Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Garrison v. Cassens Transport Co.

Supreme Court brief2004

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

03 8s98 DEC 2 2003.

| OFFICE OE THE CLERK

No. f

In the

Supreme Court of the United States

DAVID L. GARRISON,

Petitioner,

V.

CASSENS TRANSPORT COMPANY,

Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari

to the United States Court of Appeals

for the Sixth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Davip J. MOEN

Counsel of Record

Moen & VALENTINE, LLC

613 East McCarty STREET

JEFFERSON City, MO 65101

(573) 636-5997

Counsel for Petitioner

Becker Gallagher Legal Publishing, Inc.

800.890.5001

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Should this Court’s test for breach of the union’s duty of

fair representation be enlarged or clarified so that

employees working under collective bargaining

agreements have a right to a fair and honest hearing in the

grievance process, OF should the test announced by the

Sixth Circuit be used which focuses on whether the

_ outcome was irrational? ~

2. Did the Sixth Circuit err by failing to apply the correct

standard of review for a Rule 50 motion where the court

failed to list or consider relevant facts advanced by the

non-movant and failed to draw reasonable inferences in

favor of the non-moving party?

3. Did the Sixth Circuit err in Garrison’s case because it

applied the wrong legal standard for breach of the duty of

fair representation in the grievance process by relying on

Airline Pilots Ass’n Int’l v. O’Neil, which involved the

decision to settle a strike; and in doing so, did the Sixth

— Circuit fail to use the correct legal standard for breach of

the duty of fair representation in the grievance process as

required by Hines v. Anchor Motor Freight, Inc.?

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING AND

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

The parties to the proceeding are set forth in the case

caption. Petitioner was the plaintiff in the District Court and

respondent in the Court of Appeals. Respondent Cassens

Transport Company is a private business corporation.

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Questions Presented ........... 2c ee eeceeeces i

Parties to the Proceeding

and Corporation Disclosure Statement ...........-. ii

EE eee eee ili

pO Ea a ee Vii

NIE IO nw ce ecw reeves 1

Semberment OF FUTISGICHION 2... ww ce eee 1

Statutory Provisions Involved............-+-++:. 1

ee ee 2

Reasons for Granting the Petition ............... 10

I. Review Is Warranted to Clarify or Enlarge the

Existing Standard for Breach of the Duty of Fair

Representation So That the Right of the Employee

to a Fair and Honest Hearing Is Not Violated, and

So That the Finality Provisions of LMRA, Section

301 Operate as Congress Intended, Thereby

Reducing the Need for the Employee to File a

See ere eee ee 10

iii

II. Respondent Is Not Entitled to a Judgment as a

Matter of Law Because the Sixth Circuit

Applied the Wrong Legal Standard to Review

a Rule 50 Motion by Failing to Even List or

Consider Relevant Facts that Plaintiff

Presented at Trial and Advanced in His Brief

Showing that the Union was Guilty of Bad

Faith, and By Failing to Draw Reasonable

Inferences in Favor of the Non-Moving Party

ee ee eee isu Wwewee en see

III. The Sixth Circuit Decision in Garrison’s Case

Must Be Reversed Because it Applied the

Wrong Legal Standard for Breach of the Duty

of Fair Representation in the Grievance

Process by relying on Airline Pilots Ass’n

Int’l vy. O’Neil, Which Involved the Decision

to Settle a Strike, When it Should have Relied

on Hines v. Anchor Motor Freight, Inc.,

Which Established the Standard for Breach of

the Local Union’s Duty to Represent the

Employee in the Grievance Process ...... 26

I oh ote cet oe ote sated vena canes 30

iV

Appendix

Appendix A

July 7, 2003, Judgment from the 6" Circuit Court

of Appeals, together with text publication ....... la

Appendix B

September 5, 2003, Order of the 6 Circuit

le iat re a rere er eee 3a

Appendix C

August 2, 2001, Amended Judgment of the

Middle District of Tenmesace .... 0. 6 ee ees 3la

Appendix D

Selected portions of the National Master

Automobile Transporters Agreement (NMATA)

for the period of May 22, 1995, thru

MN 24, SORE 6h eee eee eee 34a

Appendix E

Avon Lake Decision of 1992 ............... 43a

Appendix F

Transcript of Testimony given at the grievance

hearing for David Garrison at Dana Point in

POV, T9ee ss + vs Sb kaa eee 50a

Appendix G

Pages 86-89, 189-192, 238-239, 247-250, 393-394,

474-475, 492-493 transcript of the testimony given

in the District Court with respect to testimony by

Jimmy Neal, Bill Nance, Joe Clark and

Bo a errr re 54a

Appendix H

Dana Point Decision of 1996 ............... 77a

Appendix I

Pages 808 to 815 of the July 12, 2001, Transcript.

This consists of the District Court Ruling on

Defendant’s Rule 50 Motion ............... 8la

Appendix J

Illustration of the “Footstool of Integrity” ...... 89a

Appendix K

Negotiating Committee Members of the National

Master Automobile Transporters Agreement

and the Central and Southern Area

supplemental Agreement ..... 0.22 cc cee en’ 93a

Appendix L

Pages 741 to 743, and p. 746 of the July 12,

2001, transcript of the testimony given in the

District Court. This consists of pertinent

er A. fg ok a ee eee ee 10la

Appendix M

Chronological List of conduct constituting bad

faith breach of the duty of fair representation

(DFR) in Garrison v. Cassens ............. 105a

Appendix N

Se 8 err 116a

V1

Appendix O

Decision from the St. Petersburg Committee

Hepmines Of Tameaty, 1995 . 02. cece cee 119a

Appendix P

Hearing Room Diagram

Dana Point California 1996............... 122a

Vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Airline Pilots Association International v. O’Neil

ree are ae 26-30

Ford Motor Co. v. Huffman ;

SGP Gi SPRUE 6 6 er teeter eee ernns 11, 27

Hines v. Anchor Motor Freight, Inc..,

Re re ee rer passim

Humphrey v. Moore

jn ki Me 7). ers are ara 10

Litle v. Household Mfg., Inc.

SPS UD. DUPONT 66 ep tee eters seeeses 25

Reeves v. Sanderson Plumbing Products, Inc.

SO es TEP ne eh bree eee ne sees tes 25

United Steelworkers of America v. American Mfg. Co.,

ee et er ee pe pe eer 10

Vaca v. Sipes

Pe at 0 ee oi eka eee 11, 18

Statutes:

Se ES) ke ol pa eae ee eo 1

Se Ste ES ke ho ee FD Ke Rn ee 1

APs OR acs aie ho ee ee l

Vill

OPINIONS BELOW

The July 7, 2003, Panel Opinion of the United States Sixth

Circuit Court of Appeals is reported at 334 F.3d 528 (6" Cir.

2003), and reprinted at App. 5a - 30a. The Panel reversed the

Entry of Judgment upon the jury verdict. App. 33a.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The Sixth Circuit denied a timely filed petition for

rehearing on September 5, 2003. App. 2a. Petitioner invokes

this Court’s jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

28 U.S.C. § 2191 provides:

The courts of appeals (other than the United States

Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit) shall have

jurisdiction of appeals from all final decisions of the

district courts of the United States, the United States

District Court for the District of the Canal Zone, the

District Court of Guam, and the District Court of the

Virgin Islands, except where a direct review may be

had in the Supreme Court. The jurisdiction of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit

shall be limited to the jurisdiction described in sections

1291(c) and (d) and 1295 of this title.

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Section 301 of LMRA, 29 U.S.C. § 185(a):

(a) Venue, amount, and citizenship

Suits for violation of contracts between an employer

and a labor organization representing employees in an

industry affecting commerce as defined in this chapter,

or between any such labor organizations, may be

brought in any district court of the United States

having jurisdiction of the parties, without respect to

ee RS. AS Bias

eee coon en

the amount in controversy or without regard to the

citizenship of the parties.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Beginning in 1980, David Garrison was employed as a

Carhaul truck driver in the automobile transportation business

for Auto Convoy, Inc./Allied Systems Limited (“Allied”).

Garrison was a member of Teamsters Local 327 which is

affiliated with the International Brotherhood of Teamsters,

Chauffeurs and Warehousemen and Helpers of America

(IBT). Local 327 is the exclusive bargaining representative.

Local 327 and the employers are signatories to the National |

Master Automobile Transporters Agreement (NMATA) and - |

the Central Southern Area Supplemental Agreement. (“the |

contract”). When disputes arise over the contract, they are |

submitted to the National Automobile Transporters Joint |

Arbitration Committee (“Arbitration Committee”) or the

National Joint Standing Seniority Committee (“National

Seniority Committee”). The contract provides that:

Seniority, including for fringe benefits, shall only be

broken by discharge, voluntary quit, more than a

seven (7) year lay off.... App. 36a.

Routinely automobile manufacturers transfer business

traffic from one signatory company to another. As a result,

Article 5, Section 4 and 5 of the contract address the seniority

issues that arise under these circumstances. In 1992, the

Arbitration Committee issued a decision to Cassens Transport

Company involving the dovetailing of two separate seniority

lists. App. 43a. At the hearing involving both Cassens

Transport Company (“Cassens”) and E & L Transport

Company (E & L), Cassens asked for clarification on a

seniority issue in what has become known as the “Avon Lake

Decision of 1992.” Cassens needed to know how long the

company was obligated to hold seniority for an E & L driver

Reo eters aren eee a anes

who was presently on leave of absence due to an on-the-job

injury. The Arbitration Committee held that the employee on

workers’ compensation who elected to transfer to Cassens was

to be dovetailed with the seniority list:

With regards to the E & L employee on workers’

compensation who has elected to transfer to Cassens,

he is deemed as transferred and will hold seniority at

Avon Lake and will be permitted to assume an active

position upon his release from compensation status.

App. 48a.

Under the contract, decisions by the National Arbitration

Committee are final and binding. App. 39a. Once an

employee’s name is on a seniority list, it doesn’t matter that

the employee is not able to present himself for work.

Seniority is not lost absent discharge, voluntary quit or more

than seven year layoff.

_ In 1994, while Garrison was off work because of a work-

related injury, Nissan Motors took Allied’s traffic and

assigned it to Cassens and/or Commercial Carriers. The

Arbitration Committee held that Article 5, Section 4(c) was

applicable, and accordingly, the Allied drivers were to keep

their terminal seniority and Allied’s seniority list was to be

dovetailed with Cassens and Commercials seniority list at the

Smyrna, Tennessee terminal. App. 7a and 8a. Garrison, and

other drivers working for Allied, were notified that they could

elect to follow the work to either Cassens or Commercial.

Garrison, notified Allied and Local 327 that he elected to

follow the work to Cassens. App. 9a. Garrison’s election to

follow the work to Cassens was acknowledged by Cassens’

terminal manager, Jim Firkus, who signed Garrison’s letter of

election “received” on November 10, 1994. However, Firkus

did not place Garrison’s name on the seniority list as he

should have done as required by the Arbitration Committee

and the Avon Lake Decision of 1992. App. 9a; and 48a.

In January of 1995, Local 327 appeared before the

National Arbitration Committee in St. Petersburg, Florida and

reported that the list of Allied employees who elected to

follow the work to Cassens and Commercial was complete,

and that all names had been dovetailed as ordered by the

Arbitration Committee. App. 5la - 53a. Local 327 was

wrong. Garrison’s name was not on the Cassens’ seniority list

in January of 1995. There were other Local 327 members

who were off work with work-related injuries and their names

were dovetailed with the Cassens’ seniority list. App. 55a -

58a, testimony of Neal; App. 59a - 62a., testimony of Nance.

In June, 1996, Garrison obtained a medical release from

his doctor permitting him to return to work. That day he

contacted Cassens and was told by the assistant terminal

manager that his name was not on the seniority list. He

subsequently spoke to Firkus, the terminal manager, and was

again told that his name was not on the seniority list. Firkus

stated he didn’t remember ever being notified that Garrison

wanted to follow the work to Cassens. Garrison then went to

Nashville, Tennessee and spoke with Jimmy Neal, Local

327's business agent, and David Hodgin, the president of

Local 327. App. 9a and 10a. Neal told Garrison that he

would arrange for a meeting with terminal manager Firkus the

next day so that Garrison could discuss with Firkus his return

to work. The next morning, Neal left Garrison waiting at the

motel for Neal to call him, while Neal met secretively with

Firkus. When Garrison learned that Neal was meeting secretly

with Firkus, he immediately went to Cassens’ terminal. When

he got there, Neal had already left. Upon his return, Firkus

met with Garrison and Neal but would not agree to put

Garrison back to work. App. 70a - 71a, testimony of

Garrison.

The following day, Garrison obtained the letters signed by

Firkus acknowledging Garrison’s election to follow the work

to Cassens. He confronted Firkus. Firkus stated that his

Signature was a forgery. Garrison offered to pay to have the

letter examined by a handwriting expert. Firkus then admitted

that it was his signature on the letter. App. 10a. Garrison filed

a grievance stating that he properly notified Cassens of his

election to follow the work. Neal told Garrison that his case

was a “slam dunk.” App. 10a. In June, 1996, a local hearing

was held in Smyrna, Tennessee. At that time Joe Clark,

Cassens’ labor relations manager, falsely stated that Cassens

was never notified of Garrison’s desire to follow the work,

and that Garrison didn’t have a valid medical release.

Garrison did have a proper medical release and had already

obtained a DOT physical. He drove a tractor-trailer to the

local hearing in Smyrna, Tennessee. App. 64a, testimony of

Garrison.

Garrison’s grievance was referred to the next level of

arbitration and was docketed at the Southern Area Automobile

Transporters Grievance Committee for hearing in August of

1996 in New Orleans, Louisiana. Garrison did not attend this

proceeding because Neal said he would be there to represent

Garrison and that his presence was not necessary. In New

Orleans, Clark, on behalf of Cassens, presented to Neal a new

claim that there was an alleged 30-day rule that caused the

loss of Garrison’s seniority. App. 11a. |

' In the Avon Lake Decision of 1992, the Arbitration Committee

required Cassens to place injured drivers on its dovetailed seniority

list, irrespective of any time requirement. The contract guarantees

that seniority can only be broken by discharge, voluntary quit, or

layoff of more than 7 years. The Arbitration Committee at Avon

Lake in 1992 stated the employee was deemed transferred and

5

After the New Orleans hearing, Neal did not tell Garrison

of Cassens’ new claim that there was an alleged 30-day rule

that caused the loss of his seniority. The case was not

resolved in New Orleans and was docketed for the November

5, 1996 proceeding before the National Seniority Committee

in Dana Point, California. App. 11a, 12a.

In preparing for this final grievance hearing at Dana Point,

California, Garrison focused exclusively on trying to prove

that he notified Cassens of his intentions to follow the work

and that he had a proper medical release. Neal led him to

believe these were the claims Cassens was advancing to deny

him the right to make a living on Cassens’ list. Garrison

forwarded to Neal prior to the Dana Point hearing a 10 page

written statement with 28 exhibits. Neal reviewed the

presentation and told Garrison that it was complete and that it

was the best presentation he had ever seen. Nothing in the

presentation, however, referred to the false 30-day rule Clark

raised two months earlier in the August grievance hearing in

New Orleans, Louisiana. App. 12a. When Garrison arrived

at Dana Point, he met with Neal to discuss the case. Neal had

not conducted any research in Garrison’s behalf. At this point

Neal had not provided Garrison with even one slip of paper to

help Garrison with his case. Neither did Neal share with

Garrison any strategy for his case. Neal withheld from

Garrison Cassens’s new strategy of using a secret 30-day rule

to defeat his grievance, App. 12a., while at the same time

Neal told Garrison that Garrison’s grievance preparation was

complete. Neal led Garrison to believe he had a “slam

dunk”.

would hold his seniority until he recovered and could assume an

active position with Cassens. App. 47a.

6

Fn nnbncnnnmae Lak |

As Garrison and Neal were leaving the hotel at Dana

Point, Clark walked up to Neal in the parking lot of the hotel

and said “Jimmy I got some documents for Garrison’s case.”

Neal took the documents and handed them to Garrison. Neal

said “What do you think, Dave?” Garrison was dumbfounded

that Neal would expect him_to have an opinion about

Committee decisions he had never seen or heard of before. He

didn’t know how they applied to his case. App. 65a - 69a,

testimony of Garrison. Neal said nothing about the false 30-

day rule to Garrison, even after the documents were handed

to him at Dana Point. Garrison later read the Committee

decisions advanced by Clark and felt that none of them

applied to the dovetailing of a seniority list under Article 5,

Section 4(c). Neal did not reveal Cassens’ real motive for

advancing the seven decisions, that it was the 30-day rule

“contained” in the seven decisions which was Cassens’ hidden

agenda. :

When the hearing started at Dana Point, Local 327 went

first. Neal read “the cause” portion of Garrison’s grievance,

which Garrison had prepared, into the record. Garrison then

read his ten page written statement. Garrison’s written

statement, of course, did not address the false 30-day rule.

App. 12a. The employer went next and Clark argued on

behalf of Cassens that Garrison did not comply with the

alleged 30-day rule. Clark handed the National Seniority

Committee members seven written Committee decisions.

Clark testified that Cassens didn’t have any obligation to

Garrison “under the procedures and decisions previously

rendered by the committee.” App. 13a. Clark repeatediy

blamed Local 327 for telling this Committee in January of

1995 that the list was complete. Clark argued that it was the

local union’s fault Garrison’s name was not on the list. App.

Sla - 53a.

a

After Cassens presented its case, Local 327 was.given the

opportunity to rebut Cassens’ case, but Neal completely failed

to say anything coherent. Neal said nothing about what he

knew to be true. Neal didn’t point out that other Local 327

employees who were off on workers’ compensation status did

not lose their seniority after 30 days. Neal failed to say he

knew there was no 30-day rule in the contract that applied to

terminal seniority. Neal let Cassens’ fake 30-day rule go

unchallenged. Garrison tried to put forth the only argument in

his defense by stating that he didn’t believe any 30-day rule

applied, and that his seniority rights were protected under the

contract. App. 12a and 13a.

After Garrison’s attempt at rebuttal, one of the National

Seniority Committee members asked Neal if he had anything

to say on Garrison’s behalf. Neal responded: “No sir, I

don’t, I think you’ve got the case.” App. 13a, 14a. After

Neal’s lame response, Clark, on behalf of Cassens, more

forcefully argued his fake 30-day rule, stating that Garrison

lost all of his terminal seniority rights. Clark falsely claimed

that prior National Seniority Committee decisions involving

this same situation state that employees off work because of

on-the-job injury lose their seniority. Clark never mentioned

the Avon Lake Decision of 1992.” Cassens succeeded with the

Committee because the union presented no evidence or

argument, and had no interest in helping Garrison. Following

the hearing, the National Seniority Committee decided that

Garrison’s terminal seniority was extinguished, holding that

based on prior decisions of the Committee an employee has to

make himself available to work within 30 days or lose his

right to do so. App. 14a. The Committee decision effectively

* The Sixth Circuit concluded that Avon Lake Decision of 1992 was

the only relevant prior Committee decision. App. 14a, 15a.

8

exonerated Local 327 and Cassens of any wrongdoing. App.

79a - 80a.

Garrison brought suit in the District Court against Cassens

for a breach of the collective bargaining agreement, and

against Local 327 for breach of its duty to represent him.

Prior to trial in the District Court, Garrison voluntarily

dismissed Local 327. The case was tried to a jury in what is

commonly called a hybrid 301 action, which requires that

Garrison prove that the employer breached the contract and

that the local union beached its duty of fair representation.

App. 16a. The jury found in favor of Garrison and awarded

Garrison $408,885 in compensatory damages, and allocated

75% of the fault to Cassens. The jury also awarded $500,000

in punitive damages against Cassens. The District Court

denied Cassens’ motion under Rule 50, stating in detail the

evidence which showed Local 327 acted in bad faith and was

arbitrary. App. 81a - 87a. The District Court entered a final

judgment affirming the jury’s'verdict and ordered Garrison to

be reinstated to his employment with Cassens. Cassens

refused to put Garrison back to work and was found in

Contempt by the District Court. Cassens appealed to the

Sixth Circuit. The panel of judges assigned to the case

reversed the District Court, holding that there was insufficient

evidence that the local union’s conduct was arbitrary, but

offered no discussion or opinion as to conduct constituting bad

faith. App. 26a and 27a.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

I. Review is Warranted to Clarify or-Enlarge the Existing

Standard for Breach of the Duty of Fair

Representation so that the Right of the Employee to a

Fair * and Honest‘ Hearing is not Violated, and so that

the Finality Provisions of LMRA, Section 301 Operate

as Congress Intended, Thereby Reducing the Need for

the Employee to File a Federal Lawsuit.

Section 301 of the Labor Management Relations Act,

1947, (LMRA) provides for suit by employees in federal

court for breach of contract. Hines v. Anchor Motor Freight,

Inc. , 424 U.S. 554 (1976). The collective-bargaining contract

at issue contains procedures for the settlement of disputes

through the grievance process. App. 40a. These provisions

are among those which are to be enforced under §301 of the

LMRA. United Steelworkers of America v. American Mfg.

Co.363 U.S. 564, 569 (1960). In the grievance process, the

union may not refuse to press or only perfunctorily press the

individual employee’s claim. Humphrey v. Moore 375 U.S.

335 (1953).Where the union actually utilizes the grievance

process on behalf of the employee, the focus is on whether the

employer breached the contract and whether there is

substantial reason to believe that the union’s breach of duty

contributed to the erroneous outcome of the grievance. The

decision of a final arbitration committee is reviewable and

vulnerable if tainted by a breach of duty on the part of the

union. Hines, at 568.

> “Having the qualities of impartiality and honesty; free from

prejudice, favoritism, and self-interest. Black’s Law Dictionary, 5"

Ed.

* “Free from fraud or deception: legitimate, truthful. Merriam

Webster Dictionary

10

The grievance process cannot be expected to be error free.

There will be occasional mistakes,

“But it is quite another matter to Suggest that

€rroneous arbitration decisions must stand even though

the employee’s representation by the union has been

dishonest, in bad faith, or discriminatory; for in that

event error and injustice of the grossest sort would

multiply. The contractual System would then cease to

qualify as an adequate mechanism to secure individual

redress for damaging failure of the emplo er to abide

by the contract. Congress has put its blessing on

private dispute settlement arrangements provided in

collective-bargaining agreements, but it was

anticipated, we are sure, that the contractual machine

would operate with some minimum levels of

integrity.” Hines, at 571. (Emphasis added by

Petitioner)

The union as Statutory representative of the employee is

always subject to complete good faith and honesty of purpose

in the exercise of its discretion. Id. citing Ford Motor Co. y.

Huffman 345 U.S. 330, 338 (1944). Oversight is necessary

by federal courts in order to prevent arbitrary union conduct

against individuals stripped of traditional forms of redress by

the provisions of federal labor law. Id. citing Vaca v. Sipes,

386 U.S. 171, 182 (1967).

This Court should determine under what circumstances the

individual employee may obtain judicial review of his breach

of contract claim where he has been denied relief to which he

is entitled under the contract after grievance procedures are

exhausted. In our case, the arbitration committee that decided

Garrison’s grievance was the National Seniority Committee.

Its decisions, according to the contract, are final. For this

Court to allow the bar of finality to foreclose employees from

11

asserting their individual claims for breach of contract, there

must be a minimum level of integrity in the grievance process.

Under this Court’s prior decisions that minimum level of

integrity is met where the union’s conduct was not arbitrary,

discriminatory or in bad faith. For over 40 years this test has

been the threshold for removing the bar of finality. The test

is crucial to the effective administration of LMRA as

Congress intended.

The Sixth Circuit’s permutation of this test is not

workable. A focus on “extreme arbitrariness” or “totally

irrational” in the context of a grievance hearing steers the

court away from the goal. The focus must be on the

mechanism used to enforce the contract. Hines at 571. The

present. incarnation of the test needs to be clarified or

expanded to include a review of the process afforded the

grievant in his grievance hearing. Cassens intentionally

breached the contract and Local 327 did nothing to assist the

employee in the grievance. But because the union was

“merely negligent” according to the Sixth Circuit, there was

no breach of the duty of fair representation. Under this

standard, the employer may be guilty of grave misconduct by

intentionally breaching the contract and yet not be responsible

for damaging the employee because the union was not

extremely arbitrary and irrational. Under this test, error and

injustice of the grossest sort is allowed to occur. Without a

fair and honest hearing, there is no way to enforce the

contract and there is no minimum level of integrity in the

process.

In its application of the test for breach of duty of fair

representation, the Sixth Circuit makes much of its view that

union representatives are not strictly held to the standard of

attorneys. This appears to be the law in the Sixth Circuit.

Presumably then the standard in the Sixth Circuit is that union

representatives are held to the standard of a “reasonable

12

man.” Under this standard, a reasonable person representing

an employee in a grievance process could do absolutely

nothing for the employee and be guilty of mere negligence.

A reasonable person, according to the Sixth Circuit, withholds

information needed by the grievant, and is guilty only of an

“error of judgment.” If that truly is the law, then the

standard needs to be modified to focus on the process: Did

Neal take reasonable steps to help Garrison have a fair

hearing? If not, he breached his duty.

The union, as the employee’s exclusive representative, is

responsible to assure a fair and honest hearing. The employee

is barred from wielding power himself in the grievance

process, and must get help from the local union. The

employee, pursuant to the contract, abrogates his individual

rights to represent himself.

Petitioner suggests that the three part test for breach of

duty of fair representation include analysis of whether the

employee gets a fair and honest hearing. A fair and honest

hearing requires at a minimum: (1) that the employee have

access to essential information in the grievance process; (2)

the contractual grievance procedures for the hearing must be

followed; (3) the local union must advocate for the employee.

This test focuses on the process, not magnitude of the blame

for a wrong outcome. Petitioner analogizes this test to a three

legged footstool. When all three legs are in place, the

footstool is balanced and there is a fair and honest hearing,

and the integrity of the process will be maintained. App. 89a -

92a.

The present permutation of this court’s test leads to

injustice where the union’s failure to do anything (mere

negligence?) results in a sham hearing by not assuring there

is a fair and honest process. The phrase “mere negligence”

has come to be a measure of whether the court believes a

13

union actually influenced the outcome. That is a factor, but it

is a separate factor. The test should focus on the union’s duty

to facilitate the process rather than being a defacto inquiry

into whether the merits were decided correctly. The test has

degenerated to the point that union’s and employers believe

the courts will not seriously examine their actions and

decisions. In the real world, the union believes it is free to do

nothing to represent the employee and the employer can

willfully and intentionally breach the contract. Judging by the

Garrison case in the Sixth Circuit, they are correct. Under the

Sixth Circuit’s test, the local union is not even responsible to

give the employee information in its possession that would

help the employee win. Neal didn’t inform Garrison of the

reason advanced against him, or that other injured members

of Local 327 were not held to a 30-day rule.

Cassens was involved in a prior grievance that resulted in

the Avon Lake Decision of 1992. App. 43a. The Committee

decided the exact same issue with respect to Cassens at Avon

Lake in 1992 that arose in Garrison’s situation in 1994. In the

Avon Lake Decision of 1992, the Committee determined that

employees on workers’ compensation status retained their

seniority until they were able to return to work. The Avon

Lake Decision affirms the seniority protection guaranteed in

the contract. In the Avon Lake Decision of 1992, Cassens was

ordered to keep an employee on the seniority list. However,

in 1994 Cassens refused to keep an injured man’s name on the

list: Garrison. Had Neal pointed out the Avon Lake Decision

of 1992 to the National Seniority Committee, the result would

have been different. (Compare 43a, 77a, and 122a) Because

there was not a fair and honest hearing in Garrison’s case in

1996 at Dana Point, the Avon Lake Decision of 1992 was not |

advanced. |

Had the “Footstool of Integrity” (App. 89a) been in place

prior to Garrison’s hearing, he would have had a fair and

14

honest hearing and the minimum standards for a hearing

would have been met. Had Neal shown any interest in

representing Garrison, he could easily have found the Avon

Lake Decision of 1992 after Clark advanced his fake 30-day <a

rule in August, 1996. Garrison should have been informed of

Avon Lake. Had Neal produced the Avon Lake Decision of

1992, the Committee members who decided Avon Lake would

have agreed with Neal that the case was a “slam dunk.” App.

122a.

Both the union and the employer have access to all prior

National Arbitration Committee and National Seniority

Committee Decisions with respect to seniority and other

procedural issues that are essential in the grievance process.

Local 327 members do not have access to prior Committee

decisions. The local union in Garrison’s case showed no

interest in helping Garrison get this information, nor did the

local union pay any attention to the position communicated by

the company for denying Garrison’s grievance. This assured

that Garrison would not have a fair and honest hearing.

Garrison suggests that the union breached its duty of fair

representation when it faiied to utilize or supply Garrison with

necessary information that was in the hands of the local union

(and the employer) and not available to the employee. At a

minimum, this would include the reason Cassens denied his

grievance, the names of other Local 327 members who were

not denied employment based on a fake 30-day rule, and the

Avon Lake Decision of 1992. Garrison did not have a fair

hearing because basic information was withheld from him

prior to and during the hearing.

In order to have a fair and honest hearing, the grievant

must have notice of the charges against him. That is, the

employee is entitled to know the company’s position prior to

the hearing. An employee who is blind-sided at a grievance

hearing is the pre-determined loser because of his lack of

15

a rn a SET Ns

ER Mere ee:

notice. The contract (NMATA) requires that the company

provide notice to the employee as soon as possible of any

Committee decision it plans to use to deny the employee’s

grievance. App. 40a. In August, 1996, two months after

denying Garrison’s initial grievance, Cassens, the employer,

changed its position with respect to why his grievance was

denied. Three months later, In November, 1996, Garrison

was first given notice of Cassens’ new defense/false 30-day

rule. Garrison never learned Cassens claimed a fake 30 day

rule was the basis for denial of his grievance until after Clark

raised the issue in Cassens’ rebuttal to Garrison’s grievance

at the Dana Point, California hearing. App. 67a - 69a.

Garrison therefore did not get a fair hearing because the

contractual grievance procedures were not followed. Not only

did the union representative not object to late notice, the union

representative actually had been informed of the reason for the

denial of Garrison’s grievance three months earlier but said

nothing to Garrison. Garrison was not honestly represented at

the hearing.

In order for the grievant to have a fair and honest hearing,

the union representative must advocate for the employee. The

record at Dana Point clearly establishes that Local 327,

through Jimmy Neal, totally failed to advocate anything on

behalf of Garrison. Neal said “I guess you got the case.” Neal

had no strategy or tactics. Neal said nothing about the clear

language of the contract that protected Garrison’s seniority.

Neal helped negotiate the contract, and yet Neal chose not to

make even a colorable argument in Garrison’s behalf. Neal

could have stood up after Clark advanced the fake 30-day rule

and said: “I know Garrison. He can read. He read the

contract. It guarantees that seniority can only be breken by

discharge, voluntary quit, or more than a seven year lay off.

I helped negotiate the contract language. You cannot deny this

man a right to make a living based on some fake 30-day rule

16

a aa rena aaa ccs anaes ere

that Cassens just made up. It violates the contract. Notice

was never given that employees have 30 days to show up for

work. Other Local 327 members who were off on workers’

compensation status when the list was dovetailed did not lose

their seniority from any fake 30-day rule.” Instead of

providing information in his possession, Neal responded “I

guess you got the case.” Neal did not even provide a

“perfunctory” defense.

By his silence Neal gave a clear message to the National

Seniority Committee: Garrison should lose. Neal’s silence

was heard by the National Seniority Committee. Neal was an

insider. Neal negotiated the contract, and sat on several

National Committees. While at Dana Point, he was a panel

member at other arbitration hearings. Neal’s silence was so

loud the roar was deafening, and the message of that silence

was heard clearly by all the members of the National Seniority

Committee, “Let Garrison lose”. App. 84a-86a. The record

establishes that Garrison had no real advocate; he had no

advocate other than himself at the grievance hearing. He was

inexperienced, alone and crippled by a conspiracy of silence.

Garrison did not have a fair and honest hearing because there

was nobody at the hearing who was willing and able to

advocate his case.

There was no need for Garrison’s case to have gone to a

federal jury trial. Had there been a minimum standard of

integrity in the grievance process Garrison would have

prevailed at a fair and honest hearing. Other members of this

local union did not lose their seniority under the contrived

rule by which Cassens denied Garrison his seniority. Absent

a fair hearing, employees’ rights are decided in secret without

respect for the plain language of the contract and without

regard for prior Committee decisions. Employees have little

choice but to file suit. The lower courts have strayed from the

intent embodied in the test laid down by this Court in Hines.

17

In so doing, the lower courts have abdicated their duty of

oversight and allowed the unions to abdicate their duty of fair

representation. The result has been a concentration of power

in the hands of the unions and employers.

The purpose of hybrid 301 law is to assure the integrity

of the contract and to provide a way in which the employee

who is wronged by breach of contract may be made whole.

If the grievance process lacks integrity, injustice will result.

When injustice results, the employee must seek redress in

federal court. Employees will have to hire lawyers, and

employees are going to have to pay for them. It is almost

impossible to get an attorney fee award in a hybrid 301

action. The litigation is expensive and risky. In the real world

employees are going to have to give up a large percentage of

their recovery for breach of contract in order to retain

counsel. If the case is not resolved in the grievance process,

the best that the employee can hope for is to prevail in a

complicated hybrid 301 action and lose a substantial amount

of his recovery to pay attorneys fees. The companies under

this contract know the real world situation for the employee

and they use the inability to pay attorneys fees to beat down

employees in disputes. Employees can only be made whole if

the grievance process operates as intended under the contract.

A fair and honest hearing is required by contract and by

law. The contract requires that all employees have the right to

have their cases decided “fairly and promptly.” App. 41a. By

contract and by law, the local union is required to do a

minimum of investigation, make an effort to ascertain the

truth of the charges, and to present available evidence

contradicting evidence presented by the company. Hines, at

558 and 571. In processing a grievance, the union can breach

its duty to represent the employee where it handles the

grievance in a perfunctory manner by not gathering sufficient

evidence to prove the case. Vaca v. Sipes, at 194.

18

Because a fair and honest hearing is required by contract

and by law, it is not unreasonable for this court to provide

clarification and some expansion of the test for breach of duty

of fair representation. Additional oversight is needed because

the system is not working as anticipated by this Court. For

over 26 years this Court has believed that the Hines test

provided adequate supervision for the grievance machinery.

This court believed that the requirement for a fair and honest

hearing was being met. Based upon the Sixth Circuit’s

incarnation of the Hines test, this Court is justified in

providing some additional guidance at this time.

Moreover, the implementation of the test recommended by

Petitioner will assure that the legislative effect of the contract

will be brought to bear. The administration of the contract

should not be by litigation; it should be by legislation. LMRA

contemplates that the legislative aspect of the arbitration

process can work where employers, unions and employees

know the law and the basic guidelines for its implementation.

But under present practice, the union is not even providing

information about the rules which interpret the contract. This

case illustrates how-the lack of knowledge leads to increased

litigation and virtually guarantees that the employee will not

be made whole. The Sixth Circuit’s focus on mere negligence

has clouded over the real issue. The truth is,.Neal did not do

anything to affirmatively meet his duty to represent Garrison.

Neal totally failed to advocate, and he served essentially as a

false witness against Garrison. Neal did not divulge

information in his possession when he had a duty to do so.

Garrison did not have a fair and honest hearing.

Had Neal been required to provide information about

Cassens’ position and about prior National Seniority

Committee decisions, Garrison could have been prepared.

Neal and the union totally failed to provide information to

Garrison with respect to the charges against him and with

19

respect to information necessary to prepare for his hearing.

Neal did not assure that Cassens follow contractual

procedures for proper notice. Neal totally failed as an

advocate: he had no ideas, no strategy, and no interest in even

affirming Garrison’s contractual rights. The Sixth Circuit

finds that this is “merely negligence” and therefore not a

breach of the duty to represent Plaintiff. If this Court

determines that the Sixth Circuit’s statement of existing law

is correct, a new standard is needed to protect the arbitral

process from corruption, and to change it from its present

form: an arbitrary process. The new test suggested by

Garrison should result in fair and honest hearings at the

lowest level, where a fair decision can be reached; at the very

least an honest decision will be reached. Employees can be

made whole as required under the contract. The finality

provisions of the collective-bargaining agreement could then

be fairly implemented.

II. Respondent is Not Entitled to a Judgment as a Matter

of Law Because the Sixth Circuit Applied the Wrong

Legal Standard to Review a Rule 50 Motion by Failing

to Even List or Consider Relevant Facts that Garrison

Presented at Trial and Advanced in His Brief Showing

That the Union was Guilty of Bad Faith, and by Failing

to Draw Reasonable Inferences in Favor of the Non-

Moving Party.

The District Court instructed the jury that in order to find

for Garrison it must find that the union breached its duty of

fair representation because its conduct in the grievance was

arbitrary, discriminatory or in bad faith. The jury was given

definitions and examples of arbitrary, discriminatory and bad

faith conduct. App. 102a - 104a. After the jury returned its

special verdict form App. 116a - 118a, Defendant renewed its

Rule 50 motion for judgment as a matter of law. The District

Court reconsidered Defendant’s motion and concluded that the

20

jury could have found that there was bad faith on the part of

the union and that the jury could have found that the union’s

conduct was arbitrary and irrational. Specifically the court

examined Neal’s behavior in the grievance process and Local

327's total failure to advocate for Garrison. Of critical

importance was the evidence that Neal, who had much more

credibility than Garrison, said absolutely nothing before the

National Seniority Committee to support Garrison or that

Garrison’s seniority was protected by the plain language of

the contract. The jury could certainly have found that Neal’s

conduct was motivated by his bad faith desire to avoid blame

himself. The court concluded that it would not be conjecture

for the jury to conclude that the union was guilty of bad faith.

App. 83a.

The Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit reversed the

District Court holding that petitioner had not introduced

sufficient evidence under the arbitrary prong but said nothing

about “bad faith”. The Sixth Circuit panel parroted the test:

“a union owes employees a duty to represent them

adequately as well as honestly and in good faith.” App. 19a.

However, the court only analyzed the arbitrary prong of the

union’s duty of representation. Nowhere in the decision is

there any discussion whatsoever of the union’s bad faith or

discriminatory conduct.

BAD FAITH BY LOCAL 327

DAY £iitit*-ooo

Petitioner made a substantial showing that Local 327 acted

in bad faith. That evidence is summarized chronologically in

the Appendix, which lists 17 examples of bad faith by the

union. App. 105a - 115a.

Bad faith in Garrison’s case, as it does in most cases,

revolves around an understanding of the motivation of the bad

actor. The union in Garrison’s case failed to assure that his

name was on the seniority list while he was recuperating from

———

21

lee

his work-related injury in November, 1994. Neal testified to

the National Committee in January, 1995, that the list was

complete. It was not. It did not contain Garrison’s name.

There is no question that the union had a duty to assure that

Garrison’s name was on that list. The problem is compounded

when Local 327 goes to the National Arbitration Committee

in January, 1995 and swears up and down that the list is

complete. The union was to blame for Garrison’s name not

being on the list.

In June of 1996, Garrison returned to work and found that

his name was not on the seniority list. Cassens denied him

employment and lied by stating Cassens was never informed

of Garrison’s election to follow the work. Two months after

the initial grievance hearing at the local level, Cassens

changed its position and stated that Garrison was denied

employment because of the alleged “30-day rule.” The union

was informed of Cassens’ new position in August of 1996, but

Neal never told Garrison that Cassens was advancing this

alleged “30-day rule.” Neal was probably not too excited

about appearing at the upcoming National Committee hearing

at Dana Point in front of the same people that he falsely told

in January, 1995 that the list was complete. The union failed

to assure Garrison’s name was on the list. This failure made

Neal’s union at least partly liable for Garrison’s lost wages

from June, 1996. Cassens’ alleged 30-day rule offered Neal

a way out of this embarrassment and liability for Local 327.

Neal had a motive to see that the secret 30-day rule defeated

Garrison’s grievance.

Neal assured Garrison that he was ready for his grievance

and that Garrison didn’t need to add anything to his

presentation to the National Seniority Committee. Neal said

it was a “slam dunk.” Neal led Garrison to believe he had a

“slam dunk” all the way through the grievance process.

Neal’s statements and subsequent silence were affirmative

22

misrepresentations of fact. It was not mere negligence. Neal

knew that Cassens was advancing its fake 30-day rule. Neal

knew that other employees were not held to a 30-day rule.

Neal knew that the contract protected seniority rights and

Garrison’s circumstances, but he kept all of this to himself.

Neal not only affirmatively misrepresented to Garrison that he

didn’t need. to do anything further to prepare for his

grievance, but Neal also failed to disclose what Local 327

knew about relevant facts essential to Garrison’s case. Neal

was also guilty of misrepresentation by silence. The local

union is at least responsible for what it knows. Under the test

advanced by the Sixth Circuit, the union is not held

responsible for misrepresentation, which is fraud, nor is the

union responsible for refusing to disclose information

necessary to the grievant in the hearing process.

Why did Neal refuse to give information, assistance or

strategy to Garrison? Neal was a professional union

representative who was supposed to act in Garrison’s behalf.

He offered no help. Garrison was left on his own completely

to investigate, apply the contract, and argue his case. This

was true both in the preparation of the grievance and in the

testimony before the National Seniority Committee at Dana

Point in 1996. Neal was virtually mute at that hearing. He

said nothing to assist Garrison or to argue against Cassens’

fake 30-day rule which he knew was not in the contract or

prior Committee decisions. Neal knew this 30-day rule was a

fake and he knew the 30-day rule was not applicable to Article

5, Section 4(c) of NMATA. Neal knew the fake 30-day rule

was never applied to other members of Local 327. It looks

like Neal wanted Garrison to lose.

There is direct evidence of bad faith on the part of the

union based on the transcript from the Dana Point hearing.

At that hearing Joe Clark, on behalf of Cassens, repeatedly

blamed Local 327 for failing to assure that Garrison’s name

23

was placed on the list. Clark pounded away at Local 327 at

the Dana Point hearing because of Local 327’s failure to

check the list prior to Neal reporting to this same Committee

in 1995 that the list was complete. App. 119a - 121a. The

union was guilty. After these accusations were leveled at Neal

and the local union, Neal became incoherent. Neal allowed

the fake 30-day rule to be advanced by Cassens because it

exonerated him and his union of liability and guilt. The union

knew that the contract protected Garrison’s seniority rights.

The Avon Lake Decision of 1992 was the only prior

precedent on point. Neal had an audience that could easily

have been reminded of Avon Lake. App. 122a. Between

August and November, 1996, Neal had four months to

research and find the Avon Lake Decision. Neal had four

months to double check the seniority lists which show that

other Local 327 employees were not subject to Cassens

alleged 30-day rule. But during this four month period, Neal

did nothing. His motives under these circumstances were at

issue. His motives were judged by the jury, but ignored by

the Sixth Circuit. Why did Neal totally fail to advocate for

Garrison when it was obvious that the company was

advancing an outrageous position contrary to the contract and

violative present practice? There are two possibilities: One,

he didn’t know the contract or present practice in the industry

or, two, he wanted Garrison to lose. It is not possible that

Neal failed to realize the seniority rules he helped negotiate.

The jury realized Neal acted in bad faith.

The Sixth Circuit Panel in Garrison’s case totally failed

to consider: (1) the evidence of bad faith presented at trial, (2)

the District Court’s ruling on the Rule 50 motion, (3) the

post-trial motions for new trial, and (4) arguments with

respect to the local union’s bad faith in Plaintiff's brief. In so

doing, the Sixth Circuit failed to follow the law which

requires it to review the evidence. Where the Court of

24

Appeals refuses to consider evidence favorable to the plaintiff

in a Rule 50 Motion, that court commits reversible error.

Reeves v. Sanderson Plumbing Products, Inc. , 530 U.S. 133

(2000). The Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals must be reversed

because it failed to consider the evidence. Garrison argued

from the beginning of trial through briefs filed in the Sixth

Circuit, that Neal’s conduct was motivated by bad faith.

There is evidence that Neal handled the grievance in a

dishonest fashion, and that he was guilty of misrepresentation

and fraud. It is error for the Sixth Circuit to ignore this

evidence and substitute its judgment for the jury. The Court

of Appeals limited its review exclusively to facts relating to

the arbitrary prong of the test. In so doing, the court

apparently looked only at the Respondent’s explanation for the

union’s behavior. The court essentially confined its review to

evidence and inferences favorable to the union and to

Cassens.

ARBITRARY CONDUCT BY LOCAL 327.

ARDILDRNDAE SSO Oem

The question remains, irrespective of the Court of

Appeals’ error in ignoring evidence of bad faith, was

Respondent entitled to a judgment as a matter of law on the

arbitrary prong of the duty of fair representation. Under Rule

50 the court should render judgment as a matter of law where

there is no legally sufficient evidentiary basis for a reasonable

jury to find for that party on that issue. Id. at 2109. In

making its determination, the court should draw all reasonable

inference in favor of the non-moving party and it may not

make credibility determinations or weigh the evidence. Id, at

2110; citing Litle v. Household Mfg., Inc., 494 U.S. 545

(1990).

The Court of Appeals failed to draw reasonable inferences

in favor of Petitioner. For instance, Neal’s own testimony

from the transcript of the National Seniority Committee

25

hearing indicated Local 327's guilt for Garrison’s name not

being on the seniority roster. The jury could reasonably infer

that Neal knew at the time of Garrison’s hearing that prior

precedent stated that Garrison’s seniority rights were

protected. The jury could also infer that Neal knew other

Local 327 members were dovetailed with Cassens list even

though they were on injury status and could not show up for

work in 30 days. Neal provided no satisfactory explanation

for his behavior. Neal gave up the seniority of Garrison and

all other drivers, and gained nothing in return, save the

exoneration of Local 327 for failing to get Garrison’s name on

the list. It is not implausible, illogical, internally inconsistent,

nor does it contradict any documentary or other extrinsic

evidence to find that the union acquiesced to Cassens’

intentional misconduct. In concluding that this evidence

overwhelmingly proves that the union was only negligent the

Court of Appeals impermissibly substituted its judgment

concerning the weight of the evidence for the judgment of the

jury.

Ill. The Sixth Circuit Decision in Garrison’s Case

Must Be Reversed Because it Applied the Wrong

Legal Standard for Breach of the Duty of Fair

Representation in the Grievance Process by relying

on Airline Pilots Ass’n Int’l vy. O’Neil, Which

Involved the Decision to Settle a Strike, When it

Should have Relied on Hines v. Anchor Motor

Freight, Inc., Which Established the Standard for

Breach of the Local Union’s Duty to Represent the

Employee in the Grievance Process.

The decision by the Sixth Circuit should be reversed

because the “totally irrational” test from Airline Pilots Ass’n

Int’l vs. O’Neill, 499 U.S. 65 (1991), does not provide the

correct standard for breach of the duty of representation in the

context of the grievance process. Airline Pilots reviewed the

26

union’s duty of fair representation to a class of employees

where the International Union negotiated a back-to-work

agreement terminating a strike. The rationality of the union’s

decision to settle a strike is evaluated in light of the facts and

legal climate that confronted the parties at the time. Id. at 78.

In Airline Pilots, this court looked at the settlement reached

by the union negotiators on behalf of the class, and

determined that it was by no means irrational.

In Garrison’s case, the Sixth Circuit was not reviewing a

back-to-work agreement or the termination of a strike. The

Sixth Circuit was not reviewing the conduct of the

International Union toward a class of members. In Garrison,

the issue was whether the local union breached its duty to one

person, Garrison, in the grievance process. The local union

should be reviewed under the standard in Hines where the

issue was proper representation in a grievance, and not

Airline Pilots, where this Court reviewed the rationality of a

good faith non-discriminatory union decision to end a strike.

Airline Pilots Ass’n Int’l vy. O’Neil, at 78. Understandably,

in that context, as in litigation, even a bad settlement may be

more advantageous in the long run than a good lawsuit. In our

case, Local 327 “resolved” Garrison’s grievance by

sabotaging his case which resulted in a lawsuit.

The language of Airline Pilots suggests that there is more

judicial review of the substance of representation by the union

in a grievance hearing than in the context of a settlement of a

strike. In Airline Pilots the court specifically stated: “Any

substantive examination of the union’s performance,

therefore, must be highly deferential, recognizing the wide

latitude that negotiators need for the effective performance of

their bargaining responsibilities.” Id. at 78 The decision to

settle a strike is accorded the “wide range of reasonableness” .

Id. at 78 citing Ford Motor Company v. Huffman, 345 U.S.,

330, 338.

27

In our case, the decision not to provide Garrison with a

fair hearing was not a labor dispute that was resolved in favor

of avoiding a strike and a lawsuit. There was no competing

interest for Local 327 between Garrison and any other

employee. The question simply for Local 327 was whether or

not it was going to help Garrison.

What is the range of reasonableness that should be

afforded to a union representative who does not provide an

employee with essential information in the grievance process?

The answer is in Hines. where this Court affirmed the

reversal of the trial court because there was evidence that the

local union failed to investigate and assured the employees

they had nothing to worry about. Hines at 560. In Garrison,

there was evidence that the union was guilty of the same

misconduct as in Hines. But the Sixth Circuit claims that as

a matter of law there cannot be a breach of the duty to

represent an individual employee unless the result of the

grievance process is “wholly irrational.” If that is correct,

then Hines is effectively overruled. It is simply not true that

Airline Pilots stands for the proposition that the union’s

representation of an individual employee in a grievance is to

be judged by whether the outcome is “wholly irrational.”

In the process of Garrison’s grievance hearing the union’s

conduct was as follows:

1. The local union assured Garrison that he was ready for

the Dana Point hearing. Neal did no research. Neal had no

strategy. The local union did not even point out the obvious

fact that the clear and unambiguous terms of the contract

protect Garrison’s seniority.

2. Local 327 did not tell Garrison about the defense

advanced by Cassens. Instead, Neal left him in the dark while

telling Garrison his case was a “slam dunk.” Neal did not tell

Garrison about other members of Local 327 who kept their

28

seniority with Cassens irrespective of this fake 30-day rule.

Local 327 provided no advocacy for Garrison.

3. Local Union 327 acted in the opposite fashion of the

union in Airline Pilots where the union acted in good faith to

obtain a settlement that later may not have been more

advantageous in the long run for one class of employees than

a lawsuit. There was no similar “trade off” in Garrison. In

Garrison’s case, the union did nothing to protect Garrison’s

seniority rights or the rights of other employees whose

seniority would later follow Garrison to the gallows of the

false 30-day rule.

The Sixth Circuit Panel holds that this conduct was not

wholly irrational and, therefore, was the result of mere

negligence on the part of Neal. So, the argument goes,

employees must live with an unjust result caused by the

union’s malfeasance without any remedy for damages.

According to the Sixth Circuit in Garrison’s case, as a matter

of law it is merely negligent for a union representative to

decide not to tell an employee the reason the company was

advancing to defeat his grievance.

Neal’s choice was: “Should I say something for Garrison

or let him lose at the Dana Point hearing in November of

1996?” Neal decided to say nothing. Neal’s silence spoke

volumes to the National Seniority Committee. There is no

way to construe that conduct as rational. In light of the

contract, which Neal knew well because he had negotiated it,

and the fact that other Local 327 members had not lost their

seniority because of Cassens’ contrived thirty (30) day rule,

Neal’s silence before the National Seniority Committee

amounts to a conscious decision that Garrison would lose his

grievance. That decision is unlike the conscious decision to

end a strike. It is not useful or practical to evaluate the

29

outcome in Garrison’s case under the “wholly irrational”

standard established in Airline Pilots Ass’n Int’l v. O'Neil.

CONCLUSION

This Court should reverse the Sixth Circuit Court of

Appeals’ decision because it misapplied the legal standard for

a union’s breach of its duty to represent an employee as

described in Hines v. Anchor Motor Freight, Inc. This Court

could also reverse the Sixth Circuit because it failed to apply

the correct legal standard for a review of a Rule 50 motion.

Lastly, Petitioner respectfully requests that this Court

reconsider the parameters of the union’s duty to represent an

employee in a grievance. Is it implicit in the union’s duty to

represent the employee that he receive a fair and honest

hearing?

Garrison, and all other employees under this contract,

need this Court’s relief. Garrison is entitled to review by this

Court because the standard announced by the Sixth Circuit

results in a process that lacks even a minimum level of

integrity. As this Court so eloquently described in Hines:

Congress has put its blessing on private dispute

settlement arrangements provided in _ collective-

bargaining agreements, but it was anticipated, we are

sure, that the contractual machine would operate with

some minimum levels of integrity.” Hines, at 571.

Respectfully submitted,

DAVID J. MOEN

Moen & Valentine, LLC

613 East McCarty Street

Jefferson City, MO 65101

573-636-5997

Counsel for Petitioner

30

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

Nos. 01-6056/02-5124

[Filed September 5, 2003]

DAVID L. GARRISON,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

¥.

CASSENS TRANSPORT COMPANY,

Defendant-Appellant.

ee A a a a :

BEFORE: BOGGS and SILER, Circuit Judges; and STEEH,*

District Judge.

ORDER

The court having received a petition for rehearing en

banc, and the petition having been circulated not only to the

original panel members but also to all other active judges of

this court, and no judge of this court having requested a vote

Hon. George C. Steeh, United States District Judge for the

Eastern District of Michigan, sitting by designation.

la

2a

on the suggestion for rehearing en banc, the petition for

rehearing has been referred to the original panel.

The panel has further reviewed the petition for rehearing

and concludes that the issues raised in the petition were fully

considered upon the original submission and decision of the

cases. Accordingly, the petition is denied.

ENTERED BY ORDER OF THE COURT

/s/

Leonard Green, Clerk

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

Nos. 01-6056; 02-5124

[Filed July 7, 2003]

David L. Garrison,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

Vv.

Nee eee Se”

\

Cassens Transport Company,

Defendant-Appellant.

i a

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Middle District of Tennessee at Nashville

No. 98-00415

Aleta A. Trauger, District Judge

Before: BOGGS and SILER, Circuit Judges; STEEH, District

. Judge.

JUDGMENT

THIS CAUSE was heard on the record from the district

court was argued by counsel.

3a

3

H

‘

4a

IN CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, it is ORDERED that

in Case No. 01-6056 the jury verdict is REVERSED and the

case is REMANDED for entry of judgment as a matter of law

for defendant Cassens Transport Company. IT IS FURTHER

ORDERED that in Case No. 02-5124 the district court’s

contempt order is REVERSED and VACATED in its entirety.

ENTERED BY ORDER OF THE COURT

/s/

Leonard Green, Clerk

Sa

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

Nos. 01-6056; 02-5124

[Filed July 7, 2003]

David L. Garrison, )

Plaintiff-Appellee, )

)

v. )

)

Cassens Transport Company, )

Defendant-Appellant. )

)

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Middle District of Tennessee at Nashville

No. 98-00415

Aleta A. Trauger, District Judge

Before: BOGGS and SILER, Circuit Judges; STEEH, District

Judge."

OPINION

SILER, Circuit Judge. In No. 01-6056, defendant Cassens

Transport Company (“Cassens”) appeals the judgment after

a jury verdict in favor of plaintiff David L. Garrison in this

hybrid § 301 (29 U.S.C. § 185) breach of contract/fair

” The Honorable George Caram Steeh, United States District Judge

for the Eastern District of Michigan, sitting by designation.

6a

representation suit. In No. 02-5124, Cassens appeals the order

by the district court holding it in civil contempt for failure to:

immediately reinstate Garrison to employment; make certain

pension payments; and assign a “company seniority” date that

corresponds with the date that Garrison could have

commenced working for Cassens upon his return from his

worker’s compensation injury. Numerous issues have been

raised on appeal. After carefully reviewing the record, and

viewing the evidence in the light most favorable to Garrison,

we find that the evidence at trial was insufficient to establish

a breach of the duty of fair representation by the union.

Accordingly, the district court erred in not entering judgment

in favor of Cassens pursuant to Rule 50 of the Federal Rules

of Civil Procedure. Also, because there was no basis for the

imposition of liability, we necessarily find that the civil

contempt order can no longer stand. Therefore, we

REVERSE the jury verdict and REMAND to the district

court for the entry of judgment as a matter of law for Cassens.

Also, the civil contempt order of January 7, 2002, is

REVERSED and VACATED in its entirety.

I. BACKGROUND

Garrison began his employment as a driver with Allied

Systems, Ltd. (“Allied”) and/or its predecessor, Auto

Convey, Inc., in 1980. Allied is a trucking company engaged

in the auto transport business. In 1986, Garrison transferred

to Allied’s Smyrna, Tennessee, terminal, where he was

employed as a driver until November 21, 1990, when he

Sustained an on-the-job injury. Cassens is also a trucking

company engaged in the delivery of automobiles to vehicle

dealerships in the United States. Since 1983, Cassens has

maintained an operation in Smyrna, Tennessee.

7a

Drivers for Allied and Cassens are members of Teamsters

Local 327, which is affiliated with the Internal Brotherhood

of Teamsters, Chauffeurs, Warehousemen and Helpers of

America AFL-CIO. Local 327 is the exclusive bargaining

representative of Allied and Cassens drivers for collective

bargaining purposes. Allied, Cassens, and Local 327 are

signatories to a multi-employer, multi-union collective

bargaining agreement referred to as the National Master

Automobile Transporters Agreement (“NMATA”) and the

Central-Southern Areas Supplemental Agreement. NMATA

governs the terms and conditions of driver employment with

these companies. While employed by Allied as a driver at the

Smyrna terminal, Garrison was a member of Local 327 and

was covered by NMATA.

At all times relevant to this case, Nissan Motors had an

assembly plant located near Allied’s and Cassens’s Smyrna

operations. In September 1994, as a result of a competitive

bid process, Nissan awarded Cassens and another trucking

company, Commercial Carriers, Inc., its Smyrna transport

work, which previously had been performed by Allied.

Shortly thereafter, Allied notified all Allied employees

working out of the Smyrna terminal, including Garrison, of

Nissan’s decision to transfer its work to Cassens and

Commercial Carriers. A memorandum was sent enclosing a

form on which drivers could designate whether they wished

to follow the work to Cassens or Commercial Carriers or stay

with Allied and seek work at another terminal.

As a result of Nissan’s decision to transfer its work,

Allied, Cassens, Commercial Carriers, and Local 327

submitted a request to the National Joint Arbitration

Committee (the “NJAC”) for a determination of the seniority

rights of Allied employees affected by the work transfer. The

NJAC issued its decision, ruling that pursuant to NMATA,

8a

Allied drivers had the right to transfer either to Cassens or

Commercial Carriers to follow the Nissan work. Regarding

seniority rights, the NJAC stated that Allied’s seniority list

was “to be dovetailed" by terminal seniority’ with the Cassens

and Commercial [Carriers] Smyrna Seniority Lists.”

As required by the NJAC’s decision, Allied was

responsible for preparing separate lists of Allied drivers

seeking to transfer to Cassens and Commercial Carriers.

After the NJAC decision, Garrison, who was still off work,

received two letters from Allied. The first advised Garrison

of his work options and stated that if he did not choose to

follow the work to Cassens or Commercial Carriers he would

be laid off from Allied, effective several days later. The

second letter was a premature layoff notice.

The next day after receiving these letters, Garrison

telephoned Allied’s terminal manager and advised him that he

wanted to follow the work to Cassens. In two follow-up

letters dated November 9, 1994, Garrison confirmed his

' Under NMATA, Art. 5, § 1 “‘Dovetail seniority’ is a term that

is applied when two (2) or more seniority lists are merged or

combined with a single seniority list which recognizes the terminal

seniority date of each employee. The list is arranged by terminal

seniority date with the most senior employeg at the top.”

2 NMATA recognizes two different types of seniority: company

seniority and terminal seniority. “‘Company seniority’ is a term

that is applied to an employee’s date of hire by the Employer.” Art.

5, § 1 “‘Terminal Seniority’ is a term that is applied to the

employee’s most recent date of employment at a specific terminal.”

Id. “‘Terminal’ is a term that is applied to any facility of an

Employer to which employees are assigned to work whether called

a branch, terminal division or operation.” Jd.

9a

receipt of Allied’s letters and restated his intentions to follow

the work to Cassens. Garrison copied the letters to the

business agent for Local 327. Garrison’s letters were both

signed “Received” by James Firkus, Cassens’s Smyrna

terminal manger. Several days later, Garrison received notice

from Allied that based upon his decision to transfer to

Cassens, his name was being removed from Allied’s seniority

list. He was never informed that he would be required to

report to work within thirty days of his notification election.

On June 7, 1996, approximately nineteen months after

Garrison submitted his transfer election forms, he obtained a

medical release from his doctor permitting him to return to

work. That same day, he contacted Cassens inquiring into

when he could begin work. The assistant terminal manager at

Cassens’s Smyrna terminal informed Garrison that his name

did not appear on Cassens’s Smyrna seniority roster and that

he would need to speak with Firkus, who was on vacation.

Several days later, Garrison spoke with Firkus, who stated

that Garrison was not on Cassens’s applicable seniority list

and that it would be necessary to contact Cassens’s Labor

Relations Director, Joe Clark, to discuss the situation.

Garrison then went to the Local 327 office in Nashville,

Tennessee, and met with J immy Neal, Local 327’s business

* Garrison also wrote a separate letter to Local 327's now former

business agent, George Barlow, informing him that he wanted to

follow the work to Cassens and that he had notified Allied of this

preference. In that letter, Garrison specifically asked Barlow to

follow up his request to work for Cassens and to make sure that his

name was placed on the seniority list at Cassens.

10a

agent,’ and David Hodgin, the president of Local 327, to

discuss his predicament. After discussing the situation, Neal

expressed his view that Garrison’s case was a “slam dunk.”

He provided Garrison with a form so that he could prepare a

grievance to be submitted to Cassens. Neal also arranged an

informal meeting to be held the following day to discuss

Garrison’s request to return to work.

The next day, an informal meeting was held at Cassens’s

Smyrna terminal between Garrison, Neal, Firkus, and Mark

Flett, a union steward for Cassens’s employees. Firkus would

not agree to put Garrison to work. According to Garrison,

Firkus indicated that the problem was that Garrison had never

been placed on the seniority list back in 1994. The next day,

Garrison discovered that Firkus had signed for the

employment notification letters he sent in November 1994.

That afternoon, he confronted Firkus about his signatures.

Initially, Firkus indicated that he believed the signatures were

forgeries. Subsequently, he admitted it was his signature on

each of the letters.

Less than a week later, Garrison submitted a grievance to

Local 327, outlining his position that he had properly notified

Cassens of his preference to follow the Nissan work. A local

hearing was then held concerning Garrison’s grievance at

Cassens’s Smyrna terminal. At the hearing, Neal, who was

Garrison’s union representative, asserted that Garrison should

be permitted to work for Cassens and should be placed on

Cassens’s seniority list with a 1994 seniority date. Cassens

took the position that it was unaware that Garrison had elected

to transfer to Cassens, that his name had not appeared on any

* In January 1995, Neal replaced Barlow as Local 327’s business

agent.

lla

of the seniority lists or the transfer lists that had been

provided by Allied, and that Cassens did not have a

contractual obligation to employ him.°

The parties’ inability to reach an acceptable resolution to

Garrison’s grievance resulted in the matter’s being submitted

for arbitration. Neal docketed the grievance with the Southern

Area Automobile Transporters Grievance Committee to be

addressed at its August 1996 meeting in New Orleans,

Louisiana. At Neal’s recommendation, Garrison did not

attend this proceeding, although Neal was present on his

behalf.° During the proceeding, Cassens, through its

representative, Joe Clark, reasserted its position that it did not

have a contractual obligation to Garrison. In addition, for the

first time, Cassens invoked a “30-day rule” and argued that

Garrison’s seniority transfer opportunity had expired because

he had not reported to work at Cassens within thirty days of

the transfer opportunity. At the conclusion of the proceeding,

Garrison’s case was referred to the National Joint Standing

Seniority Committee (the “NJSSC”) in Dana Point,

California. It appears that at no point after the Southern Area

proceeding did Neal inform Garrison that Cassens had raised

the defense of the thirty-day rule. It is this somewhat obscure

rule that serves as the driving force behind this litigation.

° At trial, Garrison’s theory for Cassens’s refusal to hire him was

that Cassens did not want someone on the payroll who had suffered

serious back injuries because of the risk of future worker’s

compensation claims.

° Neal told Garrison that nothing substantive would happen at the

Southern Area proceeding and that his grievance would be

scheduled to be heard by the National Joint Standing Seniority

Commitiee in California.

q

12a

Garrison’s grievance was ultimately scheduled to be heard

on November 5, 1996. In preparing for this proceeding,

Garrison and Neal kept in constant contact. They had several

meetings and spoke on the phone almost every day. During

this preparation stage, Garrison focused exclusively on trying

to prove that he properly notified Cassens of his intentions to

follow the Nissan work. Ultimately, Garrison forwarded to

Neal a ten-page, ninety-seven paragraph typed presentation

with twenty-eight exhibits for the upcoming arbitration. Neal

reviewed the presentation and thought that it was one of the

best he had ever seen.

Approximately forty-eight hours before the proceeding,

Neal, Garrison, and Clark met to exchange documents and

information. Garrison gave Clark a cony of his presentation

and Clark gave Neal and Garrison seven prior joint arbitration

committee decisions that he intended to use in support of

Cassens’s thirty-day defense. This appears to be the first time

that Garrison was made aware of the existence of a thirty-day

rule. Garrison and Neal reviewed these decisions and decided

that they were not applicable or were distinguishable from the

circumstances involved in the instant matter. Neal failed,

however, to realize or explain the potential significance the

thirty-day rule could have on Garrison’s grievance.

Consequently, no rebuttal--either by Neal or Garrison--was

prepared on the issue of the thirty-day rule.

In presenting Garrison’s grievance to the NJSSC, Neal

introduced Garrison to the committee and read Garrison’s

grievance into the record. Garrison read a prepared statement

and introduced exhibits in support of his case. Neither Neal

nor Garrison made any mention or otherwise tried to obviate

any argument regarding the thirty-day rule. On Cassens’s

behalf, Clark argued that (1) Cassens had not been notified of

Garrison’s intent to transfer from Allied to Cassens; (2)

13a .

Garrison had never appeared on a Cassens seniority list; (3)

Cassens did not have any contractual obligation to Garrison;

and (4) Garrison did not comply with the thirty-day rule when

he appeared for work in 1996. Clark handed committee

members copies of arbitral precedent that he believed

supported Cassens’s position that “a man has thirty days from

the date of the transfer [in] which he must make himself

available.” Although he did not refer to any of these cases by

name, he asserted that Cassens did not believe that it had any

obligations to Garrison “under the procedures and decisions

previously rendered by the Committee.” Other than these

brief statements and the submission of the prior committee

decisions, Clark did not initially make any other arguments

regarding the applicability of the thirty-day rule to Garrison’s

case.

Although Local 327 was free to rebut any aspect of

Cassens’s case, it appears that Neal completely failed to

address the applicability of the thirty-day rule.’ Garrison

himself, however, put forth some rebuttal to Cassens’s thirty-

day rule argument, stating that “I did not believe the thirty

(30)-day report rule . . . is applicable, because you will find

[that] in NMATA . . . seniority shall not be broken except by

discharge, voluntary quit, [or more than a seven (7)-year

layoff].” After Garrison’s rebuttal, one of the members of the

committee asked Neal whether he had anything further to add

and Neal responded, “No, sir. I don’t. I think you got the

” Cassens argues that Neal responded to the thirty-day reporting

rule but alleges that the tape did not pick up all of the Neal’s

comments as reflected by the gap (--) noted in the transcription. We

concur with the district court’s view that this argument is

unpersuasive guesswork on Cassens’s part. It is just as likely that

the gap noted in the transcription signifies a pause in Neal’s rebuttal

as Neal was attempting to gather his thoughts.

gS

14a

case.” In his final response, Clark more forcefully fleshed out

Cassens’s position on the applicability of the thirty-day rule:

Mr. Garrison . . . could not report in thirty (30) days

or any relevant time period. You’re looking at almost

two (2) years before he could report to us -- that has

not been the decisions that have been rendered by this

Committee and other committees. Specifically, if you

go to the decisions that I handed out to you. . . [one

decision] involves the very same local, Local 327. The

discussion specifically talks about being able to report

in thirty (30) days of the transfer. It’s just one of the

seven (7) that I gave you. Again, it specifically relates

to the grievant in that particular case being on an on-

the-job injury and could not report. The very same

thing that we have here, gentleman. Mr. Garrison

cites to you the language in the contract about

seniority. We’re not trying to break his seniority. All

we’re saying is Mr. Garrison does not belong on our

seniority list, again, for all the reasons we cited to

you.

Following this hearing, the NJSSC issued its decision

denying Garrison’s request for employment with Cassens. The

committee held for Garrison on the notice issue. Specifically,

it found that Garrison made a timely request to Cassens for

employment and that this request was acknowledged by

Cassens’s terminal manager. The NJSSC found, however, that

“[p]rior decisions of this Committee require that employees

who follow their work . . . make themselves available for

work within thirty days after expressing their desire to do

so.” Because Garrison was not available to work for Cassens

during the applicable thirty-day period, the NJSSC found that

his transfer rights were extinguished. Thus, the thirty-day rule

ultimately proved dispositive of Garrison’s grievance.

papier ee Seana nes ae ae ee

———————————————_——————— |

PR ie abt

15a

Although the committee relied on the seven arbitral

precedents submitted by Cassens in reaching its conclusion,

none of the decisions specifically involved the dovetailing of

seniority rights; instead, all of the cases involved attempted

in-company transfers to either new terminals, new jobs, or

other terminals with new work opportunities.

The one apparent NJSSC decision that presented a

strikingly similar issue as that involved in Garrison’s case was

not brought to the committee’s attention. In May 1992,

Cassens previously asked the NJSSC for guidance “as to how

long [Cassens] is obligated to afford work at the Avon Lake

facility to an E&L Lorain driver presently on a leave of

absence due to an on-the-job injury.” Cassens Transp. Co. v.

Local Union No. 571 and E&L Transp. Co. Local Union 964,

No. 5-92-(2-92)-465-A. The NJSSC determined that “[w]ith

regard to the E&L employee on workers’ compensation who

has elected to transfer to Cassens, he is to be deemed as

transferred and will hold seniority at Avon Lake and will be

permitted to assume an active position upon his release from

compensation status.” /d. In light of this holding, it may have

been difficult for the committee to distinguish Garrison’s

situation from its earlier precedent.

Thereafter, Garrison initiated a federal action under § 301

of the Labor Management Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. § 185,

against Cassens, Local 327, and others. All defendants except

Cassens and Local 327 were dismissed from the lawsuit.

Following a settlement agreement, Local 327 was voluntarily

dismissed from the suit. Thereafter, the hybrid action

continued solely against Cassens. The case then proceeded to

trial. At the conclusion of Garrison’s case in chief and again

at the close of trial, Cassens moved for judgment as a matter

of law pursuant to Rule 50 of the Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure. The court denied the motion and submitted the

16a

case to the jury. The jury found in favor of Garrison and

awarded $408,885 in compensatory damages, allocating

seventy-five percent of liability to Cassens and twenty-five

percent to Local 327. It also awarded $500,000 in punitive

damages against Cassens. Thereafter, Cassens renewed its

Rule 50 motion, which was again denied by the court.

Cassens then moved for a new trial under Rule 59 of the

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, which was also denied.

In case No. 01-6056, Cassens argues that the district court

erred in: (1) denying its pretrial motion for summary

judgment; (2) denying its motion for judgment as a matter of

law pursuant to Federal Rule 50; (3) refusing to instruct the

jury on its defense that a particular section of NMATA must

be considered in determining whether Cassens breached the

collective bargaining agreement; (4) affirming the

compensatory award when the record established that

Garrison failed to mitigate damages; (5) affirming the jury’s

allocation of liability; and (6) upholding an award of $500,000

in punitive damages.

The district court erred in denying Cassens’s motion for

judgment as a matter of law under Federal Rule of Civil

Procedure 50. Consequently, we need not decide the many

other assignments of error raised by Cassens on appeal, which

have all been rendered moot. Also, because a remedial

contempt order cannot survive the reversal of the underlying

order giving raise to the contempt judgment, we reverse and

vacate the district court’s order in case No. 02-5124.

17a

II. ANALYSIS

A. Denial of Summary Judgment

Cassens argues at length that the district court erred in

denying its motion for summary judgment and reconsideration

pursuant to Rule 56 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.

However, “where summary judgment is denied and the

movant subsequently loses after a full trial on the merits, the

denial of summary judgment may not be appealed.” Jarrett v.

Epperly, 896 F.2d 1013, 1016 (6th Cir. 1990); see also K&T

Enters., Inc. v. Zurich Ins. Co., 97 F.3d 171, 174 (6th Cir.

1996) (holding that “in cases where an appellant made a Rule

56 motion for summary judgment that was denied, makes

those same arguments in a Rule 50(a) motion at the close of

evidence that was also denied, lost in front of a jury, then

renewed its arguments in a rejected Rule 50(b) motion after

the entry of judgment, we will review only the denial of the

Rule 50(b) motion”). Accordingly, because there has been a

trial on the merits, we will not review the district court’s

denial of summary judgment.

B. Motion for Judgment as a Matter of Law

Cassens moved for judgment as a matter of law pursuant

to Rule 50 at the conclusion of Garrison’s case in chief, at the

end of trial and again after the jury’s verdict. On appeal, it

argues that the evidence at trial was insufficient to support the

jury’s finding that (1) Local 327 breached its duty of fair

representation, (2) any alleged breach by the union more than

likely adversely impacted the grievance process, and

(3) Cassens breached the collective bargaining agreement.

“An appeals court reviews a deniai of a Rule 50(b) motion de

novo, applying the same test as the district court must apply.”

Gray v. Toshiba Am. Consumer Prods. , 263 F.3d 595, 598

18a

(6th Cir. 2001). “We do not weigh the evidence, evaluate the

credibility of the witnesses, or substitute our judgment for that

of the jury.” Wehr v. Ryan’s Family Steakhouses, Inc., 49

F.3d 1150, 1152 (6th Cir. 1995). “Instead, we must view the

evidence in the light most favorable to the party age nst whom

the motion is made, and give that party the benefit of all

reasonable inferences.” Phelps v. Yale Sec. Inc., 986 F.2d

1020, 1023 (6th Cir.), cert. denied, 510 U.S. 861 (1993).

“The motion should be granted, and the district court

reversed, only if reasonable minds could not come to a

conclusion other than one favoring the movant.” K&T Enters.

Inc., 97 F.3d at 176.

In the instant case, following the jury’s verdict, the district

court stated that it was both “dumbfounded” and “surprised”

by the result. While ruling from the bench, the court

suggested that it disagreed with the verdict; however,~it

explained that “the law really doesn’t favor setting aside a

jury verdict . . . certainly not because the judge disagrees

with the verdict.” Our careful review of the extensive

appellate record convinces us that the evidence presented to

the jury was insufficient to support a finding of liability on the

issue of Local 327’s breach of its duty of fair representation.

1. Elements of a Hybrid § 301 Action

“A hybrid section 30] action involves two constituent

claims: breach of a collective bargaining agreement by the

employer and breach of the duty of fair representation by the

union.” Black v. Ryder/P.I.E. Nationwide, Inc. , 15 F.3d 573,

583 (6th Cir. 1994) (citation omitted). The two claims are

“inextricably interdependent.” DelCostello v. Teamsters , 462

U.S. 151, 164, 76 L. Ed. 2d 476, 103 S. Ct. 2281 (1983)

(internal quotation marks and citation omitted). Unless a

plaintiff “demonstrates both violations, he cannot succeed

19a

against either party.”* Bagsby v. Lewis Bros. Inc. of Tenn.,

820 F.2d 799, 801 (6th Cir. 1987) (emphasis omitted). In

order to prove a breach of the duty of fair representation, an

employee must demonstrate that the union’s actions or

omissions during the grievance process were arbitrary,

discriminatory, or in bad faith. Vaca v. Sipes, 386 U.S. 171,

190, 17 L. Ed. 2d 842, 87 S. Ct. 903 (1967). Each of these

wrongs is mutually independent, meaning, that “the three

named factors are three separate and distinct possible routes

by which a union may be found to have breached its duty.”

Black, 15 F.3d at 584. “Actions for a union’s breach of its

duty of fair representation depend for their rationale on the

union’s otherwise-complete control over the handling of an

employee’s grievance.” Jd. “Just as . . . fiduciaries owe their

beneficiaries-a duty of care as well as duty of loyalty, a union ~

owes employees a duty to represent them adequately as well

as honestly and in good faith.” Air Line Pilots Ass’n Int’l v.

O'Neill, 499 U.S. 65, 75, 113 L. Ed. 2d 51, 111 S. Ct. 1127

(1991) (citations omitted). There is no requirement, however,

that the grievance process be “error-free.” Hines v. Anchor

Motor Freight, Inc. , 424 U.S. 554, 571, 47 L. Ed. 2d 231, 96

S. Ct. 1048 (1976).

With regard to the arbitrary prong, “a union’s actions are

arbitrary only if, in light of the factual and legal landscape at

the time of the union’s actions, the union’s behavior is so far

outside a ‘wide range of reasonableness’ as to be irrational.”

O’Neill, 499 U.S. at 67 (citation omitted). Mere negligence

® It is of no consequence that Garrison has already settled with

Local 327. In a hybrid § 301 suit, an “employee may, if he

chooses, sue one defendant and not the other; but the case he must

prove is the same whether he sues one, the other, or both.”

DelCostello, 462 U.S. at 165.

~

20a

on the part ofa union does not satisfy this requirement.

United Steelworkers of Am. v. Rawson, 495 U.S. 362, 372-

73, 376, 109 L. Ed. 2d 362, 110 S. Ct. 1904 (1990).

Moreover, ordinary mistakes, errors, or flaws in judgment

also will not suffice. See Walk v. P*/*E* Nationwide, Inc.,

958 F.2d 1323, 1326 (6th Cir. 1992) (citations omitted). That

is, “an unwise or even an unconsidered decision by the union

is not necessarily an irrational decision.” /d. In essence then,

to prevail, a plaintiff has the difficult task of showing that the

union’s actions were “wholly irrational.” O’Neill, 499 U.S.

at 78. The “wholly irrational” standard is described in terms

of “extreme arbitrariness.” Black, 15 F.3d at 585 (“[T]he

relevant issue in assessing a Union’s judgment is not whether

it acted incorrectly, but whether it acted in bad faith, or

extremely arbitrarily, or discriminatorily.”)(internal quotation

marks and citation omitted).

When reviewing a union representative’s actions or

Omissions, we must never lose sight of the fact that union

agents are not lawyers, and as a general proposition, cannot

be held to the same standard as that of licensed professionals.

See Schoonover v. Consol. Freightways Corp., 147 F.3d 492,

497 (6th Cir. 1998) (Kennedy, J., dissenting) (“[U]nion

representatives are not lawyers. They do not have the

advantage of discovery procedures.”), cert. denied, 525 U.S.

1139 (1999): Poole v. Budd Co. , 706 F.2d 181, 185 (6th Cir.

1983) (“Union representatives are not to be strictly held to the

standards of attorneys.”) (citation omitted). This observation

is simply a restatement of the well-established legal

understanding that: “[o]nly those important or tactical

decisions made by a union official at arbitration that exhibit

arbitrary or discriminatory conduct, or actions taken in bad

faith, constitute breach of a duty of fair representation.”

Walk, 958 F.2d at 1326-27 (citation omitted).

NI BECO LR a EM LEE OD Ge UT WE a

2la

Once an employee successfully demonstrates that the

union acted contrary to its legal duty, the employee must then

show that the union’s actions or omissions “tainted the

grievance procedure such that the outcome was more than

likely affected by the Union’s breach.” Dushaw v. Roadway

Express, Inc., 66 F.3d 129, 132 (6th Cir. 1995) (citation

omitted). The impact of the union’s breach must be substantial

such that the #laintiff “must meet the onerous burden of

proving that the grievance process was ‘seriously flawed by

the union’s breach. . . .’” Black, 15 F.3d at 585 (quoting

Hines, 424 U.S. at 570).

a. Union’s Breach of its Duty of Fair

Representation

Garrison’s allegation of breach against Local 327 can be

separated into two categories: (1) those actions concerning the

failure to ensure that Cassens was notified of Garrison’s intent

to follow the Nissan work, and (2) those actions concerning

the failure to prepare for and challenge Cassens’s argument as

to the thirty-day reporting rule. The first category cannot give

rise to liability.” Accordingly, our focus shifts to the second.

Garrison primarily points to three errors in the union’s

handling of the issue of the thirty-day rule to support a finding

of arbitrary conduct. First, he argues that it was arbitrary

conduct for Neal not to notify Garrison that Cassens had

raised a new defense a the August 1996 proceeding in New

Orleans. Second, Garrison maintains that Neal’s failure to

” Garrison prevailed on this issue before the NJSSC and hence any

alleged breach could not have tainted the committee’s decision. As

the NJSSC found, “Mr. Garrison made a timely request for

employment consistent with this Committee’s prior decision . . .

and this request was acknowledged by Cassens’s terminal manager,

[Firkus].”

22a

prepare a rebuttal in anticipation of Cassens’s thirty-day rule

defense amounted to arbitrary conduct. Last, he argues that it

was also arbitrary behavior for Neal not to argue against the

applicability of the arbitral precedent relied on by Cassens at

the NJSSC proceeding in California. Although Neal acted

with less than full professionalism, there was insufficient

evidence from which the jury could conclude that his errors

rose to the level of “extreme arbitrariness.”

Neal first learned of the thirty-day rule at the New Orleans

proceeding when Cassens invoked the rule as an affirmative

defense to defeat Garrison’s grievance. It is undisputed that

prior to this hearing, and during his relatively short tenure

(i.e., twenty months) as Local 327’s business agent, Neal had

never dealt with, or otherwise been made aware of, the little-

known thirty-day rule. As Garrison himself concedes, the

thirty-day “rule was one [Neal] had never heard of in all of

his years with the union.” Garrison also recognizes that at the

time of his grievance proceedings, the thirty-day rule was

rarely invoked and even more rarely relied on as a basis to

defeat a grievance. For instance, Garrison repeatedly and

boldly emphasizes that he “is the only employee in the sixty-

year history of car haul who ever lost his right to be on a

seniority [list] because he didn’t show up within thirty days.”

Given the relative obscurity and deceptive unimportance of

the thirty-day rule, Neal’s oversight in not relaying this

defense to Garrison did not amount to arbitrary conduct; at

worst, the error was negligence.'° Cf. Walk, 958 F.2d at 1329

(explaining that a union agent’s failure to investigate

'° At trial, Neal testified that he simply did not recall the thirty-day

rule argument being advanced by Cassens at the New Orleans

proceeding. The record indicates that at times, Neal has been in

charge of sixty to seventy grievances a month.

23a

adequately a grievant’s case before submission to arbitration

was negligent, but not in and of itself arbitrary); Olsen v.

United Parcel Serv. , 892 F.2d 1290, 1295-96 (7th Cir. 1990)

(“While we can imagine situations in which a union’s failure

to investigate might constitute substantial evidence of a

breach, the mere failure to investigate, in itself, does not

constitute a breach of the duty of fair representation. ”).

Approximately forty-eight hours prior to the NJSSC

proceeding, Neal, Garrison, and Joe Clark of Cassens came

together to swap documents that would be presented to the

committee. Among the items exchanged were the seven

arbitral precedents that Cassens intended to rely on in support

of its thirty-day rule defense. Garrison and Neal reviewed

these decisions and were of the view that the defense was

inapplicable to Garrison’s grievance.'’ Accordingly, Neal and

'! Garrison insists that there is no evidence that Neal and he

evaluated the arbitral decisions provided by Cassens or that they

believed that the decisions were inapplicable to his grievance.

However, the record indicates that Garrison clearly testified on

cross examination that both Neal and he reviewed the arbitral

decisions submitted by Cassens, and were of the view that the

decisions were inapplicable to Garrison’s situation. Specifically,

Garrison testified as follows:

Q: My question to you was: You [i.e., Garrison] had them

on Sunday, and did you have an opportunity to look at

them between Sunday and Tuesday, when the hearing

takes place?

A: The answer to your question is yes.

Q: Okay. And you, in fact, did review those decisions,

didn’t you?

A: I did look at them, yes, sir.

Q: And Mr. Neal also looked at those decisions, didn’t

he?

A: Yes, sir.

————————

24a

Garrison did not prepare a response to this defense. Neal’s

decision not to research and prepare a response to a defense

that he believed was inapplicable to the grievance he was

handling is a tactical decision subject to deference. After

evaluating the decisions submitted by Cassens--and

determining they were irrelevant or distinguishable from

Garrison’s claim--it was in Neal’s discretion to determine how

he wanted to expend his time, efforts, and resources in

continuing to prosecute Garrison’s grievance. If Neal

determined that a change in strategy was not warranted, a

conclusion that Garrison concurred with, then unless

discriminatory, wholly irrational, or made in bad faith, it is

not for us to second guess the wisdom of the decision.

Moreover, like other contexts where we engage in post hoc

evaluation of conduct, we must be ever vigilant to avoid the

distorting effects of hindsight. Although Neal’s decision not

to obviate or otherwise prepare a rebuttal to the thirty-day

rule proved to be a devastating error, the error can at worst be

viewed as a miscalculation of strategy. Certainly, independent

research and consultation would have been the preferable

course of action, particularly when such research may have

uncovered the Avon Lake arbitral precedent that supported

Garrison’s grievance. However, as our case law makes clear,

Q: And both of you came to the same conclusion, which

was that you felt, in your judgment that those decisions

were different than your situation; correct?

A: We felt that those decisions had nothing to do with our

case. That’s what I felt, and that’s what he [i.e., Neal]

told me that he felt.

* * *

Q: So both you and Mr. Neal decided, after reviewing the

cases and determining them to be not applicable, to go

forward with the hearing on November 5th; correct?

A: Yes, sir. |

25a

“an unwise or even an unconsidered decision by the union is

not necessarily an irrational decision.” Walk, 958 F.2d at

1326.

In Walk, a plaintiff brought a hybrid § 301 suit alleging

that he was wrongfully discharged due to an erroneous drug

test result that indicated a positive finding of marijuana. The

plaintiff argued numerous errors in the union’s handling of his

arbitration proceedings. The most difficult issue was whether

the union’s failure to challenge the clinic’s method of

collecting and sealing the specimen, a method that was not in

compliance with the procedures outlined in the collective

bargaining agreement, amounted to breach of the duty of fair

representation. Under existing case law from the Northern

District of Ohio, a defect in the mandated chain of custody

arguably could serve as a basis to set aside a discharge

resulting from a drug test violation. See id. at 1329.

Accordingly, we had to consider whether the union’s failure

“to raise this issue in a timely fashion may have constituted

more than mere negligence, and whether not raising the chain

of custody issue may have been far outside a wide range of

reasonableness because it may well have made a difference in

the outcome of [the plaintiff's] grievance.” /d. (internal

quotation marks omitted). Although recognizing that the issue

was a Close call, we held that the error did not rise to the level

of breach. Specifically, we found that

The chain of custody issue is the most difficult of

those raised by Walk. Failure to challenge the

procedure did not involve a mere tactical decision by

Local 299, and it did not involve a large expenditure

of funds. It presents a very close question, but we are

persuaded that this failure was more of an omission or

oversight, a negligent error of judgment that was not

directed against plaintiff capriciously or in bad faith.

AIRE EEE 8 RS cease RS ea

26a

We accordingly conclude, despite some reservation,

that this conduct was not outside the O’Neill standard

under all the circumstances.

Id. Thus, Walk presented a much more difficult question than ~

the case at bar because unlike the situation here, in Walk, the

union’s decision not to research and present a particular

defense was not even the product of a tactical decision. Here,

Neal’s decision not to prepare a response to the applicability

of the thirty-day rule was a tactical decision subject to

deference. Accordingly, there was insufficient evidence to

support a finding of arbitrary conduct on this issue.

Last, Garrison maintains that it was arbitrary behavior for

Neal to sit silent during the NJSSC hearing and not challenge

the arguments made by Cassens in support of the applicability

of the thirty-day rule. Again, although Neal’s muteness was

not the most effective method to assist Garrison in his

grievance, it was not so unreasonable to constitute sufficient

evidence of breach of the duty of fair representation; at worst,

it was negligence. See Black, 15 F.3d at 584 (“As the

Supreme Court has made abundantly clear, a plaintiff will not

succeed if he can show only slightly unreasonable behavior on

the part of the union. . . .”). The fact of the matter is that

Garrison assumed primary responsibility for presenting his

grievance before the NJSSC. In his capacity as chief

presenter, he responded to and challenged Cassens’s assertion

that the thirty-day rule should defeat his claim. Before the

committee, Garrison specifically argued that “I did not believe

the thirty (30)-day report rule. . is applicable, because you

will find [that] in NMATA .. . seniority shall not be broken

except by discharge, voluntary quit, [or more than a seven

(7)-year layoff].” Given that Neal had made the reasoned

judgment not to research or prepare for what he believed was

an inapplicable rule, we cannot see--and Garrison has not

27a

explained--what more Neal could have said or done before the

committee other than repeat Garrison’s interpretation of

NMATA. Although Garrison is correct to assert that Neal

would likely have more credibility than Garrison, any

intervention by Neal would not have added much, if any,

value to what was already argued by Garrison. ~Also,

regardless of the arguments made at the hearing, the NJSSC

panel was supplied copies of the prior arbitration decisions,

and itself was able to assess the relevance of those decisions.

Without sufficient evidence that Local 327 breached its

duty of fair representation, Garrison’s hybrid § 301 action

must fail. Accordingly, we need not address Cassens’s alleged

breach of the collective bargaining agreement, or the

numerous other issues that Cassens has raised on appeal.

Because we reverse the denial of Cassens’s motion for

judgment as a matter of law, we consider whether any

grounds exist that might warrant a new trial. See Neely ».

Martin K. Eby Constr. Co. , 386 U.S. 317, 328-29, 18 L. Ed.

2d 75, 87S. Ct. 1072 (1967). Garrison did not request a new

trial in his brief in the event we reversed the district court and

has presented no reasons why a new trial should be ordered.

Our review of record also convinces us that no such grounds

exist. Therefore, we direct the entry of judgment as a matter

of law for Cassens. See id. at 326 (holding that an appellate

court may in its discretion appropriately instruct the district

court to enter judgment against a jury-verdict winner when

further proceedings are unwarranted). Accordingly, the

judgment below is REVERSED, and this case is

REMANDED to the district court for the entry of judgment

as a matter of law for Cassens.

a La ae ee

28a

C. Civil Contempt Order

On January 7, 2002, the district court entered an order

holding Cassens in civil contempt of the court’s prior order of

July 24, 2001. Specifically, it found that Cassens failed to

timely reinstate Garrison to his job and to his rightful place on

the Cassens seniority list and failed to make certain pension

payments as ordered by the court. Because Garrison had

already been reinstated by Cassens at the time the court issued

its ruling, as compensatory damages for contempt, Cassens

was ordered to pay lost wages to Garrison in the amount of

$15,367.75, and to assign Garrison a company seniority date

of June 10, 1996, on its roster and all records. Cassens was

also ordered to pay Garrison retroactive pension contributions

beginning from June 10, 1996. Because we find no basis for

liability under § 301, we necessarily reverse and vacate the

district court’s civil contempt order in its entirety.

“Broadly, the purpose of civil contempt is to coerce an

individual to perform an act or to compensate an injured

complainant.” United States v. Bayshore Assocs., Inc., 934

F.2d 1391, 1400 (6th Cir. 1991). The purpose of a criminal

contempt order, however, is “punitive”; it is “to vindicate the

authority of the court.” Gompers v. Bucks Stove & Range

Co., 221 U.S. 418, 441, 55 L. Ed. 797, 31 S. Ct. 492

(1911). “The general rule is that whether a contempt

judgment survives the avoidance of an underlying order

depends on the nature of the contempt decree. If the contempt

is criminal it stands; if it is civil it falls.” Latrobe Steel Co. v.

United Steelworkers, 545 F.2d 1336, 1342 (3d Cir. 1976)

(citation omitted).

ER i Se TEE Toa NR ESSN A Se ee eee

PS OS A eR LN ENT

29a

As the Supreme Court has long held

It does not follow, of course, that simply because a

defendant may be punished for criminal contempt for

disobedience of an order later set aside on appeal, that

the plaintiff in the action may profit by way of a fine

imposed in a simultaneous proceeding for civil

contempt based upon a violation of the same order.

The right to remedial relief falls with an injunction

which events prove was erroneously issued... .

United States v. United Mine Workers, 330 U.S. 258, 294-95,

91 L. Ed. 884, 67 S. Ct. 677 (1947) (emphasis added). In a

similar vein, we have also explained that

A conviction for criminal contempt may indeed

survive the reversal of the decree disobeyed; the

punishment is to vindicate the court’s authority which

has been equally flouted whether or not the command

was right. But the same cannot be true of civil

contempts, which are only remedial. It is true that the

reversal of the decree does not retroactively obliterate

the past existence of the violation; yet on the other

hand it does more than destroy the future sanction of

the decree. It adjudges that it never should have

passed; that the right which it affected to create was

no right at all. To let the liability stand for past

contumacy would be to give the plaintiff a remedy not

for a right but for a wrong which the law should not

do.

Blaylock v. Cheker Oil Co., 547 F.2d 962, 966 (6th Cir.

1976) (quoting Salvage Process Corp. v. Acme Tank Cleaning

Process Corp., 86 F.2d 727, 727 (2d Cir. 1936) (per

curiam)).

EE Sr er -

30a

In the instant matter, in imposing sanctions, the district

court focused exclusively on compensating Garrison for the

losses he sustained as a result of Cassens’s alleged contempt.

The court’s narrow focus leaves no doubt that the contempt

order at issue is remedial in nature. See Latrobe Steel Co.,

545 F.2d at 1344 (“Remedial or compensatory actions are

essentially backward looking, seeking to compensate the

complainant through the payment of money for damages

caused by past acts of disobedience.”) (citations omitted).

That being so, and having already determined that there is no

basis for liability in the underlying action, then pursuant to

controlling authority, the district court’s compensatory

contempt order can no longer stand.

III. CONCLUSION

We REVERSE the jury verdict and REMAND to the

district court for the entry of judgment as a matter of law for

Cassens in case No. 01-6056. In case No. 02-5124, we

REVERSE and VACATE the district court’s contempt order

in its entirety.

APPENDIX C

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR

THE MIDDLE DISTRICT OF TENNESSEE,

NASHVILLE DIVISION

Case No. 3:98-0415

[Filed Aug. 2, 2001]

AMENDED JUDGMENT IN A CIVIL CASE

DAVID L. GARRISON

VS.

CASSENS TRANSPORT CO.

i A i

O Jury Verdict. This action came before the Court for

a trial by jury. The issues have been tried and the jury

has rendered its verdict as reflected in the verdict form

filed July 12, 2001 (Docket Entry No. 240) and found

as follows:

1) The plaintiff had established by a preponderance of

the evidence that Local Union 327 breached its duty of

fair representation in handling the plaintiff's grievance

against Cassens.

2) The Union’s breach of duty did seriously flaw the

grievance process such that it is more likely than not

that the decision of the National Joint Standing

3la

32a

Seniority Committee would have been different had

the breach of duty not occurred.

3) The plaintiff had established by a preponderance of

the evidence that Cassens Transport Co. breached

Article 5, Section 3 and/or Article 5, Section 4(c) of

the National Agreement by failing to employ the

plaintiff in June of 1996 at the Smyrna, Tennessee

Terminal.

4) The jury awarded back pay damages in the amount

of $408,885.00 to the plaintiff and that amount should

not be reduced any further for actual earnings and/or

the plaintiff's failure to mitigate his damages.

5) The jury determined that 75% of the plaintiff's back

pay damages should be apportioned to the company

and 25% of the plaintiff's back pay damages should be

apportioned to Local 327.

6) The jury found that the plaintiff proved by a

preponderance of the evidence that he is entitled to

receive punitive damages in the amount of

$500,000.00 from the defendant.

In accordance with the jury verdict and the court’s rulings

on July 24, 2001 by separate order, it is hereby ORDERED

that:

1) The plaintiff shall recover from the defendant

Cassens Transport Co. $306,663.75 in back pay

damages and $500,000.00 in punitive damages.

33a

2) The defendant Cassens shall immediately reinstate

the plaintiff as a car-haul driver, with a terminal

seniority date of September 25, 1980.

3) Cassens shall pay into the Central States Pension

Fund all payments necessary so that Mr. Garrison’s

pension record reflects no break in service. These

payments will be credited to Cassens and deducted

from the back pay damages awarded by the jury.

IT IS SO ORDERED AND ADJUDGED.

ENTER this 2™ day of August 2001.

ROGER A. MILAM, CLERK

/s/

BY BETTY BRIGGS-JONES

DEPUTY CLERK

APPENDIX D

NATIONAL MASTER AUTOMOBILE

TRANSPORTERS AGREEMENT

( NMATA )

For The Period Of

May 22, 1995

thru

May 31, 1999

Contained Herein Are Selected Portions Of The National

Master Automobile Transporters Agreement

A “Current Term” contract is obtainable by going online

to www. Teamsters.org/divisions/auotrans/contracts.htm and

then double-click on “Carhaul National Master Agreement”,

by doing so you will then receive a complete downloadable

“National Contract Document”, in PDF format.

34a

35a

ARTICLE 5. SENIORITY

Article 5., Section 1. Definition of Terms

“Company seniority” is a term that is applied to an

employee’s date of hire by the employer.

“Terminal seniority” is a term that is applied to the

employee’s most recent date of employment at a specific

terminal.

“Dovetail seniority”! is a term that is applied when two (2)

or more seniority lists are merged or combined into a single -

seniority list which recognizes the terminal seniority date of

eachemployee. The list is arranged by terminal seniority date

with the most senior employee at the top.

“Endtail seniority” is a term that is applied when an

employee or group of employees are placed at the bottom of

a terminal seniority list although they retain their company

seniority date for fringe benefits.

“Terminal” is a term that is applied to any facility of an

Employer to which employees are assigned to work whether

called a branch, terminal, division or operation.

“Fringe Benefits”, as used in this Article, is a term that shall

apply to vacation accrual only.

' The bolding of type did not appear in the original document, but

is provided to direct the attention of the reader to significant words

and terms that are discussed in this law suit.

36a

Article 5., Section 2.

Terminal seniority rights for all employees covered by this

Agreement shall prevail unless the Supplements or other

provisions of this Agreement provide specifically to the

contrary. Because of the nature of the transportation industry

in which employees transfer during the term of their

employment in the industry from one location to another as

the flow of business requires, there are two (2) levels of

seniority recognized by this Agreement. These levels are

known as “company seniority” and “terminal seniority” as

defined in Section 1.

The extent to which seniority shall be applied and accrued as

well as the methods and procedures of such application shall

be clearly set forth, in writing, in this Agreement and in the

Supplemental Agreements, including approved Local Riders.

Article 5., Section 3.”

(a) Seniority, including for fringe benefits, shall only be

broken by discharge, ° voluntary quit,‘ more than a seven

(7)-year layoff,’ except as otherwise provided herein or for

* The bolding of type did not appear in the original document, but

is provided to direct the attention of the reader to significant words

and terms that are discussed in this law suit.

> Garrison was not “discharged”.

* Garrison did not “voluntarily quit”.

> Garrison was not on “Layoff”.

Garrison’s name should have been put on Cassens seniority

list in 1994, along with all the other Allied drivers that

decided to follow the traffic to Cassens from Allied

i

37a

such greater period than seven (7) years as the appropriate

Joint Arbitration Committee may direct during the seventh

(7") year. This provision shall be uniformly applied

throughout all Supplemental Agreements to the National

Master Automobile Transporters Agreement.

(b) Leave of Absence for Union Activities ( omitted )

Article 5., Section 4.

Seniority lists are dovetailed in the following circumstances:

When the same Employer merges two (2) or more terminals;

a. When commonly owned separate Employers merge two

(2) or more terminals;

b. When two (2) or more Employers share traffic from the

Same shipper at the same location and the traffic of one (1) of

the Employers is canceled by the shipper and it is assigned to

one (1) of the remaining Employers, whether or not there is

a financial transaction of any kind involving the affected

Employers. At port facilities, the canceled Employer must

have regularly handled the traffic for a period of at least six

(6) months for this provision to apply.

c. When two (2) or more terminals are merged after an

Employer enters into a major financial transaction such as a

merger, purchase, acquisition, sale or similar transaction with

Systems. Garrison was off work due to an OJI and his

name merely should have been “Dovetailed” on the new

list in 1994, as was decided by prior directives of the

NATJAC Committee in the Avon Lake Decision of 1992.

38a

another Employer. It is immaterial whether the transaction

involved merely the purchase of stock of one (1)corporation

by another, with two (2) separate corporations continuing in

existence.

(e) The above rules shall not apply to the acquisition of a

wholly separate and independent company, the operations of

which are conducted separately from other operations covered

by this Agreement.

Article 5., Section 5.

a. Inthe event a shipper cancels its business relationship with

an Employer at a location and transfers all or part of that

business to another Employer which is not servicing that

shipper at that location, whether or not there is a financial

transaction of any kind involving the affected Employers,

both the active and the laid-off employees of the canceled

Employer at that terminal shall be placed on a master

seniority list. Those employees who accept employment with

the successor employer shall be given a new company

seniority date. This new company seniority date shall be the

date used for work opportunities at any of the successor

Employer’s location except the employee’s original terminal.

However, the employee shall retain his prior company

seniority date for fringe benefits. At port facilities the

canceled Employer must have regularly handled the business

for a period of more than six (6) months.

(b) Employees of the canceled Employer who remain on

layoff after all of the seniority rights contained in Sections 4

and 5(a) have been exercised shall remain on layoff status at

their home terminal with recall rights unimpaired. They shall

be afforded additional help opportunities at other locations by

both Employers. For work opportunities at its other location

39a

the successor Employer must exhaust its obligations to its

existing laid-off employees before offering opportunities to

employees of the canceled Employer. If an employee accepts

employment under this subsection with the successor

Employer, a new company seniority date shall be given and

there shall be no further obligation of the canceled Employer.

However, the employee shall retain his prior company

seniority date for fringe benefits. If the employee selects

employment at another location of the canceled Employer,

there shall be no further obligation of the successor employer

to that employee.

Article 5., Section 6. thru9. ( omitted )

Article 5., Section 10.

Notices of Changes Which Affect Seniority

When a change is made by an Employer which affects the

seniority rights of its employees as provided in this Article,

the Employer shall give the affected Local Union(s)

reasonable notice in advance of the change. The Employer

and Local Union(s) shall cooperate in assisting the appropriate

Area Joint Arbitration Committee or National Committee in

determining the seniority of the employees affected in

accordance with the terms of this Agreement. Such

determination shall be final and binding on the Employer, the

Local Union(s) and the employees.

———77~

40a

ARTICLE 7. GRIEVANCE MACHINERY

Article 7., Section 1. thru 17. ( partially omitted )

Article 7., Section 4. Step 4.

The Local Union and the Employer shall conduct a local-level

hearing after the foregoing steps have been exhausted.

Scheduling of the local-level hearing will be by mutual

agreement but it is to take place as soon as possible but no

later than thirty (30) days after the Employer’s written

response to the grievance to discuss and attempt to resolve the

grievance. If the grievance is not resolved at the local-level

hearing, either party has the right to file the grievance with

the appropriate Joint Arbitration Committee within fifteen

(15) days after the local-level hearing.

During the local-level hearing and prior to docketing the

grievance with the Joint Arbitration Committee, the business

agent and Employer representative shall designate in writing

that the grievance has been examined by both parties. This

document must be attached to the grievance if it is filed with

the Joint Arbitration Committee. Failure of the Local Union

and the Employer to comply with this requirement shall

preclude the docketing of the grievance and it shall be

returned to the parties to comply with this requirement.

Any party to a grievance who intends to use a decision of

any Joint Arbitration Committee as precedent must

present a copy of the decision to the other party as soon as

possible prior to the presentation of the case to the

Committee.

ill ii

(RE

|

4la

Article 7., Section 18. Grievant’s Bill of Rights®

All employees who file grievances under the Agreement and

its Supplemental Agreements are entitled to have their cases

decided fairly and promptly. In order to satisfy these

objectives and promote confidence in the integrity of the

grievance procedures, all employees who file grievances are

entitled to the following rights:

1. Grievants and Stewards shall be informed by their Local

Union of the time and place of the hearing.

2. Grievants and Stewards are permitted to attend, at their

own expense, the hearing in cases in which they are involved,

unless otherwise agreed to by the Employer and Local Union.

3. The Employer shall provide any pertinent and relevant

information identified with reasonable specificity within

fifteen (15) days of receipt of a written request by the Local

Union, Steward or grievant.

4. All cases involving seniority or a discharge shall be

recorded, except for executive sessions. Transcriptions of

these proceedings shall be prepared in response to written

requests by the Local Union at the reasonable cost of

transcription, which shall be borne by the employee or party

making the request.

The bolding of type did not appear in the original document, but

is provided to direct the attention of the reader to significant words

and terms that are discussed in this law suit.

42a

5. A grievant or Steward may request permission to present

argument in support of the case in addition to the evidence or

argument presented by the Local Union.

6. All Joint Committees shall provide written decisions

describing the reasons relied upon in reaching the decision.

7. Cases may not be postponed only by mutual agreement

between the Local Union and Employer.

8. A copy of the Joint Committee Rules of Procedure,

including the Grievant’s Bill of Rights, shall be provided by

the Joint Committee upon request of the grievant prior to the

commencement of the Joint Committee hearing.

End of Selected Portions of the:

National Master Automobile Transporters Agreement

( NMATA )

A “Current Term” contract is obtainable by going online

to www. Teamsters.org/divisions/auotrans/contracts.htm and

then double-click on “Carhaul National Master Agreement”,

by doing so you will then receive a complete downloadable

“National Contract Document”, in PDF format.

APPENDIX E

AVON LAKE DECISION

NATIONAL AUTOMOBILE TRANSPORTERS

JOINT ARBITRATION COMMITTEE

(NATJAC )

Minutes of the NATJAC Meeting Held

Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday

May 5, 6, and 7, 1992

Scottsdale Plaza Resort, Scottsdale, AZ 85253

NATJAC No. 5-92-(2-92)-465-A

Cassens Transport Company

V

Teamsters Local Union No. 571 ( Lorain, OH )

and

E & L Transport Company

and

Teamsters Local Union No. 964 ( Cleveland, OH )

43a

44a

HEARING PANEL’

Employer Co-Chairperson Union Co-Chairperson

R. Ian Hunter Ernest Tusino

Employer Panel Members Union Panel Members

Ron Borges Charles Collins

William Hadley James Doorhy

A. J. Kosak Merl Kelly

Jack Nelson Jim Roberts

RE: Request for Committee approval for procedures

applicable to fine staffing of a new facility

at

Avon Lake, Ohio. ( 1992 )

DISCUSSION:

Bob Eliser of Local Union 377 appeared by designation by

Chuck Ayres, Local union 964 to set forth the position of

Local Union 964 at this hearing. While the Local Union was

advised by Cassens Transport Company (“Cassens”) that is to

receive two hundred fifty (250) units a day, five (5) days a

week with a total 17,000 units a year at Avon Lake railramp,

Local 964 believes, based upon, prior history, it will be more

like 34,000 units a year. Local 964 was informed by Cassens

that seven (7) of its members from E & L Transport’s (“E &

L”) Lorain terminal were working at the Avon Lake railhead.

There should be at least twenty five (25) to thirty (30) drivers

' The bolding of type did not appear in the original document, but

is provided to direct the attention of the reader to the fact that these

persons participated in both, the Avon Lake Decision of 1992 and

the Dana Point Decision of 1996.

45a

working at this location in due time. The Local Union claims

that 30 percent of the vehicles delivered from the railhead are

400 hundred miles or more. Trips of this distance are more

than a day’s work. The Local Union also believes that

Cassens is presently employing thirty (30) Cassens drivers at

the railhead to handle the backlog of cars. This is another

reason why the Local Union believes that Cassens needs more

employees from Lorain to handle the rail traffic previously

handled by the E & L Lorain drivers.

In addition, the Local Union asked that the Committee direct

that sick pay, personal holidays and other fringe benefits be

prorated by the Companies in accordance with the contract.

The Local Union asked the Committee to retain jurisdiction

until more accurate data is available to determine the true

number of drivers required by Cassens to handle the former

Lorain railhead traffic, the work which the Local 964 and E

& L members are entitled to perform.

Charles Lee appeared on behalf of Local Union 299.” He

asked that if the seniority rights of E & L Woodhaven drivers

were directly affected by the opening of the Avon Lake

facility their rights be protected. At this time the Local Union

is not aware of any specific facts which would justify such

application, but asked the Committee to retain jurisdiction

until, the full extent of the impact of the opening of the Avon

Lake facility on Woodhaven could be ascertained.

Jim Walker appeared on behalf of Cassens.’ He indicated

that tile Company had just begun to operate out of Avon Lake

2 Charles Lee, was a Panel Member of the Dana Point Decision

of 1992.

3 Jim Walker, Labor Representative for Cassens.

4

¥

3

46a

(also known as Sheffield). A substantial delay in the opening

of the railhead had occurred, and thus, the Company could

not implement until very recently the decision rendered by the

National Committee in Case 465 at its October 21-23, 1991

meeting, Had the railramp operated in advance of the plant

opening, it would, have permitted the Company and Local

Union to ascertain more precisely the level of traffic

associated with the railramp. However, both the railramp and

the plant commenced to operate concurrently. Thus, the rail

traffic will have to be isolated from the plant traffic to

determine how many E & L Lorain drivers are entitled to

transfer to the Avon Lake facility. This is because the

National Committee’s earlier decision had separated the rail

traffic from the plant traffic and had awarded seniority rights

to the E & L Lorain drivers only for the railramp traffic.

Cassens drivers were awarded the fight to bid the plant traffic.

Cassens presently estimates that they will need twelve (12)

Lorain drivers to handle the rail traffic diverted from the

Lorain rail ramp. The Company does not yet know the

number of drivers it will need for the plant traffic. The

Company reviewed the number of units received by it during

the eight (8) day period it operated out of the railramp. This

data revealed the company had received, an average of 1.15

units a day. Since many of the trips are short in distance, a

driver will be able to haul more than one load a day. This is

the basis of Cassens contention it will need no more than

twelve (12) E & L Lorain drivers.

When questioned, Mr. Walker [ Cassens Transport Co. ]

noted that one hundred fifty (150) E & L Lorain drivers had

bid the Avon Lake facility. The Company estimates that it

will load ten units a load and that 40 percent of the Avon rail

traffic is for the Cleveland zone.

47a

In addition to the number of E & L Lorain drivers entitled to

work at the railhead...

Cassens [ Mr. Walker ] asked for clarification as to how

long the Company is obligated to afford work at the Avon ~

Lake facility to an E & L Lorain driver presently on a

leave of absence due to an on-the-job injury.*

Perchie Adkins appeared on behalf of E & L. He indicated he

wanted consideration given to modifying application of the 20

percent rule at the E & L Lorain terminal given the loss of its

business to the Cassens Avon Lake facility and other factors

in order to utilize backhauls from the terminal in the future.

MOTION:

That based upon the facts and evidence presented, the

Committee decides as follows: |

The Committee’s original, decision in Case No. 10-91-465 is

hereby affirmed. The Company is instructed to continue to

staff the rail and plant facility in accordance with that decision

during the next ninety (90) days. The parties are instructed to

report back to the Committee in writing the action taken by

the Company to implement the decision at the August 1992

meeting, at which time the Committee will determine whether

to end or extend the window period.

4 Cassens knew what to do with Garrison in 1994, because in this

decision, the Avon Lake Decision of 1992, Cassens asked the

NATJAC Committee for clarification, as what to do when an

employee is off work on compensation status and that employee

elects to “Follow The Work” to the surviving company.

48a

°

With regards to the E & L employee on workers’

compensation’ who has elected to transfer to Cassens, he

is to be deemed as transferred and will hold seniority at

. Avon Lake and will be permitted to assume an active

position upon his release from compensation status®

> This Avon Lake Decision of 1992, established the standard and

instructed Cassens and all signatories of NMATA, as what to do in

the future, when under Article 5, Section 4, or Article 5, section 5,

an employee is off work on compensation status elects to “Follow

The Work” to the surviving company.

° When NATJAC orders the “Dovetailing” of the two (2) seniority

lists mandated in NMATA Article 5, Section 4, or Article 5,

Section 5, and when that employee who is currently not working

and who is on compensation status, due to an on-the-job injury or

sickness, elects to “Follow The Work”, to the new NMATA

Employer, that employee’s name is “Dovetailed” along with all the

other drivers’ of both companies being mereged, into a new master

seniority list. (ref. NMATA, Article 5, Section 5 (a) ), and noted

beside his name are the words “Compensation Status” or “Off on

Injury”.

Having ones name on the seniority list is the only way one can hold

seniority at any location.

After the effected worker obtains a medical release from

compensation status, that worker merely returns to work and

resumes his regular duties with the new NMATA Employer.

-In this manner, employees who just happen to be on

compensation status, when the shipper (Nissan) decides to

transfer traffic from one NMATA Employer (Allied Systems) to

another NMATA Employer (Cassens), the effected employees are

not discriminated against merely because that employee just

happened to be off on compensation status during the time of

traffic transfer.

creer SS sO RRL

49a

With respect to vacations, sick pay, personal holidays and

other fringe benefit obligations, the Companies and Local

Unions are instructed to exchange the information necessary

to enable E & L Transport to make the appropriate pro-rata

payments to its employees who elect to transfer to Cassens

with respect to each of the above contractual obligations for

the period ending on the date that each such employee is put

to work at Cassens. Cassens, thereafter, shall, assume these

obligations, also on a pro-rata basis, effective on the date that

each such employee is put to work.

MOTION CARRIED.

APPENDIX F

BEFORE THE

NATIONAL JOINT STANDING

SENIORITY COMMITTEE

Case No. NJSSC-11-96-(9-96)-38

IN THE MATTER OF:

LOCAL 327 (NASHVILLE)

VS.

CASSENS TRANSPORT COMPANY

Nee eee eee ee”

Tuesday, November 5, 1996 at the Laguna Cliffs Resort

Dana Point, California

EMPLOYER PANEL MEMBERS

R. Ian Hunter, Co-Chairperson

Ron Borges

William Hadley

Anthony LaBue

UNION PANEL MEMBERS

J.D. Jackson, Co-Chairperson

Charles Lee

Timothy Lehman

Fred Zuckerman

Sla

CASSENS TRANSPORT COMPANY

REPRESENTATIVES:

Allen Cassens

Joe Clark

LOCAL 327 REPRESENTATIVES-

Jimmy Neal

David Garrison, Grievant

[p.25]

down through that list again. On Exhibit One (1) or Two (2),

Mr. Garrison’s name is not on it. A clerical error or mistake

was made in that -- if you go to Ailied’s seniority list --

Exhibits Three (3), A (3a), B (3b), and C (3c) -- the only

thing that we can figure is that the 9-25-80 date was picked up

-- picked up off of this list which was not a list given to us,

because you can see the way it was issued. We were going

through this list -- when we were going through -- in our

home office, to make sure that we had the correct dates. As

you can see on Exhibit Three (3)where people were told what

to use for the fringe date and what to use for the terminal date

and what to use for the Company date. That’s how the dates

got messed up. Gentlemen, Exhibit Four (4) in your package

is, in fact, the release that Mr. Garrison brought to us. And

you can see that the release is dated 6-7-96. And you can also

see that -- that release does say able to return to work with the

following restrictions and the restrictions are duties as

tolerated. And then the Company couldn’t get a medical

release to full duty, So therefore, based upon that, we

couldn’t return Mr. Garrison to work. Item Five (5), you’ll

see Mr. Garrison’s letter to Mr. Barlow, the business agent

of record for Local 327. Agent Barlow never notified Cassens

Transport that, in fact, Mr.Garrison wanted to come to us

from Allied and that includes me and Jim in Smyrna too. You

52a

also have as part of Exhibit Five (5) -- Cassens Transport

Company was not, in fact, copied on this correspondence.

Nor were we presented with the letters that he claimed that he

wrote back to Edwards --

[p.26]

you will find that we were not copied either. At no time, since

October 1994 to June of 1996, did Mr. Garrison ever

contacted Cassens Transport. Until I guess, he wished he’d

come to us, or he thought he had a right to come to us -- or

any thing, shape, form, or fashion which would be on our

Seniority list. Exhibit Six (6), gentlemen, and Six A (6a) - the

last seniority list posted by Cassens Transport Company prior

to any transfer of Allied drivers to Cassens Transport. And

you will, in fact, find that Mr. Garrison’s name is not on it.

You take Exhibit Seven (7) and Seven A (7a) dated 11-11-94

is, in fact, the first seniority list where drivers who wished

from Allied Systems that transferred to Cassens Transport.

Again you will not find Mr. Garrison’s name on it. Exhibits

Eight (8) and Eight A (8a) dated 11-15-94 is a list showing

when additional Allied drivers came on duty to the Cassens

board through the decision of 801-A. Again, you will not find

Mr. Garrison’s name on it. Exhibits Nine (9) and Nine A (9a)

dated 1-4-95 -- again, it’s the seniority list that was posted.

Again, you will not find Mr. Garrison’s name on it. Exhibits

Ten (10) and Ten A (10a) dated 1-10-95 -- it is, in fact, again,

the seniority list of Cassens Transport. And again, you will

not find Mr. Garrison’s name on it. Exhibits Eleven (11)

through Thirteen (13) are, in fact, representative of every six

(6) months -- we show you in here a copy of the seniority list

that we ran and posted. And nowhere is Mr. Garrison’s name

on it. The Local Union was sent a copy of each and every one

of these seniority lists. And at no time, okay, until now--until

June of 1996, did the

eT ee RT Oe ee

=e an aed ae ie

53a

[p.27]

Local Union ever question us or protest to us that Mr,

Garrison’s name was not on the seniority list. Nor did Mr.

Garrison. himself, ever question us or protest that his name

was not on the list. Exhibit Fourteen (14), gentlemen, is the

decision in Case Number 801-A -- again heard, at such time,

by this National Committee. And in this case, it was heard at

the Tradewinds on St. Petersburgh Beach in January of 1995.

And you will see that it’s listed as Case 801-A which is the

original case number. All of the parties listed on the docket

were, in fact present -- which meant Cassens, Commercial,

Allied - and all of their representatives were present, along

with Local Union 327. At that time, there was a question as

to whether the seniority list was correct or not. The decision

in that case was that, in fact, it was correct, and the seniority

list shall remain unchanged. At that time -- during that

meeting, there was never any evidence presented, any position

taken, or any protest raised where Mr. Garrison’s name was

not on that seniority list. That seniority list was published,

based upon information supplied to us at the beginning of

October of 1994. Mr, Garrison’s name has never been

supplied to us as being one that wished to transfer from Allied

to Cassens Transport. During the local level, July 12, 1996,

Mr. Hodges, the agent for Local 327, testified to all that

Local 327 had participated throughout the preparation of all

the lists --had seen all the lists -- in fact, they had been given

from Allied to either Cassens or Commercial. And he testified ~-~——

in front of all at local level that he had never seen Mr.

Garrison’s name on any list supplied to either

* * *

APPENDIX G

Excerpted Portions of Trial Transcript

[p.86]

Q.

So that would have been about 60 days after the election

to follow the work?

A.

Q.

Yes.

And are you aware of anything that Cassens ever did to

notify any drivers that they had to show up for work within 30

days or be removed from this dovetail list?

A.

Q.

As it pertains to this decision?

As to any driver. Was any driver -- prior to Dave

Garrison showing up in June of 1996, was any driver ever

informed that they had 30 days to show up or their name was

going to be taken off the seniority list?

A.

Q.

A.

>

Not in Smyrna, that I’m aware of, no.

Are you aware of it anywhere else?

Yes, sir, I am.

. Prior to 1996?

. Oh, ag sir. No, that I was not.

54a

7 ,

r :

55a

Q. Okay. Thank you. Are you aware of anything that Local

327 or Allied ever did to notify any driver prior to June of

1996?

A. I would not have knowledge of Allied or what Local 327

did.

Q. Do you have a bulletin board there at Cassens?

A. Yes, sir, I do.

Q. Are things -- notices to drivers posted on that bulletin

board?

[p.87]

A. Yes, sir.

Q. Was there ever anything posted to tell drivers they had to

show up within 30 days or have their name taken, off the

seniority list?

A. No, sir.

Q. And you, yourself, were not aware of any 30-day rule that

required any drivers to show up for work prior to Mr.

Garrison showing up in June of ‘96; were you?

A. No, sir, not at that time.

Q. If you would, sir, in the book that I gave you, would you

turn to Exhibit 5, please? Will you turn to that page?

A. Yes, sir.

56a

Q. Can you tell us what that is?

A. It is a seniority roster, with a run date or a produce date

of 11/15 of 1994.

Q. All right. And Mr. Nance’s name is not on there; is it?

A. No, sir; it is not.

Q. And Mr. Garrison’s name is not on there?

A. No, sir, it is not.

Q. But we do have Driver Langston and Driver James on

there. Do you see those lines?

A. Yes, sir; I do.

Q. And it has a WC out next to it. Can you tell us [p. 88]

what that means?

A. Yes, sir. It means those two drivers are on workmen’s

comp.

Q. All right. Take a look at the next exhibit, Exhibit 6. And

what’s the date of this seniority list?

A. 1/4 of ‘95.

Q. And is Mr. Nance’s name on this list yet?

A. No, sir, it is not.

Q. But we still have Mr. James’ name with the work comp

next to it; correct?

S7a

A. Yes, sir; you do.

Q. He’s still off on work comp, unable to work; right?

A. That is correct.

Q. And James -- I’m-sorry, Langston is down as vacation;

correct?

A. That is correct, as well.

Q. So he also wasn’t coming into work?

A. No, sir, he was on vacation.

Q. All right. Let’s look at the next one, Exhibit 7. What’s

the date of this seniority list?

A. Mine in this book is 1/10 of ‘95.

Q. Thank you. And is this the first one where Langston -- I’m

sorry, Mr. Nance’s name appears?

A. Yes, sir.

Q. Allright. And what’s the date of Mr. -- I’m sorry, [p. 89]

what did I say -- I meant Nance. This is the first time Mr.

Nance’s name appears on a Casseas’ seniority list; correct?

A. Yes, sir; it is.

Q. And we have Langston on vacation, James still on work

comp; correct?

A. Yes, sir.

58a

Q. Did Langston or James lose their terminal seniority

because they hadn’t showed up for work as of January 10"?

A. No, sir, they did not. They were original members on our

board, so they had already established that terminal seniority

with us.

Q. And, in fact, once Nance’s name was on there, he had

established, terminal seniority also; hadn’t he?

A. Yes, sir.

Q. And his name would never be taken off a seniority list;

would it?

A. There are circumstances where it could be, under

discharge or retirement, things like that, yes.

Q. I think the rule is discharge, voluntary quit, or on layoff

for more than seven years.

"THE COURT: Is that a question?

By Mr. Moen:

Q. Yes. Is that the rule?

A. I’m not certain about the seven years.

adie

[p.189]

Smyrna, Tennessee.

59a -

Q. How long have you been a driver in automobile transport?

A. About 21 years and 3 months, I’m sorry, 20 years and 3

months.

Q. And are you presently still employed with Cassens?

A. Yes, I am.

Q. Do you Know what number you are on the seniority

board?

A. I’m currently number 5.

Q. Do you know where David Garrison would be had he

come to Smyrna in June of 1996 in relationship to you on the

board? Would he be one notch above you?

A. I think he would be two notches above me, Mr. Garrison,

I believe, would be number 3 or 4.

Q. And that would bump you down a notch?

A. Correct.

Q. All right. And were you employed at Smyrna, Tennessee,

with Allied in October, November of 1994, when the

committee decision came down and drivers were given the

choice to transfer from Allied to Cassens or Commercial

Carriers?

A. I was given the choice, and I chose Cassens Transport.

Q. And at the time that you chose Cassens, were you off

[p. 190] on a work related injury?

60a

A. Yes, sir, I was. —

Q. How long had you been off at that time?

A- Approximately four months.

Q. And what was your injury? -

A. Rotator cuff on the left shoulder.

And did you injure that while you were loading cars?

> ©

Yes, sir, I did, with Allied Systems.

Is the car-haul business -- would you say it’s a somewhat

dangerous occupation for truck driving?

©

A. Very much so.

Q. Are there a fair number of injuries?

A. Overabundance of injuries, yes.

Q. And is that caused by the nature of the car-haul business,

itself?

A. True. It’s a dangerous occupation.

Q. Allright. At the time that you elected to follow the work

_to Cassens, did you notify Mr. Edwards of your choice?

A. Yes, sir, I did.

6la

Q. Did you have any contact with Cassens notifying them that

you wanted to follow the work, or did it all go through

Allied?

A. No, sir, I did not.

Q. All right. So you were off on work comp, you [p. 191]

elected to go to Cassens, and then what happened next?

A. Well, that was prior to Allied Systems losing their

business when their contract was up. When it was up and

everyone went to Cassens that chose to go, they had an

orientation. And by the word of mouth contact of my friends

that was employed with Allied Systems, they told me I had

better go over there and talk to them people.

Q. All right. It wasn’t Cassens that notified you. It was

through word of mouth from a friend?

A. Correct.

Q. And you went over to Cassens, and you filled out their

paperwork, and you applied for the job?

A. Correct.

Q. And you notified them in that paperwork that you were off

on a work related injury and you could not work. Isn’t that

true?

A. Nothing was made out -- no, not in paperwork. It was a

verbal. I advised them that I was off.

62a

Q. And it was certainly clear -- you made it clear to Cassens

that you were unable to pass a DOT physical and drive a truck

in November of ‘94?

A. That is correct. I was still under a doctor’s care.

Q. And you, in fact, did not take a driver’s test in November

of 1994; did you?

A. No, sir, I did not.

[p. 192]

Q. And why was that?

A. Because I had not been released from the doctor to

perform any duties.

Q. Did anyone at Cassens or Allied or Local 327 tell you that

you had a 30-day window that you needed to show up for

work or you would lose your right to transfer to Cassens?

A. No, sir, they did not.

Q. Did you, in fact, then later start pulling a load for

Cassens?

A. Yes, sir, beginning January the 9" of 1995.

Q. And that was the first load that you pulled for them?

A. Yes, sir.

Q. When did the doctor release you and give you a medical

release that was adequate for you to return to work?

A

63a

_I believe it was in the first week of January when I

actually got my release.

Q. And took it to Cassens and -

A. Pardon?

Q. Did you take it to Cassens and show them that you-had the

re

A

Q.

[p.

©

y+

Q

A

a

Q

lease?

. Yes, I did.

Then you had to take the DOT physical?

238]

. I did. -

This second medical release?

I did.

Did you give it to Mr. Clark?

Yes, I did.

. Did he read it?

. I suppose he did, He looked at it, and he said, “This is not

valid release.”

. What did you say then?

64a

A. Well, he added, he said, “You’re going to have to be

checked by our doctors.” He said, “This release doesn’t mean

anything.”

I said, “Well, the man that wrote this release is a spine

surgeon. In fact, he is the patent-holder on the drill that drills

the holes in your back -when you go through a back

operation.”

He said, “I don’t care who he is. You’ve got to see our

doctor.” I said, “Well, I’m ready right now.” I had offered

several times in the first meeting and this meeting. “I’m ready

to take a DOT physical now.” I drove a truck to the hearing.

Q. On this July 12"--

A. Yes, sir.

Q. An 18-wheeler when--

A. And. I had a valid DOT physical in my pocket. I had

[p.239] already been cleared. Had got it when I was in

Columbia by another doctor.

Q. Did you also have at this July 12 prehearing those two

letters that were signed by Firkus?

A. Yes, sir.

Q. So when Mr. Clark saw your medical release and the

documentation from Firkus, did he say, “Well, okay, we will

have to put you back to work?”

A. No, sir, there was-- that meeting lasted about an hour or

so. And the gist of the conversation was, you know, why

65a

didn’t you call us, why didn’t you send a letter, this medical

release isn’t good enough, you are going to have to gef a

release from your doctor; by the way, sign this piece of

paper, we want all your medical files from Allied before we

go any further.

And I really objected at that point, I said, “This meeting

is about seniority. It’s not a matter about whether I’m fit to do

the job or not, even though I’m ready to take a physical and

prove it.” And he said, “well we ain’t going to do it.” And at

that--

Q. Did you-- I’m sorry, go ahead.

A. At that point, I had missed about $7,000 worth of

Q. In between these two dates?

A. In between the June 11th and the July 12th date, [p. 247]

to have to get their doctor, but the main point was that I had

never made election, which was just clearly patently untrue.

Q. In between August and November, did anyone tell you

that they were advancing some 30-day rule or some 30-day

window of opportunity that you had missed?

A. I had never heard about a 30-day rule until I got out to

Dana Point in November.

Q. Did you submit your packet of information? I think we

looked at it-- I have forgotten-- Exhibit 9-- no-

A. Number 8.

66a

Q. Yeah, Exhibit 8, your presentation that we looked at, did

you submit that to Mr. Neal prior to going to Dana Point so

he could look at it to give you any suggestions or advice on

what information or evidence you could put in?

A. Yes, sir.

Q. What did he tell you?

A. He said, “Looks like you’ve got it all summed up.”

Q. And in the presentation that you prepared for this Dana

Point hearing, was there anything in there about the 30-day

rule?

A. No, sir.

Q. Why?

A. Didn’t know about it. I didn’t know they was going to use

a 30-day rule; never heard of it. It was invented.

[p. 248]

Q. You show up.at Dana Point, California, and Mr. Clark is

there; correct?

A. Yes, sir.

Q. And he gives you some committee decisions?

A. Yes, sir.

Q. And he walks off?

4

rs

;

4

4

3

“>

4

ie

|

;

¢

;

4

x

67a

A. Yeah, we met him out in front of the hotel. I saw him

there. And he handed them to Jimmy, and Jimmy handed

them to me, and he said, “What do you think?”

Q. Well, did Mr. Clark, when he gave them to you, did he

say, “Well, we are relying on the 30-day rule, Mr. Garrison

or Mr. Neal?” Did he say that?

A. No, sir. He said -- best of my recollection, he said,

“Jimmy, we’re going to use these cases in Mr. Garrison’s

case.”

Q. When was the first time you heard those words come out

of some human being’s mouth, that there was a 30-day rule

that precluded you from employment with Cassens?

A. Joe Clark.

Q. When?

A. In the meeting.

Q. In the testimony part of the meeting?

A. Yes, sir. He never said, “You know about the 30-day

rule; we’re going to use it.” He merely gave us the cases. But

you asked-- my question was, the first time I heard [p. 249]

it.

Q. Yeah, right.

A. Was the-- was in-- his presentation to the committee.

68a

Q. And these committee decisions that he gave you, did any

of them talk about a 30-day rule that would cause somebody

to lose their seniority rights on a seniority board?

A. No, sir.

Q. What did you think the cases meant?

A. I was really dumfounded why he was putting them in

there. I had read them at lunch the day before and looked at

it. They had no relevance.

They were talking about people being transferred,

intercompany; like if I was working at Auto Convoy going

from Dallas to Houston to Albuquerque. It had nothing to do

with putting two companies together on what we call 54-C.

Q. I’m sorry. Did Mr. Neal at any point at Dana Point say,

“Oh, well, Dave, it’s because of the 30-day rule; that’s what

these cases are about?”

A. No.

Q. Did Mr. Neal ever tell you that there were other drivers

back in this October *94 time frame who were off on work

comp, who got to transfer, and no 30-day rule applied

[p. 250] to them? Did Mr. Neal tell you about that?

A. No, sir.

Q. Did Mr. Neal ever tell you that there was never a 30-day

rule posted anywhere at Allied or Cassens?

A. No, sir.

69a

Q. And when you testified at Dana Point, was Mr. Neal still

with you?

A. He was there at the table with me, yes, sir, side by side.

Q. Why was he there?

A. He’s my representative; he’s my union representative.

Q. And what’s your understanding of his obligation as a

union representative in a hearing?

A. He -- his first obligation is to research the case and get as

much background in the case and as much history through

prior decisions that he can, and to aid the grievant into

preparing the case.

But more than that, he’s there to present the case to the

committee and bring out facts that can make the committee

knowledgeable of facts in this particular, or any particular

grievance.

Q. Do you believe it was reasonable to expect that he would

know the contract and know the prior committee decisions

better than you?

[p. 393]

right?

A. Well, that’s not really the way it happened, Mr. Mercado,

no.

70a

Q. Okay. Didn’t Mr. Neal tell the company to put you in the-

-on the seniority list, put you to work?

A. I’m referring to the question. You asked me a question

back. You said: Didn’t he take you to Smyrna and have a

meeting. And that’s not the way it happened. I’m sorry.

Q. I’m sorry, I know. You drove yourself over there and he

drove over there; correct?

A. No, sir. He and Mr. Firkus had a meeting prior to our

mutual meeting, and he had already left the terminal. And I

called him on the cell phone, and he came back to the

terminal.

Q. Okay, But do you know whether or not he was even

meeting about your situation? There are other drivers there.

He could have been talking about any other thing; right?

A. No, sir, I know it because he and both Mark Flett said that

they talked to Mr. Firkus about my deal, about my situation.

Q. Okay. Now, you did, however, then go back and talk to

them-- to the company about your situation with. Mr. Neal;

correct?

[p. 394]

A. When I was at the motel, I found that Mr. Neal was

already at the terminal having a meeting with Mr. Firkus, I

went to the terminal, and Mr. Neal had already left.

I immediately called him on the cell phone, and he

evidently-- just two or three blocks away-- returned to the

Tila

terminal. And that’s when we had the meeting, my first

meeting, with Mr. Firkus about this seniority problem.

Q. Okay. And isn’t it true that he said that you should be put

onto the company’s seniority list?

A. Yes.

Q. And, of course-- and that was your position, too; correct?

A. Yes, sir.

Q. And, of course, the company’s position was that you had

never been on the seniority list; correct?

A_ Yes, sir.

Q. And Mr. Firkus then further said that he would have to

contact Mr. Joe Clark, the company’s director of labor

relations, to determine the company’s official position with

respect to your claim; correct?

A. Yes, sir.

Q. Okay. Now, you had known Mr. Firkus from before;

correct?

A. Yes, sir.

Q. When Allied and Cassens used to share a terminal back

* * *

72a

[p. 474]

A. Okay. All right.

Q. And does this exhibit have Mr. Dickerson’s name on it?

A. Let me review it a minute.

Q. Sure.

A. Yes, sir. He’s listed in the spot where I would be, number

6.

Q. And if you follow Mr. Dickerson’s line over, does it have

a date on there that actually is your company seniority date?

A. Sure does.

Q. What date is that?

A. 9/25 of ‘80.

Q. And you are certain that’s not Mr. Dickerson’s?

A. I have served with Mr. Dickerson since when he —

10/10 of ‘80. And we’ve been on many bids, and we’ve

served in many terminals. You always know the people

around you because the terminal seniority is so important,

who’s picking first and who’s choosing what first. No, I know

Chuck’s date.

Q. All right. If we look at Exhibit 7, first page-

A. Okay. |

73a

Q. -- January 10, 1995. Is Mr. Dickerson’s name on this one?

A. It is.

[p. 475]

Q. And the seniority date, is it yours or his?

A. That’s my seniority date. He’s in my slot, number 6. You

can look back to the other evidence in the defendant’s book-

MR. MERCADO:~ Objection, Your Honor. There

is no question pending.

THE COURT: Sustained. There is no question

pending, Mr. Garrison.

THE WITNESS: I’m sorry.

By Mr. Moen:

Q. Turn back to our Exhibit 5, terminal seniority list,

November 15, 1994. Mr. Dickerson’s name is not yet on

there; is it?

A. No, it isn’t. No, sir.

Q. All right. One of the things that Mr. Mercado pointed out

was that you had, for some period of time, worked for Allied

during the time frame that we made a claim for damages for

your -- for your fringe benefits and insurance and retirement,

correct?

A. Yes, sir.

74a

Q. And did you inadvertently include some months for which

Allied did provide payment in our damages calculation?

A. Yes. The way he asked the question, he asked for other

trucking. And when he said “other trucking,” I assumed he

was not talking about car-haul, so I didn’t-

* * *

[p. 492]

Q. Right. This is Exhibit A. I think you have another version

of it in purple there from Cassens. Are you familiar with this

National Master Automobile Transporters Agreement;

correct?

A Yes, I am.

Q. For the ‘95 to ‘99 time frame?

A. Yes, I am.

Q. Is there anything in this document anywhere that states

that there’s a 30-day rule requiring a driver to show up for

work or have his name taken off the seniority board?

A. Not to my knowledge.

Q. Do you know of any National Committee decisions prior

to Dave Garrison’s case that ever ruled that a man lost his

terminal seniority rights if he failed to show up within 30

days?

A. I never saw any until that day.

75a

Q. And during this time frame that you were- well, were

you at Smyrna, Tennessee in ‘94, or did you come there in

‘95?

A. Came there in ‘95.

Q. Allright. During the entire time frame that you have been

with Local 327, have you had occasion to go to the Smyrna,

Tennessee, terminal?

A. Yes, sir.

Q. Have you ever seen posted anywhere any 30-day rule, [p.

493] requiring a driver to show up for work or lose his

seniority rights?

A. No, sir.

Q. Are you aware of any driver that was ever notified that he

must show up within 30 days or lose his terminal seniority

rights?

A. Since that point?

Q. Prior to Dave Garrison’s case.

A. No, sir.

Q. Do you know of any driver other than Dave Garrison

prior to November of 1996 who ever lost his terminal

seniority rights

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.