Opposition Brief — Hester v. CSX Transportation, Inc.
Supreme Court brief1996
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
No. 95-791 j :
In The ah ‘
Suprene Court of the United States
o-
October Term, 1995
ALVIA E. HESTER, SR. and BRENDA HESTER, Individually
and BRENDA HESTER, as Executrix of the Estate of ALVIA
E. HESTER, JR., Deceased,
Petitioners,
VS.
CSX TRANSPORTATION, INC.,
Respondent.
On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit
RESPONDENT?’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
RAYMOND L. BROWN
Counsel of Record
W. MARK EDWARDS
BROWN & WATT, P.A.
Attorneys for Respondent
3112 Canty Street
P.O. Box 2220
Pascagoula, Mississippi 39569-2220
(601) 762-0035
“ prgelaie (800) 3 APPEAL (800) 5 APPEAL « (800) BRIEF 21
i
QUESTIONS PRESENTED
Is proof required beyond the fact that federal funds
participated in an FHWA-approved project for the installation of
grade crossing traffic control device in order to preempt a state-
law negligence claim based on a railroad’s failure to determine
the need for, and to install, additional devices at the crossing
under CSX Transportation, Inc. v. Easterwood, __U.S.__, 1135S.
Ct. 1732 (1993)?
8.
9.
ii
LIST OF PARTIES
. Alvia E. Hester, Sr., Plaintiff-Petitioner
. Brenda Hester, Plaintiff-Petitioner
- Mark D. Lumpkin, Counsel for Petitioner
. Paul S. Minor, Counsel for Petitioner
. William S. Guy, Counsel for Petitioner
. Raymond L. Brown, Counsel for Respondent
. Patrick R. Buchanan, Counsel for Respondent
W. Mark Edwards, Counsel for Respondent
CSX Transportation, Inc., Defendant-Respondent.
CSX Transportation, Inc. lists the following non-wholly
owned subsidiaries, pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 29(6).
F
y a
3.
4.
Sea-Land Logistics, Inc.
Baronial Transportation Corporation
Akron Union Passenger Depot Company
Allegheny and Western Railway Company
. Wesjax Development Company
Augusta and Summerville Railroad Company
iii
7. The Baltimore and Cumberland Valley Railroad
Expansion Company
8. Beaver Street Tower Company
9. Belt Railway Company of Chicago
10.
ll.
12.
13.
14.
ia
16.
17.
18.
19.
20.
21.
22.
23.
Central Florida Pipeline Corporation
Central Transfer Railway and Storage Company
Charlotte Terminal Company
The Cleveland Terminal and Valley Railroad Company
The Central Railroad Company of South Carolina
Green Real Estate Company
Paducah and Illinois Railroad Company
TTX Company Delaware
Dayton and Michigan Railroad Company
Four Rivers Transportation, Inc.
The Home Avenue Railroad Company
The Lake Front Dock and Railroad Terminal Company
Midland United Corporation
Nicholas, Fayette and Greenbriar Railroad Company
24.
25.
26.
27.
28.
29.
30.
31.
32.
33.
34.
35.
36.
37.
38.
39.
40.
iv
Norfolk and Portsmouth Belt Line Railroad Company
North Charleston Terminal Company
Terminal Railroad Association of St. Louis
Mahoning State Line Railroad Company
The Tylerdale Connecting Railroad Company
Winston-Salem Southbound Railway Company
Woodstock and Blockton Railway Company
General Distribution Services Company
Helm-Atlantic Associates, L.P.
Energy Dominion
Yukon Pacific Corporation
Yukon Pacific Company, L.P.
James Center Development Company
Mid Allegheny Corporation
Glebe Road Associates
Glebe Road II Associates
Glebe Road III Associates
ae
4
&
od
4
t
3
:
3
H
:
LTD.
. Harbour Associates
. One James Center Associates
. Richmond Center Associates
. Richmond Center Associates II
. St. George Seaport Associates
. Second Street Limited Partnerships
. Two James Center Limited Partnerships
. Washington Harbour Associates Limited Partnerships
. CSX Professional Services, Inc.
. Leasing Corporation of Amerlca Inc.
. Encompass
. GLVE Management Corporation
. GLVE Management Limited Partnerships
. Genoa Partners
. Railroad Association Insurance Ltd.
. Tortuga Casualty Company (5)
. Transportation and Railroad Assurance Company,
vi
CSX Transportation, Inc. has listed only its United States
non-wholly owned subsidiaries, in the interest of economy. CSX
has many foreign non-wholly owned subsidiaries, a listing of
which will be provided upon request of the Court.
vii
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
Questions Presented ..........- eee eee rece receecees i
ER OUTIEES cc cvccccccsscenceveneeosadesesocces ii
Table CE COMNGMEB oc ccccccccccccscrccccccsccsesees vil
Tbe OF CHROME 2. ccc ccc cece cccccccccccccccccess Viii
Opinions Below ...........- ee eee eee eeeeeeeeeeees l
Sentmtes ImvOlved ...ccccccccccccccccccccccvcccces 2
Statement of the Case .............- PTreT TTT Ce 14
Reasons for Denyingthe Writ .........---eeeeeeeees 15
I. There is no real conflict between the Hester and
Shots DeciSiOaS. 2... cccccccccccccceccccces 15
II. Recently proposed regulations support the denial
OF ORNUBERTE. 2c ccccccccccescccccvesecesesss 20
Ce. vc weeresvetedneeeetereeuntearsean 23
Contents
Page
TABLE OF CITATIONS
Cases Cited:
CSX Transportation, Inc. v. Easterwood, __ U.S. _.» 1138.
Gs RUE dob cdecdekecdcecessnn i, 1, 16,19, 20,21,22
Elrod v. Burlington Northern Railroad Company, 68 F.3d
PPE SEEN 56 6s vebdSe sekdaccdbecedes. ]
Hester v. CSX Transportation, Inc., 61 F.3d 382 (5th Cir.
WOO eenbhee kn tiets Bi astokd- acdsee 1,15, 18,19
Shots v. CSX Transportation, Inc., 38 F.3d 304 (7th Cir.
SU pekececedeissonsGbncnenioesoel 2, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19
Statutes Cited:
SPUSL. §IOGPIG9Z) onc ccccccccccccccsccceoc. 14,18
23 U.S.C. §§ 109(d) and (e) (1992) .............. 14,15, 18,19
PIU BL. GUD GIG, ooo ccccccccccicccccccccceecs 15, 16
FOU BLL. G4ZE BG cc cccccccccccccccccccccocess 15, 16
Other Authorities Cited:
23 C.F.R. §§ 646.204(i) and (j) (1992) ................ 14
SPRY ep cnuaceckddudaiubiiebibevnct 17
_—_——e x Oe
ix
Contents
Page
23 C.F.R. §§ 646.214(b)(3)(i(C) and(D) ............. id
yc lob | | WPPPETTTTETTrTT Tee ee 21
yx fed FM Kk |) PPrrrrrrrerrrrrrerr rr rere 17
et OK yk SP rrrrrTrrrrrrrr errr ieee 14
41 Fed. Reg. 11,649-51 (March2,1995) ...........4.. 21,22
|
No. 95-791
In The
Supreme Court of the United States
+
October Term, 1995
ALVIAE. HESTER, SR. and BRENDA HESTER, Individually
and BRENDA HESTER, as Executrix of the Estate of ALVIAE.
HESTER, JR., Deceased,
Petitioners,
vs.
CSX TRANSPORTATION, INC.
Respondent.
On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court of
Appeals for the Fifth Circuit
RESPONDENT’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
OPINIONS BELOW
The United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit
rendered an opinion in this case consistent with this Court’s
analysis in CSX Transportation, Inc. v. Easterwood, 113 S. Ct.
1732 (1993). The opinion of the Fifth Circuit, reported as Hester
v. CSX Transportation, Inc.,61 F.3d 382 (Sth Cir. 1995), and the
progeny it has generated, i.e., Elrod v. Burlington Northern
Railroad Company, 68 F.3d 241 (8th Cir. 1995), are not in direct
2
conflict with the decision of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Seventh Circuit in Shots v. CSX Transportation, Inc., 38
F.3d 304 (7th Cir. 1994), due to the radically different factual
underpinnings of these cases.
STATUTES INVOLVED
23 U.S.C. § 106. Plans, specifications, and estimates.
(a) Except as provided in section 117 of
this title, the State highway department shall
submit to the Secretary for his approval, as
soon as practicable after program approval,
such surveys, plans, specifications, and
estimates foreach Proposed project included
in an approved program as the Secretary may
require. The Secretary shall act upon such
surveys, plans, specifications, and estimates
4s soon as practicable after the same have
been submitted, and his approval of any such
project shall be deemed a contractual
obligation of the Federal Government for the
payment of its proportional contribution
thereto. In taking such action, the Secretary
shall be guided by the provisions of section
109 of this title.
(b) In addition to the approval required
under subsection (a) of this section, proposed
specifications for projects for construction
on (1) the Federal-aid secondary system,
except in States where all public roads and
highways are under the control and
supervision of the State highway department,
and (2) the Federal-aid urban system, shall be
3
determined by the State highway department
and the appropriate local road officials in
cooperation with each other.
(c) Items included in any such estimate
for construction engineering shall not exceed
15 percent of the total estimated cost of a
project financed with Federal-aid highway
funds, after excluding from such total
estimate cost, the estimated costs of rights-
of-way, preliminary engineering, and
construction engineering.
(d) In such cases as the Secretary
determines advisable, plans, specifications,
and estimates for proposed projects on any
Federal-aid system shall be accompanied by
a value engineering or other cost reduction
analysis.
23 U.S.C. § 109. Standards.
(a) The Secretary shall not approve plans
and specifications for proposed projects on
any Federal-aid system if they fail to provide
for a facility (1) that will adequately meed the
existing and probable future traffic needs and
conditions in a manner conducive to safety,
durability, and economy of maintenance; (2)
that will be designed and constructed in
accordance with standards best suited to
accomplish the foregoing objectives and to
conform to the particular needs of each
locality.
4
(b) The geometric and construction
standards to be adopted for the Interstate
System shall be those approved by the
Secretary in cooperation with the State
highway departments. Such standards, as
applied to each actual construction project,
shall be adequate to enable such project to
accommodate the types and volumes of
traffic anticipated for such project for the
twenty-year period commencing on the date
of approval by the Secretary, under section
106 of this title, of the pans, specifications,
and estimates for actual construction of such
project. Such standards shall in all cases
provide for at least four lanes of traffic. The
right-of-way width of the Interstate System
shall be adequate to permit construction of
projects on the Interstate System to such
standards. The Secretary shall apply such
standards uniformly throughout all the
States.
(c) Projects on the Federal-aid secondary
system in which Federal funds participate
shall be constructed according to
specifications that will provide all-weather
service and permit maintenance at a
reasonable cost.
(d) On any highway project in which
Federal funds hereafter participate, or on any
such project constructed since December 20,
1944, the location, form and character of
informational, regulatory and warning signs,
curb and pavement or other markings, and
a a
5
traffic signals installed or placed by any
public authority or other agency, shall be
subject to the approval of the State highway
department with the concurrence of the
Secretary, who is directed to concur only in
such installations as will promote the safe
and efficient utilization of the highways.
(e) No funds shall be approved for
expenditure on any Federal-aid highway, or
highway affected under chapter 2 of this title,
unless proper safety protective devices
complying with safety standards determined
by the Secretary at that time as being
adequate shall be installed or be in operation
at any highway and railroad grade crossing or
drawbridge on that portion of the highway
with respect to which such expenditures are
to be made.
(f) The Secretary shall not, as a condition
precedent to his approval under section 106
of this title, require any State to acquire title
to, or control of, any marginal land along the
proposed highway in addition to that
reasonably necessary for road surfaces,
median strips, bikeways, gutters, ditches,
and side slopes, and of sufficient width to
provide service roads for adjacent property to
permit safe access at controlled locations in
order to expedite traffic, promote safety, and
minimize roadside parking.
(g) The Secretary shal] issue within 30
days after the day of enactment of the
6
Federal-Aid Highway Act of 1970 guidelines
for minimizing possible soil erosion from
highway construction. Such guidelines shall
apply to all proposed projects with respect to
which plans, specifications, and estimates
are approved by the Secretary after the
issuance of such guidelines.
(h) Not later than July 1, 1972, the
Secretary, after consultation with
appropriate Federal and State officials, shall
submit to Congress, and not later than 90 days
after such submission, promulgate
guidelines designed to assure that possible
adverse economic, social, and environmental
effects relating to any proposed project on
any Federal-aid system have been fully
considered in developing such project, and
that the final decisions on the project are
made in the best overall public interest,
taking into consideration the need for fast,
safe and efficient transportation, public
services, and the costs of eliminating or
minimizing such adverse effects and the
following:
(1) air, noise, and water pollution;
(2) destruction or disruption of
man-made and natural resources,
aesthetic values, community cohesion
and the availability of public facilities
and services;
(3) adverse employment effects,
and tax and property value losses;
7
(4) injurious displacement of
people, businesses and farms; and
(5) disruption of desirable
community and regional growth. Such
guidelines shall apply to all proposed
projects with respect to which plans,
specifications and estimates are
approved by the Secretary after the
issuance of such guidelines.
(i) The Secretary, after consultation with
appropriate Federal, State, and local
officials, shall develop and promulgate
standards for highway noise levels
compatible with different land uses and after
July 1, 1972, shall not approve plans and
specifications for any proposed project on
any Federal-aid system for which location
approval has not yet been secured unless he
determines that such plans and specifications
include adequate measures to implement the
appropriate noise level standards. The
Secretary, after consultation with the
Administrator of the Environmental
Protection Agency and appropriate Federal,
State, and local officials, may promulgate
standards for the control of highway noise
level standards for highways on any Federal-
aid system for which project approval has
been secured prior to July 1, 1972. The
Secretary may approve any project on a
Federal-aid system to which noise-level
standards are made applicable under the
preceding sentence for the purpose of
8
carrying out such standards. Such project
may include, but is not limited to, the
acquisition of additional rights-of-way, the
construction of physical barriers, and
landscaping. Sums apportioned for the
Federal-aid system on which such project
will be located shall be available to finance
the Federal share of such project. Such
project shall be deemed a highway project for
all purposes of this title.
(j) The Secretary, after consultation with
the Administrator of the Environmental
Protection Agency, shall develop and
promulgate guidelines to assure that
highways constructed pursuant to this title
are consistent with any approved plan for the
implementation of any ambient air quality
standard for any air quality control region
designated pursuant to the Clean Air Act, as
amended.
(k) The Secretary shall not approve any
project involving approaches to a bridge
under this title, if such project and bridge will
significantly affect the traffic volume and the
highway system of a contiguous State
without first taking into full consideration the
views of that State.
(1)(1) In determining whether any right-
of-way on any Federal-aid system should be
used for accommodating any utility facility,
the Secretary shall —
9
(A) first ascertain the effect such
use will have on highway and traffic
safety, since in no case shall any use be
authorized or otherwise permitted,
under this or any other provision of
law, which would adversely affect
safety;
(B) evaluate the direct and indirect
environmental and economic effects
of any loss of productive agricultural
land or any impairment of the
productivity of any agricultural land
which would result from the
disapproval of the use of such right-
of-way for the accommodation of
such utility facility; and
(C) consider such environmental
and economic effects together with
any interference with or impairment
of the use of the highway in such right-
of-way which would result from the
use of such right-of-way for the
accommodation of such utility
facility.
(2) For the purpose of this subsection —
(A) The term “utility facility”
means any privately, publicly, or
cooperatively owned line, facility, or
system for producing, transmitting, or
distributing communications, power,
electricity, light, heat, gas, oil, crude
10
projects, water, steam, waste, storm
water not connected with highway
drainage, or any other similar
commodity, including any fire or
police signal system or street lighting
system, which directly or indirectly
serves the public; and
(B) The term “right-of-way”
means any real property, or interest
therein, acquired, dedicated, or
reserved for the construction,
operation, and maintenance of a
highway.
(m) The Secretary shall issue guidelines
describing the criteria applicable to the
Interstate System in order to insure that the
condition of these routes is maintained at the
‘evel required by the purposes for which they
were designed. The initial guidelines shall be
issued no later than October 1, 1979.
(n) The Secretary shall not approve any
project under this title that will result in the
severance or destruction of an existing major
route for nonmotorized transportation traffic
and light motorcycles, unless such project
provides a reasonably alternate route or such
a route exists.
(oO) It is the intent of Congress that any
project for resurfacing, restoring, or
rehabilitating any highway, other than a
highway access to which is fully controlled,
1]
in which Federal Funds participate shall be
constructed in accordance with standards to
preserve and extend the service life of
highways and enhance roadway safety.
23 U.S.C. § 110. Project agreements.
(a) As soon as practicable after the plans,
specifications, and estimates for a specific
project have been approved, the Secretary
shall enter into a formal project agreement
with the State highway department
concerning the construction and
maintenance of such project. Such project
agreement shall make provision for State
funds required for the State's pro rata share of
the cost of construction of such project and
for the maintenance thereof after completion
of construction.
(b) The Secretary may rely upon
representations made by the State highway
. department with respect to the arrangements
) or agreements made by the State highway
department and appropriate local officials
where a part of the project is to be constructed
at the expense of, or in cooperation with,
local subdivisions of the State.
en gn i a
23 C.F.R. § 646.204. Definitions.
For the purposes of this subpart, the
following definitions apply:
i ae A tt Be cl ee a a
(a) Railroad shall mean all rail carriers,
12
publicly-owned, private, and common
carriers, including line haul freight and
passenger railroads, switching and terminal
railroads and passenger carrying railroads
such as rapid transit, commuter and street
railroads.
(b) Utility shall mean the lines and
facilities for producing, transmitting or
distributing communications, power,
electricity, light, heat, gas, oil, water, steam,
sewer and similar commodities.
(c) Company shall mean any railroad or
utility company including any wholly owned
or controlled subsidiary thereof.
(d) ‘G’ funds signify those Federal-aid
highway funds which, pursuant to 23 U.S.C.
120(d), may be used for projects for the
elimination of hazards of railroad-highway
crossings not to exceed 10 percent of
Federal-aid funds apportioned in accordance
with 23 U.S.C. 104.
(¢) Preliminary engineering shall mean
the work necessary to produce construction
plans, specifications, and estimates to the
degree of completeness required for
undertaking construction thereunder,
including locating, surveying, designing,
and related work.
(f) Construction shall mean the actual
physical construction to improve or
13
eliminate a railroad-highway grade crossing
or accomplish other railroad involved work.
(g) A diagnostic team means a group of
knowledgeable representatives of the parties
of interest in a railroad highway crossing ora
group of crossings.
(h) Main line railroad track means a track
of a principal line of a railroad, including
extensions through yards, upon which trains
are operated by timetable or train order or
both, or the use of which is governed by block
signals or by centralized traffic control.
(i) Passive warning devices means those
types of traffic control devices, including
signs, markings and other devices, located at
or in advance of grade crossings to indicate
the presence of a crossing but which do not
change aspect upon the approach or presence
of a train.
(j) Active warning devices means those
traffic control devices activated by the
approach or presence of a train, such as
flashing light signals, automatic gates and
similar devices, as well as manually operated
devices and crossing watchmen, all of which
display to motorists positive warning of the
approach or presence of a train.
at
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
On July 22, 1989, Petitioner’s decedent, AlviaE. Hester, Jr.,
was a passenger in an automobile which failed to stop foraCSX
locomotive and train at the Hatley Circle crossing in Orange
Grove, Jackson County, Mississippi.' (R. 175-177). The Hatley
Circle crossing, prior to the date of the accident, had received
upgraded warnings in the form of advance warning signs,
advance pavement markings, and reflectorized crossbucks.
(R. 784-822; 841-843). These warnings were within the federal
definition of passive warning devices under 23 C.F.R.
§§ 646.204(i) and (j) (1992). The warnings were approved prior
to installation by the FHWA. (R. 961-967). Likewise, the
warnings installed at this crossing, among others, were
subsequently approved by the FHWA after its statewide
inspection. (R. 805-809; 817-818). The warning devices
approved and installed at the Hatley Circle crossing were paid for
by a federal safety funding program. (R. 789-790). Pursuant to
the federal regulatory scheme, the State of Mississippi was
required, as soon as practicable after program approval, to
submit surveys, plans and cost estimates for each individual
project that was to be included in a federally funded safety
program to the Secretary of Transportation. 23 U.S.C. § 106(a)
(1992). After the transmission of the plans and specifications,
they must be approved as adequate by the Secretary. 23 U.S.C
§§ 109(d)and (e) (1992).
1. Despite the assertions of the Hesters, Hatley Circle is not ahigh speed
crossing. 49 C.F.R. §213.9 authorizes a speed of only 60 m.p.h. for freight
trains on the class 4 track at the subject crossing. Pursuant to 49 C.F.R. §213.9,
speeds of 80-110 mph may be authorized for Class 5 and 6 track, respectively.
Therefore, as the regulations indicate, the maximum authorized speed at
Hatley Circle is only slightly higher than one-half of the possible federal
authorized speeds. Hatley Circle is not a high speed crossing. Therefore, the
provisions of 23 C.F.R. $$ 646.214(b)(3)(iM(C) and (D) do not apply to this
crossing. /d.
15
Pursuant to the agreement between the State of Mississippi
and the federal government, which provided the federal funds for
the pavement markings, the State of Mississippi contractually
agreed that it would not permit any warnings to be installed
which did not conform with the federal requirements. (R. 964 at
§ 11). Further, CSX demonstrated that it participated in the
diagnostic review process for the Hatley Circle crossing. (R.
848-849; 999). These diagnostic recommendations were
likewise required to be approved pursuant to the regulations
prior to the expenditure of federal funds. 23 U.S.C. §§ 109(d) and
(e) (1992).
Considering the above information, the District Court held,
pursuant to CS X's Motion to Reconsider, that the Hesters’ claims
against CSX for alleged inadequate warning devices at the
Hatley Circle crossing were preempted by the Federal Rail
Safety Act of 1970 (FRSA), 45 U.S.C. § 421 et seq. and the
Highway Safety Act of 1973 (HSA), 23 U.S.C. § 130 et seq. This
matter was then appealed to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Fifth Circuit, which affirmed the District Court’s
findings. The Hesters then petitioned for certiorari in this Court,
perceiving a false conflict between the Fifth Circuit’s decision in
Hester, and the United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh
Circuit’s decision in Shots v. CSX Transportation, Inc., 38 F.3d
304 (7th Cir. 1994). CSX respectfully submits that there is no
such conflict, given an examination of the respective records.
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT
1.
THERE IS NO REAL CONFLICT BETWEEN THE
HESTER AND SHOTS DECISIONS.
The Hesters assert that the decision of the Fifth Circuit in
Hester presents a direct conflict with the decision of the Seventh
16
Circuit in Shots v. CSX Transportation, Inc. , 38 F.3d 304 (7th Cir.
1994), on the issue of federal preemption. However, a simple
analysis of the record below, contrasted with the Shots opinion,
demonstrates that, at best, there is only an illusory conflict due to
the radically dissimilar factual backgrounds of the two cases.
The basis for all preemption analysis is the Federal Rail
Safety Act of 1970 (FRSA), 45 U.S.C. § 421 et seq. and the
Highway Safety Act of 1973 (HSA), 23 U.S.C. § 130 et seq., as
well as the regulations issued pursuant to these acts. This Court
made the importance of the regulations abundantly clear in
Easterwood, when it held:
.. .23 CFR §§ 646.214(b)(3) and (4)... do
establish requirements as to the installation
of particular warning devices. Examination
of these regulations demonstrates that, when
they are applicable, state tort law is
preempted.
***
In short, for projects in which federal funds
participate in the installation of warning
devices, the Secretary has determined the
devices to be installed and the means by
which railroads are to participate in their
selection. The Secretary’s regulations
therefore cover the subject matter of state law
which, like the tort law on which respondent
relies, seeks to impose an independent duty
on a railroad to identify and/or repair
dangerous crossings.
Easterwood, 113 S.Ct. at 1740-41 (emphasis added).
ipiaaia
17
In Shots, the only evidence of record was the IndDot-L&N
(the predecessor of CSX) Master Agreement for the crossbuck
project. Shots, 38 F.3d at 308. The agreement (contract) was
created and signed by IndDOT and L&N prior to the issuance of
23 C.F.R. § 646.214 (covering devices to be installed where
federal funds participate in projects for the installation of grade
crossing traffic control devices). Shots, 38 F.3d at 306. The
agreement was approved by the FHWA/Secretary of
Transportation only five days after the regulations were issued
and without a recommendation by a diagnostic team.
Clearly, the Shots decision was decided in a vacuum, since
the decision is based on an analysis of a DOT-railroad master
agreement which was written before the promulgation of 23
C.F.R. § 646.214 in 1975, and no other documentation was
available to the Seventh Circuit. Because 14 years had passed
between the project and the accident, there was virtually no
factual information available for the Shots project. Notably, in
contrast to the present case, Shots could not discuss whether the
State DOT had a diagnostic team, had begun its required hazard
rankings/priority listings for grade crossings,’ or even what was
done with respect to the project.
Because no proof was available, the Seventh Circuit in Shots
was forced to decide the preemption issue solely on an analysis of
the IndDOT L&N agreement, in order to determine whether or
not FHWA made any determination of the devices to be installed
at the crossing when it approved the agreement for the state-wide
project. Given that the agreement central to the Shots analysis
predated the pertinent federal regulations, the Seventh Circuit
2. 23 C.F.R. § 924.9(a)(4) specifically requires that state DOT
improvement projects consider the relative hazard of railroad grade crossings
based on a hazard index formula, and that subsequent projects be undertaken
on the basis of a priority system developed by the state DOT. /d.
18
did not analyze the effect of 23 U.S.C. §§ 109(d) and (e), and
concluded that FHWA approval of the project was something less
than a determination of the adequacy of the traffic control
devices. Shots, 38 F.3d at 309. These provisions of Section 109
provide that the Secretary may only concur in “such installations
as will promote the safe and efficient use of the highways,” and
that federal funds shall not be approved for expenditure “unless
proper safety protective devices complying with safety
standards determined by the Secretary at that time as being
adequate shall be installed... atany. . . railroad grade crossing
.. . with respect to which such expenditures are to be made.” /d.
In the case sub judice, the MDOT contractually agreed with
FHWA to comply with 23 U.S.C. and all FHWA regulations, and
in § 11 specifically acknowledged the requirements of 23 U.S.C.
§ 109(d). (R. 963-64).
The record in the District Court, and considered by the Fifth
Circuit in Hester, is remarkably different from the factual
vacuum present in Shots. The record here demonstrates that the
Hatley Circle crossing, prior to the date of the accident, had
received upgraded warnings in the form of advance warning
signs, advance pavement markings, and reflectorized
crossbucks. (R. 784-822; 841-843). The warnings were
approved prior to installation by the FHWA. (R. 961-967).
Likewise, the warnings installed at this crossing, among others,
were subsequently approved by the FHWA after its statewide
inspection. (R. 805-809; 817-818). The warning devices
installed at the Hatley Circle crossing were paid for by a federal
safety funding program. (R. 789-790). Pursuant to the federal
regulatory scheme, the State of Mississippi was required, as soon
as practicable after program approval, to submit surveys, plans
and cost estimates for each individual project included in a
federally funded safety program to the Secretary of
Transportation. 23 U.S.C. § 106(a) (1992). After the
transmission of the plans and specifications, they were required
sop pe
ott iced
19
to be approved as adequate by the Secretary. 23 U.S.C. § 109(d)
& (e) (1992).?
Pursuant to the agreement between the State of Mississippi
and the federal government which provided the federal funds for
the pavement markings, the State of Mississippi contractually
agreed that it would not permit any warnings to be installed
which did not conform with the federal requirements. (R. 964 at
§ 11). Further, CSX demonstrated that it participated in the
diagnostic review process for the Hatley Circle crossing. (R.
848-849; 999). These diagnostic recommendations were
likewise required to be approved pursuant to the regulations
prior to the expenditure of federal funds. 23 U.S.C. §§ 109(d) and
(e) (1992).
The records in the Shots and Hester cases are in stark
contrast to each other. The Hester record contains all of the
information that the Seventh Circuit lacked to guide its analysis
in Shots. Had this information been present in Shots, and had the
Seventh Circuit considered the application of 23 U.S.C.
§§ 109(d) and (e)*, there is no doubt that this Court’s decision in
3. As the secretary has made a determination as to the adequacy of the
devices at the Hatley Circle crossing, even the Shots opinion would prevent the
post-decision challenge the Hesters are attempting. Shots, 38 F.3d at 308.
4. This approach is the same as taken by the Solicitor General that
“federal funding of an improvement project is the sole trigger of federal
preemption” which was adopted by this Court in Easterwood. The Solicitor
General argued that:
The scope of 23 C.F.R. 646.214(b) indicated that for
_ federally funded projects the Secretary has covered the
subject matter of what safety devices are appropriate.
The regulations require gate arms in certain
circumstances, and requires FHWA approval of the
(Cont'd)
20
Easterwood would have been followed. Therefore, it can be seen
that there is no real conflict between the Fifth and Seventh
Circuits with regard to the preemption issue. Therefore, this
Court should deny the Petition for Certiorari.
RECENTLY PROPOSED REGULATIONS SUPPORT
THE DENIAL OF CERTIORARI.
It is important to note that, after the case sub judice was
decided, the Secretary of Transportation proposed federal
regulations which would clarify the scope and timing of the
preemption of a railroad’s common law duty to either evaluate or
improve the adequacy of warning devices at a grade crossing. On
March 2, 1995, the Federal Railroad Administration proposed
regulations that specifically address the allocation of
responsibilities between the federal government, the states, and
the railroads. These proposed regulations are instructive as to the
intent of the Department of Transportation in this area.
The sum and substance of these proposed regulations is that
the existence of the federal program, and the participation of the
railroad in this program, should preempt any state law duties
imposed on railroads to provide additional warning devices at
(Cont'd)
safety devices in all other circumstances. Thus, the
warning devices in place at a crossing improved with
federal funds have, by definition, been specifically
found to be adequate under a regulation issued by the
secretary. Any state rule that more or different crossing
devices were necessary at a federally funded crossing
is therefore preempted.
Brief of the United States As Amicus Curiae, p. 27, filed in CSX
Transportation, Inc. v. Easterwood, U.S. __ , 113 S. Ct. 1732.
21
railroad grade crossings. 41 Fed. Reg. 11,649 (March 2, 1995).
These regulations would make plain that the various state
highway and transportation departments, such as the Mississippi
Department of Transportation, and not the railroads, are best
qualified to assume the responsibility of deciding when and how
to improve grade crossing safety.
According to the Secretary of Transportation, decision
making by the states, exclusive of the railroads, is the present
federal system. 23 C.F.R. § 924. Under the proposed new
regulations, this system will continue in operation. 41 Fed. Reg.
at 11,649-51. In an explicit final clarification of the preemptive
effect of the current and proposed regulations, the Secretary
specifically noted that the proposed regulations would
“substantially subsume” the subject matter of railroads’
selection and installation of highway-rail grade crossing
warning systems. . .”, therefore preempting state common law.
41 Fed. Reg. at 11,651.
In Easterwood, this Court concluded that it was “not
prepared to find preemption based solely on the strength of the
general mandate of 23 C.F.R. pt. 924”. Easterwood, 113°.Ct. at
1740. The Secretary's proposed regulations, which should soon
become law, call this part of Easterwood’s rationale into doubt.
In fact, in his commentary on the proposed rules, the Secretary of
Transportation discussed and expressed a contrary view as to this
aspect of Easterwood. 41 Fed. Reg. at 11,651-52. The proposed
regulations would correct that portion of Easterwood. In the
view of the Secretary, the entire state-driven system of ranking
grade crossing hazards and prioritizing the greatest crossing
hazards for elimination through improved warning devices
triggers federal preemption of common law claims.* According
5. The regulatory scheme advocated by the Secretary of Transportation
is, in his view, the only way to ensure the investment of “grade crossing
(Cont'd)
22
to the Secretary, preemption occurs before federal approval or
funding of particular devices. Thus, this Court's focus in
Easterwood, on federal funding and approval of particular
projects as the key preemption events was, according to the
Secretary, misplaced. 41 Fed. Reg. 11,651-52.
As may be seen, the proposed regulations would effectively
make inapplicable this Court's decision in Easterwood, which
held that a railroad’s state law duties could complement the
federal program's procedures for evaluating, rating and
upgrading grade crossings. The implication of the Secretary of
Transportation’s proposed regulation is clear: it mitigates
heavily against a grant of certiorari.
If the Secretary’s proposed regulations are adopted, then the
real issue in this case, the effect of the requirement that the
Secretary of Transportation approve the level of protection at
crossings where federal funds are used, will have ostensibly been
answered by the regulations for all future cases. The questions
then proposed in this genre of cases will turn to the correct
application of the new regulations. Any decision by this Court in
the interim period will impact, at most, only an handful of cases
which are currently pending. In the alternative, if the proposed
regulations are not adopted, other courts will have an
opportunity to consider the preemption issue based on more fully
developed factual records. If the pseudo-conflict urged by the
Petitioners does in fact emerge in subsequent cases, this Court
(should it decide that the issue deserves consideration) will then
have the benefit of those courts’ analyses and the issues will have
been more fully framed.
(Cont'd)
improvement funds where the most lives will be saved and the most injuries
prevented.” 41 Fed. Reg. at 11,651. Petitioners’ inadequate warnings claim,
however, would entirely abrogate the laudable safety effort of the regulatory
system.
23
This Court is the final arbiter of the most significant
constitutional questions presented in American jurisprudence.
As such, the Court faces serious demands on available timie and
resources. This Court should not grant certiorari in the present
situation, where the decision of the Court may very well be of no
precedential value. In the interest of comity and judicial
economy, it would seem more prudent for this Court to wait and
sec if the regulations proposed by the Secretary of Transportation
are adopted, before the Court decides if it needs to address the
very narrow issue of federal preemption at grade crossings raised
by Petitioners in this case.
CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.
Respectfully submitted,
RAYMOND L. BROWN
Counsel of Record
W. MARK EDWARDS
BROWN & WATT, P.A.
Attorneys for Respondent
3112 Canty Street
P.O. Box 2220
Pascagoula, Mississippi 39569-2220
(601) 762-0035
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.