Opposition Brief — Kuhl v. Lincoln National Health Plan of Kansas City, Inc.
Supreme Court brief1994
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
In The
Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1993
MARY UHL. BUDDY KUHI
MARNIE K. KUHI
LINCOLN NATIONAL HI
OF KANSAS CIT’
Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Eighth Circuit
2
BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION
FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
.
MARK E. |
IK. (
bE. |
W aM E. Han:
Morrison & H
2600 Grand Avenue
Kansas City, Missouri 64108
§$16-691-2600
‘Counsel otf Recs
QUESTIONS PRESENTED
1. Whether the court of appeals correctly decided
that the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of
1974 (“ERISA”), 29 U.S.C. § 1001, ef seq., preempts state
law claims, including tort claims, against an ERISA plan
administrator?
2. Whether the district court and court of appeals
properly considered Lincoln National’s motion for sum-
mary judgment by reviewing the facts in the light most
favorable to petitioners?
LIST OF PARTIES
Petitioner Mary Kuhl
Petitioner Buddy Kuhl, Jr.
Petitioner Marnie K. Kuhl
Respondent Lincoln National Health Plan of Kansas City,
Inc.*
*The following corporations are related to Lincoln National
Health Plan of Kansas City, Inc.: Lincoln National Corporation
TakeCare, Inc; TakeCare Administrative Services Corporation
The Medical Protective Company; Lexington Insurance Com-
pany; Kansas Health Care Stabilization Fund; Kansas Medical
Mutual Insurance Company, on behalf of The Kansas Health
Care Provider Insurance Availability Plan; Reliance National
Insurance Company; National Union Fire Insurance Company;
American States Insurance Company; Chubb Group of Insur-
ance Companies.
TABLE OF CONTENTS ~— Continued
Page
F. The Eighth Circuit Correctly Ruled That
ERISA Preempts Petitioner Mary Kuhl’s Emo-
tional Distress Claim ....................... 25
H. THE COURT OF APPEALS PROPERLY CONSID-
ERED THE EVIDENCE IN AFFIRMING THE
DISTRICT COURT'S GRANT OF LINCOLN
NATIONAL’S MOTION FOR SUMMARY JUDG-
RUMNER eK cca ans hovau Ke val ee Wae oss poe Ewa cesar 26
A. There Exists No Issue Of Material Fact .... 26
B. The District Court’s Ruling Was Correct ... 28
C. The Eighth Circuit’s Ruling Was Correct... 29
CARI «hw eee ORs ob eh bene Kees tear PREN eee 30
, ;
} (
, (
P
jn 4
?
'
{
d
1980)
j
(Fite
PHORITTIES
;
4° ’ 4
} r
t
; ;
Te |
. * ®
yyv¥iet
‘
+f
j ‘
+O ) 4
i4
ryr } 4
*) >
/} 82 U.S
2 14 Ac
62.5 } Z2U 4
779 1
ie wi
}{ | {(1QOR6)
, TOA |
i
--— —
BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION
FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
This case involves claims made with respect to the
death of a participant in an ERISA-covered group health
plan. Respondent Lincoln National Health Plan of Kansas
City, Inc. (“Lincoln National”) was the plan administra-
tor. All relevant actions of Lincoln National were taken in
the course of determining whether benefits were payable
under the plan. Petitioners’ claims therefore are pre-
empted, and their arguments to the contrary defy this
Court’s well-established precedent, which has been
applied as recently as last.year to deny certiorari in a case
strikingly similar to this case. Accordingly, Lincoln
National respectfully requests that this Petition for Writ
of Certiorari to review the judgment of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit be denied.
STATUTES AND RULES INVOLVED
[his case involves the application of the preemptive
effect of the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of
1974, 29 U.S.C. § 1001, ef seq., particularly § 514(a), 29
U.S.C. § 1144(a).
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
A. Factual Background.
[here is no dispute as to any of the facts material to
the district court’s grant of summary judgment, and the
affirmance of that ruling by the Eighth Circuit Court of
Appeals.! Buddy Kuhl was an employee of Belger Car-
tage Services, Inc. (“Belger”), and was a participant in the
1! Lincoln National takes issue with many of the factual
characterizations made by petitioners. However, because
]
5
Belger Group Medical Plan (“Belger Plan”), a group med-
ical plen sponsored by Belger. Lincoln National was the
administrator of the Belger Plan, which is both an
“employee benefit plan” and an “employee welfare bene-
fit plan” within the meaning of ERISA. As the court of
appeals noted, “Lincoln National Health Plan is an ‘inde-
pendent physician’ HMO, which means that it pays inde-
pendent physicians, hospitals, and other health care
providers to render medical services for its members.”
See Petitioners’ Appendix (“P.App.”) at A-2. Mr. Kuhl
never was examined or treated by any physician or nurse
employed by Lincoln National, and Lincoln National
never rendered medical services to Mr. Kuhl. Lincoln
National’s responsibilities were limited to decisions
respecting the payment of claims or benefits under the
Belger Plan.
Mr. Kuhl, as a Belger employee, and his dependents,
Mary and Marnie Kuhl, agreed to the terms of and
became members in the Belger Plan. Pursuant to the
contract between Lincoln National and Beiger, Lincoln
National paid for medical services provided to Belger
employees according to the restrictions, limitations and
exclusions of the Belger Plan. As the court of appeals
highlighted, “Lincoln National is not contractually obli-
gated to pay for medical services rendered outside the
‘Service Area’ of the Lincoln National network or for
medical services rendered by personnel not participating
in the Lincoln National network.” P.App. at C-2. The
principal document governing the Belger Plan provided:
“Service Area” is the geographical area within
which HMO’s covered services are available.
petitioners cannot dispute any fact material to ERISA’s
preemptive scope, the extraneous factual allegations made by
petitioners will not be addressed here.
ee
3
This includes the counties of Jackson, Clay,
Platte, Cass, Buchanan, Ray and LaFayette in
Missouri and Johnson and Wyandotte in Kansas.
The Service Area may be revised by HMO
HMO deems necessary.
* + +
Except for Emergency Services as provided in
Section L,? these services and benefits are avail-
able only in the Service Area and only if, and to
the extent that, they are provided, prescribed, or
directed by a Plan Phy Sician in accordance with
the terms of the Group Medical and Hospital
Service Certificate.
[he district court ruled that “Lincoln National is not
obligated to automatically pay for medical services ren-
dered outside the ‘Service Area’ of the Lincoln National
network.” P.App. at C-2.
Lincoln National became involved with considering
whether payment would be authorized under the Belger
Plan for Mr. Kuhl’s proposed surgery at Barnes Hospital
(“Barnes”) of St. Louis, Missouri in June, 1989. At that
time, Barnes contacted Lincoln National to verify that the
Belger Plan would pay for Mr. Kuhl’s surgery scheduled
to take place on July 3, 1989. Lincoln National did not
initially certify benefits for the surgery because Barnes
was outside the Lincoln National “Service Area” as
defined by the Belger Plan.* Lincoln National, after fur-
ther consideration of Mr. Kuhl’s precertification request,
The “Emergency Services” exception, as defined in the
ee Plan, did not apply in this case.
Lincoln National offered a PPO (“preferred provider pro-
gram”) option under the Belger Plan, which provided benefits
regardless of whether a doctor or institution was a “preferred
provider”, although the amount of the benefit was less if a-plan
member chose a non-preferred provider. Mr. Kuhl did not
choose the PPO option, instead choosing Lincoln National's
authorized payment of benefits for the non-“Service
Area” surgery, but the surgery was not performed and
Mr. Kuh! died while awaiting a heart transplant. Pre-
sumably the physicians who in fact were caring for Mr.
Kuhl throughout this time period did not believe there
was a risk in the delay. Petitioners have not made any
claims against these parties.
As stated by the district court, “Lincoln National
conducts a precertification review of hospital admissions.
In the precertification review, Lincoln National deter-
mines whether a particular provider or hospitalization is
covered by the Plan.” P.App. at C-3. The precertification
procedure under which Mr. Kuhl’s surgery allegedly was
“cancelled” was a condition precedent to the payment of
benefits under the Belger Plan, and Lincoln National’s
precertification process was a claims administrative func-
tion under the Belger Plan. Lincoin National made such
decisions by reviewing coverage for benefits and deter-
mining whether a particular procedure or hospitalization
met the requirements of Lincoln National’s contract with
the employer and participant.
These facts, although ignored almost entirely by peti-
tioners in their attempt to characterize Lincoln National's
administrative actions as “medical malpractice”, are the
only facts material to the dispositive issue in this case -
ERISA preemption. Petitioners have not disputed any of
these material facts.
HMO option which provides a higher benefit percentage, but
only fer certain physicians and institutions within the Belger
Plan’s “Service Area.”
+.
B. Proceedings In The Lower Courts.
Petitioners originally filed suit against Lincoln
National in the Circuit Court of Jackson County, Mis
souri, alleging four causes of action: (1) medical malpra¢
tice; (2) tortious interference with contractual relations:
(3) intentional infliction of emotional! distress; and (4)
breach of contract.4 Petitioners did not allege that any of
their claims were made under ERISA
Lincoln National removed the case to federal court
pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1441(b) and ERISA‘s “complete
preemption doctrine.” Petitioners sought remand, argu
ing ERISA preemption did not apply. Lincoln National
opposed petitioners’ motion to remand, and subsequently
moved for summary judgment on the grounds of ERISA
preemption
1. The District Court’s Order In Kuhl |.
In an order dated December 26, 1991, the district
court granted Lincoln National's summary judgment
motion and denied petitioners’ motion to remand opeci
fix ally, the district court ruled that ERISA preempts peti
tioners’ alleged causes of action
Plaintiffs in this case do not make a direct « laim
for contractual benefits under the Group Medi
cal Plan. However, plaintiffs are asserting claims
that arise from the administration of that Plan
+ As set forth below petitioners filed two : eparate lawsuit
against Lincoln National. The first suit was captioned Mary
Kuhl, Marnie Kuhl, and Buddy Kuhl, |) Lincoln National Health
Plan of Kansas City, Inc., Case No. 91-0330-CV-W-9. and will be
referred to hereafter as “Kuhl I”. Petitioners also filed a second
suit captioned Mary Kuhl, Marnie Kuhl and Buddy Kuhl, |r
Lincoln National Health Plan of Kansas City, In Case No
91-1146-CV-W-9, which will be referred to hereafter as “Kuhl I]
6
According to the normal meaning of the statu-
tory words “relate to”, each of plaintiffs’ claims
“has a connection with” the Plan or, more speci-
fically, each claim “arises from the administra-
tion of the Plan.” Plaintiffs’ claims are based on
the manner in which Lincoln National
responded to the request for “Pre-certification”
of Buddy Kuhl’s heart surgery.
PApp. at C-15, 16 (emphasis in origina Phe district
court then concluded:
Artful pleading by characterizing Lincoln
National’s actions in refusing to pay for the
surgery as “cancellation” or by characterizing
the same administrative decisions as “malprac-
tice” does not change the fact that plaintiffs’
claims ere based on the contention that Lincoln
National improperly processed Kuhl’s claims for
medical benefits. Thus, plaintiffs’ claim “relate
to” the Plan and are preempted by § 514(a).
P.App. at C-16, 17. Finally, even though petitioners made
no attempt to allege a cause of action under ERISA, the
district court reviewed the complaint to determine if peti-
tioners could properly state an ERISA-based claim. After
discussing every potential subsection under which peti-
tioners even arguably could allege an ERISA-based cause
of action, the court determined no ERISA claim existed.
P.App. at C-21.°
5 Petitioners make no claim to this Court that the district
court or the court of appeals erred in determining that 29 U.S.C.
§ 1132(a)(3) does not provide for “extra-contractual relief,” and
do not seek certiorari to address this issue. Indeed, this Court’s
recent decision in Mertens v. Hewitt Assocs., 113 S. Ct. 2063
(1993), establishes that the rulings by the courts below were
correct.
7
2. Petitioners File Suit In Kuhl II.
On December 27, 1991, one day after the Court issued
its order in Kuhl I, petitioners filed suit in Kuhl II based
upon facts and circumstances identical to those in Kuhl I.
Petitioners alleged in their Kuhl I] complaint that Lincoln
National breached a fiduciary duty under ERISA.
Lincoln National moved to dismiss petitioners’ com-
plaint because, alternatively: (1) res judicata barred peti-
tioners’ claims; (2) petitioners had no cause of action
under ERISA for any alleged breach of fiduciary duty;
and (3) ERISA does not provide for extracontractual dam-
ages under 29 U.S.C. § 1132(a)(3).
3. Petitioners Move To Amend Their Complaint
In Kuhl I.
After the district court dismissed the case in Kuhl |
and entered judgment on Lincoln National’s behalf, peti-
tioners moved to amend their Kuhl | complaint. The
“amended” complaint in Kull I was identical to the com-
plaint filed by petitioners in Kuhl II, alleging a cause of
action under ERISA.
4. The District Court Denies Petitioners’
Motion To Amend In Kuhl I And Dismisses
Petitioners’ Complaint In Kuhl II.
Even after dismissing the Kull | complaint, the dis-
trict court held oral argument to consider, among other
issues: (1) petitioners’ motion that the court reconsider its
grant of summary judgment in Kuhl I; (2) petitioners’
motion to amend in Kuhl J; (3) petitioners’ claim that the
district court should have “recharacterized” their state
law claims in Kuhl I as claims under ERISA; and (4)
Lincoln National’s motion to dismiss in Kuhl IJ. At the
conclusion of oral argument, the district court thoroughly
8
reviewed each issue and entered judgment from the
bench. In addressing petitioners’ argument regarding the
scope of ERISA’s preemptive force during oral argument,
the district court stated:
It makes no difference whether defendant can
celled the surgery or caused it to be cancelled by
not agreeing to pay for it or by rescinding the
previous certification or agreement it would pay
for it. However one characterizes what hap
pened, the end result is that whatever Lincoln
National did it did in response to and as part of
the procedures under the plan that were
required before payment could be expected by
the plan for the surgical procedure that was
being contemplated. In fact, it was my beliet
that no matter how one characterizes the facts
advanced by the plaintiffs, the facts involve the
allegation or contention that defendant improp
erly processed a claim for benefits by doing
things that it shouldn’t have done, and/or not
doing things it should have done. In any event,
these actions were done by the administrator of
the plan in response to a request for a claim for
benefits.
The district court went on to deny petitioners’ motion to
amend in Kull 1. Additionally, the court granted Lincoln
National’s motion to dismiss the Kull II] complaint on
three grounds: (1) the final judgment in Kuhl I was res
judicata as to petitioners’ complaint in Kuhl II; (2) apply-
ing the same reasoning that warranted summary judg-
ment in Kuhl I, petitioners could state no claim under
ERISA for breach of fiduciary duty, and (3) the “the other
equitable relief” clause in 29 U.S.C. § 1132(a)(3) does not
include monetary damages.
5. The Eighth Circuit’s Ruling.
The Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals affirmed the
. district court’s judgments in favor of Lincoln National.
Y
Upon careful review of the facts, the Eighth Circuit held
that petitioners’ claims were preempted because all
actions taken by Lincoln National were performed in its
role as an ERISA plan administrator:
laking the facts in the light most favorable to
the Kuhls, as we must for purposes of Lincoln
National's motion for Summary judgment, we
are compelled to agree with the district court
Lincoln National became involved in the can-
cellation of the St. Louis surgery only after the
Barnes Hospital staff requested a precertifica-
tion review. Lincoln National’s admission that it
“cancelled” the surgery cannot be stretched to
imply that Lincoln National went beyond the
administration of benefits and undertook to pro-
vide Buddy Kuhl with medical advice. Although
the surgery in St. Louis was unquestionably can-
celled as a result of Lincoln National's decision
not to precertify payment, the decision not to
precertify payment relates directly to Lincoln
National's administration of benefits
App. at A-11. The Eighth Circuit also ruled that ERISA
preempts petitioner Mary Kuhl’s claim for intentional
infliction of emotional distress, citing Johnson v. District 2
Marine Eng’rs Beneficial Ass'n, 857 F.2d 514 (9th Cir. 1988)
and i-owell v. ( hesapeake and Potomac Tel. Co., 780 F.2d 419
(4th Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 476 U.S. 1170 (1986). Finally,
relying upon this Court’s decision in Mertens v. Hewitt
Assocs., 113 S. Ct. 2063 (1993), the Eighth Circuit ruled
that monetary damages are not available under section
1132(a)(3). The pending petition for certiorari followed
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT
[he dispositive issue in this case has been addressed
by this Court on several prior occasions: does ERISA
preempt a state law cause of action against an ERISA plan
10
administrator for alleged improper processing of a claim
for benetits? Because the answer to this question ts affir
mative, and because none of the facts material to the
application of ERISA’s preemptive scope are disputed,
the findings of preemption by both the district court and
court of appeals are correct as a matter of law
Moreover, petitioners have not demonstrated any
special or important reason why this Court should grant
their petition. Petitioners fail to present any decisions of
this Court or any other circuit court of appeals that
conthict with the decision below. Rather, the decisions of
both lower courts are consistent with established prece
dent trom this Court and other federal appellate courts
Relying primarily on a series of cases decided by this
Court, numerous courts uniformly have held that state
law claims of the nature alleged in this case are pre
empted. Further, this Court recently denied certiorari ina
case with issues similar, if not identical, to those present
here. Corcoran v. Untted Healthcare, Inc., 965 F.2d 1321 (5th
Cir.), cert. dented, 113 S. Ct. 812 (1992).
Petitioners also claim, without merit, that the lower
courts incorrectly applied the legal standard applicable to
motions for summary judgment. An examination of the
opinion below demonstrates that in evaluating Lincoln
National's motion, the court of appeals properly viewed
all material facts in the light most favorable to peti-
tioners, and that there is no dispute as to any fact mate-
rial to ERISA’s application.
1. THE COURT OF APPEALS PROPERLY FOLLOWED
THIS COURT’S PRIOR DECISIONS INTERPRET-
ING ERISA’S PREEMPTIVE SCOPE.
The decision of the court of appeals is legally correct
and consistent with prior decisions by this Court and
those of other circuit courts.
Petitioners try to deflect attention from Lincoln
National's administration of the Belger Plan by emphasiz
ing, alleged facts which are irrelevant to the issue of
whether ERISA preempts the state law claims. Petitioners
cite cases which are legally and factually insufficient to
support their petition. All Lincoln National's actions were
taken in relation to the administration of the Belger Plan
and, therefore, ERISA preempts petitioners’ alleged
causes of action
A. Substantial Precedent From This Court And
Other Circuit Courts Supports The Court Of
Appeals’ Decision.
[his Court has directly addressed the application of
ERISA’Ss preemptive scope E.g., Shaw v. Delta Atr Lines,
Inc., 463 U.S. 85 (1983). In Shaw, the Court ruled that New
York laws forbidding discrimination in employee benefit
plans on the basis of pregnancy, and a law requiring
employers to pay sick-leave benefits to employees unable
to work because of pregnancy, were preempted by ERISA
[his Court noted that “a law ‘relates to’ an employee
benefit plan, in the normal sense of the phrase, if it has a
connection with or reference to such a plan.” Id. at 96-97
Critically, the Court ruled that Congress used the “relate
to” language in 29 U.S.C. § 1144(a) in its broad sense
to preempt only state laws spec fic ally designed
to effect employee benefit plans would be to
ignore the remainder of § 514(a). It would have
been unnecessary to exempt generally applica
ble state criminal statutes from preemption from
§ 514(a), for example, if § 514(a) applied only to
state laws dealing specifically with ERISA plans
iLa
It was further observed in Shaw. based on
] ’ l a ~. » He BD aie ’ + °
legislative history, that the preemption clause was no
i
12
—
limited to matters specifically covered by ERISA, such as
reporting, fiduciary responsibilities and the like. Id. at 98.
ERISA preempts state laws that relate to employee benefit
plans regardless of whether they directly conflict with
substantive provisions of an ERISA plan. Id. By giving the
“relate to” phrase in § 514(a) its “broad, common-sense
meaning,” Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Massachusetts, 471
U.S. 724, 739 (1985), it is clear that state law claims,
including those in this case, are intended to be preempted
within the parameters of section 514.° This Court has
“repeatedly stated that a law ‘relates to’ a covered
employee benefit plan for purposes of § 514(a) ‘if it has a
connection with or reference to such a plan.’ ” District of
Columbia v. Greater Washington Bd. of Trade, 113 S. Ct. 580,
583 (1992) (quoting Shaw, 463 U.S. at 97 (1983)); see also
Ingersoll-Rand Co. v.. McClendon, 498 U.S. 133, 139 (1990);
‘MC Corp. v. Holliday, 498 U.S. 52, 58-59 (1990); Pilot Life
Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux, 481 U.S. 41, 47 (1987).
6 Indeed, the breadth of the preemptive effect of ERISA is
evidenced by Congress’ refusal to enact proposed legislation
which would have allowed preemption only of state laws
specifically dealing with employee benefit plans. See Shaw, 463
U.S. at 98-99, nn. 18, 19 and 20; Champion Int'l Corp. v. Brown, 731
F.2d 1406, 1409 (9th Cir. 1984) (broad preemption to prevent
conflicting and inconsistent state regulation); American
Progressive Life & Health Ins. Co. v. Corcoran, 715 F.2d 784, 786 (2d
Cir. 1983) (sweeping preemptive effect); Hotel and Restaurant
Employees and Bartenders Int'l Union Local 54 v. Danzinger, 709
F.2d 815, 830 (3d Cir. 1983) (preemption as broad as “relate to”
language), vacated on other grounds, 468 U.S. 491 (1984); Stone and
Webster Eng'g Corp. v. Ilsley, 690 F.2d 323, 329 (2d Cir. 1982)
(Section 1141(a) clearly eliminates the threat of conflicting or
inconsistent state laws), aff'd, 463 U.S. 1220 (1983); General
Motors Corp. v. Buha, 623 F.2d 455, 459 (6th Cir. 1980)
(preemption central to ERISA).
14
company is saying I’m not going to pay for it.
Now, that’s what insurance companies do all the
time . . . as I wrote in the first opinion, I don’t
think it makes any difference, actually, how you
characterize it... . Your view just doesn’t make
any sense to me because it isn’t supported by
any facts.
Regardless of how petitioners wish to characterize Lin-
coln National's action in connection with the precertifica-
tion request, the action taken by Lincoln National was in
connection with Lincoln National’s interpretation of ben-
efits afforded under the terms and conditions of the Bel-
ger Plan. As such, Lincoln National’s actions and
obligations are governed by ERISA and petitioners’ state
law claims are preempted.
B. The Eighth Circuit's Decision Does Not Conflict
With Any Supreme Court Decision.
Contrary to petitioners’ assertion, the Eighth Cir-
cuit’s decision does not conflict with any Supreme Court
decision. Petitioners’ reliance upon Mackey v. Lanier Col-
lections Agency, 486 U.S. 825 (1988) is simply misplaced.
Mackey already has been held by this Court to be distin-
guishable from, and therefore consistent with, the other
Supreme Court decisions relied upon by the Eighth Cir-
cuit.
In Mackey, this Court affirmed a Georgia Supreme
Court decision that a state statute barring garnishment of
ERISA welfare plan benefits was preempted, while the
general state garnishment law was not preempted. This
Court held the anti-garnishment statute’s “express refer-
ence to ERISA plans” suffices to bring it within the fed-
eral law’s preemptive reach. Id. at 830. With respect to the
general garnishment statute, however, this Court relied
15
on ERISA provisions and the statute's structure to con-
clude Congress did not intend to forbid state garnish-
ment procedures against welfare plans. Id. at 831.
In Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon, 498 U.S. 133
(1990), this Court held ERISA preempts a state common
law claim of wrongful discharge to prevent attairmment of
ERISA pension benefits. The Court noted that although it
had recognized certain limits to ERISA preemption, citing
Mackey and Ft. Halifax Packing Co. v. Coyne,” these limita-
tions were not applicable in the case before it:
We are not dealing here with a generally appli-
cable statute that makes no reference to, or
indeed functions irrespective of, the existence of
an ERISA plan. Nor is the cost of defending this
lawsuit a mere administrative burden. Here, the
existence of a pension plan is a critical factor in
establishing liability under the State’s wrongful
discharge law. As a result, this cause of action
relates not merely to pension benefits, but to the
essence of the pension plan itself.
Ingersoll-Rand, 498 U.S. at 139. Here, as in Ingersoll-Rand,
the existence of the Belger Plan not only is a critical
factor, but the only reason Lincoln National had any
dealings whatsoever with Mr. Kuhl. Because petitioners’
alleged causes Of action relate directly to the limitations,
restrictions and exclusions of the Belger Plan, they are
preempted by ERISA.
The Eighth Circuit explained why the limitation on
preemption recognized in Mackey is not applicable in the
present case:
Under Pilot Life, any state law claim that Buddy
Kuhl may have had against Lincoln National for
> 482 U.S. 1, 23 (1987) (holding that a state law which
required payment of severance benefits was not preempted
because the statute did not require the estaolishment or
maintenance of an ongoing plan).
16
its conduct in delaying the surgery scheduled
for July 6, 1989, arose from Lincoln National's
denial of benefits under the Belger Plan. The
Kuhls’ attempt to invoke Mackey and to charac-
terize their claims as merely tangentially related
to the Plan is unpersuasive. Accordingly, the
Kuhls’ state law claims through Buddy Kuhl
“relate to” the Belger Plan and are preempted by
ERISA.
P.App. at A-12. As in Ingersoll-Rand, the Court’s inquiry
in this case necessarily is directed to the Belger Plan,
because the action which forms the basis of the alleged
causes of action “arose from Lincoln National’s denial of
benefits under the Belger Plan.” P.App. A-12.
Petitioners rely on dicta in Mackey which lists “run of
the mill” state law claims not preempted by ERISA,
including claims against plans for unpaid rent, unpaid
attorneys’ fees, and libel. See Mackey, 486 U.S. at 833 n.8.
Petitioners’ characterization of the instant claim as within
the “run of the mill tort claim” category simply is without
support from the Mackey decision itself, or from the
Eighth Circuit. None of these examples is analogous here
because they are totally unrelated to the performance by
the detendant plan of any ERISA functions. The Eighth
Circuit referenced the Mackey list of “run of the mill”
state claims, P.App. at A-12, but concluded the case was
outside this category.
A cause of action for alleged medical negligence in
connection with a benefit determination is neither a “run
of the mill” state law claim, nor a “generally applicable”
cause of action that “functions irrespective of the exis-
tence of an ERISA plan.” Ingersoll-Rand, 498 U.S. at 139.
Thus, the Eighth Circuit’s conclusion that ERISA pre-
empts such a cause of action does not conflict with
Mackey, and there is no basis to claim that the decisions
are in conflict with one another.
17
C. As In Corcoran, Certiorari Is Not Warranted
Here.
his Court recently denied the petition for certiorari
‘tiled in a case with issues similar, if not identical, to those
present here. Corcoran v. United Healthcare, Inc., 965 F.2d
1321 (5th Cir), cert. dented, 113 S. Ct. 812 (1992). In Cor-
coran, plainti., ‘s obstetrician placed her in a category of
high risk pregnancy and ordered that she be hospitalized
so that he could monitor the fetus around the clock. In
accordance with the plan, the doctor sought precertifica-
tion from the administrator for the participant’s hospital
stay. The administrator solicited a second opinion on the
participant’s condition from another obstetrician who
advised that “the company would be at considerable risk
denying her doctor’s recommendation.” Id. at 1322.
Despite both doctors’ recommendations, the administra-
tor determined that hospitalization was not necessary
and refused to precertify the hospitalization, instead
authorizing payment for 10 hours per day of home nurs-
ing care. Upon learning that precertification was denied,
the participant left the hospital and returned home. Id. at
1324. Less than two weeks after returning home, during a
time when no nurse was on duty, the fetus went into
distress and died. Id.
Plaintiffs in Corcoran filed a wrongful death action in
state court, alleging that their unborn child died as a
result of various acts of negligence by the plan adminis-
trator and others. Defendant removed to federal court
pursuant to ERISA, and thereafter moved for summary
judgment. Id. As here, plaintiffs argued that the plan
administrator (“United”) made medical decisions, not
benefit determinations. The Fifth Circuit rejected this the-
ory:
18
In our view, United makes medical decisions as
part and parcel of its mandate to decide what
benefits are available under the Bell Plan.
When United’s actions are viewed from this per-
spective, it becomes apparent that the Corcorans
are attempting to recover for a tort allegedly
committed in the course of handling a benefit
determination. The nature of the benefit deter-
mination is different than the type of decision
that was at issue in Pilot Life, but it is a benefit
determination nonetheless. The principle of Pilot
Life that ERISA preempts state law claims alleg-
ing improper handling of benefit claims is broad
enough to cover the cause of action asserted
here.
Id. at 1324. Concluding that “the central purpose of the
lawsuit is to hold United liable for actions it took in
connection with its duties under the plan,” the Fifth
Circuit affirmed the district court’s grant of summary
judgment against plaintiffs. Id. at 1334.
The same reasons why this Court denied the result-
ing petition for certiorari in Corcoran apply here. In this
case, like Corcoran, petitioners seek to hold Lincoln
National liable for actions taken in connection with its
role as administrator of an ERISA plan. As in Corcoran,
Lincoln National initially denied the participant’s request
for payment of benefits, and second opinions of physi-
cians were reviewed in re-assessing the initial denial of
benefit payments. Further, the policies in favor of apply-
ing ERISA’s “unique preemptive force” are even stronger
in this case. As opposed to the Corcoran plan administra-
tor that did not necessarily rely upon an interpretation of
the applicable ERISA plan when making its decisions,
Lincoln National fully relied upon the restrictions and
exclusions of the Belger Plan to determine whether the
Plan provided benefits for a surgery to be performed by
19
non-participating doctors at a hospital outside the “Ser-
vice Area.” After concluding the Belger Plan did not
provide benefits in such a situation, Lincoln National
informed Barnes that it could not precertify the surgery.
Corcoran directly addresses, and rejects, petitioners’
contention that Lincoln National provided “medical treat-
ment” to Mr. Kuhl. Indeed, the Corcoran court ruled that
medical decisions occur “in the context of making a
determination about the availability of benefits under the
plan,” and therefore “relate to” an ERISA plan. Id. at
1311. Such a finding is further supported in this case,
where petitioners allege Lincoln National provided “neg-
ligent medical treatment” to Mr. Kuhl without any evi-
dence that Lincoln National provided any treatment to
Mr. Kuhl at all.
If arguments such as those advanced by petitioners
had any merit, this Court would have addressed them by
granting certiorari in Corcoran, where essentially the same
issues were presented for review. Just as Corcoran was
consistent with prior Supreme Court precedent, thereby
leaving no need for this Court to accept certiorari in that
case, this case presents no novel legal issue warranting
the grant of certiorari.
D. Federal Courts Consistently Rule That ERISA
Preempts Wrongful Death Claims for Medical
Malpractice.
Case law consistently establishes that ERISA pre-
empts wrongful death claims. Corcoran v. United Health
Care, Inc., 965 F.2d 1321 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, 113 S. Ct.
812 (19¢2); Holmes v. Pacific Mut. Life Ins. Co., 706 F. Supp.
733 (C.D. Cal. 1989); Settles v. Golden Rule Ins. Co., 715 F.
Supp. 1021 (D. Kan. 1989), aff'd, 927 F.2d 505 (10th Cir.
1991). Petitioners are unable to cite a single case from any
20
jurisdiction in which a wrongful death claim arising out
of plan administration was not preempted by ERISA, nor
can petitioners distinguish their wrongful death claim
from those preempted by ERISA in every other case to
have addressed the issue.
A wrongful death claim with facts strikingly similar
to the present case also was dismissed due to ERISA
preemption in Holmes v. Pacific Mut. Life Ins. Co., 706 F.
Supp. 733 (C.D. Cal. 1989). In Holmes, the plan participant
developed a liver disorder and made arrangements for
surgery to be performed. The defendant insurance com-
pany erroneously affirmed that it provided coverage for
the surgery. After arrangements for surgery had been
made, the medical center called to verify that the insurer
covered the cost of the surgery. This time the insurer
answered that it did not. After a delay, the surgery was
rescheduled. However, before another donor liver was
available, the participant died. Id. at 734.
Plaintiffs filed a wrongful death action in California
state court. Defendant removed to federal court and
moved for summary judgment because ERISA preempted
plaintiffs’ state law claims, which were based entirely on
representations made by the defendant acting in its
capacity as the plan’s administrator. Id.
The Holmes court reasoned that even if the state law
in question is one of general application and is not
designed to affect ERISA plans other than in an indirect
manner, it is preempted if it is caught within ERISA’s
“expansive sweep.” Id. at 736. The court also ruled that
ERISA requires preemption of actions against plan
administrators as well as plans themselves. Id. After
granting defendant's petition for removal, the court dis-
missed all plaintiffs’ causes of action.
21
In the present case, as in Holmes, a hospital which
scheduled a surgery to be performed called the plan
administrator to verify that benefits had been certified for
surgery and was informed that the surgery was not a
covered benefit under the plan. As in this case, the
patient in Holmes died before the surgery could be
rescheduled. Like Lincoln National, the defendant in
Holmes made an assessment directly relating to benefits
provided under an ERISA plan, and therefore the alleged
causes of action are preempted by ERISA.
The Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals also ruled that a
wrongful death cause of action was preempted by ERISA
in Settles v. Golden Rule Ins. Co., 715 F. Supp. 1021 (D. Kan.
1989), aff'd, 927 F.2d 505 (10th Cir. 1991). In Settles, after
notification that his coverage was terminated by his
ERISA plan administrator, plaintiff’s husband allegedly
suffered a heart attack and died as result of this notifica-
tion. Plaintiff filed an action against her late husband's
group health insurer, alleging causes of action (breach of
contract, outrage, fraudulent denial of coverage, and
wrongful death) similar to those alleged by petitioners in
this case. The district court, relying upon ERISA preemp-
tion, granted defendant’s motion to dismiss.
The Tenth Circuit ruled on appeal in Settles that
ERISA preempted all plaintiff’s claims:
Here the injury alleged was a direct result of the
termination of plan benefits and cannot be char-
acterized as “wholly remote from the benefit
plan” (citations omitted) . . . the factual basis for
each of plaintiff’s state law claims directly con-
cerns the alleged improper administration of the
benefit plan. Although plaintiff is not seeking
benefits under the insurance policy, her claims
22
require a finding that defendant wrongfully ter-
minated Mr. Settles’ insurance coverage. There-
fore, the claims relate to the employee benefit
plan.
Id. at 509.
Just as the Settles plaintiff claimed her husband's
death was caused “as a direct consequence of defendant's
action in terminating her husband’s health insurance,” id.
at 507, petitioners claim Mr. Kuhl’s death was caused as a
direct result of Lincoln National’s actions. In the present
case, as in Corcoran, Holmes and Settles, the injuries
alleged by petitioners are a direct result of supposed
improper handling of Mr. Kuhl’s claim for payment of
benefits to cover his contemplated surgery. Petitioners
have not cited a single case holding to the contrary and
Lincoln National has not found any such case. Every
applicable case leads to the conclusion that federal courts
have resolved this issue identically each time it is raised,
and there is no reason for the Court to grant certiorari
here.
E. The Eighth Circuit’s Decision Furthers The Pur-
poses Behind ERISA’s Preemption Provision.
In Mertens v. Hewitt Assocs., 113 S. Ct. 2063 (1993),
this Court recently expressed its reluctance to tamper
with the delicate balance crafted by Congress when
enacting ERISA:
There is, in other words, a “tension between the
primary [ERISA] goal of benefitting employees
and the subsidiary goal of containing pension
costs.” Alessi v. Raybestos-Mankattan, Inc., 451
U.S. 504, 515 (1981); see also Massachusetts Mut.
Life Ins. Co. v. Russell, 473 U.S. 134, 147 (1985);
we will not attempt to adjust the balance
between those competing goals that the text
adopted by Congress has struck.
23
Id. at 2072. By seeking reversal of the lower courts, peti-
tioners invite this Court not only to disrupt the statutory
scheme adopted by Congress, but also to undercut sub-
stantial precedent interpreting ERISA since its enactment.
Criticisms of ERISA’s preemptive scope should be
addressed to Congress and not this Court.
In enacting ERISA, Congress intended that “plans
and plan sponsors would be subject to a uniform body of
benefit law” and not subject to the “burdens of comply-
ing with conflicting directives among States or between
States and the Federal Government.” Ingersoll-Rand Co. v.
McClendon, 498 U.S. 133, 142 (1990). The Eighth Circuit's
ruling furthers this purpose by avoiding a decision that
could lead to the variant regulatory schemes Congress
sought to avoid. State laws that subject plans to inconsis-
tent regulations in different states, thereby increasing
inefficiency and potentially causing the plan to respond
by reducing benefit levels, consistently are preempted by
ERISA. See Corcoran v. United Health Care, Inc., 965 F.2d
1321, 1333 (5th Cir.) cert. denied, 113 S. Ct. 812 (1992). As
this Court stated in Ingersoll-Rand:
It is foreseeable that state courts, exercising
their common law powers, might develop differ-
ent substantive standards applicable to the same
employer conduct, requiring the tailoring of
plans and employer conduct to the peculiarities
of the law of each jurisdiction. Such an outcome
is fundamentally at odds with the goal of uni-
formity that Congress sought to implement.
498 U.S. at 143. Similarly, there is a significant risk that
state liability rules would be applied differently to the
conduct of utilization review companies in different
states. The cost of complying with varying substantive
standards would increase the cost of providing utilization
review services and ultimately would decrease the pool
24
of plan funds available to reimburse participants. See
Corcoran, 965 F.2d at 1333.
A plan administrator that makes a commitment to
pay certain benefits undertakes a host of obligations,
such as determining the eligibility of claimants, calculat-
ing benefit levels, monitoring the availability of funds for
benefit payments, and other tasks. The most efficient way
to meet these responsibilities is to establish a uniform
administrative scheme, which provides a set of standard
procedures to guide claims processing and benefit dis-
bursement. However, such a system is difficult, if not
impossible, to achieve if a plan administrator is subject to
liability beyond what is set forth in ERISA.
Clearly, if plan administrators are subjected to state
law claims, the resulting costs will be passed on to plans
in the form of higher fees and lower benefits, all to the .
detriment of the vast majority of persons covered by the
plans. With the national crisis facing this country in con-
nection with health care and its costs, the balance struck
by Congress in preempting claims such as those asserted
by petitioners in this case ultimately benefits all plan
participants. Subjecting a plan administrator to such
uncertainty introduces inefficiencies and vulnerabilities
that ultimately lead to reduced benefits in existing plans,
and to certain plan administrators refraining from offer-
~_
ing benefits at all. Shaw, 463 U.S. at 104.
Recognizing the threat of such uncertainty, Congress
intended ERISA’s preemptive scope to shield ERISA plan
administrators from unforeseen liabilities. This is critical
to the entire statutory scheme. H. R. Rep. No. 533, 93rd
Cong. Ist Sess. 8, reprinted in 1974 U.S. Code Cong. &
Admin. News 4639, 4646. Congress’ comprehensive legis-
lative scheme, including an integrated system of pro-
cedures for enforcement, is implicated in this case. It is
-
25
not for the courts to disturb the balance Congress deter-
mined appropriate. See Massachusetts Mut. Life Ins. Co. v.
Russell, 473 U.S. 134, 147 (1985).
F. The Eighth Circuit Correctly Ruled That ERISA
Preempts Petitioner Mary Kuhl’s Emotional Dis-
tress Claim.
Petitioners attempt to rely on one circuit court case,
Drinkwater v. Metropolitan Life Ins. Co., 846 F.2d 821 (lst
Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 488 U.S. 909 (1988), which purpor-
tedly conflicts with decisions of other circuit courts as to
whether emotional distress claims are preempted by
ERISA. Drinkwater is distinguishable under the law and
on its facts.
While Drinkwater did not preempt the emotional dis-
tress cause of action alleged in that case, the court nev-
ertheless entered summary judgment because plaintiff
neither alleged nor established that she suffered any
injury to support her emotional distress claim. Id. at 826.
lherefore, the language relied upon by petitioners in
Drinkwater addressing ERISA is dicta at best.
Further, the failure of the Drinkwater court to recog-
nize ERISA’s preemption of claims for emotional distress
places it directly at odds with virtually every other court
which has addressed this issue. See Powell v. Chesapeake
and Potomac Tel. Co., 780 F.2d 419 (4th Cir. 1985), cert.
denied, 476 U.S. 1170 (1986); Johnson v. District 2 Marine
Eng’rs Beneficial Assoc., 857 F.2d 514 (9th Cir. 1988).” In
® See also Meyer v. Employers Health Ins. Co., 722 F. Supp. 547
(E.D. Wis. 1989); Rollo v. Maxicare of Louisiana, Inc., 698 F. Supp.
111 (E.D. La. 1988); Pane v. RCA Corp., 667 F. Supp. 168 (D.N.J.
1987), aff'd, 868 F.2d 631 (3d Cir. 1989); Smith v. Electronical Data
Sys. Corp., 657 F. Supp. 1242 (D. Colo. 1987); Folz v. Marriott
Corp., 594 F. Supp. 1007 (W.D. Mo. 1984).
Powell, a case cited by both the Eighth Circuit and the
district court, plaintiff brought a claim for intentional
intliction of emotional distress against her former
employer and her former benefit plan. The Fourth Circuit
26
ruled that ERISA preempted plaintift’s claim:
Powell, 780 F.2d at 421. The application of ERISA’s broad
preemptive scope in Powell to claims against an HMO
that are identical to those of petitioners’ here provides
In this case, none of the state laws under which
(plaintiff) claims relief have any intrinsic con-
nection with employee benefit plans. The ques-
tion is therefore whether state law claims which
relate to the administration of an ERISA-gov-
erned plan, but which arise under general state
laws, which themselves have no impact on
employee benefit plans, are within the scope of
ERISA preemption. Given the “unparalleled
breadth of the preemption clause,” Holland v.
Burlington Indus., Inc., 772 F.2d 1140, 1147 (4th
Cir. 1985), and the broad remedial policies of
ERISA, we hold that state laws, insofar as they
are invoked by beneficiaries claiming relief for
injuries arising out of the administration of
employee benetit plans, “relate to” such plans
and, absent an applicable exemption, are pre-
empted by ERISA.
additional support for the Eighth Circuit’s ruling.
THE COURT OF APPEALS PROPERLY CONSID-
ERED THE EVIDENCE IN AFFIRMING THE DIS-
TRICT COURT'S GRANT OF LINCOLN
NATIONAL’S MOTION FOR SUMMARY JUDG-
MENT.
A. There Exists No Issue Of Material Fact.
In reviewing the district court’s decision to grant sum-
mary judgment, the court of appeals properly considered
+} +>)
‘ ‘
re? ’
>
;
>
| ¢’*T
; ‘*T
+ thy,
+
rns
‘ rEeT
9 {or
i iti
| >?
i¢
. ‘
¥ i)
VOTK
ver |
; r?
‘
rr |
+} aal
rye '
{ :
' ,
;
; ; ’
. ; ;
ryveore ‘**
4 ta ’
‘ ere
P mr rvs
> ,
. rt +}
as
‘
+>) > y
. +} y
‘
~~? ’
4
,» s*rTri?T
‘ +} + y
¢
,
YT rene
>
, tiy ot
y y |
ci ‘
} +
t’t ene
. +} y
y >
( | :
’ r ?
e Belger
SserTry é
rs not ft
I i >
connec
ERIS
28
National takes issue with many of the factual characteriz-
ations made by petitioners, none of the facts material to
ERISA’s application have been disputed. The courts
below correctly ruled that ERISA preempts petitioners’
claims
B. The District Court’s Ruling Was Correct.
The district court set forth an exhaustive analysis ot
the applicable tacts, law and the appropriate standard for
summary judgment in tts order. The district court was
well aware of the burden imposed upon a party moving
for summary judgment:
In ruling on a motion for summary judgment, it
is the court’s obligation to view the facts in the
light most favorable to the adverse party and to
allow the adverse party the benefit of all reason-
able interences to be drawn from the evidence.
Adickes v. S.H. Kress & Co., 398 U.S. 144, 157
(1970); Inland Oil and Trans. Co. v. United States,
600 F.2d 725, 727-28 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 444
U.S. 991 (1979)... . A genuine issue of material
tact exists “if the evidence is such that a reason-
able jury could return a verdict for the nonmov-
ing party.” Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 106
S.Ct. 2505, 2510 (1986) . . . The inquiry to be
made mirrors the standard for a directed ver-
dict: whether the evidence presented by the
party with the onus of proof is sufficient that a
jury could properly proceed to return a verdict
for that party. Anderson v. Liberty Lobby at 2511.
P.App. at C-7, 8.
Far from ignoring the appropriate summary judg-
ment standard, the district court took great pains both to
set forth the appropriate standard in its order, and to
apply that standard to the facts of this case.
EL ee |
a9
Additionally, six months after initially granting Lin-
coln National’s motion for summary judgment, the dis-
trict court entertained oral argument to further insure
that petitioners’ arguments had been thoroughly
analyzed. During the oral argument, the district court
again studied all factual and legal arguments raised by
petitioners and again dismissed their claims. Thus, peti
tioners’ contention that the district court erred in review-
ing the evidence ignores the painstaking steps taken by
the court to do exactly that
C. The Eighth Circuit’s Ruling Was Correct.
[he court of appeals also applied the correct stan-
dard in reviewing the district court’s grant of summary
judgment. The court of appeals expressly recognized its
obligation to view all inferences from the facts in the light
most favorable to petitioners. Even doing so, however,
the court of appeals ruled Lincoln National was entitled
to summary judgment:
faking the facts in the light most favorable to
the Kuhls, as we must for purposes of Lincoln
National’s motion for summary judgment, we
are compelled to agree with the district court.
P App. at A-11.
Petitioners claim that the Eighth Circuit was disin-
genuous by “repeating the maxim” regarding the stan-
dard for summary judgment but then “flatly reject[ing]
the facts averred by the Kuhls.” Petitioners’ Brief at 23.
Not only does petitioners’ argument improperly dispar-
age the court of appeals, it also has no basis in law or
fact. The lower court properly focused on those facts
material to Lincoln National’s motion for summary judg-
ment, and correctly ruled there was no dispute as to any
such fact. While petitioners make much of the testimony
30
of Dr. Levi, the Eighth Circuit correctly noted that there is
no evidence that Mr. Kuhl sought medical treatment from
Lincoln Nationai at any time. Further, the court’s review
of the record made “clear that [Mr. Kuhl] was not under
the misconception that Lincoln National had taken the
place of his treating physicians. ...” P.App. at A-12. This
additional tinding demonstrates that the court of appeals
properly considered all evidence and correctly affirmed
the judgment of the district court.
CONCLUSION
For the reasons stated herein, the Petition for Writ of
Certiorari to the United States Court of Appeals for the
Eighth Circuit by Petitioners Mary Kuhl, Buddy Kuhl, Jr.
and Marnie K. Kuhl should be denied.
Respectfully submitted,
Mark E. JOHNSON
R. CHRISTOPHER ABELI
Terry L. Tyrreti
WittiAmM E. HANNA
Morrison & HecCKER
2600 Grand Avenue
Kansas City, Missouri 64108-4606
(816) 691-2600
(FAX) 474-4208
Attorneys for Respondent
Lincoln National Health Plan
of Kansas City, Inc.
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.