Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Slautterback v. IPC Mutual Indemnity, Ltd.

Supreme Court brief1999

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

( \ Supreme Court, u.g,

U FILED

98 665 0cT 2 21996

No.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

October Term, 1998

.

RICHARD D. SLAUTTERBACK, SANDRA L. SLAUTTERBACK,

TRUSTEE, AMERICAN OWNER OPERATOR UNDERWRITERS, INC. and

AMERICAN TRUCK UNDERWRITERS HOLDING CORPORATION,

Petitioners,

VS.

IPC MUTUAL INDEMNITY, LIMITED,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

RICHARD YOUNG, Esq.

Attorney for Petitioners

125 Town Park Drive, Suite 300

Kennesaw, GA 30144-5803

Tel.: (770) 420-8290

Fax: (770) 420-8201

DICK BAILEY SERVICE (212) 608-7666 (718) 522-4363 (516) 222-2470 (914) 682-0848 Fax: (718) 522-4024

1-800-531-2028

Bienes wsaceanis

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether a federal court may hold that the statute of

limitations for fraud claims continues to run where two of three

parties to a fiduciary relationship not only concealed their

secret termination of one of three tripartite agreements binding

the three parties, and where those same two parties conspired

to and did falsely report to the Petitioner to conceal their fraud..

y Whether the federal court should have applied the

statute governing mutual accounts, that is, that the statute of

limitations for mutual accounts begins to run on the date of the

last item thereto, rather than beginning at the time of the

discovery of the alleged fraud.

a Whether the federal court should have applied the ten-

year statute of frauds governing causes of action against

fiduciaries.

4. Whether a federal court should litigate the three

contracts of an interlocking tripartite rent-a-captive

arrangement in one civil action, such that the true relationship

among the parties can be adjudged, considering the effect of the

terms of the related agreements, and where the rent-a-captive

relationship is a creature of Bermuda law, and with one of the

three contracting parties a Bermuda incorporated captive

insurance company.

. 2 Whether this Court should review this case of first

impression in regard to alternative to reinsurance programs

which are implemented through offshore rent-a-captives now

constituting 50% of all premium dollars of United States

insureds. There is no American case law governing this huge

multibillion dollar business, nor case law dealing with such

tripartite arrangements.

il

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

In addition to the parties named in the caption, the

following subsidiary or sister corporations were parties before

the Court of Appeals:

330 Mad. Parent Corp.

AIC Financial Corp.

Allcity Insurance Co.

American Life & Casualty Insurance Co.

American Life Holding Co.

American Travelers Insurance Company of N.Y.

American Truck Underwriters, Inc.

American Investment Co.

American Life Holdings, Inc.

American Investment Financial

American Life & Casualty Marketing Division Co.

American Investment Bank, N.A.

American Travelers Life Insurance Co.

Balwin Forest Products, L.L.C.

Baldwin Enterprises, Inc.

Baldwin-CIS, L.L.C.

Bankers Life & Casualty

Bankers National Life Insurance Co.

Bankers Life Insurance Company of Illinois

Bankers Life & Casualty Co.

Bay Colony Insurance Co.

Bayside Casualty Insurance Co.

Bellpet, Inc.

Beneficial Standard Life Insurance Co.

Caja De Aharro y Seguro S.A.

Capital Management, Inc.

Centurion Insurance Co.

Certified Life Insurance Co.

Certified Life Insurance

ill

CFM Insurance Managers (Bermuda)

Charter National Life Ins. Co.

CITHC, Inc.

CIHC Entertainment Nevada, Inc.

CNC Real Estate, Inc.

College Life Development Corp.

Colonial Penn Group, Inc.

Colonial Penn Insurance Company

Colonial Penn Franklin Insurance Company

Commercial Loan Insurance Corp.

Commonwealth Risk Services (Europe) Limited (United

Kingdom)

Commonwealth P.isk Services, Inc. (Pennsylvania)

Commonwealth Risk Services (West) Ltd. (California)

Conseco Risk Management, Inc.

Conseco Entertainment, L.L.C.

Conseco Financial Services, Inc.

Conseco Services, L.L.C.

Conseco Entertainment, Inc.

Conseco Equity Sales, Inc.

Conseco Global Investments, Inc.

Conseco Marketing, L.L.C.

Conseco Mortgage Capital, Inc.

Conseco, Inc.

Conseco Private Capital Group, Inc.

Continental Life Insurance Co.

Conwed Corp.

CPAX, Inc.

CPI Investments, Inc.

Empire Insurance Group

Empire Insurance Co.

Florida Power & Light Company

FPL Group, Inc.

Great American Reserve Insurance Co.

Hamilton Management Ltd. (Wisconsin)

iV

HIF International (Bermuda)

HSD Venture

Intrameria Life Insurance Co.

IPC Group of America, Ltd. (Pennsylvania)

IPC Mutual Holdings Ltd. (Delaware)

Jefferson National Life Insurance Company of Texas

Larnar Life Insurance Co.

Legion Management Corporation (Oklahoma)

Legion Finance Corporation (Missouri)

Legion Insurance Company (Pennsylvania)

Leucadia National Corporation

Life Partners Group, Inc.

Lincoln American Life Insurance Co.

Lincoln Income Life Insurance

LNC Investments, Inc.

Lornas Financial Corp.

M & A Holdings, Ltd. (Bermuda)

Marketing Distributions Systems Consulting Group, Inc.

Massachusetts General Life Insurance Co.

MRM Reinsurance Brokers (Bermuda)

MRM (Vermont) Ltd. (Vermont)

Mutual Risk Management (Bermuda) Ltd.

Mutual Indemnity (Dublin) Ltd.

Mutual Indemnity Ltd. (Bermuda)

Mutual Indemnity (Barbados) Ltd. (Barbados)

Mutual Risk Management (Cayman), Ltd. (Cayman)

Mutual Risk Management Ltd.

Mutual Risk Management (Barbados) Ltd. (Barbados)

Mutual Finance, Ltd. (Bermuda)

Mutual Group, Ltd. (Delaware)

Mutual Indemnity (Bermuda) Ltd. (Bermuda)

National Fidelity Life Insurance Co.

Neward Corp.

MASC, Inc.

Park International Limited (Bermuda)

Vv

Pennpark Investors, L.L.C.

Philadelphia Life Insurance Co.

Philcorp, Inc.

Premium Securities Limited (Bermuda)

Professional Data Management, Inc.

Rastin Investing Corp.

Rerco, Inc.

Shoreline Mutual Management (Bermuda) Limited (Bermuda)

Silver Mountain Industries, Inc.

Solana Corp.

Sperry & Hutchinson Co., Inc.

Telluride Properties Acquisition, Inc.

Terreacor II

TLIC Life Insurance Co.

Transatlanta Truck Insurance Underwriters, Inc.

Transport Life Insurance Co.

Transportation Capital Corp.

Truck Office of America

Truck Underwniters of America, Inc.

United General Life Insurance Co.

Village of Inlet Beach, Inc.

Vulcan Life Insurance Co.

Wabash Life Insurance Co.

Wedgewood Investments, L.L.C.

Wells & Company, Inc.

Wellsco, Inc.

WMAC Investment Corp.

WMAC Credit Insurance Corp.

vi

TABLE OF CONTENTS

I os ee a ge i

See II Sat ee ii

BID ork Fig Dtctiuds bike os ook vc Sank vi

NE SII 3 dl ns Se Addwid dass ook Vili

oo) . ., ERS ET FESR eee l

nee oe 8... rR eres l

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions Involved ........ l

SOT ONIN is C0 5 2 ea kee fone vce 2

I. Background of the Rent-a-Captive

Alternative to Reinsurance Arrangement ......... 3

Il. The Tripartite Venture. .................... 6

Ill. The Federal Proceeding Below ............. 9

Reasons for Granting the Writ ...................... 1]

I. Active Fraud and Fraudulent Concealment

by a Fiduciary Tolls the Running of the

Limitations Period - Resolution of the Split

pe ere Freee See i

A. Fiduciary Relationship ............. 11

B. Fraudulent Concealment ............ 13

C. “Injury and Concealment” versus

“Separate and Independent Injury” ...... 14

Vii

D. Actual Cause of Action ............. 15

II. The Petition should be Granted because

the Court below Failed to Apply the Mutual

Accounts Statute of Limitations to this Case ..... 17

A. The District Court erred in granting

summary judgment for the Respondent

on the ground of expiration of the

gE rey rer rere 17

B. The District Court Should have found

that the Shareholder Agreement gave

Rise to a mutual account, as to which

under Georgia law the limitation period

does not begin to run until the date of

the Inst therm Chereot oko kc ccc cecs 18

C. The District Court should have found

Mutual Indemnity held Slautterbacks’

432,000 shares of preferred stock in a

constructive trust, so as to apply

Georgia’s ten-year limitation period

for actions against fiduciaries ...... eee

III. The Petition Should be Granted Because

there is no United States Case Law Governing

Rent A Captive, or Alternative to Reinsurance/

Self-Insurance, and the Arrangement Constitutes

50% of all U.S. Citizens’ Premium Dollars

which are Transmitted to Offshore Entities ...... 23

CN 55k SORES AES Coir ee ee wa eae ae 24

ane . | j

Viil

TABLE OF CITATIONS

Cases Cited:

Aetna Life Ins. Co. v. Weekes, 241 Ga. 169, 172

SUSE SI Alo. SAE RSS. 21

A.H. Kellos Construction Co. v. Balboa Insurance Co..,

495 G. Supp. 408 (S.D. Ga 1980) ................0008 11

Alder v. Hertling, 215 Ga. App. 769,

ae eRe PE aE Fs 65 es ae cts acecadvccees 16

Allen v. Sanders, 176 Ga. App. 647, 649(1),

SE Gene Es i chs 8 ss wie ie dee Chae eh eee 12

Bivens Gardens Office Building v. Barnett Bank,

906 F.26 1540-41 10s Cok. TOF oS oe ees 14, 15

Borden v. Sinskey, 530 F.2d 478 (3" Cir. 1976) ........ 21

Borse v. Piece Goods Shop, Inc., 963 F.2d 611, 614,

CO ne RE i ns Fes ELS 4eA CER ew ke 17

Carr v. Kupfer, 250 Ga, 106, 296 S.E. 2d 560 (1982). .... 18

Colonial Penn Ins. v. Slautterback, 36 F.3d 95

CE ye hes Gre Te i eS ei ee es 9,10

a e irance D’i France v.

New England ReinsuranceCorporation, 57 F.3d 56,

Fe Clee SOP sok ek os ns boa S ERS be DER Hobe se ; 22

Erie R.R. v. Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64, 58 S. Ct. 817,

gg ee rere PEE er ree 16

iX

Fincit Company II v. Hardin, 225 Ga.App. 232,

SES DE POD os. sab a dw oa btn es ae 11

v. Guy F. Atkinson Co., 209 Ga. 113, 70 S.E.

BEL TALEO de he a os he A ok oe A 17

Holmbers v. Armbrecht, 327 U.S. 392 (1946)........... 17

Indon Industries Inc. v. Charles S. Martin Distributing

Company, Inc. 234 Ga. 845, 218 S.E.2d 562 (1975) ..... 17

King Mfg. Co. v. Clay, 216 Ga. 118 S.E. 2d

wn EES) it Bees Se er er oo 20

Klaxon Co. v. Stentor Elec. Mfg. Co. 313 U.S. 487,

Gi S. CO FOR ie BO oi 5s avid ks knees 17

Klehr v. AO Smith Corp., U.S. Supreme Court

Case No. 96-663 (Fume, 1997). 2... oui ee eee ce 11,14

Klewit Eastern Co. v. L&R Constr. Co..,

44 F.3d 1194, 1201 n. 16 (3d Cir 1995)............... 17

Lehman v. Zuckerman, 198 Ga.App. 202,

SP ee Pe CR 5 ds oc ook Wi as Aw ke 12

Lloyd v. Prudential Secs., Inc, 211 Ga.App.

PS Ga Pe FEE: iv np cos teak casseecbaes 17

McClure v. Raper, 266 Ga. 50,

OG ee Bae EE oko foi eet ek 14

McLean v. Haden, 214 Ga.App. 413,

OSE OO... 3... a is as a cc 15

xX

Meinhard v. Salmon, 249 N.Y. 458, 464,

166 NE; 345, 346,62 ALR. O9ZB). oc ec cess 22

Phoenix Airline Services, Inc. v. Metro

Airlines, Inc. 194 Ga. App. 120, 390 S.E.2d

secs on oo 21

Pilkington v. United Airlines, Case No. 96-2539

ee ES Oy ARE agro eN ar a ra 15

Remediation Services, Inc. v. Georgia

Pacific Corporation, 209 Ga.App. 427,

ee RD EE Soos Cc i SNE Bo cle te eck ws 13

Shipman v. Horizon Corm., 245 Ga. 808, 8009,

yg Say "a 2. Se eee eee rere se 20

Slautterback v. IPC Mutual, 132 F.3d 47 (Table)

BRE es By Le Ra ae Se ea Sh 4 sn nena 1

Thomas v. Clarkson, 1125 Ga. 72, 54 S.E. 77 (1906) .... 17

Travelers Ins. Co. v. Buffalo Reinsurance Co.,

86 Civ. 3369 (S.D.N.Y. June 18, 1991)............ 22,23

Turner v. Davidson, 188 Ga. 736,

ee a oe os as ok se i io EO 18, 19

Vaught v. Showa Denko K.K., 1997 U.S. App.

Lae er ET ho ns Sia ped ab ims 18

Vitner v. Funk, 182 Ga.App. 39(2),

Se TIER, Se heks ad oe Camas cncdaees 12

Xl

White v. Mercury Marine, 129 F.3d 1428

CRG Ba ae eI eae 1 TE PERRO 16, 24

Statutes Cited:

Be Ra EAE ccs ee a SRS CEPR l

United States Constitution Cited:

PAM PANNE i os 652s C6 NEO 9 ]

State Statutes Cited:

AS Ra POE Ba a cs in ka aw ees Oe 16, 18, 19, 25

OSA. SG ii es SSeS IOS 20

PRADA Eee cs ks Pa de Seno awe ees 1, 16

SPE SEDs SPRL: go's oc bs Ven ca Cee ok eae 15

CPA ASPs © BOOS 05 0 io bee FAT has ee oe Ee 13

OLS AS 2206 oe ee as 13

Other Authority Cited:

Gang, “Developmentes in Litigation Involving Reinsurer,

Cedents and Insureds,” Reinsurance Litigation and

Beet, FO. PLA, USSD) oi naive ne ev Swen as 22

C.E. Golding, The Law and Practice of Reinsurance,

MOUS Gl COP ca 5 oso ok vn ds 0 Ee 21

xii

John S. Diaconis, “Utmost Good Faith and Rescission:

Non-Disclosure of Material Facts in Reinsurance

Agreements,” Reinsurance Litigation and

EN Ee 21

APPENDIX

Appendix A - Opinion of the United States Court

of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit filed

SESE SE PEGS Fe PCE EEE ETe la

Appendix B - Order of the United States Court

of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit filed

i EGO Gees eee haa tke seccccscce 3a

Appendix C -Order of the United States District

Court for the Northern District of Georgia,

Atlanta Division, filed December 16,1996 ............ 4a

Appendix D -AS&K GUIDE, Appelby,

Spurling & Kempe, Counsel for Respondent ......... 29a

Appendix E - Shareholder Agreement between

Petitioner and Respondent as rent-a-captive .......... 45a

Appendix F - Agency Agreement between

Petitioner and the fronting company, Colonial

ee EI CU es a Sb prec scces cca Sla

Appendix G - Reinsurance Treaty ostensibly between

Respondent and Colonial Penn Insurance Co. ......... 74a

Appendix H - Motion for Rehearing and Suggestion

I Ua ceccdgadaabepocesccccess 88a

Xill

Appendix I - Seif-Insurance Manuel, NILS

Pupeseng CONEY, T9G8 oa ees llla

l

Petitioners, Richard D. Slautterback, Sandra L.

Slautterback, Trustee, American Owner Operator Underwnters,

Inc., and American Truck Underwriters Holding Corporation

(“the Slautterbacks”), respectfully request that a wnt of

certiorari be issued to review the judgment of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Eleventh Circuit is a non-published affirmance of the

District Court decision pursuant to 11th Cir. R. 36-1. (App. A)

The opinion of the District Court in Slautterback, et al. v. [PC

Mutual Indemnity Limited (N.D. Ga., December 13, 1996) is

not published. (App. C)

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Eleventh Circuit (“Court of Appeals’) was entered on

December 1, 1997. The Court of Appeals denied a timely

petition for rehearing on July 23, 1998. (App. B)

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked pursuant to 28

U.S.C. § 1254(1). |

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The Fifth Amendment to the United States Constitution

provides in relevant part: “No person shall . . . be deprived of

life, liberty, or property, without due process of law... ..” If

one party is barred or deterred from bringing an action by the

fraud of the other party, the statute of limitations begins to run

only from the time of the discovery of the fraud. O.C.G.A. §

9-3-96.

The Shareholder’s Agreement which is the contract for

breach of which Petitioners have filed the underlying suit, is the

|

2

product of Bermuda law, the Insurance Act of 1978 (Act No.

39 of 1978), July 7, 1978, Bermuda. That act provides that the

captive facility, i.e., the Respondent, “rents”’ its capital, surplus,

and license to the policy holder, i.e., the Petitioner, and the

rent-a-captive (Mutual) provides administrative services

(escrow and mutual accounts). The agreement itself, i.e., the

Shareholder’s Agreement, defines the relationshin of the parties

providing that the Respondent is the administrator or escrow

agent to merely receive the premiums generated by the

Petitioner, and accounts for them as fiduciary and escrow agent

for the benefit of the Petitioner/ Shareholder who rented the

Captive, 1.e., Mutual, the Respondent. As such, the mutual

accounts statute of limitations was the proper statute of

limitations to apply, and not the fraud or contract statute of

limitations. Bermuda law, defining the nature of a rent-a-

captive, and the shareholders agreement, made under Bermuda

law, governs the nature of the relationship of the parties, i.e., as

a fiduciary relationship running from Respondent to Petitioner;

and it is Georgia law, respecting the appropriate statute of

limitations, i.e., the mutual accounts statute, that applies

mandating the use of the ten-year statute of limitations

respecting fiduciaries as the proper statute to apply in this case.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A fundamental question in this case is whether the

statute of limitations in a contract case is tolled during the

active fraud of two party fiduciaries against a third party to a

tripartite “rent-a-captive” insurance venture. Secondly, should

another statute of limitations have been considered. Thirdly,

should the three contracts have been considered together which

comprise the tripartite arrangement known as alternative to

reinsurance, i.e., self-insurance as opposed to reinsurance.

|

3

1. Background of the Rent-a-Captive Alternative to Reinsurance

Arrangement.

Creative entrepreneurs have found a way to allow the

managing general agency, i.e., the generator of insurance sales

and premiums, to obtain the underwriting profits, i.e.,

premiums less losses paid. A statutory requirement to

receiving underwriting profit, or acting as an insurance

company, is reinsurance or some alternative to reinsurance.

Under Bermuda law rent-a-captives provide for the alternative.

Through Bermuda law (no state in the U.S. has to date passed

enabling legislation authorizing rent-a-captives) 2n MGA could

rent a captive insurance company through the medium of the

purchase of non-voting preferred stock in a Bermuda

corporation that for a fee would act as an escrow agent for

premium dollars and administer the program of insurance by

taking the premium dollars ceded to it by the MGA and invest

those premiums, pay over sufficient premium dollars to the

MGA for the payment of claims; and, at designated times, pay

to the MGA all premiums in excess of claims paid plus

investment income as a preferred share dividend after

deducting its fee. The rent-a-captive would take no risk, and so

it has declared in SEC filings, in its New York Stock Exchange

Prospectus and in all World Wide Web Sites and other sales

literature. Respondent’s Bermuda counsel, Appleby, Spurling

& Kempe, have published a guide, AS&K GUIDE, regarding

special types of insurance vehicles, including a description of

rent-a-captives, which states unequivocally that rent-a-captives

take no risk and act as mere conduits of underwriting profits

and investment income for organizations like the Petitioners.

(Appendix D) The Sel/f-Jnsurance Manual, NILS Publishing

Company, 1988, (Appendix H) states in Section 12.3.3.1 that

rent-a-captives act as administrators only in alternative risk

arrangements, including the use of a fronting company such as

Colonial Penn.

4

In order to sell and issue policies in the U.S., the MGA

contracted with a licensed insurer qualified in all states in the

U.S. under an agreement that the licensed insurer would act

merely as a fronting company, 1.e., license the use of its name

on policies of insurance for a fee. The various states sanctioned

the practice as long as the fronting company assumed a

minimum of 10% of the risk, which Colonial Penn Insurance

Co. agreed to do.

Thus, the Petitioners purchased preferred stock in the

Respondent (Appendix E), the rent-a-captive, and through the

latter’s administration of the program Petitioners acted as the

reinsurer, because the Reinsurance Treaty provided that the

consideration for the reinsurance was 90% of the premiums to

be paid to the named reinsurer, i.e., Mutual, however, via the

Shareholder’s Agreement Mutual agreed to pay this 90% of the

premiums ceded to the Petitioners after claims paid.

The Agency Agreement (Appendix F) entered into

between the Petitioners and the fronting company, 1.e., Colonial

Penn, provided that the Petitioners, as attorneys in fact, would

place the reinsurance, which it did through the reinsurance

treaty signed by the rent-a-captive rented by Petitioner. The

reinsurance treaty (Appendix G) provides that it was entered

into for the consideration that 90% of the premium be paid to

the reinsurer, which, although listed as the Respondent, the

Respondent, via the Shareholder’s Agreement, committed to

pay all those premium dollars over to the Petitioners.

That is why all three contracts must be read together.

Otherwise, its like the parable of the blind men and the

elephant. One feels the trunk and thinks it a snake. Another

feels the leg and thinks it a tree. If the agency agreement is

read independently, Colonial Penn may seem to be the insurer,

rather than the fronting company, at risk for only 10% of the

premium and receiving only a fronting fee. If read

oe a

5

independently, the reinsurance treaty might seem to be between

an insurer and a traditional reinsurer, whereas, Mutual

Indemnity, Respondent, takes no risk and receives no premium

as consideration (as a traditional reinsurer must) according to

Bermuda law governing rent-a-captives, according to the

Mutual Indemnity’s SEC filings such as 10K and 10Q,

according to its prospectus on Wall Street to all its investors as

a publicly held company, according to all its sales literature,

and according to the Shareholder’s Agreement it entered with

Petitioners, which spells out in detail that Respondent is acting

as a mere administrator of the program premiums, or escrow

agent, receiving premium, paying over to Petitioners sufficient

premium dollars to pay claims as periodically demanded by

Petitioners, and finally paying over to Petitioners alone all

underwriting profits, i.e., all premiums less claims paid plus

investment income as a preferred share dividend as ownership

or rent for the rent-a-captive. Thus the ostensible reinsurer,

because it is “rented” by Petitioners under Bermuda law, signed

the reinsurance treaty on behalf of Petitioners, who are the real

reinsurer; or, to put it another way, the Petitioners were self-

insured, by means of this device, sanctioned by Bermuda and

the various states laws so long as a fronting company is used

and the fronting company takes a minimum of 10% of the risk.

Mutual has grown into a giant since this transaction,

now showing several billions in assets. Mutual has the

following World Wide Web addresses: www.comrisk.com;

www.mutrisk. com; www.producersforum.com; and

www.accessmrm.com, explaining the nature of a rent-a-captive

and Mutual.

Therefore, although at first blush from reading the

Reinsurance Treaty it appears that the rent-a-captive or Mutual,

i.e., the Respondent, is a traditional reinsurer contracting with

an insurer, i.e., Colonial Penn, in a traditional reinsurance

arrangement, further reference to the Shareholder’s Agreement

6

makes it clear that the arrangement is really a Bermuda rent-a-

Captive, or alternative to reinsurance arrangement, because the

Shareholder’s Agreement provides that 90% of premium

dollars is paid over to the Petitioners, and none retained by

Respondent, whe merely receives a fee for acting as a fiduciary

in administering the money that merely passes through iis

hands, i.e., the Respondent merely acts as an escrow agent and

as a fiduciary for the benefit of the Petitioners, and the

Petitioners, in effect, are self-insured, which is the objective of

the Bermuda rent-a-captive arrangement. Industry statistics

show that 50% of all U.S. premium dollars are now placed in

rent-a-captive arrangements of this kind, i.e., alternative to

traditional reinsurance arrangements, i.e., in fact no

reinsurance, but, rather, a mechanism for self-insurance.

I. The Tripartite Venture.

In 1985, Slautterback (Insured/shareholder), Mutual

Indemnity (Rent-a-Captive) and Colonial Penn (Fronting

Company) entered into a tripartite, alternative risk management

plan, through the execution of three contracts: (1) The

Shareholder Agreement between Slautterback and Mutual

Indemnity dated August 1, 1985, which is the subject of this

suit, a Quota Share Treaty (or reinsurance agreement) between

Colonial Penn and Mutual Indemnity, and an Agent Agreement

between Slautterback and Colonial Penn.

The relationship of the parties was expressed in three

basic contracts, all interrelated, and no one of which would

have been entered into by any of the parties but for the

existence of the others. In other words, each of the parties to

contract “A” was aware of the necessity for the other two

contracts, “B” and “C” which needed to be signed before that

party would agree to be bound under contract “A.” The

arrangement was called a “tripartite” contract. The three

contracts were 1) an agency agreement; 2) a share-holders’

7

agreement; and 3) a reinsurance treaty.

Pursuant to the Shareholder Agreement, Slautterback

purchased 432,000 non-voting preferred shares of Mutual

In¢emnity, by posting a $432,000 letter of credit. Insurance

premiums were then collected by Slautterback from the

policyholders, and Slautterback then issued the policies of

insurance using Colonial Penn’s name, and then remitted

premiums to Colonial Penn under the Agency Agreement.

Colonial Penn deducted its fronting fee, and forwarded the

remainder of the premiums to Mutual Indemnity as required by

the Quota Share Treaty. Mutual Indemnity was to deduct its

rental fee (rent-a-captive), then hold the balance of the

premiums for the benefit of Slautterback, investing the

premiums, paying premium dollars to Slautterback as

demanded through reports of claims generated by Slautterback

as claims manager, and finally, to return to Slautterback all

premiums remaining as underwriting profits (premiums less

claims paid under the program of insurance) plus investment

income during the holding period. Mutual Indemnity was then

to redeem the preferred stock on January 1, 1991.

During the existence of the tripartite arrangement,

Mutual Indemnity sent Slautterback annual financial statements

regarding “[its] preferred shares Series V4" in 1986, 1987 and

1988, showing investment income and ihe stock’s current

value. In 1989 and 1990, two of the three parties, i.c.,

Slautterback and Colonial Penn, were in litigation over the

venture, and on January 1, 1991, when Mutual Indemnity failed

to fulfill the scheduled stock redemption and to pay the funds

over to the Slautterbacks, a letter was written to the Bermuda

Monetary Authority concerning the stock. Slautterback learned

from the Authority that the shares had been canceled in 1987.

He also learned late in the litigation with Colonial Penn that in

December, 1987, Mutual Indemnity and Colonial Penn had

entered into a secret rescission of their Quota Share

8

Reinsurance Treaty, including a provision that Colonial Penn

would indemnify, defend and hold harmless Mutual Indemnity

from any liability it might incur with the Slautterbacks for

wrongful termination of the rent-a-captive Shareholders

Agreement. Thus, prior to that secret agreement, Mutual

Indemnity had somehow secretly, unilaterally and illegally

redeemed the Slautterback stock. This secret agreement was

actively and purposefully concealed from Slautterback until

March, 1989, when it was finally produced in discovery in the

litigation between Slautterback and Colonial Penn.

In the first law suit, Slautterback was sued by Colonial

Penn, the mere fronting company, which misrepresented to

Judge Tidwell that they were the 100% insurer rather than a

fronting company, and they sued on only one of the three

interrelated or tripartite agreements, and they denied that

Mutual Indemnity was an indispensable party, although the

latter was one of three parties tied together by the tripartite

arrangement, and they alleged that Mutual Indemnity sold

Colonial reinsurance, although Mutual Indemnity has declared

to the world that they take no risk (find a reinsurer that doesn’t

take risk and you have a strange anomaly), and on appeal they

said that Slautterback was no party to any thing and due

nothing, in spite of the Shareholders Agreement that says that

Slautterback gets it all as follows:

1) Slautterback was the party to get 100% of the

consideration for the reinsurance as stated in the Quota Share

Reinsurance Treaty by virtue of the fact that Mutual Indemnity,

to whom 100% of the consideration set forth in that reinsurance

agreement goes, but its must be understood that Mutual

Indemnity had by virtue of the Shareholders Agreement then

turned that entire amount over to Slautterback. This is

consistent with the nature of a rent-a-captive. A rent-a-captive

rents its status as a captive to the renter, i.e., in this case

Slautterback, and merely administers the premiums for the

9

benefit of the renter, i.e., in this case Slautterback.

2) Slautterback was to receive the entire

underwriting profits on 90% of the premiums (all premiums

less claims paid) plus all of the investment income on the

premiums administered, less Mutual Indemnity’s fee of 2 2%,

according to the Shareholder Agreement.

The result is that in the first case the court looked at

only one contract, the agency agreement. In the second case,

before Judge Julie Carnes, the Petitioners sued Mutual

Indemnity, who had been effectively excluded as an

indispensable party by the urgings of Colonial Penn and its

lawyer, Paul Burke. In the second case, Mutual Indemnity’s

lawyer, Paul Burke, argued that Slautterback was not a party to

the reinsurance agreement and had no standing to bring the suit.

But how could Mutual Indemnity be the reinsurer when it

declares to the world that it does not take risk? If the trial court

does look at the other contracts that constitute the tripartite

contract arrangement, it will see that one of the three contracts

sets forth that the consideration for the reinsurance, or 90% of

the premiums ceded, was required passed through to

Slautterback, making Slautterback effectively self-insured,

especially when it is written in the Shareholder Agreement that

the extent of reinsurance is 70% of premiums ceded, i.e, 70%

of the 90% maximum, i.e., self-insurance in its classic form.

This court may actually be able to see the whole picture and not

a third as the other District Court was limited because of the

misrepresentations of Colonial and Paul Burke, and the truth be

finally known.

II. The Federal Proceedings Below.

On March 31, 1987, Colonial Penn sued Slautterback in

U. S. District Court, Northern District of Georgia, Atlanta

Division, alleging violations of the Agency Agreement.

Colonial Penn v. Slautterback, et al., 36 F.3d 95 (11th Circuit

10

1994 per curiam) Slautterback sought to add Mutual Indemnity

as a party to the Colonial Penn lawsuit, over Colonial Penn’s

objections through counsel, Paul Burke. The District Court

denied the motion for joinder on July 20, 1987, and in its final

judgment and Order of September 29, 1993, the Court stated

that “. . . since MI is not a party to this litigation, this decision

does not purport to affect any rights Slautterback may have

against MI.”

Slautterback filed this action against Mutual Indemnity

in the District Court for the Northern District of Georgia,

Atlanta Division, on December 22, 1994, less than four years

after the January 1, 1991, date that Mutual Indemnity was

required by the Shareholders Agreement to redeem the

preferred shares. Slautterback alleged breach of contract and

fraud among its claims. Mutual Indemnity invoked its

indemnity clause under the secret rescission contract with

Colonial Penn, and Paul Burke now appeared to defend Mutual

Indemnity, Respondent. Mr. Burke filed a Rule 11 against

Slautterback’s counsel protesting that this suit was frivolous in

light of the findings in the Colonial Penn suit, although he was

privy to the proceedings in the Colonial Penn suit and the

court’s order that “. .. since MI is not a party to this litigation,

this decision does not purport to affect any rights Slautterback

may have against MI.” This threat of a Rule 11 intimidated

Slautterbacks’ counsel who, without informing the

Slautterbacks, traded a legitimate motion for contempt against

Mutual in consideration for dismissal of the Rule 11.

Following discovery, Mutual Indemnity filed various

motions, including a motion for summary judgment based upon

expiration of the statute of limitations. It is in this motion that

Mutual Indemnity, through Paul Burke under the indemnity

agreement, pleads falsely that Colonial Penn was a 100%

insurer rather than the 10% fronting company and that Mutual

Indemnity sold reinsurance to Colonial Penn rather than a

2 PEAS

11

Mutual Indemnity’s true role as a rent-a-captive and mere

administrator of premium funds for the benefit of Slautterback

as supported by the Shareholder Agreement (Appendix E) and

the AS&K Guide of their own counsel, Appleby, Spurling &

Kempe (Appendix D).

The District Court granted summary judgment in favor

of Mutual Indemnity on December, 13, 1996, on the grounds

that the claims were barred by statutes of limitations. An

appeal was taken to the 1 1th Circuit which affirmed the District

Court per curiam without opinion on December 1, 1997. (132

F.3d 47 (1997)). Rehearing was denied on July 23, 1998. It is

from this decision that application for a Writ of Certiorari is

made.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. Active Fraud and Fraudulent Concealment by

a Fiduciary Tolls the Running of the Limitations

Period - Resolution of the Split Among the

Circuits

In Klehr v. A. O. Smith Corp., Case No. 96-633 (June

1997) this Court declined to resolve the split in the various

circuits as to what facts either start or stop the running of the

statute of limitations, stating that the Court preferred to “. . .

wait for a case that clearly presents these or related issues,

providing an opportunity for full argument. . . ,” before it

attempted to resolve them. The facts and issues in the case

below provide just that opportunity.

A. Fiduciary Relationship

The relationship of the parties of a tripartite rent-a-

captive insurance venture are similar in nature to the tripartite

suretyship between a surety, principal and creditor. A. H.

Kellos Construction Co. v. Balboa Insurance, 495 F.Supp. 406

(S.D. Ga. 1980) concerned suit on a construction performance

12

bond. Although that case was dismissed for failure to state a

claim for negligence against the supplier of roofing material

where damages were economic, it presents suretyship as a good

analogy to the fiduciary relationship between a corporation and

its shareholder, and between an insurance reinsurer and the

insured.

A second example is that which existed in Lehman v.

Zuckerman, 198 Ga.App. 202, 400 S.E.2d 704 (1990), where a

builder and an investor formed a construction company for the

purpose of building houses. The investor put his own money

into the company which the builder managed. When the

company was dissolved, the builder agreed in wniting to repay

the investor for his financial contributions. When the builder

did not pay, the investor sued. The builder claimed at trial that

the investor’s claims for reimbursement and the procuring of

the agreement were fraudulent. The Georgia Court of Appeals

held that ‘a special relationship of trust or confidence exists

between partners, who owe a duty of ‘utmost good faith’ to

each other. [Cit.] Because of that confidential relationship, one

partner is entitled to rely on representations made by another

partner.” Allen v. Sanders, 176 Ga.App. 647 (1) (337 S.E.2d

428) (1985). There was sufficient evidence for the Court to

find the existence of a confidential relationship. Zuckerman

and appellant were equal partners in the construction company,

each providing his own experience toward a common business

objective. See Vitner v. Funk, 182 Ga.App. 39 (2) (354 S.E.2d

666) (1987). Lehman, 198 Ga.App. At 431.

In our facts, Slautterback acted as the “investor” - its

funds (premiums) were sent to Colonial Penn, the “Builder,”

who deposited them into Mutual Indemnity, the “Construction

Company.” All three entities provided their own expertise

towards the common business objective of making money from

insurance policies. This clearly establishes the fiduciary/

confidential relationships as they related to the joint venture

13

itself. Mutual Indemnity is also a fiduciary with respect to its

relationship to its stockholder, Slautterback. Mutual Indemnity

held Slautterback’s money with the duty to invest and

eventually return it to the Shareholder. Slautterback held shares

of stock in Mutual Indemnity as its “collateral” or security for

the return of the money, although the actual physical stock

shares apparently never left Bermuda. Thus, by holding both

the money and the physical shares of stock themselves in

Bermuda, Mutual Indemnity was in a position to exert an

overwhelming influence over Slautterback’s interests. Under

Official Code of Georgia Annotated (O.C.G.A.) § 23-2-58,

“fajny relationship shall be deemed confidential, whether

arising from the nature, created by law, or resulting from

contract, where one party is so situated as to exercise a

controlling influence over the will, conduct and interest of

another or where, from a similar relationship of mutual

confidence, the law requires the utmost good faith, such as the

relationship between partners, principal and agent, etc.” All

that the law requires is the showing of a relationship in fact

which justifies the reposing of confidence in one party by

another. As provided in O.C.G.A § 23-2-53: “Suppression of

a material fact which a party is under an obligation to

communicate constitutes fraud. The obligation to communicate

may arise from the confidential relations of the parties or from

the particular circumstances of the case.” “[O.C.G.A § 23-2-

53] expressly goes beyond the strict fiduciary relations of the

parties and states that the obligation to communicate may arise

‘from the particular circumstances of the case.’” Remediation

Services, Inc. v. Georgia Pacific Corporation, 209 Ga.App.

427, 433 S.E.2d 631 (1993).

B. Fraudulent Concealment

Although the District Court found that the breach of

contract occurred in December, 1987, with the execution of a

secret rescission agreement between Colonial Penn and Mutual

14

Indemnity, the existence of this rescission agreement was

unknown by and concealed from Slautterback by Colonial Penn

and Mutual Indemnity until March of 1989, when the rescission

agreement was finally produced during discovery. Not only did

Colonial Penn and Mutual Indemnity actively conceal the

existence of the rescission agreement from Slautterback, but

Mutual Indemnity further perpetuated the fraud by continuing

to send false and fraudulent annual financial statements to

Slautterback showing the stock’s value in 1987 as well as in

1988, a year after the secret rescission was executed. These

active acts of concealment of the fraud were intended to and did

in fact cause Slautterback to “. . . remain in ignorance of it

without any fault or want of diligence or care on his part.”

Therefore, the “. . .bar of the statute does not begin to run until

the fraud is discovered.” Holmbers v. Armbrecht, 327 U.S. 392

(1946). See also McClure v. Raper, 266 Ga. 60, 463 S.E.2d

125 (1995).

Ss “Injury and Concealment” versus “Separate

and Independent Injury”

The 8th, 10th and 1 1th Circuits have adopted the “injury

and pattern discovery rule” as described in Bivens Gardens

Office Building v. Barnett Bank, 906 F.2d 1546, 1554-1555

(11th Cir. (1990)), while others apply forms of an “injury

discovery rule, and finally, the 3rd Circuit uses a “last predicate

act” rule in deciding whether the statute of limitations has run

on a RICO claim. In Klehr v. A.O. Smith Corp., U.S. Supreme

Court Case No. 96-633 (Decided June 19, 1997), the court

considered the case of a farm silo which produced moldy and

fermented cattle feed, despite false representations by the seller

that the silo would prevent such damages. The plaintiff sued,

claiming a civil RICO cause of action. The defendant

interposed a statute of limitations defense, and the district court

dismissed the claims. The Supreme Court affirmed, holding

that when the plaintiff did not exercise due diligence to

15

discover the fraud, the defendant’s acts of fraudulent

concealment do not toll the statute from running. This is in

contrast to Slautterback, where there was due diligence and the

active concealment of the fraud of Mutual Indemnity.

In the case at bar, the question also arises as to when the

final, separate injury occurred, which would mark the

beginning of the running of the statute of limitations. Bivens

Gardens Office Building, supra at 1556, and Pilkington v.

United Airlines, Circuit Case No. 96-2539 (11th Cir. 1997).

Although the district court found that our contract was breached

at the time of the wrongful S*areholder’s Agreement rescission

in 1987 (which fact was coucealed from Slautterback until

1989), Mutual Indemnity did not have a legal duty to redeem

the shares of preferred stock until January 1, 1991. It was this

failure to perform that legal duty which was the independent act

which inflicted a new independent injury upon Slautterback,

and thus the beginning of a new four year statute of limitations

period, which had not yet run when suit was filed on December

13, 1994.

D. Actual Cause of Action

In Georgia, allegations of fraud must be “stated with

particularity.” O.C.G.A. § 9-11-9(b) in order to have a valid

cause of action. Unless and until Slautterback could state the

“circumstances constituting fraud with particularity,” any suit

for fraud would have been dismissed by the Court. McLean v.

Haden, 214 Ga.App. 413, 448 S.E.2d 69 (1994). Under the

District Court’s analogy of the statute having commenced prior

to Slautterback being able to plead the facts, this would have

left Slautterback without a remedy. The District Court found

as fact that Mutual Indemnity concealed the existence of the

rescission agreement from Slautterback until March, 1989, at

the earliest. Since Slautterback could not have known the facts

which constituted fraud, suit could not have been filed.

16

O.C.G.A. § 9-3-96. A similar situation occurred in Fincit

Company II v. Hardin, 225 Ga.App. 2323, 483 S.E.2d 609

(1997), where the court considered a claim for damages and

fraud in real estate partnerships. The Georgia Court of Appeals

held that genuine issues of material fact remained as to when

the fraud was discovered and whether the defendant’s alleged

misrepresentation and concealment of the full extent of the

fraud prevented the plaintiff from discovering it. In our case,

the active concealment by Mutual Indemnity and Colonial Penn

of the facts concerning the rescission, the redemption of the

shares and the false financial statements, prevented

Slautterback from being able to allege the fraud, and thus the

statute must be tolled. Adler v. Hertling, 215 Ga.App. 769, 451

S.E.2d 91 (1994).

The requirement of having concrete facts to point to the

cause of an injury before starting the limitations bar from

running was also pointed out by the 11th Circuit Court of

Appeals in White v. Mercury Marine, 129 F3d 1428 (1 1th Cir.

1997). In White, that Court was interpreting the general

maritime statute of limitations and again, deciding whether the

“continuing tort,” “modified continuing tort,” or “discovery”

theory should be applied to determine when the cause of action

“accrued.” After analyzing each of the competing theories and

law from other circuits as well as this one, this Court held that

the cause of action accrues “when the Plaintiff knew or should

have known of his injury and its cause.” [emphasis supplied]

The plaintiff in that case was found to have waited too long to

file suit after knowing of his injury (hearing loss) and its cause

(engine noise), but not filing suit until the damages had

increased.

The evidence in our case shows that although

Slautterback might have suspected fraud, Mutual Indemnity

took significant steps to prevent him from discovering the facts

to support the claim, until they were finally disclosed in March,

wr |

4

‘

;

a

:

17

1989. Thus, the statute of limitations had not yet run on

Slautterback’s causes of action when it filed suit in December,

1994.

II. The Petition should be Granted because the

Court below Failed to Apply the Mutual

Accounts Statute of Limitations to this Case

A. The District Court erred in granting

summary judgment for the Respondent

on the ground of expiration of the

statute of limitations.

A federal court in a diversity case must apply the

substantive law of the state which encompasses its district, Erie

R.R. v. Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64, 58 S.Ct. 817, 82 L.Ed. 1188

(1938), including the conflict of laws rules of the forum state,

Klaxon Co. V. Stentor Elec. Mfg. Co., 313 U.S. 487, 61 S.Ct.

1020, 85 L.Ed. 1477 (1941). The federal court seeks to discern

how the Supreme Court of the forum state would decide the

issues involved. Klewit Eastern Co. v. L & R Constr. Co., 44

F.3d 1194, 1201 n.16 (3d Cir. 1995). When the forum state’s

Supreme Court has not addressed an issue, the federal court

may look to decisions of the intermediate courts for guidance.

Id.; Borse v. Piece Goods Shop, Inc., 963 F.2d 611, 614 (3d

Cir. 1992).

In Georgia, statutes of limitation are remedial and

procedural rather than substantive, Thomas v. Clarkson, 1125

Ga. 72, 54 S.E. 77 (1906), so Georgia courts apply Georgia

limitations rules even when the substantive law of another

jurisdiction controls. Jndon Industries, 'c. v. Charles S.

Martin Distributing Company, Inc., 234 Ga. 845, 218 S.E.2d

562 (1975), Lloyd v. Prudential Secs., Inc., 211 Ga.App. 247,

438 S.E.2d 703 (1993), Fimian v. Guy F. Atkinson Co, 209 Ga.

113, 70 S.E.2d 762 (1952); Cash v. Armco Steel Corporation,

18

462 F.Supp. 272 (N.D. Ga., 1978).

Georgia’s limitations of actions are codified in Title 9,

Chapter 3 of the Official Code of Georgia, with all limitations

periods and tolling provisions meshing as gears of a single

machine, integral parts of a unified whole. Therefore, while the

contract clause selecting Bermuda law would be upheld as to

substantive issues in Georgia, Carr v. Kupfer, 250 Ga. 106, 296

S.E.2d 560 (1982), Georgia tolling rules would apply because

a tolling rule is an integral part of a statute of limitations. See,

e.g., Vaught v. Showa Denko K.K., 1997 U.S.App. LEXIS

12786 (Sth Cir., 1997).

B. The District Court should have found that the

Shareholder Agreement gave rise to a mutual

account, as to which under Georgia law the

limitation period does not begin to run until the

date of the last item thereof.

The limitation period should be calculated from the date

that the Shareholder Agreement provided for the final stock

redemption, or January 1, 1991. O.C.G.A. § 9-3-7 provides

that “the statute of limitations for a mutual account begins to

run on the date of the last item thereof.

A mutual account must include an indebtedness on both

sides. Mere entries of credits of partial payment shall not be

sufficient.” In cases of mutual accounts, the statute of

limitations begins to run from the date of the last item

embraced within mutual dealings. Turner v. Davidson, 188 Ga.

736, 4 S.E.2d 814 (1939).

This statute, if applied, would start the limitations

period running from January 1, 1991. The District Court’s

Order, however, did not address the effect of this statute.

Under Georgia law it is a jury question as to whether or

not an account is mutual. Turner v. Davidson, 188 Ga. 736, 4

19

S.E.2d 814 (1939). Georgia law presumes that mutual

accounts, once established, run through all the course of

dealings of the parties. See, e.g., Gunn v. Gunn, 74 Ga. 555

(1985).

In this case, there were mutual accounts between

Slautterback and Mutual Indemnity. Slautterback gave Mutual

Indemnity a letter of credit for US $432,000, and Mutual

Indemnity in Bermuda issued to Slautterback 432,000 shares of

non-voting preferred shares of stock in Mutual Indemnity. The

contract provided that Mutual Indemnity would redeem the

432,000 shares on January 1, 1991, with the redemption

payment adjusted to account for investment income earned and

claims experience in the transaction. Mutual Indemnity, during

the life of the account, would pay to Slautterback amounts

necessary to pay claims. The letter of credit and shares would

remain outstanding and in existence until January 1, 1991.

Slautterback in turn, was obligated on the account to

pay Mutual Indemnity up to 70% of the premiums deposited in

that account for potential reinsurance claims for 90% of

premiums deposited. Slautterback was obligated to pay Mutual

Indemnity the latter’s fee of 2.5% for administration of the

account, plus other lesser fees for Mutual Indemnity’s investing

the premium dollars in the account.

Thus, the requirements of the Mutual Accounts statute

were met, i.e., that “A mutual account must include an

indebtedness on both sides.” Therefore, because the running of

the statute of limitations was tolled pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 9-3-

7, the limitation period in this case should be calculated to run

from January 1, 1991. The six year limitation period for

written contracts as we have here would thus expire January l,

1998. The four year limitations period for tort claims would

expire on January 1, 1996, over a year after the case at bar was

filed. If the ten year limitation period for claims against

20

fiduciaries, as we clearly have here as an administrator, escrow

agent for the account and corporation owes to its shareholder,

O.C.G.A. § 9-3-27 applies, and it would expire January 1,

2002.

Under Georgia law, corporate officers and directors

occupy a fiduciary relationship to the corporation and its

shareholders, and are held to the standard of utmost good faith

and loyalty. King Mfg. Co. v. Clay, 216 Ga. 581, 118 S.E.2d

581 (1961). Generally, the “mere silence” of a corporate officer

accused of fraud, occupying such a fiduciary relationship with

the shareholder, is sufficient to toll the statute. Shipman vy.

Horizon Corp., 245 Ga. 808, 8009, 267 S.E.2d 244 (1980).

Petitioners’ cause of action clearly alleges the intentional fraud

of the Respondent, and the officers and directors of a

corporation that has engaged in that kind of activity can be held

personally accountable under this theory of fiduciary and as

grounds for piercing the corporate veil.

od The District Court should have found

Mutual Indemnity held Slautterbacks’

432,000 shares of preferred stock in a

constructive trust, so as to apply

Georgia’s ten-year limitation period for

actions against fiduciaries.

0.C.G.A. § 9-3-27 provides that “all actions against

executors, administrators, guardians, or trustees, except on their

bonds, shall be brought within ten years after the nght of action

accrues. In this case the Respondent should have been deemed

to be the trustee of a constructive trust, and therefore subject to

the ten-year limitation period.

For purposes in this case of determining the procedural

issue of tolling of the limitation period, a constructive trust

arises with respect to property the title to which was acquired

ne eRe,

21

by fraud, or where, although acquired originally without fraud,

it is against equity that the title should be retained by the one

who holds it. Aetna Life Ins. Co. v. Weekes, 241 Ga. 169, 172,

244 S.E.2d 46 (1978); O.C.G.A. § 53-12-26. A constructive

trust is merely a type of equitable remedy designed to provide

relief against unjust enrichment. See generally 76 AmJur2d,

Trusts, §§ 221-2. In an appropriate case, a plaintiff can obtain

both an award of monetary damages and imposition of a

constructive trust, as adequate relief can be afforded only

through the use of both remedies. See, e.g., Phoenix Airline

Services, Inc. v. Metro Airlines, Inc., 194 Ga.App. 120, 390

S.E.2d 219 (1989); Borden v. Sinskey, 530 F.2d 478 (3rd Cir.

1976).

In this case, the Respondent should be deemed the

trustee of a constructive trust with regard to the 432,000 shares

of non-voting preferred shares of stock and the investment

income on those shares, which Respondent held pending the

scheduled redemption date of January 1, 1991. For purposes of

tolling of the statute of limitations is a procedural rather than a

substantive question controlled by the choice of law and

limitations rules of the forum state, Georgia -- the District

Court should have deemed the presence of a constructive trust

and should have applied the ten-year limitation period

prescribed by O.C.G.A. § 9-3-27.

Uberrimae fidei or “utmost good faith” is the guiding

principle in Anglo-American reinsurance law. See C.E.

Golding, The Law and Practice of Reinsurance. 4th Ed.,

(Brentford/Middlesex 1965). Uberrimae fidei is defined as “the

most abundant good faith; absolute and perfect candor or

openness and honesty; the absence of any concealment or

deception, however slight.” This duty of utmost good faith is

mutual; it is a duty owed by each party to the other. John S.

Diaconis, “Utmost Good Faith and Rescission: Non-Disclosure

of Material Facts in Reinsurance Agreements.” Reinsurance

22

Litigation and Arbitration 192 (Practicing Law Institute 1995).

The requirement of uberrimae fidei was explained well

by Justice Cardozo, before his ascension to the United States

Supreme Court, in another context but fully applicable here as

follows:

Many forms of conduct permissible in a

workaday world for those acting at arm’s length

are forbidden to those bound by fiduciary ties.

A trustee [or, in this case, a reinsurer] is held to

something stricter than the morals of the market

place. Not honesty alone, but the punctilio of an

honor the most sensitive, is then the standard of

behavior. As to this there has developed a

tradition that is unbending and inveterate.

Meinhard v. Salmon, 249 N.Y. 458, 464, 164

N.E. 545, 546, 62 A.L.R. 1 (1928).

This duty of utmost good faith in the reinsurance

context has been referred to as an “honorable engagement” and

“honorable undertaking” which extends throughout the life of

the agreement and may bind the parties years after its

termination to a higher and continuing standard of contract

performance and obligation, beyond the language of the

agreement, not found in other arm’s length contracts. Gang,

“Developments in Litigation Involving Reinsurers, Cedents and

Insureds,” Reinsurance Litigation and Arbitration 96

(Practicing Law Institute, 1995). “Parties to a reinsurance

contract . . . have been described as partners in a marriage or in

a business relationship, owing to each other the highest degree

of fidelity.” Compagnie De Ressurance D’ile De France v.

New England Reinsurance. Corporation, 57 F.3d 56, 72 (ist

Cir., 1995). “The hallmark of utmost good faith is absolute

candor and honesty coupled with the absence of any

concealment or deception.” Travelers Ins. Co. v. Buffalo Reins.

23

Co., 86 iv 3369 (S.D.N.Y. June 18, 1991) (jury instructions set

forth in trial transcript, quoted in Diaconis, Reinsurance

Litigation and Arbitration (Practicing Law Institute, 1995).

Therefore, because Mutual Indemnity’s role as reinsurer

was inextricably bound together with its role as “rent-a-captive”

and with its shareholder agreement with Slautterback, Mutual

Indemnity owed to Slautterback a duty of the highest standard

of fidelity, honesty and candor, free from any concealment or

deception, beyond the language of contract or what is required

in other types of arms-length business transactions. Upon such

an obligation of absolute fidelity may a jury find the basis for

a relationship of trust sufficient to toll the statute of limitations.

II. The Petition Should be Granted Because there

is no United States Case Law Governing Rent A

Captive, or Alternative to Reinsurance/Self-

Insurance, and the Arrangement Constitutes

50% of all U.S. Citizens’ Premium Dollars

which are Transmitted to Offshore Entities

The alternative to reinsurance programs which are

implemented through offshore rent-a-captives now constitute

50% of all premium dollars of United States insureds! There is

no American case law governing this huge multibillion dollar

business. There is no case law dealing with the tripartite

arrangements, with the result that the Petitioner has had two

courts to come to opposing conclusions, the one District Court

determining that only one of the three contracts in the tripartite

arrangement would be considered and without joining the other

party to the tripartite arrangement, resulting in an out-of-context

reading of an agreement that was only a third of the

understanding of the parties, for without considering the three

contracts together, the one contract would mislead the court as

to the true relationship between the parties.

The other District Court, i.e., the trial court below, has

24

correctly adjudged the arrangement to be governed by a

tripartite set of contracts, but has still beer: misled as to the role

of each of the parties, e.g., thinking the Respondent a reinsurer,

when in fact if the Shareholder Agreement is read closely in

conjunction with the other two contracts it becomes obvious

that the Respondent was merely an administrator of the

premiums, for a fee and due no premiums, and not a traditional

reinsurer which would require a portion of the premiums as

consideration for taking risk as a reinsurer. Mutual merely

served as a vehicle for passing underwriting profit and

investment income to Slautterback. Mutual Indemnity’s own

World Wide Web sites, Wall Street prospectus and SEC Filings

and Insurance Commissioner filings all say that it takes no risk,

therefore, it cannot be a reinsurer and is what the Petitioner

pleads it to be, a rent-a-captive, a device to facilitate the

Petitioner being its own reinsurer, i.e., self-insured.

It is of vital concern to the American insurance industry

that the highest court of this land define the role of an offshore

rent-a-captive for what it is, an alternative to traditional

reinsurance.

CONCLUSION

The District and Circuit Courts erred by determining

that the statute of limitations begins to run when a party has the

mere suspicion of the existence of fraud, as mere suspicion does

not give rise to the “accrual” of a cause of action under White

v. Mercury Marine, supra. The confidential relationships

likewise toll the running of statutes of limitations, and for both

these reasons, the Court should grant Certiorari and hear the

appeal of the Petitioner. In addition, the District Court should

have used the statute of limitations applicable to mutual

accounts which provides that the limitations period begins to

run from the last act to be performed which was the redemption

of the shares of stock to take place on January 1, 1991, allowing

25

the timely filing of the case at bar. Finally, the District Court

should have used the statute of limitations pertaining to claims

against fiduciaries, a ten year statute of limitations, allowing the

timely filing of the case at bar. Any one and each of these

theories is proper on its own merits and legally sufficient to

reverse the District and Circuit Courts.

This Court should reverse the Per Curiam Order of the

United States Court of Appeals for the 11th Circuit of July 23,

1998, and the Order of the United States District Court for the

Northern District of Georgia, Atlanta Division, filed December

16, 1996, granting summary judgment and remand this case for

further proceedings consistent with finding the limitation of

actions was tolled until January 1, 1991, pursuant to O.C.G.A.

§ 9-3-7. Alternatively, the Court should reverse and remand for

further proceedings consistent with the statutes of limitation

having been tolled due to the concealment of fraud by the

Respondent and Petitioners’ discovery of the wrongful

rescission of the Shareholder Agreement on or about March,

1989. Alternatively, the Court should reverse and remand for

further proceedings consistent with the choice of the statute of

limitations governing claims against fiduciaries.

Respectfully submitted,

Richard Young, #782650

Attorney for Petitioners

125 TownPark Drive, Suite 300

Kennesaw, Georgia 30144

770 420-8290

PMR ew dutch sine BON.

APPENDIX A

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 97-8050

D.C. Docket No. 1:94-CV-3402-JEC

RICHARD D. SLAUTTERBACK, SANDRA L.

SLAUTTERBACK, Trustee, AMERICAN OWNER

OPERATOR UNDERWRITERS, INC., AMERICA

TRUCK UNDERWRITERS HOLDING

CORPORATION, INC.,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

versus

IPC MUTUAL INDEMNITY, LIMITED,

Defendant-Appellee.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of Georgia

(December 1, 1997)

Before TJOFLAT and BARRETT, Circuit Judges, and

PROPST*, Senior U.S. District Judge.

*Honorable Robert B. Propst, Senior U.S. District Judge for

the Northern District of Alabama, sitting by designation.

2a

PER CURIAM:

AFFIRMED. See 11th Cir. R. 36-1.'

”

“Costs taxed against Plaintiffs-Appellants.

Entered: December |, 1997

For the Court: Thomas K. Kahn, Clerk

By: s/ Matt Davidson

Deputy Clerk

ISSUED AS MANDATE: AUG 05 199

11th Cir. R. 36-1 provides:

When the court determines that any of the following

circumstances exist:

(a) judgment of the district court is based on findings of

fact that are not clearly erroneous;

(b) the evidence in support of a jury verdict is sufficient;

(c) the order of an administrative agency is supported by

substantial evidence on the record as a whole;

(d) summary judgment, directed verdict, or judgment on

the pleadings 1s supported by the record;

(e) judgment has been entered without a reversible error

of law:

and an opinion would have no precedential value, the judgment

or order may be affirmed or enforced without opinion.

3a

APPENDIX B

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 97-8050

RICHARD D. SLAUTTERBACK, SANDRA LL.

SLAUTTERBACK, Trustee, AMERICAN OWNER

OPERATOR UNDERWRITERS, INC., AMERICA

TRUCK UNDERWRITERS HOLDING CORPORATION,

INC.,

Plaintiff-Appellants,

versus

IPC MUTUAL INDEMNITY, LIMITED,

Defendant-Appellee.

On Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Northern District of Georgia

BEFORE: TJOFLAT and BARRETT, Circuit Judges, and

PROPST*, Senior U.S. District Judge.

PER CURIA 7:

The p ition(s) for rehearing filed by the appellant is

denied.

ENTE?.ED FOR THE COURT:

s/ UNITED STATES CIRCUIT JUDGE

ORD-41

*Honorable Robert B. Propst, Senior U.S. District Judge for

the Northern District of Alabama, sitting by designation.

Pe

4a

APPENDIX C

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF GEORGIA

ATLANTA DIVISION

RICHARD D. SLAUTTERBACK, SANDRA L.

SLAUTTERBACK, Trustee, AMERICAN OWNER

OPERATOR UNDERWRITERS, INC., and AMERICAN

TRUCK UNDERWRITERS HOLDING CORPORATION,

INC.,

Plaintiffs,

vs

IPC MUTUAL INDEMNITY, LIMITED,

Defendant.

CIVIL NO. 1:94-cv-3402-JEC

ORDER

This case is presently before the Court on plaintiffs’

Motion for Reconsideration of Order Denying Extension of

Discovery [57], defendant’s Motion for Summary Judgment

[63], and plaintiffs’ Motion to Amend More Definite

Statement [68]. The Court has reviewed the record and the

arguments of the parties and, for the reasons set out below,

concludes that plaintiffs’ Motion for Reconsideration should

be DENIED, defendant’s Motion for Summary Judgment

should be GRANTED, and plaintiffs’ Motion to Amend

More Definite Statement should be DENIED.

Sa

BACKGROUND

This litigation arises out of an insurance program

which was formed in 1985. The program was comprised of

a tripartite agreement between plaintiffs, defendant, and

Colonial Penn, an insurance company which is not involved

in the present lawsuit. The agreement allowed plaintiffs to

sell insurance policies to truckers nationwide without

becoming licensed to sell insurance in each state. (Pl. Resp.

to Def. Mot. for Sum. J. [70] at 3.) The agreements were

written so that plaintiffs would perform the primary

functions of the insurer, such as claims handling,

administratiou, and underwriting profits made on the

program. (/d.) Colonial Penn, pursuant to an agency

agreement with plaintiffs, essentially rented the use of its

name and license to sell insurance to plaintiff. (/d. at 2.)

Defendant acted as the reinsurer of the program. (/d. at 4.)

Pursuant to the tripartite agreement, premiums were

collected by plaintiff, and subsequently sent by plaintiff to

Colonial Penn under the agency agreement. (/d.) The

premiums, less Colonial Penn’s fee, were then sent to

defendant by Colonial Penn pursuant to the reinsurance

agreement. Defendant was obligated to return to plaintiffs

funds from the premiums needed to pay any claims that

arose. If the premium funds were not used, defendant was

obligated to invest the premiums, returning to plaintiffs any

premiums remaining, less claims paid and defendant's fee,

in December of each year. These payments were to be made

to plaintiffs pursuant to a shareholder agreement between

plaintiffs and defendant, in the form of dividends on shares

of stock of defendant’s preferred series stock which the

contract between plaintiffs and defendant obligated plaintiff

to purchase with a $432, 000 letter of credit. (id. at 4.) On

6a

January 1, 1991, defendant was to return to plaintiffs all

money accumulated on the entire program that had not

already been distributed. The letter of credit was also to be

returned to plaintiffs on January |, 1991 if it did not have to

be used during the program to cover losses. The graphic

illustration attached to defendant’s motion for summary

judgment clarifies the way the program worked. (See Def.

Mot. for Sum. J. [63] at Ex. “F’’.)

Sometime in 1987 the parties began to experience

problems wilth the program, and Colonial Penn filed a

lawsuit against plaintiff alleging breach of contract. (id. at

10.) Soon after this, defendant signed an agrement to

rescind its reinsurance agreement with Colonial Penn.

Under the rescission agreement defendant agreed to return to

Colonial Penn all premiums it had received under the

program up to that point, less a $300,000 fee for its services.

(See Rescission Agreement, attached to Def. Mot. for Sum.

J. [63] at Ex. “K’’.) The agreement provided that no further

premiums would be forwarded to defendant under its

reinsurance contract with Colonial Penn. (id.) The

agreement also required defendant to draw down plaintiffs’

$432,000 letter of credit and place it in escrow pending the

results of the litigation between plaintiffs and Colonial Penn.

(id.) Thus, pursuant to the rescission of the reinsurance

agreement the link whereby premuims flowed from Colonial

Penn to defendant was destroyed.’

1. The case between plaintiffs and Colomial Penn was

tried in 1993, and resulted in a $5,637,039.00 verdict for

Colonial Penn on its breach of contract claim.

a

‘fF

4

3

7

m4

7a

Several months after the conclusion of the litigation

between plaintiffs and Colonial Penn, on December 22,

1994, plaintiffs filed this lawsuit against defendant primarily

on the basis of defendant’s failure to comply with the

shareholder agreement. Plaintiffs are alleging breach of

contract, fraud, conversion, and conspiracy, as well as a

Georgia Securities Act Claim. Defendant contends that all

of plaintiffs’ claims are barred by the statute of limitations,

and has moved for summary judgment. In response to

defendant’s Motion for Summary Judgment, plaintiffs have

filed Motion to Amend their More Definite Statement to add

a claim for RICO violations. Plaintiffs have also moved the

court to reconsider an Order entered on July 2, 1996 in

which the Court refused to extend the time allowed for

discovery.

DISCUSSION

L Plaintiffs’ Motion for R devas

Plaintiffs have filed a motion for the Court to

reconsider a discovery Order entered on July 2, 1996. In that

Order the Court denied plaintiffs’ Motion for Extension of

Discovery and Motion to Compel Production of Documents.

(See Order [56].) The Court also denied plaintiffs’ Motion

for Order that Matters are Admitted on Grounds of

Insufficiency of Answer or Objection, but directed

defendant to respond to plaintiffs’ requests for admission by

July 9, 1996. (id.) The Court issued its July 2nd Order

before receiving plaintiffs’ reply briefs, but within the time

which plaintiffs allowed to file reply briefs. Plaintiffs thus

urge the Court to reconsider their motions in light of the

arguments in their reply briefs that the Court did not have an

8a

opportunity to consider before entering the Order. The

Court has now carefully considered plaintiffs’ reply briefs in

support of each discovery motion made and concludes that

plailntiffs have not raised any new issues or made any

arguments in their reply briefs which necessitate a change in

the July 2, 1996 discovery Order.

A. Motion to Compel Documents

The Court noted in its prior Order considering

plaintiffs’ Motion to Compel Production of Documents that

defendant’s response indicated that it had disclosed all

requested discovery in its possession. (id. at /.) The Court

ordered defendant to disclose all requested discovery within

its constructive possession INSTANTER and warned

defendant that it would be subject to contempt proceedings

and sanctions if it were later discovered that it failed to tum

over requested discovery. (id. at 2.) The Court does not

see, and plaintiffs’ reply does not demonstrate, the need for

any additional relief to plaintiffs as to this request.

B. Requests for Admission

In its July 2nd discovery Order, in response to

plaintiffs’ Motion that Matters are Admitted on the Grounds

of Insufficiency of Answer or Objection, the Court directed

defendant to submit answers to plaintiffs’ requests for

admission by July 9, 1996. (id.) Defendant points out in its

response to plaintiffs’ Motion to Reconsider that it complied

with the Court’s Order and responded to plaintiffs’ requests

for admission by July 9th. (See Def. Resp. to Pl. Mot. to

Reconsider [61] at 2.) Plaintiffs’ reply, filed before

defendant had an opportunity to comply with the Court’s

July 2nd Order, obviously does not address this issue. Given

)

)

vate Ore a el ete

sewielteres «4

9a

defendant’s response to plaintiff's requests for admission,

the Court can provide no additional relief to plaintiffs with

regard to this motion.

3 Motion to Extend Discovery

Plaintiffs’ reply brief presents no new circumstances

which convince the Court to change its prior Order denying

plaintiffs’ Motion to Extend Discovery. In a January 23,

1996 scheduling order /33/], the Court stated:

[T]his case is on a four month discovery track. The

parties are requesting an additional four month discovery

period and the Court is allowing same. Accordingly,

discovery expires on SUNDAY JUNE 2, 1996. No

extension of this dated will be granted except in

exceptional cases where the circumstances on which the

request is based did not exist or could not have been

anticipated by counsel at the time the preliminary

statement was filed. Parties cannot reserve the right to

request additional discovery time. See Local Rule 225-1

(b).

In its July 2nd Order the Court pointed out that it had

previously indicated to the parties that it would not entertain

any motions for extension of discovery. (Order /56].) The

Court also noted that this case, at the time of that Order, was

over 18 months old and that there had been ample time for

discovery. (id.)

Plaintiffs raise no new factual or legal issues in their

reply in support of their Motion to Extend Discovery. As in

their original brief supporting this motion, plaintiffs argue

that discovery should be extended because defendant has

failed to properly respond to discovery requests. (See Pi.

10a

Reply in Support of Mot. to Reconsider [54] at 2.)

Plaintiffs’ argument that this allegation makes this case an

exceptional one, meriting an extension of discovery, is no

more persuasive in their reply than in their original brief *n

support of the motion. This case is not an “exceptional” on

“where the circumstances on which the request [to extend

discovery] is based did not exist or could not have been

anticipated by counsel at the time the preliminary statement

was filed.” (Scheduling Order [33].) Accordingly,

plaintiffs’ Motion to Reconsider the Court’s Order refusing

to extend discovery is denied.

tL Plaintiffs" Moti ) its M Pefini

Statement

Plaintiffs have filed a motion requesting leave to

amend their more definite statement in order to “clarify”

their statement of a claim against defendant for violating the

Georgia and federal RICO statutes, 18 U.S.C. § 1961 et

seq.’ Plaintiff makes this motion in response to defendant’s

Motion for Summary Judgment in which RICO was not

discussed. Plaintiffs’ Motion to Amend, filed on September

17, 1996, is in fact the first filing from either party which

mentions the possibility of a RICO claim.

2. As “Georgia RICO’s similarity to federal RICO has

prompted federal courts to apply the same analysis to both

statutes,” the Court will discuss only plaintiffs’ federal RICO

claim. Bowers v. Dairymen, Inc., 813 F. Supp. 1580, 1585

(S.D.Ga. 1991); see also Morastu v. Lance, 631 F. Supp. 474,

481 (N.D. Ga. 1986) (holding same).

vi

&

4

%

lla

Plaintiffs initially contend that the addition of a

RICO claim does not require an amendment to their More

Definite Statement. Relying on the liberal pleading rules of

the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, plaintiffs argue that

their More Definite Statement already contains a “short and

plain statement showing that [plaintiffs] are entitled to

relief” under RICO, satisfying the minimal pleading

requirements of Rule 8(a). (Pl. Mot. to Amend [68] at 2. )

Plaintiffs’ argument is without merit because although the

pleading standard is liberal, plaintiffs’ pleading should still

serve to give defendant “fair notice of what plaintiffs’ claim

is and the grounds upon which it rests.” Quality Foods v.

Latin Am. Agribusiness Devel., 711 F.2d 989, 995 (11th Cir.

1983) (citing Conley v. Gibson, 355 U.S. 41, 78 S. Ct. 99,

103 (1983)). Plaintiffs’ More Definite Statement fails to

provide any kind of notice to defendant of potential liability

under the Georgia or federal RICO statutes.’

Plaintiff rely on the fact that their More Definite

Statement describes the facts surrounding their fraud,

conversion, and conspiracy claims, and that these same facts

are sufficient to state a claim for violating RICO. (Pl. Mot.

to Amend [68] at 2.) While it is true that RICO violations

often involve fraud or conspiracy, several elements must be

plead in order to state a RICO claim. A plaintiff must plead:

3. This conclusion becomes quite clear when

considering defendant’s Motion for Summary Judgment. In its

motion, defendant appears to have addressed any claim that

plaintiffs’ More Definite Statement could possibly be construed

to contain—including a claim for Georgia Securities law

violations to which plaintiff did not even respond. (See Def. Mot.

for Sum. J. [63].) That defendant never discussed RICO suggests

that plaintiffs’ More Definite Statement failed to provide notice

of a RICO claim.

(1) The conduct (2) of an enterprise (3) through a pattern

(4) of racketeering activity. Durham v. Business Mgmt.

Assoc., 847 F.2d 1505, 1511 (11th Cir, 1988) (quoting

Sedima S.P.R.L. v. Inex Co., Inc., 473 U.S. 479, 105 S. Ct.

3275 (1985)). Plaintiffs’More Definite Statement does not

allege a “pattern of racketeering activity” or point to the

existence of a criminal “enterprise.” See Farlow v. Peat,

Marwick, Mitchell & Co., 956 F.2d 982, 989 (10th Cir.

1992) (dismissing RICO claim and stating that “plaintiffs

must sufficiently allege each element of a RICO violation

and its predicate acts of racketeering with particularity, a

requirement justified by the threat of treble damages”’); and

Miranda v. Ponce Federal Bank, 948 F. 2d 41, 44 (1st Cir.

1991) (stating that “because Civil RICO is an unsually

potent weapon.....a civil RICO complaint must, at a bare

minimum, state facts sufficient to portray (i) specific

instances of racketeering activity within the reach of the

RICO statute and (ii) a causal nexus between that activity

and the harm alleged”). See also Reynolds v. East Dyer Dev.

Co., 882 F.2d 1249, 1251 (7th Cir. 1989) (holding that “‘it is

essential to plead precisely in a RICO case the enterprise

alleged and the RICO section allegedly violated”’).

Because plaintiffs’ More Definite Statement is

insufficient as it is currently written to state a claim for

RICO violations, an amendment to plaintiffs’ More Definite

Statement is required in order for plaintiff to pursue its

claims under RICO. Rule 15(a) of the Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure provides that a party may amend its pleading as a

matter of course at any time before a responsive pleading is

served. Because defendants have not consented to plaintiffs’

amendment and because defendants have filed a responsive

pleading to plaintiffs’ complaint, the Court must grant

plaintiffs leave to amend before they may amend the

13a

complaint.

Rule 15(a) provides that ieave to amend a pleading

shall be “freely given when justice so requires.” “Courts

have interpreted [amendment] provisions liberally, in line

with the Federal Rules’ overall goal of resolving disputes,

insofar as possible, on the merits and in a single judicial

proceeding.” Spartan Grain & mill Co. v. Ayers, 517 F.2d

214, 220 (5th Cir. 1975).* In explaining the amendment

standard, the Eleventh Circuit haas observed that “unless a

substantial reason exists to deny leave to amend, the

discretion of the district court is not broad enough to permit

denial.” Shipner v. Eastern Air Lines, Inc., 868 F.2d 401.

407 (11th Cir. 1989). In determining whether a substantial

reason exists to deny leave to amend, the district court

should consider the following facts: (1) undue delay, bad

faith, or dilatory motive on the part of the movant. (2)

repeated failure to cure deficiencies by amendments

previously allowed, (3) undue prejudice to the opposing

party by virtue of the allowance of the amendment, and (4)

futility of amendment. Nolin v. Douglas C ‘ounty, 903 F.2d

1546, 1550 (115h Cir. 1990.

The Court denies plaintiffs’ Motion to Amend on the

basis of plaintiffs’ undue delay. As defendant points out, the

reason that RICO was not discussed in its Motion for

Summary Judgment is that RiCO was not mentioned by any

4. In Bonner v. City of Prichard, 661 F.2d 1206, 1209

(11th Cir. 1981) (en banc), the Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals

adopted as binding precedent all of the decisions of the former

Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals handed down prior to the close of

business on September 30, 1981.

l4a

party prior to plaintiffs’ Motion to Amend, which was filed

on September 17, 1996. Plaintiff makes this motion over a

month after defendant has filed for summary judgment, and

over three months after the completion of discovery.

Plaintiffs have offered no explanation as to why they did not

bring their RICO claim at the time of filing the original

complaint or in their More Defenite Statement. By their own

argument plaintiffs were aware of the facts underlying this

claim when the action was brought, but delayed until after

the discovery period and would subject defendants to further

expense as a result of plaintiffs’ dilatory actions.

Although amendments to complaints are to be

liberally granted “when justice so requires.” plaintiffs’

attempt to amend the complaint tat this late stage of the

proceedings cannot be allowed. Plaintiff has filed this

motion over a month after defendant filed its Motion for

Summary Judgment, over three months after completion of

discovery, and almost two years after the initial complaint

was filed. See Local 472, Etc, v. Georgia Power Co., 684

f.2D 721, 724 (11th Cir. 1982) (upholding denial of motion

to amend filed two years after action instituted, after

discovery was complete, and after defendants had filed

motions for summary judgment); Williams v. Mun. Water

Works, 21 F.3d 218 (8th Cir. 1994) (upholding denial of

motion to amend complaint where motion was filed 14

months after original complaint was filed and six days after

discovery cutoff date); and Coleman v. Ramad Hotel

Operating Co., 933 F. 2d 470, 473 (7th Cir. 1990) (denial of

motion to amend upheld where filed at close of discovery, a

month after defendant filed motion for summary judgment).

Plaintiffs’ argument that allowing the amendment

will not alter the defendant’s current defense strategy is

unpersuasive. Defendant has taken four depositions and in

all of them asked questions relevant to establishing statute of

limitations and collateral estoppel defenses for all claims

which plaintiffs’ complaint could be construed to contain,

including breach of contract, fraud and tort claims, personal

claims of plaintiff, and even « Georgia Securities Act claim.

(See pl. Resp. to Def. Mot. to Amend [71] at 5). Plaintiff

contends that it wishes to clarify the existence of the RICO

claim “so, if [djefendant believes they have a summary

judgment claim in regards to the RICO claim they can assert

them now so as to have all the issues before the Court.” (P1.

Mot. to Amend [68] at 2-3). At this point, however, when

defendant has already filed for summary judgment, and

when discovery ended three months ago, all of the issues

should already before the Court.

Moreover, plaintiffs have offered no explaination of

their decision to wait until this particular time to move to

amend their More Definite Statement. Plaintiffs claim that

this motion was inspired by their discovery in May of 1996

of defendant’s division of money which belonged to

plaintiffs. (P1. Mot. to Amend [68] at 2.) Plaintiffs do not

explain, hewever, why they did not file this motion in May,

before discovery ended and before defendant filed its

Motion for Summary Judgment. Also, this money was

divided as part of the distribution of an escrow account that

was established several years ago and of which plaintiffs

have at all times been fully aware. Allowing plaintiffs to

amend their More Definite Statement to add a RICO claim,

which subjects defendant to potential liability for treble and

punitive damages, at this stage in the litigation would unduly

prejudice defendant. Accordingly, piaintiffs’ Motion to

Amend their More Definite Statement to add a RICO claim

is denied.

l6a

IT. Defendant's Motion for Summary Judgment

A. Summary Judgment Standard

Summary judgment is not properly viewed as a

device that the trial court may, in its discretion, implement

in lieu of a trial on the merits. Instead, Rule t6 of the Federal

Rules of Civil Procedure mandates the entry of summary

judgment against a party who fails to make a showing

sufficient to establish the existence of every element

essential to that party’s case on which that party will bear the

burden of proof at trial. Celotex Corp. y. Catrettt, 477 U.S.

317, 322 (1986). In such a situation, there can be no genuine

issue as to any material fact, as a complete failure of proof

concerning an essential element of the non-moving party’s

case necessarily renders all other facts immaterial. /d. at

322-23.

The movant bears the initial responsibility of

asserting the basis for his motion. /d. at323; Apocoa, Inc. v.

Fidelity Nat'l \ank, 906 F.2d 610, 611 (11th Cir. 1990).

However, the movant is not required to negate his

opponent’s claim. The movant may discharge his burden by

merely “showing” -- that is, pointing out to the district court

--that there is an absence of evidence to support the non-

moving party’s case.” Celotex, 477 U.S. at 325. After the

movant has carried his burden, the non-moving party is then

required to “go beyond the pleading” and present competent

evidence’ designating “specific facts showing that there is a

genuine issue for trial.’” Jd. at 324 (quoting Fed. R. Civ.

5. The non-moving party may meet its burden through

affidavit and deposition testimony, answers to interrogatories,

and the like. Celotex, 477 U.S. at 324.

17a

P.56(e)). While the court is to view all evidence and factual

inferences in a light most favorable to the non-moving party,

Samples v. City of Atlanta, 846 F.2d 1328, 1330 (11th Cir.

1988), “the mere existence of some alleged factual dispute

between the parties will not defeat an otherwise properly

supported motion for summary judgment; the requirement is

that there be no genuine issue of material fact.” Anderson

v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242. 247-48 (1986).

A fact is material when it is identified as such by the

controlling substantive law. Jd. at 248. An issue is genuine

when the evidence is such that a reasonable jury could return

a verdict for the nonmovant. Jd. at 249-250. The nonmovant

“must do more than simply show that there is some

metaphysical doubt as to the material facts. . . . Where the

record taken as a whole could not lead a rational trier of fact

to find for the nonmoving party, there is no ‘genuine issue

for trial.’” Matsushita Electric Indus. Co. v. Zenith Radio

Corp., 475 U.S. 574, 586-87 (1986) (citations omitted). An

issue is not genuine if it is unsupported by evidence, or if it

is created by evidence that is ‘merely colorable” or is “not

significantly probative.” Anderson, 477 U.S. at 249-50.

Thus, to survive a motion for summary judgment, the non-

moving party must come forward with specific evidence of

every element material to that party’s case so as to create a

genuine issue for trial.

B. Statute of Limitations

Plaintiff's More Definite Statement states claims for

breach of contract, conspiracy, fraud, conversion, tortious

interference with contract and violations of Georgia security

laws. Defendant contends that all of plaintiffs’ claims are

barred by the statute of limitations. The parties agree that

Georgia law governs the statute of limitations issue. (See

18a

P1. Brief in Resp. to Def. Mot. for Sum. J. [70] at 18).

1. Plaintiffs’ Georgia Securities Law Claim

Plaintiffs failed to respond to defendant’s statute of

limitations defense as to plaintiffs’ claim under the Georgia

Securities Law statute, O.C.G.A. § 10-5-14. Section 10-5-

14(e0 of this statute requires that a cause of action

commence within two years of the date of the transaction

upon which the action is based. Plaintiffs do not contest

defendant’s assertion in its brief that the sale of stocks on

which plaintiff bases its Georgia Securities Law claim

occurred in 1985, and that the two year statute of limitations

has long since run on this claim. The Court thus grants

summary judgment to defendant on plaintiffs’ Georgia

Securities Law claim.

2. Plaintiff's Breach of Contract Claims

The statute of limitations for breach of contract is six

years under Georgia law. O.C.G.A. § 9-3. .} provides that

“all actions upon simple contracts in writing shall be brought

within six years after the same become due and payable.”

The begins to run when a cause of action for breach of

contract accrues, which is at the time of the breach. Owen v.

Mobley Construction Co., 171 Ga. App. 462, 320 S.E. 2d

255 (1984).

Plaintiffs filed the original complaint in this action

on December 24, 1994. Any claims for breach of contract .

included in the complaint are thus barred if the breach

occurred before December 24, 1988. It is established

beyond question in plaintiff Slautterback’s deposition that

the breach of contract on which plaintiffs’ action is based

occurred in December of 1987, when defendant signed a

rescission agreement with Colonial Penn. The following

19a

exchange occurred in plaintiff's deposition:

Q: Is it [plaintiffs] contention in this lawsuit that

[defeiidant] somehow breached its contract with [plaintiff]

when it rescinded the quota share reinsurance agreement

that it had with Colonial Penn?

A: Absolutely

Q: Is it [pleintiff's] position that [defendant] somehow

breached its contract with [plaintiff] when it placed the $

432, 000 in an escrow account?

A: Both of which were in secret.

(Slautterback Depo. at 24-25, attached to Def Mot. for Sum.

J. [63] at Ex. “J”.) The rescission of the reinsurrance

agreement and the placement of the $432, 000 in escrow

occurred in December of 1987, over six years prior to when

plaintiff filed this action in December of 1994. (See

Rescission Agreement, attached to Def. Mot. for Sum. J.

[63] at Ex. “K”).

Indeed, given the way in which the three contracts

comprising the insurance program at issue here worked

together, the only logical conclusion is that defendant

breached its contract with plaintiff, if at all, when it signed

the rescission agreement with Colonial Penn in 1987. As

explained, defendant was obligated, under its contract with

6. Defendant contends that execution of the rescission

agreement was not actually a “breach” because at the time of its

execution plaintiffs’ actions had already caused a breakdown of

the entire insurance program justifying the rescission. (Def. Mot.

for Sum. J. [63] at 15.) The Court does not decide whether

defendant breached its contract with plaintiff by signing the

rescession agreement, but works from the assumption that if a

breach occurred, it occurred when the rescission agreement was

executed.

i

20a

plaintiffs, to accept premiums from Colonial Penn, to pay

claims from these premiums, and to invest the remainder of

the money. The investment income and profits made on the

program were to be returned to plaintiffs in December of

each year, and all of the profits made on the entire program

were to be returned to plaintiffs on January 1, 1991.

Defendant was also obligated to cancel plaintiff's $432, 000

letter of credit on January 1, 1991. The 1987 rescission

agreement brought this entire program, which involved a

continuous flow of funds from plaintiffs to Colonial Penn,

then from Colonial Penn to Defendant and eventually from

defendant back to plaintiffs, to a halt. The rescission

agreement obligated defendant to return all premiums it had

received under the program, less its own $300,000 fee, to

Colonial Penn. (See Rescission Agreement, attached to Def.

Mot. for Sum. J. [63] at Ex. “K”). The agreement provided

that no additional funds would flow from Colonial Penn to

defendant under this program. (/d.) Pursuant to the

rescission agreement defendant also drew down plaintiff's

$432, 000 letter of credit and placed it into escrow. (/d.)

Thus in complying with the rescission agreement,

defendant stopped receiving the premiums from Colonial

Penn which defendant’s contract with plaintiffs obligated it

to invest and ultimately return to plaintiffs. Moreover,

because defendant drew down plaintiffs’ letter of credit and

placed the proceeds in escrow, defendant could not possibly

have had anything to return to plaintiffs on the “redemption

date” of the contract, January |, 1991.

Plaintiffs’ attempt to resurrect its breach of contract

claim pursuant to the “divisible contract” doctrine is

unpersuasive. Although Georgia law provides that the

statute of limitations runs separately as to each individual

2la

breach of a divisible contract, the contract between plaintiff

and defendant was not divisible. See O.C.G.A. § 13-7-14

(providing that an action will lie for each breach of a contract

found to be severable). A contract is only divisible where

“the whole performance is divided into two sets of Partial

performances, each part of each set being the agreed

exchange for a corresponding part of the set of performances

to be rendered by the other promisor.” Piedmont Life Ins.

Co. v. Bell, 103 Ga. App.. 225, 235, 119 S.E. 2d 63, 71

(1961).

Although plaintiffs would characterize defendant’s

obligation to make yearly payments of investment income,

as well as defendant’s obligation to returns plaintiffs’ letter

of credit and all monies accumulated fromoperation of the

program to plaintiffs on January 1, 1991, as independent

obligations, an examination of the contract between

plaintiffs and defendant illustrates that these obligations of

defendant were an inseparable part of the entire insurance

program. The contract provides that “if on the redemption

date defendant continues to hold funds pursuant to the treaty

with the insurance company (Colonial Penn),” defendant

will make a final payout of these funds on January 1, 199].

(See Shareholder Agreement,, attached to P1. Resp. to Def.

Mot. for Sum. J. [70] at Ex. “3”). The contract thus provides

for the return to plaintiff, on January 1, 1991, of ail profits

and investment income accumulated from the operation of

the entire insurance program. Plaintiffs’ letter of credit was

also part of the consideration given for the entire contract, as

it was to remain in defendant’s possession from the initiation

until the termination of the contract, at which time it was to

be returned to plaintiffs if lossess incurred on the program

did not necessitate its use. (/d.)

22a

The contract between plaintiffs and defendant does

not evidence an intent by the parties to divide the contract

into yearly sets of performance. On the contrary, the yearly

return to plaintiff of income and profits accumulated on the

program seem to be merely a convenient manner of

periodically ceding the plaintiff portions of the underwriting

profit on the program. All of defendant’s obligations were

part of a single promise based on a single consideration.

This promise was breached, if at all, when defendant

removed itself from the program by signing a rescission

agreement in 1987. The rescission agreement severed the

treaty between defendant and Colonial Penn which provided

the flow of funds from which defendant was to make

investments and yearly payments to plaintiffs, completely

terminating defendant’s participation in the insurance

program. Plaintiffs’ breach of contract claim thus cannot

survive defendant’s Motion for Summary Judgment on the

basis of the “divisible contract” doctrine.

Plaintiffs argue further that the statute of limitations

on its breach of contract claim was tolled by fraud on the part

of defendant which deterred plaintiffs from bringing their

action. O.C.G.A. § 9-3-96 provides that “if the defendant or

those under whom he claims are guilty of a fraud by which

the plaintiff has been debarred or deterred from bringing an

action, the period of limitation shall run only from the time

of the plaintiff's discovery of the fraud.” under this code

section “time of discovery of the fraud” means the time at

which the fraud is or should have been discovered in the

exercise of reasonable diligence. Stricker v. Epstein, 213

Ga. App. 226, 229, 444 S.E. 2d 91, 94 (1994). The failure to

use reasonable diligence to discover fraudulent acts which

deter a plaintiff from bringing an action may be excused,

however, where there is a confidential relationship between

23a

plaintiff and defendant. Shipman v. Horizon Corp., 245 Ga.

808, 267 S.E. 2d 244 (1980).

The only fraudulent act plaintiff alleges as deterring

plaintiffs from filing suit until December of 1994 is

defendant’s preparation of false financial statements.

Plaintiffs’ reliance on this action by defendant to invoke

O.C.G.A. § 9-3-96 is undermined, however, by plaintiff

slauterback’s admissions in his deposition that he was aware

of defendant’s alleged frauduent conduct long before

December of 1988, which is the point to which the statute of

limitations has to be tolled in order to save plaintiffs’ breach

of contract action. The following exchange occurred in

plaintiff's deposition.

Q: When did you first become aware of the fraudulent

conduct of [defendant]?

A: Just shortly after the shareholder meeting which we

attended on June 4th, June Sth, 1986.

(Slautterback Depo. at 33.) Then later in the deposition:

Q: Let me ask you--let me rephrase the question.

Weren't you aware that by your own allegations the

shareholder agreement had been breached a good while

before [1991]?

A: We were aware right after the shareholder meeting

in 1986 that there was something bad wrong, the fidelity

was not there, but we could not . . . make an allegation or

file a suit without something tangible in hand.

(/d. at 43, attached to Def. Mot. for Sum. J. [63] at Ex. “J”.)

As to the last sentence of plaintiff quoted above, see Owen,

24a

171 Ga. App. at 463 (stating that “mere ignorance of facts

constituting a cause of action does not prevent the running of

a statute of limitations).

Moreover, the record contains items of

correspondence and documents confirming plaintiffs’

awareness of defendant’s allegedly fraudulent conduct prior

to December of 1988. Defendant apparently stopped making

payments to plaintiffs, pursuant to the rescission agreement

with Colonial Penn, in 1987. On September 25, 1987

plaintiffs’ attorney wrote a 1987. On September 25, 1987

plaintiffs’ attorney wrote a demand letter to defendant

requesting the return of plaintiffs’ letter of credit and

investment income. (See Def. Mot. for Sum. J. [63] at Ex.

“R”). On March 17, 1988 plaintiffs’ attorney wrote another

letter demanding the return of premiums held, charging

defendant with unlawfully drawing down its letter of credit,

and threatening to “advise the insurance commissioners of

the 50 states of [defendant’s] attitude and proceed with such

other actions as this situation may warrant.” (See Def. Mot.

for Sum. J. [63] at Ex. “S”).

Plaintiffs present absolutely no evidence in response

to these items of correspondence from which the inference

can be drawn that plaintiffs were deterred by defendant’s

fraudulent conduct from bringing suit until December of

1994. Plaintiffs instead rely on the assertion that there was

a confidential relationship between plaintiffs and defendant,

suggesting that the existence of this relationship alone tolls

the statute of limitations whenever fraud is alleged. (See P1.

Resp. to Def. Mot. for Sum. J. [70] at 15). Although a

confidential relationship may excuse the use of diligence in

discovering fraud on the part of defendant, the existence of

a confidential relationship does not help plaintiffs’ case

25a

because plaintiffs admit to having actual knowledge of the

alleged fraudulent conduct of defendant. A plaintiff seeking

to invoke O.C.G.A. § 9-3-96 must be deterred from filing an

action. See Jim Walter Corp. v. Ward. 245 Ga. 355, 356,

265 S.E. 2d 7,9 (1980) (recognizing that fraud sufficient to

toll statute of limitations under O.C.G.A. § 9-3-96 must

be fraud that conceals existence of a cause of action from

plaintiff); and Averill y. Akin, 219 Ga. App. 32, 33, 463 S.E.

2d 730, 731 (1995) (holding that shareholder attempting to

invoke § 9-3-96 on basis of a confidential relationsip cannot

“negligently refuse to acquire knoledge that was open and

available to him through the inspection of corporate books

and records”).

There is simply no evidence that defendant

committed any act of fraud which concealed plaintiffs’ cause

of action or in any sense deterred plaintiffs from filing suit

until after December 21, 1988. Even assuming a

confidential relationsip between plaintiffs and defendant, as

well as fraudulent behavior on the part of the defendant in an

attempt to conceal plaintiffs’ cause of action, plaintiffs

cannot invoke § 9-3-96 to tol] the statute of limitations on

their breach of contract claim because statement by plaintiff

Slautterback in his deposition, as well as several items of

correspondence, establish plaintiffs’ knowledge of the

existence of a cause of action for breach of contract well

before December of 1988. Because the statue of limitations

on plaintiffs’ breach of contract claim began to run when the

contract was breached in 1987, and because the contract was

not divisible and the statute of limitations was not tolled by

fraud on the part of defendant, the Court grants summary

judgment to defendant on plaintiffs’ breach of contract

Claim.

26a

3. Plaintiffs’ Tort Claims

Plantiffs’ More Definite Statement contains tort,

conspiracy, fraud, conversion and tortious interference with

contract claims, all of which are subject to the four year

statute of limitations in O.C.G.A. §§ 9-3-31 and 9-3-32. See

McLendon v. Georgia Kaolin Co., 782 F.Supp. 1548 (M.D.

Ga. 1992) (recognizing that O.C.G.A. § 9-3-31 is

applicable to actions seeking damages for fraud). Those

code sections provide that “actions for injuries to (or the

conversion of ) personalty shall be brought within four years

after the nght of action accrues.” O.C.G.A. § 9-3-32. Like

plaintiffs’ claim for breach of contract, plaintiffs tort, fraud

and conspiracy claims are primarily based on the 1987

rescission agreement between defendant and Colonial Penn.

Plaintiffs allege that defendant “entered into a secret contract

whereby the [p]laintiffs were deprived of any and all profit

or benefit under the program, and [Colonial Penn] agreed to

hold the [d]efendant harmless form any section taken by the

[p]laintiffs.” (Pl. Brief in Resp. to Def. Mot. for Sum. J.

[70] at 23.) “As part of their fraud, conspiracy, and plan of

conversion,” plaintiffs further state, “the Defendant also

entered into a secret escrow agreement with [Colonial

Penn].” (id.) Plaintiffs are thus relying on the 1987

rescission agreement between defendant and Colonial Penn

as the basis of their fraud, conversion and conspiracy claims.

Plaintiffs admit to having had an opportunity to read

the rescission agreement between defendant and Colonial

Penn in March of 1989. (See Slautterback Depo. at 33,

attached to Def. Mot. for Sum. J. [63] at Ex. “J” (stating

that letter plaintiff received in March of 1989 “was the last

piece of the puzzle to show fraud’’)). Plaintiff Slautterback

also says in his deposition that he was aware of “ things

27a

going on behind the scenes” as early as 1986, (/d.) Also, as

iscussed while considering plaintiffs’ breach of contract

to make income and profit payments and defendant’s

drawing down plaintiff's letter of credit, in 1987. (See Def.

Mot. for Sum. J. [70] at Ex. “R” and Ex. ae

Plaintiffs’ attempt to revive their claim with the

“continuing tort” theory cannot be entertained. The

continuing tort theory is only applicable to cases involving

Personal injury. Stocks y. Glover, 220 Ga. App. 557, 588,

469 S.E. 2d 677, 678 (1996) (citing Corp. of Mercer Uniy. y

Nat. Gypsum Co., 258 Ga 36., 368 S.E. 2q 732 (1988)).

Plaintiffs’ complaint does not state a claim for personal

injury.

Plaintiffs’ argument that the stainte of limitations has

not run on its conspiracy claim because several separate acts,

some of which were completed within the Statute of

revive their breach of contract claim, plaintiffs attempt to

characterize defendant’s refusal on January 1, 199] to

redeem stock under the shareholder agreement as an

independent act. Plaintiffs contend that this act was in

furtherance of the conspiracy alleged in plaintiffs’

complaint. (See Pl. Brief in Resp. to Def. Mot. for Sum. J.

[70] at 23.) Plaintiffs also point to a division of funds in

furtherance of the alleged conspiracy. (/d at 25.) Both of

these actions were taken, however, pursuant to the rescission

agreement which was executed in 1987 and about which

28a

plaintifff had knowledge at least by March of 1989. The

agreement specifically provides that these funds would be

placed in escrow until the completion of litigation between

plaintiff and Colonial Penn. (See Rescission Agreement,

attached to Def. Mot. for Sum. J. [63] at Ex. “K”.) As

discussed, the agreement also expressly provides for the

return of all premiums to Colonial Penn and the termination

of the agreement by which funds would flow to defendant

and, from defendant, eventually to plaintiffs. (Jd.) Plaintiffs

have thus failed to produce any evidence that defendant

committed any act of fraud, conspiracy or conversion within

the period of limitaions for maintaining these actions.

Accordingly, the Court grants summary judgment to

defendant on plaintiffs’ tort, fraud, conversion, and

conspiracy claims.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the Court concludes that

plaintiffs’ Motion for Reconsideration is DENIED,

plaintiffs’ Motion to Amend its Complaint is DENIED, and

defendant’s Motion for Summary Judgment is GRANTED.

SO ORDERED, this 13 day of December, 1996.

s/ JULIE E. CARNES

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

29a

APPENDIX D

AS&K GUIDE

Section 5 - SPECIAL TYPES OF INSURANCE VEHICLES

A. Rent-A-Captives Revisited

Bermuda has long been recognized as the domicile of choice

for the world’s captive insurance industry. One reason for

Bermuda’s preeminence is the success of arrangements

which may be structured under its insurance laws, which

offer alternatives to more conventional risk management

options available in the “traditional markets og

A “captive” is a closely-held insurance company whose

insurance business is primarily supplied and controlled by its

Owners - in the sense that the owners have and exercise direct

involvement and influence over the company’s major

operations, such as its underwriting, claims management and

investment policies - and in which the original insureds are

the principal beneficiaries. The “rent-a-captive”’ represents

an evolution of the “captive” insurance company, and has

been employed for specialized situations for nearly as long as

more standard forms of captives have been operated.

A rent-a-captive program can be structured so that

effectively unrelated parties may participate in the

underwriting profits generated by the risks which they insure

(or arrange to insure) via the captive. In addition, rent-a-

captive policyholders (or the owners of such policyholders)

may by negotiation secure a significant degree of influence

Over both the investment of underwriting reserves

maintained by the captive in respect of the programs with

which they are associated, and control the rate of the “flow

of funds” through the captive (in the sense of the timing of

30a

permitted distributions). Such advantages over traditional

insurance arangements have long been the hallmark of the

rent-a-captive, and in recent years innovations in Bermuda

insurance laws have extended the options for structuring

rent-a-captives, leading to a resurgence of interest in their

use.

1. What is a Rent-a-Captive?

A rent-a-captive is a company, typically established in an

offshore domicile like Bermuda, which “rents” its capital

surplus and legal capacity to engage in underwriting

activities (i.e. its insurance license) to policyholders who are

not its voting shareholders. The rent-a-captive will often

provide its policyholders (‘program participants”) with

required administrative services. As such, the term “rent-a-

captive” applies to any arrangement where the insured party

obtains equivalent benefits to those provided by standard

forms of captives without actually participating in ownership

or management.2

One of the principal characteristics of a rent-a-captive is that

the account established for each program participant is

segregated in some manner from accounts established for

other program participants. This is done to achieve a

separate accounting basis for the insurance business

attributable to each program participant. Such segregation

may be accomplished administratively by the rent-a-captive

itself, or there may be a full legal segregation which results

in statutory protection for losses attributable to other

program participants.

2. Advantages of a Rent-a-Captive

Rent-a-captive programs have long been acknowledged as

alternatives to commercial insurance and as structures which

offer more cost-effective and flexible risk management

3la

solutions, particularly with regard to workmen’s

compensation but also for general liability, automobile

liz bility and professional liability programs.

A rent-a-captive program offers program participants many

of the advantages of a wholly-owned captive without

requiring the insured party (or its owners) to make an

equivalent commitment to fund the Captive’s start-up and

management expenses. These advantages include the facility

to customize the insurance programs and contro] premiums,

pricing and access to reinsurance. Establishment of the rent-

a-captive in a select domicile (e.g. Bermuda) results in

favorable (yet responsible) governmental regulation.

Additionally, the rent-a-captive can often secure coverage for

specialized risks when this is unavailable in the commercial

insurance markets. However, the main advantage of rent-a-

captives may lie in enabling the program participants to

obtain a retu-n of underwriting profit and investment income

earned on the reserves held in their respective insurance

programs. Such returns will of course depend on the loss

experience of the particular case.

Typically, each program participant will retain a portion of

its own risks, insuring the balance with the rent-a-captive.

This arrangement creates powerful incentives to program

participants to be proactive with loss control and claims

handling measures. Such measures wil] often be co-ordinated

by agreement between the program participant and the rent-

a-captive, and perhaps with professional claims handling

service providers.

3. Ownership and Corporate Structure

There are various ways to own and structure a rent-a-captive,

depending on whether the proposed program participants are

single corporations, or a group or association. There may be

32a

tax and other factors to consider, from the standpoint of both

the proposed program participants and the sponsors of the

rent-a-captive.

One of the more common rent-a-captive structures involves

the sponsors forming a Holding Company which owns 100%

of the voting shares of a Reinsurance Subsidiary. The

Reinsurance Subsidiary in turn reinsures each program

participant, in association with an Jssuing Carrier which

issues the policies of insurance to the program participants.

The Issuing Carrier will usually be an insurance company

which is licensed in the jurisdiction(s) in which the program

participants are resident. The program participant will be

afforded access to the rent-a-captive program when it

arranges for a policy to be issued by the Issuing Carrier and,

in association with this, it will purchase one or more

preferred non-voting shares in the Holding Company. Such

shares will be purchased pursuant to the provisions of a

shareholder agreement wherein the Holding Company

agrees to cause a dividend to be declared to the owner of

record of the preferred shares. Dividend payments will also

be controlled by the shareholder agreement, e.g. on a date

indicated in an appendix, being an annual payment date or

the termination date of the particular program. Dividends

will be calculated according to a specific formula involving

investment income earned and underwriting gain or loss.

Payment of dividends will be subject to the availability of

surplus funds (i.e. surplus of the statutory reserve

requirements) in the related account.

The shareholder agreement will provide for indemnification

of both the Holding Company and Reinsurance Subsidiary

by the program participant, the indemnity being designed to

protect these entities in respect of any net underwriting

losses, loss expenses and collateralization expenses arising

from the related insurance program. As collateral for this

33a

indemnity, the program participant will usually agree to

provide the Reinsurance Subsidiary with a letter of credit (or

substitute cash collateral).

The shareholder agreement will also provide for the payment

by the program participant of all premiums due to the rent-a-

captive. Failure will constitute a material breach of the

agreement. The amount of any such non-payment, together,

together with interest may be deducted from any surpius

reserves held for the account of the particular program, or

any dividend due to the program participant.

Dividends on the preferred shares issued to each program

participant will be declared and paid separately, i.e. as a

separate class or series. Such shares will also be redeemable

at face value upon the termination of a program. However

whe-= the capital required for the particular program has

ben. “rented” from the rent-a-captive, the shares will be

redeemed less financing costs.

In other cases, the structure may not involve a holding

company, leaving a reinsurance company which stands alone

as the rent-a-captive. In such an arrangement, it will be this

stand-alone reinsurance company which issues the preferred

shares and enters into the shareholder agreement with the

program participant. This alternative is not otherwise

different from the structure illustrated above.

A growing number of rent-a-captives use a private Act of the

Bermuda Legislature, a sample of which is provided in the

following Exhibit, so that they may achieve legal segregation

of the assets and liabilities of each insurance program which

they underwrite, so that there is no potential for “cross

liability” of one such program resulting from the experience

of another. Where the rent-a-captive is so structured (and

34a

depending upon the precise language of the private Act), the

complete segregation of each program participant’s account

can be achieved, the assets from each program participant

being isolated and protected from the liabilities of other

program participants and the failure of the rent-a-captive

itself.

The advantages of such a structure will be clear. Pursuant to

the typical provisions of such a private Act, a liquidator is as

a matter of law bound to recognize the separate nature of the

segregated account established for each program, and may

not apply assets identified as the assets of any one program

to pay claims of insureds under other policies issued by the

rent-a-captive, or the rent-a-captive’s mon-insurance

creditors. In addition, the liquidator typically has no power

to void or cancel the terms of any policy, deed or contract

issued in respect of any program.

Not all rent-a-captives will be structured to take the benefits

afforded by private Acts of this kind. Some rent-a-captive

owners take the view that their program participants may not

be able to deduct premiums for tax purposes if there is

demonstrably less risk-sharing among program participants.

Rather than issue preferred shares, some rent-a-captives

simply enter into a form of profit sharing agreement with

their program participants. This is an alternative means by

which program participants may directly participate in the

underwriting and investment income arising out of their

respective programs.

4. How does the Rent-a-Captives Work?

In the typical scenario, the program participant (either on its

own or with the assistance of a broker or the rent-a-captive or

35a

both) wiil negotiate with the Issuing Carrier, which will be an

admitted insurance company (or “fronting” company) for the

provision of policy-issuing and related Services in the relevant

jurisdiction for the policyholder. The fronting company wil]

then issue the policy and cede the working layer to the rent-a-

captive. For this service, the fronting company charges a fee,

which may range anywhere from 5%-14% of gross premium.

The fronting company will also be required to deduct certain

federal and/or state taxes. As a matter of law, the fronting

company will be primarily liable for the risk. However, the

reinsurance agreement with the rent-a-captive will invariably

require the latter to provide the fronting company with a clean,

irrevocable letter of credit. The letter of credit is ultimately

paid for a backed by the program participant, typically as a one

time charge of 1/2% of premium, or an annual fee of 3/8% of

the premium deducted from the dividend. The guarantee for

the letter of credit is the program participant’s own funds held

by the rent-a-captive. In addition, the rent-a-captive itself wil]

Charge an underwriting fee of perhaps 2%-3 1/2% of

premiums.

5. Capital Requirements

In order to meet the Bermuda premium underwriting

requirements (i.e. the ratio of premium to capital and surplus),

4 program participant must itself either provide or “rent” the

necessary capital. If the program participant elects to rent, the

rent-a-captive will often supply such funds from its own

common share capital (usually for a fee of 1%).

Where capital is pro: ided by the program participant, this is

generally accomplished through the purchase of the rent-a-

Captive’s prefereed non-voting shares, in an amount equal to

1/5th of the first year’s net premuum.

Purchasing the shares acchieves two purposes. First, it

36a

provides the rent-a-captive with adequate capital for

regulatory purposes. Second, as ownership of the shares

constitiutes beneficial ownership of the rent-a-captive, it may

provide a basis for the taxable transfer of income back to the

program participant through deemed dividends.

6. Rent-a-Captive Account Expenses

Rent-a-captive account expenses are typically 25%-35% of

Original gross premium (“OG?”"), although they can be

higher. These include boards, bureaus, taxes and assessments

(3%-4%), claims handing (3%-4%), onshore broker

commission (4%-5%) federal excise tax (1%), cost of

specific excess (3%-6%), cost of aggregate excess (2 1/2%-

4%), fronting company fees (5%-9%), rent-a-captive’s

underwriting fee (2%-3 1/2%) and use of rent-a-captive's

capital and what is left after fees and commissions (generally

60%-70% of OGP) and loss reserves may be temporarily

available to the program participant. Meanwhile, the rent-a-

captive will invest these funds (typically through a

professional investment adviser in order to maximize

investment portfolio performance) and return investment

income to the program participant through dividends on the

prefeered shares, less a service income fee to the rent-a-

captive (generally 1% of the value of the portfolio).

Provided that the rent-a-captive complies with applicable

minimum solvency and liquidity ratio requirements (or,

where there are segregated accounts pursuant to a private

Act, where each program for which a separate account is

maintained complies with such requirements), Bermuda law

permits complete freedom of investment managemient with

regard to selection of asset classes.

37a

7. Profile of a Prospective Program Participant

A prospective program participant will generally:

- be too small for, or not interested in, establishing and

operating a wholly-owned captive for itself: and

~ generate at least $750, 000 of annual premium onshore

(be it a single-owner or association program of insurance).

(Workers’ compensation programs in California, which may

be underwritten with less premium, are an exception to this)

- In the case of association programs (which are thought to

account for about one third of total rent-a-captive premium

income in the Bermuda market), association members are

typically characterized by:

- similar exposures;

- a willingness to share risk within the mutual account:

~ a combined loss ratio of 50% or less;

- a single or related exposure such as_ workers’

compensation, general liability or automobile liability; and

~ a consensus on the allocation of underwriting profit and

investment income.

8. Does the Rent-a-C, aptive Itself Assume Risk?

Many of the rent-a-captives formed in Bermuda do not

assume substantial risk in respect of the insurance programs

of their program Participants. Rather, these rent-a-captives

view themselves as service companies and in fact require

ageregate excess protection in some form as a condition of

accepting a particular program. All financial agreements are

typically backed up with letter of credit ultimately

guaranteed and paid for by the program participant.

In recent years, the Registrar of Companies of Bermuda has

made it clear that his office is prepared to consider

applications to establish rent-a-captives which wil] accept

38a

risk for their own account, subject always to meeting relevant

solvency and liquidity requirements.3

1. 1995 Captive Insurance Company Reports.

2. 1986 Captive Insurance Company Reports.

3. The use of rent-a-captives can provide a number of

business advantages. However, achieving the desired tax

results requires careful tax planning. The above discussion is

not intended to, and does not, constitute tax advice.

Accordingly, readers should consult their own tax advisers

for advice in relation to specific cases.

Captives & Reinsurance

What Is A Captive?

WHAT IS A CAPTIVE?

Originally a captive was a company created and controlled by

either a parent company or professional association through

which the parent or association could insure its own risks.

The concept has been broadened and expanded. It now

includes not only the insurance of the parent or association,

but in many cases, the insurance of those risks of other

companies which can be controlled or directed by the parent

or association.

Currently captives take the form of a Single Parent Captive,

Association Captive, Group Captive and Rent-A-Captive.

SINGLE PARENT CAPTIVE

Is an Insurance or reinsurance company which is a wholly

owned subsidiary formed primarily to insure the risks of its

non-insurance parent or affiliates.

39a

THE ASSOCIATION CAPTIVE

Is a company owned by a trade, industry, or service group for

the benefit of its members.

THE GROUP CAPTIVE (Stock or Mutual)

Is a company jointly owned by a number of companies

created to provide a vehicle to meet a common insurance

need.

RENT-A-CAPTIVE

Where an owner of a captive offers to interested parties a

division of the captive for a fee.

Where the captive is a reinsurance company, and by

arrangement with a conventional insurance company,

reinsures the risks of its parents or affiliates, the conventional

insurance company is generally referred to as the “fronting”

company.

Black, Davis & Shue Agency, Inc. has further broadened the

concept by using a more conservative approach to captive

insurance. We have joint ventured with insurance companies

to form a_ partnership whereby a 50/50 quota share

arrangement is used. Appropriate Caps are applied thus

protecting the captive so losses are properly managed.

CAPTIVE INSURANCE ARRANGEMENTS

Rent-a-Captives

A “rent-a-captive” is an alternative method of nsk financing

which brings tangible benefits to the insured including the

following:

- Surplus funds accrue to the benefit of the insured.

40a

- Lower cost risk financing for firms with low claims

experience.

- Tax advantageous pre-funding of your own claims.

Special arrangements can be made for groups who are

prepared to share risks, through the establishment of a group

fund.

The Product

This is a specially designed method of risk financing enabling

businesses or partnerships to achieve the benefits of captive

insurance without the disadvantages of establishing their own

captive. It is also a means of maintaining a certain amount of

independence from the commercial market.

How does it work? Each policyholder purchases a policy. The

premium is paid into a separate fund which is kept distinct

from others and can only be used for purposes of meeting a

claim under the policy. Each fund contributes its share of the

administration costs and the administration costs relating to

the policyholder’s own insurance.

Special arrangements can be made for groups who are

prepared to share risks, through the establishment of a group

fund.

The Rationale

Many companies decide to, or are obligated to retain risk.

Some have considered reserving a proportion of revenue each

year to deal with claims as they arise. The main

disadvantages of using this method are that tax relief is not

4la

granted on the balance and the money cannot be used for

other purposes.

Some companies have considered setting up their own

captive. These have several advantages, including the

following:

- Risk management

- Lower insurance premiums

- Premiums which reflect your own claims experience

- Ability to determine own policy conditions and scope of

cover

- Smoothes out cash flow

- Access to reinsurance markets.

Whilst establishment of one’s own captive market

commercial sense for larger organizations, there are a number

of drawbacks:

Cost

- Minimum first year costs wil] be about £35,000.

- Capitalisation requirement of £100,000 equity or letter of

credit.

- 90% of profits to be remitted to the UK parent company to

Satisfy CFC rules.

- Running costs £30,000 per annum minimum.

42a

Ownership

- For partnerships there can be difficulty over the ownership

of surplus funds in the event of a split of the partners, leading

to a winding up of the captive.

Time

- Business time is expended setting up and administering the

Captive.

Equity

- Difficulty of maintaining balance between policyholders.

KEY BENEFITS OF A ‘RENT-A-CAPTIVE’

The disadvantages of a captive are extinguished or minimised

with a rent-a-captive for the following reasons:

- No initial start up costs

- Control of Foreign Companies rules not applicable

- Fund can be discontinued without the need to wind up the

captive

- Profit can be taken out on termination of cover

- Shared administration costs make the arrangement cost

effective

- Flexibility, enabling potential new captive owners to test the

water

43a

Risk Management

TAX IMPLICATIONS

The motivation for using a rent-a-captive should always be

insurance driven rather than tax driven. A rent-a-captive can

be compared to a conventional insurance or an internal fund.

Premiums paid to external insurers are usually tax-

deductible.

In the UK, as in many other countries, reserves for future

claims are not deductible. A reserve will only be allowable

for Therefore the creation of an internal fund by a general

Provision will not generate a UK tax deduction. However, the

payment of a premium to a captive, which itself creates a

reserve, will provide tax relief to the premium paying

company.

Any attack on profits by the Revenue would have to be:

- on the basis that the rent-a-captive was in fact controlled and

managed in the UK; or

profits; or

44a

- under the anti-avoidance legislation contained in Section

739TA 1988 (Transfer of Assets Abroac).

CONTROLLED FOREIGN COMPANIES (CFC)

We do not consider that CFC legislation would be applicable

to an offshore captive beneficially owned directly by a

professional partnership, though it would be relevant if 20%

or more of the captive’s share capital were owned by, say, a

UK resident service company owned by the partnership.

TARGET MARKET

Collegiate is suitable for professional businesses, e.g. legal

(solicitors), architectural, accountancy, engineering, medical

services, insurance company agencies, industry bodies or

groups, and organisations with low claims records in relation

to their premium expenditure.

The first year’s premium is likely to be between £25,000 and

£250,000, depending on the arrangements required.

Information Request Form

Select the items that apply, and then let us know how to

contact you.

X Send product literature

_ Send company literature

_ Have a salesperson contact me

Name

Title

Company

Address

E-mail

Phone

45a

APPENDIX E

SHAREHOLDER AGREEMENT

THIS AGREEMENT, made and entered into as of

August 1, 1985 by and between MUTUAL INDEMNITY

LTD. (formerly Aneco Mutual Ltd.), a company organized

under the laws of the Islands of Bermuda (hereinafter

“MUTUAL”) and AMERICAN OWNER OPERATOR

UNDERWRITERS, INC., a corporation organized and

existing under the laws of the State of Delaware (hereinafter

“SHAREHOLDER’”).

WiTNESSETH:

WHEREAS, SHAREHOLDER is desirous of

purchasing four hundred thirty-two thousand (432,000) non-

voting preferred shares of MUTUAL designated Series “V4”

preferred shares (hereinafter “PREFERRED SHARES”) for

the purchase price hereinafter set forth; and

WHEREAS, MUTUAL is desirous of repurchasing

the PREFERRED SHARES at the close of business on the

first day of January, 1991 for the purchase price hereinafter

set forth; and

WHEREAS, MUTUAL has entered into a

Reinsurance Agreement (the “TREATY”) effective August 1,

1985 with Colonial Penn Insurance Company (hereinafter the

“INSURANCE COMPANY ”) pursuant to which MUTUAL

has reinsured certain of the liability of INSURANCE

COMPANY on policies of insurance produced by

SHAREHOLDER.

NOW, THEREFORE, in consideration of the mutual

46a

promises and undertakings set forth herein the parties do

hereby agree as follows:

1. SHAREHOLDER agrees to purchase the

PREFERRED SHARES agrees to pay MUTUAL the amount

of Four hundred thirty-two thousand dollars ($432,000.00)

(herein the “Purchase Price”). This amount shall be payable

by the delivery to MUTUAL within 30 days of the execution

of this Agreement of a clean, irrevocable, unconditional letter

of credit in the amount of four hundred thirty-two thousand

dollars ($432,000.00) drawn upon a United States Bank

approved by MUTUAL. Thereafter, SHAREHOLDER shall

either continue to maintain the letter of credit so that at all

times it remains in force or replace the letter of credit by

paying MUTUAL four hundred thirty-two thousand dollars

($432,000.00) in cash prior to the expiration of the letter of

credit.

2. Commencing on the first day of December, 1986

and annually thereafter on the first day of December of each

succeeding year to and including December 1, 1990

(hereinafter the “DIVIDEND DATE”) MUTUAL agrees to

cause a dividend to be declared to the owner of record on

such date of the PREFERRED SHARES in an amount equal

to the sum of the following:

The amount of investment income, if any, earned by

MUTUAL during the calendar year immediately preceding

such DIVIDEND DATE resulting from the investment of the

cash funds received by MUTUAL as the purchase price of the

PREFERRED SHARES, if any, as set forth in paragraph (1)

hereof, less an amount equal to one half per cent (1/2%) per

annum of the average amount of investment funds held by

MUTUAL as a result of the purchase price of the

PREFERRED SHARES.

47a

(B) Plus or minus the amount of investment income

earned by MUTUAL in the calendar year preceding the

DIVIDEND DATE, resulting from the investment of funds

received by MUTUAL under the TREATY with

INSURANCE COMPANY less an amount equal to one per

cent (1%) per annum of the average amount of such funds

held by MUTUAL during the preceding year. It is understood

and agreed that such funds are held by MUTUAL as loss

reserves and premium reserves and may be repaid to

INSURANCE COMPANY pursuant to the terms of the

TREATY.

(C) Plus or minus the amount of underwriting gain or

loss realized by MUTUAL on the TREATY during the policy

year preceding the DIVIDEND DATE. Underwriting gain

shall be computed by the following formula:

Net premium received by MUTUAL after all deductions for

€xpenses, taxes and other items; minus all losses incurred

including losses incurred but not reported; minus two and

one-half per cent (2.5%) of the original gross premium under

the TREATY.

3. If on the Redemption Date, as defined in this

Agreement, MUTUAL continues to hold funds pursuant to

the TREATY with INSURANCE COMPANY, MUTUAL

agrees to annually pay SHAREHOLDER as additional

dividends the amount of investment income earned by

MUTUAL during the preceding year resulting from the

investment of such funds less an amount equal to one per cent

(1%) of the average amount of such funds plus the amount of

additional underwriting gain, if any, as defined in paragraph

2 (C) hereof until such time as the amount of funds held by

MUTUAL is less than Five thousand dollars ($5,000.00) at

which point liability under this paragraph shall cease.

48a

4. On the first day of January, 1991 (hereinafter the

“REDEMPTION DATE”) MUTUAL agrees to repurchase

from the SHAREHOLDER the PREFERRED SHARES

upon presentation of the share certificate representing the

PREFERRED SHARES duly endorsed for cancellation for

the price of four hundred thirty-two thousand dollars

($432,000.00) minus the amount by which the cumulative

sum of the amounts calculated under Sections 2(A), 2(B) and

2(C) of this Agreement is less than zero by reducing or

returning the letter of credit or repaying the amount of cash

paid by SHAREHOLDER at purchase price for the

PREFERRED SHARES.

5. It is agreed that the PREFERRED SHARES issued

to SAYAREHOLDER pursuant to this Agreement are being

purchased by the SHAREHOLDER for purposes of

investment only. The said PREFERRED SHARES have not

been registered under the United States Securities Act of

1933, as amended. The said PREFERRED SHARES shall

not be sold, transferred, hypothecated, pledged or otherwise

assigned or encumbered and will bear the following legend:-

“These Securities have not been registered under the

Securities Act of 1933, as amended. These Securities

have been acquired for investment and may not be

sold, transferred, hypothecated, pledged or otherwise

assigned or encumbered.”

6. This Agreement may not be modified, amended or

changed in any manner except in a writing signed by all the

parties hereto.

7. All notices, requests, demands or other

communications provided for herein shall be in writing, shall

be delivered by hand or by first-class mail, postage prepaid

49a

and shall be addressed to the parties hereto at their respective

addresses listed below or te such other persons or addresses

as the relevant Party shall designate as to itself from time to

time in a writing delivered in like manner:

If to Mutual Indemnity Ltd., to it at:

Trimingham Building

Front Street

P.O. Box 1254

Hamilton 5, Bermuda

If to American Owners Operator Underwriters, Inc.

to it at:

1655 Peachtree Street

Suite 520

Atlanta, Georgia 30309

8. This Agreement has been made and executed in the

Islands of Bermuda and shall be governed by and construed

in accordance with the laws of the Islands of Bermuda.

9. All amounts referred to herein are expressed in

United States Dollars and all payments shall be made in such

dollars.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the parties have set their

hand,

50a

At Atlanta, Georgia

Date: 11-22-85

AMERICAN OWNER OPERATOR UNDERWRITERS,

INC.

By: s/ Chairman

At Hamilton, Bermuda

Date: 1 November 1985

MUTUAL INDEMNITY LTD.

By: s/ Robert A. Mulderig

Executive Vice President

Sla

APPENDIX F

AGENT AGREEMENT

THIS AGREEMENT IS MADE THIS ist day of

April 1985 by and between the Colonial Penn Insurance

Company, an insurance corporation having its principal place

of business at 5 Penn Center Plaza, Philadelphia,

Pennsylvania (hereafter referred to as the “Company”) and

American Owner Operator Underwriters, Inc., having its

principal place of business at 1655 Peachtree Street, Suite

520, Atlanta, GA 30309 (hereafter referred to as the

“Agent’”’).

FOR AND IN CONSIDERATION OF the mutual

covenants and agreements contained herein, and intending to

be legally bound hereby, the parties hereto agree as follows:

SECTION ONE

TERM OF AGREEMENT

This Agreement shall be effective as of April 1, 1985

and shall continue in full force and effect until terminated in

accordance with the provisions of Section Twenty-Three.

However, the Agent shall have no authority to bind risks

hereunder until the effective date of the reinsurance treaties as

set forth in the attached Addendum to this Agreement.

SECTION TWO

APPOINTMENT OF AGENT

A. The Company hereby nominates, constitutes and

appoints the Agent as its legal representative and true and

52a

lawful attorney to act in the Company’s behalf in the

procuring, underwriting and servicing of binders, policies,

contracts, agreements, treaties, certificates and other written

evidences of insurance or reinsurance including the handling

and servicing of all claims, losses and suits resulting

therefrom. This appointment shall apply only with respect to

lines of property/casualty insurance business as set forth in

the attached Addendum((s) to this Agreement.

B. Such authority shall be exercised only in

accordance with the terms of this Agreement and such

conditions and limitations as are from time to time

established by the Company.

SECTION THREE

TERRITORY

A. The Agent shall have non-exclusive authority to

operate in all states of the United States of America and the

District of Columbia; subject to the applicable licensing

authority of the Company. The Agent’s authority will extend

to risks located outside the United States of America and the

District of Columbia if the coverage is written in conjunction

with ani is incidental to risks located within the

aforementioned geographic areas; provided the extension of

such coverage is not prohibited by the jurisdiction where such

risk is located.

B. Either party shall have the mght to conduct

business for its own account without regard to this

Agreement. Either party shall have the right to conduct

business for its own account with any insurance or

reinsurance entity or insurance or reinsurance intermediary.

SECTION FOUR

53a

LIMITATIONS OF AUTHORITY OF AGENT

A. The Agent shall have no authority to waive any

forfeiture, grant any permit, collect any premiums except for

those policies which are subject to this Agreement, or bind

the Company in any way except as herein expressly stated.

B. The Agent shall not commit the Company to any

risk where the Company’s gross aggregate per occurrence

exposure exceeds the limits set down in the attached

Addendum(s).

SECTION FIVE

GENERAL DUTIES OF COMPANY

The Company will:

A. Procure and maintain licenses and/or certificates of

authority as an insurance company in such states as the

Company shall deem necessary to the fulfillment of this

Agreement.

SECTION SIx

GENERAL DUTIES OF AGENT

The Agent will

A. Make such filings, including filings of policy

forms, rates and rules on behalf of the Company as are

approved by the authorities of the states in which the Agent

is Operating for the Company.

54a

B. Appoint such agents or representatives of the

Company and make such agreements with them as the Agent

deems desirable for the furtherance of this Agreement,

subject always to the prior approval of the Company.

C. Supervise, direct and implement the production,

underwriting, premium collection, accounting, statistical, and

other work necessary or incidental to the insurance business

written under this Agreement.

D. Procure and maintain Treaty and Facultative

Reinsurance in terms and with companies acceptable to the

Company.

E. Supervise, direct and implement the loss

investigation, adjustment, settlement, compromise and

subrogation functions, legal defense, and other work

necessary or incidental therefor, including the payment of

losses, for all claims arising out of insurance business written

under this Agreeiment.

F. Set up and maintain such books and records in the

manner and as required by the Company to record the

transactions pursuant to this Agreement.

G. Compile and file with the Company such statistical

information as is customarily completed by insurance

companies for the business written hereunder.

H. Furnish, render and provide all services and

facilities for the business it transacts, as are customarily

furnished, rendered and provided by insurance companies for

the business written hereunder.

I. Cancel policies, contracts or certificates for cause.

55a

SECTION SEVEN

RECE™@T OF FUNDS: ACCOUNTS

A. Accounts of money due the Company on the

business written by the Agent with the Company are to be

rendered monthly so as to reach the Company not later than

the twentieth (20th) day of the following month; the balance

therein shown to be due the company shall be paid not later

than sixty (60) days after the end of the month for which the

account is rendered.

B. All premiums collected by the Agent are to be held

in trust for the Company and are the property of the

Company. The Agent has no interest in the premiums

collected by it and shall make no deductions therefrom before

paying the same to the Company except for the compensation

authorized in Section Fifteen and amounts required to pay

current losses and amounts required to pay reinsurers. The

Agent shall not make personal use of such premium funds

either in paying expenses of the Agent or otherwise. It is

understood that interest accruing from the trust account

inures solely for the benefit of the Agent.

C. If, at any time, the Agent determines that

premiums on hand are not sufficient to pay current losses and

the compensation authorized in Section Fifteen, the Agent

may request a special remittance from the Company and the

Company wili make such remittance to the Agent within

fifteen (15) days of the rendering of such a request, subject

however to such verification from the Agent as is required by

the Company.

D. The Agent shall report to the Company, in a form

and manner acceptable to the Company, all insurance issued,

accepted and/or bound pursuant to this Agreement.

56a

E. Agent shall prepare and submit to the Company a

report, not later than thirty (30) days after the close of each

quarter, summarizing:

1. Paid losses.

2. Outstanding loss reserves (both reported losses and

an estimate of incurred but not reported losses).

3. Allocated loss adjustment expenses paid.

4. Commissions paid.

SECTION EIGHT

BOOKS AND RECORDS

A. The Agent shall maintain true, accurate and

complete records and accounts of all transactions arising out

of this Agreement. Said records and accounts shall be

maintained at all times in such a manner and form as may be

agreed to by the Company and in accordance with generally

accepted accounting and insurance practices.

B. It shall be the duty of the Agent, unless the

Company relieves it of the same, to prepare and submit to the

Company and the underwriting and statistica: data applying

to the business it does for Company’s Annual Statement and

other reports required of the Company by states, for business

the Agent does for the Company.

C. All records and accounts or other documents

relating to the business of the Company arising out of this

Agreement are the property of the Agent and shall be subject

at all reasonable times to inspection, duplication and/or audit

57a

by a duly authorized representative of the Company,

including representatives of regulatory agencies. In the event

of termination of this Agreement, such records, accounts and

documents will be made available to the Company for

inspection and copying at the Agent’s offices after

termination. The Agent shall maintain such materials for a

period of five (5) years after the date of termination of this

Agreement.

D. All supplies furnished to the Agent by the

Company shall remain the property of the Company and shall

be returned to the Company upon termination of this

Agreement.

E. The books and accounts of the Company shall be

accepted as full and final evidence in all matters relating to

this Agreement.

SECTION NINE

COMPLIANCE WITH REGULATION AND LAWS

A. In the conduct of business under this Agreement,

the Agent will observe and comply with all rules and

regulations of the Company now existing or hereafter

promulgated and with all applicable laws, regulations and

rulings by any governmental authority, agency, bureau or

commission having jurisdiction. Al] binders and policies of

insurance and reinsurance wil] be issued and delivered. and,

when required, countersigned, pursuant to the applicable

laws, regulations and rulings of any governmental authority,

agency, bureau or commission. Al] agents or representatives

of the Company appointed by the Agent shall be properly

licensed as required by applicable laws and regulations. Any

fine, fee or penalty assessed against the Agent by reason of

aaa

58a

the Agent’s action or failure to act hereunder shall be the

responsibility of the Agent and the Agent will not be entitled

to any reimbursement by the Company therefor.

B. In the conduct of business under this Agreement,

the Company will observe and comply with all applicable

laws, regulations and rulings by any governmental authority,

agency, bureau or commission having jurisdiction. Any fine,

fee or penalty assessed against the Company by reason of the

Company’s action or failure to act hereunder shall be the

responsibility of the Company and the Company will not be

entitled to any reimbursement by the Agent therefor.

C. The Agent shall, at its sole expense, provide for

required countersignatures on policies written pursuant to this

Agreement. Agent shall not bind the Company to any risk

with regard to which the Company shall previously have

notified the Agent in writing that such risk is excluded from

the business hereunder. The Agent will cancel any risk

forthwith, at the instruction of the Company.

SECTION TEN

ADVERTISING AND SOLICITATION MATERIALS

The Agent agrees that no pamphlets, booklets,

advertising materials, or any other promotional materials

relating to the Company shall be used, issued or circulated by

it unless specifically authorized by the Company.

SECTION ELEVEN

CANCELLATION OF POLICIES

All policies written under this Agreement shall be

59a

subject to cancellation by the Company on any anniversary

date upon not less than thirty (30) days’ prior written notice

unless a longer period of time or special terms are required by

law or have been specifically granted by the Company.

SECTION TWELVE

AGENT NOT TO INCUR INDEBTEDNESS

The Agent shall pay and discharge the expenses of

conducting its own business and shall not incur any expenses

chargeable to the Company, other than those authorized

herein, without the Company’s written approval.

SECTION THIRTEEN

ADJUSTMENT OF LOSSES

A. The Agent shall promptly notify the Company of

any claim or loss arising out of business written pursuant to

this Agreement which comes to its attention involving claims

for punitive and/or exemplary damages or for which, in

Agent’s best judgment, the amount of damages recoverable is

likely to exceed fifty thousand dollars ($50,000.00).

B. Agent shall have ultimate and full authority and

control of all claims and losses arising out of the insurance

contracts written pursuant to this Agreement, subject to

Company’s right to intercede and assume authority and

control with respect to any claim when the Company deems

it to be in its own best interest to assume such authority and

control.

60a

SECTION FOURTEEN

EXPENSES

A. The Agent shall incur, accept and pay all expenses

in connection with the production, marketing and servicing of

the insurance business, written under this Agreement,

including but not limited to the following:

1. Printing of proposals, booklet certificates,

solicitation brochures, premium notices, records and reports,

and all documents and other materials required to fulfill the

obligation of the Agent under this Agreement.

2. Promotional advertising and public relations

expenses.

3. The Agent’s general office expenses, including, but

not limited to rent, salaries, utilities, transportation, furniture,

fixtures, equipment, supplies, telephone, postage and other

general overhead expenses.

B. The Company shall not be responsible for any fees

or expenses incurred by the Agent, its employees, agents or

brokers to obtain or maintain licenses required to perform

activities relating to this Agreement.

SECTION FIFTEEN

COMPENSATION

Subject to compliance by the Agent with the terms

and conditions of this Agreement, the Company will allow

Agent the following as full compensation for all services

rendered and expenses incurred by Agent.

6la

A. An amount equal to a percentage of the Gross

Written Premium specified in the attached Addendum(s) on

the business coming under this Agreement. Gross Written

B. Amounts necessary to reimburse the Agent for

allocated claims costs arising from the investigating,

adjusting, settling, compromising and subrogating claims.

SECTION SIXTEEN

COMMISSION REFUNDS

Commissions paid to the Agent on cancelled policies,

reduced premiums and uncollected premiums shal] be

refunded to the Company at the same rates at which such

commissions were Originally earned by the Agent.

SECTION SEVENTEEN

OFFSET AGAINST COMPENSATION

The Agent shall not be entitled to any compensation

for services of any kind rendered to or on behalf of the

Company except as described in this Agreement. The

Company may offset against said compensation any claims

made by it against the Agent arising out of this Agreement or

any other contracts by and between the parties hereto or

between Agent and any of the Company’s affiliates or

subsidiaries.

SECTION EIGHTEEN

LAWS GOVERNING

62a

This Agreement, including the provisions relating to

arbitration, shall be governed by the laws of the State of

Pennsylvania.

SECTION NINETEEN

ERRORS & OMISSIONS

A. Agent shall, at all times during this Agreement,

maintain an Errors and Omissions Policy and separate

Fidelity Policy on all of its employees providing a minimum

of $1,000,000.00 coverage.

B. Inadvertent delays, errors and/or omissions made

in connection with this Agreement shall not relieve either

party from any liability which would have attached had such

delays, errors or omissions not occurred; provided that such

delays, errors or omissions shall be rectified as soon as

possible after discovery.

SECTION TWENTY

ARBITRATION

A. Any controversy or claim between the parties

hereto arising out of or relating to this Agreement, or the

breach of the same, shall be settled by arbitration to be held

in Pennsylvania. Each party shal! choose one arbitrator, and

the two arbitrators shall then mutually agree on a third

arbitrator. The arbitrators shall hold a hearing and render an

award in accordance with the rules of the American

Arbitration Association, and judgment upon the award

rendered by a majority of the arbitrators may be entered in

any court having jurisdiction. The arbitrators shall be

required to decide matters submitted to them upon the custom

63a

and usage of the business in a spirit of equity rather than of

technicalities or of legal requirements.

B. All arbitration expenses shall be borne equally by

the Company and the Agent.

SECTION TWENTY-ONE

AGENT TO ACT AS INDEPENDENT CONTRACTOR

The Agent shall be and act as an independent

contractor. Nothing contained herein shall be construed to

create the relationship of employer and employee between

the Company and the Agent.

SECTION TWENTY-TWO

INDEMNIFICATION

A. Agent agrees to indemnify, defend and hold the

Company harmless from and against any and all claims, suits,

actions, liability, loss, expense or damage (including

compensatory and punitive or exemplary damages), which

the Company, its affiliates, directors, officers, agents, or

employees, may sustain, due to or arising out of any act by

Agent, its affiliates, directors, offices, agents, representatives,

or employees provided that the Company has not contributed

to Or compounded such act.

B. The Company agrees to indemnify, defend and

hold Agent harmless from and against any and all claims,

Suits, liability, loss, expense or damages (including

compensatory and punitive or exemplary damages) which

Agent its affiliates, directors, officers, agents or employees

may sustain, due to or arising out of any act by the Company,

64a

its affiliates, directors, officers, agents, representatives, or

employees provided that Agent has not contributed to or

compounded such act.

C. In no event does the Company agree to indemnify

and hold the Agent harmless for the actions of brokers or of

the Agent or its employees or agents.

SECTION TWENTY-THREE

TERMINATION

A. This Agreement may be terminated at any time by

the mutual agreement of the parties.

B. Except as otherwise provided herein, this

Agreement may be terminated for any reason by the giving of

not less than ninety (90) days notice in writing by either party

to the other unless a shorter period is agreed to by the parties

in writing.

C. Termination in whole or in part of reinsurance of

the Company on business covered by this Agreement shall

result in the suspension of all authority granted to the Agent

under this Agreement to assume business on behalf of the

Company. This suspension of authority shall be effective the

same date as effective for the termination of reinsurance and

shall remain in effect until such reinsurance is again in effect

in accordance with Section Six, paragraph D.

D. This Agreement shall terminate automatically

without notice in the event of the bankruptcy, insolvency,

receivership, liquidation or assignment for the benefit of

creditors by either party or if there is any material change in

the ownership or control of the other party.

65a

E. In the event of default in any material term of this

Agreement, the non-defaulting party shall give notice ¢ of such

default to the defaulting Party and this Agreement shall

terminate thirty (30) days after the date of such notice unless

the defaulting party has remedied such default prior to the end

of the thirty (30) day period.

G. Upon termination of this Agreement, no charges

shall be made by the Agent for services in settlement of

accounts or winding up of affairs between the Company and

the Agent.

H. If this Agreement is terminated, neither party shall

have any claim against the other for loss of prospective

profits or fees or damage to business arising therefrom.

I. In the event of termination of this Agreement, any

business written hereunder and remaining with the Company

shall be permitted to continue to normal expiration, or in the

annual renewal date.

J. In the event of termination of this Agreement:

66a

1. The Agent shall promptly cease all solicitation

activities provided for hereunder.

2. The administration obligations of the Agent to the

Company including, but not limited to, policy

servicing claims handling, record keeping and

reporting functions, specified in this Agreement

shall survive and shall continue to be discharged

promptly by the Agent until all legal and/or regulatory

obligations of the Company under or in connection

with insurance business written pursuant to this

Agreement have terminated and all applicable

claims have been paid.

3. Upon termination of this Agreement and subject

to the provisions of Section Twenty-Three J., 4.,

below, Agent shall be the owner of all insurance

expirations as that term is used and understood

in the industry and all records and other documents

relating to the business of the Agent are the property

of the Agent and shall be left in the Agent’s

possession, and the Company’s record or

knowledge of names of insured and expiration

dates shall not be disclosed by the Company to any

agent, broker or other person unless required by

law, nur used by the Company for any purpose

which shall abridge the Agent’s rights of ownership,

use and control.

4. Should the agent fail to properly account for and

pay all premiums due to the Company for which the

Agent is liable, or should the Agent breach any other

material term or provision of this Agreement, the use

and control of all expirations including the night,

67a

title and interest in and to the records thereof

shall be vested in the Company.

SECTION TWENTY-F OUR

LEGAL ACTION

legal action involving the Company with respect to any

matters which are the subject of this Agreement.

SECTION TWENTY-FIVE

PRIVACY

personal or Privileged information about individuals

collected or received in connection with insurance

transactions. Since the disclosure of such information is

protected by law, Agent agrees that it will not redisclose such

information without the individual’s written authorization,

unless such disclosure is permitted by law.

SECTION TWENTY-SIX

NOTICES

To be validly given, all notices, requests, consents

and other communications by either party, arising out of this

68a

Agreement, must be in writing and mailed by first-class mail

postage-paid, to the last known address of the party.

SECTION TWENTY-SEVEN

CURRENCY

All amounts due to either party hereunder shall be

payable in United States currency.

SECTION TWENTY-EIGHT

ASSIGNMENT

This Agreement shall not inure to the benefit of any

successor-in-interest of the Agent nor may any interest under

this Agreement be assigned by the Agent without the prior

written consent of the Company.

SECTION TWENTY-NINE

HEADINGS

Headings or titles to the several Articles herein are for

identification purposes only and shall not be construed as

forming a part hereof.

SECTION THIRTY

MODIFICATION

This Agreement may only be revised or modified in a

writing that is accepted by both the Company and the Agent.

No other change, modification, addition or deletion to any

portion of this Agreement will be valid or binding upon either

69a

the Company or the Agent. Neither a representative of the

Company nor the Agent has authority to waive any of the

provisions of this Agreement or to modify or change any of

its terms and conditions, except as provided herein.

SECTION THIRTY ONE

EXECUTION

This Agreement shall not go into force until duly

executed on behalf of the Agent and the Company.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF , the parties have set their

hands this Ist day of April, 1985.

COLONIAL PENN INSURANCE COMPANY

BY: S/ Title: Sr. Vice President

ATTEST: S/Title: Vice President

AMERICAN OWNER OPERATOR

UNDERWRITERS, INC.

BY: S/ Title: President

ATTEST: s/ Title:

70a

ADDENDUM NUMBER ONE

This Addendum, by consent of the parties, becomes a

part of and is subject to the Agent Agreement between the

parties, effective April, 1985, and this Addendum is effective

April 1, 1985.

CROSS COMMISSIONS LIFE OF CROSS

ALLOWED AGENT INSURANCE BINDING

(New & Renewal) AUTHORITY

*57.5% Fuel Tax & 10,000 Any

Related Bonds One Bond

*2.5% Overwrite, payable by Agent to Submit Intermediaries, Inc.

Gross binding authority limits may be exceeded by

Agent only when Agent procures reinsurance acceptable to

Company, limiting Company’s exposure to the foreg

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.