Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Sherman v. Sherman

Supreme Court brief2004

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

oui UM? UT 4ii, UD.

FILED

03 800 NOV 26 2003

No.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

LAWRENCE SHERMAN,

Petitioner

V. |

LYNNE SHERMAN

Respondent

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari

To The Court of Appeals of Maryland

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

JONATHAN S. GREENE

Counsel of Record

KRISTINE K. HOWANSKI

Howanski & Greene

401 Washington Ave.

Towson, MD 21204

410-296-8166

Questions Presented

I. Did the State Court err in disregarding the broad

discharge of bankruptcy claims recognized in Johnson v.

Home State Bank?

Il. Should state courts be allowed to disregard the broad.

discharge of bankruptcy claims recognized in Johnson v.

Home State Bank?

Meissen mh

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Choate v. Choate

97 Md. App. 347, 629 A.2d 1304 (1993) ........---- 12

Dexter v. Dexter

105 Md. App. 678, 661 A.2d 171 (1995),

cert. denied, 341 Md. 27, 668 A.2d 36 (1995) ..... 12,17

Farrey v. Sanderfoot

eee) 0) eo os >

Grady v. A.H. Robins Co.

839 F.2d 198 (4" Cir. 1988) .....--. eee ee eee eee: 16

In re Aslan

65 B.R. 826 (Bankr. C.D. Cal. 1986), rev ‘d on other

grounds, 909 F.2d 367 (9 Cir. 1990). .........: 9, 10, 19

In re Ter Bush

273 B.R. 625 (Bankr. S.D. Cal. 2002)........----- 10, 11

In re Udell

18 F.3d 403 (7 Cir. 1994) ......222- ee eeee: 12, 13, 19

In re Young

214 B.R. 905 (Bankr. D. Idaho 1997).......------ 10, 19

Johnson v. Home State Bank

501 U.S. 78 (1991) .........---- 5, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19

Kennedy v. Medicap Pharmacies, Inc.

267 FS 495 16" Cit. 2OGT). gn. ccctccicnss '2, 13, 19

Keys v. Keys

93 Md. App. 677, 614 A.2d 975 (1992) ............. 12

Qhio v. Kovacs

GE a BPE As ov ceed ectasaves taut 7, 8, 9, 11

Paradiso v. Paradiso

88 Md. App. 343, 594 A.2d 1200 (1991), .

cert. denied, 325 Md. 95, 599 A.2d 447 (1991) ........ 12

Pennsylvania Dept. of Public Welfare v. Davenport

se ee er ee nn ena 16, 17

Roxse Homes, Inc. v. Roxse Homes Ltd. Partnership

83 B.R. 185 (D. Mass 1988), aff’g In re Roxse Homes, Inc.,

74 B.R. 810 (D. Mass 1987). ..... RPL NE ter he 8, 19

Stewart Foods, Inc. v. Broecker

GOW Dil 064 GR Cae, UO an hn koe cc ev ce cceniaas, 15

STATUTES

Pe Eres Se ORs cos ee l, 2. 5, 14, 15

OTHER MATERIALS

H.R. Rep. No. 95-595, 95" Cong., 1% Sess. 309 (1977),

reprinted in 1978 U.S.C.C.A.N. 5963, 6266 .......... 16

S. Rep. No. 95-989, 95" Cong., 2d Sess. 22 (1978),

reprinted in 1978 U.S.C.C.A.N. 5787, 5808 .......... 16

iV

OPINIONS BELOW

The Order of the Maryland Court of Appeals denying the

Petition for Writ of Certiorari is reported at 831 A.2d 5,

376 Md. 546 (2003) and is reproduced in the Appendix at

Al. The Order of the Maryland Court of Special Appeals

denying reconsideration is unreported and reproduced in the

Appendix at A2. The Opinion of the Maryland Court of

Special Appeals affirming the judgment below is

unreported (No. 1367, Sept. term 2001) and reproduced in

the Appendix at A3-A21. The Amended Order of the

Circuit Court for Harford County of August 3, 2001 is

unreported and reproduced in the Appendix at A22-A23.

The Opinion and Order of the Circuit Court for Harford

County of July 31, 2001 is unreported and reproduced in

the Appendix at A24-A43.

JURISDICTION

The Maryland Court of Appeals denied the Petition for

Writ of Certiorari by Order of August 28, 2003. The

jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. §

1257(a).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

11 U.S.C § 101(5) in pertinent part provides:

{C]laim means —

(A) right to payment, whether or not

such right is reduced to judgment,

liquidated, unliquidated, fixed, contingent,

matured, unmatured, disputed, undisputed,

legal, equitable, secured or unsecured; or

(B) right to an equitable remedy for

breach of performance if such breach gives

rise to a right to payment, whether or not

such right to an equitable remedy is reduced

to judgment, fixed, contingent, matured,

unmatured, disputed, undisputed, secured or

unsecured[.]

* STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. The Parties, the Bankruptcy and the Divorce

Petitioner Lawrence R. Sherman and Respondent

Lynne P. Sherman were married to each other on July 5,

1975. During the course of the marriage, two children were

born to the parties, namely Angela Sherman and

Christopher Sherman, both of whom reached the age of 18

years and thus were emancipated prior to the

commencement of divorce proceedings. The parties

separated on or about December 28, 1998. The parties

entered into a Marital Settlement Agreement on June 30,

1999. Among other things, the agreement provided that

Mr. Sherman would take the following actions:

1) Transfer to Ms. Sherman his one-third

interest in a townhouse owned jointly with

Ms. Sherman and the parties’ daughter;

2) Transfer to Ms. Sherman his one-quarter

interest in the parties’ time share units

located in Pennsylvania and Florida;

3) Sign an MVA Gift Certification form and

transfer the title of a 1997 Lincoln Town Car

to Ms. Sherman.

4) Turn over certain personal property to Ms.

Sherman.

The Agreement also provided that the parties would

annually alternate usage of their jointly owned timeshare

unit in Cancun, Mexico.

The parties reached a disagreement over the

provisions of the agreement, and Ms. Sherman filed a

complaint seeking enforcement of the agreement just five

months after its execution, on December 6, 1999. After

some negotiation, the parties appeared before Judge

William O. Carr in the Circuit Court for Harford County,

Maryland on April 11, 2000, and they placed the terms for a

modification of the agreement on the record. Among the

modifications was a provision whereby the parties would

sell their Cancun timeshare unit and split the proceeds of

sale. The other modification of note was that Mr. Sherman

would evenly transfer his one-third interest in the Towson

townhouse to Ms. Sherman and the parties’ daughter so that

each of the recipients would own half of the property.

On October 12, 2000, Mr. Sherman filed a Chapter

13 petition for bankruptcy in the U.S. Bankruptcy Court for

the District of Maryland. The Circuit Court for Harford

County, Maryland stayed the domestic relations case

pending the bankruptcy action. Mr. Sherman’s Chapter 13

3

case was converted to a Chapter 7 case. Ms. Sherman and

her counsel received proper notice of the bankruptcy

proceedings, and they attended the meeting of creditors.

Ms. Sherman, however, never filed any objection to the

discharge of Mr. Sherman’s debts. Mr. Sherman was

granted a discharge by the bankruptcy court for all the

claims against him on April 3, 2001.

On June 25, 2001, the parties appeared before Judge

Maurice W. Baldwin, Jr., in the Circuit Court for Harford

County, Maryland, for the trial of the divorce. Counsel for

Petitioner argued that the property obligations of the

Petitioner were discharged in the bankruptcy action, thereby

raising the federal question in this case. At.the conclusion

of trial, Judge Baldwin directed counsel to submit

memoranda regarding the impact of the bankruptcy

discharge. Although he asked counsel to submit

memoranda on the issue, Judge Baldwin articulated at the

close of the hearing an inclination to require Mr. Sherman

to make certain property transfers. After reviewing the

attorneys’ memoranda, on July 31, 2001, Judge Baldwin

issued a Memorandum Opinion and Order and Judgment of

Absolute Divorce consistent with his statements from the

bench that set out particular obligations for each party from

the Marital Settlement Agreement and the modifications

made on the record made in April 2000. In particular,

Judge Baldwin found that certain obligations for transfer of

property_by Mr. Sherman were not discharged by the

bankruptcy court. Among other things, Judge Baldwin

ordered Mr. Sherman to transfer his interest in the

timeshares, the Towson townhouse, certain personal

property and the Lincoln automobile, and he ordered that

the Cancun timeshare be sold and the proceeds of sale

divided between the parties.

4

j

4

In reviewing the-federal law to determine whether

Mr. Sherman’s contractually agreed obligations should be

enforced or considered discharged by the bankruptcy

court, Judge Baldwin embraced the federal question before

this Court. (Appendix at XX) The judge correctly

identified the statute that governs the definition of a claim,

namely 11 U.S.C. § 101(5). The statute provides the

following:

[C]laim means —

(A) right to payment, whether or not

such right is reduced to judgment,

liquidated, unliquidated, fixed, contingent,

matured, unmatured, disputed, undisputed,

legal, equitable, secured or unsecured; or

(B) right to an equitable remedy for

breach of performance if such breach gives

rise to a right to payment, whether or not

such right to an equitable remedy is reduced

to judgment, fixed, contingent, matured,

unmatured, disputed, undisputed, secured

or unsecured[.]

In order to ascertain whether a particular legal obligation

meets the definition of “claim,” the reviewing court

engaged in “straightforward statutory construction to be

resolved by reference to ‘the text, history and purpose’ of

the Bankruptcy Code.” Johnson v. Home State Bank, 501

US. 78, 83 (1991), quoting Farrey v. Sanderfoot, 500 U.S.

291, 298 (1991).

Judge Baldwin attempted to engage in statutory

construction, but he based his decision on a

misinterpretation of the statute. In the Memorandum

i Me ee

Opinion, Judge Baldwin set forth the following explanation

for his order:

According to bankruptcy law, if a

claim means a “right to payment” as it is so

broadly defined by Congress, then it would

follow that any pre-petition claim that

Plaintiff has against Defendant which

requests monetary relief or could possibly

result in a claim for monetary payment(s) is

unenforceable at this point based on

Defendant’s discharge in bankruptcy.

Therefore this Court no longer has authority

to enforce any pre-bankruptcy obligations of

the Defendant which result in a monetary

award or payment to the Plaintiff. However,

any obligations of the Defendant to the

Plaintiff arising out of the Agreement and

subsequent stipulation on the record which

are solely equitable and do not foreseeably

result in a claim for monetary relief, are

valid and enforceable obligations. Thus, this

Court has the authority to compel specific

performance of certain outstanding property

settlement obligations remaining between

the parties.

According to the language contained in the Memorandum,

the trial judge read the bankruptcy statute’s definition of

claim to exclude legal obligations that are solely equitable

and that do not result in foreseeable claims for monetary

relief. The trial judge then classified certain property

settlement legal obligations as to be within this latter

category, disregarding whether the equitable claims could

eS aa eae eee

give rise to right of payment.

Judge Baldwin issued an Amended Order on August

3, 2001 in order to correct the spelling of Ms. Sherman’s

maiden name in the original order.

B. Appellate Court Proceedings

Petitioner appealed the orders of the Circuit Court

for Harford County to the Maryland Court of Special

Appeals. The parties filed briefs and appeared for oral

argument before Judges Andrew L. Sonner, James A.

Kenney III, and Lawrence F. Rodowsky (retired). The

Maryland Court of Special Appeais issued an Opinion in

the case on April 21, 2003, which affirmed the decision of

the Circuit Court for Harford County.

In writing the opinion for the Maryland Court of

Special Appeals, Judge Rodowsky struggled with the

congressional intent of the bankruptcy discharge statute,

relying on the case of Ohio v. Kovacs, 469 U.S. 274 (1985),

to shore up the argument that some circumstances must

exist where equitable claims do not give rise to right of

payment. In that case, a pollution cleanup order (an.

affirmative injunction) was construed as having been

“converted” into an obligation to pay money, insofar as the

polluter did not comply with the cleanup order and an

appointed receiver performed the tasks and sought

reimbursement. Judge Rodowsky proposed that the

affirmative injunction in Ohio v. Kovacs was not an order

for the payment of money, but the breach of that injunction

was “converted” into a separate damage remedy that was a

dischargeable claim. Judge Rodowsky did not comment

that this Court in Ohio v. Kovacs also noted that breach of

the injunction could have resulted in contempt or criminal

penalties. This Court’s decision therefore makes the

distinction between the remedy of specific performance for

the original environmentai wrongs (stage one relief) and the

remedies to be applied when specific performance does not

occur (stage two relief). This Court in Ohio v. Kovacs does

not address whether money damages could have been

sought as an alternative to the specific performance remedy

found in the initial affirmative injunction to clean up the

pollution (stage one relief). In the case of the Shermans,

the Petitioner’s obligations under the parties’ marital

settlement agreement could be satisfied either by money

damages or by specific performance. As a result,

Petitioner’s specific performance liability should have been

negated by his bankruptcy discharge.

Recognizing that Maryland law had not addressed

these issues previously, Judge Rodowsky also grappled

with conflicting opinions from other states that have

considered aspects of this case. But rather than focusing on

the laws of states such as Idaho, which most congruently

reflects the laws of Maryland, Judge Rodowsky looked to

the laws of states in which Maryland’s remedies are clearly

unavailable. Judge Rodowsky first considered Roxse

Homes, Inc. v. Roxse Homes Ltd. Partnership, 83 B.R. 185

(D. Mass 1988), aff’g In re Roxse Homes, Inc., 74 B.R. 810

(D. Mass 1987). The Roxse case noted that an award of

specific performance in Massachusetts indicates that money

damages are inadequate, and thus specific performance

obligations are not dischargeable claims. In contrast,

Maryland law does not recognize the same principle of

excluding money damages as inadequate per se when

specific performance is awarded. Although Judge

Rodowsky’s opinion relied on the Roxse case, the

Massachusetts opinion offered no guidance to the case of

the Shermans nor to Maryland law.

Judge Rodowsky then considered the California

case, In re Aslan, 65 B.R. 826 (Bankr. C.D. Cal. 1986),

rev'd on other grounds, 909 F.2d 367 (9" Cir. 1990). The

Aslan court noted that a debtor can reject an executory

contract for sale in bankruptcy, thus transforming the

potential specific performance action into a dischargeable

claim. Judge Rodowsky compared this “conversion” to the

one he construed in Ohio v. Kovacs, stating that the “non-

debtor party’s election of the equitable remedy of specific

performance, a nonclaim remedy, would be transformed

into a claim by rejection.” In California, however, the

person who elects to reject the contract and invoke the

remedy of specific performance is the debtor, not the

creditor. If the creditor had the choice of performance or

damages, the debtor’s rejection of the contract would

remove the damages option, leaving the option of specific

performance, which the As/an court viewed as

dischargeable. The Aslan court did not say whether the

claim would be discharged if the creditor had the ability to

choose specific performance as its remedy, but nothing in

that case-suggested that specific performance would be

anything but dischargeable. In contrast to Ohio v. Kovacs,

where failure to perform an affirmative obligation can

subject one to money damages for the costs incurred by

someone else who performs the obligation, the Aslan court

identified that rejection of an affirmative obligation gives

rise to the right of specific performance. There is nothing

in the Aslan case to support the comparison set forth by

Judge Rodowsky and there is no connection identified

between the circumstances of the As/an case and the case of

the Shermans.

To support his position, Judge Rodowsky argued

that another California case also holds “that an asserted

right to specific performance is not a claim.” /n re Ter

Bush, 273 B.R. 625 (Bankr. S.D. Cal. 2002), noted that

breach of an agreement to transfer real property (a single

family dwelling) cannot be adequately compensated by

money damages, pursuant to California statute. Because

money damages were thus inadequate, the breach could not

give rise to a right of payment and thus would not be

discharged in bankruptcy. Maryland contains no such

statute or case law, and thus the case does not bear on

Judge Rodowsky’s interpretation of the Petitioner’s

obligations. Furthermore, the As/an court did not hold that

an asserted right to specific performance is not a claim, as

Judge Rodowsky claimed. The As/an opinion only held that

the involuntary right to specific performance is a claim and

remained silent with regard to the issue of an asserted right

to specific performance. As/an leaves the result as the same

in cither case in that the creditor remains with the right of

specific performance, be it voluntary or involuntary. If the

creditor could choose performance or damages for the

breach, then the underlying breach gives rise to a right of

payment, precisely as indicated in 11 U.S.C. § 101(5).°

Judge Rodowsky momentarily located the

proverbial needle in the haystack, but then let it slip away.

Judge Rodowsky considered Jn re Young, 214 B.R. 905

(Bankr. D. Idaho 1997), noting that in Idaho, money

damages are adequate for breach of contract and thus

specific performance can be discharged in bankruptcy.

Judge Rodowsky did note that “Idaho law does not differ

from that of Maryland.” In Idaho, specific performance is a

dischargeable claim. With these same legal underpinnings,

Judge Rodowsky could have found that specific

10

performance should also be dischargeable in Maryland, but

concerned about squeezing a legal result into the proverbial

Procrustean bed, the judge simply brushed aside the key

observation of the similarity between Idaho and Maryland

by stating, “We are not persuaded by the reasoning of the

Idaho court.” Without any elaboration, Judge Rodowsky

stated that the case “seems inconsistent” with limited

legislative history and the rationale employed in Ohio v.

Kovacs, even though there is nothing in the limited

legislative history that would prohibit the Idaho court and

the Maryland court from taking the position that specific

performance can be discharged where money damages are

an adequate alternative remedy. The concern expressed in

the statute’s legislative history is where only nominal

damages are available, which would clearly be inadequate.

Similarly, the focus of Ohio v. Kovacs is breach of a court

order for specific performance that resulted in money

damages: In Ohio v. Kovacs, the obligation of specific

performance had already matured and the resulting breach

of that obligation is what gave rise to a right of payment,

not the breach of some other obligation that could result in

specific performance. For the Shermans, there is no

existing order for specific performance, and thus the breach

of the underlying obligation could result in specific

performance or money damages, unlike in Ohio v. Kovacs.

Dissatisfied by the law of Idaho, Judge Rodowsky

steered instead toward the Jn re Ter Bush, in which the

California court was forced to make a determination based

on the California statute which per se finds money damages

inadequate to cure breach of an agreement to transfer real

property (a single family dwelling). Maryland lacks any

such statute, or any case law for that matter, which holds

that money damages are inadequate to cure breach of an

11

LE |

agreement to transfer real property. To the contrary,

Maryland law is flooded with examples of the application

of monetary values to assets in divorce, and how the

valuation of such assets is required in marital property

determinations.' Judge Rodowsky tried to tie up the

supposedly strong analogy by pointing out that the

Respondent sought only an affirmative injunction and not

damages, and thus payment of money was not an alternative

since it was not viable or adequate. While payment of

money might not be adequate under the California state

statute, there is no such bar in Maryland law, as Judge

Rodowsky explicitly recognized in his analysis.

Judge Rodowsky also asserted that two cases

dealing with the enforcement of covenants not to compete

support the conclusion that Petitioner’s specific

performance obligations were not discharged in bankruptcy.

However, neither Jn re Udell, 18 F.3d 403 (7" Cir. 1994)

1 Breach of a marital settlement agreement provision for the transfer

of property can give rise to a claim for money damages. See Dexter v.

Dexter, 105 Md. App. 678, 661 A.2d 171 (1995). In Dexter, the Court

awarded money damages to a spouse who was supposed to receive a

portion of her spouse’s pension benefit on an “if, as and when” basis.

In the case at hand, monetary values can be ascertained for real

property, time share property, a motor vehicle, and personalty such as

furniture. See Choate v. Choate, 97 Md. App. 347, 629 A.2d 1304

(1993) (valuation of real property performed by appraiser); Keys v.

Keys, 93 Md. App. 677, 614 A.2d 975 (1992) (valuation of

automobile); Paradiso v. Paradiso, 88 Md. App. 343, 594 A.2d 1200

(1991), cert. denied, 325 Md. 95, 599 A.2d 447 (1991) (valuation of

personalty such as furniture). Such valuations are required in most

divorce cases where a spouse seeks a transfer of marital property.

Breach of a marital settlement agreement to transfer property can thus

lead to a claim for the value of the property to be transferred as

damages for the breach.

12

nor Kennedy v. Medicap Pharmacies, Inc., 267 F.3d 493

(6 Cir. 2001), accomplish this goal. /n re Udell held that a

right to equitable relief for breach of performance is a claim

if the right to payment is an alternative remedy, because the

two remedies are substitutes for each other. The Udell

court found that the breach in its case gave rise to two

independent remedies - specific performance as a negative

injunction for future behavior and liquidated damages for

the past harm. The Udell court specifically noted that there

was no money damage that would be a substitute for the

injunction not to breach the covenant not to compete. 18

F.3 403, 409-410 (1994). For the Shermans, the

Respondent could have sought money damages in lieu of

specific performance, insofar as the property was of the

type that could be valued, as opposed to the damages in

Udell.

Kennedy v. Medicap Pharmacies, Inc. aptly noted

that a claim is deemed discharged if the court finds that a

monetary avard is adequate compensation and an

injunction not appropriate. Insofar as Kennedy is also a

case involving breach of a covenant not to compete, as

opposed to transfer of property between spouses, it is not

surprising that the case concurred with the Udell court.

Neither Kennedy nor Udell have any relevance to the

situation facing the Shermans.

Petitioner filed a motion for reconsideration with

the Court of Special Appeals on May 21, 2003. The Court

of Special Appeals denied the motion on June 10, 2003 and

issued the mandate on the same day. The Petitioner filed a

Petition for Writ of Certiorari with the Maryland Court of

Appeals. The Petition was denied on August 28, 2003.

13

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

The state courts of Maryland have attempted to

eviscerate the legislative intent of Congress in enacting 11

U.S.C. §101(5) and the judicial intent of this Court in

upholding the breadth of bankruptcy discharge in Johnson

v. Home State Bank, 501 U.S. 78 (1991). By placing

narrow constraints on a federal law interpreted by this

Court, the state courts are undermining the authority of this

Court to interpret definitively the meaning of federal law.

The appellate opinion in this case further points to conflict

among federal and state courts that have decided this issue.

The petition should be granted because the state court

holdings fundamentally misconstrue this Court’s holding in

Johnson v. Home State Bank and suggest only further

confusion among the states in interpreting 11 U.S.C.

§101(5).

1. THE STATE COURT ERRED IN

DISREGARDING THE BROAD

BANKRUPTCY DISCHARGE RECOGNIZED

IN JOHNSON V. HOME STATE BANK

In both the trial court opinion from the Circuit Court

for Harford County and the appellate opinion from the

Maryland Court of Special Appeals, the case of Johnson v.

Home State Bank is disregarded. Both opinions actually

ignore the Johnson case almost entirely. Judge Baldwin’s

Memorandum opinion only notes the case in a string

citation (A33), while Judge Rodowsky’s opinion only notes

that Petitioner raised the case to support his claim (A7).

Neither opinion addresses this Court’s intent in identifying

14

the breadth of discharge of bankruptcy obligations.

Under 11 U.S.C. §101(5), a claim is defined as:

(1) right to payment,

whether or not such right is

reduced to judgment,

liquidated, unliquidated,

fixed, contingent, matured,

unmatured, disputed,

undisputed, legal, equitable,

secured or unsecured; or

(2)right to an

equitable remedy for breach

of performance if such breach

gives rise to a right to

payment, whether or not such

right to an equitable remedy

is reduced to judgment, fixed,

contingent, matured,

unmatured, disputed,

undisputed, secured or

unsecured [.]

Judge Baldwin’s decision in the Circuit Court for

‘Harford County was based on a misinterpretation of the

statute in which he failed to give the definition of claim the

broadest available definition intended by Congress to deal

with all of a debtor’s legal obligations, as directed by this

Court in Johnson and the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals

in Stewart Foods, Inc. v. Broecker, 64 F.3d 141 (4" Cir.

1995). Judge Baldwin excluded claims that gave rise to a

right to an equitable remedy for breach of performance if

iD .

re |

such claims do not foreseeably lead to a nght to payment, a

limitation that is not contained within the statute and is at

odds with congressional intent and the holdings of this

Court. Congress intended by the language it used to adopt

the broadest available definition of the term “claim.”

Johnson at 83; Pennsylvania Dept. of Public Welfare v.

Davenport, 495 U.S. 552, 558 (1990). Congress intended

that this broadest of definitions would deal with all of the

debtor’s legal obligations. As noted in the congressional

reports prior to enactment of the statute:

By this broadest possible |

definition, and by the use of

the term throughout the title

11, especially in subchapter 1

of chapter 5, the bill

contemplates that all legal

obligations of the debtor, no

matter how remote or

contingent, will be able to be

dealt with in the bankruptcy

court.

H.R. Rep. No. 95-595, 95" Cong., 1" Sess. 309

(1977), reprinted in 1978 U.S.C.C.A.N. 5963, 6266; S.

Rep. No. 95-989, 95" Cong., 2d Sess. 22 (1978), reprinted

in 1978 U.S.C.C.A.N. 5787, 5808; noted in Davenport at

558; see also Grady v. A.H. Robins Co., 839 F.2d 198, 200

(4" Cir. 1988).

In using the broadest possible definition of “claim,”

the this Court adopted an expansive reading of the concept

of “right to payment”:

Soni ance

16

[T]o the extent the phrase

“right to payment” is

modified in the statute, the

modifying language

(“whether or not such right is

...”) reflects Congress’

broad rather than restrictive

view of the class of

obligations that qualify as a

“claim” giving rise to a

“debt.”

Davenport at 558. The “plain meaning of ‘right to

payment’ is nothing more nor less than an enforceable

obligation...” Id. at 559; cited in Johnson at 83. Judge

Baldwin correctly noted in the Memorandum that a claim

that “could possibly result in a claim for monetary

payment(s)” would be subject to the discharge of the

bankruptcy court. However, Judge Baldwin redefined the

statute to exclude obligations which are “solely equitable

and do not foreseeably result in a claim for monetary

relief.” This unnecessarily narrow definition attempted to

exclude enforceable obligations that otherwise would be

discharged in bankruptcy. Such judicial reinterpretation

undermines the authority of this Court. Q

Even if the narrowed redefinition utilized by Judge

Baldwin should be accepted, the Petitioner’s obligations

would still fall within the scope of discharged claims.

Breach of a marital settlement agreement provision for the

transfer of property can give rise to a claim for money

damages. See Dexter v. Dexter (In Dexter, money damages

were awarded to a spouse who was supposed to receive a

portion of her spouse’s pension benefit on an “if, as and

17

when” basis.) For the Shermans, monetary values can be

ascertained for real property, time share property, a motor

vehicle, and personalty such as furniture. As noted in

Footnote One above, monetary valuation of real property

performed by appraiser, monetary valuation of automobiles,

and monetary valuation of personalty such as furniture are

routinely performed in divorce cases. Breach of a marital

settlement agreement to transfer property can thus lead to a

claim for the value of the property to be transferred as

damages for the breach. As a result, the Petitioner’s

obligations could foreseeably give rise to a claim for

monetary payments.

An equitable remedy for breach of performance that

gives rise to a right of payment is a claim that is subject to

discharge in bankruptcy. Johnson at 83. The Respondent’s

claims for property owned by Petitioner were discharged in

his bankruptcy case. The Respondent could have

challenged Petitioner’s intention to discharge these claims

in the bankruptcy court, but did not so. Insofar as

Respondent did not challenge the discharge in bankruptcy

court and Petitioner was granted a discharge of the claims

against him, the Respondent should not be entitled to go

behind the discharge to obtain relief for her property

claims. Judge Baldwin did precisely this in misconstruing

this Court’s Opinion in Johnson.

s

II. STATE COURTS ARE IN CONFLICT AS

TO WHETHER THEY SHOULD

DISREGARD THE BREADTH OF |

BANKRUPTCY DISCHARGE RECOGNIZED ‘

IN JOHNSON V. HOME STATE BANK 4

18

_ Judge Rodowsky’s opinion in the Maryland Court

of Special Appeals makes a review of how other states have

addressed bankruptcy discharge issue for equitable claims.

Judge Rodowsky noted that the states have differing views

on how such claims should be handled. In Idaho, for

example, money damages are adequate for breach of

contract and thus specific performance can be discharged in

bankruptcy. In re Young. Under J udge Rodowsky’s

opinion, Maryland should take an opposite view. In

Massachusetts, money damages are not an adequate remedy

for breach of contract. Roxse Homes, Inc. California allows

for discharge of specific performance obligations under

_ certain conditions (depending on who elects the remedy). Jn

re Aslan. Depending on how a state looks at the issue, the

outcomes can be diametrically opposed.

The federal cases do not assist the states in their

reinterpretation of this Court’s position in Johnson. The

Sixth Circuit and Seventh Circuit cases on covenants not to

compete (Jn re Udell and Kennedy) do not shed light on the

specific performance obligations of property transfers, yet

they are cited in support of state court positions. Finally, the

use of Ohio v. Kovacs, a case which preceded this Court’s

opinion in Johnson by six years, does not clarify the

Court’s position with regard to dischargeability of equitable

obligations in bankruptcy. Without a clear statement from

this Court that equitable obligations are to be discharged in

bankruptcy as the statute requires and Johnson supports,

state courts will only continue to misconstrue what once

appeared to be established as federal law on this issue.

; 19

acacia ata

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the Petition for Writ of

Certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

JONATHAN S. GREENE

Counsel of Record

KRISTINE K. HOWANSKI

Howanski & Greene

401 Washington Ave.

Towson, MD 21204

410-296-8166

20

es i

ee

LAWRENCE R. SHERMAN * IN THE

*

COURT OF APPEALS

OF MARYLAND

<

*

*

Petition Docket No. 240

September Term, 2003

LYNNE P. SHERMAN *(No. 1364 Sept. Term, 2001,

Court of Special Appeals)

* * * * * *

ORDER

Upon consideration of the petition for a writ of

Certiorari to the Court of Special Appeals filed in the above

entitled case, it is

ORDERED, by the Court of Appeals of Maryland,

that he petition be, and it is hereby, denied as there has been

no showing that review by certiorari is desirable and in the

public interest.

“o/ ae

Chief Judge

Date: August 28, 2003

Al

Lawrence R. Sherman, * In the

Appellant, * COURT OF SPECIAL APPEALS

V. * No. 1367

Lynne P. Sherman, * September Term, 2001

Appellee. *

* * * * * 7

ORDER

This Court having considered Appellant's Motion

for Reconsideration, it is this 10" day of June, 2003, by the

Court of Special Appeals, ot

ORDERED that the Motion for Reconsideration is

hereby denied.

For a panel of the Court consisting of Judge

Kenney, Judge Sonner, and Judge Rodowsky

(Retired, specially assigned)

CHIEF JUDGE’S SIGNATURE

APPEARS ON ORIGINAL ORDER

Chief Judge

;

%%

&

:

z

E

E:

4

G

&

.

;

ie bei es seedy

UNREPORTED

IN THE COURT OF SPECIAL APPEALS

OF MARYLAND

No. 1367

September Term, 2001

LAWRENCE R. SHERMAN

v.

LYNNE P. SHERMAN

Sonner,

Kenney, -

Rodowsky, Lawrence F.

(Retired, specially assigned),

JJ.

Opinion by Rodowsky, J.

Filed: April 21, 2003

A3

Appellant, Lawrence R. Sherman (Mr. Sherman), is

aggrieved by a judgment of the Circuit Court for Harford

County ordering him specifically to perform certain

promises in a marital settlement agreement with the

appellee, Lynne P. Sherman (Mrs. Sherman). The

issue is whether Mr . Sherman’s liability for specific

performance has been discharged in bankruptcy.

The parties executed their marital settlement

agreement (the Agreement) in June 1999. In December of

that year Mrs. Sherman filed a complaint for specific

performance of the Agreement. By mutual consent in open

court at a hearing in April 2000, the Agreement was

modified in particulars that are not material to the

issue before us. Mrs. Sherman, in July 2000, sought an

absolute divorce in the same action, and she amended that

claim in September 2000. On October 12, 2000, Mr.

Sherman filed a petition for bankruptcy in the United States

Bankruptcy Court for the District of Maryland under

Chapter 13 of the Bankruptcy Code, Title 11

U.S.C., which stayed the state court proceedings. That

petition was later converted to one under Chapter 7 of the

Bankruptcy Code.

In Schedule F, "Creditors Holding Unsecured Non

priority Claims,” Mr. Sherman listed Mrs. Sherman as a

creditor, described her as holding "[v]arious claims arising

from and/or relating to the marriage and separation of the

parties." He stated the value of the claim to be

"{ujnknown." By order of the bankruptcy court

dated April 3, 2001, Mr. Sherman was granted a discharge

under Title 11 U.S.C. § 727.' Under subsection (b) of §

1 Unless otherwise noted, all statutory references are to Title 11

USA.

A4

hE ei bitiads

BS Ba Ne a Gee abe Sih

:

4

3

1

|

2

a

a

3

s

4

¢

y

&

4

4

727, a "discharge under subsection (a) of [§ 727]

discharges the debtor from all debts that arose before the

date of the order for relief under [Chapter 7\." We are not

further informed by the record before us concerning what

transpired in Mr. Sherman's bankruptcy.

Thereafter, the parties returned to the Circuit Court

for Harford County, where an absolute divorce decree was

entered. That court also heard Mrs. Sherman's pending

request for specific performance. Mr. Sherman opposed

that relief, contending that the requested equitable relief

was a claim barred by his discharge in bankruptcy.

Under § 101(12) “‘debt’ means liability on a

‘claim.’” Section 101(5) defines “claim” to mean:

“(A) right to payment, whether or not such

right is reduced to judgment, liquidated,

unliquidated, fixed, contingent, matured,

unmatured, disputed, undisputed, legal,

equitable, secured, or unsecured; or

(B) right to an equitable remedy for breach

of performance if such breach gives rise to a

right to payment, whether or not such right

to an equitable remedy is reduced to

judgment, fixed, contingent, matured,

unmatured, disputed, undisputed, secured, or

unsecured[.]"

The circuit court agreed with Mr. Sherman that all of [his]

pre-petition 'right-to-payment' obligations, including those

to [Mrs. Sherman] were clearly discharged by the

bankruptcy court.” The circuit court, however, further held

AS

“any obligations of [Mr. Sherman] to [Mrs.

Sherman] arising out of the Agreement and

subsequent stipulation on the record which

are solely equitable and do not foreseeably

result in a claim for monetary relief, are

valid and enforceable obligations.”

The court ordered Mr. Sherman to transfer his one-third

interest in a townhouse in Towson, Maryland to Mrs.

Sherman and to the parties' daughter, as joint tenants, to

transfer his interests in a timeshare unit in the Poconos and

in three timeshare units in Cocoa Beach, Florida to Mrs.

Sherman, and to transfer or return to her certain personal

property itemized on a referenced exhibit.’ This appeal

followed.*

Mr. Sherman basically makes two interrelated

arguments. He contends that the order appealed from

violates congressional intent which was to give “claim,” as

used in the Code, the broadest possible meaning.

Alternatively, even if the construction employed by

the trial court (obligations "solely equitable” are not

“claims”’) was consistent with § 101 (5) (B), he submits

that “[b]reach of a marital settlement agreement provision

for the transfer of property can give rise to a claim for

money damages." We shall consider these arguments

together.

There is no doubt that § 101(5) was intended by

Congress to have a very broad meaning, particularly in

3 Neither party argues that the outcome here might differ based

upon differences in the types of property which are the subjects of the

circuit court’s order

4 Mrs. Sherman noted a cross-appeal but it was not briefed and

has been abandoned.

A6

contrast to "provable" claims under the predecessor

Bankruptcy Act. See T. Matthews, The Scope of Claims

Under the Bankruptcy Code, 57 Am. Bank. L.J. 221, 231

(1983). Mr . Sherman cites Pennsylvania Dep' t of Pub.

Welfare v. Davenport, 495 U.S. 552, 110s. .Ct. 2126, 109

L. Ed. 2d 588 (1990), where the Court referred H.R. Rep.

No.95-595, at 309, U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News 1978,

p. 626, as "describing definition of 'claim' as ‘broadest

possible' and noting that Code ‘contemplates that all legal

obligations of the debtor. .. will be able to be dealt with in

the bankruptcy case.” Id. at 558, 110 S. Ct. at 2130.

Davenport's holding was that restitution obligations,

imposed as conditions of probation in state criminal

actions, were "debts" dischargeable under Chapter 13.

For the proposition that "claim" is a very broad

concept, Mr. Sherman also cites Johnson v. Home State

Bank, 501 U.S. 78, 111 S. Ct. 2150, 115 L. Ed. 2d 66

¢1991). There the Court held that, after the debtor's

personal liability on a note had been discharged in Chapter

7, the lien of the mortgage securing the loan evidenced by

the note was a “claim” subject to inclusion in an approved

Chapter 13 reorganization.

In the case before us the circuit court essentially

held that Mrs. Sherman's "right to an equitable remedy for

breach of performance" did not "give [ ] rise to a right [to]

payment,” § 101 (5) (B). The issue here is whether Mrs.

Sherman's equitable remedy gave rise to "a right to

payment." As we shall see, application of the "right to

payment" concept in § 101(5) has not been free from

difficulty for courts and commentators.

Section 101(5) is the product of a compromise

between the original House and Senate versions of the

Bankruptcy Reform Act. Originally, the House "would

A7

have deemed a right to an equitable remedy for breach of

performance [to be] a claim even if it did not give rise to a

right to payment." Ohio v. Kovacs, 469 U.S. 274, 280, 105

S. Ct. 705, 708, 83 L. Ed. 2d 649 (1985) (footnote omitted).

The Senate's initial definition of claim was narrower. Id.°

In the compromise version that was finally adopted, "the

key phrases ‘equitable remedy’, ‘breach of performance,’

and ' right to payment’ are not defined ... nor are the

differences between the successive versions explained." Id.

at 280, 105 S. Ct. at 708.

The legislative history [or § 101 (5) (B)] offers only

a statement by the sponsors of the Bankruptcy Reform Act

with respect to the scope of the provision[.]” Id. As quoted

in Ohio v. Kovacs one sponsor said:

“Section 101[5] (B) ... is intended to cause

the liquidation or estimation of contingent

rights of payment for which there may be an

alternative equitable remedy with the result

that the equitable remedy will be susceptible

to being discharged in bankruptcy. For

5 The third and final version of the Senate bill defined “claim”

as follows:

“(4) ‘Claim’--

“(A) means any right to payment, other than that of an

expense allowable under section 503, whether or not such nght is

reduced to judgment, liquidated, unliquidated, fixed, contingent, legal,

equitable, secured, or unsecured; and

“(B) includes, except where specifically provided otherwise,

interest thereon provided by law or contract[.]”

Senate Bill 2266 (as reported August 10, 1978, from the Committee on

Finance), 95th Cong., 2d Sess. {1978), § 101 {4); 124 Cong. Rec. S.

13074 {daily ed. Aug. 10, 1978).

A8

example, in some States a judgment for

specific performance may be satisfied by an

alternative right to payment in the event

performance is refused; in that event, the

creditor entitled to specific performance

would have a “claim” for purposes of a

proceeding under title 11.””

Id. (quoting 124 Cong. Rec. 32393 (1978) remarks of Rep.

Edwards) (footnote partially omitted).

The illustration by Rep. Edwards presents a version

of the remedy of specific performance that is unknown to

Maryland law. The illustration presupposes a judgment for

specific performance which fixes an alternative amount of

money damages, a refusal specifically to perform by the

judgment debtor, and a satisfaction of the judgment by the

judgment holder's enforcing the alternative right to

payment. We recognize, however, that the illustration is

not intended to exhaust the category of equitable “claims”

or to illustrate equitable nonclaims.

One commentator, writing shortly after the adoption

of the Code, presented a hypothetical to illustrate the

difficulty caused by the lack of definition for, legislative

history relating to, and operative federal policy underlying,

the § 101(5) element of "right to payment.”

"A breach of performance is committed

against a nondebtor party and the bankruptcy

court looks to nonbankruptcy law to see

what remedies arise from such a breach.

Assume that the nondebtor party favors a

finding that the breach gives rise to an

equitable remedy that does not constitute a

claim. Support for her position can come

from analogous cases under nonbankruptcy

A9

——<xoa-_

law where equitable relief was granted

because of the difficulty of proving damages

with reasonable certainty. In such cases, it

can be argued that there is no alternative

right to payment, save for a nght to nominal

damages, because the risk of

undercompensating or unjustly enriching the

plaintiff is too great. Moreover, the

nondebtor party can reasonably assert that a

right to nominal damages can not, as a

matter of federal law, constitute a ‘right to

payment’ given the policy that probably

motivated the redrafting of section 101[5]

(B). The framers of the Code may have cut

back the definition of claim so that the

estimation and liquidation of equitable

remedies under section 502(c) would be

more equitable for nondebtor parties and

more administrable for the courts. The

cutback is rendered ineffectual and its

underlying policy is thwarted if a right to

nominal damages constitutes a ‘right to

payment’ under the Code. This is because

nonbankruptcy law invariably allows

nominal damages for breach of performance,

even when damages are inadequate and

equitable relief is available. Consequently,

most, if not all, equitable remedies become

claims under this interpretation of the phrase

‘right to payment.’ This in turn raises the

estimation problems that the Code framers

probably intended to mitigate by redrafting

section 101[5](B). In addition, it is arguably

Al0

inequitable to force a nondebtor party to take

a claim measured in dollars when, under

nonbankruptcy law, money damages are

inadequate and relief is limited to an

equitable remedy or a right to nominal

damages. Thus, the nondebtor party in this

example can take the position that her right

to an equitable remedy is not a claim under

the Code in light of applicable

nonbankruptcy law and the policy behind the

compromise language of section 101[5] (B).

The trustee in this example takes the

opposite position and asserts that a claim

under the Code does arise from the breach of

performance. The trustee can make two

basic arguments to support this position.

First, he can argue that under applicable

nonbankruptcy law this kind of breach of

performance gives rise only to a right to

payment. This can be demonstrated through

analogous cases in which a right to damages

was held to be an adequate remedy and

equitable relief was denied. Second, even if

the breach of performance gives rise to an

equitable remedy under nonbankruptcy law,

the trustee can argue that the breach also

gives rise to an alternative ‘right to payment’

within the meaning of the Code. Support for

this view can come from analogous cases

under nonbankruptcy law in which equitable

relief was granted, even though damages

were found to be adequate and available at

the plaintiff's election. In addition, the

All

——=_

trustee can also take the position that a

breach of performance always gives rise to

an alternative right to nominal damages; and

that such right is a ‘right to payment’ under

the Code given the plain language of section

101[5](B) and the policy behind a broad

definition of claim."

M.R. Julis, Classifying Rights and Interests Under the

~ Bankruptcy Code, 55 Am. Bankr. L.J. 223, 240-42 (1981)

(footnotes omitted).

Some guidance on the problem analyzed above was

given in Ohio v. Kovacs, supra. An injunction bad been

entered against Kovacs restraining him from further

environmentally polluting a site and requiring him to

remove specified wastes. Kovacs, who at some point bad

taken bankruptcy, did not comply with the affirmative

“cleanup," resulting in the appointment of a receiver to

perform those tasks. Ohio sought a declaration in the

bankruptcy court that Kovacs's obligation to clean up the

site was not a liability on a claim and, therefore, not

dischargeable. The Court, affirming all of the lower courts,

held that the obligation to Ohio was dischargeable on the

following rationale: .

"What the receiver wanted from Kovacs

after bankruptcy was the money to defray

cleanup costs. At oral argument in this Court

the State's counsel conceded that after the

receiver was appointed, the only

performance sought from Kovacs was the

payment of money. ...Had Kovacs

furnished the necessary funds, either before

or after bankruptcy, there seems little doubt

that the receiver and the State would have

Al2

hai as Acca PASE sik lb tot Poa eat ni

been satisfied. On the facts before it, and

with the receiver in control of the site, we

cannot fault the Court of Appeals for

concluding that the cleanup order had been

converted into an obligation to pay money,

an obligation that was dischargeable in

bankruptcy.”

Ohio v. Kovacs, 468 U.S. at 283, 105 S. Ct. at 710

(emphasis added).

In the concluding section of its opinion, the Court

emphasized what it had not decided. Among these caveats,

the Court said:

“Fourth, we do not hold that the injunction

against bringing further toxic wastes on the

premises or against any conduct that will

contribute to the pollution of the site or the

State's waters is dischargeable in bankruptcy

we here address. . . only the affirmative.

duty to cleanup the site and the duty to pay

money to that end."

Id. at 284-85, 105 S. Ct. at 710-11.

It was after the receiver began performing Kovacs's

cleanup obligations under the injunction, and apparently

expending funds advanced by Ohio to do so, that Ohio

sought reimbursement for those advances. In that way the

affirmative injunction was "converted" into a dischargeable

claim. That reading of Kovacs strongly suggests that the

initial affirmative injunction was not an order for the

payment of money for Kovacs's breach of performance of

his obligations under environmental laws.

The parties have not referred us to any judicial

precedents on the issue before us, and our research

indicates a split of authority. Roxse Homes, Inc. v. Roxse

Al3

Homes Ltd. Partnership, 83 B.R. 185 (D. Mass. 1988), aff'g

In re Roxse Homes, Inc., 74 B.R. 810 {Bankr. D. Mass.

1987), granted relief from the bankruptcy stay to the holder

of a judgment for specific performance. The bankruptcy

court had concluded that the judgment was not a "claim"

because, under Massachusetts law, it could not be satisfied

by the payment of money damages. 74 B.R. at 818-19. The

district court agreed, stating that § 101(4), now § 101(5),

provided that "an equitable remedy wili only constitute a

claim if the underlying breach gives rise to a right to the

payment of money damages." 83 B.R. at 188. Under

Massachusetts law, however, "an award of specific

performance imports a judicial finding that money damages

are inadequate or inappropriate." Id. The decision can be

viewed as considering that the theoretical remedy of

electing to sue for money damages, even if inadequate, did

not convert the specific performance remedy into a "claim."

This reading of § 101 (5) is confirmed by In re

Aslan, 65 B.R. 826 (Bankr. C.D. Cal. 1986), rev'd on other

grounds, 909 F.2d 367 {9th Cir. 1990).There, the nondebtor

purchaser of realty had an action for specific performance

pending in state court when the debtor filed in bankruptcy

under Chapter 11. One issue before the court was whether

the debtor should be permitted to reject the executory

contract of purchase and sale under the business judgment

test. Id. at 828. As a preliminary matter, the court

concluded "that it must first determine the effect of

rejection on the Specific Performance Action." Id. After

reviewing the legislative

history of present § 101(5) the court held as follows:

"Damages for rejection of an executory

contract become a claim dischargeable in the

bankruptcy only if under state law the

Al4

|

7

;

]

|

}

:

creditor would have the choice of more than

one possible remedy, with one of the choices

being a monetary claim. The filing of the

bankruptcy and rejection of the contract

under the bankruptcy shifts the choice of

remedy from one which is solely in the

hands of the creditor to a choice by the

debtor, upon approval of the Court. Thus, in

California, an executory contract for sale of

real property can be rej ected and the

potential action for specific performance

will be transformed into a pre-petition claim,

which may be discharged in the bankruptcy."

Id. at 831. Thus, In re Aslan presents an analysis similar to

that of Kovacs v. Ohio, supra. The nondebtor party's

election of the equitable remedy of specific performance, a

nonclaim remedy, would be "transformed" into a claim by

rejection, in the same fashion as the affirmative cleanup

order issued to Kovacs became a claim when Ohio sought

reimbursement for the cleanup performed by the receiver.”

Also holding that an asserted right to specific

performance is not a claim is In re Ter Bush, 273. B.R. 625

(Bankr. S. D. Cal. 2002}. That case arose out of an

arbitrator's award of specific performance involving a

single family dwelling. California Civil Code § 3387

provided that "it is to be presumed that the breach of an

agreement to transfer real property cannot be adequately

relieved by pecuniary compensation." Ter Bush, 273 B.R.

at 628. Under the statute, that presumption was conclusive

6 Assuming arguendo, that Mr. Sherman could have rejected the

Agreement, or parts thereof, under bankruptcy law, there is no

evidence he did so.

Al5

where the property was a smgle family dwelling. The court

reasoned that

"{i]mplicit in the arbitrator's award for

specific performance is that he considered

and followed California law in this regard

and that money damages were inadequate.

The Court concludes that the arbitrator's

award for specific performance is not a

claim within the meaning of the Code

because the underlying breach in this case

does not give rise to a right to the payment

of money damages."

Id. at 628-29.

The opposite conclusion was reached in In re

Young, 214 B..R. 905 (Bankr. D. Idaho 1997). That court

reasoned that, under Idaho law, a party aggrieved by a

breach of contract may seek damages based on the

expectation, the restitution, and the reliance interests. In

this respect, Idaho law does not differ from that of .

Maryland. The court pointed out that "equitable relief, such

as specific performance, could also fulfill the expectation

interest," id. at 912, just as benefit of the bargain damages

would vindicate that interest Because specific performance

was not the only remedy available, but there was "an

alternative right to payment available, "the creditor seeking

specific performance presented a dischargeable claim. Id.

We are not persuaded by the reasoning of the Idaho

court. It seems inconsistent with the limited legislative

history and with the rationale employed by the Supreme

Court in Kovacs. Further, there is a strong analogy between

Maryland specific performance law and that of California

as applied in the Ter Bush case.

In Maryland

Al6

ee tet ER ALOT CET TICLE, AI LEE LE ETE I IE IE IE I I I we Ae

"(a] court may not refuse to specifically

enforce a contract on the ground that the

party seeking specific enforcement has an

adequate remedy in damages unless the party

resisting specific enforcement shall:

"(1) Prove that the party has property

from which the damages may be collected,

or

"(2) Give bond in an amount to be

determined by the court and with security

approved by the court, to perform the

contract or pay all costs and damages that

may be adjudged for breach or

nonperformance against the party resisting

specific enforcement."

Maryland Code (1974, 2002 Repl. Vol.), § 3-601 of the

Courts and Judicial Proceedings Article (emphasis added).

Here, Mrs. Sherman sought only an affirmative injunction

- and not damages. Payment of money was not an alternative,

because that remedy was not viable or adequate. Indeed, the

circuit court could not have refused the remedy of specific

performance against the recently bankrupt Mr. Sherman.

Damages were not in any meaningful sense an alternative

remedy.

Our conclusion is reinforced by the greater number

of cases that have considered the meaning of a "right to

payment" under § 101(5) in the context of enforcing

covenants against competition. In re Udell, 18 F.3d 403

(7th Cir. 1994), is a leading case on that subject. Udell's

former employer sued him for threatened breach of a

noncompete agreement, claiming an injunction and

liquidated damages as stipulated in the contract. After the

state court had entered a preliminary inj unction Udell filed

Al7

in Chapter 13. He argued that an equitable remedy is a

claim unless the equitable relief is the sole remedy

available for breach of the promised performance. Id. at

408.

The Seventh Circuit looked to the comments of a

sponsor of the Bankruptcy Reform Act who stated that

"rights to an equitable remedy for a breach of performance

with respect to which such breach does not give rise to a

right to payment are not "claims" and would therefore not

be susceptible to discharge in bankruptcy." Id. at 407

(quoting 124 Cong. Rec. 32393 (1978) (remarks of Rep.

Edwards)). The Court then held that

"a right to an equitable remedy for breach of

performance is a 'claim' if the same breach

also gives rise to a right to payment ‘with

respect to' the equitable remedy. If the right

to payment is an ‘alternative' to the right to

an equitable remedy, the necessary

relationship clearly exists, for the two

remedies would be substitutes for one

another. This is the example of 'claim' given

in the legislative history."

Id. at 408. Applying that construction of § 101(5) to the

facts before it, the Seventh Circuit concluded that the

injunction was not a claim because the threatened breach in

that case

"could give rise to two independent

remedies; (1) an injunction against the future

realization of the threat, and (2) liquidated

damages for the actual harm that has already

accrued from the threat. [The plaintiff's]

right to liquidated damages does not arise

‘with respect to' its right to an injunction...

Al8

eS yt hg eR rete Pr

5a ea DENRAP WAS ka De Ha ek A OR AU SSK. Stl a hc las kT eile Wie aati act ie eat Dit AREY 2! wired ites Moe abs ean wave ati

the two rights address entirely separate

remedial concerns."

Id. at 409. The Court also noted that, if an injunction is a

dischargeable claim unless it is the sole remedy, as argued

by Udell, then the United States Supreme Court in Kovacs

"should have ended the case" on the language of the statute.

Id. at 408. We might add that the plaintiff in Udell

presumably could have elected not to seek an injunction

against future harm, but to undertake to prove damages as

they accrued from time to time. That theoretical remedy is

not mentioned in the opinion and would not seem to be

"the alternative" to which the Court is referring.’

The Sixth Circuit recently has agreed with Udell.

Kennedy v. Medicap Pharmacies, Inc., 267 F.3d 493 (6th

Cir. 2001). That court reached its conclusion after a review

7 A concurring opinion in Udell reached the same result, but

more forcefully.

"To appreciate the patent absurdity of implementing the plain

text of Section 101(5) (B) one must keep in mind that this is a

bankruptcy statute. If, following the plain language, an injunction may

be stayed in bankruptcy anytime the underlying breach of contract or

law also happens to give rise to money damages, the real-world results

would be ludicrous. If we were to apply the plain text of § 101(5) (B)

to individuals restrained by court orders--e.g. trespassers, polluters,

stalkers, batterers--theoretically, simply by filing bankruptcy, the

violator could escape from any restraining order prompted by a breach

that also gave rise to an award of money damages. Certainly the parade

of horribles is extensive, and I need not belabor it further. Since the

text of § 101(5) (B) presents one of those extremely unique

circumstances of patent absurdity, we may turn to the purpose, context

and policy of § 101 (5) (B) to supplement its plain language.”

Udell, 18 F. 3d at 412 (Flaum, J., concurring) (footnote omitted).

Al9

of the cases which it summarized as set forth below:

"The majority of bankruptcy courts have

held that the right to equitable relief for

breach of a covenant not to compete is not

dischargeable in bankruptcy. Some cases,

relying on Kovacs have held that the right is

not a claim because compliance does not

require the expenditure of money. See R. J.

Carbone Co. v. Nyren ( In re Nyren), 187

B.R. 424, 425 (Bankr. D. Conn. 1995); In re

Hughes, 166 B.R. 103,106 (Bankr. S.D.

Ohio 1994); May v. Charles Booher &

Assoc. (In re May), 141 B.R. 940, 944

(Bankr. S.D. Ohio 1992); In re Peltz, 55

B.R. 66, 338 (Bankr. M.D. Fla. 1985);

Carstens Health Indus. v. Cooper (In re

Cooper), 47 B.R. 842, 845 (Bankr. W.D.

Mo. 1985). Others have held that the

injunctive right is not a claim because it is

available only if the remedy at law is

inadequate and there is, therefore, no right to

payment arising from the breach. See In re

Reppond, 238 B.R. 442, 443 (Bankr. E.D.

Ark. 1999); In re Printronics, Inc., 189 B.R.

995, 1001 (Bankr. N.D. Fla. 1995); Oseen v.

Walker (In re Oseen), 133 B.R. 527 (Bankr.

D. Idaho 1991); In re Cox, 53 B.R. 829, 832

(Bankr. M.D. Fla. 1985). In some cases, the

stay was lifted to permit a state court to

determine whether monetary damages were

adequate. If the state court found injunctive

relief was appropriate, then injunctive relief

was not construed by the bankruptcy court to

A20

be a claim. If the court found that a

monetary award was adequate compensation

and an injunction was therefore not

appropriate, then the plaintiff's entire claim

was discharged under 11 U.S.C. § 727(b).

See, e.g., Cox, 53 B.R. at 832."

Id.at 496. The Court was unpersuaded by two cases to the

contrary, In re Kilpatrick, 160 B.R. 560 (Bankr. E.D. Mich.

1993), and Maids Int '1, Inc. v. Ward, 194 B.R. 703 (Bankr.

D. Mass. 1996).

Here there has been no demand by Mrs. Sherman

for damages as an alternative to specific performance. Nor

has the circuit court determined any damages or entered any

judgment in the alternative. There is no §101(5) claim.

JUDGEMENT OF THE CIRCUIT

COURT FOR HARFORD COUNTY

AFFIRMED.

COSTS TO BE PAID BY THE

APPELLANT.

LYNNE P. SHERMAN * IN THE

Plaintiff * CIRCUIT COURT

V. * FOR

LAWRENCE R. SHERMAN * HARFORD COUNTY

Defendant * Case No: 12-C-99-3055

+ * aa * a =

AMENDED ORDER

The Circuit Court for Harford County having been

informed that the Plaintiff's maiden name was incorrectly

spelled on the original Order of July 30, 2001, it is this _2_

Day of August, 2001,

ORDERED that paragraph two (2) of the July 30,

2001, Order be amended as follows:

1. The Plaintiff, LYNNE P. SHERMAN, is granted

the use of her maiden name, LYNNE P. TRAUTWEIN;

and.

2. All other remaining paragraphs in the July 30,

2001, Order shall remain unchanged.

IT ISSO ORDERED THIS _ 2 _ Day of August,

2001.

MAURICE W. BALDWIN, JR., Judge

cc: Henry W. Stewart, Esq.

Law Offices of Henry W. Stewart, P .A.

209 Courtland A venue

Towson, Maryland 21204

A22

George A. Breschi, Esq.

409 Washington A venue, Suite 600

Towson, Maryland 21204

Jonathan S. Greene, Esq.

Howanski & Greene

410 Washington Avenue, Suite 803

Towson, Maryland 21204

A23

LYNNE P. SHERMAN * IN THE

Plaintiff * CIRCUIT COURT

V. * FOR

LAWRENCE R. SHERMAN * HARFORD COUNTY

Defendant * Case No: 12-C-99-3055

* * * * * *

MEMORANDUM OPINION AND ORDER

This matter is before the Court on Plaintiff's

Amended Complaint for Judgment of Absolute Divorce,

Specific Performance, Damages and Other Relief. The

matter was held sub curia after a hearing before the Court

on June 25,2001. At the hearing, the Court granted Plaintiff

a judgment of absolute divorce and the use of her maiden

name, Lynne Paige Troutwein. The issue of whether the

Court could enforce the parties’ Marital Settlement

Agreement subsequent to Defendant's discharge in

bankruptcy Is the only remaining issue to be determined.

FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

This is a case in which Plaintiff, Lynne P. Sherman

(hereinafter "Plaintiff), filed a Complaint on December 6,

1999, requesting that the Court order Defendant, Lawrence

R. Sherman, (hereinafter "Defendant") to specifically

perform under the terms of the parties' Marital Settlement

Agreement as executed by the parties on June 30, 1999

(hereinafter "the Agreement"). In her Complaint, the

Plaintiff specifically requested that the Defendant be

A24

ordered to: 1) sign any and all documents necessary for the

transfer of Defendant's one-third interest in the property of

the townhouse located at 111 Marburth Avenue, Towson,

Maryland 21286 (hereinafter "the Towson townhouse"), to

Plaintiff; 2) reinstate any and all medical insurance at the

place of Defendant's employment and reimburse Plaintiff or

any and all out-of-pocket expenses which may have been

incurred by her with respect to his actions in terminating

said insurance; 3) execute any and all documents necessary

to effectuate the transfer of the Defendant's one-quarter

interest in the Coco Beach and Pocono time-share units to

the Plaintiff as set forth in the Agreement, and reimburse

her for any and all out-of-pocket expenses or loss for

damages resulting from his actions in exchanging/canceling

said units, so as to prevent Plaintiffs use of the same; 4)

have delivered to Plaintiff all of those personal property

items as set forth on Schedule A of the Agreement; 5)

maintain automobile payments on both of the automobiles

of the children; and 6) reimburse Plaintiff any and all

counsel fees necessary in bringing this cause of action, -

including court costs.

Defendant filed a Motion to Dismiss the Plaintiff s

complaint on January 11, 2000, alleging that the Plaintiff

had failed to join necessary parties under Maryland Rule

2-211, namely the parties’ two adult children who shared

property interests in the time-share properties and the

Towson townhouse. An answer to the motion to dismiss

was filed by Plaintiff on January 14, 2000, denying the

necessity of joining the parties’ adult children in the action

and contending that the motion to dismiss was a frivolous

attempt to delay specific performance by the Defendant as

provided for under the Agreement and to intensify

Plaintiff's damages resulting therein.

A25

A hearing was held on April 11, 2000, before The

Honorable William 0. Carr, and a stipulation modifying the

Agreement was placed on the record. The stipulation

provided that the Agreement was to remain ill full force and

effect with the following modifications: 1) the Defendant's

one-third interest in the Towson townhouse was to be

transferred to Plaintiff and the parties’ adult daughter,

Angela, so that Plaintiff and Angela would enjoy a joint

tenancy in the townhouse; 2) the parties agreed to sell the

Cancun time-share and split the proceeds of that sale; 3) the

provision regarding the Defendant's payment for both

children's automobile loans was deleted from the

Agreement; 4) the mutual waiver of retirement benefits was

to continue contingent on disclosure by both parties; and 5)

the parties agreed that the transfer of all personal property

in the list attached to the Agreement would take place

within 30 days.

On May 2, 2000, an Order was signed by Judge Carr

allowing for removal of the piano, piano bench and music

from the former marital home by Plaintiff and at her

expense to take place on May 3, 2001. Plaintiff filed a

Complaint for Contempt on May 9,2000, alleging that the

Defendant had failed to follow the May 2 Order by refusing

to cooperate with respect to the pick up by the Plaintiff of

the piano, piano bench and music. A Motion to Vacate [the

May 2, 2000] Order was filed by the Defendant on May 12,

2000, arguing that Plaintiff had improperly made an ex |

parte application to the Court in order to obtain the May 2, 4

2000, Order which was not in accord with the parties' :

stipulation placed on the record on April 11, 2000. Plaintiff

filed a Response to the Motion to Vacate Order on May 2,

2000, Order allowing for Plaintiff's removal of the piano,

piano bench and music since it was an improper ex parte

A26

~

order which was not agreed upon by the parties.

On July 5, 2000, the Plaintiff filed a Complaint for

Judgment of Absolute Divorce with an attached transcript

of the April 11, 2000, Stipulation on the Record requesting

that she be granted a judgment of absolute divorce

incorporating the Agreement and the April 11, 2000,

modifications thereto. She also requested that she be

granted the use of her maiden name.

An Amended Complaint for Judgment of Absolute

Divorce, Specific Performance, Damages and Other Relief

was filed by the Plaintiff on September 22, 2000. In the

Amended Complaint, Plaintiff alleged that the Defendant:

1) failed to convey to Plaintiff of his right, claim, title

and/or interest in and to the Towson townhouse, despite

repeated requests; 2) has refused and continues to refuse to

relinquish personal items listed in the Agreement to

Plaintiff; 3) has refused and continues to refuse to execute a

transfer of title and gift certificate top the 1997 Lincoln

Town Car to Plaintiff; 4) has refused and continues to

refuse to make payments for the automobiles of the

children, namely a 1995 Chevrolet Neon and a 1997

Chevrolet $10 truck; 5) interfered with and caused to be

canceled the time-share plans of the Plaintiff; 6) refused

and continues to refuse to maintain medical insurance on

behalf of the adult child of the parties, namely Christopher

Sherman, causing Plaintiff to incur the expense of

maintaining such insurance; and 7) caused Plaintiff

considerable expenses and loss of economic use of certain

properties and items by and through his wilful and

malicious actions. The Plaintiff requested that the Court

order Defendant’s specific performance as to each of the

allegations in the amended complaint and award her

monetary damages for Defendant’s wilful, wrongful and

A27

ee

ee

~

2000, he had filed a Petition for Bankruptcy under Chapter

13 of the U.S. Bankruptcy Code in the U.S. Bankruptcy

Court for the District of Maryland, Case No. 00-6-2818.°

Plaintiff and her counsel, Henry Stewart, Esquire, were

listed as unsecured, non-priority creditors on schedule F of

Defendant's bankruptcy petition. An order staying

proceedings during the Defendant's bankruptcy case was

signed by Judge Marshall on November 13, 2000.

Subsequently, on April 3, 2001, the Defendant received a

discharge from the United States Bankruptcy Court as to all

claims against his property and estate as listed in his

bankruptcy petition.

The case came for trial on the merits as pertaining to

the divorce and property issues on June 25, 2001. At that

hearing, the Plaintiff requested that the Court order specific

performance of the Defendant's remaining property

obligations under the Agreement as well as punitive

damages and attorney's fees due to Defendant's wilful

refusal to abide by the Agreement. Specifically, the Plaintiff

urged the Court to address the following outstanding

obligations: 1) the transfer of Defendant's one-third interest

in the Towson townhouse to Plaintiff and Angela Sherman

as joint tenants; 2) the transfer of Defendant's-one-quarter

interest in the parties' Cocoa Beach and Pocono time-share

units to Plaintiff; 3) reimbursement for health insurance

expenses for Plaintiff and Christopher Sherman in the total

amount of $385.11 to Plaintiff; 4) reimbursement for

Plaintiffs out-of-pocket expenses due to Defendant's time-

share cancellation(s) in the total amount of $6,717.45 to

1 Defendant’s Chapter 13 bankruptcy petition was later

converted to a Chapter 7 filing under which it was subsequently

discharged.

A28

ee SS

Plaintiff; 5) payment of one-half of Defendant's settlement

proceeds from his resolved claim with his former employer,

Physician Support Services, LLC, in the total amount of

$13,500.00 to Plaintiff; 6) transfer of an interest in

Defendant's pension plan due to his non-disclosure of his

retirement benefit information to Plaintiff; 7) transfer of

certain personal property’ as listed in Schedule A of the

Agreement to Plaintiff; 8) transfer of the title and gift

certificate form for the 1997 Lincoln Town Car to Plaintiff;

and 9) payment of attorney's fees for Plaintiff s counsel in

the total anlount of $7 ,937.50 to Plaintiff.

The Defendant urged the Court that he was no

longer liable to the Plaintiff for any of the obligations made

under the Agreement due to his subsequent discharge in

bankruptcy. Additionally, Defendant argued that the

Plaintiff's complaint should have been dismissed due to her

failure to join necessary parties, namely the parties' two

children, under Maryland Rule 2-211 because both of their

interests as joint owners in four of the time-share units and

Angela's interest as one-third owner in the Towson

townhouse would be impaired or impeded by the outcome

of this proceeding. Furthermore, the Defendant alleged that

Plaintiff had not fulfilled her obligations under the

Agreement by not transferring her interest in the marital

home to Defendant. Defendant contends that based on his

2 The specific items of personal property alleged not to have

been returned to Plaintiff are spelled out in the Plaintiff's Exhibit 5 as

follows: two lamps from family room; futon from basement; patio

furniture (Rubbermaid storage container, Hot tub, four white stacking

chairs); picture from family room wall; Longaberger baskets; white

crotcheted bedspread from grandmother; one-half crafts made by Angie

and Chris during school years; sky chair from basement; and one-half

of tools (such as hammer, screwdrivers, power tools, weedwacker).

A29

understanding of the Agreement, Plaintiff was only to

receive Defendant's interest in one of the Cocoa Beach

time-share units. Defendant also alleges that the parties had

agreed to split their son's college tuition, but Plaintiff has

not contributed '°

As indicated above, the Court granted Plaintiff an

absolute divorce and the use of her maiden name. This

opinion addresses the outstanding property issues between

the parties described in their Marital Settlement Agreement

of June 30, 1999, and Stipulation on the record of Aprill1,

2000, and how these obligations are affected by Defendant's

discharge in bankruptcy.

STANDARD OF REVIEW

A. Court's Authority to Enforce Marital Property

Settlement Agreements in Divorce Cases

The Court of Appeals has long recognized the

validity of property settlements between husband and wife.

See Md. Code Ann. Fan1. Law § 8-101 (2001); Frana v.

Frana, 12 Md. App. 273, 278 A.2d 94 (1971); Brown v.

Brown, 248 Md. 139, 235 A.2d 706 (1967); and Grossman

v. Grossman, 234 Md. 139, 198 A.2d 260 (1964). Courts

are empowered to recognize and enforce separation and

property settlement agreements. See Eigenbrode v.

Eigenbrode, 36 Md. App. 557,373 A.2d 1306 (1977

Jackson v. Jackson, 14 Md. App. 263,286 A.2d 778 (1972);

Lewis v. Lewis, 256 Md. 45,259 A.2d 24 (1969); and

3 Nowhere in the Agreement or the April 11, 2000, stipulation

on the record can this Court determine that the parties agreed to split

their son’s college tuition. Therefore, the Plaintiffs alleged failure to

fulfill this obligation will not be addressed in this opinion.

A30

Reichhart v. Brent, 247 Md. 66,230 A.2d 326 (1967). A

separation agreement being contract between the parties is

subject to the same general rules governing other

contracts, and particular questions must be resolved by

reference to the particular language of the agreement. See

Pumphrey v. Pumphrey, 11 Md. App. 287, 273 A.2d 637

(1971); and Eigenbrode v Eigenbrode, 36 Md. App. 557,

373 A.2d 1306 (1977).

Courts of equity have the power to specifically .

enforce separation agreements. See Borotka v. Boulay, 268

Md. 244, 299 A.2d 803 (1973) (provision in separation

agreement binding husband to maintain in force life

insurance policies naming wife as primary beneficiary) and

Faller v. Faller, 247 Md. 631, 233 A.2d 807 (1967). A

court of equity will not require specific performance ofa

separation agreement as a matter of course, but will

evaluate the conduct of the parties, and circumstances and

equities of each particular case and will not exercise its

discretion to grant a remedy unless it will subserve the ends

of justice and the result of its assistance will be fair, just,

and reasonable. See Parkinson v. Parkinson, 42 Md. App.

650, 402 A.2d 129 (1979).

B. Effect on Marital Settlement Agreement on

Defendant's Discharge in Bankruptcy

Whether a debt or claim will be discharged in

bankruptcy is to be determined by the bankruptcy court. ~

11 U.S.C. § 501 ~. (2001) and 28 US.C. § 1334(b) (2001).

It logically follows that t] question of whether obligations

under a property settlement agreement between spouses is

discharged: in bankruptcy is to be determined in the same

manner and federal bankruptcy law is to be applied.. See

id.

A31

The Bankruptcy Code defines the term

"claim" as follows:

(A) right to payment, whether

or not such right is reduced to

judgment, liquidated,

unliquidated, fixed,

contingent, matured,

unmatured, disputed,

undisputed, legal, equitable,

secured or unsecured; or

(B) right to an equitable

remedy for breach of

performance if such breach

gives rise to a right to

payment, whether or not such

right is reduced to judgment,

liquidated, unliquidated,

fixed, contingent, matured,

unmatured, disputed,

undisputed, legal, equitable,

secured or unsecured[.]

11 U.S.C. § 101(5) (2001). See also In re Wang Zi

Cashmere Products. Inc., 202 B.R. 228,232 (Bankr. D.Md.

1996) (The term "claim 1s defined in the Bankruptcy Code

to include any right to payment and need not be fixed and

may be contingent or unliquidated.) The Fourth Circuit

Court of Appeals held in the case of Stewart Foods, Inc. v.

Broeker, 64 F.3d 141 (1995):

Congress intended to adopt the broadest possible

definition of the term "claim," so that

a bankruptcy case would deal with all of the debtor's

legal obligations. The House and Senate Reports to

the Bankruptcy Reform Act of 1978 state the

following about the definition of "claim":

A32

a a rn ae esac parma cs cuntmetinS domeenerne

By this broadest possible

definition, and by the use of

the term throughout the title

11, especially in subchapter I

of chapter 5, the bill

contemplates that all legal

obligations of the debtor, no

matter how remote or

contingent, will be able to be

dealt with in the bankruptcy

case. It permits the broadest

possible relief in the

bankruptcy court.

H.R. Rep. No.95-595, 95th Cong., Ist Sess. 309

(1977), reprinted in 1978 U.S.C.C.A.N. 5963, 6266;

S.Rep. No.95-989, 95th Cong., 2d Sess. 22 (1978),

reprinted in 1978 U.S.C.C.A.N. 5787,5808; see also

Johnson v. Home State Bank, 501 U.S. 78,83,111 S.

Ct. 2150,2153-54, 115 L.Ed. 2d 66 (1991)

("Congress intended by [the language of 11 U.S.C.

§ 101(5) to adopt the broadest available definition

of 'claim.""); Grady v. A.H. Robins Co., 839 F.2d

198,200 (4th Cir. 1988).

64 F.3d at 144.

In a number of cases, it has been held or recognized

that a property settlement between spouses is dischargeable

in bankruptcy, at least where it is truly or substantially a

property settlement agreement, and not an agreement for

alimony, support, or maintenance as excepted under 11

U.S.C. § 523 (a)(5).'' See Shacter v. Shacter, 467 F. Supp.

4 i1 U.S.C. 523 (a)(5) substantially provides that an individual

debt may be excepted from discharge if it is “to a spouse, former

spouse, or child of the debtor, for alimony to, maintenance for, or

support of such spouse cr child, in connection with a separation

agreement...” The statute goes on to qualify that such debt must

“actually [be] in the nature of alimony, maintenance or support” in

order to be nondischargeable as such. See id.

~ A33

64 (D. Md.), aff'd without published opinion, 610 F.2d 813

(4th Cir. 1979); In re Stone, 79 B.R. 633 (D. Md. 1987); In

re Coffman, 52 B.R. 667 (D. Md. 1985); and Melichar v.

Ost, 7 B.R. 951 (D. Md. 1980) (all dealing with the

bankrupt's obligation to make certain payments to former

spouse pursuant to a marital settlement agreement). It is the

creditor's obligation to raise the issue of

nondischargeability of debts to the bankruptcy court by

filing a complaint. See Fed. R. Bankr. P. 4004 and 4007. In

failing to raise an objection, the creditor waives the right to

object, and the claim may be subsequently discharged in

bankruptcy. See id.

Discussion

As suggested above, an equity court may require

specific performance of a marital settlement agreement

between spouses after a thorough evaluation of the conduct

and the circumstances and equities between the parties in a

particular case. In the case at hand, the Court must look at

the totality of the circumstances including the Agreement

and stipulation on the record between the parties, the

obligations under those agreements, most of which have not

been fulfilled, as well as the Defendant’s subsequent

discharge in bankruptcy ultimately relieving him of a

plethora of financial obligations. In viewing all of this, the

Court finds it fair, just, and reasonable to compel specific

performance of the outstanding obligations under the

parties' Agreement that have not been discharged by

Defendant’s bankruptcy.

According to bankruptcy law, if a claim means

"right to payment" as it is so broadly defined by Congress,

then it would follow that any pre-petition claim that

Plaintiff has against Defendant requests monetary relief or

could possibly result in a claim for monetary payment(s) is

unenforceable at this point based on Defendant's discharge

in bankruptcy. Therefore, this Court no longer has to

enforce any pre-bankruptcy obligations of the Defendant

which result in a monetary award or payment to the

Plaintiff. However, any obligations of the Defendant to the

A34

Plaintiff arising out of the Agreement and subsequent

stipulation on the record which are solely equitable and do

not foreseeably result in a compel specific performance of

certain outstanding property settlement obligations

remaining between the parties.

The bankruptcy court discharged Defendant for his

"various claims arising from and/or relating to the marriage

and separation of the parties" assigned to Plaintiff.

Defendant would like this Court to find that this broad

language covers any and all obligations that he may have

incurred by

Agreement, including those of transferring title and/or

interests in certain properties and of transferring p

personal property to his wife. The Court is not so inclined

to accept Defendant's interpretation.

While it is true that the bankruptcy court has

relieved the Defendant of his financial responsibilities,

certain provisions of the Agreement between the parties

still have some equitable value and are enforceable by this

Court. Those provisions dealing solely with the transfer of

Defendant's interest in certain property to Plaintiff are

clearly within the authority of this Court to compel

performance on. Likewise, the provision requiring

Defendant to return/transfer specific personal property

items to Plaintiff is within the Court's power to enforce.

Because these types of obligations are not within the

bankruptcy court's scope of a "claim" as a broadly defined

"right to payment," Plaintiff had no obligation to argue their

nondischargeability during the bankruptcy proceeding.

These obligations are equitable in nature and are purely

within the purview of this court to specifically enforce

within the divorce preceeding. In fact, it is clear from the

meeting of creditors transcript submitted to this Court by

the Plaintiff, that the bankruptcy trustee (as well as the

Defendant himself and his bankruptcy attorney) acted as if

A35

comunisinsius ma eeen cane seamen

the "transfer of property" obligations’ under the Agreement

had already taken place pursuant the authority of this Court

prior to the bankruptcy proceeding. The Defendant cannot

now be shielded by his bankruptcy discharge from fulfilling

obligations under the parties' Agreement that he

convincingly argued to the bankruptcy court had already

been fulfilled.

The Court finds that it is within its power to

specifically compel the Defendant to abide by those terms

of the Agreement as follows: 1) Defendant is to transfer his

one-third interest in the Towson townhouse to Plaintiff and

Angela Sherman as joint tenants; 2) Defendant shall

transfer his one-quarter interest in the parties' Pocono time-

share unit and all three Cocoa Beach time-share units to

Plaintiff;'> 3) Defendant must transfer/return the remaining

personal property items listed in Plaintiffs Exhibit 5 to

Plaintiff, excepting the hot tub and Rubbermaid storage

container which this Court simply does not define as patio

furniture; and 4) Defendant shall sign a gift certificate form

for and transfer the title of the 1997 Lincoln Town Car to

Plaintiff.

5 In using the term “transfer of property obligation,” this Court

is referring to those provisions of the Agreement which require a

transfer of interest in property between the parties. These provisions

include the transfer of Defendant’s interest in the Towson townhouse,

the Plaintiff's transfer of interest in the Bel Air property, both the

Defendant’s and the Plaintiff's transfers of interest in the time-share

units, the signing of the gift certificate form and transfer of

Defendant’s interest in the Lincoln Town Car, and the transfer/return

of personal property items to Plaintiff.

6 The plain language of the agreement that the Plaintiff is to

receive the Defendant’s interest in all three Cocoa Beach time-shares as

the agreement attempts to deal with all of the parties’ marital assets,

and it does not specifically refer to any type of division of the three

Cocoa Beach units owned by the parties’ and their children.

A36

As to the remaining financial obligations that

Defendant is alleged to owe Plaintiff under the Agreement,

this Court has no authority te compel performance based on

Defendant's discharge in bankruptcy. The other five

remaining obligations argued by Plaintiff at the hearing are

clearly "right to payment" obligations that were discharged

by the bankruptcy court. The following obligations of the

Defendant cannot be specifically enforced under the

Agreement as a result of his bankruptcy discharge: 1)

reimbursement for health insurance expenses for Plaintiff

and Christopher Sherman in the total amount of $385.11 to

Plaintiff; 2) reimbursement for Plaintiffs out-of-pocket

expenses due to Defendant's-time-share cancellation(s) in

the total amount of$6,717.45 to Plaintiff, 3) payment of

one- half of Defendant's settlement proceeds from his

resolved claim with his former employer, Physician

Support Services, LLC," to Plaintiff; 4) transfer of an

interest in Defendant's pension plan due to his non-

disclosure of his retirement benefit information to

Plaintiff:'5 and 5) payment of attorney's fees for Plaintiffs

7 From the testimony presented at the Court hearing, it is

estimated that this claim has a possible total value of $13,500.00.

8 It should be noted that in paragraph 10 of the Agreement, both

spouses agreed to a waiver of any interest in the other spouses’s

retirement benefits. This waiver was subsequently modified during the

April 11, 2000, stipulation on the record to be contingent on full

disclosure of his retirement benefits invalidates the waiver. This issue

has become moot based on this opinion and the Court’s finding that

any claim for an interest in Defendant’s retirement benefits is an

unenforceable “right to payment” claim based upon Defendant’s

discharge in bankruptcy.

A37

If Plaintiff wanted to argue that these five claims

arising out of the parties divorce and separation should

have been excepted as nondischargeable alimony,

maintenance and/or support under 11 U.S.C. 523 (a)(5),

then she clearly had the right to argue that position to the

bankruptcy court based on her participation and

representation by George Breschi, Esquire, in that

proceeding. As stated above, it is the creditor's obligation to

file a complaint as to nondischargeability within sixty days

of the date of the first meeting of creditors in an attempt to

have the bankruptcy court determine that a claim is

nondischargeable alimony, support and/or maintenance.

Since the Plaintiff failed to raise the issue during the

bankruptcy proceeding, she cannot now urge this Court to

view the claims as nondischargeable. The issue of whether

debts covered in a prior U .S. Bankruptcy Court case are

nondischargeable is clearly not within the equity court's

power to decide. Thus, the only authority that this court

may act on is the determination that all of Defendant's pre-

petition "right-to-payment" obligations, including those to

the Plaintiff, were clearly discharged by the bankruptcy

court.

The Court further finds that Defendant's remaining

argument that Plaintiffs Complaint should be dismissed for

her failure to join the parties' two adult children, Angela

and Christopher Sherman, in this lawsuit under Maryland

breaches of the Agreement invalidate this waiver and allow her to now

make a claim for her reasonable attorney’s fees incurred in this divorce

proceeding. This issue, too, has. become moot based on this opinion

and the Court’s finding that any claim for attorney’s fees is an

unenforceable “right to payment” claim based upon Defendant’s

discharge in bankruptcy.

A38

Rule 2-2111'’ is without merit. Defendant's transfer of

interest in the Towson townhouse neither impairs nor

- impedes Angela Sherman's interest in that property. In fact,

the parties’ stipulation on the record modifying the

Agreement actually has the effect of positively her interest

from one-third to one-half owner in the Towson property.

Likewise, as to the interest of Angela and Christopher in

the Pocono and three Cocoa Beach time-share units,

Defendant’s transfer of his one-quarter interest in those

units to Plaintiff in no manner impairs or impedes the

children’s interests in those same properties. The children

began with a one-quarter interest each in those same

properties, and will continue to have that same percentage

of interest, despite the transfer. Since it is evident neither

of the children's interests will be impaired or impeded as a

result of transfers resulting from specific enforcement of

the Agreement in this matter, the Defendant’s argument

that the children should be joined as necessary parties must

ultimately fail.

As a final note, the Court declines the invitation by

Plaintiff to award any type of punitive damages for

Defendant's noncompliance with the Agreement. Clearly,

both parties have to all of their obligations under the

Agreement for various reasons that are irrelevant to the

Court’s decision in this matter, and the Court does not find

that an award of punitive damages appropriate in this case.

- CONCLUSION

As to Plaintiff s Complaint, the Court finds that

there are several outstanding property settlement

10 Maryland Rule 2-211 requires parties to be joined “in the

action if in the person’s absence, (1) complete relief cannot be

accorded..., or (2) disposition of the action may impair or impede the

person’s ability to protect a claimed interest relating to the subject of

the action...”

A39

obligations that are specifically enforceable and

incorporates, but not merges mentioned provisions of the

Agreement, as modified by the parties' subsequent

stipulation on the record, into the parties Judgment of

Absolute Divorce.

Specifically, the Court finds that: 1) Defendant is to

transfer his one-third interest in the Towson townhouse to

Plaintiff and Angela Sherman as joint tenants in accordance

with paragraph 7 of the Agreement and the April 11, 2000,

modifications thereto; 2) Defendant shall transfer his one-

quarter interest in the parties' Pocono time-share unit and

all three Cocoa Beach time-share unit and all three Cocoa

Beach time-share units to Plaintiff'® in accordance with

paragraph 9 of the Agreement; 3) Defendant must

transfer/return remaining personal property items as listed

on Plaintiffs Exhibit 5 to Plaintiff in accordance with

paragraph 8A of the Agreement with the two above-listed

exceptions of the hot tub and Rubbermaid storage

container; 4) Defendant shall transfer the title and sign a

gift certificate form for the 1997 Lincoln Town Car to

Plaintiff in accordance with paragraph 8B of the

Agreement; 5) Plaintiff must transfer her interest in the Bel

Air property to the Defendant in accordance with paragraph

6 of the Agreement; 6) Plaintiff is to transfer her one-half

interest in the Orlando time-share unit to Defendant in

accordance with paragraph 9 of the Agreement; and 7)

Plaintiff and Defendant are required to sell the Cancun

time-share and split the proceeds equally in accordance

with the April 11, 2000, stipulation on the record.

11 The plain language of the agreement indicates that the

Plaintiff is to receive the Defendant’s interest in all three Cocoa Beach

time-shares as the agreement attempts to deal with all of the parties’

marital assets, and it does not specifically refer to any type of division

of the three Cocoa Beach units owned by the parties’ and their

children.

A40

LYNNE P. SHERMAN * IN THE

Plaintiff * CIRCUIT COURT

V. * FOR

LAWRENCE R. SHERMAN * HARFORD COUNTY

Defendant * Case No: 12-C-99-3055

1 * * ok oe

ORDER

The Circuit Court for Harford County having heard

arguments, taken testimony, considered the pleadings, and

issued a Memorandum Opinion, it is this 27 Day of July,

2001,

ORDERED as follows:

1. The Plaintiff, LYNNE P. SHERMAN, is

divorced absolutely from the Defendant,

LAWRENCE R. SHERMAN.

2. The Plaintiff, LYNNE P. SHERMAN, is grantea

the use of her maiden name, LYNNE P. TROUTWEIN.

3. The Defendant shall transfer his one-third interest

in the Towson townhouse to Plaintiff and Angela Sherman

as joint tenants in accordance with paragraph 7 of the

Agreement and the April 11, 2000, stipulated modifications

thereto;

4. The Defendant shall transfer his one-quarter

interest in the parties' Pocono time-share unit and all three

Cocoa Beach time-share units to Plaintiff in accordance

with paragraph 9 of the

Agreement

5. The Defendant shall transfer/return the remaining

personal property items as listed on Plaintiff s Exhibit 5 to

Plaintiff in accordance with paragraph 8A of the Agreement

except for the Hot tub and Rubbermaid storage container.

A41

ae

6. The Defendant shall sign a gift certificate form

for and transfer the title of the 1997 Lincoln Town Car to

Plaintiff in accordance with paragraph 8B of the

Agreement.

7. The Plaintiff shall transfer her interest in the Bel

Air property to the Defendant in accordance with paragraph

6 of the Agreement.

8. The Plaintiff shall transfer her one-half interest in

the Orlando time share unit to Defendant in accordance

with paragraph 9 of the Agreement.

9. The Plaintiff and Defendant shall sell the Cancun

time share and split the proceeds equally in accordance with

the April 11, 2000, stipulation on the record.

10. The parties' Marital Settlement Agreement dated

June 30, 1999, with the exception of the provisions

resulting in claims which were discharged by the

Defendant's bankruptcy as more fully described in the

attached Memorandum Opinion, are to remain in full force

and effect and to be incorporated, but not merged into the

parties’ Judgment of Absolute Divorce.

IT IS SO ORDERED THIS 24 DAY OF JULY,

2001.

“¢s/ oe

MAURICE W. BALDWIN, JR., Judge

True Copy:

Test: Charles G. Hiob, II, Clerk

By: “s/ ws

Deputy Clerk

cc: Henry W. Stewart, Esq.

Law Offices of Henry W. Stewart, P .A.

209 Courtland A venue

Towson, Maryland 21204

A42

George A. Breschi, Esq.

409 Washington A venue, Suite 600

Towson, Maryland 21204

Jonathan S. Greene, Esq.

Howanski & Greene

410 Washington Avenue, Suite 803

Towson, Maryland 21204

A43

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.