Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Phelan v. City of Chicago

Supreme Court brief2004

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

031209FEB 19 2004

LE

OFFICE OF The Unit

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 2003

JAMES PHELAN

Petitioner,

Vv.

CITY OF CHICAGO,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

KENNETH N. FLAXMAN

200 South Michigan Avenue

Suite 1240

Chicago, Illinois 60604

(312) 427-3200

Attorney for Petitioner

meeps TE et

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Must a white employee complaining of race

discrimination under Title VII establish "“back-

ground circumstances" to show that the employer

"has reason or inclination to discriminate against

whites" as an essential element of the employee’s

prima facie case of race discrimination?

May an employer, consistent with the Family and

Medical Leave Act, 29 U.S.C. §2901 et seq.,

refuse to reinstate an employee, who has been

granted leave under the Act, to his or her former

position because the employer believes that the

business ran smoother while the employee was on

leave?

INDEX

OPINIONS BELOW ... + + © «© * * © * ]

JURISDICTION < « a ee &} eee eeee

STATUTE INVOLVED ..-+ + + © *« © © * ]

STATEMENT 2

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT 5

CONCLUSION . 9

a a |

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Babbar vy. Ebadi, 216 F.3d 1086

(Table), 2000 WL 702428 (10th Cir. 2000) ......... cece 7

Bass v. Board of County Commissioners,

256 F.3d 1095 (hith Cir. 2001) ..............cccsescscesrscorsseneesees 6’

Byers v. Dallas Morning News, Inc.,

209 F.3d 419 (Sth Cir. ZOQD) ...........ccrccccerssccssssccovessnessees 6

Gagnon vy. Sprint Corp., 284 F.3d 839 (8th Cir. 2002) ........ 5

Green v. Clarendon County School District,

923 F.Supp. 829 (D.S.C. 1996) .........ccscsscersesressesseesessevers 6

Tadimarco v. Runyon, 190 F.3d 151 (3d Cir. 1999) ......... 6, 7

Lautermilch v. Findlay City Schools, 314 F.3d 271

I, MTD seccvsenesenaconsaacsnasenerssonsstessenevessuvnseensasssnessens 6-7

Lemnitzer v. Philippine Airlines, Inc., 816 F.Supp. 1441

MEE. WUPIIED sstvashvisnvsoensvovisavexcnvcsnenisvoviesnsercnsocenssnsnsoecsenss 6

Logan v. Caterpillar, Inc., 246 F.3d 912 (7th Cir. 2001) .... 7

Mattioda v. White, 323 F.3d 1288 (10th Cir. 2003) ............. 5

McDonald v. Santa Fe Trail Transp. Co.,

BE BF REID ivcversvssaressnienssnsvarseasnsstscessnssonesosesonseannes 5

McDonnell-Douglas v. Green, 411 U.S. 792 (1973) «0... 5

Mills v. Health Care Service Corp., 171 F.3d 450

I, IE iievtniscinsnerasenesianssanscosdoernonaceptonsegnssnscenvesensoonnine

O’Connor v. PCA Family Health Plan, Inc.,

ZOD F.36 1349 11th Cir. 2000) .0.....0.ererccoverrocccvsesecsssseseoeee 8

Olerick v. New York Telephone, 881 F.Supp. 113

IE: WED iasincsnsssnsnsegscnssarncesvesenwsioonongsassennensonaroesnoneeee 6

Parker v. Baltimore & O.R. Co., 652 F.2d 1012

INS BONED. cacavincseinrnsinenssonssansessanassvesasoveressssesnonsensoneston 2

Ragsdale v. Wolverine World Wide, Inc.,

ER, MED vc ccsisininntieansnvevenaaetbovsnbsaisunvannndnsvencneniosss 7

Schoffstall v. Henderson, 223 F.3d 818 (8th Cir. 2000) ....... 7

Stock v. Universal Foods Corp., 817 F.Supp. 1300

I ED sacsininak diveniatnonirecseasdsunaseubadodepeansentaneneensnenseess 6

Sutherland yv. Michigan Dept of Treasury,

344 F.3d 603 (6th Cir. 2003) 0.0... cccscesseeeseeseeereeeeeeseeeenneens

Teehee v. Board of Education, 116 F.3d 486

(table) 1997 WL 312222 (9th Cir. 1997) ...ssesseceeseseeeesees

Ticali v. Roman Catholic Diocese of Brooklyn,

41 F.Supp.2d 249 (E.D.N.Y. 1999) ....sscssseeesereeerssetesseteee

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner respectfully prays that a writ of certiorari issue

to review the judgment of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Seventh Circuit entered in this proceeding on October

21, 2003.

OPINIONS BELOW

The decision of the Court of Appeals (App. 1-10) is

reported at 347 F.3d 679. The opinions of the district court

(App. 13-41, 42-53) are reported at 125 F.Supp.2d 870 and

226 F.Supp.2d 914.

JURISDICTION

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

§1254: The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on

October 21, 2003. (App. 11.) Rehearing was denied on

November 21, 2003. (App. 12.)

STATUTE INVOLVED

This case involves Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of

1964, as amended, — in 42 U.S.C. §2000e-3(a), makes it

unlawful

(1) to fail or refuse to hire or to discharge any individual

. because of such individual’s race, color, sex, religion,

sex, or national origin

This case also involves the "restoration to position" provi-

sion of the Family and Medical Leave Act, 29 U.S.C. §

2614(a)(1), which provides as follows:

(1) In general

Except as provided in subsection (b) of this section,

any eligible employee who takes leave under section

2612 of this title for the intended purpose of the

leave shall be entitled, on return from such leave —

(A) to be restored by the employer to the position of

employment held by the employee when the leave

commenced; or

(B) to be restored to an equivalent position with

equivalent employment benefits, pay, and other con-

ditions of employment.

7 STATEMENT

Petitioner James Phelan was hired by respondent City of

Chicago to be a “Ward Superintendent" in November 1,

1995.' Petitioner was viewed as a “hard working" ward

superintendent by the ward’s alderman and each year

received a merit salary increase.

In the summer of 1997, petitioner began to experience

ser.ous personal health problem; on September 10, 1997,

respondent granted petitioner a leave of absence under the

Family and Medical Leave Act, 29 U.S.C. §2601 et seq.

Petitioner was indicted on mail fraud charges on Sep-

tember 30, 1997.” The indictment did not involve any allega-

tion of misconduct related to plaintiff's employment with the

City.

Petitioner’s physician released him to return to work in

October of 1997. On October 16, 1997, respondent simul-

taneously reinstated petitioner from his FMLA leave and

fired him.

Petitioner thereafter filed two actions in the district court:

in the first case, petitioner alleged inter alia that he been

filed in violation of the FMLA. In the second action, filed

after issuance of a "right to sue" notice from the Equal

Employment Opportunity Commission, petitioner alleged that

1. The "Ward Superintendent" is in charge of garbage

collection for one of the fifty wards that comprise the City

of Chicago.

2. Petitioner was subsequently acquitted.

~ os

he had been fired because he had been indicted and that

respondent would not have fired a similarly situated African-

American or Hispanic ward superintendent.

The district court dismissed on a Rule 12(b)(6) motion all

of petitioner’s claims save for his race discrimination claim.

(App. 13-24.) Thereafter, respondent moved for summary

judgment on the discrimination claim

In seeking to explain its decision to discharge petitioner,

respondent asserted in its summary judgment motion that it

had concluded while plaintiff was on FMLA leave that the

ward operations were running smoother under the supervision

of petitioner’s replacement. Respondent denied _ that

petitioner’s indictment had any impact in its decision to fire

petitioner.

Petitioner opposed the motion for summary judgment

with evidence that, before his indictment, he had viewed as a

3. Respondent also supported its summary judgment motion

with deposition testimony from a supervisor that he had

"written up" petitioner for using his personal vehicle and

had recommended a three day suspension. Petitioner

disputed this testimony with his denial that he had ever

been "written-up," and pointed out first, that respondent

was unable to produce any "write-up" and second, that the

supervisor had admitted at his deposition that the "write-

up" had not resulted in any discipline. The Seventh

Circuit did not base its decision on any "write-up," but

mistakenly observed (App. 6) that petitioner “was

ultimately suspended for three days due to similar

problems prior to taking his medical leave." This

contention had not been urged by respondent and is

without support in the record.

hard working employee and that he had repeatedly received

merit raises. Petitioner also came forward with evidence that

respondent had not fired an African-American employee who

had been charged with a serious crime, but had instead per-

mitted that employee to be on unpaid leave until the criminal

case was resolved and had then reinstated the employee on a

favorable termination of criminal proceedings.

The Seventh Circuit upheld the district court’s dismissal

of petitioner’s FMLA claim,* (App. 5-7), and affirmed the

grant of summary judgment without reaching petitioner’s

arguments that the district court had improperly resolved

disputed questions of fact. Instead, the Court of Appeals

held that petitioner had failed to meet the burden imposed on

white discrimination plaintiffs to prove “background cir-

cumstances" showing that respondent "has reason or inclina-

tion to discriminate invidiously against whites." (App. 8.)

The Court of Appeals rejected petitioner’s argument that this

"background circumstances" requirement "imposes an unfair

burden to non-minority plaintiffs since a non-minority

4. Petitioner argued on appeal that he was entitled to

summary judgment on his FMLA claim because

respondent had represented that it had fired petitioner

because while he was on FMLA leave, it became apparent

that things ran smoother without him. The Seventh

Circuit mistakenly characterized this argument as a

"concession" by petitioner that he had been "terminated

because of the poor quality of his work." (App 6.)

Petitioner made no such concession, and has asserted

throughout this litigation that he was fired because had

been indicted on non-work related charges and that

respondent would not have fired a similarly situated

African-American employee.

il td ae” arc i

a

plaintiff must establish more facts to create the prima facie

case." (App. 8.)

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

oh.

This case provides the Court with an opportunity to

resolve the conflict among the circuits about the proper stan-

dard of proof in cases of employment discrimination brought

by white plaintiffs.

Title VII of the Civil Rights me of 1964 protects persons

of all races from discrimination.” The basic framework to

establish a prima facie case of disparate treatment is set out

in the four factor test of McDonneil-Douglas v. Green, 411

U.S. 792 (1973).

Five circuits require a white person complaining of race

discrimination under Title VII to establish the four factors of

McDonnell-Douglas plus “background circumstances" that

the "defendant is that unusual employer who discriminates

against the majority."°

Three circuits have rejected a heavier burden for white

plaintiffs, reasoning that "[d]iscrimination is discrimination

no matter what the race, color, religion, sex, or national

5. McDonald v. Santa Fe Trail Transp. Co., 427 U.S. 273,

279 (1976).

6. Parker v. Baltimore & O.R. Co., 652 F.2d 1012, 1017

(D.C.Cir. 1981). See, e.g., Sutherland v. Michigan Dept of

Treasury, 344 F.3d 603, 614 (6th Cir. 2003); Mills v.

Health Care Service Corp., 171 F.3d 450, 457 (7th Cir.

1999); Gagnon v. Sprint Corp., 284 F.3d 839, 848 (8th

Cir. 2002); Mattioda v. White, 323 F.3d 1288, 1292 (10th

Cir. 2003).

7

origin of the victim."

The Court should resolve this conflict among the cir-

“10 8

cuits.

None of the circuits that apply the "background cir-

cumstances" test apply it in sex discrimination cases, where

' males and females have the same burden of proof. See, e.g.,

Lautermilch v. Findlay City Schools, 314 F.3d 271, 275 (6th

7. Bass v. Board of County Commissioners, 256 F.3d 1095,

1103-04 (11th Cir. 2001). See, e.g., Jadimarco v. Runyon,

190 F.3d 151 (3d Cir. 1999); Byers v. Dallas Morning

News, Inc., 209 F.3d 419, 426 (5th Cir. 2000).

g This issue does not appear to have arisen in the First

Circuit and was reserved by the Ninth Circuit in its

unpublished opinion in Teehee v. Board of Education, 116

F.3d 486 (table), 1997 WL 312222 (9th Cir. 1997). See

Lemnitzer v. Philippine Airlines, Inc., 816 F.Supp. 1441,

1448 (N.D.Cal. 1992) (refusing to apply “background

circumstances” test).

District courts in the Second and Fourth Circuits have

reached conflicting results:

Second Circuit: Olenick v. New York Telephone, 881

F.Supp. 113, 114 (S.D.N.Y. 1995) (adopting "background

circumstances" test); Ticali v. Roman Catholic Diocese of

Brooklyn, 41 F.Supp.2d 249, 260-262 (E.D.N.Y. 1999)

(rejecting "background circumstances" test);

Fourth Circuit: Green v. Clarendon County School

District, 923 F.Supp. 829, 840 (D.S.C. 1996) (requiring

"background circumstances"); Stock v. Universal Foods

Corp., 817 F.Supp. 1300, 1306 (D.Md._ 1993).

("background circumstances" not required ).

Cir. 2003); Logan v. Caterpillar, Inc., 246 F.3d 912, 919 (7th

Cir. 2001) Schoffstall, v. Henderson, 223 F.3d 818, 825 (8th

Cir. 2000); Babbar v. Ebadi, 216 F.3d 1086 (Table), 2000

WL 702428 (10th Cir. 2000). A similar equality should be

applied to race discrimination cases.

Petitioner came forward with evidence that he had been a

hard working ward superintendent and that he had repeatedly

received merit raises. Petitioner asserted that he had been

fired because he had been indicted and presented evidence

that defendant had not discharged a similarly situated

African-American ward superintendent who had been charged

with a serious crime. Petitioner also presented evidence that

defendant’s stated reason for his discharge was false. But for

the decision of the Seventh Circuit to apply the "background

circumstances" rule, petitioner would have been entitled to

present his race discrimination claim to a jury.

Title VII only requires that the plaintiff prove that the

employer "is treating some people less favorably than others

based upon a trait that is protected under Title VII." Jadi-

marco y. Runyon, 190 F.3d 151, 161 (3d Cir. 1999), The

"background circumstances" rule applied in this case inter-

feres with the remedy created by Title VII. Certiorari should

be granted to resolve the conflict among the circuits about

this addition to the McDonnell-Douglas prima facie case.

The decision of the Seventh Circuit reduces the right to

reinstatement of the Family and Medical Leave Act, 29

U.S.C. §2601, to mere precatory language.

A core provision of the FMLA is Section 2614(a)(1),

which requires that "[uJpon the employer’s timely return, the

employer must reinstate the employee to his or her former

position or an equivalent." Ragsdale v. Wolverine World

Wide, Inc., 535 U.S. 81, 86 (2002). The plain, every day

meaning of this provision is that an employee is free to take

ial i ila deanna eae,

~ o

leave without fear that the employer will conclude that things

run smoother without that employee. The decision of the

Seventh Circuit in this case reads this provision out of the

FMLA.

In this case, respondent conceded that it was because

petitioner had availed himself of FMLA leave that respondent

concluded that petitioner should be replaced. According to

respondent, while petitioner was on medical leave it becaine

apparent that his replacement "would be more efficient and

effective as the Ward Superintendent in the 23rd Ward," and

that there would be "fewer problems in the Ward" if peti-

tioner was replaced.”

We recognize that an employee on FMLA leave does not

gain immunity from being discharged; thus, an employee

. who would have been laid off during a reduction in force is

not entitled to any special treatment because she was on

FMLA leave at the time of the layoff. O’Connor v. PCA

Family Health Plan, Inc., 200 F.3d 1349 (11th Cir. 2000).

The question presented in this case is whether an employee

may take FMLA leave free of fear that the employer will

conclude, as respondent did in this case, that things run

smoother without that employee.

9. Respondent did not, however, choose the temporary

replacement as the permanent ward superintendent after it

discharged petitioner.

CONCLUSION

It is therefore respectfully submitted that the petition for

writ of certiorari should be granted.

February, 2004

KENNETH N. FLAXMAN

200 South Michigan Avenue

Suite 1240

Chicago, Illinois 60604

Attorney for Petitioner

App. 1

IN THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 02-3862

JAMES PHELAN

Plaintiff-Appellant,

v.

CITY OF CHICAGO,

Defendant-Appellee.

Appeal from the United States District Court

: for the Northern District of Illinois

No. 99 CV 40 —Ian H. Levin Magistrate-Judge.

Argued September 12, 2003—Decided October 21, 2003

Before Bauer, Kanne and Evans, Circuit Judges.

Bauer, Circuit Judge. The plaintiff James Phelan

brought suit after being dismissed from his position of “ward

superintendent" by. the City of Chicago. Phelan claimed that

the City 1) violated the Due Process Clause, 2) breached the

Family and Medical Leave Act, and 3) violated Title VII of

the Civil Rights Act. The district court granted the City’s

motion to dismiss Phelan’s first two causes of action and

disposed of the third on summary judgment. Phelan appeals.

We affirm.

BACKGROUND

Phelan was employed in two separate positions by the

City of Chicago. In 1992 he was hired by the City as a pol-

ice officer. In October 1993 the Chicago Police Department

granted him a leave of absence. In November 1995, while he

was on leave from the Police Department, Phelan was hired

by the City’s Department of Streets and Sanitation to work as

soe iON ASRS AS i lens h ia A vor

7

i

;

Y

?

4

App. 2

ward superintendent for the 23rd Ward. Phelan worked full

time as ward superintendent until July 1997 at which time

he took leave because of personal health problems, Phelan

exhausted all of his sick days but was still unable to return to ~

work. In September 1997, he applied for and was granted

leave under the Family and Medical Leave Act ("FMLA").

In September 1997 Phelan was indicted for mail fraud.

Shortly after his indictment, City personnel requested that he

resign. When he refused to resign, the City fired him.

Phelan’s discharge was processed the same day that he

officially returned from his FMLA leave. On October 27,

1997, Phelan requested that the City reinstate him to his

position as a probationary police officer. The City notified

Phelan that he no longer had employment with the Police

Department. Phelan then filed suit.

ANALYSIS

This court reviews the district court’s granting of motions

to dismiss the Due Process and FMLA claims under a de

novo standard of review. See Hickey v. O’Bannon, 287 F.3d

656, 657 (7th Cir. 1999). In reviewing the district court’s

decision, this court must accept all well-pleaded facts alleged

in the complaint as true and must draw all reasonable infer-

ences in favor of the non-movant. Lachmund v. ADM Inves-

tor Servs., Inc., 191 F.3d 777, 782 (7th Cir. 1999). A motion

to dismiss will succeed when "it appears beyond doubt that

the plaintiff can prove no set of facts in support of his claim

which would entitle him to relief." Conley v. Gibson, 355

U.S. 41, 45-46 (1957).

Similarly, this court reviews the district court’s dismissal

of the Title VII claim via summary judgment de novo.

Grayson v. City of Chicago, 317 F.3d 745, 749 (7th Cir.

2003). All facts will be viewed in a light most favorable to

the non-moving party, and summary judgment will be upheld

if there is no genuine issue of material fact. Id.

App. 3

lil. Due Process Claim

Phelan claims that the City’s termination of his

employment violated his Fourteenth Amendment Due Process

rights when the departments terminated him from his

positions as ward superintendent and police officer without

notice or a hearing. The Fourteenth Amendment states that

no state shall "deprive any person of life, liberty, or property,

without due process of law . . . ." U.S. Const. amend. XIV,

§1. In order to assert a violation of the Due Process clause,

a plaintiff must be able to show that 1) he or she had a

"property interest" and 2) that he or she was deprived of this

interest without due process of law. Bishop v. Wood, 426

U.S. 341, 343 (1976).

In the employment context, a property interest can be

created in one of two ways, "1) by an independent source

such as state law securing certain benefits; or 2) by a clearly

implied promise of continued employment." Shlay v.

Montgomery, 802 F.2d 918, 921 (7th Cir. 1986) (quoting

Munson vy. Friske, 754 F.2d 683, 692 (7th Cir. 1985)), Board

of Regents v. Roth, 408 U.S. 564, 577 (1972). Phelan is

unable to state that he has any interest in his employment via

the first method for creating a property interest. In his

pleadings, Phelan bases his claim to a property interest on

sections 2-100-110 and 2-74-060 of the Municipal Code.

These sections state the applicable procedures for termination

_ of "career service" employees. Unfortunately for Phelan, his

employment in the capacities of a police officer and a ward

superintendent are not classified as "career service" positions;

rather they are "exempt" and not entitled to any procedures

for dismissal. R.74 at Exh. K pars.3, 5. Specifically, the

Municipal Code distinguishes "career service" employees and

all other "career service exempt" employees. Municipal

Code of Chicago §2-74-030. Only those employees in career

service are afforded procedural protections for their

employment. Municipal Code of Chicago §2-74-060.

Hence, Phelan has no property interest in his position that

was created by any state or city law; he was an at will

App. 4

employee.

Absent an express agreement, an at will employee may

still prove a property interest in his or her employment under

the second test if there is a "clearly implied promise in their

continued employment." Shlay, 802 F.2d at 921, Perry v. Sin-

dermann, 408 U.S. 593 (1972). In cases regarding at will

employees, in order to demonstrate that there is an interest, a

plaintiff must show more than a "unilateral expectation" or

an "abstract need or desire" for the employment. Board of

Regents v. Roth, 408 U.S. 564, 577 (1972). In his amended

complaint, Phelan asserts that he was "hardworking, produc-

tive, and effective in the position of Ward Superintendent"

and that he "received favorable performance evaluations and

merit salary raises." Amended Complaint at par. 7. This

court has made it clear that these contentions are net enough

to meet the test for an implied contract. Specifically, in

Shlay, we stated that because the Chicago’s City Code expli-

citly defines different categories of employees as "career ser-

vice" or "career service exempt," other City employees can-

not make promises, implied or otherwise, of continued

employment that are contrary to the Code. Shlay, 802 F.2d

at 921-22 (discussing why a "career service exempt’

employee of the City of Chicago did not have a property

interest in his continued employment). Additionally, this

court found that other factors such as longevity of service,

| good performance reviews and periodic salary increases are

insufficient to show a property interest in continued employ-

ment. Id. at 922.

Phelan argues that under the notice pleading standard of

i the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, he need not state facts

to show that he has a property interest in his employment.

This court has noted that, although pleading standards are

relaxed, a plaintiff must still plead "sufficient facts . . . to

allow the district court to understand the gravamen of the

plaintiff's complaint." Kyle v. Morton High School, 144 F.3d

448, 455 (7th Cir. 1998) (quoting Doherty v. City of

App. 5

Chicago, 75 F.3d 318, 326 (7th Cir. 1996). Even under the

relaxed standards, Phelan has not met these minimum

requirements in light of our earlier holding in Shlay. . Based

on the pleadings, it is clear that he cannot show any facts to

prove that his Due Process rights were violated.

iV. FMLA Claim

Phelan’s second claim is that his dismissal violates the

FMLA. The district court granted the City’s motion to

dismiss this claim. We affirm the district court’s ruling.

Enacted in 1993, the FMLA was designed to allow

employees to take periods of leave from their jobs for vari-

ous health and family related reasons. In furtherance of this

goal, the Act allows both for the employee to take leave and

to be reinstated when his or her leave is finished.

Specifically, the Act allows a worker to take unpaid leave for

a period of up to twelve weeks for reasons that include the

birth of a child, the illness of an immediate family member,

or the serious health condition of the employee himself. 29

U.S.C. §2612(1). Upon return the employee is guaranteed

reinstatement to the employee’s original position or an

"equivalent position." 29 U.S.C. §2614(1). The FMLA, how-

ever, does not entitle any employee to "any right, benefit, or

position of employment other than . . . [that] which the

employee would have been entitled had the employee not

taken leave." 29 U.S.C. §1614(3).

In the case at hand, Phelan elected to take leave under the

FMLA for a period of time from September 12, 1997 to

October 16, 1997. When he returned to work in October, he

was terminated. The City states that prior to Phelan’s

absence, the quality of his work had been poor, and during

his absence the employee hired to fill in for Phelan was more

satisfactory. For these reasons, the City chose to terminate

Phelan.

In cases such as this where an employee is terminated

while taking FMLA leave, the trial court must determine

App. 6

whether the termination was illegally motivated by the

employee’s choice to take leave, or whether the termination

was motivated by other, valid reasons. Kohls v. Beverly

Enterprises Wisconsin, Inc., 259 F.3d 799, 804 (7th Cir.

2001). Specifically, we have stated that:

With no absolute right to reinstatement, whether an

employer violates the FMLA turns on why the

employee was not reinstated. Clearly, an employee

may not be fired because she took leave—that

would be in direct violation of the statute. How-

ever, an employee may be fired for poor perfor-

mance when she would have been fired for such

performance even absent her leave.

Id. at 805.

In this case, the distinction is an easy one. Plaintiff con-

cedes that he was terminated because of the poor quality of

his work. Appellant’s Brief at 14-15. The City noted reports

made by superiors that Phelan was not managing his assigned

ward correctly, that he was unable to work effectively with

others, and that he "simply wasn’t getting the job done."

Appellant’s Brief, Short Appendix, at 37. More specifically,

the City noted complaints against Phelan stating that he

relied too heavily on employees working under him, he was

difficult to get a hold of via radio or pager (the normal

means to contact ward superintendents), and he refused to

drive the city van during working hours; Phelan was ulti-

mately suspended for three days due to similar problems ©

prior to taking his medical leave. Id. at 33-35. Phelan

argues that his termination violates the FMLA because it was

made while he was on FMLA leave. More specifically,

Phelan asserts that the City decided to terminate him for poor

performance only after seeing how much better his temporary

replacement could perform his job. This, Phelan asserts, is

an improper motivation for his termination.

App. 7

This court directly addressed a similar situation in Kohls.

In that case, an employee at a nursing home took approxi-

mately two months of leave under the FMLA. Id. at 802.

While the employee was on leave, the nursing home hired a

replacement who performed the job better than the employee.

Id. When the employee returned to work, she was ter-

minated. Id. This court held that the termination did not

violate the FMLA, specifically noting that:

does not itself demonstrate that [the employee]

would not have been terminated if she had not

taken leave. [The employer] would have been enti-

tled to fire [the employee] for mismanagement and

mishandling of funds regardless of whether she had

taken leave or not.

Id. at 806. Put simply, an employee is not afforded greater

rights than he would otherwise have merely because he takes

FMLA leave. Hence, it is not in violation of the FMLA for

the City to dismiss Phelan for poor performance, regardless

of when the City came to that decision. For this reason, the

district court’s granting of the motion to dismiss was proper.

Phelan failed to allege any facts that, if taken as true, would

constitute a violation of the FMLA.

V. Equal Protection Claim

Finally, Phelan, a Caucasian man, argues that his dismis-

sal violated Equal Protection provided by the Fourteenth

Amendment and §1983 because the City of Chicago treated

him unfairly due to his race. The district court granted the

City’s motion for summary judgment regarding this claim.

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 makes it unlaw-

ful for an employer to "fail or refuse to hire or to discharge

any individual . . . because of such individual’s race... ."

42 U.S.C. §2000e-2(a)(1). An employee may show such

incidents of illegal discrimination through direct proof, or in

the absence of such proof, an employee may make a case

with sufficient indirect proof, and upon doing so, switch the

burden of proof to the employer. In this case, Phelan

App. 8

proceeds with indirect proof.

The first test developed by the Supreme Court for show-

ing employment discrimination through indirect proof was

established in McDonnell Douglas Corp. v. Green, 411 U.S.

792, 802 (1973). Under that decision, the plaintiff must first

demonstrate facts that build a prima facie case of discrimina-

tion. The prima facie case consists of a showing by the

plaintiff

(i) that he belongs to a racial minority; (ii) that he

applied and was qualified for a job for which the

employer was seeking applicants; (iii) that, despite

his qualifications, he was rejected; and (iv) that,

after his rejection, the position remained open and

the employer continued to seek applicants from per-

sons of complainant’s qualifications. '

McDonnell Douglas Corp., 411 U.S. at 802. Over time,

courts have modified the test to fit a variety of situations.

Recently, the Seventh Circuit modified the test to apply to

situations where members of majority groups believe they

were subject to employment discrimination. Mills v. Health

Care Service Corp., 171 F.3d 450, 457 (1999). This court

noted that in such cases of "reverse discrimination," the first

prong of the McDonnell test cannot be used. Id. In its stead,

a plaintiff must show “background circumstances" that

demonstrate that a particular employer has "reason or inclina-

tion to discriminate invidiously against whites" or evidence

that "there is something ‘fishy’ about the facts at hand." Id.

at 455 (quoting Harding v. Gray, 9 F.3d 150, 153 (D.C. Cir.

1993)).

Phelan argues that this new and different prong imposes

an unfair burden to non-minority plaintiffs since a non-

minority plaintiff must establish more facts to create the

prima facie case. Indeed, this circuit considered that issue in

determining how to modify the McDonnell Douglas test to fit

incidents concerning reverse discrimination. Mills v. Health

App. 9

Care Service Corp., 171 F.3d 450, 456-57 (7th Cir. 1999).

However, this court has recognized that discrimination by

employers against white men is a less common phenomenon

than discrimination against minorities. Id. For that reason,

in order to gain the substantial benefits conferred by the use

of the McDonnell Douglas test,! the non-minority plaintiff

must be able to plead facts to show why it is likely in this

case, that an employer had engaged in such unusual behavior.

This court stated explicitly that "this modified test is not to

be interpreted in a constricting fashion . . . [i]t in no way

precludes any plaintiff with direct evidence of discrimination

from bringing his claim." Id. at 457. Hence, Phelan must be

able to show direct evidence of the racial discrimination

waged against him, or meet all the elements of the prima

facie case as outlined in Mills.

Applying this modified prima facie test to the case at

hand, Phelan is unable to demonstrate the necessary "back-

ground circumstances"; that is to say, he does not state that

there is reason to believe his superiors within the City of

Chicago would be inclined to discriminate against white men.

Phelan is a white man; his superiors were white men; the

worker selected by these superiors to replace Phelan was a

white man. Additionally, Phelan cannot show that there was

anything "fishy" about his termination that would suggest

reverse discrimination. The City stated that an abundance of

poor work habits led to his dismissal. Phelan argues that the

1. The McDonnell Douglas test was created to remedy

discrimination against groups that have historically

suffered; the test is a powerful tool to do so because it

creates an inference of discrimination on the part of

employers in the absence of direct evidence of

discrimination. Id.

App. 10

City’s proffered reason was false, and alternatively that he

was dismissed because his replacement was better than him,

or that he was dismissed because of the criminal indictment

levied against him. Even if Phelan is correct in asserting that

the City misrepresented its "real" reason for terminating

Phelan in this way, neither of these alternate theories provide

"fishy" circumstances that raise an inference of racial

discrimination--or any illegal or improper behavior for that

matter.

Phelan also argues that according to a recent case, Hunt

v. City of Markham, Ill., 219 F.3d 649 (7th Cir. 2000), this

Circuit did not require a showing of unusual background cir-

cumstances. Phelan misunderstands this case. In Hunt, this

court did not apply the McDonnell Douglas ee because the

plaintiffs had direct evidence of discrimination,” and

For these reasons, we AFFIRM.

2. In their complaint, the plaintiffs stated that the city

officials openly discriminated against them and made such

statements as "it is the blacks’ turn to self-govern in

Markham, and if you are white, get out" and “it is our

turn; you are the minority now; you hence did not need

the aid of McDonnell Douglas. Id. at 652. Unlike Hunt,

Phelan does not offer any such direct proof. Had he done

so, he would be correct in arguing that he need not meet

the modified Mills test. In the absence of such an offer,

Hunt is of no help to Phelan.

4

§

4

b

App. 11

IN THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 02-3862

JAMES PHELAN

Plaintiff-Appellant,

v.

CITY OF CHICAGO,

Defendant-Appellee.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of Illinois

No. 99 CV 40 —lIan H. Levin Magistrate-Judge.

[October 21, 2003]

JUDGMENT — ORAL ARGUMENT

Honorable William J. Bauer, Circuit Judge

Honorable Michael S. Kanne, Circuit Judge

Honorable Terence T. Evans, Circuit Judge

The judgment of the District Court is AFFIRMED, with

costs, in accordance with the decision of this court entered on

this date.

App. 12

IN THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 02-3862

JAMES PHELAN

Plaintiff-Appellant,

v.

CITY OF CHICAGO,

Defendant-Appellee.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of Illinois

No. 99 CV 40 —Ian H. Levin Magistrate-Judge.

{November 21, 2003]

ORDER

Honorable William J. Bauer, Circuit Judge

Honorable Michael S. Kanne, Circuit Judge

Honorable Terence T. Evans, Circuit Judge

On consideration of the petition for rehearing and sugges-

tion for rehaering en banc filed in the above-captioned case

by plaintiff-appellant, all of the judges on the original panel

have voted to DENY the petition for rehearing and no judge

in active service has requested a vote ont he petition for

rehearing en banc.' Accordingly, the petition for rehearing

and suggestion for rehearing en banc is DENIED.

1. Chief Judge Joel M. Flaum took no part in the

consideration of this case.

ee ee

App. 13

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

EASTERN DIVISION

No. 99 CV 40

JAMES PHELAN

Plaintiff,

CITY OF CHICAGO,

Defendants.

MEMORANDUM OPINION AND ORDER

LEVIN, United States Magistrate Judge.

Plaintiff James Phelan ("Plaintiff") has brought a four-

count Amended Complaint alleging that his employment with

the City of Chicago ("City") was unlawfully terminated in

October of 1997. The City moves the court to dismiss Counts

I, II, and III of Plaintiff's Amended Complaint for failure to

state a claim upon which relief can be granted pursuant to

Fed.R.Civ.P. 12(b)(6). For the reasons set forth below, the

court grants the City’s motion to dismiss.

BACKGROUND FACTS

In 1992, Plaintiff was hired by the City as a police

officer. (Am.Compl. par. 5.) After Plaintiff took a leave of

absence from the City to serve as an Illinois State Represen-

tative, he graduated from the Chicago Police Academy in

September of 1993. (id.) In October of 1993, the Chicago

Police Department granted Plaintiff a leave of absence which

was extended through 1996. (Id.)

In November of 1995, while Plaintiff was on leave from

the Chicago Police Department, he was hired by the City’s

Department of Streets and Sanitation to work as Ward Super-

intendent for the 23rd Ward. (Am.Compl. par. 6.) Plaintiff

worked full-time as Ward Superintendent until July of 1997

(

App. 14

at which time he took leave because of personal health prob-

lems. (Id. par. 9.) Plaintiff exhausted all of his sick days

and was still unable to return to work. (Id.) In September of

1997, he applied for and was granted leave under the Family

and Medical Leave Act ("FMLA"). (Id. pars. 9-10.)

In September of 1997, Plaintiff was indicted for mail

fraud. (Am.Compl. par. 11.) The indictment did not involve

any allegations of misconduct related to Plaintiff's employ-

ment with the City. (Id.) Shortly after Plaintiff's indictment

was publicly announced, City personnel requested that Plain-

tiff resign from his position as Ward Superintendent. (Id. par.

12.) When Plaintiff refused to resign, the City informed him

that he was being terminated from his position effective

October 23, 1997. (Id. par. 13.) On the same day, Plaintiff

was reinstated to his Ward Superintendent position from

FMLA leave and his discharge from the Department of

Streets and Sanitation was processed. (Id. par. 14.)

On October 27, 1997, Plaintiff requested that the City

reinstate him to his position as probationary police officer.

4. par. 15.) The next day, the City delivered a letter to

Plaintiff stating that as of October 24, 1997 his "resignation

has been processed." (Id.) Plaintiff had at no time resigned

from the Chicago Police Department. (Id.) Plaintiff, subse-

quently, filed the subject Amended Complaint. As is pertinent

here, in Count I, Plaintiff alleges Fourteenth Amendment Due

Process and §1983 claims stating that he was terminated

from his position as Ward Superintendent, as to which he

alleges a protected property interest, because he was not

afforded notice of the termination and he was not given a

hearing prior to his discharge. (Am.Compl. par. 18.) In

Count II, Plaintiff alleges that he was terminated while on a

FMLA leave, in violation of the FMLA. (Id. par. 19.) In

Count III, Plaintiff alleges an equal protection and §1983

claim asserting that after his termination as Ward Superinten-

dent, he was not permitted to seek reinstatement as a police

officer due to intentional and arbitrary discrimination. (Id. p

App. 15

20.)

|.A MOTION TO DISMISS STANDARD

The purpose of a motion to dismiss under Fed.R.Civ.P.

12(b)(6) is to test the sufficiency of the complaint, and not to

decide its merits. Gibson v. City of Chicago, 910 F.2d 1510,

1520 (7th Cir. 1990). Courts read complaints liberally and a

motion to dismiss will be granted only if "it appears beyond

doubt that the plaintiff can prove no set of facts in support of

his claim which would entitle him to relief." Conley v. Gib-

son, 355 U.S. 41, 45-46 (1957). In reviewing a motion to

dismiss, the district court must treat all well-pleaded allega-

tions as being true and draw all reasonable inferences in the

light most favorable to the plaintiff. Henderson v. Sheahan,

196 F.3d 839, 845 (7th Cir. 1999), cert. denied, 530 U.S.

1244 (2000). "The issue is not whether a plaintiff will ulti-

mately prevail but whether the claimant is entitled to offer

evidence to support the claims." Scheuer v. Rhodes, 416 U.S.

232, 236 (1974).

At the same time, a plaintiff must include in the com-

plaint allegations concerning all material elements necessary

for recovery under the relevant legal theory. Chawla v.

Klapper, 743 F.Supp. 1284, 1285 (N-D.IIl. 1990). This

requirement, however, must be considered in light of the

federal system of notice pleading, which merely requires that

a plaintiff set out in the complaint a short and plain state-

ment of the claim that provides the defendant with fair notice

of what the claim is and the grounds upon which it rests.

McCormick v. City of Chicago, 230 F.3d 319, 323-26 (7th

Cir. 2000); Scott v. City of Chicago, 195 F.3d 950, 951 (7th

Cir. 1999). For fair notice to be given, "[a] complaint must

at least "include the operative facts upon which a plaintiff

bases his claims.’" Lucien v. Preiner, 967 F.2d 1166, 1168

(7th Cir. 1992) (quoting Rodgers v. Lincoln Towing Service,

Inc., 771 F.2d 194, 198 (7th Cir. 1985)). The issue the court

reviews is whether "sufficient facts [have been] pleaded to

allow the court and the defendants to understand the grava-

men of the plaintiff's complaint." Doherty . City of Chicago,

Seth Pu toa a. ey ee ee

App. 16

75 F.3d 318, 326 (7th Cir. 1996); Kyle v. Morton High Sch.,

144 F.3d 448, 455 (7th Cir. 1998).

ANALYSIS

lll. DUE PROCESS CLAIM (COUNT }).

il.A PLAINTIFF FAILS TO STATE A DUE PROCESS

CLAIM IN VIOLATION OF THE FOURTEENTH

AMENDMENT BECAUSE HE DOES NOT ALLEGE A

PROTECTED PROPERTY RIGHT.

For a plaintiff to assert a violation of the Due Process

Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment, he must demonstrate

that he has a protected property interest in his employment.

Bishop v. Wood, 426 U.S. 341 (1976); Board of Regents v.

Roth, 408 U.S. 564 (1972). A property interest requires

more than a "unilateral expectation" or "abstract need" for the

benefit sought. Roth, 408 U.S. at 577. To allege a property

interest, a plaintiff must "have a legitimate claim of entitle-

ment to it." Id. Such claims of entitlement are "created and

their dimensions are defined by existing rules or understand-

ings that stem from an independent source such as state

law—tules or understandings that secure certain benefits and

that support claims of entitlement to those benefits." Id.

Therefore, in order for a plaintiff to survive a motion to

dismiss a due process claim he "must be able to allege that

he has a constitutionally protected property interest in the

expectation of continued public employment; and the

existence of such an interest is determined by reference to

state law." McElearney v. Univ. of Illinois, 612 F.2d 285,

289-90 (7th Cir. 1979) (on defendant’s motion to dismiss,

"examination of relevant state law, consisting of state sta-

tutes, case law, and university statutes, establishes that there

is no protected property interest”).

Plaintiff rests his claim of entitlement to the Ward Super-

intendent position on Sections 2-100-110 and 2-74-060 of the

Municipal Code of Chicago ("Municipal Code"). (Am.Compl.

par.7.) However, neither provision supports Plaintiff's claim.

App. 17

Section 2-100-110 of the Municipal Code does no more than

refer to Ward Superintendents as employees of the Depart-

ment of Streets and Sanitation. Section 2-74-060 provides

for hearings for City employees, but by its express terms, it

- applies only to "career service" employees. It states in per-

tinent part:

The personnel board, a member thereof, or a hearing

officer appointed by the board shall conduct a hearing of

all appeals by any career service employee of discharge,

demotion, or suspension for a period of more than ten

days upon request of the employee, and may provide by

rule for review of suspensions of ten days or less.

(emphasis added.)

Section 2-74-060 is consistent with Section 2-74-050(12)

of the Municipal Code which gives the City’s Commissioner

of Personnel the power to issue personnel rules that provide,

inter alia,

(12) For the establishment of disciplinary measures such

as suspension, demotion in rank or grade, or discharge.

For all permanent employees in the career service, such

measures shall provide a statement of the charges on

which discipline is based, together with an explanation of

the evidence supporting the charges and an opportunity for

the employee to respond to the charges in writing before

action is taken, appeals after such disciplinary action, and

a hearing on the charges upon request of the employee in

case of discharge, demotion, or suspension exceeding 30

days, consistent with the requirements of due process of

law. (emphasis added.)

The Municipal Code sections relied on by Plaintiff thus

clearly create property rights only with respect to "career ser-

vice" City employees. ! The Code does not provide

App. 18

procedures for non-career service employees to challenge

their termination, nor does it provide that non-career service

employees may be discharged only "for cause." See also

Misek v. City of Chicago, 783 F.2d 98, 99-100 (7th Cir.

1986) (plaintiffs were found to have property interests in

their jobs, because they were career service employees.)

Because Plaintiff has not alleged that he was a career service

employee and has pleaded no other alleged basis for a pro-

tected property right in his job’ he has not established a basis

of entitlement to his position as Ward Superintendent within

the meaning of the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment.°

1. See Section 2-74-030 of the Municipal Code establishing

classifications of City employees, including career service

employees (Section 2-74-030(13)) and career service

exempt employees (Section 2-74- 303(12)).

See, e.g., Shlay v. Montgomery, 802 F.2d 918, 921 (7th

Cir. 1986).

3. The Amended Complaint refers once to unspecified "City

of Chicago Personnel Rules." (Am. Compl. par. 18; see

also Pl.’s Resp. Mem. at 3.) This appears to be referring

to the subject Municipal Code. In any event, besides this

"Rule" reference being inappropriately conclusory, it

suffices to say that these Personnel rules are issued

pursuant to the same Municipal Code discussed herein

(Section 2-74-050) and thus doesn’t create greater rights

than already discussed herein regarding that Municipal

Code.

i)

App. 19

1.8 ALTERNATIVELY: PLAINTIFF FAILS TO PLEAD AN

UNLAWFUL MUNICIPAL POLICY UNDER §1983 AS

TO HIS DUE PROCESS CLAIM.

In order for a plaintiff to state a §1983 claim against a

municipality, he must allege the existence of a municipal

policy or custom which caused the alleged violation. Monell

v. Dep’t of Soc. Servs. of the City of New York, 436 US.

658, 690-91 (1978). A municipality can be liable under

§1983 only where its policy(s) is the "moving force" behind

the constitutional violation; i.e., the city’s policy must be the

source of the discrimination. Samuel v. City of Chicago, 41

F.Supp.2d 808, 810 (N.D.IIl. 1999) and cases there cited. To

allege that a municipal policy has violated an individual’s

civil rights under §1983, a plaintiff needs to set forth (1) an

express policy that, when enforced, causes a constitutional

deprivation; or (2) a widespread practice that, although not

authorized by express municipal policy, is so permanent and

well-settled that it amounts to a custom with the force of

law: or (3) a constitutional injury caused by a person with

final policymaking authority. Baxter by Baxter v. Vigo

County Sch. Corp., 26 F.3d 728, 734-35 (7th Cir. 1994).

Plaintiffs in a §1983 case against a municipality, though,

are required to comply only with the conventional standards

of notice pleading; they are not required to meet any

heightened pleading standard. Leatherman v. Tarrant County

Narcotics Intelligence and Coordination Unit, 507 U.S. 163,

165 (1993). Plaintiffs need not “allege all, or any of the

facts logically entailed by the claim ... A plaintiff does not

have to plead evidence ... [A] complaint does not fail to state

a claim merely because it does not set forth a complete and

convincing picture of the alleged wrongdoing." American

Nurses’ Assoc. v. Illinois, 783 F.2d 716, 727 (7th Cir. 1986).

A plaintiff, nevertheless, must do more than plead an empty

allegation of municipal policy to state a §1983 claim. Taylor

v. City of Chicago, 1997 WL 51445, at *2 (N.D.Ill. Feb. 3,

1997); (citing Doherty, 75 F.3d at 326; McTigue v. City of

Chicago, 60 F.3d 381, 382 (7th Cir. 1995)). "Boilerplate

App. 20

allegations of a municipal policy, entirely lacking in any fac-

tual support that a city policy does exist, are insufficient."

Sivard v. Pulaski County, 17 F.3d 185, 188 (7th Cir. 1994).

A plaintiff must plead operative facts which form the basis of

the claim. McCormick, 230 F.3d at 325.

In the Amended Complaint here, however, there is no

mention at all of a municipal "policy." Thus, there simply is

no allegation, conclusory or factual, to support a §1983 due

process policy claim against the City here.* Moreover,

Plaintiff's citation of Sledd v. Lindsay, 102 F.3d 282 (7th

Cir. 1996) and Lanigan vy. Village of East Hazel Crest, 110

F.3d 467 (7th Cir. 1997), respectfully, is misplaced. In both

of these cases, unlike here, the plaintiffs expressly alleged

that the municipalities had maintained certain official policies

that violated the plaintiff’s civil rights.

IV. PLAINTIFF FAILS TO ALLEGE A VIABLE CLAIM

UNDER THE FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE ACT

(COUNT Il)

In Count II, Plaintiff alleges that he was terminated from

his position as Ward Superintendent while on a FMLA leave,

in violation of the FMLA. 29 U.S.C. s 2601 et seq.

(Am.Compl.p 19.) The City argues that this allegation is

insufficient, even under federal notice pleading standards, to

state a claim under the FMLA. (Def.’s Mem. at 8.) The

court agrees.

4. In fact, the Amended Complaint, in essence, alleges not

that City policy caused a deprivation (as is required), but

that the City’s act of discharging Plaintiff without notice

or a hearing actually runs counter to City policy.

(Am.Compl. pars. 14, 18.)

App. 21

Plaintiff does not allege he was discharged because he

sought or took an FMLA leave; rather, Plaintiff alleges only

that he was discharged "while on a FMLA leave."

(Am.Compl.p 19.) The FMLA, however, prevents employers

only from discriminating against employees for requesting

leave authorized by the Act. 29 U.S.C. s 2617; Hypes v.

First Commerce Corp., 134 F.3d 721, 725-26 (Sth Cir. 1998).

Therefore, if, as here, Plaintiff fails to allege that his

discharge was motivated by his request for leave there is no

liability under the FMLA. Id. See also Bennett v. Schmidt,

153 F.3d 516, 518 (7th Cir. 1998). Under the FMLA, there is

no absolute right not to be discharged while on such a leave.

Kariotis v. Navistar Int’! Transp. Corp., 131 F.3d 672, 681

(7th Cir. 1997) (employee has "no greater right to reinstate-

ment or to other benefits and conditions of employment than

if employee had been continuously employed during the

FMLA leave period," citing 29 C.F.R. s 825.216(a)). See also

Clay v. City of Chicago, 143 F.3d 1092, 1094 (7th Cir. 1998)

(plaintiff, who was not reinstated to her job on returning

from FMLA, but instead was advised she would be

discharged, could not show her discharge was for taking

FMLA leave and therefore could not prove a violation of the

statute).

In short, Plaintiff has not alleged any legal wrong under

the FMLA.

V. EQUAL PROTECTION CLAIM (COUNT Ill)

V.A PLAINTIFF HAS FAILED TO ALLEGE AN EQUAL

PROTECTION CLAIM.

Plaintiff alleges that his Fourteenth Amendment equal

protection rights were violated when he was discharged and

not reinstated to his former position as police officer. (Def.’s

Mem. at 4.) Initially, Plaintiff is not alleging an equal protec-

tion claim based on his membership in a particular class or

vulnerable group. See, e.g., New Burnham Prairie Homes,

Inc. v. Village of Burnham, 910 F.2d 1474, 1481-82 (7th Cir.

1990); Smith v. Town of Eaton, 910 F.2d 1469, 1472 (7th

—

TS

AIRE SESE Bar 0 ae Secale

ieee, PAAR

ak:

App. 22

Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 499 U.S. 962 (1991). Also, the City

notes, inter alia, that Plaintiff has not alleged any fundamen-

tal right that he is seeking to protect. Accordingly, where, as

here, there is no suspect classification or fundamental right

asserted, the government action that has been challenged is

not subject to strict scrutiny. Instead, that action need only

bear a rational relationship to a legitimate governmental pur-

pose. Turner v. Glickman, 207 F.3d 419, 424 (7th Cir. 2000);

Wroblewski y. City of Washburn, 965 F.2d 452, 458 (7th Cir.

1992).

When applying the described rational basis standard,

courts presume that the challenged governmental action is

constitutional. Wroblewski, 965 F.2d at 459 (citing City of

New Orleans v. Dukes, 427 U.S. 297, 303 (1976)). Review

under the rational basis test "is not a license for courts to

judge the wisdom, fairness or logic" of the government

action. FCC v. Beach Comm., Inc., 508 U.S. 307, 313 (1993).

For a plaintiff to overcome the presumption of rationality, he

must meet a heavy burden of showing that the challenged

governmental action was "completely ludicrously arbitrary."

Pontarelli Limousine, Inc. v. City of Chicago, 929 F.2d 339,

342 (7th Cir. 1991).

Plaintiff expressly recognizes that as an essential element

of his equal protection claim he must allege that there is “no

rational basis" for the City’s acts. (Pl.’s Resp. Mem. at 5,

quoting Village of Willowbrook v. Olech, 528 U.S. 562

(2000).) Plaintiff, however, has not alleged an absence of

rational basis for the City’s acts.- In fact, to the contrary,

5. To make out a prima facie case of "no rational basis" in a

class of one "equal protection" case, the plaintiff, very

strictly, must present that the defendant deliberately

sought to deprive the plaintiff of equal protection for

reasons "of a personal nature" unrelated to the duties of

the defendant’s position. Hilton v. City of Wheeling, 209

3

s

‘

App. 23

Plaintiff does not dispute the City’s point that a rational basis

existed for the discharge; that is, Plaintiff was indicted on

federal mail fraud charges. Accordingly, Plaintiff has failed

to state an equal protection claim regarding his subject termi-

nation.

V.B PLAINTIFF’S EQUAL PROTECTION CLAIM IS

BARRED BY THE STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS

As seen, Plaintiff alleges the City failed to reinstate him

to a position as a police officer, in violation of the equal pro-

tection clause. (Am.Compl. par. 20.) Even, arguendo, if

Plaintiff's equal protection claim were otherwise viable, how-

ever, this claim is untimely.

The statute of limitations for §1983 claims in Illinois is

two years. Northen v. City of Chicago, 126 F.3d 1024, 1026

(7th Cir. 1997). Plaintiff did not allege in his original com-

plaints in this cause that he unlawfully was denied reinstate-

ment to a position as police officer. That adverse employ-

ment action was raised for the first time in his Amended

Complaint filed on or about August 4, 2000. Plaintiff alleges

he was denied reinstatement on October 28, 1997

(Am.Compl. par. 15), more than two years before the

Amended Complaint was filed. That claim, therefore, is time

barred and subject to dismissal. See e.g., Kauthar SDN BHD

v. Sternberg, 149 F.3d 659, 670 (7th Cir. 1998); Tregenza v.

Great Amer. Communications Co., 12 F.3d 717, 718 (7th Cir.

1993).

aR NS ea CT LI ET) AR a EH WR RD ee ae Ee Ibe ee Oy Rae me Sk

F.3d 1005, 1008 (7th Cir. 2000). This must entail

"vindictive action" which requires proof of a "totally

illegitimate animus" toward the plaintiff by the defendant.

Id.

a ek GS Pee

Bp Ae AS a es

oe

5

4

v4

4

3

BK

i

|

e

4

iy

|

3

cad

rR

4

y

‘

“a

a

4

x

re

App. 24

Citing Rule 15(c)(2)° Plaintiff contends that his discharge

as a probationary police officer is not limitations barred as it

arose out of the "same conduct, transaction or occurrence" as

his discharge as Ward Superintendent set forth in the original

pleading(s) herein. The court finds, however, that Plaintiff’ s

claim that the Chicago Police Department failed to rehire him

as a police officer does not relate back to the claim that the

Department of Streets and Sanitation discharged him from his

employment as Ward Superintendent. These separate

employment actions at different times by different City

departments involving different jobs do not constitute the

"same conduct, transaction or occurrence" under Rule

15(c)(2).

V.C ALTERNATIVELY: PLAINTIFF FAILS TO PLEAD AN

UNLAWFUL POLICY UNDER §1983 AS TO HIS

EQUAL PROTECTION CLAIM.

This §1983 equal protection policy claim of Plaintiff's

falls for the same reason(s) set forth in Plaintiff's §1983 due

process claim, (Section I.B, supra.) Accordingly, Section I.B

of this opinion, supra, is incorporated herein by reference

(except for Footnote 4 thereunder).

CONCLUSION

In view of the foregoing, the City’s motion to dismiss

Counts I, II, and III of Plaintiff's Amended Complaint is

granted.

6. 15(c)(2) Fed.R.Civ.P.

App. 25

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

' NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

EASTERN DIVISION

No. 99 CV 40

JAMES PHELAN

Plaintiff,

CITY OF CHICAGO,

Defendants.

MEMORANDUM OPINION AND ORDER

LEVIN, United States Magistrate Judge.

Plaintiff James Phelan ("Plaintiff") seeks recovery against

Defendant City of Chicago (the "City") for reverse race

discrimination in violation of Title VII of the Civil Rights

Act of 1964, as amended, 42 U.S.C. s 2000e et seq. Pending

before the Court is the City’s Motion for Summary Judge-

ment. For the reasons set forth below, the Court grants the

City’s Motion for Summary Judgment.

BACKGROUND FACTS

Plaintiff was first hired by the City as a police officer in

1992. (2nd. Am.Compl.par. 4.) After Plaintiff took a leave

of absence from the City to serve as an Illinois State

Representative, he graduated from the Chicago Police

Academy in September of 1993. (Id.) In October of 1993,

the Chicago Police Department granted Plaintiff a leave of

absence, which was subsequently extended for twelve month

periods in 1994, 1995, and 1996. (Id. par. 6.)

On November 1, 1995, while Plaintiff was on leave from

the Chicago Police Department, he was hired by the City’s

Department of Streets and Sanitation to fill the Ward Super-

intendent position for the 23rd Ward. (2nd. Am.Compl.par.

7.) Eileen J. Carey (Caucasian), the Commissioner of the

2 aaaaaaaaOOEOOOOOeee EEO eee

ae

App. 26

Department of Streets and Sanitation, interviewed Plaintiff

and made the decision to hire him for the Ward Superinten-

dent position.! (Def.’s LR56. 1(a)(3) St. par. 15, 18.) In his

position as Ward Superintendent, Plaintiff typically super-

vised two Refuse Collection Coordinators and twenty-two

| laborers who operated ten garbage trucks and one street

sweeper. (Def.’s LR56. 1(a)(3) St. par. 22.) Plaintiff s

immediate supervisor was Thomas Ryan (Caucasian), the

i Superintendent for Division IV of the Bureau of Sanitation,

{ Department of Streets and Sanitation. (Id. par. 19.) Ryan

i reported to Michael Picardi (Caucasian), the General Superin-

tendent for the Department of Streets and Sanitation, Bureau

of Sanitation. (Id. par. 20.) Picardi reported to Sanchez who

in turn reported to Carey.” (Id.)

‘ Plaintiff worked full-time as Ward Superintendent until

June of 1997, when he took a leave of absence because of

; personal health problems. (Def.’s LR56. 1(a)(3) St. par. 50;

: Catharine Mullen Hennessy Aff. par. 3.) Subsequently, in

j September of 1997, while Plaintiff was still on leave, he

; applied for and was granted leave under the Family and

{ Medical Leave Act ("FMLA"). (Id.) In September of 1997,

: Plaintiff was indicted for mail fraud. (2nd. Am.Compl.par.

15.) The indictment did not involve any allegations of

1. Alfred Sanchez (Hispanic), Deputy Commissioner of the

‘ Department of Streets and Sanitation also interviewed

: Plaintiff for the Ward Superintendent position and

; recommended to Carey that she hire Plaintiff. (Def.’s

: LR56. 1(a)(3) St. par. 16, 17.)

William Bresnahan (Caucasian) was the Assistant

Commissioner of the Department of Streets and Sanitation

during the relevant period. (Def.’s LR56. 1(a)(3) St. par.

at)

nN

App. 27

misconduct related to Plaintiff's employment with the City.

(Id.) Plaintiff was subsequently acquitted of the mail fraud

charges. (Id.)

In October of 1997, when Plaintiff returned from his

leave of absence, Carey terminated him because of his poor

performance.” (Def.’s LRS56. 1(a)(3) St. par. 59.) Carey

informed Bresnahan of her decision to terminate Plaintiff's

employment, and explained that a change was being made

with the Ward Superintendent in the 23rd Ward. (Id. par. 60.)

On October 16, 1997, Plaintiff and his attorney met with

Bresnahan and Sanchez. (Def.’s LR56. 1(a)(3) St. par. 63.)

During the meeting, Plaintiff was given a termination letter

and told by Sanchez that he was being terminated because he

was an ineffective Ward Superintendent. (Id. par. 64.) Upon

the advice of his attorney, Plaintiff signed the termination

letter and Bresnahan provided Plaintiff with a copy of the

letter. (Id. par. 65.) Plaintiff's reinstatement from his leave

of absence and termination were processed with an effective

date of October 23, 1997. (Id. par. 66.)

3. The issues involving Plaintiff’s poor performance included

the fact that he could not get his ward cleaned in a timely

manner; his superiors’ were unable to locate him when he

was suppose to be accessible; he was not able to answer

basic questions regarding the status of his ward’s clean-up

efforts; his reliance on two coordinators working under

him; and his refusal to use the assigned City van during

working hours. (See Def.’s LR56. 1(a)(3) St. paras. 25,

2d, Gs ey Dy ey OT)

dh i A Si ae ete, eSpace PE ad oss

App. 28

LEGAL STANDARD

Summary judgment is appropriate where "the pleadings,

depositions, answers to interrogatories, and admissions on

file, together with affidavits, if any, show that there is no

genuine issue as to any material fact and that the moving

party is entitled to judgment as a matter of law."

Fed.R.Civ.P. 56(c). See also Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477

U.S. 317, 322, 106 S.Ct. 2548, 91 L.Ed. 2d 265 (1986). Once

the moving party has produced evidence to show that it is

entitled to summary judgment, the party seeking to avoid

such judgment must affirmatively demonstrate that a genuine

issue of material fact remains for trial. LINC v.Fin. Corp. v.

Onwuteaka, 129 F.3d 917, 920 (7th Cir. 1997).

In deciding a motion for summary judgment, a court must

"review the record in the light most favorable to the

nonmoving party and to draw all reasonable inferences in

that party’s favor." Vanasco v. National-Louis Univ., 137

F.3d 962, 964 (7th Cir. 1998). See also Anderson v. Liberty

Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 255, 106 S.Ct. 2505, 91 L.Ed. 2d

202 (1986). Nevertheless, the nonmovant may not rest upon

mere allegations, but "must set forth specific facts showing

that there is a genuine issue for trial." Fed.R.Civ.P. 56(e).

See also LINC, 129 F.3d at 920. A genuine issue of material

fact is not shown by the mere existence of "some alleged

factual dispute between the parties," Anderson, 477 U.S. at

247, 106 S.Ct. 2505, 91 L.Ed. 2d 202 or by “some

metaphysical doubt as to the material facts." Matsushita Elec.

Indus. Co. v. Zenith Radio Corp., 475 U.S. 574, 586, 106

S.Ct. 1348, 89 L.Ed. 2d 538 (1986). Rather, a genuine issue

of material fact exists only if "a fair-minded jury could return

a verdict for the [nonmoving party] on the evidence

presented." Anderson, 477 U.S. at 252, 106 S.Ct. 2505, 91

L.Ed. 2d 202.

"(SJummary judgment is improper in a discrimination

case where a material issue involves any weighing of

conflicting indications of motive and intent." Stumph v.

App. 29

Thomas & Skinner, Inc., 770 F. 2d 93, 97 (7th Cir. 1985),

citing, Kephart v. Inst. of Gas Tech., 630 F. 2d 1217, 1218

(7th Cir. 1980). On the other hand, the Seventh Circuit in

Palucki v. Sears, Roebuck & Co., 879 F. 2d 1568, 1573 (7th

Cir. 1989) explained that summary judgment can be

appropriate in employment discrimination cases when:

. realization that Title VII is occasionally or perhaps

more than occasionally used by plaintiffs as a substitute

for principles of job protection that do not yet exist in

American law, [has] led the courts to take a critical look

at efforts to withstand ... summary judgment. A district

judge faced with such a motion must decide ..._ whether

the state of the evidence is such that, if the case were tried

tomorrow, the plaintiff would have a fair chance of

obtaining a verdict. If not, the motion should be granted

and the case dismissed.

ANALYSIS

I. MOTION TO STRIKE

Plaintiff first moves to strike over forty paragraphs of the

City’s Statement of Undisputed Material Facts submitted in

support of its Motion for Summary Judgment. For the fol-

lowing reasons, the Court denies, in part, and grants, in part,

Plaintiff's Motion to Strike.

Plaintiff first contends that the facts delineated in para-

graphs 10-14, 16, 17, 19-21, 23-43, 49, 53-62 and 80 should

be stricken because they are not "of consequence" pursuant to

Rule 401 of the Federal Rules of Evidence to a determination

of whether the City is entitled to summary judgment because

they primarily relate to performance problems which Plaintiff

claims are irrelevant or unknown by Carey, the decision-

maker in this case. (Fed.R.Evid.401.) Plaintiff asserts that

the cited factual contentions identifying those individuals

who interviewed or supervised him as well as those conten-

tions delineating the races of the previous Ward Superinten-

dents (including the subject 23rd Ward) have no bearing on

Pe te Se ee Ne ee, ee eee

Radeeacria ike ican 08

EME iced Vote Solent ad @ adeeb edo lbs phir ice Use al

App. 30

any issue in this case. (Pl.’s Mot. to Strike at 1-2.)

The Court disagrees with Plaintiff and finds that because

one of the prima facie issues in this case is whether Plaintiff

was performing his job according to the City’s legitimate

expectations, evidence concerning Plaintiff's Pesrormianes: is

clearly relevant, material and "of consequence" to the wend S

determination of the subject summary judgment motion. 4 The

Court also notes that even though Carey may not have been

aware of every incident involving Plaintiff's performance,

information concerning Plaintiff's poor performance was

communicated to her through Plaintiff's superiors and is

clearly "of consequence" the determination of whether he was

performing his job satisfactorily. Furthermore, the identity of

those individuals who interviewed or supervised Plaintiff as

well as a delineation of the races of the previous Ward

Superintendents is clearly relevant in a reverse race discrimi-

nation action.

Plaintiff contends that paragraphs 10-12 should be

stricken because they constitute expert opinion regarding the

job responsibilities of a Ward Superintendent and the City

has not complied with the expert disclosure requirements of

Rule 26(a)(2) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. (Pl.’s

Mot. to Strike at 3; Fed.R.Civ.P. 26(a)(2).) The Court, how-

ever, finds that Plaintiff’s assertion is without merit, in that,

the Affidavit statement (which is the basis for paragraphs

10-12) made by Plaintiff's supervisor (Ryan) would be

viewed by the Court as lay testimony that is not subject to

the expert disclosure requirements of Rule 26(a)(2).

4. The Court strikes paragraph 21 of the City’s Statement of

Undisputed Material Facts because it is irrelevant to the

Court’s determination of the subject motion.

App. 31

Plaintiff asserts that paragraphs 37, 40-43, 49; 53, and

56-59 should be stricken because they are based on self-

serving and conclusory assertions contained in affidavits.

(Pl.’s Motion to Strike at 3-4.) The Court, however, finds

that the above-cited paragraphs should not be stricken

because the subject affidavits comply with Rule 56(e) of the

Federal Rules of Civi! Procedure, in that, they are based on

the personal knowledge (of a witness competent to testify)

and set forth admissible facts. (Fed.R.Civ.P.56(e).)

Specifically, the affidavits signed by Eileen Carey, Thomas

Ryan, Alfred Sanchez, William Bresnahan, and Catharine

Mullen Hennessey, which the subject paragraphs are based

on, demonstrate compliance with the federal rule. The Court

also notes that some of the above-cited paragraphs referenced

by the Plaintiff do not cite to any affidavits (i.e., paragraphs

40-43, 56 and 59); rather, they are based on deposition tes-

timony.

Plaintiff next asserts that paragraphs 10-12, 37, 38, 40-43,

49, 53-60, and 61 should be stricken because they are based

on inadmissible evidence. (Pl.’s Mot. to Strike at 4.) As

determined by the Court supra, paragraphs 37, 40-43, 49, 53,

and 56-59 are based on affidavit and/or deposition testimony

which complies with Rule 56(e); consequently, the factual

contentions constitute admissible evidence.

(Fed.R.Civ.P.56(e).) Furthermore, paragraphs 10-12, 38, 60,

and 61 contain relevant factual contentions based on admissi-

ble affidavit and/or deposition testimony; therefore, the Court

will not strike them.

Plaintiff further asserts that paragraphs 38, 54, 55, and

60-62 should be stricken because they contain inadmissible

hearsay since they describe conversations between various

City employees concerning Plaintiff's performance. (Pl.’s

Mot. to Strike at 4.) The Court disagrees. The Court finds

that these statements are not being offered for the truth of the

matter asserted and are not inadmissible. See e.g., Brill v.

Lante Corp., 119 F.3d 1266, 1271 (7th Cir. 1997) (holding

hh rid ariteh wee iW ek Lesko

err Lat e ets LAS, SS We

SS Fa aS SS SONNET Rn ree ene teh Oe O ORT Beret way eee eee Seem ETE!

App. 32

that out-of-court statements concerning an employee’s perfor-

mance problems did not constitute inadmissible hearsay

because they went to the issue of the employer’s honest

belief concerning such problems.)

ll. RACE DISCRIMINATION CLAIM

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 makes it unlaw-

ful for an employer "to fail or refuse to hire or to discharge

any individual, or otherwise discriminate against any indivi-

dual with respect to his compensation, terms, conditions, or

privileges of employment, because of such individual’s race

..." 42 U.S.C. s 2000e-2(a)(1). In order to prove a case of

race discrimination under Title VII, Plaintiff must offer direct

evidence of discrimination or, if he is unable to do so, he

may use the indirect, burden-shifting approach set forth in

McDonnell Douglas Corp. v. Green, 411 U.S. 792, 802-05,

93 S.Ct. 1817, 36 L.Ed. 2d 668 (1973). Because Plaintiff

has not offered any direct evidence of discrimination, his

case is governed by the McDonnell Douglas indirect,

burden-shifting approach.

Under the McDonnell Douglas burden-shifting frame-

work, Plaintiff must first establish a prima facie case of

reverse race discrimination. Ferguson v. Robert R. McCor-

mick-,Tribune Found., 108 F.Supp. 2d 1033, 1038 (N.D.II.

2000) ("... plaintiff has the initial burden of establishing a

prima facie case of reverse discrimination"); Paulos-Johnson

y. Advocate Trinity Hosp., No. 01 C 3639, 2002 WL 230908,

at *5 (N.D.Ill. Feb. 15, 2002). In order to establish a prima

facie case of reverse race discrimination using the McDonnell

5. Plaintiff concedes that he has no direct evidence of race

discrimination and that he must proceed via the indirect

McDonnell Douglas burden shifting-method.

App. 33

Douglas framework, Plaintiff must show that: (1) back-

ground circumstances exist which support an inference that

the City is one of those unusual employers who discriminates

against the majority; (2) he was meeting the City’s legitimate

performance expectations (i.e., he was performing his job

satisfactorily); (3) he was subjected to an adverse empioy-

ment action; and (4) the City treated similarly situated

employees outside the protected class more favorably. Mills

v. Health Care Serv. Corp., 171 F.3d 450, 455-57 (7th Cir.

1999); Ferguson, 108 F.Supp. 2d at 1038; Paulos-Johnson,

2002 WL 230908, at *5-6.

If Plaintiff establishes a prima facie case, the burden of

production shifts to the City to produce a legitimate, non-

discriminatory reason for its adverse employment action.

Texas Dep’t of Community Affairs v. Burdine, 450 U.S. 248,

254, 101 S.Ct. 1089, 67 L.Ed. 2d 207 (1981); Vakharia v.

Swedish Covenant Hosp., 190 F.3d 799, 806 (7th Cir. 1999).

The City must produce "evidence which, taken as true, would

permit the conclusion that there was a nondiscriminatory rea-

son for the adverse action." St. Mary’s Honor Center vy.

Hicks, 509 U.S. 502, 509, 113 S.Ct. 2742, 125 L.Ed. 2d 407

(1993) (emphasis in original). If the City sets forth a legiti-

mate justification for its action, the burden then shifts back to

Plaintiff to prove that the City’s reason is a pretext for

discrimination. Texas Dep’t of Community Affairs, 450 U.S.

at 255-56, 101 S.Ct. 1089, 67 L.Ed. 2d 207; Vakharia, 190

F.3d at 806-07. The ultimate burden of persuasion remains

at all times with Plaintiff. St. Mary’s Honor Center, 509

U.S. at 507, 113 S.Ct. 2742, 125 L.Ed. 2d 407. For the rea-

sons stated below, Plaintiff has failed to establish a prima

facie case of reverse race discrimination under Title VII

because he has not met the first, second and fourth elements

recited above. In any event, Plaintiff has also not shown

pretext herein. Therefore, Plaintiff’s reverse race discrimina-

tion claim is unavailing.

sata ita Wace ace Whack ALS a. hl Bi PU eats

1th ARO RCS ELE EN SAIGON a ANAS th nae Dragnet

:

3

a

i

a4

=

|

4

CAP a AD CEN i, ne eae OA

Stele) SHU

BdiaetiaReiciact Weoadtiowcs

VASE eee

= ‘ F

feet oe Aas cate te I gn a 4 tibet ebb nek Gon Lia Die edt

SPN se AR aE Sete

RAST peAB Deb EAE pnb Anika: ec yet atin LAB

App. 34

A. Background Circumstances

Plaintiff initially argues that he was treated differently

because of his race (Caucasian), such that, the City would

not have discharged a similarly situated African-American or

Hispanic Ward Superintendent. (Pl.’s Mem. at 3.) Moreover,

Plaintiff contends that the City has attempted to cover up the

real reason for why he was terminated. (Id. at 1.)

In order to establish a prima facie case of reverse

discrimination, the Seventh Circuit has ruled that Caucasian

plaintiffs must establish background circumstances

"support[ing] an inference that the defendant is one of those

unusual employers who discriminates against the majority."

Mills, 171 F.3d at 455 (citation omitted); see also Ferguson,

108 F.Supp. 2d at 1038; Paulos-Johnson, 2002 WL 230908,

at *5-6.© Such background circumstances include evidence

6. Plaintiff contends that the Seventh Circuit in Hunt v. City

of Markham, 219 F.3d 649 (7th Cir. 2000) rejected the

Mills formulation of the prima facie requirements in

reverse discrimination cases. (Pl.’s Mem. at 4-5.) The

Seventh Circuit, however, did no such thing. Rather,

Hunt involved a situation where the plaintiffs presented

direct evidence of discrimination in the form of racist

comments by City officials. Id. at 652-53. As a result,

there was no need for the Seventh Circuit to address the

prima facie elements that must be established where the

plaintiff has no direct evidence of discrimination. Plaintiff

also contends that even though he is Caucasian, the Court

should not view this case as a reverse discrimination case

because it does not arise out of efforts to redress

discrimination through affirmative action. (Pl.’s Mem. at

3-4.) In Hunt, however, the Seventh Circuit recognized

that race discrimination claims by Caucasian plaintiffs

constitute “reverse race discrimination" claims, even if

such claims do not "arise out of efforts to redress historic

App. 35

that the employer has, some reason or inclination to discrim-

inate against the majority (i.e., Caucasians), or evidence that

there is something "fishy" (or strange) about the facts of the

case. Mills, 171 F.3d at 455 (citations omitted); Ferguson,

108 F.Supp. 2d at 1038. Moreover, in Mills, the Seventh

Circuit noted that "if a plaintiff cannot show background cir-

cumstances, but "has established a logical reason to believe

that the [employer’s] decision rests on a legally forbidden

ground,’ such as his race ... he may shift the burden to the

defendant to prove that the challenged employment action

was actually based on legitimate, non- discriminatory rea-

sons." Id. at 457 (citation omitted).

Plaintiff has failed to establish the first element (back-

ground circumstances) of his prima facie case of reverse

discrimination, as there is nothing in the record to indicate

that Plaintiff's employer had any reason or inclination to

discriminate against Caucasians, the facts of the case are

strange, or the City’s decision rests on a legally forbidden

ground.’ In fact, the record evidence favors the City on this

injustices or mitigate racial tensions ..." Hunt, 219 F.3d at

651.

7. Herein, Plaintiff contends that the recent "adjudication of

discrimination by [the City of Chicago] against white

firefighters" (Pl.’s Mem. at 5 n. 3) in Cloud v. City of

Chicago, No. 88 CV 3773, 2002 WL 1160930 (N.D.III.

May 31, 2002) constitutes evidence of background

circumstances. The Court, however, notes that Cloud

involved an entirely different department of the City of

Chicago (the fire department), different decision-makers, a

different type of discrimination (failure-to- promote), and

a different period of time (including actions dating back

to the late 1980’s and early 1990s).

pics ui cay wtnihs adh pts

A SE COBEN CPR PR STN oh

wit a Sel ha ate As Linn weal Rs Riad EE beware micas.

aay Vane

App. 36

first element. For example, the facts in the case show that:

(1) the majority of Ward Superintendents employed by the

City between January 1, 1995 and December 31, 1997 were

Caucasian:® (2) the 23rd Ward never employed a non- Cauca-

sian Ward Superintendent; (3) Plaintiff was replaced on both

a temporary and permanent basis by Caucasian Ward Super-

intendents; (4) all but one of the individuals even tangentially

involved in Plaintiff's termination are Caucasian; and (5)

Plaintiff was hired and fired by the same (Caucasian)

decision-maker (Carey). (Def.’s LR56. 1(a)(3) St. paras. 13-

15, 18-20, 31, 52, 57, 59.) The Court, therefore, finds that

Plaintiff cannot establish the first element of his prima facie

case.

B. Performance Expectations

Plaintiff asserts that he was performing his job adequately

as Ward Superintendent from November 1, 1995 to October

16, 1997, the time during which he was employed by the

City. (Pl.’s Mem. at 5.) During this period, Plaintiff con-

tends he did not receive written criticisms ("write-ups") and

was awarded merit raises based on two annual performance

appraisals. (Id.) In addition, Michael Zalewski, the alder-

man for the 23rd Ward, wrote a letter on January 17, 1997 to

Carey praising Plaintiff's job performance as Ward Superin-

tendent. (Id. at 5-6.) Based on this letter, Plaintiff asserts

that Alderman Zalewski agreed that Plaintiff was working

8. The Ward Superintendents employed by the City between

January 1, 1995 and December 31, 1997 were comprised

of the following races: thirty- eight were Caucasian;

twenty-three were African-American; fifteen were

Hispanic; and one was Asian. (Def.’s LR56. 1(a)(3) St.

par. 13.)

App. 37

hard as a Ward Superintendent and confirmed that he was

doing a good job for the Ward. (Id. at 6.) Moreover. Plain-

tiff believes that Alderman Zalewski’s views are entitled to

greater weight because he worked for the Department of

Streets and Sanitation for eighteen years before he became an

alderman. (Id.)

In point of fact, however, Plaintiff has failed to establish

the second element (that he was meeting the City’s legitimate

performance expectations) of his prima facie case because

there is no evidence in the record to contradict or refute the

City’s contentions that he was not performing his job satis-

factorily.? Plaintiff's contention that he was meeting the

9. Plaintiff failed to submit the required Northern District of

Illinois Local Rule 56. 1(b)(3)(A) response (which should

include specific references to affidavits, parts of the

record, and other supporting material relied upon) to

Defendant’s Statement of Undisputed Facts. Moreover,

Plaintiff failed to prepare the required Local Rule 56.

1(b)(3)(B) statement, consisting of short numbered

paragraphs, of any additional facts that require the denial

of summary judgment, including references to the

affidavits, parts of the record, and other supporting

materials relied upon. Rather, the statements prepared by

Plaintiff, respectfully, consist principally of references to

unauthenticated exhibits, non-specific or inappropriate

deposition pages, and unsupported conclusions.

Furthermore, Plaintiff objects to many of the City’s

undisputed facts as being "not material to this case" and

state that they are "not supported by admissible evidence

and are the subject of [P]laintiff’s motion to strike."

The Court further notes that the Seventh Circuit has

emphasized that, "[D]istrict courts are not obliged in our

adversary system to scour the record looking for factual

disputes ...". Waldridge v. Am. Hoechst Corp., 24 F.3d

Site ae NE ARIAS Daa

App. 38

City’s legitimate performance expectations because he had

not received any written criticisms of his performance is una-

vailing because there is no record evidence to suggest that

the Department of Streets and Sanitation had a "policy"

requiring that written criticisms or "write-ups" be placed in

an employee’s personnel file, or that an employee be

informed (in writing or otherwise) that his performance was

not satisfactory.!° Moreover, Plaintiff's claim that he was

never told that he was performing below the City’s expecta-

tions disregards evidence in the record indicating that

Plaintiff's superiors discussed his performance deficiencies

amongst themselves and Ryan, his immediate supervisor, dis-

cussed Plaintiffs performance shortcomings with him.

(Def.’s LR56. 1(a)(3) St. pp 23-25, 27-35, 37-42.)

Based on the record evidence, Ryan had a number of

problems with Plaintiff's performance while he was a Ward

Superintendent which Ryan reported to his superiors; namely,

Picardi, Sanchez and Carey. (Def.’s LR56. 1(a)(3) St. paras.

23, 24.) For example, Plaintiff was not able to respond

immediately to telephone requests from Ryan regarding the

"Vitals" of the Ward (Plaintiff would have to call Ryan back

918, 922 (7th Cir. 1994). Consequently, the appropriate

remedy for Plaintiff's failure to comply with the Court’s

rules is for the City’s facts to be deemed admitted. See

id.

10. Plaintiff's reliance on seven unauthenticated documents

placed in the personnel files of three Ward

Superintendents by different decision- makers during the

1990’s criticizing various aspects of their performance is

insufficient to create such a policy. (See Exhibits attached

to Pl.’s Add’] Factual Propositions. )

App. 39

later with an answer); Plaintiff relied too heavily on the two

coordinators working under him; Plaintiff refused to use his

assigned City van during working hours; and Plaintiff could

not be readily located via a City-issued pager or radio. (Id.

paras. 25, 27, 29, 30, 32.) At one time, Ryan wrote Plaintiff

up for a three-day suspension for several of these problems;

including, his inability to locate Plaintiff and Plaintiff's

refusal to drive the City-issued van. (Id. par 34.)

Plaintiff's assertion that he was meeting the City’s perfor-

mance expectations because he received merit increases based

on his performance evaluations is unmeritorious. Plaintiff

received performance ratings of "Good," which rather than

confirming his performance was meeting expectations, merely

indicated "acceptable performance, improvement is possible"

and is the lowest rating an employee can receive and still

receive a merit increase. (Def.’s LR56. 1(a)(3) St. paras 44-

48.) Sanchez, the supervisor who was responsible for com-

pleting Plaintiff's performance evaluations, indicated that he

gave Plaintiff "Good" ratings only because he did not want to

penalize Plaintiff monetarily for performing poorly, and he

hoped Plaintiff's performance would improve. (Id. par. 49.)

Moreover, as the evidence shows, while Plaintiff was on

medical leave, when another Ward Superintendent (Cauca-

sian) performed his duties, the 23rd Ward ran more smoothly

and there was a noticeable improvement."! (Id. par. 52, 57.)

11. During the summer of 1997, while Plaintiff was on

medical leave, his duties were performed by foremen,

Horatio D’Oronzo (Caucasian) from June 1, 1997 through

June 30, 1997 and James Krystiniak (Caucasian) from

July 7, 1997 through October 1997. (Def.’s LR56. 1(a)(3)

St. par. 52, 57.) During the time period that Krystiniak

filled in for Plaintiff, sanitation services in the 23rd Ward

ran smoother. (Id. par. 53.) For example, Krystiniak was

more effective and efficient, could be easily located, and

displayed good management skills. (Id.) Sanchez and

App. 40

Plaintiff's next contention that Alderman Zalewski’s

January 17, 1997 letter to Carey constitutes evidence that he

was meeting the City’s performance expectations is without

merit. As is pertinent here, in his letter, Alderman Zalewski

commends Plaintiff's efforts in removing snow on one OCcCa-

sion. Initially, this letter is unauthenticated hearsay, which

must be stricken for the reasons set forth in footnote 9, supra.

In any event, the Court finds that Alderman Zalewski’s sub-

ject opinion of Plaintiff's performance is entirely irrelevant

because he was not a decision-maker with respect to

Plaintiff's employment; he was not involved in evaluating

Plaintiff's general and total performance, he was not

employed by the Department of Streets and Sanitation at the

time he wrote the January 17, 1997 letter; and he was not a

party to any discussions involving Plaintiff's performance.

(Def.’s Resp. to Pl.’s Add’] Factual Props. par. FII.02-03.)

In view of the foregoing, the Court finds that -Plaintiff

cannot establish the second element of his prima facie case,

because he has failed to present evidence that his job perfor-

mance met the City’s legitimate expectations. !

Picardi discussed the fact that Krystiniak was doing a

much better job in the 23rd Ward than Plaintiff had been

doing, and concluded that they would have fewer

problems if Krystiniak took over as Ward Superintendent.

(Id. par. 54.) Krystiniak worked as Ward Superintendent

after Plaintiff's discharge; however, Plaintiff was

permanently replaced by D’Oronzo. (Id. par. 52.)

12. The Court notes that Plaintiff has attempted to create an

issue of fact concerning his performance by suggesting

that he believed he was satisfactorily performing.

However, as the Seventh Circuit has stated, an employee’s

own assessment of his job performance is not sufficient to

overcome the employer’s good faith business judgment

regarding the employee’s performance. Fortier Vv.

a

App. 41

C. Similarly Situated Employees

Plaintiff argues that he was terminated from his position

as Ward Superintendent by the City because he was indicted

for mail fraud. (Pl.’s Mem. at 9.) Moreover, Plaintiff asserts

that the City would not have terminated a similarly situated

African-American or Hispanic Ward Superintendent who had

been charged with a criminal offense. (Id.) Plaintiff

specifically points to the treatment of one City employee,

John Robertson (African-American), ' whom he asserts was

Ameritech Mobile Communications, Inc., 161 F.3d 1106,

1114 (7th Cir. 1998). Moreover, it is not appropriate for

the Court to substitute its own judgment of Plaintiff's

performance for that of the City’s business judgment. See

Mills, 171 F.3d at 459 ("[This court does] not sit as a

‘super-personnel department’, with plenary authority to

review [an employer’s] business decisions").

13. Plaintiff originally argued that three other non-Caucasian

City employees; namely, Charles Fisher (African-

American, Ward Superintendent, and _ career-service

employee); Lashon Bennett (African-American, motor

truck driver in the City’s Fleet Management Department,

and career-service employee) and Timothy Robinson

(African-American, clerk in the City’s Revenue

Department, and career-service employee) who were

involved in similar situations were allowed to remain

employed, either on the job or on paid administrative

leave during the investigations of their matters. (Def.’s

LR56. 1(a)(3) St. par. 71-75.) In Plaintiff's responsive

brief, however, he now asserts that only Robertson is

similarly situated. (Pl.’s Mem. at 2, 11.)

In any event, Bennett, Robinson, Fisher and Robertson are

not similarly situated to Plaintiff. First, neither Bennett

nor Robinson were employed by the City as Ward

App. 42

charged with a crime, but was placed on administrative leave

pending the outcome of his indictment and given career

Superintendents, and Robinson never worked in the

Department of Streets and Sanitation. Rather, both

Bennett and Robinson worked in entirely different

positions. (Def.’s LR56. 1(a)(3) St. par. 73- 74.) For this

reason, Bennett and Robinson cannot be considered

similarly situated to Plaintiff. See Auston v. Schubnell,

116 F.3d 251, 254 (7th Cir. 1997) (declining to consider

individuals proffered by the plaintiff to be "similarly

situated" where the plaintiff provided no evidence that the

individuals were in the same department as plaintiff,

worked the same hours, or reported to the same

supervisor); Mora v. Chicago Tribune, 57 F.Supp. 2d 626,

635 (N.D.IIl. 1999) (holding that to be similarly situated,

a plaintiff must show that employees "(1) held the same

or similar employment positions; (2) had similar

employment histories; and (3) engaged in similar

misconduct giving rise to the employment action"). In

addition, unlike Plaintiff, the four individuals identified by

Plaintiff as similarly situated were career-service

employees and, as a result, they were entitled to certain

job protection procedures, whereas Plaintiff had no

expectation of job protection and was an employee-at-will.

(Id. par. 73-78.) Furthermore, William McTighe, a

Caucasian Ward Superintendent, was investigated by the

Inspector General’s Office but was not terminated. (Id.

par. 79.) Thus, Plaintiff's attempt to compare himself to

career- service employees fails as does his claim that the

City terminates Caucasian employees accused of

misconduct while retaining African-American employees

accused of misconduct.

App. 43

service protection (and was not terminated). (Id. at 11.)

Plaintiff, thus, claims that the City’s treatment of Robertson

constitutes evidence of its policy to retain African-American

or Hispanic Ward Superintendents who are charged with a

crime by placing them on leave pending resolution of the

matter and reinstating them if the resolution is favorable to

the employee. (Id.)

Plaintiff has failed to establish the fourth element of his

prima facie case because he has failed to identify even one

similarly situated individual that was treated more favorably

by the City. To establish this element, Plaintiff must point to

similarly situated non-Caucasian employees who engaged in

similar conduct (i.e., employees who demonstrated similar

deficiencies in their performance of the Ward Superintendent

position), but were neither disciplined nor terminated. See

e.g., Ferguson, 108 F.Supp. 2d at 1039. "Such a comparison

must ’demonstrate more than occasional leniency toward

other employees who had engaged in conduct of a similar

nature.’" Id. (citation omitted.)

Specifically, Plaintiff cannot compare himself to Robert-

son. First, Plaintiff has failed to establish any evidence sup-

porting his assertion that he was terminated because he was

indicted for mail fraud.'* In fact, even though Plaintiff was

not terminated until he returned to work from a leave of

absence in October 1997, the decision to terminate Plaintiff

was made by Carey during the summer of 1997, prior to

Plaintiff's September 30, 1997 indictment. (Def.’s LRS56.

14. While the City denies that it terminated Plaintiff because

of his indictment, it is significant to note that Title VII

does not protect individuals from being terminated simply

because they have been indicted. See 42 U.S.C. s 2000e et

seq.

a

App. 44

1(a)(3) St. par. 56-68.) The decision to terminate Plaintiff

was based on Sanchez’s and Carey’s realization that Krys-

tiniak (Plaintiff's replacement) was a more efficient and

effective Ward Superintendent than Plaintiff. (Id. par. 52-57.)

Since the decision to terminate Plaintiff was made prior to

his indictment, Plaintiff cannot be considered to be similarly

situated to Robertson who was indicted and subsequently

placed on administrative leave pending the outcome of his

indictment.

Next, Plaintiff's comparison to Robertson also fails

because Robertson, unlike Plaintiff, received career-service

status because he was employed by the City in a different

position prior to becoming a Ward Superintendent in 1986.

(Def.’s Resp. to Pl.’s Add’l Factual Props. pp FII.02-03.)

Consequently, Plaintiff who was not a career-service

employee was not entitled to the same job protection pro-

cedures as Robertson, and therefore is not similarly

situated.!> (Def.’s LR56. 1(a)(3) St. par. 77.)

15. The position of "Ward Superintendent" has been an

"exempt" or non-career service position since 1983 when

judgment was entered in Shakman v. Democratic Org. of

Cook County, 569 F.Supp. 177 \N.D.IIl. 1983). As noted,

Plaintiff argues that the Ci» afforded career-service

protection to Robertson, an Airican-American who was

hired as Ward Superintendent after the Shakman judgment

and was not terminated when he was accused of

wrongdoing. (Pl.’s Mem. at 2: Pl.’s LR56. 1(b)(3)(B) St.

pFI.01.) Robertson, however, was a career-service

employee by virtue of his prior positions with the City.

(Def.’s Resp. to Pl.’s Add’] Factual Props. par. FI.01;

Hennessy Aff.par. 4; Pl.’s Ex. 34.) As such, unlike

Robertson, Plaintiff was hired directly into the non

career-service position of Ward Superintendent.

App. 45

The Court, therefore, finds that Plaintiff cannot establish

the fourth element of his prima facie case because he has

failed to present evidence identifying any similarly situated

individuals (i.e., non-Caucas:an Ward Superintendents whose

performance was poor) who were treated more favorably than

he was by the City.

D. Pretext

Even assuming arguendo that Plaintiff has made the

requisite prima facie showing as to the issues of background

circumstances, performance expectations, and _ similarly

situated employees, Plaintiff would still need to demonstrate

that the City’s proffered reason for its employment decision

is a pretext for race discrimination. See e.g. Vakharia, 190

F.3d at 806-07. "Pretext ... means a lie, specifically a phony

reason for some action." Plair v. E.J. Brach & Sons, Inc.,

105 F.3d 343, 348 (7th Cir. 1997). Plaintiff need only "pro-

duce evidence from which a rational factfinder could infer

that [the City] lied about its proffered reasons Weisbrot v.

Med. College of Wis., 79 F.3d 677, 682 (7th Cir. 1996).!°

"The pretext inquiry focuses on the honesty-not the

accuracy-of the employer’s stated reason for the [adverse job

action].". Gibson v. AT & T Corp., No. 97 C 0501, 1998 WL

774687, at * 8 (N.D.Ill. Oct. 28, 1998) (citation omitted). In

addition, "[t]he fact that [an] employer was mistaken or

based its decision on bad policy, or even just plain stupidity,

16. An employee may establish pretext by proving one of the

following: "(1) the proffered reasons are factually

baseless; (2) the proffered reasons were not the actual

motivation for the [adverse action]; or (3) the proffered

reasons were insufficient to motivate the [adverse action]."

Wolf v. Buss, Inc., 77 F.3d 914, 919 (7th Cir. 1996).

App. 46

goes nowhere as evidence that the proffered explanation is

pretextual." Essex v. United Parcel Serv., Inc., 111 F.3d

1304, 1310 (7th Cir. 1997).

Plaintiff argues that the City’s purported reason (i.e., poor

performance) for terminating him is pretextual and fails for

several reasons. (PI.’s Mem. at 7.) First, Plaintiff contends

that the City could not honestly have believed that his perfor-

mance warranted termiiation because his personnel file did

not contain any written evidence of performance problems;

he was never disciplined for failing to clean his ward; he

received merit increases; and Alderman Zalewski wrote a

letter praising him for his cleanup efforts during a snow

storm in the winter of 1997. (Id. at 10-11.) ‘The Court, how-

ever, finds that Plaintiff's assertions that his performance was

not deficient fails for the reasons discussed supra in this

opinion.’

17. For instance: (1) Plaintiff has not offered any admissible

evidence to contradict the performance deficiencies

described in the record by the City; (2) the City has no

policy requiring written or verbal criticism of poor

performance; (3) Plaintiff cannot dispute the fact that his

superiors discussed his performance problems amongst

themselves; (4) Plaintiffs performance ratings of "Good"

(which resulted in merit increases) indicated that

"improvement is possible" and were given by Sanchez

solely in an effort to avoid monetary penalties for

Plaintiff's poor performance; (5) the 23rd Ward ran more

smoothly when Plaintiff was replaced (by a Caucasian

employee--Krystiniak) while he was on leave; (6)

Zalewski’s opinion of Plaintiff's performance is irrelevant

because he was not a decision-maker in this case; and (’)

Plaintiff's own view of his performance is insufficient to

create a question of fact.

App. 47

Next, Plaintiff contends that the City could not have

honestly believed that his poor performance warranted termi-

nation because the testimony of the decision-maker in this

case, Carey, could not recall specific dates of conversations

and she could not recall her involvement with the processing

of certain paperwork involving his leave of absence and ter-

mination; consequently, Carey’s inability to recall establishes

pretext. (Pl.’s Mem. at 7-9.) On this point, however, the

City asserts that Plaintiff grossly overstate’s Carey’s lack of

recollection with respect to certain details, but more impor-

tantly, Plaintiff's attorney failed to ask the appropriate depo-

sition questions of Carey and failed to adequately follow-up

on questions which ultimately led to certain unanswered

questions remaining after her deposition. (Def.’s Mem. at

11.) The City, thus, contends that Carey’s affidavit is not an

effort to "patch up her poor deposition performance" as

Plaintiff contends (Pl.’s Mem. at 3); rather, it was necessi-

tated by Plaintiff's attorney’s decision not to pursue various

lines of inquiry. (Id.)

Respectfully, the Court finds the City is correct. For

example, although Plaintiff asserts that "Carey was ... unable

to explain at her deposition why Plaintiff had been fired

effective October 23, 1997" (Pl.’s Mem. at 7), she testified as

follows:

Q. [By Plaintiff's attorney] Do you know why the date of

October 23, 1997 was chosen?

A. [By Carey] I think--I think there were always seven

days given in a termination. (Carey Dep. at 36; See

Def.’s Resp. to Pl.’s Add’! Factual Props. par. FIV.02.)

Moreover, even though Carey could not recall the specific

reasons for Plaintiff’s termination, she testified that she made

the decision "because the people supervising him, [said] he

was not performing, ..., what we considered, ... the duties of

the Ward Superintendent." (Carey Dep. at 10.) Carey further

testified: |

App. 48

Q. [By Plaintiff's attorney] Well, did anything happen in

October to cause you to fire [Plaintiff]?

A. For the fact of not performing his job.

Q. Well, are you telling us that your understanding is that

[Plaintiff], in October of 1997, was not doing a good job

as ward superintendent?

A. I think it is safe to say that for a long time [Plaintiff]

was not performing his duties as ward superintendent as I

expected him to do. (Carey Dep. at 30-31; See Def.’s

Resp. to Pl.’s Add’1 Factual Props. par. FIV.02.)

Plaintiff also claims that Carey’s testimony lacks reliabil-

ity because she did not mention during her deposition that

Sanchez told her that Plaintiff was not driving the City van

during working hours (PI.’s Mem. at 8.) While the Court

notes that Carey did testify that one of the areas that

Plaintiff's performance was not measuring up was "garbage

pickup," Plaintiff's attorney did not follow-up by asking

Carey if she could recall if there were any other performance

deficiencies, nor was Carey asked to exhaust her recollection

on that subject. (Carey Dep. at 22-24; see Def.’s Resp. to

Pl.’s Add’! Factual Props. par. FIV.02.) Therefore, -the Court

finds Plaintiff’s argument to be unavailing.

Plaintiff further asserts that Carey could not remember

any of the specific job performance concerns she had regard-

ing Plaintiff during the months of June 1997 through Sep-

tember 1997 that caused Carey to terminate him on October

16, 1997. (Pl.’s Mem. at 7-8.)

The Court, however, notes that Plaintiff was not working

during this entire period because he was on medical leave.

(Def.’s LR56. 1(a)(3) St. par. 50.) Moreover, the Court notes

that Carey was the Commissioner of the entire Department of

Streets and Sanitation at the time, and the events at issue

occurred more than four and one-half years before her depo-

sition was taken. (See Def.’s Resp. to Pl.’s Add’l Factual

Nee

App. 49

Props. par. FIV.03.)

Plaintiff contends that Carey’s affidavit statement that she

had decided, during the summer of 1997, to terminate Plain-

tiff was contradicted by Sanchez’s deposition testimony.

(Pl.’s Mem. at 8-9.) To the contrary, Sanchez testified that,

while Plaintiff was on leave during the summer of 1997,

Plaintiff's replacement, Krystiniak (Caucasian), did a much

better job of running the Ward. (Def.’s LR56. 1(a)(3) St.

par. 52-54.) Sanchez testified that he discussed the situation

with Carey as well as the fact that they were disappointed

with Plaintiff's performance. (Id. par. 55.) Furthermore,

Carey and Sanchez also reached the conclusion, during the

summer, that it was time for a change. (Id. par. 56.) The

Court, therefore, finds that Sanchez’s testimony is consistent

with Carey’s affidavit testimony that she made the decision

to terminate Plaintiff's employment during the summer of

1997 and that Plaintiff was not terminated at the time

because Carey was under the erroneous impression that such

employment actions could not be taken while an employee

was on leave. (Id. par. 57-58.)

Finally, Plaintiff asserts that he was terminated because

he is a Caucasian employee who had been indicted. (PIl.’s

Mem. at 6-7, 9-11.) Plaintiff contends that immediately after

he was indicted, "City personnel requested that [he] resign

from his position as Ward Superintendent." (Id. at 6.)

Moreover, Plaintiff further asserts that he refused to resign

and retained an attorney who wrote a letter (Pl.’s Resp. to

Def.’s LR56. 1(a)(3) St., Ex. 3), on his behalf to Carey,

requesting that his employment be protected while the crimi-

nal matter was pending. (Id.)

The Court finds Plaintiff's assertion that he was asked to

resign after he was indicted also to be unavailing. First,

Plaintiff has failed to produce and/or refer to the subject

letter in any of his discovery responses or at his deposition.

Second, the subject letter of Plaintiff's attorney is

App. 50

contradicted by the testimony of Alderman Zalewski, the

individual who supposedly asked him for his resignation after

he was indicted. The subject letter of Plaintiff's attorney

states that Plaintiff has "been advised by Alderman Zalewski

that his resignation is requested because of a federal indict-

ment returned last week that relates to [Plaintiffs] private

security business." (Pl.’s Ex. 3, Oct. 15, 1997 Ltr. to Carey

from Plaintiff's attorney). At his deposition, however,

Zalewski testified as follows:

Q: [By Plaintiff's attorney]: Do you have any reason to

believe that [Plaintiff] was terminated because he had been

indicted?

A. [By Alderman Zalewski]: To be very honest, I don’t

know why he was terminated. I mean, I was never told

why he was terminated. It wasn’t my position to be told

why he was terminated, so no, it had nothing--as far as I

am concerned, you know, with his indictment--I don’t

know why he was terminated.

(Zalewski Dep. at 26.) Consequently, the subject letter

Plaintiff references, which incidentally is inadmissible hear-

say, does not, in reality, constitute evidence that Plaintiff's

indictment played any part in his termination.'®

18. Plaintiff also claims that Carey's affidavit creates

admissible evidence by way of a "negative pregnant."

(Pl.’s Mem. at 11.) The Court, however, finds that the

only thing Carey’s affidavit establishes is that she never

discussed Plaintiff's indictment with anyone in terms of

the decision to terminate him. The fact that the City and

Carey carefully state the facts does not create an inference

that Plaintiff's indictment played any role in his

termination. Moreover, Plaintiff did not pursue this issue

at Carey’s deposition.

———————————

App. 51

Finally, relative to the pretext for race discrimination

issue, Plaintiff has presented no evidence to contradict the

"common actor" presumption of non-discrimination _ that

applies to this case. Under Seventh Circuit case law, "

when an employee is hired and fired by the same decision-

maker in a relatively short time span, a presumption, or infer-

ence, of nondiscrimination arises." Chiaramonte v. Fashion

Bed Group, Inc., 129 F.3d 391, 399 (7th Cir. 1997). Herein,

the decision to hire Plaintiff was made by Carey in

December of 1995. (Def.’s LRS6. 1(a)(3) St. par. 15, 18.)

Less than two years later, Carey was the ultimate decision-

maker regarding Plaintiff's termination. (Id. par. 57, 59.)

Additionally, the Court notes that all but one of the individu-

als even tangentially involved in Plaintiff's termination are

Caucasian (the sole exception was Sanchez who is Hispanic),

an indication which further points to the fact that Plaintiff's

discrimination claim is baseless. (Id. par. 15, 16, 19-20, 31.)

Therefore, the Court finds that Plaintiff has presented no evi-

dence to overcome the common actor presumption.

The Court finds that the City has produced a legitimate,

nondiscriminatory reason for terminating Plaintiff; namely,

his poor performance and Plaintiff has failed to adduce any

evidence demonstrating that the City’s proffered reason is a

lie or pretext for discriminating against him based on his

race.

CONCLUSION’?

Based on the foregoing, when viewing the evidence in the

19.In view of the Court’s ruling herein, it is deemed

unnecessary to consider Plaintiff's and Defendant’s other

arguments raised herein.

Too, Plaintiff refers to his FMLA claim in his response

memorandum. However, that cause having been

previously dismissed by the Court, and a motion to

eee

App. 52

light most favorable to Plaintiff, a genuine issue of material

fact does not exist and a fair-minded jury could not return a

verdict for him on the evidence presented as it relates to his

reverse race discrimination claim.

Accordingly”? the City’s motion for summary judgment iS

granted and the cause is dismissed with prejudice.

reconsider that ruling having been denied, it is not

necessary to address that claim further here.

50. Plaintiff's Motion to Strike is denied, except as [to

paragraph 21 of the City’s statement.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.