Opposition Brief — Bryan v. BellSouth Telecommunications, Inc.

Supreme Court brief2005

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.S

“et omg

No. 04-705 JAN 26 2005 |

1, | OFFICE OF THE CLERK |

IN THE i ai aeeaits

|

i

|

Supreme Court of the United States

TOMI WHITE BRYAN,

Petitioner,

V.

BELLSOUTH TELECOMMUNICATIONS, INC.,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States

Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit

BRIEF OF RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION

ASHLEY B. WATSON JAMES H. KELLY, JR.

BELLSOUTH CORPORATION ADAM H. CHARNES

1155 Peachtree Street, N.E. Counsel of Record

Suite 1700 RICHARD S. GOTTLIEB

Atlanta, GA 30309 JAMES J. HEFFERAN, JR.

(404) 249-2720 KILPATRICK STOCKTON LLP

1001 West Fourth Street

Winston-Salem, NC 27101

(336) 607-7300

Counsel for Respondent BellSouth Telecommunications, Inc.

se SCRE A ARAN SI IRE EITM ANMELDEN OS OTL IES I BR NOLIE, EET IE ST LLL LT ARETE NET LATE EL ALOE,

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

|. _Whether—consistent with the decision of every other

circuit to address the question—the Fourth Circuit correctly

determined that it had appellate jurisdiction to review the

district court’s order, pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1367(c)(3),

declining to exercise supplemental jurisdiction over a state-

law claim after it dismissed federal claims.

pa Whether the district court had federal-question

jurisdiction because petitioner’s state-law claim for unfair and

deceptive trade practices, which challenged BellSouth’s

assessment of a charge set forth in its federal tariff.

necessarily would require resolution of a substantial question

of federal law.

3. Whether petitioner’s state-law claim for unfair and

deceptive trade practices, which seeks a refund of amounts

paid pursuant to a charge set forth in BellSouth’s federal

tariff, is barred by the filed-rate doctrine.

(1)

:

RULE 29.6 STATEMENT

The parent corporation of BellSouth Telecommunications,

Inc., 1s BellSouth Corporation, which 1s publicly held.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED...........:::sceeesseseesseseseeeeseeeenenees i

RULE 29.6 STATEMENT. ...................scssccssescessssssesessossees il

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .....................cccccccssesssssseeeseees Vv

RE TY osississinsdnnsessncsnsrssnnccsanensernvsessesasansanansenen l

STATEMENT OF THE CASE................csccccsseeeeeeseeeeseesees l

A. Regulatory Background ...........:.:::csceeeseereeeees l

B. BellSouth’s FCC Tariff Discloses its

FUSC Methodology and Terminology............ 3

C. District Court Proceedings..................scssseeeeeee 3

D. The Fourth Circuit’s Decision...............:0+ 5

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION................. 7

I. CONSISTENT WITH THE DECISIONS OF

THE OTHER CIRCUITS, THE FOURTH

CIRCUIT HAD JURISDICTION OVER

Pe ie eksacicessersnnessisernsssnacesssamnacinsannssasnncsssnons 8

Il. REVIEW OF THE FOURTH CIRCUIT'S

HOLDING THAT THE DISTRICT COURT

HAD SUBJECT-MATTER JURISDICTION

IS NOT WARRANTED ...................ccccsssssseeseeceseoes 11

A. Because The Fourth Circuit Did Not

Base Its Decision On Complete

Preemption, Petitioner’s —_ Purported

Circuit Split Is Illusory .............:.:eeseeeeeeeeees 12

(im)

IV

Table of Contents—continued

Page

B. The Fourth Circuit Correctly Found

Jurisdiction Because The Complaint

Required Determination Of A

Substantial Federal Question........0.0..0000000 13

lil. THERE IS NO CONFLICT AMONG THE

CIRCUITS OR OTHER GROUNDS

WARRANTING REVIEW OF — THE

FOURTH CIRCUIT’S DETERMINATION

THAT PETITIONER’S = CLAIM iS

BARRED BY THE FILED-RATE

aL IY Sialic ttice ee aaa Leeta nena nae 18

A. The Fourth Circuit’s Decision Is

Consistent With Central Office «0.000.000.0000 18

B. The Fourth Circuit’s Decision Does

Not Conflict With Other Court Of

POI TCI sicsicca beiciscciceceticnstsorincnainncs 21

C. Petitioner’s Claim Is Barred By The

PE TRG TOUS aici ovcistrrecenicoicudsecacnascdease 24

Eee iat cts svntecte seas ateieeiaceceenaneane ce 26

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page

AT&T Co. v. Central Office Telephone, Inc.,

$34 U.S. 2E6 (BFF inc iccccerteeroticnccasmiasnn passim

Bell v. Hood, 327 U.S. 678 (1946).........:ssccssccesseeeeseerens 10

Beneficial Nat'l Bank v. Anderson, 539 U.S.

E (QBS) anc cncsnissicsnissardsnsennnonicnnntetenais pienennanteoie 12, 13, 14

Boomer v. AT&T Corp., 309 F.3d 404 (7th

Cit, 2OGZ)...cncrcrscncccnesscaredarcasqiiicctaneangnesantbatennansnacinne’ 23

Brown v. Lucky Stores, Inc., 246 F.3d 1182

(Sth Cir. ZOOL) ........ssscceesssrscsssecercesncsnaasecencasenssssssasees 9

C.A.R. Transp. Brokerage Co. v. Darden

Rests., Inc., 213 F.3d 474 (9th Cir. 2000).............06+ 15

Cahnmann v. Sprint Corp., 133 F.3d 484 (7th

Cir.), cert. denied, 524 U.S. 952 (1998) ...........+ 15, 24

Caterpillar, Inc. v. Williams, 482 U.S. 386

(ROBT) oo cincinesccsacecsesnasnsinsneneistaasmcecaiansinnshalaninenncnain 12

Del. & Hudson Ry. Co. v. Offset Paperback

Mfrs., Inc., 126 F.3d 426 (2d Cir. 1997).......ccceeeee 15

Evanns v. AT&T Corp., 229 F.3d 837 (9th

Cir. 2900), cert. denied, 533 U.S. 911

CQO). accicncescniinsnssinasssexasanquinncsiuenactacseneieencenais 22, 23, 24

Fax Telecommunicaciones Inc. v. AT&T, 138

F.3d 479 (2d Cit. 19GB) 2......cnccssanccese 12, 13, 22, 23, 24

Franchise Tax Bd. v. Constr. Laborers

Vacation Trust, 463 U.S. 1 (1983).........6+ 5, 13, 14, 17

Freeman v. Burlington Broadcasters, Inc.,

204 F.3d 311 (2d Cir. 2000) ..............cccccesereeceseees 3, 20

Gaming Corp. of Am. v. Dorsey & Whitney,

SS F.3d 536 (th Civ, 1GGG) .....cscrcserccccrscrssines cacanaaiae 9

Grable & Sons Metal Prods., Inc. v. Darue

Eng’g & Mfg., 377 F.3d 592 (6th Cir.

2004), cert. granted, NO. 04-603 ........ceseseseseeseeeees 14

Grable & Sons Metal Prods., Inc. v. Darue

Engg & Mfg., NO. 04-603......cccceeeeeseeseeeeseteesenensenes 14

vl

Table of Authonities—continued

Page

Grupo Dataflux v. Atlas Global Group, L.P.,

1246'S. Ch. EGR Ce i cosnscasccerccscisecctimnaeiaaiaens 10

Hill v. Bellsouth Telecomms., Inc., 364 F.3d

1306 (i 1 CO, BRO coterie 9, 15, 17, 23

ICOM Holding, Inc. v. MCI Worldcom, Inc..,

236 F.36 ZED (OE GU, SOG Socancnta eee 20, 26

In re Long Distance Telecomms. Litig., 831

F 2k G27 (GG Ct: SSI B ccsxinicsssecctacsceamenananceaee 13, 21

In re U.S. Healthcare, Inc., 193 F.3d 151 (3d

Cir. 1999), cert. denied, 530 U.S. 1242

(BOD) issassicescevineessamnieuqetatneeanaien nee 9

In re Wireless Tel. Radio Frequency

Emissions Prods. Liab. Litig., 327 F. Supp.

2G S54 GD. MG: FO oscssccicentien 14

Kansas City S. Ry. Co. v. Carl, 227 U.S. 639

CED ES )...csconsonecanacsaciiedbsanassatastenmueeenanseaaeeeee 22

Keogh v. Chicago & Northwestern R. Co.,

BOO US. UG CET cicicosscstesncosmccatnennermanneties 15

Louisville & Nashville R. Co. v. Maxwell,

£3? US: POG eiice nee 19, 25

Louisville & Nashville R. Co. v. Rice, 247

US. TR CEB r a iianisicinsioniarseonanadnaeneas 14, 15

Mansfield, C. & L.M. Ry. Co. v. Swan, 111

CLS. S79 (1B... <cckidomearsnaneanaaae 9

Marco Supply Co. v. AT&T Communications,

Inc, STS F 2G 454 CG CW, TDG) vcs cecigestsnsesensasersarans 24

Marcus v. AT&T Corp., 138 F.3d 46 (2d Cir.

UDI P . <sxvassinyespussisineavadeseaeniadeauaaenadeiiadeoneaeaeaaaiade 15, 24

MCI Telecomms. Corp. v. Garden State Inv.

Corp., 981 F.2d 385 (8th Cir. 1992) ................. 15, 16

MCI Telecomms. Corp. v. Graham, 7 F.3d

S77 (6 OW. FOE vccccssicncieinbdntaicaamenns 15

MCI Telecomms. Corp. v. Teleconcepts, Inc.,

71 F.3d 1086 (3d Cir. 1995), cert. denied,

SEF UB. GES Cnc nvcineapiaeeamennneas 15

Pe ee ne ee “

ee ee ee ee ee ee

vu

Table of Authorities—continued

Page

MCI WorldCom, Inc. v. FCC, 209 F.3d 760

ER Gs ihc hesideccscrconabebicinrsak sane skannanesiusesuansconeninaneines 4

Metheny v. Becker, 352 F.3d 458 (Ist Cir.

i savacincicbioncnasbaanamipcceiandescnisiieatnibmsassuselbanacaapinkat 14

Miller Aviation v. Milwaukee County Bd. of

Supervisors, 273 F.3d 722 (7th Cir. 2001) ............. 9

Nethersole v. Bulger, 287 F.3d 15 (ist Cir.

PM uctntesissrisdlasniaiccd bith hembinmundiidiclaicumasadasticaioblnabledeas 9

New Rock Asset Partners v. Preferred Entity

Advancements, Inc., 101 F.3d 1492 (3d

Oe, Ba vinetiecsticcincssecinsetaminneeaembunienasaninnatiiiinntaca 11

Noble v. White, 996 F.2d 797 (Sth Cir. 1993) ............00 9

Orloff v. FCC, 352 F.3d 415 (D.C. Cr.

2003), cert. denied, 124 S. Ct. 290 (2004) ............... 22

Pacificare of Okla., Inc. v. Burrage, 59 F.3d

BR CRE, FI cittecrerstenicsnsercsntcenicntnapnsenion 9

Quackenbush v. Allstate Ins. Co., 517 U.S.

Pe srctitcnintcnsasenipcdsvncicmsnniseneaianenanes 7,9, 10, 11

Roche v. John Hancock Mut. Life Ins. Co., 81

Fe Ce Gr Canis dctetaeisonstiepancentesctnancaton 11

Russell v. Sprint Corp., 264 F. Supp. 2d 955

ER, A, BD istincoacarctsnencatsidntandicersanmientannasbiecanssnioanss 13

Seinfeld v. Austen, 39 F.3d 761 (7th Cir.

1994), cert. denied, 514 U.S. 1126 (1995) ............. 14

State ex rel. Nixon v. Nextel West Corp., 248

F. Supp. 24 865 (E.D. Mo. 2003) ......:..<acenncorsrereensenee 22

Taffett v. Southern Co., 967 F.2d 1483 (11th

Cir.), cert denied, 506 U.S. 1021 (1992)... ee. 17

Telecom Int'l Am. Ltd. v. AT&T Corp., 280

Oe i, BEE i cterceeneaep cieescaieenncss 20

Thermtron Prods., Inc. v. Hermansdorfer,

er Se CO icacsacascccentehciessupmooactanantnaplinsnntiges 10

Things Remembered, Inc. v. Petrarca, 516

Te Oe IN cscs daseecssscascasipetenesip cnenadneininarentaeiecmmeniaces 9

Thurston Motor Lines, Inc. v. Jordan K.

Rand, Ltd., 460 U.S. 533 (1983) .........eeeseeeeeees 14,15

Vill

Table of Authonties—continued

Page

United Int'l Holdings, Inc. v. The Wharf

(Holdings) Ltd., 210 F.3d 1207 (10th Cir.

2000), aff'd on other grounds, 532 U.S.

Re crac titanssteactacseiiiasrenaceicianmemamacenitciieces 11

United Mine Workers of Am. v. Gibbs, 383

Oe Fee er caieh deasdeniiercentaaiebiacutpiaismmtasmedeccisseus 10

W. Union Int'l, Inc. vy. Data Dev., Inc., 41

Fe BAe CR ERs FO de nectsaricinnsdsecasinssorsesaradiarss 15

Weeks v. Portage County Exec. Offices, 235

Fe Ee RE: BN ss cerstacincnciasscadsiacivasainiestaxgisansion 9

Wegoland Ltd. v. NYNEX Corp., 27 F.3d 17

Se Bi siainiéientencanie sna tcmieeneediersniolasardes 17

STATUTES, REGULATIONS, AND ADMINISTRATIVE

ORDERS

OF a Dat act ash arksdcataasancntapsanninnaaensnacaniian 22

Ae ee eS fididlctace neces ecsabaae 2

ee es Ne Sica einedcetaaaincens 2

Fa ns i ciloa dite toccadicsid Paaks lobulsesatanesaumeatsdameion 4

ac I IS Fs B chcadpeseasasiien nian ancsonannsanacoansancn 4

pCR Sea @ 1 1 | Nene re ren 3, 10

yo Gin 7 tae eX 7. | | Sennen ITER Salada ideale 10

ee RE iiaiccttetentetisabuatie aie cetecaares 5,9

ee Rs BOD en cciectinleceiinaceacan passim

emis PE iakter adases akencasreinnsciaoaneaeied 3

a ee. te NE ais dtocie ctuan teat eecaeueee passim

Se A We PPI is Sensvansnicccpiernannionaiangs 9,10, 11

OE eas ee We I ashes cancer esd aden l

Es i reran ts ediactan etna lagcmaadbnedis 25

ko Le P| ReRE ae Io enn eon TO Ror OM MeorE 19

AE es IE siiccddelousicea niacin s cacnrereaee l

Oe li ers Oe ances asasess eadesdetataeenciamuionneccantng 14, 25

nF BP BF ks buclandidonanmenaaen. 14, 25

Fe es aba caciscscs sta nae acadesetda todd alae ed shana l

OF SE es Oecd abana hanoaes 24

IX

Table of Authonties—continued

In re Federal-State Joint Bd. on Universal

Serv., Report & Order & Second Notice of

Proposed Rulemaking, 17 F.C.C.R. 24952

Page

SE Fee eee AE A 5.

In re Federal-State Joint Bd. on Universal

Serv., Report & Order, 12 F.C.C.R. 8776

(May 8, 1997)

In re Policy and Rules Concerning the

Interstate, Interexchange Marketplace, 14

F.C.C.R. 6004 (Mar. 31, 1999)

In re Truth-in-Billing and Billing Format,

First Report & Order & Further Notice of

Proposed Rulemaking, 14 F.C.C.R. 7492

(May 11, 1999) vooecccccccccssecsseccssecssee ee ee

eee ee eee eee eee eee eee

INTRODUCTION

None of the three questions presented in the petition

warrant review by this Court. Petitioner asserts that the

Fourth Circuit erred in holding that it had appellate

jurisdiction to review the district court’s remand order, issued

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §1367(c)(3), but every other circuit to

address the question has adopted the Fourth Circuit’s

position. Petitioner claims that the decision below created a

circuit split with respect to the applicability of the complete

preemption doctrine to the Federal Communications Act, but

the Fourth Circuit expressly declined to rely on that doctrine,

instead finding federalquestion junsdiction on _ other

grounds—grounds not even challenged in_ the petition.

Finally, petitioner contends that the Fourth Circuit improperly

applied the filed-rate doctrine, but its decision is consistent

both with this Court’s precedents and with the decisions of

the other circuits. Accordingly, the petition should be denied.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Regulatory Background.

As a provider of interstate telecommunications services,

respondent BellSouth Telecommunications, Inc.

(“BellSouth”), is subject to federal regulation as a common

carrier under the Federal Communications Act (“FCA”), 47

U.S.C. § 151 et seg. With respect to the services at issue in

this case, the FCA requires BellSouth to file with the Federal

Communications Commission (“FCC”) publicly available

schedules, or “tariffs,” setting forth all of its charges and the

classifications, practices, and regulations affecting them. /d.

§ 203(a).

Moreover, the FCA mandates, among other things, that

carriers contribute to the preservation and advancement of

federal universal service support mechanisms, id. § 254,

through the required payment of a percentage of their

revenues to the federal Universal Service Fund (“USF”). See

2

In re Federal-State Joint Bd. on Universal Serv., Report &

Order, 12 F.C.C.R. 8776, 4] 842-44 (May 8, 1997). The

purpose of the USF is_ to subsidize the cost of

telecommunications _services_ to _ schools, healthcare

providers, libraries, and rural and low-income customers. See

47 C.F.R. § 54.706(c). The percentage of revenues that a

carrier must contribute to the USF is established by the FCC

and adjusted on a quarterly basis to ensure sufficient funding

of the USF. /d. § 54.709(a).

The FCC has authorized carriers to recover the costs of

their contributions to the USF from their customers through

the rates they charge for telecommunications services or as a

separate itemized charge. See Jn re Federal-State Joint Bd. on

Universal Serv., Report & Order & Second Notice of

Proposed Rulemaking, 17 F.C.C.R. 24952, 4] 42 (Dec. 13,

2002) (“Dec. 2002 Order”); Pet. App. 3a. BellSouth has

always recovered its costs related to its contributions to the

USF as a separate line-item placed on its customers’ monthly

phone bills and delineated as the “Federal Universal Service

Charge” (“FUSC”).' 4th Cir. J.A. at 159.

In an order released in December 2002, the FCC adopted

rules, to be effective on April 1, 2003, that prohibited carriers

from “marking up” their USF line items and charging

customers more than their pro rata assessment amount. Dec.

2002 Order, {| 51-52. Although BellSouth has never

“marked up” its charge to recover an amount in excess of its

contribution, prior to this date the practice of marking up USF

line items was permitted by the FCC and did not render such

charges unjust or unreasonable. Specifically, before the

' The FCC indicated that it does not “mandate a specific label for

federal universal service line items pursuant to our Truth-in-Billing rules,”

Dec. 2002 Order, {| 65, although it tentatively approved use of BellSouth’s

term. See Jn re Truth-in-Billing and Billing Format, First Report & Order

& Further Notice of Proposed Rulemaking, 14 F.C.C.R. 7492, 472 (May

11, 1999) (“Truth-in-Billing Order’).

TT

3

December 2002 Order, “[t]he Commission required only that

contributors not shift more than an equitable share of their

contributions to any customer or group of customers, and that

contributors provided accurate, truthful, and complete

information regarding the nature of the charge.” Jd. ¥ 10.

B. BellSouth’s FCC Tariff Discloses its F USC

Methodology and Terminology.

The amount of BellSouth’s FUSC, how the charge is

calculated, and how it appears on customers’ bills are detailed

in BellSouth’s federal tariff, duly filed with the FCC. 4th Cir.

J.A. at 159. BellSouth’s March 18, 2002 tanff, for instance,

contains a page headed, “CALCULATION OF 2nd

QUARTER 2002 BELLSOUTH UNIVERSAL SERVICE

FUND (USF) CONTRIBUTION.” /d at 165. The page

describes each step in calculating the amount that BellSouth

coatributes to the USF. /d The following page in the tariff is

titled, “CALCULATION OF 2nd QUARTER 2002

BELLSOUTH FEDERAL UNIVERSAL SERVICE

CHARGE.” /d. at 166. This page explains step-by-step how

BellSouth arrives at the FUSC it charges to its customers and

also provides BellSouth’s annualized contribution to the USF.

Id.

C. District Court Proceedings.

Petitioner Tomi White Bryan filed this putative class action

against BellSouth on February 22, 2002, in the General Court

of Justice, Superior Court Division, Guilford County, North

Carolina. Pet. App. 28a. Pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1331 and

§ 1441, BellSouth removed the case to the United States

District Court for the Middle District of North Carolina on the

ground that, despite their state-law labels, petitioner’s claims

arose under federal law because petitioner was in actuality

challenging the terms of BellSouth’s federal tariff Pet. App.

32a. BellSouth filed its answer on Apnil 2, 2002.

On June 4, 2002, petitioner filed her first amended

complaint (“complaint”). On behalf of a chss of persons and

4

entities that paid the FUSC,? she asserted purported state-law

causes of action for violation of the North Carolina Unfair

and Deceptive Trade Practices Act, N.C. Gen. Stat. § 75-1.1,

unjust enrichment/estitution, and breach of contract

(including the covenant of good faith and fair dealing) in

connection with the FUSC charges on her monthly phone bill.

Pet. App. 30a. Petitioner claimed that BeilSouth’s FUSC was

excessive because it exceeded BellSouth’s required

contributions to the USF. /d. at 4a, 33a-35a. Petitioner

further alleged that BellSouth did not disclose how it

calculated the FUSC, and that BellSouth misled its customers

into believing that the government mandated that BellSouth

collect the FUSC from its customers. /d. at 35a.

On June 10, 2002, petitioner filed a motion to remand

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1447(c). Pet. App. 29a. On July 3,

2002, BellSouth filed a motion to dismiss all claims in the

complaint on several grounds, including the fact that the

claims were barred by the filed-rate doctrine. /d. at 37a.

On February 6, 2003, the district court denied petitioner’s

motion to remand under 28 U.S.C. § 1447(c) and granted in

part BellSouth’s motion to dismiss. Pet. App. 40a-41a. The

court found removal proper because petitioner’s claim that the

FUSC was excessive presented a federal question by directly

challenging the terms of BellSouth’s filed tanff. Jd at 33a-

35a. The court then dismissed the claims it concluded arose

under federal law pursuant to the filed-rate doctrine. /d. at

* Specifically, the complaint defined the class as: “All persons or

entities in North Carolina who were billed for and paid a Federal

Universal Service Charge to BellSouth after detariffing went into effect.”

4th Cir. J.A. at 19. The FCC, however, has not detariffed the “access”

services at issue in this action, see 47 C.F.R. § 69.3, and at all relevant

times the FUSC has been included in BellSouth’s filed FCC tariff. See

supra, at 3. By contrast, the FCC has detariffed other services, including

(for example) long-distance services. See MCI WorldCom, Inc. v. FCC,

‘209 F.3d 760 (D.C. Cir. 2000).

5

37a-38a. The court, however, found that petitioner’s claim

for unfair and deceptive trade practices (count A of the

complaint) arose under state law. Jd. at 38a. The court

declined to exercise supplemental jurisdiction over the

remaining state-law claim and remanded that claim to state

court pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1367(c)(3)2 Id at 39a.

BellSouth appealed the district - court’s ruling to the Fourth

Circuit.

D. The Fourth Circuit’s Decision.

On July 28, 2004, a divided panel of the Fourth Circuit

vacated the district court’s decision. The court first rejected

petitioner’s argument that it had no jurisdiction to hear the

appeal, finding that the district court’s remand order under 28

U.S.C. § 1367(c) constituted an appealable final order. Pet.

App. 8a. Tuming to the merits of BellSouth’s appeal, the

court concluded that, read in the light most favorable to

petitioner, the complaint seeks a refund of a portion of the

FUSC petitioner has paid to BellSouth. Jd. at 14a. Because

the FUSC is set forth in the tariff BellSouth filed with the

FCC, which carries the force of federal law, the Fourth

Circuit held that an action to alter that rate necessarily

requires resolution of a ““substantial question of federal law”

and therefore presents a federal question. Jd. at 9a, 16a

(quoting Franchise Tax Bd. v. Constr. Laborers Vacation

Trust, 463 U.S. 1, 27-28 (1983)). Moreover, because granting

* The district court did not explicitly state which claims arose under

federal law, and therefore were subject to dismissal, and which claim

arose under state law. Rather, the court simply stated that petitioner’s

“remaining state law claims” should be remanded to state court. Pet. App.

39a. Before the Fourth Circuit, the parties agreed that the court’s order

had the effect of dismissing petitioner’s unjust enrichment/restitution and

breach of contract claims, while remanding the unfair and deceptive trade

practices claim. /d. at 6a n.4.

* Petitioner did not appeal the district court’s dismissal of her claims for

unjust enrichment/restitution and breach of contract. Pet. App. 6a n.4.

6

petitioner relief on her claim would require the court to order

a refund of a portion of the tanffed rate and to determine a

reasonable rate for the FUSC different from that set forth in

the tarnff, the court concluded that the claim should be

dismissed pursuant to the filed-rate doctrine. /d at 16a.

Accordingly, the Fourth Circuit “‘vacate[d] the district court’s

Order with respect to Count A and remand{ed] for that count

to be dismissed.”® Jd.

In dissent, Judge Luttig agreed with the majority that

“clams requiring the court to second-guess the

reasonableness” of the rate set forth in the tanff “are properly

said to require the court to resolve a substantial federal

question,” permitting exercise of federalquestion jurisdiction.

Id. at 23a. Judge Luttig, however, asserted that petitioner’s

damages could be measured without implicating — the

reasonableness of the tariffed rate. Jd. at 24a. The dissent

thought that petitioner’s complaint could plausibly be read to

assert a theory of recovery not implicating the filed tanff by

measuring damages as the difference between BellSouth’s

FUSC and the FUSC for the carrer petitioner would have

chosen but for BellSouth’s alleged misrepresentations. /d. at

25a. Therefore, according to the dissent, the claim did not

necessarily depend on a substantia! saan of federal law

and was properly remanded.

On August 24, 2004, the Fourth Circuit denied petitioner’s

motion for rehearing and rehearing en banc, with no recorded

dissent. Jd. at 42a.

> Because the Fourth Circuit ordered petitioner’s state-law claim

dismissed on the basis that it challenged BellSouth's filed tariff, it did not

address BellSouth’s alternative arguments that (1) her non-disclosure

allegations were barred by the filed-rate doctrine for the additional reason

that, under that doctrine, she is presumed to know the contents of the

tariff, and (2) the FCC had primary jurisdiction over the allegations in the

complaint. Pet. App. 16a n.11.

petition. First, she asserts that the Fourth Circuit incorrectly

determined it had appellate jurisdiction to review a remand

order entered pursuant to the supplemental Jurisdiction

Statute, 28 U.S.C. § 1367(c)(3). However, petitioner does not

(and cannot) claim there is a cirmuit split on this question.

Indeed, those circuits which have addressed the issue all agree

with the Fourth Circuit's conclusion that a court of appeals

may review such an order. Moreover, petitioner’s argument

that 28 U.S.C. §1447(c) applies and bars appellate review is

inconsistent with this Court’s decision in Quackenbush v.

Allstate Ins. Co., 517 U.S. 706 (1996).

Second, petitioner asserts that this Court should review the

“important question{]” of “[t]he scope of federal question

jurisdiction based on a preemption defense.” Pet. 7.

Specifically, petitioner contends that the Fourth Circuit's

ruling is in conflict with the decisions of other circuits, which

reject application of the complete preemption doctrine in the

telecommunications context. However, the Fourth Circuit did

not base its conclusion that the district court had subject-

matter jurisdiction on complete preemption, but instead on the

existence of a substantial question of federal law. The court’s

ruling is consistent with the decisions of this Court and the

other circuits. At most, therefore, petitioner seeks review of

the Fourth Circuit’s fact-bound decision that resolution of

petitioner’s complaint would in fact require determination of

a substantial federal claim. That question, involving

consideration of this petitioner’s particular complaint, plainly

does not warrant this Court’s review. The Fourth Circuit,

moreover, correctly found that the complaint necessarily

raises an important federal question.

Third, petitioner asserts that the Fourth Circuit improperly

expanded the filed-rate doctrine. Petitioner, however,

8

fundamentally misconstrues this Court’s opinion in AT&T Co.

v. Central Office Telephone, Inc., 524 U.S. 214 (1998), on

which she bases her argument. Both Central Office and cases

from other circuits are fully consistent with the Fourth

Circuit’s conclusion that petitioner’s claim is barred by the

filed-rate doctrine.

For these reasons, as explained more fully below, the

petition should be denied.

I. CONSISTENT WITH THE DECISIONS OF THE

OTHER CIRCUITS, THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

HAD JURISDICTION OVER THE APPEAL.

Petitioner first seeks review of the Fourth Circuit’s holding

that it had appellate jurisdiction. Pet. 9-10. As explained

above, the district court’s decision to remand to state court

petitioner’s state-law claim was based on the supplemental

jurisdiction statute, 28 U.S.C. § 1367(c)(3), not 28 U.S.C.

§ 1447(c).© Petitioner presents no reason justifying this

Court’s review of the Fourth Circuit’s jurisdictional holding.

Nor does she demonstrate that the Fourth Circuit’s decision

was erroneous.

Petitioner does not claim that there is a circuit split on the

question whether a court of appeals has jurisdiction to review

a remand order entered pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1367(c)(3).

Indeed, the Fourth Circuit’s decision below is consistent with

that of every other circuit that has addressed this question.

Four other circuits have expressly held that a district court’s

order, pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1367(c)(3), remanding state

© Section 1367(c)(3) provides the district court with discretion to

decline to exercise supplemental jurisdiction over state-law claims after it

dismisses all federal claims. That provision governs actions removed to

federal court from state court as well as actions initially filed in federal

court. Section 1447(c), which applies only to removed cases, directs that

“{i]f at any time before final judgment it appears that the district court

lacks subject matter jurisdiction, the case shall be remanded.”

iii

9

law claims after dismissal of all federal claims is reviewable

on appeal. See Hill v. Bellsouth Telecomms., Inc., 364 F.3d

1308, 1314 (11th Cir. 2004); In re U.S. Healthcare, Ine., 193

F.3d,151, 159 (3d Cir. 1999), cert. denied, 530 U.S. 1242

(2000): Gaming Corp. of Am. v. Dorsey & Whitney, 88 F.3d

536, 542 (8th Cir. 1996); Pacificare of Okla., Inc. v. Burrage,

59 F.3d 151, 152-53 (10th Cir. 1995). Five additional

circuits, while not expressly addressing the jurisdictional

question, have heard appeals of remand orders without

commenting on their own jurisdiction and thus implicitly held

that a district court’s remand pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1367(c)

is reviewable.’ See Nethersole v. Bulger, 287 F.3d 15, 17 (1st

Cir. 2002); Miller Aviation v. Milwaukee County Bd. of

Supervisors, 273 F.3d 722, 727-28 (7th Cir. 2001); Brown v.

Lucky Stores, Inc., 246 F.3d 1182, 1187 (9th Cir. 2001);

Weeks v. Portage County Exec. Offices, 235 F.3d 275, 279-80

) (6th Cir. 2000); Noble v. White, 996 F.2d 797, 800 (Sth Cir.

1993). Given the overwhelming uniformity in the circuits,

review by this Court plainly is not warranted.

Moreover, the Fourth Circuit’s holding is perfectly

consistent with this Court’s precedents. Petitioner claims that

28 U.S.C. § 1447(d) barred appellate review in these

circumstances.” Pet. 9-10. But as this Court explained in

Quackenbush, ““only remands based on grounds specified in

§ 1447(c) are immune from review under § 1447(d).’” 517

U.S. at 712 (quoting Things Remembered. Inc. v. Petrarca,

516 U.S. 124, 127 (1995), and Thermtron Prods., Inc. v.

’ The federal courts of appeals are under an obligation to ensure that

they have subject matter jurisdiction over an appeal and to raise their lack

of jurisdiction sua sponte, if necessary. See Things Remembered, Inc. v.

Petrarca, 516 US. 124, 131 nl (1995) (Ginsburg, J., concurring);

Mansfield, C. & L.M. Ry. Co. v. Swan, 111 US. 379, 384 (1884).

* Section 1447(d) provides: “An order remanding a case to the State

court from which it was removed is not reviewable on appeal or

otherwise. ...”

10

Hermansdorfer, 423 U.S. 336, 345-46 (1976)). The district

court below did not remand count A to state court based on

§ 1447(c), but based on § 1367(c)(3). Pet. App. 8a. For this

reason, Quackenbush establishes that the bar on appellate

review in § 1447(d) does not apply.

Petitioner’s confused effort to demonstrate that the district

court’s dismissal was in fact based on § 1447(c) should be

rejected. Section 1447(c) requires a remand whenever “‘it

appears that the district court lacks subject matter

jurisdiction.” Petitioner seems to suggest that, after dismissal

of her federal claim, the district court below lacked subject

matter jurisdiction over her remaining state claim. Petitioner

is wrong. The district court’s subject matter jurisdiction, of

course, was determined at the time the complaint was filed.

See, e.g., Grupo Dataflux v. Atlas Global Group, L.P., 124 S.

Ct. 1920, 1924 (2004). The district court held, in a

determination petitioner has not challenged on appeal, that

two of her claims arose under federal law. Pet. App. 33a-35a.

That court, therefore, had federalquestion jurisdiction over

petitioner’s federal claims and supplemental jurisdiction over

her state-law claim. See 28 U.S.C. §§ 1331, 1367(a); United

Mine Workers of Am. v. Gibbs, 383 U.S. 715, 725 (1966).

Contrary to petitioner’s implication, the district court did not

lose subject matter jurisdiction over the state-law claim upon

dismissal of the federal claims. As the courts of appeals

uniformly have held, a district court retains Ariicle Ill

junsdicton over nondiverse, supplemental state-law claims

* To be sure, “[t]he federal claim must have substance sufficient to

confer subject matter jurisdiction on the court.” Gibbs, 383 U.S. at 725.

Although petitioner's federal claims ultimately were dismissed, neither

petitioner nor either court below has suggested that they were so

insubstantial that they could not support the district court’s federal

question jurisdiction. See Bell v. Hood, 327 U.S. 678, 682-83 (1946)

(“[A] suit may sometimes be dismissed for want of jurisdiction where the

alleged claim . . . is wholly insubstantial and frivolous.”).

11

even after federalquestion claims are dismissed. See, e.g.,

United Int'l Holdings, Inc. v. The Wharf (Holdings) Ltd., 210

F.3d 1207, 1220 (10th Cir. 2000), aff'd on other grounds, 532

U.S. 588 (2001); Roche v. John Hancock Mut. Life Ins. Co.,

81 F.3d 249, 256-57 (1st Cir. 1996); New Rock Asset Partners

v. Preferred Entity Advancements, Inc., 101 F.3d 1492, 1505

(3d Cir. 1996).

Finally, petitioner claims (Pet. 10) that the “Congressional

intent and policy reasons” underlying the bar on appellate

review of remand orders in § 1447(d) apply as well to

appellate review of remand orders pursuant to § 1367(c)(3).

That argument, however, is directly contrary to Quackenbush,

which held that Congress specifically limited § 1447(d) to

remands pursuant to § 1447(c), and did not intend to subject

any other remand orders to § 1447(d). See 517 USS. at 711-

12.

ll. REVIEW OF THE FOURTH’ CIRCUIT’S

HOLDING THAT THE DISTRICT COURT HAD

SUBJECT-MATTER JURISDICTION IS NOT

WARRANTED.

Petitioner asserts that the Fourth Circuit permitted

BellSouth to remove the complaint “based on an ordinary

preemption defense,” and its decision therefore conflicts with

court of appeals cases rejecting application of the complete

preemption doctrine to claims related to the FCA. Pet. 8, 10-

15. Contrary to petitioner’s surprising argument, the Fourth

Circuit expressly disclaimed reliance on _ the complete

preemption doctrine, and found the existence of federal-

question jurisdiction because petitioner’s claim required

resolution of a substantial federal question. Thus, the Fourth

Circuit's decision is wholly consistent with applicable

precedent. At most, therefore, petitioner merely quarrels with

the Fourth Circuit’s reading of the complaint.

12

A. Because The Fourth Circuit Did Not Base Its

Decision On Complete Preemption, Petitioner’s

Purported Circuit Split Is Illusory.

Petitioner asserts that certiorari should be granted because

the Fourth Circuit’s opinion conflicts with the decisions of

other circuits finding that there is no _ federalquestion

jurisdiction based on complete preemption of deception

claims regarding the billing practices cf telecommunications

providers. Pet. 8, 10-15.. Complete preemption exists where

the preemptive force of a statute is so powerful that even if a

claim is pleaded solely in terms of state law, it in reality will

be deemed based in federal law and subject to federal

jurisdiction. See, e.g., Beneficial Nat'l Bank v. Anderson, 539

U.S. 1, 68 (2003); Fax Telecommunicaciones Inc. v. AT&T,

138 F.3d 479, 486 (2d Cir. 1998). BellSouth does not dispute

petitioner’s assertion that ““a case may not be removed to

federal court on the basis of a federal defense, including the

defense of pre-emption, even if the defense is anticipated in

the plaintiffs complaint ....”’ Pet. 11 (quoting Caterpillar,

Inc. v. Williams, 482 U.S. 386, 393 (1987) (emphasis in

original)). Likewise, BellSouth has no quarrel with

petitioner’s contention that “[t]he majority of courts that have

addressed preemption in the wire-line context have held that

Congress did not intend the FCA to completely preempt state

law claims so as to make them removable.” /d. at 12.

Petitioner’s entire discussion is beside the point, however,

because the Fourth Circuit did not base its decision on the

complete preemption doctrine. Indeed, the court explained

that “[bJecause . . . Bryan’s cause of action presents a

substantial question of federal law, we need not determine

whether the doctrine of complete preemption applies.”’° Pet.

'° See also Pet. App. 18a (Luttig, J., dissenting) (“Because the majority

finds jurisdiction [based on a substantial question of federal law], it does

not address the question of whether complete preemption is present.”).

13

App. 10a n.S5 (emphasis added); see also id at 10a n6.

Petitioner therefore simply errs in asserting that “{t]he Court

of Appeals found federal question jurisdiction based on a

preemption defense.” Pet. 10. Thus, the conflict among the

circuits claimed by petitioner (Pet. 7, 12) is wholly illusory.

The cases on which she relies merely hold that federal

jurisdiction over claims of deception conceming a telephone

company’s billing practices cannot be based on complete

preemption. See Freeman v. Burlington Broadcasters, Inc.,

204 F.3d 311, 317 (2d Cir. 2000); Fax T. elecommunicaciones,

138 F.3d at 486; Russell v. Sprint Corp., 264 F. Supp. 2d 955,

960 n.1 (D. Kan. 2003).'' None of these cases addressed the

actual basis on which the Fourth Circuit found federal-

question jurisdiction.

B. The Fourth Circuit Correctly Found Jurisdiction

Because The Complaint Required Determination

Of A Substantial Federal Question.

I. As this Court has held, quite apart from complete

preemption, federal subject-matter jurisdiction exists when “a

well-pleaded complaint establishes . . . that the plaintiff's

nght to relief necessarily depends on resolution of a

substantial question of federal law.”'* Franchise Tax Bd. v.

'' In re Long Distance Telecomms. Litig., 831 F.2d 627, 633 (6th Cir.

1987), on which petitioner also relies (Pet. 7, 12), involved ordinary

preemption, and did not discuss complete preemption or any other

jurisdictional doctrine.

” Citing Beneficial National Bank v. Anderson, supra, petitioner asserts

that the “viability” of this basis for federal jurisdiction “is tenuous at

best.” Pet. 12. Anderson provides no basis for questioning the

longstanding principle that there is federal-question jurisdiction when a

State-law claim necessarily “depends on resolution of a substantial

question of federal law.” Franchise Tax Bd., 463 U.S. at 28. Anderson

involved the complete preemption doctrine and did not discuss the

alternative basis for federal jurisdiction found by the Fourth Circuit below.

Nor has petitioner cited any authority for her Suggestion that Anderson

14

Constr. Laborers Vacation Trust, 463 U.S. 1, 27-28 (1983).

The Fourth Circuit plainly based its finding of federal

question jurisdiction on this principle. Pet. App. 12a (“In

sum, we must determine whether Count A of the Complaint

would require the court to determine a reasonable rate for the

FUSC, thereby presenting a substantial question of federai

law ...”). Petitioner has Suggested no reason why this issue ~

is worthy of this Court’s review. °

Indeed, the Fourth Circuit’s holding is consistent with

decisions of other courts of appeals. The circuits uniformly

recognize that tariffs filed pursuant io federal statutes carry

the force of federal law and are not mere contracts. See, e.g.,

undermined this alternative basis for federal jurisdiction. Indeed, since

Anderson, federal courts have continued to base jurisdiction on the

presence of a substantial federal question. See, e.g., Metheny v. Becker,

352 F.3d 458, 460 (Ist Cir. 2003); Jn re Wireless Tel. Radio Frequency

Emissions Prods. Liab. Litig., 327 F.Supp. 2d 554, 567 n.18 (D. Md.

2004).

'3 The Court should not hold the petition pending the decision in Grable

& Sons Metal Products, Inc. v. Darue Engineering & Manufacturing, No.

04-603. In Grable, this Court presumably granted certiorari to resolve a

circuit split on the question whether removal jurisdiction under Franchise

Tax Board could be premised on a federal statute that did not provide an

applicable private right of action. Compare Grable & Sons Metal Prods.,

Inc. v. Darue Eng'g & Mfg., 377 F.3d 592 (6th Cir. 2004), cert. granted,

No. 04-603, with Seinfeld v. Austen, 39 F.3d 761 (7th Cir. 1994), cert.

denied, 514 U.S. 1126 (1995). There are two reasons why this case does

not involve the question at issue in Grable. First, the FCA indisputably

grants petitioner a private right of action for the state-law violation alleged

in count A of her complaint. See 47 U.S.C. §$§ 206-207. Thus, the Fourth

Circuit’s decision is correct no matter how Grable is decided. Second,

this is not a case (such as Grable and Seinfeld) where the court merely

would be required to interpret and apply federal law. Rather, because a

federal tariff tas the force and effect of federal law (see infra, at 14-15),

petitioner in effect seeks to invalidate federal law. Federal-question

jurisdiction clearly lies with respect to such a claim. See Thurston Motor

Lines, Inc. v. Jordan K. Rand, Ltd. 460 U.S. 533, 53435 (1983);

Louisville & Nashville R. Co. v. Rice, 247 U.S. 201, 203 (1918).

15

Marcus v. AT&T Corp., 138 F.3d 46, 56 (2d Cir. 1998);

Cahnmann vy. Sprint Corp., 133 F.3d 484, 488 (7th 1r.), cert.

denied, 524 U.S. 952 (1998); W. Union Int’l, Inc. v. Data

Dev., Inc., 41 F.3d 1494, 1496 (11th Cir. 1995); MCI

Telecomms. Corp. v. Garden State Inv. Corp., 981 F.2d 385,

387 (8th Cir. 1992); see also Central Office, 524 U.S. at 227

(“The rights as defined by the tariff cannot be varied or

enlarged by either contract or tort of the carrier.””) (quoting

Keogh v. Chicago & Northwestern R. Co., 260 U.S. 156, 163

(1922)). This Court has found that suits to enforce or

invalidate as unreasonable a federal tariff arise under federal

law. Thurston Motor Lines, Inc. v. Jordan K. Rand, Ltd., 460

U.S. 533, 534-35 (1983); Louisville & Nashville R. Co. v.

Rice, 247 U.S. 201, 203 (1918). Applying this principle, the

courts of appeals repeatedly have found federal- question

jurisdiction with respect to state-law claims challenging or

involving tanffed rates, particularly in the

telecommunications context. See, e.g., Hill, 364 F.3d at

1315-17 (finding state law causes of action for fraud and

unfair trade practices raised substantial questions of federal

law pursuant to a filed tariff and therefore federal question

jurisdiction attached); C.A.R. Ti ransp. Brokerage Co. v.

Darden Rests., Inc., 213 F.3d 474, 478 (9th Cir. 2000) (any

action arising from filed tariff presents federal question);

Marcus, 138 F.3d at 56 (claim based on filed tariff arises

under federal law); Cahnmann, 133 F.3d at 486, 488-89

(finding claim challenging tariff provision arose under federal

law, even though complaint did not allege any violation of

federal law); Del. & Hudson Ry. Co. v. Offset Paperback

Mfrs., Inc., 126 F.3d 426, 427 (2d Cir. 1997) (actions to

enforce filed rates in tariff may be brought in federal court

because tariffs have force and effect of federal Statute); MC]

Telecomms. Corp. v. Teleconcepts, Inc., 71 F.3d 1086, 1093-

94 (3d Cir. 1995) (claims relying on tariff filed with FCC are

subject to federal jurisdiction), cert. denied, 519 U.S. 815

(1996); MCI Telecomms. Corp. v. Graham, 7 F.3d 477, 479

(6th Cir. 1993) (claim to enforce provisions of tariff are

16

premised on federal law); Garden State, 981 F.2d at 386, 388

(finding federal subject matter jurisdiction existed over claim

arising under tariff required by FCA, even though complaint

did not allege specific violation of Act).

2. The Fourth Circuit’s decision is correct under these

cases. Petitioner seeks damages for the alleged

misrepresentations made by _ BellSouth regarding its

assessment of the FUSC. The Fourth Circuit concluded that

“the only plausible reading of the Complaint is that Count A

... seeks a refund of a portion of the FUSC.” Pet. App. 16a.

As a result, the court reasoned, petitioner’s claim necessarily

would “require the court to determine a reasonable rate for the

FUSC, thereby presenting a substantial question of federal

law.” Id. at 12a.

Petitioner asserts that the Fourth Circuit’s holding “enables

all state law claims to be removed based on an ordinary

preemption defense.” Pet. 8. That assertion is plainly wrong.

The Fourth Circuit’s holding by its terms applies only when a

state-law claim necessarily seeks a refund of a payment

required by a federal tariff, which is the equivalent of federal

law. This holding simply has no application in_ other

circumstances.

Petitioner also contends that the Fourth Circuit erred

because the complaint does not in fact seek a refund of the

tariffed rate, and that, for there to be federal jurisdiction, this

remedy must be sought “on the face of the complaint itself.”

Pet. 12-13. But with this argument petitioner seeks mere

correction of error that does not justify this Court’s review.

She also is wrong. The Fourth Circuit explained why the

complaint seeks a refund of the tariffed rate:

“the Complaint—read in the light most favorable to the

plainiff—nowhere purports to seek any form of

damages other than a refund of some portion of the

FUSC. And it pleads no facts that would put BellSouth

on notice that Bryan intends to seek damages resulting

” Sia

Bilan nalts

17

from any injury other than paying the FUSC.”

Pet. App. 14a. Put simply, a plain reading of the complaint

makes clear that petitioner seeks the precise relief she now

disclaims. Moreover, even if the complaint by its terms does

not demand a refund of the tariffed rate, any damages

awarded to petitioner would effectively lower the tariffed rate

in a manner inconsistent with federal law. See, e.g., Pet. App.

lla; Hill, 364 F.3d at 1316; Wegoland Ltd. v. NYNEX Corp.,

27 F.3d 17, 21 (2d Cir. 1994); Taffett v. Southern Co., 967

F.2d 1483, 1499-92 (11th Cir.), cert denied, 506 U.S. 1021

(1992).

3. In his dissent, Judge Luttig agreed that, under Franchise

Tax Board, “a state law claim can ‘arise under’ federal law

.. ‘if a well-pleaded complaint establishe[s] ... that [the

plaintiff's] right to relief under state law necessarily depends

on resolution of a substantial question of federal law.” Pet.

Anp. 17a-18a (quoting Franchise Tax Bd., 463 U.S. at 27-28).

He also acknowledged that BellSouth’s tariffs “represent a

judgment by the government that the FUSC rates included

therein are reasonable,” and therefore “claims requiring the

court to second-guess the reasonableness of _ this

determination are properly said to require the court to resolve

a substantial federal question.” Jd. at 23a. Where Judge

Luttig parted company with the majority was his

interpretation of the complaint. In particular, he believed that

the complaint could be read as setting forth a “theory of

liability” that “does not require resort to any concept of

federal law.” Jd. at 26a. Resolution of the cispute between

the panel majority and the dissent on the factual question of

the meaning of the complaint manifestly does not require this

Court’s review. '4

'* To the extent that Judge Luttig (Pet. App. 23a-24a) also disagreed

with the majority’s holding that a state-law claim seeking a refund of a

18

lil. THERE IS NO CONFLICT AMONG ' THE

CIRCUITS OR OTHER GROUNDS

WARRANTING REVIEW OF THE FOURTH

CIRCUIT’S DETERMINATION THAT

PETITIONER’S CLAIM IS BARRED BY THE

FILED-RATE DOCTRINE.

Finally, petitioner also asks this Court to review the Fourth

Circuit’s determination that count A of her complaint 1s

barred by the filed-rate doctrine. She asserts that the decision

below conflicts with Central Office (Pet. 8, 15-16) and with

lower-court decisions (id. at 17-18). Petitioner’s asserted

justifications for this Court’s review are without merit, as the

Fourth Circuit’s opinion is wholly consistent with Central

Office and there is no conflict among the circuits about the

application of the filed-rate doctrine in circumstances such as

those here. Moreover, the Fourth Circuit’s holding that

petitioner’s claim was barred by the filed-rate doctrine is

manifestly correct.

A. The Fourth Circuit’s Decision Is Consistent With

Central Office.

- Petitioner first contends that the Fourth Circuit’s filed-rate

doctrine holding is inconsistent with Central Office. The

petition, however, is essentially devoid of explanation for why

petitioner believes that this is so. Her discussion consists of a

scant two paragraphs, one summarizing the facts of the case

and this Court’s holding, and the other containing a long

quotation from the Chief Justice’s concurring opinion in the

case. Pet. 15-16. In his concurring opinion, the Chief Justice

simply noted that the filed-rate doctrine “pre-empt[s] only

those suits that seek to alter the terms and conditions provided

for in the tanff.” Central Office, 524 U.S. at 229 (Rehnquist,

C.J., concurring).

federally tariffed rate would raise a federal question, the courts of appeals

uniformly disagree with him. See supra, at 15-16.

pS

19

Whatever petitioner’s argument might be, the decision

below is perfectly consistent with Central Office. In Central

Office, a reseller of long-distance telephone services sued

AT&T on a state-law breach of contract claim. 524 U.S. 4

216. According to the reseller, AT&T had promised it certain

service and billing options in addition to those set forth in

AT&T’s federal tariff. /d. at 220. This Court found the claim

barred by the filed-rate doctrine. The Court explained that,

under the doctrine, “‘the rate of the carrier duly filed is the

only lawful charge.” Jd. at 222 (quoting Louisville &

Nashville R. Co. v. Maxwell, 237 U.S. 94, 97 (1915)). “Thus,

even if a carrier intentionally misrepresents its rate and a

customer relies on the misrepresentation, the carrier cannot be

held to the promised rate if it conflicts with the published

tariff” Jd. The filed-rate doctrine applies whether the

customer seeks to vary the tariffed rate via a claim sounding

in contract or in tort. Jd. at 227.

The plaintiff in Central Office sought to avoid the filed-rate

doctrine by arguing that its claims related not to the rates

charged but to billing and the provisioning of services. Jd. at

223. Rejecting this argument, the Court noted that rates “do

not exist in isolation” and “have meaning only when one

knows the services to which they are attached.” Jd. The FCA

recognizes this reality by requiring the filed tariff to show not

only charges but also ““the classifications, practices, and

regulations affecting such charges” and by making it

unlawful to ““extend to any person any privileges or facilities

in such communication, or employ or enforce any

classifications, regulations, or practices affecting such

charges’ except those set forth in the tariff” Jd. at 223-24

(quoting 47 U.S.C. § 203). The Court found that “privileges”

barred by the FCA “come in many guises, and are not limited

to discounted rates.” /d. at 224. Thus, plaintiffs claims

relating to additional service and billing options, even though

couched in state-law terms and not directly challenging the

tariffed rate, in fact pertained to subjects specifically

20

addressed by the filed tanff and involved privileges not

included in the tanff. /d. at 224-26. The claims were

therefore barred.

Applying these very principles (see Pet. App. Ila), the

Fourth Circuit found petitioner’s claim barred by the filed-

rate doctrine. According to the court, petitioner’s complaint

sought a refund of a portion of the FUSC, which was a charge

included in BellSouth’s filed tanff. /d at 14a-l6a. The

Fourth Circuit also concluded that her claim, “if successful,

would require an award of damages that would have the effect

of imposing different rates upon different customers,” thereby

representing the very preference barred by the filed-rate

doctrine. /d. at lla. Nothing in these conclusions is even

remotely inconsistent with Central Office. Nor are they

inconsistent with the Chief Justice’s concurrence, which

recognized that the doctrine bars claims—such as

petitioner’s—that “seek to alter the terms and conditions

provided for in the tariff’° 524 U.S. at 229 (Rehnquist, C.J.,

concurring).

'> Petitioner asserts (Pet. 16) that the FUSC “is not a charge for any

service provided by BellSouth to that customer.” That claim is both

wrong and beside the point. It is incorrect because, although a separate

line item, it is a charge assessed on particular services BellSouth provides

to its customers, as set forth in its tariff. Her claim is irrelevant because,

as Central Office held, the filed-rate doctrine applies to all aspects of a

carrier’s tariff, not just its rate for a particular service. 524 U.S. at 223-26;

see also ICOM Holding, Inc. v. MCI Worldcom, Inc., 238 F.3d 219, 222

(2d Cir. 2001) (“In Central Office, the Court held that the filed-rate

doctrine bars state-law claims not only that pertain directly to the price of

telecommunications services subject to an FCC filing, but also state-law

claims that concern various nonprice aspects . . . .”) (emphasis in the

original); Telecom Int’l Am. Lid. v. AT&T Corp., 280 F.3d 175, 193 (2d

Cir. 2001) (“For purposes of the filed rate doctrine, discounted rates are

not the only discriminatory and illegal ‘privileges.’”’).

21

B. The Fourth Circuit’s Decision Does Not Conflict

With Other Court Of Appeals Decisions.

Petitioner asserts (Pet. 17) that the Fourth Circuit’s decision

conflicts with “a plethora of recent federal decisions holding

that the filed-rate doctrine does not preempt state law claims

for deception and misrepresentation which do not directly

attack the amount of a filed rate” (emphasis in the original).

But of the ten “recent federal decisions” cited by petitioner

that supposedly conflict with the decision below, eight are

district court cases. Of the two court of appeals cases cited by

petitioner, Freeman v. Burlington Broadcasters, Inc., supra,

unlike the present matter, involved “claims that concern

technical aspects of electronic transmissions,’ and simply

noted that the complete preemption doctrine was inapplicable

to state-law billing claims. 204 F.3d at 317. As explained

above, jurisdiction in this case tums not on complete

preemption, but on the existence of a substantial question of

federal law. Moreover, as both the panel majority and the

dissent agreed, the jurisdictional question is distinct from the

application of the filed-rate doctrine. See Pet. App. 12a n.8;

id. at 21a-22a (Luttig, J., dissenting).

The second court of appeals decision on which petitioner

relies is In re Long Distance Telecomms. Litig., 831 F.2d 627

(6th Cir. 1987)}—a decision that pre-dated Central Office by

more than a decade. Long Distance involved allegations that

a phone service provider misrepresented its rates as lower

than a competitor’s without informing customers that, unlike

its a it charged them for uncompleted calls, ring

time, and holding time—information not disclosed in the

carrier’s tariff. Jd. at 628. The filed-rate doctrine obviously

is irrelevant with respect to information not contained in the

provider’s tariff. Here, by contrast, petitioner’s claim attacks

ee

22

BellSouth’s FUSC, which is explicitly set forth and described

in the filed tariff. '°

In fact, the court of appeals cases decided after Central

Office consistently hold that a claim is barred by the filed-rate

doctrine, even where it does not directly attack a filed rate,

when an award of damages would effectively result in a

judicial determination of the reasonableness of that rate. In

Evanns v. AT&T Corp., 229 F.3d 837 (9th Cir. 2000), cert.

denied, 533 U.S. 911 (2001), for example, plaintiff brought a

state-law claim asserting that AT&T made misrepresentations

regarding the FUSC by failing to disclose that it was

“pass[ing] through” its own assessment to its customers and

that the charge was not required by the federal government.

Id. at 840-41. The Ninth Circuit found that “(tJhe filed-rate

doctrine bars any claim, whether couched in terms of federal

or state law, attacking . . . collection of the [FUSC]

assessment in compliance with the terms of the filed tariffs.”

Id. at 841 (emphasis in onginal). Citing Central Office, the

Evanns court held that since the FUSC was contained in the

tariff, and plaintiff was charged with notice of the tariff,'’

plaintiffs claim that AT&T had an obligation to him beyond

that set out in the filed tariff, such as disclosing that the FUSC

was a pass-through charge, sought a “privilege” not provided

™ Despite the importance petitioner places on it (Pet. 18), State ex rel.

Nixon v. Nextel West Corp., 248 F. Supp. 2d 885 (E.D. Mb. 2003), is

wholly inapposite. That district court case involved a suit by the Missouri

attorney general against two cellular telephone service providers for

deceptive advertising practices. /d. at 886. Unlike the services at issue

here, cellular services are not governed by a federal tariff, see 47 C.F.R.

§ 20.15(ck Orloff v. FCC, 352 F.3d 415, 418-19 (D.C. Cir. 2003), cert.

denied, 124 S. Ct. 290 (2004), and the district court’s decision therefore

does not involve the filed-rate doctrine.

F oes - sos =:

'” Customers are conclusively presumed’” to have constructive

knowledge of the terms of the filed tariff under which they receive

telephone service. Fax Telecommunicaciones, 138 F.3d at 489 (quoting

Kansas City S. Ry. Co. v. Carl, 227 U.S. 639, 653 (1913)).

23

to other AT&T customers and thus was barred as

discriminatory pursuant to the filed-rate doctrine. Jd. at 841

& n.21.

The Eleventh Circuit recently reached a similar holding in

Hill, supra. In Hill, plaintiff brought claims seeking damages

for BellSouth’s alleged misrepresentations of the FUSC to its

customers. 364 F.3d at 1312. The court found the claims

violated the non-discrimination principles of the filed-rate

doctrine. The court reasoned that even though plaintiffs

claims did not attack the filed rate in so many words, she

sought “‘recovery of BellSouth’s undisclosed charges in

excess of its contributions to the [USF].’” Jd. at 1316. Such

an award of damages would in effect retroactively reduce the

rate paid by plaintiff for telephone services to me below that

paid by other BellSouth customers. Echoing Evanns and

Central Office, the court found that the FUSC was part of the

filed tanff, plaintiff was charged with notice of it, and

allowing plaintiff to recover damages on a claim _ that

BellSouth had a disclosure obligation beyond the disclosures

already made in the tariff would award plaintiff the

discriminatory “privilege” of receiving a discounted rate for

telephone services compared to other BellSouth customers.

See id. at 1316-17. Thus, even though the claims in effect

challenged BellSouth’s representations of the FUSC rather

than the FUSC itself, granting plaintiff relief would

effectively result in a finding that the original tariff rate was

unreasonable, which is impermissible under the _filed-rate

doctrine. /d. at 1317.'*

'8 See also, e.g., Boomer v. AT&T Corp., 309 F.3d 404, 420 (7th Cir.

2002) (finding state-law claims challenging arbitration clause barred by

filed-rate doctrine where some customers would be bound by clause and

some would not be); Fax Telecommunicaciones, 138 F.3d at 491 (claim

for damages based on misrepresentation of rates is barred by filed-rate

doctrine, because such an award would lead to discrimination among

customers and improperly undermine the regulatory authority of the

24

C. Petitioner’s Claim Is Barred By The Filed-Rate

Doctrine.

The Fourth Circuit correctly held that petitioner’s claim is

barred by the filed-rate doctrine. As the cases discussed

above demonstrate (supra, at 22-23), any damages petitioner

might recover necessarily would have the effect of reducing

the tariffed rate petitioner paid for tariffed services, thereby

constituting the very preference that the filed-rate doctrine

prohibits. | Moreover, BellSouth’s tariff discusses in detail

how BellSouth calculated its obligations to the USF and how

it arrived at the amount of the FUSC charged to its customers.

4th Cir. J.A. at 165-66. Petitioner’s claim that she was

deceived fails under the filed-rate doctrine because customers

are conclusively presumed to know the contents of the tariff.'?

See Fax Telecommunicaciones, 138 F.3d at 489; Marco

Supply Co. v. AT&T Communications, Inc., 875 F.2d 434,

436 (4th Cir. 1989).

Petitioner seeks to avoid the Fourth Circuit’s holding by

suggesting three reasons why her claim would not usurp the

FCC), Marcus, 138 F.3d at 51, 60-63 (claims against long-distance carrier

for false and misleading billing practices in not disclosing that it rounded

up length of calls to next full minute were barred by filed-rate doctrine,

because monetary damages requested would have the effect of challenging

the filed rate).

'? The FCA’s savings clause does not exempt petitioner’s claim from

the filed-rate doctrine. That provision states that “[n]Jothing in this chapter

contained shall in any way abridge or alter the remedies now existing at

common law or by statute, but the provisions of this chapter are in

addition to such remedies.” 47 U.S.C. § 414. This Court has found that

the savings clause “preserves only those rights that are not inconsistent

with the statutory filed-tariff requirements.” Central Office, 524 US. at

227. Thus, this Court explained that claims “directly conflict{ing] with

the tariff . . . cannot be ‘saved’ under § 414.” /d.; see also Evanns, 229

F.3d at 840; Cahnmann, 133 F.3d at 488.

nth as reteiltioaes

25

FCC’s authority.2° Relying on the FCC’s December 2002

Order, she first claims that “[t]he FCC has already determined

that USF mark-ups such as those imposed by BellSouth are

unreasonable.” Pet. 19; see also id. at 5, 14. This assertion is

wrong. In the December 2002 Order, the FCC did not find

that mark-ups on USF charges were “unreasonable” under 47

U.S.C. § 201(b). To the contrary, the FCC explained that it

decided to prohibit mark-ups prospectively “in light of the

modifications to the contribution methodology adopted”

elsewhere in the December 2002 Order, and it specifically

noted “the flexibility provided under our current rules” with

respect to mark-ups. December 2002 Order, $45, 48.

Moreover, petitioner’s implication from the text of the order

is contradicted by the fact that the FCC determined that the

prohibition of mark-ups would take effect on April 1, 2003,

almost five months after the December 2002 Order was

issued. /d. It is inconceivable that the FCC would have

permitted carriers to continue for five months a practice it

“necessarily” found to be “unreasonable” and, as a result, a

violation of § 201{b). Pet. 5.

Second, petitioner suggests that the FCC has indicated that

“the filed-rate doctrine does not apply to [a carrier’s] public

disclosure requirements because those requirements are not

part of the filed rate.” Pet. 22 (citing Jn re Policy and Rules

Concerning the Interstate, Interexchange Marketplace, 14

F.C.C.R. 6004, 417 (Mar. 31, 1999) (“March 1999 Order”)).

?° Petitioner also suggests that the Fourth Circuit's application of the

filed-rate doctrine leaves consumers without a remedy for claims of

deception by carriers. Pet. 7. Federal law, however, provides an ample

remedy for carrier's unjust and unreasonable acts, including those related

to disclosure and billing practices. See 47 U.S.C. §§ 206-207. In any

event, as this Court has recognized, “the filed-rate doctrine may seem

harsh in some circumstances,” but “‘it embodies the policy which has

been adopted by Congress.’” Central Office, 524 U.S. at 222-23 (quoting

Maxwell, 237 U.S. at 97).

26

Petitioner, however, misunderstands the FCC order on which

she relies. Contrary to her suggestion, “public disclosure

requirements” as used in that order refers not to information

contained in tanffs filed with the FCC, but to documents filed

by carriers who no longer file tariffs after the FCC

“detariffed” long-distance service. See March 1999 Order,

q§| 1-3 & n.2. Moreover, petitioner’s argument that the filed-

rate doctrine applies only to “the amount to be charged, not

the ancillary disclosures necessary to prevent deception of

consumers” (Pet. 14) is refuted by the central holding of

Central Office. See 524 U.S. at 221-26; see also ICOM, 238

F.3d at 222.

Third, petitioner implies that the FCC has determined that

BellSouth’s label for the charge it imposes on customers to

recover its USF contributions —‘Federal Universal Service

Charge’—1is misleading. Pet. 21-22. To the contrary, the

FCC specifically approved this language. The FCC stated:

“We tentatively conclude that the following labels would be

appropriate: ... ‘Federal Universal Service’ to describe line

items seeking to recover from customers carriers’ universal

service contributions.” Truthm-Billing Order, 4972. The

FCC authorities cited by petitioner contain only the agency’s

general standards, not a ruling on the language used by

BellSouth.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petition should be denied.

ASHLEY B. WATSON

BELLSOUTH CORPORATION

1155 Peachtree Street, N.E.

Suite 1700

Atlanta, GA 30309

(404) 249-2720

27

Respectfully submitted,

JAMES H. KELLY, JR.

ADAM H. CHARNES

Counsel of Record

RICHARD S. GOTTLIEB

JAMES J. HEFFERAN, JR.

KILPATRICK STOCKTON LLP

1001 West Fourth Street

Winston-Salem, NC 27101

(336) 607-7300

Counsel for Respondent BellSouth Telecommunications, Inc.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.