Opposition Brief — Faust v. Wisconsin

Supreme Court brief2005

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

(2)

No. 04-471

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

¢

JACOB J. FAUST,

Petitioner,

Vv.

STATE OF WISCONSIN,

Respondent.

+

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE SUPREME

COURT OF WISCONSIN

¢

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

7

PEGGY A. LAUTENSCHLAGER

Attorney General

AARON R. O'NEIL

Assistant Attorney General

DAVID J. BECKER*

Assistant Attorney General

Wisconsin Department of Justice

Post Office Box 7857

Madison, Wisconsin 53707-7857

(608) 266-7447

*Counsel of Record

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Does the exigent circumstances exception to the

Fourth Amendment’s warrant requirement allow a police

officer to perform a nonconsensual blood draw from a person

arrested for driving while intoxicated when the officer has

already performed a test of that person’s breath?

i ieee

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED os csssicscssciiaseriemammataicae i

FURESDAC TION .........is.sissstonsnjianeshanapengaiaeaeasaeaann 2

I.

CERTIORARI IS NOT WAR-

RANTED BECAUSE THE

DECISION OF THE WISCONSIN

SUPREME COURT IS NOT FINAL

WITHIN THE MEANING OF

28 US § ERGO. cotdinaeiasoeas 5

A. Faust has not yet been tried for

the two drunk driving charges

against him and it is not clear

what role the blood test’s

results will play in future

POOR .niiscontnennitinthianianen 5

B. Faust’s case does not meet any

of the exceptions to the final

PORE siinciscicisininibinristonennites 7

CERTIORARI IS NOT WAR-

RANTED BECAUSE THE

WISCONSIN SUPREME COURT’S

DECISION DOES NOT CONFLICT

WITH NELSON v. CITY OF IRVINE. ........... 9

A. Relevant facts about Nelson. ............ 10

ill

B. Faust’s alleged conflict relies

entirely on dicta from Nelson. .......... 1]

1. Faust focuses’ on

exigent circumstances

while Nelson almost

exclusively addresses

| 12

2. Nelson’s exigent cir-

cumstances discussion

would not apply to any

of the plaintiffs in that

II siesntissciintsteccntiviancscnnnnsntnccets 13

oo Nelson does not present the

same factual circumstances as

Faust because, in Nelson, the

police generally only

administered one chemical

RI cihivsaidatinccuissictncinntiincuiieidaaimesbeainneetenis 14

D. Faust and Nelson present

entirely different procedural

NUT susllcnnctupeiinstinancepnciaeduadétconienn 15

Il. CERTIORARI IS NOT WAR-

RANTED BECAUSE THE FAUST

DECISION DOES NOT CONFLICT

WITH ANY OTHER SUPREME

CPR SE OID i cncesssssnivetniensnesinnenscssens 16

ea ITTTT stich clnelaccepsmiensietatihaicaeiennishtinnieaiiaawbanting 20

iV

CASES CITED

Cox Broadcasting Corp. v. Cohn,

ee tt SP TTD seresahcecsdcissnnitansnnsontannninacennasuaans 7,8

Cupp v. Murphy,

RIE Ete SEARED scnapicaatasansnstcndabnstianinnadoitiuass 16, 17

Florida v. Thomas,

See ARs FP GED nehecainnesssctnbcnsnniitnsenstnntennetnaunss 5, 6

Fort Wayne Books v. Indiana,

a a ie AD seis thihainkccsntnrichinrnnnsasmnibintnisitasestinsaiea 6

Johnson v. California,

341 US... 124.S. Ce 1833 (Q006) .0..ccccccsscecesceeses. 8

Ker v. California,

Be i it bicicinithstdsaicac teins tibinace ieee 17

Nelson v. City of Irvine,

143 F.3d 1196 (9th Cir.),

cert. denied, 525 U.S. 981 (1998)... passim

Schmerber v. California,

Pe Ge Fane CRIED wcccicacinshinriasinslasicansioenee 4,9, 18, 19

State v. Bohling,

173 Wis. 2d 529, 494 N.W.2d 399,

cert. denied, 510 U.S. 836 (1993)... 12, 18

State v. Faust,

2003 WI App 243, 267 Wis. 2d 783,

Re OSI seth Ge 3

ee ee ee

State v. Faust,

2004 WI 99, 274 Wis. 2d 183, |

GFR le Or al EB nscisanicnaraisstvasnssnsonncsianiasnincaane passim

State v. Krajewski,

2002 WI 97, 255 Wis. 2d 98,

Oe a Ne eisai anntsasinaslepiniiste ntncdaitehaindnnbiatainnn 3

United States v. Santana,

GET UB BR ID beseinisssintnnsrinatnviasndintatancnsrnighariasi 18

Warden, Maryland Penitentiary v. Hayden,

BE Ga Be CD iatanimesticnsininnissincibnasiathcimnianeamnia 17

Welsh v. Wisconsin,

MED TIS. FED IGG A) iiciesistcsrcensarsnitiicissrsssninnnrnanctinninns 18

STATUTES CITED

Be OAL, © Ea arcs nictntssnccsintescsapicndttnmingnnstiancnisae pe

42 ULS.C. § 1983 .......cscscescccscrscosescesesenescersssensssseerans 9, 10, 15

Wis. Stat. § 346.62(1)(a) (2001-02)... ee eeseeeeees adliaielans 5

Wis. Stat. § 346.62(1)(b) (2001-02) wrsvssssennetvsensen 5

Wis. Stat. § 346.63(1)(a) (2001-02) 0.0... eescesteeereeeeneees 3

Wis. Stat. § 346.63(1)(b) (2001-02) .0... eee eeeeseeteeeeeeeeneees 3

Wis. Stat. § 885.235(1g)(cd) (2001-02) ........ceeeesseeseees 2,6

Wis. Stat. § 974.05(1)(d)2 (2001-02) ........cceeseeseseeeeereeeeeees 5

vi

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION

U.S. CORSE. GUBGIRE, BV ceconcsscrncncsonsncscessessensnnssesneesnnuianned passim

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Supp. Ce, BR. HOG) acccocerossvececcesescoseasssinneynetnotenniasesasesousnseumaenneans 9

Bump. C2 BR. BGC) cccsesccssescccsssersesessnssssnevesensiansesenstsnbesannaneenants 19

No. 04-471

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

¢

JACOB J. FAUST,

Petitioner,

v.

STATE OF WISCONSIN,

Respondent.

+

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE SUPREME

COURT OF WISCONSIN

*

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

¢

Respondent, the State of Wisconsin, files this bref

opposing Petitioner Jacob J. Faust’s petition for a writ of

certiorari to review the opinion of the Wisconsin Supreme

Court in State v. Faust, 2004 WI 99, 274 Wis. 2d 183,

682 N.W.2d 371; Pet-Ap. la-35a. Respondent files this brief

in opposition pursuant to this Court’s request on

November 16, 2004, that Respondent file such a bref.

2

JURISDICTION

Respondent disagrees with Petitioner’s contention that

this Court has jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a).

The decision of the Wisconsin Supreme Court does not reflect

a final judgment within the meaning of that statute.

Respondent will address this argument further in the “Reasons

for Denying the Petition” section of this brief.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The facts relevant to Faust’s claim are undisputed.

Faust was stopped in Sheboygan, Wisconsin, after City of

Sheboygan Police Officer James Olsen noticed the license

plate on his car was registered to a different vehicle. Faust,

682 N.W.2d 371, 4 4; Pet-Ap. at 3a. Olsen smelled a strong

odor of intoxicants in Fausi’s vehicle and also noticed that

Faust’s eyes were bloodshot and glassy and that he was

slurring his speech. Faust told Olsen that he had drank “five

brandies.” Jd.

Faust failed a field sobriety test and submitted to a

preliminary breath test, which indicated a blood alcohol level

of 0.13. Jd. at § 5; Pet-Ap. at 3a-4a. Olsen arrested Faust

and transported him to the police station. There, Faust

voluntarily gave a breath sample for chemical analysis, the

results of which indicated that Faust’s blood alcohol level

was 0.09. Jd. Because Faust had two prior convictions for

operating while intoxicated, he was prohibited from

operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration

greater than 0.08. Jd.; Wis. Stat. § 885.235(1g)(cd) (2001-

02).

Desiring to obtain additional evidence because the

previous tests were close to the legal limit, Olsen requested

3

that Faust submit to a blood test. Jd. at § 6; Pet-Ap. at 4a-5a.

Faust refused. Olsen then took Faust to a hospital where a

blood test was performed. The results of this test indicated

that Faust’s blood alcohol level was 0.1. Jd.

The State charged Faust with operating while

intoxicated and operating with a prohibited blood alcohol

concentration. Jd. at § 7; Pet-Ap. at 5a; Wis. Stat.

§ 346.63(1)(a) and (b) (2001-02). Faust moved to suppress

the results of the blood test. He claimed that the test violated

the Fourth Amendment because it was taken without a

warrant. Specifically, he argued that the exigent

circumstances exception to the warrant requirement, which

normally allows police officers to test the blood alcohol

levels of persons arrested for drunk driving without a

warrant, did not apply to the blood test because any exigency

that would have justified the blood draw ended when Olsen

obtained the breath test. Faust, 682 N.W.2d 371, § 7; Pet-

Ap. at 5a. The circuit court agreed and suppressed the

results of the blood test. Jd.

The State appealed the court’s suppression order.

The Wisconsin Court of Appeals affirmed the circuit court,

based upon a Wisconsin Supreme Court case, State v.

Krajewski, 2002 WI 97, 255 Wis. 2d 98, 648 N.W.2d 385.

See State v. Faust, 2003 WI App 243, 4§ 14-16, 267 Wis. 2d

783, 672 N.W.2d 97; Pet-Ap. at 42a-43a.

The Wisconsin Supreme Court granted the State’s

petition for review and reversed. Faust, 682 N.W.2d 371,

93; Pet-Ap. 2a-3a. It concluded that the exigent

circumstances exception applied to the blood draw because

of the rapid dissipation of alcohol in the bloodstream, and

rejected Faust’s claim that the exigency ended simply

because Olsen had obtained a valid breath test. Jd. at Jj 22-

23; Pet-Ap. at 12a-13a. The court’s conclusion was based

ee

a ee eee

4

primarily on Wisconsin case law interpreting this Court’s

decision in Schmerber v. California, 384 U.S. 757 (1966).

Faust, 682 N.W.2d 371, §§ 16-18; Pet-Ap. at 9a-lla. The

court concluded that the nature of the evidence in this case,

alcohol, and the fact that it rapidly dissipates from the

bloodstream, presented the exigent circumstances necessary to

conduct the test without a warrant, and the existence of other

evidence did not end the exigency. Jd. at § 22; Pet-Ap. at 12a-

13a.

The court also noted that concerns about the later

usability of the test were consistent with its finding of exigent

circumstances. Jd. at § 24; Pet-Ap. 14a-15a. In particular, the

court said that breath tests are often challenged as inaccurate.

Id. at § 25; Pet-Ap. at 15a. Additionally, the court said

police often need additional, more definite evidence when

the test results place the defendant close to the legal limit, as

they did here. Jd. at § 26; Pet-Ap. 15a-16a. The court also

noted that defendants often later challenge their consent to

chemical tests, even though consent was apparently given.

Id. at § 27; Pet-Ap. at 16a-16b. The court’s discussion of

these issues was tied to its finding of exigent circumstances,

not, as Faust suggests, a series of “what if” scenarios.

(Petition at 7-8).

Finally, based primarily on Faust’s concession, the

court also concluded that the blood draw was reasonable.

Faust, 682 N.W.2d 371, § 31;-Pet-Ap. at 20a-22a. The court

stated that merely because it had concluded that exigent

circumstances obviated the need to obtain a warrant in this

case, it was not holding that police would be justified in

taking any number of tests as long as there was alcohol in the

suspect’s blood. Jd. The court did not define what it would

consider unreasonable, see id. at {§] 32-33; Pet-Ap. at 22a-

23a, but concluded, based upon Faust’s concession and the

a

5

particular facts of the case, that Olsen’s blood draw was

reasonable. Jd. at {4 31-33; Pet-Ap. 20a-23a.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

I CERTIORARI IS NOT WAR-

RANTED BECAUSE THE

DECISION OF THE WISCONSIN

SUPREME COURT IS NOT FINAL

WITHIN THE MEANING OF

28 U.S.C. § 1257(a).

A. Faust has not yet been tried for

the two drunk driving charges

against him and it is not clear

what role the blood test’s

results will play in future

proceedings.

As Faust briefly mentions in his petition, he has not

been tried on the charges against him, one count each of

operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated and operating a

motor vehicle with a prohibited blood alcohol concentration.

(Petition at 3). See Wis. Stat. § 346.62(1)(a) and (b) (2001-

02). The Wisconsin Supreme Court’s decision arose from an

appeal by the State challenging the circuit court’s decision to

suppress the results of the blood sample taken from Faust.

See Wis. Stat. § 974.05(1)(d)2. (2001-02); Faust,

682 N.W.2d 371, 4 7; Pet-Ap. at 5a.

Under 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a), certiorari review of a

state court decision is available only for “[f]inal judgments

or decrees rendered by the highest court of a State in which a

decision could be had.” In a criminal proceeding, “finality

generally is defined by a judgment of conviction and the

imposition of a sentence.” Florida v. Thomas, 532 U.S. 774

eo

(2001) (citing Fort Wayne Books v. Indiana, 489 U.S. 46, 54

(1989)). There has not yet been a tnal, or any other

proceedings involving the charges against Faust, and this

Court should not accept his petition for certiorari.

At this point, it is entirely unclear what effect the

Wisconsin Supreme Court’s decision, or any decision by this

Court, will have on Faust’s prosecution. The arresting

officer took two samples from Faust, one of his breath and

the other of his blood. Faust, 682 N.W.2d 381, {J 5-6; Pet-

Ap. at 3a-5a. While the results were different, both placed

Faust over the legal limit at which he was allowed to operate

because of his two prior operating while intoxicated

convictions. Jd. at § 5; Pet-Ap. at 3a-4a. See Wis. Stat.

§ 885.235(1g)(cd). Either or both of these tests could be

used as evidence against Faust. Without knowing what role

the blood test results will play in any future proceedings, any

resolution of the question presented at this point may wind

up being largely academic.

rnahanaah eee.

In its decision, the Wisconsin Supreme Court noted

that Faust could challenge the validity of one or both of his

prior convictions, thus requiring the State to prove that his

blood alcohol level was above .10, rather than .08. Jd. at

426; Pet-Ap. at 15a-16a. The court also said that Faust

could, and had indicated that he likely would, challenge the

accuracy of the breath test and might also challenge his

consent to that test. Jd. at §§ 25, 27; Pet-Ap. 15a-17a.

While, under these scenarios, the blood test would become

more relevant, the fact is that neither has happened yet. It is

speculative to suggest that these challenges will occur, or

more importantly, that they will succeed. As such, it is

impossible to gauge what effect, if any, a decision by this

Court would have on the outcome of the charges against

Faust. This Court should deny his petition for certiorari

sat ne oh rah DR Nl i ie emi toes

7

because the Wisconsin Supreme Court’s decision is not a

final judgment under 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a).

B. Faust’s case does not meet any

of the exceptions to the final

judgment rule.

This Court has recognized four types of cases that

may be excepted from the final judgment rule. See Cox

Broadcasting Corp. v. Cohn, 420 U.S. 469 (1975). None of

these apply to Faust’s case. The first category includes cases

in which “there are further proceedings—even entire trials—yet

to occur in the state courts but where for one reason or

another the federal issue is conclusive or the outcome of

further proceedings preordained.” Jd. at 479. As noted, it is

entirely unclear what will occur in this case’s future state

court proceedings. Further, the federal issue presented,

whether the blood draw violated the Fourth Amendment, is

not conclusive to the outcome of the future state proceedings

because, even if the results were suppressed, Faust could still

be prosecuted based upon the breath test.

The second category of excepted cases are those in

which “the federal issue, finally decided by the highest court

in the State, will survive and require decision regardless of

the outcome of future state-court proceedings.” Jd. at 480.

This exception does not apply. Again, it is far from clear

what role the results of the blood test will have in the

subsequent state court proceedings. Further, it may be that

Faust will not be convicted. As such, it is not at all clear that

the federal issue would remain regardless of the outcome of

the state proceedings.

Third, Cox exempts cases where “the federal claim

has been finally decided, with further proceedings on the

merits in the state courts to come, but in which later review

8

eee ee

of the federal issue cannot be had, whatever the ultimate

outcome of the case.” Jd. at 481. Here, if Faust is convicted

at trial, he could still later seek review of his claim. See

Johnson v. California, 541 U.S. __, 124 S. Ct 1833, 1834

(2004). His case does not meet this exception.

The last Cox exception includes those cases where:

[T]he federal issue has been finally decided in

the state courts with further proceedings

pending in which the party seeking review

here might prevail on the merits on nonfederal

grounds, thus rendering unnecessary review

of the federal issue by this Court, and where

reversal of the state court on the federal issue

would be preclusive of any further litigation

on the relevant cause of action rather than

merely controlling the nature and character of,

or determining the admissibility of evidence

in, the state proceedings still to come. In

these circumstances, if a refusal immediately

to review the state court decision might

seriously erode federal policy, the Court has

entertained and decided the federal issue,

which itself has been finally determined by |

the state courts for purposes of the state

litigation.

Cox, 420 U.S. at 482-83.

This exception plainly does not apply to Faust. If this

Court were to reverse the Wisconsin Supreme Court, it

would not preclude Faust’s prosecution because of the

existence of the breath test. Instead, the Court’s resolution

of the federal issue presented here would only control the

admissibility of some evidence against Faust. See id.

9

Faust’s case does not meet any of this Court’s recognized

exceptions to the 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a) finality requirement,

and this Court should deny the petition for certiorari.

II. CERTIORARI IS NOT WAR-

RANTED BECAUSE THE

WISCONSIN SUPREME COURT’S

DECISION DOES NOT CONFLICT

WITH NELSON v. CITY OF IRVINE.

The centerpiece of Faust’s certiorari petition is the

purported conflict between the Wisconsin Supreme Court’s

decision and the Ninth Circuit’s decision in Nelson v. City of

Irvine, 143 F.3d 1196 (9th Cir. 1998), cert. denied, 525 U.S.

981 (1998). (Petition at 11-15). Sup. Ct. R. 10(b). Faust

points to some language in Nelson suggesting that the Ninth

Circuit and Wisconsin take drastically different approaches

to the exigent circumstances exception to the warrant

requirement in the context of nonconsensual blood tests of

drunk driving arrestees and this Court’s decision in

Schmerber. (Petition at 11-15). As such, Faust claims that

this Court must grant certiorari to resolve this dispute.

Faust overstates the conflict. First, the purported

conflicting language in Nelson is dicta. It is not essential to

the court’s holding, and presents no meaningful conflict with

the Wisconsin Supreme Court’s decision. Second, the

alleged improper police conduct in Nelson is factually

different from that in Faust because none of the claims in

Nelson involved the subsequent administration of a chemical

test after one had already been obtained. Finally, the

procedural postures in Faust and Nelson, which was a

proposed 42 U.S.C. § 1983 class action, are entirely

different. There is no reason for this Court to grant certiorari

based upon Faust’s alleged conflict with Nelson.

10

A. Relevant facts about Nelson.

Nelson involved an appeal of a proposed class action

§ 1983 suit that had been dismissed on its pleadings. Nelson,

143 F.3d at 1199. The proposed class members were all

persons convicted of drunk driving who were generally not

informed of their right, under California’s implied consent

law, to take their choice of a blood, breath, or urine test upon

their arrest. Jd. The class members claimed that their nights

under the Fourth Amendment had been violated because

“they were coerced into submitting to blood tests in order to

determine their blood alcohol level, and deprived of the

statutorily mandated option to take a breath or urine test

instead.” Jd.

The Ninth Circuit agreed that the proposed class

representatives had alleged violations of their Fourth

Amendment rights. Jd. at 1205. Accepting the plaintiffs’

allegations as true, the court first concluded, after a lengthy

discussion, that it was unreasonable for the officers to force

the arrestees to submit to blood tests when urine and breath

tests were available and required to be offered by state

statute. Jd. at 1200-04. It also briefly addressed the exigent

circumstances exception the warrant requirement. Jd. at

1204-05.

It is Nelson’s short discussion of exigent

circumstances that Faust relies upon to establish his claimed

conflict. In particular, he maintains that the Wisconsin

Supreme Court’s decision that the exigent circumstances

exception is based upon the rapid dissipation of alcohol from

the blood and that the exigency does not end when a valid

test is taken conflicts with Nelson’s statement that:

When an arrestee requests but is denied the

choice of an available breath or urine test, the

et eS need a a ea li hae to Meee ae

11

exigency used to justify the warrantless blood

test continues only because of the City’s

failure to perform the requested alternative

test. Whenever a DUI arrestee consents to a

breath or urine test, and such tests are

available, the administration of either the

breath or urine test would preserve the

evidence and end the exigency. In such cases,

because the sole justification advanced to

excuse the officers from obtaining a warrant

disappeared when the exigency ended, the

blood tests were not only unnecessary and

unreasonable, but violated the Fourth

Amendment’s warrant requirement.

Id. at 1205 (footnote omitted).

B. Faust’s alleged conflict relies

entirely on dicta from Nelson.

Faust’s claim of conflict between the Wisconsin

Supreme Court’s decision and the Ninth Circuit’s is

premised entirely on dicta in the Nelson decision. Faust and

Nelson each focus on different aspects of the Fourth

Amendment inquiry into warrantless blood draws from

drunk driving arrestees: exigent circumstances and

reasonableness. Each decision focuses on one almost to the

exclusion of the other. That Nelson’s discussion of exigent

circumstances is dicta is further demonstrated by the fact

that, assuming that Nelson stands for the proposition that

Faust claims it does, the court’s statements would not apply

to any of the proposed class representatives’ claims.

Nelson’s exigent circumstances discussion is dicta and does

not conflict with Faust.

12

l. Faust focuses on

exigent circumstances

while Nelson almost

exclusively addresses

reasonableness.

As noted in Faust and Nelson, in order to comply

with the Fourth Amendment, police officers drawing blood

without a warrant must find an exception to the warrant

requirement, and their ensuing search must also be

reasonable. Faust, 682 N.W.2d 371, 4 31; Pet-Ap. at 20a-

22a; Nelson, 143 F.3d at 1200. While both decisions address

these two issues, they each focus on a different one.

Nelson’s discussion of exigent circumstances is an

afterthought following a _ lengthy discussion of

reasonableness. Nelson, 143 F.3d at 1200-05. In contrast,

Faust focuses entirely on exigent circumstances, primarily

because Faust conceded the blood draw’s reasonableness

under the test established in State v. Bohling, 173 Wis. 2d

529, 494 N.W.2d 399, 400, cert. denied, 510 U.S. 836

(1993); Faust, 682 N.W.2d 371, 4f 10-31; Pet-Ap. at 7a-22a.

In addition to its extremely brief treatment of the

issue, the Ninth Circuit’s discussion of exigency is not

necessary to its conclusion that the blood draws alleged

violated the Fourth Amendment. Exigent circumstances

only excuse the need for a warrant; any search subsequently

performed must still be reasonable. Had the officers in

Nelson obtained warrants, it would not have affected the

court’s conclusion that the blood draws were unreasonable

based upon the availability of other tests that the officers

were statutorily required to offer. Reasonableness, not

exigent circumstances, is the focus and the holding of the

Nelson decision.

13

In contrast, the Faust decision primarily addresses

exigent circumstances. Faust conceded that the blood draw

was reasonable under the Fourth Amendment. Faust,

682 N.W.2d 371, § 31; Pet-Ap. at 20a-21a. Thus, the only

issue presented in Faust was whether the arresting officer

needed to obtain a warrant, or find another exception to the

warrant rule, to perform the blood draw. Nelson’s primary

discussion, and the only one necessary to sustain its holding,

is that it was unreasonable to take a blood test from an

arrestee when other tests were available and had to be

offered. Faust and Nelson focus on two different Fourth

Amendment inquiries and do not present a conflict that this

Court should resolve.

2. Nelson’s exigent cir-

cumstances discussion

would not apply to any

of the plaintiffs in that

case.

The exigent circumstances discussion in Nelson is

also dicta because it is far from clear how the discussion, as

Faust interprets it, would even apply to the facts presented in

that case. Faust argues that Nelson stands for the proposition

that once a valid chemical test is taken, the exigency ends

and bars any subsequent warrantless search. (Petition at 12).

If this is the holding, however, it would not apply to any of

Nelson’s proposed class members’ allegations, and is

therefore not essential to the Ninth Circuit’s decision.

It does not appear that any of the proposed class

representatives in Nelson ever had to submit to a valid

chemical test other than the blood test they claimed violated

their Fourth Amendment nights. According to the

descriptions provided in Nelson, one class member took an

inadmissible preliminary breath test and another failed in an

14

attempt to take a breath test. Nelson, 143 F.3d at 1199. The

others appear to have only been given one test, their blood

draw. Jd. If the exigent circumstances discussion in Nelson

is to stand for the proposition that a valid test of any kind

ends the exigent circumstances excusing the need to obtain a

warrant, then the exigency in the cases of the various class

representatives ended when their blood was taken and these

tests were all supported by exigent circumstances. Nelson's

discussion of exigent circumstances is dicta. The conflict

between Faust and Nelson is not genuine, and this Court

should not grant certiorari.

C. Nelson does not present the

same factual circumstances as

Faust because, in Nelson, the

police generally only

administered one chemical

test.

Similarly, this Court should deny Faust’s request for

certiorari because Faust and Nelson present entirely different

factual scenarios. Faust took two chemical tests. He claims

that the exigent circumstances that would have allowed his

warrantless blood draw no longer existed because he had

previously consented to a breath test. None of the proposed

class representatives in Nelson appear to have made a similar

claim, and it is unlikely they could have because, as noted,

none of them completed two valid tests. Due to this

distinction, the exigent circumstances discussion in Nelson

is inapplicable to the facts presented in that case, as already

noted.

However, another possible interpretation of the Ninth

Circuit’s exigency discussion, and really the only way to

interpret it as applying to that case, is to read it as stating that

an arrestee’s mere offer to take an alternative test ends the

15

exigent circumstances. Some of the class representatives

might have been able to prove a Fourth Amendment

violation based upon this interpretation because some of

them claimed they offered to take breath or urine tests. See

Nelson, 143 F.3d at 1203 n.3.

if Nelson’s exigent circumstances discussion is

interpreted in this way, however, it does not directly conflict

with Faust, which only rejected a claim that the exigency

ended when a valid test was taken, not when the offer to take

an alternative test is made. This would undoubtedly be a

much narrower rule that would not directly conflict with the

one Faust proposed the Wisconsin Supreme Court adopt and

which he now urges is correct to this Court. The only way to

view Nelson’s discussion of exigent circumstances as

anything but dicta is to read out the conflict Faust maintains

exists with the Wisconsin Supreme Court’s decision.

D. Faust and Nelson present

entirely different procedural

scenarios.

Finally, Faust’s attempt to show a conflict between

his case and Nelson must fail because they each involve

entirely different types of cases at different stages of

litigation. Faust arose from an actual criminal drunk driving

prosecution. The facts at issue in the lower courts were

undisputed. While the Wisconsin Supreme Court’s decision

was based upon a state’s appeal conducted before the case

was final, the court nonetheless applied the law to an

undisputed and concrete set of facts.

In contrast, Nelson involved a class action 42 U.S.C.

§ 1983 lawsuit that had been dismissed on the pleadings.

The Ninth Circuit was addressing facts that it had to presume

to be true. There is no indication that these facts were ever

16

proven or how the legal principles enunciated in Nelson were

applied on remand to the district court. The different

procedural postures of Nelson and Faust preclude the finding

of a conflict allowing this Court to grant certiorari.

Additionally, it is far from clear that Nelson has had

any impact on how blood or other chemical tests for drunk

driving arrestees are administered in California or any other

jurisdiction. Further, Respondent has uncovered no case law

from that state or any other adopting Nelson in a factual

Situation similar to the one presented here. Any conflict

between the principles in Faust and Nelson may be just that,

a conflict in principles. There is no indication that it reflects

a real conflict justifying certiorari.

Ill. CERTIORARI IS NOT WAR-

RANTED BECAUSE THE FAUST

DECISION DOES NOT CONFLICT

WITH ANY OTHER SUPREME

COURT DECISIONS.

Finally, Faust argues that the Wisconsin Supreme

Court’s decision conflicts with several of this Court’s cases

addressing the exigent circumstances doctrine. (Petition at

17-18). He maintains that Faust expands the doctrine far

beyond the permissible boundaries of this Court’s decisions.

Faust is incorrect. Almost all the cases he relies upon

address other Fourth Amendment issues and do not directly

conflict with Faust. To the extent that the cases are on point,

Faust has failed to make any showing that the cases conflict

in such a way to warrant this Court’s review.

Faust first points to Cupp v. Murphy, 412 U.S. 291

(1973). His reliance on this case, however, is entirely

misplaced. In Cupp, as Faust correctly notes, this Court

determined that the police taking scrapings from a

17

defendant’s fingernails without a warrant was permissible

under the Fourth Amendment. /d. at 295-96. The exception

to the warrant requirement upon which this Court sustained

the search, however, was not exigent circumstances, but

rather search incident to arrest. Jd. Cupp involves an

entirely different exception to the warrant requirement, and

Faust does not conflict with it.

Next, Faust points to Warden, Maryland

Penitentiary v. Hayden, 387 U.S. 294 (1967). (Petition at

17-18). There, police who were following a suspected

robber, entered a home to look for him. /d. at 297. Although

the police apparently obtained the occupant’s consent, see id.

at 297-98, this Court determined that exigent circumstances

justified the entry into the house, in part, because of threat to

safety that might develop by taking the time to obtain a

warrant. Jd. at 298. Faust compares the concern for public

safety in Hayden to similar safety concerns involving drunk

driving. (Petition at 17). He does not, however, explain why

this Court’s decision in Hayden conflicts with Faust, nor can

the Respondent discern any such conflict.

Nor has Faust shown any conflict between this

Court’s decision in Ker v. California, 374 U.S. 23 (1963),

and the Wisconsin Supreme Court’s decision. (Petition at

18). In Ker, police entered a home without a warrant to

arrest two persons suspected of having marijuana. Jd. at 28.

The issue there, as framed by this Court, was whether the

marijuana was lawfully seized incident to the persons’ arrest.

Id. at 34-35. Although the court briefly mentioned that there

was an exigency for the police to enter the home based on

the possible destruction of the evidence, the focus of the

court’s decision was whether the marijuana was admissible

under a different exception to the warrant requirement,

search incident to arrest. Ker does not conflict with Faust.

18

United States v. Santana, 427 U.S. 38 (1976), is

similarly inapplicable. (Petition at 18). There, the court

considered whether a defendant could “thwart an otherwise

proper arrest” by entering her home. /d. at 42. The court

concluded that the “hot pursuit” doctrine allowed the police

to follow the suspect into her home and make the arrest. Jd.

at 42-43. Again, while the court addressed the possible

destruction of evidence as a basis for justifying the

warrantless entry, the court’s decision was based on the hot

pursuit exception to the requirement for a warrant to arrest a

person in their home. /d. The court did not address the

exigent circumstances exception to the search warrant

requirement, and Santana does not conflict with Faust.

Finally, Faust points to Welsh v. Wisconsin, 466 U.S.

740 (1984), as conflicting with the Wisconsin Supreme

Court’s opinion. (Petition at 18). There, this Court

determined that exigent circumstances did not justify the

warrantless entry into a suspected drunk driver’s home to

arrest him. Welsh, 466 U.S. at 753. Faust argues that, had

this Court wanted to “extend Schmerber to treat all drunk

driving cases as exigency cases, it could have done so” in

Welsh. (Petition at 18). However, like Santana, this case is

inapposite because it involves warrantless entry into a home

to arrest, not warrantless blood draws of suspected drunk

drivers.

Additionally, Faust is wrong when he claims that

applying Faust’s rationale would have allowed the police in

Welsh to enter the home and take a blood sample from the

defendant. Under both Bohling and Schmerber, the person

whose blood is drawn must first be validly arrested. See

Schmerber, 384 U.S. at 768-70; Bohling, 494 N.W.2d at 400.

The issue in Welsh was the validity of the arrest, not a blood

draw. Because the defendant in Welsh had not been properly

Hae eee te. | eet

19

arrested, the police could not have taken a warrantless blood

sample from him.

In arguing that the Wisconsin Supreme Court’s

opinion conflicts with the aforementioned cases, Faust

maintains that the court greatly expanded the exigent

circumstances doctrine so that, in Wisconsin, “all searches of

blood [are] exigencies.” (Petition at 17). This is incorrect.

The Wisconsin Supreme Court properly applied this Court’s

ruling in Schmerber to conclude that the rapid dissipation of

alcohol in the bloodstream obviated the need to obtain a

warrant to perform the blood draw from Faust. Faust has not

demonstrated that the Wisconsin Supreme Court’s decision

is incongruent with Schmerber.

_ Similarly, this Court should not grant certiorari on the

grounds that Wisconsin Supreme Court’s decision presents

an important federal question that this Court needs to

address. (Petition at 15-17). Sup. Ct. R. 10(c). The court

did not, as Faust maintains, give police “unfettered discretion

to conduct an infinite number of searches based upon the

mere assertion that they believe the nature of the evidence

sought constitutes an exigency.” (Petition at 15). Instead,

the court properly recognized that, under Schmerber, the

police are not required to obtain a warrant to perform

chemical testing of drunk driving arrestees due to the rapid

dissipation of alcohol from their blood streams. Faust,

682 N.W.2d 371, § 12; Pet-Ap. at 7a-8a (citing Schmerber,

384 U.S. at 770). As the court also noted, any such test must

also be reasonable; and it is hardly obvious, as Faust

suggests, that 20 such tests would meet this requirement

under the court’s decision. (Petition at 16). The Wisconsin

Supreme Court’s decision is a proper application of

Schmerber, and there is no need for this Court to accept

review.

20

Faust’s doomsday scenarios really concern the

reasonableness of the warrantless tests, not the circumstances

that obviate the need for a warrant. Faust, however,

conceded that his test was reasonable in the state court, and

he should not be allowed to raise the issue here. It remains

to be seen under what circumstances multiple chemical tests

would be unreasonable. This however, is a subject for future

litigation and need not be resolved by this Court at this time.

CONCLUSION

Based upon the foregoing reasons, Respondent

respectfully requests that this court deny Faust’s petition for

a writ of certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

PEGGY A. LAUTENSCHLAGER

Attorney General

AARON R. O'NEIL

Assistant Attorney General

DAVID J. BECKER*

Assistant Attorney General

Wisconsin Department of Justice

Post Office Box 7857

Madison, Wisconsin 53707-7857

(608) 266-7447

*Counsel of Record -

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.