Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Conroy v. Township of Lower Merion

Supreme Court brief2004

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

. lant

wre

"FAILED

(>) 031302MAR 12 2004

OBFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

Cunce

Qe Wd i te

PATRICIA CONROY

Petitioner,

Vv.

LOWER MERION TOWNSHIP

AND

LOWER MERION TOWNSHIP WORKERS ASSOCIATION

Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States

Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

C. SCOTT SHIELDS

SHIELDS & HOPPE, LLP

223 N. Monroe Street

Media, PA 19063

(610) 892-7777

Attorney for Patricia Conroy

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

(1) Does the Family and Medical Leave Act, 26

U.S.C.A. §2601, et seq, (FMLA) require the reinstatement of

an employee on medical leave who requires the same

accommodation she had prior to taking FMLA leave?

(2) Does the FMLA permit an employer to delay an

employee’s return to work following FMLA leave because

of the employer's belief that the return to work certification

is confusing and then require an employee to undergo a

fitness for duty examination prior to being restored to her

position based upon the employers past practice of requiring

all employees on any leave to submit to an examination?

(3) Does the FMLA allow an employer to require a

return to work certification or a fitness for duty examination

when the employer’s statutory FMLA notice fails to set forth

those requirements for reinstatement?

(4) Does the ADA require employers to accommodate

“regarded as” disabled employees?

il

‘PARTIES

The parties to this proceeding are set forth in the caption.

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

ee 1

ee ae SE seb oo cbd none sew oe il

sah kaccamasvcseccseven ili

a iv

EE Oe l

Od ap deck ee bade eases —

Statutes and Regulations Involved................... 1

pentement of the Case................: SEE Te 4

Reason for Granting NS: 6 bein 4 eA Ad Kav eas os 1]

There is a conflict among the Circuits in

regards to the rights of employees, under

the FMLA, to be reinstated to positions ,

with the same accommodations they were

receiving when they took FMLA leave.

Moreover, the job protections of the FMLA

are so fundamentally important to all

workers in the United States that this

Court must extend the protections of the

FMLA and the substantive right to

reinstatement to disabled employees who

exercise their rights under the FMLA. ...... 1]

iV

There is a Conflict among the Circuits

concerning the rights of employers to

require employees to undergo fitness for

duty examinations prior to being reinstated

to their position following FMLA leave.

Further, the job protections of the FMLA,

and an employee’s right to reinstatement is

of such great importance in the United

States, that this Court must set a national

standard prohibiting employers from

conditioning an employee’s return to work

on obtaining an IME when the employer is

really seeking a clarification of a return to

WOE IS ga ok one ecg see eek ns 13

The job protections of the FMLA are so

fundamentally important to all workers

that this Court must set a_ national

standard and require all employers to

adhere to the regulations requiring notice

of the requirement to submit a return to

work certification, prior to taking any

action refusing to reinstate an employee to

his position following FMLA leave. ......... 19

Lastly, the Third Circuit, in ignoring the

substantial evidence of Conroy’s ADA

claim and her “regarded as” ADA claim,

and by affirming the District Court in

granting summary judgment to the

Township. The Third Circuit has ignored

its own decisions and this Court has yet to

rule on what accommodations are required

to “regarded as” employees in the context

Oe oe eee eee 22

NR ic Scan oe ee a 27

Appendix A: Unpublished Opinion of the Third

Circuit (August 8,2003) ............. la-7a

Appendix B: Memorandum and Order of the

District Court (November 30, ro. | ares 8a-19a

Appendix C: Memorandum and Order of the

District Court (August 7, 2001) ............ 20a-25a

Appendix D: Order of the Third Circuit (December 15,

SRO 554 4G 3 ha ee ee ee 26a-27a

v1

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page(s)

CASES:

Albert v. Runyon, 6 F. Supp. 2d 57, 62

Ge ISG: Ss Ke ecanee tensa as eee aes 17, 18

Buskirk v. Apollo Metals, 307 F.3d 160,

CRE aes 6 bee be eee eee 23

Deane v. Pocono Med. Ctr., 142 F.3d 138, 144

fl ee re rr re 23

Duty v. Norton-Alcoa Proppants, 293 F.3d 481

(Oe CO. Dees vcnvnvswecs eee ees 13

Mathews v. Fairview Health Servs.,

2003 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 5901 (D.Minn 2003) ..... 18

Ragsdale v. Wolverine World Wide,

535 U.S. $1, 122 S. Ct..1155, 152 L. Ed. 2d 167

Rinehimer v. Cemcolift, 292 F.3d 375 (3d Cir. 2002).. = 12

Routes v. Henderson, 58 F. Supp. 2d 959 ;

Cee 2. Peer re Tee reo res Pere 17,18

Sarko v. Penn-Del Directory Co., 968 F. Supp 1026;

affirmed 189 F.3d 464 (3d. Cir. 1999) .......... B

School Board of Nassau County y. Arline,

Vil

480 U.S. 273. 288-89. 94 L. Ed. 2d 307.

WOT D. UL. CESS CIGRT). on ec cccncccscvcsss pa

Stekloff v. St. John's Mercy Health Sys.,

218 F.3d 858, 861 (8th Cir. 2000).............. 13

Taylor v. Pathmark Stores, Inc.. 177 F.3d 180, 188

CON eeMN Fy ceo cis cent were hee 23

Underhill v. Willamina Lumber Co.,

1999 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 9722 (D.Or. 1999) ...... 18

Wilson v. Lemington Home For the Aged,

159 F.Supp.2d 186 (W.D.Pa. 2001) ............. 21

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS:

Oe SEP hp eee nh dee bokeh enus ]

r. got? Ow Se | reer re 4,11

Ge Ne Oe oe aa ee a eee eee Pe re 8

19

CP es © Ne. cs oes eae . tet

15, 19

Oe Sy Ns oes os 0 cc ot ikv a beeeese 2,21

Oe See ROU #68 Ks Sete Soe dad eae ees ya

ig OP Pe © BBN oo kk oes bes he cence hicas +

aie eS er.) ee ee 22

Vill

Pe ee Bo kobe disi atone 22

PE i I goss ak hehe eeeae dade 2, 20

Re EE 6c dks vse ncn aeei 2, 5, 19,

21

29 C.F.R. §825.305..... aera ete ee ee 3

BC I as wa nnn ksssoeeetarsess 4,7, 22,

6, 20

Pe oe eee 9

7 oe PS Ria RGIS Reda aes cae tesco 6

Petitioner, Patricia Conroy, respectfully prays that this

Honorable Court grant a Writ of Certiorari to review the

judgment and opinion of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit entered on August 8, 2003.

OPINIONS BELOW

The August 8, 2003 Opinion is set out at pp. la-7a of the

Appendix “A” to this Petition. This opinion is unpublished.

The District Court’s Memorandum and Order of November

30, 2001 is set out at pp. 8a-19a of the Appendix “B” to this

Petition. The District Court’s Memorandum and Opinion of

August 7, 2001, is set out at pp. 20a-25a of the Appendix

“C” to this Petition.

JURISDICTION

The Order of December 15, 2003 denying Conroy’s

Petition for Rehearing En Banc is set out at pp. 26a-27a of

the Appendix “D” to this Petition. The jurisdiction of this

Court is invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED

29 U.S.C.A. § 2614, in part, reads as follows:

(a) Restoration to position.

(b) (1) In general. Except as provided in subsection (b),

any eligible employee who takes leave under section

102 [29 USCS § 2612] for the intended purpose of

the leave shall be entitled, on return from such

leave—

2

(A) to be restored by the employer to the position of

employment held by the employee when the leave

commenced; or

(B) to be restored to an equivalent position with

equivalent employment benefits, pay, and other terms

and conditions of employment.

(4) Certification. As a condition of restoration under

paragraph (1) for an employee who has taken leave

under section 102(a)(1)((D) [29 USCS §

2612(a)(1)(D)], the employer may have a uniformly

applied practice or policy that requires each such

employee to receive certification from the health care

provider of the employee that the employee is able to

resume work, except that nothing in this paragraph

shall supersede a valid State or local law or a

collective bargaining agreement that governs the

return to work of such employees.

29 U.S.C.A. 2615 reads, in part, as follows:

(a) Interference with rights.

(1) Exercise of rights. It shall be unlawful for any

employer to interfere with, restrain, or deny the

exercise of or the attempt to exercise, any right

provided under this title [29 USCS §§ 2611 et seq.].

29 CFR § 825.301 reads, in part, as follows

(b)(1) The employer shall also provide the

employee with written notice detailing the specific

expectations and obligations of the employee and

explaining any consequences of a failure to meet

these obligations. The written notice must be

provided to the employee in a language in which the

employee is literate (see Sec. 825.300(c)). Such

specific notice must include, as appropriate:

3

(ii) any requirements for the employee to furnish

medical certification of a serious health condition and

the consequences of failing to do so (see Sec.

825.305);

(f) If an employer fails to provide notice in

accordance with the provisions of this section, the

employer may not take action against an employee

for failure to comply with any provision required to

be set forth in the notice.

29 CFR § 825.310 reads, in part, as follows:

(b)If State or local law or the terms of a collective

bargaining agreement govern an employee's return to

work, those provisions shall be applied. Similarly,

requirements under the Americans with Disabilities

Act (ADA) that any return-to-work physical “be job-

related and consistent with business necessity apply.

For example, an attorney could not be required to

submit to a medical examination or inquiry just

because her leg had been amputated. The essential

functions of an attorney's job do not require use of

both legs; therefore such an inquiry would not be job

related. An employer may require a warehouse

laborer, whose back impairment affects the ability to

lift, to be examined by an orthopedist, but may not

require this employee to submit to an HIV test where

the test is not related to either the essential functions

of his/her job or to his/her impairment.

(c) An employer may seek fitness-for-duty

certification only with regard to the particular health

condition that caused the employee's need for FMLA

leave. The certification itself need only be a simple

statement of an employee's ability to return to work.

A health care provider employed by the employer

4

may contact the employee's health care provider with

the employee's permission, for purposes of

clarification of the employee's fitness to return to

work. No additional information may be acquired,

and clarification may be requested only for the

serious health condition for which FMLA leave was

taken. The employer may not delay the employee's

return to work while contact with the health care

provider is being made.

42 U.S.C.A. § 12102, provides in part:

(2) Disability. The term "disability" means, with

respect to an individual—

(A) a physical or mental impairment that

substantially limits one or more of the major life

activities of such individual;

(B) a record of such an impairment; or

(C) being regarded as having such an impairment.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case was filed as an action for money damages and

injunctive relief against the Township of Lower Merion and

the Lower Merion Township Workers Union for violations

of the Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) 29 U.S.C.

§2601, et seq., the Americans With Disabilities Act (ADA),

42 U.S.C. §12111, et. seq., and breach of the duty of fair

representation. The case was originaily brought before the

United States District Court for the Eastern District of

Pennsylvania.

In this case, Patricia Conroy was employed as a clerk in

the Finance Department of the Township of Lower Merion

for almost twenty-three (23) years, all of which have been in

the Township Municipal building located at 75 E. Lancaster

5

Avenue, Ardmore, PA, 19003. In 1985, Conroy injured her

back in a non-work related incident. As a result of the

injuries she sustained, Conroy has developed neuropathy and

sensitivity to moving air currents.

In November of 1997, 13 years after the Onset of her

condition, the Township requested that Conroy submit to a

medical evaluation, and as a result of the medical evaluation,

the Township’s physician found that Conroy did have a

permanent back condition that was affected by air currents.

and that Conroy should avoid cold air and drafts. The

Township had, over the course of fifteen (15) years,

accommodated this disability. However, Conroy requested to

be moved, but the Township declined this request.

On March 8, 2000, Conroy went out of work due to the

exacerbation of her neuropathy and back pain. The Township

designated and granted this leave under the FMLA. On May

15, 2000, Conroy was cleared by her physician to return to

work and provided the Township with the required

physician’s report from her doctor. ! Nevertheless, the

Township, in direct violation of the collective bargaining

agreement (“CBA”) and the FMLA, refused to permit her to

return to work until Conroy submitted to an Independent

Medical Evaluation (“IME”) since the Township made its

own determination that the certification was unclear and

confusing.”

' The Township never indicated in its required notice of her obligations

under the FMLA, 29 CFR 825.301, that Conroy would have to submit a

Tetum to work certification or undergo a fitness for duty examination.

This issue was the Subject of Plaintiff's Motion for Summary Judgment,

which the court denied by Order on April 28, 2002.

" The Township has always admitted that it never availed itself of the

opportunity to seek clarification of the return to work certification.

6

Lower Merion Township continued to refuse Conroy’s

return to work and has forced Conroy to use her accrued sick

and vacation time. When her sick and vacation time ran out

on June 20, 2000, the Township stopped paying Conroy her

regular salary. Conroy was subsequently terminated from her

position of 23 years on September 9, 2000.

The Court initially granted the Township’s Motion for

Summary Judgment on the FMLA claims on August 7, 2001,

and reversed itself on August 24, 2001.° As was apparent in

this matter, the District Court felt that the Township had a

past practice of requiring employees on any medical leave to

undergo an independent medical examination as a condition

precedent to returning to work. The Township also claimed

that this past practice was an implied condition of the

collective bargaining agreement since the collective

bargaining agreement (CBA) never expressly allowed for a

medical examination. At best, CBA required an employee to

submit a certification to return to work, which Conroy

complied with.

The District Court stated that it found that the Township

properly had applied its “past practice” of requiring

employee’s returning from FMLA leave to submit to IME’s

as an implied condition of the CBA when it deemed the

employee’s medical certification unclear or confusing, and

held that this was permissible under the FMLA. (Pet. App

23a). However, the District Court reversed this holding on

August 24, 2001 when it held that there was insufficient

evidence to prove that there was a past practice of requiring

IME’s following FMLA leave. The CBA was silent on this

issue, yet the trial court held “an integration clause is not

> The Trial Court initially held that the Township had a valid “past

practice” of requiring all employees to undergo Independent Medical

Examinations following all types of medical leave. (Pet. App. 25a).

ee ee a ee

7

necessarily dispositive where interpreting union contracts,

the Court believes it is appropriate to consider Defendant's

past practices in this case”. (Pet. App. 23a).

The trial court went on to state that:

Therefore, the question remains whether a practice

that requires Plaintiff to submit to an IME where her

medical certification js unclear, diminishes the-

protection of the FMLA.

The Court finds that this practice does not interfere

with the rights guaranteed by the FMLA. The FMLA

simply entitles an employee to resume her

employment. See 29 U.S.C. § 2614. It does not,

however, ensure a particular administrative procedure

for returning to work. Therefore, as Defendant is

merely implementing a policy for handling situations

where a certification is unclear, these practices do not

restrict or even affect Plaintiffs rights under the

FMLA. Even though requiring an IME creates an

additional step for Plaintiff, Defendant covers the

cost of the IME and this practice does not alter the

Standard for Plaintiff's eligibility or make it more

difficult for Plaintiff to be deemed qualified to return.

For these reasons, the Court finds that Defendant's

use of past practices in this situation does not

constitute a violation of the FMLA 4

The Third Circuit discussed this issue as well and

affirmed the fact that after two months of leave, Conroy's

* The trial court gave no weight or consideration to the regulations

concerning clarification of return to work certifications. 29 C.F.R.

825.310 allows an employer to seek clarification of an employees

certification, but the employer may not delay an employee’s return to

work pending the clarification.

8

doctor stated that Conroy could return to work but gave

another vague statement that she should not be exposed to air

currents. (Pet.App. 3a). The Third Circuit even

acknowledged that Conroy had a prior IME in 1997 (Pet.

App. 3a) and that:

“{O]nce again, the Township requested that Conroy

have an IME to determine precisely how it could

accommodate her, but this time Conroy refused and

instead requested that she be moved to another

workplace.” Considering that Conroy had missed two

months of work, the Township did not want to

employ her without knowing exactly what working

conditions would accommodate her condition. After

’ her vacation and sick leave ran out, Conroy was

terminated (under the terms of the Collective

Bargaining Agreement ("CBA") with the union, any

employee who has missed work for 180 days will be

terminated).(Pet.App. 3a).

The Third Circuit stated that the return to work

certification was “confusing” since it stated that Conroy

could return to work “unrestricted” (Pet. App. 5a), and

omitted the other language of this certification that indicated,

as stated by the trial court, that she could return to work with

the accommodation she had been receiving prior to the

FMLA leave of “avoiding cold air and drafts”. (Pet. App.

21a). The Third Circuit additionally stated that this was after

the Township had made a good faith effort to accommodate

her condition. (Pet. App. 5a).

* Conroy did not ever request to have her work place moved while on

leave, this request was made months before she ever went out on FMLA

leave.

9

The Third Circuit also held that the District Court did not

err by denying Conroy's motion to exclude evidence of the

Township's prior practice with the union concerning IMEs

following FMLA leave -- this evidence is clearly relevant

(emphasis added) to the determination of whether the

Township could require Conroy to undergo an IME, as past

practice can be considered an implied term of the CBA and

CBAs can supersede the FMLA. (Pet. App. 6a).

At trial, Conroy additionally requested that the FMLA

retaliation claim go forward, but the Third Circuit held that

the District Court did not err in Stating that the issue of

improper and/or lack of proper FMLA notice was raised too

late and was prejudicial to the rights of the Defendant. (Pet.

App. 6a). However, the District Court held that the notice

was sufficient as a matter of law, not that it was raised too

late. The lack of proper notice is an evidehtiary issue, and

not a new claim, and there was no dispute among the parties

that the notice failed to make any mention of the requirement

to submit a return to work certification or to submit to an

IME.

At trial, Conroy set forth a prima facie case of a

substantive violation of her rights under the FMLA, and for

retaliation. The Township claimed that it did not have to

reinstate her to prior position because she required an

accommodation. Conroy stated that her doctor certification

clearly indicated that she could return to work with the same

accommodation she was receiving immediately prior to

commencing her FMLA leave. The Trial Court granted

Defendant Township’s oral Rule 50 Motion, and dismissed

the FMLA claims under the guise that Conroy was not

entitled to reinstatement to a position where she required an

accommodation, in spite of the fact that she was seeking

reinstatement with the same accommodation she had prior to

taking her FMLA leave.

10

Additionally, Conroy appealed the Trial Court’s grant of

summary judgment on her ADA claims. The Third Circuit

acknowledged this aspect of her appeal, but made no

mention or gave any consideration to the evidence she

submitted in her brief in opposition to the grant of summary

judgment. It was undisputed in the briefs that there was

substantial evidence of her ADA qualifying disability, and

her “regarded as” claims.° The Third Circuit made no

mention of the “regarded as” claims, and affirmed the

District Court by stating that it was the failure to undergo an

IME under the FMLA that caused her to be fired, not her

condition (ADA disability). The Third Circuit stated, “it was

Conroy's failure to allow the Township to figure out how

reasonably to accommodate her condition that led to her

° The Township regarded her as disabled for at least the last 15 years;

the Township designee indicated that Employee is disabled for purposes

- of the ADA. The Township even relieved Employee from switchboard

duty. In 1997, the Township requested, and Employee agreed, to undergo

an IME to determine, what, if any accommodations she will need. There

were handwritten memos authored by a representative of the Township

indicating that there is “measurable velocity”; “couldn’t deny air coming

in - based on smoke test and velometer; it disappt”; and “air blowing/rain

‘worst of cond.’”; the Township forwarded a memorandum to Employee,

dated 5/8/98, wherein the Township stated that as a further indication of

their good faith staff in the Finance Department would endeavor to keep

the windows closed, and that “[t]he Township believes that it has been

responsive in trying to understand your medical condition and needs, and

has, therefore, made every reasonable accommodation so that you may

perform your normal activities in the workplace.” In 1999, Conroy again

requested that her work station be moved so that she could avoid drafts. .

The Township refused to move her work even thought he evidence

produced by the Township identified several suitable areas where Conroy

could work and perform the essential functions of her job.

1]

~

firing, not the Township's unwillingness to accommodate

her.””’

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

There is a dispute among the Circuits in regards to

the rights of employees, under the FMLA, to be

reinstated to positions with the same accommodations

they were receiving when they took FMLA leave.

Moreover, the job protections of the FMLA are so

fundamentally important to all workers in the United

States that this Court must extend the protections of the

FMLA and the substantive right to reinstatement to

disabled employees who exercise their rights under the

FMLA.

At issue in this case is a matter that is fundamental to the

rights of all individuals that take leave under the Family and

Medical Leave Act. 29 U.S.C.A 2601, et seq. In this case,

Conroy had been receiving, as acknowledged by the

Township, an accommodation for her back condition

(neuropathy) for the previous 15 years. In 1997, the

Township asked Plaintiff to participate in an independent

medical evaluation, and it was determined that Conroy’s

back condition was aggravated by cold air and drafts.

As a result of this IME, Conroy was given the

accommodation of working in an area that was free from

cold air and drafts. It has always been undisputed that

Conroy was able to perform the essential functions of her

job.

” It was undisputed in the record at trial and in the Third Circuit that

Conroy was seeking to be reinstated with the

was receiving when she took FMLA leave.

same accommodation she

12

At trial, Conroy established a prima facie case of a

violation of her substantive rights under the FMLA and for

retaliation under the FMLA. At the close of Plaintiff's case

in chief, the Township moved for dismissal under Rule 50 of

the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. Although it was

undisputed at trial that Conroy was able to perform the

essential functions of her position as a clerk in the finance

office, she did require the same accommodation upon her

return to work that she had been receiving prior to the

commencement of her FMLA leave.

Based upon this need by Conroy to receive the same

accommodation upon her return to work that she had been

receiving immediately prior to her leave, the Township cited

the case of Rinehimer v. Cemcolift, 292 F.3d 375 (3d Cir.

2002), for the stated proposition that the FMLA does not

require an employer to reinstate an employee who requires

an accommodation to perform the essential functions of their

job. However, the Plaintiff in Rinehimer was reinstated to his

position, but was eventually terminated after seeking to be

returned to his former position.

In this case, Conroy was cleared by her physician to be

reinstated to her previous position and that she still needed

the same accommodation; i.e. avoidance of cold air and

drafts. Despite this certification tendered by Conroy’s

treating physician, the Township refused to reinstate her until

she underwent an IME to clear up the Township’s confusion

concerning the certification.®

The issue of the right of reinstatement of an employee

who takes FMLA leave while they are being accommodated,

* The Township admitted that it never sought clarification of the

certification pursuant to 29 C.F.R. §825.310, and that it refused her

return to work pending her completion of an IME.

my

13

is an issue of first impression in the Third Circuit. The issue

was discussed in Duty v. Norton-Alcoa Proppants, 293 F.3d

481 (8th Cir. 2002), the Eighth Circuit discussed the

interplay between the FMLA and the ADA for an employee

on FMLA leave and stated:

To determine whether an employee is capable of

performing the essential functions of his job for

purposes of FMLA entitlement, we do not utilize the

same criteria outlined by the ADA and courts

interpreting it. See Stekloff v. St. John's Mercy Health

Sys., 218 F.3d 858. 86] (8th Cir. 2000). Rather,

because "the declared purposes of the FMLA and its

legislative history" are concerned with maintaining

job security, an FMLA inquiry examining employee's

ability to perform the essential functions of his job

focuses "on [his] ability to perform those functions in

[his] current environment. 218 F.3d at 861-62. Duty

at 495.

Under the rationale set forth by the Third Circuit in this

case, if you have a disability that requires an

accommodation, and you take FMLA leave, you no longer

have a right to be reinstated to your position following the

termination of your FMLA leave. This result excludes all

disabled individuals who receive accommodations from ever

being afforded the substantive job protections of the FMLA.

There is a dispute among the Circuits concerning the

rights of employers to require employees to undergo

fitness for duty examinations prior to being reinstated to

their position following FMLA leave. Further, the job

protections of the FMLA, and an employee’s right to

reinstatement is of such great importance in the United

States, that this Court must set a national standard

prohibiting employers from conditioning an employee’s

ess... ee a

14

return to work on obtaining an IME when the employer

is really seeking a clarification of a return to work

certification.

In this case, Conroy tendered a certificate to return to

work, which arguably, she was not even required to tender

since the Township failed to notify her of any requirement to

submit a return to work certification. Notwithstanding this

contention, the Township did require Conroy to submit to an

Independent Medical Examination (IME) since the employer

found her certification to be “unclear” and “confusing”. By

letter of May 11, 2000, addressed to Conroy’s counsel, the

Township stated, “Please inform Ms. Conroy that she may

not return to work until she receives an independent medical

examination from another physician who clears her to do

so’.” Conroy objected to an IME since she had previously-

undergone an IME for the Township, and since her

certification was all that was needed under the FMLA to

entitle her to reinstatement.

The District Court held that the requirement of an IME

was not a violation of the FMLA when it stated:

Therefore, the question remains whether a practice

that requires Plaintiff to submit to an IME where her

medical certification is unclear, diminishes the

protection of the FMLA.

The Court finds that this practice does not interfere

with the rights guaranteed by the FMLA. The FMLA

simply entitles an employee to resume her

employment. See 29 U.S.C. § 2614. It does not,

” Additionally, the Township admitted that the return to work

certification was not reviewed by any physician, and that it is not the

Township’s policy to have medical certifications reviewed.

eS fat eae ge eT PPT Pee wee eee ee

15

however, ensure a particular administrative procedure

for returning to work. Therefore, as Defendant is

merely implementing a policy for handling situations

where a certification is unclear, these practices do not

restrict or even affect Plaintiffs rights under the

FMLA. Even though requiring an IME creates an

additional step for Plaintiff, Defendant covers the

cost of the IME and this practice does not alter the

standard for Plaintiff's eligibility or make it more

difficult for Plaintiff to be deemed qualified to return.

For these reasons, the Court finds that Defendant's

use of past practices in this situation does not

constitute a violation of the FMLA. (Pet. App. 24a).

Further, the Third Circuit held that the IME was a proper

exercise of the Township’s rights under the FMLA leave by

Stating “[a]fter two months of leave, Conroy's doctor stated

that Conroy could return to work but gave another vague

Statement that she should not be exposed to air currents.”

As stated by this Court in Ragsdale v. Wolverine World

Wide, 535 U.S. 81, 122 S. Ct 1155, 152 L. Ed. 2d

167 (2002):

The FMLA's central provision guarantees eligible

employees 12 weeks of leave in a l-year period

following certain events: a disabling health problem:

a family member's serious illness; or the arrival of a

new son or daughter. 29 U.S.C. § 2612(a)(1). During

the mandatory 12 weeks, the employer must maintain

the employee's group health coverage. § 2614(c)(1).

Leave must be granted, when "medically necessary,"

on an intermittent or part-time basis. § 2612(b)(1).

Upon the employee's timely return, the employer

must reinstate the employee to his or her former

position or an equivalent. § 2614(a)(1).

$$ ———— re —$—$—<$<$—$<$$$—$—$———<—$<$—< SESE —C

16

The regulations do not permit a return to work physical

unless the physical is “job related” or consistent with

business necessity. 29 C.F.R. §825.310(b). Further, the ADA

allows a physical for a warehouse worker who has a back

problem, but not the lawyer who has an amputated leg.'° In

Conroy’s case, she was a clerical employee who had already

had an IME and who was already being accommodated, so it

can hardly be said that there was a right to condition her

reinstatement under the ADA requirement for having a

physical. Neither the District Court nor the Third Circuit

adopted this stance. Both courts held that the certification

was confusing or vague, and that alone gave rise to the need

for a fitness for duty examination.

The regulations also require that the certification itself

“need only be a simple statement of n employee’s ability to

return to work”. 29 C.F.R. §825.310(c). Further, this same ,

regulation also states that an employer may seek clarification

of this certification from the employee’s health care

provider”, and that “an employer may not delay the

employee’s return to work while contact with the health care

provider is being made”. 29 C.F.R. §825.310. The Township

never contacted Conroy’s physician or discussed the

certifications with any of its own physicians. In fact, the

Township’s policy is to never have a certification reviewed

by a physician. Clearly, Conroy’s substantive right to

reinstatement was violated since the Township required her

to undergo an IME and that she was fired from her position

of 23 years for exercising her substantive right to be

reinstated without undergoing an IME.

There are no Circuit Court opinions dealing with this

issue, however, there are district court opinions from within

!° See 29 C.F.R. §825.310.

|

}

;

s I

4

Ff

4

flo Netto es rea nehe Nt! :

Ne eed ae Name A Nal at

17

various circuits that conflict with the decisions by the

Conroy trial court and the Third Circuit in regards to the

requirement for an employee to undergo an IME as a

condition precedent to being reinstated.

In the First Circuit, the District Court for the District of

Massachusetts, in Albert v. Runyon, 6 F. Supp. 2d 57,

62 (D.Mass 1998), the trial court held that:

An employer with questions about the scope or

adequacy of a medical certification may take

advantage of the FMLA Provision allowing it to

contact (which the Defendant Township did not do)

the employee’s clinician for Clarification, but may not

force an employee to submit to an examination

before allowing her to return to work.” Albert at 63,

and, |

An employer may not order an employee returning

from FMLA leave to submit to a fitness-for-duty-

examination because of that leave, or because of an

underlying condition that the employee’s health care

provider has certified will not interfere with the

employee’s ability to work, or because the employer

views the certification as inadequate for its own

purposes. Albert at 69.

In the Seventh Circuit, the District Court for the Southern

District of Indiana, Routes y. Henderson, 58 F. Supp. 2d

959 (S.D. In 1999) stated that the right of restoration is a

substantive statutory right that is guaranteed to eligible

employees by the FMLA. As such, it cannot easily be

diminished or abrogated by a collective bargaining

agreement. Routes at 995. When an employee submits a

medical certification adequate for purposes of the FMLA

(such as a Form 380), and the employer has no independent

18

reason to doubt the employee's fitness, "the employer cannot

rely on the employee's FMLA leave (or [his or her] prior

medical condition) to justify such an examination.” Routes at

997.

In the Eighth Circuit, the District Court for the District of

Minnesota, decided, in Mathews v. Fairview Health Servs.,

2003 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 5901 (D.Minn 2003), that the

procedures and practices delineated in FMLA represent a

prohibition on an employer making "its own determination

of whether an employee is fit to return from FMLA leave."

Citing, Albert v. Runyon, 6 F. Supp. 2d 57, 62 (D.Mass

1998).

In the Ninth Circuit, the District Court for the District of

Oregon, in Underhill v. Willamina Lumber Co., 1999 U.S.

Dist. LEXIS 9722 (D.Or. 1999), held the “FMLA allows for

additional clarification of an employee's fitness-to-return

certification, an employer may not force an employee to

submit to a further examination before allowing her to return

to work. Citing, Albert at 63.

This case is not a case where there was a business

necessity for Conroy’s examination. Conroy’s FMLA leave

was not granted as a result of a work related injury. Conroy

was a Clerical employee and has had this injury since 1985.

As agreed to at trial by the Township, Conroy was always

able to perform the essential functions of her job. The

Township had been accommodating her for her disability

related to the 1985 injury. Prior to the need for the FMLA

leave, Conroy was not requested to undergo an IME since

the first IME conducted in 1997. Clearly, the fact that

Conroy took FMLA leave is the only reason why the

Township demanded her to undergo a new IME, in spite of

the fact that Conroy was always able to perform the essential

functions of her job.

|

3

|

19

The Third Circuit, in affirming the trial court regarding

the requirement to undergo an IME, has now directly

conflicted with the decisions of other District Courts in the

various Circuits. As stated by this Court in Ragsdale y.

Wolverine World Wide, 535 US. 81, 122 S. Ct. 1155, 152 L.

Ed. 2d 167 (2002),

The FMLA's central Provision guarantees eligible

employees 12 weeks of leave in a l-year period

following certain events: a disabling health problem:

a family member's serious illness; or the arrival of a

new son or daughter. 29 U.S.C. § 2612(a)(1). Upon

the employee's timely return, the employer must

reinstate the employee to his or her former position or

an equivalent. § 2614(a)(1).”

Clearly, there must be intervention by this Court on this

very fundamental issue. The Third Circuit has now departed

from the intent of the FMLA, and the law that has been

established in several of the other Circuits.

The job protections of the FMLA re so

fundamentally important to all workers that this Court

must set a national standard and require all employers to

adhere to the regulations requiring notice of the

requirement to submit a return to work certification,

prior to taking any action refusing to reinstate an

employee to his position following FMLA leave.

The regulations promulgated pursuant to the FMLA

provide clear and definitive guidance as to what notice is

required to be given to an employee by the employer. 29

C.F.R. §825.301, provides in part, at paragraph (b)(1):

20

The employer shall also provide the employee with

written notice detailing the specific expectations and

obligations of the employee and explaining any

consequences of a failure to meet these obligations.

The written notice must be provided to the employee

in a language in which the employee is literate (see

Sec. 825.300(c)). Such specific notice must include,

as appropriate:

(v) any requirement for the employee to present a

fitness for duty certificate to be restored to

employment (see Sec. 825.310);

This particular regulation goes on to state, at paragraph

(f), “If an employer fails to provide notice in accordance

with the provisions of this section, the employer may not

take action against an employee for failure to comply with

any provision required to be set forth in the notice.”

One of Conroy’s best pieces of evidence of retaliation, in

addition to her termination, is the fact that the employer’s

notice of her FMLA leave was the lack of any requirement to

provide return to work certification, or submit to an IME.

However, in a cruel twist of fate, the Third Circuit ruled that

the issue of lack of notice was raised too late in the

proceedings so as to constitute a prejudice to the Township.

What the Third Circuit ignored was the fact that the trial

court held that the notice was sufficient as a matter of law."'

The Third Circuit has never issued a decision on whether

or not an employer can deny an employee’s reinstatement

when it fails to notify the employee of the duty to tender a

return to work certification or the duty to undergo an IME.

'! The issue of improper notice was briefed in Summary Judgment

motions months before trial.

21

However, the District Court in Wilson y. Lemington

Home For the Aged, 159 F.Supp.2d 186 (W.D.Pa. 2001),

stated that the plaintiff was discharged for failing, among

other things, to tender a fitness for duty certification. The

Court held, at page 192, “Once an employee gives notice to

an employer that FMLA leave is requested, the employer is

charged with the duty to “provide the employee with written

notice detailing the specific expectations and obligations of

the employee and explaining any consequences of a failure

tO meet these obligations.” Citing, 29 CFR

§$825.301(b)(1)(emphasis added). The Court went on to state

that the regulations are very clear on what must be provided

in the written notice. Wilson at 192.

The Wilson Court continued by indicating that the

employer in this case deemed the employee to have

voluntarily quit for failing to comply with its FMLA policy

of providing a medical certification. The Court stated that in

order to take this said action, Defendant (employer) must

have complied with 29 C.F.R. §825.301. Wilson at 193. The

Wilson court deemed the failure of the employer to give the

employee a notice setting for the requirement to notify the

employee of the need to tender a return to work certification

as retaliation. In Wilson, the court held that the Defendant's

act of deeming Plaintiff to have quit on December 30, 1997.

for the failure to provide a medical certification, constituted

an interference with Plaintiffs exercise of her FMLA rights,

in violation of 29 U.S.C. § 2615(a)(1).

Although there are no Circuit Court opinions on the issue

of whether or not the lack of Proper notice is sufficient

evidence of interference or a retaliation claim under the

FMLA, the Wilson court definitively sets a standard that

should be adopted by this Court along with the other issues

raised in this Writ of Certiorari.

22

Lastly, the Third Circuit, in ignoring the substantial

evidence of Conroy’s ADA claim and her “regarded as”

ADA claim, and by affirming the District Court in

granting summary judgment to the Township. The Third

Circuit has ignored its own decisions and this Court has

yet to rule on what accommodations are required to

“regarded as” employees in the context of the ADA.

Under 42 USC §12111(8), “a qualified individual with a

disability is an individual with a disability who, with or

without reasonable accommodation, can perform the

essential functions of the employment position that such

individual holds or desires.” Clearly, it is undisputed that

Conroy was qualified and was able to perform the essential

functions of her job.

A disability is defined at 42 USC §12102(2) as (A) a

physical or mental impairment that substantially limits one

or more of the major life activities of such individual; (B) a

record of such an impairment; or (C) being regarded having

such an impairment.

In order for a major life activity to be substantially

limited by an impairment, the impairment must leave the

individual either (1) “unable to perform a major life activity

that the average person in the population can perform” or (2)

“significantly restricted as to the condition, manner, or

duration under which the individual can perform a particular

major life activity as compared to the condition, manner, or

duration under which the average person in the general

population can perform that same major life activity.” 29

C.F.R. § 1630.2(j)(1)().

Conroy’s disability is chronic back neuropathy (diseased

nerves) that is aggravated by cold air and drafts. In the event

the Court finds that Conroy does not have a disability within

23

the meaning of the Act, Conroy can clearly show that she is

regarded as disabled as defined in Buskirk v. Apollo Metals,

307 F.3d 160, (3d Cir. 2002). See also, Sarko vy. Penn-Del

Directory Co., 968 F. Supp 1026; affirmed 189 F.3d 464 (3d.

Cir. 1999). In Buskirk, this Court stated, “[E]ven an innocent

misperception based on nothing more than a simple mistake

of fact as to the severity, or even the very existence, of an

individual's impairment can be sufficient to Satisfy the

Statutory definition of a perceived disability." Buskirk at

167, citing, Deane v. Pocono Med. Ctr., 142 F.3d 138, 144

(3d Cir.1998).

Based on the Township’s past efforts to accommodate

Conroy, it is clear that the Township cannot now claim that

Conroy is not disabled for purposes of the PHRC or the

ADA. Not only does Conroy have a disability under the

ADA, she clearly has shown that the Township has regarded

her as disabled under the Act for many years.

In Buskirk vy. Apollo Metals, 307 F.3d 160, (3d Cir.

2002), the Third Circuit Stated, “In general, an employer's

perception that an employee cannot perform a wide range of

jobs suffices to make out a regarded as' claim." Citing,

Tavlor v. Pathmark Stores Inc.. 177 F.3d 180, 188 (3d Cir.

1999).

Buskirk did not address the issue of whether a “regarded

as” employee was entitled to an accommodation, the court

did cite School Board of Nassau County v. Arline. 480 U.S.

273, 288-89. 94 L. Ed. 2d 307, 107 S. Ct. 1123 (1987).

where the Supreme Court held that employers have an

obligation to provide reasonable accommodations to

employees who are regarded as disabled under the

Rehabilitation Act.

24

Conroy only ever sought a reasonable accommodation,

and the Township knew this. This is not a case where an

employee was discharged for being unable to perform the

essential functions of her job due to a disability, there was

never any dispute about Conroy being able to perform the

essential functions of her job. She merely wanted an

accommodation, and this claim arose prior to her taking and

exercising her rights under the FMLA.

The issue of a reasonable accommodation is not a novel

issue in the “regarded as” line of cases. It is an issue that

must be resolved under the ADA. Especially as it relates to

individuals that are receiving accommodations for

disabilities, and then who take FMLA leave, and then who

are terminated pursuant to a statutory scheme and/or case

law which does not require an employer to reinstate an

employee if they require an accommodation.

CONCLUSION

For the above reasons, a writ of certiorari should issue to

review the judgment and opinion of the Court of Appeals for

the Third Circuit.

Respectfully submitted:

C. SCOTT SHIELDS

SHIELDS & Hoppe, LLP

223 N. MONROE STREET

MEDIA, PA 19063

(610) 892-7777

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A

Decision of the United States Court of Appeals,

Third Circuit, Dated August 8, 2003

Patricia S. CONROY

V.

TOWNSHIP OF LOWER MERION;

LOWER MERION TOWNSHIP WORKERS

ASSOCIATION

No. 02-3217

Submitted: June 23, 2003

Decided: August 8, 2003

Affirmed. °

Before SLOVITER, AMBRO, and BECKER, Circuit

Judges.

BECKER, Circuit Judge.

Patricia S. Conroy appeals from the District Court's

grant of judgment as a matter of law in favor of the

defendant Township of Lower Merion on her claim brought

pursuant to the Family Medical Leave Act ("FMLA"). She

also appeals from the District Court's grant of summary

judgment in favor of the Township on her claim under the

Americans with Disability Act ("ADA") and __ the

Pennsylvania Human Relations Act ( "PHRA"), and in favor

of the defendant Transport Workers Union ("TWU") on her

2a

claim for breach of the duty of fair representation. We

affirm. The facts and procedural history are involved but

they are well known to the parties; we lay them out briefly

below.

I.

Conroy was employed for many years as an accounting

clerk in the Township's finance department. She injured her

back in a non-work-related incident and, as a result,

developed a sensitivity to air currents. Conroy presented the

Township with a letter from her doctor stating that her back

pain "is aggravated by certain weather conditions." [A504]

Conroy's doctor also stated that she experiences "severe,

intermittent pain" that is exacerbated by _ "several

environmental and physical changes" including "exposure to

air currents blowing from open windows," and recommended

that Conroy work in an area where "she will not be exposed

to drafts from open windows." [A508] The Township was

unable to determine from the letter what precise steps it

should take to deal with the problem, and hence it sent

Conroy, at its own expense, for an independent medical

examination ("IME") to determine how far away from vents,

windows, etc. she could work (the Township had a

longstanding practice of requesting that employees undergo

IMEs to clarify confusing medical information).

The doctor conducting the IME determined that Conroy

should avoid "actual, perceptible draft[s] that could be

objectively documented by an industrial hygienist or HVAC

specialist," and siated that "if the window 35 feet away from

... Conroy's cubicle does not give rise to any air currents at

her desk or cause an adverse change in temperature, then I

am not supporting medically that the window be closed

simply because she says to close it." [A518-519] The

Township followed up on the doctor's suggestions and

3a

employed a company to perform a ventilation Survey of the

finance department, including Conroy's work station. The

results of the survey showed that there were no perceptible

air currents directly impacting Conroy's work station: any air

currents dissipated before they reached Conroy's cubicle.

The Township informed Conroy that, despite the results of

the survey, the finance department would endeavor to keep

the windows closed. The Township also installed, at its own

cost, an air vent above the entrance door to the finance

department and weather stripping on all doors within the

department.

However, Conroy's condition worsened and she took a

leave of absence under the FMLA. Conroy's doctor indicated

that Conroy's back pain became worse when the air

conditioning was activated and when her supervisor opened

both his window and the door to his office. In the doctor's

opinion, "stressful working conditions and drafts in the work

area are the cause of the exacerbation of pains in her back."

[A538] After two months of leave, Conroy's doctor stated

that Conroy could return to work but gave another vague

Statement that she should not be exposed to air currents.

Once again, the Township requested that Conroy have an

IME to determine precisely how it could accommodate her,

but this time Conroy refused and instead requested that she

be moved to another workplace. Considering that Conroy

had missed two months of work, the Township did not want

to employ her without knowing exactly what working

conditions would accommodate her condition. After her

vacation and sick leave ran out, Conroy was terminated

(under the terms of the Collective Bargaining Agreement

("CBA") with the union, any employee who has missed work

for 180 days will be terminated).

Il.

4a

Pursuant to 29 U.S.C. § 2614, employees taking FMLA

leave are entitled to the following:

(a) Restoration to position

(1) In general

Except as provided in subsection (b) of this section,

any eligible employee who takes leave under section

2612 of this title for the intended purpose of the leave

shall be entitled, on return from such leave--

(A) to be restored by the employer to the position of

employment held by the employee when the leave

commenced; or

(B) to be restored to an equivalent position with

equivalent employment benefits, pay, and other terms

and conditions of employment.

Although the Township was offering to restore Conroy to

her position, Conroy claims that the Township violated 29

U.S.C. § 2615(a)(1), which prohibits employers from taking

any action to "interfere with, restrain or deny the exercise of"

rights under the FMLA, by requiring her to submit to an IME

before returning to work. However, we note that Rinehimer

v. Cemcolift, Inc. holds that "the FMLA does not require 'an

employer to provide a reasonable accommodation to an

employee to facilitate his return to the same or equivalent

position at the conclusion of his medical leave.'" 292 F.3d

375, 384 (3d Cir. 2002) (internal citations omitted); see also

29 C.F.R. § 825.214(b) ("If the employee is unable to

perform an essential function of the position because of a

physical or mental condition, including the continuation of a

serious health condition, the employee has no right to

restoration to another position under the FMLA."). Thus, the

critical question is whether Conroy required an

accommodation to perform the essential functions of her job

(or an equivalent job). If so, then the Township had no duty

to restore her to her position after she took FMLA leave, and

the request that she undergo an IME certainly did not

A hb Pe RE eR A” ee oe

Sa

interfere with her FMLA rights because she had no right to

be restored at all.

We think that Conroy required accommodations. Conroy's

doctor indicated that she had taken a leave of absence

because her back problems had been exacerbated by stressful

working conditions and that she should not return to work

until conditions improved (although the doctor also made a

somewhat confusing statement that she could "return to

unrestricted duty" [A544]); this was after the Township had

already made a good faith effort to accommodate Conroy.

By requesting a second IME, the Township simply wanted to

ensure that Conroy would not come back to work and be put

in a situation in which her back problems would flare up

again, causing her to miss more work. Without adequately

addressing the air current problem (which required Conroy

to submit to an IME), Conroy could not continue to perform

the essential functions of her job because her back pain

would likely worsen once again, Causing her to miss work

(she certainly could not perform the essential functions of

her job if she was not able to work). It is difficult to

understand why Conroy would not agree to an IME (the

Township would have covered the cost), and it is most

unfortunate that this fine, long-term employee of the

Township so harmed herself by. refusing to agree, but the -

refusal is fatal to her position. The Township could have

outright refused to restore Conroy because she required an

accommodation, and thus her claim that the Township

violated her rights under the FMLA by requiring her to

submit to an IME fails; the IME would have allowed the

Township to restore Conroy to her position with an

accommodation, something it was not required to do under

the FMLA.

Neither can Conroy succeed on her FMLA retaliation

claim. She simply has not adduced evidence from which an

6a

inference can be drawn that she was fired because she

exercised her FMLA rights and not because she refused to

submit to an IME. Nor has she adduced evidence from which

an inference can be drawn that the Township's request that

she undergo an IME was a pretext for terminating her

because she exercised her FMLA rights.

Conroy also fails on her claim that the District Court erred

by excluding evidence of allegedly insufficient FMLA notice

because she never pled (even though she amended her

complaint twice) that the Township failed to provide

sufficient notice under the FMLA. Thus, the District Court

did not abuse its discretion by deciding that it would be

prejudicial to the defendants to allow this claim to go forth

when Conroy brought up the issue at such a late point. Nor

did the District Court err by denying Conroy's motion to

exclude evidence of thé Township's prior practice with the

union concerning IMEs -- this evidence is clearly relevant to

the determination of whether the Township could require

Conroy to undergo an IME, as past practice can be

considered an implied term of the CBA and CBAs can

supersede the FMLA. See Consolidated Rail Corp. v.

Railway Labor Executives' Ass'n, 491 U.S. 299, 311-12. 105

L. Ed. 2d 250, 109 S. Ct. 2477 (i989); 29 USL.

§2614(a)(4).

The District Court also did not err by granting the

Township's motion for summary judgment on the ADA and

PHRA claims (which are properly evaluated as one statute)

because Conroy cannot prove the elements of these claims.

The ADA and PHRA require that Conroy be disabled in a

way that affects major life activities, which she has not

shown. See 42 U.S.C. § 12102(2)(A); 29 C.F.R. §

1630.2(g)(1). Additionally, Conroy must show that she

suffered an adverse employment action as a result of

discrimination and that the Township's nondiscriminatory

7a

reason for her termination (that she refused to submit to an

IME) was a pretext for discrimination. Rather, it appears that

Conroy was terminated because she would not submit to an

IME, not because of her condition. Moreover, although "an

employer discriminates against a qualified individual with a

disability when it does ‘not. make reasonable

accommodations to the known physical or mental limitations

of the individual unless the [employer] can demonstrate that

the accommodation would impose an undue hardship on the

operation of the business of the [employer],"" Gaul v. Lucent

Techs., 134 F.3d 576, 579 (3d Cir. 1998) (citing 42 U.S.C. §

12112(b)(5)(A)), it was Conroy's failure to allow the

Township to figure out how reasonably to accommodate her

condition that led to her firing, not the Township's

unwillingness to accommodate her.

Finally, the District Court did not err by granting summary

Judgment to the TWU on Conroy's breach of the duty of fair

representation claim. To succeed on a claim like this, Conroy

was required to show that the union acted in bad faith by

refusing to submit her claim to arbitration. See Dykes vy,

SEPTA, 68 F.3d 1564, 157] (3d Cir. 1995), cert. denied 517

U.S. 1142 (1996). We conclude that Conroy has shown no

evidence of bad faith, and that her underlying arguments that

the Township discriminated and retaliated against her and

failed to accommodate her appear to be without merit. Thus,

the union acted reasonably.

The judgment of the District Court will be affirmed.

/s/ Edward R. Becker

Circuit Judge

August 8, 2003

8a

APPENDIX B

Memorandum and Order of the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania,

Dated November 30, 2001

Patricia S. CONROY

V.

TOWNSHIP OF LOWER MERION;

LOWER MERION TOWNSHIP WORKERS

ASSOCIATION

Civil Action: 00 CV 03528

November 30, 2001

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

JUDGE RONALD BUCKWALTER

Plaintiff has filed a seven-count Amended Complaint.

Count I alleges that the Township of Lower Merion

(Township) violated the Americans with Disabilities Act

(ADA) by failing to accommodate her disability.

Count II charges the Township with retaliation under

ADA because of plaintiff's filing a complaint with the

Pennsylvania Human Relations Commission.

Counts III and IV charge the Township with violations of

the Pennsylvania Human Relations Act for discrimination

(Count III) and retaliation (Count I'V).

9a

Count V charges the Township under 42 U.S.C. § 1983

and § 1988, alleging denial of due process and violations of

the First, Fourth, Fifth and Fourteenth [*2] Amendments to

the United States Constitution, .

Count VI alleges the Township violated the Family and

~ Medical Leave Act (FMLA),

Count VII charges the Lower Merion Township Workers

Association (Union) with breach of duty of fair

representation.

Township filed a motion for summary judgment as to

Counts I, II, Ill, IV and V, and has asked the court to

reconsider its ruling on Count VI and grant summary

judgment on it as well.

I. FACTS

Plaintiff has been employed as a clerk in the Finance

Department of the T Ownship for almost 23 years, all of

which have been in the Township Municipal Building, 75 E.

Lancaster Avenue, Ardmore, Pennsylvania. Sometime in

1984, she sustained an injury to her back in a non-work

related incident. As a result, she developed neuropathy and

sensitivity to moving air currents (See Amended Complaint).

The Township bas, according to plaintiff, over the course of

15 years, accommodated this sensitivity (See pages 1 and 2

of plaintiffs Amended Complaint). Later at page 4 of her

Amended Complaint, plaintiff contradicts this by saying

since November of 1997, the Township has failed to

accommodate her condition.

The above contradiction may be based upon a series of

events leading up to November of 1997. It appears that in

September of 1996, plaintiff presented the Township with a

SSS ee |

10a

note from William W. Lander, M.D., dated September 12,

1996, stating that plaintiff "is under my care for chronic back

pain which is aggravated by certain weather conditions." See

September 12, 1996 note by Dr. Lander, Exhibit "E" of

Township's brief. In response to this note by Lander, on

February 21, 1997, Roseann Siso (Siso), the Township's

Director of Personnel, sent a letter to Lander requesting

medical evidence concerning plaintiff's diagnosis, prognosis

and what, if any, restrictions and/or accommodations she

needs due to her medical situation. See February 21, 1997

letter from Siso, Exhibit "F" of Township's brief. On or

about July 7, 1997, Lander responded to Siso and indicated

that plaintiff has had a "disabling neuropathy" since injuring

her back in 1985 and, as a result, experiences "severe,

intermittent pain" that is aggravated by "several

environmental and physical changes" including "exposure to

air currents blowing from open windows." See July 7, 1997

letter from Lander, Exhibit "G" of Township's brief. Because

her condition could be aggravated by air currents, Lander

recommended that Conroy work in an area where "she will

not be exposed to drafts from open windows." Lander did

not, however, indicate that plaintiff could not work in a

space where a window would not expose her to a draft. Nor

did Lander provide a diagnosis or prognosis, or state specific

job duties that Conroy could not perform.

After receiving Lander's July 7, 1997 letter, the

Township attempted to ascertain the scope and extent of

plaintiffs condition, as well as the steps needed to

"accommodate" this condition. Because Lander had not

provided a diagnosis or specified the exact nature of the

"environmental and physical changes" that aggravated

plaintiff's back, the Township eventually decided to send

plaintiff for an independent medical examination ("IME").

See July 25, 1997 memorandum from Siso to plaintiff,

Exhibit "H" of Township's brief. .

lla

The Township contracted with Susan Blydenburgh,

M.D., M.P.H. (Blydenburgh), the Medical Director at the

Crozer Keystone Health System Centers for Occupational

Health, to conduct the IME on plaintiff. See October 10,

1997 letter from Siso to Blydenburgh, Exhibit "I" of

Township's brief. Siso explained to Blydenburgh that the

Township wanted "medical evidence . . . stating Conroy's

diagnosis, prognosis and what, if any, restrictions and/or

accommodations she may need due to her medical situation."

Of particular interest, Siso explained, was how indoor air

movements affected plaintiff as Opposed to normal air

movement outdoors.

Blydenburgh eventually conducted an IME on plaintiff

and reported the results back to the Township by letter dated

October 30, 1997. See October 30, 1997 letter from

Blydenburgh to Siso, Exhibit "J" of Township's brief. Based

on her review of plaintiffs medical history, as well as a

physical evaluation, Blydenburgh concluded that plaintiff's

back pain was aggravated by cold temperatures and air

movement and that plaintiff should "avoid coo] temperatures

and the issue of air movement -- which could come from a

window or an air conditioning vent."

At the Township's request, Blydenburgh issued a follow-

up letter clarifying several of the points she had made in her

October 30 letter. See November 4, 1997 letter from

Blydenburgh to Siso, Exhibit "K" of Township's brief. With

respect to the issue of avoidance of drafts, Blydenburgh

Clarified that his means "an actual, perceptible draft that

could be objectively documented by an industrial hygienist

or HVAC specialist." Blydenburgh further stated that "if the

window 35 feet away from... . Conroy's cubicle does not

give rise to any air currents at her desk or cause an adverse

change in temperature, then I am not supporting medically

that the window be closed simply because she says to close

a ———

12a

it." Blydenburgh further indicated that it may be necessary to

"objectively characterize indoor air conditions" in order to

determine whether these aggravating conditions exist at

Conroy's work station.

Following the Township's receipt of Blydenburgh's

November 4 letter, plaintiff complained to the Finance

Director, Mark Spector (Spector), that she has had to leave

work on several occasions recently due to air currents

emanating from Spector's and Bradley's offices. See January

23, 1998 memorandum from Conroy to Spector, Exhibit "L"

of Township's brief. Nevertheless, in her own brief, plaintiff

again states, "The Township has, over the course of 15 years,

accommodated this disability. However, since 1999, the

Township, despite knowing of plaintiff's disability, and

without explanation, has refused to continue to accommodate

her condition, all of which is in violation of the ADA and

PHRC." (See Plaintiff's brief in answer to Lower Merion

Township's Cross Motion for Summary Judgment, p. 2). It

appears then that up until sometime in 1999, plaintiff herself

acknowledges that Township has accommodated her

disability.

It bears noting, however, that in response to plaintiff's

memorandum dated January 23, 1998, Exhibit "L" of

Township's brief, the Township followed Blydenburgh's

~ suggestion and had ECS Risk Control, Inc. (ECS) perform a

ventilation survey of the finance department, including

plaintiff's work area.

ECS performed its ventilation survey on February 24,

1998, a cloudy and rainy day, with winds of approximately

35 miles an hour blowing into the side of the building where

Spector's and Bradley's offices were located. See March 23,

1998 letter from Tim Horn to Siso, Exhibit "M" of

Township's brief. ECS observed that under a variety of

l3a

scenarios, with Spector's and Bradley's windows and doors

opened and closed, the service window opened and Closed,

the main door into the department opened and closed, and

the ventilation system both off and_on, no moving air

currents occurred at plaintiffs work Station. While air

currents did move throughout the department under these

scenarios, they dissipated before they reached plaintiffs

cubicle. Under each scenario, ECS observed that smoke rose

undisturbed to the ceiling and that no measurable airflow

was detected by a velometer. Even though ECS did not

observe any MOving air currents at plaintiff's work station, it

recommended that the Township install weather stripping at

the bottom of the office doors and relief air vents between

the hallway and office area.

The Township reported ECS's findings to plaintiff on

April 28, 1998. See May 8, 1998 memorandum from Siso to

plaintiff, Exhibit "N" of Township's brief. The Township

further informed plaintiff that as a show of good faith, staff

in the finance department would "endeavor to keep the

windows closed" and, if the Director's or Assistant Director's

windows were opened, every attempt would be made to keep

their doors closed. The Township subsequently followed

ECS's recommendations and installed an air vent above the

entrance door to the department and rubber door sweeps on

all doors within the department. See June 4, 1999

memorandum from Mike Beck (Beck), Supervisor of

Facilities Maintenance, to Siso, Exhibit "O" of Township's

brief.

Despite the efforts of the Township, plaintiff feels that

since 1999, the Township has not accommodated her

problem. In an April 27, 1999 memorandum, Exhibit "P" of

Township's brief, she wrote, "Not feeling well. Rich's

window open."

a

l4a

As she points out in her brief at p. 2, on March 8, 2000,

plaintiff went out of work and by letter dated March 9, 2000,

Exhibit "Q" of Township's brief, Dr. Lander stated:

On this date, I have reexamined and treated my

patient, Patricia Conroy, for recurrent low back

pain. Her last visit to me was February 28, 2000 for a

similar condition. However, her pain today is much

more severe. Treatment today, as it was on her last

visit, was injections of corticosteroids mixed with a

local anesthetic. Today, three separate low back areas

were injected.

Mrs. Conroy related that the pain became much more

intense following the activation of the building air

conditioner with air streaming onto her body. This

occurred on March 6, 2000. In spite of the pain, Mrs.

Conroy returned to work on March 7, 2000.

However, when Mrs. Conroy's immediate

supervisor opened the office window and then left the

room, leaving the door open, the pain became much

more severe. She left work and has not worked on

March 8th and 9th. I refer you to a letter I wrote to

Lower Merion Township dated July 7, 1997.

It has been my pleasure to have been Mrs. Conroy's

physician for almost thirty-four years. During this

time, I have treated her for migraine headaches and

since her motor vehicle accident in 1985, I have been

one of her physicians treating her low back pain. It is

my professional opinion that stressful working

conditions and drafts in the work area are the cause

of the exacerbations of pain in her back, a disabling

neuropathy. At this time, for medical reasons, |

suggest Mrs. Conroy be placed on sick leave for an

extended time until her condition and the conditions

at work have improved.

lSa

The Township notified plaintiff by letter dated March 16,

2000, Exhibit "R" of Township's brief, that her "request for

Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) is approved for your

‘low-back pain." In pertinent part, the letter stated:

In addition, you have asked for "written instructions"

while you are out. As outlined in the enclosed FMLA

Policy and Sick Leave Program and Policy and in

accordance with Article 7.3b of the Collective

Bargaining Agreement between the Worker's

Association and Lower Merion Township, you will

not be required to call in each work day as long as

you continue on your approved = and

consecutive/extended sick leave of FMLA for "low-

back pain."

Plaintiff was a member of the Union and her employment

was governed by the Collective Bargaining Agreement

(CBA).

On or about May 3, 2000, Dr. Lander drafted a letter to

the Township indicating that plaintiff may return to work,

but "should avoid drafts and stressful working conditions,"

since these exacerbate her "low back pain and migraine

headaches." See May 3, 2000 letter from: Lander to the

Township, Exhibit "S" of Township's brief. Lander

subsequently provided the Township with a completed

"Medical Documentation for Non-Work Related Absence"

form, which stated that plaintiff could "return to unrestricted

duty" effective May 15, 2000. See May 18, 2000 Medical

Documentation for Non-Work Related Absence, Exhibit "T"

of Township's brief. Despite indicating that plaintiff could

"return to unrestricted duty," Dr. Lander further stated that

the Township should refer to a November 4, 1997 letter by

Susan Blydenburgh, M.D., concerning plaintiff's need to

avoid cold and drafts. In her November 4, 1997 letter, Dr.

ee _|

l6a

Blydenburgh suggested that plaintiff avoid cool indoor air

temperature and drafts. Thus, in his May 18 certification, Dr.

Lander stated both that Conroy could return to "unrestricted

duty" and that Conroy still needed to avoid cold and drafts.

Following the receipt of Lander's May 3 letter and what

is considered internally inconsistent May 18 certification, the

Township expressed confusion about the conditions under

which Conroy could return to work. As a result, the

Township requested Conroy to participate in an IME

pursuant to the terms of the CBA. See May 26, 2000 letter

from Jacqueline Z. Shulman to C. Scott Shields, Exhibit "U"

of Township's brief. Plaintiff refused to consent to get an

IME as requested by the Township. As the Township has

argued in a prior motion, plaintiff is required by the past

practices between the Township and the Union under the

CBA to submit to an IME.

Plaintiff has not been allowed to return to work from her

family and medical leave of absence. Plaintiff's employment

with the Township ended on September 9, 2000 when her

leave of absence surpassed 180 days. Under Article 7,

Section 7.5 of the CBA, an employee may remain on leave

from the Township for 180 days, after which time they lose

their status as a Township employee under Article 13,

Section 13.7. See, 1999-2002 Agreement between the

Township and the Union, Articles 7 and 13, Exhibit "X" of

Township's brief.

It is still not clear that the past practices of the Township

required employees to undergo IME's when the employee's

medical documentation was unclear, inconsistent or

confusing. Both the uncontradicted Affidavit of Roseann

Siso, Director of Human Resources for the Township,

Exhibit "A" of Township's Supplemental Memorandum of

Law (Docket No. 42), and the Declaration of Thomas G.

— ef

17a

Strang, Secretary of the Union. attached to its brief (Docket

No. 33), a portion of which is quoted from page 3 of his

Declaration as follows:

After receiving the attorneys' letter, I gave copies of

it to the members of the Executive Board. We met to

discuss Ms. Conroy's grievance and the attorneys’

evaluation of it. The members of the Board

recognized the Township's argument that there were

some potential inconsistencies in the doctor's notes

provided by Ms. Conroy. It troubled us that Ms.

Conroy was resisting the offer to be examined by a

doctor who would be chosen by her and the

Township. This aspect of the Township's Family

Medical Leave Policy which had been agreed to by

the union, actually predated the Policy, and had never

been a problem for other employees before. We

thought that the Township's actions with regard to

Ms. Conroy were not unreasonable and were

consistent with our past practice;

are evidence that there was indeed such a policy. But the

written Township FMLA policy seems to be somewhat

inconsistent with this. In any event, the material facts

necessary to establish the policy are not clear enough from

the present record to summarily find in favor of the

Township.

II. LAW

The plaintiffs § 1983 claim fails to the extent that

plaintiff purports to argue a denial of due process,

substantive as well as procedural. As to the former, there is

no fundamental property interest in public employment for

purposes of substantive due Process. As to the latter,

procedural due process is satisfied inasmuch as the CBA

ess.

18a

provided plaintiff with the process she was due.

Summary judgment will be granted as to Count V.

With regard to Counts I and III, alleging discrimination

on the basis of her alleged disability, the initial hurdle for

plaintiff is proving that her disability "chronic back pain"

comes under the ADA definition of disability. There is really

some doubt on this record that plaintiff has met the first

hurdle.

However, assuming she can pass the prima facie hurdle

under the McDonnell-Douglas burden shifting analysis

applicable to ADA claims, Shaner v. Synthes, 204 F.3d 494,

500 (3d Cir. 2000), the Township has articulated a

legitimate, non-discriminatory reason for not returning

plaintiff to work; namely, that she would not submit to an

IME. Because plaintiff refused to do so, the Township did

not allow plaintiff to return to work. Her subsequent

termination was mandated under the CBA when her leave of

absence exceeded 180 days. See Article 7, Section 7.5.

Plaintiff has not been able to point to direct or

circumstantial evidence from which a fact finder would

reasonably disbelieve the Township's articulated legitimate

reasons; or believe that an invidious discriminatory reason

was more likely than not the determinative cause of its

actions. Fuentes v. Perskie, 32 F.3d 759 (3d Cir. 1994),

Sheridan v. E.I.Dupont deNemours and Co., 100 F.3d 1061

(3d Cir. 1996). Indeed, by her own admission, the Township

accommodated her back pain for 15 years until sometime in

1999. Thereafter, there is simply nothing plaintiff can point

to that meets the Fuentes-Sheridan burden placed upon her.

As to Counts II and IV regarding retaliation, it is clear

that plaintiff can point to no causal connection between her

protected activity of filing a claim with the PHRA and the

ee

i

19a

Township's request that she have an IME before returning to

work.

As to Count VII, the Union did not breach its duty of fair

representation toward the plaintiff, based upon the

uncontradicted facts of this case and the uncontradicted

reason given by the Union with respect to plaintiff's case.

Accordingly, it is hereby ORDERED that:

2la

(1) Judgment is entered in favor of defendant, Township

of Lower Merion (Docket No. 34) and against plaintiff

Patricia S. Conroy, on all counts except Count VI.

(2) Judgment is entered in favor of Lower Merion

Township Workers Association (Docket No. 33) and against

plaintiff Patricia S. Conroy on Count VII.

(3) Further proceedings in this case are STAYED until

January 3, 2002. Thereafter, discovery may continue until

February 4, 2002, limited to essentially the latest Affidavit of

Roseann Siso, Exhibit "A" of Township's Supplemental

Memorandum of Law. ;

(4) Except as set forth above. plaintiffs motion to

exclude evidence produced after the close of discovery, etc.

(Docket No. 44) is DENIED.

A status conference is scheduled for Wednesday,

February 6, 2002 at 4:00 p.m. in the chambers of the

undersigned.

BY THE COURT:

RONALD L. BUCK WALTER, J.

20a

APPENDIX C

Memorandum and Order of the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania,

Dated, August 7, 2001

Patricia S. CONROY

V.

TOWNSHIP OF LOWER MERION;

LOWER MERION TOWNSHIP WORKERS

ASSOCIATION

Civil Action: 00 CV 03528

Auust 7, 2001

ORDER

JUDGE RONALD BUCKWALTER

Currently before the Court is a motion for partial

summary judgment on behalf of Patricia Conroy

("Plaintiff") and a cross-motion for summary judgment on

behalf of Township of Lower Merion ("Defendant"). The

Court will grant Defendant's cross-motion and will dismiss

Count IV of Plaintiff's complaint.

I. BACKGROUND

This suit began when Plaintiff, an employee of

Defendant, experienced aggravation of a chronic back

problem and sought a leave of absence under the FMLA.

Defendant granted Plaintiff leave. Approximately two

months later, Plaintiff notified Defendant of her desire to

aie ie

ea aa gr wre eeprom see

2la

retum to work. Plaintiff submitted a certification from her

treating physician who wrote, "It is my professional opinion

that Patricia may return to work. As noted previously, she

Should avoid drafts and stressful working conditions...." PI.

Ex. C-14. Finding this note unclear and confusing,

Defendant informed Plaintiff that she would need to be

evaluated by an independent medical examiner in order to

ascertain her fitness to return to work. Plaintiff refused to

comply and was not permitted to resume her employment.

Ultimately, Plaintiff was terminated and she filed this suit.

II. LEGAL STANDARD

A motion for summary judgment shall be granted where

all of the evidence demonstrates "that there is no genuine

issue as to any material fact and that the moving party is

entitled to a judgment as a matter of law." Fed. nm. Civ. P.

56(c). If the moving party establishes the absence of the

genuine issue of material fact, the burden shifts to the

nonmoving party to "do more than simply show that there is

some metaphysical doubt as to the material facts."

Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. v. Zenith Radio Corp., 475 U.S.

574, 586, 89 L. Ed. 2d 538. 106 S. Ct. 1348 (1986).

When considering a motion for summary judgment, a court

must view all inferences ir ~ light most favorable to the

nonmoving party. See Unite. States v. Diebold. 369 US.

654, 655, 8 L. Ed. 2d 176, 82 S. Ct. 993 (1962). Therefore, it

is plain that "Rule 56(c)" mandates the entry of summary

judgment, after adequate time for discovery and upon

motion, against a party who fails to make a showing

sufficient to establish the existence of an element essential to

that party's case, and on which that party will bear the burden

of proof at trial." Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317. Daa,

91 L. Ed. 2d 265, 106 S. Ct. 2548 (1986). In such a situation.

"the moving party is ‘entitled to a judgment as a matter of

law' because the non-moving party has failed to make a

—_$—<—<—$—<$<$$$—<—<—————————rr ee

a a a aa ate es cna re

22a

sufficient showing on an essential element of her case with

respect to which she has the burden of proof." Id. at 323

(quoting Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c)).

III. DISCUSSION

As the parties agree that there are no material facts in

dispute, the issue for summary judgment is whether

Defendant violated the Family Medical Leave Act

("FMLA") when it conditioned Plaintiff's return to work on

her obtaining an independent medical examination ("IME").

Plaintiff argues that the FMLA guaranteed her the right to

return to work as long as her physician provided certification

that she was fit to resume her employment. Defendant

counters, arguing that Plaintiff's medical certification was

unclear and confusing, and as the FMLA permits employers

to develop procedures for restoring employees after absence,

it did not act improperly when it invoked its own practices to

handle this situation. Defendant also explains that the

collective bargaining agreement ("CBA") between

Defendant and Plaintiff's union supersedes the FMLA's

procedures on the condition that the CBA procedures do not

compromise the substantive rights guaranteed by FMLA.

The statutory provisions and the accompanying

regulations that make up the FMLA are explicit in their

discussion of the certification and return procedures for an

employee who has taken leave. They permit an employer to

require certification from an employee's physician stating

that an employee is able to resume her work responsibilities.

See Family and Medical Leave Act, 29 U.S.C. § 2614(a)(4)

(2001); see also 29 C.F.R. § 825.310(a) (1993). Where

clarification of this certification is necessary, employers are

directed to consult the employee's physician rather than to

a

eR teres

23a

seek an additional examination. See 29 C.F.R. § 825.310(c).!

Despite the existence of these provisions, the FMLA allows

a CBA to establish its own procedures for an employee's

return to work and these procedures can supersede those of

the FMLA. See 29 U.S.C. § 2614(a)(4). The Supreme Court

has held that when interpreting a CBA, a court may consider

the parties’ past practices as implied terms of the CBA. See

Conrail v. R, lway Labor Executives' Ass'n, 491 U.S. 299,

311-12, 105 L. Ed. 2d 250, 109 S. Ct. 2477 (1989).

Accordingly, Defendant incorporated its own past practices

into the CBA and developed procedures as permitted under

the FMLA. Defendant consistently applied the same IME

procedure _utilized in this case in the twenty-six prior

situations where an employee's medical certification was

unclear or confusing. For these reasons, the Court will treat

Defendant's past practices an implied condition of the CBA.

Plaintiff argues that the existence of an integration clause in

the CBA precludes treatment of Defendant's past practices as

implied terms of the agreement. However, as an integration

Clause is not necessarily dispositive where interpreting union

contracts, the Court believes it is appropriate to consider

Defendant's past practices in this case. See County of

Allegheny y. Allegheny County Prison Employees Indep.

Union, 476 Pa. 27, 381 A2qd 849, 855 (Pa. 1977).

Finally, the Court must determine whether these past

' Plaintiff references a proposed regulation which the Department of

Labor declined to adopt that would enable employers to obtain additional

medical opinions in a fitness-for-duty certification. Plaintiff argues that

this decision means the Proposed procedure conflicted with the FM LA's

Statutory guarantees. The Court disagrees. The Department of Labor's

reasons for declining to formalize the practice do not contemplate

Plaintiff's argument and they do not even suggest disapproval of the

practice. See Wage and Hour Division, 60 Fed. Reg. 2180, 2226 (Jan. 6,

1995).

ee

NN

24a

practices compromise the protections afforded to Plaintiff

under the FMLA, because where a provision of the CBA is

more restrictive than that of the FMLA, the FMLA will

supersede the CBA. See McKiernan yv. Smith-Edwards-

Dunlap Co., 1995 Dist. LEXIS 6822, *12 (E.D. Pa. May 17,

1995) (citing 29 U.S.C. § 2652(b)). Therefore, the question

remains whether a practice that requires Plaintiff to submit to

an IME where her medical certification is unclear,

diminishes the protection of the FMLA.

The Court finds that this practice does not interfere with

the rights guaranteed by the FMLA. The FMLA simply

entitles an employee to resume her employment. See 29

U.S.C. § 2614. It does not, however, ensure a particular

administrative procedure for returning to work. Therefore, as

Defendant is merely implementing a policy for handling

situations where a certification is unclear, these practices do

not restrict or even affect Plaintiff's rights under the FMLA.

Even though requiring an IME creates an additional step for

Plaintiff, Defendant covers the cost of the IME and this

practice does not alter the standard for Plaintiff's eligibility

or make it more difficult for Plaintiff to be deemed qualified

to return. For these reasons, the Court finds that Defendant's

use of past practices in this situation does not constitute a

violation of the FMLA.

IV. CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the Court denies Plaintiff's

motion for partial summary judgment and grants Defendant's

cross-motion for partial summary judgment. Judgment is

ordered for Defendant with respect to Count IV of Plaintiff's

complaint.

An appropriate order follows.

as

2Sa

ORDER

AND NOW, this 7th day of August, 2001. upon

consideration of Plaintiff's Motion for Partial Summary

Judgment (Docket No. 13), Defendant Township of Lower

Merion's Response to Motion for Partial Summary Judgment

and Cross-Motion for Partial Summary Judgment (Docket

No. 14), Plaintiffs Answer to Lower Merion Township's

Cross Motion [sic] for Summary Judgment (Docket No. 16),

Defendant's Reply (Docket No. 20) and Plaintiff's Surreply

Brief to Lower Merion Township's Cross Motion for

Summary Judgment (Docket No. 24), it is hereby

ORDERED that Plaintiff's motion for partial summary

judgment is DENIED and Defendant's motion for partial

summary judgment is GRANTED. Accordingly, Count IV

of Plaintiffs complaint — is dismissed with prejudice.

BY THE COURT:

RONALD L. BUCKWALTER, J.

August 7, 2001

26a

a

APPENDIX D

Order of the United States Court of Appeals,

Third Circuit, Dated December 15, 2003

—

Patricia S. CONROY

V.

TOWNSHIP OF LOWER MERION;

LOWER MERION TOWNSHIP WORKERS

ASSOCIATION

No. 02-3217

Submitted: June 23, 2003

Decided: August 8, 2003

Rehearing Denied: | December 15, 2003

SUR PETITION FOR PANEL REHEARINC WITH

SUGGESTION FOR REHEARING EN BANC

Before SCIRICA, Chief Judge, SLOVITER,

NYGAARD, ALITO, ROTH, McKEE, RENDELL,

BARRY, AMBRO, FUENTES, SMITH, CHERTOFF and

BECKER, Circuit Judges.

The petition for rehearing filed by Appellant having been

submitted to the judges who participated in the decision of

this Court, and to all the other available circuit judges in

active service, and no judge who concurred in the decision

having asked for rehearing, and a majority of the circuit

judges of the circuit in regular active service not having

27a

voted for rehearing by the court en banc. the petition for

rehearing is DENIED.

BY THE COURT:

/s Edward R. Becker

Circuit Judge

Dated: December 15, 2003

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.