Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Dodds v. American Broadcasting Co.

Supreme Court brief1999

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

d8. 601 OCT?

No.

patemipiembhttemtlet fk

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

~

October Term, 1998

HONORABLE BRUCE W. DODDS,

Petitioner,

vs.

AMERICAN BROADCASTING COMPANY, INC., a

Delaware Corporation,

Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

A. BARRY CAPPELLO

Counsel of Record

CAPPELLO & McCANN LLP

Attorneys for Petitioner

831 State Street

Santa Barbara, California 93101-3227

(805) 564-2444

148829 @ Counsel Press LLC

FORMERLY LUTZ APPELLATE SERVICES

(800) 274-3321 * (800) 359-6859

i

QUESTION PRESENTED

Must a sitting judge defamed by implication in a television

news journal broadcast demonstrate the defendant’s intent to

convey the defamatory implication under a subjective standard

applied by the Ninth Circuit, where the defamatory implication

is inescapable and the result of conscious choices made by the

defendant in combining the'audio and visual elements of the

program?

ii

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

The petitioner, the Honorable Bruce W. Dodds, was the

plaintiff-appellant below. The respondent, American

Broadcasting Company, Inc., was the defendant-appellee below.

There are no other parties to this litigation.

— ——

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Questions Presented ......... Susuenemsnssheseats

Parties 00 Gis PYOCGOGIMG «wi. ccc ere cccecceces

i “o-oo la ls cckatsgaseeveleseodk pe

WE CT ID Sc cctv cc da vedecaveness

NE CET y Ce Sey See eedxeesinives vatads

UMUUUNENE GE SUNOUUNCUNOD icc cece cnesccscsscets

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions Involved ....

TUE bcp o.ad a's cc ecce's usteaes see's

Reasons for Granting the Writ ....................

I. This Case Presents An Important Question Of

Constitutional Law On Which The Circuits Differ

And Which Must Be Settled By This Court. ..

a RR ag rE Na ey a A a

12

iv

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases:

Chapin v. Knight-Ridder, 993 F.2d 1087 (4th Cir. 1993)

PETS Pe Pe EEE Ee EO eS SOT 6, 8

Cochran v. Indianapolis Newspapers, Inc., 175 Ind. App.

548, 372 N.E. 2d 1211 (Ind. App. 1978) ......... 10

Dodds v. American Broadcasting Company, Inc., 143

Fe See Cee Gs NOE i Fn kc dau Pi va daaeeans 1,4,7

Dodds v. American Broadcasting Company, Inc., Civ. No.

DSBS OW Ce cn e'n base wedi ik iowa weds |

Eastwood v. National Enquirer, Inc., 123 F.3d 1249 (9th

UE SOUS nec ticasas mau away seese sh hasan bee 7

Lasky v. American Broadcasting Companies, Inc., 631

¥. Bea. SRS CED, a BOO. 0 cic asscesccens 11

Masson v. New Yorker Magazine, Inc., 501 U.S. 496

RRDEN orcs nad ical cues assessed eae i ake 8

Newton v. National Broadcasting Co., Inc., 930 F.2d 662

(9th Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 502 U.S. 866 (1991)

RENE Be EE Pe Oe Taree ee CR Te ON 4,5, 6,7

New York Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254, 84S. Ct.

FED ab hae a bho ind eee co 9

Saenz v. Playboy Enterprises, Inc., 841 F.2d 1309 (7th

OS ESE RPE ree et eed ee eee re 8, 10

(iinet callinsliiaiintadl Serre ©

RU Eis OS

Table of Cited Authorities

Page

Southern Air Transport, Inc. v. American Broadcasting

Companies, Inc., 877 F.2d 1010 (D.C. Cir. 1989) .. 11

Standing Committee v. Yagman, 55 F.3d 1430 (9th Cir.

ROP ED 66 8 ENCE: Me ebG RS Oa e RR EAR eas 7

Weller v. American Broadcasting Companies, Inc., 232

Cal. App. 3d 991; 283 Cal. Rptr. 644 (Cal. Ct. App.

ROPES. « vaied Faas de bea ha 65 Fo eee he 11

White v. Fraternal Order of Police, 909 F.2d 512 (D.C.

SO SONOE 0 es bio Vek eae a eee ea 6, 8

Woods v. Evansville Press Company, Inc., 791 F.2d 480

CFU: BO ov does oe eae tee 8

Statutes:

Be Sess AUS i 5 db hide ea |

United States Constitution:

PUNE RI oo hei oko oe 1,8

APPENDIX

Appendix A — Opinion For The United States

Court Of Appeals Ninth Circuit Decided May 27, 1998

EET eee eC ee TPT eT er eo Oe TET Cr earn la

vi

Table of Cited Authorities

Page

Appendix B — Order And Judgment Of The United States

District Court For The Central District Of California

Pave eer 30, 2906... cecassa a 34a

Appendix C — Order Of The United States District Court

For The Central District Of California Filed December

Bey BOGS 6 ive cae sesdee detec De ere. S5la

Appendix D — Order Of The United States Court Of

Appeals For The Ninth Circuit Filed July 9, 1998 . 77a

ee ee eee

oe

1

Petitioner, the Honorable Bruce William Dodds,

respectfully requests that a writ of certiorari be issued to review

the judgment and opinion of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit, filed May 27, 1998, on which rehearing

en banc was denied on July 9, 1998.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Ninth Circuit is reported at Dodds v. American Broadcasting

Company, Inc., 143 F.3d 1053 (9th Cir. 1998), and appears in

Appendix A. The district court in Dodds v. American

Broadcasting Company, Inc., Civ. No. 95-6694 SVW (JRx),

issued two unpublished opinions: an Order Granting

Defendant’s Motion for Summary Judgment, which appears in

Appendix B; and an Order denying in part and granting in part

a motion to dismiss, which appears in Appendix C.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Ninth Circuit (“Court of Appeals”) was entered on May 27,

1998. The Court of Appeals denied a timely petition for

rehearing and suggestion for rehearing en banc on July 9, 1998

(Appendix D).

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The First Amendment to the United States Constitution

provides in relevant part: “Congress shall make no law ...

abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; . . .”

2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In October, 1994, on its weekly “PrimeTime Live”

television news journal, respondent American Broadcasting

Company, Inc. (“ABC”) broadcast a purported investigation

into judicial behavior that was “bizarre,” “outrageous” and

“downright scandalous;” and into judges who were

“lawbreakers, sellouts and just plain crazy.” Three judges were

singled out for particular censure. One was petitioner, the

Honorable Bruce W. Dodds, then a senior judge of the Santa

Barbara County Superior Court.

Among other things, the segment implied that Judge Dodds

was so devoid of rational thought that he used a crystal ball to

make judicial decisions.'

The first reference to the crystal ball was a litigant’s

comment that Judge Dodds “often use[d]” the crystal ball, “even

in adoption cases.” ABC knew, but did not state, that the speaker

had never seen Judge Dodds use a crystal ball, and that her

case was not an adoption case.

The bulk of the segment was devoted to another litigant’s

— Ms. Chris Johnson’s — story of how Judge Dodds allegedly

forced her to settle her and her son’s case against the Catholic

church. Ms. Johnson’s son had been molested by a priest when

he was eleven, and had attempted suicide. According to Ms.

Johnson, after telling her son that the molestation “only

happened twice” and “was no big deal,” Judge Dodds pressured

them into settling for only $60,000 when they “might have

collected millions.” Sympathetically referring to the conference

as Ms. Johnson’s “ordeal,” ABC elicited her story of how Judge

1. In fact, Judge Dodds has a toy crystal ball, given to him as a

gift, which he uses for levity, only. It is not taken into the courtroom

and it is not used to decide any matters whatsoever.

?

;

é

3

3

2

3

3

Dodds “used” a crystal ball to confirm his assessment of what

her case was worth.’

What ABC did not say — expressly “chose” not to tell the

viewers — were the following facts: Johnson’s son was almost

18 years of age at the time of the conference, not eleven;

Johnson was highly religious, and considered the toy crystal

ball an “evil” manifestation of the “occult:” Johnson had also

accused the judge of threatening her life and conspiring with

the Catholic church; ABC had not confirmed the story with

Johnson’s son or any attorney at the conference;’ and, while

ABC knew that the conference was not binding, it also knew

that it did not make that fact clear to the audience.

ABC further stated that “lawyers, litigants and his former

clerk all say Dodds often used the crystal ball to support his

decisions.” This statement was accompanied by a visual shot

of Judge Dodds on the bench, although ABC knew that no

witness had ever suggested that Judge Dodds used the toy crystal

ball in making judicial decisions.

ABC also showed film of its reporter following Judge

Dodds and asking questions about the crystal ball, to which

Judge Dodds did not respond: “Judge, is it true that you have a

crystal ball? Judge couldn’t you at least answer any questions

at all? You are a public official. Your Honor. You have no

comments?” ABC did not mention that it knew that Judge Dodds

was precluded from commenting at the time, but set up the

questioning sequence for filming anyway.

2. Judge Dodds denied Ms. Johnson’s story of what happened at

the conference.

3. The appellate court mistakenly believed that ABC had consulted

with attorneys present at the conference; in fact, the evidence was to the

contrary.

4

Judge Dodds demanded a retraction, which ABC denied.

After becoming aware of the retraction demand, ABC did not

ensure the integrity of its files. Although he was aware of the

retraction demand, the producer of the show destroyed his notes

on the program.

Judge Dodds filed this suit based on both direct and implied

defamatory statements. The trial court eliminated all but three

of the alleged defamatory statements on a motion to dismiss.

On ABC’s subsequent motion for summary judgment, petitioner

abandoned his claims of defamation as to all but the statements

related to the crystal ball. The trial court found that petitioner

had failed to present sufficient evidence of actual malice as to

those statements, and granted summary judgment.

On appeal, the Ninth Circuit held that Judge Dodds had to

satisfy a two-pronged test to prevail on his implied defamation

claim as to the crystal ball. First, he had to show that the words

were reasonably capable of sustaining the alleged implied

meaning. As to this prong, the appellate court found that “a

reasonable juror could find that ABC was stating by implication

that Judge Dodds in fact decided issues by consulting the crystal

ball.” Dodds v. American Broadcasting Company, Inc., 145 F.3d

1053, 1064 (9th Cir. 1998) (App. A, at 22a.) It based this finding

on four factors: (1) that references to the crystal ball did not

specify that the judge only used the ball to support his decisions;

(2) that ABC accompanied a spoken reference to the crystal

ball with a visual image of the judge on the bench where,

presumably, he was deciding cases; (3) that the context of the

piece, i.e., the focus on “outrageous” behavior, supported such

an implication; and (4) that the reporter opened the segment by

referring to the accusation that Judge Dodds justified his

decisions [by using the ball]. /d. at 21a-22a.

Second, the Court applied the Ninth Circuit rule established

in Newton v. National Broadcasting Co., Inc., 930 F.2d 662,

Neston

ee

5

681 (9th Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 502 U.S. 866 (1991). Under

Newton, petitioner had to show that a jury could reasonably

find by clear and convincing evidence that ABC intended to

convey the defamatory impression. As to this prong, the

appellate court considered only one piece of evidence: the fact

that ABC originally slated petitioner in a category entitled “how

judges decide.” Jd. at 22a. However, the Court of Appeals

reasoned that, since the final show did not contain an actual

category titled “how judges decide,” a reasonable juror could

not find an intention to make the defamatory implication.

The appellate court also found that the segment itself did

not contain any language demonstrating that ABC endorsed

the defamatory implication. The court concluded that there was

“no evidence” that the show’s producers intended to convey

the impression that petitioner used the crystal ball to make his

decisions. Jd. at 222-24a.

In concluding that there was “no evidence” of intent, the

Court of Appeal inexplicably ignored all of the evidence which

had led it to conclude that the defamatory impression arose in

the first place: i.e., the context of the piece; the conscious choice

to place a visual shot of the petitioner on the bench with a

Statement referring to the crystal ball; and the open-ended

rcferences to the crystal ball.

The appellate court likewise ignored the fact that, tecause

ABC had originally categorized Judge Dodds as showing “how

judges decide,” a jury could easily — and reasonably — infer

that ABC had pre-committed itself to building a show which

indeed used Judge Dodds to show how judges decided, and

that ABC had set up footage to support the implication that

Judge Dodds decided cases by consulting a crystal ball. The

court also ignored additional circumsiantial evidence of intent

to defame, including, inter alia, the facts that the producer

6

destroyed his notes on the program after he knew that Judge

Dodds had demanded a retraction (and ABC permitted the

destruction), and that ABC acknowledged that it intended

certain loaded words to apply to Judge Dodds.

Finally, the Ninth Circuit refused to reconsider Newton’s

requirement that intent to make the defamatory implication be

determined under a subjective test as opposed to an objective

test, i.e., liability based on the “reasonable viewer’s” perception.

The appellate court reasoned that an objective standard would

improperly allow a finding of actual malice where a journalist

was merely negligent in misleading the public. The court noted

that other Circuits employed a “similar actual intent

requirement” in cases involving defamation by implication. /d.,

citing Chapin v. Knight-Ridder, 993 F.2d 1087, 1093 (4th Cir.

1993) and White v. Fraternal Order of Police, 909 F.2d 512,

520 (D.C. Cir. 1990).

Having concluded as it did, the appellate court affirmed

the trial court’s granting of summary judgment. Petitioner’s

request for rehearing and suggestion for rehearing en banc were

thereafter denied. This petition followed.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I.

THIS CASE PRESENTS AN IMPORTANT QUESTION

OF CONSTITUTIONAL LAW ON WHICH THE

CIRCUITS DIFFER AND WHICH MUST BE SETTLED

BY THIS COURT.

The Ninth Circuit now requires a public figure plaintiff to

demonstrate the defendant’s subjective intent to defame, as part

of the actual malice test. Newton, supra 930 F.2d at 680-681;

Cte dioed Geka

cob se tn G hina the

pias iiacivae Tieladrin acs

ae ST ae ee eee ee Maral

7

Eastwood v. National Enquirer, Inc., 123 F.3d 1249, 1256 and

n.20 (9th Cir. 1997); this case, Dodds, 145 F.3d at 1604. Under

this test, the fact that the implication is “clear and unescapable”

is not evidence of actual malice. Newton, supra, 930 F.2d at

680.4

In this case, the Ninth Circuit test has immunized a network

defendant who broadcast what any reasonable juror would

consider a hit piece on a sitting judge. It attacked Judge Dodds

with a defamatory implication truly horrifying to the public,

i.e., that a judge, the theoretical bastion of reason and justice,

decided sensitive matters such as adoption and molestation

cases by consulting a crystal ball.°

4. Even if there were no conflict among the Circuits, this Court

could grant this petition. The Newton subjective test must be scrutinized

as a matter of constitutional interpretation, because it generates

apparently inconsistent results. Compare, Newton (the fact that the

defamatory implication was inescapable, and evidence of the producer's

deliberate choices which led to that implication, did not establish intent,

930 F.2d at 680, 685); Eastwood (specific editorial choices demonstrated

the intent to convey the defamatory implication, 123 F.3d at 1256); and

Dodds (choice of audio/visual combinations, context of segment, and

evidence of a pre-commitment to showing petitioner as “deciding” cases

with a crystal ball were “no evidence” of intent to convey defamatory

statement, 145 F.3d at 1064). These inconsistent results and analyses

would be obviated by the application of an objective test. An objective

test would take into account the reality of television, i.e., the conscious,

intentional joining of video and audio to reach the audience, as well as

the nature of defamatory implications. It would aiso foster responsible,

rather than undisciplined, journalism, without unduly chilling the

exercise of First Amendment rights.

5. The Ninth Circuit has not been protective of jurists as a general

rule. See, e.g., Standing Committee v. Yagman, 55 F.3d 1430 (9th Cir.

1995), finding that the statements that the judge had a penchant for

sancuoning Jewish lawyers, that the judge was dishonest, and that the

judge was drunk on the bench, did not justify sanctions.

8

The Seventh Circuit also requires a showing of intent as

part of the actual malice determination, but its test differs from

that of the Ninth Circuit in critical respects. First, it permits a

finding of intent if the statement could reasonably have only

the defamatory meaning ascribed to it. Woods v. Evansville

Press Company, Inc., 791 F.2d 480, 488 (7th Cir. 1986). Second,

it also permits a finding of intent if there is evidence to show

that the publisher was aware that the reader could reasonably

interpret the statement to contain the defamatory implication.

Id. at 487; see also Saenz v. Playboy Enterprises, Inc., 841

F.2d 1309, 1318 (7th Cir. 1988) (plaintiff can establish that the

defendant was reckless toward the implications). This

formulation of the rule thus suggests an objective standard,

squarely conflicting with the Ninth Circuit rule.

Additionally, although the Fourth and District of Columbia

Circuits require evidence that the defendant intends or endorses

the defamatory implication, their intent determinations are not

part of the actual malice test. Instead, these Circuits require

the showing of intent to establish that the language is susceptible

of bearing the defamatory meaning. Chapin, supra, 993 F.2d

at 1092-93; White, supra, 909 F.2d at 520.

To the extent that the Fourth and District of Columbia

Circuits consider the issue as bearing on whether the meaning

is defamatory, the constitutional malice test is not implicated.

See Masson v. New Yorker Magazine, Inc., 501 U.S. 496, 522

(1991) (whether the quotation was defamatory was an issue of

state law, not First Amendment law). Because the issue is not

constitutional malice, then the intent test of the Fourth and

District of Columbia Circuits conflicts with the tests of the

Ninth and Seventh Circuits.

The issue of intent in defamation by implication cases is

of critical importance at this juncture. This is the electronic

9

age. Television production is highly sophisticated, including

the production of “news.” Networks vie for audience share as

they fashion slick “news journals” with a far from neutral slant.

Sound bites and visual cues are linked together and gone within

seconds, leaving the viewer/listener with only a powerful

sensory impression. That fast “take” cannot be diminished by

reviewing, or by additionally scrutinizing, the report, as the

viewer can do with the printed page.

The possibilities of electronic media were unimaginable

only a few decades ago, when this Court decided New York

Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254, 84 S. Ct. 710 (1964). Also

unimaginable was the ease with which this media form could

abuse the First Amendment protections carefully carved out

for the press by judicial interpretation. In particular, it was

impossible to conceive of the post-computer age media

journalist’s potential for implied defamatory statements.

Defamation by implication has always raised unique

problems for courts attempting to strike a proper constitutional

balance between free speech and the individual’s right to be

secure in good name and reputation. As one court explained:

An implication or impression . . . is a ‘created’

statement flowing from the positioning of explicit

statements. While it may or may not have been

conceived in the head of the author, it is nevertheless

born when the page is printed. Logic fails when one

defamed by such a “created” statement is required

to show knowledge of or reckless disregard for its

falsity, when in fact it can rarely be proven that the

author even knew of the implication.

As a result, the actual malice standard, as now

applied, rewards a publisher or reporter for

10

communicating a statement in a surreptitious and

invidious manner by implication. This is especially

repugnant where, as here, the implication creates

an appearance of fact rather than of mere opinion.

Such result defeats the very purpose of the recent

protections afforded to media expression concerning

public figures — free flow of information vital to

responsible decision-making in a democratic

society.

Cochran vy. Indianapolis Newspapers, Inc., 175 Ind. App. 548,

563, 372 N.E. 2d 1211, 1222 (Ind. App. 1978). See also Saenz

v. Playboy Enterprises, Inc., 841 F.2d 1309, 1314 (7th Cir.

1988) (rejecting requirement that defamatory statements

specifically libel the plain«ff, stating: “A legal fiction denying

the existence of clearly discernable, though not explicit charges,

exposes public officials to baseless accusations and public

mistrust while preinoting an undisciplined brand of journalism

both unproductive to society and, as we see it, unprotected by

constitutional considerations.”).

Striking the proper balance became additionally

complicated with the advent of the electronic, computer-media

age. Implications easily arise from a televised voice-over

referring to one subject, connected with “flash” shots of emotive

power, such as a shot of a judge being led away in handcuffs,

or a shot of a judge ruling from the bench. A television broadcast

can create a defamatory impression simply by joining a true

statement with a skeptical tone of voice or a contradictory visual

image. And the problem of defamatory implication is

particularly acute when the broadcast is ostensibly a news

broadcast:

Unlike hyperbole or satire, the publication of

implied defamatory statements against the

1]

background of apparently objective and neutral

reporting is almost certain to be understood as

factual. Moreover, the implied defamatory facts in

this context may be given even more credence by

the listener where, as here, the reports profess to be

objective, yet subtly imply that the publisher tends

to believe the sources alleging the defamatory facts.

_ Weller v. American Broadcasting Companies, Inc., 232 Cal.

App. 3d 991, 1004; 283 Cal. Rptr. 644 (Cal. Ct. App. 1991)

(finding defamatory implication reasonable). See also Southern

Air Transport, Inc. v. American Broadcasting Companies, Inc.,

877 F.2d 1010, 1015 (D.C. Cir. 1989) (“the television medium

offers the publisher the opportunity, through visual presentation,

to emphasize certain segments in ways that cannot be

ascertained from a mere reading of the transcript.” (internal

quotation marks omitted); Lasky v. American Broadcasting

Companies, Inc., 631 F. Supp. 962, 970 (S.D. N.Y. 1986)

(juxtaposition of the varying segments into audio and video

mosaic conveys the meaning or meanings intended).

Most critically important, with respect to any question of

intent, the television broadcast involves a conscious mixture

of more than one multi-dimensional element. This means that

the television defendant, even more than the news print

defendant, must deliberately choose and match the components

of the published material, based on his or her professional

understanding of how the mixture will be understood by the

reasonable viewer.

It is time for this Court, as a matter of first impression, to

reassess the duty of the electronic media as it exercises its

phenomenal powers. With the exercise of rights should come

accompanying duties. At the very least, a broadcast defendant

should be held accountable for what it actually does: i.e., it

12

carefully and intentionally considers the reasonable

implications of its statements on the viewers, before publishing.

And, where the defamatory implication it leaves is clear, the

defendant should bear the burden of its patent insinuations: that

clarity of implication should be considered evidence of the

defendant’s intent.

CONCLUSION

This petition should be granted because there is a clear

conflict among the Circuits on the rule to apply in defamation

by implication cases. Because the issue of intent is of great

importance, and likely to recur, this Court should settle the

conflict among the Circuits and establish whether the intent

determination is constitutional; whether it forms part of the

actual malice determination; and, if it does, whether it may be

met by an objective standard.

For the foregoing reasons, a writ of certiorari should issue

to review the judgment and opinion of the Ninth Circuit Court

of Appeals.

Respectfully submitted,

A. BARRY CAPPELLO

Counsel of Record

CAPPELLO & McCANN LLP

Attorneys for Petitioner

831 State Street

Santa Barbara, California 93101-3227

(805) 564-2444

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A — OPINION FOR THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS NINTH CIRCUIT

DECIDED MAY 27, 1998

United States Court of Appeals,

Ninth Circuit.

No. 96-56300

Honorable Bruce W. DODDS,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

V.

AMERICAN BROADCASTING COMPANY, INC., a

Delaware Corporation,

Defendant-Appellee.

Argued Oct. 9, 1997.

Decided May 27, 1998.

State court judge brought defamation action against

broadcaster of program which included numerous comments

on judge’s performance. The United States District Court for

the Central District of California, Stephen V. Wilson, J., granted

summary judgment for broadcaster on three claims, and

dismissed remaining claims. Judge appealed. The Court of

Appeals, Reinhardt, Circuit Judge, held that: (1) neither

statement that judge often used crystal ball to support his

decisions nor implied statement that judge used crystal ball to

make his decisions was defamatory; (2) implied statements that

were subject of dismissed claims were not actionable; and (3)

2a

Appendix A

expressions of opinion regarding public official’s “fitness” for

the position constitute protected speech.

Affirmed.

Steven M. Perry, Los Angeles, CA, for defendant-appellee.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the Central

District of California Stephen V. Wilson, District Judge,

Presiding

Before: REINHARDT and TASHIMA, Circuit Judges, and

FITZGERALD, Senior District Judge.*

REINHARDT, Circuit Judge:

It has been said by supporters of the Honorable Bruce

Dodds, a California state court judge, that he is “tough,” “short,”

“abrupt,” “direct,” “rude,” “impatient,” and “gruff ' Dodds v.

Commission on Judicial Performance, 12 Cal.4th 163, 48

Cal.Rptr.2d 106, 906 P.2d 1260, 1265 (1995). It has been said

by others less sympathetic to his cause that he uses a crystal

ball in deciding cases and that he is “anything but a respectable

superior court judge.” Perhaps understandably, the latter

remarks, broadcast nationwide on a news magazine program

by the American Broadcasting Company (“ABC”), were the

source of considerable consternation to Judge Dodds. In an

effort to clear his name and unsully his reputation, he brought

a defamation action against ABC, alleging that the network

* The Honorable James M. Fitzgerald, Senior United States District

Judge for the District of Alaska, sitting by designation.

3a

Appendix A

acted with actual malice in broadcasting numerous comments

regarding his performance as a judge. He asserted that ABC’s

broadcast portrayed him as a criminal and as someone who is

unfit for judicial service. We consider in this appeal whether

the district court properly granted summary judgment in favor

of ABC as to the crystal ball comment and whether it properly

dismissed the remainder of the claims Judge Dodds now

appeals.

BACKGROUND

While Judge Bruce Dodds was being investigated by the

California Commission on Judicial Performance (“the

Commission”) on allegations of judicial misconduct, the ABC

news magazine program “Prime Time Live” profiled him and

two other judges in a segment entitled “Who’s Judging the

Judges.” The program was broadcast on television stations

across the country in October 1994. According to one of the

show’s producers, the purpose of the segment was to examine

critically the disciplinary processes for judges who have been

accused of misconduct, using three individual judges as

examples. Although it purported to focus on the disciplinary

process, much of the segment was devoted to detailing the

misconduct itself.

The basic format of this type of show is familiar to most

T'V viewers: a news reporter interviews various people about a

certain topic, and then combines clips of interviews and

narration in order to construct a newsworthy report. Usually

there are several segments in each program. In the program at

issue, ABC news anchor Diane Sawyer introduced the segment

that gave rise to this case by explaining that fellow ABC news

reporter Cynthia McFadden was going to report on “judges

4a

Appendix A

whose conduct seems downright scandalous.” Immediately

following this introduction, the segment cut to clips of three

individuals commenting on the behavior of unidentified judges;

the first individual described a judge, shortly to be revealed < .

Judge Dodds, as “a court jester... anything but a respectable

superior court judge,” while the next two individuals explained

that they had been victims of other judges’ sexual misconduct.

McFadden elaborated on the theme of the show: “Last year,

12,000 complaints were filed against state court judges, yet

more than 85 percent of these complaints were dismissed with

little or no investigation. . . . [W]e decided to take a closer look.”

McFadden introduced Professor Geoffrey Hazard, a highly

regarded expert in the area of legal ethics, explaining that the

professor “says there’s a troubling tension between having an

independent judiciary and reviewing the judges’ behavior.”

Professor Hazard then stated: “The problem of who judges the

judges is, particularly in a democracy, perhaps as difficult a

question as there can be.” McFadden noted that many

complaints against judges are frivolous, and that “(t]he trick is

to identify the serious ones.” The segment then featured stories

on three different judges from different parts of the country.

The segment first told the story of a judge in Indiana who

had been accused of sexually molesting juveniles and was

awaiting trial on other criminal charges. In that report, a young

man explained how he had met the judge when he was in court

as a juvenile offender and how the judge had taken an interest

in him. Approximately two years later, the youth said, the judge

began demanding sex from him. McFadden reported that

although the judge had also been accused of similar conduct

with other young men who had been in the juvenile justice

system, nothing happened until the youth featured on the

;

7

Sa

Appendix A

program helped police arrange a sting operation. She stated

that at the time of the broadcast, the judge was facing trial on

charges of solicitation of a prostitute and drug dealing.

Following this story, which concluded with shots of the

judge being led off in handcuffs, the segment turned to Judge

Dodds. McFadden introduced the story by asserting:

In the past four years, I’ve covered about 250 trials, most

of them gavel to gavel. I’ve often been struck by the way that

judges justify their decisions on thorny points, often with

wisdom drawn from experience, or with a superior grasp of the

law. But never the way a judge in California has been accused

of.

This portion of the segment cut first to a newsclip of Dodds

denying any wrongdoing. Then McFadden explained that “[flor

the past several years, a stream of complaints” had been lodged

against Judge Dodds concerning his lack of “judicial

temperament.” The segment then featured clips of interviews

with people who had dealt with Judge Dodds and reports by

McFadden regarding the allegations of misconduct against the

judge. McFadden stated, for example, that a former court clerk

had declared in a sworn statement that Judge Dodds would read

newspapers and magazines while he was on the bench, and that

he had screamed and spit in court.

Two litigants who had appeared in Judge Dodds’s

courtroom also recounted their negative experiences. Cindy

Hart, whose divorce case was heard by the judge, stated that he

had acted disrespectfully towards her and that when she took

the witness stand to testify, he had said: “All I have to do is

look at her to see she has psychological problems.”

6a

Appendix A

The report then focused on another litigant, Christine Johnson,

who had appeared in front of Judge Dodds during the preceding

year. Johnson and her son had sued the Catholic church, alleging

that a priest had sexually molested the son. She described how the ~

judge belittled their claim during a settlement conference and how

he told her that because there were only two incidents of sexual

molestation, it was “no big deal, and juries don’t like to hear about

things that aren’t very juicy.” McFadden then explained how Judge

Dodds had pressured Johnson into accepting a low settlement offer:

According to Johnson, Judge Dodds kept a crystal ball on the

conference table in his chambers, where the parties engaged in

settlement negotiations. After telling her what he thought her case

was worth, Judge Dodds pressed a button on the crystal ball. The

crystal ball responded “yes,” confirming Dodds’ settlement figure,

and the judge then said to Johnson “There it is. That’s it. That’s

what you get.” McFadden stated that “(IJawyers, litigants, and

[Dodds’s] former clerk all say Dodds often used the crystal ball to

support his decisions.”

McFadden unsuccessfully attempted to interview J udg2 Dodds

about the allegations and the segment included footage ©” the judge

refusing to talk with her. Following this clip, McFadden explained

that Judge Dodds had refused the interview because “state law

prevented him from talking about the case.” She then stated that

ABC personnel had actually seen the crystal ball on a table in

Judge Dodds’s chambers. In conclusion, McFadden noted that the

commission investigating Judge Dodds, later referred to by Sawyer

as “the secret commission,” did not call as witnesses any of the

women who had been interviewed by ABC.

Immediately following the report on Judge Dodds, the segment

turned to a story on a South Carolina magistrate who had sexually

mc ‘ested litigants for years. All told, 20 women came forward

F

*

4

x

a

aie

Ta

Appendix A

with complaints about the magistrate’s abusive behavior. The

magistrate was eventually arrested and charged with multiple

counts of assault and battery and official misconduct. He

pleaded no contest to all the charges, but was only sentenced

to 400 hours of community service and a $500 fine, despite the

fact that he could have been sentenced to a 35-year term of

imprisonment and a fine of $35,000. One of his victims

expressed her outrage at the punishment, quipping that “[t]he

penalty for molesting an alligator in this state is higher than

the penalty that [the magistrate] got for molesting a woman.”

McFadden ended her part of the program with the

following:

Experts say whether judges get away with abusing their

public office depends on three factors — how vigorously

complaints are investigated, whether secrecy is used to protect

judges from serious charges and whether the political climate

is such that judges are punished fairly.

Diane Sawyer then offered two final notes. With respect

to the Dodds part of the story, she first stated that the judge

denied all the allegations against him; second, she stated that

the Commission would neither confirm nor deny that an

investigation of Judge Dodds was underway.' Sawyer concluded

1. The Commission eventually found that Judge Dodds had engaged

in misconduct and recommended that he be censured publicly. Dodds,

48 Cal.Rptr.2d 106, 906 P.2d at 1260. As the California Supreme Court

reported:

[t]he bases for the Commission’s recommendation [were] (1) that

[Dodds] obstructed a law enforcement investigation, (2) that [Dodds]

(Cont'd)

8a

Appendix A

the segment by reporting that a number of civil actions had

been instituted in South Carolina against the sexually abusive

magistrate and that the FBI had commenced an investigation.

Immediately after the program aired, Judge Dodds sought

a retraction from ABC. ABC refused and Dodds brought suit

(Cont'd)

“has frequently given the appearance of rudeness and prejudgment in

his handling of cases,” and (3) that [Dodds] made an offensive remark

in chambers about two lawyers who had appeared before him.

Id. 906 P.2d at 1263.

With respect to the obstruction of justice charge, which related to

an incident in which Judge Dodds witnessed another judge letting the

air out of a tire on a car parked in the other judge's parking space, the

California Supreme Court determined that although Dodds’s conduct

was “unjudicial and prejudicial,” it did not constitute wilful misconduct.

Id. at 1269. With respect to the in-chambers offensive remark about

two lawyers, the court dismissed the charge on the ground that the

California Constitution precluded discipline for offenses occurring “

‘more than 6 years prior to the commencement of the judge's current

term.’ ” Id. at 1270 (quoting Cal. Const. art VI, § 18(c)). The California

Supreme Court agreed, however, with the Commission's finding that

Judge Dodds’s “rudeness and prejudgment in the handling of cases, as

exhibited on four occasions, constituted prejudicial conduct,” id. at 1269,

and that it brought “disrepute on the judicial office.” Id. at 1270. The

court then noted that “[t]he record in this case is replete with evidence

that [Dodds] is a talented judge who is often sought for his ability to

settle difficult cases.” Id. at 1271. It then concluded by saying “ ‘[t}he

purpose of these proceedings is not to punish errant judges but to protect

the judicial system and those subject to the awesome power that judges

wield.’ We conclude that public censure in this case would not further

this purpose.” Id. (citations omitted) (quoting Furey v. Commission on

Judicial Performance, 43 Cal.3d 1297, 240 Cal.Rptr. 859, 743 P.2d 919

(1987)). It therefore vacated the punishment.

9a

Appendix A

against the network for slander and intentional infliction of

emotional distress. In his complaint, he alleged that

approximately 13 direct or implied statements made during the

broadcast were slanderous and false and that ABC had depicted

him as a criminal and unfit for office. The complaint further

alleged that ABC was negligent aad reckless because it

broadcast the statements without regard for their truth or

falsehood. ABC moved to dismiss the complaint pursuant to

Fed.R.Civ.P. 12(b)(6). After a hearing, the district court granted

the motion in part and denied it in part, dismissing as not

actionable ten of the allegedly defamatory statements. In doing

so, the district court narrowed the statements Judge Dodds had

complained of down to the following three: (1) the statement

that Dodds uses a crystal ball to support his decisions; (2) the

statement that he consistently reads newspapers and magazines

while he is on the bench; and (3) the statement that he screamed,

yelled, and spit in the courtroom.

Subsequently, after additional discovery and depositions,

ABC moved for summary judgment on the claims regarding

the three remaining statements. Judge Dodds opposed ABC’s

motion only with respect to the statement that he used a crystal

ball, which as the district court explained, boiled down to an

argument that ABC, “by stating that he uses a crystal ball to

support his decisions. . . impl[ied] that he only makes decisions

based on a crystal ball.” Because the district court found that

Dodds had failed to produce sufficient evidence to support a

finding that ABC acted with actual malice, it granted ABC’s

motion for summary judgment.

Judge Dodds appeals the district cou. i’s grant of summary

judgment as to the crystal ball claim, as well as the district

court's dismissal of seven of the ten dismissed claims. He does

10a

Appendix A

not challenge the grant of summary judgment as to the

statements that he read the newspaper and magazines on the

bench and that he screamed, yelled, and spit in the courtroom;

nor does he appeal the dismissal of three of the claims the

district court dismissed.

DISCUSSION

Judges provide an easy and attractive target for unwarranted

verbal assaults by all kinds of people, some of whom are simply

frustrated by life or desirous of shifting the blame for their

own failures to others, and some of whom find it to their

personal advantage for one reason or another to criticize the

judiciary or the judicial system. Judges are assaulted verbally

by litigants, lawyers, state and federal public officials, the

media, and even their superiors on the bench. The attacks range

from the political (such as attacks on “activist” judges) to the

highly personal, see, e.g., Standing Committee v. Yagman, 55

F.3d 1430, 1433-35, 1434 n. 4 (9th Cir.1995), from the bizarre

to the outrageous. Sprinkled among these assaults, however,

are legitimate expressions of criticism that constitute an

essential part of the examination of the workings of an important

government institution — an institution that must remain fully

open to public scrutiny.

Wise judges, even when wounded by unfair assaults, have

learned that the best policy is ordinarily to dismiss the attacks

as part of the baggage of their jobs. Abusive criticism simply

goes with the territory. Often it is best not to dignify the assaults

or to fall into the traps set by one’s critics. See United States v.

Flynt, 756 F.2d 1352 (9th Cir.1985). Thin-skinned judges

sometimes make the problem worse by seeking retribution for the

insults, instead of maintaining the dignity their office demands.

eines deiiandRicaatiic element

RASA Bee

lla

Appendix A

That is not to say that the bench is helpless or that the bar

should not speak forcefully in defense of the bench when judges

are unjustly maligned. Doing so is indeed an important part of

the bar’s responsibility. It is all too often the case, however,

that when the judge himself enters the fray as an active

combatant what was already an unfortunate episode tends to

become an ugly and demeaning public spectacle. Id. Similarly,

judges must remain conscious of the bar’s right of free speech,

which may involve expressions that are distasteful, if not

reprehensible. See Yagman, 55 F.3d at 1444-45.

Nevertheless, judges, like all other persons, have rights

and may choose to answer or litigate when they believe that

they have been wronged. Among their options is the filing of

an action for defamation, as Judge Dodds did here. However,

as we have already indicated, along with the advantages of

public office come some limitations on the rights enjoyed by

the average citizen.

It is well established that the First Amendment provides

broad protection for journalistic expression that is critical of

the conduct of public officials, including judges. One protection

is that because Dodds is a public figure, ABC’s broadcast

concerning his alleged judicial misconduct wil] expose the

network to liability under state defamation laws only if ABC

acted with “actual malice.” See New York Times v. Sullivan,

376 U.S. 254, 280, 279-80, 84 S.Ct. 710, 11 L.Ed.2d 686 (1964).

This high standard of proof shields journalists who expose

misconduct by public officials from liability and thereby guards

against the chilling effect that state defamation laws may have

on the free flow of information with respect to matters of public

concern. Id. at 279, 84 S.Ct. 710. Another important protection

is that the media and the public are free to express their opinions

l2a

Appendix A

regarding the fitness or qualifications of public officials,

including judges, to hold office, as long as in doing so they do

not make statements of fact that are otherwise actionable. See

Monitor Patriot Co. v. Roy, 401 U.S. 265, 91 S.Ct. 621, 28

L.Ed.2d 35 (1971). The right to express such opinions lies at

the heart of the democratic process, and it is, indeed, an

oft-exercised form of free speech.

I. SUMMARY JUDGMENT

In order to survive ABC’s motion for summary judgment,

Dodds must establish that a reasonable jury could find by clear

and convincing evidence that ABC published the challenged

statements with knowledge of their falsity or with reckless

disregard for their truth or falsity. Anderson v. Liberty Lobby,

Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 255-56, 106 S.Ct. 2505, 91 L.Ed.2d 202

(1986); see also Masson v. New Yorker Magazine, Inc., 501

U.S. 496, 511, 111 S.Ct. 2419, 115 L.Ed.2d 447 (1991). With

respect to “reckless disregard,” Judge Dodds must demonstrate

that a genuine issue of fact exists with respect to whether ABC

subjectively doubted the veracity of the statements. Bose C orp.

v. Consumers Union, 466 U.S. 485, 513, 104 S.Ct. 1949, 80

L.Ed.2d 502 (1984). Our assessment regarding whether

summary judgment is proper is influenced by the burden of

proof Dodds would bear at trial. Anderson, 477 U.S. at 254,

252-54, 106 S.Ct. 2505 (“When determining if a genuine factual

issue as to actual malice exists in a libel suit brought by a public

figure, a trial judge must bear in mind the actual quantum and

quality of proof necessary to support liability under New York

Times.”).

We agree with the district court that Judge Dodds did not

meet his burden and that ABC was therefore entitled to summary

| >

—— a en

tte

13a

Appendix A

judgment. Dodds failed to establish that a jury could reasonably

find by clear and convincing evidence that ABC acted with

actual malice with respect to the statement that he often uses a

crystal ball.

The Crystal Ball

Judge Dodds’s opposition to the district court’s award of

summary judgment is based on his objection to ABC’s assertion

that he used a crystal ball in the decision-making process. Dodds

maintains that two distinct defamatory statements arose from

the broadcast: (1) that he often used the crystal ball to support

his judicial decisions, and (2) that he regularly used the crystal

ball to make his judicial decisions, either of which could form

a basis for his defamation claim.”

The first direct reference to the crystal ball was uttered in

the segment’s introduction by Cindy Hart, an interviewee who

had been a litigant in Judge Dodds’s courtroom. Hart declared

that “[hJe uses a crystal ball often, even in adoption cases.”

Although Judge Dodds was not specifically identified as such,

he was clearly the subject of Hart's statement. The second direct

statement was made during Judge Dodds’s part of the segment

by another former litigant, Christine Johnson, who told ABC

during an interview that the judge “had a crystal ball on the

settlement conference table where he asked us to sit.” Johnson,

who was suing the Catholic Church on behalf of her son, then

described her experience with Judge Dodds and his use of the

crystal ball to support the settlement figure he proposed. Finally,

in a third direct statement about the crystal ball, McFadden

2. For purposes of this opinion, we assume that the statements

would be defamatory under California State law, that is that they are

demonstrably false and that they caused damage to Dodds’s reputation.

l4a

Appendix A

asserted: “Lawyers, litigants and his former clerk all say Dodds

often used the crystal ball to support his decisions.” There was,

of course, also the indirect reference in McFadden’s

introduction of the part of the segment relating to Judge Dodds.

Judge Dodds chailenges McFadden’s direct statement that

he often used the crystal ball to support his decisions, as well

as the statement he argues is implied in the direct statement of

Hart that he regularly used the crystal ball to make his

decisions.°

As we noted above, Judge Dodds could prevail by showing

either that ABC knowingly published false statements or that

ABC acted with reckless disregard for the truth — that is, by

showing that ABC had “ ‘obvious reasons to doubt the veracity’

of its reporting, but engaged in ‘purposeful avoidance of the

truth.” " Eastwood v. National Enquirer, Inc., 123 F.3d 1249

(9th Cir.1997) (quoting St. Amant v. Thompson, 390 U.S. 727,

732, 88 S.Ct. 1323, 20 L.Ed.2d 262 (1968), and Harte-Hanks

Communications, Inc. v. Connaughton, 491 U.S. 657, 109 S.Ct.

2678, 105 L.Ed.2d 562 (1989)). We are guided in our analysis

by the Supreme Court’s reasoning in Harte-Hanks, which

elaborated on the high standard of proof required to show that

a defendant acted with reckless disregard.

3. If the only crystal-ball related statement at issue in this case

were Johnson's, Dodds’s admission during his deposition that he recalled

using the ball during her settlement conference (but only for levity) would

be dispositive of this claim because he would have failed to establish

the falsity of the statement. However, Dodds alleges that ABC’s

broadcast of the other material effectively implied that he often used

the crystal ball, an assertion he denies. We believe that a reasonable

juror could conclude that the statements carry the implication that Dodds

regularly used a crystal ball to support his decisions.

a eT

15a

Appendix A

A “reckless disregard” for the truth .. . requires

more than a departure from reasonably prudent

conduct. There must be sufficient evidence to permit

the conclusion that the defendant in fact entertained

serious doubts as to the truth of his publication. The

standard is a subjective one--there must be sufficient

evidence to permit the conclusion that the defendant

actually had a high degree of awareness of probable

falsity. As a result, failure to investigate before

publishing, even when a reasonably prudent person

would have done so, is not sufficient to establish

reckless disregard. In a case such as this involving

the reporting of a third party’s allegations,

recklessness may be found where there are obvious

reasons to doubt the veracity of the informant or

the accuracy of his reports.

Id. at 688, 109 S.Ct. 2678 (internal quotations and citations

omitted) (emphasis added).

In light of this standard, we discuss Judge Dodds’s claim

with respect both to the direct statement that he uses the crystal

ball to support his decision and the implied statement that he

uses the crystal ball to make his decisions, beginning with the

former.

A.

In support of his claim based on McFadden’s assertion that

he often used a crystal ball to support his decisions, Judge Dodds

contends that there was sufficient evidence from which a

reasonable juror could find that ABC had actual knowledge as

to the falsity of this statement. He relies principally on a

16a

Appendix A |

common-sense argument: ABC was aware that the crystal ball

was a toy and “this fact plain!y suggested that the crystal ball

toy would not be used as support for any judicial decision,”

particularly in view of the fact that the ball responded in the

negative half of the time. Judge Dodds also points out that

McFadden admitted in her deposition that she thought it possible

that he was using the crystal ball for “levity.” In essence, he

argues that no one could honestly believe that a sitting judge

would use a toy in the context of serious judicial proceedings.‘

He concludes by saying that ABC must have known that he did

not use the crystal ball to support his decisions and consequently

must have known that its statement to that effect was false.

For several reasons, we are not persuaded by this argument.

Significantly, we note that numerous sources informed ABC

that they were personally aware of Judge Dodds’s use of the

crystal ball in the manner suggested by the litigants who actually

appeared in the broadcast. These additional sources included

other litigants, a former clerk, and attorneys who had dealings

with Judge Dodds. In addition, although its methods of

obtaining the information left something to be desired, ABC

confirmed that a crystal ball sat on Judge Dodds’s table in |

chambers; one of the show’s producers took advantage of an :

open door to the chambers and forced his way inside where it

sat in plain view. The fact that the crystal ball was obviously a

toy is of little consequence. People, even judges, do peculiar

things and engage in bizarre conduct. That, in fact, was precisely

ABC’s point about Judge Dodds. Moreover, it would have been

just as (if not more) absurd and unbelievable if ABC’s

4. We note that the persuasiveness of this argument is significantly

undercut by Dodds’s own admission during his deposition that he had

in fact used the crystal ball during the settlement negotiations involving

Johnson.

i

17a

Appendix A

investigation indicated that Dodds had been using a “real”

crystal ball to support his decisions.

Alternatively, Judge Dodds asserts that ABC’s sources were

unreliable and that its investigation was shoddy. From this

evidence, he argues, a reasonable jury could conclude that ABC

acted with reckless disregard for the truth. To prevail under

this theory, Dodds must show that ABC had “ ‘obvious reasons

to doubt the veracity’ of its reporting,” but deliberately avoided

learning the truth. Eastwood, 123 F.3d at 1251 (quoting St.

Amant, 390 U.S. at 732, 88 S.Ct. 1323). Toward this end, he

contends that in addition to the fact that the crystal ball was a

toy, there were other obvious reasons for ABC to question the

truth of its reporting. In particular, he asserts that ABC’s sources

were patently unreliable, in spite of which the network failed

to conduct a more extensive investigation.

With respect to ABC’s sources, Judge Dodds first contends

that Christine Johnson was not trustworthy. In particular, he

maintains that ABC should have been suspicious of Johnson’s

Statements on account of her deep religious convictions.

However, although her religious beliefs may have had some

effect on her view toward the use of a crystal ball, toy or not,

they were not an indication that she was in any way unreliable

or that she did not truthfully report the details of the incident

to ABC. In any event, even if the network had had cause to

doubt her story, the fact that the information she provided to

ABC was consistent with the information ABC obtained from

its other sources would have been sufficient to dispel whatever

doubts might have existed. ABC additionally contacted the

attorneys who had represented Johnson in her lawsuit to confirm

with them her recollection of the settlement conference.

Furthermore, ABC knew that Johnson had made identical

18a

Appendix A

allegations regarding the crystal ball in a letter of complaint

that she had submitted to the California Commission on Judicial

Performance immediately after the incident.

Judge Dodds also challenges the trustworthiness of Cindy

Hart, another former litigant, arguing that she was biased against

him because she was unhappy with the results of her divorce.

It is true that Hart was angry about how she had been treated in

the course of her proceedings before Judge Dodds. It is also

true that her statement that Judge Dodds used the crystal ball

even in adoption cases was not based on first-hand knowledge,

but was instead based on her own research into Dodds’s judicial

activities. ABC did not, however, simply rely on unverified

statements made by a disgruntled litigant. Other sources

confirmed the existence of the crystal ball and Hart’s statements

concerning Judge Dodd’s use of the crystal ball in the context

of adoption cases were corroborated by at least one other source,

an adoption caseworker.

According to Judge Dodds, the former court clerk was also

unreliable because in a sworn declaration regarding her

observations of Dodds’s courtroom behavior, she omitted any

mention of the crystal ball. Dodds maintains that “one would

expect her to allege Judge Dodds’ most serious judicial defects

[but she] said nothing about a crystal ball.” Yet considering

the context in which she made the declaration it was

apparently submitted in connection with Cindy Hart’s ongoing

divorce litigation, as evidence of Dodds’s ill temper--it does

not seem all that unusual that the former clerk would leave the

crystal ball stories out. The ABC producer who researched the

report interviewed the former clerk in person and found her to

be credible. Moreover, ABC had no reason to doubt that the

clerk was telling the truth.

19a

Appendix A

Judge Dodds nonetheless asserts that ABC failed to pursue

other avenues of information, in reckless disregard of its

obligations. For example, he faults McFadden for not contacting

the local bar association or interviewing other judges. He also

asserts that McFadden should have inquired into whether the

crystal ball was real ora toy, arguing that if she hac discovered

it was a toy and that it did not always respond favorably, she

would have learned that he did not actually use the ball to justify

his decisions. In addition, McFadden admitted at her deposition

that she was not as concerned about the underlying truth of the

interviewees’ statements as she was about how complaints

against judges were processed.

Notwithstanding Judge Dodds’s assertions to the contrary,

we conclude that any failures or omissions in ABC’s conduct

with respect to the reliability of its sources fall far short of that

required to establish that it acted with reckless disregard for

the truth. In St. Amant, 390 U.S. at 732-33, 88 S.Ct. 1323, for

example, the Supreme Court held that a journalist does not act

with reckless disregard for the truth when he relies on a source

whose trustworthiness is unknown, so long as the journalist

makes at least some attempt to verify the source’s story. Other

than fairly vague and routine reasons to question their motives,

however, ABC had no particular cause to doubt the veracity of

the people whom it interviewed. There is nothing in the record

to suggest that Johnson, Hart, and the former clerk were prone

to exaggeration or lying or would deliberately engage in such

conduct.

Wholly aside from the question of the crystal ball, Judge

Dodds is correct that ABC could have done a more thorough

and responsible job in general in determining the facts before

presenting its report regarding him. That, however, is not the

20a

Appendix A

test for determining whether the network acted with actual

malice in the context of defamation of a public figure.

Moreover, we note that ABC probably would have satisfied its

burden even if it had initially had reasons to doubt the veracity

of its informants. It did not engage in purposeful avoidance of

the truth, but rather sought out the best possible source to refute

the allegations, either by providing direct evidence or supplying

the names of persons who could do so. That source was Judge

Dodds. Dodds, however, refused to answer the investigator's

questions or to furnish any information at all, as was his

prerogative.

In sum, Judge Dodds has succeeded, at most, in raising a

factual issue regarding whether ABC was negligent in failing

to conduct a more rigorous investigation of its story in general

and its sources in particular. Mere negligence, however, is

insufficient to demonstrate actual malice. Masson, 501 U.S. at

510, 111 S.Ct. 2419. McFadden’s admitted lack of concern

regarding the truth of the statements would only satisfy the

requirements of New York Times if she had a “high degree of

awareness” that the statements were probably false.

Harte-Hanks, 491 U.S. at 688, 109 S.Ct. 2678. Dodds failed to

present any evidence that such was the case, and in any event,

whatever McFadden’s own lack of concern may have been,

ABC satisfied any obligation it may have had by checking the

information it received with a number of knowledgeable

individuals and by providing Judge Dodds with the opportunity

to refute the charges and supply any useful evidence he may

have possessed, including the names of any favorable

witnesses.°

5. The parties have not briefed the question whether, as Dodds

apparently contended, state law precludes judges from commenting on

(Cont'd)

|

2la

Appendix A

B.

Having concluded that ABC did not act with reckless

disregard in broadcasting the statements regarding Judge

Dodds’s use of the crystal ball to support his decisions, we

next consider whether a factually incorrect (and defamatory)

implication arose from these statements; namely that Judge

Dodds used the crystal ball to make his decisions. If so, we

must examine whether ABC can be held liable for such an

implied statement. In order to prevail on his claim that ABC’s

direct statements impliedly defamed him by indirectly stating

that he used the ball to make his decisions, Judge Dodds must

show that the words ABC uttered were reasonably capable of

sustaining that meaning. More important, he must show that a

jury could reasonably find by clear and convincing evidence

that ABC “intended to convey the defamatory impression.”

Newton v. National Broadcasting Co., Inc., 930 F.2d 662, 681

(9th Cir.1990).

As to the first requirement, it may well be that when the

segment 1s viewed in its entirety, the implication Judge Dodds

suggests can readily be drawn from the totality of the

crystal-ball-related statements. The first reference to the crystal

ball was Hart’s general assertion that Judge Dodds “often uses”

the crystal ball. Hart did not specify that the judge uses it only

(Cont'd)

allegations of misconduct or even responding publicly to public charges

when some or all of the allegations are being investigated by the

Commission. Accordingly, we will not undertake to evaluate the

correctness of this assertion. We note, however, that at the end of the

segment Diane Sawyer stated that Judge Dodds had denied all of the

allegations, and also that the segment contained a newsclip of his earlier

denial of them.

22a

Appendix A

to support his decisions. And, as Judge Dodds points out, the

visual accompanying the third statement (McFadden’s

statement that “[l]awyers, litigants and his former clerk all say

Dodds often used the crystal ball to support his decisions”)

showed Dodds on the bench where, presumably, he was

deciding cases. Given the context of the piece, which focused

on “outrageous judicial behavior,” and given McFadden’s

assertion in her introduction of Judge Dodds’s story that she

had witnessed hundreds of trials and had “often been struck by

the way that judges justify their decisions on thorny points .. .

but never the way [Dodds] ha[d] been accused of.” a reasonable

juror could find that ABC was stating by implication that Judge

Dodds in fact decided issues by consulting the crystal ball.

It is not enough, however, to show that this implication

was reasonable. Judge Dodds mus further establish that ABC

intended to convey the defamatory implication — and he must

do so with “convincing clarity.” Newton, 930 F.2d at 682. His

strongest argument in this respect is that during the production

process, ABC had slated him in a category entitled “how judges

decide.” But this evidence is wholly undercut by the undisputed

facts. The category was proposed, and the report on Judge

Dodds initially slated for it, well before ABC began conducting

its interviews about him; however, after ABC completed those

interviews it decided not to use any such Category in the finished

program. We do not think a reasonable juror could find that

ABC's initial contemplation of a plan that it subsequently

abandoned supports a conclusion that it intended to make the

defamatory implication in the show that it actually produced.

There is, in short, simply no evidence that the show’s producers

intended in the actual broadcast to convey to viewers the

impression that Judge Dodds used the crystal ball to make his

decisions. Nor does the segment itself contain any language

eT, atm ald SrA allel i. 8 Nidal alah th Migs

23a

Appendix A

demonstrating that ABC endorses any such defamatory

implication.

Judge Dodds asks us to reconsider Newton ‘s requirement

that the test is a subjective one — that the network must have

actually intended to convey the defamatory impression — and

urges us to adopt in its place an objective, “reasonable viewer”

Standard. Under such a standard, a media defendant would be

liable so long as the ordinary viewer would have perceived the

implication, irrespective of the defendant’s actual intent to

convey the defamatory statement.

Recently, however, we reaffirmed our rule that subjective

or actual intent is required and that “there is no actual malice

where journalists unknowingly mislead the public.” Eastwood,

123 F.3d at 1256. Moreover, all the courts of appeal that have

considered cases involving defamation by implication have

imposed a similar actual intent requirement. See, e.g., Chapin

v. Knight-Ridder, 993 F.2d 1087, 1093 (4th Cir.1993) (“The

language must not only be reasonably read to impart the false

innuendo, but it must also affirmatively suggest that the author

intends or endorses the inference.”); White v. Fraternal Order

of Police, 909 F.2d 512. 520 (D.C.Cir.1990) (“[I]f the

communication, by the particular manner or language in which

the true facts are conveyed, supplies additional, affirmative

evidence suggesting that the defendant intends or endorses the

defamatory inference, the communication will be deemed

capable of bearing that maning.”) (emphasis in Original); see

also Partington v. Bugliosi, 56 F.3d 1147, 1152 n. 9 (9th

Cir.1995) (discussing Chapin and White). Furthermore, we

continue to believe that the Newton test requiring a clear and

convincing showing of subjective or actual intent strikes the

proper balance between protecting victims of defamation and

24a

Appendix A

protecting against the possible chilling effect that results from

overly broad applications of our defamation laws.

Il. DISMISSED CLAIMS

Judge Dodds also asserts that the district court erred in

dismissing seven of his original 13 claims pursuant to

Fed.R.Civ.P. 12(b)(6). The statements in question were not

direct assertions of fact, but rather were, according to Dodds,

implied either by a part of or the entirety of the show. The

statements Judge Dodds contends ABC “made” were as follows:

(1) his conduct was the same as that of an accused

or convicted felon;

(2) he is one of the three worst judges in the country;

(3) he has participated in a secret cover-up of his

improprieties;

(4) he constantly pressures parties to settle cases

for less than they are worth;

(5) he is hiding from public view;

(6) he is eluding discipline because serious

allegations are not vigorously investigated, secrecy

is used to protect him from serious charges, and the

political climate protects him; and

(7) he is “unfit” to serve as a judge.

ABC asserts that it never made the defamatory statements —

in other words, that what it reported in the segment cannot

25a

Appendix A

reasonably be understood to convey the alleged defamatory

implications. Alternatively, it argues that even if the statements

it made could reasonably be so understood, they are not

actionable because they constitute opinions regarding Judge

Dodds’s performance as a judge rather than assertions of fact

susceptible of being proven true or false.

In Milkovich v. Lorain Journal Co., 497 U.S. 1, 20, 110

S.Ct. 2695, 111 L.Ed.2d 1 (1990), the Supreme Court canvassed

its cases concerning the relationship between the First

Amendment and state defamation laws. While the Court refused

to create a strict dichotomy between opinion and fact, as the

defendants had urged, it recognized that there can be no liability

for defamation if a defendant’s direct statement “ ‘cannot

reasonably be interpreted as stating actual facts’ about an

individual” that are provably false. Id. at 20, 110 S.Ct. 2695

(quoting Hustler Magazine v. Falwell, 485 U.S. 46, 50, 108

S.Ct. 876, 99 L.Ed.2d 41 (1988)). Under Milkovich, therefore,

Judge Dodds must show that a reasonable juror could conclude

that the allegedly defamatory implications constituted provably

false assertions of fact.

Accordingly, because Judge Dodds’s claims are based on

statements he alleges are implied in the broadcast, he faces

three obstacles to establishing liadility, in addition to having

to show that the statements are defamatory. Two of the

obstacles--establishing that a reasonable juror could find that

the broadcast either directly or impliedly made the statements,

and establishing that the statements are factual in nature and

susceptible of being proved true or false — present insuperable

problems for Dodds at the motion to dismiss Stage. As we

discussed above, the third obstacle — establishing actual malice

— serves to defeat the crystal ball claim (as well as two others

26a

Appendix A

not appealed) at the summary judgment stage. After carefully

reviewing the claims that were dismissed, and are now appealed,

we agree with the district court that the statements upon which

they were based are not actionable, either because they are not

implications the segment reasonably can be understood to

convey or because they are not assertions of fact and thus cannot

be proved to be false.

A. Dodds’s conduct is the same as that of a felon.

ABC made no explicit statement asserting that Judge Dodds

had engaged in conduct that was equivalent to the actions of a

felon, but he contends that the network intended to convey this

message. He relies principally on the fact that the segment

s-ndwiched his story in between stories on two other judges

each of whom was accused of serious felonious activities. In

particular, he asserts that “the broadcast could have been seen |

by a reasonable viewer as saying that [he] was liable for conduct

not even discussed” and that the broadcast “left the impression

that [he] had committed undisclosed felonies.” We disagree.

Judge Dodds relies on Weller v. American Broadcasting

Companies, Inc., 232 Cal.App.3d 991, 283 Cal.Rptr. 644

(1991), in support of his contention that ABC implied that he

had engaged in criminal activities. The broadcasts at issue in

Weller, however, were of an entirely different character. The

plaintiff in that case had been the subject of an investigation

by the ABC affiliate station in San Francisco. Over the course

of several weeks, the station broadcast numerous pieces

regarding the plaintiffs role in an allegedly fraudulent sale of

two antique candelabra to a local museum. In those broadcasts,

the reporter linked the plaintiff to a convicted felon and clearly

suggested that the plaintiff had played a role in the fraud.

27a

Appendix A

Here, however, ABC made no suggestion that Judge Dodds

was connected to any criminals or to any criminal activity.

Although ABC’s decision to include his Story in the same

segment with stor.es about two other judges whose actual or

alleged conduct was criminal may well have been irresponsible,

and unfair to Judge Dodds, we agree with the district court that

the implication cannot reasonably be drawn that Judge Dodds

was involved in any criminal activity.

B. Dodds is one of the three worst judges in the country.

Judge Dodds maintains that by focusing its story on him

and two other judges, ABC intended to convey to its viewers

that it had selected the three worst judges in the country to

profile. While we think it could reasonably be inferred that

Judge Dodds’s conduct was among the most disturbing that

ABC had uncovered, we do not believe it is a reasonable

inference that the three judges featured in the segment were

the three worst in the country. A reasonable viewer would not

have understood that ABC, by selecting three judges to profile,

was making a statement to that effect. Moreover, even if ABC

had made such a statement, it would be in the nature of an

opinion rather than the type of factual assertion that can be

proved to be demonstrably false.

C. Dodds participated in a cover-up.

In the portion of the segment profiling Judge Dodds, ABC

included shots of a closed door accompanied by McFadden’s

discussion of the Commission’s investigation of the judge.

McFadden stated that several people who had formally

complained about Judge Dodds’s behavior were not asked to

28a

Appendix A

testify before the Commission. He argues that a reasonable

implication of this is that he was participating in a cover-up of

his activities. We do not believe that a reasonable factfinder

could conclude that ABC’s statements conveyed any such

implication. Although the inference might reasonably be drawn

that the Commission was acting in secrecy, perhaps improperly,

there was no implication that Dodds himself was a participant

in any cover-up. Therefore, the statement was not actionable.

D. Dodds pressures parties to settle cases

for less than they are worth.

In connection with Christine Johnson’s statements that

Judge Dodds pressured her into settling her case against the

Catholic Church for far less than what it was worth, Judge

Dodds asserts that ABC implicitly stated that he “wrongfully

and constantly pressures cases to settle for less than they are

worth.” Part of this statement — that he pressures parties to

settle their cases — is not defamatory. In fact, Judge Dodds is

sought after because of his settlement skills. See Dodds, 48

Cal.Rptr.2d 106, 906 P.2d at 1270. Exerting pressure on parties

is part of the settlement process; or at least it is a technique

used by many settlers. The allegation that Judge Dodds exerts

this pressure wrongfully in order to get parties to settle for less

than their cases are worth is not actionable. We agree with the

district court that the term “wrongful” as used in this context is

vague and not susceptible to proof as to its truth or falsity. The

“worth” of cases and whether a judge tries to settle cases for

less than their worth are largely subjective questions involving

difficult and complex legal and practical judgments.

Accordingly, that part of the allegation does not constitute an

assertion of fact that can be proved false.

eae

29a

Appendix A

E. Dodds is hiding from public view.

Judge Dodds contends that ABC’s statement that he refused

to comment, coupled with the film clip of him walking away

from McFadden as she attempted to interview him, conveys

the implication that he was in hiding from the public. We do

not think this factual assertion can reasonably be inferred from

the segment. ABC stated that Judge Dodds was prohibited from

talking to the media about the pending disciplinary proceedings,

and there was no suggestion that his refusal to talk to ABC was

the result of his hiding out. Moreover, presenting footage of a

public official refusing to answer questions about scandalous

charges does not constitute defamation of the official. To the

contrary, it is simply a regular part of the nightly news these

days.

F. Dodds is eluding discipline.

Judge Dodds asserts that the statement that he is eluding

discipline, like the statement that he is participating in a cover

up, was implied by means of the closed-door shots and the

description of the disciplinary committee as being engaged in

a secret investigation. We cannot agree, however, that the

segment can reasonably be understood as conveying such an

implication. ABC’s message in this respect was rather that

Judge Dodds may avoid being punished for his errant behavior

not because of his own efforts to elude discipline, but because

of a faulty disciplinary system. Accordingly, the statement is

not actionable.

G. Dodds is unfit to serve as a judge.

ABC did not state that Judge Dodds was unfit to serve as a

judge, but Judge Dodds contends that this is a reasonable

30a

Appendix A

implication arising from statements that relate to his use of the

crystal ball and statements that suggest that his conduct was

equivalent to that of an accused or convicted felon. For at least

two reasons we hold that the implied statement that Judge Dodds

is unfit for judicial office is not actionable. First, according to

Judge Dodds, the implication of unfitness arises from one set

of comments and one alleged subsidiary implication, both of

which we have already considered and disposed of in a manner

that precludes him from prevailing on this claim. Given that

we have held that the alleged implication that Judge Dodds’s

conduct was the same as a felon’s did not arise and that the set

of comments regarding the crystal ball was not made with actual

malice, Dodds cannot convert these two nonactionable items

into an implied actionable statement by asserting that they

compel a defamatory conclusion.® As we have previously stated,

an opinion based on an implication arising from disclosed facts

is not actionable when the disclosed facts themselves are not

actionable. See Partington, 56 F.3d at 1156 (“[W]hen a speaker

outlines the factual basis for his conclusion, his statement is

protected by the First Amerdment.”); see also Yagman, 55 F.3d

at 1439 (“A statement of o)inion based on fully disclosed facts

can be punished only if the stated facts are themselves false

and misleading.”). Thus, even if ABC had ended its story on

6. While the crystal ball claim was not determined to be

nonactionable until summary judgment, the dismissal of the “unfitness”

claim on a 12(b)(6) motion does not constitute reversible error. In the

first place, because the other alleged basis for the implication of unfitness

has been found not to support the meaning Dodds attaches to it, it is

only the crystal ball claim that could give rise to the alleged defamatory

implication. Thus even if the dismissal was premature, it was not

prejudicial because we have held that the crystal ball claim is

nonactionable. Moreover, the motion to dismiss was in any event

properly granted for the second reason explained in the text infra.

3la

Appendix A

Judge Dodds by explicitly stating that he was unfit for judicial

office, a reasonable viewer would have understood that the

network was expressing an opinion it had formed on the basis

of the (nonactionable) information it had presented, and the

opinion would be protected by the First Amendment.’ See

Partington, 56 F.3d at 1 156; see also Yagman, 55 F.3d at 1439

(“When the facts underlying a statement of Opinion are

disclosed, readers will understand they are getting the author’s

interpretation of the facts presented.”); Moldea, 22 F.3d at 317

(stating that an assertion, even if verifiable, is not actionable if

it is “supported by revealed premises” that are not false). In

the case of a public figure, the rule we have described is

applicable not only where the underlying facts are not actionable

because they are nondefamatory but also where they are not

actionable because there is an absence of actual malice.

Second, and more important, we hold in the alternative

that statements of opinion concerning whether a person who

holds high public office is fit for that office or is competent to

serve in that position are protected under the First Amendment,

whether or not those statements are supportable, verifiable, or

based on facts or premises that are disclosed. This is particularly

true where the subject of the comments holds elective office

(as does Judge Dodds) or is a candidate for such office, although

the rule clearly applies equally to all state and federal judges,

elected, appointed, or otherwise. See Gertz v. Robert Welch,

Inc., 418 U.S. 323, 345, $4 S.Ct. 2997, 41 L.Ed.2d 789 (1974)

(noting that “those classed as public figures have thrust

7. Even were we to consider the other statements that Dodds does

not raise on appeal, including the segment in its entirety, we would reach

the same conclusion because none of the specific statements was

independently actionable and the segment as a whole conveys a message

that is too debatable and subjective to meet the Milkovich standard.

32a

Appendix A

themselves to the forefront of particular public controversies

... they invite attention and comment”).

In Partington, we held that statements concerning an

- attorney’s performance during a particular trial were protected

by the First Amendment. While we expressly reserved the

question “whether the First Amendment would protect more

general statements regarding a lack of professional ability,” 56

F.3d at )152 n. 7, we hesitated only with respect to statements

concerning the general competence of private individuals. See

also id. at 1158 n. 16. However, a statement that someone who

holds high public office, including judicial office, is unfit to

serve in that position clearly reflects a subjective opinion

regarding an important public policy matter and is part of the

ongoing political debate that is protected by the First

Amendment. Opinions as to whether an officeholder deserves

or is qualified to hold his position are often expressed in

hyperbolic and offensive terms. See Monitor Patriot, 401 U.S.

at 275, 91 S.Ct. 621 (noting that political speech may include

“ ‘exaggeration [and] vilification of men who have been, or

are, prominent in church or state’) (quoting Cantwell v.

Connecticut, 310 U.S. 296, 310, 60 S.Ct. 900, 84 L.Ed. 1213

(1940)). Oftimes political statements are neither mature nor

enlightening; sometimes they are even erroneous. Nevertheless,

such statements constitute the type of speech that “must be

protected if the freedoms of expression are to have the

‘breathing space’ that they ‘need to survive.’ New York

Times, 376 U.S. at 279, 84 S.Ct. 710 (quoting N.A.A.C.P. v.

Button, 371 U.S. 415, 433, 83 S.Ct. 328, 9 L.Ed.2d 405 (1963)).

Part of our American heritage is the right of all citizens to

express their views about politicians, officeholders, and

umpires, frequently in highly unfavorable terms. Indeed, were

we to conclude otherwise, millions of citizens and hundreds of

33a

Appendix A

political pundits would currently be committing libelous and

slanderous acts on a daily basis.

In concluding that expressions of opinion regarding a public

official’s “fitness” for the position constitute protected speech,

Wwe note that our holding does not change the rule that subsidiary

Statements that contain false and defamatory factual assertions

are actionable, if made with actual malice. Here, however, as

we have explained, there are no such subsidiary statements that

qualify. The district court properly dismissed the claim that is

based on the “implication” that Judge Dodds is not fit for

judicial service.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above, we affirm the district court’s

order as to the dismissed claims that Judge Dodds appeals. We

also affirm its order of summary judgment as to the one claim

covered therein.

AFFIRMED.

END OF DOCUMENT

34a

APPENDIX B— ORDER AND JUDGMENT OF THE UNITED

STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE CENTRAL DISTRICT

OF CALIFORNIA FILED JULY 30, 1996

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

CV 95-6694 SVW (JRx)

HON. BRUCE W. DODDS,

Plaintiff,

Vv.

AMERICAN BROADCASTING COMPANY, INC., a

Delaware corporation,

Defendant.

ORDER GRANTING DEFENDANT’S MCTION FOR

SUMMARY JUDGMENT

I. BACKGROUND

Plaintiff, the Honorable Bruce W. Dodds, is a judge of the

Superior Court for the County of Santa Barbara. On October 6,

1994, defendant American Broadcasting Company, Inc.

(“ABC”) broadcast a television show called “PrimeTime Live.”

The show included a segment entitled “Who’s Judging the

Judges?” that depicted plaintiff and two other judges in an

unflattering light. After the show aired, plaintiff demanded a

retraction. Defendant failed to air the requested retraction, and

plaintiff filed this action. Plaintiff's complaint pleads causes

of action for slander per se and infliction of emotional distress,

all based upon defendant’s broadcast.

35a

Appendix B

Defendant filed a motion to dismiss. In an Order filed on

December 22, 1995 (“December 22 Order’) , the Court denied

the motion, but struck many of plaintiff's allegations for failure

to state a claim upon which relief could be granted. The only

remaining allegations concerned plaintiff's alleged use of a

crystal ball; screaming, yelling, and spitting; and reading

newspapers and magazines while on the bench. A detailed

description of the broadcast may be found in the December 22

Order.

Defendant filed a motion for summary judgment that was

originally scheduled to be heard on July 1, 1996. In an Order

filed on June 24, 1996, the Court continued such hearing until

July 15, 1996 for docket-management reasons unrelated to the

€x parte application for a continuance filed by plaintiff on June

20, 1996. Plaintiff sought a continuance of the motion pursuant

to Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(f) in order to take additional discovery.

The Court continued the hearing until July 29, 1996, and ordered

that a new opposition and reply be filed to address such

additional discovery. Defendant’s motion came on for hearing

on July 29, 1996. In his opposition to defendant’s motion,

plaintiff stated that he was dropping his allegations based on

defendant’s reporting of statements made by his former court

clerk, Ellen Wall. At the July 29 hearing, plaintiff confirmed

that of the three allegations remaining after the December 22

Order, he was pursuing only the allegation regarding the crystal

ball.

The crystal ball issue relates to the allegations that

defendant slandered plaintiff by stating that he uses a crystal

ball to support his decisions and by implying that he “only

makes decisions based on a crystal ball.” Complaint at 9(c)

(emphasis added).

36a

Appendix B

The broadcast showed Cindy Hart, a litigant who had had

a case before plaintiff, saying that plaintiff “uses a crystal ball

often, even in adoption cases.” Transcript at 1. Cynthia

McFadden, an ABC reporter, later stated that “lawyers, litigants

and his former clerk all say Dodds often used the crystal ball to

support his decisions.” /d. at 3. The following exchange

involved Christine Johnson, another litigant: “He had a crystal

ball on the settlement conference table where he asked us to

sit. [McFadden:] Did he use this crystal ball? [Johnson:] Yes,

he did. He said, ‘This is what I think your case is worth,’ and

then he pressed a button on the crystal ball and it answered,

‘Yes’ and he said,: ‘There it is. That’s it. That’s what you get.”

Id.

Although plaintiff has opposed the motion with evidence

and legal argument, he also seeks another Rule 56(f)

continuance, this time on the ground that he has not been

permitted to depose Diane Sawyer, who anchored the segment.

The Court has carefully considered the parties’ submissions

and oral argument, and for the reasons that follow, grants

defendant’s motion.

Il. DISCUSSION

ABC makes three arguments. (1) plaintiff has failed to

present evidence from which a rational jury could find by clear

and convincing evidence that ABC acted with actual malice;

(2) most or all of the broadcast is privileged under Cal. Civ.

Code 47(d) regardless of ABC’s intent; and (3) plaintiff is

collaterally estopped from disproving that the gist or sting of

the show was substantially true by virtue of the California

supreme court’s opinion in his bar discipline case. The Court

PT Dew Gin te ONE RR eR 8g ita me aa

37a

Appendix B

agrees with the first argument, and disagrees with the second

and third.

A. Actual Malice

Plaintiff concedes that he is a public figure. He therefore

must prove that ABC acted with “actual malice” in broadcasting

the crystal ball allegation. E.g., Newton v. National

Broadcasting Co., Inc., 930 F.2d 662, 668 (9th Cir. 1990).

“Actual malice” doesn’t mean ill will; it is a constitutional term

of art. To meet this constitutional standard, plaintiff must prove

that ABC either “realized that [its] statement was false or that

[it] subjectively entertained serious doubt as to the truth of [its]

statement.” /d. (quoting Bose Corp. v. Consumers Union of

United States, 104 S. Ct. 1949, 1965 n. 30 (1984)) (other

citations omitted).

“Actual malice” is a subjective standard: “Even an extreme

departure from accepted professional standards of journalism

will not suffice to establish actual malice: nor will any other

departure from reasonably prudent conduct, including the

failure to investigate before publishing. Only the existence of

‘sufficient evidence to permit the conclusion that the defendant

actually had a high degree of awareness of... probable falsity’

will suffice to meet the subjective test.” Jd. at 669 (quoting

Harte-Hanks Communications, Inc. y. Connaughton, 109 S. Ct.

2678, 2696 (1989)) (other internal quotation omitted). The

Supreme Court has made it “clear that reckless conduct is not

measured by whether a reasonably prudent man would have

published, or would have investigated before publishing. There

must be sufficient evidence to permit the conclusion that the

defendant ia fact entertained serious doubts as to the truth or

his publication. Publishing with such doubts shows reckless

38a

Appendix B

disregard for truth or falsity and demonstrates actual malice.”

St. Amant v. Thompson, 88 S.Ct. 1323, 1325 (1968).

At this summary judgment stage, plaintiff “must show that

the evidence in the record could support a reasonable jury

finding by clear and convincing evidence that the allegedly

defamatory statements were made with actual malice.”

McFarlane v. Esquire Magazine, 74 F.3d 1296, 1301 (D.C. Cir.

1996) (citing Anderson v. Liberty Lobby. Inc., 106 S. Ct. 2505,

2513-14 (1986)). See also Gertz v. Robert Welch, Inc., 94 S.

Ct. 2997, 3008 (1974) (actual malice must be demonstrated by

“clear and convincing proof’); New York Times v. Sullivan, 84

S. Ct. 710, 728-29 (1964) (proof must be with “convincing

clarity”); Newton, 930 F.2d at 668 (“clear and convincing

evidence”); Hoods v. Evansville Press Co., Inc., 791 F.2d 480,

484 (7th Cir. 1986).

All of the people involved in creating the segment for ABC

declare that they did not subjectively doubt the truth of the

crystal ball allegation. Plaintiff has no evidence that any of the

people involved with the show knew the crystal ball allegation

to be false or subjectively entertained serious doubts as to its

truth or falsity. Instead, he seeks refuge in a narrow window in

this subjective test left open by the Supreme Court in dicta in

St. Amant:

The defendant in a defamation case brought by a public

official cannot, however, automatically insure a favorable

verdict by testifying that he published with a belief that

the statements were true. The finder of fact must determine

whether the publication was indeed made in good faith.

Professions of good faith will be unlikely to prove

persuasive, for example, where a story is fabricated by the

39a

Appendix B

defendant, is the product of his imagination, or is based

wholly on an unverified anonymous telephone call. Nor

will they be likely to prevail when the publisher’s

allegations are so inherently improbable that only a reckless

man would have put then in circulation. Likewise,

recklessness may be found where there are obvious reasons

to doubt the veracity of the informant or the accuracy of

his reports.

88 S. Ct. at 1326. Plaintiff also relies on the Supreme Court’s

differentiation of “purposeful avoidance” of the truth from

innocent ignorance of the falsity of a statement. See Harte-

Hanks, 109 S. Ct. at 2691 (“inaction [which] was a product of

a deliberate decision not to acquire knowledge of facts that

might confirm the probable falsity of [the] charges” will support

a finding of actual malice).

Most of the St. Amant dictum is simply inapplicable. Dodds

has no evidence that ABC “fabricated” anything, “imagined”

anything, based anything on a single phone call or anonymous

report, or ever deliberately decided not to pursue a particular

line of inquiry because it didn’t want to know the truth. And

the allegation, while possibly somewhat “inherently

improbable,” was not published without any investigation or

confirmation.

In his papers and at the July 29 hearing, plaintiff

emphasized the additional investigation that ABC could and

possibly should have conducted. But “actual malice” isn’t a

negligence standard, so the question is not whether ABC

conducted a reasonable investigation, but whether ABC’s

investigation was so risible, and the allegations it reported so

outrageous, as to render its conduct assimilable to publishing

BERL rs aa ee Pe ee,

40a

Appendix B

“inherently improbable” allegations without any investigation,

thus bringing its conduct within the narrow window of the Sr.

Amani dictum.

ABC did, conduct some investigation; after it had talked

to several people who confirmed that plaintiff had a crystal

ball and used it in some manner, and after it had gone in and

seen the crystal ball sitting in plaintiff's office, the allegation

published by ABC was far from improbable.

And while there may have been some reason to doubt the

veracity or accuracy of Hart and Johnson’s accounts (they were

disgruntled litigants and Johnson was very religious and thought

crystal balls were “evil”), ABC didn’t just rely on them blindly

and exclusively. Plaintiff's argument in his papers that ABC

didn’t do any investigation is simply wrong. In fact, ABC spoke

to at least two lawyers who confirmed that plaintiff used a

crystal ball. Longhini Tr. 170-71; 205-06.' ABC spoke to the

attorneys involved in Johnson’s case. ABC spoke to plaintiff's

former clerk, who said that pia.-itiff “did make use of the crystal

ball” and that he “would say that he was right, and use this

thing to demonstrate it.” /d. at 206-07. ABC confirmed firsthand

that plaintiff had a crystal ball on his desk. And ABC spoke to

an adoption caseworker who confirmed that plaintiff had used

the crystal ball in an adoption case. McFadden Tr. at 55-57;

Longhini Tr. at 172.

Plaintiff has no evidence that any of ABC’s employees are

lying about any of these matters, and his mere hope that the

jury will disbelieve them is insufficient to withstand summary

1. Plaintiff's opposition also states baldly that Johnson “was not a

credible source since she made up the allegations about the crystal ball.”

Opp. at 4 n.8. There is no evidence that she “made up” her allegations.

4la

Appendix B

judgment. Newton, 930 F.2d at 680 (“[t]he district court also

erred in relying on the proposition that the jury could have based

a finding of actual malice on a determination that the journalists’

testimony about their state of mind was not credible,” since

the “ ‘discredit[ing] [of] testimony is not considered a sufficient

basis for drawing a contrary conclusion’ ”) (quoting Bose, 104

S. Ct. at 1966).

The Court concludes that this is not a case where it would

be appropriate to say that the sources relied upon were so

untrustworthy, what they said was so improbable, and the

investigation was so negligible, that ABC can be said, without

any evidence, to have subjectively entertained serious doubts

as to the truth of its statements. Nor is there any evidence that

ABC “purposefully avoided” the truth. While the evidence

could support a finding that ABC was not as concerned as a

reasonable actor should have been with discovering the truth

— in other words, that ABC should have done more

investigation — there is nothing whatever in the record

indicating tha: ABC ever took any action intentionally designed

to avoid discovering the truth.

Another consideration relates to the supposed implied -

assertion that plaintiff “only makes decisions based ona crystal

ball,” Complaint at §9(c) (emphasis added), rather than using

the crystal ball to support his decisions as the broadcast

explicitly stated. Plaintiff does not dispute that it is his burden

to present evidence from which a jury could find by clear and

convincing evidence that ABC in fact “intended that the

[broadcast] be read to contain the defamatory innuendos the

plaintiff attributes to it.” Woods v. Evansville Press Co., Inc.,

791 F.2d 480, 486-87 (7th Cir. 1986). To withstand summary

judgment, plaintiff would thus have to present evidence from

42a

Appendix B

which a jury could find both that ABC knew the inference to

be false (or seriously doubted its truth) and that it intended the

inference to arise.

In Newton, Wayne Newton argued that a show broadcast

by NBC defamed him by implying that he had bought a Las

Vegas hotel in Part with Mafia funds. NBC argued that it had

not intended to imply any such thing. The district court was

unpersuaded by NBC’s argument, holding that NBC “should

have foreseen” that that inference would arise and that it was

“clear and inescapable.” The Ninth Circuit reversed. It held

that the foreseeability of the inference was irrelevant under the

subjective actual malice test, and that the fact (if it was a fact)

that the inference could be drawn from the show did not

establish that NBC acted with actual malice in broadcasting

the show because relying on that “substituted [the court’s] own

view as to the supposed impression left by the broadcast for

that of the journalists who prepared the broadcast.” 930 F.2d at

681. The Court rejected in unequivocal terms the argument

relied upon by the district court and urged by plaintiff in this

case:

[S]ince the implication it took from the broadcast was ‘clear

and inescapable’ to the court, it concluded that the jury

could properly find that NBC and its journalists intended

to leave that impression. Such an approach eviscerates the

First Amendment protections established by New York

Times. It would permit liability to be imposed not only for

what was not said but also for what was not intended to be

said.

Id.

43a

Appendix B

ABC’s witnesses testified that they did not intend to imply

that plaintiff used the crystal ball to make decisions. Plaintiff

has no contrary evidence. (One ambiguous reference in

preliminary notes written before any of the interviews for the

broadcast were even conducted is insufficient to defeat

summary Judgment. Those notes put “Judge Dodds/crystal ball”

under the heading “How Judges Decide” in a rough sketch of

possible angles for a show on judges.) Plaintiff's argument that

this implication is plain from Hart’s statement during the

broadcast is, first, the same argument the Ninth Circuit rejected

so categorically in Newton and, second, wrong on the facts.

Saying someone “used” a crystal ball doesn’t say anything about

how he used it. The word is broad enough to cover using it

purely for levity during heated settlement conferences (a

practice to which plaintiff admits), using it as the sole means

of decisionmaking, or anywhere in between. Given the Ninth

Circuit’s holding in Newton, it cannot be said that ABC’s

broadcast made the statement that plaintiff “only makes

decisions based on a crystal ball.”

The Court thus holds that plaintiff has failed to meet his

burden of producing evidence from which a jury could find by

clear and convincing evidence that defendant acted with actual

malice in broadcasting the crystal ball allegation. Defendant is

therefore entitled to summary judgment on ail of plaintiff's

claims. See Hustler Magazine v. Falwell, 108 S. Ct. 876 (1988)

(constitutional protection embodied in actual malice rule

extends to claims for infliction of emotional distress as well as

for slander and defamation).

B. Civ. Code § 47(d)

ABC also relies on Cal. Civ. Code § 47(d), which provides

an absolute privilege for a “fair and true report” of a “judicial

44a

Appendix B

proceeding.” This privilege extends to out-of-court statements

about what happened in court, not just in-court statements.

Dorsey v. National Enquirer, Inc., 973 F.2d 1431, 1437 (9th

Cir. 1992). It is not affected by malice or any other mental

state. McClatchy Newspapers, Inc. v. Superior Court, 234 Cal.

Rptr. 702, 710 (Cal. App. 5 Dist. 1987). A report is “fair and

true” if its “gist or sting” is accurate, even if some of its details

are not. Dorsey, 973 F.2d at 1436. “Judicial proceeding” is also

defined broadly. See id. at 1434-35.

ABC argues that Johnson’s statements, reported by ABC,

concerned matters occurring in a judicial proceeding and is

privileged as a “history of the proceeding.” Jd. at 1437. But

since what occurred during the settlement conference involving

Johnson is in dispute (she says plaintiff used the crystal ball,

plaintiff can’t remember using it and denies that he would have

said what Johnson says he said), the Court cannot determine as

a matter of law that the “report” was “fair and true.” The

California cases make it clear that this issue may be decided

by the court only where there is no genuine dispute about what

occurred during the judicial proceeding. /d. at 1435 (“The ‘fair

and true’ issue is one of law when there is no dispute as to

what occurred in the judicial proceeding reported upon or as to

what was contained in the report’ ”) (quoting McClatchy, 234

Cal. Rptr. at 711) (other citations omitted) Here there is such

a dispute. The Court therefore rejects ABC’s argument that

summary judgment is required by Civ. Code § 47(d).

C. Collateral Estoppel _

The California supreme court recently issued its decision

reviewing the findings and conclusions of the Commission on

Judicial Performance, which had conducted an investigation

45a

Appendix B

plaintiff. Dodds v. Comm’n on Judicial Performance, 48

Cal.Rptr.2d 106 (Cal. 1995). The Commission conducted

hearings and concluded, inter alia, that clear and convincing

evidence showed that plaintiff had “frequently given the

appearance of rudeness and prejudgment in his handling of

cases.” /d. at 109. The supreme court agreed with this finding

of fact (it rejected the Commission’s conclusion of law that

plaintiff be publicly censured). The principal issue in the

proceeding before the supreme court was plaintiffs alleged

obstruction of justice arising out of an incident in which he

observed one of his fellow judges letting the air out of a tire of

a car parked in the other judge’s space. Neither the Commission

nor the supreme court addressed plaintiff's use of a crystal ball.

The gist or sting of the obstruction of justice finding has

nothing to do with the crystal ball allegation at issue here. Nor

was the crystal ball, or anything like it, mentioned in the part

of the Commission’s conclusions regarding plaintiff's rudeness

and prejudgment.’ The gist of the Commission’s findings, and

of the supreme court’s opinion, is that plaintiff is rude, tough,

unjudicious, intemperate, undisciplined, and unfair as a judge.

The gist or sting of the crystal ball allegation is that plaintiff is

an eccentric who engages in, as ABC put it, “bizarre behavior.”

The gist or sting of defendant’s broadcast is therefore not

substantially similar to that of the supreme court’s opinion.

Therefore, the fact that plaintiff is estopped from contradicting

the findings and conclusions of the supreme court does not affect

his ability to prove ABC’s allegation false.

2. Plaintiff tries to make hay out of the fact that the Commission

didn’t “sustain” any claims relating to a crystal ball, apparently hoping

the Court will infer that the Commission rejected such claims, including,

perhaps, Johnson’s account. In fact, the Commission did not consider

any such claims, and Johnson did not testify before it.

46a

Appendix B

D. Other Issues

Plaintiff places much weight on the fact that Longhini, the

chief producer, destroyed all of his contemporaneous notes

about the show, which makes it harder for plaintiff to show

that Longhini knew the crystal ball allegation was false or

doubted its truth. Plaintiff argues that the fact that Longhini

destroyed these materials is “circumstantial evidence” of actual

malice on his part. The only authority plaintiff cites for this,

Herron v. King Broadcasting Co., 109 Wash.2d 514 (Wash.

1987), was revised upon reconsideration and no longer makes

any mention of this issue. See 112 Wash.2d 762 (Wash. 1989).

Longhini explains in his declaration the following: He

worked for ABC on PrimeTime Live from 1993 to 1995. The

show in question was broadcast on October 6, 1994. He left

ABC in July 1995, for reasons unrelated to this case. Thereafter,

while remodeling his home office in October or November

1995, he threw away ail of his ABC materials, not just those

relating to this show. He did not know of this suit at that time.

Plaintiff has no evidence to contradict any of this, but he

does point out that while Longhini may have been unaware of

the lawsuit, he did know that plaintiff had sent a retraction

demand to ABC. Plaintiff adds that ABC acknowledged that it

is “good procedure” for a producer to retain notes and files for

some period of time. He argues that because he has been denied

access to these documents, summary judgment would be unfair.

This amounts to a contention that because plaintiff has been

prevented from proving his case by documentary evidence that

could have been obtained from one individual, the jury should

simply find for him without any evidence. The fact that

Longhini destroyed all of his ABC records does not tend to

A EA UE NE ee a

PEROT

47a

Appendix B

make it more likely that at the time of the broadcast, ABC knew

that the crystal ball allegation was false or subjectively

entertained serious doubts as to its truth. The Court rejects this

argument.

Plaintiff's last-ditch argument is that summary judgment

should be denied under Rule 56(f) to allow him to depose Diane

Sawyer. ABC has refused to permit him to depose her, and he

says her deposition is the only discovery remaining that he

wants to take. Plaintiff says that deposing Sawyer will establish

three things: (1) she wrote or edited her own material for the

broadcast; (2) she didn’t do any investigation of anything in

the broadcast; and (3) she knew the allegations in the broadcast

were substantially untrue, or acted in reckless disregard of their

truth or falsity.

The other ABC employees deny writing Sawyer’s parts and

say she wrote them, so plaintiff is probably correct as to (1).

Plaintiff is probably correct as to (2) as well, since there is no

evidence that Sawyer did any investigation for the segment

involving plaintiff. But this doesn’t get plaintiff anywhere,

because even if Sawyer didn’t do any investigation, many other

ABC employees did, and it was not so reckless for her to rely

on what they told her as to justify attributing actual malice to

her. As to (3), plaintiff has no basis at all for saying that

deposing Sawyer is likely to reveal such evidence, and if she

did not do any investigation, it is extremely unlikely that she

knew anything about the truth or falsity of anything.

A party seeking a Rule 56(f) continuance must show that

he has diligently pursued discovery, must point to the “particular

facts” which he expects the requested discovery to reveal, and

must explain why such facts would preclude summary

48a

Appendix P

judgment. E.g., Mackey v. Pioneer Nat. Bank, 867 F.2d 520,

$24 (9th Cir. 1989). The Court concludes that plaintiff has not

identified any “particular facts” which deposing Sawyer would

reveal. “The burden is on the party seeking to conduct additional

discovery to put forth sufficient facts to show that the evidence

sought exists.” Volk v. D.A. Davidson & Co., 816 F.2d 1406,

1416 (9th Cir. 1987). It’s too easy for plaintiff just to recite the

legal standard which he must satisfy and then say that deposing,

Sawyer will enable him to meet it; more specific information

is required. Plaintiff has offered no information whatever with

respect to why he thinks Sawyer would testify that she knew

the allegations to be false or doubted their truth, and he has no

basis for so contending. The Court rejects plaintiff's Rule 56(f)

objection.

Ill. CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the Court holds that plaintiff

has failed to present evidence from which a jury could find by

clear and convincing evidence that defendant acted with actual

malice in broadcasting the crystal ball allegation. The Court

therefore GRANTS defendant’s motion for summary judgment

as to all of plaintiff's claims.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

DATED: July 30, 1996

s/ Stephen V. Wilson

STEPHEN V. WILSON

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

49a

Appendix B

SEVEN M. PERRY

MUNGER, TOLLES OLSON

355 South Grand Avenue

Los Angeles, California 90071-1560

(213) 683-9100

ae ee

Attorneys for Defendant

AMERICAN. BROADCASTING COMPANIES, INC.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

: CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

CASE NO. 95-6694 SVW (JRx)

HON. BRUCE W. DODDS,

Plaintiff,

st

AMERICAN BROADCASTING COMPANY, INC., a

Delaware cornoration,

Defendant.

[PROPOSED] JUDGMENT

Defendant American Broadcasting Companies, Inc., having

) moved for summary judgment in Case No. 95-6694 SVW (JRx)

pursuant to Rule 56, and the Court having considered the papers

filed by both parties and the arguments of counsel and being

fully advised,

PF ee ee ee a ee ee he Me + 16%

50a ms

Appendix B

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that defendant’s motion for

summary ee: is pines in its peat for the reasons set

forth in the State at Ai feta rtttd attic

efLaw Couri Order of july 3 30, 1996 filed coheetady

herewith, and that defendant be awarded its costs of suit, and

that judgment be entered forthwith in the defendant’s favor.

DATED: July 30, 1995

s/ Stephen V. Wilson

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

Presented by:

MUNGER, TOLLES & OLSON

By s/ Steven M. Perry

Steven M. Perry

Attorneys for Defendant

AMERICAN BROADCASTING

COMPANIES, INC.

Sla

APPENDIX C — ORDER OF THE UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT FOR THE CENTRAL DISTRICT OF

CALIFORNIA FILED DECEMBER 22, 1995

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

No. CV 95-6694 SVW (JRX)

HONORABLE BRUCE W. DODDS

Plaintiff,

v.

AMERICAN BROADCASTING COMPANY. INC., a

Delaware corporation,

Defendant.

ORDER

TO ALL PARTIES AND THEIR ATTORNEYS OF RECORD:

Background

Defendant American Broadcasting Company (“ABC”)

broadcasts a newsmagazine show called “PrimeTime Live.”

(“PrimeTime”) On October 6, 1994, PrimeTime aired a segment

entitled “Who’s Judging the Judges?” The segment featured

pieces on three judges, including one on Plaintiff, the Honorable

Bruce W. Dodds, Senior Judge for the Superior Court of the

County of Santa Barbara. The piece on Dodds was not flattering

and Dodds now sues for slander per se and infliction of

emotional distress based on overt and implied statements about

him in the broadcast.

52a

Appendix C

The segment was premised on the notion that judges are

protected from normal review and discipline even when they

commit serious transgressions and that this protection can lead

to flagrant abuses of the judicial power. The segment featured

pieces on three judges. The first was a judge from Indiana who

was an alleged pederast who used his position in the juvenile

justice system to pressure sex from children. The second piece

was on Dodds and generally made him out to be a judge who

thinks he is a god in the courtroom and who uses little law or

reason in his decisions. The final piece was on a Judge from

South Carolina who used his position to sexually assault and

harass female parties.

The pieces consisted of interviews with parties accusing

the three judges of wrong-doing, statements by ABC reporter

Cynthia McFadden about what others had told her or what others

had said about these judges, unsuccessful attempts by

McFadden to speak with Judge Dodds and the South Carolina

judge, and observations by McFadden and anchor Diane

Sawyer. Following the piece, Sawyer stated that Judge Dodds

denied all the allegations against him. After the piece aired,

Dodds allegedly asked for a retraction but ABC did not air one.

Legal Analysis

I. Standard for 12 (b)(6) Motion

In considering a motion to dismiss under F. R. C. P.

12(b)(6), the allegations of the complaint are taken as true, all

reasonable inferences are drawn in favor of the Plaintiff, and

the pleading is liberally construed in favor of the Plaintiff.

NL Industries, Inc. v. Kaplan, 792 F.2d 896, 898 (9th Cir. 1986);

Rusell v. Landrieu, 621 F.2d 1037, 1039 (9th Cir. 1980). The

53a

Appendix C

motion is granted only if it appears beyond doubt that Plaintiff

can prove no set of facts in support of the claim which would

entitle him to relief. Conley v. Gibson, 355 US. 41, 45-46

(1957)

Normally, a court is limited to the allegations in the

pleadings in considering a 12(b)(6) motion. However, where

documents are attached to the pleading, a court can consider

those documents and need not assume the truth of the allegations

in the pleadings where the documents contradict the allegations.

Roth v. Garcia Marquez, 942 F.2d 617, 625n.1 (9th Cir. 1991).

Moreover, a court may augment the pleadings by judicial notice

of facts. Mack v. South Bay Beer Distributors, Inc., 798 F.2d

1279, 1281 (9th Cir. 1986).

Here, Plaintiff attached a transcript of the PrimeTime show

to the pleadings. Thus, the Court can and has considered the

transcript in deciding this motion. In addition, counsel for ABC

stipulated at hearing to allow Plaintiff to “attach” a videotape

of the segment to the complaint. The Court watched the video

at the hearing and considers the video in this motion.

Judicial Notice

ABC also asked the Court to take judicial notice of the

“Findings, Conclusions, and Recommendations” of the

Commission on Judicial Performance. The Court can take

judicial notice that Dodds was under investigation by the

Commission at the t’me of the broadcast and that the

Commission was investigating charges similar to those alleged

in the PrimeTime show and that the Commission made certain

findings. However, the Court is not bound by the Commissions’

findings of fact since they are not finalized findings and the

specific findings are irrelevant to this moiion.

S4a

Appendix C

III. The Alleged Defamatory Statements

Because many of ABC’s defenses apply to more than one

alleged statement, the Court will lay out the alleged statements,

review the basic law to be applied, and then apply that law to

each statement to see which statements are actionable.

Based on a liberal interpretation of the complaint, Plaintiff

alleges that the following defamatory statements were made

either directly or impliedly during the broadcast.

1. Plaintiff's conduct was the same as that of a convicted

or accused felon.

2. Plaintiff is one of the three worst judges in the country.

3. Plaintiff has participated in a secret cover-up of his

improprieties.

4. Plaintiff is “unfit” to serve as a judge.

5. Plaintiff is a court jester/bciieves he is a god.

6. Plaintiff makes decisions based on a crystal ball.

7. Plaintiff is consistently reading magazines and

newspapers on the bench.

8. Plaintiff is constantly yelling, screaming, and spitting

in court.

9. Plaintiff improperly rushes cases through the system.

55a

Appendix C

10. Plaintiff is disrespectful towards parties and witnesses.

11. Plaintiff constantly and wrongly pressures cases to

settle for less than they are worth.

12. Plaintiff is hiding from public view.

13. Plaintiff is eluding discipline solely because serious

allegations are not vigorously investigated, secrecy is used

to protect him from serious charges, and the political

climate protects him.

IV. Falsity was alleged

ABC makes the incorrect assumption throughout their

papers that Dodds does not allege that any of the above

Statements are false. The complaint clearly states that “the

broadcast and statements were false because ... plaintiff's

judicial conduct is and was proper ... Complaint at 5, § 11.

Since the Court is to interpret the allegations liberally, the Court

deems this statement to be an umbrella allegation that all of

the alleged defamatory statements are false.

V. ABC’s Defenses

The parties do not dispute that Dodds is a public figure

and that the statements were aimed at matters of public concern.

Thus, ABC can avail itself of substantial First amendment

protections. Indeed, since the statements criticize the judiciary,

an argument can be made that the Court should give ABC the

benefit of the doubt as to close questions of constitutional

protection. see Landmark Communications, Inc. y. Virginia ,

435 U.S. 829, 839 (1978) (The operations of the courts and the

56a

Appendix C

judicial conduct of judges are matters of utmost public

concern.); Partington v. Bugliosi, 56 F.3d 1147, 1160 (9th Cir.

1995).

Public figure defamation actions against the media always

present difficult issues requiring a balancing of private and

public interests. On the one hand, “important social values. . .

underlie the law of defamation.” Milkovich at 2707. “[S]ociety

has a pervasive and strong interest in preventing and redressing —

-attacks upon reputation.” Jd. On the other hand, the First

amendment promotes a marketplace of ideas and protects

criticism of the government. The constitutional balance between

these competing interests has evolved in a series of Supreme

Court decisions. New York Times, Co, v. Sullivan, 84 S.Ct. 710

(1964) (Actes! malice required); Gertz v. Robert Welch, Inc.,

94 S.Ct. 3004 (Malice must be shown by clear and convincing

evidence); Philadelphia Newspapers, Inc. v. Hepp, 106 S.Ct.

1558 (1986) (No presumption of falsity in damages actions

against media for matters of public concern); Greenbelt

Cooperative Publishing v. Bresler, 90 S.Ct. 1537 (1970) (No

liability for statements of rhetoric and hyperbole).

In any single case in which an individual public official

appears to have been unfairly attacked by the media, the

developed constitutional doctrines may seem to strike an

improper balance. Indeed, in an individual case, in may be that

the private harm outweighs the public good. But constitutional

lines are drawn with a hearty margin of safety. This “breathing

room” is built-in precisely because of the greater harm that

would ensue if courts were left to fashion the proper balance

within the narrow confines of individual cases. Where, as here,

public figures and public issues are involved, the constitution

looks beyond the individual case to the overall impact such

57a

Appendix C

claims have on free speech. A sufficient margin of safety is

needed to prevent the collective effect of individual defamation

cases from chilling journalism. Thus, the constitutional

restrictions strike the correct balance between individual harm

from defamatory statements and the greater public harm that

would come from a stilted media.

A. Neutral Reporting Privilege

Many of the alleged defamatory statements at issue in this

case were “republished” by ABC. However, defamation law

generally refuses to make a distinction between publishers and

republishers of defamatory statements. see Campbell, The

Developing Privilege of Neutral Reportage, 69 Va. L. Rev. 853

(1983). Nevertheless, some courts have recognized a so-called

“neutral reporting” privilege. This alleged constitutional

privilege immunizes a republisher from liability for defamatory

statements where: 1) the statements are about public officials;

2) the official is embroiled in a public controversy; 3) the

Statements republished are made by participants in that

controversy; and 4) republication was done in an accurate and

neutral manner. Barry v. Time, 584 F.Supp. 1110 (N.D. Cal.

1984); Ward v. News Group International, Ltd., 733 F Supp.

83 (C.D. Cal. 1990). ABC relies, in large part, on this privilege

for its defense.

The privilege has been adopted by the Second Circuit

(Edwards v. National Audobon Society, Inc., 556 F.2d 113 (2d

Cir. 1976)) and has been considered but not rejected or adopted

by the Supreme Court (Harte-Hanks Communications, Inc., vy.

Connaughton, 491 U.S. 657, 695, 109 S.Ct. 2678 (1989), the

Fourth Circuit (Chapin v. Knight-Ridder, Inc. ,993 F. 2d 1087,

1097 (4th Cir. 1993), and the D.C. Circuit (White v. Fraternal

58a

Appendix C

Order of Police, 909 F.2d 512, 528 (D.C. Cir. 1990). The Ninth

Circuit has made no comment on the privilege, although two

Ninth Circuit district courts have discussed it. see Barry v. Time,

584 F. Supp. 1110 (N.D. Cal. 1984); Ward v. News Group

International, Ltd., 733 F.Supp. 83 (C.D. Cal. 1990).

Plaintiff argues that the neutral reporting privilege was

foreclosed by the Supreme Court in Milkovich v. Lorain Journal

Co., 110 S.Ct. 2695 (1990). In Milkovich, the Supreme Court

rejected a constitutional privilege for “opinions.” Plaintiff does

not allege that the neutral reporting privilege is subsumed under

the rejected opinion privilege. Rather, Plaintiff argues that

Milkovich effectively closed the door on the creation of any

new constitutional privileges for defamatory statements. This

is plainly wrong.

Milkovich only addressed a proposed constitutional

privilege for statements which could be categorized as

“opinion” and not “fact.” The Court reasoned that the distinction

developed in prior case law between protected expressions of

“pure” opinion and unprotected expressions which either

directly or impliedly made factual assertions was sufficient to

protect the “marketplace of ideas.” Milkovich never addressed

any other proposed First amendment privileges, including the

proposed neutral reporting privilege, and never said that it was

closing the door on the future development of other

constitutional privileges for defamatory statements. Moreover,

the Court’s reasoning in Milkovich bear: no relation to the

rationale underlying the neutral reporting privilege.

The “opinion” privilege rejected in Milkovich aimed at

protecting a broad class of statements. The neutral reporting

privilege, in contrast, is not aimed at protecting the statement,

59a

Appendix C

but at protecting the speaker/republisher of the statement. The

privilege is premised on the idea that many newsworthy

statements only reach the public via media republishing and

that requiring the media to assess the trustworthiness of the

Original defamer would have a chiiling effect on the

dissemination of such statements. Ward, 733 F.Supp. at 84;

Edwards, supra (Inherent value in nationally known

organization making accusations about a matter of public

concern). In Milkovich, the Court was asked to exempt a whole

category o¢ statements from liability regardless of the context

in which they were made. The Court declined to do so because

it felt that the private harm arising from the statements

outweighed the public value of the statements. The Court never

addressed the value of the media being able to distribute such

statements. Thus, Milkovich was focused on a very different

concern from the issue addressed by the neutral reporting

privilege and should not be read to foreclose the further

development of that privilege.

Assuming then that the neutral reporting privilege exists,

the Court nevertheless finds that it is inapplicable in this case.

When the media republishes defamatory statements, the harm

from the statements is increased. To counter this magnified

private harm, the privilege should be narrowly construed to

instances where the public good of the reporting outweighs the

private harm. In addition, since the rationale of the privilege is

that it increases public access to information to allow the public

to assess what is going on, it should also be narrowly limited to

truly neutral reporting. see Crane vy. Arizona Republic, 729

F.Supp. 698, 711 (C.D. Cal. 1989) (Rafeedie, J.) (Noting that

neutral reporting ‘privilege is narrower than state law “fair and

truce report” privilege.)

60a

Appendix C

The first question is whether the PrimeTime segment

constitutes “neutral” reporting. In Crane, the court stated

that the neutral reporting doctrine does not apply to

“investigative journalism” which reports on things other

than a “pre-existing, ‘raging controversy.’ ” Moreover, the

privilege does not apply where the media republisher

“espouses or concurs in the charges” or “deliberately

distorts” the charges. Jd. at 711.

In Ward v. News Group International, Ltd., 733 F.Supp.

83, the court found that the privilege applied to the

republication by two defendants of the statements of a third.

The posture of the case did not reveal the underlying facts.

However, the court noted that the republication was accurate

and that the story was “very neutral” because it published

the Plaintiff's denial and “emphasiz[ed] the legitimate

business success of Plaintiff and the extensive charity work

he ha[d] done.” /d. at 85. Considering the article as a whole,

“the republication in the context of published denials and

other information [did] not stand as defamatory.” /d.

In Edwards v. National Audobon Society, Inc., 556 F.2d

113 (2d Cir. 1977) — the case first adopting the privilege

— the court found that the reporting was neutral. The article

reported the accusations of the Society that five scientists

were “paid liars.” The article did not espouse the Society’s

accusations and included the scientist’s terse reactions to

the accusations. Moreover, the article was clearly about the

fact that accusations were made, and did not purport to

examine the factual premises for those accusations.

(Headline read “Pesticide Spokesman Accused of ‘Lying’

on Higher Bird Count” and article clearly quoting from a

Society publication.)

6la

Appendix C

In the case at hand, it would be stretching the developed

doctrine to say that ABC’s report was “neutral reporting.” First,

the segment is clearly investigatory in nature.' The report also

implies that ABC concurs with the accusations in the report.’

Ultimately, unlike the situation in Edwards, ABC’s report was

not about the accusations, but about the underlying conduct.

The report is preceded by the statement “Cynthia McFadden

discovers sexual abuse, drug charges, and bizarre behavior,

protected by judicial robes.” Thus, the segment does more than

simply convey accusations made by others; it seeks to determine

the likely truth or falsity of those accusations?

Like the article in Edwards, the segment contains Dodds’

denials of his accusations. However, unlike the article in

Edwards, the overall tenor of the piece negates the value of

those denials by subtly implying that ABC thinks the accusers

are more credible than the accused. The entire segment

condemns the judiciary as untrustworthy, a theme that would

tend to undermine the credibility of blanket denials. Thus, the

Court concludes that the segment is not neutral enough to fall

within the ambit of the developing neutral reporting privilege.

1. The show begins with a “teaser;” “Tonight, a PrimeTime

investigation.” The segment is preceded by McFadden’s statement that

“[ABC/PrimeTime] decided to take a closer look” at “reports of judges

as lawbreakers, sellouts, and just plain crazy.”

2. Sawyer states “Say the word judge and you think of someone

wise and fair and dignified. What you don’t imagine is this.”

3. Particularly noteworthy, for example, is that portion of the piece

on Judge Dodds which features accusations that he uses a crystal ball in

settlements. The piece does not simply report the accusation, but goes

on to “confirm” the accusation by Stating that PrimeTime “found (the

crystal ball] still sitting on a table in Judge Dodds’ chambers.”

62a

Appendix C

B. “Implied” statements

Many of the statements Dodds is suing on are not overt

statements. Rather, they are statements which Dodds claims

are “implied” from juxtapositions in the report as well as the

tenor of the report taken as a whole.

“Implied” factual assertions are actionable so long as the

implied statements would be actionable if they were uttered

directly. Milkovich, 110 S.Ct. 2695, 2707 (Alleged implied

statement that coach perjured himself was actionable if a

reasonable factfinder could conclude that the overt statements

could imply the alleged factual assertion.) If a defamation claim

is based on allegations of implied defamatory facts, the court

must make a threshold determination whether the published

statements could be understood as implying defamatory content.

Weller v. ABC, 283 Cal.Rptr. 644, 650 n.8 (First Dist. 1991). If

a statement is susceptible of both an innocent and defamatory

meaning, it is for the jury to decide how they were in fact

understood. Jd. However, a claim cannot go forward on the

allegation that the overall “message” of a broadcast is

defamatory. Auvil v. CBS 60 Minutes, 67 F.3d 816 (9th Cir.

1995).

In Weller v. ABC, 283 Cal.Rptr. 644 (1st Dist. 1991), the

court found that news reports could imply that the Plaintiff had

engaged in serious misconduct and thus that a jury would be

permitted to view the broadcast and make their own

determination whether it was defamatory. Weller at 651. The

news reports in that case concerned the sale of an antique

candelabra to a local museum. The report raised questions about

whether the candelabra had been stolen and whether it had been

sold to the museum for a “grossly inflated price.” Although the

63a

Appendix C

report never stated that Weller had stolen the candelabra, the

court found that such an implication could be drawn where: 1)

the report repeatedly tried to tie Weller to a convicted felon

whom the report implied had stolen the candelabra; 2) the report

concerning Weller was juxtaposed against an immediately

preceding report about the convicted felon; 3) the report falsely

noted that Weller’s shop was only a block from the house of

the woman from whom the candelabra allegedly had been

Stolen; 4) the broadcast stated that Weller was “reportedly”

out of town, suggesting that Weller had a guilty conscience

and was avoiding publicity. Jd. In addition, the court noted that

the report implied that Weller and his associates were

“stonewalling” the reporter. The court concluded that, taking

all of these facts together, a reasonable juror could conclude

that the report implied that Weller was involved in “shady

dealing.”

Weller also dealt with the special problems of applying

traditional defamation concepts to the reality of televised

“news” reports. The court noted that characterizing a news

report as an “ongoing investigative report” did not immunize

the report. “[T]he publication of implied defamatory statements

against a background of apparently objective and neutral

reporting is almost certain to be understood as factual.

Moreover, the implied defamatory facts in this context may be

given even more credence by the listener, where. . . the reports

profess to be objective, yet subtly imply that the publisher tends

to believe the sources alleging the defamatory facts.” “[M]Jerely

couching an assertion of defamatory fact in cautionary language

such as “apparently” or “some sources say” or even putting it

in the form of a question” does not insulate a speaker from a

defamation action anymore than phrasing an assertion as an

“opinion.” Jd. at 652.

64a

Appendix C

C. Non-factual/Non-specific statements

The First amendment protects statements on matters of

public concern which are incapable of being proven true or

false by reference to a core of objective evidence. Milkovich;

Weller; Standing Committee v. Yagman, 55 F.3d 1430 (9th Cir.

1995). Statements of “subjective fact” such as “he did not try

the case well,” when made in matters of public concern, are

protected. Partington v. Bugliosi, 56 F.3d 1147, 1160 (9th Cir.

1995). However, facts which are objectively verifiable such as

“this product does not perform as advertised” are actionable.

Unelko v. Rooney, 912 F.2d 1049 (9th Cir. 1990) (Statement

about product that “it didn’t work” was actionable where

product made specific claims of how it would improve wet

weather visibility when applied to windshields). Finally, a

statement is actionable even if it asserts that a person or thing

possesses a quality which is not susceptible to precise

measurement, so long as there is an objective way to measure

where that person or thing falls within a reasonable range.

Weller. Whether a statement contains provably false factual

assertions is a question of law for the court to decide. Unelko,

912 F.2d 1049, 1053 (9th Cir. 1990); Weller, 283 Cal.Rptr; at

651, n.9.

In Partington, a lawyer sued the author of the book “And

the Sea Will Tell” for statements in the book criticizing the

lawyer’s performance in a highly publicized murder case. The

court found that readers of a lawyers’ account of a proceeding

would expect the account to contain only “highly subjective

opinions . . . rather than assertions of verifiable, objective facts.

Id. at 1154 citing Moldea v. New York Times, 22 F.3d 310

(D.C.Cir. 1994) (Importance, even after Milkovich, of

evaluating a critical analysis “with an eye toward readers’

65a

Appendix C

expectations and understanding [of it]”) . Likewise, the court

found that viewers of a docu-drama would not expect the

broadcast to be a wholly accurate portrayal of historical facts.

The court also concluded that “assessments of a lawyer’s

trial performance are inherently subjective and therefore not

susceptible of being proved true or false.” /d. at 1157-58. The

court noted with approval the decision of the D.C. Circuit in

Moldea which similarly held that criticism’s of a journalist’s

“sloppy journalism” and unprofessional techniques are not

actionable under Milkovich. “Where the question of truth or

falsity is a close one, the court should err on the side of

nonactionability.” Partington at 1159, quoting Moldea, 22 F.3d

at 317.

In Standing Committee v. Yagman, 55 F.3d 1430 (9th Cir.

1995), the court held that, under Milkovich, statements by a

lawyer that a judge was “dishonest” were not actionable, but a

Statement that the judge was “drunk on the bench” was

actionable.* The court found that the use of the term “dishonest”

was not actionable for three reasons. First, it did not imply any

specific criminal or other wrongful act. Second, it was one of a

string of invectives hurled at the judge by the lawyer and was

thus only another form of hyperbole for expressing the lawyer’s

contempt for the judge. Finally, the court found that the term

could imply “intellectual dishonesty” but that intellectual

dishonesty was a trait which could not be measured against a

“core of objective evidence.” Jd. at 1440-41.

4. Although the latter statement was actionable because it asserted

a specific and objective fact, the court concluded that the statement could

not give rise to sanctions where the Committee had presumed falsity

and had not introduced any evidence to show the :alsity of the statement.

Standing Committee, 55 F.3d a1 1441-42.

66a

Appendix C

D. Rhetoric/Hyperbole

The First amendment protects statements which cannot

reasonably be interpreted as stating actual facts. Milkovich.

“Even statements that at first blush appear to be factual are

protected by the First amendment if they cannot reasonably be

interpreted as stating actual facts about their target.” Standing

Committee, 55 F.3d at 1438. “Thus, statements of ‘rhetorical

hyperbole’ aren’t sanctionable, nor are statements that use

language in a ‘loose, figurative sense.’ ” Jd. (citations omitted).

Whether a statement could be reasonably understood as an

assertion of fact as opposed to hyperbole or loose figurative

expression is a question of law for the court. Weller, 283

Cal.Rptr. at 651, n.9.

In Standing Committee, supra, the court held that the

following comments about a judge were immune from

disciplinary sanctions because they were hyperbole and rhetoric

which a reasonable person would not believe conveyed actual

facts: Yagman said that Judge Keller was ignorant, ill-tempered,

buffoon, substandard human, right-wing fanatic, bully, one of

the worst judges in the U.S.

E. Opinions Based on Disclosed Truthful Facts

Opinions based on disclosed truthful facts are not

actionable. Standing Committee; Lewis v. Time, Inc., 710 F.2d

549 (9th Cir. 1983) ; Rest. 2d Torts § 566. Under this privilege,

the statement “I think Jones is an alcoholic” is actionable but

the same statement is immunized if it is preceded by the truthful

statements “Jones moved in six months ago. I have seen him

only twice, in his backyard with a drink in his hand.” The second

set of statemcits allows the hearer to assess the validity of the

67a

Appendix C

conclusion “Jones is an alcoholic.” see Standing Committee,

55 F.3d at 1439. The Court refers to this as the “disclosed facts”

privilege.

VI. Application

1. Plaintiff's conduct was the same as that of a convicted

or accused felon.

Dodds claims that the juxtaposition of the pieces in the

broadcast implies that Dodds’ conduct is “the same as” that of

the accused pederast judge from Indiana and/or the judge

convicted of sexual assault in South Carolina. The Court does

not find that the statements in the broadcast are susceptible of

such an implied assertion. Unlike the reports in Weller implying

a link between Weller and a convicted felon, the pieces in the

PrimeTime segment clearly distinguish the three judges; the

report states that they are thousands of miles apart and also

gives the specific factual underpinnings for the alleged

wrongdoing of each judge. The only assertion of commonality

is that these are all “bad” judges in some way. Such an assertion

is not sufficiently concrete and factual to be actionable. see

Standing Committee.

2. Plaintiff is one of the three worst judges in the country.

This statement is very close to statements made by attorney

Yagman about Judge Keller in Standing Committee. Standing

Committee said that the statement that Judge Keller was “the

worst judge in the United States” was hyperbole and rhetoric

and therefore not actionable. Standing Committee is

distinguishable however, since Yagman hurled his insult in a

stream of outrageous hyperbole and rhetoric. Here, it could be

68a

Appendix C

argued that the context in which the implied assertion was made

— a network newsmagazine — tends to make it a more factual

assertion. see Weller, supra (Background of purportedly

objective news report lends “factual” air to implied statements).

Nevertheless, the statement is not actionable. The segment

does not purport to draw on any objective survey or rating of

American judges. Rather, the introduction to the segment says

that the Judges depicted are only “some” of the judges whose

“conduct seems downright scandalous.” Transcript at 1, Diane

Sawyer. The term “downright scandalous” is hyperbole, not a

statement of fact.

The most the segment implies is that it is focusing on these

judges because the charges against them are serious and not

frivolous like the majority of complaints abeut judges.

Transcript at 2, Cynthia McFadden. Unlike a direct assertion

that the judge’s conduct was felonious, saying that alleged

misconduct is “serious” does not state a fact which can be

proved false by reference to a “core of objective evidence.”

Moreover, Dodds does not claim that the charges against him

were not “serious,” so McFadden’s statement cannot be

defamatory. Thus, giving Plaintiff the benefit of the doubt, the

Court finds that the alleged implied statement that Dodds was

one of the three worst judges in the United States is not

actionable.

3. Plaintiff has participated in a secret cover-up of his

improprieties.

The Court finds that the segment is not reasonably

susceptible to any implication that Dodds participated in a

cover-up. Unlike the statements in Weller, the statements about

69a

Appendix C

secrecy here clearly state that it is the State judiciary

commission, not the judge, who is being secretive. Transcript

at 3, McFadden; at 4, Sawyer. Moreover, the tenor of the piece

implies that it is the disciplinary process, not the judges being

disciplined, which is overly secretive and self-serving. For

example, immediately following the statement about the secret

investigation of Dodds is a piece on a South Carolina judge

that it highly critical of an insulated and self-serving judicial

discipline process. Thus, in terms of traditional defamation law,

there is no implication of the “colloquium” element.

4. Plaintiff is “unfit” to serve as a judge.

The piece does imply that Dodds is “unfit” to serve as a

judge. However, an assessment about whether a judge is fit to

serve is not an objectively verifiable assessment, at least where

it is not based on allegations of legal improprieties, corruption,

physical/mental incapacities, or ratings made by bar

associations or similar bodies. For example, in Standing

Committee, the court said that an allegation that Judge Keller

was “dishonest” was not actionable, whereas an allegation that

he was “corrupt” or had taken bribes would be. Here, the implied

statement that Dodds is “unfit” to serve as a judge arises from

allegations about his judicial temperament, his approach to case

management, and his personality in general. Whether such

factors would make a judge “unfit” are matters of subjective

taste, much like the assessment of a lawyer’s abilities deemed

unactionable in Partington.

There could be cases in which an assertion that a judge

was “unfit” would be actionable as an objectively verifiable

fact. For example, if Judge Dodds’ fitness for judicial service

had actually been assessed by a competent body, then the

70a

Appendix C

assertion would be verifiable. see Gill v. Hughes, 278 Cal.Rtpr.

306 (assertion that surgeon was “incompetent” was provably

false where there was an evidentiary hearing in another

proceeding on surgeon’s competence) . Here, there is no ready

method to determine objectively whether the facts asserted in

ABC’s report would or would not make Judge Dodds “unfit”

for judicial service.

5. Plaintiff is a court jester/believes he is a god.

Such statements are clearly along the lines of the sort of

hyperbole and rhetoric found to be non-sanctionable in Standing

Committee. (Comments that Judge Keller was a “buffoon” and

a “sub-standard human.”) The statement that Dodds thinks he

is a god is clearly stated in a sarcastic manner implying that

Dodds is power-happy, not that he has actual delusions that he

is Zeus, Krishna, or any other deity.

6. Plaintiff makes decisions based on a crystal ball.

The implied assertion that Plaintiff says a viewer would

draw from the show is that Dodds “only makes decisions based

on a crystal ball.” Complaint, 4 9(c):23-24. This is a specific

and verifiable allegation. Moreover, it is an implied assertion

which a reasonable person could draw from the segment,

especially since McFadden introduces the segment by implying

that Dodds uses something other than wisdom and a superior

grasp of the laws to justify his decisions. Transcript at 2,

McFadden.

This assertion should be actionable unless it falls within

the “disclosed facts” privilege. The actual facts in the story

relating to the crystal ball are as follows: 1) a statement that

Tila

Appendix C

Dodds “used” the crystal ball in a settlement conference, 2)

that he has used the ball to “support” his decisions, and 3) that

the ball sits on Dodds’ table in chambers. Dodds denies,

however, that he ever used the crystal bail to support his

decision. In contrast, Dodds asserted at hearing that the ball

was used purely in jesi. Thus, because Dodds denies the truth

of the revealed facts, the implied assertion is not protected by

the disclosed facts privilege and is actionable.

7. Plaintiff is consistently reading newspapers and

magazines on the bench.

This is a specific allegation reasonably implied from factual

assertions made in the broadcast. The segment includes a direct

statement that complaints about Dodds” judicial temperament

include reading newspapers and magazines on the bench. In

addition, the segment implies that such activities happened on

a regular basis; the segment notes that there has been a “stream”

of complaints regarding Judge Dodds’ behavior and purports

to rely on a former court clerk who, audiences may fairly

assume, would have had occasion to see Judge Dodds’ alleged

literary activities on more than one occasion. see Partington

(Court can consider how audience is likely to perceive context

in which statement is presented).

8. Plaintiff is constantly yelling, screaming, and spitting

in court.

Similar to the above statement, this is a specific allegation

reasonably implied from factual assertions made in the

broadcast. Transcript at 2, McFadden (Complaints about

judicial temperament including yelling, screaming, and

spitting). Therefore, the statement is actionable.

72a

Appendix C

9. Plaintiff improperly rushes cases through the system.

This statement is reasonably implied from the segment.

However, it os not actionable because it is not objectively

verifiable. One could verify whether a judge tends to move his

cases at a rapid pace. However, the mere allegation that a judge

moves his calendar quickly is not, standing alone, a defamatory

comment. The defamatory implication is that Dodds rushed

cases “improperly.” There is no way to objectively verify

whether a judge has acted improperly in moving cases through

the calendar.

10. Plaintiff is consistently disrespectful towards parties

and witnesses.

This is an assertion which a reasonable person could find

is implied from the broadcast. However, the statement is not

actionable. Whether someone is “respectful” is generally a

subjective matier. An argument could be made that, in applying

the term “disrespectful” to judges, a narrow and verifiable

definition could be drawn from judicial disciplinary

proceedings. However, the segment used the term

“disrespectful” outside the context of a disciplinary process

and there is no implication that the statement relied on any

disciplinary findings of disrespect. Therefore, the Court

concludes that the implied statement is not actionable because

it is not sufficiently concrete or factual.

11. Plaintiff wrongfully and constantly pressures cases to

settle for less than they are worth.

This statement may be fairly implied from the segment.

However, like the statement above that Dodds “improperly”

73a

Appendix C

rushes cases through the system, the assertion that an application

of settlement pressure was “wrongful” is too vague a statement

to be actionable. “Wrongful” can range from “unsuitable” and

“inappropriate” to “impermissible” or “evil.” The New

American Roget’s College Thesaurus In Dictionary Form,

(1985). These words can imply pressuring a settlement because

of a misunderstanding of the claims and facts, pressuring a

settlement because of a personal dislike for a party, or

pressuring settlement because the judge is due a kickback. Thus,

the statement that a judge “wrongfully” pressures’ settlements

is much like the statement that a judge 1s “dishonest” rejected

in Standing Committee as inactionable.°

12. Dodds is hiding from public view.

The report only states that Judge Dodds refused an

interview, stating that state law prevented him from talking

about the case. It also shows him avoiding reporter McFadden

when she approaches him as he gets into his car. However, it is

5. The Court acknowledges that Standing Committee was not a

defamation action, but a disciplinary proceeding. Plaintiffs argue that

Standing Committee cannot serve as a guide in this case because the

attorneys’ statements are afforded a higher level of First amendment

protection than ordinary defamatory statements. This is patently wrong.

Standing Committee relies on a line of cases clearly holding that

attorneys’ statements about judges receive /ess First amendment

protection than ordinary defamatory speech. see U.S. District Court for

E.D. of Wash. v. Sandlin, 12 F.3d 861, 867 (9th Cir. 1993) (Lower

standard of proof and objective malice standard can be applied in

disciplinary action against lawyer far statements critical of judge). Thus,

if Standing Committee deemed statements inactionable under the First

amendment despite a lower standard of protectiun, it is a fortiori that

similar statements are inactionable in a run-of-the-mill defamation action

where the level of protection is higher.

74a

Appendix C

not reasonable to conclude from this that he is “hiding” from

public view.

In Weller, supra, the court found that the reporting

technique of portraying the target of the report as “stonewalling”

implied that the target “had something to hide.” In Weller, the

reporter sarcastically stated that the target was “reportedly”

out of town, implying that he was not and was just hiding.

“Hiding” implies that Dodds has no legitimate reason not

to speak on camera. The ABC report does not make such an

implication. Unlike the reporter in Weller, McFadden does not

use a sarcastic tone when she states Dodds’ reason for not

speaking with her and the segment does not imply that Dodds’

stated reason was not true. If anything, the report condemned

state laws and procedures which kept judicial investigations

secret, bolstering the credibility of Dodds’ statement that he

was prohibited by law from speaking about the case. The only

thing reasonably implied from the ABC repozt is that such laws

are wrong because judges are public figures who should be

required to submit to public questioning. Such a statement is

not a statement about Dodds, but about the judicial discipline

system. Therefore, the Court finds that no reasonable jury could

find that the PrimeTime segment implies that Dodds is “hiding”

from public view.®

13. Plaintiff is eluding discipline solely because 1) serious

allegations are not vigorously investigated, 2) secrecy is

used to protect him from serious charges, and 3) the

political climate protects him.

6. The Court also notes that earlier in the report, Dodds is shown

on a videotape denying charges by Cindy Hart. This tends to negate any

argument that the segment implies that Dodds is hiding from public view.

75a

Appendix C

The statement from which the alleged assertion is drawn

in no way states that the three reasons given are the “only”

reasons problem judges are not disciplined. Transcript at 4,

McFadden. Rather, it states that these three reasons are “often”

“factors.” More importantly, there is no implication in the report

that Dodds is “eluding” discipline. If anything, the report makes

it clear that a Commission was investigating Dodds and that

investigation was still pending at the time of the report. Finally,

the Court finds that, even if such a statement were reasonably

implied, it would not be a statement of or concerning Dodds,

but rather another statement condemning the judicial

disciplimary system. Therefore, the Court finds that the alleged

defamatory statement is not actionable.

VII. Intentional Infliction of Emotional Distress Claims

The above conclusions about the constitutional protections

for ABC’s statements in the defamation action apply equally

to Dodd”s claim for intentional infliction of emotional distress.

Hustler Magazine v. Falwell, 108 S.Ct. 876 (1988)

(Constitutional protections for defamatory speech also extends

to claims for intentional infliction of emotional distress

premised on injury from “offensive publication.”). Thus, Dodds

may pursue his claim for emctional distress only as to the

statements regarding 1) the crystal ball, 2) screaming, yelling,

and spitting, and 3) reading newspapers and magazines on the

bench.

VIII. Conclusion

The Court DENIES ABC’s motion to dismiss under

F.R.C.P. 12(b) (6). Dodds has alleged publication of three

actionable statements. Therefore, his claims may proceed at

this point on the basis of those three statements.

76a

Appendix C

IT IS SO ORDERED.

DATED: 12-21 95

s/ Stephen V. Wilson

STEPHEN V. WILSON

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

77a

APPENDIX D — ORDER OF THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

FILED JULY 9, 1998

NOT FOR PUBLICATION

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

No. 96-56300

D.C. No. CV-95-06694-SV W

HONORABLE BRUCE W. DODDS,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

v.

AMERICAN BROADCASTING COMPANY, INC., a

Delaware Corporation,

Defendant-Appellee.

ORDER

Before: REINHARDT and TASHIMA Circuit Judges, and

FITZGERALD, Senior District Judge.*

The panel has voted to deny the petition for rehearing and

to reject the suggestion for rehearing en banc. The full court

has been advised of the suggestion for rehearing en banc, and

* The Honorable James M. Fitzgerald, Senior United States District

Judge for the District of Alaska, sitting by designation.

78a

Appenaix D

no judge of the court has requested a vote on the suggestion for

rehearing en banc. Fed. R. App. P. 35(b).

The petition for rehearing is denied and the suggestion for

rehearing en banc is rejected.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.