Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Bolkcom v. Carborundum Co.

Supreme Court brief1976

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

SUPREME GOURT, U © MAR 3 1976

gn the

Supreme Court of the United States

Ocroser Term, 1975

No 75-1244

WILBUR T. BOLKCOM and WILLIAM E. KNAPP,

Petitioners,

Vv.

THE CARBORUNDUM COMPANY,

Respondent.

Petirion For A Wart or Cerriorani

To THE Unrrep States Court or APPEALS

FOR THE SixtH Cincurt

ARLAND T. STEIN

THomas C. Wetracn

REED SMITH SHAW & McCLAY

747 Union Trust Building

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15230

Attorneys for Petitioners

Financial Press Corporation, Pirtsburgh

BLEED THROUGH

Ree no RG UTD AC

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Ree SEMEN AAS Cec Gbwhacdccagecd bacteakkias ]

JURISDICTION ..... SERS EER MAAS AA KAO A diae ROO EI 2

CPUS TINS CURRIN PURE on vincaccacecccncesancs 2

SEATED GON WOME CaM ok on cena eesdacesuna en 2

REASONS FOR GRANTING REVIEW ............. S

I. There Is A Conflict Among The Courts Of

Appeals On The Statutory Authority Of The

Commissioner of Patents To Grant Reissue

Patents With Claims Enlarging Or Narrowing

The Scope Of The Claims Of The Original

PR ere rey ere ey Pere per re 8

Il. It Is Time To Renew And Vitalize The

Doctrine of Equivalents With Its Importance

To The Application Of The Patent Laws. The

Court Of Appeals Decision Abrogates The

Doctrine Of Equivalents Established By This

Court To Guarantee To Patentees The Stat-

utory Right Of Exclusivity. .................. 16

oe ek + ee er Tey ree ree ry era 22

eae eer

ii Table of Citations

TABLE OF CITATIONS

CASES

Crane Packing Co. v. Spitfire Tool & Machine

Co. 275 F.2d 271 (7 Cir., 1960), cert. den.

Ceres cree. . nua hau cass Ease 14

Graver Tank & Mfg. Co., Inc. v. Linde

Air Products Co., 339 US.

5 ee reer. Be ee Oe

Handel, Application of , 312 F.2d 943

I antics Locka ah ss Naeaie sae kan seca 15

Hartzell Industries, Inc. v. McCauley Industries

Corp., 304 F.2d 481 (6 Cir., 1962) ............--- 9

Hazeltine Research Inc. v. Avco Mfg. Corp.,

297 F.2d 137 (7 Cir., 1955), cert. den.

EEE Sin kG Lae VOD AGSGA SERS AT LEEK 84 05.0 14

Hickory Springs Mfg. Co. v. Fredman Brothers

Furniture Co. Inc. et al, 309 F.2d 55 (1975). ...... 13

Kearney & Trecker Corp. v. Tiddings & Lewis,

Inc. 452 F.2d 579 (7 Cir., 1971) cert. den.

eR ER ey eee ee ee eee 14

Lockwood v. Langendorf United Bakeries, Inc.

ee ee a, FU ne Sa ceded dw ccad soe eass 13

Marconi Wireless Telegraph Co. v. United

States 81 Ct. Cl. 671 (Ct. Cl., 1935), aff'd in

part and rev'd in part, 320 U.S. 1 (1943). ...... 21, 22

Maxant Button & Supply Co. v. Sears, Roe-

buck & Co., 388 F.2d 912, (7 Cir., 1968).......... 14

McCullough Tool Co. v. Well Surveys, Inc.

343 F.2d 381 (10 Cir., 1965) cert. den.

383 U.S. 933 ..... RE Ta Ghat oe aad ae 13, 21

Parker and Whipple Co. v. Yale Lock Co.

ne ee ere 11, 12, 14

Riley v. Broadway-Hale Stores Inc.

eg gk Fle ae CO Pere rereererererre 13

p BLEED THROUGH

OMe 0 arepeee

Table of Citations

Sanitary Refrigerator Co. v. Winters

a EE cece ena hsde ca cwan eek K eke

Scovill Mfg. Co. v. Goldblatt Brothers, Inc. et al 362

F.2d 777, (7 Cir., 1966) cert. den. 385 U.S. 970...

Sears, Roebuck & Co. v. Minnesota Mining &

Mfg. Co. 243 F.2d 136 (4 Cir., 1957)

Ge Be I KX bea sks cae ek ca aekis renee

Tektronix, Inc. v. United States 445 F.2d

SP er |

Tigrett Industries v. Standard Industries 397 U.S. 586,

CRRre) Ole, Gt Ce ©) ie OE 5. 6s Ack awercaceancn

U.S. Industrial Chemicals, Inc. v. Carbide &

Carbon Chemicals Corp.,

BE Ce eerer eee 8, 9, 11, 12, 13,

Union Asbestos & Rubber Co. v. Paltier Corp.

298 F.2d 48-51-54 (7 Cir., 1962) cert. den.

SE SEN GKGA AA SSD EAD ELA RENES ORIN KA SEARO RADA

Weller Mfg. Co. v. Wen Products, Inc.

ee Fee CO C8 CA, PE ssa ce csv ancndcanancans

Wesseler, Application of, 367 F.2d 838 (CCPA, 1966). .

Winans vt. Denmead, 56 U.S. 545 (15 How. 330)

SED ice Ww Pel vas eile ie ds ok 6 hack kak ba n'en 6

Ziegler v. Phillips Petroleum Co., 483 F.2d 858

(5th Cir., 1973) cert. den. 414 U.S. 1079... oe.

STATUTES

Is NEE 6h CGS AKA CR UEW RN COMER Rasa heehaieasa

35 U.S.C. §64 (repealed) ............. 2, 9, 10, 11, 12,

EEG ha cK hohe as Kore k an kA chen dkw en naw

See GOED ssh ancidscas Oy oh Oo OR 2, ER, i,

MIsCELLANEOUS

Patent Law Perspectives, Annual Reviews B.1

{1} [b], Dunner, Gambell, and Kayton .......... ive

BLEED THROUGH

OO

| PR TBAT NE Ce LR EE oS one EE LT AAG FE RR HOD

aires IN:

Jn the

Supreme Court of the Lmted States

OctrosBer TERM 1975

WILBUR TT. BOLKCOM and WILLIAM E. KNAPP,

Petitioners,

Vv.

THE CARBORUNDUM COMPANY,

Respondent.

Petition For A Wart OF Certiorari To THe

Unrrep States Court or APPEALS

For Tue Sixtu Circuit

Petitioners, Wilbur T. Bolkcom and William E. Knapp,

ask that a writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment of

the United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit in

this case entered on September 30, 1975.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals was entered

September 30, 1975, on a hearing held October 5, 1973. The

opinion and judgment are reported at 523 F.2d 492 and

appended hereto as Appendix A, pp. la-12a. The opinion of

the district court was rendered orally at the end of the trial.

The opinion and judgment of the district court are

unreported and are appended thereto as Appendix B,

pp. ]4a-29a, 51a. The findings and conclusions of the district

ee el

ARNO RDA I NTE « Ne IT Ee NE ARR, as

a

4

BRitiiescevccnsee

2 Jurisdiction, Questions Presented and

Statement of the Case

court consistent with the opinion are also part of Appendix

B, pp. 30a-50a.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on

September 30, 1975 (Appendix A, p. 12a). A timely petition

for rehearing was denied on December 4, 1975 (Appendix A,

p. 13a). The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28

U.S.C. §1254 (1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the statute governing reissue of patents, §251]

of the 1952 Patent Act, can be interpreted to void claims of

reissue patents enlarging or narrowing the scope of the

claims of the original patent, contrary to the express terms of

that statute, by engrafting thereon additional legal criteria

created by repealed statute §64, R.S. §4916 (1928).

2. Whether the doc =!~e of equivalents last enounced in

Graver Tank & Mfg. Co., tcc. v. Linde Air Products Co., 339

U.S. 605 (1950) can be abrogated by finding incidental

differences between one element of a patented combination

and a corresponding element of an accused combination

where the accused combination is found virtually identical

with the patented combination in every other respect and

the particular element is found to perform substantially the

same function to achieve the same result as the element of

the patented combination.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Background:

Petitioners, Bolkcom and Knapp, are the coinventors-

patentees of United States Patent No. Re. 27,018 (hereinafter

Patent ‘018), granted January 5, 1971, and United States

Patent No. 3,423,605 (hereinafter Patent ‘605), granted

r BLEED THROUGH

PA MTNA, 5

OOP IT Woe NR, RTI

AON A ae

Statement of the Case 3

March 11, 1969. Patent ‘018 is the patent in suit and a reissue

of Patent ‘605. A copy of Patent ‘015 is appended hereto as

Appendix C, pp. 52a-59a.

The invention claimed in the patents is a novel plant for

the manufacture of silicon carbide. Silicon carbide was first

made in 1891 by Edward Acheson, the founder of

respondent Carborundum. It is made by fusing a mixture of

silica sand (SiO, ) and carbon (C), such as coke or graphite, in

a furnace heated by an electrical resistance core to an

extremely high temperature (about 4,000° F) for about 30

hours.

From its discovery in 1891 until the advent of

petitioners’ invention in 1966, seventy-five years later, all

silicon carbide manufactured in North America was made in

fixed, immovable furnaces. These stationary furnaces were

set in banks of four (4) to six (6), close to one another and to

the electrical power source used for firing. The furnaces ina

bank were typically operated in a cycle, with one furnace

being loaded, one furnace being fired, at least one furnace

cooling and one furnace being unloaded. The total cycle

took about five to seven days for each furnace. Each

stationary furnace requires approximately three days to cool

after firing, before the workmen could unload it and load a

new charge. Hand labor was used in loading and unloading

the furnaces, and the cramped working conditions and high

temperatures resulting from the close proximity of the

furnaces to each other and to the electrical source made this

activity extremely difficult and dangerous.

The Invention:

The patented invention is built on the concept of using

mobile furnaces, mounted on wheels, that could be removed

from the electric power source after firing, placed at a

distance for cooling and stripping (without totally cooling as

with the stationary furnaces), moved to another area of the

REID RT aps PET Ne

PORE RT RRL NERD SNE SENG IOS Es 80 aiaieiie

a ie ee eee

4 Statement of the Case

plant for reloading, and again moved to the electrical source

tor firing. The invention has the ability of selectively moving

each furnace car through the entire cycle—tiring, cooling,

stripping and reloading— without interfering in any way

with the operating evcle of any other mobile furnace.

The selectivity is achieved by a “transfer car or

“transfer means”) having a trackway on top, which may be

aligned with any trackway in the furnace area, cooling/ strip-

ping area or loading area of the plant. The furnace car is

selectively moved from one area to another by aligning the

trackways on the transfer car with the trackways supporting

the furnace car, moving the furnace car onto the transfer car,

moving the transfer car with the furnace car on it into

alignment with trackways of another area, and moving the

furnace car off the transfer car onto the trackways of the

other area.

The combination invention is described in a detailed

summary in both the original and reissue patents as follows:

an electrical power source, a main trackway

adjacent said power source, a furnace bottom mounted

on Wheels on said trackway movable to and away from

said power source; said furnace bottom having a

substantially flat heat resistant surface, removable sides

along each side of said surtace and removable ends on

said surface, said sides and ends defining a heating

chamber, electrode means in each of said ends,

removable connections between said electrode ends

and said) power source, a transfer car movable

transversely to the main trackway and having a

* corresponding trackway adapted to be aligned with the

main trackway to receive the furnace bottom wheels

and furnace whereby said furnace may be moved

transversely to said main trackway, a service area

5 spaced from said main trackway by said transfer car,

secondary trackways in said service area receiving said

t BLEED THROUGH

CRT MONT Wig DS OO RIA MLR

AS AMER EEG a ERAS ATR ECU DAT RETRAIN AE RN Ne A AN ACTS. Ae YR ITAL AONE RAR PE UTES TI

meee

Statement of the Case 3

furnace from said transfer car, loading means at said

service area adapted to load said furnace and a cooling

and unloading section in said service area spaced from

the loading means.” [Appendix C, Col. 1. line 61 — Col.

2, line 9.]

Petitioners conceived their invention in 1964. and

successfully reduced it to practice in April 1966 at their

Springdale, Pennsylvania plant, where they began the

commercial production of sieon carbide. After this plant

began operations, Petitioners filed an application for Letters

Patent that matured into Patent ‘605.

The Reissue Patent:

Reissue Patent ‘OLS is identical to the original Patent ‘605

except for the addition of claims 11-14. Not one word,

number or line of the description in the specification and

drawings was changed. And claims 1-10 of Patent ‘O1S are

the same as the claims of Patent ‘605.

Claims 11-14 enlarged the scope of the claims from the

original patent, but only in two substantive respects: First,

the requirement that the “transfer car” be movable “on a

trackway extending transversely to the main trackway”

(claim 1) was removed to make the claim commensurate

with the broader description in the specification, above

quoted, supra, p. 4. Second, the “transter car” was pre-

scribed as a “transter means between the first trackway and

the second trackway selectively delivering a furnace car

from one to the other” to enable the claims to cover the

embodiments “described in’ the | specification — and

equivalents thereof” in accordance with 35 U.S.C. $112.

The reissue of the patent was spawned when. shortly

after the original patent was issued, petitioners learned of

respondent's plan to build a mobile furnace plant for making

silicon carbide at) Jacksboro, Tennessee Bolkcom and

Knapp counseled with their patent counse! and were advised

6 Statement of the Case

that their patent was sufficient to cover the proposed plant,

as they were advised it would be. The investigation

concluded, however, that the patent claims were not

adequate to cover the patented combination where the

transfer means were ladder tracks, overhead cranes and

turntables not supported on trackways; and the reissue

resulted.

The Accused Combination:

Respondent's Jacksboro Plant went into operation in

April 1971, shortly after its completion. This marked

Carborundum’s first) departure from the — stationary

manufacturing plant proposed by Acheson in 1891, despite a

continuing search by its skilled personnel for a more facile,

economical and efficient way of making silicon carbide.

The Jacksboro Plant came about after respondent

became fully advised of petitioners’ invention. Bolkcom and

Knapp sought to interest Carborundum in licensing or

buying their invention. To that end, two of Carborundum’s

officials visited the Springdale Plant on May 12, 1967, and

were given a copy of the original patent application, then

pending.

July 5, 1968 is the date of the sketch layout of

Carborundum’s proposed mobile furnace plant at

Jacksboro. It reveals that Carborundum proposed to use

petitioner's combination verbatim with the transfer means

that its representatives had seen at the Springdale Plant,

namely, a transfer car movable linearly on supporting tracks

extending transversely of the trackways for the mobile

furnaces.

The plant combination actually built at Jacksboro was

virtually identical in every respect to the Springdale Plant

except that a turntable supported at its periphery on curved

trackways extending transversely of the trackways for the

mobile furnace was used instead of a transfer car movable

P BLEED THROUGH

-—-—

So ERD NI RT INN ES LM RA I AY Ms I ITI PTE TCS a0 i SIN BS RSC UMRAO

Statement of the Case 7

linearly on supporting transverse tracks. The purported

reason for the change was that “to utilize a surplus railroad

turntable in place of the transfer car previously

planned . . . could save us about $90,000.”

Decisions Below:

The district court held that claims 1-10 of Patent ‘01S

(identical to the claims of Patent 605) were valid, but were

not literally infringed by the accused combination, even

though that combination was virtually identical in all other

respects except that it employed a turntable instead of a

linear transfer car to achieve selectivity. The district court

also found that a turntable was not equivalent to the linear

transfer car arrangement. The district court did find that the

accused combination with the turntable responded to the

broader reissue claims 11-14 with the “transfer means,” but

found those claims were invalid under 35 U.S. C. §251] as an

“unauthorized enlargement of the disclosure of the patent.”

The court of appeals affirmed the decision of the

district court finding claims 1-10 of Patent ‘018 valid, 523

F.2d at 498-501. The circuit court again found that the

accused plant was “virtually identical with” the patented

combination of claims 1-10 “in every other respect [except

it] utilized a turntable instead of a transfer car to transport

the mobile furnaces,” 523 F.2d at 502, and found that “the

turntable does perform substantially the same function as

the transfer car” to achieve “the same result,” 523 F.2d at

502,503. But the court declined to overturn the district court's

finding of non-equivalence.

The court of appeals found that the accused combina-

tion with « “turntable apparently falls within the broader

reissue claims coverage of a ‘transfer means’,” 523 F.2d at

498. And, on validity of claims 11-14, the circuit court found,

523 F.2d at 497:

“Typical of the new claims added, 11-14, is claim 1),

which is identical to claim number 1 in substance except

De OREN

SRW SED REND tek TR Teer aeean,

8 Reasons for Granting Review

that it provides for achieving the desired selectivity

through the use of a ‘transfer means’ instead of a

‘transfer car on a track transverse to the main

trackway.” [Emphasis added. |

Yet, the court found claims 11-14 “were an unauthorized

enlargment of the disclosure in the original patent” following

U.S. Industrial Chemicals, Inc. v. Carbide & Carbon Corp.,

315 U.S. 668 (1942), and affirmed the finding of invalidity of

them.

REASONS FOR GRANTING REVIEW

I. THERE IS A CONFLICT AMONG THE COURTS

OF APPEALS ON THE STATUTORY AUTHORITY

OF THE COMMISSIONER OF PATENTS TO

GRANT REISSUE PATENTS WITH CLAIMS

ENLARGING OR NARROWING THE SCOPE OF

THE CLAIMS OF THE ORIGINAL PATENTS.

This case presents issues of first impression for this

Court of substantial general importance with respect to the

interpretation of the reissue section of the 1952 Patent Act.

This Court has never considered §251, U.S.C. Title 35,

governing the reissue of patents. The question in this case is

crucial to the validity of hundreds of reissue patents with

claims enlarging or narrowing the scope of the original

patents.

To date, five courts of appeals and the Court of

Customs and Patent Appeals have adopted conflicting -

standards on the propriety of reissuing patents with

broadened or limited claims under §251, U.S.C. Title 35. The

Seventh Circuit and the Court of Customs and Patent

Appeals have followed the express language of §251 and

r BLEED THROUGH

a ee tt 2 7

fates PRT PNT Roe te RAE 2a Ra EET aes §

ee ee ot ee ERS EPA AR ELAR IE SO API AS

Reasons for Granting Review 9

validated reissue patents “for the invention disclosed in the

original patent . . . enlarging [and narrowing] the scope of

the claims,” provided “no new matter” was introduced in the

application for reissue. The Fourth Circuit, Ninth Circuit,

Tenth Circuit and now the Sixth Circuit! have adopted more

restrictive standards on reissue of patents. The latter

decisions purport to follow U.S. Industrial Chemical, Inc. v.

Carbide & Carbon Chemicals Corp., 315 U.S. 668 (1942),

construing repealed statute §64, R.S. §4916, May 24, 1928.

which requires that the reissue patents be “for the same

invention” as the original patent. The conflict involves

important issues which have not, but should be decided by

this Court.

Section 251 of the 1952 Patent Act provides for “Reissue

of Defective Patents” as follows:

“Whenever any patent is, through error without any

deceptive intention, deemed wholly or partly in-

operative or invalid, by reason of a defective specifica-

tion or drawing, or by reason of the patentee claiming

more or less than he hada right to claim in the patent, the

Commissioner shall, on the surrender of such patent and

the payment of the fee required by law, reissue the

patent for the invention disclosed in the original patent,

and in accordance with a new and amended applica-

tion, for the unexpired part of the term of the original

patent. No new matter shall be introduced into the

application for reissue.

The Commissioner may issue several reissued

patents for distinct and separate parts of the thing

patented, upon demand of the applicant, and upon

payment of the required fee for a reissue for each of

such reissued patents.

1 The Sixth Circuit appeared to construe §251 in accordance with its

express language, Hartzell Industries, Inc. v. McCauley Industrial Corp..

304 F.2d 481 (1962), but adopted a different, restrictive interpretation in

this case without reference to its earlier decision.

PEER SOMES 8 Man ks NE

10 Reasons for Granting Review

The provisions of this title relating to applications

for patents shall be applicable to applications for reissue

of a patent, except that application for reissue may be

made and sworn to by the assignee of the entire interest

if the application does not seek to enlarge the scope of

the claims of the original patent.

No reissued patent shall be granted enlarging the

scope of the claims of the original patent unless applied

for within two years from the grant of the original

patent. July 19, 1952, c. 950, §1, 66 Stat. 808.” [Emphasis

added. |

This statute provides that reissue patents can enlarge (within

two vears) or narrow the scope of the claims of the original

patent where the patentee claimed “more or less than he had

a right to claim” in the original patent.

Prior to the enactment of 35 U.S.C. §251, a patentee was

entitled to a reissue patent under the provisions of §64,° R.S.

2“Whenever any patent is wholly or partly inoperative or invalid, by

reason of a defective or insufficient specification, or by reason of the

patentee claiming as his own invention or discovery more than he had a

right to claim as new, if the error has arisen by inadvertence, accident, or

mistake, and without any fraudulent or deceptive intention, the

commissioner shall, on the surrender of such patent and the payment of

the duty required by law, cause @ patent for the same invention, and in

accordance with the corrected specification, to be reissued to the patentee

or to his assigns or legal representatives, for the unexpired part of the term

of the original patent. Such surrender shall take effect upon the issue of the

reissued patent, but in so far as the claims of the original and reissued

patents are identical, such surrender shall not affect any action then

pending nor abate any cause of action then existing, and the reissued

patent to the extent that its claims are identical with the original patent

shall constitute a continuation thereof and have effect continuously from

the date of the original patent. The commissioner may, in his discretion,

cause several patents to be issued for distinct and separate parts of the

thing patented, upon demand of the applicant, and upon payment of the

required fee for a reissue for each of such reissued letters patent. The

specifications and claims in every such case shall be subject to revision and

restriction in the same manner as original applications are. Every patent so

reissued, together with the corrected specifications, shall have the same

(continued )

> BLEED THROUGH

——

we

PO PAAM

ore See ie eee ts ae

ree

Reasons for Granting Review 1]

§4916, May 24, 1928 c. 730, 45 Stat. 732. That section did not

by its terms provide that a patentee could enlarge the scope

of the claims by obtaining a reissue patent. Rather, §64

provided that the Commissioner of Patents “shall . . . cause

a patent for the same invention, and in accordance with the

corrected specification, to be issued to the patentee . . .’

The “same invention” requirement was last interpreted

by this Court in U.S. Industrial Chemicals, Inc. v. Carbide &

Carbon Chemicals Corp., 315 U.S. 668, 675-76 (1942). There,

the Court held, inter alia, that:

“[I]t is not enough that an invention might have been

claimed in the original patent because it was suggested

or indicated in the specification. It must appear from

the face of the instrument that what is covered by the

reissue was intended to have been covered and secured

by the original.”

While this holding was consonant with earlier decisions

under prior Patent Acts containing the “same invention”

requirement which limited reissue patents enlarging and

narrowing claims to strict standards, see, e.g., Parker and

Whipple Co. v. Yale Lock Co., 123 U.S. 87 (1887), the

decision does not present the standards controlling the

reissue of patents under the Patent Act of 1952.

Section 64 of the Revised Statutes was repealed by the

Act of July 1952, c. 950, §1.66 Stat. 792, which enacted into

law a new reissue statute, §251. Section 251 made three (3)

effect and operation in law, on the trial of all actions for causes thereafter

arising, as if the same had been originally filed in such corrected form; but

no new matter shall be introduced into the specification, nor in case of a

machine patent shall the model or drawings be amended, except each by

the other; but when there is neither model nor drawing, amendments may

be made upon proof satisfactory to the commissioner that such new

matter or amendment was a part of the original invention, and was

omitted from the specification by inadvertence, accident, or mistake. as

aforesaid.” [Emphasis added. ]

ELINA Sa RRP MI aS ON NN dea AE aT,

12 Reasons for Granting Review

important changes from the prior statutory law with its

judicial interpretation:

1. It specifically provided that a reissue patent can

be granted enlarging the scope of the claims of the

original patent if the reissue patent is applied for within

two years of grant of the original patent;

2. It provided when the patentee claimed “more or

less than he had a right to claim in the [original] patent,

the Commission shall... reissue the patent for the

invention disclosed in the original patent” with “the

provisions of this title relating to applications for

patent... applicable to applications for reissue...”

and

3. It eliminated the requirement that the claims of

the reissue be “for the same invention” as the original

patent.

Notwithstanding the change of law effected by §251,

certain circuits have continued to restrict reissue patents by

engrafting on the express terms of the statute the legal

criteria of repealed statute §64 as judicially interpreted. The

Sixth Circuit forcefully states the position of these courts of

appeals in the present case. Citing and quoting U-S.

Industrial Chemicals Co. v. Carbide & Carbon Chemicals

Corp., supra, and Parker and Whipple Co. v. Yale Lock Co.,

supra, the Court found, 523 F.2d at 502:

“The Supreme Court has made it clear that this

section [§251] is intended only to permit the reissue of a

new patent for the same invention as that disclosed in

the original patent in order to permit the correction of

an innocent inadvertent defect or omission. It is not

intended to permit the patentee to broaden the claims of

the original patent.” [Emphasis added in part]

Applying this enouncement, the court found that the new

claims (i.e., claims 11-14) added by reissue were not limited

eal

> BLEED THROUGH

FRAME LGN SMM ARRAN eter

Ome

SLA Dm RT a EI Neha tk Ae

Reasons for Granting Review 13

in scope to the explicit disclosure of the original patent and

“were an unauthorized enlargement of the disclosure in the

original patent” 523 F.2d at 502.

The Fourth, Ninth and Tenth Circuits have enounced

similar standards governing the reissue of patents. These

courts of appeals too do not consider the statutory changes

brought by §251. Following U.S. Industrial Chemicals and

other decisions under repealed section 64, these courts

require that a reissue patent, unlike an original patent, must

be limited to the same invention “explicitly disclosed and

taught” in the original application for patent:

“It must appear upon the face of the original patent

that the matter covered by the reissue was intended to

have been covered and secured by the original .... The

broader claims of the reissue must be more than merely

suggested or indicated in the original patent. U.S.

Industrial Chemicals, Inc., v. Carbide & Carbon

Chemicals Corp., 315 U.S. 668, 675-676, 62 S.Ct. 839,

844, 86 L.Ed. 1105. As observed in that case, “it is not

enough that an invention might have been claimed in

the original patent because it was suggested or indicated

in the specification.” Riley v. Broadway-Hale Stores

Inc., 217 F.2d 530, 532. (9 Cir., 1954) [Emphasis added. }

Accord, McCullough Tool Co. v. Well Surveys, Inc. 343 F.2d

381, 389 (10 Cir., 1965) cert. den. 383 U.S. 933; Lockwood v.

Langendorf United Bakeries, Inc., 324 F.2d 82, 94 (9 Cir.,

1963); and Sears, Roebuck & Co. v. Minnesota Mining &

Mfg. Co. 243 F.2d 136, 140 (4 Cir., 1957) cert. den. 355 U.S.

932.

On the other hand, the Seventh Circuit has taken the

view that §251 “is remedial in intent and should be read

liberally”, Hickory Springs Mfg. Co. v. Fredman Brothers

Furniture Co. Inc. et al, 509 F.2d 55,61 (1975). That court of

appeals has found that the reissue privilege has been

broadened by §251 with the limitation remaining that no

OR eee

NEES BAA OE eT Oa ER ae (atieemtheinaietn ee tt rt

=>

14 Reasons for Granting Review

“new matter” shall be added by way of reissue. Literally

applying the statutory provision, the Seventh Circuit has

consistently held:

“[We are of the opinion that an applicant for reissue

may fully describe his original invention and include in

his new description and claims not only what was

described before, but also what was suggested or

implied in the original drawings, specifications and

models. Inasmuch as the justified finding of the court

was that the reissue patent included only the inherent

function and mode of operation of the original patent, it

follows that no new matter was introduced.” Weller

Mfg. Co. v. Wen Products, Inc. 231 F.2d 795, 800 (7 Cir.,

1956) [Emphasis added. }

Accord, Hazeltine Research Inc. v. Avco Mfg. Corp. 227

F.2d 137, 143-44 (7 Cir., 1955) cert den. 350 U.S. 987; Scovill

Mfg. Co. v. Goldblatt Brothers, Inc. et al, 362 F.2d 777, 779-

80 (7 Cir., 1966) cert den. 385 F.2d 970; Maxant Button ¢

Supply Co. v. Sears, Roebuck & Co., 388 F.2d 912, 916-17 (7

Cir., 1968); and Kearney & Trecker Corp. v. Tiddings &

Lewis, Inc. 452 F.2d 579, 593 (7 Cir., 1971) cert den. 405 U.S.

1066. See also, Union Asbestas & Rubber Co. v. Paltier Corp.

298 F.2d 48, 51-54 (7 Cir., 1962) cert. den. 369 U.S. 865; and

Crane Packing Co. v. Spitfire Tool & Machine Co. 276 F.2d

271, 274 (7 Cir., 1960) cert. den. 363 U.S. 820.

Similarly, the Court of Customs and Patent Appeals

(CCPA) has expressly rejected a restrictive interpretation of

§251. Citing U. S. Industrial Chemicals, Inc. v. Carbide &

Carbon Chemicals Corp., supra, and Parker and Whipple

Co. v. Yale Lock Co., supra, the CCPA observed that “these

cases were prior to the enactment of the Patent Act of 1952,

which changes the words of the prior law, ‘for the same

invention’, to the words above-quoted [‘for the invention

disclosed in the original patent’]”, and went on to hold:

> BLEED THROUGH

Reasons for Granting Review 15

“[I]f the board’s view were to prevail, the reissue statute

would be of very little practical effect, for, by

elementary principles of claim _ interpretation,

whenever an element or other limitation is added to or

taken from a claim it becomes a claim to a different

invention. Yet the whole purpose of the statute, so far as

claims are concerned, is to permit limitations to be

added to claims that are too broad or to be taken from

claims that are too narrow. That is what the statute

means in referring to ‘claiming more or less than he had

a right to claim’ ”. Application of Handel, 312 F.2d 943,

948 (CCPA, 1963). [Emphasis added. }

Accord, Application of Wesseler, 367 F.2d 838, 847-48

(CCPA, 1966).

The Seventh Circuit and CCPA have, therefore,

construed $251 to mean that it is enough that the invention

might have been claimed in the original patent. Those courts

have found that the patentee has the right to reissue a patent

to cover the invention disclosed in the original application as

fully as he could have in the original application in

accordance with “the provisions of this title relating to

applications for patent”. Moreover, those courts hold that

the patentee is entitled to utilize the remedial provisions of

§251 to claim his invention in a reissue of his patent by

omitting or adding limitations in the claims provided he can

show that claiming “more or less than he had a right to claim”

in the original patent was “through error” and added “no

new matter”.

The present case clearly presents the conflicting

positions of the lower courts for decision. Here, the

specification, drawings and claims 1-10 of the original and

reissue patents are identical. No “new matter” was added.

The objection is that the new reissue claims eliminated the

requirement that the “transfer car” be movable “on a

trackway extending transversely to the main trackway,” and

SOND, PL DAR et —

SaaasT DBE ~ 0 nthe CORR LS APE A RR Ot Oa

16 Reasons for Granting Review

substituted for the “transfer car” a “transfer

eans ... selectively delivering a furnace car from one

[trackway] to the other [trackway |" in the enlarged claims

(claim 11). The former change made the claims of the patent

commensurate with the description of the invention in the

specification, quoted supra, p. 4 (Appendix ©, Col. 1, line

61 - Col, 2, line 9); and the latter change enlarged the claim

consonant with 35 ©OS.C, §$ll2 which ordains that “a

means... for performing a specified function... shall be

construed to cover the corresponding structure, material or

acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof.”

Accordingly, the reissue patent in this case enlarged the

scope of the claims to cover the “invention disclosed” that

could have properly been claimed in the original patent. The

claims are valid by the standards applied by the Seventh

Circuit and the CCPA. Yet these claims were held invalid as

“an unauthorized) enlargement) of the disclosure” by

engrafting the restrictive legal criteria of repealed §64. The

conflict clearly involves a substantial question of general

impact which has not, but should be resolved by this Court.

Il. IT IS TIME TO RENEW AND VITALIZE THE

DOCTRINE OF EQUIVALENTS WITH ITS IM-

PORTANCE TO THE APPLICATION OF THE

PATENT LAWS. THE COURT OF APPEALS

DECISION ABROGATES THE DOCTRINE OF

EQUIVALENTS ESTABLISHED BY THIS COURT

TO GUARANTEE TO PATENTEES THE STATU-

TORY RIGHT OF EXCLUSIVITY.

This case also presents issues of substantial nationwide

importance with respect to the viability of the doctrine of

equivalents, The doctrine of equivalents was last enounced

twenty-five (25) years ago in Graver Tank & Mfg. Co., Ine.

v. Linde Air Products Co., 339 U.S, 605 (1950), Since then,

» BLEED THROUGH

et De a

Reasons for Granting Review 17

the courts of appeals have taken diverse positions in

applying the doctrine particularly since this Court's decision

in Tigrett Industries v. Standard Industries, 397 U.S. 586

(1970), reh. den, 398 U.S, 944". The present case is a classic

for denominating equivalence, providing an extraordinary

opportunity for the Court to rejuvenate and develop the

methodology of the doctrine of equivalents: The facts of the

case are relatively simple; the lower courts made all the

factual findings necessary for a finding of equivalents

adjudged by the criteria of Graver Tank; and vet, the lower

court failed to find equivalence based on an incidental

difference between one element of the accused combination

and a corresponding element of the patented combination.

The doctrine of equivalents is a principle of equity that

originated over 120 years ago in Winans v. Denmead, 56 U.S.

S45 (15 How. 330) (1853). The doctrine provides that even

though the accused device or practice does not literally meet

the claims of the patent, it nonetheless infringes “if it

performs substantially the same function in substantially the

same wayrto obtain the same result.” Sanitary Refrigerator

Co. v. Winters, 280 U.S. 30, 42 (1929). The reasons for the

doctrine were forcefully stated by the Court in Graver Tank

& Mfg. Co., Inc. v. Linde Air Products Co., supra at 607:

“[CJourts have ... recognized that to permit imitation

of a patented invention which does not copy every

literal detail would be to convert the protection of the

patent grant into a hollow and useless thing. Such a

limitation would leave room for — indeed encourage —

the unscrupulous copyist to make unimportant and

insubstantial changes and substitutions in the patent

3 Tigrett Industries cast doubt on this Court's continued acceptance

of the doctrine of equivalents because of the amicus brief of the

Department of Justice which frontally attacked the doctrine. The decision

was affirmed by ad-tod per curiam opinion, with two silent dissenters as

well, See Dunner, Gambell and Kayton, Patent Law Perspectives, Annual

Reviews, Bl [1 ][b]

i NEI Te def

18 Reasons for Granting Review

which, though adding nothing, would be enough to take

the copies matter outside the claim, and hence outside

the reach of law, One who seeks to pirate an invention,

like one who seeks to pirate a copyrighted book or play,

may be expected to introduce minor variations to

conceal and shelter the piracy. Outright and forthright

duplication is a dull and very rare type of infringement.

To prohibit no other would place the inventor at the

merey of verbalism and would be subordinating

substance to form, It would deprive him of the benefit

of his invention and would foster concealment rather

than disclosure of inventions, which is one of the

primary purposes of the patent system.”

[Emphasis added. |

Consonant with these equities, the doctrine of equivalents

was “consistently applied by this Court and the lower

federal courts...” for almost a hundred years, operating in

favor of “the patentee of a secondary invention consisting of

a combination of old ingredients which produce new and

useful results” as well as the patentee of a pioneer invention,

supra at 608.

Graver Tank states the methodology to be applied in

adjudicating equivalents particularly in combination patents

as follows, supra at 609:

“Equivalence, in the patent law, is not the prisoner of a

formula and is not an absolute to be considered in a

vacuum. It does not require complete identity for every

purpose and in every respect. In determining

equivalents, things equal to the same thing may not be

equal to each other and, by the same token, things for

most purposes different may sometimes be equivalents.

Consideration must be given to the purpose for which

an ingredient is used ina patent, the qualities ithas when

combined with the other ingredients, and the function

which it is intended to perform. An important factor is

whether persons reasonably skilled in the art would

r BLEED THROUGH

ei emeitin ad entenenet thetic et Oe ee

cS re aa,

-—-

RI AES IE

Reasons for Granting Review 19

have known of the interchangeability of an ingredient

not contained in the patent with one that was.”

[Emphasis added. |

The methodology, therefore, is to address substance instead

of form, and consider the element of the combination

asserted to be an equivalent for the function which it

performs and the qualities it imparts “when combined with”

the other elements of the combination, and for its known

“interchangeability” for the corresponding element of the

patented combination,

Adjudicated by the Graver methodology, equivalence

of the accused combination and the patented combination is

clearly established. Both lower courts found that the accused

plant was “virtually identical ... inevery other respect” with

the claimed combination of the original claims 1-10, except

the accused plant “utilized a turntable instead of a transfer

car to transport the mobile furnaces,” 523 F.2d at 502. And

the lower courts found that “the turntable does perform

substantially the same function as the transfer car,” 523 F.2d

at 503, and “achieved the same result” in the patented

combination, 523 F.2d at 502. Hence, the function the

turntable performs and the qualities it imparts “when

combined with” the other elements of the patented

combination are established.

Moreover, the “important element” that “persons

resonably skilled in the art would have known of the

interchangeability,” Graver, supra at 609, is present. The

court of appeals otherwise found in determining validity

that the Van Wagenen Patent No. 492,069 “shows a turntable

having wheels located at its periphery which ride on a track

as the turntable rotates;” and that the German Patent No.

854,207 shows “the groups of furnaces move ... back down

the tracks to a turntable where they are positioned to move

onto tracks leading to the servicing area,” 523 F.2d at 499.

The turntable was, therefore, there ready in the pertinent art

me ns RS os

20 Reasons for Granting Review

to be substituted once the patented combination became

known to respondent on inspection of petitioners’

Springdale plant. It was certainly an imperceptible step to

make the furnace car trackway radial rather than parallel

and the transverse trackway curved in a circle rather than

straight to provide for interchangeability once the patented

combination was made known. By the methodology of

Graver, equivalence and infringement are, therefore,

established in substance by the lower courts’ findings.

The court of appeals did not apply the Graver

methodology in adjudicating infringement. Although pur-

porting to follow Graver, the court overlooked two of

Graver'’s most salient admonitions: (i) “It does not require

complete identity for every purpose and in every respect”,

and (ii) “In determining equivalents, . .. things for [some or]

most purposes different may sometimes be equivalents.”

Certainly, whether the transfer means selectively moves a

mobile furnace from area to area by rotational motion

instead of translational motion, along curved transverse

tracks instead of straight tracks, or by pivoting about a

central pivot instead of with another suitable drive means is

of no consequence to the fundamental interrelation and

operation of the patented combination‘. It may diminish

performance and quality of the patented combination

because, as the lower court observed, “the turntable may be

limited by the number of tracks” and “only one furnace at a

time can be transferred by the turntable,” 523 F.2d at 502.

But it is well-settled, equivalence cannot be avoided because

the accused method is less efficient and imperfectly

practices the patented combination, e.g., Ziegler v. Phillips

Petroleum Co., 483 F.2d 858, 868, 871 (5 Cir., 1973) cert. den.

4 The court's statement that “the turntable itself is stationary and

transfers the furnances by pivoting around a central point,” 523 F.2d at

303. is internally inconsistent and inconsistent with its previous finding on

validity that “the turntable rotates,” 523 F.2d at 499.

P BLEED THROUGH

9

OS IR iit

Reasons for Granting Review 21

414 U.S. 1079; and McCollough Tool Co. v. Well Surveys,

supra 343 F.2d at 402.

The court of appeals’ decision is also in direct conflict

with the application of the doctrine of equivalents in

Tektronix, Inc. v. United States, 445 F.2d 323 (Ct. Cl., 1970)°.

In Tektronix, one of the patents was directed to an

oscilloscope sweep generator circuit for establishing precise

timing for the horizontal sweep. It claimed a sweep

generator which included, among other things, “a pair of

series connected diodes.” The two infringing devices met

the details and particulars of the claims fully except that

substituted for the diodes in one was a pair of triodes and in

the other a pair of pentodes. Although the triodes and

pentodes provided some incidental benefits in the circuit, it

was clear that the triodes and pentodes were used expressly

and primarily for their diode function.

The Court recognized that, “Often, diodes, triodes and

pentodes are not interchangeable, and thus are not equiva-

lents, because of the different operating characteristics in-

herent in their construction,” 445 F.2d at 329. In an earlier

Court of Claims case, Marconi Wireless Telegraph Co. v.

United States, 81 Ct. Cl. 671 (Ct. Cl., 1935), aff'd in part and

rev d in part, 320 U.S. 1 (1943), the court had expressly held

that diodes and triodes were not equivalents for that

invention. In that case, signal amplification, which is not

possible in a diode, was a significant and material function

for weak radio signals and therefore the amplifying triodes

were held “not equivalent in the circuit in question.” 445 F.2d

at 329. In Tektronix, however, the court of claims cogently

pointed out that it was the diode function of the triodes and

pentodes that was the very reason for the use of the pentodes

and triodes, “the other differences in their operating features

5 Tektronix is said to be in “facts and law denominating a classic

equivalence situation,” Dunner, Gambell and Kayton, Patent Law

Perspectives, Annual Reviews B.1 [1][b}.

22 Reasons for Granting Review

being not so significant or material as to affect the essential

operation of the circuit” 445 F.2d at 329. For the purposes of

the claimed invention, therefore, the diodes and the triodes

in the circuits did “operate in substantially the same way

with substantially the same means to get substantially the

same result.” 445 F.2d at 329.

Likewise, this case is a classic case for denominating the

doctrine of equivalents. Like Tektronix, the substantive

findings of equivalence were established by the lower

courts. In this case the only act which awaits is legal

conclusion of equivalence by this Court in revitalizing and

unfolding the methodology of its decision in Graver Tank &

Mfg. Co., Inc. v. Linde Air Products Co., now twenty-five

years removed.

CONCLUSION

This case presents the Court with an unprecedented

opportunity of resolving two questions of substantial general

and lasting importance to the patent laws. The first question

is one of first impression for this Court, upon which a conflict

in decisions among the courts of appeals has arisen. The

second question involves a doctrine of tremendous impor-

tance to the application of the patent laws sorrily in need of

revitalizing after twenty-five years without pronouncement

by this Court. The petition should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

ARLAND T. STEIN,

THomas C. WEeTTACH

REED SMITH SHAW & McCLAY

747 Union Trust Building

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15230

Attorneys for Petitioners

March 3, 1976

> BLEED THROUGH

--—

2”

epee

Jn the

Supreme Court of the Umted States

OcroBer TERM, 1975

no. 75-1244

WILBUR T. BOLKCOM and WILLIAM E. KNAPP.

Petitioners.

™

THE CARBORUNDUM COMPANY,

Respondent.

APPENDIX

To Petition For A Writ oF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNirep States Court oF APPEALS

FOR THE SixtH Circuit

ARLAND T. STEIN

THomas ©. WetracH

REED SMITH SHAW & McCLAY

747 Union Trust Building

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15230

Attorneys for Petitioners

Financial Press Corporation, Pittsburgh

mi enrn LIfe wi scoiu

(eetrerrec ye

~-

INDEX TO APPENDIX

Opinion of the Court of Appeals ..................0005

Judgment of the Court of Appeals .....................

a ia ina eae 6en 44.06408.5680 00 0a

CNY GE SED RPUIUOEE © MTE con centers dscceasereecscces

Findings and Conclusions of the District Court ..........

ee

RR A EA en

Appendix A

492

w

° £ KEY NUMBER SYSTEM

3

Wilbur T. BOLKCOM and William E.

Knapp, Plaintiffs-Appellants,

v.

The CARBORUNDUM COMPANY,

Defendant-Appellee.

No. 73-1320.

United States Court of Appeals,

Sixth Circuit.

Argued Oct. 5, 1973.

Decided Sept. 30, 1975.

A patent owner filed an action for

infringement of a combination patent

protecting the invention of a novel plan

for manufacture of silicon carbide.

From a judgment of the United States

523 FEDERAL REPORTER, 2d SERIES

District Court for the Eastern District of

Tennessee, Northern Division, A. Sher-

man Christensen, J., the plaintiffs ap-

pealed. The Court of Appeals, MeCree,

Circuit Judge, held, inter alia, that the

patent relating to more efficient and ec-

onomical means of manufacturing silicon

carbide was valid; that the claims of

reissue patent were invalid; and that

the district court’s finding of fact that

the defendants’ turntable was not the

equivalent of transfer car used in plain-

tiffs’ plant so that there was no in-

fringement was not clearly erroneous.

Affirmed.

1. Patents S18, 37, 46

There are three essential elements

of patent validity: novelty, utility, and

nonobviousness. 35 U.S.C.A. §§ 101-103.

2. Patents 2112.1

Every patent issued by the Patent

Office carries, at the outset, a presump-

tion of validity which is justified by the

complexities of patent law and the ex-

pertise of the Patent Office. 35 U/S.

C.A. § 282.

3. Patents @112.1

Where the most pertinent prior art

has been considered by the Patent Of-

fice, the presumption of validity is great-

ly strengthened; conversely, where ap-

plicable prior art has not been considered

by the Patent Office such presumption is

greatly weakened. 35 U.S.C.A. § 282.

4. Patents @=51(2)

In order to anticipate an invention,

prior art must have been reduced to use

and successfully performed; even though

imperfections and commercial difficulties

may be revealed by reduction to practice,

a device may nevertheless qualify as pri-

or art.

5. Patents @=51(2)

Since proposals in company memo-

randa were never put into practice, they

could not be considered as anticipating

the patent relating to manufacture of

silicon carbide.

OE EAE ME RENES ER GRIEG PEROT BOERS ITS FEE PIO NIE BI LSE

Appendix A

BOLKCOM v. CARBORUNDUM COMPANY 493

Cite as 523 F.2d 492 (1975)

6. Patents *45, 49

The utility and novelty of plaintiffs’

invention relating to more efficient and

economical means of manufacturing sili-

con carbide were demonstrated by undis-

puted need of industry for a plant layout

that would permit the continuous opera-

tion of the manufacturing process by se-

lective movement of furnaces throughout

its phases, and by the commercial success

of plaintiffs’ plant. 35 U.S.C.A. §§ 101-

103.

7. Patents <=40

The fact that the elements included

in plaintiffs’ combination patent were

found individually in prior art devices

did not defeat novelty. 35 U.S.C.A.

§§ 101-103.

8. Patents ®=17(2), 25, 26(2)

A claimed invention is not patenta-

ble if it is a mere aggregation of all

elements assembled with only mechanical

skill; in order to be patentable a combi-

nation must produce a new result or a

different function; the new invention

must be more than the sum of the old

parts. 35 U.S.C.A. § 108.

9. Patents @=328(2)

Patent No. 3,432,605 relating to

. more efficient and economical means of

manufacturing silicon carbide was not

obvious on consideration of the prior art

since it constituted more than a mere

aggregation of old elements in that new

result of selectivity was a significant ad-

vance over the prior art; the element of

selectivity made patent owners’ plant a

commercial success, solving an industry-

wide problem. 35 U.S.C.A. § 103.

10. Patents ®>36.2(1)

Because claimed invention was

greater than the sum of its parts and

produced a new result, the secondary

considerations mentioned by the Su-

preme Court, including commercial suc-

cess resulting from greatly increased ef-

ficiency, were relevant in determining

validity. 35 U.S.C.A. § 103.

11. Patents @=18, 37, 46

Since patent relating to more effi-

cient and economical means of manufac-

1%

turing silicon carbide satisfied the re-

quirements of novelty, utility, and non-

obviousness, the patent was valid. 35

U.S.C.A. §§ 101-108.

12. Patents @141(1, 3)

The statute relating to reissue of de-

fective patents is intended only to per-

mit the reissue of a new patent for the

same invention as that disclosed in origi-

nal patent in order to permit the correc-

tion of an innocent inadvertent defect or

omission; it is not intended to permit

the patentee to broaden the claims of

the original patent; the new description

of claims may not properly include addi-

tions to invention which were not de-

scribed, suggested, nor substantially indi-

cated in the original specifications, draw-

ings, or patent office model. 35 U.S.C.A.

§ 251.

13. Patents <—141(4)

Claims added in reissue patent were

invalid because they were an unauthor-

ized enlargement of the disclosure in

original patent relating to more efficient

and economical means of manufacturing

silicon carbide.

14. Patents 0=324.55(5)

The district court’s finding that

company’s turntable in manufa‘ ‘uring

silicon carbide was not the equivalent of

transfer car used in patent owners’ plant

was not clearly erroneous even though

turntable performed substantially the

same function as transfer car, where the

way in which turntable accomplished re-

sult differed from that of the transfer

car in that turntable itself was station-

ary and transferred the furnaces by piv-

oting around central point, while trans-

fer car could move them about from lo-

cation to location, and important practi-

cal consequences might result from such

difference. 35 U.S.C.A. § 251.

15. Patents <=178

Where the patent is a pioneer, the

patentee is allowed to claim a_ wide

range of equivalents, but where the pat-

ent represents only a small but signifi-

cant advance because the art is crowded,

the doctrine of equivalents is given a

Bb ktes:::: Se Rey RTM OI oes

Appendix A

494

corresponding narrow range. 35 USS.

C.A. § 251.

J. W. Baker, Poore, Cox, Baker, McAu-

ley, Ray & Byrne, Knoxville, Tenn., Wal-

ter J. Blenko, Thomas L. Sivak, Blenko,

leonard & Buell, Pittsburgh, Pa., for

plaintiffs-appellants.

E. Bruce Foster, Sr., Knoxville, Tenn.,

William H. Webb, Webb, Burden, Robin-

son & Webb, P. A., David C. Bruening,

Pittsburgh, Pa., for defendant-appellee.

Before WEICK, McCREE and LIVE-

LY, Circuit Judges.

McCREE, Circuit Judge.

This is an appeal from the dismissal of

an action by appellants, Bolkcom and

Knapp, for infringement of a combina-

tion patent protecting the invention of a

novel plant for the manufacture of sili-

con carbide. The patent in suit is Patent

Re. 27,018 (hereinafter Patent '018) dat-

ed January 5, 1971, a reissue of Patent

No. 3,482,605 (hereinafter Patent '605),

dated March 11, 1969. The district court

held that claims 11-14, which were add-

ed by the reissue, were invalid because

they were an unauthorized eniargement

of the disclosures of the original patent.

It also held that the claims that were

earricd over from the © original

Patent ‘605 to the reissue were valid, but

were not infringed by the appellee's

plant because it employed an element

not disclosed as part of the patented

combination.

We agree that the broader claims add-

ed by reissue are invalid, that the origi-

nal claims are valid, and that the ac-

cused plant does not infringe the original

claims. We therefore affirm.

Silicon carbide (SiC), a compound said

to be second in hardness only to a dia-

mond, is used primarily for grinding

wheels, other abrasive uses, and in re-

fractories. It is made by fusing sand

and a source of carbon like coke or

graphite. Silica (SiO.) and Carbon (C)

react under extreme heat to produce sili-

con carbide. After the raw materials

are mixed together and placed in a fur-

OER LOPS EP RNS: IT iA NN ST ERO RR RY

523 FEDERAL REPORTER, 2d SERIES

nace, an electric resistant core 1s fired by

passing an clectrical current through it

to raise the charge to the extremely high

temperature (about 4,000 degrees F.)

necessary to achieve the reaction prod-

uct, silicon carbide. Silicon carbide was

first made by Exlward Acheson in 1891

and he founded The Carborundum Com-

pany, which today still enjoys the largest

share of the total market for silicon car-

bide.

A significant feature of Acheson's

process is that the furnaces must be

fired in close proximity to the source of

electrical power because of the capital

expense and power losses which result

from lengthened electrical leads. Inso-

far as the record shows, before appel-

lants’ invention was put into practice, all

manufacturers of silicon carbide in

North America relied upon the use of

stationary, horizontal furnaces set in

banks of four to six, close to one another

and to the electrical source. The firing

of a charge sufficient to form silicon car-

bide in the Acheson process takes about

thirty hours. Hand labor is used in load-

ing and unloading the furnaces, and the

cramped working conditions resulting

from the close proximity of the furnaces

to each other and to the electrical source

made this activity difficult and danger-

ous. After firing, the stationary fur-

naces required about three days to cool

before workmen could unload them and

load a new charge. Typically, the four

furnaces in a bank attached to an elec-

trical source were employed in a cycle of

operations, with one furnace being load-

ed, one charging, one cooling, and one

being unloaded. The total cycle—load-

ing, charging, cooling, and unloading—

took about five to seven days for each

furnace.

The recognized industry need for more

efficient and economical mean: of manu-

facturing silicon carbide was described in

appellants’ patent as follows:

In the past silicon carbide has been

manufactured in stationary electric

furnaces. Such stationary furnace in-

stallations usually require four to six

furnaces for each transformer in order

Se Re ee eae

PEND FERRIS. VENT ATR Ge

BUR AED GIRE aly ME TOE PAGS RI gb

Appendix A

BOLKCOM v. CARBORUNDUM COMPANY

495

Cite as 523 F.2d 492 (1975)

to utilize the transformer to its maxi-

mum efficiency, with one furnace

heating, one being unloaded, one load-

ing, and the remainder cooling. This

requires very large capital investment

in buildings and furnaces. The un-

loading of such furnaces is quite diffi-

cult and tedious because of the adja-

cent hot furnaces and because of the

necessity of using large amounts of

hand labor to remove the silicon czr-

bide from the furnace due to the prox-

imity of the adjacent furnaces and the

difficulty of using mechanical unload-

ing equipment in the restricted floor

space available. This also requires

that the furnaces be cooled [a]n extra-

ordinary long time before unloading in

order to get the temperature down to

the point where the hand labor can be

effectively used. A further problem

arises in the loading of such furnaces

because of the adjacent other fur-

naces. This means lengthy conveyor

belts from the mixing bins to the fur-

naces or overhead cranes carrying suc-

cessive bucket loads to the furnace.

The district court found that “[{t]here has

always been a need in the industry for a

more facile, economical and efficient

way of making silicon carbide.”

To meet this need, appellants in 1964

conceived of a method of using mobile

_furnaces that could be removed from the

electrical source after being fired, placed

at a distance for cooling and stripping,

and then moved to another area of the

plant for reloading before again being

moved to the electrical source for charg-

ing. Appellants’ layout for manufacture

also embraced the advantage of selectivi-

ty—the ability to move any furnace car

for cooling, unloading, and loading, with-

out disturbing the position of any other

furnace car. This was to be accom-

plished by means of a “transfer car” on

a set of rails transverse to the primary

rails leading to the firing area and to

another set of rails leading to other are-

as in the plant where loading and un-

loading operations could more efficiently

be accomplished. Thus, a mobile furnace

could be rolled atop the transfer car, and

FREER II aS IY SOIR BRIBE LS BENE LOS TEST

the loaded car could be moved selectively

in and out of alignment with the various

trackways leading, on the one hand, to

the firing area and, on the other hand,

to the other plant areas for cooling, load-

ing, and unloading.

Appellants successfully put their in-

vention into practice in April 1966 by

constructing their Satellite Plant at

Springdale, Pennsylvania, where they be-

gan the commercial manufacture of sili-

con carbide. After this plant began op-

erations, appellants’ patent counsel pre-

pared and filed the application that ma-

tured into the original Patent ‘605. The

preferred mode of their invention was

disclosed in the patent, coupled with the

required detailed specification, as fol-

lows:

This invention relates to silicon car-

bide furnaces and plants and particu-

larly to a silicon carbide furnace which

can be fired in one position, removed

to a second position for cooling. and

unloading and to a plant incorporating

a plurality of such furnaces.

s = . . . .

Preferably we provide an clectrical

power source, a main trackway adja-

cent said power source, a furnace bot-

tom mounted on wheels on said track-

way movable to and away from said

power source, said furnace bottom

having a substantially flat heat resist-

ant surface, removable sides along

each side of said surface and remova-

ble ends on said surface, said sides and

ends defining a heating chamber, elec-

trode means in each of said ends, re-

movable connections between — said

electrode ends and said power source,

a transfer car movable transversely to

the main trackway and having a corre-

sponding trackway adapted to in

aligned with the main trackway to re-

ceive the furnace bottom wheels and

furnace whereby said furnace may be

moved transversely to said main track-

way, a service area spaced from said

main trackway by said transfer car,

secondary trackways in said service

area receiving said furnace from said

transfer car, loading means at said

PI LEAGONY ETF, PONTE OLE EE LY PNY, CYT Sarr

Rd. Hang MET ER SORT P RES R P E

Appendix A

496 523 FEDERAL REPORTER, 2d SERIES

service area adapted to load said fur-

nace and a cooling and unloading scc-

tion in said service area spaced from

the loading means. Preferably the

loading means is a gravity discharge

hopper or the like located over a track-

way adapted to receive a furnace to be

loaded from the transfer car. Other

loading device and conveying equip-

ment, may of course, be ‘used. The

removable ends of said furnace are

preferably provided with cooling

means removably connected to a

source of coolant adjacent the power

source whereby the electrodes in the

ends can be cooled.

Claim 1 is representative of claims 1—10

in the original patent. It states:

We claim:

1. A silicon carbide manufacturing

plant comprising an electrical power

source, a main trackway adjacent said

power source, a furnace car movable

on said trackway to and from said

power source, a refractory bottom on

said car, removable side and end pan-

els on said refractory bottom of said

furnace car, said side and end panels

being interconnected to form a heating

chamber on said car, electrode means

in each end panel, removable conncc-

tions between said power source and

electrode means, a transfer car mova-

ble on a trackway extending trans-

versely to the main trackway, said

transfer car carrying a trackway cor-

1. As stated in a memorandum prepared by

Carborundum Company employees for internal

corporate consideration:

Don Gillmore and myself visited Messrs.

Knapp and Balcom [sic] of the subject Cor-

poration on May 12 to discuss their low cost

process for manufacturing silicon carbide,

on which they have filed a patent applica-

tion.

As we suspected, the claims are related to a

car furnace operation and the savings are in

lower initial capital investment plus lower

labor costs primarily in material handling.

This is identical with our thinking except

they have reduced it to practice in their new

plant at Springdale, Pennsylvania.

They were most frank in their discussion

and gave us full details of their operation.

We have copies of their patent application, a

breakdown of capital costs and similar infor-

et x OF SG, PEGE OLE NREL

PAL SRI

responding to said main trackway and

alignable with the main trackway re-

ceiving the furnace car therefrom, a

service area opposite the main track-

way and spaced from said main track-

way by said transfer car, a secondary

trackway on said service area recciv-

ing said furnace car from said transfer

car trackway, loading means in the

service area for loading said heating

chamber while on said secondary

trackway and an unloading section in

said service area spaced from the load-

ing means and receiving a completed

furnace charge from said furnace car.

After putting their invention into

practice in their own plant, and while

their patent application was pending, in

May 1967, appellants, seeking to enter

into a licensing agreement, showed their

plant layout to employees of appellee

Carborundum Company. At least since

1965, appellee had been conducting sub-

stantial research on the feasibility of us-

ing mobile furnaces but had been unable

to achieve in practice, or even in a fully

developed theory, the successful result

put into practice by appellants in their

Satellite Plant.!

Thereafter, appellee proceeded to build

a plant at Jacksboro, Tennessee, in which

virtually all elements of appellants’ man-

ufacturing plant were duplicated, with

the single exception that in appellee's

Jacksboro plant, instead of a transfer car

running on a track transverse to the

mation on labor costs. They contacted us

because we are the largest producer of sili-

con carbide. They do not intend to contact

other producers and request that we do not

discuss this openly where it might become

generally known to others in the trade.

They anticipate it might take from two to

three vears for the Patent Office to rule on

their application. They suggested if Carbo-

rundum were to indicate definite interest in

a licensing arrangement with them it could

expedite the application through the Patent

Office. They are interested in the sale of a

process whereby they could treat it as a cap-

ital gain. Possibly they might consider sell-

ing their Company, although we did not ex-

plore this. We did tell them our position on

development of a car furnace type of plant.

{Emphasis added }

PERO TR TL NIE Ray Sr

BRATS

pak wireas iS

IR ES TBE TP

Appendix A

BOLKCOM v. CARBORUNDUM COMPANY 497

Cite as 523 F.2d 492 (1975)

main trackways, a railroad turntable

supported by rails at its periphery was

used,

On March 11, 1969, the original patent

application was granted.

Meanwhile, by August 1969 appellants

had learned that The Carborundum Com-

pany planned to build a plant at Jacks-

boro using a turntable to shunt mobile

furnace cars selectively into and out of

the firing area, and into ard out of other

areas of the plant) In 1969, after mect-

ing with patent counsel to discuss the

scope of their original patent, appellants

filed a reissue application to cover trans-

fer means other than the transfer car on

a transverse track that was described in

the initial claims. For example, it was

intended by this reissue to obtain cover-

age for the use of turntables, ladder

track, or overhead crane mechanisms in

place of the transfer car. The applica-

tion for reissue was filed on November

20, 1969. Appellants’ patent counsel in a

letter to associates engaged in obtaining

foreign patents for appellants’ invention

stated the purpose for the reissue appli-

cation in the following manner:

Our client has just filed a reissue

application in the United States on the

United States patent corresponding to

the above identified Canadian patent.

The purpose of the reissue is to en-

large the claims. They have found

that a turntable and several other

mechanisms can be substituted for the

transfer car of the issued claims and

feel that the transfer car limitation is

too limiting.

During «a deposition before trial, appel-

lant Knapp conceded that the letter re-

2. There was evidence indicating that appellee

decided to use an old turntable instead of a

transfer car in order to save about $90,000.

An internal memorandum stated: :

MiX 980

J. W. Golding 01-3 3 September 1968

R.C. Anderson 66-1 L. D Schultz 66

SIC CRUOL PLANT

DEVELOPMENTS 8-26-68 to 8-30-68

I. H.G. Acres Co., 8-25-68 _

$23 f.2d—32

flected the purpose of the reissue appli-

cation. At trial, he qualified his answer,

testifying that appellants and their coun-

sel believed that any turntable resting

on rails at its periphery was a “transfer

ear” within the literal meaning of their

claims, and that they intended the reis-

sue only to extend their claims to turn-

tables rotating on a central pivot. Ap-

pellant’s patent counsel testified at trial

that at the time the cited letter was

written, he believed that a turntable like

that used by appellee was covered by the

original claims, but that he wanted to

write to his associates in “simplified lan-

guage.”

The reissue patent, ‘081, was granted

on June 5, 1971. Typical of the new

claims added, 11—14, is claim 11, which is

identical to claim number 1 in substance

except that it provides for achieving the

desired selectivity through the use of a

“transfer means” instead of a “transfer

car on a track transverse to the main

trackway.”

Appellee’s Jacksboro plant was placed

in operaticn about April 1971 and about

one year later the action for infringe-

ment was filed.

The district court held that the origi-

nal claims of the patent, which expressly

claim as an element of the invention a

transfer car upon a transverse track, are

not literally infringed by a combination

virtually identical in all other respects

except that it employs a turntable in-

stead of a transfer car to achieve the

selectivity function. The court found

that a turntable was a “distinctly differ-

ent mechanism from a transfer car,” and

therefore the turntable system was not

On Thursday morning, | visited H. G. Acres and re-

viewed the project with Harold Rose and Jack Rob-

son.

The most significant development since last

we met was that Jack Robson has come up

with a scheme which would utilize a surplus

railroad turntable in place of the transfer car

previously planned. Jack and Harold estimate

this could save us about $90,000. (Emphasis

added 1

6a

ES ie

Appendix A

498 523 FEDERAL REPORTER, 2d SERIES

equivalent to the transfer car arrange-

ment. Further, although a turntable ap-

parently falls within the broader reissue

claims coverage of a “transfer means,”

the court held that reissue claims 11-14

are invalid under 35 U.S.C. § 251 be-

cause they are “not addressed to the in-

vention disclosed in the original patent”

and, instead, are an “unauthorized en-

largement of the disclosures of the pat-

ent.”

THE VALIDITY OF THE ORIGINAL

°605 CLAIMS

We first consider the validity of the

original claims of Patent '605, which

were carried over in the reissue patent.

These are claims 1, 3, 4, 5, & 9. Claim 1,

set forth above, is representative.

[1] As we stated in Westwood Chem-

ical, Inc. v. Owens-Corning Fiberglass

Corp., 445 F.2d 911 (6th Cir. 1971), cert.

denied, 405 U.S. 917, 92 S.Ct. 941, 30

I..Fd.2d 786 (1972), there are three essen-

tial elements of patent validity: novelty,

utility and non-obviousness. These re-

quirements are codified in 35 U.S.C.

§§ 101-103.

[2,3] In applying this test, we begin

with the principle that every patent is-

sued by the patent office carries, at the

outset, a presumption of validity, 35

U.S.C. § 282, which is justified by the

“complexities of patent law and the ex-

pertise of the patent office.” Monroe

Auto Equipment Co. v. Heckethorne

Mfg. & Supply Co., 332 F.2d 406, 412

(6th Cir.), cert. denied, 379 U.S. 888, 85

S.Ct. 160, 13 L.Ed.2d 93 (1964). And

where the most pertinent prior art has

been considered by the patent office, the

presumption is greatly strengthened.

Tapco Products Co. v. Van Mark Prod-

ucts Corp., 446 F.2d 420 (6th Cir.), cert.

denied, 404 U.S. 986, 92 S.Ct. 451, 30

L.Ed.2d 370 (1971). See also Great

Lakes Equipment Co. v. Fluid Systems,

Inc., 217 F.2d 613, 617 (6th Cir. 1954).

Conversely, “where applicable prior art

has not been considered by the Patent

Office this presumption is greatly weak-

ened.” Dunlop Company, Ltd. v. Kelsey-

jE : PA ELLE 2 ESA OSE IO ORS IIIT) EO Fi

Hayes Co., 484 F.2d 407, 413 (6th Cir.

1973), cert. denied, 415 U.S. 917, 94 S.Ct.

1414, 39 L.Ed.2d 471 (1974), Monroe Auto

Equipment Co., supra.

Here, appellee, in challenging the va-

lidity of the original patent, cites as rele-

vant prior art not considered by the Pat-

ent Office six patents, and two confiden-

tial inter-corporate reports circulated by

its employees. Moreover, appellee con-

tends that this prior art is more perti-

nent to the patent claims in issue than

that considered by the patent office, be-

cause the examiner did not consider any

patents concerned with mobile silicon

carbide furnaces.

PRIOR ART

The following prior art not considered

by the Patent Office was cited by appel-

lee.

I. Bayard Patent No. 1,107,478.

‘The Bayard patent relates to a plant

for the manufacture of silicon carbide

having moveable electric furnaces. It

shows two parallel batteries of eight fur-

naces each, mounted on wheels for

movement along trackways from a fur-

nacing area to a service area. Each fur-

nace has removable end walls equipped

with electrodes. Before a battery of

furnaces can be moved, the end walls

must be removed from all eight furnaces

and replaced with false end walls. Fur-

ther, the electrical wiring system re-

quires all furnaces in a battery to be

operating at the same time. The track-

ways leading to the firing area permit

the furnaces to be moved outside for

cooling, emptying, and loading a new

charge. While one battery of furnaces is

being serviced, the other can be charged.

2. German Patent No. 854,207 (here-

inafter Demag).

The Demag patent likewise pertains to

a plant for the manufacture of silicon

carbide in moveable electrical resistance

furnaces. Wheeled frames or trucks

carry the vertical furnaces, which are

made up of separate’ wall sections

clamped or hinged together during

OER INA TALIS RIEL SATIN LRT GO OE EC AN AEN

BREE ETT ADELE I LR, EEN RE ATES ES

Appendix A

BOLKCOM v. CARBORUNDUM COMPANY 499

Cite as 523 F.2¢ 492 (1975)

charging or firing. The furnaces are in

groups of three, which must be used

simultaneously. The groups of furnaces

move on a frame or truck over a track-

way to the clectrical source, then back

down the tracks to a turntable where

they are positioned to move onto tracks

leading to the servicing area.

3. Tone Patent No. 800,515.

This patent is directed to an electrical

resistance furnace for making. silicon

carbide, graphite, siloxicon, and for heat-

ing other carbon articles. The furnace

has removable sidewall panels composed

of bricks held together by frames of iron

or other materials. The panels rest on

the furnace floor when in position and

are withdrawn by a crane at the end of

a furnace run.

4. Van Wagenen Patent No. 492,069.

This patent shows a turntable having

wheels located at its periphery which

ride on a track as the turntable rotates.

5. Koppers Patent No. 1,674,985.

This patent relates to a furnacing

plant for burning fireproof ware. It

shows a preheating channel, furnaces,

and cooling chambers connected by

tracks, with cars that move on _ the

tracks, sliding platforms, and transverse-

ly extending trackways on which the

sliding platforms move.

6. Lloyd Patent No. 2,504,707.

This patent shows a plant for heating

ingots for the manufacture of stecl using

transfer cars and tracks extending trans-

versely to the main furnace trackway.

[4.5] Appellees also rely upon two

Carborundum Company internal memo-

randa regarding plans for mobile silicon

carbide furnaces.? However, there was

3. The Carborundum proposal dated 1956 de-

scribes a silicon carbide plant having moveable

furnace cars each of which is to be moved by

a “transfer mechanism" from a loading area to

a furnacing area. The furnaces pass through

the furnacing area to another “transfer mecha-

nisn.”” which moves them through a cooling

area to tracks passing through an unloading

area.

no showing that these two proposals

were ever reduced to practice prior to

the construction of appellants’ plant. In

Monroe Auto Equipment, supra, we held

that in order to anticipate an invention,

prior art “must have been reduced to use

and successfully performed.” 332 F.2d

415. More recently, in Dunlop Co., Ltd.

v. Kelsey-Hayes Co., supra, we reiterated

this holding with the qualification that

even though imperfections and commer-

cial difficulties may be revealed by re-

duction to practice, a device may never-

theless qualify as prior art. Therefore,

since the proposals in the Carborundum

Company memoranda were never put

into practice, they cannot be considered

as anticipating the '605 patent.

UTILITY AND NOVELTY

{6} The utility and novelty of appel-

lants’ invention is demonstrated by the

undisputed need of the industry for a

plant layout that would permit the con-

tinuous operation of the manufacturing

process by the selective movement of

furnaces throughout its phases, and by

the commercial success of appellants’

plant. William Bolkcom’s deposition tes-

timony indicated that appellants’ silicon

carbide accounted for 8-10 percent of

the total output in the United States and

Canada.

[7] Moreover, the fact that the ele-

ments included in appellants’ combina-

tion patent were found individually in

prior art devices does not defeat novelty.

King-Seeley Thermos Co. v. Refrigerated

Dispensers, Inc., 354 F.2d 533 (10th Cir.

1965). As the court stated in Shaw v.

E.B. & A.B. Whiting Co., 417 F.2d 1097,

1101 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 397 U.S. 1076,

90 S.Ct. 1518, 25 L.Ed.2d 811 (1970):

The June 1965 Carborundum proposal de-

scribes a mobile furnace plant where furnace

cars travel on tracks and are moved in a di-

rection transverse to these tracks on transfer

tracks through the various phases of silicon

carbide manufacture. The ‘mobile furnace

plant” was one of fourteen new concepts de-

scribed in the report.

. ee ei iret ap pig ke UT EELS

. — HS MGA INE SPLEEN GEL EOL ERE LEIA IE A .

RETA EOE PERIOD DE RELR RE wee WAL E t

Sa

BORE EIS

PSY SSRN ETN IE WE ELIEE LO, LORS BLED LOLE Ss

fee

Appendix A

BOLKCOM v. CARBORUNDUM COMPANY 501

Cite as 523 F.2d 492 (1975)

an equivalent result. In summary, the

district court specifically found that ap-

pellants’ claimed invention was not a

mere aggregation of old elements, but

instead it was “a combination in which

the product exceeds the sum of the indi-

vidual elements,” producing a new result

of selectivity. This new selectivity was

a small but significant advance over the

prior art in a relatively crowded field.

[9] We agree with the district court

that the ‘605 patent was not obvious.

The Bayard and Demag patents both

lacked the element of selectivity. The

Bayard patent showed furnaces in bat-

teries of eight, and all eight furnaces

had to be operated at the same time;

further, all eight end walls from the en-

tire battery had to be removed and re-

placed by false end walls before the indi-

vidual furnaces could be moved away to

the stripping area. The Demag patent

differs significantly from appellants’ be-

cause it shows vertical, not horizontal,

furnaces, arranged in groups of three

which had to be moved as single units.

The Tone, Van Wagenen, Koppers, and

Lloyd patents simply show that the indi-

vidual elements of removable furnace

side walls, turntables, and transfer cars

on transverse tracks were part of the

prior art. They fail to show that appel-

lants’ combination of these elements, and

others, was obvious.

We agree with the district court that

appellants’ invention was more than a

mere aggregation of old elements. The

new result of selectivity was a signifi-

cant advance over the prior art. It was

precisely the element of selectivity that

made appellants’ plant such a commer-

cial success, solving an industry-wide

problem.

{10} Moreover, the secondary consid-

erations enumerated by the Supreme

Court in Graham v. John Deere all

strongly support the conclusion that ap-

pellants’ invention was not obvious. The

appellants’ plant was a commercial suc-

cess that had captured 8-10 percent of

the North American market for silicon

carbide. It met the longstanding indus-

try need that inspired appellee's own re-

£ Brg RATES ‘ 2 RRS II IS LTR IE ao

search efforts beginning as early as 1950.

Finally, appellee's failure, despite its

preeminence in the field, to duplicate ap-

pellants’ invention after years of sus-

tained effort strongly supports the dis-

trict court’s conclusion that the invention

was not obvious to a person with only

ordinary skill in the art. We agree with

appellee that the result of increased effi-

ciency from a mere mechanical aggrega-

tion of old elements is not patentable.

But here, because the claimed invention

is greater than the sum of its parts and

produces a new result, the secondary

considerations mentioned in Graham v.

John Deere, including commercial suc-

cess resulting from greatly increased ef-

ficiency, are relevant.

{11} Since we hold that appellants’

original '605 patent satisfies the require-

ments of novelty, utility, and non-obvi-

ousness, we agree with the district court

that the original patent is valid.

THE VALIDITY OF THE REISSUE

CLAIMS 11-14

The district court found the reissue

claims 11-14 are invalid as an “unau-

thorized enlargement of the disclosure in

the patent.” Appellants contend that

the disclosure of an invention in the pre-

ferred form or “best mode” should not

prevent the inventor from claiming ev-

ery form in which the invention might

be copied.

We agree that the trial court applied

the proper standard in determining

whether the reissue claims were valid.

35 U.S.C. § 251 provides in part:

Whenever any patent is, through er-

ror without any deceptive intention,

deemed wholly or partly inoperative or

invalid, by reason of a defective speci-

fication or drawing, or by reason of

the patentee claiming more or less

than he had a right to claim in the

paténf, the Commissioner shall, on the

surrender of such patent and the pay-

ment of the fee required by law, reis-

sue the patent for the invention dis-

closed in the original patent, and in

accordance with a new and amended

a -_ wes,

58 AP RMR LIC ILO Ei OE FIMO PBSC LILES ELF NEES

Ce ee.

PRE GO TE AGAR EE IDS

Appendix A

500 523 FEDERAL REPORTER, 2d SERIES

However, the fact that each element

of a creation sought to be patented is

found in prior art does not negate nov-

elty if the old clements are combined

in such a way that as a result of the

combining an improved, useful, and

more advantageous innovation _ is

obtained.

NON--OBVIOUSNESS

We turn next to the more difficult

question whether within the meaning of-

35 U.S.C. § 103 appellants’ invention was

obvious. Section 103 provides:

A patent may not be obtained

though the invention is not identically

disclosed or described as set forth in

section 102 of this title, if the differ-

ences between the subject matter

sought to be patented and the prior

art are such that the subject matter as

a whole would have been obvious at

the time the invention was made to a

person having ordinary skill in the art

to which said subject matter pertains.

Patentability shall not be negatived py

the manner in which the invention was

made. [Emphasis added.]

Appellee argues that the claimed inven-

tion was obvious in view of the prior art,

particularly because it was a mere

aggregation of old elements.

In Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S.

1, 86 S.Ct. 684, 15 L.Ed.2d 545 (1966) the

Supreme Court interpreted the section

103 standard of “obviousness” as intend-

ed to codify the prior judicial standard

of “invention.” The Court gave obvious-

ness a practical definition:

Under § 103, the scope and content

of the prior art are to be determined;

differences between the prior art and

the claims at issue are to be as-

certained; and the level of ordinary

skill in the pertinent art resolved.

Against this background, the obvious-

ness or nonobviousness of the subject

matter is determined. Such secondary

considerations as commercial success,

long felt but unsolved needs, failure of

others, ete., might be utilized to give

light to the circumstances surrounding

2 BS ESE SERS REE ere ee net ce

the origin of the subject mattcr sought

to be patented. As indicia of obvious-

ness or nonobviousness, these inquiries

may have relevancy. Sce Note, Sub-

tests of “Nonobviousness": A Non-

technical Approach to Patent Validity,

112 U.Pa.L.Rev. 1169 (1964). 383 U.S.

17-18, 86 S.Ct. 694.

[8] Further, in considering cases

dealing specifically, with inventions that

combine elements that were known as

part of the prior art, the Supreme Court

has developed some specialized criteria

for obviousness. In Great A & P Tea

Co. v. Supermarket Equipment Corp.,

340 U.S. 147, 150, 71 S.Ct. 127, 129, 95

L.Ed. 162 (1950), Justice Jackson writing

for the Court, cautioned that the “con-

cept of invention is inherently elusive

when applied to combination of old cle-

ments.” A claimed invention is not pat-

entable if it is a mere aggregation of old

elements assembled with only mechanical

skill. In order to be patentable a combi-

nation must produce a new result or a

different function; the new invention

must be more than the sum of the old

parts. Anderson-Black Rock, Inc. v.

Pavement Salvage Co., Inc., 396 U.S. 57,

90 S.Ct. 305, 24 L.Ed.2d 258 (1969);

Great A & P Tea Co. v. Supermarket

Equipment Corp., 340 U.S. 147, 71 S.Ct.

127, 95 L.Ed. 162 (1950); Grinnell Wash-

ing Machine Co. v. E. E. Johnson Co.,

247 U.S. 426, 38 S.Ct. 547, 62 L.Ed. 1196

(1918).

The district court found that the '605

patent was not obvious on consideration

of the prior art. The court found that

although the prior art disclosed the con-

cepts of moveable furnaces, transfer

cars, and other clements used in the '605

patent, the novel combination invented

by appellants produced the new result of

facile and unencumbered selectivity. In

contrast, appellee’s unsuccessful at-

tempts to design a mobile furnace were

simply obvious combinations or aggrega-

tions of known elements. The court ob-

served that despite appellee's hindsight

argument that the 605 patent was obvi-

ous, nevertheless, its own experts, who

devoted years of effort, failed to achieve

EM PO LOR SPLOT IS RE NRE EIEN TSR AS

ole

10a

mote

i SRDS ye ERS gg

Appendix A

502 523 FEDERAL REPORTER, 2d SERIES

application, for the unexpired part of

the term of the original patent. No

new matter shall be introduced into

the application for reissue. {Emphasis

added. }

(12) The Supreme Court has made it

clear that this section is intended only to

permit the reissue of a new patent for

the same invention as that disclosed in

the original patent in order to permit the

correction of an innocent inadvertent de-

fect or omission. It is not intended to

permit the patentee to broaden the

claims of the original patent. The new

description of claims rmay not properly

include

additions to the invention which were

not described, suggested, nor substan-

tially indicated in the original specifi-

cations, drawings, or patent-office

model. . . . Letters patent reis-

sued for an invention substantially dif-

ferent from that embodied in the orig-

inal patent are void and of no effect

. . .. Parker and Whipple Co. v.

Yale Lock Co., 123 U.S. 87, 97-99, 8

S.Ct. 38, 44, 31 L.Ed. 100 (1887).

For example, in U. S. Industrial Chem-

icals, Inc. v. Carbon Carbide & Chemicals

Corp., 315 U.S. 668, 678, 62 S.Ct. 839, 86

L.Ed. 1105 (1942) the Court held that:

the omission from a reissue patent of

one of the steps or elements prescribed

in the original, thus broadening the

claims to cover a new and different

combination, renders the reissue void,

even though the result attained is the

same as that brought about by follow-

ing the process claimed in the original

patent.

Bolkcom acknowledged at his deposi-

tion, and Knapp at trial, that the origi-

nal patent referred only to a transfer

car, but they contended that the claim

includes a turntable with whecls located

at its periphery. They also conceded

that they intended the reissue to cover

other transfer means, such as a ladder

track or a turntable rotating on a cen-

tral pivot. This concession is consistent

with their letter to foreign associates,

supra, in which patent counsel described

the purpose of the reissue as “to enlarge

the claims.”

{13} We hold that the record clearly

supports the district court’s conclusion

that the claims added in the reissue pat-

ent were invalid because they were an

unauthorized enlargement of the disclo-

sure in the original patent. The reissue

claims, like those in U. S. Industrial

Chemicals, were intended to broaden the

claims in order to cover several new and

different combinations. Therefore, as in

U. S. Industrial Chemicals, the reissue is

void even though the combinations using

the other transfer means achieved the

same result as appellants’ original inven-

tion.

INFRINGEMENT

Since we have already held that the

district court was correct in determining

that the original patent is valid and the

reissue claims are invalid, we now turn

to the claims of the original patent to

determine whether it was infringed by

appellee’s plant. The district court

found that the appellee's plant, although

virtually identical with appellants’ in ev-

ery other respect, utilized a turntable in-

stead of a transfer car to transport the

mobile furnaces. It found that the turn-

table was not a transfer car, and did not

accomplish substantially the same results

by substantially the same means. In-

stead, it found that the turntable is “an

essentially different means” that is “not

the equivalent” of appellants’ invention.

Appellants argue that appellee’s com-

bination, including a turntable, infringes

their original patent both literally and

under the doctrine of equivalents. Con-

sidering first the argument that there

was a literal infringement of the original

patent, we are not persuaded that a

“turntable” is included within the defini-

tion of a “transfer car." Not only was

there testimony that appellee’s device is

commonly referred to in the art as a

turntable, rather than as a ear. but also

there was testimony that a transfer car

can move from one location to another,

but a turntable has a fixed location and

merely rotates around a central pivot.

“tS me NER OM HARES Sl Ag SC A mn REN BU LO PD RMU OE SER TRICO NE LOE SE DREGE HY GOSSELIN EME ERNIE ISS ENT OME

yp + rd awe ee ” a e ad, see we ©

ONS RAO RENE AEs ATE ANAS"

C55:

SPE TL SATEEN G RAG INET ON GRE

Appendix A

Cite as 523 F.2d 503 (1975)

However, under the doctrine of equiv-

alents, appellee’s plant must also be

found to infringe if the turntable and

the transfer car do substantially the

same work in substantially the same way

and accomplish substantially the same

result. Graver Tank & Mfg. Co., Inc. vy.

Linde Air Products, 339 U-S. 605, 70

S.Ct. 854, 94 L.Ed. 1097 (1950). The

Graver Court stated that this ‘doctrine is

available to the holders of combination

patents as well as primary patents, and

the area of equivalence will vary under

the circumstances of individual cases, the

prior art, and the context of the patent.

It also held that the existence of equiva-

lence is a question of fact.

[14] Applying this test, we hold that

the district court's finding of fact that

appellee's turntable was not the equiva-

lent of the transfer car used in appel-

lants’ plant is not clearly erroneous.

The turntable does perform substantially

the same function as the transfer car:

each serves as the device that moves the

mobile furnaces into alignment with the

main trackway leading to the firing

area, then out of alignment with that

trackway and into alignment with other

trackways to the stripping and loading

areas. However, the way in which the

turntable accomplishes this result differs

from that of the transfer car. As ob-

served above, the turntable itself is sta-

tionary and transfers the furnaces by

pivoting around a central point, but the

transfer car can move them about from

location to location. Important practical

consequences may result from this dif-

ference. For example, the number of

Separate locations which can be served

by the turntable may be limited by the

number of tracks that can abut its cir-

cumference. Also, a number of transfer

cars carrying furnaces can move about

simultaneously on various portions of ap-

pellants’ trackways. However, it would

appear that only one furnace at a time

can be transferred by the turntable.

[15] Where the patent is a pioneer,

the patentee is allowed to claim a

wide range of equivalents. But where,

as here, the patent represents only a

wn “AO AEROSTAR RG CTY Pc Nia PN aes

small but significant advance because

the art is crowded, the doctrine of equiv-

alents is given a correspondingly narrow

range. Triax Co. v. Hartman Metal

Fabricators, Inc., 479 F.2d 951 (2d Cir.),

cert. denied, 414 U.S. 1118, 94 S.Ct. 843,

38 L.Ed.2d 740 (1973), Parmalee Pharma-

ceutical Co. v. Zinc, 285 F.2d 465 (&th

Cir. 1961).

In view of our holding that appellee's

plant does not infringe under the doc-

trine of equivalents, we do not reach ap-

pellee’s additional argument that file

wrapper estoppel would also preclude a

finding of infringement because in the

prosecution of the patent in suit the in-

ventors narrowly restricted the scope of

their claims.

Affirmed.

9

a

GN EOE LA ELLE ELD LOPE LOO! SEINE

Appendix A 13a

NO. 73-1320

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

WILBUR T. BOLKCOM, and

WILLIAM E. KNAPP,

Plaintiffs-Appellants

- VS - ORDER

THE CARBORUNDUM

COMPANY,

Defendant-Appellee, |

BEFORE: Weick, Mc Cree, and Livevy, Circuit Judges.

The petition for rehearing with suggestion for a

rehearing en banc having come on to be heard, and no judge

having requested a vote on the suggestion for en banc

consideration, and the petition having therefore been

referred to the panel that heard the case, upon consideration,

it is ORDERED that the petition be, and it hereby is,

DENIED.

Entered by order of the court

FILED

DEC. 4, 1975

JOHN P. HEHMAN, Clerk

ae

Bex

BLEED THROUGH

Sh PRL EEA UES.

RM a aa YO Ne

ER EM OT Te EE ORT ERENT T ALIN Ne Sats ata I O 1 AAD A EA ELLE D PASAT SLED. BGR LIE ED LE LNG Bt LRG PGND NA AELLEN APE 5 thE Fit A

Appendix B

Opinion.

Opinion

[654] The Court: The matter is submitted, Gentlemen?

Mr. Webb: Yes, your Honor.

Mr. Blenko: Yes, your Honor.

The Court: First, then, a word of appreciation. I am

certainly mindful of the experience and ability [655] of

counsel, of which I have been the beneficiary.

I want to thank you for the diligent and able man-

ner in which the case has been presented.

The Court could have been in difficulty in timing,

not that I wouldn’t be able to devote whatever time was

necessary for proper disposition of the matter; but, be-

cause all protracted cases pose problems for the Court

as a whole, had it not been for this focused presentation.

The Court could have been in difficulties in seeing

the points involved if these were masked by time or

obtuse argument. And I am in your debt on both scores.

Next, a word of apology and explanation. I apolo-

gize to you and your clients for utilizing so much of this

daily transcript in interjecting questions and making

comments. I certainly must apologize for the form of

some of those comments.

I notice on page 504, for instance, that one of the

comments, consisting of fifteen lines is almost unin-

telligible and is reflected in a single sentence.

Perhaps the Reporter would be charitable, — you

Gentlemen be — in reading such long sentences, with

the thought it would have made sense had it [656] been

BLEED THROUGH

BLEED THROUGH

<>

Appendix B

Opinion.

reflected in six sentences as follows, quote: “With refer-

ence to the last witness there were other reasons that

might put him in a little stronger status as an expert

or as a witness in a proper sense” period. “He didn’t pre-

pare the applications involved” period. “There is some

suggestion in the pleadings, if not in the pretrial order,

that the defendant makes some claim of deceptive intent

of some consequence beyond mere omission in any event,

particularly with regard to the last letter where point

has been made that it was written in disclosure of prior

art before the original patent issued” period. “There

may not be a hole in the record as to whether any sub-

sequent failure to re-issue patent on the reliance upon

the original patent had consequences akin to that which

might have resulted from deceptive intent.”

I think ‘‘on” should have been “if”, then it makes

sense.

I solace my shock in reading those barbaric long

sentences with the thought that perhaps I didn’t pause

sufficiently between the sentences. And the Reporter

can assume that he wasn’t suppossed to break it up into

sentences because of the words running out too thought-

lessly.

[657] Be charitable when you read these transcripts.

If my words could fall as brightly and crisply minted as

counsel’s do on the record, it would indeed be great.

The explanation of this means of deciding the case,

and the clarifying questions and discussions that I have

participated in, or invited, stems from my history as a

trial attorney.

When, in the early years of practice before a fine

Judge, who decided cases simply by a grunt, I never

SEBEL NS BS ICO, LO IAI IR SELEY SPEND

l5a

TSAIULE DBAS GES SSA ER CEE UE OEE SSM

BLEED THROUGH

Appendix B

Opinion.

knew what was in his mind. And months after I might

find that I was talking to points that didn’t interest him

at all, and that he decided on the case on somet hing that

hadn’t occurred to me.

When I took the Bench I made up my mind that I

would never leave counsel in that position. So, I go to

the other extreme.

But, I think counsel have the right to know gen-

erally the operation of the Court’s mind, so that for

good or ill, or validity, or invalidity, the Court has used

a general type of thinking to which counsel can come to

grips. I think I have at least tried to give you that indi-

cation.

Furthermore, with regard to the decision itself, I

have tried to, whenever feasible, during [658] my later

years as a Judge, to follow the evidence through tran-

scripts and examination of exhibits as the case goes on

so that at the end of the case, in the context of counsel’s

arguments, I can at least knowledgeably, according to

my lights, come to conclusions.

[659] The first case that I attempted that system in,

some ten years ago, by interesting coincidence involved

an electron furnace. It was a case brought by Mon-

santo Chemical Company against the defendant for al-

leged violation of trade secrets.

I felt that I approached most nearly a knowledgeable

decision in that case, and it was an issue of great mo-

ment to both sides, than if I had taken the matter under

long advisement. I departed from that rule in the case

I mentioned yesterday where by reason of counsel’s re-

quest that transcript be provided before briefing and

l6a

BLEED THROUGH

Appendix B

Opinion.

then an extended period of briefing, my decision was

reached some year after the trial. If I have achieved

the proper result in that case, it would be against a

tremendous obstacle for any judge to try to reconstruct

a hotly contested case and the evidence with reference

to numerous issues out of the context of the trial, and

after memory becomes certainly a little dull. Even the

re-reading of the transcript, which I did, didn’t give me

the assurance that I would have had, if I had done the

best I could during the course of the trial, and then at-

tempted to reach a decision in context.

Now as to the particular plan of decision here. I

think I am as fully advised as I reasonably could be

[660] expected to be on the law of the case, within my

limitations, since I have read, I think, most, if not all

of the authorities cited in the original briefs and at

least rescanned or read most, if not all, of the authori-

ties cited in your proposed conclusions, since I have

tried to keep abreast of the exhibits, both in court and

in the course of the examination and out of court.

I would propose to indicate my basic views on the

crucial issues of the case, and then by reference refer to

various proposed findings which will be indicated as

generally acceptable or unacceptable, subject always to

their modification to be harmonious with the views to

be now expressed.

I will ask counsel for one side or the other, based

upon such statement, to redraft proposed findings of

fact and conclusions of law, submit them to the oppos-

ing side, if feasible; since you are both from Pittsburgh,

you might discuss or interchange the findings so that

BLEED THROUGH

f

Appendix B

Opinion.

they are deemed as acceptable as possible as a matter of

form, for joint submission to the Court.

I state here, and you may rest assured, that your

agreement as to form will not be taken as a waiver of

any substantive position, because it would be inherent in

such a submission that you reserve your substantive

[661] positions.

: I would like, however, to feel that the findings and

conclusions reflected an appropriate record of my deci-

sion so that neither side by mere form would be preju-

diced.

I suggest that you eliminate from the conclusions,

even though I indicated adoption of certain conclusions,

the citations. I find that counsel often are able to agree

upon it, that conclusions are in accordance with the

trial court’s determination, but can’t agree upon the

citations to support them, each wishing, depending upon

the interest, to have a little more effective or a little less

effective citations to the conclusion.

So let’s avoid that problem. Your citations are re-

flected in the record and your proposals, proposed find-

ings and conclusions will be on record, so we will have

continuing reference to those, together with citations

in your trial briefs.

We have involved here a combination patent. Mani-

festly, we do not deal with a formula in the field of

chemistry or mechanical apparatus, but a combination in

respect to a manufacturing plant. Such a combination

does not lend itself readily to any spectacular or extra-

ordinary or unexpected result. But if such rather [662]

prosaic combinations are susceptible of such, I can’t

Sa

PLEED THROUGH

Appendix B

Opinion.

escape the conviction that this is one of them, that this

is a combination in which the product exceeds the sum

of individual elements.

As has been appropriately remarked during the

course of the trial, the concept of novelty or invention

is a fugitive one in many ways. It is an oversimplifica-

tion to say that the heart of the plaintiffs’ invention was

the selectivity. It permitted facile and unencumbered

selectivity, to permit the treatment in various stages of

the material involved in the manufacture of carborun-

dum.

I agree that it is probably both an oversimplifica-

tion and accurate statement to say part of the invention

was non-orbital treatment in the course of that process

and the utilization of the plant layout. But again, I

can’t escape the conviction that plaintiffs did, indeed,

invent a new and novel combination which was useful,

which was not anticipated by the prior art, and which

was not obvious within the contemplation of Section 103.

[663] I believe that the defendant’s combinations, so

far as indicated by the record, up to the time its agents

viewed the plaintiffs’ plant may have been an exact ex-

ample of the combinations simply amounted by way of

product to the total of its constituent parts.

It is now well and good to say that the turntable

treatment, or the transfer treatment involved in the pa-

tent in suit, or the Jacksboro Plant, would be quite ob-

vious to those skilled in the art, but the experts of the

companies with the greatest experience in this field

didn’t come up with such a combination until the plain-

tiffs developed it.

19a

BLEED THROUGH

Appendix B

Opinion.

Hindsight can always render matters obvious as

we have been frequently reminded in justification both

of good and bad decisions on the question of obvious-

ness. I can find nothing in the prior art, however, which

would render in my considered judgment this invention

obvious.

The fact itself that having before them the con-

cept of mobile furnaces, of transfer cars, of every other

idea suggested by the prior art, the defendant com-

panies’ experts did not come up with plaintiffs’ inven-

tion until it was made and reduced to practice by plain-

tiffs, is relevant both to the [ 664] question of the

significance of the prior art both disclosed before the

Patent Office and undisclosed before the Patent Office

and the general problem of obviousness.

Up until the time of the plaintiffs’ invention the de-

fendant’s ideas appeared practical, promising, and at

least in the defendant’s judgment novel. I have read

exhibits restricting discussion of these matters because

of the new concept that the defendant thought it had,

and yet realistically in view of the plaintiffs’ disclosure

and the disclosure of the Jacksboro Plant these other

ideas seem somewhat cumbersome and primitive.

We have talked about the sine qua non of selec-

tivity whereby without any interference with any par-

ticular furnace, other furnaces in plurality may be

moved from the furnacing area into the processing area

and returned. It is a rather simple thing in a way but

very significant thing within narrow limits. That is the

sine qua non. But that isn’t to deprecate the other ele-

ments of the combination because it is not an inven-

tion simply with respect to that which may well have

aie . . WAIL ALLS LICL SI MEE RAI SRI LET EOE TE

FACE LOR ELE OER ATS

20a

SRA ABE TR Se BD, OT

BLEED THROUGH

Appendix B

Opinion.

been anticipated by the prior art in a limited or nar-

row sense but the combination itself with that impor-

tant clement found [665] no other place represented in

the invention.

Thus I conclude that in a crowded art the plain-

tiffs’ invention, as reflected in the original application,

represented a small step, but a significant step, beyond

the art and a step that was not obvious in view of the

art whether disclosed or undisclosed.

The next concept that governed my decision is in

the field of equivalents. This is not to say that this

next point is governed only by consideration of the

doctrine of equivalents because there are other matters

relating to the file history and with reference to the

very nature of the disclosure of the patent itself which

leads to or renders meaningful the same result.

[666] The Court: There are other matters relating to

file history and with reference to the very nature of the

disclosure of the patent itself, which leads to, or renders

meaningful the same results.

The turntable system involved in the Jacksboro

Plant is not the equivalent of the plaintiffs’ invention,

whether considered simply in gross or the generality,

or whether the turntable device is specifically com-

pared with the transfer car element.

The most simplified example within my experience

of the application of the doctrine of equivalents was in

the Sears Roebuck case which went to the Tenth Circuit

in which — from the District of Denver, I determined

that the mere reversal of parts, so that a member cam-

ming on the toggle of a toggle wrench was in essentially

the same position as a toggle wrench in which the

2la

BLEED THROUGH

i

A vs

'

Appendix B

Opinion.

member cammed upon another member against the

toggle. You can move from that area to more complex

comparisons where the doctrine of equivalents applies.

But I don’t think that the plaintiffs’ turntable sys-

tem —

Mr .Webb: You mean the defendant's’?

The Court: I should say defendant's turntable sys-

tem accomplished the same result in the [667] same

way. I grant that it accomplishes the same result of the

susceptible of that accomplishment, but it is by an es-

sentially different means. No transfer car is used.

The furnace car itself becomes the transfer car.

There is not a plurality of tracks utilized in connection

with the transfer itself superimposed upon a transfer

car or a multiple use of a single track. If we could cut

loose from the file history of the case, and from the in-

herent nature of the plaintiffs’ invention, a pretty good

case could be made under the doctrine of equivalency.

But, strictly speaking, I don’t think the two means are

essentially the same. I think there are important dif-

ferences.

If the closeness of that problem, however, were the

only element in this field, I wouldn’t proceed with quite

as much assurance as I feel I can in distinguishing the

two means. The expressed and essential nature of the

plaintiffs’ invention as disclosed by the specifications,

and by the claims, as well as the file history, bring me

to the same result. Beyond that, if the plaintiffs’ inven-

tion were so broadly interpreted as to read upon the

turntable system involved in the Jacksboro Plant, there

would be grave doubts in my mind as to [668] its com-

pliance with section 103. It would be essentially to fall

BLEED THROUGH

Appendix B

Opinion.

into fallacious reasoning in this aspect and too much

to take at face value some of the transitory arguments

advanced by both parties here.

Defendant says that the turntable system is essen-

tially different with respect to the issue of infringe-

ment from the transfer system disclosed by the patent.

There is a temptation to parlay that mere argu-

ment into a significant differentiation in the prior art

between the turntable approach and the transfer ap-

proach.

On the other hand, the plaintiff said the turntable

was within the disclosure, it was just a matter of formal

drafting, that it wasn’t set out in the claims. And if

indeed that argument is parlayed to its logical con-

clusion, it might follow that this sine qua non that we

have been talking about is disclosed in the basic patent

was really the equivalent of the old turntable as exem-

plified in Bayard.

Aside from this—these merely formal points and

counterpoints, there is something more basic in the

invention of the plaintiff which [669] dictates in my

judgment that the plaintiffs’ invention must be nar-

rowly construed, and was, indeed, narrowly accepted

in the context of the transfer car system.

(670) And as so narrowly accepted and construed, rep-

resented, as I have indicated, a significant step for-

ward, a significant advance in the art in view of all of

the art that has been disclosed before the Patent Office

or otherwise.

In sum I don’t think the turntable was disclosed, as

a part of the patented combination, or taught. If it were

—— * oe

2 UN TR REI SP ENE EAE NRE IESG ES:

- a oane _ = wer Pan ~rasemn Aint

POINT CARRIE STEEP TI NTS ENEMIES INE PRR EG NINE SATIS LT i TEE

23a

Appendix B

Opinion.

within the reach of the patent or were an inventive idea,

in view of the prior art as such, it was dedicated to the

public domain by failure to claim it, and by expressly in

the patent application itself and by representation to

the Patent Office, tying the invention to the transfer

system specifically.

The plaintiffs are not in a position to claim that

Jacksboro application constituted an infringement of

the patent in suit.

It goes without saying then in the Court’s view that

the re-issue claims, except as reiterating the claims of

the original patent, are invalid as constituting an un-

authorized enlargement of the disclosures of the pat-

ent. And in the context of the issues of this case, it may

be that the rationale of this decision would affect other

types of application. That question isn’t before me

though and whether a ladder type or an overhead con-

trol type of application would be a similar [671] exten-

sion, I don’t think I am called upon to decide. Except by

the essential logic of any position that the Court takes

in theory as to these other things, there is certainly no

intent at all to make an adjudication of the non-infring-

ing nature of any variation except as to that exempli-

fied or embodied in the Jacksboro application.

I followed to the best of my ability the discussions

in connection with Bayard and the German patent. I am

inclined to agree generally with plaintiffs, that their

disclosure would not and did not render the plaintiffs’

patent as I have interpreted it, anticipated or obvious.

Again I returned to the defendant’s embodiment of

their ideas of mobile furnaces and transfers, et cetera.

ny ae oe 2 Bilas a MR a Rae ‘% ee 18

BLEED THROUGH

OGIO E EES EI ee BPE SLi ABEL BALLIOL ABE CORSE ALON ILRI SOS ALIEN : LE LOILIE TE TS LE” CER LOST

BLEED THROUGH

Appendix B

Opinion.

With all they knew, all their experience, their specific

application of all their research and thinking to the Car-

borundum context, plaintiffs’ invention wasn’t obvious

to them. They missed it. They had far more than the

Examiner would have had before him, if he had had all

of the additional prior art before him. I think the ra-

tionale of the Examiner’s determination would continue

in view of the additional prior art, as well as before it.

with respect to the invention as so narrowly interpreted.

[672] Coming to the matter of clean hands. which

bothered the Court in connection with other points. I

was impressed last night with some assumed duty on

the part of plaintiffs to render explanation to satisfy

any possible or at least reasonable surmise that there

could have been deceptive intent or a significant with-

holding. I have concluded that, at least to the minimal

that could be expected, there has been a showing that

the Bayard patent could not be regarded as significant

or determinative.

[673] I have considered the presumption with regard

to that prior art and with regard to the total prior art

not disclosed in the Patent Office to have been dissi-

pated, that is, the presumption of validity as against

that additional prior art.

I think the defendant’s counsel is quite right. I have

not sought to split hairs on whether it is a mere reduc-

tion or a weakening or a dissipation. As far as that prior

art is concerned it has been completely dissipated in my

view. In any reflection, by looking at the matter realis-

tically, I still am of the opinion that invalidity is not es-

tablished as a matter of law and obviousness is not es-

tablished as a matter of fact. Quite to the contrary.

b AES OD REMI? LE LIOR VILE REN ABA LISE BER

TES QR SOF LEE Ae . < LIOG ILE L GLO ITE IO MET T sO

Appendix B pe 26a

Opinion.

I am impressed with the argument today that the

failure of disclosure prior to the issuance of the patent

was not a significant failure, as I have mentioned. I still

think that counsel, out of circumspection, should have

made the disclosure.

In re-evaluating problems like that it is difficult to

take into consideration all of the surrounding circum-

stances and another’s judgment when not confronted

with them may be different as the situation appeared at

the time.

My lingering criticism of counsel in not [674] mak-

ing adequate disclosure must yield to a realization that

in order to establish the lack of clean hands there must

be something even beyond preponderence of the evi-

dence perhaps. That is a serious matter. Perhaps that,

in order to be recognized, must be established by at least

a clear preponderance of the evidence or by clear and

convincing evidence.

Be that as it may, as I consider the burden of proof

the problem becomes somewhat unimportant. The lack

of clean hands, as I understand it, is an affirmative de-

fense. It might be suggested that one having shown a

failure of disclosure, the burden of persuasion shifts for

an explanation to the plaintiff, but the burden of proof,

I suppose, continued with the defendant and the ex-

planation having been made on the record here of the

non-controlling effect of the undisclosed prior art, there

being no indication beyond that that there was decep-

tive intent, the affirmative defense may fail merely

on the basis of burden. However, looking at it realistic-

ally and having explored all arguments to the best of

my ability, I cannot sustain the defense of lack of clean

a ' hands.

BLEED THROUGH

. 2 . - — PRT IE JPEN SLR INE! ERE SEINE Np TRE EELS |

LEE S ERGO LILLE LGN EE LED LENE LLOOT SALGEBEELL AEE LE LILA OLDE ICE TD LLOEL ES AIOE

Appendix B

Opinion.

I will direct counsel for the plaintiffs to take the

laboring oar in drafting the Findings of [675] Fact and

Conclusions of Law consistent with the views herein ex-

pressed.

I find most of the findings on either side as pro-

posed are very quite objective and factual. There are

some argumentative matters included, and Mr. Webb

has suggested certain findings which represent no ul-

timate findings or somewhat argumentative findings

in view of the decision of the Court, but on the whole

they are factually supported.

I would think that plaintiffs 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12,

13, 14 and 15, with the emphasis on the key element

as reflected in 15, are in a satisfactory form gencrally.

They must be modified a little to comport with the other

things I have mentioned.

Of course, the conclusions suggest themselves, par-

ticularly the fact that claims 11 and 14 are an enlarge-

ment of the invention disclosed and taught in the parent

patent.

As construed, conclusions as to utility and novelty

proposed by the plaintiffs are in order.

I think, without running through these any more,

the conclusions will suggest themselves. Manifestly, the

conclusions with regard to file wrapper estoppel as pro-

posed by plaintiffs would not be congruous with the

Court’s ideas. The [676] conclusion as to unclean hands,

in light of what I have said, seem to be generally accept-

able, or with regard to clean hands, more properly.

Defendant's conclusions with regard to file wrapper

estoppel are all right.

I am not so sure, Mr. Webb, that file wrapper es-

; toppel in a usual or its limited sense applies in its more

a

BLEED THROUGH

PRE LSAT EEO EE SM 08 EOL GD IDEE SELLER ILE IEE ENLIST EE ITE

Appendix B

Opinion.

inherent nature of the patent itself as revealed in the

statement before the Patent Office. It may be that file

wrapper estoppel is a little different animal. It is where

there has been an abandonment of a position upon a

question which is sought to be recovered.

Mr. Webb: I would agree with that, your Honor. I

think it is a matter of utilizing the file wrapper for the

purpose of constructing —

The Court: That is right. I believe I feel more com-

fortable to put it upon that basis rather than in the

terms of file wrapper estoppel.

Mr. Webb: I agree with your Honor. {|677] Well,

the conclusions with regard to the lack of infringe-

ment as suggested by the defendant is generally all

right.

Now, in finding 11 for instance, Mr. Knapp — I

should say Mr. Webb, you emphasize and quote a let-

ter in which Mr. Knapp sets out the features as if

they were the whole thing.

Well, after all, that is consistent with the disclo-

sures you have found, but letters don’t make a patent.

And maybe that is argumentative, but it is certain-

ly true he said that.

Your proposed finding 13, of course, refers to mo-

bile furnaces and makes the mobility of the furnace

almost the sine qua non of the invention. And that is

not consistent with what I have indicated. And I don’t

mean to foreclose some of the findings you have pro-

posed, sir. To be realistic about it, there are many that

could be included for the completion of the record. But

I don’t want to use any of them argumentatively to be-

cloud the findings that I have made consistent with the

: views here expressed.

BLEED THROUGH

a a Se ee ot

PR I RTS CO A EE REG LPOG PLE Te EIEN Ee ONE EE

BLEED THROUGH

Appendix B

Opinion.

Mr. Webb: I think, your Honor, we can modify

them adequately to take out the argumentative [678]

aspect.

The Court: Can you Gentlemen work together on

that and get a set of findings which you think realis-

tically present the problem?

Mr. Webb: We certainly will try.

The Court: And light up any error or validity in

my conclusions.

For instance, your 16 appears okay, 17 appears

okay, 18 and 19.

All right, so much for that, Gentlemen.

Now, in all candor, it is not an easy case on the

Bayard and the German patent disclosures in this area

of novelty. But I have done the best I can and I be-

lieve that I am right. If I am not, rather than have a

long process of arguing about little refinements in the

findings, and so forth, let’s lay it on the line as best we

can along these lines. And if you have any overriding

conviction that requires you to get off a little steam as

to the Court, waive oral arguments and make your mo-

tion for modification of the findings under Rule 52(b),

or modification of the judgment under 59(a). And

submit the matter on briefs and I will listen to you at

length. But I won't occupy any more of your time here

on oral argument.

[679] Is that all right?

Mr. Webb: Yes, indeed, your Honor, I think that is

workable.

The Court: Thank you, Gentlemen.

We will stand in adjournment.

(Whereupon, Court was adjourned at 1:10 P.M.)

CAITR SPs, “Teng AS aOR EGOS BON IAL RAMEN, LL ARE AIG TOONS TORE AO SIEGE BALE Res LION I TG IEF REET

29a

J GRR RE 28 Ate ne ec no eRe NI ROE eT RAO ORE wom Ba . —

Appendix B 30a

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law.

IN THE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE

EASTERN DISTRICT OF TENNESSEE

NORTHERN DIVISION

WILBUR T. BOLKCOM and

WILLIAM E. Knapp, Plaintiffs, Civil

Vv. + Action

THE CARBORUNDUM COMPANY, No. 7840

Defendant.

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law

FINDINGS OF FACT

Nature of Action

1. This is an action for infringement of United

States Letters Patent Re. 27,018, dated January 5, 1971,

a reissue of Patent No. 3,432,605, dated March 11, 1969,

for “Silicon Carbide Furnaces and Plants” both granted

to plaintiffs, Wilbur T. Bolkcom and William E. Knapp.

Parties

2. Plaintiffs are citizens of the United States, re-

siding in Allegheny County, Pennsylvania.

3. Defendant, The Carborundum Company, is a

Delaware corporation, having a regular and established

place of business at Jacksboro in the Eastern District

of Tennessee.

4. Plaintiffs are and always have been the owners

of Patent 3,432,605 and Patent Re. 27,018.

YEE AT NOLS EEE EE CURIE ER NT AREAL TIN SAL ARRAS. TOT ERASE AION MIE CTE YT RIE "VE MRAM AY

Appendix B

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law.

Subject Matter of Litigation

5. This litigation is concerned with a combination

patent in respect to a plant for the manufacture of sili-

con carbide.

6. Silicon carbide (chemical formula SiC) does

not exist in nature. It was first made and discovered by

Edward Acheson in 1891 and was named “carborundum”’

by him. It is the reaction product of silica (SiO») and

carbon (C). The reaction is brought about by subjecting

a charge consisting essentially of sand and coke to terri-

fic heat (about 4,000°F.) produced by an electric cur-

rent, for a prolonged period of time (about 30 hours).

Acheson organized The Carborundum Company, defend-

ant herein, in 1891 to exploit his discovery. The basic

patent on carborundum and its manufacture (Patent

No. 492,767) issued on February 28, 1893, and was re-

issued on February 26th, 1895 (Patent Re. 11,473).

Carborundum, next in hardness to the diamond, has

remarkable abrasive properties, and it was originally

exploited by Acheson and defendant as an abrasive.

Other large industrial uses were subsequently developed,

e.g., aS an ingredient in refractory products, as a deoxi-

dizer for molten steel and as an additive fuel in basic

oxygen steelmaking.

7. After the Acheson invention, others entered

upon the manufacture of silicon carbide in competition

with defendant, but defendant is and always has been

the largest silicon carbide manufacturer on the North

American continent probably equal to all the rest com-

bined. So far as the record discloses, until April, 1966,

when plaintiffs’ “Satellite’ Plant (hereinafter de-

scribed) went into operation, all silicon carbide manu-

3la

me rrannasate ~~! SBIR BS RIA ream on a eR

SE NOE LOE MR LE 2 RE. PFET I Aa aatae Re PS Bihan PO owe ie

Appendix B

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law.

facture in North America had been in stationary, hori-

zontal, trough-like furnaces built close to one another

(about 15 feet) and arranged in “banks” of four to six.

8. The raw materials used and the furnacing

process practiced today for the manufacture of silicon

carbide are essentially the same as those disclosed in

the early Acheson patents. Practices in mixing the in-

gredients have been progressively improved. Materials

handling equipment, i.e., mechanical equipment for load-

ing and unloading the furnaces, has been devised and is

in common usage. The charge consists essentially of a

granular mix of sand, coke and recycled “old mix” sep-

arated from previous runs. An electrical resistor con-

sisting of a granular mix of coke and graphite is buried

in the charge and extends from one end of the furnace

to the other. The necessary heat is generated by passing

an electric current through the resistor, causing the

charge material immediately around the resistor to re-

act. The furnacing of a charge takes about thirty hours.

After the current is turned off, the furnace has to stand

for about three days before it is cool enough for work-

men to unload (‘strip’) it. After stripping, a new

charge is built up in the furnace. Stripping and loading

require the presence of workmen at the furnace site. A

cycle of operation of each furnace in the bank takes five

to seven days.

9. The plant area is necessarily large. The electri-

cal supply installation (transformer, leads to the furn-

aces, etc.) is expensive and must be used as continu-

ously as possible because of overhead charges and the

economics oi power rate structures. It cannot be used

continuously for a single furnace because of the down

32a

ee ER a

bo

(Se ne Re mete eae ee

Appendix B

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law.

time required for cooling, stripping and loading. The

furnaces are therefore arranged in banks, each of whose

furnaces is supplied in turn with the current from a

single transformer. The leads from the transformer

to the several furnaces in the bank are kept as short as

possible out of consideration of capital cost and power

losses Which inevitably occur if the leads are lengthened.

This requires that the furnaces in the bank be located

close together. The loading and stripping operations

are carried out in close quarters under adverse condi-

tions created by the firing of nearby furnaces from

which carbon monoxide, carbon dioxide and suiphur are

evolved. If a furnace has to be repaired, the repairs must

be made in situ while the power to the furnace is off

10.) There has always been a need in the industry

for a more facile, economical and efficient way of mak.

ing silicon carbide.

11. Plaintiffs were classmates in Metallurgical En-

gineering at the University of Pittsburgh (class of

1940} and since 1948 they have been partners in vari-

ous enterprises related to the iron and steel industry.

Commencing in or about 1950, they went into the busi-

ness of collecting “scrap” silicon carbide, e.g., the butts

of worn-out abrasive wheels, and crushing and packag-

ing it for metallurgical uses. Their venture was success-

ful, and they soon encountered a shortage of scrap ma-

terial to salvage and had to fill this requirement by pur-

chasing waste material and new product from silicon

carbide manufacturers. The cost was higher

12. In or about 1954, plaintiffs concluded that they

would have to manufacture silicon carbide if they were

to continue in the business they had built up. Having

33a

_—

ie

SENS CE LORS ne eh BS I SO A FE CN aR a SO A ale FAECES in a Ne SS a ES SE PES OS Be ES

Appendix B

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law.

some knowledge of the Acheson-type plant and its cost-

liness, plaintiffs between 1955 and 1963 expended more

than $200,000 in a series of studies and experiments to

find a new process. They experimented with vertical

shaft furnaces, traveling grate furnaces, fossil-fired gas

furnaces, plasma jet furnaces, and a number of other

furnaces. They employed engineers who were knowl-

edgeable in the relevant technology. None of these ef-

forts was successful.

13. Plaintiffs concluded that they would have to

build an Acheson-type plant, as everyone in the industry

had done from the beginning. Upon making inquiries of

the Blaw-Knox Company, which had built The Carbor-

undum Company’s plant at Vancouver, Washington, in

the early 1950’s, they received estimates of the cost of

such a plant, and the estimates ranged from $2,000,000

to $3,000,00 for a plant capable of producing 6,000 tons

annually to $3,500,000 for a plant capable of producing

8,000 tons annually. Such costs for a plant were prohibi-

tive for plaintiffs.

14. Late in 1964, plaintiffs conceived the inven-

tion of the patent in suit. The invention was completely

reduced to practice in early April, 1966, by the construc-

tion of plaintiffs’ Satellite Plant at Springdale, Pennsyl-

vania, and the commercial manufacture of silicon car-

bide therein beginning April 6, 1966.

15. On November 3, 1965, before the Satellite Plant

was completed, plaintiff Knapp, in initiating efforts to

obtain patent protection, wrote to patent counsel as set

forth in DX-20.

16. After the Satellite Plant went into operation

in 1966, plaintiffs’ patent counsel saw the plant and

. 6 QiRRR aR ad eA RETR EERIE ERAN 19 BANE 0 AE OR TON OM

* ——

BN on hb VN AEE AA CNL (EAMETS STI A BAS

Appendix B

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law.

then proceeded with the preparation and filing of the

application which eventuated into the original Patent

No. 3,432,605.

17. Shortly prior to March 6, 1969, plaintiffs

learned that Carborundum was planning to build a fa-

cility at Jacksboro for making silicon carbide. Prior to

August, 1969, plaintiffs had knowledge that the Jacks-

boro facility was to be a mobile furnace type and that a

turntable was to be used in the Jacksboro facility.

18. In August, 1969, Bolkcom and Knapp met with

their patent counsel and discussed the fact that Carbor-

undum was going to use a turntable, and they concluded

that the significance of their patent should be carfully

explored in regard to alternate forms of transfer me-

chanism.

19. In October, 1969, a decision was reached to file

a reissue application in an attempt to cover alternate

means to the transfer car setup described and illus-

trated in the original patent. These alternate means

were turntables, ladder tracks and overhead cranes. The

application for the reissue patent was filed on Novem-

ber 20, 1969.

20. Shortly after the filing of the reissue applica-

tion, plaintiffs’ patent counsel, in a letter to his Cana-

dian associates in regard to the purpose of the reissue

application, stated:

“Our client has just filed a reissue application

in the United States on the United States patent

corresponding to the above identified Canadian

patent. The purpose of the reissue is to enlarge the

claims. They have found that a turntable and sev-

DSN SE I To A Nae ke COUNT A Me ~? nays os pa OE a

i1ROU GH

Appendix B

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law.

eral other mechanisms c2zn be substituted for the

transfer car of the issued claims and feel that the

transfer car limitation is too limiting.”

On the same date, plaintiffs’ counsel stated substan-

tially the same thing in a letter to a New York patent

firm.

21. The reissue patent in suit, Re. 27,018 was

granted on January 5, 1971, and the Complaint in this

action was filed by plaintiffs in April, 1972, about one

year after the Jacksboro Plant of Carborundum was

placed in operation.

The Patent in Suit

22. The patent in suit discloses a new combina-

tion of elements which incorporates four essential con-

cepts. The concepts are (i) a multifurnace firing area

with stations for independently firing the several fur-

naces, these stations being close enough to one another

to minimize the capital cost and electrical operating

cost; (ii) a service area remote from the furnacing area

and having a stripping station and a separate loading

station, where the stripping and loading operations can

be carried out, free from the crowded and adverse con-

ditions of the firing area and the pollutants present

there; (iii) mobile furnaces so constructed and ar-

ranged that they can be moved from one station to an-

other with their loads intact, and emptied at the strip-

ping station; and (iv) a transversely moving transfer

car which enables the operating personnel to put any

furnace selectively through its full operating cycle —

loading, furnacing and stripping — without having to

move another furnace from the firing area or interrupt

the operating cycle of any other furnace in any way.

Pi CAL BRO APPEARED ORAM A EN NAD SS LOGS EINES

Appendix B

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law.

23. The specification and drawings of the patent

in suit are based upon and accurately illustrate and de-

scribe plaintiffs’ Satellite Plant. They do not illustrate

or describe any transfer means other than a “transfer

car movable on a trackway extending transversely to the

main trackway.” The specification and drawings of the

original patent and of the reissue patent are identical.

24. The patent in suit discloses a specific plant

layout for manufacturing silicon carbide in movable

furnaces. In the layout, a furnace car is positioned on a

trackway adjacent to a transformer and electrodes

carried in the end walls of the furnace car are con-

nected to the transformer. The charge of silica and

carbon is fired to form silicon carbide, and the elec-

trodes are disconnected. The furnace car is then moved

on to a transfer car which carries a trackway which

may be aligned with any trackway in the furnacing

area. The transfer car has wheels which run on tracks

which extend transversely to the trackways in the

furnacing room and the trackways in the servicing area.

The transfer car is then moved so that the trackway

thereon registers with a trackway on the stripping floor

and the furnace car is moved onto that trackway. At the

stripping station, the sides are removed and the silicon

carbide and any unfired charge material are pushed off

the bottom of the car. The car is then moved back onto

the transfer car and is moved to a point where the

trackway on the transfer car is in alignment with a

trackway on the loading floor. The furnace car is moved

to the loading station where it is charged. The furnace

car is then moved back onto the transfer car, which

is moved into alignment with a desired trackway in the

furnacing area. The furnace car is then moved adjacent

—SSe—eaaea aS — LEE eae SSS.SaaaeaeaaaaQ_a_—MMeamae” a --.-_-:

Appendix B

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law.

to a transformer where the electrodes are connected and

the charge is fired.

25. Each furnace car has removable side and end

walls, but the end walls remain in place during all of

the operations mentioned above. The side walls are

formed in panels or sections and at the stripping sta-

tion the side panels are lifted from the furnace bottom

so as to provide access to the fired charge so that it

can be readily removed.

26. The specification describes and the drawings

illustrate only the utilization of a transfer car with a

trackway on the upper surface thereof, the transfer

car being movable back and forth on a trackway which

is located in a pit and which extends transversely to

the trackways in the furnacing area and in the serv-

icing area.

27. During the prosecution of the application

which eventuated into Patent No. 3,432,605, the paten-

tees represented to the Patent Office in distinguishing

over the prior art that their “new combination” which

they claimed included a main trackway adjacent a

power source, a furnace car movable on the trackway,

removable side and end panels on the car, electrode

means in each end panel, “a transfer car movable trans-

verse to the main trackway and carrying a correspond-

ing trackway adapted to be aligned with the main

trackway,” a service area spaced from the main track-

way by the transfer car, a secondary trackway in the

service area, and an unloading and loading means in the

service area.

28. After the claims were rejected by the Patent

Office on certain prior art, in an Amendment dated

38a

Appendix B

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law.

November 7, 1968, in distinguishing over the prior art,

the plaintiffs pointed out that there was “no transfer

car” as called for in the claims disclosed in the prior

art, that there was “no transfer means receiving the

car and moving it transversely to the main trackway”

and that the prior art did not disclose a “transfer car

moving transversely of the main trackway.”

29. The patent in suit contains 14 claims. Claims

1-10 inclusive appeared in the original patent, No. 3,-

432,605, and claims 11-14 inclusive were added by reis-

sue. Claim 1 is representative of the original claims. It

is for a combination of 15 elements and it states their

inter-relationship in detail. Stated in diagram form it

reads as follows:

A silicon carbide manufacturing plant compris-

ing—

(1) An electrical power source,

(2) a main trackway adjacent said power

source,

(3) a furnace car movable on said trackway

to and from said power source,

(4) a refractory bottom on said car,

(5) - (6) removable side and end panels on

said refractory bottom of said furnace

car,

said side and end panels being intercon-

nected to form a heating chamber on said

car,

(7) electrode means in each end panel,

(8) removable connections between said

power source and electrode means,

39a

EEE eon hs S i Ae LO LAO LEE ETE SLOT REI LOE CALC Ne AGES IS z AN A tee UI Te th EF ITE ERE EO te BRR

Appendix B

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law.

(9) a transfer car movable on

(10) a trackway extending transversely to the

main trackway,

(11) said transfer car carrying a trackway

corresponding to said main trackway and

alignable with the main trackway receiv-

ing the furnace car therefrom,

(12) a service area opposite the main track-

way and spaced from said main trackway

by said transfer car,

(13) a secondary trackway on said service

area receiving said furnace car from said

transfer car trackways,

(14) loading means in the service area for

loading said heating chamber while on

said secondary trackway,

(15) and an unloading section in said service

area spaced from the loading means and

receiving a completed furnace charge

from said furnace car.

30. Each of claims 1-10 is limited to the use of ‘“‘a

transfer car movable on a trackway extending trans-

versely to the main trackway” (elements (9) and (10)

of Finding 29). Claims 11-14, added by reissue, are

broader; e.g., claim 11 calls for “transfer means” be-

tween the first and second trackways selectively deliver-

ing a furnace car from one to the other. The stated rea-

son for the presentation of claims 11 to 14 in the reissue

application was that the claims of the original patent

did not adequately define the invention.

40a

Appendix B

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law.

31. The Complaint and Answer herein placed in

issue the validity of all the claims of the patent in suit.

Plaintiffs charge infringement of claims 1, 3, 4, 5, 9 and

11-14 inclusive.

The Validity Issue

32. The patent in suit is a combination patent — a

patent on a combination in respect to a manufacturing

plant.

33. Such a combination as that covered by the pat-

ent in suit does not lend itself readily to any spectacular

or extraordinary or unexpected result; but if such

rather prosaic combinations are susceptible of such,

then this is one of them; that is, this is a combination

in which the product exceeds the sum of the individual

elements.

34. It is an oversimplification to say that the

heart of plaintiffs’ invention was selectivity. It per-

mitted facile and unencumbered selectivity to permit

the treatment in various stages of the material involved

in the manufacture of carborundum.

35. It is both an oversimplification and an accur-

ate statement to say that part of the invention was non-

orbital treatment in the course of the process and the

utilization of the plant layout, but again plaintiffs did

invent a new and novel combination which was useful,

which was not anticipated by the prior art, and which

was not obvious within the contemplation of £103.

36. The sine qua non of the invention is selectivity,

whereby without any interference with any particular

furnace other furnaces in plurality may be moved from

4],

oF | AS aid 282 RNAS AS RS Ate ER AME BO NOM BENE ARR 5 MALE f SE Ri ARAN ABR PIE POD

owe

Appendix B

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law.

the furnacing area into the processing area and re-

turned. This is a rather simple thing, but a very signifi-

cant thing within narrow limits.

37. The prior art patents and printed publications

relied upon by defendant are:

Haugh et al. No. 251,341 dated December 20,

1881 (DX-50)

Van Wagnen No. 492,049 dated February 21,

1893 (DX-51)

Tone No. 800,515 dated September 26,

1905 (DX-52 and

52A )

Bayard No. 1,107,478 dated August 18, 1914

(DX-53, 53A-C)

Koppers No. 1,674,985 dated June 26, 1928

(DX-54 and 54A)

Lloyd No. 2,504,707 dated April 18, 1950

(DX-55 )

German Demag No. 854,207 published February

21, 1952 (DX-56,

56A-B)

The Making, Shaping and Treating of Steel (1964 ed.),

pp. 702-703 (DX-57)

None of this prior art was before the Patent Office when

it considered the original application or the reissue ap-

plication eventuating into the patent in suit.

38. Defendant also relied upon internal reports

circulated within The Carborundum Company and

known to many of Carborundum’s personnel relating to

mobile furnace plants for manufacturing silicon carbide.

These are as follows:

| Saapeacanare - Sapien MS CAaO REA. BPO DA I ST -: COG MBSR PS IR VMN Ted MAS NES

Appendix B 43a

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law.

Staff Engineering Report entitled ‘Proposed New

SiC Furnacing Facility with Movable Furnace

Bed” dated in 1955 (PX-25; DX-58)

Memorandum Golding to Gilbert dated in 1960

(PX-42)

Special Report entitled “New Concepts in SiC Furn-

ace Design” dated June 22, 1965 (PX-26; DX-

59)

These reports were not published and not available to

the public generally and were not before the Patent Of-

fice.

39. In view of the content of the specification and

drawings of the original and reissue patents, the repre-

sentations made to the Patent Office, and the prior art,

plaintiffs’ invention must be narrowly construed and,

indeed, was narrowly accepted by the Patent Office in

the context of the transfer car system.

40. In a crowded art, the plaintiffs’ invention, as

reflected in the original application, represented a small

step but a significant step beyond the art and a step

that was not obvious in view of the art, whether dis-

closed or undisclosed. There is nothing in the prior art

which would render plaintiffs’ invention obvious.

41. The disclosures of the Bayard Patent and the

German Patent No. 854,207 did not render the plaintiffs’

patent as interpreted by the Court anticipated or obvi-

ous.

42. When narrowly interpreted, plaintiffs’ inven-

tion was not obvious to the Carborundum employees;

and the rationale of the Examiner’s determination of

Appendix B

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law.

patentability would continue in view of the additional

prior art when the invention is narrowly interpreted as

stated herein.

43. Up until the time of the plaintiffs’ invention,

the defendant’s ideas appeared practical, promising and,

at least in the defendant’s judgment, novel. Yet, realis-

tically, in view of the plaintiffs’ disclosure and the dis-

closure of the Jacksboro Plant, these other ideas seem

somewhat cumbersome and primitive.

44. Having before them the concept of mobile

furnaces, of transfer cars, of every other idea suggested

by the prior art, defendant’s experts did not come up

with the invention until it was made and reduced to

practice by plaintiffs.

45. The experts of the companies with the great-

est experience in this field did not come up with the

plaintiffs’ combination until plaintiffs had developed it.

46. The plant layouts which defendant had prior

to the time its agents viewed plaintiffs’ plant are apt

examples of combinations in which the _ product

amounted to the total of the constituent parts.

47. The original Bolkcom et al. Patent No. 3,432,-

605 makes no mention of any transfer arrangement

other than that shown in the drawings and specifically

disclosed in the specification and defined in the claims

thereof. There is no support in the original Bolkcom

et al. application or patent for any transfer arrange-

ment other than one employing the transfer car and the

transverse track arrangement shown, described and

claimed therein. The original patent and the representa-

tions made to the Patent Office in the procurement

44a

iy

Appendix B

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law.

thereof show that the patentees did not intend to cover

or embrace any transfer arrangement exeept one em-

ploying a transfer car and trackways for the transfer

car extending transversely, to the main trackway in the

furnace area and the secondary trackway in the servic-

ing area.

48. The claims added by reissue, i.e., claims 11-14,

inclusive are broader than the original claims; they are

not supported by the specification and drawings of the

original patent and constitute an unauthorized enlarge-

ment of the disclosures of the patent.

The Infringement Issue

49. Plaintiffs charge defendant with infringement

of the patent in suit by reason of defendant’s ownership

and commercial use of a mobile furnace silicon carbide

manufacturing plant at Jacksboro, Tennessee.

50. The Jacksboro Plant has a firing area spaced

apart from a stripping area, a cylinder cooling area, a

maintenance area and a charging area. A turntable in a

circular pit lies between the firing and the loading and

stripping areas. The turntable rotates on a centrally lo-

cated pivotal support and has wheels running on a circu-

lar track near the periphery which provides peripheral

support to the turntable. The turntable has a trackway

which is alignable with trackways in the firing, loading

and stripping areas. The trackways in these areas radi-

ate from the periphery of the pit. A furnace may be

moved from one area to another by first aligning the

track on the turntable with the trackway in that area,

moving a car furnace by means of a locomotive onto the

trackway on the turntable, rotating the turntable into

45a

Appendix B

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law.

alignment with the desired trackway and moving the car

furnace from the turntable onto that trackway.

51. The Jacksboro Plant does not embody a trans-

fer car arrangement. A turntable is a distinctly differ-

ent mechanism from a transfer car.

52. The turntable employed by defendant was

never disclosed or taught to be a part of plaintiffs’ pat-

ented combination. If it were deemed to be within the

reach of the patent or an inventive idea, it was dedicated

to the public domain by failure to claim it, and by ex-

pressly, in the patent application itself and by repre-

sentations to the Patent Office, limiting the invention

specifically to the transfer car system.

53. The turntable system employed in the Jacks-

boro Plant of defendant is not the equivalent of the

plaintiffs’ invention whether considered in gross or

whether the turntable device is specifically compared

with the transfer car arrangement.

54. Defendant’s turntable system does not accom-

plish the same result in the same way; and it is an es-

sentially different means since no transfer car is used.

55. Defendant’s turntable arrangement and the

arrangement shown in the patent in suit are not essen-

tially the same — there are important differences.

56. The expressed and essential nature of the

plaintiffs’ invention as disclosed by the specification and

by the claims as well as the file history require the con-

clusions just stated.

57. There is no infringement of any claim of the

patent in suit by Carborundum’s Plant at Jacksboro,

Tennessee.

46a

Appendix B

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law.

The Unclean Hands Defense

58. Even though it discloses mobile furnaces for

the manufacture of silicon carbide, the Bayard Patent

does not render the claims of the patent in suit invalid.

Hence, the failure of Mr. Buell to call the Bayard Patent

to the attention of the United States Patent Office when

he learned of it by reason of its having been cited

against a Norwegian application does not render the

patent in suit unenforceable.

59. At least to the minimal that could be expected,

there has been a showing that the Bayard Patent could

not be regarded as significant or determinative.

60. Counsel for the applicants out of circumspec-

tion should have disclosed the Bayard Patent to the Pat-

ent Office. However, the defense of lack of clean hands

has not been made out by a clear preponderance of the

evidence or by clear and convincing evidence.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. The Court has jurisdiction over the parties and

the subject matter of this civil action under 28 U.S.C.

1338(a) and venue is properly laid in the Eastern Dis-

trict of Tennessee, Northern Division, under 28 U.S.C.

1400(b).

2. There is pertinent prior art before this Court

which was not considered by the Patent Office during

the prosecution of the applications leading to the origi-

nal and reissue patents. As far as that prior art is con-

cerned, the presumption of validity (35 U.S.C. §282)

has been completely dissipated; but looking at the mat-

47a

oo a ye Bi neh te

Appendix B

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law.

ter realistically the Court concludes that invalidity is

not established as a matter of law and obviousness is not

established as a matter of fact. Quite to the contrary.

3. The patent in suit satisfies the legal require-

ments of 35 U.S.C. 101. The combination is such that

the product exceeds the sum of the individual elements.

The claims are for a new and useful combination that

comes within the statutory class of a “manufacture”.

4. The patent in suit satisfies the legal require-

ments of 35 U.S.C. §102. The claims are not anticipated

by any of the patents and publications cited or relied

upon by defendant or by any of its own internal reports.

5. The Court concludes that in a crowded art the

plaintiffs’ invention, as reflected in the original applica-

tion, represented a small step, but a significant step, be-

yond the art and a step that was not obvious in view of

the art whether disclosed or undisclosed to the Patent

Office. Hence, the patent in suit satisfies the legal re-

quirements of 35 U.S.C. $103.

6. If the plaintiffs’ invention were so broadly in-

terpreted as to read upon the turntable system employed

in the Jacksboro Plant, the Court would have grave

doubts as to its compliance with $103.

7. Defendant has not sustained its burden of proof

of establishing invalidity of claims 1-10 of the patent in

suit, when the claims are narrowly interpreted to cover

the specific transfer car mechanism described and illus-

trated in the patent, and these claims of the patent are

adjudged valid.

Wa

ho

Appendix B

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law.

8. Claims 11-14, inclusive, of the patent in suit

fail to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. §251

in that they are not addressed to the invention disclosed

in the original patent and constitute an unauthorized

enlargement of the disclosures of the patent and are in-

valid.

9. Since a turntable was not disclosed or taught as

a part of the patented combination and in view of the

prior art and the representations made to the Patent

Office and the patent application itself tying the inven-

tion to the transfer system specifically, plaintiffs are in

no position to claim that the Jacksboro installation con-

stituted an infringement of the patent in suit.

10. Plaintiffs have not sustained their burden of

proof of infringement, and the defendant’s accused

plant is held not to infringe any claim of plaintiffs’ pat-

ent.

11, The turntable system at defendant's Jacksboro

Plant is not the equivalent of the plaintiffs’ invention,

whether considered simply in gross or in general, or

whether the turntable device is specifically compared

with the transfer car element.

12. Defendant has the burden of establishing the

defense of unclean hands by clear and convincing evi-

dence.

13. The Bayard patent was not significant to or

determinative of the patentability of the patent in suit

and there was no burden on the plaintiffs to cite the

Bayard Patent to the attention of the Examiner.

Appendix B

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law.

14. Defendant has not sustained its burden of

proof to establish the defense of unclean hands.

United States District Judge

Approved as to form:

J. W. BAKER

WALTER J. BLENKO

THOMAS L. SIVAK

Attorneys for Plaintiffs

E. BRUCE FOSTER

WILLIAM H. WEBB

Davip C. BRUENING

Attorneys for Defendant

50a

sap PCTECAECA EP

Judgment.

Judgment

AND Now, to wit, this 14th day of March, 1973, the

Court having considered all issues of validity, enforce-

ability and infringement of plaintiffs’ Patent Re. 27,018

in suit and having entered its findings of fact and con-

clusions of law thereon, holding inter alia that defendant

has not infringed said patent, it is hereby

ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND DECREED that the Complaint

be and hereby is dismissed.

And it is further ORDERED that each party shall bear

its own costs.

A. SHERMAN CHRISTENSEN

United States District Judge

— — Ghee Vg ADSM PETER AIR ERR BT ME MY ETAT CRE

SENS, TITY Wt BOLREGM ETAL Omer wa

SILICON CARBIDE FURNACES AND PLANTS

Original Filed Feb. 23, 1967 4 Sheets-Sheet 1

Uo

\/3

roe

tj |

Yi |

lg | | 6 ;

— | 1 | er

| |

is ; |

| [ | i b

8 | i gg

N ¥ oi] Q

~ oi | o os] | ; 9

j—_] |__|

r

Va

- > 4

a’

Nw

g as

—_— :

-

v

7

' |

|

Ny | |

ss {I

2 ‘ |

“ of |

N | ,

- ad

N fa) —J

‘oun NS |

. | | INVENTOR S -

| W:/bu / (> Incort

j i yand W. //iam £ Kapp

BN PO.

Se eae

— FANN TVTY “WoT BOLKCOM ETAL Nee STVIS

SILICON CARBIDE FURNACES AND PLANTS

Original Filed Feb. 23, 1967 4 Sheets-Sheet 2

52

H J /

)

35

uN

Gate ccreacs ee a ce)

SS)

2)

1 = =

<)

3)

LAG). 6.

OSE TO EDGE

INVENTOR $

Wlhue 7 /dIxcom

IV Miom ya Kwapp

yr oe

PM, f Y echo ier &

i oO dn

BLEED THROUGH gg

Oy RM, SAWS A ET aT ON PELL PERNA RT OE EY OG IO PONE YER GIPSON

—

SILICON CARBIDE FURNACES AND PLANTS

Original Filed Feb. 23, 1967 4 Sheets-Sheet §

rot - 4-5

eee: datetetd }

— { ' 4

We ENG St eee ee ee

Sn

al — a

- — H tal

VU Ss 221F

a oh bees sa

CN Cah > = en 4

iva) Ih --- NH

a an nies

a

i

* bh

patil aL

Hep igh bape pts PHUEH

ETE 7

Ww A ! Wh I ie fee beg «

+ aa or i ee

ne wy 4 ee

oT hi <a S 4 H. ~

ease. "3" - >

CHG: Soci: - &-

Ip oS ee |! Se a

A: ; os

' |

_ re /— a

T its A\-=-=- sone

iS : eee Ee bH~=-—- Jul

Li \ she +

a | ieee = NV Sieh bs enn N

uae A be + 4iis

Ry fos Soe TR

e mt. ‘ee « pare tae, “+

NI \ Ha wal Hess? Gl

athe ab, lanl |<)

“{ iP — ~ A peo tn) pd ed nd tng rH » N

’ (ele en) ee aa she) L8)

See Sees eae og eeu g epeeepae psy: )

if SA

LOSE TO EDGE

INVENTOR $

\ J /bu« / DD ior

Linw—-——~ / f

y ; }, Mas wk Newsy’

BLEED THROUGH sy hag et Mle me

i hy OO 4 y ee beusedan

rece Peer Re IV: BAS RA th TY A ELE GP Sips REF ROTC F388 EIST CORES ERT i OE a 12 PTR

wer

SILICON CARBIDE FURNACES AND PLANTS

Original Filed Feb. 23,

4 Sheets-Sheet 4

1967

SELES

2 5

Aan 1 +

W/ Ibex / Lolcom

“WM £ /vapp

a

re

>

Fi

F

i

Ze ;

acne rae ae coca: ae

i 3

aa | :.

a by E

- Se ee. .

Fa i i ae i 2 &

: esr, tre cn oe ee . ;

pear Gre ‘ \ ee

Pe eee ~s | :

1 oy ar is eS &

! i rs / * af l ‘ RS

| | _* ae ' | ¥

| ¢ 4 % { ! -@

| Pi He a. $

“Se! ;

ae rit

| \

yy ee

iis YE cele ae

; Py

| 4 9 ee

brn mah

! 1 : ii t re

48 ns

! wee F rel atl ! ad

I weunpnnehiensetcmeanes 11 '

' it

We Rice aren tip ses Aide our Sen esaciae Gf a eae a

BLEED THROUGH

*"Y BOUND CLOSE TO EDGE

Appendix C 56

UNITED STATES PATENT OFFICE

CERTIFICATE OF CORRECTION |

Reissue No. 27,018 January 5, 1971

Patent No. Dated

Wilbur T. Bolkcom et al.

Inventor(s)

It is certified that error appears in the above-identified patent

and that said Letters Patent are hereby corrected as shown below:

Column 1, line 23, "nd" should read -- and --. Column 2,

line 38, "1l6a'"' should read -- l6a --; line 57, ''ll6a"' should

read -- l6a --. Column 4, line 29, after "claim" insert -- 1 --.

Signed and sealed this 25th day of May 1971.

(SEAL)

Attest:

EDWARD M.FLETCHER,JR. WILLIAM E. SCHUYLER, JR.

Attesting Officer Commissioner of Patents

a a al ee ae

iE STE LE ENED OEE LEE TELL LLL LAE LD DLLEALE LEVEE IEA ONE

1

27,018

SILICON CARBIDE FURNACES AND PLANTS

Wilbur T. Bolkcom, Pittsburgh, Pa., and William F.

Knapp, Allison Park, Pa., (both ©“ American Metal-

lurgical Products Co., 9800 McKnight Road, Pittsburgh,

Pa. 15237)

Original No. 3,432,605, dated Mar. 11, 1969, Ser. No.

618,034, Feb. 23, 1967. Application for reissue Nov. 20,

1969, Ser. No. 878,283

Int. Cl. HOSb 3/02, 3/62

U.S. Cl. 13—20 14 Claims

Ma

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.