Opposition Brief — Kagan v. El San Hotel & Casino, 114 S. Ct. 1372 (1994) (No. 93-1274)

Supreme Court brief1994

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Buprome Gout, U.S,

; FILER D

MAL 34

Le oF a a

In the a

Supreme Court of the United States

Ocroser TERM, 1993

MARSHALL J. KAGAN,

PETITIONER,

v.

EL SAN JUAN HOTEL CORP.,

HANS LOPEZ STUBBE AND

RODRIGO OTERO BIGLES,

RESPONDENTS.

ON A PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION FOR RESPONDENTS

EL SAN JUAN HOTEL CORP. and

HANS LOPEZ STUBBE

DANIEL R. DomINGUEz*

Marie Exsit Lopez ADAMES

Domincuez & Tort!

PO Box 191732

San Juan, PR 00919-1732

Tel: (809) 753-7910

“Attorney of Record

Blanchard Press, Inc., Boston, Mass — Law Printers (617) 426-6690

ee gael M '

Noe bitte Rinse

I. QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW —

MISSTATEMENTS CONTAINED THEREIN

In compliance with this Honorable Court’s Rule #15 the

appearing party addresses misstatements in the Questions

Presented For Review by Mr. Marshall J. Kagan, petitioner

herein, acting pro se. These statements have a repercussion

on the question of the issues properly presented before the

court.

Petitioner states that in this case an employee of a company

operating under bankruptcy law, himself, discovers that the

trustees and their attornies [sic] are corrupt criminals, stealing

from the estate, and protecting each other. Mr. Kagan further

states that he had them removed from office, charged, con-

victed, and in one case imprisoned for their wrongdoing and

that in retaliation they fired him and blackballed him,

preventing him from working for several years.

The appearing party specifically states that there has never

been any criminal actions instituted against the successor

trustee Hans Lopez Stubbe nor against his former attorney

Rodrigo Otero Bigles who are the parties in this cause of

action. At no time has there been an ailegation, evidence or

finding of fact relating to any criminal activity by these two

co-defendants; therefore Mr. Kagan’s statement that Hans

Lopez Stubbe and Rodrigo Otero Bigles have been charged

and convicted for criminal acts constitutes a gross misstate-

ment of fact.

Also Petitioner wrongfully expresses that he had them,

referring to, once again, the successor trustee (Hans Lopez

Stubbe) and Rodrigo Otero Bigles (former trustee’s attorney),

removed from office. The appearing party specifically indi-

cates that said statement constitutes a misstatement of fact

since Hans Lopez Stubbe is still the trustee of the bankrupt

estate, he was never removed or convicted or even charged

with any criminal acts, and neither was his attorney, Rodrigo

Otero Bigles. However, the former trustee, Hector Rodriguez

Estrada, who is not a party in this appeal, the original trustee,

EE EEE

was convicted and removed from office and is now serving

an eighteen (18) year sentence. Petitioner obtained also a

default judgment in the instant case against said original

trustee.

Furthermore, petitioner Kagan states that in retaliation

they, referring also to former trustee, successor trustee and his

former attorney, fired him preventing him from working for

several years. The appearing party specifically indicates that

this is a misstatement of fact referring to Hans Lopez Stubbe

and to his former attorney Rodrigo Otero Bigles since Mr.

Kagan was dismissed from his position before Mr. Hans Lopez

Stubbe was appointed trustee of the estate and before Mr.

Bigles was the lawyer for the estate. Thus, Mr. Hans Lopez

Stubbe and Mr. Bigles could not possibly have dismissed Peti-

tioner from employment.

The appearing party very respectfully prays this Court to

refer to the factual background of this case as found by the

Bankruptcy Court, the District Court, and as later summa-

rized by the Circuit Court. (See Petitioner's Appendix and

Supplemental Addendum wherein the District Court and Cir-

cuit Court judgments are included and Respondents’

Appendix pp. 15-26 for the Bankruptcy Court Opinion and

Order). We further emphasize that the bankruptcy trial judge

specifically made a finding exonerating the successor trustee,

Mr. Hans Lopez Stubbe of ever participating in any “cover

up’ activities. (Resp. Appendix p. 24).

A. Questions that would properly be before the court.

Although the appearing party emphatically sustains that

certiorari in the instant case should not be granted, we state

the questions that would properly be before this Honorable

Court.

1. If petitioner's claim for damages against the successor

trustee Hans Lopez Stubbe and the lawyer for the estate, in

1eir personal capacity, is not barred since under Puerto Rican

employment law, law applicable to this employment matter,

the exclusive remedy for a claim as made by appellant is the

one provided by State Law Act No. 80 of May 30 of 1976,

29 LPRA §185a-1851, as found by the Bankruptcy Judge, the

District Judge and the Circuit Court.

2. If a successor bankruptcy trustee and his attorney had

any legal duty to provide references regarding Petitioner, ex-

employee of the bankruptcy estate, notwithstanding that the

successor trustee and the lawyer did not have any personal

knowledge of Petitioner’s work habits and notwithstanding

that there is no state law requiring the provision of references.

3. If a successor trustee and his attorney’s fiduciary

duties to the bankrupt estate extend to an ex-employee seeking

damages for acts of a former trustee.

4. If this Court should formulate a federal common law

remedy to redress plaintiff where Congress has not acted.

ee — EE aa iceland ti imetinii

aaa

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

I. QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

MISSTATEMENTS CONTAINED THEREIN

A. Questions that would properly be before the

court ii

Il. STATEMENT OF THE CASE ]

A. Re-statement of Facts ]

B. Course of the Proceedings 3

II]. DECISIONS BELOW 6

A. Disposition in District Court 6

B. Disposition in Circuit Court 7

IV. ARGUMENT )

V. REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT 10

A. Factual Misstatements 10

B. The Alleged conflict of circuits 1]

C. Bankruptcy is Federal Interest as to the Adminis-

tration of the Estate 14

CONCLUSION 15

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASE Law

United States Page

Alvardo Morales v. Digital, 843 F.2d 613 (st Cir. 1988) 1]

Amato v. Western Union Intern, Inc., 773 F.2d 1402

(2nd Cir. 1985) 12, 14

Ana Bonelli de Pujol y. Shearson American Express,

90 D.C.O. 127 (D.C.P.R. 1990) 12

Bahamundi v. American Airlines, Inc., 7070 F Supp.

79 (D.C.P.R. 1989) 1]

Banco Nacional de Cuba vy. Sabbatino. 84 S.Ct. 923

(1964) 13

Barany v. Buller, 670 F.2d 726 (7th Cir. 1982) 13

Board of Regents v. Roth, 408 U.S. 564 (1972) 12, 14

Garcia v. American Airlines, Inc., 673 F. Supp. 63

(D.C.P.R. 1987) 1]

Gonyea v. Motor Parts Fed. Credit Union. 7 IER Cases

539 (Mich. Court of Appeals 1991) 10

In re Gibbons, 52 B.R. 861, 863 12, 14

In re Goerg, 844 F.2d 1562 cert. den 109 S.Ct. 850

(llth Cir. 1988) 14

In re Grieves, 81 BR 912 (1987) 12, 14

In re Martin, 817 F.2d 175 (1st Cir. 1987) 6

In re TCI Ltd., 769 F.2d 441 (7th Cir. 1985) 14

Johnson vy. First Nat. Bank of Montevideo, 719 F.2d

270 cert. den. 465 U.S. 1012, 1045 S.Ct. 1015. 79

L.Ed. 2d 245 (1983) . | 12, 14

Lugo v. Matthew Bender & Co., 579 F. Supp. 638

(trem. $1964)... ee Fe 1]

Matter of Roach, 824 F.2d 1370 (3rd Cir. 1987) 14

Nasuti v. Scondell, 792 F.2d 264 (lst Cir. 1986) 12, 14

Ridenour v. Andrews Federal Credit Union, 897 F.2d

PE 5556s hy ae ene ae Magers 13

Rodriguez v. Eastern Airlines, 816 F.2d 24 (1st Cir.

Ye a-ak 5 Ee oe are ee eae 1]

vii

Page

Valle v. J.C. Penney, Inc., 704 F. Supp. 329 (D.C.P.R.

1988) 1]

Vargas v. Royal Bank of Canada, 604 F. Supp. 1036

(D.P.R. 1985) 11, 12

Warren Brothers Company v. Cardi Corporation, 47]

F.2d 1304, 1307 (Ist Cir. 1973) 12, 14

Weatherly v. International Paper, 648 F. Supp. 872

(D.C.P.R. 1986) 11, 12

White v. General Motors, 908 F.2d 669 (10th Cir

1990) 7)

Puerto Rico

Diaz v. Secretario de Hacienda, 14 T.P.R. 1115 (1983) 10

Garcia Pagan v. Shiley Caribbean, 88 JTS 101 (1988) 11

Guardiola v. Perez Moran, 14 T.P.R. 613 (1988) 10

Industria Lechera v. Secretario de Hacienda, 95 PRR

819 (1968) 10

Ocasio v. Diaz, 88 P.R.R. 658 (1963) 10

Porto v. Bentley, 92 JTS 175 (1992) 9, I]

Rivera v. Security National Life Ins. Co., 6 TPR 727

(1977) 1]

Rodriguez v. Comision Industrial, 91 D.P.R. 434 (1969) — 10

Santiago v. Kodak, 92 JTS 11 )

Puerto Rico Statutes

Act No. 65 of July 3, 1986, 29 LPRA §185(b) 10, 11

Act No. 80 of May 30, 1976, 29 LPRA §185a-1851 3, 4,

6, 7, 9, Il

Civil Code of Puerto Rico, Article 3, 31 LPRA §3 10

Vili

Miscellaneous

60 ALR 3rd 1080

Bankruptcy Code §327

Bankruptcy Code §107, 704 and 1106(a)

California Labor Code §1055

Defamation In The Workplace: The Impact of In-

creasing Employer Liability, 72 Marg. L. Rev. 264

(1989)

Duffy, Defamation and Employer Prit ilege, 9 Employee

; ploy pio}

REL. L.J. 444 (1983)

Indiana Stat. §22-6-3-]

Lewis, Ottley & Mersol, Defamation and the Workplace:

A Survey of the Law and Proposals for Reform, 54

MO. L. Rev. 797 (1989)

Martin & Bartol, Potential Libel and Slander Issues

Involving Discharged Employees, 13 Employee REL

L.J. 43 (1987)

Missouri Rev. Stat. §290.140

10

In the

Supreme Court of the United States

No. 93-1274

OcToBer TERM, 1993

MARSHALL J. KAGAN,

PETITIONER,

v.

EL SAN JUAN HOTEL CORP..,

HANS LOPEZ STUBBE AND

RODRIGO OTERO BIGLES,

RESPONDENTS.

ON A PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION FOR RESPONDENTS

EL SAN JUAN HOTEL CORP. and

HANS LOPEZ STUBBE

Il. STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Re-Statement of Facts

As described below, the factual situation in the case at bar

is different than indicated by petitioner. Petitioner herein,

Marshall J. Kagan, was the comptroller of the bankrupt estate

of El San Juan Hotel Corporation at the time Hector

Rodriguez Estrada was appointed as Trustee of said estate.

Kagan, having worked for the bankrupt estate for less than

a year was dismissed by Rodriguez Estrada on December 30,

2

1982 for alleged unsatisfactory performance. Several months

after he was terminated, Mr. Kagan testified before the House

of Representatives of Puerto Rico.! On March 24, 1983 the

Bankruptcy proceedings were converted to Chapter VII; the

Hotel thus was permanently closed. Mr. Rodriguez Estrada

was finally removed from his office on September 1983. Ten

months after petitioner's termination, on October 31, 1983

Mr. Hans Lopez Stubbe was appointed Successor Trustee.

Shortly thereafter Kagan urged Lopez and Otero, Successor

Trustee's attorney, to file suit against Rodriguez. A request

they refused based on the information available to them at

that time. Otero Bigles’ opinion was that at the time there

was insufficient evidence to sustain an action on their part

against Rodriguez Estrada. It was not that they were exoner-

ating Rodriguez Estrada from any misconduct.

Contrary to petitioner's statements, Rodrigo Otero Bigles

resigned as counsel at Mr. Lopez’s request and not because

they were both summoned to court and ordered to do so.

(Resp. Appendix at p. 89-90). All lower courts have correctly

and accurately determined that Otero had no conflict of

interest in violation of section 327 of the Bankruptcy Code on

which responsibility could be imposed in favor of Kagan.

Kagan requested from Hans Lopez reinstatement, sever-

‘ance pay and damages and further demanded that Lopez rec-

tify his termination letter and instead prepare letters of recom-

mendation, notwithstanding that the successor trustee was not

his employer, all this pursuant to an alleged agreement which

Kagan had reached with the original trustee Rodriguez

Estrada. Kagan claimed that he was dismissed in retaliation

for his attempts tc have the trusteeship of Rodriguez Estrada

investigated and that he should be compensated by the estate

' Petitioner implies that he was terminated after testimony at the House

of Representatives. The fact is that he testified after termination. Mr. Kagan

was terminated on December 29, 1982 (Resp. Appendix p.16) and the tes-

timony in the State Legislature was provided in February 1983 (Resp.

Appendix pp. 7-8 deposition of Mr. Kagan).

3

for the alleged harm he suffered because of the dismissal

ordered by the original trustee, Rodriguez Estrada.

Mr. Lopez, as Successor Trustee, agreed to settle the sever-

ance pay ordered by law but refused to recommend the estate

to proceed to make any payment beyond what is established

by the Puerto Rican severance statute, 29 LPRA 180 et. sec.

Furthermore, the reinstatement remedy could not proceed

due to the fact that the hotel had filed Chapter VII

proceedings prior to the appointment of Mr. Lopez as trustee.

B. Course of the Proceedings

&

This case was initially filed in the Bankruptcy Court as an

adversary proceeding on March 10, 1983. The original defen-

dants were the estate of the San Juan Hotel Corporation and

former Trustee Hector Rodriguez Estrada. The allegations

made therein were of wrongful dismissal and slander.

Various causes of action filed against Rodriguez Estrada in

his personal capacity were dismissed by the Bankruptcy Court

nine months after the filing of the complaint in an order which

stated that the actions were directed at Rodriguez Estrada in

his official capacity. (See Resp. Appendix p. 1). The Judge

also directed plaintiff to file an amended complaint as to his

cause of action for slander. The Complaint was also amended

to include defendants Hans Lopez Stubbe and Rodrigo Otero

Bigles as well as their wives and conjugal partnerships in their

personal capacities. Rodriguez Estrada moved the Court to

dismiss the action against him in his personal capacity. The

issue was considered by the District Court which finally ren-

dered a Memorandum Opinion and Judgment on August 27,

1986 dismissing the libel and slander complaints against Lopez

Stubbe and Rodriguez Estrada, signed by Hon. Judge Jose A.

Fuste. Said Judgment was not appealed. (See Resp. Appendix

p. 4).

In the Memorandum Opinion and Judgment the District

Court held that the cause of action for slander was dismissed

for lack of jurisdiction and that the remaining proceedings

against former trustee Rodriguez Estrada and successor trustee

Lopez in their official capacities as well as against the Hotel

San Juan-€orporation were to be remanded to the Bankruptcy

Court. That judgment was never appealed and is hence final.

The trial of the case commenced on May 24, 1988. The

proceedings were halted because of petitioner's lack of

counsel.?

Much later the trial was started once again, Petitioner con-

tinuing pro se, before Bankruptcy Judge Sara De Jesus on Sep-

tember 11, 1990. At the beginning of the trial, the Court

issued a ruling dated September 11, 1990 excluding the defen-

dants therein, trustee Hans Lopez Stubbe and his attorney

Otero Bigles, their wives and conjugal partnerships from any

personal liability, since the court was precluded from holding

contrary to Hon. Judge Fuste’s order dated August 27, 1986

(See Resp. Appendix pp. 4-6). On September 17, 1990, a par-

tial final judgment was entered, wherein the Court granted

severance payment to Petitioner pursuant to Local State Law,

Act 80 of 1976, 29 LPRA 185a et sec., and dismissed the claim

for libel and slander based principally on the reasons set forth

by Hon. Judge Jose A. Fuste in his Memorandum Opinion and

Judgment of August 27, 1986. Judge De Jesus further denied

Kagan’s request for punitive damages for the reasons stated

by Hon. Judge Beckerleg in his order of November 16, 1984,

see Appendix pp. 1-3 and pp. 11-12. The trial was continued

until its conclusion on September 12, 1990. No appeal was

made from the partial final judgment entered by Hon. Judge

De Jesus dated September 17, 1990.

On March 22, 1992 the Bankruptcy Court issued its opinion

and order dismissing the causes of action against Hans Lopez

Stubbe and Rodrigo Otero Bigles. Mr. Kagan has alleged in

? During the Hearing on May 25, 1988, the Court concluded that the

case could not continue with Kagan representing himself pro se because the

Court could find itself compromising its impartiality.

Petitioner herein Kagan had, at that time, already terminated attorney-

client relationships with at least three legal representatives.

ur

his petition that there are still two motions (Motion to Dis-

gorge Legal Fees and Motion to Remove Trustee) pending

resolution by Hon. Judge De Jesus. However, those motions

were addressed by the Judgment of the Bankruptcy Court

dated March 22, 1992 and confirmed by Hon. Judge Fuste’s

opinion dated December 29, 1992; hence both motions are

now moot. This constitutes a further misstatement of

procedural matters.

In its Opinion the Bankruptcy Court made the following

findings:

1. Successor Trustee Hans Lopez Stubbe had no obliga-

tion to rectify the letter of dismissal which was sent to Appel-

lant by former trustee Rodriguez Estrada nor was he obligated

to provide appellant with any letters of recommendation or

references.

2. There was no record of the purported agreement

wherein Kagan’s letter of termination was to be expunged and

Petitioner was to be provided with letters of recommendation.

3. Lopez Stubbe could not provide references for Kagan

since he did not have personal knowledge of his performance

and there was no legal duty to provide such references. See

Appendix at pp. 24-25.

4. The Court found no evidence on which to sustain the

allegations of a “cover-up” by Trustee Lopez Stubbe and

Otero Bigles of the former Trustee Rodriguez Estrada’s illegal

actions. Appendix at pp. 24, 25.

5. There was no jurisdiction of the Bankruptcy Court on

which it could “entertain questions concerning an attorney’s

violation of the rules of professional conduct” .*

‘Mr. Kagan has claimed that attorney Rodrigo Otero Bigles did not

comply with said rules for he was allegedly performing legal services for

an estate handled by trustee Lopez in the instant case and at the same time

that he served as attorney for an estate handled by trustee Rodriguez Estrada

in a different Bankruptcy case, therefore, having an alleged conflict of

interest.

6

6. Plaintiff's exclusive remedy for alleged consequential

damages due to termination was the severance payment under

local State law Act No. 80 of 1976, 29 LPRA 185a et seq

The Court then proceeded to dismiss the remaining causes

of action against all codefendants except Mr. Hector

Rodriguez Estrada in his professional capacity as former

trustee.

Mr. Kayan filed an appeal from the Bankruptcy Court's dis

position in the District Court. The District Court entered its

Judgment and Opinion and Order on December 29, 1992,

confirming the Bankruptcy Court's Opinion. An appeal to the

Circuit Court followed, which then confirmed the District

Court opinion. The present Petition for Certiorari before the

Supreme Court followed, which is now the object of this oppo

sition.

HI. DECISIONS BELOW

A. Disposition in District Court

In the Opinion of the District Court, the Judge dismissed

Petitioner's cause of action under section 327 of the

Bankruptcy Code, that counsel Otero Bigles falsely claimed

to be a disinterested party, for lack of standing.* He expressed

that the injury could only be to the estate and petitioner herein

is claiming injury to himself as an employee and not as a

creditor. -

The Court further expressed that there was lack of causal

relationship relating to the alleged claim of conflict of interest

against Otero Bigles and petitioner's alleged damages: “Our

‘ Hon. Judge Fuste disagreed with the Bankruptcy Court that the Court

lacked jurisdiction over the question of whether Otero-Bigles violated the

requirement that counsel be a “disinterested party” for in In Re Martin,

817 F.2d 175. 181 (Ist Cir. 1987) it was expressed that “bankruptcy courts

have been accorded wide discretion in regard to the terms and condi-

tions of the engagement of professionals.”

problem is with both the traceability and redressability prongs

of the doctrine. ... Tracing plaintiff's injury, i.e. his inability

to get work after his termination, to Otero Bigles’ alleged mis-

representation is difficult.” See Hon. Judge Fuste’s Opinion

and Order See Petitioner's Appendix at pp. 34-35.

On plaintiff's lack of standing the District Court stated that

it had jurisdiction over a claim concerning the fiduciary duties

of the officers of the estate. The court correctly stated that

the trustee and his attorney do have a fiduciary duty to the

shareholders and creditors but however the Court found no

application of that principle to Marshall J. Kagan’s claim since

the case at bar was not that of a creditor nor shareholder but

of an ex-employee. As the Court pointed out, the nexus with

which it was concerned in this case was not that between the

fiduciary and the interests in the estate, but rather that

between employer and employee which is a_ relationship

governed by state law.

Relating to plaintiff's labor claim of consequential damages

due to termination, the court, knowledgeable in Puerto Rican

employment law, which is the law applicable to the case at

bar, rejected plaintiff's public policy exceptions to the

employment-at-will doctrine and stated, once again that

plaintiff's exclusive remedy was recovery under Act No. 80 of

1976, 29 LPRA 185a et sec.

B. Disposition in Circuit Court

The Circuit Court entered its opinion on September 9,

1993, affirming the District Court Opinion. The opinion

determined that Kagan had shown no basis for even inferring

that either Lopez Stubbe or Otero Bigles had a legal duty to

correct his references which had not been given by them, but

by the former trustee ten months before Lopez Stubbe and

Otero Bigles arrived on the scene. The Court also found that

even assuming Lopez Stubbe and Otero Bigles were employers

8

of Kagan, codefendants were under no obligation to provide

any references under State Law to him and that, therefore,

it could not see why they should be required to provide cor-

rected ones. The Court further expressed that Lopez Stubbe’s

and Otero Bigles’ fiduciary duties to the bankrupt estate and

to its creditors do not extend to Kagan, who is seeking

damages as a former employee of the estate.

In relation to Kagan’s claim that Lopez Stubbe and Otero

Bigles harmed him by providing false references the Court

stated that said claim was not raised below and, therefore,

was not properly before the Court and that in any event

Kagan admitted that he never sought any references from

them for a prospective employer, a fact which made his claim

devoid of merit.

The Circuit Court also found without merit Kagan’s reli-

ance on §§ 107, 704 and 1106(a) of the Bankruptcy Code to

sustain that the trustee had a duty to provide proper references

and/or to correct them. The Court accurately concluded with

respect to said matter that: “(1) any duty under the

Bankruptcy Code to prevent the dissemination of defamatory

material is imposed on the court not the trustee; (2) the

allegedly defamatory letter is not a ‘paper filed’ in a

bankruptcy case; and (3) as noted above, Kagan concedes that

the letter was never disseminated.”

In relation to Kagan’s assertion that he is entitled'to relief

under federal common law the Court expressed, among other

reasons, that the instances in which a federal court has the

authority to formulate a federal common law remedy are “few

and restricted”, that absent some statutory authorization to

formulate substantive rules of decisions the court could not

create a federal common law remedy, and that in this case

it was not “necessary to protect unique federal interests”.

9

IV. ARGUMENT

The appearing party’s position regarding petitioner’s claim

has consistently been that Mr. Kagan’s dismissal by Mr.

Rodriguez Estrada, former trustee, was not justified pursuant

to State Law and that, therefore, the existing remedy for

unjust dismissals under Puerto Rican law applies. On Mr.

Kagan’s clairn that Mr. Lopez Stubbe and his former attorney

Otero Bigles refused to correct the record of the dismissal and

give Kagan proper references, the appearing party has sus-

tained and the courts have correctly determined that there is

no legal obligation to provide references. Therefore, the exclu-

sive rernedy available to Mr. Kagan is the one provided by

State Law Act. No. 80 of May 30, 1976, 29 LPRA § 185a-185]

and its case law.°

Mr. Kagan intends to portray that he has an independent

cause of action for defamation in employment without com-

plying with the required standard of proof and regardless of

the fact that the type of information provided which is

claimed as the cause of action is privileged under labor/libel

6

law.® Furthermore said cause of action was adjudged,

decreed, dismissed and was not appealed.

* Also on this issue it is important to state that there is no obligation for

an employer to provide an employee with references regarding his job per-

formance. See Santiago v. Kodak, 92 JTS 11 Resp. Appendix pp. 27-46.

Also different from other states, there is no obligation for the employer to

provide the employee a letter of dismissal. See for example California Lab.

Code § 1055, Indiana Stat. § 22-6-3-1 and Missouri Rev. Stat § 290.140.

® One of the elements of the cause of action for defamation in employment

is publication. Porto v. Bentley, 92 JTS 175 p. 10249, Resp. Appendix pp.

47-79. See also White v. General Motors, 908 F.2d 669 (10th Cir. 1990)

where a discharged employee failed to state a claim for slander based on

alleged negative job reference since he failed to introduce specific evidence

of what was said, by whom and to whom. Furthermore, it has been stated

that there is a need to promote the free flow of communication which

requires the existence of the privilege. Among the communications which

are considered privileged are the ones made to prospective employers

informing the reasons for the dismissal. See Annot., 60 A.L. R.3d 1080

10

On the other hand, petitioner herein has failed to demon-

strate that he is a “whistle-blower” under the applicable

Puerto Rican statute since, in the first place, Act No. 65, the

local Whistle-Blower Act (29 L.P.R.A. §185(B)), was enacted

on July 3, 1986, three years after the fact, and is therefore

not applicable to petitioner since substantive statutes under

Puerto Rican law have no retroactive effect unless specifically

indicated by the statute.? Second, even if Act No. 65 was

retroactive Mr. Kagan does not qualify for its application

since the act applies to an employee’s collaboration with or

to the expressions made by him regarding his employer’s busi-

ness prior to the employee's dismissal and Mr. Kagan’s tes-

timony before the legislature occurred after his dismissal.

A detailed examination of the Circuit Court’s opinion and

of the lower courts opinions (Bankruptcy and District) based

upon issues of state law, leads to the conclusion that those

courts gave full consideration to the issues presented and

decided them correctly: they followed an unbroken line of

authority.

V. REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

A. Factual Misstatements

If this most Honorable Court were to grant the petition

requested by Mr. Kagan it would be on action based upon

(1974); Duffy, Defamation and Employer Privilege, 9 Employee REL. L.J.

444 (1983); Martin & Bartol, Potential Libel and Slander Issues Involving

Discharged Employees, 13 Employee REL. L.J. 43 (1987); Defamation In

The Workplace: The Impact of Increasing Employer Liability, 72 Marq.

L. Rev. 264 (1989); Lewis, Ottley & Mersol, Defamation and The Work-

place: A Survey of the Law and Proposals for Reform, 54 MO. L. Rev.

797 (1989); and Gonyea v. Motor Parts Fed. Credit Union. 7 IER Cases

539 (Mich. Court of Appeals 1991).

" See Article 3 of the Civil Code of Puerto Rico, 31 LPRA 3; Guardiola

v. Perez Moran, 14 TPR 613 (1983); Diaz v. Secretario de Hacienda, 14

TPR 1115 (1983); Ocasio v. Diaz, 888 PRR 658 (1963); Industria Lechera

v. Secretario de Hacienda, 95 PRR 819 (1968): Rodriguez v. Comision

Industrial, 97 DPR 437 (1969).

1]

the presentation of an erroneous factual situation. The facts

of the case are different from the facts expressed in the

petition.

First of all, Mr. Kagan was dismissed from his employment

at the El San Juan Hotel Corp. by the former trustee Hector

Rodriguez Estrada before Mr. Kagan appeared to testify at

the House of Representatives of Puerto Rico. Hector

Rodriguez Estrada could not retaliate for testimony not

having been provided by Mr. Kagan. The state ‘whistle-

blowers’ statute, Act No. 65 of July 3, 1986, 29 LPRA §

185(b), is not applicable to this situation because Petitioner

blew the whistle after he was terminated. Even if the facts

had occurred as wrongfully narrated by Mr. Kagan, the

whistle-blowers statute would not apply because it was

enacted on July 3, 1986, three years after the fact, the law

having no retroactive effect.

B. The Alleged Conflict of Circuits

The Court of Appeals for the First Circuit Opinion is fully

in accord with the pertinent state law and state public policy.

In its per curiam opinion the Circuit Court arrived at the cor-

rect result based on the overwhelming unanimity existing in

Puerto Rico on the issue that State Law 80 of 1976, 29 LPRA

185 et. seq. is the exclusive remedy under the facts of the case

and that this case did not present issues nor facts to depart

from the exclusive remedy doctrine. See Porto v. Bentley, 92

JTS 175 pp. 10246-7, Resp. Appendix pp. 47-79; Garcia Pagan

v. Shiley Caribbean, 88 JTS 101, 1988: Resp. Appendix p.

82-98; Rivera v. Security National Life Ins. Co., 6 TPR 727

(1977); Rodriguez v. Eastern Airlines, 816 F.2d 24 (1st Cir.

1987); Alvarado Morales v. Digital, 843 F.2d 613, 615 n.1 (1st

Cir. 1988); Lugo v. Matthew Bender ¢> Co.. 579 F.Supp. 638

(DCPR 1984); Vargas v. Royal Bank, infra: Weatherly v.

International Paper, infra; Garcia v. American Airlines Inc.,

673 F.Supp. 63 (DCPR 1987); Valle v. J.C. Penney, Inc., 704

F. Supp. 329 (D.C.P.R. 1989); Bahamundi v. American

12

Airlines, Inc., 707 F.Supp. 79 (D.C.P.R. 1989); and Ana

Bonelli de Pujol v. Shearson American Express, 90 D.C.O. 127

(D.C.P.R. 1990).

The alleged intercircuit conflict is also distinguishable on

the facts and on the applicable law. In relation to the

applicable law it is clear that Mr. Kagan’s alleged claim arises

from a situation which is absolutely governed by state not fed-

eral law: an employment relationship. When Mr. Kagan

claims that the estate is liable what he is asserting is the

employer-employee relationship existing between the

bankrupt estate of El San Juan Hotel Corp. and himself.

It is a principle of law that when federal courts face issues

of state law they are forced to apply the legal and public

policy principles embodied in the pertinent local statute -

See Vargas v. Royal Bank of Canada, 604 F.Supp. 1036

(D.P.R. 1985) and Weatherly v. International Paper, 648

F.Supp. 872 (D.C.P.R. 1986). Warren Brothers Company v.

Cardi Corporation, 471 F.2d 1304, 1307 (Ist Cir. 1973) and

see also In re Gibbons, 52 B.R. 861, 863. See In re Grieves,

81 BR 912 (1987); Johnson v. First Nat. Bank of Montevideo,

719 F.2d 270 cert. den. 465 U.S. 1012, 1045 Ct. 1015, 79

L..Ed.2d 245 (1983). Board of Regents v. Roth, 408 U.S. 564,

577 (1972): Amato v. Western Union Intern Inc., 773 F.2d

1402, 1405 (2nd Cir. 1985); Nasuti v. Sconell, 792 F.2d 264

(Ist Cir. 1986). It is logical then that there had to be differ-

ences among the circuits with respect to this matter since in

the majority of the cases they are applying different state law

embodying different public policies. The states have different

legislative bodies which enact different labor statutes with

different public policies in mind. This fact definitely has an

effect upon the decisions of the federal courts applying state

law.

In other words, the existing differences among the Circuits

are perfectly and logically accounted for and do not in reality

constitute basis for the granting of the petition.

13

Mr. Kagan intends to characterize his clairm as one which

needs redress under unique federal interests. Petitioner cites

the case of Banco Nacional de Cuba v. Sabbatino, 84 S.Ct.

923, 939 (1964) alleging that the case at bar started in the

Bankruptcy Court and the Bankruptcy Court is exclusively a

federal creation. However, in Banco Nacional de Cuba there

were questions of international law which are definitely of

federal interest.

The fact that the bankruptcy system controls “finances of

thousands of large businesses, and of hundreds of thousands

of individuals, and its staffing by federal personnel” definitely

does not make the case at bar worthy of designation as a

“unique federal interest” as the alleged federal credit union

regulatory system. Even if the instant case was worthy of the

designation it does not mean that when dealing with matters

of state employment law the bankruptcy court will create fed-

eral public policy especially if there is no federal statute

The intercircuit conflict claimed by Petitioner is also distin-

guishable from the case at bar in terms of the facts of the case

because Mr. Kagan testified before the House of Representa-

tives of Puerto Rico after he was discharged. The cases cited

by Petitioner are cases wherein the employees were active in

employment when they committed the acts which gave place

to their dismissals. See Barany v. Buller, 670 F.2d 726 (7th

Cir. 1982), further, also contrary to the facts of the case. there

was no remedy by applicable statute, Ridenour v. Andrews

Federal Credit Union, 897 F.2d 715 (1990).

Thus, regardless of what other circuits might have man-

dated regarding other distinguishable cases under other fac

tual situations it is clear that the First Circuit properly decided

the instant case based on the applicable state law

14

C. Bankruptcy is Federal Interest as to the Administra-

tion of the Estate

Although the federal bankruptcy law preempts state law (In

re Goerg, 844 F.2d 1562 cert. den. 109 S.Ct. 850 (C.A. 1]

1988)) on bankruptcy matters this does not mean that all fed-

eral public policy will apply even to underlying non-

bankruptcy matters. The Bankruptcy Court, for instance, is

not authorized to change the applicable state law on certain

matters. See In re TCI Ltd., 769 F.2d 441 (7th Cir. 1985).

Furthermore, “the Bankruptcy Code was written with the

expectation that it would be applied in context of state law

and federal courts are not licensed to disregard interests

created by state law when that course is not clearly required

to effectuate federal interests.” See Matter of Roach, 824 F.2d

1370 (3rd Cir. 1987).

Thus, in strict bankruptcy matters, the bankrutpcy code

and its federal interest take precedence over state bankruptcy

statutes but state law controls over underlying aspects like

employment, contracts, property, damages, attachments etc.

Warren Brothers Company v. Cardi Corporation, supra

and see also In re Gibbons, supra. See In re Grieves, supra;

Johnson v. First Nat. Bank of Montevideo, supra. Board of

Regents v. Roth, supra; Amato v. Western Union Intern Inc..,

supra; Nasuti v. Sconell, supra.

15

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons this most Honorable Court should

deny the petition for writ of certiorari requested by petitioner

Respectfully submitted

DanieL R. Domincuez*

Marie Evsie Lopez ApAmes

Domincuez & Torti

P O Box 191732

San Juan, PR 00919-1732

Tel. (809) 753-7910

Counsel for El San Juan

Hotel Corp. and

Hans Lopez Stubbe

A-1]

IN THE UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF PUERTO RICO

B-80-00259 (A)

Chap. 7

Apversary No. 83-0183

IN RE:

SAN JUAN HOTEL CORPORATION.

DEBTOR,

MARSHAL J. KAGAN,

PLAINTIFF,

v.

EL SAN JUAN HOTEL CORPORATION.

HECTOR RODRIGUEZ ESTRADA, Trustee.

DEFENDANTS.

ORDER

This adversary proceeding was transferred to our considera-

tion by order of the Hon. Antonio I. Hernandez Rodriguez of

Nov. 17, 1983.

Our first intervention in this proceeding has been to hear the

parties, after notice, on the motion to dismiss filed by co-

defendant Hector M. Rodriguez Estrada.

On March 10, 1983, plaintiff filed his complaint against E]

San Juan Hotel Corp., a Chapter 7 debtor (hereinafter referred

to as “defendant debtor” and Hector Rodriguez Estrada,

Trustee, the trustee in the Chapter 7 case of the defendant deb-

tor (hereinafter referred to as defendant Rodriguez). The com-

plaint alleges jurisdiction under 28 USC 1471 and 1473 as an

action against the debtor and the representative of the estate

arising after the commencement of the case.

Three claims for relief are set forth. The first claims the defen-

dant Rodriguez arbitrarily, negligently, and wrongfully dis-

A-2

missed plaintiff from his position as controller of defendant

debt. The second claim is a claim for unjustified dismissal

under 29 LPRA 185(a) - 185(j). The third claim is a claim

for damages based upon allegedly slanderous and libelous

statements concerning plaintiff allegedly made by defendant

Rodriguez.

The answer of co-defendant Rodriguez denies most of the

allegations, the jurisdiction, and the right to relief; the defen-

dant debtor did not file, but as co-defendant Rodriguez was

~at that time the trustee of the case, and thus the representative

of the debtor estate (4323), no separate answer was required.

After certain discovery, co-defendant Rodriguez moved to

dismiss the complaint for lack of jurisdiction based on

Northern Pipeline v. Marathon, 102 S.Ct. 2858 (1982). This

is the motion we heard, and which we now consider; before

doing so, however, we should note that co-defendant

Rodriguez is no longer the trustee in this case having been

replaced by Hans Lopez Stubbe; a motion by the new trustee

to be substituted as the party in interest was granted Oct. 31,

1983.

Bankruptcy Rule 7025 makes applicable to adversary

proceedings Rule 25 of F.R. Civ. P., which deals with substi-

tution of parties, subject to the provisions of Rule 2012; Rule

2012 provides that when a trustee is removed during the pen-

dency of a case, the successor is automatically substituted as

a party in any pending proceeding. As trustee, co-defendant

Rodriguez is no longer a party to this proceeding by virtue

of the foregoing rules and by virtue of the aforementioned

order of Oct. 31, 1983.

Is co-defendant Rodriguez yet a party in his individual or

personal capacity? To answer this question, we must first

determine whether he was sued in his official capacity, or in

his personal capacity, or in both capacities.

As to the first two causes of action or claims, it is clear to

us that co-defendant Rodriguez was sued in his official

capacity. The nature of the alleged wrong, (dismissal from

the position of controller of a trustee administered debtor),

dew > die ee Sree.

Anat 4 Nig iste a

A-3

and the nature of the relief requested (reinstatement, bonus,

severance pay, reimbursement of expenses incurred as an

employee, and dismissal pay) are typical of the wrongs

attributed to and the relief claimed from the employer and

not from the officer who carried out the dismissal, in cases

of this type.

As to the third cause of action, plaintiff suggests that either

or both the debtor defendant and co-defendant Rodriguez

could be responsible for the allegedly slanderous and libelous

statements. If there is slander and/or libel, it is to be deter-

mined under the laws of the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico,

which we assume as neither of the parties has elected to sug-

gest any source, would have to be found in $1802 of the Civil

Code, 31 LPRA 5141, or, more likely, the special action of

the Code of Civil Procedure, 32 LPRA 3141-3149. This.

however, begs the issue, which is whether co-defendant

Rodriguez was personally sued under such a cause of action.

The complaint on a motion to dismiss must be liberally

interpreted. While a liberal interpretation perhaps could sup-

port plaintiff's position, in view of the changed circumstances

arising from the substitution of the new trustee, an amend-

ment of the pleadings would assist the trial of this case greatly.

The plaintiff is granted 10 days to amend its complaint;

absent such an amendment within the 10 days, the motion

to dismiss will be granted.

San Juan, Puerto Rico, this 14th day of December, 1983.

s/_W. H. BeckERLec

W. H. BecKERLEG

cc/ JoHN M. Garcia

CHARLES CupRILL HERNANDEZ

R. Otero BIGLeEs

12-15-83

r.

A-4

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF PUERTO RICO

Misc. No. 84-0035 (JAF) ;

MARSHALL J. KAGAN,

PLAINTIFF,

v.

SAN JUAN HOTEL CORPORATION,

HECTOR M. RODRIGUEZ-ESTRADA, anp

HANS LOPEZ STUBBE, as TrustE oF SAN JUAN

Hore, CorporaTION,

DEFENDANTS.

MEMORANDUM OPINION AND JUDGMENT

After a thorough examination of the pleadings and docu-

ments on file, we conclude that this court lacks jurisdiction

to entertain a suit by a private citizen against an ex-trustee

of a bankruptcy estate where diversity-of-citizenship jurisdic-

tion, 28 U.S.C. Sec. 1332, is absent and the parties are not

subject to a bankruptcy proceeding. We further find that the

suit initiated by plaintiff Marshall J. Kagan as an adversary

proceeding against the bankrupt, San Juan Hotel Corpora-

tion, should be remanded to the bankruptcy court, since with-

drawal of reference as mandated by 28 U.S.C. Sec. 157(d)

is not warranted here.

On March 10, 1983, Marshall J. Kagan filed an adversary

proceeding before the bankruptcy court against the estate of

debtor San Juan Hotel Corporation and trustee Hector M.

Rodriguez-Estrada, for wrongful dismissal from employment.

Plaintiff also made allegations of slander against the trustee.

The complaint was subsequently amended to include Hans

Cre ee tren ee Ty

A-5

Lopez-Stubbe, who succeeded Mr. Rodriguez-Estrada as

trustee upon the latter’s removal from his position. Defendant

Rodriguez-Estrada moved for dismissal. The bankruptcy

court elevated defendant’s motion to dismiss to the district

court,

On July 16, 1984, Rodriguez-Estrada filed a second motion

to dismiss, alleging that the action is a claim for damages

against him in his personal capacity and that the bankruptcy

court lacked jurisdiction to entertain such suit. 28 U.S.C. Sec.

157(b)(5). This motion was also referred by the bankruptcy

court to this court. The Hon. Raymond L. Acosta, U.S. Dis-

trict Judge, held that the bankruptcy court could entertain

personal injury claims with the consent of all the parties.’

Judge Acosta retained the case. His order was entered on April

3, 1985.

Codefendant Hector M. Rodriguez-Estrada moved for

reconsideration alleging that the pleaded cause of action was

not one “arising under or related to title 11.” Plaintiff Kagan

opposed stating that the allegation of actions and/or omissions

pertaining to Rodriguez-Estrada occurred during his tenure

as trustee. Rodriguez-Estrada’s motion for reconsideration

and/or dismissal was denied by Judge Acosta on December 6,

1985.

Subsequently, defendant Rodriguez-Estrada filed a motion

to strike and for sanctions. The same was received by the

Clerk as tendered for filing. This matter remained undecided

when Judge Acosta transferred this case to our docket. The

tendered motion is dated October 18, 1985. The motion to

strike requests that we sanction Mr. Kagan for signing motions

pro se. Codefendant Rodriguez-Estrada understood that all

pleadings were to be signed by counsel. Counsel for plaintiff,

; The bankruptcy judge had stated as to this matter that “a proceeding

based on improper acts of a Trustee while engaged in the administration

of an estate under this court's jurisdiction would seem to be a matter exclu-

sively for our consideration. While the personal properties and assets

of an ex-Trustee are also at risk in this case, they were placed at risk by

him when he accepted the appointment.”

CO

A-6

John M. Garcia, had filed a motion withdrawing legal

representation as of January 19, 1985.

Rodriguez-Estrada’s motion to strike and for sanctions

requests that we “eliminate” the Kagan motions. In so doing,

he cited Local Rule 204.3, requiring that pleadings and

motions be signed by the attorney of record. We do not pass

upon the mentioned motion exchange. Mr. Kagan now has

retained counsel. We do reexamine the jurisdictional allega-

tion in the case against ex-Trustee Rodriguez-Estrada.

Even though this Court had found jurisdiction on the

slander cause of action against the ex-Trustee, we now

VACATE said order. Jurisdiction is not present. Federal

bankruptcy jurisdiction does not extend to cover actions that

have no effect on the estate of the debtor. See In re Turner.

724 F.2d 338 (____ Cir. __); First State Bank v. Sand Spring

State Bank, 528 F.2d 350 (10th Cir. 1976) (court in

bankruptcy cannot entertain jurisdiction of private matters

which do not relate to matters pertaining to the estate).

JUDGMENT

The slander cause of action is DISMISSED WITHOUT

PREJUDICE. The adversary proceeding against debtor Hotel

San Juan Corporation, ex-trustee Hector M. Rodriguez-

Estrada, and Mr. Lopez-Stubbe as succeeding trustee,

brought against him in his official capacity, is REMANDED

to the bankruptcy court for further proceedings. The

bankruptcy court will pass upon the allegation of wrongful

dismissal from employment.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

San Juan, Puerto Rico, this 27th day of August, 1986.

s/ Jose ANTONIO FusTE

Jose ANTONIO FusTE

U.S. District Court

A-7

UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF PUERTO RICO

Chapter # 7B-8000259(SE K)

Apv. # 8301A3

MARSHAL J. KAGAN,

PLAINTIFF,

v.

THE SAN JUAN HOTEL CORPORATION,

DEFENDANT.

DEPOSITION OF

MARSHAL J. KAGAN

Taken at the offices of LLoveras & Quituicuini, Recinto Sur

Street, Old San Juan, Puerto Rico. On October 26th, 1989.

at 10:00 o'clock in the morning.

were held before the Citizens Committee of the house of

Representatives, do you recall that?

A. Yes.

Q. When were they held?

A. I think February of nineteen-eighty-three (1983).

Q. So, that would have been still when Mr. Rodriguez

Estrada was a trustee?

A. Yes, he was trying in the last ditch attempt to keep him-

self in the El] San Juan. He was trying to get the government

to provide additional financing.

Did you appear before that committee.

Yes.

When did you appear before the committee?

Well, in February nineteen-eighty-one (1981).

Nineteen-eighty-three you mean (1983)?

Eight-three (83), sorry.

POPO PO

iii

A-8

Q. Do you claim, from what I read, I gather that basically

what you're saying is that, you were defamed or slandered

or libeled in those hearings. Is that right?

A. Yes. that’s correct. Since there has been a ruling in the

District Court that the slander claim can’t be heard. The

reason for including it here is the fact that Rodriguez finally

gave the reason for dismissing me. He had never given me a

reason. and he claimed that he was

A-9

IN THE UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT FOR

THE DISTRICT OF PUERTO RICO

Case No. 80-00259 SEK

Chapter 7

ApversARY No. 83-0183

IN THE MATTER OF:

KL SAN JUAN HOTEL CORPORATION,

DEBTOR,

MARSHALL J. KAGAN,

PLAINTIFF,

wD.

KL SAN JUAN HOTEL CORP., HECTOR RODRIGUEZ

ESTRADA, HIS WIFE JANE DOE AND THE LECAL

SOCIETY CONSTITUTED BY BOTH OF THEM; HANS

LOPEZ STUBBE, AS TRUSTEE OF EL SAN JUAN HOTEL

CORP., IN HIS PERSONAL CAPACITY, HIS WIFE

JANE DOE AND THE LEGAL SOCIETY CONSTITUTED

BY BOTH OF THEM; RODRIGO OTERO BIGLES, HIS

WIFE JANE DOE AND THE LEGAL SOCIETY

CONSTITUTED BY BOTH OF THEM,

DEFENDANTS.

PARTIAL FINAL JUDGMENT

Upon the Order entered by the Honorable Sara De Jesus

in open Court at hearing held on September 11, 1990 and

Order entered on September 17, 1990, it is now

ADJUDGED AND DECREED that judgment be and is

hereby entered in favor of Plaintiff in the second claim for

relief in the amended complaint filed on July 29, 1988 for the

amount of $7,051.28. Decision of whether said payment will

be considered-as a Chapter 11 claim has been reserved. It is

further

|

A-10

ADJUDGED AND DECREED that the third claim for

relief as it pertains to claim for libel and slander be and is

hereby dismissed for the reasons stated by the Hon. Jose

Antonio Fuste in his Opinion and Order entered August 27,

1986 and Judgment entered August 28, 1986, and it is further

ADJUDGED AND DECREED that the request for punitive

damages be and is hereby denied for the reasons stated by the

Hon. William H. Beckerleg in Order entered November 8,

1984 and Partial Judgment entered November 16, 1984.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

San Juan, Puerto Rico, this 17th day of September, 1990.

s/__Frances Rios pe Moran

FRANCES Rios DE MORAN

Clerk of Court

cc: MARSHAL. KAGAN

UST

PETER J. PORRATA

JOHN GARCIA

Hans Lopez

Roprico OTERO

C. CupriLyi

CABASSA

POREATA

DomincuEz V. Torti

9/18/90

iF

A-1]1

IN THE UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF PUERTO RICO

Case No. 80-00259 (SEK)

Chapter 7

Apv. No. 83-0183

IN THE MATTER OF:

EL SAN JUAN HOTEL CORP..,

DEBTOR,

MARSHAL J. KAGAN,

PLAINTIFF,

v.

EL SAN JUAN HOTEL CORP., et at.,

DEFENDANTS.

ORDER

The Order issued in open Court on September 11, 1990 is

hereby amended Nunc Pro Tunc to provide that the Clerk will

enter a Partial Final Judgment in accordance with the adjudi-

cations made in open Court, as there is no just reason for any

delay in so doing. Bankruptcy Rule 7054(a) and F.R.C.P.

54(b).

Clerk will give notice of this Order.

oe

A-12

GIVEN in San Juan, Puerto Rico, this 17th day of Sep-

tember, 1990.

S SARA DE Jesus

SARA DE JESUS

U.S. Bankruptcy Judge

cc: MARSHAL KAGAN

UST

Perer J. Porrata

JouNn GARCIA

LEPOLDO CABASSA

C. Cupriti

Domincuez V. Tort

HANS Lopez

9/18/90

A-13

IN THE UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF PUERTO RICO

Case No. 80-00259 (SEK)

Chapter 7

A pv No B3_O1R3

IN THE MATTER OF

EL SAN JUAN HOTEL CORP

DEBTOR,

MARSHALL J. KAGAN

PLAINTIFF

1

EL SAN JUAN HOTEL CORP., HANS LOPEZ STUBBE.

AS TRUSTEE OF EL SAN JUAN HOTEL CORP.. HIS

WIFE JANE DOE AND THEIR CONJUGAL SOCIETY

RODRIGO OTERO BIGLES, HIS WIFE JANE DOE

AND THEIR CONJUGAL SOCIETY

DEFENDANTS -

ORDER

Mr. Hector Rodriguez Estrada will show cause in w riting.

within 60 days, why a default judgment should not be entered

against him in the causes of action yet to be adjudicated in

this adversary proceeding, as per Amended Complaint filed

on July 28, 1988 (docket entry 147) and Opinion and Order

entered by the undersigned today

Failure to comply with this Order may cause the Court to

enter appropriate sanctions, including a judgment by default

as stated above

The Clerk will notify this Order and follow up on the s

matter

A-14

GIVEN in San Juan, Puerto Rico, this 20th day of March,

1992.

s/ Sara de Jesus

Sara de Jesus

U.S. Bankruptcy Judge

A-15

IN THE UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF PUERTO RICO

Case No. 80-00259(SEK)

Chapter 7

Apv. No. 83-0183

IN THE MATTER OF:

EL SAN JUAN HOTEL CORP.,

DEBTOR,

MARSHAL J. KAGAN,

PLAINTIFF,

v.

EL SAN JUAN HOTEL CORP., HANS LOPEZ STUBBE,

AS TRUSTEE OF EL SAN JUAN HOTEL CORP., HIS

WIFE JANE DOE, AND THEIR CONJUGAL SOCIETY,

RODRIGO OTERO BIGLES, HIS WIFE JANE DOE,

AND THEIR CONJUGAL SOCIETY,

DEFENDANTS.

OPINION AND ORDER

I. BACKGROUND

The Amended Complaint filed after this proceeding was

remanded is predicated on the following factual allegations. !

Mr. Marshall Kagan is a certified public accountant. He

was employed as comptroller by El San Juan Hotel Cerpora-

tion (the Hotel). When the Corporation filed for the protec-

tion afforded by Chapter 11 of the U.S. Bankruptcy Code,

Mr. Kagan was employed by both the Debtor in possession

and the former trustee, Mr. Hector Rodriguez Estrada (the

Trustee). All told, his employment as comptroller for the

Hotel lasted from approximately September of 1979 until

' This is actually a third amended complaint. The Second Amended com-

plaint was withdrawn by the Plaintiff on May 5, 1988, docket entry 135.

A-16

December 29, 1982, when he received a letter signed by the

Trustee summarily dismissing him.

Following several phone calls, Mr. Rodriguez Estrada

agreed to meet with Mr. Kagan. According to Mr. Kagan,

the Trustee agreed to destroy the December 29th letter of dis-

missal, substituting it for one which stated Mr. Kagan’s

employment was terminated because the case was converted

to Chapter 7 and the Hotel would be closed.? The Trustee also

agreed to pay the amount of severance requested by Mr.

Kagan. The Trustee did not honor this agreement.

Mr. Kagan testified at a public hearing before the P.R.

House of Representatives’ Committee on Tourism. He stated

the Hotel El San Juan would be closed because of the Trustee’s

poor management and failure to follow the Bankruptcy

Court's instructions to operate the Hotel as economically as

possible. When ‘the Trustee testified he did not deny Mr.

Kagan’s charges of his poor management. He accused Mr.

Kagan of participating in a conspiracy with others to close

the Hotel. These statements were televised and reported in the

newspapers. Mr. Kagan claims he was dismissed because of

this testimony.’

When Mr. Hans Lopez Stubbe (the Successor Trustee) was

appointed to succeed Mr. Rodriguez Estrada as Trustee in the

case, he hired Mr. Otero Bigles as his counsel. Mr. Kagan

approached both of them to have them rectify the record of

his dismissal. They failed to do this. This failure to rectify the

reasons for Mr. Kagan’s dismissal prevented Mr. Kagan from

obtaining future employment.

Mr. Otero Bigles, as Attorney for the Successor Trustee,

urged U.S. District Judge Jose A. Fuste not to permit an action

against the former Trustee, while at the same time receiving

* The Second Order converting the case to Chapter 7 was entered on April

20, 1983.

* The parties refer to this alleged cause of dismissal as “whistle blowing”.

RE Re ae nS

A-17

fees from Mr. Rodriguez Estrada in the case of “Northeastern

Promotions” (sic). According to Mr. Kagan, this is a violation

of rules of professional conduct. It was not until this conduct

was disclosed to U.S. District Judge Fuste, did Mr. Lopez

Stubbe “fire” Mr. Otero Bigles. Hence, they both participated

in a “cover up” which harmed Mr. Kagan.

Pursuant to these alleged facts, Mr. Kagan claims remuner-

ation based on the following causes of action:

1. the summary dismissal which violated his rights of due

process, public policy and the U.S. Bankruptcy Code;

2. the summary dismissal which violated Law #80, 29

Laws of P.R. Ann. Sections 185 (a)-(i);

2. the summary dismissal which violated Law #80, 29

Laws of P.R. Ann. Sections 185 (a)-(i);

3. the statements made by Mr. Rodriguez Estrada, broad-

casted on television and published in the newspapers which

were slanderous and libelous;

4. the cover-up engineered by the Successor Trustee and his

Counsel and their failure to rectify Mr. Kagan’s retaliatory

summary dismissal which were willful negligent acts;

5. Mr. Otero Bigles’ conduct violated the attorneys’ rules

of professional conduct.

The specific remedies requested were:

1. reinstatement and back pay to be assessed as an adminis-

trative expense due as Comptroller for El San Juan Hotel;5

2. payment as an administrative expense of $7,051.28 of

severance pay; of a $961.54 bonus; of $728.00 for expenses;

of $3,000.00 relocation or moving expenses;

* See In Re San Juan Hotel, 841 F.2d 6 (lst Cir. 1988): and, In Re San

Juan Hotel, 847 F.2d 931 (Ist Cir. 1988).

* Mr. Kagan claims he is owed these sums both as a Chapter |1 and

Chapter 7 administrative expense because of the continuing nature of the

tortious conduct.

en

A-18

3. award $500,000.00 and $1 million in punitive damages;

$100,000.00 for pain and suffering; $100,000.00 for damages

to his professional reputation; $500,000.00 for compensatory

damages due to his retaliatory discharges.°

The following causes of action and requests for damages

have been adjudicated:

1. Partial summary judgment was entered in open Court

on September 12, 1990, granting the cause of action for

wrongful dismissal based upon Law 80, 29 Laws of P.R. Ann.

Section 185 (a)-(i). The award was limited to the severance

pay requested in the amoung of $7,051.98.” Compensatory

damages requested pursuant to Law #80 in the form of

$728.000 of expenses incurred by Mr. Kagan during his

employment as the Comptroller for El] San Juan Hotel, a

bonus of $961.54, and $3,000.00 for his moving or relocation

expenses, were denied. A Partial Final Judgment was entered

accordingly on September 18, 1990.

2. U.S. District Court Judge Jose A. Fuste entered a

Memorandum Opinion and Order on August 28, 1986, dis-

missing without prejudice “the slander cause of action

* Mr. Kagan claims he is owed these sums both as a Chapter 1] and

Chapter 7 administrative expense because of the continuing nature of the

tortious conduct.

* The Estate, Mr. Rodriguez Estrada, his wife and their conjugal partner-

ship, Mr. Hans Lopez Stubbe, his wife and their conjugal partnership, and

Mr. Otero Bigles, his wife, and their conjugal partnership should apparently

all be jointly and severally liable for these damages.

” We cannot determine whether this severance payment for discharge

awarded to Mr. Kagan on Sept. 12, 1990, for his dismissal without cause

under 29 Laws of P.R. Ann. Section 185 (a), should be afforded the Code

Section 503 (b)(1)(A) administrative priority, in view of In Re Mammoth

Mart, Inc., 536 F.2d 950 (Ist Cir. 1976) and 3 Collier On Bankruptcy,

503.04 (15th ed). 29 Laws of P.R. Ann., Sec. 185 (a) calls for an award

of one month of salary, plus an additional progressive indemnity equivalent

for one week for each year of service as defined by the law. We have no

evidence of Mr. Kagan’s salary during the periods in question, nor can we

determine whether he was employed while the Debtor was under Chapter

11 or 7 of the Code. This information is available to the Successor Trustee

and we will enter a separate Order accordingly.

ELEN ADE EREL RAT RO CN ee te

A-19

. [because] federal jurisdiction was not present.”*® The Clerk

of the U.S. District Court entered a partial judgment accord-

ingly. As per our Order, the Clerk of the Bankruptcy Court

entered a partial final judgment on September 18, 1990, dis-

missing this cause of action.®

3. Judge Fuste’s August 28th Memorandum Opinion and

Order also dismissed the cause of action against the “ex-trustee

of a bankruptcy estate [in his personal capacity] where diver-

sity of citizenship jurisdiction, 28 U.S.C. Section 1332, is

absent and the parties are not subject to a bankruptcy

proceeding”.

4. The requests for $1 million and $500,000.000 in punitive

damages were denied as per opinion entered by Judge Beck-

erleg in open Court on August 10, 1984, his Order Dismissing

the 35th Allegation entered on November 8, 1984, the Partial

Judgment entered on November 16, 1984, and the Partial

Final Judgment entered on September 18, 1990.

Judge Fuste remanded “ the adversary proceeding

against debtor Hotel San Juan Corporation, ex-trustee Hector

M. Rodriguez-Estrada, and Mr. Hans Lopez Stubbe as suc-

ceeding trustee, brought against him in his official capacity,

to the bankruptcy court for further proceedings.”

Trial before the undersigned on the remanded causes of

action began on May 24, 1988. For reasons stated in open

court, the trial was stopped. Mr. Kagan was given ample

opportunity to obtain counsel. He chose to appear pro se at

new trial which began on September 11, 1990.

* This adversary proceeding was originally assigned to Bankruptcy Judge

Antonio |. Hernandez. By Order entered on November 17, 1983. he reas-

signed the proceeding to Bankruptcy Judge William H Beckerleg. Judge

Beckerleg entered a Transmittal of Moticn to Dismiss to the U.S. District

Court on August 29, 1984. It was apparently assigned to U.S. District Court

Judge Raymond Acosta Judge Acosta transferred the case to the docket of

Judge Fuste. Judge Fuste vacated Judge Acosta’s Order of December 5.

1985, dismissed the slander cause of action and remanded the case to the

Bankruptcy Court on August 28, 1986

* See transcript of the September 11, 1990 hearing entered on September

19, 1990, and order entered on September 17, 1990

A-20

On that date the Court ordered the severance of the trial

against former Trustee, Mr. Hector M. Rodriguez Estrada.

II. ORDER REMANDING THE CASE

Before the second trial began, Defendants requested a

ruling on whether the Memorandum Opinion and Order

entered by Judge Fuste of August 26, 1986, excludes litigation

against Messrs. Hans Lopez Stubbe and Otero Bigles, their

wives and their conjugal societies for any personal liability on

account of the allegations of cover up contained in the

amended complaint. Defendants claim the transmittal from

the Bankruptcy Court to the U.S. District Court with refer-

ence to the former trustee, Mr. Rodriguez Estrada and the

adjudication thereof disposed of this question when Judge

Fuste stated:

“After a thorough examination of the pleadings and

documents on file, we conclude that this court lacks juris-

diction to entertain a suit by a private citizen against and

ex-trustee of a bankruptcy estate where diversity-of-

citizenship jurisdiction, 28 U.S.C Sec. 28 U.S.C. Sec.

1332, is absent and the parties are not subject to a

bankruptcy proceeding.”

The Judge ordered the bankruptcy court to adjudicate, “The

adversary proceeding against the debtor Hotel San Juan Cor.

poration, the ex-trustee Hector M. Rodriguez-Estrada, and

Mr. Hans Lopez-Stubbe as succeeding trustee, brought

against him in his official capacity ...”. The Opinion also

vacated an April 3, 1985 order entered by a colleague which

had provided “... the banktuptcy court could entertain per-

sonal injury claims with the consent of all the parties.” Lastly,

Judge Fuste’s Order stated, “federal bankruptcy jurisdiction

does not extend to cover actions that have no effect of the

estate of the debtor. See In re Turner, 724 F.2d 338 (

Cir. ___); First State Bank v. Sand Spring State Bank,

a ee ee

a

4

A-21

528 F.2d 350 (10th Cir. 1976) (court in bankruptcy cannot

entertain jurisdiction of private matters which do not relate

to matters pertaining to the estate)

We believe Judge Fuste meant for the bankruptcy court to

limit its inquiry on remand to considering whether the former

and successor Trustees are liable for actions or omission while

acting in their official capacities even though their personal

properties and assets may be at risk. This means the issues

tried were narrowed down to:

>

.

1. Whether the Successor Trustee or his former Counsel

may be liable for the alleged cover-up and failure to rectify

the former Trustee’s summary dismissal of Mr. Kagan?

2. Whether Mr. Rodrigo Otero Bigles has violated the rules

of professional conduct by acting as counsel for the Successor

Trustee, while at the same time receiving remuneration from

the Former Trustee in the case of Northwestern Promotions,

Inc., and by advising the Successor Trustee to settle adversary

¢

‘

proceeding no. 84-0359 filed in this case?

II. FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Mr. Hector Rodriguez Estrada was appointed a Chapter

11 operating trustee in this case.

2. He hired or assumed Mr. Kagan’s employment as comp-

troller for the E] San Juan Hotel around August 27, 1979.

3. On December 29, 1982, Mr. Rodriguez Estrada as

Trustee, executed and delivered a letter terminating Mr.

Kagan’s employment. This letter stated:

“We deeply regret that after making extensive evalua-

tions of your performance as Comptroller of El San Juan

Hotel, you are hereby dismissed from your position and

A-22

work at El San Juan Hotel, effective tomorrow

Thursday, December 30, 1982.”

4. Both Messrs. Kagan and Rodriguez Estrada testified

before the Puerto Rico House of Representative’s Committee

on Tourism as per Joint Exhibits 6 & 7.

5. As per newspaper reports, Mr. Kagan accused the

Trustee of mismanagement at the El San Juan Hotel thereby

causing the Debtor to incur in substantial losses, and of per-

sonally benefitting from his position as operating trustee in

bankruptcy.

6. As per letter dated December 29, 1983, Mr. Kagan urges

the Successor Trustee to take action in accordance with wishes

of several creditors and the information he provided to

recuperate some of the losses caused by the former trustee’s

mismanagement of the Hotel.

7. Mr. Otero Bigles responded on January 3, 1984, that as

attorney for the Successor Trustee and after reviewing the

available evidence, Mr. Hans Lopez Stubbe had no evidence

available on which he could rely to pursue the cause of action

suggested.

8. The exchange between Messrs. Kagan, Lopez Stubbe

and Otero Bigles continued along above mentioned course

becoming increasingly strident as per Joint Exhibits 12-17

9. As per Exhibit 19, Mr. Otero Bigles represented Mr.

Hector Rodriguez Estrada, in a reply to a motion filed by the

Internal Revenue Service on August 11, 1985, filed in the

Bankruptcy case of Northwestern Promotions, Inc.

10. The Successor “Trustee’s Report to the Court” filed on

May 16, 1985 (apparently in response to previous report filed

by Mr. Kagan), brought to the attention of the Court the

different positions assumed by Mr. Kagan and the Successor

Trustee concerning ability to recuperate mismanaged funds

for the estate and alleged problems with conflict of interest

of Mr. Otero Bigles.

A-23

11. Judge Fuste’s Findings of Fact as per pp. 7-9, 12-13,

and 26 of Joint Exhibit 21, speaks to the role of Mr. Kagan

in establishing the evidence used to find the Former Trustee,

Mr. Hector M. Rodriguez Estrada, liable to this Estate in the

civil suit instituted on behalf of the Estate. Judge Fuste

entered a judgment finding Mr. Rodriguez liable to the Estate

and ordered him to pay $3,434,081.82.'°

12. On February 6, 1987, as per Joint Exhibit 23, Mr. Hans

Lopez Stubbe asked Mr. Otero Bigles to withdraw as his

counsel in this case.

13. Mr. Kagan testified Mr. Lopez Stubbe refused to honor

the agreement he had with Mr. Rodriguez Estrada to remove

the December 29th letter dismissing him from his position as

Comptroller and substituting it with a new letter of termina-

tion of employment on account of the conversion to Chapter

7 and closing of the Hotel. He also testified Mr. Lopez Stubbe

refused to give him letters of recommendation which he might

use to secure future employment and refused to settle the

severance pay and other charges he claimed under Law #80.

14. Mr. Lopez Stubbe testified he was not privy to the pur-

ported agreement between Mr. Kagan and the former Trustee

and could not find any evidence of such an agreement on

record. He also testified he could not give Mr. Kagan letter

of recommendation for future employment, as he had never

employed Mr. Kagan. The Trustee stated he had agreed to

the severance pay, but not to the other charges claimed by

the Trustee under Law #80.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. Whether the Successor Trustee or his former Counsel

may be liable for the alleged cover up and failure to rectify

'° This was later reduced on appeal to $2, 137,639.60, along with an addi-

tional potential liability up to $1,000,000.00 for the casino’s worker's back

pay award, as per holding in the case of In Re San Juan Hotel Corp., 847

F.2d 931 (1st Cir. 1988)

A-24

the former Trustee’s summary dismissal of Mr. Kagan?!!

The Memorandum Opinion and Order entered by Judge

Fuste on August 26, 1986, precludes our considering whether

Mr. Otero Bigles, his wife and their conjugal partnership may

be liable to Mr. Kagan for these causes of action.

The record shows Mr. Lopez Stubbe’s testimony as to the

purported agreement with Mr. Rodriguez Estrada to expunge

the letter of Mr. Kagan’s summary dismissal is correct. There

is no evidence of such an agreement, other than Mr. Kagan’s

testimony. We do not believe the Successor Trustee was

obliged to remove the letter of dismissal from Mr. Kagan’s per-

sonnel file under these circumstances.

We do not find the Successor Trustee liable for his failure

to provide Mr. Kagan with references which he could present

when applying for jobs. The Successor Trustee never

employed Mr. Kagan. It is reasonable to assume he could not

attest to Mr. Kagan’s capabilities as an employee nor evaluate

his professional services. !2

We have been provided no evidence which shows the Suc-

cessor Trustee participated in a “cover up” designed to harm

Mr. Kagan. Mr. Kagan seeks to substantiate this charge by

producing a legal opinion rendered by Counsel to the Suc-

cessor Trustee as to the probability of prevailing in an action

'' The Defendants have argued this cause of action is foreclosed by Law

#80. According to their theory, Law #80 is the exclusive remedy available

to an employee who has been wrongfully dismissed. Hence, the Mr. Kazan’s

only and exclusive cause action against these Defendants is Law #80. In

our view, Mr. Kagan is not claiming redress for his wrongful dismissal

against these Defendants. He asks for redress of harm caused by these Defen-

dants cover-up of the wrongful dismissal and their failure to provide refer-

ences which prevented him from obtaining employment following the sum-

mary dismissal.

‘* 11 U.S.C. Section 704 enumerates the duties of a Chapter 7 Trustee.

These do not include providing references to former employees of a debtor.

ae Se aR

A-25

against the former Trustee given the information available at

that point in time. Mr. Kagan has also produced documents

showing this legal opinion was reiterated in Motions and

Reports submitted to the Bankruptcy Court. While Counsel’s

position adopted by the Successor Trustee may have been

incorrect, it certainly was not in the nature of a “cover-up”!

2. Whether Mr. Rodrigo Otero Bigles has violated the rules

of professional conduct by acting as Counsel for the Successor

Trustee while at the same time receiving remuneration from

the former Trustee in the case of Northwestern Promotions.

Inc., and by advising the Successor Trustee to settle adversary

proceeding no. 84-0359 filed in this case?

11 U.S.C. Section 327 provides the Trustee, with the

Court’s approval, may employ an attorney provided this

attorney is a disinterested person and does not hold an interest

adverse to the estate. The Code does not grant the Bankruptcy

Court jurisdiction to entertain questions concerning an

attorney's violation of the rules of professional conduct.

We realize we have a pro se Litigant and should therefore

afford him certain leeway in the prosecution of his case.

However, even if we were to consider Mr. Kagan’s claim as

a violation of the mentioned section of the Bankruptcy Code,

the remedy is disgorgement of fees for the benefit of the

Estate.'* Mr. Kagan would therefore, have no remedy under

this Section of the Code. We therefore, decline to enter an

opinion as to this issue.

WHEREFORE, for the reasons stated above we dismiss the

remaining causes of action in this adversary complaint

~ 19 See Opinion and Order entered in the case of San Juan Hotel Corp.,

Bankruptcy number 80-00259-A, on April 18, 1985, by Bankruptcy Judge

Antonio I. Hernandez Rodriguez.

'* Am. Bankr. Inst., American Bankruptcy Institute National Report on

Professional Compensation in Bankruptcy Cases 153-154 (G.R. Warner rep.

1991).

a

A-26

filed against all Co-Defendants, except Mr. Hector Rodriguez

Estrada in his capacity as a former Trustee in the captioned

case.

The Clerk will enter a partial final judgment accordingly

as there is no just reason for any delay in so doing as per

Bankruptcy Rule 7054 (a) and Federal Rule of Civil Procedure

54 (b).

GIVEN in San Juan, Puerto Rico, this 20th day of March,

1992.

S/ SARA DE JEsus

SARA DE JESUS

U.S. Bankruptcy Judge

} . ne , .

: Certified Translation by

. THOMAS H. Kaveutin, USDCC

[page 9159:]

92 JTS 11

LILLIAN SANTIAGO

PLAINTIFF-APPELLANT

Dv.

KODAK CARIBBEAN, LTD.

DEFENDANT-APPELLEE.

Nos. RE-89-319/RE-89-278

JUDGMENT OF THE SUPERIOR COURT, CAROLINA PART

HON. ANGEL GONZALEZ ROMAN, J.

REVIEW

San Juan, Puerto Rico, on 30 January 1992

CITE 92 JTS 11

OPINION OF THE COURT ISSUED BY

ASSOCIATE JUSTICE NAVEIRA DE RODON

Counsel for appellant: Jose Luis Verdiales Morales & Jose J.

Santiago (Fiddler, Gonzalez & Rodriguez). Counsel for

appellee: Reinaldo Ramos Collazo.

Work-related Accidents: Retention of Employment Following

Work-Related Accident

Labor Law: Unjustified Dismissal.

A-28

Plaintiff-appellant, an employee of Kodak, brought an action

against the latter, alleging dismissal without just cause —

claiming the benefits under Act 80 of May 30, 1976 — and

violation of Article 5a of the Workmen’s Accident Compensa-

tion Act, demanding reinstatement on the job. The Superior

Court entered partial summary judgment dismissing the

action under

[page 9160:]

Article 5a of the Workmen’s Accident Compensation Act and,

following the appropriate hearing, granted the complaint

under Act 80 by finding that there was an unjustified dis-

missal. Both parties appealed to the Supreme Court. The

Supreme Court, in an Opinion issued by Associate Justice

Naveira de Rodon, confirmed the appealed judgments by

ruling that: (i) Article 5a of the Workmen’s Accident Compen-

sation Act does not benefit the employee who has been dis-

missed and later reports an accident to the State Insurance

Fund which had occurred prior to the dismissal, and (ii) the

dismissal of plaintiff was without just cause. Associate Justice

Negron Garcia disqualified himself. Associate Justice Negron

Garcia issued a Dissident Opinion.

NORMATIVE SUMMARY*

1. Work-Related Accidents, Interpretation of Statutes,

Liberal Construction of the Workmen’s Accident Compensa-

tion Act, Spirit and Letter of the Law.

Although the Workmen’s Accident Compensation Act, being

a remedial statute, should be interpreted in favor of the

laborer, if the law is clear and free of ambiguity, its letter

should not be undervalued under the pretext of complying

with its spirit.

} NORMATIVE SUMMARY © 1992 by Publicaciones JTS®

ed bibier ee

F Ja Pe ee ee ae eee ae mA eA ow J

ph POE RN Ae ei AB ett sadiciat ees

A-29

2. Work-Related Accidents, Employment Reserve for

Employee Who Suffers a Work-Related Accident (Article 5a

of the Workmen’s Accident Compensation Act).

Article 5a of the Workmen’s Accident Compensation Act

establishes two types of protection for the laborer who suffers

a work-related accident and reports [to the State Insurance

Fund] and avails himself of the benefits offered by the

Workmen’s Accident Compensation Act. First, it imposes on

the employer the duty to reserve for the laborer for twelve

(12) months, the job he was performing at the time the acci-

dent occurred. In the second place, the laborer is entitled to

be reinstated in that same job once he is discharged from treat-

ment by the Fund, applies to the employer to reinstate him,

subject to the three (3) conditions established in said Article:

(1) that the laborer or employee demand reinstatement from

the employer in his job within the period of fifteen days from

the date the laborer or employee was discharged from treat-

ment, and as long as said demand is not made after the lapse

of twelve months from the date of the accident; (2) that the

laborer or employee is mentally and physically fit to fill said

job at the time he demands reinstatement from the employer;

and (3) that said job still exists at the time the laborer or

employee demands reinstatement. (The job shall be under-

stood to exist wher the same is vacant or is being filled by

another laborer or employee).

3. Id.

The protection offered to the laborer by Article 5a of the

Workmen’s Accident Compensation Act is absolute: if the

laborer engages in conduct which constitutes just cause for dis-

missal before the work-related accident, the employer is not

under obligation to reinstate him in his job, but rather may

dismiss him. What the employer may not do is dismiss the

laborer after he has suffered the work-related accident, or

refuse to reinstate him, without just cause therefor.

A-30

4. Id.

Article 5a of the Workmen’s Accident Compensation Act does

not apply (does not benefit) an employee who has been dis-

missed and then reports an accident to the State Insurance

Fund which occurred prior to said dismissal.

5. Labor_Law, Dismissal of Employees, Just Cause for Dis-

missal.

Under the laws of Puerto Rico, there is no absolute prohibition

against the dismissal of an employee; if there is just cause,

the employee may be dismissed without any remedies.

6. Id., Unjustified Dismissal (Act 80).

Act 80 of May 30, 1976, provides a financial remedy —

indemnity — for the employee dismissed without just cause

(29 LPRA sec. 185a). The law establishes a series of circum-

stances or actions which can give rise to justified dismissal,

some imputable to the employee, others to the employer or

the financial state of the company (29 LPRA sec. 185b).

7. Labor Law, Dismissal of Employees, Manner of the Dis-

missal.

There is no law which obliges the employer to dismiss an

employee or to do so in a set fashion, either in writing or with

prior notice. Nor does the law place the employer under obli-

gation to inform the laborer, at the time of the dismissal, or

thereafter, of the reasons it had for dismissing him, except in

order to defend itself in a court action.

8. Labor Law, Dismissal of Employees, Unjustified Dismissal

(Act 80).

An employer who dismisses an employee because the latter has

availed himself of a plan of benefits which are provided by

the company’s Employee Manual — which forms a part of

ED ak BD Om De Magn F

A-31

the job contract — has no just cause for the dismissal, for pur-

poses of Act 80 of June 30, 1976.

9. Id., Job Contract, Employee Manual.

A company’s manual containing the rules and regulations of

the-job and establishes the standards, benefits and privileges

_ which the employee shall enjoy, forms a part of the job con-

tract. As a general rule, a pattern of non-compliance with

these standards or rules could give rise to a justified dismissal.

[page 9161:]

Nevertheless, the absence of reasonableness of these standards

could turn the dismissal into a capricious or arbitrary, and

therefore, unjustified, dismissal. On the other hand, the

benefits and privileges established therein constitute rights oi

employment, and a dismissal in violation thereof would also

result in an unjustified dismissal.

10. Contracts, Interpretation of Contracts.

The clauses of a contract should be interpreted in relation to

one another, giving to those that are doubtful the meaning

which may appear from the consideration of all of them

together.

COMPLETE TEXT OF THE OPINION -

Mr. Lillian Santiago filed a complaint against Kodak Carib-

bean, Ltd. (hereinafter Kodak), alleging that she was dis-

missed without just cause and in violation of Article 5a of the

Workmen’s Accident Compensation Act, Act No. 45 of April

18, 1935, as amended, 11 L.P.R.A. sec. 7. She demanded the

compensation provided by Act No. 80 of May 30, 1976, as

amended, 29 L.P.R.A. sec. 186, “reemployment to her prior

position, back pay and emotional and mental damages .. .

for being unlawfully dismissed and for defendant’s refusal to

rehire plaintiff”.

A-32

Kodak answered by asserting as affirmative defenses,

among others, that the dismissal was justified given the

“plaintiff's chronic absenteeism and her poor attitude toward

her responsibilities on the job”: that plaintiff did not suffer

any job-related accident; and that she did not fulfill the

requirements of Article 5a of the Workmen’s Accident Com-

pensation Act.

Hence, Kodak filed a motion for entry of summary judg-

ment, which plaintiff opposed. On March 27, 1989, the trial

court entered partial summary judgment dismissing the action

filed on the basis of Article 5a of the Workmen’s Accident

Compensation Act. With regard to the claim under Act No.

80, supra, it ruled that there was a controversy of fact and

therefore entry of summary judgment was not in order.

Following a full hearing, on April 24, 1989, the trial court

entered judgment finding that the dismissal had been unjusti-

fied. It awarded plaintiff “an amount equal to one month’s

salary ($1,780.00) plus one week for every year of employment

(9 weeks) $4,005.00, altogether the sum of $5,785.00, plus the

amount of $1,500.00 in attorneys’ fees”.

Plaintiff Santiago appealed the partial summary judgment

of March 27, 1989, before us, alleging that the trial court

erred in entering partial summary judgment when there were

relevant and material facts to the controversy that were

clearly in dispute. Defendant Kodak in turn petitioned for

review of the judgment entered on April 24, 1989. It ques-

tioned the appreciation of the evidence and the trial court’s

conclusion “that plaintiff's chronic absenteeism and/or disa-

bility to perform her job is not just cause for her dismissal”.

We granted the petitions for review and consolidated the

-~ Cases.

RR SS Ee IS ORME De,

A-33

I

FACTS RELEVANT TO CASE RE-89-278 -

The trial court, in its partial summary judgment of March

27, 1989, made the following findings of fact:

“Plaintiff Lillian Santiago began working for defendant

Kodak on an indeterminate time basis on October 27, 1975,

as Secretary of Publicity. She subsequently assumed several

positions within the company until she ultimately occupied

the position of saleswoman, after receiving an eleven- (11-)

week training in the city of Rochester, New York, during the

months of June to September, 1984.

In April, plaintiff began absenting herself from work due

to emotional problems. The case file contains a medical cer-

tificate from Dr. Juan R. Diaz Troche, of April 28, 1984,

vouching for her condition.

Her emotional condition at that time did not affect her in

the performance of her functions in said training and she was

awarded the “Billy T. Files Award” for her performance and

the skills she displayed.

On February 19, 1985, plaintiff was absent from work.

Plaintiff would call her work site periodically to indicate

her state of health.

On May 30, 1985, she was dismissed from her job.

In the letter of dismissal, she was not told why she was

being fired.

On June 4, 1985, after her-dismissal, plaintiff reported to

the facilities of the State Insurance Fund.? She was given a

psychiatric evaluation by Dr. Sampayo, who, on October 2,

referred her to the Vocational Rehabilitation Program. On

November 12, 1986, plaintiff was discharged by the State

Insurance Fund. On that same date she applied for reinstate-

ment to her job at Kodak.

A-34

[page 9162:]

Before the letter of dismissal plaintiff was never told nor

was she admonished for her absences.”

I] :

THE RIGHT OF RESERVE AND REINSTATEMENT ON

THE JOB OF ARTICLE 5a OF THE WORKMEN’S

ACCIDENT COMPENSATION ACT

The instant case allows us to rule on whether Article 5a of

the Workmen’s Accident Compensation Act, Act No. 45 of

April 18, 1935, as amended, 11 L.P.R.A. Sec. 7, applies to

an employee who has been dismissed and then reports an acci-

dent which had occurred prior te said dismissal, to the State

Insurance Fund (hereinafter F und).

Article 5a of the Workmen’s Accident Compendation Act

provides the following:

“In the cases of working disability according to the provi-

sion of this chapter, the employer shall be under obligation to

reserve the job filled by the laborer or employee at the time the

accident occurred, and to reinstate him therein, subject to the

following conditions: (1) that the laborer or employee demand

reinstatement from his employer in his job within the period

of fifteen (15) days counted from the date the laborer or

employee is discharged from treatment, provided such

demand is not made after the lapse of twelve months from

the date of the accident; (2) that the laborer or employee be

mentally and physically fit to fill said job at the time he

demands reinstatement from his employer;-and (3) that said

job still exists at the time the laborer or employee demands

reinstatement. (The job shall be understood to exist when the

same is vacant or is being filled by another laborer or

employee. The job shall be presumed to be vacant when the

same was filled by another laborer or employee within thirty

(30) days following the date on which the demand for rein-

statement was made.)

ee Rpt ae SG EE SEs VP OSRP RATS Oa) Are Sete

¥ - SPRY ESR aa =a

Pte Sree ees bak on ais

A-35

If the employer does not comply with the provisions of this

section, he shall be under obligation to pay the laborer or

employee or his beneficiaries the wages said laborer or

employee would have received if reinstated, also the employer

shall be responsible for all damage he has caused him. The

laborer or employee or his beneficiaries may prosecute and

file the corresponding claim for reinstatement and/or damages

in court through ordinary proceedings or through the proce-

dure for claiming wages set up by sections 3118-3132 of Title

32.” Emphasis supplied.

We have repeatedly ruled that since the Workmen’s Acci-

dent Compensation Act is a remedial statute, it must be inter-

preted liberally in favor of the laborer. Bruno Colon v. Comi-

sion Industrial, 109 D.P.R. 785 (1980); Alonso Garcia v.

Comision Industrial, 84 D.P.R. 196 (1974); Gallart, Admor

v. Comision Industrial, 87 D.P.R. 17 (1961). Now then, this

does not mean that if “the law is clear[ly] free of ambiguity,

the letter thereof [must] be undervalued on the pretext of ful-

filling its spirit”. Article 14 of the Civil Code, 31 L.P.R.A.

sec. 201; Rojas v. Mendez & Co., 115 D.P.R. 50, 53 (1984);

Caban Mendez v. F.S.E., 115 D.P.R. 1, 3 (1983).

Article 5a establishes two types of protection for the laborer

who suffers a work-related accident and reports [to the F und]

and avails himself of the benefits offered by the Workmen’s

Accident Compensation Act. First, it imposes upon the

employer the duty to reserve for the laborer for twelve (12)

months, the job in which he was engaged at the time the acci-

dent occurred. In the second place, the laborer is entitled to

be reinstated at that same job once he is discharged from treat-

ment by the Fund and applies to the employer to be rein-

stated, subject to the three conditions established in said

Article.*

Now then, the protection offered by this Article to the

laborer is not absolute. “The case may arise wherein an

employer discovers that a laborer who has suffered a work-

A-36

related accident engaged in behavior prior to suffering said

accident which is a justified cause for dismissal and in this

case the employer obviously would not be under obligation

to reinstate said laborer to his post, and could dismiss him for

those prior acts without being prohibited therefrom by the

prohibition of law. What may not be done is to dismiss him

after he suffers an accident or to refuse to reinstate him at

his job without the existence of just cause to dismiss him.” Del-

gado Zayas, Ruy, Apuntes para el Estudio de la Legislacion

Protectora del Trabajo en el Derecho Laboral Puertorriqueno,

San Juan, Ramallo Bros. Printing, Inc., (1989), Chap. XI, p.

189.

A conscientious reading of Article 5a and case law which

interprets the Workmen’s Accident Compensation Act, con-

vinces us that the purpose of said provision is to protect the

injured laborer so that he “does not, in addition, have to be

faced with the undesirable uncertainty of his employer dis-

missing him from his job without just cause because of his

having suffered said accident, or being without a job when

he returns after being discharged from treatment”. Delgado

Zayas, supra, p. 189. By imposing on the employer the duty

of reserving for a period of twelve (12) months from the date

of the accident, “the job which he was performing at the time

the accident occurred”, the legislature established a balance

between the interests of the laborer, that is, the economic

security that returning to work at his old job represents, and

those of the employer, by avoiding the onerousness of having

to reserve the job indefinitely.

In an opinion issued on September 22, the Labor Solicitor

correctly pointed out that “the protection foreseen in Article

[page 9163:]

5a of the Workmen’s Accident Compensation Act supposes,

in our judgement, that the employee avails himself of the

A-37

benefits of the Act while the labor-management tie is in effect.

It implicitly involves the duty to report the accident prior to

the rupture or termination of said tie. It should be noted that

the duty to reserve the job supposes the continuity and exis-

tence of the labor-management relationship, for at least

twelve (12) consecutive months (360 days) from the date of

the accident”. Legal Opinion No. 13310.

Wherefore, we rule that Article 5a of the Workmen’s Acci-

dent Compensation Act does not apply to an employee who

has been dismissed and then reports a work-related accideat

to the Fund which occurred before said dismissal.

The trial court acted correctly in dismissing the action

brought under Article 5a of the Workmen’s Accident Compen-

sation Act.

Il

FACTS RELEVANT TO CASE RE-89-319

The documents in the case file show the facts which we set

forth below.

Plaintiff Santiago began working on an indeterminate time

basis with defendant Kodak, on October 13, 1975. Ina deposi-

tion taken on October 11, 1985, she stated that while working

for Kodak, she became ill with an emotional problem of

“stress”, depression, anxiety and insomnia and that on

February 19, 1984 said “illness reached the point where I

simply couldn't function.” On May 30, 1984 she was dis-

missed.

The attendance reports submitted with the motion for sum-

mary judgment of February 17, 1989, by defendant Kodak,

show that from January | to May 30, 1985, the date on which

plaintiff was dismissed, she had been absent from her job for

fifty-two and a half (52%) days; of these, forty-seven and a

half (47%) were consecutively. The reports also reflect that

in the last thirteen (13) months that plaintiff worked for

Kodak, she was absent for a total of eighty-three (83) days.

a a et

A-38

In the Employee Manual of Kodak Caribbean, Ltd., sub-

mitted in evidence by plaintiff, concerning employee atten-

dance, it states the following:

“ATTENDANCE

His primary and basic responsibility toward the Company

is to be in attendance for his job regularly and punctually.

A satisfactory attendance record is one of the requirements

for employment with KCL.

When an employee is not punctual and is not in regular

attendance on his job, this interrupts the flow of work in his

department and creates an additional burden which falls on

his co-workers. Therefore, his annual merit-based raise in

wages may be affected by a poor attendance record.

The Company has provided protection to assure your

income in cases of necessary absences. Nevertheless, the Com-

pany expects that you will make use of these allowed absences

only when they are necessary and justified.

Once in a while all of us need time off to attend to matters

which cannot be handled during non-working hours.

Moreover, emergencies sometimes arise which require that we

be absent from work for short periods of time. Your supervisor

must be advised when these cases occur and the lost time shall

be considered approved time off without pay.

Nevertheless, if you wish to be compensated, the Company

will permit you to make up the lost time by working overtime.

This arrangement must be discussed with your supervisor.

Those individuals who abuse this privilege shall not be

allowed to make up the lost time and they will also be

damaging their annual evaluation. |

When an employee is absent se must notify his supervisor

of this before 10:00 A.M. If your illness, etc., does not allow

A-39

you to return to work for several days, you must keep your

supervisor informed at least once a week.

You will be given an attendance card at the start of each

month. Your supervisor will mark your arrival and departure

times on this card, as well as periods of absence. At the close

of every two weeks, your attendance record must be signed

by you and approved by your supervisor before being sent to

the Personnel Department.” (Emphasis supplied) pp. 8-9.

On the other hand, as for the benefits which Kodak grants

the employee if he is absent for illness, said Manual provides:

“SICK LEAVE

The Company developed sick leave to protect you from loss

of income owing to absences resulting from an illness or accident.

The benefits of this plan are available only when you are ill. You

are not eligible for benefits under this plan when you miss

work due to illness of other members of your family.

If an employee misses work for a medical or dental appoint-

ment, the time lost from his job shall be considered as sick

leave. You must advise your supervisor immediate[ly] before

-leaving for such appointments.

If an employee is absent for more than three days due to a

medical reason, he or she must obtain a medical certificate

before returning to work.

If you suffer an accident or illness which results in a short-term

disability (fewer than 130 consecutive working days), you may

be eligible to receive compensation for “lost pay” from a govern-

ment plan (State Insurance Fund, Non-Occupational Disabiiity,

etc.). Nevertheless, the Company understands that this compen-

sation is only a minimal help which will not permit you to cover

all your financial obligations uuring your disability. Therefore,

the Company will pay the difference between your basic wages

and the disability benefits received. The maxirmum benefits

A-40

under this program are based on accrued sick leave on the basis

of the employee’s years of service at the Company. See the Sick

Leave Table provided below.*

After 100/of your sick leave is exhausted, the Company will

continue paying the difference between 50/ of your basic pay

and the disability benefits received up to a date equivalent

to 130 working days from the date on which your disability

commenced. An individual qualifies for the benefits under the

program of continuing to receive 50/ of wages, if he has been

employed for one year before the occurrence of the illness or

disability. Therefore, employees with less than one year of

service qualify only for the benefits under the plan of 100/com=

pensation for sick leave. ‘

As a new employee of Kodak Caribbean, Ltd., you will

accrue 1.25 days per month for every month in which you

work 120 hours up to a maximum of 15 working days. After

a full year of service, you will be entitled to compensation

for absences due to illness for the time indicated below. When

130 working days of continuous absence expire, you will be

eligible for the benefits under the ‘Long-Term Disability

Plan.’” (Emphasis supplied), pp. 13-14.

The trial court, in turn, made the following findings of fact:

“1. Plaintiff's dismissal was due to her absences over the

years during which she worked for defendant, particularly

during 1984 and 1985.

2. That before 1984, 1985, plaintiff was never told that her

absenteeism could affect her in her job.

3. Plaintiff complied with company rules concerning

absences; they were justified by illness.

4. Plaintiff was a highly competent employee; she had

received recognition for her work several times during 1984

and 1985, and had even obtained the ‘Billy T. Files Award’.

5. The smooth running and normal functioning of defen-

dant was not altered by plaintiff's absences.

ee a ee ee

A-41

IV

DISMISSAL AND JUST CAUSE

In Puerto Rico there is no absolute prohibition against the

dismissal of an employee. If there is just cause, he may be

dismissed. Article 1 of Act No. 80, supra, 29 L.P.R.A. sec.

185a, provides an economic remedy, indemnity, for the

employee who has been dismissed without just cause. Article

2, 29 L.P.R.A. sec. 185b, for its part, establishes a series of

circumstances or acts which may lead to a justified dismissal,

some imputable to the employee, others to the employer or

the company’s financial state. “On the other hand, there is

no law whatever that requires the employer, upon dismissing

the employee, to do so in a given fashion, either in writing

or with prior notice. Nor does our legislation oblige the

employer to inform the laborer at the time of the dismissal

or thereafter, of the reasons it had to dismiss him, except to

defend itself against a court action.” Delgado Zayas, supra,

p. 123; Article 11 of Act No. 80, supra, 29 L.P.R.A. sec. 185.

The company manual which contains the rules and regulz-

tions of the job and establishes the standards, benefits and

privileges which the employer will enjoy, form [sic] a part of

the work contract. As a general rule, a pattern of non-

compliance with these standards or rules could give rise to a

justified dismissal. Nevertheless, the absence of reasonableness

of these standards could turn the dismissal into a capricious

or arbitrary, and therefore, unjustified one. On the other

hand, the benefits and privileges established therein constitute

the employee’s rights, and a dismissal in violation thereof

could also result in an unjustified dismissal.

In interpreting the provisions of the Kodak Employee

Manual, which forms a part of the work contract between

plaintiff Santiago and Kodak, it should be kept in mind not

A-42

[page 9165:]

only that its clauses should be interpreted “in relation to one

another, giving to those that are doubtful the meaning which

mey appear from the consideration of all of them together”,

Article 1237 of the Civil Code, 31 L.P.R.A. sec. 3475, but

rather, this being a typical contract of adhesion in the prepa-

ration of which the employee did not participate, the obscure

or ambiguous clauses must be construed liberally in favor of

the employee, thus promoting, to the extent possible, juridical

equality in contractual matters. Article 1240 of the Civil

Code, 31 L.P.R.A. sec. 3478; Gonzalez v. Coop. de Seguros

de Vida de P.R., 17 D.P.R. 659, 662 (1986); Herrera v. First

National City Bank, 103 D.P.R. 724, 727 (1975); R. C.

Leasing v. Williams Int., Ltd., 103 D.P.R. 163, 167 (1974);

Barreras v. Santana, 87 D.P.R. 227, 231-233 (1963); J.R.

Velez Torres, Curso de Derecho Civil, San Juan, Rev. Jur.

U.I.A. (1990), T. IV, Vol. Il, Chap. III, p. 95.

V

APPLICATION OF THE RULES OF LAW TO THE FACTS

In its brief, Kodak argues that it was established that plain-

tiff Santiago’s dismissal “was due to her chronic absenteeism

motivated by her inability to perform her functions owing to

her health condition and that during her absence another

salesperson had to cover the route assigned to her”. It states

that plaintiff herself “admitted engaging in the absences

reflected on the attendance cards [and she added that] they

were justified by reason of her illness and that she complied

with the requirement of notice established in the Employee

Manual.” It goes on to allege that in said Manual, it is estab-

lished “that a good attendance record is a condition for

working at Kodak and that the absenteeism of employees

affects departmental production and imposes an additional

burden on the other co-workers”. It also argues that “log-

A-43

ically, it affects the smooth running and normal functioning

of the company”. And that because of her disability, plaintiff

engaged in a pattern of absenteeism which “rendered her

functions of little or no value to the company”. From all of

this it concludes that the dismissal was not “out of mere

caprice on the part of the company or without reason relating

to the smooth and normal functioning of the company”.

Article 2, Act Number 80, supra. 29 L.P.R.A. sec. 185b. It

concludes its argument by stating that “Santiago’s disability

to perform her functions from February 1985 until January

1986 is more than justified cause for her separation”. It is

incorrect.

The Kodak Employee Manual, in addition to establishing

the attendance standards to which defendant Kodak alludes,

also contains a specific plan concerning the benefits to which

an employee is entitled when he has to be absent due to an

illness or accident. It becomes obvious then, that the standards

of attendance have been tempered by the benefits provided

by the company regarding absences due to illness or accidents.

Said Manual, regarding benefits for absences due to illness

or accidents, provides that if an employee is absent for more

than three (3) days for a medical reason, he must obtain a

medical certificate before returning. It also establishes a com-

pensatory payment plan, depending on years of service, for

those employees who are forced to go on sick leave for a term

of less than one hundred thirty (130) consecutive working

days. This is termed “short-term disability”. When the

employee’s illness surpasses this term, he is eligible for the

benefits of what is termed “Long-Term Disability Plan”.

Let us see what the specific facts of this case were. Plaintiff

Santiago began absenting herself from her job in April of

1984. On April 23rd of that same year, she presented a med-

ical certificate from Dr. Juan R. Rios Troche in which he

stated that plaintiff was in a physical and mental state of

A-44

extreme exhaustion and that he had “recommended, for her

emotional recovery, that she not be subjected to situations

which generate anxiety or stress for her and that [she should]

stop working for an indefinite time”. She continued absenting

herself, for the same reason, during the months of June to Sep-

tember of 1984. On February 19, 1985, plaintiff was again

absent from her job owing to illness. In compliance with the

provisions of the Manual, she would call periodically to her

job to indicate her state of health. The trial court ruled as

an issue of fact that plaintiff Santiago complied with Kodak’s

rules regarding absence owing to illness.

At the time she was dismissed, on May 30, 1985, plaintiff

Santiago was enjoying the illness-based benefits which were

offered in her work contract, regardless of whether the illness

was job-related or not.

Plaintiff was dismissed precisely because she was enjoying

said benefits. Defendant Kodak neither alleged nor proved

that plaintiff did not qualify for the benefits provided in its

own Employee Manual for absences owing to illness. A dis-

missal, because of supposed “chronic absenteeism”, under the

specific circumstances of this case, is an unjustified one. The

benefits provided by the Employee Manual are available for

all those employees who are ill and vouch for their illness.

Kodak could not justifiably dismiss plaintiff Santiago because

she had availed herself of the “short-term disability” benefits

plan provided by the Employee Manual. The errors indicated

were not committed.

Wherefore, judgment shall be entered confirming the par-

tial summary judgment entered on March 27, 1989 and the

judgment entered on April 24, 1989, issued by the Superior

Court, Carolina Part.

MiriaM NAVEIRA DE RoODON

Associate Justice

A-45

JUDGMENT

For the reasons stated in the foregoing Opinion, judgment

is entered confirming the partial summary judgment entered

on March 27, 1989 and the judgment entered on April 24,

1989, issued by the Superior Court, Carolina Part.

So said and ordered by the Court and certified by the Chief

Clerk. Associate Justice Negron Garcia disqualified himself.

Associate Justice Rebollo issued a Dissident Opinion.

Francisco R. Acrair LLApo

Chief Clerk

NOTES 92 JTS 11

' Plaintiff initially filed a complaint based on Act No. 80 of

May 30, 1976, as amended, then amended it and made the

claim by alleging violation of Article 5a of the Workmen's

Compensation Act.

* On the advice of counsel, plaintiff went to the Fund four

(4) days after being fired.

* See also concurring opinions of Associate Justice Rebollo-

Lopez and Hernandez-Denton in Sifontes Ramos v. Oliver

Exterminating Services Corporation, of April 5, 1991, 128

D.P.R. (1991), 91 J.T.S. 37.

* Deposition, p. 62.

* The Employees’ Manual of Kodak Caribbean. Ltd., pro-

vides the following table:

“TABLE FOR SICK LEAVE

Years of Service Compensation in Working Days

100 % 50 %

1 to 4 years 30 days 100 days

5 to 14 years 60 days 70 days

over 15 years 90 days 40 days

A-46

DISSIDENT OPINION ISSUED BY

ASSOCIATE JUSTICE REBOLLO LOPEZ —

92 JTS 11

San Juan, Puerto Rico, on January 30, 1992.

We are unable to subscribe and endorse the Opinion issued

today by a majority of the members of the Court in the instant

case,

The Opinion issued, in open violation of the definitive and

repeated rule of case law that the Workmen’s Accident Com-

pensation Act must be liberally interpreted in favor of the

worker or employee, erroneously limits and restricts the rights

thereof, unduly benefiting the employers, based on a restric-

tive construction of said Law.

On the other hand, the majority Opinion is one which is

not only juridically incorrect. but contradictory. In our

humble consideration, it cannot have any other effect but to

utterly confuse our trial courts and the professional class; a

situation which, instead of fostering the simplification of

labor-management controversies, will have the effect of con-

siderably augmenting, and complicating, litigation in this

area of law at the trial court level.

Unfortunately, we have not had the necessary time to state

in writing, adequately and specifically, the grounds in support

of the above assertions. Perhaps, in the near future, we shall

have the opportunity to do so. Nevertheless, we could not

remain silent in the face of the grave injustice committed,

against the working class in general and the litigant in partic-

ular, by the majority Opinion issued in the instant case.

FRANCISCO REBOLLO LopEz

Associate Justice

ee ne ee ee ee

A-47

JURISPRUDENCE OF THE

SUPREME COURT OF PUERTO RICO

January 15, 1993 Vol. XVI — No. 12 1992-93

92 JTS 175

IVAN PORTO ano ns spouse, MILDRED SIURANO., e1 AL...

PLAINTIFFS- APPELLEES

v.

BENTLEY PUERTO RICO. INC., ET AL..

DEFENDANTS-APPELLANTS.

No. RE-89-123

JUDGMENT OF THE SUPERIOR COURT, MAYAGUEZ PART

THE HON. ANGEL GONZALEZ ROMAN, JUDGE

REVIEW

San Juan, Puerto Rico, December 23. 1992

CITED AS JTS 175

OPINION OF THE SUPREME COURT WRITTEN BY

MR. ASSOCIATE JUSTICE REBOLLO LOPEZ

Attorneys for Appellant: Carl Schuster & Anibal [rizarry

(Law Firm of McConnell, Valdes. Kelley, Sifre, Griggs &

Ruiz Suria.

Attorney for Appellees: Enrique Alcaraz Micheli (Law Firm

of Ferrer and Alcaraz).

DAMAGES: LIBEL AND DEFAMATION.

Mr. Porto was fired from his job for allegedly having

wrongfully appropriated a company vehicle. The discharged

\

\

\

A-48

employee and his wife filed a lawsuit for damages against the

employer, alleging false imputations in the letter of dismissal

(wrongful appropriation of the vehicle). The Superior Court

found for plaintiffs, determining that the letter of dismissal

falsely imputed the commission of a crime to plaintiff, which

damaged his reputation. The defendants appealed to the

Supreme Court. Said Court, in an opinion written by Mr.

Associate Justice Rebollo Lopez, revoked the decision of the

lower court, ruling that the requirements of “publication” of

the defamatory information had not been met and that, in

any case, intracorporate publication or communication is con-

ditionally privileged. Mr. Associate Justice Alonso Alonso

wrote a Concurring Opinion. Mr. Associate Justice Fuster

Berlingeri wrote a Dissenting Opinion.

NORMATIVE SUMMARY

1. Constitutional Law, Right to Privacy, Damages, Libel and

Defamation.

In Puerto Rico, the main source of protection against defama-

tory expression is the Constitution of the Commonwealth of

Puerto Rico (Article II, Section 8).

2. Id., Freedom of Speech and of the Press.

The right to privacy recognized in Section 8 of Article II of

the Constitution of the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico —

manifested through the defamation action — is opposed to the

fundamental right of freedom of speech and of the press recog-

nized in Section 4 of Article II.

3. Id.

The force of the provisions of the Libel and Slander Act (32

LPRA sec. 3141) is conditioned on not being incompatible

with the constitutional right that governs in the area of

freedom of speech and of the press, and the right to privacy,

under the constitutions of Puerto Rico and the United States.

Wale Ch A aetna BOS:

Po ta Oe nab ese gn UL *

Sia

De en Tere nn TT Pett ae

A-49

4. Damages, Libel and Slander.

Puerto Rico can regulate in the area of libel and slander as

long as absolute liability is not imposed in cases in which the

claimant is a “private figure.” For that reason, the norm

requiring negligence governs in the imposition of liability in

all damages actions for libel brought by private persons. The

norm of absolute liability, or liability without fault or negli-

gence, cannot govern.

ae ee StS

5. Id.

: Action for defamation (libel and slander) is one of compensa-

: tion for damages aimed at vindicating the social interest in

the reputation of the person. Plaintiff must prove that the

| information published is false and that its publication caused

‘ him real damages.

i

6. Id.

j In order for a plaintiff to prevail in defamation actions where

the plaintiff is a private figure and the defendant outside the

media, and the exercise of freedom of speech is present, plain-

tiff must prove negligence on the part of the defendant in pub-

lishing the information.

7. Id., Publication Requirement.

One of the essential elements in a cause of action for libel

between private persons is the “publication” of the false and

defamatory expressions. The element of publication exists

when the defamatory statement is communicated to a third

person, that is, someone other than the person defamed.

Defamatory words or statements made to the defamed person

F himself does not constitute publication, unless a third person

learns of the conversation. The element of publication does

not exist when it is the affected person himself who communi-

cates the defamatory statements to third persons.

Hd PA Cinta da Par eS sage MAL ly oer

Se ee Te eS

aX.

i aerate

A-50

8. Id., Labor Law

In the area of labor-management relations, any “external”

communication of the libelous statement by the company to

a person other than the affected employee automatically con-

tains the element of publication.

9. Id.

In the area of labor-management relations, the element of

“publication” is present in communications regarding an

employee among members of the employer corporation. This

is due to the fact that the reputation of the affected employee

in his job clearly is impaired by defamatory intracorporate

communications. Should the defamatory statements made by

a corporate officer about a particular employee become

known to the other employees of the company, they affect the

opinion and respect the other employees have for the

employee in controversy.

10. Id.

A person's reputation at his job can be impaired by any

intracorporate communication; if such a communication is

proved, the element of “publication” is satisfied for a libel or

defamation action.

1. Id.

Communication between the superior of the discharged

employee (plaintiff) and the company’s personnel director

regarding the reason for the dismissal does not constitute an

intracorporate communication for purposes of satisfying the

element of publication in a libel action.

12. Id., Conditionally Privileged Communications.

In the area of labor-management relations, common law has

recognized the need for and importance of conditional immu-

nity to promote the free flow of communication between

employer and employee. The existence of restricted privilege

has extended to the following communications: communi-

.

i

:

4

4

A-51

cations from the employer to the managers or supervisors of

a dismissed employee informing them of the reasons for the

dismissal; communications to prospective employers

informing them of the reason the employee was dismissed;

statements made on employees’ performance evaluation

sheets; reference information about an employee to other

potential employers; communications between supervisors

and personnel employees.

13. Id.

There is conditioned privilege for employers to communicate

freely the reasons for the dismissal of an employee to those

persons with a right to that information.

14. Id.

Communication by a dismissed employee’s manager and

supervisor to the company’s personnel director informing him

of the reasons the employee was dismissed (alleged wrongful

appropriation of a company vehicle) is privileged.

FULL TEXT OF THE OPINION

Appellee Ivan Porto worked in the materials department as

a receiving clerk for appellant corporation Bentley Puerto

Rico, Inc. He worked for said company for two years and

three months under an employment-at-will contract.

Appellant company had a single motor vehicle (a Ford van)

assigned to the purchasing department. Said vehicle was

assigned to a driver or chaffeur, who used it during the com-

pany’s business hours. Outside of business hours, the vehicle

only could be used with the authorization of the purchasing

supervisor, or other Company officer, in cases of emergency

or accident. When the driver of the vehicle ended his shift,

the keys to the vehicle were kept in one of the drawers of the

desk of Mrs. Carmen Delia Vargas, supervisor of the pur-

chasing department.

A-52

Such being the situation, during the week of August 9,

1985, plaintiff-appellee Ivan Porto received authorization

from his immediate supervisor, Mr. Luis J. Berga, materials

manager, to use the vehicle when he was required to work

overtime, outside the company’s regular business hours.

Under the authorization, the appellee was obliged to return

the vehicle before the start of business on the following day.

On Tuesday, August 13, 1985, appellee used the company’s

automobile; this was because he missed the ride a co-worker

was to provide him and his personal car was still out of

service. On that particular day, plaintiff did not obtain the

corresponding authorization from his immediate supervisor,

Luis Berga, since Berga was in the United States. Nor did he

obtain authorization from any other company officer. In view

of this situation and because of the hour he finished working, '

appellee informed the only other employee who was still on

the premises, Mr. Andres Santos,” that he would use the com-

pany vehicle. Appellee then entered the office of the pur-

chasing supervisor, took the keys to the vehicle, and drove off

in it. Appellee stopped at the main gate to the plant and noti-

fied the guard who was on duty that he was using the com-

pany vehicle. Plaintiff-appellee returned the vehicle before

7:00 a.m. the following day.

Upon his return to Puerto Rico, Mr. Berga conducted an

investigation into the incident. On August 18, 1985, Mr. Ivan

Porto was dismissed from his job. On that date, Mr. Berga

handed appellee a letter of dismissal in which it was stated

that he was being dismissed for having violated Rule 2 of the

Company’s Rules of Conduct, which sanctioned “wrongfully

appropriating property of the company or of another

employee.””

Subsequently, on June 5, 1988, Mr. Ivan Porto and his wife,

in their personal capacity and in representation of the legal

partnership of community property and of their minor chil-

dren, filed suit for damages against appellant corporation in

the Superior Court of Puerto Rico. Mayaguez Part. In the suit,

they claimed damages of $100,000.00 for the alleged false,

A-53

slanderous and libelous imputations made against Porto by his

employer in firing him. The suit alleged that at the time of

dismissal, appellee Porto was falsely accused of having wrong-

fully appropriated the company vehicle and that said accusa-

tion arose from the letter of dismissal dated August 16, 1985.4

Defendant-appellant answered the complaint, and after the

corresponding procedural actions, the court of first instance

entered judgment in favor of plaintiff. As a question of fact

and of law, the court of first instance determined that the

letter of dismissal falsely imputed the commission of a crime

to plaintiff and that said letter caused damage to his repu-

tation.°®

Dissatisfied, defendant-appellant sought review of the deci-

sion by this Court. In synthesis, appellant alleged that the

court of first instance erred in imposing liability on the appel-

lant corporation when the essential elements for a cause of

action independent of the dismissal had not been established,

with the exclusive relief being the severance pay established

by Act No. 80, which the corporation paid; that the court

erred in concluding that libelous staternents were made when

the requirement of “publication” was absent: that it com-

mitted a serious error in weighing the evidence and con-

cluding that plaintiff had authorization to use the vehicle; and

that it erred in granting certain items of damages which were

not supported by the evidence.®

The review requested was granted. Both parties have

appeared. We are now ready to resolve the appeal and pro-

ceed to do so.

In this jurisdiction the general rule, regarding the matter

in controversy, is to the effect that a laborer or worker hired

under an employment-at-will contract who is dismissed

without just cause is entitled only to the exclusive relief

provided under Act No. 80 of May 30, 1976, 29 L.P.R.A. sec.

185a-186i; Rivera v. Security Nat. Life Ins. Co., 106 D.P.R.

nn

A-54

517, 527 (1977); Arroyo v. Rattan Specialties, Inc., 117

D.P.R. 35, 65 (1986). Said statute provides for indemnifica-

tion equivalent to one month’s salary plus one week of com-

pensation for each year of service with the employer. (29

L.P.R.A. sec. 185(a)). |

Nevertheless, in Rivera v. Security Nat. Life Ins. Co.,

supra, p. 527, we recognized that the relief provided in the

labor laws ... “does not exclude the civil liability of an

employer for tortious conduct incurred in for reasons other

than the mere violation of (these laws).” In other words, with

respect to a mere dismissal without just cause, an employee

only has available the relief provided by Act No. 80, supra;

that notwithstanding, if other tortious actions that are

independent of the dismissal coincide with it, then the

employer can he held liable on the basis of said conduct.’

In the case before us, plaintiff-appellee claimed damages

caused, not for the mere dismissal carried out by the

employer, but rather for the alleged defamatory imputations

made by the employer in the letter of dismissal. This cause

of action of damages for defamation is independent of the dis-

missal of the employee, so if the plaintiff-appellee establishes

and fulfills the requirements of said action, the employer is

obliged to redress the damages caused to plaintiff.

II

This case revolves around a libel action within an employer-

employee relationship, in which both parties are “private

persons” and the alleged defamatory statement is not of public

or general interest. In our jurisdiction, the principal source

of protection against defamatory expression is the Constitution

of the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico. Section 8 of Article II

of our constitution recognizes the right of “every person to

protection against abusive attacks on his honor, reputation

and private or family life.” This right, which is manifested

through action for defamation, is in opposition to the fun-

damental right of freedom of speech and of the press, Article

'

;

'

;

'

A-55

II, Section 4 of the Constitution of the Commonwealth of

Puerto Rico. Mendez Arocho v. El Vocero de P.R., 92 JTS

94; Villanueva v. Hernandez Class, 91 JTS 58, 129 DPR ____

(1991); Clavel v. El Vocero de P.R., 115 DPR 685, 690-691

(1984); Cortes Portalatin v. Hau Colon, 103 DPR 734, 738

(1975).

On the other hand, since the beginning of the century and

before our Constitution of 1952 was adopted, protection

against defamatory statements in our jurisdiction arose from

the Act of February 19, 1902, which established civil action

for damages in cases of libel and slander in Puerto Rico. 32

L.P.R.A. Sec. 3141, et seq.* Consequently, the “force of our

Libel and Slander Act is conditioned, naturally, on its applica-

tion not being incompatible with the provisions of our Consti-

tution cited above ... and the judicial interpretations of the

U.S. Supreme Court with respect to the First Amendment of

the Constitution of the United States.’® Villanueva v. Her-

nandez Class, supra, p. 8695; Clavell v. El Vocero de P.R..

supra, p. 738; Cortes Portalatin vy. Hau Colon, supra, p. 690:

Gertz v. Robert Welch, Inc., 418 U.S. 323, 348-349 (1974).

In view of the decision of the U.S. Supreme Court in Gertz

v. Welch, Inc., supra, pages 345 and 347, Puerto Rico can

legislate in the area of libel and slander as long as absolute

liability is not imposed in cases in which the claimant is a “pri-

vate figure.” In other words, in our jurisdiction the governing

standard is the one that requires liability, based on negligence,

in all libel damages suits brought by private persons. Torres

Silva v. El Mundo, 108 D.P.R. 415, 422 (1977); Romany v.

El Mundo, Inc., 89 D.P.R. 604 (1962,. In this way, the abso-

lute or no-fault liability that arose from our Libel and Slander

Act, supra, was eliminated.'°

Action for defamation (libel and slander) is one of “...

redress for damages aimed at vindicating the social interest

in the reputation of a person.” Torres Silva v. El Mundo. Inc..

supra, pp. 423-424. The plaintiff in a libel case must prove

that the information or statement published is false and

defamatory,'' and that he suffered real damages as a result

A-56

of its publication. Torres Silva, supra, p. 427. In the case

before us, since the plaintiff is a private figure, he must estab-

lish that the publication was done negligently, Gonzalez Mar-

tinez v. Lopez, 118 D.P.R. 190, 192-193 (1987), as this con-

cept is understood in the field of damages law. In synthesis,

when the plaintiff “... is a private figure and the defendant

is outside the press and the exercise of freedom of speech is

present, in order for the action to prosper the former must

demonstrate the existence of negligence ...” Gonzalez Mar-

tinez, supra, p. 196."”

Il]

It is patently clear that one of the essential elements of a

cause of action for libe! between private persons is the “publi-

cation” of the false and defamatory statement. Gonzalez Mar-

tinez v. Lopez, supra, p. 192; Torres Silva v. El Mundo, Inc.,

supra, p. 427; H. Brau del Toro, op. cit., note 12, pp.

986-080. The element of publication exists when the defama-

tory statement is communicated to a third person, that is,

someone other than the person defamed.'® For that reason,

the defamatory words or expressions made to the person

defamed himself do not constitute publication, unless a third

person learns of the communication. Mulero v. Martinez, 58

D.P.R. 321 (1941); Irizarry v. Puerto Rico Auto Corp., 60

D.P.R. 1, 5 (1942); Jimenez v. Diaz Caneja, 14 D.P.R. 9

(1908); H. Brau del Toro, op. cit.; J. Elias Rivera, El

Elemento de Publicidad en una Accion Difamatoria por

Calumnia entre personas Privadas Bajo una Estructura Mer-

cantil, 30 Revista de Der. Prtno. 37, 45 (1990); Smolla, op.

cit., Sec. 4.12(1), pp. 4-58 to 4-59; Restatement (Second) of

Torts, Sec. 577 (1977); Prosser & Keeton, op cit., p. 797. On

the other hand, the general rule is to the effect that the ele-

ment of publication does not exist when it is the affected

person himself who communicates the defamatory statement

to third parties.'* Restatement (Second) of Torts, Sec. 577;

Smolla, op. cit., Sec. 4.12(4), p. 4-80; Harper, James &

a

- pelt ha 8

A-57

O. Gray, op. cit., Sec. 5.15, p. 122. With these principles in

mind, we will examine how the element of publication is con-

figured in a corporative entity, and, consequently, whether

the plaintiff in this case established the fact of “publication”

of the letter of dismissal. In the first place, in the employer-

employee environment, any “external” publication of the

libelous matter by the company to a person other than the

affected employee, automatically constitutes the element of

publication. Smolla, op. cit., Sec. 15.92(1), p. 15-5. The

difficulty lies in determining whether there the so-called

“intracorporate communications” constitute publication.

The minority position that rules in some of the U.S. state

courts is to the effect that intracorporate communications do

not constitute publication to third parties. It has been said,

in support of that minority position, that there is no “publica-

tion” in co1amunications among officers, managers or agents

and employees of a corporation, since the corporation “is com-

municating to itself.” Kmart Corporation Inc. v. Pendergrass,

494 So.2d 600 (1986); Halsell v. Kimberly Clark Corp., 683

F2d 285 (8th Cir. 1982); Jones v. Golden Spike Corp., 623

P.2d 970 (1961); Monahan v. Sims, 294 S.E.2d 548 (1982);

Commercial Union Ins. Co. v. Melikyan, 424 So.2d 1114 (La.

App. 1982); Prine v. Holland-North America Mortg. Co., 181

p. 680 (1919).'5

In contraposition, the majority of the states have adopted

the standard, suggested by the Restatement (Second) and

Professor Prosser, to the effect that the element of publication

is created by communications among members of the corpora-

tion. Restatement (Second) of Torts, Sec. 577 (commentary

i); W. Keeton, D. Dobbs, R. Keeton & D. Owen, Prosser ¢>

Keeton on the Law of Torts, Sec. 113, pp. 798-799, (5th ed.

1984); Smolla, op. cit., Sec. 15.02(2)(b), pp. 15-7 through

15-8; Luttrell v. United Tel. Sys., 683 P2d 1292 (1984);

Frankson v. Design Space Int'l, 394 N.W. 2d 140 (1986);

Cashio v. Holt, 425 So.2d 820 (La. App. 1983); Pirre v.

Printing Devs Inc., 468 F.Supp. 1028 (1979); Welch v.

Chicago Tribune Co., 340 N.E.2d 539 (1979).'® The raison

A-58

d'etre of this position is that the employees of a corporation

are human beings and that, when they learn of the defama-

tory statements, the reputation of the affected employee

clearly suffers in the workplace.

After carefully analyzing the various legal sources. we are

of the opinion tha‘ the majority opinion stated above is more

in keeping with our needs, aspirations and our sense of justice.

There is no doubt whatsoever that false and defamatory state-

ments made by a corporate officer regarding a particular

employee, if they become known to the rest of the employees

of the company, affect their opinion of and the respect they

have for the employee in controversy.'’ It is useful to cite the

statements made in the case of Pierre v. Printing Devs. Inc.,

supra, on p. 1041;

“While corporate officers may be ... the embodiment of

the corporation, they remain individuals with distinct perso-

nalities and opinions, which opinions may be affected just as

surely as those of other employees by the spread of injurious

falsehoods. It is this evil that the law of defamation is designed

to remedy. To find no inter-personal communication when a

corporate employer speaks to a corporate officer would be to

ignore the distinct personalities of the human beings

involved.” |

In addition, we are of the opinion that the workplace is

where an employee is most exposed to suffer harm to his repu-

tation as a result of false and libelous imputations. Intracor-

porate communications, that have the effect of degrading or

denigrating the reputation of an employee, clearly will affect

his relations with the other members of the corporation and,

possibility, the community in which he lives. We find, there-

fore, that the reputation of person in his employment can be

degraded through any intracorporate communication and if

there is evidence of such communication, the element of pub-

lication will be satisfied.

From the transcript of evidence submitted in this case, it

can be clearly seen that plaintiff did not submit any evidence

whatsoever to the effect that defendant-appellant had made

A-59

external communications, that is, to persons outside the com

pany, with respect to the alleged defamatory expression (letter

of dismissal).'* The only evidence of the “publication” of the

letter of dismissal is what occurred at the meeting at which

the plaintiff, Ivan Porto, was fired.

The evidence is clear that at that meeting Mr. Luis Berga

handed the letter of dismissal to Mr. Porto. The contents of

the letter were fully discussed not only between the plaintiff

and his supervisor, Mr. Berga, but another member of the cor

poration, Miss Elvira Alfonso, who was the Personnel

Administrator, also was present.'* On the basis of that, it was

alleged that the fact of publication of the letter of dismissal

was established, prima facie. We do not agree; it was com

pletely logical and reasonable that said officer take part in

the meeting. We cannot conceive of the head of personnel of

a company not being informed about the persons recruited

and the employees discharged

IV

Even assuming, for the sake of argument, that the letter

of dismissal contained information that is false and defama-

tory and was, in effect, the object of “publication,” that fact

does not provide the basis for a libel action because the publi-

cation is privileged under Secs. 4 and 5 of our Libel and

Slander Act,” 32 L.P.R.A. Secs. 3144-3145. Bosh v. Editorial

El Imparcial, 87 D.P.R. 285, 304-305 (1963); Diaz v. P.R.

Ry. Lt. & Co., supra, p. 811; Quinones v. J.T. Silva Banking

and Commercial Co., 16 D.P.R. 696 (1910). Our statute, fol-

lowing Anglo-Saxon common law, established various types

of privileged communications, some of which were absolute

and others only conditionai or restricted. Diaz, supra, p. 811:

Villanueva v. Hernandez Class, supra, p. 8698. To that effect,

we have stated that the doctrine of privilege is more restrictive

in Puerto Rico than in other common law jurisdictions and,

in addition, that it is purely statutory. Bosh v. Editorial El

Imparcial Inc., supra, p. 306; Diaz, supra.

A-60

The doctrine of conditional or restricted immunity is based

on the public policy of “conciliating the interest in individual

reputation and other equally legitimate interests.” Cortes Por-

talatin v. Hau, supra, p. 739. To that effect, we have pointed

out that “privileged information is that which, were it not for

the occasion or circumstances, would be defamatory and sub-

ject to claim.” Diaz, supra, p. 812. The communication can

be false, but the privilege remains. Quinones v. J.T. Silva

Banking and Commercial Co., supra; Cortes Portalatin,

supra.

In the same way, “conditional privilege includes the publi-

cation of all communications made in good faith regarding

a matter in which the author has an interest or with respect

to which he has a duty toward others to fulfill. It is considered

privileged because the person who uses it must do so in accor-

dance with law and for an appropriate purpose.” Caraballo

v. P.R. Ilustrado, Inc., 70 D.P.R. 283, 291 (1949); Restate-

ment (Second) Sec. 594-598.

On the other hand, conditional immunity “is lost” when

defendant “abuses the privilege.” In Cortes Portalatin v. Hau

Colon, supra, we state that privilege disappears if “... the

communication is made to someone who there is no reason

to believe can protect the interests of the author or the com-

munity, as the case may be; or if the author gives excessive

publicity to the matter; or if the author has improper motives.

The fact that other persons incidentally listen to or read a

communication made in a reasonable way does not nullify the

privilege.” (Citations omitted).

In the labor-management sphere, common law has recog-

nized the need for and importance of condition! immunity to

promote the free flow of communication between employer

and employee. The existence of restricted privilege has been

extended to different means of communication in the work-

place. Although the existence of this restricted privilege is

determined on a case-by-case basis, as a point of illustration,

the following communications have been held to be condition-

ally privileged: communications from the “employer” to

ee

A-61

managers or supervisors of a dismissed employee, informing

them of the reasons for the dismissal; communications made

to prospective employers informing them of the reason the

employee was dismissed; statements made in employee perfor-

mance evaluations; giving reference information about an

employee to other potential employers; communications

between supervisors and personnel employees. See: Annot., 60

A.L.R. 3d 1080 (1974) and cases cited therein; Duffy, Defa-

mation and Employer Privilege, 9 Employee REL. L.J. 444

(1983); Martin & Bariol, Potential Libel and Slander Issues

Involving Discharged Employees, 13 Employee REL. L.J. 43

(1987); Commentary, Defamation in the Workplace: The

Impact of Increasing Employer Liability, 72 Marq. L. Rev.

264 (1989) and cases cited therein; Lewis, Ottley & Mersol,

Defamation and the Workplace: A Survey of the Law and

Proposals for Reform, 54 MO. L. Rev. 797 (1989) and cases

cited therein; Smolla, op. cit., Sec. 15.07(2)(a).

In the case before us, appellant argues that the restricted

privilege of Sec. 3145 is applicable.*! In its pertinent part, that

Section establishes that malice will not be presumed in com-

munications “between persons who have business in society

or other similar associations.” In Quinones v. J.T. Silva

Banking and Commercial Co.. supra, we analyze the scope

and significance of this privilege. In Quinones, supra, one of

the directors of the defendant company noted defamatory

information about an employee in a section of the operations

log, imputing to him wrongful appropriation of company

funds. Although the legitimate purpose of noting this matter

was so that the various stockholders, directors, partners and

other interested parties would have knowledge of this infor-

mation, the information became known to other dependents

or employees. Nevertheless, this Court found that the matter

of reference was a privileged communication. To that effect,

we stated that:

. it is absolutely necessary that a commercial house or

company that does business on a large scale, employs a more

A-62

or less large number of employees [and consequently it is]

indispensable to include those dependents or employees in the

class of persons occupying positions analogous to that of the

partners [that sec. 3145 points out]. The fact that the offensive

matter was read and commented on by dependents and

employees at the defendant bank is a mere incident of the exis-

tence of the matter itself, and does not constitute illegal publi-

cation [or non-privileged publication] ...” Quinones, supra,

p. 701.

Clearly, the occasion to discharge an employee is a legiti-

mate action an employer can have to carry out. Consequently,

there exists, for the proper operations of the business or com-

pany, a legitimate interest in being able to communicate

freely to those persons with a right to know or be informed

about the reasons for the dismissal of an employee. In this

case, Mr. Luis Berga, as appellee’s manager and supervisor,

had a duty to discipline his employees and enforce the com-

pany’s standards of conduct. To that effect, he was the person

with interest in the communication, that is, the proper person

to handle the dismissal and explain the reasons for it to plain-

tiff. Similarly, and as an inherent part of his duties, it was

legitimate that the contents of the letter be made known to

the Company’s Personnel Administrator. In summary, the

persons who had knowledge of the letter of dismissal were

interested parties fulfilling their duties and at the same time

the communication was necessary for the free flow of informa-

tion within the company.

We are of the opinion that, under the facts of this case,

there was no “publication” of the letter of dismissal in con-

troversy; but even if there had been, said publication would

be conditionally privileged. Further, the evidence shows that

the communication involved here was much more limited

than that carried out in Quinones, supra, since the contents

of the letter were not divulged to other employees who were

not interested parties to said communication.

On the other hand, there is no basis whatsoever in the

record to conclude that appellant abused said privilege. In

A-63

view of this situation, we are forced to conclude that the court

of first instance erred in imposing liability for defamation or

harm on appellant corporation.

For the reasons stated above, the Judgment of the court of

first instance in this case must be revoked.

FRANCISCO REBOLLO LoOpEz

Associate Justice

DECISION

On the grounds stated in the foregoing Opinion, which

forms part of this decision, the Judgment entered by the

Superior Court of Puerto Rico. Mayaguez Part, is revoked.

The Court thus pronounces and orders, and the Clerk of

the Court certifies. Mr. Associate Justice Alonso Alonso wrote

a concurring Opinion. Mr. Associate Justice Fuster Berlingeri

wrote a dissenting Opinion.

FrRANcIscoO R. AcRAIT LLADO

Clerk of the Court

A-64

ANNOTATIONS TO 92 JTS 175

1. The demands of his work required plaintiff to remain at

the company after business hours, until around 9:00 p.m.

2. The plaintiff stated at the trial that he had not known that

Andres Santos only worked as a mechanic; he believed Santos

was the person occupying the position of running the company

like three other people who ran the company at night. Tran-

script of Evidence, pp. 49-50.

3. At the time of dismissal, defendant-appellant paid appellee

the indemnification provided for under Act 80 of May 30,

1976, or severance pay.

4. The letter of dismissal in its entirety read as follows:

“On Tuesday, August 13, 1985, you entered the office of

the purchasing manager and wrongfully appropriated the

keys to the official Company Vehicle (Ford van). Without the

authorization of any officer of Bentley, you used said vehicle

and returned with it on Wednesday, August 14.

Said action is a violation of rule of conduct number two

(2), which states “do not wrongfully appropriate the property

of the company or of another employee.” This being the case,

you incurred in conduct unacceptable on the part of an

employee of the company.

For this reason, we are notifying you that as of today,

August 16, 1985, you are no longer employed by Bentley AHS

del Caribe, Inc.

We are enclosing a check covering the total number of vaca-

tion days accumulated (11 days). In addition, and as

assistance on the part of the company and a sign of good faith,

we are including severance pay of one month's salary plus two

additional weeks for your two years of service.

Should you have any questions about the amount received,

please telephone the Personnel Department.”

5. In its sentence, the court ordered the following indemnifi-

cations:

a) To the Legal Partnership of Community Property com-

posed of Ivan Porto and Mildred Siurano, for economic loss

at the rate of $5.00 an hour for 2,080 hours annually from

August 16, 1985, to January 16, 1089, the sum of $35,535.00,

plus the accumulated amount at the rate of $867.00 a month

from August 16, 1985, to the date on which the judgment was

entered.

b) $15,000.00 to Ivan Porto for suffering and mental

anguish.

c) $5,000.00 to Mildred Siurano for suffering and mental

anguish.

d) $500.00 to Ivan Jose Ernesto for suffering and mental

anguish.

e) $500.00 to Ivan Jose Ismael for suffering and mental

anguish.

f) $500.00 to Mildred Dinorah Del Carmen for suffering

and mental anguish.

6. In the appeal filed, the court of first instance is imputed

to have erred:

“A) ... in awarding damages within the labor-manage-

ment context. The court of first instance incurred in serious

manifest error and abused its discretion in finding defendant-

appellant liable for damages obviating the doctrine of exclu-

sive relief designed under Act No. 80 of May 30, 1976, 29

L.P.R.A. Sec. 185(a) et seq. The Court did not have the power

to grant the relief requested because the essential elements for

a cause of action independent of the act of dismissal were not

established.

B) ... in concluding that libelous or slanderous imputa-

tions were made about plaintiff-appellee that constituted

defamation under the Libel and Slander Act of 1902; 32

L.P.R.A. Secs. 3141 et seq. The essential element of publica-

tion to third persons required under the statute was not estab-

lished. In the context within which the allegedly defamatory

communication occurred, it enjoyed restricted privilege.

C) ... in concluding that there was cause of action for

defamation when the element of negligence on the part of

defendant-appellant in the publication of the letter of dis-

missal to plaintiff-appellee [sic] was not established either.

A-66

when no evidence was presented to support the awarding of

the items included in its Judgment. Consequently, they are

excessive and have no causal relationship to the evidence

presented during the trial. Since they are not supported by

the evidence, they constitute an abuse of discretion and denote

prejudice and partiality.

D) ... in judging the evidence contrary to the most

rational, just and legal balance of the totality of the evidence

received, in concluding that plaintiff-appellee had express

authorization to use the company’s vehicle. Another of the

essential elements to a cause of action, that of the falseness

of the publication, was not established.

E) ... in awarding damages to plaintiff-appellee.”

7. It is useful to reiterate what we said in Arroyo v. Rattan

Specialties, Inc., supra, p. 65, to the effect that:

“The fact that the violation of constitutional rights in this

case occurred within the context of the labor-management

relationship and involved a worker hired under employment-

at-will does not imply that the worker has waived his constitu-

tional rights and is impeded from obtaining real and effective

relief that vindicates them. Despite the fact that, as a general

rule, a laborer or worker hired under employment-at-will can

be dismissed for just cause, without cause or for unjustified

cause, and that under these circumstances the only law to aid

him is that provided under Act No. 80 of May 30, 1976; it

is no less true that an exception to this norm is when the dis-

missal is made with the purpose and intention of frustrating

or subverting, or has the effect of frustrating or subverting,

a clear public policy. With respect to employment-at-will con-

tracts, labor legislation has intervened to prevent a dismissed

worker from being totally helpless economically while he seeks

and obtains new employment. Cassasus v. Escambron Beach

Hotel, 888 D.P.R. 375, 379 (1962). Therefore, this legislation

cannot operate to deprive the worker of the appropriate relief

to efficiently vindicate his constitutional rights.” (Annotations

omitted).

A-67

8. Asis known, our Libel and Slander Act of 1902 comes from

North American common law. Chico v. Editorial Ponce, Inc.,

101 D.P.R. 759, 766 (1973); Diaz v. P.R. Ry. LL & P. Co.,

63 D.P.R. 808, 811 (1944). Section 2, 32 L.P.R.A. Sec. 3142,

defines libel as follows:

“Libel is understood to mean malicious defamation made

publicly against a person in writing, print, sign, photo, figure,

effigies or other mechanical means of publication tending to

expose that person to public hatred or scorn, or deprive him

of the benefit of public confidence and social treatment, or

to harm or dishonor him, or other published malicious defa-

mation, as stated above, with the intent of denigrating or

maligning the memory of a dead person and discrediting or

provoking surviving relatives and friends.”

9. It is well to reiterate that these new constitutional elements

that govern our Libel and Slander Act, “even when they have

not repealed it in its entirety, have had the effect of signifi-

cantly modifying it. As an example, we might mention that

doctrines that were developed under the aforementioned act,

such as the doctrine of the presumption of malice, no-fault

liability and the presumption of damages, lack force in our

time.” Villanueva v. Hernandez Class, supra, p. 8702; Torres

Silva v. El Mundo, Inc., supra, p. 423. “That, however,

should not constitute an impediment to our making an effort

to enforce those provisions of our Libel Act that still have

force, keeping in mind the ideal of attaining our own or dis-

tinctly Puerto Rican law more responsive to our needs and

aspirations.” Villanueva, supra, p. 8702, annotation 13.

10. With respect to no-fault liability, this occurs in the fol-

lowing way: if the claimant established that the expression

was libelous per se, then malice was presumed in the publica-

tion; and if the defendant could not prove any of the available

defenses, such as the statutory privilege of secs. 3144 and

3146, then the case ended right there in favor of the plaintiff.

Only, for example, if the defendant established that the

defamatory statement was privileged would the plaintiff have

to prove malice in the publication with independent evidence.

A-68

11. Although the requirement of negligence, not of malice in

publication, is what applies in a private libel action, it is

important, nevertheless, to point out that the spoken or pub-

lished statement must be injurious and defamatory as contem-

plated in Sec. 3142 (32 L.P.R.A.) of the Act: that is, it must

be defamatory with respect to its character and harmful

effects. See Herminio Brau del Toro, Los Danos y Perjuicios

Extracontractuales en Puerto Rico, 2nd Ed., Publicaciones

J.T.S., p. 988.

12. The U.S. Supreme Court determined in Gertz v. Welch,

Inc., supra, that if the claimant were a private person, the

states could draft standards of liability less demanding than

those in New York Times v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254 (1964),

as long as they were not no-fault liability.

It should be pointed out, however, that the decision of the

U.S. Supreme Court in Dun & Bradstreet Inc. v. Greenmoss

Builders Inc., 472 U.S. 749 (1985), raises serious doubts about

the current validity of norm of Gertz, supra, with respect to

imposition of a minimum of liability (e.g., negligence) in cases

in which the plaintiff is a private figure. Legal commentators

in the United States believe that after this case, although it

is not directly resolved, the states can return to the traditional

norm of no-fault liability (Pre-Gertz) in cases in which the

plaintiff is a private figure and the defamatory statement does

not involve a matter of public or general interest. See R.

Smolla, Law of Defamation, Sec. 3.02(5)-.10 (1986); F.

Harper, F. James & O. Gray, The Law of Torts, Sec. 5.0.

pp. 2-24 (1986); Middleton, Employers Face Upsurge in Suits

over Defamation, The Nat'l L.J., May 4, 1987; Comment,

Defamation in the Workplace: The Impact of Increasing

Employer Liability, 72 Marq. L. Rev. 264 (1989); Comment,

American Defamation Law: From Sullivan Through

Greenmoss and Beyond, 48 Ohio St. L.J. 513 (1987); Lewis,

Ottley & Mersol, Defamation and the Workplace: A Survey

of the Law and Proposals for Reform, 54 Mo. L. Rev. 797

(1989); Dun & Bradstreet Inc. v. Greenmoss Builders Inc..,

Does the Actual Malice Standard of Gertz v. Robert Welch,

A-69

Inc. Apply to Speech on Matters of Purely Private Concern?,

14 Pepperdine L. Rev. 337 (1987); 3 Restatement (Second) of

Torts, Sec. 580B (1977). In Puerto Rico, however, we have

retained the requirement of negligence for all actions in which

the claimant is a private person. Gonzalez Martinez, supra,

p. 196.

13. It is understood that the defamatory expression is effected

through any form of “writing, print, sign, photo, figure, effi-

gies or other mechanical means of publication tending to

expose said person to public hatred, ... or to harm him in

his business ...” 32 L.P.R.A. Sec. 3141. In addition, “

[t]o sustain the charge of having published, or libel, it is not

necessary that the words subject of the suit have been read

by any person; sufficient proof of the fact would be that the

accused knowingly left or exposed the libel in such a way that

it could have been read by any other person.” 32 L.P.R.A.

Sec. 3148. In Jimenez v. Diaz, supra, p. 12, we state that “.. .

it is not necessary that the communication be directed to the

person who is the object of the libel, since generally these com-

munications are directed to a different person, and publica-

tion is effected when the latter shows it to a third person.”

14. As an exception to this general rule, the doctrine of “com-

pelled self-publication” has arisen in the labor field. This doc-

trine allows the dismissed employee to satisfy the publication

requirement if, in looking for new employment, he is in any

way obliged to reveal or repeat the reason for his dismissal

(that contains defamatory information) to a prospective

employer and, finally, that the original employer could

foresee that said communication would take place. In this

way, the original employer is liable for the defamation even

though the libelous expression is published to third parties

exclusively by the plaintiff. In this case, it is unnecessary to

express ourselves on whether we adopt said doctrine in this

jurisdiction since the plaintiff did not present any evidence

whatsoever demonstrating that he was obliged to reveal the

reasons for his dismissal when seeking new employment. The

communication, if any, that he had with other possible em-

A-70

ployer is merely speculative. Transcript of Evidence, pp.

38-39. See J. Elias Rivera, op. cit.; Lewis v. Equitable Life

Assurance Society, 389 N.W. 2d 876 (Minn. 1986); McRinney

v. County of Santa Clara, 110 Cal. App. 3d 787, 168 Cal.

Rptr. 89 (1980); Colonial Stores Inc. v. Barrett, 38 S.E. 2d

306 (1946); Grist v. Upjohn Co., 168 N.W. 2d 389 (1969);

Mota, Publication of Allegedly Defamatory Matter by Plain-

tiff (“Self-Publication”) As Sufficient to Support Defamation

Action, 62 A.L.R. 4th 616 and cases cited therein; Langvardt,

Defamation in the Employment Discharge Context: The

Emerging Doctrine of Compelled Self-Publication, 26 Duq.

L.. Rev. 227 (1987); Commentary, Defamation in the Work-

place: The Impact of Increasing Employer Liability, 72 Marq.

L.. Rev. 264 (1989); Smolla, op. cit., Sec. 15.02(3)(a)-(3)(c),

pp. 15-8 through 15-13.

15. See also: Smolla, op. cit., Sec. 15.02(2)(a); Restatement

(Second) of Torts, Sec. 577; Annotation, Defamation: Publi-

cation by Intracorporate Communication of Employee's

Evaluation, 47 A.L.R. 4th 674; Recent Decisions, Tort-Libel

and Slander-Communications Between Employees of. Com-

pany Concerning Company Business Held Sufficient Publica-

tion to Subject Company to Liability, 38 Va. L. Rev. 400

(1952).

16. See also: Commentary: Defamation in the Workplace:

the Impact of Increasing Employer Liability, 72 Marq. L.

Rev. 264 (1989); Annotation, Defamation: Publication by

Intracorporate Communications of Employer's Evaluation, 47

A.L.R. 4th 674; Note, Libel and Slander-Intracorporate Com-

munications as Publications to Third Persons, 33 U. RAN L.

Rev. 759 (1985).

17. As author Rodney Smolla correctly pointed out, under

that doctrine the only intracorporate expression that would

not provide the basis for publication would be a case in which

the libelous statement was made only between the corporate

officer and the employee with no evidence of third persons

present at the meeting or that the defamatory matter had been

A-71

read by other members of the corporation. Smolla, op. cit.,

sec. 15.02(3)(a), p. 15-8.

18. In the cross-examination of plaintiff Ivan Porto, attorney

-

for defendant asked the following:

“ATTY. IRIZARRY:

VU. Very well. Witness, is it true that since your dismissal

from the company you have no information, that is, no

officer, nor executive, nor supervisor nor representative of the

company has been publicly divulging to other people the

reason for your dismissal?

A. I don’t know. If they have done so. I don’t know it, and

if they haven't done so, I don’t know it.

Q. Is it true that up to today the Bentley company has not

sent information to anyone, to any company, entity or person,

in writing or verbally, about the reasons for your dismissal?

ee eee

A. I know, I have no way of knowing what management

is doing up there because really it’s not

Q. You don’t know?

A. No, I don’t know.

eee EK &

VY. Witness, do you know whether any relative of yours,

your wife or your children, know or have information that

(sic) the company, any executives, officers or supervisors have

made statements against you.

ATTY. ALCARAZ (Attorney for plaintiff)

Your Honor, if this is to establish the fact, we'll stipulate

that we have no evidence whatsoever that the company or

management has divulged in any way that he was fired for

stealing property from the company.”

19. In the cross-examination of plaintiff, the following ques-

tions were asked:

A-72

ATTY. IRIZABRY:

Q. When you were given the letter of dismissal, what

persons were present at the meeting?

A. Mr. Luis Berga was there.

Q. What other person, if any, was present besides yourself?

A. At the moment the letter was given? Only he and I were

present, Later Mrs. Lorenzo or Miss Lorenzo came in.

QO. Who came later ...?

A. Elvira Lorenzo.

Q. Is it true that at that time she, Dona Elvira, was in

charge of personnel?

A. Yes, she was ... she was the person at the head of . .

Q. And no one else, apart from yourself and those two

people, were present during the communicaton, eh ... in

which your dismissal was discussed, correct?

A. Yes, that’s right. Transcript of Evidence pages 41 and

42.”

In the direct of Mr. Luis Berga, the lawyer asked the fol-

lowing question:

ATTY. IRIZARRY:

Q. Witness, can you tell us what happened at the time of

the dismissal?

WITNESS:

Yes, that was a Friday afternoon, Mr. Porto was brought

to my office ... we talked about ... exactly about the con-

tents of the letter. We were together talking about this for

three hours ... in part of ... the conversation, Miss Elvira

Alfonso took part, she was the ... Personnel Administrator

and it was about the contents of the letter ...’” Transcript

of Evidence, page 85.

20. Section 3144

“It will not be understood as malicious, nor shall its publi-

cation in any legislative, judicial or other proceeding autho-

rized by law be considered as such. Publication as follows will

not be considered malicious:

One: In the conduct of official duty;

A-73

Two: In fair and true report of judicial, legislative or of fi-

cial proceedings, or any other proceedings, or in anything said

in the course of said proceedings;

Three: To a government official, backed by probable cause,

with the intention of serving the public welfare, or to obtain

relief for harm done to a particular person.”

Sec. 3145.

“Malice will be presumed to exist in any defamatory or slan-

derous writing that is directed to a person other than a relative

to the third degree, or a person the author has under his

guardianship, or when such a comn:unication is exchanged

between persons who have business in the society or other

similar association.”

21. With respect to Sec. 3145, supra, it is important to point

out that the Legislature limited the scope of the restricted

privilege of common law to four classes of communication.

For that reason, this Court is impeded frorn importing other

types of privilege from common law since that task is within

the competence of the Legislature itself. Diaz. supra, pp.

815-816.

CONCURRING OPINION OF

MR. ASSOCIATE JUSTICE ALONSO ALONSO

92 JTS 175

San Juan, Puerto Rico, December 23. 1992

I concur with the results reached in the Majority Opinion

of the Court, but because the plaintiff failed to prove that

defendant was negligent or that there was a causal relation-

ship between this and the alleged harm under the provisions

of Article 1902 of the Puerto Rico Civil Code, 31 LPRA Sec.

5141. Let me explain.

The complaint filed by plaintiff was grounded in Article

1802. The Judgment entered by the court of first instance also

was based on said provision. (See page 7 of the Judgment).

A-74

In this case it is not necessary to resort to the Libel and

Slander Act, 32 L.P.R.A., sec. 3141, et seq., since it deals with

a private person bringing an ordinary action for damages

against his employer, an action we have authorized in Rivera

v. Security Nat. Life Ins. Co., 1206 D.P.R. 517, p. 527 (1977)

in actions brought in relation to Act No. 80 of May 30, 1976,

29 L.P.R.A. sec. 185a - 1851. Once again the majority of this

Court incorrectly resorts to the Libel and Slander Act to settle

an action covered under Art. 1802 of the Puerto Rico Civil

Code.

In Mendez Arocho v. El Vocero res. June 29, 1992, 92 JTS

94 (dissenting opinion by Mr. Associate Justice Alonso Alonso)

we censured this practice of confining these damages actions

to those already surpassed precepts of the Libel and Slander

Act of 1902, obviating the reason to sue defendants under

Article 1802 of the Civil Code. In that case, citing the words

of Professor Serrano Geyls, we pointed out that the modern

tendency of this Court was to adjudicate cases under the

applicable constitutional doctrines and Art. 1802 of the Civil

Code. Today, once again this Court adjudicates the claim

before it under the precepts of the 1902 Act, outside our civil

legal system.

On the basis of the foregoing, it is

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.