Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Wolgast Corp. v. National Labor Relations Board

Supreme Court brief2004

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

s+

tie 6h6Ue

Fleiss

03 888 DEC | 52003

No.

— AAP — Be GLEE,

In the

Supreme Court of the United States

WoLcGasTtT CORPORATION,

Petitioner,

V.

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD,

Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari

to the United States Court of Appeals

for the Sixth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Davip JOHN MAsuD

Counsel of Record

KRraAIG M. SCHUTTER

KATHLEEN S. GARDNER

MASUD PATTERSON & SCHUTTER, P.C.

4449 FAsHION SQUARE BLVD.

SAGINAW, MI 48603

(989) 792-4499

Counsel for Petitioner

Becker Gallagher Legal Publishing, Inc.

800.890.5001

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Whether the National Labor Relations Board and the Sixth

Circuit Court of Appeals erred and created a split of

authority in the Courts of Appeals based upon an

uncertain distinction between “organizational” and

“representational” union rights for purposes of granting

access to employees working on an employer’s private

property in contravention to this Court’s rule of Lechmere

v. NLRB, 502 U.S. 527 (1992).

_ Whether the National Labor Relations Board and the Sixth

Circuit Court of Appeals erred and created a split of

authority in the Courts of Appeals by forcing an employer

to grant union access to its property on the basis of a

contractual “union access” agreement between the union

and a subcontractor working on the employer’s property

to which the employer has no privity of contract.

y

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS AND

RULE 29.6 STATEMENT

Petitioner, Wolgast Corporation, was the Respondent to

an unfair labor practice case before the National Labor

Relations Board and, subsequently, was the Petitioner-Cross

Respondent before the Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals.

Petitioner is a closely held Michigan corporation. Thirty

percent (30%) of the shares of stock are held by employees

pursuant to an employee stock ownership plan. No

corporation owns more than 10% of the stock of Wolgast

Corporation.

Respondent is the National Labor Relations Board which

brought the underlying unfair labor practice charges against

the Petitioner on behalf of the United Brotherhood of

Carpenters and Joiners of America, AFL-CIO.

li

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Questions Presented for Review ......--++++++05: i

Parties to the Proceedings and Rule 29.6 Statement ... li

Table of Contents ......- 22 - cece err ccrecveens ili

Table of Authorities ........-- 0+ eee eee eees : Vv

Petition for Writ of Certiorari .......----+++ee 1

Oninions Below... 0... ee tee eee reece 1

Statement of Jurisdiction .......-.---eeee eee eees 1

Statutory Provisions Involved ........---++-+-+++: 1

Statement of the Case ......--.-- eee reer reer? 2

A. Factual Background .......-----+++ee:> 3

B. Proceedings Below......-----++++eee0: m

Reasons for Granting the Petition ......-.--+-->::> 6

I. Review is Warranted Because the Ruling of the

NLRB and the Sixth Circuit Creating Distinctions

Between “Organizational” and “ Representational”

Rights for Purposes of Union Access to an

Employer’s Private Property Creates a a Split in

the Circuit Courts of Appeals and Imprudently

Resurrects the Legal Uncertainty the Supreme

Court Sought to Eliminate in its Lechmere

0 NES A ares a ara a ee ae ee 8

II. Review is Warranted Because the Decision of

the NLRB and the Sixth Circuit Imposes the

Terms of a Subcontractor’s Union Contract on a

Non- Party Employer in Direct Conflict With

Supreme Court Precedent and Holdings of Circuit

Rae OE CUE 9 0 oo eos ee be ee 17

RE ib SSE oe ee ee ee ee ae 23

Appendix

Appendix A

Sixth Circuit Judgment - 9/16/03 ............. la

Appendix B

Sixth Circuit Opinion - 9/16/03 .............. 3a

Appendix C

National Labor Relations Board Decision

Pee ee EE kG ee ee eee eee een 16a

Appendix D

Sixth Circuit Petition for Review - 6/29/01 ..... 2la

Appendix E

National Labor Relations Board Order

Transferring Proceeding to the National Labor

Relations Board —- 10/25/00 ............... 23a

Appendix F

National Labor Relations Board Administrative

Law Judge Decision and Order - 10/25/00...... 25a

Appendix G

National Labor Relations Board Transcript

of Hearing, Pages 309, 310, 311, 338 and 339 ... 70a

1V

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

AmeriSteel Corp. v. Teamsters, Local 430,

267 F346 254 GO" Cer. BOI) ow ke ve cea wes 18

CDK Contracting,

908 NLRB. 1117 (IGE) ow cc ce ness passim

Cleveland Real Estate Partners v. NLRB,

OS F396 457 Cis. WOR) vw ce eects 7

EEOC v. Frank’s Nursery & Crafts, Inc.,

177 F. 3d 448 (6° Cir. 1999) 2... 02. eee ecee 18

EEOC v. Waffle House, Inc.,

co Rik Bee. fy: eee ee tr ee 17, 18

Jean Country,

24 WEB. TCE) wn oe asec ines 14

Kaiser Aetna, et. al. v. United States,

SO 155. 160 CIT). 2c ee eee taser rae 23

Leber v. Universal Music and Video Distribution, Inc..,

$92 ©3602 07" Cie. TOD wc cc sv oi ee es 18

Lechmere v. NLRB,

S02 US. SEF CTGRR) nn we ee eee passim

Local No. 447, United Assoc. of Journeyman &

Apprentices of the Plumbing & Pipefitting Industry,

72 LB. TOR GRD 5g nn a ee eee es 22

Metropolitan District Council of Philadelphia v. NLRB,

OO F.38 71 (9% Cir. 1995) ww ccc ec vers 7, 11

NLRB v. Babcock & Wilcox Co..,

Be Wut. WU CEM wk ctw ewe ences passim

NLRB v. Burns International Security Services, Inc..,

oe ae ey rir 17, 18, 21

New Breed Leasing Corp. v. NLRB,

111 F.3d 1460 (9 Cir. 1997) ............... 18

New York, New York, LLC v. NLRB,

pas wae one GP. Ci. BOE) nw ees eae 10

Olsen v. Shell Oil,

Pee 6 CO” Cir. 1983) 2... ei ce cees 18

Sandusky Mall Co. v. NLRB,

mee eee Oe Cer, B00)... «ne ce veces 7

Sparks Nugget, Inc. v. NLRB,

968 F.2d 991 (9" Cir. 1992) .............. 7, 2

UFCW v. NLRB,

ver .ae aoe GC. Car. 1908) . wo ce eke 7,9, 10

Villa Avila,

253 N.L.R.B. 76 (1980); enf’d. as modified,

Gre Pe et a Cor. 1982)... woe ee es 20

vi

Other Authority:

, ER Tol o>” eae are eae ewe ee 1

National Labor Relations Act

y SiR com Be frre 2

, 4 8 Pod Sh. ere i eae are se 2

y Lik Fo ee. |) er err ree ee 2

, fe Lee S| Se ee ee tee 1

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner, Wolgast Corporation (“Wolgast”), respectfully

petitions this Court for a writ of certiorari to review the

Judgment and Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Sixth Circuit entered in this case on September 16,

2003.

OPINIONS BELOW

The Opinion of the Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals is

published and referenced as Wolgast v. National Labor

Relations Board, 2003 U.S. App. Lexis 19391 (6 Cir. 2003).

(Pet. App. 3a-15a). The decision of the National Labor

Relatins Board is reported at 334 N.L.R.B. 203 (2001). (Pet.

App. 16a-20a).

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals had appellate

jurisdiction from the decision of the National Labor Relations

Board pursuant to 29 U.S.C. 160(f). The judgment of the

Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals was entered on September 16,

2003. The Petitioner has timely filed this Petition for Writ of

Certiorari. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28

U.S.C. 1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISION(S) INVOLVED

This case involves the interpretation and application of the

National Labor Relations Act (‘NLRA” or “the Act”), 29

U.S.C. 151, et seq., specifically, section 8(a)(1), which

provides:

ae

It shall be an unfair labor practice for an employer -

(1) to interfere with, restrain, or coerce employees in

the exercise of the rights guaranteed in section [7 of

the Act].

29 U.S.C. 158(1). Section 7 of the Act provides, in pertinent

part:

Employees’ shall have the _ right’ to

self-organization, to form, join, or assist labor

organizations, to bargain collectively through

representatives of their own choosing, and to engage

in other concerted activities for the purpose of

collective bargaining or other mutual aid or

protection ... .

29 U.S.C. 157.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case involves the misapplication and

misinterpretation by the NLRB and the Sixth Circuit Court of

Appeals of this Court’s prior decision in Lechmere v.

N.L.R.B., 502 U.S. 527 (1992), resulting in conflict and

confusion of law among the various circuit courts of appeals.

In Lechmere, this Court made clear that an employer may

exclude union Officials from its property absent a showing by

the union that the targeted employees are otherwise

inaccessible to the union officials. Nevertheless, pointing to

the existence of a “union access” clause in a collective

bargaining agreement of a subcontractor working on the job

site, the NLRB and the Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals ruled

in the present case that Wolgast could not lawfully exclude

union officials from its job site. The Board and the Court

2

concluded that Wolgast “invited” the subcontractor onto the

job site and that it was thereafter “not privileged to interfere”

with the contractual access rights of the union officials as

representatives of the subcontractor’s employees working on

the job site.

Wolgast contends that the rulings of the Board and the

Sixth Circuit ignore this Court’s precedent in Lechmere. The

Sixth Circuit’s decision to affirm the Board’s ruling results in

a significant split of authority between the federal circuit

courts of appeals on an issue of great public importance, 2.,

the scope and application of Lechmere. In particular, the

NLRB and the Sixth Circuit have created an untenable

distinction between “organizational” and “representational”

union access rights, a distinction that has been firmly rejected

by other courts of appeals. The rulings of the Board and the

Sixth Circuit are also in direct conflict with previously settled

law regarding the application of collective bargaining

agreements to non-party employers.

A. Factual Background

Wolgast is a general contractor engaged in new

construction and remodeling in the State of Michigan and

neighboring states. On July 29, 1999, Wolgast entered into

a contract with Cinema Hollywood, LLC, for the construction

of an addition to a movie complex in Birch Run, Michigan.

Under the terms of the contract, Wolgast accepted the

responsibility not only for the timely and cost-effective

completion of the project, but also for any potential damage

to persons or property as a result of the construction being

performed. Wolgast was also authorized to control access to

the property during the period of construction.

Wolgast entered into various subcontracting agreements

for the project on the basis of the “lowest and best bidder,”

without regard to union or non-union status.’ In this regard,

Wolgast entered into a subcontract with Acoustical Arts, Inc.

(“Acoustical”), for installation of framing, drywall, insulation

and other acoustical materials in the theater complex.

Acoustical’s employees were represented by two locals of the

United Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners of America,

AFL-CIO (“Carpenters Union”), and were covered by two

collective bargaining agreements. Under the union contracts

(to which Wolgast was not a party), Acoustical and the

Carpenters Union had agreed that officials from the

Carpenters Union could visit job sites during work time to

conduct union business with employees. (Pet. App. 28a-29a).

On October 13, 1999, union officials from the Carpenters

Union visited the job site to “check on” a couple of members

and to see how a new member from Acoustical was “getting

along.” The visit was permitted. However, when the union

Officials returned the following day and began conducting

what they claimed to be “union business” in a work area, a

Wolgast supervisor told them they needed to conduct their

business in a non-work area due to safety and work progress

concerns. The union agents refused to comply and, after a

confrontation ensued, ultimately filed an unfair labor practice

charge against Wolgast.

' The theater complex was a multi-employer job site, so that a

mix of both union-and non-union employers were present at any

given time.

B. Proceedings Below

The Carpenters Union filed an unfair labor practice charge

against Wolgast based upon the company’s request that the

business officials remove their business to a non-work area of

the job site. The union alleged that Wolgast blocked the

union officials from access to the job site and that in doing so,

Wolgast interfered with, restrained and/or coerced

Acoustical’s employees in the exercise of their rights in

violation of section 8(a)(1) of the NLRA, 29 U.S.C. 151, et

seq.

A hearing was held before Administrative Law Judge

(“ALJ”) Martin J. Linsky on March 30 and 31, 2000, and

June 13, 2000. At this hearing, the ALJ was required to

determine whether Wolgast could deny access to the union

officials under its paramount property rights pursuant to this

Court’s holding in Lechmere. With scant discussion or

reasoning, the ALJ ruled flatly against Wolgast as to each

issue in the case, including the issue of whether Lechmere

applied (Pet. App. 63a-64a).

Upon Wolgast’s filing of Exceptions, the NLRB failed to

reverse the ALJ’s erroneous Decision and Order and, instead,

merely adopted the majority of the Judge’s Decision as its

own (Pet. App. 19a-20a). In essence, both the ALJ and the

Board followed the 1992 case of CDK Contracting, 308

N.L.R.B. 1117 (1992), in which the Board previously held

Lechmere inapplicable to circumstances where union officials

seek access to private job sites through use of contractual

“union access” clauses with subcontractors working on the

project sites. According to the Board, Wolgast was deemed

to have unwittingly “invited” the union representatives to the

Birch Run job site by virtue of the fact that the collective

bargaining agreements maintained between Acoustical and the

Carpenters Union contained union access clauses.

Wolgast timely filed its Petition for Review of the Order

by the NLRB to the United States Court of Appeals for the

Sixth Circuit (Pet. App. 22a). In its Petition, Wolgast argued

that the NLRB had erred as a matter of law by ignoring this

Court’s controlling precedent as enunciated in Lechmere.

Wolgast also argued that the Board erred by following the

infirm reasoning of CDK, supra, because it resulted in the

impermissible elevation of the union access clauses of the

contracts (of which Wolgast had no knowledge and to which

Wolgast was not a party) over Wolgast’s paramount property

right to control third party access to the job site.

In its Opinion dated September 16, 2003, the Court of

Appeals rejected Wolgast’s arguments and affirmed the

Board’s determination that Lechmere was inapplicable to the

present case (Pet. App. 14a-15a). Since the Sixth Circuit

impermissibly deviated from the standard enunciated in

Lechmere, and since its deviation brings its decision in

conflict with other federal circuits applying Lechmere,

Wolgast has timely filed this Petition for Writ of Certiorari to

the United States Supreme Court seeking review and reversal

of the decision of the Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

This case raises important questions regarding the scope

and application of Lechmere, supra. In Lechmere, this Court

reinforced the principle first established in NLRB v. Babcock

& Wilcox Co., 351 U.S. 105 (1956), that there is a

“distinction ‘of substance’” between the exercise of Section 7

rights by employees and those asserted derivatively by

nonemployee union representatives. Hence, according to this

Court in Lechmere at 537:

... § 7 speaks to the issue of nonemployee access to an

emnloyer’s property. Babcock’s teaching is

straightforward: § 7 simply does not protect

nonemployee union organizers except in rare case

where “the inaccessibility of employees makes

ineffective the reasonable attempts by nonemployees

to communicate with them through the usual

channels,” 351 U.S. at 112. (Emphasis in original).

Clearly, Lechmere reaffirmed the rule that, absent employee

inaccessibility, an employer cannot be compelled to allow

nonemployee union officials access to the workplace.”

While the factual setting for_Lechmere involved union

access to the employer’s property for organizing purposes,

several circuit courts including the' Sixth Circuit’ have given

the case broad application to all other forms of concerted

activity under Section 7 of the Act. See, UFCW v. NLRB,

74 F.3d 292 (D.C. Cir. 1996); Metropolitan District Council

of Philadelphia v. NLRB, 68 F.3d 71 (3 Cir. 1995); Sparks

Nugget, Inc. v. NLRB, 968 F.2d 991 (9" Cir. 1992). In the

present matter, however, the NLRB and the Sixth Circuit

have impermissibly veered from Lechmere and these other

circuit courts of appeals by declaring Lechmere to be

> Neither the Charging Party, the Board, nor the Sixth Circuit

has ever contended or determined that Acoustical's employees were

inaccessible to the Union in this case.

* See, for example, Cleveland Real Estate Partners v.

N.L.R.B., 95 F.3d 457 (6" Cir. 1996) and Sandusky Mall Co. v.

N.L.R.B. 242 F.3d 682 (6" Cir. 2001).

7

“inapplicable” where union officials seek access to an

employer’s private property for “representation” of union

employees. The Sixth Circuit’s affirmation of the NLRB thus

results in a split of authority among the circuit courts on an

issue of great public importance. Due to this divergent

ruling, Lechmere’s legacy - which was meant to create a

bright-line union access rule - is in real danger of becoming

a diverse, conflicting and uncertain body of case law leading

to numerous unnecessary practical and legal problems for

employers within the Sixth Circuit and around the country.

The Sixth Circuit’s decision to deviate from this Court’s

bright-line rule regarding nonemployee access to private

property lacks any legal foundation and unjustifiably

subordinates employer property rights to the contractual

obligations of third parties. The CDK Contracting case relied

upon by the Board and the Sixth Circuit likewise contradicts

the holdings of this Court and numerous other circuit courts

of appeals. Accordingly, review by this Court is necessary to

avert the negative consequences of the Board’s and the Sixth

Circuit’s erroneous interpretation of the NLRA.

I. REVIEW IS WARRANTED BECAUSE THE RULING OF THE

NLRB AND THE SIXTH CIRCUIT CREATING A DISTINCTION

BETWEEN “ORGANIZATIONAL” AND

“REPRESENTATIONAL” RIGHTS FOR PURPOSES OF UNION

ACCESS TO AN EMPLOYER’S PRIVATE PROPERTY

CREATES A SPLIT IN THE CIRCUIT COURTS OF APPEALS

AND IMPRUDENTLY RESURRECTS THE LEGAL

UNCERTAINTY THE SUPREME COURT SOUGHT TO

ELIMINATE IN ITS LECHMERE DECISION.

Since the time this Court decided in Lechmere to

reestablish the Babcock inaccessibility rule as applicable to all

union access cases, several circuit courts of appeals have had

8

occasion to apply it. Contrary to the Sixth Circuit, the other

courts of appeals have reaffirmed that union officials may

exert statutory access rights to an employer’s private property

only if they can show that the target employees are

inaccessible by other means.

In UFCW v. NLRB, supra, at 293, the D.C. Circuit,

citing both Babcock and Lechmere, emphasized that “[f]or

more than 35 years, the courts have consistently enforced

Babcock’s mandate, holding that, as a general rule, section 7

of the National Labor Relations Act ... does not give

nonemployee union advocates the right of access to private

property.” (Emphasis in original). The D.C. Circuit then

addressed the NLRB’s contention that Babcock and Lechmere

were distinguishable because they involved union attempts at

organizing employees. Correctly assessing the union’s

“rights” as merely derivative of the target employees’ Section

7 rights, the Court rejected the NLRB’s contention that

Babcock and/or Lechmere were inapplicable. The Court held

at 293-4:

We find no merit in petitioners’ attempts to distinguish

Babcock and Lechmere. *** Although Lechmere

itself involved organizational activity, we find no

support for the suggestion by petitioners that the

[accessibility] exception should be easier to satisfy in

the context of mnonorganizational activity.

Accordingly, the petitions for review are denied.

Within its Opinion, the D.C. Circuit explained at 297, 299:

At heart, this case is a simple one. Babcock

establishes (and Lechmere reaffirms) a general rule

under which an employer may deny access to

nonemployees seeking to trespass on the employer’s

9

property. *** There should be no more to the matter

than that. However, petitioners attempt to obfuscate

this straightforward analysis by proffering artificial

distinctions between the section 7 rights asserted in

Babcock and Lechmere, and those being asserted here.

*** We decline to read Lechmere so narrowly. As

the Board has observed, there is “no suggestion in the

Court’s opinion ... that it focused on organizing

activities for any reason other than that Lechmere was

an organizing case, and that the Court was simply (and

prudently) deciding the case before it.” [Citations

omitted].

. KK

In effect, the Court in Babcock made a

once-and-for-all determination that, in the absence of

an inaccessibility showing, the locus of

accommodation for cases involving trespass by

nonemployee union adherents will always fall in the

range favoring denial of access, and Lechmere

reaffirmed that determination. [Footnote omitted. ]

And although Babcock and Lechmere were

organizational cases, the reasoning therein is equally

applicable in any situation where the exercise of a

section 7 right requires communication of a message

to a target group. (Emphasis added).*

* The D.C. Circuit recently reaffirmed its UFCW holding in

the case of New York New York, LLC v. NLRB, 313 F.3d 585

(D.C. Cir. 2002). There, the D.C. Circuit refused to enforce a

Board order requiring an employer to provide access to its property

to off-duty employees of a tenant who were seeking to organize the

tenant's employees. The Court concluded that the Board had not

10

The Third Circuit Court of Appeals has also given this

Court’s bright-line union access rule broad application without

regard to the “type” of right asserted under Section 7 of the

Act. In Metropolitan District Council of Philadelphia v.

NLRB, 68 F.3d 71 (3™ Cir. -1995), the Court rejected the

NLRB’s contention that access to the employer’s private

property was justified without a showing of inaccessibility

because the type of concerted activity (handbilling) was in

furtherance of the “direct” Section 7 rights of employees on

the employer’s premises. Like the D.C. Circuit, the Third

Circuit refused to recognize such arbitrary Section 7

distinctions. The Third Circuit found no reason why the rule

reached in Lechmere favoring employer property rights

“would be any less compelling in a case in which a union was

engaged in area standards handbilling than in a case where the

union was engaged in direct organizational activity.” Id. at

74.

Specifically, the Court held:

Petitioner seeks to avoid this result by playing on the

distinction between direct and derivative rights in

section 7 ... We decline to read Lechmere so

narrowly. The question is not whether the right is

described more aptly as direct or derivative, but

whether the private property rights of an employer

must give way to the rights of nonemployee

interlopers. We believe that primary thrust of

Lechmere was to reemphasize the protection of

employers’ private property rights against

taken Lechmere and other pertinent precedent into account in

reaching its decision and remanded the case for proper analysis. Id.

at 587-91.

11

unwarranted intrusions by nonemployees. The

“distinction of ‘substance’” is between the employees

of the employer who is asserting his property rights

and the individuals who do not work for that employer

but seek access to his property .... The case finally

gets down to this easily understandable rule of law:

a nonemployee does not have a right of access to the

employer’s property, at least if he has reasonable

alternative means to exercise his section 7 rights

whether they are direct or derivative. (Emphasis

added). Id.

The Ninth Circuit has also demonstrated its strict

adherence to the Babcock union access rule (as reaffirmed in

Lechmere) when addressing the NLRB’s argument that union

Officials should have access to an employer’s property in

order to further the Section 7 rights of employees in

non-organizing settings. In Sparks Nugget, Inc., v. NLRB,

968 F.2d 991 (9th Cir. 1992), the Ninth Circuit evaluated the

standards concerning union access to the employer’s property

for picketing and distributing handbills based on the

employer’s failure to bargain in good faith with the union as

the representative of the employer’s employees. Even though

the union was engaged in representational activity on behalf

of the employer’s employees (picketing and handbilling in

response to the employer’s unfair labor practice), the Ninth

Circuit rejected the union’s argument that Lechmere did not

apply. Id. at 998. Thus, the Court held that, despite the

employer having committed an unfair labor practice for

failure to bargain with the union, the union could not trespass /

onto the employer’s property absent a showing that employees |

were inaccessible. Id.

In contrast to the these decisions from other courts of

appeals, the Sixth Circuit in the present case fixated on the i.

12

eo

underlying facts of Lechmere and erroneously concluded that

the case could be distinguished based on the type of Section

7 right the union officials sought to exercise. In an apparent

attempt to make the distinction workable, the Circuit Court

conjured an unnecessary legal fiction that, when a union seeks

access to an employer’s property for “representational

purposes,” the right of access is no longer derivative but,

rather, is exercised as a “direct representative of the

subcontractor’s employees under the authority of the

collective bargaining agreement.” (Opinion, p. 9-10; Pet.

App. 12a-13a). Not surprisingly, the Sixth Circuit provided

no legal support whatsoever for its stark divergence from

Lechmere or for its conclusion that union access rights

supercede an employer’s property rights where union officials

seek property access under the guise of contract enforcement.

The Board and the Sixth Circuit have essentially created

an exception to this Court’s Babcock and Lechmere union

access rule. They have diverted the focus away from whether

union officials have alternative access to the targeted

employees (the accessibility test), toward whether the union

Officials have sought access to further the collective

bargaining interests of employees working on the employer’s

premises. Opinion at 10 (Pet. App. 13a). Under the analysis

of the NLRB and the Sixth Circuit, it would appear that union

officials would always have the right to access the employer’s

property as long as the employees on the property are covered

by a collective bargaining agreement. Such an analysis is

clearly contrary to Lechmere and represents an unwarranted

departure from established case precedent.

Lechmere constitutes a bright line rule applicable to all

nonemployee union access cases. The rule recognizes an

employer’s paramount property rights to exclude

nonemployee union officials from its property. Embodied

13

within that rule is only one exception - applicable only where

union officials can demonstrate that the targeted employees

are not accessible by other available means. The Sixth Circuit

has ignored this rule and developed its own exception to

Lechmere. The exception was never contemplated by this

Court and it stands in direct conflict with the rulings of all

other circuit courts of appeals which have applied Lechmere.

Not only has the Sixth Circuit strayed from the precedent

of this Court and that of all other circuit courts of appeals, but

the lower Court has embraced the kinds of line drawing

problems which the NLRB admitted was part and parcel of its

pre-Lechmere balancing test.’ By its ruling in this case, the

Sixth Circuit has resurrected the confusion and murkiness that

attended union access cases prior to Lechmere which this

Supreme Court specifically sought to put to rest in Lechmere

through reaffirmation of Babcock’s union access rule.

Under the Sixth Circuit’s ruling, an employer must now

delve into a legal morass if the requestor for property access

> Prior to Lechmere, the NLRB developed “a three-factor

balancing test [applicable to] all [union] access cases” taking into

account the various interests of employees, union officials-and

employers. Lechmere at 535-6, citing Jean Country, 291 N.L.R.B.

11 (1988). After referencing that the Board had conceded its

balancing test “was unlikely to foster certainty and predictability in

this corner of the law,” the Lechmere Court determined that the

NLRB’s balancing test impermissibly eroded the Court’s 1956

inaccessibility rule from Babcock, “at least as to nonemployees.”

Id at 536, 538. Thus, this Court reaffirmed Babcock’s general rule

for all access cases, specifically ruling that an employer can validly

bar nonemployee union officials from its property unless the union

can meet a “heavy” burden of showing that the targeted employees

are-otherwise inaccessible. Id. at 538-540.

14

Se he Ade a tala ee Rell al

is a union official purporting to represent another employer’s

employees. Where a union requests access within the

jurisdiction of the Sixth Circuit, the employer is required to

first determine the purpose for the request, and then to

properly label the request as one in furtherance of

“organizing” or “representing”.employees. If the request is

for “representation” purposes, then the employer must

apparently determine whether the union maintains a collective

bargaining agreement with another employer lawfully on the

premises and, if so, whether that contract contains a legally

enforceable union access clause which might apply to the

employer’s premises. Opinion at 10. (Pet. App. 13a). If

such a clause exists and applies, an exception to Lechmere is

created according to the Sixth Circuit, and the employer must

grant access to the union officials regardless of whether

alternative access is available. Opinion at 10. (Pet. App.

13a).

These legal hoops pose their own particular problems.

For instance, in the present case, Wolgast voluntarily allowed

access to the Carpenters Union officials on October 13, 1999,

to handle what Wolgast believed was a minor matter.

However, when the union officials returned the next day to

resume “union business” in a work area, Wolgast objected.

(Pet. App. 61a). According to the Sixth Circuit, it became

incumbent upon the Wolgast manager on site to immediately

determine whether the union officials were there to make

inroads at organizing other employees (in which case Wolgast

could exclude the officials), or whether they were there to

represent union members of another employer in some way

(in which case access could not be denied). Resolution of

these kinds of fact intensive, state-of-mind inquiries required

under the Sixth Circuit’s rule in union access cases are not

only burdensome, but nearly impossible for managers to

immediately make on a case-by-case basis.

15

The problem is further complicated when a union official

seeks access for a dual purpose - to “represent” existing union

members of another employer and to organize other

unrepresented employees (a circumstance Wolgast believes

existed in the present case). Can access be denied or must it

be granted in such a case? If access must be granted for

representation purposes, how can the employer monitor the

union officials’ visit to properly prevent organizing or other

activities that interfere with work without running afoul of the

Section 7 rights of employees? These kinds of factual and

legal dilemmas are not unique to this particular case. They

would arise in virtually any case that comes before the Board

and the Sixth Circuit where a union seeks access to

employees.

The harm to employers caused by the rulings of the Board

and the Sixth Circuit are not confined to the Sixth Circuit’s

jurisdiction. To clearly demonstrate the disparity between the

circuits and the havoc that the Sixth Circuit’s ruling can cause

for an employer faced with union access claims, one need

only place himself in the shoes of an employer who operates

in more than one jurisdiction. As the case law currently

stands, that employer must be aware of the conflicting

analyses employed by the various circuits in order to properly

respond to a union’s request for access. To require that

employer to recognize and readily apply different union

access rules based on the location of the job sites is to invite

legal chaos into the body of federal labor law which Congress

sought to synergize through passage of the NLRA in 1935.

The split within the circuits created by the Sixth Circuit’s

misunderstanding and misapplication of Lechmere thus raises

an issue of great public importance. The decisions of the

Board and the Sixth Circuit confound the property rights of

owners from circuit to circuit and create uncertainty and

16

confusion among employers when faced with union access

claims. Therefore, review is warranted both to resolve the

split of authority within the circuits and to forestall the

needless, burdensome effects caused by the Board and the

Sixth Circuit on all multi-employer job sites across the nation.

II. REVIEW IS WARRANTED BECAUSE THE DECISION OF THE

NLRB AND THE SIXTH CIRCUIT IMPOSES THE TERMS OF

A SUBCONTRACTOR’S UNION CONTRACT ON A

NON-PARTY EMPLOYER IN DIRECT CONFLICT WITH

SUPREME COURT PRECEDENT AND HOLDINGS OF

CIRCUIT COURTS OF APPEALS.

The Sixth Circuit decision in this case presents an

additional conflict with precedent from this Court and other

circuit courts of appeals, thus justifying Supreme Court

review. Specifically, this Court should review whether the

NLRB and Sixth Circuit Court committed an error of law

when they determined, in reliance on the NLRB’s 1992 CDK

Contracting case, supra, that union officials possess a

superior right of access to an employer’s private property

based on a visitation clause found in a subcontractor’s

collective bargaining agreement. It is black-letter federal

labor law precedent that a contractual agreement between two

parties simply cannot logically or lawfully serve to trump a

non-party’s private property rights.

This Court has stated, “[iJt goes without saying that a

contract cannot bind a non-party.” EEOC v. Waffle House

Inc., 534 U.S. 279 (2002). This rule applies with equal force

under the NLRA. Indeed, the Supreme Court, unlike the

NLRB and the Sixth Circuit in the present case, has refused

to extend the terms of a collective bargaining agreement to

non-signatory third parties. For example, in NLRB v. Burns

International Security Services, Inc., 406 U.S. 272 (1972),

17

this Court was called upon to review a Board determination

that required a successor employer to take over and honor the

terms of a predecessor’s collective bargaining agreement.

The Supreme Court unanimously rejected the Board’s

departure from basic contract law, finding that the successor

could not be bound by the predecessor’s labor agreement. Id.

at 284-5.

Other federal circuit courts of appeals have had no

difficulty strictly adhering to the basic privities of contract

principles referenced by this Court in Waffle House and

Burns, supra. See, e.g., Leber v. Universal Music and Video

Distribution, Inc., 332 F.3d 452, 454 (7" Cir. 2003);

(“MUMS cannot be held liable on a contract to which only

Universal is a party, any more than Universal may be held

liable on a contract to which only MUMS and the Union are

parties.”); AmeriSteel Corp. v. Teamsters, Local 430, 267

F.3d 264, 265 (3 Cir. 2001) (“[A]n unloosening successor

cannot be bound by the substantive provisions of -its

predecessor’s agreement ... .”); New Breed Leasing Corp. v.

NLRB, 111 F.3d 1460, 1466 (9th Cir. 1997) (a successor is

not bound by the substantive terms of another’s agreement);

Olsen v. Shell Oil, 708 F.2d 976, 985 (5™ Cir. 1983) (a

waiver in a contract will not bind a non-party).°

In the present case, the Sixth Circuit concluded that the

Board properly granted access to Union officials due to the

existence of visitation clauses found in the collective

° Even the Sixth Circuit has recognized this fundamental point

as it specifically held in EEOC v. Frank’s Nursery & Crafts, Inc.,

177 F.3d. 448, 460 (6" Cir. 1999) that, “[uJnder general principles

of contract law, it is axiomatic that courts cannot bind a non-party

to a contract, because that party never agreed to the terms set forth

therein.”

18

bargaining agreements between a subcontractor working on

the job site, Acoustical, and the Carpenters Union. Opinion

at 11 (Pet. App. 13a-14a). After erroneously concluding that

Lechmere was inapplicable (because the Carpenters were not

engaged in organizing activity), the Sixth Circuit adhered to

the NLRB’s legal fiction that a general contractor such as

Wolgast is deemed to have “invited” the union officials onto

the property simply by subcontracting with a union

subcontractor, and that a general contractor in such instances

is thereafter “not privileged to interfere” with job site access

by the union officials. Opinion at 9 (Pet. App. 11a).

Reaching this decision, the NLRB and the Court relied

primarily on the Board’s decision in CDK Contracting, 308

N.L.R.B. 1117 (1992) - a case decided within a few months

after this Supreme Court’s Lechmere decision. With regard

to the applicability of the then-recently decided Lechmere

case, the CDK Board ruled:

At issue here is whether a general contractor may

deny access to a job site to union officials who seek to

communicate with employees of a subcontractor

represented by the union where a visitation clause in

the contract between the subcontractor and the union

permits access. As the Judge reasoned, the

Respondent, by soliciting other employers to perform

work at the jobsite, “invited” subcontractors, and their

respective subcontractors, onto the jobsite, and thus

subjected its “property rights” to the Union’s

contractual “access” rights with those contractors.

[Footnote omitted.] Thus, the Respondent here,

unlike the Respondent in Lechmere, voluntarily

undertook to have work performed by unionized

subcontractors on _ the property. In these

circumstances, the Respondent was not privileged to

interfere with the contractual obligations of the

19

subcontractors and the contractual rights of the unions

that represented subcontractor employees. We

conclude that the Respondent must permit those

contractors to observe their contractual obligations.

CDK, 308 NLRB at 2-3. Thus, without any legal support

whatsoever, the Board iii CDK dismissed the Supreme Court’s |

directives in Lechmere and set forth its own legal theory that

third party contract rights circumvent employer property i

rights when union subcontractors are working on the

employer’s property.’

sectinahceb sie sha RRae Ci area te Ri alin Dah Site eee WH

The basis of CDK and the decisions of both the NLRB and

Sixth Circuit in this present case all suffer from the same legal

defect - private property rights of an employer cannot

logically fall subject to a contractual union access clause of a

subcontractor and a union because there is absolutely no

privity of contract with the employer. Application by the

Board and the Sixth Circuit of the terms of a private contract

to the detriment of an outside third party violates the most

basic tenets of contract law. Moreover, by extending

contractual obligations to Wolgast as a third party not in

privity with the contracting parties, the Board and the Sixth

Circuit have ignored controlling Supreme Court precedent

which prohibits such extensions and have created a conflict in

precedent among the circuit courts of appeals.

BAe abcdbestie's evan Cee Si la TO a

AS Dear eran a ent LW EMR ei Ne ates

aad Cereal iC tee idle WIA ae Ae

” The CDK case relied heavily upon Villa Avila, 253 N.L.R.B.

76 (1980) enf’d as modified, 673 F.3d 381 281 (9" Cir. 1982), a

case decided over a decade before Lechmere. However, there is

no indication that either Villa Avila or the cases that it relied upon

remain good law after the Lechmere decision. Thus, the NLRB’s

and Sixth Circuit’s direct and indirect reliance upon Villa Avila is

misguided at best and constitutes an unsupported and impermissible

departure from Lechmere. i

20

Ta

As shown above, in numerous previous cases decided by

this Court and the various circuit courts of appeals, the courts

recognized and applied the fundamental (and obvious)

principle of law that contractual rights and obligations apply

between parties to a collective bargaining agreement - not to

those who are not a party to the contract. The Board and the

Sixth Circuit have failed to adhere to this core principle.

Instead, the Board and the Sixth Circuit have burdened all

third party employers with substantive terms of union

contracts that thwart their own property rights.* The CDK

decision was wrong when it was decided, and the Sixth

Circuit’s decision to follow CDK’s faulty logic is wrong now.

Wolgast had legitimate rights to control access to the Birch

Run property and, pursuant to Lechmere and Burns, those

rights simply should not be held hostage to terms of a contract

to which Wolgast has never been a party.” Perhaps more

importantly, the decision of the Sixth Circuit to follow the

faulty precedent of the Board in CDK results in a split of

® While the present case involves forcing a union access clause

on Wolgast as a third party general contractor, there is nothing in

the reasoning of the Sixth Circuit’s Opinion to prevent eventual

application of any other collectively bargained terms to any third

party employer.

® Further difficulty exists with the lower court’s decision

because neither CDK, nor the Sixth Circuit’s Opinion provide

answers to situations (as here) where a general contractor, Wolgast,

was not even aware of a collective bargaining agreement between

its subcontractor and any particular union, much less aware of the

union visitation clause contained within it. In this regard, Wolgast

was completely unaware of any of the terms of the collective

bargaining agreement between Acoustical and the Union, Hearing

Tr. (Pet. App. 73a-77a), a fact never contradicted by any of the

holdings of the ALJ, the Board or the Sixth Circuit in this case.

21

ee es

is sat Dae Pah

authority in the circuit courts which this Supreme Court

should review and correct.

Simply put, both the Sixth Circuit’s Opinion and the

underlying CDK decision constitute bad law.'° The legal

fiction that a general contractor “invites” the application of a

contract of which it is not aware and to which it is not even a

party so as to eliminate its private property rights is absurd

and does violence to fundamental privity of contract rules

recognized by this Supreme Court and every other circuit

court of appeals. Thus, the unsupported circumvention by the

eee abet loa tLe aM

'0 Perhaps the best example of the unsupported and illogical

approach of the Board and the lower court to circumventing an

employer’s property rights can be found in a previous contradictory

holding of the NLRB. In Local No. 447, United Assoc. of

Journeyman & Apprentices of the Plumbing & Pipefitting Industry,

172 N.L.R.B. 128 (1968), the Board held that an employer does

not discriminate against employees within the meaning of Section

8(a)(3) of the Act by ceasing to do business with another employer

because of the union or non-union activity of the latter’s employees.

Id. at *7. Thus, applying the holding of Local No. 447 to the

present case, Wolgast would have been justified in terminating its

subcontract with Acoustical based on Acoustical’s union status.

Since Wolgast, could, with impunity, terminate its subcontract with

Acoustical to avoid union entanglements, how could it be that

Wolgast fell subject to its union subcontractor’s contractual

obligations when Wolgast was not even aware of the underlying

collective bargaining agreements, much less a party to them?

Reason and logic dictate that if an employer retains the right to

lawfully terminate contractual relations with another employer

based on the other’s union affiliation, then inherent within that right

must exist the equal right to disregard, with impunity, the union

employer’s collective bargaining obligations with a third party

union. This is particularly trve in light of the very strong employer

property rights favored by the U.S. Supreme Court in Lechmere.

22

re ETE EE IT —

| |

Sixth Circuit of well-established notions of employer property

rights recognized in Lechmere should be overruled through

review of the present case by this Supreme Court.

CONCLUSION

It is virtually black letter law that “one of the most

essential sticks in the bundle of rights that are commonly

characterized as property [is] the right to exclude others.”

Kaiser Aetna et. al. v. United States, 444 U.S. 164 (1979).

The Sixth Circuit’s decision in the present case, which

erroneously disregards this Supreme Court’s binding

precedent enunciated in Lechmere, effectively strips

employers of that right. Moreover, the Sixth Circuit’s ruling

creates an undesirable disparity between the circuits with

regard to union access rights to an employer’s property.

Consequently, these conflicting decisions within the circuits

result in confusion and uncertainty for employers and unions

alike, which simply cannot be justified. In short, this case has

important legal practical applications to the business

community which warrant Supreme Court resolution.

Supreme Court review is necessary to provide employers

and unions representing workers with a clear understanding

of union access rules applicable to job sites. For the

foregoing reasons, Petitioner, Wolgast Corporation,

respectfully requests that this Petition for Writ of Certiorari

be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

MASUD, PATTERSON

& SCHUTTER, P.C.

Attorneys for Petitioner

DAVID JOHN MASUD

Counsel of Record

KRAIG M. SCHUTTER

KATHERINE S. GARDNER

4449 Fashion Square Boulevard

Saginaw, MI 48603

(989) 792-4499

Dated: December 12, 2003

24

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

Nos. 01-1904 and 01-2056

[Filed September 16, 2003]

WOLGAST CORPORATION,

Petitioner/Cross-Respondent,

¥.

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD,

Respondent/Cross-Petitioner.

Nee Nee Nee eee ee”

BEFORE: MERRITT and DAUGHTREY, Circuit Judges;

RUSSELL, District Judge

JUDGMENT

THIS MATTER came before the court upon a petition for

review and cross-application of an order against Wolgast

Corporation.

UPON FULL REVIEW of the record and the briefs and

arguments of counsel, we conclude that the decision of the

National Labor Relations Board should be enforced, and

accordingly:

la

Section Pate) wee. |

IT IS SO ORDERED that the petition to review the order

issued by the National Labor Relations Board in this matter be

DENIED and the cross-petition for enforcement be ;

GRANTED.

ENTERED BY ORDER OF THE COURT

/s/

Leonard Green, Clerk

2a

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

Nos. 01-1904 and 01-2056

[Filed September 16, 2003°]

WOLGAST CORPORATION,

Petitioner/Cross-Respondent,

¥.

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD,

Respondent/Cross-Petitioner.

ee ee ee ee

ON PETITION FOR REVIEW

and Cross-Application for Enforcement of an Order

of the National Labor Relations Board

No. 7-CA-42474

* This decision was originally issued as an “unpublished decision”

filed on September 16, 2003. On October 28, 2003, the court

designated the opinion as one recommended for full-text

publication.

3a

JUDGES: BEFORE: MERRITT and DAUGHTREY, Circuit

Judges, RUSSELL,” District Judge

OPINION

MERRITT, Circuit Judge. The central issue in this case

is whether nonemployee union representatives of the

organized employees of a construction subcontractor, whose

collective bargaining agreement contains a union access

clause, can be categorically barred from a construction jobsite

by the contractor with the asserted property interest. Wolgast

Corporation petitions this Court for review of the order of the

National Labor Relations Board finding that Wolgast

committed an unfair labor practice by barring union

representatives from accessing a construction jobsite, and the

Board has cross-petitioned for enforcement of its order. We

conclude that Wolgast’s petition is without merit and therefore

issue an order of enforcement.

I. Background

Wolgast, a non-union general contractor that hires both

union and non-union subcontractors to do construction work,

was hired by Cinema Hollywood, LLC to construct an

addition to a movie complex. Wolgast subcontracted with

Acoustical Arts. Inc., a union contractor, for the required

acoustical installation. Acoustical’s carpenter employees were

represented by Local 706, United Brotherhood of Carpenters

and Joiners of America, AFL-CIO. Article V, section c of the

Carpenters Local 706 collective bargaining agreement states,

in relevant part:

* The Honorable Thomas B. Russell, United States District Judge

for the Western District of Kentucky, sitting by designation.

4a

Business representatives shall have access to all jobs

at all times where possible. A representative of the

Michigan Regional Council of Carpenters shall have

the right to visit the job during working hours to

interview the employer, steward, or men at work, but

shall not hinder the progress of the work.

(J.A. at 85.) On October 13, 1999. Leon Turnwald, the

business representative and organizer for Local 706 went with

Robert Horner, the business representative from Local 1045,

the union representing the lathers employed by Acoustical, to

the Cinema Hollywood job site “to check on” a new

Acoustical employee. According to Turnwald, Brian Grandy,

a supervisory employee of Wolgast and the project’s

superintendent, ordered Turnwald off the property. Before

leaving the property, Turnwald discovered that the new

employee had already left the site before the end of his shift.

That evening, Turnwald spoke to the employee by telephone,

who said he could not work at the site because the scaffolding

was dangerous. Turnwald then spoke to John Binder, ‘the

owner of Acoustical, who said the scaffolding was safe.

Turnwald also learned that they had forgotten to sign up a

new lather while at the site. The next day, Turnwald and

Horner went to the site to check on the scaffolding and sign

up the employee. Once again, Grandy ordered them to leave

the property, this time “ranting and raving” and asking “what

the fuck are you guys doing here again?” Grandy grabbed

Turnwald’s arm and pulled him down a hallway until Horner

stepped between them. Grandy continued down the hallway,

and Turnwald proceeded to sign up the new employee at a

makeshift table made of a sheet of plywood resting on bats of

insulation. During this process. Binder came in and placed his

set of tools on the makeshift table. At some point. Horner and

Binder stepped outside for a moment. When Turnwald had a

question about the paperwork, he also stepped outside to ask

Sa

Horner how to fill it out. As they both began to reenter the

building, Grandy stood in the doorway blocking their access,

stating “You guys get the fuck out of here, you’re not coming

back in.” Turnwald brushed past Grandy and went back in to

finish the paperwork. Grandy then said to the new employee,

who was on his knees by the makeshift table filling out the

paperwork, “That’s all the fucking union does is take your

money,” to which the employee replied, “No, the union’s the

only way I can get ahead.” Announcing that he was going to

“clean up this area right here,” Grandy reached down,

grabbed the makeshift table and forcefully flipped it over so

everything on it, including Binder’s tools, flew off and onto

Turnwald. At this, Turnwald and Horner left the site,

_ apparently abandoning their plan to check the safety of the

scaffolding.

The administrative law judge ruled that Wolgast violated

section 8(a)(1) of the Act by interfering with Turnwald’s

access to the jobsite. Relying on CDK Contracting, 308

N.L.R.B. 1117 (1992), the judge ruled that the general

construction contractor with the asserted property interest is

obligated as a matter of labor law to yield its interest so that

the subcontractor’s employees’ section 7 right to be

represented by their chosen union and to receive the agreed-

upon benefits of that representation may be _ fully

implemented. The judge ordered Wolgast to allow Local 706

access to Acoustical employees when requested, subject to

any “reasonable and nondiscriminatory rules pertaining to

nonemployee access” Wolgast may put in place. On appeal to

the Board. Wolgast argued that CDK Contracting was

wrongly decided and that this case is instead controlled by

Lechmere v. N.L.R.B., 502 U.S. 527, 117 L. Ed. 2d 79, 112

S. Ct. 841 (1992). There, the Supreme Court held that an

employer may categorically exclude nonemployee union

organizers from its property subject to two narrow exceptions

6a

not applicable here. Finding that this case, like CDK

Contracting, presents “substantially different issues and

considerations” from those presented in Lechmere, the Board

rejected Wolgast’s argument and affirmed.

II. Analysis

Section 8(a)(1) of the National Labor Relations Act

provides that “it shall be an unfair labor practice for an

employer [] to interfere with, restrain, or coerce employees

in the exercise of the rights guaranteed in section [7 of this

Act].” 29 U.S.C. § 158(a)(1). Section 7 provides in pertinent

part that “employees shall have the right to self-organization,

to form, join, or assist labor organizations, to bargain

collectively through representatives of their own choosing,

and to engage in other concerted activities for the purpose of

collective bargaining or other mutual aid or protection..” 29

U.S.C. § 157. An employer therefore violates section 8 and

commits an unfair labor practice where it restrains or

interferes with employees’ section 7 rights. Lechmere, 502

U.S. at 531-32.

We review de novo the Board’s interpretation of Supreme

Court and Sixth Circuit decisions, and uphold the Board’s

“reasonably defensible” construction of the Act in the absence

of binding precedent. See Meijer v. NLRB, 130 F.3d 1209,

1212 (6th Cir. 1997). In determining whether the Board’s

construction of the Act is “reasonably defensible.” we keep

in mind that the “task of the Board, subject to review by the

courts, is to resolve conflicts between § 7 rights and private

property rights and to seek a proper accommodation between

the two.” Hudgens v. NLRB, 424 U.S. 507, 521, 96 S. Ct.

1029, 47 L. Ed. 2d 196 (1976) (internal quotations omitted).

As always, accommodation between employees § 7 rights and

employers’s property rights “must be obtained with as little

Ta

a

;

destruction of the one as is consistent with the maintenance of

the other.” NLRB v. Babcock & Wilcox, 351 U.S. 105, 76 S.

Ct. 679, 100 L. Ed. 975 (1956). We turn first to the Board’s

determination that Lechmere does not determine the outcome

of this case as a matter of law.

In Lechmere, union organizers distributed handbills on the

windshields of cars parked in a shopping plaza parking lot as

part of an effort to organize the employees of Lechmere,

Inc.’s retail store located at the shopping plaza. Lechmere

personnel removed the handbills and asked the union

organizers to leave. The administrative law judge ruled that

Lechmere had violated section 8 by barring the nonemployee

union organizers from its property. The Board affirmed,

relying on a multifactor balancing test developed in Jean

Country, 291 NLRB 11, 14 (1988). The Supreme Court

denied enforcement of the Board’s order, holding that, at least

as applied to nonemployee union organizers, Jean Country

impermissibly eliminated the threshold stage of the inquiry by

failing to make a distinction between employees and

nonemployees of the targeted employer. See Lechmere, 502

U.S. at 538 (citing Babcock & Wilcox, 351 U.S. at 112). The

Court reiterated the “distinction of substance” established in

Babcock & Wilcox between the organizing activities of

employees and nonemployees: “As a rule, then, an employer

cannot be compelled to allow distribution of union literature

by nonemployee organizers on his property.” Jd. at 533. As

explained by the Court:

To say that our cases require accommodation between

employees’ and employers’ rights is a true but

incomplete statement, for the cases also go far in

establishing the locus of that accommodation where

nonemployee organizing is at issue. So long as

nonemployee union organizers have reasonable access

8a

to employees outside an employer’s property, the

requisite accommodation has taken place. It is only

where such access is infeasible that it becomes

necessary and proper to take the accommodation to

the next level, balancing the employees’ and

employers’ rights ...

Id. at 538 (emphasis in original).

Lechmere thus reaffirms that, in the generic situation

presenting a conflict between the competing interests of

employees and employers, the primary responsibility to make

the proper accommodation lies with the Board, whose

determination is subject to review only for reasonableness. In

the specific case of nonemployee union organizers who

attempt to enter an employer’s property for purposes of

organizing, however, the Board does not even reach the

balancing stage of the inquiry: An employer may “post his

property against nonemployee distribution of union literature

if [1] reasonable efforts by the union through other available

channels of communication will enable it to reach the

employees with its message and [2] if the employer’s notice

or order does not discriminate against the union by allowing

other distribution.” Babcock & Wilcox, 351 U.S. at 112.

The Board’s pre-Lechmere decisions requiring the

contractor to allow union access to its unionized

subcontractor’s jobsite are founded on its view that the

represented employees’ § 7 rights “include the right to receive

the various services of union business agents which services

are necessary to police existing collective-bargaining

agreements or to negotiate new agreements.” See, e.g., Villa

Avila, 253 NLRB 76, 80 (1980), enf’d. as modified, 673 F.2d

281 (9th Cir. 1982); see also C.E. Wylie Constr. Co., 295

NLRB 1050, 1050 (1989). The administrative judge in Villa

9a

Avila further explained that, by hiring unionized

subcontractors to perform work on the jobsite, the general

contractors

have thereby invited these subcontractors to, in effect,

maintain a temporary place of business on the site, at

which locus the working conditions of the

subcontractors’ employees are necessarily established.

It may therefore be reasonably inferred that

Respondents, by hiring such subcontractors, thereby

“necessarily submitted their own property rights to

whatever activity, lawful and protected by the Act,”

might be engaged in by union business agents in the

performance of their duties vis-a-vis these

subcontractors who have contractually granted union

business agents unrestricted access to the site.

Villa Avila, 253 NLRB 76, 81 (1980) (quoting Hudgens v.

NLRB, 230 NLRB 414, 418 (1977) (on remand)). The Board

acknowledged that the union representatives were not

employees of the contractor or subcontractor, but reasoned

that under the factually distinct circumstances involving the

subcontractor’s employees’ own § 7 right to union access

under a collective bargaining agreement and the union’s

manifest representative capacity regarding that same right,

balancing was appropriate and the represented employees’

right outweighed the contractor’s right to control the

property. See id. at 80-81. According to the Board, the

common and accepted procedures in place at construction

sites requiring that the union representatives give notice of

their presence to the general contractor “effectively

accommodate the interests and obligations of ail parties.” Jd.

at 81.

10a

Just a few months after Lechmere was decided, the Board

relied on C.E. Wylie Construction Co. and Villa Avila to

reaffirm that a construction contractor must permit its

unionized subcontractor to allow union access pursuant to the

collective bargaining agreement between the subcontractor

and the union. See CDK Contracting, 308 NLRB at 1117.

The Board again distinguished the Supreme Court’s general

rule regarding nonemployee organizers as reaffirmed in

Lechmere, stating that CDK Contracting presented

“substantially different issues and considerations.” Jd. Under

these particular circumstances, “access is necessary in order

to investigate and to resolve contract compliance when the

contract grants the union such access.” /d. (citing Villa Avila,

253 NLRB at 81). Unlike the situation in Lechmere, the

contractor, “by soliciting other employers to perform work a

the jobsite. ‘invited’ subcontractors, and their respective

subcontractors, onto the jobsite, and thus voluntarily subjected

its ‘property rights’ to the Union’s contractual ‘access’ rights

with those contractors.” /d. As a result, “the Respondent

[contractor] was not privileged to interfere with the

contractual obligations of the subcontractors and the

contractual rights of the unions that represented subcontractor

employees.” /d. Finally, without access pursuant to the access

provision, the “Union did not have a reasonable, effective

alternative means to enforce its contractual rights.” /d.

Respondent Wolgast asserts here that the Board’s rule in

CDK Contracting stands as a “radical departure” from

Lechmere. In support, Wolgast points to the Court’s statement

in Lechmere that, “by its plain terms, ... the NLRA confers

rights only on employees, not on unions or their nonemployee

organizers.” 502 U.S. at 532 (emphasis in original).

According to Wolgast, this statement provides a “trump card”

by predetermining that every nonemployee union

representative can be barred from its property, regardless of

lla

his purpose or relationship with employees located on the

jobsite, in the same manner as the nonemployee union

organizer in Lechmere. Wolgast further points out that this

court has construed Lechmere to extend beyond the purely

organizational situation to apply to situations involving other

nonemployee union activities. See, e.g., Albertson's Inc. v.

NLRB, 301 F.3d 441, 454 (6th Cir. 2002) (holding that,

under Lechmere, an employer may bar nonemployee union

representatives from distributing handbills on the employer’s

property informing the employer’s patrons of the union’s

economic strike with one of the employer’s suppliers);

Sandusky Mall v. NLRB, 242 F.3d 682, 686 (6th Cir. 2001)

(applying Lechmere in a case involving “area standards”

handbilling by nonemployee union representatives urging

shoppers not to patronize a store hiring a non-union

contractor); Cleveland Real Estate Partners v. NLRB, 95 F.3d

457 (6th Cir. 1996), overruled on other grounds in NLRB v.

Webcor Packaging, Inc., 118 F.3d 1115, 1119 (6th Cir.

1997) (applying Lechmere to handbilling by nonemployee

union representatives urging a boycott of a nonunion store at

a strip mall).'

' Wolgast also relies on NLRB v. Windemuller Electric, Inc., 34

F.3d 384 (6th Cir. 1994), in which a panel of this court relied on

Lechmere to hold that an employer can lawfully prevent its

unionized employees from placing union stickers on their employer-

owned hardhats. A later panel of this court rejected Windemuller’s

reasoning, however, insofar as it treated the employees’ right to

wear union insignia as a matter of property rights under Lechmere

rather than of employees’ organizational rights under Republic

Aviation. See Meijer Inc. v. NLRB, 130 F.3d 1209, 1217 (6th Cir.

1997) (holding that under the balancing test in Republic Aviation,

324 U.S. 793, 89 L. Ed. 1372, 65 S. Ct. 982 (1945), “employees

have a right to wear union insignia” on employer-owned uniforms).

12a

In our view, Lechmere and the cases cited from our court

are readily distinguishable from this case. Most significantly,

the union agent at issue here did not seek access for purposes

of organizing employees, handbilling patrons, boycotting, or

other similar activity in exercise of the union’s “derivative”

§ 7 rights. Rather, Turnwald sought access as the direct

representative of the subcontractor’s employees under the

authority of the collective bargaining agreement. In our view,

at issue here is the employees’ own undisputed § 7 right to

negotiate and benefit from a collective bargaining agreement

which allows union access for purposes of investigating the

premises and interviewing employees on-site. Neither

Lechmere nor any of our cases address union access for

representational ourposes.

In any event, we have stated elsewhere that Lechmere’s

statement that the Act “confers rights only on employees” is

not so expansive as Wolgast suggests. In BE&K Construction

Co. v. NLRB, 246 F.3d 619, 626-27 (2001), rev’d on other

grounds, 536 U.S. 516, 122 S. Ct. 2390, 153 L. Ed. 2d 499

(2002), we were faced with the question whether a union

whose members work for construction subcontractors possess

a § 7 right that could potentially be violated by the nonunion

contractor-employer when the employer filed baseless

lawsuits in retaliation for the union’s activities. In concluding

that unions possess such a § 7 right, we distinguished

Lechmere as specifically involving nonemployee union

organizers attempting to distribute organizational literature on

an employer’s property. Jd. at 627. We further noted that, by

allowing exceptions to its rule, “the Court ... recognized that

§ 7 of the Act, by necessary implication, extended some

legislative protection to unions.” Jd. at 626.

As a general matter, it is a reality inherent in construction

work that a construction subcontractor’s employees work on

13a

ooo

the property of another. The Board has set forth reasons that

adequately take into account the specific circumstances

presented here, carefully considering the asserted property

rights of the contractor and the accommodations required

when the contractor voluntarily hires unionized

subcontractors. Contrary to Wolgast’s suggestion, the Board

did not hold that a general contractor is “bound” to a contract

term to which it is not a party. Rather, it held that the

contractor may not interfere with the protected activity

relating to a union subcontractor and its employees in the

name of private property interests. See Hudgens, 424 U.S. at

510 nn.3 & 11 (recognizing that “a statutory ‘employer’ may

violate § 8(a)(1) with respect to employees other than his

own”). We agree with the Board’s reasoning in Villa Avila

that, to the extent that general contractor interferes with the

duties of the union as representative of the subcontractor’s

employees, “so are the employees’ Section 7 rights

diminished.” 253 NLRB at 81. Under the circumstances

presented here, the Board’s balancing of the conflicting

interests in CDK Contracting is a reasonably defensible

interpretation of the Act.

Finally, regarding Wolgast’s assertion that Turnwald

waived his access right because he did not follow Wolgast’s

rules for visiting the jobsite, we affirm the Board’s ruling.

The administrative law judge found no credible evidence that

there were such rules or that they were conveyed to the union

agent. This finding was undisturbed by the Board, and we

cannot say it is clearly erroneous. We need not address

Wolgast’s other arguments, as they are wholly without merit.

IiI.Conclusion

In CDK Contracting, the Board correctly concluded that

Lechmere did not control the outcome of the case. In

14a

exercising its authority to strike the proper balance between

the property interests of a construction contractor and the

interests of the employees of its unionized subcontractors to

benefit from their collective bargaining agreement, the Board

has created a rule that is both “reasonably defensible” and in

accord with the guiding principle of labor law. Accordingly,

we DENY Wolgast’s petition for review and GRANT the

Board’s request for enforcement of its order.

15a

APPENDIX C

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

LEXSEE 334 N.L.R.B. 203

Case 7-CA-42474

[Filed June 5, 2001] —

Wolgast Corporation and Local 706,

United Brotherhood of Carpenters &

Joiners of America, AFL-CIO

DECISION AND ORDER

By Members Liebman, Truesdale, Walsh

On October 25, 2000, Administrative Law Judge Martin

J. Linsky issued the attached decision. The Respondent filed

exceptions and a supporting brief. In addition, the Associated

Builders and Contractors, Inc. filed a brief as amicus curiae

in support of the exceptions filed by the Respondent.

The National Labor Relations Board has delegated its

authority in this proceeding to a three-member panel.

The Board has considered the decision and the record in

light of the exceptions and briefs and has decided to affirm the

l6a

judge’s rulings, findings,’ and conclusions as modified and to

adopt the recommended Order as modified.

In October 1999,” the Respondent, a nonunion general

contractor, was engaged to construct a theater complex in

Birch Run, Michigan. Respondent hired ten subcontractors to

work on this job, including Acoustical Arts, Inc. Local 706,

United Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners of America,

AFL-CIO, represented Acoustical Arts’ carpenter employees.

On October 14, Local 706 organizer Leon Turnwald visited

the jobsite to investigate a safety complaint of member Ray

Cotton. According to Turnwald’s credited testimony, the

Respondent’s project superintendent, Brian Grandy, ordered

Turnwald off the jobsite and engaged in other physical

conduct designed to interfere with Turnwald’s access to

Acoustical Arts’ employees on the jobsite.

The contract between Acoustical Arts and Carpenters

Local 706 contains a union access clause stating that

business representatives shall have access to all jobs at

all times where possible. A Representative of the

Michigan Regional Council of Carpenters shall have

the right to visit the job during working hours to

' The Respondent has excepted to some of the judge’s credibility

findings. The Board’s established policy is not to overrule an

administrative law judge’s credibility resolutions unless the clear

preponderance of all the relevant evidence convinces us that they

are incorrect. Standard Dry Wall Products, 91 NLRB 544 (1950),

enfd. 188 F.2d 362 (3d Cir. 1951). We have carefully examined

the record and find no basis for reversing the findings.

2 All dates hereafter refer to 1999, unless otherwise indicated.

17a

interview the Employer, Steward, or men at work but

shall not hinder the progress of work.

We agree with the judge that the Respondent violated

Section 8(a)(1) of the Act by interfering with a Local 706

official’s access to the jobsite pursuant to the access provision

in the Union’s collective-bargaining agreement with

Acoustical Arts.* We agree with the judge that the holding in

CDK Contracting Co. , 308 NLRB 1117 (1992), is controlling

in this case. In CDK, we harmonized our holding with the

Supreme Court’s decision in Lechmere, Inc. v. NLRB, 112

S.Ct. 841 (1992). We find no merit to the Respondent’s and

amicus’ contention that CDK was wrongly decided or is in

conflict with Lechmere.‘

> Turnwald was accompanied by Robert Horner, a representative

of a Lathers local of the Carpenters and Joiners Union. The judge

also found that the Respondent unlawfully interfered with Horner’s

access to employees he represented. The access provision on which

the judge relied is contained in a 1989 contract between Lathers

Local 1028 and Acoustical Arts. In 1996 Local 1028 merged into

Local 1045 of the Carpenters and Joiners Union. There is

insufficient evidence in the record to find that the access provision

in the 1989 contract remains in effect. Therefore, we do not adopt

this violation. We shall modify the conclusions of law,

recommended Order, and notice to reflect the violation we are

finding.

* In such cases as this one, where the exercise of Sec. 7 rights by

nonemployee union representatives is assertedly in conflict with a

respondent’s private property rights, the respondent bears a

threshold burden to establish that it possessed a property interest

which entitled it to exclude individuals from the property. See R&R

Plaster & Drywall Co., 330 NLRB No. 22 (1999); Indio Grocery

Outlet, 323 NLRB 1138, 1141 (1997), enfd. 187 F.3d 1080, 1095

(9th Cir. 1999). The judge did not address whether the Respondent

18a

We also find no merit to the Respondent’s contention that

the Union was not entitled to access because there were no

Acoustical Arts carpenter employees on the jobsite on

October 14. The access provision of the contract does not

restrict the Union’s visitation right to days when employees

it represents are present at the jobsite and, moreover, the

purpose of Union Official Turnwald’s visit on October 14

was, as noted above, to investigate a safety complaint lodged

by a union member who worked on the jobsite the day before.

AMENDED CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Substitute the following for Conclusion of Law 3.

“3. Respondent violated Section 8(a)(1) of the Act when it

unlawfully refused and otherwise interfered with Local 706,

United Brotherhood of Carpenters & Joiners of America,

AFL-CIO’s right to enter the Cinema Hollywood jobsite.”

ORDER

The National Labor Relations Board adopts the

recommended Order of the administrative law judge as

modified below and orders that the Respondent, Wolgast

Corporation, Saginaw, Michigan, its officers, agents,

met that burden here. However, no party has excepted to the

judge’s failure to address this issue. Additionally, as indicated

above, we are adopting the violation found by the judge with

respect to Local 706, and ordering the Respondent to cease and

desist from interfering with Local 706’s right to enter jobsites to

communicate with represented employees and from interfering with

the exercise of Sec. 7 rights in any like or related manner. Under

these circumstances, we find it unnecessary to pass on the issue of

the Respondent’s property interest.

19a

EEE

successors, and assigns, shall take the action set forth in the

Order as modified.

1. Substitute the following for paragraph 1(a).

“(a) Unlawfully refusing or otherwise interfering with

Local 706, United Brotherhood of Carpenters & Joiners of

America, AFL-CIO’s right to enter the Cinema Hollywood

jobsite or any other jobsite for the purpose of representing

employees under its collective-bargaining agreement with the

Union.”

2. Substitute the following for paragraph 2(a):

“(a) On the Union’s request, permit it to enter the Cinema

Hollywood jobsite or any other jobsite for the purposes of

representing the employees of Acoustical Arts, Inc. under its

collective-bargaining agreement with the Union, provided,

however, that Respondent is not prevented from applying

reasonable and nondiscriminatory rules pertaining to

nonemployee access.”

3. Substitute the attached notice for that of the

administrative law judge.

Dated, Washington, D.C. June 5, 2001

Wilma B. Liebman, Member

John C. Truesdale, Member

Dennis P. Walsh Member

20a

APPENDIX D

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

Case No. 01-1904

NLRB Case No.: 7-CA-42474

[Filed June 29, 2001]

WOLGAST CORPORATION,

Petitioner,

-and-

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD,

Respondent.

Nee eee eee Se”

DAVID JOHN MASUD (P37219)

Masud, Gilbert & Patterson, P.C.

Attorneys for Respondent

4449 Fashion Square Boulevard

Saginaw, Michigan 48603

(989) 792-4499

JOSEPH CANFIELD

Counsel for the General Counsel

National Labor Relations Board

Region 7

477 Michigan Avenue - Room 3 00

Detroit, Michigan 48226

(313) 226-7678

2la

PETITION FOR REVIEW

Wolgast Corporation, hereby petitions this Court for

review of the Order of the National Labor Relations Board

affirming the administrative law judge’s rulings, findings and

conclusions as modified, and adopting the recommended

Order of the administrative law judge as modified which was

entered on June 5, 2001. Petitioner brings this petition

pursuant to 29 USC § 160(f).

Dated this 26" day of June, 2001.

Respectfully submitted,

MASUD, GILBERT & PATTERSON, P.C.

Attorneys for Respondent

BY:/s/

DAVID JOHN MASUD (PS7219)

4449 Fashion Square Boulevard

Saginaw, MI 48603

(989) 792-4499

22a

APPENDIX E

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

BEFORE THE NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS

BOARD

CASE 7-CA-42474

[Filed October 25, 2000]

WOLGAST CORPORATION

and

LOCAL 706, UNITED BROTHERHOOD

OF CARPENTERS & JOINERS OF

AMERICA, AFL-CIO

Nee Nee ee eee ee”

ORDER TRANSFERRING PROCEEDING TO THE

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

A hearing in the above-entitled proceeding having been

held before a duly designated Administrative Law Judge and

the Decision of the said Administrative Law Judge, a copy of

which is annexed hereto, having been filed with the Board in

Washington, D.C.,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED, pursuant to Section 102.45

of National Labor Relations Board’s Rules and Regulations,

that the above-entitled matter be, and it hereby is, transferred

to and continued before the Board.

23a

en

Dated, Washington, D.C., October 25, 2000.

By direction of the Board: John J. Toner

NOTE:

Executive Secretary

Communications concerning compliance wi.h the

Decision of the Administrative Law Judge should

be with the Director of the Regional Office issuing

the complaint.

Attention is specifically directed to the excerpts

from the Rules and Regulations appearing on the

pages attached hereto. Note particularly the

limitations on length of briefs and on size of

paper, and that requests for extension of time

must be served on the parties in the same or

faster manner as used in filing the request with

the Board.

Exceptions to the Decision of the Administrative

Law Judge in this proceeding must be received by

the Board’s Office of The Executive Secretary,

1099 14th Street N.W., Washington, D.C. 20570,

on or before NOVEMBER 22, 2000.

24a

APPENDIX F

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

BEFORE THE NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS

BOARD DIVISION OF JUDGES

Case 7-CA-42474

[Decided October 25, 2000]

WOLGAST CORPORATION

and

LOCAL 706, UNITED BROTHERHOOD

OF CARPENTERS & JOINERS OF

AMERICA, AFL-CIO

wee eee eee ee”

Joseph Canfield, Esq.,

for the General Counsel.

David John Masud, Esq.,

(Masud, Gilbert, & Patterson, P.C.),

of Saginaw, Michigan,

for the Respondent.

DEU) Sik »N

Statement of the Case

MARTIN J. LINSKY, Administrative Law Judge: On

October 14, 1999 Local 706, United Brotherhood of

25a

Carpenters and Joiners of America, AFL-CIO, filed a charge

in Case No. 7-CA-42474 against Wolgast Corporation, herein

Respondent.

On December 28, 1999, the National Labor Relations

Board, by the Regional Director for Region 7, issued a

Complaint which alleges that Respondent violated Section

8(a)(1) of the National Labor Relations Act, herein the Act,

when on October 14, 1999 Respondent unlawfully interfered

with the rights of the charging party union, Local 706, and

Local 1045 of the United Brotherhood of Carpenters and

Joiners, to access to a jobsite under contractual provisions the

Unions had with Accoustical Arts, Inc., a subcontractor

working for Respondent on the Cinema Hollywood jobsite in

Birch Run, Michigan. According to the Complaint

Respondent interfered with the Unions’ right to access by

actions including ordering the Unions’ business agents off the

jobsite, attempting to forcibly lead a union agent off the

jobsite and blocking his ingress into an area on the jobsite,

and physically disrupting the activities of the Unions’ agents

and their interactions with employees.

Respondent filed an Answer in which it denied that it

violated the Act in any way.

A hearing was held before me in Saginaw, Michigan, on

March 30, March 31, and June 13, 2000.

I find for the General Counsel and conclude that

Respondent violated the Act as alleged in the Complaint.

Based on the entire record in this case to include post hearing

briefs submitted by the General Counsel and Respondent on

August 1, 2000 and upon my observation of the witnesses and

their demeanor I make the following

26a

CO ——

wl at Le

Fateh ED SA Re RGA De Seal Se SAR VAS as DT

BNE Rn a aA an iP Se it MotB ans AS at

tn a Sil malt

I. Findings of Fact

At all material times, Respondent, a corporation, with an

office and place of business in Saginaw, Michigan, has been

engaged as a general commercial contractor in the

construction industry.

During the calendar year ending December 31, 1998,

Respondent purchased goods and materials in excess of

$ 50,000 from points located outside the state of Michigan

and caused said goods and materials to be shipped directly to

its building sites within the state of Michigan.

Respondent admits, and I find, that at all material times,

Respondent has been engaged in commerce within the

meaning of Section 2(2), (6) and (7) of the Act.

Respondent also admits, and I find, that at all material

times, a contract between Respondent and Accoustical Arts,

Inc., has been in effect whereby Accoustical furnishes

construction services to Respondent at the Cinema Hollywood

jobsite, located in Birch Run, Michigan.

II. Labor Organizations Involved

Respondent admits, and I find, that at all material times,

the Charging Party Union and Local 1045, United

Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners of America, AFL-

CIO, herein collectively called the Unions, have been labor

organizations within the meaning of Section 2(5) of the Act.

27a

III. The Alleged Unfair Labor Practice

A. Facts

Respondent, a general contractor, had an $ 800,000

contract to add four theaters to a Cinema Hollywood movie

complex in Birch Run, Michigan.

Respondent is non-union and had 10 subcontractors

working for it at the Cinema Hollywood jobsite. One of the

subcontractors was Accoustical Arts, Inc., which had a

$ 80,000 contract with Respondent to perform certain

accoustical work at the jobsite. The contract between

Respondent and Accoustical Arts was a bid contract (so much

to do the job) rather than a time and material contract.

Accoustical Arts has contracts with the two Locals

involved in this case, which contracts were in effect in

October 1999.

Accoustical Arts’ contract with the charging party union

Carpenters Local 706 contains in Article V Section (c) the

following language:

“Business Representatives shall have access to all jobs

at all times where possible. A Representative of the

Michigan Regional Council of Carpenters shall have

the right to visit the job during working hours to

interview the Employer, Steward, or men at work but

shall not hinder the progress of the work.”

Accoustical Arts had a contract with Carpenters Local

1028-L, which merged into Local 1045. In its contract with

Local 1028-L and then with Local 1045 once Local 1028-L

28a

RE es = Reh Maret ee a Tot Rel tan tell RD SCAT OD ned AME Ne COS Bk Pg MG

x

merged into Local 1045 contained the following language in

Article VIII Section 1:

“Authorized representatives of the Union shall have

the right to visit the job or jobs of the Employer where

journeymen Lathers and Apprentices are employed, to

investigate conditions at any time, but they shall not

interfere with the progress of the work. The

Contractor shall not be held liable for any

representative of the Union visiting the job.”

Both Local 706 and Local 1028-L, which later merged in

1996 into Local 1045, were Locals under the jurisdiction of

the United Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners of

America, AFL-CIO. Carpenters and carpenter apprentices

were members of Locai 706 and lathers and lather apprentices

were members of Local 1045. Both Locals should shared

space in the same office in Saginaw and the same secretary in

that office handled the paperwork for both Locals.

GC Exh. 2A is the controlling contract between

Accoustical Arts and Local 706. GC Exh. 2B is the

controlling contract between Accoustical Arts and Local

1028, which later became Local 1045 as reflected in GC Exh.

14. GC Exh. 4 is the signatory page wherein Accoustical Arts

agreed to be bound by GC Exh. 2B.

Respondent Exhibit 2 is a contract between Accoustical

Arts and Local 1045 which covers parts of the state of

Michigan not involved in this litigation. As GC Exhs. 5 and

6 (Fringe Benefit Reports) and the testimony at trial reflect it

was GC Exh. 2B which was the applicable contract governing

lather and lather apprentice employees of Accoustical Arts in

October 1999 at the Cinema Hollywood jobsite.

29a

B. Events on October 13 and October 14, 1999

The unfair labor practice allegations are alleged to have

occurred on October 14, 1999. But the events of

October 14, 1999 are best put in perspective by looking at the

events of both October 13 and October 14, 1999.

The Union went to the Cinema Hollywood jobsite to visit

employees of Accoustical Arts, Inc.

Accoustical Arts was at the site between the first week in

October and November 12, 1999 when the job ended. The

Union visited the site on only October 13 and 14, 1999.

This is a case that turns in large part on credibility. The

principal witnesses for the General Counsel on what occurred

on October 13 and 14, 1999, are Leon Turnwald, an

organizer for Local 706, and Robert Horner, an organizer out

of Local 1045, a statewide local, but assigned to the Local

706 area of Michigan which includes Saginaw and Birch Run.

I found both Turnwald and Horner to be very credible

witnesses. They impressed me as honest men and I credit

their testimony.

_On October 13, 1999 Turnwald and Horner visited the

Cinema Hollywood jobsite around 11 AM. They went there

to see a new member of Local 706, Ray Cotton, who had just

started work for Accoustical Arts to see how he was getting

along and to look for a couple of other members, Mark

Bigelow and Rusty Schroder, to see if they were working at

that jobsite. Neither Bigelow nor Schroeder were working at

that site and Ray Cotton had shown up to go to work but left

the job before Turnwald and Horner got there according to

foreman Tim Paquette.

30a

According to Turnwald he encountered Brian Grandy at

the jobsite and had a confrontation with him. Again, this is

October 13 and the unfair labor practice is alleged to have

occurred on October 14. Brian Grandy was the project

superintendent for Respondent and is admitted by Respondent

to be a supervisor and agent of Respondent within the

meaning of Section 2(11) and (13) of the Act.

According to Turnwald, whom I credit, the following

occurred:

“A [Brian Grandy] was up a little ways: There’s a

long hall way that leads into the main room and he

was coming down the hallway.

Q When, if ever, had you seen Mr. Grandy before?

A_ I believe I had met him sometime ago. It would

have been on National City Bank on Michigan herein

Saginaw.

Q Was that a job site-

A Yes.

Q - you’re referring to?

A

Yes.

Q Okay. So what conversation, if any, was there

between you and Mr. Grandy at that point?

A He recognized me for whatever reason and he was

just, you know, what’re you doing here, what’d you

want, get your business done and get out.

3la

Q What time did you leave that job site that day?

A We weren’t on that job site that day more than ten

minutes and I say ten minutes. You know, it must

have taken that long, but, really, in everything that

went on, it had to have been less than ten.”

Later that day Turnwald called Ray Cotton and asked why

he left the job. Cotton told him that he would be required to

work on scaffolding that he (Cotton) thought unsafe.

Turnwald later spoke with John Binder, the owner of

Accoustical Arts, who said the scaffolding was safe. And

Turnwald also learned that they could have and should have

signed up Kevin Culbert, a new employee of Accoustical

Arts.

The following day, October 14, 1999, Turnwald and

Horner went back to the Cinema Hollywood jobsite in order

for Turnwald to check on the scaffolding and for Horner to

sign up Keith Culbert into the Union as an apprentice lather.

According to Turnwald, whom I credit, this is what

happened when he and Horner arrived at the jobsite and

encountered Brian Grandy:

“Q Okay. And was there a conversation with Mr.

Grandy at that time?

A Yes.

Q What did he say?

A He- he started- he started ranting and raving. He

said what the fuck are you guys doing here again.

32a

Q What was his tone of voice?

A Very, very loud. Very angry. Very abusive.

Q How long were you on the job site when you ran

into Mr. John Grandy?

A_ It couldn’t have been over a minute or two.

Q Okay. What else do you remember him saying?

A You know, he, basically, he was just screaming,

you know, what was our business there and to get the

fuck out of here, and I said, well, we’ve got to talk to

our members, and he said you talk to those ass holes

out in the parking lot, and I said no, I’m going to talk

to them here, and he started screaming that he was

going to call Pat Wolgast and he would throw me out.

Q What, if- what, if anything, else do you remember

him saying?

A I reached in my pocket and tried to hand him a

quarter and I said here’s a quarter, go call Pat, I’ve

got work to do.

Q Other than Mr. Grandy screaming, I think you

described-

A Yes.

Q - what, if anything else-was there any other

conversation?

33a

4

d

"

ee

A

Q

He grabbed on my arm and tried to lead me down

the hallway on the way out.

When you say grabbed on your arm, what do you-

can you describe for the court how he did that?

A

Just he was standing in front of me. He grabbed at

my arm to pull me.

Q

A

Q

A

> OH FF #A

©

>

He grabbed at your arm with his hand?

Right.

One hand or two hands?

One hand.

Okay. And you say he sort of pulled you?

Yes.

Pulled you where?

Tried to pull me down the hall.

And what happened?

I just brushed it off and at that time Mr. Horner

came through and kind of stepped in between us.

Q

A

Ad what happened then?

He says don’t worry about giving him a quarter,

he’s got a cell phone, he can go make a call.

34a

Q Okay.

A And Mr. Grandy turned around and walked down

the hallway the other way.

Q Other than touching you that, day, who else. If

anyone, did Mr. Grandy touch?

A I believe Mr. Horner, because, when he came in,

he- he was talking to Mr. Horner as he came down the

hallway to-towards me.

Q Okay. When you say you believe, did you see

that?

A Yes. Because they- they turned the corner and they

were both right there.

Q And I asked if he touched anyone else and you

said Mr. Horner. In what manner did he touch Mr.

Horner?

A I believe he was leading Mr. Horner into that

room.

Q By leading, what do you mean?

A By the arm.

Q So you say you- Did you hand Mr. Grandy a

quarter or no?

A No. I reached out to gesture and he didn’t take it.

Q What happened then?

35a

A_ Then we came back. The gentleman-

Q Let me ask you what happened with Mr. Grandy

and yourself then. Did you remain together?

A No. Mr. Grandy walked back up the hallway.

Q Okay. So where did you go then?

A Back into the main room. The- who I found out

later to be Kevin Culbert came back into the room and

I asked him who he was and he was the new hire for

Accoustical.

Q_ Kevin Culbert?

A_ Yes. I believe that was it.

Q And so what happened when you went into the

main room?

A We had some paperwork there for him to fill out.

His member-

Q Mr. Culbert?

A Yes.

Q Okay.

A His membership and, oh, his health benefit cards

and a form for the apprenticeship. He was coming in

as an apprentice and he had to fill out this form for

that. So there was a make- shift table. Below the table

I believe it was bats of insulation, some things like

36a

PSA st ia ATS A PSOE

ee ee A ee ee

that, a large piece of plywood or some kind of

Durasand board or something that we was using for a

tabletop and he commenced to fill out the paperwork.

Q Okay. And, while he was doing thai, was, if

anything happened?

A I believe sometime in the process of doing that the

owner of Accoustical Arts came in, Mr. Binder, and

he set his tools down on there. There were screws and

other things and-

Q Mr. Binder set his tools down?

A Yes. He carried in his tool belt. And there was

some screw guns there and some other things.

Q So that Mr. Binder comes in, lays his tools down

on this make-shift desk top, and Mr. Culbert is filling

out the papers?

A Yes.

Q Did you- was there a conversation with Mr.

Binder about you and Mr. Horner?

A Mr. Horner had a conversation with him like that.

Q And where did that occur?

A_ I believe at that moment those two walked outside

to get away from the men there and walked outside the

door and went outside the building.

37a

“

Q Did you have occasion to talk to Mr. Binder and

Mr. Horner outside?

A Just briefly.

Q And what caused that?

A_ In the process of filling out all the paperwork, all

the paperwork was fine except for there was a portion

of the apprenticeship. This gentleman was coming in

as a lather’s apprentice and the lather’s apprenticeship

school is a little bit different program than the

carpenter apprenticeship program is. There was some

questions on there that weren’t clear to me. So I exited

the building to ask Mr. Horner how he should finish

filling that out.

Q And what happened then?

A Mr. Horner explained to me and he said, well, I'll

come back in and show him how do it, and we turned

around to go back into the building.

Q And, going back into the building, you were

entering through what?

A_ Through the same exit door on the side there.

Q Okay. And what happened then?

A Mr. Grandy was standing in the doorway and just,

you know, you guys get the fuck out of here, you’re

not coming back in.

Q Do you remember anything else he said?

38a

iamsfenienneiignatiiamsidenieaiiaiiatninininhaniatnateadinenindnminhriaiiecimiminiiieiiE tee ee

RE ss Shas cis ey eee eee < ape tig os meeies oo amc

A I told him we’ve got work to do in there, and he

Says, again, if you gotta talk to those ass holes, do it

out in the parking lot?

Q Do you remember anything else that he said then?

A Just that, if they gotta fill out paperwork, they can

do it out in the parking lot, and I said it’s a lot warmer

in here and I pushed him aside and went back in.

Q Is there anything else you remember being said

then?

A I just told him I had business to complete in there,

I had to go back in and get the paperwork. That’s

about it.

Q Okay. So you don’t remember at this point other

things being said?

A No.

Q What, if anything, do you remember Mr. Grandy

saying about disrupting work?

A Right. He had mentioned in through that that

you're not going to disrupt, you’re not going to stop

my guys from working, you’re not going to disrupt

this job site, and I told him these are not your guys

and we’re not disrupting the job site and we’re not

going to bother anybody here, we’re not going to be

holding anybody up from doing their work.

Q At that point, how long were you on the job?

al

39a

A At that point, possibly- possibly- seven to ten

minutes.

Q Okay. When, if ever, did you have any

conversations with any of the contractor’s employees?

A It was just a little bit. Maybe then- They kept-

MR. MASUD: Excuse me. What contractor?

| MR. CANFIELD: The contractor’s employees.

MR. MASUD: Which contractor?

MR. CANFIELD: Thank you.

Q BY MR. CANFIELD: When, if ever, did you

have any conversations with Wolgast employees?

A Yes. At- at about that point, Mr. Grandy came

down with a person that he called Keith and he said to

Keith tell him- referring to me- tell him to get out of

here, get off the job site, he can’t be here.

Q And what did Keith say?

A And Keith he just kind of looked at me and rolled

his eyes and he said you guys go something to do

here, and I says, you know, we’re here representing

our members, we’ve got to sign a guy up, we’re

taking care of union business, and he said something

to the effect did you check in, and I says, if we were

supposed to check in, it seems like he would have told

me that yesterday and we’re not checking in, we’re

going to get this done and go. Keith said he can’t

40a

actnndtiniiainnimiunade acho ee ee

a

throw you off, and Keith walked around to the back

and went up and he had a hog grinder. He was

grinding some metal.

Q What a hog grinder?

A It’s a large disc grinder.

Okay. Keith says he can’t thrown you off?

Yeah.

Who did you understand him to be referring to?’

Brian.

Okay. Do you know who Keith was?

> O + OH PF BL

I would say by the nature he aay have been a

ittle- a cement man, a cement finisher?

—_—-

Q_ So you doi't know who he was?

A No, I don’t.

Q Okay. So other than Mr. Grandy and, perhaps,

Keith, what other Wolgast employees, if any, did you

have any conversations with?

A I didn’t have any other conversation with any. I

only recognized what I thought to be one other

Wolgast on that job and that was a younger guy, dark

complexioned, rather large.

Q Did you have any conversation with him?

4la

IES —————— ID

A No.

Q Okay. So- okay- so let’s see. Did the conversation

with Grandy and Keith occur after Mr. Grandy was

standing in the doorway saying you’re not going to

come in?

A I believe that was before that.

Q So, when Mr. Grandy was standing in the

doorway saying you’re not coming back in, what

happened?

A I told him I had to go in there and get my

paperwork and Finish that up, and leaned to one side

and I brushed by him, because I made a gesture like

I was going to go in close and he leaned that way and,

as soon as he did that, I just blew by him.

Q And what happened when you went inside?

A We went in there, instructed the apprentice on how

to complete finishing it out. There was some

conversation as to how much the books would cost,

and Mr. Grandy said something to the effect as that’s

all the fucking union does is take your money, and the

young gentlemen filling it out says no, the union’s the

only way I can get ahead. And we said, boy, you’re

going to make a great guy, and then Mr. Grandy

stated, well, you said to me you wouldn’t interfere

with anything I had to do here, you weren’t going to

bother the men, and I said, well, that’s right, and he

says, well, then, I’m going to clean up this area right

here and he reached down and grabbed the work table

42a

and flipped it up in the air so all the tools and

everything would fall on me.

Q Other than the tools, what else was on the work

table?

A My hard hat was sitting on the work table. There

was screws sitting on the work table. Different things

like that.

Q Where was the paperwork that Mr. Culbert had

filled out?

A That was on there. He was in the process. He

wasn’t completely done with the paperwork.

Q So what was Mr. Culbert doing when Mr. Grandy

flipped over the table?

A He was down on his knees. Like he had to be

down quite low to be filling out the paperwork.

Q_ So he was- he continued- he was continuing to fill

out the paperwork when Mr. Grandy flipped the table?

A He may not have been actually writing, but the

paperwork wasn’t completed and that’s where he was,

in the process.

Q And he was still on his knees at the table?

A Yes.

Q And what happened with the- what kind of table

top was it? Can you described it?

43a

———

A Again, I think it might have been a piece of- it

may have even been a piece of drywall.

Q How big?

A 4x6. Something. I wasn’t- it wasn’t a full sheet.

If it was a piece of plywood, it was- it was quite

dusty. You know, it had to have been in there and,

again, it wasn’t a full sheet.

Q So what happened to the table top when Mr.

Grandy flipped it?

A It fell down in front of me. It just caught the edge

of my shoes, but the tools and everything fell on me.

Q And what happened next?

A And I just, you know, said that was a really a

smart thing to do. Mr. Binder came in there and he

just kind of stepped in between us and he says, you

know, you guys do whatever you gotta do, but these

are my tools, you know, let’s not be wrecking them.

And he-he picked them up.

Q And then what happened then?

A Mr. Grandy walked up the hallway and he was up

there doing something. The apprentice finished clean-

or filling out his paperwork and we left.

Q Okay. And how long were you on the site, in

total, by the time you left?

A_ It had to be less than 15 minutes.”

44a

Robert Horner’s version of events on October 13, 1999 was

as follows:

“Q What time of day did you go?

A It was before lunch sometime.

Q And what was your purpose of going there?

A My purpose in going there was to see Ray Cotton

and-

Q Who was-

A - and to look for Rusty Schroeder and Mark

Bigelow.

Q What was the purpose of seeing Cotton, though?

A I had sent him- He had transferred in here from

Ohio and I don’t remember the town where he

transferred, but he had transferred in and I was the

only one in the office when he came in that very first

day and I told him we could use some ceiling guys and

that’s what he had expressed to me that he was and I

had sent him to two or three different subcontractors

and he seemed to last a day or two and then would

either not show up or would get laid off and I wanted

to check to see how he was doing for John.

Q Okay.

A See if there was no problems.

Q By John, you mean John Binder?

45a

ci RR i SW ALO, a) EE a a Ul

ee ee ag eg ee ee Oe a ae ee ee ee ee ee ee re aT ee |

A John Binder, yeah.'

Q Okay. So, when you got there, let’s see, you went

into the building, is that correct?

A_ Yes, sir.

Q And who did you speak to first?

A Mr. Grandy.

And was that in- Where did that occur?

> ff

It was in the hallway.

And what is it that was said?

(2)

A He asked me who I was and I told him, I

introduced myself, and asked him where Accoustical

Arts guys were at and he said he wasn’t sure. We

walked down the hall and turned the corner and I saw

Tim Paquette, who works for Accoustical Arts, in a

big, rather large room.

Q Okay. And, when you went in, who’d you speak

to?

A Tim.

Q And who was there speaking to Tim besides

yourself?

' John Binder is the owner of Accoustical Arts.

46a

A _ I believe Leon had found him by now.

Q Okay.

A I think he went in another door.

JUDGE LINSKY: What’s Tim’s last name

again?

THE WITNESS: Paquette

JUDGE LINSKY: Do you know how to spell that?

THE WITNESS: P-a-q-u-e-t-t-e.

JUDGE LINSKY: Oh, yeah. Okay.

Q MR. CANFIELD: And what was the conversation

with Mr. Paquette?

A I asked him where Mr. Cotton was and he

explained to me that he got there in the morning and

Ray was there- Mr. Cotton was there. He explained to

Mr. Cotton what had to be done and Tim said, you

know, he said his tools were out in the truck or

whatever and Tim went into the next room or

whatever and came back and Mr. Cotton left. I guess

deciding that it was unsafe to work, I found out later.

Q So your understanding with it at that point when

you first spoke to Mr. Paquette he didn’t know Mr.

Cotton had left?

47a

A No. He knew he had left. He said he just turned

around and he never- and he went outside to get his

tools or whatever and-

Q Isee.

A -and, he came back, there was- he was not found.

Q Other than Mr. Grandy telling you or asking Mr.

Grandy where the Accoustical employees worked,

what other conversations, if any, did you have with

Mr. Grandy?

A He said just get your business done and, you

know, please, leave, and I said, well, it’s only going

to take a second and I’ll be gone.

Q What was his tone of voice when he said that?

A_ It was okay. It wasn’t- it was- it was a little bit,

maybe, agitated would probably be the best word.

Q Where were you when he said that? What were

you doing then?

A In the hallway.

And what were you doing at the time?

Trying to find the Accoustical Arts people.

So that’s when you first walked in?

> HO F- #A

Yeah, that was when I first walked in the door.

48a

Q How long were on the job, on the site, altogether

that day?

A. Total from the time we drove in to the time we

drove out, maybe ten minutes.

Q Okay. Did-

JUDGE LINSKY: Now was- Cotton was

going to be a 1045 member or-

THE WITNESS: No. He was a- he was a

Carpenter member.

JUDGE LINSKY: Okay.

THE WITNESS: But I, like I say, Leon takes

care of my members, I take care of Leon’s

members. It’s a- it’s a mutual thing. They all

fall under the Carpenter umbrella and, because

I had had first contact with Mr. Cotton, he

knew me and so, when he would call for job

placement or what-have-you, he would always

ask for me because I had made the- initial

contact with him and he felt comfortable with

me.

JUDGE LINSKY: Okay.

Q BY MR. CANFIELD: And, by Carpenters, you

mean Local 706?

A Right.

49a

Q And, when you use the term Carpenters, that’s

what we’re referring to, is that correct?

A Correct.

Q Okay. Did you have an occasion- did you have an

occasion to talk to Mr. Paquette later that night?

A Yeah. He had called me at home and said, oh, by

the way, when you were there, you could have signed

up Kevin Culbert and I said who’s he and he said,

well, you know we talked about- I talked to you about

him a week or so ago and I just neglected to think

about it when you were there, but can you come down

tomorrow and sign him up, and I yeah, that’s not a

problem.”

Q_ So who is Kevin Culbert?

A He is the apprentice that I signed up on the

following day, the 14th.

Q A new employee?

A A new employee, yes.”

Horner went on and testified about a conversation he had with

Ray Cotton. Horner testified as follows:

“Q Okay. Was there a conversation with Mr. Cotton

that night also?

* Tim Paquette was the foreman for Accoustical Arts and a member

of Local 1045.

50a

ree ch ee, eee alee a Rett or meen vr

A Yes. After we left the job site, I dropped Leon off

at the office and I went to look for Ray Cotton

because I couldn’t raise him on the phone. I think he

was a little bit embarrassed. I tried calling him on his

phone and, when he heard my voice, he hung up. And

so I thought, well, I’ll- I didn’t know where he lived,

but I knew the general vicinity, you know, the

apartment complex, and I thought, well, I'll find his

truck and then I’ll find him and that’s exactly what

happened and I asked him why he left and he told me

why he left and it was over a safety issue.

Q Did he say what it was?

MR. MASUD: I would- Objection. Hearsay.

JUDGE LINSKY: Okay. The same ruling. It’s

not for the truth of the matter stated. Just their-

MR. CANFIELD: Yes, Your Honor.

JUDGE LINSKY:-statement as to what

prompted possible further action on their part.

A Yeah. He said that he was scared to- or he felt

unsafe working on a scaffold that was kind of a make-

shift deal with no handrails and no way to really tie

yourself off above because the deck of the building

was a little bit too high to get anything tied up there

and he said he’d never encountered that before where

he worked down in Ohio and he- he just didn’t feel

safe working off of that, and I said, okay, and that

was it.”

Robert Horner’s testimony as to what occurred when he and

Turnwald returned to the jobsite on October 14, 1999 was as

follows:

“Q Now on October 14th did you go back to the

Accoustical job site at Birch Run?

¥es.

And who went with you?

Leon Turnwald again.

Approximately what time did you go?

Before lunch again.

Oo &©+ NH F-+ NH PY

Okay. And what is- what is the reason that you

were there?

A_ To sign-

Q Why did you go?

A To sign up Kevin Culbert.

Q And what do you remember is the reason Mr.

Turnwald was there?

A Tocheck out the safety- the safety concerns of one

of his members.

Q That would be Cotton?

A Yes.

52a

4d

3

7

i

§

]

3

3

3

4

4

;

So did you enter the building?

Yes.

And who did you speak to initially?

Mr. Grandy again.

Oo + OH YF, A

Okay. And what did Mr. Grandy- Where did you

see Mr. Grandy? Where did you meet with him?

A In the hallway again. Just trying to find

Accoustical Arts, I think I popped my head in one

little room and stuck it out and Mr. Grandy was

coming towards me and didn’t have a look- didn’t

have a happy look on his face.

Q And what was said? What did Mr. Grandy say?

A What the fuck are you guys doing here again.

Q Okay. Do you remember anything else he said?

A. Yeah. He asked me to leave and I told him I had

to sign up a member.

Q Okay.

A Or not a member yet, but I had to sign up a guy.

Q Okay. Other than a verbal communication, was

there any kind of- anything else happen?

A Yeah. He grabbed me- he grabbed me by like the

arm or by the elbow area and said, you know, leave,

53a

and I said no, I’ve got to sign up a guy and I’ll- and

I'll, you know, just give me a little chance here and

Pll- Pll get it done and I'll get out of here.

Q Okay. Okay. Where did you go then? You were in

the hallway and then where did you go?

A_ I believe it was to the room that we were in the

day before.

Q Okay. And who went in?

A Mr. Grandy was following close on my heels.

Q Okay. And who else was with you?

A Nobody. Leon was in that room.

Q Okay. Did you and- did you and Mr. Turnwald

have anything to say to each other at that point?

A Yeah. I told him, Leon, I said, hey, this guy wants

us out of here, and he said, well, when we get the

guys signed up, we will- we will go as soon as I look

at the safety thing.

Q What did Grandy say to that?

A You know, you guys get out of here, and he just

kept hammering on get out of here, get out of here,

and he was going to call Pat Woigast and-

Q What, if anything, do you remember about Mr.

Grandy saying where you should take the person and

sign him up, though?

54a

sud NORA AIR Des RA ce ar bra ale

Se 5

ne oe

ane alee sociniae ths tae Sto Ms eisai aad

aes saver 54

Lav we REn Cs

A Yeah. He said take him outside and sign him up

and I said it’s much too cold out there to- too cold and

too windy, we’re trying to fill out paperwork, they'll

be blowing all over and, you know, we gotta- why not

just do it right here and we’ll get out of your hair.

Q And you said - I think you testified Mr. Grandy

kept on saying get out of here, get out of here. Did he

say get out of here or get the fuck out of here?

A Well, there’s a lady present I

You’ve got to say what he said.

Yeah. He said get the fuck out of here.

And what was his tone of voice?

> OH FF A

It was very agitated. He was very angry.

Q And think I think you said that he - you testified he

said he would call Pat Wolgast, the owner.

A Pat or whoever. Pat or Lynn, yeah.

Q Okay. Was there any- do you remember any

conversation in regards to his suggestion that he was

going to call Wolgast?

A Yeah, he said he was going to call Pat Wolgast

and Leon reached in his pocket, grabbed a quarter,

and said here, gesturing to take the quarter and go call

him, and I said, Leon, he doesn’t need that, I’ve got

my cell phone, he can use my cell phone.

55a

Q Okay.

A And then he refused.

Q Now who is John Binder?

A John Binder is the owner of Accoustical Arts.

Q And was Mr. Binder- was Mr. Binder present that

day at any point?

A Yeah. He walked into the room at some point.

Q And what’d he do when he walked in the room?

A_ I went over and approached him. He laid down his

tools on the- next to where Kevin was filling out his

paperwork and-

Q Okay. Tell us why Kevin was filling out the

paperwork. What was that? Where was that?

A It was in kind of- I don’t know- if this were the

room, he’d be seven or foot off the wall, nine foot off

the wall, and there was a bundle of insulation with, I

believe, a piece of ply- or drywall on it that- and we

just kind of wiped off so that, when you were writing

on the piece of paper it wouldn’t get it all damaged.

Q Okay. So-

A And that’s where John laid his tools was on that

piece of drywall or whatever it was. Right next to

where he was filling it out.

56a

Q So did you and Mr. Binder have a conversation?

A Yeah. I asked John to step outside. I wanted to

talk with him about the safety concerns that Mr.

Cotton had had and I wanted to ask him how Ray did

while he was there and, obviously, he wasn’t there

long enough to do anything.

Q Okay. And, while you were talking, did anyone

else join you?

i A At some point, Leon came out and said Kevin’s

got a question on this thing here, you know, what do

I- what do you want me to have him put down, and I

said, well, I’ll be right in there and we turned and

started to head back into the building and-

Q What happened then?

i A Mr. Grandy was standing in the doorway and he

5 said you guys stay out here and fill it out and, I don’t

know, I- I think Leon said, well, he’s in there filling

the stuff out and, just like Leon said,’ he went this

way and Grandy kind of went that way and he just

} kind of shot through and then he turned and followed

| them and so the door was open and-

Q I want to understand. Mr. Grandy’s standing in the

doorway. How much of the doorway does he occupy?

> No party requested the sequestration of witnesses pursuant to FRE

Rule 615 and most of the witnesses for both sides were in the

hearing room during the trial.

57a

A_ Half, maybe.

Q Okay. And where’s he standing? In the center? On

the side? Where?

A Well, I don’t- I realiy don’t remember.

Q What do you remember about his body position?

How was that?

A He was physically trying to block the door from us

coming back in.

Q How was he doing that?

A Just standing in the door telling us we couldn’t re-

enter.

Q Now you said that Leon went one way and Mr.

Grandy went another. You mean like Mr. Grandy

went the same direction that Leon went?

A Yeah. He tried to block. You know, he thought

Leon was going to come in this way and then Leon

just did a fast shuffle and shot in.

Q Okay.

A And then Mr. Grandy turned and followed him

and then I didn’t have to do anything. I just walked

through the opening.

Q Okay. And what happened? What did you see

‘when you walked in? What happened then?

58a

naer eee ak aie teietinatns, eR EO ee

A Kevin was still filling out the paperwork. I leaned

over to explain something to him and Mr. Grandy

said, well, I’ve got to clean up this area now and he

just picked up the sheet of drywall or piece of

plywood or whatever it was and threw everything.

Q He threw the piece of drywall. How far?

A He flipped it over. It physically, you know, it

didn’t- it stood up and then landed back over again. So

it was a pretty good-

Q Well, what happened to the- Mr. Binder’s tools

that were on there?

A They- everything went flying.

Q Everything?

A Everything.

Q And about the paperwork that Mr. Curwald had

been filling out?

A JUDGE LINSKY: Mr. who?

Q BY MR. CANFIELD: (continuing) The new

member.

A Kevin?

Q Yeah.

A Kevin, I don’t remember if he’d got that off just in

time or if it fell in the floor and we had to pick it up.

59a

Q Where was-

A I’m not sure.

Q Where was Kevin when Mr. Grandy picked up the

top of the drywall and threw it at Culbert?

A_ Right within a foot or two of it.

Q What happened after- what happened after the

paperwork was completed?

A We- I exited the building from that.

Q How long were you on the job site in total?

A Maybe ten- maybe fifteen- at the outset- minutes.”

Respondent’s principal witness was Brian Grandy. I

observed Grandy on the stand briefly on March 31, 2000,

when we had to declare a recess for reasons unrelated to the

issues in this case, and again on June 13, 2000, when Grandy

testified at length about the events of October 14, 1999.

Again, I found Leon Turnwald and Robert Horner to be

very credible witnesses and insofar as Grandy’s testimony

varies from their testimony I credit Turnwald and Horner

over Grandy.

Grandy testified that visitors to the jobsite such as

Turnwald and Horner should first check in at the construction

trailer and if no one is in the trailer they should seek out the

person on site who is in charge and state their business.

Further, only supervised visits would be allowed.

bt ee

60a

Grandy never told Turnwald and Horner on October 13

about these procedures however.

Grandy also testified that Turnwald and Horner were at

the job site for 25 to 30 minutes on October 13 and for about

1 hour on October 14. I find that the time estimates of

Turnwald and Horner to be more accurate.

According to Grandy, Turnwald asked him if he was

happy working for Respondent. Turnwald credibly denied he

asked Grandy that question.

In addition, Grandy testified that Turnwald and Horner

did not have hardhats and were told they had to have them at

the jobsite. Turnwald and Horner credibly testified that they

had hardhats with them but that at no time did Grandy ever

tell them they had to put on their hardhats.

Grandy concedes that on October 14 he immediately told

Turnwald and Horner to sign up the new member outside or

come back during the new member’s lunch hour to sign him

up.

The testimony at trial was that it was windy outside. The

signing up of the new member would only take a few minutes

and Grandy clearly interfered with the signing up of the new

member.

Any disruption of work was caused by Grandy arguing

with Turnwald and Horner and not by the conduct of

Turnwald and Horner.

John Binder, the owner of Accoustical Arts, arrived at the

jobsite and was told by Horner that they would be taking just

5 more minutes to sign up the new man and would be leaving.

6la

Binder confirmed that new members are often signed up

at the jobsite but are also occasionally signed up at the Union

hall. In addition, Binder testified that since 1985 when he

want into business the Union has always been coming on jobs.

Grandy conceded that the employees of Accoustical Arts

would follow Accoustical Arts rules on when to take a break

or a luncheon recess and that foremen of Accoustical Arts not

foremen of Respondent would direct the work of Accoustical

Arts employees on the jobsite.

Respondent tried to raise as a defense to its actions that

the Union came to Respondent’s jobsite to engage in

“stripping”, i.e., the union representatives would urge

Respondent’s employees to immediately leave the employ of

Respondent and join the union and the union would

immediately put them to work leaving Respondent withou*

workers. However, while the Union may have engaged in

stripping in the past, there is not a shed of credible evidence

that they did so on October 13 or 14 or even intended to do

so on these dates. I specifically discredit the testimony of Tom

Murphy, an employee of Respondent, who claimed Turnwald

asked him on October 13 if he was happy working for

Respondent. I credit Turnwald’s testimony that he never said

that to Murphy.

Respondent was on the job from August 2, 1999 to

November 12, 1999. In the $ 800,000 bid contract there was

a bonus of $ 1,000 a day for each day the job was completed

early and a $ 1,500 penalty for every day the completion of

the job was late. Suffice it to say the less than 30 minutes the

Union was on the site on October 13 and 14 did not materially

impact the completion of work on this site. Indeed, if Grandy

had not been so unreasonable, obnoxious and confrontational

62a

the Union representatives would have been at the jobsite even

less than the 30 minutes they were there over 2 days.

C. Legal Analysis

The Board law that controls in this case is CDK

Contracting Co., 308 NLRB 1117 (1992), in which a

unanimous three member panel held that CDK Contracting

violated Section 8(a)(1) of the Act by denying access to the

jobsite to union officials seeking to communicate with

employees of a subcontractor, who were represented by the

union and where the subcontractor and union had an

agreement containing a union access or visitation clause.

As the Board held in affirming Administrative Law Judge

Timothy D. Nelson:

“In its exceptions, the Respondent primarily contends

that the principles set forth by the Supreme Court in

Lechmere, Inc. v. NLRB, 112 S. Ct. 841 (1992),

control this case. According to the Respondent,

Lechmere dictates that the complaint allegations must

be dismissed. For the reasons that follow, we

disagree.

In Lechmere, the Court denied private property access

to nonemployee union agents who sought access for

the purpose of communicating an organizational

message to employees. Here, substantially different

issues and considerations are before us. At issue here

is whether a general contractor may deny access to a

jobsite to union officials who seek to communicate

with employees of a subcontractor represented by the

union where a visitation clause in the contract between

the subcontractor and the union permits access. As the

63a

judge reasoned, the Respondent by soliciting other

employers to perform work at the jobsite, ‘invited’

subcontractors, and their respective subcontractors,

onto the jobsite, and thus subjected its ‘property rights

to the Union’s contractual ‘access’ rights with those

subcontractors. Thus, the Respondent here, unlike the

Respondent in Lechmere, voluntarily undertook to

have work performed by unionized subcontractors on

the property. In these circumstances, the Respondent

was not privileged to interfere with the contractual

obligations of the subcontractors and the contractual

rights of the unions that represented subcontractor

employees. We conclude that the Respondent must

permit those contractors to observe their contractual

obligations.” 308 NLRB at 1117.

Accordingly, I find that Respondent, by Brian Grandy,

violated Section 8(a)(1) of the Act by its behavior toward

union representatives Leon Turnwald and Robert Horner.

Respondent can impose reasonable rules, e.g., a

requirement that union representatives visiting a jobsite check

in at the trailer or notify the person in charge of the jobsite of

their presence at the jobsite provided, of course, that these

rules on access are applied in a nondiscriminatory manner to

all visitors.

The jobsite in this case was the interior of the building

where the employees of Accoustical Arts were working and

not the move complex outdoor parking lot. I find based on the

credited testimony of Turnwald and Horner that they did not

“hinder the progress of the work” or “interfere with the

progress of the work.”

Remedy

The project at the Cinema Hollywood jobsite ended before

the hearing in this case began and the remedy for

Respondent’s violation should be a cease and desist order and

the distribution by Respondent of an appropriate notice to the

employees of Accoustical Arts who worked at the Cinema

Hollywood jobsite.

Conclusions of Law

1. Wolgast Corporation is an employer engaged in

commerce within the meaning of Section 2(6) and (7) of the

Act.

2. Local 706 and Local 1045, United Brotherhood of

Carpenters and Joiners of America, AFL-CIO, are labor

organizations within the meaning of Section 2(5) of the Act.

3. Respondent violated Section 8(a)(1) of the Act when

it unlawfully refused and otherwise interfered with the

Union’s right to enter the Cinema Hollywood jobsite.

Upon the foregoing findings of fact and conclusions of law

and pursuant to Section 10(c) of the Act, I hereby issue the

following recommended

65a

ORDER‘

Respondent. Wolgast Corporation, its officers, agents,

successors, and assigns, shall:

1. Cease and desist from:

(a) Unlawfully refusing or otherwise interfering with

the Union’s right to enter the Cinema Hollywood jobsite or

any other jobsite for the purpose of communication with

employees represented by the Union.

(b) In any like or related manner interfering with,

restraining, or coercing employees in the exercise of rights

guaranteed them by Section 7 of the Act.

2. Take the following affirmative action necessary to

effectuate the policies of the Act.

(a) On the Union’s request, permit it to enter the

Cinema Hollywood jobsite or any other jobsite for the

purposes of communicating with the employees of Accoustical

Arts, Inc. which it currently represents provided, however,

that Respondent is not prevented from applying reasonable

and nondiscriminatory rules pertaining to nonemployee

access.

(b) Within 14 days after service by the Region mail to

the employees of Accoustical Arts who worked on the Cinema

* If no exceptions are filed as provided by Sec. 102.46 of the

Board’s Rules and Regulations, the findings, conclusions, and

_recommended Order shall, as provided in Sec. 102.48 of the Rules,

be adopted by the Board, and all objections to them shall be deemed

waived for all purposes.

66a

Hollywood jobsite at any time between August and November

1999 a copy of the notice marked “Appendix A.”° Copies of

the notice, on forms provided by the Regional Director for

Region 7 shall be mailed after being signed by the

Respondent’s authorized representative.

(c) Within 21 days after service by the Region, file

with the Regional Director a sworn certification of a

responsible official on a form provided by the Region

attesting to the steps that the Respondent has taken to

comply.°

Dated, Washington, D.C. October 25, 2000.

/s/

Martin J. Linsky

Administrative Law Judge

° If this Order is enforced by a Judgment of the United States Court

of Appeals, the words in the notice reading “POSTED BY ORDER

OF THE NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD” shall read

“POSTED PURSUANT TO A JUDGMENT OF THE UNITED

STATES COURT OF APPEALS ENFORCING AN ORDER OF

THE NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD.”

° Respondent moved the admission of Respondent Exh. 2. The

General Counsel had no objection. The record, however, does not

reflect the admission of Respondent Exh. 2. Respondent Exh. 2 is

hereby admitted and made a part of the official exhibits in this case.

67a

APPENDIX

NOTICE TO EMPLOYEES

Mailed by Order of the

National Labor Relations Board

An Agency of the United States Government

The National Labor Relations Board has found that we

violated the National Labor Relations Act and has ordered us

to mail this notice to the employees of Accoustical Arts, Inc..,

who worked in 1999 on the Cinema Hollywood jobsite in

Birch Run, Michigan.

Section 7 of the Act gives employees these rights.

_ To organize

To form, join, or assist any union

To bargain collectively through representatives of their

own choice

To act together for other mutual aid or protection

To choose not to engage in any of these protected

concerted activities.

WE WILL NOT unlawfuliy refuse or otherwise interfere with

the Union’s right to enter the Cinema Hollywood jobsite or

any other jobsite for the purpose of communicating with

employees represented by the Union.

WE WILL NOT in any like or related manner interfere with.

restrain, or coerce employees in the exercise of the rights

guaranteed in Section 7 of the Act.

WE WILL, on the Union’s request, permit it to enter the

Cinema Hollywood jobsite or any other jobsite for the

68a

purposes of communicating with the employees of Accoustical

Arts, Inc., which it currently represents provided. however,

that we are not prevented from applying reasonable and

nondiscriminatory rules pertaining to nonemployee access.

WOLGAST CORPORATION

(Employer)

Dated By

(Representative) (Title)

Any questions concerning this notice or compliance with

its provisions may be directed to the Board’s Office, 477

Michigan Avenue, Room 300, Detroit, Michigan 48226-2569,

Telephone 313-226-3244.

69a

ee ee

APPENDIX G

BEFORE THE

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

Case No. 7-CA-42474

[Filed April 11, 2000]

In the Matter of:

WOLGAST CORPORATION,

Respondent,

and

LOCAL 706, UNITED BROTHERHOOD

OF CARPENTERS AND JOINERS OF

AMERICA, AFL-CIO,

Charging Party.

Nee Nee Nee eee eee NS”

The above entitled matter came on for hearing, pursuant

to notice, before MARTIN J. LINSKY, Administrative Law

Judge, at the State Office Building, 411 E. Genesee,

Basement Conference Room, on March 30, 2000, at 11:04

A.M.

70a

APPEARANCES

On Behalf of the General Counsel:

JOSEPH CANFIELD, ESQ.

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD - REGION

7 Patrick V. McNamara Federal Building

477 Michigan Avenue

Room 300

Detroit, Michigan

On Behalf of the Respondent:

DAVID JOHN MASUD, ESQ.

MASUD GILBERT & PATTERSON, P.C.

4449 Fashion Square Boulevard

Saginaw, Michigan 48603-1242

On Behalf of the Charging Party:

LEON TURNWALD, ORGANIZER

MICHIGAN REGIONAL COUNCIL OF

CARPENTERS,

U.B.C.J.A. - A.F.L. - C.L.O.

1400 W. Genesee Avenue

Saginaw, Michigan 48602

Tla

INDEX

WITNESSES DIRECT CROSS REDIRECT

Leon Turnwald 8 42 75

Robert Horner 79 120 139

Marshall Hoffman 143 155 157

Tim Paquette 159 180 | 203

196

-John E. Binder 207 «225

WITNESSES RECROSS VOIR DIRE

Leon Turnwald 31

Robert Horner 141 89

104

Marshall Hoffman

Tim Paquette 205 196

John E. Binder 228

72a

[p.309]

call him twice. I just want to call him --

MR. MASUD: Oh. Yeah, that’s fine. I have no

objection, Judge.

JUDGE LINSKY: Okay.

MR. CANFIELD: Okay.

JUDGE LINSKY: You rest?

MR. CANFIELD: We rest, Your Honor.

JUDGE LINSKY:Okay. Mr. Masud.

MR. MASUD: _ Judge, I call Brian Grandy.

JUDGE LINSKY :If you’d raise your right hand, sir.

Whereupon,

‘BRIAN WILLIAM GRANDY

having been first duly sworn, was called as a witness herein

and was examined and testified as follows:

JUDGE LINSKY: Please be seated.

73a

DIRECT EXAMINATION

Q BY MR. MASUD: _ State your name and spell your last

name for the record, please.

A Brian William Grandy. G-r-a-n-d-y.

Q And, Mr. Grandy, tell us where you work, your title, and

your job duties as they existed on October 14th, 1999.

A_ I’ve worked for Wolgast Corporation for eight years now.

General foreman.

Q And, briefly, what’s a general foreman do for Wolgast?

A I’ve done -- I do everything and anything from building

[p.310] layout to final clean up.

Q Okay. So you run the job, correct, for Wolgast?

A Yes.

Q All right. And Wolgast is -- Tell us a little bit about

Wolgast. They’re a general contractor, correct?

A Yes.

Q Allright. And what kind of construction do they do?

A We do some construction management, some residential,

some restaurant, lots of industrial.

Q And how many employees?

A A hundred.

74a

|

|

|

:

A PPS AR Ee RELY OREN I AD

Q Okay. And they’re a non-union contractor, correct?

A Yes.

Q Okay. And you were the -- is it general foreman, is that

correct?

A Yes.

Q All right. And you were the general foreman at the

Hollywood Cinema job, right?

A Yes.

Q When did that job start?

A August --

Q Tell us when it started and when it ended.

A August 2nd-- it started August 2nd. Completion date was

November the 12th.

Q Okay. And how big a job was that in terms of dollar

{p.311] volume?

A Oh, I believe it was about $800,000.00.

Q Okay. And for a Wolgast, a typical Wolgast, job, is that

a big one, small one, medium?

A Medium.

Q Medium. Okay. And how many Wolgast employees on

that job?

75a

A We started out with three and at one -- at the most,

probably, 12 when we were doing the concrete work and

carpenter work.

Q And how did Wolgast get that job?

A_ I believe it was negotiated. I think it was a negotiated bid.

Q And so it was a bid job?

A A bid job, yes.

Q Okay. And tell us the nature of the construction. Was it

new construction? Was it an addition?

A It was an addition to an existing theater. We were adding

four theaters.

Q Okay. And who was responsible for job safety and

security on this job?

A_ Iwas. I was for Wolgast.

Q Okay. And who had control over the property site,

including access of visitors?

A Wolgast.

Q Were subs -- other than Acoustical, were there other

* * *

[p.338]

MR. MASUD: _ Brian Grandy.

76a

JUDGE LINSKY:Would you raise your right hand, sir?

Whereupon,

BRIAN GRANDY

having been duly sworn was called as a witness and was

examined and testified as follows:

JUDGE LINSKY: Please be seated.

MR. MASUD: Your Honor, I am just going to pick up

where I left off. I am not going to repeat anything that is--

JUDGE LINSKY:Okay.

MR. MASUD: All right.

JUDGE LINSKY: This gentleman is the same witness who

testified on the morning of March 31", 2000. And we are no

resuming with your testimony, sir.

THE WITNESS: Correct.

JUDGE LINSKY:Mr. Masud?

DIRECT EXAMINATION (continued)

Q BYMR.MASUD: Mr. Murphy, when we left off with

the line of questioning from myself to you ---

JUDGE LINSKY:Mr. Grandy?

MR. MASUD: _ Yes, Mr. Grandy. I’m sorry.

T7a

JUDGE LINSKY: All right.

Q BY MR. MASUD: You were explaining to us, the

different contractors, subcontractors, that were on-the-job,

and who was Union and who was non Union, and so forth.

[p.339]

With regard to the Union contractors the Hollywood

Cinema job, were you aware that any of them had collective

bargaining agreements?

A No. I was not aware of that.

Q Had you seen any of the collective bargaining agreements

for the --- any of the subcontractors on that job?

A No.

Q Would you explain for us, please, what Wolgast’s policy

is concerning visitors to the job site?

A Our policy is that they should report to the job trailer, find

the superintendent, or the guy in charge of the job.

Q Okay. And what if no one is at job trailer?

A They should ask the first person they see, who is in

charge, and find that person.

Q Allright. And what if someone is found in charge of the

job, and the visitor wants to access the job site? What

happens next?

A It would be a supervised visit only, if it was permitted.

78a

——$—$—$——$————— EE

Q And in the case of a Union business agent, how are their

visits treated by Wolgast?

A Normally, we would ask what their business is, and set up

something in the trailer for them, where they could talk with

who they needed to talk with, or in the building, a room in

the building, or whatever --- wherever worked best for

everybody.

Q And other than the Carpenters’ business agents, were

* * *

79a

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Wolgast Corp. v. National Labor Relations Board · 541 U.S. 936 | Frix