Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Canon v. United States
Supreme Court brief1976
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
Supreme Court, U. &
FILED
FEB 10 1576
-
~~ reas nr can
} MICHAE! 80 0.K. >
IN THE
Supreme Court of the Anited States
OCTOBER TERM, 1975
No. @5-1132
MICHAEL IRVIN CANON,
Petitioner.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT
DOUGLAS G. CROSBY, ESQ
Goodman and Snyder _
230 Las Vegas Blvd. South
Las Vegas, Nevada 89101
Telephone: (702) 384-5563
Attorney for Petitioner
Washingron, OC e CLB PUBLISHERS e LAW PRINTING CO. e (20?) 393 0625
“~~ =f £r™ AAP POO ©
(i)
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
TN a ok wal Nn ay WA © RI Sk l
is wei ea nk ed le RA BOS P
QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ............. 2
STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED .............. 2
DEST ENGID GPM CA bo he eee eewee ee ees 5
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT .............. 8
I. THE DISTRICT COURT SHOULD HAVE
GRANTED CANON’S MOTION FOR A
PROTECTIVE ORDER PRIOR TO ORDER-
Pes Ce WAP BRUNE os kee wcd es eccees 8
Il. THE DISTRICT COURT SHOULD HAVE
INSTRUCTED THE GOVERNMENT TO
COMPLY WITH TITLE 18 U.S.C. §3504
AND GIVEN PETITIONER AN OPPOR-
TUNITY TO FACIALLY CHALLENGE
ANY ELECTRONIC SURVEILLANCE .......... 1]
Ill. THE COURT OF APPEALS SHOULD
HAVE REMANDED THE CASE TO THE
DISTRICT COURT FOR RECONSIDERA-
TION IN LIGHT OF THE GOVERN-
MENT’S UNTIMELY AFFIDAVIT PUR-
SUANT TO TEHTLE 168 USA. $3506 2... aes 14
CE 5 CGS 6 se eR Oe le ee ee ee le 15
Ce ee eee Gr OES. ov c sc eaweresaavnecess 16
SE Sa eee aA aS Uh eAEMAD POSSE RSNA OD la
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:
Bruton v. United States, 391 U.S. 123, 88 S.Ct.
5620; FP Ube GP CTI ik kan ik wee cacwseeadn 10
Droback v. United States, 509 F.2d 625 (9th Cir.,
1974). cont. denied, 95 St. F952) ww oe ces t2.83
(ii)
Page
Gelbard v. United States, 408 U.S. 41 (1972) ........... 1]
Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254 (1970) ............... 13
Goldberg v. United States, 472 F.2d 513, 516 n.5
EE SERRE SG Se a 9
In re Lochiatto, 497 F.2d 803 (1974) ............. 12,14
In re Quinn, 525 F.2d 222 (Ist Cir., 1975) ............ 14
In re Weir, 377 F.Supp. 919, 520 F.2d 662 (9th
EE te a eee alan ale @ Wises eo 6 2 9,10
In the Matter of Persico, 491 F.2d 1156 (1974) ...... 12,14
Kastigar v. United States, 406 U.S. 441 (1972) ....... 8.9.10
Kirby v. Illinois, 406 U.S. 682, 688-689, 92 S.Ct.
a 10
United States v. Alter, 482 F.2d 1016 (9th Cir.,
te a elgg a Glee nee 600 © « 13
United States v. Bellosi, 501 F.2d 833 (DC. Cir.,
A Meh Ae ae alg en eke wake os 6 os 15
United States v. Dinsio, supra, 468 F.2d at 1394 ......... 13
Constitution of the United States:
eg Lg eres w wie Sle Weck Oe oo 6
Miscellaneous:
Standards for Exclusion in Immunity Cases after
Kastigar and Zicarelli, 82 Yale L.J.171 (1972) ....... 9
Statutes:
I ore a ky ce ow elas ka 9s 13
eae whew ns Sb de wees 4
Et oC Cot oo EI
ee gt es a ys aise eo x 8 3
ES Pe PA 14
Ne a a a wn we 8 a Om 2.4.7,11.14
ea ae a su ew > oes > 4.8
EERE Be Se a -
BL
ED THF OUGH
IN THE
Supreme Court of the Cnited States
OCTOBER TERM, 1975
No.
MICHAEL IRVIN CANON,
Petitioner,
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT
Petitioner MICHAEL IRVIN CANON respectfully
prays that a Writ of Certiorari issue to review the
memorandum order of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Ninth Circuit entered in this proceeding
on January 12, 1976.
OPINION BELOW
The memorandum order of the United States Court
of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit was filed on January
i2. 1976. This memorandum and order has not been
reported and is reproduced herein as Appendix “A”.
aids
Fa ghee Bo
os Sain
PPiitesen cence
JURISDICTION
The memorandum order of the United States Court
of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, entered on January
12, 1976, directed that no petition for rehearing may
be filed.' and directed the mandate issue twenty-one
(21) days from January 12, 1976. On January 26, 1976
a timely motion to stay the issuance of the mandate
was filed in the United States Court of Appeals for the
Ninth Circuit and said motion was granted providing a
petition for writ of certiorari is filed by February 11,
1976. This Court’s jurisidiction is invoked under 28
U.S.C. § 1254(1).
QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW
1. Whether the District Court should have granted
CANON’S motion for a _ protective order prior to
ordering CANON to testify.
2. Whether the District Court should have instructed
the Government to comply with Title 18 U.S.C. §$ 3504
and given CANON an opportunity to facially challenge
any electronic surveillance.
3. Whether the Court of Appeals should have
remanded the case to the District Court for reconsidera-
tion in light of the Government’s untimely affidavit
pursuant to Title 18 U.S.C. § 3504.
STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED
18 U.S.C. § 2515. Prohibition of use as evidence of
intercepted wire or oral communications.
' Appendix, pages la-2a.
3
Whenever any wire or oral communication has
been intercepted, no part of the contents of such
communication and no evidence derived therefrom
may be received in evidence in any trial, hearing,
or other proceeding in or before any court, grand
jury, department, officer, agency, regulatory body,
legislative committee, OF other authority of the
United States, a State, or a political subdivision
thereof if the disclosure of that information would
be in violation of this chapter.
18 U.S.C. § 2518. Procedure for interception of wire
or oral communications.
(1) Each application for an order authorizing or
approving the interception of a wire or oral
communication shall be made in writing upon oath
or affirmation to a judge of competent jurisdiction
and shall state the applicant’s authority to make
such application. Each application shall include the
following information:
(a) the identity of the investigative or law
enforcement officer making the application, and
the officer authorizing the application;
(b) a full and complete statement of the facts
and circumstances relied upon by the applicant, to
justify his belief that an order should be issued,
including (i) details as to the particular offense
that has been, is being, or is about to be
committed, (ii) a particular description of the
nature and location of the facilities from which or
the place where the communication is to be
intercepted, (ili) a particular description of the
type of communications sought to be intercepted,
(iv) the identity of the person, if known,
committing the offense and whose communications
are to be intercepted:
* * *
(c) a full and complete statement of the facts
concerning all previous applications known to the
iii isch iccominias Nieeetec heat
4
individual authorizing and making the application,
made to any judge for authorization to intercept,
or for approval of interceptions of, wire or oral
communications involving any of the same persons,
facilities or places specified in the application, and
the action taken by the judge on each such
application: and
* * *
18 U.S.C. § 3504. Litigation concerning sources of
evidence.
(a) In any trial, hearing, or other proceeding in or
before any court, grand jury, department, officer,
agency, regulatory body, or other authority of the
United States—
(1) upon a claim by a party aggrieved that
evidence is inadmissible because it is the primary
product of an unlawful act or because it was
obtained by the exploitation of an unlawful act,
the opponent of the claim shall affirm or deny the
occurrence of the alleged unlawful act:
* * *
(b) As used in this section “unlawful act”
means any act the use of any electronic,
mechanical, or other device (as defined in section
*2510(5) of this title) in violation of the
Constitution or laws of the United States or any
regulation or standard promulgated pursuant
thereto.
18 U.S.C. § 6002. Immunity generally.
Whenever a witness refuses, on the basis of his
privilege against self-incrimination, to testify or
provide other information in a proceeding before
or ancillary to—
(1) a court or grand jury of the United States,
(2) an agency of the United States, or
(3) either House of Congress, a joint committee
of the two Houses. or a committee or a
5
subcommittee of either House, and the person
presiding over the proceeding communicates to the
witness an order issued under this part, the witness
may not refuse to comply with the order on the
basis of his privilege against self-incrimination; but
no testimony or other information compelled
under the order (or any information directly or
indirectly derived from such testimony or other
information) may be used against the witness in
any criminal case, except a prosecution for
perjury, giving a false statement, or otherwise
failing to comply with the order.
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
On November 7, 1975, Petitioner was served with a
subpoena directing him to appear and testify before a
Federal Grand Jury sitting in the District of Nevada at
Las Vegas, Nevada. The subpoena directed Petitioner to
appear on November 13, 1975; however, with consent
of the Government attorney Petitioner’s appearance was
postponed until November 20, 1975.
Petitioner appeared before the Grand Jury on
November 20, 1975, gave his name and declined to
answer further questions, asserting his privilege against
self-incrimination. Petitioner was then excused and
directed to return on November 26, 1975.
On November 26, 1975, Petitioner returned to the
Grand Jury and again declined to answer questions for
the same reasons. That same day, Petitioner was served
with an Order of Immunity signed by the Honorable
ROGER D. FOLEY. District Judge (R.Vol.I. pp.
10-11). Petitioner was then directed to return to the
Grand Jury on December 4, 1975.
Bra. SHED ocr BIOS
6
The Government filed on November 28, 1975, a
motion requesting the Court to direct Petitioner to
answer questions and a notice of intent to seek a
contempt order should he still decline to answer
(R.Vol.I. pp. 12-15).
Prior to Petitioner reappearing before the Grand Jury
he filed a motion for protective order (R.Vol.I. pp.
22-26) and a memorandum in opposition to a contempt
hearing (R.VolL.I. pp. 17-21).
Petitioner again, on December 4, 1975, declined to
answer questions, responding instead as follows:
“IT will respectfully to [sic] refuse to answer on
the grounds of the Fifth Amendment even though
an immunity order has been entered, and the
immunity order does not conform to the applica-
tion of immunity, and that the Court has not
ruled on my motion for protective order, and
these questions resulted from unlawful electronic
surveillance.” (R.Vol.II. p. 10).
The above answer was read to Judge FOLEY by the
Grand Jury stenographer at a hearing on the Govern-
ment’s application for a contempt order. At that
hearing, Judge FOLEY considered the arguments of
counsel relative to Petitioner’s motion for a protective
order. The motion was taken under submission
(R.VolLII. p. 49) and the matter was recessed until
December 5, 1975.
On December 5, 1975, Petitioner’s motion for a
protective order was denied in its entirety (R.Vol.II. p.
51) and Petitioner was directed to return to the Grand
Jury (R.VoLII. p. 52). Petitioner again declined to
answer questions before the Grand Jury and he was
then returned to Court at which time CANON was held
in contempt.
7
During the contempt hearing on December 5, 1975,
CANON again raised a claim pursuant to Title 18
U.S.C. § 3504 and requested the Government be
directed to comply with that Section (R.Vol.II. p. 79).
This request was denied.
CANON’S notice of appeal was filed December 12,
1975 (R.Vol.I. p. 52). .
Subsequent to December 12, 1975, the Govern-
ment ex-parte filed on December 19, 1975 an affidavit
entitled “Affidavit of RICHARD A. WRIGHT, Assistant
United States Attorney, In Accordance With Title 18,
United States Code, Section 3504.” (R.Vol.I. pp.
61-67). That affidavit alleges a series of court
authorized wiretaps in which CANON was intercepted.
It appears from that affidavit that Petitioner was named
as a subject in two of the four authorization orders,
those being November 22, 1974, in the Northern
District of Alabama, and October 24, 1975, in the
District of Nevada: the latter being a source of
information upon which the questions asked of
Petitioner before the Grand Jury were based.
Petitioner argued before the United States Court of
Appeals for the Ninth Circuit that the “affidavit” be
stricken from the record on appeal since it was not
timely filed in the District Court and that the matter
should be remanded to the District Court for
reconsideration in light of the ‘affidavit’? which was
not before the District Court when Petitioner was held
in contempt. The Court of Appeals declined to do so.
8
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT
I.
THE DISTRICT COURT SHOULD HAVE
GRANTED CANON’S MOTION FOR A
PROTECTIVE ORDER PRIOR TO ORDER-
ING CANON TO TESTIFY.
Subsequent to the Order of Immunity which was
entered on November 26, 1975, Petitioner filed a
motion for protective order which requested, inter alia:
“That the Government be required to certify to
this Court in writing a detailed outline of any
incriminating evidence against Michael Irvin Canon
which the Government has in its possession prior
to this Court’s compelling Canon to testify: it is
suggested that the Court seal the certification of
evidence subject to further order of the Court.”
(R.Vol.1. p. 22).
Title 18 U.S.C. § 6002 states that “no testimony or
other information compelled under the order (or any
information directly or indirectly derived from such
testimony) may be used against the witness in any
criminal case.” In Kastigar vy. United States, 406 U.S.
441 (1972) the Supreme Court held that once an
indicted witness shows that he or she has been
compelled to testify under a grant of immunity. the
Government bears the burden of proving that its
evidence is not tainted by establishing an entirely
independent and legitimate basis for it.
Despite the fact that the Aastigar Court termed the
imposition of such a burden “very substantial protec-
tion’, 406 U.S. at 461, it is submitted that the
precautionary step of certification of evidence by the
9
Government be taken to insure that any immunized and
compelled testimony of a witness will in no way
contribute to a criminal prosecution against him.
If this precautionary measure is not taken, the proof
problems surrounding subsequent use of immunized
testimony may be very great. The concern that
impermissible use of immunized testimony may not be
uncovered was clear in both the majority and dissenting
opinions in Kastigar, supra.
The prohibition on subsequent use of immunized
testimony should not be limited to evidence introduced
at trial. Kastigar, supra, forbids the use of compelled
testimony “in any respect”. 406 U.S. at 453. The
Kastigar Court specifically stated that “the use of
compelled testimony as an_ investigatory lead; and
also...the use of any evidence obtained by focusing
investigation On a witness as a result of his compelled
disclosures” was barred. 406 U.S. at 460.
The precautionary step stated above was suggested in
“Standards for Exclusion in Immunity Cases after
Kastigar and Zicarelli”, 82 Yale L.J. 171 (1972) as one
means of insuring full protection of an immunized
witness. Such a procedure has been employed by at
least One district court in the Ninth Circuit when Judge
TURRENTINE ordered certification of evidence in
camera. In re Weir, 377 F.Supp. 919, 520 F.2d 662
(9th Cir., 1975). Additionally, the Second Circuit has
suggested that certification of evidence is an appropriate
means of protecting both the Government and a
defendant prior to the compulsion of testimony.
Goldberg vy. United States, 472 F.2d 513, 516 n.5
(1973).
Secondly, Petitioner in his motion for protective
order sought an order prohibiting the Government from
QR re
10
seeking an indictment against Petitioner from the same
Grand Jury he was ordered to give testimony to.
(R.Vol. I. p. 22). This request was also denied.
It is submitted that such a precaution is necessary for
the reason that once a Grand Jury hears incriminating
testimony from a witness, there is no way that the
Grand Jury can ignore it, that is, not “use” the witness’
testimony against him in a decision to indict the
witness.
Petitioner’s concern in this regard was discussed in
Goldberg v. United States, supra, wherein the Court
stated:
“We would be greatly troubled by what has
happened here if the Government were seeking an
indictment of Goldberg from the grand jury before
which he is being asked to testify. Although the
order to compel testimony might be valid, we
would have most serious doubt about the validity
of such an indictment. Despite any instructions
from the judge, it would be well nigh impossible
for the grand jurors to put Goldberg’s answers out
of their minds, cf Bruton v. United States, 391
U.S. 123, 88 S.Ct. 1620, 20 L.Ed.2d 476 (1968),
and testimony compelled by the order would thus
‘be used against the witness in [a] criminal case,’
cf. Kirby v. Illinois, 406 U.S. 682, 688-689, 92
S.Ct. 1877, 32 L.Ed.2d 411 (1972), in defiance
not only of 18 U.S.C. § 6002 but of the command
of Kastigar that the immunity must be ‘coexten-
sive with the scope of the privilege.” 406 U.S. at
449, 92 S.Ct. at 1664. But the Government
represented to us in open court that the grand jury
before which Goldberg has been directed to answer
questions will not be asked to indict him.” 472
F.2d at S16.
Petitioner asserts that the safeguards discussed herein
should have been implemented by the District Court
BLEED 17
1]
prior to Petitioner's having to make the difficult
decision to testify or suffer the consequences which
have been imposed upon him.
THE DISTRICT COURT SHOULD HAVE
INSTRUCTED THE GOVERNMENT TO
COMPLY WITH TITLE 18 U.S.C. §3504
AND GIVEN PETITIONER AN OPPOR-
TUNITY TO FACIALLY CHALLENGE ANY
ELECTRONIC SURVEILLANCE.
Petitioner asserted a claim of unlawful electronic
surveillance in both his written objection to a contempt
hearing (R.Vol. Lp. 18) and orally during the
contempt hearing (R.Vol. Il. p. 75). The District Court,
however, refused to direct the Government to respond
in compliance with Title 18 U.S.C. § 3504 which
provides, inter alia:
“(a) In any trial, hearing, or other proceeding in
or before any court, grand jury, department,
officer, agency. regulatory body. or other author-
ity of the United States
(1) upon a claim by a party aggrieved that
evidence is inadmissible because it is the primary
product of an unlawful act or because it was
obtained by the exploitation of an unlawful act,
the opponent of the claim shall affirm or deny the
occurrence of the alleged unlawful act:...”
The prohibition of Title 18 U.S.C. § 2515 is available
to a subpoenaed and immunized grand jury witness in
defense of a contempt citation. Gelbard vy. United
States, 408 U.S. 41 (1972).
iF OU GH
‘2
The Court of Appeals for the First Circuit has ruled
that in order to give effect to the prohibition of Title
18 U.S.C. § 2515 in a court authorized wiretap
situation, a witness is entitled to an opportunity for
inspection of the following limited materials: the
authorization of the Attorney General or his designate,
the affidavits in support of the court order, the court
order, and an affidavit from the Government as to
length of time the surveillance was conducted. /n re
Lochiatto, 497 F.2d 803 (1974). The limited review
permitted by Lochiatto is not the type of “full-blown
suppression hearing” with which the Second Circuit
Court of Appeals was concerned about in /n the Matter
of Persico, 491 F.2d 1156 (1974).
The Government relied below on Droback v. United
States, 509 F.2d 625 (9th Cir., 1974); cert. denied, 95
S.Ct. 1952, wherein the Court held that an immunized
witness was not entitled to a ‘“‘full-fledged suppression
hearing” to question the validity of a court ordered
wiretap. Unfortunately, the printed opinion does not
set forth the facts in Droback. However, a review of
Droback’s reply brief, filed in the Ninth Circuit points
out two distinguishing factors between that case and
the instant case. First, Droback, prior to his immuniza-
tion, had been dismissed by the Government from the
pending indictment, and secondly, Droback had already
lost his wiretap suppression motion in connection with
the indictment.
Finally, it should be pointed out that in Droback the
Court viewed the situation as one in which Droback
was “seeking to convert his contempt proceeding into a
bystander’s action to test the legality of a surveillance
program which is likely to produce evidence against one
or more of his associates.” 509 F.2d at 626. Such is
not the situation herein.
13
In the instant case, Petitioner was a target defendant
of the Grand Jury’s investigation (R.Vol. II. p. 10) and
unlike Droback, there has been no prior determination
of the legality of the wiretap.
It is respectfully submitted that Petitioner is entitled
to a review of the underlying wiretap materials.
Furthermore, adequate time to review said documents
and prepare a defense to a contempt citation is
mandated by the guarantee of due process as stated in
United States v. Alter, 482 F.2d 1016 (9th Cir., 1973):
wherein the Court citing Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 US.
254 (1970). said:
“Moreover, the hearing Alter received was not the
‘uninhibited adversary hearing’ contemplated by
section 1826(a). (United States v. Dinsio, supra,
468 F.2d at 1394). The hearing was largely
confined to the perfunctory reception of affidavits,
a round of oral argument, and some offers for the
record. That ‘uninhibited adversary hearing’ rec-
ognized by Harris and most recently reaffirmed by
Dinsio requires, at the very least, that a witness be
allowed to probe all nonfrivolous defenses to the
contempt charge. The constitutional guarantee of
due process of law means more than a silhouette
of justice; it requires that judicial determinations
affecting the freedom of the individual be openly
arrived at after full, fair, and vigorous debate on
both sides of all substantial issues. ‘The funda-
mental requisite of due process of law is the
opportunity to be heard’... The hearing must be
‘at. a meaningful time and in a_ meaningful
manner.’ ” 482 F.2d at 1024.
14
Ill.
THE COURT OF APPEALS SHOULD HAVE
REMANDED THE CASE TO THE DISTRICT
COURT FOR RECONSIDERATION _ IN
LIGHT OF THE GOVERNMENT'S UN-
TIMELY AFFIDAVIT PURSUANT TO
TITLE 18 U.S.C. § 3504.
Notwithstanding the failure to do so in the District
Court prior to Petitioner being held in contempt, the
Government felt compelled to file an affidavit pursuant
to Title 18 U.S.C. § 3504, even though not timely.
Petitioner contends that the Court of Appeals should
have remanded the matter to the District Court for
reconsideration and at the very least. an in camera
facial review of the October 24, 1975 wiretap materials
in view of the Government’s statement that Petitioner
had in fact been the subject of a prior electronic
surveillance authorization order. /» the Matter of
Persico, 491 F.2d 1156 (2nd Cir., 1974): In re Quinn,
525 F.2d 222 (Ist Cir., 1975).
Without the opportunity to examine the limited
wiretap materials, Lochiatto, supra, or at least an in
camera review, Persico, supra, the restriction of Title 18
U.S.C. § 2515 has no meaning.
For example, in light of the Government’s untimely
disclosure that Petitioner was named in a prior order
authorizing electronic surveillance, did the application
submitted to Judge FOLEY, which resulted in his
authorization order of October 24, 1975, meet the
requirements of Title 18 U.S.C. § 2518(1)(e)? That
Section requires that:
“(1) Each application for an order authorizing
or approving the interception of a wire or oral
BLEED
1S
communication shall be made in writing upon oath
or affirmation to a judge of competent jurisdiction
and shall state the applicant’s authority to make
such application. Each application shall include the
following information:
* * &
(c) a full and complete statement of the facts
concerning all previous applications known to the
individual authorizing and making the application,
made to any judge for authorization to intercept.
or for approval of interceptions of, wire or oral
communications involving any of the same persons.
facilities or places specified in the application, and
the action taken by the Judge on each = such
application; ...”
If the Government failed to comply with this section
then the electronic surveillance conducted on Petitioner
pursuant to the order of October 24, 1975 was
“unlawful”. United States vy. Bellosi, 501 F.2d 833
(D.C. Cir., 1974).
CONCLUSION
For the foregoing reasons, it is respectfully submitted
that the Petition for a Writ of Certiorari should be
granted.
Respectfully submitted,
DOUGLAS G. CROSBY, ESQ.
Goodman and Snyder
230 Las Vegas Blvd. South
Las Vegas, Nevada 89101
Telephone: (702) 384-5563
Attorney for Petitioner
THF OU GH
16
CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE
It is hereby certified that true and correct copies of
the above and foregoing Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
to the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth
Circuit was mailed this 9th day of February, 1976,
postage prepaid, to the Honorable Robert Bork,
Solicitor General, United States Department of Justice,
Washington, D.C. 20530.
DOUGLAS G. CROSBY, ESQ.
5
\
4
E
PY
a
4
:
a
ae
5
bd
5
é
i
&
}
BLE
la
APPENDIX A
DO NOT PUBLISH
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS.
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT
. ; >
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, |
Plaintiff- Appellee, |
= \ No. 75-3811
|
|
!
Micuaeu Irvin Canon,
Defendant-.\ppillant. |
J
{ January 12, 1976}
Appeal from the United States Distriet Court
for the District of Nevada
Before: CHAMBERS, DUNIWAY, and SNEED, Cireuit Judges.
An immunized witness, Canon. appeals from an order of the
Distriet Court holding him in contempt for refusing to comply
with an order that he answer certain questions put to him as a
witness before a grand jury, and committing him to the custody
of the Attorney General until he purges himself of the contempt
or until the life of the grand jury expires. .
Canon's motion to strike from the reeord on appeal an affidavit
filed by the government ino the Distriet Court on December 14,
1975, seven days after the Noties of Appeal was tiled. and fourteen
davs after entry of the order appealed drem. is granted. The
affidavit was net before the Distriet Court whem it made it
and, therefore. is nota proper part oof the reeord on aq
express no opinion as to the signifieanee or effeet of the affidavit
in the Distriet Court.
D THF OUGH
2a
2 United States of America vs. Michael Irvin Canon
The law does not require that the Distriet Court make the type
of protective order ov orders that Canon asked for, although the
Court, in its diseretion, could have done se. Cf. Goldbery vo United
States, (2nd Cir. 1973) 472 F.2d 513, 516, n. 5; In re Weir, (S.D.
Cal. 1974) 317 F. Supp. 919, aff'd. (9th Cir. 1975) 520 F.2d 662.
Our reading of the record, and particularly the colloquy between
counsel and the judge at Tr. pp. 80-2, leads us to agree with the
Distriet Judge that no suffietent claim of illegal surveillance was
inade under Title 28 U.S.C. See, 3504. See Vnited States rv. Nee,
(9th Cir, 1974) 505 F.2d 845. As to the attack upon the Court-
authorized electronic surveillance of Canon, he is not permitted,
as a reealeitrant witness, to delay the grand jury proceeding
while he litigates the question of the validity of the surveillance.
Droback v. United States, (9th Cir, 1974) 509 F.2d 625; In re
Persico, (2nd Cir. 1974) 491 F.2d 1156. We have not followed
In re Lochiatto, (1st Cir. 1974) 497 F.2d 803. See Droback, supra.
The order appealed from is affirmed. No petition for a rehearing
may be filed. The mandate will issue 21 days after the filing of this
Memorandum.
Bae,
Ce eel eel oe ok ee
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.