Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Garcia v. Spun Steak Co

Supreme Court brief1994

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

In the Supreme Court

OF THE

United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1993

PRISCILLA M. GARCIA, MARICELA BUITRAGO, and

LocaL 115,

UNITED Foop AND COMMERCIAL WORKERS

INTERNATIONAL UNION, AFL-CIO,

Petitioners,

VS.

SPUN STEAK COMPANY,

A California Corporation,

Respondent.

On Petition For a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

EDWARD M. CHEN

Counsel of Record

AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION

FOUNDATION OF NORTHERN

CALIFORNIA

1663 Mission Street, Suite 460

San Francisco, California 94103

Telephone: (415) 621-2493

CHRISTOPHER Hit WILLIAM H. Orrick, III

THE EMPLOYMENT LAW CENTER, COBLENTZ, CAHEN, MCCABE &

A Project of the Legal Aid Society BREYER

of San Francise> 222 Kearny Street, 7th Floor

1663 Missior Sweet, Suite 400 San Francisco, California 94108

San Francisco. California 94103 Telephone: (415) 391-4800

Telephone: (415) 864-8848

Counsel for Petitioners

BOWNE OF SAN FRANCISCO. INC. « 343 SANSOME ST + SF..CA 94104 + (415) 362-2300

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Did the Ninth Circuit err in striking duwn a

well-reasoned, long-standing, and consistently applied EEOC

Guideline on speak-English-only rules by substituting its ~alicy

views for the EEOC’s expertise and experience?

2. Did the Nine: Circuit err in holding that one’s

ability to comply with a discriminatory term or condition of

employment forecloses a claim under Title VII?

3. Did the Ninth Circuit err in light of Harris v,

Forklift Systems in holding that a plant-wide speak-English-cnly

rule can never create a hostile working environment absent an

accompanying pattern of national origin discrimination or

draconian enforcement?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page(s)

GUS Tee PCD 5 he Re ees i

SA OP MU CEE 60SEC ERS PRG ees Vv

\ OPINIONS AND ORDERS BELOW .. 0... cccvccen. l

PSUS oi ea ech ¥ ee ee erk tas ceeeen l

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED ............ 2

STATEAGEING GE TG fc tt cece eeeeweweee 2

A. How the Federal Question Was Presented. .. . 2

B. I re es oats oe lee 2

c. The Proceedings Below ............-- 5

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ......... -

I, THE COURT SHOULD GRANT

CERTIORARI BECAUSE THE NINTH

CIRCUIT’S REFUSAL TO DEFER TO A

LONGSTANDING AND CONSISTENTLY

APPLIED GUIDELINE OF THE EEOC

CONFLICTS WITH THE DECISIONS OF

Be ee Se ee ee 9

A. The Ninth Circuit Failed to Adhere

to the Analysis of Administrative

Deference Established By

po rr eee re 9

B. Under Either ARAMCO or

Commercial Office Products, The

English-Only Guideline is Entitled

‘Wel EE 6 2 ha ww ees 11

II.

II.

TABLE OF CONTENTS - continued

Page(s)

1. The Guideline Is Entitled

To Deference Under

2. The Guideline Is Entitled

To Deference Under

Commercial Office

THE COURT SHOULD GRANT

CERTIORARI TO RESOLVE A

CONFLICT AMONG THE CIRCUITS

AS TO THE PROPER STANDARD OF

DEFERENCE APPLICABLE TO THE

CS PO ee ee ee 17

THIS COURT SHOULD GRANT

CERTIORARI BECAUSE THE NINTH

CIRCUIT’S REJECTION OF THE

LONGSTANDING EEOC GUIDELINE ON

SPEAK ENGLISH-ONLY RULES

DISRUPTS EFFECTIVE ADMINISTRATION

OF TITLE VII ON AN ISSUE OF GREAT

AND GROWING IMPORTANCE. ...... 19

A. The Guideline Addresses An

Important National Issue Which Is

Certain To Recur With Increasing

real Waele eae ae 6s 0's 19

B. The Ninth Circuit’s Rejection of the

Guideline Will Substantially Impair

the Ability of the EEOC to Enforce

Ts aa heb e446 6 608 ws 21

TABLE OF CONTENTS - continued

Page(s)

IV. THIS COURT SHOULD GRANT

CERTIORARI BECAUSE THE NINTH

CIRCUIT’S HOLDING THAT ONE

CANNOT CLAIM DISCRIMINATION IF

HE OR SHE CAN "READILY COMPLY"

WITH AN OBJECTIONABLE TERM OR

CONDITION IS AT ODDS WITH

FUNDAMENTAL ANTI-DISCRIMINATION

PRINCIPLES AND PROFOUNDLY LIMITS

THE REACH OF TITLE VII. ......... 23

V. | THIS COURT SHOULD GRANT

CERTIORARI AND REVERSE OR, AT A

MINIMUM, REMAND FOR

RECONSIDERATION IN LIGHT OF

HARRIS v, FORKLIFT SYSTEMS

BECAUSE THE NINTH CIRCUIT APPLIED

AN IMPROPER STANDARD FOR

ASSESSING HOSTILE WORKING

ENVIRONMENTS. ......0scccceees 26

eo re ee ere ee ere 29

RE ods Fay ex es Oba See eee la

oo ee ee ee er 20a

SR Er 4 626 e'cates bee e ae eu a keer aes 34a

a ie a 2 wo od ow ee ed Oe 40a

i i RE ECE CT ETE ECT SET ECS 43a

iv

Ve

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page(s)

CASES

I i

Allen vy. Lovejoy,

op ee rr 24

carroll v. Tal ny ere ee

Chicago,

604 F.2d 1078 (7th Cir. 1979),

cert. denied, 445 U.S. 929 (1980)................. 24

Castro v, Beecher

334 F. Supp. 930 (D. Mass. 1971),

aff'd in part, rev’d in part, 459 F.2d 725 (ist Cir. 1972) .. 16

Chevron U.S.A, v. Natural Resources Defense Council,

TGS. GD... : «0. 0sc0ssss se 16, 17, 18

SF 20 1407 Grd Ci 19). r

626 F.2d 659 (9th Cir. 1980).................... 15

1993 WL 492340, fn.4 (10th Cir. 1993) ............. 18

715 F. Supp. 338 (C.D.Cal. 1991) ............ 20

499 U.S. 244(1991) ......... -... 9, 10, 11, 12, 17, 18

Page(s)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - continued

a 9

te & 9, 10, 11, 15, 17, 18

EEQC v, Sage Realty Corp.,

Sar F. Saee. FPP G.D.N.Y. 1981)... cee 24

0 OS De 7,9, 10, 11, 15

Estate of Reynolds v, Martin,

985 F.2d 470 (9th Cir. 1993)...............00004 18

Garcia, et al. v. Spun Steak Co,,

998 F.2d 1480 (9th Cir. 1993) . 1, 7, 8, 10, 16, 23, 24, 25, 26

Garcia, et al. v. Spun Steak Co,, No. 91-16733

rehearing denied, slip op. 14479,

1993 U.S. App. LEXIS 33530 .......... 1, 8, 22, 24, 25

GS 9, 17, 23

Griggs v. Duke Power Co.,

ED twee c ce eveeueees 9 18

Guti Municipal Court.

838 F.2d 1031 (9th Cir. 1988),

rehearing en banc denied, 861 F.2d 1187 (1988),

vacated as moot, 490 U.S. 1016 (1989) .......... 14, 20

__US. _, 114 S.Ct. 367,

126 L. Ed. 2d 295 (1993) ............... 9, 26, 27, 28

Page(s)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - continued

292 U.S. 614 (1934) ...... cae ee eee kee 27

Hernandez v. New York,

__ U.S. __ 111 S.Ct. 1859,

114 L. Ed. 2d 395 (1991) ................. 13, 14, 15

Hernandez v, Texas,

Be Ws PD on ven cweeccovccvecceseuean 15

fac} Richards Medical Co..

961 F.2d 575 (6th Cir. 1992).................... 18

John Nuveen & Co, v, Sandezs,

MP PE occ tee wwecescscue nuns 28

813 F.2d 1406 (9th Cir. 1987)................ 20, 25

Kirwan v, Romano,

GED Wie PT 5 ccc ccc ccc ccceccceepeen 28

Laffey v, Northwest Airlines, Inc.,

567 F.2d 429 (D.C. Cir. 1976) .................. 24

Laing vy. ULS.,

Oe ee TE og hk ovo ee cv ed eee emda een. 21

Lau v, Nichols,

a 15

nts,

Pe ee os oc cn we hoe edec nae. 24

477 U.S. 57 (1986) ........ EEE an Nob Pets 27

Page(s)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - continued

Mill Beneficial M —a

977 F.2d 834 (3d Cir. 1992) ................00.. 18

Mi Mining C — Wood Co..

IS eee ae ae ee nee ree 19

Nashville Gas Co, vy. Satty >

sn es be a 23

Philbi G | Electric Capital / bile | “a

pe ke, Le | ee 18

Reich v. Parker Fire P ton District

992 F.2d 1023 (10th Cir. 1993) .................. 18

Rogers v, EEOC,

454 F.2d 234 (Sth Cir. 1971), cert. denied,

cs Ce eucceccceecns 11, 26

Rothensies v, Electric Battery Co.,

sr eh ae ke 21

Rowe vy. Sullivan >

967 F.2d 186 th Cir. 1992)... wc cc cee 18

Saucedo v. Brothers Well Service ’

464 F. Supp. 919 (S.D. Tex. 1979) ............. 20, 21

Saxbe v, Washington Post Co. >

ee a viele ewewe 19

Silver v. KCA, Inc, >

Ee a 11

Skid Swift & Co.

ere 17, 23

Vili

Page(s)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - continued

sara date am) ee ee ee, 18

MAUR SUID) occ ccccccccccccceaceees ‘6

Ty ye 7

Voeel v.. Cley of C3 ,

959 F.2d 594 (6th Cir. 1992), cert. denied, U.S. _,

as cane ee 6: glee Te

STATUTES

RT RSet ew cues 1

ss ts he wa ee Pe 2

eee CTE a oe re ee 1

Civil Rights Act of 1964,

ps oa ao a ee es ee ee passim

RULES OF THE SUPREME COURT

OF THE UNITED STATES

i a re 8 el 1

ADMINISTRATIVE AUTHORITIES

45 Fed. Reg. 85632

I Ss St got 6 tee woe oa 12, 19

Page(s)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - continued

EEOC Guidelines on Discrimination

Because Of National Origin,

BP ae ee ED 6 or eo ob eee racaees passim

EEOC Compliance Manual, Vol. ff ................ 12

EEOC Dec. AU7-2-88 (1967) (unreported) .......... 12

EEOC Dec. 71-446 (CCH),

Pas. Gira. o Pee Ge CEaT CEP OEe 60 00:6 be EN ees 12

EEOC Dec. 72-0281 (CCH),

Para. 6293, 1971 LEXIS 8 (1971) .............-4.. 12

EEOC Dec. 73-479,

Sete es TED cc ciceveeevescéecean

EEOC Dec. 81-25, 27 FEP 1820 (1981) ............. 21

EEOC Dec. 83-7, 31 FEP 1861 (1983).............. 21

OTHER AUTHORITIES

jie 2 |). Be eee 15

137 Cong. Rec. $15437 - $15489

(daily ed. Oct. 30, 1991)

(remarks of Sens. DeConcini and Kenned*) .......... 16

Comment, "Native-Born Acadians and the Equality Ideal,"

2) ee A 14, 16

Note, "A Trait-Based Approach to National Origin Claims

Under Title VII,”

Pe et is ee DE REED 6 0.4.0 0.46 4 0 we wieie eee 15, 16, 26

a

Page(s)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - continued

Note, "English-Only Rules, and ‘Innocent’ Employers:

Clarifying National Origin Discrimination and Disparate

Impact Theory Under Title VII,"

74 Minn. L. Rey. 387 (1989).........--0 eevee:

Perea, "Demography and Distrust: An Essay on American

Languages, Cultural Pluralism, and Official English,"

77 Minn. L. Rey. 269 (1992)... 1... ee eee eee eee

Gall Research, Statistical Record of Asian Americans

128 (S. Gall & T. Gall eds., 1993) ..........54.--

Numbers and Needs, Ethnic and Linguistic Minorities

in the United States, (July, 1993)

22 & errr yr er Tree eee ere

O’Hare, William P., “America’s Minorities --

the Demographics of Diversity," Population Bulletin,

Vol. 47, No. 4 (Washington, D.C.: Population Reference

Boren, Ens., Wes. TRAD cc ccccccsccesccsevess

Population Division, Bureau of the Census,

Pub. No. CPH-L-133, “Language Spoken at Home and

Ability to Speak English for the United States,

Regions and States" (1990) ......... 5c eee eens

Snow, Catherine E. and Hakuta, Kenji,

"The Costs of Monolingualism” in Crawford, ed.,

Language Loyalties: A Source Book on the Official

Declaration of Guadalupe Valdés, Ph.D., in Opposition

to Defendant’s Motion for Summary Judgment, filed

September 20, 1991 in Garcia, et al. v. Spun Steak

Co,, U.S.D.C., N.D. Cal., No. C-91-1949 RHS, p.3

. 20

. 6, 13

Page(s)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - continued

NEWS ARTICLES

"A Month of Rancor,” Sacramento Bee,

July 19, 1993, at Al4 ....... at aPC 20

Burleson, "Taco Bell Forms Policy on Language,” The

ee ee ee 20

Dawson, "English Only at Coffee Break,” Calgary Herald,

ae tak wig Sie .0 es 9 20

"Foreign Languages - How Would You Say ‘Good Law’ in

Tagalog?” Seattle Times, September 24, 1990, atA6 ..... 20

Henry, "Fighting Words," Los Angeles Times,

a A ee ee 21

"Hispanic Rips English-only Hospital Policy,"

Houston Chronicle, July 3, 1992, atA44 ............ 20

"In Court: A Summary of Southern California-Related

Business Litigation Developments During the Past Week,"

Los Angeles Times, June 18, 1990, atD2............ 20

"In Court,” Los Angeles Times,

SO a ED cee ewe erste re teases 20

Ingwerson, "English-Only Laws: How Broad?"

Christian Science Monitor, November 29, 1988, at3 ..... 20

McLeod, “Census Finds Many Speak Foreign Language

at Home,” San Francisco Chronicle, p. A3

Se rae a ea ob wh ad) 6 ee 2% 19

Page(s)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - continued

Mydans, "Pressure for English-Only Job Rules Stirring

a Sharp Debate Across U.S." Los Angeles Times,

June 18, 1990, at D2... 10... eee ee ee eens 20

Nichols, "The English-Only Movement Legitimizes Attacks

on Brotherhood and Tolerance,” Mah AAT,

February 19, 1989, PartS at5 2... 0. eee eee eres 20

Perea, "Speaking Spanish Shouldn't Get You Fired,"

Legal Times, September 17, 1990, at26......---+---- 20

"Salvation Army Worker Files Discrimination Suit,”

Washington Times, December 21, 1989, ) ae ule

Sanchez, Howe, "Three Employees Allege Bias On Language;

Bank Said to Have Issued Ban on Speaking Spanish,”

Washington Post, February 23, 1993, atBl.........-. 20

"Suit Challenges English-only Rule at Vista Firm,”

Los Angeles Times, August 23, 1991, at ) oee re 20

Yang, "In Any Language, It’s Unfair," Business Week,

June 21, 1993, at 110-111 2... 1. ee ee es 20

Petitioners Priscilla M. Garcia, Maricela Buitrago, and

Local 115, United Food and Commercial Workers International

Union, AFL-CIO, respectfully petition for a writ of certiorari to

review the judgment and opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Ninth Circuit in this case.

OPINIONS AND ORDERS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Ninth Circuit, and the dissent therefrom of Circuit Judge Robert

Boochever, is reported at Garcia, et al. v, Spun Steak Co, ("Spun

Steak"), 998 F.2d 1480 (9th Cir. 1993) and reproduced in

Appendix A, infra. Petitioners sought rehearing en banc. Over

Judge Boochever’s dissent, the panel denied the petition. The full

court was advised of the suggestion for rehearing on en banc, but

the matter failed to receive a majority of the votes of the non

recused active judges. Circuit Judge Stephen Reinhardt dissented

from the denial of rehearing en banc. The orders denying the

petition and the dissent therefrom, filed October 29, 1993, are

reported at Spun Steak, No. 91-16733, slip op. 14479, 1993 U.S.

App. LEXIS 33530 (9th Cir. 1993) and are reproduced in

Appendix B, infra. The unpublished order and judgment granting

summary judgment to petitioners in the United States District

Court for the Northern District of California (Schnacke, Robert

H., J.) are reproduced in Appendix C, infra.

JURISDICTION

The jurisdiction of this Court to review the judgment of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit by writ of

certiorari is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1). On October 29,

1993, the Court of Appeals denied a timely petition for rehearing

and suggestion for rehearing en banc of its opinion filed July 16,

1993, which reversed an order of the United States District Court

for the Northern District of California granting petitioners’ motion

for summary judgment. This petition was timely filed within

ninety days of that date as required by 28 U.S.C. § 2101(c); Sup.

Ct. R. 12, 13.

ee eres ae aa OE a TT a

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended, 42 U.S.C. §

2000e, and the Guidelines on Discrimination Because Of National

Origin of the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission, 29

C.F.R. §§ 1606.1-1606.8, are reproduced in relevant parts in

Appendix D, infra.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. How the Federal Question Was Presented.

The jurisdiction of the district court was invoked under

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended, 42 U.S.C.

§ 2000e, et seg., and under 28 U.S.C. § 1331.

B. Statement of Facts.

Priscilla M. Garcia worked for 19 years as a production

line worker for Spun Steak Company ("Spun"), a meat processing

firm located in South San Francisco, California. Maricela

Buitrago has worked for Spun for nearly 10 years, also as a

production line worker. As production line workers, Garcia and

Buitrago stand before a conveyor belt, remove poultry or other

meat products from the belt and place the product into cases or

trays for resale. Their work is done individually and not in teams.

They have no contact with the public.

Local 115 of the United Food and Commercial Workers

International Union, AFL-CIO ("Local 115"),' is the collective

bargaining agent for Garcia, Buitrago, and the other production

line workers at Spun.

Spun employs approximately 30 workers, the majority of

whom are Latino and Spanish-speaking. Virtually all of the

Spanish speakers are Latino. Some speak only Spanish. While

many are bilingual in Spanish and English, Spanish is the primary

native language for most, like Buitrago.

: Since the filing of this action, Local 115 has been redesignated as Local

101.

Until the speak English-only rule at issue was imposed by

Spun, Latino employees freely spoke Spanish to their co-workers

during work hours. Spun concedes that no employee has ever

been injured at its plant because Spanish was spoken. Nor is there

any documented record of a decrease in worker productivity as a

result of employees speaking Spanish.

The use of the Spanish language amongst Spun’s Latino

workers has both practical and subjective importance. Garcia is

bilingual in Spanish and English. Buitrago is also bilingual, but is

dominant in Spanish and is more proficient in her native Spanish

than in English. Buitrago explained the importance of her native

language:

I am of Salvadoran national origin. My primary

language is Spanish. I am able to converse in

English as well; however, | am more proficient in

Spanish. The ability to speak Spanish is an

important part of my ethnic and cultural identity.

Garcia explained that "depending upon the people with whom I am

working, I will either use English or Spanish, whichever is more

efficient to communicate with them until the problem is resolved.

Most of the conversation that occurs is of a casual, non-work-

related nature in both English and Spanish.”

On October 2, 1990, Spun imposed a plant-wide policy

requiring all of its workers to speak only English while at work.

The rule was purportedly imposed because three employees had

accused Garcia and Buitrago of making offensive remarks about

them in Spanish (as well as in English).

At the same time, Spun initiated a policy prohibiting the

use of offensive speech at work (in any language). Significantly,

2 Ironically, these allegations arose in the course of an investigation of a

claim of sexual harassment made by Buitrago. Buitrago complained to the owner

about the sexually offensive conduct of a fellow employee. In response, the

employee accused Buitrago of calling him ethnically offensive names in English

and Spanish. Rather than further investigating the claim of sexual harassment,

the company conducted an investigation into the allegations of offensive speech.

Two or three other employees thereupon accused Buitrago of making other

offensive remarks.

the latter policy proved effective; it has not been violated since its

issuance. In addition, Spun physically separated Garcia and

Buitrago in their work assignments, thus minimizing conversation

between them while on duty. Despite the effectiveness of these

narrowly tailored measures, Spun insisted on the English-only rule,

a rule which applied to al] conversations by ali employees

irrespective of the content of the conversation.

In the months following, Garcia and Buitrago were

formally reprimanded on several occasions for speaking Spanish to

other co-workers. Buitrago described an instance when the rule

was enforced:

On November 30, 1990, a production problem

occurred further up the line. When the steaks

reached our area, they were stuck together and

could not be packaged in that form. My

coworkers and I discussed the problem in Spanish.

At that time, Kenneth Bertelsen [the president of

Spun and one of its owners] yelled at me in front

of my coworkers and chastised me for using

Spanish. When I complained that his treatment

was unfair, he jabbed at me with his finger and

told me to "go back to your own country” if |

wanted to speak Spanish. ...

Garcia described another incident:

On June 5, 1991, the day prior to the EEOC’s

scheduled visit, Kenneth Bertelsen reprimanded me

for using Spanish in a casual conversation with a

co-worker, Connie Salazar, whose English ability

is very limited. He yelled at me that "this is my

house, and I only want English here,” causing me

to feel nervous and stressed.

On May 6, 1991, Garcia, Buitrago, and Local 115 filed

charges of national origin discrimination with the Equal

Employment Opportunity Commission ("EEOC"). The EEOC

subsequently found there was reasonable cause to believe that

Spun’s English-only policy and retaliatory actions against Garcia

4

and Buitrago violated Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964.

Spun refused to conciliate the charges.

Cc. The Proceedings Below.

On June 26, 1991, Garcia, Buitrago and Local 115 filed a

complaint in the U.S. District Court alleging, inter alia, that

Spun’s English-only policy constituted national origin

discrimination in violation of Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of

1964, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2 under disparate impact theory.’

Plaintiffs relied in the first instance upon § 1606.7 of the

EEOC Guidelines on Discrimination Because of National Origin,

29 C.F.R. § 1606.1, ef seg. to establish their prima facie case.

Under § 1606.7, entitled “Speak-English-only rules" (the

"Guideline" ), a rule requiring that employees speak only in English

must be shown by the employer to be justified by business

necessity.* The Guideline, in effect, presumes that a speak

English-only rule — by prohibiting employees from speaking their

primary language or the language they speak most comfortably,

and thereby creating an atmosphere of inferiority, isolation and

intimidation — constitutes a burdensome term and condition of

employment which has a disparate adverse impact upon national

> The complaint also alleged sexual harassment of Buitrago, various

pendent state claims, including a claim of employment discrimination on the basis

of national origin under cognate provisions of California state law, and various

tort claims. The District Court refused to assert pendent jurisdiction over tie

state tort law claims, and dismissed without prejudice Buitrago’s sexual

harassment claim.

: Section 1606.7(a) states, “A rule requiring employees to speak only

English at all times in the workplace is a burdensome term and condition of

employment. The primary language of an individual is often an essential nationai

origin characteristic. Prohibiting employees at all times, in the workplace, from

speaking their primary language or the language they speak most comfortably,

disadvantages an individual's employment opportunities on the basis of national!

origin. It may also create an atmosphere of inferiority, isolation and intimidation

based on national origin which could result in a discriminatory working

environment. Therefore, the Commission will presume that such a rule violates

Title VII and will closely scrutinize it." Section 1606.7(b) states, “An employer

may have a rule requiring that employees speak only in English at certain umes

where the employer can show that the rule is justified by business necessity.”

5

Origin minorities.

Plaintiffs additionally argued that irrespective of the

Guideline, Spun’s English-only rule in fact had an adverse impact

upon its Latino workers. Plaintiffs presented percipient witness

testimony and expert evidence that the rule impaired expression

and communication between Latino employees whose native and

dominant language is Spanish, as well as that of those who are

fully bilingual. The evidence also described the importance of

language to ethnic and cultural identity, particularly within the

Latino community.’

In response to plaintiffs’ prima facie case, Spun argued the

English-only rule was necessary to prevent offensive speech by

Spanish speakers. This was despite the fact that the allegations of

the misuse of Spanish concerned only two employees, that the

allegedly offensive speech had taken place in English as well as

Spanish, and that any problem was effectively remedied by the

implementation of a rule prohibiting the use of offensive remarks

in any language against co-workers. Spun also asserted that its

English-only rule was necessary for safety reasons even though

Spanish had been spoken for years without incident and production

workers have little need to converse in teams. Spun presented no

evidence that casual conversations between workers in their

primary language creates a greater safety problem when that

primary language is Spanish rather than English.

The parties filed cross-motions for summary judgment. On

October 4, 1991, the District Court granted summary judgment in

’ Guadalupe Valdés, Professor of Education at the Graduate School of

Education at the University of California, Berkeley, explained:

[S}tudies of the relationship between Spanish language and ethnic

identity among Hispanics have clearly shown that Hispanics view

lariguage as an intrinsic aspect of their ethnicity. Denying individuals

from those communities the right to use their primary language or the

native language of their ancestors deprives them of their right to affirm

their culture, express their identity, and inevitably demeans their ethnic

heritage.

Declaration of Guadalupe Valdés, Ph.D., in Opposition to Defendant's Motion

for Summary Judgment, filed September 20, 1991 in Garcia, et al. v. Spun Steak

Co. U.S.D.C., N.D. Cal., No. C-91-1949 RHS, p.3.

6

favor of plaintiffs, finding that Spun’s English-only rule had a

discriminatory impact upon Latino workers which could not be

justified by business necessity, and thus violated Title VII.

Describing the English-only rule as overbroad and unnecessary, the

District Court likened it to “hitting a flea with a sledge hammer."

Spun timely filed a notice of appeal to the United States

Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit. The EEOC filed an

amicus curiae brief in support of Garcia, Buitrago and Local 115,

as it did in the District Court, and participated in oral argument.

The matter was argued aud submitted on November 3, 1992. In

its opinion on July 16, 1993, the Ninth Circuit, in a two-to-one

decision, reversed the District Court’s grant of summary judgment,

and ordered that summary jud,ment be entered in defendant's

favor except as to those employees who spoke no English.

Acknowledging that the effect of the rule was felt

disproportionately by those of Hispanic origin, the Ninth Circuit

held the policy had no “significant” adverse effect upon bilingual

Hispanic employees, rejecting plaintiffs’ prima facie showing as a

matter of law. The court found that the English-only rule did not

impair expression and communication, even by those whose

primary language is Spanish, because bilingual employees with

even minimal English proficiency “can readily comply with the

English-only rule and still enjoy the privilege of speaking on the

job, . . ." Spun Steak, 998 F.2d at 1487. According to the

Court, the English-only rule “merely inconvenienced” bilingual

employees. Spun Steak, 998 F.2d at 1488.

Furthermore, the Ninth Circuit overturned the Guideline,

noting that deference is not afforded to the EEOC’s “administrative

construction of a statute where there are ‘compelling indications

that it is wrong."” Spun Steak, 998 F.2d at 1489, quoting

Espinoza v. Farah Mfg. Co,, Inc., 414 U.S. 86, 94 (1973).

However, unable to cite anything in the specific language of Title

VII or legislative history constituting such a “compelling

indication,” the Ninth Circuit reasoned conclusorily that the

Guideline’s presumption of a disparate impact contravened the

general balance struck by Congress between “preventing

disc,imination and preserving the independence of the employer."

Spun Steak, 998 F.2d at 1490.

Judge Boochever dissented from the panel majority's

rejection of the Guideline, praierting to defer to the EEOC’s

7

expertise in its conclusion that English-only rules may "create an

atmosphere of inferiority, isolation and intimidation based on

_ national origin which could result in a discriminatory working

environment.” Spun Steak, 998 F.2d at 1490 (Boochever, J.,

dissenting in part), quoting 29 C.F.R. § 1606.7(a).

On July 30, 1993, plaintiffs timely filed a petition for

rehearing and suggestion for rehearing en banc. On October 29,

1993, the Ninth Circuit issued an order denying the petition for

rehearing over Judge Boochever’s dissent. The suggestion for

rehearing en banc was also denied. Judge Reinhardt filed a

lengthy dissent therefrom (jee Appendix B), concluding that the

decision

disrupts the uniform national application of an

important EEOC Guideline, drastically handicaps

the agency’s ability to adopt other Guidelines,

distorts or ignores Ninth Circuit caselaw in a

highly sensitive area, and allows two of its judges

to substitute their policy views regarding the

subject of national-origin discrimination for the

EEOC’s experienced, reasoned and expert

judgment.

Garcia et al. v. Spun Steak, No. 91-16733, slip op. 14479, 14492-

14493, 1993 U.S. App. LEXIS 33530 (9th Cir. 1993) (Reinhardt,

J., dissenting from denial of rehearing en banc).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

Certiorari is warranted because of the Ninth Circuit's

erroneous refusal, contrary to this Court’s precedents, to defer to

a longstanding Guideline of the EEOC relating to “speak-English-

only” rules. This Court’s guidance is also necessary to resolve the

conflict between the circuits on the deference question -- a conflict

which gave rise to the error in question ~— and to ensure the

effective administration of Title VII on an issue of growing

national importance. Furthermore, the court below radically

rewrites established Title VII jurisprudence so as to legitimate al!

employer practices, no matter how discriminatory, so long as an

employee can “readily comply” therewith. Finally, this Court

should grant certiorari to correct the Ninth Circuit’s misconception

of “hostile working environment” analysis in light of Harris v.

Forklift Systems, U.S. __, 114. S.Ct. 367, 126 L.Ed.2d 295

(1993).

I. THE COURT SHOULD GRANT CERTIORARI

BECAUSE THE NINTH CIRCUIT’S REFUSAL TO

DEFER TO A LONGSTANDING AND

CONSISTENTLY APPLIED GUIDELINE OF THE

EEOC CONFLICTS WITH THE DECISIONS OF

THIS COURT.

A. The Ninth Circuit Failed to Adhere to the

Analysis of Administrative Deference

Established By This Court.

It is axiomatic that guidelines of the EEOC “constitute ‘the

administrative interpretation of [Title VII] by the enforcing

agency,’ and consequently they are ‘entitled to great deference.’”

, 422 U.S. 405, 431 (1975),

quoting Griggs v. Duke Power Co,, 401 U.S. 424, 433-434

(1971). The standard relating to the degree of deference due has

been stated variously by the Court. See, ¢.g., Espinoza v. Farah

Mfg. Co. ("Espinoza"), 414 U.S. 86, 94 (1973) (EEOC guideline

entitled to deference unless “there are compelling indications that

it is wrong"); EEOC v, Associated Dry Goods Corp., 449 U.S.

590, 600 n.17 (1981) (particular deference due to contemporaneous

and stable construction by EEOC); EEOC v, Commercial Office

Products Co, ("Commercial Office Products”), 486 U.S. 107, 1!5

(1988) ("EEOC’s interpretation of Title VII, for which it has

primary enforcement responsibility, need not be the best one by

grammatical or any other standards. Rather, the EEOC’s

interpretation of ambiguous language need only be reasonable to

be entitled to deference"); EEOC y, Arabian American Oil Co,

(“ARAMCOQ"), 499 U.S. 244, 257 (1991) (deference to EEOC

interpretation depends upon the “thoroughness evident in its

consideration, the validity of its reasoning, its consistency with

earlier and later pronouncements, and all those actors which give

it power to persuade . . ."), quoting General Electric Co, v,

Gilbert ("Gilbert"), 429 U. S. 125, 142 (1976).

9

In rejecting the Guideline herein, the Ninth Circuit failed

to adhere to either of the court’s most recent decisions on the

subject, ARAMCO and Commercial Office Products. The panel

majority disregarded virtually every factor articulated by this Court

as germane to the analysis of deference to an EEOC Guideline.

The court did not find that the Guideline conflicted with the plain

language of Title VII,° nor did it follow a “long-standing

principle of American law" supplying a rule of statutory

construction contrary to the result reached by the EEOC. (Cf.

ARAMCO, 499 U.S. at 248. It did not find that the Guideline

conflicted with specific Congressional intent on the subject as

found in the legislative history or related statutes, as it conceded

there was none.’ Cf. Espinoza, supra, 414 U.S. at 91. Nor did

it find that the position embodied in the Guideline was

"inconsistent with earlier and later pronouncements” of the EEOC,

or that the EEOC’s consideration of the matter lacked

"thoroughness". ARAMCO, supra, 499 U.S. at 257.

Instead, the Ninth Circuit simply stated that "Congress

intended a balance be struck in preventing discrimination and

preserving the independence of the employer,” citing in support the

general remark made on the House floor during the debate on Title

VII by a single Representative that:

management prerogatives, and union freedoms are

to be left undisturbed to the greatest extent

possible. Internal affairs of employers and labor

Organizations must not be interfered with except to

the limited extent that correction is required in

discrimination practices.

Spun Steak, 998 F.2d at 1489-90 (Statement of William M.

McCulloch, et al., H.R.Rep. No. 914, 88 Cong., 2d Sess (1964)).

Based solely on this general remark -- hardly reflective of “an

. It merely found that "[nJothing in the plain language of section 703(a)(1)

[of Title V°I] supports EEOC’s English-only rule Guideline.” Spun Steak, 998

F.2d at 1429.

7 "Indeed, nowhere in the legislative history is there a discussion of

English-only policies at all.” Spun Steak, 998 F.2d at 1490.

10

obvious Congressional intent" to the contrary, Espinoza, 414 U.S.

at 94 — the Ninth Circuit leapt to the conclusory holding that the

Guideline’s presumption of adverse impact somehow contravenes

that balance.

This Court has never relied on such grossly general, let

alone nonexistent, expressions of legislative intent to reject

wholesale an established Guideline of the EEOC. In contrast to

the careful treatment of deference that has characterized this

Court’s decisions, the Ninth Circuit’s analysis is wholly

standardless, anchored to nothing in the specific language,

structure, or legislative history of Title VII. The panel majority’s

reasoning gives carte blanche to any federal court to reject any

guideline of the EEOC - or that of any other agency — through

the exercise of undisciplined judicial fiat.

B. Under Either ARAMCO or Commercial Office

Products, The English-Only Guideline Is

Entitled To Deference.

Had the Ninth Circuit properly applied this Court’s most

recent pronouncements in either ARAMCO or Commercial Office

Products, it would have deferred to the English-only Guideline.

1. ideli itl fi

ARAMCO.

The Guideline more than satisfies the test for deference

under the criteria articulated in ARAMCO. First, there is great

"thoroughness evident in its consideration." ARAMCO, supra,

499 U.S. at 257. In 1980, the EEOC engaged in a comprehensive

review and revision of its Guidelines on Discrimination Because of

National Origin. As part of that revision, the proposed Guideline

on Speak-English-only rules was subject to public notice and

* Its cramped interpretation of Title VII contravenes the well-established

principle that Title VII "must be construed liberally in order to effect the broad

remedial purpose of Congress ‘to eliminate the inconvenience, unfairness, and

humiliation of ethnic discrimination."” Silver vy. KCA, Inc., 586 F.2d 138, 141

(9th Cir. 1978), guoting Rogers v, REOC, 454 F.2d 234, 238 (Sth Cir. 1971),

cert. denied, 406 U.S. 957 (1972).

11

i

comment prior to its issuance. 45 Fed. Reg. 85632 (December 29,

1980) (to be codified at 29 C.F.R. pt. 1606). During the comment

period, the Commission received and considered approximately

250 comments from individuals, civil rights organizations, business

associations, educational institutions, and public and private

employers. Many of them focused specifically on the English-only

Guideline. [bid.

The thoroughness of the EEOC’s consideration of the issue

is underscored by the fact that, subsequent to its issuance of the

Guideline, then-EEOC Chairman Clarence Thomas issued a

comprehensive compliance manual to facilitate its enforcement.

See “EEOC Compliance Manual, Vol. I], EEOC Order 915:

Section 623, Speak-English Only Rules and Other Language

Policies” (attached as Exhibit C to Appellees’ Brief to the Ninth

Circuit). The Compliance Manual provided thorough analysis as

to the particular circumstances under which English-only rules are

permissible.

Second, the Guideline is "consisten[t] with earlier and later

pronouncements.” Since 1967, shortly after the passage of Title

VII, the EEOC has taken the position in its administrative

decisions, as well as its Guideline and Compliance Manual, that

English-only rules have a discriminatory impact on national origin

minorities and thus must be justified by business necessity.”

Finally, the EEOC’s reasoning that English-only rules in

particular have a disparate adverse impact upon national origin

minorities is eminently “valid.” ARAMCO, supra, 499 U.S. at

257. English-only rules disproportionately affect national origin

% In an unreported decision in 1967, the Commission found that such

rules may constitute a form of national origin discrimination. EEOC Dec. AU7-

2-88 (1967) (unreported). In a subsequent reported decision, the Commission

found an English-only rule “has the obvious and clear effect of denying

Respondent's Spanish surnamed American employees (as well as other minority

groups, if any there be), who converse in a familiar language with which they are

most comfortable,” and thus violates Title VII unless a business necessity is

shown for the policy. EEOC Dec. 71-446 (CCH) Para. 6173, 2 FEP Cases

1127, 1128 (1970). The Commission's position that English-only rules have a

discriminatory impact upon national origin minority workers was reaffirmed in

subsequent decisions. See EEOC Dec. 72-0281 (CCH) Para. 6293, 1971 EEOC

LEXIS 8 (1971); EEOC Dec. 73-479, 1973 EEOC LEXIS 3, 41 (1973).

12

minorities.” Indeed, unlike magy facially neutral devices

challenged under disparate impact thewry (such as the requirement

of a high school diploma or a minimum height), English-only rules

burden national origin minorities almost exclusively and thus

arguably facially discriminate on the basis of national origin."

The Guideline reasonably finds such rules are burdensome

for two independently sufficient reasons. First, by definition,

English-only rules disadvantage national origin minority workers

by preventing them “from speaking their primary language or the

language they speak most comfortably,” as the EEOC properly

found. 29 C.F.R. § 1606.7(a). It consigns these minorities to a

second language in which they are less articulate, their vocabulary

is limited, and their ability to express ideas, concepts, and feelings

are significantly restricted. Fully bilingual individuals are also

adversely affected.'"? In Hernandez v. New York, U.S. _,

111 S.Ct. 1859, 114 L.Ed.2d 395 (1991), Justice Kennedy, writing

for the Court, observed:

0 Latinos, for instance, comprise 97% of those individuals who usually

speak Spanish. Perea, “"Demogrephy and Distrust: An Essay on American

Languages, Cultural Pluralism, and Official English,” 77 Minn. L. Rev. 269, 359

(1992). For Asian Americans the correlation between language and ethnicity is

also very high. As of 1989, 72.5% of Chinese Americans speak a language other

than English (presumably their native language) at home. Comparable figures for

other Asian American groups are Cambodian (81.9%), Vietnamese (80.7%),

Laotian (77.4%), Thai (72.5%), Korean (69.7%), Filipino (59.9%), Indian

(55.3%), and Japanese (40.5%). Gall Research, Statistical Record of Asian

Americans 128 (S. Gall & T. Gall eds., 1993).

‘| See Perea, supra, 77 Minn. L. Rev. at 357-360.

"Two languages together constitute the linguistic repertoire of bilinguals, and

“code switching” (L.¢, changing languages in the course of a conversation) has

expressive value, occurring for instance to signal greater intimacy or reference

to values associated to ethnic language, to reflect a change in role relationship

with regard to one another, or as a metaphoric device by means of which a

speaker gives emphasis to a particular segment of his/her speech. Declaration of

Guadalupe Valdés, Ph.D., supra, pp. 3-4. Moreover, “[flluent bilinguals often

report having different personalities in their two languages, and studies have

suggested that bilinguals show different responses in projective psychological tests

. depending on which language is used." Snow, Catherine E. and Hakuta,

Kenji, "The Costs of Monolingualism” in Crawford, ed.,

A Source Book on the Official English Controversy (1992), pp. 388-89.

13

Language permits an individual to express both a

personal identity and membership in a community,

and those who share a common language may

interact in ways more intimate than those without

this bond.

Hernandez, 111 S.Ct at 1872.

Second, English-only rules tend to “create an atmosphere

of inferiority, isolation and intimidation based on national origin

which could result in a discriminatory working environment.” 29

C.F.R. § 1606.7(a). A rule prohibiting ethnic minority workers

from conversing with their co-workers in their native tongue

directly suppresses a fundamental aspect of ethnicity and national

origin identity.

Although an individual may learn English and

become assimilated into American society, his

primary language remains an important link to his

ethnic culture and identity. The primary language

not only conveys certain concepts, but is itself an

affirmation of the culture.

Gutierrez v, Municipal Court ("Gutierrez") 838 F.2d 1031, 1039

(9th Cir. 1988), vacated as moot, 490 U.S. 1016 (1989) (citations

omitted). As one commentator has noted: “Language is the

lifeblood of every ethnic group. To economically and

psychologically penalize a person for practicing his native tongue

is to strike at the core of ethnicity." Comment, “Native-Born

Acadians and the Equality Ideal,” 46 La. L. Rey. 1151, 1167

(1986). The Guideline is particularly reasonable since a broad

company-wide rule is “sweeping in nature and has a direct effect

on the general atmosphere and environment of the workplace."

Gutierrez, supra, 838 F.2d at 1041.

14

2. The Guideline Is Entitled To Deference Under

Commercial Office Products.

The English-only Guideline constitutes a “reasonable”

interpretation of “ambiguous” statutory language and is thus

entitled to deference under Commercial Office Products, supra.

The scope of Title VII’s injunction against discrimination on the

basis of “national origin"” is “sufficient[ly] ambigu[ous] . . . to

warrant deference to the agency’s construction.” Commercial

Office Products, 486 U.S. at 125 (O’Connor, J., concurring in

part). National origin is often identified by a variety of traits such

as surname, given name, cultural customs, or linguistic

characteristics. Cf. Hernandez y, Texas, 347 U.S. 475, 480 n.12

(1954) (Spanish surname indicative of national origin).

This Court and other courts and commentators have

specifically noted or assumed that language is a key identifier of

national origin.'* “The primary language of an individual is often

'' Congress left the term “national origin” undefined:

The only direct definition given the phrase “national origin” is the

following remark made on the floor of the House of Representatives by

Congressman Roosevelt, Chairman of the House Subcommittee which

reported the bill: “It means the country from which you or your

forebears came... . You may come from Poland, Czechoslovakia,

England, France, or any other country.” 110 Cong. Rec. 2549 (1964).

Espinoza, supra, 414 U.S. at 89. The term “national origin” was used

infrequently prior to the adoption of Title VII. See Note, “A Trait-Based

Approach to National Origin Claims Under Title VII," 94 Yale L. J. 1164, 1170

(1985).

“ Cf. Lau v. Nichols, 414 U.S. 563 (1974) (interpreting Title VI’s ban

on national origin discrimination as encompassing discrimination on the basis of

limited English proficiency); Hernandez v, New York, 111 S.Ct at 1872-73, 114

L.Ed.2d at 413) ("It may well be, for certain ethnic groups and in some

communities, that proficiency in a particular language, like skin color, should be

treated as a surrogate for race under an equal protection analysis”); Espinoza,

supra, 414 U.S. at 293-294 n.5 (in finding no evidence of discrimination against

persons of Mexican national origin, this Court noted there was "no suggestion,

for example, that the company refused to hire aliens of Mexican or Spanish-

speaking background while hiring those of other national origins” (emphasis

added)); Craig v. County of Los Angeles, 626 F.2d 659, 661 n.1 (9th Cir. 1980)

15

an essential national origin characteristic” (29 C.F.R. §

1606.7(a)). The EEOC’s position that English-only rules which

punish the use of that primary language fall within the purview of

Title VII is not inconsistent with the plain language of the statute.

Nor is the Guideline inconsistent with the "unambiguously

expressed intent of Congress.” Chevron U.S.A, vy. Natural

Resources Defense Council ("Chevron"), 467 U.S. 837, 843

(1984). The Ninth Circuit correctly observed that “nowhere in the

legislative history is there any discussion of English-only policies

at all.” Spun Steak, 998 F.2d at 1490. Since the EEOC’s

promulgation of § 1606.7 in 1980, Congress has amended Title

VII on several occasions. Not once has Congress chosen to

overrule or alter the EEOC’s interpretation in respect to English-

only rules. "[DJeference is particularly appropriate where, as

here, an agency’s interpretation involves issues of considerable

public controversy, and Congress has not acted to correct any

misperception of its statutory objectives.” U.S, v. Rutherford, 442

U.S. 544, 554 (1979).

In fact, Congress has specifically endorsed the Guideline.

In the congressional debate over the Civil Rights Act of 1991,

Pub.L. No. 102-166, Sen. DeConcini expressed concern about "an

increasing problem with non-job related discipline and termination

of people for speaking languages other than English in the

workplace.” In response, Sen. Kennedy, co-author of the Civil

Rights Act of 1991, assured Sen. DeConcini that the EEOC’s

Guideline addressed the situation, confirmed that § 1606.7 "has

worked well during the past 11 years it has been in effect,” and

opined that it was consistent with Title VII as amended by the

1991 legislation. 137 Cong. Rec. $15489 (daily ed. Oct. 30,

1991) (remarks of Sens. DeConcini and Kennedy) (attached as

Appendix E hereto).

(plaintiff class defined by district court as “Spenish-surnamed” or “Spanish

language” persons); Castro v. Beecher, 334 F. Supp. 930 (D. Mass. 1971), aff'd

in_part, rev'd in part, 459 F.2d 725 (ist Cir. 1972) (definition of class of

"Spanish surnamed persons” encompassed those “whose primary language is

Spanish"). See also Note, "A Trait-Based Approach to National Origin Claims

Under Title VI], supra; Comment, "Native Born Acadians and the Equality

Ideal,” supra.

16

II. THE COURT SHOULD GRANT CERTIORARI TO

RESOLVE A CONFLICT AMONG THE CIRCUITS

AS TO THE PROPER STANDARD OF DEFERENCE

APPLICABLE TO THE EEOC.

Petitioners additionally urge this Court to grant certiorari

to resolve a conflict between the circuits as to which of this

Court’s decisions should be applied in questions of deference to the

EEOC Guidelines. The lack of clear guidance as to the

appropriate standard, reflected in this inter-circuit conflict, was

conducive to the Ninth Circuit’s rejection of the Guideline based

solely on its own tenuous extrapolation of the philosophy

underlying Title VII.

In Gilbert, this Court held that deference due to an EEOC

Guideline would depend “upon the thoroughness evident in its

consideration, the validity of its reasoning, its consistency with

earlier and later pronouncements, and all those factors which give

it power to persuade .. .” 429 U.S. at 142 (quoting Skidmore vy,

Swift & Co,, 323 U.S. 134, 140 (1944).

Eight years after Gilbert, however, the Court returned to

a simple two-step method for judicial review of administrative

agencies’ interpretations of statutes they administer: Is the statute

ambiguous, and if so, has the agency adopted a reasonable

construction? Chevron, 467 U.S. at 842-43 (1984). In

Commercial Office Products, this Court applied Chevron’s analysis

to the EEOC’s administrative interpretations, stating "the EEOC’s

interpretation of ambiguous language reed only be reasonable to

be entitled to deference.” 486 U.S. at 115.

Nonetheless, in 1991, this Court again applied Gilbert in

ARAMCO, rejecting EEOC’s interpretation of Title VII without

even mentioning Chevron or Commercial Office Products, much

less purporting to modify them. As Justice Scalia observed, after

ARAMCO, "the state of the law regarding deference to the EEOC

is left unsettled” as between ARAMCO and Commercial Office

Products. 499 U.S. at 260 (Scalia, J., concurring).

Since ARAMCO, the circuits have applied two different

standards of deference to EEOC guidelines: (1) the “power to

persuade” standard of ARAMCO; and (2) the “reasonable”

standard of Commercial Office Products. The Fifth, Sixth,

Seventh and Tenth Circuits have applied Chevron or Commercial

17

Office Products in deferring to EEOC interpretations. See Vogel

y. City of Cincinnati, 959 F.2d 594, 598 (6th Cir. 1992), cert.

denied, U.S. , 113 S.Ct. 86 (1992); Rowe vy, Sullivan, 967

F.2d 186, 194 (Sth Cir. 1992); Philbin v, General Electric Capital

Auto Lease, Inc,, 929 F.2d 321, 324 (7th Cir. 1991); Crozier v.

Howard, _ F.3d ___, 1993 WL 492340 n.4 (10th Cir. 1993).

The Ninth Circuit, on the other hand, has criticized the Sixth

Circuit’s failure to apply ARAMCO. Estate of Reynolds v.

Martin, 985 F.2d 470, 476 n.5 (9th Cir. 1993). The Third Circuit

has refused to defer to an EEOC regulation regarding time

limitations under the Age Discrimination in Employment Act,

relying on ARAMCO. Colgan v, Fisher Scientific Co,, 935 F.2d

1407, 1421 n.11 (rd Cir. 1991). Cf. Reich v. Parker Fire

Protection Dist,, 992 F.2d 1023, 1026 (10th Cir. 1993) (applying

“power to persuade” standard rather than Chevron to

“nonregulatory guidelines of the Secretary of Labor").

To further confuse matters, the Sixth Circuit has suggested

that ARAMCO applies to “substantive” EEOC regulations whereas

greater deference is due to “procedural” regulations. Jackson vy.

Richards Medical Co,, 961 F.2d 575, 581 (6th Cir. 1992). The

Seventh Circuit has suggested another distinction — that ARAMCO

rather than Chevron applies "in an interpretation involving the very

scope of an agency’s authority” (United States v. 25 Cases, 942

F.2d 1179, 1182-83 (7th Cir. 1991)), a result seemingly

inconsistent with Commercial Office Products.

In the context of the unsettled state of the law, and the

resultant inter-circuit conflict described above, it is unsurprising

that the panel majority below did not believe itself obliged to refer

to this Court’s recent statements on deference. In the absence of

clear, definitive guidance on the deference issue, the decision

below iliustrates that the lower courts are in effect left free to pick

and choose from a plethora of variously articulated standards

drawn from over two decades, inviting situations in which the

analysis of deference is — as was the case below — left virtually

standardless. Cf. Miller v, Beneficial Management Corp., 977

F.2d 834, 843 (3d Cir. 1992) (applying Griggs v. Duke Power

Co., supra, in deferring to EEOC regulation without referring to

Commercial Office Products or ARAMCO).

Accordingly, this Court should grant certiorari in order to

clarify and settle the question of deference to the EEOC, and to

18

secure uniformity and consistency of decision lacking in the lower

courts, a situation made only worse by the Ninth Circuit’s ill-

conceived decision below. See e.g. Saxbe v. Washington Post

Co., 417 U.S. 843, 846 (1974); Minnesota Mining Co, v, New

Jersey Wood Co,, 381 U.S. 311, 314 (1965).

Ill. THIS COURT SHOULD GRANT CERTIORARI

BECAUSE THE NINTH CIRCUIT’S REJECTION OF

THE LONGSTANDING EEOC GUIDELINE ON

SPEAK ENGLISH-ONLY RULES DISRUPTS

EFFECTIVE ADMINISTRATION OF TITLE VII ON

AN ISSUE OF GREAT AND GROWING

IMPORTANCE.

A. The Guideline Addresses An Important National

Issue Which Is Certain To Recur With

Increasing Frequency.

The subject of the Guideline ~ speak English-only rules —

is of great and growing importance. In rejecting the validity of the

Guideline, the Ninth Circuit has needlessly deprived the courts of

uniform guidance on their treatment at a time when such rules are

increasingly prevalent.

National origin discrimination in the form of workplace

language policies, of noted significance in 1980 when the EEOC

promulgated § 1606.7, is even more significant today as

America’s workforce becomes more ethnically and linguistically

diverse. According to the 1990 Census, approximately 32 million

U.S. residents over the age of five speak a foreign language at

home. In California alone, one out of three residents over the age

of five speaks a foreign language at home. The number of

'S The Commission noted that a 1976 study revealed approximately 28

million persons in the United States (about 13% of the population) have non-

English language background. 45 Fed. Reg. 85632, supra, at 85634.

‘© — McLeod, "Census Finds Many Speak Foreign Language at Home,” San

Francisco Chronicle, p. A3 (April 28, 1993). See Population Division, Bureau

of the Census, Pub. No. CPH-L-133, "Language Spoken at Home and Ability to

Speak English for the United States, Regions and States” (1990).

19

residents who speak Spanish at home increased by 56% from 1980

to 1990. The number of Chinese speakers increased 109% during

that same period.”

While no direct statistics are available as to the number of

complaints filed with the EEOC about speak English-only rules

specifically, claims of national origin discrimination in the

workplace are increasing. The EEOC reports that 14,394

complaints of national origin discrimination were filed with the

Commission in 1992, a jump of 30% over the number filed in

1989." There is evidence that English-only rules are increasingly

common.’? Review by this Court is particularly warranted

‘7 Numbers and Needs, Ethnic and Linguistic Minorities in the United

States, Vol. 3, No. 4, p.1 (July, 1993), citing William P. O'Hare, “America's

Minorities — the Demographics of Diversity,” Population Bulletin, Vol. 47, No.

4 (Washington, D.C.: Population Reference Bureau, Inc., Dec. 1992).

* Yang, “In Any Language, It’s Unfair,” Business Week, June 21, 1993,

at 110-111.

" See, ¢.g., Gutierrez v. Municipal Court, 838 F.2d 1031 (9h Cir.

1988); Jurado v, Eleven-Fifty Corp,, 813 F.2d 1406 (9th Cir. 1987); Saucedo v.

Brothers Well Service, 464 F.Supp. 919 (S.D. Tex. 1979); Dimaranan v.

Pomona Valley Hospital Medical Center, 775 F.Supp. 338 (C.D.Cal. 1991). See

also "A Month of Rancor,” Sacramento Bee, July 19, 1993, at Al4; Sanchez,

Howe, "Three Employees Allege Bias On Language; Bank Said to Have Issued

Ban on Speaking Spanish,” Washington Post, February 23, 1993, at Bl;

"Hispanic Rips English-only Hospital Policy,” Houston Chronicle, July 3, 1992,

at A44; Dawson, “English Only at Coffee Break,” Calgary Herald, October 18,

1991, at Al; "Suit Challenges English-only Rule at Vista Firm,” Los Angeles

Times, August 23, 1991, at B7; “In Court,” Los Angeles Times, September 24,

1990, at B4; “Foreign Languages —- How Would You Say ‘Good Law’ in

Tagaiog?” Seattle Times, September 24, 1990, at A6; Perea, “Speaking Spanish

Shouldn't Get You Fired,” Legal Tunes, September 17, 1990, at 26; Mydans,

"Pressure for English-Only Job Rules Stirring a Sharp Debate Across U.S.” Los

Angeles Times, June 18, 1990, at D2; “In Court: A Summary of Southern

California-Related Business Litigation Developments During the Past Week,” Los

Angeles Times, June 18, 1990, at D2; “Salvation Army Worker Files

Discrimination Suit,” Washington Times, December 21, 1989, at B8; Nichols,

"The English-Only Movement Legitimizes Attacks on Brotherhood and

Tolerance,” Los Angeles Times, February 19, 1989, Part 5 at 5; Ingwerson,

"English-Only Laws: How Broad?” Christian Science Monitor, November 29,

1988, at 3. See generally Burleson, "Taco Bell Forms Policy on Language,” The

Californian Sept. 25, 1992, at 1; Yang, “In Any Language, It’s Unfair,” Business

20

because the question as to the validity of the English-only

Guideline is likely to recur. See, e.g., Laing v. U.S., 423 U.S.

161, 167 (1976); U.S. v, Standard Oil Co,, 332 U.S. 301, 302 n.2

(1947).

B. The Ninth Circuit’s Rejection of the Guideline

Will Substantially Impair the Ability of the

EEOC To Enforce Title VII.

The Ninth Circuit’s unprecedented rejection of the EEOC’s

long-standing policy on English-only rules seriously hinders the

effective administration of Title VII on an issue of great and

growing importance and thus warrants certiorari. See e.g,

Rothensies v, Electric Battery Co,, 329 U.S. 296 (1946). The

decision undermines the clarity and guidance provided by the

Guideline and implementing Compliance Manual, and disrupts

national uniformity in the enforcement of Title VII.

The breadth of the Ninth Circuit’s decision — holding that

English-only rules generally do not constitute even a prima facie

case of discrimination, and thus obviating the need by employers

to demonstrate a business justification for such rules — is

particularly debilitating. It places virtually all challenges to

English-only rules beyond scrutiny, removing from the EEOC and

the courts the ability to examine on a case-by-case basis the

permissibility of English-only rules as measured against their

business purpose. Cf. Saucedo vy, Brothers Well Service, 464

F.Supp. 919 (S.D. Tex. 1979) (English-only rule on oil drilling rig

permissible); EEOC Dec. 81-25, 27 FEP 1820 (1981) (English-

only rule in tailor shop not justified); EEOC Dec. 83-7, 31 FEP

1861 (1983) (English-only rule applicable to refinery employees

working in laboratory and processing areas while actually

performing a job duty permissible).

Moreover, the Ninth Circuit’s holding, that the EEOC can

never presume a given practice has a disparate impact because

"lin,

Week, June 21, 1993, at 110-111; Heary, “Fighting Words,” Los Angeles Times,

June 10, 1990, at 10; Note, "English-only Rules and ‘Innocent’ Employers:

Clarifying National Origin Discrimination and Disparate Impact Theory Under

Title VII," 74 Minn. L. Rev. 387, 387-394 (1989).

21

Title VII requires that each prima facie case of discrimination be

established factually in every case, cannot be confined to the

Guideline. As Justice Reinhardt noted in his dissent from the

Ninth Circuit’s denial of rehearing en banc:

The majority apparently believes that the question

of the validity of a widespread discriminatory

practice must be decided over and over again on

a case by case basis in a private lawsuit each time

a new employer adopts it.

Spun Steak, slip op. at 14487-88.

Under the majority’s unique approach, an EEOC

Guideline stating, for example, that rules requiring

employees to be at least six feet tall are presumed

to have a disparate impact on women would be

held invalid even though the Supreme Court had

held that eight and weight requirements have a

disparate impact on women and the factual or

Statistical issue is the same in all cases.

Spun Steak, slip op. at 14487 n.7.”

*” — Preventing the EEOC from ever presuming a disparate impact (thereby

shifting the burden to the employer to show a business justification for the

challenged practice) is particularly detrimental to the enforcement of Title VII

where, as here, the prima facie case turns on an analysis of subjective factors

(¢.g. whether such rules impose a cognizable burden and whether they create a

hostile working environment) which less susceptible to proof on a case by case

basis. Judge Boochever aptly observed in his dissent from the panel opinion:

As the majority indicates, proof of such an effect of

English-only rules [of creating a discriminatory working

environment] requires analysis of subjective factors. It is

hard to envision how the burden of proving such an effect

would be met other than by conclusory self-serving statements

of the Spanish-speaking employees or possibly by expert

testimony of psychologists. The difficulty of meeting such a

burden may well have been one of the reasons for the

promulgation of the guideline. On the other hand, it should

not be difficult for an employer to give specific reasons for

22

This Court has never held that the EEOC cannot presume

a given practice has a disparate impact. For instance, the Court

did not reject the EEOC’s Guideline on pregnancy discrimination

in Gilbert because it effectively presumed that denial of disability

benefits for pregnancy constituted gender discrimination. Rather,

this Court engaged in a detailed consideration of the “power to

persuade” analysis pursuant to Skidmore v, Swift & Co,, 323 U.S.

134, 140 (1944), and found that the EEOC’s position had been

inconsistent and conflicted with related statutes and regulations.

See 429 U.S. at 140-143. Indeed, in Nashville Gas Co, v, Satty,

434 U.S. 136, 142 n.4 (1977), this Court subsequently upheld the

EEOC Guideline which presumes that the denial of seniority rights

arising out of pregnancy leaves constitutes gender discrimination.

IV. THIS COURT SHOULD GRANT CERTIORARI

BECAUSE THE NINTH CIRCUIT’S HOLDING

THAT ONE CANNOT CLAIM DISCRIMINATION IF

HE OR SHE CAN "READILY COMPLY" WITH AN

OBJECTIONABLE TERM OR CONDITION IS AT

ODDS WITH FUNDAMENTAL ANTI-

DISCRIMINATION PRINCIPLES AND

PROFOUNDLY LIMITS THE REACH OF TITLE

Vil.

Plaintiffs’ prima facie showing of disparate impact was

based in part upon the fact that Spun’s English-only rule

disproportionately burdened Latino workers by prohibiting them

from speaking in the language in which they are most proficient

and comfortable — their primary language, Spanish. As noted

above, that burden also provided a rationale for the EEOC’s

English-only Guideline.

The Ninth Circuit rejected this rationale, finding that

English-only rules as applied to bilingual employees (even

employees who are far more proficient and comfortable in their

primary language rather than in English) are not burdensome, but

the policy, — such as the safety reasons advanced in this case.

Spun Steak, 998 F.2d at 1490 (Boochever, J., dissenting in part).

23

"merely inconvenience” those employees because they can "readily

observe” the rule and “nonobservance is a matter of individual

preference.” Spun Steak, 998 F.2d at 1487 (quoting Garcia v.

Gloor, 618 F.2d at 270). According to the Ninth Circuit, "Title

VII is not meant to protect against rules that merely inconvenience

some employees, even if the inconvenience falls regularly on a

protected class." Spun Steak, 998 F.2d at 1488.

The court’s holding that one’s ability to comply with an

objectionable term or condition vitiates a claim of discrimination

is totally at war with fundamental anti-discrimination principle, and

represents a view which has never been countenanced by this

Court. As Judge Reinhardt observed:

This analysis demonstrates a remarkable

insensitivity to the facts and history of

discrimination. Whether or not the employees can

readily comply with a discriminatory rule is by no

means the measure of whether they suffer

significant adverse consequences. Some of the

most objectionable discriminatory rules are the

least obtrusive in terms of one’s ability to comply:

being required to sit in the back of a bus, for

example; or being relegated during one’s law

school career to a portion of the classroom

dedicated to one’s exclusive use. See McLaurin y.

Oklahoma State Regents, 339 U.S. 637, 70 S.Ct.

851 (1950).

Garcia et al. v. Spun Steak Co,, No. 91-16733, slip op. 14479,

14483 (9th Cir. 1993) (Reinhardt, J., dissenting from denial or

rehearing en banc).

The Ninth Circuit’s rationale finds no place in Title VII

jurisprudence. Rules requiring women to wear uniforms (Carroll

F.2d 1078 (7th Cir. 1979), cert. denied, 445 U.S. 929 (1980)) or

sexually revealing outfits (EEOC vy, Sage Realty Corp., 507

F.Supp. 599 (S.D.N.Y. 1981)), to abandon their unmarried name

(Allen v, Lovejoy, 553 F.2d 522, 524 (6th Cir. 1977)), or not to

wear eyeglasses (Laffey v, Northwest Airlines, Inc,, 567 F.2d

429, 443 (D.C. Cir. 1976)) are not immune under Title VII simply

24

because female employees can “readily comply” with the rule.”

Taken to its logical conclusion, a rule requiring employees

to abandon Spanish-surnames or ethnic given names while at work,

Or requiring dark complected employees to eat in a separate

cafeteria, or barring workers from joining particular ethnic

Organizations would be immune from scrutiny under Title VII

simply because the individual employee could, as a practical

matter, readily comply with the rule. The panel majority’s focus

on one’s practical ability to comply misconceives the guiding

principles of Title VII:

Thus, the Spun Steak majority’s emphasis

on the practical effects of English-only rules is

misplaced. Whether or not an individual is, in

practice, capable of speaking only English is not

the important consideration here by any means.

What is far more important is the impact of the

prohibition itself. As the EEOC correctly

determined, being forbidden under penalty of

discharge to speak one’s native tongue generally

has a pernicious effect on national origin

minorities.

Garcia et al. v. Spun Steak Co,, No. 91-16733, slip op. 14479,

14484 (9th Cir. 1993) (Reinhardt, J., dissenting from denial of

rehearing en banc).

The Ninth Circuit’s rationale will substantially undermine

Title VII's enforcement against national origin discrimination in

particular. Unlike gender or race discrimination, which are

1 The Ninth Circuit's rationale cannot be confined to disparate impact

analysis. Under the court’s reasoning, if the objectionable term or condition

imposes a mere “inconvenience”, there is no cognizable claim whether the

“inconvenience falls regularly on a protected class” (\.¢. disparate impact) or

exclusively on a protected class (j.¢. disparate treatment). Stated otherwise, the

panel majority would uphold an employer's right to consciously and purposefully

single out members of protected classes for adverse treatment as long as the

objective burdens visited on those employees were merely an “inconvenience.”

In fact, the Ninth Circuit has applied the “readily comply” rationale to a disparate

treatment claim in Jurado v. Eleven Fifty Corp. See Jurado, 813 F.2d at 1406,

1411 (9th Cir. 1987).

25

commonly based on obvious and immutable physical

characteristics, discrimination on the basis of national origin

typically is not based on physical traits. Rather, national origin

minorities are identifiable by their surname, given name, cultural

customs and clothing, associations, and/or language — factors

which in general are not immutable. See Note, “A Trait-Based

Approach to National Origin Claims Under Title VII," 94 Yale L.

J. 1164, 1164-1167 (1985).

Vv. | THIS COURT SHOULD GRANT CERTIORARI AND

REVERSE OR, AT A MINIMUM, REMAND FOR

RECONSIDERATION IN LIGHT OF HARRIS V.

FORKLIFT SYSTEMS BECAUSE THE NINTH

CIRCUIT APPLIED AN IMPROPER STANDARD

FOR ASSESSING HOSTILE WORKING

ENVIRONMENTS.

Plaintiffs’ prima facie case of disparate impact and the

EEOC’s English-only Guideline are based in part upon the fact that

plant-wide English-only rules, such as that imposed by Spun Steak,

which prohibit national origin minorities from speaking their

primary language and suppress a core aspect of their ethnic

identity, tend to create an "atmosphere of inferiority, isolation and

intimidation based on national origin", thus fostering a

discriminatory and hostile working environment. 29 C.F.R. §

1606.7(a).

The Ninth Circuit rejected this theory, holding that

plaintiffs’ evidence did not raise even a triable issue of material

fact and that the EEOC could not presume English-only rules have

such an effect. The court effectively held that English-only rules

can ever create a hostile working environment absent

extraordinary circumstances — j,e, where they “combine[] with

other discriminatory behavior" and contribute to an overall

environment of discrimination or are “enforced in such a draconian

manner that the enforcement itself amounts to harassment." Spun

Steak, 998 F.2d at 1489.

The Ninth Circuit’s holding was predicated on its

application of a legal standard erroneously discerned from the

language of the Fifth Circuit’s decision in Rogers vy. EEOC, 454

F.2d 234, 238 (Sth Cir. 1971), cert. denied, 406 U.S. 957 (1972),

26

quoted in Meritor Savings Bank v. Vinson, 477 U.S. 57, 66

(1986):

[T]he phrase ‘terms, conditions or privileges of

employment’ in [Title VII] is an expansive concept

which sweeps within its protective ambit the

practice of creating a working environment heavily

charged with ethnic or racial discrimination. . . .

One can readily envision working environments so

heavily polluted with discrimination as to destroy

completely the emotional and psychological

stability of minority group workers.

Spun Steak, 998 F.2d at 1488, quoting Rogers, supra, 454 F.2d at

238. But as this Court subsequently held in Harris v. Forklift

Systems, __—*U.S. _, 114 S.Ct. 367, 126 L.Ed.2d 295 (1993),

Meritor and Rogers “merely present some especially egregious

examples of harassment. They do not mark the boundary of what

is actionable." All that is required is conduct severe or pervasive

enough to create "an environment that a reasonable person would

find hostile or abusive." Harris, 114 S.Ct. at 371, 126 L.Ed.2d

at 302 (emphasis added).

Under the proper “reasonable person" standard, the EEOC

could rationally presume that English-only rules create an

environment that a reasonsble person would find hostile or

abusive. Unlike cases involving sexual or racial harassment by an

individual supervisor or co-worker where the range of possible

unwelcome behavior necessarily admits of a wide spectrum of

severity, the intimidating and oppressive impact of an

institutionalized, company-wide English-only rule is pervasive and

invariably disadvantages a protected class of employees.

In any event, plaintiffs’ substantial evidence in the instant

case, describing the intimidating manner in which the English-only

rule was enforced and the oppressive effect of the rule upon their

psychological and emotional well-being, certainly created a triable

issue of fact as to whether the rule was severe or pervasive enough

to create “an environment that a reasonable person would find

hostile or abusive.”

The Court should grant certiorari and reverse in light of

this Court’s intervening decision in Harris. See e.g. Helvering v,

27

Wiese, 292 U.S. 614 (1934). At a minimum, the Court should

grant certiorari and remand the case to the Ninth Circuit for

reconsideration in light of Harris. See e.g., Kirwan v. Romano,

425 U.S. 929 (1976); John Nuveen & Co. v. Sanders, 425 U.S.

928 (1976).

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above, Petitioners respectfully

request that this Court grant the Petition for Writ of Certiorari

prayed for herein. At a minimum, Petitioners respectfully suggest

that the Court invite the views of the United States, given the

importance and effect of the Ninth Circuit’s decision invalidating

a long-standing Guideline of the EEOC.

Respectfully submitted,

EDWARD M. CHEN

Counsel of Record

AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION

FOUNDATION OF NORTHERN CALIFORNIA

1663 Mission Street, Suite 460

San Francisco, California 94103

Telephone: (415) 621-2493

CHRISTOPHER HO

THE EMPLOYMENT LAW CENTER,

A Project of the Legal Aid

Society of San Francisco

1663 Mission Street, Suite 400

San Francisco, California 94103

Telephone: (415) 864-8848

WILLIAM H. ORRICK, III

COBLENTZ, CAHEN, McCABE & BREYER

222 Kearny Street, 7th Floor

San Francisco, California 94108

Telephone: (415) 391-4800

Counsel for Petitioners

29

INDEX TO APPENDICES

Opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Ninth Circuit in Garcia,

et al. v. Spun Steak Company, Case

No. 91-16733, filed July 16, 1993

(subsequently published at 998 F.2d

DCT Weel ad eee sereeeses

Orders and Dissent of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

in Garcia, et al. v. Spun Steak

Company, Case No. 91-16733, filed

COUSOT Ze, TPS ccc cccccccces

Order and Judgment of the United States

District Court for the Northern District

of California in Garcia, et al. v. Spun

Steak Company, Case No. C-91-01949-

RHS, filed October 11, 1991 ......

Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended,

42 U.S.C. § 2000e, and EEOC

Guidelines on Discrimination Because of

National Origin, 29 C.F.R. § 1606.1-

a

Congressional Record, Wednesday,

October 30, 1991, pp. $15437-15489

CC EO er

Page

la

20a

34a

40a

43a

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

No. 91-16733

D. C. No. CV-91-01949-RHS

PRISCILLA GARCIA; MARICELA BUITRAGO; UNITED

FOOD AND COMMERCIAL WORKERS INTERNATIONAL

UNION, AFL-CIO,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

v.

SPUN STEAK COMPANY, a California corporation,

Defendant-Appellant.

OPINION

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of California

Robert H. Schnacke, Senior Judge, Presiding

Argued and Submitted

November 3, 1992 — San Francisco, California

Filed July 16, 1993

Before: Robert Boochever, John T. Noonan, Jr., and

Diarmuid F. O’Scannlain, Circuit Judges.

Opinion by Judge O’Scannlain; Dissent by Judge

Boochever

la

COUNSEL

James A. Carter, Hendrickson, Higbie & Carter, San Francisco,

California, for the defendant-appellant.

Edward M. Chen, American Civil Liberties Union Foundation of

Northern California, San Francisco, California, for the plaintiffs-

appellees.

Jennifer S. Goldstein, Equal Employment Opportunity

Commission, Washington, D.C., for the amicus.

OPINION

O’SCANNLAIN, Circuit Judge:

We are called upon to decide whether an employer violates

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 in requiring its bilingual

workers to speak only English while working on the job.

Spun Steak Company ("Spun Steak") is a California

corporation that produces poultry and meat products in South San

Francisco for wholesale distribution. Spun Steak employs thirty-

three workers, twenty-four of whom are Spanish-speaking.

Virtually all of the Spanish-speaking employees are Hispanic.

While two employees speak no English, the others have varying

degrees of proficiency in English. Spun Steak has never required

job applicants to speak or to understand English as a condition of

employment.

Approximately two-thirds of Spun Steak’s employees are

production line workers or otherwise involved in the production

process. Appellees Garcia and Buitrago are production line

workers; they stand before a conveyor belt, remove poultry or

other meat products from the belt and place the product into cases

or trays for resale. Their work is done individually. Both Garcia

2a

EE aS...

and Buitrago are fully bilingual, speaking both English and

Spanish.

Appellee Local 115, United Food and Commercial

Workers International Union, AFL-CIO ("Local 115"), is the

collective bargaining agent representing the employees at Spun

Steak.

Prior to September 1990, these Spun Steak employees

spoke Spanish freely to their co-workers during work hours. After

receiving complaints that some workers were using their bilingual

capabilities to harass and to insult other workers in a language they

could not understand, Spun Steak began to investigate the

possibility of requiring its employees to speak only English in the

workplace. Specifically, Spun Steak received complaints that

Garcia and Buitrago made derogatory, racist comments in Spanish

about two co-workers, one of whom is African-American and the

other Chinese-American.

The company’s president, Kenneth Bertelson, concluded

that an English-only rule would promote racial harmony in the

workplace. In addition, he concluded that the English-only rule

would enhance worker safety because some employees who did not

understand Spanish claimed that the use of Spanish distracted them

while they were operating machinery, and would enhance product

quality because the U.S.D.A. inspector in the plant spoke only

English and thus could not understand if a product-related concern

was raised in Spanish. Accordingly, the following rule was

adopted:

[I]t is hereafter the policy of this Company that

only English will be spoken in connection with

work. During lunch, breaks, and employees’ own

time, they are obviously free to speak Spanish if

they wish. However, we urge all of you not to

use your fluency in Spanish in a fashion which

may lead other employees to suffe: humiliation.

3a

In addition to the English-only policy, Spun Steak adopted a rule

forbidding offensive racial, sexual, or personal remarks of any

kind.

It is unclear from the record whether Spun Steak strictly

enforced the English-only rule. According to the plaintiffs-

appellees, some workers continued to speak Spanish without

incident. Spun Steak issued written exceptions to the policy

allowing its clean-up crew to speak Spanish, allowing its foreman

to speak Spanish, and authorizing certain workers to speak Spanish

to the foreman at the foreman’s discretion. One of the two

employees who speak only Spanish is a member of the clean-up

crew and thus is unaffected by the policy.

In November 1990, Garcia and Buitrago received warning

letters for speaking Spanish during working hours. For

approximately two months thereafter, they were not permitted to

work next to each other. Local 115 protested the English-only

policy and requested that it be rescinded but to no avail.

On May 6, 1991, Garcia, Buitrago, and Local 115 filed

charges of discrimination against Spun Steak with the U.S. Equal

Employment Opportunity Commission ("EEOC"). The EEOC

conducted an investigation and determined that "there is reasonable

cause to believe [Spun Steak] violated Title VII of the Civil Rights

Acts of 1964, as amended, with respect to its adoption of an

English-only rule and with respect to retaliation when [Garcia,

Buitrago, and Local 115] complained.”

Garcia, Buitrago, and Local 115, on behalf of all Spanish-

speaking employees of Spun Steak, (collectively, “the Spanish-

speaking employees") filed suit, alleging that the English-only

policy violated Title VII. On September 6, 1991, the parties filed

cross-motions for summary judgment. The district court denied

Spun Steak’s motion and granted the Spanish-speaking employees’

motion for summary judgment, concluding that the English-only

policy disparately impacted Hispanic workers without sufficient

business justificatior and thus violated Title VII. Spun Steak filed

this timely appeal and the EEOC filed a brief amicus curiae and

participated in oral argument.

a

II

As a preliminary matter, we must consider whether Local

115 has standing to sue on behalf of the Spanish-speaking

employees at Spun Steak. If Local 115 does not have standing, we

will consider the application of the policy only to Garcia and

Buitrago, both of whom speak English fluently.

"[A]n association has standing to bring suit on behalf of its

members when: (a) its members would otherwise have Standing to

sue in their own right; (b) the interests it seeks to protect are

germane to the organization’s purpose; and (c) neither the claim

asserted nor the relief requested requires the participation of

individual members in the lawsuit." Hunt v. Washington State

Apple Advertising Comm'n, 432 U.S. 333, 343 (1977).

Here, it is clear that the Spanish-speaking employees would

have standing to sue in their own right because they could claim

injury from the application of the policy to them. Further, it is

clear that the employees’ interest in the conditions of the

workplace is germane to Local 115’s purpose as the collective

bargaining agent of the employees. Finally, the claim asserted and

the relief requested do not require the participation of individual

members. Local 115 claims that the policy has a per se

discriminatory impact on all Spanish-speaking employees. Further,

the union is seeking only injunctive relief on behalf of its

members, not damages.

In short, Local 115 has standing.

Sa

ITT

Sections 703(a)(1) and (2) of Title VII provide:

(a) It shall be an unlawful employment practice for an

employer —

(1) to fail or refuse to hire or to discharge any

individual, or otherwise to discriminate against

any individual with respect to his compensation,

terms, conditions, or privileges of employment,

because of such individual’s race, color, religion,

sex Or national origin; or

(2) to limit, segregate, or classify his employees

or applicants for employment in any way which

would deprive or tend to deprive any individual of

employment opportunities or otherwise adversely

affect his status as an employee, because of such

individual's race, color, religion, sex, or national

origin.

42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2(a). It is well-settled that Title VII is

concerned not only with intentional discrimination, but also with

employment practices and policies that lead to disparities in the

treatment of classes of workers. See, e.g., Griggs v. Duke Power

Co., 401 U.S. 424, 430-31 (1970). Thus, a plaintiff alleging

discrimination under Title VII may proceed under two theories of

liability: disparate treatment or disparate impact. Watson v. Fort

Worth Bank & Trust, 487 U.S. 977, 986-87 (1987). While the

disparate treatment theory requires proof of discriminatory intent,

intent is irrelevant to a disparate impact theory. Jd. at 988.

"[I)mpact analysis is designed to implement Congressional concern

with "the consequences of employment practices, not simply the

motivation.’” Rose v. Wells Fargo & Co., 902 F.2d 1417, 1424

(9th Cir. 1990) (citations omitted).

A

The Spanish-speaking employees do not contend that Spun

Steak intentionally discriminated against them in enacting the

English-only policy. Rather, they contend that the policy had a

discriminatory impact on them because it imposes a burdensome

term or condition of employment exclusively upon Hispanic

workers and denies them a privilege of employment that non-

Spanish-speaking workers enjoy. Because their claim focuses on

disparities in the terms, conditions, and privileges of employment,

and not on barriers to hiring or promotion, it is outside the

mainstream of disparate impact cases decided thus far. As a

threshold matter, therefore, we must determine whether the

disparate impact theory can be made applicable at all.

The disparate impact cause of action developed out of the

language in section 703(a)(2) prohibiting discrimination based on

deprivation of employment opportunities, such as the opportunity

to be hired or promoted. See, e.g., Connecticut v. Teal, 457 U.S.

440, 448-50 (1981). Our court’s disparate impact cases fall

Squarely within the language of Section 703(a)(2). The cases in

which we have concluded that the plaintiff has proved

discrimination based on a disparate impact theory have all involved

plaintiffs who claimed that they were denied employment

Opportunities as the result of artificial, arbitrary, and unnecessary

barriers that excluded members of a protected group from being

hired or promoted, see, e.g., Bouman v. Block, 940 F.2d 1211,

1224-26 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 112 S. Ct. 640 (1991), not

plaintiffs contending that they were subjected to harsher working

conditions than the general employee population.

[1] This case, by contrast, does not fall within the

language of section 703(a)(2). While policies that serve as barriers

to hiring or promotion clearly deprive applicants of employment

opportunities, we cannot conclude that a burdensome term or

condition of employment or the denial of a privilege would “limit,

segregate, or classify” employees in a way that would "deprive any

individual of employment opportunities” or “otherwise adversely

affect his status as an employee” in violation of section 703(a)(2).

See Nashville Gas Co. v. Satty, 434 U.S. 136, 144 (1977)

7a

(deprivation of benefits does not fall under § 703(a)(2)). Such

claims, therefore, must be brought directly under section 703(a)(1).

We have never expressly considered, however, whether disparate

impact theory applies to claims under section 703(a)(1), and the

Supreme Court has explicitly reserved the issue. Jd.

[2] Nevertheless, we are called upon to decide the issue

in this case notwithstanding the parties’ failure to brief it. Our

decision is simple: we see no reason to restrict the application of

the disparate impact theory to the denial of employment

opportunities under section 703(a)(2). The Supreme Court has

instructed that the language of section 703(a)(1) is to be interpreted

broadly. "[TJhe phrase ‘terms, conditions, or privileges of

employment’ evinces a congressional intent to strike at the entire

spectrum of disparate treatment,” Meritor Sav. Bank v. Vinson,

477 U.S. 57, 64 (1985) (internal quotations and citations omitted),

even when the differences in treatment are not the result of

intentional discrimination. See also Lynch v. Freeman, 817 F.2d

380, 387 (6th Cir. 1987) ("The language of section 703(a)(2) is ...

broad enough to include working conditions that have an adverse

impact on a protected group of employees."). Regardless whether

a company’s decisions about whom to hire or to promote are

infected with discrimination, policies or practices that impose

Significantly harsher burdens on a protected group than on the

employee population in general may operate as barriers to equality

in the workplace and, if unsupported by a business justification,

may be considered "discriminatory." /d.; cf. Meritor Sav. Bank,

477 U.S. at 57 (sexual harassment can be arbitrary barrier to

equality in the marketplace). We are satisfied that a disparate

impact claim may be based upon a challenge to a practice or policy

that has a significant adverse impact on the “terms, conditions, or

privileges” of the employment of a protected group under

section 703(a)(1).

B

To make out a prima facie case of discriminatory impact,

plaintiff must identify a specific, seemingly neutral practice or

policy that has a significantly adverse impact on persons of a

8a

i ince

protected class, Teal, 457 U.S. at 446. If the prima facie case is

established, the burden shifts to the employer to “demonstrate that

the challenged practice is job related for the position in question

and consistent with business necessity." 42 U.S.C.A. § 2000e-

2(k)(1)(A) (Supp. 1992). In this case, the district court granted

summary judgment in favor of the Spanish-speaking employees,

concluding that, as a matter of law, the employees had made out

the prima facie case and the justifications offered by the employer

were inadequate.

{3} We first consider whether the Spanish-speaking

employees have made out the prima facie case. "[T]he

requirements of a prima facie disparate impact case ... are in some

respects more exacting than those of a disparate treatment case."

Spaulding v. University of Washington, 740 F.2d 686, 705 (9th

Cir.) (citation omitted), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1036 (1984). In

the disparate treatment context, a plaintiff can make out a prima

facie case merely by presenting evidence sufficient to give rise to

an inference of discrimination. McDonnell Douglas Corp. v.

Green, 411 U.S. 792, 802-06 (1973). Ina disparate impact case,

by contrast, plaintiffs must do more than merely raise an inference

of discrimination before the burden shifts; they "must actually

prove the discriminatory impact at issue." Rose, 902 F.2d at

1421. In the typical disparate impact case, in which the plaintiff

argues that a selection criterion excludes protected applicants from

jobs or promotions, the plaintiff proves discriminatory impact by

showing statistical disparities between the number of protected

class members in the qualified applicant group and those in the

relevant segment of the workforce. Wards Cove Packing Co. v.

Atonio, 490 U.S. 642, 650 (1988). While such statistics are often

difficult to compile, whether the protected group has been

disadvantaged turns on quantifiable data. When the alleged

disparate impact is on the conditions, terms, Or privileges of

employment, however, determining whether the protected group

has been adversely affected may depend on subjective factors not

easily quantified. The fact that the alleged effects are subjective,

however, does not relieve the plaintiff of the burden of proving

disparate impact. The plaintiff may not merely assert that the

policy has harmed members of the group to which he or she

belongs. Instead, the plaintiff must prove that the existence of

9a

adverse effects of the policy, must prove that the impact of the

policy is on terms, conditions, or privileges of employment of the

protected class, must prove that the adverse effects are significant,

and must prove that the employee population in general is not

affected by the policy to the same degree.

It is beyond dispute that, in this case, if the English-only

policy causes any adverse effects, those effects will be suffered

disproportionately by those of Hispanic origin. The vast majority

of those workers at Spun Steak who speak a language other than

English - and virtually all those employees for whom English is

not a first language — are Hispanic. It is of no consequence that

not all Hispanic employees of Spun Steak speak Spanish; nor is it

relevant that some non-Hispanic workers may speak Spanish. If

the adverse effects are proved, it is enough under Title VII that

Hispanics are disproportionately impacted.

[4] The crux of the dispute between Spun Steak and the

Spanish-speaking employees, however, is not over whether

Hispanic workers will disproportionately bear any adverse effects

of the policy; rather, the dispute centers on whether the policy

Causes any adverse effects at all, and if it does, whether the effects

are significant. The Spanish-speaking employees argue that the

policy adversely affects them in the following ways: (1) it denies

them the ability to express their cultural heritage on the job; (2) it

denies them a privilege of employment that is enjoyed by

monolingual speakers of English; and (3) it creates an atmosphere

of inferiority, isolation, and intimidation. We discuss each of

these contentions in turn.’

The Spanish-speaking employees rely on the reasoning in Gutierrez v.

Municipal Court, 838 F.2d 1031 (9th Cir. 1988), vacated as moot, 490 U.S.

1016 (1989), which held that English-only policies adversely impact Spanish-

speaking employees. The case has no precedential authority, however, because

it was vacated as moot by the Supreme Court. We are in no way bound by its

reasoning.

10a

a ii ia ca

a

[5] The employees argue that denying them the ability to

speak Spanish on the job denies them the right to cultural

expression. It cannot be gainsaid that an individual’s primary

language can be an important link to his ethnic culture and

identity. Title VII, however, does not protect the ability of

workers to express their cultural heritage at the workplace. Title

VII is concerned only with disparities in the treatment of workers;

it does not confer substantive privileges. See, e.g., Garcia v.

Gloor, 618 F.2d 264, 269 (Sth Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 449 U.S.

1113 (1981). It is axiomatic that an employee must often sacrifice

individual self-expression during working hours. Just as a private

employer is not required to allow other types of self-expression,

there is nothing in Title VII which requires an employer to allow

employees to express their cultural identity.

b

Next, the Spanish-speaking employees argue that the

English-only policy has a disparate impact on them because it

deprives them of a privilege given by the employer to native-

English speakers: the ability to converse on the job in the

language with which they feel most comfortable. It is undisputed

that Spun Steak allows its employees to converse on the job. The

ability to converse -- especially to make small talk — is a privilege

of employment, and may in fact be a significant privilege of

employment in an assembly-line job. It is inaccurate, however, to

describe the privilege as broadly as the Spanish-speaking

employees urge us to do.

The employees have attempted to define the privilege as

the ability to speak in the language of their choice. A privilege,

however, is by definition given at the employer’s discretion; an

employer has the right to define its contours. Thus, an employer

may allow employees to converse on the job, but only during

certain times of the day or during the performance of certain tasks.

The employer may proscribe certain topics as inappropriate during

lla

iii ia

working hours or may even forbid the use of certain words, such

as profanity.

Here, as is its prerogative, the employer has defined the

privilege narrowly. When the privilege is defined at is narrowest

(as merely the ability to speak on the job), we cannot conclude that

those employees fluent in both English and Spanish are adversely

impacted by the policy. Because they are able to speak English,

bilingual employees can engage in conversation on the job. It is

axiomatic that "the language a person who is multi-lingual elects

to speak at a particular time is ... a matter of choice." Garcia,

618 F.2d at 270. The bilingual employee can readily comply with

the English-only rule and still enjoy the privilege of speaking on

the job. "There is no disparate impact” with respect to a privilege

of employment "if the rule is one that the affected employee can

readily observe and nonobservance is a matter of individual

preference.” Jd.

This analysis is consistent with our decision in Jurado v.

Eleven-Fifty Corporation, 813 F.2d 1406, 1412 (9th Cir. 1987).

In Jurado, a bilingual disc jockey was fired for disobeying a rule

forbidding him from using an occasional Spanish word or phrase

on the air. We concluded that Jurado’s disparate impact claim

failed “because Jurado was fluently bilingual and could easily

comply with the order” and thus could not have been adversely

affected. Jd.

[6] The Spanish-speaking employees argue that fully

bilingual employees are hampered in the enjoyment of the privilege

because for them, switching from one language to another is not

fully volitional. Whether a bilingual speaker can control which

language is used in a given circumstance is a factual issue that

cannot be resolved at the summary judgment stage. However, we

fail to see the relevance of the assertion, even assuming that it can

be proved. Title VII is not meant to protect against rules that

merely inconvenience some employees, even if the inconvenience

falls regularly on a protected class. Rather, Title VII protects

against only those policies that have a significant impact. The fact

that an employee may have to catch himself or herself from

occasionally slipping into Spanish does not impose a burden

12a

ai i i tte

Significant enough to amount to the denial of equal opportunity.

This is not a case in which the employees have alleged that the

company is enforcing the policy in such a way as to impose

penalties for minor slips of the tongue. The fact that a bilingual

employee may, on occasion, unconsciously substitute a Spanish

word in the place of an English one does not override our

conclusion that the bilingual employee can easily comply with the

tule. In short, we conclude that a bilingual employee is not denied

a privilege of employment by the English-only policy.

[7] By contrast, non-English speakers cannot enjoy the

privilege of conversing on the job if conversation is limited to a

language they cannot speak. As applied “[t]o a person who speaks

only One tongue or to a person who has difficulty using another

language than the one spoken in his home,” an English-only rule

might well have an adverse impact. Garcia, 618 F.2d at 270.

Indeed, counsel for Spun Steak conceded at oral argument that the

policy would have an adverse impact on an employee unable to

speak English. There is only one employee at Spun Steak affected

by the policy who is unable to speak any English. Even with

regard to her, however, summary judgment was improper because

a genuine issue of material fact exists as to whether she has been

adversely affected by the policy. She stated in her deposition that

she was not bothered by the rule because she preferred not to make

small talk on the job, but rather preferred to work in peace.

Furthermore, there is some evidence suggesting that she is not

required to comply with the policy when she chooses to speak.

For example, she is allowed to speak Spanish to her supervisor.

Remand is necessary to determine whether she has suffered

adverse effects from the policy. It is unclear from the record

whether there are any other employees who have such limited

proficiency in English that they are effectively denied the privilege

of speaking on the job. Whether an employee speaks such little

English as to be effectively denied the privilege is a question of

fact for which summary judgment is improper.

13a

Cc

Finally, the Spanish-speaking employees argue that the

policy creates an atmosphere of inferiority, isolation, and

intimidation. Under this theory, the employees do not assert that

the policy directly affects a term, condition, or privilege of

employment. Instead, the argument must be that the policy causes

the work environment to become infused with ethnic tensions. The

tense environment, the argument goes, itself amounts to a

condition of employment.

The Supreme Court in Meritor Savings Bank v. Vinson,

477 U.S. at 66, held that an abusive work environment may, in

some circumstances, amount to a condition of employment giving

rise to a violation of Title VII. The Court quoted with approval

the decision in Rogers v. EEOC, 454 F.2d 234, 238 (Sth Cir.

1971), cert. denied, 406 U.S. 957 (1972):

[T]he phrase *terms, conditions or privileges of

employment’ in [Title VII] is an expansive concept

which sweeps within its protective ambit the

practice of creating a working environment heavily

charged with ethnic or racial discrimination. . . .

One can readily envision working environments so

heavily polluted with discrimination as to destroy

completely the emotional and psychological

stability of minority group workers.

Although Vinson is a sexual harassment case in which the

individual incidents involved behavior that was arguably

intentionally discriminatory, its rationale applies equally to cases

in which seemingly neutral policies of a company infuse the

atmosphere of the workplace with discrimination. The Vinson

Court emphasized, however, that discriminatory practices must be

pervasive before an employee has a Title VII claim under a hostile

environment theory.

l4a

Here, the employees urge us to adopt a per se rule that

English-only policies always infect the working environment to

such a degree as to amount to a hostile or abusive work

environment. This we cannot do. Whether a working

environment is infused with discrimination is a factual question,

one for which a per se rule is particularly inappropriate. The

dynamics of an individual workplace are enormously complex; we

cannot conclude, as a matter of law, that the introduction of an

English-only policy, in every workplace, will always have the

same effect.

[8] The Spanish-speaking employees in this case have

presented no evidence other than conclusory statements that the

policy has contributed to an atmosphere of "isolation, inferiority

or intimidation." The bilingual employees are able to comply with

the rule, and there is no evidence to show that the atmosphere at

Spun Steak in general is infused with hostility toward Hispanic

workers. Indeed, there is substantial evidence in the record

demonstrating that the policy was enacted to prevent the employees

fron intentionally using their fluency in Spanish to isolate and to

intintidate members of other ethnic groups. In light of the specific

factual context of this case, we conclude that the bilingual

employees have not raised a genuine issue of material fact that the

effect is so pronounced as to amount to a hostile environment. See

generally Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, 106 S. Ct. 2505, 2511

(1986).

We do not foreclose the prospect that in some

circumstances English-only rules can exacerbate existing tensions,

or, when combined with other discriminatory behavior, contribute

to an overall environment of discrimination. Likewise, we can

envision a case in which such rules are enforced in such a

draconian manner that the enforcement itself amounts to

harassment. In evaluating such a claim, however, a court must

look to the totality of the circumstances in the particular factual

context in which the claim arises.

In holding that the enactment of an English-only while

working policy does not inexorably lead to an abusive environment

for those whose primary language is not English, we reach a

conclusion opposite to the EEOC’s long standing position. The

EEOC Guidelines provide that an employee meets the prima facie

case in a disparate impact cause of action merely by proving the

existence of the English-only policy. See 29 C.F.R. § 1606.7 (a)

& (b) (1991). Under the EEOC’s scheme, an employer must

always provide a business justification for such a rule. /d. The

EEOC enacted this scheme in part because of its conclusion that

English-only rules may “create an atmosphere of inferiority,

isolation and irtimidation based on national origin which could

result in a discriminatory working environment.” 29 C.F.R.

§ 1606.7(a).

We do not reject the English-only rule Guideline lightly.

We recognize that “as an administrative interpretation of the Act

by the enforcing agency, these Guidelines ... constitute a body of

experience and informed judgment to which courts and litigants

may properly resort for guidance.” Meritor Sav. Bank, 477 U.S.

57 at 65 (internal quotations and citations omitted). But we are not

bound by the Guidelines. See Espinoza v. Farah Mfg. Co., Inc.,

414 U.S. 86, 94 (1973). We will not defer to "an administrative

construction of a statute where there are ‘compelling indications

that it is wrong.’" Jd.

[9] We have been impressed by Judge Rubin's pre-

Guidelines analysis for the Fifth Circuit in Garcia, which we

follow today. Garcia, 618 F.2d 264. Nothing in the plain

language of section 703(a)(1) supports EEOC’s English-only rule

Guideline. “Title VII could not have been enacted into law

without substantial support from legislators in both Houses who

traditionally resisted federal regulation of private business.”

United Steelworkers of America, AFL-CIO v. Weber, 443 U.S. 193

16a

(1979). “Those legislators demanded as a price for their support

that,” id.,

management prerogatives, and union freedoms are

to be left undisturbed to the greatest extent

possible. Internal affairs of employers and labor

Organizations must not be interfered with except to

the limited extent that correction is required in

discrimination practices.

Statement of William M. McCulloch, et al., H.R. Rep. No. 914,

88 Cong., 2d Sess (1964), reprinted in 1964 U.S.C.C.A.N. 2516

(quoted in part in Steelworkers, 443 U.S. at 206). It is clear that

Congress intended a balance to be struck in preventing

discrimination and preserving the independence of the employer.

In striking that balance, the Supreme Court has held that a plaintiff

in a disparate impact case must prove the alleged discriminatory

effect before the burden shifts to the employer. The EEOC

Guideline at issue here contravenes that policy by presuming that

an English-only policy has a disparate impact in the absence of

proof. We are not aware of, nor has counsel shown us, anything

in the legislative history to Title VII that indicates that English-

only policies are to be presumed discriminatory. Indeed, nowhere

in the legislative history is there a discussion of English-only

policies at all.

2

Because the bilingual employees have failed to make out

a prima facie case, we need not consider the business justifications

offered for the policy as applied to them. On remand, if

Local 115 is able to make out a prima facie case with regard to

employees with limited proficiency in English, the district court

could then consider any business justification offered by Spun

Steak.

IV

In sum, we conclude that the bilingual employees have not

made out a prima facie case and that Spun Steak has not violated

Title VII in adopting an English-only rule as to them. Thus, we

reverse the grant of summary judgment in favor of Garcia,

Buitrago, and Local 115 to the extent it represents the bilingual

employees, and remand with instructions to grant summary

judgment in favor of Spun Steak on their claims. A genuine issue

of material fact exists as to whether there are one or more

employees represented by Local 115 with limited proficiency in

English who were adversely impacted by the policy. As to such

employee or employees, we reverse the grant of summary

judgment in favor of Local 115, and remand for further

proceedings.

REVERSED and REMANDED.

Boochever, Circuit Judge, dissenting in part:

I agree with most of the majority’s carefully crafted

opinion. I dissent, however, from the majority’s rejection of the

EEOC guidelines. The guidelines provide that an employee

establishes a prima facie case in a disparate impact claim by

proving the existence of an English-only policy, thereby shifting

the burden to the employer to show a business necessity for the

rule. See 29 C.F.R. § 1606.7(b) (1991) (“An employer may have

a rule requiring that employees speak only in English at certain

times where the employer can show that the rule is justified by

business necessity."). I would defer to the Commission’s expertise

in construing the Act, by virtue of which it concluded that English-

only rules may “create an atmosphere of inferiority, isolation and

intimidation based on national origin which could result in a

discriminatory working environment.” Jd. § 1606.7(a).

As the majority indicates, proof of such an effect of

English-only rules requires analysis of subjective factors. It is

hard to envision how the burden of proving such an effect would

be met other than by conclusory self-serving statements of the

18a

ee

Spanish-speaking employees or possibly by expert testimony of

psychologists. The difficulty of meeting such a burden may well

have been one of the reasons for the promulgation of the guideline.

On the other hand, it should not be difficult for an employer to

give specific reasons for the policy, ~ such as the safety reasons

advanced in this case.

It is true that EEOC regulations are entitled to somewhat

less weight than those promulgated by an agency with

Congressionally delegated rulemaking authority. Gerzral Elec.

Co. v. Gilbert, 429 U.S. 125, 141 (1976). Nevertheless, the

EEOC guideline is entitled to "great deference” in the absence of

“compelling indications that it is wrong." Espinoza v. Farah Mfg.

Co., 414 U.S. 86, 94-95 (1973). While one may reasonably differ

with the EEOC’s position as a matter of policy, I can find no such

“compelling indications" in this case. The lack of directly

supporting language in § 703(a)(1) or the legislative history of

Title VII, relied on by the majority, does not in my Opinion make

the guideline "inconsistent with an obvious congressional intent not

to reach the employment practice in question.” Jd. at 94.

I conclude that if appropriate deference is given to the

administrative interpretation of the Act, we should follow the

guideline and uphold the district court’s decision that a prima facie

case was established. I believe, however, that triable issues were

presented whether Spun Steak established a business justification

for the rule, and I would remand for trial of that issue.

19a

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

No. 91-16733

D. C. No. CV-91-01949-RHS

PRISCILLA GARCIA; MARICELA BUITRAGO; UNITED

FOOD AND COMMERCIAL WORKERS INTERNATIONAL

UNION, AFL-CIO,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

\

SPUN STEAK COMPANY, a California corporation,

Defendant-Appellant.

ORDERS AND DISSENT

Filed October 29, 1993

Before: Robert Boochever, John T. Noonan, Jr., and

Diarmuid F. O’Scanniain, Circuit Judges.

ORDER

The order filed October 29, 1993, with

dissent, is ordered published.

20a

ORDER

The panel [slip op. 14479], with Judge Boochever

dissenting, has voted to deny appellees’ petition for rehearing.

Judges Noonan and O’Scannilain have voted to reject the suggestion

for rehearing en banc and Judge Boochever has recommended

acceptance of the suggestion for rehearing en banc.

The full court was advised of the suggestion for rehearing

en banc. An active judge requested a vote on whether to [14480]

rehear the matter en banc. The matter failed to receive a majority

of the votes of the nonrecused active judges in favor of en banc

consideration. Fed. R. App. P. 35.

The petition for rehearing is DENIED and the suggestion

for rehearing en banc is REJECTED.

Reinhardt, Circuit Judge, dissenting from denial of rehearing en

banc:

Once again, a civil rights principle is the loser at the hands

of an unsympathetic court.” In this case, by a divided vote, a

three-judge panel invalidated an Equal Employment Opportunity

Commission (EEOC) Guideline of national scope, upheld an

employment rule that discriminates against national-origin

minorities without requiring any showing of business justification,

and challenged the EEOC’s ability to enact rules codifying its

findings regarding specific discriminatory practices. See Garcia v.

Spun Steak Co., No. 91-16733 Guly 16, 1993). The two judges

in the majority were able to do so only by improperly substituting

their policy judgments for those of the EEOC and by

misconstruing, or, in one instance, completely disregarding, prior

case law.

V/ In one recent period, five major decisions hostile to civil rights were

handed down by the Supreme Court only to be overturned by Congress in the

Civil Rights Restoration Act of 1991. See Patterson v. McLean Credit Union,

491 U.S. 164 (1989); Lorance v. AT&T Technologies, Inc., 490 U.S. 900

(1989); Martin v. Wilks, 490 U.S. 755 (1989); Wards Cove Packing Co. v.

Atonio, 490 U.S. 642 (1989); Price Waterhouse v, Hopkins, 490 U.S. 228

(1989).

2la

This circuit, with its enormous immigrant population, a

large proportion of whom arrived here only recently, is now the

only circuit in the nation in which an employer may adopt a

discriminatory English-only rule without even articulating a

business justification to support it. Unfortunately, the growth

[14481] of the immigrant population and the present mood of anti-

immigrant backlash mean that English-only rules are likely to

become more prevalent. In overriding the EEOC’s determination

that such rules are generally discriminatory, the Spun Steak panel

subverted one of the basic goals of Title VII of the Civil Rights

Act of 1964, the elimination of discrimination on the basis of

national origin. Accordingly, I dissent from the court’s refusal to

rehear Spun Steak en banc.

I. Background.

Plaintiffs Priscilla Garcia and Maricela Buitrago are

production line workers at Spun Steak Company ("Spun Steak"),

a California corporation that produces poultry and meat products

for wholesale distribution. Plaintiff Local 115, United Food and

Commercial Workers International Union ("Local 115"), is the

collective bargaining agent representing Spun Steak employees.

Of the thirty-three workers employed at Spun Steak,

twenty-four are Spanish-speaking. Virtually all of Spun Steak’s

Spanish-speaking employees are Hispanic. Their command of

English varies greatly: two employees speak no English, others

have limited English proficiency, while some such as Garcia and

Buitrago speak English fluently.

In September 1990, an English-only rule was instituted at

Spun Steak. The rule prohibited employees from speaking Spanish

on the job except during lunch and other breaks. Both Garcia and

Buitrago were subsequently reprimanded for violating the English-

only rule. Local 115 protested the rule and unsuccessfully

requested that it be rescinded.

After investigating discrimination charges filed by Garcia,

Buitrago, and Local 115, the Equal Employment Opportunity

Commission found that there was reasonable cause to believe that

Spun Steak violated Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 in

adopting its English-only rule. In accordance with the [14482]

EEOC finding, Garcia, Buitrago, and Local 115, on behalf of all

22a

Spanish-speaking employees of Spun Steak (collectively, the

“Spanish-speaking employees"), filed suit in federal district court

alleging a violation of Title VII and requesting injunctive relief.

The Spanish-speaking employees, in accordance with the EEOC

Guideline pertaining to English-only rules, made out a prima facie

case of national-origin discrimination by demonstrating that Spun

Steak had instituted an English-only rule, while Spun Steak

attempted to rebut their showing by demonstrating a business

justification for the rule. The opposing sides filed cross-motions

for summary judgment, and the district court ruled in favor of the

employees. The court found that Spun Steak’s English-only policy

had a disparate impact on Hispanic workers without sufficient

business justification, in violation of Title VII.

Spun Steak appealed the ruling to this court. The EEOC,

as the federal agency charged with the interpretation and

enforcement of Title VII, filed an amicus curiae brief arguing that

Spun Steak’s English-only policy violated Title VII, and urging

that the district court judgment be affirmed. The arguments of

plaintiffs and the EEOC were rejected, however, by a majority of

the Spun Steak panel. The majority did not reach the question of

whether there was a business justification for the rule. Rather,

over the dissent of Judge Boochever, it invalidated the applicable

EEOC Guideline and held that English-only rules are permissible

with respect to bilingual employees.

II. The Adverse Impact of English-Only Rules.

Title VII prohibits discrimination in employment based on

race, color, sex, religion and national origin, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-

2. The close relationship between language and national origin led

the EEOC to classify discrimination based on "linguistic

characteristics" as unlawful under Title VII (29 C.F.R. § 1606.1),

a classification which the Spun Steak panel does not challenge.

See Fragrante v, City and County of [14483] Honolulu, 888 F.2d

591, 595 (9th Cir. 1989), cert, denied, 494 U.S. 1081 (1990)

(approving § 1606.1).

The EEOC Guideline at issue in Spun Steak applies Title

VII to English-only rules. 29 C.F.R. § 1606.7 (1991). It permits

the use of such rules only where a business justification exists.

The Guideline reflects the EEOC’s determination that rules

23a

prohibiting the use of foreign languages generally have an adverse

impact on protected groups. As the Guideline explains, “[t}he

primary language of an individual is often an essential national

origin characteristic,” so that an English-only rule may “create an

atmosphere of inferiority, isolation and intimidation.” 29 C.F.R.

§ 1606.7(a).

The Spun Steak majority disagrees with the EEOC’s

determination. My colleagues have in their wisdom concluded that

bilingual employees do not suffer significant adverse effects from

an English-only rule because they have the “choice” of which

language to employ, and can thus “readily comply” with the rule.

Slip op. at 7538. This analysis demonstrates a remarkable

insensitivity to the facts and history of discrimination. Whether or

not the employees can readily comply with a discriminatory rule

is by no means the measure of whether they suffer significant

adverse consequences. Some of the most objectionable

discriminatory rules are the least obtrusive in terms of one’s ability

to comply: being required to sit in the back of a bus, for example;

or being relegated during one’s law school career to a portion of

the classroom dedicated to one’s exclusive use. See McLaurin vy.

Oklahoma State Regents, 339 U.S. 637, 70 S.Ct. 851 (1950).

Nonetheless, the majority focusses narrowly upon the ability to

comply, substituting its own unenlightened conception of

discriminatory impact for that adopted by the EEOC on the basis

of its store of knowledge, wisdom and experience in the field of

employment discrimination.

Language is intimately tied to national origin and cultural

identity: its discriminatory suppression cannot be dismissed as

[14484] an “inconvenience” to the affected employees, as Spun

Steak asserts. See generally Piatt,

Toward Domestic Recognition

of a Human Right to Language, 23 Hous. L. Rev. 885, 894-98

(1986) (discussing relationship between language and culture);

Karst, Paths to Belonging: The Constitution and Cultural Identity,

64 N.C. L. Rev. 303, 351-57 (1986). Even when an individual

learns English and becomes assimilated into American society, his

native language remains an important manifestation of his ethnic

identity and a means of affirming links to his original culture. See

Karst, supra, at 351-57. English-only rules not only symbolize a

24a

rejection of the excluded language and the culture it embodies, but

also a denial of that side of an individual's personality.”

Thus, the Spun Steak majority’s emphasis on the practical

effects of English-only rules is misplaced. Whether or not an

individual is, in practice, capable of speaking only English is not

the important consideration here by any means. What is far more

important is the impact of the prohibition itself. As the EEOC

correctly determined, being forbidden under penalty of discharge

to speak one’s native tongue generally has a pernicious effect on

national origin minorities.

Finally, it should be noted that the imposition of an

English-only rule may mask intentional discrimination on the basis

of national origin. See Gutierrez, 838 at 1040 (citing authorities).

Even those who support the majority’s view acknowledge that

"language can be a potent source of racial and ethnic

discrimination." Gutierrez vy, Municipal Court, 861 F.2d 1187,

1192 (9th Cir. 1988) (Kozinski, J., dissenting from denial of

rehearing en banc). History is replete with language conflicts that

attest, not only to the crucial importance [14485] of language to its

speakers, but also to the widespread tactic of using language as a

Surrogate for attacks on ethnic identity.” As these examples

2/ As one commentator observed: “Language is the lifeblood of every

ethnic group. To economically and psychologically penalize a person for

practicing his native tongue is to strike at the core of ethnicity.” Comment,

Native-Born Acadians and the Equality Idea], 46 La. L. Rev. 1151, 1167 (1986).

3/ The harsh repression of Catalan and the Basque language in Spain under

the dictatorship of Francisco Franco is one obvious example. See Basques Are

Waging A Difficult Battle to Preserve Language, Dallas Morning News, Apr. 3,

1993, at 25A (Franco dictatorship “banned public use of Basque and other

regional languages"). Other more current examples include the repression of the

Ukrainian, Georgian and Belorussian languages by the former Soviet government;

the current repression of the Albanian language in Kosovo (formerly part of

Yugoslavia); and the extended repression of the Kurdish language in Turkey.

See, ¢.g., Shiller, Albanian Students Defy Serb Rule, Toronto Star, Nov. 2,

1992, at Al4; Robinson, Restless Ukraine Strains at the Bonds of Soviet Empire,

Fin. Times, Sept. 4, 1990, at 6 (citing "Moscow's systematic repression of the

(continued...)

25a

reveal, the urge to repress another’s language is rarely, if ever,

driven by benevolent impulses.

Recognizing the discriminatory potential inherent in rules

prohibiting the use of foreign languages, the EEOC has attempted

to provide victims with legal rights. Spun Steak’s misguided

removal of that protection, based largely on two judges’ subjective

judgment that the discriminatory impact of English-only rules is

"not significant,” seriously undermines one of the basic goals of

Title VII.

Ill. “Compelling” Reasons for Invalidating the EEOC Guideline.

The EEOC Guideline at issue in Spyn Steak provides that

an employee makes out a prima facie case of national origin

discrimination by proving that the employer has adopted an

English-only rule. See 29 C.F.R. § 1606.7(b) (1991). The

resulting presumption of discrimination is rebuttable, however. An

English-only rule will be upheld if the employer shows that it is

supported by a business justification. Jd, Thus, instead of

imposing a more onerous per se rule, the Guideline [14486] creates

a framework of shifting burdens. Given the history of national

origin discrimination in this country, the rule is surely a moderate

and reasonable one.

In invalidating the EEOC Guideline, the Spun Steak

majority virtually ignores the long-standing rule that EEOC

Guidelines "constitute "the administrative interpretation of [Title

VII) by the enforcing agency,’ and [that] consequently they are

‘entitled to great deference."" Albemarle Paper Co, v. Moody,

422 U.S. 405, 431 (1975), quoting Griggs v. Duke Power Co.,

401 U.S. 424, 433-434 (1971). See also Espinoza v, Farah Mfg.

Co,, 414 U.S. 86, 94 (1973) (EEOC Guideline entitled to

deference unless “there are ‘compelling indications that it is

wrong"); EEOC v, Commercial Office Products Co,, 486 U.S.

107, 115 (1988) ("EEOC’s interpretation of ambiguous language

3/(...continued)

Ukrainian language"); Turkish-Kurdish Agonies, Wash. Post, July 3, 1993, at

A22 (discussing cultural repression of Kurds and the denial of Kurdish language

rights).

need only be reasonable to be entitled to deference"). Though

acknowledging that only “compelling indications” that the

Guideline was erroneous would justify rejecting it, the majority

makes only a token effort to abide by this standard, dedicating less

than a page to describing its “compelling” reasons for invalidating

the Guideline.“

In its short discussion of the topic, the Spun Steak majority

lists four justifications for rejecting the Guideline, none of which

is persuasive, let alone compelling. Slip op. at 7542-43. First,

the majority claims to follow Garcia vy, Gloor, 618 F.2d 264 (Sth

Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 449 U.S. 1113 (1981) [hereinafter

"Gloor"], in which the Fifth Circuit did not even consider the

EEOC Guideline (since none existed at the time), but only

described how a court would rule in the absence of agency

construction of Title VII. Second, unable to find spe- [14487]

cific evidence that the Guideline was erroneous, the majority

contents itself with quoting general observations indicating

Congress’ disinclination to infringe on the independence of

employers and unions except to correct discriminatory practices.

Slip op. at 7542-43 (quoting United Steelworkers of America,

AFL-CIO vy, Weber, 443 U.S. 193, 206 (1979)). Here, the

majority ignores the obvious fact that correcting a discriminatory

practice is precisely what the EEOC was trying do. In any event,

if such self-evident and general statements are sufficient to override

the deference due EEOC Guidelines, then every Guideline is in

grave jeopardy.

Third, and most incomprehensible, the majority objects to

the presumption of disparate impact contained in the EEOC

Guideline. It does so not on the merits of the presumption, but on

4/ Spun Steak's dismissive treatment of the EEOC rule is unprecedented

within the Ninth Circuit. This Court has always cited the Guidelines with

approval. See Pragante v. City and County of Honolulu, 888 F. 2d 591, 595 (9th

Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 494 U.S. 1081 (1990); Jurado v. Eleven-Fifty Corp.,

813 F. 2d 1406, 1411 (9th Cir. 1987).

5/ In fact, the Guideline at issue here was enacted shortly after Gloor,

probably in order to reverse the effect of that decision. The majority simply

ignores this history.

the basis of the uncontroversial and irrelevant proposition that in

disparate impact cases plaintiffs have the burden of proving the

discriminatory effect of the challenged policies. The panel's

"reasoning" constitutes a total non-sequitur.” There is simply no

connection between the elementary proposition stated by the

majority -- that plaintiffs have the burden of proof — and the

majority’s deduction therefrom that the EEOC is barred from

(1) making generalized findings regarding the effects of particular

discriminatory policies, and (2) codifying those findings in a rule

that such policies are unlawful unless justification exists in

particular cases. In effect, the majority holds that the agency is

without authority to determine that English-only rules and similar

discriminatery practices are invalid generally.” The majority

apparently believes [14488] that the question of the validity of a

widespread discriminatory practice must be decided over and over

again on a case by case basis in a private lawsuit each time a new

employer adopts it. The majority’s remarkably narrow view of the

EEOC’s authority is reminiscent of courts of the 1930s which

6/ The majority states that “the Supreme Court has held that a plaintiff

must prove the alleged discriminatory effect before the burden shifts to the

employer. The EEOC Guideline at issue here contravenes that policy by

presuming that an English-only policy has a disparate impact in the absence of

proof.” Slip op. at 7543.

7/ Under the majority's unique approach, an EEOC Guideline stating, for

example, that rules requiring employees to be at least six feet tall are presumed

to have a disparate impact on women would be held invalid even though the

Supreme Court had held that height and weight requirements have a disparate

impact on women and the factual or statistical issue is the same in all cases. See

Dothard v. Rawlinson, 433 U.S. 321, 329-31 (1977) (finding that Alabama prison

system's height and weight requirements disparately impact women solely on the

basis of statistical evidence).

It is clear that the real basis of the majority's objection to the EEOC

presumption is that the majority does not agree with the Guideline on the merits.

This substantive disagreement is at least rational (though the majority's view is

wrong), but it should not be transformed into a wholly basciess attack on agency

authority to promulgate general rules.

28a

refused to accept agency findings regarding labor and food

standards.” It is a particularly odd view for the 1990s given the

broad authority that courts have allowed agencies to exercise in

recent years.

Finally, the Spun Steak majority cites as a reason for its

decision the absence of legislative history regarding Title VII's

applicability to English-only rules. Slip op. at 7543. With this

argument, the majority elevates legislative history to a new height.

Those who believe that even affirmative legislative history is, in

general, not compelling may be surprised to learn that its absence

can be so crucial as to constitute a basis for invalidating an agency

rule. See, ¢.g., United States v, Thompson/Center Arms Co,, 112

S.Ct. 2102, 2111 (1992) (Scalia, J., concurring in judgment)

(describing legislative history as “that last hope of lost

interpretative causes, that St. Jude of the hagiology of statutory

construction"). [14489]

IV. Related Cases.

The Spun Steak majority contends that its analysis is

“consistent” with Jurado vy, Eleven-Fifty Corp., 813 F.2d 1406

(9th Cir. 1987), and that it "follows" Gloor. Slip op. at 7538,

7542. In contrast, the majority dismisses Gutierrez vy, Municipal

Court, 832 F.2d 1031 (9th Cir. 1988), reh’g en banc denied, 861

F.2d 1187 (1988), vacated as moot, 490 U.S. 1016 (1989), in a

footnote, without pretending to counter, or even examine, the

case’s reasoning. Slip op. at 7536 n. 1. In none of the three

instances does the majority deal fairly with the case cited.

Gutierrez, as a unanimous Ninth Circuit decision on precisely the

same issue as faced the Spun Steak panel, merited examination for

its reasoning and persuasive value. Jurado and Gloor, while not

spurned as is Gutierrez, are misused through selective reference.

Five years ago, this court in Gutierrez unanimously upheld

the EEOC Guideline at issue in Spun Steak, holding that English-

8/ Any concern for an employer's right to a fair hearing and individualized

consideration is satisfied by the business justification provision of the EEOC rule,

which allows the employer to articulate the specific reasons supporting an

English-only policy. See Siip op. at 7544-45 (Boochever, J., dissenting in part).

29a

only employment rules generally have an adverse impact on

national origin groups. See 861 F.2d at 1040. The plaintiff in

Gutierrez, however, quit her job before her employer's appeal

reached the Supreme Court. As a result, the Court vacated our

decision as moot. Gutierrez, 490 U.S. 1016 (1989).

Unconstrained by precedential considerations, the Spun Steak

majority wrongly declined even to consider Gutierrez’ reasoning.

While it is true that Gutierrez lacks binding precedential value, it

still represented the thinking of this court. As such, it was

deserving of consideration. Gutierrez not only constituted a

decision of a three-judge panel, but it had survived an en banc call.

See Gutierrez, 861 F.2d 1188 (Kozinski, J., dissenting from denial

of rehearing en banc) (joined by Judge Thompson and Judge

O’Scannlain). Gutierrez was binding precedent within this circuit

and might well have remained so, but for the happenstance of an

employee’s job decision.” As far as our court is concerned,

[14490] Gutierrez represented its official position, following

completion of all our review proceedings. As such, it merited

more than a dismissive footnote in Spun Steak.

As the Spun Steak majority should have known, the

validity of a case’s reasoning is unaffected when it is vacated as

moot. See Wright, 13A Federal Practice & Procedure § 3533.10

(1984). The Spun Steak majority cites no new caselaw to justify

its different result, making it clear that the only significant change

since Gutierrez is that of panel composition: a Gutierrez en banc

dissenter, assigned to Spun Steak and having by luck of the draw

picked up a second vote, was thereby transformed into the author

of a two-judge majority opinion. Moreover, Gutierrez has proved

persuasive to other courts: it was cited with approval in Smothers

y. Benitez, 806 F. Supp. 299, 307-08 (D.P.R. 1992), Pemberthy

y. Beyer, 800 F. Supp. 144, 159 (D.N.J. 1992), and Asian Am.

Business Group v, City of Pomona, 716 F. Supp. 1328, 1330

(C.D. Cal. 1989). These three cases involved issues related to the

question decided in Gutierrez; Spun Steak, ruling on the identical

issue as Gutierrez, should at least have accorded it fair

consideration.

9/ Of course, the Supreme Court might have granted certiorari and

affirmed or reversed — we will never know

30a

Spun Steak’s use of the Fifth Circuit’s Gloor decision is

equally unacceptable. In discussing its reasons for invalidating the

EEOC Guideline, the majority professes to be guided by Gloor.

That decision, however, pre-dated the Guideline at issue. It is

disingenuous for the Spun Steak majority to profess to follow a

case which did not and could not have ruled on the validity of the

affected Guideline. The Gloor court, in fact, specifically noted the

absence of any controlling EEOC Guideline in justifying its ruling.

Gloor, 618 F.2d at 268 n. 1." [14491] Rather than following

Gloor, it should be clear that Spun Steak’s rejection of the EEOC

Guideline represents a radical recasting of Gloor in disregard of

Gloor’s own express self-imposed limitations and of the deference

due EEOC Guidelines.

Finally, there is Spun Steak’s reliance on Jurado. Before

discussing Jurado in detail, though, one should first note something

that the Spun Steak majority fails to mention: the Jurado court

cites with approval the exact EEOC Guideline which Spun Steak

rejects. See Jurado, 813 F.2d at 1411. An examination of

Jurado’s facts shows why this is so.

Jurado involved a bilingual radio announcer, Valentine

Jurado, whose show was in English, with Spanish words and

phrases occasionally added. A consultant hired by the station

determined that this sprinkling of Spanish hurt the station’s ratings

because it confused listeners about the station’s programming.

Accordingly, the station program director asked Jurado to stop

using Spanish in his broadcasts. Jurado refused, the radio station

fired him, and he brought suit under Title VII.

No reasonable person would suggest that Title VII requires

the operator of an English language radio station to permit a hired

broadcaster to broadcast in whole or in part in another language,

contrary to the radio station’s policies. As the Jurado court

recognized, the radio station’s limited English-only rule “was a

10/ The Fifth Circuit took care to point out that:

[The EEOC) has adopted neither a regulation stating a standard for

testing such language rules nor any general policy, presumed to be

derived from the statute, prohibiting them. We therefore approach the

problem on the basis of the statute itself and the case law.

Gloor, 618 F.2d at 268 n. 1.

3la

programming decision motivated by marketing, ratings, and

demographic concerns.” 813 F.2d at 1410. As such, it easily

passed the business justification requirement. See Gutierrez, 838

F.2d at 1041. There is no analogy or comparison that can

legitimately be drawn between the situation in Jurado and that in

Spun Steak. For example, Spun Steak has never required its

employees to speak or even understand English as a condition of

employment, and it makes no claim that the ability to speak or

understand English is a bona fide occupational qualification

(BFOQ). In Jurado, [14492] by contrast, the employer would

without question have refused to employ a non-English-speaker, or

even a person who spoke English with a marked foreign accent;

such a job refusals would not have constituted national origin

discrimination but simply the implementation of an appropriate job

qualification. Cf, Fragrante vy. City of Honolulu, 888 F.2d 591,

596 (9th Cir. 1989) ("“[a}Jn adverse employment decision may be

predicated upon an individual’s accent when--but only when--it

interferes materially with job performance").'”’

Spun Steak fails to discuss these aspects of Jurado, even

though Jurado is clearly the principal Ninth Circuit precedent on

English-only rules. By not mentioning that Jurado specifically

applies to the adoption of a “business-related English-only rule,”

813 F.2d at 1411, or that it relies on the EEOC Guideline, the

Spun Steak majority renders Jurado unrecognizable.

L)/ Sumuarly, a commentator who supports the reasoning in both Gutierrez

and Jurado explains that the right to speak one's native language is:

bounded by the actual requirements of the job and business at issue. In

certain situations, it is clearly inappropriate for someone to speak a

language other than English in the workplace. . . . [A] bilingual stage

actor cast in the role of Hamlet would not have a right to deliver the

soliloquy in Spanish. . . . [The actor's use of Spanish] would constitute

poor performance, and the employer could properly discipline or

discharge a poorly performing employee.

Perea, English-Only Rules and the Right To Speak One's Primary Language in

the Workplace, 23 J. L. Ref. 265, 299 (1990).

32a

Conclusion.

By failing to take this case en banc, this court disrupts the

uniform national application of an important EEOC Guideline,

drastically handicaps the agency's ability to adopt other Guidelines,

distorts or ignores Ninth Circuit caselaw in a highly sensitive area,

and allows two of its judges to substi- [14493] tute their policy

views regarding the subject of national-origin discrimination for

the EEOC’s experienced, reasoned and expert judgment. As a

result, we rack up one more judicial defeat for those who most

need and deserve the protection of the courts. I therefore

respectfully dissent.

33a

APPENDIX C

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

No. C-91-1949 RHS

PRISCILLA M. GARCIA, MARICELA

BUITRAGO, and LOCAL 115, UNITED

FOOD AND COMMERCIAL WORKERS

INTERNATIONAL UNION, AFL-CIO,

Plaintiffs,

v.

SPUN STEAK COMPANY,

a California corporation,

Defendant.

Edward M. Chen, Ann Brick, Matthew A. Coles, Alan L.

Schlosser, American Civil Liberties Union Foundation of Northern

California, Inc., Christopher Ho, The Employment Law Center,

a Project of the Legal Aid Society of San Francisco, William H.

Orrick, II, Ruben L. Iniguez, Coblentz, Cahen, McCabe &

Breyer, Thornton C. Bunch, Jr., Bunch & Grimes, for plaintiffs.

ORDER GRANTING PLAINTIFFS’

MOTION FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT ON THE FIRST

AND THIRD CLAIMS FOR RELIEF OF

THEIR COMPLAINT AND DENYING

DEFENDANT'S MOTION FOR

SUMMARY JUDGMENT

34a

The motion of plaintiffs Priscilla M. Garcia, Maricela

Buitrago, and Local 115, United Food and Commercial Workers

International Union, AFL-CIO, for summary judgment on the first

and third claims for relief of their complaint and the cross-motion

of defendant Spun Steak Company for summary judgment came on

regularly for hearing in the above-entitled court oa Friday,

October 4, 1991, the Honorable Robert H. Schnacke, presiding.

William H. Orrick, III of Coblentz, Cahen, McCabe & Breyer and

Thornton C. Bunch, Jr. of Bunch & Grimes appeared on behalf of

plaintiffs; Douglas J. Farmer of the United States Equal

Employment Opportunity Commission appeared as Amicus Curiae;

and James A. Carter of Hendrickson, Higbie & Carter appeared on

behalf of defendant. Following argument of counsel and

consideration of the parties’ moving and responding papers, the

Court finds as follows:

3 There are no genuine issues as to any material fact

with respect to the first and third claims for relief in plaintiffs’

complaint nor defendant’s Counterclaim For Declaratory Relief;

2. State law issues substantially predominate in each

and every other claim for relief in plaintiffs’ complaint; and

3. Plaintiffs’ motion to strike defendant’s evidence is

denied.

For good cause appearing, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED,

ADJUDGED AND DECREED AS FOLLOWS:

1. Plaintiffs’ motion for summary judgment on the

first and third claims for relief of their complaint is granted on the

basis that there is no genuine issue as to any material fact and

plaintiffs are entitled to a judgment as a matter of law. For the

same reason, plaintiffs are entitled to judgment in their favor on

defendant’s Counterclaim For Declaratory Relief.

*: Defendant’s motion for summary judgment is

denied in its entirety.

3. The Court will not exercise supplemental

jurisdiction over plaintiffs’ second, fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh,

eighth, and ninth claims for relief, and all of said claims are

dismissed without prejudice pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1367(c) (2).

35a

DATED: October 10, 1991.

/s/ Robert H. Schnacke

United States District Judge

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

HENDRICKSON, HIGBIE & CARTER

By /s/ Karen T. Dutton

Attorneys for Defendant

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

No. C-91-1949 RHS

PRISCILLA M. GARCIA, MARICELA

BUITRAGO, and LOCAL 115, UNITED

FOOD AND COMMERCIAL WORKERS

INTERNATIONAL UNION, AFL-CIO,

Plaintiffs,

v.

SPUN STEAK COMPANY,

a California corporation,

Defendant.

Edward M. Chen, Ann Brick, Matthew A. Coles, Alan L.

Schlosser, American Civil Liberties Union Foundation of Northern

California, Inc., Christopher Ho, The Employment Law Center,

a Project of the Legal Aid Society of San Francisco, William H.

Orrick, III, Ruben L. Iniguez, Coblentz, Cahen, McCabe &

Breyer, Thornton C. Bunch, Jr., Bunch & Grimes, for plaintiffs.

JUDGMENT

37a

Pursuant to the Order Granting Plaintiffs’ Motion For

Summary Judgment On The First And Third Claims For Relief Of

Their Complaint And Denying Defendant’s Motion For Summary

Judgment, the Court found that the English-only policy established

by defendant Spun Steak Company in writing on September 28,

1990, and amended in writing on June 25, 1991, constitutes

unlawful discrimination in the terms and conditions of employment

in violation of Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as

amended, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e et seg., and the California Fair

Employment and Housing Act, California Government Code

section 12900 et seq.

ACCORDINGLY, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED,

ADJUDGED AND DECREED AS FOLLOWS:

1. judgment is hereby <ntered in favor of plaintiffs

Priscilla M. Garcia, Maricela Buitrago, and Local 115, United

Food and Commercial Workers, International Union, AFL-CIO,

and against defendant Spun Steak Company, a California

corporation, on the first and third claims for relief of plaintiffs’

complaint, and on defendant’s Counterclaim For Declaratory

Relief. The Court grants plaintiffs’ request for declaratory relief

that defendant’s English-only policy constitutes unlawful

discrimination in the terms and conditions of employment in

violation of Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and the

California Fair Employment and Housing Act..

2. Defendant Spun Steak Company is permanently

enjoined from further maintaining, enforcing or reestablishing its

English-only policy or any policy which requires that defendant’s

employees speak only English in the performance of their work

duties.

38a

DATED: October 10, 1991.

/s/ Robert H. Schnacke

United States District Judge

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

HENDRICKSON, HIGBIE & CARTER

By /s/ Karen T. Dutton

Attorneys for Defendant

Spun Steak Company

39a

APPENDIX D

42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2. Unlawful employment practices.

Employer Practices:

(a) It shall be an unlawful employment practice for an

employer --

(1) to fail or refuse to hire or to discharge any

individual, or otherwise to discriminate against any

individual with respect to his compensation, terms,

conditions, or privileges of employment, because of such

individual’s race, color, religion, sex or national origin; or

(2) to limit, segregate, or classify his

employees or applicants for employment in any way which

would deprive or tend to deprive any individual of

employment opportunities or otherwise adversely affect his

Status as an employee, because of such individual’s race,

color, religion, sex, or national origin.

---0---

29 C.F.R. Ch. XIV - Equal Employment Opportunity

Commission

PART 1606—GUIDELINES ON DISCRIMINATION BECAUSE

OF NATIONAL ORIGIN

§ 1606.1 Definition of national origin discrimination.

The Commission defines national origin discrimination

broadly as including, but not limited to, the denial of equal

employment opportunity because of an individual’s, or his or her

ancestor’s, place of origin; or because an individual has the

physical, cultural or linguistic characteristics of a national origin

group. The Commission will examine with particular concern

charges alleging that individuals within the jurisdiction of the

Commission have been denied equal employment opportunity for

40a

reasons which are grounded in national origin considerations, such

as (a) marriage to or association with persons of a national origin

group; (b) membership in, or association with an organization

identified with or seeking to promote the interests of national

origin groups; (c) attendance or participation in schools, churches,

temples or mosques, generally used by persons of a national origin

group; and (d) because an individual’s name or spouse’s name is

associated with a national origin group. In examining these

charges for unlawful national origin discrimination, the

Commission will apply general title VII principles, such as

disparate treatment and adverse impact.

§ 1606.2 Scope of Title VII protection.

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended,

protects individuals against employment discrimination on the basis

of race, color, religion, sex or national origin. The title VII

principles of disparate treatment and adverse impact equally apply

to national origin discrimination. These Guidelines apply to all

entities covered by title VII (collectively referred to as

“employer”).

Real

§ 1606.7 Speak-English-only rules.

(a) When applied at all times. A rule requiring

employees to speak only English at all times in the workplace is a

burdensome term and condition of employment. The primary

language of an individual is often an essential national origin

characteristic. Prohibiting employees at all times, in the

workplace, from speaking their primary language or the language

they speak most comfortably, disadvantages an individual's

employment opportunities on the basis of national origin. It may

also create an atmosphere of inferiority, isolation and intimidation

based on national origin which could result in a discriminatory

4la

working environment.’ Therefore, the Commission will presume

that such a rule violates title VII and will closely scrutinize it.

(b) When applied only at certain times. An employer

may have a rule requiring that employees speak only in English at

certain times where the employer can show that the rule is justified

by business necessity.

(c) Notice of the rule. It is common for individuals

whose primary language is not English to inadvertently change

from speaking English to speaking their primary language.

Therefore, if an employer believes it has a business necessity for

a speak-English-only rule at certain times, the employer should

inform its employees of the general circumstances when speaking

only in English is required and of the consequences of violating the

rule. If an employer fails to effectively notify its employees of the

rule and makes an adverse employment decision against an

individual based on a violation of the rule, the Commission will

consider the employer’s application of the rule as evidence of

discrimination on the basis of national origin.

oval

See CD 71-446 (1970), CCH EEOC Decisions { 6173, 2 FEP Cases,

1127; CD 72-0281 (1971), CCH EEOC Decisions { 6293.

42a

APPENDIX E

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

CONGRESSIONAL RECORD

PROCEEDINGS AND DEBATES OF THE 102d CONGRESS,

FIRST SESSION

WASHINGTON, WEDNESDAY, OCTOBER 30, 1991

Vol. 137, No. 158

SENATE

(Legislative day of Tuesday, October 29, 1991)

The Senate met at 11:30 a.m., on the expiration of the

recess, and was called to order by BOB GRAHAM, a Senator

from the State of Florida.

a

SCHEDULE

Mr. MITCHELL. Mr. President, today during the period

for morning business, two Senators are to be recognized to address

the Senate for 10 minutes each. When the period for morning

business closes at 12 noon today, the Senate will resume

consideration of S. 1745, the civil rights bil!, at which time the bill

will be considered under the terms of a unanimous-consent

agreement entered late last night and printed on page 2 of today’s

Calendar of Business.

Geoad

Mr. DeCONCINI. I commend Senator KENNEDY for his

leadership in the area of civil rights and would like to know if it

is also his understanding that the Supreme Court’s holding in Saint

Francis College versus Al-Khazraji is a correct interpretation of

section 1981?

43a

Mr. KENNEDY. Yes, I believe the decision is a correct

interpretation of section 1981.

Mr. DeCONCINI. Is there anything in the substitute to

S. 1745 that would affect in any way the Court's holding in this

case?

Mr. KENNEDY. No, the bil! does not in any way repeal

the St. Francis College decision. The discrimination described by

the court in Saint Francis College is, in effect, national origin

discrimination, which is the term used in title VII of the Civil

Rights Act to identify this particular type of discrimination.

Mr. DeCONCINI. Is it the Senator’s understanding that

“national origin described by the court in St. Francis upon

characteristics common to a specific ethnic group, such as

ancestry, culture, linguistic characteristics-including language and

speech accent--physical characteristics, and birthplace?

Mr. KENNEDY. Yes, that is my understanding.

Mr. DeCONCINI. Consistent with this interpretation,

would the Senator agree that Congress intended that, to state a

cause of action under section 1981, it is sufficient to allege

discrimination based solely upon national origin.

Mr. KENNEDY. Yes. I agree.

Mr. DeCONCINI. I thank the Senator. I also have another

matter that I would like to discuss. This is the issue of workplace

rules which require the speaking of only one language. Many of

my constituents have brought to my attention an increasing

problem with nonjob related discipline and termination of people

for speaking languages other than English in the workplace. Is the

Senator aware of the EEOC regulations dealing with this problem?

Mr. KENNEDY. Yes, the EEOC promulgated such

regulations in 1980.

Mr. DeCONCINI. These regulations reflect the fact that

the primary language of an individual is often an essential national

origin characteristic. Does the Senator agree that these regulations

found in 29 CFR 16067.7 provide a sound and effective method

for dealing with this problem?

Mr. KENNEDY. Yes, I agree that this regulation has

worked well during the past 11 years it has been in effect.

Mr. DeCONCINI. Does the substitute to S. 1745 in any

way adversely affect the EEOC regulation on language use in the

workplace.

Mr. KENNEDY. No, it does not.

Mr. DeCONCINI. Therefore, if S. 1745 is passed and

signed into law by the President, the EEOC regulations would be

consistent with title VII as amended by S. 1745.

Mr. KENNEDY. That is correct.

Mr. DECONCINI. I would like to thank my distinguished

colleague from Massachusetts. That is all I have.

cou

45a

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.