Opposition Brief — County of Los Angeles v. Southern California Telephone Co.

Supreme Court brief1949

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

TOPICAL INDEX

Page

Preliminary Statement .. 1

Point 1.—lIt Is Not the Theory of Our Case That ‘the County Is

Within the Protection of the 14th Amendment... 6

Point LI. —Recognizing the General and Long Established Rule

That a Person in the Favored Class May Not Assert Dis-

crimination Against Others to Defeat a Statute, Our Position

Is That the County Is Not Within the Scope of That Rule

Under the Circumstances of This Case and That in Any

Event It Is Within a nized Exception Thereto........... 7

Point I11.—The Discrimination Is Not ‘econemcel and Hypo-

thetical and the Injury Is Substantial... 14

Point IV.—The Federal Question Is Substantial. ” Appellant

County’s Position Is in Aecord With the Decisions of This

Court Whereas the Appellee’s Position and the Holding of

the State Court Is in Accord Only With the Dissenting Opin-

ion in Frost v. Corporation Commission, 278 U. 8S. 515, 73

L. Ed. 483. The Judgment Appealed From Fails to Give

Due Consideration to the Requirement That There Be a

Relationship Between the Classification and the Subject

Matter of the Legislation... ; 17

Point V.—The Decision May Not Be Rested on . Non- Federal

aR i EE me el Se DO AMOI 24

ETE ee ares Swe na a NaN enn 27

TABLE OF CASES AND AUTHORITIES CITED

Cases

Air-way Electric Appliance Corp v. Day, 266 U. S. 71, 85, 69

Le, Bid, 160, 177, 45 Sep. Ce. Rep, 18... nce ccccccececcecececeecccererees a

Buchanan v. Warley, 245 U. S. 60, 62 L. Ed. 149.0000. 12

Chambers v. Baltimore & O. R. Co., 207 U. 8. 142, 52 L. Ed.

143 . — 5

Colgate v. Harvey, 296 U.S. 404, at 425, 80 L. Ed. 299... - 16

Frost v. Corporation Commission, 278 U. S. 515, at 524,

lL. Ed. 483 3, ia. 20

FP. S. Royster Guano Co. vy. _ Virginia, 253 U. 8. 412, 415, 64

L. ‘Ed. 989. 990, 40 kg, SN 21

Home Bldg. & Loan Assn. v. Blaisdell, 290) Us Ss. 398, 78 L. Ed.

ii Index

—— Kgey Anderson vy. Brand, 303 U. S. 95 at 98, ao

Lawrence v. State Tax Commission, 286 U. 8. 276, 76 L. Ed.

Mallinckrodt Chemical Works v. Missouri ex rel. Jones, 238

U. S. 41, 59 L. Ed. 1192.

Meidreich v. Lauenstein, 232 U. S. 236, 58 L. Ed. 584.

Pac. Indemnity Co. v. Myers, 211 Cal. 635. ll

— Petroleum Co. v. Jenkins, 297 U. 8. 629, 80 L. Ed.

-

4, 22

Calif. Civil Code, Sec. 536

County Government Act of 1897, Stats. 1897, p.

Emergency Mortgage Moratorium Law of 1933....................... ~. 1§

Franchise Sales Law of the State of California, Stats. 1906,

p. 777

ON EEE

Political Code, State of Calif., See. 4041.9 ........-.-.c-cceccnenseenenens 2

11 Am. Jur. p. 760 —

POOR COPY

. a kk le Ee a el. ee eee ee

Index iii

APPENDIX INDEX

Cases

Page

Arkansas Nat. Gas Co. v. Railroad Com., 261 U. S. 379 (43

8, Ct. 387, 67 L. Ed. 705)....... 14

Arkansas State H. Com’n. v. Southwestern Bell Co., 206

Ark. 1099 (178 S. W. 2d 1002)... 9

Arkansas State H. Com’n v. Southwestern Bell T. Co., 206

rm“ *% |: 3 & 4S ) |) cnn 12

Brady v. Mattern, 125 Iowa 158 (100 N. W. 358, 106 Am. St.

DS eM’ 18, 22, 24

Bueneman v. City of Santa Barbara, 8 Cal. 2d 405 (65 P. 2d

884, 109 A. L. R. 895).................. 14, 15

Chicago Gen. Ry. Co. v. City of Chicago, 176 Ill. 253, 259 (52

N. E. 880, 68 Am. St. Rep. 188, 66 L. R. A. 959)...

City of Beverly Hills v. Los Angeles, 175 Cal. 311 (165 P. .

ll tt SA He ART

City Railway Co. v. Citizens’ Street Railroad Co., 166 U. 8.

557, 567 (17 S. Ct. 653, 41 L. Ed. 1114) 9

City of Salinas v. Pacifie Tel. & Tel. Co., 72 Cal. App. 2d 494,

497, 164 P. 2d 905... 3

City of San Diego v. Kerckhoff, 49 Cal. App. 473, 482 (193 .

4 Ree ee

Colgate v. Harvey, 296 U. S. 404, 425 (56 8S. Ct. 252, 80 L. Ed.

SY By 0 Ree 29

Colorado Central R. R. Co. v. Lea, 5 Colo. 192... eceeceeeees ll

Commonwealth v. Vrooman, 164 Pa. 306 (30 A. 217, 44 Am.

St. Rep. 603, 25 L. R. A. 250)... 18, 21, 2%, 24

County of Inyo v. Hess, 53 Cal. App. 415, “(200 P. 373)... A, 7, 20, 21

Dillingham v. Melaughlin, 264 U. 8. 370, 373 (44 S. Ct. 362,

1 8 Ee oa 18, 21, 23

Engel v. O'Malley, 219 U. S. 128 (31 S. Ct. 190, 55 L. Ed.

STE ainweniiciadbiiciaicieicitlicandiag itereheninaniadtiatianaaemiaiaainenatintininaiensil 18, 21, 23

Frost v. Corporation Com., 278 U. 8S. 515 (40 8S. Ct. 235, 73

L. Ed, 483)... 18, 26

German Alliance Ins. Co. v. », Lewis, 233 U. S. 389, 416 (34 S. Ct.

ee ees. 18, 21, 24

Goddard v. Chicago & N. W. Ry. Co., 202 Il. 362 (66 N. E.

Ee a ie ET atin Si RCTS eaten. tee, 17, 21, 25

Higgins v. San Diego Water Co., 118 Cal. 524 adh P. 824, 50

ee 10

iv Index

Lord v. Denver, 58 Colo. 1 (143 P. 284, Ann. Cas. —

L. R. A. 1915B 306)

Los Angeles v. South Gate, 108 Cal. an am ou P. 654)

MeCreery v. MeColgan, 17 Cal. 2d (110 P. 2d 105], |

A. L. BR. 800) 3, 15

McGinnis v. Mayor and Common Council, 153 Cal. 711, ais

714, 96 P. 367 5

New York Electric Lines Co. v. Empire Subway Co., 235 U. S.

179, 193 (35 S. Ct. 72, 59 L. Ed. 184) 9

Noble State Bank v. Haskell, 219 U. S. 104 (31 S. Ct. 186, 55

L. Ed. 112) 18, 21, 22

Oro Electrie Corp. v. Railroad Com., 169 Cal. 466.

—— Turlock Home Tel. & Tel. Co., 200 Cal. 546 (253 P.

7

— Western Fruit Growers, 22 Cal. 2d 494 (140 P. 2d

13, 15

Pe Emenee Cable Co. v. County of Los Angeles, 160 Cal,

129 (166 P. 566) 7

Postal Tel. Cable Co. v. gy hag ow hgh 129, 116 P. 566 3

Postal Tel. Cable Co. v. Los Angeles, 160 Cal. 129 (116 P.

566) .. 14, 16

Postal Telegraph Cable Co. v. Los Angeles, 164 Cal. 156 (128

19) 7,9

Postal Tel. Cable Co. v. Railroad Com., 200 Cal. 463 (254 P.

258) 3,7

Puget Sound Co. v. Seattle, 291 U. S. 619 (54 S Ct. 542, 78

L. Ed. .

690)

San Jose Gas Co. v. January, 57 Cal. 614.

Shallenberger v. First State Bank, 219 U. S. 114 (31 S. Ct.

189, 55 L. Ed. 117)

State of California v. Marin Mun. W. Dist., 17 Cal. 2d. 699

(111 P. 2d 651) 7, 8

State v. Southwestern Bell Telephone Co., 338 Mo. 617 (92

“ne W. 2d 612)

State v. Union Electric Co. of Missouri (Mo. App.), 142 8

2d 1099

Stone v. State, 223 Ala. 426 (136 So. 727).

Sunset Tel. & Tel. Co. v. Pasadena, 161 Cal. 265, 272 (116 P.

mA

POOR COPY

nas er ., Se eee ee 2 eee eo

Index v

Sunset Tel. & Tel. Co. v. Pomona, 172 F. 829, 837.00000002.202.20c000--

Tigner v. Texas, 310 U. S. 141 (60 8. Ct. 879, 84 L. Ed. 1124)... 14

Western Union Tel. Co. v. City of Visalia, 149 Cal. 744 (87

DR, TE ace ER: SRST Tt en

Western Union Tel. Co. v. County of Los Angeles, 160 Cal. 124

3 ye

Western Union Tel. Co. v. Hopkins, 160 Cal. 106 (116 P. 557)

Western Union Tel. Co. v. Hopkins, 160 Cal. 744, 87 P. 1023 3

Willard v. Glenn-Colusa Irr. Dist., 201 Cal. 726 (258 P. 959)... 19

Winkie v. Turlock Irr. Dist., 24 Cal. App. 2d 1 (74 P. 2d 302) 9

Codes

yyyEEE——————ee 4

OO 6

Civil Code,

EE a ee ee 1, 7, 12, 25

Sec. 536, Stats. 1850, p. 369... soidiendaikatntiepansinianeaitcindbiads 3

OO

Federal Const. 14th Amendment,

Art. I, Sees. 11, 21 ................ tae adie eaciiaee tials 13

OL 13

2 Deering’s Gen. Laws, Act 6386, See. 61 ff... cerns 31

herr

IN THE

Supreme Court

OF THE

United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1948

BS ‘shenmiamninds

COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES, a body

politic and corporate,

Appellant,

vs.

SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA TELE-

PHONE COMPANY, a corporation,

Appellee.

APPELLANT’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO

APPELLEE’S MOTION TO DISMISS

OR AFFIRM

Preliminary Statement

The appellant County of Los Angeles brought an

action against the appellee telephone corporation to

compel it to aecount for the value of the use of the

County streets under general laws which authorize the

~

County to grant franchises for all lawful purposes!

and providing that in the granting of such franchises

the holders thereof must pay (in addition to the amount

bid for the franchise) two per cent (2%) of the gross

receipts resulting from the use of the franchise.’

As a defense the telephone corporation invoked see-

tion 536 of the Civil Code,* providing, as construed by

California courts, that telephone and telegraph cor-

1Said statute as presently codified is section 26001 Government Code of the

State of California, reading as follows: “The board may grant franchises

and over the public roads and highways for all lawful purposes, upon such terms,

conditions, and restrictions as in its judgment are necessary and proper, and in

sach manner as to present the least possible obstruction and inconvenience to

the traveling public.

“Any general law applicable to the granting of franchises by municipal cor.

porations and counties throughout the state shall be complied with in the granting

of any franchise by the board of supervisors.’

The predecessors of section 26001 Government Code are subdivision 35 of

section 25 of the County Government Act of 1897, Stats. of 1897, page 452, and

section 4041.9 of the Political Code of the State of California.

2The Franchise Sales Law of the State of California, Stats. 1905, 771,

as amended, (commonly known as the —y Act. Deering Act 2730 read-

ing in part as follows: “Section 1. Every franchise or privilege to erect or

telegraph or telephone wires, to construct or operate street or interurban . >

upon any public street or highway, to lay gas-pipes for the purpose of carrying

gas for light, heat or power, to erect poles or wires for transmitting electricity for

light, heat or power, along or upon any public street or highway, or to exercise

any other privilege whatever hereafter proposed to be granted by boards of

supervisors, boards of trustees or common councils, or other governing or legisle-

tive bodies of any county, city and county, city or town within this state, except

steam railroads and except telegraph or telephone lines doing an interstate busi-

ness and renewals of franchises for piers, chutes or wharves, shall be granted upon

the conditions in this act provided, and not otherwise. The grantor may, how-

ever, in such franchise im such other and additional terms and conditions not

in conflict herewith, whether governmental or contractual in character, as in the

judgment of the legislative body thereof are to the public interest.

“Section 2... .

“Section 3. . . . that the successful bidder and his assigns must, during

the life of said franchise, pay to the county or municipality two per cent (2%)

of the gross annual receipts of the person, partnership or corporation to whom

the franchise is awarded, arising from its use, operation or possession, “

3Section 536 of California Civil Code: “Telegraph or telephone corporations

may construct lines of telegraph, or telephone lines along and upon any public

road or highway, along or across any of the waters or lands within this state, and

may erect poles, posts, piers, or abutments for supporting the insulators, wires, and

other necessary fixtures of their lines, in such manner and at such points as not

to incommode the public use of the road or highway or interrupt the navigation

of the waters.”

POOR COPY

BLEED THROUGH

_

porations (and no other persons or corporations) are

offered a free franchise which when accepted by the

user constitutes a contract and a property right.

It should be noted that section 536 was no part of

County’s case and that it was invoked by a party in the

“favored’’ class.

The County objected to such defense on several

State grounds of constitutionality and statutory con-

struction and finally upon the ground that said section

536 Civil Code violated the first section of the 14th

Amendment of the Federal Constitution in denying

equal protection of the laws to all persons, associations

and corporations other than telephone or telegraph

corporations. Not only is the free franchise withheld

from natural persons engaging in the telephone busi-

ness but it is withheld from corporations engaging in

other public utility businesses such as electric light and

power companies, gas companies and water companies.

It boldly creates one rule for telephone and telegraph

corporations and a different and contrary rule for all

others. It is comparable to the situation described by

this Honorable Court in Frost v. Corporation Commis-

sion, 278 U. S. 515, at 524, 73 L. Ed. 483, as follows:

“Stripped of immaterial distinctions and re-

duced to its ultimate effect, the proviso, as here

construed and applied, boldly creates one rule for

a natural person and a different and contrary rule

for an artificial person, notwithstanding the fact

that both are doing the same business with the

general public and to the same end, namely, that of

reaping profits.’’

or a

The County relied upon the latter case and also upon

Quaker City Cab Co. v. Pennsylvania, 277 U. 8. 389,

72 L. Ed. 927.

We recognized that under many circumstances the

classification of corporations is proper but only where

there is some relationship between the corporation

form of doing business and the subject matter of the

legislation. Under the authority of the cases just cited

it was and is our position that it is unconstitutional to

give a business advantage to telephone and telegraph

corporations, and such corporations alone, merely be-

cause they are telephone and telegraph corporations

and where it is not an integral part of a general stat-

ute for the regulation of an industry for the public

good.

In the opening statement contained in ‘‘ Statement

Opposing Jurisdiction and Motion to Dismiss or Af.-

firm’’ appellee apparently suggests that this Federal

constitutional objection was raised too late. However,

it was raised before the case was first decided by the

State Supreme Court and the opinion of that Court

diseusses the question at length both in the majority

and dissenting opinion and decides such question

(See opinion in Appendix to this Brief.) Consequent-

ly under the decisions of this Honorable Court the

question was properly raised.

Mallinckrodt Chemical Works v. Missouri ez

rel. Jones, 238 U.S. 41, 59 L. Ed. 1192;

POOR COPY

BLEED THROUGH

witli

Chambers v. Baltimore & VU. R. Co., 207 U. S.

142, 52 L. Ed. 143;

Sully v. American Nat. Bank, 178 U. 8. 289,

44 L. Ed. 1072;

Meidreich v. Lauenstein, 232 U. 8. 236, 58

L. Ed. 584.

We are now confronted with a motion to dismiss

on the following grounds:

1. The County of Los Angeles being a political

subdivision of the State has no standing to challenge

the validity of section 536 of the Civil Code, which was

raised as a defense by the telephone corporation.

2. The County is not a member of the elass dis-

criminated against and thus cannot assail the validity

of the statute raised by the telephone corporation as a

defense.

3. The County has not proved an actual injury and

therefore the constitutionality of section 536 must be

presumed.

4. The Federal question raised by the County,

to wit, that Civil Code section 536 is a nullity, is unsub-

stantial.

5. The decision of the Supreme Court of the State

of California rests upon adeyuate non-federal grounds.

We shall consider these grounds in the same order.

gine

Point I.

It Is Not the Theory of Our Case That the County |,

Within the Protection of the 14th Amendment

We are seeking neither to have overruled nor to

have distinguished the decisions holding that a politica]

subdivision is not protected as against the State by the

provisions of the 14th Amendment. We are not con-

tending that there has been any discrimination against

the County of Los Angeles. We are contending that

section 536 of the Civil Code of California does dis-

criminate against all persons, partnerships and assgo-

ciations doing a telephone business other than telephone

and telegraph corporations and also that said section

discriminates against all corporations, which are re-

quired to obtain franchises, other than telephone and

telegraph corporations. Such persons, partnerships,

associations and corporations are protected by the

first section of the 14th Amendment and such discrim-

ination has rendered the section unconstitutional and a

nullity.

We fully recognize that our lawsuit must stand or

fall depending upon whether or not under the facts

of this case the County is in a position to assert the

invalidity of the statute because it violates the consti-

tutional rights of others. That, rather than appellee’s

first ground, is the crucial issue which we are prepared

to meet and will meet in our next point.

POOR COPY

BLEED THR OUGH

-

Point II.

Recognizing the General and Long Established Rule That

a Person in the Favored Class May Not Assert Dis-

crimination Against Others to Defeat a Statute, Our

Position Is That the County Is Not Within the Scope

of That Rule Under the Circumstances of This Case

and That in Any Event It Is Within a Recognized

Exception Thereto.

The general rule is usually phrased broadly as

stated by appellee, to wit, that

‘*No one can assail the validity of a statute on

the ground that it impairs the constitutional rights

of others.”’

However, it is significant that in the cases cited by

appellee and in most cases involving the general rule

it has been a person in the ‘‘favored’’ class who has

attempted to invoke the protection of the Constitution.

The typical situation is one in which a statute imposes

a burden upon many but an even greater burden upon

a few and hence one of the many, even though favored,

seeks to upset the statute to avoid such burden.

Many sound reasons suggest themselves why such

a favored person should not be heard to champion the

cause of the remaining few. For example, the many

may constitute by themselves a complete and valid class

and hence striking the portion of the statute relating

to the few still leaves a valid statute embracing a com-

plete class of persons properly subject to its burdens.

ates

For example also, if, as and when the discriminated

few appear before the Court to state their grievance

the Court may by judicial construction limit the burden

on the few to that placed upon the many.

However, the present situation is unusual in several

respects:

First. The favored group in the present instance

are truly favored through an outright gift of public

property, which gift our State Court has held is not

prohibited by our State Constitution, and it is not the

usual case where the favored group is favored merely

because a lesser burden is imposed thereon.

Second. In the usual case the favored group are

attempting to attack the statute despite the favoritism,

whereas, here it is the favored group who are attempt-

ing to assert the statute as an affirmative defense to a

lawsuit. If the rule applies here it applies not as a

limitation on the favored group (the usual situation)

but results in giving such favored group the affirma-

tive right to obtain benefits from an unconstitutional

law.

Third. The favored group do not constitute a com-

plete and valid classification (see our Point IV) and

hence it is impossible to segregate the favored group

from the discriminated group and hold that the statute

is valid as to the former whatever may be the ultimate

decision with respect to the latter.

Fourth. As previously indicated, one of the justi-

fications for the general rule is that if the discriminated

POOR COPY

BLEED THROUGH

ws

elass were actually before the Court the Court might

by judicial construction so limit the statute that there

would be no excess burden. Because of the peculiar

nature of the present statute that is not possible here.

The statute does not affirmatively place a burden upon

the discriminated class but simply refrains from men-

tioning any persons other than telephone and telegraph

corporations in giving the benefit of a free franchise.

Since it is impossible by judicial construction to add

something to a statute (as distinguished from striking

out or limiting an invalid portion of a statute) it is

impossible in this situation to equalize the rights of all

parties by judicial construction even if the diserim-

inated class could state a cause of action and get before

a court.

Fifth. The discriminated group in the present in-

stance would not obtain the benefits of the favored

class even if the statute were struck down. Whether

the statute be valid or invalid such group obtains no

vift of a free franchise and consequently there is no

way that the discriminated group may state a cause of

action, obtain a judicial decision and correct the evil.

Sizth. Because the discriminated group are not in

a position to state a cause of action against the statute

it follows that unless other parties affected by the

legislation (as distinguished from those affected by the

discrimination) are permitted to raise the Federal

question no one can raise the point and the favored

vroup not only may enjoy the fruits of an unconstitu-

tional statute but may affirmatively assert the uncon-

Ss

stitutional statute and may use the courts (as they have

in this case) to protect them in such unconstitutional

privileges. Such an application of the rule under the

situation of this case is to place the favored group not

only above the Constitution but also above the courts,

the courts being powerless to prevent even an affirma-

tive reliance upon the unconstitutional law.

Seventh. The County is not in the favored class

(the usual situation where the rule is involved) but js_.

in a class vitally affected by the legislation to its finan-

cial detriment, it not being able to receive substantial

franchise payments from this favored group.

All of the foregoing suggests that, since the rule is

obviously not intended to absolutely prevent judicial

review of a constitutional question but merely to as-

sure that it be presented in a proper manner by proper

parties, the rule itself should cease when the reason

for the rule ceases. We believe that our more limited

statement of the rule, to wit, that those in the favored

class may not assert the rights of the discriminated

class, more nearly conforms to its true intent. The

County, not being in the favored class but being in a

class adversely affected by the legislation, should there-

fore not be barred from raising the constitutional ques-

tion.

Whether we say that the rule itself is limited or

whether we accept the broad statement of the rule and

recognize necessary exceptions thereto, the result is the

same. ‘he California courts in approaching the prob-

POOR COPY

ELEED THR OLIGH

ao we

lem have stated the rule broadly but have recognized

an exception which covers the present case. The United

States Supreme Court has held that under certain cir-

cumstances the rule itself does not bar a person who is

adversely affected by the legislation although not in

the discriminated class. We shall now consider such

rules and decisions.

Under the decisions of the State of California the

County was a proper party to present this issue in the

State Court. California recognizes an exception to the

yeneral rule and permits one adversely affected by the

legislation to raise the point when it is impossible for

one in the discriminated class to raise it.

Quong Ham Wah Co. v. Industrial Acc. Com.,

184 Cal. 26;

Pac. Indemnity Co. v. Myers, 211 Cal. 635;

Van Camp Seafood Co., Inc., v. Newbert, 76

Cal. App. 445.

This exception is described in 17 Am. Jur., page 760,

under the subject of Constitutional Law, section 114,

as follows:

‘The general rule that a statute purporting to

make unconstitutional discrimination between per-

sons or classes of persons cannot be assailed on

the ground of unconstitutionality by a person not

belonging to the class discriminated against, is sub-

ject to well-defined exceptions where contingencies

culminate in a grievance against persons not orig-

inally within the contemplation of the statute. Un-

_—

der this view it has been held in one jurisdiction

that where no member of a class alleged to be un-

lawfully discriminated against by a statute is in a

position to raise a constitutional question, then any

person affected by the application of the statute

can urge its unconstitutionality, for the right to

attack a statute void for discrimination is not con-

sidered to be confined to persons injured by the

discrimination, but under some circumstances may

be available to those injured by the legislation, even

though they are not members of the unfavored

class under the statute.’’

This Honorable Court has likewise permitted a per-

son not in the discriminated class to raise the point

where circumstances made it necessary for him to do

so to protect his property rights.

Buchanan v. Warley, 245 U.S. 60, 62 L. Ed. 149,

In that case it was stated at page 72 as follows:

‘The property here involved was sold by the

plaintiff in error, a white man, on the terms stated,

to a colored man; the action for specific perform-

ance was entertained in the court below, and in

both courts the plaintiff’s right to have the con-

tract enforced was denied solely because of the

effect of the ordinance making it illegal for a

colored person to occupy the lot sold. But for the

ordinance the state courts would have enforced the

contract, and the defendant would have been com-

pelled to pay the purchase price and take a convey-

ance of the premises. The right of the plaintiff

in error to sell his property was directly involved

POOR COPY

CIieen THR OLIGH

— =

and necessarily impaired because it was held in

effect that he could not sell the lot to a person of

color who was willing and ready to acquire the

property, and had obligated himself to take it.

This case does not come within the class wherein

this court has held that where one seeks to avoid

the enforcement of the law or ordinance, he must

present a grievance of his own, and not rest the

attack upon the alleged violation of another’s

rights. In this case the property rights of the

plaintiff in error are directly and necessarily in-

volved.”’

We submit that the unusual facts presented by the

case at bar likewise justify either invoking such an ex-

ception or justify limiting the general rule itself so

that it does not embrace those situations where the

reason for the rule has ceased. Otherwise we submit

that the rule as sought to be applied by appellee would

forever prevent any decision upon this constitutional

question (since the persons in the discriminated class

can state no cause of action) and would forever result

in the courts’ protecting them in the enjoyment of an

unconstitutional privilege.

stipe

Point Ill.

The Discrimination Is Not Conjectural and Hypothetical

and the Injury Is Substantial

The appellee telephone corporation asserts that

there is nothing in the record to show any injury what-

soever and hence that any injury upon which we might

seek to rely is conjectural and hypothetical.

That there is injury to appellant is evident from

the fact that appellee is using all of the roads of the

County without charge, whereas but for section 536

Civil Code of California the appellant County would

collect 2% of the gross receipts under the Franchise

Sales Law (Stats. 1905, page 777, as amended, com-

monly known as the Broughton Act.) Because of see-

tion 536 Civil Code of the State of California telephone

and telegraph corporations are permitted to use with-

out charge not only the highways of this County but

the highways in every county in the State of California.

Such highways although provided at the expense of the

taxpayers are being diverted to the use of telephone

corporations, their stockholders and subscribers. But

for this statute the taxpayers of the various counties

would be enabled to obtain a substantial reimburse-

ment of their investment. Because of this statute and

because of this lost franchise revenue the taxpayers

must be subjected to a correspondingly increased tax

burden. The damage, therefore, is substantial and con-

tinuing and, unless the statute is declared a nullity, is

perpetual.

DHOMYP CHoOov

=— =

That there is injury to the discriminated class is

shown by the fact that they must pay such 2% of the

gross receipts (an obviously substantial amount),

whereas telephone and telegraph corporations do not.

What appellee apparently has reference to is that

the record does not show how many persons there are

so discriminated against. Appellee therefore assumes

that for the purpose of this case there are no persons

in the discriminated class.

However, it is well established that in passing upon

problems of discrimination the Court may consider

those things which may be judicially noticed. In

Weaver v. Palmer Bros., 270 U. 8. 402, 70 L. Ed. 654,

this Court said, at page 410:

** Invalidity may be shown by things which will

be judicially noticed (Quong Wing v. Kirkendall,

223 U. S. 59, 65; 56 L. Ed. 350, 352; 32 Supreme

Court Rep. 192), or by facts established by evi-

dence.”’

In the case of Home Bidy. & Loan Assn. v. Blais-

dell, 290 U. S. 398, 78 L. Ed. 413, (involving the emer-

gency Mortgage Moratorium Law of 1933) the Court

took judicial notice of the general facts concerning the

economic status of the nation in answer to an attack

under the due process and equal protection clauses.

in applying these principles to the case at bar it is

matter of common knowledge and hence may be ju-

dicially noticed that public utility corporations such as

electric lighting and power companies, water compa-

oe

nies, gas companies and other companies rendering

service to the public all use the public streets for the

purpose of laying and maintaining their lines and dis-

tributing their products and services. Such public

utilities whether incorporated or not are required to

pay 2% of the gross annual receipts arising from the

use, occupation or possession of such franchises pur-

suant to the Franchise Sales Law (Stats. 1905, page

777, as amended, commonly known as the Broughton

Act). Likewise, all natural persons and partnerships

who are operating telephone and telegraph lines (such

as unincorporated mutual telephone companies and

business concerns running telegraph and telephone

lines between their inain offices and branch offices)

must obtain franchises and pay for such privilege.

There is therefore a substantial injury to a substantial

class.

Appellee under this point asserts not only that we

must prove actual and not hypothetical injury but also

asserts that we must negative every conceivable basis

which might support the legislative classification.

Whether or not the classification is proper is the sub-

ject matter of our next point and will be discussed

there. For the present we merely wish to point out

that the rule is not as harsh as stated by appellee and

it is not always assumed in the absence of proof that

reasons exist for a classification made by the legisla-

ture. As was stated by this Court in Colgate v. Harvey,

296 U. S. 404, at 425, 80 L. Ed. 299:

POOR COPY

eELEED THR OLIGH

—]7—

‘**To assume that some winamed public interest

exists, which will sustain the discrimination, does

not help the matter here; because the assumption

can rest only on surmise, with nothing concrete or

explicit appearing to support it or to indicate a leg-

islative intent to relate the exemption to any pub-

lie purpose, ”’

In our next point we shall consider the problem

whether or not the classification contained in section

536 of the Civil Code of the State of California is re-

lated to the purpose or object of the legislation or

whether it is simply an arbitrary selection of a particu-

lar type of corporation for the sole purpose of grant-

ing such favored corporation a special benefit.

Point IV.

The Federal Question Is Substantial. Appellant County’s

Position Is in Accord With the Decisions of This

Court Whereas the Appellee’s Position and the Hold-

ing of the State Court Is in Accord Only With the

Dissenting Opinion in Frost v. Corporation Commis-

sion, 278 U. S. 515, 73 L. Ed. 483. The Judgment

Appealed From Fails to Give Due Consideration to

the Requirement That There Be a Relationship Be-

tween the Classification and the Subject Matter of

the Legislation.

At no time in this lawsuit have we ever questioned

the basic premise of appellee that it is entirely proper

to classify corporations for many purposes and in

many types of statutes.

= =

What we have asserted is that such classification

like any classification ‘‘must rest upon some ground

of difference having a fair and substantial relation

to the object of the legislation.”’ Frost v. Corporation

Commission, 278 U. S. 515, at 524, 73 L. Ed. 483.

That essential ‘‘relation to the object of the legis-

lation’ has been substantially ignored by appellee, by

the majority opinion of our State Court in the present

case, and in the dissenting opinion in Frost v. Corpora-

tion Commission, 278 U. S. 515, 73 L. Ed. 483. And

now appellee (although stating that the State Court

distinguished the Frost case) boldly asserts on page 10

of its present motion:

“The dissenting opinion of Justice Brandeis

in that case, concurred in by Justice Holmes and

Stone, is undoubtedly, as the cases above show, the

established rule of this Court.’’

By that statement appellee has now very frankly

defined the issue presently before this Court both with

respect to this motion to dismiss and with respect to

the merits. Appellee concedes and indeed asserts that

it stands on the dissenting opinion in the Frost case

and that such dissenting opinion is the established

rule. We assert that the majority opinion in that case

is the law.

With respect to the motion to dismiss, the mere fact

that appellee finds it necessary to rely upon a dissent-

ing opinion of this Court and in effect to ask this Court

tu overrule the case demonstrates that the Federal

POOR COPY

BLEED THROUGH

~~

question is substantial, and that is true whether the

decision sought to be overruled be right or wrong.

With respect to the merits, the fact that the major-

ity opinion in the Frost case does give effect to the

esselitial requirement that the classification must bear

a‘relation to the object of the legislation’’ whereas the

dissenting opinion does not give proper consideration

to that factor we believe supports our position com-

pletely.

‘The other cases cited by appellee are not inconsist-

cnt with the majority decision in the Frost case and

are not in accord with the dissent. They upheld the

classification of corporations and the Frost case did

not but the essential difference between the two lines

of cases is that in the cases upholding the classifica-

tion there was the necessary relationship between clas-

sification and subject matter of the legislation whereas

in cases like the Frost case there was not. Only two

of the cases cited by appellee are subsequent to the

decision in the Frost case. The other prior cases obvi-

ously did not overrule or modify the established rule of

that case. Neither of the two subsequent cases (Law-

rence v. State Tax Commission, 286 U. 8. 276, 76 L. Ed.

1102; Phillips Petroleum Co. v. Jenkins, 297 U. S. 629,

80 L. Ed. 943) purport to modify or overrule the Frost

case. In fact, the first of those cases, Lawrence v. State

Tac Commission, 286 U. S. 276, at pages 283 to 284,

spent considerable time recognizing the rule and demon-

strating that a relationship did exist in that case be-

tween the classification and the subject matter of the

— |=

legislation. It is an income tax case. The supposed

discrimination was in failing to tax corporate income

on out of State business but the Court pointed out the

State policy embodied in the general statute to avoid

duplication of tax on corporate income and stock.

holders’ dividends, and since the latter was taxed it

was logical and consistent and produced substantial

equality to exempt the former. There was a relation-

ship between the corporate form of doing business and

the object of the legislation which not only substantially

eliminated discrimination but which made necessary

and hence justified the classification. Because of this

relationship this Honorable Court expressly distin.

guished (and did not overrule) Quaker City Cab Co. v,

Pennsylvania, 277 U. 8. 389, 72 L. Ed. 927, the other

case upon which we rely, and which arrived at the same

conclusion as the Frost case. We thus see no justifi-

cation in the suggestion made by appellee that the cases

upon which it relies show that the dissenting opinion

in the Frost case ‘‘is undoubtedly, as the cases above

cited show, the established rule of this Court.’’

We submit that the holdings of this Honorable

Court are consistent. None of them holds that classi-

fication is always proper. ‘They require the establish-

ment of relationship between class and subject matter.

The end results differ depending upon whether that

relationship exists. Where such a relationship exists

the classification is upheld. In Frost v. Corporation

Commission, 278 U. S. 515, 73 L. Ed. 483, it did not

exist and the statute was struck down. Likewise, in

Quaker City Cab Co. v. Pennsylvania, 277 U. 8. 389,

POOR COPY

ELEED THR OUGH

72 L. Ed. 927, the relationship did not exist and the

statute was struck down.

An examination of the reasons given by this Honor-

able Court for its conclusions in the latter two cases will

demonstrate that it was not applying different rules

but the same rules to different facts. In Frost v. Cor-

poration Commission, 278 U. 8. 515, 73 L. Ed. 483, the

Court said, at page 524:

“The converse, of course, is equally true. A

classification which is bad because it arbitrarily

favors the individual as against the corporation

certainly cannot be good when it favors the cor-

poration as against the individual. In either case,

the classification, in order to be valid, ‘must rest

upon some ground of difference having a fair and

substantial relation to the object of the legislation,

so that all persons similarly circumstanced shall

be treated alike. F. 8S. Royster Guano Co. v. Vir-

ginia, 253 U. S. 412, 415, 64 L. Ed. 989, 990, 40

Sup. Ct. Rep. 560; Air-way Electrie Appliance

Corp. v. Day, 266 U. 8. 71, 85, 69 L. Ed. 169, 177,

45 Sup. Ct. Rep. 12; Schlesinger v. Wisconsin, 270

U.S. 230, 240, 70 L. Ed. 557, 564, 43 A. L. R. 1224,

46 Sup. Ct. Rep. 260. That is to say, mere differ-

ence is not enough; the attempted classification

‘must always rest upon some difference which

bears a reasonable and just relation to the act in

respect to which the classification is proposed, and

can never be made arbitrarily and without any

such basis.

“Stripped of unmaterial distinctions and re-

duced to its ultimate effect, the proviso, as here

—22—

construed and applied, boldly creates one rule for

a natural person and a different and contrary rule

for an artificial person, notwithstanding the fact

that both are doing the same business with the gen-

eral public and to the same end, namely, that of

reaping profits. That is to say, it produces a

classification which subjects one to the burden of

showing a public necessity for his business, from

which it relieves the other, and is essentially arbi-

trary, because based upon no real or substantial

differences having reasonable relation to the sub-

ject dealt with by the legislation.”

In Quaker City Cab Co. v. Pennsylvania, 277 U. S. 389,

72 L. Ed. 927, this Court said, at page 402:

“. . . The character of the owner is the sole

fact on which the distinction and discrimination

are made to depend. The tax is imposed merely

because the owner is a corporation. The discrim-

ination is not justified by any difference in the

source of the receipts or in the situation or char-

acter of the property employed. It follows that the

section fails to meet the requirement that a classi-

fication to be consistent with the equal protection

clause must be based on a real and substantial dif-

ference having reasonable relation te the subject

of the legislation. Power Mfg. Co. v. Saunders,

supra. No decision of this court gives support to

such a classification. In no view can it be held

to have more than an arbitrary basis. As con-

strued and applied by the state court in this case,

the section violates the equal protection clause of

the 14th Amendment.”’

POOR COPY

eri ecrcn THR C1IiIGaW

=~ Ss

In one case the statute attempted to give a business

advantage and in the other case to impose a burden

upon certain types of corporations merely because they

were such corporations. ‘They were not statutes which

required different treatment of corporations because

of inherent differences in that form of doing business

or which were enacted to promote some public purpose

related to the police power wherein and as an incident

thereto it beeame desirable to limit the conduct of cer-

tain functions to certain State-regulated corporations.

Precisely the same thing is true here. Section 536

Code of Civil Procedure of the State of California does

not purport to regulate the telephone business by limit-

ing the engagement therein to corporations. All per-

sons are permitted to engage in the telephone business

and all are subject to precisely the same regulations.

So far as section 536 Civil Code is concerned there is

no regulation of the telephone industry whatsoever.

All that the section does is to grant a subsidy to all

those who happen to be telephone or telegraph corpora-

tions. Other persons engaged in the telephone or tele-

graph business must obtain the usual franchise and

pay the usual substantial fees. Other corporations

engaged in other utility businesses must obtain the

usual franchises and pay the usual fees. There is no

rational relationship between the privilege granted to

telephone and telegraph corporations and the subject

matter of the legislation. It is the situation which was

hefore this Honorable Court in the Frost case. In the

Frost case the discriminated class had to obtain a cer-

tificate of public convenience and necessity. Here

nln

the discriminated class must obtain franchises under

competitive bidding and in addition must pay 2% of

their gross receipts.

We rely upon the Frost case.

Appellee relies upon the dissenting opinion in the

Frost case and says that it is the established rule of

this Court.

We submit that that presents a substantial Federal

question sufficient at least to withstand the motion to

dismiss and in our opinion sufficient to require the

reversal of this case when it is considered on the merits,

Point V.

The Decision May Not Be Rested on Non-Federal

Grounds

It is quite true that the State Court considered sev-

eral State grounds of constitutionality and statutory

construction and decided them against the appellant.

However, it is the adverse decision upon such grounds

which makes the Federal ground material. That is to

say, if the State Court had decided that section 536

Civil Code of the State of California violated the

State Constitution or had been repealed or had not

granted a franchise to telephone corporations it would

have been unnecessary to pass upon the Federal ques-

tion. Having decided that the section was otherwise

valid it was necessary to and the State Supreme Court

did pass upon whether the section violated the Ith

Amendment.

POOR COPY

Picrn ase ew ie

a.

There was no independent State ground of decision

passed upon by the State Supreme Court which made

the decision on the Federal ground unnecessary. Ap-

pellee asserts that there were two, (1) rule of property,

and (2) estoppel.

With respect to the rule of property there is a two-

fold answer:

First, the State Supreme Court did not rule that

appellant was barred by a rule of property, but re-

ferred to one of the arguments ‘‘as something akin to a

rule of property.”

Second, such argument had reference to unconstitu-

tionality under the State Constitution. It is now imma-

terial whether the statute does not violate our State

Constitution because of prior decisions (‘‘something

akin to a rule of property’’) or because of the present

decision of the State Supreme Court. It is because the

section does not violate the State Constitution (either

because of prior decisions or otherwise) that it becomes

necessary to consider the l’ederal constitutional ques-

tion. ‘The State Court decision cannot be construed as

holding that appellee was protected by a prior inter-

pretation of the Federal Constitution, which prior

interpretation constituted a rule of property. Section

536 Civil Code of the State of California had never

before been challenged under the 14th Amendment in

the Supreme Court of the United States or in the Su-

preme Court of the State of California,

ia...

With respect to estoppel appellee does not even

contend in its motion to dismiss or affirm that the

State Supreme Court rested its decision upon any such

ground but merely asserts that the State Supreme

Court in its opinion “‘recited the facts’’ considered by

the trial court with reference to this defense.

It is well established that this Honorable Court will

not ‘‘refuse jurisdiction because the State Court might

have based its decision, consistently with the record

upon the independent and adequate non-federal

ground.’’ Indiana ex rel. Anderson v. Brand, 303 U. 8.

95, at 98, 82 L. Ed. 685.

With reference to both asserted independent State

grounds of decision not only did the State Supreme

Court not rest its decision upon any such grounds in

the body of its opinion but we have that Court's own

statement of what was before it and what it decided.

The third paragraph of the Court’s opinion reads as

follows:

‘The questions to be decided are: First, what

is the effect of section 536% Second, was section

536 repealed by the Broughton Act? Third, if

section 536 is construed as granting a franchise

to defendant, it is unconstitutional (a) as being a

gift in violation of sections 22 and 31 of article IV

of the California Constitution or (b) as denying

equal protection of the laws and constituting an

invalid grant of special privileges in violation of

the 14th Amendment to the Federal Constitution

and sections 11 and 21 of article | and section 25 of

article LV of the California Constitution.”

—

We submit that the State grounds actually passed

upon are not indeperdent grounds of decision making

it unnecessary to pass upon the Federal question, but

upon the contrary, it is because those grounds were

decided adversely to appellant and the statute was thus

subsisting and valid under our State Constitution that

it became necessary to decide whether or not the stat-

ute was nevertheless invalid because it violated the 14th

Amendment of the Federal Constitution.

Conclusion

We respectfully submit that the motion to dismiss

or affirm should be denied. If this case is not deter-

mined on the merits, a statute which gives telephone

and telegraph corporations a special privelege will be

perpetuated at the taxpayers’ expense. It is a most

important public question affecting the revenue of all

the counties of this State.

Respectfully submitted,

HAROLD W, KENNEDY,

County Counsel,

and

A. CURTIS SMITH,

Assistant County Counsel,

and

GERALD G. KELLY,

Deputy County Counsel,

Attorneys for Appellant.

APPENDIX

FINAL OPINION, AS MODIFIED ON REHEAR-

ING, IN THE SUPREME COURT OF

THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

EN BANC

THE COUNTY OF LOS AN-) FILED:

GELES, a body politic and cor- )

porate, )

Appellant, )

vs. ) L. A. No. 19311

SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA TEL- )

EPHONE COMPANY, a corpora- )

tion, )

Respondent. )

GIBSON, C. J.—By this action for an injunction,

plaintiff county is seeking to compel defendant tele-

phone company to obtain a county franchise and to pay

for the privilege of maintaining its lines and poles

on streets and highways outside of incorporated areas.

Defendant claims it was granted this privilege by

section 536 of the Civil Code as amended in 1905, and

that it is not required to obtain a franchise from the

county. The trial court determined that defendant had

a valid franchise, from the state, and denied the

injunction. The county has appealed from the

judgment.

In the years 1903-1905, the county issued five

franchises for telephone lines, and these were there-

a we

after conveyed to the defendant telephone company,

Three of the franchises terminated before this action

was commenced, and a fourth expired before the trial,

The fifth franchise by its terms is still in effect, but

the area which it covers was expressly excluded from

this controversy by the complaint. Only one of the

franchises required the payment of a percentage of the

gross receipts derived from the use of the privilege,

and the company made the payments, as provided,

until expiration of the period specified therein. The

company and its predecessors, at least since 1909, have

specifically relied on section 536 for their authority

when applying for permits to locate or change poles or

lines on the highway. Further, from 1905 until about

the time of the filing of the complaint, except for six

years, the county assessed and levied property taxes

on the franchise claimed by defendant and its pre-

decessors under the section.

The questions to be decided are: First, what is the

effect of section 536? Second, was section 536 re-

pealed by the Broughton Act? Third, if section 536

is construed as granting a franchise to defendant, it

is unconstitutional (a) as being a gift in violation of

sections 22 and 31 of article IV of the California

Constitution or (b) as denying equal protection of the

laws and constituting an invalid grant of special priv-

ileges in violation of the 14th Amendment to the

federal Constitution and sections 11 and 21 of article

I and section 25 of article IV of the California

(‘onstitution.

POOR COPY

BLEED THROUGH

vilien

(1) Section 536 was originally enacted at the time

of the adoption of the codes in 1872, but similar pro-

visions had existed for many years prior thereto. (See

Stats. 1850, p. 369; Stats. 1857, p. 171). When first

enacted the section applied only to telegraph corpora-

tions. It made no mention of telephone companies, and

it did not grant any rights to such companies

prior to 1905, when the section was repealed and

reenacted to apply to both telegraph and telephone

corporations. (See Sunset Tel. & Tel. Co. v. Pasadena,

161 Cal. 265, 118 P. 796.) As applied to telegraph

companies, it has been held that section 536, as it

existed prior to 1905, was effectual to grant a state

franchise, and that the use of the highways, and the

maintenance and operation of the telegraph system,

constituted an acceptance of the provisions of the

statute and resulted in a contract between the company

and the state which was secured by the federal Con-

stitution against impairment by subsequent state legis-

lation. (See Western Union Tel. Co. v. Hopkins, 160

Cal. 744, 87 P. 1023; Postal Tel. Cable Co. v. Los

Angeles, 160 Cal. 129, 116 P. 566; Sunset Tel. & Tel.

Co. v. Pomona, 172 F. 829, 837; Postal Tel. Cable Co.

v. Railroad Com., 200 Cal. 463, 254 P. 258).

The purpose of the change in 1905 was to add

telephone corporations to the section, and, except for

this extension, there is nothing in the amendment to

indicate any intention to alter the effect and opera-

tion of the statute. (See City of Salinas v. Pacific Tel,

& Tel. Co., 72 Cal. App. 2d 494, 497, 164 P. 2d 905).

— we

In view of the construction given to this section as it

existed prior to 1905, and the absence of other changes,

it must be held that the intention was to offer the

grant of a franchise to telephone as well as telegraph

companies upon acceptance by the construction and op-

eration of communication facilities.

(2) A question has arisen, however, as to whether

section 536 was repealed by the Broughton Act, which

was adopted at the same session at which section 536

was amended. The act does not contain any provision

expressly repealing that section, and it was not re-

pealed by implication unless the statutes are so repug-

nant they cannot stand together. The Legislature was

considering the statutes at the same time and must

have invended to give effect to both. In County of

Inyo v. Hess, 53 Cal. App. 415, 200 P. 373, it was held

that section 536 was not repealed by the Broughton

Act but that the statutes could operate in separate

fields. The court said at page 425 ‘“‘that under and

by virtue of the provisions of section 536 of the Civil

Code, telephone corporations are granted the right and

privilege to use the public highways over which to

construct and operate lines of telephone wires, free

from any grant made by subordinate legislative bodies,

and unrestricted by the provisions of the Broughton

Act ...’’ The court also declared that section 536 was

intended as a legislative grant limited in operation to

telegraph and telephone corporations, as distinguished

from individuals. This construction is supported by

the specific terms of the section which refers only to

‘telegraph or telephone corporations.”’

POOR COPY

BLEED THROUGH

cailiibsan

The Broughton Act, unlike section 536, does not

grant any right or privilege, nor does it purport to

empower or authorize boards of supervisors to grant

franchises or other privileges, but instead indicates

an intent to limit and restrict the powers which may

have been granted under other laws by specifying the

procedure which must be followed and the conditions

which must be imposed in the granting of any fran-

chise by subordinate legislative bodies. The court

stated in Oro Electric Corp. v. Railroad Com., 169 Cal.

466, at pages 482-483, (147 P. 118), that “‘this act

merely places restrictions upon the granting of fran-

chises, where the power to grant such franchises exists

otherwise. As was said in Sunset Tel. & Tel. Co. v.

Pasadena, 161 Cal, 265, 272, (116 P. 796), the ‘whole

purpose’ of the act ‘was to prescribe the method and

conditions upon which the franchises included within

its terms might be granted by the legislative body

authorized by law to make the grant.’ The act does

not authorize any board or council to grant a fran-

chise.”’” (See also McGinnis v. Mayor and Common

Council, 153 Cal. 711, 713-714, 96 P. 367; City of San

Diego v. Kerckhoff, 49 Cal. App. 473, 482 (193 P.

801). Since the Broughton Act is thus limited in op-

eration to those franchises which subordinate legis-

lative bodies are authorized to grant under other laws,

it cannot be construed as applicable to statutory fran-

chises which are not granted by such bodies but which,

as in the case of the franchise involved here, are

granted directly by the legislature. The two statutes

antiie

were enacted for separate purposes and occupy sep-

arate fields, and both can be given effect. There is,

therefore, no such repugnance between the acts as

would require a determination that there was any

implied repeal. Accordingly, defendant is entitled to

use the streets and highways in unincorporated areas

of the county, by reason of its franchise under section

536, unless that section, as claimed, is unconstitutional.

The county contends that the Legislature is pro-

hibited by sections 22 and 31 of article IV of the

California Constitution from granting a free franchise

and that since no compensation is required to be paid

for the rights acquired under section 536, the statute

is unconstitutional. It does not follow, however, that_-

because telephone and telegraph companies are per-

mitted without charge to construct lines along the

highways the privilege granted is a gift. The fran-

chise is conditioned not only on the establishment of

lines by a telegraph or telephone corporation, but also,

by necessary implication, on the continued operation

of the system. (4) The grant under section 536 must

be construed in favor of the state. (Civ. Code, See.

1069). As so construed it must be held to be a grant

to use public roads and highways so long as telegraph

or telephone communication service is continued and

that the acceptance of the franchise involves an as-

sumption of the duty to furnish proper and adequate

communication service to the public. Obviously, the

state receives a substantial benefit from the continued

eperation of such a system, and the question is whether,

POOR COPY

, a ak ala Bite a @l« ia ote lt ©)

ailien

notwithstanding that benefit, the grant comes within

the constitutional prohibition.

(5) Section 536 has been judicially construed by

many decisions of this court, and it has been uniformly

held that the statute is a continuing offer extended to

telephone and telegraph companies to use the high-

ways, Which offer when accepted by the construction

and maintenance of lines constitutes a binding contract

based on adequate consideration, and that the vested

right established thereby cannot be impaired by sub-

sequent acts of the Legislature. (Western Union Tel.

Co. v. City of Visalia, 149 Cal. 744 (87 P. 1023);

Western Union Tel. Co. v. Hopkins, 160 Cal. 106 (116

P. 557); Western Union Tel. Co. v. County of Los

Angeles, 160 Cal. 124 (116 P. 564); Postal-Telegraph

Cable Co. v. County of Los Angeles, 160 Cal. 129 (166

P. 566); Postal Telegraph Cable Co. v. Los Angeles,

164 Cal. 156 (128 P. 19) ; Sunset Tel. & Tel. Co. v. Pasa-

dena, 161 Cal. 265 (118 P. 796); Postal-T elegraph

Cable Co. v. Railroad Com., 200 Cal. 463 (254 P. 258) ;

see People v. Turlock Home Tel. & Tel. Co., 200 Cal.

546 (253 P. 1108) ; County of Inyo v. Hess, 53 Cal. App.

415 (200 P. 373); State of California v. Marin Mun.

W. Dist., 17 Cal. 2d 699 (111 P. 2d 651).

The nature of the rights and privileges arising from

section 536, as interpreted by the cases just cited, is

stated in Postal-Telegraph Cable Co. v. Railroad ( ‘om.,

200 Cal. 463, at pages 472-473 (254 P. 258) as follows:

“This section (536) constitutes a grant of a franchise

~

which the state offered, and petitioner accepted by the

construction of its lines. The rights acquired by the

Telegraph Company, by accepting and availing itself of

the provisions of the section, are vested rights which

the constitutions, both state and federal, protect. They

cannot be taken away by the state, even though the

legislature should repeal the section, or by the people

through a constitutional provision. ... The finding of

the respondent Commission of the physical fact that

petitioner was maintaining and operating its lines of

telegraph over the roads and highways of the state

establishes, as a matter of law and fact, the propo-

sition that it has accepted and owns a state franchise

for that purpose, which was offered to it by section

536, supra. . .. The grant, resulting from the ac-

ceptance of the state offer, constituted a contract be-

tween the Telegraph Company and the state, secured

by the constitution of the United States against im-

pairment by any state legislation.” (See also City of

Beverly Hills v. Los Angeles, 175 Cal. 311 (165 P. 924),

The prevalence of legislative grants to public utili-

ties of the privileges of using streets and highways is

shown by the following statement in State of California

v. Marin Mun. W. District, 17 Cal. 2d 699, 703 (111

P, 2d 651): ‘‘The right obtained by defendant from

these sources is a right conferred by the legislature

to construct and operate pipe lines along the public

highways of the state. Such a grant by the state to

a public utility . . . has always been considered a

franchise by the courts of this state. The right cranted

POOR COPY

=f

to municipal corporations by the statute of 1923 to use

the public highways was held a franchise in Los

Angeles v. South Gate, 108 Cal. App. 398 (291 P. 654).

The right granted to public utilities by article XI,

section 19 of the . . . Constitution . . . was held a

franchise in San Jose Gas Co. v. January, 57 Cal. 614.

... The right granted to telephone and telegraph com-

panies by .. . section 5386 (Civ. Code) .. . was held

a franchise in Western Union Tel. Co. v. Hopkins,

160 Cal. 106 (116 P. 557); Sunset Tel. & Tel Co. v.

Pasadena, 161 Cal. 265 (118 P. 796), and Postal-Tele-

graph Cable Co. v. Los Angeles, 164 Cal. 156 (128 P.

19). The right granted to irrigation districts by a 1923

statute . . . for power lines was held a franchise in

Winkie v. Turlock Irr. Dist., 24 Cal. App. 2d 1 (74

P. 2d 302).”’

The courts of other jurisdictions have held that the

statutory offer of a franchise when accepted by the

construction and operation of a public utility results in

a valid contract secured by the federal Constitution

against impairment. (New York Electric Lines Co. v.

Empire Subway Co., 235 U. 8. 179, 193 (35 S. Ct. 72,

59 L. Ed. 184); City Railway Co. v. Citizens’ Street

Railroad Co., 166 U. 8S. 557, 567 (17 S. Ct. 653, 41

L. Ed. 1114) ; Chicago Gen. Ry. Co. v. City of Chicago,

176 Ll. 253, 259 (52 N. E. 880, 68 Am. St. Rep. 188, 66

L. R. A. 959); see State v. Southwestern Bell Tele-

phone Co., 338 Mo. 617 (92 S. W. 2d 612); Arkansas

State H. Com’n, v. Southwestern Bell T. Co., 206 Ark.

1099 (178 S. W. 2d 1002).).

atti

The county seeks to avoid the effect of the long line

of cases holding that the acceptance of the offer con-

tained in section 536 and similar statutes resulted in

a valid contract by asserting that those cases did not

take into consideration the constitutional prohibition

against gifts of public property and its historical

background. It is argued that sections 22 and 31 of

article IV of the state Constitution were enacted to

prevent the waste of public funds and property by the

appropriation of subsidies to railroads and other cor-

porations, and that the privilege of using the highways

for telephone lines is, in effect, a subsidy to a cor-

poration operated for private profit. Although none of

the opinions of this court construing section 536 dis-

cussed the possible effect of sections 22 and 31 of

article IV, it would seem unlikely that the many judges

and counsel participating in those cases entirely over-

looked the legality of the consideration involved, since

that was an essential requisite in each case to the

holding that the acceptance of the offer of a franchise

resulted in a valid contract.

In support of its contention that a public benefit

cannot be a valid consideration for the grant of a lim-

ited privilege to use the highways for the construction

and maintenance of telephone lines, the ccunty relies

upon the case of Higgins v. San Diego Water Co., 118

Cal. 524 (45 P. 824, 50 P. 670), asserting that the

consideration involved there is identical with that

which must be urged to support the contract in the

present case. The City of San Diego subleased from

POOR COPY

afing

defendant water company its distributing system for

the term of 20 years at a fixed monthly rental, and the

company agreed as part of the consideration that it

would construct a railroad line. The agreement was

held to be invalid on the ground that the charter of

San Diego conferred no authority upon the council to

expend any portion of the municipal funds in aiding

the building of railroads. The court expressly declined

to determine whether the contract violated the con-

stitutional prohibition against gifts, and the decisions

therefore is not authority here. There is language in

the opinion, however, which intimates that some of

the evils which the constitutional restriction was de-

signed to prevent were present in the transaction in-

volved in that case.

Courts in other jurisdictions with similar consti-

tutional prohibitions have held in factual situations

comparable to that involved in the Higgins case that the

yeneral public benefit derived from the construction

of a public utility system is insufficient consideration

to support direct appropriations of public money, ex-

tensions of publie credit, or outright grants of prop-

erty. Lord v. Denver, 58 Colo. 1 (143 P. 284, Ann. Cas.

1916C 893, L. R. A. 1915B 306) ; Colorado Central R. R.

Vo v. Lea, 5 Colo. 192; Southern Railway Co. v. Hart-

shorne, 162 Ala. 491 (30 So. 139); Stone v. State, 223

Ala, 426 (136 So. 727).). On the ocher hand, the

only cases which have considered franchises of the

character involved here hold that the grants are valid

and do not contravene constitutional prohibitions

12

against gifts. (State v. Southwestern Bell Telephone

Co., 338 Mo. 617 (92 S. W. 2d 612); State v. Union

Electric Co. of Missouri (Mo. App.), 142 S. W. 2q

1099; Arkansas State H. Com’n. v. Southwestern Bell

T. Co., 206 Ark. 1099 (176 S. W. 2d 1002).).

There appears to be some basis for the distinction

although it has not been pointed out in the cases. (6)

A franchise such as is authorized by section 536 is

not an absolute grant in fee or an appropriation of

money, but is merely a limited right to use the highways

and only to the extent necessary for the furnishing of

services to the public. Also, the privilege must be

exercised ‘‘in such manner and at such points as not

to incommode the public use of the road or highway.”

(Civ. Code, Section 536). It is obvious that the right

acquired by the company is of less substance than the

transfers involved in the cited cases which condemn

appropriations of money and grants in fee.

Moreover, the state is assured of a continuing bene-

fit in return for the privileges granted under section

536, whereas this may not be true in transactions in-

volving an outright appropriation or transfer in fee.

The company must not only construct a telephone sys-

tem but it must render service, and if it fails to do

so the franchise terminates. Thus the state receives

benefits during the life of the franchise, since in order

to retain it the company must continue to serve the

public. If and when the public benefit ceases and the

franchise expires, the state is in as good a position

POOR COPY

BLEED THROUGH

= =

as it was before the limited privilege was granted.

The building of a public utility and the consequent

penefit to the people may not be a sufficient con-

sideration to support a grant in fee, but it does not

follow that the benefit received from the construction

and contiaued operation of a telephone system is not

an adequate return for the use of the highways so

long as the public service continues.

(7) Since the offer of a franchise in section 536,

when accepted, results in a binding agreement sup-

ported by a valid consideration, there is no gift within

the meaning of the constitutional prohibition.

(8) It is further urged that section 536, insofar as

it applies only to corporations and not to individuals,

improperly grants special privileges and invalidly dis-

criminates in favor of corporations. It is asserted that

the section violates the equal protection clause of the

14th Amendment to the federal Constitution, and also

that it is invalid under article I, sections 11 and 21,

and article LV, section 25, subdivisions 19 and 33 of the

state Constitution. as

These provisions of the state and federal Consti-

tutions do not prevent classification by the Legisla-

ture, nor do they require that statutes operate uni-

formly with respect to persons or things which are in

fact different. (People v. Western Fruit Growers, 22

Cal. 2d 494 (140 P. 2d 13); McCreery v. MeColgan,

17 Cal. 2d 555 (110 P. 2d 1051, 133 A. L. R. 800); Tn

re Fuller, 15 Cal. 2d 425 102 P. 2d 321); Bueneman

aifitue

v. City of Santa Barbara, 8 Cal. 2d 405 (65 P. 2d 894,

109 A. L. R. 895) ; Tigner v. Texas, 310 U. S. 141 (60

S. Ct. 879, 84 L. Ed. 1124) ; Puget Sound Co. v. Seattle,

291 U.S. 619 (54 S. Ct. 542, 78 L. Ed. 1025) ; Radice y,

New York, 264 U. S. 292 (44 S. Ct. 325, 68 L. Ed. 690);

Arkansas Nat. Gas Co. v. Railroad Com., 261 U. S. 379

(43 St. Ct. 387, 67 L. Ed. 705).).

The problem presented by the difference in treat-

ment accorded corporations and individuals under gee-

tion 536 was directly passed upon in Western Union

Tel. Co. v. Hopkins, 160 Cal. 106 (116 P. 557), and

Postal Tel. Cable Co. v. Los Angeles, 160 Cal. 129 (116

P. 566), where the claim was made that section 536 was

invalid because the offer of a franchise contained

therein was limited to corporations. In the Hopkins

case the court, in holding that there was no violation of

the constitutional provisions relating to special legis-

lation, said (p. 122): ‘‘We may reasonably assume that

good and sufficient reasons may be apparent to the

legislature why the right to exclusively occupy portions

of the public highways for the purposes specified

should be confined to corporations organized and exist-

ing for the purpose of doing a telegraph business,

and why such corporations constitute a class to which

such a grant may properly be restricted without vio-

lating our constitutional provisions against special

legislation. If it may reasonably be so assumed the

legislation must be upheld, for it is well settled that

to warrant a court in adjudging legislation void on this

ground it must clearly appear that there was no suf-

POOR COPY

BLEED THROUGH

hinn

ficient reason to warrant the legislative department in

finding a difference and making the discrimination.

Every presumption is in favor of the validity of an act

of the legislature, until its invalidity is made to

appear.’”’

Although the Hopkins case makes no specific ref-

erence to the equal protection clause of the 14th

Amendment, it is clear that the test for determining

the validity of a statute where a claim is made that it

wilawfully discriminates against any class is sub+

stantially the same under the state prohibitions against

special legislation and the equal protection clause of

the federal Constitution. (People v. Western Fruit

Growers, 22 Cal. 2d 494, 506 (140 P. 2d 13); see Mc-

Creery v. McColgan, 17 Cal. 2d 555 (110 P. 2d 1051,

133 A, L. R. 800); In re Fuller, 15 Cal. 2d 425 102 P.

2d. 321); Bueneman v. City of Santa Barbara, 8 Cal.

2d 405 (65 P. 2d 884, 109 A. L. R. 895).) In the

Western Fruit Growers case the court, after noting the

general rules on this subject, stated : ‘Problems of elas-

sification under the California Constitution are thus

similar to those presented by the federal equal pro-

tection of the laws clause of the 14th Amendment,

Under either provision, the mere production of in-

equality which necessarily results to some degree in

every selection of persons for regulation does not place

the classification within the constitutional prohibition.

The discrimination or inequality produced, in order

to conflict with the constitutional provisions, must be

‘actually and palpably unreasonable and arbitrary,’

inn

or the legislative determination as to what is a suf-

ficient distinction to warrant the classification will not

be overthrown. (Citations.) When a legislative clas-

sification is questioned, if any state of facts reasonably

can be conceived that would sustain it, there is a

presumption of existence of that state of facts, and

the burden of showing arbitrary action rests upon the

one who assails the classification.’’ (22 Cal. 2d 494

506).

It is argued, however, that the portion of the

opinion in the Hopkins case dealing with the asserted-

ly invalid distinction between individuals and cor-

porations was dictum for the reason that the tele-

graph company had commenced business and acquired

rights under the Constitution of 1849, which contained

no inhibition against special legislation. However, in

the companion case of Postal Tel. Cable Co. v. Los

Angeles, 160 Cal. 129 (116 P. 566), decided at the same

time and controlled by the Hopkins decision, the

plaintiff company did not commence business or ac-

quire any rights until after the adoption of the Con-

stitution of 1879, and therefore the issue was neces-

sarily before court.

The reasons which may have motivated the enact-

ment of section 536 were not discussed in the Hopkins

case, but it must be presumed that the Legislature

acted in response to a reasonable basis for classification

and that the differentiation was based on adequate

grounds if any such basis can reasonably be said to

POOR COPY

BLEED THROUGH

wiles

exist. There is ample justification for treating cor-

porations differently from individuals in granting

franchises for the operation of telephone and telegraph

systems, and there is a reasonable basis for the clas-

sification of corporations as the sole recipients of the

grant offered in section 536. Corporations are in a

better position than individuals to finance and carry

on statewide projects of this nature, they are more

easily regulated and supervised, and they have much

greater permanency of existence and can give better

assurance of uninterrupted service. It may be that

one of the purposes of section 536 was to promote the

establishment of statewide communication systems, and

the use of corporate ownership and management may

have been considered the best method of achieving that

purpose.

Statutes similar to section 536, and applying to tele-

phones and telegraphs or to railroads, exist in most of

the other states of the Union, but no case has been

found in which such a statute was held unconstitutional

on the ground of improper discrimination. On the

contrary, where the objection has been raised, the power

to limit the granting of franchises has been upheld.

In Goddard v. Chicago & N. W. Ry. Co., 202 Tl. 362

(66 N. E. 1066), an act provided that a street railroad

corporation might use the streets and highways out-

side of cities and towns with the consent of the county

board, but did not authorize such use by individuals.

It was held that the Legislature by limiting grants to

incorporated companies did not violate the state or

. —1& -

Federal Constitutions. Other courts have held that

banking, insurance and similar businesses may be re-

stricted to corporations. (See Noble State Bank v. Has-

kell, 219 U. S. 104 (31 S. Ct. 186, 55 L. Ed. 112; Shal-

lenberger v. First State Bank, 219 U. S 114 (31 8. Ot.

189, 55 L. Ed. 117); Engel v. O’Malley, 219 U. S. 128

(31 S. Ct. 190, 55 L. Ed. 128) ; Dillingham v. McLaugh-

lin, 264 U. S. 370, 373 (44 8. Ct. 362, 68 L. Ed. 742);

German Alliance Ins. Co. v. Lewis, 233 U. 8. 389, 416

(34 8. Ct. 612, 58 L. Ed. 1011) ; Commonwealth v. Vroo-

man, 164 Pa. 306 (30 A. 217, 44 Am. St. Rep. 603,

25 L. R. A. 250) ; Brady v. Mattern, 125 Iowa 158 (100

N. W. 358, 106 Am. St. Rep. 291).)

There are general statements in Frost v. Corpora

tion Com., 278 U. S. 515 (40 S. Ct. 235, 73 L. Ed. 483),

which, detached from their context, may appear to be

out of harmony with the authorities cited above. The

case, however, is clearly distinguishable. The legis-

lation condemned in that decision exempted agricul-

tural corporations issuing stock and organized for

private gain, as well as true cooperatives, from the

requirement of making a showing of public necessity

in order to obtain a permit to operate a cotton gin.

Individuals and other corporations desiring to engage

in the same business for profit were required to make

the showing. The corporation involved in the Frost

case was an agricultural company issuing stock and

organized for private gain. The court intimated that

true cooperatives might be properly exempted but held

POOR COPY

BLEED THROUGH

—_

that, in view of the subject dealt with by the legislation,

there was no substantial or relevant basis for the dif-

ferentiation between an agricultural corporation of

the type there involved and individuals or other cor-

porations organized for profit. ‘'he subject involved

in the Frost case is entirely different from that dealt

with in section 536. As we have seen, there are sound

purposes to be served in encouraging the corporate

operation of telephone systems, and the classification

complained of cannot, therefore, be said to be un-

reasonable or arbitrary.

(9) The rule that all presumptions are in favor of

the validity of statutes and that a classification made

by the Legislature will not be overthrown by the courts

unless it is palpably unreasonable has added force

when, as here, the statute has been accepted as valid

for many years, and vast sums have been invested in

reliance upon the rights granted. In Willard v. Glenn-

Colusa Irr. Dist., 201 Cal. 726 (258) P. 959), where

attack was made on the constitutionality of section 55

of the California Irrigation District Act, the court said

(pp. 743-744): ‘‘It has been upon the statute books

of this state for over forty years. While its constitu-

tionality has never been passed upon by this court,

this question, so far as our knowledge goes, has never

been raised. It is hardly possible that in all the liti-

gation that has been before the courts of this state

regarding irrigation districts in their various ramifi-

cations, the validity of this provision of the statute

would not have been attached had there been any ques-

ailen

tion of its consiitutionality. The fact that no pro-

ceeding prior to the present one has ever been brought

before this or any of the appellate courts of this state

in which the constitutionality of this provision of the

statute has been questioned is most convincing proof

that the profession as a whole has regarded its validity

unassailable.”

Stronger and even more convincing proof may be

found in the legal history of section 536. Its provisions

relating to telegraph companies have been in existence

since 1872, and those applying to telephone companies

have been in effect since 1905. The constitutionality

of the section has been impliedly upheld by many de-

cisions of this court, and in the few instances where

a direct challenge has been made it has withstood the

attack. These decisions have been acquiesced in and

acted upon for more than 40 years and have become

something akin to a rule of property which should not

be disturbed in the absence of the most compelling and

cogent reasons. We find no such reasons here.

The judgment is affirmed.

Shenk, J., Traynor, J., Schauer, J., and Spence, J.,

concurred.

Edmonds, J., concurred in the judgment.

CARTER, J.—I dissent.

By permitting section 536 of the Civil Code and

the Broughton Act to stand side by side, the majority

opinion in effect affirms the holding in Inyo v. Hess,

POOR COPY

BLEED THROUGH

a

53 Cal. App. 415 (200 P. 373), that the two statutes

have the effect of giving to telephone and telegraph

corporations the right to erect and maintain lines along

public highways and streets free of any burden what-

soever while every other person or association must

comply with a number of regulations and pay money

for the same right. Thus the majority perpetuates the

type of special privilege conferred upon corporations

which is reminiscent of the decade when this legisla-

tion was adopted.

In my opinion, this results in a violation of the equal

protection clause of the Fourteenth Amendment to the

federal Constitution. While it is clear that the equal

protection clause does not prevent a state Legislature

from enacting statutes which contain a ‘reasonable

classification,’’ it is equally clear that it does prevent

the states from enacting laws which create unreason-

able discrimination. The majority opinion asserts that

the differentiation here involved is a ‘‘reasonable clas-

sification.’’ To support this argument, eight cases are

cited. (Goddard v. Chicago & N. W. Ry. Co., 202 Til.

362 (66 N. E. 1066); Noble State Bank v. Haskell, 219

U. 8. 104 (31 S. Ct. 186, 55 L. Ed. 112); Shallenberger

v. First State Bank, 219 U. 8. 114 (31 S. Ct. 189, 55

L. Ed. 117); Engel v. O’Malley, 219 U. S. 128 (31 S.

Ct. 190, 55 L. Ed. 128) ; Dillingham v. McLaughlin, 264

U.S. 370 (44 8. Ct. 362, 68 L. Ed. 742); German AI-

liance Ins. Co. v. Lewis, 233 U. 8S. 389 (34 S. Ct. 612,

58 L. Ed. 1011); Commonwealth v. Vrooman, 164 Pa.

—22—

306 (30 A. 217, 44 Am. St. Rep. 603, 25 L. R. A. 250);

Brady v. Mattern, 125 Iowa 158 (100 N. W. 358, 106

Am. St. Rep. 291).)

All eight of these cases involved statutes making

distinctions between classes of the public. In all eight

of the cases, the statutes were upheld as not violative

of the Constitution. But the basis of the holdings in

seven of the eight cases was that the statutes con-

stituted an exercise of the police power, so-called. This

power of the states to make regulations which, while

they abridge the rights of some of the citizens, are

nevertheless necessary and justified in the interest of

the general public, can be invoked only in cases where

there is a danger to the general public. A classifica-

tion may be validly made when it has a reasonable

tendency to combat a specific evil. ‘‘. . . (t)o justify

the imposition of a burden, there must be some con-

nection of causation or responsibility between the per-

son selected or the right impaired and the danger to

the public welfare or the public burden which is sought

to be avoided or relieved.’’ (Freund, Police Power,

635.) This element of public danger was present in

seven of the cases mentioned. In Nobel State Bank v.

Haskell, 219 U. 8, 104 (31 S. Ct. 186, 55 L. Ed 112),

the issue was whether anyone desiring to engage in

the business of banking could be required to form a

corporation, submit to certain inspections and con-

tribute to an insurance or guaranty fund. The evil

which this regulation was designed to check was the

frequent failure of individuals engaged in the bank-

POOR COPY

BLEED THROUGH

—23—

ing business to meet their obligations, and the resulting

insecurity of commercial paper, especially checks. The

Supreme Court of the United States said: “If the

_.. legislature declares . . . that incorporation, in-

spection and the above-described cooperation are nec-

essary safeguards, this court certainly cannot say that

it is wrong.’’ (Nobel State Bank v. Haskell, supra.)

(Emphasis added.) Shallenberger v. First State Bank,

919 U. S. 114 (31 S. Ct. 189, 55 L. Ed. 117), involved

practically the same situation and is based on the

same reasons as the Nobel State Bank Case. Engel v.

O’Malley, 219 U. S. 128 (31 S. Ct. 190, 55 L. Ed. 128),

and Dillingham v. McLaughlin, 264 U. S. 370 (44 S.

Ct. 362, 68 L. Ed. 742), both involved control of a type

of business apparently common to New York during

the years of heavy immigration. There, individuals

would act as depositaries of small savings deposits

made by recent immigrants. A substantial number of

these depositaries seems to have absconded with the

money so deposited and, of course, the low-income, un-

sophisticated depositors were nearly helpless. To elim-

inate this danger and still enable this particular group

of depositors to make their small deposits, various

statutory enactinents were passed which subjected these

individual depositaries to rather strict regulations but

exempted from the operation of the regulations banks

duly incorporated. Failure on the part of the deposi-

‘aries to comply with the regulations, such as putting

up a bond and submitting to inspections, was made a

misdemeanor. Statutes of this type were therefore

a

obviously designed to check an evil and if any further

test be needed, the criminal character of the statute

is the best indication that the protection of the public

was at its basis. In German Alliance Ins. Co. v. Lewis,

233 U. S. 389 (34 S. Ct. 612, 58 L. Ed. 1011), a statute

imposing a number of regulations on insurance com.

panies was attached on the ground that it expressly

exempted farmers’ cooperative insurance associations

from its regulations. The provisions of the statute were

regulatory only and it was held that the classification

was entirely reasonable because the members of a ¢o-

operative farmers’ insurance association are in a far

better position to police their own organization than

members of the public who deal with unincorporated

and unregulated insurers.

The next two cases cited are not binding on this

court because they were decided by state courts. But

they are equally based on the principle of protection

of the public so that they are not only not binding but -

also inapplicable. Commonwealth v. Vrooman, 164 Pa,

306 (30 A. 217, 44 Am. St. Rep. 603, 25 L. R. A. 250),

was a criminal prosecution under a statute making

it a misdemeanor for any person other than a cor-

poration to engage in the insurance business. The de

cision upholding the distinction is based on the police

power and the need of the public for protection. Brady

v. Mattern, 125 Iowa 158 (100 N. W. 358, 106 Am. St.

Rep. 291), was a petition for a writ of habeas corpus

by a contractor who had been arrested after violating

a statute which placed rather stringent controls on in-

POOR COPY

BLEED THROUGH

~~

dividual contractors and required them to put up bonds

but exempted corporate contractors and building and

loan associations from such controls. The petitioner at-

tached the constitutionality of the discrimination and

the court based its refusal to grant the writ on the fact

that the protection necessary to safeguard the public

made the classification reasonable.

In the case at bar, there is no pretence that the

discrimination is in any way designed to protect the

general public from the risks involved if it is permitted

to deal with unincorporated telephone and telegraph

operators. The absence of this element renders section

536 of the Civil Code unconstitutional. It makes a

distinction between private persons and partnerships

on one side and telephone and telegraph corporations

un the other. This distinction would result in a reason-

able classification if public welfare were at all in-

volved. Since public welfare is not involved, the dis-

tinction results in a discrimination prohibited by the

equal protection clause of the Fourteenth Amendment.

The one case cited in the majority opinion which

has not been dealt with does seem to state the rule that

the policies behind legislation are not open to inquiry

by the courts. Goddard v. Chicago & N. W. Ry. Co.,

202 Ill. 362 (66 N. E. 1066). In that case the argu-

ment was made that legislation which permitted a

county board to issue permits for the construction

of railroads to corporations only was in violation of

the state and federal Constitutions. The court brushed

COPY BOUND CLOSE IN CENTER

— =

this argument aside, saying: ‘The legislature had

power to limit the authority of the county board to

grant a license to incorporated companies created . , ,

for the purpose of constructing and operating street

railways, and it is not material what reasons existed

for prescribing the limit. It was a case for the exercise

of legislative judgment with which we are not con-

cerned. (Goddard v. Chicago & N. W. Ry. Co., supra.)

It is submitted that the court was clearly wrong in

stating this flat rule. The moment a classification or

discrimination is created, the question of whether it

shall stand or fall is very much the concern of the

courts. It is simply not true that the Legislature can

exercise unlimited discretion when it creates such

classifications. The majority opinion recognizes this

and correctly states the rule that discriminatory legis.

lation must fall unless reasonable and non-arbitrary,

The Goddard case, in failing to recognize this rule,

would therefore fall even under the view taken by the

majority. Besides, being a state case it is not binding

here and its persuasive force is dissipated by the case

of Frost v. Corporation Com., 278 U.S. 515 (49 S. Ct.

235, 73 L. Ed. 483), which controls the Goddard case

as well as the case at bar.

The Frost case, supra, shows that the result reached

by the majority is wrong. The distinction created by

section 536, the Broughton Act and the decision in this

case is not a reasonable classification: It is an u-

reasonable discrimination. The present case falls clear-

ly within the rule of the Frost case as it is much

POOR COPY

BLEED THROUGH

=_

stronger on the facts. In the Frost case, a statute

required persons and nonagricultural corporations who

wished to engage in the ginning of cotton to make a

showing of public necessity as a condition precedent

to their being able to obtain a license. Cooperative as-

sociations were exempt from this requirement. Under

the general laws of the state involved, a cooperative as-

sociation was free to sell its services to the public and

make a profit out of such dealings. The court held that

the distinction created an unreasonable classification.

“ _. the proviso, as here construed and applied, baldly

creates one rule for a natural person and a different

and contrary rule for an artificial person, notwith-

standing the fact that both are doing the same business

with the general public and to the same end, .. . it

produces a classification which subjects one to the

burden of showing a public necessity for his business,

from which it relieves the other, and is essentially

arbitrary, because based upon no real or substantial

differences having reasonable relation to the subject

dealt with by the legislation.’’ (Frost v. Corporation

Com., supra, 522.)

In the case at bar, mere enumeration of some of

the requirements set forth in the Broughton Act will

show that a greater burden results in this case than

that of showing a public necessity in the Frost case.

Under the Broughton Act, a bidder for a franchise

must—unless he is a telephone or telegraph corpora-

tion—submit sealed bids, must make immediate pay-

ment of a substantial sum if the franchise is struck off

COPY BOUND CLOSE IN CENTER

oi,

to him at the auction, must make an additional large

payment within 24 hours, and must pay a tax of 2 per

cent on the gross receipts every year. There are other

provisions, but those set forth show sufficiently the

great disparity created between the privileges enjoyed

by corporations under section 536 and those enjoyed by

individuals and associations under the Broughton Act,

The classification is unreasonable and discrimina-

tory because nothing is gained through it by anyone

including the state, except the corporations which are

exempt from the burdens of the Broughton Act. Op-

erators other than those favored few are evidently just

as acceptable to the Legislature, provided they pay for

the privilege given free to those favored few. Just as

in Frost v. Corporation Com., supra, both are engaged

in exactly the same type of business, for the same pur-

pose. Both would be public utilities. It is obvious,

therefore, that no consideration of public welfare

could have been in the back of the legislators’ minds,

No real reason for the classification is shown. The

majority opinion indulges in conjecture as to what

some of these reasons might have been. That, however,

is not a proper solution. The Supreme Court of the

United States has laid down the rule that the reasons

for the classification must be apparent in order for it

to have any chance of being’ sustained : ‘‘To assume that

some unnamed public interest exists, which will sus-

tain the discrimination, does not help the matter here;

because the assumption can rest only on surmise, with

POOR COPY

BLEED THROUGH

a

nothing concrete or explicit appearing to support it

or to indicate a legislative intent to relate the exemp-

tion to any public purpose.’’ (Colgate v. Harvey, 296

U.S. 404, 425 (56 S. Ct. 252, 80 L. Ed. 299, 102 A. L. R.

54).) The last-cited case involved income tax legisla-

tion under which income from investments within the

state was favored over that derived from out-of-state

investments. The state courts held that such a statute

“might”’ have the purpose of encouraging investments

within the state. The Supreme Court answered that

contention in the words quoted supra, The supposi-

tions made by the majority opinion in the case at bar

are open to the same criticism.

Two more points are raised which purportedly

Jend support to the holding of the majority: One, that

the question of constitutionality of these statutes has

been before this court and has been decided and that

therefore the classification and the subsequent re-

liance thereon became tantamount to a rule of property

which this court should not disturb except for com-

pelling reasons. Literally speaking, the statement that

the constitutionality of the combined effect of these

statutes has been before this court is true. The state-

ment, however, contains an ambiguous term: ‘‘Consti-

tutionality.’’ If this word can be construed to include

the state Constitution alone, the statement would be

correct. Western Union Tel. Co. v. Hopkins and its

companion cases, 160 Cal. 106 ff. (116 P. 557), did

pass on the question whether the California Consti-

tution was violated. But the court expressly recognized

COPY BOUND CLOSE IN CENTER

—i)—

that nothing more than one single section of the Cali.

fornia Constitution had been raised by counsel. The

court found that that section had not been violated

(art. I, sec. 11), and discussed one other aspect of the

case under the California Constitution. The federaj

Constitution was not mentioned. How a holding of this

kind can result in a ‘‘rule of property”’ is very diffi.

cult to conceive. The federal question is before this

court for the first time in this case. There is no reagon

why it should not be squarely met.

The other contention is that no ‘‘compelling and

cogent reasons’’ exist in this case for a change of the

status of telephone and telegraph corporations under

what they conceived the law to be. I believe that such

reasons do exist. Under the majority holding the coun-

ties will receive no revenue out of franchises operated

by telephone or telegraph corporations. In order to

meet the requirements of the various budgets involved,

the tax rate in those counties is therefore correspond-

ingly higher than it would be if these corporations

were subjected to the same duty to pay now resting on

the balance of the operators. By subjecting telephone

and telegraph corporations to the terms of the Brough-

ton Act and by requiring them to make the payments

called for by the act, the revenue of the counties will

increase and the tax rate will decrease correspondingly,

The result will be a higher operating cost for telephone

and telegraph corporations. But, contrary to the con-

tention made by these corporations, this will not have

any ‘‘disastrous effects’’ on them. They are given the

POOR COPY

BLEED THROUGH

—

means of obtaining permission to charge higher rates

(Stats. 1915, p. 115 as amended, 2 Deering’s Gen. Laws,

Act 6386, Sec. 61 ff.) and will not, as they seem to con-

tend, be driven into bankruptcy. The higher rates

which telephone and telegraph corporations may then

charge for their services will place the burden of pay-

ing for the use of public streets and highways where it

belongs: On the subscribers to telephone and telegraph

services rather than the taxpayers at large. That, in

my opinion, is a reason sufficiently cogent and com-

pelling to make a change, even if a settled situation

had existed up to now. Mere lapse of time will never

breathe the breath of life into a statute void for un-

constitutionality, and the attempt to uphold the statute

on this ground evinces a fatal weakness in the basic

concept upon which the majority opinion is predicated.

The equal protection clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment to the Constitution of the United States

has been given renewed vigor by several recent de-

cisions of the Supreme Court of the United States, and

in view of this trend I do not anticipate that that court

will depart from its pronouncement in the Frost case

which is in clear conflict with the holding of the

majority in the case at bar.

It is, therefore, my opinion that the judgment

should be reversed.

COPY BOUND CLOSE IN CENTER

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.