Opposition Brief — Altamimi v. Brabender
Supreme Court brief2004
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
Co
No. 04-265 a Court us)
—
In The 22 2004
Supreme Court of the Anited THY eK |
MAJEED ALTAMIMI,
Petitioner,
v.
DANIEL J. BRABENDER, JR., W. RICHARD COWELL,
JOHN R. WINGERTER, LEE C. FULLER, TED J.
PADDEN, DONALD J. ROGALA, BRADLEY K.
ENTERLINE, MARY PAYTON JARVIE, individuals,
and CARNEY & GOOD, a professional partnership,
Respondents.
BS
vv
On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The Supreme Court Of Pennsylvania
¢
BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION
FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
2
Vv
JAMES R. SCHADEL, ESQUIRE
PA. I.D. 27937
Counsel of Record
Amy J. Coco, ESQUIRE
PA. I.D. 73416
WEINHEIMER, SCHADEL &
HABER, P.C.
Firm #090
602 Law and Finance Building
429 Fourth Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15219-1503
(412) 765-3399
Counsel for Respondents
COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831
RESTATEMENT OF THE
QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW
1. Whether the state court properly dismissed a
state law legal malpractice action as time barred where
the Petitioner had filed his action more than six years
after the termination of the attorney-client relationship
and more than six years after his sentencing?
il
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
RESTATEMENT OF THE QUESTION PRESENTED
FOR REVERE scusssncicaeniiecqacssantildaasdbatenseatnnes i
TABLE OF AUST Ra seis Fi iisccsctucsivcssesisercsscciesstiecsias iii
COUNTER STATEMENT OF THE CASE................... 1
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT...................... 3
I. Petitioner has not stated a claim for viola-
tion of equal protection or of due process ....... 3
A. The statute of limitations here does not
treat similarly situated persons differ-
B. The statute of limitations is rationally
related to legitimate governmental in-
Ce OGRE ..«....siscsmisaccacetebsdoemanaecameasssiiesients 9
Ii. Petitioner has failed to plead any proper
jurisdictional basis for this Court to hear
these state Law CIRIGBD ccccccecccccectacececcsessoccscocess 13
CONCLUSION .......:+.scsccuruenninanseeeis eenaannnnsenensbaanaan 14
iii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
CASES
American Pipe and Const. Co. v. Utah, 414 U.S. 538
I le tlic tiae a ah ad racic kdb sbnlghanbbeaceneniueniemiannenied 4
Bailey v. Tucker, 621 A.2d 108 (Pa. 1993)................. passim
Bowen v. City of New York, 476 U.S. 467 (1986)................. 4
Braswell v. Flintkote Mines, Ltd., 723 F.2d 527 (7th
SN I he salen ddd nadeiheddabtinedanckabiuntaianensuionauiamiaviuatiuesen 10
Ciccarelli v. Carey Canadian Mines, Ltd., 757 F.2d
I I cides accbheadbekaseatoiaaksewnnabend 4,9, 10, 11
City of Cleburne v. Cleburne Living Center, Inc., 473
secs aacicnisanasndensonaapeanioiiions 4,9
Clark v. Gulesian, 429 F.2d 405 (1st Cir. 1970), cert.
denied, 400 U.S. 993, 91 S.Ct. 461, 27 L.Ed.2d
(REET Ae a Oe ee Ne ae ae 10
Dincher v. Marlin Firearms, Co., 198 F.2d 821 (2d
a alee 10
Jewson v. Mayo Clinic, 691 F.2d 405 (8th Cir. 1982)........ 10
Mathis v. Eli Lilly & Co., 719 F.2d 134 (6th Cir. 1983) ......... 10
Order of Telegraphers v. Railway Exp. Agency, 321
RE ARSE TEER ay EOE ROMO Ne ORR ND 4
Ornstein v. Regan, 604 F.2d 212 (2d Cir. 1979) ................ 10
Robbins & Seventko Orthopedic Surgeons, Inc. v.
Geisenberger, 674 A.2d 244 (Pa.Super. 1996).............. 6, 7
Romer v. Evans, 517 U.S. 620 (1996)... eee eeeee 9
U.S. Department of Agriculture v. Moreno, 413 U.S.
A a ciiacuoaeaninnunciosoes 9
Wood v. Carpenter, 101 U.S. 135 (1879)........... ee eeeeeee 3
1V
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued
Page
CONSTITUTION
Is ice TR aia mae 9
Constitution of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania........ 13
RULES
Be SN I laid sacs diene santincoelosiialedicabennatinsSniensagsananuon 1
Be I ic vcstcusaciseinciinasnsmununsaceehotehecanankexeiteaniamies 1
Be eR III ind ncctheaspteianccncsngsh vandaaatendagudlesinkunescceas-euedanats 1
Oe ee CIE iistsch Lcenesctiaunsadibedcdinnesncsardaueckcadcecunianies 4,9
Be PEA: ENT citeiasucctiscenciens Hideatieinsdcandebidaiesasaatueniasanias 13
1
BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
COUNTER STATEMENT OF THE CASE
This is a state law claim for a legal malpractice under
Pennsylvania law arising out of Petitioner’s guilty plea to
Indecent Sexual Assault and Corruption of a Minor.
Petitioner, an immigrant from Iraq, was charged with
Criminal Solicitation (18 Pa.C.S.A. §902), Indecent Sexual
Assault (18 Pa.C.S.A. §3126) and Corruption of the Morals
of a Minor (18 Pa.C.S.A. §6301) arising out of an incident
occurring on January 19, 1995. Defendant Daniel Bra-
bender, Jr., Esquire represented Petitioner in defense of
the criminal charges filed against him. Defendant disputes
that Petitioner asserted his innocence. Petitioner signed
the plea agreement in connection with the matter on or
about February 13, 1995 and testified regarding the plea
on September 6, 1995. (Transcript of plea hearing, RR,
p. 131a). The Petitioner testified at that hearing that he
understood the plea agreement (RR, p. 137-138a), that he
understood he was pleading guilty with no agreement as
to sentencing (RR, p. 142a) and that he acknowledged he
had spoken to his attorney and his interpreter about what
was in the agreement (RR, p. 141a). As a result of the
agreement, the charge of Criminal Solicitation was
dropped and Petitioner pled guilty to the offenses of
Indecent Sexual Assault and Corruption of the Morals of a
Minor. Thereafter, Petitioner was sentenced to incarcera-
tion at a sentencing hearing on or about October 10, 1995.
Defendant Brabender filed a Motion to Modify and Reduce
Sentence on behalf of Petitioner which the court denied
the very next day. After that ruling, but sometime before
the end of October 1995, Petitioner terminated Mr. Bra-
bender as his counsel.
2
After terminating Mr. Brabender as his counsel in
October 1995, Petitioner did not file a direct appeal in the
matter. However, Petitioner subsequently retained James
Stuczynski, Esquire, in June of 1996. On June 3, Peti-
tioner filed a Motion for Post Conviction Collateral Relief
(PCRA) which was denied on November 25, 1996. Peti-
tioner appealed and said appeal was denied on September
8, 1997. A Petition for Allowance of Appeal was filed to the
Pennsylvania Supreme Court, which was denied on
February 23, 1998.
As a consequence of Petitioner’s guilty plea and
incarceration on charges involving “moral turpitude,” the
Immigration and Naturalization Services (INS) served
upon him an Order to Show Cause why he should not be
deported. An INS hearing was held on October 21, 1997,
and Petitioner was ordered to be deported. That decision
was affirmed on February 5, 1999. Subsequently, in order
to avoid the deportation, Petitioner filed a Petition for
Habeas Corpus in the United States District Court for the
Western District of Pennsylvania. It was in INS proceed-
ings that the Petitioner for the first time raised his issues
regarding the incontinence, impotence and loss of sexual
functioning to attempt to show innocence. However, the
sexual function was not an element of the underlying
criminal charges. The magistrate judge originally recom-
mended denying the Petition; however, after Petitioner
filed objections to the Magistrate’s Report, his Petition was
granted. The Commonwealth of Pennsylvania did not
oppose the Petition for Habeas Corpus as Petitioner had
served all of his state court sentence and was no longer in
the custody of the Commonwealth at the time his Petition
was finally granted on August 21, 2001. Petitioner asserts
that he was cleared of all the charges, when in fact, he was
eee
ee
a
3
not. To the contrary, the habeas corpus was granted
allowing him to stay in the country.
Petitioner, on February 15, 2002, then filed this legal
malpractice claim against Defendants, Mr. Brabender and
the Law Offices of Carney & Good, more than six (6) years
following his sentencing in state court on October 10, 1995
and Mr. Brabender’s termination as Petitioner’s counsel in
October 1995.
+
vy
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT
I. Petitioner has not stated a claim for violation
of equal protection or of due process
This Court has long held that “[s]tatutes of limitation
are vital to the welfare of society and are favored in the
law. They are found and approved in all systems of
enlightened jurisprudence. They promote repose by giving
security and stability to human affairs. An important
public policy lies at their foundation. They stimulate to
activity and punish negligence.” Wood v. Carpenter, 101
U.S. 135, 139 (1879). This Court consistently upholds the
States’ interest in eliminating stale claims. As this Court
explained:
Statutes of limitation ... are designed to pro-
mote justice by preventing surpr’ses through the
revival of claims that have been allowed to slum-
ber until evidence has been lost, memories have
faded, and witnesses have disappeared. The the-
ory is that even if one has a just claim it is unjust
not to put the adversary on notice to defend
within the period of limitation and that the right
to be free of stale claims in time comes to prevail
over the right to prosecute them.
4
Bowen v. City of New York, 476 U.S. 467, 482 n. 13 (1986);
American Pipe and Const. Co. v. Utah, 414 U.S. 538, 554
(1974); Order of Telegraphers v. Railway Exp. Agency, 321
U.S. 342, 348-49 (1944). There is no absolute and unlim-
ited constitutional right of access to courts, only reason-
able access is necessary. Ciccarelli v. Carey Canadian
Mines, Ltd., 757 F.2d 548 (3d Cir. 1985). The statute of
limitations in Pennsylvania, under 42 Pa.C.S.A. §5524,
provides that negligence claims must be brought within
two (2) years of the date the cause of action arises. The
Pennsylvania Supreme Court in Bailey v. Tucker, 621 A.2d
108 (Pa. 1993) examined claims of legal malpractice and
determined when the statute of limitations begins to run.
As the statute of limitations does not treat similarly
situated persons differently, is reasonably related to
legitimate government interests, and the Petitioner was
given reasonable opportunity to be heard, there is no
federal constitutional violation here. The determination of
when a state law cause of action arises is purely a matter
of state law, and this Court should deny the Petition.
A. The statute of limitations here does not
treat similarly situated persons differently
The Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth
Amendment “is essentially a direction that all persons
similarly situated should be treated alike.” City of Cle-
burne v. Cleburne Living Center, Inc., 473 U.S. 432, 439
(1985). Petitioner’s claim here that the statute of limita-
tions for a legal malpractice claim arising out of a criminal
claim treats him differently than those arising out of other
tort claims such as malicious prosecution or abuse of
process. However, this is a misstatement of the law of
Pennsylvania. The statute of limitations in this matter
treats the claimants identically and requires that the
claim be brought within two years from the date the claim
accrues. The law is clear in Pennsylvania that the statute
of limitations in a legal malpractice action arising out of a
criminal matter commences to run not later than the
termination of the attorney-client relationship. Bailey v.
Tucker, 621 A.2d 108 (Pa. 1993). In Bailey, supra, the court
found that in the context of a criminal malpractice action,
the time when the harm is suffered in the typical case is
“easily identifiable, i.e., the date of sentencing.” Bailey,
621 A.2d at 116. Nevertheless, the court recognized that in
criminal proceedings the date the defendant is aware that
counsel may have been responsible for the alleged harm is
often harder to pinpoint. Jd. Therefore, the court held that
the appropriate starting point for the statute of limitations
in a criminal malpractice suit is the termination of the
attorney-client relationship since at that point the ag-
grieved defendant is aware of the injury and is on clear
notice to investigate any alternative cause of that harm
which he believes to exist. Jd.
Although Petitioner argues that he must bring his
claim prior to it accruing, this is simply not the case. In
fact, Petitioner’s cause of action accrues at the date of
sentencing. At that point, duty, breach and harm have all
occurred, according to the court in Bailey. The cause of
action has accrued at that point. And moreover, the court
in Bailey specifically addressed this element of the claim
not as an element necessary for the prima facie case to file
the suit, but rather that “a plaintiff will not prevail in
an action in criminal malpractice unless and until he
has pursued post-trial remedies and obtained relief which
was dependent upon attorney error.” Specifically address-
ing the Petitioner’s issue, the court notes that “(this
6
requirement does not, however, relieve the plaintiff of his
duty to initiate this cause of action within the statute of
limitations period as hereinafter discussed.” Jd., 621 A.2d
at 115. While plaintiff may later be precluded from pre-
vailing in a legal malpractice action because he cannot
prove that he was innocent of the action and able to obtain
post-sentencing relief, this does not mean his claim has
not accrued. Rather, these are elements that, if not proven,
break the chain of causation.
The claim for legal malpractice arising out of a civil
action is identical in this respect. Robbins & Seventko
Orthopedic Surgeons, Inc. v. Geisenberger, 674 A.2d 244
(Pa.Super. 1996). There, the plaintiff may later obtain
relief in the appellate court which would prevent his
recovery in the legal malpractice action because it breaks
the chain of causation. However, as explained by the court
in Robbins, this does not mean that the cause of action did
not accrue. The court in Robbins explained the Bailey
holding as follows:
While the Court did require a plaintiff to pursue
post-trial remedies and obtain the relief that was
dependent on the attorney’s errors before the
malpractice claim was cognizable, it did not ex-
empt the plaintiff from filing the action within
the prescribed statute of limitations period. Bat-
ley, 533 Pa. at 251 n. 13, 621 A.2d at 115 n. 13.
The Court explained:
“[w]e recognize the concern about the amount of
claims that might clog the civil dockets. However,
we feel that it is more important that we require
these criminal defendants to file their claims
within the statutory period to prevent any injus-
tice to an attorney who has to defend a claim of
7
malpractice many years after his relationship
with the client ends.” Bailey, 533 Pa. at 252 n.
15, 621 A.2d at 115 n. 15. In those instances
where the malpractice claim must be filed before
the post conviction process was completed, the
Court directed an attorney defendant to inter-
pose a preliminary objection on the grounds of
demurrer. The trial court was then instructed to
reserve its ruling until the post conviction proc-
ess was resolved. Bailey, 533 Pa. at 251 n. 13,
621 A.2d at 115 n. 13.
Robbins, 674 A.2d at 248. The court in Robbins then held
that the statute of limitations in a legal malpractice action
arising out of a civil matter was not tlled during the
appeal process in that matter. Therefore, the rule in Bailey
is in that manner no different for civil action claimants
and the causes of action accrue when duty, breach and
harm are present. Here, the Petitioner’s cause of action
accrued at the time he alleged that Mr. Brabender allowed
him to enter into the plea agreement and when he was
subsequently sentenced. All of this occurred in 1995.
Therefore, his claim accrued in 1995. Further, there is no
question that Petitioner was actually aware of the duty,
breach and the actual harm at that point. He had been
sentenced and he pleads in this matter that he had main-
tained his innocence throughout serving his sentence
(although this fact is disputed). He was accordingly aware
then at the time of his sentencing that he had pleaded
guilty to a crime for which he was sentenced to jail and
that he maintained he did not commit.
The instant matter is not a malicious prosecution
action, nor is it a false arrest or imprisonment claim.
Rather, this is a claim for legal malpractice arising out of a
criminal matter, just as the claim in Bailey. The elements
8
of malicious prosecution and false imprisonment claims
are very different than those of a legal malpractice action
and the claimants are not similarly situated. In a legal
malpractice action, a plaintiff is bringing a claim against
his own lawyer, and the court in Bailey directly addressed
the policy considerations involved in a criminal defendant
suing his lawyer. The Court explained:
Unlike in the civil litigation area, a client does
not come before the criminal justice system un-
der the care of his counsel alone; he comes with
full panoply of rights, powers, and privileges.
These rights and privileges not only protect the
client from abuses of the system but are designed
to protect the client from a deficient representa-
tive. Thus, whereas in a civil matter a case once
lost is lost forever, in a criminal matter a defen-
dant is entitled to a second chance (perhaps even
a third or fourth chance) to insure that an injus-
tice has not been committed. For these reasons
we are constrained to recognize that criminal
malpractice trespass actions are distinct from
civil legal malpractice trespass actions, and as a
result the elements to sustain such a cause of ac-
tion must likewise differ.
Id. at 114. The Petitioner is claiming that his due process
— rights are being violated because he must file his legal
malpractice action against his criminal attorney within
two years from the date of the termination of the attorney-
client relationship. His argument is that he has fewer |
rights than those bringing false imprisonment or mali- |
cious prosecution claims. However, in actuality, as the
court addressed in Bailey, the criminal defendant comes
with full panoply of rights, powers, and privileges as part
of the criminal process designed to protect him from
OE
9
deficient representation. Therefore, the statute of limita-
tions began to run at Petitioner’s sentencing on October
10, 1995. Pursuant to 42 Pa.C.S.A. §5524, a legal malprac-
tice action in negligence must be brought within two (2)
years of the date the cause of action arises. The instant
action, brought by Petitioner more than six (6) years after
the cause of action arose, is barred by the statute of
limitations applicable in legal malpractice actions sound-
ing in both negligence and contract.
As Petitioner cannot meet his burden that he was
treated differently than similarly situated classes of
persons. Petitioner was not denied due process, and _ this
Petition should be denied.
B. The statute of limitations is rationally re-
lated to legitimate governmental interests
Even assuming Petitioner was treated differently, this
statute of limitations is constitutional. In considering
whether state legislation violates the Equal Protection
Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment, U.S. Const., Amdt.
14, §1, the Court applies different levels of scrutiny to
different types of classifications. Under the rational basis
standard of review, “legislation is presumed to be valid
and will be sustained if the classification drawn by the
statute is rationally related to a legitimate state interest.”
Cleburne, supra, 473 U.S. at 440; See also U.S. Depart-
ment of Agriculture v. Moreno, 413 U.S. 528, 534 (1973);
Romer v. Evans, 517 U.S. 620, 632-33 (1996).
The court in Ciccarelli, supra, examined the appel-
lant’s claim that the difference in the running dates of the
statutes of limitations in the wrongful death action and
survival action violated equal protection and due process
10
rights. The court held that it did not and stated that even
statutes that in effect extinguish claims before they accrue
can be constitutional. Jd. The court noted that “[b]ecause
statutory periods are in some sense arbitrary, the period to
initiate suit occasionally expires before a claimant has
- sustained any injury, See e.g. Jewson v. Mayo Clinic, 691
F.2d 405, 411 (8th Cir. 1982); See also Dincher v. Marlin
Firearms Co., 198 F.2d 821, 822-23 (2d Cir. 1952), or before
the claimant knows he has sustained an injury, see, e.g.,
Jewson, 691 F.2d at 411; Clark v. Gulesian, 429 F.2d 405,
406 (Ist Cir. 1970), cert. denied, 400 U.S. 993, 91 S.Ct.
461, 27 L.Ed.2d 441 (1971).” Jd. 757 F.2d at 555. The court
found that these statutes do not violate the constitution so
long as the term is otherwise reasonable. Id. See also
Braswell v. Flintkote Mines, Ltd., 723 F.2d 527, 531 (7th
Cir. 1983); Mathis v. Eli Lilly & Co., 719 F.2d 134, 139 (6th
Cir. 1983); Jewson, 691 F.2d at 411; Ornstein v. Regan, 604
F.2d 212, 214 (2d Cir. 1979).
The court in Ciccarelli also held that having different
running times for different claims does not violate equal
protection. The court stated:
The distinction does not implicate a suspect class
nor a fundamental right; consequently, if the dis-
tinction is rationally related to a legitimate gov-
ernment interest it does not violate equal
protection. A distinction between wrongful death
and survival actions, and those personal injury ac-
tions brought by living plaintiffs, is related to the
state’s interest — and those of the survivors — in
the prompt settlement of the economic and legal
affairs of the deceased. The state legislature may
not be said to be irrational in encouraging a per-
sonal representative to bring suit promptly. Re-
quiring all wrongful death and survival actions
11
to be commenced within one and two years, re-
spectively, of the decedent’s death may well rep-
resent a conclusion by the state that the right to
be free of state claims in time comes to prevail
over the right to prosecute them even though this
may lead to harsh results in some cases.
Id., 757 F.3d at 555-56.
Likewise, in the instant matter, Petitioner claims that
the statute of limitations accrual established in Bailey
violates the constitution because it treats claims against
lawyers differently than it treats claims for malicious
prosecution or false imprisonment. However, this impli-
cates neither a suspect class nor a fundamental right.
Therefore, so long as the distinction is rationally related to
a legitimate government interest, it is constitutional. In
Bailey, the Pennsylvania Supreme Court addressed the
mumerous government interests involved in litigation in
claims against lawyers, and in particular, lawyers in
criminal malpractice actions. Those interests included:
1) the threat of a malpractice action for repre-
sentation of a criminal defendant will have a
“chilling effect” on counsel’s ability to defend
his client fearlessly and independently;
2) as a consequence the system will have diffi-
culty attracting and maintaining attorneys
to represent persons charged with crime,
and the retention of an attorney will become
prohibitively expensive;
3) aggrieved defendants already have sufficient
systemic remedies for attorney ineffective-
ness such as appeals and post-conviction
proceedings;
12
4) to permit such a cause of action will result
in a flood of litigation; and
5) the existence of such a cause of action leads
to the possibility of a guilty “in fact” party
actually profiting from his crime where the
attorney’s negligence was directed to a non-
factual aspect of the criminal defense
Id., 621 A.2d at 112-13. The Pennsylvania Supreme Court
appropriately balanced a plaintiff’s right to bring a claim
with a defendant’s right to be put on notice of a claim and
the interest of avoiding litigation of stale claims. Pennsyl-
vania has a Writ procedure which allows the plaintiff to
file a notice of a claim without asserting the facts support-
ing the elements of a cause of action. In these types of
circumstances, this would place the defendant lawyer on
notice to maintain files and information with respect to a
representation. The Pennsylvania Supreme Court clearly
considered these issues in holding that the cause of action
accrued at the latest at the time of the termination of
representation. Therefore, the Pennsylvania courts had
rational reasons related to legitimate government inter-
ests in deciding the accrual period for claims against
lawyers. Accordingly, the statute of limitations accrual
period for legal malpractice claims is constitutional.
Petitioner has not met his burden of establishing that
there is no rational reason related to legitimate govern-
ment interests in this matter. Accordingly, the lower courts
appropriately ruled and there is no compelling reason
justifying additional review. Accordingly, this Petition
should be denied.
13
II. Petitioner has failed to plead any proper
jurisdictional basis for this Court to hear
these state law claims
Petitioner's attempt to have this Court consider
whether or not the statute of limitations for legal malprac-
tice claims violates Equal Protection and the Constitution
of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania must fail as there is
no proper jurisdictional basis. The United States: Supreme
Court may review judgments rendered by state courts
under 28 U.S.C. §1257. The section permits review by
certiorari of a final judgment of the highest court of a state
that is premised on federal law or where the validity of a
state statute is violative of federal law or the Constitution.
The decisions by the Pennsylvania appellate courts at
issue in this Petition for Writ of Certiorari were based
exclusively on state law claims. There is no reference in
the decisions of the Pennsylvania appellate courts to any
federal law, including the federal equal protection and due
process clauses. More importantly, 28 U.S.C. §1257 only
permits this Court to review decisions of the highest court
of a state which concern federal law. Further, Petitioner is
not complaining that the terms of the state law statute of
limitations violate federal law. Rather, the Petitioner
appears to be complaining that the Pennsylvania Supreme
Court’s holding of the elements for a state law claim of
legal malpractice violates due process. This is entirely a
state law issue and does not implicate federal law in any
way and 28 U.S.C. §1257 does not confer jurisdiction on
this Court to hear this claim.
Finally, by definition, Petitioner’s claim that the
application of the statute of limitations denies him rights
under the Constitution of the Commonwealth of Pennsyl-
vania is a state law claim, and 28 U.S.C. §1257 will not
14
confer jurisdiction upon this Court to entertain such a
claim. Therefore, this Petition should be denied.
¢
CONCLUSION
Because the state courts have properly ruled regard-
ing this state law issue, and no federal constitutional
violation occurred, this Court should deny the Petition.
Respectfully submitted,
WEINHEIMER, SCHADEL & HABER, P.C.
JAMES R. SCHADEL, ESQUIRE
Pa. I.D. 27937
(Counsel of Record)
AMY J. Coco, ESQUIRE
Pa. I.D. 73416
Counsel for Respondents
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.