Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Traum v. United States

Supreme Court brief2005

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

(1) FILED

O4~-7 00 NOV 19 2004

No.

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

SENIOR AIRMAN STEPHANIE R. TRAUM,

Petitioner

v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

L. MARTIN POWELL CARLOS L. MCDADE

CAPTAIN, U.S. AIR FORCE COLONEL, U.S. AIR FORCE

Counsel of Record Counsel for Petitioner

TERRY L. MCELYEA

Major, U.S. AIR FORCE

Counsel for Petitioner

APPELLATE DEFENSE DIVISION

AIR FORCE LEGAL SERVICES AGENCY

112 LUKE AVENUE, SUITE 343

BOLLING AFB, DC 20032-8000

(202) 767-1562

November 2004

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

IL. Does the standard set forth by this Court in United States

v. Davis, requiring that a criminal suspect assert her Fifth

Amendment right to counsel in an unequivocal manner,

apply to a suspect’s invocation of her right to remain silent.

II. Must a police interrogator scrupulously honor a criminal

suspect’s selective assertion of her right to remain silent

when the suspect invokes that right with respect to specific

details surrounding an alleged offense but otherwise agrees

to answer questions during an interrogation?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .........-:sscsscssersesnssersesesrsnsensensnsnns Vv

OPINIONS BELOW...........:s:esesssesssssssesssnsnnesennsnssnsnsnnsnsnsnenens l

JURISDICTION .........scessssscseesesssessscssnnenssennsenensnssnsnsnnensnanenens l

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED............---++. 1

STATEMENT OF THE CASE .....-.-s::esssesessessseserssnsnnnenenenes 1

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT .........:-+-0s:0ss00000 6

CONCLUSION ........:::ssscsssssseesessnsssscesnsenenenesenenenrensnnsnenenentes 24

APPENDIX A

(Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Armed Forces. 60 M.J. 226 (C.A.A-F. 2004)) .......+-- la

APPENDIX B

(Opinion of the United States Air Force Court of

Criminal Appeals. ACM 34225 (A-F. Ct. Crim. App.

QB Jue 2002)) ........ssscssessessereeesssssnenesensenssssrsnsensnnersansnes 28a

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

; Page

Constitutional Provisions

US. Const., amend. V ........ccesscseeccssreessreseeseresesensenneees passim

Decisions of the Supreme Court of the United States

Counselman v. Hitchcock, 142 U.S. 547 (1892).........ccceeeeeee 11

Dickerson v. United States, 530 U.S. 428 (2000).........-.+++++ 13

Edwards v. Arizona, 451 U.S. 477 (1981)...-.ssssseseereseees 9,17

Emspak v. United States, 349 U.S. 190 (19S) ncicxscsinsecossconss 22

Hoffman v. United States, 341 U.S. 479 (1951) ......ccceeeeeeeees 11

Kastigar v. United States, 406 U.S. 441 (1972) ncrrsonnscracoansats 7

Michigan v. Mosley, 423 U.S. 96 (1975) ...---sss+ssssssesesseees 20,23

Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966) .........:-::+:see00: passim

Quinn v. United States, 349 U.S. 155 (1955) ..........cccceseseoees 11

United States v. Davis, 512 U.S. 452 (1994).......sse+00 passim

Circuit Courts of Appeals

Barnes v. Johnson, 160 F.3d 218 6" ie. BI) cctaniacctccnine 10

Burkett v. Angelone, 208 F.3d 172 (4" Cir. 2000).........+++ 10

Campaneria v. Reid, 891 F.2d 1014 (2d Cir. 1989)...........0.. 9

vi

Coppola v. Powell, 878 F.2d 1562 (1* Cir. 1989)..........00000. 11

Evans v. Demosthenes, 98 F.3d 1174 (9" Cir. 1996) ........... 11

James v. Marshall, 322 F.3d 218 (5™ Cir. 1998) ......cccccecee0e: 10

McGraw v. Holland, 257 F.3d 513 (6" Cir. 2001).......... 21,22

Medina v. Singletary, 59 F.3d 1095 (11™ Cir. 1995)... 10

United States v. Banks, 78 F.3d 1190 (7 Cir. 1996) ........... 10

United States v. Johnson, 56 F.3d 947 (8™ Cir. 1995)........... 10

United States v. Lopez-Diaz, 630 F.2d 661

(PF? Clie 20GB iid ccsincistithtssbeasdisilecsceinilliieiceiniaie ated 20,21

United States v. Ramirez, 79 F.3d 298 (2d Cir. 1996).......... 1]

United States v. Soliz, 129 F.3d 499 (9" Cir. 1997)........ 20,21

Military Cases

United States v. Ravenel, 26 M.J. 344 (C.M.A. 2004) ........... 8

United States v. Sager, 36 M.J. 137 (C.M.A. 1992)..........0000. 8

United States v. Sckake, 30 M.J. 314 (C.M.A. 1990)............. 8

United States v. Traum, 60 M.J. 226 (C.A.A.F. 2004) ..passim

United States v. Traum, ACM 34225

(A.F. Ct. Crim. App. 28 June 2002) ............ccccceeeeeees 1,5,20

Federal Statutes

CLLL Ta |. MRE seme RK y o> passim

vii

0 CEG, 6 OUI acs casenanennnsinssccecceiannpmnnnetnnso

SON, I ace cnsaseenciniihicetonienesianstesabiioa bait 5

WB UBC. © 1290S) acnncessncnnnnnnnnnsnnsannncsasscasossoseneesnensenssnesonennan

]

The petitioner, Senior Airman Stephanie R. Traum,

respectfully prays that a Writ of Certiorari issue to review the

order and judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Armed Forces entered in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Armed Forces, United States v. Traum, 60 M.J. 226

(C.A.A-F. 2004), is located at Appendix A, pp. la-27a. The

opinion of the United States Air Force Court of Criminal

Appeals, United States v. Traum, ACM 34225 (AF. Ct.

Crim. App. 28 June 2002), is located at Appendix B, pp.

28a-48a.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Armed Forces was entered on 24 August 2004.' The

jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. §

1259(3) and 10 U.S.C. § 867(a)(3).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED

The Fifth Amendment to the United States Constitution

provides in relevant part:

No person . . . shall be compelled in any

criminal case to be a witness against

himself... .

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Sometime between the night of 20 December 1998 and

the morning of 21 December 1998, at Maxwell Air Force

Base, Alabama, Senior Airman (SrA) Stephanie Traum’s

' Appendix A, p. la.

2

eighteen-month-old daughter, Caitlyn, died. On the morning

of 21 December 1998, SrA Traum made a frantic phone call,

*equesting emergency assistance for Caitlyn because Caitlyn

was not breathing. Medical personnel arrived at SrA

Traum’s residence a short time later and began efforts to

resuscitate Caitlyn. Eventually, Caitlyn was transported by

ambulance to the emergency room where she was

pronounced dead by emergency room personnel soon after

her arrival.

After Caitlyn’s death, an autopsy was performed to

determine the cause of death. The results of the autopsy

were inconclusive as to the medical cause of death and

remained so as of 13 January 1999.

In the weeks following Caitlyn’s death, investigators

from the Air Force Office of Special Investigations (AFOSI)

focused their investigation on SrA Traum as a suspect in

Caitlyn’s death. Prior to 13 January 1999, the AFOSI

detachment handling the investigation arranged for Special

Agent (SA) Kraus, an AFOSI agent trained to conduct

polygraph examinations, to travel to Alabama from his duty -

station in Florida to conduct a polygraph examination on SrA

Traum. SA Krause arrived at Maxwell AFB on 12 January

1999 to conduct a polygraph examination on SrA Traum.

On 11 or 12 January 1999, SrA Traum contacted SA

Gage of the AFOSI about the status of the investigation into

Caitlyn’s death. Prior to that date, she had contacted the

AFOSI on other occasions seeking updates on the

investigation. After Caitlyn’s death, SrA Traum had applied

for a humanitarian reassignment to an Air Force Base in

Ohio. In order to process that assignment request, SrA

Traum needed copies of the autopsy report and the death

certificate for Caitlyn. She was attempting to obtain those

documents through the AFOSI.

3

During the phone call on 11 or 12 January 1999, SA

Gage told SrA Traum that he would call her back. SA Gage

subsequently did call SrA Traum back and asked her to come

in to the AFOSI office on 13 January 1999 to be updated on

the status of the investigation. SrA Traum agreed to do so.

SA Gage did not mention that he would be asking SrA

Traum to submit to a polygraph examination when she came —

in.

On 13 January 1998, SrA Traum reported to the AFOSI

office, as agreed, at approximately 0815 hours. When she

arrived, she met with Special Agent (SA) Engelman and SA

Gage and requested an update on the investigation. At that

time she also requested copies of Caitlyn’s autopsy report

and death certificate to support her request for the

humanitarian reassignment to Ohio. The agents and SrA

Traum also discussed other topics, such as the condition of

SrA Traum’s other daughter, computers, AFOSI’s

relationship with the Alabama State Medical Examiner’s

Office, and other idle “chit chat.” At no time during their

conversation with SrA Traum did either agent advise SrA

Traum of her right to remain silent pursuant to Article 31,

Uniform Code of Military Justice (UCM), 10 U.S.C. § 831,”

or the Fifth Amendment to the Constitution. Their

conversation lasted about 25 minutes.

After the initial “chit chat,” SA Engelman asked SrA

Traum to submit to a polygraph. SA Engelman told her that

taking the polygraph could expedite the publishing of the

medical examiner’s autopsy report, the investigation,

2 Article 31(b), Uniform Code of Military Justice, 10 U.S.C. §831(b),

states that “{n]o person subject to this chapter may interrogate, or request

any statement from an accused or a person suspected of an offense

without first informing him of the nature of the accusation and advising

him that he does not have to make any statement regarding the offense of

which he is accused or suspected and that any statement made by him

may be used as evidence against him in a trial by court-martial.”

i

4

publication of the death certificate, and, consequently, her

humanitarian reassignment. In response to the request for a

polygraph, SrA Traum stated that she “did not want to talk

about the details of the night of 20/21 December 1998.” In

response, SA Engelman advised her that it might not be

necessary to discuss all of the details of the night in question

but that it might be necessary to discuss some of the “key

details.”

Agents Gage and Engelman then introduced SrA Traum

- to SA Kraus, who had not been in the room during the

conversation between SrA Traum and the agents. SA Kraus

escorted SrA Traum into a separate room to be interviewed

and polygraphed. SA Kraus’s interview of SrA Traum

began at approximately 0850 hours. Before the interrogation

began, SA Kraus advised SrA Traum of her rights in

accordance with Article 31, UCM3J, and advised her that she

was not required to submit to a polygraph. SrA Traum

waived her rights at that time.

Over approximately the next eight hours, SA Kraus

conducted a pre-interview, two different polygraph

examinations, and a post-polygraph interview of SrA Traum.

For the first several hours, SrA Traum repeatedly insisted

that she did not kill Caitlyn. SrA Traum also suggested that

her husband, John, may have killed Caitlyn on the night of

20 December 1998. After the second polygraph examination

was completed, SA Kraus informed SrA Traum that she

failed the polygraph with 99% certainty. He also falsely

informed SrA Traum that investigation had revealed SrA

Traum's fingerprints on the back of Caitlyn’s neck in a

position that suggested that SrA Traum killed her.

In his attempt to obtain a confession from SrA Traum,

SA Kraus also suggested potential motives for killing

Caitlyn. He suggested that SrA Traum killed Caitlyn either

for the insurance money or because she was trying to protect

SES Oe ae eee ree Tse rome

5

Caitlyn from abuse by Caitlyn’s father. At approximately

1445 hours, SrA Traum confessed to killing Caitlyn by

pushing her face into a couch cushion in the manner

suggested by SA Kraus during the interview. SrA Traum

also adopted one of SA Kraus’s suggested motives, that she

killed Caitlyn to protect her from abuse by Caitlyn’s father.

SrA Traum subsequently gave a written statement to that

effect. .

SrA Traum was tried by a general court-martial from 30

August 1999 to 17 September 1999 on a charge of

premeditated murder in violation of Article 118, UCMJ, 10

U.S.C. § 918. At trial, SrA Traum’s defense counsel moved

to suppress her verbal and written statements made to SA

Kraus on 13 January 1999. The defense argued that SrA

Traum’s constitutional right to cut off questioning was not

scrupulously honored by the AFOSI investigators and that

her statements were not voluntarily given. The military

judge denied the defense motion. SrA Traum was convicted

as charged and sentenced to a dishonorable discharge,

confinement for life with the possibility of parole, forfeiture

of all pay and allowances, reduction to the grade of E-1, and

a reprimand. On 25 July 2000, the convening authority

approved the adjudged sentence, except the reprimand.

On appeal, the Air Force Court of Criminal Appeals

concluded that the AFOSI agents did not violate SrA

Traum’s rights under Article 31, UCM4J, because agents

Gage and Engelman’s request that SrA. Traum take a

polygraph did not constitute interrogation and therefore did

not require Article 31 warnings. The Court also held that

SrA Traum’s statement that she did not want to talk about

the details of the night of 20/21 December 1998 was not an

unequivocal invocation of her right to remain silent. The

Court therefore upheld the denial of the defense motion by

the military judge. Appendix B, pp. 33a-34a. The Court of

6

Appeals for the Armed Forces (CAAF) affirmed the decision

of the Air Force Court of Criminal Appeals. .

REASCNS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. Does the standard set forth by this Court in United

States v. Davis, requiring that a criminal suspect assert

her Fifth Amendment right to counsel in an unequivocal

manner, apply to a suspect’s invocation of her right to

remain silent?

When the AFOSI agents asked SrA Traum to submit to a

polygraph examination, she specifically stated that she did

not want to discuss the details surrounding the night her

daughter died. Despite her assertion, the agents continued

their concerted effort to convince SrA Traum to submit to

interrogation by, among other things, telling her that it might

be “necessary” to discuss some key details of the night in

question. Ultimately, the agents convinced SrA Traum to

submit to the polygraph and after approximately six hours of

intensive interrogation, SA Kraus obtained a confession from

SrA Traum.

The crucial question before this Honorable Court is

whether the agents were required to cease any attempt to

interrogate SrA Traum regarding the details of the night of

20/21 December 1998 after she made a statement that any

reasonable police officer would have understood was an

assertion of her Fifth Amendment right to remain silent with

respect to the details surrounding Caitlyn’s death.

In Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966), this Court

‘held that, when a criminal suspect is in the custody of the

police or has had his freedom limited in any significant way,

the Fifth Amendment requires that, prior to interrogating that

suspect, police officers must advise her, among other things,

eT Tee |

7

that she has the right to remain silent and the right to consult

~ with an attorney. Id. at 479.

For purposes of this appeal, petitioner assumes, without

conceding, that SrA Traum was not subjected to custodial

interrogation. Further, the Court of Appeals for the Armed

Forces (CAAF) held that SA Engelman’s request that SrA

Traum submit to a polygraph did not constitute interrogation

under Article 31, UCMJ, because “an incriminating response

was neither sought nor was it a reasonable consequence of

SA Engelman’s inquiry.” Appendix A, p. 8a.

The CAAF correctly recognized that SrA Traum could

invoke her Fifth Amendment right to remain silent in

response to SA Engelman’s request to submit to a polygraph

even in the absence of a custodial situation. The CAAF

noted, “[t]he right to remain silent ‘protects against any

disclosures that the witness reasonably believes could be

used in a criminal prosecution or could lead to other

evidence that might be so used.” Jd. (citing Kastigar v.

United States, 406 U.S. 441, 444-45 (1972)). This Court has

plainly held that the privilege against self-incrimination “can

be asserted in any proceeding, civil or criminal,

administrative or judicial, investigatory or adjudicatory.”

Kastigar, 406 U.S. at 444. Therefore, as the CAAF noted,

“application of the privilege against self-incrimination is not

limited to persons in custody or charged with a crime; it may

also be asserted by a suspect who is questioned during the

investigation of a crime. Appendix A, p. 8a (citations

omitted).

The CAAF went on to recognize that the standard set

forth by this Court in Miranda applies to this case despite the

non-custodial nature of the encounter. The CAAF, citing

3 As the (then) Court of Military Appeals has recognized, Congress

enacted Article 31, UCMJ, prior to this Court’s decision in Miranda in

recognition of the inherent pressures that exist in the military service.

this Court’s precedent, has established that “[I]f the

individual indicates in any manner, at any time prior to or

during questioning, that he wishes to remain silent, the

interrogation must cease[.]” Appendix A, p. 8a (citing

United States v. Sager, 36 M.J. 137, 145 (C.M.A. 1992)

(quoting Miranda, 384 U.S. at 473)).

Ultimately, because SrA Traum had the power to assert

her Fifth Amendment right to remain silent in response to the

request that she submit to a polygraph, the CAAF observed

that the crucial questions in the present case are whether SrA

Traum’s response to SA Engelman’s question was an

invocation of her right to silence, and if so, whether that right

was “scrupulously honored.” Appendix A, p. 8a (citing

Miranda, 384 U.S. at 479).

In addressing the all important question of whether SrA

Traum invoked her right to remain silent when she told SA

Engelman that she did not want to discuss the details of the

night Caitlyn died, the CAAF stated, “although no particular

words or actions are required to exercise one’s Fifth

Amendment right to silence, we have held that its invocation

must be unequivocal before all questioning must stop.” /d.

at 9a (citing United States v. Sager, 36 M.J. 137, 145

(C.M.A. 1992); United States v. Schake, 30 M.J. 314, 319

United States v. Ravenel, 26 M.J. 344 (C.M.A. 1988). In enacting Article

31, Congress sought to protect a military accused from “the subtleties of

the superior-subordinate relationship and the conditioned response,

consciously created from the first day of basic training, to respond almost

unthinkingly to the wishes of a military superior...” /d. at 349. Asa

result of the inherent pressure associated with the military, the Court of

Military Appeals has held that Article 31, UCMJ, is actually broader in

its protections than the Fifth Amendment and the mandate of this Court

in Miranda. Id. So although SrA Traum may not have been in custody

when she was asked to submit to a polygraph, she was still subjected to

the inherent military pressures to respond to questioning that Congress

recognized as a significant danger to a military member’s constitutional

right to remain silent.

ee oe

9

(C.M.A. 1990); Campaneria v. Reid, 891 F.2d 1014, 1021

(2d Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 499 U.S. 949 (1991)).

Applying an unequivocal invocation standard to the

assertion of the right to remain silent, the CAAF concluded

that SrA Traum’s words “did not unequivocally invoke her

right to remain silent because, by stating that she did not

want to discuss the details of the night Caitlyn died, she “did

not foreclose the possibility that she was willing to take the

polygraph and discuss other aspects of the investigation,

such as the child’s medical history or the manner in which

Appellant cared for her child.” Jd. According to the CAAF,

because SrA Traum was apparently willing to discuss some

aspects of the AFOSI investigation, the AFOSI agents were

not required to scrupulously honor her attempt to preclude

any questioning regarding the details of the night of

Caitlyn’s death.

By holding that a suspect must unequivocally invoke the

right to remain silent before police are required to cease

questioning that suspect, the CAAF has essentially adopted

the unequivocal standard set forth by this Court in United

States v. Davis, 512 U.S. 452 (1994). In Davis, a case

involving a suspect’s request for counsel pursuant to this

Court’s decision in Miranda, this Court held that where a

criminal suspect has been advised of his rights in accordance

with Miranda and has knowingly and voluntarily waived

those rights, law enforcement officers may continue

questioning that suspect unless the suspect clearly and

unambiguously invokes his right to consult with counsel.

Under Davis, if the suspect does invoke the right to

counsel in an unequivocal manner during questioning, the

police must immediately cease the interrogation until a

lawyer has been made available or the suspect himself

reinitiates a conversation with the police. Jd. at 458 (citing

Edwards v. Arizona, 451 U.S. 477 (1981)). On the other

10

hand, if a suspect makes an equivocal or ambiguous

reference to counsel, this Court held that the police are not

required to cease questioning the suspect or even to clarify

the ambiguous reference. Jd. at 461-62.

Since Davis involved only the invocation of the right to

counsel, this Court did not specifically address whether a

valid invocation of the right to remain silent must also be

unequivocal in order to be effective. To date, this Court has

not specifically held that the unequivocal standard set forth

in Davis applies beyond the context of a request for counsel

to a suspect’s assertion of the right to remain silent.

Since this Court’s decision in Davis, most federal courts

that have considered the issue have held that the Davis

unequivocal assertion standard also applies to cases

involving a suspect’s assertion of the right to remain silent.

Those courts have generally held that police investigators are

not required to acknowledge or clarify an ambiguous or

equivocal indication by a suspect that the suspect wishes to

remain silent. Those courts, citing Davis, have held that an

invocation of the right to remain silent must be unequivocal

in nature before police questioning must cease. See e.g.,

United States v. Banks, 78 F.3d 1190 (7th Cir. 1996);

Medina v. Singletary, 59 F.3d 1095 (11th Cir. 1995); United

States v. Johnson, 56 F.3d 947 (8th Cir. 1995); Burkett v.

Angelone, 208 F.3d 172 (4th Cir. 2000); Barnes v. Johnson,

160 F.3d 218 (Sth Cir. 1998). Although the CAAF did not

specifically cite this Court’s decision in Davis in applying

the unequivocal invocation standard, the effect is the same.

Not every court, however, has applied the Davis

unequivocal invocation standard to the right to remain silent.

Several other Circuit Courts of Appeals have noted that this

Court has not specifically applied the Davis standard in right

to remain silent cases and they have therefore left the

question open. See e.g., James v. Marshall, 322 F.3d 103

11

(1st Cir. 2003); Evans v. Demosthenes, 98 F.3d 1174 (9th

Cir. 1996); United States v. Ramirez, 79 F.3d 298 (2nd Cir.

1996). a

A. Applying an unequivocal invocation standard to

the right to remain silent is inconsistent with this Court’s

interpretation of the Fifth Amendment.

This Court held long ago that the invocation of the right

to remain silent does not require any “special combination of

words.” Quinn v. United States, 349 U.S. 155, 162 (1955).

Instead, this provision “must be accorded liberal construction

in favor of the right it was intended to secure.” Hoffman v.

United States, 341 U.S. 479 (1951) (citing Counselman v.

Hitchcock, 142 U.S. 547, 562 (1892)). Consequently, “even

the most feeble attempt to claim a Fifth Amendment

privilege must be recognized...” Coppola v. Powell, 878

F.2d 1562, 1565 (1st Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 969

(1989) (citing United States v. Goodwin, 470 F.2d 893, 902

(5th Cir. 1972)).

In Miranda, this Court held that if after being informed

of his right to remain silent, a suspect “indicates in_any

manner, at any time prior to or during questioning, that he

wishes to remain silent, the interrogation must cease.”

Miranda, 384 U.S. at 473-74 (emphasis added). This

Court’s use of the words “in any manner” is telling because

it seems to clearly establish that there is no requirement that

a suspect use any specific combination of words in order to

successfully assert the suspect’s constitutional right to

remain silent.

By contrast, in Miranda, in setting forth the right to

consult counsel, this Court simply stated, “If the individual

states that he wants an attorney, the interrogation must cease

until an attorney is present.” Miranda, 384 U.S. at 474. The

lack of the same “in any manner” language in reference to a

12

request for counsel seems to indicate that this Court

recognized some distinction in the manner in which a

criminal suspect can effectively assert the two different

rights in question.

A plain reading of the language in Miranda supports an

argument that this Court did not intend to apply a strict and

inflexible standard with respect to the actual language a

suspect must use in order to invoke her right to remain silent.

Combined with this Court’s previous precedent interpreting

the protections of the Fifth Amendment, it appears that

application of a narrow, inflexible rule such as the

unequivocal invocation standard set forth in Davis is

inconsistent with this Court’s interpretation of the Fifth

Amendment.

In applying the Davis unequivocal standard to a suspect’s

attempted invocation of the right to remain silent, the CAAF

and Circuit Courts of Appeals have undermined this Court’s

holdings in Miranda and Quinn and elevated form over

substance in the crucial determination of whether a criminal

suspect has asserted her right to remain silent.

If the Davis standard is held to apply to invocations of

the right to silence, a suspect who says during custodial

interrogation, “I think I want to remain silent,” can be treated

in a drastically different manner than a suspect who omits

the first two words of the same sentence. Because the words

“I think” can render the sentence somewhat ambiguous, it is

likely that the suspect who uses the two additional words

would be subject to continued interrogation by the police

with no need to clarify whether the suspect actually wants to

remain silent. The suspect could then cut off questioning

only by mustering the courage to simply stop speaking to the

police, despite the continued interrogation, or by somehow

deducing that he must assert himself in a much more

aggressive manner in order to effectively assert his rights.

in

13

Meanwhile, in accordance with Miranda, the more street-

wise or savvy suspect who asserts his rights in a more direct

fashion would have his right to remain silent fully honored.

An analysis of this Court’s reasoning in Davis is helpful

in addressing whether the unequivocal invocation standard

shouldbe applied outside of the narrow scope of a request

for counsel. In reaching the holding in Davis, this Court

reasoned that the rights established by Miranda, were simply

“procedural safeguards . . . that were not themselves rights

protected by the Constitution,” but were instead, “measures

to insure that the right against compulsory self-incrimination

was protected.” Davis, 512 U.S. at 457.

Since Davis, however, this Court has gone on to hold that

the protections afforded by Miranda are in fact

constitutionally required, and not mere procedural rules.

Dickerson v. United States, 530 U.S. 428 (2000). Therefore,

to the extent that this Court based its decision in Davis on the

notion that the right to counsel set forth in Miranda is not

constitutionally required, but only a procedural safeguard,

that decision has necessarily been called into question by this

Court’s ruling in Dickerson. The acknowledgment that the

rights set forth in Miranda are constitutionally required must

necessarily lead to appropriate care in protecting and

preserving those rights.

In Davis, this Court also reasoned that requiring police to

cease interrogating a suspect who has made an equivocal or

ambiguous request for counsel “would transform the

Miranda safeguards into wholly irrational obstacles to

legitimate police investigative activity.” Davis, 512 US. at

460. Of course the same criticism could be leveled at this

Court’s Miranda decision. In Miranda, this Court decided

that it is more important under the Constitution to ensure that

a criminal suspect is aware of his right to remain silent than

it is to maximize the number of confessions obtained by law

14

enforcement in the course of investigating crimes. The same

logic applies in no smaller degree to ensuring that a suspect

understands what is required in order to assert the rights

guaranteed by the Fifth Amendment. After all, it is of little

benefit to a criminal suspect in custody to know their rights

if they are left in the dark as to the exact means by which

they are required to assert those rights.

This Court recognized in Davis that requiring a clear

assertion of the right to counsel “might disadvantage some

suspects who — because of fear, intimidation, lack of

linguistic skills, or a variety of other reasons — will not

clearly articulate their right to counsel... .” Davis, 512 U.S.

at 460. Certainly, as this Court recognized in Miranda, “the

very fact of custodial interrogation exacts a heavy toll on

individual liberty and trades on the weakness of individuals.”

Miranda, 384 U.S. at 455.

Custodial interrogation necessarily “contains inherently

compelling pressures which work to undermine the

individual’s will to resist and to compel him to speak where

he would not otherwise do so freely.” Jd. at 467. It was to

combat these inherent pressures that this Court held that an

accused must be “adequately and effectively apprised of his

rights and the exercise of those rights must be fully

honored.” Jd. In light of this Court’s reasoning in Miranda,

it is counterintuitive to allow an investigator to play hide-the-

ball with a suspect who makes an effort to assert the rights

she has been promised she enjoys by completely ignoring an

arguably ambiguous attempt to assert those rights.

Another important consideration for this Court in

Miranda was the necessity of advising suspects of their

rights in language that ordinary citizens would understand:

“the warning of a right to counsel would be hollow if not

couched in terms that would convey to the indigent — the

person most often subjected to interrogation — the knowledge

oO

15

that he too has a right to have counsel present. Miranda, 384

US. at 473.

As Justice Souter recognized in Davis, “criminal suspects

who may (in Miranda’s words) be ‘thrust into an unfamiliar

atmosphere and run through menacing police interrogation

procedures’ . . . would seem an odd group to single out for

the Court’s demand of heightened linguistic care. A

substantial percentage of them lack anything like a confident

command of the English language . . . and many more will

be sufficiently intimidated by the interrogation process or

overwhelmed by the uncertainty of their predicament that the

ability to speak assertively will abandon them.” Davis, 512

U.S. at 469-70 (Souter, J., concurring).

Applying the Davis “unequivocal standard” to the right

to remain silent has the ironic effect of requiring precision

and clarity of verbal expression from those who either by

nature or by circumstance are the least likely to assert

themselves in a direct and unequivocal fashion.

Additionally, there is no requirement under Miranda that the

police actually inform suspects that they suspect must speak

in unequivocal terms if they wish to invoke their right to

counsel or to remain silent. Therefore, only those who are

most educated or most street-wise are likely to assert their

rights unequivocally. Such an approach is inconsistent with

this Court’s attempt in Miranda to ensure that those

subjected to custodial interrogation are aware of their

constitutional rights and actually serves to undermine that

longstanding precedent.

The further danger in requiring an unequivocal assertion

of the right to remain silent before police are required to

cease an interrogation is the effect that police action in

response to such an ambiguous assertion will have on the

psyche of a criminal suspect. If a suspect who has been

informed of her Miranda rights or her rights under Article

16

31, UCMJ, makes an arguably ambiguous effort to assert her

right to remain silent, under the Davis standard the police

could simply ignore the attempted assertion of rights and

continue the interrogation unabated.

For someone already subjected to the inherently coercive

pressures associated with custodial interrogation or

submission to authority in the military, the appearance that

the police have ignored an attempted assertion of the right to

remain silent and have continued with an interrogation may

lead the suspect to believe that those rights are not available

or are illusory at best and provide no real protection. Such a

result would seem to do no more than to increase the

coercive pressures already visited upon the accused.

In this case, SrA Traum demonstrated a _ basic

understanding that she had a right not to talk about the

details of Caitlyn’s death. Although she had not been

advised of her rights, she made an effort to assert her right to

remain silent. When SA Engelman refused to recognize her

assertion and instead advised her that it might be “necessary”

to discuss the key details of that night, SrA Traum was in the

unenviable position of failing to successfully assert her rights

despite her best efforts. It is therefore understandable that

she may have been under the impression that she had no

rights to invoke.

The apparent rejection of her right to remain silent,

accompanied by the agents’ feigned concern over her

humanitarian reassignment and apparent willingness to help

her very likely left SrA Traum in a more vulnerable state, an

emotional state in which she was less likely to again attempt

to assert herself in any meaningful way in the presence of her

interrogator. Because the agents did not respect her initial

assertion that she did not want to discuss the details of

Caitlyn’s death, SrA Traum certainly had no reason to

17

believe that they would do so if she made any further attempt

to invoke her rights.

By essentially ignoring SrA Traum’s assertion of her

right to remain silent with regard to the details of the night of

Caitlyn’s death, the AFOSI failed to scrupulously honor her

invocation of her right to remain silent. The CAAF’s

application on appeal of the unequivocal invocation standard

further impinges upon SrA Traum’s rights w. ter the Fifth

Amendment.

B. The Davis unequivocal invocation standard is

more difficult for police officers to apply than a rule

requiring clarification of ambiguous assertions of the

right to remain silent.

One of the concerns expressed by this Court in adopting

an “unequivocal” standard was that requiring police to

terminate interrogation upon an ambiguous request for

counsel would force police officers to make “difficult

judgment calls about whether the suspect in fact wants a

lawyer even though he has not said so, with the threat of

suppression if they guess wrong.” Davis, 512 USS. at 461.

This Court noted that it’s decision in Edwards v. Arizona,

451 U.S. 477 (1981), established a bright line rule that is

easy for police officers to follow: if a suspect requests

counsel at any time during an interrogation, the interrogation

must cease until a lawyer is provided.

Miranda also set forth a simple bright line rule: whea a

suspect indicates he wishes to remain silent, interrogation

must cease. The difficulty in applying these seemingly clear

rules is apparent when a suspect makes an arguably

ambiguous reference to counsel or to remaining silent.

Under the Davis rule, it is up to the police to make a

determination about whether the reference is legally

unequivocal. If the officer guesses that it is equivocal and

18

therefore proceeds with the interrogation, a court may later

consider the same statement to be an unequivocal assertion

of rights. In such a case, any evidence obtained as a result of

the continued interrogation would likely be lost. But, if the

police officer simply clarified the reference to remaining

silent, any ambiguity could immediately be cleared up and

the police officer would immediately know whether to cease

questioning or to continue.

This Court has not alleviated the burden on police

officers by leaving upon them the responsibility of

determining what constitutes a sufficiently clear invocation

of rights. The clearer bright line rule would be to require

police officers to clarify any ambiguous attempt to invoke

the right to remain silent. Such clarification is often the only

way a police officer will be absolutely sure of the proper

steps to take. A rule requiring such clarification would

therefore go further both to protecting the constitutionally ‘

required rights set forth in Miranda and to ensuring that

police officers are able to conduct an interrogation with a

minimum of guesswork as to whether a suspect has actually

asserted those rights.

Examining the facts of this case, it is easy to see how

difficult the unequivocal invocation standard may be to

apply in any given situation. SrA Traum’s statement, “I

don’t want to discuss the details of the night of 20/21

December,” is perfectly clear and contains absolutely no

inherent ambiguity. She could not have been more direct in

stating that she did not want to talk about her daughter’s

death. But the CAAF somehow found ambiguity in her

assertion merely because she did not rule out the possibility

of taking the polygraph or discussing subjects other than the

details of the day Caitlyn died. Despite its ruling, the CAAF

did not even suggest what alternate meaning SrA Traum’s

actual words may have had. Leaving open the possibility of

talking about details other than those surrounding the events

a ee ee ea ee MS eNO Ne rn nay

19

of the night of 20 December simply cannot reasonably be

deemed to render her statement capable of more than one

interpretation.

The fact that the military appellate courts were able to

find ambiguity in such a seemingly straightforward assertion

highlights the difficulty inherent in applying the Davis

standard to invocations of the right to remain silent. It is

difficult to see how a police officer can effectively apply

such a subjective standard when an unequivocal statement

such as that made by SrA Traum can be deemed equivocal.

The benefit of any bright line rule is lost if the police are left

to decide what does or does not constitute an unequivocal

assertion of rights.

This Court should grant this petition and resolve the

question of whether application of the unequivocal

invocation standard in the context of a suspect’s assertion of

the right to remain silent conflicts with the constitutionally

protected rights recognized by this Court in Miranda.

Because a rule requiring police officers to clarify an arguably

ambiguous invocation of the right to remain silent serves the

interests of both the Fifth Amendment and providing a clear

bright-line rule for police, this Court should hold that the

police must clarify any statement that would lead a

reasonable police officer to believe that a suspect wishes to

invoke the right to remain silent.

II. Must a police interrogator scrupulously honor a

criminal suspect’s selective assertion of her right to

remain silent when the suspect invokes that right with

respect to specific details surrounding an alleged offense

but otherwise agrees to answer questions during an

interrogation?

The Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces has, by its

ruling, essentially adopted a test for ambiguity that conflicts

20

with an accused’s Fifth Amendment right to selectively

choose the topics an accused will or will not discuss during

an interrogation. In doing so, the CAAF’s decision

undermined this Court’s essential holding in Michigan v.

Mosley, 423 U.S. 96 (1975).

In Mosley, this Court held that through the exercise of a

suspect’s option to terminate questioning a suspect has the

right to control the subjects discussed during an

interrogation. Further, this Court held that when a suspect

selectively asserts the right to remain silent by limiting the

subjects the suspect will discuss with the police, the police

are required to “scrupulously honor” that assertion of rights.

Id. at 103-04.

A suspect may selectively waive his right to remain silent

in two ways. He may either tell the police that he will not

discuss certain subjects or he may inform the police that he is

only willing to discuss certain subjects. United States v.

Soliz, 129 F.3d 499, 504 (9th Cir. 1997) (citing Mosley, 423

U.S. at 103-05; United States v. Lopez-Diaz, 630 F.2d 661,

664 (9th Cir. 1980)). “Once a person has indicated that he

does not wish to talk about a particular subject, all

questioning must cease.” Soliz, 129 F.3d at 504.

In this case, SrA Traum specifically told SA Engelman

that she did not want to discuss the details of the night that

Caitlyn died. Even the Air Force Court of Criminal Appeals

recognized that SrA Traum “just wanted to limit what she

would talk about.” Appendix B, p. 33a. Her statement was

very clear. However, rather than recognizing her assertion of

her right to limit questioning and scrupulously honoring that

right, SA Engelman ignore¢c her concern and indicated that it

might be “necessary” to discuss key details.

In Soliz, the accused was under investigation for

smuggling illegal aliens. When asked by police if he would

21

make a statement, he replied, “Yes, regarding my... .

citizenship.” The police went on to exceed that limitation by

asking him about the smuggling of illegal aliens. The Ninth

Circuit Court of Appeals held that Soliz’s statement

constituted an unequivocal invocation of his right to remain

silent and that the police did not scrupulously honor that

invocation. Soliz, 129 F.3d at 504.

In United States v. Lopez-Diaz, the accused, after being

advised of his Miranda rights, stated that he not want to talk

about the drugs in his van but would provide other

information. The police ultimately asked him about the

drugs in the van and he made incriminating statements. The

Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals held that by questioning him

on a subject he specifically wished foreclosed from

interrogation, the police did not scrupulously honor his right

to remain silent. Lopez-Diaz, 630 F.2d at 667.

The facts in the present case are quite similar to the facts

in Soliz and Lopez-Diaz. In both of those cases, the suspect

did not rule out making a statement or discussing other

aspects of the investigation. Instead, the suspects opted to

selectively assert their rights by telling the police what they

were or were not willing to discuss. In both cases, the police

failed to scrupulously honor the limitations imposed by the

suspects. Therefore, the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals

concluded that the police failed to scrupulously honor the

suspects’ assertion of their right to remain silent. Unlike the

decision of the CAAF in this case, the Court in those cases

did not conclude that the suspects’ invocation of rights was

equivocal simply because it was selective.

In McGraw v. Holland, 257 F.3d 513 (6th Cir. 2001),.the

accused was investigated for her role in a rape. While being

interrogated, she repeatedly stated that she did not want to

talk about the rape. /d. at 515. The police officer ignored

her protests and continued to question her about the rape

22

until she confessed. On appeal to the Michigan Court of

Appeals, the Court concluded that the confession had been

given voluntarily, noting that the accused had signed a form

waiving her rights and indicating that she “wished to talk.”

Id. at 516.

On review of the accused’s writ of habeas corpus, the

district court judge found that the accused’s statements that

she did not want to talk about the rape were “unclear and

ambiguous” because a reasonable police officer could have

believed that the accused was merely indicating a hesitancy

due to fear of retaliation. Jd. The Sixth Circuit Court of

Appeals noted that during her state trial, the trial court held

her statements to be admissible “because she never said that

she did not want to talk about subjects other than the rape.”

The Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals held that the trial court’s

decision was an unreasonable application of Miranda and its

progeny.

The Court reasoned that although McGraw didn’t ever

say “I want to exercise my option to terminate this interview

altogether if I will otherwise have to talk about the rape,” her

statement that she did not want to talk about the rape was not

ambiguous. The Court reiterated that “no ritualistic formula

or talismanic phrase is essential in order to invoke the

privilege against self-incrimination.” Jd. at 518 (citing

Emspak v. United States, 349 U.S. 190 (1955)).

Petitioner’s case is also similar to the facts in McGraw.

Just as McGraw stated that she didn’t want to discuss the

rape, SrA Traum clearly indicated that she didn’t want to talk

about what occurred on the night of Caitlyn’s death.

Nevertheless, the AFOSI agents, like the police officer in

McGraw, ignored her and conducted an interrogation where

they specifically asked repeatedly about the very details SrA

Traum did not want to discuss. Again, just as in McGraw,

the CAAF held that SrA Traum’s statement was ambiguous

23

because she did not rule out the possibility of discussing

other aspects of the case. By doing so, the CAAF committed

the same error recognized by the Sixth Circuit Court of

Appeals in McGraw.

The reasoning of the Court of Appeals for the Armed

Forces in this case is terribly flawed and the application of

such reasoning in other cases will only serve to completely

undermine the rights of suspects to selectively assert their

right to remain silent. By holding that an assertion of the

right to remain silent is ambiguous or equivocal simply

because a suspect agrees to discuss other details of an

investigation, the CAAF essentially negates the right to

selectively waive or assert the right to remain silent as

recognized by this Court in Mosley.

Under this line of reasoning, a suspect is essentially left

with only two choices with regard to their right to remain

silent when being interrogated: (1) refusing to answer any

questions about anything at all; or (2) being subjected to

unlimited questioning on any topic the investigator-choeses.

By equating a selective assertion of the right to remain silent

with an equivocal assertion of rights, the CAAF has placed

severe limitations on the power a suspect holds to selectively

invoke their right to silence. -

Under the CAAF reasoning, a police officer would rarely

be required to honor a suspect’s selective assertion of the

right to remain silent so long as that suspect has agreed to

discuss at least some aspect of the case with the interrogator.

The police could conclude that the assertion was equivocal in

nature and completely ignore the limitation. Certainly such a

result is inconsistent with this Court’s holding in Mosley.

In this case, by ignoring SrA Traum’s wishes regarding

the topic she did not want to discuss, the AFOSI agents

violated her Fifth Amendment right te remain silent. If

24

police and courts can now ignore selective waivers or

assertions of the right to remain silent simply because they

are selective, and therefore deemed equivocal, this Court’s

precedents will be greatly undermined.

For the reasons set forth above, this Court should grant

review of this issue and resolve the question of whether a

criminal suspect has the right under Mosiey to selectively

assert the right to remain silent by limiting questioning on

specific topics. The CAAF’s decision, if it is permitted to

stand, implies that any selective assertion of the right to

remain silent is necessarily an ambiguous assertion of that

right and therefore, the police have no obligation to

scrupulously honor that assertion of the Fifth Amendment

right to remain silent.

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, the petitioner respectfully

requests that this Court grant her petition for a Writ of

Certiorari.

November 2004

25

Respectfully submitted, —

L. MARTIN POWELL

Captain, U.S. Air Force

Counsel of Record

CARLOS L. McDADE

Colonel, U.S. Air Force

Counsel for Petitioner

TERRY L. McELYEA

Major, U.S. Air Force

Counsel for Petitioner

Appellate Defense Division

Air Force Legal Services Agency

112 Luke Avenue, Suite 343

Bolling AFB, DC 20032-8000

(202) 767-1562

—— ere -

la

Appendix A

UNITED STATES, Appellee

v.

Stephanie R. TRAUM, Senior Airman

U.S. Air Force, Appellant

No. 02-0885

Crim. App. No. 34225

United States Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces

Argued October 21, 2003

Decided August 24, 2004

BAKER, J., delivered the opinion of the Court in which

CRAWFORD, C.J., joined. GIERKE, J., filed an opinion

concurring in part and in the result which EFFRON, J.,

joined. ERDMANN, J., filed a separate opinion concurring

in part and in the result

Counsel

For Appellant: Lieutenant Colonel Craig S. Cook (argued);

Colonel Beverly B. Knott, Major Terry L. McElyea, and

Captain Kyle R. Jacobson (on brief); Captain Antony B.

Kolenc.

For Appellee: Captain C. Taylor Smith (argued); Colonel

LeEllen Coacher and Major John D. Douglas (on brief);

Lieutenant Colonel Robert V. Combs, Lieutenant Colonel

Lance B. Sigmon, Major Shannon J. Kennedy, and Major

Jennifer R. Rider.

2a

Judge BAKER delivered the opinion of the Court.

On September 17, 1999, contrary to her plea, Appellant

was convicted by general court-martial of the premeditated

murder of her infant daughter in violation of Article 118,

Uniform Code of Military Justice [hereinafter UCMJ], 10

U.S.C. § 918 (2000). The sentence, adjudged by a panel of

officer and enlisted members, provided for a dishonorable

discharge, confinement for life, forfeiture of all pay and

allowances, a reprimand, and reduction to the lowest enlisted

grade. Except for the reprimand, the convening authority

approved the sentence as adjudged: The Air Force Court of

Criminal Appeals affirmed the approved findings and

sentence in an unpublished opinion. United States v. Traum,

2002 CCA LEXIS 153, No. ACM 34225, slip op. (A.F. Ct.

Crim. App. June 28, 2002). We granted review to determine

whether Appellant's confession to Air Force Office of

Special Investigations (AFOSI) investigators should have

been suppressed, and whether the military judge allowed the

Government's expert witness to present inadmissible profile

evidence against Appellant.' For the reasons that follow, we

affirm.

' The granted issues are:

I. WHETHER APPELLANT'S STATEMENTS TO

SPECIAL AGENT KRAUS SHOULD HAVE BEEN

SUPPRESSED BECAUSE:

A. THE REQUEST BY AGENTS OF THE AFOSI

THAT APPELLANT SUBMIT TO A

POLYGRAPH EXAMINATION CONVERTED

THEIR DISCUSSION INTO OFFICIAL

QUESTIONING DURING WHICH

APPELLANT COULD INVOKE HER RIGHT

TO REMAIN SILENT; AND

3a

I.

The Confession of January 13

On the morning of December 21, 1998, base emergency

medical personnel received a phone call from Appellant

indicating that her eighteen-month old daughter Caitlyn was

not breathing. During the call, Appellant suggested that the

child might be having a seizure. Minutes later, medical

personnel arrived at Appellant's quarters and began to treat

the unresponsive child. The child was transported by

ambulance to the hospital where efforts to revive her

B. APPELLANT'S STATEMENT THAT SHE DID

NOT WISH TO DISCUSS THE EVENTS OF

THE NIGHT HER DAUGHTER DIED WAS

AN INVOCATION OF HER RIGHT TO

REMAIN SILENT, THUS REQUIRING THAT

THE AFOSI AGENTS SCRUPULOUSLY

HONOR HER REQUEST TO REMAIN

SILENT. ‘

Il. WHETHER THE MILITARY JUDGE COMMITTED

PREJUDICIAL ERROR BY ALLOWING’ THE

PROSECUTION EXPERT WITNESS, DR. COOPER, TO

TESTIFY AS TO INADMISSIBLE STATISTICAL

PROFILE EVIDENCE AND TO VOICE A MEDICAL

OPINION OF HOMICIDE LARGELY BASED UPON

APPELLANT'S CONDUCT.

Ill. WHETHER THIS COURT SHOULD ORDER NEW

POST-TRIAL PROCESSING WHERE THE STAFF

JUDGE ADVOCATE'S RECOMMENDATION

INCORRECTLY ADVISED THE CONVENING

AUTHORITY ON THE MAXIMUM AUTHORIZED

PUNISHMENT.

This third issue is resolved against Appellant in summary

fashion at the end of this opinion.

4a

continued. Despite the efforts of hospital personnel, Caitlyn

was pronounced dead shortly after arriving at the emergency

room. Appellant was home alone with the child at the time

the emergency call was made.

In the weeks following the child's death, AFOSI

investigators focused on Appellant as a homicide suspect.

On January 12, 1999, Appellant called AFOSI to inquire

about the status of the investigation of her daughter's death.

The agents expressed a desire to discuss the investigation

with Appellant at their office and she agreed to meet with

them the following morning.

When Appellant arrived at the AFOSI office on the

morning of January 13, she met with Special Agents (SA)

Engelman and Gage and requested an update on the

investigation. Appellant also informed them that she needed

a copy of her daughter's autopsy report and death certificate

in order to process her humanitarian reassignment. After

further “idle chit chat," SA Engelman asked Appellant if she

would be willing to take a polygraph. At first, Appellant

neither declined nor accepted the invitation to take the

polygraph. SA Engelman explained to Appellant that a

possible benefit of taking the examination might be to rule

her out as a suspect.

When asked again whether she was willing to take the

examination, Appellant replied that "she did not want to talk

about the details of the night of 20/21 December 1998." SA

Engelman subsequently explained to Appellant that it might

not be necessary to go into all of the details of that night, but

it might be necessary to go into some of the details. The

agent further explained that if Appellant still had concerns

with talking about the details of that night, she could raise

them with the polygrapher, SA Kraus. Appellant

acknowledged that she understood this information.

Following this discussion, Appellant accompanied SA

Kraus into a room to be interviewed and polygraphed. Prior

to asking any questions, SA Kraus administered Appellant's

5a

Article 31 rights and advisement. He also informed

Appellant that she-was not required to take the examination.

Appellant waived these rights and agreed to be polygraphed

and interviewed. There is no indication that at any time after

the rights advisement, Appellant expressed her earlier

concerns about discussing the details of the night of

December 20 or the morning of December 21 to SA Kraus or

anyone else.

After the polygraph examination, SA Kraus interviewed

Appellant. During this interview, Appellant disclosed that

she had killed Caitlyn by pushing the child's head into the

couch and suffocating her. Appellant reduced this

confession to writing and signed it. This written statement

recounts that Appellant "gently pressed Cait's head into the

couch" ostensibly to save Caitlyn from her father's abusive

ways. Appellant included in her statement that she decided

to take the child's life "around midnight on the 20 or 21st

Dec. 98." When asked why she smothered the child as

opposed to killing her in some other way, Appellant's written

response was, "I didn't want her to hurt." At the time of the

AFOSI interview, Appellant was a married, 25 year old E-4

with 6 1/2 years of service.

Prior to the trial on the merits, Appellant moved to

suppress her confession to SA Kraus. In her motion,

Appellant initially contended that because she was a suspect

on the morning of January 13, her Article 3] rights should

have been read prior to the agents engaging in any

conversation with her. For the purposes of this appeal,

Appellant has narrowed her claim to an assertion that SA

Engelman's question regarding taking a polygraph was

designed to elicit an incriminating response. Therefore,

according to Appellant, SA Engelman was required to warn

her of her Article 31 rights before asking this question.

Appellant also contends, as she did at trial, that her response

to SA Engelman's question that "she did not want to talk

about the details of the night of 20/21 December 1998" was

6a

an invocation of her Fifth Amendment right to remain silent.

Further, Appellant asserts that her invocation was

unequivocal and not honored, therefore, any statement taken

after Appellant's response to SA Engelman's question

regarding the examination was tainted and should have been

suppressed.

A. The Requirement to Warn under Article 31

Appellant asserts that the agent's request for her to take a

polygraph was either interrogation or a request for a

statement within the meaning of Article 31.

No person subject to the UCMJ may "interrogate, or

request any statement" from a person suspected of an offense

without first warning that person in accordance with Article

31(b). Article 31(b), UCMJ, 10 US.C. § 831 (2000).

Interrogation’ includes any formal or informal questioning

in which an incriminating response either is sought or is a

reasonable consequence of such questioning." Military Rule

of Evidence 305(b)(2)[hereinafter M.R.E.]; Rhode Island v.

Innis, 446 U.S. 291, 301, 64 L. Ed. 2d 297, 100 S. Ct. 1682

(1980). M.R.E. 305(b)(2) was broadly fashioned "to thwart

‘attempts to circumvent warnings requirements through

subtle conversations." United States v. Ruiz, 54 M.J. 138,

141 (C.A.A.F. 2000)(quoting S. Saltzberg et al., Military

Rules of Evidence Manual 225 (4th ed. 1997)). However,

interrogation involves more than merely putting questions to

an individual. Id.

We recognize that a request to take a polygraph may

arise in a variety of circumstances related to interrogation.

See Wyrick v. Fields, 459 U.S. 42, 74 L. Ed. 2d 214, 103 S.

Ct. 394 (1982); United States v. Applewhite, 23 M.J. 196

(C.M.A. 1987).2 In each instance, the question will be

? Each of these cases can be distinguished from the present

case. . Both involved the custodial interrogation of

individuals who had previously invoked their right to

counsel. In Wyrick, the Supreme Court reasoned that by

— —

7a

whether an incriminating response is sought or is the

reasonable consequence of the comment or remark. Of

course, a rights advisement prior to such a question would

remove the necessity for such analysis. Based on the context

in which SA Engelman asked Appellant whether she would

take a polygraph, we conclude that an incriminating response.

was not a reasonable consequence of SA Engelman's inquiry.

In our view, the "reasonable consequence" of SA Engelman's

question in the context presented was either yes or no.

Similarly, we agree with the conclusion reached by the Court

of Criminal Appeals that "no incriminating response from

the appellant was sought ...." Traum, 2002 CCA LEXIS

153 at *9, No. ACM 34225. The polygraph and its operator

were located in an adjacent room. SA Engelman's objective

requesting to take a polygraph the defendant had "initiated

dialogue with the authorities" such that interrogation could

resume. Wyrick v. Fields, 459 U.S. 42, 48, 74 L. Ed. 2d 214,

103 S. Ct. 394 (1982). In Applewhite, the focus was on

whether a previous invocation of the right to counsel had

been honored or whether it had been undermined. There, the

accused requested counsel, but investigators asked the

accused to take a polygraph. Several days later he appeared

prepared to do so. Prior to the examination he was

confronted with new as well as previous allegations of

wrongdoing. Whatever dicta may have been used in

resolving the issue in that case, there was no holding that the

mere request to take the polygraph was intended to elicit an

incriminating response. Rather, in the words of Judge Cox,

"After appellant invoked his right to counsel, the investigator

sought to circumvent the exercise of that right by requesting

appellant to take a polygraph examination." United States v.

Applewhite, 23 M.J. 196, 199 (C.M.A. 1987). Interrogation

of Applewhite occurred when he returned several days later

to actually take the examination. /d. Significantly,

Appellant in this case was neither in custody nor had she

invoked her right to counsel.

8a

was to encourage Appellant to take the polygraph not to ask

questions that might serve as an investigative substitute for

what the agents hoped to garner from the administration of

the polygraph exam. Thus, we conclude that an

incriminating response was neither sought nor was it a

reasonable consequence of SA Engelman's inquiry.

B. Right to remain silent

We next determine whether Appellant's response to SA

Engelman's question was an invocation of her right to

silence, and if so, whether that right was "scrupulously

honored." See Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436, 479, 16 L.

Ed. 2d 694, 86 S. Ct. 1602 (1966). While SA Engelman's

question was not interrogation as measured under Article 31,

Appellant could nonetheless invoke her Fifth Amendment

right to silence in response to the question. The right to

remain silent "protects against any disclosures that the

witness reasonably believes could be used in a criminal

prosecution or could lead to other evidence that might be so

used." Kastigar v. United States, 406 U.S. 441, 444-45, 32

L. Ed. 2d 212, 92 S. Ct. 1653 (1972). "Application of the

privilege is not limited to persons in custody or charged with

a crime; it may also be asserted by a suspect who is

questioned during the investigation of a crime." United

States v. Alameda, 57 M.J. 190, 199 (C.A.A.F. 2002). See

also Combs v. Coyle, 205 F.3d 269, 283 (6th Cir. 2000);

United States v. Brunson, 952 F.2d 1196, 1201 (10th Cir.

1991), cert. denied, 503 U.S. 997, 118 L. Ed. 2d 411, 112 S.

Ct. 1702 (1992); Coppola v. Powell, 878 F.2d 1562, 1568

(Ist Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 969, 107 L. Ed. 2d

383, 110 S. Ct. 418 (1989); United States ex rel. Savory v.

Lane, 832 F.2d 1011, 1017 (7th Cir. 1987).

This Court has established that "if the individual

indicates in any manner, at any time prior to or during

questioning, that he wishes to remain silent, the interrogation

must cease[.]" United States v. Sager, 36 M.J. 137, 145

(C.M.A. 1992)(quoting Miranda, 384 U.S. at 473). This

9a

important principle is incorporated in the Manual for Courts-

Martial as well. "If a person chooses to exercise the

privilege against self-incrimination . . . questioning must

cease immediately." M.R.E. 305(f)(1). Although no

particular words or actions are required to exercise one's

Fifth Amendment right to silence, we have held that its

invocation must be unequivocal before all questioning must

stop. Sager, 36 M.J. at 145; see United States v. Schake, 30

M.J. 314, 319 (C.M.A. 1990); see also Campaneria v. Reid,

891 F.2d 1014, 1021 (2d Cir. 1989), cert denied, 499 U.S.

949, 113 L. Ed. 2d 471, 111 S. Ct. 1419 (1991).

Appellant's response that "she did not want to talk about

the details of the night of 20/21 December 1998" did not

foreclose the possibility that she was willing to take the

polygraph and discuss other aspects of the investigation,

such as the child's medical history or the manner in which

Appellant cared for her child. Thus, Appellant's words did

not unequivocally invoke her right to remain silent.

SA Engelman; who was not assigned to administer the

polygraph, informed Appellant that she might not have to

talk about all the details of that night, but that she was free to

raise her concerns with the individual administering the

examination. The military judge found Appellant

understood this advice. Later at the interview with SA

Kraus, Appellant had the opportunity to do as SA Engelman

had advised. Instead, Appellant voluntarily decided to take

the examination. This decision was made after being

informed of, and waiving, her right to counsel and her right

to remain silent, as well as after being informed of her right

to refuse the polygraph examination. Based on these facts,

the military judge concluded that Appellant made an

informed decision to waive her rights before making any

admissions to SA Kraus and that her statement was

voluntary. We agree. Therefore, the military judge did not

abuse his discretion in admitting Appellant's confession.

10a

II

Expert Testimony at Trial

A. Background

The Government's case on the merits was comprised of

Appellant's confession, testimony from the emergency first

responders, the medical examiner, a forensic pediatrician,

and several witnesses who described Appellant's

inappropriate grief response.

Unsuccessful in its efforts to suppress the confession, the

defense proceeded at trial on the theory that Appellant's

statement of January 13 was the false product of the agents’

efforts to induce Appellant into making a statement. The

defense also suggested during its opening statement that the

child may have died as a result of a seizure; a possibility the

defense maintained could not be eliminated beyond a

reasonable doubt by the Government. Finally, the defense

attacked the credibility and competence of the Government's

medical examiner.

This issue focuses upon the testimony of the

Government's forensic pediatrician Dr. Cooper. Dr. Cooper

was called by the Government to discuss child abuse in

general and in the words of trial counsel, to help the

members understand how "parents can kill their children. "

The defense moved in limine to preclude the witness from

offering what it felt was inadmissible profile evidence and

evidence of parental behavior that should otherwise be the

subject of eyewitness rather than expert witness testimony.

1. The Article 39(a; session

At a session pursuant to Article 39(a), UCMJ, 10 U.S.C.

§ 839(a) (2000), Dr. Cooper presented her qualifications and

experience to the military judge.’ She then testified about

> Dr. Cooper previously served as the assistant chief of

pediatric service at Schofield Barracks, the chief of

lla

child abuse and maltreatment as it pertained to inflicted

injuries on children. During this session, trial counsel asked

Dr. Cooper how one arrives at a diagnosis of fatal child

abuse. The doctor responded in part:

The most important aspects are the history as

given by the family or whoever was in sole

custody of the child. This is just critically

important and there is no form of medicine,

typically, that proceeds without a history. . . .

And what is really critical in that history is

consistency of the history. If a physically

custodial person who presents with a child to an

emergency room environment gives a history

that, over that night or over the subsequent days

to weeks, changes, you have to be very

concerned regarding the fact that this may be an

inflicted injury.

The second thing we look at is the behavior

of the parents or whoever are the custodial

people. The behavior of the person taking care

of the child is very telling with respect to

whether or not they are exhibiting concern for

the well-being of the child. . . . The behavior and

demeanor of the parent or the custodial care

provider at the time the child presents to the -

hospital is an important fact and one which is to

be documented in the medical record.

pediatrics at Womack Army Medical Center, Deputy

Commander for clinical services, pediatric representative on

the Family Advocacy Case Management Team, instructor at

the Army Medical Education Department, and member of

the Department of Defense Child Fatality Review

Committee. At the time of trial, she was the primary

forensic pediatrician for Cumberland County.

12a

Finally, the physical examination, which

may reflect exactly what happened at the time

when you are in the emergency room

environment, but may actually, ultimately,

require the evaluation and determination of a

medical examiner. In certain types of child

maltreatment deaths, the physical examination

or the findings on the autopsy may not be one

hundred percent clear as to what has happened

to the child. This is particularly the case in

suffocation or asphyxiation type deaths... .

Dr. Cooper went on to explain that this — tripartite

methodology - history, parental/custodial behavior, and

examination - was relied on by "numerous specialists in the

field." She then named some of these "specialists," including

several forensic pediatricians whom Dr. Cooper described as

"well-known" authorities in their field as well as certain law

enforcement professionals.

Trial counsel then shifted the focus of Dr. Cooper's

testimony to the area of single episodes of child abuse versus

multiple episodes. Relying on a work by a Dr. James A.

Monteleone entitled Child Maltreatment (2d ed. 1998),

which Dr. Cooper considered an authoritative reference, she

testified that "in eighty percent of fatal child abuse cases, that

fatal event is the first time that that child has ever been

abused." Next, relying on a report by the Advisory Board on

Child Abuse and Neglect,” Dr. Cooper testified that

according to the report "the people most likely to kill

children are their biological parents - overwhelmingly so."

* The U.S. Advisory Board on Child Abuse and Neglect was

established under Pub. L. No.-100-294, section 103, of the

Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment Act, amendments of

1988. The report referenced by Dr. Cooper is entitled, A

Nation's Shame: Fatal Child Abuse and Neglect in the United

States (1995).

13a

Citing to professional literature in her field, Dr. Cooper

further testified that there are two different categories of

predisposing factors to child abuse and neglect - one

category pertaining to the child and one pertaining to the

adult. Regarding the category relevant to the child, Dr.

Cooper stated that "the leading cause of trauma death, now,

in the United States, for children under the age of four, is

child maltreatment." She then discussed the adult category

that included such factors as the presence of substance abuse,

the presence of biological parents as opposed to step-parents

and babysitters, and whether the child was in a military

family setting.

Finally, following Dr. Cooper's testimony pertaining to

the methodology that considers history, behavior, and

physical examination, trial counsel sought Dr. Cooper's

ultimate opinion as to Caitlyn Traum's cause of death.

Before doing so, however, trial counsel asked Dr. Cooper

what evidence and documents she reviewed in forming her

opinion. She stated that she reviewed Caitlyn's medical

records, Caitlyn's sister's medical records, and the

investigation reports that included Appellant's confession,

the emergency medical responses, Family Advocacy records,

and the autopsy reports. She then opined, "I feel that her

cause of death is homicide or an inflicted fatal child abuse."

Dr. Cooper added that she believed the child died as a result

of inadequate oxygen consistent with asphyxiation and that

Caitlyn "was asphyxiated through a suffocation method."

Her reasoning was as follows:

The reason that I believe that is, first of all, the

child died in a manner that cannot be explained

by Sudden Infant Death Syndrome or any other

obvious medical cause. . . . The second reason

that I believe this is the case is because the

history given by the custodial person-in this

case, her mother-varied from the time she talked

to the EMS personnel to the time that she talked

l4a

to the individuals at the hospital, a very key

element.

... She gave a different history as to what had

happened to the child. Whenever you see a

charige in history as to what has happened, that

is a very critically important element when

you're trying to decide if this is an accidental

versus inflicted injury. And then the third

reason that I believe this is because this child

had trauma to her upper lip. Now, I understand

that this patient underwent _ significant

resuscitation efforts, but I have most certainly

seen and evaluated suffocation victims-death

cases-where children were suffocated to death,

who had similar injuries to the inner aspect of

their upper lip.

Following the testimony presented at the Article 39(a)

session, defense counsel challenged Dr. Cooper's tripartite

methodology. The defense focused on Dr. Cooper's use of

the victim's history as well as her use of the behavior of the

custodial parent. Defense counsel also argued that Dr.

Cooper's consideration of Appellant's inconsistent history

regarding Caitlyn's condition amounted to an expert's

assessment of Appellant's credibility and was therefore

impermissible. Finally, the defense asserted that Dr.

Cooper's reliance on Appellant's alleged inappropriate grief

response was inadmissible character evidence because it

portrayed Appellant as a bad parent. While defense counsel

suggested that the doctor's opinion was based on only one

aspect of Appellant's conduct, her grieving reaction, Dr.

Cooper steadfastly insisted that this factor was merely one of

a number of factors considered in the "whole assessment

when you look at the history, behavior, physical examination

and autopsy finding.”

TT SE ee

15a

After taking Dr. Cooper's testimony at the Article 39(a)

session, the military judge heard argument from both sides as

to their view of the permissible parameters of Dr. Cooper's

testimony before the members. The military judge then

ruled that he would allow Dr. Cooper's testimony regarding

child abuse in general, her testimony regarding single

episode versus multiple episodes of child abuse, her

statement that biological parents are the most likely to fatally

abuse their children, and the factors relevant to history,

behavior, and physical examinations relied upon by experts

in diagnosing fatal child abuse. The military judge reasoned

that this testimony would be allowed because "it is

counterintuitive for a parent to kill their eighteen month old

child, based on the facts that have come out so far.”

The military judge also ruled that the expert would not be

allowed to testify regarding the so-called adult category of

predisposing factors of child abuse. The judge prohibited

such testimony because he felt it got into profile evidence

and ran “awfully close to the types of things that the courts

have found to be error." He also ruled that the witness would

not be allowed to testify about a typical grieving parent's

reaction as contrasted against that of a non-grieving parent.

The judge reached this decision because "the [M.R.E.] 403

[prejudice] aspect here outweighs the probative value for the

members."

Finally, the judge determined that Dr. Cooper would not

be permitted to render her opinion that the cause of death

was inflicted fatal child abuse. However, he did rule that the

witness could give her opinion that the cause of death was

non-accidental asphyxiation. After further discussion,

-defense counsel indicated that he understood the military

judge's ruling, but indicated his objection to the testimony

still stood. Thereafter, the military judge concluded the

Article 39(a) session.

2. Dr. Cooper's testimony before the members

l6a

During the trial before the members, trial counsel elicited

testimony from Dr. Cooper consistent with the rulings by the

military judge. In particular, she testified, "Overwhelmingly,

the most likely person to kill a child is going to be his or her

own biological parent." Dr. Cooper also testified that "if a

child is less than four years of age, the most common cause

of trauma death is going to be child maltreatment." The third

statement given before the members was, "Eighty percent of

children who die, die from a one-time event." After further

testimony relevant to various seizure disorders, sudden infant

death syndrome, means by which children accidentally

suffocate, and other aspects of fatal child abuse, Dr. Cooper

concluded her testimony with the following statement: "It is

my medical opinion that the cause of death for Caitlyn

Traum was asphyxiation of a non-accidental nature." There

was no cross-examination from the defense.

B. Discussion

Appellant challenges Dr. Cooper's testimony on two

grounds. First, Appellant asserts that three of Dr. Cooper's

opinions that were presented to the members constituted

profile evidence. In particular, the defense focused on these

statements:

"if a child is less than four years of age, the most

common cause of trauma death is going to be

child maltreatment";

_ "Eighty percent of children who die, die from a

one-time event"; and

"Overwhelmingly, the most likely person to kill

a child is going to be his or her own biological

parent."

Second, Appellant maintains that the military judge erred

in admitting Dr. Cooper's testimony because it was based on

Dr. Cooper's review of Appellant's behavicr in _ the

aia

17a

emergency room. We review Appellant's arguments in turn

to determine whether the military judge abused his discretion

in allowing all or part of Dr. Cooper's testimony. See United

States v. Houser, 36 M.J. 392, 397 (C.M.A. 1993).

1. Profile Evidence

Before expert testimony may be admitted, the following

factors must be established by the proponent of such

testimony:

(A) the qualifications of the expert, Mil.R.Evid.

702;[°] (B) the subject matter of the expert

testimony, Mil.R.Evid. 702; (C) the basis for the

expert testimony, Mil R.Evid. 703; (D) the legal

relevance of the evidence, Mil.R.Evid. 401 and

402; (E) the reliability of the evidence, United

States v. Gipson, 24 M.J. 246 (CMA 1987), and

Mil.R.Evid. 401; and (F) whether the ‘probative

value' of the testimony outweighs other

considerations, Mil.R.Evid. 403.

Houser, 36 M.J. at 397.

Expert testimony is admissible when "scientific,

technical, or other specialized knowledge will assist the trier

of fact to understand the evidence or to determine a fact in

issue[.]" M.R.E. 702. "The test is not whether the jury could

reach some conclusion in the absence of the expert evidence,

but whether the jury is qualified without such testimony ‘to

determine intelligently and to the best possible degree the

particular issue without enlightenment from those having a

specialized understanding of the subject[.]' Houser, 36 M.J.

at 398.

* At trial, the military judge accepted Dr. Cooper as an expert

in the field of forensic pediatrics without objection from

defense counsel. Thus, Dr. Cooper's qualifications are not in

issue on appeal.

NN eS

18a

In contrast, "generally, use of any characteristic 'profile'

as evidence of guilt or innocence in criminal trials. is

improper." United States v. Banks, 36 M.J. 150, 161 (C.M.A.

1992). See Brunson v. State, 349 Ark. 300, 79 S.W.3d 304,

313 (Ark. 2002)(rejecting testimony that the defendant met

eight of ten risk factors for batterers likely to kill);

Commonwealth v. Day, 409 Mass. 719, 569 N.E.2d 397, 400

(Mass. 1991)(child battering profile inadmissible); State v.

Clements, 244 Kan. 411, 770 P.2d 447, 454 (Kan.

1989)(finding evidence of psychology and treatability of a

child sexual offender inadmissible); United States v. Garcia,

25 M.J. 159 (C.M.A. 1987)(summary disposition)(rejecting

testimony that appellant's psychological profile was

consistent with a person who sexually abused children);

United States v. August, 21 M.J. 363 (C.M.A. 1986)

(rejecting a profile of the "usual" sexual child abuser);

Sanders v. State, 251 Ga. 70, 303 S.E.2d 13 (Ga. 1983)(state

cannot introduce evidence of battering parent syndrome);

State v. Loebach, 310 N.W.2d 58, 64 (Minn. 1981)(evidence

placing the defendant within the profile of a battering parent

inadmissible). Profile evidence is evidence that presents a

"characteristic profile" of an offender, such as a pedophile or

child abuser, and then places the accused's personal

characteristics within that profile as proof of guilt. United

States v. Rynning, 47 M.J. 420, 422 (C.A.A.F. 1998).

The question in this case is whether Dr. Cooper's

opinions constituted impermissible profile evidence or

whether they were admissible opinions of specialized

knowledge under M.R.E. 702.° Child abuse is an area where

* Appellant did not raise a challenge under Daubert regarding

the reliability of Dr. Cooper's methodology or her conclusion

of "non-accidental asphyxiation." See Daubert v. Merrell

Dow Pharms., Inc., 509 U.S. 579, 125 L. Ed. 2d 469, 113 S.

Ct. 2786 (1993). Therefore, we do not address what impact,

if any, a Daubert challenge would have had cn the scope and

content of Dr. Cooper's testimony.

19a

specialized knowledge regarding pediatric forensics and

child abuse may indeed be helpful to members. Children

incur all sorts of injuries as they move through infancy to the

toddler years and beyond. Thus, a panel might well benefit

from an understanding of the methodology doctors use to

determine the cause of an infant's injury. In the case of fatal

child abuse, the value of such specialized knowledge is

equally apparent. Such information helps members discern

the critical elements of testimony and place that testimony

within an analytic framework. This information may also

help disabuse members of preconceptions that might cloud

their ability to focus on the evidence presented as opposed to

preconceptions about the nature of the offense at issue. In

light of this predicate, we believe Dr. Cooper's first two

statements fall within the rubric of specialized knowledge

that is useful to the members in understanding the evidence

and determining a fact in question. This testimony was

given in the context of her general description of fatal child

abuse. Further, these particular statements relate to the

characteristics of the child victim in this case rather than

Appellant. Comparable evidence has been admitted in cases

involving rape trauma syndrome. See United States v.

Reynolds, 29 M.J. 105, 111 (C.M.A. 1989). Similarly,

evidence of battered child syndrome is often admitted to

show that a particular injury "is not accidental or is not

consistent with the explanation offered therefore but is

instead the result of physical abuse by a person of mature

strength." United States v. White, 23 M.J. 84, 87 (C.M.A.

1986).

As we explained in Banks, the ban on profile evidence

exists because this process treads too closely to offering

character evidence of an accused in order to prove that the

accused acted in conformity with that evidence on a certain

occasion and committed the criminal activity in question.

This, of course, is prohibited under M.R.E. 404(a)(1). See

Banks, 36 M.J. at 161. These two statements by Dr. Cooper

do not implicate that concern because they relate to the

20a

characteristics of the child victim in this case rather than

Appellant.

What we condemned in Banks was the Government's

construction of a syllogism "(major premise, minor premise,

and conclusion)" used in persuading the members that the

appellant was a child abuser. 36 MJ. at 162 n.11. In that

case, the Government, through its expert witness, presented

the major. premise that families with a profile of three

particular identified risk factors presented an increased risk

of child sexual abuse. The Government then established

through further testimony the minor premise that Banks and

his family fit this profile. Finally, the prosecution argued for

the conclusion that since the minor premise established the

major premise, the members could not help but decide that

Banks was a child abuser. We discern no such tactic in the

record of this case.

Testimony setting up a child battering profile must be

distinguished from testimony focusing on the characteristics

of a battered child. See Day, 569 N.E.2d at 400. See also

Myra S. Raeder, The Better Way: The Role of Batterers'

Profiles and Expert "Social Framework" Background in

Cases Implicating Domestic Violence, 68 U. Colo. L. Rev.

147, 160 (1997)(discussing the distinction between battered

wife syndrome and evidence of a batterer profile). The

former is irrelevant because it is not necessarily true that an

accused is a batterer just because the individual fits a certain

profile. However, the latter is often helpful in determining a

fact in issue. This is especially true when deciding, as in the

instant case, whether the child died from a seizure as posited

by the defense or whether she was suffocated as alleged by

the Government. We conclude Dr. Cooper's testimony was

the latter.

Dr. Cooper's third statement, "Overwhelmingly, the most

likely person to kill a child is going to be his or her own

biological parent," is more troubling. Following Dr.

Cooper's testimony and counsel's respective arguments at the

ONE ee a NE RE Tee

2la

Article 39(a) session, the military judge contextually culled

out the testimony he considered profile in nature.

Consequently, the military judge attempted to limit Dr.

Cooper's testimony to child characteristics of abuse like the

history of diagnosing child abuse, fatal versus nonfatal child

abuse, and single episode versus multiple episodes of abuse.

The judge barred Dr. Cooper from testifying regarding adult

characteristics of child abusers, like substance abuse, living

in a military environment, and the parent of an unplanned

pregnancy.

Nevertheless, Dr. Cooper's statement regarding

biological parents clearly reached both the characteristics of

the victim as well as the characteristics of the typical

offender. It is not enough to say that the Government did not

expressly place the accused within the statistic presented, for

the accused manifestly fit the statistical pattern presented

without the Government connecting the dots. Moreover,

while Dr. Cooper's testimony did not come in the form of

numeric probability, members might have been left with the

impression that if the testimony indicated Appellant's

daughter died as a result of child abuse, the probability

Appellant committed the offense was "overwhelming,"

regardless of what specific evidence was presented. In

essence, the statement placed a statistical probability on the

likelihood that Appellant committed the offense. Thus, we

conclude that it was impermissible profile evidence.

However, any error in admitting this statement was

harmless. First, the evidence was introduced after

Appellant's confession had been admitted and presented to

the members. Second, the critical question in this case was

whether the victim died by accidental or intentional

asphyxiation, not the identity of the perpetrator. Appellant

did not contest being alone with the victim at the time of the

child's injury.

2. Basis for the Expert's Opinion

22a

Appellant also argues that Dr. Cooper should not have

been allowed to give her ultimate opinion on the cause of

Caitlyn's death because it was not based solely upon medical

evidence, but also rested upon her subjective evaluation of

Appellant's grieving conduct. In particular, during the

Article 39(a) session, Dr. Cooper testified that when forming :

her opinions she considered the fact that Appellant gave

differing accounts regarding Caitlyn's condition to the 911

operator, the paramedics when they arrived at her quarters,

and to the hospital personnel when the child arrived at the

emergency room.

Dr. Cooper also considered certain statements Appellant

allegedly made to witnesses at the hospital as suggestive of

an uncharacteristic and inappropriate grief response. For

example, Appellant was alleged to have stated to one witness

who was trying to console her at the hospital, "I'm just glad I

saved the toy receipts." Traum, 2002 CCA LEXIS 153 at *4,

No. ACM 34225. When this witness commented that the

dead child had been a beautiful girl, Appellant stated, "She

really was mean. She was mean to her sister and really

active." 2002 CCA LEXIS 153 at *4. At root, Appellant

argues these remarks were observations lay persons could

observe and testify to without medical knowledge.

Therefore, Dr. Cooper's testimony was not based on

specialized medical knowledge, but ordinary lay

observations already offered to the members by nor-expert

witnesses.

An expert's opinion may be based upon other sources

such as "personal knowledge, assumed facts, documents

supplied by other experts," or the testimony of witnesses at

trial. Houser, 36 M.J. at 399; M.R.E. 703. Dr. Cooper's

testimony indicates that her opinions were not based solely

on Appellant's grieving reaction, but on a tripartite

methodology generally accepted as authoritative in the

forensic pediatric field. This methodology focuses on the

history of events leading to a child's condition, the behavior

;

23a

of the custodial caretaker, and the physical examination

reports including those from the autopsy. Further, the record

supports a conclusion that this methodology is relied or. by

experts in the field of forensic pediatrics. M.R.E. 703 2ilows

experts to rest their opinions on precisely this basis.

Therefore, it is clear Dr. Cooper's testimony was rooted in

more than lay observations regarding Appellant's conduct.

Moreover, it was the eyewitnesses and not Dr. Cooper who

testified to the members about Appellant's reactions in the

emergency room.

3. Probative Value

However relevant and reliable an expert's testimony

might be, such evidence "may be excluded if its probative

value is substantially outweighed by the danger of unfair

prejudice, confusion of the issues, or misleading the

members[.]". M.R.E. 403. The record indicates that the

military judge was acutely aware of the dangers of profile

evidence. It is worth noting the military judge's comment at

the time he made his ruling with regard to admission of Dr.

Cooper's testimony. The judge clearly considered the

expert's testimony balanced against "the facts that have come

out so far." When Dr. Cooper testified during the trial, the

members had already received Appellant's confession, the

testimony of the medical examiner, and the testimony of

various witnesses concerning statements Appellant made

indicating either a lack of grief or at best, an inappropriate

grief response. Further, the military judge culled out what he

thought was impermissible profiling of Appellant and

allowed opinions that were based on the professional

literature of the field of expertise and on a methodology

accepted by experts in that field. Finally, it is clear the

military judge understood the constraint of M.R.E. 403 when

he was determining what would or would not be allowed.

Based on this record, we cannot say the military judge

abused his discretion in weighing the probative value of the

24a

expert testimony against any prejudicial effect it might have

presented.

Ill

Life Without Possibility of Parole

Finally, Appellant takes issue with the advice given to

the convening authority by the staff judge advocate. The

advice given stated that the "maximum imposable sentence

for the offense of [premeditated murder] of which SrA

Traum was convicted is life imprisonment, without

eligibility for parole." SJAR, para. 6 (emphasis added).

Article 56a, UCMJ, 10 U.S.C. § 856a (2000), was enacted on

November 18, 1997. Appellant was sentenced on September

17, 1999. In light of our recent decision in United States v.

Ronghi, 60 M.J. 83 (C.A.A.F. 2004), life without eligibility

for parole was an authorized punishment at the time of

Appellant's trial.

Decision

The military judge did not abuse his discretion in

admitting the expert testimony or Appellant's confession,

nor, was there error in the post-trial processing of Appellant's

case. The decision of the United States Air Force Court of

Criminal Appeals is affirmed.

GIERKE, Judge, with whom EFFRON, Judge, joins

(concurring in part and in the result):

I agree with the majority on all issues except I(A),

concerning the necessity to provide rights warnings before a

law enforcement agent may ask a suspect to take a polygraph

examination.

Regardless of whether, as a general matter, such a

request is reasonably likely to elicit an incriminating

response, in this case it did not do so. Rather, all of

Appellant's incriminating statements were made only after

25a

Special Agent Kraus had informed Appellant of her rights

pursuant to Article 31, Uniform Code of Military Justice, 0

U.S.C. § 831 (2000), Miranda y. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436, 16

L. Ed. 2d 694, 86 S. Ct. 1602 (1966), and United States v.

Tempia, 16 C.M.A. 629, 37 C.M.R. 249 (1967), and after

Appellant waived those rights.

Voluntariness is the touchstone for determining a

subsequent statement's admissibility even where the suspect

has let the cat out of the bag in a previous unwarned but

voluntary statement. See United States v. Lichtenhan, 40

M.J. 466 (C.M.A. 1994). In this case, Appellant made no

incriminating statements before Special Agent Kraus gave

her a complete rights warning and obtained a waiver of those

rights. Because Special Agent Engelman's request resulted

in no taint, it did not affect the Appellant's admissions to

Special Agent Kraus. There is, therefore, no need to resolve

issue I(A). I reserve judgment on that legal issue.

ERDMANN, J. (concurring in part and in the result):

I agree with the majority on all issues other than the

nature of the three statements made by Dr. Cooper. In the

context of this case, these statements are improper profiling

evidence in that they characterized Senior Airman Traum as

a person who would both abuse and kill her natural child.

I recognize the distinction made by the majority between

testimony relating to the characteristics of a child victim and

the characteristics of an accused. However, testimony that in

isolation would not constitute "profiling" evidence may well

become "profiling" when heard in the context of a particular

case. This is such a case.

Before the members, Dr. Cooper first stated that "eighty

percent of children who die, die from a one[-]time event."

Because there was no evidence of prior abuse and unrefuted

evidence that Traum had been alone with her baby prior to

the death, this statement had the effect of rendering it 80%

26a

likely that Traum was the cause of the "one[-jtime event"

that resulted in her baby's death.

Dr. Cooper's next statement was that "if a child is less

than four years of age, the most common cause of trauma

death is going to be child maltreatment." The prosecution

had already established that the baby was under four, showed

evidence of physical trauma and was alone with Traum

during the time any trauma could have been inflicted. In

conjunction with the earlier evidence, this statement

identified the death as resulting from trauma and identified

Traum as the only person who could have inflicted the

trauma. These two conclusions were virtually inseparable

and the second is clearly beyond the realm of permissible

expert testimony.

As noted by the majority, Dr. Cooper's final statement is

certainly the most troublesome: "Overwhelmingly, the most

likely person to kill a child is going to be his or her own

biological parent." Contextualized, Dr. Cooper's statement

meant that Traum, as the biological parent, was

overwhelmingly the most likely person to have killed her

child. An expert may not testify that the accused committed

the crime being tried, and Dr. Cooper should not have been

permitted to do through presentation of "information or data"

that which she could not have done through direct testimony.

See United States v. Diaz, 59 M.J. 79, 92 (C.A.A.F.

2003)(noting "fundamental rule of law that experts may not

testify as to guilt or innocence"). |

— In United States v. Banks, 36 M.J. 150, 161 (C.M.A.

1992), this Court condemned "use of any characteristic

‘profile’ as evidence of guilt or innocence in criminal trials."

We defined the nature of such improper profile evidence to

go beyond character evidence per se:

Inadmissible profile evidence does no* merely

address a profile where the factors relate only to

a "character trait" of the accused. The factors in

27a

the profile may be any information or data so as

to place appellant in an alleged "group" of

persons who have committed offenses in the

past.

Id. at 163. While all three of Dr. Cooper's statements

constitute "profiling" evidence, taken together they certainly

could cause the members to classify Traum as a child abuser

and killer. Consistent with our holding in Banks, these

statements carry the danger of prejudice "greatly"

outweighing any probative value the information may have.

Id. at 161. Evidence such as this turns the trial of criminal

charges away from one of facts to "a litmus-paper test for

conformity with any set of characteristics, factors, or

circumstances." Id.

Finally, in this case the military judge admitted the three

statements because it was "counterintuitive" that a parent

would be involved in the death of his or her child. This

ruling reveals that the military judge admitted the evidence

not to show that the child's death was a crime, but to show

specifically that the parent was the perpetrator. The very

purpose for which the statements were admitted was to

identify Traum as one of a very limited group who would kill

her child based on probabilities and inferences rather than

upon the facts of the case.

Nevertheless, for the same reasons that the majority

found the error with respect to the admission of Dr. Cooper's

third statement to be harmless, I find that the error relating to

the admission of all three statements to be harmless.

Therefore, I join in affirming the decision of the court below.

28a

Appendix B

UNITED STATES AIR FORCE COURT OF CRIMINAL

APPEALS

UNITED STATES

Vv.

Senior Airman STEPHANIE R. TRAUM,

United States Air Force

ACM 34225

June 28, 2002, Decided

COUNSEL: For Appellant: Captain Shelly W. Schools

(argued), Colonel James R. Wise, Colonel Beverly B. Knott,

and Lieutenant Colonel Timothy W. Murphy.

For the United States: Major Jennifer R. Rider (argued),

Colonel Anthony P. Dattilo, Lieutenant Colonel Lance B.

Sigmon, and Lieutenant Colonel Bryan T. Wheeler.

JUDGES: Before YOUNG, BRESLIN, and HEAD,

Appellate Military Judges. Judge HATTRUP sat for oral

argument, but left the court without voting on this opinion.

Judge HEAD was substituted for Judge HATTRUP.

OPINION OF THE COURT

YOUNG, Chief Judge:

Officer and enlisted court members convicted the

appellant of the premeditated murder of her daughter, in

violation of Article 118, UCMJ, /0 U.S.C. § 918. he court

members sentenced the appellant to a dishonorable

29a

discharge, confinement for life, forfeiture of all pay and

allowances, reduction to E-1, and a reprimand. The

convening authority approved the adjudged sentence, except

ior the reprimand. The appellant assigns four errors: (1)

The appellant's oral and written admissions were obtained in

violation of Article 31, UCMJ, 1/0 U.S.C. § 831; (2) An

expert impermissibly opined that Caitlyn's death was "non-

accidental"; (3) The appellant deserved additional credit for

illegal pretrial punishment; and (4) This Court should order

new post-trial processing of the case. We heard oral

argument on the first two issues. We correct the military

judge's arithmetic in determining pretrial confinement credit.

Otherwise, we affirm.

I. The Facts

The appellant and her husband John married while both

were members of the Air Force. John separated from the

service so that duty assignments would not separate the

couple. At the time of the marriage, the appellant already

had a daughter, Dallas, from a previous relationship. The

couple had one child of their own, Caitlyn, who was 18

months old. The family moved into military quarters at the

Gunter Annex to Maxwell Air Force Base (AFB), Alabama,

but due to marital discord, the appellant later threw John out.

He moved in with a co-worker.

On 20 December 1998, John, the appellant, and the two

children went shopping for Christmas gifts and then went out

to dinner. When they returned home, John played with

Caitlyn while the appellant wrapped the Christmas gifts in

the bedroom. Dallas, who was 5 years old at the time, was

asleep on the sofa. John put Caitlyn on the sofa next to her

sister, turned the television on, and then returned to the

bedroom where he had sex with the appellant. When John

left the house at 2245, Caitlyn was sleeping peacefully on the

sofa.

The appellant and the children were scheduled to leave

the next day for a Christmas visit with her parents. At 0730

30a

on 21 December, the appellant called the childcare facility to

notify them that she was going on vacation and would not be

dropping the kids off. At approximately 0835, the appellant

telephoned emergency services to report that Caitlyn was not

breathing. When the paramedics arrived, Caitlyn's body was

cool to cold.

Despite the efforts of paramedics and physicians, they

could not revive Caitlyn. She was pronounced dead at 0944

at the hospital. Major Stamnas, one of Caitlyn's treating

physicians, advised the appellant and John that their baby

was dead, and asked if there was anything he could do for

them. The appellant did not cry at the news of her daughter's

death. She told Major Stamnas that she wanted orders "out

of here.” A hospital social worker talked to the Traums to

see if she could help them in their grief. She put her arm

around the appellant and told her she was "so sorry that this

has happened." The appellant looked at the social worker

and said, "I'm just glad I saved the toy receipts." The

appellant repeated this statement and then talked about

insurance and a burial place. The social worker invited the

Traums to spend a few moments with Caitlyn before the

body was sent to the morgue. John went, but the appellant

declined to go. "I've already seen her. I don't want to see

her." The social worker told them that she had seen Caitlyn

and that she was a beautiful girl. The appellant replied, "She

really was mean. She was mean to her sister and really

active."

While at the emergency room (ER), the appellant again

telephoned the child care center and told them that Caitlyn

was dead. She also notified her insurance company.

At trial, the prosecution introduced evidence that, while

attending leadership school, the appellant referred to John as

her ex-husband, even though they were still married.

Approximately one month before Caitlyn died, the appellant

told members of her leadership school class that she loved

3la

one of her kids less than the other "because it looked like her

ex-husband."

II. The Admissions

On 12 January 1999, the appellant telephoned agents of

the Air Force Office of Special Investigations (AFOSI) to

inquire about the status of the investigation into Caitlyn's

death. The agents asked if they could discuss it at their

office. She agreed to visit the AFOSI on 13 January.

The appellant arrived at the AFOSI office at

approximately 0830, where she met Special Agents Gage

and Engleman. She asked them about the status of the

investigation. They told her the results of the autopsy were

pending and they had interviewed a number of witnesses.

She claimed she was interested in getting the autopsy report

and death certificate so her unit could process a humanitarian

reassignment. The agents also discussed with the appellant

their relationship with the Alabama State Medical

Examiner's Office, the condition of her other daughter,

Dallas, and the appellant's interest in computers. The

agent's then asked her if she would be willing to take a

polygraph. Special Agent (SA) Engleman explained that the

polygraph could eliminate her as being involved in Caitlyn's

death and could speed up the processing of the death

certificate. The appellant said that she did not want to

discuss the details of the night her daughter died. SA

Engleman told her that the polygrapher, SA Kraus, would

only be interested in some key details and that she could

raise her concerns with him. SA Kraus entered the room and

was introduced to the appellant. After a couple of minutes of

small talk, the appellant agreed to talk to SA Kraus.

SA Kraus and the appellant moved into another room.

SA Kraus advised the appellant that she was suspected of

causing the death of Caitlyn and of her rights to counsel and

to remain silent. The appellant waived her rights and agreed

to be interviewed and polygraphed. She did not indicate any

hesitancy in talking to SA Kraus, or in taking the polygraph,

32a

then or any other time during the interview. She never

invoked her right to remain silent or her right to have an

attorney.

The appellant ultimately admitted to SA Kraus that she

killed Caitlyn. At trial, the military judge denied the defense

motion to suppress the confession, and evidence of the

appellant's admission was presented to the court members.

The appellant alleges that her statement to SAs Gage and

Engleman, that she did not want to discuss the details of 20-

21 December, "constituted a clear and unequivocal exercise

of her right to remain silent." She asserts that SA Engleman

lied "by advising her that she would not ‘necessarily’ need to

discuss the details of that evening." The appellant avers that

this lie was an unlawful inducement and the military judge

erred by failing to suppress the resulting admissions.

Generally, an involuntary statement "may not be received

in evidence against an accused who made the statement if the

accused makes a timely motion to suppress." Mil. R. Evid.

304(a). A statement is involuntary if, inter alia, it was

obtained in violation of the accused's rights under Article 31,

UCMJ, 10 U.S.C. § 831, or is the product of unlawful

inducement. Mil. R. Evid. 304(c)(3).

A person . . . who is required to yive warnings

under Article 31 may not interrogate or request

any statement from . . . a person suspected of an

offense without first: (1) informing [her] of the

nature of the accusation; (2) advising [her of]

the right to remain silent; and (3) advising [her]

that any statement made may be used as

evidence against [her] in a trial by court-martial.

Mil. R. Evid. 305(c). An interrogation "includes any formal

or informal questioning in which an incriminating response

either is sought or is a reasonable consequence of such

questioning.” Mil. R. Evid. 305(b)(2). See Rhode Island v.

33a

Innis, 446 U.S. 291, 300-01, 64 L. Ed. 2d 297, 100 S. Ct.

1682 (1980).

If an accused alleges her confession was involuntary

because she was denied her right to counsel, we review the

military judge's decision to admit the confession for an abuse

of discretion. United States v. McLaren, 38 M.J. 112, 116

(C.M.A. 1993) (applying an abuse of discretion standard).

If, however, an accused asserts that her confession was

involuntary because of coercive police activity, we review

the issue de novo. United States v. Bubonics, 45 M.J. 93, 94

(1996) (citing Arizona v. Fulminante, 499 U.S. 279, 287, 113

L. Ed. 2d 302, 111 S. Ct. 1246 (1991)).

When SA Gage and SA Engleman met with the

appellant, they did not interrogate her within the meaning of

Mil. R. Evid. 305(b)(2). The agents met with the appellant at

her request--she wanted an update on the status of the case

and assistance in moving the autopsy to completion so that a

death certificate could be issued. No incriminating response

from the appellant was sought, obtained, or was reasonably a

consequence of the discussions. Under the circumstances,

asking the appellant if she would be willing to take a

polygraph was not an interrogation and did not require

Article 31 warnings. Cf McNeil v. Wisconsin, 501 U.S. 171,

182, 115 L. Ed. 2d 158, 111 S. Ct. 2204 n.3 (1991) (noting

Supreme Court has "never held that a person can invoke his

Miranda rights anticipatorily, in a context other than

‘custodial interrogation’). As the appellant was a suspect

and SA Kraus was seeking an incriminating response, he was

required to warn her of her rights prior to administering the

polygraph. That is what he did. Furthermore, the appellant's

statement that she did not want to discuss all the details of

what happened on 20-21 December was not an "unequivocal

invocation of her right to remain silent." She agreed to talk

to the polygrapher; she just wanted to be able to limit what

she would talk about. SA Gage and SA Engleman did not

unlawfully induce the appellant to make any statements.

34a

They told her the truth; she could limit the discussion, if she

so wished. She merely had to explain to the polygrapher the

conditions on her willingness to be interviewed. The

military judge did not err in refusing to suppress the

appellant's admissions.

III. The Expert's Opinion

Prior to trial, the appellant moved the court to exclude

the testimony of Dr. Sharon Cooper, a forensic pediatrician.

After an extensive and hotly litigated hearing, the military

judge denied the motion, but severely limited the scope of

Dr. Cooper's testimony. The appellant asserts the military

judge abused his discretion by permitting Dr. Cooper to

testify that Caitlyn's death was the result of non-accidental

asphyxiation because "the conclusion was based, in part, on

the expert's credibility assessment of appellant, and the use

of impermissible profile evidence, rather than objective

medical findings."

In the evidentiary hearing, Dr. Cooper testified that there

are three factors to consider in diagnosing fatal child abuse:

(1) the history of the complaint and any medical treatment

provided--including whether the childcare providers change

their stories and whether there was any delay in seeking

medical treatment; (2) whether the behavior of the caregiver

shows the appropriate concern for the child--including

appropriate grieving in cases of death; and (3) the physical

examination on presentation at the hospital and the autopsy.

She opined that Caitlyn died as a result of asphyxiation by

suffocation. Her opinion was based on the following facts:

(a) The death could not be explained by other medical

causes; (b) The history the appellant provided to EMT

personnel was inconsistent with what she provided to the

hospital staff; and (c) The trauma to Caitlyn's upper lip,

discovered during the autopsy, was similar to that found in

other child suffocation cases she had examined. Although

she did not specify it as a factor on which she based her

conclusion that Caitlyn's death was non-accidental, Dr.

35a

Cooper noted that the appellant's grieving response was

inappropriate. Dr. Cooper specifically rejected the efforts of

the defense counsel to suggest that a diagnosis of child abuse

should be made on any of the factors individually.

Dr. Cooper limited her testimony to the scope permitted

by the military judge. Dr. Cooper never testified before the

members that she based her conclusion that Caitlyn's death

was non-accidental on the appellant's credibility or on profile

evidence. Thus, it appears that the appellant is now trying to

attack Dr. Cooper's testimony as being based on

impermissible factors.

A witness with scientific, technical, or other specialized

knowledge is allowed to testify if her testimony will "assist

the trier of fact to understand the evidence or to determine a

fact in issue." Mil. R. Evid. 702. In providing an opinion,

an expert may rely on information made known to her. If the

facts or data made known to her are of the "type reasonably

relied upon by experts in the particular field in forming

opinions . . ., the facts or data need not be admissible in

evidence." Mil. R. Evid. 703. Otherwise admissible expert

testimony is "not objectionable because it embraces an

ultimate issue to be decided by the trier of fact." Mil. R.

Evid. 704.

The proponent of expert testimony must establish, inter

alia, the qualifications of the expert, the basis of the expert

testimony, the legal relevance of the evidence, and the

reliability of the evidence. United States v. Houser, 36 M.J.

392, 397 (C.M.A. 1993). Even then, the evidence is not

admissible unless the military judge determines that the

probative value of this evidence is not substantially

outweighed by the danger of unfair prejudice. Jd. at 399-400

(citing Mil. R. Evid. 403).

We will not overturn the military judge's decision on the

admission of expert testimony unless we are convinced he

abused his discretion. United States v. Raya, 45 M.J. 251,

252 (1996). Because of our statutory authority to "determine

36a

controverted questions of fact" under Article 66(c), UCMJ,

10 U.S.C. § 866(c), we are not required to defer to the

military judge's findings of fact. However, we normally do

so unless they are clearly erroneous. See United States v.

Vaughters, 42 M.J. 564, 566 (A.F. Ct. Crim. App. 1995).

We review his conclusions of law de novo. United States v.

Ayala, 43 M.J. 296, 298 (1995).

Generally, it is error to admit evidence that tends to show

that the typical perpetrator of a criminal offense has certain

characteristics and that this particular accused fits a "profile"

that is consistent with that of the typical perpetrator. United

States v. Banks, 36 M.J. 150, 161 (C.M.A. 1992) (citing

United States v. Garcia, 25 M.J. 159 (C.M.A. 1987)

(summary disposition); United States v. August, 21 M.J. 363,

364 (C.M.A. 1986)). An expert witness is not permitted to

act as a human lie detector for the court-martial. United

States v. Birdsall, 47 M.J. 404, 410 (1998). But, Dr. Cooper

neither acted as a human lie detector nor tried to establish

that the appellant fit the typical profile of a child abuser.

In her testimony before the members, Dr. Cooper started

by explaining the different types of child maltreatment--

neglect, physical abuse, sexual abuse, and emotional abuse.

She noted that studies showed that in 80 percent of fatal

child abuse incidents there was no previous history of such

abuse and that children are statistically more likely to be

killed by their biological parents than by a stranger. Dr.

Cooper then testified that, in performing a fatality review in

an infant death, there were basically three considerations in

determining the cause of death: (1) the autopsy; (2) social

service information, such as information about the family

and school history, if any; and (3) the crime scene report

done by law enforcement, if any. On the other hand, if a

child is presented to an ER dead, physicians would look at

matters a little differently: (1) the history provided by the

child care provider; (2) the behavior of the persons who

brought the child to the ER; and (3) the physical examination

37a

and subsequent autopsy of the child. Dr. Cooper never

explained these factors in detail or correlated the facts of the

appellant's case to those factors, nor did she provide any

opinion as to whether the appellant was the likely source of

injuries that caused Caitlyn's death.

Dr. Cooper explained that the most common causes of

child deaths were SIDS (sudden infant death syndrome),

child abuse, and accident. She stated that SIDS normally

occurs in children under the age of 6 months. She ruled out

several different conditions "known to shorten the life-span,"

such as seizure disorders and infections, as causing Caitlyn's

death. She next explained the four different types of

asphyxiation--suffocation, strangulation, overlying, and

chemical. After going over the evidence of the case, she

eliminated each type with the exception of suffocation. She

then turned her attention to whether the suffocation was

accidental or non-accidental. Dr. Cooper briefly explained

the process of suffocation, noting the length of time

necessary to die of suffocation and the fact that a person,

even a child, would struggle mightily to avoid suffocation.

Based on her review of the evidence, Dr. Cooper opined that

Caitlyn's death was as a result of non-accidental suffocation.

The appellant contends that Dr. Cooper's conclusion was

based on impermissible evidence. She asserts that

"inconsistent histories and improper grieving response--are

nothing more than profile evidence." We disagree.

Evidence that an accused fits an incriminating profile is

inadmissible under Mil. R. Evid. 404(a),

not because it is irrelevant, but because it is so

weighty that it might prevent the finders of fact

from considering the other more important

historical evidence in the case. Bad general

character evidence has the tendency of

encouraging finders of fact to convict because of

38a

the accused's extrinsic conduct as opposed to his

charged conduct.

Stephen A. Saltzburg [*17] et al., Military Rules of Evidence

Manual 524 (4th ed. 1997) (citing Michelson v. United

States, 335 U.S. 469, 93 L. Ed. 168, 69 S. Ct. 213 (1948)).

The rule should not bar profile evidence that is not itself

likely to arouse sympathy or hostility. 1 John W. Strong ei

al., McCormick on Evidence § 206 (Sth ed. 1999). Dr.

Cooper's testimony, that there was no previous history of

abuse in 80 percent of the fatal child abuse incidents and that

children are statistically more likely to be killed by their

biological parents than by strangers, are such facts. This

testimony was relevant to explain to court members

counterintuitive facts--parents actually kill their own

children, and there isn't necessarily a history of abuse prior to

the killing. Neither of these facts was likely to arouse

hostility toward the appellant.

We also reject the appellant's argument that Dr. Cooper's

testimony, which was based on "inconsistent histories and

improper grieving response," was improper because it was

"nothing more than profile evidence." Dr. Cooper did not

rely on the appellant's character to determine the cause of

death. Instead, she relied on the medical evidence and

appellant's conduct after the death. This conduct--providing

inconsistent histories of the period surrounding the death and

a grieving response that was outside that normally seen in

parents whose child dies--was relevant evidence, both to Dr.

Cooper's evaluation of the cause of death and the court

members’ determination of the charge against the appellant.

The evidence had the tendency to establish that the appellant

killed her infant daughter.

The military judge did not err in permitting Dr. Cooper to

testify. He appropriately limited her testimony before the

members. But, that did not mean she could not rely on the

information not admitted into evidence as a basis for her

39a

opinions. See Mil. R. Evid. 703. Dr. Cooper provided

sufficient foundation to establish that the consistency of the

history and the behavior of the childcare provider are factors

forensic pediatricians consider in reaching a conclusion on

the cause of a child's death.

We reject the defense contention that Dr. Cooper acted as

a human lie detector. She was not concerned with which of

the histories of the incident recited by the appellant was

accurate. Her conclusion that foul play may have been

involved was based on the fact that there were

inconsistencies.

IV. Pretrial Punishment Credit

At trial, the appellant moved the court to order her

release from pretrial confinement and to award additional

confinement credit because of illegal pretrial punishment.

The military judge refused to release the appellant from

pretrial confinement, but awarded her additional confinement

credit because of her maximum custody status and the

conditions of her pretrial confinement. The appellant claims

the military judge failed to award her sufficient credit for the

illegal punishment. As the appellant was sentenced to

confinement for life, any credit for illegal pretrial

punishment will only affect the date she becomes eligible for

parole. Of course, we could still consider any illegal pretrial

punishment in determining whether the appellant's sentence

is appropriate.

A. Facts

The appellant was ordered into pretrial confinement on

13 January 1999, immediately after she confessed to

suffocating Caitlyn. She was placed in maximum custody at

the Maxwell AFB confinement facility. On 15 January, the

pretrial confinement reviewing officer determined continued

pretrial confinement was appropriate. On 19 January, the

appellant's defense counsel complained to the staff judge

advocates (SJA) of both the special and general court-martial

40a

convening authorities about the appellant's maximum-

security status. The appellant's custody status was not

changed.

On 21 January, the defense counsel asked the convening

authority to order a sanity board to evaluate the appellant's

mental health. The sanity board was conducted at Lackland

AFB, Texas, from 8-13 February. The appellant was held in

maximum custody in the Lackland AFB confinement facility

during this period.

On 12 March, the defense asked that the appellant's

custody status be downgraded from maximum to medium-in.

By letter dated 15 March, the Security Forces commander,

Lieutenant Colonel (Lt Col) Simmons, denied the request.

Lt Col Simmons admitted that the appellant did not,

"technically," meet the criteria for maximum custody status —

outlined in Air Force Instruction (AFI) 31-205, The Air

Force Corrections System P 27.1 (16 April 1997). He

asserted that he needed to consider many factors in

determining an inmate's custody status, including

"indications of emotional instability or disturbance,

irresponsibility, prior escapes, AWOLs, maturity, degree and

severity of offense, and charges still pending. On the other

hand, you should also consider an inmate's history of

emotional stability and demonstrated sense of productive

work." App. Ex. XXIX, Atch 5 (quoting Air Force Pamphlet

(AF Pam) 31-221, Air Force Corrections Program § B2.3.1

(31 Mar 1995) (emphasis in Lt Col Simmons ' letter)). Lt Col

Simmons did not explain how these factors applied to the

appellant, other than that, "Regardless of how it was done,

the alleged offense was not an accident, and therefore is an

act of violence." /d. (emphasis in original).

On 17 March, at the request of the Chief, Military

Justice, at the base legal office, the defense submitted a letter

from the Chief, Life Skills Clinic, stating that the appellant

was not then a serious danger to herself. On 26 March, the

defense counsel renewed his request, to the base staff judge

4la

advocate (SJA) and Lt Col Simmons, that the appellant's

custody status be downgraded. He attaehed the 17 March

letter from the Chief, Life Skills Clinic. On 22 April, the

defense counsel wrote to the base SJA, Lt Col Simmons, and

the Air University (GCM) SJA complaining that he had not

received a response to his earlier requests that the appellant's

custody status be downgraded. It appears from the record

that these requests also went unanswered.

At a pretrial hearing on 4-5 June 1999, conducted

pursuant to Article 39(a), UCMJ, 10 U.S.C. § 839(a), Lt Col

Simmons testified that he considered three issues in

determining the custody classification of a prisoner: (1)

whether—the individual is a flight risk; (2) whether the

individual is a risk to herself or others; and (3) whether the

individual is at risk of injury from others. He decided

maximum security status was appropriate for this appellant

for the following reasons: (1) The appellant and her husband

had a history of domestic disputes, he remained in the area

and, since the child was dead, he could be a possible source

of danger for the appellant; and (7) Based on her situation-

and the nature of the pending charg: 2, the appellant could be

a risk to herself as well as a flight risk.

The military judge determined that maximum custody

status was not appropriate after 26 March 1999:

I note that, by that time, she had been in pretrial

confinement for over 2 months; she had traveled

to and from Lackland without a problem; she

had been exercising outside her cell on a daily

basis since the end of January; she had attended

the Article 32 hearing in this case; she had met

with her counsel as needed, made phone calls,

received visitors. In short, by that time she had

demonstrated that maximum-custody was no

longer needed.

42a

Although he ruled that the government did not intend to

punish the appellant by the conditions of her confinement,

the judge found four specific actions of which the appellant

complained amounted to a violation of Article 13, UCMJ, 10

U.S.C. § 813, for which she was entitled to credit against her

confinement:

(1) One days’ credit for each of three weekly phone calls

for which the government could provide no legitimate reason

the appellant was not permitted to make--a total of 3 days’

credit.

(2) One days’ credit for each of three days the appellant

spent wearing the same colored jumpsuit as a post-trial

confinee--a total of 3 days’ credit.

(3) Eight days’ credit for the failure of the government to

permit the appellant to get her hair cut to conform to Air

Force regulations between | April and 2 June 1999.

(4) Two and one-half days' credit for each day the

appellant was in maximum custody, from 26 March through

4 June 1999--a total of 177.5 days' credit (the military judge

incorrectly estimated the total credit for this particular

violation of Article 13, UCMJ, as being 190 days).

B. The Law

Article 13, UCMJ, 10 U.S.C. § 813 prohibits punishment

before trial.

No person, while being held for trial, may be

subjected to punishment or penalty other than

arrest or confinement upon the charges pending

against him, nor shall the arrest or confinement

imposed upon him be any more rigorous than

the circumstances required to insure his

presence, but he may be subjected to minor

punishment during that period for infractions of

discipline.

43a

"By its terms and clear implications, Article 13 prohibits

two types of activities involving the treatment of an accused

prior to trial." United States v. McCarthy, 47 M.J. 162, 165

(1997). First, it prohibits the imposition of punishment or

penalty prior to trial. Second, it proscribes infliction of

unduly rigorous circumstances during pretrial detention. /d.

See United States v. Fricke, 53 M.J. 149, 154 (2000), cert.

[*25] denied, 531 U.S. 993, 148 L. Ed. 2d 457, 121 S. Ct.

484 (2000); United States v. Allen, 33 M.J. 209, 214 (C.M.A.

1991).

"Whether particular conditions amount to punishment

before trial is a matter of intent, which is determined by

examining the purposes served by the restriction or

condition, and whether such purposes are ‘reasonably related

to a legitimate governmental objective." United States v.

Palmiter, 20 M.J. 90, 95 (C.M.A. 1985) (quoting Bell v.

Wolfish, 441 U.S. 520, 539, 60 L. Ed. 2d 447, 99 S. Ct. 1861

(1979)). "In the absence of a showing of intent to punish, a

court must look to see if a particular restriction or condition,

which may on its face appear to be punishment, is instead

but an incident of a legitimate nonpunitive governmental

objective." Jd. (quoting Wolfish, 441 U.S. at 539 n.20)

(alteration in original). -

If a particular condition or restriction of pretrial

detention is reasonably related to a legitimate

governmental objective, it does not, without

more, amount to "punishment." Conversely, if a

restriction or condition is not reasonably related

to a legitimate goal--if it is arbitrary or

purposeless--a court permissibly may infer that

the purpose of the governmental action is

punishment that may not constitutionally be

inflicted upon detainees qua detainees.

Wolfish, 441 U.S. at 539 (footnote omitted).

44a

At trial, an accused bears the burden of proving, by a

preponderance of the evidence, that the conditions of her

confinement constituted illegal pretrial punishment. See Rule

for Courts-Martial (R.C.M.) 905(c)({1) and (2); United States

v. Mosby, 56 M.J. 309, 310 (2002). On appeal, claims of

illegal punishment qualify for independent review.

McCarthy, 47 M.J. at 165. But, the appellant still bears the

burden of establishing by a preponderance of the evidence

that she was entitled to additional confinement credit.

Mosby, 56 M.J. at 310. On questions of "basic, primary, or

historical facts," such as the conditions of the confinement

and whether there was intent to punish, appellate courts

normally defer to the trial judge. McCarthy, 47 M.J. at 165.

We will not overturn his findings unless they are clearly

erroneous. Mosby, 56 M.J. at 310 (citing United States v.

Smith, 53 M.J. 168, 170 (2000)). But, whether a person was

subjected to illegal punishment is a matter we review de

novo. /d.

C. Discussion

The appellant's main complaint concerned consequences

of being in maximum custody status. She was not singled

out for special treatment. She was treated in accordance with

the rules applicable to any maximum custody grade inmate.

The appellant's other complaints, concerning the missed

telephone calls, having to wear the same uniform as a

sentenced prisoner for 3 days, and not being able to get her

hair cut, were de minimis and did not warrant pretrial

punishment credit. See United States v. Corteguera, 56 M.J.

330 at 334; Fricke, 53 M.J. at 155 (citing Wolfish, 441 U.S.

at 539 n.21).

We accept the military judge's findings concerning the

conditions of the appellant's confinement and the lack of

intent by government officials to punish her prior to trial.

They are not clearly erroneous. See Mosby, 56 M.J. at 310.

There is no evidence that the conditions imposed on

confinees in maximum custody status were intended as

45a

punishment or were not "reasonably related to a legitimate

governmental objective.". United States v. James, 28 M.J.

214, 216 (C.M.A. 1989) (quoting Wolfish, 441 U.S. at 539).

See McCarthy, 47 M.J. at 165. Therefore, our review is

limited to whether the assignment of the appellant to

maximum custody status is reasonably related to. a

"legitimate governmental objective." If it is not, we may

infer that her assignment to maximum custody status was

intended as punishment. Wolfish, 441 U.S. at 539.

The appellant concedes that maximum custody status

was appropriate from the inception of her pretrial

confinement (13 January) until 29 January. But, on 21

January, the defense requested a sanity board. It is difficult

to imagine how a decision to retain in maximum custody

status an accused charged with murder, whose sanity and

competence has been called into question by her own

attorneys, can be labeled "arbitrary or purposeless." Jd.

Furthermore, the fact that the appellant later was found to be

competent and sane does not revise the facts known to the

confinement authorities at the time of classification. See

McCarthy, 47 M.J. at 168.

The appellant failed to establish that, by assigning her to

maximum custody status, the confining authorities intended

to punish her or that the decision was so arbitrary or

purposeless as to permit an inference that her custody

classification was meant as punishment.

D. The Credit

Although not raised by the appellant, we note that the |

military judge made a mathematical error in determining the

appellant's confinement credit. He determined she was

entitled to 307 days' credit towards any sentence to

confinement. The SJA recommended the convening

authority give the appellant "administrative credit for having

served 307 days as directed by the military judge." In his

action, the convening authority "credited" the appellant with

"307 days for pretrial confinement against the sentence to

Speen

46a

confinement." But see Air Force Instruction 51-201,

Administration of Military Justice P 9.8.3 (2 Nov 1999)

(requiring convening authority to note in his action only

illegal pretrial confinement).

Based on the military judge's rulings, we find the

following is the appropriate pretrial confinement credit:

(1) Days for the miscellaneous minor infractions 14

(2) Credit for days illegally in maximum custody 108

(72 days x 1 1/2)

(3) Credit for days in pretrial confinement - 246

(See United States v. Allen, 17 M.J. 126

(C.M.A. 1984)

Total 368

As the Allen credit is applied automatically by the

confinement facility, the convening authority's action need

only account for the 122 days of illegal pretrial punishment.

AFI 51-201 P 9.8.3. |

V. Post-Trial Processing

The appellant asks this Court to order new post-trial

processing for the following reasons: (1) The staff judge

advocate's recommendation (SJAR) incorrectly advised the

convening authority that the maximum punishment was life

without parole; (2) There was no addendum to the SJAR; (3)

There is no evidence that the convening authority either

received or considered the appellant's clemency submissions;

and (4) The record of trial is missing four pages from the

clemency submissions.

A. Confinement for Life without Parole

A court-martial may adjudge a sentence of confinement

for life without eligibility for parole in any case in which

confinement for life may be adjudged. Article 56a, UCMJ,

I0 U.S.C. § 856a. However, a court-martial may not

47a

adjudge a sentence that exceeds "such limits as the President

may prescribe for the offense." Article 56, UCMJ, 10 U.S.C.

§ 856. The appellant contends that life without the eligibility

for parole is not an authorized punishment until the President

specifically adopts it.

A military member convicted of premeditated murder

"shail suffer death or imprisonment for life as a court-martial

may direct." Article 118(4), UCMJ, 10 U.S.C. § 918(4).

Life without eligibility for parole is a lesser sentence than

death. Although the case was referred to a court that was not

authorized to adjudge death, neither the President nor the

convening authority limited the sentence to life

imprisonment with the possibility of parole. Therefore, the

SJA was correct in advising the convening authority that life

without parole was an authorized punishment for

premeditated murder. Regardless, the appellant failed to

demonstrate prejudice. The appellant did not receive a

sentence of life without parole and she failed to establish that

the convening authority would have acted differently if life

without parole was not an authorized punishment in her case.

Article 59(a), UCMJ, 10 U.S.C. § 859%a).

B. The Remaining Issues

The appellant was correct in asserting that the record of

trial as submitted to this Court did not contain an addendum

to the SJAR, that there was no evidence the convening

authority either received or considered the appellant's

clemency submissions, and four pages were missing from the

clemency submissions. After the appellant submitted her

brief to this Court, the appellee established that an addendum

had been prepared and provided to the convening authority,

and the convening authority had received and considered the

appellant's clemency submissions before taking action on the

case. The appellee also provided this Court the missing

pages of the clemency submission.

48a

VI. Conclusion

The approved findings and sentence are correct in law

and fact, and no error prejudicial to the appellant's

substantial rights occurred. Article 66(c), UCMJ; United

States v. Turner, 25 M.J. 324, 325 (C.M.A. 1987). The

appellant will be credited with a total of 368 days’

confinement (122 days of which are for illegal pretrial

punishment). The approved findings and sentence are

AFFIRMED.

;

:

iy

si

ns

or

> =

A o

PRE ates

y

u

i tie

: etl tu

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.