Opposition Brief — Herring v. Crosby

Supreme Court brief2004

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

FILED

APR 1 2 2004

DOCKET NO. 03-1284 OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

TED HERRING,

Petitioner,

V.

JAMES V. CROSBY, SECRETARY,

DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS, FLORIDA

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE SUPREME COURT OF FLORIDA

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

CHARLES J. CRIST, JR.

ATTORNEY GENERAL

KENNETH S. NUNNELLEY

ASSISTANT ATTORNEY GENERAL

Florida Bar No. 998818

OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL

444 Seabreeze Blvd., Fifth Floor

Daytona Beach, Florida 32118

Telephone: (386)238-4990

Facsimile: (386)226-0457

@i BEST AVAILABLE COPY

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

{Capital Case]

[Restated]

Whether this Court should exercise certiorari jurisdiction to

review the denial of a state motion for post-conviction relief based on

a matter of state law, where the claim was not timely raised in state

court, the ruling does not conflict with any other court opinion or

address any unsettled question of federal constitution law, and

exercising jurisdiction would require retroactive application of a new

rule of constitutional law?

LT

Brie paper ccnaerostarsecmene mann sit OT NST CORIL Caren ty ee cmp SS SE a et aaa

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page(s)

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW .................. 1

py et Ps Per ree ee Iv

CEEATIAN FO GPRS EAPO onc cissawncwcveneseenns ]

SEATEOEING CE FARM TEON 6 occ desi enexieneweeages l

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED ............ 2

SE ALORENE GIP EAU GAD oo os cscs cwaseseusaswenes aes 3

REASONS WHY THE WRIT SHOULD BE DENIED ........ 7

Ds 6 5 5. 0u.0 es ms eee de nee eee 7

THE RING V. ARIZONA CLAIM WAS NOT

PRESENTED TO THE STATE COURTS IN A

TIMELY FASHION, AND IS PROCEDURALLY

BARRED UNDER FLORIDA LAW.

Th ss00 50 wns sua lek eae eee ae 8

THE RING CLAIM WAS CORRECTLY DECIDED

BY THE STATE COURT BASED UPON THE

APPLICATION OF STATE LAW.

RING DOES NOT INVALIDATE THE FLORIDA

DEATH PENALTY STATUTE, DOES NOT

REQUIRE JURY SENTENCING, AND DOES NOT

SUPPLY A BASIS FOR REVERSAL OF

HERRING’S DEATH SENTENCE.

(Es REE eee ee ge 15

CERTIORARI REVIEW IS INAPPROPRIATE

BECAUSE HERRING SEEKS THE APPLICATION

OF A NEW RULE OF CONSTITUTIONAL LAW

IN A COLLATERAL PROCEEDING.

OE ee 18

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page(s)

FEDERAL CASES

Adams v. Robertson,

ee UTE 5cciks hak ceed an eunegenebeneeese eee 7

Agostini v. Felton,

es TEE EET Te Tee eer ee Pre rr 13

Apprendi v. New Jersey.

FF ee eee Pere or passim

Browning-Ferris Industries of Vermont, Inc. v. Kelco Disposal, Inc.,

ee be ce SRR CT Pere 7

Cardinale v. Louisiana,

ge gi Tee eT Te Tere Te rer re rrr re 7

~ City of Canton, Ohio v. Harris,

er PES oa orc de cece desee sd checker ede aeecees 7

DeStefano v. Woods,

EEE Tee eT eee eee Cre 17

Granfinanciera, S.A. v. Nordberg,

ee eee ee eee ne er rere yee 7

Harris v. Alabama,

Pee Se Ee os 6 xa tC eR aaa Ven ee eek aeeinne seared 1]

Harris v. United States,

oo ere eer rrr oer rere res Pree 16

Hildwin v. Florida,

ee Ee 5 5 ka debe oe aGan sede Rieke eee ees 10, 13

1V

Holly Farms Corp. v. N.L.R.B.,

ge SS | Teer eT Tree rr oe ee 7

Matsushita Elec. Industrial Co. v. Epstein,

FO Ge Pe Ce 6 5 ork ko ce been ess ices eee 7

McKoy v. North Carolina,

te A ED 6 05 00 50445440450 e eee 13

Mills v. Maryland,

Se er LOE oe oa ok kk ke snnyseoeeeeriasee eee 13

Mullaney v. Wilbur,

tae ek ree erry Nr or 8

Proffitt v. Florida,

ee ee COT ok eve bbanne weueceupaure eee 7, 10, ¥1, 13

Ring v. Arizona,

Fe ae + hb vss 6 kg 4 oe eeneeeaee passim

Rockford Life Insurance Co. v. Illinois Department of Revenue,

482 US. 182 (1987)... cece cece cece teceaennctaes 9

Rodriguez de Quijas v. Shearson/American Express, Inc.,

Se es OE ON 65 a ke one nee weed ae Ree eee 13

Spaziano v. Florida,

oc ch a Nah lc PER eT ee rere 10, 11, 13

Summerlin v. Stewart,

341 F.3d 1082 (9th Cir. 2003),

cert. granted, 124 S. Ct. 833 (Dec. 1, 2003) ............. 16, 17

Taylor v. Freeland & Kronz,

er rr err ere Te eee 7

Teague v. Lane,

we er rere re rye 15, 16

Vv

Turner v. Crosby,

ee ROTe CE MUNG AE. BOOED ia 6a oc nbsetcdecseceans 16, 17

United States v. Cotton,

ss 5 a a's 4k 0 eo eRe eee Ones 16

Walton v. Arizona,

Ry, eee rarer de rare ea 9

Yist v. Nunnemaker,

i NN ing ia mb, AA a ORM ee RARE 7

Ziegler v. Crosby,

ee BO LEE. BOOED 6 oc ov bekie ekewasseack¥eenn 16

STATE CASES

Alvord v. State,

| aa 13

Anderson v. State,

841 So. 2d 390 (Fla.), ;

Gort. Gomted, 1243.Ct. 406 2003S) .. wc ccc ccccessccewcece 14

Anderson v. State,

863 So. 2d 169 (Fla. 2003),

cert. denied, 2004 WL 547148 (U.S. Mar. 22, 2004) ......... 14

Bottoson v. Moore,

833 So. 2d 693 (Fla.),

cert. denied, 537 U.S. 1070 (2002) ................. 8, 9, 12-14

Brown v. Moore,

S00 So. 2d 223 (Fla. 2001) 2... ccc ccc cc ccc c ccc ccsccees 13

Bruno v. Moore,

838 So. 2d 485 (Fla. 2002),

cert. denied, 124 S.Ct. 100 (2003) ........................ 14

Card v. State,

BOS So. 26 G13 Cla. QOOT) 2. ccc cc ccc cc cee ccccee 13

Chavez v. State,

832 So. 2d 730 (Fla. 2002),

cert. denied, 123 S.Ct. 2617 (2003) ....................... 14

Cummings-El v. State/Crosby,

OOS BO. 26 246 Wie. 2003) 2... ccc ccc cccsvcccccccs 14

Davis v. State,

28 Fla. L. Weekly S835 (Fla. Nov. 20, 2003) ............... 14

Davis v. State,

GOP OO, BOGGS CPi. BOGS) noc cc cc cc cect cucncvcucens 14

Doorbal v. State,

837 So. 2d 940 (Fla.),

cert. denied, 123 S.Ct 2647 (2003) ........ ccc ccc ccc ncece 14

Ex parte Briseno,

2004 Tex.Crim.App. LEXIS 199 (Feb. 11, 2004) ............ 16

Fotopoulos v. State,

te Be: a 14

Guzman v. State,

28 Fla. L. Weekly S829 (Fla. Nov. 20, 2003) ............... 14

Henry v. State,

DOL BO. 2 STD Ge. F008) nnn ccc cc ccc cen ccccncecs 14

Herring v. Dugger,

SO Oe PEP PUD. ks ede dec aan ie yckssweectuass 6

Herring v. State,

440 So. 2d 1049 (Fla.),

Cant. Gated, BPS. FOP CAFO) a cc scssccwevesccncccvcees 6

Hertz v. State,

2 & 7 0, © PeerreeererrreerT Terry ey erry 13

Johnston v. State,

863 So. 2d 271 (Fla. 2003),

cert. denied, 2004 WL 180326 (U.S. Mar. 22, 2004) ......... 14

King v. Moore,

831 So. 2d 143 (Fla.),

cert. denied, 537 U.S. 1067 (2002) ................ 8,9, 13,14

Kormondy v. State,

845 So. 2d 41 (Fla.),

gave. Gombe, TIA GGA. SOE GIRS) oc ccc cvescccsscveccéess 14

Looney v. State,

ee es MED kv boo bose sos ee ces hankavceness 13

Lucas v. State/Moore,

Re a ee Ts ED. 5 vss oo heed es ean weeeees bens 14

Lugo v. State,

845 So. 2d 74 (Fla.),

cart. Gonlod, 194 SACL. SFO GAGS) occ cece cscccecesccenes 14

Marquard v. State,

fb we Foye ® iererrrr rrr eer re rr reer rr 14

Mills v. Moore,

786 So. 2d 532 (Fla.),

euet. Mate, SIS UD. TOTS GROOT) «ek vec ccescccwnsvenss 8-10

Vill

Owen v. State,

862 So. 2d 687 (Fla. 2003),

Petition for cert. filed,

Case. No. 03-9345, (U.S. Mar. 4, 2004) ................... 14

Parker v. State,

29 Fla. L. Weekly S27 (Fla. Jan 22, 2004) ................. 14

Ring v. State,

Pe PES BOD iio 5 6 Gan bistconeaeesecdunurns 10

Rivera v. State/Crosby,

SOF OM. SUP EEM BOO) os cis cei cerdescacecucavansess 14

Robinson v. State/Crosby,

865 So. 2d 1259 (Fla.),

cert. denied, 124'S.Ct. 1197 (20048)... cc ccc ccccvcccs 14

Shere v. Moore,

Sa ey ee ED kv cos ed baw bende eadaeeucen cs 8,10

Spencer v. State/Crosby,

Pe OR Be OP EDs sane oak 0 ddan be Rene vedusannus 14

Thompson v. State,

OOP BO, BO GRE . TI ogc enced sa ccunnsanvacenras 13

Way v. State,

FOO OO. BE Oe BD nb Senn ka Sbcnds cas cdvacexxaes 12

Witt v. State,

Bet GO, Be ee Oa BID hk ove kbd cede bw cles bknndencues 15

Zakrzewski v. State,

eee 14

OTHER AUTHORITIES

pe ee ES PPT rere TT Ce eer er ee ory.

Antiterrorism and Effective Death Penalty Act of 1996 ....... 16

SPR UO cs kan cakucevenbasakasien se tenes 2,12

ee eee eT ree ET ere rr hore rey e 2

DOCKET NO. 03-1284

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

TED HERRING,

Petitioner,

Vv.

JAMES V. CROSBY, SECRETARY,

DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS, FLORIDA

Respondent.

CITATION TO OPINION BELOW

The Florida Supreme Court’s decision in Herring’s state

habeas corpus proceeding is an order issued on December 10, 2003.

Pet. App. 10a. The Respondents’ Answer to the petition for writ of

habeas corpus, which raised a state procedural bar to consideration of

the claim contained in the petition for writ of certiorari, is attached as

Respondent's Appendix A.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

Herring asserts that this Court’s jurisdiction is based upon 28

U.S.C. § 1257(a). Respondents agree that this statutory provision sets

out the scope of this Court’s certiorari jurisdiction, but respectfully

submits that this case is inappropriate for the exercise of the Court’s

discretionary jurisdiction.

CONSTI IONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

In the body of his petition, Herring asserts that the Sixth and

Fourteenth Amendments to the Constitution of the United States are

at issue in this proceeding. Herring also asserts that §775.082 and §

921.141 of the Florida Statutes are at issue. Those provisions of the

Florida Statutes set out the capital sentencing scheme that has been

repeatedly upheld by this Court.

In addition to the foregoing constitutional and statutory

provisions which are involved in this case, Herring has also set out the

Fifth and Eighth Amendments to the Constitution of the United States

in the Appendix to his petition. If inclusion of those authorities is

intended to also invoke those Amendments, Respondents respectfully

suggest that those provisions have nothing to do with this case. The

only issue contained in Herring’s petition is based on Ring v.

Arizona, 536 U.S. 584 (2002), and Apprendi v. New Jersey, 530 U.S.

466 (2000) (which are based expressly on the Sixth Amendment) --

Respondents respectfully suggest that the Fifth and Eighth

Amendments have nothing to do with this proceeding.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On pages 1-5 of the petition, Herring sets out an

argumentative and largely irrelevant discussion of the history of this

case. The Respondents rely on the following statement of the facts of

this case, which is taken from the Florida Supreme Court’s 1984

decision in his case:

Shortly after 3:00 a.m. on May 29, 1981, a customer

entered a Daytona Beach convenience store and

found the store clerk dead. The clerk's body was lying

on the floor behind the cash register counter. The

customer and a newspaper distribution man who had

arrived at the store called the police. In investigating

the crime scene, the police found a note on the

counter which read:

This is a hole-up put all the money

in a papper bag change to then lay

flat on the floor are get shot [sic].

A medical examiner testified that the store clerk

suffered three gunshot wounds: (1) a wound to the

left side of the head just forward of the left ear; (2) a

wound to the left side of the neck; and (3) a wound to

the palm of the left hand with an exit wound on the

back side of the hand. The examiner also testified that

the wound which caused the clerk's death was the

wound to the head and that the clerk survived for no

longer than a minute. It was determined that $23.34

was missing from the cash register.

Approximately two weeks after the robbery-murder,

Herring was arrested after he was observed entering

and exiting a vehicle which had been stolen in

another convenience store robbery. He was taken to

the Daytona Beach Police Department, where he was

advised of his Miranda rights. Herring signed a

written waiver of his Miranda rights and was

interrogated by detectives. During the course-of the

interrogation, he was asked about several armed

robberies, including the May 29 convenience store

robbery-murder. A judgment of guilty in one of these

other armed robberies was entered against appellant

on January 8, 1982. Appellant, in his first statement,

which was taped, told the detectives that he planned

to rob the convenience store and prepared a holdup

note which directed the clerk to turn over money or

be shot. He claimed that when he proceeded to the

_counter, a second man came to the counter, pulled a

gun, demanded money from the clerk, and then, after

he was given the money, told the clerk to lie on the

floor. As this occurred, Herring stated, he backed

down the aisle of the store seeking cover and, while

he was doing so, the other man shot the clerk twice

and left the store. He stated he then ran from the

store.

One of the investigating officers testified that after

making this statement Herring asked to speak to the

officer privately; that during this private

conversation, Herring admitted that he killed the

clerk and that his previous story was untrue. The

officer also testified that during this conversation

Herring said that he shot the clerk a second time to

prevent him from being a witness against him. At

trial, Herring denied that this conversation.occurred.

Later in the interrogation, Herring made a third

statement, which was taped. In this statement Herring

confessed that he went to the convenience store with

a gun, asked the clerk for cigarettes, and presented

the holdup note. According to Herring, the clerk

made a movement as if he were going to grab for the

gun. Herring admitted that he then shot the clerk once

in the head and once again after the clerk fell to the

floor.

Herring testified that this third statement was given

only because the police were harassing him. He

admitted writing the holdup note, however, and one

of the fingerpnnts on the note was identified as the appellant's.

At the conclusion of the guilt phase of the trial, the

jury found appellant guilty of armed robbery and

first-degree murder.

In the penalty phase of the trial, the state put into

evidence a certified copy of the judgment and

sentence for the prior unrelated robbery with a

firearm, which judgment was entered on January 8,

1982. The state also presented the testimony of a

probation and parole officer who had spoken to

Herring in June, 1981, concerning the murder. She

testified that Herring denied committing the murder

but that he also commented that the man "got what he

deserved for trying to play hero" and that the victim's

death meant "one less cracker."

Appellant's mother testified on his behalf and stated

that she and the appellant's father were divorced

when the appellant was four years of age; that the

appellant was treated for psychological problems and

was diagnosed as hyperactive with learning

disabilities; and that the appellant, who dropped out

of school after completing the fifth grade, has an IQ

of eighty. The appellant also attempted to present the

testimony of three attorneys who had represented

persons charged with first-degree murder who

received life sentences after pleading guilty. This

testimony was rejected by the trial court. The trial

court also rejected the proffer of two poems authored

by the appellant which were contained in a clinical

report written about him. No testimony was proffered

concerning the report, nor was the person who

prepared the report called to testify.

By an eight-to-four vote the jury recommended the

imposition of the death penalty. The trial judge

imposed the death penalty, finding four aggravating

and two mitigating circumstances. The aggravating

circumstances found by the trial judge were: (1) that

appellant had previously been convicted of a robbery

with a firearm, a felony involving the use or threat of

violence to a person; (2) that the murder was

committed while appellant was engaged in the

commission of a robbery; (3) that the murder was

committed for the purpose of avoiding or preventing

a lawful arrest; and (4) that the murder was

committed in a cold, calculated, and premeditated

manner without any pretense of moral or legal

justification. In mitigation, the trial judge found (1)

that the appellant had a difficult childhood and had

learning disabilities, and (2) that he was nineteen

years old at the time of the crime.

Herring v. State, 440 So. 2d 1049, 1051-53 (Fla.), cert. denied, 469

U.S. 989 (1984).'

Herring has filed various other collateral attack proceedings

challenging his conviction and sentence, but the only one relevant to

this proceeding is the state petition for writ of habeas corpus he filed

in the Florida Supreme Court on or about June 23, 2003. The Florida

Supreme Court denied relief on that petition on December 10, 2003.

Pet. App. 10a.? Herring filed his petition for a writ of certiorari on

March 8, 2004.

‘The Florida Supreme Court subsequently receded from the application of

the cold, calculated and premeditated aggravator to the facts of this case. Herring v.

Dugger, 528 So. 2d 1176 (Fla. 1988). That matter is not before this Court.

?At this time, Herring has a post-conviction motion pending in the Circuit

Court of Volusia County, Florida, as well as an appeal from the denial of his Federal

habeas corpus petition pending in the United States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh

Circuit. Those proceedings do not implicate the issue contained in this petition.

6 |

|

ASONS WHY THE WRIT SHOULD BE DENIED

I. THE RING V. ARIZONA CLAIM WAS NOT

PRESENTED TO THE STATE COURTS IN A

TIMELY FASHION, AND iS PROCEDURALLY

BARRED UNDER FLORIDA LAW.

This claim is inappropriate for the exercise of this Court’s

discretionary jurisdiction because, the Ring/Apprendi claim could

have been, but was not, timely raised in the state courts. (App. A).

This claim has been available since this Court’s decision in Proffitt v.

Florida, 428 U.S. 242, 252 (1976), when this Court held that the

Constitution does not require jury sentencing. The basis of the

Ring/Apprendi claim has been available to Herring since the time he

was sentenced to death, but was not raised as a basis for relief until his

2003 state habeas corpus petition. Because that is so, this claim is

procedurally barred under settled Florida law, and, consequently, has

never been properly presented to the State courts for decision.

Because this claim was not timely raised below, it is

inappropriate for the exercise of this Court's certiorari jurisdiction.

Adams v. Robertson, 520 U.S. 83 (1997); Matsushita Elec. Industrial

Co. v. Epstein, 516 U.S. 367 (1996) ("generally [we] do not address

arguments that were not the basis for the decision below."); Holly

Farms Corp. v. N.L.R.B., 517 U.S. 392 (1996); Taylor v. Freeland &

Kronz, 503 U.S. 638 (1992) ("[o]rdinarily, this Court does not decide

questions not raised or resolved in the lower court[s].");

Granfinanciera, S.A. v. Nordberg, 492 U.S. 33 (1989); Browning-

Ferris Industries of Vermont, Inc. v. Kelco Disposal, Inc., 492 U.S.

257 (1989); City of Canton, Ohio v. Harris, 489 U.S. 378 (1989);

Youakim v. Miller, 425 U.S. 231, 234 (1976); Cardinale v. Louisiana,

394 U.S. 437 (1969). To the extent that Herring may argue that the

Florida Supreme Court’s order denying relief does not explicitly rest

on State procedural bar grounds, the Respondents suggest that the

procedural bar defense was clearly asserted in the answer to the

habeas corpus petition, and that this Court should not presume that, by

silence, the State Court ignored its own procedural rules. Yist v.

Nunnemaker, 501 U.S..797 (1991). This Court should decline to

exercise its certiorari jurisdiction to entertain this claim.

Il. THE RING CLAIM WAS CORRECTLY

DECIDED BY THE STATE COURT BASED

UPON THE APPLICATION OF STATE LAW.

The law is well-settled that the State courts are the final

arbiters of state law. Mullaney v. Wilbur, 421 U.S. 684, 691 (1975)

(this Court “repeatedly has held that state courts are the ultimate

expositors of state law ... and that we are bound by their constructions

except in extreme circumstances.”). While Herring claims that Florida

law is to the contrary (Petition, at 8), the Florida Supreme Court has

explicitly held that the maximum sentence exposure following

conviction of a capital felony is death:

The plain language of section 775.082(1) is clear that

the maximum penalty available for a person

convicted of a capital felony is death. When section

775.082(1) is read in para materia with section

921.141, Florida Statutes, there can be no doubt that

a person convicted of a capital felony faces a

maximum possible penalty of death.

Mills v. Moore, 786 So. 2d 532, 538 (Fla.), cert. denied, 523 US.

1015 (2001). The Florida Supreme Court has consistently interpreted

Florida’s capital sentencing statute in that way, both before and after

Ring was decided. See, Shere v. Moore, 830 So. 2d 56 (Fla. 2002)

(holding that a Florida defendant is eligible for a death sentence on

conviction of a capital felony); Bottoson v. Moore, 833 So. 2d 693

(Fla.), cert. denied, 537 U.S. 1070 (2002); King v. Moore, 831 So. 2d

143 (Fla.), cert. denied, 537 U.S. 1067 (2002). Because that is the law

in Florida, Herring’s reliance on decisions from other state courts is

misplaced -- it does not matter what interpretation another state

supreme court has placed on its particular statute because only the

Florida Supreme Court can make a binding interpretation of Florida

law. There is no conflict between Courts, nor can there be.’ The

3In his effort to create a “conflict” among courts, Herring points to decisions

from Missouri, Colorado, and Nevada. Significantly, he makes no mention of any

decisions from Alabama, Indiana, and Delaware, the other three “hybrid” states which

this Court grouped with Florida in Ring. Ring, 536 U.S. at 608, n.6.

g es

Florida Supreme Court correctly decided the Apprendi/Ring issue, and

this Court should decline to exercise its certiorari jurisdiction. See,

Rockford Life Insurance Co. v. Illinois Department of Revenue, 482

U.S. 182, 184, n.3 (1987) (cases that have not aivided the courts or

presented important, unsettled questions of federal law usually do not

merit certiorari review).

Il. RING DOES NOT INVALIDATE THE

FLORIDA DEATH PENALTY STATUTE, DOES

NOT REQUIRE JURY SENTENCING, AND

DOES NOT SUPPLY A BASIS FOR REVERSAL

OF HERRING’S DEATH SENTENCE.

Ring v. Arizona did not invalidate the Florida death penalty

statute, and does not provide a basis for reversal of Herring’s death

sentence. In Apprendi, this Court announced the rule that "any fact

that increases the penalty for a crime beyond the proscribed statutory

maximum must be submitted to a jury, and proved beyond a

reasonable doubt." Apprendi, 530 U.S. at 490. In Ring, this Court

extended Apprendi to Arizona's capital sentencing scheme and found

that Arizona's scheme violated the Sixth Amendment because it

allowed a trial judge, sitting without a jury, to find an aggravating

circumstance necessary for the imposition of the death penalty. Ring,

536 U.S. at 609. However, in Mills v. Moore, supra, which was

decided prior to Ring, the Florida Supreme Court did not apply

Apprendi to Florida's capital sentencing scheme, because, even if

Apprendi did apply to capital sentencing, the maximum penalty for

first degree murder in Florida (unlike Arizona) is death. Mills,

786 So. 2d at 536-38.

Shortly after this Court overturned Walton v. Arizona, 497

U.S. 639 (1990) in Ring v. Arizona, 536 U.S. 584 (2002), the Florida

Supreme Court stayed active death warrants in two capital cases,

purportedly to assess the impact of Ring to its prior Mills decision. On

October 24, 2002, the Florida Supreme Court issued opinions in these

two cases and upheld Florida's statutory capital scheme against an

attack based on Ring. See Bottoson v. Moore, 833 So. 2d 693 (Fla.

2002); King v. Moore, 831 So. 2d 143 (Fla. 2002). The Florida

Supreme Court's conclusion that death is the maximum sentence for

first degree murder in Florida is not called into question by this

Court's Ring or Apprendi decisions, neither of which overruled prior

decisions by this Court rejecting constitutional challenges to Florida's

capital sentencing procedures. See, e.g., Hildwin v. Florida, 490 U.S.

638, 640-41 (1989); Spaziano v. Florida, 468 U.S. 447 (1984); Proffitt

v. Florida, 428 U.S. 242, 253 (1976).

Herring also argues that Apprendi and Ring apply to Florida's

capital sentencing procedures because, under Florida law, a death

sentence may not be imposed unless a trial judge acting independently

of the jury makes findings of fact in support of an aggravating factor.

Mills is the law in Florida, and clearly distinguishes between the death

eligibility determination (which is made at the guilt stage proceeding)

and the death selection stage, which takes place at the penalty stage

of a Florida capital trial. In Mills and Shere, the Florida Supreme

Court made it clear that, under Florida law, the defendant is death

eligible on conviction for first degree murder -- it is during the penalty

phase that the sentence determination is made.‘

Although Petitioner claims that Ring applies to Florida, Ring

is merely the application of the holding in Apprendi to Arizona's

capital scheme. Clearly, the application of Apprendi was limited to

factual findings, other than a prior conviction, which increase the

statutory maximum for a charged offense. Because the Arizona

Supreme Court interpreted its state law as prescribing only a life

sentence upon conviction for first degree murder, Ring, 536 U.S. at

595-96; Ring v. State, 25 P.3d 1139, 1150 (Ariz. 2001), Ring fits

squarely within the Apprendi holding, - - Ring does not, however,

extend or expand the Sixth Amendment night at issue in Apprendi.

Although Ring applied Apprendi to Arizona's capital

sentencing law and recognized that Walton had misinterpreted Arizona

law, it did not cast doubt on the Florida Supreme Court's conclusion

(in Mills and later cases) that Apprendi and Ring were not implicated

‘Stated in slightly different terms, at the penalty (sentence) stage, the choice

is made between death or life imprisonment -- both are sentences for which the

defendant is eligible by virtue of his conviction.

10

under Florida's death penalty statute.* The plain language of Apprendi

and Ring establishes that those cases come into play when a defendant

is exposed to a penalty exceeding the maximum allowable under the

jury's verdict. The Florida Supreme Court has clearly held that under

Florida law death ok the statutory maximum for first degree murder.

Because that is so, Herring was death-eligible based upon his

conviction for first degree murder -- Ring is inapplicable to Florida’s

death sentencing scheme, and does not make Herring’s death sentence

or Florida's sentencing scheme unconstitutional.

Contrary to Herring’s position, Ring proves only that the

Florida Supreme Court was correct, because Apprendi (and more

importantly, Ring) does not require jury sentencing. As Justice Scalia

stated in concurrence (joined by Justice Thomas), this Court's decision

in Ring “has nothing to do with jury sentencing." Ring, 536 U.S. at

612 (Scalia, J., concurring) [emphasis added]. Apprendi and Ring

involve the jury's role in determining death eligibility, and, once that

determination is made (as it is at the guilt stage by a Florida jury),

there is no further constitutional issue because Apprendi and Ring do

not require that a jury perform the actual selection of sentence.

Relying directly on Proffitt, 428 U.S. at 252, Ring acknowledged that

"[i]t has never [been] suggested that jury sentencing is constitutionally

required." See also Harris v. Alabama, 513 U.S. 504, 515 (1995)

(holding that the Constitution permits the trial judge, acting alone, to

impose a capital sentence and is thus not offended when a State

further requires the sentencing judge to consider a jury's

recommendation and trusts the judge to give it the proper weight).

Ring involves only the requirement that the jury find the defendant

death-eligible, and the Florida statute complies with that constitutional

mandate. Ring, 536 U.S. at 597 n.4. The actual sentencing decision

may constitutionally be made by the trial court. See Spaziano, 468

U.S. at 459 (finding Sixth Amendment has no guarantee of right to

jury trial on issue of sentence).

*The error in Walton, which was corrected in Ring, was in interpreting the

Arizona death sentencing statute as making the death eligibility determination at the

guilt stage of a capital trial. The Arizona Supreme Court interpreted the statute to the

contrary. Walton made no error in the interpretation of Florida law, which has always

determined death eligibility at the guilt stage.

11

Aggravating factors in Florida are not elements of the offense,

_ but are capital sentencing guidelines which channel the sentencer’s

discretion for Eighth Amendment purposes (which have nothing to do

with the Sixth Amendment issues driving Ring and Apprendi). See

Bottoson v. Moore, 833 So. 2d 693, 729 (Fla. 2002) ("Given the

operation of Florida's statutory scheme, aggravating factors should not

be considered elements, nor . . . are they the functional equivalent of

elements of a greater offense such that Ring would require that they be

found unanimously by a jury.") (Lewis, J., concurring). Florida's

capital sentencing scheme (§921.141, Florida Statutes) sets out

guidelines for the sentencer to follow in evaluating the various

sentencing selection factors related to the offense and the offender by

providing accepted statutory aggravating factors and mitigating

circumstances to be considered. Because a defendant is eligible for

the statutory maximum sentence of death upon conviction of first

degree murder, further proceedings to evaluate and assess the

sentencing selection factors clearly do not violate due process. The

sentencer may constitutionally be given discretion in determining the

appropriate sentence (which, in the case of a capital conviction, is

either life or death) so long as the jury has decided that the defendant

is eligible for the death penalty. That is what Florida law provides,

and, therefore, Ring and Apprendi have no impact on the :

constitutionality of Florida’s sentencing statute.

Apprendi and Ring hold that any fact that increases the penalty |

beyond the statutory maximum must be determined by the jury - ]

however, since the Florida Supreme Court has clearly held that death

is the maximum punishment for first degree murder, the penalty (or

sentence exposure) is not increased by the subsequent finding of

aggravators. The aggravators are constitutionally mandated guidelines

(or sentence selection criteria) which exist to satisfy the Eighth

Amendment and protect against capricious and arbitrary sentences --

they are not elements of the crime, and they have nothing to do with

the Apprendi/Ring analysis.

To the extent that it is relevant, the Florida Supreme Court has

held that the jury's advisory sentence need not be unanimous. See Way

v. State, 760 So. 2d 903, 924 (Fla. 2000) (Pariente, J., concurring)

(noting jury's death recommendation need not be unanimous);

12

Thompson v. State, 648 So. 2d 692, 698 (Fla. 1984) (holding simple

majority vote of death is constitutional); Alvord v. State, 322 So. 2d

533 (Fla. 1975) (same). The issuance of Apprendi and Ring has not

changed anything. Card v. State, 803 So. 2d 613, 628 n.13 (Fla. 2001)

(rejecting claim that Apprendi requires unanimous jury

recommendation; "capital jury may recommend a death sentence by

a bare majority vote"); Hertz v. State, 803 So. 2d 629, 648 (Fla. 2001)

(same); Looney v. State, 803 So. 2d 656, 675 (Fla. 2001) (same);

Brown v. Moore, 800 So. 2d 223 (Fla. 2001) (rejecting argument that

aggravators must be found by unanimous jury).°

Finally, Ring did not overrule the numerous cases where this

Court upheld Florida's capital sentencing against constitutional

challenges. See Hildwin, 490 U.S. at 640-41 (stating that case

"presents us once again with the question whether the Sixth

Amendment requires a jury to specify the aggravating factors that

permit the imposition of capital punishment in Florida and concluding

that the Sixth Amendment does not require that the specific findings

authorizing the imposition of the sentence of death be made by the

jury"); Proffitt, 428 U.S. at 252 (holding Constitution does not require

jury sentencing); Spaziano , 468 U.S. at 459 (same). This Court has

clearly stated, "[w]e reaffirm that '[i]f a precedent of this Court has

direct application in a case, yet appears to rest on reasons rejected in

some other line of decisions, the Court of Appeals should follow the

case which directly controls, leaving to this Court the prerogative of

overruling its own decisions." Agostini v. Felton, 521 U.S. 203, 237

(1997) (quoting Rodriguez de Quijas v. Shearson/American Express,

Inc., 490 U.S. 477, 484 (1989)). Neither Apprendi nor Ring has

implicitly overruled the above cases which have repeatedly upheld

Florida’s death penalty act.

The Florida Supreme Court's opinions in Bottoson and King

recognize and respect the position that this Court has the prerogative

of overruling its own decisions. Although each of the Florida

*Of course, unanimity requirements with respect to mitigating factors has

been rejected by this Court. McKoy v. North Carolina, 494 U.S. 433 (1990)

(determining that requirement of unanimous findings of mitigators is

unconstitutional); Mills v. Maryland, 486 U.S. 367 (1988) (same).

13

Supreme Court's justices wrote separate concurring opinions in

Bottoson and King, the court unanimously determined that Ring did

not entitle the defendants to relief. The Florida Supreme Court has

continuously followed this precedent and denied relief based on Ring.

See Robinson v. State & Crosby, 865 So. 2d 1259 (Fla. 2004), cert.

denied, 124 S.Ct. 1197 (2004); Parker v. State, 29 Fla. L. Weekly S27

(Fla. Jan 22, 2004); Davis v. State, 28 Fla. L. Weekly S835 (Fla. Nov.

20, 2003); Guzman v. State, 28 Fla. L. Weekly S829 (Fla. Nov. 20,

2003); Zakrzewski v. State, 866 So. 2d 688 (Fla. 2003); Johnston v.

State, 863 So. 2d 271 (Fla. 2003), cert. denied, 2004 WL 180326 (U.S.

Mar. 22, 2004); Cummings-El v. State/Crosby, 863 So. 2d 246 (Fla.

2003); Anderson v. State, 863 So. 2d 169 (Fla. 2003), cert. denied,

2004 WL 547148 (U.S. Mar. 22, 2004); Owen v. State, 862 So. 2d 687

(Fla. 2003), Petition for cert. filed, Case. No. 03-9345, (U.S. Mar. 4,

2004); Henry v. State, 862 So. 2d 679 (Fla. 2003); Rivera v.

State/Crosby, 859 So. 2d 495 (Fla. 2003); Davis v. State, 859 So. 2d

465 (Fla. 2003); Marquard v. State, 850 So. 2d 417, 431 n.12 (Fla.

2002); Lugo v. State, 845 So. 2d 74, 119 (Fla.), cert. denied, 124 S.Ct.

320 (2003); Kormondy v. State, 845 So. 2d 41 (Fla.), cert. denied, 124

S.Ct. 392 (2003); Spencer v. State/Crosby, 842 So. 2d 52 (Fla. 2003);

Anderson v. State, 841 So. 2d 390 (Fla.), cert. denied, 124 S.Ct. 408

(2003); Lucas v. State/Moore, 841 So. 2d 380 (Fla. 2003); Fotopoulos

v. State, 838 So. 2d 1122 (Fla. 2002); Bruno v. Moore, 838 So. 2d 485

(Fla. 2002), cert. denied, 124 S.Ct. 100 (2003); Doorbal v. State, 837

So. 2d 940 (Fla.), cert. denied, 123 S.Ct 2647 (2003); Bottoson v.

Moore, 833 So. 2d 693 (Fla.), cert. denied, 123 S.Ct. 662 (2002);

Chavez v. State, 832 So. 2d 730 (Fla. 2002), cert. denied, 123 S.Ct.

2617 (2003); King v. Moore, 831 So. 2d 143 (Fla.), cert. denied, 123

S.Ct. 657 (2002).

Herring became eligible for the death penalty upon his

conviction for first degree murder, and the jury determined that the

appropriate sentence was death upon consideration of sentencing

selection factors. Petitioner cannot demonstrate that Florida law is

constitutionally inadequate under existing precedent. Finally, even if

this Court were to recede from all its previous Sixth and Eighth

Amendment decisions upholding Florida's capital sentencing

procedures, Herring is not entitled to relief under Ring as he has

previously been convicted of another violent felony (robbery with a

14

firearm) in addition to being convicted of the robbery during which the

murder occurred (thereby establishing the murder during the course of

an enumerated felony aggravator) -- those aggravators clearly fall

outside the scope of Apprendi/Ring. This Court should deny the

petition for writ of certiorari.

IV. CERTIORARI REVIEW IS

INAPPROPRIATE BECAUSE HERRING

SEEKS THE APPLICATION OF A NEW RULE

OF CONSTITUTIONAL LAW IN A

COLLATERAL PROCEEDING.

Finally, this Court should decline to exercise its discretionary

jurisdiction because Herring is seeking retroactive application of a

new rule of constitutional law to his conviction and sentence, which

have been final since 1984. In Teague v. Lane, 489 U.S. 288, 298

(1989), this Court noted that retroactivity is “properly treated as a

threshold question, for, once a new rule is applied to the defendant in

the case announcing the rule, evenhanded justice requires that it be

applied retroactively to all who are similarly situated.” Herring fails

to address the threshold question of the retroactive application of Ring

to his conviction and sentence. Instead, Herring asserts that this

“Court need not address retroactivity in considering the petition”

because the state habeas corpus petition “was governed by the test for

determining retroactivity under Florida law.” Petition, at 17. That

argument confuses the nature of this proceeding and the standard by

which this Court decides the retroactivity question.’

Neither this Court nor the Florida Supreme Court has directly

’Herring’s plea to be allowed to litigate the retroactivity issue in state court

under the Witt v. State, 387 So. 2d 922 (Fla. 1980), standard ignores and devalues this

Court’s role. This Court decides retroactivity questions based on Teague, and, given

that the State court proceeding is final for all purposes, Herring cannot “reopen” the

retroactivity issue in state court.

15

addressed retroactivity of either Ring* or Apprendi®; however, the

Texas Court of Criminal Appeals recently held Ring is not retroactive.

Ex parte Briseno, 2004 Tex.Crim.App. LEXIS 199 (Feb. 11, 2004).

The two federal circuit courts of appeal that have directly addressed

whether Ring may be retroactively applied, in terms relevant here,

have split on this issue.’® In Turner v. Crosby, 339 F.3d 1247 (11th

Cir. 2003), the Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals, in reviewing a

Florida conviction and death sentence, ruled that Turner could not

collaterally attack his convictions and sentences on the basis of a Ring

error because Ring did not apply retroactively. Shortly after the

Turner decision issued, a different panel of the Eleventh Circuit ruled

in Ziegler v. Crosby, 345 F.3d 1300 (11th Cir. 2003), that Zeigler’s

challenge to his Florida death sentence fails because neither Apprendi

nor Ring applies retroactively on collateral review to convictions that

became final before these cases were decided.

In Summerlin v. Stewart, 341 F.3d 1082 (9th Cir. 2003), cert.

granted, 124 S. Ct. 833 (Dec. 1, 2003), the Ninth Circuit, in reviewing

Arizona’s capital sentencing structure, came to the opposite

conclusion. Significantly, the Ninth Circuit’s decision turned on its

‘Justice O’Connor in her dissent in Ring implied that Ring was not

retroactive as she noted that capital defendants will be barred from taking advantage

of the court’s holding on federal collateral review. Ring, 536 U.S. 584, 621 (2002)

(O’Connor, J., dissenting).

*This Court has held, however, that an Apprendi error is not plain error

because failing to include ine quantity of drugs in an indictment, while an Apprendi

violation, did not affect the fairness, integrity or public reputation of judicial

proceedings. United States v. Cotton, 535 U.S. 625 (2002). If a found error is not of

such magnitude as to constitute plain error, it follows that it is not of such fundamental

significance as to warrant retroactivity. In Harris v. United States, 536 U.S. 545

(2002), Justice Thomas observed in his dissenting opinion that “[nJo Court of

Appeals, let alone this Court, has held that Apprendi has retroactive effect." Harris,

536 U.S. at 581. All eleven federal circuit courts of appeal have ruled that Apprendi

is not to be retroactively applied.

"While other federal circuit courts of appeal have addressed Ring's

retroactivity in terms of the Antiterrorism and Effective Death Penalty Act of 1996

(“AEDPA”), as applied to successive habeas corpus petitions, only two have directly

addressed Ring's retroactivity in terms relevant here and in light of this Court’s

general retroactivity analysis as set forth in Teague v. Lane, 489 U.S. 288 (1989).

16

conclusion that the retroactive application of Ring was necessary to

ensure the fairness of Arizona’s capital sentencing scheme. In fact,

the Court went so far as to conclude that application of Ring was

necessary to “significantly improve the accuracy of capital trials in

Arizona.” Summerlin, 341 F.3d at 1115.

This is not the case, however, in Florida. In Turner, the

Eleventh Circuit observed that Florida’s pre-Ring capital sentencing

procedure “does not diminish the likelihood of a fair sentencing

hearing.” The Court went on to note that “Ring is based on the Sixth

Amendment right to a jury trial, not on a perceived, much less

documented need to enhance accuracy or fairness of the fact-finding

in a Capital sentencing context.” Turner, 339 F.3d at 1286.'' This

Court has also refused to apply a Sixth Amendment right to jury trial

retroactively when it could not be said that the fact-finding process is

more fair or reliable when done by a jury rather than by a judge.

DeStefano v. Woods, 392 U.S. 631 (1968).

Herring became eligible for the death penalty upon his

conviction for first degree murder -- the jury determined that the

appropriate sentence was death upon consideration of sentencing

selection factors. The jury further determined unanimously that he

was guilty of armed robbery, a factor which was determined to be an

aggravating factor. Herring cannot demonstrate that Florida law is

constitutionally inadequate under existing precedent. Even if this

Court were to recede from all its previous Sixth and Eighth

Amendment decisions upholding Florida’s capital sentencing

procedures, any error would be harmless in this case. Because

certiorari review will not have any impact on the outcome of this case,

this Court should deny Herring’s petition.

Herring has failed to demonstrate that there are special or

important reasons compelling certiorari review of his case -- the

petition should be denied.

"This ruling is consistent with this Court’s observation in Ring that the right

to a jury trial did not “turn on the relative rationality, fairness, or efficiency of

potential factfinders.” Ring, 536 U.S. at 607.

17

CONCLUSION

Based upon the foregoing arguments and authorities, the

petition for writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

CHARLES J. CRIST, JR.

ATTORNEY GENERAL

KENNETH S. NUNNELLEY

Assistant Attorney General

Florida Bar No. 998818

OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL

444 Seabreeze Blvd., Fifth Floor

Daytona Beach, Florida 32118

Telephone: (386)238-4990

Facsimile: (386)226-0457

18

DOCKET NO. 03-1284

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

TED HERRING,

Petitioner,

Vv.

JAMES V. CROSBY, SECRETARY,

DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS, FLORIDA

Respondent.

APPENDIX TO BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

CHARLES J. CRIST, JR.

ATTORNEY GENERAL

KENNETH S. * UNNELLEY

ASSISTANT ATTURNEY GENERAL

Fla. Bar No. 998818

OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL

444 Seabreeze Blvd., Fifth Floor

Daytona Beach, Florida 32118

Telephone: (386)238-4990

Facsimile: (386)226-0457

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF FLORIDA

TED HERRING,

Petitioner,

Case No. SC03-1144

Vv.

JAMES V. CROSBY, JR.,

Secretary, Department

of Corrections, et.al,

Respondents.

/

RESPONSE TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF HABEAS CORPUS

COME NOW the Respondents, by and through the

undersigned counsel, and respond as follows to Herring’s petition for

writ of habeas corpus. For the reasons set out herein, the petition

should be denied in all respects -- likewise, there is no justification for

oral argument in this case, and it should not be allowed.

RESPONSE TO JURISDICTION

Respondents agree that this Court has jurisdiction, under the

Rules of Appellate Procedure, to entertain petitions for writs of habeas

corpus.

RESPONSE TO “STATEMENT OF FACTS”

The “statement of facts” set out on pages 2-4 of the petition

contains few facts relevant to-the crimes for which Herring was

convicted and sentenced to death, and, moreover, contains an

argumentative dissertation on the shortcomings of Herring’s 1985

Florida Rule of Criminal Procedure 3.850 proceeding. That case has

been final for years, and may not be relitigated in this petition for writ

of habeas corpus.

The State relies on the following facts, as found by this Court

in affirming Herring’s convictions and sentence:

A-1

The appellant, Ted Herring, was convicted of armed

robbery and the first-degree murder of a convenience

store clerk. In accordance with the jury's advisory

recommendation, the trial judge imposed the death

sentence. We have jurisdiction, [footnote omitted]

and affirm the conviction and sentence of death.

The following are the relevant facts. Shortly after

3:00 a.m. on May 29, 1981, a customer entered a

Daytona Beach convenience store and found the store

clerk dead. The clerk's body was lying on the floor

behind the cash register counter. The customer and a

newspaper distribution man who had arrived at the

store called the police. In investigating the crime

scene, the police found a note on the counter which

read:

This is a hole-up put all the money

in a papper bag change to then lay

flat on the floor are get shot [sic].

A medical examiner testified that the store clerk

suffered three gunshot wounds: (1) a wound to the

left side of the head just forward of the left ear; (2) a

wound to the left side of the neck; and (3) a wound to

the palm of the left hand with an exit wound on the

back side of the hand. The examiner also testified that

the wound which caused the clerk's death was the

wound to the head and that the clerk survived for no

longer than a minute. It was determined that $23.34

was missing from the cash register.

Approximately two weeks after the robbery-murder,

Herring was arrested after he was observed entering

and exiting a vehicle which had been stolen in

another convenience store robbery. He was taken to

the Daytona Beach Police Department, where he was

advised of his Miranda rights. Herring signed a

written waiver of his Miranda rights and was

A-2

interrogated by detectives. During the course of the

interrogation, he was asked about several armed

robberies, including the May 29 convenience store

robbery-murder. A judgment of guilty in one of these

other armed robberies was entered against appellant

on January 8, 1982. Appellant, in his first statement,

which was taped, told the detectives that he planned

to rob the convenience store and prepared a holdup

note which directed the clerk to turn over money or

be shot. He claimed that when he proceeded to the

counter, a second man came to the counter, pulled a

gun, demanded money from the clerk, and then, after

he was given the money, told the clerk to lie on the

floor. As this occurred, Herring stated, he backed

down the aisle of the store seeking cover and, while

he was doing so, the other man shot the clerk twice

and left the store. He stated he then ran from the

store.

One of the investigating officers testified that after

making this statement Herring asked to speak to the

officer privately; that during this private

conversation, Herring admitted that he killed the

clerk and that his previous story was untrue. The

officer also testified that during this conversation

Herring said that he shot the clerk a second time to

prevent him from being a witness against him. At

trial, Herring denied that this conversation occurred.

Later in the interrogation, Herring made a third

statement, which was taped. In this statement Herring

confessed that he went to the convenience store with

a gun, asked the clerk for cigarettes, and presented

the holdup note. According to Herring, the clerk

made a movement as if he were going to grab for the

gun. Herring admitted that he then shot the clerk once

in the head and once again after the clerk fell to the floor.

Herring testified that this third statement was given

only because the police were harassing him. He

A-3

LE

admitted writing the holdup note, however, and one

of the fingerpnnnts on the note was identified as the appellant's.

At the conclusion of the guilt phase of the trial, the

jury found appellant guilty of armed robbery and

first-degree murder.

In the penalty phase of the trial, the state put into

evidence a certified copy of the judgment and

sentence for the prior unrelated robbery with a

firearm, which judgment was entered on January 8,

1982. The state also presented the testimony of a

probation and parole officer who had spoken to

Herring in June, 1981, concerning the murder. She

testified that Herring denied committing the murder

but that he also commented that the man "got what he

deserved for trying to play hero" and that the victim's

death meant "one less cracker."

Appellant's mother testified on his behalf and stated

that she and the appellant's father were divorced

when the appellant was four years of age; that the

appellant was treated for psychological problems and

was diagnosed as hyperactive with learning

disabilities; and that the appellant, who dropped out

of school after completing the fifth grade, has an IQ

of eighty. The appellant also attempted to present the

testimony of three attorneys who had represented

persons charged with first-degree murder who

received life sentences after pleading guilty. This

testimony was rejected by the trial court. The trial

court also rejected the proffer of two poems authored

by the appellant which were contained in a clinical

report written about him. No testimony was proffered

concerning the report, nor was the person who

prepared the report called to testify.

By an eight-to-four vote the jury recommended the

imposition of the death penalty. The trial judge

imposed the death penalty, finding four aggravating

A-4

and two mitigating circumstances. The aggravating

circumstances found by the trial judge were: (1) that

appellant had previously been convicted of a

robbery with a firearm, a felony involving the use

or threat of violence to a person; (2) that the

murder was committed while appellant was

engaged in the commission of a robbery; (3) that

the murder was committed for the purpose of

avoiding or preventing a lawful arrest; and («) that

the murder was committed in a cold, calculated, and

premeditated manner without any pretense of moral

or legal justification. In mitigation, the trial judge

found (1) that the appellant had a difficult childhood

and had learning disabilities, and (2) that he was

nineteen years old at the time of the crime.

Herring v. State, 446 So. 2d 1049, 1051-53 (Fla. 1984). [emphasis

added].' To the extent that Herring attempts, in footnote 1, to

“incorporate by reference” everything that has previously been filed

over the 20-year history of this case, that procedure, as attractive as 11

may be to Herring, is not available. It is axiomatic that the purpose of

an appellate brief is to present legal authority in support of the party’s

position, not to “incorporate by reference” the entire record and expect

this Court and the State to decipher what the opposing party’s claims

really are.

RESPONSE TO NATURE OF RELIEF SOUGHT

Herring is not entitled to relief based upon the Apprendi/Ring

claim contained in the petition.

RESPONSE TO POST-CONVICTION PROCEDURAL HISTORY

The post-conviction procedural history set out on pages 4-11

of the petition is substantially correct. Since Herring filed this petition

'On page 3, Herring improperly attempts to relitigate the “non-statutory

aggravator” claim that was found procedurally barred in this Court’s 1986 decision in

this case. Herring v. State, 501 So. 2d, 1279 (Fla. 1986).

A-5

EE — —E—————EEEE

on June 23, 2003, he has filed an application for a certificate of

appealability from the denial of his federal habeas corpus petition with

the Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals. On August 21, 2003, the

Eleventh Circuit granted the certificate as to three claims.

On August 18, 2003, a case management conference was

conducted by the Volusia County. Circuit Court in Herring’s

successive Rule 3.851 motion in which he alleged that Atkins v.

Virginia, 536 U.S. 304 (2002), prevents the State from carrying out his |

death sentence. The Circuit Court ruled that an evidentiary hearing

will be conducted on the Atkins claim, and, at this juncture, it appears

likely that the hearing will be scheduled for November 2003.

RESPONSE TO GROUNDS FOR RELIEF

I. THE RING V. ARIZONA DECISION DOES NOT

AFFECT FLORIDA DEATH PENALTY LAW’

PRELIMINARY MATTERS

Herring claims that the United States Supreme Court’s Ring

v. Arizona, 536 U.S. 584 (2002), decision invalidates Florida’s long-

upheld capital sentencing structure. There are three fundamental

reasons why the Apprendi/Ring argument fails: that claim is

procedurally barred; Herring’s death sentence is supported by

aggravators that fall outside any interpretation of Apprendi/Ring; and,

the statute under which Herring was sentenced to death provides that,

upon conviction for capital murder, the maximum possible sentence

is death, unlike the statute at issue in Ring.

It is true that Ring clarified the applicability of Apprendi to

capital cases and partially overruled Walton v. Arizona, 497 U.S. 639

(1990). However, Walton had been decided based on a

misunderstanding by the United States Supreme Court of Arizona

? Herring makes this claim despite the complete dissimilarity of the

Florida and Arizona statutes, and despite the fact that no decisions of the United

States Supreme Court upholding the constitutionality of the Florida death penalty

statutes were invalidated, criticized, or otherwise called into question in Ring.

A-6

videnesRanimeremmemnaneaereneaimamaamassatiiiiiiliaaaaiiaaiiiieaiaiiaial

death penalty law, a pivotal fact that is conspicuously absent from

Herring’s habeas petition.’ The fundamental issue in Ring, and the

rationale behind the result, clearly rests on the United States Supreme

Court’s misinterpretation of Arizona’s capital sentencing statute.

Ring at 603-5. However, Ring has no application to Florida’s death

sentencing scheme because the Court did not misinterpret Florida

law. Herring’s claim that Florida’s statute fails because Walton has

been overruled is predicated upon the false (and demonstrably

incorrect) assertion that Florida and Arizona have functionally

identical capital sentencing statutes. A cursory reading of Ring

demonstrates that that is simply not true. Even ignoring the clear

procedural bars and the total legal inapplicability of Ring to the facts

of this case, the basic difference between Arizona and Florida law is

dispositive of Herring’s claims.

A. THE RING CLAIM IS NOT AVAILABLE TO HERRING

BECAUSE IT IS PROCEDURALLY BARRED

AND BECAUSE IT IS NOT

RETROACTIVE TO HIS CASE

1. The Apprendi/Ring claim is procedurally barred.

Herring’s reliance on Ring to support a Sixth Amendment

claim is procedurally barred because it could have been but was not

raised at trial and on direct appeal. The issue in Ring (which is merely

an extension of Apprendi, anyway) is by no means new or novel -- that

claim, or a variation of it, has been known since before the United

States Supreme Court’s 1976 decision in Proffitt v. Florida, 428 U.S.

242, 252 (1976) (holding that the Constitution does not require jury

sentencing). The “basis” for a claim that the sentence imposed in this

case violated Herring’s right to a jury trial has been available since he

> The Ring Court determined that Apprendi and its impact on the prior

decision in Walton required clarification (or correction of the Court’s understanding)

of the role of the jury in Arizona capital sentencing. Nothing in that decision changed

the dynamic of Florida’s capital sentencing scheme under Apprendi and Ring.

A-7

was sentenced to death -- he raised this claim after Apprendi* was

decided, as did other Florida death row inmates, who have been

raising the same claim since well prior to Ring. See, Mills, infra. There

is nothing magical about an Apprendi claim, and, despite the

pretensions of Herring’s brief, Ring is nothing more than the

application of Apprendi to capital cases. There is no justification for

a departure by this Court from application of the well-settled State

procedural bar rules, which this Court reaffirmed in F.B. v. State, 28

Fla. L. Weekly S624 (Fla., July 11, 2003).° The Apprendi claim is

procedurally barred, and all relief should be denied on that basis. See,

e.g., Bundy v. State, 538 So. 2d 445 (Fla. 1985).

2. The aggravators in Herring’s case

fall outside the scope of Apprendi/Ring, and

reliance on those decisions is misplaced.

In addition to being procedurally barred, Apprendi/Ring does

not provide a basis for relief in this case because the rule of law set

out in those cases is inapplicable to the facts of Herring’s case. The

prior violent felony aggravator and the during the course of a robbery

aggravator, both of which are clearly applicable, fall outside of any

conceivable interpretation of Apprendi/Ring.

Under the plain language of Apprendi, a prior violent felony

conviction (which in this case was a prior robbery with a firearm

conviction) is a fact which may be a basis to impose a sentence higher

than that authorized by the jury’s verdict without the need for

* Apprendi v. New Jersey, 530 U.S. 466 (2000), was released on June 26,

2000. Any claims based on that case are untimely because they were not raised until

more than two years after Apprendi was released. Rule 3.851(d), Fla. R. Crim. P.

* In F.B. v. State, this Court was explicit in holding that the only exception

to the contemporaneous objection rule (which Herring clearly did not follow) is when

the error is fundamental, which an Apprendi/Ring claim is not. In this case, there is no

error at all under Apprendi/Ring, and, because that is so, the contemporaneous

objection rule applies and should be enforced by this Court.

A-8

additional jury findings.® There is no constitutional violation (nor can

there be) because the prior conviction constitutes a jury finding which

the judge may rely upon, without additional jury findings, in imposing

sentence. See Almendarez-Torres v. United States, 523 U.S. 224

(1998); Apprendi v. New Jersey, 530 U.S. 466 (2000). Under any view

of the law, and even after Ring, the jury is not required to make a

determination of the prior violent felony aggravator, and that

aggravating circumstance can be found by the judge alone.

Under any interpretation of the facts, the "prior violent felony

conviction" aggravator and the “during the commission of a felony”

aggravator (which is supported by the contemporaneous armed

robbery conviction) obviate any possible Sixth Amendment error.

These two aggravating circumstances are outside of the Apprendi/Ring

holding,’ and, because that is so, those decisions are of no help to

Herring. Herring’s claim has no legal basis because Apprendi/Ring is

inapplicable to the facts of this case as well as because a Florida

conviction for murder made capital establishes that defendant’s

eligibility for a death sentence. Herring’s attempt to bring his case

under the Apprendi/Ring umbrella is an attempt to force the square

peg of Florida’s death penalty statute into the round hole of Ring. No

relief is justified.

* Of course, under Florida law, death is the maximum possible sentence for

the crime of first degree murder, and that is the defendant’s sentence exposure upon

conviction. See Section B, infra. The “higher than authorized by the jury” component

of Apprendi is not applicable to the capital sentencing process in Florida, but that

distinction does not affect the basic premise that a prior felony conviction is a fact that

has already been found by a jury beyond a reasonable doubt, and does not need to be

(and as a policy matter should not be) “re-proven.”

’ The Apprendi Court cited to Jones v. United States, 526 U.S. 227, 243 n.6

(1999), for the proposition that under the Fifth and Sixth Amendments, “any fact

(other than prior conviction) that increases the maximum penalty for a crime must

be charged in an indictment, submitted to a jury, and proven beyond a reasonable

doubt.” Apprendi v. New Jersey, 530 U.S. 466, 476 (2000). [emphasis added]. The

Court has already clearly said that death is the maximum penalty for first degree

murder, so that component of the statement has no application to Florida law. In any

event, Herring’s prior violent felony conviction, and the murder during a robbery

aggravator, are outside any possible (or reasonable) interpretation of Apprendi and

Ring.

A-9

3. Ring is not retroactive to Herring’s case.

In addition to being procedurally barred as well as legally and

factually inapplicable, no court to consider the issue* has held

Apprendi to be retroactive, and Ring is “simply an extension of

Apprendi to the death penalty context.” Cannon v. Mullin, 297 F. 3d

989 (10th Cir. 2002), cert. and stay of execution denied, 536 U.S. 974

(U.S. July 23, 2002)’; In re Johnson, 334 F. 3d 403 (Sth Cir. 2003)

(“Since the rule in Ring is essentially an application of Apprendi,

logical consistency suggests that the rule announced in Ring is not

retroactively available.”). The First and Fourth District Courts of

Appeal have held that Apprendi is not retroactive, as has the Kansas

Supreme Court.'° Figarola v. State, 841 So. 2d 576 (Fla. 4th DCA

® Coleman v. United States, 329 F.3d 77 (2nd Cir. 2003); Goode v. United

States, 305 F.3d 378, 382-85 (6th Cir. 2002); United States v. Brown, 305 F.3d 304,

307-10 (5th. Cir. 2002); United States v. Wiseman, 297 F.3d 975, (10th Cir. 2002);

United States v. Dowdy, 2002 U.S. App. LEXIS 12559 (9th Cir. June 20, 2002);

Curtis v. United States, 294 F.3d 841, 843-44 (7th Cir. 2002); United States v. Mora,

293 F.3d 1213, 1218-19 (10th Cir. 2002); Hines v. United States, 282 F.3d 1002 (8th

Cir. 2002); United States v. Sanchez-Cervantes, 282 F.3d 664, 668 (9th Cir. 2002);

In re Turner, 267 F.3d 225, 227 (3rd Cir. 2001); McCoy v. United States, 266 F.3d

1245 (11th Cir. 2001); Forbes v. United States, 262 F.3d 143, 144 (2nd Cir. 2001);

United States v. Moss, 252 F.3d 993 (8th Cir. 2001); Sanders v. United States, 247

F.3d 139, 151 (4th Cir. 2001); Jn re Tatum, 233 F.3d 857, 859 (Sth Cir. 2000); Jones

v. Smith, 231 F.3d 1227 (9th Cir. 2001); Sustache-Rivera v. United States, 221 F.3d

8, 15 n.12 (Ist Cir. 2000).

° The Cannon Court held, post-Ring, that under Tyler v. Cain, 533 U.S. 656,

661 (2001) “‘under this provision, the Supreme Court is the only entity that can

‘ma[kJe’ a new rule retroactive. The new rule becomes retroactive, not by the

decisions of the lower courts or by the combined action of the Supreme Court and the

lower courts, but simply by the action of the Supreme Court.’”

'© The Alabama Court of Criminal Appeals has held that Apprendi is not

retroactive to collateral review cases. See, Poole v. State, 2001 WL 996300 (Ala.

Crim. App. 2001). The Minnesota Court of Appeals refused to apply Apprendi

retroactively, holding that it was not a watershed rule of criminal procedure, and that

the rule did nothing to enhance the accuracy of a criminal conviction. Meemken v.

State, 2003 Minn. App. LEXIS 661 (June 3, 2003). The Missouri Supreme Court

seems to be the only court that has held that Ring is retroactively applicable. State v.

Whitfield, 2003 Mo. LEXIS 105 (Mo. S.Ct. June 17, 2003). The retroactive

application of Ring is inconsistent and irreconcilable with the same Court’s holding

that Apprendi is not retroactive. State ex. rel. Nixon v. Sprick, 59 S.W. 3d 515 (Mo.

A-10

ee ee ee ee

2003); Hughes v. State, 826 So. 2d 1070 (Fla. Ist DCA 2002)

(certifying question); Whisler v. State, 36 P.3d 290 (Kan. 2001).'' The

United States Supreme Court has previously held that a violation of

the right to a jury trial is not retroactive, DeStefano v. Woods, 392 U.S.

631, 88 S.Ct. 2093, 20 L.Ed.2d 1308 (1968), and, because that is the

law, it is wholly illogical to claim that a wholly procedural ruling like

Apprendi or Ring would be treated differently. It is the prerogative of

the United States Supreme Court to make the retroactivity

determination -- that Court has not held Apprendi or Ring retroactive,

and has refused to review cases declining to apply those decisions in

that fashion. Cannon, supra. Ring, like Apprendi, is merely a

procedural ruling which falls far short of being of “fundamental

significance.” Finally, the Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals has

expressly held, in a Florida death penalty case, that Ring is not

retroactively applicable. Turner v. Crosby, 16 Fla. L. Weekly Fed

C926 (11th Cir. July 29, 2003). This Court should not hold otherwise.

Moreover, the Ring decision is not retroactively applicable

under Witt v. State, 387 So. 2d 922, 929-30 (Fla. 1980). Under Witt,

Ring is not retroactively applicable unless it is a decision of

fundamental significance, which so drastically alters the

underpinnings of Herring’s death sentence that “obvious injustice”

exists. New v. State, 807 So. 2d 52 (Fla. 2001), cert. denied, 536 U.S.

942 (2002). In determining whether this standard has been met, this

Court must consider three factors: the purpose served by the new case;

the extent of reliance on the old law; and the effect on the

administration of justice from retroactive application. Ferguson v.

State, 789 So. 2d 306, 311 (Fla. 2001). Neither Apprendi nor Ring

2001). The conflicting results reached by the Missouri Supreme Court suggest that

reliance on Whitfield would be ill-advised. The Nebraska Supreme Court has held that

Ring is not retroactively applicable. State v. Lotter, 2003 Neb. LEXIS 111 (July 11,

2003).

'! An Apprendi claim is not “plain error,”either. United States v. Cotton, 535

U.S. 625 (2002){indictment’s failure to include the quantity of drugs was an Apprendi

error but did not seriously affect fairness, integrity, or public reputation of judicial

proceedings, and thus did not rise to level of plain error). If an error is not plain error

for direct appeal purposes, it is not of sufficient importance to be retroactively

applicable to collateral proceedings.

A-11

———————

te RN

meet that standard, either.

4. The Apprendi/Ring claim is meritless.

Finally, without waiving the foregoing procedural defenses,

the claim raised by Herring has been expressly rejected by this Court.

See McCoy v. State, 2003 WL 21982066 (Fla. Aug. 21, 2003); Lugo

v. State, 845 So. 2d 74, 119 (Fla. 2003), petition for cert. filed, July

28, 2003, No. 03-5620; Kormondy v. State, 845 So. 2d 41, 54 (Fla.

2003)(““Ring does not require either notice of the aggravating factors

that the State will present at sentencing or a special verdict form

indicating the aggravating factors found by the jury.”), petition for

cert. filed, July 28, 2003, No. 03-5621; Conahan v. State, 844 So. 2d

629 (Fla. 2003), petition for cert. filed, July 3, 2003, No. 03-5209;

Butler v. State, 842 So. 2d 817 (Fla. 2003)(relying on Bottoson v.

Moore, 833 So. 2d 693 and King v. Moore, 831 So. 2d 143 to a Ring

claim in a single aggravator (HAC) case); Banks v. State, 842 So. 2d

788 (Fla. 2003); Spencer v. State, 842 So. 2d 52 (Fla. 2003); Grim v.

State, 841 So. 2d 455 (Fla. 2003), petition for cert filed, June 12,

2003, No. 03-5160; Cole v. State, 841 So. 2d 409 (Fla. 2003);

Anderson v. State, 841 So. 2d 390 (Fla. 2003), petition for cert. filed,

August 8, 2003, No. 03-5860; Lucas v. State/Moore, 841 So. 2d 380

(Fla. 2003); Porter v. Crosby, 840 So. 2d 981 (Fla. 2003)(““Contrary

to Porter’s claims, we have repeatedly held that the maximum penalty

under the statute is death and have rejected the other Apprendi

arguments.”); Fotopoulos v. State/Moore, 838 So. 2d 1122 (Fla.

2003); Bruno v. Moore, 838 So. 2d 485 (Fla. 2002), petition for cert.

filed, May 9, 2003, No. 02-10848; Doorbal v. State, 837 So. 2d 940

(Fla. 2003), petition for cert. filed, April 24, 2003, No. 02-10379;

Bottoson v. Moore, 833 So. 2d 693 (Fla.), cert. denied, 123 S.Ct. 662

(2002); Chavez v. State, 832 So. 2d 730, 767 (Fla. 2002), cert. denied,

123 S.Ct. 2617 (2003); King v. Moore, 831 So. 2d 143 (Fla.), cert.

denied, 123 S.Ct. 657 (2002); Pace v. State/Crosby, 28 Fla. L. Weekly

S415 (Fla. May 22, 2003); Jones v. State/Crosby, 28 Fla. L. Weekly

S395 (Fla. May 8, 2003); Marquard v. State/Moore, 28 Fla. L. Weekly

S389, 27 Fla. L. Weekly S973, 978, n. 12 (Fla. Nov. 21, 2002);

Chandler v. State, 848 So. 2d 1031, 1034 n.4 (Fla. 2003); Lawrence

v. State, 846 So. 2d 440 (Fla. 2003), petition for cert. filed, July 30,

2003, No. 03-5708. This Court should, in addition to denying relief on

A-12

procedural grounds, continue to follow this unbroken line of authority

by denying relief on the merits as an alternative and secondary basis

for the denial of relief.

B. ARIZONA CAPITAL SENTENCING LAW IS DIFFERENT

FROM FLORIDA’S, AS THIS COURT HAS HELD.”

The Arizona statute at issue in Ring is different from Florida’s

death sentencing statutes. The United States Supreme Court failed to

recognize that distinction in Walton, but recognized and corrected its

misinterpretation of Arizona law in Ring. Because Walton was based

on an incorrect interpretation of Arizona law, the suggestion that

Florida’s statute is invalid because Walton has been overruled is

spurious. Since Ring corrected the Court’s error as to Arizona law, no

good faith argument can be made that Florida’s statute is anything like

Arizona’s, especially in light of this Court’s clear interpretation of

Florida law (which is clearly not like Anzona law). The Ring Court

stated:

Based solely on the jury's verdict finding Ring

guilty of first-degree felony murder, the maximum

punishment he could have received was life

imprisonment. See 200 Ariz., at 279, 25 P.3d, at

1151 (citing Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 13- 703). This was so

because, in Arizona, a "death sentence may not

legally be imposed ... unless at least one aggravating

factor is found to exist beyond a reasonable dovt<."

200 Ariz., at 279, 25 P.3d, at 1151 (citing § 13- 703).

The question presented is whether that aggravating

factor may be found by the judge, as Arizona law

specifies, or whether the Sixth Amendment's jury trial

guarantee, [FN3] made applicable to the States by the

Fourteenth Amendment, requires that the aggravating

factor determination be entrusted to the jury. [FN4]

2 In Mills v. Moore, infra, the Florida Supreme Court discussed the

operation of the Florida death sentencing statute, and explained how our statute is

unlike Arizona’s.

A-13

FN3. "In all criminal prosecutions,

the accused shall enjoy the right to a

... trial, by an impartial jury ...."

FN4. Ring's claim is_ tightly

delineated: He contends only that the

Sixth Amendment required jury

findings on the aggravating

circumstances asserted against him.

No aggravating circumstance related

to past convictions in his case; Ring

therefore does not challenge

Almendarez-Torres v. United Statés,

523 U.S. 224, 118 S.Ct. 1219, 140

L.Ed.2d 350 (1998), which held that

the fact of prior conviction may be

found by the judge even if it

increases the statutory maximum

sentence. He makes no Sixth

Amendment claim with respect to

mitigating circumstances. See

Apprendi v. New Jersey, 530 U.S.

466, 490-491, n. 16, 120 S.Ct. 2348,

147 L.Ed.2d 435 (2000) (noting "the

distinction the Court has often

recognized between facts in

aggravation of punishment and facts

in mitigation" (citation omitted)).

Nor does he argue that the Sixth

Amendment required the jury to

make the ultimate determination

whether to impose the death penalty.

See Proffitt v. Florida, 428 U.S. 242,

252, 96 S.Ct. 2960, 49 L.Ed.2d 913

(1976) (plurality opinion) ("[I]t has

never [been] suggested that jury

sentencing is constitutionally

required."). He does not question the

Arizona Supreme Court's authority

A-14

to reweigh the aggravating and

mitigating circumstances after that

“ court struck one aggravator. See

Clemons v. Mississippi, 494 U.S.

738, 745, 110 S.Ct. 1441, 108

L.Ed.2d 725 (1990). Finally, Ring

does not contend that his indictment

was constitutionally defective. See

Apprendi, 530 U.S., at 477, n. 3, 120

S.Ct. 2348 (Fourteenth Amendment

"has not ... been construed to include

the Fifth Amendment night to

‘presentment or indictment of a

Grand Jury'").

Ring v. Arizona, 536 U.S. at 597. [emphasis added]. Under Anzona

law, the determination of death eligibility takes place during the

penalty phase proceedings, and requires the determination that an

aggravating factor exists. Florida law is different."

1. In Florida, death is the maximum sentence for

capital murder.

“(T]he legislature, and not the judiciary determines maximum

and minimum penalties for violations of the law.” State v. 3enitez, 395

So. 2d 514, 518 (Fla. 1981). This Court, long before .ipprendi,'*

concluded that the maximum sentence to which a Florida ca™ ital

'3 The claim that the indictment must contain the aggravators and that the

jury must find them unanimously has been repeatedly rejected by this Court. See,

Vining v. State, 637 So. 2d 921, 927 (Fla. 1994); Fotopoulos v. State, 608 So. 2d 784,

794 n.7 (Fla. 1992); Lightbourne v. State, 438 So. 2d 380 (Fla. 1983). Aggravators

must, of course, be proven beyond a reasonable doubt.

'4 This Court’s interpretation of Florida law is consistent with the description

of Florida’s capital sentencing scheme set out in Proffitt v. Florida, and echoed in

Barclay v. Florida, 463 U.S. $39, 952 (1983) (“[I]f a defendant is found guilty of a

capital offense, a separate evidentiary hearing is held before the trial judge and jury

to determine his sentence.”). If the defendant were not eligible for a death sentence,

there would be no second proceeding.

A-15

defendant is subject following conviction for capital murder is death.’

Apprendi \ed to no change of any sort, by either the Legislature or this

Court.'°

2. Death eligibility in Florida is determined at the

guilt stage.

In Florida, the determination of “death-eligibility” is made at

the guilt phase of a capital trial, mot at the penalty phase, as is the

Arizona practice. This Court has unequivocally said what Florida’s

law is, just as the Arizona Suprer~2 Court did. The difference between

the two states’ capital murder statutes is clear, and controls the

resolution of the claim. Because death is the maximum penalty for

first-degree murder in Florida (and because it is not in Arizona),

Herring’s Apprendi/Ring claim collapses because nothing triggers the

Apprendi protections in the first place. See, Barnes v. State, 794 So.

2d 590 (Fla. 2001) (Apprendi not applicable when judicial findings did

not increase maximum allowable sentence).

Nothing that takes place at the penalty phase of a Florida

capital trial increases the authorized punishment for the offense of

capital murder -- the penalty phase proceeding (which includes the

jury) is the selection phase, which follows the eligibility

determination, and which does not implicate the Apprendi/Ring issue.

The state law issue which led to the constitutional violation in

Arizona’s capital sentencing statute has already been decided

differently by this Court, and that decision (in Mills and the cases

relying on it) differentiates and distinguishes Arizona’s system from

'S “The maximum possible penalty described in the capital sentencing

scheme is clearly death.” Mills, supra. See, e.g., Lightbourne v. State, 438 So. 2d

380, 385 (Fla. 1983); Sireci v. State, 399 So. 2d 964 (Fla. 1981); Mills v. Moore, 786

So. 2d 532, 537-8 (Fla. 2001); Porter v. Moore, 28 Fla. L. Weekly S33 (Fla. June 20,

2002); Sweet v. Moore, 822 So. 2d 1269 (Fla. 2002).

'© Whatever criticisms Herring may direct against the Mills decision cannot

alter the fundamental fact that this Court’s explanation of Florida’s capital sentencing

statutes has not changed. By correctly stating that Apprendi excluded capital cases,

this Court did not ignore its responsibility in applying the applicable cases under

Florida law as they applied to the statute.

A-16

Ee ee Fe ee eee |

. ne

Florida’s constitutional capital sentencing statute.

Section 782.04 of the Florida Statutes defines capital murder,

and Section 775.082 establishes that the maximum penalty for capital

murder is death, in clear contrast to the Arizona statute, which does

not. Arizona, unlike Florida, does not define any offenses as

“capital” in its criminal statutes. There is no constitutional defect

with Florida’s statute.

3. Ring has no impact in Florida, and the decisions

upholding the constitutionality of Florida law

remain undisturbed.

Ring did not disturb any pnor United States Supreme Court

decisions upholding the constitutionality of Florida’s death penalty

scheme, including Proffitt, supra, Spaziano v. Florida, 468 U.S. 447

(1984), Hildwin v. Florida, 490 U.S. 638 (1989), Barclay v. Florida,

463 U.S. 939 (1983), and Dobbert v. Florida, 432 U.S. 282 (1977).

And, as this Court has recognized, “[t]he Supreme Court has

specifically directed lower courts to ‘leav[e] to this Court the

prerogative of overruling its own decisions.’ Agostini v. Felton, 521

U.S. 203, 237, 117 S.Ct. 1997, 138 L.Ed.2d 391 (1997) (quoting

Rodriguez de Quijas v. Shearson/American Express, Inc., 490 U.S.

477, 484, 109 S.Ct. 1917, 104 L.Ed.2d 526 (1989)).” Mills v. Moore,

786 So. 2d 532, 537(Fla. 2001)."

The United States Supreme Court did not disturb its prior

decisions upholding the constitutionality of Florida’s capital

sentencing process, and that result is dispositive of Herring’s claims.

The Court had every opportunity to directly address Apprendi/Ring in

the context of Florida’s capital sentencing scheme, and expressly

declined to do so. Cf. Hodges v. Florida, 506 U.S. 803 (1992),

wherein the United States Supreme Court vacated the Florida Supreme

Court’s opinion for further consideration in light of Espinosa v.

'7 To rule in Herring’s favor, this Court would have to overrule the five cases

cited above, as well as Clemons, infra, Cabana v. Bullock, 474 U.S. 376 (1986),

Blystone v. California, 494 U.S. 299, 306-7 (1990), Harris v. Alabama, infra, and

Gardner v. Florida, 430 U.S. 349 (1977).

A-17

Florida, 505 U.S. 1079 (1992).

On June 28, 2002, the United States Supreme Court remanded

four cases in light of Ring: Harrod v. Arizona, 536 U.S. 953 (2002);

Pandeli v. Arizona, 536 U.S. 953 (2002); Sansing v. Arizona, 536 U.S.

954 (2002); and Allen v. United States, 536 U.S. 953 (2002). None of

those remands is surprising given that three are Arizona cases and the

other is a Federal Court of Appeals decision based on Walton v.

Arizona, supra. However, the Court denied certiorari in seven cases

raising the “Ring” issue: Brown v. Alabama, 536 U.S. 964 (2002);

Mann v. Florida, 536 U.S. 962 (2002); King v. Florida, 536 U.S. 962

(2002); Bottoson v. Florida, 536 U.S. 962 (2002); Card v. Florida,

536 U.S. 963 (2002); Hertz v. Florida, 536 U.S. 963 (2002); and

Looney v. Florida, 536 U.S. 966 (2002). Obviously, if the Court had

intended to apply Ring to Florida capital sentencing, it had every

opportunity to do so. The fact that it did not speaks for itself. Further,

and of even greater significance, the United States Supreme Court

denied a stay of execution July 23, 2002, in an Oklahoma case which

raised a Ring claim. See, Cannon v. Oklahoma, 536 U.S. 974 (2002).

This Court should not accept Herring’s invitation to “review” the

decisions of the United States Supreme Court.

C. RING DOES NOT REQUIRE JURY SENTENCING, AND

THIS COURT SHOULD NOT ACCEPT HERRING’S

INVITATION TO EXTEND RING.

Herring's argument that Ring requires jury sentencing is

incorrect -- that is an Eighth Amendment argument, not a Sixth

Amendment one, which confuses the additional procedures the Florida

legislature provided to avoid arbitrary jury sentencing (which is the

Eighth Amendment component) with the death-eligibility

determination, which is the Sixth Amendment component, and which

is the focus of Apprendi/Ring. In upholding the constitutionality of

Florida’s death sentencing scheme, the United States Supreme Court

said:

In light of the facts that the Sixth Amendment does

not require jury sentencing, that the demands of

fairness and reliability in capital cases do not require

A-18

it, and that neither the nature of, nor the purpose

behind, the death penalty requires jury sentencing, we

cannot conclude that placing responsibility on the

trial judge to impose the sentence in a capital case is

unconstitutional.

Spaziano v. Florida, 468 U.S. 447, 464 (1984). Apprendi/Ring did not

affect that pronouncement because it does not involve the jury’s role

in imposing sentence -- it only requires that the jury find the

defendant death-eligible, which a Florida jury does at the guilt stage

proceedings.

1. The death-eligibility determination is made

at the guilt phase of a capital trial.

Florida law places the death-eligibility determination at the

guilt phase of a capital trial -- that necessarily satisfies the Ring “death

eligibility” component. The jury (under Ring) only has to make the

determination of death eligibility — the judge may make the

remaining findings. Ring speaks only to the finding of death

eligibility; not aggravators, mitigators, or the weighing of them. Ring,

supra (“What today’s decision says is that the jury must find the

existence of the fact that an aggravating factor existed.”) (Scalia, J.,

concurring). When this statement by Justice Scalia is read in the

context of Arizona’s capital sentencing law, “aggravating factor”

means the same thing as “death-eligibility factor,” because Arizona

(unlike Florida) makes the “eligibility for death” determination, as

well as the selection determination, at the penalty phase. The United

States Supreme Court has repeatedly acknowledged that there is no

single, constitutional, scheme that a state must employ in

implementing the death penalty. Lowenfield v. Phelps, 484 U.S. 231,

244 (1988); Spaziano v. Florida, 468 U.S. 447, 464 (1984); Tuilaepa

v. California, 512 U.S. 967, 972 (1994).'* See also, Zant v. Stephens,

'® California law places the eligibility determination at the guilt phase.

Tuilaepa, supra, at 969 ("[T]o render a defendant eligible for the death penalty in a

homicide case, we have indicated that the trier of fact must convict the defendant of

murder and find one ‘aggravating circumstance’ (or its equivalent) at either the guilt

or penalty phase."); People v. Ochoa, 26 Cal. 4th 398, 453-54, 28 P.3d 78, 110 Cal.

A-19

SS AG alias eR thia aaR R S ah h SEeee

I ee

462 U.S. 862, 874-78 (1983). The constitution is satisfied when a

Florida defendant is convicted of an offense for which death is the

maximum sentence exposure because the conviction determines the

fact of “eligibility for death.”

2. Florida law is different from Arizona’s.

Ring did not eliminate the trial judge from the sentencing

equation or ir any fashion imply that Florida should do so. Under the

Anzona capital sentencing statute, the “statutory maximum” for

practical purposes is life until such time as a judge has found an

aggravating circumstance to be present. An Arizona jury played no

role in “narrowing” the class of defendants eligible for the death

penalty upon conviction of first degree murder. As the Arizona

Supreme Court described Arizona law, the statutory maximum

sentence permitted by the jury’s conviction alone is life. Ring v.

State, 25 P.3d 1139, 1150 (Ariz. 2001).'? Florida law is not like

Arizona’s. Mills v. State, 786 So. 2d 532 (Fla. 2001).

The distinction between a “sentencing factor” (i.e.: “selection

factor,” under Florida’s statutory scheme) and an element is sharply

made in Apprendi, where the Court stated: “One need only look to the

kind, degree, or range of punishment to which the prosecution is

entitled for a given set of facts. Each fact necessary for that

entitlement is an element.” Apprendi v. New Jersey, 530 U.S. at 462.

[emphasis added]. A Florida defendant is eligible for a death sentence

on conviction for capital murder, and a death sentence, under Florida’s

scheme, is not a “sentence enhancement,” nor is it an “element” of the

underlying offense. Almendarez-Torres v. United States, 523 U.S. 224

(1998); McMillan v. Pennsylvania, 477 U.S. 79 (1986). See, Hildwin

Rptr. 2d 324 (2001) (rejecting Apprendi-claim).

'® This Arizona statute is the one that the United States Supreme Court

misinterpreted in Walton. Ring, supra. Because the United States Supreme Court’s

description of Arizona law was incorrect in Walton and Apprendi, Herring’s efforts

to argue that Florida law is “like the Arizona statute in Walton” are, at best,

disingenuous because the Court was mistaken about the operation of Arizona law. Any

comparison of the Walton statute to Florida is based upon a false premise.

-~ A-20

lI rac pac acer cece intan nnn ca

v. Florida, 490 U.S. 638, 640-41 (1989). [emphasis added].”° And, as

Justice Scalia’s concurrence emphasizes, Ring is not about jury

sentencing at all:

Those States that leave the ultimate life-or-death

decision to the judge may continue to do so -- by

requiring a prior jury finding of aggravating factor [in

context, death-eligibility factor] in the sentencing

phase or, more simply, by placing the aggravating-

factor determination (where it logically belongs

anyway) in the guilt phase.”

Ring, supra. Florida’s capital sentencing scheme comports with those

constitutional requirements.

3. Florida provides additional Eighth Amendment

protection at the sentencing phase.

The Florida capital sentencing statue provides for the jury’s

participation.” The statute secures and preserves significant jury

participation in narrowing the class of individuals eligible to be

sentenced to death under both the Sixth and Eighth Amendments. See,

Spaziano v. Florida, 468 U.S. at 464-5. Subsequently, the Court

emphasized that a Florida jury’s role is so vital to the sentencing

process that the jury is a “co-sentencer.” Espinosa v. Florida, 505 U.S.

1079 (1992). However, the Espinosa Court did not retreat from the

premise of Spaziano:

We have often recognized that there are many

constitutionally permissible ways in which States

may choose to allocate capital sentencing authority.

2The Constitution permits the trial judge, acting alone, to impose a capital

sentence.” Harris v. Alabama, 513 U.S. 504, 515 (1995). Like Florida, Alabama law

places the eligibility-for-death determination at the guilt phase. § 13A-5-40, Ala. Stat.

2! Under the statute, the jury must find the existence of one or more

aggravators before reaching the sub-section C recommendation stage. The penalty

phase jury must conduct the sub-section A and B analysis before sub-section C comes

into play.

A-21

eee ee

... We merely hold that, if a weighing State decides

to place capital sentencing authority in two actors

rather than one, neither actor must be permitted to

weigh invalid aggravating circumstances.

Espinosa v. Florida, 505 U.S. at 1082. [emphasis added].

4. The aggravators need not be set out in the

indictment, nor must the sentence stage (selection stage)

jury unanimously recommend a sentence.

Herring’s claims that a death sentence requires juror

unanimity, the charging of the aggravators in the indictment, or special

jury verdicts are unsupported by Ring. These issues are expressly not

addressed in Ring, and in the absence of any United States Supreme

Court ruling to the contrary, there is no need to reconsider the Court’s

well-established rejection of these claims. Sweet v. State, 822 So. 2d

1269 (Fla. 2002) (prior decisions on these issues need not be revisited

“unless and until” the United States Supreme Court recedes from

Proffitt v. Florida, 428 U.S. 242 (1976)); Cox v. State, 819 So. 2d 705,

724 at n. 17 (Fla. 2002) (same), cert. denied, 537 U.S. 1120 (2003).

Herring’s argument that a unanimous jury recommendation is

constitutionally required has been repeatedly rejected by this Court.

See, e.g., Looney v. State, 803 So. 2d 656, 674 (Fla. 2001), cert.

denied, 536 U.S. 966 (2002). See, Way v. State, 760 So. 2d 903, 924

(Fla. 2000), cert. denied, 531 U.S.1155 (2001) (Parente, J.,

concurring)(noting that it is a statute that allows the jury to

recommend the imposition of the death penalty based on a non-

unanimous vote). And, even before Apprendi, this Court consistently

held that a yury may recommend a death sentence on simple majority

vote. Thompson v. State, 648 So. 2d 692, 698 (Fla. 1994) (reaffirming

Brown v. State, 565 So. 2d 304, 308 (Fla. 1990)); Alvord v. State, 322

So. 2d 533 (Fla. 1975)(advisory recommendation need not be

unanimous). After Apprendi, the Court has consistently rejected

claims that Apprendi requires a unanimous jury sentencing

recommendation. Card v. State, 803 So. 2d 613, 628 & n.13 (Fla.

2001), cert. denied, 536 U.S. 963 (2002); Hertz v. State, 803 So. 2d

629, 648 (Fla. 2001), cert. denied, 536 U.S. 963 (2002); Brown v.

A-22

Moore, 800 So.2d 223 (Fla. 2001).

The United States Supreme Court has held that a finding of

guilt does not need to be unanimous.” Cf. Johnson v. Louisiana, 406

U.S. 356 (1972); Apodaca v. Oregon, 406 U.S. 404 (1972). Jurors do

not have to agree on the particular aggravators; are not required to

agree on the particular theory of liability, Schad v. Arizona, 501 U.S.

624, 631 (1991); and may not be required to unanimously find

mitigation. McKoy v. North Carolina, 494 U.S. 433 (1990); Mills v.

Maryland, 486 U.S. 367 (1988). Ring simply affirms the distinction

between “sentencing factors” and “elements” ofan offense which have

long been recognized. See Ring at 597 n.4.; Harris v. United States,

536 U.S. 545 (2002). And, to the extent that Herring claims that Ring

requires that the aggravating circumstances be charged in the

indictment and presented to a grand jury, that argument is based upon

an invalid comparison of Federal cases (with their wholly different

procedural requirements) to Florida’s capital sentencing scheme.”

Ring’s Sixth Amendment jurisprudence is satisfied by the

conviction in Florida and by this Court’s pronouncement that death is

the maximum sentence available under Florida law for the offense of

capital murder. These matters do not change the Eighth Amendment

requirement of channeling of the jury’s discretion, which is done, and

must still be done under Florida law, at the penalty phase of a capital

trial.2* Florida law over-meets the requirements of the Eighth

2 See also, People v. Fairbank, 16 Cal.4th 1223, 1255, 947 P.2d 1321, 69

Cal. Rptr.2d 784 (1997) (unanimity not required as to existence of aggravators, weight

given to them, or appropriateness of a sentence of death).

23 Of course, the Fifth Amendment’s grand jury clause has not been extended

to the States under the Fourteenth Amendment. Ring v. Arizona, supra, at n.4, citing,

Apprendi v. New Jersey, 530 U.S. 466, 477 n.3 (2000); Hurtado v. California, 110

U.S. 516 (1884) (holding that, in capital cases, the States are not required to obtain a

grand jury indictment). This distinction, standing alone, is dispositive of the

indictment claim.

24 The most that can be said for the votes against a death sentence are that

they amount to what can be called a “jury pardon”. Dougan v. State, 595 So. 2d 1, 4

(Fla. 1992). The jury’s vote reflects considered weighing of the aggravating and

mitigating circumstances, not whether any particular juror rejected some or all of the

A-23

Amendment, and satisfies the Sixth Amendment, as well. See Pulley

v. Harris, supra.

Ring does not directly or indirectly preclude a judge from

serving in the role of sentencer. There is no language in Ring which

suggests that, once a defendant has been convicted of a capital

offense, a judge may not hear evidence or make findings in addition

to any findings a jury may have made. And, as Justice Scalia

commented, “those States that leave the ultimate life-or-death decision

to the judge may continue to do so.” Ring, supra.

The United States Supreme Court’s holding in Clemons v.

Mississippi is dispositive:

Any argument that the Constitution requires that

a jury impose the sentence of death or make the

findings prerequisite to imposition of such a

sentence has been soundly rejected by prior

decisions of this Court.

Clemons v. Mississippi, 494 U.S. 738, 745-6 (1990).”°

aggravating circumstances. The only conclusion that can be drawn from the jury’s

sentencing vote is that those jurors thought that life was a more appropriate sentence.

*To the extent that Herring claims that an “uncharged aggravator” was

relied on by the trial judge, that claim is procedurally barred and unworthy of further

discussion. To the extent that Herring challenges various jury instructions, that claim

is time barred and, likewise, deserves no further comment. Finally, the argument that

Ring means that the “striking of the cold, calculated and premeditated aggravator”

requires reversal is spurious. That claim is likewise untimely, because it could have

been raised long ago. Ring created no new “right”, nor did it alter the holding in

Clemons, which clearly permits the procedure followed by this Court in this case.

A-24

CONCLUSION

_ Based upon the arguments and authorities set out herein, the

Respondent respectfully requests that this Court deny the

Apprendi/Ring claim on procedural bar grounds, and, in the

alternative, for lack of merit.

Respectfully submitted,

CHARLES J. CRIST, JR.

ATTORNEY GENERAL

KENNETH S. NUNNELLEY

SENIOR ASSISTANT

ATTORNEY GENERAL

Florida Bar #0998818

444 Seabreeze Blvd. 5th FL

Daytona Beach, FL 32118

(386) 238-4990

Fax # (386) 226-0457

A-25

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I HEREBY CERTIFY that a true and correct copy of the

above has been furnished by U.S. Mail to: Jon M. Wilson, Foley &

Lardner, 111 N. Orange Ave., Post Office Box 2193, Orlando, Florida

32802-2193, Sherman & Sterling, LLP, 599 Lexington Ave., New

York, New York 10022, Gurney & Handley, PA, 225 East Robinson

St., Suite 450, Orlando, Florida 32807, Attorneys for Petitioner Ted

Herring, on this ____ day of August, 2003.

Of Counsel

CERTIFICATE OF COMPLIANCE

This brief is typed in Courier New 12 point.

KENNETH S. NUNNELLEY

SENIOR ASSISTANT

ATTORNEY GENERAL

A-26

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.