Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Figueroa v. United States

Supreme Court brief1994

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

eee

93-979 [eae on vs

DEC 16 1993

OFFICE OF THE CLERK |

No. -

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1993

ELADIO T. FIGUEROA, et al.,

Petitioners,

We

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, et al.,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

Bennet A. McConaughy

Counsel of Record

Edward R. Coulson

Joseph E. Delaney

FOSTER PEPPER & SHEFELMAN

1111 Third Avenue, Suite 3400

Seattle, WA 98101

(206) 447-4400

Counsel for Petitioners

December 14, 1993

eR ABS

a

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

| Whether the Federal Employees’

Compensation Act, 5 U.S.C. § 8101

("FECA"), preempts claims for non-

disabling emotional distress and increased

risk of future disease, neither of which

result from or constitute existing

physical injuries.

2. Whether FECA’s provision

restricting review of decisions of the

Secretary of Labor requires courts to

abstain from deciding questions of the

scope of FECA’s coverage which do not

arise from a decision by the Secretary.

3. Whether FECA, contrary to

virtually every other workers’

compensation statute, bars claims against

the United States for intentional or

reckless conduct.

4. Whether intentional or reckless

conduct by officers of the United States

«» Ge -«

exposing persons to a danger created by

the officers’ unlawful conduct violates

the exposed persons’ constitutional rights

to personal security under the substantive

due process clause of the Fifth Amendment

of the United States Constitution.

5. Whether officers of the United

States are entitled to qualified immunity

because they are acting as employers

rather than law enforcement officials when

creating and exposing persons to a danger.

LIST OF ALL PARTIES

The plaintiffs are:

Leo A. Abilo

Bartolome E. Abuan

Bartolome H. Abuan

Rosita P. Abuan

Angela M. P. Abuan

Patricia A. P. Abuan

Vanessa N. P. Abuan

Melanie R. P. Abuan

Esther Leon Guerrero

Bukikosa

Shawlon Tiana

Bukikosa

Romeo A. Acejo

Elisa Acejo

Pamela A. Acejo

Joy A. Acejo

Romel A. Acejo

Vicente M. Acfalle

Arlene T. Acfalle

Zachery L. T.

Acfalle

Vanessa C.T. Acfalle

Eric J. T. Acfalle

Alejandro R. Ada

Ana C. Ada

Jessica R.

Tainatongo

Gerry A. Adrillano

Pacita M. Adrillano

Bobby M.Adrillano

- iii -

Marilyn M. A. Repeki

Maesie M. A. Rote

Perlita M. Adrillano

William Jr. Adrillano

Gerry A. Adrillano

Pacita M. Adrillano

Bobby M. Adrillano

Marilyn M. A. Repeki

Maesie M. A. Rote

Perlita M. Adrillano

William Jr. Adrillano

Levi M. Adrillano

Gilbert J. Rote

Brandon G. Adrillano

William R. Repeki

Mary B. A. Repeki

Carl C. Afaisen

Mae S. Santos

David Afaisen

Jennifer Afaisen

Cecilia Afaisen

Juan 0. Aflague

Immaculada S. Aflague

Frankie S. Aflague

Mark D. S. Aflague

Danny T. Agar

Rossana S. Agar

Danny S. Agar, Jr.

Erin S. Agar

Eric S. Agar

Eduardo E. Aguon

Annette B. Aguon

Manuel E. Aguon

Ray R. Aguon

Jeanette E. D. Aguon

Gilbert A. Aguon

Jose C. Agquon

Francia P. Aguon

Linda F. Aguon

Michael V. Aguon

Rudolfo S. Agustin

Brigida C. Agustin

Barbara J. Agustin

Aiisha S. Agustin

Sherina L. Agustin

Rudolfo S. Agustin,

Jr.

Adrianne R. Agustin

Athena L. Agustin

Allan B. Alferos

Concepcion B.

Alferos

Lorenzo Alferos

Laurens John S.

Alferos

Helen L. G. Salas

Gilbert H. Alvarez

Harriet Blas

Melanie J. Alvarez

Jerry J. Alvarez

Gilbert H. Alvarez,

Jr.

Bonnie A. Blas

Christopher C. Blas

Jerson Gilbert Blas

Isabel Alvarez

Jason Anthony Blas

Pedro S. Apuron

Rosa G. Apuror

Andrew C. R. Apuron

Pedro S. Apuron, Jr.

Daisy A. J. Apuron

Carl A. Aquino

Josefina L. Aquino

Matthew L. Aquino

Carl A. Aquino

Joseph Q. Aquino

Tahnee L. G. Aquino

Donna M. Gogue

Franklin P. Arteroy

T. D. Artero

Elizabeth M. D.

' Artero

Pedro A. Atalig

Ann F. Babauta

Marla S. Babauta

Maria B. Cruz

Thomas S. Babauta

Maria M. Babauta

Paul B. Balajadia

Therese B. Briggs

Clarice B. Briggs

Audrey B. Briggs

Byron B. Briggs

Tedorsha B. Briggs

Ramon C. Balajadia,

Jr.

Gilda P. Balajadia

Don Ray P. Balajadia

Mitchell P. Balajadia

Larry Sambilay

Barrett

Flordeliza C. Barrett

Larizza C. C. Barrett

Lyn D. C. Barrett

Liezl R. C. Barrett

Rogelio V. Basto

Lilia A. Basto

Jeremy A. Basto

Jaydee A. Basto

JoAnn A. Basto

Kimberly A. Basto

Joseph P. Baza

Jose L. G. Baza

Maria P. Baza

Rogelio D. Bejerana

Elsa A. Bejerana

Roel Bejerana

Oliver Bejerana

Eleanor Bejerana

Aguon

Laurence Bejerana

iv -

Samuel A. A.

Bejerana

Bernice A. Bejerana

George R. Bell

Diana S. A. Bell

Lana J. Bell

Caroline A. Bell

Henry J. Bell

Debra M. Bell

Briant G. Bell

Bernadette M. Bell

Luciano C. Bensan

Silveria B. Bensan

Daniel B. Bensan

Crispin B. Bensan

Joseph Camacho Blas

Deborah S. Blas

Christopher J. S.

Blas

Joseph J. S. Blas

Brian A. S. Blas

Joseph M. Blas

Juan F. Blas

Juanita B. Blas

Rosie A. B. Blas

Edith M. B. Blas

Mark A. B. Blas

Peter V. B. Blas

Selma H. Guerrero

Tammy J. G. Blas

Donavan C. G. Blas

Augusto B. Blas

Josephia B. Blas

Raymond A. Blas

Doris G. Blas

Raymond A. Blas, Jr.

Franklin M. Borja

Zina M. Santos

Tesha Santos

Kayleen N. Sa1rtos

Sheena M. Santos

Jose I. Borja

Arlene B. Baza

George S. A. Baza

Chris Baza

Nick Baza

Analyn Baza

Junior F. Borja

Josephine I. Borja

Jennifer I. Borja

Pedro F. Borja

Rosemarie I. Borja

Lorie A. I. Borja

Ivan I. Borja

Jodi I. Borja

Thomas M. Borja

George C. Borja

Amelia M. Borja

Doines M. Borja

Jeffrey M. Borja

Daniel B. Bunoan

Maria P. Bunoan

Carolyn P. Bunoan

Crystal P. Bunoan

Bridget P. Bunoan

Monica P. Bunoan

Dennis B. Caasi

Deding B. Caasi

Dennis B. Caasi, II

Dennisa Caasi

Roberto E. Cabreza

Beverly C. C. Cabreza

Matthew E. C. Cabreza

Ashlee R. C. Cabreza

Simeon S. P. Cachero

Donald I. Calvo

Maria S. Calvo

Isabel J. Calvo

Genessa S. Calvo

Zeriah K. Calvo

Joshua M. Calvo

Gregory S. Camacho

Bernadette F. Santos

Trina Rose Santos

Kanaryn Joy Santos

Serapio T. Cardines

Anacleto D. Carpela

Vilma C. Carpela

Matt C. Carpela

Rebecca C. Carpela

Rosa C. Carpela

Eleuteria D. Carpela

Anthony Q. Castro

Rose M. Castro

Krystal N. M. Castro

Jacob A. Castro

Beatrice Q. Castro

Jesus S. N. Castro

Anita Q. Castro

Joseph Q. Castro

David B. Castro

Carina D. Castro

David J. D. Castro

Nathan D. D. Castro

Jose R. Duenas

Rosario P. Duenas

Ernest C. Castro

Selina C. Castro

Ernest C. Castro,

Jr.

Fanti C. Castvo

Joseph C. Cas“ro

John B. Castro

Bernadita R. Castro

Bennett Marie R.

Castro

Frank A. R. Castro

Lynette Ann R.

Castro

Joseph John R.

Castro

Johnny C. Newby

Joseph Michael Newby

- vi -

John Newby

Noel G. Castro

Ana Garredo Castro

Randolph I. Castro

Ann Marie Quenga

Castro

Roseanne Marie Quenga

Castro

Rachel Ann Quenga

Castro

Richard J. Castro

Mark G. Cepeda

Esper Josita Mondina

Marc R. Cepeda

Jesse B. Chaco

Jesus B. Chaco

Virginia B. Chaco

Jeffrey B. Chaco

John Vincent B. Chaco

Harold Jr. Charfauros

Cecilia M. Charfauros

Verony A. M.

Charfauros

Harold Charfauros Jr.

Christina M.

Charfauros

Nora L. Charfauros

Luis T. Charfauros

Rosie M. Charfauros

Luis M. Charfauros

III

AnnMarie J.

Charfauros

John E. M. Charfauros

Justin C. M.

Charfauros

Vanessa R. T.

Charfauros

Charlie A. Chequina

Eloise T. Chequina

Jose Q. Chiquina

Guadalupe T.

Chiquina

Annabel C. Borja

Vincent J. T.

Chiquina

Lucinda M. T.

Chigquina

Leonides H. Corcuera

Lolita C. Corcuera

Patrocinio C.

Corcuera

Francisco C.

Corcuera

Julie M. Corcuera

John Gilbert M.

Corcuera

Nersty C. Corcuera

Beverly Jane T.

Corcuera

Ian Kenneth T.

Cunanan

Neil Ross T.

Corcuera

Mario Salayon Cortez

Dolores R. Cortez

Swellen R. Cortez

Elder R. Cortez

Jenny R. Cortez

Lourdes G. Cortez

Nenita C. Baldovino

Nelson V. Baldovino

Gloria G. Cortez

Estelita G. Cortez

Jose Adriano G.

Cortez

Rogelio G. Cortez

Rodrigo G. Cortez

Neal P. C. Baldovino

Nicolette C.

Baldovino

Lourdes C. Aq iino

- vii

Geraldine C.

Baldovino

Kevin C. Baldovino

Renz C. Cortez

Alan S. Cruz

Janet B. Cruz

Josephine S. Cruz

Atanacio A. Cruz

Robin R. Cruz

Josephine C. Alforque

Benny S. Cruz

Gertrudes J. M. Cruz

Jennifer M. Cruz

Yvonne M. Cruz

Maurice V. Cruz

Liga R. Cruz

Charles G. Cruz

Rita B. Cruz

Charles B. Cruz

Andrew B. Cruz

Eric E. Cruz

Linda M. T. Cruz

Mandy J. Cruz

Nicole E. Cruz

Derrick C. Cruz

Francisco A. Cruz

Ignacia C. Cruz

Marvin A. Cruz

Edwin T. Cruz

Francisco A. CruzZ,

Jr.

Barbara R. Cruz

Darlene G. C. Pereda

Corina M. Cruz

Dawn N. Cruz

Leonard R. Cruz

Nekita F. Cruz

Arlene J. C. Remis

Naomi S. Cruz

William A. Cruz

Frank S. Cruz

Erbuta D. Cruz

Jean D. Cruz

Glenn R. Cruz

Anna C. Cruz

Naomi C. Cruz

Vanessa C. Cruz

Valene C. Cruz

Isidro P. Cruz

Anita N. Cruz

Isidore D. N. Cruz

Irma P. N. Cruz

Isaac Leo N. Cruz

Jose Acfalle Cruz

Dolores M. Cruz

Jose A. Cruz, Jr.

Mara L. M. Cruz

Douglas K. M. Cruz

Marvin E. Cruz

Jacqueline M. Cruz

Kasie L. M. Cruz

Kenny L. M. Cruz

Koryn L. M. Cruz

Victor S. Cruz

Brigida F. Cruz

Vincent G. C. Cruz

Carmelita A. Cruz

Lelani T. A. Cruz

Dwayne F. A. Cruz

Gerald J. A. Cruz

Vicente M. Cruz

Victoria C. Cruz

Victor S. Damian

Maria S. Damian

Engracio B. Damian

Primo J. Dancel

Kimi N. Dancel

Virginia Dancel

Kiyomi N. Kayo

Munetaka Kayo

Mika D. Kayo

Ken Kayo

- viii

Tadashi Kayo

Candido Dela Cruz

Ana B. Dela Cruz

Teresa M. Dela Cruz

Mario G. Delos Reyes

Lydia R. Delos Reyes

Feroza T. Delos Reyes

Imelda D.R. Zacarias

Nia Deen D.R. Lim

Roger B. Delos Reyes

Santiago G. Delos

Reyes

Herminia B. Delos

Reyes

Helma B. Delos Reyes

Allan B. Delos Reyes

Roy D. Dema-Ala

Stoney Thomas DeMent

LaDonna R. DeMent

Jeffrey S. Reyes

Karlene K. Reyes

Michael A. DeMent

Darrell DeMent

Carlos A. Deocampo

IIl

Clarita A. Deocampo

Carlos C. Deocampo

Leslie E. Dezell

Elizabeth G. Dezell

Steven A. Dezell

Stephanie G. Dezell

Francisco U. Diaz

Antonia C. Diaz

Raymond C. Diaz

James C. Diaz

Frances R. C. Diaz

Claire M. C. Diaz

Vicente C. Diaz

Catherine P. Diaz

Vincent P. P. Diaz

Julian A. P. Diaz

Melissa C. P. Diaz

Mariano D. Doronila

Rosalina J. Doronila

Marfil G. Doronila

Jay J. Doronila

Ilyn J. Doronila

Antonio U. Duenas

Ann C. Duenas

Brian A. C. Duenas

Brandon J. C. Duenas

Johnny Castro Duenas

Mary B. Duenas

Roy B. Duenas

Winnie M. B. Duenas

Juan C. Duenas

Randolph C. Duenas

Johnny C. Duenas

Roland C. Duenas

Frederick C. Duenas

Leonora C. Duenas

Michael C. Duenas

Pauline C. Duenas

William M. Dulla

Ana Selna J. Dulla

Winchell J. Dulla

Annette J. Dulla

Eddie R. H. Dungca

Teodora M. Dungca

Dominic M. Dungca

Darcy James M.

Dungca

Mamerto C. Dusaban

Helendres H. Dusaban

Chester Ryan H.

Dusaban

Chastity June H.

Dusaban

Chona H. Dusaban

Jerry Reyes Enaligo

Margarita R. Enaligo

Jerry R. Enaligo

eee enn eee

Andre’ R. Enaligo

Jayleen R. Enaligo

Paul Borja Enriquez

Jacqueline I.

Enriquez

Krisha L. Enriquez

Caressa C. Cardona

Pedro C. Esteban

Maria D. Esteban

Peter D. Esteban

Mary D. Esteban

Paul D. Esteban

Edward Pp. Esteban

Bruce A. Estrada

Ofelia A. Estrada

Jenett E. Bozant

Bruce A. Estrada, Jr.

Caroline A. Estrada

Robert A. Estrada

Mary Jane E.

Schneider

Annabel A. Estrada

Charles E. Ettleman

Betty Ann Ettleman

Crystal Ettleman

Curtis Ettleman

Joseph Eustaquio

Frances S. Eustaquio

Hope A. Eustaquio

Johnny E. Farnum

Julie Q. Farnum

Johnny Jr. Farnum

Jason C. Farnum

Jaclyn L. Q. Farnum

James P. Fejeran

Jesus C. Fejeran

Serafina P. Fejeran

Francis P. Fejeran

Antoinette C. P.

Fejeran

Frances C. Quitugua

Felix Fernandez

Eladio T. Figueroa

Suzette C. Figueroa

Leilani M. Figueroa

Othilia R. Figueroa

Leandra L. Figueroa

Antonio P. Flores

Paul B. Flores

Vicente S. Flores

Maria A. Benavente

Vincent B. Flvzres

Bruce B. Flores

Albert A. Benavente

Monica A. Benavente

Frederico P. Franco

Leonor A. Franco

Nelson A. Franco

Stella A. Franco

Daniel M. Fujikawa

Kelly R. Fujikawa

Amanda R. Fujikawa

Antonio K. Fujikawa

Augeda M. Fujikawa

Antonio S. N.

Fujikawa

Eloy M. Fujikawa

William M. Fujikawa

Joyce M. Fujikawa

Dennis C. Garcia

Matilde T. Garcia

Darrell C. Garcia

Desiree C. Garcia

Dailene C. Garcia

Anthony M. Garrido

Luisa P. Quintanilla

Charles M.

Quintanilla,Jr.

Vanessa A.

Quintanilla

Chris P. Quintanilla

Valery A. Garrido

Jose Ulloa Garrido

Carolyn R. Garrido

Raul V. R. Garrido

Joshua A. Garrido

Michael L. G. Garrido

Martha I. Garrido

Christopher M.

Garrido

Chrisynda M. Garrido

Jesus A. Gogo

Francisco M. Santos

Joseph S. Gogo

Pedro A. S. Gogo

Lourdes G. Rosario

Dolores S. Gogo

Jesus S. Gogo

Vicente S. Gog

Elizabeth S. Gogo

Henry G. Goss

Ana P. Goss

Francis B. Guerrero

Francis E. Guerrero

Asuncion P. Guerrero

Erica P. Guerrero

Jacob P. Guerrero

Francisco Esteban

Guerrero

Teresita S. A.

Guerrero

Peter J. A. Guerrero

Paul M. A. Guerrero

Andrew G. A. Guerrero

Lawrence D. A.

Guerrero

Vivian C. Guerrrero

Matthew R. C.

Guerrero

Dolores S. N. Guzman

Duke J. S. N. Guzman

Darry J. S. N. Guzman

Leon S. N. Guzman

’

Leena D. S. N.

Guzman

Duane R. Harrison

Bernice Harrison

Thomas P. Heacock,

wes

Rafael Hermosilla

Jesse E. Hermosilla

Charles Hermosilla

Wayne Hermosilla

Connie E. Hermosilla

Helen E. Hermosilla

Esther E. Hermosilla

Scott E. Hermosilla

Esmeralda Hermosilla

Juan S. A. Hernandez

Amancio S. Hitosis

Felicita G. Hitosis

Kevin G. Hitosis

Yolanda G. Hitosis

Glenn G. Hitosis

Cecile S. Holloway

Calvin E. Holloway,

Sr.

Terence M. S.

Holloway

Kimberly S. Holloway

Michelle H. Holloway

Eileen T. Holloway

Milton Holt

Bobby S. Ignacio

Artemio Inocencio

Katsuko S. Inocencio

Dolores S. Inocencio

Teresa S. Inocencio

Monte Inocencio

Mathiot

Almitra Inocencio

Francisco S. Isezaki

Vivian S. Isezaki

Franklin S. Isezaki

» gh o

Francine S. Isezak

Kevin S. Isezaki

Orlene S. Isezaki

Jeremiah S. Isezaki

Joseph G. Jackson,

Jr.

Christine M.

Manibusan

Shawn Jackson

Ryan Jackson

Derick Jackson

Benedicto V. Laher

Teodora A. Laher

Johnny G. Lava

Augusto C. Laxamana

Candida L. Laxamana

Carolyn L. Laxamana

Elsa M. L. Laxamana

Rex S. L. Laxamana

Hill D. Leon Guerrero

Julia C. Leon

Guerrero

Hill C. Leon

Guerrero,

Jr.

Patrick C. Leon

Guerrero

Joann C. Leon

Guerrero

Joleene C. Leon

Guerrero

Sergio Leon Guerrero

Maria G. Leon

Guerrero

Marilyn E.L.G.

Quintanilla

James G. Leon

Guerrero

Sylvia G. Leon

Guerrero

Joseph Jr. G.Leon

Guerrero

Edward G. Leon

Guerrero

Christine M.L.G.

Quintanilla

Richard A.

Quintanilla

Iil

Ron L.G. Quintanilla

Naomi N. Leon

Guerrero

Richard A.

Quintanilla, Jr.

Jeromiah K. P.

Lizama

John P. Lizama

Maria P. Lizama

Glenn P. P. Lizama

Gary A. P. Lizama

Bryon T. P. Lizama

Dwayne L. P. Lizama

Jose C. Llameio

Terry T. Llamelo

Joann M. Llamelo

Jennylynn Llamelo

Joey Jr. Llamelo

Jesse J. Llamelo

Jeanette Llamelo

Alvin P. Lorenzo

Lillian B. Lorenzo

Joshua R. Baluyut

Jaimee B. Lorenzo

Janet B. Lorenzo

Renee A. Lorenzo

Joaquin J. D. Lujan

Brigida P. Lujan

Joanne D. P. Lujan

Joaquin J. D. Lujan,

ge

Manuel L. Lumbang,

Sr.

- xii

Hermana A. Lumbang

Claudia C. Lumbang

Susan A. Lumbang

Rene A. Lumbang

Nora A. L. Arellano

Wilfredo A. Lumbang

Pablo R. Lustiano

Ruby S. Lustiano

Richard S. Corbilla

Paul S. Lustiano

Leslie S. Lustiano

Eva M. S. Lustiano

Carlito L. Macaraeg

Virginia A. Macaraeg

Joayde A. Macaraeg

Carlota A. Macaraeg

Jose B. Mafnas

Mae M. Mafnas

Joseph J. M. Mafnas

Carl J. M. Mafnas

Marylee R. M. Mafnas

Michael J. M. Mafnas

Malissa R. M. Mafnas

Jose Santos Mafnas

Bernadita T. Mafnas

John T. Mafnas

Joseph T. Mafnas

Jeffrey T. Mafnas

Bernice T. Mafnas

James T. Mafnas

Juanito E. Magnase

Leonora L. Magnase

Francisco T.

Manalisay

Maxima C. Manalisay

Frances A. C.

Manalisay

Benny C. Mandapat,

Sr.

Elma P. Mandapat

Edwin P. Mandapat

Benny C. Mandapat,

Jr.

Bobby P. Mandapat

John A. Manibusan

Geraldine A.

Manibusan

Joseph G. Manibusan

Keisha R. Manibusan

Joseph H. Manibusan

Jesusa E. Manibusan

Therese C. Iglesias

Rose M. Castro

Peter P. Manibusan

Lelani M. Manibusan

Charles R. Manibusan

Jovita G. Manibusan

Jose M. Manibusan

Christopher G.

Guerrero

Ester M. Guerrero

Myron T. Guerrero

Roy Victor Mantanona

Mary T. Mantanona

Shirley J. Mantonona

Roy Jr. Mantonona

Kenneth B. Mantanona

Lynna A. Mantanona

Jocelyn M. Mantanona

Gene J. Mantanona

Joleen C. Mantanona

Jennilyn T.

Mantanona

Danny Marges

Mary Jane J. Marges

Diane J. Marges

Desiree J. Marges

Danny Boy Marges

Oly D. Marquez

Leonides S. Marquez

Ester M. Maillonx

Roderick S. Marquez

- xiii

Joselito S. Marquez

Gavino T. Mateo

Maria V. Warner

Ronald G. Warner

William L. Meeks

Mary A. T. Meeks

Isaac J. T. Meeks

Bill A. T. Meeks

Lisa M. T. Meeks

Albert P. Mendiola

Evangeline Torres

Bryan R. Mendiola

Alberta M. Mendiola

Stephanie L. Torres

Antonio M. Mendiola

Lucia C. Mendiola

Glenn A. Mendiola

Robert M. Mesa

Florencia M. Mesa

Joaquin M. Mesa

Arnold M. Mesa

Luis M. Mesa

Annie M. Mesa

Rose G. Quintanilla

Nadine S. Quintaniila

Laralynn R.

Quintanilla

Reanna J. Quintanilla

Christobal N.

Quintanilla

Rosalia G.

Quintanilla

Freddie A. Mesias

Jacqueline Mesias

Agustin A. Mesias

Caitlin Mesias

Joel A. Mesias

Caridad A. Mesias

Jesus A. Mesias

Ernesto A. Mesias

Susan A. Mesias

Chona A. Mesias

Esmeraldo M.

Monterde

Maria S. Monterde

Frank A. Sablan

Maria T. S. Monterde

Juan T. Naputi

Josephine M. Naputi

Christine M. Naputi

Annette M. Naputi

John H. M. Naputi

Valerie M. Naputi

Baby Jo M. Naputi

Peter J. D. Nauta

Jesus M. Nauta

Maria D. Nauta

Pauline J. D. Nauta

Frederick E. Oakes

Neri C. Ogo

Ioana C. M. Ogo

Michelle A. M. Ogo

Neri H. M. Ogo

Veronica B. Ogo

Josefa J. C. Borja

Joseph A. B. Ogo

Ramon A. B. Ogo

Michele Okiyama

Limtiaco

Vicente C. G.

Okiyama

Angelina B. Okiyama

Benny A. Okiyama

Cordina M. Okiyama

Eugene D. Okiyama

Abraham 0. Ordona

Rosita E. Ordona

Dina R. Ordona

Carino

Monica M. Ordona

Lacy

Leoneal A. Ordona

| |

- xiv -

Abraham J. Ordona

Aris E. Ordona

Jonathan O. Lacy

Eric V. Carino

Willard J. M. Lacy II

Jacinto M. Pablo

Teresita C. Pablo

Jennifer J. Pablo

Jared J. Pablo

Alfredo C. Pangelinan

Felisa D. Pangelinan

Gregory D. Pangelinan

Fred D. Pangelinan

Benny D. Pangelinan

Rosalinda D.

Pangelinan

Monica D. Pangelinan

Alicia D. Pangelinan

Marissa D. Pangelinan

David G. Pangelinan

Doris M. Salas

Joseph F. Pangelinan

Maria B. Pangelinan

Joseph F. Pangelinan,

Jr.

Zina M. Pangelinan

Melvin J. Pangelinan

Steven J. Pangelinan

Joseph S. Pangelinan

Maria N. Pangelinan

Marie P. Lizama

Gerald N. Pangelinan

Lisa J. Pangelinan

Scott D. Pangelinan

Christopher J. Lizama

John Q. Lizama

Ernesto S. Patague

Araceli A. Patague

Ernesto A. Patague,

UE.

Eugene A. Patague

Erson A. Patague

Earl J. A. Patague

Ervin A. Patague

Edward A. Patague

Castor N. Patino

Arsenia P. Patino

Ailene Patino

Clarito Patino

Carlito Patino

Juan P. Patubo

Avelina P. Patubo

Irenea P. Fontanella

Albino P. Patubo

Charito R. Patubo

Alvin J. R. Patubo

Alexander R. Patubo

Francisco G. Paulino

Juana M. Paulino

Jenny R. M. Paulino

Michelle M. Paulino

Christine M. Paulino

Timothy F. Paulino

Franklin J. M.

Paulino

Matilda L. G.

Paulino

Myra R. L. G.

Paulino

Anica L. L. G.

Paulino

Reiko L. G. Paulino

Francisco G. Pereda

Linda J. Teodoro

Anthony S. Perez

Jacqueline M. E.

Perez

Paul A. EB. Perez

Teresa M. E. Perez

Antonio P. Perez

Maria F. Perez

Thomas L. Perez

- XV

Salvador Perez, Jr.

Concepcion S. N.

Perez

Benjamin P. Posadas

Rosemarie J. T.

Posadas

Gabriel B. T. Posadas

Jonah J. T. Posadas

Michael A. Prejean

Diane D. Prejean

Matthew A. Prejean

Carol J. Prejean

Bernadita G. Tenorio

Jose A. Hamamoto

David R. Quenga

Rosaleen D. Cruz

Larry Lizama Quenga

Anita S. I. Quenga

Juan B. Quichocho

Martha M. Quichocho

Jesse V. Quichocho

Yvonne M. Quichocho

Cheryl A. Quichocho

John R. Quichocho

James R. Quichocho

Don Steven Quinata

Joaquin N. Charfauros

Natividad Q.

Charfauros

Cherilyn B. Reyes

Jesus Q. Quinata

Inez C. Quinata

Lina M. Quinata

Michael J. Quinata

Ricky C. Quinata

Francis P. Quinata

Joaquin Q. Quinata

Maria S. Quinata

Jeffrey J. Quinata

Frankline J. Quinata

Evangeline S.

Quinata

Kenny S. Quinata

Sonny S. Quinata

Christopher §&

Quinata

Roy A. Quinata

Tony A. Quinata

Cecilia R. Quinata

Tony Jr. R. Quinata

Lena R. R. Quinata

Sheela R. Quinata

Sonya R. Quinata

Danny G. R. Quinata

Rosario A. Quinata

Rudy Q. Sanchez

Tom C. Quitugua

Maria C. Quit.igua

Frank J. Quitugua

Lisa C. Quitugua

Ryan J. Ragadio

Richard R. Ragadio

Rana S. Ragadio

Andresina A. Ragadio

Richard G. Ragadio

Richard M. Ragadio

George M. Raguindin

Elizabeth G.

Raguindin

George D. Raguindin

Yvonne R. Raguindin

Jennifer A.

Raguindin

Mark A. Raguindin

Annette M. Raguindin

Enrique C. Rama

Teresita Rama

Joel L. Rama

Jessica L. Rama

Bernardino A.

Ramirez

Vincent H. Ramos

- xvi -

Florante R. Rebanal

Susan S. J. Briola

Lucas B. Rebanal

Anthony F. Reyes

Pedro T. Reyes

Helen F. Reyes

Peter F. Reyes

Ashley R. Nanete

Darla Reyes

Ronald Reyes

Jeremia C. Reyes

William C. Reyes

Callen C. Reyes

Wilfred C. Reyes

Ana C. Reyes

Bertrand M. Reyes

Kenneth E. Rhein

Lorraine M. Rhein

Larry Rhoden

Adolpho S. Roberto

Estella C. Roberto

Edward C. Roberto

Brenda C. Roberto

Danny C. Roberto

Jesse A. Rodriguez

Bernice S. Rodriguez

Jesse P. Rodriguez

John A. Rosario

Cecilio C. Sablan

Victoria P. Sablan

Jude G. Sablan

Diana R. Sablan

Jesse A. Benavente

Albert P. Padua, Jr.

Jesse C. S. Benavente

Tessie A. S.

Benavente

Diana Jean S.

Benavente

Frankie L. G. Sablan

Anita S. Sablan

Arlene S. Sablan

Darlene S. Sablan

Franklin S. Sablan

Glenn T. Salanga

Elaine S. Salanga

Glenn T. Salanga,

Jr.

Brian J. Salanga

Jonathan S. Salanga

Sherilynn S. Salanga

Elisha S. Salanga

Joseph M. Salgado

Rosie A. Barrera

Joseph J. Salgado

Donna Lee Salgado

Paul I. Salgado

Eddie I. Salgado

Shirley I. Salgado

Cynthia T. Salgado

Audrey G. Salgado

Ana I. Salgado

Arsenio C.

Salumbides

Vincent P. San

Agustin

Natividad T. Quenga

Tracy Q. Duenas

Danella Q. Duenas

Delores Q. Duenas

Merissa Q. Duenas

Michelle Q. Duenas

Melanie Q. Duenas

Bobbie Jo T. Quenga

Jacquelin R. Quenga

Carmen Marie San

Agustin

Ann Carlene San

Agustin

Romulo D. V. Sanchez

Annie M. Sanchez

Romeo J. Sanchez

- xvii -

Audrey T. Sanchez

Ronnie M. Sanchez

Francisco Q. Santiago

Antoinette W.

Santiago

Jeremiah W. Santiago

Joseph J. W. Santiago

Anthony G. Santos

Christina L. S.

Camacho

Anthony G. Santos,

Jr.

Tia Lynn Santos

Henry S. N. Santos

Maria D. Santos

Rosa S. Santos

Henry D. Santos

Jose D. Santos

Annie S. Aguon

Jose M. Santos

Maria M. Santos

Joey M. Santos

Jeanie Marie Santos

Jeffrey M. Stanos

Joyce F. Santos

Joseph S. N. Santos

Acencion S. N. Santos

Domingo S. Santos

JoAnn S. N. Santos

Dwayne S. A. Santos

Mark J. Santos

Walter R. Santos

Juanita M. Santos

Robert D. M. Santos

Eileen E. M. Santos

Therese T. Barcinas

Walter D. M. Santos,

Jr.

Phillip R. M. Santos

Tomas D. Santos

Thomas D. Santos

Vicente R. Santos

LoveJoy T. Q. Santos

Liza K. D. Santos

Lenna L. D. Santos

Lugene K. U. Santos

Denise S. San

Nicolas

Mancini L. U. Santos

Alfredo S. Silverio

Ofelia N. Silverio

Eliseo N. Silverio

Alfie N. Silverio

Santiago S. Sogo-an

Rosemin M. Sogo-an

Shariffa M. Sogo-an

Sheryll M. Sogo-an

Randy M. Sogo an

Eduardo M. Soriano

Julia B. Soriano

Rick J. B. Soriano

Daniel C. Speight

Martha L. Speight

Yvonne M. Speight

Edward J. Aguigui,

Jr.

Antonio R. Suarez

Barbara T. Suarez

Antonio T. Suarez,

Jr.

Cristina T. Suarez

Lovelle T. Suarez

Primitivo S.

Susbilla

Julia S. Susbilla

Mishella S. Ibit

George C. Taijeron

Julie A. Taijeron

Katrina M. Taijeron

George C. Taiteron

Franc A. Taij2ron

Anselmo M. Garrido

- xviii -

Margarita M. Garrido

William R. Taimanglo

Jesse G. Tajalle

Marilyn F. Quintana

Arlene F. Morla

Vicente G. Tajelle

Editha E. Tajalle

Vicente G. Tajalle,

Jr.

Justo E. Tajalle

Geraldo E. Tajalle

Jose T. Takano

Perfecto L. Taladoc

Pilar B. Taladoc

Pepito Taladoc

Patricia Taladoc

Perry Taladoc

Perfecto L. Taladoc,

Jr.

Rudy T. Tamondong

Mercedes C. Tamondong

Janette E. Tamondong

Leah Ann C. Tamondong

Grace Marie C.

Tamondong

Froilan H. Tanghal

Evangeline C. Tanghal

Catherine C. Tanghal

Lawrence C. Tanghal

Valerie C. Tanghal

Toribio A. Tangi

Takiko N. Tangi

Adolfo N. Tangi

Manuel L. Tenorio

Paul E. Tenorio

Amado V. Tenoso

Cristeta P. Tenoso

Thelma P. Tenoso

Mabel P. Tenoso

Morey B. Teruel

Gloria A. Teruel

Michael J. A. Teruel

Jeffrey A. Teruel

Antonio S. Toves

Josephine R. Toves

Leilani R. Toves

Robert J. Benavente

Joreese M. Benavente

Jessica A. Benavente

Suzanne M. Toves

James K. Toves

Agnes T. Cruz

Juan I. Toves

Rodrigo Z. Cruz

Robert S. Toves

Isabel S. Toves

Marlyn Toves

Cynthia S. Toves

Gary S. Toves

Darcy S. Toves

Robert S. Unpingco

Beata Unpingco

Odilia Unpingco

Robinette Unpingco

Pedro Q. Untalan

Cecilia C. Untalan

Erin M. Untalan

Camarin A. Untalan

Charlene B. Untalan

Peter R. Untalan

Vicente I. Unzalan

Annie L. G. Untalan

Vicente I. Untalan,

Jr.

Alvin L. G. Untalan

Phuoc Van Dinh

Domingo T.

Villaflores, Jr.

Maria M. I.

Villaflores

Mellanie I.

Villaflores

4

s

:

5

- xix -

Domingo I.

Villaflores

II

Melody J. I.

Villaflores

Lucas A. Villagomez

Rose Z. Villagomez

Jennifer R.

Villagomez

Lucas A. Villagomez,

Jr.

Larry C. Villagomez

Matthew J. Villagomez

Zachary R. Villagomez

LeeAnn R. Villagomez

Warlito Villaranda

Catherine C. Bosma

Kurt William Bosma

Wallid Villaranda

Bernard Watson

Thomas J. Garrison

George T. Watson

Bernadette V. Watson

George J. Watson I

Maysha T. Watson

Michael L. Weaver

Mary Ann San Nicholas

Marissa J. San

Nicholas

Misty M. San Nicholas

Michael C. Q. Wong

Linda S. D. Wong

Christopher S. D.

Wong

Jesus B. Yamanaka

Cecilia Q. Yamanaka

Francisco Q. Yamanaka

Alan J. Yamanaka

Jesse P. Yamanaka

Arlene Y. Hattig

Julie A. Yamanaka

Janet A. Yamanaka

Walter J.

Walter J.

Jr.

Alisha N.

Ashley B.

Hattig

Hattig,

Yamanaka

Yamanaka

- xx -

The defendants are:

United States of America

Capt. A.D. Loizeaux

Commander G.E. Monroe

Adm. T.J. Johnson (Ret.)

Capt. Ralph M. Cugowski

Commander John R. Doyle

Lt. Roger M. Natsuhara

Lt. James Hannigan

Capt. Ole L. Oleson

Robert Bieniasz

Lt. Lyndle R. Burton

Dr. Donald E. Sprague

Jesus T. Lizama

John Does 1 Through 20

AOL tt Mlle

- xxi -

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

OPINIONS BELOW 2

JURISDICTION 3

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED ° 6

STATEMENT OF THE CASE 8

z. INTRODUCTION 8

II. FACTS OF THE CASE 10

A. Misuse of PCBs at Piti

Power Plant ‘ 10

B. The United States and Its

Officers Failed To Evaluate

The Plant After The Explosion

or Provide Adequate Training

or Protective Gear

III. PROCEDURAL HISTORY

A. Filing of Case

B. The United States’ Motion

To Dismiss

Cc. The Individuals’ Motion To

Dismiss a a a

D. The Ninth Circuit Decision

REASONS FOR GRANTING OF THE WRIT

15

18

18

19

20

21

21

- xxii -

Ze The Scope of FECA, And Who

Determines That Scope, Is An

Important, Unsettled Question

Under Federal Law About Which

The Circuits Have Reached

Differing Results ...... 21

A. Courts can decide questions

concerning the scope of FECA

where the issue presented is,

one of the scope of FECA,

rather than coverage in and

a | a

B. FECA does not extend to

claims for emotional distress

which are not accompanied by

an existing physical injury . 27

e. FECA does not bar claims for

injuries which result from

reckless or intentional

conduct on the part of the

United States of its

Geen ss ae «0 es 0 « 2

II. The Decision Below That The

Individual Respondents Are

Entitled to Qualified Immunity

Conflicts With Applicable

Decisions of This Court ... 31

os a a a a a ee

- xxiii -

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES: Page

of Federal Bureau of Narcotics,

403 U.S. 388 (1971) ..- - + «+ 2+ +s > 19

Vv

Texas, 112 S. Ct. 1061 9992) . «2 « Se

Vv , 424 U.S.

800 (1976) pe dr hl a co oe ee a 23

Vv , 700 F.2d

281 (6th Cir. 5 > a oo or oe or 28, 29

Vv j , 687 F.2d 14

(3rd Cir. 1982) . . gan ge ee eS 25

Eladio T. Figueroa, et al. v. United

States of America, et al., F.3d

, 1993 WL 411755 (9th Cir.

Oct. 19, 1993) ote eg .; 2

Vv , 834 F.2d 1465 (9th

Cir. 1987) aa ee ae ae 29

890 F.2d 195 (9th Cir. 1989) oe ae ee

w Vv , 631 F. Supp.

631 (E.D. Pa. 1982) .. - cae 8, eee

, 460 U.S.

190 (1983) Sis ease ae 31

4 ia, 395 A.2d

399 (D.C. 1978) .. ee ar er ae 30

- XXivV -

CASES: Page

Vv j , 970 F.2d

194 (6th Cir. 1992) aa Ae 30

nv j , 628

F. Supp. 535 (D.D.C. 1986) ; 29

Sheehan v. United States, 896 F.2d

1168, 1173, modified 917 F.2d 424 ;

(SGn CAP. 200e) «ss es ¢ = 26, 26, 29

Shin Hyon-Su v. Madea Pacific Corp.,

No. 87-00063A (D. Guam Appellate

Division, June 8, 1988) .. rae 32

Swafford v. United States, 970 F.2d

194 (6th Cir. 1992) ee ae eae 30

nderw Vv ni 1

Service, 742 F. — 968 (M.D.

Tenn. 1990) ; ; aie 29

STATUTES

5 U.S.C. § 8101 et. seg. 4, 7

28 U.S.C. § 1254(1) 6

5 U.S.C. § 8116(c) 7

5 U.S.C. § 8128 (b) 8, 24

15 U.S.C. §§ 2601-2671 12

15 U.S.C. §§ 2605(e) (2) (A) 12

15 U.S.C. § 2605(e) (1) (B) 12

28 U.S.C. § 1346(b) 19

TA ES: Page

a ee ae ©) Oe a 19

an G.8.C. @ 20048 6 ee tH ee ee 21

28 U.S.C. § 1294(4) - - - + © © es es 8 21

oe 0.8.C. $8 2674-80... + +s 2 = # © * 18

CONSTITUTIONS :

Fifth Amendment, United States

@omevitetion ..<«.+:s*s* * s+ # 6

RULES :

Ped. R. Civ. P. 54(D) . + + © + = * 5, 20

Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(b) (6) ip cp ES Oe, es Ee 9

RE TIONS :

ag C.9.8..§ TO.20 «= 25 + © + eo © we * 12

40 C.F.R. § 761.30(a) (1) (vi) - - + =: > 13

40 C.F.R. § 761.30(a) (1) (xii) - - + =: - 13

40 C.F.R. § 761.40 . +++ e+e 2°. a3, 32

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1993

ELADIO T. FIGUEROA, et al.,

Petitioners,

Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, et al.,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

Petitioners petition this Court fora

Writ of Certiorari to the United States

Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit to

review the judgment in Eladio T. Figve2roa

al., F.3d , 1993 WL 411755 (9th

Cir. Gct. 19, 1993) .

- 2-

OPINIONS BELOW

The October 19, 1993 Opinion of the

United States Court of Appeals for the

Ninth Circuit, reversing the trial court’s

denial of the Respondents’ motion to

dismiss on qualified immunity grounds and

affirming the trial court’s granting of

Respondents’ motion to dismiss on FECA

preemption grounds is reported at

F.3d _s,_- 1993 WL 411755 (9th Cir.

Oct. 19, 1993), and is reprinted at

Appendix A1-39.

The May 29, 1992 Order of the Un: ted

States District Court for the Territory of

Guam Staying Proceedings is unpublished

and is reprinted at Appendix A40-54. The

April 19, 1992 Order of the United States

District Court for the Territory of Guam

Re: Motions for Reconsideration is

unpublished and is reprinted at

Appendix A55-97. The January 17, 1992

— a

Bekah th salon

Order of the United States District Court

for the Territory of Guam Granting in Part

the United States’ Motion to Dismiss is

unpublished and is reprinted at Appendix

. A98-133. The December 19, 1991 Order of

the United States District Court for the

Territory of Guam Denying the Individual

Defendants’ Motion To Dismiss is

unpublished and is reprinted at Appendix

A134-159.

JURISDICTION

This action arises out of the

explosion of a transformer in the Piti

Power Plant operated by the United States

Navy in Guam, and the clean-up of highly

toxic substances released in that

explosion. The exposed persons filed an

action against the United States and

certain officers in the United States

District Court for the Territory of Guam.

The Respondent United States moved to

- 4 -

dismiss claims of those Petitioners who

were federal employees on the grounds that

the claims were preempted by the Federal

Employees’ Compensation Act, 5 U.S.C.

§ 8101 et. seq. ("FECA"). The Individual

Respondents moved to dismiss Petitioners’

constitutional tort claims on the ground

of qualified immunity. On December 19,

1991, the United States District Court for

the Territory of Guam (Rothstein, J.

sitting by designation) denied the

Individual Respondents’ motion to dismiss.

Appendix A134-159. On January 22, 1992

the District Court granted in part the

United States’ motion to dismiss, holding

that questions of FECA coverage should be

resolved by the Secretary of Labor.

Appendix A98-133. Petitioners and tke

Individual Respondents sought

reconsideration of the District Court’s

decisions and on April 19, 1992 the

i

|

- 5 -

District Court denied the Individual

Respondents’ motion for reconsideration,

and granted in part and denied in relevant

part Petitioners’ motion for

reconsideration. Appendix A55-97. On

May 29, 1992 the District Court stayed

trial court proceedings and granted

Petitioners’ motion to direct partial

judgment under Fed. R. Civ. P. 54(b).

Appendix A40-54. Petitioners appealed

that portion of the January 22, 1992 Order

dismissing the claims of the federal

employee Petitioners while the Individual

Respondents appealed the District Court’s

denial of their motion to dismiss on

qualified immunity grounds. On

October 19, 1993 the United States Court

of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit affirmed

the trial court’s dismissal of the federal

employee Petitioners’ claims on FECA

grounds and reversed the District Court’s

- 6 -

denial of the Individual Respondents’

motion to dismiss, holding that the

Individual Respondents were entitled to a

dismissal of Petitioners’ claims on

qualified immunity grounds. Appendix Al-

39.

This Court has jurisdiction to review

the judgment of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Ninth Circuit under 28

U.S.C. § 1254(1) .

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

INVOLVED

Fifth Amendment, United States

Constitution:

No person shall be held to

answer for a capital, or other

infamous crime, unless on a

presentment or indictment of a

Grand Jury, except in cases

arising in the land or naval

forces, in the militia, when an

actual service in time of war or

public danger; nor shall any

person be subject for the same

offence to be twice put in

jeopardy of life or limb; nor

shall be compelled in any

criminal case to be a witness

d o B«

against himself, nor be deprived

of life, liberty, or property

without due process of law; nor

shall private property be taken

for public use, without just

compensation.

The Federal Employees’ Compensation

Act, 5 U.S.C. § 8116(c), provides in

relevant part:

The liability of the United

States or an instrumentality

thereof under this subchapter or

any extension thereof with

respect to the injury or death

of an employee is exclusive and

instead of all other liability

of the United States or the

instrumentality to the employee,

his legal representative,

spouse, dependents, next of kin,

and any other person otherwise

entitled to recover damages from

the United States or the

instrumentality because of the

injury or death in a direct

judicial proceeding, in a civil

action or in admiralty, or by an

administrative or judicial

proceeding under a Workmens

Compensation Statute Or under a

Federal Tort Liability Statute.

5 U.S.C. § 8128(b) provides in relevant

part:

The action of the secretary Or

his designee in allowing or

denying a payment under this

subchapter is --

(2) “Not subject to review by

another official of the United

States or by a court by mandamus

or otherwise.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Ze INTRODUCTION

This case addresses the remedies

available to federal employees who suffer

injuries as a result of intentional or

reckless workplace conduct. The issues

include whether federal employees may

assert claims in federal court when they

are ordered by their supervisors to enter

a building highly contaminated with toxic

chemicals without protective equipment or

training, with full knowledge by those

supervisors that the employees will be

exposed to toxic chemicals. It also

addresses the issue of whether federal

employees may sue the United States for

emotional distress and other non-physical

ere eee en ne ee

eee ee

ek Niet cat A AEE tint it Een: od Mes Sate ome

resee Ob Oe he» eA

mae ae

ee ee pete Pe ee ee

~ @-

injuries arising from intentional or

reckless conduct where those claims would

not be covered by FECA.

Petitioners are federal employees,

their families, and others who were

exposed over several months to

polychlorinated biphenyls ("PCBs"),

dioxins and furans following the explosion

of the transformer laden with PCB oii.’

Dioxins, furans and PCBs are highly

toxic chemicals which cause a variety of

serious conditions, including cancer,

liver disorders, destruction of the immune

system, and birth defects. Fortunately,

in some respects, any physical injury from

these substances takes 4 long time to

IBecause the claims below were

dismissed under Fed. R. Civ. P. 12 (b) (6),

the factual statements herein are drawn from

the complaint, as well as from a repcrt by

the General Accounting Office into the

circumstances of the explosion and the

cleanup.

- 10 -

develop. Unfortunately, during that time,

the exposed person lives in constant fear

of what may or will happen to him or her

in the future.

The United States and its officers

set the stage for disaster by ignoring

simple and clear regulations for the

labelling, handling and maintenance of PCB

transformers. Subsequently, federal

officials ordered the employees to clean

up and operate the contaminated plant

without adequate training, protective

gear, or site evaluation, knowing that the

employees would be exposed to harmful

levels of toxic chemicals.

Under these circumstances, neither

the government nor its officials should be

shielded from liability.

II. FACTS OF THE CASE

A. Misuse of PCBs at Piti Power

Plant.

i

1

2

3

z

- li -

The Piti Power Plant contained

several large transformers used in the

production of electricity. The

transformers were filled with insulating

fluid consisting largely of oil combined

with PCBs. PCBs were used in transformers

because of their conductive qualities and

because they do not break down over years

of use. This latter quality, although

beneficial in the transmission of

electricity, is also a cause of PCBs’

deadly reputation as a chronic toxic

hazard -- PCBs accumulate in human tissues

and are very resistant to elimination.

Because of the toxicity and

persistence of PCBs, the United States has

extensively regulated their use since

1976.2. These regulations are based upon

oxic Substances Control Act ("TSCA"),

15 U.S.C. §§ 2601-2671. TSCA prohibits the

manufacture, process or use of PCBs in other

than a totally enclosed manner after

- 12 -

well-documented human health and

environmental hazards of PCB exposure. 40

C.F.R. § 761.20. Federal law requires all

PCBs to be marked with clear and adequate

warnings.’ None of the PCB labeling,

maintenance, warning oz notice provisions

were complied with in any respect at the

Piti Power Plant.

On May 26, 1987, transformer One-A

exploded and sprayed up to fifty gallons

of toxic chemicals throughout the plant.

Prior to and during the explosion, the

January 1, 1978. 15 U.S.C. §§ 2605(e) (2) (A).

*15 U.S.C. § 2605(e) (1) (B). 40 C.F.R.

§ 761.40. In the case of PCB transformers,

such as those at the Piti Power Plant, these

warnings were required to be in the form of

large yellow stickers, at least six inches

square, to be in place by January 1, 1979.

40 C.F.R. § 761.40. As of December 1985,

all PCB transformers were required to be

registered with local fire response

personnel. 40 C.F.R. § 761.30(a) (1; (vi).

Visual inspections of every PCB transformer

were required to be performed every three

months. 40 C.F.R. § 761.30(a) (1) (xii).

a

,

j

2

te

a

Pitino w Gi NE AO ALG,

~ 22 «=

PCBs were subject to intense heat and

pressure, causing a chemical reaction

producing dioxins and furans, which are

even more lethal than PCBs and among the

deadliest toxic substances known to man.

The transformer explosion resulted ina

deadly toxic fog which blanketed the plant

and the men inside at levels up to

hundreds of thousands of times higher than

permissible under EPA and OSHA

regulations.

After the explosion, respondents

violated a number of statutory and

regulatory provisions concerning hazardous

waste cleanup. Because none of the

transformers were labeled as required, the

plant employees had no idea that the oil

which exploded from the transformer

- 14 -

contained PCBs.‘ The employees were

directed to gather outside the plant

directly in line with a ventilation system

which was pumping out contaminated smoke.

The officials dismissed half the expcsed

employees, permitting them to go home

without any decontamination, testing or

instructions. The employees thus exposed

their families to PCBs, dioxins and furans

through contact with their person or

clothing.°

‘Contrary to regulations, respondents

had not advised the employees of the

presence of PCBs in the plant, labeled the

transformers as containing PCBs, trained

most of the employees in the handling of

PCBs, or warned the employees of the

consequences of a spill oor explosion

involving PCBs.

SOther employees were sent to the Naval

Hospital, Guam, where they waited for hours

before being given an opportunity to clean

the chemicals from their bodies. They did

not see a doctor. They were not warned of

or treated for the medical risks of exposure

to PCBs, dioxins and furans. They were not

advised to wear personal protective

equipment ("PPE") in the presence of such

Bian lek Sue eae Mies, Sold

In violation of EPA regulations

requiring an evaluation of the site of a

toxic explosion, respondents did not test

the plant for the presence of toxic

substances other than PCBs. Because of

this failure to properly evaluate the

site, petitioners were unnecessarily

exposed to dioxins and furans .°

Respondents did not obtain the PPE

required by regulations for over seven

months after the spill. Instead, they

substances. They were not given baseline

medical tests, even though regulations

required such tests. They were released

with no further treatment or advice.

*Respondents continued to operate the

power plant after the explosion, despite the

presence of PCBs, dioxins and furans. Even

upon learning on July 13, 1987, of the

presence of lethal dioxins and furans, the

United States and its officers did not stop

clean-up operations.

- 16 -

ordered plaintiffs to work on their hands

and knees in a confined hazardous waste

enclosure, where temperatures rose to over

120°F, wearing absorbent coveralls and

otherwise inadequate protective gear. The

respondents did not establish a required

separate decontamination facility until

over three months after the explosion.’

Until this facility was in place, the

employees dressed, rested, and ate meals

7Employees were allowed to take their

work clothing heme, where it was mixed with

clothing of their families. They were given

garbage bags as foot gear; the garbage bags

tore on grating in the plant. The personal

shoes worn by the employees absorbed these

toxic chemicals and were then worn home.

The employees were given plastic glove; that

tore and dissolved upon exposure to soivents

used in the clean-up operation. Employees

were provided inadequate half-face

respirators: regulations required full-face

respirators. The employees charged with

operating the plant (as opposed to cleaning

it up) were also needlessly exposed to toxic

substances by being provided with little if

any protective gear.

« 29 «

in a confined space polluted with toxic

aie adie, aiden

substances.

The respondents falsely advised

RO eT OT EME EY Tig”

employees that the toxic materials would

7 not be absorbed through the porous

coveralls provided. In fact, the

coveralls absorbed the PCBs, dioxins and

furans and held them against the

employees’ skin.

After petitioners were forced to

i AGA ai See at as ne I or

conduct the bulk of the cleanup of the

Briar7rese

plant over several months, they were

replaced with a private cleanup company.

a ES RR DA AALS Reh ock Se

‘ This company, outfitting its employees in

"moon suits" and otherwise complying with

applicable law and regulations, charged

the United States an estimated $10 million

simply to do the final portion of the

jarhaibes 02 NN en aati Ds ind ia are aoc g

cleanup.

- 18 -

III. PROCEDURAL HISTORY

A. Filing of Case.

Petitioners began this action by

filing administrative claims pursuant to

the requirements of the Federal Tort

Claims Act, 28 U.S.C. § 2671-80 ("FTCA").

Petitioners’ administrative claims were

denied. Petitioners filed an action in

the United States District Court for the

Territory of Guam on April 23, 1990. They

asserted claims against the United States

under the FTCA, and claims against the

Individual Respondents under Bivens v. Six

Unknown Named Agents of Federal Bureau of

Narcotics, 403 U.S. 388 (1971). Federal

jurisdiction in the District Court was

based on 28 U.S.C. § 1346(b) and 28 U.S.C.

$ 1331.

PO ee ee oan.

Ae Sinha: Nahi A PRs eh ter ow Bin A

«= 19 -«

B. The United States’ Motion t>

Dismiss.

On September 6, 1991 the United

States filed a motion to dismiss. On

January 22, 1992 the District Court

granted in part the United States’ mction

to dismiss, dismissing the federal

employees’ claims on the grounds that the

Secretary of Labor should decide whether

some remedy might possibly be available to

them under FECA.'

Cc. The Individuals’ Motion to

Digmi

ton April 14, 1992, the District Court

issued an order on motions for

reconsideration, striking certain portions

of its January 22, 1992 Order, but leaving

intact its decision on FECA. On June 2,

1992 the District Court entered an Order

staying proceedings jn which it granted

plaintiff’s request for Rule 54(b)

certification of its dismissal of the

employees claims against the United States.

On July 29, 1992, the District Court entered

a partial judgment. Plaintiffs filed a

timely appeal from this partial judgment on

September 4, 1992.

- 20 -

On September 6, 1991 the Individual

Respondents filed a motion to dismiss,

arguing they were entitled to qualified

immunity. On December 19, 1991 the

District Court denied the Individual

Respondents’ motion to dismiss.’

D. The Ninth Circuit Decision.

On October 19, 1993 the Ninth Circuit

Court of Appeals issued an opinion

affirming the District Court’s dismissal

of the federal employees’ claims on the

grounds that courts should defer to the

Secretary of Labor whether FECA covers the

claims in question. The Ninth Circuit

reversed the District Court’s denial of

the Individual Respondents’ motion to

°On April 14, 1992 the District Court

denied the Individual Respondents’ :wtion

for reconsideration of its December 19, 1991

Order. The Individual Respondents filed a

notice of appeal on May 22, 1992, invoking

appellate jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1291 and 28 U.S.C. § 1294(4).

4

4

s

:

$

i

:

4

3

£

- 21 -

dismiss and held that the Individual

Respondents were entitled to qualified

immunity from the claims for

constitutional violations.

REASONS FOR GRANTING OF THE WRIT

Three important issues are presented

by this petition concerning the scope of

FECA. First, does FECA extend to bar

claims for non-physical injuries, for

which there is no recovery under FECA, or

is the FECA bar limited to its express

terms under the statute -- to claims for

"injury or death"? Second, who determines

the proper scope of FECA when a claim not

covered by that statute is presented to

the courts: the Secretary of Labor or the

courts? Third, does FECA apply at all

- 22 -

where the conduct giving rise to the claim

is reckless or intentional?

All three questions are important in

resolving the rights of federal employees

everywhere. There is a substantial

disagreement among the circuits on the

answers to at least the first two of these

questions.

Where an actual controversy is

properly before a federal court, the court

has a "virtually unflagging obligation .

to exercise the jurisdiction given" it.

Colorado River Water Conservation District

v. United States, 424 U.S. 800, 817

(1976). The question concerning

resolution of issues under FECA arises; due

to provisions of the statute. FECA, by

its terms, restricts judicial review of

s #8 «

claims which have been submitted under

FECA:

The action of the secretary or

in allowing or

his designee

under this

subchapter is --

(2) Not subject to review by

another official of the United

States or by a court by mandamus

or otherwise.

5 U.S.C. § 8128(b) (emphasis supplied).

The federal employees in this case

have never submitted a claim under FECA,

and this is not an action seeking a review

of such a claim. The damages they have

sustained do not constitute a disabliag

injury, disease, or death within the scope

of FECA. Thus, there is no reason to

defer to the Secretary in the

consideration of these claims.

Two distinct interpretations of 3

U.S.C. § 8128(b) have arisen in the courts

of appeal. Some courts have found that

— oo

this provision bars federal courts from

exercising jurisdiction over every case

where there is a "substantial question" of

whether employees’ claims are covered by

FECA -- i.e., any uncertainty about how

the Secretary of Labor might resolve the

issue of FECA coverage -- regardless of

how the question arose. DiPippa v. United

States, 687 F.2d 14, 16 (3rd Cir. 1982).

Other circuits, hewing truer to the

statute, have permitted a judicial

determination of the scope of FECA where

the claim is not first submitted to the

Secretary and the issue relates to the

"scope of coverage" (i.e., whether FECA

covers a particular type of injury) as

opposed to whether FECA applies to the

incident in question (coverage "in and of

itself"). Sheehan v, United States, 896

F.2d 1168, 1173, modified 917 F.2d 424

(9th Cir. 1990).

- 25 -

In § 8128(b), Congress simply

prohibited courts from second guessing the

Secretary of Labor’s actual decisions to

insure that "the Courts not be burdened by

a flood of small claims challenging the

Aiba A ma cs

merits of compensation decisions

." Sheehan, 896 F.2d at 1173. In this

case, the claims were never submitted to

the Secretary of Labor, and there is no

request that a court "review" a

cionin niet Leth tent asthe ia As ey nae LET ASE Jap Sia LE

determination by the Secretary one way or

the other. Instead, the issue presented

is whether the Court can determine that

the relief sought is in any event beyond

the scope of FECA.

Determining whether the employees’

claims are within the scope of FECA where

they seek relief not provided under FECA

is a traditional function of the

judiciary, and the federal courts sheuld

|

:

;

:

:

3

reach the merits of the claim. In cases

- 26 -

such as this one, where the potential FECA

issue is one of scope of coverage rather

than the merits of an underlying

compensation claim, the question is not

whether the Secretary might possibly find

the claim covered by FECA. Instead, the

court must determine whether a plaintiff’s

Claim is cognizable under FECA. If that

claim is not cognizable under FECA, it is

not subject to the FECA bar.

This Court should resolve the split

in the circuits and find that it is the

courts which must decide the scope of

FECA’s coverage where no claim is

submitted to the Secretary. This Court’s

guidance in this area is particularly

prudent in light of the growing class of

claims stemming from non-physical

‘njueien. Many of these claims --

including the Petitioners’ claims for

emotional distress under Guam law -- did

Rede

:

‘

4

a

4

4

« 29 «

not exist when FECA was enacted. The

Secretary of Labor has an inherent

incentive to classify non-compensable

injuries as covered by FECA, since

jndividuals will then be precluded f1rom

suing the United States, even though the

United States does not compensate them for

their injuries. See DeFord v. Secretary

of Labor, 700 F.2d 281, 290 (6th Cir.

1983) (FECA must be given liberal

construction to provide compensation but

not stretched where unjust).

B.

f m n r which ar

s s

—— ee

Petitioners’ FTCA claims are claims

for emotional distress caused by the

jncreased likelihood of contracting cancer

and other diseases caused by their

exposure to toxic substances. Again,

there is a split in the circuits

- 28 -

concerning whether such claims are barred

by FECA.

The better reasoned cases, observing

that FECA was intended to apply to

Gisabling injuries, hold that FECA was not

intended to cover and does not extend to

claims for non-disabling emotional

injuries, and thus does not bar their

assertion under the FTCA. Sheehan, 896

F.2d at 1173; Guidry v. Durkin, 834 F.2d

- 1465, 1472 (9th Cir. 1987); DeFord v.

Secretary of Labor, 700 F.2d 281, 290 (6th

Cir. 1983); Underwood v. United States

Postal Service, 742 F. Supp. 968, 971

(M.D. Tenn. 1990); Newman v. Legal

Services Corp., 628 F. Supp. 535, 543

(D.D.C. 1986); Lawrence v. United States,

631 F. Supp. 631, 636 (E.D. Pa. 1982);

Mason v. District of Columbia, 395 A.2d

399 (D.C. 1978).

» 29 -

Other cases hold that FECA does bar

all claims for emotional distress arising

from the workplace. Swafford v. United

States, 998 F.2d 837, 840-41 (10th Cir.

1993); McDaniel v. United States, 97° F.2d

194, 197 (6th Cir. 1992).

This Court should hold that claims

for non-disabling emotional distress are

not barred by FECA.

Cc. FECA does not bar claims for

injuries whic) lt f

on the part of the United States

An important question of Federal law

is whether FECA bars claims for injuries

which are not the result of workplace

"accidents", but instead result from

reckless or intentional conduct on the

part of federal officials. FECA is the

federal government analog to state

workers’ compensation laws, Lockheed

Aircraft Corp., 460 U.S. 190, 193-94

- 30 -

(1983). The scope of workers’

compensation provisions is universally

restricted to workplace accidents, not

intentional or reckless conduct by the

employer. See generally, 2A A. Larson

Workmen’s Compensation Law § 68.00; e.g.,

Gulden v. Crown Zellerbach Corp., 890 F.2d

195 (9th Cir. 1989) (employee ordered to

cleanup PCB spill on hands and knees

without protective clothing stated

intentional tort against employer, which

was not barred by state workers’

compensation statute).

FECA should be construed consistently

with state workers’ compensation statutes,

and the compromise imposed by FECA limited

to accidental conduct.’ Under the FTCA,

- If the operator of the Piti Plant

had been a private employer, the employees’

claims for intentional or recklessly

inflicted harm would not be barred under

Guam law. Shin Hyon-Su_v. Maeda Pacific

Corp., No. 87-00063A (D. Guam Appellate

Se ae at

sachs yet "Bet ee WR NEN ORS IRA POT E R be

1a EAD Te Soy We

» 3% -

28 U.S.C. 2674, the United States "shall

be liable .. . in the same manner and to

the same extent as a private individual

under like circumstances .. --" The

United States should be held accountable

to the same standards as private emp] 5yers

and should not escape responsibility for

its reckless or intentional acts.

This Court should construe FECA as

not applying to intentional or reckless

conduct.

II. The Decision Below That the

The Ninth Circuit decision that the

Individual Respondents are entitled to

qualified immunity conflicts with this

Court’s decision in Collins v. City cf

Harker Heights, Texas, e390 8. Ce: i063

(1992).

Division, June 8, 1988).

- 32 -

The Ninth Circuit found that sirce

the Petitioners were federal employees

when the Individual Respondents exposed

them to the dangerous condition, that the

Individual Respondents were entitled to

qualified immunity because they were

acting as government employers. However,

as this Court held in Collins:

[T]he employment relationship .

is not of controlling

Significance. On the one hand,

if the City has pursued a policy

of equally deliberate

indifference to the safety of

pedestrians that resulted ina

fatal injury to one who

inadvertently stepped into an

open manhole, the Court of

Appeals’ holding would not speak

to this situation at all,

although it would seem that a

claim by such a pedestrian

should be analyzed in a similar

manner as the claim by this

petitioner.

112 S. Ct. at 1065. This Court made it

clear that "provisions of the Federal

Constitution afford protection to

employees who serve the government: as well

- Fee anand eo A ch ”

ior ° fe

as those who are served by them." 112 S.

Ct. at 1065. Thus, the fact that

Petitioners are employees of the federal

government does not excuse the Individual

Respondents’ conduct. Contrary to the

Ninth Circuit’s decision, Petitioners’

constitutional rights are no less than

those of citizens who are not employees of

the federal government.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, this Court

should grant a Writ of Certiorari to the

Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit to

review its decision in this case and

resolve the questions of whether the

Secretary of Labor or the Courts decide

the scope of FECA coverage and whether

government officers who violate the

constitutional right of the federal

employees are entitled to a greater

qualified immunity than government

- 34 -

officers who violate the constitutional

rights of citizens who are not federal

employees.

Respectfully submitted,

Bennet A. McConaughy

Counsel of Record

Edward R. Coulson

Joseph E. Delaney

FOSTER PEPPER & SHEFELMAN

1111 Third Avenue,

Suite 3400

Seattle, WA 98101

Telephone: (206) 447-4400

Counsel for Petitioners

40072434.01

a

Ear

TABLE OF CONTENTS

OPINION OF THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE NINTH

CTR 3 se eS

ORDER OF THE UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT FOR THE TERRITORY

OF GUAM STAYING PROCEEDINGS

ORDER OF THE UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT FOR THE TERRITORY

OF GUAM RE: MOTIONS FOR

RECONSIDERATION .

ORDER OF THE UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT FOR THE TERRITORY

OF GUAM GRANTING IN PART THE

UNITED STATES’ MOTION TO

DISMISS ...-++ + *=«: *

ORDER OF THE UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT FOR THE TERRITORY

OF GUAM DENYING THE INDIVIDUAL

DEFENDANTS’ MOTION TO

DISMISS “oee he

A1-39

A40-54

A55-97

A98-133

A134-159

Al

FOR PUBLICATION

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

ELADIO T. FIGUEROA, et al., No. 92-15914

D.C. No.

CV-91-00030-

BUR

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, A.D.

LOIZEAUX, G.E. MONROE, T.J.

JOHNSON, et al.,

OPINION

Defendants-Appellants.

ELADIO T. FIGUEROA, LEO A.

ABILO; BARTOLOME E. ABUAN,

ROMEO A. ACEJO, et al.,

ll te ee ets te ee ee a ee ee ee

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

No. 92-16602

Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

et al.,

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

Defendants-Appellees. )

)

APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT

COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF GUAM

BARBARA J. ROTHSTEIN, DISTRICT JUDGE,

PRESIDING

Argued and Submitted

July 15, 1993-San Francisco, California

|

A2

Filed October 19, 1993

Before: J. Clifford Wallace, Chief Judge,

and Dorothy W. Nelson and Diarmuid F.

O’Scannlain, Circuit Judges

Opinion by Judge Nelson; Concurrence by

Chief Judge Wallace

SUMMARY

Government Law/Immunity/Civil Litigetion

and Procedure

The court of appeals reversed a

district court judgment in part and

remanded in part, holding that government

officials were entitled to qualified

immunity for ordering employees to clean

up a toxic spill without informing them

about the potential harm, based on the law

as it existed in 1987.

In 1987, an electrical transformer

ruptured on the United States Navel Base

in Guam, releasing a variety of toxic

chemicals. Federal employees sued the

United States and 12 individuals who

supervised the toxic cleanup. The

A3

plaintiffs’ cause of action against the

individual defendants alleged a

substantive due process claim for tortious

conduct. The plaintiffs alleged that the

defendants were negligent in ordering the

plaintiffs to clean up the chemicals and

return to work without advising them about

appropriate protective measures, and in

not providing proper medical care

immediately following the explosion.

The government moved to dismiss all

claims against it, arguing that they vere

preempted by the Federal Employees

Compensation Act (FECA). The individual

defendants moved for dismissal of the

constitutional tort claim on the ground of

qualified immunity. The district court

dismissed the claims against the

government, holding that the FECA coverage

question should be resolved by the

Secretary of Labor. The court denied the

AG

individual defendants’ motion. All

parties appealed.

[1] The general rule is that when a

claim arguably falls under FECA, the

question of coverage should be resolved by

the Secretary. [2] FECA also contemplates

coverage for a condition of emotional

distress that results from the stress of

being exposed in a discrete event toa

toxic substance that could cause future

physical harm. As a result of their

exposure to the toxic chemicals, and after

suffering some medical problems, the

plaintiffs were concerned about developing

cancer. [3] The district court properly

dismissed the plaintiffs’ FTCA claims.

[4] In order to proceed in their

suit against the individual defendants,

the plaintiffs must have alleged a

violation of a right that was clearly

established in 1987 at the time of the

AS

accident. [5] In 1987, a right not to be

placed in danger by a government actor was

contingent upon that actor first depriving

an individual of his liberty. [6] It

could not be concluded that in 1987 it was

clearly established that a government

employer’s order to an employee to perform

a dangerous task, without informing the

employee about the potential harm of which

the employee was ignorant, constituted a

deprivation of liberty for purposes of the

due process clause. [7] Defendants were

entitled to a defense of qualified

immunity as a matter of law.

Wallace, C.J., concurred to write

that he disagreed with the majority's

characterization of the law in 1987.

COUNSEL

Edward R. Coulson, Bennet A.

McConaughy, Joseph E. Delaney, Foster

Pepper & Shefelman, Seattle, Washington,

A6é

for the plaintiffs-appellants/plaintiffs-

appellees.

Stuart M. Gerson, Assistant Attorney

General, Fredrick A. Black, United States

Attorney, Barbara L. Herwig, Richard

Montague, Attorney, Civil Division, U.S.

Department of Justice, Washington, D.C.,

for the defendants-appellants.

Stuart M. Gerson, Assistant Attorney

General, Fredrick A. Black, United States

Attorney, J. Patrick Glynn, Director,

Joann J. Bordeaux, Deputy Director, Paul

M. Honigberg, Judith N. Macaluso, Torts

Branch, Civil Division, U.S. Department of

Justice, Washington, D.C., for defendant-

appellant United States.

OPINION

D.W. NELSON, Circuit Judge:

In May of 1987, an electrical

transformer ruptured at the Piti Power

Plant cn the United States Naval Base in

A7

Guam, releasing a variety of toxic

chemicals. Subsequently, 251 federal

employees who were at the plant at the

time of the accident filed suit against

the United States and twelve individuals

who supervised the toxic spill clean-up.

Plaintiffs brought five causes of action

against the United States under the

Federal Tort Claims Act, 28 U.S.C.

§§ 2671-80 ("FTCA"). Their Sixth cause of

action was directed at the individual

Defendants and alleged a substantive due

process claim for tortious conduct. All

Plaintiffs’ claims stemmed from their

allegations that Defendants were negligent

or grossly negligent: 1) in ordering

Plaintiffs to clean-up the polychlorinated

biphenyls chemicals and to return to work

without advising them about appropriate

protective measures or securing the area;

and 2) in not providing proper medical

A8

care immediately after the expiosion.

Plaintiffs sought damages for current and

potential future physical injuries and for

emotional distress resulting from their

fear that they would develop cancer at

some future date.

The government moved to dismiss all

claims against it on the ground that these

claims were preempted by the Federal

Employees Compensation Act, 5 U.S.C.

§ 8101 et. seq. ("FECA"). The individual

Defendants moved for dismissal of the

constitutional tort claim on the ground of

qualified immunity. The district court

granted the government’s motion based on

its judgment that the FECA coverage

question should be resolved by the

Secretary of Labor ("Secretary"). The

district court denied the individual

Defendants’ motion. All parties timely

appeal.

AG

DISCUSSION

ie FECA Preemption

Under FECA, federal employees are

compensated for injuries sustained during

the performance of their duties. The

remedies provided under FECA are exclusive

of all other remedies against the United

States for job-related injury or death. 5

U.S.C. § 8116(Cc).

There are two sorts of FECA coverage

questions. The first question is whether

FECA covers a particular type of injury.

This is a question of "the scope of

coverage." Sheehan v. United States, 896

F.2d 1168, 1174 (9th Cir.), modified, 917

F.2d 424 (9th Cir. 1990). The second

question is whether a plaintiff is

entitled to compensation under the facts

of a particular event. This question

requires a determination of such facts as

"'whether the injury. - - occurred while

A10

the employee was on the job.’" Id.

(quoting Griffin v. United States, 703

F.24 321, 322 (6th Cie. 200275 tase 28 6

question of "coverage in and of itself.”

Id. (internal quotations omitted).

In this case, the district court

dismissed Plaintiffs’ FTCA claim on the

ground that there was a question of FECA

preemption concerning Plaintiffs’ alleged

injuries which should be resolved by the

Secretary of Labor. Plaintiffs’ appeal

from this dismissal, arguing that under

Sheehan this is a question of scope of

coverage and the district court was

therefore required to resolve the question

itself. Defendant counters that this case

is more akin to Reep v. United States, 557

F.2d 204 (9th Cir. 1977), under which the

district court correctly deferred the

question of coverage to the Secretary.

Id. at 207-208.

——

All

[1] Sheehan held that when there is

a question about the scope of FECA

coverage, this question should be resolved

by the district court and Reep’s

instruction to defer coverage questions to

the Secretary "does not apply." 896 F.2d

at 1174 (internal quotations omitted).

Rather, Reep only applies when there are

questions about whether a particular

factual circumstance falls under FECA.

Id. In Sheehan, however, the plaintiff’s

claim was not colorable under FECA age a

matter of law. Sheehan’s holding

regarding who should resolve an FECA scope

of coverage question rested upon this

court's judgment that the alleged

emotional distress was "divorced from any

claim of physical harm." Id. Thus

Sheehan stands only for the proposition

that when a plaintiff has failed to allege

a colorable claim under FECA as a matter

Al12

of law, the district court should render a

judgment. We do not read Sheehan as

altering the general rule that when a

claim arguably falls under FECA, the

question of coverage should be resolved by

the Secretary. See Reep, 557 F.2d at 207.

[2] In this instance, Plaintiffs’

Claims are colorably under FECA.

Plaintiffs’ alleged mental distress

injuries are tied to physical harm, both

potential and actual. As a result of

their exposure to the PCBs, and after

suffering some medical problems,

Plaintiffs are concerned about developing

cancer. Under FECA, an occupational

disease or illness includes:

a condition produced in the work

environment over a period longer

than a single work day .. . by

such factors as .. . continued

or repeated stress or strain; or

exposure to hazardous elements

such as, but not limited to,

toxins, poisons, fumes .. . or

4

a

Z

.

A13

repeated conditions . . . of the

work environment.

20 C.F.R. § 10.5(a) (16). FECA thus

contemplates coverage for a condition

produced over a long period of time by

"stress" or as a result of being exposed

to a "toxic" substance that may cause

future harm. Arguably, mental distress is

a form of stress. It takes only a small

step to conclude that FECA also

contemplates coverage for a condition of

emotional distress that results from the

stress of being exposed in a discrete

event to a toxic substance that could

cause future physical harm.

[3] Moreover, the Department of

Labor has determined that emotional

distress may be considered a disability

when it arises "from [a worker’s]

emotional reaction to . . . a requirement

imposed by the employment." In re Lillian

Al14

Cutler & Dept. of Labor, 28 Dig. & Dec.

Empl. Comp. App. Bd. 125 (1979); Castro v.

United States, 757 F. Supp. 1149, 1151

(W.D. Wash. 1991) (observing that FECA

covered emotional distress claims that

arose froma "reaction to . . . regular or

specifically assigned work duties"); Burke

v. United States, 644 F. Supp. 566, 568

(E.D. La. 1986) (discussing Assistant

Administrator of Labor’s official

affirmative response to whether job-

related mental distress fell under FECA)

(emphasis supplied). Accordingly, the

district court properly dismissed

plaintiffs’ FTCA claims in order to allow

the Secretary to resolve the question of

whether or not the claims are covered by

FECA.

II. Qualified Immunity

Ordinarily, the denial of a 12(b) (6)

motion is not a reviewable final order, it

A15

is only when a question of immunity is

involved that we use the collateral crder

doctrine to exercise jurisdiction. We

review the district court’s denial of a

12(b) (6) motion de novo. Fresno Rifle and

Pistol Club, Inc. v. Van De Kamp, 965 F.2d

723, 725 (9th Cir. 1992). We assume the

truth of the complaint’s well-pleaded

factual allegations and construe them in

the light most favorable to the plaintiff.

Oscar v. University Students Coop. Ass‘n,

965 F.2d 783, 785 (9th Cir.), cert.

denied, 113 S. Ct. 655 (1992). A 12(b) (6)

motion should not be granted "unless it

appears beyond doubt that the plaintiff

can prove no set of facts in support of

his claim which would entitle him to

relief." Conley v. Gibson, 355 U.S. 41,

45-46 (1957).

The twelve individual Defendants

argue that the district court erred in

Se

A16

denying their motion to dismiss since the

Plaintiffs’ constitutional claim is not

cognizable under the due process clause.

In the alternative, Defendants argue that

they are entitled to qualified immunity.

We need only deal with the latter

challenge.

[4] "[(G)overnment officials

performing discretionary functions,

generally are shielded from liability for

civil damages insofar as their conduct

does not violate clearly established

statutory or constitutional rights of

which a reasonable person would have

known." Harlow v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S.

800, 818 (1982). In order to proceed in

their suit against the individual

Defendants, Plaintiffs must have alleged a

violation of a right that was clearly

established in 1987 at the time of the

accident. Siegert v. Gilley, 111 S. Ct.

A17

1789, 1793 (1991); Anderson v. Creighton,

483 U.S. 635, 639-40 (1987). In addition,

the contours of that right "must be

sufficiently clear that a reasonable

official would understand that what he is

doing violates that right." Anderson, 483

U.S. at 640.

[5] Defendants argue that

Plaintiffs’ substantive due process claim

is essentially a claim that they were

deprived of a safe workplace. Plaintiffs

counter that they are alleging a violation

of their more general liberty interest not

to be placed in a position of danger by

government actors. Thus, we must decide

whether to characterize Plaintiffs’ claim

as alleging acts of commission or

omission. This is a difficult question.

The line between the two types of conduct

can easily become blurred. See, e.g,

White v. Rochford, 592 F.2d 381, 384

A18

(7th Cir. 1979) (it is a "tenuous

metaphysical construct which

differentiates sins of omission and

commission"). Nevertheless, we think a

line can be drawn. Plaintiffs claim that

they were exposed to a danger as a result

of Defendants’ actions in ordering them to

clean-up after the explosion and thus that

Defendants played more than a passive

role. See, e.g., Bowers v. DeVito, 686

F.2d 616, 618 (7th Cir. 1982); we agree

with the district court that these are

allegations of affirmative conduct.

However, the district court failed to

consider that in 1987 a right not to be

placed in danger by a government actor was

contingent upon that actor first depriving

an individual of his liberty.

In determining whether Plaintiffs had

a clearly established right in 1987 not to

be placed in danger by a government

A19

employer, we "survey the legal landscape"

as it existed in 1987, Wood v. Ostrander,

879 F.2d 583, 591 (9th Cir. 1989), cert.

denied, 498 U.S. 938 (1990). We begin by

looking at those cases that are "most

like" the instant case. Id. at 592.

However, the exact situation need not have

been the subject of a prior case. Rather,

if there are cases establishing a clear

constitutional right, the question for

this court is whether those cases are

meaningfully distinguishable from the

instant case. Id. at 591-93. In the

"absence of binding precedent," we look to

all available decisional law. See

Capoeman v. Reed, 754 F.2d 1512, 1514 (9th

Cir.. 1985). This "includes cases from

state courts, other circuits and district

courts." Wood, 879 F.2d at 591. If there

is no law that is binding for this circuit

and there are few cases on point, "an

A20

additional factor that may be considered

in ascertaining whether the law is clearly

established is a determination of the

likelihood that the Supreme Court or this

circuit would have reached the same result

as the non-binding authorities at that

time." Id. at 593 (internal quotations

omitted) .

A. Walker and McClary

The case most factually similar to

this one is from the Seventh Circuit. In

Walker v. Rowe, 791 F.2d 507 (7th Cir.),

cert._denied, 479 U.S. 994 (1986), several

state prisoners attacked and killed three

guards and injured several others. Some

of the injured guards and the estates of

the three deceased guards brought suit

claiming that prison officials had

deprived them of their right to a safe

working environment by affirmatively

"act[ing])" to "increase[ ] the danger"

A21

faced by the guards. Id. at 509 (emphasis

supplied). We observe that the district

court failed to consider Walker because it

wrongly considered it to be a case that

dealt with acts of omission.

Although the Seventh Circuit

recognized that in some situations a

government actor had a duty not to engage

in acts or omissions which placed an

individual in a position of danger, id. at

511, the court dismissed the guards’

claims. The decision turned upon the fact

that the creation of danger did not result

from a governmental curtailment of the

guards’ freedom to act on their own

behalf. Id. at 510-11. The guards had

not been "dragoon[ed]" or "forced" into

their jobs. Id. While employers do

compel their employees to some degree,

there was no governmental compulsion such

as when a "state imprisons a person" or

A22

"([w])hen the state arrests the adult having

custody of a child," that forced the

guards to face dangers that most people

would choose to avert. Id. at 511.

Accordingly, in 1986 the Seventh Circuit

recognized that there was a due process

right not to be exposed to danger when a

governmental restriction on an

individuai’s freedom had created the

initial danger and then the government had

done nothing to help the individual. This

right was based on the maxim that "(t]he

state must protect those it throws into

snake pits." Id. at 511. Conversely, the

Seventh Circuit did not recognize a

substantive due process right when the

government had created or "increased" the

danger faced by an individual but had done

nothing to restrict the individual’s

_

A23

freedom to avert that danger. Id. at

509-10.’

The Second Circuit engaged ina

similar analysis in McClary v. O’Hare, 786

F.2d 83 (2a Cir. 1986), which concerned

the death of a state employee as a result

of a work-related accident. The deceased

plaintiff's estate brought a substantive

due process claim against plaintiff's

supervisor, alleging that he had

intentionally failed to follow the safety

procedures that would have averted the

accident. Id. at 84-85. The Second

! As Plaintiffs point out, to some

extent. Walker relies upon cases which

refused to find a substantive due process

right when the plaintiffs alleged only that

a government actor had refused to interfere

to prevent danger, rather than affirmatively

acting to create or increase an individual’s

danger. Id. at 5§10. The Walker court,

however, conceded that in the case before ae

the prison officials had acted to increase

the danger to its employee guards. Thus,

this was not a case which turns on the

distinction between acts of commission or

omission.

A24

Circuit affirmed the dismissal of the

claim, stressing that there was no

allegation that the deceased had been in

the state’s control at the time of his

death.” Id. at 88-89.

Accordingly, during the relevant time

period, the law was more complex than

either party or the district court

acknowledges. On the one hand, there was

no clearly established general

constitutional right not to be exposed to

danger by a government actor irrespective

of whether that exposure was cast in terms

of an act of commission or omission. On

the other hand, there was a clearly

established right not to be exposed to

2 The district court refused to

consider McClary on the ground that it was

a procedural rather than a substantive due

process case. As Defendants point out,

however, McClary involved both a procedural

and a substantive due process claim relating

to a workplace injury (Blue at 25 n. 7).

A25

danger if a government actor had first

taken some action to restrain a person’s

liberty. In 1987, the question of whether

a defendant had engaged in affirmative

conduct went to the issue of restraint.

If such a restraint had occurred, however,

it did not matter whether the resulting

danger occurred due to a failure to act or

to a purposeful action. See Bowers, 686

F.2d at 618 ("({iJf the state puts a man in

a position of danger . . . and then fails

to protect him, it will not be heard to

say that its role was merely passive")

(emphasis supplied).

B. Precedential Effect of

Walker and McClary

Although Walker, and to a lesser

extent McClary, are factually similar to

the present case, neither decision is

binding authority in this circuit. Thus

we must address whether there is any

A26

indication that in 1987 this circuit or

the Supreme Court would have disagreed

with the Seventh and Second circuits and

found that a government official had a

clearly established duty not to expose an

individual to danger, irrespective of

whether or not the government actor had

restrained that individual’s liberty.

The district court relied upon three

cases to support its judgment that the

Defendants were not entitled to qualified

immunity’ The district court relied upon

our decision in Wood, 879 F.2d at 583,

which is considered to be the beginning of

"danger creation" cases in this circuit.

See Grubbs, 974 F.2d at 121. Wood, in

turn, followed the Seventh Circuit

* The third case relied upon by the

district court, Ward v. City of San Jose,

737 F. Supp. 1502 (N.D. Cal. 1990), has

since been reversed on this issue. Ward v.

City of San Jose, 967 F.2d 280 (9th Cir.

1991). .

A27

decision in White, 592 F.2d at 381, the

second case relied upon by the district

court. Neither Wood nor White, however,

demonstrates that there was a clearly

established right in 1987 not to be

exposed to danger by a government actor

without some initial governmental

restriction upon a person’s liberty.

In White, the police arrested a

gentleman on the freeway and abandoned his

young niece and two nephews in the car

which was left on the freeway. Id. at

382. The Seventh Circuit held that the

children had a due process liberty right

not to have been stranded. Id. at 383-85.

Rather, the police should have brought the

children to a safe location. Id. White

stands for the proposition that "[w]hen

the state arrests the adult having custody

of a child, the state had better take care

A28

of the child." Walker, 791 F.2d at 511

(emphasis supplied).

In Wood, the plaintiff was a

passenger in a car that had been pulled

over by the police at 2:30 a.m. The

police arrested the driver, impounded the

car, instructed the passenger to leave the

car, and then refused to give her a ride

out of the area. She was later rapec by a

third party. 879 F.2d at 586. Also faced

with a qualified immunity defense, Wood

concluded that in 1984 the Ninth Circuit

would have followed White, id. at 594, and

that by 1984 "passengers of arrested

drivers" had a clearly established

substantive due process right not to be

"abandon[ed]" by police officers and

thereby exposed to danger. Id. at 593.

In addition to White, Wood also

Stated that, in 1984, this court mostly

likely would have embraced the "logic" of

A29

two other relevant Seventh Circuit

decisions: Jackson v. City of Joliet, 715

F.2d 1200 (7th Cir. 1983); cert. denied,

465 U.S. 1049 (1984), and Bowers, 686 F.2d

at 616. Wood, 879 F.2d at 594. In

Bowers, the deceased plaintiff’s estate

alleged that the state mental health

department had "recklessly" exposed the

public to danger by releasing a violent

mental patient who then killed deceased.

686 F.2d at 617. In Jackson, a police

officer failed to come to the aid of a car

crash victim who later died. 715 F.2d at

1201-04. In both cases, the Seventh

Circuit refused to find a substantive due

process right, notwithstanding that in

Bowers the allegation could easily be

characterized as an exposure to danger

claim.

Wood read Bowers and Jackson as

requiring that a due process exposure to

A30

danger claim must allege some restraint on

an individual’s or a relevant third-

party’s liberty, which creates a special

relationship between the individual and

the government officer that then triggers

the defendant’s duty to protect the

individual from any potential harm. Wood,

879 F.2d at 993-94. Wood distinguished

White from Jackson and Bowers on the

ground that in White "the arrest created

the danger" to the three children. Id. at

594 (quoting Jackson, 715 F.2d at 1204).

The critical difference between Bowers,

Jackson and White was that in White <.

deprivation of liberty had created the

danger. This restriction upon the

children’s liberty triggered the state’s

duty to protect them. Id.; Jackson, 715

F.2d at 1204. In contrast, in Jackson and

Bowers, the state had done nothing to

interfere with the individual’s liberty

A31

and thus any danger that presented itself

to the plaintiff as a result of the

state’s action or inaction did not

implicate due process.

In sum, none of the cases relied upon

by the district court demonstrate that in

1987 there was a clearly established right

in this circuit, or in any other circuit,

not to be placed in a position of danger

by a government actor absent some

limitation on a person’s ability to act on

his own behalf to avert harm. Rather, by

1986 a person had a clearly established

right not to be exposed to danger by a

government actor as a result of his

restricting an individual’s or a relevant

third party’s liberty to act on his own

behalf.

©. Deprivation of Liberty

Plaintiffs are aware that absent an

allegation that a government actor

A32

deprived them of their liberty, in 1987

there was no clearly established right not

to be placed in a position of danger by

their government employer. Plaintiffs

contend that their liberty was deprived

because Defendants "forced" them to clean

up the toxic spill, while at the same time

deliberately keeping them in a state of

ignorance about the potential danger they

faced. Plaintiffs contend that in 1987

this sort of conduct feli under the

definition of "deprivation of liberty"

because it prevented them from acting on

their own behalf to avoid potential Farm.

The cases from the relevant time

period suggest that the courts were indeed

broadening the definition of "deprivation

of liberty" for exposure to danger claims.

On one end of the spectrum were those

cases that involved a restraint on ar

individual’s liberty as a result of a

A33

custodial relationship. See, e.g., Estate

of Gilmore v. Buckley, 787 F.2d 714, 721

(ist Cir.) (discussing custodial cases),

cert. denied, 479 U.S. 882 (1986). Cn the

other end of the spectrum were those cases

where a government defendant had only

indirectly restrained an individual’s

freedom. See, e.g., White, 592 F.2d at

384-85; Ward, 737 F. Supp. at i509-10. By

1986, many courts employed the short-hand

phrase "special relationship" to describe

the nexus between a government actor’s

possible and varied types of control over

an individual’s liberty that would trigger

a duty not to throw that individual into a

Situation of danger. Estate of Gilmore,

787 F.2d at 722; Walker, 791 F.2d at 511.

"Generally speaking, all of these cases

[stood] .. . for the proposition" that a

"special relationship" is created when

"the state, by exercising custody or

A34

control over the plaintiff, effectively

strips her of her capacity to defend

herself, or affirmatively places her ina

position of danger." Estate of Gilmore,

787 F.2d at 721-22 (emphasis supplied).

Other courts defined a "special

relationship" as a situation where there

was a pre-existing custodial relationship

and distinguished this from a situation

where an individual’s exposure to danger

was a result of his liberty being

restricted in some noncustodial manner.

See, e.g., Ward, 737 F. Supp. at 1510. In

1987, however, all these various types of

deprivation of liberty shared a common

attribute: deprivation of liberty denoted

some sort of governmentally sanctioned

A35

interference with a person’s physical

liberty.‘

[6] Therefore, after surveying the

legal catia, we cannot conclude that

in 1987 it was clearly established that a

government employer’s order to an employee

to perform a dangerous task, without

informing the employee about the potential

harm of which the employee was ignorant,

constituted a deprivation of liberty for

purposes of the due process clause. See,

e.g., Walker, 791 F.2d at 510; McClary,

786 F.2d at 89 (deliberate expcszre of

public employees to high risk does not

violate the constitution when exposure

‘We explicitly make no holding whether

in 1987 there was a right not to be exposed

to danger as a result of a government actor

restricting an individual’s civic liberties.

See, e.g., Collins v. City of Harker

Heights, 112 S. Ct. 1061, 1065-66 (1992);

Walker, 791 F.2d at 510 (in 1986 a public

employee could not be threatened with a loss

of his job as a result of speaking out on

matters of "public concern").

A36

does not stem from an abuse of

governmental power and when "identical

actions could have been carried out by a

private employer"). Rather, the only

Clear definition of deprivation of Lipdrty

that is found in the cases is an act,

direct or indirect, of governmental

interference with a person’s bodily

liberty.

[7] While we acknowledge that a

broader understanding of deprivation of

liberty may have emerged later, see, e.g.,

Grubbs, 974 F.2d at 121, we hold that in

1987 there was no clearly established

constitutional right not to be placed ina

position of danger by a government

employer absent some sort of governmental

restriction on an individual’s physical

freedom to act to avert potential harm.

Defendants are thus entitled to a defense

of qualified immunity as a matter of law.

A37

Conclusion

We affirm the district court’s

dismissal of Plaintiffs’ FTCA claims

against the United States. We reverse the

district court’s judgment that the

individual Defendants are not entitled to

qualified immunity and remand this motion

for judgment in accord with this opinion.

AFFIRMED in part, REMANDED in part.

WALLACE, Chief Judge, concurring:

I concur in part I of the opinion and

in the result reached in part II. I write

separately to emphasize two points.

First, as the majority correctly

holds in part II.C., as of 1987, Figv2roa

did not have a clearly established right

to be free from danger, unless a

government official took some affirmative

action to interfere with his physical

liberty. Walker v. Rowe, 791 F.2d 507,

510-11 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 479 U.S.

A38

994 (1986); McClary v. O’Hare, 786 F.2d

83, 88-89 (2d Cir. 1986); Bowers v.

DeVito, 686 F.2d 616, 618 (7th Cir. 1982).

In this case, the government did not

restrain or otherwise interfere with the

physical liberty of Figueroa or any other

member of the plaintiff class. That is

sufficient to decide the issue. The

majority’s attempt to draw a line between

acts of omission and acts of commission is

unnecessary to the resolution of this case

and should be regarded as dicta.

Second, I disagree with the

majority’s characterization of the state

of the law in 1987. The cases cited by

the majority do not create a clearly

established right "not be to be exposed to

danger if a government actor had first

taken some action to restrain a person’s

liberty." Maj. op. at 11833. Instead,

these cases establish a right to be free

A39

from danger created by the action of a

government official that interferes with a

person’s physical liberty. That is an

important distinction. Because our task

in reviewing a qualified immunity defense

is to describe accurately the state of the

law, not to extend it, I cannot agree with

the majority’s subtle change.

A40

IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF GUAM

TERRITORY OF GUAM

ELADIO T. FIGUEROA, et al.,

Civil Action

No. 91-00030

Plaintiffs,

Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

et al.,

PROCEEDINGS

)

)

)

)

)

) ORDER STAYING

)

)

)

Defendants. )

)

THIS MATTER comes before the court on

the United States’ motion to dismiss on

grounds of collateral estoppel, on

plaintiffs’ motion to stay the proceedings

and for certification for interlocutory

appeal, on the individual defendants’

motion to stay the proceedings pending

appeal, and on the United States’ motion

to strike plaintiffs’ response regarding

unexhausted administrative claims.

A4l1

I. FACTUAL BACKGROUND

The United States Department of the

Navy operates the Piti Power Plant in

Guam. On May 26, 1987, at 3:22 p.m., a

transformer at the Piti Power Plant

exploded and sprayed approximately

60 gallons of polychlorinated biphenals,

commonly referred to as PCBs, throughout

the plant.

On April 23, 1991, 1230 individually

named plaintiffs filed suit against the

United States and twelve individuals in

their official capacity for actions

arising out of the spill. Two hundred

fifty-two of the plaintiffs were federal

employees at the time of the accident. In

their complaint, plaintiffs stated causes

of action against the United States for

negligence in the clean-up of the PCBs as

well as for negligence in evaluating the

damage and advising plant workers about

A42

protective measures. Plaintiffs also

brought causes of action against the

United States based on strict liability,

knowing, wanton and willful conduct and

the Guam Toxic Substance Exposure

Compensation Act ("TSECA"). Finally,

plaintiffs state a constitutional tort

claim, Bivens v. Six Unknown Named Agents,

403 U.S. 388 (1971), against various

individual naval officers and doctors.

In a related action, Abuyuan v. General

Electric Co., No. 89-00031 (D. Guam), a

certified class of federal employee

plaintiffs, including many of the same

plaintiffs in this action, filed suit

against manufacturers General Electric Co.

and Monsanto alleging negligence and

violation of TSECA.

In a December 19, 1991, order, this

court denied the individual defendants’

motion to dismiss on the grounds of

A43

failure to state a claim, qualified

immunity and inadequate factual pleadings.

In a January 17, 1992, order, this court

granted the United States’ motion to

dismiss various claims against them,

including: (1) the claims of the 252

federal employee plaintiffs on the grounds

they are preempted by the Federal

Employees Compensation Act ("FECA");

(2) claims based on TSECA; (3) claims for

prejudgment interest and attorneys fees;

and (4) plaintiffs’ claims based on

ultrahazardous activity or strict

liability.’ In its motion to dismiss, the

United States also asked this court to

dismiss as plaintiffs those individuals

' In the January 17, 1992, order, the

court further held that the law governing

the liability of the parties would be the

law of Guam, prior to the passage of TSECA,

on exposure to toxic substances. Finally,

the court denied the government’s motion to

dismiss plaintiffs’ request for medical

monitoring expenses.

A44

who filed administrative claims as "spouse

of" or "child of" a power plant worker on

the grounds that these persons failed to

exhaust administrative remedies. The

court denied that part of the government’s

motion and directed them to produce within

30 days a list of those individual

plaintiffs that it believes have not

exhausted administrative remedies.

Plaintiffs were then to explain, within

30 days of receiving the names, why they

contend these individuals have exhausted

administrative remedies. The United

States filed its list on February 18,

1992, and the plaintiffs filed their

response on May 14, 1992.

In a February 25, 1992, decision in

Abuan, Judge Munson granted the

defendants’ motions for summary judgment,

finding that the federal employee

plaintiffs failed to proffer sufficient

A45

evidence of exposure or causation to

maintain their action and that plaintiffs’

admitted lack of physical injuries

prevented them from stating claims for

relief under Guam common law. Abuan,

1. v n El Ris

No. 89-00031, Decision and Order Re

Defendants’ Motion for Summary Judgment.

In an April 13, 1992, order this

court denied the individual defendants’

motion for reconsideration and granted in

part plaintiffs’ motion for

reconsideration, amending this court’s

January 17, 1992, order to state that only

plaintiffs’ TSECA claim based on increased

likelihood of injury would have to be:

dismissed for lack of subject matter

jurisdiction on the grounds that it

impermissibly imposes liability without

fault.

A46

The United States now moves for

summary judgment on the claims of the non-

federal employee plaintiffs on the grounds

that those claims are precluded under the

doctrine of collateral estoppel by Judge

Munson’s decision in Abuan. The United

States also seeks dismissal of the claims

of the 307 non-federal-employee plaintiffs

who the government alleges failed to file

administrative claims. Finally, the

United States moves to strike plaintiffs’

response regarding these plaintiffs’

failure to exhaust administrative

remedies.

Plaintiffs move for a stay of these

proceedings and for certification for

interlocutory appeal that part of this

court’s January 17 order dismissing the

federal employee plaintiffs’ claims on the

grounds that those claims are pre-empted

by plaintiffs’ remedies under FECA. The

—aooooeoeoeoreeeeeeee

a

A47

individual defendants also move for a stay

of these proceedings pending appeal to the

Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals of this

court’s December 19, 1991, order denying

their motion to dismiss based on qualified

immunity.

II. DISCUSSION

A. Individual Defendants’ Motion to Stay

On May 22, 1992, the individual

defendants filed a notice of appeal of

this court’s December 19, 1991, order

denying their motion to dismiss based on

qualified immunity, and this court’s

April 13, 1992, order denying

reconsideration. As qualified immunity is

designed to relieve a government official

from the burdens of litigation and is not

merely a defense, an interlocutory appeal

of an order denying dismissal based on

qualified immunity is an appeal of right.

A48

Mitchell v. Forsyth, 472 U.S. 511, 526-27

(1985). Unless the district court

certifies that an appeal would be

frivolous, such an appeal divests the

district court of jurisdiction over the

claim. See United States v. Claiborne,

727 F.2d 842, 850 (9th Cir.), cert.

denied, 469 U.S. 829 (1984); Chuman v.

Wright, No. 92-55007, slip op. at 1 (9th

Cir. March 27, 1992).

Defendants’ appeal of this court's

order denying dismissal based on qualified

immunity is not frivolous. The individual

defendants presented substantial questions

to this court that the court resolved in

plaintiffs’ favor. Accordingly, this

court will not certify the appeal as

frivolous and the individual defendants

are entitled to a stay of all proceedings

against them pending appeal.

A49

Certificati

Under Fed. R. Civ. P. 54(b), this

court may direct the entry of a final, and

therefore appealable, judgment on fewer

than all claims when: (1) the case

involves multiple parties or claims;

(2) the court has disposed of one, but

less than all, of a parties’ claims; and

(3) there is no just reason for delay.

Plaintiffs move for entry of judgment

under Rule 54(b) of that part of this

court’s January 17, 1992, order dismissing

the federal employee plaintiffs’ claims on

the grounds that they are precluded by

FECA. Plaintiffs also ask the court to

stay the remaining proceedings pending

appeal.

Defendants do not oppose

certification of this issue for

interlocutory appeal. The United States,

ASO

however, does request that the court

resolve its motion for summary judgment of

dismissal of the claims of the non-

federal-employee plaintiffs’ claims prior

to staying the proceedings.

The court finds that its order

dismissing the federal employee plaintiffs

claims on the grounds that their sole

remedy is provided by FECA is appropriate

for certification for interlocutory

appeal. The January 17 order completely

disposed of the federal employee

plaintiffs claims against the United

States and left only the claims of the

non-federal employee plaintiffs and of all

plaintiffs against the individual

defendants. In addition, immediate appeal

on this issue would advance the ultimate

resolution of the litigation. As long as

the proceedings will be stayed to permit

the Ninth Circuit to address the

A51

individual defendants’ appeal on qualified

immunity, there is no just reason to delay

the appeals’ court’s hearing plaintiffs’

appeal.

C. United States’ Motions for Summary

Judgment and to Strike

Although the government has req ested

that the court rule on its pending motions

for summary judgment of dismissal of the

non-federal-employee plaintiffs’ claims

prior to staying these proceedings, the

court will hold those motions in abeyance

until it lifts its stay. The United

States bases its motion for summary

judgment on Judge Munson’s decision in

Abuan. A notice of appeal of that

decision already has been filed. As long

as these proceedings will not be movi 1g

forward in any other way, the court

believes that the wisest use of judicial

resources would be to permit the Ninth

A52

Circuit to address Judge Munson’s ruling

prior to its considering the government’s

motion. If Judge Munson’s ruling is

reversed on appeal, the motion will become

moot. If Judge Munson’s ruling is

affirmed, the court can immediately

consider the United States’ motion.

Finally, although there are no

appellate court rulings to be made on the

United States’ motion to dismiss the

claims of the non-federal-employee

plaintiffs who they allege failed to file

administrative claims, the briefs

submitted by the parties indicate that

there remain considerable differences

between the parties regarding the

administrative claim process. The court

believes that holding this motion in

abeyance during the stay will give the

parties additional opportunity to address

the issue and perhaps resolve on their own

A53

whether particular putative plaintiffs

actually submitted administrative claims.

As plaintiffs have failed to explain their

nearly two-month delay in filing their

response regarding these plaintiffs’

administrative claims, the court believes

that they will give particular attention

to resolving this issue.

III. CONCLUSION

It is hereby ORDERED, ADJUDGED and

DECREED that:

(1) the individual defendants’

motion for a stay of the proceedings

against them pending appeal of this

court’s order denying their motion to

dismiss on qualified immunity grounds is

GRANTED;

(2) plaintiffs’ motion for a stay

and for certification for interlocutory

appeal of this court’s January 17, 1992,

ene tes =

A54

ruling dismissing the federal employee

plaintiffs’ claims against the United

States on the grounds that they are

precluded by FECA is GRANTED; and

(3) all future proceedings in this

matter, including the United States’

motions for summary judgment and to strike

plaintiffs’ response regarding plaintiffs

who failed to file administrative claims,

are STAYED pending the appeals discussed

above.

DATED at Seattle, Washington this

29th day of May, 1992.

Ls

BARBARA J. ROTHSTEIN

CHIEF UNITED STATES

DISTRICT JUDGE

AS5

IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF GUAM

TERRITORY OF GUAM

ELADIO T. FIGUEROA, et al.,

Plaintiffs, Civil Action

No. 91-00030

Vv.

ORDER RE:

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, MOTIONS FOR

et al., RECONS IDERA-

TION

Defendants.

ee eee ee ee ee ee ee ee

THIS MATTER comes before the court on

the individual defendants’ motion for

reconsideration of this court’s

December 19, 1991, order denying dismissal

of plaintiffs’ claims and on plaintiffs’

motion for reconsideration of portions of

this court’s January 12, 1992, order

dismissing plaintiffs’ claims against the

United States.

I. FACTUAL BACKGROUND

AS6

The United States Department of the

Navy operates the Piti Power Plant in

Guam. On May 26, 1987, at 3:22 p.m., a

transformer at the Piti Power Plant

exploded and sprayed approximately

60 gallons of polychlorinated biphenals,

commonly referred to as PCBs, throughout

the plant.

On April 23, 1991, 1230 individually

named plaintiffs filed suit against the

United States and twelve individuals in

their official capacity for actions

arising out of the spill. Two hundred

fifty-two of the plaintiffs were federal

employees at the time of the accident.

Jurisdiction of plaintiffs’ complaint is

based on the Federal Tort Claims Act

("FTCA"), 28 U.S.C. § 1346(b), 2671-80.

In their complaint, plaintiffs state

causes of action against the United States

for negligence in the clean-up of the PCBs

A57

as well as for negligence in evaluating

the damage and advising plant workers

about protective measures. Plaintiffs

also bring causes of action against the

United States based on strict liability,

knowing, wanton and willful conduct and

the Guam Toxic Substance Exposure

Compensation Act ("TSECA"). Finally,

plaintiffs sixth cause of action is a

constitutional tort claim, Bivens v. Six

Unknown Named Agents, 403 U.S. 388 (1971),

against various naval officers and

doctors. Plaintiffs seek to recover

damages for their current and future

injuries from exposure to toxic substances

and for their increased fear of developing

cancer at some time in the future as a

result of this exposure.

In a December 19, 1991, order, this

court denied the individual defendants’

motion to dismiss on the grounds of

A58

failure to state a claim, qualified

immunity and inadequate factual pleadings.

In a January 17, 1992, order, this court

granted the United States’ motion to

dismiss various claims against them,

including: (1) the claims of the 252

federal employee plaintiffs on the grounds

they are preempted by the Federal

Employees Compensation Act ("FECA") ;

(2) claims based on TSECA; (3) claims for

prejudgment interest and attorneys fees;

and (4) plaintiffs’ claims based on

ultrahazardous activity or strict

liability.’

1In its motion, the United States also

asked this court to dismiss as plaintiffs

those individuals who filed administrative

claims as "spouse of" or "child of" a power

plant worker on the grounds that these

persons failed to exhaust administrative

remedies. The court denied that part of the

government’s motion and directed them to

produce within 30 days a list of those

individual plaintiffs that it believes have

not exhausted administrative remedies.

Plaintiffs were then to explain, within

A59

The individual defendants now move

for reconsideration of this court’s

December 19, 1991, order. Plaintiffs move

for reconsideration of portions of this

court’s January 17, 1992, order.

II. DISCUSSION

A motion for reconsideration is

properly granted only if it raises

arguments that were not addressed in the

original motion. Taylor v. Knapp, 871

F.2d 803, 805 (9th Cir. 1989), cert.

denied, 110 S.Ct. 192 (1989). See also

30 days of receiving the names, why they

contend these individuals have exhausted

administrative remedies.

In the January 17, 1992, order, the

court further held that the law governing

the liability of the parties would be the

law of Guam, prior to the passage of TSECA,

on exposure to toxic substances. Finally,

the court denied the government’s motion to

dismiss plaintiffs’ request for medical

monitoring expenses.

A60

Backland v. Barnhart, 778 F.2d 1386, 1388

(9th Cir. 1985).

A. Individual Defendants Motion for

In its December 19, 1991, order, this

court held that plaintiffs’ Fifth

Amendment Substantive Due Process cause of

action adequately asserts violation of a

protected constitutional right, i.e., the

right not to be placed in a position of

known danger by government officials, and

held that the individual defendants’ were

not entitled to qualified immunity.

Defendants now ask the court to

reconsider these holdings. They argue

that this court was incorrect when it

concluded that the individual defendants’

decisions to require the power plant

employees to return to work implicated any

established constitutional right. Tkey

also argue that this court’s resolution of

| A61

the qualified immunity issue was

incorrect. Finally, the individual

defendants raise a new argument, that

plaintiffs’ constitutional tort claim is

precluded by the exclusive remedies of

FECA.

1. Asserted Constitutional Right

In its December 19, 1991, order this

court held that plaintiffs’ allegation

that the individual defendants

intentionally placed plaintiffs ina

position of known danger adequately stated

a claim for violation of a protected Fifth

Amendment substantive due process right.

See Order Denying Individual Defendants’

Motion to Dismiss at 4-8. The court

explained that while there is no

substantive due process violation where a

government official has no duty to

intercede to prevent a harm he knew about

but did not create, substantive due

A62

process is violated where the government

official has affirmatively acted to place

an individual in danger. Id. at 6.

Defendants argue first that this

court erred in finding such a right in an

environmental harm case. Defendants next

argue that this court erred because

plaintiffs have no constitutional right to

a safe work environment. Collins v. City

of Harker Heights, 60 U.S.L.W. 4182

(February 26, 1992); Walker v. Rowe, 791

F.2d 507, 510 (7th Cir.), cert. denied 479

U.S. 994 (1986) .?

*Defendants also argue that this court

placed too much reliance on the plaiu:iffs’

allegation that they were provided with

inadequate protective gear when they were

directed to return to work. Defendants

point out that the GAO report states that

the appropriate personal protective

equipment overalls were not in the naval

supply system. Defendants argue that where

resources necessary to comply with clearly

established constitutional law are not

available, qualified immunity shields the

individual defendants from liability. See

Youngberg v. Romero, 457 U.S. 307, 323

A63

Defendants’ arguments are

unpersuasive. The court considered and

rejected defendants’ first argument in its

original order. Order Denying Individual

Defendants’ Motion to Dismiss at 4-8 ("The

governmental action in the environmental

harm cases differs from the governmental

action that plaintiffs assert violated

their rights in this case"). Plaintiffs

do not assert a constitutional right to be

free from environmental harm or from

exposure to toxic chemicals, and the facts

of their complaint need not be interpreted

in such a restrictive manner.

Defendants’ second argument fails to

take into account the distinctions made by

(1982). Defendants’ reliance on Youngberg

is misplaced. Youngberg deals with the

resources available to directors and

administrators of state institutions,

including mental hospitals, and instructs

courts to treat with deference the decisions

of administrators regarding use of

resources. Id. at 322-23.

A64

this court regarding the necessary action

by a government official before plaintiffs

can assert a constitutional violation. As

the Supreme Court recently made clear in

Collins, a city’s failure to train or warn

its employees about known hazards in the

workplace does not violate the due process

clause. Collins, 60 U.S.L.W. at 4186. In

Collins, the plaintiff asserted that the

city of Harker Heights, Texas, deprived

her husband of his life and liberty

because it failed to provide a reasonably

safe work environment. However, the court

in Collins drew a distinction between its

case, where the deceased’s job of cleaning

the sewer system required him to face

inherent risks, and cases where the

government has an affirmative duty of

care.

Other cases cited by the individual

defendants where courts have rejecteca a

A6é5

constitutional claim based on the right to

a safe work environment similarly have

distinguished the situation where the

government has affirmatively acted to

place a person in danger. See, ¢€.g.,

Walker, 791 F.2d at 511 ("The state must

protect those it throws into snake pits,

but the state need not guarantee that

volunteer snake charmers will not be

bitten"); Bradberry v. Pinellas County,

789 F.2d 1513 (11th Cir. 1986). See also

Ruge v. City of Bellevue, 892 F.2d 738

(8th Cir. 1989) ("where the states abuses

its governmental authority through an

alleged policy of actively placing a

person into a situation of known danger,

the Constitution proscribes and limits

such action") .?

*The Supreme Court’s decision in

Collins effectively overrules Ruge, which

had held that plaintiff asserted a 42 U.S.C.

§ 1983 claim for municipal liability where

A66

In addition, although the court in

Walker held that where a state employee

voluntarily accepts a job, the state has

no duty to provide a safe working

environment, the incident at issue here

involves more than plaintiffs’ regular

working conditions. As the court

explained in its December 19, 1991, order,

the explosion at the power plant was a

discrete, identifiable event releasing

toxic chemicals into the plant.

Plaintiffs allege that defendants knew

about this danger and still directed them

it alleged that the city had a policy of not

shoring up ditches into which it sent its

employees. Ruge is distinguishable from the

situation at issue here. The policy ȣf not

shoring up ditches was a latent unsafe

working condition. Here, however, the

explosion was a discrete event. While the

municipal employees in Ruge knew they would

be working in ditches, the employees here

did not accept their positions with any

forewarning or anticipation that they would

be instructed to work in a dangerous

situation following an explosion.

F

£

FA

ns

A67

to return to work. Such an allegation

adequately asserts a substantive due

process claim. The individual defendants’

arguments to the contrary are again

unpersuasive.

r # Qualified Immunity

"Government officials performing

discretionary functions . .. are shielded

from liability for civil damages insofar

as their conduct does not violate clearly

established statutory or constitutional

rights of which a reasonable person would

have known." Harlow v. Fitzgerald, 457

U.S. 818 (1982). Government officials are

presumed to have knowledge of clearly

established law and to be able to act

reasonably with respect to that law. A

determination of whether the qualified

immunity doctrine applies in a particular

case focuses on two inquiries:

(1) whether the constitutional rights

A68

allegedly violated were clearly

established at the time of defendants’

conduct; and (2) whether defendants’

conduct was objectively reasonable with

reference to the clearly established law.

The operation of these standardy

interacts with the level of generality at

which plaintiffs’ constitutional right is

identified. Anderson v. Creighton, et

al., 483 U.S. 635, 639 (1987). Under

Anderson, the constitutional right

asserted by plaintiffs must be

sufficiently specific to permit reasonable

government officers to understand that

their actions may violate that right. Id.

at 640.

In its December 19, 1991, order. this

court held that the right not to be placed

in known danger by government officials

was well established in 1987 and that the

court could not conclude at this stage of

A69

the proceedings that plaintiffs could

prove no set of facts that would establish

that the individual defendants’ actions

were not objectively reasonable. In

reaching its decision that plaintiffs’

asserted constitutional right was well

established, the court relied primarily on

cases such as Ward v. City of San Diego,

791 F.2d 1329, 1332 (9th Cir. 1986), cert.

denied, 483 U.S. 1020 (1987); Wood v.

Qstrander, 879 F.2d 583 (9th Cir. 1989),

cert. denied, 111 S.Ct. 341 (1990); Wnite

v,. Rochford, 592 F.2d 381 (7th Cir. 1979),

where government officials had taken

affirmative action that placed plaintiffs

in a position of known danger.

Defendants argue that the court erred

in two respects. First, the individual

defendants argue that plaintiffs’ asserted

constitutional right was not clearly

established at the time of the 1987

A70

explosion. Second, the individual

defendants argue that the court

impermissibly substituted its own view of

reasonableness for the objective

reasonableness standard required ina

qualified immunity determination.

a. Clearly Established Law

Defendants argue, as they did in

their motion to dismiss, that plaintiffs

are attempting to state their

constitutional right in an overbroad

manner, contrary to the admonition in

Anderson. Defendants argue that

plaintiffs’ complaint, looked at with the

specificity required in Anderson, asserts

that plaintiffs’ constitutional rights to

be free from environmental harm and to be

safe and secure in their workplace have

been violated.

In support of this argument,

defendants again point to cases where

A71

courts nave ‘hela that there is no

constitutional right to be free from

exposure to harmful chemicals. See, e.g.,

In re "Agent Orange" Product Liability

Litigation, 475 F. Supp. 928, 934

(E.D.N.Y. 1979). Defendants also,

however, point to the line of cases

holding that there is no constitutional

right to freedom from governmental

indifference to occupational safety. See,

e.g., Collins v. Harker Heights, 60

U.S.L.W. 4182 (February 26, 1992); Walker

v. Rowe, 791 F.2d 507, 510 (7th Cir.),

cert. denied, 479 U.S. 994 (1986).

As discussed above, the court has

again concluded that plaintiffs have

asserted a substantive due process right.

In determining whether that right was

firmly established in 1987, at the time of

the’power plant explosion, the court is to

look at all available decisional law.

A72

See, e.g., Tribble v. Gardner, 860 F.2d

321 (9th Cir. 1988). Of the cases

advanced by the parties, In re "Agent

(1979); Walker (1986); Washington v.

District of Columbia, 802 F.2d 1478 (D.C.

Cir. 1986); Rankin v. City of Wichite

Falls, 762 F.2d 444 (5th Cir. 1985); Ward

(1986); and White were decided prior to

the explosion at issue here. White and

Ward both hold that government officials

violate substantive due process when they

knowingly place individuals in positions

of known danger. In re "Agent Orange"

holds that there is no constitutional

right to freedom from exposure to

environmental harm. Walker, Washington

and Rankin all hold that there is no

A73

constitutional right to a safe work

environment .‘

Defendants argue that confronted with

these cases, a reasonable official would

conclude that he is bound either by the In

re Agent Orange line of cases finding or

by the Walker line of cases and would

therefore not understand that he was

violating a constitutional right by

requiring the plaintiffs’ to return to

work and by providing them with inadequate

safety equipment. Defendants also argue

that even if this court determines tliat

the right not to by [sic] placed in known

danger by government officials was firmly

‘Defendants cite a fourth case, McClary

v. O’Hare, 786 F.2d 83 (2d Cir. 1986) for

the proposition that there is no

constitutional right to a safe work

environment. McClary, however, is

inapposite. It involves a procedural due

process claim based on officials’ failure to

comply with municipal and state safety

regulations in the daily operation of its

highways.

A74

established, the facts of this case are

too different from the facts of White and

Ward for the unlawfulness of the

individual defendants’ actions to have

been apparent.

Defendants are correct in their

assertion that it was clearly established

in 1987 that there was no constitutional

right either to be free from environmental

harm or to have a safe work environment.

However, the facts of these lines of cases

are too dissimilar from the facts of this

case to be the clearly established law for

determining whether the individual

defendants are entitled to immunity from

suit. Both the environmental harm and

safe work environment claims involve.

actions based on existing conditions and

do not involve affirmative government

action. Walker involved allegations of a

municipal policy of failing to shore up

A75

ditches, a known dangerous working

condition. Washirigton involved an attack

by a prisoner on a prison guard and

allegations of unsafe conditions at the

jail allowing the prisoner access to the

guard. Rankin involved the death by

drowning of a municipal worker at a water

treatment plant when the worker attempted

to help a co-worker who had slipped. In

none of these cases did a governmental

actor take affirmative steps to place the

individuals in a position of known danger,

as did the individual defendants in White,

Ward and, allegedly, this case.

That the government officials here

were not law enforcement officers as they

were in White and Ward does not mean that

plaintiffs’ asserted constitutional right

is too broadly asserted. Nor does

defendants’ reliance on F.E. Trotter, Inc.

v. Watkins, 869 F.2d 1312 (9th Cir. 1989)

A76

persuade this court that these plaintiffs

have phrased their constitutional right

too broadly. In Trotter, the plaintiffs

asserted a substantive due process

violation based on government officials’

use of fabricated data to prepare an

advisory document. The Ninth Circuit held

that, although there were some cases

finding substantive due process violations

in irrational zoning decisions, because no

case had specifically held that

preparation of an advisory report using

fabricated data was a substantive due

process violation, the law finding such a

constitutional right was not clearly

established.

This court finds Trotter unpersuasive

in this situation for two reasons. First,

the Ninth Circuit opinion in Trotter would

seem to suggest that the facts of a case

be identical to those in a prior decision

A77

before the asserted constitutional right

would be clearly established. This is not |

what Anderson requires, and to the extent

defendants rely on Trotter for this

proposition, the court rejects such an

interpretation. Under Anderson,

The contours of the right must |

be sufficiently clear that a

reasonable official would

understand that what he is doing

violates that right. That is

- r1 1 the v 4

held unlawful, but it is to say . =~"

that in the light of :

pre-existing law the

unlawfulness must be apparent.

Anderson, 483 U.S. at 640. Second, the

plaintiffs in Trotter phrased their

constitutional right very narrowly,

asserting a right not to have the

government deliberately use false data in

an advisory opinion to deprive them of

their property rights. Without any

attempt to phrase this asserted right in

A78

terms of a broader, well recognized right,

it is little wonder that the Ninth Circuit

would require practically an identical set

of facts before finding that such a right

was clearly established. Plaintiffs here,

however, clearly link the affirmative

action of the government officials to

similar affirmative action by government

officials in other cases. In addition, as

the court pointed out in its prior order,

both Ward and White anticipate that they

will not be restricted to law enforcement

situations.

Thus, the court concludes again chat

plaintiffs’ asserted constitutional right

was clearly established at the time of the

1987 explosion. Case law existed at that

time finding violation of substantive due

process rights where government officials

deliberately placed individuals in a

position of known danger. While the cases

A79

cited by defendants finding that there is

no constitutional right to a safe work

environment may have been dispositive had

workers been on duty at the time of the

explosion and sued the individual

defendants for failing to prevent the

conditions that lead to the explosion,

those cases are unavailing here. These

plaintiffs do not allege failure to

maintain a safe work environment. Rather

they allege that the individual defendants

violated their constitutional rights when

they required them to return to work after

the explosion.

b. OQbjective Reasonableness

Even if the court again finds that

plaintiffs’ asserted constitutional right

was clearly established, defendants argue

that the court erred in finding that the

individual defendants did not act

objectively reasonably in light of

A80

existing law at the time. Specifically,

Gefendants refer to the Supreme Court’s

decision in Hunter v. Bryant, 112 S.Ct.

534 (1991) issued three days before this

court’s December 19, 1991, order stating

that the district court is to look at the

conduct of the governmental officers in

the circumstances at the time of their

actions, not whether another reasonable,

or more reasonable interpretation can be

constructed five years after the fact.

Hunter v. Bryant, 112 S.Ct. 534, 537

(1991). Defendants argue that, in light

of Hunter, this court applied the wrong

reasonableness test. Defendants argue

that in stating "in light of this known

Ganger [the presence of toxic chemicals in

the plant), it simply cannot be reasonable

for government officials to choose

continued power generation over the safety

of the power plant employees," this court

A81

substituted its own notion of reasonable

official conduct for the objective

reasonableness called for under Hunter.

See Order Denying Individual Defendants’

Motion to Dismiss at 13. In addition,

defendants argue that this court

impermissibily used the "known danger"

criteria to determine what was reasonable.

The court, evidently too abruptly,

used "known danger" as a shorthand way of

describing the conditions that the

individual defendants faced as they made

their decision to continue operating the

Piti Power Plant following the May 26,

1987, explosion. Extremely toxic

chemicals were housed at the power plant.

The transformer explosion sprayed

approximately 60 gallons of

polychlorinated biphenals, commonly

referred to as PCBs, throughout the plant.

The extent of the release of toxic

A82

chemicals was not immediately known.

However, it is common knowledge that

exposure to toxic chemicals can have

severe health effects. In addition, che

individual defendants’ decision to provide

some protective equipment, regardless of

whether it was adequate, indicates that

they were aware that the explosion posed

some danger to plant employees.

It is igainst this background tlat

the court decided whether, examining the

evidence in the light most favorable to

the plaintiff, plaintiffs could prove any

set of facts that would entitle them to

relief. In other words, the court

determined that plaintiffs could show a

set of facts from which it could conclude

that the objective reasonableness of the

individual defendants’ actions could not

be established as a matter of law.

A83

Finally, defendants are incorrect

when they state that the court substituted

its own notion of reasonableness for the

objective reasonableness inquiry. In

Hunter, the Ninth Circuit held that, at

the summary judgment stage, the objective

reasonableness of the police officer’s

actions in determining that they had

probable cause to arrest the plaintiff was

a question for the trier of fact, and a

grant of summary judgment was not

appropriate unless there was only one

reasonable conclusion a jury could reach.

Bryant v. United States Treasury

Department, Secret Service, 903 F.2d 717

(9th Cir. 1990). The Supreme Court held

that the Ninth Circuit’s statement of law

was wrong because it did not examine the

reasonableness of the officers’ actions at

the time but rather asked whether another

reasonable or more reasonable construction

A84

of events could be found five years later.

Hunter, 112 S.Ct. at 537.

In denying that the individual

defendants are entitled to qualified

immunity, this court does not ask whether

another reasonable or more reasonable

course of action was possible in the wake

of the power plant explosion. Rather,

this court merely concludes that

plaintiffs have set forth sufficient facts

to raise a question as to whether the

individual defendants’ conduct was

objectively reasonable.

As they have not persuaded the court

that its earlier decision was in errcr,

the individual defendants’ motion for

reconsideration of denial of the qualified

immunity defense is denied.

3. Inadequacy of Pleadings

In cases where violation of a

constitutional right includes an element

A85

of the government officials’ subjective

intent, the heightened pleading standard

requires plaintiffs to state in their

complaint nonconclusory allegations

setting forth evidence of unlawful intent.

Branch v. Tunnell, 937 F.2d 1382, 1386

(9th Cir. 1991). In its December 19,

1991, order, this court stated that in

their original complaint plaintiffs did

little more than describe the time and

place of the allegedly unconstitutional

conduct and the identity of the allegedly

responsible officials.’ The complaint did

‘Ordinarily, all that is required of a

plaintiffs in their complaint is that they

allege specific conduct violating their

rights, the time and place of the coaduct

and the identity of the responsible

officials. Vv ip,

838 F.2d 663, 666 (746 ©6<Cie. 1988),

cert. denied, 490 U.S. 1065 (1989).

Plaintiffs argue that as subjective intent

is not an element of the substantive due

process violation at issue here, they have

sufficiently plead their cause of action.

As the court has determined that defendants

set forth no new arguments on this issue in

A86

not link any specific individual to any

specific conduct. The court ruled that

plaintiffs would have until March 31,

1992, to amend their complaint with more

specific facts linking the individual

defendants with the alleged violation of

plaintiffs’ constitutional rights.°

Defendants argue that it was error

for this court to recognize the proper

pleading standard and then permit

plaintiffs to conduct discovery and amend

their complaint rather than to dismiss the

complaint. Defendants further argue that

by allowing such discovery, the court

emasculates the purpose of the qualified

their motion for reconsideration, the court

need not consider plaintiffs’ arguments.

Upon stipulation of the parties, this

date was extended pending the court’s ruling

on the individual defendants’ motion for

reconsideration.

A87

immunity defense, which is to include

immunity from discovery.

Defendants’ arguments are again

unpersuasive. First, this court fully

considered defendants’ arguments regarding

the propriety of dismissal in making its

original ruling and need not revisit these

arguments on reconsideration. Second,

whereas qualified immunity does include

immunity from discovery, the court denied

the individual defendants’ motion for

qualified immunity.

4. iv f FE n

Bivens Claim

Defendants next present an issue that

was not raised at all in their individual

motion to dismiss. Defendants argue that

this Bivens action is precluded by the

Federal Employees Compensation Act

("FECA"), 5 U.S.C. §§ 8101-8193, which

Congress intended to make the exclusive

A88

remedy against the United States for job-

related injuries.

Where there are special factors

counseling hesitation, federal courts

should not invoke their remedial powers to

create a Bivens action for

unconstitutional official conduct. See

Bush v, Lucas, 462 U.S. 367 (1983). One

such special factor is the existence of a

comprehensive statutory scheme providing

exclusive remedies for the allegedly

unconstitutional government conduct giving

rise to the Bivens action. Id, at 368

(Civil Service Reform Act); Schweiker v.

Chilicky, 487 U.S. 412, 428-29 (1988)

(Social Security Act) ; ae ae an

McClure, No. 90-56021, slip op. at 6 (9th

Cir. Bec. 24, 299i}.

Defendants argue that because FECA is

"intended to provide an exclusive remedy

for all employees of the United States

A89

suffering job-related injuries. .. ,"

Guidry v. Durkin, 834 F.2d 1465, 1471 (9th

Cir. 1987), this court should not allow a

Bivens action based on injuries suffered

by these shatentece in connection witn

their employment at the power plant.

Defendants’ argument is again

unpersuasive. The court notes first that

even if it were to hold that FECA does not

preclude a Bivens action, such a ruling

would only affect the federal employee

plaintiffs, not their spouses or other

family members. See Order Granting in

Part the United States’ Motion to Dismiss

at 5. Second, defendants’ argument is

incomplete. While FECA clearly precludes

actions against the United States for job-

related injuries, it is not clear that

FECA precludes actions against individual

government officials for allegedly

deliberate constitutional violations. As

A90

plaintiffs point out, to give FECA

preclusive effect in such a situation

would, in essence, allow government

officials to act with impunity toward the

employees they supervise.

Finally, the cases cited by

defendants where courts held that other

statutory schemes should preclude a Bivens

action are distinguishable from this one.

In Schweiker and Sky Ad, Inc., plaintiffs

pursued Bivens actions based on procedural

due process violations. The courts held

that the statutory schemes involved were

designed specifically to deal with review

of administrative decisions, thereby

precluding a separate legal action based

on that process. Similarly, in Bush, the

Supreme Court held that the Civil Service

Reform Act precluded a Bivens action

arising out of personnel decisions because

the Act provided a comprehensive and

A91

complete remedial scheme for all personnel

decisions. In his concurrence,

Justice Marshall specifically stated that

"there is nothing in today’s decision to

foreclose a federal employee from pursuing

a Bivens remedy where his injury is not

attributable to personnel actions which

may be remedied under the federal

statutory scheme." Bush, 462 U.S. at 391.

Accordingly, the individual

defendants’ motion for dismissal based on

the preclusive effects of FECA is denied.

B. Plaintiffs’ Motion for

Reconsideration

Plaintiffs seek reconsideration of

only that part of this court’s January 17,

1992, order, dismissing plaintiffs’ claims

based on the Guam Toxic Substances

Exposure Compensation Act ("TSECA").

In its January 17, 1992, order, this

court dismissed plaintiffs’ TSECA action,

A92

finding that TSECA was hostile to the

interests of the United States and that to

borrow such a hostile statute as the state

law for application under the FTCA

violated constitutional supremacy clause

principles. This court stated that the

applicable rule of decision would instead

be borrowed from existing Guam common law.

The court also found that even if TSECA‘’s

application would not violate supremacy

Clause principles, plaintiffs’ TSECA

action would nonetheless have to be

dismissed on the grounds: (1) that TSECA

exceeded the FTCA’s waiver of sovereign

immunity because TSECA’s provisions

establishing presumptions for injury and

causation essentially impose liability

without fault; and (2) that this court

lacked subject matter jurisdiction because

TSECA does not require a showing of injury

and causation, as required under the FTCA.

A93

As a fundamental principle of

judicial restraint, courts avoid reaching

constitutional questions unless necessary.

See, e.9., Lyng v. Northwest Indian

Cemetery Protective Association, 485 U.S.

439 (1988). Upon reconsideration, tle

court determines that its examination of

the constitutionality of TSECA was

premature. In a proceeding parallel to

this one, plaintiffs bringing suit against

General Electric Company and Monsanto

Company for their role in the power plant

explosion were unable to establish that

they were exposed to a level of toxic

substances sufficient to warrant future

medical monitoring or to place themselves

at an increased riek of future injury,

illness or disease, even under the

presumptions set out by TSECA. See Abuan

v. General Electric Co., Civil Action

No. 89-00031, Decision and Order Re

ial aa aa a i a

A94

Defendants’ Motions for Summary Judgment,

February 25, 1992, at 4, 10. As a result,

the court in Abuan granted defendants’

motion for summary judgment and declined

to rule on the various constitutional

challenges to TSECA.

As illustrated by Abuan, in the

discovery proceedings the parties will

produce considerable information regarding

the level of toxic substances at which the

power plant employees were exposed. Such

information will be produced regardless of

whether plaintiffs are pursuing their FTCA

action by applying TSECA or by applying

the common law of Guam. If, as in Abuan,

the plaintiffs are unable to show a

sufficient level of exposure, the court

need not ever consider whether TSECA

violates constitutional supremacy clause

principles. Under principles of judicial

AS5

restraint it should not do so at this

stage.’

Accordingly, the court will vacate

that portion of its January 17, 1992,

article dismissing plaintiffs’ TSECA claim

and strike the United States’ motion to

dismiss the TSECA claim as premature. The

government may renew its motion to dismiss

the TSECA claim following sufficient

discovery to determine the levels at which

plaintiffs have been exposed to toxic

chemicals.

III. CONCLUSION

’For the same reasons that the court

-need not address the constitutionality of

TSECA at this point, the court will defer

ruling on the government’s motion to dismiss

plaintiffs’ TSECA claim on the grounds of

lack of subject matter jurisdiction and on

the grounds that the TSECA essentially

imposes strict liability, which is beyond

the scope of the waiver of sovereign

immunity in the FTCA.

A96

It is hereby ORDERED, ADJUDGED and

DECREED that:

(1) the individual defendants’

motion for reconsideration of this court’s

December 19, 1991, order denying their

motion to dismiss is DENIED;

(2) plaintiffs’ motion for

reconsideration of this court’s

January 17, 1992, order granting in part

the United States’ motion to dismiss is

GRANTED; and

(3) that part of this court’s

January 17, 1992, order stating that

plaintiffs’ TSECA claim would have to be

dismissed is VACATED; and

(4) the government’s motion to

dismiss plaintiffs’ TSECA claim is

STRICKEN with leave to renew.

A97

DATED at Seattle, Washington this

13th day of April, 19°2.

Ls/

BARBARA J. ROTHSTEIN

CHIEF UNITED STATES

DISTRICT JUDGE

ie

A98

IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF GUAM

TERRITORY OF GUAM

ELADIO T. FIGUEROA, et al.,

Civil Action

No. 91-00030

Plaintiffs,

Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

et al.,

ING IN PART

THE UNITED

STATES ’

MOTION TO

DISMISS

)

)

)

)

)

)

) ORDER GFANT-

)

)

)

Defendants. )

)

THIS MATTER comes before the court on

the United States’ motion to dismiss all

claims against it. Having reviewed the

matter, together with all documents fled

in support and in opposition, having heard

oral argument and being fully informed,

the court finds and rules as follows:

I. FACTUAL BACKGROUND

The United States Department of the

Navy operates the Piti Power Plant in

A99

Guam. On May 26, 1987, at 3:22 p.m., a

transformer at the Pita Power Plant

exploded and sprayed approximately

60 gallons of polychlorinated biphenals,

commonly referred to as PCBs, throughout

the plant.

On April 23, 1991, 1230 individually

named plaintiffs filed suit [sic] the

against the United States and twelve

individuals in their official capacity for

actions arising out of the spill. Two

hundred fifty-two of the plaintiffs were

federal employees at the time of the

accident. Jurisdiction of plaintiffs’

complaint is based on the Federal Tort

Claims Act ("FTCA"), 28 U.S.C. § 1346(b),

2671-80. In their complaint, plaintiffs

state causes of action alleging negligence

in the clean-up of the PCBs as well es

negligence in evaluating the damage and

advising plant workers about protective

A100

measures. Plaintiffs also bring causes of

action based on strict liability, knowing,

wanton and willful conduct and the Guam

| Toxic Substance Exposure Compensation Act

("TSECA"). Plaintiffs seek to recover

damages for their current and future

injuries from exposure to toxic substances

and for their increased fear of developing

cancer at some time in the future as a

result of this exposure.

The government now moves for

dismissal of all claims against it on the

grounds that: (1) the claims of the

252 federal employee plaintiffs are

precluded by the Federal Employees

Compensation Act ("FECA"); (2) the claims

of some plaintiffs must be dismissed for

failure to exhaust administrative

remedies; (3) plaintiffs cannot proceed

under the Guam Toxic Substance Exposure

Compensation Act because it is

A101

impermissibily hostile to federal

supremacy principles; (4) the FTCA does

not-permit awards of prejudgement interest

or attorneys fees; (5) the FTCA precludes

plaintiffs’ strict liability claim; and

(6) the claims for medical monitoring must

be dismissed because the FTCA does not

authorize equitable relief. The court

heard oral argument on these issues on

November 12, 1991.

II. DISCUSSION

A. Standard of Review

Under Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(b) (6), a

complaint should not be dismissed unless

it appears beyond doubt that the

plaintiffs can prove no set of facts that

would entitle them to relief. Conley v.

Gibson, 355 U.S. 41, 45, 47-48 (1957);

California Dump Truck Owners Ass’n v.

Associated Gen, Contractors, 562 F.2d 607,

A102

614 (9th Cir. 1977). Even if dismissal is

appropriate, plaintiffs should still have

the opportunity to amend their complaint

when it appears that a more carefully

drafted complaint might state a claim upon

which relief could be granted.

Friedlander v. Nims, 755 F.2d 810, 813

(lith Cir. 1985); gee algo Bonanno v.

Thomas, 309 F.2d 320 (9th Cir. 1962).

The court notes initially that the

issues addressed by the government in

their motion to dismiss present few

factual issues. Rather, they contend

primarily that the causes of action

brought by plaintiffs are not permissible

under the FTCA.

B. Exclusivity of Federal Employees

Remedy Under FECA

Under FECA, 5 U.S.C. § 8101, et geg.,

federal employees are compensated for

injuries sustained during the performance

A103

of their duties. 5 U.S.C. § 8102. The

remedies provided to federal employees

under FECA are exclusive of all other

remedies against the United States with

respect to a job-related injury or death

of a federal employee. 5 U.S.C.

§ 8116(c); Johansen v. United States,

343 U.S. 427, 435-37 (1952); Sheehan v.

United States, 896 F.2d 1168, 1173,

modified, 917 F.2d 424 (9th Cir. 1990).

In essence, a federal employee exchanges

the ability to file a subsequent lawsuit

for the promise of prompt payment of

specified amounts. Lockheed Aircraft

Corp. v. United States, 460 U.S. 190,

193-94 (1983).

The kinds of injuries compensated for

under FECA are set out in the statute and

a wide body of regulations. For example,

a work-related injury is defined as

including, in addition to injury by

A104

accident, "a disease proximately caused by

the employment." 5 U.S.C. § 8101(5). An

occupational disease or illness includes:

a condition produced in the work

environment over a period longer

than a single work day or work

shift by such factors as

systemic infection; continued or

repeated stress or strain; or

exposure to hazardous elements

such as, but not limited to,

toxins, poisons, .. . or

repeated conditions or factors

of the work environment.

20 C.F.R. § 10.5(a) (16). The touchstone

for determining coverage under FECA is

whether the injury is job-related. Reep

v. United States, 557 F.2d 204 (9th Cir.

1977).

To ensure uniformity of

interpretation, tne Secretary of Labor is

vested with the authority to determine

whether an injury or illness is covered by

FECA. See Gunston v. United States,

358 F.2d 303 (9th Cir. 1966), cert,

denied, 384 U.S. 993 (1966). The

A105

Secretary’s decisions are not reviewable

by the courts. 5 U.S.C. § 8128(b). In an

FTCA action by a federal employee, the

district court’s only initial

determination is whether there is a

"substantial question" of FECA coverage.

Reep, 557 F.2d at 207. If so, the court

must dismiss the action in favor of a

ruling by the Secretary of Labor. A

substantial question of FECA coverage

exists unless it is certain that the

Secretary would find no coverage. DiPippa

v. United States, 687 F.2d 14, 16 (3d Cir.

1982).

The government contends that the FTCA

Claims of all federal employee plaintiffs

must be dismissed because the alleged

injuries occurred on the job and a

substantial question of FECA coverage

exists with respect to plaintiffs’ claims

for emotional distress and future medical

A106

injuries from exposure to the toxic

chemicals released in the explosion.

Plaintiffs, on the other hand, contend

that there is no substantial question of

FECA coverage for their claims for

emotional distress, exposure that has not

resulted in present injury, and increased

future risk of disease. Plaintiffs also

argue that this court, not the Secretary

of Labor, should make the determination

here whether FECA applies because the

government has already stated that some of

the injuries sustained by plaintiffs are

not compensable. See Plaintiffs’

Opposition to Motion to Dismiss at 18.

citing Memorandum in Support of United

States’ Motion to Dismiss at 6.

The court agrees with the government

and concludes that the claims presented by

the federal employee plaintiffs present a

substantial question of FECA coverage.

A107

First, and most importantly, the federal

employee plaintiffs’ injuries, both

present and future, are clearly job-

related. They arise unquestionably out of

the explosion and release of PCBs at the

Piti Power Plant where these plaintiffs

were employed. Second, some emotional

injuries, even absent physical harm, are

covered by FECA. Castro v. United States,

757 F. Supp. 1149 (W.D. Wash. 1991).!

Courts that have determined that FECA did

not apply to claims of emotional distress

‘Plaintiffs suggest that this court

should differentiate between negligent

infliction of emotional distress claims and

intentional infliction of emotional distress

Claims. They further suggest that there is

no substantial question of coverage for

intentional infliction of emotional distress

claims. The court in Metz v. United States,

723 F. Supp. 1133, 1132 (D. Md. 1989),

however, considered precisely this question

and determined that because Mr. Metz’

claimed injury was job-related, FECA

coverage did apply to plaintiff’s

intentional infliction of emotional distress

claim.

A108

have done so only where the claims were

not somehow related to the performance of

occupational duties or to some potential

for physical harm. See Sheehan v. United

States, 896 F.2d 1168, 1174 (9th Cir.

1990) (no substantial question of FECA

coverage on plaintiff’s claim for

emotional distress resulting from sexual

harassment); Metz v. United States,

723 F. Supp. 1133, 1136 (D.Md. 1989). The

federal employee plaintiffs’ emotional

distress claims here are both job-related

and based on exposure to a toxic

substance. The emotional distress claim

is precisely the result of the potential

physical injury.

Third, plaintiffs cannot split their

Claims and seek to place their claims for

future physical injury or increased risk

of future physical injury outside the

scope of FECA coverage simply because the

A109

physical injury has not yet manifested

itself and is unlikely to do so until well

after the three-year period for presenting

FECA claims expires. Section 8122(b) of

FECA specifically contemplates coverage of

disabilities that do not manifest

themselves until well after the event that

produced the injury. Section 8122(b) also

specifies that the three-year period for

filing FECA claims does not begin to run

until the employee becomes aware or snould

have become aware that his disability is

job-related. Furthermore, to permit

plaintiffs to recover for some presently

manifested injuries under FECA now and

pursue an FTCA action for injuries that

will not manifest themselves until some

time in the future would effectively

eviscerate the exclusivity provisions of

FECA. FECA is the exclusive remedy for

A110

all job-related injuries, regardless of

when they manifest themselves.

Finally, the court emphasizes that it

is coverage, not compensation, that

determines whether FECA applies. Griffin

v. United States, 703 F.2d 321 (8th Cir.

1983). The Secretary of Labor would be

well within his statutory authority to

determine that although a particular kind

of injury is covered by FECA’s provisions

because the injury is job-related, the

injury is not compensable. Accordingly,

the court wili dismiss the federal

employee plaintiffs’ claims.

C. Exhaustion of Administrative Remedies

Prior to filing suit against the

government under the FTCA, plaintiffs must

exhaust administrative remedies by

presenting a claim to the relevant agency.

28 U.S.C. § 2675(a); Avery v. United

States, 680 F.2d 608, 609 (9th Cir. 1982).

_ of —— —_

. ~

a

Al1l1l

A claim is presented to an agency when the

agency is given minimal written notice.

Adams v. United States, 615 F.2d 284 (5th

Cir.), on rehearing, 622 F.2d 197 (5th

Cir. 1980). Administrative remedies are

exhausted when the agency denies the claim

or has failed to act upon it for six

months. 28 U.S.C. 2675a. |

The government argues that

333 plaintiffs have not properly filed

administrative claims. Plaintiffs argque

that the claims were indeed made, but that

there have been many name changes.

Plaintiffs further argue that the majority

of the 333 plaintiffs identified by the

government were family members of persons

exposed to PCBs from the power plant

explosion who filed administrative claims

as "spouse of" or "child of" a power plant

employee. Plaintiffs conclude that this

A112

was sufficient minimal notice for purposes

of exhausting administrative remedies.

It is the court’s understanding that

a system was set up whereby all claimants

filed one of two items in presenting their

claims to the Navy: (1) an "Authorization

to Bring Claims" authorizing plaintiffs’

counsel to make a claim on their behalf;

or (2) a PCB claim form. Not all

plaintiffs filed the PCB claim form. In

most cases, a single claim form was

submitted with several authorizations

attached to it. The Navy summarily denied

these claims without objecting to the form

of the claim.

In Avery, adopting the standard of

the Fifth Circuit, the Ninth Circuit held

that all that was required for minimal

notice was sufficient written notice to

permit the agency to bring an

investigation into the claim. Avery,

A113

680 F.2d at 609. The Avery court

concluded that even a skeletal claim form

setting forth only the bare elements of

notice of accident and injury was

sufficient. Id.

The claims forms submitted by

plaintiffs as "spouse of" or "child of"

were sufficient notice to the Navy to

begin an investigation. The claims

identified the person who had been exposed

to the toxic chemicals and the particular

plaintiff’s relationship to that person.

The effort required on the part of the

Navy to discover the actual name of that

plaintiff would have been minimal. In

addition, as the Navy denied the claims

without objecting to the form of notice,

the court will not now permit the

government to raise such an objection.

The government’s motion to dismiss the

causes of action for those plaintiffs who

A114

filed administrative claims as "spouse of"

or "child of" for failure to exhaust

administrative remedies will be denied.

Finally, the court notes that there

is some question whether some of the

333 plaintiffs addressed in this part of

the government’s motion filed

administrative claims at all. The

government is to produce within thirty

days from the date of this order the names

of all plaintiffs who did not file an

administrative claim. Plaintiffs will

then have thirty days to submit proof that

these particular plaintiffs did file an

administrative claim within the parameters

of this ruling.

D. The Guam Toxic Substance Exposure

Compensation Act

The FTCA states that the government

is to be held liable under the statute "in

the same manner and to the same extent as

A115

a private individual under like

circumstances." 28 U.S.C. § 2674. For

purposes of determining liability then,

the FTCA "borrows" the substantive law of

the jurisdiction in which suit is brought.

See Moor v. County of Alameda, 411 U.S.

693, 701, 701 n. 11 (1973); Richards v.

United States, 369 U.S. 1, 7-8 (1962);

Feres v. United States, 340 U.S. 135, 142

(1950).

Plaintiffs bring a cause of action

under the Guam Toxic Substance Exposure

Compensation Act ("TESCA") as the state

substantive law pursuant to which the

government’s liability is to be

determined. TSECA, which was enacted in

May of 1990,? provides that a claimant can

recover not only for present injury, but

*TSECA applies to all claims not

reduced to final judgment as of TSECA’s

effective date. 10 Guam Code Ann. § 41105.

A116

also for "increased risk of illness or

injury" without having to prove any

present injury. i0 Guam Code Ann.

§ 41104(2). Once a plainties shows

exposure to a toxic substance beyond

federally permitted levels, TSECA places

the burden of disproving such increased

risk of illness or injury on the

defendant. 10 Guam Code Ann.

§ 41104(5) (a). TSECA further provides

that all doubts are to be resolved in

favor of the exposed person and that

"studies indicating harmful effects of

exposure on animals shall create a

presumption that exposure of humans will

also be harmful and will cause similar

results." 10 Guam Code Ann.

§ 41104(5)(b), (c). In addition, prior to

passage of TSECA, the Guam Legislature

appropriated $900,000 for an "Employees

Recovery Fund" designed, among other

A117

things, to assist power plant employees

and their families in retaining counsel to

secure compensation and other remedies

"from the United States and its agents and

from the manufacturers and suppliers of

_ the transformer." Public Law 20-22.

The government argues that

plaintiffs’ TSECA claim must be dismissed

for lack of subject-matter jurisdiction

because TSECA may not be used as the

"borrowing" statute for purposes of

jurisdiction under the FRCA. The

government argues that TSECA is hostile to

the United States and impermissibly

infringes on Supremacy Clause principles.

Plaintiffs respond that TSECA is not

impermissibly hostile to the government

because it is a law of general

applicability and does not single out the

United States for liability. Plaintiffs

specifically point to the fact that the

A118

Governor of Guam initially vetoed TSECA

because he felt it subjected Guam to

unlimited potential liability.

Plaintiffs’ Opposition to Motion to

Dismiss at 35.

Plaintiffs arguments are

unpersuasive. Where state law is hostile

to federal interests, Supremacy Clause

principles dictate that only those

portions of the law that are not hostile

to the United States can be applied to the

United States. See United Stats [sic] v,

Little Lake Misere Land Co., Inc.,

412 U.S. 580 (1973); North Dakota v.

United States, 460 U.S. 300 (1983). In

both of these cases, when faced with a

choice between federal law and state law

that was hostile to federal interests, the

Supreme Court rejected the state law.

Although TSECA may not on it face

restrict liability to the United States,

A119

its historical and legislative context

make clear that it was passed directly in

response to the incident involved in this

case. See United Steelworkers v. Weber,

443 U.S. 193, 201 (1979) (statute should

be read against background of legislative

history of its enactment and historical

context). First, TSECA was passed after

the power plant explosion but made

applicable to all claims that had not yet

been reduced to final judgment, which

allowed this claim to be brought under

TSECA.

Second, TSECA imposes liability for

precisely the kinds of harms allegedly

sustained by residents of Guan from

exposure to the toxic chemicals releé sed

in the Piti Power Plant explosion and

assigns burdens of proof to defendants in

areas where it would be difficult for

A120

plaintiffs to meet those burdens.’ For

example, TSECA permits the plaintiffs

merely to show exposure to toxic chemicals

above certain federally permitted levels

and then shifts the burden of disproving

an increased likelihood of disease to the

defendant. This use of federal regulatory

levels to shift the burden of proof is

inappropriate. The government sets

regulatory levels with a margin of error

to protect the health of the general

population, Johnston v. United States,

597 F. Supp. 393-94, 424-26, not to

establish causation in an individual case.

Furthermore, because TSECA provides a

cause of action for increased risk of

disease in addition to present, actual

‘These novel provisions of TSECA also

essentially impose liability without a

showing of injury or causation and, as

discussed below, would warrant dismissal of

plaintiffs’ TSECA claims because strict

liability is not permitted under the FTCA.

A121

injury, it would be virtually impossible

for the government to rebut the

presumption of causation created by

plaintiffs’ showing exposure beyond the

federal regulatory levels.

TSECA also states that studies

indicating the harmful effects of exposure

on animals will create a presumption that

similar exposure to human beings will

result in similar harmful effects. Use of

such animal studies to show causation in

human beings has been rejected by feceral

courts. Brock v. Merrell Dow

Pharmaceuticals, Inc., 874 F.2d 307,

313-14 (Sth Cir.1989); Richardson v.

Richardson-Merrell, Inc., 857 F.2d 823,

830-31 (D.C. Cir. 1988).

Third, TESCA was passed shortly after

the Guam Legislature appropriated $900,000

for, among other things, retention of

counsel to pursue claims against the

A122

United States based on injuries sustained

in the explosion. The Guam Legislature

clearly had a strong incentive- recouping

these appropriate funds--to pass

legislation that would make it easier for

plaintiffs to recover from the United

States. Accordingly, the court will

dismiss plaintiffs’ TSECA claims and will

not borrow from TSECA to access FTCA

liability.

Ordinarily, in cases where the

federal government argues that a

particular state law is hostile to federal

interests, the government urges a court to

apply federal law instead. However, there

is no federal substantive law for FTCA

cases for the parties to proceed under in

place of TSECA. Thus, the parties again

will have to look to Guam, only this time

to its common law, to provide the

substantive law for decision in this case.

A123

Fees

Paragraph four of plaintiffs’ prayer

for relief seeks "interest, attorney fees

and costs of suit." The government arques

that plaintiffs are not entitled to either

prejudgment interest or attorneys fees

under the FTCA.

The government is correct with

respect to both interest and attorneys

fees. The FTCA specifically precludes an

award of prejudgment interest. 28 U.S.C.

§ 2674. The FTCA also states that

attorneys may recover up to a twenty-five

percent contingent fee but does not

specifically auth

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Figueroa v. United States · 511 U.S. 1030 | Frix