Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Fred Imbert, Inc. v. Compagnie Generale Transatlantique
Supreme Court brief1976
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
“LIBRARY
SUPREME COURT. |
MICHAEL RODAK, JR., CL
In the
Supreme Court of the United States
Octoser Term, 1975
No 95-421
FRED IMBERT, INC.,
PETITIONER,
Vv.
COMPAGNIE GENERALE TRANSATLANTIQUE,
RESPONDENT.
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT
Cuarues A. CorDERO
Box §-1581
San Juan, Puerto Rico 00903
Counsel for Petitioner
September 15, 1975
Blanchard Press, Inc., Boston, Mass. — Law Printers
te ee eee
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
SU I con cca sche apan bee h bask cee 1
Jurisdiction ......... Deka beck « heh aeee eatin 2
I ee reg rrr ee 2
AE NY IN 5. hs 0a Oe dee hee Wag 2
fC Nt Cun a PUN Ce SPRL mm eRE Oy cI 3
Point I. The Issue Presented for Review Involves
an Important Question of Federal Maritime Law,
viz., the Legal Effect of a Finding of Contribu-
tory Negligence of a Longshoreman, Decisions on
Which Issue Are in Conflict in Various Circuit
Parr. Per eerrrres se 3
Point II. The Cireuit Court of Appeals Erred in
Searching the Record To Reverse the Jury De-
cision and Thereby Deprived Petitioner of Its
Seventh Amendment Rights. .................. 7
IRON ah te rs is os Sie hsk oT dat ad 13
NS Go taro e eha ods bata ts Chaks cueauieine 14
United States District Court for the District of
Puerto Rico, Memorandum Decision Denying
Appellant’s Post Trial Motions .............. 14
United States Court of Appeals,
I, SE Es gan sv ances ea ches ecu 17
Judgment, May 29, 1975 ............ ek wheter 28
I I sin ld cn cS ov ae wea 29
TaBLE oF CITATIONS
Cases
AdéG Stevedores v. Ellerman Lines, 369 U.S. 355
(«RRC GTR pare ahgee oe eer ee ee 7, 8, 12
Arnold v. Panhandle & Santa Fe R. Co., 353 U.S. 360 12
ii Table of Contents
Page
Dick v. New York Life Ins. Co,, 359 US. 487 0 12
Harnett v. Reiss Steamship Co., 421 F.2d 1011 (2nd
RRs ee ayy Serre 8 ee ara ar eae ty Be a 5
Hudson Steamship Co. v. Ayala Colon, 314 F.2d 44,
affirming Torres Cruz v. Hudson Steamship Co., 206
F. Supp. 216 (D.C.P.R.) Re A 12
International Terminal Operating Co., Inc. v. N. V.
Nederl. € Amerik, 393 U.S. 74 — 8
Julian v. Mitsui O.S.K. Lines, Ltd., 479 F.2d 482 (5th
Cir.), cert. denied sub nom, Mitsui O.S.K. Lines, Ltd.
v. Strachan Shipping Co., 414 U.S. 1908 (1973) 4,5
Nye vy. A/S D/S Svendborg, 501 F.2d 376, cert. denied
oan eh 5
Tennant v. Peovia & P. U. Ry. Co., 321 U.S. 29 (1948)
10, 11, 12
Constitutional Provisions
United States Constitution, Amendment VII 2, 13
Statutes
28 U.S.C. §1254(1) 2
11 L.P.R.A. §1 et seq. 6
Miscellaneous
Stern and Gressman, Supreme Court Practice (Fourth
ed. 1969) 7, 8, 9
In the
Supreme Court of the United States
Ocroser Term, 1975
No,
FRED IMBERT, INC,,
PETITIONER,
| ;
COMPAGNIE GENERALE TRANSATLANTIQUE,
RESPONDENT.
| PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT
The petitioner Fred Imbert, Inc. respectfully prays that
a writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment and
opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the First
Cireuit entered in this proceeding on May 29, 1975,
Opinions Below
The opinion of the Court of Appeals, not yet reported,
is appended to this petition as provided in U.S. Sup. Ct.
Rule 23.(i), The Memorandum Decision and Order by
ies SSR BAU Sate eh ee Oke es ei ek Se Ae eae
2
Hon, Charles L. Powell, filed and entered August 13, 1974,
which denied respondent’s post-trial motions, are also ap-
pended.
Jurisdiction
The judgment of the Court of Appeals was dated and
entered on May 29, 1975. A timely petition for rehearing
was denied without opinion on June 20, 1975. This peti-
tion for certiorari is filed within 90 days of that date.
This Court’s jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
1254(1).
Questions Presented
I. Whether the First Cireuit Court of Appeals im-
properly held that any contributory negligence of the in-
jured longshoreman results automatically in the awarding
of full indemnity, as a matter of law, as has been decided
by the Second, Fourth, and Ninth Cireuit Courts of Ap-
peal, or whether it is merely ‘‘a factor’’ to be considered
in determining the issue of indemnity as resolved by the
Third and Fifth Cireuit Courts of Appeals?
Il. Whether petitioner’s right to a jury trial under the
Seventh Amendment to the United States Constitution has
been nullified by the Court of Appeals reversal; and
whether the Court of Appeals committed basie error in
searching the record for conflicting circumstantial evidence
in order to take the case away from the jury?
Statement of the Case
Jurisdiction in the United States District Court, Dis-
trict of Puerto Rico, was based on diversity of citizenship.
Ruben Santiago Martinez, a Puerto Rico longshoreman,
pacar 22282 ‘... Re
3
sued respondent, a foreign vessel owner, for personal in-
juries. The vessel impleaded the longshoreman’s employer
(petitioner), seeking indemnity. Plaintiff recovered a ver-
dict of $90,000.00 following a 12-day trial before a court
and jury. The jury also returned a verdict in favor of
petitioner on the third party cause of action. These were
general verdicts to which no exceptions were taken. No
special interrogatories were requested by any party.
Post-Trial motions by the vessel owner were denied by
the trial judge, Hon. Charles L. Powell, in the decision ap-
pended hereto. Judgment in favor of plaintiff and in favor
of petitioner was dated December 13, 1973 and was en-
tered on December 20, 1973. Respondent appealed.
The Court of Appeals reversed that portion of the judg-
ment which denied indemnity to the vessel, holding that
in its view of the evidence, ‘‘it is entirely possible that the
jury found the longshoreman contributorially negligent,’’
and if so, any such contributory negligence automatically
results in indemnity against petitioner unless ‘‘conduct
precluding’’ were also found. The case was remanded for
a new trial.
Petitioner sought rehearing by a petition timely filed.
The petitioner was denied. Certiorari is timely sought.
Argument
Pornt I. Tue Issuz PRESENTED FoR Review INVOLVES AN
ImporTANT QvuEsTION OF FEDERAL Maritime Law, Viz.,
THE LecaL Errect or a Finpinc or CoNntTRIBUTORY
NEGLIGENCE OF A LONGSHOREMAN, DEcISIONS ON WHICH
IssuE ARE IN ConFuict iN Various Circurir Courts
or APPEALS.
The Court of Appeals decision is in conflict with deci-
sions of other Courts of Appeals on this same matter and
it has decided an important question of federal law which
SOLE DOES EE LOL IO MELE s ee > eee Seer i a
4
has not been, but should be, settled by this Court, viz., the
legal effect of a finding of contributory negligence of a
longshoreman.
This conflict is conceded by the Court of Appeals opinion
itself, where it is written:
‘“‘This dispute is whether a longshoreman’s contri-
butory negligence automatically establishes breach by
the longshoreman’s eniployer of its warranty of work-
manlike performance. In the Fifth Circuit it appears
that contributory negligence by a longshoreman does
not necessarily amount to breach of warranty by the
stevedore. Instead, the longshoreman’s contributory
negligence is reg<r?>4 as one consideration in deter-
mining whether wu. stevedore breached its war-
ranty. * * * It appears that the Third Cireuit ac-
cepts this approach also. * * * In the Second,
Fourth, and Ninth Cireuits the rule is that contri-
butory negligence by the longshoreman within the
scope of his employment is imputed to the stevedore.
* * * This also may be the rule in the Sixth Cireuit.
* * *** (Citations omitted.)
Julian v. Mitsui O.S.K, Lines, Ltd., 479 F.2d 482 (5 Cir.),
cert. denied sub nom. Mitsui O.S.K. Lines, Ltd. v. Strachan
Shipping Co., 414 U.S. 1093 (1978) is one of the principal
conflicting decisions. Julian also recognizes the conflict on
this precise issue, in these words (pages 433-484 of 479
F.2d):
“The rule in this Cireuit is that contributory negli-
genee *. . . is a factor to be taken into consideration
on the issue of breach of the contractor’s (stevedore’s)
ee)
implied warranty’.
5
‘*We are asked to reconsider our position in light of
the rule prevailing in the Second, Fourth, and Ninth
Circuits, that any contributory negligence on behalf
of the longshoreman is imputed to the stevedore and
constitutes a breach of the stevedore’s warranty as a
matter of law .. .’’ (Citations omitted.)
Harnett v. Reiss Steamship Co., 421 F.2d 1011 (2 Cir.)
was relied upon by the Court of Appeals in the case at
bar, to support its ‘‘automatie indemnity’’ holding. How-
ever, even Harnett recognizes the need for Supreme Court
clarification, stating at page 1018:
‘*The argument was made in McLaughlin that me-
chanical application of the rules of indemnity led there
to an irrational result. At first blush, the same claim
might be made here; it does seem strange that conduct
by a Grain Handling employee which deviated only
minimally (1%) from the norm should subject his em-
ployer to potentially full liability. To this argument, it
might be enough to recall that the eccentricities of the
law in this area were explored thoroughly in McLaugh-
lin, where we concluded that attempts to make it more
rational should be left to the Supreme Court or Con-
gress,”’
As if to heighten the conflict, the Second Circuit recently
retreated from its own ‘‘automatic’’ doctrine (Nye v. 4/S
D/S Svendborg, 501 F.2d 376, cert. den. US. bs
Nye was found guilty of 50% contributory negligence and
be reason of this the employer was held to have breached
its warranty by the district judge. The Second Cireuit af-
firmed the 50% contribuiory negligence, but reversed the
indemnity judgment and dismissed the shipowner’s third
party action, holding this did not amount to a breach.
ak a eer RR y ER eS ee bi ee RINNE SOLES ETL RI ET LOE ss ci . +
6
Succinetly stated, the reason the ‘‘automatic’’ rule is
erroneous is as follows: the jury was properly instructed
that if it found contributory negligence, it must reduce any
verdict by the appropriate percentage. Therefore, if con-
tributory negligence was found, no award was made for
any money damages resulting from plaintiff's own neglect.
There is no loss to be passed on to the shipowner, Under
the doctrine of comparative negligence the plaintiff purged
himself, and those damages were excised from the case.
There is hence no remaining consequenee, in terms of
money damages, of such negligence. Therefore it should
play no part in adjudicating the third party cause of aec-
tion. Any amount which the court adjudged the vessel liable
to pay the plaintiff must be assessed on a basis other than
contributory negligence.
In November, 1972 the Longshoremen’s and Harbor
Workers’ Compensation Act Amendments became effective
and in time, in the States, the importance of this issue may
diminish. However, in Puerto Rico it will not diminish.
These Amendments do not apply to Puerto Rico, whieh has
its own, separate Act, viz, the Puerto Rico Workmen's
Accident Compensation Act, (11 LPRA 1, et seq.) which
has not been amended. In Puerto Rico, the ‘tautomatie in-
demnity*’ issue will continue, until resolved, to create un-
certainties in the court's charges to the jury and to hobble
settlement negotiations in all cases.
Also, no matter what effect the Amendments have on
Stateside eases, this does not affect a court's duty to cor-
rectly decide this ease.
Although the Court of Appeals judgment would require
a new trial, this is nevertheless an important and clear-cut
issue of low fundamental to the further conduct of the ease,
that would otherwise qualify as a basis for certiorari. If
the ‘factor’? rule, as charged by District Judge Powell, is
the correct rule, then the jury verdict in favor of petitioner
Bs
Cava
png
had proper support and this old, 1968-accident case would
terminate now by reversal and re-establishment of the
jury’s verdict.
‘*!W here there is some important and clearcut issue
of law that is fundamental to the further conduct of
the case and that would otherwise qualify as a basis
for certiorari, the case may be reviewed despite its
interlocutory status (citing eases).’’ Supreme Court
Practice, Stern and Gressman (Fourth Ed., 1969).
In A. & G. Stevedores v. Ellerman Lines, 369 U.S. 355
(1962), the Supreme Court granted certiorari on the peti-
tion of the stevedore whose jury verdict had been reversed
by the Court of Appeals. The Court of Appeals had affirmed
the longshoreman’s judgment but kad remanded the third
party cause of action, exactly as in the case at bar (289
F.2d 201). After granting certiorari, this court reversed.
Henee it is seen that certiorari under these cireumstances
may be granted to review a non-final judgment.
Pornt Tl. Tur Crrevrr Covrr or Arrears Errep 1x
SEARCHING THE Recorp To Reverse tur Jury Decision
AND Tueresy Deprivep Perrrionen or Irs Sreventu
AMENDMENT RIGuts.
The usual reluctance of this Honorable Court to review
factual issues has a well-established exception in maritime
eases, Although often exercised in favor of the harbor
worker, this exception is not limited to that class of liti-
gants nor to F.E.L.A. eases.
In A. €& G. Stevedores vy. Ellerman Lines, supra, in re-
versing the Court of Appeals whose judgment had nullified
the effect of the jury's verdict in favor of the stevedore,
as in this case, the Supreme Court wrote (pages 358-359
of 869 U.S.):
. — ERAGE ELENA BEE FEMA AD ATS IPL LAER LM DIETS JOIN ATE RT PERE EN OS SMES Yl EUR SE MARTTI NG PW RRA ED
8
‘*‘We might agree with the Court of Appeals had the
questions of fact been left to us. But neither we nor the
Court of Appeals can redetermine facts found by the
jury any more than the District Court can predeter-
mine them. For the Seventh Amendment says that
‘no fact tried by a jury, shall be otherwise re-examined
in any Court of the United States, than according to
the rules of the common law’.’’
International Terminal Operating Co., Inc. v. N. V.
Nederl. d& Amerik, 393 U.S. 74 also concerned a Court of
Appeals reversal of a jury verdict in favor of the steve-
dore. The U. S. Supreme Court granted certiorari and at
the same time, in a Per Curiam opinion, reversed, in order
to reinstate the effect of the verdict.
Supreme Court Practice, by Stern & Gressman (Fourth
Ed., 1969) at page 166 adverts to the United States Su-
preme Court’s ‘‘present strong aversion toward appellate
reversals of jury verdicts’’.
In that same text, it is further expressed thus, at page
174:
‘*4 large class of such cases, over which there has
been substantial disagreement within the Court, is that
in which the Court has held that evidence was sufficient
to support a jury verdict for the plaintiff and that,
therefore, the lower court decision withholding the
case from the jury or setting aside the jury’s verdict
deprived the plaintiff of the right to a jury decision,
Although most of these cases have arisen under the
Federal Employer’s Liability Act or the Jones Act
(which extends the FELA to maritime injuries), @ib-
son v. Phillips Petroleum Co., 352 U.S. 874, was a
diversity suit for personal injuries suffered in an acci-
dent, and Dick v. New York Life Ins. Co., 359 U.S.
9
437, was a diversity suit on an insurance policy in
which the question was whether the insured had com-
mitted suicide.”’
At page 175, the Authors continue:
‘‘The same viewpoint is reflected in Beacon Thea-
tres v. Westover, 359 U.S. 500, 501, where the Court
granted certiorari to review an interlocutory order in
a civil antitrust case that would otherwise have per-
mitted trial of a major issue in equity by the court
sitting without a jury because, quoting from Dimick
v. Schiedt, 293 U.S. 474, 486:
‘*Maintenance of the jury as a fact-finding body
is of such importance and occupies so firm a place
in our history and jurisprudence that any seeming
curtailment of the right to a jury trial should be
scrutinized with the utmost care.’’
And at pages 176-177, this important principle is enunciated
by these authorities:
‘‘As long as the present policy of the Court with
respect to this class of cases is adhered te by a major-
ity of the Justices, the general principles the Court
otherwise applies in not granting certiorari merely to
review evidence or to determine if a case should have
been submitted to a jury must be regarded as, to a con-
siderable extent, inapplicable when the statutory or
constitutional right to decision by a jury is in issue.”’
The jury’s verdict had ample evidentiary support. A
reading of 8 pages of the record* reflects testimony of two
* These pages are Appendix pages 23, 33, 39, 40, 46, 55, 57
and 58. Utilizing the permissive clause in Sup. Ct. Rule 21. 1.,
= SENT ACRE OUR EO TRE AVE OED UR PARE IE PERRY CSO MOET NEE AT TAYE NOUN CT AS RAINE a TO GRE S S MS TR N
10
co-workers and of plaintiff himself negating contributory
negligence. Plaintiff was performing his work in the cor-
rect way and paying attention. The accident oceurred fast
and without warning because of the failure of the ship’s
winch,
Petitioner refers to this testimony NOT to attack the
weight of the evidence, but to demonstrate there was ample
proof to support the jury’s verdict rendered in petitioner's
favor. Despite this ample proof, the Court of Appeals im-
permissibly searched the record for a view of the evidence
that would take away petitioner’s verdict, stating (to quote
the opinion herein),
‘‘it is entirely possible that the jury found the long-
shoreman contributorially negligent’’;
and also that,
‘‘the jury might have found that the plaintiff long-
shoreman was contributorially negligent.’’
Petitioner urges this is error.
In Tennant v. Peoria € P.U. Ry. Co., 321 U.S. 29 (19438),
the Appellate Court had set aside a verdict after finding
there was no evidence upon which to base the jury’s in-
ferences. In reversing, the Supreme Court wrote at pages
34-35:
‘*In holding that there was no evidence upon which
to base the jury’s inference as to causation, the court
below emphasized other inferences which are sug-
gested by the conflicting evidence.
petitioner has certified the Appendix which has been transmitted to
this Court. Certification of only 8 pages was requested but the Clerk
deemed it more convenient to certify the entire Appendix.
POA LIEN Ae
11
* * * These and other possibilities suggested by dili-
gent counsel for respondent all suffer from the same
lack of direct proof as characterizes the one adopted
by the jury. But to the extent that they involve a dis-
obedience of duty by Tennant no presumption in their
favor exists. Nor can any possible assumption of risk
or contributory negligence on Tennant’s part be pre-
sumed in order to negate an inference that death was
due to respondent’s negligence.
It is not the function of a court to search the record
for conflicting circumstantial evidence in order to take
the case away from the jury on a theory that the proof
gives equal support to inconsistent and uncertain in-
ferences. The focal point of judicial review is the rea-
sonableness of the particular inferenc> or conclusion
drawn by the jury. It is the jury, not the court, which
is the fact-finding body. It weighs the contradictory
evidence and inferences, judges the credibility of wit-
nesses, receives expert instructions, and draws the
ultimate conclusion as to the facts. The very essence
of its function is to select from among conflicting in-
ferences and conclusions that which it considers most
reasonable, * * * That conclusion, whether it relates
to negligence, causation or any other factual matter,
cannot be ignored. Courts are not free to reweigh the
evidence and set aside the jury verdict merely because
the jury could have drawn different inferences or con-
clusions or because judges feel that other results are
more reasonable,
Upon an examination of the record we cannot say
that the inference drawn by this jury that respon-
dent’s negligence caused the fatal accident is without
support in the evidence. Thus to enter a judgment
for respondent notwithstanding the verdict is to de-
prive petitioner of the right to a jury trial.’’ (Em-
phasis added and citations omitted.)
Dene RELA FRILL TERE IE EIEN MLE NT ROME RE IE ENUM LOE LIED TR PHN EF
12
In Dick v. New York Life Ins. Co., 359 U.S. 437, the
issue was whether an insured died as a result of suicide
or accident. The court wrote at pages 445-446:
‘In our view, the Court of Appeals improperly re-
versed the judgment of the District Court. It commit-
ted its basic error in resolving a factual dispute in
favor of respondent. .. .’’
See also Arnold v. Panhandle & Santa Fe R. Co., 353
U.S. 360, holding that the Supreme Court cannot accept
interpretations of the evidence that nullify a party’s right
under federal law to a jury trial; and A. & G. Stevedores
v. Ellerman Lines, 369 U.S. 355, stating that a search for
one possible view of the case which will make a jury find-
ing inconsistent results in a collision with the Seventh
Amendment.
The Court of Appeals’ misapprehension in the case at
bar similarly relates to the matter of ‘‘conduct precluding
indemnity’’ we respectfully contend. The opinion stated
that if it knew that was the jury’s finding it could avoid
a new trial. However, this is not the test. Under Tennant,
supra, the test is whether there was evidence in the record
to support a finding that there was conduct precluding in-
demnity. The record indeed reflects such evidence as the
Court pointed out at page 3 of the opinion, i.e., that the
winchman was signalled by the crew to resume operations.
This was held to be conduct precluding indemnity by this
same court in Hudson Steamship Co. v. Ayala Colon, 314
F.2d 44, affirming Torres Cruz v. Hudson Steamship Co.,
206 F. Supp. 216 (D.C.P.R.).
Therefore even if contributory negligence had been
found, there was sufficient evidence of conduct precluding
indemnity. This brings us back to the Tennant doctrine
that the view of the evidence leading to an affirmance of
Tee |
13
the jury result is the view that must be taken. Otherwise
the Seventh Amendment’s constitutional rights have been
violated.
Conclusion
For these reasons, a writ of certiorari should issue to
review the judgment and opinion of the First Circuit; and,
upon review, the jury verdict and the district court judg-
ment thereon, reinstated.
Respectfully submitted,
Cuarues A. CorDERO
Box S-1581
San Juan, Puerto Rico 00903
Counsel for Petitioner
September 15, 1975
—_ DOES PEL IEE ERR RRR TIRE ROOT PT EPL FL LEI T, STEM EAT: OT RIE MRE Smee ae
14
APPENDIX
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
District oF Puerto Rico
Civil 175-70
RvusBen SantTiaco MARTINEZ
Plaintiff,
—against —
CoMPAGNIE GENERALE TRANSATLANTIQUE,
Defendant and
Third-Party Plaintiff,
—against —
Frep Imsert, INc.,
Third-Party Defendant.
MEMORANDUM DECISION DENYING
APPELLANT’S POST-TRIAL MOTIONS
(Filed and entered August 13, 1974)
I. History of the Litigation
Plaintiff was a longshoreman and an employee of Fred
Imbert, Inc., the stevedore. He was injured while working
on defendant’s vessel, the Fort Desaix. Plaintiff suffered
back and shoulder injuries and psychological trauma re-
sulting in a conversion reaction causing the loss of his
normal power of speech. Plaintiff sued, alleging that the
vessel was unseaworthy and that the owner and crew were
negligent. The defendant answered denying the allegations
of unseaworthiness and negligence and alleged that con-
tributory negligence on the part of the plaintiff caused the
accident. Defendant also filed a third party complaint for
indemnity against Fred Imbert, Inc., the stevedore, alleg-
ing that if negligence caused plaintiff’s injuries, it was the
negligence of the stevedoring company and its employees.
Sra eros
5 ALR EN
15
After a vigorously contested jury trial plaintiff was
awarded a substantial verdict. The third party defendant
was exonerated. The evidence was conflicting and turned
largely on the credibility of the witnesses.
Defendant and third party plaintiff has moved for judg-
ment notwithstanding the verdict or for a new trial. Plain-
tiff has moved for attorney’s fees under the Puerto Rican
doctrine of ‘‘obstinacy’’ and P.R.R.Civ.P. 44.4(d) and for
pre-judgment interest under P.R.R.Civ.P. 44.4 (e). The
third party defendant has also moved for attorney’s fees
because of obstinacy.
All the motions made by each party are denied.
II. Motions of Defendant and Third Party Plaintiff
There was ample evidence to support the plaintiff’s ver-
sion of the accident. There was sufficient evidence to sup-
port the amount of damages awarded. It is true that de-
fendant and third party plaintiff forcefully brought contra-
dictory evidence and impeaching evidence to the attention
of the jury. The jury did not believe nor give weight to
defendant and third party plaintiff’s evidence.
Substantial time and effort was spent by the court and
counsel for all parties in the consideration of the proposed
instructions. It was and is the court’s belief that the in-
structions given correctly stated the applicable law and
afforded each side due process.
A general verdict was used in this case. No special inter-
rogatories were submitted to the jury. No objection to
this procedure was made at trial. The issues of negligence
and unseaworthiness were both, under the evidence and
applicable law, properly before the jury. The jury could
have found damages were due plaintiff by virtue of de-
fendant’s negligence, the vessel’s unseaworthiness or both.
Defendant’s assertion that he cannot now ascertain the
basis for the verdict is not sufficient reason to overturn
the verdict at this stage of the proceedings.
LET N AESNMOAG APRS TN NTO OLE AS BS EES Y RELI RE OEE NENG LIT ALPS TEMS AED
16
Defendant and third-party plaintiff’s motions will be
denied.
Done sy THE Covart this 31st day of May, 1974.
Cuarues L. Powe.
United States District Judge
Orper Denyinc ApPpELLANT’s Post-TriaL Motions
A Memorandum Decision on the motions of defendant-
third party plaintiff has been filed. For the reasons stated
therein
It 1s ORDERED that the defendant’s motions for judgment
against plaintiff notwithstanding the verdict of the jury
or in the alternative for a new trial be and they are DENIED,
and
Ir Is FURTHER ORDERED that the third party plaintiff’s mo-
tion for judgment against the third party defendant or in
the alternative for a new trial be and it is peNiEp.
Done sy THE Court this 31 day of May 1974.
Cuartes L. PowE.u
United States District Judge
a eh al aly ae
Bares. ¥
17
Unrtep States Court or APPEALS
For tHe First Circvir
No. 74-1353
RUBEN SANTIAGO MARTINEZ,
PLAINTIFF, APPELLEE,
v.
COMPAGNIE GENERALE TRANSATLANTIQUE,
DEFENDANT AND THIRD-PARTY PLAINTIFF, APPELLANT,
v.
FRED IMBERT, INC.,
THIRD-PARTY DEFENDANT, APPELLEE,
No. 74-1354
RUBEN SANTIAGO MARTINEZ,
PLAINTIFF, APPELLANT,
v.
COMPAGNIE GENERALE TRANSATLANTIQUE,
DEFENDANT AND THIRD-PARTY PLAINTIFF, APPELLEE,
v.
FRED IMBERT, INC.,
THIRD-PARTY DEFENDANT, APPELLEE,
No. 74-1355
RUBEN SANTIAGO MARTINEZ,
PLAINTIFF, APPELLEE,
v.
COMPAGNIE GENERALE TRANSATLANTIQUE,
DEFENDANT AND THIRD-PARTY PLAINTIFF, APPELLEE,
v.
FRED IMBERT, INC.,
THIRD-PARTY DEFENDANT, APPELLANT.
APPEALS FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF PUERTO RICO
18
Before Atpricu, McEnter and CAMPBELL,
Circuit Judges.
William M, Kimball, with whom Jose L. Novas-Dueno, Hartzell,
Ydrach, Mellado, Santiago, Perez & Novas, and Burlingham Under-
wood & Lord were on briefs, for Compagnie Generale Transatlantique,
Charles A, Cordero for Fred Imbert, Inc.
Harvey B, Nachman, with whom Nachman, Feldstein & Gelpi
was on briefs for Ruben Santiago Martinez,
May 29, 1975
McEwver, Circuit Judge. The familiar longshoreman-
shipowner-stevedore triangle has led to the three appeals
presented in this case. Plaintiff Santiago Martinez, em-
ployed as a longshoreman by Fred Imbert, Inc., was working
in the hold of the M/V FORT DESAIX when he was struck
and pinned by a moving pallet on November 9, 1968. He
sued defendant Compagnie Generale Transatlantique, the
shipowner, who in turn filed a third party complaint seeking
indemnity from plaintiff’s employer, Imbert (the steve-
dore). By a general verdict the jury awarded the longshore-
man $20,000 and found for the stevedore in the indemnity
action. The shipowner appeals from both judgments. In
addition, the longshoreman appeals from the district court’s
denial of his motion to award attorney’s fees and prejud z-
ment interest against shipowner for obstinacy, and the
stevedore also appeals the denial of an award for attorney’s
fees and other defense costs it incurred, We conclude that
the indemnity action must be retried, but reject the other
appeals,
The shipowner’s first argument is that there was not
sufficient evidence to allow the jury to find for the longshore-
man, We disagree, The unloading on the ship was being
done by a married winch operation, This required the use
of two winches pulling against each other in synchronization
to raise a pallet of cargo from the hold where the longshore-
man was working. If one winch failed or was not operated
Pa ic ES
19
correctly, the cargo would plumb under the opposite winch,
In the instant case the onshore winch stopped or did not
start and thus allowed the full pallet of cargo to plumb
under the offshore winch and pin the longshoreman, There
was testimony that the same winch had stopped about two
hours earlier, but no injury resulted, On both occasions a
member of the ship’s crew repaired the winch or replaced
fuses and signaled the winchman to resume operations, The
electric winches had separate contro] wheels, but one winch-
man operated both winches by sticks attached to the wheels
for two and one-half hours and then was relieved by the
other winchman.
On the unseaworthiness theory the shipowner essentially
argues that the winch may have overloaded and blown a
fuse because the winchman was confused as to which way
to operate the winch or because the winchman accelerated
the winch too rapidly. Even if a winchman was confused
at trial as to which way to turn the winches in this married
operation, that does not necessarily mean he was confused
at the time of the accident years earlier. The important
point is that both of these theories were presented to the
jury under proper instructions, and the shipowner cannot
reargue here that the ship was seaworthy because the evi-
dence allowed an inference that the accident occurred be-
cause of a longshoreman’s negligence with no more than
instantaneous effect. See Usner vy. Luckenbach Overseas
Corp., 400 U.S, 494 (1971). The evidence does not compel
that inference, and therefore we need say nothing more
about this argument. Nor are we impressed by the argu-
ment that the evidence showed the winch ‘‘stopped,’’ not
that it ‘‘broke or failed.’’ By this distinction the shipowner
attempts to avoid the effect of Greene v. Vantage °. Co.,
466 F.2d 159, 163 (4th Cir. 1972): ‘*Where an appliance or
piece of equipment breaks or fails in the normal course of
use, a plaintiff need not show why the failure occurred, but
else Pe —
“ fF seinfeld Vii tenia vatican APSR OMT ET LA ee en ee MT NN PT Oe NE a NE NEN NT Tree
7 ‘
20
only that it did oceur with the resulting injury.’’ But the
jury could have found on the evidence that the winch did
fail in the normal course of use, The last attack made on
the unseaworthiness theory is that the ship would have been
unseaworthy had a fuse not blown when it was overloaded,
8o the ship could not have been unseaworthy because a fuse
blew. The defect in this argument is that the married winch
operation may have required that a cutoff device stop both
winches automatically if one failed. We are not prepared to
say that a jury could not have applied the seaworthiness
requirement.
Plaintiff’s separate count for negligence created compli-
cations that we have had occasion to speak about before. As
the instant charge illustrates, it is difficult enough to charge
a lay jury in a seaman’s case without adding what are not
merely redundant questions, but the same questions over
again in a more complicated form.
The court charged the jury with respect to the negligence
count that plaintiff claimed the shipowner to have been
negligent in four particulars:
‘*(a) In failing to furnish the plaintiff with a reason-
ably safe place to work. (b) In failing to supply the
plaintiff with a reasonably safe vessel and appliances.
(c) in failing to provide a proper winch to remove the
cargo. (4) In failing to properly supervise the dis-
charging operations.”’
It must be apparent that the first three claims were fully
and exactly covered by the seaworthiness count and the
court’s proper charge that proof as to any of them would
impose unseaworthiness liability even though the shipowner
was entirely without fault. No purpose is served by asking
the jury to resolve the same issues again with the added
requirement that there be affirmative proof of negligence.
To paraphrase the Court in Jarecki v. G. D, Searle & Co.,
367 U.S. 303, 307 (1961), having established a hole in the
LEENA N ERNE LHI LLITE TIN LR PMNME EOS 25 BEIM EET t
rine WOK SHH! SENAY?
21
fence for one eat, there is no need to construct another hole
for a second, We dealt with this question in Peymann v.
Perini Corp., 507 F.2d 1318, 1323 (1st Cir, 1974), cert,
denied, 43 L.E.2d 780 (1975). where we pointed out that
the negligence count was superfluous when it merely re-
alleged the same defects that made the ship unseaworthy.
Here, it can have made no difference whether the court’s
charge with respect to negligence under items (a), (b) and
(c) was sufficiently favorable to the shipowner, or whether
the evidence warranted a finding of lack of due care on the
shipowner’s part. The charge was certainly no less favor-
able to the shipowner than was that on unseaworthiness,
and both theories were submitted to the jury which re-
turned, without objection, a general verdict. On this record
we perceive no way in which the shipowner may have bee.
prejudged.
The only additional matter alleged in the negligence
count was item (d), failing to properly supervise the dis-
charging operations. With respect to this, the court
charged,
‘*The shipowner has no duty to oversee, supervise
or direct the methods by which or manner in which the
stevedoring corporation and its employees perform
the stevedoring services, but the shipowner must cor-
rect any dangerous condition if it is known or dis-
covered by him,’’
Alter the charge, at the sidebar, the court stated that it had
given this request of the shipowner inadvertently, as it was
too favorable, On the shipowner’s appeal we need not con-
sider whether it was too favorable for certainly it was
favorable enough. Nor do we see any conflict between this
instruction and item (d), which was not stated to the jury
as 2 ruling of law, but simply as what plaintiff claimed,
The court also charged that the shipowner might be
denied indemnity if the jury found that the shipowner ‘by
Pitts sco ese SERIES ARON AIAN MS ND REY HIE IY) CU POSE IRSA! MOTAY MMR ANE ANTE BEE NG BME MEO
22
the action of the mate or the crew member, acquiesced or
consented to the continuance of the stevedore’s conduct of
which it now complains. . .’’ and the shipowner apparently
objects that this contradicted the charge that it had no duty
to supervise. We see no inconsistency. To allow denial of
indemnity upon a finding that the shipowner approved of
the stevedore’s performance is not to impose liability upon
a finding that the shipowner failed to disapprove of the
stevedore’s performance. Since the shipowner’s single
remaining objection to the charge in the longshoreman’s
action depends on quoting the charge out of context, we
find no error there. Consequently, the judgment for the
longshoreman is affirmed.
The longshoreman’s appeal from the finding that the ship-
owner was not obstinate within the meaning of Puerto Rico
Rules of Civil Procedure 44.4(d) and (e)* need not detain
us long. By converse reasoning to that applied above, the
shipowner had supportable claims either that it was not
liable or that it was liable to only a small degree. The jury
might have found that the winchman caused this accident
by mishandling the winch, in which event Usner would have
barred a finding of unseaworthiness. Or the jury might
have found that the plaintiff longshoreman was contribu-
torially negligent—by loading another pallet rather than
standing out of the way during the lifting phase as he was
required to. Since the first failure of this winch did not
hurt anyone and should have alerted the longshoremen in
* These rules provide as follows:
“(d) Attorney’s fees. Where a party has been obstinate, the
court shall in its judgment impose on such person the payment of a
sum for attorney’s fees.”
“(e) [Legal interest.] In all cases of money collection where
the party has been obstinate the court shall impose on such person the
payment of interest according to law, from the time in which there
appeared cause of action and in case of damages, such payment of
interest shall be imposed from the time the filing of the claim was
made and computed on the amount of the judgment... .”
rer i a al EIEN ENLIST ELE OFTEN RP MLE IS SY SETAE A = he
23
the hold not to unnecessarily expose themselves to danger,
the jury could have assessed the proportionate contribution
of such negligence at a high figure. The diagnosis of plain-
tiff’s problem as ‘‘conversion reaction, chronic related’’
also produced substantial issues regarding the amount of
damages. These considerations amply support the district
court’s denial of counsel fees and prejudgment interest.
We turn now to the indemnity issue. The shipowner
objected to the following charge:
‘Tf a contributing cause of plaintiff’s injury was his
own negligence, that is a factor to be considered by
you in determining whether the stevedore has breached
its warranty to the shipowner and [if] after consider-
ing all the evidence in the case you find that the steve-
dore has breached its warranty, then the shipowner
would be entitled to recover indemnity from the steve-
dore.”’
Its claim is that the jury should have been charged that ‘‘If
a contributirg cause of plaintiff’s injury was his own negli-
gence, then the shipowner would be entitled to recover in-
demnity.’’ Another portion of the charge adequately cov-
ered the discrete issue of whether shipowner was precluded
from recovering indemnity by conduct on its part, see
Weyerhaeuser S.S. Co. v. Nacirema Operating Co., Inc.,
355 U.S. 563, 567 (1958), so that issue is not involved here.
This dispute is whether a longshoreman’s contributory
negligence automatically establishes breach by the long-
shoreman’s employer of its warranty of workmanlike per-
formance, In the Fifth Circuit it appears that contributory
negligence by a longshoreman does not necessarily amount
to breach of warranty by the stevedore. Instead, the long-
shoreman’s contributory negligence is regarded as one con-
sideration in determining whether the stevedore breached
its warranty. See Julian v. Mitsui O.S.K. Lines, Ltd., 479
F.2d 482, 433 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied sub nom. Mitsui O.S.K.
Bitererc run:
eC ebate Mig Cee , Fe eee mA NR Oe SO aS ae ee ee a oe Sea
24
Lines, Ltd. v. Strachan Shipping Co., 414 U.S. 1093 (1973) ;
D/S Ove Skou v. Hebert, 365 F.2d 341, 350 (Sth Cir. 1966),
cert. denied sub nom. Southern Stevedoring & Contracting
Co. v. D/S Ove Skou, 400 U.S. 902 (1970) ; Lusich v. Bloom-
field S.S. Co,, 355 F.2d 770, 778 (Sth Cir. 1966). It appears
that the Third Circuit accepts this approach also. See Shaw
v. Lauritzen, 428 F.2d 247 (3d Cir. 1970). In the Second,
Fourth, and Ninth Cireuits the rule is that contributory
negligence by the longshoreman within the scope of his em-
ployment is imputed to the stevedore. McLaughlin v.
Trelleborgs Angfartyas A/B, 408 F.2d 1334, 1336-37 (2d
Cir.), cert. denied sub nom, Golten Marine Co. v. Trelleborgs
Anafartygs A/B, 395 U.S. 946 (1969) ; Nicroli v. Den Norske
Afrika-Og Australielinie, 332 F.2d 651, 656 (2d Cir. 1964) ;
Damanti vy. A/S Inger, 314 F.2d 395, 399 (2d Cir.), cert.
denied sub nom. Daniels & Kennedy, Inc. v. A/S Inger, 375
U.S. 884 (1963); United States Limes, Inc. v. Jarka Corp.
of Baltimore, 444 F.2d 26, 28 (4th Cir. 1971); .trista
Cia. DeVapores, S/A v. Howard Terminal, 372 F.2d 152,
154 (9th Cir. 1967). This also may be the rule in the Sixth
Cireuit. See Turner vy. Global Seas, Inc., 505 V2 791,
756-57 (6th Cir. 1974). We have recently held that ‘‘a
stevedore’s warranty of workmanlike performance enecom-
passes a promise to provide longshoremen free of negli-
genee. .. .”’ Carrillo v. Sameit Westbulk, No, 74-1204 (1st
Cir., April 14, 1975). In light of that well-settled rule it is
difficult to argue that a stevedore has not breached its war-
ranty where it turns out that one of its employees was
negligent within the scope of his employment. We believe
the correct rule is that the plaintiff longshoreman’s negli-
gence must be imputed to his employer as a basis for
indemnity. Of course, this does not mean that a finding of
contributory negligence automatically establishes the ship-
owner’s right to indemnity. The fact finder may still find
that there was conduct by the shipowner sufticient*to pre-
. ox EARRING NT SIRE ES
Ra CPE S RT DINARS RES OCR IE TELAT :
25
clude indemnity. See generally Hurdich v. Eastmount
Shipping Co., 503 F.2d 397 (2d Cir. 1974),
On the evidence and the charge in this case, coupled with
the general verdict, it is entirely possible that the jury
found the longshoreman contributorially negligent. Accord-
ingly we are compelled to reverse the judgment for the
stevedore and remand for a new trial, It is no answer that
the jury may have found that the shipowner’s conduct in
providing a defective winch was conduct precluding indem-
nity. If we knew that was their finding, we could avoid a
new trial, but we cannot speculate that the error in the
charge did not prejudice the shipowner. This posture evi-
dences once again the usefulness of the procedure author-
ized in Fed. R. Civ. P. 49(b). If this case had been sub-
mitted to the jury for a general verdict accompanied by
answers to appropriately phrased interrogatories, the
needless waste of a new trial could have been avoided. The
debate between the parties over who should bear respon-
sibility for this shortcoming is somewhat shortsighted.
Some measure of the blame for not requesting such a sub-
mission must be laid at the shipowner’s feet, but an equal
measure must be assigned to the stevedore, And of course
the court itself would have been well-advised to utilize this
procedure,
The remaining issue is the stevedore’s appeal. It argues
that the shipowner was obstinate in not coneeding unsea-
worthiness and in not being sufficiently receptive to settle
ment negotiations, Reliance is placed on Rivera v. Rederi
AB Nordstjernan, 456 F.2d 970 (1st Cir. 1972), where
the imposition of attorney's fees for obstinacy was upheld
against the shipowner even though that party prevailed in
the third party action, But this case is not analogous to
Rivera, It wpheld imposition of attorney's fees for the
benefit of the plaintiff longshoreman, not for the stevedore.
Rivera also implicitly recognized that obstinacy in defend.
a" ARLE TY ME PASTE SS POOR GTB HOON IIE OEE TE IN RECT METI IRENE REORDER ORR ETS
26
ing against a plaintiff does not necessarily establish obsti-
nacy in claiming indemnity from a third-party defendant.
See id. at 975 n. 11. Even if we had decided the appeal
of the indemnity action differently, the facts of this case
would not support a finding of obstinacy against the ship-
owner and in favor of the stevedore. We need not reach
the stevedore’s remaining point, that it is entitled to
counsel fees and other defense costs from the shipowner
for its breach of its warranty to the stevedore, since that
question has been mooted by our reversal in the indemnity
action.
The judgment for the plaintiff longshoreman is affirmed;
the denial of his motion for an obstinacy award is also
affirmed; the judgment for the stevedore is reversed and
that case is remanded for a new trial; and the appeal of the
stevedore is dismissed.
27
Unirep States Court or APPEALS
For tHe First Crrcuitr
No. 74-1353.
RUBEN SANTIAGO MARTINEZ,
PLAINTIFF, APPELLEE,
v.
COMPAGNIE GENERALE TRASATLANTIQUE,
DEFENDANT AND THIRD-PARTY PLAINTIFF, APPELLANT,
v.
FRED IMBERT, INC.,
THIRD-PARTY DEFENDANT, APPELLEE.
No. 74-1354.
RUBEN SANTIAGO MARTINEZ,
PLAINTIFF, APPELLANT,
v.
COMPAGNIE GENERALE TRASATLANTIQUE,
DEFENDANT AND THIRD-PARTY PLAINTIFF, APPELLEE,
v.
FRED IMBERT, INC.,
THIRD-PARTY DEFENDANT, APPELLEE.
No. 74-1355.
RUBEN SANTIAGO MARTINEZ,
PLAINTIFF, APPELLEE,
v.
COMPAGNIE GENERALE TRASATLANTIQUE,
DEFENDANT AND THIRD-PARTY PLAINTIFF, APPELLEE,
v.
FRED IMBERT, INC.,
THIRD-PARTY DEFENDANT, APPELLANT.
pee Ea TAP ay TRSOTRRORE OND A INE wet ERRANDS AROS RRS TEESE SPU Me IP ETOYS MEN
28
JUDGMENT
Entered May 29, 1975
This cause came on to be heard on appeals from the
United States District Court for the District of Puerto Rico,
and was argued by counsel.
Upon consideration whereof, It is now here ordered,
adjudged and decreed as follows: The judgment for the
plaintiff longshoreman is affirmed, and the denial of his
motion for an obstinacy award is also affirmed;
The judgment for the stevedore Fred Imbert, Inc., is
vacated and the cause is remanded for a new trial thereon;
and
The appeal of the said stevedore is dismissed.
No costs.
By the Court:
(s) Dana H. Gatuup, Clerk.
[eec. Messrs. Kimball, Nachman and Cordero. ]}
i a 2 PREC ROES LASERS LLORES ANE I LOL SILOS LIE ELLIE b
29
Unitep States Court or APPEALS
For tHe First Crevir
No. 74-1353.
RUBEN SANTIAGO MARTINEZ,
PLAINTIFF, APPELLEE,
v.
COMPAGNIE GENERALE TRASATLANTIQUE,
DEFENDANT AND THIRD-PARTY PLAINTIFF, APPELLANT,
v.
FRED IMBERT, INC.,
THIRD-PARTY DEFENDANT, APPELLEE.
Before Aupricu, McEnter, and CAMPBELL,
Circuit Judges.
ORDER OF COURT
Entered June 20, 1975
It is ordered that the petition for rehearing filed on
June 12, 1975, be and the same hereby is, denied.
By the Court:
(s) Dana H. Gauuvp, Clerk.
[ec. Messrs. Kimball, Nachman and Cordero. ]
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.