Opposition Brief — Ridgeway v. Pfizer, Inc.

Supreme Court brief1994

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

(3) Muprome Court, U.S | |

No. 93-1912

GPMBCE OF BK BLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1993

>

ELIZABETH RIDGEWAY, et a/.,

Petitioners,

— \

PFIZER INC., et al.,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO WRIT OF CERTIORARI

David Klingsberg

Counsel of Record

KAYE, SCHOLER, FIERMAN,

HAYS & HANDLER

425 Park Avenue

New York, New York 10022

(212) 836-8000

Of counsel:

Attorneys for Respondents

James R. Adams Pfizer Inc and Shiley Incorporated

FROST & JACOBS

201 East Fifth Street

Cincinnati, Ohio 45202

(513) 651-6800

QUESTION PRESENTED

Did the Court of Appeals err in dismissing for lack of

standing petitioners’ appeal from a judgment finding a class

action settlement in a product liability case to be fair, ade-

quate and reasonable, where:

— the three petitioners were the only ones of more than

50,000 class members who appealed;

petitioners were non-parties who neglected to file a

motion to intervene until after they had already filed

a notice of appeal; their belated motion to intervene

was denied because the district court was divested of

jurisdiction; the Court of Appeals affirmed the denial

of intervention; and certiorari is not sought from that

decision; and

after studying the settlement terms, petitioners delib-

erately chose to join the settlement class rather than

exercise their opportunity to opt out and pursue their

long-standing parallel action that was pending in

another court?

li

RULE 29.1 LISTING

Respondent Shiley Incorporated is a wholly-owned sub-

sidiary of respondent Pfizer Inc. Shiley Incorporated has no

subsidiaries that are not wholly owned.

Respondent Pfizer Inc has no parent company. The fol-

lowing is a list of its direct or indirect subsidiaries (except

those that are wholly owned):

Subsidiary Place of Incorporation

Pfizer Biogal L.L.C. Hungary

Pfizer Egypt S.A.E. Egypt

Pfizer Limited Ghana

Pfizer Limited India

Dumex Limited India

Duchem Laboratories Limited India

PT Pfizer Indonesia Indonesia

Livestock Feeds PLC Nigeria

Pfizer Products PLC Nigeria

Pfizer Laboratories Limited Pakistan

Pfizer Korea Limited

Pfizer Pharmaceuticals Ltd.

South Korea

People’s Republic of

China

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

SURFER UNS PUMMIOEOO NUMED . 0 ccccccccccndcsccenccesceses i

ee I he Oi rid ks Whisdasuweuedabensieesc. il

BARBED OP AU TIPOMILIES oo ccc ccccccccccccccececaccs iv

ADDITIONAL OPINION BELOW .................... 2

STATUTES AND RULES INVOLVED ................ 2

DEMameeets OF TH CAGE. .. oo... ccnccccccccccscs. 2

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT............... 7

I. THE COURT OF APPEALS APPLIED SETTLED

PRINCIPLES OF APPELLATE STANDING

ESTABLISHED BY THIS COURT AND CONSIS-

TENTLY FOLLOWED BY THE COURTS OF

ati irl kind dnemes wise ceWandéacdvdcaea 7

Il. THE DECISION BELOW IS SUPPORTED BY

THE TEXT OF THE FEDERAL RULES AND

THE POLICIES UNDERLYING CLASS ACTIONS

SET FORTH IN THIS COURT’S DECISIONS... 11

III. THE UNUSUAL FACTS OF THIS CASE MAKE

IT UNSUITABLE FOR REVIEW BY THIS

I HGRiel ink yaiiteh audliuhedhee wanda cokes 17

IV. PETITIONERS’ “DUE PROCESS” ARGUMENT

WAS NOT RAISED BELOW, IS MERITLESS

AND DOES NOT DESERVE REVIEW BY THIS

EN EAG Hai Cdk sw cksesbsscaaaadcke tel blest, 19

vo EEE EIST E aie ee er tS 23

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases PAGE

American Pipe & Construction Co. v. Utah, 414 U.S.

SI ON RN oi nc dndiatinnddcavonscnadiiGnarkeuedsies 13

Angus v. Shiley Inc., 989 F.2d 142 (3d Cir. 1993) ..... 18

Bankers Life & Casualty Co. v. Crenshaw, 486 U.S.

FE CR i nein Sacdindecs Sacadaxcbaialtatedessdicds 20

Bell Atlantic Corp. v. Bolger, 2 F.3d 1304 (3d Cir.

ED bbe nGdhcnk sabdaseivacsesatcdmiedtabennisennsas 9

Bowling v. Pfizer, Inc., 143 F.R.D. 141 (S.D. Ohio

RODED cnntecienstdnpigaccailersedeieniages ey

Brinkman v. Shiley, Inc., 732 F. Supp. 33 (M.D. Pa.),

aff'd, 902 F.24 1558 (S36 Cit. 1909) .....00662000- 18

Carlough v. Amchem Products, Inc., 5 F.3d 707 (3d

Coe. ae enbickctchbaddeehabebibkdnnsieatasausess a iv

Cohen v. Young, 127 F.2d 721 (6th Cir. 1942) ...... 6, 20, 21

Croyden Associates v. Alleco, Inc., 969 F.2d 675 (8th

Cir. 1992), cert. denied, 113 S. Ct. 1251

GRIPE ssi. ddcicseeansnccesnns eee 6, 8, 13, 14, 15, 17

Delta Air Lines, Inc. v. August, 450 U.S. 346 (1981).. 19

E.I. DuPont de Nemours & Co. v. Train, 430 U.S. 112

CRT IE v<dcdsdvcateagssnskitscdpataoeusseesksdkabaes 10

Gottlieb v. Wiles, 11 F.3d 1004 (10th Cir.

BOWED icsnticodavhevuncniunsen 8, 9, 10, 14, 15, 17, 21, 22

Guarino v. Brookfield Township Trustees, 980 F.2d 399

See SAN POE vcd occdceusantasasvaacatessenaueeel 21

Guthrie v. Evans, 815 F.2d 626 (11th Cir.

BOONE Nc ckdnvessasuddencasyteiiannses 6, 13, 14, 15, 17, 21

Hansberry v. Lee, 311 U.S. 32 (1940) ................. 13

Izumi Seimitsu Kogyo Kabushiki Kaisha v. United

States Phillips Corp., 114 S. Ct. 425 (1993) ..... 11

Layne & Bowler Corp. v. Western Well Works, Inc.,

rk ME EE i asckedik vasddehidked.c ae 17

Loran v. Furr’s/Bishop’s Inc., 988 F.2d 554 (5th Cir.

Bae peli here hug pe Po ae Cee a ere Ee 8

Marino v. Ortiz, 484 U.S. 301

SMG La sbddk ciccénnsannka Foie Be 20, 44, 15,36; 26. 23

Phillips Petroleum Co. v. Shutts, 472 U.S. 797 (1985) 13

Police Officers for Equal Rights v. City of Columbus,

865 F.2d 260 (Table), 1988 WL 132696, 1988 U.S.

App. LEXIS 17044 (6th Cir. 1988) ............... 20, 21

Preslar v. Secretary of Health and Human Services, 14

Pus ROE CA BOO a visin ovaccsodecdcnacadsaia 21

Rice v. Sioux City Memorial Park Cemetery, Inc., 349

is PE a alka i oiekockisa ceo a 17

Sertic v. Cuyahoga, Lake, Geauga and Ashtabula

Counties Carpenters District Council, 459 F.2d

Ee Gs ben 6h ok chdsesdda es es 20, 22

Shores v. Sklar, 844 F.2d 1485 (11th Cir. 1988)....... 8

Thompson v. Kentucky, 827 F.2d 770 (Table), 1987 WL

44540, 1987 U.S. App. LEXIS 11297 (6th Cir.

SEED cade Uaincakcnecckecscumaseerue es a 20

Ticor Title Insurance Co. v. Brown, 114 S. Ct. 1359

CRN 6 cad basawacaecbain lade eee 17

United Airlines, Inc. v. McDonald, 432 U.S. 385

(1977)

United States v. Mendoza, 464 U.S. 154 (1984)....... 10

United States v. Reece, 994 F.2d 277 (6th Cir. 1993).. 21

United States v. Tipton, 11 F.3d 602 (6th Cir. 1993),

cert. denied, __ S.. Ct. , 1994 WL 213324

CSRS. AD, BOGE cece cccscescanupedenseceuetadasst 21

In re VMS Limited Partnership Securities Litigation,

FIG F.26 SES CT GAs. ASRS ok cvccenscvevicveseuc 8

Walker v. City of Mesquite, 858 F.2d 1071 (Sth Cir.

SSDS). é<cccccnkacsdisheseancuvenshaves 6, 8, 13, 14, 15, 17

Wills v. Texas, 114 S. Ct. 1867 (1994) ................. 20

Youakim v. Miller, 425 U.S. 231 1976) ............... 19

Statutes and Rules

2B Us BABE oie deccccctcocdsaccnsanebsdebdestes il

y Bik Roe fy | PPP MET ToT Teer ne 22

eG: Ti. Ge We Oe wens dccaccvustscccccuucseseee 2, 9, 12, 13, 14

oe ee 2 Dy rr er rere 17

Ped. Bh. Gave Be Bees ova cusuccckcccnshucuansaacenuae 14,17

Re Be rr 4

POG. Ti. COR BR, Tee 0 kh vtccc cacscdcdeccoccshucusuens 4,12

Pod. RR. Gaps TR SRG ois 6 ancck cadcovegcadusucndiassonmaay 11,12

. Ge Se | peer rl sm 4,5

POG. BR. GOW. He Bick cosecucsccnsanunesasseueen sane 9

Vii

POs ie, Ga RN 6 cdnbcwinasesctdeqnsecieééniedhsddible

Ps Has PEs Be D ccncccccsccsccateccccncuceasecegscousas

Fa hs MEG Be DN a cccddnc ceenccsevenssecconvicccssacn

EE HH ED BE vacccscccancccccccsececdscuans

ee EE EE BED dc ncspcccsacatsccconsavensecees

Miscellaneous

Advisory Committee Notes on the 1966 Amendments

Oy ees Ws als Ws rhc cdscdswcccbobastncsesencesc«

Kaplan, Continuing Work of the Civil Committee:

1966 Amendments of the Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure (I), 81 Harv. L. Rev. 356 (1967) ......

Note, The Appealability of Class Action Settlements

by Unnamed Parties, 60 U. Chi. L. Rev. 933

CRE cbnsavdcesatnnccevedasesdacwbedins igeecsinies

12

12

15

sheet En Ee eee

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1993

No. 93-1912

<> —

ELIZABETH RIDGEWAY, et al.,

Petitioners,

—V.—

PFIZER INC., et al.,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

—$— >

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Respondents Pfizer Inc and Shiley Incorporated oppose the

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari, which seeks review of a

Court of Appeals decision dismissing an appeal from a judg-

ment approving a class settlement. Petitioners are non-party

class members who failed to file a timely motion to intervene

in the district court. The Court of Appeals dismissed peti-

tioners’ appeal based on settled principles of appellate stand-

ing established by this Court and consistently applied by the

Courts of Appeals. Further, petitioners (a) failed to move to

intervene until after the district court had been divested of

jurisdiction; (b) passed up repeated opportunities to exclude

themselves from the class and pursue their own previously-

filed parallel action against the defendants in state court; and

(c) attempted to challenge on appeal a class settlement that

they deliberately chose to join. These unusual facts, which are

unlikely ever to be repeated, render this case unsuitable for

review by this Court.

ADDITIONAL OPINION BELOW

The decision of the district court, from which appeal was

taken, is reported at 143 F.R.D. 141 (S.D. Ohio 1992).

STATUTES AND RULES INVOLVED

The petition involves the following rules: Rules 23 and 24

of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure and Rule 3 of the Fed-

eral Rules of Appellate Procedure. The pertinent provisions

of these rules are set forth in the appendix hereto.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This class action was settled on terms satisfactory to the

defendants, the class representatives and the overwhelming

majority of class members. Of more than 50,000 members of

the class, only three—the petitioners—seek to overturn the

settlement on appeal.

The three petitioners had full opportunity to exclude them-

selves from the class after they studied the settlement terms.

They chose to remain class members. Then, after the district

court entered a judgment approving the settlement as fair,

adequate and reasonable, they filed a notice of appeal. The

Court of Appeals dismissed the appeai on the ground that

petitioners—having failed to become parties by intervening

in the district court—lacked standing to appeal.

This action was brought on April 19, 1991, on behalf of

recipients of an artificial heart valve and their spouses. Arti-

ficial heart valves, made of metal and synthetic materials,

Wil Wate eDdTe"

are surgically implanted to replace diseased and failing

human heart valves. Prior to the development of early models

of artificial heart valves some 30 years ago, all persons who

suffered from diseased heart valves became seriously disabled

and soon died from their illness. Respondent Shiley was a

pioneer in developing artificial heart valves, which have

saved tens of thousands of lives.

The class was defined to include only those Shiley artificial

heart valve recipients whose valves continued to function as

expected to sustain their lives without adverse incident. The

class members’ claims were not based upon any failure or

malfunction of their valves, but solely upon their alleged con-

cern about the smail chance of malfunction sometime in the

future. At the time the action was settled, such claims—to

recover for alleged anxiety about a working device—had been

rejected as a matter of law by some 27 courts around the

country, including the Courts of Appeals for the Third,

Fourth, Fifth, Eighth and Ninth Circuits. Bowling v. Pfizer,

Inc., 143 F.R.D. 141, 147, 162-63, 165 (S.D. Ohio 1992).’

The class settlement provides not only cash payments, but

also medical and health benefits which the overwhelming

majority of class members—many of whom are aged and ill

from underlying heart disease—desire to receive as soon as

possible.

Settlement negotiations between defendants and the class

representatives began in July, 1991, and culminated in the

execution of an agreement on January 23, 1992. (Record

, Petitioners’ assertion that these cases involved “merely. . .

negligence and product liability theories” rather than “fraud and other

intentional torts” (Petition for Writ of Certiorari (“Pet.”) at 3) is incor-

rect. Fraud or other intentional torts were alleged in many of the cases;

the courts nevertheless held that there is no cause of action under any

theory for concern that a properly functioning product might fail. How-

ever, as the district court observed, “[o]ne California court allowed the

plaintiff with a properly functioning heart valve past the summary judg-

ment stage of litigation, based on a fraud theory.” Bowling, 143 F.R.D.

at 147.

(“R.”) 48, attachment).* As authorized by Fed. R. Civ. P.

23(c)(1), the district court then conditionally certified the

class for purposes of settlement.’ (R. 43). Pursuant to Fed. R.

Civ. P. 23(c)(2) and (e), the court approved the notice of the

settlement to be provided to class members. (R. 44). At an

estimated cos: of over $4 million, the notice was mailed to

every valve recipient for whom an address was known and

was published in over 200 leading publications throughout the

world. (R. 162, Pines Affidavit Exs. A, B; R. 202 at 26). The

notice informed each class member of the opportunity to opt

out of the class. (R. 44, Exs. A, B).

The three petitioners—two valve recipients and the spouse

of one of them—are the named plaintiffs in an uncertified

State-wide class action filed in 1986 against the defendants in

the Pennsylvania Court of Common Pleas (Taylor v. Shiley,

Inc., No. 2087). In February 1992, petitioners received notice

of the class settlement in this case through their counsel, and

were thus expressly informed of their opportunity to exclude

themselves from the class. Notwithstanding the fact that they

had their own pending case against defendants, they elected

to remain in the class. Bowling v. Pfizer, Inc., 143 F.R.D. 141,

155-56 (S.D. Ohio 1992).

Petitioners state that the class notice “informed petitioners

that they could not object to. . . the proposed settlement if

they elected to opt out of the class.” (Pet. at 5). This is untrue.

On May 19, 1992, before the opt out deadline, the district

court told petitioners that they were free to opt out and also

press their objections to the settlement. (R. 140 at 28; R. 202

at 8). As the district court stated in its opinion, petitioners’

counsel “was free to have opted its clients out, and then could

2

Citations to the record are to the district court docket numbers.

. Petitioners state that the conditionally certified class was

broader than that alleged in the originai complaint (Pet. at 4), but they

fail to mention that the complaint was amended to allege the broader

class. (R. 47).

Aiba Gili Eran RRA Poca cet. WH Ney iki Ra Lt A ALAC elite

have voiced its objections to the proposed settlement at the

fairness hearing.” Bowling, 143 F.R.D. at 156. Petitioners

turned this opportunity down, as well as two other opportu-

nities—on June 9 and July 22, 1992—to opt out after they had

appeared and objected to the settlement. (R. 208 at 92-95;

R. 251 at 82-83).

Pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 23(e), the district court con-

ducted a fairness hearing on the proposed settlement on June

5, 8 and 9 and July 22, 1992. Petitioners, other class members

and consumer advocacy groups were heard at length. As a

result of suggestions by the court and counsel, the initial set-

tlement agreement was substantially enhanced.* All class

members represented by counsel—except for petitioners—as

well as consumer advocate amici, then withdrew their objec-

tions. (See R. 251 at 56-61).

On August 19, 1992, the district court issued a 68-page

order finding that the settlement is “fair, adequate and rea-

sonable.” Bowling, 143 F.R.D. at 170. Judgment was entered

on September 10, 1992. (R. 255). Petitioners filed a notice of

appeal from that judgment on September 17, 1992. (R. 258).

The three petitioners were the only class members who con-

tinued to express dissatisfaction with the judgment approving

the settlement.° Yet petitioners did not ask any court to relieve

them personally from that judgment. Instead, petitioners—

who represent no one but themselves—-sought to overturn on

appeal the judgment that tens of thousands of their fellow

class members desired.

At no time prior to petitioners’ filing of a notice of appeal

did they move to intervene. Petitioners’ assertion that “the

' The settlement approved by the district court provides benefits

to class members worth at least $165 million and possibly more than

$215 million. The settlement, which is mischaracterized by petitioners,

is accurately described in the opinion of the district court. Bowling, 143

F.R.D. at 148-50.

‘ The petition for certiorari is brought solely on petitioners’ own

behalf and not on behalf of the uncertified Taylor class.

district court gave every indication that intervention was not

required” (Pet. at 7) is untrue. The district court treated them

as objecting class members, nothing more.

On September 25, 1992, eight days after they had filed a

notice of appeal, petitioners belatedly filed a motion in the

district court to intervene for purposes of appeal. (R. 265). By

memorandum decision dated November 9, 1992, the district

court concluded that it could not decide the motion to inter-

vene because the filing of the notice of appeal had divested it

of jurisdiction. (R. 297). Petitioners appealed from that deci-

sion as well. (R. 305).

On December 21, 1993, the Sixth Circuit affirmed the dis-

trict court’s order concluding that it lacked jurisdiction to rule

on a motion to intervene filed in the district court after a

notice of appeal. (Pet. App. at 6a). Petitioners have not sought

certiorari with respect to that decision.

Also on December 21, 1993, the Court of Appeals issued

the order for which certiorari is sought, which dismissed peti-

tioners’ principal appeal. The Court held that because the

petitioners “are unnamed class members who neglected to

intervene in the proceedings below, they lack standing to pur-

sue this appeal.” (Pet. App. at 1a). In support of its decision,

the Court cited Guthrie v. Evans, 815 F.2d 626, 627-28 (11th

Cir. 1987), Croyden Associates v. Alleco, Inc., 969 F.2d 675,

678-79 (8th Cir. 1992), cert. denied, 113 S. Ct. 1251 (1993),

and Walker v. City of Mesquite, 858 F.2d 1071, 1073-75 (Sth

Cir. 1988)—all of which held that non-party class members

do not have standing to appeal.

Petitioners then petitioned for rehearing en banc, relying—

as they do now—on the decision in Cohen v. Young, 127 F.2d

721 (6th Cir. 1942), and the supposed inconsistency between

that case and more recent unpublished decisions of the Sixth

Circuit. By letter dated February 1, 1994, the Court of

Appeals directed respondents to file a response, “and respond

particularly to the significance of Cohen ....” As

requested, respondents showed that Cohen was not only dis-

Sle ah stale ci a pala

i

tinguishable, but is also outdated in light of subsequent deci-

sions of this Court and the 1966 amendments to the class

action rules.®

On March 4, 1994, the Court of Appeals denied the petition

for rehearing en banc. The Court noted that the petition had

been circulated to all active judges of the Sixth Circuit, and

that “no judge . . . requested a vote on the suggestion for

rehearing en banc.” The Court further stated that the original

hearing panel had “further reviewed the petition for rehearing

and [had] conclude[d] that the issues raised in the petition

were fully considered upon the original submission and deci-

sion of the case.” (Pet. App. at 3a).

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

I. THE COURT OF APPEALS APPLIED SETTLED

PRINCIPLES OF APPELLATE STANDING ESTAB-

LISHED BY THIS COURT AND CONSISTENTLY

FOLLOWED BY THE COURTS OF APPEALS.

The issue raised in the petition has already been resolved

by this Court. In Marino v. Ortiz, 484 U.S. 301, 304 (1988),

the Court authoritatively ruled that “only parties to a lawsuit,

or those that properly become parties [by intervening], may

appeal an adverse judgment. . . .” The Court pointed out

that the Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure provide that

“[t]he notice of appeal shall specify the party or parties tak-

ing the appeal.” Fed. R. App. P. 3(c) (emphasis added).

Marino affirmed dismissal of an appeal by a group of white

police officers who appeared and objected to a proposed set-

tlement of a class action brought by Hispanic members of the

New York City Police Department. This Court held that the

officers lacked standing to appeal, notwithstanding their par-

Defendant-Appellees’ Memorandum in Opposition to Appel-

lants’ Petition for Rehearing En Banc, filed February 15, 1994.

ticipation in the proceedings below, because they “were not

parties to the underlying lawsuit, and because they failed to

intervene for purposes of appeal.” Jd. at 304.

Following Marino, every Court of Appeals to be presented

with an appeal from a class action judgment brought by non-

party class members has ruled that non-party class members—

like petitioners—do not have standing to appeal. Bow/ing v.

Pfizer, No. 92-3973 (6th Cir. 1993) (Pet. App. at la); Gottlieb

v. Wiles, 11 F.3d 1004 (10th Cir. 1993); Loran v.

Furr’s/Bishop’s Inc., 988 F.2d 554 (Sth Cir. 1993); Croyden

Associates v. Alleco, Inc., 969 F.2d 675, 679 (8th Cir. 1992),

cert. denied, 113 S. Ct. 1251 (1993); Walker v. City of

Mesquite, 858 F.2d 1071 (Sth Cir. 1988); Shores v. Sklar, 844

F.2d 1485 (11th Cir. 1988).

Thus, for example, the Eighth Circuit observed that

“Marin> provides substantial support for holding that

unnamed class members who object to a settlement must

move to intervene, and they will be denied standing to appeal

when they have not done so.” Croyden, 969 F.2d at 679.

Petitioners’ principal argument for certiorari is that there is

a supposed “split” among the Circuits. However, the cases

that petitioners cite either were decided prior to Marino, or

did not directly present the issue.

Not one of the post-Marino cases relied on by petitioners

granted non-party class members standing to appeal from a

judgment approving a settlement in a class action. In one case

cited by petitioners, Jn re VMS Limited Partnership Securities

Litigation, 976 F.2d 362 (7th Cir. 1992), the Seventh Circuit

held that non-party class members did not have standing to

appeal a post-settlement order implementing a settlement

agreement. The Court specifically stated that “we offer no

opinion” as to whether non-party class members would have

standing to appeal from a judgment approving the settlement.

976 F.2d at 368 n.8.

“

Pees ee ee ae on oe ee ee ey

» Rae ae Dale de! erode

ee ee ee a Sad

Similarly, Bell Atlantic Corp. v. Bolger, 2 F.3d 1304 (3d

Cir. 1993), cited by petitioners, is tangential to the issue

raised here. Bell Atlantic involved the appellate standing of an

objecting shareholder in a shareholders’ derivative action.

The Court stated that “we need not decide whether different

rules apply to objector appellate standing in class and deriva-

tive suits.” 2 F.3d at 1307 n.4. Subsequently, the Tenth Circuit

thoroughly analyzed Bell Atlantic and concluded that it was

“inapposite” to the appellate standing of non-party class

members, who differ from plaintiffs in shareholder derivative

suits. Gottlieb, 11 F.3d at 1010.’

The final post-Marino case relied on by petitioners is Car-

lough v. Amchem Products, Inc., 5 F.3d 707 (3d Cir. 1993),

where the Court—without even citing Marino—said that class

members who timely moved to intervene would be able to

appeal from a final judgment. However, unlike this case, Car-

lough was not an appeal from a final judgment by non-party

class members who faiied to file a timely motion to intervene.

Rather, Carlough was an interlocutory appeal from the denial

of the class members’ motion to intervene; the Third Circuit

dismissed the appeal on the ground that the denial of the

motion to intervene was not immediately appealable. Thus,

Carlough did not squarely present the issue raised by the

petition.

7 The Tenth Circuit explained why derivative suit cases such as

Bell Atlantic are not on point:

“[C]ases holding that an unnamed plaintiff in a shareholder deriva-

tive suit under Rule 23.1 has standing to appeal are inapposite. See,

e.g., Bell Atlantic . . . . Rule 23.1 does not offer the same pro-

tective mechanisms offered by Rule 23. Unlike class actions under

Rule 23, in shareholder derivative suits under Rule 23.1, a pre-

liminary affirmative determination that the named plaintiffs will

fairly and adequately represent the interests of the other class mem-

bers is not a prerequisite to the maintenance of the action. . . . In

addition, there is no opt out provision in shareholder derivative

suits.”

Gottlieb, 11 F.3d at 1010-11.

10

It remains to be seen if the Third Circuit will find non-party

class members to have standing to appeal from a class action

judgment when that Court is actually presented with such an

appeal and is asked to consider the issue in light of Marino.

At the very least, because the Third Circuit has not yet had

occasion to apply Marino to an appeal from a final judgment

by a non-party class member who failed to file a timely

motion to intervene, this Court would benefit by allowing the

issue to mature. See United States v. Mendoza, 464 U.S. 154,

160 (1984) (indicating the benefits of permitting the Courts

of Appeals “to explore a difficult question before this Court

grants certiorari”); E.J. DuPont de Nemours & Co. v. Train,

430 U.S. 112, 135 n.26 (1977) (noting “the wisdom of allow-

ing difficult issues to mature through full consideration by the

courts of appeals”).

The Tenth Circuit recently surveyed the very same cases

relied upon by petitioners and found that “there is no true

conflict.” Gottlieb, 11 F.3d at 1009. The Court stated: “We

hold that standing [of a non-party class member to appeal] is

dependent upon a grant of intervention, a result which we

believe to be consistent with the rule in all of the circuits that

have directly addressed the issue... .” 11 F.3d at 1006

(emphasis added).

In short, the purported “conflict” relied on by petitioners is

an illusion. On appeals from final judgments in class actions,

the Courts of Appeals have uniformly held, subsequent to this

Court’s decision in Marino, that non-party class members do

not have standing to appeal. There is no reason for this Court

to grant review.

ra

;

é

z

;

3

11

Ii. THE DECISION BELOW IS SUPPORTED BY THE

TEXT OF THE FEDERAL RULES AND THE POLI-

CIES UNDERLYING CLASS ACTIONS SET FORTH

IN THIS COURT’S DECISIONS

The decision below is amply supported by the language and

underlying policies of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure

and the Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure. In Marino, this

Court relied on the text of the Federal Rules of Appellate Pro-

cedure in holding that “only parties to a lawsuit, or those that

properly become parties, may appeal an adverse judgment.”

484 U.S. at 304 (emphasis added). As the Court stated, Fed.

R. App. P. 3(c) specifically requires that the notice of appeal

specify the “party or parties” taking the appeal. Jd.

This Court applied the same reasoning earlier this Term in

Izumi Seimitsu Kogyo Kabushiki Kaisha v. United States

Phillips Corp., 114 S. Ct. 425 (1993). There, the petitioner

was a non-party whose motion to intervene was denied by the

- Court of Appeals. This Court dismissed the writ of certiorari

as improvidently granted because the petitioner lacked stand-

ing to seek review. The court explained that the language of

the statute creating the certiorari jurisdiction of this Court—

28 U.S.C. § 1254(1)—speaks of “the petition of any party to

any civil or criminal case. . . .” (Emphasis added).

The decision below is also supported by the language of the

class action and intervention provisions of the Federal Rules

of Civil Procedure. Those provisions make clear that absent

intervention, class members are not Parties to the action, and

do not have the unqualified right to participate at every stage

of the litigation in the district court and on appeal.

Thus, Rule 23(d) provides that “the court may make appro-

priate orders . . . requiring, for the protection of the members

of the class or otherwise for the fair conduct of the action,

that notice be given. . . of the opportunity of members. . .

to intervene. . . .” The Rule further states that the Court

may “impos[e] conditions . . . on intervenors. .. .” As

12

shown by these provisions, the district court has broad dis-

cretion under Rule 23 to consider whether, and on what terms,

individual class members should be permitted to intervene

consistent with the prompt and efficient management of the

litigation. If class members were entitled to participate as par-

ties in all aspects of the action even without intervention, then

the provisions of Rule 23(d), giving the court authority upon

a proper showing to permit or deny intervention by class

members, and to impose conditions on intervenors, would be

superfluous.

Consistent with the language of the Federal Rules, the

Advisory Committee Notes on the 1966 Amendments to Fed.

R. Civ. P. 24 state that “[a] class member who claims that his

‘representative’ does not adequately represent him, and is

able to establish that Proposition with sufficient probability

. . Should, as a general rule, be entitled to intervene in the

action.” Thus, the Federal Rules contemplate that if non-party

class members wish to participate as parties in a class action,

they must first intervene.®

Moreover, automatically permitting all non-party class

members to appeal would be impractical and antithetical tu

the policies and purposes of Rule 23. Rule 23 sets forth a pro-

The Federal Rules distinguish between intervention and “enter-

ing an appearance through counsel.” Any clais member may “enter an

appearance through counsel,” Fed. R. Civ. P. 23(c)(2). This is not, how-

ever, the equivalent of intervention. As Professor Benjamin Kaplan, the

reporter to the Advisory Committee, explains:

“I read this ‘appearance’ as entitling counsel to receive the Papers

in the action to enable him to follow the case with a view to decid-

ing, é.g., whether he should move to intervene. If ‘appearance’ is

read as enabling the class member to be admitted automatically into

the action as a party, it would stand in odd contrast to intervention

in the action under Rule 24, which is not automatic and requires a

showing.”

Kaplan, Continuing Work of the Civil Committee: 1966 Amendments of

the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure (1), 81 Harv. L. Rev. 356, 392 n.137

(1967).

13

cedure through which common issues can be efficiently liti-

gated in a single suit “when there are too many plaintiffs for

proper joinder.” Phillips Petroleum Co. v. Shutts, 472 U.S.

797, 809 (1985). The rule seeks to avoid multiplicity of activ-

ity by providing for a “ ‘representative’ suit to which some

members of the class are parties, [who] may bind members of

the class or those represented who were not made parties to

it.” Hansberry v. Lee, 311 U.S. 32, 41 (1940). As this Court

has explained:

“A federal class action is no longer ‘an invitation to join-

der’ but a truly representative suit designed to avoid,

rather than encourage, unnecessary filing of repetitious

papers and motions.”

American Pipe & Construction Co. v. Utah, 414 U.S. 538, 550

(1974). Accordingly, Rule 23 is structured to provide each class

member with “procedural due process protection[s]” without

being “fully a party in the traditional sense.” Shutts, 472 U.S.

at 808, 811-12.

The goals of manageability and efficiency would be com-

promised if each class member could individually decide to

appeal. As the Eleventh Circuit explained:

“A fundamental purpose of the class action is to render

manageable litigation that involves numerous members

of a homogeneous class, who would all otherwise have

access to the court through individual lawsuits. . . . If

each class member could appeal individuaily, the liti-

gation could become unwieldy. Thus, allowing direct

appeals by individual class members who have not inter-

vened in the district court would defeat the very purpose

of class action lawsuits.”

Guthrie v. Evans, 815 F.2d 626, 629 (11th Cir. 1987) (empha-

sis added); accord Croyden, 969 F.2d at 678; Walker, 858 F.2d

at 1074 (a non-party class member may not appeal absent inter-

vention in the court below; “a contrary rule would result in the

14

frustration of the purpose behind class litigation”); Gottlieb, 11

F.3d at 1009 (“If individual appeals without formal intervention

were to be permitted, the class action would break down under

the burden of unpredictable and unlimited individual actions.

Such a result would directly conflict with the goals of Rule 23

and would eviscerate the utility of the class action suit.”).

The Courts of Appeals have also pointed out that permitting

appeals by non-party class members would be inconsistent

with the representative nature of class actions. Croyden, 969

F.2d at 678; Walker, 858 F.2d at 1073; Guthrie, 815 F.2d at

628. The problem is underscored by this case. The class rep-

resentatives, who were determined by the district court to be

adequate, are satisfied with the judgment and want its bene-

fits now. Petitioners, who represent no one but themselves,

seek to overturn that judgment against the wishes of the class

representatives and the overwhelming majority of the class.

“It is particularly appropriate” to dismiss an appeal by a non-

party class member when the “class member’s challenge to

the adequacy of a settlement is contrary to the view of all the

other class members.” Croyden, 969 F.2d at 680.

Moreover, automatically permitting appeals by non-party

class members without intervention is unnecessary to protect

the class members’ individual interests. In Rule 23(b)(3)

actions, such as this, class members can protect their interests

by exercising their right to Opt out and pursue their own

actions. Croyden, 969 F.2d at 678; Guthrie, 815 F.2d at 628;

Gottlieb, 11 F.3d at 1009. Alternatively, if individual class

members believe that they are not represented adequately by

the class representatives, they can protect their interests by

moving to intervene; or they can seek to avoid the effect of an

adverse judgment by collateral attack. Croyden, 969 F.2d at

678; Walker, 858 F.2d at 1073-74; Guthrie, 815 F.2d at 628.

“With these legal avenues available for individual class mem-

bers, there is no need to permit an individual to appeal a judg-

ment with which the class representatives, and presumably the

:

8

q

:

4

15

majority of the class members are satisfied.” Guthrie, 815

F.2d at 628; Croyden, 969 F.2d at 678.

Petitioners ignore both the language of the Federal Rules

and the policies underlying class actions set forth in decisions

of this Court and the Courts of Appeals.° Instead, they incor-

rectly assert that “an appeal is often the only mechanism by

which an absent class member can protect his or her rights”

and that the right to opt out does not provide adequate pro-

tection because class claims are “frequently” too small to jus-

tify individual litigation. (Pet. at 14). But neither the Court

below nor any other Circuit has held that a class member may

never appeal; they merely held that intervention is a precon-

dition. Certainly, any class member with the wherewithal to

appeal will also have the wherewithal to file a motion to

intervene. Petitioners’ argument is also beside the point on

the facts of this case: the petitioners did have their own pend-

ing separate action against the defendants, which they had

been pursuing since 1986; they had repeated opportunities to

opt out in order to continue pursuing that action; and they

chose not to avail themselves of those opportunities.

Next, petitioners state that the intervention requirement will

have “the practical effect of drastically limiting the avail-

ability of appellate review” of judgments in class actions.

(Pet. at 18). The gravamen of petitioners’ argument is that

motions to intervene will often be denied (a) because the class

members are already adequately represented by the class rep-

resentatives, (b) because the class members can protect their

rights by opting out, or (c) because the class members have

their own separate action, as petitioners do here. (Pet. at

20-22).

Petitioners rely heavily on a law review note, Note, The Appeal-

ability of Class Action Settlements by Unnamed Parties, 60 U. Chi. L.

Rev. 933 (1993). The Tenth Circuit has stated that it “disagree[s] with

this student’s analysis,” Gottlieb, 11 F.3d at 1012 n.7, as does every Court

of Appeals to have squarely addressed the issue since Marino was

decided.

16

However, when class members are already adequately rep-

resented or have alternative means of protecting their rights—

and a motion to intervene is denied on that ground—there is

no reason to give them standing to appeal. Thus, the fact that

many intervention motions may properly be denied weighs

strongly against granting all class members standing to

appeal.

In addition, petitioners’ generalizations about whether

motions to intervene will be granted or denied are speculative

at best. In this case, it is impossible to determine whether

intervention would have been granted or denied, because peti-

tioners failed to file a motion to intervene until after the dis-

trict court had been divested of jurisdiction. Thus, a concrete

factual setting is missing, and petitioners are forced to rely on

unsupported speculation.

Petitioners also speculate that requiring intervention as a

prerequisite to appeal “will result in greatly protracted and

burdensome class action litigation.” (Pet. at 23). But this

theory is spun from petitioners’ false assumption that class

members would have to move to intervene as soon as they

receive notice of the action. United Airlines, Inc. v. McDon-

ald, 432 U.S. 385 (1977), holds to the contrary. In that case,

this Court held that a motion to intervene solely for purposes

of appeal may be timely even if made after judgment. Accord

Marino, 484 U.S. at 304. Petitioners do not explain why the

procedure recommended by this Court would be an undue

burden on litigants or the courts. Nor do they present any evi-

dence that the Fifth, Sixth, Eighth, Tenth and Eleventh Cir-

cuits, which have all required intervention as a prerequisite to

appeal, have encountered anything resembling the parade of

horribles that petitioners have conjured up.

In short, the decision below is firmly rooted in the language

of the Federal Rules, the decisions of this Court, and the poli-

cies that underlie class actions. Petitioners’ arguments to the

contrary are without merit.

‘

;

3

i

é

:

17

Ill. THE UNUSUAL FACTS OF THIS CASE MAKE IT

UNSUITABLE FOR REVIEW BY THIS COURT

Even if the issues raised in the petition were otherwise wor-

thy of this Court’s attention, the unusual facts of this case—

which are unlikely ever to be repeated—make it unsuitable

for certiorari. “A petition for a writ of certiorari will be

granted only when there are special and important reasons

therefor.” Supreme Court Rule 10.1. As this Court has stated:

“{T]his Court does not sit to satisfy a scholarly interest

. . Nor does it sit for the benefit of the particular lit-

igants. . . .. ‘Special and important reasons’ imply a

reach to a problem beyond the academic or the

episodic.”

Rice v. Sioux City Memorial Park Cemetery, Inc., 349 U.S. 70,

74 (1955). Therefore, the issue must be of broad importance to

the public, not merely to the litigants. Ticor Title Ins. Co. v.

Brown, 114 S. Ct. 1359, 1362 (1994); Layne & Bowler Corp. v.

Western Well Works, Inc., 261 U.S. 387, 393 (1923).

An unusual set of facts renders this case unworthy of this

Court’s discretionary review:

* Petitioners decided not to opt out after they studied the

terms of the proposed settlement. Yet they seek to overturn on

appeal a settlement that they deliberately chose to join. Such

circumstances, if not unprecedented, are rare indeed.'®

” Many of the decided cases, including Guthrie, Croyden and

Walker, have concerned classes that were certified under Rule 23(b)(2)

and thus did not provide class members with the opportunity to opt out.

In other cases, such as Gottlieb, the class was certified under Rule

23(b)(3) before settlement was reached; thus, the class members did not

know the settlement terms when they had to decide whether to opt out.

In Carlough, it remains to be seen whether individual class members will

appeal should the pending proposed settlement be approved.

18

¢ Petitioners already had their own separate lawsuit (Tay-

lor) pending against defendants in the Pennsylvania Court of

Common Pleas, which they had been pursuing since 1986." If

petitioners thought that they were “well situated to obtain a

sizable recovery” in Taylor (Pet. at 3), they were free to opt

out and pursue that case. As petitioners admit (Pet. at 22

n.18), this fact casts doubt on whether a timely motion to

intervene by petitioners would have succeeded. This high-

lights the fact that petitioners’ rights were adequately pro-

tected and that they have not been deprived of any substantive

right.

* The district court in this case gave petitioners the oppor-

tunity to opt out and also object to the settlement at the fair-

ness hearing. Indeed, the court gave petitioners second and

third opportunities to opt out after their objections were

heard. These generous offers—far more than what was

= Petitioners misstate the course of proceedings in the Taylor case.

Petitioners waited three years after filing Taylor to move for class cer-

tification, and have never succeeded in obtaining certification. In 1987,

the Pennsylvania Court of Common Pleas granted defendants’ prelimi-

nary objections to the Taylor complaint as to all but two claims (inten-

tional infliction of emotional distress and Magnuson-Moss Act warranty

claims). Subsequently, defendants were granted summary judgment on all

claims, including a claim of intentional misrepresentation, in another

Pennsylvania case. Brinkman v. Shiley, Inc., 732 F. Supp. 33 (M.D. Pa.),

aff’d, 902 F.2d 1558 (3d Cir. 1989); accord Angus v. Shiley Inc., 989 F.2d

142, 147 (3d Cir. 1993). Based on Brinkman and other developments in

Pennsylvania law—which conclusively negated any cause of action—

defendants then moved for summary judgment. The summary judgment

motion was pending at the time the settlement below was approved. Peti-

tioners have admitted—contrary to their assertions in the petition for cer-

tiorari (Pet. at 3)—that their claims in Pennsylvania probably would not

survive summary judgment. (R. 335 at 7; R. 334, Ex. C-1).

In the eight years since Taylor was filed, petitioners have not taken a

single deposition. (See R. 225, Ex. 4). Petitioners’ failure to prosecute the

Taylor action is due to no fault of defendants: as petitioners have admit-

ted to the Pennsylvania court, defendants’ counsel has been “ ‘cooper-

ating’ and using its ‘best efforts’ to facilitate plaintiffs’ discovery.” (R.

225, Pxs. 1-3).

BREEN MS OD OE itl

LIE EPUB SMES LEAD: LD RAMA LOLLY WRIA Nh Heb NO ical Bide? Sah basse

tle,

19

required by the Federal Rules—were rejected. Petitioners

chose to remain in the class and seek to disrupt and delay the

settlement that the class representatives and all other class

members desire.

* Due to petitioners’ neglect, no record has been developed

as to the propriety of intervention in this case. Petitioners

failed to file a motion to intervene until after they had filed a

notice of appeal which divested the district court of juris-

diction. If they had filed a timely motion to intervene and

intervention had been granted, the question of standing to

appeal would never have arisen. If, on the other hand, a

timely motion to intervene had been denied, this Court as well

as the Court of Appeals would have had the benefit of the rea-

sons given by the district court for denying intervention. As

the case stands, petitioners call upon the Court to assess their

issue in a vacuum.

In sum, the unusual and atypical facts of this case make it

unsuitable for certiorari review.

IV. PETITIONERS’ “DUE PROCESS” ARGUMENT

WAS NOT RAISED BELOW, IS MERITLESS AND

DOES NOT DESERVE REVIEW BY THIS COURT

Petitioners argue that the dismissal of their appeal violated

their constitutional right to due process of law. However, this

argument was not raised below, and it is settled that “ordi-

narily, this Court does not decide questions not raised or

resolved in the lower court.” Youakim v. Miller, 425 U.S. 231,

234 (1976); accord Delta Air Lines, Inc. v. August, 450 U.S.

346, 362 (1981) (“question . . . not raised in the Court of

Appeals. . . is not properly before us).'”

? ‘ 228 . en@

7 On page 5 of their petition for rehearing en banc, petitioners

included rhetoric that in dismissing their appeal, the Sixth Circuit “cre-

ated the unavoidable impression that [it] not only was biased in favor of

Appellees, but that it was not bound by. . . Appellants’ right to due pro-

cess under the Constitution.” This is not sufficient to preserve the issue

for review by this Court. First, “[i]t has been the traditional practice of

Moreover, as set forth below, petitioners’ argument is based

on contested factual allegations (which this Court is ill-

equipped to resolve) and on a misunderstanding of the local

rules of the Sixth Circuit (which are best left for the Sixth

Circuit to interpret for itself).

Petitioners first contend that they were “lulled into a false

sense of security” by the district court, which treated them as

“de facto intervenors.” (Pet. at 26). Nothing of the sort took

place. Petitioners were treated as objecting class members, no

more. At no time did the district court indicate that petition-

ers were parties to the action, or that they would be treated as

intervenors.

In Marino, this Court rejected the proposition that appear-

ing at a fairness hearing to object to a settlement—as peti-

tioners did—-confers standing to appeal. 484 U.S. at 304. One

thing is certain: petitioners’ allegation that they were “iulled

into a false sense of security” does not present any serious,

broadly applicable issue deserving of this Court’s attention.

Petitioners next assert that they had a constitutional right to

expect the Sixth Circuit to follow two of its older, pre-Marino

published decisions,’ notwithstanding this Court’s subsequent

decision in Marino and the Sixth Circuit’s more recent deci-

sions holding that a non-party class member lacks standing to

appeal. See Police Officers for Equal Rights v. City of Colum-

bus, 865 F.2d 260 (Table) (6th Cir. 1988) (unpublished, text

available on LEXIS and WESTLAW); Thompson v. Kentucky,

this Court. . . to decline to review claims raised for the first time on

rehearing in the court below.” Wills v. Texas, 114 S. Ct. 1867, 1867

(1994) (O°CONNOR, J , concurring in denial of certiorari). Second, a

“vague appeal to constitutional principles does not preserve. . . due pro-

cess claims.” Bankers Life & Casualty Co. v. Crenshaw, 486 U.S. 71, 77

(1988).

13 Cohen v. Young, 127 F.2d 721 (6th Cir. 1942); Sertic v. Cuya-

hoga, Lake, Geauga and Ashtabula Counties Carpenters District Coun-

cil, 459 F.2d 579 (6th Cir. 1972).

21

827 F.2d 770 (Table) (6th Cir. 1987) (unpublished, text avail-

able on LEXIS and WESTLAW).

Petitioners proceed under the misapprehension that unpub-

lished decisions of the Sixth Circuit may not be relied on. The

Rules of the Sixth Circuit specifically provide that “[i]f coun-

sel believes. . . that an unpublished disposition has prece-

dential value in relation to a material issue in a case and that

there is no published opinion that would serve as well, such

decision may be cited .. . .” Sixth Circuit Rule 24(c)

(emphasis added). Indeed, the Sixth Circuit routinely cites its

unpublished decisions as precedent."

While petitioners state that “it is difficult to state precisely

where the Sixth Circuit stands” (Pet. at 15), the Tenth Circuit

had no trouble determining the Sixth Circuit’s position, based

on the Sixth Circuit’s unpublished decision in Police Officers:

“We. . . note that the Sixth Circuit recently followed

Guthrie, holding that unnamed class members had no

Standing to appeal from the approval of a settlement.

Police Officers for Equal Rights v. City of Columbus,

865 F.2d 260 (6th Cir. 1988) (unpublished disposition,

text available on LEXIS).”

Gottlieb, 11 F.3d at 1010 (footnote omitted). |

In any event, the Sixth Circuit is best positioned to deter-

mine the current state of the law in the Sixth Circuit. In its

initial decision and then on rehearing, the Sixth Circuit deter-

mined that its pre-Marino decisions do not control this case.!5

se See, e.g., Preslar v. Secretary of Health and Human Services, 14

F.3d 1107, 1112 (6th Cir. 1994); United States v. Tipton, 11 F.3d 602, 607

(6th Cir. 1993), cert. denied, __ S.Ct. ___, 1994 WL 213324 (June 13,

1994); United States v. Reece, 994 F.2d 277, 278-79 (6th Cir. 1993);

Guarino v. Brookfield Township Trustees, 980 F.2d 399, 404-05 n.5 (6th

Cir. 1992).

= Cohen was a shareholder derivative suit brought on behalf of a

corporation; accordingly, there was no opportunity for the shareholder-

22

No judge on the Sixth Circuit considered the issue deserving

of en banc consideration. Petitioners do not raise any issue of

general applicability and public importance requiring this

Court’s review.

Petitioners’ constitutional argument suffers from another

infirmity as well. Petitioners state that when there is a right

to appeal, that right may not arbitrarily be denied. However,

there is no right to appeal when an appellant lacks standing to

appeal.'® Petitioners’ argument, therefore, is inapposite.

plaintiff to opt out. Because “there is no opt out provision in shareholder

derivative suits,” such cases are “inapposite.” Gottlieb, 11 F.3d at 1010-11.

Similarly, Sertic did not directly present the issue here. Included in the

Sertic appeal was an appeal from the district court’s denial of motions to

intervene; the Court held that intervention should have been granted. 459

F.2d at 581, 583. Here, in contrast, petitioners failed to move intervene

until after their appeal on the merits had deprived the district court of

jurisdiction; the Court of Appeals affirmed the district court’s denial of

the belated motion; and petitioners do not seek review of that decision.

” Contrary to petitioners’ assertion (Pet. at 28), 28 U.S.C. § 1291

simply grants appellate jurisdiction to the Courts of Appeals. It does not

do away with settled principles of appellate standing.

23

CONCLUSION

It is respectfully requested that the petition for writ of cer-

tiorari be denied.

Dated: New York, New York

July 1, 1994

Respectfully submitted,

David Klingsberg

Counsel of Record

KAYE, SCHOLER, FIERMAN,

HAYS & HANDLER

425 Park Avenue

New York, New York 10022

(212) 836-8000

Attorneys for Respondents

Pfizer Inc and

Shiley Incorporated

Of counsel:

James R. Adams

FROST & JACOBS

201 East Fifth Street

Cincinnati, Ohio 45202

(513) 651-6800

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX

PERTINENT PROVISIONS OF THE RULES INVOLVED

Rule 23 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure in pertinent

part provides:

(a) Prerequisites to a Class Action. One or more mem-

bers of a class may sue or be sued as representative par-

ties on behalf of all only if (1) the class is so numerous

that joinder of all members is impracticable, (2) there are

questions of law or fact common to the class, (3) the

claims or defenses of the representative parties are typ-

ical of the claims or defenses of the class, and (4) the

representative parties will fairly and adequately protect

the interests of the class.

(b) Class Actions Maintainable. An action may be

maintained as a class action if the prerequisites of sub-

division (a) are satisfied, and in addition:

* * *

(3) the court finds that the questions of law or fact

common to the members of the class predominate

over any questions affecting only individual mem-

bers and that a class action is superior to other

available methods for the fair and efficient adjudi-

cation of the controversy.

(c) Determination by Order Whether Class Action to

be Maintained; Notice; Judgment; Actions Conducted

Partially as Class Actions.

* * *

(2) In any class action maintained under subdivi-

sion (b)(3), the court shall direct to the members of

the class the best notice practicable under the cir-

cumstances, including individual notice to all mem-

bers who can be identified through reasonable

2a

effort. The notice shall advise each member that (A)

the court will exclude the member from the class if

the member so requests by a specified date; (B) the

judgment, whether favorable or not, will include all

members who do not request exclusion; and (C) any

member who does not request exclusion may, if the

member desires, enter an appearance through

counsel.

* * *

(d) Orders in Conduct Actions. In the conduct of

actions to which this rule applies, the court may make

appropriate orders: . . . (2) requiring, for the protection

of the members of the class or otherwise for the fair con-

duct of the action, that notice be given in such manner as

the court may direct to some or all of the members. .

of the opportunity of members. . . to intervene and pre-

sent claims or defenses, or otherwise to come into the

action; (3) imposing conditions on the representative

parties or On intervenors. .. .

(e) Dismissal or Compromise. A class action shall not

be dismissed or compromised without the approval of the

court, and notice of the proposed dismissal or compro-

mise shall be given to all members of the class in such

manner as the court directs.

Rule 24 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure in pertinent

part provides:

(a) Intervention of Right. Upon timely application any-

one shall be permitted to intervene in an action: . . . (2)

when the applicant claims an interest relating to the

property or transaction which is the subject of the action

and the applicant is so situated that the disposition of the

action may as a practical matter impair or impede the

applicant’s ability to protect that interest, unless the

3a

applicant’s interest is adequately represented by existing

parties.

(b) Permissive Intervention. Upon timely application

anyone may be permitted to intervene in an action:

. . . (2) when an applicant’s claim or defense and the

main action have a question of law or fact in common.

. . In exercising its discretion the court shall consider

: whether the intervention will unduly delay or prejudice

the adjudication of the rights of the original parties.

Rule 3 of the Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure in per-

tinent part provides:

(c) Content of the Notice of Appeal. A notice of appeal

must specify the party or parties taking the appeal by

naming each appellant in either the caption or the body

of the notice of appeal. . . . Ina class action, whether

or not the class has been certified, it is sufficient for the

notice to name one person qualified to bring the appeal

as representative of the class.

digit a, Cigulbsak dott

sail Wonkcndr Auli easeas

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.