Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Ivy v. Diamond Shamrock Chemicals Co.

Supreme Court brief1994

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

93-8 RIF PN

No. 6 0 NOV 2 4 1993

iN THE OFMIOE OF WE meas

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1993

SHIRLEY IVY, INDIVIDUALLY AND AS REPRESENTATIVE OF THE

ESTATE OF DONALD IVY, DECEASED; CHARLES JARDON AND

TONY K. JARDON, INDIVIDUALLY AND AS NEXT FRIEND OF CHARLES

JARDON, JR.; ROBIN JARDON, WARREN JARDON AND SHARON

JARDON; SHIRLEY ZALEWASKI, INDIVIDUALLY AND AS REPRE-

SENTATIVE OF THE ESTATE OF YEN ZALEWASKI, DECEASED; GARY

THOMAS; MARY LEE THOMAS; JAMES L. KENT; EMMA I. KENT;

DAWN MARIE INMAN, INDIVIDUALLY AND AS REPRESENTATIVE OF THE

ESTATE OF BOBBY JOE INMAN, DECEASED; JAMES DONALD DELOATCH;

JOYCE DELOATCH; URSULA MARGOT PARRY, INDIVIDUALLY

AND AS REPRESENTATIVE OF THE ESTATE OF JAMES D. PARRY, SR.,

DECEASED; JAMES D. PARRY, JR.; JAMES CHRISTOPHER PARRY,

Petitioners,

v.

DIAMOND SHAMROCK CHEMICALS COMPANY; DOW CHEM-

CAL COMPANY; MONSANTO COMPANY; UNIROYAL, INC.;

HERCULES, INC.; THOMPSON-HAYWARD CHEMICAL COM-

PANY; T H AGRICULTURE & NUTRITION COMPANY, INC.,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

LAURENCE H. TRIBE ROBERT M: HAGER

KENNETH J. CHESEBRO Counsel of Record

JONATHAN S. MASSEY 2020 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W.

IRWIN R. GROSS Washington, D.C. 20006

1525 Massachusetts Avenue (202) 333-0099

Cambridge, MA 02138

(617) 495-1767

Counsel for Petitioners

November 24, 1993

BATEMAN & SLADE, INC. BOSTON, MASSACHUSETTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

This case was brought under Texas law and filed in a Texas fae

state court by Texas plaintiffs against a Texas defendant and

other defendants, and could not have been brought originally in

federal court. It nonetheless was removed and transferred to a

New York federal court for disposition. The judgment below

presents the following questions:

1. Whether federal district judges may circumvent the

limitations Congress wrote into its seven removal statutes,

as the Second Circuit held below, simply by invoking the

All Writs Act "to remove an otherwise unremovable state

court case," in the discretion of the judge, "when the need

arises."

2. Whether, as the Second Circuit held below, already

injured named plaintiffs in Rule 23(b)(3) class actions are

free, despite the Due Process Clause, to negotiate away the

unaccrued future legal claims of absent persons without any

notice, without any right to opt out, and without separate

class representation, on the ground that such protections are

not essential for "unknown plaintiffs," because "providing

individual notice and opt-out rights to persons who are

unaware of an injury would probably do little good."

In addition to petitioners, the following persons appeared

as plaintiffs-appellants in the Second Circuit below:

VERDA WILSON, INDIVIDUALLY AND AS REPIRESENTATIVE OF

THE ESTATE OF ISAIAH WILSON, JR., DECEASED;

EARL THOMPSON; JUDY L. THOMPSON;

PEGGY SANDS, INDIVIDUALLY AND AS REPRESENTATIVE OF

THE ESTATE OF MARTIN SANDS, DECEASED;

EMILE ANNIBOLLI;

LAURA JENKINS, INDIVIDUALLY AND AS REPRESENTATIVE OF

THE ESTATE OF EDDIE JENKINS,_DECEASED:-RONALD-—L-

HARTMAN, KATHERINA H. HARTMAN, AND AS NEXT

FRIEND TO JEFFERY ALAN HARTMAN AND ANGELA

MARIE HARTMAN, BOTH MINORS INDIVIDUALLY AND AS

REPRESENTATIVE OF THOSE SIMILARLY SITUATED.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TE oc 5b 5 63sec ss eos aces es

pe

a

os Es pe cedacsecssccnccace

2. Proceedings in the District Court ................

A. The Earlier Agent Orange Litigation ............

B. The District Court’s Removal and .

pameen-6t-he-Cae- initiaited

3. Proceedings in the Second Circuit ...............

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ............

I. THIS COURT SHOULD DETERMINE WHETHER

FEDERAL DISTRICT JUDGES MAY USE

THE ALL WRITS ACT, IN THEIR DISCRETION,

TO REMOVE AN “OTHERWISE UNREMOVABLE

SS

A. The All Writs Removal Doctrine is

Constitutionally Indefensible and

Should Be Repudiated in Its Entirety ............

B. Even If the All Writs Act Authorizes

Lower Courts to Remove an "Otherwise

Unremovable State Court Case" in Some

Situations, This Court Should Articulate

Clear Limits on the Use of That Power ..........

Il. THIS COURT SHOULD PASS ON THE

ACCEPTIBILITY OF A QUASI-LEGISLATIVE

ANALYSIS FOR DETERMINING WHETHER

ALREADY INJURED NAMED PLAINTIFFS MAY

EXTINGUISH THE UNACCRUED FUTURE

CLAIMS OF ABSENT PERSONS ...............

et Ads 6 kg’ de aes b 0D & 8

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page

Adams v. Aero Services Int’l, Inc.,

6357 F. Same. S19 GL. Va. 1967) 0 ww ee es 13

American Fire & Casualty Co. v. Finn,

RS ee ee ae re 12

Atlantic Coast Line R.R. v. Brotherhood of

Locomotive Engineers, 398 U.S. 281 (1970) ..... 13, 21

Bi-Metallic Investment Co. v. State Board of

Equalization, 239 U.S. 441 (1915) ............. 30

Bluefield Community Hospital Inc. v. Anziulewicz,

737 F.2d 405 (4th Cir. 1984) ..... Lee ho ee ee 20

M. Brittingham v. United States Comm’r

of Internal Revenue,

ee Bt le eo) re ee eee 11

Carlough v. Amchem Prods., Inc., No. 93-1429,

1993 U.S. App. LEXIS 24930

(36 Cie. Beem A, FR no ke eee wes 25

Caterpillar, Inc. v. Williams, 482 U.S. 386 (1987) .... 14

Chandler v. Judicial Conference of the

Tenth Circuit, 398 U.S. 74, reh’g denied,

Pee ee ee is od eb ee PR RS 17

Chick Kam Choo v. Exxon Corp.,

SD rs, ee ie a a ew ws 19

Commercial Security Bank v. Walker Bank &

Trust Co., 456 F.2d 1352 (10th Cir. 1972) ........ 11

C.P.C. v. Nosco Plastics, Inc.,

Meee FF ee Pe 18

Dante v. Dow Corning Corp., 143 F.R.D. 136

CEs: Se ee a os Se i Pe re Keane ed 25

Donovan v. City of Dallas, 377 U.S. 408, reh’g denied,

ee EE ok ai Bs ee a ee es 20

Durousseau v. United States,

Sp Se ee Bee CUO ge Ske ee oe 16

Federated Dep't Stores, Inc. v. Moitie,

oe Sis Se ks 6 ck oe sh ee eee 4

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (cont.)

Cases: Page

Franchise Tax Bd. of the State of California v.

Construction Laborers Vacation Trust.

ke Be ee 14, 18

Garcia v. San Antonio Transit Auth. ,

469 U.S. 528, reh'g denied, 471 U.S. 1049 (1985) ... 22

General Electric v. Byrne, 611 F.2d 670

UG. Gat, Tee 6 5 bb RS eos dss cee es ae 18

Gregory v. Ashcroft, 111 S. Ct. 2395 (1991) ...... 12, 22

Hamilton v. Nakai, 453 F.2d 152

(9th Cir. 1972), cert. denied,

Ga Ue. Fae Caen 8.0 eid ot Rows sss cc OMe: 1]

Hansberry v. Lee, 311 U.S. 32 (1940) ......000... 28

Healy v. Ratta, 292 U.S. 263 (1934) ........... 12, 16

Hoffman-La Roche, Inc. v. Sperling,

SOD ©. Gay Gee ow a We 06's we ee woes 27

Hornsby v. Hornsby’s Stores, Inc..,

1991 WL 33672 (N.D. Ill. 1991) ..........00.. 11

In re “Agent Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig.,

100 F.R.D. 718, (E.D.N.Y.), aff'd,

818 F.2d 145 (2d Cir. 1987), cert. denied,

GOG-4J.5. IDC CHID 6 c.c.0 bee eee ese wes passim

In re “Agent Orange” Product Liability Litigation,

611 F. Supp. 1223 (E.D.N.Y. 1985), aff'd,

818 F.2d 187 (2d Cir. 1987), cert. denied,

SST U.S. TX00 Cie 66s 0 cee ower Cees ou oe 7

In re “Agent Orange” Product Liability Litigation,

597 F. Supp. 740 (E.D.N.Y. 1984) ......... 6-7, 22

In re "Agent Orange” Product Liability Litigation,

635 F.2d 987 (2d Cir. 1980), cert. denied,

G34 U.S. LEAR CISD co aha cease ewe cen 3

In re Breast Implant Litig., 1992 U.S. Dist. Lexis 10080

(ley 21, 1958 WD. Gils OR ow ee ee ce 25

In re Diamond Shamrock Chemical Co. ,

125 F.20 G56 GG Chr. SERS s.5 50 heb ere en ees 5

In re Fibreboard Corp., 893 F.2d 706 (Sth Cir. 1990) .. 30

a

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (cont.)

Cases: Page

In re Ivy, 901 F.2d 7 (2d Cir. 1990) .............. 4

In re Virginia Elec. & Power Co.,

- | & & f Te A ee rrr 18

Jeff D. v. Andrus, 899 F.2d 753 (9th Cir. 1989) ...... 2c

Kentucky v. Powers, 201 U.S. 1 (1906) ........... 16

Kline v. Burke Const. Co., 260 U.S. 226 (1922) ...... 20

Lockerty v. Phillips, 319 U.S. 182 (1943) .......... 16

Logan v. Zimmerman Brush Co., 455 U.S. 422 (1982) .. 28

Lujan v. Defenders of Wildlife,

be eM 0 SA ee 27

Mercy Hosp. Ass'n v. Miccio,

604 F. Supp. 1177 (E.D.N.Y. 1985) ............ 13

Mistretta v. United States, 488 U.S. 361 (1988) ...... 19

Morrison v. Olson, 487 U.S. 654 (1988) ........... 29

Mullane v. Central Hanover Bank & Trust Co.,

ee ee a aa a be web 6 6b 066 008 28

New York V. United States, 112 S.Ct. 2406 (1992) .... 22

Nowling v. Aero Servs. Int'l, Inc.,

Fs PD bh eke ec cc es 11

Pennsylvania Bureau of Corrections v.

United States Marshals, 474 U.S. 34 (1985) ..... 15-17

Pennzoil Co. v. Texaco, Inc., 481 U.S. 1 (1987) ...... 21

Phillips Petroleum Co. v. Shutts,

als a as 5 6 6-0) 6.60.6. 6080 9, 28-30

Ryan v. Dow Chemical Co.,

ee a Es BD nec esccees 4

Salem v. United States Lines Co., 370 U.S. 31,

reh’g denied, 370 U.S. 965 (1962) ............. 21

Shamrock Oil & Gas Corp. v. Sheets,

SS eS 12, 14

Sheldon v. Sill, 49 U.S. (8 How.) 441 (1850) ........ 16

Southern California Petroleum Corp. v. Harper,

rex g oe by fe 0 ree 20

senna

Viii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (cont.)

Cases: Page

United States ex rel. Walker v. Gunn,

511 F.2d 1024 (9th Cir.), cert. denied,

Pec Q' * @ Yee ee 13

United States v. City of New York, 972 F2d 464

7) ee) ee 24

United States v. FMC Corp.,

1963 U.S. LEXIS 2449 (1963) ......----+5+55 17

United States v. Hall, 583 F.Supp. 717 (E.D. Va. 1984) . Il

United States v. Western Electric Co.,

900 F.2d 283 (D.C. Cir.), cert. denied,

Vee Ss fF), Ferrer eee ee 20

Urie v. Thompson, 337 U.S. 163 (1949) ......--.+--- 26

Westinghouse Elec. Corp. v. Newman & Holtzinger,

992 F.2d 932 (9th Cir. 1993) ......--2 2+ ee eee 11

Whitmore v. Arkansas, 493 U.S. 149 (1990) ........ 27

Willy v. Coastal Corp., 855 F.2d 1160 (Sth Cir. 1988) .. Il

Yonkers Racing Corp. v. City of Yonkers,

858 F.2d 855 (2d Cir. 1988), cert. denied,

499 U.S. 1077 (19GB) 0. wc ccc wc cenees 15, 23-24

Constitutional Provisions, Statutes and Rules:

i cae e ee eee eee eawe i

ee ed pon ee ba tee eee a eas 21

ee BD ote cc ene ees esares 2, 25

Fed.R.Civ.P. 23(b)(3) 2... 2. ee ee eee ee eee passim

Roe 2 Ap. ss ee eee ee ee ea 5

ST BOD <5 6.6 oo 0's 8:2 wow eee sree ines l

y £5 1 lll SE nwa ee ee eae eres 4

EE alk. ob 0 cen 00a 9 6h O a dae ee oo 2

y oo Vode fee ne ae 12, 14

OD ob no beeen etn er ens $e 68s 12

, Pl ef eer errr ere ee eee 12

, 2 Pee oP ee ee ee a 12

p RR ke Fo rrr ey fore re re 2 ee 12

, Ok eo rrr rr ee ee ee 12

ix

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (cont.)

Constitutional Provisions, Statutes and Rules: Page

oe oo a ag oe 58 hak 3 4.3 heen

kg dg yg Ve a ee ee 8 8k passim

os ook a ae ea 6 Wd mck Be A 23

ee ae ere oer 13

BS a re 14-15

OE OE gg kc ch ae 6 ke ek 8 ke 14-15

Miscellaneous:

ALI, STUDY OF THE DIVISION OF JURISDICTION

BETWEEN STATE AND FEDERAL Courts, (1965) 18

Paul M. Bator, The State Courts and Federal

Constitutional Litigation,

22 WM. & MARY L. REV. 605 (1981) ........... 19

P. Bator, D. Meltser, P. Mishkin & D. Shapiro,

HART AND WECHSLER’S THE FEDERAL COURTS

AND THE FEDERAL SYSTEM (3d ed. 1988) ....... 13-14

Alexander Hamilton, The Federalist No. 82

a 13

Elizabeth R. Kaczynski, The Inclusion of Future

Members in Rule 23(b)(2) Class Actions,

Oe Gs ee Us PP CUD oo es 27

Arthur R. Miller & David Crump, Jurisdiction and

Choice of Law in Multistate Class Actions After

Phillips Petroleum Co. v. Shutts,

ar eee 28

"Multiparty, Multiforum Jurisdiction Act,"

H.R. 3406, 101st Cong. 2d Sess. (1990) ......... 19

3 Herbert B. Newberg & Alba Conte, Newberg on

Caaes Action | 17.39 GG eb. 1992) .............. 27

Marck C. Weber, Preclusion and Procedural Due

Process in Rule 23(b)(2) Class Actions,

21 J. OF L. REFORM 374 (1988) ............... 28

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Second Circuit, which affirmed both the district court’s refusal to

remand the case to state court and its dismissal of petitioners’

claims, is reported at 996 F.2d 1425, and is reprinted as Appendix

A, at Al. (Page references to the appendices bound with this

Petition are styled "A__"). The decision and order of the United

States District Court for the Eastern District of New York, 781 F.

Supp. 902, and an unpublished ancillary order, from which appeal

was taken are reprinted as Appendix B (A26) and Appendix C

(A60), respectively.

JURISDICTION

The decision of the court of appeals issued on June 24, 1993.

A timely petition for rehearing and suggestion for rehearing en banc

was denied on August 26, 1993. See Appendix D, at A63. The

jurisdiction of this Court is invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

§ 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

The Fifth Amendment to the United States Constitution provides

in relevant part: "No person shall be . . . deprived of life, liberty

or property, without due process of law."

28 U.S.C. § 1441 provides in relevant part:

§ 1441. Actions removable generally

(a) [A]ny civil action brought in a State court of which the

district courts of the United States have original jurisdiction,

may be removed by the defendant or the defendants, to the

district court of the United States for the district and division

embracing the place where such action is pending.

The All Writs Act, codified at 28 U.S.C. § 1651(a), provides:

§ 1651. Writs

(a) The Supreme Court and all courts established by Act

of Congress may issue all writs necessary or appropriate in

aid of their respective jurisdictions and agreeable to the

usages and principles of law.

Fed. R. Civ. P. 23 is reprinted as Appendix E, at A64.

2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The decision below is the third in a line of cases from the

Second Circuit beginning in 1988 that embraces a radical new

removal doctrine — and the first squarely to present the issue to this

Court. See note 32, infra. In conflict with decisions of this Court

and several courts of appeals, this doctrine permits federal district

judges to ignore Congress’s seven precise removal provisions and

to remove cases from state courts whenever they deem it necessary.

In the words of the Second Circuit, the All Writs Act permits

district judges "to remove an otherwise unremovable state court

case" in the discretion of the judge, "when the need arises." A8-A9.

in this extraordinary case, a total of 21 States appeared as amici

curiae to caution the Second Circuit that the failure to reverse the

district court would invite "every federal district court to circumvent

the removal statutes and other specific jurisdictional legislation and

to transform the All Writs Act into a general grant of federal

jurisdiction and a broad license to interfere with state court

proceedings.” Brief Amici Curiae of the State of Alabama, et al.,

at 16. The 21 States termed this radical doctrine "a breach of the

walls of comity and federalism that have been erected by Congress

and the Supreme Court to ensure the continued vitality of our

nation’s parallel state and federal judicial systems," and "an ill-

advised erosion of judicial federalism." /d. at 16-17.

Unfortunately, this concern for judicial federalism was not

heeded. Instead, the Second Circuit reaffirmed its "All Writs

removal" doctrine. A8-A9. This Court should grant certiorari to

address what the 21 States correctly described as "an illegitimate

judicial amendment of Congress’s removal statute." /d. at 18.

Even if federal removal jurisdiction somehow exists in this case,

there is a further question worthy of review by this Court: under

Fed. R. Civ. P. 23 and due process, in what circumstances (if any)

may already injured named plaintiffs, in a Rule 23(b)(3) class action

for money damages, contract to extinguish the unaccrued future

legal claims of absent persons? The binding effect of class actions

on absent persons is an important issue, as illustrated by this Court’s

current consideration of the issue in the context of non-opt out, Rule

23(b)(2) class actions, in Ticor Title v. Brown, No. 92-1988. This

petition presents fundamental aspects of the issue not present in

Ticor Title, which are worthy of this Court’s review regardless of

the disposition of that case.

aianeiaaaiaitaiiaitat iene

wr

1. Proceedings in Texas.

As the 21 States noted, "[t]his case involves tort Claims brought

under Texas law in a Texas state court by Texas plaintiffs against

a Texas defendant and other defendants." Brief Amici Curiae at 1.

The case was filed in 1989 by petitioner Shirley Ivy and other

plaintiffs in the District Court of Orange County, Texas.' Petition-

ers are Vietnam veterans and members of their families. They

allege that they have suffered serious physical injuries as a result of

wartime exposure to the chemical herbicide "Agent Orange."? As

the court below acknowledged, "[t]here is no complete diversity of

citizenship, and no federal issue is apparent in the complaints,” A7,

so that a state court was the only forum available to petitioners >

The case could not have been filed in federal court.

Nevertheless, respondents removed the case to the U.S. District

Court for the Eastern District of Texas, citing two grounds for 28

U.S.C. § 1441 original jurisdiction removal, neither of which was

' Petitioners brought suit on their own behalf, but also sought certification

to proceed on behalf of a class of persons similarly situated. Original Petition

at 16-18 (Joint Appendix ("JA"), 2d Cir. No. 92-7575, at 63-65). Although

petitioners have vigorously represented the interests of the putative class since

1989, they do not assert that a class action is necessarily appropriate for other

than limited pretrial purposes. The Texas courts took no action in this case prior

to removal, so that all that is currently before this Court are petitioners’ claims

seeking recovery for their own injuries.

* Agent Orange was manufactured by respondents. The complaint alleges

that Agent Orange "contained, as a byproduct of the manufacturing process, one

of the most toxic chemicals known to man, a compound commonly referred to

as TCDD or ‘dioxin’" and that while in Vietnam petitioners “absorbed the deadly

chemical through the air, through the skin and. . . through water and food."

Original Petition at 8 (JA at 55). Petitioners seek damages for deaths and

suffering from lymphomas, soft-tissue sarcomas, and other serious diseases that

were caused by the veterans’ exposure to Agent Orange in Vietnam; their family

members seek damages for resulting wrongful death, loss of consortium,

economic loss, and other harms. /d. at 12-13 (JA 59-60). The complaint arises

under Texas statutes and common law, alleging defective design and

manufacture, breach of express and/or implied warranties, strict products

liability, negligence, failure to warn, breach of warranty, and deceptive trade

practices. /d. at 8-15 (JA 55-62).

* The Second Circuit earlier held that federal law provides no legal remedy

against respondents for injury as a result of the wartime use of Agent Orange.

In re "Agent Orange” Product Liability Litigation (hereinafter "Agent Orange"),

635 F.2d 987 (2d Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 1128 (1981).

4

ultimately accepted.* Both courts below upheld removal, however,

on the theory that the All Writs Act permits district judges to

remove otherwise non-removable cases whenever those judges deem

it necessary to do so. A8-A9, A54-A5S.

Simultaneously with filing their answer and notice of removal,

respondents successfully urged the Judicial Panel on Multidistrict

Litigation, over petitioners’ objection, to transfer the case from

Texas to the U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of New

York. See In re Ivy, 901 F.2d 7 (2d Cir. 1990).

2. Proceedings in the District Court.

Once the case was in the Eastern District of New York, the

earlier Agent Orange litigation became the focus of the district

* As the district court below summarized: “[T]he defendants offered two

grounds for federal subject matter jurisdiction. First, the court was said to have

jurisdiction over this action ‘because most of the plaintiffs’ claims have already

been asserted and adjudicated in federal court and plaintiffs’ petition is merely

an artful pleading to avoid federal jurisdiction.’ Second, the court’s jurisdiction

was invoked ‘pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1331 based on the doctrine of complete

federal preemption.’" A45 (quoting Notice of Removal). The district court

accepted the “artful pleading" theory, see Federated Dep't Stores, Inc. v. Moitie,

452 U.S. 394, 397 n.2 (1981), as a ground for removal. A5S4. The Second

Circuit reversed, however, holding that the district court’s “artful pleading” anal-

ysis misread applicable precedent. A8. Respondents abandoned their "complete

preemption" theory.

Respondents belatedly moved in the district court “to amend their notice of

removal to assert removal pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1442(a)(1),” on the peculiar

theory that when they designed and marketed herbicides containing a deadly

poison (which the government ultimately bought for use in Vietnam), they were

somehow “persons” acting under a “federal officer" within the meaning of that

provision. A6. Although neither the district court nor the Second Circuit

addressed the theory in this case, A9-A10, the issue was resolved against

respondents in a companion case involving civilians exposed to Agent Orange.

See Ryan v. Dow Chemical Co., 781 F. Supp. 934 (E.D.N.Y. 1992). The court

ruled that respondents’ challenged actions were not taken pursuant to federal

direction, because respondents were “being sued for formulating and producing

a product all of whose components were developed without direct government

control and all of whose methods of manufacture were determined by the

defendants." Jd. at 950. It also noted that "[t]he government sought only to buy

ready-to-order herbicides, not to cause, control, or prevent the production of the

unwanted byproduct, dioxin, which is the alleged cause of plaintiffs’ injuries."

Id.

Thus, the sole removal issue before this Court concerns the propriety of

removal under the All Writs Act.

|

A ee

5

court’s decision both to uphold removal and to dismiss all of

petitioners’ claims.

A. The Earlier Agent Orange Litigation

Beginning in 1978, thousands of Vietnam war veterans and their

families brought state-law tort actions against the present

respondents seeking monetary relief as a result of illnesses and other

injuries they believed they were suffering as a result of exposure to

Agent Orange. A3. These lawsuits were consolidated in the U.S.

District Court for the Eastern District of New York into a single

action known as In re "Agent Orange" Product Liability Litigation,

MDL No. 381. A3. The final complaint alleged that all the named

plaintiffs had been exposed to Agent Orange and "were thereby

caused to suffer severe and permanent disabling injuries, diseases,

physical disorders and disfigurement, and in some cases, death."

Supplemental Appendix, 2d Cir. No. 92-7537, 860, 878. None

claimed to be uninjured or to have unaccrued future claims.

On December 16, 1983, the district court certified a Rule

23(b)(3) class with opt-out rights in order to address the common

issues of general causation and the military contractor defense, and

set trial for six months later, on May 7, 1984. A3-A4.

As required by Rule 23(c)(2), the district court directed "to the

members of the class the best notice practicable under the circum-

stances, including individual notice to all members who can be

identified through reasonable effort." Over respondents’ objection,

the class was defined to consist of all veterans and their families

who had a "subjective" basis for claiming that Agent Orange had

harmed them. Agent Orange, 100 F.R.D. 718, 728-29 (E.D.N.Y.

1983).5 Consequently, individual, first-class mail notice was

* The district court held: "The defendants’ contention that the class as the

court has defined it is unworkable because it is subjective (‘all veterans who were

injured . . . by exposure to Agent Orange’) is a non Sequitur. Subjectiveness

does not affect the applicability of the class trial’s findings to members of the

class and it does not prejudice the defendants in any way. The class is,

therefore, adequately defined and Clearly ascertainable.” Agent Orange, 100

F.R.D. at 728-29 (citation omitted). The Second Circuit denied respondents’

mandamus petition to reverse certification of the class as so defined. Jn re

Diamond Shamrock Chemical Co., 725 F.2d 858, 860 (2d Cir. 1984).

On final merits review at the conclusion of the case, the Second Circuit

reiterated that this class definition had been proper and that adequate notice had

been given to those who subjectively believed that they had been injured by

6

directed to all persons with a lawsuit pending in federal court, or

who had filed a complaint form with the Veteran’s Administration’s

Agent Orange Registry. Agent Orange, 100 F.R.D. at 729. The

court also mandated notices in major newspapers and veterans’

publications alerting veterans that "[i]f you or anyone in your family

can claim injury, illness, death, or birth defect as a result of

exposure to ‘Agent Orange’ . . . you are a member of a class in an

action brought on your behalf in the United States District Court for

the Eastern District Court of New York, unless you take steps to

exclude yourself." /d. at 734. Limited radio and television notices

were also required. /d.

The deadline for opting out of the Rule 23(b)(3) class was May

1, 1984. Six days later, on May 7, 1984, the named plaintiffs

decided to settle the case rather than commence the trial as

scheduled. They received what the Second Circuit characterized as

"essentially a settlement at nuisance value," Agent Orange, 818 F.2d

at 171, in exchange for agreeing that all class members would be

forever barred from suing the defendants for injuries from Agent

Orange.’ However, as the courts below ruled, the parties agreed

to bind not just the persons identified in the class notice (who

subjectively believed that they had suffered injuries and that they

Agent Orange: “Anyone who believed that he or she had suffered injury as a

result of exposure to Agent Orange in Vietnam was on notice of the pendency of

a lawsuit and was thus alerted to seek advice from counsel.” Agent Orange, 818

F.2d 145, 169 (2d Cir. 1987).

* The Veteran’s Administration had established the Registry in 1978 to help

“identify all Vietnam veterans expressing a concern about the possible adverse

health effects of their exposure to Agent Orange." Agent Orange, 597 F. Supp.

740, 852 (E.D.N.Y. 1984). Notice was also directed to veterans who had

expressed concerns about injury to state authorities. The Governor of each State

was requested to refer the class notice "to any state organization created by the

executive or legislative branches dealing with the problems of Vietnam

veterans. 100 F.R.D. at 730-31.

7 The Settlement created a fund to benefit class members and their families

which, as administered, eventually allotted an average of $3200 for death and

total disability claims, and nothing for other claims. See A39. In exchange, the

named plaintiffs agreed that respondents would not be “subject to liability or

expense of any kind to any member of the Class" with respect to Agent Orange

and that "[cJlaims against the Fund shall be the exclusive remedy . . . and all

members of the Class are forever barred from instituting or maintaining any

action against any of the defendants." Agent Orange, 597 F. Supp. at 864

(Settlement Agreement { 5).

(i

>

currently had a claim). Rather, in the settlement the parties

expanded the class definition, stating: "The Class specifically

includes persons who have not yet manifested injury.” Agent

Orange, 597 F. Supp. at 865 (Settlement Agreement 4 8).*

The district court approved the settlement despite its modest

size, largely on the conclusion that the scientific evidence that

existed on dioxin made it “highly unlikely” that any plaintiff whose

claims were then pending in the courts could establish causation.

Agent Orange, 597 F. Supp. at 749. The court of appeals

affirmed. Agent Orange, 818 F.2d 145 (2d Cir. 1987).

B. The District Court’s Removal and Dismissal of the Case

Both the district court’s decision to permit removal and its

decision to dismiss petitioners’ case flowed from its view that the

instant action was “a direct challenge to the validity of the

settlement” that the named plaintiffs had negotiated with defendants,

and which the court approved. A42.

Thus, the district court ruled that "removal was proper because

the court . . . must enforce its bar on subsequent suits by class

members against the defendants." A48. The district court relied on

a removal doctrine articulated by two earlier Second Circuit

decisions (see pp. 23-24, infra), holding that the All Writs Act, 28

U.S.C. § 1651(a), “permits a federal court to remove state court

actions to federal court [even] in situations where specific Statutory

removal authority is absent." A55. Resort to the All Writs removal

doctrine was necessary, the court indicated, "[bJecause by bringing

new suits in state court, the plaintiffs challenge the binding effect of

the Settlement Agreement." AS5S5. Thus, it concluded, "[t]he

removal of these actions to this court is a mechanism for protecting

this court’s judgment and order." ASS.

* By accepting this finding of the lower courts for purposes of review in this

Court, petitioners do not waive their contract law objections to the lower courts’

ruling that this sentence was intended to bind absent future claimants.

* The district court noted that although [ijt is, of course, possible that in

a few years a sudden increase in diseases associated with Agent Orange will be

revealed . . . it appears unlikely that such proof will develop in time to affect this

litigation.” 597 F. Supp. at 795. See also Agent Orange, 611 F. Supp. 1223

(E.D.N.Y. 1985), aff'd, 818 F.2d 187 (2d Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 487 U.S.

1234 (1988) (granting summary judgment against opt-out plaintiffs based on

insufficiency of scientific proof).

8

The district court granted the motion to dismiss, finding that

"[t]he terms of the Settlement Agreement . . . bar plaintiffs from

proceeding with this action." A55. Petitioners argued that as of the

opt-out deadline they had been unaware of any injuries from Agent

Orange, and thus the named plaintiffs had no authority to bind

them." Under the 1984 class definition and class notice, of

course, only veterans and their families who had a subjective basis

for believing, as of May 1, 1984, that they were suffering injuries

from Agent Orange exposure were in the class and were required to

opt out to preserve their rights to future suit. See pp. 5-6 & note

5, supra.

The district court held that this point was “irrelevant” and that

the parties to the settlement had legitimately decided (with its

approval) after the Rule 23(b)(3) opt-out right had passed to expand

the class and extinguish the unaccrued future claims of "‘persons

who have not yet manifested injury.’" AS55 (quoting settlement).

Extinguishing such claims, the district court explained, advances

“the interests of presently injured plaintiffs as well as defendants in

achieving a settlement,” by setting "definitive limits on defendants’

liability." AS8.

3. Proceedings in the Second Circuit

On appeal, the Second Circuit rejected both petitioners’

objection to removal and their due process and other defenses to

reading the 1984 settlement as extinguishing their claims.

The court found no basis for removing the case in the removal

Statute enacted by Congress. Instead, the Second Circuit reiterated

" The uncontradicted record shows that the first symptoms of petitioners’

injuries manifested themselves only after the opt-out deadline. The complaint

specifically recites that "[t}he deaths occurred and the diseases and injuries were

manifested only after May 7, 1984, when other veterans’ actions against these

Defendants were settled." Original Petition at 12 (JA 59) (emphasis in original).

There is no evidence in the record that any of petitioners “believed that he or she

had suffered injury as a result of exposure to Agent Orange in Vietnam" (see

note 5, supra) or had any basis at that point for believing that he or she "can

claim injury, illness, disease death or birth defect" and thus should "take steps

to exclude yourself" from the class (see p. 6, supra). Indeed, there is no

evidence that any petitioners knew that they had been exposed to Agent Orange,

or that they had even heard of the Agent Orange litigation. See, e.g., A68-A69

(affidavit of Shirley Ivy). |

9

its view that "a district court, in exceptional circumstances, may use

its All Writs authority to remove an otherwise unremovable state

court case." A8. The “exceptional circumstances" in this case

involved an undefined "deleterious effect" of allowing "Agent

Orange victims . . . to maintain separate actions in state court."

A8. The court was concerned that such suits raised the prospect

that a state court would have to "decid[e] the scope of the Agent

Orange I class action and settlement," so that the task would not fall

to "[t]he court best situated to make this determination" — namely,

"the court that approved the settlement." A8-A9. Removal

jurisdiction was supposedly necessary to help the district court

"guard{] the integrity of its rulings in complex multidistrict

litigation." A9. The Second Circuit did not explain why an

ordinary state court judge could not be trusted to correctly decide

the meaning of the settlement negotiated by the parties, and the

extent to which Rule 23 and due process might limit its binding

effect.

Thus, for the third time (see pp. 23-24, infra), the Second

Circuit employed the All Writs Act to allow district judges to

fashion their own removal jurisdiction "‘when the need arises.’" A9

(citation omitted). Further, it made clear that whether or not

"exceptional circumstances" exist to create such jurisdiction is a

matter left to the "proper exercise of judicial discretion." A9

(citation omitted)."

After upholding removal, the Second Circuit rejected petitioners’

claim that to permit the parties to the 1984 settlement to extinguish

petitioners’ unaccrued future claims, without notice and opt-out

rights, violated Rule 23 and due process. The Second Circuit went

even further than the district court to hold that there is no due

process barrier at all preventing already injured plaintiffs from

negotiating away the legal claims of absent persons as long as those

persons are not "known" — that is, no one (including them) knows

that they will be injured and might wish to sue in the future. A16.

The court’s rationale for this holding was that in Phillips

'' As respondents’ brief below had noted in considerable detail, the Second

Circuit “reviews exercise[s] of authority under the All Writs Act for abuse of

discretion, and upholds the lower court’s order unless the findings on which it

is based were clearly erroneous." Brief for Defendants-Appellants, dated Nov.

16, 1992, at 60 (citations omitted).

10

Petroleum Co. v. Shutts, 472 U.S. 797 (1985), this Court addressed

only the ability of named plaintiffs “to bind known plaintiffs”

concerning money damages, and “intimate[d] no view concerning

other types of class actions." A16 (quoting 472 U.S. at 811 n.3)

(emphasis added). Rather than reading this statement as disclaiming

any holding about lawsuits for equitable relief (like the Ticor Title

case now before this Court), the Second Circuit believed that it

somehow would have “to extend Shutts” in order to prevent named

plaintiffs from extinguishing the unaccrued claims of absent persons

to money damages, before they even know those claims exist. Al6.

Refusing to “extend” Shutts to provide procedural guarantees to

such persons, the court opined:

[SJociety’s interest in the efficient and fair resolution of

large-scale litigation outweighs the gains from individual

notice and opt-out rights, whose benefits here are conjectural

at best. .. . [PJroviding individual notice and opt-out

rights to persons who are unaware of an injury would

probably do little good.

Al7. The Second Circuit was also unconcerned that “‘many

genuine conflicts of interest’ [can exist] in a situation such as this,”

so that separate class counsel should have decided whether to

extinguish the unaccrued future claims of absent plaintiffs who had

not yet suffered injury. A17 (quoting district court). It opined that

a conflict “never materialized" because all veterans became eligible

for identical “nuisance value” payments from the Fund. A18.”

" The Second Circuit suggested here that “ensuring that [persons unaware

of their injuries] receive vigorous and faithful vicarious representation” was a

constitutionally adequate substitute for the right to notice and to opt out. A17.

Thus, the court refused to require that uninjured absent persons unaware of their

rights have independent class counsel. Nor did the Second Circuit address the

inherent conflict revealed by the district court's own rationale for denying notice

or opt out: to advance the interests of presently injured plaintiffs and defendants

in settlement. AS8. Instead, the Second Circuit concluded from its own factual

review that “[t}he unique circumstances” of this case rendered separate class

counsel “unnecessary.” A21.

1]

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. THIS COURT SHOULD DETERMINE WHETHER

FEDERAL DISTRICT JUDGES MAY USE THE ALL

WRITS ACT, IN THEIR DISCRETION, TO REMOVE AN

“OTHERWISE UNREMOVABLE STATE COURT CASE"

The first question presented by this case is whether the Second

Circuit is correct in permitting federal district judges to use the All

Writs Act, as it put it, "to remove an otherwise unremovable state

court case .. . ‘when the need arises.’" A9-10 (citation omitted).

This case raises issues of judicial restraint and federalism so serious

that a total of 21 States appeared as amici below to protest what

they termed “an illegitimate judicial amendment of Congress’s

removal statute." Brief Amici Curiae at 18.

Whether removal can ever be effected by means other than the

pertinent statutes enacted by Congress is a question on which the

lower courts have divided, making review by this Court all the more

critical. The Second Circuit, and two district courts in other

circuits, have held that there is removal power under the All Writs

Act." Three circuits have disagreed, holding that only Congress’s

jurisdictional statutes can authorize jurisdiction in a case.“ Still

" Hornsby v. Hornsby's Stores, Inc., 1991 WL 33672 (N.D. Ill. 1991)

(“[s}tate claims precluded by the res judicata effect of a federal judgment may be

removed to federal court” even when there is no basis other than the All Writs

Act for removal); Nowling v. Aero Servs. Int'l, Inc., 734 F. Supp. 733, 738

(E.D. La. 1990) (“Other statutes vest federal courts with the authority to exercise

[removal] jurisdiction . . . for example, the All Writs Act”).

* See Westinghouse Elec. Corp. v. Newman & Holtzinger, 992 F.2d 932,

937 (9th Cir. 1993) (All Writs Act does not "“provide{] an independent source of

removal jurisdiction to the district court"); Willy v. Coastal Corp., 855 F.2d

1160, 1164 (Sth Cir. 1988) (“The right to remove a case from state to federal

court derives solely from the statutory grant of jurisdiction in 28 U.S.C.

§ 1441"); Commercial Security Bank v. Walker Bank & Trust Co., 456 F.2d

1352, 1355 (10th Cir. 1972) (“Section 1651(a) does not operate to confer

jurisdiction”); Hamilton v. Nakai, 453 F.2d 152, 157 (9th Cir. 1972), cert.

denied, 406 U.S. 945 (1972) (“This statutory provision does not confer original

jurisdiction, but rather, prescribes the scope of relief that may be granted when

jurisdiction otherwise exists"); M. Brittingham v. United States Comm'r of

Internal Revenue, 451 F.2d 315, 317 (Sth Cir. 1971) (*[The All Writs Act]

empowers [courts] to issue writs in aid of jurisdiction previously acquired on

some other independent ground"). See also United States v. Hall, 583 F. Supp.

12

other courts have construed their removal power so narrowly that

they have not even had occasion to reach the question decided by

the Second Circuit. See note 15, infra.

A. The All Writs Removal Doctrine Is Constitutionally

Indefensible and Should Be Repudiated in Its Entirety

The grounds for removal of cases from state court are simple

enough. They are set out at 28 U.S.C. §§ 1441 to 1452. Seven

distinct provisions exist:

(1) § 1441(a) (original jurisdiction removal);

(2) § 1441(d) (removal by a foreign state);

(3) § 1442 (removal by a federal officer or property

holder);

(4) § 1442a (removal by a member of armed forces);

(5) § 1443 (removal in civil rights cases);

(6) § 1444 (removal in foreclosure actions against

federal government); and

(7) § 1452 (removal of claims related to a bankruptcy

case).

This set of provisions is the product of congressional

deliberation about how much to restrict "[t]he power reserved to the

states under the Constitution to provide for the determination of

controversies in their courts." Shamrock Oil & Gas Corp. v.

Sheets, 313 U.S. 100, 108-109 (1941)."* The balance struck by

717, 718 (E.D. Va. 1984) ("[T]he All Writs Act is not a means by which a

district court may extend its authority in areas where it otherwise has no

jurisdiction").

'S The importance of deference to congressional choices in this area has led

this Court to caution that “[djue regard for the rightful independence of state

governments, which should actuate federal courts, requires that they scrupulously

confine their own jurisdiction to the precise limits which the statute has defined.”

Healy v. Ratta, 292 U.S. 263, 270 (1934). This Court has made the point in the

specific context of removal jurisdiction. See American Fire & Casualty Co. v.

Finn, 341 U.S. 6, 18 (1951) ("To permit a federal trial court to enter a judgment

in a case removed without right from a state court where the federal court could

not have original jurisdiction of the suit . . . would by act of the parties work a

wrongful extension of federal jurisdiction and give district courts power the

Congress denied them"). Cf. Gregory v. Ashcroft, 111 S. Ct. 2395 (1991)

(discussed in note 30, infra).

13

Congress has varied widely over time.

At one end of the spectrum, exhibiting maximum deference to

the States, the Judiciary Act of 1789, 1 Stat. 73, 79-80, granted no

federal question removal at all, and permitted removal in diversity

cases in only three limited categories, and then only where

substantial sums of money were at stake."*

In 1875, Congress went to the opposite extreme: its distrust of

the States’ judicial systems during the Reconstruction period was so

great that Congress “enormously broadened the removal as well as

the original jurisdiction," so that "virtually every case removable

under Article III was made removable by either a plaintiff or a

defendant." This regime was of particular benefit to defendants,

Many lower courts have emphasized the need narrowly to construe the

removal statute. See, e.g., United States ex rel. Walker v. Gunn, 511 F.2d 1024,

1027 (9th Cir.) ("The right of removal being in derogation of state sovereignty,

should not be enlarged beyond what is definite and free from ambiguity")

(internal quotations and citations omitted), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 849 (1975);

Adams v. Aero Services Int'l, Inc., 657 F. Supp. 519, 521 (E.D. Va. 1987)

("Removal of civil cases to federal court is an infringement on state sovereignty.

Consequently, the statutory provision regulating removal must be strictly

applied."); Mercy Hosp. Ass'n v. Miccio, 604 F. Supp. 1177, 1179 (E.D.N.Y.

1985) (Weinstein, C.J.) ("The right to removal is a statutory grant to be strictly

construed . . . . The defendant seeking removal must base the petition on a

specific removal provision and specific grant of original jurisdiction").

'© See P. Bator, D. Meltzer, P. Mishkin & D. Shapiro, HART AND

WECHSLER’S THE FEDERAL COURTS AND THE FEDERAL SYSTEM 1767 (3d ed.

1988) (hereinafter "HART AND WECHSLER") (noting that only an alien defendant,

an out-of-state defendant sued by a citizen of the forum state, or a party to

certain kinds of title disputes, could remove if at least $500 was in dispute).

Even original jurisdiction for federal question cases was extraordinarily limited

in the first Judiciary Act. See id. at 961.

The severely limited removal jurisdiction authorized by Congress in 1789 is

hardly surprising, given that "[m]Jany of the Framers of our Constitution felt that

separate federal courts were unnecessary and that the state courts could be

entrusted to protect both state and federal rights." Atlantic Coast Line R.R. v.

Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers, 398 U.S. 281, 285 (1970). Easing

concern about federal courts encroaching on the judicial systems of the States, of

course, was an important aspect of the effort to ratify the Constitution. See, e.g.,

Alexander Hamilton, The Federalist No. 82 (Cc. Rossiter ed. 1961) 493

(explaining that “State courts will be deprived of no part of their primitive

jurisdiction further than may relate to an appeal; and . . . in every case in which

[state courts] were not expressly excluded” they will have "cognizance of the

causes" arising under federal law).

'" HART AND WECHSLER, supra note 16, at 961, 1052, 1767 (emphasis

added) (citing Act of March 3, 1875, 18 Stat. 470).

14

permitting them to remove merely by asserting a federal defense.

"[T]he answer as well as the complaint would be consulted before

a determination was made" on whether a federal issue existed, and

"the defendant’s petition for removal could furnish the necessary

guarantee that the case necessarily presented a substantial question

of federal law." Franchise Tax Board v. Construction Laborers

Vacation Trust, 463 U.S. 1, 10 n.9 (1983).

Although the 1875 Act certainly constituted a "rational

jurisdictional system," 463 U.S. at 10 n.9, it also caused a "flood

of litigation" into the federal courts, leading Congress a decade later

to “pare down the federal question jurisdiction.""* Congress

addressed the overload problem through the enactment of the

Judiciary Act of 1887, which established the present pattern of

removal jurisdiction."* The "key element" of the 1887 Act "was

(and is) to tie removal jurisdiction to original jurisdiction," a

requirement now found in § 1441(a) and one that "has had a

profound impact on the jurisdictional structure. "”

In light of Congress’s "purpose [in the 1887 Act] to restrict the

jurisdiction of the federal courts on removal," coupled with "[t}he

power reserved to the states," this Court has given the Act a "strict

construction." Shamrock Oil & Gas Corp., 313 U.S. at 108.

Accordingly,

it is now settled law that a case may not be removed to

federal court on the basis of a federal defense, including the

defense of pre-emption, even if the defense is anticipated in

the plaintiff's complaint, and even if both parties concede

that the federal defense is the only question truly at issue.

Caterpillar, Inc. v. Williams, 482 U.S. 386, 393 (1987) (emphasis

in original) (citing Franchise Tax Board, 463 U.S. at 12).

The Second Circuit, however, has not been satisfied to adhere

to the jurisdictional structure of the 1887 Act, narrowly construed,

which allows much less removal than existed under the 1875 Act.

'®S HART AND WECHSLER, supra note 16, at 963.

'? Id. at 1768 (citing Judiciary Act of March 3, 1887, 24 Stat. 552, corrected

by the Act of August 13, 1888, 25 Stat. 433).

* Id. at 1052-53.

15

Rather, the Second Circuit has taken the view that Congress’s

choice in 1887 to restrict the 1875 removal statute can be

circumvented by judges based on reference to a separate law: the

All Writs Act, of all things! That Act has remained substantially

unaltered since 1789," and has never been addressed by Congress

in setting removal policy during the past two centuries. Yet,

according to the Second Circuit, that Act provides an independent

source of authority for subject-matter jurisdiction on removal.

Thus, beginning in 1988, the Second Circuit has explicitly

permitted district judges to invoke the All Writs Act to justify

removal even without "an independent basis for the exercise of

jurisdiction under the federal removal statutes." Accordingly, the

district court below held that the All Writs.Act "permits a federal

court to remove state court actions to federal court in situations

where specific statutory removal authority is absent." AS55

(emphasis added). The Second Circuit confirmed that district judges

"may remove an otherwise unremovable state court case . . . ‘when

oo”

the need arises,’" and upheld removal in this case as "appropriate"

and "a proper exercise of judicial discretion." A8-A9 (emphasis

added) (citation omitted). Despite an early dissent from the

doctrine, it now appears well entrenched in the Second Circuit.”

The Second Circuit’s All Writs removal doctrine poses a threat

to two fundamental aspects of this Court’s jurisprudence: judiciai

restraint and judicial federalism:

*" The present version of the All Writs Act originated as § 14 of the

Judiciary Act of 1789, | Stat. 81-82. See Pennsylvania Bureau of Corrections

v. United States Marshals, 474 U.S. 34, 40-41 (1985).

22 Yonkers Racing Corp. v. City of Yonkers, 858 F.2d 855, 865 (2d Cir.

1988), cert. denied, 489 U.S. 1077 (1989).

+> Dissenting in Yonkers, Judge Mahoney castigated the Second Circuit's

creation of an All Writs removal doctrine to launch "a preemptive strike upon a

State court" as “novel and unwarranted," pointedly noting that, like federal

judges, state court judges are "sworn to support the Constitution of the United

States. Accordingly the state court was entitled to a presumption at the outset"

that it would proceed appropriately. 858 F.2d at 875 (Mahoney, J., dissenting).

No other Second Circuit judge has ever dissented from use of the doctrine,

however, and the suggestion below for rehearing en banc attracted no votes.

Thus, the doctrine appears to be settled law in the Second Circuit.

For a more detailed description of Yonkers and the steadily increasing ambit

of the Second Circuit’s All Writs removal doctrine, see pp. 23-24, infra.

16

"

First, the doctrine constitutes “an illegitimate judicial

amendment of Congress’s removal statute," Brief Amici Curiae of

the 21 States, at 18, that this Court should not permit to stand. It

is well settled that "[a]ll federal courts, other than the Supreme

Court, derive their jurisdiction wholly from the exercise of the

authority to ‘ordain and establish’ inferior courts, conferred on

Congress by Article III, § 1, of the Constitution." Lockerty v.

Phillips, 319 U.S. 182, 187 (1943). Thus, whenever an objection

is raised to removal, "[t]he fundamental question to be determined

is whether the removal . . . from the state court into the Federal

court was authorized by any statute of the United States." Kentucky

v. Powers, 201 U.S. 1, 24 (1906). In resolving such an issue, of

course, courts must "scrupulously confine their own jurisdiction to

the precise limits which the statute has defined." Healy v. Ratta,

292 U.S. 263, 270 (1934).™

Despite these principles, the Second Circuit nonetheless permits

a district court, in so-called "exceptional circumstances," to "use its

All Writs authority to remove an otherwise unremovable state court

case." A8. There are grave reasons to doubt this construction of

the All Writs Act.

The language of the Act hardly suggests that it grants judges the

power to create or define their own jurisdiction. Rather, it appears

to provide tools for judges to use in exercising whatever jurisdiction

they happen to possess — to “issue all writs necessary or

appropriate in aid of their respective jurisdictions and agreeable to

the usages and principles of law." 28 U.S.C. § 1651(a) (emphasis

added). The Second Circuit below refused to accept this limit, even

as it quoted the express holding of this Court that the point of the

All Writs Act is to "‘empower[] federal courts to fashion

extraordinary remedies when the need arises.’"" A9 (quoting

Pennsylvania Bureau of Corrections v. United States Marshals , 474

U.S. 34, 43 (1985) (emphasis added)).

This Court was also quite clear in Pennsylvania Bureau that the

Act must be set aside once Congress has spoken on a subject:

% Since the inception of our federal system, it has been settled that "[c]Jourts

created by statute can have no jurisdiction but such as the statute confers,”

Sheldon v. Sill, 49 U.S. (8 How.) 441, 449 (1850). Where jurisdiction is not ex-

pressly conferred, it is assumed not to exist. See Durousseau v. United States,

10 U.S. (6 Cranch) 307 (1810). See also note 15, supra.

17

The All Writs Act is a residual source of authority to issue

writs that are not otherwise covered by statute. Where a

statute specifically addresses the particular issue at hand, it

is that authority, and not the All Writs Act, that is

controlling.

474 U.S. at 43.% Congress, of course, could hardly have been

more exacting in defining removal jurisdiction in 28 U.S.C. §§

1441 to 1452, and thus it is difficult to see why any judge should be

permitted to look beyond those carefully crafted provisions and infer

subject-matter jurisdiction in the "exercise of judicial discretion"

(A9) under the All Writs Act. Indeed, at least two decisions of this

Court have resisted far more modest arguments that the Act should

be used to supplement the structure of appellate jurisdiction and

procedure established for this Court by Congress.”

*S The facts of Pennsylvania Bureau illustrate the limits of judicial authority

even when fashioning remedies where jurisdiction itself is clear. This Court

refused to allow a federal district court to exercise its All Writs power to compel

federal Marshals to share in the financial burden of transporting state inmates to

federal courts for litigation in which the state is not involved, where the

Marshals’ obligations were regulated by a somewhat ambiguous federal statute.

474 U.S. at 37-38, 43. The arguments for permitting district courts to seize

“otherwise unremovable” state court cases contrary to a clear federal removal

Statute are obviously much weaker.

** In Chandler v. Judicial Conference of the Tenth Circuit, 398 U.S. 74

(1970), District Judge Chandler invoked the All Writs Act, asking this Court to

reverse the decision of the judges of the Tenth Circuit to strip him of his judicial

functions, in an alleged usurpation of the impeachment power. /d. at 75, 82.

The Tenth Circuit Judicial Council argued that Chandler was complaining of

“purely administrative action” that had "never been reviewed in any court and

cannot now be reviewed in an original proceeding under the All Writs Act." Id.

at 83. The Solicitor General argued that a finding of jurisdiction was proper

under the All Writs Act because the action of the Judicial Council could be

“analogized" to the Tenth Circuit sitting en banc, in an appellate function. Jd.

at 83-84. This Court rejected that argument, explaining-that the All Writs Act

“authority of this Court to issue a writ of prohibition or mandamus ‘can be

constitutionally exercised only insofar as such writs are in aid of its

jurisdiction,’" and holding that review of Chandler’s claims would "do[] violence

to the constitutional requirement that such review be appellate." Jd. at 86

(emphasis added) (citation omitted).

Similarly, in United States v. FMC Corp., 1963 U.S. LEXIS 2449 (1963),

(Goldberg, Circuit Justice), this Court rejected the Solicitor General’s argument

that the All Writs Act authorized immediate review in this Court of a district

judge’s refusal to issue a preliminary injunction against an imminent corporate

acquisition. The relevant statute permitted immediate appeal only from final

18

This case is especially suited for testing the outer limits of the

All Writs Act, for here the Second Circuit has sought to

countermand a considered policy judgment of Congress. The

district court upheld removal of petitioners’ Texas state court case

on the basis of defendants’ argument that "the binding effect of the

Settlement Agreement" barred petitioners’ lawsuit. A55. Even

assuming that the interpretation of the Settlement Agreement

(essentially, a contract negotiated in New York) raised any issue of

federal law, at most the defendants have a federal defense to suit in

Texas state court. But more than a century ago Congress barred

any such theory for removal, see pp. 13-14, supra, and has so far

rejected all proposals to water down its stance.” The Second

judgments, but the Solicitor General argued that appellate jurisdiction should be

found under the All Writs Act "to prevent irreparable change in the economic

status quo . . . [that would] frustrate effective public relief." /d. Despite these

exigencies, the Circuit Justice ruled that the All Writs Act "may not be employed

to evade the specific restrictions” of the jurisdictional statute, and that no writ

could issue "as a substitute for an authorized appeal."

The course taken by the Second Circuit — to use the All Writs Act to

remove state court cases that Congress chose to leave to the state courts — is far

more radical than the course suggested by the Solicitor General in either of these

cases. By contrast, other lower federal courts have refused to use the All Writs

Act even to review federal cases outside their direct line of review. See, e.g.,

In re Virginia Elec. & Power Co., 539 F.2d 357, 365 (4th Cir. 1976); General

Electric Co. v. Byrne, 611 F.2d 670, 672 (7th Cir. 1978) (per curiam) ("We are

aware of no statute or decision which would authorize us to issue a writ of

mandamus directed to a district judge sitting in another circuit"); C.P.C. v.

Nosco Plastics, Inc. , 719 F.2d 400, 401 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (All Writs Act does not

confer authority to review decisions of a district court over which the appellate

court does not have supervisory power).

77 “Commentators have repeatedly proposed that some mechanism be

established to permit removal of cases in which a federal defense may be

dispositive." Franchise Tax Board, 463 U.S. at 10 n.9 (citing proposals).

Unfortunately for defendants, of course, “those proposals have not been

adopted." /d. -

Notably, Congress has rejected some reform proposals a good bit narrower

than the course taken by the courts below. For example, in 1969, the American

Law Institute proposed that federal removal jurisdiction be expanded so as to

permit removal if "a substantial defense arising under the Constitution, laws, or

treaties of the United States [were] properly asserted." ALI, STUDY OF THE

DIVISION OF JURISDICTION BETWEEN STATE AND FEDERAL CourRTs, § 1312(a){2)

(1969). Even under the ALI plan, however, this case could not have been

removed from state court, because that proposal excluded from removal those

“actions in which the only ground for removal [would be a] claim that the suit

or relitigation of an issue in the suit is barred by an adjudication from another

19

Circuit’s attempt to serve, to borrow an apt phrase, as "a sort of

junior-varsity Congress," Mistretta v. United States, 488 U.S. 361,

427 (1988) (Scalia, J., dissenting), should be overturned.

Second, beyond the Second Circuit’s circumvention of well-

accepted principles of judicial restraint, certiorari is also warranted

because its blanket grant of permission to remove cases whenever

district judges find "exceptional circumstances" flouts this Court’s

teachings on judicial federalism and the respect due the coordinate

judicial systems of the States.

In explaining the “exceptional circumstances" supposedly

requiring that this case be removed, the Second Circuit made little

effort to mask its distrust of the abilities of.the Texas state courts.

Permitting the case to go forward in Texas would have a

"deleterious effect," according to the Second Circuit, because the

state court would have to "decid[e] the scope" of the 1984

settlement and the associated due process issues. A8-A9. The

Second Circuit thought it critical that the judge who "approved the

settlement" — the judge "best situated to make this determination"

— decide the preclusive effect of the prior settlement agreement.

A9 (emphasis added). State courts apparently cannot be trusted to

"guard[] the integrity of [federal court] rulings in complex

litigation." Jd.

Obviously, the Texas state courts in this case should have been

presumed competent to adjudicate the preclusive effect of the 1984

settlement.% If state courts are competent to determine federal

court that the Constitution or laws of the United States require the State court to

honor." /d. at § 1312(b)(9). See also "Multiparty, Multiforum Jurisdiction

Act,” H.R. 3406, 101st Cong. 2d Sess. (1990) (another proposed jurisdictional

expansion much more modest than the court’s holding in this case which was

rejected by Congress).

8 As one esteemed scholar of federal courts doctrine incisively observed,

there is "nothing more subversive to the judge’s inner sense of responsibility than

the notion that, to the greatest possible extent, all the important shots will be

called by someone else because we don’t believe in his or her competence and

sensitivity." Paul M. Bator, The State Courts and Federal Constitutional

Litigation, 22 WM. & MARY L. REV. 605, 624 (1981). As an essential feature

of comity, state courts are routinely entrusted with the adjudication of federal

rights, including federal constitutional rights. See, e.g., Chick Kam Choo v.

Exxon Corp., 486 U.S. 140, 150 (1988) ("Texas state courts . . . are presumed

20

constitutional rights, then a fortiori there is no basis for denying

them responsibility for adjudication of the preclusive effect of a

settlement. Indeed, one key feature of judicial federalism is that

federal and state courts alike are trusted to give appropriate effect

to the results of litigation in the other judicial system. See Kline v.

Burke Const. Co., 260 U.S. 226, 230 (1922) ("Whenever a

judgment is rendered in one of the courts [either federal or state]

and pleaded in the other, the effect of that judgment is to be

determined by" the second court"); Donovan v. City of Dallas, 377

U.S. 408, 412 (1964).”

As 21 States trenchantly observed in their amicus brief below:

For as long as there has been a common law . . . when a

prior judgment of a court in another jurisdiction, whether

competent to resolve federal issues"). See also Bator, at 625 ("If we want state

judge to feel institutional responsibility for vindicating federal rights, it is

counterproductive to be grudging in giving them the opportunity to do so").

29 These precedents comport with a fundamental principle of our federal

system, that "[a] state court is as well qualified as a federal court to protect a liti-

gant by the doctrines of res judicata and collateral estoppel." Southern California

Petroleum Corp. v. Harper, 273 F.2d 715, 719 (Sth Cir. 1960); accord Bluefield

Community Hospital Inc. v. Anziulewicz, 737 F.2d 405, 408 (4th Cir. 1984).

Consistent with this principle, in the area of consent judgments it is quite

unusual for a court to hold, as the Second Circuit below did, that the individual

judge who reviewed and approved a settlement has a special, subjective insight

into its meaning. For example, in one prominent case the D.C. Circuit refused

to defer to Judge Harold H. Greene’s subsequent interpretations of a consent

decree provision that he himself had drafted in the case that broke up the Bell

System, despite Judge Greene’s decade of intensive experience with that

enormously complicated case. See United States v. Western Electric Co., 900

F.2d 283, 293-94 (D.C. Cir.), cert. denied, 111 S. Ct. 283 (1990). The D.C.

Circuit ruled that although an appellate court should “take careful account of the

explanatory opinion issued by the district judge at the time the decree was

entered,” id. at 294 n.10, it had to "reject [any] suggestion” Judge Greene's later

view of the decree “should be afforded some ‘special’ deference,” even though

he had a major part in "draft[ing] the pivotal provision” and even though he “had

enormous experience overseeing the case and the decree since its inception.” /d.

at 294. See also Jeff D. v. Andrus, 899 F.2d 753, 759 (9th Cir. 1989) (making

clear that "[a] district court’s interpretation of a consent judgment is a matter of

law and freely reviewable on appeal"). Obviously, if federal appellate courts

should not defer to the subjective views of district judges on the meaning of

settlements, then state courts need not defer — and cases should not be removed

from state courts in an effort to ensure that a particular individual rules on what

the parties appear to have intended by a certain settlement.

21

state or federal, has been raised as a bar to litigation of a

claim, the issue has been decided by the court at hand, not

referred back to the court that entered the original judgment.

Brief Amici Curiae at 3 (emphasis in original). The States objected

that the district court had "supplanted this time-tested rule with a

radical new one: when a federal class action judgment is involved,

only the court that handed down the original judgment is qualified

to decide” the preclusive effect of the prior settlement. /d.

(emphasis in original). They pointed out that this theory is

“contrary to common sense" and “destructive of judicial

federalism," id., and called the district court’s seizure of the case on

this theory an “unprecedented, unwarranted, and unwise . .

invasion of state judicial independence and an insult to state courts

throughout the nation, which are perfectly capable of deciding

whether a state law claim is barred by a prior federal judgment."

Id. at 18.

The States warned that "[t]o affirm the decision below would be

to invite every federal district court to circumvent the removal

Statutes and other specific jurisdictional legislation and to transform

the All Writs Act into a general grant of federal jurisdiction and a

broad license to interfere with state court proceedings.” Jd. at 16.

Yet the Second Circuit analyzed none of these federalism concerns,

failing to mention the States’ arguments even in passing. Indeed,

in the aspect of its opinion most dangerous for judicial federalism,

the court made clear that district judges are free to resort to All

Writs removal in the "exercise of judicial discretion" whenever they

believe "‘the need arises.’*" A9. Thus, ad hoc seizure of state court

jurisdiction is given no more appellate scrutiny than is afforded

garden-variety trial court evidentiary determinations. See, e.g.,

Salem v. United States Lines Co., 370 U.S. 31, 35 (1962)

(describing leniency of evidence review standard).

Finally, it should be noted that the Second Circuit’s expansive

view of removal jurisdiction under the All Writs Act, in derogation

of state courts, also contravenes the policies of the Tenth

Amendment.” Indeed, because what is at issue is a federal

* One of the “powers [reserved to the states under the Amendment] was the

maintenance of state judicial systems for the decision of legal controversies.”

Atlantic Coast Line R.R., 398 U.S. at 285. See also Pennzoil Co. v. Texaco,

22

judicial act, not subject to the "political checks" of federalism,

Garcia v. San Antonio Transit Auth. , 469 U.S. 528, 549-51 (1985),

this Court should be particularly sensitive to the Tenth Amendment

interests implicated here.

Certainly, the judgment below cannot be defended on the theory

that removal was necessary to protect the district court’s continuing

jurisdiction. First, a state court must be presumed to be competent

to adjudicate the settlement’s preclusive effect. See notes 28 & 29,

supra. A federal court obviously cannot assume, as the district

court did below, that a state court would incorrectly adjudicate this

question and would erroneously permit plaintiffs "to undermine a

settlement agreement and set aside a federal court’s judgment

through new state court suits." A54.

Second, in any event, the district court’s continuing jurisdiction

in this case could not have been threatened by petitioners’ Texas

action. Their case manifestly was not, despite the district court’s

assertion, a “challenge[]" to the settlement agreement. A49.

Rather, petitioners sought to pursue their own suit for money

damages, entirely separate from the settlement, on the ground that

they were not bound by it. The settlement agreement provided that

the district court would retain jurisdiction only “over the Fund

pending its final disposition,” Agent Orange, 597 F. Supp. at 866

(Settlement Agreement { 19), with a duty "to assure that the Fund

shall earn the maximum interest consistent with safety and that all

disbursements are properly made." /d. at 864 (Settlement Agree-

ment ¢ 4). Nothing about petitioners’ Texas lawsuit affects the

Inc., 481 U.S. 1, 12-13 (1987) ("This Court repeatedly has recognized that the

States have important interest in administering certain aspects of their judicial

systems.") Given that the integrity of an important state institution is at stake,

this Court should accord review to a judicial interpretation of the All Writs Act

that deprives state courts of their traditional authority to resolve the preclusive

effect of judgments of another sovereign. Accordingly, in Gregory v. Ashcroft,

111 S. Ct. 2395 (1991), this Court refused to read a federal statute, the Age

Discrimination in Employment Act, so as to constrain state judicial systems by

forbidding mandatory retirement of state court judges. /d. at 2408. Cf. New

York v. United States, 112 S. Ct. 2408, 2428 (1992) (Tenth Amendment prohibits

federal statutes which are interpreted to "infring[e] upon the core of state

sovereignty . . . a state’s ability to make and apply its own laws") (emphasis

added). Thus, in light of the Tenth Amendment, federal statutes should not be

construed to impinge on fundamental state institutions without a clear statement

of congressional intent requiring that outcome. No such clear statement appears

on the face or in the legislative history of the All Writs Act.

23

operation of the Fund. The prospect that respondents may have to

invoke, in a Texas forum, the supposedly preclusive effect of the

settlement clearly has no bearing on the Fund; on the contrary, { 4

of the Settlement Agreement expressly provides that at this juncture

respondents “have no responsibility or obligation with respect to the

Fund or distributions therefrom." Jd. at 864.

Finally, the availability of authority under the All Writs Act to

issue injunctions "in aid of . . . jurisdiction[]" indicates that there

is nO power to remove a state court action on that basis. Indeed,

Congress went so far as to enact an exception to the Anti-Injunction

Act using these same words. See 28 U.S.C. § 2283 (exception

"where necessary in aid of its jurisdiction"). Thus, Congress was

careful to vest the federal courts with targeted equitable powers even

against state courts; but it also made the deliberate decision not to

provide federal courts with sweeping removal authority. To ignore

the fundamental difference between the two, and to read into the

removal statute a power to disrupt state proceedings that Congress

has set out only in the context of injunctions, would effectively

rewrite Congress’s handiwork.

B. Even If the All Writs Act Authorizes Lower Courts

to Remove an "Otherwise Unremovable State Court

Case" in Some Situations, This Court Should

Articulate Clear Limits on the Use of That Power

Although All Writs removal is inappropriate in all

circumstances, certiorari would be warranted even if this Court

were inclined to reject that contention. At minimum, review should

be granted to check the Second Circuit’s spiraling pattern of

jurisdictional expansion and to clarify the boundary of lower courts’

authority under the All Writs Act.

As previously noted, the Second Circuit’s All Writs removal

doctrine originated in Yonkers Racing Corp. v. City of Yonkers, 858

F.2d 855 (2d Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 489 U.S. 1077 (1989). See

p. 15, supra. The City of Yonkers had pursued a policy of racial

segregation in allocating public housing and, as a result, had

violated minority housing residents’ federal constitutional and

statutory rights. Under the obligation of a federal court order, the

city sought to remedy this violation by initiating condemnation

proceedings in state court. Although the case was not otherwise

24

removable, the Second Circuit permitted removal under the All

Writs Act because the district court was confronted “both with the

need to vindicate the constitutional rights of those . . . who have

been denied fair housing and the very real possibility that the City

of Yonkers would be subjected to inconsistent orders from the state

court and the federal court." /d. at 863.

The Second Circuit substantially broadened the doctrine in

United States v. City of New York, 972 F.2d 464 (2d Cir. 1992),

this time upholding All Writs removal even absent the need to

vindicate federal constitutional rights. Faced with a state court suit

concerning the validity of procedures under a federally ordered

sewage disposal plan, the court held that the mere possibility that

New York might be subject to inconsistent federal and state decrees

alone was sufficient to justify removal. /d. at 469.

Unlike the Second Circuit’s earlier cases involving its novel

removal doctrine, however, this case presents no threats to

respondents’ or third parties’ constitutional rights, and no possibility

that respondents might be subject to conflicting state and federal

injunctive orders." In short, this case presents neither of the

rationales supporting the Yonkers or City of New York decisions.

The courts below nevertheless approved removal yet again, this time

of a quintessentially state-law case, finding the existence of

“exceptional circurnstances" — here, the courts’ view that the Texas

State courts might rule incorrectly on whether the 1984 settlement

precluded suit, whereas the district court here was “best situated" to

rule correctly. See pp. 9, 19, supra.

Certiorari was not sought in City of New York, and the certiorari

briefing in Yonkers revealed an inappropriate vehicle for review.”

* Petitioners’ claims seek monetary relief.

® Yonkers was the Second Circuit's initial use of the All Writs removal

theory, and the petition for certiorari presented the issue in nine pages as one

involving error on the facts of the case. Petition for Certiorari, Yonkers Racing

Corp. v. City of Yonkers, No. 88-1029, at 7-15. Indeed, Rex Lee appeared on

behalf of the City of Yonkers opposing certiorari, stating that “the decision is sui

generis” and that petitioner had “argue[d] only that the decision is ‘based upon

a misapplication of a recent decision of this Court."" Brief of Respondent City

of Yonkers in Opposition, No. 88-1029, at 12-13 (quoting petition). Finally,

although the City agreed that the Second Circuit had erred in using the All Writs

Act to remove the case, id., it nonetheless urged: “The error below is, in the

Ee

25

This case thus represents the first real opportunity for scrutiny of

the Second Circuit’s radical All Writs removal doctrine, and

certiorari is warranted to put an end to “an illegitimate judicial

amendment of Congress’s removal statute." Brief Amici Curiae at

18.

II. THIS COURT SHOULD PASS ON THE ACCEPTABILITY

OF A QUASI-LEGISLATIVE ANALYSIS FOR

DETERMINING WHETHER ALREADY INJURED

NAMED PLAINTIFFS MAY EXTINGUISH THE

UNACCRUED FUTURE CLAIMS OF ABSENT PERSONS

F ven if federal removal jurisdiction somehow existed in this case

(or if this Court were to decline to review that question), there

would be a further question worthy of certiorari: under Fed. R.

Civ. P. 23 and due process, in what circumstances (if any) may

already injured named plaintiffs, in a Rule 23(b)(3) class action for

money damages, contract to extinguish the unaccrued future claims

of absent persons? This Court is currently considering similar

issues in a related context, that of non-opt out, Rule 23(b)(2) class

actions, in Ticor Title v. Brown, No. 92-1988. But the issues in this

case merit review regardless of the outcome in Jicor Title.

As illustrated by Ticor Title and the several other major class

action cases this Court has reviewed, the procedural standards

governing the conduct of class actions are extremely important and

affect large numbers of litigants. The extent to which federal

settlements of Rule 23(b)(3) class actions may bind individuals who

are not even aware that they have suffered injury is an issue which

this Court has never addressed and which is now of significant and

growing importance.” This is particularly true in our complex

circumstances of this case, purely a procedural one. Because the district court

clearly was correct in its ultimate conclusion that the City should prevail in the

condemnation proceedings, any reversal now would merely delay the ultimate

implementation of the district court’s remedial orders.” /d. at 13.

*® See, e.g., Carlough v. Amchem Prods., Inc., No. 93-1429, 1993 U.S.

App. LEXIS 24930 (3d Cir. September 29, 1993) (discussing certification of

23(b)(3) class of future asbestos claimants); Dante v. Dow Corning Corp., 143

F.R.D. 136, at *4 (N.D. Ohio 1992) (conditionally certifying a nationwide

23(b)(3) class of future silicone breast implant claimants); Jn re Breast Implant

Litig., 1992 U.S. Dist. Lexis 10080, at *4 (May 21, 1992, N.D. Ohio)

26

technological society, in an era when tens of thousands of persons

may becomie injured by toxic substances or dangerous products, but

will not manifest observable harm until years later.

The concept of adjudicating or settling through a class action the

interests of persons who are completely unaware of any injury,

although they have been placed at risk in some manner by a

potential defendant, is quite controversial in itself. As the Advisory

Committee observed in an oft-quoted Note to the 1966 Amendments

to the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, "[a] ‘mass accident’

resulting in injuries to numerous persons is ordinarily not

appropriate for a class action" because of the preponderance of

individualized issues involved. Although class actions in the mass

accident and even mass tort context have won increasing acceptance,

they have almost always been limited to class members who have

manifested some sort of perceptible injury, know that they may have

a legal interest, and thus are in a position intelligently to evaluate

whether to be part of a class action.

Binding persons to the results of a class action prosecuted by

others when they do not know they have been injured and at most

have a unaccrued future claim for injury is problematic on at least

three levels. First is a concern about basic fairness. In the statute-

of-limitations context, for example, this Court has been unwilling to

foreclose victims’ legal interests based on "blameless ignorance,"

refusing to permit rights to lapse on the theory that people should

be "charged with knowledge” of risks to which they have been

unknowingly exposed. Urie v. Thompson, 337 U.S. 163, 169-170

(1949). This concern is compounded by the unavoidable conflict of

interest between already injured plaintiffs and those who will

develop illnesses in the future. Even in the absence of venality or

corruption, the former group of plaintiffs, and their attorneys, have

a natural incentive to settle the claims of the /atter at relatively low

value, in order to make a settlement as likely as possible by making

the settlement package as attractive as possible for the defendant.

Second is the issue of standing: to the extent that resolution of

a class lawsuit depends on the adjudicatory power of an Article III

court, it may be illegitimate to include persons who have manifested

(amending class definition to include “persons who are likely to suffer or are at

an increased risk of suffering any adverse medical condition as a result ... of

having received a silicone gel breast implant").

os Seam ASY

PR eee IN. Mn Vk

eS ee

ET Pere SP i

FT 6 BP SRI ODP PDAS AOS Ft bw ON

27

no perceptible injury from a possible risk to which they may have

been exposed.*

Third, beyond the basic "case or controversy" question, the idea

that federal judges should supervise the negotiation and final

settlement of the substantive legal claims of absent persons before

these claims have even accrued strains traditional concepts of the

judicial role. An excellent benchmark for evaluating such a role is

provided by the dissent in Hoffman-La Roche, Inc. v. Sperling, 110

S. Ct. 482, 488 (1989) (Scalia, J., joined by Rehnquist, C.J.). That

case upheld somewhat novel "case management" techniques by a

district judge in an age discrimination case. The judge assisted the

main plaintiff in discovering the names of potential plaintiffs who

might wish to join the case, and supervised the notice they would

receive. The dissenters argued that even case management of such

future cases, involving known potential plaintiffs who would have

to opt in to be bound, was "an extraordinary application of the

federal judicial power,” at odds with "a system in which courts are

not inquisitors of justice but arbiters of adversarial claims." Jd. at

489, 492. Far more extraordinary, of course, is the practice of

judges empowering private parties in a case like this one to

extinguish the legal claims of absent persons before those claims

have accrued.

Such concerns have led a number of commentators to argue that

the difficulties inherent in analyzing the interests of those who do

not yet know that they are injured, and particularly in notifying

them of their rights, should preclude ail class action settlements that

seek to bind such persons.** Such an outcome is certainly one

* A hypothetical claim, like those of petitioners’ in 1984, see note 10,

supra, would appear not to have a “high degree of immediacy,” Lujan v.

Defenders of Wildlife, 112 S. Ct. 2130, 2138 (1992), nor to be “certainly

impending”; rather, such a claim seems merely "abstract" and too “conjectural!

or hypothetical" to confer standing. Whitmore v. Arkansas, 495 U.S. 149, 155

(1990) (internal quotes and citations omitted).

*§ See, e.g., 3 Herbert B. Newberg & Alba Conte, Newberg on Class Action

§ 17.39, at 17-119 (3d ed. 1992) ("Anytime a mass tort gives rise to injuries that

occur over a period of time . . . inevitably there will be claims that arise in the

future after an action for his mass tort has been permitted to be maintained an

adjudicated as a class action. Those unaccrued future claims will not and cannot

be bound by the class action litigation. Toxic torts giving rise to latent illnesses

and defective products with latent risks are two examples."); Elizabeth R.

Kaczynski, The Inclusion of Future Members in Rule 23(b)(2) Class Actions, 85

option for this Cour principal attraction of

the instant case | hicle for any range

of holdings this Court's first

consideration of | nsent plaintiffs who

lack present awar:

The basic dui hich this Court has

insisted for Rule 2 oney damages have

been adequate representation, ind a chance to opt out, This

Court has long held that, in general, “one is not bound by a

judgment in personam in a litigation in which he is not

as a party or to which he has not been made a party by service of

process." Hansberry vy fee, {11 US 32, 40 (1940), Tn elass

actions "the Due Process Clause of course requires that the named

plaintiff at all times adeguc he interests of the absent

class members h) by) (1. FOF

M12 (LORS) Cente

Additionally, a «| wii OF Abeer

Class members wri iecelvelal Monee

plus ah Opportunity to be | pale in the Titigation,"

Shutts, 472 U.S, at Al? & Hiphasis added), see dlyo Mullane \,

Central Hanover Bank & Trust Co,, 339 U.S, 3140315, 319 (1950)

(requiring "notice reasonably certain to feach most of those

interested in objecting"). Moreover, due process requires that each

absent plaintiff be permitted to opt out of the class. Shutts, 472

U.S. at 812.*

On the record of this case, all these procedural protections were

denied. The named plaintiffs to the 1984 Agent Orange litigation,

COLUM. L. REV. 397, 398 n.7 (1985) (the "future members cannot be included

in (b)(3) actions.") Of. Marck C

will ever have heard about the action, much less have had influence over its

litigation"),

“ Such notice and opt-out rights are critical because they “protect [each]

claimant's right to her litigation." Arthur R. Miller & David Crump,

Jurisdiction and Choice of Law in Multistate Class Actions After Phillips

Petroleum Co, v, Shutts, 96 YALE LJ. 1 (1986), Cf. Logan v, Zimmerman

Brush Co,, 455 U.S, 422, 428-33 (1982) (holding that the right to use

adjudicative procedures is a species of property protected by the due process

clause),

29

who agreed to the ultimate settlement, all had already suffered

"severe and permanent disabling injuries," See p, 5, supra, These

plaintiffs were obliged to sue prior to the expiration of the

applicable statute of limitations, despite the paucity of the scientific

evidence then available. See p. 7 & note 9, supra. As the district

court acknowledged, the interests of petitioners and others who in

1984 were not suffering from any injury, see note 10, supra, were

directly adverse to “the interests of presently injured plaintiffs as

well as defendants in achieving a settlement," AS8.,

The named plaintiffs made no effort to notify absent persons

who were not suffering from injury, Rather, over defendants’

objection, they and the district court defined, and directed notice to,

a class consisting only of persona who subjectively believed that

ihey were suffering compensable injuries as a freault of Agent

Orange, See pp, 46 & note 5, supra, Then, anee the apt-out

deadline had passed, the named plaintiffe vastly expanded the clase

that would be bound, to inelude anyone Whe Might ever manifest

any injury in the future, See pp, 67, tupra, Coneeivably, the

settlement agreement might have expressly preserved the elaiina of

these future plaintiff; instead, it abolished them, The district

court's explanation for the parties’ contractual agreement to

extinguish the rights of hundreds of thousands of people, none of

whom was at the bargaining table, was that the parties at the table

were "[cloncerned with the potential for mew actions and

recogniz[ed] the need for finality." A35. No notice and opt out

rights for the new class members were even considered.

Thus, petitioners were denied all of the bedrock requirements of

Rule 23 and due process at the hands of private parties who

negotiated to extinguish petitioners’ legal claims before they had

even accrued. This "might in another context be a bureaucratic

success story," but here it has “serious constitutional ramifications."

Morrison v. Olson, 487 U.S. 654, 684 (1988).

The Second Circuit was likewise unwilling to enforce the

minimum procedural guarantees applicable in the class action

context. Despite the conflict of interest that the district court had

candidly acknowledged, AS58, the court below dismissed any

concern here, with the assertion that harm from any conflict had

“never materialized." See p. 10, supra, And in a bizarre reading

of this Court's decision in Shutts, the court below opined that, as

long as absent plaintiffs are unknown, a court may dispense with

1

notice and opt-out rights entirely if it deems the benefits of these

core protections to be "conjectural" and outweighed by "society's

interest" in resolving complex litigation, See id.

The Second Circuit’s focus on "society’s interest" and its

disregard for individual procedural guarantees may be acceptable in

the legislative arena but cannot be squared with the functioning of

a life-tenured judiciary. Cf. Bi-Metallic Investment Co. v. State

Board of Equalization, 239 U.S. 441, 444-45 (1915) (“Gener

statutes within the state power are passed that affect the person o1

property of individuals, sometimes to the point of ruin, without

giving them a ie to be heard, Their rights are Page in the

only way that can be in a complex society, by their power,

inumediate or remote, aver those who make the rule"), As Judge

Hairick Higginbotham cautioned in a similar context, in invalidating

ai HnOVatIVe Quadleadminiatrative scheme for trying aabeatos cases:

“The Judieial Braneh ean offer the tral of lawauita, Te has ne power

vy competence to do more," /H re Mbreboard Corp, W04 F 2d 706,

712 (Sth Cle, 1900),

Thus, at ite root, the seeond question if this Gaxe presenta the

Court with af Hunity tO insist that the lower courts apply

traditional Rule 23 and due process analysis to the unacerued future

claims of absent plaintiffs, and an opportunity to reject the sort of

quasi-legislative analysis relied on by the Second Circuit.

CONCLUSION

For all these reasons, certiorari should be granted.

LAURENCE H. TRIBE ROBERT M. HAGER

KENNETH J. CHESEBRO Counsel of Record

JONATHAN S. MASSEY 2020 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W.

IRWIN R. GROSS Washington, DC 20006

1525 Massachusetts Ave. (202) 333-0099

Cambridge, MA 02138

(617) 495-1767

November 24, 1993

APPENDICES

APPENDIX A

Decision Of the United States Court of Appeals

he S€Cond Circuit, affirming the district court’s

‘| (O Femand the case and its dismissal of

peuulioners” claims, dated June 24, 1993............ Al

APPENDIX B

Decision Of the United States District Court for

the Masten District of New York, refusing remand

and dismissing petitioners’ claims, dated

NS sg as occ occ aks e sean A26

APPENDIX C

Decision of the District Court denying Rule 59

motion for reconsideration except in part, and

denying motion under 28 U.S.C. § 455(a),

mer 12, 1991 .. 0... wt te A60

APPENDIX D

Order of the Court of Appeals Denying Petition

for Rehearing and Suggestion for Rehearing

- En Banc, dated August 26, 1993 ................ A63

APPENDIX E

Text of Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 23 ......... A64

APPENDIX F

Affidavits of Shirley Ivy, dated February 22

EE IS I eee A68

Al

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For the Second Circuit

Nos. 92-7537, 92-7573, 92-7575

IN RE “AGENT ORANGE” PRODUCT

LIABILITY LITIGATION,

SHIRLEY IVY, Individually and as Representative of the Estate

of Donald Ivy, Deceased; CHARLES JARDON and TONY K.

JARDON, Individually and as Next Friend of Charles Jardon,

Jr.,; ROBIN JARDON, WARREN JARDON and SHARON

JARDON; VERDA WILSON, Individually and as Representative

of the Estate of Isaiah Wilson, Jr., Deceased; SHIRLEY

ZALEWASKI, Individually and as Representative of the Estate

of Yen Zalewaski, Deceased; GARY THOMAS; MARY LEE

THOMAS; JAMES L. KENT; EMMA I. KENT: DAWN

MARIE INMAN, Individually and as Representative of the

Estate of Bobby Joe Inman, Deceased; EARL THOMPSON;

JUDY L. THOMPSON; JAMES DONALD DELOATCH:

JOYCE DELOATCH; PEGGY SANDS, Individually and as

Representative of the Estate of Martin Sands, Deceased; EMILE

ANNIBOLLI; URSULA MARGOT PARRY, Individually and as

Representative of the Estate of James D. Parry, Sr., Deceased:

JAMES D. PARRY, JR.; JAMES CHRISTOPHER PARRY:

LAURA JENKINS, Individually and as Representative of the

Estate of Eddie Jenkins, Deceased; RONALD L. HARTMAN ‘

KATHERINA H. HARTMAN, and as Next Friend to JEFFERY

ALAN HARTMAN and ANGELA MARIE HARTMAN, Both

minors individually and as Representative of those similarly

Situated,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

A2

JAMES WHITE, Individually and as Representative of the Estate

of Clarence White, Deceased; CHARLES BROWN,

Plaintiffs-Appellants ,

v.

DIAMOND SHAMROCK CHEMICALS COMPANY, also

known as Diamond Shamrock Refining & Marketing Company,

also known as Occidental Electro Chemical Corporation, also

known as Maxus Energy Corp., also known as Occidental

Chemical Corporation, also known as Diamond Shamrock Co.;

DOW CHEMICAL COMPANY; MONSANTO COMPANY;

UNIROYAL, INC.; HERCULES, INC.; THOMPSON-HAY-

WARD CHEMICAL COMPANY; T.H. AGRICULTURE &

NUTRITION COMPANY, INC.,

Defendants-Appellees.

On Appeal from the United States District

Court for the Eastern District of New York

JUNE 24, 1993

Before: VAN GRAAFEILAND, KEARSE and

CARDAMONE,

Circuit Judges.

VAN GRAAFEILAND, Circuit Judge:

Two groups of veterans and their family members, who sue

both individually and on behalf of others similarly situated,

appeal from a judgment of the United States District Court for

the Eastern District of New York (Weinstein, J.) dismissing their

tort claims against seven chemical companies which manufac-

tured the defoliant Agent Orange. Ryan v. Dow Chemical Co.,

781 F.Supp. 902 (E.D.N.Y. 1991). In addition to their claim of

A3

substantive error, appellants contend that the district judge erred

in refusing to remand their cases to the state court from which

they were removed and in denying their motion that he disqualify

himself for conflict of interest or appearance of partiality. For the

reasons that follow, we affirm.

These actions are an attempted revival of the massive tort

litigation (collectively “Agent Orange I”), which arose from the

United States Armed Services’ use of Agent Orange during the

Vietnam War. Because both the history of the litigation and the

background of the instant actions have been chronicled in the

opinion below, 781 F.Supp. at 904-14, a brief summary will

suffice for present purposes.

While serving in Vietnam, several hundred thousand

soldiers were exposed to Agent Orange, which contained traces

of the chemical 2,3,7,8-tetrachlorodibenzo-p-dioxin (“dioxin”).

Following their return home, many veterans complained of

illnesses, which they attributed to this exposure. In 1978, these

veterans began to seek redress through the courts, suing both the

United States and the manufacturers of Agent Orange.

In 1979, the Judicial Panel on Multidistrict Litigation

consolidated hundreds of the cases and transferred them to the

Eastern District of New York. Subject matter jurisdiction over

these cases originally was based on the asserted existence of a

question of federal common law, but, after we reversed on this

issue, 635 F.2d 987 (2d Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 1128

(1981), jurisdiction was found to exist on the basis of diversity

of citizenship.

In December 1983, the district court certified a Rule

23(b)(3) “common question” class with opt-out rights in order

to address the common issues of general causation and the

military contractor defense, and a Rule 23(b)(1)(B) “limited

fund” class for punitive damage claims. 100 F.R.D. 718

(E.D.N.Y. 1983), mandamus denied, 725 F.2d 858 (2d Cir.),

cert. denied, 465 U.S. 1067 (1984). The Rule 23(b)(3) class was

defined as:

A4

those persons who were in the United States, New

Zealand or Australian Armed Forces at any time from

1961 to 1972 who were injured while in or near Viet-

nam by exposure to Agent Orange or other phenoxy

herbicides . . . The class also includes spouses, parents,

and children of the veterans born before January 1,

1984, directly or derivatively injured as a result of the

exposure.

Id. at 729. Notice was provided to class members by mail where

feasible and by advertisements in the print and broadcast media.

Id. at 729-30. The deadline to opt out of the Rule 23(b)(3) class

was May 1, 1984; 2,440 potential plaintiffs opted out by the

deadline, although all but 282 eventually opted back into the

Class.

A tentative settlement was reached on May 7, 1984, the day

the trial was scheduled to begin. The Settlement Agreement

provided for the establishment of a $180 million settlement fund

to cover all claims arising out of Agent Orange exposure, and a

claim against this fund was made the exclusive remedy for all

class members. A $10 million reserve was created to indemnify

the defendants for any state court judgments obtained by class

members. The Settlement Agreement stated that “[t]he Class

specifically includes persons who have not yet manifested

injury,” and it forever barred class members from instituting or

maintaining an action against defendants based on exposure to

Agent Orange. See 597 F.Supp. 740, 862-66 (E.D.N.Y. 1984)

(reprinting Settlement Agreement).

The settlement was approved on September 25, 1984 after

extensive, nationwide fairness hearings, see id. at 740-862, and

the approval was reaffirmed on January 7, 1985, see 611

F.Supp. 1296, 1347. On July 9, 1985, the district court granted

an order directing consummation of the settlement “in

accordance with its terms,” dismissing all class members’ claims,

permanently barring class members from _ instituting or

maintaining future actions arising from Agent Orange exposure,

and retaining jurisdiction over the maintenance, administration

AS

and distribution of the settlement fund. 618 F.Supp. 623, 624-25

(E.D.N.Y. 1985). The court also granted summary judgment

against the opt-out plaintiffs based on their failure to prove

causation and on the military contractor defense. 611 F.Supp.

1223 and 1267 (E.D.N.Y. 1985), aff'd, 818 F.2d 187 (2d Cir.

1987), cert. denied, 487 U.S. 1234 (1988). We affirmed the

certification, maintenance and settlement of the class action in all

significant and relevant respects. 818 F.2d 145 (2d Cir. 1987),

cert. denied, 484 U.S. 1004 (1988).

The final distribution plan for the settlkement fund was

announced on July 5, 1988 following the termination of all

appeals. 689 F.Supp. 1250. Roughly three-fourths of the fund,

which by then had grown to approximately $240 million, was

allocated to the Agent Orange Veteran Payment Program. This

Program provides payments on the death or disability of class

members. By September 30, 1991, it had disbursed over $86

million and had processed more than fifty thousand claims.

Twenty-eight percent of the disability claims processed by the

fund were for disabilities manifesting themselves after May 7,

1984; more than half of the death claims were for deaths

occurring after May 7, 1984. 781 F.Supp. at 910. By September

30, 1992, the Payment Program had disbursed more than $146

million to disabled veterans or their survivors and had processed

more than sixty thousand claims. Report of the Special Master on

i the Distribution of the Agent Orange Settlement Fund, Fourth

; Annual Report, at 11-12.

Most of the remaining quarter of the settlement fund was

i allocated to the Agent Orange Class Assistance Program

(“AOCAP”), which made grants to agencies serving Vietnam

veterans and their families. Among the activities assisted by those

grants were veteran counselling, aiding the obtaining of Govern-

ment veterans’ benefits, and administering training programs for

agencies dealing with Vietnam veterans and their employees. As

of September 31, 1992, AOCAP had awarded roughly $33.6

million in grant funds, benefitting more than 101,000 veterans

and family members nationwide. See Fourth Annual Report,

supra, at exh. D. That portion of the $10 million indemnity

nee eae

A6

reserve that will not have been used to satisfy state court

judgments by 1994 will revert to this fund. Originally, the

district court provided for management of the AOCAP fund by

an independent foundation. We reversed on this point and

ordered that Judge Weinstein maintain direct oversight of the

Program. 818 F.2d 179, 184-86 (2d Cir. 1987). In managing

AOCAP, Judge Weinstein consults with an advisory board of

Vietnam veterans.

In 1989 and 1990, two overlapping class actions, /vy v.

Diamond Shamrock Chemicals Co. and Hartman v. Diamond

Shamrock Chemicals Co., were brought in Texas courts. Both

alleged that the named plaintiffs or their family members suffered

injury as a result of Agent Orange exposure and that the injuries

sustained by these plaintiffs did not manifest themselves or were

not discovered until after May 7, 1984, the Agent Orange I

settlement date. Both complaints sounded exclusively in state law

and explicitly abjured reliance on federal law. Defendants

removed the cases to the United States District Court for the

Eastern and Southern Districts of Texas, alleging “artful plead-

ing” of a federal claim or, alternatively, complete federal

preemption. The Judicial Panel on Multidistrict Litigation

transferred the cases to the Eastern District of New York.

On January 31, 1990, the /vy plaintiffs petitioned this court

for a writ of mandamus directing remand. On March 28, we

denied the motion, ruling that the question of subject matter

jurisdiction should be decided in the first instance by the district

court. In re Ivy , 901 F.2d 7, 10 (2d Cir. 1990). Plaintiffs then

moved in the district court for remand of both cases. The district

court heard oral argument on March 6, 1991, and scheduled an

additional hearing on the motion to remand and other motions for

May 6, 1991, to allow for further briefing. In the interim,

defendants moved to dismiss and to amend their notice of

removal to assert federal officer removai pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

§ 1442(a)(1).

The district court remanded the claims of two civilian

plaintiffs alleging injury, holding that they were not within the

EEE ev

A7

Agent Orange I class and that federal officer removal was

inapplicable. Ryan v. Dow Chemical Co., 781 F.Supp. 934

(E.D.N.Y. 1992). The court denied the motion to remand of the

veteran plaintiffs and their family members and dismissed their

claims as barred by the Agent Orange I settlement and the court’s

order enjoining future suits by class members. 781 F.Supp. 902,

918-20. Plaintiffs moved for reconsideration of the latter decision

and for disqualification of Judge Weinstein pursuant to 28

U.S.C. § 455. The court, in an unpublished order, denied both

motions and kept its original decision substantially intact.

FEDERAL JURISDICTION

As a general rule, a state case may be removed to federal

court only if federal jurisdiction is evident on the face of the

plaintiff's well-pleaded complaint. See Caterpillar Inc. v.

Williams, 482 U.S. 386, 392 (1987). This rule is not satisfied

with respect to the complaints herein. There is no complete

diversity of citizenship, and no federal issue is apparent in the

complaints. Indeed, the complaints explicitly disclaim reliance on

federal law. Accordingly, in order to be removable, the /vy and

Hartman cases must fall within an exception to the

“well-pleaded complaint” rule. The district court asserted two

such exceptions -- plaintiffs’ “artful pleading” of a federal

question, and the court’s residual authority under the All Writs

Act to preserve its jurisdiction. We address these in order.

Ordinarily, a plaintiff is master of his complaint and may

elect to proceed solely under state law even if federal remedies

are available. See Caterpillar, supra, 482 U.S. at 392; The Fair

v. Kohler Die & Specialty Co., 228 U.S. 22, 25, (1913).

However, a complaint which appears to be grounded solely in

state law actually may be federal in nature, and thus removable,

if its true nature has been disguised by the plaintiff's artful

pleading. See generally 14A Charles A. Wright et al., Federal

Practice and Procedure § 3722, at 266-75 (2d ed. 1985).

Because state and federal laws have many overlapping or even

identical remedies and because generally we respect a plaintiff's

ee

A8

choice between state and federal forums, this exception to the

well-pleaded complaint rule is necessarily a narrow one.

The district court justified removal in the instant case on the

authority of Federated Dep't Stores, Inc. v. Moitie, 452 U.S.

394, 397 n.2, (1981), as interpreted by Travelers Indem. Co. v.

Sarkisian, 794 F.2d 754, 760 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 479 U.S.

885, (1986). Under Sarkisian’s interpretation of Moitie, a state

law claim is an artfully-pleaded federal claim if (1) the plaintiff

previously had elected to proceed in federal court on a claim

expressly grounded on federal law and (2) the elements of the

subsequent state law claim are virtually identical to those of the

claim previously made. /d. However, the instant case was not

removable under the Sarkisian test, because the prior claim was

not expressly grounded on federal law but instead was a diversity

claim based on general tort law. The district court interpreted

Sarkisian to require only that “the elements of the [subsequent]

claim . . . be ‘virtually identical’ to those in the prior federal

action,” stating that “there is no indication that the Court of

Appeals intended to . . . limit its reach” to those cases where the

prior federal court action was based on federal question

jurisdiction. 781 F.Supp. at 917. This was a misreading of

Sarkisian, which explicitly requires that the prior claim be

“expressly grounded on federal law.” 794 F.2d at 760; see also

Ultramar America Ltd. v. Dwelle, 900 F.2d 1412, 1414-17 (9th

Cir. 1990).

Alternatively, the district court found authority for removal

in its power under the All Writs Act to issue writs “necessary

or appropriate” in aid of its jurisdiction. 28 U.S.C. § 1651.

Here, the district court was on sounder ground. A district court,

in exceptional circumstances, may use its All Writs authority to

remove an otherwise unremovable state court case in order to

“effectuate and prevent the frustration of orders it has previously

issued in its exercise of jurisdiction otherwise obtained.” United

States v. New York Tel. Co., 434 U.S. 159, 172 (1977).

If Agent Orange victims were allowed to maintain separate

actions in state court, the deleterious effect on the Agent Orange

ne

dG

A9

/ settlement mechanism would be substantial. The parties to the

settlement implicitly recognized this when they agreed that all

future suits by class members would be permanently barred. It

is difficult to conceive of any state court properly addressing a

victim’s tort claim without first deciding the scope of the Agent

Orange I class action and settlement. The court best situated to

make this determination is the court that approved the settlement

and entered the judgment enforcing it. Removal in the instant

case was an appropriate use of federal judicial power under 28

U.S.C. § 1651. See United States v. City of New York, 972 F.2d

464, 469 (2d Cir. 1992); Yonkers Racing Corp. v. City of

Yonkers, 858 F.2d 855, 863-64 (2d Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 489

U.S. 1077 (1989). In so holding, we are not unmindful of the

fact that the All Writs Act is not a jurisdictional blank check

which district courts may use whenever they deem it advisable.

“Although that Act empowers federal courts to fashion

extraordinary remedies when the need arises, it does not

authorize them to issue ad hoc writs whenever compliance with

Statutory procedures appears inconvenient or less appropriate.”

Pennsylvania Bureau of Correction v. United States Marshals

Serv., 474 U.S. 34, 43 (1985). Given the “exceptional

circumstances” surrounding the instant case, issuance was a

proper exercise of judicial discretion. The district court was not

determining simply the preclusive effect of a prior final judgment

on claims or issues expected to be raised in subsequent collateral

proceedings; it was enforcing an explicit, ongoing order against

relitigation of matters it already had decided, and guarding the

integrity of its rulings in complex multidistrict litigation over

which it had retained jurisdiction.

Appellees contend that the instant case was removable

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1442(a), which in pertinent part allows

removal of actions against “[a]ny officer of the United States or

any agency thereof, or person acting under him, for any act

under color of such office.” Although appellees sought to amend

their notice of removal to assert this as an additional basis for

removal, the district court did not rule on their application to

AlQ

amend. Because our decision is supported on other grounds, we

too decline to reach this question.

Appellants’ additional arguments against the district court’s

assumption of jurisdiction are not persuasive. They contend, for

example, that removal in the instant case plates the

see 818 F, Md a at 184-86; 618 F.Supp, at 625, but also to ensure

that the Settlement Agreement as a whole is enforced according

to its terms, See Meetings & Expositions, Ine, v, Tandy Corp. ,

490 F.2d 714, 717 Qd Cir, 1974), “In a class action, the

district court has a duty to class members to see that any

settlement it approves is completed, and not merely to approve

a promise , , .” /n re Corrugated Container Antitrust Litig, , 752

F.2d 137, 141 (Sth Cir,), cert, denied, 473 U.S, 911 (1985).

Second, removal was needed “to protect or effectuate” the

district court’s Agent Orange I judgment. This exception in the

statute authorizes a federal court to proscribe state litigation of an

issue that actually has been previously presented to and decided

by the federal court. See Chick Kam Choo v. Exxon Corp., 486

U.S. 140, 147 (1988). A review of the arguments, orders and

judgment in Agent Orange I makes it crystal clear that the court

in fact did determine the central issue of class membership raised

here, i,¢,, that persons who had yet to manifest injury were class

members, See, ¢.g,, Settlement Agreement 4 8, 597 F.Supp, at

465 (“The Class specifically includes persons who have not yet

manifested injury,”)

All

\

:

3

Appellants contend that Younger v. Harris, 401 U.S. 37

(1971), and its progeny, particularly Pennzoil Co. v. Texaco

Inc., 481 U.S. 1 (1987), require that the district court abstain

from exercising jurisdiction in deference to the Texas state

courts. This argument stands the Younger doctrine on its head.

Younger teaches us to recognize the interest of the states in

prosecting the authority of their judicial syria so that their

and judgments are not rendered nugatory. Pennzc

.S. at 14 n.12 (quoting Juidice

iis result is not the sort of f 7 ni

in Younger and Pennzoil. See Town oer ,

for Community Action at the Local Level, Inc,, 430 U.S.

259, 264 n.8 (1977),

Appellants also assert that the district court did not have

personal jurisdiction over them, This argument is frivolous, See

818 F.2d at 163, Likewise, there is no merit in their argument

that removal in these cases interferes with their right to collater

ally attack the Agent Orange / judgment by denying them the

forum of their choice, Although appellants’ attack is founded on

their constitutional right to due process, nothing in the Constitu-

' tion or in our jurisprudence demands that class members have an

unchallengeable choice of forums in which to launch it. While

the law as a general rule permits a plaintiff to choose his forum,

) that freedom is not absolute, as the removal, venue and

/ multidistrict litigation statutes and the personal jurisdiction and

| forum non conveniens doctrines all demonstrate. It is obvious,

from what presently is occurring herein, that the removal and

multidistrict transfer in the instant case have not impinged unduly

upon appellants’ right of collateral attack,

CLASS MEMBERSHIP

Having resolved the preliminary jurisdictional questions, we

turn to the central question of appellants’ membership vel non in

the Agent Orange / class, The anawer to this question lies in the

Al2

meaning of the phrase “who were injured while in or near

Vietnam from exposure to Agent Orange.” Appellants contend

that persons are not “injured” until medical symptoms become

manifest. Appellees argue in response that injury occurs when a

deleterious substance enters a person’s body, even though its

adverse effects are not immediately apparent. In the instant case,

appellees’ definition is correct

st ” anc

limitation period is applied; i.e., the limitation runs either from

the time the “injury” occurs or the time the damage resulting

from the “injury” is discovered, In the strict legal sense

“‘Li}njury’ means a wrongful invasion of legal rights, and is not

concerned with the hurt or damage resulting from such invasion

-..." 439A CJS, Injury at 767; see alse Restatement (Second)

of Torts § 7,

In this respect, reference to the history of New York State's

limitation period governing suits for personal injuries is illumi-

nating. The traditional rule in New York is that the injury occurs

and the limitation period begins to run when there is a wrongful

invasion Of one’s personal rights, not when the damage allegedly

resulting from the invasion is discovered. See Schmidt v.

Merchants Despatch Transp. Co., 270 N.Y. 287, 300 (1936);

Thornton v. Roosevelt Hosp., 47 N.Y .2d 780, 781 (1979)(mem. ).

Recognizing the possible adverse effect this traditional rule

might have on veterans claiming injury from Agent Orange, the

New York Legislature, in 1981, decided that such claims

“should not be prohibited by the holding that a cause of action

accrues, and the statute of limitations commences to run from the

Al3

‘date of injury.’ ” See Legislative Findings: Victims of Herbicide

Agents, Section 1 of L. 1981, c. 266, eff. June 16, 1981,

reprinted in footnote to N.Y. Civ. Prac. L. & R. § 214-b

(McKinney 1990). The Legislature therefore provided in section

214-b that a veteran’s action to recover damages for “personal

injury” caused by contact with or exposure to Agent Orange

serving” in Indo-China between 1962 and 1975 may be

within two years from the date of discovery of

.” This enactment changed the onset of the limitation

did not change the meaning of the word “injury.”

the very outset of the litigation in Agent Orange I, the

adopted this meaning and urged it repeatedly upon the

. The initial class action complaint alleged that the

brought on behalf of, among others, “those

veterans manifesting no symptoms of illness and

Gis@ase At present, but at risk of genetic and somatic damage.”

In FeSpOnse to the defendants’ motion to dismiss the “at risk”

claims, plaintiffs argued in both the district court and this court:

The “injury” in the Agent Orange cases has already

occurred. The plaintiffs “at risk” have already been

Xposed to the toxic substance.

* * *

The at risk argument of the Defendant war contractors

obscures the fact that every individual Plaintiff has been

injured jn fact . . . We have asked the Court to

recOgnize that there is injury, in fact.

* * *

Judge, at the risk of delivering a short lecture on the

medicine in this case, the exposure to the toxicant

produced a physiological event, an injury within the

meaning of the word “injury” in the technical law of

torts,

Al4

The district court was fully aware of the New York

Legislature’s use of the term “personal injury” in section 214-b

and its legislative preamble. See 597 F.Supp. at 810-11. In

response to plaintiffs’ urging, it adopted and approved similar

usage in the Settkement Agreement and the judgment that

incorporated it. See id. at 879, 870. There thus can be no

question concerning the district court’s intent or that of the

parties to the Settlement Agreement. “At risk” veterans, i.e.,

victims with no visible symptoms, were included in the plaintiff

Class.

In our prior opinion affirming the class settlement, 818

F.2d 145, we recognized the propriety of this inclusion, because

the military contractor defense was common to all of the

plaintiffs’ cases and, if successfully interposed, “would have

precluded recovery by all plaintiffs, irrespective of the strengths,

weaknesses, or idiosyncracies of their claims.” /d. at 167.

Appellants’ arguments against class membership are no stronger

now than they were when made in 1987.

Appellants’ contention that they could not have been within

the Agent Orange I class at the time of settlement because they

did not have an “injury in fact,” suggests a different meaning of

that term than has been enunciated in numerous cases involving

liability insurance coverage for injuries such as those sustained

by appellants._Although the issue in the insurance cases is

liability rather than jurisdiction, the controversy over the

meaning of the term “injury in fact” is subject to judicial

resolution in much the same manner as it is in the instant case.

Thus, in American Home Prods. Corp. v. Liberty Mutual Ins.

Co., 748 F.2d 760 (2d Cir. 1984), we said that “[s]ome types

of injury to the body occur prior to the appearance of any

symptoms; thus, the manifestation of the injury may well occur

after the injury itself.” Jd. at 764. We rejected the argument

appellants now make that “injury in fact” means injury that is

manifest, diagnosable or compensable. Jd. at 764-65. See also

Aetna Casualty & Surety Co. v. Abbott Laboratories Inc., 636

F.Supp. 546, 548-49 (D. Conn. 1986).

Al5

In Uniroyal, Inc. v. Home Ins. Co., 707 F.Supp. 1368

(E.D.N.Y. 1988), the issue before the court was whether

Uniroyal was entitled to reimbursement from Home for

Uniroyal’s contribution to the Agent Orange I settlement.

Apropos of the issue now before us, Judge Weinstein wrote:

In this case there can be no doubt when the injury must

be deemed to have taken place. The parties stipulated

that any injury from exposure to Agent Orange took

place “at or shortly after a serviceman’s exposure to

Agent Orange spraying.”

The force of the Olson Affidavit and the stipulation is

to determine, for the purposes of this insurance

litigation, that injury in fact took place within a week or

so of spraying.

Id. at 1389. Although this decision is not binding in the instant

case, its conclusion that plaintiffs sustained an “injury in fact”

is eminently correct. See Duke Power Co. v. Carolina

Environmental Study Group, Inc., 438 U.S. 59, 74 (1978).

Appellants’ argument that they could not have been

members of the Agent Orange I class because their claims did not

satisfy the $10,000 amount-in-controversy requirement of 28

U.S.C. § 1332 as it then existed, was rejected by this court on

the original Agent Orange I appeal, 818 F.2d at 163. We there

said, quoting St. Paul Mercury Indem. Co. v. Red Cab Co., 303

U.S. 283, 288-89 (1938):

[U]Jnless the law gives a different rule, the sum claimed

by the plaintiff controls if the claim is apparently made

in good faith. It must appear to a legal certainty that the

claim is really for less than the jurisdictional amount to

justify dismissal.

We followed the same reasoning in /n re Joint E. and S. Dist.

Asbestos Litig., 982 F.2d 721, 734 (2d Cir. 1992), despite the

fact that the amount-in-controversy requirement had been raised

by then to $50,000. Further repetition of this rule is unnecessary.

Al6

We are satisfied that appellants’ Agent Orange / claims, made in

good faith, satisfied the monetary jurisdiction requirements.

Appellants next contend that they are not bound by the

Agent Orange I class action and settlement because the court did

not have personal jurisdiction over them. We rejected this

argument on the appeal in Agent Orange I, 818 F.2d at 163. We

there quoted the Judicial Panel on Multidistrict Litigation to the

effect that transfers under 28 U.S.C. § 1407, the multidistrict

litigation statute, “are simply not encumbered by considerations

of in personam jurisdiction and venue” and that the transferee

judge has all the pretrial jurisdiction the transferor judge would

have had if the transfer had not occurred. We then proceeded in

that opinion to discuss the adequacy of notice of the class action

and proposed settlement, id. at 167-70, and held that the notices

were adequate. Our view has not changed.

Appellants contend, as did appellants in Agent Orange I,

that all class members did not receive adequate notice of their

membership in the Agent Orange I action and the opportunity to

exclude themselves therefrom. This, appellants allege, was a due

process violation under the standards of Phillips Petroleum Co.

v. Shutts, 472 U.S. 797 (1985). Appellants misapprehend the

reach of Shutts. The Court’s decision in that case “is limited to

those class actions which seek to bind known plaintiffs

concerning claims wholly or predominantly for money

judgments,” and “intimates no view concerning other types of

class actions.” /d. at 811 n.3. As such, “Shutts does not apply

directly to classes of unknown plaintiffs.” See 1 Newberg on

Class Actions § 1.23, at 1-54 (3d ed. 1992). We distinguished

Shutts in Agent Orange I, pointing out that here “there was no

easily accessible list of veterans, as there must have beer of

royalty holders in [Shutts].” 818 F.2d at 169.

We again decline to extend the Shutts holding into situations

such as this. “Due process, the courts have often declared, ‘is

a flexible concept,’ intended to ensure ‘fundamental fairness.’”

In re A.H. Robins Co., 880 F.2d 709, 745 (4th Cir.) (quoting

Walters v. National Ass'n of Radiation Survivors, 473 U.S. 305,

Al7

320 (1985) and Mathews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319, 334 (1976)),

cert. denied, 493 U.S. 959 (1989). What process is due in a

given instance requires the balancing of a variety of interests. In

some cases, “the marginal gains from affording an additional

procedural safeguard . . . may be outweighed by the societal cost

of providing such a safeguard.” Walters, supra, 473 U.S. at

320-21.

In the instant case, society’s interest in the efficient and fair

resolution of large-scale litigation outweighs the gains from

individual notice and opt-out rights, whose benefits here are

conjectural at best. As appellants correctly note, providing

individual notice and opt-out rights to persons who are unaware

of an injury would probably do little good. Their rights are better

served, we think, by requiring that “fair and just recovery

procedures be[] made available to these claimants,” 1 Newberg,

supra, § 1.23, at 1-56, and by ensuring that they receive

vigorous and faithful vicarious representation.

It is axiomatic that a class action binds absent members only

so long as they were adequately represented therein. See

generally Hansberry v. Lee, 311 U.S. 32, 41 (1940). Our

decision in Eisen v. Carlisle & Jacquelin, 391 F.2d 555 (2d Cir.

1968), describes the requisites of adequate representation as

follews:

[A]n essential concomitant of adequate representation is

that the party’s attorney be qualified, experienced and

generally able to conduct the proposed litigation.

Additionally, it is necessary to eliminate so far as

possible the likelihood that the litigants are involved in

a collusive suit or that plaintiff has interests antagonistic

to those of the remainder of the class.

Id. at 562. Appellants do not challenge the qualifications of the

Agent Orange I class counsel. Moreover, their conflict-of-interest

claims are unpersuasive. Although, as the district court noted,

“[o]ne can imagine many genuine conflicts of interest” in a

Situation such as this, the court concluded that any potential

Al8

conflicts that might have infected Agent Orange I never

materialized:

In many cases the conflict between the interests of

present and future claimants is more imagined than real.

In the instant case, for example, the injustice wrought

upon the plaintiffs is nonexistent. These plaintiffs, like

all class members who suffer death or disability before

the end of 1994, are eligible for compensation from the

Agent Orange Payment Fund. The relevant latency

periods and the age of the veterans ensure that almost

all valid claims will be revealed before that time.

781 F.Supp. at 919.

We agree with the district court that designation of a

subclass of future claimants and appointment of a guardian to

represent their interests was unnecessary “because of the way

{the settlement] was structured to cover future claimants.” Jd. As

Judge Weinstein noted in one of the fairness hearings that he

conducted:

to appoint another attorney to represent that sub-group

would just, in my opinion, increase the amount of legal

fees, which is what all of us want to keep to a bare

minimum. There are lots of arguments and classes and

sub-classes, but if we appoint attorneys and guardians

ad litem for everybody who might have . . . somewhat

of a conflict of interest, there is hardly going to be any

money left for the veteran.

Appellants’ blanket allegation that the Agent Orange I

settlement was collusive is patently frivolous. When appellants’

counsel was pressed at oral argument to indicate some factual

support for the allegation, he was unable to do so. Indeed, when

one reads contemporaneous accounts of the settlement negotia-

tions, which we described as having been “dramatically arrived

at just before dawn on the day of trial after sleepless hours of

bargaining,” 818 F.2d at 166, it is impossible to envision any

collusion between plaintiffs and defendants. By all accounts, the

Al9

negotiations were arm’s-length and adversarial, even fierce. See

generally Peter H. Schuck, Agent Orange on Trial 143-67

(1986); Francis J. Flaherty & David Lauter, “Inside Agent

Orange: The 11th-Hour Talks that Almost Failed,” Nat’! L.J.,

May 21, 1984, at 1; Ralph Blumenthal, “How Judge Helped

Shape Agent Orange Pact,” N.Y. Times, May 11, 1984, § A at

&

Appellants mistakenly attempt to create an inference of

impropriety out of our characterization of the $180 million

. settlement as “essentially a settlement at nuisance value.” 818

F.2d at 171. Assuming the correctness of our characterization,

it is in no way indicative of any improper collaboration between

class representatives and the chemical company defendants. It

was instead a reflection of the “formidable hurdles” plaintiffs

faced. As we went on to conclude, plaintiffs’ counsel “had good

reason to view this case as having only nuisance value.” Jd.

Indeed, we note that, despite some intervening changes in

the law, serious obstacles to recovery remain. Thus, although the

scope of the government contract defense has been somewhat

limited by the Supreme Court’s decision in Boyle v. United

Technologies Corp., 487 U.S. 500, 512 (1988), under proper

circumstances the defense is still available to government

contractors. See Lewis v. Babcock Indus., Inc., 985 F.2d 83 (2d

: Cir. 1993); Stout v. Borg-Warner Corp., 933 F.2d 331 (Sth

Cir.), cert. denied, 112 S.Ct. 584 (1991); Maguire v. Hughes

Aircraft Corp., 912 F.2d 67 (3d Cir. 1990). There is more than

a mere possibility that such circumstances exist in the instant

case. It is clear from the chemical companies’ contracts with the

Government that the Government specified Agent Orange’s

ingredients in great detail. There also is documentary evidence

tending to show that the Government strictly prescribed the

markings on Agent Orange barrels, and prohibited all extraneous

label information, including warnings. Finally, there is evidence

that the Government’s knowledge of the hazards of Agent Orange

and dioxin was at least as great as that of the chemical

companies, making it unlikely that there were “dangers... that

were known to the supplier but not to the United States,” of

Cy Ne airchhe 1 Yn YR, @ Mead ’oo

SO INS a RING eA VEY bene i A +

A20

which the suppliers should have warned. Boyle, supra, 487 U.S.

at 512. In sum, although the availability of the government

contract defense might not be a foregone conclusion, there is a

reasonable probability that it would apply, barring any recovery

by the plaintiffs.

In addition, despite continuing research, the crucial issue of

“general causation,” i.e., whether any injuries are attributable to

Agent Orange, remains unsettled. As one 1992 commentator

noted, reviewing the scientific literature: “To date, there has

been no conclusive evidence that exposure to Agent Orange is

carcinogenic, mutagenic or teratogenic in humans. Furthermore,

no deaths attributable solely to exposure to Agent Orange and its

dioxin contaminant have been reported.” 13B Arthur L. Frank,

Courtroom Medicine: Cancer, § 25A.00, at 25A-4 (1992).

Indeed, it remains as difficult as ever to prove individual

levels of exposure to Agent Orange. For instance, a 1990 study

conducted under the auspices of the Environmental Protection

Agency and the Veterans Administration compared Vietnam

veterans to veterans not serving in Vietnam and civilian men, all

of like age, and concluded that:

with or without adjustment for several demographic

variables, the mean level of [dioxin] in the adipose

tissue of the 36 Vietnam veterans was not significantly

different from that of the 79 non-Vietnam veterans or

the 80 civilian men. . . . Furthermore, the results

showed no association between [dioxin] levels and any

estimate of Agent Orange exposure opportunity based

on military records. . . . The study results suggest that

heavy exposure to [dioxin] for most Vietnam veterans

was unlikely and that available military unit records

used in the study were inadequate in assessing exposure

to Agent Orange for those Vietnam veterans.

Han K. Kang et al., Dioxins and Dibenzofurans in Adipose

Tissue of U.S. Vietnam Veterans and Controls, at x (1990).

ee

A21

Even if appellants were to surmount the military contractor

defense, provide satisfactory epidemiological evidence on the

issue Of general causation, and demonstrate with sufficient

accuracy their levels of personal exposure to Agent Orange, they

still would face the difficult task of demonstrating individual

causation, i.e., that Agent Orange exposure caused the particular

illnesses upon which they base their claims. Unlike asbestos,

dioxin has not been recognized as the source of a distinctive

medical illness.

The lesson to be drawn from this discussion is that the

fundamental fairness of the Agent Orange I settlement remains

unshaken. Notwithstanding the legal and scientific developments

of the past nine years, the chances of recovery are nearly as

speculative today as they were at the time of settlement.

Appellants’ challenges to the adequacy of their representation

therefore must be rejected.

In so holding, we do not denigrate the importance of

qualified and faithful class representation. The quality and fidelity

of counsel are of paramount importance in class actions such as

the instant one which involve unknown claimants. Indeed, we

ordinarily would anticipate the appointment of a guardian to

represent the interests of absent claimants, particularly those with

questionable injuries. In the instant case, however, we are not

writing on a clean slate. The unique circumstances surrounding

Agent Orange I — in particular, the even-handed treatment of

both identified and unidentified legitimate claimants in the Agent

Orange I settlement and the dim prospects of success both then

and now — rendered additional protections unnecessary. The

representation in Agent Orange I was more than adequate to

protect appellants’ interests.

Once all of the foregoing issues are resolved in favor of

appellees, resolution of the case is relatively straightforward.

Both the Settlement Agreement, and the district court’s judgment

dismissing the cases, explicitly and permanently barred future

actions by class members against the defendants:

A22

All complaints in this class action, and all claims of

each and every plaintiff and member of the Rule

23(b)(3) class, are hereby dismissed on the merits, with

prejudice....

Each and every plaintiff and member of the Rule

23(b)(3) class is hereby forever barred from instituting

or maintaining any action against any of the defendants

. . . arising out of or relating to, or in the future arising

out of or relating to, the subject matter of any of the

complaints in this class action.

618 F.Supp. at 624.

Defendants . . . are not, and in the future shall not

be, subject to liability or expense of any kind to any

member of the Class in respect of any claim arising out

of the subject matter of the Complaint. . . . Claims

against the Fund shall be the exclusive remedy of all

Class members against the defendants . . . and ail

members of the Class are forever barred from

instituting or maintaining any action against any of the

defendants . . . arising out of or relating to, or in the

future arising out of or relating to, the subject matter of

the Complaint.

Settlement Agreement { 5, 597 F.Supp. at 864. Because

appellants are properly within the Agent Orange I class, these

provisions are binding on them, and their suits were properly

dismissed. The Agent Orange I settlement mechanism constitutes

appellants’ sole source of relief.

We are not persuaded by appellants’ argument that the $10

million indemnity provision for state law judgments evidences a

different intent. When the Settlement Agreement is read in its

entirety, it is apparent that the indemnity provision was intended

to protect the defendants against claims by those plaintiffs who

opted out of the class and could sue separately in state court.

|

ceeded

A23

Appellants’ final argument, raised for the first time after the

court’s initial decision below, is that Judge Weinstein should

have disqualified himself for conflict of interest or appearance of

partiality. Appellants contend that Judge Weinstein is a “fiducia-

ry” of AOCAP, and thus has a conflict of interest requiring

disqualification under 28 U.S.C. § 455(b)(4). In relevant part,

section 455(b)(4) requires a judge to disqualify himself if “he

knows that he, individually or as a fiduciary, . . . has a financial

interest in the subject matter in controversy or in a party to the

proceeding, or any other interest that could be substantially

affected by the outcome of the proceeding.” The statute defines

“fiduciary” as including “such relationships as executor,

administrator, trustee, and guardian.” 28 U.S.C. § 455(d)(3).

As principal support for their claim, appellants rely on

Liljeberg v. Health Services Acquisition Corp., 486 U.S. 847

(1988). In Liljeberg, the court held that disqualification was

required because the trial judge was trustee of a college that

stood to reap significant financial gains depending upon the

outcome of the lawsuit. Appellants read Liljeberg too broadly.

Although there are superficial similarities between Liljeberg and

the instant case, there is one crucial difference. The fiduciary

duty of the judge in Liljeberg was owed to a non-litigating entity,

while Judge Weinstein’s duty was part of his judicial obligation

to litigating class members. A judge in a class action is obligated

to protect the interests of absent class members. See Grant v.

Bethlehem Steel Corp., 823 F.2d 20, 23 (2d Cir. 1987).

Moreover, we specifically instructed Judge Weinstein to retain

direct oversight of the Class Assistance Program fund. See 818

F.2d at 185-86. His legally-imposed duties gua judge with regard

to the settlement funds are not a “fiduciary” obligation within the

meaning of section 455(b)(4), and do not mandate disqualification

from cases which may involve the fund. See Commissioner v.

Brown, 380 U.S. 563, 571 (1965) (“[T]he courts, in interpreting

a statute, have some ‘scope for adopting a restricted .. .

meaning of its words where acceptance of [a literal] meaning

would lead to absurd results... .’” (quoting Helvering v.

Hammel, 311 U.S. 504, 510 (1941)).

Ee

A24

In addition to basing their argument on section 455(b)(4),

appellants allege that Judge Weinstein’s “fiduciary” obligation

violates section 455(a), which requires disqualification whenever

a judge’s “impartiality might reasonably be questioned.” This

argument likewise lacks merit. Whether a judge has an appear-

ance of partiality is determined from the viewpoint of a reason-

able observer with knowledge of all surrounding circumstances.

Liljeberg, supra, 486 U.S. at 860-61. In the instant case, a

reasonable observer would not question the district court’s

impartiality. In managing AOCAP, Judge Weinstein-is merely

carrying out the supervisory duties assigned to him by the law of

class actions in general, and by the orders of this court in

particular.

Aiternatively, appellants argue that Judge Weinstein has

manifested an appearance of partiality mandating his disquaiifica-

tion under 28 U.S.C. § 455(a) based on his conduct in other

cases. In essence, appellants accuse Judge Weinstein of possess-

ing some traits of megalomania, of having a “systemic interest

in retaining excessive judicial powers over mass tort cases,” Br.

at 49, in order to effect a “systematic denial of rights to toxic

tort plaintiffs,” Br. at 58, to “circumvent” various legal

obstacles, Br. at 61, and to ensure that “other defendants . . .

make settlements by which enormous sums will be turned over

to the custody of the court for discretionary allocation,” Br. at

57. These allegations, verging on the slanderous, are patently

ridiculous and an affront to both the district court and this court.

Appellants overlook the fact that we affirmed in all significant

respects Judge Weinstein’s purported use of “excessive judicial

powers” in Agent Orange I. Moreover, we recently commended

Judge Weinstein for his “innovations” and “innovative

managerial skills” in such large-scale litigation. Jn re Brooklyn

Navy Yard Asbestos Litig., 971 F.2d 831, 836 n.1 (2d Cir.

1992).

Even if appellants’ section 455 arguments had some indicia

of merit, they were not raised in a timely fashion. “It is

well-settled that a party must raise its claim of a district court’s

disqualification at the earliest possible moment after obtaining

A25

knowledge of facts demonstrating the basis for such a claim.”

Apple v. Jewish Hosp. & Medical Ctr., 829 F.2d 326, 333 (2d

Cir. 1987). Apparently recognizing the problem created bv their

delay, appellants contend on appeal that Judge Weinstein’s lack

of qualifications were hidden until revealed by his decision now

being appealed. That argument is ridiculous. Judge Weinstein’s

highly-visible role in managing the Agent Orange I settlement

and his active participation in other mass tort actions have been

disclosed and discussed time and again in the media and in

publicly-available documents and cannot have come as a surprise

to appellants. See, e.g., Arnold H. Lubasch, “Jack Weinstein:

Creative U.S. Judge Who Disdains Robe and High Bench,” N. Y.

Times, May 28, 1991, at BS; Francis J. Flaherty & David

Lauter, “Judge’s Novel Rulings Spurred Settlement,” Nat’! L.J.,

May 21, 1984, at 41; Ralph Blumenthal, “How Judge Helped

Shape Agent Orange Pact,” N.Y. Times, May 11, 1984, at Al.

In conclusion we summarize our holdings as follows: (1)

the removal and transfer of these cases from Texas state court to

the United States District Court for the Eastern District of New

York was a proper exercise of federal judicial power under the

All Writs Act, 28 U.S.C. § 1651, and the multidistrict litigation

statute, 28 U.S.C. § 1407; (2) appellants are properly within the

class certified in Agent Orange I; (3) as members of the Agent

Orange I class, appellants are barred by the Agent Orange I

judgment from instituting and maintaining the instant litigation,

and the district court properly dismissed their claims; (4) Judge

Weinstein’s disqualification is not required.

The judgment of the district court is affirmed, and costs are

awarded to appellees.

EL ———

A26

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

For the Eastern District of New York

Nos. 79 Civ. 747, No. 89 Civ. 3361,

90 Civ. 3928, and MDL No. 381

MICHAEL F. RYAN, et al.,

Plaintiffs,

-

DOW CHEMICAL COMPANY, MONSANTO COMPANY,

HERCULES INCORPORATED, T H AGRICULTURE &

NUTRITION COMPANY, INC., DIAMOND SHAMROCK

CHEMICALS COMPANY, UNIROYAL INC., and

THOMPSON CHEMICALS CORPORATION,

Defendants.

In re “AGENT ORANGE” Product Liability Litigation;

SHIRLEY IVY, et al.,

Plaintiffs ,

v.

DIAMOND SHAMROCK CHEMICALS COMPANY, et al.,

Defendants.

RONALD L. HARTMAN, et al.,

Plaintiffs ,

V.

DIAMOND SHAMROCK CHEMICALS

COMPANY, et al.,

Defendants.

OCTOBER 4, 1991

a

A27

JUDGE: Jack B. Weinstein, United States District Judge.

WEINSTEIN, District Judge:

TABLE OF CONTENTS

i EE ee eee [A28]

A. Agent Orange litigation. .............. [A28]

B. The Settlement Agreement ............. [A35]

C. Dismissal of Opt-Out Claims ........... [A36]

Oe ee [A36]

II OPERATION OF THE SETTLEMENT FUND... [A38]

A. Veteran Payment Program ............. [A38]

B. Class Assistance Program ............. [A40]

i. Tee Peer: CLASS ACTION .......... [A42]

a fea ve ee tees [A42]

SS eee ee [A43]

EE ee [A47]

A. Subject Matter Jurisdiction............. [A47]

1. Adequacy of Notice of Removal........ [A48]

2. Court’s Retained Jurisdiction.......... [A49]

3. Court’s Power to Enforce Its Injunction ... [A51]

4. Federal Nature of Plaintiffs’ Claim ...... [A52]

5. Court’s Power to Order Removal ....... [A54]

EDI eee eee [A55]

EN ee [A56]

Wamueees«w«j sw ww. ww... ee ‘. [A59]

EEE ee ee ee [omitted]

Plaintiffs consist of two groups: first, those veterans and

family members within the class covered by the Agent Orange

class action pending in this court, and second, civilians claiming

A28

injury from Agent Orange who were never members of the class.

Defendants are the same as those in the class action.

The current suits began as state court actions in Texas. They

were removed to the federal court in Texas and then transferred

by the Multidistrict Panel to the Eastern District of New York.

Plaintiffs now seek to remand their actions to Texas state court

for lack of federal subject matter jurisdiction. Defendants move

to dismiss plaintiffs’ claims or for an injunction prohibiting

plaintiffs from continuing their actions.

As explained in this memorandum, the plaintiffs who are

members of the Agent Orange class must have their suits

dismissed; they are free to share in the proceeds of the class

action settlement to the extent they can demonstrate entitlement

under the distribution plans being administered by the court. As

it pertains to the civilian plaintiffs — who are not members of

the class — the plaintiffs’ motion to remand raises issues

concerning the scope of 28 U.S.C. § 1442(a)(1) that require

further consideration. These issues will be addressed in a

separate memorandum.

I. INTRODUCTION

A. Agent Orange Litigation: 1979-1984

The current controversy is part of a continuing litigation

whose first phase ended in settlement after six years of effort by

scores of lawyers and many court officers -- special masters,

magistrates, and judges. Among the hundreds of published and

unpublished decisions, see In re “Agent Orange” Prod. Liab.

Litig., 475 F.Supp. -928 (E.D.N.Y. 1979) (dismissing federal

constitutional and statutory claims, reserving possible federal

common law claims, denying motion to limit communications to

third parties); In re “Agent Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig., 506

F.Supp. 737 (E.D.N.Y. 1979) (finding subject matter jurisdiction

on basis of federal common law issues), rev'd, 635 F.2d 981 (2d

Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 1128, 102 S.Ct. 980 (1981);

In re “Agent Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig., 28 Fed. R. Serv. 2d

A29

(Callaghan) 993 (E.D.N.Y. 1980) (granting motion of terminally

ill plaintiff to videotape his own deposition); In re “Agent

Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig., 506 F.Supp. 750 (E.D.N.Y. 1980)

(ordering government to refrain from destruction of documents

pursuant to internal procedure); In re “Agent Orange” Prod.

Liab. Litig., 506 F.Supp. 753 (E.D.N.Y. 1980) (various orders

concerning modification of complaint and answers); In re “Agent

Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig., 506 F.Supp. 754 (E.D.N.Y. 1980)

(ordering videotaped deposition); In re “Agent Orange” Prod.

Liab. Litig., 506 F.Supp. 756 (E.D.N.Y. 1980) (establishing

agenda for status conference); Jn re “Agent Orange” Prod. Liab.

Litig., 506 F.Supp. 757 (E.D.N.Y. 1980) (requiring plaintiffs to

file individual notices to retain right to bring actions against

federal government); In re “Agent Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig.,

506 F.Supp. 762 (E.D.N.Y. 1980) (dismissing claims against

government as third-party defendant, establishing case

management plan, conditionally certifying Rule 23(b)(3) class,

and denying defendants’ motion for summary judgment); Jn re

“Agent Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig., 91 F.R.D. 616 (E.D.N.Y.

1981) (establishing committee to review procedures for

videotaped depositions); Jn re “Agent Orange” Prod. Liab.

Litig., 91 F.R.D. 618 (E.D.N.Y. 1981) (allowing motion to

amend caption, denying motion to amend complaint, denying

defendants’ motion for summary judgment on “government

contractor” defense); In re “Agent Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig.,

93 F.R.D. 514 (E.D.N.Y. 1982) (allowing defendant to proceed

with scheduled destruction of documents); Jn re “Agent Orange”

Prod. Liab. Litig., 534 F.Supp. 1046 (E.D.N.Y. 1982) (denying

reargument on dismissal of government as third-party defendant,

denying interlocutory appeal, provisionally dismissing claims

against non-manufacturer defendants, denying motion to form

steering committee for plaintiffs’ counsel, denying motion for

decertification of class, deferring decision on statute of

limitations issues, and establishing elements of government

contractor defense); Jn re “Agent Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig.,

537 F.Supp. 977 (E.D.N.Y. 1982) (provisionally dismissing

claims against non-manufacturer defendant); In re “Agent

Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig., 94 F.R.D. 173 (E.D.N.Y. 1982)

A30

(appointing special master to supervise discovery); In re “Agent

Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig., 544 F.Supp. 808 (E.D.N.Y. 1982)

(denying motion to disqualify defense attorneys; provisionally

dismissing claims against certain non-manufacturer defendants,

and denying motion to implead suppliers); Jn re “Agent Orange”

Prod. Liab. Litig., 95 F.R.D. 191 (E.D.N.Y. 1982) (clarifying

that denial of motion to implead suppliers was without prejudice);

In re “Agent Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig., 95 F.R.D. 192

(E.D.N.Y. 1982) (affirming special master’s ruling as to location

of depositions); In re “Agent Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig., 96

F.R.D. 578 (E.D.N.Y. 1983) (adopting special master’s

protective order for discovery of government documents); /n re

“Agent Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig., 96 F.R.D. 582 (E.D.N.Y.

1983) (rejecting first amendment challenge to protective order);

In re “Agent Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig., 96 F.R.D. 587

(E.D.N.Y. 1983) (adopting with modifications special master’s

order regarding videotaped depositions); Jn re “Agent Orange”

’ Prod. Liab. Litig., 97 F.R.D. 424 (E.D.N.Y. 1983) (adopting

protective order); In re “Agent Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig., 97

F.R.D. 424 (E.D.N.Y. 1983) (adopting special master’s

protective order for Department of Agriculture documents); /n re

“Agent Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig., 97 F.R.D. 427 (E.D.N.Y.

1983) (adopting special master’s procedures for discovery of

documents possibly subject to executive privilege); Jn re “Agent

Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig., 97 F.R.D. 541 (E.D.N.Y. 1983)

(denying interlocutory appeal of decision deferring certification

of class and determination of appropriate notice); Jn re “Agent

Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig., 97 F.R.D. 542 (E.D.N.Y. 1983)

(affirming special master’s denial of discovery request); Jn re

“Agent Orange” Prod. Liab. citig., 565 F.Supp. 1263

(E.D.N.Y. 1983) (granting summary judgment for four

defendants on government contractor defense; denying summary

judgment for other defendants); In re “Agent Orange” Prod.

Liab. Litig., 98 F.R.D. 522 (E.D.N.Y. 1983) (adopting order of

special master concerning discovery of government documents);

In re “Agent Orange” Prod. Liab. Litizg., 98 F.R.D. 539

(E.D.N.Y. 1983) (adopting special master’s order to unseal

documents in connection with summary judgment motions); Jn re

A31

“Agent Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig., 98 F.R.D. 554 (E.D.N.Y.

1983) (denying request for reconsideration of order to unseal

documents); In re “Agent Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig., 98 F.R.D.

557 (E.D.N.Y. 1983) (ordering special master to review

discovery decisions in light of court’s decision to try causality

and liability issues); In re “Agent Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig., 98

F.R.D. 558 (E.D.N.Y. 1983) (approving special master’s order

of additional discovery to clarify circumstances surrounding

document destruction); In re “Agent Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig.,

570 F.Supp. 693 (E.D.N.Y. 1983) (clarifying program for

discovery); In re “Agent Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig., 571

F.Supp. 481 (E.D.N.Y. 1983) (granting motion of law firm to

be relieved as lead counsel for plaintiffs and appointing new

plaintiffs’ management committee); In re “Agent Orange” Prod.

Liab. Litig., 99 F.R.D. 338 (E.D.N.Y. 1983) (approving

discovery recommendations of special master); In re “Agent

Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig., 99 F.R.D. 645 (E.D.N.Y. 1983)

(lifting prior protective order applying to government documents

obtained during discovery); In re “Agent Orange” Prod. Liab.

Litig., 100 F.R.D. 718 (E.D.N.Y.) (certifying Rule 23(b)(3) and

Rule 23(b)(1)(B) classes), appeal denied, 100 F.R.D. 735

(E.D.N.Y. 1983), mandamus denied, 725 F.2d 858 (2d Cir.

1984), aff'd, 818 F.2d 145 (2d Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 484

U.S. 1004, 108 S.Ct. 695 (1988); In re “Agent Orange” Prod.

Liab. Litig., 100 F.R.D. 778 (E.D.N.Y. 1984) (denying motion

to implead suppliers of chemical components); Jn re “Agent —

Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig., 580 F.Supp. 690 (E.D.N.Y. 1984)

(finding national consensus law on issues of liability, government

contractor defense and punitive damages); Jn re “Agent Orange”

Prod. Liab. Litig., 580 F.Supp. 1242 (E.D.N.Y.) (reinstating

third-party plaintiffs’ claim for indemnity against government

with respect to claims of veterans’ wives and children),

mandamus denied, 733 F.2d 10 (2d Cir.), appeal denied, 745

F.2d 161 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 465 U.S. 1067 (1984); In re

“Agent Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig., 101 F.R.D. 97 (E.D.N.Y.

1984) (ordering in camera disclosure of names of scientists

deleted from government report); Jn re “Agent Crange” Prod.

Liab. Litig., 597 F.Supp. 740 (E.D.N.Y. 1984) (approving

A32

settlement of ciass action subject to fairness hearings); Jn re

“Agent Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig., 603 F.Supp. 239 (E.D.N.Y.

1985) (dismissing claims of veterans’ wives and children against

government), aff’d in part, vacated in part, 818 F.2d 201 (2d

Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 484 U.S. 1004, 108 S.Ct. 695 (1988);

In re “Agent Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig., 104 F.R.D. 559

(E.D.N.Y. 1985) (modifying protective orders); Jn re “Agent

Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig., 105 F.R.D. 577 (E.D.N.Y. 1985)

(affirming with modification magistrate’s order that defendants

in two non-settled cases produce deponents); In re “Agent

Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig., 611 F.Supp. 1221 (E.D.N.Y. 1985)

(dismissing defendants’ claim for indemnity from government for

settlement payments to veterans’ families), aff'd, 818 F.2d 204

(2d Cir. 1987); In re “Agent Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig., 611

F.Supp. 1223 (E.D.N.Y. 1985) (ruling as to admissibility of

opt-out plaintiffs’ scientific evidence and expert testimony and

granting summary judgment in favor of defendants for plaintiffs’

failure to establish causation), aff'd, 818 F.2d 187 (2d Cir.

1987), cert. denied, 487 U.S. 1234 (1988); In re “Agent

Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig., 611 F.Supp. 1267 (E.D.N.Y. 1985)

(same), aff'd, 818 F.2d 187 (2d Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 487

U.S. 1234 (1988); In re “Agent Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig., 611

F.Supp. 1285 (E.D.N.Y. 1985) (dismissing action brought by

Hawaiian civilians), aff'd in part, vacated in part, 818 F.2d 210

(2d Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 484 U.S. 1004 (1988); In re “Agent

Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig., 611 F.Supp. 1290 (E.D.N.Y. 1985)

(dismissing claim of civilian physician for failure to demonstrate

exposure to herbicides), aff’d in part, vacated in part, 818 F.2d

210 (2d Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 484 U.S. 1004 (1988); In re

“Agent Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig., 611 F.Supp. 1296

(E.D.N.Y. 1985) (determining class-action plaintiffs’ attorney

fees and reaffirming settlement); aff’d in part, rev'd in part, 818

F.2d 226 (2d Cir. 1987); In re “Agent Orange” Prod. Liab.

Litig., 611 F.Supp. 1396 (E.D.N.Y. 1985) (establishing plan for

disbursement of settlement fund pending appeals), aff'd in part,

rev'd in part, 818 F.2d 179 (2d Cir. 1987); In re “Agent

Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig., 611 F.Supp. 1452 (E.D.N.Y. 1985)

(denying motion to set aside attorney fee-sharing arrangement),

A33

rev'd in part, 818 F.2d 216 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 484 U.S.

926 (1987); In re “Agent Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig., 618

F.Supp. 623 (E.D.N.Y. 1985) (approving settlement of class

action and dismissing with prejudice claims of class members);

In re “Agent Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig., 618 F.Supp. 625

(E.D.N.Y 1985) (approving plan for Australia and New

Zealand); In re “Agent Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig., 787 F.2d

822 (2d Cir. 1986) (dismissing claims of non-class plaintiffs

against defendant not named in complaints); In re “Agent

Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig., 800 F.2d 14 (2d Cir. 1986) (denying

motion to disqualify plaintiffs’ attorneys from appealing

settlement); In re “Agent Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig., 804 F.2d

19 (2d Cir. 1986) (denying repeal of stay on settlement funds

pending appeal); In re “Agent Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig., 689

F.Supp. 1250 (E.D.N.Y. 1988) (modifying class assistance

program as required by 818 F.2d 179 and granting opt-out

plaintiffs opportunity to opt into class for purposes of benefiting

from settlement fund).

Narratives of these events are in print. See, e.g., In re

“Agent Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig., 818 F.2d 145, 148-61 (2d

Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 484 U.S. 1004 (1988). Nevertheless, a

brief recapitulation of certain aspects of this history is desirable

as background to the current phase of the Agent Orange litigation

Saga.

While in the service of their country, hundreds of thousands

of military service personnel were exposed to the defoliant Agent

Orange, which contained trace elements of dioxin. Lawsuits on

behalf of veterans proliferated throughout the country starting in

1978. The suits — as much a demand for compensation as a

political protest of the treatment of Vietnam veterans by the

government and public at large — were brought against the

various manufacturers of defoliants, who in turn impleaded the

federal government. Between two and three million members of

the armed forces who served in or near Vietnam as well as their

families were potential plaintiffs.

A34

In 1979, the Judicial Panel on Multidistrict Litigation

transferred as MDL 381 over 600 cases involving about 15,000

plaintiffs to the Eastern District of New York for coordinated and

consolidated pretrial proceedings. In the initial proceedings of

MDL-381, the court denied defendants’ motion to dismiss for

lack of subject matter jurisdiction because the complaint raised

questions of federal common law. See 506 F.Supp. at 737. When

the Second Circuit Court of Appeals reversed this ruling, see Jn

re “Agent Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig., 635 F.2d 987 (2d Cir.

1980), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 1128 (1981), the litigation became

a Suit predicated on diversity jurisdiction.

In December of 1980, the court granted the federal

government’s motion to be dismissed as a third-party defendant

on the basis of sovereign immunity. 506 F.Supp. at 762. It also

denied plaintiffs’ motion to create a “limited fund” class action

under Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 23(b)(1)(B), and instead

indicated that it planned to certify a “common question” class

under Rule 23(b)(3). /d. In addition, the court denied the

defendants’ motion to dismiss on the ground that the production

of defoliants was ordered by, and met the specifications of, the

federal government (the “military contractor defense”). The court

indicated the defendants could later attempt to prove the

applicability of the defense. /d. Following discovery, the court

granted, but did not enter, summary judgment on the military

contractor defense for some but not all defendants. 565 F.Supp.

at 1263.

In December of 1983, the court certified two classes of

plaintiffs and scheduled a trial to commence in May of 1984. A

Rule 23(b)(3) class with opt-out rights was created to try the

fundamental common question of the causal relationship between

dioxin and plaintiffs’ injuries. 100 F.R.D. at 718. In addition, a

Rule 23(b)(1)(B) limited fund class without opt-out rights was

created to cover plaintiffs’ punitive damage claims. /d. The

23(b)(3) class was defined as

those persons who were in the United States, New

Zealand or Australian Armed Forces at any time from

iil

A35

1961 to 1972 who were injured while in or near

Vietnam by exposure to Agent Orange or other phenoxy

herbicides . . . . The class also includes spouses,

parents, and children of the veterans born before

January 1, 1984, directly or derivatively injured as a

result of the exposure.

Id. at 729. Pursuant to Rule 23(c)(2), the court ordered plaintiffs’

counsel to notify class members by mail where possible, and by

radio, television, magazine, and newspaper announcements

throughout this country, Australia, and New Zealand. The

mailings and announcements informed class members that they

would be bound by the class action unless they forwarded a

written request for exclusion to the clerk of the court by May 1,

1984. Id. at 732. Fewer than 2,500 servicepersons filed opt-out

requests. See 597 F.Supp. at 756.

B. The Settlement Agreement

On May 7, 1984, a tentative settlement was forged. Accord-

ing to its terms, the defendants agreed to pay the class $180

million in final settlement of all claims arising out of exposure to

Agent Orange then or in the future. Concerned with the potential

for new actions and recognizing the need for finality, the

Settlement Agreement expressly stated that “[tJhe class

specifically includes persons who have not yet manifested

injury.” 597 F.Supp. at 865.

The Settlement Agreement provided that the $180 million be

paid into a Settlement Fund to be established, maintained, and

administered by the court. The agreement also required the court

to retain jurisdiction over the Settlement Fund pending its final

disposition. /d. at 866. The exclusive remedy provided for all

class members was a claim against the Settlement Fund. Under

the Settlement Agreement, class members were forever barred

from instituting or maintaining an

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.