Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Southeastern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority v. Christ's Bride Ministries, Inc.

Supreme Court brief1999

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No.

\ Supreme Court, U.¢.

FILED

98 654 0CT 201998

IN THE

frarri¢ r - ‘

OFFiGe OF THE CiERK

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1998

SOUTHEASTERN PENNSYLVANIA TRANSPORTATION

AUTHORITY and TRANSPORTATION DISPLAYS, INC.,

Petitioners,

CHRIST’S BRIDE MINISTRIES, INC.,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

OF COUNSEL:

C. NEIL PETERSEN

Southeastern Pennsylvania

Transportation Authority

1234 Market Street

Philadelphia, PA 19107

TINA KOWALSKY HAUT

Transportation Displays, Inc.

275 Madison Avenue

New York, NY 10016

WILLIAM H. ROBERTS,

Counsel of Record

JORDANA COOPER

DANIEL H. WHEELER

BLANK ROME COMISKY

& MCCAULEY LLP

One Logan Square

Philadelphia, PA 19103

(215) 569-5500

DAVID RUDOVSKY

924 Cherry Street, Fifth Floor

Philadelphia, PA 19107

SETH KREIMER

3400 Chestnut Street

Philadeiphia, PA 19104

PACKARD PRESS® / APPELLATE DIVISION, 1617 JFK BOULEVARD, PHILA, PA. 19103 (215) 563-9000

at

APL IOP

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

In this case, involving a controversial paid advertisement

stating “WOMEN WHO CHOOSE ABORTION SUFFER

MORE & DEADLIER BREAST CANCER. information:

1-800-634-2224” sought to be posted within stations of a met-

ropolitan transit authority, petitioners Southeastern Pennsyl-

vania Transportation Authority (“SEPTA”) and Transporta-

tion Displays, Inc. (“TDI”), present the following questions:

1. Whether the decision below, handed down shortly

after this Court’s decision in Arkansas Educ. Television

Comm’n v. Forbes, 118 S.Ct. 1633 (Opinion filed May 18,

1998) (“Forbes”), without citation to or discussion of Forbes,

is inconsistent with the holding in Forbes that no government

intent to “designate” a public forum for First Amendment

purposes can be found where the government required prior

permission to access the forum and the approval process was

selective?

2. Whether, as the First, Third, and Seventh Circuits have

held, government property that is not a traditional public

forum (e.g., parks, streets, sidewalks) is to be deemed “desig-

nated” as a public forum, in the absence of specific guidelines

for its use, even where the government clearly reserves abso-

lute authority over content, thereby triggering strict First

Amendment scrutiny, or whether, as the Second and Ninth

Circuits have held, a government reservation of absolute

authority over content sufficiently evidences government

intent not to designate a public forum, thereby triggering the

more deferential standard applicable to a “non-public”

forum?

3. Whether, as the Third Circuit held below, the fact that

the government is acting in its role as proprietor of a commer-

cial venture (rather than as regulator of speech) has no impact

upon the level of scrutiny applicable to the government's

selection of messages based upon content, or whether, as the

Second and Seventh Circuits have held, the fact that the gov-

ernment is acting in its role as proprietor is “especially signifi-

cant” or at least “one factor” in determining the applicable

level of First Amendment scrutiny?

°

4. Whether the decision below is inconsistent with Corne-

lius v. NAACP Legal Defense & Educ. Fund, Inc., 473 U.S.

788 (1985), and Forbes, in determining in the alternative that

in order to have acted “reasonably” even in a non-public

forum, prior to invoking its contractually reserved right to

decline to post a controversial advertisement claiming a link

between abortion and breast cancer, the transit authority was

required to provide an opportunity for the advertiser to rebut

information from the Assistant Secretary of Health in the

United States Department of Health and Human Services that

the advertisement was “unfortunately misleading” and

“unduly alarming” and did not “accurately reflect the weight

of the scientific literature?”

LIST OF CORPORATE AFFILIATES

Petitioner, Transportation Displays Inc., is a subsidiary of

TDI Worldwide, Inc., which is a subsidiary of Infinity Broad-

casting Corp., which is a subsidiary of CBS Corp.

iil

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ........cccccccscccccess i

LIST OF CORPORATE AFFILIATES............... iii

CE Wi Fes Fac dnes 00s dinceccesep wees 1

PE oe deidacd <u deccsvecscescodasenees 2

STATUTES AND CONSTITUTIONAL

AMENDMENTS INVOLVED................... 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE .........ccccccccccecs 3

ee 2 re rere re 4

Fae IEE 6.h.0 6.50.3 Kacdusevdedesnios 4

Re A pn xscdsdousdinscnswases 4

By, PNG CenGiesécccawecedeusaue aces 5

a. District Court’s Finding of a Non-Public

re re pee ee 5

b. District Court’s Finding of Reasonable-

ness and Viewpoint Neutrality......... 6

DD. Tie Ce Pe i's 6h 0nd 5s dccccncccees 7

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT........... 10

I. The Court Should Grant The Writ, Vacate, And

Remand For Further Proceedings In Light Of

This Court's Decision Last Term In Arkansas

Educ. Television Comm’n v. Forbes, 118 S.Ct.

RE 5 nh han oan db RA ae pede a esa en 10

II. The Court Should Grant The Writ To Resolve

A Split Of The Circuits, To Clarify The Prin-

ciples Applicable In Determining Government

“Intent” To Designate A Public Forum, And To

Clarify The Significance, If Any, Of Govern-

ment’s Reservation Of Absolute Authority To

Select Among Messages Based Upon Content... 12

iV

TABLE OF CONTENTS — (Continued)

Page

III. The Court Should Grant The Writ To Clarify

The Weight To Be Accorded Government’s Pro-

prietary Status In Determining Intent To Create

A Public Forum, A Question On Which The

Ce PIII 0 a fc wa 0054. 00cddneeces 17

IV. The Court Should Grant The Writ Because The

Decision Below Is Inconsistent With This

Court’s Decisions In Cornelius v. NAACP Legal

Defense & Educ. Fund, Inc., And Forbes With

Respect To The Standard Of Reasonableness

Applicable In Non-Public Forums............. 20

CAPR RAMUING 0 vc recscesutscnecihaaeoshanwacdekba’s 22

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page

AIDS Action Committee of Massachusetts, Inc. v. Massa-

chusetts Bay Transportation Authority, 42 F.3d 1 (1st

8 PP TTY Ts PTTL LL TTT TET 13, 14

Air Line Pilots Ass'n v. Department of Aviation of the

City of Chicago, 45 F.3d 1144 (7th Cir. 1995)....... 19

Arkansas Educ. Television Comm'n v. Forbes, 118 S. Ct.

SEED Con cb odedaccisctcocdseatic 9, 10, 11, 12, 21

Cafeteria & Restaurant Workers v. McElroy, 367 U.S. 886

(Riso. 0 06 tua haneceeeep 0s00sendensedeesssees 18

Cornelius v. NAACP Legal Defense & Educ. Fund, Inc.,

G53 UD, Fae GRO 6 cc ncccctcghevoboacdessess passim

Fighting Finest, Inc. v. Bratton, 9S F.3d 224 (2d Cir.

BODE oc cédcscsscdccudee sosanteunbanenseasseese 14

International Society for Krishna Consciousness, Inc. v.

Len, SB UBs Gre GSEs cc ccnccccsevscsasens 9, 18, 20

Jacobsen v. United States Postal Service, 993 F.2d 649 (9th

Cie, SGT ccccccocdctedcesascasedesdubedaseunen 14

Lebron v. National Railroad Passenger Corp., 69 F.3d 650

(2d Cir.), amended on denial of rehearing, 89 F.3d 39

(38 Cle 19000 cca couiuni Srmstda passim

Lehman v. City of Shaker Heights, 418 U.S. 299

nen :.:... ss, saat ete seen 6, 9, 18, 19, 20

New York Magazine v. The Metropolitan Transportation

Authority, 136 F.3d 123 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 66

US Lis See GUD Sc ccdnomnscaacenectonetedass 19

Perry Education Assn. v. Perry Local Educators’ Assn.,

460 UB. SF CGE cdc ivcaticvictdcies 6, 11, 13, 15, 16

Planned Parenthood Ass’n of Chicago Area v. Chicago

Transit Authority, 767 F.2d 1225 (7th Cir. 1985)... 16, 17

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — (Continued)

Cases: Page

Planned Parenthood of Southern Nevada, Inc. v. Clark

County School District, 941 F.2d 817 (9th Cir. 1991)

(en DANG)... 2c cc cccccccccccccccesssccsesccess 13, 15

United States v. Kokinda, 497 U.S. 720 (1990) ........ 18, 20

Widmar v. Vincent, 454 U.S. 263 (1981). ..........++++- 11

Yeo v. Town of Lexington, 1997 WL 292173 (1st Cir.),

opinion withdrawn on grant of rehearing en banc, 131

F.3d 241 (ist Cir. 1997), cert. denied, 118 S.Ct. 2060

(19DB). ov ccccccccccccccccccccccccccccseces 13, 16, 17

Constitutional Provisions:

US. Const. Amend. I ...... ccc ccccccccccsccceees passim

tee) ON ©: PP Prrrerereeeeeeee 2

Statutory Provisions:

CTE Beiccsdccnccdcvvccecoscencecdtscceanes 2,3

Miscellaneous Authorities:

S. Gey, “Reopening the Public Forum — From Sidewalks

to Cyberspace,” 58 Ohio St. L. J. 1535 (1998) ...... 14

Note: A Procedural Approach to Limited Public Forum

Cases, 22 Fordham Urb. L. J. 1255 (Summer,

BOIS) cccccccccccccscccccccevevcccsscccncscees 14

Comment: Public Forum Doctrine Crashes At Kennedy

Airport, Injuring Nine: International Society for

Krishna Consciousness, Inc. v. Lee, 59 Brooklyn L.

Rev. 1271 (Fall, 1993) .......-.-ceceeeeceeececces 20

Comment: ‘Objective’ Approaches to the Public Forum

Doctrine: The First Amendment at the Mercy of

Architectural Chicanery, 90 N.W.U. L. Rev. 1185

vii

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1998

SOUTHEASTERN PENNSYLVANIA TRANSPORTATION

AUTHORITY and TRANSPORTATION DISPLAYS, INC.,

Petitioners,

v.

CHRIST’S BRIDE MINISTRIES, INC.,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

Petitioners, Southeastern Pennsylvania Transportation

Authority (“SEPTA”) and Transportation Displays, Inc.

(“TDI”), pray that a writ of certiorari issue to review the

opinion and judgment of the Court of Appeals for the Third

Circuit rendered in these proceedings on June 25, 1998.

OPINIONS BELOW.

The United States District Court for the Eastern District

of Pennsylvania, having held a bench trial in a consolidated

preliminary injunction hearing and trial on the merits, ruled in

favor of petitioners on all claims. The Opinion of the Honor-

able Harvey Bartle dated August 16, 1996, is reported at 937

F.Supp. 425 and appears at App. 34a.! The panel opinion of

the Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit reversing and

remanding the district court, filed June 25, 1998, is reported at

148 F.3d 242, and is reprinted at App. 5a. The Court of

1. References herein to the appendix accompanying the Petition are

denoted as “App. __.”

2

Appeals for the Third Circuit denied a petition for rehearing

and suggestion for rehearing en banc, without opinion, by

Order dated July 23, 1998, as amended by Order dated August

6, 1998. The Orders denying the petition for rehearing are

printed at App. la - 4a.

JURISDICTION.

The Court of Appeals entered judgment reversing and

remanding the judgment of the district court on June 25, 1998.

Petitioners’ timely petition for rehearing, filed July 9, 1998,

was denied by Order dated and entered July 23, 1998 (App.

la), as amended by Order dated and entered August 6, 1998

(App. 3a).

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1254(1). —

STATUTES AND CONSTITUTIONAL

AMENDMENTS INVOLVED.

U.S. Const. Amend. I:

Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment

of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or

abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the

right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition

the Government for a redress of grievances.

U.S. Const. Amend. XIV:

Section 1. All persons born or naturalized in the

United States, and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are

citizens of the United States and of the State wherein

they reside. No State shall make or enforce any law which

shall abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens of

the United States; nor shall any State deprive any person

of life, liberty, or property, without due process of law;

nor deny to any person within its jurisdiction the equal

protection of the laws.

Section 1 of the Civil Rights Act of 1871, Rev. Stat.

§ 1979, codified at 42 U.S.C. § 1983:

3

Every person who, under color of any statute, ordinance,

regulation, custom, or usage, of any State or Territory or

the District of Columbia, subjects, or causes to be sub-

jected, any citizen of the United States or other person

within the jurisdiction thereof to the deprivation of any

rights, privileges, or immunities secured by the Constitu-

tion and laws, shall be liable to the party injured in an

action at law, suit in equity, or other proper proceeding

for redress, except that in any action brought against a

judicial officer for an act or omission taken in such offic-

er’s jndicial capacity, injunctive relief shall not be granted

unless a declaratory decree was violated or declaratory

relief was unavailable. For the purposes of this section,

any Act of Congress applicable exclusively to the District

of Columbia shall be considered to be a statute of the

District of Columbia.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE.

The facts in this case are simple and not materially at

issue. The case squarely presents an important iss’1e involving

aspects of the First Amendment “public forum” doctrine on

which the circuits are sharply divided. Respondent, Christ's

Bride Ministries, Inc. (“Christ’s Bride”), a non-profit religious

organization, brought this case against petitioner, Southeast-

ern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority (“SEPTA”), a

metropolitan transit authority serving the Philadelphia, Penn-

sylvania area, and its advertising licensee or agent, Transpor-

tation Displays, Inc. (“TDI”), pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1983,

alleging a deprivation of First Amendment rights of freedom

of speech and challenging petitioners’ action in rejecting

advertising for display throughout SEPTA’s transit system

advertising network at commuter and subway rail stations.

The advertisement at issue (“the Advertisement”) was a

paid 21” x 62” and 46” x 60” transit advertisement containing

the following controversial public health claim linking abor-

tion and breast cancer:

“WOMEN WHO CHOOSE ABORTION SUFFER

MORE & DEADLIER BREAST CANCER. informa-

tion: 1-800-634-2224.”

4

The “800” telephone number given on the Advertisement was

operated by the American Rights Coalition, an organization

which, in response to telephone inquiries concerning the mes-

sage’s public health claim, sent callers information suggesting

they consider bringing medical malpractice actions against

physicians who had provided abortion services.

SEPTA initially posted the Advertisement for approxi-

mately one month at more than twenty-five locations within its

transit stations in the Philadelphia, Pennsylvania area, until it

became aware of a letter authored by the Assistant Secretary

of Health in the United States Department of Health and

Human Services stating that the Advertisement was “unfortu-

nately misleading” and “unduly alarming” and did not “accu-

rately reflect the weight of the scientific literature.” Having

determined, based upon the Assistant Secretary’s letter, that

the Advertisement's public health claim — that there is a link

between induced abortion and breast cancer — was highly

controversial, SEPTA invoked its right, expressly reserved in

its contract with TDI and in TDI’s contract with the adver-

tiser, Christ’s Bride, to remove the Advertisement.

Although SEPTA had accepted advertising that generally

touched upon the issue of abortion, no advertising on either

side of the Advertisement’s particular controversial public

health claim had ever previously been presented or accepted

by SEPTA.

1. Proceedings Below.

A. The District Court.

1. The Complaint.

On May 5, 1996, Christ’s Bride filed a three-count com-

plaint in the United States District Court for the Eastern Dis-

trict of Pennsylvania for declaratory judgment, preliminary

and permanent injunctive relief to require SEPTA to re-post

the Advertisement, and for compensatory damages. Respon-

dent’s complaint alleged violation of respondent's freedom of

speech under the First and Fourteenth Amendments to the

United States Constitution, violation of the right to equal pro-

tection of the laws, and breach of the advertising contract

between TDI ana Christ’s Bride.

2. The Trial.

By agreement of the parties and Order of the district

court, the hearing on Christ's Bride’s application for prelimi-

nary injunction was consolidated with trial on the merits under

Rule 65(a)(2), Fed.R.Civ.P. After a three-day bench trial on

June 25-27, 1996, the district court on August 16, 1996, filed a

Memorandum including its findings of fact and conclusions of

law (reprinted at App. 34a), finding in favor of petitioners,

SEPTA and TDI, and against plaintiff Christ's Bride on all

counts of the complaint.

a. District Court’s Finding of a Non-Public

Forum.

The district court held that the SEPTA station advertising

areas were a “non-public” forum. This determination was

based on uncontradicted evidence that SEPTA reserved and

exercised absolute control over every advertisement posted in

its system to ensure that such advertising remained compatible

with the predominant proprietary, public transit function

served by its transit operations — providing a clean, inexpen-

sive, comfortable and attractive mode of public transportation

in the metropolitan Philadelphia area. Under a SEPTA/TDI

contract dated July 3, 1993 (“the SEPTA/TDI contract”), as

amplified by additional directives from SEPTA managers,

TDI, as SEPTA’s advertising agent, had the responsibility ini-

tially to review each proposed advertisement and to bring to

SEPTA’s attention advertisements that involved any feature

that SEPTA might wish to review. The SEPTA/TDI contract

expressly provided that every advertisement to be placed in

SEPTA’s stations was required to be acceptable to SEPTA

and that SEPTA had the right to “remove” any unsuitable

advertisement:

All advertising displays at any time inserted or

placed by [TDI] in any display devices in any vehicle

and/or locations shall be of an appropriate character and

quality, and the appearance of all displays shall be accept-

able to SEPTA. No libelous, slanderous, or obscene

advertising may be accepted by [TDI] for display in [SEP-

TA’s] transit and railroad vehicles and facilities. All

6

advertising shall be submitted for SEPTA’s review and

approval prior to display. Any advertising determined by

... SEPTA, in its sole discretion, as objectionable within

the meaning of this subsection must not be utilized on any

SEPTA vehicle or facility. SEPTA shall have the right to

immediately remove any advertising material which has

already been applied, in the event that... SEPTA deems

material objectionable for any reason. .. .

q 5(a), App. 20a. Uncontradicted record evidence established

that TDI had likewise specifically reserved the right to cancel

its contract with each would-be advertiser in the event SEPTA

exercised its right to require removal of a proposed advertise-

ment. Thus, the TDI/Christ’s Bride contract stated that, if

SEPTA “should deem the advertising objectionable for any

reason,” TDI shall have the right to cancel the contract.

{ IV(b), App.10a. Uncontradicted evidence established that,

on specific prior occasions, SEPTA had, in fact, invoked this

contractual right and had declined to post proposed advertis-

ing materials it found unsuitable for its transit stations or tran-

sit vehicles. The trial record included evidence of a few of

these instances as examples.

Applying the teachings of Lehman v. City of Shaker

Heights, 418 U.S. 298 (1974), Perry Education Ass’n v. Perry

Local Educators’ Ass’n, 460 U.S. 37 (1983), and Cornelius v.

NAACP Legal Defense & Educ. Fund, Inc., 473 U.S. 788

(1985), to the record, the district court determined that

SEPTA’s transit advertising space was a “non-public” forum.

The trial court found that SEPTA exercised “firm control”

over these areas. App. 40a. Moreover, the trial court found

that SEPTA’s role in reviewing and permitting advertisements

for posing “is not merely perfunctory.” App. 40a. Accordingly,

the trial court held that SEPTA “has not created a public

forum in its subway and train stations.” App. 41a.

b. District Court’s Finding of Reasonableness and

Viewpoint-Neutrality.

The district court also determined that SEPTA’s rejection

of the Christ’s Bride advertisement was a reasonable and

viewpoint-neutral action with regard to what it determined to

be a non-public forum. Respondent presented no evidence at

trial that SEPTA had ever rejected any proposed advertising

ee ee ee eee ee

7

materials based upon the advertisement’s viewpoint on the

abortion debate. In fact, as the district court stated, “SEPTA

has permitted advertising in subway and rail stations on both

sides of the abortion debate.” App. 47a. The district court

stated: “On the issue of abortion SEPTA has been ‘viewpoint

neutral.’” App. 47a.

The district court also determined that SEPTA’s decision

not to continue to display the Advertisement was “reason-

able.” Uncontradicted evidence established that SEPTA made

its decision to remove the Advertisement when it became

aware of a letter authored by the Assistant Secretary of

Health, United States Department of Health and Human Ser-

vices, addressed to the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit

Authority (“the HHS letter”), which stated that the Adver-

tisement’s copy was “misleading” and “unduly alarming” and

did not “accurately reflect the weight of the scientific litera-

ture.” App. 42a. The district court held it was reasonable for

SEPTA to have considered and given weight to the HHS let-

ter in determining that the subject matter was inappropriately

controversial, and therefore unsuitable for display, as a basis

for invoking its right to terminate the contract relating to dis-

play of the Advertisement.

B. The Court of Appeals.

The Court of Appeals rejected the district court’s deter-

mination that SEPTA’s transit advertising spaces constituted a

“non-public” forum, instead determining, notwithstanding the

contractual right to remove and the review procedure estab-

lished, that SEPTA had nonetheless “designated” the advertis-

ing space as an open public forum for expressive activity on

the broad subject of “abortion.” The Court of Appeals held

that SEPTA was therefore without power to screen advertise-

ments unless SEPTA’s actions withstood “strict scrutiny”

under the First Amendment. App. 29a. It rejected the district

court’s determination that SEPTA was reasonable in terminat-

ing the advertising contract. The Court of Appeals did not

reach the issue of viewpoint-neutrality.

The Court of Appeals disregarded SEPTA’s proprietary

(not regulatory) status and the uncontradicted evidence (i)

that SEPTA expressly reserved by contract its right to review

and to reject proposed advertising materials it found objec-

tionable; (ii) that SEPTA and its licensee reviewed every pro-

posed advertisement to determine compatibility for posting in

SEPTA’s transit advertising space; and (iii) that SEPTA had in

fact invoked its contractual right and declined to post unsuit-

able proposed advertising on prior occasions.

Because of the breadth of SEPTA's discretion, the Court

of Appeals gave no weight to SEPTA’s contractual reservation

of rights as evidence of SEPTA’s intent to control access to the

forum. Joining the Courts of Appeals for the First and Sev-

enth Circuits, and contrary to the decisions of the Courts of

Appeals for the Second and Ninth Circuits, the Court of

Appeals for the Third Circuit in this case erroneously con-

fused and conflated the question of “intent” to designate a

public forum with the unrelated question whether specific

guidelines, adopted in advance, constrained SEPTA’s exercise

of discretion to reject proposed advertising. Relying upon an

assortment of concurring and dissenting opinions rather than

majority opinions of this Court, the Court of Appeals rea-

sonec that even the undisputed prior exercise of absolute con-

trol and specific reservation of authority to reject advertising

wa* insufficient to negate an intent to “designate” government

property as a public forum, unless there were also evidence of

“particular standards and goals” (App. 21a):

[T]he fact that SEPTA has reserved for itself the

right to reject ads for any reason at all does not signify, in

and of itself alone, that no public forum has been created

.. . [T]he fact that the government has reserved the right

to control speech without any particular standards or

goals, and without reference to the purpose of the forum,

does not necessarily mean that it has not created a public

forum. If anything, we must scrutinize more closely the

speech that the government bans under such a protean

standard. (emphasis original).

In rejecting as inconclusive the record evidence of SEP-

TA’s intent, the Court of Appeals also discounted and disre-

garded SEPTA’s role as operator of a commercial venture,

exercising its managerial judgment to select advertising consis-

tent with its goal of providing safe, comfortable and pleasant

Ee eee noel

9

public transportation attractive to its patrons. In so reasoning,

the Court of Appeals ignored the teaching of this Court in

Lehman that where the government “is engaged in com-

merce,” attempting to “provide rapid, convenient, pleasant,

and inexpensive service to . . . commuters,” and where the

advertising space is “incidental to the provision of public

transportation,” a “city transit authority has discretion to

develop and make reasonable choices concerning the type of

advertising that may be displayed in its vehicles.” 418 U.S. at

303. The Court of Appeals also discounted this Court's teach-

ing in International Society for Krishna Consciousness, Inc. v.

Lee, 505 U.S. 672, 678 (1992), that “[w]here the government is

acting as a proprietor, managing its internal operations, rather

than acting as lawmaker with the power to regulate and

license, its actions will not be subjected to the heightened

review to which its actions as a lawmaker may be subject.”

The Court of Appeals in this case ultimately gave no effect to

the proprietary factor in its analysis.

In reversing the district court's non-public forum determi-

nation, the Third Circuit panel also overlooked or ignored this

Court’s teaching in Arkansas Educ. Television Comm'n v.

Forbes, 118 S.Ct. 1633 (1998), decided shortly before the Third

Circuit's decision in this case, in which this Court made it clear

that “the government does not create a designated public

forum when it does no more than reserve eligibility for access

to the forum to a particular class of speakers, whose members

must then, as individuals, ‘obtain permission’ to use it.” 118

S.Ct. at 1642 (internal citations omitted). Although petitioners

brought this Court’s decision in Forbes to the Court of

Appeals’ attention as requiring rehearing, rehearing was

denied without opinion. App. 1a.

The Court of Appeals additionally questioned the district

court’s determination that SEPTA had acted “reasonably.” In

Cornelius, this Court said that the “government's decision to

restrict access to a nonpublic forum need only be reasonable;

it need not be the most reasonable or the only reasonable

limitation,” 473 U.S. at 808, a principle recently reaffirmed in

Forbes (finding reasonable the exclusion of a political candi-

date lacking popular support from a televised debate). Never-

10

theless, the Court of Appeals in this case measured the rea-

sonableness of SEPTA’s judgment concerning use of its

property under a more exacting legal standard. Curiously, the

Court of Appeals (App. 33a) faulted SEPTA for not provid-

ing Christ’s Bride an opportunity to rebut the statements in

the HHS letter that the Advertisement was “misleading” and

“unduly alarming” and that it did not “accurately reflect the

weight of the scientific literature”:

Having decided to exclude the posters on [the] basis [that

they were unacceptably misleading], SEPTA did not act

reasonably when it failed to ask CBM to clarify the basis

on which the claim was made.

In determining that SEPTA had acted “unreasonably,”

the Court of Appeals once again faulted SEPTA for failing to

adopt specific guidelines for acceptable advertising, conflating

and confusing this unrelated question with the inquiry into

whether SEPTA “reasonably” excluded the controversial

Advertisement. Thus, the Court below concluded that SEP-

TA’s unreasonableness was “all the more true” where “there

is no policy, old or new, written or unwritten, governing the

display of ads making contested claims.” App. 33a (emphasis

supplied).

Compounding these errors, the Court of Appeals over-

looked or gave no weight to the teaching of Cornelius that

“avoidance of controversy” is by itself a sufficient justification

for exclusion of speech from a non-public forum. 473 U.S. at

811.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT.

I. The Court Should Grant The Writ, Vacate, And Remand

For Further Proceedings In Light Of This Court’s Decision

Last Term In Arkansas Educ. Television Comm’n v.

Forbes, 118 S.Ct. 1633 (1998).

Certiorari should be granted to vacate and remand for

further consideration in light of this Court's decision in Forbes.

Within weeks of the Court of Appeals’ decision of these issues

in this case, this Court in Forbes made it clear that where

access to government property is “selective,” with “permis-

:

ee ee

11

sion” required, there is no demonstrated “intent” to designate

a public forum. Forbes is squarely applicable and irreconcil-

ably inconsistent with the decision below. As this Court stated

in Forbes:

The [ ] cases illustrate the distinction between ‘general

access,’ which indicates the property is a designated pub-

lic forum, and ‘selective access,’ which indicates the prop-

erty is a non-public forum. On one hand, the government

creates a designated public forum when it makes its prop-

erty generally available to a certain class of speakers, as

the university made its facilities generally available to stu-

dents in Widmar [v. Vincent, 454 U.S. 263 (1981)]. On the

other hand, the government does not create a designated

public forum when it does no more than reserve eligibility

for access to the forum to a particular class of speakers,

whose members must then, as individuals, ‘obtain permis-

sion,’ to use it. For instance, the Federal Government did

not create a designated public forum in Cornelius when it

reserved eligibility for participation in the CFC charity

drive to charitable agencies, and then made individual,

non-ministerial judgments as to which of the eligible agen-

cies would participate. 118 S.Ct. at 1642 (emphasis sup-

plied) (internal citations omitted).

Under this standard, SEPTA’s written reservation of the

right to reject inappropriate proposed advertisements conclu-

sively negated any intent to “designate” its transit advertising

network as a public forum. The Court of Appeals erroneously

rejected SEPTA’s contention below, misreading Cornelius and

Perry, overlooking Forbes, and subsequently refusing to

rehear the case in light of Forbes, neither distinguishing, dis-

cussing nor even citing this recent controlling precedent.

SEPTA’s policy of opening its property — not “generally”

— to all willing to pay the requisite fee, but rather “selec-

tively,” i.e., only to those (a) willing to pay the requisite fee,

and (b) who propose advertisements deemed suitable for post-

ing in SEPTA’s transit spaces, is precisely the fact pattern this

Court held in Forbes fails to support a conclusion finding a

public forum: “A designated public forum is not created when

12

the government allows selective access for individual

rather than general access for a class of speakers.” 118 S.Ct. at

1642 (emphasis supplied).

Under the principles reaffirmed in Forbes, the Third Cir-

cuit'’s reasoning is incorrect. This Court should grant the writ,

vacate, and remand to the Court of Appeals for further con-

sideration in light of this Court's recent decision in Forbes,

which is neither cited nor discussed in the Court of Appeals’

Il. The Court Should Grant The Writ To Resolve A Split Of

The Circuits, To Clarify The Principles Applicable In

Determining Government “Intent” To Designate A Pub-

lic Forum, And To Clarify The Significance, If Any, Of

Government's Reservation Of Absolute Authority To

Select Among Messages Based Upon Content.

Uncontradicted record evidence established that SEPTA

had reserved by written contract the right to approve all pro-

posed advertising materials and to reject those deemed objec-

tionable.2 The Court of Appeals failed to give weight to

SEPTA'’s express reservation of rights as evidencing intent not

to designate a public forum, however, in large part because of

the scope of the discretion retained by the transit authority.

Thus, the Court below said (App. 21a):

[T]he fact that the government has reserved the right to

control speech without any particular standards or goals,

and without reference to the purpose of the forum, does

not necessarily mean that it has not created a public

forum.

In fact, in the Court of Appeals’ analysis, a broad reservation

of rights was held to require an even more searching inquiry,

and to call for application of the stricter scrutiny applicable

only to government restriction of speech in a public forum.

Thus, the Court below held: “If anything, we must scrutinize

more closely the speech that the government bans under such

a protean standard.” App. 21a.

2. On this ground, SEPTA examined the color, size, graphics and gen-

eral content (as distinguished from viewpoint) in determining suitability and

compatibility of proposed advertising.

13

The circuits are sharply divided on precisely this question.

The Second and Ninth Circuits, strictly following Perry and

Cornelius, assess evidence regarding government intent to cre-

ate a public forum without regard to the breadth of discretion

retained by government. Lebron v. National Railroad Passen-

ger Corp., 69 F.3d 650 (2d Cir.), amended on denial of rehear-

ing, 89 F.3d 39 (2d Cir. 1995); Planned Parenthood of Southern

Nevada, Inc. v. Clark County School District, 941 F.2d 817 (9th

Cir. 1991) (en banc).

Other circuits, including the Third Circuit in this case and

the First and Seventh Circuits, apply Perry and Cornelius dif-

ferently and refuse to defer to an otherwise demonstrated

absence of intent to designate government property for public

discourse if the government has retained broad discretion in

selecting among messages based on content. Planned Parent-

hood Ass'n of Chicago Area v. Chicago Transit Authority, 767

F.2d 1225 (7th Cir. 1985); Yeo v. Town of Lexington, 1997 WL

292173 (ist Cir.), opinion withdrawn on grant of rehearing en

banc, 131 F.3d 241 (ist Cir. 1997), cert. denied, 118 S.Ct. 2060

(1998).

Alternatively, because of the unresolved confusion on this

important — frequently decisive — legal principle, lower

courts have searched for alternative grounds on which to

decide cases in order to avoid altogether a decision based on

this troublesome issue. Thus, the Court of Appeals for the

First Circuit, noting the “relatively murky status of the public

forum doctrine” in AIDS Action Committee of Massachusetts,

Inc. v. Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority, 42 F.3d 1

(1st Cir. 1994), deliberately avoided deciding whether a transit

advertising space was a public forum, and instead rested its

decision upon an expanded notion of viewpoint discrimina-

tion. It held that the transit authority's rejection of a public

service advertisement about AIDS that employed sexual innu-

endo and double entendre gave rise to an impermissible

“appearance” of “viewpoint discrimination,” because the tran-

sit authority had previously allowed a commercial movie

advertisement that also employed sexual innuendo and double

entendre.

14

At least three circuits have specifically commented on

“muddied,” or “murky” status of the public forum doctrine

and have noted the need for definitive guidance from this

Court. See, e.g., AIDS Action Committee, 42 F.3d at 9 (noting

“murky status of the public forum doctrine”); Jacobsen v.

United States Postal Service, 993 F.2d 649, 655 n.2 (9th Cir.

1992) (noting public forum jurisprudence now “quite mud-

died”); Fighting Finest, Inc. v. Bratton, 95 F.3d 224, 229 (2d Cir.

1996) (Supreme Court has sent somewhat “mixed signals” as

to public forum criteria).

The current confusion regarding the principles governing

the determination whether a “public forum” has been desig-

nated in transit authority and government advertising space

cases, such as this one, presents perhaps the clearest example

of circuit conflict in this field of First Amendment litigation.

See S. Gey, “Reopening the Public Forum- From Sidewalks to

Cyberspace,” 58 Ohio St. L. J..1535, 1554 (1998) (post-Perry

public forum doctrine among the “most fractured area in mod-

ern constitutional law,” and examining cases dealing with gov-

ernment “in its role as proprietor of advertising space”); Note:

A Procedural Approach to Limited Public Forum Cases, 22

Fordham Urb. L. J. 1255, 1274 (Summer, 1995) (discussed

under heading “Lower Court Confusion: The Subway”). These

public forum cases have yielded inconsistent, doctrinally irrec-

oncilable results, and exhibit all the symptoms of circuit con-

fusion: fractured panel decisions, frequent amended opinions,

vacate orders, and withdrawal orders upon rehearing en banc

and rehearing. Definitive guidance is needed at this time on

this important, frequently recurring issue of First Amendment

litigation.

For example, the Second Circuit in Lebron v. National

Railroad Passenger Corp., 69 F.3d 650 (2d Cir.), amended on

denial of rehearing, 89 F.3d 39 (2d Cir. 1995), dealt with an

issue of denial of access to transit advertising space similar to

the issue here and reached a contrary result. The question

presented was whether the “Spectacular” billboard in New

York’s Pennsylvania Station was a public or non-public forum.

Amtrak, as proprietor of advertising space at the station, had

provided in its written advertising agreement with TDI (TDI,

15

SEPTA’s licensee, is also a petitioner in this case) that all

advertising materials “shall be subject to approval by Amtrak,”

and that Amtrak “may disapprove any such items at its own

discretion.” 69 F.3d at 653. The terms of the Amtrak/TDI con-

tract closely parallel those of the SEPTA/TDI contract

involved in this case. Correctly restating the test this Court

articulated in Cornelius and Perry, the Second Circuit stated

that “where only some First Amendment access has been

granted, the reasonableness test” applies because there has

been no purposeful dedication of a public forum. 69 F.3d at

656. The Court accordingly held that the billboard is a non-

public forum. The Second Circuit’s decision in Lebron cannot

be reconciled with the Third Circuit’s decision in this case.

The Ninth Circuit’s en banc decision in Planned Parent-

hood of Southern Nevada, Inc. v. Clark County School District,

941 F2d 817 (9th Cir. 1991), reads Perry and Cornelius in a

similar way. Student publications, including high school news-

papers, yearbooks, and athletic programs, had reserved the

right to reject controversial advertising materials. The major-

ity said that it “must assume that school-sponsored publica-

tions are nonpublic and that unless the schools affirmatively

intend to open a forum for indiscriminate use,” no public

forum had been designated. 941 F.2d at 819. Consistent with

the principle the Second Circuit applied in Lebron, and find-

ing the publications’ intent “most clearly evidenced by written

policies that explicitly reserve the right to control content,” the

Ninth Circuit majority opinion in Planned Parenthood deter-

mined that, although Planned Parenthood may have been the

first, or only, excluded advertiser, the schools did not grant

permission to advertise “as a matter of course,” and there was

“nothing in Perry or Cornelius to support a conclusion that

3. Lebron was a fractured panel decision. Dissenting, in terms reminis-

cent of the panel's decision in this case, Judge Newman stated the “vice” of

“unfettered discretion” “inheres in the opportunity for discrimination, and

the First Amendment requires that opportunity to be held to an acceptable

minimum by a clear and well understood policy that appropriately limits the

discretion of the officials who must administer it.” 69 F.3d at 662.

16

allowing some outside organizations to advertise converts the

school-sponsored publications into public forums.” 941 F.2d at

826.

Further demonstrating the instability of precedent in this

area, Planned Parenthood was also a sharply divided en banc

decision. The four-judge dissent expressly criticized the notion

—rejected by the Third Circuit panel in this case — that “so

long as Officials reserve for themselves broad discretion to

control content, then they will be deemed to have ‘intended’

to create a nonpublic forum[.]” 941 F.2d at 836. The same

theme echoes the words of Judge Newman, dissenting in Leb-

ron, and Mr. Justice Stevens (joined by Justices Souter and

Ginsburg), dissenting last term in Forbes, 118 S.Ct. at 1644,

1647 (“In its discussion of the facts, the Court barely mentions

the standardless character of the decision to exclude Forbes

from the debate. . . . [A] state’s failure to set any meaningful

boundaries at all cannot insulate the State’s action from First

Amendment challenge”).

In sharp contrast with the Ninth Circui. Planned Parent-

hood decision, the Seventh and First Circuits — and now the

Third Circuit in this case — reject a reading of Perry and Cor-

nelius that would find a forum non-public if broad discretion

to keep objectionable messages out of the forum is retained by

government. Thus, in this case, the Third Circuit expressly

agreed with the Seventh Circuit’s analysis in Planned Parent-

hood Ass’n of Chicago Area v. Chicago Transit Authority, 767

F.2d 1225 (7th Cir. 1985) (“Planned Parenthood (Chicago)”).

Like SEPTA, the Chicago Transit Authority contractually

reserved its right to reject proposed advertising. Nonetheless,

the Seventh Circuit found the transit authority display areas to

have been designated as a “public forum,” basing its reason-

ing, once again, on expressed dissatisfaction with the fact that

the transit authority evidenced “no policy at all” for advertise-

ment rejection. 767 F.2d at 1233. Thus, the strict scrutiny stan-

dard applicable only to a public forum was smuggled into the

analysis for determining whether the forum was a public

forum or a non-public forum. :

The First Circuit, in a recent divided panel decision, also

rejected the deferential interpretation of Perry and Cornelius

17

and sided with the Third and Seventh Circuits on precisely this

issue. In Yeo v. Town of Lexington, 1997 WL 292173 (1st Cir.),

opinion withdrawn on grant of rehearing en banc, 131 F.3d 241

(1st Cir. 1997), cert. denied, 118 S.Ct. 2060 (1998), advertise-

ments urging abstinence were rejected for publication by a

student newspaper and yearbook. Both student publications

maintained the policy that all ads are subject to final approval

by the editorial boards. The First Circuit majority squarely

rejected the Ninth Circuit’s Planned Parenthood decision. The

Court read this Court’s decision in Perry as not holding that

government can argue that it “only intended to open the

forum to messages that [it] alone were to deem appropriate

and acceptable.” 1997 WL at * 11. The dissent (Lynch, J.) dis-

agreed, stating, “The record here indicates that the students’

very strong intent was to avoid creating a public forum, or a

‘bulletin board’ as they termed it, on the [newspaper's] adver-

tising pages.” 1997 WL at *31.

The decisions of the First, Third and Seventh Circuits in

Yeo, Christ's Bride and Planned Parenthood (Chicago), respec-

tively, squarely conflict with the decisions of the Second and

Ninth Circuits in Lebron and Planned Parenthood that make

government intent the touchstone of the designated public

forum inquiry. The question of the role played in the forum

analysis of the government’s retention of broad discretion to

select among messages based upon content has divided the

circuits and has led to continuing, logically inconsistent results

in application of the public forum doctrine.

Certiorari should be granted to resolve this conflict

among the circuits on an important, frequently recurring issue

of First Amendment jurisprudence, the principles applicable

to ascertaining government intent with respect to its property.

Ill. The Court Should Grant The Writ To Clarify The

Weight To Be Accorded Government's Proprietary Sta-

tus In Determining Intent To Create A Public Forum, A

Question On Which The Circuits Are Divided.

The district court accepted SEPTA’s contention that an

important factor in the public forum “intent” inquiry is the

fact that SEPTA’s actions were those of the government as

18

proprietor of a commercial venture, not the government as

regulator of speech or expressive activity, and the incompat-

ibility of a public forum with the dominant function or use of

the property the government supervises in its proprietary role.

Here, the Court of Appeals rejected the notion of a

“bright-line” rule in cases where the government is running a

commercial operation (App. 18a), and found no occasion fur-

ther to consider the importance of the proprietary nature of

the transit venture. Accordingly, it failed to accord it any

weight whatsoever in its analysis of SEPTA’s intent.

In so holding, the Court of Appeals ignored the teaching

of International Society for Krishna Consciousness, Inc v. Lee,

505 U.S. 672 (1992) (Rehnquist, C.J.), that where the govern-

ment acts as proprietor, “strict scrutiny” is not the applicable

standard of First Amendment review:

Where the government is acting as a proprietor, managing

its internal operations, rather than acting as lawmaker

with the power to regulate or license, its action will not be

subjected to the heightened review to which its actions as a

lawmaker may be subject. 505 U.S. at 678 (emphasis sup-

plied).

Similar statements appear in plurality decisions in United

States v. Kokinda, 497 U.S. 720, 725 (1990) (O’Connor, J.) (“It

is a long-settled principle that governmental actions are sub-

ject to a lower level of First Amendment scrutiny when ‘the

governmental function operating. . . [is] not the power to regu-

late or license, as lawmaker, . . . but rather, as proprietor, to

manage [its] internal operation[s]. . .”)(quoting Cafeteria &

Restaurant Workers v. McElory, 367 U.S. 886, 896 (1961)), and

Lehman v. City of Shaker Heights, 418 U.S. 299 (1974) (Black-

mun, J.) (“Here, we have no open spaces, no meeting hall,

park, street corner, or other public thoroughfare. Instead, the

city is engaged in commerce. It must provide rapid, conve-

nient, pleasant, and inexpensive service to the commuters of

Shaker Heights. The car card space, although incidental to the

provision of public transportation, is a part of the commercial

venture. . . a city transit system has discretion to develop and

make reasonable choices concerning the type of advertising

that may be displayed in its vehicles”).

19

In spite of this Court’s sharp distinction between the gov-

ernment as proprietor and the government as regulator of

speech in defining the applicable level of judicial review, the

Court of Appeals in this case selected “heightened” scrutiny

as the applicable standard of review.

The courts of appeals in mass transit advertising cases

have sharply divided on this very issue, involving the signifi-

cance of the fact that government is acting as proprietor of a

commercial venture in deciding the public forum “intent”

issue. The Third Circuit gave no effect at all to SEPTA’s pro-

prietor status. Likewise, in a recent decision, the Second Cir-

cuit Court of Appeals in New York Magazine v. The Metro-

politan Transportation Authority, 136 F.3d 123 (2d Cir.), cert.

denied, 66 U.S.L.W. 3801 (1998), gave no effect to the propri-

etary nature of the transit venture. In that case, the advertis- _

ing standard at issue was an advertising standard that barred

display of the proposed advertisement as violative of New

York law (regarding invasion of the right of privacy and pub-

licity). The Court attempted to distinguish this Court’s land-

mark public transit advertising decision in Lehman, reasoning

that there was “no commercial reason” why MTA, although a

proprietor of the advertising space, would have any special

interest in the policy behind New York privacy and publicity

law that formed the basis for its rejection of the advertisement

at issue. 136 F.3d at 130.4

Yet a third conflicting approach is reflected in the Seventh

Circuit’s decision in Air Line Pilots Ass’n v. Department of

Aviation of the City of Chicago, 45 F.3d 1144 (7th Cir. 1995),

which involved the exclusion, on content grounds, of a pro-

posed advertisement from a diorama display case in Chicago’s

O’Hare Airport. The Seventh Circuit stated that a “propri-

etary role is one factor to be considered in determining

4. By contrast, and once again illustrating the confusion that permeates

the public forum decisions on this point, the Second Circuit panel in its ear-

lier decision in Lebron gave dispositive weight to the fact that Amtrak's

challenged actions were in its capacity as proprietor of commercial advertis-

ing space. Citing Lehman and quoting Lee, the Second Circuit panel in Leb-

ron found it “especially significant” that “Amtrak acts in this case in a pro-

prietary capacity, rather than as a governmental regulator.” 69 F.3d at 657.

20

whether a public forum was intended.” 45 F.3d at 1158. That

Court found more important in determining the City’s intent

the evidence of “consistent practice and past policy,” an

inquiry the district court was directed to make on remand. 45

F.3d at 1158.

Despite this Court’s decisions in Lee, Kokinda, and Leh-

man, the circuits remain divided on the significance, if any, to

be accorded to the government's role as proprietor of adver-

tising spaces in conducting the inquiry to determine whether

the government intended to designate a public forum.

Legal commentators agree that definitive guidance from

this Court is required to settle the “chaotic” confusion in the

lower courts in this important area of recurring First Amend-

ment litigation. See generally, “Comment: Public Forum Doc-

trine Crashes at Kennedy Airport, Injuring Nine: Interna-

tional Society for Krishna Consciousness, Inc. v. Lee,” 59

Brooklyn L.Rev. 1271 (Fall, 1993) (after Lee, “public forum

doctrine in a state of chaos,” and it is “virtually impossible for

a government or lower court to determine what principles now

govern speech restrictions on government property”); “Com-

ment: ‘Objective’ Approaches to the Public Forum Doctrine:

The First Amendment at the Mercy of Architectural Chica-

nery,” 90 N.W.U. L. Rev. 1185 (1996) (noting pre-Lee “confu-

sion among lower courts attempting to discern reliable guiding

principles from the Court’s public forum decisions”).

The Court should grant the petition for a writ of certio-

rari to resolve the circuit conflict and to clarify the First

Amendment principles applicable in the public forum analysis

where the government acts in a proprietary role, an issue

squarely presented by the Third Circuit's erroneous rejection

of this factor in this case.

IV. The Court Should Grant The Writ Because The Decision

Below Is Inconsistent With This Court’s Decisions In

Cornelius v. NAACP Legal Defense & Educ. Fund, Inc.

And Forbes, With Respect To The Standard Of Reason-

ableness Applicable In Non-Public Forums.

The Court of Appeals in this case disagreed with the dis-

trict court in determining that in declining to continue to post

21

the Advertisement, SEPTA and TDI acted “unreasonably”

and offended First Amendment principles, even in a non-

public forum. The crux of its disagreement is the proposition

that SEPTA was “unreasonable” in failing to afford Christ’s

Bride some additional opportunity to support the accuracy of

the claim it made in its posters concerning the alleged link

between abortion and breast cancer, which had been ques-

tioned by other informed and presumably expert public health

officials as “unfortunately misleading” and “unduly alarming,”

and “not accurately reflect[ing] the weight of the scientific lit-

erature.”

This aspect of the Third Circuit panel decision is clearly

inconsistent with this Court’s decisions in Cornelius, 478 U.S.

at 811, and Forbes, 118 S.Ct. at 1643-44, which (1) define a far

more deferential standard with respect to the issue of “reason-

ableness,” and (2) expressly hold that “avoidance of contro-

versy” is a constitutionally permissible basis upon which the

government may restrict access to a nonpublic forum.

The writ should be granted in this case because this

aspect of the Court oi Appeals’ decision squarely conflicts

with this Court’s precedents defining the applicable standard

of reasonableness, and determining that “avoidance of contro-

versy” incompatible with the proprietary use of government-

owned property provides a reasonable basis for government

action, as long as the government's action remains viewpoint-

neutral.

22

CONCLUSION.

The petition for certiorari should be granted.

OF COUNSEL:

C. NEIL PETERSEN

Southeastern Pennsylvania

Transportation Authority

1234 Market Street

Philadelphia, PA 19107

TINA KOWALSKY HAUT

275 Madison Avenue

New York, NY 10016

Respectfully submitted,

WILLIAM H. ROBERTS

Counsel of Record

JORDANA COOPER

DANIEL H. WHEELER

BLANK ROME COMISKY &

MCCAULEY LLP

KAIRYS & RUDOVSKY

APPENDIX

la

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 96-1829

CHRIST’S BRIDE MINSTRIES, INC.,

Appellant.

v.

SOUTHEASTERN PENNSYLVANIA TRANSPORTATION

AUTHORITY; TRANSPORTATION DISPLAY’S INC.

On Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania

(D.C. Civil Action No. 96-cv-03631)

Argued May 21, 1997

Before: SLOVITER, STAPLETON, GREENBERG,

SCIRICA, COWEN, NYGAARD, ALITO, ROTH,

MCKEE, RENDELL, and WEIS!,

Circuit Judges

ORDER

The petition for rehearing in banc filed by appellees in

the above-entitled case having been submitted to the judges

who participated in the decision of this court and all judges

who concurred in the decision having asked for rehearing, and

a majority of the circuit judges of the circuit in regular active

* Honorable Joseph F. Weis’s, Senior Circuit Court Judge, vote is lim-

ited to panel rehearing only.

2a

service not having voted for rehearing by the court in banc,

the petition for rehearing is denied.

By the Court,

Dated: JUL 23, 1998 Sir.

, Circuit Judge

3a

UNITED STATIES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 96-1829

CHRIST’S BRIDE MINISTRIES, INC.,

Appellant.

v.

SOUTHEASTERN PENNSYLVANIA TRANSPORTATION

AUTHORITY; TRANSPORTATION DISPLAY’S INC.

On Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania

(D.C. Civil Action No. 96-cv-03631)

Argued May 21, 1997

Before: SLOVITER, STAPLETON, GREENBERG,

SCIRICA, COWEN, NYGAARD, ALITO, ROTH,

MCKEE, RENDELL, and WEIS", Circuit Judges

AMENDED ORDER

The petition for rehearing in banc filed by appellees in

the above-entitled case having been submitted to the judges

who participated in the decision of this court and to all other

available judges of the circuit in regular active service, and no

judge who concurred in the decision having asked for rehear-

ing, and a majority of the circuit judges of the circuit in regu-

* Honorable Joseph F. Weis’, Senior Circuit Court Judge, vote is lim-

ited to panel rehearing only.

4a

lar active service not having voted for rehearing by the court

in banc, the petition for rehearing is denied.

By the Court,

Sent 2d.

&. Circuit Judge

Sa

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 96-1829

CHRIST’S BRIDE MINISTRIES, INC.,

Appellant.

v.

SOUTHEASTERN PENNSYLVANIA TRANSPORTATION

AUTHORITY; TRANSPORTATION DISPLAY’S INC.

On Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania

(D.C. Civil Action No. 96-cv-0363 1)

Argued May 21, 1997

Present: Greenberg, Roth and Weis, Circuit Judges

JUDGMENT

This cause came on to be heard on the record from the

United States District Court for the Eastern District of Penn-

sylvania and was argued by counsel on May 21, 1997.

On consideration whereof, it is now here ordered and

adjudged by this Court that the judgment of the said District

Court entered August 16, 1996, be, and the same is hereby

reversed and the cause is remanded to the District Court for

further proceedings consistent with this opinion. Costs taxed

6a

against appellees. All of the above in accordance with the

opinion of this Court.

ATTEST:

@ Gf

Chief Deputy Clerk

Dated: June 25, 1998

7a

Filed June 25, 1998

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 96-1829

CHRIST'S BRIDE MINISTRIES, INC.,

Appellant

V.

SOUTHEASTERN PENNSYLVANIA TRANSPORTATION

AUTHORITY; TRANSPORTATION DISPLAY’S INC.

On Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania

(D.C. Civil Action No. 96-cv-03631)

Argued May 21, 1997

Before: GREENBERG, ROTH and WEIS, Circuit Judges

(Opinion Filed June 25, 1998)

Mathew D. Staver, Esq.

Frederick H. Nelson, Esq. (Argued)

Nicole Arfaras Kerr, Esq. _

Liberty Counsel

1900 Summit Tower Boulevard

Suite 560

Orlando, FL 32810

James T. Owens, Esq.

25 South Church Street

Westchester, PA 19382-3220

Attorneys for Appellant

8a

William H. Roberts, Esq. (Argued)

Jordana Cooper, Esq.

Daniel H. Wheeler, Esq.

Blank, Rome, Comisky & McCauley

1200 Four Penn Center Plaza

Philadelphia, PA 19103

Seth Kreimer, Esq.

3400 Chestnut Street

Philadelphia, PA 19104

David Rudovsky, Esq.

Kairys & Rudovsky

924 Cherry Street

Fifth Floor

Philadelphia, PA 19107

Attorneys for Appellees

Tina Kowalsky Haut, Esq.

275 Madison Avenue

New York, NY 10016

Attorney for Appellee

Transportation Display’s Inc.

C. Neil Peterson, Esq.

1234 Market Street

Philadelphia, PA 19107

Attorney for Appellee Southeastern

Pennsylvania Transportation

Authority

OPINION OF THE COURT

ROTH, Circuit Judge:

Southeastern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority

(SEPTA) refused to display an advertisement stating that

“Women Who Choose Abortion Suffer More & Deadlier

Breast Cancer.” We must decide in this appeal whether, in

doing so, SEPTA, a regional transportation authority,

violated the First Amendment rights of the advertiser,

Christ’s Bride Ministries, Inc. (CBM). The district court

found, after conducting a bench trial, that the First

Amendment was not violated because the advertising space

at issue did not constitute a public forum and because

SEPTA acted reasonably in removing the posters. We do-not

agree with either conclusion. In light of the other

advertisements, including those relating to abortion, which

SEPTA had previously permitted to run on its property, and

in light of SEPTA’s own purposes in using and leasing the

space, we have determined that SEPTA intended to create

a designated public forum. We find that SEPTA’s action in

removing the posters does not survive the strict scrutiny

applied to speech within the parameters of a designated

public forum; nor does it pass the reasonableness test

applied where property of a governmental agency has not

been designated a public forum.

I. Background

SEPTA is an “agency and instrumentality” of the

Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, 74 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann.

§ 1502. It operates buses, subways, and regional rail lines

in and around the City of Philadelphia. SEPTA contracts

with a licensee, Transportation Display’s Inc. (TDI), for the

construction and sale of advertising space in its stations

and in and on its vehicles. TDI and SEPTA are the

defendants in this case.

The plaintiff, CBM, began a public service campaign in

1995 to inform the public of what it believes to be the

increased risk of breast cancer for women who have had

abortions. As part of this campaign, CBM sought to display

posters in train and subway stations and on buses and at

bus stops in major urban areas, including Baltimore,

Washington, and Philadelphia.

CBM contacted SEPTA in late November 1995 about

placing posters in the Philadelphia area transit system.

SEPTA referred CBM to TDI. Bradley Thomas, president of

CBM, subsequently spoke with Robert R. Meara. Vice

President and Regional Manager at TDI. In December 1995,

Thomas sent a draft poster to TDI for review by Meara and

SEPTA. The poster stated “Women Who Choose Abortion

Suffer More & Deadlier Breast Cancer.” The district court

described the poster as “graphically designed with bold

10a

white lettering on a background of black and bright red,

except that the word ‘deadlier’ was written in red.” The

poster also included a 1-800 number for information which

connected callers not with CBM but with an organization

called the American Rights Coalition (ARC).

SEPTA requested that the poster better identify the

sponsor, CBM CBM complied and added a description of

CBM: “Christ's Bride Ministries, Inc. is a charitable,

religious, cducational, non-profit 501{(c)(3) organization

CBM, P.O Box 22 Merrifield, VA 22116. (703) 598-2226.”

SEPTA then approved the posters for display.

On January 15, 1996, the posters went up. TDI put two

of them next to overhead clocks in Suburban Station in

Philadelphia, and 24 others in subway and railroad stations

in Philadelphia and its suburbs. SEPTA immediately began

receiving what it described as “numerous” complaints about

the poster, which included “rider protest” and “criticism” by

“women’s health organizations” and “local government

officials.” Shortly thereafter, Robert Meara told CBM that

SEPTA wanted CBM to identify itself more prominently on

the posters CBM accordingly added decals to the signs that

identified and described CBM with larger and bolder type

After the posters were installed, TDI faxed to CBM a

contract, which Thomas signed and returned to TDI, also

via fax The contract was signed by Robert Meara of TDI

and dated January 22, 1996. The contract provided that

46” x 60” posters would be displayed at 24 locations in rail

stations for one year. The contract also stated that during

that year two 21” x 62” signs would be displayed on clocks

at Suburban Station. The monthly charge for the signs on

the clocks was $642 60, while the monthly charge for the

24 other posters was $2400. There were “terms and

conditions” on the back of the contract, including one that

stated “if the Transportation Facility concerned shovid

deem such advertising objectionable for any reason, 7DI

shall have the right to terminate the contract and

discontinue the service without notice.”

In early February, SEPTA received a copy of a letter

written by Dr. Philip Lee, Assistant Secretary of Health in

the United States Department of Health and Human

4

>

Be

>

§

$

7,

lla

Services. The letter was not addressed to anyone in SEPTA,

but instead to Lawrence Reuter, General Manager of the

Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority, where

CBM's posters were also displayed. Dr. Lee wrote to Reuter

that

It has recently come to my attention that the Metro

Transit System has posted more than 1,100 free public

service ads from the Christ’s Bride Ministries. The ad

states: “Women who choose abortion suffer more &

deadlier breast cancer. Information: 1-800-634-2224.”

This ad is unfortunately misleading, unduly alarming,

and does not accurately reflect the weight of the

scientific literature.

Dr. Lee went on to state that in his opinion the studies

showing a link between breast cancer and abortion suffered

from methodological weaknesses, that there was no

consensus on the purported relationship between breast

cancer and abortion, and that Dr. Lee knew of no evidence

supporting the claim that abortion causes “deadlier” breast

cancer. Dr. Lee also complained that callers to the 1-800

number were referred to an article in the Journal of the

National Cancer Institute, describing a study that suggested

a positive correlation between induced abortions and breast

cancer. Dr. Lee noted that although the article did appear

in the Journal, the Journal also published an editorial

stating that the results were not “conclusive.” Finally, Dr.

Lee expressed concern that callers to the 1-800 number

were being asked to participate in a survey and that callers

could become confused and think that the National Cancer

Institute supported the survey, which it did not.

Based on Dr. Lee’s letter, SEPTA removed the posters on

February 16, 1996. According to the testimony of Mr.

Gambaccini, SEPTA’s General Manager, the “heart” of the

decision to remove them was the questions about their

accuracy. The 1-800 number concerns were an “anci 4

consideration. It is uncontested that no one at SEPTA or

TDI conducted any other inquiry into the accuracy of the

message on the poster, or contacted CBM for information

that would support the claim made by the ad, o~ informed

CBM of SEPTA’s objections to the ad before removing the

posters. :

12a

On March 13, 1996, nearly a month later, Meara of TDI

wrote to Thomas of CBM, explaining that the posters had

been removed on February 16. Meara stated in his letter

that the decision had been made by SEPTA as a result of “a

letter from the U.S. Department of Health and Human

Services in which it concluded that the ad was

‘unfortunately misleading, unduly alarming and does not

accurately reflect the weight of the scientific literature’.” TDI

included a check to CBM for $3,042.60 for the “unused

portion” of the contract. CBM had paid a total of $6,086 for

two months of advertising.

CBM filed suit on May 10, 1996, naming SEPTA and TDI

as defendants. The complaint alleged violations »f CBM’s

rights under the First and Fourteenth Amendments and

also alleged breach of contract. CBM sought compensatory

damages and declaratory and injunctive relief pursuant to

42 U.S.C. §§ 1983, 1985{c) and 1986.’ The United States

District Court for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania

conducted a three-day bench trial in June 1996. The court

heard testimony about SEPTA’s and TDI's policies and

practices regarding advertising space on SEPTA property,

as well as testimony from experts about the alleged link

between breast cancer and induced abortions.

During the trial, three experts testified that the existing

studies and research do not support the existence of a

cause and effect relationship between abortion and breast

cancer. These experts did, however, acknowledge that some

studies show a weak “association” between induced

abortions and breast cancer. One of SEPTA’s experts

1.CBM has not appealed the district court's rejections of its claims

under 42 U.S.C. §§ 1985 and 1986. CBM has, however, objected to the

district court's denial of its breach of contract claim. It argues that it

only received one page of the two page contract and that there was no

“meeting of the minds” as to the terms of the contract between it and

TDI. The complaint does not make this allegation, however. CBM also

attached both pages of the contract to the complaint and relied on

language from the allegedly missing second page in the complaint itself.

CBM also argues that the contract is “unconscionable,” although the

complaint makes no such allegations. We reject these claims as being

without merit.

13a

testified that the better studies have not been consistent

and that some studies show no link at all.

CBM's expert, on the other hand, testified that he had

analyzed 23 epidemiological studies, 12 of which, in his

opinion, showed a statistically significant increase in breast

cancer among women who had undergone induced

abortions. He argued that this risk could not be accounted

for by the presence of other variables, such as age or

family. The increased risk, CBM's expert noted, was greater

than the relative risk associated with oral contraceptives.

Because manufacturers of contraceptives alert the public as

to the possible link between their product and breast

cancer, it should not be “unduly alarming” for CBM to

report a slightly greater risk purportedly associated with

induced abortions.

The district court issued an opinion on August 16, 1996,

holding for the defendants on all counts. The court

reasoned that public transit stations do not constitute

traditional public fora and that SEPTA and TDI had not

created a public forum because they maintained control

over the use of the advertising space. The court also found

that Dr. Lee’s letter was a “reasonable” basis on which to

remove the advertisement. The court commented that

“ultimately a consensus may develop” as to the link

between breast cancer and abortion but “at this time we do

not know.” The court did not decide whether either SEPTA’s

or CBM's experts were “right.”

CBM timely appealed to this Court. We have jurisdiction

under 28 U.S.C. § 1291.

Il. Standard of Review

In evaluating the claim that CBM’s First Amendment

rights have been violated, we have a “constitutional duty to

conduct an independent examination of the record as a

whole, without deference to the trial court.” Hurley v. Irish-

American Gay Group of Boston, 115 S.Ct. 2338, 2344

(1995). This independent duty does not extend to the

district court's rulings on matters of credibility, to which we

continue to defer, id. (citing Harte-Hanks Communications,

Inc. v. Connaughton, 491 U.S. 657, 688 (1989)), but it does

require us draw our own inferences from the factual

14a

evidence presented. United States v. Antar, 38 F.3d 1348,

1357 (3d Cir. 1994); Swineford v. Snyder Co. Pa., 15 F.3d

1258, 1165 (3d Cir. 1994).

Ill. State Action and Commercial Speech

Turning to the substantive issues, we readily dispose of

two initial matters. First, the United States Constitution

guarantees freedom of expression only against infringement

by the state, not by private actors. Hurley v. Irish-American

Gay Group of Boston, 115 S.Ct. 2338, 2344 (1995). In this

case, however, the parties agree that SEPTA is a state

actor, as is its licensee, TDI, and that their actions are

constrained by the First and Fourteenth Amendments.

Second, the posters come within the ambit of speech fully

protected by the First Amendment. The defendants argue

that because callers to the 1-800 number listed on the

poster may receive information advertising the services of

medical malpractice attorneys, CBM’s message is thereby

transformed into “commercial speech,” and should receive

substantially less constitutional protection. See Bolger v.

Youngs Drug Prods. Corp., 463 U.S. 60, 66-67 (1983). But

the speech at issue does not advertise goods or services,

nor does it refer to a specific product or service. The 1-800

number listed on the poster does not even connect callers

to CBM. Any economic motive of CBM for posting the

advertisement is very attenuated at best. See US.

Healthcare v. Blue Cross of Gr. Philadelphia, 898 F.2d 914,

932-933 (3d Cir. 1990). The speech involved is accordingly

not “commercial,” at least in the sense that it is afforded

less protection under the First Amendment.

IV. Public Forum

The government may, as a general rule, limit speech that

takes place on its own property without running afoul of

the First Amendment. Lamb’s Chapel v. Center Moriches

Union Free School Dist., 508 U.S. 384, 390 (1993); Perry

Educ. Ass’n. v. Perry Local Educators’ Ass’n, 460 U.S. 37,

46 (1983). Where, however, the property in question bos

either a traditional public forum or a forum

public by the government, the government's ability to timit

speech is impinged upon by the First Amendment. Perry.

460 U.S. at 45-46. In either a traditional or a designated

15a

public forum, the government's content-based restrictions

on private speech must survive strict Scrutiny to pass

constitutional muster. Id.; International Society for Krishna

Consciousness, Inc. v. Lee, 505 U.S. 672, 678 (1992). The

government has, however, a far broader license to curtail

speech if the forum has not been opened to the type of

expression in question. In such a case, the government's

restrictions need only be viewpoint neutral and “reasonable

in light of the purpose served by the forum.” Rosenberger v.

Rector and Visitors of the Univ. of Va, 115 S.Ct. 2510,

2516-2517 (1995) . (quoting Cormelius v. NAACP Legal

Defense and Educ. Fund, Inc., 473 U.S. 788, 806 (1985)):

Kreimer v. Bureau of Police for the Town of Morristown, 958

F.2d 1242, 1262 (3d Cir. 1992).

In order to decide whether a public forum is involved

here, we must first determine the nature of the property

and the extent of its use for speech. The Supreme Court

wrestled with a similar question in Comelius v. NAACP

excluded-from a charity drive among federal employees. The

government argued in Comelius that the “federal

workplace” was the relevant forum. The plaintiffs on the

other hand maintained that the forum consisted only of the

charity drive itself. Id. at 800. The Court defined the forum

in terms of the access sought by the plaintiff. It accordingly

rejected the view that the entire workplace was the proper

forum, because the plaintiffs sought only to join the charity

drive, not to engage in actual, face-to-face solicitation in the

_workplace. Id. at 801. The Court went on to conclude that

the charity drive itself did not constitute a public forum

and that the restrictions on participation were reasonable.

In this case, the district court variously defined the forum

at issue as “the siations in a public transit system,” a

“public transportation system,” and “SEPTA’s subway and

the rail and subway stations as a whole. Instead, it sought

access only to the advertising space leased out by SEPTA,

through TDI. The contract between the parties

16a

next to the clécks at Subarbah Senior iif Pavtaatafiars we’

conclude, therefore, that the forum at issue is SEPTA's

advertising space. See, Airline Pilots Assoc. v. of

Aviation of the City of Chicago, 45 F.3d 1144, 1151 (7th Cir.

1995) (holding that display diorama in airport, not entire

concourse, constituted relevant forum); Lebron v. Nat'L R.R.

Corp., 69 F.3d 650, 655-656 (holding that one

billboard was the relevant forum, not the entire Penn

Station); New York Magazine v. Metropolitan Transp. Auth.,

136 F.3d 123, 130 (2d Cir. 1998) (holding that because

MTA allowed both commercial and political speech, the

outside of MTA buses is a designated public forum).”

Our next step is to decide whether SEPTA’s advertising

space is a public forum. It clearly does not constitute a

“traditional” public forum, archetypal examples of which

include streets and parks. These areas have been “held in

the public trust,” Lee, 505 U.S. at 680, and dedicated to

expressive activity for “time out of mind.” Id. (quoting

Hauge Committee for Industrial Organization, 307 U.S. 496,

515 (1939)). We agree with the district court that the

advertising space in the stations is not a traditional public

forum. We do not understand CBM to argue otherwise.

More difficult is the question whether SEPTA has created

: designated public forum by “expressly” dedicating its

space to “speech activity.” U.S. v. Kokinda, 497

U. S. 720, 726-727 (1990) (plurality opinion). A designated

2. The parties have not argued that the relevant forum is actually just

advertising space in the stations, to the exclusion of space leased on and

inside SEPTA vehicles. Because SEPTA stated that it used different

standards in evaluating advertisements that appeared as wrap-around

bus ads, one could conclude that these types of ads are a separate

forum. See Lebron, 69 F.3d at 655 (one billboard, not all of the billboards

in Penn Station, constituted the relevant forum because the billboard

was unique and the speaker sought access only to that specific

billboard), but see Lebron, 69 F.3d at 661 (Newman, C.J. dissenting)

{arguing that “public forum analysis cannot be so particularized as to

focus on one of several billboards on government property”). Whether we

consider the limitations on wrap-around bus ads as creating a separate

forum, or merely a particular limitation within the larger forum of

SEPTA's advertising space, our disposition of the case remains the same.

Se

tw et

SEY BORN A SR mo a RS eR

17a

RRCUGr! GBES ‘AST MARE SHEE a NSA. He Uses He

allowance of “limited discourse.” Cornelius, 473 U.S. at 802.

We accordingly look to the authority's intent with regard to

the forum in question and ask whether SEPTA clearly and

deliberately opened its advertising space to the public.

Hazelwood School Dist. v. Kuhlmeier, 484 U.S. 260, 269-

270 (1988); Perry, 460 U.S. at 37. To gauge SEPTA’s intent,

we examine its policies and practices in using the space

and also the nature of the property and its compatibility

with expressive activity. Gregoire v. Centennial School

District, 907 F.2d 1366, 1371 (3d Cir. 1990) {

forum, however, do not necessarily mean that SEPTA has

not created a public forum. They may demonstrate instead

that SEPTA intended to create a limited public forum, open

only to certain kinds of expression. See. e.g., Kreimer, 958

Rosenberger v. Rector and Visitors of the Univ. of Va., 115

S.Ct. 2510, 2517 (1995) (student activities fund, available

to student groups meeting certain criteria. constituted

limited public forum).

A. SEPTA’s policies

We will look first at the purpose for which SEPTA uses

the space in question. The main function of the advertising

space at issue is to earn a profit for SEPTA. Although

from the leasing of advertising space in its stations and in

and on its vehicles. The contract between TDI and SEPTA

States that “it is understood that it is Licensee's obligations

[sic] under the terms of this contract to produce revenues

3. That the generation of income is a goal of the advertising space is also

reflected in the manner in which SEPTA is paid by TDI under the

18a

The record shows that TDI and SEPTA also had a

StUidaay geal is ucing the cpare- nromoting “awareness”

of social issues and “providing a catalyst for change.” These

objectives are stated in the “TDI Cares” brochure. The “TDI

Cares” program, in which SEPTA participates, seeks to

““give back’ to the communities which [TDI] serves] in

many ways .. ..” In this program TDI picks an issue of

public concern and then pays for the materials and labor

involved in creating the advertisements. The purpose of the

program, in TDI’s words, is to assail TDI markets with

“images, both poignant and creative, which are designed to

elevate awareness and provide a catalyst for change.” This

page of the brochure is headed “consciousness” and states

that the program tries to “focus consciousness on an issue

of pressing human concern.” The testimony at trial was

that SEPTA participated in TDI’s annual campaign by

donating unsold advertising space. SEPTA and TDI “jointly

agree” on what initiatives will run in the Philadelphia area,

but it is not clear from the record which ads ran on SEPTA

property under this program.‘

SEPTA argues that where the government runs a

commercial operation, a “bright-line rule” directs that no

public forum has been created. For this proposition, SEPTA

contract. TDI guarantees a minimum annual payment to SEPTA, one

twelfth of which is due at the beginning of each month, but SEPTA

receives fifty-five percent of all net sales in any given monih if that

amount is greater than one twelfth of the guaranteed annual payment.

In the first agreement year, the guaranteed annual payment was

$2,000,000. This rose to $2,950,000 for the fifth and final agreement

year.

4. SEPTA contends that we should not consider the TDI Cares brochure

because it is hearsay. The brochure was, however, admitted into

evidence without objection by SEPTA. Moreover, it was offered not for the

truth of the matter asserted but for the fact that the assertions were

made — which is not hearsay. In addition, the brochure plays little role

in our decision. There is no evidence on the record of which ads actually

ran in the campaigns described in the brochure or of how much

advertising space SEPTA and/or TDI actually donated to those

campaigns. Considered with the other evidence in the record, the

brochure demonstrates, however, that the forum in question is suitable

for speech concerning social problems and issues.

ee eT ET ee

19a

cites International Society for Krishna Consciousness, Inc. v.

Lee, 505 U.S. 672 (1992). In Lee, the Court considered

restrictions on_ solicitation and leafleting in airport

terminals. The Court began by noting that the government

owned and operated the airport terminals and that:

Where the government is acting as a_ proprietor,

managing its internal operations, rather than acting as

a lawmaker with the power to regulate or license, its

actions will not be subjected to the heightened review

to which its actions as a lawmaker may be subject.

505 U.S. at 678 (quoting United States v. Kokinda, 497 U.S.

720, 725 (1990) (plurality opinion) (citing Cafeteria &

Restaurant Workers v. McElroy, 367 U.S. 866, 896 (1961))).

In Lee, the Court went on, however, to apply the factors

identified in Comelius to determine whether the airport

terminals were public fora. The Court reasoned that the

profit by serving the air-traveling public. The goal of the

terminal was “the facilitation of Passenger air travel” and

not “the promotion of expression.” 505 U.S. at 682. The

Court distinguished the restricted access in air terminals

from other “transportation nodes,” such as rail and bus

Stations. Id. at 681.

We do not read Lee, as SEPTA Suggests, to mean that

every time the government runs a commercial enterprise it

has, by definition, decided not to create an open forum. To

the contrary, it is the commercial and restricted nature of

an airport concourse which suggested that the government

did not intend the concourse to be primarily a forum for

expression. See also Cornelius, 473 U.S. at 799-800.

Here, we have determined that the forum is not the

SEPTA stations, but only the advertising space within the

Stations. We need not concern ourselves with solicitation or

leafletting of the public within the Stations but only with

the use of the ad space itself. The nature of this forum is

partly commercial, consistent with the goal of SEPTA to

eam a profit on its advertising space and with CBM'’s offer

to pay the commercial rate to lease that space. See Airline

Pilots Assoc. v. Dept. of Aviation of the City of Chicago, 45

F.3d 1144, 1157 (7th Cir. 1995); Stewart v. District of

20a

Columbia Armory Bd., 863 F.2d 1013, 1019 (D.C. Cir.

1988). However, SEPTA has also used the advertising space

to generate a profit through expressive activity. This

expressive use has not interfered with providing rail

transportation facilities to the public. Thus, the nature of

the forum suggests, but by no means establishes, see

Lehman v. City of Shaker Heights, 418 U.S. 298, 304

(1974), that the government has dedicated the space to

expression in the form of paid advertisements. See

Southeastern Promotions, Limited v. Conrad, 420 U.S. 546,

555 (1975) (holding municipal theaters were “public forums

designed for and dedicated to expressive activities”).

With these goals in mind, we next consider SEPTA’s

written policy governing permissible advertising. The

contract between TDI and SEPTA provides that “it is

SEPTA’s strong preference that [TDI] concentrate on

securing advertising other than that which is tobacco and

alcohol related.” The contract directs that TDI use its “best

efforts” to fill the space with other advertisements.

Recognizing that TDI’s responsibility under the contract is

to “produce revenues,” the contract permits the combined

sale of alcohol ind tobacco advertising of up to twenty

percent of the anual dollar value of the advertising. TDI

also, however, has an obligation to “pursue qualified public

health groups, as identified by SEPTA” and to make

advertising space available to them “on a one to one ratio

to the tobacco ard alcohol related advertising at that time,

subject to space availability.” In addition, the contract

reserves for SEPTA the right to reject advertisements that it

does not like:

All advertising displays at any time inserted or placed

by the Licensee in any display devices in any vehicle

and /or locations shall be of an appropriate character

and quality, and the appearance of all displays shall be

acceptable to SEPTA. No libelous, slanderous, or

obscene advertising maybe accepted by the Licensee for

display in the Authority's transit and railroad vehicles

and facilities. All advertising determined by the [sic]

SEPTA, in its sole discretion, as objectionable within

the meaning of this subsection must not be utilized on

any SEPTA vehicle or facility. SEPTA shall have the

2la

right to immediately remove any advertising material

which has already been applied, in the event that the

[sic] SEPTA deems material objectionable for any

reason, at the expense of the Licensee.

SEPTA argues that because it retained the right in its

sole discretion to reject or to remove any advertisement that

it deems objectionable, it did not create a public forum of

any sort. The authority's own statement of its intent,

however, does not resolve the public forum question.

Gregoire v. Centennial School District, 907 F.2d 1366, 1374

(3d Cir. 1990) (reasoning that “intent, as evidenced by a

government's statements, is a factor to be considered,” but

that “the forum inquiry does not end with the government’s

statement of intent”); see also Air Line Pilots Association,

Int’L v. Dept. of Aviation, 45 F.3d 1144, 1153-1154 (7th Cir.

1995); Stewart v. Dist. of Columbia Armory Bd., 863 F.2d

1013, 1016-1017, 1020 (D.C.Cir. 1988).

Furthermore, the fact that SEPTA has reserved for itself

the right to reject ads for any reason at all does not signify,

in and of itself alone, that no public forum has been

created. See Gregoire, 907 F.2d at 1375. In Gregoire, we

warned that “standards for inclusion and exclusion” in a

limited public forum “must be unambiguous and definite” if

the “concept of a designated open forum is to retain any

vitality whatever.” 907 F. 2d at 1375. We do not hold that

the government could never, pursuant to an open-ended

policy of exciuding speech as it sees fit, effectively close the

forum to certain speech (or maintain an entirely closed

forum) through a consistent practice of so doirig. But the

fact that the government has reserved the right to control

speech without any particular standards or goals, and

without reference to the purpose of the forum, does not

necessarily mean that it has not created a public forum. If

anything, we must scrutinize more closely the speech that

the government bans under such a protean standard. See

Gregoire, 907 F.2d at 1375; id. at 1386 (Stapleton, J.,

dissenting); Denver Area Educational Telecommunications

Consortium v. FCC, 116 S.Ct. 2374, 2414-2415 (1996)

(Kennedy, J., concurring in part and dissenting in part);

Lebron, 69 F.3d at 661-662 (Newman, C.J., dissenting).

22a

SEPTA’s purpose in operating the forum and its written

policies governing access provide no conclusive answer as

to whether the forum is intended to be closed or open. The

goal of generating income by leasing ad space suggests that

the forum may be open to those who pay the requisite fee.

SEPTA has specified a few areas in which it will not freely

accept advertising: alcohol and tobacco advertising beyond

a specified limit and ads deemed libelous or obscene. These

restrictions do not apply to the CBM posters. Beyond these

limitations, there are no specific restrictions on the type of

advertising that SEPTA will accept. In effect, SEPTA’s

reservation of the right to reject any ad for any reason does

not conclusively show that it intended to keep the forum

closed.

We turn now to SEPTA’s past practice in using the

advertising space, and the suitability of the forum to the

speech in question.

B. SEPTA's Past Practice and the Suitability of the

Forum for CBM’s Ad

SEPTA has accepted a broad range of advertisements for

display. These include religious messages, such as “Follow

this bus to FREEDOM, Christian Bible Fellowship Church;”

an ad criticizing a political candidate; and explicitly worded

advertisements such as “Safe Sex Isn't” and an

advertisement reminding viewers that “Virginity-It’s cool to

keep” and “Don't give it up to shut ‘em up.” Indeed, many

ads address topics concerning sex, family planning, and

related topics. Other examples include a controversial 2d

campaign on AIDS education and awareness, posters

stating “The Face of Adoption” “Consider Adoption” and

“Every child deserves a family,” and another ad reading

“Pregnant? Scared? Confused? A.R.C. Can Help Call 1-800-

884-4004 or (215-844-1082.)”

On the topic of abortion, SEPTA has accepted two ads.

One read “Choice Hotline, For Answers to Your Questions

About: Birth Control e Pregnancy e Prenatal Care e Abortion

e Adoption e HIV/AIDS e Sexually Transmitted Diseases

(STDs) Abortion — Making A Decision, Call State Health Line

1-800-692-7254 For Free Booklet on Fetal Development,

23a

Fetus is Latin for Little one - A Little Human is a Baby,

Confidential ¢ Free.” The other one addressed the health

benefits of legalizing abortion: “When Abortion Was Illegal,

Women Died. My Mother Was One of Them. Keep Abortion

Legal and Safe. Support the Clara Bell Duvall Education

Fund. 471-9110.”

From the broad range of ads submitted, SEPTA has

requested modification of only three. One was the large

woman; it was too “risque.” The same ad was accepted as

a smaller “poster” ad on the sides of buses. SEPTA also

asked for modification of an ad depicting a gun with a

condom stretched over it. The text of the ad, “Safe Sex

Isn't,” ultimately ran without the graphics. SEPTA also

requested that an advertisement for a personal injury law

firm delete references to rail accidents.

We conclude then, based on SEPTA's written policies,

which specifically provide for the exclusion of only a very

boundaries of the forum, particularly concerning visual

images that could be considered explicit. The topic of

abortion and its health effects were, however,

“encompassed within the purpose of the forum.” Comelius,

473 U.S. at 806.

SEPTA argues, however, and the district court concluded,

that the instances in which SEPTA requested modification

24a

objection by SEPTA. As we note above, SEPTA has

exercised control over only three ads, two of which had

graphics to which SEPTA objected, and one of which

solicited personal injury cases that could be directed

against SEPTA. In one case, the concern with the graphics

was unique to the wrap-around type bus ad — concerns

not implicated here. In all three cases, after negotiation

with the sponsor, the ads were permitted to run with some

modification.

Because of SEPTA’s policy in accepting ads, including

two on the specific topic in question, the argument that

SEPTA has “tight control” over the forum may apply to ads

which are similar to the ones for which SEPTA has required

modification. That does not mean, however, that such

control applies to subject matter over which SEPTA has

never before exercised any restrictions. Because the forum

may be limited in one way does not foreclose its status as

a public forum with respect to other categories of speech. If

it did, there would have been no limited public forum in

Widmar, 454 U.S. at 267, or in Rosenberger, 115 S.Ct. at

2510. Both cases involved designated fora which excluded

non-student groups. Nor would there have been a limited

public forum in Kreimer, where the library constituted a

public forum although it was open only to certain kinds

expression.°

5.In Denver Area Educational Telecommunications Consortium v. FCC,

116 S.Ct. 2374, 2388 (1996) (plurality opinion), the Court was troubled

by how to characterize the government's decision to limit a forum to

exclude certain speech. Does strict scrutiny apply, Justice Breyer asked

for the plurality, if the government “builds a band shell in the park and

dedicates it solely to classical music (but not to jazz)?” Justice Kennedy

responded that the correct analogy to the cable system at issue was “the

Government's creation of a band shell in which all types of music might

be performed except rap music,” and went on to say that “the provisions

here are content-based discriminations in the strong sense of

suppressing a certain form of expression that the Government dislikes,

or otherwise wishes to exclude on account of its effects, and there is no

justification for anything by strict scrutiny here.” 116 S.Ct. at 2374

(Justice Kennedy, concurring and dissenting). In this case, the past

practice of permitting much speech, particularly that on the topic of

abortion, makes Justice Kennedy's analogy apt.

STA SS GO

25a

But we reiterate that the government's exercise of some

restrictions on speech does not foreclose a public forum.

We do not hold that merely because the government may

have had a past practice of permitting some expressive

activity, it has created a public forum. Standing alone, a

“limited discourse” does not mandate that the government

intended the forum as public. Cornelius, 473 U.S. at 802;

Kokinda, 497 U.S. at 720; Perry, 460 U.S. at 47.° We must

look at the past practice in conjunction with the purpove of

to the forum and the government's purpose in creating the

forum demonstrated that the government intended the

forum to be closed. 473 U.S. at 804-805; see also, Kokinda,

497 U.S. at 730; Perry, 460 U.S. at 47-48. Here, on the

other hand, the purpose of the forum does not suggest that

it is closed, and the breadth of permitted speech points in

the opposite direction.

Moreover, there is no evidence that SEPTA rejected the ad

pursuant to a new or previously existing policy to close the

forum to debatable or misleading speech generally, or

Our consideration of the similarity of the speech in question to speech

permitted in the past is related to a determination of whether the

limitation constitutes viewpoint discrimination, although here we make

that inquiry only in conjunction with the other factors in the public

forum analysis. We do not reach the viewpoint discrimination issue in

this case. Even if we concluded that no viewpoint discrimination took

place, however, this would not make the past use of the space irrelevant

in determining whether the forum is public. How the forum has been

used in the past is a core component of the public forum inquiry. See,

e€.g., Cornelius at 803-805; see also Denver Area Consortium, 116 S.Ct.

at 2415 (Kennedy, J. concurring and dissenting) (“It contravenes the

First Amendment to give Government a general license to single out

6.In Kokinda, only four Justices concluded that no public forum had

been created. Four Justices reached exactly the opposite exclusion — a

limited public forum had been created — based in large part on the past

practice of permitting speech in the forum. Kokinda, 497 U.S. at 750.

: roser

26a

closed it to such speech on any particuiar topic of health.

To the contrary, SEPTA simply argues that the forum was

closed, and will be closed, to any speech that SEPTA wishes

to exclude for any reason. In other words, SEPTA does not

argue that the forum is closed to this particular type of

speech because SEPTA views it differently from the speech

it has permitted in the past. Instead, SEPTA claims the

forum is closed to all speech, and that short of viewpoint

discrimination, SEPTA can make any _ content-based

restrictions it chooses. SEPTA's prior acceptance of a broad

range of advertiseme~ts cuts particularly strongly against

this claim. Cf. Greyoire, 907 F.2d at 1373. As Justice

Kennedy reasoned in Denver Area Consortium, “|t]he power

to limit or redefine forums for a legitimate purpose [citation

omitted] does not allow the government to exclude certain

speech or speakers from them for any reason at all.” 116

S.Ct. at 2414 (Kennedy, J.) (concurring and dissenting).

The Seventh Circuit has also concluded, in a case similar

to this one, that a transportation authority created a

limited public forum. Planned Parenthood Ass'n v. Chicago

Transit Auth., 767 F.2d 1225 (7th Cir. 1985). In Planned

Parenthood, the Chicago Transit Authority (“CTA”) refused

to lease advertising space to Planned Parenthood for display

of “abortion-related” advertisements. Althoug’ CTA had

rejected an anti-Vietnam war ad (later displayed as part of

a settlement agreement), and an “Impeach Nixon” placard

(later displayed pursuant to court order), CTA had accepted

an anti-war ad depicting “large bombs falling on a child

releasing a dove with an olive branch in its beak.” 767 F.2d

at 1230. The court concluded that CTA had created a

limited public forum, reasoning that “CTA maintains no

system of control over the advertisements that it accepts ...

other than the general contractual directive .... to refuse

vulgar, immoral, or disreputable advertising” and that CTA

“has allowed its advertising space to be used for a wide

variety of commercial, public-service, public-issue, and

political ads.” Id. at 1232-1233. Noting as well that CTA

had no policy pursuant to which the ad was excluded, the

court concluded that the transportation authority had

created a public forum. We are confronted with a similar

factual situation in this case, and we reach the same

conclusion.

27a

In arguing to the contrary, SEPTA relies primarily on

Cornelius v. NAACP Legal Defense and Education Fund, 473

Lower Merion School, 776 F.2d 431, 436 (34 Ci, 1985). In

Comelius, however, the government had a “consistent

disruptive effects of individual charity drives throughout the

year, by “lessening the amount of expressive activity

occurring on public property.” Id. at 805. Here, there is no

comparable “policy and practice” demonstrating that the

government intended that the forum be closed to the

speech at issue in this case. Indeed, the record points

exactly the other way. In its efforts to generate advertising

revenues, SEPTA permitted abortion-related and other

controversial advertisements concerning sexuality.

a school board to permit a “Peace Fair” on the school’s

athletic field or inside the boys’ gymnasium. A student .

a Special Olympics, for a Memorial Day service, for a “Bike

Hike,” and for jogging, picnics, and similar activities. 776

F.2d at 434. The board rejected the request pursuant to an

unwritten, but long-standing policy of reserving the athletic

‘field for “athletic and governmental purposes.” The board

noted that use of the gym could cause damage to the floor,

and offered the use of the auditorium, which the group

7. This policy was in effect from 1963 until 1982. Cornelius, 473 U.S. at

792. During 1982 and 1983, some legal defense funds participated in

the charity drive under court order. An Executive Order issued in 1983

limited participation to “voluntary, charitable, health and welfare

agencies that provide or support direct health and welfare services to

individuals or their families,” excluding “jalgencies that seek to influence

the outcomes of elections or the determination of public policy through

political activity or advocacy, lobbying, or litigation on behalf of parties

other than themselves.” 473 U.S. at 795.

28a

rejected. We concluded, because permission to use the

facilities in question was not granted “as a matter of

course” and because the nature of the property suggested

the facilities did not have as their primary purpose

expressive activities, that the government had not created a

limited public forum. Id. at 436-437. The property at issue

here, on the other hand, has been dedicated to expressive

activity of exactly the sort in which petitioners seek to

engage. Moreover, as to the subject of abortion specifically,

and family planning issues generally, permission to post

advertisements has been granted as a “matter of course.”

There is no policy, written or unwritten, pursuant to which

CBM’s ads were removed.

Lehman v. City of Shaker Heights, 418 U.S. 298 (1974) is

similarly inapposite. In Lehman, the Court considered a

ban on political advertising in the city’s transit vehicles. A

candidate for city council challenged the city’s rejection of

his ad pursuant to the city’s policy, which had been in

effect for 25 years. The card space, the Court reasoned, was

a “commercial venture,” and the city was free to limit the

space to enhance commercial revenues, and to protect

riders from the “blare of political propaganda.” Id. at 303-

304. As we have made clear, however, SEPTA has no long-

standing practice of prohibiting ads like CBM’s; nor does it

have any policy pursuant to which the ads were removed.

SEPTA’s past practice is, instead, to include such ads.

Because we find that SEPTA has created a designated

public forum, content-based restrictions on speech that

come within the forum must pass strict scrutiny to comport

with the First Amendment. Perry, 460 U.S. at 46. As the

Supreme Court explained in Police Dept. of the City of

Chicago v. Mosley, 408 U.S. at 92, 95, “above ail else, the

First Amendment means that government has no power to

restrict expression because of its message, its ideas, its

subject matter, or its content.” Thus the government “may

not grant the use ef a forum to people whose views it finds

acceptable, but deny use to those wishing to express less

favored or more controversial views. And it may not select

which issues are worth discussing or debating in public

facilities.” Id. at 96. The prohibited expression in this case,

CBM’s ad, falls within the scope of the forum created by

29a

SEPTA. Thus, SEPTA’s restriction is subject to heightened

review.

SEPTA has not argued that its actions Survive strict

scrutiny. Accordingly, we conclude that CBM's First

Amendment rights were violated when SEPTA removed

CBM’s ads.

V. Reasonableness of SEPTA’s Restrictions

Even if the speech in question had fallen outside the

limited public forum created by SEPTA, we would

nonetheless conclude that SEPTA’s removal of the posters

violated the First Amendment because the removal was not

“reasonable.” When reviewing a governmental agency’s

limitation of speech on government property that has not

been designated a public forum, the “reasonableness” of

action limiting speech is gauged with reference to the

nature of the forum itself. As the Supreme Court explained:

Consideration of a forum’s special attributes is relevant

to the constitutionality of 4 regulation since the

s ce of the governmental interest must be

assessed in light of the characteristic nature and

function of the particular forum involved.

_ ‘to accomplish the most efficient and effective postal

delivery system.” Id. at 732. Solicitation, the postal service

had decided, was “inherently disruptive” of its business. Id.

30a

because they constituted “perhaps the clearest and most

direct way to achieve maximum library use.” Id; see also,

Hazelwood School Dist. v. Kuhimeier, 484 U.S. 270, 273

(1988) (content-based restrictions on speech in school

newspaper constitutional “so long as [they] are reasonably

related to legitimate pedagogical concerns”); Cornelius v

NAACP Legal Defense and Educ. Fund, Inc., 473 U.S. 788.

806 (1985) (distinctions in non-public forum based on

“subject matter and speaker identity” are constitutional as

long they are “reasonable in light of purpose served by the

Soran and are viewpoint neutral”); Lee v. Intern. Soc. for

Krishna Consciousness, Inc., 505 U.S. 672, 685 (1992)

(O'Connor, J., concurring) {reasonableness inquiry is

“whether [the restrictions on solicitation and on distribution

of literature] are reasonably related to maintaining the

multipurpose environment that the Port Authority has

created.”).

Similarly, in Lehman v. City of Shaker Heights, 418 U.S.

298, 303 (1974), the Court considered whether tbe city’s

refusal to accept political advertising on its rapid transit

vehicles violated the First Amendment. The Court reasoned

that

Revenue earned from long-term commercial advertising

could be jeopardized by a requirement that short-term

candidacy or issue-oriented advertisements be

displayed on car cards. Users would be subjected to

the blare of political propaganda. There could be

lurking doubts about political favoritism, and sticky

administrative problems might arise in parceling out

limited space to eager politicians. In _ these

circumstances, the managerial system to limit car card

space to innocuous and less controversial advertising

does not rise to the dignity of a First Amendment

violation.

418 U.S. at 304 (plurality opinion). The Court thus

reasoned that, in order to maximize commercial revenue

and eliminate concerns about political favoritism, the city

could restrict the car card space to exclude political

advertisement.

In this case, the district court concluded that SEPTA

acted reasonably in relying on Dr. Lee's letter to remove the

—— eT ee

3la

CBM posters. However, CBM paid the commercial rate for

the advertising Space, just like any other advertiser, and

Submitted an advertisement on abortion and mate

health, topics that were the subject of other

permitted Sdesilidaesmme co on of > geo and

the manner in which it was presented, were compatible

with the purposes of the forum.

Spock, 424 U.S. 831, 838 n.10 (1976). In this case,

concurring) (“because I cannot see how peaceful

pamphletting is incompatible with the multipurpose

environment of the Port Authority airports, I cannot accept

that a total ban on that activity is reasonable without an

explanation as to why such a restriction ‘preserves the

property’ for the several uses to which it has been put.

[citation to Perry]"): Airline Pilots Assoc. v. Dept. of Aviation,

45 F.3d 1144, 1161 (7th Cir. 1995) (Flaum, J. Concurring)

“inconsistent treatment,” in the eyes of the dissent, “renders the

Prohibition on solicitation unreasonable.” Kokinda, 497 U.S. 760-761

(Brennan, J. dissenting).

32a

SEPTA argued before the district court that Gambaccini

had testified that SEPTA “closed the debate to a situation in

which there are ads or debated and dubious statements of

medical fact.”® Consistent with this statement, SEPTA could

have argued that based on Dr. Lee’s letter, it viewed CBM’s

ad as “debated and dubious,” and accordingly excluded it.

A prohibition on “debated and dubious ads,” put in place

before, or because of the concerns about CBM’s ad, might

qualify as reasonable. We note, however, that SEPTA does

not have a policy of protecting riders from “debated and

dubious” speech generally, nor does SEPTA link this

purported policy to its use of the forum.

In any event, we need not reach that question.

Gambaccini did not testify to such a policy, implemented

either before or after the removal of CBM’s ad. Instead,

when questioned if he would post an ad saying “women

who choose abortion live longer and have less breast

cancer,” he answered “[Njot unless there was some credible

evidence to support it.” (Appendix at 354-355). This is a

different standard — a debatable advertisement may well be

supported by credible evidence. And if this standard

controlled, SEPTA was unreasonable because it failed to

give CBM an opportunity to produce such evidence.

Moreover, Gambaccini did not explain whether this

standard applied generally, or just to ads on the topic of

abortion and cancer. Nor did he explain SEPTA’s grounds

for adopting it. SEPTA has left us to guess why, in terms of

the purpose of the-forum, it excluded CBM’s ad, and why,

and to what extent, other ads will also be excluded. This

makes it difficult to evaluate the extent of the governmental

interest in excluding the speech from SEPTA’s property.

Finally, as we have noted, SEPTA never asked CBM —

the sponsor of the ad — to defend its accuracy, to explain

the basis for the ad, or to clarify it. Instead, SEPTA removed

the ad without contacting CBM — even though CBM had

modified the poster in response to SEPTA’s previous

requests.

9.SEPTA argued before us that it “determined not to devote its

advertising areas to alarming allegations regarding cancer and abortion,

given the controverted nature of the public health claim as described in

the HHS ‘tcuer.”

Teste:

34a

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

CHRIST’S BRIDE MINISTRIES, INC. : CIVIL ACTION

‘ :

SOUTHEASTERN PENNSYLVANIA :

TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY, etal. : NO. 96-3631

MEMORANDUM

Bartle, J. August 16, 1996

This is a case about posters, in the Philadelphia subway

and commuter rail stations, which carried the message,

“WOMEN WHO CHOOSE ABORTION SUFFER MORE

AND DEADLIER BREAST CANCER.”

I

Plaintiff Christ’s Bride Ministries, Inc. (“CBM”) has sued

the Southeastern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority

(“SEPTA”), the owner and operator of the commuter subway,

bus and rail systems in the Philadelphia metropolitan area,

and its licensee Transportation Displays, Inc. (“TDI”) for

removing CBM’s previously installed antiabortion posters.

CBM claims, pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1983, that defendants

violated its right of free speech under the First and Fourteenth

Amendments to the Constitution, and its right to equal pro-

tection under the Fourteenth Amendment. CBM also has a

contract claim. Among other relief, CBM seeks a permanent

injunction to compel the reinstallation of its signs. The court

held a non-jury trial on the merits. It now renders its findings

of fact and conclusions of law in accordance with Rule 52 of

the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.

CBM is a small non-profit religious, educational, and

charitable organization incorporated in Virginia. It has been

engaged in a campaign over the last year and one-half to

acquaint women in particular and the public generally with

what it believes to be the health risks attendant to an abortion.

As part of this effort, it has sought to post its message in the

subway and commuter rail stations in various cities, including

Baltimore, Philadelphia, and Washington.

35a

In December, 1995 Bradley Thomas, the president of

CBM, contacted SEPTA about the placement of antiabortion

advertisements in SEPTA’s subway and rail stations. Thomas

was directed to TDI, which has a contract with SEPTA to

solicit, oversee, and manage the placement of advertisements

in and on SEPTA’s buses, subways, trains and facilities. Under

that contract TDI was prohibited from displaying “any libel-

Ous, Slaiderous, or obscene” material. SEPTA retained the

right to approve in advance all advertising and to remove any

advertisement it found to be objectionable for any reason.

A‘ter numerous phone conversations and discussions,

TDI and SEPTA ultimately approved the copy for CBM’s

posters. They read, as noted above, “Women who choose

abortion suffer more and deadlier breast cancer.” The signs

were graphically designed with bold white lettering on a back-

ground of black and bright red, except that the word “dead-

lier” was written in red. The posters also contained the follow-

ing in small print: “Information: 1-800-634-2224,” as well as

CBM’s name as the sponsoring organization. The 800 number

did not connect to CBM. Instead, it belonged to an organiza-

tion known as the American Rights Coalition (“ARC”)

located in Chattanooga, Tennessee. ARC wouid send callers

various pamphlets explaining what it believed to be the link-

age between abortion and breast cancer.

The written contract between TD] ‘and CBM, which was

for one year, was dated January 2, 1996. The contract

included the amount CBM agreed to pay for the poster dis-

play and the number of posters to be installed. It also pro-

vided that if SEPTA “should deem such advertising objection-

able for any reason, TDI shall have the right to terminate the

contract and discontinue the service without notice.”

On January 15, 1996, a week before the contract was

dated, TDI placed two CBM Signs in prominent locations by

overhead clocks in Philadelphia’s Suburban Station. Addi-

tional signs were located in 25 of the subway and commuter

rail stations in Philadelphia and the surrounding suburbs.

Shortly after their installation, SEPTA and TDI required

CBM to identify itself more Prominently on the advertise-

36a

ments. CBM complied. It supplied “snipes” or large decals

which TDI affixed to the posters. They contained the follow-

ing language:

Christ’s Bride, Ministries, Inc. (CBM) is a charitable,

religious, educational, non-profit 501(c)(3) organiza-

tion incorporated in Virginia. CBM, P.O. Box 22

Merrifield, VA 221160(703) 598-2226

In early February, 1996, several weeks after the advertise-

ments were displayed, SEPTA received a copy of a letter writ-

ten by Dr. Philip Lee, Assistant Secretary of Health in the

United States Department of Health and Human Services.

The addressee of the letter was Mr. Lawrence Reuter,General

Manager of the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit

Authority, where CBM’s signs had also appeared. In his corre-

spondence, Dr. Lee asserted, “This ad is unfortunately mis-

leading, unduly alarming, and does not accurately reflect the

weight of the scientific literature.” He added, “We strongly

object to the ad because it appears to be based on studies that

are inconclusive, biased, and poorly designed.” He urged the

Washington Metro system to withdraw the advertisements.

Relying primarily on Dr. Lee’s letter, SEPTA’s General Man-

ager, Louis Gambaccini, exercised SEPTA’s contractual right

and directed TDI to remove the CBM posters. TDI did so on

February 16, 1996. Prior to their removal, SEPTA never made

any independent study or determination as to the accuracy of

CBM'’s message, that is, wheiher or not women who have an

abortion will in fact “suffer more and deadlier breast cancer.”

CBM had spent over $3,300 for the printing of the post-

ers and had paid SEPTA slightly over $6,000 for the display of

the posters for two months. Since the advertisements had run

for only one month, SEPTA returned to CBM $3,043, which

represented half of its payment.

{I

Because the parties have stipulated to consolidate the

preliminary injunction hearing with a trial on the merits, the

court proceeds under the standard for a permanent injunction.

First, the plaintiff must demonstrate that the court’s exercise

of equity jurisdiction is proper. Second, the plaintiff must actu-

iniienicetmeiiteiin iittala iii |

37a

ally succeed on the merits of its claim. Third, the plaintiff must

show that the balance of the equities tips in favor of injunctive

relief. Roe v. Operation Rescue, 919 F-2d 857, 867 n.8 (3d Cir.

1990). We turn first to the merits of plaintiff's claim.

As a preliminary matter, it is undisputed that SEPTA and

its agent TDI are state actors for purposes of this lawsuit, and

therefore are subject to First and Fourteenth Amendment

constraints. See Lebron v. National Railroad Passenger Corpo-

Amendment.! Consequently, we must determine if a state

actor may prohibit such speech and if so under what circum-

It is well settled that the government’s ownership of prop-

erty does not automatically open that Property to all speech.

Rather, as the Supreme Court has stated:

Even protected speech is not equally permissible in

places and at all times. Nothing in the Constitu-

on every type of Government property without

regard to the nature of the Property or to the disrup-

tion that might be caused by the speaker's activities.

Cornelius v. NAACP Legal Defense and Education Fund, 473

U.S. 788, 799-800 (1985).

To determine what limits the government may place on

protected speech, the Supreme Court requires us to engage in

an exercise known as forum analysis. See Perry Education

1. Defendants argue strenuously that the plaintiff's message is commer-

cial speech entitled to significantly lesser Protection than political Speech.

We reject this argument as without merit.

38a

Association v. Perry Local Educator’s Association, 460 U.S. 37

(1983); International Society for Krishna Consciousness, Inc. v.

Lee, 505 U.S. 672 (1992). According to Perry, “[t]he existence

of a right of access to public property and the standard by

which limitations upon such a right must be evaluated differ

depending upon the character of the property at issue.” Perry,

460 U.S. at 44. The relevant forum in this case is SEPTA’s

subway and rail stations.

The Court in Perry recognized three types of fora: (1) the

traditional public forum; (2) the public forum created by gov-

ernment designation; and (3) the nonpublic forum. Traditional

public fora are those places “which by long tradition or by

government fiat have been devoted to assembly and debate

... Id. at 45. This category includes parks, public sidewalks,

and meeting halls. The governmen: is subject to strict scrutiny

in any attempt to limit First Amendment activity in a tradi-

tional public forum. It may exclude speech from a public

forum “only when the exclusion is necessary to serve a com-

pelling state interest and the exclusion is narrowly drawn to

achieve that interest.” Cornelius, 473 U.S. at 800.

The second category, a designated public forum, consists

of “public property which the state has opened for use by the

public as a place for expressive activity.” Perry, 460 U.S. at 45.

The government does not create a public forum by inaction or

by permitting limited discourse, but only by intentionaily

opening a nontraditional forum for public discourse. Corne- ~

lius, 473 U.S. at 802. Although the government is not required

to open or indefinitely retain the open nature of these places,

the government is bound, once it does sc, by the same limita-

tions as exist in the traditional pub’:c forum context. If SEPTA

has designated the subway and rail systems as public fora, then

the antiabortion sign may not be excluded without the show-

ing of a “compelling government interest.” Jd. at 800.

In contrast, a nonpublic forum, the third category, “is not

by tradition or designation a forum for public communication

...” Perry, 460 U.S. at 46. The mere fact that government

property is used for expressive activity does not qualify it as a

public forum. Rather, “the State, no less than a private owner

of property, has power to preserve the property under its con-

39a

Here, we have no Open spaces, no meeting hall, park,

Street corner, or other public thoroughfare. Instead,

the city is engaged in commerce .... The car card

space, although incidental to the Provision of public

transportation, is part of the commercial venture. In

much the same way that a newspaper or periodical,

or even a radio or television Station, need not accept

every proffer of advertising from the general public,

[emphasis added]. Lehman, 418 U.S. at 303.

More recently, in International Society of Krishna Con-

oe ee

40a

lawmaker with the power to regulate or license, its

action will not be subjected to the heightened review

to which its actions as a lawmaker may be subject.

Krishna, 505 U.S. at 678.

The Court emphasized that a public forum is not created

simply because it is a place where the public may freely come

and go. In coming to its conclusion that the airport terminal

was a nonpublic forum, the Court declared that transportation

centers do not have and have not traditionally had as their

purpose the “free exchange of ideas.” Krishna, 505 U.S. at

682. It further noted that “sites such as bus and rail terminals

traditionally have had private ownership,” a factor negating

any notion that they were designed to be treated as market

places for debate on public issues. Jd. at 681.

We think it is clear that stations in a public transit system

do not constitute a traditional public forum. They are not

parks, sidewalks, streets, or meeting halls. CBM, however,

argues that by virtue of the extensive advertising it accepts,

SEPTA has designated its subway and rail system as a public

forum. Plaintiff contends that SEPTA exercises little control

over who may advertise and the content of their messages. We

reject this contention.

SEPTA presented ample evidence that it retains firm con-

trol over the types of advertising which may be displayed in its

stations. It has rules and standards. Since garden variety com-

mercial advertisements constitute 99 percent of its book of

business, SEFTA rarely interferes with an advertiser’s chosen

message. Yet, its role in approving messages is not merely per-

functory. Thus, while an attorney generally may advertise her

legal services, SEPTA, not surprisingly, has consistently pro-

hibited any mention of representation for railroad, subway or

bus injuries. SEPTA has also exercised its privilege to reject

advertisements it considers offensive or in bad taste. For

example, SEPTA recently disapproved a hosiery commercial

with a scantily clad model proposed for a “wrap-around” dis-

play on a city bus.? SEPTA officials prohibited it as too risque

for such a conspicuous space. SEPTA has clearly exercised its

right to regulate advertising and to exclude messages which

2. Such “wrap-around” advertisersents envelop the entire circumfer-

ence of the bus with a piastic-type cover providing a prominent method for

reaching large numbers of po:caual customers.

ee

4la

are contrary to its standards. It has not created a public forum

in its subway and train Stations.

SEPTA, we conclude, is acting here as a proprietor and

not as a lawmaker or regulator. It owns and is operating what

is essentially a commercial venture, a public transportation

system. SEPTA stations, where CBM’s advertisements

appeared, are designed to facilitate the rapid and inexpensive

movement of commuters from one piace to another. Commut-

ers are there to travel, not to debate. The purpose of the

SEPTA stations is not to Promote the free exchange of ideas,

and SEPTA has never indicated to the contrary.3 See Krishna,

50S U.S. at 680-82. Like travelers in any station or terminal,

they are a captive audience for any advertisement displayed.

See Lehman, 418 U.S. at 302, 307. In sum, under the Supreme

Court's analysis in Lehman and Krishna, SEPTA's subway and

rail stations and their advertising space fit neatly within the

Il

Since the SEPTA system is a nonpublic forum, the gov-

ernment may restrict access “based on subject matter and

speaker identity so long as the distinctions drawn are reason-

3. To the extent it is relevant, the court takes judicial notive of some

operated these two systems into the 1960's. While the Broad Street subway

ome 30 pened and owned by the City of Philadelphia, it was leased unen

sit Come ats 280 10 @ private company, first the Philadelphia Rapid Trax

sit Company (“PRT”), and then the Philadelphia Transportation Company

and owned Privately. See Krishna, Supra at 681.

42a

able in light of the purpose served by the forum and are view-

point neutral.” Cornelius, 473 U.S. at 806. SEPTA’s decision to

restrict access to a nonpublic forum “need only be reasonable;

it need not be the most reasonable or the only reasonable

limitation.” Jd. at 808..

SEPTA and TDI argue that their actions meet this stan-

dard. They contend that removal of the plaintiff's antiabortion

signs was a reasonable decision because they relied on the

representation of a high government official in the United

States Department of Health and Human Services. The letter

of Dr. Philip Lee, Assistant Secretary of Health, warned that

CBM’s message that “women who choose abortion suffer

more and deadlier breast cancer” is “unfortunately mislead-

ing, unduly alarming, and does not accurately reflect the

weight of the scientific literature.” SEPTA asserts that having

received Dr. Lee’s pronouncement it exercised sound judg-

ment in removing an alarmist message trumpeting to the pub-

lic inaccurate and misleading health information.

At trial, we heard extensive testimony from four experts

concerning any links between abortion and breast cancer. Dr.

Clark Heath, Dr. Lynn Rosenberg, and Dr. Polly Newcomb

testified for SEPTA and TDI. Dr. Joel Brind testified for

CEM.

Dr. Heath is a medical doctor and since 1988 has held the

position of Vice President for Epidemiology‘ and Surveillance

Research at the National Cancer Institute in Atlanta, Georgia.

Dr. Heath is thoroughly familiar with the research concerning

induced abortion as a possible risk factor for breast cancer. Dr.

Rosenberg holds a doctorate in epidemiology and is currently

a professor of epidemiology at the Boston University School

of Medicine. Dr. Newcomb, a professor at the University of

Wisconsin Medical School, holds a Ph.D. in epidemiology and

a master’s degree in public health. She is presently on staff at

the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center in Seattle,

4. Epidemiology is the science that deals with the incidence, distribu-

tion, and control of disease in a population.

43a

Washington. Dr. Rosvuxderg and Dr. Newcomb have each

co-authored studies about the causes of breast cancer:5 -

Drs. Heath, Rosenberg, and Newcomb all expressed the

unequivocal opinion that existing epidemiological research

does not support a cause and effect relationship between abor-

The experts discussed several factors underlying their

conclusions. First, they cited the lack of consistency between

the results of numerous Studies on the subject. While

between induced abortion and breast cancer, they pointed out

that others do not indicate any correlation at all. Second, most

of the studies to date were “retrospective” in their design, as

opposed to “prospective.” That is, they focused on a woman’s

past medical history rather than follow women and their medi-

tion. They also explained the effect of “confounding vari-

ables,” that is, the Possibility that other risk factors for breast

cancer such as age or family history may influence the results

of a study attempting to test the link between abortion and

breast cancer.

Dr. Heath noted that among studies which are most com-

prehensive, including the studies of Dr. Rosenberg and Dr.

Newcomb, the findings have not been Particularly consistent.

He concluded in his report:

5. For example, Drs. Rosenberg and Newcomb have studied the rela-

tionship of breast cancer to such independent risk factors as alcohol and

coffee consumption, cigarette smoke, oral contraceptives, breast implants,

physical activity, multiple births, and abortion. In 1988, Dr. Rosenberg con-

6. Approximately 23 studies have been conducted which include spe-

cific data on induced abortion and breast cancer incidence.

44a

Given this variability in study findings, coupico wiu

the low levels of risk described and the many meth-

odologic difficulties involved in all such research, it

seems clear at present that no consistent association

has been established and hence that no cause-effect

relationships can be inferred. It also seems safe to

suppose that, if increased risks do in fact exist, they

are likely to be very small.

These experts also discussed the concept of relative risk

value, that is, the percentage increase in the incidence of dis-

ease based on a particular risk factor.” For example, according

to Dr. Newcomb, the relative risk of smoking as a factor in the

incidence of lung cancer is approximately 22.0. Therefore, a

person who smokes regularly is 22 times more likely to expe-

rience lung cancer than a person who does not smoke. In the

scientific community, due to the size of the relative risk factor,

it is widely accepted that smoking causes lung cancer.

In the epidemiology of breast cancer, there are two fac-

tors with positive risk associations clearly acknowledged to

have a causal relationship: age and family history. In contrast

to smoking and lung cancer, Dr. Newcomb’s study produced a

relative risk factor of only 1.23 between induced abortion and

breast cancer. This means that for women without a history of

induced abortion, one in one hundred would suffer from

breast cancer. For women with a history of an induced abor-

tion, 1.23 women out of one hundred would contract breast

cancer. All three experts testified that a relative risk value in

the range of 1.23 is an extremely weak association. Dr.

Newcomb stated in her expert report:

Because, our study results were equivocal, likely

biased, and consistent with an extensive literature

which has been unable to establish a clear link

between abortion and breast cancer, . . . I must repu-

diate any implication that our study supports this

interpretation. In addition, our study did not evalu-

ate breast cancer mortality, so we provide no infor-

mation on survival in women with a history of

induced abortion ....

7. Epidemiologists use a scale centered at 1.0 to measure relative risk

associations. A relative risk value over 1.0 is a positive association; a rela-

tive risk value below 1.0 is a negative association.

ee

45a

that re is a causal link between induced abortion and the

Breast Cancer: a Comprehensive Review and Meta-analysis,”

which is scheduled to be published by a British peer review

journal later this year. This “meta-analysis” is a review of 23

published epidemiological studies which address a correlation

between induced abortion and breast cancer.

women with a history of induced abortions.* Taking all the

studies in his meta-analysis together, he found an average rela-

tive risk factor of 1.3. This increased risk, according to Dr.

Brind, could not be attributed to bias such as underreporting

of abortion history by the women in the Studies. He further

8. Six other studies showed Positive associations, but not within the 95

percent Certainty required to show statistical significance.

46a

Brind, a 1983 study? by H.E. Ownby and others found that

women who had had at least one abortion had a higher recur-

rence rate of breast cancer within three years than patients

who had no abortion history. He relied on the Ownby study

for the proposition that those patients with an abortion history

had more malignant cancer than those who had never had an

abortion.

Drs. Heath, Rosenberg, and Newcomb vigorously dis-

puted the findings in Dr. Brind’s meta-analysis as well as his

use of this methodology here. They questioned its accuracy

here where nearly all of the studies are retrospective as

opposed to prospective. Primarily, however, Drs. Heath,

Rosenberg, and Newcomb disagreed with the conclusions Dr. -

Brind drew from the study data. While acknowledging that

many studies show a weak positive association between abor-

tion and breast cancer, they maintained that the association is

not meaningful evidence of a cause and effect link. Finally,

they rejected Dr. Brind’s interpretation that any of the three

studies upon which he relied supported the notion that abor-

tion causes “deadlier” breast cancer.

It is undisputed that SEPTA relied solely on Dr. Lee’s

letter in making its decision to remove CBM’s posters. Admit-

tedly, SEPTA did not do research of its own on any link

between abortion and breast cancer. CBM contends that

SEPTA’s reliance on Dr. Lee’s letter alone was an insufficient

basis to withdraw CBM'’s posters. We disagree. The legal stan-

dard is whether SEPTA acted reasonably. It does not have to

be the most reasonable or the only reasonable decision. Cor-

nelius, 473 U.S. at 808. We find that it was reasonable for

SEPTA, a transportation authority with no medical expertise,

to rely solely on the medical opinion of a physician who is a

high government health official. It had no duty to investigate

further before taking action. In any event, the testimony of

Drs. Heath, Newcomb, and Rosenberg, all leading experts in

the field of epidemiology, confirms that SEPTA’s decision to

eliminate the antiabortion signs was justified.

In reaching this conclusion, this court, of course, takes no

position regarding the underlying scientific and medical ques-

tion involved. Specifically, we do not decide whether Drs. Lee,

9. This was a study of 238 breast cancer patients who had been preg-

nant.

47a

Heath, Rosenberg, and Newcomb, on the one hand, or Dr.

Brind, on the other, is right. The connection between abortion

and breast cancer may be an issue which scientists and physi-

cian’s will debate for years to come. Ultimately, a consensus

may develop. At this time, we do not know. We decide only

that based on the current state of scientific and medical knowl-

edge, SEPTA did not act unreasonably in excluding CBM’s

“health” message as inaccurate and misleading. In sum, it was

reasonable for SEPTA to respond in a way that was consistent

with the views of Dr. Lee, Dr. Heath, Dr. Rosenberg, and Dr.

Newcomb.

IV

In order to pass constitutional muster, SEPTA’s decision

must not only be reasonable. It must also be “viewpoint neu-

tral.” Cornelius, 473 U.S. at 806. Defendants submit that they

have not discriminated against CBM’s message based on its

antiabortion viewpoint. We agree. SEPTA has permitted

advertising in subway and rail stations on both sides of the

abortion debate. SEPTA has allowed messages advocating a

woman's right to choose abortion and advertisements for

medical clinics providing pregnancy termination services. On

the other hand, SEPTA has run numerous contrary advertise-

ments. For example, there have been Signs urging teenagers to

practice abstinence, offering counseling services to pregnant

women, and encouraging pregnant woman to consider adop-

tion as an alternative to terminating a pregnancy. One adver-

tisement, which espoused the antiabortion cause, stated:

For answers to your questions about: ... Abortion —

Making a Decision, Call State Health Line ... for

free booklet on fetal development. Fetus is Latin for

little one- A little human is a baby....

[emphasis added]. CBM has presented no evidence that

SEPTA has discriminated against it based on the content of its

message. On the issue of abortion SEPTA has been “view-

point neutral.” Cornelius, 473 U.S. at 806.

48a

Vv

We can easily dispose of CBM’s remaining arguments.

CBM contends that SEPTA admitted in a memorandum dated

February 14, 1996 from Mr. Gambaccini to SEPTA board

members that CBM’s message was protected by the First

Amendment. The memorandum included the statement: “Our

legal department, after reviewing the ad, concluded that the

advertiser has a right to purchase the space and that the

speech is protected under the First Amendment.” Whatever

the initial opinion of the SEPTA legal department on that

particular date, clearly SEPTA has changed its mind. In any

event, we are not bound by the one-time legal opinions of

lawyers.

CBM has not met the threshold showing to obtain injunc-

tive relief, namely, that it succeeds on the merits of its First

and Fourteenth Amendment claims. CBM has also not seri-

ously pursued the claims stated in its complaint under 42

U.S.C. §§ 1985 and 1986. They have no merit and we do not

address them here.

Nor may CBM recover on its breach of contract claim.

Section IV of the TDI-CBM contract clearly provides for the

termination of the contract:

b. If for any cause beyond its control TDI shall cease

to have the right to continue the advertising covered

by this contract, or if [SEPTA] should deem such

advertising objectionable for any reason, TDI shall

have the right to terminate the contract and discon-

tinue the service without notice.

The contract permits the termination that occurred in this

case. TDI refunded to CBM any money paid for the time the

signs were not posted. We will not permit CBM to recover for

the money it spent to make the signs. CBM assumed this risk

by entering a contract where TDI had the right to cancel at

the discretion of SEPTA based on the content of the adver-

tisement.

49a

VI

fr. conclusion, we will enter judgment in favor of defen-

dants Southeastern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority

and Transportation Displays, Inc. and against plaintiff Christ's

Bride Ministries, Inc.

50a

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

CHRIST'S BRIDE MINISTRIES, INC. : CIVIL ACTION

‘. :

SOUTHEASTERN PENNSYLVANIA :

TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY, etal. : NO. 96-3631

ORDER

AND NOW, this 16th day of August, 1996, based on the

court’s findings of fact and conclusions of law, it is hereby

ORDERED that judgment is entered in favor of defendants

Southeastern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority and

Transportation Displays, Inc. and against plaintiff Christ’s

Bride Ministries, Inc.

BY THE COURT:

—Hawetrothe/

N

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.