Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Black v. Delta Air Lines, Inc.

Supreme Court brief2004

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

FILED

“03 861 DEC 1 0 2003

No.

Jn The

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

¢

ROBERT C. BLACK,

Petitioner,

V.

DELTA AIR LINES, INC. and AL PEREZ,

Respondents.

¢

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari

To The Supreme Court Of Texas

¢

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

+

RONALD E. HARDEN GABRIEL H. ROBLES

DOROTHY J. HARDEN Attorney at Law

THE LAW OFFICES OF Counsel of Record

RONALD E. HARDEN 8828 North Stemmons

113 West Mulberry Freeway, Suite 143

Kaufman, Texas 75142 Dallas, Texas 75247

Telephone: (972) 932-0600 Telephone: (214) 361-2411

Telecopier: (972) 932-0602 Telecopier: (214) 361-7074

Counsel for Petitioner

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO. (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Airline Deregulation Act of 1978, 49

U.S.C. § 41713(b)(1) (the “ADA”), preempts state com-

mon law claims for breach of contract, negligent mis-

representation, and fraud against an airline and a gate

supervisor for failing to honor confirmed first-class res-

ervations on a flight and for representations made in

relation to those reservations.

2. Whether the Department of Transportation (“DOT”)

regulations regarding oversales and notice-of incorpo-

rated terms, 14 C.F.R. §§ 250.1-.11 and 253, which ap-

ply to airline contracts of carriage, require preemption

of state common law claims for breach of contract, neg-

ligent misrepresentation, and fraud under the ADA.

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

UBS TIO ee PRO RED sets cc sccninscnctsnsnssnnenneanitenannies i

SE A CREED vosiuntimmckcimaiamaannenaae il

TABLE OF AUTHORED unccsccccccsesecesvesensossentnsenconensone iv

CO EET RIEU GTR sicisevsakiasssinoninteatenmadioeineia peclnaacints 1

FU EON sii sansinscntacavassaesnabiiae gmail 1

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

EEO ARIE EBED ssincccciensciiniinerasiniubnadiad aman auamaliaaias 1

SF LARA EDOEREN ES IE LEGER AMIE ovccavcecxsnivscinncieocieniawsnanions 2

ARGUMENT AND REASONS FOR GRANTING THE

WHITE E ksstisssienvdunicaciialeemeaieaibiaaemaaeee icici 5

I. The Supreme Court of Texas Ignored the Fun-

damental Purpose of the ADA and Held, Con-

trary to American Airlines, Inc. v. Wolens, that

the ADA Preempts a Routine Breach of Contract

Claim by a Passenger Against an Airline............. 6

II. This Court, Not the Supreme Court of Texas,

Should Settle the Important Federal Issues of

Whether the ADA Preempts State Common

Law Claims for Fraud and Negligent Misrep-

POR nenhisrtcrinncnccincensnniaedadaeauaen 11

III. The Supreme Court of Texas Interpreted

“Services” Under the Preemption Provision of

the ADA, an Important Federal Question that

has Divided the Courts of Appeals and Should

be Settled by This Court Alone ...................000006 13

IV. The State Court Has Interpreted Federal

Regulations Regarding Denied Boarding

Compensation as Barring Common Law

Claims Under State Law and Rendering Pas-

sengers Like Black Without a Remedy.............. 14

ili

TABLE OF CONTENTS — Continued

Page

A. The Federal Regulations on Oversales, 14

C.F.R. §§ 250.1 through 250.11, Do Not

Preempt Biack’s CHAM ...........cccccssesssscccsoes 15

B. 14 C.F.R. § 250.6 Does Not Bar Black’s

ee re Te cineca cn adacet avandia tbaabeninenive 16

C. 14C.FR. § 250.9(b) Does Not Apply Only if

a Passenger is Eligible for Denied Board-

BEN TOTTI oats vcsssvcnssesscsncnsseconcesexeose 18

V. The State Court Decision Reflects an Overly

Broad Application of ADA Preemption and

This Court Should Step in to Provide Consum-

ers Like Black With a Meaningful Remedy

PIE TE FAP IIOD ona s se scsssorsivvsccsrssvsccnserersessese 20

NN cnt Siaeeskantscancarbeissiesstactsbenishingenenstes 22

lV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Alessi v. Raybestos-Manhattan, Inc., 451 U.S. 504

CRD cinksnseiiransstntociesnnentitniontaenseionpeubehiocanuemenaniniiinds

American Airlines, Inc. v. Wolens, 513 U.S. 219

(FID sttene vstienianhseean'dnsnsansanvainseasvenbiaens 5, 6, 7, 8, 9,

Bayne v. Adventure Tours USA, Inc., 841 F. Supp.

ee, es is ct cciessiiasinievclaubided tadtcbiiaktneendenes

Cal. Div. of Labor Standards Enforcement v.

Dillingham Constr., N.A., 519 U.S. 316 (1997)......

Charas v. Trans World Airlines, Inc., 160 F.2d 1259

(9th Cir. 1998) (en banc), op. amended on denial

of reh’g, 169 F.3d 594 (9th Cir. 1999)......... eee

Chukwu v. Board of Directors of Varig Airlines, 880

PF. Bet. BEL DD. Bates, TODG) occ ccrecensresievccscccescavssces

Cipollone v. Liggett Group, Inc., 505 U.S. 504 (1992)

DeBuono v. NYSA-ILA Medical & Clinical Servs.

Festal, GOO UB. DO IE) as sasessensscnesssericinasncerseisiess

Decker v. Browning-Ferris Industries of Colo., Inc.,

DE FB Ge CCN. FOG) vine sc iisicscnsicsinsscnscsessssnviens

Duncan v. Northwest Airlines, Inc., 208 F.3d 1112

(9th Cir.), cert. denied sub nom., Northwest Air-

lines, Inc. v. Duncan, 531 U.S. 1058 (2000)............

Hodges v. Delta Airlines, Inc., 44 F.3d 334 (5th Cir.

I i aa a arenes

Lathigra v. British Airways PLC, 41 F.3d 535 (9th

ARE IE scciccstsescenearenTbninicaniansioindeniaiuuanadunnsteaitaaee

Morales v. Trans World Airlines, Inc., 504 U.S. 374

(Asis ss ci case tad citn tnismiédddantabhaenaaiereanbome 5, 6,

10, 21

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

Nader v. Allegheny Airlines, Inc., 426 U.S. 290

(FFP tctintvehicavicumaadnieiane daa 16

Sedigh v. Delta Airlines, Inc., 850 F. Supp. 197

FO Re: RRO AORN MIWA aE PMU Ma ce iPea yeh ty 12

Smith v. Comair, Inc., 134 F.3d 254 (4th Cir. 1998).......... 14

Taj Mahal Travel, Inc. v. Delta Airlines, Inc., 164

2 SE GA SEE takai ae ee 13

Travel All Over the World, Inc. v. Kingdom of Saudi

Arabia, 73 F.3d 1423 (7th Cir. 1996)..............0.06.. 8, 12, 14

West v. Northwest Airlines, Inc., 995 F.2d 148 (9th

Cir. 1993), cert. denied, 510 U.S. 1111 (1994)................ 12

Woodson v. U.S. Airways, Inc., 67 F. Supp. 2d 554

COR er Gs RUNG cssssestncsenanianisinnncesiccmsadeinissaeane ore 12

UNUM Life Ins. Co. of Am. v. Ward, 526 U.S. 358

UFO xchnssdsosiinevasnnsuiaguniienngiieloateiaiianie de aaa ee 15

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

7 SR. I. Fe ik kissed ec ee 2

ee BAe BPP sivcnstintercdcscidonmadanies sigsivaueninicaannciae 1

GP ARS, FG re wtsscnsnccseseicnaiindacn eee 2

REGULATORY MATERIALS

RE CPR. BE BOO BAG oink cceivscrcrernceutanen 2, 15

BG GT BO itisnsnrsisiesaniionissietnene eee 11

Re CAF I sonceinistinsiccrticianiandenaee 19, 20

BE CA ae I wctisinitsntcnntonseantecanuinianae aan ee 17

Be ee vs evmnionieciemaaaleinean 16, t7, 19, 20

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

Rae sO IN visusincccsccunsenshiiinsetedsrioomiatiamenamedaa 19

BAe ee ID cinisovsieiessnnvvsnnrtsacmesasineneseaate 17, 18, 19

Re ee i ROOD siecessasasssnsscsesyicnasentieoonaniiauanielians 2

Ga Bh it skcterrerirevicmasicoanimamninnines 7

14 C.F.R. § 399.110 repealed by 68 Fed. Reg. 43882-

ee PO A, Be ostkescenevinininccsacntssinatovintiadinntonminiana 20

43 Fed. Reg. 24277, 24279 (June 5, 1978)...............ce0eeeeees 11

43 Fed. Reg. 24277, 24281-82 (June 5, 1978)................0008 11

47 Fed. Reg. 52128-02, 52129 (Nov. 19, 1982).................... 7

‘47 Fed. Reg. 52980, 52983 (Nov. 24, 1982).................. 15, 17

; MISCELLANEOUS

H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 95-1779, 95th Cong., 2d Sess.

Bh POD icicascrasivspinbeneusnctenniabionua mina 9

Daniel Rosenthal, Note, Legal Turbulence: The

Court’s Misconstrual of the Airline Deregulation

Act’s Preemption Clause and the Effect on Pas-

sengers’ Rights, 51 Duke L.J. 1857 (2002)..................... 11

1

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Supreme Court of Texas (App. 1-26)

is reported at 116 S.W.3d 745 (Tex. 2003). The opinion of

the Tenth Court of Appeals of Texas (App. 30-53), was

originally unpublished, but the Supreme Court of Texas

ordered it published and the court of appeals’ opinion

appears at 2002 WL 32156264 (Tex. App. — Waco 2002).

The district court issued no opinion and district court

judgment (App. 54-56) is unreported.

¢

JURISDICTION

The Supreme Court of Texas issued its judgment and

opinion on June 26, 2003. On September 11, 2003, the

Supreme Court of Texas granted Robert C. Black’s timely

filed motion for rehearing in part (App. 1-2), and a cor-

rected judgment and opinion issued that day. (App. 3-26).

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1257/(a).

¢

CONSTITUTIONAL AND

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The Supremacy Clause of the Constitution provides

that:

This Constitution, and the Laws of the United

States which shall be made in Pursuance thereof;

and all Treaties made, or which shall be made,

under the Authority of the United States, shall

be the supreme Law of the Land; and the J udges

in every State shall be bound thereby, any Thing

9 7

in the Constitution or Laws of any State to the

Contrary notwithstanding. 7

U.S. Const. art. VI, cl. 2.

The relevant preemption provision of the ADA, 49

U.S.C. § 41713(b)\(1) is reproduced at App. 57-58. The

relevant regulations adopted by the Department of Trans-

portation (“DOT”) applicable to this case, 14 C.FR.

§§ 250.1-250.11, 253.1-253.8 (2002), are reprinted at App.

58-74."

¢

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Robert C. Black (“Black”) brought suit against Delta

Air Lines, Inc. (“Delta”) and a Delta supervisor, Al Perez

(“Perez”), for damages for breach of contract, negligent

misrepresentation, and fraud/intentional misrepresenta-

tion arising out of the failure to honor two confirmed first-

class reservations for air travel and for the representa-

tions made regarding those tickets. On June 23, 1995,

Black purchased two first-class tickets for Delta flight 661

leaving from Dallas/Fort Worth the afternoon of the 23rd

* On September 8, 2003, three days before the Texas supreme court.

issued its corrected judgment and opinion, the DOT promulgated

certain revisions to Part 250 of the Code of Federal Regulations,

specifically 14 C.F.R. §§ 250.1, 250.2, 250.2b, 250.5, and 250.9, to take

effect October 8, 2003. 68 Fed. Reg. 52835 (Sept. 8, 2003). These

revisions provided technical corrections to the regulations at issue, such

as changing references from the former regulatory board to the DOT.

Because only the 2002 regulations were brought to the state supreme

court’s attention by Delta and Perez (Pet. for Rev. at App. 5), Black

reproduces those regulations in his Appendix.

3

and arriving in Las Vegas, Nevada at 3:55 p.m. with a

return trip on June 25, 1995, from a Dallas travel agency.

Black bought the tickets so that he and his wife, Mary,

could have a romantic weekend together to repair his

damaged marriage. Black planned the surprise trip as well

as several activities, including a leisurely dinner and

attending a Tom Jones concert the evening of their arrival.

The invoices for the tickets Black received from the

travel agency reflected two first-class reservations on

flight 661 and the return flight. Although the invoices

showed seat assignments for Black for both directions, the _

_ invoice for Mary Black’s ticket reflected a seat assignment

only for the réturn flight. The invoice for Mary Black’s

ticket reflected first-class reservations for both directions.

Each ticket purchased by Black indicated that they were

“Issued by DELTA AIRLINES INC” and reflected first-

class travel for the Blacks on flight 661 and the return

flight.

After receiving the tickets, Black departed for the

airport, fully expecting that both he and his wife would fly

first class together as planned. At no time prior to his

arrival at the airport, did anyone at Delta or the travel

agency ever inform him there was any problem with the

reservations or the two first-class seats that he had

purchased were incorrect in any way. In fact, the travel

agent and manager of the travel agency specifically

represented to Black that he had two confirmed first-class

tickets.

When Black arrived at the gate, Black requested

adjacent seats in first class, and the gate agent responded

“Tl see what I can do.” While in the process of boarding,

Perez, a Delta gate supervisor, appeared and informed

4

Black that he did not have two confirmed first class seats

for the flight. According to Delta, Delta had a confirmed

first-class seat for Black, but only a confirmed coach seat

for Black’s wife, who Delta placed on a priority waiting list

for first class. Perez and the travel agent spoke on the

telephone, and the travel agent insisted that Black had

two confirmed first-class tickets.

Delta and the airline industry routinely encounter the

situation at issue in this case. Passengers, in many cases,

show up for flights with confirmed tickets but no reserva-

tions. Further, Delta’s reservations system commonly

failed to confirm a reservation for a passenger under a

rival reservations system that the travel agency used in

this case.

In response to the Blacks’ plight, Delta offered Black

some options: the Blacks could sit together in coach for the

flight; they could fly separately on the flight; or they could

fly first class on a later flight. Each of the alternatives

claimed by Delta included free travel vouchers for coach

seats. Because the alternatives were unacceptable given

the purpose of the trip and the schedule, Black rejected

Delta’s proposals and made other flight arrangements,

specifically, he hired a private air carrier to transport him

and wife to Las Vegas.

—

Thereafter, Black sued Delta for breach of contract

and sued both Delta and Perez for intentional misrepre-

sentation and negligent misrepresentation. Delta and

Perez moved for summary judgment on several grounds,

including preemption under the ADA. (App. 7-8, 33). The

trial court entered a take nothing summary judgment in

favor of Delta and Perez. (App. 54-56). Black appealed.

5

The state court of appeals reversed the trial court

judgment and remanded the case for trial. (App. 30, 51).

After undertaking considered analysis of the statute, case

law, and federal regulations, the court of appeals held that

the ADA did not preempt Black’s claims against Delta for

breach of contract, (App. 35-43), or his claims against

Delta and Perez for fraud and negligent misrepresenta-

tion. (App. 44-46).

Delta and Perez petitioned the Texas supreme court

for review of a single issue — preemption. (App. 8). After

reviewing the statutory framework of the ADA, Morales v.

Trans World Airlines, Inc., 504 U.S. 374 (1992), American

Airlines, Inc. v. Wolens, 513 U.S. 219 (1995), and certain

DOT regulations, the court held that the ADA expressly

preempted all of Black’s claims against Delta and Perez,

(App. 25-26), and left Black with no remedy whatsoever

against the airline.

¢

ARGUMENT AND REASONS

FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

This case raises important, recurring questions

relating to the preemptive scope of the ADA on state

common law claims, the meaning of the words “related to,”

“service,” and “enact or enforce a law” under the ADA, as

well as the proper application of Wolens, Morales, and the

relevant DOT regulations. This case directly impacts the

boundaries of federalism and states’ rights. It cries out for

review by this Court to safeguard the rights of the travel-

ing public to bring state law claims against the airlines for

their conduct and the agreements they undertake. Action

by this Court, it is hoped, wil! halt the ever-growing abuse

6

of the ADA as a means of achieving sweeping immunity for

the airlines — a result unintended by Congress and con-

trary to the purposes behind the ADA. Among other

things, the Texas supreme court’s holding that the ADA

preempts a routine breach of contract claim brought by a

passenger flies in the face of Wolens and does violence to

the deregulatory purpose behind the ADA for the airline

industry to “maximize reliance on competitive market

forces.” Morales, 504 U.S. at 378. Deregulation should

triumph, not the economic protectionism artificially

created by courts such as the Texas supreme court with its

overly expansive interpretation of the ADA.

In the wake of Morales and Wolens, lower courts’

application of ADA preemption has been turbulent and

contradictory. The legal principles at stake in this case

have ramifications for a wide variety of tort and contract

claims against the airlines, and review by this Court

would bring much needed guidance, certainty, and tran-

quility to this area of the law. For the reasons that follow,

the Court should grant certiorari review.

I. The Supreme Court of Texas Ignored the Fun-

damental Purpose of the ADA and Held, Con-

trary to American Airlines, Inc. v. Wolens, that

the ADA Preempts a Routine Breach of Con-

tract Claim by a Passenger Against an Airline.

Unfortunately, the state supreme court ruled, contrary

to Wolens, that the ADA preempts a breach of contract

claim against an airline. (App. 22-25). In reaching this

erroneous conclusion, the supreme court’s holding directly

contradicts Wolens and the cogent analysis of that case.

This case comes within the ambit of Wolens. The “terms

and conditions airlines offer and passengers accept” are

7

“privately ordered obligations” not amounting to a State’s

“enact[ment] or enforce[ment] [of] any law, rule, regula-

tion, standard, or other provision having the force and

effect of law” within the meaning of the ADA. Wolens, 513

U.S. at 228-29; see also Cipollone v. Liggett Group, Inc.,

505 U.S. 504, 526 (1992). Wolens should not be read so

strictly, as the supreme court of Texas did, that only “some

of” the terms and conditions airlines offer and passengers

accept are privately ordered obligations not preempted by

the ADA. (App. 12-13).

Further, the court below overlooked a key passage

from Wolens where this Court explicitly stated that the

“FAA's text, we note, presupposes the vitality of contracts

governing transportation by air carriers.” Wolens, 513 U.S.

at 230. The presence of federal regulations in a contract of

carriage poses no bar to the adjudication of a breach of

contract claim:

Section 411(b) [of the Federal Aviation Act] thus

authorizes airlines to “incorporate by reference in

any ticket or other written instrument any of the

terms of the contract of carriage” to the extent

authorized by the DOT. And the DOT's regula-

tions contemplate that, upon the January 1,

1983, termination of domestic tariffs, “ticket con-

tracts” ordinarily would be enforceable under

“the contract law of the States.” 47 Fed. Reg.

52129 (1982). Correspondingly, the DOT requires

carriers to give passengers written notice of the

time period within which they may “bring an ac-

tion against the carrier for its acts.” 14 C.FR.

§ 253.5(b)(2) (1994).

Id. Thus, the presence of federal regulations weakens the

conclusion reached by the state court that Black’s breach

of contract claims are preempted by the ADA. Nor can it be

8

said that Black’s claims impermissibly raise the spectre of

intrusive regulation. (App. 20).’

The court overstated its concerns that Black’s claims

have any potential for intrusive regulation of airline

business practices. This Court recognized in Wolens, the

essence of contract law is that this body of law is not

“diverse, nonuniform, and confusing.” Jd. at 233. This

Court found no large risk of nonuniform adjudication of a

state court enforcement of the terms of a uniform agree-

ment prepared by an airline and entered into with its

passengers nationwide. Jd. at 233, n.5.

Although Black believes the result unintentional, in

reality, the net effect of the state supreme court’s adverse

decision will be to undermine Congress’ intent behind the

? In Travel All Over the World, Inc. v. Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, 73

F.3d 1423 (7th Cir. 1996), the Seventh Circuit, after thoughtful analy-

sis, explicitly rejected the argument that federal regulations are

“external to the parties agreement”:

[The airline] argues that the contract claims in Wolens

were based on American Airlines’ unregulated frequent flyer

program, while the contract claims here are based on [the

airline]’s heavily regulated “bumping” practices. [The air-

line] asks us to read “privately ordered obligations” as en-

compassing only those obligations outside the purview of

federal regulation of rates, routes, or services. Yet Wolens

did not distinguish between various types of contracts; the

Court limited its analysis to the question of whether a

state’s enforcement of private contracts amounted to an

“enactment or enforcement of any law.” Id. at 824. We see no

reason to distinguish Wolens based on the mere existence of

“bumping” regulations. The question of whether a State has

“enacted or enforced a law” cannot depend on the existence of

federal regulations in the same area.

73 F.3d at 1432 (italics added).

9

ADA preemption clause — that efficiency, low prices,

variety, and quality would be furthered by reliance on

competitive market forces rather than pervasive federal

regulation. See H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 95-1779, 95th Cong.,

2d Sess. 53 (1978). By refusing to permit Black’s claims,

particularly his breach of contract claim, to proceed in

state court, the Texas supreme court has actually

thwarted market forces and stymied efficiency. This Court,

in considering the scope of ADA preemption, recognized:

Market efficiency requires effective means to en-

force private agreements.... “The stability and

efficiency of the market depend fundamentally

on the enforcement of agreements freely made,

based on needs perceived by the contracting par-

ties at the time.” ... That reality is key to sensi-

ble construction of the ADA.

Wolens, 513 U.S. at 230 (citations omitted). The Texas

supreme court has not sensibly construed the ADA and

has overlooked the reality that there must be a mecha-

nism to enforce agreements by passengers against the

airlines.

The basis of a contract action is the parties’ agree-

ment. Jd. at 233. In this case, what Black and Delta

agreed to — a contract of carriage — they bargained for

against the backdrop of the DOT regulations as well as the

common law. Black is seeking enforcement of the terms of

his contract. Unlike the Consumer Fraud Act claims that

this Court in Wolens found objectionable because the

statutory claims did not simply give effect to bargains

offered by the airlines and accepted by airline customers,

id. at 228, Black is simply seeking to give effect to the

bargain offered by the airlines and accepted by airline

10

customers like him, and the business judgments an airline

made public about its ability to transport. See id. at 229.

Moreover, the Texas supreme court glossed over the

ADA’s savings clause, dismissing the savings provision as

“a mere relic of the FAA” which does not supercede the

specific substantive ADA preemption provision. (App. 10-

11 n.2, citing Morales, 504 U.S. at 385). Far from being a

throwback to a bygone era, this Court relied on the ADA’s

savings clause to find no preemption of routine breach of

contract claims:

The conclusion that the ADA permits state-law

based court adjudication of routine breach-of-

contract claims also makes sense of Congress’ re-

tention of the FAA’s saving clause, (preserving

“the remedies now existing at common law or by

statute”). The ADA’s preemption clause, read to-

gether with the FAA’s saving clause, stops States

from imposing their own substantive standards

with respect to rates, routes or services, but not

from affording relief to a party who claims and

proves that an airline dishonored a term the air-

line itself stipulated.

Wolens, 513 U.S. at 232-33 (citations omitted). Reading the

preemption provision with the savings clause gives effect

to the savings provision and properly construes the stat-

ute.

In this case, to hold an airline to the terms of its

contract of carriage, which allow Black to reject compensa-

tion and recover damages in state court, and to hold an

airline to the representations made regarding that con-

tract will not undo federal regulation. In fact, enforcing

contracts such as Black’s will promote the policy of ensur-

ing that every air carrier achieves the smallest practicable

11

number of persons holding confirmed reservations is

denied boarding involuntarily. 14 C.F.R. § 250.2a. Un-

doubtedly, the airlines would have an incentive to reduce

the number of passengers denied boarding involuntarily to

the lowest amount practicable, and reduce its litigation

and other costs. Or, in fact, the airlines may “find it in

their interest to develop new methods of controlling

oversales to augment or supplant the procedures con-

tained in [14 C.F.R. Part 250],” an effect that the former

regulatory agency, the Civil Aeronautics Board (the “CAB”

or “Board”) has urged in the past. 43 Fed. Reg. 24277,

24279 (June 5, 1978); see also id. 24281-82.

II. This Court, Not the Supreme Court of Texas,

Should Settle the Important Federal Issues of

Whether the ADA Preempts State Common Law

Claims for Fraud and Negligent Misrepresentation.

This Court has not yet decided whether the ADA

preempts state common law claims for negligent

misrepresentation and fraud. These are important federal

issues concerning the scope of ADA preemption. The

language and legislative history of the ADA do not

manifest a clear congressional intent to preempt the vast

majority of state law claims, including the commonly

occurring claims of passengers that relate to airline

negligence or fraud. See Daniel Rosenthal, Note, Legal

Turbulence: The Court’s Misconstrual of the Airline

Deregulation Act’s Preemption Clause and the Effect on

Passengers’ Rights, 51 Duke L.J. 1857, 1871 (2002). Not

only are Black’s claims not preempted under the Wolens

exception to preemption, see discussion supra at §I, his

other claims are not so distinct from breach of contract

claims that they should be preempted under the ADA.

Black’s claims for negligent misrepresentation and fraud

12

are no more intrusive than the numerous personal injury

claims found not to be preempted by the ADA. See, e.g.,

Wolens, 513 U.S. at 242-43 (O’Connor, J., concurring in

part and dissenting in part) (citing numerous cases in

which state tort claims found not preempted).°

The claims at issue here do not arise from overreach-

ing guiding and policing of marketing practices of the

airlines that this Court found offensive when applying

state deceptive trade statutes. See Wolens, 513 U.S. at 228.

Further, Black’s claims are based on the conduct and .

undertakings of the airlines themselves. It is critical to

note the DOT has neither the authority nor the apparatus

needed to superintend contract disputes. Jd. at 232. This

* See also Travel All Over the World, Inc. v. Kingdom of Saudi

Arabia, 73 F.3d 1423 (7th Cir. 1996) (slander and defamation claims

and other tort claims based on representations made by airline not

preempted); Lathigra v. British Airways PLC, 41 F.3d 535, 540 (9th Cir.

1994) (looking to congressional intent, concluding the ADA did not

preempt state tort actions for negligent reconfirmation against an

airline because they did not undermine the goals of airline deregula-

tion.); West v. Northwest Airlines, Inc., 995 F.2d 148, 151 (9th Cir. 1993),

cert. denied, 510 U.S. 1111 (1994) (holding that claim for breach of duty

of good faith and fair dealing and unjust discrimination in connection

with airline reservation and refusal to board not preempted under the

ADA); Woodson v. U.S. Airways, Inc., 67 F. Supp. 2d 554 (M.D.N.C.

1999) (ADA does not preempt fraud, breach of contract and negligent

supervision claims against airline); Chukwu v. Board of Directors of

Varig Airlines, 880 F. Supp. 891 (D. Mass. 1995) (breach of contract

claim for refusal to board airplane not preempted); Sedigh v. Delta

Airlines, Inc., 850 F. Supp. 197 (E.D.N.Y. 1994) (passenger’s breach of

contract claim for being forced off airline not preempted); Bayne v.

Adventure Tours USA, Inc., 841 F. Supp. 206 (N.D. Tex. 1994) (passen-

ger’s state law claim for breach of warranty not preempted); Decker v.

Browning-Ferris Industries of Colo., Inc., 931 P.2d 436 (Colo. 1997)

(breach of express covenant of good faith and fair dealing is breach of

an obligation created by contract and, therefore, not preempted).

13

reality applies with equal force to tort claims and cuts

against preemption.

III. The Supreme Court of Texas Interpreted “Ser-

vices” Under the Preemption Provision of the

ADA, an Important Federal Question that has

Divided the Courts of Appeals and Should be

Settled by This Court Alone.

This case also warrants review because it presents an

important issue, namely, the meaning of what constitutes

an airline “service” under the ADA — an issue that has

divided the courts of appeals. The Texas supreme court

properly found that the ADA is silent on what activities

qualify as airline services and recognized this Court has

not determined that issue. (App. 16; see also App. 25).

Because Congress failed to define services” or specify

what state action the ADA clause preempts, the courts

were left to their own devices.

In the wake of this legislative silence, lower courts

have adopted two directly divergent tests to determine

whether a claim qualifies as a “service” under the ADA.

The Ninth and Third Circuits have held that the term

“service” encompasses the “prices, schedules, origins and

destinations of the point-to-point transportation of pas-

sengers, cargo, or mail” but does not include “ ‘provision of

in-flight beverages, personal assistance to passengers, the

handling of luggage, and similar amenities.’” Duncan v.

Northwest Airlines, Inc., 208 F.3d 1112, 1114-15 (9th Cir.),

cert. denied sub nom., Northwest Airlines, Inc. v. Duncan,

531 U.S. 1058 (2000) (quoting Charas v. Trans World

Airlines, Inc., 160 F.2d 1259 (9th Cir. 1998) (en banc), op.

amended on denial of reh’g, 169 F.3d 594 (9th Cir. 1999));

Taj Mahal Travel, Inc. v. Delta Airlines, Inc., 164 F.3d 186,

14

194 (3d Cir. 1998). This narrow definition espoused by

these circuits was necessary to avoid preemption of virtu-

ally everything an airline does. Duncan, 208 F.3d at 1114.

Other courts of appeal have adopted a more expansive

approach and found the word “service” to include contrac-

tual features of air transportation, including ticketing,

boarding procedures, provision of food and drink, and

baggage handling. Smith v. Comair, Inc., 134 F.3d 254, 259

(4th Cir. 1998); Travel All Over the World, Inc. v. Kingdom

of Saudi Arabia, 73 F.3d 1423 (7th Cir. 1996); Hodges v.

Delta Airlines, Inc., 44 F.3d 334, 336 (5th Cir. 1995) (en

banc). When applying the expansive approach of these

circuits, preemption has predictably resulted.

Black contends that the Court should grant certiorari

and resolve this important conflict among the circuits over

the meaning of “service” under the ADA. In this regard,

Black urges approval of the Ninth Circuit’s approach.

Black’s claims involve an airline’s dishonoring first-class

tickets and the representations made in relation to those

tickets. Black’s claims do not directly assault Delta’s

pricing structure, airline schedules, or the routes Delta

intends to fly. Only this Court can resolve the differing

approaches among the circuits. Black respectfully urges

the Court to intervene.

IV. The State Court Has Interpreted Federal

Regulations Regarding Denied Boarding Com-

pensation as Barring Common Law Claims Un-

der State Law and Rendering Passengers Like

Black Without a Remedy.

In reaching its conclusion finding preemption of all of

Black’s claims, the supreme court incorrectly claimed that

15

Black was seeking to improperly enlarge Delta’s obliga-

tions to him. (App. 23). The court muddied its analysis and

merged implied preemption theories into its express

preemption analysis. (App. 20-22). By construing the

regulations as it has, the supreme court has robbed Black,

and other members of the flying public, of any remedy

against the airline. This absurd result runs counter to the

salutary legal maxim — “the law abhors a forfeiture.” See

UNUM Life Ins. Co. of Am. v. Ward, 526 U.S. 358, 360

(1999).

A. The Federal Regulations on Oversales, 14

C.F.R. §§ 250.1 through 250.11, Do Not Pre-

empt Black’s Claims.

Far from capable of being adjudicated only by refer-

ence to policies and laws external to its contract, Black’s

claims are fully able to be addressed under state contract

and tort law, which continues as part of the remedies now

existing at common law and fills in any contractual gaps.

The court reasoned that the presence of the regulations

modified Black’s claims. In actuality, the analysis is the

reverse — common law existed first, and the regulations

are in derogation of that law. Further, the Texas supreme

court failed to recognize that the federal regulations on

oversales are not comprehensive. They simply reflect the

minimum standards for treatment of passengers holding

confirmed reservations due to an oversold flight. The

Texas supreme court held the regulations were the maxi-

mum standards for treating passengers not accommodated

on a flight. (App. 20-22). This result runs contrary to the

agency interpretation of the Oversales regulations in the

wake of ADA preemption. 47 Fed. Reg. 52980, 52980 (Nov.

24, 1982) (stating that 14 CFR Part 250 establishes

16

minimum standards for the treatment of airline passen-

gers holding confirmed reservations who are not accom-

modated because their flight has been oversold.). The

denied boarding compensation, a regulatory remedy, is

only a minimum obligation of the airlines. It is not the

exclusive remedy.‘

B. 14 C.F.R. § 250.6 Does Not Bar Black’s

Claims.

The state supreme court’s conclusion that 14 C.F‘R.

§ 250.6 supports express preemption under the ADA (App.

22-23), if permitted to stand, produces another absurd

result. It allows Delta to claim Black is not entitled to

denied boarding compensation when Delta kept offering

him denied boarding compensation, including other

tickets. Instead of being ineligible for denied boarding

compensation or being denied boarding under the regula-

tions, Delta itself recognized that Black was entitled to

* In fact, the CAB specifically rejected a proposal from the air

carriers that the denied boarding compensation be an exclusive remedy

to passengers:

The Board specifically rejected the carriers’ proposal that

the denied boarding compensation be made an exclusive

remedy:

(T)o the extent that the proposed tariff provision is designed

to restrict a passenger from seeking damages to which he

would otherwise be entitled under the common law, we find

it to be adverse to the public interest. Accordingly, we shall

condition our approval of the agreement to make clear that

the prescribed remedy is a minimum obligation of the

carrier which, only if accepted by the passenger, would ter-

minate the carrier’s obligation.

Nader v. Allegheny Airlines, Inc., 426 U.S. 290, 307 m.18 (1976).

ny

4]

4

4

re

]

17

such compensation. According to Perez, every alternative

offered by Delta included travel vouchers (tickets). (I

Clerk’s R. 67.) Travel vouchers are specific denied boarding

compensation permitted by 14 C.F.R. §§ 250.5(b) (“Carriers

may offer free or reduced air transportation in lieu of the

cash due under paragraph (a) of this section.... ”) and

250.9(b) (“The airline may offer free tickets in place of the

cash payment”). Black was permitted to refuse the com-

pensation and seek recourse in a court of law. Delta is

estopped to deny its own conduct repeatedly offering Black

denied boarding compensation under § 250.5(b).

The CAB even recognized that the exceptions to

denied boarding compensation, even if they did apply, do

not preclude a passenger from taking action against the

air carrier. In discussing subsection (d) to 14 C.FR.

§ 250.6, then a new exception, the Board in 1982 stated:

Carriers will not be required to make payments

to passengers who can be accommodated on al-

ternate flights that are scheduled to arrive at the

passenger’s next stopover or final destination

within 1 hour of the scheduled arrival time of the

original flight.... Passengers that can make

their connecting flight or that are provided

alternative flights that are scheduled to arrive

within 1 hour of the original time will not be

compensated. Passengers will still, of course, be

free in these situations to take action against car-

riers in situations where they feel it is justified.

47 Fed. Reg. 52980, 52983 (Nov. 24, 1982) (italics added).

The Board recognized that a passenger who is not entitled

to denied boarding compensation can still take action

against the carrier. The Board did not consider the excep-

tion to preempt the passenger’s claims. Although the

18

subsection at issue is subsection (d), not (c), the same

rationale applies to (c). If a passenger can still take action

against the carrier even though he is denied compensation

due to the application of subsection (d), then the same

passenger surely can take action against the carrier in the

face of subsection (c).

C. 14 C.E.R. § 250.9(b) Does Not Apply Only if a

Passenger is Eligible for Denied Boarding

Compensation.

Although the supreme court looked to a portion of 14

C.F.R. § 250.9(b) for guidance (App. 20-22), it did not

consider critical language in the section and unnecessarily

applied the section too restrictively. 14 C.F.R. § 250.9(b)

provides that, among other things:

COMPENSATION FOR DENIED BOARDING

If you have been denied a reserved seat on (name

of air carrier), you are probably entitled to mone-

tary compensation. This notice explains the air-

line’s obligation and the passenger’s rights in the

case of an oversold flight, in accordance with

regulations of the U.S. Civil Aeronautics Board.”

METHOD OF PAYMENT

.... The air carrier may offer free tickets in

place of the cash payment. The passenger may,

however, ... refuse all compensation and bring

private legal action.

* See note 1 supra.

19

PASSENGER'S OPTIONS

Acceptance of the compensation may relieve [the

air carrier] from any further liability to the pas-

senger caused by its failure to honor the con-

firmed reservation. However, the passenger may

decline the payment and seek to recover damages

in a court of law or in some other manner.

14 C.F.R. § 250.9(b) (italics added).

The section clearly provides “If you have been denied a

reserved_seat on (name of air carrier), you are probably

entitled to monetary compensation. This notice explains

the airline’s obligation and the passenger’s rights in the

case of an oversold flight, in accordance with regulations of

the U.S. Civil Aeronautics Board.” Id. The section does not

state that it only applies in instances when a passenger is

guaranteed denied boarding compensation.

This written explanation must be given to “anyone

who requests it,” not just persons denied boarding invol-

untarily. 14 C.F.R. § 250.9(a). The statement required by

section 250.9(b) is not limited to only those persons enti-

tled to the regulatory denied boarding compensation. If

section 250.9(b) was intended only to cover persons who

are eligible for denied boarding compensation, as the

Texas supreme court has held, then surely the regulation

would have so specified at the outset and not required the

airlines to give the regulation to passengers “probably

entitled to monetary compensation.” Id. at § 250.9(b).

Further, the statement confirms the right to “seek to

recover damages in a court of law,” and does not restrict its

benefits only to those persons entitled to denied boarding

compensation under 14 C.F.R. § 250.5 and those not

subject to the exceptions of 14 C.F.R. § 250.6. The notice

20

applies to the “passenger,” not “the passenger who is

eligible for denied boarding compensation under § 250.5

and who does not fall within an exception provided in

§ 250.6.”

V. The State Court Decision Reflects an Overly

Broad Application of ADA Preemption and This

Court Should Step in to Provide Consumers

Like Black With a Meaningful Remedy Against

the Airlines.

The overly broad interpretation of ADA preemption by

the Texas supreme court unfairly denies airline consumers

their fair day in court. The unfortunate decision is but the

latest step in a series of legal maneuvers by the airlines

who have used the ADA preemption provision, not for

economic deregulation as intended by Congress, but as a

sweeping immunity provision to unfairly safeguard the

airlines. The stated purposes of the ADA do not counte-

nance this result.°

In other contexts, this Court typically starts its

preemption analysis with the presumption against pre-

emption — that Congress did not intend to preempt areas

of traditional state regulation. “Related to” language

contained in a preemption statute will not vitiate this

* On July 24, 2003, the DOT recently repealed its long-standing

rule detailing its policy statement on federal preemption of state

economic regulations. 14 C.F.R. § 399.110 repealed by 68 Fed. Reg.

43882-43883 (July 24, 2003). The rule provided examples of regulatory

actions preempted under the ADA, specifically, tariff filing, certification,

regulations governing flight frequency, mode of operation, in-flight

amenities, liability, insurance, bonding, and capitalization. Id.

§ 399.10(d).

21

presumption. DeBuono v. NYSA-ILA Medical & Clinical

Servs. Fund, 520 U.S. 806, 815 (1997). Where legislative

intent is not “clear and manifest,” this Court will not

interpret a federal act to supersede the laws of the sover-

eign states. Cal. Div. of Labor Standards Enforcement v.

Dillingham Constr., N.A., 519 U.S. 316, 334 (1997). Black

fears that the opinion of the state supreme court fails to

accord the proper deference to federalism concerns. Pre-

emption, at its heart, respects “the separate spheres of

governmental authority preserved in our federalist sys-

tem.” Alessi v. Raybestos-Manhattan, Inc., 451 U.S. 504,

522 (1981). Given the Court’s reasoning in cases like

DeBuono and Dillingham and its construction of preemp-

tion under the Employee Retirement Income Security Act

of 1974, this Court should grant review and revisit the

scope of preemption under the ADA to take into considera-

tion this trend. After all, Morales relied on this Court’s

ERISA jurisprudence then in effect to strictly interpret the

ADA, 504 U.S. at 385, and led us down the path to where

Black stands before the court today — a passenger whose

state common law rights are completely eviscerated.

¢

22

CONCLUSION

For the reasons discussed above, the Court should

grant the petition for a writ of certiorari and reverse the

decision of the Supreme Court of Texas.

Respectfully submitted,

GABRIEL H. ROBLES

Attorney at Law

Counsel of Record for Petitioner

8828 North Stemmons Freeway,

Suite 143

Dallas, Texas 75247

Telephone: (214) 361-2411

Telecopier: (214) 361-7074

RONALD E. HARDEN

DOROTHY J. HARDEN

THE LAW OFFICES OF

RONALD E. HARDEN

113 West Mulberry

Kaufman, Texas 75142

Telephone: (972) 932-0600

Telecopier: (972) 932-0602

Attorneys for Petitioner,

Robert C. Black

App. 1

[SEAL] THE SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS

Post Office Box 12248

Austin, Texas 78711 (512) 463-1312

September 11, 2003

Mr. Dan K. Horn

Maloney Bean Horn & Hull, P.C.

102 Decker Drive, Suite 200

Irving, TX 75062-2740

Mr. Ronald E. Harden

The Law Offices of Ronald E. Harden

113 W. Mulberry

Kaufman, TX 75124

RE: Case Number: 02-0255

Court of Appeals Number: 10-00-00156-CV

Trial Court Number: F96-06320-K

Style: DELTA AIR LINES, INC. AND AL PEREZ

v.

ROBERT C. BLACK

Dear Counsel:

Today, the Supreme Court of Texas granted the

Respondent’s motion for rehearing in part. The Court

withdraws its opinion and judgment of June 26, 2003, and

substitutes the opinion and judgment issued today. The

Court reverses the court of appeals’ judgment in part and

renders judgment. Encl.

Sincerely,

Andrew Weber, Clerk

by /s/ Nancy J. Vega

Nancy J. Vega, Chief Deputy

App. 2

cc: Ms. Sharri Roessler, Clerk

Mr. Jim Hamlin

John De Noyelles

App. 3

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS

No. 02-0255

DELTA AIR LINES, INC. AND AL PEREZ

V.

ROBERT C. BLACK

ON PETITION FOR REVIEW

FROM THE COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE TENTH DISTRICT OF TEXAS

CORRECTED JUDGMENT

THE SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS, having heard

this cause on petition for review from the Court of Appeals

for the Tenth District, and having considered the appellate

record, briefs, and counsels’ argument, concludes that the

court of appeals’ judgment should be reversed in part.

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED, in accordance with

the Court’s opinion, that:

1) The court of appeals’ judgment is reversed in

part;

2) Judgment is rendered that Robert C. Black take

nothing on his claims against Delta Airlines, Inc.

and Al Perez;

3) Delta Air Lines, Inc. and Al Perez shall recover,

and Robert C. Black shall pay, the costs incurred

in this Court and in the court of appeals; and

4) The court of appeals’ opinion is ordered published.

Copies of this judgment and the Court’s opinion are

certified to the Court of Appeals for the Tenth District and

App. 4

to the District Court of Dallas County, Texas, for obser-

vance.

Opinion of the Court delivered by Justice Jefferson.

September 11, 2003

App. 5

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS

No. 02-0255

DELTA AIR LINES, INC. AND AL PEREZ, PETITIONERS

Vv.

ROBERT C. BLACK, RESPONDENT

ON PETITION FOR REVIEW FROM THE

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE TENTH DISTRICT OF TEXAS

Argued on January 15, 2003

JUSTICE JEFFERSON delivered the opinion of the Court.

We grant Robert C. Black’s motion for rehearing in

part. We withdraw our opinion of June 26, 2003 and

substitute the following in its place.

The Airline Deregulation Act of 1978 (ADA) provides

that states “may not enact or enforce a law... related toa

price, route, or service of an air carrier....” 49 U.S.C.

§ 41713(b)(1). This case concerns the scope of this preemp-

tion provision, specifically, its application to state breach

of contract and misrepresentation claims challenging an

airline’s ticketing and boarding procedures. The trial court

rendered summary judgment in favor of Delta Airlines,

Inc. and its gate supervisor, Al Perez, without specifying

the grounds. The court of appeals reversed, holding that

the ADA did not preempt Black’s claims, and remanded

the case for trial.__—s- S.W.3d __ . We granted Perez

and Delta’s petition for review to decide whether the ADA

App. 6

preempts a passenger’s state law claims for an airline’s

alleged failure to honor a confirmed first-class seat. 46

Tex. Sup. Ct. J. 14 (Oct. 10, 2002). We hold that it does and

accordingly reverse the court of appeals’ judgment in part

and render judgment that Black take nothing on his

claims against Delta and Perez.

I

BACKGROUND

On June 23, 1995, Robert Black purchased two Delta

airline tickets for travel from Dallas/Fort Worth to Las

Vegas leaving that afternoon and returning on June 25.

The invoice from Black’s travel agent showed two first-

class reservations for Black and his wife. Although the

invoice assigned Black first-class seats for both directions,

his wife had an assigned seat only for the return flight.

Black’s travel agent and manager of Smith Travel &

Limousine, Melissa Shinn, suggested that Black ask the

Delta gate agent if he and his wife could sit together in

first class for the Dallas to Las Vegas flight.

Upon arrival at the departure gate, Black requested

adjacent seats in first class. The gate agent said that he

would “see what [he] could do.” As other passengers

boarded the plane, a Delta gate supervisor, Al Perez,

appeared and informed Black that he and his wife did not

have two confirmed first-class seats for the flight. While

Delta had a confirmed first-class seat for Mr. Black, it only

had a confirmed coach seat for his wife, whom Delta

placed on a priority waiting list for first class. Perez told

Black that, unless a first-class passenger relinquished a

seat, Black’s wife would be seated in coach for the three-

hour flight from Dallas to Las Vegas. This would not,

App. 7

however, affect her first-class seat for the return flight. At

Black’s request, Perez spoke by telephone with Shinn.

Shinn told Perez that her computer showed two confirmed

first-class seats from Dallas to Las Vegas. Delta’s com-

puters, however, did not show a confirmed first-class seat

for Black’s wife.

Unable to provide Black’s wife with first-class accom-

modations, Delta offered several alternatives: (1) the

Blacks could sit in coach on their scheduled flight, (2) they

could fly separately on the scheduled flight, one in coach

and one in first class, (3) they could fly first class on a

later flight to Los Angeles and then connect to Las Vegas,

or (4) they could take a direct flight later that day to Las

Vegas with confirmed first-class seats. Each of these

alternatives included free travel vouchers, which Black

asserts could be used only for coach seats. Black declined

Delta’s offers. Instead, the Blacks drove to Love Field

airport and chartered a private jet to and from Las Vegas

at a cost of $13,150, which included the aircrew’s expenses

in Las Vegas for two days.

Black sued Delta for breach of contract and inten-

tional and negligent misrepresentation, and sued Perez for

misrepresentation only.’ Delta and Perez moved for sum-

mary judgment on four grounds: (1) preemption under the

* Black also sued Abe Haddad d/b/a Smith Travel & Limousine for

breach of contract, intentional and negligent misrepresentation,

violations of the Texas Deceptive Trade Practices Act, and negligence.

Haddad moved for summary judgment, which the trial court granted.

The court of appeals reversed that summary judgment and remanded

Black’s claims against Haddad for trial. Haddad does not challenge that

judgment in this Court.

App. 8

ADA, (2) Black’s failure to mitigate damages, (3) lack of

causation, and (4) lack of an agency relationship between

Smith Travel and Delta. The trial court granted summary

judgment for Delta and Perez, without specifying the

grounds. Black appealed the judgment.

The court of appeals reversed the trial court’s judg-

ment and remanded the case for trial. The court of appeals

held that fact issues precluded judgment as a matter of

law on the causation, mitigation, and agency issues. __

S.W.3d at __. As to the key issue before this Court, the

court of appeals held that Black’s claims were not pre-

empted by the ADA because “federal airline regulations

allow passengers whose reservations are not honored due

to overbooking to seek recovery for damages ‘in a court of

law or in some other manner.” Jd. at __. We granted

Perez and Delta’s petition for review to decide the single

issue Perez and Delta (collectively, Delta) presented —

preemption.

II

APPLICABLE LAW - PREEMPTION

Federal preemption of state law is grounded in the

Supremacy Clause of the United States Constitution,

which provides that “the Laws of the United States ...

shall be the supreme Law of the Land; and the Judges in

every State shall be bound thereby, any Thing in the

Constitution or Laws of any State to the Contrary not-

withstanding.” U.S. CONST., art. VI, cl. 2. Under the

Supremacy Clause, if a state law conflicts with federal law,

the state law is preempted and “without effect.” Maryland

v. Louisiana, 451 U.S. 725, 746 (1981). Preemption can

take one of several forms. A federal law may preempt a

App. 9

state law expressly. Great Dane Trailers, Inc. v. Estate of

Wells, 52 S.W.3d 737, 743 (Tex. 2001). It may also preempt

a state law impliedly, either (i) when the scheme of federal

regulation is sufficiently comprehensive to support a

reasonable inference that Congress left no room for sup-.

plementary state regulation or (ii) if the state law actually

conflicts with federal regulations. Jd. A state law presents

an actual conflict when a party cannot comply with both

state and federal regulations or when the state law would

obstruct Congress’ purposes and objectives. Id.

“The purpose of Congress is the ultimate touchstone”

in every preemption case. Retail Clerks Intl Ass’n. v.

Schermerhorn, 375 U.S. 96, 103 (1963). Congressional

intent is discerned primarily from the statute’s language

and structure. Medtronic, Inc. v. Lohr, 518 U.S. 470, 486

(1996). Also relevant is the purpose of the statute as a

whole, which is revealed through “the reviewing court’s

reasoned understanding of the way in which Congress

intended the statute and its surrounding regulatory

scheme to affect business, consumers, and the law.” Id.

We begin our analysis with a discussion of the rele-

vant federal statute and the United States Supreme Court

cases that control this area.

A

Statutory Framework

Before 1978, the Federal Aviation Act of 1958 (FAA)

authorized the Civil Aeronautics Board (CAB) to regulate

the interstate airline industry. 49 U.S.C. § 1301 (current

version at 49 U.S.C. § 40101); Am. Airlines, Inc. v. Wolens,

513 U.S. 219, 222 (1995). The Act provided that “nothing

App. 10

. in this chapter shall in any way abridge or alter the

remedies now existing at common law or by statute, but

the provisions of this chapter are in addition to such

remedies.” 49 U.S.C. § 1506. Thus, before 1978, states

were allowed to regulate intrastate airfare. Morales uv.

Trans World Airlines, Inc., 504 U.S. 374, 378 (1992).

In 1978, Congress amended the FAA by enacting the

Airline Deregulation Act (ADA), which deregulated the

industry. 49 U.S.C. §40101(a)(6), (a)(12)(A) (formerly

codified at 49 U.S.C. § 1302(a)(4), (a)(9)). In enacting the

ADA, Congress determined that “‘maximum reliance on

competitive market forces’ would best further ‘efficiency,

innovation, and low prices’ as well as ‘variety [and] quality

... of air transportation services.’” Morales, 504 U.S. at

378 (quoting 49 U.S.C. § 1302(a)(4), (a)(9)). Congress

included an express preemption provision in the ADA “[t]o

ensure that the States would not undo federal deregula-

tion with regulation of their own.” Morales, 504 U.S. at

378. The preemption clause states:

Except as provided in this subsection, a State,

political subdivision of a State, or political au-

thority of at least 2 States may not enact or en-

force a law, regulation, or other provision having

the force and effect of law related to a price, route,

or service of an aircarrier.... -

49 U.S.C. § 41713(b)(1) (emphasis added).’ Thus, to deter-

mine the propriety of the court of appeals’ judgment, we

* The Blacks base their claims in part on the ADA’s savings

clause, which provides that “a remedy under this part is in addition to

any other remedies provided by law.” 49 U.S.C. § 40120(c). This

clause, however, has been dismissed as a relic of the FAA and does not

(Continued on following page)

App. 11

must ascertain whether Black’s state law claims fall

within the ADA’s express preemption provision. If they do,

Black’s claims fail.

B

Morales and Wolens

The Supreme Court has discussed the scope of the

ADA’s express preemption clause on two occasions. It first

considered the ADA’s preemptive scope in Morales, 504

U.S. at 374. There, the Court examined whether the ADA

preempted enforcement of guidelines concerning regula-

tion of airline fare advertising through Texas’s consumer

protection statutes. Id. at 378. The Court focused on the

preemption clause’s “relating to” language. Id. at 383-86.

Relying on its ERISA line of cases and the ordinary mean-

ing of the statute’s words, the Court construed the phrase

“relating to” broadly to preempt “State enforcement

actions having a connection with, or reference to, airline

‘rates, routes, or services.” Jd. at 384. Based on this

“broad preemptive purpose,” the Court rejected conten-

tions that section 1305(a)(1)* only preempted states from

actually prescribing rates, routes, or services, or that only

state laws specifically aimed at the airline industry were

preempted. Id. at 384-86.

supersede the specific substantive preemption provision in the ADA.

Morales v. Trans World Airlines, Inc., 504 U.S. 374, 385 (1992).

* 49 U.S.C. section 1305(a)(1) is the previous version of the ADA

preemption clause. The current version, the one at issue in this case, 49

U.S.C. section 41713(b)(1), was recodified into the Federal Aviation

Administration Act in 1994 without substantive change. Continental

Airlines, Inc. v. Kiefer, 920 S.W.2d 274, 278 (Tex. 1996).

App. 12

Although the Court warned that “‘some state actions

may affect [airline fares] in too tenuous, remote, or pe-

ripheral a manner’ to have preemptive effect,” it concluded

that the obligations imposed by the guidelines would

impact airlines’ ability to market their product and the

fares they charged. Jd. at 390 (quoting Shaw v. Delta Air

Lines, 463 U.S. 85, 100 n.21 (1983)). Thus, the guidelines

had a “forbidden significant effect” on the airlines’ rates,

routes, and services, primarily because they restricted fare

advertising, which “relates to” price. Jd. at 388-89. The

Court held that, under these circumstances, the ADA

preempted the fare advertising provisions in the general

state consumer protection statutes at issue. Jd. at 391.

The only other time the Court has addressed the scope

of the ADA’s preemption provision was in American

Airlines, Inc. v. Wolens, 513 U.S. 219. That case involved

state law consumer fraud and breach of contract claims

arising from retroactive changes in an airline’s frequent

flyer program. Id. at 224-25. The Court focused on another

portion of the ADA’s preemption clause — the phrase “enact

or enforce any laws” — to determine the ADA’s preemptive

scope. Id. at 226. it held that, like the guidelines at issue

in Morales, Illinois’s consumer fraud statute “serve[d] as a

means to guide and police the marketing practices of the

airlines.” Jd. at 228. Thus, the ADA preempted the plain-

tiffs’ consumer fraud claims. Id.

The Court then turned to the plaintiffs’ breach of

contract claims. Jd. It held that the ADA’s preemption

clause did not shield airlines from “suits alleging no

violation of state-imposed obligations, but seeking recov-

ery solely for the airline’s alleged breach of its own, self-

imposed undertakings.” Id. at 228. The Court reasoned

that some of the terms and conditions airlines offer, such

App. 13

as frequent flyer programs, are private obligations and do

not amount to State “‘enactment or enforcement [of] any

law, rule, regulation, standard, or other provision having

the force and effect of law’ within the meaning of section

1305(a)(1).” Id. at 228-29. The Court limited its holding,

however, to suits based on the terms of the parties’ bargain

“with no enlargement or enhancement based on state laws

or policies external to the agreement.” Jd. at 233. Courts

have interpreted this to mean that if a contract claim

cannot be adjudicated without resort to external law, the

claim is preempted by the ADA. See, e.g., Smith v. Comair,

Inc., 134 F.3d 254, 257 (4th Cir. 1998); Boon Ins. Agency,

Inc. v. Am. Airlines, Inc., 17 S.W.3d 52, 58-59 (Tex. App. —

Austin 2000, pet. denied); Howell v. Alaska Airlines, Inc.,

994 P.2d 901, 905 (Wash. Ct. App. 2000).

C

Kiefer

In the wake of the Supreme Court’s decisions in

Morales and Wolens, lower federal and state courts have

struggled with determining when the ADA preempts state

law claims.‘ This Court considered the scope of the ADA’s

preemption clause in Continental Airlines, Inc. v. Kiefer,

920 S.W.2d 274 (Tex. 1996). In Kiefer, we decided the

* See, e.g., Taj Mahal Travel, Inc. v. Delta Airlines Inc., 164 F.3d

186, 192 (3rd Cir. 1998); Charas v. Trans World Airlines, Inc., 160 F.3d

1259, 1263 (9th Cir. 1998); Alasady v. N.W. Airlines Corp., Civ. No. 02-

3669, 2003 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 3841, at *24 (D. Minn. Mar. 3, 2003);

Somes v. United Airlines, Inc., 33 F. Supp. 2d 78, 81 (D. Mass. 1999);

Aquino v. Asiana Airlines, Inc., 130 Cal. Rptr. 2d 223, 230 (Cal. Ct. App.

2003).

App. 14

extent to which “state common-law personal-injury negli-

gence actions against airlines are preempted by the

[ADA].” Id. at 275. Following Morales and Wolens, we

applied a two-part analysis to determine whether the

plaintiffs’ personal injury claims were preempted. Jd. at

281-82; see also 49 U.S.C. § 41713(b)(1). First, we exam-

ined whether the claims related to airline rates, routes, or

services. Id. at 281. Second, we explored whether the

claims constituted the enactment or enforcement of a state

law, rule, regulation, standard or other provision. Id. at

281-82. We concluded that, although the plaintiffs’ per-

sonal injury claims clearly related to airlines’ services,

their claims did not amount to enforcement of a state law

and thus were not preempted. Id. at 282.

In reaching this conclusion, we acknowledged the

difficulty in differentiating between claims that are

preempted and those that are not. Jd. at 281. We noted

that, unlike the state consumer protection legislation at

issue in Morales, negligence actions do not “carry the same

‘potential for intrusive regulation of airline business

practices....’” Id. at 282 (quoting Wolens, 513 U.S. at

227). We were careful to state, however, that certain tort

actions, such as negligent misrepresentation, may be

indistinguishable from the statutory consumer protection

actions in Morales and Wolens. Id. at 283. And depending

on the nature and extent of damages sought, even simple

negligence actions may constitute an impermissible

regulation of the airline industry through state tort law.

Id. at 282.

Rather than declare categorically that personal injury

claims are always excepted from preemption, we focused

on the extent to which the claims in Kiefer threatened to

App. 15

encroach on the congressional objective of airline deregu-

lation. Id. Because preemption depends on the nature of

the particular claim, we observed that the ADA’s preemp-

tive effect on other state law claims would require a “closer

working out.” Jd. at 281. With respect to breach of contract

claims, we noted that the “very strict limitation” Wolens

puts on permissible contract claims “demonstrates the

breadth of ADA preemption.” Id. Like Wolens, we recog-

nized that the ADA allows breach of contract claims only if

they involve contract terms-voluntarily undertaken by the

parties. Jd. at 281-82. And we noted that voluntary con-

tractual undertakings do not “effectuate purposes that

could have a prohibited regulatory effect on airlines.” Jd.

at 282.

With this framework in mind, we turn to a “closer

working out” of the ADA preemption clause with respect to

Black’s claims. Wolens, 513 U.S. at 235; Kiefer, 920 S.W.2d

at 281.

III

ANALYSIS

Black contends that Wolens and Kiefer shield his

breach of contract claim from preemption. He argues that,

by refusing to provide his wife a first-class seat on the

flight from Dallas to Las Vegas, Delta breached a self-

imposed contractual obligation. Because his claims arise

from Delta’s own undertakings, as opposed to an obliga-

tion imposed by state law, Black argues that there is little

risk similar state claims would undo federal deregulation.

Thus, according to Black, his claims are not subject to

preemption under the ADA.

App. 16

Delta, on the other hand, contends that Black’s claims

are preempted by the ADA because they relate directly to

the airline services Delta provides. Delta argues that

ticketing and boarding procedures are fundamental to

airline services and are far removed in character from the

voluntary frequent flyer program at issue in Wolens.

Specifically, Delta contends that because Department of

Transportation (DOT) regulations define and control the

procedures for denied boarding, Black’s state law claims

are preempted. For the reasons discussed below, we agree

with Delta.

A

Related to an Airline’s Services

To answer whether a claim is preempted by the ADA,

we first determine whether the claim is related to an

airline’s prices or services within the meaning of the ADA’s

preemption provision. Kiefer, 920 S.W.2d at 281. The ADA

does not specify, and the United States Supreme Court has

not determined, what activities constitute airline services.

It is not surprising, then, that courts have fashioned

inconsistent tests for determining whether a state law

action is related to an airline’s services. Compare Charas

v. Trans World Airlines, Inc., 160 F.3d 1259, 1261 (9th Cir.

1998), with Hodges v. Delta Airlines, Inc., 44 F.3d 334, 336

(5th Cir. 1995). The United States Court of Appeals for the

Ninth Circuit has narrowly defined services as “the prices,

schedules, origins and destinations of the point-to-point

transportation of passengers, cargo, or mail.” Charas, 160

F.3d at 1261. That court reasoned that because the word

services appears next to the words rates and routes in

section 41713(b)(1), “services” must refer to “the provision

of air transportation to and from various markets at

App. 17

various times.” Jd. at 1266. Under this interpretation, in-

flight beverages, personal assistance to passengers,

handling luggage, keeping aisles clear, and other ameni-

ties are not included in the definition of services. Jd. at

1261.

The Fifth Circuit’s more expansive interpretation of

airline services includes “ticketing, boarding procedures,

provision of food and drink, and baggage handling, in

addition to the transportation itself.” Hodges, 44 F.3d at

336. Hodges relied in part on the CAB’s statements im-

plementing the ADA, which made clear that reservation

and boarding practices are services within the meaning of

the ADA. See id. at 337 (citing 44 Fed. Reg. 9948, 9951

(Feb. 15, 1979)); see also Smith v. Am. W. Airlines, Inc., 44

F.3d 344, 347 (5th Cir. 1995) (limiting services to “eco-

nomic decisions concerning boarding, e.g., overbooking or

charter arrangements, and contractual decisions whether

to board particular ticketed passengers”). The Hodges

court reasoned that, because these “matters are all appur-

tenant and necessarily included with the contract of

carriage between the passenger or shipper and the air-

line,” Congress intended them to be services protected

from state regulation. 44 F.3d at 336.

In this case, Black’s claims relate to Delta’s boarding

procedures and seating policies. Although several courts

have fashioned different tests to determine whether a

state law action relates to an airline’s services, most courts

generally agree that state law claims involving seating

App. 18

and boarding procedures relate to services.’ This approach

is consistent with both the Fifth and Ninth Circuit Court

of Appeals’ conclusions that an airline’s boarding proce-

dures are an integral part of the services that an airline

provides. See, e.g., Somes v. United Airlines, Iinc., 33

F. Supp. 2d 78, 85 (D. Mass. 1999) (noting that both the

Fifth and Ninth Circuits’ definitions of services would

include boarding). The mere fact that Black’s claims relate

to the denial of first-class status, rather than point-to-

point transportation, does not remove his claims from the

definition of “services.” See Wolens, 513 U.S. at 226 (noting

that the term “services” includes “access to flights and

class-of-service upgrades”).

* See, e.g., Smith v. Comair, 134 F.3d 254, 259 (4th Cir. 1998)

(“Undoubtedly, boarding procedures are a service rendered by an

airline.”); Travel All Over the World, Inc. v. The Kingdom of Saudi

Arabia, 73 F.3d 1423, 1434 (7th Cir. 1996) (“airline ‘services’. . . include

ticketing”); Hodges v. Delta Airlines, Inc., 44 F.3d 334, 336 (5th Cir.

1995); Alasady, 2003 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 3841, at *24 (noting that “the

term ‘service’ in § 41713(b)(1) encompasses boarding procedures”);

Somes, 33 F. Supp. 2d at 85 (“the denial of boarding and the refusal to

transport a particular passenger, . .. without question, are at the heart

of the ‘services’ that airlines provide”); Nazarian v. Compagnie Nation-

ale Air France, 989 F. Supp. 504, 510 (S.D.N.Y. 1998) (“[C]ases that

involve ticketing, boarding, in-flight services, or the implementation of

airline policies, such as ‘bumping’ of passengers, denial of boarding, .. .

relate to services and are preempted.”); Peterson v. Continental Airlines,

Inc., 970 F. Supp. 246, 250 (S.D.N.Y. 1997) (“A flight crew’s conduct

during the boarding stage of a flight, specifically, flight attendants’

efforts to locate appropriate seat assignments and resolve seat conflicts,

constitutes an airline service... .”); Pearson v. Lake Forest Country Day

Sch., 633 N.E.2d 1315, 1320 (Ill. App. Ct. 1994) (“An airline’s boarding

and seating policies come within the ambit of the ‘services’ it provides to

its customers.”); El-Menshawy v. Egypt Air, 647 A.2d 491, 492 (N.J.

Super. Ct. Law Div. 1994) (The plaintiff’s claim against the airline —

“that it failed to honor an allegedly confirmed reservation — beyond a

shadow of a doubt ‘relates to’ airline services.”).

App. 19

Unlike the frequent flyer program in Wolens, seating

policies and boarding procedures are not peripheral to the

operation of an airline, but are inextricably linked to the

contract of carriage between a passenger and the airline

and have a definite “connection with, or reference to”

airline services. Morales, 504 U.S. at 384. Given Morales’

broad interpretation of the words “relating to,” and the

generally accepted understanding of the word “services,”

we conclude that an airline’s boarding procedures and

seating policies “relate to” the services an airline provides

to its customers.

We next consider whether the ADA prohibits enforce-

ment of Black’s claims.

B

State Enactment or Enforcement

The second step in the preemption analysis involves

determining whether Black’s claims, if allowed, would

constitute enactment or enforcement of a state law within

the meaning of the ADA’s preemption clause. Kiefer, 920

S.W.2d at 281. In deciding whether contract claims are

preempted, we distinguish between obligations dictated by

the State and those voluntarily undertaken by the airline.

Wolens, 513 U.S. at 233. When parties privately negotiate

a contract’s terms and then sue in state court for breach of

those terms, there is generally no specter of state-imposed

regulation. Jd. at 228-29. Thus, as we noted in Kiefer, the

enforcement of a contractual commitment voluntarily

undertaken does not amount to state enactment or en-

forcement of a law that the ADA’s preemption provision

forbids. 920 S.W.2d at 281-82.

App. 20

In Wolens, the Supreme Court determined that a

frequent flyer program was a self-imposed undertaking

between private parties and was therefore too tenuous or

peripheral to constitute state enforcement. 513 U.S. at

228-29. Unlike Wolens’ claims that related to a self-

imposed frequent flyer program, Black’s claims relating to

Delta’s ticketing and boarding procedures implicate

directly the federal interest in deregulated air transporta-

tion. See Somes, 33 F. Supp. 2d at 85; Rockwell v. UPS, No.

2:99-CV-57, 1999 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 22036, at *6 (D. Vt.

July 7, 1999) (noting that “preemption applies to services

which are ‘regular, recurrent, or necessary features of

actual flight or airline operations’ (as opposed to beverage

services and similar amenities)”) (quoting Somes, 33

F. Supp. 2d at 83); Smith, 134 F.3d at 259; Chukwu v. Bd.

of Dirs. British Airways, 889 F.Supp. 12, 13 (D. Mass.

1995). Thus, contrary to the ADA’s purpose, Black’s claims

have the potential for “intrusive regulation of airline

business practices.” Kiefer, 920 S.W.2d at 282.

When Black purchased the airline tickets, a binding

contract of carriage was created between Black and Delta.

See Woodward v. Tex. & P. Ry. Co., 86 S.W.2d 38, 39 (Tex.

1935); Boon, 17 S.W.3d at 55. Pursuant to the regulatory

authority conferred by Congress under the ADA, the DOT

promulgated comprehensive regulations interpreting the

ADA. Black and Delta’s contract for carriage incorporates

these regulations. See 14 C.F.R. §§ 253.4, .5; Wolens, 513

U.S. at 230 (authorizing airlines to incorporate the federal

regulations into their contracts of carriage). In particular,

part 250 permits the DOT to regulate “oversales” in air

carrier service. 14 C.F.R. §§ 250.1-.9. These regulations

require every air carrier to “establish priority rules

and criteria for determining which passengers holding

App. 21

confirmed reserved space shall be denied boarding on an

oversold flight in the event that an insufficient number of

volunteers” agree to relinquish their seat. Jd. § 250.3.

Section 250.5 requires airlines to pay compensation to

any passenger who is involuntarily denied boarding

caused by an oversold flight. Jd. § 250.5. A passenger who

is involuntarily denied boarding, however, is not required

to accept this compensation and can instead “decline the

payment and seek to recover damages in a court of law or

in some other manner.” Id. § 250.9. The federal regulations

also provide that under certain circumstances, a passenger

denied boarding involuntarily from an oversold flight is

not entitled to receive compensation from the airline. Id.

§ 250.6. In particular, if a passenger “is offered accommo-

dations or is seated in a section of the aircraft other than

that specified on the ticket at no extra charge,” then that

passenger is not eligible for denied boarding compensa-

tion. Id. § 250.6(c).

Black contends that, pursuant to section 250.9, he had

the option to decline compensation under the federal

scheme and instead “seek to recover damages in a court of

law.” Id. § 250.9(b). The court of appeals agreed and held

that, although Black was not entitled to denied boarding

compensation, he could forego the remedies provided by

the DOT regulations and seek damages in court. __

S.W.3d at __. The court of appeals based its decision on

the DOT regulations relating to passengers that are

involuntarily denied boarding. Id.; see also 14 C.FR.

§ 250.9. But Black and the court of appeals misread these

regulations. Black was not denied boarding, as that term

relates to section 250.9.

App. 22

The passenger option of declining payment from the

airline and instead seeking recovery in a court of law is

reserved for those passengers who are involuntarily

denied boarding and thus eligible for denied boarding

compensation. 14 C.F.R. § 250.9. Because Delta offered

Black’s wife another seat on the same flight, she was not

denied boarding. Even if we considered Black’s wife to

have been involuntarily denied first-class boarding, the

Blacks do not have a valid claim for “denied boarding

compensation.” This is so because they fall within one of

the eligibility exceptions to qualify for compensation — a

passenger is not eligible for denied boarding compensation

if the airline offers the passenger accommodations in

another section of the aircraft at no charge. Id. § 250.6.

Because Delta offered Black and his wife various accom-

modations, including coach seats, Black and his wife were

ineligible for denied boarding—compensation. Jd. And

because Black and his wife were not eligible to receive the

_ denied boarding compensation from Delta, they could not

possibly decline this compensation and “seek to recover

damages in a court of law.” Id. § 250.9. Accordingly, Black

cannot rely on section 250.9, which, as a prerequisite to

recover, requires the party to be eligible to receive denied

boarding compensation.

As discussed above, the parties’ contract incorporated

the DOT regulations on denied boarding compensation.

_ Black, however, seeks to enlarge Delta’s obligations to

him. He attempts to modify the contract terms to allow

him and his wife to forego the regulatory remedies and

instead sue in court. This Court, however, is confined, “in

breach-of-contract actions, to the parties’ bargain.” Wolens,

513 U.S. at 233. We cannot enlarge or enhance that

bargain based on state law or policies external to the

Te. ET

App. 23

agreement. Id. Nothing in the contract entitles Black to

the external remedy of reimbursement for the cost of a

private chartered jet. The regulations promulgated under

the ADA, which are incorporated as part of the contract,

provide the procedure and remedy in the event a passen-

ger is denied boarding but offered specified accommoda-

tions, and therefore preclude the additional remedies

Black has pursued in state court. See 14 C.F.R. §§ 250.1-.9.

Even were the contract silent about the federal

regulations, other courts have applied similar reasoning to

preempt breach of contract claims that relate to price or

service and seek to impose state laws or policies.° As the

court of appeals in this case correctly noted:

* See, e.g., Lyn-Lea Travel Corp. v. Am. Airlines, Inc., 283 F.3d 282,

288 (5th Cir. 2002) (breach of contract claim was preempted because it

had a connection with an airline’s prices and services); Smith, 134 F.3d

at 259 (breach of contract claim was preempted to the extent it com-

plained of an airline’s boarding procedures); Statland v. Am. Airlines,

Inc., 998 F.2d 539, 542 (7th Cir. 1993) (passenger’s breach of contract

challenge to an airline’s ten percent cancellation policy was preempted

because it related to price); Breitling U.S.A. Inc., v. Fed. Express Corp.,

45 F. Supp. 2d 179, 186-87 (D. Conn. 1999) (breach of contract claim

arising from a contract to transport watches was preempted because it

amounted to an enlargement or enhancement based on state laws or

policies external to the parties’ agreement); Leonard v. N.W. Airlines,

Inc., 605 N.W.2d 425, 431 (Minn. Ct. App. 2000) (breach of contract

claim regarding a reissue fee was preempted because it related to price

and sought to enforce state law); Blackner v. Continental Airlines, Inc.,

709 A.2d 258, 260 (N.J. Super. Ct. App. Div. 1998) (breach of contract

claim was preempted because it constituted an enlargement or en-

hancement of a passenger’s rights based on state laws or policies); Boon

Ins. Agency, Inc. v. Am. Airlines, Inc., 17 S.W.3d 52, 58-59 (Tex. App. —

Austin 2000, pet. denied) (breach of contract claim involving a reissue

fee was preempted because it sought to modify the contract by relying

on state law); Howell v. Alaska Airlines, Inc., 994 P.2d 901, 905 (Wash.

(Continued on following page)

App. 24

[W]e cannot overlook the fact that the alleged

contractual violation at issue in this appeal in-

volves a common condition unique to the airline

industry — the failure to seat an allegedly con-

firmed ticket holder because of overbooking —

and that unlike the frequent-flier agreements at

issue in Wolens, specific federal regulations gov-

ern compensation for air passengers who are in-

voluntarily prevented from boarding a flight due

to overbooking.

___ §.W.3d at __. These “specific federal regulations” have

a national purpose in that they provide a uniform system

of compensation to passengers. If passengers were permit-

ted to challenge airlines’ boarding procedures under state

common law, the airline industry would potentially be

subject to regulation by fifty different states. Smith, 134

F.3d at 258-59 (allowing passengers to challenge boarding

procedures would permit “the fifty states to regulate an

area of unique federal concern — airlines’ boarding prac-

tices.”); see also John W. Freeman, State Regulation of

Airlines and the Airline Deregulation Act of 1978, 44 J. AIR

L. & CoM. 747, 755 (1979) (noting that “the effect of the

provision was to ‘prevent conflicts and inconsistent regula-

tions’”) (quoting H.R. REP. No. 1211, 95th Cong., 2d Sess.

16 (1978)). The fact that federal regulations expressly

Ct. App. 2000) (breach of contract challenge to an airline’s refusal to

refund the price of a nonrefundable ticket was preempted because it

sought to enlarge or enhance the agreement based on external state

laws). But see Travel All Over the World, Inc., 73 F.3d at 1432 (breach of

contract claim was not preempted because it involved the breach of a

self-imposed undertaking); Aquino, 130 Cal. Rptr. 2d at 233 (breach of

contract claim was not preempted because it did not involve a state

policy).

alia i aaa

App. 25

address airline boarding procedures strengthens our

conclusion that Black’s breach of contract claims resulting

from Delta’s boarding and seating procedures are pre-

empted by the ADA. To hold otherwise could create exten-

sive multi-state litigation, launching inconsistent assaults

on federal deregulation in the airline industry, every time

an airline reassigned a passenger’s seat.

We conclude that Delta’s boarding and seating policies

relate to the services it provided to Black, and that Black’s

claims can only be adjudicated by reference to laws and

policies external to its contract with Delta. Accordingly, we

hold that 49 U.S.C. section 41713(b) preempts Black’s

contract claims.

We now turn to Black’s remaining claims for misrep-

resentation and fraud, which he argues survive ADA

preemption. We disagree. Because Black’s misrepresenta-

tion and fraud claims are premised on Delta’s ticketing

and boarding procedure, they are directly related to

Delta’s services. See discussion supra Part III.A. The court

of appeals concluded, however, that because Black’s

misrepresentation claims did not turn on any requirement

imposed by a Texas legislative body, they were not pre-

empted. __ S.W.3d at __. To the contrary, state tort

actions can be state enforcement under 49 U.S.C. section

41713(b)(1). See, eg., Buckman Co. v. Plaintiff’s Legal

Comm., 531 U.S. 341, 351 (2001); San Diego Bldg. Trades

Council v. Garmon, 359 U.S. 236, 247 (1959) (recognizing

the regulatory effect of state law damage claims and their

potential for frustrating congressional objectives); Kiefer,

920 S.W.2d at 282.

Moreover, both Wolens and Kiefer suggest that state

misrepresentation and fraud claims are preempted by the

App. 26

ADA. Wolens, 513 U.S. at 228; Kiefer, 920 S.W.2d at 283.

Wolens held that state law claims under a state consumer

fraud act were preempted by the ADA. Wolens, 513 U.S at

228. Claims under a consumer fraud statute are compara-

ble to claims for misrepresentation. In Kiefer, we indicated

that “an action for negligent misrepresentation might be

... indistinguishable froin the statutory consumer protec-

tion actions in Morales and Wolens.” Kiefer, 920 S.W.2d at

283. Both would impose state policies on the operation of

air carriers that are external to the parties’ agreement.

Wolens, 513 U.S. at 229 n.5; Kiefer, 920 S.W.2d at 282. A

state’s common law cannot operate against an airline in

this context when it would constitute state enforcement of

a law relating to airline services. See Morales, 504 U.S. at

383. Accordingly, because Black’s misrepresentation and

fraud claims relate to the services Delta provides and if

allowed would amount to enactment or enforcement of

state law, they are preempted.

IV

CONCLUSION

For these reasons, we reverse the court of appeals’

judgment in part and render judgment that Black take

nothing on his claims against Delta Airlines, Inc. and Al

Perez.

Wallace B. Jefferson

Justice

OPINION DELIVERED: September 11, 2003

App. 27

[SEAL]

TENTH COURT OF APPEALS

Chief Justice P.O. Box 1606 Clerk

Rex D. Davis Waco, Texas 76703-1606 Sharri Roessler

Phone: (254) 757-5200

Justices Fax: (254) 757-2822

Bill Vance

Tom Gray

January 30, 2002

In accordance with the enclosed Opinion, below is the

judgment in the numbered cause set out herein to be

entered in the Minutes of this Court as of the 30th day of

January, 2002.

10-00-156-CV ROBERT C. BLACK v. DELTA AIRLINES,

INC., AL PEREZ, AND ABE HADDAD

D/B/A SMITH TRAVEL & LIMOUSINE -

ON APPEAL FROM 192nd DISTRICT

COURT OF DALLAS COUNTY - TRIAL

COURT NO. 96-06320-K — REVERSED

AND REMANDED -— Opinion by Justice

Richards (Sitting by Assignment) — Concur-

ring Opinion by Justice Gray:

“This cause came on to be heard on the transcript of

the record, and the same being considered, because it is

the opinion of this Court that there was error in the

judgment of the court below; it is therefore ordered,

adjudged and decreed that the judgment of the court below

be, and hereby is, reversed and this cause is remanded to

the 192nd Judicial District Court of Dallas County, Texas, in

accordance with the opinion of this Court. It is further

ordered that Appellees Delta Airlines, Inc., Al Perez, Abe

App. 28

Haddad d/b/a Smith Travel & Limousine pay costs of appeal

and that this decision be certified below for observance.”

App. 29

[SEAL]

IN THE

TENTH COURT OF APPEALS

No. 10-00-156-CV

ROBERT C. BLACK,

Appellant

Vv.

DELTA AIRLINES, INC., AL PEREZ,

AND ABE HADDAD D/B/A SMITH

TRAVEL & LIMOUSINE,

Appellees

From the 192nd District Court

Dallas County, Texas

Trial Court # 96-06320-K

ORDER

The motion for rehearing filed by Delta Airlines, Inc:

and Al Perez is denied. The majority and concurring opin-

ions and the judgment dated September 12, 2001, are

withdrawn, and the majority and concurring opinions and

judgment dated January 30, 2002, are substituted therefor.

PER : ?) 3IAM

Before Justice Vance,

Justice Gray, and

Justice Richards (Sitting by Assignment)

Order issued and filed January 30, 2002

Do not publish

[CV06]

App. 30

[SEAL]

IN THE

TENTH COURT OF APPEALS

No. 10-00-156-CV

ROBERT BLACK,

Appellant

Vv.

DELTA AIRLINES, INC.,

AL PEREZ, AND ABE

HADDAD D/B/A SMITH

TRAVEL & LIMOUSINE

Appellees

From the 192nd District Court

Dallas County, Texas

Trial Court # F96-06320-K

OPINION

This is an appeal from two take nothing summary

judgment orders entered against Robert Black [“Black”], a

Dallas resident, in connection with his suit for damages

arising from a planned airline flight to Las Vegas from

Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport. The summary

judgment motions were filed pursuant to TEx. R. Civ. P.

166a(b). Delta Airlines, Inc. [“Delta”], Al Perez [“Perez”],

and Abe Haddad d/b/a Smith Travel & Limousine [“Smith

Travel”] were defendants in the court below. We will

reverse the district court’s summary judgment orders and

remand the case for trial.

App. 31

I. Factual Background

On June 23, 1995, Black purchased two airline tickets

for seats on Delta Airlines for an afternoon flight to Las

Vegas, Nevada. According to Black, he intended the trip to

be a surprise present for his wife, Mary. Black hoped that

the trip would help repair his damaged marriage and, to

that end, ne attempted to ensure a romantic weekend by

arranging for, among other things, first-class airline seats,

a leisurely dinner, and tickets to a Tom Jones concert on

the evening of their arrival. Viewed in the light most

favorable to Black, the nonmovant in the district court, the

record reflects the following events: |

Black purchased the airline tickets on June 23, 1995

from Smith Travel, a Dallas travel agency. The cost for the

two, round-trip, first-class tickets was $2,384, an amount

Black charged on a credit card. The written invoices

appellant received from Smith Travel reflected two first-

class reservations on Delta Airlines Flight 661 to Las

Vegas, scheduled to depart that same day, June 23, at 3:18

p.m. The invoices also reflected the details of a scheduled

return flight to Dallas on June 25. Close inspection of the

invoices shows seat assignments for “Robert Black” for

both directions, however, Mary Black’s invoice reflects a

seat assignment only for the return flight. Nevertheless,

her invoice reflects first-class reservations both directions.

According to Black, Melissa Shinn, the manager of Smith

Travel, personally represented to him that both tickets

were confirmed for first-class travel. Two round-trip

tickets accompanied the itinerary/invoices. Each ticket

indicates, “Issued by DELTA AIRLINES INC,” and reflects

first-class travel for each of the Blacks on flight 661 to Las

Vegas, and flight 1800 on the return trip.

App. 32

The Blacks arrived at the gate prior to departure and

informed the gate agent that they desired to sit together.

The agent said, “I’ll see what I can do.” As the plane

boarded, a Delta supervisor, Al Perez, appeared and told

the Blacks that there was a problem with their reserva-

tions and that one of the tickets was, in fact, not confirmed

tor first-class travel. According to Delta, Black’s ticket was

confirmed for first-class, but the ticket for Mary was

merely a confirmed ticket for a seat in coach, which had

been placed on a “priority wait list for first-class.” Because

first-class was completely filled, Mary would have to fly in

coach. Perez spoke on the phone to Shinn, then told the

Blacks that Shinn’s computer indicated that the tickets

were confirmed for first-class. Perez told them that Delta’s

computer indicated Mary’s ticket was not confirmed. The

Blacks presented summary judgment evidence that this

situation is routinely encountered by Delta and that

hundreds of times passengers arrive at the gate with

confirmed tickets that are somehow not reflected in the

SABRE reservation system used by Delta. In response to

the Blacks plight, several alternatives were offered by

Perez: the Blacks could sit together in coach; fly sepa-

rately, one in coach, one in first-class; or take a later flight.

Black presented evidence that the offered alternatives

were unacceptable given the purpose of the trip: a first-

class romantic flight, and the tight schedule for attending

already paid-for functions in Las Vegas, including the Tom

Jones concert that evening.

After rejecting Delta’s proposed alternatives Black

made other flight arrangements. At a cost of $13,150,

Black hired a private air carrier to transport them to Las

Vegas.

i

App. 33

II. Procedural Background

Black sued Delta under theories of breach of contract,

intentional misrepresentation, and negligent misrepresen-

tation. He sued Haddad, in his capacity as owner of Smith

Travel, under theories of breach of contract, intentional

misrepresentation, negligent misrepresentation, violations

of the Texas Deceptive Trade Practices Act,’ and negli-

gence. Black sued Perez, the Delta flight supervisor, for

intentional misrepresentation and negligent misrepresen-

tation.’

Delta and Perez moved for summary judgment on four

grounds: (1) preemption under the Airline Deregulation

Act of 1978 [“ADA”];’ (2) lack of causation; (3) avoidable

consequences; and (4) Smith Travel’s lack of an agency

relationship with Delta. That motion for summary was

granted. Haddad moved for summary judgment on similar

grounds, save for the agency claim. In addition, Haddad

alleged that summary judgment was proper because he

was not the owner of Smith Travel at the time Black

purchased the tickets. His motion for summary judgment

was also granted.

* See TEx. Bus. & CoM. CODE ANN. § 17.45 (Vernon Supp. 2001).

* Other parties originally included in the suit were either non-

suited by Black or had default judgments entered against them.

* See 49 U.S.C. § 1305 (1994). ‘

App. 34

III. Discussion

A. Standard of review

In a summary judgment case, the issue on appeal is

whether the movant met his summary judgment burden

by establishing that no genuine issue of material fact

exists and that the movant is entitled to judgment as a

matter of law. TEX. R. Civ. P. 166a(c); KPMG Peat Marwick

v. Harrison County Hous. Fin. Corp., 988 S.W.2d 746, 748

(Tex. 1999); City of Houston v. Clear Creek Basin Auth.,

589 S.W.2d 671, 678 (Tex. 1979). The burden of proof is on

the movant, and all doubts about the existence of a genu-

ine issue of material fact are resolved against the movant.

Rhone-Poulenc, Inc. v. Steel, 997 S.W.2d 217, 223 (Tex.

1999); Friendswood Dev. Co. v. McDade & Co., 926 S.W.2d

280, 282 (Tex. 1996); Great Am. Reserve Ins. Co. v. San

Antonio Plumbing Supply Co., 391 S.W.2d 41, 47 (Tex.

1965). Therefore, we must view the evidence and its

reasonable inferences in the light most favorable to the

nonmovant. Great Am., 391 S.W.2d at 47.

In deciding whether there is a material fact issue

precluding summary judgment, all conflicts in the evi-

dence are disregarded and the evidence favorable to the

nonmovant is accepted as true. Rhone-Poulenc, 997 S.W.2d

at 223; Harwell v. State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 896

S.W.2d 170, 173 (Tex. 1995). Evidence that favors the

movant’s position will not be considered unless it is uncon-

troverted. Great Am., 391 S.W.2d at 47.

The summary judgment will be affirmed only if the

record establishes that the movant has conclusively proved

all essential elements of the movant’s cause of action or

defense as a matter of law. Clear Creek Basin, 589 S.W.2d

at 678. Where, as here, the trial court grants summary

App. 35

judgment in a general order without specifying the ground

or grounds relied on for its ruling, summary judgment will

be affirmed on appeal if any of the theories advanced are

meritorious. Star-Telegram, Inc. v. Doe, 915 S.W.2d 471,

473 (Tex. 1995). —

B. Preemption Analysis

We begin by considering whether the ADA prevents

Black from advancing his causes of action in state court.

Under the supremacy clause of the United States Consti-

tution, federal law may preempt state law either by

express provision, by implication, or by a conflict between

federal and state law. N.Y. Conference of Blue Cross v.

Travelers Ins., 514 U.S. 645, 653-55, 115 S.Ct. 1671, 1676,

131 L.Ed.2d 695 (1995), see also U.S. ConsT. ART. VI. The

manifest intent of the ADA’s preemption provision is to

“ensure that the States would not undo federal deregula-

tion with regulation of their own.” American Airlines v.

Wolens, 513 U.S. 219, 222, 115 S.Ct. 817, 821, 130 L.Ed.2d

715 (1995) (quoting Morales v. TransWorld Airlines Inc.,

504 U.S. at 378, 112 S.Ct. at 2034); see also Legend Air-

lines v. City of Fort Worth, 23 S.W.3d 83 (Tex. App. — Fort

Worth 2000, pet. denied). The ADA prohibits States from

“enact[ing] or enforcling] any law ... relating to [air

carrier] rates, routes, or services.” 49 U.S.C. § 40101, et

seq. (1995). This language has been interpreted by the

* The Federal Aviation Act cited by the parties was repealed,

revised, and recodified in July 1994, prior to the date Black purchased

his tickets. Congress enacted 49 U.S.C. § 40101, et seq. (1995), which

replaced section 1305 without substantive change. The new law

includes section 41713 entitled “Preemption of authority over prices,

routes, and services,” intended to replace section 1305. The revised

(Continued on following page)

App. 36

United States Supreme Court as preempting, and thus

barring, state-imposed regulations of air carriers. Amert-

can Airlines, Inc. v. Wolens, 513 U.S. at 222. Claims for

breach -of contract,’ however, do not constitute “state

imposed regulations,” where parties seek redress in state

court for the violation of contract terms set by the parties

themselves. Id. at 232. The specific issues addressed in

Wolens involved claims brought in Illinois state cotrt

alleging that American Airlines’ action in changing mile-

age credits in its frequent flier program for credits passen-

gers had already accumulated, constituted a breach of

contract and a violation of the Illinois Consumer Fraud

and Deceptive Business Practices Act (Consumer Fraud

Act), 815 Ill. Comp. Stat. Sec 505/1 et seq. (1992). Id. at

224.

Because the Illinois Consumer Fraud Act controlled

the primary conduct of those parties falling within its

section contains only a few minor changes in the language, but the

substance is left intact. Section 41713(b)(1) in part provides: “a State

... May not enact or enforce a law . . . having the force and effect of law

related to price, route, service of an air carrier ... ” This is substan-

tially the same as the old section 1305 cited by the parties. The

legislative history indicates that the “purpose of [the revision] is to

restate in comprehensive form, without substantive change, certain

general and permanent laws related to transportation and ... to make

other technical improvemenis in the Code.” H.R. Rep. No. 180, 103rd

Cong., 2nd Sess. 1 (1993) reprinted in 1994 U.S. Code Cong. and Admin.

News at 818.

* A claim for a breach of contract requires proof that (1) a binding

contract existed; (2) defendants breached the contract; (3) plaintiffs

suffered damages caused by the defendant’s alleged breach. East Tex.

Med. Center Cancer Inst. v. Anderson, 991 S.W.2d 55, 62 (Tex. App. —

Tyler 1998, pet. denied); Ryan v. Superior Oil Co., 813 S.W.2d 594, 596

(Tex. App. — Houston [14th Dist.] 1991, writ denied).

App. 37

governance, the United States Supreme Court held that

the Illinois statute might be used as a means to guide and

police the marketing practices of airlines. Id. at 232.

Noting that the purpose of the Airline Deregulation Act

was to prohibit the states from controlling the selection

and design of marketing mechanisms appropriate to the

furnishing of air transportation services, the Supreme

Court held the ADA preempted the plaintiff’s claims

under the Iilinois Consumer Fraud Act. Id. at 228-232.°

* In Morales, the high court held the ADA precluded state attor-

neys general from seeking to compel air carriers to comply with

guidelines adopted by the National Association of Attorneys General.

Morales, 504 U.S. at 383-90, 112 S.Ct. at 2036-40. American Airlines v.

Wolens stands for the proposition that the ADA does not preclude state

courts from entertaining certain common law tort and contract actions

based on the actions of air carriers. See American Airlines v. Wolens,

513 US. at 232-34, 115 S.Ct. at 826.

Using those benchmark cases as guides, reviewing courts of this

state have carefully examined the nature of the plaintiff’s cause of

action in order to determine whether the claim is preempted by the

ADA. See Continental Airlines, Inc. v. Kiefer, 920 S.W.2d 274, 284

(Tex.1996) (claims for simple negligence held not preempted by the

ADA); The Boon Insurance Agency, Inc. v. American Airlines, Inc., 17

S.W.3d 52 (Tex. App. — Austin 2000) cert. denied 148 L.Ed.2d 712 (2000)

(class-action suit challenging penalties imposed by the airline when the

holder of an economy-class ticket fails to travel according to the ticket’s

original terms, held barred by preemption doctrine because claim

sought to modify terms of the contract by relying on state law); Legend

Airlines v. City of Fort Worth, 23 S.W.3d 83 (Tex. App. — Fort Worth

2000, pet. denied) (enforcement of bond ordinance restrictions to

prevent long-haul air service at Dallas Love Field held preempted by

the ADA); Shupe v. American Airlines Airlines [sic], Inc. 893 S.W.2d 305

(Tex. App. — Fort Worth 1995), aff’d 920 S.W.2d 274 (Tex.1996) (breach

of contract cause of action for failure to comply with agreement to

provide a “meet and assist” service at airport terminal gate held not

preempted).

App. 38

A different result was reached by the high court on the

question of whether breach of contract claims are pre-

empted. Reasoning that the Airline Deregulation Act was

not intended to regulate contracts between individual

parties, the court held it would not read the preemption

clause, 49 U.S.C.S. § 1305(a)(1), to “shelter airlines from

suits alleging no violation of state-imposed obligations, but

seeking recovery solely for the airline’s alleged breach of

its own, self-imposed undertakings,” and ruled breach of

contract causes of action were not subject to federal

preemption. Jd. at 229, 115 S.Ct. at 824. The Supreme

Court clarified its ruling by noting the disparate treat-

ment of statutory causes of action as opposed to those

arising out of contractual agreements:

This distinctior between what the State dictates

and what the airline itself undertakes confines

courts, in breach of contract actions, to the par-

ties’ bargain, with no enlargement or enhance-

ment based on state laws or policies external to

the agreement.

Id. at 233, 115 S.Ct. 232 (footnote omitted).

A rote application of the ruling in Wolens would

require us to hold that Black’s breach of contract claim

against Delta is permissible because it involves alleged

violations of “the parties bargain,” rather than state laws

external to the agreement. Nevertheless, we cannot

overlook the fact that the alleged contractual violation at

issue in this appeal involves a common condition unique to

the airline industry — the failure to seat an allegedly

confirmed ticket holder because of overbooking — and that

unlike the frequent-flier agreements at issue in Wolens,

specific federal regulations govern compensation for air

passengers who are involuntarily prevented from boarding

App. 39

a flight due to overbooking. See 14 C.F.R. §§ 250.4, 250.5,

250.6 (1984).

In other contexts, the Supreme Court has held that

when the statute is silent or ambiguous courts should turn

to agency regulations for clarification. West v. Northwest

Airlines, Inc., 99 F.2d 148 (9th Cir. 1993). If Congress has

explicitly left a gap for the agency to fill, there is an

express delegation of authority to the agency to provide a

specific provision of the statute by regulation. Federal

regulations provide for compensation for passengers whose

confirmed reservations are not honored, without requiring

that the passenger prove economic damages or physical

injury. 14 C.F.R. §§ 250.4, 250.5, 250.6 (1984). The regula-

tions provide for a maximum compensation of $400, which

is halved if the carrier provides alternate transportation

that is planned to arrive at the passenger’s next destina-

tion within a designated time of the arrival time of the

original flight from which the passenger is bumped for

flights within the United States and its territories. Signifi-

cantly, 14 C.F.R. § 250.2a states that the policy behind its

creation is to ensure that every air carrier ensure that the

smallest practicable number of persons holding confirmed

reserved space on flights are denied boarding involuntar-

ily. The regulations provide a uniform system of compen-

sation that may be enforced by the ticket holders, or

declined by the ticket holders, at their discretion, in favor

of damages to be decided “in a court of law or in some

other manner.” See 14 C.F.R. § 250.9(b) (1984). By Black’s

own admission Delta attempted to placate him with

alternatives, but none were acceptable.

As noted above the regulations provide that the

“bumped passenger has the right to decline the compensa-

tion provided for in the regulation and seek to recover

App. 40

damages in a court of law.” See 14 C.F.R. § 250.10 (1984)

(Emphasis added). Delta argues Black was not bumped

because she was offered $60 compensation for sitting in

the flight’s coach cabin, rather than in the first class cabin.

According to Delta, all other remedies are preempted

because § 250.6, provides that, among other exceptions to

eligibility for “denied boarding compensation,” are passen-

gers “ ... seated in a section for which a lower fare is

charged shall be entitled to an appropriate refund.” Black

produced summary judgment evidence showing she held a

confirmed, first-class ticket. Delta produced summary

judgment evidence showing the ticket was confirmed only

for coach. As noted above, settled summary judgment law

requires us to construe the evidence in the light most

favorable to Black, the nonmovant. Under this standard,

we assume that Black was denied her “confirmed reserved

space”’ on Flight 661 due to airline overbooking. Address-

ing Delta’s claim that Black was entitled to only $60

because she was offered seating in coach, we note that 14

C.F.R. § 250.6 does not specifically preempt Black’s claim.

It merely lists Black’s situation (denied first class boarding

with an offer for coach boarding) as an “exception” to

“eligibility for denied boarding compensation.” We there-

fore agree with Delta’s contention that, because Mary was

offered coach seating, Black would not be entitled to

demand the federally required damages available to

" See 14 C.FR. § 250.1 (1983). “‘Confirmed reserved space’, means

space on a specific date and on a specific flight and class of service of a

carrier which has been requested by a passenger and which the carrier

or its agent has verified, by appropriate notation on the ticket or in any

other manner provided therefor by the carrier, as being reserved for the

accommodation of the passenger.”

App. 41

“bumped” passengers choosing compensation under the

regulations of “200 percent of the sum of the values of the

passenger’s remaining flight coupons up to the passenger’s

next stopover, or if none, to the passenger’s final destina-

tion, with a maximum of $400.” 14 C.FR. § 250.5. How-

ever, to say the [sic] Black cannot claim damages outside

the regulation’s compensation system would be incorrect.

In fact, nothing in the code of federal regulations bars

anyone from foregoing regulation remedies and seeking

damages in state court. 14 C.F. R. § 250.9 (1984) requires

the airlines to inform passengers paid compensation that

“[a]eceptance of the compensation may relieve (name of air

carrier) from any further liability to the passenger caused

by its failure to honor the confirmed reservation. However,

the passenger may decline the payment and seek to recover

damages in a court of law or in some other manner.”

(Emphasis added). Because federal airline regulations

allow passengers whose airline reservations are not

honored due to overbooking to seek recovery for damages

“in a court of law or in some other manner,” we hold that

Black’s breach of contract cause of action against Delta is

not preempted by the ADA. Moreover, even if Delta were

correct in its contention that passengers in Black’s situa-

tion can recover only an “appropriate refund” for involun-

tary seating in coach while holding a reserved, first class

ticket, Delta has not shown that the $60 tendered to Black

was “appropriate.”

Federal regulations provide that a person offered

accommodations in a section of the aircraft other than as

specified on their ticket gives up his or her right to com-

pensation under scheme available in the regulations, but

no such waiver is stated for persons who choose the

“passenger option” of “recovering damages in a court of

—

App. 42

law.” See 14 C.F.R. § 250.9 (1984). We additionally note

that Black contends no Delta employee requested other

first-class passengers holding reservations to volunteer for

a payment of Delta’s choosing in return for sitting in

coach. If Mary’s ticket was confirmed for first-class and

Delta did not request volunteers from other ticketed

passengers to give up their seat assignment in exchange

for an airline incentive, Delta itself was in violation of the

very federal regulations it contends foreclose Black from

recovering in a court of law. 14 C.FR. § 250.9 (1984)

provides:

Written explanation of denied boarding compen-

sation and boarding priorities.

(a) Every carrier shall furnish passengers

who are denied boarding involuntarily from

flights on which they hold confirmed reserved

space immediately after they are denied board-

ing occurs, a written statement explaining the

terms, conditions, and limitations of denied

boarding compensation. ...

(b) The statement shall read as follows:

If a flight is oversold (more passengers hold

confirmed reservations than there are seats

available), no one may be denied boarding

against his or her will until airline personnel

first ask for volunteers who will give up their

reservation willingly, in exchange for a payment

of the airline’s choosing. If there are not enough

volunteers, other passengers may be denied

boarding involuntarily in accordance with the fol-

lowing boarding priority of (name of air carrier):

(In this space carrier inserts its boarding priority

rules or a summary thereof, in a manner to be

understandable to the average passenger).

we Le ee

App. 43

To be sure, Delta offered summary judgment evidence

that Al Perez did seek volunteers from other first-class

passengers and that, in fact, he offered the generous

incentive of an additional round-trip ticket to anywhere in

the United States to any first-class passenger who would

give up their seat to Mary and agree to fly on the same

flight in coach. According to Perez, only after no passenger

volunteered did he deny Mary first-class seating. However,

other evidence suggested that was not true. Every reason-

able inference must be indulged in favor of the non-

movant and every doubts resolved in its favor. See, e.g.,

Nixon v. Mr. Property Management Co., 690 S.W.2d 546,

548-49 (Tex. 1985). Black offered summary judgment

evidence that he and his wife arrived at the departure gate

between one hour and forty-five minutes in advance of

boarding, that he did not witness Perez seeking volunteers

from the other first-class passengers, and that, in fact, the

flight was already in the process of boarding when Mary

was first informed that her reservation for first-class

would not be honored. Significantly, Black also averred

that Perez did not appear at the gate until the gate agents

were in the process of boarding passengers for the flight. It

is reasonable to infer that if Perez had asked every first-

class passenger to volunteer to give up their ticket, he

would have done so over the gate public address system.

Because Black was present when Perez arrived at the gate

and did not witness Perez make any offer seeking volun-

teers from the other first-class passengers, in viewing the

evidence in the light favorable to Black, a reasonable

inference is that Delta did not seek volunteers before

denying Mary first-class seating.

App. 44

Whether Black’s claims against Delta for intentional

and negligent misrepresentation® are preempted by the

ADA presents a closer question. In both Morales and

Wolens, the United State’s Supreme Court held that

causes of action based on state consumer protection

statutes are preempted under the ADA. The Texas Su-

preme Court accurately predicted in Continental Airlines

v. Kiefer that this very question would one day be pre-

sented to a reviewing court:

An action for negligent misrepresentation might

be argued to be indistinguishable from the statu-

tory consumer protection actions [held preempted]

in Morales and Wolens. Strict products liability

could be argued to embody State policies to a de-

gree prohibited by ADA regulation policy. These

are but two examples. We need not address these

issues here but leave them for “a closer working

out” in future cases. We hold only that the ADA

does not preempt common-law personal injury

cases negligence claims against air carriers, sub-

ject to the reservations we have expressed as to

damages.

Continental Airiines v. Kiefer, 920 S.W.2d 274, 283 (Tex.

1996).

We now proceed to the “closer working out,” antici-

pated in Kiefer. We begin by noting that while Black seeks

relief under the Texas consumer protection law corollary to

the state laws held preempted by the ADA in Morales and

* We here address only the issue of preemption. Whether the facts

could support a claim under either of these theories was not presented

to the trial court.

App. 45

Wolens — the Texas Deceptive Trade Practices Act® — he

does so only in relation to his claims against Haddad, the

owner of the travel agency. A claim against Delta for

alleged violations of the Deceptive Trade Practices Act

would be preempted by the ADA, in order to prevent our

state legislature from controlling, through consumer

protection acts, “the design and implementation of market-

ing mechanisms appropriate to the furnishing of air

transportation services.” See American Airlines v. Wolens,

513 U.S. 219, 115 S.Ct. 817, 130 L.Ed.2d 715 (1995); See

also Shupe v. American Airiines, Inc., 893 S.W.2d 305, 307-

308 (Tex. App. — Fort Worth 1995), affirmed 920 S.W.2d

274. However, the theories of intentional and negligent

misrepresentation actually pleaded by Black do not turn

on any requirement imposed on Delta by any Texas legis-

lative body. Instead they turn on represe-atations alleged

by Black to have been personaily ma?* to him by Delta

through Perez, and Delta’s alleged agent, Haddad. This

makes the misrepresentation causes of action more similar

to the breach of contract claims historically held not to be

preempted by the ADA, than the consumer protection act

causes of action determined by courts to be preempted,

because the misrepresentation claims involve actions

between the parties in connection with “self-imposed

undertakings,” a factor deemed significant by the Supreme

Court in Wolens. cite. For this reason, we hold that Black’s

causes of action against Delta for intentional and negli-

gent misrepresentation are not preempted by the ADA.

* TEx. Bus. & Com. CoDE ANN. § 17.46 (Vernon Supp. 2001).

App. 46

Because Delta flight supervisor Al Perez’s summary

judgment claims are based on the same grounds advanced

by Delta, including the preemption claims, we find that

Black’s causes of action against Perez for intentional and

negligent misrepresentation are also not preempted by the

ADA. Our disposition of the preemption issue against

Delta and Perez is similar, except that we must also

determine whether travel agencies are covered under the

ADA.

Haddad maintains that as a travel agency marketing

airline tickets, Black’s cause of action against his business

for alleged violations of the Texas Deceptive Trade Prac-

tices Act is preempted by the ADA for the same reason

such a cause of action would not be permitted against an

airline.” Haddad specifically argues that the ADA pre-

empts claims, “directly related to services provided by an

air carrier and those that make reservations for service for

an air carrier.” We disagree. The ADA provides that no

state “shall enact or enforce any law, rule, regulation,

standard, or other provision having the force and effect of

law relating to rates, routes, or services of any air carrier.”

49 U.S.C. § 41713(b)(1) (1994) (emphasis added). The

burden of demonstrating preemption is on the party who

asserts it. See Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee Corp., 464 U.S. 238,

255, 104 S.Ct. 615, 78 L.Ed.2d 443 (1984). Haddad has

not demonstrated on appeal, nor in the court below, a

‘© Haddad took no position in his summary judgment motion on the

question of whether he was acting as an agent of Delta in issuing the

tickets to Black. We therefore are not presented with (and do not

address) whether Haddad is entitled to protection from Black’s decep-

tive trade practices cause of action if Haddad is proven to be Delta’s

agent.

App. 47

congressional intent to shield travel agencies from state

consumer protection laws through the ADA. We agree with

Black’s assertion that his claims against Haddad involve

privately-ordered undertakings that affect the airlines, if

at_all, in too tenuous, remote, or peripheral a manner to

have preemptive effect. See Morales v. Trans World Air-

lines, 504 U.S. at 390. We therefore hold that Black’s

causes of action against Haddad, including the claimed

violation of the Texas Deceptive Trade Practices Act, are

not preempted by the ADA.

C. Causation

Summary judgment was also sought on grounds that

the damages Black suffered were not caused by any

wrongdoing on the part of any appellee. The specific

argument made by Delta, Perez, and Haddad in their

summary judgment motion in the district court follows:

The undisputed evidence shows that plaintiff and

his wife could have traveled on flight 661, with

one passenger in first-class and the other in

coach. Even if Mrs. Black was wrongfully denied

a seat in first-class, the ultimate result of that al-

leged wrongdoing is that Mrs. Black would sit in

coach for the 2 1/2 hour flight, just like 185 other

passengers on this particular Boeing 767. Be-

cause the Blacks were not denied transportation

on flight 661, alternate flight arrangements were

not necessary.... At most, the Blacks would

have suffered “mental anguish” from the moral,

social, or marital humiliation of travel in coach

rather than first-class. As the Blacks are proba-

bly aware, of course, such a claim would not have

a significant legal value.

hneeeeeemennenemenmneniemsnenibnniiaiiiiiiiieaaall

App. 48

Put another way, the movants contend that the Blacks

were, as a matter of law, required to fly on Flight 661 to

avoid having their claim dismissed on grounds of causa-

tion. We do not agree. Although the economic damages

allegedly suffered by Black when he chartered a private jet

to fly him to Las Vegas to ensure his arrival for dinner and

the Tom Jones concert were substantial, we cannot say, as

a matter of law, that a rational jury could not find that

Black suffered at least some damage as a result of the

appellee’s conduct. “[T]he question of causation (foresee-

ability) which controls liability should be determined from

the facts and circumstances of each particular case, and

except where reasonable minds cannot differ, the issue is

one for the jury.” Strakos v. Gehring, 360 S.W.2d 787, 792

(Tex. 1962). We hold that there is at least some evidence

that the allegedly improper conduct of the defendants

caused Black damages.

D. Avoidable Consequences

Delta, Perez and Haddad, contend that Black could

have avoided the damages he allegedly suffered if he had

mitigated his damages through other available travel

alternatives. As a general rule, whether a party has

mitigated his damages is a question of fact reserved to the

fact finder at trial. Walker v. Salt Flat Water Co., 128 Tex.

140, 96 S.W.2d 231, 233 (Tex. 1936). Black presented

evidence that he could not take a later Delta flight to Las

Vegas because his already scheduled post-arrival plans,

including pre-purchased tickets to the Tom Jones concert,

would not permit a later arrival. He also presented evi-

dence that sitting in coach would conflict with the reason

for the trip: a demonstration, through first-class accom-

modations, of his love for his wife and a desire to

App. 49

strengthen his weakening marriage. Whether Black could

have avoided the expense of a privately chartered jet is an

issue we believe is best left to the trier of fact. Appellate

courts are particularly ill-equipped to determine, as a

matter of law, whether particular actions undertaken to

advance interests in “affairs of the heart,” such as Black’s

stated motivation here, are reasonable. Such issues are

better left to the trier of fact to resolve. We therefore hold.

that summary judgment in favor of appellees is not proper

under the theory of “avoidable consequences.”

E. Agency

Delta and Perez contend that summary judgment was

appropriate because Smith Travel was, as a matter of law,

not acting as their agent at the time Black purchased his

tickets. In other words, Delta and Perez claim that they

were not parties to the travel contract made between

Black and Smith Travel. We hold that like the issues of

causation and avoidable consequences, the agency ques-

tion presented in this case cannot be resolved as a matter

of law.

Delta and Perez moved for summary judgment under

this defensive theory based solely on the affidavit of Linda

Wilson, a Reservation Sales Supervisor for Delta. In her

affidavit, Wilson averred she has been employed in Delta’s

reservation department for twenty-nine years and that

Smith Travel, “like all U.S. travel agencies,” is authorized

by a separate corporation, the Airline Reporting Corpora-

tion (“ARC”), to issue tickets on airlines, but that it does

App. 50

not act as an agent for Delta.” She also avers that the ARC

does not authorize travel agents to confirm or accept a

reservation on an airline flight and that when requesting

reservations on Delta travel agents act exclusively on

behalf of the passenger. In response to Wilson’s affidavit,

Black presented the affidavit of James Hargis, a former

Delta passenger service agent with twenty five years’

experience. In connection with the question of agency,

Hargis directly contradicted Wilson and stated that “when

a travel agent issues a ticket, the travel agent acts on

behalf of the air carrier, which in this case is Delta.” The

written disclaimer on the travel documents Black received

from the travel agency at the time of ticketing similarly

states that Smith Travel & Limousine is acting as an

agent for Delta. Under these disputed facts we hold that

Delta and Perez have not established, as a matter of law,

that Smith Travel & Limousine was not acting as Delta’s

agent.

F. Ownership of Smith Travel & Limousine

Haddad moved for summary judgment on the addi-

tional ground that he was not the owner of Smith Travel &

" An agent is one who consents to act on behalf of, and subject to,

the control of the principal, who has manifested consent that the agent

so act. Hand v. Dean Witter Reynolds, Inc., 889 S.W.2d 483, 493 (Tex.

App. — Houston [14th Dist.] 1994, writ denied). Each side tendered

summary judgment affidavits which purported to establish whether

Haddad was Delta’s agent. To the extent that each respective affidavit,

in addition to providing facts pertinent to that issue, addressed the

ultimate question of whether an agency relationship existed, the

affidavits were improper. See Watkins v. Hammerman & Gainer, 814

S.W.2d 867, 870 (Tex. App. — Austin 1991, no writ).

App. 51

Limousine on June 23, 1995. In support of that claim,

Haddad signed an affidavit in which he averred that on

April 1, 1995, he sold Smith Travel & Limousine to a

corporation, Around the Glop, Inc. A written purchase

agreement documenting the sale was attached to his

affidavit. In response, Black produced a certified record

from the Dallas County Clerk’s Office certifying Abe

Haddad began doing business as “Smith Travel & Limou-

sine,” on June 10, 1991, and that he was still on record in

that same capacity as of August 22, 1997. Black also

tendered an affidavit certified by the office of the Texas

Secretary of State indicating that there was no record of

entry indicating any assumed names certificates on file for

the corporation known as Around the Glop, Inc. We hold

that because of this conflicting evidence, that it was not

established, as a matter of law, that Abe Haddad was not

doing business as Smith Travel & Limousine on the date

Black purchased his airline tickets.

Having determined that summary judgment was not

proper on any of the grounds advanced by appellees in the

district court, we sustain issues one and two. Given our

disposition of those issues, it is not necessary that we

address the remaining issues advanced by Black on

appeal. We reverse the district court’s orders granting

summary judgment and remand the case for trial.

DAVID L. RICHARDS

Justice

Before Justice Vance,

Justice Gray, and

Justice Richards (Sitting by Assignment)

(Justice Gray concurring)

Reversed and Remanded

Opinion delivered and filed January 30, 2002

App. 52

Do not publish

CV25

CONCURRING OPINION

This case is being reversed and remanded. With that I

agree. But the only issue which we needed to decide to

reach that result is the question of whether Haddad is the

agent for Delta. Black presented some evidence that

Haddad is the agent of Delta. Accordingly the motions for

summary judgment of Delta and Perez must be reversed

for a determination of that issue. Haddad’s motion must

also be reversed because of the same issue and for the

additional reason that Black introduced some evidence

from which it could be inferred that Haddad was the

owner of the unincorporated travel agency at the time that

Black purchased the tickets.

Once the issue of agency is determined on remand,

many of the other issues purportedly decided in this

opinion: will be advisory opinions because they will no

longer be necessary to a disposition of this case. The

answer to the agency question will control the causes of

action that Black can assert and against whom, the nature

of the damages that can be recovered (tort versus contract’

— general versus special’), what evidence can be considered

against which defendants, and a multitude of other “ripple

" See Weber v. Domel, 2001 Tex. App. LEXIS 3589 (Tex. App. —

Waco 2001, no pet. h.).

* See Hadley v. Baxendale, 9 Exch. 341, 156 Eng. Rep. 145, 5 Eng.

Rul. Cas. 502 (1854).

App. 53

effects” in the manner in which some of the issues pre-

sented in this appeal should ultimately be decided.

The majority gets trapped into attempting to resolve

many of these issues prematurely because this is a very

complex area of the law and the parties have failed to

appreciate the conflicts in the various arguments they

have made in their briefs. This problem is compounded

because the briefs of the parties have failed to clearly

present what allegations were made in the alternative and

the consequences of “proving” one alternative or the other.

On these briefs, and because on remand there may be

additional factual development that would assist us, I

would not attempt to decide whether Black’s claims for

intentional misrepresentation (fraud) and negligent

misrepresentation are preempted by the Airline Deregula-

tion Act.

Finally, because I believe any decision regarding the

preemption issue to be premature, I express only my

reservations about the majority's conclusion that the torts

of fraud and negligent misrepresentation are more similar

to breach of contract claims than they are to consumer

protection statutes and therefore are not covered by the

Airline Deregulation Act’s preemption of efforts by the

various states to regulate the airline industry.

With these comments, I concur in the judgment.

TOM GRAY

Justice

Concurring opinion delivered and filed on January 30, 2002

Do not publish

App. 54

Cause No. 96-6320

ROBERT C. BLACK, § INTHE DISTRICT

Plaintiff, ; COURT

+“ ; DALLAS COUNTY,

: TEXAS

DELTA AIRLINES, INC.

AL PEREZ, ABE HADDAD $ 192nd JUDICIAL

D/B/A SMITH TRAVEL & $ DISTRICT

LIMOUSINE, AND §

MELISSA SHINN, :

Defendants. §

ORDER GRANTING DEFENDANTS DELTA

AIR LINES, INC. AND AL PEREZ’S MOTION

FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT

(Filed Jan. 9, 1998)

On the 24th day of November, 1997, came on to be

considered Defendant DELTA AIR LINES, INC.’s and

Defendant AL PEREZ’s Motion for Summary Judgment in

the above-styled and -numbered case. After due considera-

tion, the Court finds that there is no material issue of fact

with respect to plaintiffs claims against Delta Air Lines,

Inc. and Al Perez and that judgment should be entered in

favor of these defendants as a matter of law.

IT IS, THEREFORE, ORDERED, ADJUDGED, AND

DECREED that the Motion for Summary Judgment filed

by Delta Air Lines, Inc. and Al Perez is hereby granted in

its entirety and that al claims and causes of action

against Delta Air Lines, Inc. and Al Perez are dismissed

with prejudice to the refiling of same.

App. 55

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Robert Black

shall pay Delta Air Lines, Inc. and Al Perez costs of court.

SIGNED this 5 day of January, 1998

/s/ Ted M. Akin

JUDGE PRESIDING

Former JUDGE Court of

Appeals JUDICIAL DISTRICT

COURT SITTING FOR

JUDGE 192nd JUDICIAL

DISTRICT COURT OF

DALLAS COUNTY, TEXAS

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Ronald E. Harden

State Bar No. 00792079

Dorothy J. Harden

State Bar No. 02342050

The Harden Law Firm, L.L.P.

1221 Texas Community Bank Bldg.

8235 Douglas Avenue, LB 55

Dallas, TX 75225

(214) 369-9871

- (214) 368-4653 Telecopier

Attorneys for Plaintiff

/s/ John G. Sams

Dan K. Horn

State Bar No. 09998615

John G. Sams

State Bar No. 17566100

App. 56

Rynn Freiling

State Bar No. 00784081

102 Decker Court, Suite 200

Irving, Texas 75062

(972) 281-2900

(972) 281-2929 Telecopier

Attorneys for Defendants

Delta Air Lines, Inc. and

Al Perez

App. 57

49 U.S.C.A. § 41713. Preemption of authority over prices,

routes, and service

(a) Definition. - In this section, “State” means a

State, the District of Columbia, and a territory or posses-

sion of the United States.

(b) Preemption. — (1) Except as provided in this

subsection, a State, political subdivision of a State, or

political authority of at least 2 States may not enact or

enforce a law, regulation, or other provision having the

force and effect of law related to a price, route, or service of

an air carrier that may provide air transportation under

this subpart.

(2) Paragraphs (1) and (4) of this subsection do not

apply to air transportation provided entirely in Alaska

unless the transportation is air transportation (except

charter air transportation) provided under a certificate

issued under section 41102 of this title.

(3) This subsection does not limit a State, political

subdivision of a State, or political authority of at least 2

States that owns or operates an airport served by an air

carrier holding a certificate issued by the Secretary of

Transportation from carrying out its proprietary powers

and rights.

(4) Transportation by air carrier or carrier

affiliated with a direct air carrier. —

(A) General rule. — Except as provided in subpara-

graph (B), a State, political subdivision of a State, or

political authority of 2 or more States may not enact or

enforce a law, regulation, or other provision having the

force and effect of law related to a price, route, or service of

an air carrier or carrier affiliated with a direct air carrier

App. 58

through common controlling ownership when such carrier

is transporting property by aircraft or by motor vehicle

(whether or not such property has had or will have a prior

or subsequent air movement).

(B) Matters not covered. — Subparagraph (A) —

(i) shall not restrict the safety regulatory authority

of a State with respect to motor vehicles, the authority of a

State to impose highway route controls or limitations

based on the size or weight of the motor vehicle or the

hazardous nature of the cargo, or the authority of a State

to regulate motor carriers with regard to minimum

amounts of financial responsibility relating to insurance

requirements and self-insurance authorization; and

(ii) does not apply to the transportation of household

goods, as defined in section 13102 of this title.

(C) Applicability of paragraph (1). — This para-

graph shall not limit the applicability of paragraph (1).

14 C.F.R. § 250.1 Definitions.

“Airport” means the airport at which the direct or

connecting flight, on which the passenger holds confirmed

reserved space, is planned to arrive or some other airport

serving the same metropolitan area, provided that trans-

portation to the other airport is accepted (i.e., used) by the

passenger.

“Carrier” means (a) a direct air carrier, except a

helicopter operator, holding a certificate issued by the

Board pursuant to sections 401(d)(1), 401(d)(2), 401(d)(5)

and 401(d)(8) of the Act, or an exemption from section

App. 59

401(a) of the Act, authorizing the transportation of per-

sons, or (b) a foreign route air carrier holding a permit

issued by the Board pursuant to section 402 of the Act, or

an exemption from section 402 of the Act, authorizing the

scheduled foreign air transportation or persons.

“Comparable air transportation” means transporta-

tion provided to passengers at no extra cost by a carrier as

defined above. ;

“Confirmed reserved space”, means space on a specific

date and on a specific flight and class of service of a carrier

which has been requested by a passenger and which the

carrier or its agent has verified, by appropriate notation

on the ticket or in any other manner provided therefor by

the carrier, as being reserved for the accommodation of the

passenger.

“Large aircraft” means any aircraft that has a passen-

ger capacity of more than 60 seats.

“Stopover” means a deliberate interruption of a

journey by the passenger, scheduled to exceed 4 hours, at a

point between the place of departure and the final destina-

tion.

“Sum of the values of the remaining flight coupons”

means the sum of the applicable one-way fares, including

any surcharges and air transportation taxes, less any

applicable discounts.

14 C.F.R. § 250.2 Applicability.

This part applies to every carrier, as defined in

§ 250.1, with respect to flight segments with large aircraft

eee

App. 60

in (1) interstate or overseas air transportation and (2)

foreign air transportation originating at a point within the

United States.

14 C.F.R. § 250.2a Policy regarding denied boarding.

In the event of an oversold flight, every carrier shall

ensure that the smallest practicable number of persons

holding confirmed reserved space on that flight are denied

boarding involuntarily.

14 C.F.R. § 250.2b Carriers to request volunteers for

denied boarding.

(a) In the event of an oversold flight, every carrier

shall request volunteers for denied boarding before using

any other boarding priority. A “volunteer” is a person who

responds to the carrier’s request for volunteers and who

willingly accepts the carriers’ offer of compensation, in any

amount, in exchange for relinquishing the confirmed

reserved space. Any other passenger denied boarding is

considered for purposes of this part to have been denied

boarding involuntarily, even if that passenger accepts the

denied boarding compensation.

(b) If an insufficient number of volunteers come

forward, the carrier may deny boarding to other passen-

gers in accordance with its boarding priority rules. How-

ever, the carrier may not deny boarding to any passenger

involuntarily who was earlier asked to volunteer without

having been informed about the danger of being denied

App. 61

boarding involuntarily and the amount of Board-mandated

compensation.

14 CFR. § 250.3 Boarding priority rules.

(a) Every carrier shall establish priority rules and

criteria for determining which passengers holding con-

firmed reserved space shall be denied boarding on an

oversold flight in the event that an insufficient number of

volunteers come forward. Such rules and criteria shall

reflect the obligations of the carrier set forth in §§ 250.2a

and 250.2b to minimize involuntary denied boarding and

to request volunteers, and shall be written in such manner

as to be understandable and meaningful to the average

passenger. Such rules and criteria shall not make, give, or

cause any undue or unreasonable preference or advantage

to any particular person or subject any particular person

to any unjust or unreasonable prejudice or disadvantage in

any respect whatsoever.

14 C.F R. § 250.4 [Reserved]

14 C.FR. § 250.5 Amount of denied boarding compensa-

tion for passengers denied boarding involuntarily.

(a) Subject to the exceptions provided in § 250.6, a

carrier as defined in § 250.1, shall pay compensation to

passengers denied boarding involuntarily from an oversold

flight at the rate of 200 percent of the sum of the values of

the passenger’s remaining flight coupons up to the pas-

senger’s next stopover, or if none, to the passenger's final

App. 62

destination, with a maximum of $400. However, the

compensation shall be one-half the amount described

above, with a $200 maximum, if the carrier arranges for

comparable air transportation, or other transportation

used by the passenger that, at the time either such ar-

rangement is made, is planned to arrive at the airport of

the passenger’s next stopover or if none, at the airport of

the passenger’s destination, not later than 2 hours after

the time the direct or connecting flight on which confirmed

space is held is planned to arrive in the case of interstate

air transportation, or 4 hours after such time in the case of

foreign air transportation.

(b) Carriers may offer free or reduced rate air trans-

portation in lieu of the cash due under paragraph (a) of

this section, if (1) the value of the transportation benefit

offered is equal to or greater than the cash payment

otherwise required, and (2) the carrier informs the pas-

senger of the amount of cash compensation that would

otherwise be due and that the passenger may decline the

transportation benefit and receive the cash payment.

14 C.FR. § 250.6 Exceptions to eligibility for denied

boarding compensation.

A passenger denied boarding involuntarily from an

oversold flight shall not be eligible for denied boarding

compensation if:

(a) The passenger does not comply fully with the

carrier’s contract of carriage or tariff provisions regarding

ticketing, reconfirmation, check-in, and acceptability for

transportation;

App. 63

(b) The flight for which the passenger holds con-

firmed reserved space is unable to accommodate that

passenger because of substitution of equipment of lesser

capacity when required by operational or safety reasons;

(c) The passenger is offered accommodations or is

seated in a section of the aircraft other than that specified

on the ticket at no extra charge, except that a passenger

seated in a section for which a lower fare is charged shall

be entitled to an appropriate refund; or

(d) The carrier arranges comparable air transporta-

tion, or other transportation used by the passenger at no

extra cost to the passenger, that at the time such ar-

rangements are made is planned to arrive at the airport of

the passenger’s next stopover or, if none, at the airport of

the final destination not later than 1 hour after the

planned arrival time of the passenger’s original flight or

flights.

14 C.FR. § 250.7 [Reserved]

14 C.FR. § 250.8 Denied boarding compensation.

(a) Every carrier shall tender to a passenger

eligible for denied boarding compensation, on the day

and place the denied boarding occurs, except as provided

in paragraph (b), cash or an immediately negotiable check

for the appropriate amount of compensation provided in

§ 250.5.

App. 64

(b) Where a carrier arranges, for the passenger’s

convenience, alternate means of transportation that

departs before the payment can be prepared and given to

the passenger, tender shall be made by mail or other

means within 24 hours after the time the denied boarding

occurs.

14 C.F-.R. § 250.9 Written explanation of denied boarding

compensation and boarding priorities.

(a) Every carrier shall furnish passengers who are

denied boarding involuntarily from flights on which they

hold confirmed reserved space immediately after the

denied boarding occurs, a written statement explaining

the terms, conditions, and limitations of denied boarding

compensation, and describing the carriers’ boarding

priority rules and criteria. The carrier shall also furnish

the statement to any person upon request at all airport

ticket selling positions which are in the charge of a person

employed exclusively by the carrier, or by it jointly with

another person or persons, and at all boarding locations

being used by the carrier.

(b) The statement shall read as follows:

COMPENSATION FOR DENIED BOARDING

If you have been denied a reserved seat on (name of

air carrier), you are probably entitled to monetary

compensation. This notice explains the airline’s obligation

and the passenger’s rights in the case of an oversold flight,

in accordance with regulations of the U.S. Civil Aero-

nautics Board.

App. 65

VOLUNTEERS AND BOARDING PRIORITIES

If a flight is oversold (more passengers hold confirmed

reservations than there are seats available), no one may

be denied boarding against his or her will until airline

personnel first ask for volunteers who will give up their

reservation willingly, in exchange for a payment of the

airline’s choosing. If there are not enough volunteers,

other passengers may be denied boarding involuntarily in

accordance with the following boarding priority of (name of

air carrier): (In this space carrier inserts its boarding

priority rules or a summary thereof, in a manner to be

understandable to the average passenger.)

COMPENSATION OF INVOLUNTARY

DENIED BOARDING

If you are denied boarding involuntarily, you are

entitled to a payment of “denied boarding compensation”

from the airline unless:

(1) You have not fully complied with the airline’s

ticketing, check-in, and reconfirmation requirements, or

you are not acceptable for transportation under the air-

line’s usual rules and practices, or (2) you are denied

boarding because the flight is canceled; or (3) you are

denied boarding because a smaller capacity aircraft was

substituted for safety or operational reasons; or (4) you are

offered accommodations in a section of the aircraft other

than specified in your ticket, at no extra charge, (a pas-

senger seated in a section for which a lower fare is charged

must be given an appropriate refund); or (5) the airline is

able to place you on another flight or flights that are

planned to reach your final destination within one hour of

the scheduled arrival of your original flight.

App. 66

AMOUNT OF DENIED

BOARDING COMPENSATION

Passengers who are eligible for denied boarding

compensation must be offered a payment equal to the sum

of the face values of their ticket coupons, with a $200

maximum. However, if the airline cannot arrange “alter-

nate transportation” (see below) for the passenger, the

compensation is doubled ($400 maximum). The “value” of

a ticket coupon is the one-way fare for the flight shown on

the coupon including any surcharge and air transportation

tax, minus any applicable discount. All flight coupons,

including connecting flights, to the passenger’s final destina-

tion or first 4-hour stopover are used to compute the

compensation.

“Alternate transportation” is air transportation (by an

airline licensed by CAB) or other transportation used by

the passenger which, at the time the arrangement is

made, is planned to arrive at the passenger’s next sched-

uled stopover (of 4 hours or longer) or final destination no

later than 2 hours (for flights within U.S.-points, including

territories and possessions) or 4-hours (for international

flights) after the passenger’s originally scheduled arrival

time.

METHOD OF PAYMENT

The airline must give each passenger who qualifies for

denied boarding compensation a payment by cash or check

for the amount specified above, on the day and place the

involuntary denied boarding occurs. However, if the airline

arranges alternate transportation for the passenger’s

convenience that departs before the payment can be made,

the payment will be sent to the passenger within 24 hours.

The air carrier may offer free tickets in place of the cash

=_

App. 67

payment. The passenger may, however, insist on the cash

payment, or refuse all compensation and bring private

legal action.

PASSENGER'S OPTIONS

Acceptance of the compensation may relieve (name of

air carrier) from any further liability to the passenger

caused by its failure to honor the confirmed reservation.

However, the passenger may decline the payment and seek

to recover damages in a court of law or in some other

manner.

(Approved by the Office of Management and Budget

under control number 3024-0003)

(Authority: Sec. 204 of the Federal Aviation Act of

1958, as amended, 72 Stat. 743; 49 U.S.C. 1324).

14 C.F.R. § 250.10 Report of passengers denied confirmed

space.

Every carrier shall file, on a quarterly basis, the

information specified in BTS Form 251. The reporting

basis shall be flights originating or terminating at, or

servicing, a point within the United States. The reports

are to be submitted within 30 days after the quarter

covered by the report. The calendar quarters end March

31, June 30, September 30 and December 31. “Total

Boardings” on line 7 of Form 251 shall include only pas-

sengers on flights for which confirmed reservations are

offered. No reports need be filed for inbound international

flights on which the protections of this part do not apply.

App. 68

(Approved by the Office of Management and Budget

under control number 2138-0018)

14 C.FR. § 250.11 Public disclosure of deliberate overbook-

ing and boarding procedures.

(a) Every carrier shall cause to be displayed continu-

ously in a conspicuous public place at each desk, station,

and position in the United States which is in the charge of

a person employed exclusively by it, or by it jointly with

another person, or by any agent employed by such air

carrier or foreign air carrier to sell tickets to passengers, a

sign located so as to be clearly visible and clearly readable

to the traveling public, which shall have printed thereon

the following staternent in boldface type at least one-

fourth of an inch high:

NOTICE —- OVERBOOKING OF FLIGHTS

Airline flights may be overbooked, and there is a

slight chance that a seat will not be available on a flight

for which a person has a confirmed reservation. If the

flight is overbooked, no one will be denied a seat until

airline personnel first ask for volunteers willing to give up

their reservation in exchange for a payment of the airline’s

choosing. If there are not enough volunteers the airline

will deny boarding to other persons in accordance with its

particular boarding priority. With few exceptions persons

denied boarding involuntarily are entitled to compensation.

The complete rules for the payment of compensation and

each airlines boarding priorities are available at all

airport ticket counters and boarding locations. Some

airlines do not apply these consumer protections to travel

from some foreign countries, although other consumer

App. 69

protections may be available. Check with your airline or

your travel agent.

(b) Every carrier shall include with each ticket sold

in the United States the notices set forth in paragraph (a)

of this section, printed in at least 12-point type. The notice

may be printed on a separate piece of paper, on the ticket

stock, or on the ticket envelope. The last two sentences of

the notice shall be printed in a type face contrasting with

that of the rest of the notice.

(c) It shall be the responsibility of each carrier to

ensure that travel agents authorized to sell air transporta-

tion for that carrier comply with the notice provisions of

paragraphs (a) and (b) of this section.

(d) [Reserved]

(e) Any air carrier or foreign air carrier engaged in

foreign air transportation that complies fully with this

part for inbound traffic to the United States need not use

the last two sentences of the notices required by para-

graph (a) of this subsection.

(Approved by the Office of Management and Budget

under control number 3024-0018)

(Authority: Sec. 204 of the Federal Aviation Act of

1958, as amended, 72 Stat. 743; 49 U.S.C. 1324).

14 C.F.R. PART 253 - NOTICE OF TERMS

OF CONTRACT OF CARRIAGE

§ 253.1 Purpose.

The purpose of this rule is to set uniform disclosure

requirements, which preempt any State requirements on

App. 70 ~

the same subject, for terms incorporated by reference into

contracts of carriage for scheduled service in interstate

and overseas passenger air transportation.

§ 253.2 Applicability.

This rule applies to all scheduled direct air carrier

operations in interstate and overseas air transportation. It

applies to all contracts with passengers, for those opera-

tions, that incorporate terms by reference.

§ 253.3 Definitions.

Large aircraft means any aircraft designed to have a

maximum passenger capacity of more than 60 seats.

Passenger means any person who purchases, or who

contacts a ticket office or travel agent for the purpose of

purchasing, or considering the purchase of, air transporta-

tion.

Ticket office means station, office, or other location

where tickets are sold that is under the charge of a person

employed exclusively by the carrier, or by it jointly with

another person.

§ 253.4 Incorporation by reference in the contract of

carriage.

(a) A ticket or other written instrument that embod-

ies the contract of carriage may incorporate contract terms

by reference (i.e., without stating their full text), and if it

does so shall contain or be accompanied by notice to the

passenger as required by this part. In addition to other

remedies at law, an air carrier may not claim the benefit

App. 71

as against the passenger of, and the passenger shall not be

bound by, any contract term incorporated by reference if

notice of the term has not been provided to _ passenger

in accordance with this part.

(b) Each air carrier shall make the full text of each

term that it incorporates by reference in a contract of

carriage available for public inspection at each of its

airport and city ticket offices.

(c) Each air carrier shall provide free of charge by

mail or other delivery service to passengers, upon their

request, a copy of the full text of its terms incorporated by

reference in the contract. Each carrier shall keep available

at all times, free of charge, at all locations where its

tickets are sold within the United States information

sufficient to enable passengers to order the full text of

such terms.

(The notice requirements contained in paragraphs (b)

and (c) were approved by the Office of Management and

Budget under control number 3024-0061)

§ 253.5 Notice of incorporated terms.

Except as provided in § 253.8, each air carrier shall

include on or with a ticket, or other written instrument

given to a passenger, that embodies the contract of car-

riage and incorporates terms by reference in that contract,

a conspicuous notice that:

(a) Any terms incorporated by reference are part of

the contract, passengers may inspect the full text of each

term incorporated by reference at the carrier’s airport or

city ticket offices, and passengers have the right, upon

request at any location where the carrier’s tickets are sold

App. 72

within the United States, to receive free of charge by mail

or other delivery service the full text of each such incorpo-

rated term;

(b) The incorporated terms may include and passen-

gers may obtain from any location where the carrier’s

tickets are sold within the United States further informa-

tion concerning:

(1) Limits on the air carrier’s liability for personal

injury or death of passengers, and for loss, damage, or

delay of goods and baggage, including fragile or perishable

goods;

(2) Claim restrictions, including time periods within

which passengers must file a claim or bring an action

against the carrier for its acts or omissions or those of its

agents;

(3) Rights of the carrier to change terms of the

contract. (Rights to change the price, however, are gov-

erned by § 253.7);

(4) Rules about reconfirmation of reservations,

check-in times, and refusal to carry;

(5) Rights of the carrier and limitations concerning

delay or failure to perform service, including schedule

changes, substitution of alternate air carrier or aircraft,

and rerouting.

(Approved by the Office of Management and Budget

under control number 3024-0061)

App. 73

§ 253.6 Explanation of incorporated terms.

Each air carrier shall ensure that any passenger can

obtain from any location where its tickets are sold within

the United States a concise and immediate explanation of

any terms incorporated by reference, concerning the

subjects listed in § 253.5(b).

(Approved by the Office of Management and Budget

under control number 3024-0061)

§ 253.7 Direct notice of certain terms.

A passenger shall not be bound by any terms restrict-

ing refunds of the ticket price, imposing monetary penal-

ties on passengers, or permitting the carrier to raise the

price, unless the passenger receives conspicuous written

notice of the salient features of those terms on or with the

- ticket. F

(Approved by the Office of Management and Budget

under control number 3024-0061)

§ 253.8 Qualifications to notice requirements.

(a) If notice is not provided in accordance with

§ 253.5 at a ticket sales location outside of the United

States that is not a U'S. air carrier ticket office, the price

paid for the portion of such ticket that is for interstate and

overseas air transportation shall be refundable without

penalty if the passenger refuses transportation by the

carrier. Each air carrier shall ensure that passengers who

have bought tickets at those locations without the notice

required in § 253.5 are given that notice not later than

App. 74

check-in for the travel in interstate or overseas air trans-

portation, and that conspicuous notice is included on or

with the ticket stating that the price for that travel is

refundable without penalty.

(b) An air taxi operator (including a commuter air

carrier) not operating under Subpart I of Part 298 of this

chapter shall not be considered to have incorporated terms

by reference into its contract of carriage merely because a

passenger has purchased a flight segment on that carrier

that appears on ticket stock that contains a statement that

terms have been incorporated by reference. However, such

an air taxi operator may not claim the benefit as against

the passenger of, and the passenger shall not be bound by,

any contract term incorporated by reference if notice of the

term has not been provided to the passenger in accordance

with this part.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.