Opposition Brief — Edwards v. First American Title Insurance

Supreme Court brief1994

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

OO

No. 93-2099

In The os

Supreme Court of the Unitety States

+

October Term, 1994

A.G. EDWARDS, JR..,

Petitioner

VS.

FIRST AMERICAN TITLE INSURANCE COMPANY and

JOHN HANCOCK MUTUAL LIFE INSURANCE

COMPANY, e7 al.,

Respondents

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court

of Appeals for the First Circuit

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION FOR RESPONDENT

PRINCE HAWKINS, INDIVIDUALLY AND ON

BEHALF OF THE LAW FIRM OF HAWKINS,

RHODES & SHARP

MARTHA V. GORDON

Counsel of Record

NELSON, KINDER, MOSSEAU

& GORDON, P.C.

Attorneys for Respondent

Prince Hawkins, Individually and on

Behalf of the Law Firm of

Hawkins, Rhodes & Sharp

99 Middle Street

P.O. Box 1510

Manchester, New Hampshire 03105

(603) 647-1800

§453

juz

te (800) 3 APPEAL * (800) 5 APPEAL + (800) BRIEF 21

AS onices, inc

BEST AVAILABLE COPY

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the First Circuit Court of Appeals properly upheld the

dismissal by the federal district court for the District of New

Hampshire of all claims against Prince A. Hawkins, a Nevada

attorney, and the Nevada law firm of Hawkins, Rhodes & Sharp,

where the statute of limitations applicable to each claim had

expired prior to the commencement of the action?

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

CS 6c. c a ckkceceweeeeeeseheedesiess

TROT RINTD oo ccccescccdendecsvsccesdccesess

PERG ccc ccrcctcvessucbedeesvustéueces

gt TTT eee

SUP GEAR occ cccccccsecersvetesansuens

Reasons for Denying the Writ .............0eeeeeees

I. Asubsequent injury alleged to have arisen from the

same cause does not toll the accrual of the cause

GEO 6c ks ehkbsboksucenieceee eee

COBSIOR oo ncccndass6hasesnniennesteddeeaas

TABLE OF CITATIONS

Statutes Cited:

AUSL.§ USVI) .. 0c vcccsvcvesccsvenseunsenes

MUSEO IGM cc scccctccccesttecasevewnnees

BUS. G MOG on ccveseciscnetaiuvisveneasteas

SO USB.C. GIGS . nc cccccccsvccccsscccsessessvesecs

Contents

Rules Cited:

PCIe. IBD) co ccccccccccccccccvcvvccccceece

Fe ec CUe Be BAUUO) co cccccccccccescccescccccccvese

APPENDIX

Appendix A —Opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the First Circuit Dated March 29, 1994 ...

Appendix B -— Judgment and Order of the United States

District Court for the District of New Hampshire Dated

PUR EUEE cecocecccesccossces seeescesecoeses

Appendix C — Order of the United States District Court for

the District of New Hampshire Filed March 23, 1993

Appendix D — Plaintiff's Complaint ................

Appendix E — Plaintiff’s First Amended Complaint ....

Appendix F — Motion to Dismiss or Transfer of Prince A.

_ PEPPPPTTTTTIITITTT TTT Tere

Appendix G — Motion to Dismiss or Transfer Venue of

Defendant John Hancock Mutual Life Insurance

GS, cc cccvcccvcccvccesccccccccescevccese

la

l4a

iv

Contents

Page

Appendix H — Motion to Dismiss of Defendants Harold

Pearson, ITI, William Gordon, John G. McElwee, Steven

Brown, Thomas L. McKiernan andArthur Duncan ... 60a

’ g

*

|

1

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On August 12, 1991, petitioner A.G. Edwards, Jr. (“Edwards”)

filed a complaint against First American Title Company of Nevada

in the federal district court for the District of New Hampshire,

complaining of a foreclosure which occurred in Nevada on August

15, 1985. Respondents’ Joint Appendix (“App.”) at 32a.’ On

October 2, 1992, he filed his First Amended Complaint, changing

the defendant from First American Title Company of Nevada to

First American Title Company. App. at 37a. The First Amended

Complaint added additional defendants, John Hancock Mutual

Life Insurance Company (“John Hancock”), various officers and

employees of John Hancock, and respondents Prince A. Hawkins

and Hawkins, Rhodes and Sharp (collectively referred to as

“Hawkins”), alleged by Edwards to be Nevada counsel for John

Hancock, and added additional claims for relief. App. 00a. The

First Amended Complaint was served upon Hawkins on December

10, 1992 in Reno, Nevada. /d.

On December 28, 1992, Hawkins moved for dismissal of the

action pursuant to F. R. Civ. P. 12(b)(2) for lack of personal

jurisdiction; for dismissal of the action pursuant to F. R. Civ. P.

12(b)(6) for failure to state a claim as Edwards’ claims against

Hawkins were barred by the statute of limitations; for dismissal of

the action on the ground of improper venue under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1391(a) and (b) and 28 U.S.C. § 1406(a); or, in the alternative, to

transfer the action to Nevada pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1404(a).

App. 54a.

On March 23, 1993, the district court (DiClerico, C.J.) granted

Hawkins’ motion to dismiss on the ground that the district court

lacked personal jurisdiction over all of the non-corporate

1. Edwards did not submit a separate appendix with his petition;

accordingly, respondents have submitted a joint appendix.

2

defendants, including Hawkins, and dismissed the action against

John Hancock on the basis that Edwards had previously filed an

action in the federal district of Massachusetts against Hancock.

App. 19a. The action against First American was transferred to

Nevada. /d.

In a per curiam opinion, the First Circuit Court of Appeals

upheld the dismissal of the individual defendants on the ground of

personal jurisdiction, upheld the dismissal of John Hancock on the

ground of comity, and affirmed the transfer of the action against

First American Title Insurance Co. to Nevada pursuant to 28

U.S.C. § 1404(a). App. la. The First Circuit rejected Edwards’

contention that the federal court erred in not transferring the claims

against the individual defendants to a forum which would have

personal jurisdiction on the ground that statutes of limitations

applicable to Edwards’ claims had expired prior to his filing of

these claims.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The sole argument advanced by Edwards in his Petition is that

the First Circuit erred in determining that each of his claims against

the individual defendants accrued on August 15, 1985, and

therefore, the action was barred against the individual defendants,

on any of Edwards’ theories, on August 15, 1991, nearly a year

prior to the filing of Edwards’ Amended Complaint against the

individual defendants, Edwards’ argument is predicated on his

claim that a subsequent loss of income in 1990 purportedly arising

from the original foreclosure in 1985 “advanced” the accrual date.

-

3

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

L

A SUBSEQUENT INJURY ALLEGED TO HAVE

ARISEN FROM THE SAME CAUSE DOES NOT TOLL THE

ACCRUAL OF THE CAUSE OF ACTION.

In his original Amended Complaint, Edwards claimed that he

had been injured as a result of an allegedly defective foreclosure of

cattle ranches owned by the Saval Ranching Co. (“Saval”), which

secured loans from John Hancock to Saval, which occurred on

August 15, 1985. Based upon these allegations, the federal district

court correctly declined Edwards’ invitation to transfer the action

against the individual defendants to a forum which would arguably

have personal jurisdiction over them pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §

1404(a) or under 28 U.S.C. § 1631 on the ground that all of his

claims against the individual defendants were time-barred,

whether New Hampshire, Massachusetts or Nevada law applied.

Although Edwards originally acknowledged that each of his

claims against the individual defendants accrued on August 15,

1985, he belatedly asserted in a reply brief filed in the First Circuit

that when the United States Forest Service cancelled a grazing

permit for Saval’s ranches, he was further injured. This subsequent

economic loss, which Edwards asserted was “directly derived”

from the allegedly defective foreclosure sale, is, according to

Edwards, grounds for delaying the accrual date of his civil claims

until mid-1990.

The First Circuit Court of Appeals correctly determined that

regardless of whether Massachusetts, Nevada or New Hampshire

law is applied, Edwards’ claims accrued no later than August 15,

1985:

cattle

4

This argument has no merit because there has

been, and can be, no dispute that Edwards was

on notice of possible substantial injury as of the

August 1985 foreclosure sale, when the under

inclusive property description may have

caused the Saval ranches to be sold for a lower

price. A cause of action accrues when a

plaintiff has “knowledge, actual or attributed,

of both harm to it and the likely cause of such

harm, . . . sufficient to stimulate further inquiry

which was likely to alert it to a cause of action

against a defendant.” Hanson Housing

Authority v. Dryvit System, Inc., 29 Mass. App.

Ct. 440, 446, 560 N.E. 2d 1290, 1294 (1990),

rev. den., 409 Mass. 1101, 565 N.E. 2d 792

(1991). The fact that a plaintiff subsequently

suffers some additional harm that may be

traced to the same likely cause does not delay

accrual of the cause of action. /d. (“It is not

required that the extent of injury be known

before accrual of a cause of action”); Rowe v.

John Deere, 130 N.H. 18, 21-23, 533 A.2d 375,

376-78 (1987). See Sorenson v. Pavlikowski,

94 Nev. 440, 443-44, 581 P.2d 851, 853-54

(1978).

In his Petition for Certiorari, Edwards cites no law to the

contrary. There is no legal or factual basis for further review of the

First Circuit Court of Appeals’ decision.

5

CONCLUSION

For all the foregoing reasons, Prince A. Hawkins and

Hawkins, Rhodes & Sharp respectfully request this Honorable

Court to deny the Petition for Certiorari.

Dated: July 26, 1994

Respectfully submitted,

MARTHA V. GORDON

Counsel of Record

NELSON, KINDER, MOSSEAU &

GORDON, P.C.

Attorneys for Respondent

Prince Hawkins, Individually

and on Behalf of the Law Firm of

Hawkins, Rhodes & Sharp

99 Middle Street

P.O. Box 1510

Manchester, NH 03105

(603) 647-1800

la

APPENDIX A — OPINION OF THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT DATED

MARCH 29, 1994

[NOT FOR PUBLICATION]

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

No. 93-1873

A. GREER EDWARDS, JR...

Plaintiff, Appellant,

v.

FIRST AMERICAN TITLE INSURANCE COMPANY OF

NEVADA, ETAL.,

Defendants, Appellees.

APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF NEW HAMPSHIRE

[Hon. Joseph A.DiClerico, U.S. District Judge]

Before

Breyer, Chief Judge,

Selya and Cyr, Circuit Judges.

2a

Appendix A

A.G. Edwards, Jr. on the brief pro se. Richard B. Couser and Orr

and Reno, P.A. on brief for appellees First American Title

Insurance Company, John Hancock Mutual Life Insurance

Company, Harold Pearson III, William Gordon, John G. McElwee,

Stephen Brown, Thomas L. McKiernan and Arthur Duncan.

Martha V. Gordon and Nelson, Kinder, Mosseau & Gordon,

PC on brief for appellees Prince A. Hawkins and Hawkins, Rhodes

& Sharp.

March 29, 1994

Per Curiam. Plaintiff-appellant A.G. Edwards, Jr., has

brought a pro se appeal from the district court’s judg™ent

dismissing Edwards’ claims against nine defendants: the john

Hancock Mutual Life Insurance Co. (“John Hancock”), six John

Hancock employees, Nevada attorney Prince Hawkins, and the

Nevada law firm of Hawkins, Rhodes & Sharp. Edwards also

appeals from the district court’s ruling transferring Edwards’

claims against the remaining defendant, the First American Title

Insurance Co. (“First American”), to the District of Nevada on

grounds of convenience under 28 U.S.C. § 1404(a).

In the 1970’s the Saval Ranching Co. (“Saval”), of which

Edwards was part owner and later sole owner, borrowed money

from John Hancock. As security, Saval gave John Hancock deeds

of trust to two commercial cattle ranches in Nevada owned by

Saval. In 1985, at a time when Edwards resided in Massachusetts,

John Hancock foreclosed on Saval’s ranches. John Hancock

foreclosed through First American, which was John Hancock’s

trustee on the deeds of trust to Saval’s ranches. Hawkins and his

law firm represented John Hancock in the foreclosure proceedings.

3a

Appendix A

The deeds of trust to Saval’s ranches expressly included the

mineral, oil, and gas rights pertaining to those ranches. In

preparing for the foreclosure sale, however, First American

excluded these mineral, oil and gas rights from the published

description of the properties to be sold. Although he could not bid

on the properties, Edwards attended the August 15, 1985 Nevada

foreclosure sale. At that sale the United States government

purchased the properties and acquired the release of John

Hancock’s interest in the properties. Edwards subsequently moved

from Massachusetts to New Hampshire.

The U.S. then filed suit against Edwards in the federal district

court in Nevada to recover a $600,000 deficiency. The Nevada

court ruled on January 5, 1988 that First American had violated

applicable Nevada foreclosure statutes by excepting the mineral,

oil, and gas rights from the description of the properties, and

invalidated the foreclosure. In 1989, Edwards and the U.S. entered

into a settlement agreement by which the U.S. transferred all its

interest in the properties to Edwards in return for a sum of money.

On January 25,1991, Edwards filed suit in the District Court

for the District of Massachusetts against John Hancock. The suit,

which included claims for negligence and for breach of contract,

sought damages for the underinclusive property description in the

notices of the foreclosure sale of the Saval ranches. The district

court dismissed Edwards’ negligence claim as time-barred, and

dismissed his contract claim on the merits. On September 4, 1992,

this court affirmed the dismissal of the negligence claim, vacated

the dismissal of the contract claim, and remanded for further

proceedings. Edwards v. John Hancock Mutual Life Ins. Co., 973

F.2d 1027 (1st Cir. 1992).

Edwards filed the instant pro se lawsuit on August 12, 1991 in

ae.

Appendix A

the District Court for the District of New Hampshire. His original

complaint named only first American and sought damages for First

American’s alleged negligence and breach of contract in carrying

out the foreclosure sale. On June 2, 1992, Edwards filed an

amended pro se complaint in which he added the other nine

defendants and also added additional grounds for relief.

On March 23, 1993, the district court (1) dismissed Edwards’

claims against the eight non-corporate defendants for lack of

personal jurisdiction in New Hampshire; (2) dismissed Edwards’

claims against John Hancock in light of Edwards’ pre-existing suit

against John Hancock in the District of Massachusetts; and (3)

transferred Edwards’ claims against First American to the District

of Nevada pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1404(a). Edwards appeals,

having been issued a Fed. R. Civ. P. 54(b) certificate by the district

court.

Claims Against the Eight Non-Corporate Defendants

The district court dismissed Edwards’ claims against the eight

non-corporate defendants — i.e., the six John Hancock employees

(Pearson, Gordon, McElwee, Brown, McKiernan, and Duncan),

Nevada attorney Hawkins, and Hawkins’ law firm — on the

ground that New Hampshire lacked personal jurisdiction over any

of them under the New Hampshire long-arm statute, N.H. Rev.

Stat. Ann. § 510:4.

Although Edwards appears to concede in his brief on appeal

that New Hampshire lacked personal jurisdiction over these eight

defendants, in his reply brief he insists that he did not mean to

waive that issue. Assuming, arguendo, that the issue is properly

before us, we would affirm the district court’s ruling on this point

for the reasons stated in the district court’s March 23, 1993 order.

Sa

Appendix A

Edwards did not adequately allege that any of these non-corporate

defendants — as distinguished from their corporate employer or

principal, John Hancock — transacted business, owned property,

or committed a tortious act in New Hampshire within the meaning

of the New Hampshire long-arm statute, N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann.

510:4. There is no dispute that the alleged tort —underinclusive

description of Saval’s properties in connection with the 1985

foreclosure sale — occurred in Nevada and that Edwards resided in

Massachusetts at that time. Since this is not a continuing tort, the

fact that Edwards moved to New Hampshire after the foreclosure

sale does not mean that the alleged tort occurred, in part, in New

Hampshire.

Edwards argues that instead of dismissing these claims, the

district court should have transferred the claims to another forum

which would have personal jurisdiction over these eight non-

corporate defendants. The district court did not deal with this point

in its opinion.

Edwards bases his argument on 28 U.S.C. § 1631, which

provides that whenever a “court finds that there is a want of

jurisdiction, the court shall, if it is in the interest of justice, transfer

such action ... to any other such court in which the action ...

could have been brought at the time it was filed.” There is no

question in this case that the district court had jurisdiction over the

subject-matter of this action; it was personal jurisdiction that was

lacking. Some courts and commentators, relying on a construction

of the legislative history of § 1631, have suggested that a court may

transfer an action under § 1631 only when it lacks subject-matter

jurisdiction, not personal jurisdiction. See, e.g., Levy v. Pyramid

Co. of Ithaca, 687 F. Supp. 48, 51 (N.D.N.Y. 1988), aff'd, 871 F.2d

9 (2nd Cir. 1989); 15 Wright, Miller, & Cooper, Federal Practice

and Procedure § 3842, at 323 (2nd ed. 1986). By contrast, other

6a

Appendix A

courts — pointing to the language of § 1631 itself, which speaks of

“jurisdiction” and makes no further distinction —have held that §

1631 does permit a transfer where the transferor court lacks

personal jurisdiction. See, e.g., Ross v. Colorado Outward Bound

School, Inc., 822 F.2d 1524,1527 (10th Cir. 1987); United States v.

American River Transportation, Inc., 150 F.R.D. 587 (C.D. Til.

1993). This court has yet to rule on the issue.

We need not do so here. Regardless of whether transfer is

sought under § 1631, under 28 U.S.C. § 1404(a) (which provides

that “[f]or the convenience of parties and witnesses, in the interest

of justice, a district court may transfer any civil action to any other

district or division where it might have been brought”), or under 28

U.S.C. § 1406(a) (which provides that “[t)he district court of a

district in which is filed a case laying venue in the wrong division

or district shall dismiss, or if it be in the interest of justice, transfer

such case to any district or division in which it could have been

brought”), we would affirm the denial of a transfer because all of

Edwards’ claims against the eight non-corporate defendants were

time-barred, under all statutes of limitations that might be

applicable, at the time he filed those claims in the instant case. A

federal court may not transfer an action to another court under

§ 1631 if the action was time-barred at the time it was filed. See,

e.g., Billops v. Department of the Air Force, 725 F.2d 1160, 1163

(8th Cir. 1984). Similarly, transfer under either § 1404(a) or

§ 1406(a) would not serve the interests of justice where the action

was time-barred at the time it was filed. See, e.g., McTyre v.

Broward General Medical Center, 749 F. Supp. 102, 105-09

(D.N.J. 1990).

Edwards asserted six causes of action against some or all of

these eight defendants: (1) negligence; (2) breach of contract; (3)

breach of an implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing: (4)

Ta

Appendix A

violation of RICO, 18 U.S.C. §§ 1961-68; (5) violation of the

Massachusetts Consumer Protection Act, Mass. Gen. Laws 93A;

and (6) deceptive trade practices under Nevada statutes. In

Edwards’ prior appeal arising out of the similar action Edwards

brought in Massachusetts, this court has already ruled that

Edwards’ cause of action for negligence was time-barred under

Massachusetts law at some time before January 1991, i.e., before

Edwards filed either the complaint or the amended complaint in the

instant action. Edwards, supra, 973 F.2d at 1029-30.

All other possible statutes of limitations for any of Edwards’

claims — whether under Nevada, Massachusetts, or New

Hampshire law — are six years or less. The applicable limitations

period for a negligence action is six years in New Hampshire, N.H.

Rev. Stat. Ann. 508:4, I, and four years in Nevada, Nev. Rev. Stat.

§ 11.190, 2(c). The applicable limitations period for a contract

action, or an action for breach of an implied covenant of good faith,

is six years in Massachusetts, Mass. Gen. Laws c. 260, § 2; six

years in New Hampshire, N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. 508:4, I; and either

six or four years in Nevada, Nev. Rev. Stat. § 11.190, 1(b), 2(c).

The limitations period for a civil RICO action is four years. Agency

Holding Corp. v. Malley-Duff & Associates, Inc., 483 U.S.143, 156

(1987). The limitations period for an action under Mass. Gen.

Laws c. 93A is four years. Mass. Gen. Laws c. 260, § 5A. Finally,

Edwards has not disputed appellees’ assertion that the limitations

period for an action under Nevada deceptive trade practices

statutes is four years. Nev. Rev. Stat. §§ 598A. 220, 11.220.

This court already has strongly suggested, if not expressly

held, that under Massachusetts law Edwards’ cause of action for

negligence accrued by the time of the foreclosure sale, i.e., by

August 15, 1985. Edwards, supra, 973 F.2d at 1029-30. Appellees

urge that this accrual date should govern all of Edwards’ causes of

action.

8a

Appendix A

Edwards has given no reason, and we see none, to think that

his contract-based claims and his tort-based claims should be

governed by different accrual dates. In his brief on appeal,

moreover, Edwards expressly accepted the August 15, 1985

accrual date.

In his reply brief, Edwards does belatedly challenge this

accrual date. However, his only challenge, whether as a matter of

Massachusetts, New Hampshire, or Nevada law, is his contention

that his causes of action did not accrue until mid-1990, when the

U.S. Forest Service allegedly cancelled his grazing permit for

livestock on his Saval ranches. He alleges that this cancellation

“(djirectly deriv[ed]” from the defective foreclosure sale and

caused him substantial economic harm.

This argument has no merit because there has been, and can

be, no dispute that Edwards was on notice of possible substantial

injury as of the August 1985 foreclosure sale, when the

underinclusive property description may have caused the Saval

ranches to be sold for a lower price. A cause of action accrues when

a plaintiff has "knowledge, actual or attributed, of both harm to it

and the likely cause of such harm, . . . sufficient to stimulate further

inquiry which was likely to alert it to a cause of action against a

defendant.” Hanson Housing Authority v. Dryvit System, Inc., 29

Mass. App. Ct., 440, 446, 560 N.E.2d 1290, 1294 (1990), rev. den.,

409 Mass. 1101, 565 N.E.2d 792 (1991). The fact that a plaintiff

subsequently suffers some additional harm that may be traced to

the same likely cause does not delay accrual of the cause of action.

Id. (“It is not required that the extent of injury be known before

accrual of a cause of action”); Rowe v. John Deere, 130 N.H. 18,

21-23, 533 A.2d 375, 376-78 (1987). See Sorenson v. Pavlikowski,

94 Nev. 440, 443-44, 581 P.2d 851, 853-54 (1978).

Da

Appendix A

Accordingly, with an accrual date of no later than August 15,

1985, the latest Edwards could have brought any of his claims

against any of these defendants was August 15, 1991. Edwards’

amended complaint naming these eight defendants was not filed

until June 2, 1992.

Although Edwards’ original complaint was filed three days

before August 15,1993, it did not name any of these defendants.

Edwards has not argued that the provisions of Fed. R. Civ. P. 15(c)

— setting forth the circumstances under which claims raised in an

amended complaint can relate back to the time the original

complaint was filed ——- apply here. Even if he had raised this

argument — we note that both appellees’ briefs do discuss this

point, despite Edwards’ failure to raise it — we see no merit in it.

Fed R. Civ. P. 15(c)(1) permits relation back when “relation

back is permitted by the law that provides the statute of limitations

applicable to the action.” None of the statutes of limitations which

may possibly apply to any of Edwards’ claims contains such a

provision.

Fed. R. Civ. 15(c)(2) permits relation back when “the claim or

defense asserted in the amended pleading arose out of the conduct,

transaction, or occurrence set forth or attempted to be set forth in

the original pleading.” This provision governs the assertion of new

legal theories in an amended complaint, and does not apply when

the amended complaint seeks to add new parties. See Jacobson v.

Mcllwain, 145 F.R.D. 595, 603 (S.D. Fla. 1992).

Finally, Fed. R. Civ. P. 15(c)(3) permits relation back of an

amendment adding new parties when the claim asserted arose out

of the conduct set forth in the original pleading, as required by Rule

15(c)(2), “and, within the period [120 days] provided by Rule 4(j)

10a

Appendix A

for service of the summons and complaint, the party to be brought

in by amendment (A) has received such notice of the institution of

the action that the party will not be prejudiced in maintaining a

defense on the merits, and (B) knew or should have known that, but

for a mistake concerning the identity of the proper party, the action

would have been brought against the party.” Edwards meets

neither of these latter two requirements here.

Edwards has said nothing to indicate that any of the eight non-

corporate defendants named in the amended complaint received

notice of the original complaint within 120 days of its filing. Nor is

there anything in the record to suggest that Edwards made some

mistake regarding the proper party to be sued, rather than merely

deciding at a later time to sue further parties in addition to First

American. Indeed, Edwards himself acknowledged as much in his

memorandum in support of his motion to file the amended

complaint, when he stated, “The plaintiff has further studied his

cause of Action in this matter and has found the justification to

enlarge his Complaint by adding relevant supplementary

averments and by naming related additional appropriate

Defendants.”

Edwards argues in his brief on appeal that after he filed his

original complaint, and also after he filed his amended complaint,

the clerk of the district court improperly delayed issuing a

summons as required by Fed. R. Civ. P 4(a). This impropriety,

according to Edwards, delayed service of process upon the

defendants.

We need not consider this matter because Edwards’

contention, even if true, is irrelevant to our decision. All of

Edward’s claims against the eight non-corporate defendants were

time-barred before June 2, 1992 when the amended complaint

lla

Appendix A

naming these defendants was filed. Any subsequent delay in

service of process on these defendants, therefore, was beside the

point. Even if somehow the district court clerk improperly

prevented Edwards from providing these defendants with timely

notice of his original complaint and those circumstances somehow

satisfied Fed. R. Civ. P 15(c)(3))A) (points which are by no means

clear), this would avail Edwards nothing, since we have already

held that Fed. R. Civ. P. 15(c)(3)(B) was not satisfied.

Claims Against John Hancock

As we have said, on January 25, 1991 — well over a year

before the filing of his amended complaint in the instant case

adding claims against John Hancock — Edwards filed a similar

suit in the District Court for the District of Massachusetts, naming

John Hancock as the only defendant. Edwards’ Massachusetts

lawsuit, like the instant suit, sought to recover damages, based on

counts of negligence and breach of contract, for the

uinderinclusive property description in the notices of the

foreclosure sale of the Saval ranches.

The district court found that both the Massachusetts lawsuit

and Edwards’ instant claims against John Hancock involved the

same issues and the same parties. Accordingly, the district court

dismissed Edwards’ claims against John Hancock, citing the

“generally recognized doctrine of federal comity which permits a

district court to decline jurisdiction over an action when a

complaint involving the same parties and issues has already been

filed in another district.” Pacesetter Systems, Inc. v. Medtronic,

Inc., 678 F.2d 93, 94-95 (9th’ Cir. 1982). At the time of the district

court’s order, apparently Edwards’ Contract claim remained

pending in the Massachusetts suit, although his negligence claim

had been dismissed as time barred.” See Edwards, supra, 973 F.2d

1027.

12a

Appendix A

Edwards does not appear to challenge this district court ruling

in his brief on appeal. In light of “the settled appellate rule that

issues ... unaccompanied by some effort at developed

argumentation . . . are deemed waived,” United States v. Zannino,

895 F.2d 1, 17 (ist Cir.), cert. denied, 494 U.S.1082 (1990), we will

not consider this issue.

Claims Against First American

This court lacks appellate jurisdiction to consider Edwards’

appeal from the district court’s ruling transferring Edwards’ claims

against defendant-appellant First American Title Insurance Co. to

the District of Nevada pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1404(a). It is well-

settled that such a transfer order under § 1404(a) is an interlocutory

order and therefore is not appealable as a final judgment. Codex

Corp. Milgo Electronic Corp., 553 F.2d 735, 737 (ist Cir.), cer.

denied, 434 U.S. 860 (1977). Since Edwards has not obtained a

certificate for interlocutory appeal under 28 U.S.C. § 1292(b), we

lack jurisdiction over this aspect of his appeal.

In any event, even if we had jurisdiction, we would affirm the

district court’s transfer ruling for the reasons stated in the district

court’s March 23, 1993 order. Only under unusual circumstances

would we disturb a district court’s exercise of discretion in

ordering a transfer under § 1404(a). Jd. Certainly no such

circumstances exist here, given the undisputed facts that the

events giving rise to Edwards’ claims occurred primarily in

Nevada, the Saval ranches are in Nevada, and relevant documents

and witnesses will be readily available in Nevada.

13a

Appendix A

Conclusion

We affirm the district court’s denial of Edwards’ motion for

reconsideration. As the district court stated, if viewed as a Fed. R.

Civ. P. 59(e) motion to alter or amend the judgment, the motion was

untimely because it was served more than ten days after entry of

judgment. Fed. R. Civ. P. 59(e). If viewed as a Fed. R. Civ. P. 60(b)

motion, the motion stated no possible basis for relief from

judgment.

We have considered all of Edwards’ other arguments and find

them meritless.

The request of Hawkins and Hawkins, Rhodes & Sharp that

sanctions, including attorneys’ fees, be awarded against Edwards

is denied.

The judgment of the district court is affirmed.

ae el tin

> ng a Se a, be =

VY wy

=

l4a

APPENDIX B — JUDGMENT AND ORDER OF THE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

DISTRICT OF NEV HAMPSHIRE DATED JULY 9, 1993

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

DISTRICT OF NEW HAMPSHIRE

Civil Action No. 1:91-cv-00346-JD

Edwards

v.

First American Title, et al.

JUDGMENT

JUDGMENT is entered only as to Defendants John Hancock

Mutual Life Insurance Company, Harold Pearson, III, William

Gordon, John G. McElwee, Steven Brown, Thomas L. McKiernan,

Arthur Duncan, Prince Hawkins and Hawkins, Rhodes & Sharpe

pursuant to the Order dated July 8, 1993, by Chief Judge Joseph A.

DiClerico, Jr. (Signed by Clerk James R. Starr)

By the Court,

s/ James R. Starr

Clerk

Date: July 9, 1993

cc: A. Greer Edwards, Jr.,

James E. Morris, Esq.

Richard B. Couser, Esq.

Martha V. Gordon, Esq.

¥

&

ate a ee WY. WL a maT

5 _— Fit 3

“7s *

15a

Appendix B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COUPT FOR THE

DISTRICT OF NEW HAMPSHIRE

Civil No. 91-349-JD

A.G. Edwards. Jr.

v.

First American Title Co.. et al.

ORDER

Defendants Prince Hawkins (“Hawkins”); Hawkins, Rhodes

& Sharpe (“HR&S”); John Hancock Mutual Life Insurance

Company (“John Hancock”); Harold Pearson, Il; William

Gordon; John G. McElwee; Steven Brown; Thomas L. McRiernan;

and Arthur Duncan (the “individual defendants”) move for entry of

final judgment pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 54(b). The plaintiff A.G.

Edwards, Jr. (“Edwards”) has filed a written objection to Hawkins

and HR&S’ motion, asking the court instead to certify its March

23, 1993 order for interlocutory appeal pursuant to 28 U.S.C.A.

§ 1292 (West Supp. 1993). Although the time has not yet run for

Edwards to respond to John Hancock and the individual

defendants’ motion, the court assumes Edwards objects to entry of

final judgment as to John Hancock and the individual defendants

for the same reasons already expressed in his written objection to

Hawkins and HR&S’ motion. In the event the court is in error in

making this assumption, Edwards may file his written objection by

July 27, 1993 for consideration by the court.

Rule 54(b) states “[w]hen multiple parties are involved, the

court may direct the entry of a final judgment as to one or more but

16a

Appendix B

fewer than all of the ... parties only upon an express

determination that there is no just reason for delay and upon an

express direction for the entry of judgment.” The policy of Rule

54(b) is “to permit district courts to determine that parties should,

in certain circumstances, be exempted from the burden of awaiting

the final outcome of a multi-party . . . case.” Willhauck v. Halpin,

953 F.2d 689, 701 (Ist Cir. 1991). Despite the policy underlying

Rule 54(b), “there is a long-settled and prudential policy against

the scattershot disposition of litigation.” Spiegel v. Trustees of

Tufts College, 843 F.2d 38, 42 (Ist Cir. 1988). The court should not

routinely enter judgment under Rule 54(b) and should not enter

judgment as an accommodation to lawyers or litigants.

Consolidated Rail Corp. v. Fore River Ry. Co., 861 F.2d 322, 325

(ist Cir. 1988); Spiegel, 843 F.2d at 42 (citing Santa Maria v.

Owens-Illinois Inc., 808 F.2d 848, 954 (Ist Cir. 1986); Panichella v.

Pennsylvania R.R. Co., 252 F.2d 452, 455 (3d Cir. 1958)).

To enter judgment pursuant to Rule 54(b), the court must

make an express direction for the entry of judgment in a separate

document and a corresponding entry must be made in the court’s

docket. Willhauck, 953 F.2d at 701. The court also must make an

express determination there is no just reason for delay. Id. In

determining whether there is just reason for delay, the court

considers factors including the relationship between the

adjudicated and unadjudicated claims, the possibility the need for

review might be mooted by future developments, the equities

between the parties, the possibility the reviewing court may be

obligated to consider the same issues a second time, preventing

delay and preventing unnecessary expense. See Spiegel, 843 F.2d

at 43 n.3 (adopting factors set forth in Allis-Chalmers Corp. v.

Philadelphia Elec. Co., 521 F.2d 360, 364 (3d Cir. 1975)); C.R.

Bard, Inc. v. Medical Elec. Corp., 529 F. Supp. 1382, 1388 (D.

Mass. 1982) (citing Curtiss-Wright Corp. v. General Elec. Co., 446

17a

Appendix B

U.S. 1 (1980)). The decision whether to enter final judgment rests

largely in the discretion of the trial court. Curtiss-Wright, 446 U.S.

at 8; C.R. Bard, 529 F. Supp. at 1388.

In this casc, the court has dismissed all claims against

Hawkins, HR&S, John Hancock and the individual defendants.

The remaining unadjudicated claims are against another defendant

and venue in that matter has been transferred to the District of

Nevada. “An order that disposes finally of a claim against one

party to the suit can be certified for an immediate appeal under the

rule even if identical claims remain pending between the

remaining parties.” National Metalcrafters v. McNeil, 784 F.2d

817, 821 (7th Cir. 1986).

If the court does not enter final judgment as to Hawkins,

HR&S, John Hancock and the individual defendants at this time,

Edwards must wait until the case against the remaining defendant

in the District of Nevada is resolved to appeal their dismissal. If

Edwards then succeeds in his appeal, the district court would have

to consider the merits of his claims against them. Considering the

claims against them after the district court in Nevada has resolved

the claims against the remaining defendant would waste judicial

resources because the claims arise from the same facts. B y

contrast, if the court enters final judgment as to Hawkins, HR&S,

John Hancock and the individua. defendants at this time, Edwards

may immediately appeal the portion of the court’s order dismissing

them pursuant to 28 U.S.C.A. § 1291 (West Supp. 1993). If the

appellate court finds the district court erred in dismissing them, the

district court may be able to consolidate Edwards’s claims against

them with the case against the remaining defendant in the District

of Nevada. The court therefore finds « ntering final judgment as to

Hawkins, HR&S, John Hancock and the individual defendants at

this time may promote judicial economy.

18a

Appendix B

In addition, since the court dismissed Hawkins, HR&S and the

individual defendants for lack of personal jurisdiction and

dismissed John Hancock based on the first-filed rule, rather than

dismissing them based on the merits of Edwards’s claims, allowing

appeal of that dismissal at this time will not require an appellate

court to review the same issues twice if the case against the

remaining defendant is appealed. And finally, Hawkins and HR&S

state that withholding final judgment will require them to incur

expenses monitoring the remaining case. Taking all of the

foregoing factors into consideration, the court finds there is no just

reason for delaying entry of final judgment as to Hawkins, HR&S,

John Hancock and the individual defendants and directs the entry

of final judgment as to them.

Summary

The court grants the Defendants Prince Hawkins and

Hawkins, Rhodes & Sharpe’s Motion for Entry of Final Judgment

Pursuant to F.R.Civ.P. 54(b) (document no. 35). The court grants

the Motion for Extry of Final Judgment Pursuant to Federal Rule of

Civil Procedure 54(b) (document no. 37).

SO ORDERED.

“i Joseph A. DiClerico, Jr.

JosephA. DiClers0, Je.

Chief Judge

July 8, 1993

cc: A. Greer Edwards, pro se

Richard B. Couser, Esquire

Martha V. Gordon, Esquire

eT

19a

APPENDIX C — ORDER OF THE UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF NEW

HAMPSHIRE FILED MARCH 23, 1993

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

DISTRICT OF NEW HAMPSHIRE

Civ. No. 91-346-JD

A. G. Edwards. Jr.

v.

First American Title Co.. et al.

ORDER

Plaintiff A.G. Edwards, Jr. (“Edwards”) has sued defendants

First American Title Insurance Company (“First American”); John

Hancock Mutual Life Insurance Company (“John Hancock”);

Prince Hawkins (“Hawkins”); Hawkins, Rhodes & Sharp

(“HR&S”); and Harold Pearson, III; William Gordon; John G.

McElwee; Steven Brown; Thomas L. McKiernan and Arthur -

Duncan (collectively, the “individual Hancock defendants”). The

court considers defendants’ motions to dismiss or to transfer venue

from the District of New Hampshire.

Background

The present action was commenced on August i2, 1991 when

Edwards filed a complaint against First American. On October 2,

1992, Edwards filed an amended complaint (“Complaint”) naming

the other nine defendants. The Complaint identifies the individual

Hancock defendants as “salaried senior officials” of John

Hancock. Complaint {J 5, 6.

ee

20a

Appendix C

The Complaint alleges the following facts. In 1973, Edwards

and two other persons organized a partnership, Saval Ranching

Company (“Saval”), to purchase and operate two commercial

cattle ranches in Nevada. Edwards operated Saval’s business from

his residence in Massachusetts through 1988 and afterwards from

his residence in New Hampshire. In 1975-76, Saval borrowed

approximately $1,500,000 from John Hancock, secured by deeds

of trust on the ranches. The deeds of trust were executed by Saval,

John Hancock, and First American as John Hancock’s trustee.

Subsequently, the United States Department of Agriculture loaned

money to Saval, secured by deeds of trust on the same ranches. In

1983, Saval defaulted on the notes to John Hancock. In 1985,

Edwards became the sole owner of Saval. Also in 1985, John

Hancock, through the individual Hancock defendants and First

American, foreclosed on the ranches. Hawkins and HR&S acted as

legal counsel for John Hancock in connection with the foreclosure

proceedings.

The deeds of trust securing John Hancock’s loans expressly

included the mineral, gas and oil rights of the properties. However,

First American excepted the mineral, gas and oil rights from the

published description of the properties used in connection with the

foreclosure proceedings. Edwards attended the foreclosure sale

but was not allowed to bid on the properties. The United States

purchased the properties at the foreclosure sale for $1,231,915.60

and acquired the release of John Hancock’s interest in the

properties. The United States brought suit against Edwards in the

United States District Court for the District of Nevada to recover a

$600,000 deficiency. On January 5, 1988, the Nevada court ruled

that First American had violated Nevada’s foreclosure statutes by

excepting the mineral, gas and oil rights from the published

description of the properties, and invalidated the foreclosure. In

1989, the United States and Edwards entered into a settlement

2la

Appendix C

agreement pursuant to which Edwards paid a sum of money to the

United States and ihe United States transferred to Edwards all its

interest in the properties.

In this action, Edwards seeks damages for the defendants’

alleged improper conduct in carrying out the foreclosure sale. The

Complaint states that the foreclosure was conducted negligently

and in breach of the defendants’ “express and implied warranties

of good faith and adherence to prevaillng law.” Complaint { 67.

Discussion

I. Motions of Individual Hancock Defendants, Hawkins and

HR&S to Dismiss

The individual Hancock defendants, Hawkins and HR&S

(collectively, the “non-corporate defendants”) have moved to

dismiss the action against them for lack of personal jurisdiction

pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(b)(2). The plaintiff has the burden of

demonstrating facts sufficient to establish personal jurisdiction

over the defendants. See United Elec., Radio and Machine Workers

v. 163 Pleasant St. Corp., 960 F.2d 1080, 1090 (Ist Cir. 1992), rev’d

on other grounds, No. 92-1865, 1993 U.S. App. LEXIS 3452 (Ist

Cir. Mar. 3, 1993); Concord Labs, Inc. v. Ballard Medical Prods.,

701 F. Supp. 272, 274 (D.N.H. 1988); Velcro Group Corp. v.

Billarant, 692 F. Supp. 1443, 1446 (D.N.H. 1988). In determining

whether the plaintiff has met this burden, the court takes properly

pleaded facts as true and construes all reasonable inferences in

favor of the plaintiff. Velcro Group, 692 F. Supp. at 1446. The court

must construe a pro se complaint liberally. See Haines v. Kerner,

404 U.S. 519, 520-21 (1972). In reviewing this matter the court has

also considered and construed liberally all of plaintiff’s responses

and affidavits filed in opposition to the pending motions.

22a

Appendix C

New Hampshire’s long-arm statute specifies when a

nonresident defendant is subject to personal jurisdiction in New

Hampshire. N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 510:4 (1983). The statute

provides

[aJny person who is not an inhabitant of this

state and who, in person or through an agent,

transacts any business within this state,

commits a tortious act within the state, or has

the ownership, use, or possession of any real or

personal property situated in this state submits

himself, or his personal representative, to the

jurisdiction of the courts of this state as to any

cause of action arising from or growing out of

the acts enumerated above.

Id. If the court finds the defendants are subject to jurisdiction under

the long-arm statute, the court must analyze whether the assertion

of jurisdiction is consistent with the due process requirement of the

United States Constitution. Buckley v. McGraw-Hill Inc., 762 F.

Supp. 430, 436 (D.N.H. 1991).

Edwards argues the non-corporate defendants are subject to

personal jurisdiction under § 510:4 because they transact business

in New Hampshire through their “agents” and clients, John

Hancock and First American. This argument, however, rests upon a

misinterpretation of agency law. The non-corporate defendants

were agents of John Hancock and not vice versa. Personai

jurisdiction over employees is independent of personal jurisdiction

over their employers. See Velcro Group, 692 F. Supp. at 1449; Lex

Computer & Management Corp. v. Eslinger & Pelton, P.C., 676 F.

Supp. 399, 405 (D.N.H. 1987). Edwards, in his Complaint and in

his responses to defendants’ motions, offers only bald assertions

23a

Appendix C

that First American or John Hancock were acting as agents of the

non-corporate defendants while transacting business in New

Hampshire. Furthermore, the noncorporate defendants deny

transacting business in New Hampshire and submitted affidavits in

support of their position. The court finds Edwards has failed to

meet his burden of showing that, as to this cause of action, the non-

corporate defendants are subject to personal jurisdiction under

New Hampshire’s long-arm statute because they transact business

in New Hampshire.

Edwards further asserts the non-corporate defendants are

subject to personal jurisdiction under § 510:4 because they have

committed torts causing injury within New Hampshire. The

noncorporate defendants deny they have committed torts within

New Hampshire. New Hampshire courts interpret § 510:4 to grant

jurisdiction over a non-resident defendant “ ‘when the impact in

New Hampshire of the deendant’s out-of-state conduct has

allegedly resulted in a New Hampshire tort and was more than

fortuitous, so that the defendant knew or should have known his

conduct could injure a person here.’ ” Concord Labs., 701 F. Supp.

at 275 (quoting Lex Computer, 676 F. Supp. at 403); see also Velcro

Group, 692 F. Supp. at 1447. For example, in cases alleging

ongoing harm to businesses, courts have held that the defendants’

out-of-state conduct resulted in a New Hampshire tort when the

plaintiffs’ principal place of business was located in New

Hampshire. Velcro Group, 692 F. Supp. at 1447 (quoting Lex

Computer, 676 F. Supp. at 403); cf. Buckley, 762 F. Supp. at 43839

(in defamation case, defendant’s out-of-state publication found to

be a New Hampshire tort because plaintiff resides in New

Hampshire). “Since the brunt of the harm would be felt in New

Hampshire at the plaintiff’s principal place of business,

jurisdiction is proper in ‘New Hampshire based on the “effects” of

the defendants [sic] out-of-state conduct.’ ” Concord Labs., 701 F.

24a

Appendix C

Supp. at 276 (quoting Lex Computer, 676 F. Supp. at 404) (internal

citation omitted). These cases are based on New Hampshire’s

interest in exercising jurisdiction over those who commit torts

within its boundaries. /d. (citing Keeton v. Hustler Magazine Inc.,

465 U.S. 770 (1984); Estabrook v. Wetmore, 129 N.H. 520 (1987));

see also Tavoularis v. Womer, 123 N.H. 423, 425-26 (1983).'

In this case, Edwards argues the effects of the tort are felt in

New Hampshire because he is currently a New Hampshire resident

and now conducts his business from New Hampshire. However,

the court finds that Edwards’ relocation to New Hampshire does

not alter the fact that the tort, if any, occurred in 1985 in Nevada,

when Edwards was a resident of Massachusetts. The mere fact that

after the tort occurred Edwards relocated to New Hampshire does

not give rise to personal jurisdiction in the District of New

Hampshire when the tort alleged is not of an ongoing nature. The

court finds Edwards has failed to allege sufficient facts in his

complaint, responses and affidavits to demonstrate that the non-

corporate defendants are subject to personal jurisdiction under

§ 510:4 because they have committed torts within New

Hampshire.

Because the court lacks personal jurisdiction over the

noncorporate defendants, their motions to dismiss pursuant to Fed.

R. Civ. P. 12(b)(2) are granted. In view of the venue analysis which

follows in the discussion of Edwards’ claims against First

American, the court notes that even if the court had personal

jurisdiction over the non-corporate defendants, the District of New

Hampshire is an inappropriate venue for this action.

1. Edwards’ citation to Tavoularis is inapposite. In Tavoularis, New

Hampshire exercised personal jurisdiction over a defendant who negligently

entrusted an automobile to another person, who injured the plaintiff in an accident in

New Hampshire. 123 N.H. at 424-25. The injury in Tavoularis took place in New

Hampstire. /d. In this case, the actual injury occurred in Nevada.

SY eee (hey

Ni ESP ED ee tet —

” § DC A NDR AAR TORS clon se muy a, «

25a

Appendix C

Il. John Hancock’s Motion to Dismiss

John Hancock does not challenge personal jurisdiction or

venue in the District of New Hampshire. John Hancock argues the

case against it should be dismissed because Edwards has already

commenced an action against John Hancock in the District of

Massachusetts and because Edwards’ claims against John

Hancock are barred by the doctrine of res judicata. In the

alternative, John Hancock argues the court should transfer venue

to the District of Nevada.* Edwards requests that if the court

decides to transfer the case, the court consolidate it with a case

pending in the District of Massachusetts, Edwards v. John

Hancock Mutual Life Insurance Co., No. 91-10237-K (D. Mass.).

The court considers whether this action should be dismissed

due to the existence of the Massachusetts lawsuit. “There is a

generally recognized doctrine of federal comity which permits a

district court to decline jurisdiction over an action when a

complaint involving the same parties and issues has already been

filed in another district.” Pacesetter Sys., Inc. v. Medtronic Inc.,

678 F.2d 93, 94-95 (9th Cir. 1982); see also Frigorifico Caparra,

Inc. v. J. Fleishman & Co., 58 F.R.D. 199, 200 (D.P.R. 1972).

Although the “first-filed” rule should not be applied mechanically,

normally “the court which first acauired jurisdiction should try the

lawsuit and no purpose would be served by proceeding with a

second action.” Pacesetter, 678 F.2d at 95; cf. Gemco

Latinoamerica, Inc. v. Seiko Time Corp., 623 F. Supp. 912, 916

(D.P.R. 1985) (the forum where an action is first filed is given

priority over subsequent actions in venue analysis).

Considerations of judicial administration, comity, avoiding

2. In view of the court’s decision on John Hancock’ s motion to dismiss due to

the pending action in the District of Massachusetts, the court need not address John

Hancock’s alternative argument.

26a

Appendix C

duplicative litigation and avoiding conflicting determinations

weigh in favor of dismissing the later-filed action when ‘.1e first-

filed forum is capable of efficiently resolving the issues. See West

Gulf Maritime Ass'n v. ILA Deep Sea Local 24, 751 F.2d 721, 729

(Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 844 (1985); Pacesetter, 678 F.2d

at 96; Gemco, 623 F. Supp. at 916.

The Massachusetts lawsuit was filed on January 25, 1991 and

the New Hampshire lawsuit was filed on August 12, 1991.

Edwards asserts that the Massachusetts case is dissimilar from the

New Hampshire case, although he admits that the issues in the

cases overlap slightly. John Hancock argues the lawsuits challenge

the same actions and submits an affidavit from Edward S. Rooney,

Jr., an attorney representing John Hancock in the Massachusetts

action, in support of this contention. John Hancock also provided

the court with a copy of the court file in the Massachusetts lawsuit.

In the Massachusetts lawsuit, John Hancock is the only

defendant. Edwards alleges misconduct by John Hancock in

conection with the foreclosure sale and the excepting of the

mineral, gas and oil rights on the same properties at issue in this

case. The court finds that the Massachusetts and the New

Hampshire lawsuits involve the same issues and the same parties.

In view of the court’s obligation to preserve judicial resources and

the fact that the Massachusetts lawsuit was filed prior to the instant

lawsuit, the court dismisses the instant action. Edwards’ claims

concerning John Hancock’s conduct in connection with the 1985

foreclosure sale can be adjudicated in the lawsuit pending in the

District of Massachusetts.

III. First American’s Motion to Dismiss

First American does not challenge personal jurisdiction in the

x

27a

Appendix C

District of New Hampshire. First American asks the court to

dismiss the case for improper venue pursuant to 28 U.S.C.A.

§ 1391(b) (West Supp. 1992) or, in the alternative, to transfer the

case to the District of Nevada.

The court considers whether venue properly lies in the District

of New Hampshire. The Complaint alleges diversity jurisdiction

pursuant to 28 U.S.C.A. § 1332(a) (West Supp. 1992). Complaint

¥ 7. The Complaint also raises a federal question by alleging

violations of 18 U.S.C.A. § 1961-68 (West 1984 & Supp. 1992).

Complaint { 9. The district in which a case not grounded solely on

diversity may be brought is governed by 28 U.S.C.A. § 1391(b),

which states

[a] civil action wherein jurisdiction is not

founded only on diversity of citizenship may,

except as otherwise provided by law, be

brought only in (1) a judicial district where any

defendant resides, if all defendants reside in the

same State, (2) a judicial district in which a

substantial part of the events or omissions

giving rise to the claim occurred, or a

substantial part of property that is the subject of

the action is situated, or (3) a judicial district in

which any defendant may be found, if there is

no district in which the action may otherwise

be brougit.

Section 1391(c) provides that “[f]or purposes of venue under

this chapter, a defendant that is a corporation shall be deemed to

reside in any judicial district in which it is subject to personal

jurisdiction at the time the action is commenced.” As noted above,

First American was subject to personal jurisdiction in New

28a

Appendix C

Hampshire at the time the action was commenced. At this point in

time First American is the only remaining defendant in the case and

therefore venue is proper in the District of New Hampshire

pursuant to § 1391(b)(1).’

When venue is found to be proper, the court may transfer an

action to another district pursuant to 28 U.S.C.A. § 1404(a) (West

Supp. 1992). “For the convenience of parties and witnesses, in the

interest of justice, a district court may transfer any civil action to

any other district or division where it might have been brought.” Jd.

The court notes that the case could originally have been brought in

the District of Nevada because a substantial part of the events or

omissions giving rise to the claim occurred in Nevada and the

property that is the subject of the action is located in Nevada. See

28 U.S.C.A. § 1391(b)(2).

The court next analyzes whether the interest of justice

requires transferring the case against First American to the District

of Nevada. The First Circuit Court of Appeals has noted that “the

convenience of the parties and witnesses, the order in which

jurisdiction was obtained by the district court, the availability of

documents, and the possibilities of consolidation” are factors for

the district court to consider in determining whether to transfer a

case. Cianbro Corp. v. Curran- Lavoie, Inc., 814 F.2d 7, 11 (Ist Cir.

1987) (citing 28 U.S.C. § 1404(a); Codex Corp. v. Milgo Elec.

3. The court notes that, if venue were to be determined as of the time the

Complaint was filed, venue would be improper in the District of New Hampshire

under § 1391(b)(1) because all the defendants did not reside in the same state. In that

case, the court could transfer the action to the District of Nevada pursuant to 28

U.S.C.A. § 1406(a) (West 1976) if transfer were “in the interest of justice.” For the

reasons stated herein, the court finds the “interest of justice” analysis under § 1406(a)

very similar to the “interest of justice” analysis under § 1404(a) (West Supp. 1992) as

far as the facts of this case are concerned.

.

3

3

bated Cousens dad? Ba Rex eileen bata inabd a. seed asks vee

io Taek St Sah RS Haare ei a ok

aN bien tae eke

29a

Appendix C

Corp., 553 F.2d 735, 737 (Ist Cir.), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 860

(1977)); see also Wellons v. Numerica Sav. Bank, 749 F. Supp. 336,

337 (D. Mass. 1990) (citing Cianbro, 814 F.2d at 11). The court

may also consider whether the law of the forum state will govern

the action. See Wellons, 749 F. Supp. at 337. Adefendant seeking to

transfer an action has the burden of showing that these factors

weigh in favor of transfer. Buckley, 762 F. Supp. at 439. “The

Supreme Court has held that ‘[u]nless the balance is strongly in

favor of the defendant, the plaintiff’s choice of forum should rarely

be disturbed.’ ” Jd. (quoting Gulf Oil Corp. v. Gilbert, 330 U.S.

501, 508 (1947)).

The convenience of the witnesses is the single most important

factor for the court to consider when deciding whether to transfer

an action. Jd. at 440. In this case, Edwards challenges events

surrounding foreclosure-proceedings of property located in

Nevada. Because the sale occurred in Nevada, it is reasonable to

conclude that the witnesses involved in the sale are also in

Nevada.‘ Similarly, the documents pertaining to the foreclosure

sale and the land will be readily available in Nevada. The law of

Nevada and possibly of Massachusetts, but not the law of New

Hampshire, will apply in the case. On the other hand, the court

notes that Edwards resides in New Hampshire and First American

is a California corporation with at least one office in New

Hampshire.

The court finds that First American has met its burden of

showing that the interest of justice and the convenience of the

witnesses and parties weigh strongly enough in its favor to justify

transferring the suit to the District of Nevada pursuant to

§ 1404(a).

4. Hawkins and HR&S have submitted an affidavit stating that the expected

witnesses are in Nevada.

30a

Appendix C

Summary

The court enters the following orders.

On Motion to Dismiss of Defendants Harold Pearson, III,

William Gordon, John G. McElwee, Steven E::wn, Thomas L.

McKiernan and Arthur Duncan (document no. 17): Mion granted

to the extent that the case is dismissed against these defendants.

On Prince A. Hawkins’ Motion to Dismiss or Transfer

(document no. 15): Motion granted to the extent that the case is

dismissed against Hawkins and Hawkins, Rhodes & Sharp.

On Motion to Dismiss or Transfer Venue of Defendant John

Hancock Mutual Life Insurance Company (document no. 16):

Motion granted to the extent that the case is dismissed against John

Hancock.

On First American Title Insurance Company’s Motion in the

Alternative to Dismiss or Transfer for Lack of Proper Venue

(document no. 9): Motion granted to the extent that the case against

First American is transferred to the United States District Court for

the District of Nevada.

SO ORDERED.

s/ Joseph A. DiClerico, Jr.

Joseph A. DiClerico, Jr.

Acting Chief Judge

March 23, 1993

3la

Appendix C

cc: A. Greer Edwards, Jr., pro se

Richard B. Couser, Esquire

Martha V. Gordon, Esquire

32a

APPENDIX D — PLAINTIFF’S COMPLAINT

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE

DISTRICT OF NEW HAMPSHIRE

C.A. #

A. GREER EDWARDS, JR.

Plaintiff

vs.

FIRST AMERICAN TITLE COMPANY OF NEVADA,

Defendant

COMPLAINT

COUNTI

1. The plaintiff, A. Greer Edwards, Jr., is a resident of the

state of New Hampshire;

2. The defendant, First American Title Company of Nevada,

is a Nevada corporation with its principal place of business in

Nevada; :

3. In 1973 the plaintiff had organized, together with two other

persons, a Nevada partnership, the Saval Ranching Company, for

the purpose of acquiring and operating two ranches: the Saval and

Haystack;

4. The plaintiff is the only remaining party in interest;

33a

Appendix D

5. In 1975 and 1976 respectively, the partnership had

borrowed approximately 1 million dollars from the John Hancock

_ Mutual Life Insurance Company, a Massachusetts corporation, as

evidenced by two promissory notes secured by two first deeds of

trust;

6. The deeds of trust were executed by the borrowers, on the

one hand and the lender and defendant title company, on the other;

Exh 2(a) and 2(b);

7. Thereafter, the United States of America, through the

Farmers Home Administration, extended to the partnership several

_ loans. These were secured by two second trust deeds on the same

| realestate;

8. In 1983, due to an epidemic cattle disease outbreak,

_ drought conditions and a general nation-wide decline in cattle and

_ agricultural values, the borrowers became delinquent in their

payments to Hancock, the lender;

9. In July of 1985 the defendant, First American Title

_ Company of Nevada, started foreclosure proceedings of the

$

plalntiff’s real estate;

10. The deeds of trust securing Hancock’s loans expressly

> included the mineral, oil and gas rights in the description of the

| properties. Exh. 2(a), par. 13 and Exh. 2(b), par. 3;

in leaiinadl

| 11. Notwithstanding, the defendant title company, in breach

_ of its duty to the plaintiff, expressly “excepted” the mineral, gas

and oil rights in the statutory description of the properties being

foreclosed, in its Notice of Sale;

34a

Appendix D

12. The Nevada statutes require that properties being

foreclosed be Particularly described, N.R.S.21.140(c) 2;

13. Not only did the defendant title company “except” the

mineral, oil and gas rights expressly included in the description of

the properties in the first deeds of trust. It also aggravated the

“exception” by adding to it the following ambiguous language:

“said rights forming no part of the guarantee”, Exh. 1;

14. At all pertinent times and at present, pit gold mining in

northern and eastern Nevada had made Nevada the leading gold

producing state in the United States. The United States District

Court for the District of Nevada duly took judicial notice of this

fact (Please see The United States of America Vs. A. Greer

Edwards, Jr. et al, Civil R-86-199 BRT, Exh. 1);

15. The Freeport- McMoran Gold Company, the largest gold

mining company in North America, had at all pertinent times

conducted operations immediately adjacent to the plaintiff’s

property, the Saval ranch. The company had expressed great

interest in the acquisition of the plaintiff’s ranches, at various

times;

16. As a result of the “exception”, accompanied as it was by

the ambiguous language, senior officials of the Freeport-McMoran

Gold Company were present at the foreclosure auction, but

declined to bid;

17. The United States of America, holder of the second trust

deeds, was the only bidder at the sale and acquired the properties,

as a single parcel, for the amount of $1,231,925.60;

18. The United States of America paid Hancock approximately

Co yee at

BO RES | LLL, ILE GREE AIRE

35a

Appendix D

$1,250.000.- for the release of its interest and proceeded to bring

action against the plaintlff to recover a deficiency in the District

Court of Nevada;

19. On January 5, 1988 the District Court for the District of

Nevada ruled that the Notice of foreclosure violated the Nevada

foreclosure statutes and that the “exception” of the mineral, oil and

gas rights from the description of the properties in the Notice of

sale substantially prejudiced the plaintiff, Edwards. Exh. 1;

20. Subsequently the United States of America and the

plaintiff, Edwards, reached a settlement agreement, finalized in

1989, by which, in consideration of $400,000.- , the United States

agreed to transfer the properties it had acquired at the auction sale

to the plaintiff, Edwards; Payment was made and the properties

were so re-transferred.

As a proximate result of the defendant title company’s grossly

negligent actions and breach of duty owed the plaintiff, the

plaintiff not only lost the participation at the foreclosure sale of

viable interested bidder, the Freeport-McMoran Gold Company,

but sustained a variety of provable consequential damages in the

amount of at least three million dollars.

WHEREFORE the plaintiff requests that judgment be entered

in his favor against the defendant title company, in the amount of

three million dollars.

COUNT II

The plaintiff, A. Greer Edwards, Jr., re-avers and realleges

par. 1 to 20 inclusive and further alleges as follows:

36a

Appendix D

21. The defendant title company, the First American Title

Company of Nevada, undertook and promised the borrowers that

in the event of foreclosure, it would conform to the requirements of

the law. Exh. 2(a) par. 8;

22. The Nevada statutes require that properties being

foreclosed be particularly described, N.R.S. 21.140 (c) 2. Thus by

excepting the mineral, gas and oil rights from the description in its

Notice of sale, the defendant title company breached its

undertaking to conform to the requirements of law and the implied

warranty to conduct the foreclosure sale in good faith.

As a proximate result of the defendant title company’s breach

of its express promise and implied warranty of good faith plaintiff

not only lost the participation at the foreclosure sale of a viable

interested bidder, but sustained a variety of other provable

consequential damages in the amount of at least three million

dollars.

WHEREFORE the plaintiff requests that judgment be entered

in his favor against the defendant title company, in the amount of

three milllon dollars.

JURY DEMAND

The plaintiff demands trial by jury on all issues so triable.

oe NE

37a

APPENDIX E — PLAINTIFF’S FIRST AMENDED

COMPLAINT

A. G. Edwards Jr.

| Rural Route # 1, Box 208

Bennington Battle Trail

| Wilton Center, New Hampshire 03086

Telephone 617-566-2480

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE

DISTRICT OF NEW HAMPSHIRE

CA No. 91-346-S

A. G. Edwards Jr.,

plaintiff

First American Title Company

Head Office, 114 E. Sth St., Santa Ana, Calif. 92701

John Hancock Mutual Life Insurance Company

John Hancock Place, Boston, Mass. 02115,

Prince Hawkins, Attorney,

Hawkins, Rhodes and Sharp, Attorneys,

Post Office Box 750, Reno, Nevada 89504,

Harold Pearson III, Agricultural Loan Officer,

William Gordon, Vice-President

John G. McElwee, Chairman Emeritus,

Steven Brown, Chairman

John Hancock Mutual Life Insurance Co.,

John Hancock Place, Boston, Mass. 02115,

38a

Appendix E

Thomas L. McKiernan, Agricultural Investment

Officer, John Hancock Mutual Life Insurance Co.

South 179 Stevens Street, Spokane, Washington 99204,

Arthur Duncan, Agricultural Investment Officer,

John Hancock Mutual Life Insurance Company

Post Office Box 1087, Twin Falls, Idaho 83301,

Defendants

PLAINTIFF’ S FIRST AMENDED COMPLAINT

COUNTI

1. The plaintiff, A. G. Edwards Jr., is a citizen of the State of

New Hampshire.

2. Defendant First American Title Company (Title Company)

is a California corporation, doing Title and related business in

majority of the United States including New Hampshire.

3. The John Hancock Mutual Life Insurance Company

(Hancock) is a Massachusetts corporation which, among other

business activities, has financed agricultural acquisitions and

agribusiness -operations throughout the United States and

elsewhere, and does extensive business of several types within the

State of New Hampshire.

4. Defendant Attorney Prince Hawkins and the Defendant

Law Firm of Hawkins, Rhodes and Sharp of Reno, Nevada, at all

times pertinent served as a Western legal representative and legal

agent for and legal consultant to Defendant John Hancock Mutual

Life Insurance Company of Massachusetts, conducting various

legakbusiness at the direction of Defendant Hancock.

Reni

39a

Appendix E

5. Defendants Harold Pearson III, William Gordon, John G.

McElwee and Steven Brown during all times pertinent were

salaried senior officials of Defendant Hancock, based at Boston,

Massachusetts.

6. Defendants Thomas L. McKiernan of Spokane,

Washington and Arthur Duncan of Twin Falls, Idaho, at all times

pertinent served as Agricultural Investment Officers salaried by

the Defendant Hancock.

7. This Action is brought under U.S.C. 28 Section 1332.

8. This Action is brought for damages which exceed

$50,000.00.

9. This Action is brought as well under 18 U.S.C. Sections

1961 - 1968, whereunder plaintiff has been damaged in his

: "business by the wrongful behavior of Defendants in no less than

two instances over a ten year period, which instances of wrongful

commercial behavior by Defendants utilized mail and wire

| transmittals.

10. This Action is brought as well citing applicable

/ Massachusetts General Laws 93-A pertaining to Consumer

Protection specifics as they relate to the business activities of

Massachusetts based corporations and to the official actions,

sanctioned or not sanctioned, of salaried officials and paid agents

of these specific Massachusetts coxporations when conducting

' business relationships with Massachusetts based business entities

- including plaintiff.

| 11. This Action is brought a3 well under Nevada Revised

: Statutes 41.600 and 598.410, 598.411, 598.412, 598.413 and

:

;

40a

Appendix E

598.490 pertaining to Deceptive Trade Practices, which State and

which Statutes relate to the situs of the real estate in question and to

the locus of the subsequently described wrongful foreclosure and

forced sale carried out by the Defendants.

12. This Action is brought as well as an Action upon a

Contract.

13. In 1973, the plaintiff had organized with two other

persons a partnership entitled Saval Ranching Company (Saval),

for the purpose of acquiring and operating two commercial cattle

ranches, the Saval Ranch and the Haystack Ranch.

14. Effective 1974 and subsequently at all times pertinent,

New Hampshire and Massachusetts have served as the operating

headquarters and the locus of all decision making and all policy

control of all Saval agribusiness and related activities.

15. The plaintiff became the only remaining party in interest

commencing 1985, continuing to do business to the present as

Saval Ranching Company.

16. In 1975 and 1976, respectively, Saval had borrowed

approximately one and one-half million dollars from Defendant

Hancock’s Agricultural Loan sub-section, as evidenced by two

promissory notes secured by individual and separate First Deeds of

Trust upon, respectively, the Saval Ranch and the Haystack Ranch.

17. These two Deeds of Trust were each executed by the

Saval borrowers on the one hand, and by both the Lender Hancock

and by the Defendant Title Company (Hancock’s Trustee) on the

other.

4la

Appendix E

18. Thereafter, United States of America through its

Department of Agriculture/Farmers Home Administration

extended operating loans to the Saval partnership, secured by

individual Second Deeds of Trust upon the same two separate

parcels of ranch real estate.

19. In 1983, due to an area-wide epidemic cattle disease, due

also to severe prolonged regional drouth conditions and resulting

from a precipitous national decline in both agricultural land and

cattle valuations, the borrowers unavoidably became delinquent in

their payments to Defendant Hancock, the lender.

20. Hancock, together with its relevant officers, Defendants

Pearson, Gordon, Brown, McElwee, McKiernan and Duncan and

others (Defendants Pearson et al) in 1984 and subsequently

analyzed the status of all Hancock’s many outstanding and overdue

agribusiness loans. These named parties recognized that recent

severely adverse national agribusiness circumstances as described

above had vastly undermined the financial integrity of substantial

of Hancock’s agricultural borrowers, many of whom had become

unavoidably delinquent in their scheduled repayments to Hancock.

21. Taking cognizence of this widespread delinquent status

and the advanced financial vulnerability of most of their

agricultural borrowers nation-wide, Hancock and Defendants

‘ Pearson et al (Pearson, Gordon, Brown, McElwee, McKiernan,

Duncan and others) found it essential circa 1984 that Hancock

» adopt contrived stratagems to obfuscate and to disguise the

seriously arrears status of much of Hancock’s agribusiness

lending. These named parties, by information and belief, sought to

: create for public and for insurance regulatory perception the

facade that Hancock’s agricultural loan activities remained overall

> sound, stable and in current status.

42a

Appendix E

22. In numbers of instances where pledged borrower

collateral securing Hancock’s delinquent agricultural loans had

declined to valuations seriously below the face-amount loan

balances remaining due to Hancock, Defendants Hancock/Pearson

et al, by information and belief, contrived this artifice: Defendants

Hancock/Pearson et al would extend maximal forbearance to those

delinquent borrowers with negative net worth and in many

instances would even extend to such borrowers further substantial

loan amounts, in order to maintain those seriously delinquent

borrowers financially afloat, avoiding thereby the costly and

embarrassing alternative that a Hancock foreclosure would

recover only a percentage of total amounts owing.

23. By information and belief, Hancock thus established the

policy to prop up its most financially vulnerable borrowers with

patience and, as necessary, with additional Hancock loan proceeds,

and Hancock thus would studiously avoid foreclosing on each

pledged agricultural property where forced sale of the collateral

would net Hancock less than its outstanding loan balance and

costs. This practice of extending forbearance and additional loan

amounts, and of avoiding foreclosure, while courting possible

disaster for the lender Hancock, would disguise to outsiders

Hancock’s financial vulnerability and Hancock’s precariously

overextended agribusiness loan portfolio.

24. However, Defendants Pearson et al determined a

simultaneous and much more assertive parallel policy whereby, in

those occasional circumstances where a delinquent Hancock

borrower still retained loan collateral sufficient to cover

Hancock’s total outstanding loan balance, Defendants would

selectively and discriminatively foreclose at once on such

adequately secured borrower. This artifice would assure that each

foreclosure Hancock did execute would net for Hancock the full

43a

Appendix E

» and entire amount Hancock claimed as due, including all

+ additionals of penalties, collection costs, Hancock Attorney fees

and escalated interest. And Hancock would contrive thereby a

more solid financial image presented to insurance regulators and to

the public, by recovering in those hand-picked foreclosure

instances the full amounts due Hancock from each foreclosed

borrower.

25. By Defendants’ calculated policy of predatory selective

discriminatory foreclosure only upon borrowers who had

sufficient loan collateral remaining, Hancock could disguise to

regulators and the public the aggrieved state of Hancock’s many

under-collateralized delinquent agribusiness loans.

26. Adopting such predatory and discriminatory selective

foreclosure policy against the plaintiff, despite assurances given at

personal meetings and conversations between plaintiff and each of

the named Defendants, Hancock/Pearson et al determined

immediately to foreclose upon Saval’s two loans and promptly to

fire-sale all of plaintiff’s agricultural property for amounts certain

at least to be sufficient to pay all overstated totals which Hancock

alleged as due from plaintiff.

27. First American Title Company, Hancock’s Trustee,

accordingly commenced formal foreclosure proceedings against

plaintiff’s entire agricultural real estate for the benefit of the lender

Hancock.

28. The formally drawn First Deeds of Trust which secured

Hancock’s two Saval loans expressly from their inception had

included all the mineral, gas and oil rights within the legal

descriptions of these pledged properties.

44a

Appendix E

29. Notwithstanding, the Defendant Title Company, in

breach of its undertaking and its duty owed to plaintiff, chose

expressly to “except” the mineral, gas and oil rights when it

compiled the statutory published descriptions of the properties

being foreclosed, and when the Title Company advertised and

circulated its statutorily required Official Notice of Sale.

30. Statutes of the State of Nevada where these ranches were

located and wherein they were subjected to foreclosure sale require

that the specific properties being foreclosed be particularly

described, (N.R.S. 21.140(c) 2.), which the Defendant Title

Company failed to do.

31. Not only did the Defendant Title Company “except” the

mineral, gas and oil rights although expressly included within the

legal property descriptions of the First Deeds of Trust. It also

aggravated the situation further by adding to the published and

advertised Official Notice of Sale this ambigious language relating

to the minerals, oil and gas deposits: “Said rights forming no part of

this guarantee”.

32. Atall times pertinent and at present, surface gold mining

in northern and eastern Nevada had made Nevada the leading gold

producing area in the Western Hemisphere. United States Court for

the District of Nevada duly took judicial notice of this fact within

the Matter: The United States of America v. A. G. Edwards Jr., et al,

Civil R-86-199 BRT.

33. The Freeport-McMoran Gold Company, the largest gold

mining company in North America, had at all pertinent times

conducted its operations immediately adjacent to plaintiff’s

property, the Saval Ranch. The Company at various times had

expressed great interest in its acquisition of the plaintiff’s ranches.

45a

Appendix E

34. As a direct result of the Defendant Title Company’s

| “exception”, accompanied as it was by this ambigious language in

its advertised Notice of Sale, highest officials of Freeport-

McMoran Gold Company attended the Saval foreclosure and

auction sale but declined to bid, being uncertain from the muddled

phraseology of the Official Notice of Sale what their bid might

actually purchase. The Defendant Title Company had taken no

steps whatever to clarify the situation and to assure that the

foreclosure and auction of plaintiff’s properties might at least be

presented to prospective buyers in a reasonably clear and lucid

context.

35. Defendants Pearson et al, Hancock, Attorney Hawkins/

Law Firm of Hawkins, Rhodes and Sharp, all intimately connected

with the foreclosure proceedings and making their maximal efforts

to ramrod these proceedings along, did not bestir themselves to

correct severe defects within the Official Notice of Sale which

rendered the foreclosure indelibly biased against and damaging to

the plaintiff.

36. Thus, the Defendants each have violated the covenant of

good faith and fair dealing implicit in all contractual undertakings.

Particularly had the Defendant Title Company promised the

plaintiff mortgagor within the specific phraseology of the

applicable Deeds of Trust that, in the event of foreclosure, the Title

Company would make its notices of sale conform to the

requirements of the law and to the Deeds of Trusts’ own covenants.

This the Defendant Title Company totally failed to do.

37. Meantime, the plaintiff was shocked to discover that

Pearson et al/Hancock for then obscure reasons were working

behind the scenes to undermine and destroy plaintiff’s

advantageous commercial relationships and credibility with

46a

Appendix E

plaintiff’s crucial Western-based business and major

governmental agencies — parties who for years had satisfactorily

and with mutual benefit provided vital financing and agricultural

services required for the successful operation of plaintiff’s two

ranches.

38. Pearson et al/Hancock improperly approached plaintiff's

various major financial and governmental business associates and

imparted highly unfavorable, often inaccurate, confidence-

violating statements and divulgences about plaintiff. Pearson et al/

Hancock improperly and unfavorably alleged private and

restricted business information regarding plaintiff and in various

ways were able seriously to prejudice these vital associates and

agencies against the plaintiff. The resulting adverse cumulative

business effect wrought upon plaintiff by the improper subversions

of Pearson et al/Hancock were devastating to the plaintiff, who had

no knowledge of Defendants’ damaging performance until the

harmful effect had been accomplished by them.

39. Pearson et al/Hancock by their improper representations

SO agitated and distressed plaintiff’s cattle herd financing agency,

Production Credit Association, that this large financial entity at

once called plaintiff’s long-standing yet quite solid and secure

million dollar cattle loan and credit line, called and terminated

after Hancock related agitation with no advance notice whatever.

Susbequently, the agitation produced by Pearson/Hancock caused

plaintiff’s various business associates to exhibit unwarranted but

advanced apprehensive and distrustful behavior toward plaintiff,

despite years of prior satisfactory relationships enjoyed by

plaintiff with these colleagues.

40. The intemperate and improper representations made by

Pearson et al/ Hancock led plaintiff’s cattle financing agency even

47a

Appendix E

to believe that plaintiff was secretely withdrawing collateralized

livestock from his ranch and selling these clandestinely at

unaccredited distant cattle markets while pocketing the proceeds

and depriving the cattle lender of his rightful revenues. No such

event ever occurred or was even contemplated, and plaintiff had no

financial need to indulge in any such activity.

41. When plaintiff then found it imperative to confront

Hancock and Pearson et al, Gordon and McElwee with the facts of

their improper conduct to damage plaintiff's advantageous

business relationships with others, Hancock/Pearson et al and

others falsely denied and forswore their knowingly illegal and

improper behavior—then immediately subjected plaintiff to

further punitive treatment as the means to chastise him for having

been so forthright as to call public attention to Pearson et al/

Hancock mischief.

42. Recognizing the certainty and the seriousness of the

impending and scheduled Hancock foreclosure of his total ranch

properties, plaintiff urgently sought a favorable sale of his entire

ranches, immediate proceeds of which sale would then promptly

and fully pay all obligations due to all lenders and as well might

then allow plaintiff some modest remaining amount deriving from

plaintiff’s earlier costly improvements to upgrade these properties.

43. Through -extensive efforts, the plaintiff identified a

motivated Colorado-based buyer, and detailed negotiations went

forward with this party. The complex nature of plaintiff’s ranch

holdings caused these sale negotiations to occupy appreciable

time. With the scheduled Hancock foreclosure now only a few

short weeks away, plaintiff asked his western attorney to contact

Hancock/Pearson et al and respectfully to request that the

scheduled ranch foreclosure be delayed by one month, time

48a

Appendix E

sufficient for the Colorado purchaser to complete the transaction

and for plaintiff to receive from this buyer sufficient sale proceeds

immediately to pay all Hancock and other obligations fully.

44. Under great compulsion to buttress their damaged

account books with any and all loan foreclosures which could

totally cover each entire Hancock obligation, Pearson/Hancock et

al summarily refused the plaintiff his requested one-month delay in

the foreclosure action, although such brief thirty-day delay would

have facilitated Hancock’s total pay-out by the plaintiff.

45. Resultantly, Pearson et al/Hancock were able to paper

over the precarious agitated status of much of their agricultural

lending by their performing such precipitous and predatory

selectively discriminating foreclosures upon loan properties of

plaintiff and of others similarly situated, wherein Hancock each

time recovered all monies due under these specific loans, and

thereby, receiving payment in full, contrived to exhibit a sounder

lender status than actually existed.

46. As Defendants Pearson et al well knew would occur,

Hancock’s forced sale receipts from their foreclosure upon

plaintiff’s two ranches did indeed completely cover all outstanding

amounts due Defendant Hancock.

47. Plaintiff attended the Title Company’s foreclosure sale

and auction of his ranches, and applied formally to Defendant Title

Company Official Rav Peterson to be admitted to the sale as an

accredited bidder on plaintiff’s own ranch properties. The

Defendant Title Company summarily refused to allow or to honor

any bid by plaintiff upon his own properties being forcibly sold.

Consequently, plaintiff was totally powerless to prevent a

devastating fire-sale of his valuable ranch assets.

49a

Appendix E

48. United States of America, holder of both Second Deeds of

Trust from plaintiff, then emerged as the only bidder at the

foreclosure sale, and acquired the two properties as a single parcel

for the distress amount of only $ 1,231,915.60.

49. United States of America then paid Hancock its total

amount allegedly due, some $ 1,150,000.00, and in return acquired

the release of Hancock’s entire interest in both ranch properties.

50. Hancock, fully paid, marked plaintiff’s notes as satisfied

i full, but has refused to return these cancelled and fully satisfied

diocuments to the plaintiff.

51. Among the foreclosure papers then summarily handed to

plaintiff by foreclosing authorities Hancock/Title Company was

aun astonishing bill covering several brief hours of Hancock-related

jegal services, allegedly carried out by Hancock’s Western

Attorney Prince Hawkins of the Defendant Law Firm Hawkins,

Rhodes and Sharp. The plaintiff was shocked to discover that

Defendants Hawkins’ charge to plaintiff for less than one half day

of Hawkins’ Hancock related legal time approached $ 26,000.00.

This startling professional charge entered against plaintiff was

automatically paid to Defendants Hawkins, Rhodes and Sharp by

(Defendant Hancock, paid out of surplus ranch foreclosure

proceeds ordinarily due to plaintiff, an event over which plaintiff

was unable to exercise any direct influence or control.

52. Although severely distraught at the improper, unethical

and predatory performances of each of the above Defendants,

plaintiff immediately sought the help of his Western Attorney in at

least having the vastly inflated Hawkins, Rhodes and Sharp legal

charge ameliorated downward to some more reasonable and

correct figure.

50a

Appendix E

53. Plaintiff’s own Western Counsel proved totally ineffective

and could procure from Defendants Hawkins et al no gesture

whatever toward adjustment, nor even some justification for the

inordinate Hawkins et al charge, doubtlessly resulting from the

closeness and cohesiveness maintained among themselves by most

of the practicing attorneys within this sparsely populated state.

54. Following the foreclosure sale, the plaintiff was ordered

immediately to vacate his entire ranches, forcing him to resort to a

further fire-sale of his entire ranch cattle herd, his extensive

agricultural equipment and machinery, his inventories of supplies

and parts, his fuel and materials, all precipitously dispersed under

the most unfavorable and damaging economic conditions, in

addition to the enormous theft and slippage which were

unavoidably sustained in connection therewith.

55. Just under one year later, the United States sought to

recover a perceived deficiency amount still allegedly due the

second lien holder, to which this applicant under the law found was

not a valid obligation.

56. As direct result of its shoddy management practices and

its failure suitably to maintain the ranch improvements over which

it had control for some three years’ time, the United States during

its tenure of the two ranches and by its imprudent renting practices

caused the entire ranch improvements and terrain to deteriorate

greatly, the total cattle grazing capacity to become vastly reduced

and the entire premises to reach an advanced impoverished state.

57. On January 5, 1988, United States District Court for the

District of Nevada ruled that Defendant Title Company’s original

Notice of Foreclosure had violated the State’s foreclosure statutes,

and that the “exception” of the mineral, oil and gas rights from the

Sla

Appendix E

advertised Lega! Description in the Notice of Sale of the Properties

had materially prejudiced the plaintiff.

58. United States District Court accordingly reversed and

invalidated the entire foreclosure sale because of glaring

improprieties wrongfully committed by the Defendant Title

Company et al, all further complicating the plaintiff’s position,

upon whom the ranches were again thrust, now in their much

impoverished condition and having greatly reduced cattle carrying

capacity and therefore vastly curtailed income generating

capability.

59. Subsequently, United States of America and the plaintiff

reached a full settlement and release agreement in 1989, by which,

upon plaintiff’s very large cash payment to U. S. A., the United

States agreed to transfer back to plaintiff all its interest in the

properties which it had supposedly acquired at the 1985

foreclosure sale of plaintiff’s ranch assets.

60. As a proximate result of Defendant Title Company et al

having conducted grossly negligent actions and breaches of duty

owed to the plaintiff, the plaintiff not only lost the participation at

the foreclosure sale of a viable interested buyer, Freeport-

McMoran Gold Company; plaintiff was improperly barred by Title

Company officials from participating in the auction which might

have avoided the distress-sale price brought at the forced sale of his

ranch properties; and plaintiff as well sustained a variety of

additional provable consequential damages in the amount of no

less than five million dollars.

61. WHEREFORE, the plaintiff requests that judgment be

entered in his favor against each of the Defendants including First

American Title Company, John Hancock Mutual Life Insurance

52a

Appendix E

Company, Defendants Hawkins, Rhodes and Sharp and Attorney

Prince Hawkins, as well against Defendants Pearson, Gordon,

Brown, McElwee, McKiernan and Duncan, in the amount of seven

million dollars, plus treble damages, plus plaintiff’s attorney and

court costs and all appropriate interest, plus other damages which

the Court may deem proper, as provided by applicable statute.

COUNT II

62. The plaintiff A. G. Edwards Jr. reavers and re-alleges

Paragraphs 1. through 61., inclusive, and further avers as follows:

63. The Defendant First American Title Company undertook

and promised the borrower that, in the event of foreclosure, it

would conform to the requirements of the law.

64. The Nevada Revised Statutes require that properties

being foreclosed be particularly described, (N.R.S. 21.140 (c) 2).

Thus, by excepting the mineral, oil and gas rights from the property

description and specifics in its Official Notice of Sale, the

Defendant Title Company et al breached its undertaking to

conform to the requirements of the law and breached as well their

implied warranty to conduct the foreclosure sale in good faith.

65. Attorney Prince Hawkins and the Defendant Law Firm of

Hawkins, Rhodes and Sharp, despite their proximity to the

foreclosure events and their responsibility to supervise all legal

aspects of the forced sale proceedings, equivalently failed their

responsibility to assure that the undertaking conformed to

requirements of the law, and themselves breached their implied

warranty to assure that the foreclosure and sale were conducted in

good faith.

ee

53a

Appendix E

66. Defendants Pearson, Gordon, Brown, McElwee,

McKiernan and Duncan failed their own responsibilities, to assure

that the foreclosure undertaking conformed to the requirements of

law, and these specified Defendants breached their implied

warranties to assure that the foreclosure and sale were conducted in

good faith.

67. Asa proximate result of the deficiencies of performance

cited above on the parts of the Title Company, of Attorney Hawkins

and the Firm Hawkins, Rhodes and Sharp, and of Defendants

Pearson, Gordon, Brown, McElwee, McKiernan and Duncan,

wherein these parties each breached their express and implied

warranties of good faith and adherence to prevailing law, the

plaintiff not only lost the participation at the foreclosure sale of a

viable, able and interested bidder, but sustained as well a variety of

other provable consequential damages in the amount of no less

than three million dollars.

68. WHEREFORE, the plaintiff respectfully prays for

judgment against each of the above enumerated Defendants for the

full cited damages herein described, with treble damages as

provided under 18 U.S.C. Sections 1961 — 1968, plus all interests

and costs of this Action, plus other awards which the Court may

deem proper, together with any and all damages awardable under

Massachusetts General Laws and under Nevada Revised Statutes

relating to Consumer Fraud and to Deceptive Trade Practices

committed by each of the above cited Defendants.

PLAINTIFF RESPECTFULLY REQUESTS TRIAL BY

JURY ON ALL POINTS SO TRIABLE.

s/ A.G. Edwards Jr.

A. G. Edwards Jr., plaintiff

May 22, 1992

54a

APPENDIX F — MOTION TO DISMISS OR TRANSFER

OF PRINCE A. HAWKINS

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF NEW HAMPSHIRE

Civil Action No. 91-346-S

A.G. EDWARDS, JR.,

Plaintiff

v.

FIRST AMERICAN TITLE COMPANY, ETAL.,

Defendants

MOTION TO DISMISS OR TRANSFER

Prince A. Hawkins, individually and on behalf of the law firm

of Hawkins, Rhodes & Sharp (hereafter collectively referred to as

“Hawkins”), by his attorneys, Nelson, Kinder, Mosseau & Gordon,

P.C., moves the Court as follows:

1. To dismiss the action, pursuant to F.R.Civ.P. 12(b)(2), for

lack of personal jurisdiction over Hawkins, because the claims

asserted do not arise from any of the acts enumerated in RSA

510:4, and Hawkins has no “minimum contacts” with the State of

New Hampshire to justify the exercise of this Court’s jurisdiction

over Hawkins.

2. To dismiss the action for failure to state a claim, pursuant to

F.R.Civ.P. 12(b)(6), in that the First Amended Complaint and

plaintiff’s admissions on the record make clear that plaintiff’s

asserted causes of action are barred by the applicable statute of

limitations.

55a

Appendix F

3. To dismiss this action on the ground of improper venue

under 28 U.S.C. § 1391(a) and (b) and § 1406(a), or, in the

alternative, to transfer the action, pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1404(a),

to Nevada, where the events occurred, where the witnesses are

located, where the property is located, and where Nevada law may

be applied by a Nevada court.

4. If the case is not dismissed, to transfer this case to to

Nevada, because the transaction occurred in Nevada, the

documents and witnesses are located in Nevada, and Nevada law

will govern.

5. To award Hawkins his costs and fees under F.R.Civ.P. 11

for asserting claims against Hawkins where the lack of personal

jurisdiction is clear; for asserting a claim under the Racketeer

Influenced and Corrupt Organization Act (“RICO”) without any

factual basis; and for asserting claims which are patently time

barred.

6. Hawkins submits the Affidavit of Prince A. Hawkins, Esq.,

and a Memorandum of Law in support of this Motion to Dismiss.

7. Pursuant to Local Rule 11, counsel for Hawkins states that

she attempted to obtain the concurrence of Mr. Edwards in this

motion, but Mr. Edwards did not return her telephone call.

WHEREFORE, defendants Prince A. Hawkins and Hawkins,

Rhodes & Sharp respectfully request this Honorable Court:

A. Todismiss this action with prejudice;

B. Inthealternative, to transfer the action to Nevada; and

56a

Appendix F

C. To grant such other and further relief as this Court deems

just and proper, including costs and fees under F.R.Civ.P.

11.

Respectfully submitted,

PRINCEA. HAWKINS,

By his Attorneys:

NELSON, KINDER, MOSSEAU & GORDON, PC

Dated: 12-28-92 By: s/ Martha V. Gordon

Martha V. Gordon, Esquire - #963

99 Middle Street

P.O. Box 1510

Manchester, NH 03105

(603) 647-1800

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a copy. of the foregoing Motion to

Dismiss or Transfer was this day forwarded, postage prepaid, to A.

Greer Edwards, Jr. (pro se), P.O. Box 208, R.R. #1, Wilton Center,

NH 03086; and to James E. Morris, Esq., Orr & Reno, P.A., P.O.

Box 709, Concord, NH 03302-0709.

s/ Martha V. Gordon

Martha V. Gordon, Esquire

57a

APPENDIX G — MOTION TO DISMISS OR TRANSFER

VENUE OF DEFENDANT JOHN HANCOCK MUTUAL

LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE

DISTRICT OF NEW HAMPSHIRE

CIVILACTION NO. C-91-346-JD

A.G. EDWARDS, JR..,

Plaintiff

v.

FIRST AMERICAN TITLE COMPANY,

JOHN HANCOCK MUTUAL LIFE

INSURANCE COMPANY,

PRINCE HAWKINS,

HAROLD PEARSON, III,

WILLIAM GORDON,

JOHN G. McELWEE,

STEVEN BROWN,

THOMAS L. McKIERNAN, and

ARTHUR DUNCAN,

Defendants

MOTION TO DISMISS OR TRANSFER VENUE OF

DEFENDANT JOHN HANCOCK MUTUAL LIFE

INSURANCE COMPANY

Defendant John Hancock Mutual Life Insurance Company

(“John Hancock”) moves to dismiss Plaintiff’s First Amended

Complaint, or transfer venue, to the District of Nevada, on the

following grounds:

58a

Appendix G

1. Plaintiff’s claims against John Hancock should be

dismissed because plaintiff has already commenced a prior

pending action against John Hancock in the United States District

Court for the District of Massachusetts, Civil Action No. 91-

10237-K, which action is still pending before Judge Robert E.

Keeton in the District of Massachusetts;

2. Plaintiff’s claims against John Hancock are barred under

the doctrine of res judicata; and

3. Plaintiff’s claims against John Hancock are barred under

the applicable statutes of limitation.

4. In the alternative, Plaintiff’s claims should be transferred

under 28 U.S.C. §§ 1404(a) to the District of Nevada.

5. Defendant has made a good faith attempt to obtain

concurrence in the relief sought herein.

6. In support of this motion, John Hancock submits its

Memorandum of Law which is filed herewith.

REQUEST FOR ORAL ARGUMENT

Defendant John Hancock believes that oral argument may

assist the Court and therefore requests oral argument.

Respectfully submitted,

JOHN HANCOK MUTUAL LIFE INSURANCE

COMPANY

59a

Appendix G

By Its Attorneys,

ORR & RENO

One Eagle Square

P.O. Box 709

Concord, NH 03302-0709

(603) 224-2381

By: s/ Richard B. Couser

Richard B. Couser #519

Of counsel:

Edward S. Rooney, Jr.

LYNE, WOODWORTH & EVARTS

600 Atlantic Avenue

Boston, MA 02210

(617) 523-6655

CERTIFICATION

I hereby certify that a copy of the foregoing pleading has this

date been forwarded to A.G. Edwards, Jr., Box 208, RR #1,

Bennington Battle Trail, Wilton Center, NH 03086.

s/ Richard B. Couser

Richard B. Couser #519

60a

APPENDIX H — MOTION TO DISMISS OF

DEFENDANTS HAROLD PEARSON, III, WILLIAM

GORDON, JOHN G. McELWEE, STEVEN BROWN,

THOMAS L. McKIERNAN AND ARTHUR DUNCAN

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE

DISTRICT OF NEW HAMPSHIRE

CIVILACTION NO. C-91-346-JD

A.G. EDWARDS, JR.,

Plaintiff

Vv.

FIRST AMERICAN TITLE COMPANY,

JOHN HANCOCK MUTUAL LIFE

INSURANCE COMPANY,

PRINCE HAWKINS,

HAROLD PEARSON, III,

WILLIAM GORDON,

JOHN G. McELWEE,

STEVEN BROWN,

THOMAS L. McKIERNAN, and

ARTHUR DUNCAN,

Defendants

MOTION TO DISMISS OF DEFENDANTS HAROLD

PEARSON, III, WILLIAM GORDON, JOHN G. McELWEE,

STEVEN BROWN THOMAS L. McKIERNAN and

ARTHUR DUNCAN

Defendants Harold Pearson, III, William Gordon, John G.

6la

Appendix H

McElwee, Steven Brown, Thomas L. McKiernan and Arthur

Duncan move to dismiss Plaintiff’s First Amended Complaint on

the following grounds:

1. Plaintiff’s claims should be dismissed under Federal Rule

12(b)(2) for lack of jurisdiction over the person of the defendants;

2. Plaintiff’s claims should be dismissed under Federal Rule

12(b)(5) for insufficiency of service of process on the defendants;

3. Plaintiff’s claims are barred under the applicable statutes

of limitation; and

4. Plaintiff’s claims should be dismissed, or in the alternative

transferred, under Federal Rule 12(b)(3) for improper venue.

5. The moving parties have made a good faith attempt to

obtain concurrence in the relief sought herein.

6. In support of this motion, defendants submit their

Memorandum of Law which is filed herewith.

REQUEST FOR ORALARGUMENT

Defendants believe that oral argument may assist the Court

and therefore requests oral argument.

Respectfully submitted,

HAROLD PEARSON III,

WILLIAM GORDON,

JOHN G. McELWEE,

STEVEN BROWN,

62a

Appendix H ¢

THOMAS McKIERNAN AND ’

ARTHUR DUNCAN E

By Their Attorneys, a

ORR & RENO 4

One Eagle Square ;

P.O. Box 709 4

Concord, NH 03302-0709 e

(603) 224-2381 "

By:s/ Richard B. Couser a

Richard B. Couser #519 e

Of counsel: f

Edward S. Rooney, Jr. (

LYNE, WOODWORTH & EVARTS 4

600 Atlantic Avenue 4

Boston, MA 02210 4

(617) 523-6655 ee

CERTIFICATION i

I hereby certify that a copy of the foregoing pleading has this

date been forwarded to A.G. Edwards, Jr., Box 208, RR #1,

Bennington Battle Trail, Wilton Center, NH 03086.

s/ Richard B. Couser

Richard B. Couser #519

4

y

a

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.