Opinion — United States v. Southern Pacific R. Co.
Supreme Court brief1912
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
566 OCTOBER TERM, 1911,
Argument for the United States. 223 U.S.
the same act and forfeited under the act of July 6, 1886, c. 637,
24 Stat. 123. Southern Pacific Railroad Company v. United States,
168 U.S. 1, distinguished.
Where selections are made after a decision of this court, the selections
will not be declared illegal at the instance of the Government if its
claim is inconsistent with the position taken by it in the earlier
case.
TuE facts, which involve rights of the Southern Pacific
Railroad Company under its Main Line Grant to lands
within the overlap of the primary limits of the Atlantic
and Pacific Railroad Company land grant, are stated in
the opinion.
The Solicitor General for the United States:
As to No. 128, the Southern Pacific is not entitled to
select, as being within the indemnity provisions of its
Main Line Grant made by the act of July 27, 1866, any
lands which were subject to the primary provisions of the
Atlantic and Pacific grant (made by the same act).
This question is really res judicata. See 168 U.S. 1, 61.
Other cases clearly sustain the principle underlying
this decision. Bardon v. Northern Pacific R. R. Co., 145
U. S. 535, 545; Siour City & St. P. R. R. Co. v. United
States, 159 U.S. 349, 364; Chicago &c. Ry. Co. v. United
States, 159 U. 8. 372, 374; St. Paul Railroad Co. v. Winona
Railroad Co., 112 U. 8. 720, 732; Clark v. Herington, 186
U.S. 206.
Selections for the lands in Exhibit B to the bill are now
pending in the Interior Department, but the Land De-
partment has no power, jurisdiction, or discretion which
it can exercise in approving them, and therefore this suit
to quiet title and remove the cloud will lie. Mullan v.
United States, 118 U. S. 271, 278; Burfenning v. Chicago
&c. Ry., 163 U.S. 321, 323; Doolan v. Carr, 125 U. S. 618,
624; Weeks v. Bridgman, 159 U. S. 541, 547.
The Government is entitled to a decree for the price
UNITED STATES v. SOUTHERN PAC. R. R. CO. 567
223 U.S. Argument for Appellecs in No. 128; Appellants in No. 129.
(at the rate of $1.25 per acre) of such of the patented
lands as have been sold to bona fide purchasers. Southern
Pacific Railroad Co. v. United States, 200 U. S. 341; Oregon
Railroad Co. v. United States, 189 U.S. 103, 115.
It appears by stipulation that within the indemnity
limits there still remains a large body of lands from which
the company can select in lieu of those here involved.
Southern Pacific v. United States (No. 1), 200 U.S. 341,
353.
As to No. 129, the former case is a conclusive adjudica-
tion against the defendants as to lands there and here
involved. Southern Pacific v. United States, 183 U. S.
519; United States v. Southern Pacific, 184 U.S. 49.
The title to such of the lands in Exhibit B of the bill
as were included in the former case is res judicata. It is
immaterial that the right now asserted was not asserted
then. The bill was to quiet title and the right now relied
on should have been put forward at the time, as it could
have been. The object of the rule is to end litigation.
See United States v. California &c. Land Company, 192
U. S. 355; Bienville Water Supply Co. v. Mobile, 186 U.S.
212, 216; Dowell v. Applegate, 152 U. 8. 327, 341.
The defendant company cannot contend that this ef-
fect of the decision is avoided for the reason that by the
subsequent selection under the act of 1866, which was not
in question in the case, it acquired a new title. Selection
may be necessary to perfect title, but the right, of course,
always comes from the granting act. That right could
have been urged then as well as now.
Mr. Macwell Evarts for appellees in No. 128 and ap-
pellants in No. 129:
The filing of a suit by the Government to quiet the
titlé to lands in so far as any claim is made thereto by the
railroad company under the branch line grant of 1871,
does not bar the selection of such lands by the railroad
Meh ip
ICS ie LPS AAS TA ORE VE
5us OCTOBER TERM, 1911.
Argument for Appellees in No. 128; Appellants in No. 129. 223 U.S.
company under the grant of 1866, simply because the
indemnity limits of the two grants overlapped to a slight
extent, and, unknown to either side at the time of the
trial, land physically within the indemnity limits of the
grant of 1866 was in its character of indemnity land under
the grant of 1871 included in such suit. See Southern
Pacific Railroad Co. v. United States, 183 U.S. 519, 532,
stating what was decided by the court in 146 U. S. 570,
146 U.S. 615, and 168 U.S. 1.
The doctrine that the title to indemnity lands remains
in the United States until selection and approval has
always been recognized by this court. New Orleans Pacific
Railway v. Parker, 143 U. 8. 42, 57; United States v. Mis-
sourt &c. Ry., 141 U. S. 358, 374; Wisconsin Railroad v.
Price County, 133 U. S. 496, 512; Barney v. Winona &e.
R. R., 117 U. 8. 228, 232; Clark v. Herington, 186 U.S.
206, 209.
The whole question in this case is whether such general
principles of law are applicable to the facts in the case
at bar. They are not for two reasons.
First: Because at the time the suit, in 168 U. S. 1, was
brought and until it was finally disposed of in this court,
there was no claim of title in the Southern Pacific to the
lands involved here under the Main Line Grant of 1866,
and no claim of title thereto was obtained until 1903.
Barrow v. Kindred, 4 Wall. 399, 404.
Second: For the reason that in a suit brought by the
Government to quiet its title to lands claimed by the
defendants under a particular grant of Congress it is not
open to such defendants to assert any claim to the land
under another grant, especially when a contemporary
suit is brought to quiet its title to the same lands with
regard to any claims under such other grant. The Govern-
ment, therefore, by reason of the position taken by it in
168 U. 8. 1, with reference to the Main Line Grant of 1866
and because of the fact that it had brought a suit to quiet
UNITED STATES v. SOUTHERN PAC. it. R. CO. Sty
223 U.S. Opinion of the Court.
title to these very same lands with regard to claims thereto
of the railroad company under the Main Line Grant of
1866, is certainly now estopped and barred from making
the claim that the case in 168 U. S. 1, is a sufficient ground
for holding that the railroad company cannot claim these
lands under its indemnity grant under the Main Line
Grant of 1866.
Mr. Justice Homes delivered the opinion of the
court.
This is a bill brought by the United States to quiet
title and cancel patents, and for an accounting, as to
lands lying within the indemnity limits of the grant made
to the Southern Pacific Railroad Company by the act of
July 27, 1866, c. 278, § 18, 14 Stat. 292, known as the
Main Line Grant, and within the primary limits of the
grant made to the Atlantic and Pacific Railroad Com-
pany by §3 of the same act. The Atlantic and Pacific
road forfeited its grant, (act of July 6, 1886, c. 637, 24
Stat. 123), and thereafter the Southern Pacific selected
the parcels in question as indemnity under its Main Line
Grant. The rights of the Southern Pacific under this
grant were not subordinated to those of the Atlantic and
Pacific under the same statute, as they were by its branch
line grant of 1871, considered in our last decision, but in
case of conflict each road took half within the conflicting
place limits. Southern Pacific Railroad Co. v. United
States, 183 U.S. 519. The special grounds for the decision
between the same parties in 168 U. 8. 1, followed in the
case preceding this, do not exist here. Therefore the
Circuit Court and the Circuit Court of Appeals held that
the state of the lands at the time of selection determined
the right, with an accidental exception that we shall ex-
plain. 152 Fed. Rep. 303. 167 Fed. Rep. 510. 93 C. C. A.
146. Both parties appeal; the United States from the
ay ee |
SPIO IER So okot
| ao
co
1
=
OCTOBER TERM, 1911.
Opinion of the Court. 223 U.S.
decision on the main point, the Southern Pacific from
what concerns the excepted lands.
The Government argues that as the lands selected lay
within the primary limits of the Atlantic and Pacific they
cannot have been contemplated as possibly falling into
the indemnity lands of the other road. It refers to an
intimation in Southern Pacific Railroad Company v. United
States, 189 U. S. 447, 452, made with regard to the branch
line grant and to lands within the place limits of the
Southern Pacific but for the paramount right of the Texas
Pacific, that as the indemnity grant was ‘not including the
reserved numbers’ ‘it might be argued’ that those words
excluded the secondary claim to the same lands by way
of indemnity after a forfeiture of the Texas Pacific grant.
It suggests that Ryan v. Railroad Company, 99 U.S. 382,
relied on for the ground of decision below, concerned land
which the United States was claiming at the time of the
indemnity grant and which it ultimately acquired, and
that its authority should be limited to such a case. But
we are of opinion that these arguments ought not to
prevail.
An indemnity grant, like the residuary clause in a will,
contemplates the uncertain and looks to the future. What
a railroad is to be indemnified for may be fixed as of the
moment of the grant, but what it may elect when its right
to indemnity is determined depends on the state of the
lands selected at the moment of choice. Of course the
railroad is limited in choosing by the terms of the indem-
nity grant, but the so-called grant is rather to be described
as a power. Ordinarily no color of title is gained until
the power is exercised. When it is exercised in satisfac-
tion of a meritorious claim which the Government created
upon valuable consideration and which it must be taken
to have intended to satisfy (so far as it may be satisfied
within the territorial limits laid down), it seems to us that
lands within those limits should not be excluded simply
UNITED STATES v. SOUTHERN PAC. R. R. CO. 571
223 U.S. Opinio. of the Court.
because in a different event they would have been subject
to a paramount claim. It seems to us, in short, that
Ryan v. Railroad Company, supra, should be taken to
establish a general principle and should not be limited
to its special facts. As to the suggestion in 189 U. 5. 447,
452, the words ‘not including the reserved numbers’ refer
primarily at least to the numbers reserved from any part
of the grant by the terms of the act, and the suggestion
was made only as to a claim of indemnity from lands in
and adjoining a strip to which the title under the primary
grant failed. Whether there was anything in it in any
aspect we need not consider now. It certainly cannot
affect this case,
A more delicate question is presented by the appeal
of the Southern Pacific. It is this: A part of the lands in
controversy were not only within the main line indemnity
limits of the Southern Pacific and the primary limits of
the Atlantic and Pacific, but also within the indemnity
limits of the Southern Pacifie branch line grant. It is
agreed that they were embraced in the decree against the
right of the Southern Pacific under its branch line grant
in 168 U.S. 1, and the argument is that the matter is res
judicata, on the ground that a decree or judgment is
binding as to al! media concludendi, and that the former
decree established the right of the United States to this
land. Dowell v. Applegate, 152 U. 8. 327; United States v.
California and Oregon Land Co., 192 U. S. 355, 358. But
the selections in this case were made after the decree in
168 U.S. 1, and if the matter were at large it would seem
a strong thing to hold an adjudication conclusive not only
as to existing titles under the grant in controversy, but
as to merely possible sources of title in the future under a
different and distinct grant. We shall not discuss that
question, however, or consider just how far the decisions
have gone. The Solicitor General candidly agreed that
the Government should not and would not rely upon this
Rey RY senior
ee AGNES ARNON
572 OCTOBER TERM, 1911.
Opinion of the Court. 223 U.S.
ground, if it had taken 2 position inconsistent with it in
the earlier case, and it seems to us plain that it did so and
expressly deprecated any reference in that case to the
rights under the Main Line Grant.
It appears that the bill in 168 U. S. 1, was brought or
at least tried as a bill to quiet title against claims of the
Southern Pacific under the branch line grant, and that
during the litigation on that question there was pending
another bill to quiet title under the Main Line Grant, being
the one before this court in 183 U.S. 519. It is said, and
we do not understand it to be disputed, that in oral argu-
ment and printed brief before the Circuit Court of Appeals
the counsel for the Government repeated that title under
the Main Line Grant was not involved, and that if that
question ever arose there would be pleadings and proof
upon it. The court in its decision, 168 U.S. 1, 29, stated
the claim of the Southern Pacific to be under the act of
1871 (the branch line grant}. Again, in the case between
the same parties in 183 U. 8. 519, 533, the court said that
it was not adjudged in the former cases that the Southern
Pacific had no title to any real estate by virtue of the act
of 1866; and although it also said that of course the decrees
were conclusive as to the title to the property involved
in them, still in view of the conduct and disposition of
the cause as to the branch line grant, if for no other reason,
we think that it would be inequitable for the United
States now to rely upon the decree in that cause as con-
clusive upon the parties in this. It follows that as the
present decision was in favor of the United Siates with
regard to the last-mentioned lands it must be reversed,
(No. 129), and that otherwise (No. 128) it stands affirmed.
Decree reversed.
UNITED STATES v. SOUTHERN PACIFIC
RAILROAD COMPANY.
SOUTHERN PACIFIC RAILROAD COMPANY ov».
UNITED STATES.
APPEALS FROM THE CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
NINTH CIRCUIT.
Nos. 128, 129. Argued January 26, 1912.—Decided February 26, 1912.
An indemnity grant, like the residuary clause in a,will, contemplates
the uncertain and looks to the future, and what the party entitled
may elect to select depends upon the state of the lands at the time
of selection. Ryan v. Railroad Company, 99 U.S. 382.
Under the main line grant made to the Southern Pacific Railroad
Company by the act of July 27, 1866, ec. 278, § 18, 14 Stat. 292,
the company can select lieu lands within the primary limits of the
grant made to the Atlantic & Pacific Railroad Company by § 3 of
" a |
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.