Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Johnson v. Sheahan

Supreme Court brief1996

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

U a Our, U.o-

FILED

931951 MAY 28 19%

No. OFF IOE OF- THE CLERK

In the

Supreme Court of the Anited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1995

ALBERT JOHNSON, PETITIONER

Vv.

MICHAEL SHEAHAN, JAMES FAIRMAN, AND

RAUL ESTRADA, RESPONDENTS

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Seventh Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TimoTHY S. BISHOP

Counsel of Record

JAMES C. SCHROEDER

DAVID J. FRANKLYN

TRACY M. FLYNN

Mayer, Brown & Platt

190 South LaSalle Street

Chicago, Illinois 60603

(312) 782-0600

Counsel for Petitioner

Bee.

ee, arte

ss om ene -

i

QUESTION PRES *“NTED

The First, Second, Fourth, S::th, Ninth, Tenth, and

Eleventh Circuits have held that avt#oners have a constitu-

tionally cognizable interest in not being routinely and deliber-

ately monitored while undressed, showering, or using the

toilet by guards of the opposite sex. In those circuits, courts

weig: the privacy interests of priso1ers against the operation-

al needs of prison authorities, including efficient staffing and

maintenance of security, in order to determine whether

particular prison practices or physical arrangements that

result in such monitoring are reasonable. The Seventh Circuit

held in this case, over Chief Judge Posner’s dissent, that

prisoners have no constitutionally protected interest in not

being monitored while naked or engaged in intimate functions

by guards of the opposite sex. In the Seventh Circuit,

therefore, no balancing of prisoner privacy and prison needs

is required. The question presented is:

Whether prisoners have a constitutionally cognizable

interest in not being routinely and deliberately observed

undressed or using the shower or toilet by guards of the

opposite sex.

ii

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

Michael F. Sheahan, James W. Fairman, and Raul

Estrada were Gefendants-appellees below and are respondents

in this proceeding. A fourth defendant-appellee, Thomas J.

Charnogorsky, was voluntarily dismissed prior to oral

argument in the court of appeals and is not a respondent in

this proceeding. Petitioner is no longer pursuing a claim

against a fifth defendant-appellee, Richard J. Phelan, the

named party in the proceedings below.

eli ih a Pik IP AAI SEE ELEN A Se ET EE LMA

ail” Ae lint EER MS ms W i enahah cite Mr ewitie

iil

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTION PRESENTED ...........-..--+:: i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING ...........-.- ii

SE Es 7s did ys 0 b Ale 9 6 4 0 wo8s l

EE ae ge x ace ay 8 toe ee 8 88 1

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED .. l

eS es a wees ec 8 88 2

1. Johnson’s Complaint ........-..-+-:- 3

2. The District Court’s Decision .......... 4

3. The Court of Appeals’ Decision ........ 5

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION ..... )

I. THESEVENTH CIRCUIT’S DECISION CON-

FLICTS WITH NUMEROUS RULINGS OF

OTHER COURTS OF APPEALS .......

Il. THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT’S DECISION IS

ONIN as oo ob 5 8 Aa ece ee 8 ee ee 8 8

A. The Seventh Circuit Erred In Relying On

Wolfish And Hudson To Dismiss Petitio-

ner’s Fourth Amendment Claim

10

16

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

B. The Seventh Circuit Erred In Holding That

Cross-Sex Monitoring Cannot Violate The

Eigith Amendment .......008500% 20

CORA ANNE 5-6. diab! cee ee oe ee ee 21

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page

Albright v. Oliver, 510 U.S. 266 (1994).......... 6

Bell v. Wolfish, 441 U.S. 520 (1979) ....... passim

Canedy v. Boardman, 16 F.3d 183 (7th Cir.

CG 5 eS Wo 5 BER he 7 3a

Cookish v. Powell, 945 F.2d 441 (ist Cir.

SRS ee ca ee es 7, 11, 14, 19

Cornwell v. Dahlberg, 963 F.2d 912 (6th Cir.

Pg a ca eae Ve ee ne ee ees 4e.485:19

Covino v. Patrissi, 967 F.2d 73 (2d Cir. 1992) .... 19

Cumbey v. Meachum, 684 F.2d 712 (10th Cir.

OS eis 4k vs ORE Ces EAS EE 7, 12, 14

Fortner v. Thomas, 983 F.2d 1024 (Lith Cir.

SO a. ic a POA EE ES BR oes Os 14

Forts v. Ward, 621 F.2d 1210 (2d Cir. 1980) ... 11, 15

Graham v. Connor, 490 U.S. 386 (1989) ......... 6

Hardin v. Stynchcomb, 691 F.2d 1364 (11th Cir.

ONE ig Ub yay ws ace hte ee Eee 12

EE ———e

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Jordan v. Gardner, 986 F.2d 1521 (9th Cir.

SORE) éiaie bas Bika Oe ae Cee ee 11, 15, 21

Kent v. Johnson, 821 F.2d 1220 (6th Cir. 1987). . 13, 19

Lee v. Bratten, 1994 U.S. App. LEXIS 20669 (4th

Cle. Fae. B, TORO io a Site ee Kes es 14

Lee v. Downs, 641 F.2d 1117 (4th Cir. 1981) ..... 14

Michenfelder v. Sumner, 860 F.2d 328 (9th Cir.

SOM SS. ORs Cee eee 12, 13, 19

Smith v. Fairman, 678 F.2d 52 (7th Cir. 1982),

cert. denied, 461 U.S. 907 (1983) ....... 12, 14

Strickler v. Waters, 989 F.2d 1375 (4th Cir.), cert.

denied, 114 S. Ct. 393 (1993) .......... 11, 14

Timm v. Gunter, 917 F.2d 1093 (8th Cir. 1990),

cert. denied, 501 U.S. 1209 (1991) ......... 15

Torres v. Wisconsin Dep’t of Health & Soc. Servs.,

859 F.2d 1523 (7th Cir. 1988), cert. denied,

469 U.S. 1017 @& TORE (IGS cae ee 12

Turner v. Safley, 482 U.S. 78

(GET 5 rae eee eee 6, 13, 15, 17, 20

Whitley v. Albers, 475 U.S. 312 (1986) ....... 20, 21

Wilson v. Seiter, 501 U.S. 294 (1991) .......... 20

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

York v. Story, 324 F.2d 450 (9th Cir. 1963), cert.

denied, 376 U.S. 939 (1964)...........-..

Miscellaneous:

Comment, Sex Discrimination in Prison Employ-

ment: The Bona Fide Occupational Qualifica-

tion and Prisoners’ Privacy Rights, 65 lowa L.

ie ee A a ag ko ae be Mee 6 488

20 Ill. Admin. Code § 701.20(b)(1)(D) (1985 &

AOS, f OIE eee Tee ot ee

Note, Balancing Inmates’ Right to Privacy with

Equal Employment for Prison Guards, 4

Women’s Rights L. Rep. 243 (1978) ........

R. Posner, Sex and Reason (1992) .........-.-.-:

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Albert Johnson respectfully petitions for a writ of

certiorari to review the judgment of the United States Court

of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit.

OPINIONS BELOW

Judge Easterbrook’s opinion for the court of appeals and

Judge Posner’s dissenting opinion (App., infra, la-22a) are

reported at 69 F.3d 144. The order denying the petition for

rehearing and suggestion for rehearing en banc over four

dissents (App., infra, 23a-24a) is not reported. The opinion

of the district court (App., infra, 25a-30a) is unofficially

reported at 1993 WL 388827 (N.D. Ill. Sept. 28, 1993).

JURISDICTION

The court of appeals entered judgment on October 24,

1995 and denied petitioner’s request for rehearing and

rehearing en banc on January 29, 1996. On April 4, 1996,

Justice Stevens granted petitioner 30 additional days in which

to file his petition, to and including May 28, 1996. This

petition is filed within the time allowed by Justice Stevens’

order. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28

U.S.C. § 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The Fourth Amendment to the U.S. Constitution pro-

vides in relevant part: “The right of the people to be secure

in their persons * * * against unreasonable searches and

seizures, shall not be violated.”

The Eighth Amendment to the U.S. Constitution

provides in relevant part: “Excessive bail shall not be

required, * * * nor cruel and unusual punishments inflicted.”

The Fourteenth Amendment to the U.S. Constitution

provides in relevant part: “nor shall any State deprive any

person of life, liberty, or property, without due process of

law.”

2

STATEMENT

Petitioner Albert Johnson’s pro se Section 1983 com-

plaint alleged that as a pretrial detainee at the Cook County

Jail in Chicago he was routinely and deliberately observed by

female prison guards while he was undressed, using the

shower, and using the toilet; that this invasion of privacy

violated his constitutional rights; and that prison officials

could satisfy their constitutional obligations by making minor

physical adjustments, such as improved screens and partitions

around shower and toilet facilities.

The Seventh Circuit majority, in an opinion by Judge

Easterbrook, affirmed dismissal of Johnson’s complaint for

failure to state a claim. In direct conflict, Judge Easterbrook

acknowledged, with decisions in other circuits which “say

that the Constitution forbids deliberate cross-sex monitoring”

(App., infra, 7a), the court of appeais held that prisoners

have no constitutionally cognizable interest in not being

observed engaged in intimate personal functions by guards of

the opposite gender. Nor could the court find in the Eighth

Amendment any “right not to be seen by the other sex.”

Ibid. Thus, because no constitutionally protected interests are

implicated, the court held, prison officials are not required

to consider even minor, nondisruptive, and inexpensive

changes to prevent routine cross-gender observation of naked

prisoners.

Criticizing the majority for “making a judgment that

condones barbarism” (App., infra, 22a), Chief Judge Posner

observed in dissent that “[n]o [other] case holds that the

surveillance of naked inmates by guards of the opposite sex

is lawful per se.” Jd. at 18a. Judge Posner himself rejected

the Fourth Amendment search and “right to privacy”

analyses adopted in most other circuits. Instead, Judge

Posner would have reversed the district court’s dismissal on

the ground that Johnson’s complaint stated a claim that he

3

had been subjected to cruel and unusual psychological

punishment prohibited by the Eighth Amendment.

The Seventh Circuit’s decision marks the nadir of

prisoner privacy rights. No other circuit has held that routine

and deliberate cross-gender monitoring of showering,

defecating, or urinating prisoners does not even implicate the

Constitution. This Court’s review is necessary to address the

circuit split created by the Seventh Circuit’s ruling in this

case, to settle major doctrii.al differences in the lower courts’

analyses of recurring prisoner cross-gender observation

claims, and to correct the erroneous decision below.

1. Johnson’s Complaint

Johnson, a pretrial detainee at the Cook County Jail,

filed an Inmate Grievance with the Cook County Department

of Corrections complaining that his “personal privacy [was]

violated” because “[f]emale guards are assigned to jobs * * *

which permit them to periodically view me and other inmates

in various states of undress while showering, sleeping and

using the toilet facilities.” Exh. 2 to Cmplt. Johnson ex-

plained that “[w]hen a female correctional officer is assigned

to work a dorm it is her duty and responsibility * * * to

constantly supervise all inmates in the dorms” and to survey

“the general toilet and shower facilities, which [are] in an

open unobstructed area except by a thin sheet that can be

seen through.” /bid. Johnson suggested that “[t}his problem

could be easily corrected by installing * * * fixed partitions,

or screens such as the type that are in the other divisions” in

the jail. /bid. ,

Johnson subsequently filed a pro se Section 1983 suit

repeating the allegations made in his grievance (which he

attached to. his complaint). Specifically, Johnson alleged that

inmates “are under observation 24 hours a day” (Cmplt. at

4-B); that female correctional officers’ assigned duties

included “supervising movements, making counts, and

4

making periodic unannounced spot-checks,” in carrying out

which duties they viewed Johnson engaged in intimate bodily

functions (id. at 4-C); and that Johnson was ais> seen using

the shower and toilet by female correctional officers “from

the flag/hall area where [correctional officers} usually sit

when they are not doing anything.” /bid. Johnson elaborated,

in his pro se brief opposing dismissal, that he was subjected

on a “daily basis” tc v'2wings by female correctional officers

while he was “showeiiog, defecating, and urinating.” App.

to C.A. Br. at A28.

Johnson professed feelings of “embarrassment and

humiliation” as a result of this cross-gender observation

(Cmplt. at 5), and stated that his “Fourteenth and First

Amendment Rights” had been violated, that he was being

“punished without due process and equal protection,” and

that his “right to personal privacy [and] also my religious

belief pertaining to Christian modesty is being infringed.” /d.

at 4-A. Johnson requested that defendants be ordered to take

remedial measures “to provide greater protection of pretrial

detainees/inmates personal privacy while showering and

defecating by installing screens or partitions in the toilet and

shower facilities.” Jd. at 5-A.

2. The District Court’s Decision

The district court, which had jurisdiction pursuant to 28

U.S.C. §§ 1331 and 1343(a)(3), dismissed Johnson’s

complaint with prejudice for failure to state a claim.’

' Johnson sued Cook County officials Phelan and

Charnogorsky and prison officials Sheahan, Fairman, and

Estrada in their individual and official capacities. Johnson

does not dispute the dismissal of his claims against the Cook

County officials and against prison officials in their official

capacities; only the claims against prison officials in their

personal capacities are at issue.

me. Cte die 8 Ante pte > ES _———er

“ agian pias

5

The district court recognized that prisoners have a

“legitimate privacy interest in shielding their unclothed

bodies from view by members of the opposite sex.” App.,

infra, 29a. But, failing to accord the usual leeway to prisoner

complaints drafted without the assistance of counsel and in

any event mischaracterizing Johnson’s allegations, the court

held that the complaint alleged only “incidental and inadver-

tent” observation. /bid. The court concluded that in those

circumstances Johnson’s privacy interests were minimal

and—without having heard any evidence—that they were out-

weighed by the prison’s need for securtty as well as by the

right of women guards to equal employment opportunities.

Id. at 29a-30a.

3. The Court of Appeals’ Decision

Unlike the district court, the Seventh Circuit, which had

jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1291, squarely faced the

allegation in Johnson's complaint that cross-sex monitoring

in Cook County Jail was deliberate and occurred on a routine

basis. Over Judge Posner’s dissent, the court held that

prisoners and pretrial detainees have no constitutionally

cognizable interest in not being routinely observed undressed,

defecating, and urinating by guards of the opposite sex.

a. The Seventh Circuit held that under Hudson v.

Palmer, 468 U.S. 517 (1984), and Bell v. Wolfish, 441 U.S.

520 (1979), Johnson failed to state a Fourth Amendment

claim. Taken together, the court believed, those decisions

mean that no form of observation of prisoners or pretrial

detainees can constitute an unreasonable search. Guards may

“watch and regulate every detail” of prisoners’ lives under

Hudson, the majority reasoned; and Wolfish upholds the

reasonableness of (same sex) body cavity searches of pretrial

detainees. App., infra, 2a-3a.

Judge Posner agreed with the majority that under

Hudson the Fourth Amendment is inapplicable to searches

6

within prisons. App., infra, 15a. He disagreed, however,

with the majority’s view that Wolfish speaks to the issue of

whether routine cross-sex monitoring raises any constitu-

tionally cognizable claim. Even though a pretrial detainee

may occasionally be subjected to a body cavity search

performed by a guard of the same sex as the detainee, it does

not follow, Judge Posner reasoned, “that no constitutional

issue is raised if the search is performed by a male guard on

a female prisoner, or a female guard on a male prisoner:

** * or if what is being watched is the prisoner’s genitalia

rather than the interior of his [or her] rectum.” Jd. at 19a.

b. The court of appeals held that because Johnson could

not assert a Fourth Amendment claim, he was also precluded

from claiming a violation of his right to privacy. Citing

Graham v. Connor, 490 U.S. 386 (1989), and Albright v.

Oliver, 510 U.S. 266 (1994), the court held that prisoners

cannot “substitute” a privacy claim for a Fourth Amendment

claim, because substantive due process “does not trump the

fourth amendment.” App., infra, 3a-4a. Moreover, the court

maintained, “privacy” is not a useful legal framework to be

applied to prisoners’ interests in hiding their bodies from the

view of guards of the opposite sex because it “has too many

other connotations.” Jd. at 3a.

In addition, the court stated, cross-sex monitoring

survives a substantive due process challenge under Turner v.

Safley, 482 U.S. 78 (1987), because it is “reasonably related

to legitimate penological interests”: facilitating the surveil-

lance of prisoners and allowing female guards “to participate

in the normal activities of guarding.” However, on the

record in this case, which is limited to the pleadings, the

court could not examine whether changes could readily be

made to increase prisoner privacy without compromising

security Or women guards’ career opportunities. Rather, it

emphasized the deference owed to decisions made by prison

administrators. App., infra, 4a.

7

Judge Posner agreed that the legal concept of “privacy”

is too “remote” from the ordinary meaning of the word to be

useful in analyzing Johnson’s claims. He thought the parties’

references to the “right of privacy” understandable, however,

because “[c]ountless cases, including our own * * * have

done the same thing.” App., infra, 15a, citing Canedy v.

Boardman, 16 F.3d 183 (7th Cir. 1994); Cornwell v.

Dahlberg, 963 F.2d 912, 916-917 (6th Cir. 1992); Cookish

v. Powell, 945 F.2d 441, 446 (1st Cir. 1991); and Cumbey

v. Meachum, 684 F.2d 712 (10th Cir. 1982).

c. Finally, the court held that Johnson failed to state a

claim for violation of the Eighth Amendment prohibition

against cruel and unusual punishments. According to the

majority, Johnson had not alleged the “demanding mental-

state component” of the Eighth Amendment—that defendants

“want{ed] to injure the prisoner or [knew] of and disre-

garded] a substantial risk that harm w/(ould] befall the

prisoner.” App., infra, 8a. While Johnson had adequately

alleged that cross-sex observation was deliberate, the court

ruled, he had not contended that prison officials adopted the

practice in order to injure or humiliate him. /d. at 8a-9a.

Moreover, cross-sex surveillance does not involve “unneces-

sary and wanton infliction of pain,” but allows prisons to use

staff efficiently and to avoid making sex a criterion of

employment. Jd. at 5a-6a.

Dissenting, Judge Posner would have remanded the case

for fact finding because the Eighth Amendment requires “that

reasonable efforts be made to prevent frequent, deliberate,

gratuitous exposure of nude prisoners of one sex to guards of

the other sex.” App., infra, 19a. Noting the strength of “the

nudity taboo” in the United States, Judge Posner would have

recognized that the exposure of naked prisoners to guards of

the opposite sex may be a cruel and unusual psychological

punishment. Jd. at 14a-16a.

8

Judge Posner complained that parading naked prisoners

before guards of the opposite sex marks them as “a type of

vermin, devoid of human dignity and entitled to no respect.”

App., infra, 13a. He warned against exaggerating the

“distance between [prisoners and] ‘us,’ the lawful ones, the

respectable ones,” observing that the inmate population

numbers 1.5 million; that a larger fraction of the population

has spent time in jail at some point in their lives; and that

among those in jail are pre-trial detainees who have not been

convicted of a crime, the innocent, those convicted of minor

offenses, and those whose crimes involved no evil intent.

Judge Posner refused to deny this “non-negligible fraction of

the American population * * * the rudiments of humane

consideration.” Jd. at 13a-14a.

Judge Posner rejected as baseless “hyperbole” the

majority’s assertion (unsupported by any factual record) “that

a decision for Johnson would mean that ‘female guards are

shuffled off to back office jobs.’” App., infra, 19a. He

pointed out that, in any event, the statutory protections of

Title VII cannot “override the Constitution,” nor can the

equal protection clause “license the infliction of cruel and

unusual punishments.” /d. at 17a.

Judge Posner also objected that the majority had con-

fused “motive and intent.” The cruel and unusual punish-

ments clause prohibits more than sadistically motivated inflic-

tions. The “deliberate indifference” component of an Eighth

Amendment claim is simply the “deliberate adoption of a

measure that constitutes cruel and unusual punish-

ment”—which Johnson had fairly alleged. App., infra, at

20a-22a. Cross-sex monitoring satisfies the requirement of

deliberateness if prison officials know that they are subjecting

prisoners to “gratuitous humiliation,” even if they are “not

actuated by any punitive purpose.” /d. at 21a.

9

Although agreeing with the majority that “the hard

choices made by prison administrators” are entitled to

respect, Judge Posner pointed out that “[tJhere is no record”

and hence “no basis * * * for supposing that such a choice

was made here, or for believing that an effort to limit cross-

sex surveillance would involve an inefficient use of staff.”

App., infra, 22a. Judge Posner concluded that “ijt would be

nice to know a little more about the facts before making a

judgment that condones barbarism,” and would have remand-

ed the case to the district court to develop the record. /bid.

d. Johnson moved for rehearing en ba.c. With Judges

Flaum and Rovner recused, that motion was denied by a vote

of six to four. App., infra, 23a-24a.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

In conflict with the majority of circuits, the Seventh

Circuit held in this case that deliberate, routine surveillance

of pre-trial detainees and prisoners when they are undressed,

showering, defecating, or urinating, conducted by corrections

officers of the opposite sex, implicates no interests protected

by the Fourth Amendment or the constitutional right to

privacy and hence does not have to be shown to be reason-

able. Nor, the majority held, does cross-gender surveillance

of prisoners engaged in intimate bodily functions raise Eighth

Amendment concerns, except in the improbable event that

“defendants adopted their [surveillance] policy to cause

injury.” App., infra, 9a. According to the court, then, cross-

gender observation raises no constitutional issue; in the

Seventh Circuit it “is lawful per se.” Jd. at 18a.

The question presented is “whether a prisoner has an

interest that the Constitution protects in hiding his naked

body from guards of the opposite sex” (App.., infra, 15a)—an

interest that would have prevented dismissal of this suit on

the pleadings before any evidence about the reasonableness

of Cook County Jail’s practices had been gathered. Both

rie

10

opinions below acknowledge that the courts of appeals are

divided on that question. /d. at 7a-8a, 15a, 18a-19a. Both

opinions note that circuits holding that cross-gender obser-

vation implicates the Constitution disagree about the source

of this protection. Jd. at 5a, 7a-8a, 15a-19a. And the

opinions evidence a deep division concerning the meaning of

this Court’s precedents, which the majority believed doom

petitioner’s claim (id. at 3a) but which the dissent—like

courts in other circuits—thought inconclusive.

The question presented is ripe for this Court’s review.

It is a recurring issue in the lower courts, as demonstrated by

the plethora of reported appellate decisions (which are only

the tip of the iceberg). It is an issue on which, incontestably,

there is a direct circuit split, with the Seventh Circuit

standing alone in answering the question no. And it is an

issue on which the courts of appeals are in considerable

analytic disarray, unable to agree whether a prisoner’s right

to be free from unnecessary cross-sex surveillance is located

in the Fourth Amendment, in a “right to privacy,” or (as

Judge Posner would hold) only in the Eighth Amendment.

This Court should grant certiorari to settle the circuit split

and provide much needed guidance to the lower courts on

common but perplexing questions that consume considerable

judicial and governmental resources.

I. THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT’S DECISION CON-

FLICTS WITH NUMEROUS RULINGS OF OTHER

COURTS OF APPEALS

Many circuits have addressed cross-gender surveillance

or search claims brought by prisoners under Section 1983.

With the exception of the Seventh Circuit in this case, not

one has held that prisoners lack a constitutionally cognizable

interest in being free from intrusions into their bodily privacy

by corrections employees of the opposite sex. Each Circuit

to consider the issue has either explicitly held that prisoners

11

have constitutional rights that are implicated by deliberate

and routine cross-sex monitoring, or has at least assumed that

prisoners retain such rights and accordingly has inquired into

the needs of prison administrators to determine if some

modification of prison practices is constitutionally required.’

Thus, the First, Second, Fourth, Sixth, Ninth, Tenth,

and Eleventh Circuits have all recognized that routine cross-

gender viewing of naked, showering, defecating, or urinating

prisoners triggers constitutional scrutiny. See, e.g., Cookish

v. Powell, 945 F.2d 441, 446-447 (ist Cir. 1991) (constitu-

tional privacy rights are implicated “when guards of the

opposite sex regularly observe [inmates] engaged in personal

activities, such as undressing, showering, and using the

toilet,” but not by “inadvertent, occasional, casual, and/or

restricted observations”); Forts v. Ward, 621 F.2d 1210,

1214 (2d Cir. 1980) (assuming that “the nighttime viewing

of completely or partially unclothed women inmates by male

prison guards” infringes constitutional privacy rights);

Strickler v. Waters, 989 F.2d 1375, 1387 (4th Cir. 1993)

(“when not reasonably necessary, exposure of a prisoner's

genitals to members of the opposite sex violates his constitu-

tional rights”); Cornwell v. Dahlberg, 963 F.2d 912, 916

(6th Cir. 1992) (“this Circuit has joined others in recognizing

2 Some cases cited in this section, such as Jordan v.

Gardner, 986 F.2d 1521 (9th Cir. 1993) (en banc), involve

surveillance of female prisoners by male guards. There is no

reason why the constitutional analysis of cross-sex surveil-

lance claims should be different depending on the gender of

the prisoner. Certainly, as Judge Posner observed, the

discussion in the Seventh Circuit’s opinion in this case

implies “that female inmates have no constitutionally protect-

ed interest in not being seen in the nude by male guards.”

App., infra, 18a.

12

that a convicted prisoner maintains some reasonable expecta-

tions of privacy while in prison, particularly where * * *

related to forced exposure to strangers of the opposite sex”);

Michenfelder v. Sumner, 860 F.2d 328, 333 (9th Cir. 1988)

(prisoners “retain a limited right to bodily privacy” that

encompasses “(sJhielding one’s unclothed figure from the

view of * * * strangers of the opposite sex”); Cumbey v.

Meachum, 684 F.2d 712, 714 (10th Cir. 1982) (privacy

rights are implicated when “guards regularly watch inmates

of the opposite sex who are engaged in personal activities,

such as undressing, using toilet facilities, or showering”);

Hardin v. Stynchcomb, 691 F.2d 1364, 1373 (11th Cir.

1982) (“inmates’ retained privacy rights may be unnecessari-

ly invaded by having deputies of the opposite sex * * *

oversee use of toilet and shower facilities”).’

3 Until this case, the Seventh Circuit took the same

position. See Canedy v. Boardman, 16 F.3d 183, 186-187

(7th Cir. 1994); Torres v. Wisconsin Dep't of Health & Soc.

Servs., 859 F.2d 1523, 1526, 1528 (7th Cir. 1988); Smith v.

Fairman, 678 F.2d 52, 53-55 (7th Cir. 1982). The majority

distinguished Canedy on the ground that it concerned cross-

gender tactile searches. App., infra, at 7a. But the court's

reasoning here leaves no room for constitutional claims based

on tactile searches either. And the majority in any event

misread Canedy. The prisoner in Canedy (whom counsel of

record represented on appeal) alleged in a separate count that

routine cross-gender surveillance violated his privacy rights.

The Seventh Circuit reversed the district court’s dismissal of

that surveillance count, squarely holding that it stated a

claim. See 16 F.3d at 187 (while occasional and inadvertent

sightings of naked male inmates by female prison guards do

not violate the inmates’ right to privacy, “that right is

violated where this observation is * * * a regular occur-

rence”) (emphasis added).

13

The courts of appeals differ as to the source of

prisoners’ constitutional interests in avoiding cross-gender

surveillance. Because “[o]bservation is a form of search”

(App., infra, 2a), some courts of appeals, in direct conflict

with the ruling of the Seventh Circuit here, hold that prison-

ers have a constitutionally cognizable Fourth Amendment

privacy interest in not being routinely monitored in intimate

circumstances by guards of the opposite sex, infringement of

which triggers a factual inquiry into the reasonableness of the

practice. Typical of these decisions is Kent v. Johnson, 821

F.2d 1220, 1221 (6th Cir. 1987), adhered to after reconsider-

ation in light of Turner v. Safley (482 U.S. 78 (1987)), 821

F.2d 1229. In Kent, the Sixth Circuit reversed dismissal of

a male prisoner’s Fourth Amendment complaint challenging

a prison practice that allowed “female guards to view him

performing necessary bodily functions in his cell and to view

his naked body in the shower area.” In stark contrast to the

majority in this case, the Sixth Circuit observed (id. at

1226):

Perhaps it is merely an abundance of common

experience that leads inexorably to the conclusion

that there must be a fundamental constitutional right

to be free from forced exposure of one’s person to

strangers of the opposite sex when not reasonably

necessary for some legitimate, overriding reason,

for the obverse would be repugnant to notions of

human decency and personal integrity.

The Ninth Circuit likewise recognizes that prisoner suits

alleging that cross-gender surveillance violates the Fourth

Amendment state a claim and require some factual inquiry

into the justifications for the practice. E.g., Michenfelder,

860 F.2d at 334 (noting that “[oJur circuit’s law respects an

incarcerated prisoner’s right to bodily privacy”; we “analyze

[plaintiff's Fourth Amendment claim] by using Turner v.

Safley’s rational relationship test”). And the First Circuit

”

14

held in Cookish, 945 F.2d at 447, that by October 1987 the

law was clear that “observations of an inmate’s naked body

by a guard of the opposite sex * * * other than inadvertent,

occasional, casual, and/or restricted * * * observation would

(in all likelihood) violate the Fourth Amendment”).

Other courts of appeals’ decisions, equally at odds with

the Seventh Circuit’s ruling here, locate a prisoner’s right to

be free from unreasonable cross-sex monitoring in the

constitutional “right to privacy.” These cases include, for

example, in the Fourth Circuit, Lee v. Bratten, 1994 U.S.

App. LEXIS 20669, at *9 (4th Cir. Aug. 8, 1994) (viewing

of prisoners “while they are undressed by guards of the

opposite sex when not reasonably necessary” violates “‘their

right of privacy’”), Strickler, 989 F.2d at 1387, and Lee v.

Downs, 641 F.2d 1117, 1120 (4th Cir. 1981); in the Tenth

Circuit, Cumbey, 684 F.2d at 713-714 (holding that a prison-

er’s suit alleging “that female prison guards * * * are

assigned to posts where they observe him dressing and

undressing and using the toilet and the shower” stated a

claim that his “constitutional rights to privacy are being

violated”); and, in the Eleventh Circuit, Fortner v. Thomas,

983 F.2d 1024, 1026-1027, 1030 (11th Cir. 1993) (electing

“to join other circuits in recognizing a prisoner’s constitu-

tional right to bodily privacy because most people have ‘a

special sense of privacy in their genitals, and involuntary

exposure of them in the presence of people of the other sex

may be especially demeaning and humiliating’”). See also

Smith, 678 F.2d at 53, 55 (case law holds that “inmates do

have some right to avoid unwanted intrusions by persons of

the opposite sex” and locates that right in “the Fourth

Amendment guarantee of freedom from unreasonable

searches or the more general right of personal privacy”).

In addition, at least one court of appeals explicitly

disagrees with the Seventh Circuit majority’s position that

cross-sex searches do not violate a prisoner’s Eighth Amend-

15

ment right to be free of cruel and unusual punishment. In

Jordan v. Gardner, 986 F.2d at 1522, the en banc Ninth

Circuit held that “a policy that requires male guards to

conduct random, non-emergency, suspicionless clothed body

searches on female prisoners” violates the Eighth Amend-

ment. As Judge Posner pointed out in his dissent, “[w]hat

Johnson alleges is worse” than the invasion of privacy held

to run afoul of the Eighth Amendment in Jordan. App.,

infra, 19a.

Under each of these approaches, courts have inquired

into the reasonableness of prison arrangements that result in

routine cross-gender monitoring, including the availability of

alternative arrangements that would eliminate or reduce

invasions of prisoner privacy while also serving prison needs.

See Wolfish, 441 U.S. at 559 (Fourth Amendment “test of

reasonableness * * * requires a balancing of the need for the

particular search against the invasion of personal rights that

the search entails”); Turner, 482 U.S. at 90-91 (the existence

of “an alternative that fully accommodates the prisoner's

rights at de minimis cost to valid penological interests” is

“evidence that the regulation does not satisfy the reasonable

relationship standard”). Courts applying this balancing test to

determine the constitutionality of cross-gender surveillance

recognize that “[rjesolution of such cases requires a careful

inquiry as to whether the competing interests can be satisfac-

torily accommodated before deciding whether one interest

must be vindicated to the detriment of the other.” Forts v.

Ward, 621 F.2d 1210, 1212 (2d Cir. 1980).

This inquiry is not at all unmanageable. After balancing,

courts sometimes require changes in particular prison

practices (¢.g., Jordan, 986 F.2d at 1531); and sometimes

they find that, in all the circumstances, no changes are neces-

sary. E.g., Timm v. Gunter, 917 F.2d 1093, 1101-1102 (8th

Cir. 1990). Often, all the competing interests at stake can be

accommodated. Thus, “[t]he majorit of courts addressing

A = _ —

16

the issue of inmate privacy have granted relief to inmates

without denying employment to guards of the opposite sex.”

Note, Balancing Inmates’ Right to Privacy with Equal

Employment for Prison Guards, 4 Women’s Rights L. Rep.

243, 248 (1978). The factual inquiry that was short circuited

by dismissal in this case has enabled most courts to find “a

viable solution to the difficult problem of balancing the

interests of all the parties involved.” Comment, Sex Discrim-

ination in Prison Employment: The Bona Fide Occupational

Qualification and Prisoners’ Privacy Rights, 65 lowa L. Rev.

428, 445 (1980).

The Seventh Circuit’s ruling in this case is sharply in

conflict with decisions in a majority of circuits and leaves

pre-trial detainees and prisoners confined in Illinois, Indiana,

or Wisconsin considerably worse off than their counterparts

elsewhere in the Nation. There is no justification for this

disparity in treatment. Nor is there any reason why a direct

circuit split as to this recurring constitutional issue should be

tolerated. The question presented has percolated through the

lower courts for well over a decade, producing a confusion

of different analytic approaches and consuming an enormous

quantity of judicial, governmental, and private resources. It

is time for this Court to intervene.

Il. THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT’S DECISION IS WRONG

The Seventh Circuit erred in depriving prisoners of any

right to be free from unreasonable cross-sex surveillance

while dressing and undressing, showering, defecating, and

urinating. As a majority of circuits recognize, routine cross-

sex monitoring is too great an affront to dignity—too

“degrading,” “brutalizing,” and dehumanizing—to escape

constitutional scrutiny. App., infra, 13a; see York v. Story,

324 F.2d 450, 455 (9th Cir. 1963) (“[W]e cannot conceive

of a more basic subject of privacy than the naked body. The

desire to shield one’s unclothed figure from view of strang-

17

ers, and particularly strangers of the opposite sex, is im-

pelled by elementary self-respect and personal dignity”).

“(T]he wearing of clothes is * * * a mark of man’s distinc-

tive dignity” (R. Posner, Sex and Reason 226 (1992));

violating that widely-shared, religiously-endorsed, and still

very strong taboo on nudity unjustifiably reduces prisoners

to a status “no better than animals.” Jd. at 14a.*

The Constitution protects prisoners from affronts to their

dignity and humanity of the sort alleged by petitioner. Prison

practices that result in routine cross-sex surveillance of naked

prisoners engaged in intimate personal functions survive

Fourth and Eighth Amendment scrutiny only if they are

reasonable and no less intrusive, non-disruptive alternative

that meets prison needs is readily, inexpensively available.

Turner, 482 U.S. at 90-91. There is no factual record in this

case; hence there was no way for the courts below to

determine, on a motion to dismiss, if that reasonableness

standard was satisfied.

4 Evidence that society recognizes the especially intru-

sive and demeaning nature of cross-sex surveillance is to be

found in prison regulations, which frequently prohibit or

limit the practice. Indeed, Illinois Department of Corrections’

regulations governing Cook County Jai! provide that “super-

vision shall be provided by a person of the same sex * * *

[dJuring periods of personal hygiene activities and care such

as showers, toileting, and related activities.” 20 Ill. Admin.

Code § 701.20(b)(1)(D) (1985 & Supp.).

18

A. The Seventh Circuit Erred In Relying On Wolfish

And Hudson To Dismiss Petitioner’s Fourth Amend-

ment Claim

Prisoner surveillance, the court below recognized, is “a

form of search.” App., infra, 2a. It therefore falls within the

literal scope of the Fourth Amendment. Prisoners continue to

enjoy Fourth Amendment protections that are “not fundamen-

tally inconsistent with imprisonment itself or incompatible

with the objectives of incarceration.” Hudson v. Palmer, 468

U.S. at 523. This Court has never held that a right not to be

subjected to unreasonable cross-gender surveillance is per se

inconsistent with the goals of incarceration. And, with the

exception of the Seventh Circuit in this case, the courts of

appeals have rejected the notion that no “‘justifiable’ expecta-

tion of privacy is at stake” when such surveillance occurs.

Id. at 525; see Section I, supra.

The Seventh Circuit erred in concluding that Hudson and

Bell v. Wolfish, taken together, preclude all Fourth Amend-

ment claims of unreasonable searches made by prisoners.

App., infra, 3a. Those decisions may condone “constant

vigilance” over inmates, as the majority asserted (ibid.), but

they cannot fairly be said to speak to the claim made by

petitioner.

Wolfish found occasional same-sex body cavity searches

reasonable; it did not address cross-gender searches at all.

The majority assumed that Wolfish covered the monitoring

challenged here because it judged body cavity searches to be

“a substantially greater intrusion” than cross-gender monitor-

ing. App., infra, 6a. But daily observation of prisoners while

dressing and undressing, showering, and using the toilet by

guards of the opposite sex raises different constitutional

concerns than occasional same-sex body cavity searches. As

Judge Posner put it (id. at 19a):

19

It does not follow [from Wolfish] that no constitutional

issue is raised if the search is performed by a male guard

on a female prisoner; or a female guard on a male

prisoner * * * or if what is being watched is the prison-

er’s genitalia rather than the interior of his rectum.

On its face, Hudson does not speak to cross-sex monitor-

ing either. In Hudson, a prisoner challenged the reasonable-

ness of a search of possessions kept in his cell. Reasoning

that it would be “literally impossible” for prisons to maintain

security “if inmates retained a right of privacy in their cells”

(468 U.S. at 527), this Court held that “the Fourth Amend-

ment proscription against unreasonable searches does not

apply within the confines of the prison cell.” Id. at 526

(emphasis added); see also id. at 538 (O’Connor, J., concur-

ring) (arrest abates “privacy and possessory interests in

personal effects” and therefore, searches “of the contents of

an inmate’s cell” are reasonable).

Thus, the courts of appeals consistently limit Hudson to

cell searches and hold that surveillance and other searches of

prisoners’ bodies are properly subjected to Fourth Amend-

ment scrutiny. See, e.g., Cornwell, 963 F.2d at 916, and

Kent, 821 F.2d at 1221 (Sixth Circuit); Cookish, 945 F.2d at

446 (First Circuit); Michenfelder, 860 F.2d at 332 (Ninth

Circuit). For example, the Second Circuit in Covino v.

Patrissi, 967 #.2d 73, 78 (2d Cir. 1992), held that Hudson

prohibited a Fourth Amendment claim “with respect to

prison spaces,” but that prisoners “retain a limited right to

bodily privacy” that protects them from unreasonable

searches.

Neither Wolfish nor Hudson individually hold that

prisoners lack a constitutional right protecting them from

unreasonable searches of their bodies. Nor is it apparent,

except to the Seventh Circuit, how they together preclude a

Fourth Amendment claim relating to cross-gender surveil-

20

lance. The usual Fourth Amendment reasonableness princi-

ples should apply.°

B. The Seventh Circuit Erred In Holding That Cross-Sex

Monitoring Cannot Violate The Eighth Amendment

The court of appeals also erred in holding that Johnson’s

complaint did not adequately allege an Eighth Amendment

violation. The majority’s error stemmed from misapplying

the rule in Wilson v. Seiter, 501 U.S. 294 (1991), that only

a prison official who acts with “deliberate indifference” runs

afoul of the Eighth Amendment. The majority thought that

under Wilson and Whitley v. Albers, 475 U.S. 312 (1986),

the Eighth Amendment is violated only when a prison has

“inflicted pain pointlessly ,” and that the surveillance petition-

er alleged was not “pointless” because the court could

imagine nonpunitive justifications for it. App., infra, 5a-6a.

But as Judge Posner showed in his dissent, the “relevant

deliberateness” is not the motives of prison officials but

whether there was a “deliberate adoption” of a practice that

“constitutes cruel and unusual punishment.” Jd. at 20a.

Judge Posner correctly pointed out that a prison’s

disciplinary use of the thumbscrew and rack would constitute

5 Because of its context and purposes, cross-gender

surveillance in prison is most readily analyzed as a Fourth

Amendment search; there will usually be no reason to

analyze the practice under the general rubric of the “right to

privacy.” In any event, the Fourth Amendment’s reasonable-

ness standard may be little if any different from the inquiry

that would be conducted to adjudicate a substantive due

process privacy claim under Turner v. Safley. See 482 U.S.

at 89 (asking whether a regulation is “reasonably related to

legitimate penological interests,” in light of easily available

alternatives); Wolfish, 441 U.S. at 559 n.40.

21

cruel and unusual punishment even if the measure were

adopted “merely to maintain good order” or to “save

money.” App., infra, 20a. Likewise, when a prison adopts

a practice of “deliberately expos[ing]” naked prisoners to the

gaze of guards of the opposite sex—a “cruel and unusual

psychological punishment” (id. at 17a)—it is “irrelevant” if

the prison officials’ motive was merely to ease prison

administration. If prison officials know that cross-gender

surveillance subjects inmates to “gratuitous humiliation,” the

“infliction is deliberate,” reasoned Judge Posner, even if not

motivated by “punitive purpose.” /d. at 21a.

The majority’s reason for rejecting petitioner’s Eighth

Amendment claim on the pleadings was therefore in error.

As the Ninth Circuit held in Jordan, 986 F.2d at 1522,

cross-gender searches may violate the Eighth Amendment.

The court should have reversed the dismissal of petitioner's

claim and remanded for a factual inquiry into whether the

infliction of psychological pain through deliberate, routine

cross-sex monitoring was “unnecessary and wanton.”

Whitley, 475 U.S. at 320.

Of the numerous courts of appeals to have looked at this

issue, only the Seventh Circuit has concluded that prisoners

lack any constitutional right protecting them from deliberate,

routine, and unreasonable cross-sex monitoring while they

are undressed or engaged in intimate bodily functions.

Moreover, the majority’s inaccurate legal analysis has the

potential to muddy Fourth and Eighth Amendment law. This

Court should grant certiorari to resolve the clear circuit split

and to guide the lower courts as they face similar claims in

the future.

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted.

22

Respectfully submitted.

TIMOTHY S. BISHOP

Counsel of Record

JAMES C. SCHROEDER

DAVID J. FRANKLYN

TRACY M. FLYNN

Mayer, Brown & Platt

190 South LaSalle Street

Chicago, Illinois 60603

(312) 782-0600

Counsel for Petitioner

MAY 1996

APPENDICES

ee ER ee Ta ee ee cee EES TS

la

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

No, 93-3753

ALBERT JOHNSON,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

v.

RICHARD J. PHELAN, et al.,

Defendants-Appellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of Illinois, Eastern Division.

No. 92 C 1943—James H. Alesia, Judge.

ARGUED AUGUST 1, 1995—DECIDED OCTOBER 24, 1995

Before: POSNER, Chief Judge, and PELL and

EASTERBROOK, Circuit Judges.

EASTERBROOK, Circuit Judge.

Albert Johnson brought this suit under 42 U.S.C. § 1983.

According to his complaint, which the district court dismissed for

failure to state a claim on which relief may be granted, female

guards at the Cook County Jail are assigned to monitor male

prisoners’ movements and can see men naked in their cells, the

2a

shower, and the toilet. Johnson sought damages from persons

including the President of the Cook County Board and the

Chairman of the County’s Buildings and Zoning Commission.

Most of the defendants have no relation to the events of which

Johnson complains and were properly dismissed because § 1983

does not establish vicarious liability. See Houston v. Sheahan, 62

F.3d 902 (7th Cir. 1995). The district court also properly rejected

Johnson’s argument that different monitoring patterns ia different

cellblocks within the Jail violate the equal protection clause of the

fourteenth amendment. 1993 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 13681 (N.D. Ill.).

Johnson has abandoned on appeal any contention that monitoring

in the local courthouse lockup’s bathroom violates the Constitution.

But his argument that cross-sex monitoring in the Jail violates the

due process clause requires additional discussion in light of Canedy

v. Boardman, 16 F.3d 183 (7th Cir. 1994), which holds that a

right of privacy limits the ability of wardens to subject men to

body searches by women, or the reverse. Our case involves visual

rather than tactile inspections, and we must decide whether male

prisoners are entitled to prevent female guards from watching them

while undressed.

Observation is a form of search, and the initial question

therefore is whether monitoring is “unreasonable” under the fourth

amendment. So the Supreme Court conceived the issue in Bell v.

Wolfish, 441 U.S. 520 (1979), where a pretrial detainee argued

that routine inspections of his body cavities violated the Constitu-

tion. (Johnson also was a pretrial detainee at the time of the

events covered in his complaint, but in light of Wolfish he does not

argue that detainees have rights exceeding those of prisoners

following conviction.) The Court held that these searches are

“reasonable” because they are prudent precautions against smug-

gling drugs and other contraband into prison. 441 U.S. at 558-60.

Prisoners argued that metal detectors plus supervision of inmates’

contacts with outsiders would be superior to body-cavity inspec-

tions. The Court replied that prisons need not adopt the best

alternatives. 441 U.S. at 559-60 n.40. Less-restrictive-alternative

arguments are too powerful: a prison always can do something,

at some cost, to make prisons more habitable, but if courts assess

and compare these costs and benefits then judges rather than

wardens are the real prison administrators. Wolfish emphasized

th

I i al

3a

what is the animating theme of the Court’s prison jurisprudence for

the last 20 years: the requirement that judges respect hard choices

made by prison administrators. E.g., Sandin v. Conner, 115 S.

Ct. 2293, 2299-2300 (1995); O’Lone v. Estate of Shabazz, 482

U.S. 342, 349-50 (1987); Jones v. North Carolina Prisoners’

Labor Union, Inc., 433 U.S. 119, 125 (1977); Wolff v. McDon-

nell, 418 U.S. 539, 561-63 (1974).

Wolfish assumed without deciding that prisoners retain some

right of privacy under the fourth amendment. Five years later the

Court held that they do not. Hudson v. Palmer, 468 U.S. 517,

526-30 (1984), observes that privacy is the thing most surely

extinguished by a judgment committing someone to prison.

Guards take control of where and how prisoners live; they do not

retain any right of seclusion or secrecy against their captors, who

are entitled to watch and regulate every detail of daily life. After

Wolfish and Hudson monitoring of naked prisoners is not only

permissible—wardens are entitled to take precautions against drugs

and weapons (which can be passed through the alimentary canal or

hidden in the rectal cavity and collected from a toilet bowl)—but

also sometimes mandatory. Inter-prisoner violence is endemic, so

constant vigilance without regard to the state of the prisoners’

dress is essential. Vigilance over showers, vigilance over

cells—vigilance everywhere, which means that guards gaze upon

naked inmates.

Johnson mentions the fourth amendment but ignores Wolfish

and Hudson.. His principal argument uses the due process clause;

and because he does not seek a hearing, he is invoking principles

of substantive due process. Yet courts should not reverse the

outcome of a fourth amendment analysis in the name of substantive

due process. Graham v. Connor, 490 U.S. 386 (1989), and

Albright v. Oliver, 114 §. Ct. 807 (1994), hold that substantive

due process is not an appropriate substitute for analysis under

provisions of the Constitution that address a subject directly, and —

in particular does not trump the fourth amendment. “Privacy” has

too many other connotations—from the right of reproductive

autonomy that has nothing to do with searches and seizures to the

common law right to control the publication of certain facts about

oneself, including the depiction of one’s naked body, see Haynes

v. Alfred A. Knopf, Inc., 8 F.3d 1222, 1229-30 (7th Cir.

4a

1993)—to be a useful substitute for the fourth amendment (or, as

we discuss below, the eighth).

What is more, moving ground from the fourth amendment to

the fifth would not help Johnson. Under the due process clause

the question is whether the regulation is “reasonably related to

legitimate penological interests.” Turner v. Safley, 482 U.S. 78,

89 (1987). Surveillance of prisoners is essential, as Wolfish

establishes. Observation of cells, showers, and toilets is less

intrusive than the body-cavity inspections Wolfish held permissible.

Guards do the surveillance. Male guards and female guards

too—for Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 opens prisons to

women and requires states to hire them unless sex is a bona fide

occupational qualification, a high standard of necessity. Dothard

y. Rawlinson, 433 U.S. 321 (1977); United States v. Gregory, 818

F.2d 1114 (4th Cir. 1987) (rejecting an argument that a desire to

curtail cross-sex monitoring of naked prisoners makes sex a bona

fide occupation qualification for prison guards); see also United

Auto Workers v. Johnson Controls, Inc., 499 U.S. 187 (1991).

Unless female guards are shuffled off to back office jobs, itself

problematic under Title VII, they are bound to see the male

prisoners in states of undress. Frequently. Deliberately. Other-

wise they are not doing their jobs. Smith v. Fairman, 678 F.2d 52

(7th Cir. 1982), puts two and two together, holding that in light of

Title VII female guards are entitled to participate in the normal

activities of guarding, including pat-down searches of male

inmates. We held in Torres v. Wisconsin Department of Health &

Social Services, 859 F.2d 1523 (7th Cir. 1988) (en banc), a case

filed by guards under Title VII, that a state could exclude men

from one of its four prisons, in order to promote the female

prisoners’ rehabilitation. Torres did not say that the Constitution

requires this exclusion; instead we deferred to the judgment of

prison administrators that they needed to limit cross-sex monitoring

to achieve penological objectives. Today deference leads to the

opposite result: Cook County does not believe that cross-sex

monitoring imperils its mission, and evenhanded willingness to

accept prison administrators’ decisions about debatable issues

means that Johnson cannot prevail under the due process clause.

After holding in Hudson that prisoners lack any reasonable

expectation of privacy under the fourth amendment, the Court

t

:

Sa

remarked that a prisoner could use the eighth amendment to

overcome “calculated harassment unrelated to prison needs.” 468

U.S. at 530. Similarly, the Court observed in Graham that the

eighth amendment offers some protection supplementary to the

fourth. 490 U.S. at 392, 394. We therefore think it best to

understand the references to “privacy” in Canedy and similar cases

as invocations of the eighth amendment’s ban on cruel and unusual

punishments. See Jordan v. Gardner, 986 F.2d 1521 (9th Cir.

1993) (en banc), which makes explicit the role of that provision.

Johnson's complaint (and the brief filed on his behalf in this

court by a top-notch law firm) do not allege either particular

susceptibility or any design to inflict psychological injury. A

prisoner could say that he is especially shy—perhaps required by

his religion to remain dressed in the presence of the opposite

sex—and that the guards, knowing this, tormented him by

assigning women to watch the toilets and showers. So, too, a

prisoner has a remedy for deliberate harassment, on account of

sex, by guards of either sex. Johnson does not allege this or

anything like it. His case therefore does not present the sort of

claim that Hudson holds in reserve. It does not satisfy the more

general requirements of the eighth amendment either.

One who makes a claim under the cruel and unusual punish-

ments clause must show that the state has created risk or inflicted

pain pointlessly. “After incarceration, only the unnecessary and

wanton infliction of pain . . . constitutes cruel and unusual punish-

ment forbidden by the Eighth Amendment.” Whitley v. Albers,

475 U.S. 312, 319 (1986) (internal quotations omitted). See also

Rhodes v. Chapman, 452 U.S. 337 (1981); Wilson v. Seiter, 501

U.S. 294, 298-300 (1991); Helling v. McKinney, 113 S. Ct. 2475

(1993). Does cross-sex monitoring serve a function beyond the

infliction of pain? Monitoring is vital, but how about the cross-sex

part? For this there are two justifications.

First, it makes good use of the staff. It is more expensive for

a prison to have a group of guards dedicated to shower and toilet

monitoring (equivalently, a group that can do every function except

this) than to have guards all of whom can serve each role in the

prison. If only men can monitor showers, then female guards are

less useful to the prison; if female guards can’t perform this task,

6a

the prison must have more guards on hand to cover for them. It

is a form of featherbedding. O’Lone held that an interest in the

efficient deployment of the staff permits the prison to block

inmates from attending religious services, although religion has

powerful protection in the first amendment. Similarly, an interest

in efficient deployment of the staff supports cross-sex monitoring.

See Timm v. Gunter, 917 F.2d 1093, 1102 (8th Cir. 1990), which

concludes that “opposite-sex surveillance of male inmates,

performed on the same basis as same-sex surveillance,” is

constitutionally permissible. By the same token, the prison may

assign homosexual male guards to monitor male prisoners,

heterosexual male guards to monitor effeminate male homosexual

prisoners, and so on. There are too many permutations to place

guards and prisoners into multiple classes by sex, sexual orienta-

tion, and perhaps other criteria, allowing each group to be

observed only by the corresponding groups that occasion the least

unhappiness.

Second, cross-sex monitoring reduces the need for prisons to

make sex a criterion of employment, and therefore reduces the

potential for conflict with Title VII and the equal protection clause.

Cells and showers are designed so that guards can see in, to

prevent violence and other offenses. Prisoners dress, undress, and

bathe under watchful eyes. Guards roaming the corridors are

bound to see naked prisoners. A prison could comply with the

rule Johnson proposes, and still maintain surveillance, only by

relegating women to the administrative wing, limiting their duties

(thereby raising the cost of the guard complement), or eliminating

them from the staff.

To the riposte that Title VII and the equal protection clause

can’t authorize a violation of the eighth amendment, we rejoin:

True enough, but not pertinent. A warden must accommodate

conflicting interests—the embarrassment of reticent prisoners, the

entitlement of women to equal treatment in the workplace. A state

may reject the prisoner’s claim if it has a reason, as Wolfish

establishes for a substantially greater intrusion. The interest of

women in equal treatment is a solid reason, with more secure

footing in American law than prisoners’ modesty, leading to the

conclusion that there is no violation of the eighth amendment. We

held as much already in Smith v. Fairman. When interests clash,

7a

a judge must prefer those based on legislative decisions over those

that reflect their own views of sound policy. The premise of

judicial review is that the Constitution is an authoritative decision

binding on all branches of government; when it has only such

substance as judges pour into it themselves, the decisions of the

elected branches prevail. Canedy accordingly avowed reluctance

to do more than forbid cross-sex body searches, 16 F.3d at 187,

which it conceived as pointless debasement. Anonymous visual

inspections from afar are considerably less intrusive and carry less

potential for “the unnecessary and wanton infliction of pain”. To

the extent incautious language in Canedy implies that deliberate

visual inspections are indistinguishable from physical palpitations,

its discussion is dictum. Further reflection leads us to conclude

that it should not be converted to a holding.

How odd it would be to find in the eighth amendment a right

not to be seen by the other sex. Physicians and nurses of one sex

routinely examine the other. In exotic places such as California

people regularly sit in saunas and hot tubs with unclothed strang-

ers. Cf. Miller v. South Bend, 904 F.2d 1081 (7th Cir. 1990) (en

banc) (holding that there is a constitutional right to dance nude in

public), reversed under the name Barnes v. Glen Theatre, Inc.,

501 U.S. 560 (1991). Most persons’ aversion to public nudity

pales compared with the taboo against detailed inspections of body

cavities, yet the Court found no constitutional obstacle ‘to these in

Wolfish; the Constitution does not require prison managers to

respect the social conventions of free society. Drug testing is

common, although this often requires observation of urination.

Vernonia School District 47] v. Acton, 115 S. Ct. 2386 (1995)

(drug testing of seventh grade boy as condition of participation in

sports is “reasonable” under the fourth amendment); see also

Dimeo v. Griffin, 943 F.2d 679, 682-83 (7th Cir. 1991) (en banc),

in which this court treated the imposition on privacy as slight.

More to the point, the clash between modesty and equal employ-

ment opportunities has been played out in sports. Women

reporters routinely enter locker rooms after games. How could an

imposition that male athletes tolerate be deemed cruel and unusual

punishment?

Some cases say that the Constitution forbids deliberate cross-

sex monitoring (as opposed to infrequent or accidental sightings).

8a

See Cornwell v. Dahlberg, 963 F.2d 912, 916-17 (6th Cir. 1992)

(basing this conclusion on the fourth amendment, but without

mentioning Hudson); Lee v. Downs, 641 F.2d 1117, 1120 (4th

Cir. 1981) (decided three years before Hudson). Decisions such

as Timm and Grummett v. Rushen, 779 F.2d 491 (9th Cir. 1985),

which hold that cross-sex monitoring is constitutional, could be

treated as fact-bound, although some of their language is unquali-

fied (we have quoted such a passage from Timm). Each empha-

sized that the female guards’ views were not universally unob-

structed. But if this is important (and we do not think it is),

Johnson’s own complaint brings the case within the scope of

Timm. Johnson alleges that

when a female correctional officer is assigned to work a dorm

it is her duty and responsibility to make counts, also to

constantly supervise all inmates in the dorms, making

periodic, unannounced spot checks of inmates in their living

area, and s[u]rveying in the remainder of the area such as the

general toilet, and shower facilities, which is in an open

unobstructed area, except by a thin sheet that can be seen

through.

Thus Johnson tells us that the Jail offers some, but imperfect,

shielding from guards’ observation, exactly the situation that the

eighth circuit held permissible in Timm. We agree with that

conclusion. See also Jordan v. Gardner, 986 F.2d at 1545-67

(Wallace, Wiggins, Trott & Kleinfeld, JJ., dissenting).

Any practice allowed under the due process analysis of Turner

is acceptable under the eighth amendment too—not only because

the objective component of cruel and unusual punishment is more

tolerant toward wardens, but also because the eighth amendment

has a demanding mental-state component. Farmer v. Brennan, 114

S. Ct. 1970 (1994), holds that the standard is criminal reckless-

ness. The guard or warden must want to injure the prisoner or

must know of and disregard a substantial risk that harm will befall

the prisoner. Johnson does not allege that any of the defendants

sought to humiliate him. Although he filed the complaint pro se,

his lawyer did not add this allegation to the brief and showed no

inclination to advance it when pressed at oral argument. Of

course, we must grant Johnson the benefit of all allegations in the

9a

complaint and everything he might prove consistent with that

document. Conley v. Gibson, 355 U.S. 41, 45-46 (1957);

Bartholet v. Reishauer A.G. (Zirich), 953 F.2d 1073, 1078 (7th

Cir. 1992). The district court assumed that the cross-sex viewing

was inadvertent, an inappropriate step when evaluating a complaint

under Rule 12(6)(6). But what Johnson wants to show is not that

the defendants adopted their policy to cause injury, but that they

ignored his sensibilities. He must believe it sufficient to show that

they acted deliberately.

Put the eighth amendment aside for a moment and consider

the question whether a “deliberate” decision—that is, a considered

choice with knowledge of the consequences—establishes “intent”

for purposes of constitutional provisions containing a mental-state

ingredient. That question has been before the Supreme Court

many times, and the answer is “no.” A good example is Person-

nel Administrator of Massachusetts v. Feeney, 442 U.S. 256

(1979), apropos because it deals with sex discrimination. Massa-

chusetts decided to give military veterans an absolute, life time

preference in employment. Approximately 98% of veterans are

male, and as a result the bureaucracy is overwhelmingly male. A

three-judge district court held the preference unconstitutional.

Recognizing that the equal protection clause forbids only disparate

treatment, and not disparate impact, see Washington v. Davis, 426

U.S. 229 (1976), the district court observed that people are

deemed to intend the natural and probable consequences of their

acts. Massachusetts adopted the preference deliberately, and it

maintained the preference after recognizing that it excluded many

qualified women from the civil service. The Supreme Court

acknowledged all of this but held that deliberate acts, with

knowledge of the consequences, do not establish “intent” in the

constitutional sense—for, if they did, then the distinction between

disparate treatment and disparate impact would collapse as soon as

anyone informed the decisionmaker of the impact. After a canvass

of its cases, the Court concluded:

“Discriminatory purpose” . . . implies more than intent as

volition or intent as awareness of consequences. It implies

that the decisionmaker . . . selected or reaffirmed a particular

course of action at least in part “because of,” not merely “in

spite of,” its adverse effects upon an identifiable group.

10a

442 U.S. at 279 (citation and footnotes omitted). Since Feeney the

distinction between choices made “because” the decisionmaker

wants to achieve particular consequences, and those “in spite of”

unwelcome effects, has been a siaple of constitutional law. See,

e.g., Miller v. Johnson, 115 S. Ct. 2475, 2488 (1995).

Wardens make many choices that have unpleasant consequenc-

es for prisoners, and frequently wardens wish that they could do

things differently. Budgetary shortfalls may dictate that prisoners

live in cramped conditions, even though wardens know that

penological purposes would be better served by additional space.

The question whether a deliberate choice to put two prisoners in

a cell with only 100 square feet of space satisfied the intent

component of the eighth amendment came up in Wilson v. Seiter.

Prisoners alleged that the dilapidated facility had “overcrowding,

excessive noise, insufficient locker storage space, inadequate

heating and cooling, improper ventilation, unclean and inadequate

restrooms, unsanitary dining facilities and food preparation, and

housing [of regular inmates] with mentally and physically ill

inmates.” 501 U.S. at 296. The warden knew all about this, and

official decisions led to the problems—for example, the state spent

money on guards’ salaries rather than better food facilities. The

Court assumed that conditions at the prison fell below objectively

permissible standards but held that the prisoners had not demon-

strated the essential mental state.

To put this differently, the question in Wilson was whether the

mental-state requirement applies to systemic conditions, which

affect all prisoners. The Court answered yes, acknowledging that

this could perpetuate some unwelcome conditions:

The United States suggests that a state-of-mind inquiry might

allow officials to interpose the defense that, despite good-faith

efforts to obtain funding, fiscal constraints beyond their

control prevent the elimination of inhumane conditions. Even

if that were so, it is hard to understand how it could control

the meaning of “cruel and unusual punishment” in the Eighth

Amendment. An intent requirement is either implicit in the

word “punishment” or is not; it cannot be alternately required

and ignored as policy conditions might dictate.

sag, ne ee

=r LET

lla

501 U.S. at 301-02. “If the pain inflicted is not formally meted

Out as punishment by the statute or sentencing judge, some mental

element must be attributed to the inflicting officer before it can

qualify.” Jd, at 300 (emphasis in original). No intent to injure

means no “punishment”; and no “punishment,” no violation.

Let us test this with an illustration. Suppose the warden

decides to issue guns to the guards, a step that in the absence of an

ongoing riot violates contemporary norms because weapons create

risks. Prisoners may seize them and shoot the guards or each

other; guards may discharge them accidentally, injuring the

prisoners. The decision to issue the guns is deliberate, and

everyone knows that some injuries will follow. The warden hopes

that a reduction in violence within the prison will compensate for

the new risk. Can a prisoner obtain an injunction excluding guns

from the prison on the ground that the risk exceeds the anticipated

benefits? Or suppose the inevitable happens: a guard shoots a

prisoner. Has the warden violated the eighth amendment? The

answer from Whitley is “no,” because the warden did not want

harm to come to the prisoners and adopted the policy in an attempt

to reduce violence. The policy was not designed to punish anyone

and therefore, under Whitley, Wilson, and Farmer, does not violate

the eighth amendment. A warden displays “deliberate indiffer-

ence” only if he ignores the costs to prisoners, excluding them

from the calculus of costs and benefits, or if he allows guns into

the prison because he wants prisoners to suffer. An incorrect

assessment of recognized costs and benefits is just negligence,

which does not violate the fifth amendment (even if “gross,” see

Archie v. Racine, 847 F.2d 1211, 1218-20 (7th Cir. 1988) (en

banc)), and does not violate the eighth amendment either. Cf.

Collins v. Harker Heights, 503 U.S. 115 (1992) (public policies

that create risks for employees do not violate the Constitution,

even if the risks are taken knowingly); Walker v. Rowe, 791 F.2d

507 (7th Cir. 1986) (same principle, applied to risks that lead to

death of prison guards). Yet this gun policy is deliberate in the

same sense as the policy permitting cross-sex monitoring, and

injury is as predictable as the existence of embarrassed inmates.

Where does this leave us? The fourth amendment does not

protect privacy interests within prisons. Moving to other amend-

ments does not change the outcome. Cross-sex monitoring is not

12a

a senseless imposition. As a reconciliation of conflicting entitle-

ments and desires, it satisfies the Turner standard. It cannot be

called “inhumane” and therefore does not fall below the floor set

by the objective component of the eighth amendment. And

Johnson does not contend that his captors adopted their monitoring

patterns because of, rather than in spite of, the embarrassment it

causes some prisoners. He does not submit that the warden

ignored his sensibilities; he argues only that they received too little

weight in the felicific calculus. Like the district court, therefore,

we conclude that the complaint fails to state a claim on which

relief may be granted.

AFFIRMED.

POSNER, Chief Judge, concurring and dissenting. [| agree

with the district judge and my colleagues that Johnson's equal

protection claim has no possible merit, that there is no possible

basis for imputing liability to the president of the Cook County

Board of Commissioners, and that the claims against the defen-

dants in their official capacities must be dismissed as unauthorized

suits against the State of Illinois. That is where my agreement

ends.

The cruel and unusual punishments clause of the Eighth

Amendment to the United States Constitution, like so much in the

Bill of Rights, is a Rorschach test. What the judge sees in it is the

reflection of his or her own values, values shaped by personal

experience and temperament as well as by historical reflection,

public opinion, and other sources of moral judgment. No other

theory of constitutional interpretation can explain the elaborate

edifice of death-penalty jurisprudence that the Supreme Court has

erected in the name of the Eighth Amendment. Or the interpreta-

tion of the amendment as a charter, however limited, of the rights

of prisoners. The limitations imposed by the amendment might be

thought, indeed were thought for more than 150 years after the

amendment was adopted, to end with the sentence, leaving the

aaa “.

13a

management of prisons, the informal “punishment” meted out by

brutal guards, constitutionally unregulated.

The critical values, in giving content to the Eighth Amend-

ment, are those of the Justices of the Supreme Court. My

colleagues believe that the Justices have spoken to the issue

presented by this case. I think that they have not, and I shall try

to show this. But I want first to lay out the essential background

of facts and values on which I believe the judgment in this case

must ultimately turn.

There are different ways to look upon the inmates of prisons

and jails in the United States in 1995. One way is to look upon

them as members of a different species, indeed as a type of

vermin, devoid of human dignity and entitled to no respect; and

then no issue concerning the degrading or brutalizing treatment of

prisoners would arise. In particular there would be no inhibitions

about using prisoners as the subject of experiments, including

social experiments such as the experiment of seeing whether the

sexes can be made interchangeable. The parading of naked male

inmates in front of female guards, or of naked female inmates in

front of male guards, would be no more problematic than “cross-

sex surveillance” in a kennel.

I do not myself consider the 1.5 million inmates of American

prisons and jails in that light. This is a non-negligible fraction of

the American population. And it is only the current inmate

population. The fraction of the total population that has spent time

in a prison or jail is larger, although I do not know how large. A

substantial number of these prison and jail inmates, including the

plaintiff in this case, have not been convicted of a crime. They are

merely charged with crime, and awaiting trial. Some of them may

actually be innocent. Of the guilty, many are guilty of sumptuary

offenses, or of other victimless crimes uncannily similar to lawful

activity (gambling offenses are an example), or of esoteric

financial and regulatory offenses (such as violation of the migrato-

ry game laws) some of which do not even require a guilty intent.

It is wrong to break even foolish laws, or wise laws that should

carry only civil penalties. It is wrongful to break the law even

when the lawbreaker is flawed, weak, retarded, unstable, ignorant,

brutalized, or profoundly disadvantaged, rather than violent,

vicious, or evil to the core. But we should have a realistic

l4a

conception of the composition of the prison and jail population

before deciding that they are a scum entitled to nothing better than

what a vengeful populace and a resource-starved penal system

choose to give them. We must not exaggerate the distance

between “us,” the lawful ones, the respectable ones, and the prison

and jail population; for such exaggeration will make it too easy for

us to deny that population the rudiments of humane consideration.

The nudity taboo retains great strength in the United States.

It should not be confused with prudery, It is a taboo against being

seen in the nude by strangers, not by one’s intimates. Ours is a

morally diverse populace and the nudity taboo is not of uniform

strength across it. It is strongest among professing Christians,

because of the historical antipathy of the Church to nudity; and as

it happens the plaintiff alleges that his right “to practice Ch[r]istian

modesty is being violated.” The taboo is particularly strong when

the stranger belongs to the opposite sex. There are radical

feminists who regard “sex” as a social construction and the very

concept of “the opposite sex,” implying as it does the dichotomiza-

tion of the “sexes” (the “genders,” as we are being taught to say),

as a sign of patriarchy. For these feminists the surveillance of

naked male prisoners by female guards and naked female prisoners

by male guards are way stations on the road to sexual equality. If

prisoners have no rights, the reconceptualization of the prison as

a site of progressive social engineering should give us no qualms.

Animals have no right to wear clothing. Why prisoners, if they

are no better than animals? There is no answer, if the premise is

accepted. But it should be rejected, and if it is rejected, and the

duty of a society that would like to think of itself as civilized to

treat its prisoners humanely therefore acknowledged, then I think

that the interest of a prisoner in being free from unnecessary cross-

sex surveillance has priority over the unisex-bathroom movement

and requires us to reverse the judgment of the district court

throwing out this lawsuit.

I have been painting in broad strokes, and it is time to

consider the particulars of this case and the state of the precedents.

Albert Johnson, a pretrial detainee in the Cook County Jail,

complains that female guards were allowed to watch his naked

body while he showered and used the toilet. All we have is the

complaint, which my colleagues want to dismiss without giving

15a

Johnson a chance to develop the facts. The main issue raised by

the appeal is whether a prisoner has an interest that the Constitu-

tion protects in hiding his naked body from guards of the opposite

sex. A subordinate issue is whether, if so, the complaint—which

Johnson drafted without assistance of counsel—sufficiently alleges

deliberate as distinct from merely accidental exposure to survive

dismissal.

The parties have confused the first issue by describing it as

the extent of a prisoner’s “right of privacy.” They cannot be

criticized too harshly for this. Countless cases, including our own

Canedy v. Boardman, \6 F.3d 183 (7th Cir. 1994), have done the

same thing. E.g., Cornwell v. Dahlberg, 963 F.2d 912, 916-17

(6th Cir. 1992); Cookish v. Powell, 945 F.2d 441, 446 (Ist Cir.

1991) (per curiam); Cumbey v. Meachum, 684 F.2d 712 (10th Cir.

1982) (per curiam). The problem is that the term “right of

privacy” bears meanings in law that are remote from its primary

ordinary-language meaning, which happens to be the meaning that

a suit of this sort invokes. One thing it means in law is the right

to reproductive autonomy; another is a congeries of tort rights only

one of which relates to the naked body; still another is the right to

maintain the confidentiality of certain documents and conversa-

tions. Another and overlapping meaning is the set of interests

protected by the Fourth Amendment, which prohibits unreasonable

searches and seizures. That amendment has been held to be

inapplicable to searches and seizures within prisons, Hudson v.

Palmer, 468 U.S. 517, 526 (1984), and if applicable to jails

housing pretrial detainees as distinct from convicted defendants—an

unsettled question—is only tenuously so, Bell v. Wolfish, 441 U.S.

520, 556-57 (1979); Brothers v. Klevenhagen, 28 F.3d 452, 457

and n. 6 (Sth Cir. 1994); Valencia v. Wiggins, 981 F.2d 1440 (Sth

Cir. 1993); United States v. Willoughby, 860 F.2d 15, 21 (2d Cir.

1988), though this may depend on the precise invasion complained

of. A unanimous Supreme Court heid in Winston v. Lee, 470 U.S.

753 (1985), that forcing a pretrial detainee to undergo surgery

violates the Fourth Amendment. Cf. Graham v. Connor, 490

U.S. 386, 395 n. 10 (1989); Hammer v. Gross, 932 F.2d 842, 845

n. | (9th Cir. 1991) (en banc).

One part of the tort right of privacy is the right to prevent the

publicizing of intimate facts, including the sight of the naked body.

16a

Haynes v. Alfred A. Knopf, Inc., 8 F.3d 1222, 1229-30 (7th Cir.

1993). Even this right is not the basis of Johnson’s suit. This is

not a common law tort suit, and anyway the sight of his naked

body was not “publicized” in the sense that this term bears in the

law of torts. United States v. Dorfman, 690 F.2d 1230, 1234 (7th

Cir. 1982); Beverly v. Reinert, 606 N.E.2d 621, 626 (Ill. App.

1992); Restatement (Second) of Torts, § 652D, comment a (1977).

Whalen v. Roe, 429 U.S. 589 (1977), while holding that a

statute which required keeping a record of the names of people for

whom physicians prescribed certain dangerous though lawful drugs

did not invade any constitutional right of privacy, can be read to

imply that the disclosure by or under the compulsion of the

government of a person’s medical records might invade a constitu-

tional right of privacy, presumably a “substantive due process”

right. “Disclosure” of the person’s naked body might be argued

to violate a cognate right to the concealment of the body. In this

way a right to “privacy” in the rather literal sense in which it is

invoked here might laboriously be extracted from constitutional

precedent.

I consider this too tortuous and uncertain a route to follow in

the quest for constitutional limitations on the infliction of humilia-

tion on prison inmates. The Eighth Amendment forbids the federal

government (and by an interpretation of the due process clause of

the Fourteenth Amendment the states as well) to inflict cruel and

unusual punishments. The due process clause has been interpreted

to lay a similar prohibition on the infliction of cruel and unusual

punishments on pretrial detainees who, like Johnson, not having

been convicted, are not formally being “punished.” Bell v.

Wolfish, supra, 441 U.S. at 534-35; City of Revere v. Massachu-

setts General Hospital, 463 U.S. 239, 244 (1983). I take it that

purely psychological punishments can sometimes be deemed cruel

and unusual. Thomas v. Farley, 31 F.3d 557, 559 (7th Cir.

1994); Williams v. Boles, 841 F.2d 181, 183 (7th Cir. 1988);

Northington v. Jackson, 973 F.2d 1518, 1523 (10th Cir. 1992);

Jordan v. Gardner, 986 F.2d 1521, 1530-31 (9th Cir. 1993) (en

banc); cf. McDonald v. Haskins, 966 F.2d 292 (7th Cir. 1992);

but see Wisniewski v. Kennard, 901 F.2d 1276 (Sth Cir. 1990)

(per curiam). The question is then whether exposing naked

prisoners to guards of the opposite sex can ever be deemed one of

17a

these cruel and unusual psychological punishments. The Sixth

Circuit held in Kent v. Johnson, 821 F.2d 1220, 1227 (6th Cir.

1987), that it can be, and did not retract the holding in its order on

rehearing, although it did retract any suggestion that cross-sex

surveillance was unconstitutional per se. See /d. at 1229. My

colleagues do not suggest that recasting Johnson’s right of privacy

claim as a claim under the Eighth Amendment can prejudice the

state. The substance of the analysis is unchanged, and the parties

in their briefs cite Eighth Amendment cases interchangeably with

right of privacy cases.

I have no patience with the suggestion that Title VII of the

Civil Right Act of 1964 forbids a prison or jail to impede,

however slightly, the career opportunities of female guards by

shielding naked male prisoners from their eyes. It is true that

since the male prison population is vastly greater than the female,

female guards would gain no corresponding advantage from being

allowed to monopolize the surveillance of naked female prisoners.

But Title VII cannot override the Constitution. There cannot be a

right to inflict cruel and unusual punishments in order to secure a

merely statutory entitlement to equal opportunities for women in

the field of corrections. Although the equal protection clause of

the Fourteenth Amendment has been held to protect women against

sex discrimination by a state, Trigg v. Fort Wayne Community

Schools, 766 F.2d 299, 302 (7th Cir. 1985); Gray v. Lacke, 885

F.2d 399, 414 (7th Cir. 1989); Day v. Wayne County Board of

Auditors, 749 F.2d 1199, 1205 (6th Cir. 1984), and the Cook

County jail is an arm of the State of Illinois, the clause is not

plausibly interpreted to license the infliction of cruel and unusual

punishments. Just as it would not be a defense to a charge that the

rack and thumbscrew are forms of cruel and unusual punishment

to demonstrate that they are cheaper than imprisonment, so it is

not a defense tc the infliction of cruel and unusual psychological

punishments that they advance women’s career opportunities. And

this is assuming that the interests of women would be advanced by

a rule, implicit in my colleagues’ decision, that gave no legal

protection to female prisoners from the prying eyes of male

guards; for Title VII and the equal protection clause are considered

to protect men as well as women from sex discrimination.

18a

This is not to say that exposing the naked male body to

women’s eyes constitutes cruel and unusual punishment in all

circumstances. A male prisoner has no constitutional right to be

treated by a male doctor. Cf. Dothard v. Rawlinson, 433 U.S.

321, 346 n. 5 (1977) (separate opinion); Gargiul v. Tompkins, 704

F.2d 661 (2d Cir. 1983), vacated on other grounds, 465 U.S. 1016

(1984). Men have long been attended in hospitals by female

nurses, and latterly by female doctors as well. Even the ‘right of

privacy” cases reject the suggestion that any time a female guard

glimpses a naked male prisoner his rights have been invaded. See,

e.g., Michenfelder v. Sumner, 860 F.2d 328, 335 (9th Cir. 1988);

Grummett v. Rushen, 779 F.2d 491, 494-95 (9th Cir. 1985). Not

only is the injury from an occasional glimpse slight; but in

addition, as we can see when the “right of privacy” cases are

reclassified under the proper constitutional rubrics, neither the

Eighth Amendment nor the counterpart protections of pretrial

detainees under the due process clauses extend *~ unintentional

wrongs. Farmer v. Brennan, 114 S. Ct. 1970 (1994); Wilson v.

Seiter, 501 U.S. 294, 300 (1991); Murphy v. Walker, 51 F.3d

714, 719 (7th Cir. 1995) (per curiam); /vey v. Harney, 47 F.3d

181, 182 (7th Cir. 1995); Duckworth v. Franzen, 780 F.2d 645,

652 (7th Cir. 1985). Deliberately to place male prisoners under

continuous visual surveillance by female guards, however, so that

whenever the prisoner dresses or undresses, takes a shower, or

uses the toilet, a woman is watching him, gives even my col-

leagues pause.

Ours is the intermediate case, where the prison or jail makes

no effort, or a patently inadequate effort, to shield the male

prisoners from the gaze of female guards when the prisoners are

nude. No case holds that the surveillance of naked inmates by

guards of the opposite case is lawful per se—not Timm v. Gunter,

917 F.2d 1093, 1101-02 (8th Cir. 1990), and not Hudson v.

Palmer, supra, which held only that the right of privacy protected

by the Fourth Amendment does not extend to prisoners, and not,

as I shall show, Bell v. Wolfish. | infer from their discussion of

Torres v. Wisconsin Dept. of Health & Social Services, 859 F.2d

1523 (7th Cir. 1988) (en banc), that my colleagues believe that

female inmates have no constitutionally protected interest in not

being seen in the nude by male guards. This surprises me.

19a

Jordan v. Gardner, supra, is against this view, and no case

supports it.

I have stated the interest at issue in this case as not being seen

nude by a guard of the opposite sex, not only because most people

are more embarrassed in that situation but also because the right

of prisons and jails to maintain visual surveillance of potentially

dangerous prisoners even when naked cannot be doubted in light

of the serious security problems in many American prisons and

jails today. What is in question is the right of prison officials to

entrust the surveillance of naked prisoners to guards of the

opposite sex from the prisoners. Bell vy. Wolfish, supra, holds that

pretrial detainees may be subjected to digital and visual inspection

of the rectum for concealed weapons or other contraband. It does

not follow that no constitutional issue is raised if the search is

performed by a male guard on a female prisoner, or a female

guard on a male prisoner; or if the search is visual rather than

digital (it was both in Bell v. Wolfish); or if what is being watched

is the prisoner’s genitalia rather than the interior of his rectum.

Jordan v. Gardner, supra, 986 F.2d at 1522, holds that “a policy

that requires male guards to conduct random, non-emergency,

suspicionless clothed body searches on female prisoners,” violates

the Eighth Amendment. What Johnson alleges is worse, albeit

with the sexes reversed.

The Eighth Amendment requires in my view that reasonable

efforts be made to prevent frequent, deliberate, gratuitous exposure

of nude prisoners of one sex to guards of the other sex. I doubt

that any more precise statement of the proper constitutional test is

feasible. It is precise enough to show that my colleagues indulge

in hyperbole when they say that a decision for Johnson would

mean that “female guards are shuffled off to back office jobs.”

They would not be, but that is not the most important point. The

most important point is that sexual equality may not be pursued

with no regard to competing interests, and with an eye blind to

reality. The reality is that crime is gendered, and the gender is

male. Stephen J. Schulhofer, “The Feminist Challenge in

Criminal Law,” 143 University of Pennsylvania Law Review 2151

(1995). The vast majority of criminals are male. The vast

majority of their victims are male. The vast majority of police and

correctional officers are male. These are inescapable realities in

20a

the design of penal institutions and the validation of penal practic-

es.

My colleagues toy with the idea that unless the intentions of

the prison officials are in some sense punitive, there can be no

liability under the cruel and unusual punishments clause, whatever

the psychological impact of the prison’s actions. There is support

for this suggestion in language of some lower-court cases quoted

in Wilson v. Seiter, supra, 501 U.S. at 300. But I do not think

that that language was intended to override the distinction between

motive and intent. The cruel and unusual punishments clause is

not limited to sadistic inflictions, or, as my colleagues put it, to

cases in which “the state has created risk or inflicted pain point-

lessly” (my emphasis). The motives of prison officials and guards

are in fact irrelevant. The relevant deliberateness is the deliberate

adoption of a measure that constitutes cruel and unusual punish-

ment. If prison officials use the thumbscrew and rack to discipline

unruly prisoners, it is immaterial that their motive is not to punish

but merely to maintain good order in the prison, or to save money.

Id. at 301-02. The public beheadings of murderers by Saudi

Arabia are, I imagine, motivated not by sadism but rather (to the

extent that they have any secular motivation) by a belief that the

public infliction of cruel punishments minimizes the crime rate.

If prison officials deliberately expose male prisoners to the gaze of

female guards, or female prisoners to the gaze of male guards, it

should be irrelevant that the motive of the officials may have been

merely to avoid sorting custodial tasks by gender.

The distinction between motive and intent runs all through the

law. If someone plants a bomb in an airplane, his intent in the

eyes of the law is to kill, though his motive might be to intimidate

political opponents, obtain publicity, demonstrate skill with

explosives, collect life insurance on a passenger, or distract the

police from his other criminal activities. United States v. McAn-

ally, 666 F.2d 1116, 1119 (7th Cir. 1981). More to the point, the

distinction that | am emphasizing between motive and intent is

implicit in the standard of “deliberate indifference” which the

courts use to determine whether the state of mind required by the

Eighth Amendment is present. See, e.g., Wilson v. Seiter, supra,

501 U.S. at 303; Ivey v. Harney, supra, 47 F.3d at 182. That

standard is satisfied by proof of “actual knowledge of impending

2la

harm easily preventable,” Duckworth v. Franzen, supra, 780 F.2d

at 653—a formulation that dispenses entirely with any investigation

of motive. If prison officials know that they are subjecting male

prisoners to gratuitous humiliation, the infliction is deliberate, even

if the officials are not actuated by any punitive purpose and are not

even certain that humiliation will result. “[A}n eighth amendment

complainant need not show that a prison official acted or failed to

act believing that harm actually would befall an inmate; it is

enough that the official acted or failed to act despite his knowledge

of a substantial risk of serious harm.” Farmer v. Brennan, supra,

114 S. Ct. at 1981. The principal application of the standard of

deliberate indifference is to cases of medical care. If prison

officials, knowing that an inmate is seriously ill, refuse to provide

him with any treatment, the fact that their motive is not to punish

him but merely to save time and money is not a defense to his

Eighth Amendment claim. Estelle v. Gamble, 429 U.S. 97 (1976);

see also Wilson v. Seiter, supra, 501 U.S. at 302.

[ turn now to the question whether the complaint states a

claim for the infringement of the right that I have sketched. The

defendants appeal to the principle repeated in a number of recent

cases that although the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure require

only a short and plain statement of the plaintiff's claim, a plaintiff

who decides to write a prolix complaint risks pleading himself out

of court by alleging facts (which bind him as judicial admissions)

that negate an element of his claim. E.g., Warzon v. Drew, 60

F.3d 1234, 1239-40 (7th Cir. 1995); Esmail v. Macrane, 53 F.3d

176, 179 (7th Cir. 1995). The defendants fasten on the allegation

in the complaint that there was a “sheet” between the bathroom

(containing both showers and toilets) used by Johnson and other

male inmates and the area in which the guards are stationed. In

fact what Johnson alleged was that

when a female correctional officer is assigned to work a dorm

it is her duty and responsibility to make counts, also to

constantly supervise ail inmates in the dorms, making

periodic, unannounced spot checks of inmates in their living

area, and s[u}rveying in the remainder of the area such as the

general -toilet, and shower facilities, which is in an open

unobstructed area, except by a thin sheet that can be seen

through.

22a

This can fairly be read to allege that female guards assigned to

Johnson’s dorm are responsible for maintaining visual surveillance

of the bathroom, which they are able to do because it is separated

from the part of the dorm in which the guards are stationed by a

transparent “sheet,” perhaps a kind of shower curtain. So read,

the complaint is consistent with a form of cross-sex surveillance

sufficiently frequent, gratuitous, and deliberate to withstand

dismissal on the pleadings. A further factual inquiry is necessary

to determine whether Johnson’s constitutional rights have been

violated.

My colleagues say that we must respect “the hard choices

made by prison administrators.” I agree. There is no basis in the

record, however, for supposing that such a choice was made here,

or for believing that an effort to limit cross-sex surveillance would

involve an inefficient use of staff—“featherbedding,” as my

colleagues put it. There is no record. The case was dismissed on

the complaint. We do not know whether the Cook County Jail

cannot afford a thicker sheet or, more to the point, cannot feasibly

confine the surveillance of naked male prisoners to male guards

and naked female prisoners to female guards. We do not even

know what crime Johnson is charged with. My colleagues urge

deference to prison administrators, but at the same time speak

confidently about the costs of redeploying staff to protect John-

son’s rights. It would be nice to know a little more about the facts

before making a judgment that condones barbarism.

A True Copy:

Teste:

Clerk of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

23a

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

CHICAGO, ILLINOIS 60604

January 29, 1996.

Before

Hon. RICHARD A. POSNER, Chief Judge

Hon. WILBUR F. PELL, JR., Circuit Judge

Hon. FRANK H. EASTERBROOK, Circuit Judge

ALBERT JOHNSON, Appeal from the United

Plaintiff-Appellant, States District Court

for the Northern

No. 93-3753 v. District of Illinois,

Eastern Division.

RICHARD J. PHELAN, ET AL..,

Defendants-Appellees.

i i

No. 92 C 1943

James H. Alesia, Judge

ORDER

Plaintiff-appellant filed a petition for rehearing and

suggestion of rehearing en banc on November 21, 1995. A judge

in regular active service has requested a vote on the suggestion of

rehearing en banc,* which failed to reach a majority,** and a

* Judge Flaum and Judge Rovner did not participate in the

decision of this case.

** Chief Judge Posner and Judges Cummings, Ripple and

Evans voted for rehearing en banc.

24a

majority*** of the judges on the panel have voted to deny

rehearing. The petition for rehearing is therefore DENIED.

*** Chief Judge Posner voted to grant rehearing.

25a

APPENDIX C

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

EASTERN DIVISION

ALBERT JOHNSON,

’ Plaintiff,

No. 92 C 1943

v. Hon. James H. Alesia

RICHARD J. PHELAN, et al.,

i i i ee

Defendants.

MEMORANDUM OPINION AND ORDER

Plaintiff, Albert Johnson, brought this complaint seeking

injunctive relief and damages from five Cook County officials.

Johnson, who was confined to the Cook County Jail at the time his

cause of action accrued, claims defendants violated his right to

personal privacy. This alleged invasion of Johnson’s privacy

occurred in two ways. First, Johnson claims the bathroom for

male pretrial detainees in the Cook County Criminal Courthouse

was equipped with a faulty partition that enabled female prison

guards and pretrial detainees to observe Johnson going to the

bathroom on those occasions when he had to be in the Courthouse

for court proceedings. Second, Johnson claims that, in the tier

where he was housed in the Cook County Jail, female correctional

officers were able to observe inmates in the shower.

Each of the five defendants in this case has filed a separate

motion to dismiss the plaintiff's pro se complaint. Since all of the

motions are essentially identical, the court will deal with them in

one opinion. The defendants claim, first, that they cannot be held

liable in their individual capacities because none of them were

involved in or had knowledge of the incidents described in the

26a

complaint; second, that they cannot be held liable in their official

capacities because Johnson has not alleged that the challenged

conditions were a result of an official policy or custom of the

County; and, third, that Johnson has not shown that his limited

right to privacy has been violated.

Johnson has responded to the motions filed by defendants

Sheahan, Fairman, Phelan, and Charnogorsky. Although the

docket reflects no response to defendant Estrada’s motion, the

court finds that Estrada stands in the same shoes as the other

defendants, and will accordingly resolve his motion along with the

others. Johnson claims that he sent a letter to Richard Phelan, the

Chairman of the Cook County Board, complaining about the bath-

room in the Courthouse. He further claims that Charnogorsky,

identified as the Cook County Commissioner for Buildings and

Zoning, approved the design of the faulty bathroom partition, and

thus had knowledge of the conditions challenged in the complaint.

In his response to Michael Sheahan and J.W. Fairman’s motions

to dismiss, Johnson contends that he filed an institutional grievance

over the showers in Cook County Jail, but received no response.

Standard of Review

Under Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(b)(6), a claim may only be

dismissed if as a matter of law “it is clear that no relief could be

granted under any set of facts that could be proved consistent with

the allegations.” Neitzke v. Williams, 490 U.S. 319, 327 (1989)

(quoting Hishon v. King & Spaulding, 467 U.S. 69, 73 (1984)).

For purposes of a 12(b)(6) motion, the court must accept all well-

pleaded facts as true, and any reasonable inferences drawn from

them must be viewed in the light most favorable to the plaintiff.

Ellsworth v. City of Racine, 774 F.2d 182, 184 (7th Cir. 1985),

cert. denied, 475 U.S. 1047 (1986).

Di "ab

This case involves two separate incidents which must be

analyzed separately. Johnson does not contend that Sheahan or

Fairman or Estrada had any responsibility for the bathroom in the

Courthouse. Likewise, Johnson does not seek to hold Phelan or

Charnogorsky responsible for the showers in the Jail. Therefore,

the court will discuss each incident independently of the other.

27a

The Courthouse Bathroom

With respect to the right to privacy, prisoners’ rights are

extremely limited. In fact, to a certain extent, imprisonment

extinguishes the right to privacy. See Bell v. Wolfish, 441 U.S.

520, 537 (1979) (“fI}loss of freedom of choice and privacy are

inherent incidents of confinement”). Nonetheless, prisoners do

retain some shred of bodily integrity. See Hudson v. Palmer, 468

U.S. 517, 528 (1983) (maliciously motivated searches ... of even

the most hardened criminals cannot be tolerated by a civilized

society”). Of course, Johnson at the time his cause of action

accrued was a pretrial detainee and not a convicted criminal. With

respect to personal privacy, however, Johnson’s status is irrele-

vant. Both pretrial detainees and convicted prisoners have a

legitimate expectation of privacy in the execution of certain basic

bodily functions. See e.g. Michenfelder v. Sumner, 860 F.2d 328,

333 (9th Cir. 1988) (“[s}hielding one’s unclothed figure from the

view of strangers, particularly strangers of the opposite sex

is impelled by elementary self-respect and personal dignity.”);

Tucker v. Dickey, 613 F. Supp. 1124, 1130 (D.C. Wis. 1985)

(prisoner had privacy interest against being forced to urinate in the

presence of guards in order to comply with drug test); Doe v.

Calumet City, Illinois, 754 F. Supp. 1211, 1218 (N.D. Ill. 1990)

(“[dJeeply imbedded in our culture ... is the belief that people have

a reasonable expectation not to be ... observed unclothed ... by

others.”).

Ordinarily, a prisoner’s right to personal privacy must be

balanced against the institution’s legitimate interest in maintaining

security. Hudson v. Palmer, 468 U.S. at 527-28; Bell v. Wolfish,

441 U.S. at 559. In the instant case, however, defendants have

advanced no security justification for the challenged condition in

the Courthouse. It seems that the problem was simply caused by

a faulty partition. The question that remains is whether defendants

Phelan and Charnogorsky can be held liable for the incidental

infringement of Johnson’s right to privacy.

Phelan and Charnogorsky are sued in both their individual

and official capacities. It is well settled that an individual can be

held liable under § 1983 only if “he caused or participated in an

alleged constitutional deprivation.” See Rascon v. Hardiman, 803

28a

F.2d 269, 273 (7th Cir. 1986) (quoting Wolf-Lillie v. Sonquist,

699 F.2d 864, 869 (7th Cir. 1983)). An official's direct participa-

tion in the alleged deprivation, however, need not be alleged. As

the court stated in Smith v. Rowe, 761 F.2d 360, 369 (7th Cir.

1985):

An official satisfies the personal responsibility requirement

of section 1983 if she acts or fails to act with deliberate or

reckless disregard of plaintiff's constitutional rights, or if

the conduct causing the constitutional deprivation occurs at

her direction or with her knowledge and consent.

The only evidence that Johnson offers to show that Phelan and

Charnogorsky knew about the condition of the Courthouse

bathroom is a letter that Johnson wrote to Phelan complaining

about the faulty partition. Nothing indicates that Charnogorsky

was ever informed about or had any knowledge of the challenged

condition. Accordingly, Charnogorsky cannot be held liable in his

individual capacity. Similarly, although Johnson informed Phelan

by letter, the President of the Cook County Board can hardly be

expected to respond immediately to every complaint about a faulty

bathroom door. See Crowder v. Lash, 687 F.2d 996, 1005-06

(7th Cir. 1982). The court thus finds the letter from Johnson to

Phelan insufficient to establish personal responsibility on the part

of Phelan. Accordingly, Phelan and Charnogorsky’s motion to

dismiss is granted as to all claims against them in their individual

capacities.

Johnson also sues Phelan and Charnogorsky in their

official capacities. A suit against a governmental officer in his

official capacity is actually a suit against the governmental entity

for which the officer works. Kentucky v. Graham, 473 U.S. 159,

164 (1985). Governmental entities, such as Cook County, cannot

be held liable unless an official policy or custom caused the

constitutional violation asserted in the complaint. Monell v

Department of Social Services, 436 U.S. 658, 694 (1978);

Thompson v. Duke, 882 F.2d 1180, 1187 (7th Cir. 1989) cert.

denied, 110 S.Ct. 2167 (1990). Nothing in the record of this case

indicates that the County maintained a policy of failing to repair

faulty bathroom partitions in County buildings. In order to permit

an inference that a governmental entity’s failure to do something

29a

amounts to an official policy or custom which, if the cause of a

constitutional violation, is actionable under § 1983, a plaintiff must

allege a course of events or circumstances which demonstrates

deliberate indifference to or tacit authorization of the offensive

conduct. See e.g. Hossman v. Blunk, 784 F.2d 793 (7th Cir.

1986). As discussed above, there is no evidence that any high-

ranking County officials even knew about the faulty partition.

Accordingly, the court grants Phelan and Charnogorsky’s motion

to dismiss as to any official capacity claims.

The Showers in the Cook County Jail

Johnson claims that in one tier of the Cook County Jail it

is possible for female correctional officers to observe inmates

while in the shower. As discussed above, prisoners and pretrial

detainees have a legitimate privacy interest in shielding their

unclothed bodies from view by members of the opposite sex. Two

competing interests, however, must be balanced against the

inmates’ legitimate privacy interest. The first and most obvious

interest is security. Shower areas present a particularly ripe

opportunity for assaults to take place. See e.g. McGill v. Duck-

worth, 944 F.2d 344 (7th Cir. 1991). Thus, jail officials have a

legitimate interest in being able to observe inmates in the shower.

Johnson does not claim that female correctional officers are

assigned to observe inmates while showering. Any observation by

female guards appears to be incidental and inadvertent. In cases

addressing the incidental observation of unclothed male inmates by

female correctional officers, courts have found that the rights of

women to equal job opportunities in the correctional field generally

outweigh the inmates’ reduced privacy rights. See Michenfelder

v. Sumner, 860 F.2d at 334 (“assigned positions of female guards

that require only infrequent and casual observation ... and that are

reasonably related to prison needs are not so degrading as to

warrant court interference.”); Smith v. Chrans, 629 F. Supp. 606,

611 (C.D. Ill. 1986) (where sightings by female staff of male

inmates in various stages of undress were occasional and at most

inadvertent, inmates’ residual right of privacy was not infringed);

Bagley v. Watson, 579 F. Supp. 1099 (D.C. Oregon 1983) (“the

preference of some male inmates for male guards, and the

indignity perceived by some male inmates as a result of having

30a

women guards perform the kinds of searches and observations at

issue in this case ... do not justify discrimination against women in

employment ... .”).

Since Jail officials have a legitimate interest in maintaining

some level of observation of inmates while in the showers, and

since the occasional viewing of male inmates by female correc-

tional officers appears to be at most infrequent and incidental to

their legitimate presence in the institution, the court finds that

Johnson has failed to state a claim that his privacy rights were

violated in this instance. Accordingly, the court grants defendants

Sheahan, Fairman, and Estrada’s motions to dismiss.

Conclusion

Since Johnson has failed to state a claim against any of the

defendants in this case, the court grants defendants Phelan,

Charnogorsky, Sheahan, Fairman, and Estrada’s motions to

dismiss. This case is hereby dismissed with prejudice. Any

pending motions in this case are denied as moot.

ENTER:

JAMES H. ALESIA

Judge, United States District Court

Dated: SEP 28 1993

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.