Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Miniel v. Dretke

Supreme Court brief2004

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

rer

Trt:

In the

Supreme Court of the United States

PETER J. MINIEL,

Petitioner,

JANIE COCKERELL, DIRECTOR

TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF CRIMINAL JUSTICE,

INSTITUTIONAL DIVISION,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Gregory R. Merz

Counsel of Record

Gray, Plant, Mooty, Mooty & Bennett, P.A.

3400 City Center

33 South Sixth Street

Minneapolis, Minnesota 55402

(612) 334-2800

(612) 333-0066 (fax)

Attorney for Petitioner,

Peter J. Miniel

2003 — Bachman Legal Printing @ (612) 339-9518 @ 1-800-715-3582 @ Fax (612) 337-8053

ae

CAPITAL CASE

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

8 Whether the Fifth Circuit erred in finding that

trial counsel’s failure to investigate Mr. Miniel’s mental

functioning and, as a result, failure to discover evidence that

Mr. Miniel was suffering from a significant brain impairment,

was consistent with prevailing professional norms,

notwithstanding counsel’s knowledge of facts that should

have put him on notice of the need to investigate further?

a Whether the Fifth Circuit unreasonably applied

Strickland v. Washington and Strickland’s progeny, including

Wiggins v. Corcoran and Williams v. Taylor, in concluding

that trial counsel’s failure to offer mitigating evidence of Mr.

Miniel’s physical and emotional abuse at the hands of his step

father, his abuse of drugs and alcohol, and brain damage

which impaired his reasoning abilities, did not cause Mr.

Miniel to suffer prejudice in the sentencing phase of his

capital murder trial?

2. Whether the Fifth Circuit’s rejection of Mr.

Miniel’s Penry claim was based on an improperly limited

reading of this Court’s decisions in Penry J and Penry II?

LIST OF PARTIES

Pursuant to Rule 14.1(b), the following list identifies

all of the parties before the United States Court of Appeals for

the Fifth Circuit: .

Peter J. Miniel was Petitioner-Appellant, below. Janie

Cockerell, Director of the Fexas Department of Criminal

Justice, Institutional Division, was Respondent-Appellee

below.

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

SP RPMU ALPE BPRASSIIN EEO) 5.005. cccssnssscecossessesesvsvevensssearsunseoes 1

snc ens dasavciprvavesviedabsverusoovensssansiecas il

AE I REE BO sic essnessvsenisesssenesonsszesevsesvensovsssecsoees ill

Es )_, SE Re vi

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI................00000000 l

doris oacndicsdseincciceneinsnesevedindnacoivaneis l

ae a cslishesahea prin ebiaeiss+xsundibersanessivenenkinssns ]

STATUTORY PROVISION INVOLVED................0:::0000 l

RMI OPEB OUES GIS occ chacsncnessscovevdenodnsridasecsdsnenss 2

A. Mr. Miniel’s Trial Proceedings......................0008. me

B. Trial Counsel’s Failure to Investigate and

Present Mitigating Evidence................:.0scocsseseseoss 3

C. State Post Conviction Proceedings....................000 7

D. Mr. Minist’s Federal Habeas Petition .................... 8

E. The Fifth Circuit’s Denial of COA ........................ 8

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION ....000.00.2... 10

I.

II.

IT.

THE FIFTH CIRCUIT FAILED TO

REASONABLY APPLY SUPREME

COURT PRECEDENT IN CONCLUDING

THAT MR. MINIEL’S TRIAL

COUNSEL’S FAILURE TO

INVESTIGATE MR. MINIEL’S MENTAL

AND PSYCHOLOGICAL CONDITION

DID NOT CONSTITUTE

PROFESSIONALLY UNREASONABLE

GN sass sieceaions suicesucevypanadesncimcacdadneseaiionidaniodn 10

IN LIMITING THE PREJUDICE

ANALYSIS APPLIED IN WIGGINS AND

WILLIAMS TO THE SPECIFIC FACTS IN

THOSE CASES, THE LOWER COURT

FAILED TO CONSIDER WHETHER

THERE WAS A REASONABLE

PROBABILITY THAT THE OMITTED

MITIGATING EVIDENCE, TOGETHER

WITH THE MITIGATING EVIDENCE

THAT WAS PRESENTED, WOULD

HAVE CAUSED ONE JUROR TO

ANSWER ONE OF THE TWO SPECIAL

ISSUE QUESTIONS IN THE NEGATIVE......... 15

THE FIFTH CIRCUIT ERRED IN ITS

APPLICATION OF THIS COURT’S

RP AAR GEO TRIOUE ES sinicciiikinnenransnbesitebnnnancapasiite 22

iV

IV. THE FIFTH CIRCUIT’S DENIAL OF COA

DESPITE SIGNIFICANT EVIDENCE

SUPPORTING MR. MINIEL’S CLAIM ~-

REPRESENTED AN UNREASONABLE

APPLICATION OF THE CORRECT

STANDARD ARTICULATED BY THIS

CPI EIN BEEBE vnsiscnviveisnvasencaceinsenenscscien 22

CONCLUSION

FART ae dco ocinsseseriesvignnnee nee A-i

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Battenfield v. Gibson,

236 F.3d 1215, 1228 (10™ Cir. 2001)..........scssseseessoseseeeess 1]

Carter v. Bell,

218 F.3d 581,596 (6" Cir. 2000) .........000-. ecninailastaeiannaiias 1]

Frazier v. Huffman, se

50 TOP, FIR Cie FOO) in ntiridnci caus 16

Jackson v. Calderon,

TES ER Cir: DOOD) oo cxsccssiiestciincermresivieneenindes 12

Miller-El v. Cockrell,

BO? US. S22, 123 B. Ct. WOZS (AGBS) osiisscvscesevesenvesenss 21,22

Penry v. Johnson,

Dae US. FEZ, 123 S. Ce. VOID CIO paciccssensscssccccsscome 11,21

Penry v. Lynaugh,

G2 US. FOZ, SED, 109 FS. C2. ZIFF a cccsccctcicssesress 16, 18, 21

Skipper v. South Carolina,

Pe re By Fy PO BA. TOP vs cnccncsaiescscrmnsserecrrncnies 16

Strickland v. Washington,

466 U.S. 668, 104 S. Ct. 2052 (1984)... 9, 13, 15

Wiggins v. Smith,

Bg Bd AA. SIRE URIS) cnvcsicorsbatrnrevccnnnring passim

Williams v. Taylor,

S29 US. S62, 128 S.C0. 1495S (LO) vosccccserconerssnrsoaey passim

Statutes |

its A TEE fetnsivccenicsrcs iano ee l

BE © I vicinsssnisaniersdeicionienaeaaan 1,8

V1

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner Peter J. Miniel respectfully requests this

Court to issue a writ of certiorari to review a decision of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit.

OPINIONS BELOW

The decision of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Fifth Circuit is reported at 339 F.3d 331 (5™ Cir. 2003),

and is reprinted at Pet. App. A-1 to A-28. The decision of the

United States District Court for the Southern District of Texas

is unreported and relevant excerpts are reprinted at Pet. App.

A-33 to A-68. The order of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Fifth Circuit denying rehearing and rehearing

en banc, is set forth at Pet. App. A-29 to A-30.

JURISDICTION

The Court of Appeals’ judgment was entered on July

17, 2003. A timely petition for rehearing and rehearing en

banc was filed and was subsequently denied on August 18,

2003. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked pursuant to 28

U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISION INVOLVED

This case involves the provision of the federal habeas

statute governing federal review of state court decisions, 28

U.S.C. § 2254, reprinted at Pet. App. A-32.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Mr. Miniel’s Trial Proceedings

On October 7, 1988, Mr. Miniel was convicted of

capital murder in connection with the death of Paul Manier.

During the sentencing phase of the trial, the State presented

the testimony of five witnesses, four of whom testified

concerning Mr. Miniel’s criminal history during the time that

he lived in Illinois, prior to moving to Texas, which consisted

of a misdemeanor convictions for retail theft and disorderly

conduct, a guilty plea to an aggravated battery in connection

with an altercation with a girlfriend, revocation of probation

on a misdemeanor charge of unlawful use of weapons (which

revocation was based on his guilty plea to aggravated

battery), and a subsequent unadjudicated charge of aggravated

battery, again relating to am altercation with his girlfriend.

The fifth State’s witness, an officer with the Humble Police

Department of Humble, Texas, testified regarding Mr.

Miniel’s bad reputation in the community for violence.

Mr. Miniel’s trial counsel presented only three

witnesses at the sentencing phase, none of whom had known

Mr. Miniel prior to the crime. One of these witnesses, Darryl

Hendrickson, an officer working in the Harris County Jail,

testified that Mr. Miniel had not presented any disciplinary

problems during his incarceration. The second witness, Carol

Weed, was a venireperson who had not been selected for Mr.

Miniel’s jury and who had visited Mr. Miniel several times

while he was in jail. The third witness, Juan Cortez, an

assistant chaplain working at the jail, testified regarding Mr.

Miniel’s attendance at church services. The record reflects

that Mr. Miniel’s trial counsel first spoke with both Ms. Weed

and Mr. Cortez only the day before they testified. '

| 28 S.F. at 94, 104.

meee A DA lh “iad

a ae ar ra erate crn erent oscon

On October 12, following the two-day sentencing

hearing, the jury returned affirmative answers to the two

special issue questions then required under Texas law.

B. Trial Counsel’s Failure to Investigate and Present

Mitigating Evidence

In this case, trial counsel failed to perform any

investigation whatsoever of his client’s social history. Mr.

Miniel’s trial counsel presented only three witnesses at the

sentencing phase, none of whom had known Mr. Miniel prior

to the crime and two of whom counsel first spoke with only

the night before they testified. Thus, Mr. Miniel’s jury did

not hear any evidence about the circumstances of Mr.

Miniel’s life before the crime that could help to explain his

involvement and render that involvement in a less culpable

light.

The record developed in post-conviction proceedings

in state court establishes that there was ample mitigating

evidence available, had counsel only looked for it. Had Mr.

Miniel’s trial counsel performed any investigation at all he

would have discovered the following, all of which was

presented in support of Mr. Miniel’s petition:

e That Mr. Miniel suffered from a brain

impairment, including significant dysfunction in

the frontal lobes of his brain;

* That Mr. Miniel’s brain dysfunction severely

limited his ability to comprehend the

consequences of his actions;

* That Mr. Miniel’s disabilities were exacerbated by

parental neglect, abandonment, abuse, many head

injuries, and chronic substance abuse;

3

That Mr. Miniel was a victim of severe child

abuse by his adoptive father who beat Mr. Miniel

with his fists and whipped him with a belt;

That Mr. Miniel was born to a mother who did not

want him and who immediately pawned him off

on the first relative she could find;

That Mr. Miniel never knew his natural father and

that his adoptive father, the only father he ever did

know, made Mr. Miniel the family scapegoat;

That Mr. Miniel and his adoptive siblings were

frequently left alone, either at home or sitting in

the car, while their mother was at work and their

father was getting drunk;

That Mr. Miniel’s adoptive moiher suffered from

extended bouts of serious mental illness

throughout his childhood;

That each of Mr. Miniel’s siblings attempted

suicide at least once;

That, upon finding out at age twelve that he was

adopted, Mr. Miniel experienced a radical

personality change, which reflected itself in

hostility and anger as well as alcohol and drug

abuse;

That, while in his early teens, Mr. Miniel

frequently drank until he passed out;

e That Mr. Miniel’s drug and alcohol abuse

interfered with his ability to learn and that he

dropped out of school at age 16;

e That Mr. Miniel’s alcohol and drug use continued

to escalate through Mr. Miniel’s teens and into his

early twenties;

e That Mr. Miniel was seriously injured in a number

of automobile accidents.

One of Mr. Miniel’s sisters recounted a harrowing

description of one beating that Mr. Miniel suffered at the

hands of his adoptive father:

John [one of Mr. Miniel’s adoptive brothers]

told my father that Peter had hurt his

feelings. My father became enraged and

jumped on top of Peter. He pinned Peter’s

arms to the floor by kneeling on them. He

then started hitting Peter across the face over

and over again until Peter’s face was

covered with blood. Peter was only about

10 years old at this time. I finally yelled out

for my father to stop. I thought he was

going to kill Peter. I have never seen

anyone else be beaten like this.

Pet. App. A-117. Another sister recalls, “Other times, Dad

would grab Peter’s upper arm, pick him up, and hold him in

the air while he beat him, either with his hand or a belt. I still

remember the sight of Dad unhooking his belt, pulling it off,

and beating Peter with it everywhere. Dad would shake

Peter’s arms so hard, while holding him in the air, that it

seemed like, if he shook any harder, Peter’s arm would just

snap off.” Pet. App. A-141.

In addition to the affidavits of Mr. Miniel’s family

members describing his childhood and early adulthood —

properly described as “nightmarish” — Mr. Miniel also

presented an expert neuropsychological and psychological

evaluation. Pet. App. A-97 to A-112. The report of that

evaluation concluded:

The current evaluation indicates that Peter

has incurred mild overall brain impairment,

‘has below average intellectual functioning,

has a long history of physical and emotional

abuse and abandonment, and has a lengthy

history of chronic substance abuse. The

effects of this history and_ his

neuropsychological dysfunction would be

consistent with moderate impairment of his

mental, cognitive, academic, social, and

behavioral functioning. The diffuse nature

of his neuropsychological dysfunction limits

his ability to use good judgment, to reason

and to inhibit impulsive behaviors.

Pet. App. A-97. The expert report found Mr. Miniel to have a

significant dysfunction in the frontal lobes of his brain, noting

that damage to the frontal lobes severely limits a person’s

ability to think, reason, and control impulses, and stating that,

“These severe limitations hinder Peter’s ability to

comprehend the consequences of his actions.” Pet. App. A-

110. Further, the report put Mr. Miniel’s brain damage in the

context of his social history in a way that would support a

conclusion of diminished culpability for the crime:

The results and background data indicate a

high probability that Peter has

neuropsychological impairment that is

probably a result of his two closed head

6

injuries as well as beatings to the face and

head in childhood. Possibility of prenatal

damage also exists since his mother was

chemically dependent during the pregnancy.

His disabilities have been exacerbated by

parental neglect, abandonment, abuse, his

many head injuries, and chronic long term

substance abuse. Any single one of these

factors can produce significant dysfunction.

Child neglect and abuse often lead to poor

impulse control, poor frustration tolerance,

and incapacitating personality functioning.

Head injuries can frequently emulate similar

dysfunction. Chronic drug abuse can also

generally produce brain impairment.

Pet. App. A-111.

C. State Post Conviction Proceedings

Following the denial of direct appeals from his

conviction, Mr. Miniel filed a petition with the state court for

post conviction relief which included a claim of ineffective

assistance of counsel arising from his trial counsel’s failure to

investigate and offer mitigating evidence. In support of his

ineffective assistance of counsel claim, Mr. Miniel submitted

affidavits of family members recounting his harrowing social

history, as well as the expert neuropsychological and

psychological evaluation described above. Mr. Miniel also

requested an evidentiary hearing. The State, in response to

Mr. Miniel’s ineffective assistance of counsel claim, offered

the affidavit of Mr. Miniel’s trial counsel, who attempted to

excuse his failure to perform even a rudimentary investigation

of Mr. Miniel’s social history.

Notwithstanding many disputed issues of fact, the

state court did not grant, or, indeed, even rule on Mr. Miniel’s

request for an evidentiary hearing, but instead, requested, by

way of an ex parte telephone call to the State, that the parties

submit proposed findings. Following the parties’ submission

of their respective proposed findings, the district court judge,

who was not the judge who presided at Mr. Miniel’s trial,

signed the Findings prepared by the State, adopting those

Findings without any modification — indeed, without even

removing the words “Respondent’s Proposed” from the title

of the document. The Texas Court of Criminal Appeals, in a

page and a half, eight sentence, per curiam decision, adopted

the district court’s recommended decision and denied Mr.

Miniel’s petition without any substantive analysis.

D. Mr. Miniel’s Federal Habeas Petition

Following the state court’s denial of his petition for

post conviction relief, Mr. Miniel filed his application with

the federal court, seeking relief pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 2254.

In connection with that application, Mr. Miniel again

requested an evidentiary hearing. The lower court, however,

granted the State’s motion for summary judgment, dismissing

Mr. Miniel’s claims, and subsequently denied Mr. Miniel’s

motion to amend or alter judgment.

E. The Fifth Circuit’s Denial of COA

Following the federal district court’s grant of

summary judgment denying Mr. Miniel’s petition for post

conviction relief, Mr. Miniel petitioned the Fifth Circuit for

Certificate of Appealability (“COA”), pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

2253(c). In that petition, Mr. Miniel sought leave to appeal

on the ground, among others, that his trial counsel’s failure to

investigate and present mitigating evidence constituted

constitutionally ineffective assistance of counsel which

8

established a substantial showing of the denial of a

constitutional right.

The Fifth Circuit recognized that Mr. Miniel’s

ineffective assistance of counsel claim was governed by this

Court’s decision in Strickland v. Washington, 466 U.S. 668,

104 S. Ct. 2052 (1984). Under Strickland, a party

demonstrates ineffective assistance of counsel rising to the

level of a Constitutional violation when that party

demonstrates that counsel’s performance failed to meet

generally accepted standards of competence and that, but for

counsel’s ineffective performance, there exists a reasonable

probability that the outcome of the case would have been

different. 466 U.S. at 687.

In denying the COA, the Fifth Circuit found that Mr.

Miniel’s trial counsel was not constitutionally ineffective as a

result of his failure to conduct an investigation into Mr.

Miniel’s damaged psychological condition because counsel

was not sufficiently “on notice” of that condition. With

respect to counsel’s failure to investigate Mr. Miniel’s social

history, the court did not consider arguments relating to the

first prong of Strickland, resting its decision, instead, solely

on its conclusion that Mr. Miniel had failed to establish

prejudice arising from the failure to present mitigating

evidence. The lower court found that, in light of the facts of

the crime, there was not a reasonable probability that, even

had the mitigating evidence been presented, the jury would

have decided differently. The court, in a footnote, addressed

Wiggins v. Smith, _ U.S. __, 123 S.Ct. 2527 (2003), and

Williams v. Taylor, 529 U.S. 362, 128 S.Ct. 1495 (2000), two

recent decisions in which this Court found ineffective

assistance arising from counsel’s failure to investigate and

present mitigating evidence. The court rejected Mr. Miniel’s

reliance on those cases on the ground that the mitigating

evidence proferred by Mr. Miniel in support of his claim for

9

post-conviction relief was “mild” when compared with the

evidence in Wiggins and Williams.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

I. THE FIFTH CIRCUIT FAILED TO

REASONABLY APPLY SUPREME COURT

PRECEDENT _IN CONCLUDING THAT MR.

MINIEL’S TRIAL COUNSEL’S FAILURE TO

INVESTIGATE MR. MINIEL’S MENTAL AND

PSYCHOLOGICAL CONDITION DID NOT

CONSTITUTE PROFESSIONALLY

UNREASONABLE CONDUCT

Mr. Miniel’s trial counsel did not retain any experts or

otherwise perform any investigation of Mr. Miniel’s mental

and psychological condition. As discussed above, expert

evidence presented in Mr. Miniel’s post conviction case

showed Mr. Miniel to be suffering from a serious brain

impairment that “limit[ed] his ability to use good judgment, to

reason and to inhibit impulsive behaviors.” The Fifth Circuit

concluded that counsel’s failure to do any investigation of Mr.

Miniel’s mental functioning that would have uncovered this

important mitigating evidence did not constitute

professionally unreasonable conduct because counsel was not

sufficiently “on notice” of the need to investigate. Pet. App.

A-22. The lower court based this conclusion trial counsel’s

reliance on the fact that Mr. Miniel had been pronounced

competent to stand trial and on trial counsel’s claim that Mr.

Miniel has been “lucid and conversant” in their meetings. Jd.

This conclusion is contrary to this Court’s teaching in

Strickland, as further developed in Williams and Wiggins.

Under the first prong of the now-familiar Strickland

test, a defendant claiming constitutionally ineffective

assistance of counsel must show that counsel’s representation

10

fell below an objective standard of reasonableness. 466 U.S.

at 687-88. The Court has not established specific

requirements to be used to determine objective

reasonableness. Rather, “the proper measure of attorney

performance remains simply the reasonableness under

prevailing professional norms.” Jd. at 688. In order to

comply with the Constitution’s requirement that a sentence of

death be based on an individualized sentencing determination,

the jury must consider all mitigating evidence related to a

defendant’s character and background. See Penry v. Johnson,

532 U.S. 782, 121 S. Ct. 1910 (2001); see also Williams, 529

U.S. at 396 (recognizing counsel’s “obligation to conduct a

thorough investigation into the defendant’s background,”

citing 1 ABA Standards for Criminal Justice 4-4.1,

commentary, p. 4-55 (2d ed. 1980)). Accordingly, minimum

standards of professional competence require that counsel for

an accused facing the death penalty conduct a thorough

investigation to discover mitigating evidence that can be

submitted to the fact-finder during the penalty phase of the

trial.

Other circuits have similarly emphasized the

fundamental nature, in a death penalty case, of an adequate

inquiry into the availability of possible mitigating evidence.

See, e.g., Battenfield v. Gibson, 236 F.3d 1215, 1228 (10" Cir.

2001) (reversing sentence of death based on finding that

counsel’s failure to interview the defendant or anyone else

regarding potential mitigating evidence fell below minimum

standards of professional competence and emphasizing that

the reliability of a death sentence depends heavily on the

consideration of the defendant’s individual character and

circumstances.); Carter v. Bell, 218 F.3d 581, 596 (6" Cir.

2000) (“The sole source of mitigating factors cannot properly

be that information which defendant may volunteer; counsel

must make some effort at independent investigation in order

to make a reasoned, informed decision as to their utility.”);

1]

Jackson v. Calderon, 211 F.3d 1148 (9" Cir. 2000) (finding

ineffective assistance of counsel when the defendant’s lawyer

made no attempt to investigate the defendant’s childhood,

made no attempt to convey the conditions of defendant’s

childhood to the jury and failed to present any medical

evidence, despite being aware that such evidence would show

that defendant was under the influence of PCP at the time of

the crime, and his sole preparation for the penalty phase

consisted of an interview with the defendant’s mother and his

estranged wife, and a cursory examination of the defendant’s

juvenile and medical records).

In Wiggins, this Court considered the circumstances

under which counsel might, consistent with his or her

constitutional responsibilities, decide to limit investigation

regarding possible mitigating evidence. There, trial counsel’s

investigation of Wiggins’ social history consisted of a review

of a presentence investigation report and certain social

services records as well as retaining a psychologist to perform

an evaluation of Wiggins’ mental functioning. Counsel failed

to uncover evidence of a significant history of very severe

physical and emotional abuse as well as_ borderline

retardation. The Court held that the limited investigation

conducted by counsel constituted a failure to discover all

reasonably available mitigating evidence. 123 S. Ct. at 2537.

Moreover, the Court found the content of the social services

records that counsel did review should have caused counsel_to

investigate further and that counsel’s failure to follow-up on

this evidence was unreasonable, stating that “any reasonably

competent attorney would have realized that pursuing these

leads was necessary to making an informed choice among

possible defenses.” Jd. Further, the Court noted:

In assessing the reasonableness of an

attorney’s investigation, however, a court

must consider not only the quantum of

evidence already known to counsel, but also

whether the known evidence would lead a

reasonable attorney to investigate further.

Even assuming [trial counsel] limited the

scope of their investigation for strategic

reasons, Strickland does fot establish a

cursory investigation automatically justifies

a tactical decision with respect to sentencing

Strategy. Rather, a reviewing court must

consider the reasonableness of the

investigation said to support that strategy.

Id. at 2538. Accordingly, “[a] decision not to investigate thus

‘must be directly assessed for reasonableness in all the

circumstances.” Jd. at 2541, quoting Strickland, 466 U.S. at

691, 104 S. Ct. at 2052.

Here, there was ample evidence that should have put

counsel on notice of the need to investigate. First, Mr.

Miniel’s trial counsel, in his affidavit submitted in opposition

to Mr. Miniel’s petition, observed, regarding Mr. Miniel’s

family members, that there was “a certain warmth missing in

their feelings” for Mr. Miniel and that he was not certain

whether Mr. Miniel’s family would ask the jury to spare Mr.

Miniel’s life. Such observations should, by themselves, have

been a red_flag that something was seriously amiss in

Mr. Miniel’s family history. Even the very brief

conversations that trial counsel now acknowledges having

with Mr. Miniel’s family should have led him to investigate

further. Notwithstanding what should have been very

troubling comments by Mr. Miniel’s family, counsel states

that he cannot now recall whether he ever asked about the

possibility that Mr. Miniel had suffered abuse as a child.

Further, counsel should also have been aware, based

on the State’s competency opinion, if not from information

- from his own client, that Mr. Miniel had a history of heavy

13

drug and alcohol abuse. Counsel was also aware that

Mr. Miniel was using drugs and alcohol on the night of the

crime. These facts should have led counsel to investigate

further to determine the extent to which Mr. Miniel’s history

of drug and alcohol abuse might be presented as mitigating

evidence.

Neither counsel’s own untrained observations

concerning Mr. Miniel’s mental state nor the competency

examination by the State’s expert, Dr. Brown, can be

reasonably relied upon to excuse trial counsel’s failure to

investigate. Counsel, although he claims that he “never

suspected that Miniel suffered from any mental health

problems or mental retardation,” does not claim that he has

any training or expertise that would qualify him to make such

a judgment. Such uninformed, off-the-cuff assessments

plainly cannot substitute for investigation. Nor does Dr.

Brown’s evaluation excuse the failure to investigate. The

purpose of Dr. Brown’s examination of Mr. Miniel was to

determine Mr. Miniel’s competence to stand trial. The

purpose of that examination plainly was not to assist defense

counsel in developing mitigating evidence. To the extent that

trial counsel relied on Dr. Brown’s report in planning his trial

strategy, such reliance was manifestly unreasonable and

inconsistent with appropriate professional judgment.

Il. IN LIMITING THE PREJUDICE ANALYSIS

APPLIED IN WIGGINS AND WILLIAMS TO

THE SPECIFIC FACTS IN THOSE CASES, THE

LOWER COURT FAILED TO CONSIDER

WHETHER THERE WAS A REASONABLE

PROBABILITY THAT THE OMITTED

MITIGATING EVIDENCE, TOGETHER WITH

THE MITIGATING EVIDENCE THAT WAS

PRESENTED, WOULD HAVE CAUSED ONE

JUROR TO ANSWER ONE OF THE TWO

SPECIAL ISSUE QUESTIONS IN THE

NEGATIVE

In order to show that counsel’s. professionally

unreasonable conduct resulted in prejudice, for purposes of

the second prong of the Strickland analysis, the petitioner

must show that there is a “reasonable probability that, but for

counsel’s unprofessional errors, the result of the proceeding

would have been different.” Strickland, 466 U.S. at 694. “A

reasonable probability is a probability sufficient to undermine

confidence in the outcome.” /d. Here, one “no” vote by one

juror to either of the two special issue questions would have

changed the outcome from death to life. Thus, the proper

prejudice analysis for a claim of ineffective assistance of

counsel arising from the failure to investigate and present

mitigating evidence asks whether there is a reasonable

probability that the omitted evidence, together with the

evidence that was presented, would have caused one juror to

change his or her vote on one of the special issue questions.

This is the analysis that this Court’s precedents require and

this is the analysis that the Fifth Circuit failed to apply.

In Williams and, just last term, in Wiggins, this Court

addressed the proper application of the Strickland prejudice

analysis, concluding, in both cases, that counsel’s failure to

investigate and present evidence of a history of child abuse

15

and impaired mental functioning resulted in prejudice. The

evidence supporting Mr. Miniel’s ineffective assistance of

counsel claim makes this case materially indistinguishable

from Williams and Wiggins. Here, as in Williams and

Wiggins, the jury heard nothing of Mr. Miniel’s

circumstances prior to his participation in the crime. Here, as

in Williams and Wiggins, counsel failed to investigate and

present evidence of a disadvantaged background beyond Mr.

Miniel’s control, including physical abuse and limited mental

functioning. Here, as in Williams and Wiggins, the omitted

mitigating evidence tells a powerful story that would have

humanized Mr. Miniel before the jury and diminished his

culpability. Cf Penry v. Lynaugh, 492 U.S. 302,319, 109 S.

Ct. 2934 (“‘[E]vidence about the defendant’s background and

character is relevant because of the belief, long held by this

society, that defendants who commit criminal acts that are

attributable to a disadvantaged background may be less

culpable than defendants who have no such excuse.’”); see

also, Skipper v. South Carolina, 476 U.S. 1, 13, 106 S.Ct.

1669 (1986) (Powell, J., joined by Burger, C.J., and

Rehnquist, J., concurring) (“[s]ociety’s legitimate desire for

retribution is less strong with respect to defendants who have

reduced capacity for considered choice{;]... [e}vidence

concerning the defendant’s emotional history thus bear(s]

directly on the fundamental justice of imposing capital

punishment.”); Frazier v. Huffman, 343 F.3d 780, 798 (6"

Cir. 2003) (applying Strickland and Williams in concluding

that defendant was prejudiced by counsel’s failure to —

investigate and present evidence of defendant’s functional

brain impairment, stating, “Had the jurors been confronted

with the mitigating evidence of Frazier’s brain injury, the

probability that at least one juror would not have decided that

the aggravating circumstances beyond a reasonable doubt ‘is

a probability sufficient to undermine confidence in the

outcome.’”’)

16

In Williams, trial counsel failed to conduct an

investigation that would have uncovered extensive records of

Williams’ “nightmarish childhood,” including evidence that

Williams’ parents had been imprisoned for criminal neglect of

Williams and his siblings and that Williams had been

repeatedly beaten by his father. 529 U.S. at 395. Further,

counsel failed to introduce available evidence that Williams

was “borderline mentally retarded” and had not advanced

beyond sixth grade. Jd. Evidence also showed that Williams

had suffered repeated head injuries and that he might have

had mental impairments that were organic in origin. Id. at

370. :

The Court had little trouble concluding that Williams’

trial counsel’s lack of investigation met the “deficient

performance” prong of the Strickland test. Id. at 395. Turning

to the prejudice prong, the Court emphasized the need to

consider the totality of the evidence — including mitigating

evidence that was introduced and mitigating evidence that

counsel failed to discover — in determining whether there was

_a reasonable probability that the outcome would have been

different. In concluding that Williams was prejudiced by his

trial counsel’s failure to investigate and present mitigating

evidence, the Court observed that, while evidence of

Williams’ confession and remorse for his crime, together with

evidence of Williams’ good behavior in prison “may not have

overcome a finding of future dangerousness, the graphic

description of Williams’ childhood filled with abuse and

privation, or the reality that he was ‘borderline mentally

retarded,’ might well have influenced the jury’s appraisal of

his moral culpability.” Jd. at 398.

In Wiggins, the Court also found that the defendant

had been prejudiced by his trial counsel’s failure to perform a

reasonably competent investigation of mitigating evidence,

stating, “Petitioner thus has the kind of troubled history we

17

ee

ieriesssinesiiliaaaa iciciiiiaieemaaialiaaiaa iain

have declared relevant to assessing a defendant’s moral

culpability.” 123 S. Ct. at 2542, citing Penry v. Lynaugh, 492

U.S. 302, 109 S. Ct. 2934 (1989). As in Williams, the Court

emphasized the need to evaluate prejudice in light of evidence

presented at trial and the evidence adduced in the habeas

proceedings, taken together. Jd. at 2543. Thus, the Court

held:

Wiggins’ sentencing jury had only one

significant mitigating factor — that Wiggins

had no prior convictions. Had the jury been

able to place petitioner’s excruciating life

history on the mitigating side of the scale,

there is a reasonable probability that at least

one juror would have struck a different

balance.

Id.

The Fifth Circuit’s decision inappropriately limits

both Wiggins and Williams to their specific facts by

characterizing Mr. Miniel’s mitigating evidence as “mild”

when compared with the social history evidence presented in

those cases. This, however, is not the proper comparison.

Instead, the weight of the additional mitigating evidence (and

the prejudice arising from trial counsel’s failure to discover

and offer it), must be determined in light of the other

punishment and mitigation evidence in this case. The

question, under Williams and Wiggins, is not whether the

mitigating evidence is “better” or “worse” than the specific

facts of those cases. Rather, the question is whether the

available mitigating evidence, taken as a whole, “might well

have influenced the jury’s appraisal” of Mr. Miniel’s moral

culpability in light of the totality of the evidence. 123 S. Ct.

at 2544. The lower court never addressed this question

because it chose, instead, to read Williams and Wiggins so

narrowly as to be limited to their specific facts.

18

; 7

The lower court concluded that the State’s punishment

phase evidence, consisting of Mr. Miniel’s criminal record

and the circumstances of the crime itself would have

overwhelmed any mitigating evidence that Mr. Miniel could

have offered. The Court rejected similar reasoning in

Williams, where, unlike this case, the defendant had an

extensive record of violent conduct. See 529 U.S. at 418

(Rehnquist, C.J., dissenting) (noting that Williams had

savagely beaten an elderly woman, stolen two cars, set fire to

a home, stabbed a man during a robbery and confessed to

choking two inmates and breaking a fellow prisoner’s jaw).

The Williams Court found prejudice even in the face of this

violent history.

Here, Mr. Miniel’s criminal history does not reflect

anything near this degree of violence. Mr. Miniel’s criminal

record, which the State presented in support of its death case,

consisted of a misdemeanor convictions for retail theft and

disorderly conduct, a guilty plea to an aggravated battery in

connection with an altercation with a girlfriend, revocation of

probation on a misdemeanor charge of unlawful use of

weapons, based on his guilty plea to aggravated battery, and a

subsequent unadjudicated charge of aggravated battery, again

relating to an altercation with his girlfriend.

Further, the Fifth Circuit repeats the mistake of the

court of appeals in Williams of failing to weigh the mitigating

evidence that was omitted together with the evidence that was

presented — which established Mr. Miniel’s good behavior

and religious conversion since his incarceration. The Court in

Williams reasoned that, while evidence that was presented at

trial concerning Williams’ remorse and good behavior in

prison may not have overcome a finding of future

dangerousness, that evidence, together with “the graphic

description of Williams’ childhood filled with abuse and

privation, or the reality that he was ‘borderline mentally

19

ne

retarded,’ might well have influenced the jury’s appraisal of

his moral culpability.” Jd. at 398. This same reasoning

applies here.

Moreover, trial counsel’s failure to conduct an

investigation of Mr. Miniel’s social history was prejudicial in

still another way. The Fifth Circuit concluded that trial

counsel’s failure to obtain an expert evaluation of Mr. Miniel

did not constitute deficient performance because trial counsel

was not sufficiently “on notice” of Mr. Miniel’s condition.

However, had trial counsel performed an investigation of Mr.

Miniel’s social history, counsel would have learned that Mr.

Miniel had suffered severe beatings and neglect as a child,

that he began abusing drugs and alcohol at a very early age,

that he had had difficulty in school, and that he had suffered a

number of serious head injuries. These facts would have, at

the least, spurred a reasonable attorney to retain an expert in

order to evaluate the effects of Mr. Miniel’s history on his

mental functioning. Significantly, even the constitutionally

deficient investigation in Wiggins included an evaluation by a

psychologist.

Had this occurred, Mr. Miniel’s jury would have been

presented with a picture of Mr. Miniel as a whole person, in a

way that would likely have caused it to hold him less

responsible for his crime. Thus, the jury would have heard

evidence of an extremely traumatic childhood that was not

just tragic but that caused damage to Mr. Miniel’s brain

which in turn, limited Mr. Miniel’s “ability to use good

judgment, to reason and to inhibit impulsive behaviors.” This

evidence, together with ihe mitigating evidence that was

presented, of Mr. Miniel’s good behavior and religiousness

while in jail, would have provided the jury with context that

would enabled it to answer in the negative as to either the

“deliberateness” of Mr. Miniel’s crime or his future

dangerousness.

20

Ill, THE FIFTH CIRCUIT ERRED IN_ ITS

APPLICATION OF THIS COURT’S DECISION

IN PENRY

In addition to his ineffective assistance of counsel

claim, Mr. Miniel also sought COA on the ground that the

special issues in effect in Texas at the time of his trial

unconstitutionally deprived him of the opportunity to have the

jury consider and give weight to mitigating evidence, contrary

to this Court’s decisions in Penry v. Lynaugh, 492 U:S. 302

(1989) (“Penry I’), and Penry v. Johnson, 532 U.S. 782

(2001) (“Penry IT’). In rejecting Mr. Miniel’s claim, the Fifth

Circuit stated that, “The Court [in Penry I/] did not indicated

that we have misinterpreted what constitutes Penry evidence.”

Pet. App. A-7. This Court has recently granted cert in two

cases, Smith v. Dretke, No. 02-11309, and Tennard v. Dretke,

02-10038, in which the Court will review whether the Fifth

Circuit has correctly applied Penry IJ and Penry IJ. Mr.

Miniel respectfully urges the Court to delay any

determination in this case pending a decision in those cases.

IV. THE FIFTH CIRCUIT’S DENIAL OF COA

DESPITE SIGNIFICANT EVIDENCE

SUPPORTING MR. MINIEL’S CLAIM

REPRESENTED AN UNREASONABLE

APPLICATION OF THIS CORRECT

STANDARD ARTICULATED BY THIS COURT

IN MILLER-EL

The relevant inquiry, for purposes of determining

whether to grant COA with respect to a claim, is whether

jurists of reason would find the district court’s determination

of the claim debatable or wrong. Miller-El v. Cockrell, 537

U.S. 322, 123 S. Ct. 1029 (2003). This is emphatically not

the same as determining whether the petitioner is likely to

ultimately prevail on the merits. Indeed, the Miller-E] Court

21

stated, “We do not require petitioner to prove, before the

issuance of a COA, that some jurists would grant the petition

for habeas corpus. Indeed, a claim can be debatable even

though every jurist of reason might agree, after the COA has

been granted and the case has received full consideration, that

petitioner will not prevail.” 123 S. Ct. at 1040. Thus, reading

Wiggins and Miller-El together, the question presented by this

case is whether, taking the totality of the punishment

evidence, including the evidence adduced at trial and the

evidence presented in post conviction proceedings, there is a

reasonable likelihood that one juror would have answered one

of the special issue questions in the negative.

Further, the Miller-El] Court clarified the applicable

evidentiary standard used to determine whether the necessary

threshold has been met. Noting that “[e]ven in the context of

federal habeas, deference does not imply abandonment or

abdication of judicial review,” the Court stated:

In the context of the threshold examination

in this Batson claim the issuance of a COA

can be supported by any evidence

demonstrating that, despite the neutral

explanation of the prosecution, the

peremptory strikes in the final analysis were

race based. . . . Only after a COA is granted

will a reviewing court determine whether the

trial court’s determination of the

prosecutor’s neutrality with respect to race

was objectively unreasonable and has been

rebutted by clear and convincing evidence to

the contrary.

123 S. Ct. at 1041 (emphasis added). The lower court,

although paying lip service to Miller-E:, failed to apply it.

22

The evidence presented in support of Mr. Miniel’s petition

meets, at the least, this threshold.

CONCLUSION

On the basis of the foregoing arguments and

authorities, Peter J; Miniel respectfully requests that his

petition for writ of certiorari be granted.

Dated: November 17, 2003.

Gregory R. Merz

Counsel of Record

Gray, Plant, Mooty, Mooty

& Bennett, P.A.

3400 City Center

33 South Sixth Street

Minneapolis, Minnesota 55402

(612) 334-2800

(612) 333-0066 (fax)

Attorney for Petitioner,

Peter J. Miniel

23

APPENDIX

Peter J. Miniel v. Janie Cockerell,

Director, Texas Department of Criminal Justice,

Institutional Division, No. 02-20097 as Cir. July

17, 2003)

Peter J. Miniel v. Janie Cockerell, Director,

Texas Department of Criminal Justice,

Institutional Division, No. 02-20097 ‘on Cir. August

18, 2003)

28 U.S.C. § 2253

28 U.S.C. § 2254

Ex parte Miniel, No. 42833-01,

per curiam order (Texas Court of Criminal Appeals)

Peter J. Miniel v. Janie Cockerell,

Civil Action NO. H-00-4361,

Memorandum and Order (S.D. Tex.)

Ex parte Miniel, No. 4500033-A,

Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order

(337" District Court, Harris County, Texas)

Confidential Neuropsychological and

Psychological Evaluation of Peter Miniel

Affidavit of Maria Juana Miniel

Affidavit of Mary Margaret Miniel

Affidavit of John P. Miniel

Affidavit of Maria Secoro LeBlanc

A-i

A-1

A-29

A-31

A-32

A-33

A-35

A-69

A-97

A-113

A-129

A-134

A-139

a a

Affidavit of Jessie Miniel A-145

Affidavit of Fred M. Heacock A-152

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 02-20097

PETER J. MINIEL,

Petitioner-Appellant,

VERSUS

JANIE COCKRELL, DIRECTOR,

TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF CRIMINAL JUSTICE,

INSTITUTIONAL DIVISION,

Respondent-Appellee.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Southern District of Texas

Before JOLLY, DAVIS and CLEMENT, Circuit Judges.

W. EUGENE DAVIS:

Petitioner, Peter J. Miniel (Miniel), was convicted of

capital murder in Texas and sentenced to death. He now

seeks a Certificate of Appealability (COA) pursuant to 28

U.S.C. § 2253(c)(2) from the district court's denial of relief

A-]

under 28 U.S.C. § 2254 on the following claims: (1) the jury

was precluded from considering mitigating evidence during

sentencing; (2) he was denied the right to trial by an impartial

jury; and (3) counsel rendered ineffective assistance by

failing to conduct a pretrial investigation and present

mitigating evidence during sentencing. For the reasons that

follow, we deny COA on Miniel's claims.

I. BACKGROUND.

On October 7, 1998, Miniel was convicted of the

felony murder of Paul Manier (Manier).

After arriving at Manier's house to procure marijuana,

Miniel concocted a plan to rob him. Miniel's co-defendant,

James Warren Russell, Jr. (Russell), distracted Manier by

telling him he was going to get cocaine. Manier cleaned a

small mirror to use to snort the cocaine. When Manier leaned

over the mirror, Miniel struck him on the back of the head

with a beer mug. Miniel continued to stnke Manier until he

fell to the ground. When Russell returned, he joined Miniel

and struck Manier several times with a shock absorber that

was nearby. Dissatisfied with Russell's efforts, Miniel took

the shock absorber and began striking Manier with it. When

Miniel could not knock out Manier, he stabbed Manier

several times with a small knife. After this proved ineffective,

Miniel attempted to slit his throat while Russell held him.

Finally, Miniel attempted to asphyxiate Manier by shoving a

blanket down his throat.

After the murder, Miniel became angry when he

realized that he had killed Manier for only twenty dollars.

Miniel and Russell searched the apartment for drugs or

money but all they could find to steal was stereo equipment.

They washed off Manier's blood and hid the knife.

Afterwards, Minie] and Russell went to Burger King to eat

hamburgers.

A-2

A jury convicted Miniel of capital murder.On October

12, 1988, the jury returned affirmative answers on two special

issues required for imposition of the death penalty under

Texas law, and the trial court sentenced Miniel to death.

Miniel appealed his conviction to the Texas Court of

Criminal Appeals which affirmed his conviction and

sentence. Miniel v. State, 831 S.W.2d 310 (Tex. Crim. App.

1992). The United States Supreme Court denied his

application for a writ of certiorari. Miniel v. Texas, 506 U.S.

885, 113 S.Ct. 245 (1992). Thereafter, Miniel sought post-

conviction relief in state court, filing a petition for a writ of

habeas corpus in 1993 and an amended petition in 1996.

Judge Larry Fuller, who was not the trial judge, presided over

this proceeding. The state filed its answer in March 1999.

Both sides filed affidavits, and without conducting an

evidentiary hearing, the state district court requested that the

parties submit proposed findings of fact and conclusions of

law. The state district court adopted the State's proposed

findings of facts and conclusions of law and denied relief.

The Texas Court of Criminal Appeals adopted this order in

December 1999.

Thereafter, Miniel sought post-conviction relief in

federal district court pursuant to 28 § U.S.C. 2254. The

district court granted the State's motion for summary

judgment in October 2001. The district court denied Miniel's

motion to alter or amend the judgment. The district court also

denied Miniel's request fora COA. Miniel now seeks a COA

from this court.

Il. STANDARD OF REVIEW.

Miniel filed the instant Section 2254 application for

habeas relief after the April 24, 1996 effective date of the

Antiterrorism and Effective Death Penalty Act (AEDPA).

A-3

His application is therefore subject to the AEDPA. Lindh v.

Murphy, 521 U.S. 320, 336,117 S.Ct. 2059, 2068 (1997).

Under the AEDPA, an appeal may not be taken to this

court unless the petitioner first obtains a COA. 28 U.S.C. §

2253(c)(2). "This is a jurisdictional prerequisite because the

COA statute mandates that ‘[u]nless a circuit justice or judge

issues a certificate of appealability, an appeal may not be

taken to the court of appeals. ... " Miller-El v. Cockrell,123

S.Ct.1029,1039 (2003) (citing 28 U.S.C. §2253(c)(1)) . "The

COA statute requires a threshold inquiry into whether the

circuit court may entertain an appeal." /d. (citing Slack v.

McDaniel, 529 U.S. 473, 482 (2000); Hohn v. United States,

524 U.S. 236, 248 (1998)). A COA will be granted only if

the petitioner makes "a substantial showing of the denial of a

constitutional right." 28 U.S.C. § 2253(c)(2). To make such a

showing, a petitioner "must demonstrate that the issues are

debatable among jurists of reason; that a court could resolve

the issues [in a different manner]; or that the questions are

adequate to deserve encouragement to proceed further."

Barefoot v. Estelle, 463 U.S. 880, 893 n. 4,103 S.Ct. 3383,

3394 n. 4 (1983) (citation and internal quotation marks

omitted). Any doubt regarding whether to grant a COA is

resolved in favor of the petitioner, and the severity of the

penalty may be considered in making this determination.

Fuller v. Johnson, 114 F.3d 491, 495 (Sth Cir.1997).

The analysis "requires an overview of the claims in the

habeas petition and a general assessment of their merit."

Miller-El v. Cockrell,123 S.Ct.1029,1039. We must look to

the district court's application of AEDPA to the petitioner's

constitutional claims and determine whether the court's

resolution was debatable among reasonable jurists. /d. "This

threshold inquiry does not require full consideration of the

factual or legal bases adduced in support of the claims." Jd.

Rather, "'[t]he petitioner must demonstrate that reasonable

jurists would find the district court's assessment of the

A-4

eee ee

constitutional claims debatable or wrong." Id. at 1040. (citing

Slack v. McDaniel, 529 U.S. 473, 484).

In making this assessment, we must be mindful of the

deferential standard of review the district court applied to

Miniel's claims as required by AEDPA. Hill v. Johnson, 210

F.3d 481, 48485 (Sth Cir. 2000). Section 2254(d) requires a

federal district court to give deference to determinations by a

state habeas court that adjudicated the petition on the merits.

See Hill v. Johnson, 210 F.3d 481, 484-85 (Sth Cir. 2000).

Pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d), the district court defers to a

state court's adjudication of a petitioner's claims on the merits

unless the state court's decision was: (1) "contrary to, or

involved an unreasonable application of, clearly established

Federal law, as determined by the Supreme Court of the

United States;" or (2) "resulted in a decision that was based

on an unreasonable determination of the facts in light of the

evidence presented in the State court proceeding.” A state

court's decision is deemed contrary to clearly established

federal law if it reaches a legal conclusion in direct conflict

with a prior decision of the Supreme Court or if it reaches a

different conclusion than the Supreme Court based on

materially indistinguishable facts. Williams v. Taylor, 529

U.S. 362,120 S.Ct.1495,1519-20 (2000). A state court's

decision constitutes an unreasonable application of clearly

established federal law if it is objectively unreasonable. Id. at

1521.

Ill. © MITIGATING EVIDENCE.

A. Denial of Mitigating Evidence Instruction

Miniel argues that the state court denied a jury

instruction with respect to the following mitigating evidence

in violation of the Eighth Amendment: his drug and alcohol

use at the time of the offense; his youth (age 23); his good

A-5

SN

behavior while incarcerated; and his religious conversion. !

Finding Miniel's claim precluded by precedent, we deny a

COA.

In Penry I, the Supreme Court reversed a death

sentence on the ground that, although the evidence regarding

the defendant's mental retardation and childhood abuse was

presented to the jury at the penalty phase of the trial, the

special issues prescribed by Texas statute prevented the jury

from giving mitigating effect to that evidence. Penry v.

Lynaugh, 492 U.S. 302, 328,109 S.Ct. 2934, 2952 (1989).

Since the holding in Penry, federal courts have had the

opportunity to determine whether the special issues provided

a vehicle for considering numerous types of mitigating

evidence.

As in the instant case, the petitioner in Tucker v.

Johnson, 115 F.3d 276, 281(Sth Cir.1997), argued that the

jury was prevented from considering the mitigating evidence

of her intoxication at the time of the offense and her age,

twenty-three. We rejected that claim and found that the

petitioner had failed to make a substantial showing of the

' Miniel also argues that the jury could not adequately

consider the "mitigating" evidence of his co-defendant's lesser

sentence. The Supreme Court has explained that mitigating

evidence involves any aspect of the defendant's character or

record and a circumstance of his offense. See Eddings v.

Oklahoma, 455 U.S. 104, 110, 102 S.Ct. 869, 874 (1982). A

co-defendant's lesser sentence does not constitute a mitigating

factor as defined by the Supreme Court. Cf. United States v.

Ives, 984 F.2d 649, 650 (Sth Cir.1993) (relying on the

Supreme Court's capital jurisprudence, we have concluded

that substantially lesser sentences received by a defendant's |

coconspirators did not constitute a mitigating circumstance

that might warrant downward departure from guidelines

sentence).

A-6

CE ESS a ae ae a

denial of a federal right. Id. at 281-82. More specifically, a

jury can give "full effect" to evidence of voluntary

intoxication in its determination whether the defendant acted

deliberately, which is contained in the first special issue.

Lackey v. Scott, 28 F.3d 486, 489 (5th Cin 1994). The second

special issue with respect to future dangerousness affords the

jury an adequate vehicle to consider the defendant's youth.

Johnson v. Texas, 509 U.S. 350, 370,113 S.Ct. 2658, 2670

(1993).

With respect to the evidence of Miniel's good behavior

while incarcerated, the Supreme Court has explained that no

special instruction is necessary to enable the jury to consider

the mitigating effect of the petitioner's evidence regarding his

good prison disciplinary record. See Franklin v. Lynaugh,

487 U.S. 164, 108 S.Ct. 2320, 2329-30 (1988). Finally, with

respect to Miniel's religious conversion, this Court has held

that the second special issue would allow the jury to give

effect to mitigating evidence that a petitioner had "rededicated

his life to God." Jernigan v. Collins, 980 F.2d 292, 295 (Sth

Cir.1992).

Accordingly, Miniel's claim that he was entitled to an

instruction to allow the jury to give effect to his mitigating

evidence is precluded by precedent. The Supreme Court's

decision in Penry II does not indicate otherwise. Penry v.

Johnson 121 S.Ct.1910 (2001). In Penry IJ, the Supreme

Court found a supplemental jury instruction with respect to

mitigating evidence to be "ineffective and illogical." Id. at

1924. Thus, the Court reached the same conclusion it had

reached in Penry J: "[A] reasonable juror could well have

believed that there was no vehicle for expressing the view that

Penry did not deserve to be sentenced to death based upon his

mitigating evidence." Jd. The Court did not indicate that we

have misinterpreted what constitutes Penry evidence.

A-7

vv

We are therefore satisfied no reasonable jurist would

find debatable the district court's resolution of Miniel's Penry

IT claim. Accordingly, we deny COA as to this claim.

B. Mitigating Evidence Not Before the Jury

Miniel also contends that the special issues effectively

precluded the introduction of certain other mitigating

evidence including: emotional trauma resulting from the

circumstances in which he learned of his adoption; his

alcoholic father; a long history of severe abuse as a child; a

history of drug and alcohol abuse; a pattern of suicide

attempts and substance abuse that affected virtually every

member of his immediate family; and evidence of impairment

of his mental, academic, social, and behavioral functioning.

Miniel contends that without a proper instruction the jury

would have had no vehicle through which to give effect to the

mitigating weight of this evidence. This Court, however, has

repeatedly rejected the claim that the "Texas statutory capital

sentencing scheme is . invalid as preventing or chilling

defense counsel's development of mitigating evidence.”

Briddle v. Scott, 63 F.3d 364, 378 (Sth Cir.1995); Crank v.

Collins, 19 F.3d 172,176 (Sth Cir.1994); Black v. Collins, 962

F.2d 394, 407 (Sth Cir. 1992); May v. Collins, 948 F.2d

162,166-68 (Sth Cir.1991). Further, we have held that a

"petitioner cannot base a Penry claim on evidence that could

have been but was not proffered at trial." Boyd v. Johnson,

167 F.3d 907, 912 (Sth th Cir. 1999) (citing West v. Johnson,

92 F.3d 1385, 1405 (Sth Cir.1996)). We are constrained to

find that Mintel has not made a substantial showing of a

constitutional right with respect to his Penry claim.

IV. DENIAL OF IMPARTIAL JURY.

Miniel also argues that he was denied his Sixth

Amendment right to an impartial jury. The Sixth Amendment

right to a fair trial includes the nght to an impartial jury.

A-8

Morgan v. Illinois, 504 U.S. 719, 727,112 S.Ct. 2222 (1992).

In a capital sentencing context, a defendant has the right to

challenge for cause a juror whose views on capital

punishment would "prevent or substantially impair the

performance of his duties as a juror in accordance with his

instructions and his oath." Wainwright v. Witt, 469 U.S. 412,

424,105 S.Ct. 844, 852 (1985). A state trial court's refusal of a

petitioner's challenge for cause is a factual finding entitled to

a presumption of correctness. Jones v. Butler, 864 F.2d 348,

362 (Sth Cir.1988). Here, the state habeas court "found based

on a review of the trial record that the trial court did not err in

failing to excuse venire person Patrick O'Rourke for cause

because he clearly demonstrated that he understood the legal

definitions, was fully capable of following the law, and fairly

and impartially answering the punishment issues."

The juror in question, Patrick O'Rourke, had an MBA

from the University of Houston and was a comptroller for a

corporation. Miniel argues that O'Rourke expressed such an

extreme bias in favor of the prosecution and the death penalty

that it disqualified him from being seated as an impartial

juror. In support of this argument, Miniel quotes several

statements O'Rourke made while being examined during voir

dire. First, Miniel asserts that O'Rourke demonstrated his bias

by expressing the view that he would not worry about

whether the death penalty was right or wrong in a particular

case because the decision to execute a convicted defendant is

"more or less a mechanical process." During voir dire, in

response to the prosecutor's question whether it would

"bother" him to be limited to only two choices of punishment

(life or death sentence), O'Rourke responded as follows:

No. I mean what it is what it is. I don't - at that

point it's not the point to be worrying about,

whether or not it's right or wrong. It probably is

good. Like I said, it's become more or less a

mechanical process that you make these decisions.

A-9

And this is the result of those decisions: more or

less yes-or-no-type.

We do not read O'Rourke's use of the phrase "more or

less mechanical process" as evidencing bias. Instead, we

understand O'Rourke's use of the phrase "more or less a

mechanical process" as describing the Texas procedure that

determines whether a life sentence or death sentence is

imposed. The prosecutor explained that, under the statutory

scheme, if the issues are answered affirmatively the defendant

will be sentenced to death. If there is a negative answer to

either question the defendant will be sentenced to life

imprisonment. We note that the prosecutor informed

O'Rourke that if the jury answered the special answers "yes,"

an "automatic death verdict" resulted. Webster's Dictionary

provides that the word "automatic" is a synonym for

"mechanical."* Clearly, the jurors’ answers to the special

issues "automatically" determine the sentence imposed.

Accordingly, we are not persuaded that O'Rourke's use of the

phrase "more or less mechanical process" when describing the

statutory scheme gives rise to debate regarding potential bias.

Miniel also points to various other statements made by

O'Rourke during voir dire in support of his claim of bias,

including the following: (1) he believed that because the

"justice system is just all drawn-out" and that "if you speeded

up the process, a few innocent might die; but society, as

whole, might be better off; (2) his "personal feelings [are]

that we're probably a little too lenient ... [and] society has

pretty much reined [in] its use";. (3) he did not feel "inclined"

to mitigate punishment’ and thought that "society has the

? WEBSTER'S NEW RIVERSIDE UNIVERSITY

DICTIONARY(1984).

* We note that on the juror questionnaire O'Rourke disagreed

with the following statement as an absolute: "A person is

A-10

obligation to remove persons who are a danger to society as a

whole."

After reading the record, it is clear that O'Rourke held

a strong personal preference for the death penalty as a

punishment for those convicted of capital murder.‘

Nonetheless, O'Rourke's answers also indicated that he

understood the difference between his "personal feelings" and

what Texas law provided.* Under these circumstances, Miniel

did not rebut with clear and convincing evidence the state

court's finding that O'Rourke "was fully capable of following

the law and fairly and impartially answering the punishment

issues." Accordingly, the district court's judgment denying

this claim is not debatable or wrong.

Miniel further contends that O'Rourke should have

been excused for cause because he could not distinguish

between the term "intentional," which pertains to the mental

state at issue during the guilt-innocence phase and the term

"deliberate," which is contained in the first special issue at the

punishment phase. The State does not dispute that a

prospective juror should be excused if unable to distinguish

between those two terms. This Court has noted that Texas law

makes "'a distinction between intentional and deliberate

always responsible for his or her acts, and there can be no

circumstances that could mitigate his responsibility.”

* During voir dire, the prosecutor asked O'Rourke to rate

himself on a scale from 1 to 5 regarding his attitude toward

capital punishment (the number 1 indicating totally opposed

to the death penalty and the number 5 indicating strongly in

favor of capital punishment as an appropriate penalty).

O'Rourke said he would "be more towards the 4 to 5 range."

° O'Rourke stated that he understood that "the laws are laid

down. You kind of have to operate within the laws."

A-1]

ee

conduct; deliberate conduct is something more _ than

intentional, but less than premeditation. [The Texas Court of

Criminal Appeals has] repeatedly recognized that a venire

person who cannot distinguish between intentional and

deliberate conduct is impaired in his ability to consider the

first special issue, and is challengeable for cause."' Green v.

Johnson, 160 F.3d 1029, 1037 (Sth Cir.1998) (quoting Soria

v. State, 933 S.W.2d 46, 60-61 (Tex. Crim. App. 1996))

(internal citation omitted). Nonetheless, Texas law does not

require that venire persons find a "distinct" difference

between the terms "intentional" and "deliberate." Goff v.

State, 931 S.W.2d 537, 548 (Tex. Crim. App. 1996). Instead,

it "only requires that venire persons find a difference between

the two terms and be able to base their answers on the

evidence presented." Jd.

At the beginning of O'Rourke's voir dire examination,

the trial court asked him if he had any "scruples" against the

death penalty in a "proper case." O'Rourke responded

negatively. The trial court then instructed O'Rourke as

follows:

I'm going to give you a definition of

"intentionally" and "deliberately."

A person acts intentionally, or with intent,

with respect to the nature of his conduct or to a

result of his conduct when it is his conscious

objective or desire to engage in the conduct or

cause the - result.

There's a different interpretation of the

common meaning of "intentionally" and

"deliberate' within the context of capital murder

punishment hearing.

As used in the first Special Issue, the word

"deliberately" has a meaning different and distinct

from the word "intentionally." The word

"deliberately," as used in the first Special Issue,

means a manner of doing an act characterized by

or resulting from careful consideration, a

conscious decision involving a thought process

which embraces more than mere will to engage in

the conduct.

I do want to instruct you that in Texas,

under the capital murder statute, there are several

different types of capital murder offenses ....

The punishment for [capital murder] is life

or death. Those are the only two punishments.

There's a difference between "intentional

murder" - now, for intentional murder the

punishment range is from five years to life. And in

no case for just an ordinary intentional murder can

a person be given [the] death penalty.

Do you understand that? It has to be some

of these plusses. connected, like aggravated rape,

like I mentioned; you understand?

A. [O'Rourke] Okay.

Subsequently, the prosecutor described a hypothetical

capital murder to O'Rourke and inquired whether he

understood the difference between "intentional" and

"deliberate" conduct in that scenario. O'Rourke replied "Not

really." The prosecutor inquired as follows: "I gather if you

A-13

a

believe that he intentionally shot and killed somebody with

the intent of killing, causing a death, you're going to answer

Issue No. | yes; the legal distinction between ‘intent’ and

‘deliberate’ doesn't have a whole lot of meaning to you[?]"

O'Rourke responded that the "more you talk about it, the more

commingled they become. That's what I have to admit."

(emphasis added). O'Rourke also stated that the "words do

start crossing over a lot, yea; so I'd have to say yes." The

prosecutor further inquired: "If you find him guilty, odds are

that Issue 1 is going to be a big yes?" O'Rourke responded

"Odds are, yeah.”

As set forth above, O'Rourke described the two terms

as "crossing over a lot" and becoming "more commingled."

However, these descriptions do not suggest that O'Rourke

found the terms identical; instead, these descriptions suggest

some difference (even if not distinct) between them.

Moreover, his response that the "odds" were that he would

answer yes to the first special issue after finding the conduct

intentional certainly does not indicate that he would do so in

every case.

As previously quoted, the state habeas court found

"based on a review of the trial record that the trial court did

not err in failing to excuse venireperson Patrick O'Rourke for

cause because he clearly demonstrated that he understood the

legal definitions, was fully capable of following the law and

fairly and impartially answering the punishment issues."

Because O'Rourke's responses indicated that he perceived

some difference between the two terms and that he would

base his answers on the evidence presented,° Miniel has not

shown that O'Rourke was excusable for cause under Texas

law. Goff v. State, 931 S.W.2d 537, 548. The district court

was unpersuaded that Miniel has rebutted the state court's

* O'Rourke expressly stated that he would answer the

questions depending on the "facts and circumstances.”

A-14

finding with clear and convincing evidence. Given the

presumption afforded both the trial court and the state habeas

court, we do not believe that the district court's decision was

debatable or wrong. Accordingly, we find that Miniel has not

made a substantial showing of the denial of a constitutional

right with respect to this particular argument, and we deny

COA on this basis.

Finally, Miniel contends that the prosecutor's remarks to

O'Rourke during voir dire minimized the jury's responsibility

for determining a sentence of death in violation of Caldwell v.

Mississippi, 472 U.S. 320, 104 S.Ct. 2633 (1985). Miniel

argues that the prosecutor's remarks regarding the extensive,

lengthy review of a death sentence by the courts would lead a

juror to believe that the responsibility is delegated to the

courts.

In Caldwell, the Supreme Court "conclude[d] that it is

constitutionally impermissible to rest a death sentence on a

determination made by a sentencer who has been led to

believe that the responsibility for determining the

appropriateness of the defendant's death rests elsewhere." 472

U.S. 320, 328-29. Subsequently, in Dugger v. Adams, 489

U.S. 401, 407, 109 S.Ct. 1211, 1215 (1989), the Supreme

Court explained that to "establish a Caldwell violation, a

defendant necessarily must show that the remarks to the jury

improperly described the role assigned to the jury by local

law." During Miniel's state habeas proceedings, the trial court

found "no evidence in the record to support [Miniel's]

assertions that the State misstated the law in voir dire or

impermissibly minimized the jury's responsibility for the

death sentence."

To evaluate a Caldwell claim, this Court looks to the

"total trial scene,’ including jury selection, the guilt phase of

trial, and the sentencing hearing, examining both the court's

instructions and counsel's argument to the jury." Montoya v.

A-15

Scott, 65 F.3d 405, 420 (5h Cir.1995) (quoting Sawyer v.

Butler, 881 F.2d 1273,1286-87 (Sth Cir.1989)).

The challenged remarks were made during ~the

following questioning by the prosecutor:

Q.

A.

Do you regard [the death penalty] as a

deterrent to any type of crime?

Well, it certainly prevents reoccurrence.

It substantially impairs the one executed;

I agree. But as to other individuals?

Yeah, in certain - in certain instances; I don't

think it

deters it all the time, because sometimes

it's not a thinking process; but, certainly,

where it is a premedi[t]ated process, I think

it would certainly be a situation. If not,

someone is not thinking ahead very far.

Q. As you know, as you sit here now, if some

other jury in this courthouse rendered a

death verdict today - there are ... two or

three other capital trials going on presently.

You surely know it would take years and

years and years before that sentence was

ever carried out. Jt would go through the

Texas Court of Criminal Appeals and then

the United States Supreme Court and then

back through various State and Federal

courts; and probably fifty judges will look

at that thing before, ten years from today,

they finally come down on one side or the

other and say, "Yeah, you're going to

A-16

execute him" or "No, You're not; retry him

or something else. "

Does it bother you, as a juror, knowing that

whatever decision you make is going to be

like an annuity policy that one day is or is

not going to happen?

. I think it bothers me as a citizen; not

necessarily as a juror.

. How does it bother you as a citizen?

. I think that I think that the justice system is

just all drawnout. If a few - granted, if you

speeded up the process, a few innocent

might die; but society, as a whole, might be

better off.

Q. Did you sincerely believe what you just

said: that even though a few not guilty

might get burned in the process, we

might be better off to go ahead and

speed this thing up?

A. I think it's pretty fundamental to

society. I think if you look back at

history, you have people - you can

trace it all the way back to the French

Revolution, where, . certainly, many

innocents were called, but perhaps the

French people were better off.

(emphasis indicating challenged remarks).

The State argues that the challenged "comments were

clearly designed to gauge whether a potential delay in the

administration of the death penalty would affect O'Rourke's

belief in the deterrent value of capital punishment, and were

not meant to reduce O'Rourke's feelings of responsibility in

assessing a sentence." This court has looked to the "context"

of a prosecutor's remarks in determining a claim of Caldwell

error. See Stringer v. Jackson, 862 F.2d 1108, 1111(5"

Cir.1988), (opining that the petitioner had taken the

prosecutor's comments out of context in that the prosecutor

"was explaining to a juror that the law required that his

questions be precise, not arguing that higher authorities

substituted their discretion for that of the jury on the matter of

punishment"), vacated and remanded on other grounds, 503

U. S. 222,112 S.Ct.1130 (1992). In the case at bar, O'Rourke,

as previously indicated, was a highly ecucated prospective

juror who engaged in some philosophical debate with the

attorneys regarding the death penalty during voir dire As

such, the State's characterization of the context in which the

remarks were made is fair. The district court agreed, finding

this to be a "reasonable reading of the prosecutor's

comments."

Moreover, the challenged remarks were made during

voir dire, "greatly reducing the chance that they had any

effect at all on sentencing." Byrne v. Butler, 845 F.2d 501,

508 (Sth Cir.1988). Indeed, during closing argument at the

sentencing phase, the prosecutor highlighted the jury's

responsibility in determining whether Miniel received a

sentence of death:

thank heavens the juries make these decisions. It's

not right that prosecutors make decisions that

people ever die. You don’t want Governments

going out and saying, "This person should die, and

A-18

this person should." Before anybody should get a

death sentence, they should come to the juries,

come to the people, and say, "Yeah, you have my

permission before the Government ought to do

anything.”

(emphasis added). Similarly, defense counsel stated to the

jury that after closing argument, "you'll be required to answer

these two questions that will determine whether or not this

boy dies or lives in confinement in a society where he will

not, based upon the evidence beyond a reasonable doubt, be a

continuing threat."”

In light of the context of the remarks by the

prosecutor, the proper instructions given by the court at voir

dire and sentencing, the closing arguments at the sentencing

phase highlighting the jury's responsibility, and O'Rourke's

obvious grasp of the sentencing scheme, the statements would

not lessen a juror's sense of responsibility in determining the

answers to the punishment issues.

In view of the deference afforded the trial court's

credibility determination and the presumption accorded the

state habeas court's factual finding under Section 2254(e)(1)

with respect to the failure to excuse a juror for cause,® the

federal habeas court was unpersuaded that Miniel rebutted the

” Counsel also stated that "[nJever, never, never, again, . .

will you have the power over the life of another human being,

as you have now."

* We note that Miniel argues that the trial court abused its

discretion in failing to excuse O'Rourke. The case Miniel cites

for this proposition is a case on direct appeal to this Court.

See United States v. Hall, 152 F.3d 381 (Sth Cir.1998). As

previously set forth, this federal habeas case is controlled by

the standards set forth in AEDPA.

A-19

presumption with clear and convincing evidence. We perceive

nothing in the district court's judgment which would give rise

to a reasonable debate on this issue. Accordingly, we find that

Miniel is not entitled to a COA with respect to this claim.

V. INEFFECTIVE ASSISTANCE OF COUNSEL.

Miniel next argues that trial counsel's failure to

investigate and develop mitigating evidence amounted to

constitutionally ineffective assistance requiring that his

sentence be vacated. Under Miller-El v. Cockrell, supra, we

must conduct a threshold inquiry into the merits of Miniel's

claim to determine whether reasonable jurists would find the

federal habeas court's resolution of this claim debatable or

wrong.

Under Strickland v. Washington, 466 U.S. 668, 104

S.Ct. 2052 (1984), Miniel was required to prove that tnal

counsel's performance failed to meet generally accepted

standards of competence and that there is a reasonable

probability that the outcome of his case was affected by

counsel's deficient performance. While the court in Strickland

recognized that there is a broad range of professionally

competent conduct in the trial of any case, generally accepted

standards of competence require that counsel conduct an

investigation regarding the accused's background and

character. Williams v. Taylor, 529 U.S. 362,128 S.Ct.1495

(2000). Miniel contends that, had his trial counsel performed

even the most rudimentary investigation, he would have

found ample mitigating evidence to present during the penalty

phase of his trial.’

” See the Supreme Court's recent decision in Wiggins v. Smith,

No. 02-311, 2003 WL 21467222 (2003), where the court

emphasized that counsel had a duty under Strickland to make

a reasonable investigation to uncover mitigating evidence.

A-20

During the penalty phase of Miniel's trial, the State

presented five witnesses, four of whom testified regarding

Miniel's past criminal history in Illinois. The fifth witness was

a police officer from Humble, Texas who testified regarding

Miniel's bad reputation in the community for violence.

Miniel's trial counsel presented three witnesses.The first was

a corrections officer who testified that Miniel had not

presented any disciplinary problems during his incarceration.

The second was a venireperson who had not been selected for

Miniel's jury and who had visited Miniel several times in jail.

The third was an assistant chaplain working at the jail who

testified about Miniel's attendance at church services. None of

Miniel's witnesses knew him before October 1998.

Miniel contends that trial counsel should have had him

examined to determine whether he suffered from a mental or

psychological disorder which would have provided an

additional source of mitigation. In support of his state habeas

petition, Miniel submitted a neuropsychological and

psychological evaluation. Miniel was diagnosed as suffering

from moderate impairment of his mental, cognitive,

academic, social, and behavioral functioning. According to

the evaluation, he has mild to moderate brain damage.

Because of these disorders, Miniel has limited ability to use

good judgment or reason in making his decisions and exhibits

impulsive behaviors. However, nothing in the report or in any

other document submitted by Miniel suggests that counsel —

was or should have been alerted to these problems.

Moreover, Miniel's trial counsel, Mr. Fred Heacock,

explains in his affidavit that Miniel was tested by the State's

psychologist and found to be competent to stand trial and

found to have been competent at the time his crime was

committed. He also states that Miniel was lucid and

conversant during their meetings. Under these circumstances,

there is nothing in the record to suggest that-counsel should

A-21

have been alerted to a potential mental problem. We have

held that counsel is not constitutionally ineffective for

insufficiently investigating a defendant's mental or

psychological condition when there is nothing to put counsel

on notice that such a condition exists. West v. Johnson, 92

F.3d 1385, 1409, n. 46 (Sth Cir.1996). Thus, the district

court's resolution of the issue of whether counsel was

ineffective for failing to investigate and present evidence of

Miniel's mental condition is not debatable or wrong.

Miniel also contends that his deprived and abusive

family history would have also provided a fertile source of

mitigating evidence if his trial counsel had interviewed family

members. In support of this contention in his state habeas

proceeding, Miniel introduced the affidavits (Miuiniel's

Affidavits) of several relatives and friends: Jesse Miniel

(adoptive mother), Manuel Miniel (adoptive father), Maria

Juana Miniel (adoptive sister), John Miniel (adoptive

brother), Maria Secoro Leblanc (adoptive sister), Mary

Margaret Miniel (adoptive sister), Carmen Cantu (biological

mother), Sookie Leblanc (adoptive sister), David Hernandez

(cousin), and Rosa Hunt (friend).

Miniel's Affidavits paint a picture of a rough

childhood. Méiniel's biological mother, Carmen Cantu,

abandoned him when he was only a few days old. He was

adopted by his aunt and uncle, Jesse and Manuel Miniel. He

grew up in a house with six adopiive siblings in Rock Falls,

Illinois, and his parents often fought over his father's drinking

and philandering. They also fought over Manuel's treatment

of Miniel. Manuel frequently beat Miniel from the time he

was very young and some of these beatings were severe. In

addition to the physical abuse, the children suffered from

neglect. Jesse worked at a factory at night, leaving Manuel

alone with the children. Manuel admits that he was an

alcoholic and that he would often go to bars when Jesse was

working. He would sometimes leave his children alone in the

A-22

car outside a bar for hours at a time, even during the harsh

Illinois winters. Other times, he would leave them alone in the

house.

Jesse, Manuel and Mary Margaret spent the month

before Miniel's trial in Houston. They left right after the jury

was selected, purportedly at Miniel's request. In their

affidavits, both Manuel and Jesse state that, while in Houston,

they tried to meet with Miniel's lawyer, Mr. Heacock, but he

was always too busy to see them. Consequently, the only

contact they had with Heacock while in Houston was a short

meeting outside of the courtroom. Jesse notes that during this

brief meeting Heacock simply reassured them that things

were going smoothly. Jesse and Mary Margaret both note that

Heacock never asked any questions about Miniel and never

asked if they were willing to testify on his behalf. Similarly,

Miniel's sister, Mary Juana, states that she called Heacock at

least three times before the trial, left messages each time, but

he never returned her calls. Mary Juana asserts that she

wanted to help in any way she could and wanted to know how

Miniel was doing.

In response, the State submitted the affidavit of Mr.

Heacock. Heacock's statements conflict with Méiniel's

Affidavits. Heacock states that he told Jesse and Mary

Margaret that someone should ask the jury to spare Miniel's

life and that they refused to testify. Heacock states that Mary

Margaret did not testify because she did not want to get

involved. This testimony is in conflict with Mary Margaret's

affidavit in which she states that she was never asked to

testify. It also conflicts with Jesse's affidavit in which she

states that she was never asked to testify. Heacock also

claims that the family left after hearing part of the

prosecution's case, but Jesse and Mary Margaret both assert

that they left right after the jury was selected. Jesse claims

they left because Miniel asked them to do so, while Heacock

suggests that they left because they "had had enough" of the

A-23

’

trial. Heacock also denies that he refused to talk to Miniel's

family. Manuel, Jesse, Mary Margaret and Mary Juana each

claim that they made attempts to contact Heacock and that he

was too busy to make time for them or failed to return their

calls.

In denying Miniel's petition for habeas relief, thr. state

habeas court credited Heacock's statements that he spoke to

Miniel's family members who were present for part of his trial

and that these family members did not want to get involved

and that they did not appear to have warm feelings about

Miniel. The state court also found that none of Miniel's

family members indicated that they would have been

available or willing to testify and that many had not been

present at his trial. Based on these findings, the state habeas

court concluded that Miniel failed‘ to show that there were

witnesses willing to testify or how that testimony would have

benefitted his defense. Thus; the state habeas court ruled that

Miniel failed to establish that counsel was ineffective under

Strickland.

Miniel contends the federal district court erred in

deferring to the state habeas court's findings because the state

habeas judge (who was not the trial judge) made credibility

calls to resolve conflicting affidavits.

We conclude that we need not consider this argument

or any other arguments related to counsel's alleged deficient

performance under Strickland’s first prong. Even if the

witnesses proffered by Miniel by affidavit had testified at trial

about Miniel's abusive background, Miniel has not made a

substantial showing that the jury would have answered the

special issues any differently. Both the state habeas court and

the federal district court determined that Miniel's ineffective

assistance claim fails for a lack of prejudice. Based on our

review, we conclude that jurists of reason could not debate

the correctness of this determination.

A-24

snsicesennnineatiaainiiaiiaiiliiiali ean

During the punishment phase of Miniel's trial the State

introduced evidence of numerous previous offenses

committed by Miniel in Illinois, including aggravated battery

from beating his girlfriend, another charge of aggravated

battery, two unlawful use of weapons charges, a retail theft

charge, and a charge of disorderly conduct. The State also

presented evidence of Miniel's poor parole history and

evidence that Miniel did not have a reputation as a peaceful

and law abiding citizen. Also, the State produced evidence

during the guilt phase that at the time of his arrest Miniel

confronted the police with a shotgun and only dropped his

weapon in response to his sister's pleas.

When we compare Miniel's violent history including

the cruel manner in which he killed Manier with the potential

testimony of his family members that centered on his

childhood abuse and substance abuse, we are satisfied there is

no reasonable probability that the jury would have answered

the special issues in a different manner." As the district court

© Miniel's Affidavits are mild when compared to the

evidence presented by the petitioners in Wiggins v. Smith,

supra, and Williams v. Taylor, supra, in support of their

ineffective assistance of counsel claims.

The petitioner in Wiggins presented evidence that he

was beaten, starved and sexually abused from the time he was

a small child. Wiggins’ mother was a chronic alcoholic who

often left him and his siblings alone at home for days at a

time, forcing them to beg for food or to eat paint chips and

garbage. Wiggins, slip op. at 4. Mrs. Wiggins kept her

kitchen under lock and key and would beat the children when

they broke into it for food to eat. Jd. On one occasion, she

pressed the petitioner's hand against a hot stove burner,

leading to his hospitalization. Jd. Wiggins' psycho-sexual

abuse began when he was still in his mother's home. Mrs.

Wiggins had sex with men while her children slept in the

A-25

same bed. Jd. At the age of six, the petitioner was put in the

foster care system where his physical abuse continued and

sexual abuse began in earnest. He was physically abused by

his first two foster mothers. Jd. His second foster father

repeatedly raped and molested him. /d. The petitioner ran

away from his foster home and began living on the streets at

the age of sixteen. Jd. However, he eventually returned to

foster care where he was again sexually abused. In one

placement, his foster mother's sons allegedly gang raped him

more than once. /d. After leaving the foster care system, the

petitioner entered a Job Corps program. Jd. There, he was

again sexually abuse, this time by his supervisor- Id.

Considering the nature and the extent of abuse, the Court

found that there was a reasonable probability that a jury

would have returned a different verdict. Id. at 23-24.

While Miniel was abused by his father, there is a

paucity of evidence on the frequency or severity of the

beatings. Also, there is no evidence of sexual abuse in his

family or social history. He was not starved as a child, and

Miniel was never shuffled in and out of foster homes.

The petitioner in Williams v. Taylor, supra, also

offered considerably stronger evidence of abuse than Miniel.

Williams presented evidence of physical abuse, mental

retardation, and strong evidence that Williams did not pose a

risk of future dangerousness as long as he was incarcerated.

Williams presented evidence that his parents were imprisoned

for the criminal neglect of him and his siblings. Id. at 395.

Williams’ juvenile records described a specific incident in

which the children were taken from their parents' home and

hospitalized. Id. at 395, n.19. Four of the children were drunk

at the time of their removal. /d. The report describes

Williams' parents' home as "a complete wreck," with human

feces and urine standing in several places throughout the

house and with trash and dirty dishes scattered in the kitchen.

Id. These records also noted that all of the children were dirty,

and none were wearing underpants. /d. Williams’ parents were

A-26

concluded, "Miniel's past violent behavior would overwhelm

any of the proposed mitigating evidence in determining future

dangerousness... Miniel has failed to present “evidence of

so intoxicated that they could not clothe the children so that

they could be taken to the hospital. Jd. There was also

evidence that Williams had been severely and repeatedly

beaten by his father. Id. at 395. After the children were

removed from their parents' home, Williams spent two years

in the foster care system, including one stretch in an abusive

foster home. Jd. The children were returned to their parents

after their release from prison. Jd. Williams was borderline

mentally retarded and did not advance past the sixth grade in

school. Id. at 396. Williams also presented evidence that he

had been a model prisoner during a prior incarceration.

Williams' prison records contained commendations for

helping to break up a prison drug ring and for returning a

prison guard's missing wallet. Jd. Prison officials testified

during his state habeas hearing that Williams was "among the

inmates least likely to act in a violent, dangerous, or

provocative way." Jd. (Internal quotations omitted). A

certified public accountant who frequently visited Williams as

part of the prison ministry program testified that "Williams

‘seemed to thrive in a more regimented and structured

environment." Jd. This is consistent with the opinion of the

State's trial expert that was revealed during Williams' state

habeas proceeding that "if kept in a ‘structured environment,'

[he] would not pose a future danger to society." Id. at 371. |

The mitigating evidence proffered by Miniel is also

mild by compariso:. to that presented by Williams. Miniel

proffered no evidence tending to rebut the State's evidence

that he posed a significant risk of future dangerousness. The

nature and extent of the abuse Miniel experienced was far less

severe than that described in Williams. Moreover, Miniel has

not presented comparable evidence suggesting that retardation

lessened his culpability.

A-27

sufficient quality and force to raise a reasonable probability

that, had it been presented to the jury, a life sentence would

have resulted."" See Andrews v. Collins, 21 F.3d 612, 624 (Sth

Cir.1§94), cert. denied 513 U.S. 1114, (1995); Miniel v.

Cockrell, No. H-00-4361, p.114 (S.D. Tex. filed November

13, 2001).

Based on the strength of the state's case, the state court

determined that trial counsel did not render ineffective

assistance in failing to present mitigating evidence because

Miniel could not show prejudice. The federal habeas court

concluded that the state court's determination of this issue is

not contrary to or an unreasonable application of federal law.

See 28 U.S.C. §2254(4)(1). We find nothing debatable or

wrong with this conclusion.

VI. CONCLUSION.

For the reasons stated above we deny the petitioner's

request for a COA on his claims that: (1) he was denied a jury

instruction with respect to mitigating evidence and that he

was precluded from introducing other mitigating evidence in

violation of the Eighth Amendment; (2) he was denied his

Sixth Amendment right to an impartial jury; and (3) he was

denied his Sixth Amendment right to effective assistance of

counsel.

COA denied.

A-28

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 02-20097

PETER J MINIEL

Petitioner - Appellant

¥.

JANIE COCKRELL, DIRECTOR, TEXAS DEPARTMENT

OF CRIMINAL JUSTICE, INSTITUTIONAL DIVISION

Respondent - Appellee

Appeal from the Unified States District Court for the

Southern District of Texas, Houston

ON PETITION FOR REHEARING EN BANC

(Opinion 7/17/03, 5 Cir., : F .3d )

Before JOLLY, DAVIS and CLEMENT, Circuit Judges.

PER CURIAM:

( x ) Treating the Petition for Rehearing En Banc as a

Petition for Panel Rehearing, the Petition for Panel Rehearing

is DENIED. No member of the panel nor judge in regular

active service of the court having requested that the court be

A-29

polled on Rehearing En Banc (FED. R. APP. P. and 5th CTR.

R. 35), the Petition for Rehearing En Banc is DENIED.

( ) Treating the Petition for Rehearing Fin Banc as a

Petition for Pane. Rehearing, the Petition for Panel Rehearing

is DENIED. The court having been polled at the request of

one of the members of the court and a majority of the judges

who are in regular active service not having voted in favor

(FED. R. App. P. and 5th Cir. R. 35), the Petition for

Rehearing En Banc is DENIED.

ENTERED FOR THE COURT

s/__W _ Eugene Davis

Unite States Circuit-Judge

A-30

§ 2253. Appeal

(a) In a habeas corpus proceeding or a proceeding

under section 2255 before a district judge, the final order shall

be subject to review, on appeal, by the court of appeals for the

circuit in which the proceeding is held.

(b) There shall be no right of appeal from a final

order in a proceeding to test the validity of a warrant to

remove to another district or place for commitment or trial a

person charged with a criminal offense against the United

States, or to test the validity of such person's detention

pending removal proceedings.

(c)(1) Unless a circuit justice or judge issues a

certificate of appealability, an appeal may not be taken to the

court of appeals from -

(A)the final order in a habeas corpus

proceeding in which the detention complained of

arises out of process issued by a State court; or

(B)the final order in a proceeding under

section 2255.

(2) A certificate of appealability may issue under

paragraph (1) only if the applicant has made a

substantial showing of the denial of a constitutional

right.

(3) The certificate of appealability under

paragraph (1) shall indicate which specific issue or

issues satisfy the showing required by paragraph (2).

A-31-

§ 2254. State custody; remedies in Federal courts

(d) An application for a writ of habeas corpus on

behalf of a person in custody pursuant to the judgment

of a State court shall not be granted with respect to

any claim that was adjudicated on the merits in State

court proceedings unless the adjudication of the claim -

(1) resulted in a decision that was contrary to,

or involved an unreasonable application of, clearly

established Federal law, as determined by the

Supreme Court of the United States; or

(2) resulted in a decision that was based on an

unreasonable determination of the facts in light of the

evidence presented in the State court proceeding.

A-32

IN THE COURT OF CRIMINAL APPEALS

OF TEXAS

No. 42833-01

EX PARTE PETER, J. MINIEL a/k/a PETER HENRANDEZ :

ON APPLICATION FOR WRIT OF HABEAS CORPUS

FROM HARRIS COUNTY

The order was delivered per curiam

ORDER

This is a post conviction application for writ of habeas

corpus filed pursuant to the provisions of Article 11.07,

VAL.

On October 10, 1988, applicant was convicted of the

offense of capital murder. The jury answered the special

issues submitted pursuaut to Article 37.071, V.A.C.C.P., and

the trial court, accordingly, set punishment at death.

A-33

Se aes Se ae ieee

Par NE Be Stee RE Se ee eon ae

Applicant's conviction was affirmed on direct appeal to this

Court. Miniel v. State, 831 S.w.2d 310 (Tex. Crim. App.),

cert. denied, 502 U.S. 885 (1992).

In the instant case, applicant presents thirty-one

allegations in which he challenges the validity of his

conviction and resulting sentence. The trial court enter

findings of fact and conclusions of law, and recommended

that the relief sought be denied.

This Court has reviewed the record. The trial court's

findings of fact and conclusions of law are supported by the

record. Upon such basis, the relief sought is denied.

IT IS SO ORDERED TIES THE 15TH DAY

OF DECEMBER, 1999.

PER CURIAM

En banc

Do Not Publish

A-34

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

HOUSTON DIVISION

PETER J. MINIEL,

Petitioner,

V. CIVIL ACTION NO. H-00-4361

JANIE COCKRELL,

Respondent.

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

Petitioner, Peter J. Miniel ("Miniel"), pleaded not

guilty to capital murder during the commission of a robbery

in the 337th District Court of Harris County, Texas. A jury

convicted Miniel on October 7, 1988, and,, based on the jury's

answers to Texas’ special issues, the trial court sentenced

Miniel to death on October 17, 1988. On December 14, 2000,

Miniel filed a Petition for Writ of Habeas Corpus in this court

(Docket Entry No. 7). Pending before the court is the Motion

of Respondent, Janie Cockrell (Cockrell), for Summary

Judgment (Docket Entry No. 15). The court will grant

Cockrell's motion and deny Miniel's petition for writ of

habeas corpus.

I. Background

On May 8, 1986, Miniel and James Warren Russell,

Jr., drove to Galveston from Houston. See State of Texas v.

Peter J. Miniel, No. 450033, Trial Record vol. 25, p. 96

(337th Dist. Court, Harris County, Tex., October 5, 1988).

A-35

Miniel and Russell drove around Galveston drinking beer

they purchased with a stolen credit card. See Trans. vol. 25, at

p. 96. While driving by the seawall, they saw two men

rolling a joint of marijuana. See Trans. vol. 25, at pp. 97-98.

Miniel told the two men that he would buy gasoline and beer

for them in exchange for marijuana. See Trans. vol. 25, at p.

98. The two men, Sammy Rogers and Chris Miln, told Miniel

to follow them back to Houston to get some marijuana. See

Trans. vol. 25, at pp. 99-100.

When the group arrived at an apartment in Houston,

Peter Manier was just getting out of the shower. See Trans.

vol. 25, at pp. 100-01. After a while Miniel, Miln, and

Rogers left to find some marijuana and to take Miln home.

See Trans. vol. 26, at p. 102. When Miniel, and Rogers

returned from acquiring marijuana, they all sat around

smoking joints and drinking beer. See Trans. vol. 25, at pp.

102--03. Rogers eventually passed out. See Trans. vol. 25, at

p. 104. Miniel then told Russell that he thought Manier had

money and that they should rob him. See Trans. vol. 25, "at

p. "104. 'Miniel 'concocted a plan 'where Russell would -

pretend to -- - procure some cocaine, distracting Manier so

that they could render him unconscious. See Trans. vol. 25,

at pp. 104-05. Russell went out to his car, pretending to

retrieve cocaine. See Trans. vol. 25, at p. 105. When he

returned, he found Miniel and Manier in Manier's bedroom.

See Trans. vol. 25, at pp. 105-06. Russell saw Manier clean a

small mirror to use in snorting cocaine. See Trans. vol. 25, at

pp. 105-06. While Manier leaned over the mirror, Miniel

struck him in the back of the head with a beer mug. See

Trans. vol. 25, at p. 106. Manier fell to his knees, covering his

head while Miniel continued to strike him. See Trans. vol.

25, at pp. 106-07. After Manier fell on his side, Russell hit

him several times in the head with a shock absorber that had

been sitting on a table. See Trans. vol. 25, at pp. 106-07.

Miniel told Russell that he was not hitting him hard enough

and then used the shock absorber himself. See Trans. vol. 25,

A-36

at pp. 107-08. When Miniel found that he could not knock

out Manier, he told Russell to stab him with a small knife.

See Trans. vol. 25, at p. 108. Russell was unable to calry

through with this order, and Miniel himself stabbed Manier

numerous times. See Trans. vol. 25, at pp. 108-09. Russell

then held Manier while Miniel attempted to slit his throat.

See Trans. vol. 25, at p. 109. Finally, Miniel attempted to

asphyxiate him by shoving a blanket down his throat. See

Trans. vol. 25, at pp. 109-10.

Miniel took Manier's s wallet and became angry when

he discovered that they killed a man for only twenty dollars.

See Trans. vol. 26, at pp. 249, 315. They then searched the

apartment for drugs or money. See Trans. vol. 26, at pp. 249-

50. Miniel and Russell left the apartment, stealing Manier's

stereo equipment. See Trans. vol. 25, at pp. 110-14. They

washed off Manier's blood and hid the knife. See Trans. vol.

25, at pp. 114-15. Miniel and Russell then went to Burger

King to eat hamburgers. See Trans. vol. 25, at pp. 116-17.

Miniel was eventually arrested at his sister's apartment

in Chicago, Illinois. The police recovered some of Manier’s

stereo equipment from another individual in the apartment

building. At a Chicago police department substation, Miniel

made an oral statement confessing to Manier’s murder.

Miniel's trial began before the 337th District Court of -

Harris County on October 5, 1988.' Miniel pleaded not

guilty. See Trans. vol. 25, at p. 15. Miniel did not call any

defense witnesses in the guilt/innocence phase. On October

10, 1988, the jury found Miniel guilty of capital murder. See

Trans. vol. 27, at pp. 511-12.

' Fred M. Heacock and Al Thomas represented Miniel at trial.

For the most part, the court will refer to the attorneys

conjunctively as "trial counsel."

A-37

During the punishment phase of Miniel's trial, the

State reintroduced all the evidence from the guilt/innocence

phase. See Trans. vol. 28, at p. 12. The State also introduced

evidence of Miniel's many prior offenses in Illinois. The

State introduced evidence of Miniel's s guilty plea to a charge

of aggravated battery from beating his girlfnend with a

wooden spoon and a motorcycle chain. See Trans. vol. 28, at

pp. 35, 59. The State also introduced another previous charge

of aggravated battery where Miniel beat someone with

numchucks. See Trans. vol. 28, at pp. 4243. Other offenses

adduced by the State included two unlawful-use-of-weapons

charges, see Trans. vol. 28, at pp. 37-38; a retail theft charge,

see Trans. vol. 28, at p. 47; and a charge of disorderly

conduct, see Trans. vol. 28, at p. 48. The State also presented

evidence of Miniel's poor parole history. See Trans. vol. 28,

at pp. 37-38, 48-49. The State demonstrated that Miniel did

not have a reputation as a peaceful and law-abiding person.

See Trans. vol. 28, at pp. 45, 63, 71.

Miniel called three witnesses in the punishment phase.

Darryl Hendrichson, a Harris County Sheriffs Department

employee in the Harris County jail, testified about Miniel's

behavior while incarcerated. See Trans. vol. 28, at pp. 78-79.

Hendrichson testified that Miniel had never presented a

disciplinary problem during his incarceration before trial. See

Trans. vol. 28, at p. 80.

Carol Ruth Weed, a prospective juror in Miniel's case,

also testified in his behalf. After she was dismissed from jury

service, Weed felt that she had made a connection with

Miniel . See Trans. vol. 28, at p. 90. Weed visited him in jail

every week while he awaited trial. See Trans. Vol. 28, at p.

87. They spoke mostly about religion and she opined that

Miniel's religious inclination was genuine, not "foxhole

religion." See Trans. vol. 28, at pp. 87-88.

Finally, the defense called Juan Cortez, an assistant

Harris County chaplain. See Trans. vol. 28, at pp. 96-97.

Cortez testified that Miniel attended church service almost

every week while incarcerated. See Trans. vol. 28, at pp. 98-

99. Cortez. testified that Miniel's religious devotion seemed

sincere. See Trans. vol. 28, at pp. 100-01. Cortez testified

that those in society who accept their guilt and seek to be an

instrument for good in society should be given a second

chance. See Trans. vol. 28, at p. 102.

The jury retired to consider the special issues on

October 11, 1988.7 On October 12, 1988, the jury returned

affirmative answers to the special issues, see Trans. vol. 28, at

pp. 159-60, and the trial court sentenced Miniel to death. See

Trans. vol. 28, at pp. 162-63.

Miniel appealed his conviction and sentence to the

Texas Court of Criminal Appeals, which affirmed on January

22, 1992. See Miniel v. State, 831 S.W.2d 310 (Tex. Crim.

* The special issues were as follows:

Special Issue No. 1

Was the conduct of the defendant, Peter J. Miniel, that caused

the death of the deceased committed deliberately and with the

reasonable expectation that the death of the deceased or

another would result?

Special Issue No. 2

Is there a probability that the defendant, Peter J. Miniel,

would commit criminal acts of violence that would constitute

a continuing threat to society?

Trans. vol. I-A, at pp. 338-39.

A-39

App. 1992).> Miniel sought a rehearing, which the court

denied on April 15, 1992. Miniel then filed a petition for wnit

of certiorari in the Supreme Court of the United States, which

was denied on October 5, 1992. See Miniel v. Texas, 506

U.S. 885 (1992).

Miniel filed an application for writ of habeas corpus in

state court on June 15, 1993. On November 8, 1996, Miniel

filed an amended application. The State did not respond to

Miniel's application until March 9, 1999. The state habeas

court did not hold an evidentiary hearing on Miniel's claims.

On July 28, 1999, the state habeas court entered detailed

findings of facts and conclusions of law recommending that

relief be denied. See Ex parte Miniel, No. 450033-A,

Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order (337th Dist.

Ct., Harris County, Tex., July 28, 1999). The Court of

Criminal Appeals denied relief on December 15, 1999. See

Ex parte Miniel, No. 42,833-01 (Tex. Crim. App. Dec. 15,

1999).

Miniel filed a petition for writ of habeas corpus in this

court on December 14, 2000. See Petition for Writ of Habeas

Corpus (Docket Entry No. 7). Miniel alleges that:

1) his trial counsel rendered ineffective assistance in

violation of the Sixth Amendment because

(a) they failed to investigate and develop

mitigating circumstances relevant to his life,

specifically his family background and social,

medical, and mental history (pp. 4-14, 19-30);

(b) they made mistakes in jury selection and voir

dire examination of prospective jurors (pp. 30-

41);

* Robert Rodriguez represented Miniel on direct appeal.

A-40

(2)

(3)

(c) they failed to object to the State's suggestion

that the law of the parties applied to the

punishment phase of trial (pp. 42-48) ;

(d) they entered into an agreement not to cross-

examine an important witness (pp. 48-51);

(e) they failed to correct legal

mischaracterizations __ by the State (j. 51) ;

(f) they confessed Miniel's guilt in closing

arguments (pp. 51-55) ;

(g) they emphasized the graphic nature of the

crime (pp. 55-56) ;

(h) they failed to object to the introduction of

prejudicial evidence (pp. 56-57) ;

(i) they failed to effectively ross-examine

witnesses (p. 57);

(J) they failed to offer any evidence to support the

theory that Miniel's conviction was involuntary

(pp. 57-58) ;

(k) they failed to adequately plead for his life

during closing arguments (p. 58) ;

the State presented false testimony at trial (pp.

59-64) ;

the trial court failed to preserve his Sixth

Amendment rights by not inquiring into his

dissatisfaction with trial counsel's representation

(pp : 65 -68 ) ;

A-41

(4)

(5)

(6)

(7)

(8)

(9)

(10)

(11)

(12)

Texas' system for appointing capital counsel

violated the Sixth Amendment guarantee of

effective representation (pp. 69-74) ;

trial counsel's alleged agreement not to cross-

examine a prosecutorial witness violated

Miniel's s right to confront witnesses against

him (pp. 75-77) ;

the State engaged in a pattern of misconduct (pp.

78-82) ;

the trial court erroneously refused to excuse

venireperson Patrick O'Rourke (pp. 83-90) ;

the trial court erred in excusing venireperson

Kathy Hernandez for cause (pp. 91-97) ;

the trial court erroneously refused to excuse

venirepersons Frederick Jones, Joseph Foster,

Jr., and Dorothy Campbell for cause (pp. 98-

106) ;

the State misled the jury into believing that the

law of the parties applied at the sentencing

phase of trial (pp. 107-14) ;

the trial court erroneously failed to instruct the

jury that the law of the parties did not apply at

the punishment phase (pp. 115-16) ;

the trial court's failure to instruct the jury on the

vague special issues violated the Constitution

(pp. 117130) ;

(13) the jury instructions misled the jury concerning

the effect of a "no" vote by a single juror (pp.

131-33) ;

(14) the admission of Miniel's s coerced confession

violated the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments

(pp. 134-38) ;

(15) the trial court violated his right to a speedy trial

by delaying his trial (pp. 139-41) ;

(16) the special issues precluded the presentation and

consideration of mitigating evidence (pp. 142-

48) ;

(17) the trial court unconstitutionally refused to give

his requested instruction on mitigation (pp. 149-

50) ;

(18) the trial court violated his due process rights by

failing to require the jury to consider prior

unadjudicated offenses only if proved beyond a

reasonable doubt (pp. 151-54) ;

(19) the trial court violated the equal protection

clause by allowing the State to admit

unadjudicated offenses in the punishment phase

(pp. 155-58) ;

(20) the trial court violated the Constitution by

failing to instruct the jury about Texas’ parole

law (pp. 159-63) ;

(21) the special issues unconstitutionally required the

jury to consider whether there was a

"probability" that Miniel would commit future

violent acts (pp. 164-65) ;

A-43

ee ee

eee

(22) the Texas rule requiring the expenditure of

peremptory challenges to preserve voir dire

error violated the equal protection clause (pp.

166-67) ;

(23) the Texas capital sentencing _ statute

unconstitutionally violated his right to have the

jury determine his fate (pp. 168-69) ; and

(24) his appellate counsel rendered _ ineffective

assistance by

(a) failing to raise voir dire errors on direct

appeal (pp. 170-71) ;

(b) failing to raise issues relating to Miniel's

dissatisfaction with trial counsel (p. 171);

and

(c) failing to raise a speedy trial claim (p.

171).

See Petition for Wnt of Habeas Corpus (pages indicated)

(Docket Entry No. 7).

Cockrell argues, that she is entitled to summary

judgment on Miniel's claims. Cockrell contends that several

of Miniel's claims are barred under the procedural default

doctrine. Cockrell also argues that, under the standard of

review applicable to state court determinations on habeas

review, the federal court should not grant habeas relief.

Additionally, Cockrell argues that Miniel's s claims are

meritless.

A-44

II. Standard of Review

Because Miniel filed his federal petition for writ of

habeas corpus on December 14, 2000, it is subject to review

under 28 U.S.C. § 2254 as amended by the Antiterrorism and

Effective DeathPenalty Act of 1996 ("AEDPA") , Pub. L. No.

104-132, 110 Stat. 1214. See Nobles v. Johnson, 127 F.3d

409, 415 (Sth Cir. 1997), cert. denied, 523 U.S. 1139 (1998).

Under the AEDPA, a court cannot grant a writ of habeas

corpus with respect to any claim that was adjudicated on the

merits in state court unless the state court decision:

(1) resulted in a decision that was contrary to, or

involved an unreasonable application of,

clearly established Federal law, as determined

by the Supreme Court of the United States; or

(2) resulted in a decision that was based on an

unreasonable determination of the facts in light

of the evidence presented in the State court

proceeding.

28 U.S.C. § 2254(d) (West Supp. 1999). Under the AEDPA,

federal review of a state court determination differs

depending on whether the issue is one of law, one of fact, or a

mixed question of law and fact. See Williams v. Cain, 229

F.3d 468, 474 (Sth Cir. 2000), cert. denied, s

(2001).

For questions of law or mixed questions of law and

fact adjudicated on the merits in state court, this court may

grant federal habeas relief under 28 U.S.C. 2254 (d) (1)only if

the state court decision was contrary to, or-involved an

unreasonable application of, clearly established Supreme

Court precedent. See Martinv. Cain, 246 F.3d 471, 475

(Sth Cir.), cert. denied, S.Ct. (2001). A state court

decision will be contrary to the Supreme Court's clearly

A-45

iii Ti a ee

eee

established precedent "if the state court either ‘applies a rule

that contradicts the governing law set forth in (the Supreme

Court],' or ‘confronts a set of facts that are materially

indistinguishable from a decision of this Court and

nevertheless arrives at a result different from [its] precedent.

I" Penry v. Johnson, U.S. __—, 121 S. Ct. 1910, 1918

(2001) (quoting Terry Williams v. Taylor, 529 U.S. 362, 406

(2000)).*

The "unreasonable application" standard permits

federal habeas relief only if a state court decision "identifies

the correct governing legal rule from [Supreme Court] cases

but unreasonably applies it to the facts of the particular state

prisoner's case." Terry Williams, 529 U.S. at 406."In applying

this standard, we must decide (1) what was the decision of the

state courts with regard to the questions before us and (2)

whether there is any established federal law, as explicated by

the Supreme Court, with which the state court decision

conflicts." Hoover v. Johnson, 193 F.3d 366, 368 (Sth Cir.

1.99-9). "[E] ven if the federal habeas court concludes that

the state court decision applied clearly established federal law

incorrectly, relief is appropriate only if that application is,

also objectively unreasonable." Penry, 121 S. Ct. at 1918;

see also Gardner v. Johnson, 247 F.3d 551, 560 (Sth Cir.

2001) (stating that the AEDPA mandates relief in the case of

a state court decision "that is not merely wrong but is so

wrong that it is 'unreasonable"").

* On April 18, 2000, the Supreme Court issued two separate

opinions involving the AEDPA, both originating in Virginia,

in which the petitioners had the same surname. Terry

Williams v. Taylor, 529 U.S. 362 (2000), involves § 2254(d)

(1) and Michael Williams v. Taylor, 529 U.S. 420 (2000),

involves S 2254 (e) (2). To avoid confusion, this court will

include the full name of the petitioner when citing these two

cases.

A-46

The AEDPA precludes federal habeas relief on factual

issues unless the state court's adjudication of the merits was

based on an unreasonable determination of the facts in light of

the evidence presented in the state court proceeding. See 28

U.S.C. 2254(d)(2). The state court's factual determinations

are presumed correct unless rebutted by "clear and convincing

evidence.” 28 U.S.C. § 2254(e) (1).

III. Procedural Bar

Cockrell argues that several of Miniel's claims are

procedurally barred.. "[A] federal court may not consider a

state prisoner's federal habeas claim when the state court

based its rejection of that claim on an adequate and

independent state ground.” Martin v. Maxey, 98 F.3d 844,

846 (Sth Cir. 1996) (citing Coleman v. Thompson, 501 U.S.

722, 750 (1991)). The Supreme Court has held that

[i]n all cases in which a state prisoner has defaulted

his federal claims in state court pursuant to an

independent and adequate state procedural rule,

federal habeas review of the claims is barred unless

the prisoner can demonstrate cause for the default and

actual prejudice as a result of the alleged violation of

federal law, or demonstrate that failure to consider the

claims will result in a fundamental miscarriage of

justice.

Coleman, 501 U.S. at 750.° "This doctrine ensures that federal

courts give proper respect to state procedural rules." Glover v.

* To demonstrate a fundamental miscarriage of justice in this

context, the petitioner must show that he is actually innocent

of the crime of which he was convicted. See Sawyer v.

Whitley, 505 U.S. 333, 339-40 (1992). Miniel makes no

A-47

Cain, 128 F.3d 900, 902 (Sth Cir. 1997) (citing Coleman, 501

U.S. at 750-51), cert. denied, 523 U.S. 1125 (1998) ; see also

Edwards v. Carpenter, 529 U.S. 446, 450 (2000) (finding the

cause and prejudice standard to be "grounded in concerns of

comity and federalism").

A claim may also be procedurally barred if it has not

been reviewed by the state courts. See Horsely v. Johnson,

197 F.3d 134, 137 (Sth Cir. 1999). "A procedural default . . .

occurs when a prisoner fails to exhaust available state

remedies and "the court to which the petitioner would be

required to present his claims in order to meet the exhaustion

requirement would now find the claims procedurally barred;""

Nobles, 127 F.3d at 420 (quoting Coleman, 501 U.S. at 734

n.1).° Texas courts considering unexhausted claims on a

successive habeas petition would find them procedurally

defaulted. Article 11.071 § 5(a) of the Texas Code of

Criminal Procedure prohibits a Texas court from considering

a successive habeas petition on the merits unless the petition

satisfies one of the narrowly-defined exceptions. The Fifth

Circuit has held that article 11.071 is an adequate state

procedural bar, finding that the rule is strictly and regularly

enforced. See Barrientes v. Johnson, 221 F.3d 741, 759 (Sth

Cir. 2000), cert. dismissed, 121 S. Ct. 902 (2001) ; Muniz v.

attempt to show that he was actually innocent of Manier's

murder.

° "An application for a writ of habeas corpus may be denied

on the merits, notwithstanding the failure of the applicant to

exhaust the remedies available in the courts of the State." 28

U.S.C. § 2254 (b) (2). This court, however, cannot grant

relief under the AEDPA if a petitioner has failed to exhaust

the available state court remedies. See 28 U.S.C.§ 2254 (b)

(1) (A).

A-48

Johnson, 132 F.3d 214, 221 (5th Cir.) , cert. denied, 523 U.S.

1113 (1998).

The court will consider Cockrell's procedural default

defense as the court addresses each claim.

IV. Analysis

A. Russell's Testimony

In his second claim for relief Miniel alleges that the

State presented false evidence at trial and suppressed

exculpatory evidence from him.’ Miniel bases this claim on

Russell's trial testimony. Specifically, Miniel points to

Russell's testimony concerning their plan to steal from

Manier. See Trans. vol. 25, at pp. 104-05. The State used

Russell's testimony to demonstrate that Miniel killed Manier

in the course of a robbery.®

* * * * *

within those cases in which a defendant must show "specific

prejudice to his defense." Doggett, 505 U.S. at 656.

’ The operative facts underlying Miniel's first claim for relief,

that trial counsel rendered ineffective assistance of counsel,

echo those raised as substantive constitutional violations. For

the sake of economy, the court will address the substantive

claims first, and will then address Miniel's ineffective

assistance claims.

* In virtually every claim, Miniel argues that his claims arise

under the Fifth, Sixth, Eighth, and Fourteenth Amendments.

The (continued...)

A-49

Miniel fails to demonstrate "actual prejudice in his

ability to prepare and present his defense." Id. Miniel has not

shown that any witnesses died or disappeared during the wait.

Miniel only argues that "fading memories" impaired his

ability to crossexamine witnesses. Miniel offers no concrete

evidence of impaired recollection. Nor does Miniel point to

any testimony tainted by the passage of time. Miniel has

failed to show "actual prejudice" resulting from the delay.

This factor weighs strongly and decisively in the Cockrell's

favor.

5. Conclusion of speedy-tnal claim

Weighing the factors involved in the trial delay,

Miniel has not shown a violation of the Sixth Amendment.

While the trial delay spanned over two years and Miniel

promptly complained of the postponement, the delay was not

attributable to the prosecution. Furthermore, Miniel has

completely failed to show actual prejudice. The state court's

rejection of his speedy trial claim was not objectively

unreasonable. Because Miniel has failed to demonstrate that

the state court decision was contrary to, or an unreasonable

application of, federal law, his fifteenth claim is denied. See

28 U.S.C. § 2254(d)(1).

N. Mitigating Evidence

Miniel raises two claims involving the presentation of

mitigating evidence at trial Miniel's sixteenth claim is that

Texas' special issues precluded the presentation and

consideration of mitigating evidence. In his seventeenth

claim, Miniel contends that the trial court violated his

constitutional rights when it failed to give his proposed jury

instruction on mitigation. Miniel's claims are based on Penry

v. Lynaugh, 492 U.S. 302 (1989) ("Penry I").

A-50

In Penry I the Supreme Court held that, in some cases

under the then-applicable scheme, Texas did not permit a jury

to give effect to mitigating evidence introduced by a

defendant. The defendant in Penry I offered extensive

evidence of his mental retardation and abused childhood as

mitigating factors. The Penry I Court found that those factors

may have been relevant to the special issues, but also "had

relevance to [his] moral culpability beyond the scope of the

special verdict question [n].1"PenryI, 492 U.S. at 323

(quoting Franklin v. Lynaugh, 487 U.S. 164, 185 (1988) (0'

Connor J., concurring)). The special issues were not broad

enough to give effect to Penry' s mitigating evidence. In

Penry I the Supreme Court held that

when a capital defendant introduced evidence about

his background, character, or circumstances that

reflects a reduced personal culpability, and the jury

cannot give effect to the mitigating force of that

evidence in response to Texas' special issues, the trial

court must provide instructions that allow the jury to

consider and give mitigating effect to that evidence.

Davis, 51 F .3 dat 460. The PenryI Court mandated that,

in such circumstances, the jury must be instructed "that it

could consider and give effect to the mitigating evidence" by

declining to impose the death penalty. Id. at 322-25. The

absence of such an instruction violated the Constitution.

In the punishment phase of trial Miniel called three

witness, each of whom testified that he would not pose a

future danger to society if incarcerated. These witnesses

focused on his good behavior and religious devotion while

incarcerated. Miniel requested that the trial court deliver a

jury instruction concerning the consideration of mitigating

evidence. The trial court refused his request.

l. Mitigating circumstances

A-51

Miniel argues that the language of the special issues

prevented the jury from considering important mitigating

evidence. Miniel specifically argues that the jury could not

consider the following evidence:

* emotional trauma from his adoption;

¢ his alcoholic father;

¢ his history of severe abuse as a child;

¢ his history of substance abuse;

* the history of suicide attempts and substance abuse

by members of his family; and

¢ evidence of mental and social impairment,

See Petition for Writ of Habeas Corpus pp. 143-44 (Docket

Entry No. 7).

"A petitioner cannot base a Penry claim on evidence

that could have been but was not proffered at trial." Boyd v.

Johnson, 167 F.3d 907, 912 (Sth Cir.). cert. denied, 527 U.S.

1055 (1999) ; see also West v. Johnson, 92 F. 3d 1385, 1405

(Sth Cir. 1996), cert. denied, 520 U.S. 1242 (1997); Crank

v. Collins, 19 F.3d 172, 176 (Sth Cir. ) , cert. denied, 512 U.S.

1214 (1994) . The Fifth Circuit has "made it clear that any

Penry claim will be procedurally barred if the mitigating

evidence is not actually proffered at trial." Mann v. Scott, 41

F.3d 968, 979 (Sth Cir. 1994), cert. denied, 514 U.S. 1117

(1995). Miniel failed to present the evidence he contends was

precluded under the Special Issues. He fails to raise a valid

Penry claim on this basis. The state habeas court concluded

that Penry I "requires the introduction of mitigating evidence

before a jury, not allegations of mitigating evidence presented

A-52

years later . . . ." Ex parte Miniel, No. 450033-A, at p. 1190, 1

29. This determination is not contrary to, or an unreasonable

application of, federal law. See 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d) hh Sa

** Miniel seems to suggest that the nature of the special issues

influenced trial counsel into not presenting the mitigating

evidence. There is no indication that trial counsel refused to

present this information due to the nature of the special

issues. Furthermore, the Fifth Circuit "has consistently

rejected the related argument that the Texas statutory capital

sentencing scheme is invalid as preventing or chilling defense

counsel's development of mitigating evidence." Briddle v.

Scott, 63 F.3d 364, 377-78 (Sth Cir.) , cert. denied, 516 U. S.

1033 (1995) . Trial counsel's decision to not present that

mitigating evidence will be addressed in Miniel's ineffective

assistance of counsel claim.

A-53

2. Mitigation instructions

During the punishment phase, Miniel asked the trial

court to instruct the jury concerning the presentation of

mitigating evidence pursuant to Penry I. The Fifth Circuit has

limited the application of Penry I to those cases in which the

mitigation evidence had relevance beyond the scope of the

special issues. Penry I held "that 'a jury [must] be able to

consider in some manner all of a defendant's relevant

mitigating evidence,, not that % a jury [must] be able to give

effect to mitigating evidence in every conceivable manner in

which the evidence might be relevant."" Motley, 18 F.3d at

1234 (quoting Johnson, 509 U.S. at 372). "[A] Penry claim

does not arise when constitutionally relevant evidence ‘can be

given mitigating effect in some way under the Texas special!

issues." Davis, 51 F . 3d at 464 (quoting Motley, 18 F . 3d

at 1234). The Fifth Circuit employs a two-step procedure to

determine whether the mitigating evidence requires relief

under Penry I: the court "must determine (1) that the proffered

evidence was constitutionally relevant mitigating evidence,

and, if so, (2) that the - proffered evidence was beyond the -

effective reach of the Jurors. Madden v. Collins, 18 F.3d 304,

308 (Sth Cir. 1994) (citing Johnson, 509 U.S. at 366), cert.

denied. 513 U.S. 1156 (1995).”

A federal court's first inquiry in a Penry claim is

whether the mitigating evidence was _ "constitutionally

relevant mitigating evidence.” See Vuong v. Scott, 62 F.3d

> The Supreme Court recently revisited its Penry I decision.

In Penry IJ the Court held that a mitigation instruction

commonly used by the Texas courts did not allow for the

consideration of mitigating evidence. See Penry II, 121 S. Ct.

at 1922. The Penry II decision does not seem to change the

jurisprudence flowing from Penry I; instead, Penry II merely

clarified Penry I's application to that specific mitigating

instruction.

A-54

673, 680 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 516 U.S. 1005 (1995); Davis,

51 F.3d at 461. The Fifth Circuit has narrowly defined

"constitutionally relevant mitigating evidence." The Fifth

Circuit has characterized the relevancy inquiry as asking

"does the evidence implicate the basic concern of Penry 'that

defendants who commit criminal acts that are attributable to a

disadvantaged background, or to emotional and mental

problems, may be less culpable than defendants who have no

such excuse." Madden, 18 F.3d at 307 (quoting PenryI, 492

U.S. at 319). "In order to present relevant evidence that one is

less culpable for his crime, the evidence must show (1) a

uniquely severe permanent handicap with which the

defendant is burdened through no fault of his own, ... (2) and

that the criminal act was attributable to this severe permanent

condition." Davis, 51 F .3 dat 460. In evaluating whether a

defendant suffers from a uniquely severe handicap, the Fifth

Circuit has limited Penry I to the precise facts of that case.

The Fifth Circuit seems to recognize a Penry claim based only

on the discrete mitigating evidence in that case, ie., severe

mental retardation and extreme childhood abuse.

In addition to bearing a similarity to the evidence in

Penry I, the Fifth Circuit has required that the criminal act

must have been related to the unique handicap. To warrant

federal relief, a Penry claim must exhibit a "nexus" between

the mitigating evidence and the criminal act. See Harris _ v.

Johnson, 81 F. 3d 535, 539 (Sth Cir. 1996), cert. denied, 517

U.S. 1227 (1997); Turner v. Johnson, 106 F.3d 1178, 1189

(Sth Cir. 1997). The nexus requirement finds its basis in the

language of Penry I. In Penry I the Supreme Court found that

the failure to consider Penry's mitigation evidence violated

the Constitution because his criminal conduct was

"attributable to a disadvantaged background, or to emotional

and mental problems. . . ." 492 U.S. at 304 (emphasis added)

. The Fifth Circuit has interpreted this language to require a

"clear nexus between [the petitioner's] handicap and his

criminal act... ." Madden, 18 F.3d at 307: see also Jones,

A-55

hensreeereeeneieneenieeeersineseeeeertee

171 F.3d at 276; Boyd, 167 F.3d at 912; Turner, 106 F.3d at

1189; Harris, 81 F.3d at 539; Russell v. Collins, 998 F.2d

1287, 1292 (Sth Cir. 1993), cert. denied, 510 U.S. 1185

(1994).The nexus need not be precise; "at a minimum the

evidence must permit a rational jury to ‘infer that the crime is

attributable’ at least in part, to the defendant's background”

Russell; 998 F, 2d at 1292 (citing Graham v. Collins, 950

F.2d 1009, 1033 (Sth Cir. 1992)).

If mitigation evidence is relevant, the court must

determine whether the evidence was beyond the effective

reach of the jurors. A jury must be able to "consider in some

manner [the petitioner's] relevant mitigating evidence" under

Texas' sentencing scheme. Motley, 18 F.3d at 1235. The Fifth

Circuit has stated that

a "fair reading" of Penry, as it remains the law, was

that the Texas special issues place a defendant's

mitigating evidence beyond jurors’ effective reach

when that evidence can be given only aggravating

effect. That is, as long as a defendant's evidence can

be given mitigating effect in some way under the

Texas special issues, no additional instruction would

be constitutionally required.

Id. at 1234 (citing Johnson, 509 U.S. at 371). For federal

habeas relief to be available, there must be a reasonable

likelihood that the jury applied the Texas special issues in a

way that prevented consideration of the constitutionally

relevant mitigating evidence. See Lackey v. Scott, 28 F.3d

486, 489 (Sth Cir. 1994), cert. denied, 513 U.S. 1086 (1995).

The State can "structure" the jury's consideration of

mitigating evidence, provided it does not prevent the jury

from giving effect to any constitutionally relevant mitigating

evidence. See Buchanan v. Angelone, 522 U.S. 269, 276

(1998); Johnson, 509 U.S. at 362; Boyde v. California, 494

U.S. 370, 377 (1990).

A-56

The court will analayze the extent to which Smith's proffered

evidence constitutes "Penry-type evidence" beyond the scope

of the special issues.

a. Intoxication

Miniel argues that the jury could not consider his

intoxication and drug use on the night of the murder in the

context of the special issues. The Fifth Circuit has held that

"selfinflicted chronic drug and alcohol abuse and the resulting

arrested emotional development do not constitute a unique

handicap with which the defendant was burdened through no

fault of his own." Tucker v. Johnson, 115 F.3d 276, 282 (5th

Cir.), cert. denied. 522 U.S. 1017 (1997). Voluntary

intoxication does not constitute a "uniquely severe permanent

handicap." See Drew v. Collins, 964 F.2d 4] 1, 421 (Sth Cir.

1992), cert. denied, 509 U.S. 925 (1993). The Fifth Circuit

has repeatedly held that such factors may be considered

within the scope of Texas’ special issues. See West, 92 F.3d at

1405; Briddle v. Scott, 63 F.3d 364, 377 (5th Cir.), cert.

denied. 516 U.S. 1033 (1995) ; East v. Scott, 55 F.3d 996,

1007 (Sth Cir. 1995); Lackey 28 F.3d at 489; Nethery , 993

F.2d at 1161; James, 987 F.2d at ; 121-22; Drew, 964 F.2d

at 420-21; Bridge v. Collins, 963 F.2d 767, 769-70 (5th Cir.

1992) , cert. denied., 509 U.S. 925 (1993); Barnard v.

Collins, 958 F.2d 634, 638-39, (Sth Cir. 1992) , cert. denied,

506 U. S . 1057 (1993) ; Cordova v. Collins, 953 F.2d 167,

170 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 502 U.S. 1067 (1992) . Miniel's

evidence of drug abuse and intoxication was not Penry

evidence that could not have been considered by the jury in

the context of the special issues. The state habeas court's

denial of this claim was not contrary to, or an unreasonable

application of, federal law. See 28 U.S.C. § 2254 (d) (1).

b. Good behavior and religiosity

At the punishment phase, Miniel also presented

evidence of his good behavior while incarcerated and his

religious devotion. The Fifth Circuit has held that such

evidence may be considered within the context of the special

issues. See Turner, 106 F.3d at 1189; Nichols, 69 F.3d at

1267-68; James, 987 F.2d at 1121-22; Jernigan v. Collins,

980 F.2d 292, 295 (Sth Cir. 1992), cert. denied, 508 U.S. 978

(1993); Holland v. Collins, 962 F.2d 417, 419-20 (Sth Cir.

1992), c denied, 509 U.S. 925 (1993) ; Barnard, 958 F.2d at

638-39; Graham v. Collins, 950 F.2d 1009, 1032-33 (Sth Cir,

1992), aff'd, 506 U.S. 461 (1993). The Supreme Court has

expressly held that evidence of positive character traits has

"mitigating relevance to the second special issue concerning

his likely future dangerousness." Graham, 506 U.S. at 475.

The state court's rejection of this claim was not contrary to, or

an unreasonable application of , federal law. See 28 U. S. C.

§ 2254 (d) (1). Miniel' s mitigation evidence claims are

denied.

0. Unadjudicated Offenses

In issues eighteen and nineteen, Miniel argues that the

trial court erred in allowing the introduction of prior

unadjudicated offenses in the punishment phase. Miniel

argues that the equal protection clause prevents the

introduction of unadjudicated offenses because such evidence

is not allowed in non-capital trials. Miniel also argues that

due process requires that the jury be instructed that

unadjudicated offenses must be proven beyond a reasonable

doubt.

Miniel failed to lodge objections to the unadjudicated

offenses at trial. The state habeas court held that these claims

A-58

cert. denied, 513 U.S. 830 (1994). "Under the Texas death

penalty statute in effect at the time of [Miniel' s] conviction,

the jury answers the special issues 'yes' or 'no' and then the

trial court imposes the punishment that follows from those

answers ...." Montoya v. Scott, 65 F.3d 405, 421(Sth — Cir.

1995), cert. denied, 517 U.S. 1133 (1996); see also TEX.

CODE CRIM. Proc. art. 37. 071 (e).

At jury selection, the State informed the jury that the

trial court would impose a death sentence if they answered the

special issues in the affirmative. At the punishment phase,

both parties told the jury that "yes" answers would result in a

death sentence. The trial court informed the jury that

affirmative answers to the special issues would result in a

death sentence. See Trans. vol. I-A, at p. 335. There was no

suggestion that the jury should not act within its

responsibilities under Texas statutory law. Nothing in this

case detracted from the jury's ability to recognize "the gravity

of its task and [to] proceed[] with the appropriate awareness

of its 'truly awesome responsibility." Lowenfield, 484 U.S. at

258 (quoting Caldwell, 472 U.S. at 341). Accordingly, the

State court determination was not contrary to, or an

unreasonable application of, federal law.See 28 U.S.C. §

2254(d)(1).

ae Ineffective Assistance of Trial Counsel

In his first claim for relief, Miniel challenges his trial

counsel's performance on several grounds. Under the test

announced in Strickland v. Washington, a defendant asserting

ineffective assistance of counsel must prove that (1) counsel's

performance was deficient and (2) counsel's deficient

performance prejudiced the defense. 466 U.S. at 687. If the

petitioner makes an insufficient showing on one prong of the

test, the court need not address the other. See id. at 697. In

order to prevail a defendant must overcome a strong

presumption that counsel rendered adequate assistance and

A-59

ee

made decisions in the exercise of reasonable professional

judgment. See id. at 690-91. It is not enough that petitioner

allege a deficiency on the part of trial counsel. Instead, he

must affirmatively prove prejudice, id. at 692, and

demonstrate ineffectiveness by a preponderance of the

evidence. See Jerniagan, 980 F.2d at 296. The court will

discuss each of Miniel's ineffective assistance claims under

this standard.

1. Previously-addressed claims

The court has already addressed the underlying basis

for several of Miniel's ineffective assistance claims. The

court has already rejected the substantive claim that:(1) Mr.

O'Rourke should have been dismissed for cause; (2) the

State's law of the parties argument prejudiced him in the

punishment phase; (3) Miniel's Sixth Amendment rights were

violated by the cross-examination of Russell; and (4) the

State's legal mischaracterizations violated his constitutional

rights. The Court has also addressed trial counsel's action in

the context of the procedural bar analysis. For the reasons

already provided, Miniel's ineffective assistance claims based

on those arguments are also without merit. The state habeas

court's rejection of those ineffectiveness claims was not

contrary to, or an unreasonable application of, federal law.

See 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d)(1).

2. Failure to investigate and present_ mitigating

evidence

Miniel contends that trial counsel failed to investigate

and present viable mitigating evidence at the punishment

phase of trial. To protect against arbitrary and capricious

imposition of the death penalty, a capital punishment

sentencing scheme must allow the sentencing authority to

consider any mitigating circumstances. See Jurek, 428 U.S.

at 271 (stating that "in order to meet the requirement of the

A-60

Eighth and Fourteenth Amendments, a capital-sentencing

system must allow the sentencing authority to consider

mitigating circumstances"). A defense counsel's failure to

investigate and present mitigating evidence can amount to

ineffective assistance. See Terry Williams, 529 US. at 390;

Lockett v. Anderson, 230 F.3d 695, 711 (Sth Cir. 2000).

The Supreme Court has said that "counsel has a duty

to make reasonable investigations or to make a reasonable

decision that makes particular investigations unnecessary. In

evaluating an ineffectiveness claim, a particular decision not

to investigate must be directly assessed for reasonableness in

all the circumstances, applying a heavy measure of deference

to counsel's judgments." Strickland, 466 U.S. at 691.

"Notwithstanding the constitutional stature of appropriate

mitigating evidence in a capital case, counsel's failure to

develop or present mitigating background evidence is not per

se deficient performance." Moore v. Johnson, 194 F. 3d 586,

614 (Sth Cir. 1999); see also West, 92 F. 3d at 1408 ("The

failure to present a case in mitigation during the sentencing

phase of a capital murder trial is not, per se, ineffective

assistance of counsel."). The Fifth Circuit has held that the

"failure to present mitigating evidence if based on an

informed and reasoned practical judgment, is well within the

range of practical choices not to be second-guessed."

Wilkerson v. Collins, 950 F.2d 1054, 1065 (Sth Cir. 1992),

cert. denied, 509 U.S. 921 (1993) ; see also Moore, 194 F.

3d at 614; McCoy v. Lynaugh, 874 F.2d 954, 964 (Sth Cir.

1989) (finding that counsel's decision not to present

mitigating evidence is entitled to deference when based upon

informed and reasoned practical judgment).

In support of his claim that trial counsel failed to

uncover mitigating evidence, Miniel provides the affidavits of

A-61

several family members.” These affidavits chronicle Miniel’ s

home life. Miniel was the illegitimate child of Carmen Canto,

who allowed her sister's family to adopt him shortly after

birth. Until age ten, Miniel thought that he was born into his

adoptive family. When he found out that he had been

adopted, the other family members taunted him, and his

behavior changed for the worse. The affidavits speak of

Miniel's adoptive father as a violent alcoholic, who severely

beat his children, especially Miniel.

Miniel apparently had a stormy home life, in constant

contention with his adoptive parents and siblings. Miniel

began abusing drugs and alcohol at a very young age. The

affidavits note that Miniel had been involved in motor vehicle

accidents that profoundly affected him. The affidavits also

chronicle a history of suicidal behavior by the Miniel family.

Each of Miniel' s family members state that trial counsel only

spoke with them briefly. They state that counsel never talked

with them about testifying or asked them any questions about

Miniel.

Miniel also complains that trial counsel failed to

obtain psychological testing in order to acquire mitigating

evidence. In a "neurological and psychological evaluation"

prepared for the state habeas proceedings, there is a finding

that -Miniel suffers from "mild to moderate

neuropsychological brain impairment with _ significant

dysfunction in the frontal lobes," -(Docket Entry . No. 7,

Exhibit 28 at p. 10, Neurological and Psychological

Evaluation prepared by Dr. Robert Geffner and Ron Roberts)

* The affidavits are from Miniel' s adopted family (Docket

Entry No. 7, Exhibits 17-22, affidavits of Jesse Miniel,

Manuel Miniel, Maria Juana Miniel, Maria Socorro LeBlanc,

Mary Margaret Miniel, and John P. Miniel) and his natural

mother (Docket Entry No. 7, Exhibit 23, affidavit of Carmen

Cantu).

A-62

According to the report, this dysfunction caused Miniel to act

without thinking and rendered him unable to plan ahead.

Also, due to his brain dysfunction and "Post Traumatic Stress

Disorder" symptoms, Miniel acts with violence and cannot

control his impulses. The report also identifies that Miniel

may suffer neurological impairment from a variety of sources,

including his mother’s alcohol abuse while pregnant, and his

childhood injuries or abuse. The report indicates that "it is

possible that the conditions were present at the time of trial.

_ In the state habeas proceedings the State produced an

affidavit from trial counsel stating that he discussed

mitigation strategy with Miniel. See Ex parte Miniel, No.

450033-A, 1054-58, affidavit or Fred Heacock dated

February 4, 1999. Trial counsel stated that he never observed

any indication of mental health problems or retardation in his

client. When trial counsel asked Miniel about any history of

substance abuse, Miniel only referred to his substance abuse

at the scene of the crime. Trial counsel stated that he talked

with Miniel's family members before trial, including phone

conversations with his father. The family did not suggest to

trial counsel those areas of mitigating evidence reflected in

their affidavits. Trial counsel noted that Miniel's family was

present for only a portion of the trial, and they did not display

warm feelings toward Miniel. Trial counsel asked family

members to testify that Miniel should not receive a death

sentence, but they refused to do so. Trial counsel did not

subpoena family members to testify because "there was a

certain warmth missing in their feelings for Miniel and [he)

could not be sure of what they might say on cross-

examination." See Ex parte Miniel, No. 450033-A, at 1057,

affidavit of Fred Heacock dated February 4, 1999.

The state habeas court found trial counsel's affidavit to

be credible. See Ex parte Miniel, No. 450033-A, at 1177, q

22. The court found that Miniel was involved in all of the

strategic mitigation decisions. See id. Even though the

A-63

family members offered mitigating evidence in their

affidavits, the state habeas court noted that none of them

indicated that they would be available for trial and none were

present for the entirety of the trial. See id. at 1177, 1 25. The

habeas court found trial counsel's explanation that family

members did not act favorably toward Miniel and did not

want to be involved to be credible. See id. at 1177, 1 26.

The state habeas court concluded that Miniel had not shown

deficient performance or prejudice with respect to this claim.

See id. at 1189-90, 11 2-9. Specifically, the court noted that

Miniel had not shown that there were witnesses willing to

testify in his behalf or that their testimony would have

benefited the defense. See id. at 1190,4. Further, the court

held that trial counsel did not render ineffective assistance in

failing to have Miniel evaluated by a psychological expert.

See id. at 1190, 7. This court will review these findings and

conclusions under the AEDPA. See 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d)(1).

a. Deficient performance

The Strickland standard mandates that trial counsel's

decision not to present mitigating evidence be granted

deference when that decision is fully informed, strategic, and

expected to either generate some benefit or avoid some harm

to the defendant. See Moore, 194 F.3d at 614. In essence,

when available mitigating evidence is not presented, this

court will focus on the reason for the decision not to present

the evidence. Id. Whether a decision not to present any

evidence at sentencing constitutes ineffective counsel

assistance depends on whether the decision was based on an

informed and reasoned practical judgment. See Mattheson v.

King, 751 F.2d 1432, 1441 (Sth Cir. 1985), cert. dismissed,

475 U.S. 1138 (1986).

Trial counsel's affidavit demonstrates that he

consulted with his client concerning possible mitigating

evidence, but that his client did not provide a fruitful source

A-64

of mitigation. Miniel apparently did not indicate to counsel

that his family would provide mitigating evidence of

childhood abuse, chemical dependency, or other factors. Trial

counsel's affidavit demonstrates that he attempted to secure

assistance from Miniel's family, but that they were not

disposed to help. Even when requested by trial counsel to

plead for Miniel's life, most of his family members did not

even stay in Houston for the punishment phase of Miniel's

trial. While his family now _ recounts mitigating

circumstances, they do not state that they would have

presented such testimony in the punishment phase of trial, or

that they were even inclined to stay for the whole trial.

As for the psychological evidence, trial counsel stated

that there was no indication.of mental impairment on the part

of Miniel. The pretrial evaluation found him to be sane and

competent. Nothing in the record suggests that trial counsel

should have been alerted to potential mental deficiencies.

Even the report submitted in the state habeas proceedings

does not link any psychological impairment to the crime, nor

does it concede but a probability that Miniel suffered from

psychological impairment at the time of the offense or trial.

No deficiency is evident in trial counsel's failure to seek

psychiatric assistance.

"Even if we were to assume that his trial counsel

failed to make an adequate investigation, [Miniel] has failed

to show that counsel would have made a different decision

about trial strategy if they had investigated and amassed the

information contained in the affidavits of the proposed

witnesses." Lamb v. Johnson, 179 F.3d 352, 359 (Sth Cir.),

cert. denied, 528 U.S. 1013 (1999). Trial counsel's interaction

with Miniel's family did not provide a favorable impression of

how they would testify during the punishment phase. Trial

counsel was apparently concerned that on cross-examination

Miniel's family would not provide helpful testimony.

Moreover, trial counsel's strategy to present evidence of

A-65

reformation and religion could have been hampered by the

potential testimony, especially that of the psychologist

painting a picture of an uncontrollably and permanently

violent individual.

The state habeas court reasonably concluded that trial

counsel did not render deficient performance. The state

habeas court decision was not contrary to, or an unreasonable

application of, federal law. See 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d)(1).

b. Prejudice

Miniel's ineffective assistance claim also fails for a

lack of prejudice. A court must balance the evidence

presented at the punishment hearing against that which the

petitioner claims-should have been presented. See Ransom_v.

Johnson, 126 F. 3d 716, 723 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 522 U.S.

944 (1997). During the punishment phase of Miniel's trial,

the State introduced evidence of many prior offenses

committed by Miniel in Illinois, including aggravated battery

from beating his girlfriend, see Trans. vol. 28, at pp. 35, 59;

another charge of aggravated battery where Miniel beat

someone with numchucks, see Trans. vol. 28, at pp. 42-43;

two unlawful-use-of-weapons charges, see Trans. vol. 28, at

pp. 37-38; a retail theft charge, see Trans. vol. 28, at p. 47;

and a charge of disorderly conduct, see Trans. vol. 28, at p.

48. The State also presented evidence of Miniel's poor parole

history. See Trans. vol. 28, at pp. 37-38, 48-49. The State

demonstrated that Miniel did not have a reputation as a

peaceful and law-abiding person. See Trans. vol. 28, at pp.

45, 63, 71.

When comparing Miniel's violent history, including

the horrific manner in which he killed Manier, with the

potential testimony that centered on childhood abuse and

substance abuse, there is no reasonable probability that the

jury would have answered the special issues in a different

A-66 a

manner. Specifically, Miniel's past violent behavior would

overwhelm any of the proposed mitigating evidencé~ in

determining future dangerousness. In sum, the proposed

mitigation evidence "would have had little mitigating effect

against the evidence . . . ." Lamb, 179 F.3d at 360. Miniel has

failed to present "evidence of sufficient quality and force to

raise a reasonable probability that, had it been presented to

the jury, a life sentence would have resulted." See Andrews v.

Collins, 21 F.3d 612, 624 (Sth Cir. 1994), cert—denied, 513

U.S. 1114 (1995). ~

Furthermore, the evidence presented in the family

affidavits is not unequivocally mitigating. There is no

prejudice to a defendant when counsel fails to present

evidence that would have been detrimental to the defense.

See Ransom, 126 F.3d at 724; Cockrum v. Johnson, 119 F.3d

297, 304 (Sth Cir. 1997) (failure to investigate mitigating

evidence did not prejudice the defendant -- -because of the

=double-edged nature of the evidence) :". [E] vidence a

defendant's abuse-filled, violent upbringing and abuse of

drugs and alcohol frequently can be 'double-edged."" Williams

v. Cain 125 F.3d 269, 278 (Sth Cir. 1997), cert. denied, 525

U.S. 859 (1998).

Miniel's mitigating evidence may have harmed his

defense. For instance, Miniel's sister reveals that at the time

of his arrest Miniel confronted the police with a shotgun, only

lowering the weapon in response to her pleas. (Docket Entry

No. 7, Exhibit 19 at p. 17) Also, the accidents that some

members pointed to as deeply impacting ~Miniel's life

occurred as a result of intoxication. (Docket Entry No. 7,

Exhibit 19 at p. 17) Additionally, the affidavits recognize that

Miniel had opportunities to seek help for his substance

dependency, but did not avail himself of those opportunities.

(Docket Entry No. 7, Exhibit 17 at p. 7) Likewise, the

psychological evidence about Miniel's violent tendencies may

have confirmed his future danger to society.

A-67

The state court determination that trial counsel did not

render ineffective assistance in failing to present mitigating

evidence is not contrary to, or an unreasonable application of,

federal law. See 28 U.S.C. S 2254(d)(1).

3. Confession of quilt during closing

Pointing to trial counsel's statements in closing -

arguments, Miniel argues that trial counsel conceded his guilt,

guaranteeing that he would be convicted of capital murder.

However, trial counsel's obvious strategy in closing was to

turn the jury's anger away from his client and onto Russell.

Trial counsel faced an understandably difficult decision. The

State produced strong evidence indicating that Miniel killed

Manier, including testimony about Miniel's own confession.

Sensing the strength of the State's case, trial counsel decided

to focus on seeking a comparable.

A-68

NO. 450033-A

EX PARTE § IN THE 337th DISTRICT COURT

§ OF

PETER MINIEL,

aka PETER HERNANDEZ

Applicant § HARRIS COUNTY, TEXAS

RESPONDENT'S PROPOSED FINDINGS OF FACT,

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW AND ORDER ~

Having reviewed the applicant's application for writ of

habeas corpus, the Respondent's Original Answer, and the

official court documents, the Court makes the following

findings of fact and conclusions of law:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Peter Miniel, the applicant, was convicted by a jury for the

capital murder of Paul Manier in cause number 450033, in the

337th District Court of Harris County, Texas. After the jury

affirmatively answered the special issues, the trial court

sentenced the applicant to death.

2. The Court of Criminal Appeals affirmed the applicant's

conviction in an opinion delivered January 22,1992. Méiniel

v. State, 831 S.W.2d 310 (1992).

3. On October 5, 1992, the United States Supreme Court

denied the applicant's petition for wnt of certiorari. Miniel v.

Texas, 506 U.S. 885 (1992).

4. The Honorable Johnny Kolenda presided over the instant

trial.

A-69

5. Defense counsel Fred Heacock was appointed on

December 4, 1986 to represent the applicant as lead counsel

in the instant trial. Al Thom was appointed as co-counsel on

December 23, 1986.

Findings of Fact - First Ground for Relief:

6. Applicant's co-defendant, James Russell was arrested on

May 22, 1986 and on that same date gave a written statement

to the police. Respondent's Original Answer, Exhibit A.

7. The State called James Russell as a witness in the guilt/

innocence phase of the applicant's trial wherein Russell

testified that the applicant told him that he thought the

complainant had money and that they should rob the

complainant after Rogers went to bed; that Russell was not in

favor of robbing the complainant; that the applicant wanted

Russell to tell the complainant that they had some cocaine in

the car and Russell would get the cocaine; that it was the

applicant's idea to knock the complainant unconscious and

rob him; that the applicant and complainant were in the

bedroom when Russell returned from the car; that, while the

complainant cleaned a mirror for the cocaine, the applicant hit

the complainant in the back of the head with a beer mug; that

the applicant wanted the complainant dead so that he could

rob him; that, after the applicant stabbed the complainant and

tried to cut the complainant's throat, the applicant told Russell

to get the stereo; that Russell left the bedroom, and the

applicant came out of the bedroom two to five minutes later;

that Russell left because he was afraid of the applicant and

thought the applicant would kill him on the morning after the

instant offense; that Russell was arrested in Brookshire,

Texas, on May 22, 1986; that Russell cooperated with the

police and gave a written confession; that Russell helped the

police recover the knife; that Russell plead guilty to the

instant offense on August 19,1987; that Russell had been in

prison since December 30, 1987; that Russell pled guilty in

A-70

the instant case for fifty years in prison and to testify against

the applicant; and, that Russell plead guilty because he was

scared (R. XXV - 92-94, 104-106,119-122).

8. The applicant also gave a taped statement to the police on

May 22,1986 wherein he states that he and Russell discussed

robbing the complainant prior to the complainant's murder.

Respondent's Original Answer, Exhibit B.

9. The Court finds based on a review of the statement of facts

of the instant case, Applicant's Amended Petition for Post-

Conviction Relief and Respondent's Original Answer, that

applicant's codefendant James Russell's recantation in his

1993 statement conflicts with his May 22, 1986 statement, the

bulk of his trial testimony and the applicant's own taped

statement.

10. Based on the credible assertions in the affidavits filed by

Ira Jones, Jim Lindeman and applicant's trial counsel, Fred.

Heacock, the court finds that the State did not withhold any

exculpatory evidence in violation of Brady v. Maryland, 373

U.S. 83 (1963). Respondent's Original Answer, Exhibit C, D

and E, Affidavits of Ira Jones, Jim Lindeman, and Fred

Heacock.

11. The Court further finds based on the credible assertions in

these affidavits, that there is no evidence to support Russell's

claim that he was threatened or coerced into testifying against

the applicant in the instant trial by anyone. Respondent's

Original Answer, Exhibit C D and E, Affidavits of Ira Jones,

Jim Lindeman, and Fred Heacock.

Findings o f Fact - Second Ground

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.