLEAK WHETHER BRANDT HAS

STANDING TO OBJECT TO THE SETTLEMENT

An objector to any portion of a class action settlement has the

burden of establishing that he has standing to object. Jn Re:

School Asbestos Litig., 921 F.2d 1330, 1332 (3d Cir. 1990), cert.

denied, __ U.S. __, 111 S.Ct. 1622 (1991). Brandt in his capacity

as bankruptcy Trustee, apparently also acts as co-administrator of

the Plan. It is unclear, however, whether the Plan is a member of

the Class. If the Plan is not a member of the Class, there is no

standing to object.

After Class counsel received Brandt’s opposition to their fee

petition, they sent a facsimile to counsel for the Trustee of the

Plan seeking Plan documents that would disclose the scope of the

Administrator’s authority and the process through which stock

was purchased by the Plan and allocated to its participants. (See

Letter from Michael J. Pucillo to Sharon Dixon Dated November

9, 1993, a copy of which is attached hereto as Exhibit “2.”) This

information would presumably shed some light on how Plan

shares were purchased, who has authority to act for the Plan, and

whether Brandt has standing to object to the settlement. To date,

Class counsel has not received any documents from the Plan

Trustee.

Without reviewing the Plan documents, it is impossible to

determine whether Brandt, as Plan Administrator (as opposed to

the Plan trustee), has independent authority to object on behalf of

the Plan. See In Re: American Continental Corp./Lincoln Savings

Sa

Appendix A

and Loan Sec. Litig., [Current Transfer Binder] Fed.Sec.L.Rep.

(CCH) 497,656 at 97,039 n.1 (D. Ariz. June 2, 1993) (where

ESOP Administrator objected to the scope of the class period,

Court specifically pointed out that the ESOP Plan Trustee

supported and joined the Administrator’s position).‘

If the Plan did not purchase Southeast stock on the open

market, or the Plan did not purchase Southeast stock during the

Class Period, the Trustee has no standing.’ See, e.g., American

Continental, (Current Transfer Binder] Fed. Sec. L. Rep. at

97,039-40 (ESOP is part of class only if stock was “actually

purchased” by the ESOP (as opposed to merely allocated to its

participants) during the Class Period). Because Brandt has not

established that the Plan is a member of the Class, he does not

have standing to object to any portion of the settlement, including

Plaintiffs’ attorneys’ fees. Brandt has not met his burden of

establishing that he has authority to represent the Plan or that the

~ Plan is amember of the Class.

Il. MR. BRANDT CANNOT REPRESENT THE CLASS

DUE TO HIS CONFLICTING LOYALTIES

Brandt, the sole objector to any part of the Class settlement,

wears multiple hats as both Trustee of the Chapter 7 Estate of

Southeast and Administrator of the Plan. Brandt cannot be

permitted to switch hats whenever he chooses to pursue

4. Significantly, the Plan Trustee, First Union National Bank of Florida,

N.A., joined Brandt’s Emergency Motion for an Order Adjourning the Hearing

Date, but has not joined Brandt’s objection to Class counsel's fee petition. Thus,

because Brandt has failed to establish that the Plan Administrator (in contrast to the

Pian Trustee) has the requisite authority to object on behalf of the Plan, Brandt lacks

standing to object.

5. Todate, the Plan has not filed a proof of claim.

6a

Appendix A

conflicting and competing interest. Because lawsuits initiated by

Brandt as Trustee seek damages against the same defendants as

this action by the Class, and seek to recover from the same limited

insurance funds available to defendants to pay damages, Brandt’s

true interests are in conflict with those of the Class.

This conflict becomes clear when Brandt’s motion to

intervene is compared to his objection. On or about October 15,

1993, Brandt, wearing his bankruptcy Trustee hat, filed a motion

to intervene attacking the settlement, not because it was harmful

to the Class, but because Brandt perceived it potentially could

impair his ability as Trustee to recover damages in competing

suits against the defendants. Thus, Brandt was effectively

attacking the settlement because it provided relief to the Class

potentially at his expense. Now, Brandt has conveniently

switched to his Administrator hat on objecting to attorneys’ fees

— and indirectly to the settlement — as a Class member. In a 180

degree turnaround, Brandt, as Administrator, now questions,

inter alia, whether the $5 million settlement amount is

sufficiently beneficial to the Class to warrant the awarding of the

attorneys’ fee requested by Class Counsel. (Brandt Mem. at 7.)

An objection raised by a class member with a conflict of

interest similar to Brandt’s was significantly discounted by the

Court in Podesta v. Pay Television Corp., No. 80 Civ. 2819

(WCC) (S.D.N.Y. Jan. 19, 1981) (a copy of Podesta is attached

hereto as Exhibit “3”). In Podesta, a derivative action, the only

shareholder to object to the settlement was also a “major creditor”

of the corporate plaintiff. In considering the objection as part of

the analysis of the “reaction of class members,” the Court stated:

Needless to say, where, as here, the sole

6. Plaintiff expresses no opinion on the validity of Brandt's contention that

the Class settleinent may impair his claims as Trustee against the defendants.

7a

Appendix A

objectors to a settlement appear to be

motivated by concerns extraneous and even

inimical to the legitimate interests of the

class, the reaction of class members must be

regarded as evidencing the fairness,

reasonableness and adequacy of the

settlement.

Id. (emphasis added).

- The Podesta Court recognized that an objection by one

whose interests conflict with those of the Class must be

discounted, notwithstanding the objector’s status as a Class

member. Like the objection in Podesta, Brandt’s objection must

be viewed in light of the objector’s internal conflict of interest.

The efforts of Mr. Brandt as Trustee and his counsel Mr.

~ Bainton have, so far, been unsuccessful with respect to their

claims against the former officers and directors of Southeast.

Originally, Mr. Brandt filed an action on June 16, 1992 against

various former officers and directors of Southeast and on

September 4, 1992 the FDIC sought to intervene in that action.

Mr. Brandt took the position that the claims in his complaint were

claims by Southeast against its own officers and directors which

belonged to the Trustee and not to the FDIC. On April 29, 1993

Magistrate Judge Linnea R. Johnson recommended dismissal of

Mr. Brandt’s claims noting:

Plaintiff/Trustee’s argument that the holding

company is a special stockholder not subject

to FIRREA is without basis in law. There is

not a single bit of authority to support

Plaintiff/Trustee’s position.

8a

Appendix A

See Omnibus Report and Recommendation attached hereto as

Exhibit “4,” p. 10. Subsequently, Judge Aronovitz in large part

adopted, ratified and confirmed Magistrate Johnson’s

recommendation, dismissing all of Brandt’s claims which were

derivative and turned on acts taken by, and injury to Southeast,

with one small exception. The Court stated:

[A]s the parties have described it, a ‘sliver’ of

Trustee’s complaint remains viable. The

‘sliver’ that remains consists of Trustee’s

claims in connection with the acquisitions of

the two thrift institutions, actions that, at least

facially, occurred at the holding company

level.

See Omnibus Order dated July 12, 1993, attached hereto as

Exhibit “5,” p. 8. Apparently, this “sliver” was enough to

~ encourage Mr. Bainton and his former law firm to seek, and

obtain, $580,370 for services rendered from May 1, 1992 through

January 31, 1993.’ Thereafter, notwithstanding Judge Aronovitz’

Order, the Trustee subsequently filed an action against former

officers and directors of Southeast derivatively and on behalf of

the FDIC in its capacity as Receiver of Southeast Bank, N.A. and

Southeast Bank of West Florida as well as separate actions

against, inter alia, the former outside accountants of Southeast.

7. Mr. Bainton’s former law firm, Whitman & Ransom actually requested

fees of $586,478.50 for that time period, with Mr. Bainton logging 127.10 hours ata

rate of $310 an hour, and represented to the Bankruptcy Court in their fee petition

that “although certain claims alleged against the former officers and directors have

been dismissed as derivative of [Southeast Bank, N.A.’s], highly significant claims

alleged have been held by Judge Aronovitz to belong to the Trustee.” See Final Fee

Application, p. 19.

9a

Appendix A

In the instant case Plaintiffs’ counsel have fought the

Defendants for three-and-one-half years, and produces $5

million for the class. In notable contrast Mr. Brandt and his

special counsel have filed four lawsuits, none of which has

produced anything for Southeast’s shareholders. Brandt and

Bainton, his counsel have however been paid handsomely for

their efforts. The Miami Herald reported on September 19, 1993

that “Southeast shareholders still have a long way to go before

receiving any cash. The Trustee estimates the Estate will have

about $100 million cash. There are $425 million in claims that

must be paid before shareholders receive a dime.” The true

motivation behind the objection lodged herein is to justify

additional fees to Mr. Brandt and his counsel.®

Ill. THE OBJECTIONS OF MR. BRANDT AND HIS

COUNSELARE BASED UPON INAPPLICABLE LAW

’A. BRANDT AND HIS COUNSEL IGNORE THE

MANDATE OF THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT AND

ADVOCATE A_ LODESTAR ANALYSIS’ OF

ATTORNEYS’ FEES IN THIS COMMON FUND CASE

The various misstatements of law set forth by Mr. Brandt and

his counsel Mr. Bainton in their opposition Memorandum reflect,

at best, a basic misunderstanding of (1) the differences between

common fund fee awards and statutory fee awards, and (2) the

Eleventh Circuit’s rejection of the lodestar approach and

acceptance of the percentage of fund approach for the

determination of attorneys’ fees in common fund cases. At worst,

8. Apparently, this is not the first time Mr. Brandt has shown poor judgment

in over-litigating claims. See Brandt v. Schal Associates, Inc., 960 F.2d 640, 642

(7th Cir. 1992) (“This case is an unfortunate example of why ‘litigation’ has taken

ona bad name.”).

10a

Appendix A

they represent a knowing and deliberate attempt to mislead this

Court as to the applicable standards for awarding attorneys’ fees

in this Circuit.

The Eleventh Circuit in Camden I held that “henceforth in

this Circuit, attorneys’ fees awarded from a common fund shall

be based upon a reasonable percentage of the fund established for

the benefit of the Class.” 946 F.2d at 774. In making this holding,

the Court relied heavily on Court Awarded Attorneys’ Fees,

Report of the Third Circuit Task Force, October 8, 1985, (Arthur

R. Miller, Reporter), 108 F.R.D. 237 (1985) (the “Task Force

Report”). The Task Force Report found that:

The Lindy lodestar approach, or for that

matter any method premised upon the number

of hours expended, failed to achieve any of

the stated goals in common fund cases in

which the measure of the recovery is the best

determinant of the reasonableness and quality

of the time expended.

Camden I, 946 F.2d at 773.° The Camden I Court also relied on the

Supreme Court decision in Blum v. Stenson, 465 U.S. 886 (1984)

where the Court stated:

Unlike the calculation of attorneys’ fees

under the ‘common fund doctrine’ where a

reasonable fee is based upon a percentage of

the fund bestowed on the class, a reasonable

fee under §1988 reflects the amount of

attorney time reasonably expended on the

litigation.

9. The Task Force concluded that the Lindy method was a “cumbersome,

enervating, and often surrealistic process of preparing and evaluating fee petitions

that now plagues the Bench and Bar. . .” 108 F.R.D. at 258.

lla

Appendix A

465 U.S. at 900 n. 16. After quoting Blum, the Eleventh Circuit

went on to note:

The Supreme Court’s assertion in Blum is not

surprising in light of the criticism

commentators and lawmakers have leveled

against the lodestar and twelve factor

methods in common fund cases, and more

particularly, against the emphasis placed by

such fee computation methods on the number

of hours expended.

946 F.2d at 773.

The underlying rationale established by the Task Force

Report, the Supreme Court’s opinion in Blum and the Eleventh

Circuit’s opinion in Camden 1 is to reject the same burdensome

focus on counsel’s time characteristic of the lodestar approach

that Brandt seeks to engage in here."° The question is not whether

counsel’s lodestar in a given case is reasonable, but whether the

percentage of the fund requested as attorneys’ fees is

10. Seealso Swedish Hospital Corp. v. Shalala, 1 F.3d 1261, 1269 (D.C. Cir.

1993):

Additionally, a percentage of the fund approach is less

demanding of scarce judicial resources than the

lodestar method. The lodestar method makes

considerable demands upon judicial resources since it

can be exceptionally difficult for a court to review

attorney billing information over the life of a complex

litigation and make a determination about whether the

time devoted to the litigation was necessary or

reasonable. ... It is much easier to calculate a

percentage of the fund fee than to review hourly billing

practices over a long, complex litigation.

12a

Appendix A

reasonable." Thus, Mr. Brandt’s and Mr. Bainton’s argument that

Plaintiffs’ counsel must submit “proof that the number of hours

spent on this matter was reasonable” (Brandt Mem., p. 8)

represents a return to the very quagmire of analyzing time records

that Camden rejected.

Virtually all of the cases relied upon by Brandt and his

counsel to support their proposition are statutory fee cases where

the lodestar method was used to calculate attorneys’ fees. These

cases have no application to this action. See Hensley v. Eckerhart,

461 U.S. 424, 433 (1983) (“the standards set forth in this opinion

are generally applicable in all cases in which Congress has

authorized an award of fees to a ‘prevailing party.’ ”); Ramos v.

Lamm, 713 F.2d 546, 551 (10th Cir. 1983) (determining fees

submitted by the plaintiffs pursuant to the Civil Rights Attorneys’

Fees Awards Act, 42 U.S.C. §1988 and setting forth “standards

for district courts to follow in this and similar cases.”); Norman v.

Housing Authority of the City of Montgomery, 836 F.2d 1292

(11th Cir. 1988)"; United Slate, Tile & Composition v. G&M

Roofing & Sheet Metal Co., 732 F.2d 495 (6th Cir. 1984) (award

of statutory attorneys’ fees under Fair Labor Standards Act);

Cantor v. Detroit Edison Company, 86 F.R.D. 752 (E.D. Mich.

1980) (determination of attorneys’ fees in Clayton Act Antitrust

case based on lodestar analysis — “number of attorneys’ hours

spent multiplied by reasonable hourly rate.”); Gutierrez v. City of

11. Mr. Brandt and Mr. Bainton fail to note that the Camden Court, in an

apparent attempt to avoid the kind of backsliding into the lodestar approach

advocated in their opposition Memorandum, specifically held out 25% of the fund

as a reasonable “benchmark” “which may be adjusted in accordance with the

individual circumstances of each case, as opposed to the lodestar hourly fee used in

statutory fee awards.” 946 F.2d at 775.

12. In Norman, the Eleventh Circuit “refined its analysis for determining

statutory fee awards” in favor of the lodestar approach. Camden I, 946 F.2d at 772.

13a

Appendix A

Hialeah, 729 F.Supp. 1329 (S.D. Fla. 1990) (a Rule 11 case, nota

common fund); Dorfman v. First Boston Corp., 70 F.R.D. 366

(E.D. Pa. 1976) (attorneys’ fees determined under the Lindy

lodestar approach). Mr. Brandt simply cannot rely on statutory

fee cases to argue fee criteria under acommon fund.

Further, in a misrepresentation of Brown v. Phillips

Petroleum Co., 838 F.2d 451, 454 (10th Cir. 1988) cert. denied,

488 U.S. 822, 109 S.Ct. 66 (1988), Mr. Brandt and Mr. Bainton

assert that the Brown opinion stands for the proposition that

“attorneys’ hours reasonably billed and hourly rate “ ‘measure

the attorneys’ contributions, [and] are . . . appropriate in setting

and reviewing percentage fee awards in common fund cases.’ ”

Brandt Mem. at 8. That is not true. What the Tenth Circuit

actually held in Brown was, “Because these factors [set forth in

Johnson v. Georgia Highway Express, Inc., 488 F.2d. 714 (Sth Cir.

1974)] measure the attorneys’ contributions, they are also

appropriate in setting and reviewing percentage fee awards in

common fund cases.” 838 F.2d at 454. Not one of the Johnson

factors is “attorneys’ hours reasonably billed and hourly rate.”"

13. The Johnson factors are:

(1) the time and labor involved; (2) the novelty and

difficulty of the questions; (3) the skill requisite to

perform the legal service properly; (4) the preclusion

of other employment by the attorney due to acceptance

of the case; (5) the customary fee; (5) any prearranged

fee — this is helpful but not determinative; (7) time

limitations imposed by the client or the circumstances;

(8) the amount involved and the results obtained; (9)

the experience, reputation and ability of the attorneys;

(10) the undesirability of the case; (11) the nature and

length of the professional relationship with the client;

and (12) awards in similar cases. 488 F.2d at 717-19.

—

14a

Appendix A

More importantly, Mr. Brandt and Mr. Bainton fail to reveal that

the Court in Brown went on to specifically state:

Although the Johnson factors are relevant in

determining a reasonable fee in a common

fund case, the inherent differences between

statutory fee and common fund cases could

justify a trial judge’s decision to assign

different relative weights to those factors in

the two types of cases. For example, the first

factor — time and labor required — is an

essential touchstone for recovery in a

statutory fee case where reasonableness is

measured in part by reference to the lodestar

analysis. In a common fund case, however,

although time and labor required are

appropriate considerations, the ninth Johnson

factor — the amount involved and the results

obtained — may be given greater weight

when, as in this case, the trial judge

determines that the recovery was highly

contingent and that the efforts of counsel

were instrumental in realizing recovery on

behalf of the class . . . we hold here only that

in awarding attorneys’ fees in a common fund

case, the ‘time and labor involved’ factor

need not be evaluated using the lodestar ;

formulation when, in the judgment of the trial

court, a reasonable fee is derived by giving

greater whether to other factors, the basis of

which is clearly reflected in the record.

838 F.2d at 456.

15a

Appendix A

Thus, because they rely on inapplicable and irrelevant

authority, Mr. Brand and Mr. Bainton make the completely

erroneous assertion that, in a common fund case in which fees

must be computed on the percentage of the fund method, “parties

must be specific as to the reasonableness or unreasonableness of

the time worked and it is imperative that the attorney seeking an

award of fees submit evidence, preferably in the form of

contemporaneous time records, which set forth in detail the tasks

allegedly performed and the time devoted to those tasks.” Brandt

Mem. at 10." Tellingly, Mr. Brandt and Mr. Bainton cite no

relevant authority where this phantom requirement was imposed.

By contrast, in Ressler v. Jacobsen, [1992-93 Transfer

Binder] Fed. Sec. L. Rep. (CCH) $97,224 (M.D. Fla. 1992), a

post-Camden common fund case in which the Court applied the

percentage of the fund method, the Court, while taking note of the

“time and labor required,” did not engage the type of audit of

plaintiffs’ counsel’s hours which Mr. Brandt and Mr. Bainton

would have this Court do. Rather, the Ressler Court compared the

percentage of the fund requested by counsel to the percentages

“customarily found in standard contingency fee arrangements or

14. This is not the first time that Mr. Bainton has applied erroneous law to a

completely distinct legal doctrine. See Warner Brothers, Inc. v. Dae Rim Trading,

Inc.,677 F.Supp. 740, 760(S.D.N.Y. 1988) aff'd in part and rev'd in part, appeal

dismissed, 877 F.2d 1120 (2d Cir. 1989) (“the [plaintiff s, who was represented by

Mr. Bainton] application of trademark concepts in a copyright case was an error of

law. There is a great difference between the objective of trademark projection and

the objective of copyright protection. The two legal doctrines are distinct, different

and separate.”). Similarly, the Court in Camden I acknowledged “the great

distinctions between the policies and rationale supporting common fund fee awards

versus statutory fee awards” that led to the Third Circuit commissioning the Task

Force Report. 946 F.2d at 773.

16a

Appendix A

awarded in class actions.” 97,224 at 94,967.'° That is the proper

analysis which should be taken by this Court. Clearly, the

adoption of the percentage of the fund approach is an effort to

avoid the court having to undertake the tedious task of auditing

detailed time records submitted by counsel. As one court has

noted:

A related weakness in the lodestar approach is

that it often results in a substantial delay in

distribution of the common fund to the class.

The lodestar procedure requires detailed

involvement by the District Court, evaluating

the reasonableness of expenditure of attorney

time and effort, and making comparative

inquiries on reasonable rates for those

services. Given the complexity of many class

action lawsuits, combined with the degree of

detailed review required and considering the

heavy workload of most district court judges,

lodestar calculation is likely to cause

significant delay between the creation of a

common fund and remuneration of class

counsel. In contrast, the application of a

percentage of the fund methodology is

relatively straightforward and much less time

consuming.

15. Indeed, the Ressler Court specifically noted, “Under the ‘lodestar’

analysis, which is not the rule applied in this Circuit but which is still used in some

circuits, the fee requested would be a 1.16 multiple of the lodestar. Such an award is

extremely reasonable as courts in common fund cases regularly award multiples of

2 to 3 times lodestar in attorneys’ fees to reflect the quality of the work performed

and the risks undertaken.”/d. (Emphasis in original). In this case, the fee requested

would be approximately a 1.28 multiple of the lodestar.

17a

Appendix A

Swedish Hospital Corp. v. Shalala, 1 F.3d 1261, 1270 (D.C. Cir.

1993).

Indeed, the adoption of the percentage of the fund approach

alleviates the need for the Court to engage in a detailed analysis of

counsel’s time because:

In the common fund case, if a percentage of

the fund calculation controls, inefficiently

expended hours only serve to reduce the per

hour compensation of the attorney expending

them.

Id. at 1269. This concept seems to elude Mr. Brandt and Mr..

Bainton. The inescapable conclusion is that the detailed analysis

of Plaintiffs’ counsel’s time which Mr. Brandt and Mr. Bainton

advocate has no place in these proceedings.

Further, although Brandt and his counsel have not directly

objected to the settlement amount, they obliquely complain that

Plaintiffs’ counsel have not produced “evidence” to allow the

Court to evaluate the “value” of the settlement and would have

this Court disregard the settlement amount. Brandt Mem. at 8.

Mr. Brandt and his counsel ignore the 13 pages of Plaintiffs’

memorandum in support of the proposed settlement, which

delineate and discuss each of the criteria for evaluating the

fairness of the settlement as set forth in the Eleventh Circuit’s

opinion in Bennett v. Behring Corp., 737 F.2d 982 (11th Cir.

1984).'* In their Memorandum Plaintiffs further discuss, inter

16. Notwithstanding Mr. Brandt and Mr. Bainton’s representations to the

contrary, Plaintiffs’ counsel most certainly have presented facts establishing the

adequacy of the proposed settlement which include the fact that, “although the total

market losses of members of the Class likely exceed $100 million, Plaintiffs’

(Cont'd )

18a

Appendix A

alia: the vigorous litigation of this action for the past three years;

the fact that Magistrate Johnson has already recommended

dismissal of the Third Consolidated and Amended Complaint; the

insolvency of Southeast and the seizure of its primary banking

subsidiary; the various competing claims — including those

asserted by Mr. Brandt — in excess of the amount of available

directors’ and officers’ liability insurance; and the fact that, if any

or all of these-competing actions were to conclude before

Plaintiffs in this action achieve success at trial, there is a

substantial risk that the available directors’ and officers’ liability

insurance could be depleted. Contrary to Brandt’s assertions,

therefore, Plaintiffs’ Memorandum in Support of the Proposed

Settlement contains an exhaustive analysis of why this

settlement, in light of all of the attendant circumstances, is a good

settlement.

Moreover, Mr. Brandt and Mr. Bainton once again ignore

~ controlling precedent:

{I]n evaluating the terms of the compromise

in relation to the likely benefits of a

successful trial, the trial judge ought not try

the case in the settlement hearings. . .

... The trial court should not make a

proponent of 2 proposed settlement ‘justify

each term of the settlement against a

hypothetical or speculative measure of what

concessions might have been gained;

(Cont'd )

counsel has concluded, based upon data evaluated by their financial expert, that the

provable damages may be no more than $26 million, assuming Plaintiffs establish

the Defendants’ liability.” Plaintiffs’ Memorandum in Support of the Proposed

Class Action Settlement at pp. 15-16, 21-22.

19a

Appendix A

inherent in compromise is a yielding of

absolutes and an abandoning of highest

hopes.”

Cotton v. Hinton, 559 F.2d 1326, 1330 (Sth Cir. 1977).'’ The

Court may not substitute its judgment for that of the parties who

negotiated the settlement. Jd.; Behrens v. Wometco Enterprises,

Inc., 118 F.R.D. 534, 539 (S.D. Fla. 1988), aff’d, 899 F.2d 21

(11th Cir. 1990). Rather, in determining whether final approval

should be granted, the Court must determine whether the

proposed settlement falls within the “range of possible recovery.”

Behrens, 118 F.R.D. at 539.

Mr. Brandt and Mr. Bainton also seem to think that this Court

can decide “what weight, if any, to give to the terms of this

settlement in determining a reasonable fee” (Brandt Mem. at 6)

based solely upon Detroit v. Grinnell Corp., 560 F.2d 1093 (2d

~ Cir. 1977), a pre-Camden I case which strictly applied the Lindy

lodestar approach. Actually, inherent in the percentage of the

fund approach is the fact that the most important factor is the size

of the recovery. Mr. Brandt and Mr. Bainton cannot advocate in

good faith, under Camden I, thai this Court can ignore the size of

the settlement in determining a percentage of the fund. It is

axiomatic that, if attorneys’ fees in common fund cases must be

determined as a percentage of the fund, the amount of the fund

must be taken into account. See Camden I, 946 F.2d at 744.

(“[M]onetary results achieved predominate over all other

criteria.”) See also Brown 838 F.2d at 456 (“a decisive factor in

this common fund class action case is the amount involved and

the results obtained.”); Swedish, 1 F.3d at 1269 (“In the common

17. Decisions of the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

rendered prior to October 1, 1981 are binding as precedent in the Eleventh Circuit.

Bonner v. City of Prichard, 661 F.2d 1206, 1209 (1 1th Cir. 1981).

20a

Appendix A

fund case. . . the monetary amount of the victory is often the true

measure of success, and therefore it is most efficient that it

influence the fee award.”)

B. THE PERCENTAGE OF THE FUND REQUESTED BY

PLAINTIFFS’ COUNSEL IS REASONABLE UNDER

CONTROLLING LAW

Contrary to Mr. Brandt and Mr. Bainton’s accusation,

Plaintiffs’ counsel never suggested that the Johnson factors, to

the extent applicable in any given case, are not relevant in

determining a reasonable fee in a common fund case. However,

the Court in Camden I unquestionably did reject the lodestar

approach set forth in Lindy Brothers and Johnson. Thus, while

the Johnson factors are relevant, the relative weights given those

factors will vary when utilized in the percentage.of the fund

approach. See Brown v. Phillips Petroleum, 838 F.2d at 456.

Brandt and his counsel ignore this difference in application and

improperly continue to over-emphasize the “time and labor”

factor, in essence reinstituting the very “lodestar” approach

rejected by Camden I.

Plaintiffs’ counsel satisfy the criteria outlined in Camden I,

and address the Johnson factors applicable to this case including:

the time and labor required; novelty and difficulty of the

questions; the skill requisite to perform the legal services

properly; the preclusion of other employment; the experience,

reputation and ability of the attorneys; and awards in similar

cases, as well as an additional factor noted by the Court in

Camden I — the economics involved in prosecuting a class

action. See Plaintiffs’ Memorandum in Support of Proposed

Settlement, pp. 27-35. Another additional factor set forth by the

Court in Camden I is relevant to evaluating the fee award is “any

substantial objections by class members or other parties to the

2la

Appendix A

settlement terms or the fees requested by counsel.” 946 F.2d at

775. In this regard it should be noted that there have been no

objections to the settlement amount by any bona fide Class

member. Further, Mr. Brandi is the only person who has objected

to Plaintiffs’ counsel’s fee request. This is true notwithstanding the

fact that more than 47,500 notices were mailed to Class members, as

well as nominees and brokers.

As indicated by the Court in Ressler, an important factor in

analyzing a fee request using a post-Camden percentage of the fund

approach is whether the fee requested by petitioners when considered

in terms of a percentage of the fund “is fair and reasonable when

compared to the percentages customarily found in standard

contingency fee arrangements or awarded in class actions.” {97,224

at 94,967.

Although Plaintiffs’ counsel have previously set forth a list of

fee awards in various cases throughout the country well in excess of

the 25% of the common fund requested herein,"* set forth below (and

attached hereto as Exhibits “6” through “11”’) are orders in six recent

18. Mr. Brandt and Mr. Bainton misleadingly contend that Plaintiffs’

counsel are requesting a fee of “over 33.3% of the amount to be received by all of the

Plaintiffs.” Brandt Mem. at 2. This is incorrect. Plaintiffs are requesting 25% of the

common fund obtained for the benefit of the Class. Apparently Mr. Brandt and Mr.

Bainton arrive at the 33.3% figure by subtracting the amount of Plaintiffs’ fee

request from the common fund and then comparing that amount to the remaining

amount of the fund. This is clearly an inappropriate, and highly disingenuous,

analysis under the percentage of the fund approach and Mr. Brandt and Mr. Bainton

can cite no authority in support of their type of analysis. Rather, normal market

conditions should be employed in determining contingent fees. In Re: Continental

Mlinois Securities Litig., 962 F.2d 566, 572 (7th Cir. 1992) (“The object in awarding

areasonable attorneys’ fee. . . is to give the lawyer what he would have gotten in the

way of a fee in an arm’s length negotiation had one been feasible.”). Contingent fees

are typically calculated as a percentage of the gross recovery.

22a

Appendix A

common fund cases, five from this Court and one from the Middle

District of Florida wherein fees equal to or in excess of 25% of the

settlement fund were awarded: In Re: Aero Systems, Inc. Securities

Litigation, Civil Action No. 90-0083-CIV-Paine (S.D. Fla. Oct. 19,

1993) (28% of $1,550,000 settlement); In Re: Royce Laboratories,

Inc. Securities Litigation, Civil Action No. 92-0923-CIV-Moore

(S.D. Fla. Sep. 28, 1993) (30% of settlement fund); CV Reit, Inc. v.

Levy, et al., Civil Action No. 91-8177-CIV-Gonzalez (S.D. Fla. Sep.

24, 1993) (26.9% of $2.45 million settlement); In Re: Perfumania,

Inc. Securities Litigation, Civil Action No. 92-1490-CTV-Marcus

(S.D. Fla. Sep. 22, 1993) (30% of $850,000 settlement); Kaser v.

Swann, Civil Action No. 90-607-CIV-ORL-3A18 (M.D. Fla. April

13, 1993) (30% of net settlement fund after deduction of costs and

expenses); In Re: FPL Group Consolidated Litigation, Civil Action

No. 90-8461-CIV-Nesbitt (S.D. Fla. Feb. 24, 1992) (25% of

settlement fund of $12.5 million).

Plaintiffs submit that, in light of the foregoing, Plaintiffs’

counsels’ request for 25% of the settlement fund is reasonable and

should be approved by this Court.

Dated: November 12, 1993

Respectfully submitted,

CHIMICLES, BURT & JACOBSEN

By: s/Andrew H. Kayton for

MICHAEL J. PUCILLO

Fla. Bar No.: 261033

WENDY H. ZOBERMAN

Fla. Bar No.: 434670

Esperanté, Suite 960

222 Lakeview Avenue

West Palm Beach, FL33401

(407) 835-9400

C. Oliver Burt, III

CHIMICLES, BURT & JACOBSEN

One Haverford Centre

361 W. Lancaster Avenue

Haverford, PA 19041

(215) 642-8500

and

STULL, STULL & BRODY

By: s/Andrew H. Kayton for

Jules Brody

Mark Levine

6 East 45th Street

New York, New York 10017

(212) 687-7230

and

LAW OFFICES OF JOSEPH H. WEISS

By: s/Andrew H. Kayton for

Joseph H. Weiss

319 Sth Avenue

New York, New York 10016

(212) 532-4171

and

24a

Appendix A

WAMPLER, BUCHANAN & BREEN

Atlee W. Wampler, III

900 Sun Bank Building

777 Brickell Avenue

Miami, Florida 33131-2298

and

WOLF POPPER ROSS WOLF

& JONES

Marian Rosner

845 Third Avenue

New York, New York 10022

and

ABBEY & ELLIS

Mark Gardy

212 East 39th Street

New York, New York 10016

Attorneys for Plaintiffs

25a

Appendix A

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I HEREBY CERTIFY that a true and correct copy of the

foregoing has been furnished via facsimile and U.S. Mail to J. Joseph

Bainton, Esq., Ross & Hardies, Park Avenue Tower, 65 East 55th

Street, New York, NY 10022-3219; Lewis F. Murphy, Esquire, Steel

Hector & Davis, 4000 S.E. Financial Center, Miami, Florida 33131,

and Robert T. Wright, Esquire, Mershon, Sawyer, Johnston,

Dunwody and Cole, 4500 Southeast Financial Center, 200 South

Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33131; and by U.S. Mail to all other

parties on the attached Service List, this 12th day of November, 1993.

s/ Andrew H. Kayton

ANDREWH. KAYTON, ESQUIRE

26a

Appendix A

SERVICE LIST

IN RE: SOUTHEAST BANKING COP.

SECURITIES LITIGATION

Michael J. Pucillo, Esquire Mark C. Gardy, Esquire

Chimicles, Burt & Jacobsen Abbey & Ellis ©

Esperante, Suite 960 212 East 39th Street

222 Lakeview Avenue New York, New York 10016

West Palm Beach, Florida 33401

C. Oliver Burt, III, Esquire Joseph H. Weiss, Esquire

Chimicles, Burt & Jacobsen Law Offices of Joseph H. Weiss

One Haverford Centre 319 Fifth Avenue

361 West Lancaster Avenue New York, New York 10016

Haverford, Pennsylvania 19041

Jules Brody, Esquire Atlee W. Wampler, III, Esquire

Stull, Stull & Brody Wampler, Buchanan & Breen

6 East 45th Street 900 Sun Bank Building

New York, New York 10017 777 Brickell Avenue

Miami, Florida 33101

Marian P. Rosner, Esquire Lewis F. Murphy, Esquire

Laurence D. Paskowitz,Esquire § Steel, Hector & Davis

Wolf Popper Ross Wolf 4000 S.E. Financial Centre

& Jones 200 South Biscayne Boulevard

845 Third Avenue Miami, Florida 33131

New York, New York 10022

Robert T. Wright, Esquire J. Joseph Bainton, Esq.

Mershon, Sawyer, Johnston Ross & Hardies

Dunwody and Cole Park Avenue Tower

4500 Southeast FinancialCenter 65 East 55th Street

200 South Biscayne Boulevard New York, NY 10022-3219

Miami, FL 33131

27a

APPENDIX B — NOTICE OF PENDENCY OF CLASS

ACTION, PROPOSED SETTLEMENT, SETTLEMENT

HEARING, AND RIGHT TO APPEAR AND

NOTICE TO NOMINEES

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

MIAMI DIVISION

MASTER FILE

CIVILACTION NO.

90-0760-CIV-MOORE

IN RE: SOUTHEAST BANKING CORP. SECURITIES

LITIGATION

THIS DOCUMENT RELATES TO ALLACTIONS

NOTICE OF PENDENCY OF CLASS ACTION,

PROPOSED SETTLEMENT, SETTLEMENT

HEARING, AND RIGHT TO APPEAR AND

NOTICE TO NOMINEES

TO: ALL PERSONS WHO PURCHASED OR

OTHERWISE ACQUIRED PUBLICLY TRADED

SECURITIES OF SOUTHEAST BANKING CORP. DURING

THE PERIOD FROM FEBRUARY 27, 1989 THROUGH

AND INCLUDING SEPTEMBER 20, 1991. THE TERM

“SECURITIES” INCLUDES COMMON _ STOCK,

PREFERRED STOCK, CAPITAL NOTES, NOTES,

CONVERTIBLE SUBORDINATED DEBENTURES, NON-

CONVERTIBLE DEBENTURES AND/OR SECURITIZED

ASSET INTERESTS.

PLEASE READ THIS NOTICE CAREFULLY AND IN

ITS ENTIRETY. YOUR RIGHTS WILL BE AFFECTED BY

LEGAL PROCEEDINGS IN THIS LITIGATION. IF YOU

28a

Appendix B

PURCHASED OR ACQUIRED SOUTHEAST SECURITIES

DURING THE PERIOD OF TIME DESCRIBED ABOVE

(THE “CLASS PERIOD”), YOU MAY BE A CLASS

MEMBER, ULTIMATELY ENTITLED TO RECEIVE

BENEFITS PURSUANT TO THE PROPOSED

SETTLEMENT DESCRIBED HEREIN, AND MAY BE

BOUND BY A JUDGMENT RELEASING ANY CLAIMS

THAT YOU MAY HAVE AGAINST THE DEFENDANTS,

FORMER OFFICERS AND DIRECTORS OF SOUTHEAST

AND OTHER RELEASED PARTIES. IF YOU WERE NOT

THE BENEFICIAL OWNER OF SOUTHEAST

SECURITIES AS DESCRIBED ABOVE DURING THE

CLASS PERIOD, PLEASE TRANSMIT THIS DOCUMENT

TO SUCH BENEFICIAL OWNER.

THE SETTLEMENT DESCRIBED IN THIS NOTICE IS

SUBJECT TO COURT APPROVAL. THE COURT HAS NOT

YET FINALLY CONSIDERED THE FAIRNESS OR

ADEQUACY OF THE PROPOSED SETTLEMENT AND

HAS NOT YET DETERMINED THE AMOUNT OF

ATTORNEYS’ FEES AND REIMBURSEMENT OF

EXPENSES TO BE AWARDED TO COUNSEL FOR THE

REPRESENTATIVE CLASS PLAINTIFFS. THIS NOTICE

IS NOT AN EXPRESSION OF ANY FINAL OPINION OF

THE COURT AS TO THE REASONABLENESS OF THE

PROPOSED SETTLEMENT OR ANY APPLICATION FOR

ATTORNEYS’ FEES AND EXPENSES. THE COURT WILL

NOT RULE ON THE PROPOSED SETTLEMENT OR FEE

APPLICATION UNTIL THE HEARING DESCRIBED

BELOW.

IF YOU PURCHASED OR ACQUIRED SOUTHEAST

SECURITIES DURING THE CLASS PERIOD FOR THE

BENEFICIAL INTEREST OF A PERSON OTHER THAN

|

29a

Appendix B

YOUSELF, IT IS IMPORTANT THAT YOU READ THE

“SPECIAL NOTICE TO SECURITIES BROKERS AND

OTHER NOMINEES” AT THE END OF THIS DOCUMENT.

IF YOU AREA“RELEASED PARTY” AS DEFINED ON

PAGE 3 OF THIS NOTICE, YOU SHOULD SEE THE

“SPECIAL NOTICE TO RELEASED PARTIES” AT THE

END OF THIS DOCUMENT.

NOTICE OF HEARING

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN, pursuant to Rule 23 of the

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure and an Order of the United

States Distrct Court for the Southern District of Florida (the

“Court”) dated August 27, 1993, that a hearing will be held

before the Honorable Kevin Michael Moore in the South

Courtroom of the Old Federal Courthouse Building at 300

Northeast First Avenue, Miami, Florida 33128 at 8:30 a.m. on

November 15, 1993 (the “Settlement Hearing”) to determine

whether a proposed settlement (the “Settlement”) of the

above-captioned litigation (the “Litigation”) between class

Representative Plaintiffs Harvey Wiener, William J. Hall, The

Maynard Slessinger Trust, Paula P. Folkman, Gasper Sclafani,

Myers L. Girsh and DCA Grantor Trust, individually and as

representative of all Class Members (as hereinafter defined),

and Defendants John E. Porta, Charles J. Zwick, Paul L. Hill,

Kristen M. Hudak, Samuel A. Milne, Douglas E. Ebert and

Florence Schust Bassett as Personal Representative of the

Estate of Harry Hood Bassett (sometimes collectively referred

to as the “Defendants”), as set forth in the Stipulation of

Settlement dated August 19, 1993 (the “Stipulation”), is fair

reasonable and adequate, and in the best interests of the Class

Members, and to determine to what extent attorneys’ fees,

30a

Appendix B

reimbursement of expenses and individual awards to the

named Plaintiffs should be awarded.

NOTICE OF CLASS ACTION DETERMINATION AND

BACKGROUND OF THE LITIGATION

Pursuant to an Order entered by the District Court on

August 27, 1993, the Court has certified this Litigation as a

Class Action for settlement purposes on behalf of all persons

who purchased or otherwise acquired publicly traded

securities including common stock, preferred stock, capital

notes, notes, convertible subordinated debentures, non-

convertible debentures and securitized asset interests of

Southeast Banking Corporation and its former corporate

parents, subsidiaries (including Southeast Bank, N.A.),

predecessors, successors and assigns (“Southeast”) during the

period from February 27, 1989 through and including

» September 20, 1991, excluding the Defendants herein, the

former officers and directors of Southeast, members of their

immediate families, their heirs, and affiliates, successors, and

assigns of the Defendants.

If you do not elect to be exluded from the Class by

following the steps described below, you are a “Class

Member” and will be eligible to participate in the benefits of

the Settlement as described herein, and will be subject to the

terms of a Final Order and Judgment to be entered herein,

barring you from pursuing any claims, rights, or causes of

action that you may have against Defendants or other officers,

directors, attorneys, advisors, insurers, agents or

representatives of Southeast.

Following an investigation by Plaintiffs’ counsel, on

March 22, 1990, a class action complaint was filed in this

3la

Appendix B

Court, captioned Harvey Wiener v. Southeast Banking Corp.,

et al., Civil Action No. 90-0760. Shortly thereafter, another

class action was filed in this Court, captioned William J. Hall

v. Southeast Banking Corp., et al., Civil Action No. 90-0838.

On April 6, 1990, Unitd States District Judge Eugene P.

Spellman entered an Order of Consolidation and Reference

consolidating the two actions and referring them to United

States Magistrate Judge Linnea R. Johnson. On April 24,

1990, Magistrate Judge Johnson ordered that the cases be

consolidated and that all pleadings be filed under Case No. 90-

0760-CIV-EPS. On April 23, 1990, the actions were filed as

one consolidated, amended complaint. Thereafter, on April

27, 1990, a Second Consolidated Amended Complaint was

filed to correct certain matters. Defendants moved to dismiss

the Second Consolidated Amended Complaint. On or about

July 18, 1990, Magistrate Judge Johnson, upon the stipulation

~ of the parties, granted Plaintiffs leave to file a Third

Consolidated Amended Complaint. In that Complaint,

Plaintiffs The Maynard Slessinger Trust and Paula P. Folkman

joined in the action, alleging purchases of Southeast Banking

Corp. securities during the second quarter of 1990. The

Defendants moved to dismiss Plaintiffs’ Third Consolidated

Amended Complaint, On June 26, 1991, after hearing

argument on Defendants’ Motion to Dismiss Plaintiffs’ Third

Consolidated Amended Complaint, Magistrate Judge Linnea

Johnson recommended the dismissal of the Third

Consolidated Amended Complaint. On July 11, 1991,

Plaintiffs filed objections to and moved to vacate the

Magistrate’s Report. However, those motions were never

ruled upon and became moot due to subsequent intervening

events.

On September 19, 1991, the Comptroller of the Currency

32a

Appendix B

declared insolvent Southeast’s principal subsidiary banks,

Southeast Bank, N.A. (“Southeast Bank”) and Southeast Bank

of West Florida, and appointed the Federal Deposit Insurance

Corporation (“FDIC”) as Receiver of those banks. On

September 20, 1991, Southeast Banking Corp. filed a

bankruptcy petition under Chapter 7 of the United States

Bankruptcy Code. The failure of Southeast Banking Corp. and

its subsequent filing for Chapter 7 protection affected the

Plaintiffs’ ability to pursue their claims brought against that

corporation, but did not eliminate the claims against the

individual defendants named in the Third Consolidated

Amended Complaint.

On November 7, 1991, Plaintiffs Wiener, Hall, The

Maynard Slessinger Trust and Folkman, previously Plaintiffs

in this action, as well as Plaintiffs Gasper Sclafani, Myers L.

Girsh and DCA Grantor Trust, who sought to join as iaintiffs

~ in this action, moved to file a Fourth Consolidated Amended

and Supplemental Complaint. The proposed Fourth

Consolidated Amended and Supplemental Complaint deleted

Southeast as a Defendant and sought recovery from the

remaining Defendants, in addition to that sought in the Third

Consolidated Amended Complaint, on behalf of those persons

who purchased common stock and debentures of Southeast

during the period from June 15, 1990 through July 3, 1991. On

March 12, 1992, Unitd States District Judge William J. Zloch.

granted Plaintiffs’ Motion to File a Fourth Consolidated

Amended and Supplemental Complaint.

On June 16, 1992, the Trustee in Bankruptcy for

Southeast Banking Corp. initiated an action against certain of

the Defendants named in the Fourth Consolidated Amended

and Supplemental Complaint, and other former officers and

directors of Southeast Banking Corp., alleging

33a

Appendix B

mismanagement and breaches of fiduciary duty, in an action

styled William A. Brandt, Jr. v. Florence S. Bassett, et al., Case

No. 92-1600-Civ-Aronovitz (the “Trustee Suit”). On

September 4, 1992, the FDIC moved to intervene in the

Trustee Suit asserting that any claims that exist for

mismanagement and breaches of fiduciary duty would be

solely and exclusively the rights of the FDIC. The FDIC’s

Motion to Intervene was granted and, subsequent to the

FDIC’s Intervention in the Trustee Suit, both the FDIC and the

Trustee moved for summary judgment on the issue of

ownership of the claims. Both the Trustee and FDIC have

asserted claims in excess of the amount of the available

directors and officers’ liability insurance, and each claim is

viewed by Plaintiffs’ lead counsel as a competing claim to the

claims asserted on behalf of the Class in the Fourth

Consolidated Amended and Supplemental Complaint.

. On April 29, 1993, United States Magistrate Linnear R.

Johnson recommended that the Trustee Suit be dismissed, and

that the FDIC’s Motion for Summary Judgment as to the

ownership of the claims be granted. Plaintiffs’ Lead Counsel

thereafter attempted to explore a coordinated prosecution of

the Class claims and the FDIC claims, with an appropriate

allocation of the recovery to the Class. Those efforts failed,

and it became apparent to Plaintiffs’ Lead Counsel that the

FDIC intends to prosecute its claim as a competing claim to

the class action. On May 4, 1993, the Resolution Trust

Corporation (“RTC”), acting as the receiver for American

Pioneer Savings Bank, also filed a suit against, among others,

the Defendants in this action, alleging violations of federal

securities law in relation to Southeast. The RTC’s suit is also a

competing claim to the Class action.

During 1992 and 1993, the case proceeded through

34a

Appendix B

additional motion practice. On August 19, 1993, after

substantial investigation and negotiation, the parties entered

into a Stipulation of Settlement.

SUMMARY OF SETTLEMENT

In full and complete settlement of all the Released Claims

(as defined herein), encompassing all the claims which have or

could have been asserted by Plaintiffs and the other Class

Members against the Defendants or Released Parties (as

defined below), and subject to the terms and conditions of the

Stipulation, the Defendants have agreed to pay to Plaintiffs

and the Class, the sum of $5,000,000 plus accrued interest

thereon. After deducting attorneys’ fees and reimbursement of

expenses, including notice, the costs of settlement

administration expenses, taxes, if any, and any incentive

awards to the Named Plaintiffs allowed by the Court, the

remaining funds will be distributed to Class Members who

have submitted valid Proofs of Claim in accordance with the

instructions herein.

Lead Counsel for the Plaintiffs has conducted an

examination into and evaluation of the law and facts relating

to the matters set forth in the Fourt Consolidated Amended and

Supplemental Complaint regarding how best to confer a

substantial benefit upon the Class, in light of the substantial -

obstacles to and risks of establishing liability and damages

and the potential duration of this complex litigation.

Based upon their discovery and investigation and

evaluation of the facts and law relating to the matters set forth

in the Fourth Consolidated Amended and Supplemental

Complaint, Plaintiffs’ Lead Counsel has concluded that (i)

irrespective of any merit to the claims asserted in the Fourth

35a

Appendix B

Consolidated Amended and Supplemental Complaint, there

are substantial obstacles to collecting any judgment that may

be obtained; (ii) the attendant risks of litigation, especially in

complex actions such as this, as well as the difficulties and

delays inherent in such litigation, could substantially delay or

eliminate any meaningful recovery; (iii) the uncertainty

relating to the proof of the allegations included in the Fourth

Consolidated Amended and Supplemental Complaint could

jeopardize any recovery; (iv) the uncertainties regarding

collection of any judgment posed by the competing claims of

the Trustee, the FDIC, and the RTC could further jeopardize

any recovery; (v) the desirability of permitting the Stipulation

to be promptly consummated according to its terms is

substantial; and (vi) resolution of the Litigation as set forth in

the Stipulation confers a substantial benefit upon the Class

and is in the best interest of the Class.

Defendants deny the material allegations of the Fourth

Consolidated Amded and Supplemental Complaint and deny

any and all liability with respect to any and all facts and claims

alleged or that could have been alleged in this Litigation and

continue to deny each and all of the claims and contentions

alleged by Plaintiffs in the Litigation. The Defendants

nonetheless consider it desirable that the Litigation be settled

and dismissed in accordance with the provisions of the

Stipulation because it will (i) halt the substantial expense,

inconvenience and uncertainties associated with continued

litigation of Plaintiffs’ claims; (ii) finally put to rest those

claims; and (iii) confer a substantial benefit upon the Class

and the Defendants including, without limitation, the

avoidance of further expense, diversion of resources and

disruption due to the pendency of the Litigation.

36a

Appendix B

The Court has not determined the merits of the claims

against, or the defenses of, the Defendants. This notice does

not imply that there has been or would be any finding of

violation of the law, or that recovery could be had in any

amount, if the Litigatgion were not settled with respect to the

Defendants.

On October 12, 1993, prior to the Settlement Hearing, the

parties will file with the Clerk of the Court any materials in

support of the Settlement and pertaining to the other matters to

be considered by the Court at the Settlement Hearing,

including plaintiffs’ counsels’ petition for attorneys’ fees and

petition for reimbursement of costs and expenses.

If the Stipulation and the proposed Settlement are

approved by the Court, all claims which have or, based upon

the claims alleged, could have been asserted in the Litigation

- will be dismissed on the merits and with prejudice in

accordance with the terms of the Stipulation as to all Class

Members (except those who have properly excluded

themselves from the Class), and all Class Members shall be

forever barred from prosecuting a Class Action or any other

action encompassing a Released Claim (as defined below).

The Settlement will become effective at such tme as the

Order entered by the District Court finally approving the

Settlement shall become final and not subject to appeal, as set

forth in the stipulation (the “Settlement Effective Date”). If

for any reason any of the contingencies set forth in the

Stipulation is not met or complied with in accordance with its

terms, then in that event, the Settlement may be terminated.

Upon final approval by the Court of the Settlement, and

subject to the contingencies set forth in the Stipulation, all

37a

Appendix B

Class Members who are not determined by the Court to have

properly excluded themselves from the Class shall

conclusively be deemed to have remised, released and

discharged, absolutely and forever, each and all of the

Released Parties (as defined below) of and from any and all

Released Claims (as defined below).

The Released Parties are the Defendants, and their

respective spouses, heirs, executors, administrators,

successors and assigns; National Union Fire Insurance

Company of Pittsburgh, PA and any other insurers that provide

directors’ and officers’ liability insurance to Southeast, and

their directors and officers; and all former officers, directors,

employees, agents, attorneys, auditors, accountants,

representatives, advisors, insurers, reinsurers, actuaries,

underwriters, commercial or investment bankers, investors,

consultants, affiliates, independent contractors and associates

- (as defined in SEC Rule 12b-2, promulated pursuant to the

Securities Exchange Act of 1934) of Southeast and their

respective spouses, heirs, executors, administrators,

successors and assigns. EXCEPT THAT ANY CLASS

MEMBER WHO FILES A PROOF OF CLAIM SEEKING TO

BENEFIT FROM THE SETTLEMENT FUNDS SHALL NOT

BEA RELEASED PARTY.

The Released Claims are (i) any and all claims, actions or

causes of action, rights or liabilities, including Unknown

Claims, which have existed, exist, or may in the future exist

against any Released Party by reaon of any matter, cause or

thing whatsoever, arising out of, or relating to the offer,

purchase, acquisition, sale, transfer, retention or exchange of

Southeast Securities, by a Class Member; and (ii) any and all

claims, actions, causes of action, rights or liabilities,

including Unknown Claims, which a Class Member had, has

38a

Appendix B

or may in the future have that are or could have been alleged,

in the Litigation arising out of, or relating to any acts,

omissions, or failures to act of any of the Released Parties,

individually or in their capacities as officers, directors,

shareholders, employees, agents, consultants, attorneys,

auditors, accountants, representatives, insurers, reinsurers,

actuaries, underwriters, commercial or investment bankers,

investors, affiliates, independent contractors, associates, and/

or advisors of Southeast.

Southeast Securities and/or Southeast’s Securities mean

any and all securities issued by Southeast and publicly traded

during the Class Period, including but not limited to common

stock, preferred stock, capital notes, notes, convertible

subordinated debentures, non-convertible debentures and/or

securitized asset interests.

Unknown Claims means any existing or future claims,

demands, causes of action or rights, against any Released

Party that the Class Members do not know or suspect to exist

in their favor at the time the Final Order and Judgment is

entered in this Litigation, provided that such claim(s) would

arise out of, or relate to Southeast, including the offer,

purchase, acquisition, sale, transfer, retention or exchange of

Southeast’s Securities.

CLASS MEMBERSHIP, FILING PROOF OF

CLAIM, AND CALCULATION OF PAYABLE CLAIMS

TO BE ELIGIBLE TO PARTICIPATE IN THE

DISTRIBUTION OF THE SETTLEMENT FUND, YOU

MUST COMPLETE AND SIGN THE ATTACHED PROOF

OF CLAIM FORM AND SEND IT BY PREPAID FIRST

39a

Appendix B

CLASS MAIL POST-MARKED ON OR BEFORE

DECEMBER 27, 1993 AND ADDRESSED AS FOLLOWS:

Southeast Banking Corp. Securities

Litigation

Settlement Administrator

P.O. Box 1367

Blue Bell, PA 19422

IF YOU ARE A CLASS MEMBER AND IF YOU DO

NOT TIMELY FILE A PROPER PROOF OF CLAIM FORM

AND HAVE NOT EXCLUDED YOURSELF FROM THE

CLASS, YOU WILL NOT SHARE IN THE SETTLEMENT

FUND. HOWEVER, YOU WILL STILL BE BOUND BY THE

FINAL ORDER AND JUDGMENT OF THE COURT

DISMISSING THIS LITIGATION AND RELEASING ALL

CLAIMS AND POTENTIAL CLAIMS AS SET FORTH

ABOVE.

For purposes of the Settlement,

(a) “Claimant” means any Class Member who files a

Proof of Claim in such manner and within such time as

provided herein;

(b) “Authorized Claimant” means a Claimant who;

properly completes the enclosed Proof of Claim form

establishing the Claimant’s status as a Class Member, who has

a “Recognized Loss” as defined below, who has submitted it

along with all required documentation to the Settlement

Administrator at the address provided on the Proof of Claim

form on or before December 27, 1993 on the basis of which the

Class Member is found to have a right to participate in the

benefits of the Settlement.

eaieadiiee <r aaemamaieee ~

40a

Appendix B

All Proofs of Claim must be submitted by December 27,

1993. Any Class Member who fails to file a proper Proof of

Ciaim with all required documentation by such date shall be

forever barred from receiving any payment pursuant to the

Stipulation but shall in all other respects be bound by the terms

of the Stipulation and the Final Order and Judgment to be

entered in the Litigation, including the terms of the release

contained in the Stipulation. A Proof of Claim shall be deemed

to have been timely submitted if received by the Settlement

Administrator or postmarked on or before December 27, 1993.

Each Proof of Claim shall be submitted to and reviewed

by the Settlement Administrator under the supervision of

Plaintiffs’ Lead Counsel, who shall determine in accordance

with the Stipulation and the Court’s Order with Respect to

Notice, Settlement Hearing and Administration, the extent, if

any, to which each claim shall be allowed, in the sole

discretion of Plaintiffs’ Lead Counsel, subject to final review

by the Court.

The Settiment Administrator will notify, in writing, all

Claimants whose Proofs of Claim have been rejected in whole

or in part, setting forth the reasons therefor. Any Claimant

whose claim has been finally rejected in whole or in part and

who desires to contest such final rejection must, within twenty

(20) days after the date of mailing of the notice of final

rejection of the Proof of Claim, serve upon Plaintiffs’ Lead

Counsel by certified mail a notice and statement of reasons for

contesting the final rejection along -with any supporting

documentation. Any such notice and statement shall be

deemed served when actually received by Plaintiffs’ Lead

Counsel. Plaintiffs’ Lead Counsel will thereafter present any

such notice along with a response, if desired, for review and

final decision by the Court.

4la

Appendix B

Each Claimant shall be deemed to have submitted to the

jurisidiction of the Court with respect to the Claimant’s claim,

and the Claimant will be subject to discovery under the

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, limited to the Claimant’s

status as a Class Member, the amount and circumstances of the

Claimant’s claim, and the contents of the Proof of Claim as

submitted.

The Net Settlement Funds consisting of the Settlement

Funds, plus accrued interest, less (i) Attorneys’ Fees and

Expenses; (ii) Notice and Administration Expenses; and (iii)

any awards to the Plaintiffs allowed by the Court, shall be

allocated among the Authorized Claimants in the following

manner (the amount so allocated to each Authorized Claimant

constituting his or her “Payable Claim”):

(a) Each Authorized Claimant will be

entitled to receive from the Net Settlement

Fund that portion of the Net Settlement

Fund represented by a fraction of the Net

Settlement Fund which equals the

individual Recognized Loss of such

Authorized Claimant to the sum of all

Recognized Losses of the Authorized

Claimants;

(b) Each Authorized Claimant’s

Recognized Loss will be computed as set

forth in the following Plan of Allocation:

(i.) All definitions set forth in the

Stipulation of Settlement shall

govern this Plan of Allocation, and

42a

Appendix B

terms employed herein shall have the

same meaning as in the Stipulation

of Settlement. Additionally, “FIFO

basis” means Southeast Securities

purchased during the Class Period

shall be matched in chronological

order with Southeast Securities sold

during the Class Period or held at the

end of the Class Period on a first in,

first out, basis.

(ii.) The Net Settlement Funds

shall be allocated among claimants

in two separate funds. Seventy

percent (70%) of the Net Settlement

Funds, plus any interest earned or

accrued thereon, shall be allocated to

claimants who purchased publicly

traded Southeast Banking Corp.

Stock (common or preferred), during

the Class Period (the “Stock Fund”).

Thirty percent (30%) of the Net

Settlement Funds shall be allocated

to Claimants who purchased

publicly traded Southeast Banking

Corp. debt securities (notes, capital

notes, convertible and non-

convertible subordinated debentures)

during the Class Period (the “Debt

Fund”).

(iii.) Claims shall be paid to

Claimants from the Stock Fund and

43a

Appendix B

the Debt Fund in accordance with the

Recognized Loss of each Claimant.

The Recognized Loss shall be

defined as a fraction, the numerator

of which shall be the losses actually

sustained by the Claimant, and the

denominator of which shall be total

value of the claims submitted by

Ciaimants in the respective Stock

and Bond Funds. The losses shall be

determined by subtracting from the

amount paid (less commissions and

fees) for the Claimants’ Southeast

Securities, any funds received upon

sale of such securities (exclusive of

commissions or fees). Southeast

Securities not sold during the Class

Period shall have a market loss in the

amount equal to the amount paid for

such Southeast Securities (less

commissions and fees) minus the

publicly quoted price, if any, of such

Southeast Securities on the last day

of the Class Period.

- (iv.) All determinations of losses

shall be determined on a “FIFO”

basis.

(v.) Prior to payment to

Claimants, Court approval shall be

obtained authorizing the distribution

of the Net Settlement Funds to

44a

Appendix B

claimants in accordance with the

foregoing Plan of Allocation.

(c) The Net Settlement Fund shall be

distributed to Authorized Claimants in

accordance with the terms of the

Stipulation and the Final Order and

Judgment to be entered therein.

Payment in the manner set forth above shall be deemed

conclusive as to the claims of all Class members. All Class

Members who do not submit timely and properly completed

Proofs of Claim against Settlement Funds or whose Proofs of

Claim are not approved shall be barred from participating in

distributions from Settlement Funds, but otherwise shall be

bound by the terms and conditions of the Stipulation,

including the terms of the Release contained in the

Stipulation, and the Fine! Order and Judgment to be entered in

the Litigation, unless they have been properly excluded from

the Class.

REQUEST FOR EXCLUSION

IF YOU PROPERLY REQUEST EXCLUSION FROM

THE CLASS, YOU WILL NOT RECEIVE ANY PAYMENT

PURSUANT TO THE SETTLEMENT.

If you wish to be excluded from the Class, you may ask the

Court to exclude you by filing a Request for Exclusion. Your

Request for Exclusion must be in writing and postmarked on

or before October 18, 1993. You must include your name,

address and telephone number, and the caption of the

_ Litigation and state that you wish to be excluded from the

45a

Appendix B

Class. You MUST also list purchases of Southeast Securities

during the Class Period (by number of shares, type of shares

and price paid per share); sales or dispositions of such

securities during the Class Period, if applicable (by number of

shares, type of shares, and price received from any such sale

or disposition); the date of each such transaction; and the

name of the person in whose name the securities were

registered. You should also provide documentation of your

transaction in Southeast Securities with your request for

exclusion. All Requests for Exclusion must be mailed to:

Lewis F. Murhphy, P.A., Stee! Hector & Davis, 4000 First

Union Financial Center, 200 S. Biscayne Boulevard, Miami,

FL 33131-2398

If you properly and timely request exclusion from che

Class, you will not be bound by any judgment entered in the

Litigation, and you will be free to pursue whatever legal rights

~ you may have against any of the Defendants at your own

expense.

If you do not timely mail your election to be excluded

from the Class and do not or cannot file a proper Proof of

Claim that entitles you to receive Settlement proceeds, you

will not share in the Settlement but you will be included

automatically in the Class and bound by the Stipulation of

Settlement and the Final Order and Judgment to be entered in

this lawsuit pursuant thereto.

If you do not request exclusion from the Class you may, if

you so choose, enter an appearance through legal counsel of

your choice at your own expense and have all the rights and

obligations set forth in Rule 23 of the Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure. If this is your choice, you must notify the Clerk of

46a

Appendix B

the Court, United States District Court for the Southern

District of Florida, United States District Courthouse, 301

North Maimi Avenue, Miami, Florida 33128, that you wish to

be represented by your personal attorney and send a copy of

such notice to Michael J. Pucillo, Esquire at the address set

forth below, and to Lewis F. Murphy, P.A., at the address set

forth above. Any such request must be in writing and must be

postmarked on or before November 1, 1993.

If you do not have your attorney appear for you, your

interests will be represented by one or more of the following

Lead counsel for the Class:

Michael J. Pucillo, Esquire Joseph H. Weiss, Esquire

Chimicles, Burt & Jacobsen 319 Fifth Avenue

222 Lakeview Avenue New York, NY 10016

Suite 960

West Palm Beach, FL 33401

Jules Brody, Esquire

6 East 45th Street

New York, NY 10017

SETTLEMENT HEARING

The Settlement Hearing will b> held on November 15,

1993, at 8:30 a.m. in the Courtroom of Judge Kevin Michael

Moore in the South Courtroom of the Old Federal Courthouse

Building at 300 Northeast First Avenue, Miami, Florida

33128. The Settlement Hearing may be adjourned from time to

time by the Court without further notice. Notice of any such

adjournment may only be provided at the Settlement Hearing.

47a

Appendix B

At the Settlement Hearing, the Court will consider

whether it should finally approve this Settlement and dismiss

the Litigation on the merits and with prejudice. At the

Settlement Hearing, any Class Member who has not

previously filed a Request for Exclusion from the Class in the

manner set fourth above may appear in person or by counsel

and be heard to the extent allowed by the Court in support of,

or in opposition to, the fairness, reasonableness and adequacy

of the Settlement or any of the other matters to be considered

by the Court, provided, however, that in no event shall a

person be heard in opposition to the proposed Settlement,

Plaintiffs’ applications for counsel fees, reimbursement of

expenses and/or individual awards to named Plaintiffs unless,

on or before November 1, 1993 such person (a) files with the

Clerk of the Court notice of such person’s intention to appear,

together with a statement that indicates the basis for such

opposition which includes the information described in the

- second paragraph under the heading REQUEST FOR

EXCLUSION hereof, along with any supporting

documentation and; (b) serves copies of such notice, statement

and documentation, together with copies of any other papers

or briefs such person files with the Court, in person or by mail

uopn each of the following attorneys:

Michael J. Pucillo, Esquire Lewis F. Murphy, P.A.

Chimicles, Burt & Jacobsen Steel Hector & Davis

222 Lakeview Avenue 4000 First Union Financial

Suite 960 Center

West Palm Beach, FL 33401 200 S. Biscayne Boulevard

for Plaintiffs’ Lead Counsel Miami, FL 33131-2398

for Defendants’

Representative Counsel

48a

Appendix B

ATTORNEYS’ FEES, DISBURSEMENTS, AND

INDIVIDUAL PAYMENTS TO NAMED PLAINTIFFS

At the Settlement Hearing or at such later time as the

Court may direct, Plaintiffs’ Lead Counsel will apply to the

Court for an award from the Settlement Funds of attorneys’

fees, which will not be in an amount greater than 25% of the

Settlement Funds, and for reimbursements of out-of-pocket

expenses, together with interest earned upon such amounts.

Plaintiffs’ Lead Counsel will also seek payment from the

Settlement Funds of an amount, that will not exceed $2,000, to

each of the named Plaintiffs over and above their

proportionate share of the Settlement Funds.

EXAMINATION OF PAPERS AND INQUIRIES

For a more detailed statement of the matters involved in

’ the Litigation, reference is made to the pleadings, to the

Stipulation of Settlement, to the orders entered by the Court

and to the other papers filed in the Litigation, which may be

inspected at the Office of the Clerk of the United States

Distrcit Court for the Southern District of Florida, 301 N.

Miami Avenue, Miami, FL 33128, during business hours of

each business day.

Any inquiries concerning this Notice or the Proof of

Claim form by Class Members should be made to Plaintiffs’

Lead Counsel in writing. No telephone inquiries should be

made. Inquiries should not be directed to the Court or the

Clerk’s office.

Distribution of the proceeds of the Settlement is subject to

Court approval.

49a

Appendix B

SPECIAL NOTICE TO SECURITIES

BROKERS AND OTHER NOMINEES

If you purchased or acquired Southeast securities during

the Class Period for the beneficial interest of a person or

organization other than yourself, you are required to provide

to the Settlement Administrator the name and last known

address of each person or organization for whom or which you

purchased or acquired Southeast Banking Corp. publicly

traded securities, including common stock, preferred stock,

capital notes, notes, convertible subordinated debentures,

non-convertible debentures, and/or securitized asset interests

during such time period. Such information should be sent to:

Southeast Banking Corp. Securities

Litigation

Settlement Administrator

P.O. Box 1367

Blue Bell, PA 19422

within seven (7) days of your receipt of this notice. The

Settlement Administrator will forward copies of this Notice

and a Proof of Claim form to each beneficial owner so

designated by you in writing.

Alternatively, you may request additional copies of this

Notice and Proof of Claim forms for each Class Member for

whom you acted and whom you identify, which will be

provided to you at the expense of the Class, and you may mail

the Notice and Proof of Claim forms directly to the beneficial

owners of the Southeast Securities referred to herein. You may

be entitled to reimbursement of your reasonable out-of-pocket

expenses actually incurred in connection with the foregoing,

50a

Appendix B

provided that the Settlement Administrator will reimburse you

at the prevailing domestic postage rate for each Notice and

Proof of Claim form mailed to members of the Class at the

lowest rate at which they could properly be mailed. No

payment will be permitted for service charges, handling fees,

excess postage or similar charges. Payment will be made for

these charges as submitted by affidavit or declaration under

penalty of perjury to the Settlement Administrator and only

after review and approval by the Settlement Administrator.

SPECIAL NOTICE TO RELEASED PARTIES

Regardless of whether you purchased Southeast

Securities during the Class Period, if you are a former officer

or director of Southeast or if you are a spouse, heir, executor,

administrator, successor or assign of a former officer or

director of Southeast, including any Defendant in this

Litigation, you are NOT a Class Member and may not

participate in this Settlement as a Class Member. Other

“Released Parties” — such as employees, accountants,

attorneys and advisors of Southeast — who purchased

Southeast Securities during the Class Period ARE Class

Members and may participate in this Settlement as a Class

Member. However, you cannot benefit financially from the

Settlement Funds and also benefit from the release to Released

Parties. Therefore, Class members who file a Proof a Claim

and seek to benefit from the Settlement Funds will

automatically lose their status as a “Released Party” and will

in no way benefit from the release from potential liability

conferred upon other Released Parties.

S5la

Appendix B

Dated: September 15, 1993

CLERK, UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

T. G. CHELIOTIS

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING

SUBSTITUTE FORM W-9

(Section references are to the Internal Revenue Code.)

Purpose of Form. — A person who is required to file an

information return with IRS must obtain your correct taxpayer

identification number (TIN) to report income paid to you, real

estate transactions, mortgage interest you paid, the acquisition

or abandonment of secured property, or contributions you

made to an individual retirement arrangement (IRA). Use

Form W-9 to furnish your correct TIN to the requester (the

~ person asking you to furnish your TIN), and, when applicable,

(1) to certify that the TIN you are furnishing is correct, (2) to

certify that you are not subject to backup withholding, and (3)

to claim exemption fro backup withholding if you are an

exempt payee. Furnishing your correct TIN and making the

appropriate certifications will prevent certain payments from

being subject to the 31% backup withholding.

Note: If a requester gives you a form other than a W-9 to

request your TIN, you must use the requester’s form.

How To Obtain a TIN. — If you do not have a TIN, you

should apply for one immediately. To apply for the number,

obtain Form SS-5, Aoplication for a Social Security Number

Card (for individuals), or Form SS-4, Application for

Employer Identification Number (for businesses and all other

52a

Appendix B

entities), at your local office of the Social Security

Administration or the Internal Revenue Service. Complete

and file the appropriate form according to its instructions.

To complete Form W-9 if you do not have a TIN, write

“Applied For” in the space for the TIN in Part 1, sign and date

the form, and give it to the requester. For payments that could

be subject to backup withholding, you will then have 60 days

to obtain a TIN and furnish it to the requester.

During the 60-day period, the payments you receive will

not be subject to the 31% backup withholding, unless you

make a withdrawal. However, if the requester does not receive

your TIN form you within 60 days, backup withholding, if

applicable, will begin and continue until you furnish your TIN

to the requester.

Note: Writing “Applied For” on the form means that you have

already applied for a TIN OR that you intend to apply for one

in the near future.

As soon as you receive your TIN, complete another Form

W-9, include your new TIN, sign and date the form, and give it

to the requester.

What is Backup Withholding? — Persons making certain

payments to you are required to withhold and pay to IRS 31%

of such payments under certain conditions. This is called

“backup withholding.” Payments that could be subject to

backup withholding include interest, dividends, broker and

barter exchange transactions, rents, royalties, nonemployee

compensation, and certain payments from fishing boat

operators, but do not include real estate transactions.

53a

Appendix B

If you give the requester your correct TIN, make the

appropriate certifications, and report all your taxable interest

and dividends on your tax return, your payments will not be

subject to backup withholding. Payments you receive will be

subject to backup withholding if:

(1) You do not furnish your TIN to the requester, or

(2) IRS notifies the requester that you furnished an

incorrect TIN, or

(3) You are notified by IRS that you are subject to backup

withholding because you failed to report all your interest and

dividends on your tax return (for interest and dividend

accounts only), or

(4) You fail to certify to the requester that you are not

subject to backup withholding under (3) above (for interest

and dividend accounts opened after 1983 only), or

(5) You fail to certify your TIN. This applies only to

interest, dividend, broker, or barter exchange accounts opened

after 1983, or broker accounts considered inactive in 1983.

For other payments, you are subject to backup

withholding only if (1) or (2) above applies.

Certain payees and payments are exempt from backup

withholding and information reporting. See Payees and

Payments Exempt From Backup Withholding, below, and

Exempt Payees and Payments under Specific Instructions, on

page 2, if you are an exempt payee.

54a

Appendix B

Payees and Payments Exempt From Backup Withholding.

— The following lists payees that are exempt from backup

withholding and information reporting. For interest and

dividends, all listed payees are exempt except item (9). For

broker transactions, payees listed in (1) through (13), and a

person registered under the Investment Advisers Act of 1940

who regularly acts as a broker are exempt. Payments subject to

reporting under sections 6041 and 6041A are generally

exempt from backup withholding only if made to payees

described in items (1) through (7), except that a corporation

that provides medical and health care services or bills and

collects payments for such services is not exempt from backup

withholding or information reporting. Only payees described

in items (2) through (6) are exempt from backup withholding

for barter exchange transactions, patronage dividends, and

payments by certain fishing boat operators.

(1) Acorporation.

(2) An organization exempt from tax under section

501(a), or an individual retirement plan (IRA), or a custodial

account under 403(b)(7).

(3) The United States or any agency or instrumentality

thereof.

(4) A state, the District of Columbia, a possession of the

United States, or any political subdivision or instrumentality

thereof.

(5) A foreign government or a political subdivision,

agency or instrumentality thereof.

55a

Appendix B

(6) An international organization or any agency or

instrumentality thereof.

(7) A foreign central bank of issue.

(8) A dealer in securities or commodities required to

register in the U.S. ora possession of the U.S.

(9) A futures commission merchant registered with the

Commodity Futures Trading Commission.

(10) Areal estate investment trust.

(11) An entity registered at all times during the tax year

under the Investment Company Act of 1940.

(12) A common trust fund operated by a bank under

section 584(a).

(13) A financial institution.

(14) A middleman known in the investment community

as a nominee or listed in the most recent publication of the

American Society of Corporate Secretaries, Inc., Nominee

List.

(15) A trust exempt from tax under section 664 or

described in section 4947.

Payments of dividends and patronage dividends generally

not subject to backup withholding also include the following:

56a

Appendix B

* Payments to nonresident aliens subject to withholding

under section 1441.

* Payments to partnerships not engaged in a trade or

business in the U.S. and that have at least one nonresident

partner.

* Payments of patronage dividends not paid in money.

* Payments made by certain foreign organizations.

Payments of interest generally not subject to backup

withholding include the following:

* Payments of interest on obligations issued by individuals.

Note: You may be subject to backup withholding if this

interest is $600 or more and is paid in the course of the

payer's trade or business and you have not provided your

correct TIN to the payer.

* Payments of tax-exempt interest (including exempt-

interest dividends under section 852).

* Payments described in section 6049(b)(5) to nonresident

aliens.

* Payments on tax-free covenant bonds under section 1451.

* Payments made by certain foreign organizations.

* Mortgage interest paid by you.

57a

Appendix B

Payments that are not subject to information reporting are

also not subject to backup withholding. For details, see

sections 6041, 6041A(a), 6042, 6044, 6045, 6049, 6050A, and

6050N, and the regulations under such sections.

Penalties

Failure To Furnish TIN. — If you fail to furnish your correct

TIN to a requester, you are subject to a penalty of $50 for each

such failure unless your failure is due to reasonable cause and

not to willful neglect.

Failure to Include Certain Items on Your Tax Return. — If

you fail to properly include on your tax return certain items

reported to IRS, such failure will be treated as being due to

negligence, and you will be subject to a penalty of 5% on any

part of an underpayment of tax attributable to that failure

unless there is clear and convincing evidence to the contrary.

Civil Penalty for False Information With Respect to

Withholding. — If you make a false statement with no

reasonable basis that results in no imposition of backup

withholding, you are subject to a penalty of $500.

Criminal Penalty for Falsifying Information. — Willfully

falsifying certifications or affirmations may subject you to

criminal penalties including fines and/or imprisonment.

Specific Instructions

Name. — If you are an individual, generally provide the name

shown on your social security card. However, if you have

changed your last name, for instance, due to marriage, without

58a

Appendix B

informing the Social Security Administration of the name

change, you may enter your first name and both the last name

shown on your social security card and your new last name.

Signing the Certification. —

(1) Interest, Dividend, and Barter Exchange Accounts

Opened Before 1984 and Broker Accounts That Were

Considered Active During 1983. — You are not required to

sign the certification; however, you may do so. You are

required to provide your correct TIN.

(2) Interest, Dividend, Broker and Barter Exchange

Accounts Opened After 1983 and Broker Accounts That

Were Considered Inactive During 1983. — You must sign

the certification or backup withholding will apply, If you are

subject to backup withholding will apply. If you are subject to

backup withholding and you are merely providing your

correct TIN to the requester, you must cross out item (2) in the

certification before signing the form.

(3) Real Estate Transactions. — You must sign the

certification. You may cross out item (2) of the certification if

you wish.

(4) Other Payments. — You are required to furnish your

correct TIN, but you are not required to sign the certification

unless you have been notified of an incorrect TIN. Other

payments include payments made in the course of the

requester’s trade or business for rents, royalties, goods (other

than bills for merchandise), medical and health care services,

payments to a nonemployee for services (including attorney

and accounting fees), and payments to certain fishing boat

crew members.

59a

Appendix B

(5) Mortgage Interest Paid by You, Acquisition or

Abandonment of Secured Property, or IRA Contributions.

— You are required to furnish your correct TIN, but you are

not required to sign the certification.

(6) Exempt Payees and Payments. — If you are exempt

from backup withholding, you should complete this form to

avoid possible erroneous backup withholding. Enter your

correct TIN in Part I, write “EXEMPT” in the block in Part II,

cross out item (2) of the certification, sign and date the form. If

you are a nonresident alien or foreign entity not subject to

backup withholding, give the requester a completed Form W-

8, Certificate of Foreign Status.

(7) TIN “Applied For.” — Follow the instructions under

How To Obtain a TIN, earlier, sign and date this form.

Signature. — For a joint account, only the person whose TIN

is shown in Part I should sign the form.

Privacy Act Notice. — Section 6109 requires you to furnish

your correct taxpayer identification number (TIN) to persons

who must file information returns with IRS to report interest,

dividends, and certain other income paid to you, mortgage

interest you paid, the acquisition or abandonment of secured

property, or contributions you made to an individual

retirement arrangement (IRA). IRS uses the numbers for

identification purposes and to help verify the accuracy of your

tax return. You must provide your TIN whether or not you are

required to file a tax return. Payers must generally withhold

31% of taxable interest, dividend, and certain other payments

to a payee who does not furnish a TIN to a payer. Certain

penalties may also apply.

60a

Appendix B

What Name and Number to Give the Requester

For this type of account:

1. individual

2. Twoor more individuals

(joint account)

3. Custodian account ofa

minor (Uniform Gift to

Minors Act)

4. a. Theusual revocable

savings trust (grantor

is also trustee)

b. So-called trust account

that is not a legal or valid

trust under state law

5. Sole proprietorship

Give the name and

SOCIAL SECURITY

number of:

The individual

The actual owner

of the account or,

if combined funds,

the first individual

on the account!

The minor?

The grantor-trustee'

The actual owner’

The owner®

6la

Appendix B

Give the name and

For this type of account: EMPLOYER

IDENTIFICATION

number of:

6. A valid trust, estate, or Legal entity (Do

pension trust not furnish the

identification number of

the personal representative

or trustee unless the legal

entity itself is not

designated in the account

title. )*

7. Corporate The corporation

8. Association, club, The organization

religious, charitable,

educational, or other

tax-exempt organization

9. Partnership The Partnership

10. A broker or registered The broker or nominee

nominee

11. Account with the The public entity

Department of Agriculture

in the name of a public entity

(such as a state or local

government, school district,

or prison) that receives

agricultural program payments

62a

Appendix B

' List first and circle the name of the person whose number you furnish.

2 Circle the minor’s name and furnish the minor’ s social security number.

* Show the name of the owner.

* List first and circle the name of the legal trust, estate, or pension trust.

Note: Jfno name is circled when there is more than one name,

the number will bne considered to be that of the first name

listed.

63a

Appendix B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

MIAMI DIVISION

MASTER FILE

CIVIL ACTION NO.

90-0760-CIV-MOORE

IN RE: SOUTHEAST BANKING CORP.SECURITIES

LITIGATION

THIS DOCUMENT RELATES TO ALLACTIONS

PROOF OF CLAIM AND RELEASE

NOTE: YOU SHOULD NOT COMPLETE THIS FORM

UNLESS YOU PURCHASED SOUTHEAST BANKING

CORP. PUBLICLY TRADED COMMON § STOCK,

PREFERRED STOCK, CAPITAL NOTES, NOTES,

CONVERTIBLE SUBORDINATED DEBENTURES, NON-

CONVERTIBLE DEBENTURES, SECURITIZED ASSET

INTERESTS AND/OR OTHER PUBLICLY TRADED

SECURITIES OF SOUTHEAST BANKING CORP. DURING

THE PERIOD FROM FEBRUARY 27, 1989 THROUGH

SEPTEMBER 20, 1991. IF YOU DID SO, YOU ARE A

“CLASS MEMBER” ENTITLED TO PARTICIPATE IN THE

SETTLEMENT OF THE LITIGATION, AND YOU MAY BE

ENTITLED TO SETTLEMENT PROCEEDS. (Excluded from

the Class are the Defendants, former officers and directors of

Southeast Banking Corp., and their spouses, heirs, executors,

administrators, successors and assigns, and those persons who

have excluded themselves pursuant to the provisions of the

Notice.)

64a

Appendix B

IN ORDER TO RECEIVE ANY PAYMENTS TO WHICH

YOU MAY BE ENTITLED AS A CLASS MEMBER, YOU

MUST COMPLETE AND SIGN THIS PROOF OF CLAIM,

AND MAIL IT BY PRE-PAID, FIRST CLASS MAIL,

POSTMARKED NO LATER THAN DECEMBER 27,1993

TO THE FOLLOWING ADDRESS:

Southeast Banking Corp. Securities Litigation

Settlement Administrator

P.O. Box 1367

Blue Bell, PA 19422

YOUR FAILURE TO SUBMIT YOUR CLAIM BY

DECEMBER 27, 1993 WILL SUBJECT YOUR CLAIM TO

REJECTION AND PRECLUDE YOU FROM RECEIVING

ANY MONEY IN CONNECTION WITH’ THE

SETTLEMENT OF THIS LITIGATION. DO NOT MAIL OR

DELIVER YOUR CLAIM TO THE COURT OR TO ANY OF

THE PARTIES OR THEIR COUNSEL, AS ANY SUCH

CLAIM WILL BE DEEMED NOT TO HAVE BEEN

SUBMITTED.

THIS WILL BE YOUR ONLY OPPORTUNITY TO SHARE

IN THE BENEFITS OF THE SETTLEMENT OF THIS

ACTION. HOWEVER, EVEN IF YOU DO NOT SUBMIT

THIS PROOF OF CLAIM, YOU WILL BE BOUND BY THE

COURT’S FINAL ORDER AND JUDGMENT IN THIS

MATTER AND WILL BE FOREVER BARRED FROM

PURSUING ANY ACTION AGAINST ANY OF THE

DEFENDANTS IN THIS ACTION, OR ANY RELEASED

PARTY, RELATING TO ANY RELEASED CLAIM UNLESS

YOU HAVE BEEN PROPERLY EXCLUDED FROM THE

CLASS.

65a

Appendix B

I. I did __, Idid not ___ (check one) purchase any publicly

traded securities of Southeast Banking Corp. (“Southeast”)

during the period from February 27, 1989 through and

including September 20, 1991.

II. By submitting this Proof of Claim, I state that I

believe in good faith that I am a Class Member as defined in

the Notice of Pendency of Class Action, Proposed Settlement,

Settlement Hearing, and Right to Appear (“Notice”), or am

acting for such person; that I have read and understood the

contents of the Notice; that I am not, and am not acting for any

of the Defendants herein or the former officers or directors of

Southeast Banking Corp. or their spouses, heirs, executors,

administrators, successors or assigns; that I have not filed a

Request for Exclusion, seeking to be excluded from the Class;

that I believe that I am entitled to receive a share of the Net

Settlement Fund; and that I elect to participate In the proposed

Settlement described in the Notice.

III. I have set forth where requested all relevant

information with respect to each purchase, of Southeast’s

publicly traded securities during the Class Period; and each

sale, if any, of such securities.

IV. I have enclosed photocoples or facsimiles of the

stockbrokers confirmation slips or other documents

evidencing each acquisition and sale listed below in support

of my claimed loss. (VOTE: IF ANY SUCH DOCUMENTS

ARE NOT IN YOUR POSSESSION, PLEASE OBTAIN A

COPY, FACSIMILE OR EQUIVALENT DOCUMENTS

FROM YOUR BROKER BECAUSE THESE DOCUMENTS

ARE NECESSARY TO PROVE AND PROCESS YOUR

CLAIM.)

66a

Appendix B

V. I agree and understand that if the proposed Settlement

is approved by the Court and becomes effective, all claims,

demands, or causes of action against any or all Defendants and

certain other persons which have been or could have been

asserted relating to the subject matter of the litigation will be

satisfied, discharged and extinguished forever in accordance

with the Release provided on behalf of Class Members in the

Stipulation of Settlement and by the terms of the Final Order

andJudgment.

VI. My signature hereto constitutes a full and complete

release, remise and discharge by me or, if I am submitting this

Proof of Claim on behalf of a corporation, partnership, estate

or one or more persons, by it, him, her or them, and by my, its,

his, her or their heirs, executors, administrators, successors,

affiliates and assigns, of all Defendnats, former officers,

directors, employees, agents, attorneys, auditors, accountants,

representatives, advisors, insurers, reinsurers, actuaries,

underwriters, commercial or investment bankers, consultants,

investors, affiliates, independent contractors and associates of

Southeast Banking Corp. and its subsidiaries, affiliates,

divisions and predecessors or successor corporations, and

their respective spouses, heirs, executors, administrators,

successors, affiliates and assigns, and each of them (the

“Released Parties as defined in paragraph A.1.x of the

Stipulation of Settlement), from all Released Claims as

defined in paragraph A.1.w of the Stipulation of Settlement.

The Released Claims are: (1) any and all claims, actions or

causes of action, rights or liabilities, including Unknown

Claims, which have existed, exist, or may in the future exist

against any Released Party by reason of any matter, cause or

thing whatsoever, arising out of, or relating to the offer,

purchase, acquisition, sale, transfer, retention or exchange of

67a

Appendix B

Southeast Securities, by a Class Member; and (ii) any and al]

claims, actions, causes of action, rights or liabilties, including

Unknown Claims, which a Class Member had, has, or may in

the future have that are or could have been alleged in the

Litigation arising out of, or relating to any acts, omissions, or

failures to act of any of the Released Parties, individually or in

their capacities as officers, directors, shareholders,

employees, agents, consultants, attorneys, auditors,

accountants, representatives, insurers, reinsurers, actuaries,

underwriters, commercial or investment bankers, investors,

affiliates, independent contractors, associates, and/or

advisors of Southeast. This release, however, is conditioned

upon the Court’s approval of the Settlement and upon the

Settlement becoming effective.

68a

Appendix B

VII. STATEMENT OF CLAIM

Name(s) of

Beneficial Owner(s)

Street No.

and Street:

City: State:__ Zip Code:___-

Country: Telephone Number:___-

TaxpayerI.D.No.: -__ OR Social Security Number:__-__-__

_Individual _Corporation _Estate _Other (specify)

Area Telephone No.(work) Area Telephone No. (home)

Record Owner’s Name (if different from Beneficial Owner

listed above)

A. Claimant(s) made the follwing purchases of

Southeast’s publicly traded securities during the Class Period.

All references to purchase dates relate to trade dates, not

settlement dates. (If you have acquired any Southeast common

stock that had been purchased during the Class Period by gift,

inheritance, or operation law, you are to report this transaction

as if you acquired the stock at the same time asnd at the same

cost as the person who purchased such security):

Appendix B

Purchase

Price

Date(s) of Per Share/ Aggregate

Purchase (List Debenture Cost

Chrono- (excluding excluding

Type logically) Number commission, commission,

of Month/Day/ of Shares/ taxes and taxes and

Security Year Debentures fees) fees)

- - ae $

* * &

(indicate with an asterisk ( *) any transaction held in the name

of the record owners(s) listed above.)

B. Of the shares listed in Section VII.A above,

Claimant(s) sold the follwing Southeast publicly traded

securities during the Class Period. (All references to sale dates

relate to trade dates, not settlement dates ):

Selling Amount

Price Realized

Date(s) of Per Share/ (aggregate

Sale (List Debenture proceeds

Chrono- Number (excluding excluding

Type logically) of Shares/ commission, commission,

of Month/Day/ Debentures taxes and taxes and

Security Year Sold fees) fees)

are Me $

70a

Appendix B

VIII. SUBSTITUTE FORM W-9

Request for Taxpayer Identification Number. Enter

taxpayer identification number below for the Beneficial

Owner(s). For most individuals, this your Social Security

number. The Internal Revenue Service requires such taxpayer

identification number. If you fail to furnish the correct

taxpayer identification, 31% of the interest portion of your

distributive share of the Settlement Funds will b

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.