Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Triem v. Tamico, Inc.

Supreme Court brief1995

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Buprems Court, US.

ee et Bee

95161 JAN 10 19%

/

No.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1994

FRED W. TRIEM and DAVID A. BERG,

Petitioners,

TAMICO, INC.,

Respondent,

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

Supreme Court of Alaska

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Fred W. Triem

David A. Berg

Box 129

Petersburg, Alaska

99833-0129

(907) 772-3917

In Propria Persona

a ne LS

She etry IY

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Do state courts have jurisdiction that is concurrent

with that of the federal courts to hear admiralty and mari-

time cases—such as this case of maritin » salvage?

2. Does the Saving to Suitors Clause’ of 28 U.S.C. §

1333(1) create a concurrent jurisdiction in state courts that

allows them to try admiralty and maritime cases?

3. Was the historical purpose of the Saving to Suitors

Clause merely to cure the abuses’ of the pre-Revolutionary

War admiralty courts?

4. Is the true meaning of the Saving to Suitors Clause

found in Justice Field's explanation that it only preserves

a common law remedy but not in a common law court?

* The Saving to Suitors Clause derives from Section 9 of the

Judiciary Act of 1789; full text of original and modern versions is

set out at pages 23-24 of the Appendix.

* The two abuses were denial of jury trials and denial of trial in

a local vicinage.

° The Moses Taylor, 71 U.S. (4 Wall.) 411, 431, 19 L.Ed. 397, 402

(1867) (only case in which the Supreme Court has directly em-

braced this issue: what the Clause really means).

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

QUESTIONS PRESENTED .............eeee. i

vy (8 Bs tt gy > p> Se ere ae ii

pe oP Bs) a lige. 8: ig y | >: peer ne iii

Geet EAETE . o vcvcvnteccéssbssiedeeeu 1

Fe ook cok c'n oko ods bs Lae 1

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION

P12 od keg -. Serres pine ere T 2

SIATEMeN: OF THE CABE ooccccssccceuss 2

REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE OF WRIT... 4

I. EXORDIUM: THE ADMIRALTY JURISDIC-

Sat Ee MEE ED 946 440000 8 8ae se 10

II. ALASKA’S JUDICIAL POLICY OF HEARING

ADMIRALTY CASES IN THE STATE

COURTS VIOLATES THE ADMIRALTY

CLAUSE OF THE CONSTITUTION ....... 19

III. THE TRUE MEANING OF THE SAVING TO

SUITORS CLAUSE NEEDS TO BE SETTLED . 24

IV. CODA: SUMMARY DISPOSITION BY RE-

WIRES 06's Ko. 0x xo 0s dee eee ket

CRP Re | vos Kane bond ke@ee aces eee 29

SEE a eee infra

ee, ale

Cee eel

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

A Raft of Spars, 20 Fed.Cas. 173 (No. 11,529)

SD sc cee pupend cvccene

Alyeska Pipeline Service Co. v. Anderson, 629 P.2d

asians, Vig eke bbeonss e6eees

Barber v. New England Fish Co., 510 P.2d 806

Rieke a Wet tecl eee ds dese eee

Bass v. Five Negro Slaves and A Canoe, Fed. Cas.

DE SERS BED oc ncoccvesvevsevecese

Brevoor v. The Fair American, 1 Pet. Adm. Rep.

87, 4 F. Cas. 73 (D.Pa. 1800) (No. 1,847) .....

Bjornson v. U.S. Dominator, Inc., __. P..2d ___

(Supreme Court of Alaska, Opinion No. 4023,

eR

Broere v. Two Thousand One Hundred Thirty-

Three Dollars, 72 F.Supp 115 (E.D.N.Y. 1947) .

Cobb Coin v. Unidentified, Wrecked, & Abandoned

Sailing Vessel, 525 F.Supp. 186 (S.D. Fla.

eine abcd ee besaeercdceeyesets

Colby v. Todd Packing Co., 77 F.Supp. 956, 12

Alaska 1, 1948 A.M.C. 1881 (D.Alaska 1948) ..

Cowin v. Bressler, 741 F.2d 410 (D.C. Cir. 1982) .

Dahle v. Atlantic Richfield Co., 725 P.2d 1069

A eer eee ee eee eee eee

DeLovio v. Boit, 7 F. Cas. 418 (C.C.D.Mass. 1815)

ee eva w ye peeesereves

Estate of Rhyner v. Farm Credit Bank of Spokane,

700 P.2a 1001 (Alaska 1969) ...............

PAGE

23

~]

11

21

iv

F/V America Eagle v. State, 620 P.2d 657 (Alaska

PO re rr ee re oe ee 20

50,000 Feet of Timber, 9 Fed.Cas. 47 (D.C. Mass.

1073) Cena) Cee. SD oes ok cnc ndenaxice 7

Florida Dept. of State v. Treasure Salvors, Inc.,

458 U.S. 670, 102 S.Ct. 3304, 73 L.Ed.2d 1057

CRED obs cukddavedeileccesene ae 8

i sgelman v. Tidewater Barges, Inc., 7 47 F.Supp.

ae Ge i Be ao 6d 0 osae eieee 27

Garder v. Ninety-Nine Gold Coins, 111 F. 552

CE ee SE a v's vn doe Uiloeie babe eee

Ghen v. Rich, 8 F. 159 (D.Mass. 1881)........

Glass v. The Sloop Betsy, 3 Dallas 6, 1 L.Ed. 485

CTO. Cee, Sibe a oan cvdkukessdeabaseess 18

Great West Seafoods v. Seward Shipyard, Inc.,

Case No. 3AN-91-4255 CI, (reported in Alaska

Journal of Commerce, 12 April 1993, at page

OF tkaecacecentvabeditsaeriestentne 22

Hollingsworth v. Seventy Doubloons & Three

Small Pieces of Gold, Fed.Cas. No. 6,620 (D.C.

FO SE chs dpeacivauneekeudien teens 7

In re: The Glacier Bay, 746 F.Supp. 1379 (D.

pi PP err rrr rere 22

Insurance Company v. Dunham, 78 U.S. (11 Wall.)

eS Be 8 8. os errr rere sr ere 11

Mark v. South Continental Insurance Agency,

Inc., 1978 A.M. 519 (D.P.R. 1976) .......... 6

Maxwell v. Olsen, 468 P.2d 48 (Alaska 1970) .... 20, 22

O’Neill v. Schoenbrod, 355 So.2d 440 (Fla.App.

1978) appeal dismissed, 359 So.2d 1218 (Fla.

SOG vi ccakesvie theless alee 6, 23

Vv

Merritt & Chapman Derrick v. Tice, 103 N.Y.S.

rere eee 23

Reynolds v. Browning, Wells & Co., 231 N.Y.S.

ee ee: Se ES ake ck ence seeaweedeese

Shannon v. City of Anchorage, 478 P.2d 815

SE ie sae pd iwerund vacwsapee sins 20

State v. F/V Baranof, 677 P.2d 1245 (Alaska 1984) . 21

Thames Shipyard & Repair Co. v. Willametz, 428

A.2d 1143 (Conn.Super. 1978) .............. 23

The Catherina, 23 F.Cas. pp. 1028, 1030 (D.Pa.

See asi dG es ae ctedsabeac dacs 12

The Hine v. Trevor, 71 U.S. (4 Wall.) 555, 18 L.Ed.

EE wk Vicsscudsab obs sie en dete snewse's 19

The Moses Taylor, 71 U.S. (4 Wall.) 411, 19 L.Ed.

See EE Ciscb ced vier dcnaseseeetivivaseys i, 19

U.S. Dominator, Inc. v. Factory Ship Robert E.

Resoff, 768 F.2d 1099 (9th Cir. 1985)....... 22, 23

Wiggins v. 1100 Tons, More or Less, of Italian

Marble, 186 F.Supp 452, 1960 A.M.C. 1774

Ce | Seer ee, Pee eee 8

Williams v. Eckert, 643 P.2d 991 (Alaska 1982)... 21, 22

Other Authorities

Admiralty Clause, U.S. Constitution, Article III,

I ee ckecéckecenes passim

Judiciary Act of 1789, 1 Stat. 73............. passim

28 U.S.C. §1333(1) (Saving to Suitors Clause, cur-

Se EE Scenes ehasusueseeennsies passim

Salvage Act of 1912, 37 Stat. 242 (1912), codified

Oe Oe. Se POTD odbc coccendcncsvessns 8

vi

Supreme Court Rule 10.1(c)..........+.eeeeees 28

Comment, “Extending Admiralty Jurisdiction over

Nonmaritime Property: Ascertaining the Sal-

vor’s Possessory and Proprietary Rights to

Sunken Aircraft,” 15 Pacific Law J., 977, at

986-000, SOB-GOG CIUBE) vcccccwvccscvvscceces 6

2 Am.Jur. 2d ADMIRALTY, §14 (1962)....... 26

68 Am.Jur. 2d, Salvage §40, at 343........... 24

78 C.J.8., Salvage, $161, O6 GOS . 25 cccsccvccees 24, 25

Grey, Origins of the Unwritten Constitution:

Fundamental Law in American Revolutionary

Thought, 30 Stan.L.Rev. 8438, 870 (1978) .... 11

Norris, The Law of Salvage, §14 (1980)........ 26

D. Owen, “Some Legal Troubles With Treasure:

Jurisdiction and Salvage,” 15 J.Mar.L. & Com.

130, at 148 (ORR in cce ceed tiaeee i cie seers 8, 25

Robertson, Admiralty and Federalism, 126 (1970) . 26

Charles Warren, Congress, The Constitution, and

The Supreme Court, (2nd ed. 1935)........ 13

1 Farrand, Records of the Federal Convention, 124

(1911) ..0ccccndap ou eeeeeeeE ES obs este 14

3 Elliott’s, Debates 582 (2d ed. 1900).......... 14

3 Elliott’s Debates 571 (1788) ...........-ecee- - 45

Hamilton, The Federalist, No. LXXX (1788)... 14, 15

J. Frederick Bausman, Admiralty and Maritime

Jurisdiction, 36 Amer.L.Rev. 182, 187-88

(1902) ...cscesduneb es eee een aaes 17, 27, 28

Peg a ee ee ee et

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1993

FRED W. TRIEM. DAVID A. BERG. and

Petitioners,

Vv.

TAMICO, INC.,

Respondent.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the Superior

Court, First Judicial District, at Petersburg, Alaska

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

SBEST AVAILABLE COPY

1

Petitioners respectfully pray that a writ of certiorari

issue to review the judgment and decision of the Superior

Court for the First Judicial District at Petersburg, Alaska

that was entered in this cause on 13 July 1993.

OPINIONS BELOW

The trial court's memorandum opinion of the District

Court for the First Judicial District at Petersburg, Hon.

Thomas E. Schulz, Presiding Judge, of 4 May 1992 has not

been reported. It is reprinted in the appendix below at

App. 1.

The appellate opinion of the Superior Court, Hon.

Walter L. Carpeneti, for the First Judicial District at

Petersburg is not reported. It appears in the appendix be-

low at App. 7.

The Order of the Supreme Court of Alaska that denied

a Petition for Hearing (discretionary review) was entered on

16 September 1993. It is not reported. It consists of only

two sentences: "It is ordered: the Petition for Hearing filed

on August 13, 1993 is denied. Entered at the direction of

the Supreme Court on September 16, 1993." (signed) Clerk

of the Appellate Courts.

JURISDICTION

The original judgment in this case was signed by Hon.

Thomas E. Schulz on 2 October 1991 and filed by the Clerk

of Court in Petersburg on 8 October 1991. After timely

motions for reconsideration and for relief from judgment

were denied, and after a timely appeal was noted and heard

in the Superior Court, the Supreme Court of Alaska denied

a Petition for Hearing on 16 September 1993.

Associate Justice O'Connor approved an application for

an extension of time within which to file a Petition for Writ

2

of Certiorari in an order signed on 7 December 1993, which

extended the time to file this Petition to and including

10 January 1994.

The jurisdiction of this Court to review the judgment of

the state court below is invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §

1257(a) ("where any ... right, ... is specially set up or

claimed under the Constitution or the treaties or statutes

... of the United States").

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION AND STATUTES

(See Appendix)

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This is a case about judicial piracy. This is a classical

maritime salvage case—raising a sunken object from the

ocean floor—truly an admiralty case in every historical

sense of the term. This lawsuit should have been tried in a

court of admiralty, in a federal court. But it got shanghaied

into a state court proceeding by Alaska's judicial policy of

hearing admiralty and maritime cases in state courts rather

than in federal courts.

Petitioners objected to the state court's false claim of

subject matter jurisdiction. They made the argument in the

trial court and they repeated it on appeal. They explained

that the federal court's jurisdiction to hear admiralty and

maritime cases is grounded in Article III of the Constitu-

tion; that maritime salvage cases have always been tried in

courts of admira!ty since time immemorial; and that the

Saving to Suitors Clause does not create in the state courts

a concurrent jurisdiction to hear such cases, but merely pre-

serves a common law remedy though not in a common law

court. Petitioners lost because Alaska's courts routinely ig-

nore the Admiralty Clause.

3

(A) Salvage of Sunken Airplane: This litigation arose

from the maritime salvage of a sunken airplane that had

made a forced landing in the shipping channel of the

Wrangell Narrows, which is Southeast Alaska's primary

north-south maritime highway.

The airplane, a vintage DC-3 that was built during

World War II, was on an international flight in June 1989

from Fairbanks, Alaska through Canadian airspace to Cali-

fornia, when it stopped in Petersburg, Alaska, to refuel. As

it was taking off from the Petersburg airport to continue its

journey south, the DC-3's aileron cable broke and the pilot

lost control. He then chose to make an emergency landing

into the well-traveled waters of the Wrangell Narrows,

probably to avoid a less comfortable landing in the sur-

rounding mountains nearby. Please see Exhibits A and B,

which are photographs of the salvage operation and which

depict the channel and surrounding terrain. [Exhibits A and

B appear in the Appendix herein.)

After the flight crew ditched the plane and were picked

up by a passing fishing boat, the plane sank in the main

shipping channel of the Wrangell Narrows in about 17

fathoms of salt water.

Petitioners David Berg and Fred Triem who are Peters-

burg’s travel agent and attorney, respectively, grew up in

aviation families and developed a reverence for antique air-

craft. So they set out to save the DC-3, which had been

named "Dixie" by her former owners in Fairbanks, where

she had served for decades flying in the Interior of Alaska.

Petitioners were able to locate the approximate position of

the sunken aircraft by flying over the Wrangell Narrows at

a low altitude and observing the sheen on the water caused

by the aviation fuel escaping from the DC-3's fuel tanks.

Messrs. Berg and Triem then found the exact location of the

3

plane by dragging the bottom with a grappling hook, aided

by the use of a depth finder. A diver then affixed a buoy to

the plane and petitioners temporarily retreated to their

offices in Petersburg, where they incorporated Petersbu:z

Aircraft Salvors, Inc. [PAS], the third petitioner.‘

(B) The Contract for Maritime Salvage: After Petitioners’

diver had attached a buoy to the sunken plane, Petersburg

Aircraft Salvors, Inc. entered into a contact with Tamico,

Inc. to salvage the airplane, to raise it to the surface and to

tow it to shore. One of Tamico's employees made a pre-

salvage estimate of $3,000.00 to salvage the plane. But just

as Tamico's tow boat, barge, and crane were about to leave

the dock and sail for the salvage site, Tamico presented

PAS with a written contract calling for an hourly rate of

$400.00 per hour to be "paid regardless of the success of the

salvage operation.” Contract between PAS, Inc. and Tamico,

Inc. of 5 July 1989. The salvage operation continued over

parts of two days, and successfully ended when the plane

was deposited on Petersburg's seaplane ramp and towed up

onto dry land. Several days later, Tamico sent PAS a bill

for $14,600, more than twice the estimated cost of the sal-

vage operation. PAS protested; Tamico persisted; and this

lawsuit followed when Tamico sued PAS and its two in-

corporators, Fred Triem and Dave Berg.

(C) State Court Litigation About the Salvage of the Air-

plane: On 8 October 1991, the district court entered a judg-

ment against the petitioners, which had been signed by

Judge Schulz in Ketchikan, Alaska on 2 October 1991. [The

judgment is set out in the Appendix below at App. 22). The

* Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 29.1, Petitioners state that

there are no parent companies or subsidiaries of Petersburg

Aircraft Salvors, Inc. They believe the same statement can be

made about Tamico, Inc., the respondent herein.

5

petitioners filed a timely Defendants’ Motion to Reconsider

on 21 October 1991, which protested that only the federal

court sitting in admiralty has jurisdiction to hear a case

such as this of maritime salvage. The trial court granted re-

consideration and indicated that it would treat the Motion

to Reconsider as a motion for relief from judgment. The

petitioners also filed Defendants’ Motion for Relief from

Judgment on 20 December 1991, which explained in abys-

mal detail why the Constitution prevents the state court

from trying this case: Article III confers exclusive jurisdic-

tion upon the federal district court sitting in admiralty.

On 4 May 1992, Judge Schulz entered an oral decision

on the record that decided: "In conclusion, I find the court

had jurisdiction for the judgment in this case" and he

denied the Motion for Relief from Judgment. App. 6. [The

full text of that decision is set out in the Appendix below.]

The petitioners noted a timely appeal from the district

court to the superior court. On appeal, the petitioners re-

newed their constitutional argument that maritime salvage

cases are within the exclusive jurisdiction of the federal

court sitting in admiralty. Again, the state court rejected

this argument and affirmed the trial court's claim of subject

matter jurisdiction. Judge Carpeneti, another superior court

located in Juneau, rendered the decision on appeal on 13

July 1993.°

® It is a quirk of Alaska Law that this "appeal" was actually no

more than a review of the decision of one superior court judge

(Judge Schulz, the Presiding Judge) by another superior court

judge in his own district (Judge Carpeneti). In fact, the trial

judge outranked the appellate judge. Under Alaska law, the

defendant in a civil action filed in district court can take a direct

appeal only to the superior court, not to the Supreme Court. AS

22.05.010(b); AS 22.10.020. Because Tamico filed this case in

(continued...)

6

After filing a timely request in the Supreme Court of

Alaska to enlarge the time to seek discretionary review in

that court and after more time was granted, the petitioners

filed a Petition for Hearing in the Supreme Court of Alaska

on 13 August 1993. Attached to that Petition were two

cases that are squarely on point and set out an indefeasible

argument why the state court does not have jurisdiction to

hear a case of maritime salvage.°

On 16 September 1993, the Supreme Court of Alaska en-

tered an order denying the Petition for Hearing. With that,

the losing defendants exhausted all of their appellate rem-

edies under state law. The Alaska courts are adamant: they

can hear admiralty and maritime cases—or so they believe.

Although this Petition for Certiorari was due in mid-De-

cember, Justice O'Connor kindly extended the time for fil-

ing it until 10 January 1994.

® (...continued)

district court, the defendants had no right of appeal to the

Supreme Court. Jd. Although not enshrined in the Constitution,

there is a right of appeal that has two elements: (a) appeal to a

higher court, and (b) review by a multi-judge panel. Harlon Leigh

Dalton, "Taking the Right to Appeal (More or Less) Seriously,” 95

Yale L.J. 62, 66 (1985).

® These two cases are O'Neill v. Schoenbrod, 355 So.2d 440

(Fla.App. 1978) appeal dismissed, 359 So.2d 1218 (Fla. 1978)

(only federal courts sitting in admiralty have jurisdiction to hear

salvage cases; it matters not that the plaintiff brought his action

in personam instead of in rem); Mark v. South Continental

Insurance Agency, Inc., 1978 A.M. 519 (D.P.R. 1976) (federal court

sitting in admiralty has jurisdiction to hear maritime salvage

case involving salvage of sunken land-based aircraft from

navigable waters). The Mark case is discussed in an exciting law

review article about the maritime salvage of sunken aircraft.

Comment, "Extending Admiralty Jurisdiction over Non maritime

Property: Ascertaining the Salvor's Possessory and Proprietary

Rights to Sunken Aircraft,” 15 Pacific Law J., 977, at 986-990,

993-994 (1984).

7

(D) A Paradigm for Admiralty Jurisdiction: The author

of a textbook would have to search long to find a better

example of a classical admiralty case than the instant case.

There are at least five reasons why this case is a paradigm

for the exclusive jurisdiction of the federal court sitting in

admiralty:

(1) Maritime Location: The sunken airplane landed in

ocean water, the navigable waters of the United States,

smack in the middle of a major shipping lane.

(2) Maritime Subject Matter: The raising of a sunken

object is a classical form of maritime salvage and has

always been a subject within the exclusive jurisdiction of

courts of admiralty.’

” Admiralty law does not require that maritime salvage necessar-

ily involve either a vessel or its cargo. The term "salvage" is much

broader in its reach. For example, see Colby v. Todd Packing Co.,

77 F.Supp. 956, 12 Alaska 1, 1948 A.M.C. 1881 (D.Alaska 1948)

(salvage claim for recovery of floating fish traps); A Raft of Spars,

20 Fed.Cas. 173 (No. 11,529) (S.D.N.Y. 1849) (lumber); 50,000

Feet of Timber, 9 Fed.Cas. 47 (D.C. Mass. 1871) (No. 4,783)

(timber).

Other examples that illustrate the wide range of objects that

can become the subject of a maritime salvage action are demon-

strated in the following cases: Hollingsworth v. Seventy Dou-

bloons & Three Small Pieces of Gold, Fed.Cas. No. 6,620 (D.C.Pa.

1820) (box floating in the ocean and containing specie); Garder v.

Ninety-Nine Gold Coins, 111 F. 552 (D.C.Mass 1899) (also specie);

Broere v. Two Thousand One Hundred Thirty-Three Dollars, 72

F.Supp 115 (E.D.N.Y. 1947) (money found on a dead body found

floating in the water). An extreme example is presented by an

early American admiralty case, Bass v. Five Negro Slaves and A

Canoe, Fed.Cas. No. 1,093 (D.S.C. 1803), where salvage was

awarded for the recovery (i.e., capture) of escaping slaves, who

had been found adrift in the Gulf stream.

The admiralty will recognize a claim for salvage, regardless of

whether the object saved is floating on the water or has sunk

below the water. Ghen v. Rich, 8 F.159 (D.Mass. 1881) (libel for

value of fin-back whale, killed by exploding harpoon, sunk, and

(continued...)

8

(3) Maritime Contract: This case involves a maritime

contract to perform salvage. The contract was made and

performed on the water.

(4) Traditional Maritime Nexus: Admiralty law in-

cludes a wide range of topics within its ambit, such as

towage, wharfage, moorage, passage, salvage, collision, and

general average, as well as maritime contracts and mari-

time torts.°

(5) International Maritime Treaty: State court judges

and non-admiralty attorneys are unaware that the United

States is a signatory to a host of international maritime

treaties on the subject of salvage. In addition to many

binary salvage treaties such as one with Canada, the

United States is a party to The Salvage Convention of 1910,

Brussels, 23 September 1910, U.S.T.S. No. 576, 37 Stat.

1658, 1670 (1913). Our substantive law of salvage derives

from this Treaty. The Salvage Act of 1912, 37 Stat. 242

(1912), codified at 46 U.S.C. §§727-731. The salvage of this

airplane was directly controlled by the Treaty of Salvage

and Wrecking—Canada, 18 May 1908, U.S.T.S. No. 502, 35

Stat. 2035 (1908), which covers an international flight from

7 (continued)

later washed ashore); Wiggins v. 1100 Tons, More or Less, of

Italian Marble, 186 F.Supp 452, 1960 A.M.C. 1774 (E.D.Va. 1960)

(marble retrieved from sunken vessel); Cobb Coin v. Unidentified,

Wrecked, & Abandoned Sailing Vessel, 525 F.Supp. 186 (S.D. Fla.

1981) (sunken Spanish treasure ship); Florida Dept. of State v.

Treasure Salvors, Inc., 458 U.S. 670, 102 S.Ct. 3304, 73 L.Ed.2d

1057 (1982) (the Nuestra Senora de Atocha, a Spanish galleon

with her sunken treasures).

® "In fact, the traditional statement is that the federal court has

exclusive jurisdiction of an action seeking a salvage award.” D.

Owen, "Some Legal Troubles with Treasure; Jurisdiction and

Salvage," 15 J.Mar.L. & Com. 139, at 148 (1985) (emphasis in the

original).

9

Canada to the U.S. where the salvage occurs "within a dis-

tance of thirty miles from the International Boundary” on

the Pacific Coast. Id.

REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE OF WRIT

This is a small case with a big issue of constitutional

law: Do state courts have a concurrent jurisdiction to hear

maritime and admiralty cases, such as this case of mari-

time salvage? Squarely presented here is the oldest open,

still-unanswered question in American Constitutional juris-

prudence: Does the Saving to Suitors Clause of The Judicia-

ry Act of 1789 create in the state courts a concurrent jur-

isdiction to hear admiralty and maritime cases? And if it

does, then is the Saving to Suitors Clause unconstitutional,

being repugnant to The Admiralty Clause, Article III, Sec-

tion 2, Clause 1 of our Constitution, which confers exclusive

jurisdiction to hear such cases upon the federal courts

sitting in admiralty?

The courts of a few states, notably those of Alaska, New

York, and Connecticut are interpreting the Saving to

Suitors Clause to mean that all admiralty cases can be

tried in state courts. But the historical evidence from the

time of the Revolution shows that the Saving to Suitors

Clause was not intended to diminish or subvert the exclu-

sive nature of the federal court's admiralty power. Instead,

the Saving to Suitors Clause was intended only to cure two

evils of the pre-Revolutionary War era. First, the Crown's

use of the admiralty courts to defeat the right to trial by

jury in certain revenue and customs offenses. Second, the

admiralty court's practice of conducting these trials outside

the local vicinage where the offense was alleged to have

been committed or where the defendant resided. The true

purpose of the Saving to Suitors Clause was to preserve a

10

common law remedy (jury trial in local vicinage) but not in

a common law (state) court.

Despite Article III's command of exclusive jurisdiction,

there are powerful contrarian economic incentives in state

courts to ignore the Constitution and to stretch the mean-

ing of the Saving to Suitors Clause beyond what its Fram-

ers intended. The Clause is not unconstitutional, except as

it is being applied in some state courts. These monetary in-

centives frequently surface in the state courts of Alaska,

which offer more generous awards of attorney's fees and

prejudgment interest than might be had in courts of ad-

miralty.

There are two reasons why a writ of certiorari should

issue: (1) There is a conflict between state courts, Supreme

Court Rule 10.1(a), and (2) This is an important question of

federal law that needs to be settled, Supreme Court Rule

10.1(c).

I. EXORDIUM: THE ADMIRALTY JURISDICTION IS |

EXCLUSIVE

The word “exclusive” does not appear in the Admiralty |

Clause. But it means exclusive. When placed in a chronolog-

ical sequence, there are twelve categories of information

and legal authority to support the proposition—universally

accepted—that the jurisdiction of the federal courts to hear

admiralty and maritime cases is exclusive.

(1) English Admiralty Jurisdiction Was Exclusive: Some

legal scholars contend that our American admiralty juris-

diction was simply intended to embrace and adopt the jur-

isdiction of the English court of admiralty as it existed at

the time of the Revolution. A modest collection of cases de-

fining the English jurisdiction will be found in the de-

11

fendants’ memorandum of 19 December 1991 at page 41.

[Aside: Justice Story did not accept this narrow view of

American admiralty jurisdiction. He contended that our jur-

isdiction was much broader in scope. The classical exposi-

tion is found in DeLovio v. Boit, 7 F. Cas. 418 (C.C.D.Mass.

1815) (No. 3,776), approved in Insurance Company v. Dun-

ham, 78 U.S. (11 Wall.) 1, 20 L.Ed. 90 (1871).]

(2) The Vice Admiralty Courts in the Colonies Had Ex-

clusive Jurisdiction: The historical evidence shows that the

purpose of the Saving to Suitors clause was to preserve the

common law rights of jury trial and trial in a local vicinage.

These rights had been abrogated by the colonial vice ad-

miralty courts, which had exclusive admiralty jurisdiction

and which were used by the Crown to deny the colonists a

jury trial in their own vicinage.

An issue subsidiary to taxation, but also of constitu-

tional status, was the colonists’ insistence on a right to

jury trial. Violations of the Sugar Act and the Stamp Act

were subject to prosecution in the Vice-Admiralty courts,

where trial was before a judge alone; furthermore, a

Vice-Admiralty court in Halifax, Nova Scotia, was given

jurisdiction over offenses in all the American colonies, so

that trials could be held entirely free from the check of

local opinion. According to the entirely mythical version

of history that Coke and other founders of English

Whiggery constructed, and to which colonial spokesmen

firmly adhered, Englishmen had from immemorial anti-

quity enjoyed the right to be punished only upon the ver-

dict of a jury of their peers. Smuggling offenses in

England had long been subject to trial by jury in the

common law courts. Accordingly, colonial spokesmen con-

sidered the admiralty jurisdiction an unconstitutional

violation of the Englishman's right to jury trial. Grey,

Origins of the Unwritten Constitution: Fundamental Law

in American Revolutionary Thought, 30 Stan.L.Rev. 843,

870 (1978). (footnotes omitted).

12

A more complete discussion of the role of the vice admiralty

courts in the Colonies can be found in the defendants’ reply

brief of 10 February 1992 at pages 4-24. The attention of

the Court is invited to this former pleading, in which the

appellants—here, petitioners—have explained the true pur-

pose of the Saving Clause.

(3) The Federal Court had Exclusive Jurisdiction During

the Revolution: Under the Articles of Confederation, there

was a federal Court of Appeals that was created to hear ad-

miralty cases during the American Revolution. Some of the

decisions of this court are reported in 1 Dallas (reprinted in

Vol. 1, L.Ed.). The Court of Appeals continued the practices

established before the Revolution and it inherited the ex-

clusive jurisdiction of the pre-war admiralty cases. The fact

that a war intervened, to be followed by a new system of

government in the Colonies, did not change the exclusive

nature of the federal admiralty jurisdiction.

[TJhe change in the form of our government has not ab-

rogated all the laws, customs, and principles of jurisdic-

tion we inherited from our ancestors, and possessed at

the period of our becoming an independent nation. The

Catherina, 23 F.Cas. 1028, 1030 (D.Pa. 1795) (No.

13,949).

The old practices continued; the exclusive jurisdiction of the

admiralty continued during and after the Revolutionary

War.

(4) Correspondence Before the Constitutional Convention:

In the four years preceding the Constitutional Convention

of 1787, the nation's leaders corresponded with each other

and proposed changes to the Articles of Confederation.

[The contemporaneous writings of the Framers of the

Constitution included the following comments showing

their intent to award jurisdiction of admiralty exclusive-

ly to the federal judiciary:]

13

Charles Pinckney's plan dating as early as 7 August

1786 (Congress to have the exclusive right of instituting

in each State a Court of Admiralty); George — wrote

to Arthur Lee ("The most prevalent idea,. .. to

establish . . . a judiciary system with a rs tc of all

such matters as depend upon the law of nations . . .");

Madison wrote to Randolph on 8 April 1787 ("The ad-

miralty jurisdiction may be fully submitted to the

National Government.") and to Washington on 16 April

1787 ("The admiralty jurisdiction seems to fall entirely

within the purview of the National Government”).

Charles Warren, Congress, The Constitution, and The

Supreme Court, pg. 30, ftn. 1 (2nd ed. 1935) (footnote to

text quoted above from pgs. 29-30).

Even before the Convention convened in Philadelphia, there

was a consensus that the admiralty jurisdiction should be

within the sole province of the new federal government.

(5) The Constitutional Plans: When the delegates ar-

rived in Philadelphia in late spring of 1787, some of them

had already drafted proposals and plans for a new constitu-

tion. There was a unanimous view that the admiralty jur-

isdiction should remain exclusively with the federal govern-

ment.

Eighth, the jurisdiction given to the Judiciary over na-

tional matters. . . The remaining portions of jurisdiction

granted to the Federal Judiciary were simply an exten-

sion of similar jurisdiction possessed by Courts under

the Articles of Confederation as to such national matters

as admiralty cases. Many of the subjects over which jur-

isdiction was granted by the Constitution had been sug-

gested in pamphlets and letters for four years prior to

the Convention. Charles Warren, Congress, The Consti-

tution, and The Supreme Court, pg. 29-30 (2nd ed. 1935)

[footnote omitted).

These plans were circulated at the Convention and incorpo-

rated into the new Constitution.

14

(6) The Constitutional Convention—Debate and Lack of

It: The records of the Constitutional Convention are almost

silent on the subject of the admiralty jurisdiction. This is so

because there was no debate of the topic—everyone having

agreed that the new federal government should establish

courts, which in turn would have exclusive jurisdiction over

such matters.

[Tjhe admiralty jurisdiction ought to be given wholly to

the national government, as it relates to cases not within

the jurisdiction of particular states, and to a scene in

which controversies with foreigners would be most likely

to happen. 1 Farrand, Records of the Federal Convention,

124 (1911).

The silence of the record simply reflects the common con-

sensus of the time. There was no disagreement on this

topic.

(7) Ratification Debate: After the Convention recessed

in September 1787, the disciples of the new Constitution re-

turned to their homes, where each state conducted its own

constitutional convention. The debate in some of these con-

ventions has been recorded and handed on to us. The de-

bate in Virginia is especially enlightening for what it shows

about the intent of the framers to preserve the exclusive

jurisdiction of the federal judiciary in maritime matters.

If, in any case, uniformity be necessary, it must be in the

exposition of treaties. The establishment of one revision-

ary superintending power can also secure uniformity... .

To the same principles may also be referred their cog-

nizance in admiralty and maritime cases. As our inter-

course with foreign nations will be affected by decisions

of this kind, they ought to be uniform. This can be done

only by giving the federal judiciary exclusive jurisdiction.

Controversies affecting the interests of the United States

ought to be determined by their own judiciary, and not

be left to partial, local tribunals. 3 Elliott's, Debates 532

(2d ed. 1900).

15

‘Cases of admiralty and maritime jurisdiction cannot,

with propriety, be vested in particular state courts. As

our national tranquillity and reputation and intercourse

with foreign nations may be affected by admiralty de-

cisions; as they ought, therefore, to be uniform; and as

there can be no uniformity if there be thirteen distinct,

independent jurisdictions,—this jurisdiction ought to be

in the federal judiciary.’ 3 Elliott's Debates 571 (2d ed.

1900).

Cases of admiralty and maritime jurisdiction cannot,

with propriety, be vested in particular state courts. As

our national tranquillity and reputation, and intercourse

with foreign powers, may be affected by admiralty de-

cisions; as they ought, therefore, to be uniform; and as

there can be no uniformity if there be thirteen distinct,

independent jurisdictions,—this jurisdiction ought to be

in the federal judiciary. On these principles, I conceive

the subjects themselves are proper for the federal ju-

diciary. Governor Randolph at the Virginia Consti-

tutional Convention. 3 Elliott's Debates 571 (1788).

There are no reports of any dissenting views on this point.

It seems that no one dissented from the exclusivity propos-

al,

(8) The Federalist Papers: The most publicized ratifica-

tion debate took place in the popular press of New York.

Alexander Hamilton, a proponent of a strong federal

government, wrote often on the subject of the new Constitu-

tion. Here are his views on the admiralty jurisdiction:

To judge with accuracy of the due extent of the federal

judicature, it will be necessary to consider, in the first

place, what are its proper objects.

The fifth point will demand little animadversion. The

most bigoted idolizers of state authority, have not thus

far shown a disposition to deny the national judiciary

16

the cognizance of maritime causes. These so generally

depend on laws of nations, and so commonly affect the

rights of foreigners, that they fall within the consider-

ations which are relative to the public peace. The most

important part of them are, by the present confedera-

tion, submitted to federal jurisdiction. Hamilton, The

Federalist, No. LXXX (1788).

Although Hamilton had many detractors, none chose to con-

tradict his opinion on this point.

(9) The Enabling Legislation: When the First Congress

met in New York in the spring of 1789, Senate Bill No. 1

was the legislation that became the First Judiciary Act. A

careful reading of Sec. 9 shows that the First Congress

carefully distinguished between those types of cases for

which the federal and state courts had a concurrent juris-

diction from those cases in which the federal jurisdiction

was exclusive:

Sec. 9. And be it further enacted, That the district

courts shall have, exclusively of the courts of the several

States, cognizance of all crimes and offences that shall be

cognizable under the authority of the United States, com-

mitted within their respective districts, or upon the high

seas; where no other punishment than whipping, not ex-

ceeding thirty stripes, a fine not exceeding one hundred

dollars, or a term of imprisonment not exceeding six

months, is to be inflicted; and shall also have exclusive orig-

inal cognizance of all civil causes of admiralty and maritime

jurisdiction, including all seizures under laws of impost,

navigation or trade of the United States, where the seizures

are made on waters which are navigable from the sea by

vessels of ten or more tons burthen, within their respective

districts as well as upon the high seas; saving to suitors, in

all cases, the right of a common law remedy, where the

common law is competent to give it; and shall also have ex-

17

clusive original cognizance of all seizures on land, or other

waters than as aforesaid, made, and of all suits for penal-

ties and forfeitures incurred, under the laws of the United

States. And shall also have cognizance, concurrent with the

courts of the several States, or the circuit courts, as the

case may be, of all causes where an alien sues for a tort

only in violation of the law of nations or a treaty of the

United States. And shall also have cognizance, concurrent

as last mentioned, of all suits at common law where the

United States sue, and the matter in dispute amounts, ex-

clusive of costs, to the sum or value of one hundred dollars.

And shall also have jurisdiction exclusively of the courts of

the several States, of aj] suits against consuls or vice-con-

suls, except for offences above the description aforesaid.

And the trial of issues in fact, in the district courts, in all

causes except civil causes of admiralty and maritime juris-

diction, shall be by jury.

The Judiciary Act of 1789, 1 Stat. 73 , 76-77 (underlining

supplied to illustrate the careful distinction that was made

between concurrent and exclusive jurisdictional grants, and

to show that the Saving to Suitors Clause is squarely in the

middle of a long sentence of exclusive grant).

A careful reading of this section, in which the underlin-

ing shows which causes were exclusive and which were

concurrent, reveals that the admiralty jurisdiction is listed

as “exclusive.” If Congress had intended that there be a

concurrent jurisdiction with the state courts, then it surely

would have said so, as it did say for other types of cases

also mentioned in the same section. This point is explained

in more detail by Frederick Bausman, Admiralty and Mari-

time Jurisdiction, 36 Amer.L.Rev. 182, 187-88 (1902)

("[t]hat the framers of the Constitution intended the ad-

miralty jurisdiction to be exclusive is clear, despite the

silence of the instrument’).

18

(10) The Early Federal Cases: The early decisions of the

new federal courts reflect the common knowledge and

understanding of the times: that federal courts and only

federal courts can hear admiralty cases. See, e.g., Brevoor

v. The Fair American, 1 Pet. Adm. Rep. 87, 4 F. Cas. 73

(D.Pa. 1800) (No. 1,847) ("as to the jurisdiction of this court,

in cases of salvage on the sea, ... nor do I see how a

common law court could legally take cognizance of such a

case”).

(11) The Early Decisions of the Supreme Court: In the

earliest years of the new Republic, the admiralty jurisdic-

tion was a topic that came before the new Supreme Court.

It was always sustained.

The judges being decidedly of opinion, that every

district court in the United States possesses all the

powers of a court of admiralty, whether considered as an

instance, or as a prize court, and that the plea of the

aforesaid appellee, Pierre Arcade Johannene, to the jur-

isdiction of the District Court of Maryland, is insuffi-

cient.

... no foreign power can of right institute, or erect,

any court of judicature of any kind within the jurisdic-

tion of the United States .. ., it is therefore decreed and

adjudged that the admiralty jurisdiction, which has been

exercised in the United States by the consuls of France,

not being so warranted, is not of right. Glass v. The

Sloop Betsy, 3 Dallas 6, 1 L.Ed. 485 (1794) (Jay, C.J.)

(the jurisdictional challenge was overruled, and the

district court's decision to dismiss the compiaint for want

of subject matter jurisdiction was reversed).

The opinions of the Supreme Court in its early years,

especially those of Chief Justice Marshall and Chief Justice

Taney, reflect the Court's understanding of the Constitu-

tional grant. These early cases are collected and discussed

in the defendants’ memorandum of 19 December 1991 at

pages 26-28.

19

(12) Early Decisions of the State Courts: During the first

century of our new Republic, the state courts also were

called upon to make decisions in admiralty and maritime

cases. They consistently and uniformly refused to do so. The

early case law to illustrate this point is collected in the de-

fendants' memorandum of 19 December 1991 at pages 33-

36. Before the Civil War, the state courts recognized that

they had no jurisdiction to hear admiralty cases. But as the

Framers of the Constitution died off and the memories of

the abuses of the colonial vice admiralty courts faded, the

states’ rights advocates took over. And after the Civil War,

there began to appear isolated examples of attempts by

state courts to usurp the federal admiralty power. When-

ever these cases were appealed to the U.S. Supreme Court,

they were reversed—the Supreme Court holding that only

federal courts could decide maritime and admiralty dis-

putes. See, e.g. The Moses Taylor, 71 U.S. 411 (1867)

(Justice Field explained that the Saving to Suitors Clause

preserved a common law remedy but not in a common law

court); The Hine v. Trevor, 71 U.S. (4 Wall.) 555, 18 L.Ed.

451 (1867) (Congress did not intend to give suitors state

law remedies).

Il. ALASKA'S JUDICIAL POLICY OF HEARING AD-

MIRALTY CASES IN THE STATE COURTS VIO-

LATES THE ADMIRALTY CLAUSE OF THE CON-

STITUTION

The first reason for granting certiorari is the conflict

that exists between the decisions of the Supreme Court of

Alaska and decisions about the same issue that have been

made by the highest courts of other states. The recent de-

cisions from Alaska—and some older cases from New

York—show that these state courts are marching to a dif-

ferent drummer; they are not in step with the Constitution.

20

(A) Alaska has its Own Admiralty Jurisprudence: In

Territorial days, the only courts in Alaska were the federal

courts. Thus, every case was a federal case and admiralty

cases had to be filed in the proper court—there was no

choice. But soon after Alaska achieved statehood 35 years

ago, its new state courts began to hear admiralty cases

under the purported authority of the Saving to Suitors

Clause, Section 9, Judiciary Act of 1789, now codified at

28 U.S.C. §1333(1). See, e.g., Maxwell v. Olsen, 468 P.2d 48

(Alaska 1970) (Saving to Suitors Clause "means that a

suitor asserting an in personam admiralty claim may elect

to sue in a ‘common law’ state court through an ordinary

civil action") (Rabinowitz, J.). Under the leadership of

Alaska's most senior jurist, our state supreme court has run

rough-shod over the Admiralty Clause, usually relying upon

the Saving to Suitors Clause. Shannon v. City of Anchorage,

478 P.2d 815 (Alaska 1970) (Saving to Suitors Clause

allows plaintiff to elect to sue in a common law or state

court) (Rabinowitz, J.). When deciding cases involving mari-

time torts, the Alaska Supreme Court has paid some obeis-

ance to federal law. Barber v. New England Fish Co., 510

P.2d 806 (Alaska 1973) (when admiralty cases are tried in

state court, Alaskan courts must apply same substantive

law as the federal court when dealing with federal mari-

time tort). Alaska courts have not always limited their

state-court "admiralty jurisdiction" to claims brought in per-

sonam; Alaska's admiralty jurisdiction has been applied

even to cases brought in rem. F/V America Eagle v. State,

620 P.2d 657, 671 (Alaska 1980) (Rabinowitz, C.J.).

Some areas of maritime law for so long have been held

to be within admiralty's exclusive jurisdiction that few state

courts would attempt to hear such cases. For instance,

maritime salvage cases. But even these disputes have been

21

brought within the expansive sweep of Alaska's "admiralty

jurisdiction." Williams v. Eckert, 643 P.2d 991, 997 (Alaska

1982) (salvors' misconduct results in reduction in salvage

award; awarding attorney's fees to prevailing party under

Alaska Civil Rule 82 and again invoking the Saving to

Suitors Clause).

Even when faced with a protest to its admiralty jurisdic-

tion, the Supreme Court of Alaska has squarely repudiated

Article III's grant of exclusive jurisdiction to the federal

courts. State v. F/V Baranof, 677 P.2d 1245 (Alaska 1984)

("statutes conferring exclusive jurisdiction on the federal

district courts are to be strictly construed, and state court

jurisdiction is not to be defeated by implication [!]"). Oc-

casionally, the Alaska courts explain their jurisdiction in

admiralty cases as being concurrent with that of the federal

courts. Estate of Rhyner v. Farm Credit Bank of Spokane,

780 P.2d 1001 (Alaska 1989) (Rabinowitz, J.).

(B) Contrarian Economic Incentives Vanquish Article

IIT’s Grant of Exclusive Jurisdiction to the Federal Courts

of Admiralty: Why? A reader in Washington, D.C. might

wonder. Why would Alaska's courts want to hear admiralty

cases? And why would the plaintiffs file in state court

rather than in admiralty (federal) court? The answer to

both questions is money. The salary of Alaska's district

court magistrates depends in part upon their case load (the

number of cases they hear or decide), as does the judiciary's

annual appropriation of operating funds from the Alaska

legislature. Plaintiffs’ attorneys also have an irresistible

economic incentive to pursue their clients’ admiralty claims

in state court. Alaska's courts grant generous awards of

prejudgment interest and attorney's fees. The rate of pre-

judgment interest in state court proceedings is 10.5%, AS

09.30.070(a); AS 45.45.010(a), but in federal court it is

22

much lower, recently only one-half or one-third as much, 28

U.S.C. § 1961(a).

Unlike the other 49 states, Alaska has completely re-

jected the "American Rule” that requires each party to bear

its own attorney's fees. Instead, Alaska has adopted the

"English Rule” that can provide huge awards of attorney's

fees to the prevailing party. Alyeska Pipeline Service Co. v.

Anderson, 629 P.2d 512 (Alaska 1981) (award of $100,000

for attorney's fees affirmed); Dahle v. Atlantic Richfield Co.,

725 P.2d 1069 (Alaska 1986) (attorney fee award of $55,000

affirmed); Williams v. Eckert, 643 P.2d 991 (Alaska 1982)

(award of attorneys fees to owner of fishing vessel who pre-

vailed in maritime salvage dispute was proper and affirmed

on appeal). When admiralty cases have been brought in

Alaska's state courts, our trial judges routinely grant attor-

neys fees to the prevailing party. Great West Seafoods v.

Seward Shipyard, Inc., Case No. 3AN-91-4255 CI, (reported

in Alaska Journal of Commerce, 12 April 1993, at page 9B)

(after determining that this was an admiralty action, trial

court awarded attorneys fees despite losing party's argu-

ment that in an admiralty action each side is required to

bear its own attorney's fees; rejecting federal law).

(C) State Courts Adrift in a Federal Sea: The good news

for admiralty plaintiffs——but of no avail to defendants, such

as the Petitioners here—is that the federal court in Alaska

does correctly apply The Admiralty Clause and The Saving

to Suitors Clause. Compare In re: The Glacier Bay, 746

F.Supp. 1379 (D. Alaska 1990) (Saving to Suitors Clause

does not give plaintiff a choice between common law stan-

dards or maritime law) with Maxwell v. Olsen, 468 P.2d 48,

50-52 (Alaska 1970) (Saving to Suitors Clause gives plain-

tiff a choice of filing admiralty case in state court or in fed-

eral court); compare U.S. Dominator, Inc. v. Factory Ship

23

Robert E. Resoff, 768 F.2d 1099 (9th Cir. 1985) (affirming

salvage award and finding no abuse of discretion in trial

court's award of prejudgment interest at the federal rate)

with Bjornson v. U.S. Dominator, Inc., ___P.2d (Su-

preme Court of Alaska, Opinion No. 4023, 12 November

1993) (interpreting 46 U.S.C. §10601 and relying upon an

armada of federal admiralty cases to support its decision).

The almost-total absence of case authority from other state

courts is a powerful clue that the state courts of Alaska

have not charted a proper course.

Finally, it would be unfair to focus all of the blame upon

the courts of Alaska. Indeed, there have been some deci-

sions in the courts of New York and Connecticut that also

misapply the Saving to Suitors Clause, thereby appearing

to create an admiralty jurisdiction in state courts. See, Mer-

ritt & Chapman Derrick v. Tice, 103 N.Y.S. 333 (App.Div.

1907); (state court has authority to hear action for enforce-

ment of salvage lien); Reynolds v. Browning, Wells & Co.,

231 N.Y.S. 362 (App. Div. 1928) (similar); Thames Shipyard

& Repair Co. v. Willametz, 428 A.2d 1143 (Conn.Super.

1978) (suit by salvage company to recover from owner of

sunken boat on an oral contract to raise the boat).

These state court cases are aberrations in the law, dere-

licts adrift in a federal sea. Counter examples are hard to

find because it is so rare that a plaintiff would attempt to

file a maritime salvage case in state court. For an example

of what invariably happens, see O'Neill v. Schoenbrod, 355

So.2d 440 (Fla.App. 1978), appeal dismissed, 359 So.2d

1218 (Fla. 1978) (the plaintiffs’ in personam complaint for

salvage dismissed by trial court for lack of jurisdiction over

the subject matter on the ground that such cases are "with-

in the exclusive jurisdiction of the federal district courts sit-

ting in admiralty"; affirmed on appeal and rejecting argu-

24

ment that state court has concurrent jurisdiction with fed-

eral court under the Saving to Suitors Clause).

Ill. THE TRUE MEANING OF THE SAVING TO

SUITORS CLAUSE NEEDS TO BE SETTLED

The second reason for granting certiorari is the long-

standing need to resolve the true meaning of the Saving

Clause. No matter what your views on the admiralty jur-

isdiction and the Saving to Suitors Clause, there is some-

thing out there in the legal literature to support your posi-

tion. Everyone has some authority, some support in the

cases and treatises. But the contrast and the confusion will

boggle a proctor's mind.

Starting with the most basic authorities, the legal en-

cyclopedias, we can see what appears to be rock-solid sup-

port for the exclusive jurisdiction of the federal court sitting

in admiralty:

§ 40 Jurisdiction. Salvage is a matter peculiarly within

the jurisdiction of the admiralty courts, not only because

of the place where the service is performed, but also be-

cause of the peculiar system of awardiiig the compen-

sation. This jurisdiction extends to libels in rem against

proceeds of salvaged property, as well as to libels in per-

sonam where the owner of the vessel or cargo has made

himself personally liable to pay for salvage services. Be-

cause of this primary jurisdiction, contracts relating to

salvage service are also within the jurisdiction of admi-

ralty. The jurisdiction of admiralty extends to all waters

that are in fact navigable for the purpose of trade and

commerce. 68 AmJur 2d, Salvage §40, at 343.

The other general encyclopedia is in accord:

§151 Jurisdiction. Suits for salvage belong by long cus-

tom to courts of admiralty.

25

While a suit for salvage has been tried in a court of

common law, it is well recognized that common-law

courts do not have jurisdiction of salvage cases, but that

they belong by long custom to courts of admiralty, which,

from their extraordinary processes, are the only proper

tribunals, and the court's jurisdiction of the action, if one

for salvage, is not ousted by the fact that the services

were rendered under contract, if notwithstanding this

fact the services rendered were salvage services.

78 C.J.S., Salvage, §151, at 568.

Legal scholars and experts in the field appear to join in

the view that admiralty's jurisdiction—at least in maritime

salvage cases—is truly exclusive:

In admiralty cases subject matter jurisdiction is com-

monly referred to merely as “admiralty jurisdiction.”

Specifically, this is the jurisdiction over all admiralty

and maritime cases conferred by Article III of the Con-

stitution and 28 U.S. C. §1333. In fact this is the most

specific, if not the only, grant of federal judicial power

over a named subject matter. Admiralty jurisdiction is

subject matter jurisdiction.

Now that terminology has been explained, the sub-

stance of the jurisdiction will next be explored. A federal

district court has admiralty jurisdiction in cases involv-

ing (a) maritime contracts, (b) maritime torts, (c) mari-

time claims of traditional admiralty cognizance, such as

salvage, general average, and maintenance and cure,

and (d) statutory rights in rem, as the foreclosure of pre-

ferred ship mortgages. In fact the traditional statement

is that the federal court has exclusive jurisdiction of an

action seeking a salvage award. D. Owen, "Some Legal

Troubles With Treasure: Jurisdiction and Salvage," 15

J.Mar.L. & Com. 139, at 148 (1985) (footnotes omitted;

emphasis in the original).

But a wider search leads to heavy weather. Other

authorities contend that the Saving to Suitors Clause really

26

does allow a state court to hear a maritime case. See, 2

AmJur 2d Admiralty, §14 (1962) ("The jurisdiction of the

federal courts in admiralty and maritime matters is ex-

clusive. There are exceptions, however, as in cases invoking

the ‘Saving to Suitors Clause”). The same inconsistency can

be found upon a close reading of many of the encyclopedias

and treatises. For instance, compare 3A BENEDICT ON

ADMIRALTY (7th ed. 1983) §14 (Saving to Suitors Clause

does not give jurisdiction to state courts) with id, 1 BENE-

DICT ON ADMIRALTY §123 (7th ed. 1983) (some salvage

cases can be heard in common law courts).

If we focus on the purpose and meaning of the Saving to

Suitors Clause, we find an equally confusing debate in the

legal literature. Compare Robertson, Admiralty and Feder-

alism, 126 (1970) (purpose of the Clause was "preservation

of the pre-Constitutional concurrent jurisdiction of the com-

mon law courts. [which courts were state courts] in mari-

time cases prior to 1789") with:

The American colonial vice-admiralty courts followed the

principles laid down by the English Court of Admiralty

in deciding salvage cases brought before it. Cases of sal-

vage were not tried in American common-law courts be-

fore the establishment of the Republic of the United

States of America. Therefore, the saving to suitors clause

of the Act of September 24, 1789 which provided that the

district courts of the United States ‘shall also have ex-

clusive original cognizance of all civil causes of admiralty

and maritime jurisdiction ... saving to suitors, in all

cases, the right of a common-law remedy, where the

common law is competent to give it, etc.’ does not apply

to salvage suits. It does not give to the common-law

courts jurisdiction over a class of cases which it never

possessed. Norris, The Law of Salvage, §14 (1980) [foot-

note omitted].

es

27

There are even modern cases in the federal courts that

contain dicta to support the view that there is a concurrent

jurisdiction in state courts. (state courts have concurrent

jurisdiction to try in personam admiralty actions, citing

Saving to Suitors Clause); Fogelman v. Tidewater Barges,

Inc., 747 F. Supp. 348, 354 (E.D. La. 1990) (plaintiff can file

a maritime action in state court under the Saving to Suitors

Clause, which preserves the plaintiffs right to common law

remedies).

But how can the Saving to Suitors Clause, a mere

statute, trump the Constitution? If the former is applied to

yield a concurrent jurisdiction while the latter creates an

exclusive one, then how can the statute and the Supreme

Law be reconciled? This very question was asked almost a

century ago, but the answer was lost in the legal literature:

That the framers of the Constitution intended the ad-

miralty jurisdiction to be exclusive is clear, despite the

silence of the instrument. Decisions to that effect seem

to be perfectly correct. But equally did they intend, that

maritime controversies also should belong exclusively to

the Federal courts. Every utterance of that day supports

this view, nothing during the next generation in any of

the Federal or State decisions will be found against it.

Being near the sea, with little internal commerce, nearly

all the maritime controversies of our ancestors occurred

with the citizens of other States or the subjects of other

countries. In 1816 we find Story [in Martin v. Hunter's

Lessee) classing the judicial clause in admiralty and

maritime causes with the exclusive one relating to am-

bassadors and consuls, which it immediately follows, and

in 1866 the learned Field [in The Moses Taylor], not dis-

approving his language, comments on its many excellent

reasons. It is since that time that the decisions have sus-

tained the State jurisdiction on the common law side by

citing the saving clause of the Judiciary Act. But it is

28

important to note here that the unconstitutionality of

that clause, the suggestion of this article, has been

neither raised nor decided.

The saving clause, as we have already explained,

appears to us unconstitutional if it intended to leave the

common law remedy to State tribunals. That this is

what it intended has always been taken for granted, and

yet nobody has questioned its constitutionality. But why

take for granted what may make it unconstitutional?

Why not suppose that it meant to save the common law

remedy to Federal courts only, Circuit or District? There,

in the common tribunals of the nation, that uniformity

of decision would be maintained which was the admitted

object of our ancestors. Let the statute be read however

carefully and nothing will be found contrary to this con-

struction. It was a statute distributing causes among

Federal courts, and the portion involved here was a

regulation of procedure in the District court. From such

an enactment State court jurisdiction will not naturally

be derived. Nor is there anything strained in this. The

Judiciary Act in effect declared—our District Courts

shall be exclusive if you wish to proceed in admiralty;

you may proceed at common law in your maritime con-

troversy, but since it is maritime, that common law

action must, under the Constitution, be tried in our Fed-

eral courts, Circuit or District, as the statutes may

otherwise provide. Bausman, "Admiralty and Maritime

Jurisdiction, 36 Amer.L.Rev., 192 at 197-188 (1902) (em-

phasis in the original).

The authorities that can be marshaled on this debate are

like statistics: they can be used to be prove either side of

the argument. And this is why certiorari should be granted.

Because the exclusivity, vel non, of federal jurisdiction is

"an important question of federal law which has not been,

but should be, settled by this Court.” Supreme Court Rule

10.1(c)).

29

IV. CODA: SUMMARY DISPOSITION BY REVERSAL

Because it is such a well-settled principle of American

constitutional law that federal courts have exclusive jur-

isdiction to hear admiralty and maritime cases, the instant

case clearly has been wrongly decided by the state court.

The decision of the Alaska court is just plain wrong and it

should be reversed. Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 16.1,

petitioners move for summary reversal, with instructions to

the lower court to dismiss this case.

CONCLUSION: THE SAVING TO SUITORS CLAUSE

NEEDS TO BE EXPLAINED AND THEREBY SAVED

FROM THE ABUSES OF STATE COURTS

Admiralty law is important in our Nation's relations

with the world community. This is one of the reasons why

the Framers took this topic away from the state courts and

placed it within the exclusive domain of the federal courts,

so that we would have uniformity of law throughout the na-

tion. As an example of the international flavor of maritime

law, consider salvage contracts. Almost all modern salvage

is done pursuant to a standard contract, the Lloyd's Open

Form Contract, which has recently been revised.’ Public

policy favors the strict maintenance of the exclusive jur-

isdiction of the federal courts in admiralty. The institu-

tional role of the Supreme Court as the final arbiter of the

Constitution” should inspire this court to grant certiorari

* The revisions to this standard contract have been discussed in

a series of articles that have appeared in recent years in the

Journal of Maritime Law and Commerce.

© Cowin v. Bressler, 741 F.2d 410, 425 (D.C. Cir. 1982) ("the

institutional role of the Supreme Court weighs in favor of

considering its rulings to be general rather than limited to the

(continued...)

30

and pronounce the law of the Saving to Suitors Clause.

After two hundred years, its meaning is still in doubt in

many state courts, and these doubts should be resolved. For

these reasons, certiorari should be granted. Let the writ

issue.

Respectfully submitted this 10th day of January 1993 at

Petersburg, Alaska.

Respectfully submitted,

Fred W. Triem

David A. Berg

Box 129

Petersburg, Alaska

99833-0129

(907) 772-3917

In Propria Persona

© (continued)

particular facts. The Supreme Court, unlike the lower federal

courts, is given a largely discretionary jurisdiction, which is used

when areas of the law require clarification.”) (Bork, J.).

APPENDIX

App. 1

[DATED May 4, 1992]

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT FOR

THE STATE OF ALASKA

FIRST JUDICIAL DISTRICT AT PETERSBURG

TAMICO, INC.,

Plaintiff,

v.

FRED TRIEM, DAVID BERG,

and PETERSBURG AIRCRAFT

SALVORS, INC.,

Ne ee ee ee ee ee ee” ee” ee” ee”

Defendants. No. 1PE-89-113 CI

TRANSCRIPT OF DECISION ON RECORD

The Honorable Thomas E. Schulz

Superior Court Judge

The Superior Court for the State of Alaska, First Dis-

trict at Ketchikan is now in session, the Honorable Thomas

E. Schulz presiding.

Please be seated. The court is on record to put a state-

ment of decision on the record in Tamico, Inc. v. Triem,

Berg and Petersburg Aircraft Salvors. A judgment has

been entered in this case and then a motion for recon-

sideration was brought in and the defendants argue, or

make the comment early in their brief, that the court

didn’t decide that motion for reconsideration and that’s

not really correct. What the court did was rule that the

motion for, that the matter was not properly recorded

for a motion for reconsideration. Under Rule 77, because

App. 2

for the first time in this case, the defendants are raising

the issue of subject matter jurisdiction of the underly-

ing claim and I ruled earlier, and remain convinced, that

raising an argument such as that under Rule 77, a mo-

tion for reconsideration is simply not a proper applica-

tion of that Rule. The court did say that I would treat

it as properly before the court under Rule 60 and defen-

dants have also brought the court’s attention to Rule 12.

In any event, the plaintiff has filed an answer, defendants

have replied, we’ve had oral argument. The court has had

an opportunity to review the briefs of the parties and

authorities and primarily, on the basis of a relatively re-

cent federal decision, I am going to deny the motion. That

decision is Metropolitan Dade County v. One Bronze Can-

non and it’s found in 587 Fed. Supp. 923 and it’s a 1982

case in the United States District Court for the Southern

District of Florida.

To begin with, I don’t have any quarrel with the basic

proposition and, of course, neither does the Metropolitan

Dade County court, with the general proposition that ad-

miralty cases are within the exclusive jurisdiction of the

Federal District Court. That’s a matter of Constitutional

law and I think it’s also a matter of proper interpreta-

tion of the Federal Judiciary Act. The problem is that

this is not an admiralty case. What happened in this case

was that a DC-3, on its way from Fairbanks to California,

stopped in Petersburg to refuel and then apparently, be-

cause of some problems not relevant to the decision pres-

ently before the court, crashed. It had experienced some

problems shortly after take-off from Petersburg and was

ditched in Wrangell Narrows, which is a body of navigable

water immediately adjacent to the town of Petersburg.

The plane crashed abut eight or ten miles from the air-

port. It came to rest, ultimately, in somewhere between

EE BEN OI POs CS 2 a ial Ae a

App. 3

fifteen and twenty fathoms of water. The defendants, the

individual defendants, were successful in locating the air-

plane, formed a corporation to salvage it and then, by

their own pleadings, by their statements in their brief,

they had entered into an agreement with the plaintiff to

raise the airplane. The airplane was raised, the bill was

presented, and the amount of the bill was in dispute. This

litigation followed, and ultimately judgment was entered

for the plaintiff. It was at that point that the defendants

raised the jurisdictional issue. In order to, well let me

put it this way, the basis for their argument appears to

the court to be, that Tamico itself has characterized this

as a salvage operation, and it was a salvage operation.

An airplane crashed, sunk and it was raised, and under

common understandings of salvage that’s what salvage is

all about, the airplane was, at least to the extent that

it was raised out of the water, it was salvaged. It is not

necessary to the court’s decision as to whether its been

totally repaired and back to service or what happened to

it, but it was salvaged, but this is not a salvage claim

as the term is used in maritime law. It’s not the kind of

salvage claim that the Constitution and the Judiciary Act

intended to give exclusive jurisdiction to federal courts.

In order to have a salvage claim, there needs to be a

maritime peril. Now that can be a fire at sea, or even

in port, or aboard a vessel; it can be in peril from a storm

or from hitting reefs or numerous myriad of other things,

and be involved in a maritime peril. But once an airplane

has crashed and sunk, it is no longer involved in any kind

of a maritime peril, so that element I think is missing.

It doesn’t make any difference that it was a land plane.

I agree with the commentators that have expressed a

view based on the sea plane case, that whether you’re

involved in maritime salvage or some other kind of law

suit should not depend on the kind of airplane it was. The

App. 4

basis for this part of the ruling is simply that there was

no maritime peril involved. It was not a maritime peril

that got the airplane in trouble, at least there’s no allega-

tion of that, in fact, the defendants seem to be contend-

ing to the contrary, a malfunction, some part of the air-

craft itself, and it happened to crash in the water, or come

down in the water. Then, in order to, the second element

of the maritime salvage claim is that the service is ren-

dered voluntarily. It cannot be a service that is required

by existing duty or by special contracts. Here we clearly

had an agreement, Tamico, pardon me, Petersburg Air-

craft Salvage, the corporation formed by the two individ-

ual defendants, clearly entered into an agreement with

Tamico to salvage the airplane and the dispute is over

how much is owed, but this is not a voluntary undertaking

by Tamico. And then the salvage efforts must be success-

ful. Well, the airplane was raised. That was what Tamico

was hired to do. And those elements are set out in the

plaintiff's reply brief at pp. 2 and 3, and they appear to

me to be an accurate statement of what the elements of

maritime salvage involve and so while the defendants’

brief goes into a long detailed, and frankly interesting,

discussion of the sources of the admiralty jurisdiction and

the exclusivity of it, it’s simply not, it’s not relevant to

the case before the court, and that’s made, I think, crystal

clear in the Metropolitan Dade County v. One Bronze

Cannon case. That case involved a, initially, an agreement

between some folks and the Haitian government to con-

duct some salvage exploration operations off the Haitian

coast. Ultimately, in 1971, a salvage expedition was suc-

cessful in raising a couple of cannons, and then the can-

nons were placed on display in a historical museum in

Florida for apparently a number of years before a dispute

as to ownership arose, and then there was a lawsuit in

state court, in which one of the disputants was awarded

¥

4

;

4

H

;

f

App. 5

title (garbled). Ultimately, Dade County got some interest

in it from a co-salvor, and they filed an admiralty claim,

a maritime salvage claim in Federal District Court. And

contrary to the defendant’s argument, the Federal District

Court did not decide that the State Court common law

action couldn’t handle the claim. What he ruled was that

the State Court did not have the maritime salvage issue

before it, it didn’t decide that and the State Court de-

cision didn’t bar him, therefore, from proceeding on the

admiralty claim, from deciding those issue. He also, of

course, ruled, and I think this is correct, that the State

Court wouldn’t have jurisdiction of the maritime salvage

claim in any event. But that case, as I indicated earlier, is

found at 537 Fed. Supp. at 923, and if you look at page 927,

and I’m going to quote here, from page 927, the judge

says:

A plaintiff who has an admiralty claim for damages

for breach of contract has several options: (1) “The

claimant may invoke the federal admiralty jurisdic-

tion under the t of original subject matter juris-

diction 28 U.S.C. section 1333,” or (2) “By virtue of

the saving suitors clause he may sue at law in State

Court or in Federal District Court. [If however, the

plaintiff elects the latter], the requirements of diver-

sity of citizenship and the jurisdictional amount must

ae 14 Wright, Miller and Cooper, section

3672.

See Romero v. Bethlehem Steel Corp., 515 F.2d 1249, that’s

a 5th Cir. case, for that proposition. “The basic reason-

ing is,” he’s going on here, “the basic reasoning is that

suits on maritime contracts that are in personam and may

be brought into Federal Court under the head of diversity

jurisdiction. For instance, in Romero the court acknowl-

edged that ‘an action for personal injury cognizable in ad-

miralty may be brought, assuming the existence of some

App. 6

independent jurisdictional base like diversity of citizen-

ship, as a civil suit pursuant to the ‘savings to suitors

clause’ of 28 U.S.C. Section 1333,” and the plaintiff is en-

titled to a jury trial.” (Citation omitted). No where in that

Metropolitan Dade County case does the Federal District

Court hold that, as the defendants seem to be arguing,

that if you elect to pursue a common law remedy as the

plaintiff did here, you have to do it in Federal District

Court. What the Metropolitan Dade County case stands

for has been good law for hundreds of years. It is that

admiralty jurisdiction rests exclusively within the Federal

District Court, but under our Judiciary Act plaintiffs who

may have an admiralty claim can also bring a common

law claim if they have, if that claim is supported by an

appropriate jurisdictional basis.

In conclusion I find the court had jurisdiction for the

judgment in this case and deny the motion for relief from

judgment. The request for a judgment debtor hearing, set

that on in the next couple of weeks and notify counsel.

We can go off record.

Dated at Ketchikan, Alaska, this 4th day of May, 1992.

/s/) Thomas E. Schulz

Thomas E. Schulz

Superior Court Judge

App. 7

[DATED May 13, 1993]

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT FOR

THE STATE OF ALASKA

FIRST JUDICIAL DISTRICT AT PETERSBURG

TAMICO, INC.,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

V.

FRED TRIEM, DAVID BERG,

and PETERSBURG AIRCRAFT

SALVORS, INC.,

Ne ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee”

Defendants-Appellants. No. 1PE-89-113 CI

MEMORANDUM OF DECISION ON APPEAL

I. Introduction

The defendants appeal the district court’s decision which

denied their motion to dismiss and which found that the

court had jurisdiction. Defendants also appeal several other

decisions of the district court rendered early in the pro-

ceedings.

I]. Facts

This case starts with a plane crash. A DC-3 airplane

made a forced landing and sunk in the Wrangell Narrows

near Petersburg. When the plane crashed, an Anchorage

insurance company sold the plane to Fred Triem and David

Berg, who incorporated Petersburg Aircraft Salvors, Inc.

(PAS) for the purpose of recovering the plane. PAS hired

App. 8

the plaintiff-appellee, Tamico, Inc., to raise the plane.’ The

recovery of the airplane was completed on July 6, 1989,

10 days after the plane had sunk. Tamico submitted a bill

of $14,160 to PAS dated July 8, 1989? PAS did not pay

the bill.

Tamico filed a complaint for debt on October 3, 1989.

Substantial litigation followed. Finally, as a sanction for

persistent discovery violations, default judgment was en-

tered against PAS, Fred Triem, and David Berg, jointly

and severally the amount of $22,974.61. (Judgment, Oc-

tober 2, 1991) The default was entered because of the

“defendants’ failure to respond to the motion requesting

dismissal of the answer and entry of default.”* (Order,

September 24, 1991) PAS filed a motion to reconsider.

(Defendants’ Motion to Reconsider, October 21, 1991).

While that motion was pending, defendants moved for

relief from judgment, challenging for the first time the

+ The contract, however, was not contingent upon Tamico’s suc-

cess in the venture. It was a contract for services.

2 While preparing for retrieval of the plane, Tamico allegedly

resented PAS with a written contract ifying a base fee of

,000 plus an hourly rate for overtime. (Petition for Review of

Petersburg Aircraft Salvors, Inc., April 19, 1990, at 3-4)

* The defendants argue that they simply could not comply with

discovery because Fred Triem was disqualified from representing

—— (Appellants’ Opening Memorandum, ber 5,

, a

Defendants challenge many of the district court’s decisions from

early in the suit. For example, defendants e that (1) they

should have been allowed to represent themselves, (2) that the

district court erred in not dismissing Triem and Berg in their in-

dividual capacities, (3) that the district court erred in computing

attorney’s fees and Dye interest. (Appellants’ Opening

Brief, ber 5, 1992, at 4-5) The implication that defendants

make is that but for these allegedly erroneous decisions, there may

never have been a default judgment entered.

App. 9

jurisdiction of the state court. (Defendants’ Motion for

Relief from Judgment, December 20, 1991) Both motions

were denied by Order of May 4, 1992. The district court

concluded that it had jurisdiction. (Transcript of Decision

and Order, May 4, 1992, at 7)

Ill. Arguments

1. Jurisdiction

PAS frames the argument thus: “Does the Saving to

Suitors Clause of the Judiciary Act of 1789 create in the

state courts a concurrent jurisdiction to hear admiralty

and maritime cases?” (Appellants’ Opening Brief, October

5, 1992, at 1) (hereinafter “At. Br.”] PAS argues that this

action is a salvage action that rests squarely within fed-

eral admiralty jurisdiction. The saving to suitors clause

only preserves a common law remedy, but not the right to

have the case heard in a common law court, PAS argues.

Tamico responds that this is a contract action, not an

salvage action. Tamico argues that PAS fails to establish

either that a maritime peril existed or that the salvage

service was voluntary, both of which are elements of a

salvage action. Tamico argues that there is no need for

federal court expertise because this action involves a con-

tract, and thus there is no necessity to make a “salvage

award” which might require greater expertise. Tamico

also argues that admiralty jurisdiction may not extend to

land-based aircraft. Finally, Tamico cites authority to the

effect that if a contract is non-contingent on recovery of

the vessel, that the contract is not a salvage contract.

2. Alaska Statute 10.06.848(a)

PAS argues that Tamico failed to comply with AS

10.06.848(a) when it filed suit. Alaska Statute 10.06.848(a)

App. 10

requires that a corporation prove its good standing at the

time that it files suit. PAS argues that failure to establish

good standing at the time that suit is filed cannot be

cured by subsequent proof of good standing. Therefore,

PAS argues, the suit must be dismissed.

Tamico argues that it has proven its good standing.

Tamico argues that AS 10.06.848(a) is not in the nature

of a pleading requirement, but is simply meant to ensure

that corporations doing business in Alaska comply with

the appropriate rules and regulations. Tamico cites case

law from a similar predecessor statute that hold that ca-

pacity to sue can be alleged or proven at a later date than

at the time an action is commenced.

3. Attorney’s Fees Based on Default or Contested Suit

Standards

PAS argues that because a default judgment was en-

tered against it, the default standards of Alaska Civil Rule

82 should apply.

Tamico argues that this matter was “hotly contested”

and, although settled short of trial, should be governed

by the contested trial standards.

4. Dismissal of Triem as Legal Counsel for PAS

PAS argues that AS 22.20.040, which forbids a corpora-

tion from appearing pro se, is unconstitutional because it

violates the separation of powers doctrine. It also argues

that DR 5-101, refusing employment when the interests

of the lawyer may impair his independent professional

judgment, and DR 5-102, withdrawal as counsel when the

lawyer becomes a witness, are both unconstitutional. PAS

argues that it was prejudiced because in the confusion of

App. 11

looking for an attorney to represent it, default was en-

tered.

Tamico argues that PAS has suffered no prejudice be-

cause it simply refused to obey the court order because

Triem continued to file motions on behalf of the appel-

lants. Tamico argues that Triem could have at least ap-

peared himself. Tamico also argues that important inter-

ests are advanced by preventing an attorney who is also

a major witness from testifying at trial.

5. Claims against Triem and Berg in their Individual

Capacity

PAS argues that the action in reality involves a suit

between two corporations and that the claims against

Triem and Berg should have been dismissed. PAS argues

that the court ruled in its favor on this issue, but then

did not enter a judgment of dismissal in its favor.

Tamico argues that the district court at no point in-

tended permanently to dismiss Triem and Berg from the

suit. Tamico argues that the 1990 orders leave no doubt

about the district court’s decision to leave Triem and Berg

in the suit.

6. Calculation of Prejudgment Interest

PAS argues that no writing or contract between the

parties specifies a rate higher than the statutory rate

of 10.5%. Tamico argues that AS 09.30.070(a) requires a

10.5% rate of interest unless otherwise established by a

writing. They argue that its bill of July 8, 1989 states

that amount of the claim, and also states that unless the

bill was paid in full within 30 days that the unpaid balance

would accrue interest at the rate of 1-1/2% per month.

App. 12

Tamico argues that although PAS never expressly con-

sented to this rate of interest, its failure to pay within

30 days was an implied acceptance of the terms.

IV. Standard of Review

The district court’s findings of fact will not be set aside

unless “clearly erroneous”. Alaska R. Civ. P. 52(a). Before

setting aside a finding of fact, the court must be left with

“a definite and firm conviction on the whole record that

the judge made a mistake.” Smith v. Smith, 673 P.2d 282,

283 (Alaska 1983). If there are no disputed facts, then a

question of law is presented. Fireman’s Fund Mortgage

Corp. v. Allstate Ins. Co., 838 P.2d 790, 792 n.4 (Alaska

1992). On questions of law, this court is not bound by the

lower court’s decision but will apply its independent judg-

ment in applying the applicable rule of law. In the event

that the law is not settled, a reviewing court will exer-

cise “independent judgment and adopt the rule which is

most persuasive in light of precedent, reason, and policy.”

Id.; Guin v. Ha, 591 P.2d 1281, 1284 n.5 (Alaska 1978).

V. Issues

1. Whether the district court had jurisdiction to decide

the contract dispute

2. Whether the action should be dismissed because of

Tamico’s failure to prove its good standing at the time

that it filed suit

3. Whether attorney’s fees were appropriately calculated

4. Whether dismissal of Triem as attorney for PAS was

proper

App. 13

5. Whether the district court erred in allowing claims

against Triem and Berg in their individual capacity

6. Whether the appropriate rate of prejudgment interest

was used

VI. Analysis

1. Whether the district court had jurisdiction to decide

the contract dispute

Whether or not a state court will have jurisdiction over

the present claims will involve, in one way or the other,

an interpretation of 28 U.S.C.A. Sec. 1333(1) (West 1966

& Supp. 1993):

The district courts shall have original jurisdiction,

exclusive of the courts of the States, of:

(1) Any civil case of admiralty of maritime jurisdic-

tion, saving to suitors in all cases all other remedies

to which they are otherwise entitled.

The district found that this was not a maritime salvage

action because (1) no maritime peril was involved and be-

cause (2) the service to recover the vessel was not volun-

tarily rendered.* (Transcript on Decision on Record, May

4, 1992, at 4-5) This court upholds the conclusion reached

by the district court—that a state court may decide the

dispute—but for different reasons.

As to whether a marine peril was involved, it is general-

ly accepted that recovery of a sunken vessel, including

4 Tamico reiterates these themes, although it provides no legal

citation for these two specific propositions. Tamico also argues that

the expertise of the maritime courts is not necessary because this

case presents a simple action of contract interpretation, and no

salvage award is necessary.

App. 14

airplanes,’ satisfies the peril standards. 68 Am. Jur. 2d

Salvage § 52 (2d ed. 1993); 3A Martin J. Norris, Benedict

on Admiralty § 31 (1993) [hereinafter ““Benedict”’]. “Peril”

does not mean imminent threat:

The peril necessary to constitute a salvage service

need not be one of imminent and abselute danger.

The property must be apprehended. It is not the

degree of peril which makes for a salvage service.

If distress or peril is present then with voluntary

service and success a valid salvage service has been

performed. The degree of peril—whether slight or

serious—can affect the amount of the award, but not

the establishment of a salvage service.

Benedict, supra § 63 (footnotes omitted). The recovery of

the component parts of the plane alone were estimated

at close to $200,000, and clearly the components were in

peril as defined by Benedict.

As to the voluntariness requirement, the district court

held that because there was a contract between PAS and

Tamico, Tamico’s actions were not voluntary. (Transcript

at 5) This would be true if the action were a “pure sal-

vage”’ action, but not necessarily if it were a “contract

salvage” action. A “pure salvage’ action is defined as

a “voluntary service rendered to imperiled property on

navigable waters where compensation is dependent upon

success, without prior agreement or arrangement having

5 The district court rejected the contention that land-based air-

craft were not subject to maritime salvage actions. (Transcript at

4) The court finds this reasoning sound and in accord with recent

case law. See Mark v. South Continental Ins. Agency, Inc., 1978

A.M.C. 519 (P.R. Cir. 1978); Martin J. Norris, The Law of Seamen,

§ 9.31 (4th ed. 1985) (while the question is still not free from doubt,

admiralty courts can and should t salvage awards for beneficial

service rendered to distressed land-based planes).

App. 15

been made regarding the salvor’s compensation... .”

Benedict, supra § 159 (emphasis added). In contrast, a

“contract salvage” is “that type of salvage service entered

into between the salvor and the owners of the imperiled

property, or by their representatives, pursuant to an

agreement, written or oral, fixing the amount of com-

pensation to be paid whether successful or unsuccessful

in the enterprise.” Benedict, supra Sec. 159 (footnotes

omitted). The district court clearly only contemplated the

first type of salvage claims: pure salvage. But pure sal-

vage is not even at issue here: it is uncontested that PAS

and Tamico entered into a contract prior to the plane’s

removal. The fact that they entered into a contract does

not mean that a salvage action may not be maintained

under maritime jurisdiction: “A court of admiralty has

jurisdiction of the subject matter in salvage suits whether

the action is one of pure salvage or one of contract sal-

vage.” Benedict, swpra § 159 (emphasis added); see Clif-

ford v. M/V Islander, 565 F.Supp. 922, 927 (D. Mass. 1983)

(applying contract salvage principles).

Whether or not the contract between PAS and Tamico

is a valid contract salvage is made the more difficult to

determine because the contract did not require successful

completion of the contract. There is a split of authority

whether a contract salvage must be contingent upon suc-

cessful salvage of the vessel. Martin J. Norris, The Law

of Seamen § 9.43 (4th ed. 1985) (must be contingent on

successful salvage); Benedict, swpra § 159 (no contingen-

cy on success necessary); Clifford, 565 F.Supp. at 927 (no

contingency on success necessary).

The court need not finally decide whether or not PAS’

claim may be maintained as a contract salvage action. The

central question is whether a claim cognizable both at

common-law and also as a contract salvage action may be

App. 16

heard in a state court. PAS has subtly misstated the prob-

lem before the court. PAS would have the court believe

that the question is whether or not state courts have con-

current jurisdiction with federal courts to hear admiralty

and maritime cases. The way PAS formulates the ques-

tion, the answer can only be no. More accurately, how-

ever, the question is whether a state court may hear an

action that may be maintained either as a contract action

or as a contract salvage action.

The courts have interpreted the “savings to suitors”

clause as preserving a common law remedy where the

common law is competent to give it: “This gives the Plain-

tiff ‘who has an in personam claim the choice of pro-

ceeding in an ordinary civil action,” or ‘bringing a libel

in admiralty.’” Metropolitan Dade County v. One (1)

Bronze Cannon, 537 F.Supp. 923, 927 (Fla. 1982) (quoting

14 Charles A. Wright et al., Federal Practice and Pro-

cedure § 3672 (1976)). It has been explained that admiral-

ty jurisdiction is exclusive only to in rem proceedings:

“‘Admiralty’s jurisdiction is ‘exclusive’ only as to those

maritime causes of action begun and carried on as pro-

ceeding in rem, that is, where a vessel or thing is itself

treated as the offender and made the defendant by name

or description in order to enforce a lien.”’ Dade, 537 F.

Supp. at 928. The “savings to suitors” clause preserves

the common law remedies, i.e., those remedies which are

in personam in nature. Bergeron v. Quality Shipyards,

Inc., 765 F.Supp. 321, 323 (E.D. La. 1991); see also

Thames Shipyard & Repair Co. v. Willametz, 428 A.2d

1143 (1978) (on facts very similar to the instant case, ex-

cept that an oral contract was involved, the court applied

exclusively state contract doctrines with no mention of

federal law). Bergeron makes clear that Tamico’s in per-

sonam action may be maintained in state court. In fact,

App. 17

in cases where a party has attempted to remove a case

from state to federal court on the ground that a common

law claim was in reality an admiralty claim, the courts

have expressly rejected the removal. Fogleman v. Tide-

water Barges, Inc., 747 F.Supp. 348, 355 (E.D. La. 1990).

In essence, that is precisely what PAS seeks to do: it

seeks a ruling that the common law claim is in reality

a salvage claim that may only be brought in federal court.

This court could not make such a finding without thereby

also changing the very nature of the claim, and therefore

declines PAS’ suggestion to hold Tamico’s claim to be an

admiralty salvage claim. See Bergeron, 765 F.Supp. at 323.

While Tamico could have chosen to pursue its remedies

under salvage contract law, an effort that may or may

not have been successful, it chose to pursue its normal

contract remedies. Its decision is expressly permissible

under the “savings to suitors clause’’.

2. Whether the action should be dismissed because of

Tamico’s failure to prove its good standing at the time

that it filed suit

Tamico did not prove its good standing until six months

after it filed suit. The certificate of compliance that Tamico

finally filed indicated that Tamico, Inc. has been in good

standing continuously since July 29, 1976.

PAS argues for strict compliance with AS 10.06.848,

which reads in part:

A domestic or foreign corporation may not commence

a suit, action, or proceeding in a court in this state

without alleging and proving at the time it commences

the suit, action, or proceeding that it has paid its

biennial corporation tax last due and has filed its

biennial report for the last reporting period.

App. 18

The predecessor provision was somewhat more loosely

worded:

No corporation shall be permitted to commence or

maintain any suit, action, or proceeding in any court

of this state, without alleging and proving that it has

paid its annual license fee last due...

AS 10.05.720 (superseded). Under AS 10.05.720, the case

law indisputably allowed a corporation to late-file its proof

of good standing. See, e.g., King v. Petroleum Servic:s

Corp., 536 P.2d 116, 118 (Alaska 1975). The purpose of

the requirement that a certificate of good standing be filed

is to ensure that corporations file the appropriate reports

and taxes. Blake v. Gilbert, 702 P.2d 631, 636-37 (Alaska

1985). It is clear in this case that Tamico has filed all

reports and paid all taxes; the question is whether it

should be barred forever from seeking relief in the courts

because it failed to allege that it had done so when it filed

suit.

Rigid adherence to the requirement that a corporation

file its certificate of good standing immediately at the

outset of the litigation, or not at all, is not mandated by

the law. Rigid adherence would defeat, to a substantial

extent, the civil rules’ goal for the just and speedy resolu-

tion of disputes. Alaska R. Civ. P. 1. Under PAS’ inter-

pretation, if a corporation late-files its certificate of good

standing, by even one day, dismissal must occur. This

result is not in accord with the general rule that dismissal

under Alaska Civil Rule 12(bX6) is not appropriate unless

the opposing party can produce no set of facts to cure

the defect. Shooshanian v. Wagner, 672 P.2d 455, 461

(Alaska 1983). It is also not in accord with the previous-

ly stated rule allowing a corporation to cure substantial

defects in its pleading even after initial filing. King, 536

P.2d at 118. While, therefore, filing of a certificate of good

standing may be required of a corporation which has not

App. 19

done so, or affirmative defenses raised based on a cor-

poration’s apparent lack of capacity for failure to file a

certificate when it files suit, dismissal of the action is

neither a necessary nor even a desirable result. The court

rejects PAS’ contention.

3. Whether attorney’s fees were appropriately calculated

Alaska Civil Rule 82 provides only a suggested schedule

of fees. Rule 82 specifically provides the court with discre-

tion in setting attorney’s fees. A grant of attorney’s fees

by the district court will be reviewed on an abuse of dis-

cretion standard. Grasle Elec. Co. v. Clark, 525 P.2d 1081,

1086 (Alaska 1974). The fact that this action was settled

by default judgment does not reflect the considerable un-

derlying litigation, and it was fully within the district

court’s discretion to award full attorney’s fees. The court

affirms the district court’s award.

4. Whether dismissal of Triem as attorney for PAS was

proper

PAS argues that DR 5-101(B), DR 5-102, and AS 22.20.040

are all unconstitutional. PAS does not support its claim.

Salutary reasons exist to support these rules. Most broad-

ly stated, the rules all advance the goals of integrity of

the legal process. The rules prevent the inherently incon-

sistent role of a lawyer attempting to be both advocate

and witness. This rule has been approved by courts both

in the corporate setting, Gasoline Expwy, Inc. v. Sun Ou

Co. of Pennsylvania, 407 N.Y.S.2d 65-66 (1978), and also

in the general setting of Alaska’s disciplinary rules, Mur-

ray v. Feight, 741 P.2d 1148, 1160 (Alaska 1987). The court

finds no good reason to find the rules unconstitutional,

and upholds the decision of the district court disqualify-

ing Triem as counsel for PAS.

App. 20

5. Whether the district court erred in allowing claims

against Triem and in their individual capacities

PAS argues that the district court ruled in its favor on

the issue of summary judgment dismissing it from the liti-

gation, but then refused to enter a judgment of dismissal

in its favor. The record does not support this claim. On

January 17, 1990, the district court did rule in its favor on

a summary judgment motion. However by order of clarifi-

cation dated June 4, 1990, the court held: “The court’s

order of January 17, 1990, granted summary judgment

only as to the claims stated in the original complaint.”

There is no indication that the court intended either Triem

or Berg to be permanently dismissed from the suit.

PAS argues that Triem and Berg were never proper

parties to the litigation. They fail to support this assertion.

Given the fact that Triem and Berg are the principals and

only stockholders in PAS, and given the limited purposes

for which PAS was formed, it may be that Triem and

Berg may be held individually liable based on an alter

ego theory of corporate law. In any event, it is not clear

to the court why Triem and Berg are not proper parties

to the action. The court finds no error in the district

court’s decision not to dismiss Triem or Berg.

6. Whether the appropriate rate of preyudgment interest

was used

Prejudgment interest is 10.5% unless a contract in writ-

ing® exists providing for payment at a specified interest

rate. AS 09.30.070. Tamico argues that the bill it presented

* Tamico argues that a writing is necessary, and points to its bill-

ing statement. It is correct that there must be a writing. However

the writing must be of a specific type: a contract.

App. 21

to PAS constituted a “dual offer’: PAS could either pay

the balance in full within 30 days and accrue no interest

charges or have the unpaid balance accrue interest at the

rate of 1-1/2% per month. Tamico argues, in effect, that

PAS accepted the accrued rate (18%) because it withheld

payment beyond 30 days.

Tamico must prove that PAS’ inaction or silence is an

acceptance. However, it fails to make any supportive ar-

gument or cite to any supporting legal authority. The gen-

eral rule is that silence and inaction will not be construed

as an assent to an offer. Samuel Williston, A Treatise on

the Law of Contracts § 6.49 (4th ed. 1991) [hereinafter

‘“Williston’’]. The surrounding circumstances may be con-

sidered. Williston, supra § 6.49. In this instance, the sur-

rounding circumstances indicate that PAS strenuously ob-

jected to paying the bill in the first instance; given its

strong objections to the bill, the court cannot conclude

that PAS’ silence was an acceptance as Tamico alleges.

Interest should therefore be calculated at the rate of 10.5%.

VII. Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, the court affirms the district

court’s rulings in all respects except that a prejudgment

interest must be calculated at 10.5%. The case is affirmed

in all respects except interest calculation, and remanded

to the district court for entry of judgment in conformity

with this opinion.

IT IS SO ORDERED.’

Done this 13th day of July, 1993.

/s/ Walter L. C neti

WALTER L. CARPENETI

Superior Court Judge

7 Appellee, the prevailing party in this appeal, is awarded $500

in attorney’s fees pursuant to R.App.Pro. 508e).

App. 22

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT FOR

THE STATE OF ALASKA

FIRST JUDICIAL DISTRICT AT PETERSBURG

TAMICO, INC.,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

VS.

FRED TRIEM, DAVID BERG,

AND PETERSBURG AIRCRAFT

SALVORS, INC.,

)

)

)

)

)

)

Defendants-Appellants. )

No. 1PE-89-113 Cl

JUDGMENT

This matter came before the court on plaintiff's motion

for sanctions and entry of default on the 30th day of July

1991, and the court being duly advised in the premises,

NOW, THEREFORE, judgment is hereby entered against

defendants, jointly and severally, in the amount of Four-

teen Thousand One Hundred Sixty Dollars ($14,160.00)

plus accrued interest in the amount of Five Thousand

Forty-one and 74/100th Dollars ($5,041.74), together with

costs in the amount of Sixty-six and 56/100th Dollars

($66.56), Rule 82 attorneys’ fees in the amount of Three

Thousand Four Hundred Fifty-six and 31/100th Dollars

($3,456.31) and sanctions imposed on June 14, 1991, in the

amount of Two Hundred Fifty Dollars ($250.00), for a total

judgment in the amount of Twenty-two Thousand Nine

Hundred Seventy-four and 61/100th Dollars ($22,974.61).

Dated at Ketchikan, Alaska, this 2nd day of October,

1991.

/s/) Thomas E. Schulz

Superior Court Judge

App. 23

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION AND STATUTES

Admiralty Clause, U.S. Constitution:

Article III, Section 2, Clause 1: The judicial Power

shall extend to... all Cases of admiralty and maritime

jurisdiction ...

Saving to Suitors Clause (Original Version):

Sec. 9. And be it further enacted, That the district courts

shall have, exclusively of the courts of the several States,

cognizance of all crimes and offences that shall be

cognizable under the authority of the United States,

committed within their respective districts, or upon the

high seas; where no other punishment than whipping,

not exceeding thirty stripes, a fine not exceeding one

hundred dollars, or a term of imprisonment not exceed-

ing six months, is to be inflicted; and shall also have

exclusive original cognizance of all civil causes of admi-

ralty and maritime jurisdiction, including all seizures

under laws of impost, navigation or trade of the United

States, where the seizures are made on waters which are

navigable from the sea by vessels of ten or more tons

burthen, within their respective districts as well as upon

the high seas; saving to suitors, in all cases, the right of

a common law remedy, where the common law is compe-

tent to give it; and shall also have exclusive original

cognizance of all seizures on land, or other waters than

as aforesaid, made, and of all suits for penalties and

forfeitures incurred, under the laws of the United states.

And shall also have cognizance, concurrent with the

courts of the several States, or the circuit courts, as the

case may be, of all causes where an alien sues for a tort

only in violation of the law of nations or a treaty of the

App. 24

United States. And shall also have cognizance, concur-

rent as last mentioned, of all suits at common law where

the United States sue, and the matter in dispute

amounts, exclusive of costs, to the sum or value of one

hundred dollars. And shall also have jurisdiction exclu-

sively of the courts of the several States, of all suits

against consuls or vice-consuls, except for offences above

the description aforesaid. And the trial of issues in fact,

in the district courts, in all causes except civil causes of

admiralty and maritime jurisdiction, shall be by jury.

The Judiciary Act of 1789, 1 Stat. 73.

28 U.S.C. §1333(1) (Saving to Suitors Clause, current

version):

28 U.S.C. § 1333 Admiralty, maritime and prize cases

The district courts shall have original jurisdiction,

exclusive of the courts of the States, of:

(1) Any civil case of admiralty or maritime jurisdic-

tion, saving to suitors in all cases all other remedies to

which they are otherwise entitled.

(2) Any prize brought into the United States and all

proceedings for the condemnation of property taken as

prize.

(As amended May 24, 1949, c. 139, § 79, 63 Stat. 101.)

App. 25

Petitioners sought discretionary review in the Supreme

Court of Alaska pursuant to Alaska Appellate Rule 302(b).

Their petition for hearing was timely but it was denied.

The Order of the Supreme Court of Alaska that denied

the Petition for Hearing was entered on 16 September 1993. It

is not reported. The text consists of only two sentences:

In the Supreme Court of the State of Alaska

Petersburg Aircraft Salvors, Inc.,

Fred W. Triem, and David A. Berg,

Petitioners

Tamico, Inc.,

Respondent

Case No. S-5822

It is ordered: the Petition for

Hearing filed on August 13, 1993

is denied. Entered at the direc-

tion of the Supreme Court on

September 16, 1993.

(signed)

Clerk of the Appellate Courts

Anchorage, Alaska

App. 26

ERRATA SHEET

Page 10, third paragraph, erroneous citation, should read:

(1) There is a conflict between state courts, SUPREME COURT

RULE 10.1(b). {Had miscited to 10.1(a).}

Page 27, first paragraph, missing case citation, should read:

There are even modern cases in the federal courts that

contain dicta to support the view that there is a concurrent ju-

risdiction in state courts. Bergeron v. Quality Shipyards, Inc.

765 F.Supp. 321, 323 (E.D. La. 1991) (state courts have con-

current jurisdiction to try in personam admiralty actions, citing

Saving to Suitors Clause); Fogleman v. Tidewater Barges, Inc.,

747 F.Supp. 348, 354 (E.D. La. 1990) (plaintiff can file a maritime

action in state court under the Saving to Suitors Clause, which

preserves the plaintiff's right to common law remedies).

{ Happily for the Petitioners herein, there never has been a decision

of a federal court in which the holding is to that effect. }

Page 30, final line, erroneous date of submission, should read:

Respectfully submitted this 10th day of January 1994 at

Petersburg, Alaska.

Page 30, footnote no. 10, missing parenthetical, should read:

10 (...continued)

particular facts. The Supreme Court, unlike the lower federal

courts, is given a largely discretionary jurisdiction, which is

used when areas of law require clarification.”) (Bork, J.)

(emphasis added)

EXHIBIT A—Maritime salvage operation with M/V Matanuska

in background (the Matanuska serves the Alaska

Marine Highway from Brit. Columbia).

EXHIBIT B—After the sunken plane was raised, it was towed

to shore.

nn

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.