Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Andriola v. Antinoro

Supreme Court brief1994

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No. 93 - Suprema Coart, U.S,

ee oe a

in The 9831326 FEB 15 19

Supreme Court of the Gntted States

Qe¢ilba Ur tmk &

October Term, 1993

a ae

LAWRENCE ANDRIOLA, JAMES A. BURKE, 1. OMAS J. CAPANELLI, JOHN

CIORCIARI, LAWRENCE E. CONNORS, JOAQUIM P. DASILVA, ALFRED J.

PAUVEL, ANTHONY L. FRAVOLA, JOSEPH J. KENNINGTON, ROBERT W.

LINHART, JOSEPH LUNZ, JOSEPH MARAGLINO, PATRICK H. MCDERMOTT,

JAMES R. MCENROE, THOMAS M. MCMAHON, PETER T. MORGAN, JOHN F.

MULVEY, RAYMOND NEGRYCZ, JAMES W. O’BRIEN, ROBERT J. O’HARA,

RUSSELL L. OLSON, JOHN F. PETERSON, MICHAEL JOHN PUZZIFERRI,

THOMAS F. REGAN, RICHARD J. SMITH and JOSEPH SOLAZZO,

-and- Petitioners,

MICHAEL ANTINORO, PETER BIANCHINI, ROBERT BRADLEY, ALLEN

DELGANDIO, EDWARD ELLISON, HERBERT FISCHER, WILLIAM GRONEMAN,

JOHN GULOTTA, ADOLF HUTTER, JOHN KLEEHAAS, JAMES KLESS, DOUGLAS

KRUGER, CORNELIUS LEHANE, CHARLES MCCARTHY, DONALD MC-

CULLOUGH, DENIS NEIGAN, LEROY O’NEIL, ERIC REHREIN, JOHN REILLY,

DENNIS SCANLON, FRANCIS SHANAGAN, JOHN STACK, PATRICK WELSH,

SAM WHITE, CHARLES WILLIAMS and RICHARD ABBOTT,

-against- Intervenors-Petitioners,

JUAN U. ORTIZ, as City Personnel Commissioner, Department of Personnel,

and as Chairman of the Civil Service Commission of the City of New York,

and JOSEPH E. SPINNATO, as Fire Commissioner of the City of New York,

-and- Respondents,

WILLIAM BARRETT, JOSEPH BACCARI, JAMES O’DONNELL, on behalf of them-

selves and other successful candidates on Promotion List 5608 (Lieutenant,

NYC Fire Department) as members of Lieutenant Eligible Association 5608,

Intervenors-Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE STATE OF NEW YORK COURT OF APPEALS

Joun F. MILs

Counsel of Record

CoLLERAN, O’Hara & MILLS

1225 Franklin Avenue, Suite 450

Garden City, New York 11530

(516) 248-5757

Attorneys for Petitioners and

Intervenors- Petitioners

OUESTION PRESENTED For REVIEY¥

Whether under the Equal Protection Clause of the

Fourteenth Amendment of the United States Constitution

the Respondents’ denial of retroactive seniority and wages

to the Petitioners is unconstitutional.

u

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Questions Presented For Review o.0..0.0.......cccccccccccees. l

WA: Wr IIIIUD sksssicssennensiencaeeanieasciemenae ee ul

TRIN GID sisctvincerontcccaneseenenies eee iv

ee Oe FID Soiticiacniiccscretetntnciena anes v

PUNEIUN : cicicstsinitistisinietdsishinsseonatdaideniae eRe 2

SO: TE sscietsniisesnsiddcesienancataeaas 2

FO stntininnisititiinid ee 3

Constitutional And Statutory Provisions Involved

A. Constitutional Provision ...........ccccccccececeseseeseees 3

B. Statutory Provision ..0.........c.cccccsesscececessceeeceesees 4

Statement of The Case

A. Statement Of Facts ...cecececcoccercocecesecrecevoveccecesers 5

es POU POD scscnciciticnenmmnatntanese, 7

Reasons For Granting The Writ

I. This Case Involves Important Constitution-

al Questions as to Whether The Equal Pro-

tection Clause of The Fourteenth Amend-

ment Has Been Violated by The City’s

Refusal to Grant These Petitioners Retro-

active Benefits That Have Previously Been

Granted to Civil Servants Who Have Been

Promoted Belatedly Due to Conduct Attri-

butable Only to The City ...0..0.00000ccccccce 9

A. The City’s Refusal to Grant These Retro-

active Benefits And The Court of Appeals’

Decision Violates The Equal Protection

Clause of The Fourteenth Amendment

Because The Challenged Classification is

Not Relevant to The Achievement of The

Articulated Governmental Objective

eeeeee

Conclusion

Page

9

TH

iv

APPENDIX CONTENTS

APPENDIX A

Opinion of The State of New York Court of

Appeals, Decided November 18, 1993 (82 NY2d

ee TT ee

Decision And Order of The Supreme Court of

The State of New York, Appellate Division, First

Department, Entered October 13, 1992 (186 A.D.

ae Se Aevsieseciitininasiinschsieiaichanieialainaiidaentaibllailiaibinaa aie

Decision of Kristin Booth Glen, J., Supreme Court

of The State of New York, County of New York,

Ge RII ey eae, rane

APPENDIX D

Order & Judgment of Kristin Booth Gien, J.,

Supreme Court of The State of New York, County

of New York, Entered October 31, 1991............

APPENDIX E

Decision of Kristin Booth Glen, J., Supreme Court

of The State of New York, County of New York,

SP CE 9 We iesticnicsietencniatecnintasidiisisitiottidicmens

APPENDIX F

Order & Judgment of Kristin Booth Glen, J.,

Supreme Court of The State of New York, County

of New York, Entered August 5, 1988................

Page

15a

18a

33a

38a

4la

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases CITED:

Abrams v. Bronstein,

33 N.Y.2d 494, 354 N.Y.S.2d 926, 310 N.E.2d

S2B (1974)......ccccccccscsreserorercsrscsesensncesasssosssossesoseresecseses passum

Andriola v. Ortiz,

186 A.D.2d 423, 588 N.Y.S.2d 280 (1st Dept.

1992), leave to appeal granted, 81 N.Y.2d 710,

599 N.Y.S.2d 804 (1993) reversed, 82 N.Y.2d

320, 604 N.Y.S.2d 530, 624 N.E.2d 667

(1993) ...crececcrecssseverssescsvssosecrseessesesesenceveesensesesensessoveesees 2

Dandridge v. Williams,

397 U.S. 471, 90 S.Ct. 1153, 25 L.Ed.2d 491

(1970), reh’g denied, 398 U.S. 914, 90 S.Ct.

1684, 26 L.Ed.2d 80 (1970)......:.:ccceccscesereseeeeeseesees 4,n.2, 10

Massachusetts Bd. of Retirement v. Murgia,

427 U.S. 307, 96 S.Ct. 2562, 49 L.Ed.2d 520

(1976) ..-ccceccceeseercesosessenossusovocsosrcsoeessecessenenensesetseseeseeeees 4,10

McKernan v. City of New York Civil Serv. Comm'n.,

121 A.D.2d 350, 503 N.Y.S.2d 572 (1st Dep't

1986), appeal denied, 69 N.Y.2d 607, 514

N.Y.S.2d 1025, 507 N.E.2d 321 ‘ — passim

Turner v. Fouche,

396 U.S. 346, 90 S.Ct. 532, 24 L.Ed.2d 567

vi

Page

Cases CITED: (continued)

Vance v. Bradley,

440 US. 93, 99 S.Ct. 939, 59 L.Ed.2d 171

a PIE aaicitieieteseenpineanninepieteeaninibnianseneninaiaaninaiennieaataniin 4,10

STA Ww N oO

CITED:

jt os Ry Ce ) en 3

a ae Oe i aeiiecisracercitininencctinliacaiecteninciaicibiaptaai 3

New York Civil Practice Laws And Rules ("CPLR")

§ 7801 - 7806 (McKinney 1981)...............cccseeees n.1,n.2

New York Civil Service Law § 61 (McKinney

———————— ————

In The

Supreme Court of the

Gnited States

October Term, 1993

—_@—-

LAWRENCE ANDRIOLA, JAMES A. BURKE, THOMAS J.

CAPANELLI, JOHN CIORCIARI, LAWRENCE E. CONNORS,

JOAQUIM P. DASILVA, ALFRED J. PAUVEL, ANTHONY L.

FRAVOLA, JOSEPH J. KENNINGTON, ROBERT W. LINHART,

JOSEPH LUNZ, JOSEPH MARAGLINO, PATRICK H. MCDERMOTT,

JAMES R. MCENROE, THOMAS M. MCMAHON, PETER T.

MORGAN, JOHN F. MULVEY, RAYMOND NEGRYCZ, JAMES W.

O’BRIEN, ROBERT J. O’HARA, RUSSELL L. OLSON, JOHN F.

PETERSON, MICHAEL JOHN PUZZIFERRI, THOMAS F. REGAN,

RICHARD J. SMITH and JOSEPH SOLAZZO,

-and-

Petitioners,

MICHAEL ANTINORO, PETER BIANCHINI, ROBERT BRADLEY,

ALLEN DELGANDIO, EDWARD ELLISON, HERBERT FISCHER,

WILLIAM GRONEMAN, JOHN GULOTTA, ADOLF HUTTER, JOHN

KLEEHAAS, JAMES KLESS, DOUGLAS KRUGER, CORNELIUS

LEHANE, CHARLES MCCARTHY, DONALD MCCULLOUGH,

DENIS NEIGAN, LEROY O’NEIL, ERIC REHREIN, JOHN REILLY,

DENNIS SCANLON, FRANCIS SHANAGAN, JOHN STACK, PATRICK

WELSH, SAM WHITE, CHARLES WILLIAMS and RICHARD

ABBOTT, -against- Intervenors-Petitioners,

JuAN U. OrTIz, as City Personnel Commissioner,

Department of Personnel, and as Chairman of the Civil Service

Commission of the City of New York, and JOSEPH E. SPINNATO,

as Fire Commissioner of the City of New York,

ant Respondents,

WILLIAM BARRETT, JOSEPH BACCARI, JAMES O’DONNELL, on

behalf of them-selves and other successful candidates on

Promotion List 5608 (Lieutenant, NYC Fire Department) as

members of Lieutenant Eligible Association 5608,

Intervenors-Respondents.

a

ane tn Sm

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE STATE OF NEW YORK COURT OF APPEALS

PARTIES

The names of all the parties to the proceeding in

the court whose judgment is sought to be reviewed here

appear in the caption of the case.”

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals for the State

of New York, is officially reported as Andriola v. Ortiz, 82

N.Y.2d 320, 604 N.Y.S.2d 530, 624 N.E.2d 667, (1993) and

appears at Appendix A hereto, at pages la- 14a. The New

York State Supreme Court Appellate Division, First

Department decision is officially reported as Andnola v.

Ortiz, 186 A.D.2d 423, 588 N.Y.S.2d 280 (1st Dept. 1992),

leave to appeal granted, 81 N.Y.2d 710, 599 N.Y.S.2d 804

(1993) and appears at Appendix B, pages 15a-17a. The

New York State Supreme Court opinion is not officially

reported and appears as Appendix C, at pages 18a - 32a,

hereto.

Four original Petitioners, Lunz, Maraglino, Negrycz and

O’Hara retired during the course of litigation and a separate

order was entered by the New York Supreme Court with

respect to the relief awarded the Petitioners-retirees, which

was appealed separately from the case at bar.

JURISDICTION

The decision of the Court of Appeals of the State

of New York was entered on November 18, 1993. In

accordance with Rule 13.1 of this Court, this petition is

filed within 90 days after the entry of judgment. The

jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1257(a) because the decision of the Court of Appeals

draws into question a violation of the equal protection

clause of the Fourteenth Amendment to the Constitution of

the United States.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

Vv VOLYV

A. Constitutional Provision

The "Equal Protection Clause” of the Fourteenth

Amendment of the United States Constitution, U.S. Const.

Amend. XIV, §1, provides:

Section 1. All persons born of

naturalized in the United States, and

subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are

citizens of the United States and of the

State wherein they reside. No State shall

make or enforce any law which shall

abridge the privileges or immunities of

citizens of the United States; nor shall

any State deprive any person of life,

liberty, or property, without due process

of law; nor deny to any person within its

jurisdiction the equal protection of the

laws.

B. Statutory Provision

Section 61(1) of the New York Civil Service Law,

provides:

Appointment or promotion from an

eligible list to a position in the

competitive class shall be made by the

selection of one of the three persons

certified by the appropriate civil service

commission as standing highest on such

eligible list who are willing to accept

such appointment or promotion.

This case presents the question whether the

respondents denied petitioners equal protection of the laws

in violation of the Fourteenth Amendment when

respondents denied petitioners retroactive pay and seniority

benefits to the date they would have been promoted but

for the wrongful grading of their civil service examination.

The opinion below decided this constitutional issue in a way

that conflicts with the equal protection analysis this Court

has articulated in various decision of this Court, particularly

Massachusetts Bd. of Retirement v. Murgia, 427 U.S. 307, 96

S.Ct. 2562, 49 L.Ed.2d 520 (1976); Vance v. Bradley, 440

US. 93, 99 S.Ct. 939, 59 L.Ed.2d 171 (1979); Dandridge v.

Williams, 397 U.S. 471, 485, 90 S.Ct. 1153, 25 L.Ed.2d 491

(1970), reh’g denied, 398 US. 914, 90 S.Ct. 1684, 26

L.Ed.2d 80 (1970), Turner v. Fouche, 396 U.S. 346, 362, 90

S.Ct. 532, 24 L.Ed.2d 567 (1970).

A. Statement of Facts

The petitioners and intervenors-petitioners herein are

all members of the New York City Fire Department who

participated in a civil service examination fo. promotion to

lieutenant, "Exam No. 0511". Respondents are the New

York City governmental agencies responsible for the

administration and grading of the exams as well as the

employment and promotion of the candidates, collectively

referred to herein as the "City". Intervenors-Respondents

are a group of firefighters who had passed the exam and

were deemed eligible for promotion, collectively referred to

as the “eligibles”. Petitioners had brought a proceeding in

state court to challenge the grading of their exams, !

alleging that certain of their answers had not been properly

credited. The petitioners’ grades were important since if

they are deemed to have passed, they are placed on an

eligibles list for promotion in accordance with their rank

among the candidates. A hearing was conducted and it was

determined that certain of the petitioners’ answers were not

properly credited. By order of the New York Supreme

Court dated July 11, 1988 and entered on August 5, 1988,

the New York State Supreme Court ordered the City to

regrade the examination and to compile a special eligibles

list based on the regraded scores. (App. F, at 41a). The

City regraded the exam and issued a revised eligible list in

June of 1989.

1 New York Civil Practice Law and Rules (CPLR), Article 78

provides for judicial review of final determinations made by

administrative agencies of government. CPLR § 7801 et seq.

aS) Se

ete: es ee ee

oe ee a ae ce ce

The petitioners, later being joined by various

intervenors-petitioners, collectively referred to hersin as

"petitioners", moved for an order modifying the August 5,

1988 order to grant the petitioners retroactive salary and

seniority benefits to the date the» should have been

promoted had the City correctly graded their exams in the

first instance. Respondents have Opposed this motion based

on New York Civil Service Law, Section 61, which provides

the appointing agency, here the New York City Fire

Department, hereinafter the "FDNY", the discretion to

promote one of the three highest ranking candidates on the

eligible list, and therefore the option to "pass over" a

candidate. The City argued that Civil Service Law, § 61

precludes the relief the petitioners sought since they had no

entitlement to promotion due to this "one-in-three” rule.

Petitioners countered this argument by submitting evidence

that the FDNY always promoted in strict rank order and

never passed over any candidates. Petitioners also argued in

their Memorandum of Law in support of their motion that

another candidate for promotion to lieutenant based on the

same Exam No. 0511 had been awarded retroactive pay and

benefits in McKernan v. City of New York Civil Service

Comm'n, 121 A.D.2d 350, 503 N.Y.S.2d 572 (Ist Dept.

1986), appeal denied, 69 N.Y.2d 607, 514 N.Y.S.2d 1025,

507 N.E.2d 321 (1987). Petitioners argued that the

2

Although the petitioners did not allege equal protection

violations in their Article 78 petition, the party who has

prevailed in the trial court, as petitioners have, may assert in

a reviewing court any ground in support of his judgment,

whether or not it appeared in the initial Dleadings. See,

Dandridge v. Williams, 397 U.S. 471, 90 S.Ct. 1153, 25 L.Ed.2d

491, 496, fn. 6.

7

McKernan case was controlling precedent because these

petitioners were similarly situated to McKernan in that they

had all been denied timely promotions due to the City’s

conduct. The City argued that McKernan did not control

because McKernan missed an examination because of a

line-of-duty injury and the issue there involved the City’s

undue delay in providing a make-up exam to which he was

entitled to as a result of that line-of-duty injury.

B. Prior Proceedings

In a decision dated June 21, 1991, the New York

Supreme Court granted petitioners’ motion to modify the

earlier judgment to include retroactive back pay and

seniority. The Court found that such relief was the only

appropriate relief to make the petitioners whole. (App. C,

at 26a). The Court reasoned that since the petitioners had

in fact already been promoted in strict rank order from the

revised eligibles list, such relief would not in any way

interfere with the FDNY’s discretionary authority under the

one-in-three rule. (App. C, at 23a). The Court noted that

the McKernan case, involving the same promotional Exam

No. 0511, was factually similar to this case, since McKernan

too had already been promoted in rank order and that the

petitioners here, and in McKernan, were "not asserting a

right to be appointed but a right to equal benefits upon

appointment". (App. C, at 22a). In an order dated

September 18, 1991, and entered on October 31, 1991, the

Court awarded, inter alia, the petitioners "retroactive back

pay from the date that they should have been promoted

through the date of their actual promotion, and full

8

seniority and pay longevity benefits, nunc pro tunc to the

date that they would have been promoted had the exam

initially been correctly scored...". (App. D, at 37a).

The respondents appealed said order to the New

York State Supreme Court, Appellate Division, First

Department. Petitioners argued in their appellate brief that

they were entitled to those benefits under the principles of

equal protection based on the McKernan case. The

Appellate Division unanimously affirmed. (App. B, at 15a).

The Appellate Division noted that petitioners were not

asserting a right to be appointed but equal benefits upon

appointment. The court also cited McKernan as controlling

precedent. (App. B, at 16a).

The respondents then moved for leave to appeal to

the Court of Appeals of the State of New York and were

granted permission to appeal. On that appeal petitioners

again argued that they were similarly situated to their

colleague in the McKernan case and that the principles of

equal protection require that petitioners be awarded the

relief sought. Respondents argued that petitioners had no

basis for their equal protection argument because they were

not similarly situated to any other candidates who were

promoted from the list since McKernan was distinguishable.

The Court of Appeals decision dated November 18,

1993, reversed the New York Supreme Court and Appellate

Division decisions. (App. A, at 1a). The Court of Appeals

held that to award such retroactive benefits violated the

policy underlying Civil Service Law § 61 that competitive

civil service examinees gain no entitlement to promotion by

passing an examination for the position sought. (App. A, at

Sa). The Court of Appeals rejected petitioners equal

a

protection argument finding that petitioners were not

similarly situated to Mr. McKernan or any other candidates

who had been granted retroactive benefits and that the City

had established a reasonable basis for not adhering to the

cKernan precedent. (App. A, at 7a).

Reasons For GRaNTING THE WRIT

I. This Case Involves Important Constitutional Questions

as to Whether The Equal Protection Clause of The

Fourteenth Amendment Has Been Violated by The

City’s Refusal to Grant These Petitioners Retroactive

Benefits That Have Previously Been Granted to Civil

Servants Who Have Been Promoted Belatedly Due to

Conduct Attributable Only to The City.

A. The City’s Refusal to Grant These Retroactive

Benefits And The Court of Appeals’ Decision

Violates The Equal Protection Clause of The

Fourteenth Amendment Because The Challenged

Classification is Not Relevant to The Achievement

of The Articulated Governmental Objective.

This case invites the Court to determine if

petitioners, a group of civil service employees whose

promotions were substantially delayed due to a grading

error made by the City are entitled, under the Equal

Protection Clause, to the same benefits upon promotion as

another candidate whose promotion had been delayed due

to the City’s failure to provide a timely make-up exam to

those unable to take the original exam due to line-of-duty

injuries. Upon reviewing the facts of this case and the

standard to be applied under the Equal Protection Clause,

it must be concluded that such a differentiation is not

reasonable and does not further any valid objective.

10

While this particular issue is one of first impression,

this Court’s standard of review for such a claim has been

articulated in cases such as Massachusetts Bd. of Retirement

v. Murgia, 427 U.S. 307, 96 S.Ct. 2562, 49 L.Ed.2d 520

(1976); as well as, Vance v. Bradley, 440 U.S. 93, 99 S.Ct.

939, 59 L.Ed.2d 171, 176 (1979) (whether the varying

treatment of different groups is so unrelated to the

achievement of legitimate purposes); Dandridge v. Williams,

397 U.S. 471, 485, 90 S.Ct. 1153, 25 L.Ed.2d 491 (1970),

reh’g denied, 398 U.S. 914, 90 S.Ct. 1684, 26 L.Ed.2d 80

(1970) (government action must be rationally based and free

from invidious discrimination); Tumer v. Fouche, 396 U.S.

346, 362, 90 S.Ct. 532, 541, 24 L.Ed.2d 567 (1970)

(whether the challenged classification rests on grounds

wholly irrelevant to the achievement of a valid state

objective). In accordance with these cases, the standard

applicable in the instant case is whether the challenged

classification rationally furthers the purpose articulated by

the government agency. Massachusetts Board of Retirement

v. Murgia, 427 U.S. at 314, 49 L.Ed.2d at 525. To apply

this test the classification and the governmental objective

purportedly advanced by the classification must be identified.

The classification must then be analyzed in order to

determine whether it rests upon some difference that is

related to an articulated objective so that all people

similarly situated are treated alike. Applying this test to the

case at bar, it must be concluded that the challenged

classification is irrelevant and unrelated to the achievement

of the governmental goal articulated by the City. The

Court of Appeals decision is, therefore, counter to the well

established analysis employed by this Court.

11

Petitioners have claimed throughout this litigation

that they are similarly situated to other civil service

employees who have been granted or awarded retroactive

back pay and benefits. In particular, petitioners claim they

are similarly situated to the petitioner in McKernan v. City

of New York Civil Serv. Comm'n, 12 A.D.2d 350, 503

N.Y.S.2d 572 (1st Dep't. 1986), who was promoted to

lieutenant in the FDNY pursuant to the same examination

as petitioners. The City argues that it properly did not

grant the retroactive benefits to petitioners, despite such

benefits having been awarded in McKernan due to a

classification based on line-of-duty injury. The City claims

that McKernan was awarded retroactive seniority in

accordance with a policy of the FDNY to award retroactive

seniority to firefighters who, after missing an examination

because of a line-of-duty injury, take and pass a make-up

examination. The City further argued that it was because of

this policy that the New York State Supreme Court,

Appellate Division, First Department, held that Mr.

McKernan was entitled to back pay as well as seniority.

The City argued, therefore, that the petitioners were not

similarly situated to McKernan, and the majority opinion of

the Court of Appeals agreed. However, the McKernan

decision makes clear that the basis for the back pay relief

awarded was to make Mr. McKernan whole and to "rectify

the consequences of delay in administering the make-up

exam". McKernan, 121 A.D.2d at 352, 503 N.Y.S.2d at 574.

The consequence, as identified by the court, was an

untimely promotion. The court’s decision, while recognizing

Mr. McKernan’s right to a make-up exam because of his

line-of-duty injury, did not make the award based on that

SS

12

line-of-duty injury. Instead, the court awarded the back pay

because, due to conduct on the part of the City, Mr.

McKernan was not timely promoted due to no fault of his

own. The petitioners here, who took Exam No. 0511 as did

Mr. McKernan, were also denied a timely promotion due to

conduct of the City, namely a failure to properly grade

their exams. Therefore, petitioners are similarly situated as

Mr. McKernan in all legally significant ways.

As indicated earlier, the City’s stated objective in

denying this retroactive pay and seniority for petitioners is

to preserve the so called "one-in-three" rule and the

discretionary authority it confers on the various agencies of

city government that are subject to the New York Civil

Service Law. The challenged classification does nothing to

further that objective, and therefore, is not rationally related

to the achievement of a valid objective.

The dissenting opinion of Judge Titone in the Court

of Appeals decision, while not specifically addressing the

equal protection argument, recognized that the majority's

denying these petitioners the retroactive benefits and

departing from prior precedent did not further the objective

of preserving the one-in-three rule or the discretionary

authority of the FDNY. Judge Titone states: *...the majority

= has failed to articulate any compelling policy rationale to

justify its departure from Abrams or the withholding or

retroactive benefits from civil servants who have been

harmed, not because of the appointing authority’s protected

exercise of discretion, but due to that body's erroneous

grading of the promotional exam. Accordingly, I respectfully

dissent from that portion of the majority's holding which

deprives petitioners and intervenors who have already been

13

promoted by the Fire Department of their retroactive

relief." (App. A, at 10a). Judge Titone goes on to state:

"As articulated by the majority, the purpose of precluding

the courts from fashioning mandatory appointment-related

remedies is to preserve the historical discretion reserved to

the governmental appointing authorities... That purpose

does not preclude awards of retroactive pay and benefits

where the appointing authority has exercised its discretion

by selecting the aggrieved candidates for appointment.”

(App. A, at 11a). This supports petitioners’ position herein,

that the differentiation between Mr. McKernan and these

petitioners, and the denial of these benefits to these

petitioners cannot be concluded to further the articulated

governmental purpose.

Mr. McKernan was subject to the one-in-three rule

regardless of the fact that he had the right to take a make-

up because of a line-of-duty injury. His line-of-duty injury

status gave him no more entitlement to promotion than if

he had not been injured. Once the City administered the

make-up and his exam was graded and he was ranked on

the eligibles list, Mr. McKernan too could have been

"passed over" under the one-in-three rule.> Therefore, his

having been on medical leave due to a line-of-duty injury,

entitling him to a make-up exam, has absolutely no

relationship to the objective of preserving the one-in-three

rule or the discretionary authority of the appointing agency

in making promotions from an eligibles list. Under the

3 it should be noted that neither McKernan, nor any of the

petitioners herein had been passed over. In fact, no one had

been passed over and promotions were based on strict rank

order.

eerie i ai

14

standards articulated by this Court, as cited above, the

denial of these benefits has no rational relationship to the

objectives and, therefore, such denial violates the equal

protection clause.

In Abrams v. Bronstein, 33 N.Y.2d 494, 354 N.Y.S.2d

926, 310 N.E.2d 528 (1974), the Court of Appeals for the

State of New York was faced with a very similar case as

the one at bar. In that case the Court went through a

concise constitutional analysis under the Equal Protection

Clauses of both the State and Federal Constitutions. In

that case one group of police lieutenants had brought an

Article 78 proceeding, similar to the one here, challenging

the validity of some of the approved answers to the exam.

That Article 78 proceeding was entitled Amendola v.

Hoberman, (not officially reported), and was settled by a

stipulation, which included provisions that the Amendola

petitioners would be granted retroactive salary increments

upon actual appointment to lieutenant. The Amendola

petitioners were then in fact promoted and granted these

retroactive benefits. Thereafter, another group of

lieutenants that were promoted off the same list, and who

had not participated in the Amendola petition filed the

Article 78 petition in Abrams v. Bronstein, supra, challenging

the City’s refusal to pay them the same retroactive benefits

as those who had participated in the Amendola petition.

Abrams, 33 N.Y.2d at 491, 354 N.Y.S.2d at 929. They

challenged this differentiation based on equal protection

grounds. The Court noted that had the exams been

properly graded the promotions would have been made in

accordance with the candidates rank on the list and the

candidates would have begun performing as lieutenants and

15

they would have been receiving their annual salary

increments. The Court stated "[t]he fact that these events

did not come to pass as outlined above is not attributable

to any of the candidates, either the Amendola or the

Abrams petitioners..." Abrams, 33 N.Y.2d at 495, 354

N.Y.S.2d at 931. The same is true here. The fact that

both Mr. McKernan and the petitioners herein were denied

timely promotions are not attributable to any conduct on

their part, but rather such untimely promotions were due to

the conduct of the City. Therefore, the petitioners in the

instant case have the same right to retroactive benefits as

the Abrams petitioners. The City also raised the one-in-

three rule in Abrams as a basis to deny retroactive benefits.

The court rejected the City’s argument stating: “In fact,

however, the petitioners were all appointed in regular order

according to the listings. Furthermore, this justification

misses the point because the petitioners are not asserting a

right to be appointed but a right to equal benefits upon

appointment.” Abrams, 33 N.Y.2d at 493, fn. 6, 354

N.Y.S.2d at 930. The same is true here. The petitioners

herein have all been appointed in rank order and now seek

equal benefits upon appointment. The petitioners’ benefits

should be equal to those awarded in McKernan and Abrams

as well as to those candidates who were timely promoted as

a result of Exam No. 0511. The petitioners herein are no

less entitled to retroactive benefits than the Abrams

petitioners, therefore, although Abrams involved a different

agency and was decided long before the instant case, the

fact is that these petitioners were also similarly situated to

the Abrams petitioners. In the instant case, the Court of

Appeals rejected the petitioners reliance on Abrams in their

16

equal protection argument, stating that petitioners were

different from the Abrams petitioners because the

petitioners were not similarly situated to any members of

the FDNY, whereas the Abrams petitioners were similarly

situated to the Amendola petitioners. However, for the

reasons stated above, the petitioners herein are, in fact,

similarly situated with McKernan, as well as the Abrams

petitioners. In fact, these petitioners are actually entitled to

these benefits because they are similarly situated to all the

candidates who were promoted as a result of Exam No.

0511 since they all took and passed the exam and were

deemed eligible by the FDNY to be promoted in strict rank

order. The objective of preserving the FDNY’s discretion

to pass over candidates in accordance with the one-in-three

rule cannot be furthered by denying these petitioners the

same benefits as other civil service candidates who were

wrongfully denied timely promotions due to conduct on the

part of the governmental agency, or in fact other candidates

who were promoted without delay from the same exam.

Therefore, this Court’s equal protection standard has not

been satisfied and petitioners have been denied equal

protection of the laws.

17

C ONCLUSION

For these reasons, a writ a certiorari should be

issued to review the opinion and judgment of the Court of

Appeals.

Dated: Garden City, New York

February 8, 1994

Respectfully submitted,

Joun F. MILs

Counsel of Record

CoLLERAN, O’Hara & MILLS

1225 Franklin Avenue, Suite 450

Garden City, New York 11530

(516) 248-5757

Attorneys for Petitioners and

Intervenors- Petitioners

In The

Supreme Court of the Gniled States

October Term, 1993

a

LAWRENCE ANDRIOLA, JAMES A. BURKE, THOMAS J. CAPANELLI, JOHN

CIORCIARI, LAWRENCE E. CONNORS, JOAQUIM P. DASILVA, ALFRED J.

PAUVEL, ANTHONY L. FRAVOLA, JOSEPH J. KENNINGTON, ROBERT W.

LINHART, JOSEPH LUNZ, JOSEPH MARAGLINO, PATRICK H. MCDERMOTT,

JAMES R. MCENROE, THOMAS M. MCMAHON, PETER T. MORGAN, JOHN F.

MULVEY, RAYMOND NEGRYCZ, JAMES W. O’BRIEN, ROBERT J. O’HARA,

RUSSELL L. OLSON, JOHN F. PETERSON, MICHAEL JOHN PUZZIFERRI,

THOMAS F. REGAN, RICHARD J. SMITH and JOSEPH SOLAZZO,

-and- Petitioners,

MICHAEL ANTINORO, PETER BIANCHINI, ROBERT BRADLEY, ALLEN

DELGANDIO, EDWARD ELLISON, HERBERT FISCHER, WILLIAM GRONEMAN,

JOHN GULOTTA, ADOLF HUTTER, JOHN KLEEHAAS, JAMES KLESS, DOUGLAS

KRUGER, CORNELIUS LEHANE, CHARLES MCCARTHY, DONALD MC-

CULLOUGH, DENIS NEIGAN, LEROY O’NEIL, ERIC REHREIN, JOHN REILLY,

DENNIS SCANLON, FRANCIS SHANAGAN, JOHN STACK, PATRICK WELSH,

SAM WHITE, CHARLES WILLIAMS and RICHARD ABBOTT,

-against- Intervenors-Petitioners,

JUAN U. ORTIZ, as City Personnel Commissioner, Department of Personnel,

and as Chairman of the Civil Service Commission of the City of New York,

and JOSEPH E. SPINNATO, as Fire Commissioner of the City of New York,

-and- Respondents,

WILLIAM BARRETT, JOSEPH BACCARI, JAMES O’DONNELL, on behalf of them-

selves and other successful candidates on Promotion List 5608 (Lieutenant,

NYC Fire Department) as members of Lieutenant Eligible Association 5608,

Intervenors-Respondents.

APPENDIX

Appendix A - Opinion of The State of New

York Court of Appeals, Decided November

18, 1993 (82 NY2d 320) [Pages la - 14a]

State of New Work

Court of Appeals

In the Matter of Lawrence

Andriola, et al.,

Respondents,

Vv.

Juan U. Ortiz, as City Personnel

Commissioner, Department of Personnel,

and as Chairman, of the Civil Service

Commission of the City of New York, et al.,

Appellants,

and William Barrett, et al.,

Intervenors- Respondents.

Argued October 14, 1993, decided November 18, 1993

OPINION OF THE COURT

LEVINE, J.:

la

Petitioners and intervenors were New York City

firefighters when petitioners brought the instant CPLR

Article 78 proceeding challenging respondents’ grading of 12

questions on a promotional examination for the position of

Fire Department Lieutenant given October

Pursuant to the order of Supreme Court, New York

2a

APPENDIX A

[Opinion of The State of New York Court of Appeals)

County, dated July 11, 1988, the examination was regraded

and, as a result, a special eligible list was promulgated from

which those petitioners then still on active duty were

promoted to lieutenant, as were intervenors. Petitioners

then moved for a modification of the July 11, 1988 order

to provide for retroactive seniority benefits and back pay

from the date each of them would have been promoted

from the original eligible list had the examination been

properly graded. They were joined in this request by

intervenors. Additionally, four of the original petitioners

who had retired before the revised promotional list was

promulgated, but who had passed the written portion of the

examination as regraded, sought retroactive seniority and

back pay from the date they claimed they would have been

promoted had the original examination been properly

graded.

Respondents opposed any award of retroactive

seniority benefits for back pay on the principal ground that

to do so would be in derogation of their statutory

discretion as a governmentai civil service appointing

authority to select for appointment or promotion any one

of the three highest persons on the eligible list, as provided

under Civil Service Law § 61 (the "one-in-three rule’).

Supreme Court rejected this objection. It reasoned that,

because petitioners and intervenors had already been

promoted from the special eligible list following the

regrading of the examination, awarding them retroactive

seniority benefits and back pay to the date they would have

been promoted had the examination been properly graded

in the first instance could not be said to impinge on

respondents’ statutory discretion under the one-in-three rule.

APPENDIX A Ja

[Opinion of The State of New York Court of Appeals]

Such an award, the court held, merely served to "make

whole” the petitioners still in active service for being

deprived of the earlier promotions they would have

received. Furthermore, the court found that the New York

City Fire Department historically and throughout the

pertinent period had followed a consistent policy of

promoting to the ranks of lieutenant and above the highest

persons on the applicable list. This abdication of discretion

also obviated any need to preserve respondents’ discretion

under the one-in-three rule, the court concluded.

As to the four original petitioners who had retired

from service before the special eligible list was promulgated,

Supreme Court also fashioned a rather intricate remedy to

place them in the same position they would have been in

had their examinations initially been graded properly.

The Appellate Division affirmed (186 AD2d 423).

Relying on its own decision in Matter of McKernan v City

of New York Civil Serv. Commn. (121 AD2d 350, lv denied

69 NY2d 607) and this Court’s decision in Matter of

Abrams v Bronstein (33 NY2d 488), the Court concluded

that the award of retroactive benefits did not interfere with

respondents’ statutory discretion under the one-in-three rule,

because it merely placed petitioners and intervenors in the

same position that they would have been in had the

examination been correctly graded in the first instance. We

granted leave to consider whether the award of retroactive

seniority benefits and back pay antedating petitioners’ and

intervenors’ actual promotions to Fire Department

Lieutenant is barred by reason of Civil Service Law § 61.

We reverse. Our decisions repeatedly have

acknowledged the importance of the discretionary

ohne

4a

APPENDIX A

[Opinion of The State of New York Court of Appeals]

governmental appointive power embodied in Civil Service

Law §61, and have rejected attempts to invoke the aid of

the courts to limit the reasonable exercise of that discretion

(see, City of Schenectady v State Div. of Human Rights, 37

NY2d 421, 430; Matter of Cassidy v Municipal Civil Serv.

Commn. of City of New Rochelle, 37 NY2d 526, 528-529;

Matter of Berger v Walsh, 291 NY 220, 223). Consistent

with our adherence to the historical policy upon which Civil

Service Law § 61 is based, we have held that a person

successfully passing a competitive Civil Service examination

does not acquire any "legally protectable interest” in an

appointment to the position for which the examination was

given (Matter of Cassidy v Municipal Civil Serv. Commn. of

City of New Rochelle, supra, at 529; see also, Matter of

Deas v Levitt, 73 NY2d 525, 532, cert denied 493 US 933),

nor "thereby gain a vested right to appointment to the

position” (Hurley v Board of Educ. of City of New York, 270

NY 275, 279).

It follows from the foregoing that petitioners and

‘ntervenors would not have acquired any enforceable right

or even any legally cognizable interest in appointment to

the position of Fire Department Lieutenant if the

examination they initially took for that position had been

properly graded and resulted in their achieving passing

grades. This would have remained so despite the existence

of a past practice of the New York City Fire Department

to promote the top graded examinees to lieutenant from

the eligible list since, surely, no court would find it arbitrary

or capricious on the part of the appointing authority for it

to abandon that practice at any time in favor of the

exercise of its statutory discretion under Civil Service Law

iz!

APPENDIX A 5a

[Opinion of The State of New York Court of Appeals)

$61 (see, Matter of Delicati v. Schechter, 3 AD2d 19, 23-24

[Breitel, J.]). Indeed, petitioners and intervenors have not

argued that the practice of the Fire Department to appoint

lieutenants strictly on the basis of test scores created any

enforceable entitlement in their favor to promotion from

the eligible list if the examination had been properly graded

in the first instance.

One must conclude from the foregoing that Supreme

Court’s direction that petitioners and intervenors receive

retroactive seniority benefits and back pay -- in effect

thereby mandating their retroactive promotion to Lieutenant -

-is fundamentally inconsistent with the letter and spirit of

Civil Service Law § 61, and with our previously cited

holdings that the only remedy a Civil Service examinee in

the competitive class is entitled to for defects in the

appointive or promotional process such as that presented

here is not appointment or promotion, but a judicial

direction for reconsideration after the prior defect has been

corrected (see, City of Schenectady v State Div. of Human

Rights, supra; Matter of Berger v Walsh, supra). The

retroactive promotions to lieutenant effected by Supreme

Court’s order cannot be rationalized as merely making

petitioners and intervenors "whole". This point was well

made in Matter of State Div. of Human Rights (Cottongim)

v County of Onondaga Sheriff's Dept. (71 NY2d 623). In

that case, we contrasted the available remedy for a

wrongfully discharged employee (as was therein established)

with that for employees not fairly considered for

appointment or promotion (as is the case here) (id. at 634).

We held in Matter of State Div. of Human Rights

(Cottongim) that reinstatement is an appropriate remedy in

6a APPENDIX A

[Opinion of The State of New York Court of Appeals]

the case of a wrongfully discharged employee; it restores to

the employee that which he or she possessed before the

wrong was committed (id). On the other hand, we

explained the holdings in our previous decisions dealing

with defects in the appointment process that "where a

person has not been considered fairly for an appointment

by a public employer, the remedy that generally will make

the individual whole *** is that the individual be fairly

considered for the appointment. These cases recognize that

it may be improper to go further and require that the

person be appointed to the position because this could

award more than a complainant was entitled to before the

[defect] took place” (id. [emphasis supplied)).

So too here, when petitioners established a defect in

the promotional process, i.e., the improper grading of the

examination, the appropriate remedy to make them whole

under our precedents was to correct the defect they

established, by regrading the examinations and promulgating

a special eligible list, and then giving them due

consideration for promotions from their positions on the

new list (Matter of State Div. of Human Rights [Cottongim]

v County of Onondaga Sheriff's Dept., supra). This remedy,

of course, ultimately led to their actual promotion, but that

result was not dictated in order to make them whole.

Accordingly, Supreme Court erred when it granted

relief clearly in excess of the appropriate remedy here, by

effectively dictating the retroactive promotion of petitioners

and intervenors. This result, as we have concluded, violated

the policy underlying Civil Service Law § 61 that

competitive Civil Service examinees gain no cognizable legal

rights to employment or promotion by passing an

APPENDIX A 7a

[Opinion of The State of New York Court of Appeals]

examination for the position sought. The courts may not

dictate retroactive appointment or promotion in violation of

this strong State policy on the factual supposition, no

matter how reasonable, that the appointive process worked

properly initially, the candidate would have received earlier

appointment or promotion.

To the extent that the decision in Matter of

McKernan v City of New York Civil Serv. Commn. (121

AD2d 350, supra) supports the award of retroactive

seniority benefits and back pay as appropriate relief on a

successful challenge to deficiencies in the Civil Service

appointive or promotional process such as was presented

here, that decision is disapproved. Moreover, petitioners

and intervenors reliance on the McKernan case to estabiish

their right to retroactive seniority benefits and back pay

under the Equal Protection Clauses of the Federal and

State Constitutions (US Const, 14th Amend; NY Const, art

1,§ 11) is also unavailing. The prevailing party in Matter of

McKernan (supra) and petitioners here are not similarly

situated, and respondents here have clearly established here

a reasonable basis for not adhering to the McKernan

precedent in their treatment of petitioners and intervenors.

Finally, nothing that we have said here is

inconsistent with our decision in Matter of Abrams v

Bronstein (33 NY2d 488). In Matter of Abrams, a group of

New York City police officers who had brought a separate

court challenge to the grading of a police lieutenant

examination entered into a stipulation with the City of New

York that they would receive retroactive benefits, including

salary increments, in the event that they won their suit and

as a result were eventually appointed lieutenant from the

8a APPENDIX A

[Opinion of The State of New York Court of Appeals]

revised eligible list (id. at 490-491). The petitioners in

Matter of Abrams had not joined in the prior litigation, but

had taken the same examination and had been promoted to

police lieutenant from the same revised list (id. at 491).

We held in Matter of Abrams that equal protection

prevented the City of New York from discriminating

between petitioners and their peers as to the retroactive

benefits in question merely because the latter group had

brought the lawsuit challenging the grading of the

promotional examination (id. at 494-495). In the instant

case, petitioners and intervenors have not pointed to any

similarly situated members of the New York City Fire

Department who have received the retroactive benefits they

seek here. Thus, Matter of Abrams v Bronstein (supra) does

not support their claim.

For all the foregoing reasons, the order of the

Appellate Division should be reversed, with costs, and the

motion to modify the July 11, 1988 order and judgment of

Supreme Court denied.

APPENDIX A 9a

[Opinion of The State of New York Court of Appeals]

Titone, J. (concurring in part and dissenting in part).

I concur in the majority opinion to the extent that

it bars the four retired petitioners, who have not been

promoted by respondent Fire Department to the position of

Lieutenant, from receiving the claimed retroactive relief. As

the majority concludes, Supreme Court improperly ordered

their retroactive promotion and thereby usurped the

discretionary authority of the appointing agency to make

such appointment determinations under Civil Service Law

§ 61(1)’s “one-in-three” rule. However, in my view, the

same rationale has no application in the context of court

orders directing retroactive back pay and seniority benefits

to. individuals who have already been appointed or

promoted and who are merely seeking to recover the

benefits withheld as a result of a past wrong. The

majority's failure to distinguish between the type of relief

granted to the retired firefighters on the one hand --

retroactive promotion and benefits -- and to the promoted

firefighters on the other -- retroactive benefits incidental to

their promotion -- represents an unwarranted application of

the "one-in-three” rule that has unnecessarily deprived a

group of civil servants of the relief they deserve which in

no way encroaches on any statutory discretion accorded to

the Fire Department’s appointing authority under the Civil

Service Law. The Fire Department has already exercised

that discretion, without court interference, in making the

promotional appointments. Additionally, the award of

retroactive benefits as incidental relief to the promoted

firefighters is directly supported by this Court's precedent in

ooo

10a APPENDIX A

[Opinion of The State of New York Court of Appeals)

Matter of Abrams v Bronstein (33 NY2d 488). Beyond that,

the majority has failed to articulate any compelling policy

rationale to justify its departure from Abrams or the

withholding of retroactive benefits from civil servants who

have been harmed, not because of the appointing

authority’s protected exercise of discretion, but due to that

body’s erroneous grading of the promotional examination.

Accordingly, I respectfully dissent from that portion of the

majority’s holding which deprives petitioners and intervenors

who have already been promoted by the Fire Department

of their retroactive relief.

Initially, I agree with the majority that no firefighter

would "have acquired any enforceable right or even and

cognizable interest in appointment to the position of Fire

Department Lieutenant” had the original grading of the

examination been proper and had they achieved passing

scores (Maj. opn at 4). In fact, it is well-settled that the

power granted to the appointing officer by Civil Service

Law §61(1)’s "one-in-three” selection rule clearly prevents

the courts from directing that authority to appoint (Matter

of Cassidy v Municipal Civil Serv. Commn. of City of New

Rochelle, 37 NY2d 526, 528-529, Berger v Walsh, 291 NY

220, 222-223; Matter of Delicati v Schechter, 3 AD2d 19,

23), or reinstate (see City of Schenectady v State Div. of

Human Rights, 37 NY2d 421, 430) a candidate (cf, Matter

of State Div. of Human Rights (Cottongim) v County of

Onondaga Sheriff's Dep't, 71 NY2d 623, 634; Matter of

Delicati, supra at 23).

However, it does not necessarily follow, as the

majority holds, that the existence of that rule also precludes

a claim for retroactive benefits sought by petitioners who

|

)

AppeNDIx A Ila

[Opinion of The State of New York Court of Appeals)

have already, in fact, been appointed. As articulated by the

majority, the purpose of precluding the court from

fashioning mandatory appointment-related remedies is to

preserve the historical discretion reserved to the

governmental appointing authorities (Maj. opn at 3-4). That

purpose does not preclude awards of retroactive pay and

benefits where the appointing authority has exercised its

discretion by selecting the aggrieved candidates for

appointment.

Significantly, the “one-in-three” rule justification for

precluding a court from directing an appointing authority to

promote a candidate has never been extended by this Court

to bar a grant of retroactive benefits to a candidate who

has already been appointed by that authority. Indeed,

substantially all of the cases that the majority cited involved

petitioners who were denied judicial relief, including claims

for retroactive pay and benefits, because they were primarily

seeking to compel their appointment or reinstatement after

being passed over or discharged (see Matter of State Div. of

Human Rights (Cottongim), supra; City of Schenectady,

supra; Matter of Cassidy, supra; Berger v Walsh, supra;

Delicati, supra). None of those cases involved the denial of

claims for retroactive benefits asserted by petitioners who

had already been appointed to the post they sought.

The flaw in the majority’s analysis here is its

characterization of Supreme Court’s directive as an order

"mandating * * * retroactive promotion” (Maj. opn at 5). As

the majority itself recognizes, however, Supreme Court did

not order the promotion of those petitioners (see Maj. opn

at 6-7); rather, in essence, the court ordered only that the

promoted firefighters be given a retroactive appointment

12a APPENDIX A

[Opinion of The State of New York Court of Appeals}

date to facilitate the calculation of benefits wrongfully

withheld. Indeed, those firefighters did not bring this

proceeding to compel the commissioner to appoint them

because they were “not fairly considered for appointment or

promotion” (Maj. opn at 6). Rather, they seek, as relief

incidental to their resulting promotions, merely to be placed

in the position that they would have been in had the

appointing authority properly graded the examinations

initially.

This Court and others have previously recognized

that an order granting retroactive promotion is distinct from

an order directing retroactive benefits and that, despite the

discretionary authority vested in the appointing officer, the

latter award is available to a petitioner who has already

been promoted in order to remedy the effects of unfair

grading of the promotional exam (see Matter of Abrams v

Bronstein, 33 NY2d 488; McKernan v City of New York

Civil Ser. Commn., 121 AD2d 350). In fact, the argument

asserted by respondents and accepted by the majority -- that

the award of retroactive benefits to petitioners would, like

an order compelling appointment, undermine the appointing

authority's discretionary power -- is not novel. In Matter of

Abrams (supra), this Court rejected that identical claim.

Relying on the pivotal fact that the petitioners had all

already been appointed "in regular order according to the

listings", the Court concluded that the proposed application

of the "“one-in-three" selection rule asserted to justify

withholding those retroactive benefits from the petitioners

"misses the point because the petitioners are not asserting a

right to be appointed but a right to equal benefits upon

appointment" (id. at 493, fn 6 [emphasis supplied]). Despite

APPENDIX A 13a

[Opinion of The State of New York Court of Appeals)

its protestations to the contrary, the majority's holding

cannot be reconciled with the underscored language in

Abrams.

Since it would be impossible for the courts to

interfere with the Fire Department’s power to appoint the

promoted firefighters because that appointing authority has

already exercised its discretion by so doing, the sole inquiry

for the courts concerns the remedy to be afforded

petitioners to make them whole. Well-settled is the rule

that a remedy should be coextensive with the wrong it is

designed to redress (Weissman v Evan, 56 NY2d 458, 467).

An award of retroactive back pay and seniority benefits

calculated from the date the petitioners would have been

promoted -- although “disapproved” of by the majority for

reasons which remain to be explained (see Maj. opn at 7) --

is sufficient to redress the wrong to petitioners because it

"restores [them] to the position in which [they] would have

been had *** [they] timely been promoted” (Matter of

McKernan v City of New York Civil Serv. Commn., 121

AD2d 350, 352; see also Anderson v County of Suffolk, 97

AD2d 448, 449; CPLR 7806).

Contrary to respondent’s assertion that the date the

petitioners would have been promoted is speculative and

thus impossible to determine, the Fire Department’s policy

of promoting in strict numerical order renders those dates

readily ascertainable. Thus, in this case, the award of

retroactive benefits may simply be calculated from the

promotion date of the firefighter who previously held the

ranking on the original jist that is now held by the

petitioner on the revised list. In fact, the record reveals

that the Fire Department has utilized the same system in

l4a AppeNDIx A

[Opinion of The State of New York Court of Appeals]

the past to project retroactive seniority dates upon court-

ordered regrading of a licutenant’s examination so_ that

firefighters who would have been promoted by a certain

cutoff date after the reranking could be certified as cligible

in time to take the promotional exam for Captain.

In sum, because I cannot agree that a court's award

of back pay to petitioners after they have been duly

appointed is inconsistent with the "one-in-three” rule, and

because the majority's justification for denying retroactive

benefits to civil servants who have been promoted belatedly

is unconvincing and departs from this Court’s clear

precedent, I would modify the Appellate Division order

insofar as it granted such relief to the retired petitioners,

and otherwise affirm the awards to those petitioners and

intervenors already promoted by the Commissioner.

PTT TTT TTT Te A

Chief Judge KAYE and Judges SIMONS, HANCOCK, Jr.,

BELLACOSA and SMITH concur with Judge LEVINE;

Judge TITONE dissents in part in a separate opinion.

Order reversed, etc.

15a

Appendix B - Decision And Order of The Supreme

Court of The State of New York, Appellate

Division, First Department, Entered (October

13, 1992 (186 A.D.2d 423) [Pages 15a - 17a]

In the Matter of the Application of

Lawrence Andriola, et al.,

Petitioners- Respondents,

For Judgment pursuant to Article 78

of the CPLR,

against.

Juan U. Ortiz, etc., et al

Respondents-Appellants,

and

William Barrett, et al.,

Intervenors- Respondents

Order and judgment (one paper), Supreme Court

New York County (Kristin Booth Glen, J.), entered

October 31, 1991, which grants petitioners and intervenors

seniority benefits and back pay, retroactive to the dates that

they would have been promoted, if their promotional

examinations had been correctly graded in the first instance,

is unanimously affirmed, without costs.

Petitioners were New York City Firefighters when

they instituted the instant Article 78 proceeding to

challenge the respondents’ grading of twelve questions on

promotional examination number 0511, given October 31,

1981, for the position of Fire Department Lieutenant.

16a APPENDIX B

[Decision And Order of The Appellate Division)

After the examination was regraded a special eligible list

was prepared, and those petitioners on active service were

promoted. The other petitioners retired.

Thereafter, petitioners moved for retroactive back

pay and seniority benefits, and were joined by intervenors,

who were promoted from the revised list.

On appeal respondents contend that the “one in

three rule", contained in Civil Service Law § 61, as well as

in rule 4.7.1 of the Rules of the New York City

Department of Personnel (59 RCNY Appendix A, 4.7.1)

bars the award of retroactive benefits to the petitioners,

upon the ground that such an award would undermine the

discretionary power of the appointing authority. They

further contend that the award to the intervenors is barred

by the constitutional proscription against gifts of public

funds.

Since the petitioners have all already been

promoted, and those promotions were made pursuant to the

long-standing practice and tradition of the Fire Department

to promote in strict numerical order, rather than by use of

the "one in three rule", the award of retroactive benefits

will not interfere with the discretionary power of the

appointing authority. The relief granted simply places the

petitioners who had not retired in the same position that

they would have been in if the examination had been

correctly graded in the first place (see Matter of McKernan

v City of New York Civ. Serv. Commn., 121 AD2d 350,

352, lv denied 69 NY2d 607). "[Pletitioners are not

asserting a right to be appointed but a right to equal

benefits upon appointment.” (Matter of Abrams v Bronstein,

33 NY2d 488, 493, n6).

APPENDIX B 17a

[Decision And Order of The Appellate Division]

We agree with the IAS Court that equal

protection entitles the intervenors to the same retroactive

relief as has been awarded to the petitioners, and the

retired petitioners the relief granted to them. The relief

properly places them, as nearly as possible, in the position

they would have been had the test been properly graded in

the first instance (Abrams, supra).

We have examined the respondents’ remaining

arguments and find them to be without merit. Concur -

Ellerin, J.P., Wallach, Ross, Kassal and Rubin, JJ.

18a

Appendix C - Decision of Kristin Booth Glen, J.,

Supreme Court State of New York, County of

New York, Dated June 21,1991 [Pages 18a - 32a)

SUPREME COURT STATE OF NEW YORK

COUNTY OF NEW YORK: IAS PART 26

LAWRENCE ANDRIOLA, JAMES A. BURKE,

THOMAS J. CAPANELLI, JOHN CIORCIARI,

LAWRENCE E. CONNORS, JOAQUIM P. DASILVA,

ALFRED J. PAUVEL, ANTHONY L. FRAVOLA,

JOSEPH J. KENNINGTON, ROBERT W. LINHART,

JOSEPH LUNZ, JOSEPH MARAGLINO, PATRICK

H. MC DERMOTT, JAMES R. MC ENROE, THOMAS

M. MC MAHON, PETER T. MORGAN, JOHN F.

MULVEY, RAYMOND NEGRYCZ, JAMES W.

O'BRIEN, ROBERT J. O'HARA, RUSSELL L.

OLSON, JOHN F. PETERSON, MICHAEL JOHN

PUZZIFERRI, THOMAS F. REGAN, RICHARD J.

SMITH and JOSEPH SOLAZZO,

Petitioners,

For a Judgment Pursuant to Article 78 of the Index No.

Civil Practice Law & Rules, 29966/82

-against-

JUAN U. ORTIZ, as City Personal Commissioner,

Department of Personnel, and as Chairman of the

Civil Service Commission of the City of New York,

and JOSEPH E. SPINNATO, as Fire Commissioner

of the City of New York,

Respondents,

-and-

WILLIAM BARRETT, JOSEPH BACCARI, JAMES

O'DONNELL, on behalf of themselves and other

successful candidates on Promotion List 5608

(Lieutenant, NYC Fire Department) as members

of Lieutenant Eligible Association 5608,

Intervenors-Respondents.

Appenpix C 19a

[Decision of The Supreme Court State of New York]

KRISTIN BOOTH GLEN, J.:

Motions numbered 004, 005, 006 and 007 of Index

No. 29966/82 on the Part 20 calendar for April 24, 1990

are consolidated for disposition.

Procedurally, this case was first before me pursuant

to an Article 78 petition challenging the grading of twelve

questions on the promotional exam for the position of fire

Department Lieutenant given October 31, 1981. (“Exam

No. 0511"). The report of the Referee was confirmed, and

a special eligible list was promulgated, after order entered

August 5, 1988. All of the petitioners were appointed to

the position of Lieutenant from the revised list. Those

petitioners now seek modification of the August 5, 1988

order to provide for retroactive back pay and seniority

benefits. (Motion 004). The remaining motions seck

intervention by various parties and support the request for

modification of the August Sth order. (Motions 005, 006

and 007).

Respondents argue that petitioners’ requested

modifications are barred by Civil Service Law § 61 which

grants the Fire Department, and other public agencies,

discretion in appointing or promoting candidates to positions

from an “eligible” list established by a competitive

examination.! Thus, according to respondents, Civil Service

! Civil Service Law $61 reads, in relevant part, as follows:

*...§61. Appointment and Promotion

1. Appointment or promotion from eligible lists.

20a Appenpix C

[Decision of The Supreme Court State of New York]

Law §61 rebuts any claim of entitlement to the title of

Lieutenant”, and retroactive pay and seniority cannot be

awarded to petitioners. Respondents cite a series of cases

in which the courts have consistently refused to mandate an

individual’s appointment from a list, with concomitant

benefits, on the basis that to do so would encroach on the

power of the appointing officials. See, Schenectady v. State

Division of Human Rights, 37 NY2d 421 (1975); Burger v.

Walsh, 291 NY 220 (1943); Delicati v. Schechter, 3 AD2d

19 (1956); cf. Mena v. D'Ambrose, 58 AD2d 514 (ist Dept

1977), mod. on other grounds, 44 NY2d 428 (1978).

Conceding the general validity of this proposition,

however, petitioners argue its inapplicability here, distinguish

the cases cited for the general proposition,” and point to

Appointment or promotion from an eligible list

to a position in the competitive class shall be

made by the selection of one of the three

persons certified by the appropriate civil service

commission as standing highest on such eligible

list who are willing to accept such appointment

or promotion ... (Civil Service Law, §61(1)).

2 The issue of “entitlement” becomes particularly important in

federal constitutional due process analysis. See Drogan v. Ward,

675 F Supp. 832 (S.D. N.Y. 1987) as discussed and distinguished

in Matter of Deas v. Levitt, 73 NY2d 525 (1989) cert. den. 110 S.

Ct. 324 (1989), "Entitlement" or a Finding of a "property right"

for purposes of Matthews v. Eldridge, 424 US 319 (1976) is,

however, entirely different than what is necessary for a "make

whole” remedy once a particular petitioner or plaintiff has moved

past the hypothetical “entitlement” to the realty of reinstatement

or, promotion. See, ¢.g. Cottongim v. Onondaga Sheriff's

Department, 71 NY2d 623 (1988) (reinstatement) McKernan v.

City of New York Civil Service Commission, 121 AD2d 350 (\st

Dept. 1986) lv. den. 69 NY2d 607 (1987). (promotion)

3 In Burger v. Walsh, supra, the plaintiffs were candidated for the

,

AprenDIx C 2la

[Decision of The Supreme Court State of New York]

several cases more nearly on point which compel the relief

they seek. See, e.g., Abrams v. Bronstein, 33 NY2d 488

(1974), Cottongim v. County of Onondaga Sheniff’s

Department, supra, McKernan v. City of New York Civil

Service Commission, supra. In each of these cases,

retroactive relief was granted in order to make the

petitioner or petitioners "whole."

Where the appointing authority's “discretionary

power” is not undermined in the case - either because the

petitioner seeks reinstatement after a discriminatory

termination, Cottongim, supra, or the appointing authority

has already exercised its discretion by appointing or

promoting, e.g., Abrams, supra, McKernan, supra, - the

appropriate remedy is one which put the employee or

employees in the position which s/he or they would have

been in but for the unlawful (Cottongim) or erroneous

(Abrams) or illegal (McKernan) acts of the authority.

Fire Department who claimed they had been improperly "passed

over" for appointment and sought retroactive appointment. The

Court of Appeals denied their application holding that to do so

".. . would in effect the deprive the Commissioner of the power

of selection which is implicit in the authority granted him as an

appointing officer. . ." 291 NY2d at p 223 (citations omitted).

There was no indication in that case that all applicants who

passed were appointed. In City of Schenectady v. State Division of

Human Rights, supra, the court held that the Commissioner of

Human Rights could not compel the City to offer the

complainant the next available position as police sergeant. In

that case it was also clear that discretion was regularly employed

in such appointments. In Mena v. D'Ambrose, supra, involving

the New York City Transit Police Department, prior use of the

"one in three” discretionary power of appointment was not only

understood as the practice of the Department, but was also

actually incorporated in the stipulation agreed to by all parties

but the chairman of the Transit Authority. Mena, supra, 44

NY2d at 432.

I iiiitaiaiiaaialie

22a Appenpbix C

[Decision of The Supreme Court State of New York]

Both Abrams and McKeman, are factually similar to

the situation in this case. In both cases, the “one in three"

rule of Civil Service Law § 61 was irrelevant to awarding

back pay and retroactive seniority because the petitioners

had already been appointed. Thus the court found that

" . the Civil Service Law § 61] justification misses the

point because the petitioners are not asserting a right to be

appointed but a right to equal benefits upon appointment.”

Abrams, supra, at 493, Footnote 6. In McKernan, as well,

by the time the issue of retroactivity reached the Appellate

Division, the petitioners had already been promoted from a

makeup list.4

Given the fact that the appointments had already

occurred, the two issues before the Appellate Division were

retroactive seniority and back pay. The test was, as in

other cases, what would make these already promoted

employees, who had been delayed in their promotion

because of the mishandling of a test by the Department,

"whole." As to retroactive seniority, the Department

conceded "that such seniority should be granted to

petitioner, or any similarly eligible candidate who is actually

4 this case involved the same promotional examination 4s

presented here, but in a slightly different context. The petitioner

in McKernan was a firefighter who was unable to take the exam

because he was on line of duty leave at the time. He brought a

proceeding to compel a prompt makeup exam, which was granted

by the trial court. McKernan v. City of New York Civil Service

Commission, 127 Misc 2d 946 (S. Ct. New York Co. 1985). The

trial court set an outside date for holding such an exam, but

when the case was argued in the Appellate Division, the question

of the court’s power to do so became moot, as the exam had

already occurred. McKernan had successfully taken the exam and

been promoted, as is and has been the practice of the

Department. See discussion infra.

Aprenpix C 23a

[Decision of The Supreme Court State of New York]

promoted from the make up examination list." The only

question was whether such seniority should run from the

date of the exam, or the date on which the employee

would have been promoted had he taken the original exam.

The Department argued for the latter, the petitioners

conceded, and the Appellate Division so held.

As to retroactive back pay, the court held that it,

like retroactive seniority, should "equitably be granted” only

from the date the petitioner would have been appointed

had he taken the original examination. In language directly

applicable to the instant case, the court wrote:

While appellants contend that petitioner has no

legal right to any back pay, it appears that such

an award is the appropriate remedy to make

petitioner whole and rectify the consequences of

delay in administering the makeup examination.

The back pay does not constitute an award of

monetary damages, but is, rather, incidental to the

primary relief sought by petitioner, in that it

restores him to the position in which he would

have been had a proper makeup examination

been given so that he could timely have been

promoted, if eligible. (CPLR 7806; See, e.g.

Anderson v. County of Suffolk, 97 AD2d 448)

McKernan, supra at p. 352.

Here, as in Abrams and McKernan, the petitioners

have already been promoted from the revised list. Thus

they seek nothing which would in any way impinge upon

the discretionary authority of the Department, which has

already been exercised in their favor. In their reading and

reliance upon various cases cited by them, the respondents

confuse rights and remedies. The petitioners here do not

seek the right to be promoted, which the courts have found

is not a "right" given Civil Service Law §61. They have

been promoted, so that right, opportunity, or guarantee of

24a Appenpix C

[Decision of The Supreme Court State of New York]

fair consideration is no longer at issue.

The only remaining question is what remedy will

make them whole. The respondents, having remedied the

original error, that is the mis-scoring of the promotional

exam, and the petitioners having been promoted in

accordance with whatever discretionary authority the

Department might or could exercise,

the petitioners can

and should be made whole by being given retroactive

seniority to the date on which they would have been

promoted had the exam initially been correctly scored, and

back pay as well.

| Because the petitioners here have actually been

promoted, it is mot necessary to consider their other

arguments, but one in particular deserves note. Affidavits

submitted with their papers included one from John J.

O’Rourke, former Chief of the New York City Fire

Department, whose career spanned a thirty-three year

period from 1953 to 1986. Former Chief O’Rourke

attested, from personal knowledge, to the fact that from

1953 to date the Fire Commissioner has never invoked the

"one in three” rule on promotions to the rank of

Lieutenant, Captain, Battalion Chief and Deputy Chief. He

also stated his belief that, as a matter of practical reality,

petitioners here would certainly have been promoted in

strict numerical order had their examinations been originally

> See discussion infra.

6 Although the respondents somewhat inexplicably argue that this

calculation is impossible, it is precisely the calculation they

performed in McKernan, and thus it is clear that they know

precisely how to do it. The procedure is also set forth in

Abrams at Footnote 2, p. 491.

AppENDIx C 25a

[Decision of The Supreme Court State of New York]

correctly graded by the respondents on dates that were

easily ascertainable. Petitioners also submitted articles from

the Civil Service newspaper, the Chief/Leader, concerning

the McKernan case in which the Assistant Chief to the

Law Department, Appeals Division was quoted as saying:

. it has always been the practice and in fact

the law requires, that when an answer on an

exam was changed because of Acosta litigation we

were required to rewrite all the papers. It has

been the practice in these cases to grant

retroactive seniority to all the parties involved.

The respondents thereafter submitted the affidavit of

Madelyn Oliva, Assistant Commissioner for Personnel of the

Fire Department, which set forth several instances in which

persons on eligible lists had not automatically been

promoted or "selected." Respondents argued that Ms.

Oliva’s affidavit demonstrated that in fact the “one in three

rule” had been invoked in the past, and that the petiticners

here were not automatically assured promotion based on

their passing the exam.

In a sur-reply affidavit submitted by the petitioners,

the circumstances of each of the cases set forth in Ms.

Oliva’s affidavit were explained. None actually involved

strict invocation of the "one in three rule.” Rather, in all

the cases, because of the particular applicant’s physical or

other incapacity at the time of the promotional selection,

the applicant was "passed over" in accordance’ with

department procedures, and subsequently considered when

capable of taking the promotion. In each of those instances

the applicant was ultimately promoted.

This careful explanation by petitioners demonstrates

not only that the “one in three rule” has never been used

26a Appenpix C

[Decision of The Supreme Court State of New York]

to deny promotion, but reaffirms the Department's

commitment to automatic promotion, based on position on

the list or seniority, so long as the applicant is physically

and otherwise capable of accepting the position, as the

petitioners here clearly are.

Thus, had this case come to me prior to the actual

promotion of the petitioners (and intervenors, as discussed

infra), the same result would have occurred. Since

petitioners have convincingly demonstrated that the

discretion which cases like Schenectady v. State Division of

Human Rights, supra; Burger v. Walsh, supra, and Mena v.

D’Ambrose, supra, sought to protect was deliberately never

exercised as a matter of Fire Department policy, concerns

about Civil Service Law §61 need not prevent the relief

which they requested.

However, since whatever hypothetical possibility

might have existed at the time of my original order has

now been removed because of the actual promotions by the

Department, there can be no question that the petitioners

are entitled to the retroactive seniority and back pay which

they request, such seniority and back pay to be computed

for each petitioner (and intervenor) from the date on which

s/he would have been promoted off the original list had the

test been properly graded.

MOTION OF INTERVENORS

In Motions numbered 006 and 007 various

firefighters who took the same promotional exam as the

petitioners in Andriola seek leave to intervene pursuant to

CPLR § 1013, to amend the caption of the action to

AppEeNnDix C 27a

[Decision of The Supreme Court State of New York]

include their names, and for relief identical to that sought

by the Andriola petitioners. Generally, where a common

issue of law or fact is present a proposed party will be

granted leave to intervene where it will not unduly delay

the action or proceeding, Norstar Apts. Inc. v. Town of Clay,

112 AD2d 750 (4th Dept. 1985) and the proposed party’s

action or proceeding is not otherwise time-barred.

Millington v. Southeastem Elevator Co., 22 NY2d 498

(1968). I note that the parties have consented to the

intervention of Mr. Abbott (Mot. 007). Therefore, I grant

him leave to intervene on that basis.

As a preliminary issue, the respondents oppose the

proposed intervenors’ Motion (006) on the grounds that it

is time-barred. Respondents argue that the action

challenged in the underlying Andriola proceeding, issuance

of the answer key to Exam No. 0511, became final and

binding on August 4, 1982 or at the very least when the

proposed intervenors were promoted from the special list

and thus the four month statute of limitations set forth in

CPLR §217 has long since expired. Although it is true

that the intervenors may not challenge the answer key or

the special promotion list at this late date, this is not the

basis on which they are entitled to seek intervention.

All of the proposed intervenors, although not

petitioners in the original Andriola action, had their exams

regraded and were placed on the special eligible list for the

title of Lieutenant, F.D. as a result of their regrading. In

addition, like the Andriola petitioners, all of the proposed

intervenors were subsequently promoted to the rank of

lieutenant as a result of their regrading and their placement

on the special eligible list. The relief which they seek, like

28a Aprenbix C

[Decision of The Supreme Court State of New York)

the Andriola petitioners, would do no more than make

them "whole" because of the Department's error in grading

the original exam.

This is almost the precise situation which occurred

in Abrams, supra, where the Court of Appeals held that it

would be a denial of equal protection to permit such relief

for persons participating in the original litigation (who, in

that case, received some relief as a result of a stipulation)

but deny it to those whose exams were also incorrectly

graded but who were not petitioners. The court found, as a

matter of both State and Federal Equal Protection, that the

benefits granted to those participating in the litigation must

also be granted to others whose lack of benefits similarly

resulted from faulty grading of the promotional exam.

Abrams, supra, at 495.

Respondents argue, alternatively, that if the

proposed intervenors’ claim is based on the Abrams equal

protection theory, the claim is not yet ripe. Their argument

is based on the view that first the Andriola petitioners

would have to prevail on their motion to amend my 1988

order, and thereafter the proposed intervenors would have

to request the same relief from Respondents. Only in the

event that the proposed intervenors’ requests were to be

denied would their Abrams claim be ripe for review.

The proposed intervenors concede that their claim is

an Abrams claim which is contingent upon the claims of

Andriola petitioners and does not become cognizable unless

and until the Andriola petitioners prevail on their motion.

They argue persuasively, however, that it would be in the

interests of judicial economy and would cause no prejudice

to any party to dispose of all of these related claims

Appenpix C 29a

[Decision of The Supreme Court State of New York]

together in this Article 78 proceeding. Therefore I grant

the proposed intervenor’s motion to intervene orly to the

extent of permitting them to raise the Abrams Equal

Protection claim. Since I have held in favor of the Andriola

petitioners in this decision, the same result must apply here,

and accordingly Motions 006 and 007 are granted.

Therefore I hold that the intervenors are entitled to the

same relief the Androla petitioners have here been

awarded.

PROPOSED PETITIONER/RETIREES

Motion No. 005 presents a more complicated issue.

This motion was brought on behalf of four now retired

firefighters, Joseph Lunz, Joseph Maraglino, Raymond

Negrycz and Robert J. O’Hara. All four were original

petitioners in the Andriola action, but all retirees prior to

June 19, 1989, the date on which the revised promotional

list was promulgated. All four received scores, after the

regrading, which would have entitled them to be placed on

the list assuming they passed the oral examination scheduled

by the Department in the Spring of 1989 after the

regrading occurred.’

7 It appears that promotion depends not only on a passing grade

on the written examination, but also on passing a subsequent

oral examination. Since the Andriola petitioners and the

intervenors did not originally receive passing grades on the

written examination, they did not take the oral examination

which followed. Consequently, as a result of my 1988 decision,

after rescoring the exam, a new oral examination was scheduled.

Although it is not clear from these papers, it appears that

everyone who took that examination passed it. Certainly that is

true for all the Andriola petitioners, and the intervenors, all of

30a AppENDIx C

[Decision of The Supreme Court State of New York]

In the original affidavit in support of retroactive

seniority and back pay for the four retirees, their attorney

stated that only one, Maraglino was notified of the oral

examination. According to that affidavit, he took the oral

examination and passed it. However, the retiree movants

claimed that O'Hara, Negrycz and Lunz were not notified

of the examination, did not take it, and so did not pass,

thus making them ineligible for promotion.

In answering papers, the Department furnished

copies of letters sent to the three movants who claim not

to have been notified of the exam. Those letters clearly

notified them of the exam and of what was necessary in

order to take it. In a reply affidavit, the attorney for the

three concedes that they received the notification, and

indeed that they actually took the exams, but that the

Department refused to grade them and informed the three

"that they would not be considered for promotion because

they were already retired.”

These four retiree/movants thus stand in a different

position than the other Andriola petitioners and_ the

intervenors, and also stand in different positions among

themselves. None have actually already been promoted, as

is the case with the other Andriola petitioners and the

intervenors. Thus the first portion of my holding does not

apply. However, as to Maraglino, who took and passed the

oral examination, was found ‘to have passed, and was added

whom- were, aS previously noted, subsequently promoted to

Lieutenant. The attorney's affidavit submitted in support of

Motion 005 states that "on information and belief, all Firemen

[sic] who took the oral examination passed the oral examination.

This was true whether referring to the oral examination given in

the spring of 1989 or the oral examination that was given

following respondents’ mistaken grading in August 1982."

APPENDIX C 31a

[Decision of The Supreme Court State of New York]

to the list, the second ground for my holding, that is the

Department’s policy of automatic promotion and non-

application of the "one in three” rule requires that the

relief granted to the other petitioners be granted to him as

well. That is to say, Maraglino should be entitled to

retroactive seniority and back pay as of the date on which

he would have been promoted had the original exam been

correctly graded.8

With regard to retirees Lunz, Negrycz and O’Hara,

respondents have submitted no further information. Thus it

is not possible to determine whether, as they claim, they

took the oral exams which were not graded, whether they

passed the exams, or whether this information, like that

submitted in their first affidavit, is also incorrect.

Accordingly, based on the unrebutted statements that

the oral exams were taken, but not graded, the appropriate

remedy here appears to be an order requifing the

department to grade those exams and certify whether the

three retirees did or did not pass. If they are certified to

have passed, they are in the same position as Maraglino

and the same relief which he has been granted should

ae | recognize in making this determination that | have accepted

petitioners’ argument that, but for one instance, the "one in

three" rule has never been applied by the department to deny

promotion to someone otherwise capable of receiving the

promotion at that time. The Oliva affidavit suggest that there

may be other cases, although they are unnamed, unspecified, and

presumably less strong than those to which she specifically refers.

In the event that the papers submitted here do not accurately

reflect the situation in the Department, as attested to both by

Chief O’Rourke’s affidavit, and the various quotes from

department officials reported in the Chief/Leader stories,

respondents may move for reargument as to my decision on

Maraglino.

32a Appenpix C

[Decision of The Supreme Court State of New York]

apply. If the oral exams are graded and the three retirees

do not pass, the Department may so find, and refuse to

certify them, leaving the retirees with whatever rights they

may have to challenge that determination. Finally, if the

department cannot now grade those oral examinations, it

must promptly schedule a make-up examination so that

Lunz, Negrycz and O'Hara can be put in the position which

they would have been had the original exam been correctly

graded.

Settle order in accordance with my decision.

Dated: June 21, 1991

te

KRISTIN BOOTH GLEN

J.S.C.

33a

Appendix D- Order And Judgment of

Kristin Booth Glen, J.. Supreme Court

of The State of New York, Appellate

Division, First Department, Entered

October 31, 1991 [Pages 33a - 37a]

LAS20

Supreme Court of the State of New

York held in and for the County of

New York at LAS Part 26 of the

County Courthouse in the City of

New York on the 18th day of

September, 1991

PRESENT:

Hon. Kristin Booth Glen

Justice

LAWRENCE ANDRIOLA, JAMES A. BURKE,

THOMAS J. CAPANELLI, JOHN CIORCIARI,

LAWRENCE E. CONNORS, JOAQUIM P. DASILVA,

ALFRED J. PAUVEL, ANTHONY L. FRAVOLA,

JOSEPH J. KENNINGTON, ROBERT W. LINHART,

JOSEPH LUNZ, JOSEPH MARAGLINO, PATRICK

H. MC DERMOTT, JAMES R. MC ENROE, THOMAS

M. MC MAHON, PETER T. MORGAN, JOHN F.

MULVEY, RAYMOND NEGRYCZ, JAMES W. Index No.

O'BRIEN, ROBERT J. O'HARA, RUSSELL L. - 29966/82

OLSON, JOHN F. PETERSON, MICHAEL JOHN

PUZZIFERRI, THOMAS F. REGAN, RICHARD J.

SMITH and JOSEPH SOLAZZO,

Petitioners,

ORDER/

For a Judgment Pursuant to Article 78 of the JUDGMENT

Civil Practice Law & Rules,

-against-

JUAN U. ORTIZ, as City Personal Commissioner,

Department of Personnel, and as Chairman of the

Civil Service Commission of the City of New York,

and JOSEPH E. SPINNATO, as Fire Commissioner

of the City of New York,

Respondents,

34a AppeNDIx D

[Order And Judgment of Supreme Court State of New York]

-and-

WILLIAM BARRETT, JOSEPH BACCARI, JAMES

O'DONNELL, on behalf of themselves and other

successful candidates on Promotion List 5608

(Lieutenant, NYC Fire Department) as members

of Lieutenant Eligible Association 5608,

Intervenors-Respondents.

Petitioners, LAWRENCE ANDRIOLA,

THOMAS J. CAPANELLI, LAWRENCE E. CONNORS,

JOAQUIM P. DA SILVA, ANTHONY L. FRAVOLA,

JOSEPH J. KENNINGTON, PATRICK H. MC

DERMOTT, JAMES R. MC ENROE, PETER R.

MORGAN, JOHN F. MULVEY, RUSSELL L. OLSON,

JOHN F. PETERSON, MICHAEL JOHN PUZZIFERRI,

THOMAS R. REGAN, and RICHARD J. SMITH

(hereinafter "ANDRIOLA Petitioners"), by their former

attorney, STEPHEN M. BEHAR, having duly moved this

Court by Notice of Motion dated October 12, 1989, for an

Order modifying the prior Order and Judgment of this

Court and granting each of the movants the back pay due

and owing to them from the date that they should have

been promoted through the dated of their actual promotion

and granting each of the movants full seniority benefits

nunc pro tunc to the date that they should have been

promoted (hereinafter "“ANDRIOLA Petitioner’s Motion to

Modify”). The undersigned counsel for petitioners was

substituted for Attorney Behar by consent of the parties,

and

Proposed _ Petitioners-Intervenors, © MICHAEL

ANTINORO, PETER BIANCHINI, ROBERT BRADLEY,

ApPEeNnpDIx D 35a

[Order And Judgment of Supreme Court State of New York]

ALLEN DEL GANDIO, EDWARD ELLISON, HERBERT

FISCHER, WILLIAM GRONEMAN, JOHN GULOTTA,

ADOLF HUTTER, JOHN KLEEHAAS, JAMES KLESS,

DOUGLAS KRUGER, CORNELIUS LEHANE,

CHARLES McCARTHY, DONALD McCULLOUGH,

DENIS NEIGAN, LEROY O’NEIL, ERIC REHBEIN,

JOHN REILLY, DENNIS SCANLON, FRANCIS

SHANAGAN, JOHN STACK, PATRICK WELSH, SAM

WHITE and CHARLES’ WILLIAMS (hereinafter

"ANTINORO Petitioners"), by their attorneys, COLLERAN,

O'HARA & MILLS having duly moved this court by Notice

of Motion for an Order pursuant to CPLR §1013

permitting the intervention of the ANTINORO Petitioners,

and directing the amendment- of the caption in_ this

proceeding accordingly (hereinafter "ANTINORO

Petitioner’s Motion to Intervene") and

Proposed Petitioner-Intervenor, RICHARD J.

ABBOTT, JR. (hereinafter "ABBOTT"), by his attorneys,

COLLERAN, O'HARA & MILLS, having duly moved this

Court by Notice of Motion for an Order pursuant to CPLR

$1013 permitting ABBOTT’s intervention as a Petitioner-

Intervenor, and directing the amendment of the caption in

this proceeding accordingly (hereinafter "ABBOTT’s Motion

to Intervene"), and said Motions having regularly come on

to be heard;

NOW upon reading and filing the Notice of

Motion dated October 12, 1989, the affirmation of Stephen

M. Behar, dated October 12, 1989, the affidavit of John J.

O'Rourke, sworn to February 23, 1990, the Reply Affidavit

of John F. Milis, sworn to March 1, 1990, the Affidavit of

John J. O’Rourke sworn to March 23, 1990, the Sur-Reply

36a Aprenpix D

{Order And Judgment of Supreme Court State of New York]

Affidavit of John F. Mills, sworn to March 23, 1990, in

support of ANDRIOLA’s Motion to Modify, and the

Affirmation of David L. Lock, dated December 22, 1989

and the affidavit of Madelyn Oliva, sworn to March 15,

1990, in opposition to ANDRIOLA’s Motion to Modify,

and

Upon reading and filing the Notice of Motion,

the affidavit of John F. Mills, sworn to February 15, 1990

and the Reply Affidavit of John F. Mills, sworn to April

20, 1990, in support of ANTINORO’s Motion to Intervene,

and the affirmation of David L. Lock, dated April 16, 1990,

in opposition to ANTINORO’s Motion to Intervene, and

Upon reading and filing the Notice of Motion,

the affidavit of John F. Mills, sworn to March 9, 1990, the

Reply Affidavit of John F. Mills, sworn to April 20, 1990,

- in support of ABBOTT’s Motion to Intevene, and the

Affirmation of David L. Lock, dated April 18, 1990, in

opposition to ABBOTT’s Motion to Intervene, and after

due deliberation having been held thereon, and upon the

decision of this Court dated June 21, 1991;

NOW, upon motion of Colleran, O'Hara & Mills,

attorneys for the ANDRIOLA petitioners, the ANTINORO

petitioners and ABBOTT, it is hereby

ORDERED, that the application of the

ANTINORO petitioners to intervene is granted and that

the caption of this case be amended accordingly, and it is

further

ORDERED that petitioner, ABBOTT's

application to intervene is granted and that the caption of

this case be amended accordingly; and it is further

ORDERED AND ADJUDGED, that

Appenpix D 37a

[Order And Judgment of Supreme Court State of New York]

ANDRIOLA’s Motion to Modify is granted in its entirety

and the ANDRIOLA petitioners, the ANTINORO

petitioners, and ABBOTT are awarded retroactive back pay

from the date that they should have been promoted

through the date of their actual promotion, and full

seniority and pay longevity benefits munc’ pro tunc to the

date that they would have been promoted had the exam

initially been correctly scored.

38a

Appendix E - Decision of Kristin Booth

Glen, J. Supreme Court of The State of

New York, Appellate Division, First Depart-

ment, Dated May 4, 1988 [Pages 38a - 40a)

SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK

COUNTY OF NEW YORK: IAS PART 20

LAWRENCE ANDRIOLA, JAMES A BURKE,

THOMAS J. CAMPANELLI, JOHN CIORCIARI,

LAWRENCE E. CONNORS, JOAQUIM P. DASILVA,

ALFRED J. FAUVELL, ANTHONY L. FRAVOLA,

JOSEPH J. KENNINGTON, ROBERT W. LINHART,

JOSEPH LUNZ, JOSEPH MARAGLINO, PATRICK

H. MC DERMOTT, JAMES R. MC ENROE, THOMAS

M. MC MAHON, PETER T. MORGAN, JOHN F.

MULVEY, RAYMOND NEGRYCZ, JAMES W. Index No.

O'BRIEN, ROBERT J. O'HARA, RUSSELL L. 29966/82

OLSON, JOHN F. PETERSON, MICHAEL JOHN

PUZZIEFERRI, THOMAS F. REGAN, RICHARD J.

SMITH and JOSEPH SOLAZZO,

Petitioners,

For a Judgment Pursuant to Article 78 of the

Civil Practice Law & Rules,

-against-

JUAN U. ORTIZ, as City Personnel Commissioner

Department of Personnel, and as Chairman of the

Civil Service Commission of the City of new York,

and JOSEPH E. SPINNATO, as Fire Commissioner

of the City of New York,

Respondents,

KRISTIN BOOTH GLEN, J.:

This Article 78 proceeding was brought to

challenge the New York City Fire Department and New

York City Department of Personnel in their grading of 12

APPENDIX E 39a

[Decision of Supreme Court State of New York]

questions on the Promotion Examination for the position of

Fire Department Lieutenant given on October 31, 1981. A

hearing before Special Referee Diamond was held, pursuant

to an order of reference, dated October 14, 1986. Referee

Diamond has issued an extensive and detailed 33 page

report which found that petitioner’s answers to questions

51, 75 and 80 were as good as the answers credited by

respondents and that their answers to questions 3, 13, 14,

21, 30, 57, 97 and 99 were not and that respondent’s had

withdrawn question 71.

Petitioners move to confirm in part the findings

as to questions 51, 75, 80 and 71 and to disaffirm the other

findings. Respondents cross-move to confirm the report in

its entirety. Intervenor-respondents, successful candidates on

a subsequent test for Fire Department Lieutenant, seek to

have the life of their promotional list extended for a period

equivalent to any extension of the eligible list arising out of

the October 31, 1981 examination.

Upon review of the transcript of the proceedings

and exhibits submitted in evidence before the referee the

court finds that the report of the referee is amply

supported by the record and that the recommendations of

the referee concerning the regrading of the examination be

adopted.

Accordingly, the respondent’s cross-motion to

confirm the report in its entirety in granted and the motion

by petitioners to modify is denied. Respondents are

directed to regrade all examinations taken on October 31,

1981 to reflect the revised grading and to compile a special

eligible list within 30 days of service of the judgment to be

settled hereon. Further, where it is demonstrated that

40a APPENDIX E

[Decision of Supreme Court State of New York)

errors have rendered and eligible list in derogation of the

merit and fitness standards of the New York Constitution

(Art. V, §6) and that candidates have been aggrieved by the

errors, the statutory durational period for appointment from

the list for the aggrieved petitioners does not begin to run

until the list is corrected (Matter of Mena v. D’Ambrose, 44

N.Y.2d 428, 406 N.Y.S.2d 22, (1978); Cataldo v. Ortiz, New

York County Sup. Ct., Index No. 15819/83, Stecher, J., aff'd

133 AD.2d 1022, 519 N.Y.S.2d 913 [ist Dep't 1987], app.

den. 70 N.Y.2d 616, __N.Y.S.2d___ [1988]. Petitioners are

thus entitled to the continuation of the special eligible list

for a period of time consistent with Civil Service Law §56

commencing at the time when the list is corrected (Id.).

Additionally, the eligible list for the intervenor-respondents

who took and passed exam 5608 shall also be extended to

compensate them for the number of displacements resulting

from petitioners being appointed from the special eligible

list during the life of the eligible list promulgated from

exam 5608.

Settle judgment in accordance with the foregoing.

ENTER: May 4, 1988

s/

KRISTIN BOOTH GLENN

J.S.C.

Appendix F - Order And Judgment of Kristin

Booth Glen, J.. Supreme Court of The State

of New York, Appellate Division, First Depart-

ment, Entered August 5, 1988 [Pages 41a - 44a]

At an IAS Part 20 of the Supreme

Court of the State of New York,

County of New York, held at the

Courthouse, 60 Centre Street, New

York, on the 11th day of July 1988.

LAWRENCE ANDRIOLA, JAMES A. BURKE,

THOMAS J. CAMPANELLI, JOHN CIORCIARI,

LAWRENCE E. CONNORS, JOAQUIM P. DASILVA,

ALFRED J. FAUVELL, ANTHONY L. FRAVOLA,

JOSEPH J. KENNINGTON, ROBERT W. LINHART,

JOSEPH LUNZ, JOSEPH MARAGLINO, PATRICK

H. MC DERMOTT, JAMES R. MC ENROE, THOMAS

M. MC MAHON, PETER T. MORGAN, JOHN F.

MULVEY, RAYMOND NEGRYCZ, JAMES W. Index No.

O'BRIEN, ROBERT J. O'HARA, RUSSELL L._ 29966/82

OLSON, JOHN F. PETERSON, MICHAEL JOHN

PUZZIFERRI, THOMAS F. REGAN, RICHARD J.

SMITH and JOSEPH SOLAZZO, Petiti ;

-against- ORDERED and

JUDGMENT

JUAN U. ORTIZ, as City Personnel Commissioner,

Department of Personnel, and as Chairman of the

Civil Service Commission of the City of New York,

and JOSEPH E. SPINNATO, as Fire Commissioner

of the City of New York,

Petitioners are twenty six (26) New York City Firemen.

By Petition dated November 19, 1982, Petitioners

challenged decisions, made by the New York City Fire

Department and the New York City Department of personnel 3

in the grading of twelve (12) questions on the promotional

42a APPENDIX F

[Order And Judgment of Supreme Court State of New York]

examination for the position of Fire Department Lieutenant

given October 31, 1981.

The Petitioners contended that Respondents erred in

not designating certain answer choices as correct answers to

these twelve (12) questions, and further erred in failing to

delete some examination questions which had no correct

answer.

Respondents written answer disputed the petition on

every issue. By an order of reference dated October 14,

1986 the issues were referred to Special Referee Donald

Diamond. On the 29th day of July, 1987, Referee Diamond

made and filed his report.

Thereafter, by notice of motion dated November 20,

1987 and the annexed affirmation of their attorney, Ronald

Podolsky, intervenor-respondents moved to intervene in this

matter. On January 5, 1988 this Court granted intervenor-

respondents’ motion to intervene per the stipulation dated

December 31, 1987 between the intervenor-respondents and

Petitioners.

Petitioners then moved to confirm the Referee’s

findings as to questions 51, 75, 80 and 71 of the

promotional examination and to disaffirm the Referee’s

other findings. Respondents cross-moved to confirm the -

Referee’s report in its entirety. The intervenor-respondents

sought to have the life of their promotional list extended

for a period equivalent to any extension of the eligible list

arising from the October 31, 1981 examination.

Upon reading and filing Petitioners’ notice of motion

to confirm in part, and reject in part, the Referee’s report,

dated September 25, 1987 and the affidavit of Petitioner's

attorney, Stephen M. Behar, Esq. Sworn to Sept. 30, 1987

eT

APPENDIX F 43a

[Order And Judgment of Supreme Court State of New York]

in support of Petitioners’ motion with proof of due service

thereof upon the attorney for Respondents; and upon

reading and filing the Respondents’ Notice of Cross Motion

dated October 30, 1987 to confirm the recommendation of

the Referree’s report and the annexed affirmation of Grace

Goodman, Assistant Corporation Counsel dated Oct. 15,

1987, in support of Respondents’ cross motion, and due

deliberation having been had thereon;

On May 4, 1988 this Court rendered its written

decision on the aforementioned motions.

NOW, on motion of Stephen M. Behar, Esq.,

attorney for the Petitioners, and in accordance with this

Court’s decision of May 4, 1988 it is ORDERED that the

cross motion is granted and the report is confirmed, and it

is

ADJUDGED: That Petitioners have sustained the

burden of proof in establishing that answer choices (B) and

(D) are at least as good as the answer choice designated as

the only correct answer to Question No. 51; and it is

further

ADJUDGED: That Petitioners have sustained the

burden of proof in establishing that answer (B) is at least

as good as the answer choice designated as the only correct

answer to Question No. 75; and it is further

ADJUDGED: That Petitioners have sustained the

burden of proof in establishing that answer (A) is at least

as good as the answer choice designated as the only correct

answer to Question No. 80; and it is further

ADJUDGED: Question No. 71 was withdrawn from

the examination, on consent of Respondents; and it is

further

44a APPENDIX F

[Order And Judgment of Supreme Court State of New York]

ADJUDGED: That Petitioners have failed to

establish that their proposed answers were as good as the

credited answers to Questions No. 3, 13, 14, 21, 30, 57, 87

and 99; and it is further

ORDERED AND ADJUDGED: That Respondents

are directed to regrade all examinations taken on October

31, 1981, to reflect the revised grading in accordance with

the findings of this Court; and it is further

ORDERED AND ADJUDGED: That Respondents

compile a special eligible list within thirty (30) days of

service of the judgment; and it is further

ORDERED AND ADJUDGED: That the statutory

durational period for appointment from the special eligible

list for the aggrieved Petitioners does not begin to run until

the list is corrected, and Petitioners are entitled to the

continuation of the special eligible list for a period of time

consistent with Civil Service Law §56 commencing at the

time when the list is corrected; and it is further

ORDERED AND ADJUDGED: That the eligible

list for the intervenor Respondents who took and passed

exam 5608 shall also be extended to compensate them for

the number of displacements resulting from Petitioners

being appointed from the special eligible list during the life

of the eligible list promulgated for exam 5608.

ENTER:

s/

J.S.C.

s/

Clerk

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.