Petition for Writ of Certiorari — American Investment Co. v. Harris

Supreme Court brief1976

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

TTTLRY Supreme Oourt, vu. &

wnie |< FILED SE

NOV 4 1975

MICHAEL RODAK, JR., CLERI

IN THE -

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1975

AMERICAN INVESTMENT COMPANY, DONALD L. BARNES, JR.,

HARRY W. HARTLEY, ALBERT L. LETOURNEAU, WARREN E. VAN

NORMAN, WALTER C. HAEUSSLER, ERWIN A. STUEBNER, R. BRUCE

SNOW, NORFLEET H. RAND, W. BENTON McMILLAN, BASIL L.

KAUFMANN, HENRY R, BARBER, H. REID DERRICK, ALBERT J.

O’BRIEN, CHARLES F. BURNS and HASKINS @ SELLS,

Petitioners,

vs.

MYRON HARRIS,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

To the United States Court of Appeals

For the Eighth Circuit

ROBERT S. ALLEN

KATHIANNE KNAUP

611 Olive Street—Suite 1400

St. Louis, Missouri 63101

Attorneys for Petitioner American

Investment Company and the In-

dividual Petitioners

LEWIS, RICE, TUCKER,

ALLEN & CHUBB

Of Counsel

VERYL L. RIDOLE

WILLIAM C. CONNETT, IV

ROBERT F. SCOULAR

LYNN D. HOWARD

500 North Broadway

St. Louis, Missouri! 63102

Attorneys for Petitioner

Haskins & Sells

BRYAN, CAVE, McPHEETERS &

McROBERTS

Of Counsel

St. Louis Law Printing Co., Inc., 812 Olive Street 63101 314-231-4477

a

Dee ReR eR

INDEX

Page

Meee ee ee rere Tee PUNT) CAPT EPULSPLOR TT Te ]

ER ee ee ere eee Se ny ee ee 1

RINT CL OeT EE eT CE RE TET eee ETE 2

Bk RR ee er ae es re ser 2

Statutes and Regulations Involved ................... 3

BE OE CRE ei aan Kcoa be wae Ne cse ieee aus 3

Reasons for Granting the Writ ...................... 7

I. The Court should grant a Writ of Certiorari because

the Court of Appeals erred in holding that the uni-

versally applied common law doctrine of mitigation

of damages is uniquely inapplicable to federal securi-

ties cases based upon Sections 10(b) and 18(a) and

that ruling conflicts with those of the other courts

which have addressed the issue .............. 7

II. The Court should grant a Writ of Certiorari because

the Court of Appeals’ decision on the “Date for Fix-

ing Damages” conflicts with the decisions of other

circuits and is erroneous. In addition, this question

was not properly before the Court of Appeals, was

unnecessary for the Court’s adjudication of the issues

properly before it, and was not briefed and argued

EEE ae WU OD 05 as Chew ie oes bee 1]

| OS PUT LUPO eC TET ST ere eh es Leo re 14

Appendix A—Memorandum of District Court ........ A-!

Appendix B—Original Opinion of Court of Appeals ....A-13

FRIEEAIA LTTE THAIS! EL HEINLEIN TT

Appendix C—Order on Petitions for Rehearing ........ A-28

Appendix D—Modified Opinion of Court of Appeals ....A-29

Appendix F—Portions of Securities Exchange Act of

ER ase hen Gite dre. WRC Swe yee wb 8 WA A-44

Cases Cited

Beecher v. Able, CCH Fed. Sec. L. Rptr. € 95,016 (S.D.

SUS LG) . vba be bree dw WE Oe WAS kes 10

Blue Chip Stamps v. Manor Drug Stores, — U.S. —, 95

RS es oan ee en er Ee area 10

Cant v. A. G. Becker & Co., 379 F.Supp. 972 (N.D.IIl.

A nee rr eee ere ee eee 10

Chris-Craft, Industries, Inc. v. Piper Aircraft Corp., 480

fe LS rere eee ee eT ee er ee 9-10

Commodity Credit Corp. v. Rosenberg Bros. & Co., 243

F.2d 504 (9th Cir. 1957), cert. denied, 355 U.S. 837

EAE OR PES Rr Bee nee Pe eee ae 8

Competitive Associates, Inc. v. International Health

Sciences, Inc., CCH Sec. L.. Rptr. € 94,966 (S.D.N.Y.

ae Oe Ge dle die 6 ACA ha ON DAREN A a aA; 9

Courtland v. Walston & Co., Inc., 340 F.Supp. 1076

Rs ES rs eee eer ee ae 9

Department of Banking v. Pink, 317 U.S. 264 (1942) .... 2

Ellerman Lines, Ltd. v. President Harding, 288 F.2d 288

I SUE yd bck eee moka eA VARS COWRA OO We 8

Esplin v. Hirschi, 402 F.2d 94 (10th Cir. 1968) ........ 12

Estate Counseling Service, Inc. v. Merrill Lynch, Pierce,

Fenner & Smith, Inc., 303 F.2d 527 (10th Cir. 1962) 12

Foster v. Financial Technology Inc., 517 F. 2d 1068 (9th

| SR ee ae ere ree oe 10

eee EE TO a FR Ee PP IN Ne £2 REE eR S Tt RE TI ge

oe Pr ibe

George Cohen Sons & Co. v. Koch, 376 F.2d 629 (Ist

RR Ue A re re ENT eUr aarti ee eer 8

Gottlieb v. Sandia America Corp., 304 F.Supp. 980 (E.D.

Pa. 1969), aff'd in part, rev'd in part on other grounds,

452 F. 2d 510 (3rd Cir.), cert. denied, 404 U.S. 938

SSS Wake. hice COME Es oa 5e oe LS els KEK 12

Industrial Sugars, Inc. v. Standard Accident Ins. Co., 338

Sag UU I a eee ee 8

Janigan v. Taylor, 344 F.2d 781 (Ist Cir.), cert. denied,

ee I Es bie i a ee 12

Kohler v. Kohler Co., 208 F. Supp. 808 (E.D. Wis. 1962),

amd, 519 F.2d 634 (7th Cir. 1963) 2... cc ccs 12

Lack Industries, Inc. v. Ralston Purina Co., 327 F.2d 266

NE ST oe de es 8

Marth v. Industrial Incomes Inc. of North America, 290

Pes Taw CME. BOD occa can cacecarccean 9

Mitchell v. Texas Gulf Sulfur Co., 446 F.2d 90 (10th

Cir.), cert. denied, 404 U.S. 1004 (1971) .......... 9

Myzel v. Fields, 386 F. 2d 718 (8th Cir. 1967), cert. de-

ei eee Wee WOR CIMID och ack ecank cccans S, 38, 12

Occidental Life Ins. Co. v. Pat Ryan & Assoc., Inc., 496

F.2d 1255 (4th Cir.), cert. denied, 419 U.S. 1023 (1974) 12

O'Hara v. Derschug, 241 App. Div. 513, 272 N.Y.S. 189

CNN a SAARC Ns Sau Wkee ceed yh 0d7 468 Gia 10

Pearlstein v. Scudder & German, 346 F.Supp. 443 (S.D.

TO MUNG RANCH Aa DI ah WA vk GAGA be CRA cin 9

1974)

iv

Richardson v. MacArthur, 451 F.2d 35 (10th Cir. 1971) 12

Sackett v. Beaman, 399 F.2d 884 (9th Cir. 1968) .... 12

Sarlie v. E. L. Bruce Co., 265 F.Supp. 371 (S.D.N.Y.

SEY ed be diay cctiadd paceed hah caer eve eteuw en 12

Sigafus v. Porter, 179 U.S. 116 (1900) .............. 12

Southwestern Packing Co. v. Cincinnati Butchers’ Supply

Co., 139 F.2d 201 (Sth Cir. 1945) .............5.. 8

United States v. Healy, 376 U.S. 75 (1964) ............ 2

Walters v. City of St. Louis, 347 U.S. 231 (1954) ...... 11

Wolf v. Frank, 477 F.2d 467 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 414

Re ee EOE cy is GRMN Ue eae ues ea ta 12

Statutes Cited

3 Bromberg, Securities Law: Fraud 9.1 (1974) ........ 12

6 L. Loss, Securities Regulation (Supp. 1969) ........ 12

Securities Act of 1933:

OE Sk kW oN cae ee ck doen ek ean. 10

Securities Exchange Act of 1934:

Oe EE SC sk aves coved tak caved 3,4, 7,8

Se ee I Cs Carne ohn bakes < 60a eo 3,4,7,8

Rule 10b-5, 17 C.F.R. § 240.10b-5 (1975) ........ 3, 4,8

PE EE RA GRAS WEARS DAD ORG A KKB OOK 2

a ee < eON ALAR KAS baekiey vaiaueawas 3

BARON =

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1975

AMERICAN INVESTMENT COMPANY, DONALD L. BARNES, JR.,

HARRY W. HARTLEY, ALBERT L. LETOURNEAU, WARREN €E. VAN

NORMAN, WALTER C. HAEUSSLER, ERWIN A. STUEBNER, R. BRUCE

SNOW, NORFLEET H. RAND, W. BENTON McMILLAN, BASIL L.

KAUFMANN, HENRY R., BARBER, H. REID DERRICK, ‘ALBERT J.

O'BRIEN, CHARLES F. BURNS and HASKINS @ SELLS,

Petitioners,

vs.

MYRON HARRIS,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

To the United States Court of Appeals

For the Eighth Circuit

Petitioners respectfully pray that a Writ of Certiorari be is-

sued to review the judgment of the United States Court of Ap-

peals for the Eighth Circuit entered in this action on June 18,

1975, and modified on August 11, 1975.

OPINIONS BELOW

The memorandum opinion of the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Missouri is reported at 378 F.Supp.

894 and reprinted in Appendix A hereto. The original opinion

of the three-judge panel of the United States Court of Appeals

soaks Ot lied

for the Eighth Circuit is reprinted in Appendix B. In response

to timely petitions for rehearing, the panel filed a modified

opinion, which is reprinted in Appendix C, and an Order deny-

ing the petitions for rehearing, which is reprinted in Appendix

D. The Court of Appeals’ opinion has not been officially re-

ported as of the date of the filing of this petition.

JURISDICTION

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1254(1).

The original opinion of the three-iudge panel of the Court

of Appeals was filed on June 18, 1975. In response to peti-

tioners’ timely petitions for rehearing or rehearing en banc,

the panel modified its original opinion and denied the petitions

in all other respects on August 11, 1975. This petition for a

Writ of Ceriorari has been filed within 90 days of August 11,

1975, as required by Rule 22(1). Department of Banking v.

Pink, 317 U.S. 264 (1942); United States v. Healy, 376 U.S.

75 (1964).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Under Sections 10(b) and 18(a) of the Securities Exchange

Act of 1934, does an allegedly defrauded purchaser of securi-

ties have any duty to mitigate his damages?

2. Under Sections 10(b) and 18(a) of the Securities Exchange

Act of 1934, should damages to an allegedly defrauded pur-

chaser continue to be measured as of the date of his purchase

or as of some later date when the market price of the securities

would be influenced by a myriad of factors other than the alleged

fraud?

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED

This case involves important questions concerning the measure

of damages in litigation based upon Sections !0(b) and 18(a) of

the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, 15 U.S.C. §§ 78j(b) and

78r(a) (1970), and Rule 10b-5, 17 C.F.R. $ 240.10b-5 (1975),

which are reprinted in Appendix E.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This is a claimed class action seeking damages for alleged

violations of Sections 10(b) and 18(a) of the Securities Exchange

Act of 1934 (the “Act”), 15 U.S.C. $§ 78j(b) and 78r(a) (1970),

and Rule 10b-5, 17 C.F.R. § 240.10b-5 (1975).

Myron Harris, plaintiff-respondent, and two others! filed the

action on April 9, 1971 against American Investment Company

(“AIC”), officers and directors of AIC, and Haskins & Sells

(AIC’s independent certified public accountant), all of whom

are petitioners here. The case was filed in the United States Dis-

trict Court for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania and was

transferred to the Eastern District of Missouri pursuant to de-

fendants’ motions based upon 28 U.S.C. § 1404(a).?

After transfer of the case, defendants filed motions to dis-

miss. On December 29, 1972, the district court sustained these

motions and granted leave to plaintiffs to file an amended com-

plaint.

On February 1, 1973, plaintiff filed an amended four-count

complaint. In Counts I and II, plaintiff alleged that all of the

' The original plaintiffs were Arthur B. Harris, Myron Harris and

Milton Weissman. Only Myron Harris, respondent herein, remained

a plaintiff when the amended complaint was filed.

* The memorandum and order on the transfer is reported at 333

F.Supp. 325.

a wot a |

eae ere

defendants had violated Sections 10(b) and 18(a) of the Act

and Rule 10b-5 (App. 2-3). Plaintiff alleged that he purchased

1,000 shares of the common stock of AIC on August 4, 1969

and still retained the stock (App. 8); asserted numerous allegedly

false statements or material omissions in documents uttered by

AIC or filed by it with the Securities and Exchange Commis-

sion and the New York Stock Exchang: beginning on or before

June 30, 1968 (App. 2-3); claimed that he suffered a substan-

tial decline in the market values of the AIC stock retained by

him; and prayed for damages based upon that decline in value.

In Count III, plaintiff alleged a failure of defendants, other

than Haskins & Sells, to disclose merger proposals from other

corporations commencing in 1968 and continuing in 1969 (App.

5).

In Count IV, brought as a stockholder’s derivative action,

plaintiff alleged mismanagement by the defendant officers and

directors (App. 3).

Defendants filed motions to dismiss or strike all counts of the

amended complaint and motions for summary judgment on

Counts I and II. The motions for summary judgmet were based

upon the following uncontroverted facts: Plaintiff purchased his

1,000 shares of AIC common stock on August 4, 1969 at a

price of $18% per share. From the date of plaintiff's purchase

through May 31, 1971, AIC common stock sold on the New

York Stock Exchange at his purchase price or higher on 47

days. Within the one-month period after plaintiff filed this ac-

tion on April 9, 1971, the stock sold at his purchase price or

higher on eighteen days (App. 9).

On June 24, 1974, the district court (Hon. Roy W. Harper)

granted defendants’ motions for summary judgment with respect

to Counts I and II.* The district court stated:

* The Memorandum Opinion is reported at 378 F.Supp. 894

and reprinted in Appendix A.

See ea . a ELEY ASE PLIERS EMI OES ERE G TT EPR BARE OSS REG IY SL

a, on

“The defendants’ contention is that the undisputed facts

in this case disclose that plaintiff has not suffered any dam-

ages as a result of any alleged wrongdoing of the defend-

ants because subsequent to plaintiff's purchase of his AIC

common stock and subsequent to the filing of this lawsuit,

plaintiff could have recouped his investment or sold at a

profit on the open market: therefore, entitling defendants

to summary judgment in their favor on Counts I and II.

With this contention the Court agrees” (App. 9).

Judge Harper then held, in part, that “Plaintiff's loss, if any,

did not flow directly from the purchase or sale “f the AIC stock,

but flowed from plaintiff's own investment decision to retain

the AIC stock” (App. 10), and:

“Plaintiff's loss was not in connection with the purchase

of his AIC stock because he had numerous opportunities

to sell without a loss after he discovered the alleged fraud.

and plaintiff's loss was not in connection with the sale of his

AIC stock because of his investment decision to retain the

stock” (App. 11).

The district court also held that plaintiff had a duty to miti-

gate his claime4 damages:

“Even in cases of alleged fraud, a plaintiff has a duty to

mitigate his damages upon discovery of the fraud. * * *

Piaintiff in our preser.t cause had eighteen opportunities to

sell his stock at the price he paid for it or at a profit within

the first month after he filed suit. The only reason plaintiff

gives for not selling his AIC stock is that if he had done so

he would have lost his standing to pursue a derivative ac-

tion on behalf of the AIC. This was a personal decision

and not the result of any alleged fraud on the part of any

of the defendants” (App. 10).

Plaintiff appealed from the judgment of the district court.

On June 18, 1975, the three-judge panel of the Court of Appeals

sinc ca

filed its original opinion reversing the judgment of the district

court.* The panel held, in part: (1) “{[T]he public discovery of

the fraud is the proper date at which to ascertain damages (App.

21) and “the value of [plaintiff's] AIC stock, for purposes of

computing damages, must be measured by the market price after

the fraud had been discovered by the general public . . .” (App.

23); and (2) “[{Plaintiff] was under no duty to sell his AIC

stock, for mitigation of damages or any other purpose, prior to

commencing this action” (App. 24) and he was not “under a

duty, after discovery of the fraud, to sell his AIC stock for the

benefit of the appellees” (App. 25).

Defendants then filed timely petitions for rehearing or re-

hearing en banc. On August 11, 1975, the Court of Appeals

denied rehearing. The panel, however, modified its opinion with

respect to the date upon which damages should be measured,

as follows:

“(U]nder the allegations made in the instant case the

public discovery of the fraud may be the proper date at

which to ascertain damages.

» * * * x * *

“Thus, assuming, arguendo, the truth of [plaintiff's]

claims that the actual value of the securities cannot be

established at or near the date of purchase due to an arti-

ficially inflated market price of long duration attributable

to defendants’ fraudulent misrepresentations, [plaintiff] may

+ The Court of Appeals “resolve[d] the merits only with respect

to . . . counts I and II” (App. 16) and only these counts are in-

volved in this petition. Plaintiff did not appeal from the dismissal of

Count III. The dismissal of Count IV (on the grounds plaintiff failed

to allege that he was a shareholder at the time of the claimed wrongs,

as required by Rule 23.1, F.R.Civ.P) was not reached on appeal.

* Emphasis ours here and throughout this petition unless other-

wise noted.

TABATA

a, Fan)

be able at the trial to establish an alternate basis for re-

covery by introducing evidence of his damages as of the

date of public discovery of the fraud” (App. 37, 39).

The panel did not modify its original holding that a plaintiff

in a Federal securities case has no duty to mitigate his claimed

damages.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

This Court should grant a Writ of Certiorari and review the

decision of the Court of Appeals because:

(1) The decision creates an unprecedented, unwarranted,

and far-reaching exception to the universally applied common

law doctrine of mitigation of damages by holding that the doc-

trine is uniquely inapplicable to Federal securities cases based

upon Sections 10(b) and 18(a), which ruling conflicts with

those of the other courts, including the Ninth Circuit, which

have addressed the issue; and

(2) The decision adopts or recommends an equally novel,

erroneous, and far-reaching rule that the date of public dis-

covery of the alleged fraud is the proper date at which to ascer-

tain damages in Federal securities cases, which ruling also con-

flicts with those of all other Circuits which have addressed the

issue,

I. The Court Should Grant a Writ of Certiorari Because the

Court of Appeals Erred in Holding That the Universally Ap-

plied Common Law Doctrine of Mitigation of Damages Is

Uniquely Inapplicable to Federal Securities Cases Based Upon

Sections 10(b) and 18(a) and That Ruling Conflicts With Those

of the Other Courts Which Have Addressed the Issue.

The district court granted summary judgment on the grounds

that the uncontroverted facts established that plaintiff had not

sii A ce

been damaged because he had the opportunity on numerous oc-

casions, both before and after filing suit, to mitigate his claimed

damages by selling his stock at his purchase price or at a profit.

The Court of Appeals held, however, that a plaintiff has no

duty to mitigate his damages in a Federal securities case. In so

holding, the Court rejected (a) the universally applied common

law doctrine that a failure to mitigate damages prevents recovery

of such damages as might have been avoided by reasonable

effort, whether the action is based upon contract (e.g., /ndus-

trial Sugars, Inc. v. Standard Accident Ins. Co., 338 F.2d 673,

676 (7th Cir. 1964); Commodity Credit Corp. v. Rosenberg

Bros. & Co., 243 F.2d 504, 511-12 (9th Cir. 1957), cert. de-

nied, 355 U.S. 837 (1957), or tort (e.g., George Cohen Sons

& Co. v. Koch, 376 F.2d 629, 632 (1st Cir. 1967); Ellerman

Lines, Ltd. v. President Harding, 288 F.2d 288, 290 (2d Cir.

1961), including fraud (e.g., Southwestern Packing Co. v. Cin-

cinnati Butchers’ Supply Co., 139 F.2d 201, 208 (Sth Cir.

1943)); (b) its own prior decision that where the out-of-pocket

rule of damages is applied in fraud cases, there is a duty to

mitigate damages (Lack Inaustries, Inc. v. Ralston Purina Co.,

327 F.2d 266, 281 (8th Cir. 1964));° and (c) its own prior

decision that the Act does not promote speculation at the “total

risk” and “expense” of the defendant (Myzel v. Fields, 386 F.

2d 718, 740-41 n.15 (8th Cir. 1967), cert. denied, 390 US.

951 (1968)). Furthermore, the court's decision conflicts with

the decisions of the other Circuits and district courts, which

hold that there ds a duty to mitigate damages in Federal secu-

rities cases.

For example, in Foster v. Financial Technology Inc., 517 F.

2d 1068, 1072 (9th Cir. 1975), a case based upon Section

10(b) and Rule 10b-5 of the Act, and Section 5 of the Securi-

ties Act of 1933, the Court held:

* The Court of Appeals observed in that earlier case, “Since the

representer is not a guarantor, the victim of misrepresentation may

not irresponsibly accumulate his losses to the detriment of the mis-

representor”’.

ERS BNF EO EERE PI IIS ROI LL PING EL OP LD IE TE LEO OITA IT SAE EOE tS

ial Kee

“Under the familiar mitigation of damages principle, a

party cannot recover that part of his loss caused by his

own failure, once he has reason to know of the breach,

to take reasonable steps to avoid further harm. Although

plaintiffs are not here asserting a breach of contract claim,

the notion of what constitutes reasonable conduct by the

nonbreaching party carries over to the determination of

the amount of plaintiffs’ loss for which defendants should

be held responsible. Consequently, at the point where a

reasonable man—either because of the breach or discovery

of the fraud—would have taken action to protect himself

from further depreciation in the value of the claim, the

chain of causation is cut and plaintiffs cannot recover dam-

ages for subsequent losses.”

See also, Mitchell v. Texas Gulf Sulfur Co., 446 F.2d 90,

105-06 (10th Cir.), cert. denied, 404 U.S. 1004 (1971) (Stock-

holder given reasonable amount of time within which to “ ‘cover’

by reinvestment” thereby suffering “neither loss nor forced sale”

and denying “recovery to those who suffered only by their own

lack of due diligence”); Competitive Associates, Inc. v. Inter-

national Health Sciences, Inc., CCH Sec. L. Rptr. € 94,966 at

97,339 (S.D.N.Y. 1975); Courtland v. Walston & Co., Inc.,

340 F.Supp. 1076, 1079-80 (S.D.N.Y. 1972); Pearlstein v.

Scudder & German, 346 F.Supp. 443 (S.D.N.Y. 1972); Marth

v. Industrial Incomes Inc. of North America, 290 F.Supp. 755,

759 (S.D.N.Y. 1968) (“If indeed plaintiffs, upon learning of

the alleged misrepresentations, and prior to entering into the

agreement with [defendant], could have sold their shares for a

price equal to or greater than their purchase price and failed

to do so, they should properly bear the consequences”); Pfan-

enstiel v. Ling & Co., 371 F.Supp. 845, 848 (N.D.Tex. 1974)

(In action brought under the securities acts of 1933 and 1934,

even if alleged misrepresentations were part of a scheme to de-

fraud, plaintiff could not recover for damages he could have

mitigated by liquidating his account); but see Chris-Craft In-

a “oon

dustries, Inc. v. Piper Aircraft Corp., 480 F.2d 341 (1973)

(Section 14(e) of the Act).

The panel of the Court of Appeals did not cite these cases,

let alone attempt to distinguish them.

The three cases cited by the panel of the Court of Appeals

as supporting its holding that there is no duty to mitigate dam-

ages in Federal securities cases simply do not do so. O'Hara

v. Derschug, 241 App. Div. 513, 272 N.Y.S. 189 (1934), was

a common law fraud case and, rather than supporting the court's

decision, supports petitioners’ position.‘ Cant v. A. G. Becker

& Co., 379 F.Supp. 972 (N.D.Ill. 1974), did not consider di-

rectly the doctrine of mitigation of damages. Beecher v. Able,

CCH Fed. Sec. L. Rptr. €95,016 (S.D.N.Y. 1975), was a suit

brought under Section 11(a) of the Securities Act of 1933, 15

U.S.C. §77k, which does not apply the out-of-pocket damages

rule, and the court specifically restricted its opinion to the in-

terpretation of that statute.

The review by this Court of the question of mitigation of

damages in Federal securities cases presented by this case is of

exceptional importance because of the inconsistency of the Court

of Appeals’ decision with those of the other Federal courts

which have addressed the issue, the determinative nature of the

question with respect to the numerous lawsuits brought under

the Federal securities laws, and the erroneousness of the deci-

sion of the Court of Appeals.

Just last Term, this Court expressed concern about “the po-

tential for nuisance or ‘strike’ suits in this type of litigation.”

Blue Chip Stamps v. Manor Drug Stores, — U.S. —, 95 S.Ct.

539 (1975). The Court of Appeals’ opinion, if allowed to

* Indeed, the court cited Reno v. Bull, 226 N.Y. 546, 552 (1919),

as adopting the out-of-pocket measure of damages and stated that,

under that rule, if the purchase price later rose, “plaintiff would have

suffered no recoverable damage”.

EE FAB PN RT AE AIS PL FEF RED DO Meh TL OR? RK AR eT Po ear

aie A

stand, will invite and spawn such additional spurious litigation.

Moreover, under this decision, plaintiffs in Federal securities

litigation are directed and encouraged to “speculate” at the

“risk” and “expense” of defendants, which even the Eighth Cir-

cuit had previously condemned. See, Myzel v. Fields, supra.

II. The Court Should Grant a Writ of Certiorari Because the

Court of Appeals’ Decision on the “Date for Fixing Damages”

Conflicts With the Decisions of Other Circuits and Is Erroneous.

In Addition, This Question Was Not Properly Before the Court

of Appeals, Was Unnecessary for the Court’s Adjudication of

the Issues Properly Before It, and Was Not Briefed and Argued

by All of the Parties.

The district court held that plaintiff was not damaged as a

result of the alleged fraud and that the uncontroverted evidence

established that he had failed to mitigate his damages. No issue

concerning the “date for fixing damages” was presented to or

ruled upon by the district court. This irrelevant issue was gratui-

tously interjected into the case by the panel of the Court of

Appeals in disregard of the rule that an appellate court will not,

and should not, review what the lower court did not decide.

E.g., Walters v. City of St. Louis, 347 U.S. 231, 233 (1954).

Indeed, the panel itself stated, “The district court did not pur-

port to rely on these damage rules in dismissing the action (App.

39). Nevertheless, the panel proceeded to judicially write new

law in vacuo without the benefit of thorough briefing and ex-

haustive oral argument by the parties or careful consideration of

the ramifications of its decision.

The panel of the Court of Appeals held in its original opinion

that “public discovery of the fraud is the proper date at which

to ascertain damages” (App. 21) and “the value of [plaintiff's]

AIC stock, for purposes of computing damages, must be meas-

ured by the market price after the fraud had been discovered by

mee

Ren: |. pee

the general public . . .” (App. 23). In response to defendants’

petition for rehearing, the panel modified that opinion to hold

that the date of the public discovery of a fraud is a proper date

on which to measure damages.

No other court has so held. This holding rejects the long-

standing rule, based upon Sigafus v. Porter, 179 U.S. 116, 125

(1900), that damages under the securities acts are determined

as of the date of purchase—i.e., the difference between the

actual value of the stock on that date and the price paid by the

defrauded plaintiff. This rule, as even noted by the Court of

Appeals, has been acknowledged by «he First Circuit (Janigan

v. Taylor, 344 F.2d 781, 786 (ist Cir.), cert. denied, 382 US.

879 (1965)); Fourth Circuit (Occidental Life Ins. Co. v. Pat

Ryan & Assoc., Inc., 496 F.2d 1255, 1264-65 (4th Cir.), cert.

denied, 419 U.S. 1023 (1974) ); Fifth Circiut (Wolf v. Frank,

477 F.2d 467, 478-79 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 975

(1973) ); Seventh Circuit (Kohler v. Kohler Co., 208 F. Supp.

808, 825 (E.D. Wis. 1962), aff'd, 319 F.2d 634 (7th Cir.

1963)); Ninth Circuit (Sackett v. Beaman, 399 F.2d 884,

891 (9th Cir. 1968)); Tenth Circuit (Estate Counseling Serv-

ice, Inc. v. Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith, Inc., 303

F.2d 527, 533 (10th Cir. 1962) );* and even previously by the

Eighth Circuit (Myzel v. Fields, 386 F.2d 718, 744-45 (8th

Cir. 1967), cert. denied, 390 U.S. 951 (1968)). See also,

Gottlieb v. Sandia America Corp., 304 F. Supp. 980, 991 (E.D.

Pa. 1969), aff'd in part, rev'd in part on other grounds, 452 F.

2d 510 (3rd Cir.), cert. denied, 404 U.S. 938 (1971); Sarlie

v. E. L. Bruce Co., 265 F. Supp. 371, 375-6 (S.D.N.Y. 1967).

See generally, 6 L. Loss, Securities Regulation 3922-23 (Supp.

1969); 3 Bromberg, Securities Law: Fraud 9.1 at 226 (1974).

* A variation of this rule in two Tenth Circuit cases is the adoption

of the date of discovery of the fraud by the purchaser as the date for

measuring damages. Richardson v. MacArthur, 451 F.2d 35, 43-44

(10th Cir. 1971); Esplin v. Hirschi, 402 F.2d 94, 104 (10th Cir.

1968).

ORR SSA FS

seat Ik alnie

The panel’s sua sponte departure from the holdings of other

Circuits and the district courts is also illogical and almost impos-

sible to implement. As only one example, the panel justified

its original conclusion by stating “[iJt is only then [i.e., after

public discovery] that the market can reflect the true value of

the stock, unaffected by what is alleged to have been defend-

ants’ continuing fraud” (App. 21).° This rationale simply ignores

the realities of the open market. It is far from the sterile labora-

tory which the panel's opinion presupposes. The value of stock

is affected daily by innumerable factors other than alleged “con-

tinuing fraud.”

Moreover, the panel's opinion would frequently permit a plain-

tiff to collect more damages than he could under the traditional

application of the out-of-pocket rule.

In adopting a new rule sua sponte with respect to the date

upon which damages are to be fixed in Federal securities litiga-

tion, the Court of Appeals has rendered a decision in conflict

with those of all of the other Circuits which have addressed the

issue. This unprecedented rule is illogical and impractical to

apply and will impose additional burden and confusion upon

courts confronted with the numerous complex cases brought

under the securities acts. For these reasons, it is of national

importance that the decision be reviewed by this Court.

* The modified opinion only slightly watered down this statement:

“The circumstances may disclose that only then did the market reflect

the true value of the stock, unaffected by what is alleged to have

been the defendants’ continuing fraud” (App. 37).

SPER te Te ae OE ae SELENE et sata ties

pt —— oe

ey pe

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated, it is respectfully submitted that this

petition for Writ of Certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted

ROBERT S. ALLEN

KATHIANNE KNAUP

611 Olive Street

St. Louis, Missouri 63101

Attorneys for Petitioner American

Investment Company and the

Individual Petitioners

LEWIS, RICE, TUCKER,

ALLEN & CHUBB

Of Counsel

VERYL L. RIDDLE

WILLIAM C. CONNETT, IV

ROBERT F. SCOULAR

LYNN D. HOWARD

500 North Broadway

St. Louis, Missouri 63102

Attorneys for Petitioner

Haskins & Sells

BRYAN, CAVE, McPHEETERS

& McROBERTS

Of Counsel

ec as AF Serer AOE IT EE PINE EL PER Be PEE PVN Be POOL OREN RS YMA oA TG

EER CEI RTE U A MERIRIINT DHPMP OFAN APT (PY) MOMS EUS TA

ates Bit ones

APPENDIX A

Memorandum Opinion of District Court

Myron Harris, Plaintiff,

v.

American Investment Company et al., Defendants.

No, 71C 732 (A).

United States District Court,

E. D. Missouri, E. D.

June 24, 1974,

MEMORANDUM OPINION*

HARPER, District Judge.

All the defendants, American Investment Company (herein-

after referred to as AIC), Barnes, Hartley, Letourneau, Van

Norman, Stuebner, Snow, Rand, McMillian, Kaufmann, Barber,

Derrick, O’Brien and Burns (hereinafter referred to as individu-

ally appearing defendants) and Haskins & Sells, have moved to

dismiss or strike Counts I and II of plaintiff's amended complaint

with prejudice for failure to state a claim for which relief can

be granted and for failure to comply with this Court’s Memo-

randum and Order (hereinafter referred to as Memorandum)

entered in this case on December 29, 1972. AIC and the in-

dividual defendants have moved to dismiss or strike Count III

of the amended complaint for the same reasons as stated for

dismissal of Counts I and II. The individual defendants have

also moved to dismiss or strike Count IV of the amended com-

plaint for failure to state a claim and for failure to comply with

* Reported at 378 F.Supp. 894.

STITH PH Ad NPRM ROY

stoi Will sees

this Court’s Memorandum. Counts I, II and III are challenged

in the motions to dismiss or strike with prejudice for the same

reasons. Accordingly, these motions to dismiss or strike with

prejudice will be dealt with together.

AIC and the individually appearing defendants jointly filed

a motion for summary judgment, and Haskins & Sells filed a

motion for summary judgment on Counts I and II. The motion

of AIC and the individually appearing defendants was supported

by affidavit pursuant to Rule 56 of the F.R.Civ.P. As grounds

for this motion the defendants contend that the pleadings and

answers to interrogatories, together with the affidavit filed, show

that the plaintiff has not suffered any damage as a result of any

alleged wrongdoing of the defendants, AIC and the individually

appearing defendants also jointly filed a motion to dismiss

Counts I through III of the amended complaint as a class action.

Plaintiff, Myron Harris, filed a motion for an order from this

Court finding that this action is maintainable as a class action

under Rule 23 of the F.R. C. P.

Plaintiff, a shareholder of AIC, brought this suit on his own

behalf, as a representative of the class of all present and former

common stockholders of AIC similarly situated, and derivatively

on behalf of AIC against AIC, certain of its officers and directors,

and Haskins & Sells, AIC’s independent auditors. Plaintiff al-

leges that this Court has jurisdiction under Section 22 of the

Securities Act of 1933, 15 U.S.C.A. § 77v, Section 27 of the

Securities and Exchange Act of 1934, 15 U.S.C.A. § 78aa, and

because of diversity of citizenship.

Count I of the amended complaint charges the defendants

with violations of Section 10(b) of the Securities Exchange Act

of 1934, 15 US.C.A. § 78j, and Rule 10(b)-5, 17 CFR

240.10b-5 (1949), promulgated pursuant thereto. Count I al-

leges that beginning on or before June 30, 1968, the defendants

made, or caused to be made, misleading or false statements con-

TO emer eu |

pM AR RET

Pete SN, yee

cerning the financial position and operating results of AIC or

made such omissions of fact as to be misleading. Such state-

ments or omissions were allegedly made in such places as press

releases, statements and reports to stockholders, and reports and

statements filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission

and the New York Stock Exchange.

Count II of the amended complaint incorporates the allega-

tions of Count 1, and charges the defendants with a violation of

Section 18(a) of the Securities Act of 1934, 15 U.S.C.A. § 78r,

for filing reports and documents containing false and misleading

statements or material omissions with the Securities and Ex-

change Commission.

Count III of the amended complaint charges that defendants,

other than Haskins & Sells, violated Section 10(b) and Rule

10(b)-5 and Section A2 of AIC’s listing agreement with the New

York Stock Exchange by failing to advise AIC and its stock-

holders of favorable offers which had been made to the defend-

ants for the stock of AIC in a proposed merger. Count III fur-

ther alleges that these acts constitute fraud and deceit at common

law.

Count IV of the amended complaint (a derivative action)

alleges that the individual defendants who are or were officers

or directors of AIC were guilty of breaching their fiduciary duty

to the corporation and mismanaged and wasted the corporation’s

assets.

In this Court’s Memorandum and Order dated December 29,

1972, this Court found that the allegations of Counts I, II and

IV of the original complaint were too vague to withstand attack

under F.R.C.P. 9(b), which requires that fraud be pleaded with

particularity. Count I of the original complaint and Count II

by incorporation by reference, alleged that “(Beginning on or

before June 30, 1968, and continuing through December 31,

1970, * * * defendants have caused to be circulated and dis-

— * ee

seminated to the public numerous press releases * * * describing

purported actual results of operations of AIC in such a way as

to be misleading and misrepresentative.” Count IV, by incor-

porating Count III by reference alleged that defendants failed

to advise plaintiff “with respect to proposals by other publicly

owned corporations, where AIC would merge, combine with, or

be acquired.”

The Court in granting defendants’ motions at that time

granted plaintiff leave to amend the complaint. Plaintiff filed

an amended complaint which included in Counts I and II,

thirty pages (pp. 7-36) of detailed references to the documents

which contained the false and misleading statements and which

identified the particular statement within each document mis-

represented or omitted.

On page 5 of the Memorandum this Court quoted from

Trussell v. United Underwriters, Ltd., 228 F.Supp. 757, 774

(D.Colo. 1964) as follows:

“The theory of Rule 9(b) is that the defendant in a case

wherein the plaintiff alleges either fraud or mistake—

unlike defendants in other actions—should be rather

specifically apprised by the plaintiff's pleading of the oc-

casion on which and the circumstances under which he

allegedly defrauded a particular plaintiff. * * *

“Rule 9(b) does not, however, require the pleading of

detailed evidentiary matter, nor does it require any par-

ticularity in connection with an averment of intent, knowl-

edge, or condition of mind. It only requires identification

of the circumstances constituting fraud or mistake.”

Plaintiff's obligation is to apprise the defendants of the

occasion on which and the circumstances under which he,

defendant, allegedly defrauded the plaintiff. With particularity,

plaintiff has apprised defendants of the occasions on which

plaintiff alleged he was defrauded. The information respecting

SRE

eee aD |

Rw RI ———

Spee

oa eG

fraud or mistake is set forth with sufficient clarity for the de-

fendants to know what they are required to meet—no

more, no less. Thus, the requirements of Rule 9(b) have been

met in connection with Counts I and II. The motions to dis-

miss Counts I and II for failure to state a claim are overruled.

Count III of the amended complaint is the same as Count

IV of the original complaint except for the allegation that

jurisdiction is based upon the doctrine of pendent jurisdic-

tion and the addition of the names of two publicly owned cor-

porations with whom plaintiff alleges defendants had merger

negotiations. The mere addition of two names in Count III

of the amended complaint does not fulfill the demands of Rule

9(b). The defendants are neither apprised of the occasion on

which or the circumstances under which they allegedly defrauded

the plaintiff, as required by Trussell v. United Underwriters,

Ltd., supra.

All of the defendants, except Haskins & Sells, move this

Court to dismiss Count III for the additional reason that plain-

tiff failed to state a claim upon which relief can be granted

because he failed to plead that he was a shareholder at the time

of the acts complained of in Count III, and hence, could not

have suffered any damage as a result thereof, as required in

order to state a claim under Rule 10(b)-5. Smith v. Murchison,

310 F.Supp. 1709 [sic], 1084 ($.D.N.Y.1970). Count III alleges

that the activity complained of, failure to disclose merger

negotiations, commenced in 1968 and continued into 1969.

Although plaintiff purchased his AIC stock on August 4, 1969,

his pleadings do not state that he was a shareholder of AIC at

the time of the alleged merger negotiations. Therefore, plaintiff

could not have suffered any damage as the result of the acts

complained of in Count, IU.

Count III of plaintiff's amended complaint also fails to state

a claim for which relief can be granted under § 10(b) of the

+1¥* 7 PRATT TEEN RE TET ae RT INC %

IKE KE! SLA s >

= © oo

Securities Exchange Act of 1934 for other reasons. As discussed

in this Court’s Memorandum and Order entered in this case on

December 29, 1972, § 10(b)-Rule 10(b)-5 liability necessitates

a showing that plaintiff either purchased or sold his stock in re-

liance on a violation of § 10(b)-Rule 10(b)-5. Birnbaum v.

Newport Steel Corp., 193 F.2d 461 (2nd Cir.) cert. denied, 343

U.S. 956, 72 S.Ct. 1051, 96 L.Ed. 1356 (1952).

At that time plaintiff requested leave to amend his com-

plaint to allege purchase of his shares in reliance upon defend-

ants’ alleged misconduct of failing to disclose merger negotia-

tions. Plaintiff has not amended his complaint to show such

reliance and has failed to show that a loss flowed directly from

his purchase of the AIC stock as required by Smith v. Murchison,

supra, in order to state a claim under Rule 10(b)-S.

The plaintiff further alleges in Count III that another basis

for seeking recovery in this count is alleged violations of Sec-

tion A-2 of defendants’ AIC’s listing agreements with the New

York Stock Exchange. In this Court’s previous Memorandum

and Order, it is stated on page 9: “* * * Violation of Section A2

of AIC’s listing agreement with the New York Stock Exchange

* * * rests upon diversity of citizenship,” and invited the atten-

tion of the plaintiff to Snyder v. Harris, 394 U.S. 332, 89 S.Ct.

1053, 22 L.Ed.2d 319 (1969), and Zahn v. International Paper

Company, 469 F. 2d 1033 (2nd Cir. 1972), affirmed 414 U.S.

291, 94 S.Ct. 505, 38 L.Ed.2d 511, with respect to plaintiff's

amended pleadings.

By not complying with the requirements in these two cases

the Court assumes the plaintiff cannot allege facts to support

jurisdiction in a class action based on diversity with respect to

Count III. The amended petition failed to comply with the

Court’s Memorandum. For the above reasons, the defendants’

motions to dismiss for failure to state a cause of action are

ae pom

sustained. Count III will accordingly be dismissed without

prejudice.

The individually appearing defendants have moved the Court

to dismiss or strike Count IV. These defendants contend that

Count IV fails to comply with Rule 23.1 of the F.R.C.P. in that

plaintiff failed to plead that he was a stockholder at the time

of the alleged transactions of which he complains and failed to

allege that he has requested the stockholder of AIC to take ac-

tion, or his redson or excuse for not taking such action.

Turning first to the defendants’ second contention that plain-

tiff failed to allege that he requested the stockholders of AIC

to take action, the case of Heit v. Bixby, 276 F.Supp. 217

(E.D.Mo. 1967) is controlling. In the Heit case, the Court held

that a stockholder’s derivative action against all of the directors

of a corporation for serious willful and negligent breaches of

their fiduciary duties to the corporation should not be dismissed

for plaintiff's failure to demand action on the part of the directors

and stockholders of the corporation. In our present case Count

IV is a stockholders’ derivative action against all of the directors

of AIC for breach of their fiduciary duties to the corporation.

There is no merit to defendants’ second contention.

With respect to the defendants’ first contention, again it

is evident from the pleadings that plaintiff failed to plead that

he was a stockholder at the time of the events complained of in

Count IV as required by Rule 23.1 of the F.R.C.P. In this

Court’s Memorandum, Count V of the original complaint was

dismissed for failure to comply with Rule 23.1 of the F.R.C.P.

There is no difference at all between Count IV of the amended

complaint and Count V of the original complaint. The only

item plaintiff added was a verification of the allegations in

Count IV of the amended complaint. Plaintiff contends that a

complaint is not to be dismissed on the grounds that the claims

actually arose prior to the time plaintiff acquired his stock

ORAS BOR ER te _

sp

where the complaint alleges continuing wrongdoing occurring

at the time plaintiff owns stock. Bateson v. Magna Oil Corpora-

tion, 414 F.2d 128 (Sth Cir. 1969), cert. denied 397 U.S. 911,

90 S.Ct. 909, 25 L.Ed.2d 91 (1970). This Court in Heit v.

Bixby, supra, permitted recovery in a derivative action for

wrongdoing which commenced before the date plaintiff ac-

quired stock but continued after the date plaintiff acquired

stock; however, the recovery was limited to the period the plain-

tiff was a stockholder. With respect to the allegations charged

in Count IV, this Court in its previous Memorandum on page 8

set out the pertinent part of Rule 23.1 of the F.R.C.P. that ap-

plied to this count. In part, the rule says: “The complaint * * *

shall allege (1) that the plaintiff was a shareholder or member

at the time of the transaction of which he complains * * *.”

Plaintiff here simply has not pled when the wrongdoings com-

plained of began nor does plaintiff allege that any of the wrong-

doings continued after August 4, 1969, when he acquired AIC

stock. The motion to dismiss for failure to state a cause of

action as to Count I'V is sustained.

In view of the Court’s prior Memorandum and the failure of

the plaintiff to set out the date of the alleged wrongdoing or that

any of the alleged wrongdoings continued after he acquired his

stock on August 4, 1969, the Court assumes the plaintiff cannot

allege facts to support Count IV. For the above reasons the

motion of the individually appearing defendants to dismiss for

failure to state a cause of action is sustained. Count IV of the

amended petition will accordingly be dismissed without preju-

dice.

The Court now takes up defendants’ motion for summary

judgment on Counts I and II. The undisputed facts relating to

this motion for summary judgment on Counts I and II under

Rule 56 of the F.R.C.P. are as follows: Plaintiff is presently the

owner of one thousand (1,000) shares of AIC common stock

which he purchased on August 4, 1969, at a price of $18%

AEN a Se a a REL LLT EET EFI NE TS EL I nye ymeree RY TED

pias th sts

per share. Since the date of purchase, the stock market price

has fluctuated from a low of $7 to a high of $20. In the

period from August 5, 1969, through May 31, 1971, AIC com-

mon stock sold on the open market at prices of $18% or more

for 47 days. This lawsuit was commenced on April 9, 1971,

and for 18 of the first 30 days thereafter plaintiff could have

sold his AIC stock at the price he paid for it or at a profit

(Exhibit B. Affidavit of Warren E. Van Norman).

The defendants’ contention is that the undisputed facts in this

case disclose that plaintiff has not suffered any damages as a

result of any alleged wrongdoing of the defendants because subse-

quent to plaintiff's purchase of his AIC common stock and subse-

quent to the filing of this lawsuit, plaintiff could have recouped

his investment or sold at a profit on the open market: therefore,

entitling defendants to summary judgment in their favor on

Counts I and II. With this contention the Court agrees.

The facts of this case fall within the holding in Morrow v.

Schapiro, 334 F. Supp. 399 (E.D.Mo.1971). In Morrow, plain-

tiff alleged violations of Section 10(b) and Rule 10(b)-5 in

connection with the purchase and retention of stock of Permaneer

Corporation. The Court sustained defendant’s motion to dis-

miss for failure to state a claim upon which relief could be

granted.

The complaint alleged that plaintiff had acquired 18,650

shares of Permaneer Corporation on the open market; that he

was induced to purchase and retain the stock by misrepresenta-

tion made by defendants; that he paid $582.620 for his stock;

that he subsequently could have sold the sar-s for approxi-

mately $700,000; that he was still the owners he stock. and

that the stock had a value of only $56,000

The Court ruled that plaintiff failed to state a claim as a

purchaser for the reason that subsequent to the purchase of the

BP RE BR TRIE? ORNATE TSE SWE Re RO,

— A-10 —

stock he could have sold it at a profit, and hence, suffered no

damages. On page 401 of the opinion the Court stated:

“But as [the] defendants correctly observe[d], the complaint

on its face shows that the investment was, at least initially,

a profitable one. The stock increased in value from an

original cost of $582,620 to $700,000. Even assuming

that the misrepresentations were made and that plaintiff

relied upon them in connection with the purchase of the

securities, no damage can be shown as a result of such

purchases.”

In order to state a claim under Rule 10(b)-5 it must ap-

pear not only that a purchase or sale took place, but that there

was a loss and that the loss flowed directly from the purchase

or sale. Smith v. Murchison, supra. Plaintiff's loss, if any, did

not flow directly from the purchase or sale of the AIC stock,

but flowed from plaintiff's own investment decision to retain

the AIC stock.

Even in cases of alleged fraud, a plaintiff has a duty to miti-

gate his damages upon discovery of the fraud. Lack Indus-

tries, Inc. v. Ralston Purina Co., 327 F.2d 266 (8th Cir. 1964);

Transport Manufacturing & Equipment Company v. Fruehauf

Trailer Co., 295 F.2d 223 (8th Cir. 1961). Plaintiff in our

present cause had eighteen opportunities to sell his stock at the

price he paid for it or at a profit within the first month after he

filed suit. The only reason plaintiff gives for not selling his AIC

stock is that if he had done so he would have lost his standing

to pursue a derivative action on behalf of the AIC. This was

a personal decision and not the result of any alleged fraud on

the part of any of the defendants.

Plaintiff argues that Travis v. Anthes Imperial Ltd., 473 F.2d

515 (8th Cir. 1973) implicitly limits the holding of the Morrow

v. Schapiro, supra, very narrowly. In the Travis case the defend-

ants through misrepresentation and fraud caused plaintiffs to

— se

believe that they would later receive a tax-free exchange or an

equivalent offer for their stock after a tender offer to Canadian

shareholders had expired and that they, therefore, should hold

onto their Anthes stock. The Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals

in its opinion in the Travis case, at page 521, said:

“Absent defendants’ encouragement, the plaintiffs would

have sold their stock earlier when a market for Anthes

stock existed and the price was higher. The fact that the

sale took place at a time when the plaintiffs were aware

of all the facts, including defendants’ misrepresentations,

is not fatal to the plaintiffs’ claim.”

The Morrow and Travis cases are distinguishable on very

basic and sound grounds. In Travis there was a sale of the stock

involved after the fraud was discovered and the sale was at a

loss. In Morrow, as in our present cause, there was no sale of

the stock. There is an additional fact that distinguishes our

present case from both Morrow and Travis. Unlike the plaintiffs

in Morrow and Travis, the plaintiff in our present cause could

have sold his stock without suffering a loss after he discovered

the alleged fraud.

The courts have repeatedly held that one who retains his

stock cannot bring himself under the provisions of § 10(b); he

must be a defrauded “seller” to qualify. Greenstein v. Paul, 400

F.2d 580 (2nd Cir. 1968); Herpich v. Wallace, 430 F.2d 792

(Sth Cir. 1970); Cooper v. Garza, 431 F.2d 578 (Sth Cir.

1970).

Plaintiff's loss was not in connection with the purchase of

his AIC stock because he had numerous opportunities to sell

without a loss after he discovered the alleged fraud, and plain-

tiffs loss was not in connection with the sale of his AIC stock

because of his investment decision to retain the stock. There-

fore, defendants are entitled to summary judgment in their favor

on Counts I and II.

— A-12 —

For the above stated reasons this Court sustains the motion

of AIC and the individually appearing defendants for summary

judgment on Counts I and II in their favor and against the plain-

tiff.

Turning now to the motion of AIC and the individually

appearing defendants to dismiss Counts I through III of the

amended complaint as a class action, it is fundamental that

the class representative must himself possess a cause of action.

Kansas City, Missouri v. Williams, 205 F.2d 47, 51 (8th

Cir.), cert. denied 346 U.S. 826, 74 S.Ct. 45, 98 L.Ed.

351; Kauffman v. Dreyfus Fund, Inc., 2 Cir., 434 F.2d 727,

734. In view of the Court’s ruling with respect to Counts I, II

and III, the motion of AIC and the individually appearing de-

fendants to dismiss will be sustained. This ruling also disposes

of the defendants’ motion with respect to declaring this a class

action.

The Clerk of the Court will prepare and enter the proper

order carrying out the Court’s rulings as follows: Overruling the

motions of all defendants to dismiss or strike as to Counts I and

II of plaintiff's amended complaint for failure to state a claim for

which relief can be granted; sustaining the motion of AIC and

the individually appearing defendants to dismiss or strike Count

III of plaintiff's amended complaint for failure to state a claim

for which relief can be granted; sustaining the motion of the

individually appearing defendants to dismiss or strike Count IV

of plaintiff's amended complaint for failure to state a claim for

which relief can be granted and dismissing Counts III and IV

ot plaintiffs amended complaint without prejudice; sustaining

the motion of all defendants for summary judgment as to Counts

I and II of plaintiff's amended complaint; and sustaining the

motion of AIC and the individually appearing defendants to dis-

miss Counts I, II and III of the amended complaint as a class

action.

— A-13 —

APPENDIX B

Original Opinion of Court of Appeals

United States Court of Appeals

for the Eighth Circuit

No. 74-1573

Myron Harris, )

Appellant, | Appeal from. the

v. | United States Dis-

. trict Court for the

American Investment | Eastern District of

Company, et al., | Missouri.

Appellees.

Submitted: February 14, 1975

Filed: June 18, 1975

Before Matthes, Senior Circuit Judge; Bright and Stephenson,

Circuit Judges.

Bright, Circuit Judge.

Myron Harris, who holds 1,000 shares of common stock of

American Investment Company (AIC) which he purchased on

August 4, 1969, through a public stock exchange, brings this

action individually and on behalf of the class of all AIC share-

holders similarly situated. He names as defendants AIC, cer-

tain of its officers and directors, and the accounting firm of

Haskins & Sells, and he alleges the following wrongdoing:

a) Counts I and II (against all defendants): Immediately be-

fore and continuing after 1969 the defendants published false

and misleading statements in violation of § 10(b) of [2]* the

* Numbers in boldface in brackets indicate pages of the slip

opinion.

an AR oe

Securities Exchange Act of 1934, 15 U.S.C. § 78j(b) (1970), and

Rule 10b-5 thereunder, 17 C.F.R. § 240.10b-5 (1974), and

filed false and misleading information with the Securities and

Exchange Commission in violation of § 18(a) of the Securities

Exchange Act of 1934, 15 U.S.C. § 78r(a) (1970).

[3] b) Count III (against defendants other than AIC and [4]

Haskins & Sells): The individual defendants violated § 10(b) of

the Securities Exchange Act, Rule 10b-5, and AIC’s listing agree-

ment with the New York Stock Exchange and committed fraud

upon AIC shareholders by failing to inform AIC and its share-

holders of merger proposals from other corporations.

c) Count IV (stockholder derivative action): The individual

defendants mismanaged AIC.

On motion of the defendants, the district court granted sum-

mary judgment dismissing Harris’ individual claim for damages

under counts I and II. Then, because Harris no longer possessed

a cause of action himself, the district court also dismissed the

class action in these counts.

1 Harris alleges that these misrepresentations and omissions in-

duced him and others to buy and retain AIC stock and caused an

artificially inflated market value for the stock.

Section 10(b) of the Securities Exchange Act provides as follows:

Regulation of the use of manipulative and deceptive de-

vices.—It shall be unlawful for any person, directly or indirectly,

by the use of any means or instrumentality of interstate com-

merce or of the mails, or of any facility of any national securities

exchange—

* * *

(b) To use or employ, in connection with the purchase or

sale of any security registered on a national securities exchange

or any security not so registered, any manipulative or deceptive

device or contrivance in contravention of such rules and regula-

tions as the Commission may prescribe as necessary or appro-

priate in the public interest or for the protection of investors.

[15 U.S.C. §78j(b) (1970).]

Rule 10b-5 provides as follows:

Employment of manipulative and deceptive devices.

It shall be unlawful for any person, directly or indirectly, by

the use of any means or instrumentality of interstate commerce,

— A-15 —

The district court also dismissed count III as an individual

and class action for failure to state a claim, for Harris had failed

to allege that he was a stockholder at the time of the incidents

which formed the basis for the count.

The district court dismissed the derivative action, count IV,

for failure to state a claim for which relief can be granted be-

cause it concluded that Harris had failed, as he had in count

III, to allege that he was a stockholder at the time of the in-

cidents complained of. The court’s dismissal of counts III and

IV was without prejudice.*

or of the mails or of any facility of any national securities ex-

change,

(a) To employ any device, scheme, or artifice to defraud,

(b) To make any untrue statement of a material fact or to

omit to state a material fact necessary in order to make the

Statements made, in the light of the circumstances under which

they were made, not misleading, or

(c) To engage in any act, practice, or course of business

which operates or would operate as a fraud or deceit upon any

person, in connection with the purchase or sale of any security.

[17 C.F.R. § 240.10b-5 (1974).]

Section 18(a) of the Securities Exchange Act provides as follows:

Liability for misleading statements—(a) Any person who

shall make or cause to be made any statement in any applica-

tion, report, or document filed pursuant to this title or any rule

Or regulation thereunder, or any undertaking contained in a

registration statement as provided in subsection (d) of this

section 15 of this title, which statement was at the time and in the

light of the circumstances under which it was made false or

misleading with respect to any material fact, shall be liable to

any person (not knowing that such statement was false or mis-

leading) who, in reliance upon such statement, shall have pur-

chased or sold a security at a price which was affected by such

statement, for damages caused by such reliance, unless the per-

son sued shall prove that he acted in good faith and had no

knowledge that such statement was false or misleading. A per-

son seeking to enforce such liability may sue at law or in equity

a: court of competent jurisdiction. * * * [15 U.S.C. §78r(a)

(1970).]

* The district court opinion is reported at 378 F. Supp. 894

(E.D. Mo. 1974).

— A-16 —

Harris appeals, contending that the trial court erred in grant-

ing summary judgment on his individual claims in counts [5] I

and II; in dismissing the class allegations in those counts; and in

dismissing the derivative action alleged in count IV. He raises

no question on appeal with respect to the dismissal of count

III. We find it necessary to resolve the merits only with re-

spect to Harris’ individual claims in counts I and II. We re-

verse and remand the cause for further proceedings in the dis-

trict court.

Since this case comes before us after summary disposition, the

record is skeletal at best, limited to the facts alleged in the

pleadings and the facts appearing in defendants’ affidavit in

support of their motion for summary judgment. Nonetheless, we

are able to reconstruct a factual background adequate for pur-

poses of discussion.

AIC stock is publicly traded on the New York Stock Ex-

change. Harris purchased his shares on August 4, 1969, at a

price of $18%. The market for this stock remained fairly con-

stant for a time, but by June 30, 1970, the stock had plunged

to $74. It recovered somewhat thereafter, and by April 8,

1971, the day preceding the filing of the complaint, AIC shares

were sold on the New York Stock Exchange at a high of $16%

and a low of $16%.

Harris contends that in the fall of 1970 he came to believe

that he had been the victim of an on-going scheme of mis-

representation and fraudulent concealment of information. At

that time the market price of AIC stock had fallen to approxi-

mately $9 per share. He contends that he approached his at-

torneys at that time to discuss possible federal securities law

violations. The attorneys prepared a complaint in the winter

of 1970 and, as we have noted, filed it in early April of 1971.

PORE RALERESE ELNINO IPI IR SIE EE AERO TE

sone Beh Das.

[6] I. Damages.

The dispute in this case focuses upon whether the appellant

individually sustained any recoverable damages from the de-

fendants’ alleged violations of §§ 10(b) and 18(a) of the Se-

curities Exchange Act. In granting summary judgment, the

district court ruled that Harris has suffered no damages. The

court reasoned as follows:

The defendants’ contention is that the undisputed facts

in this case disclose that plaintiff has not suffered any

damages as a result of any alleged wrongdoing of the

defendants because subsequent to plaintiff's purchase of

his AIC common stock and subsequent to the filing of

this lawsuit, plaintiff could have recouped his investment

or sold at a profit on the open market: therefore, en-

titling defendants to summary judgment in their favor

on Counts I and II. With this contention the Court

agrees. [378 F. Supp. at 900.]

The district court noted that following Harris’ purchase of

the stock its price exceeded $18%—his purchase price—for

47 days through May 31, 1971. Included in this period were

18 days out of the 30 days immediately subsequent to the

commencement of this action. However, the record shows

that between the fall of 1970, when plaintiff asserts that he

first suspected fraud, and the filing of the lawsuit, the stock

at no time equaled or exceeded the purchase price.

The validity of the district court's holding rests upon its

legal determination that the defendants may be absolved from

liability by showing that the plaintiff could have recouped his

loss by selling his stock subsequent to his discovery of their

alleged fraud, including sale after [7] the institution of the law-

suit. We disagree with this determination. We hold that on

the record presented in this case it cannot be concluded, for

purposes of summary judgment, that plaintiff has suffered no

damages.

— A-18 —

A. Date for fixing damages.

Although the federal securities laws in several instances of-

fer greater protection to buyers and sellers of securities than

do common law fraud concepts, see 3 L. Loss, Securities Reg-

ulation 1435-36 (2d ed. 1961), common law fraud concepts

underlie the securities laws and provide guidance as to their

reach and application, particularly where, as here, Congress

has not specified the remedies available to a defrauded buyer.*

In cases arising under §10(b) and Rule 10b-S the federal

courts employ an out-of-pocket rule of damages borrowed

from the tort action of deceit. See Madigan, Inc. v. Good-

man, [8] 498 F.2d 233, 239 (7th Cir. 1974); Wolf v. Frank,

477 F.2d 467, 478-79 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 975

(1973); Estate Counseling Service, Inc. v. Merrill Lynch,

Pierce, Fenner & Smith, Inc., 303 F.2d 527, 533 (10th Cir.

1962); see generally 6 L. Loss, Securities Regulation 3922-23

(Supp. 1969); Note, Measure of Damages in Rule 10b-5 Cases

Involving Actively Traded Securities, 26 Stan. L.Rev. 371,

* Although Congress in §18(a) has expressly authorized recovery

of damages resulting from false or misleading statements in filed

documents, it did not specify how and when the damages are to be

measured. Compare §11(e) of the Securities Act of 1933, 15 U.S.C.

$77k(e) (1970) (civil liabilities on account of false registration

statement). Thus, to the extent that $18(a) is silent with respect

to the measurement of damages we view it in the same light as we

view §10(b), which is silent with respect to remedies altogether.

Unless otherwise indicated, our discussion therefore applies equally

to $$10(b) and 18(a).

+ One commentator has described this rule in the following terms:

[The out-of-pocket rule] allows recovery of the difference be-

tween the actual value of what the injured party gave and what

he received. In contrast with restitution damages, the plaintiff

recovers what he has lost, rather than what the defendant has

gained. The injured investor is given nothing for the loss of the

benefit that he would have enjoyed had defendant’s representa-

tions been true. [Note, Measurement of Damages in Private

Actions under Rule 10b-5, 1968 Wash. U.L.Q. 165, 172.]

See also W. Prosser, Law of Torts $110 at 733-34 (4th ed. 1971).

— A-19 —

383-85 (1974). But see Ohio Drill & Tool Company v. John-

son, 498 F.2d 186, 190-91 (6th Cir. 1974) (proper measure

of damages is disgorgement of profits by defrauding seller);

Zeller v. Bogue Electric Manufacturing Corp., 476 F.2d 795,

801-03 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 908 (1973) (same).

The Restatement of Torts (1938), at § 549, measures dam-

ages under this rule as

(a) the difference between the value of the thing bought,

sold or exchanged and its purchase price or the value

of the thing exchanged for it * * *.

Thus, actual pecuniary loss rather than loss of bargain is the

measure of damages:

Under the [out-of-pocket] rule stated in * * * Clause

[(a)] the recipient of a fraudulent misrepresentation is

entitled to recover from its maker only the actual loss

which be- [9] cause of its falsity he sustains by his action or

inaction in reliance upon it. If notwithstanding the falsity

of the representation the thing which a vendee acquires

is of equal or greater value than the price paid and he

has suffered no harm through using it in reliance upon

its being as represented, he has suffered no loss and can

recover nothing. [Restatement of Torts § 549, comment

b at 110.)

The federal courts have identified two dates at which dam-

ages under the out-of-pocket rule may be ascertained. Quot-

ing from Sigafus v. Porter, 179 U.S. 116, 125 (1900), Judge

Aldrich of the First Circuit has Suggested that damages for

a defrauded purchaser of securities coming within the cover-

age of § 10(b) and Rule 10b-5 should be fixed as of the date

of purchase:

[T]he damages are to be reckoned solely by “the differ-

ence between the real value of the property at the date

— A-20 —

of its sale to the plaintiffs and the price paid for it, with

interest from that date, and, in addition, such outlays as

were legitimately attributable to the defendant’s conduct,

but not damages covering ‘the expected fruits of an un-

realized speculation’ [Smith v. Bolles, 132 U.S. 125, 130

(1889)].” [Janigan v. Taylor, 344 F.2d 781, 786 (lst

Cir.), cert. denied, 382 U.S. 879 (1965).]

Accord, Occidental Life Insurance Co. v. Pat Ryan & Asso-

ciates, 496 F.2d 1255, 1264-65 (4th Cir.) (semble), cert.

denied, 419 U.S. 1023 (1974); Wolf v. Frank, supra, 477

F.2d at 478-79; Estate Counseling Service, Inc. v. Merrill

Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith, Inc., supra, 303 F.2d at 533

(dictum); Gottlieb v. Sandia American Corp., 304 F. Supp.

980, 991 (E.D. Pa. 1969), aff'd in part, rev'd in part on

other grounds, 452 [10] F.2d 510 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 404

U.S. 938 (1971). The typical fact situation in these cases

discloses an alleged fraudulent concealment or misrepresenta-

tion by a seller directed at the buyer-plaintiff only and not

the public at large. Hence, the actual worth of the securities

at the time of purchase by the plaintiff is readily ascertain-

able. But see Gottlieb v. Sandia American Corp., supra, 304

F. Supp. at 989-90.

The Restatement of Torts observes that there may be diffi-

culty ascertaining the value of the article transferred in con-

nection with a misrepresentation where the misrepresentation

affects the market price of the article. This is particularly true

with respect to publicly-traded securities:

The value of the article is normally determined by the

price at which it could be resold in an open market or

by private sale if its quality or other characteristics which

affect its value were known. However, the price which

determines the value of the article is not necessarily the

price which it would bring at the time the sale is made.

— A-21 —

In many cases this price is due to the widespread belief

of other buyers in misrepresentations similar to that made

to the person seeking recovery, as where the market price

of securities, such as bonds or shares, is the result of widely

spread misrepresentations of those who issue or market

them. The fact that the market price is inflated or de-

pressed by such misrepresentations is the important factor

which makes the price fictitious * * *. [Restatement of

Torts § 549, comment ¢ at 111.]

Thus, where a defendant’s fraudulent conduct is alleged, [11]

as it is in this case, to have caused an artificial market of long

duration, damages have been fixed, consistently with the Re-

statement's position, not at the date of purchase but rather at

the date of discovery of the fraud. See Esplin v. Hirschi, 402

F.2d 94, 104-05 (10th Cir. 1968), cert. denied, 394 US. 928

(1969); see also Chasins v. Smith, Barney & Co., 306 F. Supp.

177, 178 (S.D. N.Y. 1969) (failure by broker to disclose his

position as a market-maker).

Although the Tenth Circuit has fixed damages as of the date

that the buyer actually discovered, or should have discovered,

the seller's fraud, Richardson v. MacArthur, 451 F.2d 35, 43-

44 (10th Cir. 1971); Esplin v. Hirschi, supra, 402 F.2d at 104,

we believe that in the instant case the public discovery of the

fraud is the proper date at which to ascertain damages. It is

only then that the market can reflect the true value of the stock,

unaffected by what is alleged to have been the defendants’ con-

tinuing fraud:

[VJalue is determined by their [i.e., the securities’] market

price after the fraud is discovered when the price ceases to

be fictitious and represents the consensus of buying and

selling opinion of the value of the securities as they

actually are.

« x *

Oe ne Mae eee ge ee eee Dee Dee ee eee oe RTPA OY La uA a ave ~ 9

oe. pee

In the majority of stock transactions the person seeking

recovery discovers the falsity of the misrepresentations at

the same time that it becomes known to the investing

public and, therefore, at a time when the price of the stock

is no longer inflated or depressed by the same or similar

misrepresentations. It may be, however, that he discovers

the falsity of the representations either earlier or later than

the general public. In the first situation, his loss is deter-

mined by the actual value of the securities in question

shown by their [12] market price after the public discovery

of the fraud brings the price into accord with the actual

value. In the second situation, where the person seeking

recovery does not learn of the falsity of the facts repre-

sented until sometime after the general public has dis-

covered it, the value of the securities is fixed by the price

at which they are selling at the time of his and not of the

public’s discovery. [Restatement of Torts § 549, com-

ment c at 111, 112-13.]°

The American Law Institute’s Federal Securities Code draft

adopts in principle this same reasoning:

The measure of damages * * * is

(A) if the plaintiff is a buyer, the difference between

the amount that he paid and the value of the security

determined as of the time specified in section 1402

(e)(1) [i.e., when, inter alia, all material facts be-

came generally available to the investing public.]

{[ALI, Federal Securities Code § 1402(f)(1)(A)

(Tent. Draft No. 2, 1973).]

° The Restatement (Second) of Torts retains this formulation of

the date for fixing damages. /d. §549, comment c at 30-32 (Tent.

Draft No. 11, 1965).

PORE AO aes LORIE ALGER LL EE OO, LOOP GIES CP AOL P IG LALOR OF OEE PE ERG OID IE A

=—

This proposed codification incorporates the common law rule

for the date of ascertaining damages. ALI, Federal Securities

Code § 1402(f)(1), comments (1)(b), (4)(b), (5) (b).*

[13] Thus, the value of Harris’ AIC stock, for purposes of com-

puting damages, must be measured by the market price after

the fraud had been discovered by the general public, i.e., when

all material facts had become known to the public such that the

market price had ceased to be fictitious. Since the record does

not address itself to when public discovery occurred, the district

court erred in granting summary judgment for the defendants.

It may very well be that the plaintiff ferreted out the defendants’

alleged fraud prior to its discovery by the general public and

that public discovery, consequently, coincided with or immedi-

ately followed the institution of the lawsuit. In such an event

plaintiff would have sustained little or no compensable injury.

The proof may show, however, that public discovery preceded

the suit, when the market value of the stock was much lower.

In such an event plaintiff's damages could prove substantial.

These matters are for the trial court to determine on remand.

B. Mitigation of damages.

A defrauded buyer of securities may maintain an action for

damages under § 10b, and, presumably, § 18(a), even though

he continues to hold the securities. Pfeffer v. Cressaty, 223 F.

Supp. 756, 758 (S.D. N.Y. 1963); see Occidental Life Insur-

° The appellees urge that Morrow v. Schapiro, 334 F.Supp. 399

(E.D. Mo. 1971), calls for the conclusion that the plaintiff in this

case has suffered no compensable injury. We do not read Morrow

to reach the issue presented here. In Morrow, the court assumed

that the market value of the plaintiff’s securities, which was greater

than the purchase price, reflected—contrary to market value in the

instant case—nothing other than the actual value of the securities

and it reasoned that the plaintiff had therefore sustained no loss by

misrepresentations that might have induced his purchase. /d. at 401.

ome,” ee

‘ance Co. v. Pat Ryan & Associates, supra, 496 F.2d at 1264-65;

Wolf v. Frank, supra, 477 F.2d at 478; Sackett v. Beaman, 399

F.2d 884, 891 (9th Cir. 1968); Johns Hopkins University v.

Hutton, 326 F. Supp. 250, 262 [14] (D. Md. 1971), aff'd in

part, rev'd in part on other grounds, 488 F.2d 912 (4th Cir.

1973), cert. denied, 416 U.S. 916 (1974). At common law, a de-

frauded purchaser of securities is under no duty to sell them

prior to maintaining an action for deceit but may hold them for

investment purposes if he chooses. See Hindman v. First Na-

tional Bank, 112 F. 931, 935-36 (6th Cir.), cert. denied, 186

U.S. 483 (1902); Hotaling v. A. B. Leach & Co., 247 N.Y. 84,

159 N.E. 870, 872 (1928); Stephens v. Wheeler, 193 Wis. 164,

213 N.W. 464, 468 (1927). Thus, Harris was under no duty

to sell his AIC stock, for mitigation of damages or any other

purpose, prior to commencing this action.

Where one has bought securities for long-term investment,

it would be inappropriate to apply a rule requiring him to sell

them prematurely for the benefit of the defrauding defendant.

Inasmuch as we have held that Harris’ damages are to be meas-

ured as of the date of public discovery of the fraud,

[t}he plaintiff will not be able to avail himself of any fur-

ther decrease in the value of the security after that date.

So also the defendant should not be able to avail itself of

any increase in the value of the stock after that date. This

is the only method in which a consistent measure of dam-

ages can be obtained. [Cant v. Becker & Co., 379 F. Supp.

972, 975 (N.D. Ill. 1974).]

Accord, O’Hara v. Derschug, 241 App. Div. 513, 272 N.Y.S.

189, 198 (1934). See also Beecher v. Able, No. 66 Civ. 3471,

CCH Fed. Sec. L. Rep. €95,016 at 97,561 (S.D. N.Y. Mar 17,

1975) (no need for plaintiff to mitigate damages in action

under Section 11(a) of the Securities Act of 1933, 15 U.S.C.

§77k(a) (1970), by selling stock after statutory date for meas-

urement of damages).

SES PP OE Ce EE Ee

FRILL MENS OIE BIT IMO NILE BIBLE LIP GERI IE A yee

— A-25 —

[15] Consequently, we reject the appellees’ contention that

Harris was under a duty, after discovery of the fraud, to sell his

AIC stock for the benefit of the appellees. By continuing to hold

the stock after that date Harris has, in effect, made a second in-

vestment decision unrelated to his initial decision to purchase the

stock. As the court observed in Cant v. Becker & Co., supra,

379 F. Supp. at 975, what happens after this second decision

has no bearing whatsoever on the measure of plaintiff's damages.

II. Other Issues

Harris requests that, if we should reverse the district court’s

ruling on damages, we should also certify counts I and II as a

class action. He contends that he is entitled as a matter of law

to bring this case as a class action. We decline the invitation

to decide at this juncture of the case whether it should proceed

as a class action.

The district court dismissed the class action with respect to

counts I and II because it had determined that Harris could

recover no damages on his individual claims under these counts

and therefore could not adequately represent all defrauded

purchasers of AIC stock. Until the district court can recon-

sider Harris’ adequacy as a representative of a proper class, we

deem it inappropriate to evaluate the propriety of a class action.

Accordingly, the appeal on this issue is dismissed.

Harris also seeks our review of the district court’s order dis-

missing without prejudice the allegations contained in count

IV, a derivative action. As we have noted, this dismissal rested

upon the failure of the appellant to plead specifically, as re-

quired by Fed. R. Civ. P. 23.1(1), that he [16] was a stockholder

at the time of the commission of the alleged wrongs by the direc-

tors and officers of the corporation.

According to Harris’ contention, he has discussed certain of

the events referred to in count IV in detail in other counts of

— A-26 —

his complaint. He contends that by reference to these allega-

. tions in other counts, count IV should be construed as alleging

that he held stock at the time that defendants were guilty of

misconduct in managing AIC.

We do not reach the merits of this contention. The district

court dismissed count IV without prejudice. Such a dismissal

does not constitute an appealable final order under 28 U.S.C.

$1291 (1970). See, e.g., Azar v. Conley, 480 F.2d 220, 223 (6th

Cir. 1973) (dismissal of complaint without prejudice); Amer-

ican Broadcasting Co. v. Wahl Co., 121 F.2d 412, 413 (2d Cir.

1941) (dismissal of count of complaint with leave to amend);

cf. Olson v. Rembrandt Printing Co., 511 F.2d 1228, 1230-31

(8th Cir. 1975); Piel v. Harvard Interiors Manufacturing Co.,

490 F.2d 1272 (8th Cir. 1974). If these wrongs in fact occurred

after Harris acquired his stock, it would be proper on remand

for Harris to seek leave to amend his complaint to bring count

IV squarely within the prescription of Rule 23.1(1).

III. Summary.

In summary, we reach no issue on this appeal other than

that of damages. We reverse the grant of summary judgment on

Harris’ individual claims under counts I and II. Lest our opinion

be misunderstood, we do not hold that plaintiff has made

out a case entitling him to damages if he is able [17] to prove

fraudulent misrepresentations or omissions by the defendants.‘

* In order to recover any damages Harris must, on remand,

prove all the elements for recovery under §10(b) and Rule 10b-5,

see, e.g., Myzel v. Fields, 386 F.2d 718, 733-37 (8th Cir. 1967),

cert. denied, 390 U.S. 951 (1968), or §18(a), see Heit v. Weitzen,

402 F.2d 909, 914-16 (2d Cir. 1968), cert. denied, 395 U.S. 903

(1969). Among these elements is reliance by Harris upon the de-

fendants’ omissions and misrepresentations, more accurately charac-

terized as causation in fact. E.g., Clegg v. Conk, 507 F.2d 1351,

1361 n.14 (10th Cir. 1974), petition for cert. filed, 43 U.S.L.W.

3531 (U.S. Mar. 4, 1975) (No. 74-1096). See also Affiliated Ute

RELA AEDES LIME LEE BEEP EPMA:

— A-27 —

We hold only that on the record before us it cannot be said

as a matter of law that Harris cannot collect damages even

if he should establish the existence of the alleged fraudulent

misrepresentations and omissions.

A true copy.

Attest:

Clerk, U.S. Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit.

Citizens v. United States, 406 U.S. 128, 153-54 (1972); Schlick v.

Penn-Dixie Cement Corp., 507 F.2d 374, 380-81 (2d Cir. 1974);

Globus v. Law Research Service, Inc., 418 F.2d 1276, 1291-92 (2d

Cir. 1969), cert. denied, 397 U.S. 913 (1970); Werfel v. Kramarsky,

61 F.R.D. 674, 681 (S.D. N.Y. 1974); Shapiro v. Merrill Lynch,

Pierce, Fenner & Smith, Inc., 353 F. Supp. 264, 274-79 (S.D. N.Y.

1972), aff'd, 495 F.2d 228, 238-41 (2d Cir. 1974). See generally

Note, Reliance Requirement in Private Actions under SEC Rule

10b-5, 88 Harv. L. Rev. 584, 587-96 (1975).

— A-28 —

APPENDIX C

Order on Petitions for Rehearing

United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit

No. 74-1573

Myron Harris, )

Appellant, Appeal from the

VS. United States District

Court for the Eastern

American Investment Company, et al., District of Missouri.

Appellees. )

Order

In response to the appellees’ petitions for rehearing or for

rehearing en banc, the opinion of June 18, 1975, is modified

as follows:

Pages 7 through 17 are withdrawn and replaced by new

pages 7 through 17 attached hereto and by reference made

a part of this order.

In all other respects the petitions for rehearing or for re-

hearing en banc are denied.

Dated this 11th day of August 1975.

A true copy.

Attest:

Clerk, U. S. Court of Appeals, 8th Circuit.

Oa aa

— A-29 —

APPENDIX D

Modified Opinion of Court of Appeals

United States Court of Appeals

for the Eighth Circuit

No. 74-1573

Myron Harris, >

Appellant, | Appeal from the

v. United States Dis-

trict Court for the

American Investment Eastern District of

Company, et al., Missouri.

Appellees. |

Submitted: February 14, 1975

Filed: June 18, 1975

Modified: August 11, 1975

Before Matthes, Senior Circuit Judge; Bright and Stephenson,

Circuit Judges.

Bright, Circuit Judge.

Myron Harris, who holds 1,000 shares of common stock of

American Investment Company (AIC) which he purchased on

August 4, 1969, through a public stock exchange, brings this

action individually and on behalf of the class of all AIC share-

holders similarly situated. He names as defendants AIC, cer-

tain of its officers and directors, and the accounting firm of

Haskins & Sells, and he alleges the following wrongdoing:

Counts I and II (against all defendants): Immediately be-

fore d continuing after 1969 the defendants published false

and ... eading statements in violation of § 10(b) of [2]* the

* Numbers in boldface in brackets indicate pages of the slip

opinion.

PES Bee WOW ERLE A ALOR el AA

— A-30 —

Securities Exchange Act of 1934, 15 U.S.C. § 78j(b) (1970), and

Rule 10b-5 thereunder, 17 C.F.R. § 240.10b-5 (1974), and

filed false and misleading information with the Securities and

Exchange Commission in violation of § 18(a) of the Securities

Exchange Act of 1934, 15 U.S.C. § 78r(a) (1970).!

[3] b) Count III (against defendants other than AIC and [4]

Haskins & Sells): The individual defendants violated § 10(b) of

the Securities Exchange Act, Rule 10b-5, and AIC’s listing agree-

ment with the New York Stock Exchange and committed fraud

upon AIC shareholders by failing to inform AIC and its share-

holders of merger proposals from other corporations.

c) Count IV (stockholder derivative action): The individual

defendants mismanaged AIC.

' Harris alleges that these misrepresentations and omissions in-

duced him and others to buy and retain AIC stock and caused an

artificially inflated market value for the stock.

Section 10(b) of the Securities Exchange Act provides as follows:

Regulation of the use of manipulative and deceptive de-

vices.—It shall be unlawful for any person, directly or indirectly,

by the use of any means or instrumentality of interstate com-

merce or of the mails, or of any facility of any national securities

exchange—

* od ~

(b) To use or employ, in connection with the purchase or

sale of any security registered on a national securities exchange

or any security not so registered, any manipulative or deceptive

device or contrivance in contravention of such rules and regula-

tions as the Commission may prescribe as necessary or appro-

priate in the public interest or for the protection of investors.

[15 U.S.C. § 78j(b) (1970).]

Rule 10b-5 provides as follows:

Employment of manipulative and deceptive devices.

It shall be unlawful for any person, directly or indirectly, by

the use of any means or instrumentality of interstate commerce,

or of the mails or of any facility of any national securities ex-

change,

(a) To employ any device, scheme, or artifice to defraud

(b) To make any untrue statement of a material fact or to

omit to state a material fact necessary in order to make the

EPO PGI ES PL eI OND POLE NEE, LIAO AYE Mey AES OLLIE PE

sin i men

On motion of the defendants, the district court granted sum-

mary judgment dismissing Harris’ individual claim for damages

under counts I and II. Then, because Harris no longer possessed

a cause of action himself, the district court also dismissed the

Class action in these counts.

The district court also dismissed count III as an individual

and class action for failure to state a claim, for Harris had failed

to allege that he was a stockholder at the time of the incidents

which formed the basis for the count.

The district court dismissed the derivative action, count IV,

for failure to state a claim for which relief can be granted be-

cause it concluded that Harris had failed, as he had in count

III, to allege that he was a stockholder at the time of the in-

statements made, in the light of the circumstances under which

they were made, not misleading, or

(c) To engage in any act, practice, or course of business

which operates or would operate as a fraud or deceit upon any

person, in connection with the purchase or sale of any security.

(17 C.F.R. § 240.10b-5 (1974)].

Section 18(a) of the Securities Exchange Act provides as follows:

Liability for misleading statements.—(a) Any person who

shall make or cause to be made any statement in any applica-

tion, report, or document filed pursuant to this title or any rule

Or regulation thereunder, or any undertaking contained in a

registration statement as provided in subsection (d) of this

section 15 of this title, which statement was at the time and in the

light of the circumstances under which it was made false or

misleading with respect to any material fact, shall be liable to

any person (not knowing that such statement was false or mis-

leading) who, in reliance upon such statement, shall have pur-

chased or sold a security at a price which was affected by such

statement, for damages caused by such reliance, unless the per-

son sued shall prove that he acted in good faith and had no

knowledge that such statement was false or misleading. A per-

son seeking to enforce such liability may sue at law or in equity

in any court of competent jurisdiction. * * * [15 U.S.C. § 78r(a)

(1970).]

— A-32 —

cidents complained of. The court’s dismissal of counts III and

IV was without prejudice.”

Harris appeals, contending that the trial court erred in grant-

ing summary judgment on his individual claims in counts [5] I

and IT; in dismissing the class allegations in those counts; and in

dismissing the derivative action alleged in count IV. He raises

no question on appeal with respect to the dismissal of count

III. We find it necessary to resolve the merits only with re-

spect to Harris’ individual claims in counts I and II. We re-

verse and remand the cause for further proceedings in the dis-

trict court.

Since this case comes before us after summary disposition, the

record is skeletal at best, limited to the facts alleged in the plead-

ings and the facts appearing in defendants’ affidavit in support

of their motion for summary judgment. Nonetheless, we are

able to reconstruct a factual background adequate for pur-

poses of discussion.

AIC stock is publicly traded on the New York Stock Ex-

change. Harris purchased his shares on August 4, 1969, at a

price of $18%. The market for this stock remained fairly con-

stant for a time, but by June 30, 1970, the stock had plunged

to $7%. It recovered somewhat thereafter, and by April 8,

1971, the day preceding the filing of the complaint, AIC shares

were sold on the New York Stock Exchange at a high of $16%

and a low of $16%.

Harris contends that in the fall of 1970 he came to believe

that he had been the victim of an on-going scheme of mis-

representation and fraudulent concealment of information. At

that time the market price of AIC stock had fallen to approxi-

mately $9 per share. He contends that he approached his at-

* The district court opinion is reported at 378 F. Supp. 894

(E.D.Mo. 1974).

Ta ers 4. auch ss, inks Lis Mas ees ba melee os san ce Nes tot Ga a Sahemanibioat nck coi aa han ie iach Ti ne a I Sat as ai I hdl ae

— A-33 —

torneys at that time to discuss possible federal securities law

violations. The attorneys prepared a complaint in the winter

of 1970 and, as we have noted, filed it in early April of 1971.

[6] I. Damages.

The dispute in this case focuses upon whether the appellant

individually sustained any recoverable damages from the de-

fendants’ alleged violations of §§ 10(b) and 18(a) of the Se-

curities Exchange Act. In granting summary judgment, the

district court ruled that Harris has suffered no damages. The

court reasoned as follows:

The defendants’ contention is that the undisputed facts

in this case disclose that plaintiff has not suffered any

damages as a result of any alleged wrongdoing of the

defendants because subsequent to plaintiff's purchase of

his AIC common stock and subsequent to the filing of

this lawsuit, plaintiff could have recouped his investment

or sold at a profit on the open market: therefore, en-

titling defendants to summary judgment in their favor

on Counts I and II. With this contention the Court

agrees. [378 F. Supp. at 900. ]

The district court noted that following Harris’ purchase of

the stock its price exceeded $18%—his purchase price—for

47 days through May 31, 1971. Included in this period were

18 days out of the 30 days immediately subsequent to the

commencement of this action. However, the record shows

that between the fall of 1970, when plaintiff asserts that he

first suspected fraud, and the filing of the lawsuit, the stock

at no time equaled or exceeded the purchase price.

The validity of the district court's holding rests upon its

legal determination that the defendants may be absolved from

liability by showing that the plaintiff could have recouped his

loss by selling his stock subsequent to his discovery of their

alleged fraud, including sale after [7] the institution of the law-

— A-34 —

suit. We disagree with this determination. We hold that on the

record presented in this case it cannot be concluded, for pur-

poses of summary judgment, that plaintiff has suffered no dam-

ages.

A. Possible daies for fixing damages.

Although the federal securities laws in several instances offer

greater protection to buyers and sellers of securities than do

common law fraud concepts, see 3 L. Loss, Securities Regula-

tion 1435-36 (2d ed. 1961), common law fraud concepts un-

derlie the securities laws and provide guidance as to their reach

and application, particularly where, as here, Congress has not

specified the remedies available to a defrauded buyer.*

In cases arising under §10(b) and Rule 10b-5 the federal

courts employ an out-of-pocket rule of damages borrowed from

the tort action of deceit.4 See Madigan, Inc. v. Goodman, 498

3 Although Congress in §18(a) has expressly authorized recovery

of damages resulting from false or misleading statements in filed

documents, it did not specify how and when the damages are to be

measured. Compare §11(e) of the Securities Act of 1933, 15 U.S.C.

§77k(e) (1970) (civil liabilities on account of false registration

statement). Thus, to the extent that §18(a) is silent with respect

to the measurement of damages we view it in the same light as we

view §10(b), which is silent with respect to remedies altogether. Un-

less otherwise indicated, our discussion therefore applies equally to

§§10(b) and 18(a).

4 One commentator has described this rule in the following terms:

[The out-of-pocket rule] allows recovery of the difference be-

tween the actual value of what the injured party gave and what

he received. In contrast with restitution damages, the plaintiff

recovers what he has lost, rather than what the defendant has

gained. The injured investor is given nothing for the loss of the

benefit that he would have enjoyed had defendant’s representa-

tions been true. [Note, Measurement of Damages in Private

Actions under Rule 10b-5, 1968 Wash.U.L.Q. 165, 172.]

See also W. Prosser, Law of Torts §110 at 733-34 (4th ed. 1971).

FR MAE OS

— A-35 —

F.2d 233, 239 (7th Cir. 1974); Wolf v. Frank, 477 F.2d 467,

478-79 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 975 (1973); Estate

Counseling Service, Inc. v. Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner &

Smith, Inc., 303 F.2d 527, 533 (10th Cir. 1962); see gener-

ally 6 L. Loss, Securities Regulation 3922-23 (Supp. 1969);

Note, Measure of Damages in Rule 10b-5 Cases Involving Ac-

tively Traded Securities, 26 Stan. L.Rev. 371, 383-85 (1974).

But see Ohio Drill & Tool Co. v. Johnson, [8] 498 F.2d 186,

190-91 (6th Cir. 1974) (proper measure of damages is disgorge-

ment of profits by defrauding seller); Zeller v. Bogue Electric

Manufacturing Corp., 476 F.2d 795, 801-03 (2d Cir.), cert.

denied, 414 U.S. 908 (1973) (same).

és

7

¥

®

4

‘

&

.

$

The Restatement of Torts (1938), at §549, measures dam-

ages under this rule as

(a) the difference between the value of the thing bought,

sold or exchanged and its purchase price or the value of

the thing exchanged for it * * *.

Thus, actual pecuniary loss rather than loss of bargain is the

measure of damages:

Under the [out-of-pocket] rule stated in * * * Clause

[(a)] the re- [9] cipient of a fraudulent misrepresentation is

entitled to recover from its maker only the actual loss which

because of its falsity he sustains by his action or inaction

in reliance upon it. If notwithstanding the falsity of the

representation the thing which a vendee acquires is of

equal or greater value than the price paid and he has

suffered no harm through using it in reliance upon its

being as represented, he has suffered no loss and can re-

cover nothing. [Restatement of Torts $549, comment b

at 110.)

The federal courts have identified two dates at which dam-

ages under the out-of-pocket rule may be ascertained. Quoting

— A-36 —

from Sigafus v. Porter, 179 U.S. 116, 125 (1900), Judge Ald-

rich of the First Circuit has suggested that damages for a de-

frauded purchaser of securities coming within the coverage of

$10(b) and Rule 10b-5 should be fixed as of the date of pur-

chase:

[T]he damages are to be reckoned solely by “the difference

between the real value of the property at the date of its

sale to the plaintiffs and the price paid for it, with interest

from that date, and, in addition, such outlays as were

legitimately attributable to the defendant’s conduct, but

not damages covering ‘the expected fruits of an unrealized

speculation’ [Smith v. Bolles, 132 U.S. 125, 130 (1889)].”

[Janigan v. Taylor, 344 F.2d 781, 786 (1st Cir.), cert.

denied, 382 U.S. 879 (1965).]

Accord, Occidental Life Insurance Co. v. Pat Ryan & Associ-

ates, 496 F.2d 1255, 1264-65 (4th Cir.) (semble), cert. de-

nied, 419 U.S. 1023 (1974); Wolf v. Frank, supra, 477 F.2d

at 478-79; Estate Counseling Service, Inc. v. Merrill Lynch,

Pierce, Fenner & Smith, Inc., supra, 303 F.2d at 533 (dictum);

[10] Gottlieb v. Sandia American Corp., 304 F. Supp. 980, 991

(E.D. Pa. 1969), aff'd in part, rev'd in part on other grounds,

452 F.2d 510 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 404 U.S. 938 (1971).

The typical fact situation in these cases discloses an alleged

fraudulent concealment or misrepresentation by a seller di-

rected at the buyer-plaintiff only and not the public at large.

Hence, the actual worth of the securities at the time of purchase

by the plaintiff is readily ascertainable. But see Gottlieb v. San-

dia American Corp., supra, 304 F. Supp. at 989-90.

The Restatement of Torts observes that there may be diffi-

culty ascertaining the value of the article transferred in connec-

tion with a misrepresentation where the misrepresentation affects

the market price of the article. This is particularly true with

respect to publicly-traded securities:

oo

The value of the article is normally determined by the price

at which it could be resold in an open market or by private

sale if its quality or other characteristics which affect its

value were known. However, the price which determines

the value of the article is not necessarily the price which it

would bring at the time the sale is made. In many cases

this price is due to the widespread belief of other buyers

in misrepresentations similar to that made to the person

seeking recovery, as where the market price of securities,

such as bonds or shares, is the result of widely spread mis-

representations of those who issue or market them. The

fact that the market price is inflated or depressed by such

misrepresentations is the important factor which makes the

price fictitious * * *. [Restatement of Torts § 549, com-

ment c at 111.]

Thus, where a defendant's fraudulent conduct is alleged, [11]

as it is in this case, to have caused an artificial market of long

duration, damages have been fixed, consistently with the Re-

Statement’s position, not at the date of purchase but rather at

the date of discovery of the fraud. See Esplin v. Hirschi, 402

F.2d 94, 104-05 (10th Cir. 1968), cert. denied, 394 U.S. 928

(1969); see also Chasins v. Smith, Barney & Co., 306 F. Supp.

177, 178 (S.D. N.Y. 1969) (failure by broker to disclose his

position as a market-maker).

Although the Tenth Circuit has fixed damages as of the date

that the buyer actually discovered, or should have discovered,

the seller’s fraud, Richardson v. MacArthur, 451 F.2d 35, 43-

44 (10th Cir. 1971); Esplin v. Hirschi, supra, 402 F.2d at 104,

we believe that under the allegations made in the instant case

the public discovery of the fraud may be the proper date at

which to ascertain damages. The circumstances may disclose

that only then did the market reflect the true value of the stock,

unaffected by what is alleged to have been the defendants’ con-

tinuing fraud:

re DELL SCOOPS

— A-38 —

[VJalue is determined by their [i.e., the securities’] market

price after the fraud is discovered when the price ceases to

be fictitious and represents the consensus of buying and

selling opinion of the value of the securities as they ac-

tually are.

* * *

In the majority of stock transactions the person seeking

recovery discovers the falsity of the misrepresentations at

the same time that it becomes known to the investing public

and, therefore, at a time when the price of the stock is no

longer inflated or depressed by the same or similar mis-

representations. It may be, however, that he discovers the

falsity of the representations either earlier or later than the

general public. In the first situation, his loss is de- [12]

termined by the actual value of the securities in question

shown by their market price after the public discovery of

the fraud brings the price into accord with the actual value.

In the second situation, where the person seeking recovery

does not learn of the falsity of the facts represented until

sometime after the general public has discovered it, the value

of the securities is fixed by the price at which they are sell-

ing at the time of his and not of the public’s discovery.

[Restatement of Torts § 549, comment c at 111, 112-13]°

The American Law Institute’s Federal Securities Code draft

adopts in principle this same reasoning:

The measure of damages * * * is (A), if the plaintiff is

a buyer, the difference between the amount that he paid

and the value of the security determined as of the time

specified in section 1402(e)(1) [i.e., when, inter alia, all

material facts became generally available to the investing

public.} [ALI, Federal Securities Code § 1402(f)(1)(A)

(Tent. Draft No. 2, 1973).]

* The Restatement (Second) of Torts retains this formulation of

the date for fixing damages. Jd. $549, comment c. at 30-32 (Tent.

Draft No. 11, 1965).

ee

F ———

7 —_ tt eae at LESS EIS ELT OO x Rae *

FER LEBEL LILLE CL LOLOL, ILE COE ee

— A-39 —

This proposed codification incorporates the common law rule for

the date of ascertaining damages. ALI, Federal Securities Code

§$ 1402(f)(1), comments (1)(b), (4)(b), (5) (b).*

[13] Thus, assuming, arguendo, the truth of Harris’ claims that

the actua] value of the securities cannot be established at or near

the date of purchase due to an artificially inflated market price of

long duration attributable to defendants’ fraudulent misrepre-

sentations, Harris may be able at the trial to establish an alternate

basis for recovery by introducing evidence of his damages as of

the date of public discovery of the fraud.

If Harris cannot make out a case justifying this rule of dam-

ages, he may nevertheless be able to prove at trial that the actual

value of the securities at the time of purchase was less than the

market price that he paid for them.

The district court did not purport to rely on these damage

rules in dismissing the action. We cannot say on the abbrevi-

ated record before us that plaintiff sustained no loss under either

of these rules for ascertainment of damages. These matters will

be before the district court upon the trial of this case. With this

background, we turn to the issue of mitigation of damages, the

basis on which the district court dismissed the case.

B. Mitigation of damages.

A defrauded buyer of securities may maintain an action [14]

for damages under § 10(b) and, presumably, § 18(a), even though

he continues to hold the securities. Pfeffer v. Cressaty, 223 F.

8 The appellees urge that Morrow v. Schapiro, 334 F. Supp. 399

(E.D. Mo. 1971), calls for the conclusion that the plaintiff in this

case has suffered no compensable injury. We do not read Morrow

to reach the issue presented here. In Morrow, the court assumed

that the market value of the plaintiff's securities, which was greater

than the purchase price, reflected—contrary to market value in the

instant case—nothing other than the actual value of the securities

and it reasoned that the plaintiff had therefore sustained no loss by

misrepresentations that might have induced his purchase. /d. at 401.

—

Supp. 756, 758 (S.D. N.Y. 1963); see Occidental Life Insur-

ance Co. v. Pat Ryan & Associates, supra, 496 F.2d at 1264-

65; Wolf v. Frank, supra, 477 F.2d at 478; Sackett v. Beaman,

399 F.2d 884, 891 (9th Cir. 1968); Johns Hopkins University

v. Hutton, 326 F. Supp. 250, 262 (D. Md. 1971), aff'd in part,

rev'd in part on other grounds, 488 F.2d 912 (4th Cir. 1973),

cert. denied, 416 U.S. 916 (1974). At common law, a de-

frauded purchaser of securities is under no duty to sell them

prior to maintaining an action for deceit but may hold them for

investment purposes if he chooses. See Hindman v. First Na-

tional Bank, 112 F. 931, 935-36 (6th Cir.), cert. denied, 186

U.S. 483 (1902); Hotaling v. A. B. Leach & Co., 247 N.Y. 84,

159 N.E. 870, 872 (1928); Stephens v. Wheeler, 193 Wis. 164,

213 N.W. 464, 468 (1927). Thus, Harris was under no duty

to sell his AIC stock, for mitigation of damages or any other

purpose, prior to commencing this action.

Where one has bought securities for long-term investment,

it would be inappropriate to apply a rule requiring him to sell

them prematurely for the benefit of the defrauding defendant.

As we have noted, Harris’ damages may be measured as of the

date of public discovery of the fraud. Under those circum-

stances,

(t]he plaintiff will not be able to avail himself of any fur-

ther decrease in the value of the security after that date.

So also the defendant should not be able to avail itself of

any increase in the value of the stock after that date. This

is the only method in which a consistent measure of dam-

ages can be obtained. [Cant v. Becker & Co., 379 F. Supp.

972, 975 (N.D. Ill. 1974).]

[15] Accord, O'Hara v. Derschug, 241 App. Div. 513, 272

N.Y.S. 189, 198 (1934). See also Beecher v. Able, No. 66 Civ.

3471, CCH Fed. Sec. L. Rep £95,016 at 97,561 (S.D. N.Y.

Mar. 17, 1975) (no need for plaintiff to mitigate damages in ac-

tion under §11(a) of the Securities Act of 1933, 15 U.S.C. §77k

PEGI OIE EL BIS PB LE LIEN Oe ie REPT SITE ESL

— |

(a) (1970), by selling stock after statutory date for measure-

ment of damages).

Consequently, we reject the appellees’ contention that Harris

was under a duty, after discovery of the fraud, to sell his AIC

stock for the benefit of the appellees. By continuing to hold the

stock after that date Harris has, in effect, made a second in-

vestment decision unrelated to his initial decision to purchase

the stock. As the court observed in Cant v. Becker & Co.,

supra, 379 F. Supp. at 975, what happens after this second de-

cision has no bearing whatsoever on the measure of plaintiff's

damages.

II. Other Issues

Harris requests that, if we should reverse the district court’s

ruling on damages, we should also certify counts I and II as a

class action. He contends that he is entitled as a matter of law

to bring this case as a class action. We decline the invitation

to decide at this juncture of the case whether it should proceed

as a class action.

The district court dismissed the class action with respect to

counts I and II because it had determined that Harris could

recover no damages on his individual claims under these counts

and therefore could not adequately represent all defrauded pur-

chasers of AIC stock. Until the district court can reconsider

Harris’ adequacy as a representative of a proper class, we deem

it inappropriate to evaluate the [16] propriety of a class action.

Accordingly, the appeal on this issue is dismissed.

Harris also seeks our review of the district court's order dis-

missing without prejudice the allegations contained in count IV,

a derivative action. As we have noted, this dismissal rested

upon the failure of the appellant to plead specifically, as re-

—

quired by Fed. R. Civ. P. 23.1(1), that he was a stockholder at

the time of the commission of the alleged wrongs by the direc-

tors and officers of the corporation.

According to Harris’ contention, he has discussed certain of

the events referred to in count IV in detail in other counts of

his complaint. He contends that by reference to these allega-

tions in other counts, count IV should be construed as alleging

that he held stock at the time that defendants were guilty of

misconduct in managing AIC.

This contention was apparently not presented to the district

court, for the court stated that “the failure of the plaintiff to

set out the date of the alleged wrongdoing or that any of the

alleged wrongdoings continued after he [Harris] acquired his

stock on August 4, 1969, * * * [caused the court to assume

that] plaintiff cannot allege facts to support Count IV.” [378 F.

Supp. at 899.] Since the trial court entered this dismissal of

count IV without prejudice, Harris is free to present this con-

tention to the district court on remand and to seek leave to

amend count IV to show that acts of misconduct by the directors

and officers occurred after he had become a stockholder. Under

these circumstances, we do not reach the merits of this issue

raised by appellant-Harris.

{17} III. Summary

In summary, we reach no issue on this appeal other than that

of damages. We reverse the grant of summary judgment on

Harris’ individual claims under counts I and II. Lest our opin-

ion be misunderstood, we do not hold that plaintiff has made

out a case entitling him to damages if he is able to prove fraudu-

lent misrepresentations or omissions by the defendants.* We

* In order to recover any damages Harris must, on remand, prove

all the elements for recovery under $10(b) and Rule 10b-5, see, e.g.,

GEOR SEAS SAG OSI DET MEINE

—

Se SS eal iat ae tele ee Eee

on file

hold only that on the record before us it cannot be said as a

matter of law that Harris cannot collect damages even if he

should establish the existence of the alleged fraudulent mis-

representations and omissions.

A true copy.

Attest:

Clerk, U.S. Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit

Myzel v. Fields, 386 F.2d 718, 733-37 (8th Cir. 1967), cert. denied,

390 U.S. 951 (1968), or §18(a), see Heit v. Weitzen, 402 F.2d 909,

914-16 (2d Cir. 1968), cert. denied, 395 U.S. 903 (1969). Among

these elements is reliance by Harris upon the defendants’ omissions

and misrepresentations, more acurately characterized as causation in

fact. E.g., Clegg v. Conk, 507 F.2d 1351, 1361 n.14 (10th Cir.

1974), petition for cert. filed, 43 U.S.L.W. 3531 (U.S. Mar. 4, 1975)

(No. 74-1096). See also Affiliated Ute Citizens v. United States,

406 U.S. 128, 153-54 (1972); Schlick v. Penn-Dixie Cement Corp.,

507 F.2d 374, 380-81 (2d Cir. 1974); Globus v. Law Research

Service, Inc., 418 F.2d 1276, 1291-92 (2d Cir. 1969), cert. denied,

397 U.S. 913 (1970); Werfel v. Kramarsky, 61 F.R.D. 674, 681

(S.D. N.Y. 1974); Shapiro v. Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith,

Inc., 353 F. Supp. 264, 274-79 (S.D. N.Y. 1972), aff'd, 495 F.2d

228, 238-41 (2d Cir. 1974). See generally Note, Reliance Require-

ment in Private Actions under SEC Rule 10b-5, 88 Harv. L. Rev.

584, 587-96 (1975).

EASA IDOLE ET ADELE LEI TEL LA LE ALLL LALO ATLA LILIA IE AELEL DS AED IAN a

ener eo

APPENDIX E

Section 10(b), Securities Exchange Act of 1934, 15 U.S.C.

§ 78j(b)

Manipulative and deceptive devices

It shall be unlawful for any person, directly or indirectly,

by the use of any means or instrumentality of interstate

commerce or of the mails, or of any facility of any national

securities exchange—

* * * - * nd *

(b) To use or employ, in connection with the purchase

or sale of any security registered on a national securities

exchange or any security not so registered, any manipula-

tive or deceptive device or contrivance in contravention of

such rules and regulations as the Commission may prescribe

as necessary or appropriate in the public interest or for the

protection of investors.

Section 18(a), Securities Exchange Act of 1934, 15 U.S.C.

§ 78r(a)

Liability for misleading statements

(a) Any person who shall make or cause to be made any

statement in any application, report, or document filed

pursuant to this chapter or any rule or regulation there-

under or any undertaking contained in a registration state-

ment as provided in subsection (d) of section 780 of this

title, which statement was at the time and in the light of the

circumstances under which it was made false or misleading

with respect to any material fact, shall be liable to any per-

son (not knowing that such statement was false or mislead-

ing) who, in reliance upon such statement, shall have pur-

chased or sold a security at a price which was affected by

eae

aay, pen

such statement, for damages caused by such reliance, unless

the person sued shall prove that he acted in good faith and

had no knowledge that such statement was false or mis-

leading. A person seeking to enforce such liability may

sue at law or in equity in any court of competent juris-

diction. In any such suit the court may, in its discretion,

require an undertaking for the payment of the costs of such

suit, and assess reasonable costs, including reasonable at-

torneys’ fees, against either party litigant.

Reg. § 240.10b-5 (Rule 10b-5), Employment of Manipu-

lative and Deceptive Devices

Reg. § 240.10b-5. It shall be unlawful for any person,

directly or indirectly, by the use of any means or instru-

mentality of interstate commerce, or of the mails, or any

facility of any national securities exchange,

(a) to employ any device, scheme, or artifice to defraud,

(b) to make any untrue statement of a material fact or

to omit to state a material fact necessary in order to make

the statements made, in the light of the circumstances under

which they were made, not misleading, or

(c) to engage in any act, practice, or course of business

which operates or would operate as a fraud or deceit upon

any person,

in connection with the purchase or sale of any security.

eS

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.