Opposition Brief — Azalea Drive-In Theatre, Inc. v. Sargoy
Supreme Court brief1975
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
2
seas
eae
oles
vy eh
were Fs
i iy 7
Lr ah S ¥
To
& >
—- ~ a oe
COURT, UR | a ara
19
pe
| ice
In The L.--
Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1975
No. 75-387
AZALEA DRIVE-IN THEATRE, INCORPORATED
ANbD TWIN DRIVE-IN THEATRE, INC.,
Petitioners,
Vv.
EDWARD A. SARGOY, JOSEPH L. STEIN
AND BURTON H. HANFT, v/B/A
SARGOY, STEIN & HANFT, A PARTNERSHIP,
Respondents.
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE SUPREME COURT OF VIRGINIA
BRIEF FOR RESPONDENTS IN OPPOSITION
TO GRANTING THE PETITION
Lewis T. BooKER
BENJAMIN C. ACKERLY
Hunton, WILLIAMS,
Gay & GIBSON
Post Office Box 1535
Richmond, Virginia 23212
October 9, 1975
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
Be Auer SIN IN ANNNCIN nsinsSiettn chncrsdvn conden aion ieremonenpios l
SR ES gp pS 2 aR eer Nn NR sane 2
Fs en NO aa EZ Sian ah diet ach cighanninnt 2
B. The Conflicting Evidence In The Trial Court .................... 5
Es “PRT a: sis cpcoitasentsputuacloeoapnhapioteniigsalbtalbeselletigpadiuactndbiciabinbiae 7
A. This Court Should Not Grant A Writ Of Certiorari To
Review A Finding Of Fact By A Trial Court Duly Af-
firmed By The Highest Court Of Record Of That State... 7
B. The Courts Below Properly Applied This Court’s Decision
SO FOU Ee PRN isco scekcnsorexcsmnehcercani pied bbatacat acide 9
C. Azalea Was Not Improperly Denied Trial By Jury. —........ 12
vs: MaPIR RMI, Spi) occertpnionsinesndiieeciahennenibiostanst tuiglacan dialing: Liiaheiogee 15
TABLE OF CITATIONS
Cases
Alexander v. Virginia, 413 U.S. 836 (1973) reh. den. 414 USS.
leh Loci, PEA aan ae ROL ER SN EO ee WSN OEM OP Re CORES we 15
Berenyi v. Immigration Director, 385 U.S. 630 (1967) _.............. 8, 9
Big Top Stores, Inc. v. Ardsley Toy Shoppe, Inc., 64 Misc.2d
OGG, 315 2 .oe Ger (Sep. Oe, 1970) on 10
Bruce’s Juices, Inc. v. American Can Co., 330 U.S. 743 (1947) _.. 11
Copperweld Steel Company v. Industrial Commission of Ohio,
Fe A IE hah tac pncpc estat areola wissen 14
David v. Manufacturers Hanover Trust Co., 59 Misc.2d 248, 298
PU IN Ih, UN icc acini sncnsh cman eabdabahieasiveaacucoes 13
El Salto, S.A. v. PSG Co., 444 F.2d 477 (9th Cir. 1971) 000... a
SEU ATE AR re PRN, LRG TILE LIE LL ORIN a EEL EE ELLIO ONL LEAL EEO ANTI
Page
Garner v. Louisiana, 368 U.S. 157 (1961) ....c ene 13
General Aniline and Film Corp. v. Bayer Go,, 305 N.Y. 479, 115
N.E.2d 844 (Ct. App, 1953) is Teor ord |
Hawkins v. Bleakly, 243 U.S, 210 (1917) M4
Herb v. Piteairn, $24 US, 117 (1945) aN
Kelly v. Kosuga, $58 U.S, 516 (1959) 2, 3, 4, 9, 10, 11, 12, 16
King v. West Virginia, 216 US, 92 (1910) 1s
Medusa Gorporation v, Gordon, 496 F.2d 249 6th Cir, 1974) 12
Minneapolis & St, Louis R.R, vy, Bombolis, 241 U.S. 211 (1916) 1)
United States v. Texas, 314 U.S, 480 (1941) » I
Walker v. Sauvinet, 92 U.S, 90 (1875)... 14
Statute
§ 8.2-302(1), Code of Virginia, 1950 |. <e PERT 12
eeanaiitiaiaaatines ' STEAMY NIN Tarn 18
v CAEN ? FPR De OE CTA Hn Fy
In The
Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1975
No. 75-387
AZALEA DRIVE-IN ‘THEATRE, INCORPORATED
AND TWIN DRIVE-IN THEATER, INC.,
Petitioners,
Vv,
EDWARD A, SARGOY, JOSEPH L, STEIN
AND BURTON H. HANFT, v/3 A
SARGOY, STEIN & HANFT, A pagtNnersuip,
Respondents.
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE SUPREME COURT OF VIRGINIA
BRIEF FOR RESPONDENTS IN OPPOSITION
TO GRANTING THE PETITION
Respondents, hereafter referred to as Sargoy, oppose the
petition for a writ of certiorari sought by Petitioners, here-
after referred to as Azalea, to review the judgment of the
Supreme Court of Virginia in this case.
I.
QUESTIONS PRESENTED
Sargoy disagrees with the statement of the questions
presented in Azalea’s petition and accordingly restates them.
2
1. Should this Court review a determination of fact made
upon contested evidence by the Circuit Court of the City
of Norfolk, Virginia, and affirmed by the Supreme Court
of Virginia?
2. Should this Court overturn its decision in Aelly v.
Kosuga, 358 U.S. 516 (1959) and order a state court to
take cognizance of a federal antitrust defense and counter-
claim to a state contract action?
3. Should this court review a determination of Virginia
law—waiver of trial by jury——made by the Supreme Court
of Virginia?
Il,
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
A.
The Proceedings Below
This action was originally instituted by Sargoy against
Azalea in the Circuit Court of the City of Norfolk, Virginia,
on November 12, 1971, to recover upon a defaulted promis-
sory note in the amount of $70,000.00 plus interest and at-
torneys’ fees. The note was taken in compromise of a claim
for film rentals due Sargoy’s clients, a number of motion
picture distributors, for Azalea’s deliberate failure fully to
report gross receipts.
Azalea pled that the note was unenforceable as a matter
of state common law because it had been obtained by duress
and coercion, and because it lacked consideration. Azalea
also pled that the note was unenforceable because it was
obtained by duress and coercion in violation of the federal
antitrust laws, specifically Sections | and 2 of the Sherman
Antitrust Act. In addition Azalea filed an antitrust counter-
claim in the state court pursuant to Section 4 of the Clayton
Antitrust Act,
dal its a chet 19 TINE MUIR Ep) CNET» - on ———
3
The trial court, relying upon this Court's decision in Kelly
v. Kosuga, 358 U.S. 516 (1959), struck the antitrust allega-
tions as an affirmative defense and sustained a plea in abate-
ment to the antitrust counterclaim, The trial court then
heard the case without a jury on the defenses, among others,
of duress and coercion and lack of consideration, Azalea
fully availed itself of the ample opportunity given it by the
trial court to put on all the evidence it could muster in
support of its defense that it had executed the note under
duress and coercion.
After a two day trial and extensive postrial briefs, the
trial court in a letter opinion dated January 4, 1974, found
in favor of Sargoy. The trial court said:
Gentlemen:
There is no need for the Court to state the facts, as
these have been adequately stated in the comprehensive
briefs filed by counsel for the parties. However, the fol-
lowing interesting points of law are raised by the plead-
ings and the evidence:
1. Was there sufficient consideration to support the
contractual agreement?
2. Was there sufficient and convincing evidence of
duress on the part of the plaintiffs to the detriment of
the defendants?
3. Was there a binding contract between the parties?
4. Was there a counteroffer made by plaintiffs to
defendants which has never been accepted by the de-
fendant? Or was the agreement amended only to con-
form to the prior agreement of the parties?
Counsel have cited to the Court an abundance of case
law and other authorities. The Court concludes that
the authorities cited by the plaintiff are more persua-
sive, considering the peculiar facts and circumstances of
the case. In addition, it seems that to a broad degree
the issues of law outlined above turn on issues of fact.
4
As the trier of the facts, the Court decides same in
favor of the plaintiffs.
Azalea then appealed that decision to the Supreme Court
of Virginia. Among Azalea’s assignments of error for review
by that court were:
7. ‘The Court erred in refusing to permit and allow
defendants to interpose and utilize as a legal defense to
the Motion for Judgment the various anti-trust laws of
the United States of America, generally and specifically
the Sherman Anti-Trust Act and the Robinson-Patman
Act, and denying the defendants the right to interpose
as a defense the illegality of the acts and transactions
of plaintiffs that were relied upon as a basis for their
Motion for Judgement.
eee
12. The Court erred in finding that the note and
offer of settlement by defendants, made on February 12,
1971, and thereafter were not made under and as a
direct result of coercion and duress.
The opinion of the Supreme Court of Virginia set forth
in Azalea’s petition held that the trial court had correctly
followed this Court’s decision in Kelly v. Kosuga, above, in
refusing to consider the antitrust defenses and antitrust
counterclaim in a state court action to enforce a promis-
sory note. The Supreme Court of Virginia also considered
Azalea’s contention that the trial court had erred in its
finding of fact that the promissory note at issue had not been
obtained as a result of coercion and duress. That court said,
at p. 11 of Azalea’s petition:
“Defendants assigned other errors which were not
urged in oral argument before us. However, we have
considered the alleged errors and find no merit in any
of them. Most of those alleged errors were based on
5
factual issues and, since there is evidence to support
the findings of the trial court, a discussion of them
would serve no useful purpose | citations omitted ].”
The Conflicting Evidence In The Trial Court
Perhaps the one most crucial issue tried in the state court
was whether Azalea had given the promissory note in issue
as the result of a statement by Philip Kornfeld, an employce
of Sargoy, that if the note were not given Azalea would
not be furnished motion picture films by the distributor
clients represented by the Sargoy law firm. The Sargoy firm
did indeed represent nine motion picture distributors in their
attempt to collect film rentals due them from Azalea. It
is also true that Sargoy, as noteholder and attorney for its
clients took the promissory note in compromise settlement of
the claims for film rentals.
One reads Azalea’s petition in vain to find any real sug-
gestion that there was a contest as to whether the so-called
threat was made. Azalea simply asserts that the overwhelm-
ing evidence is that the threat was made (Petition, p. 12).
Mr. Kornfeld did in fact testify, upon cross-examination,
unequivocally and repeatedly that he made no such threat
at all:
“Q. All right. Now, Mr. Kornfeld, isn’t it true that
you told Mr. Price, in Mr, Katz’s presence, that if he
didn’t pay an amount of money that was satisfactory to
your principals or to Mr. Fallick back up in New York
whom you were reporting to, he wasn’t going to get any
more pictures?
A. That is not so.
Q. You deny that?
A. Ido.
6
All right, sir. That never came up?
No sir.
You are sure?
I am positive.
* * *
. Well, before we get to that—incidentally, hadn't
you threatened to accuse Mr. Price of fraud in this dur-
ing this last session with them? Before he agreed to
sign a note for you, didn’t you bring up fraud?
A. No, sir.
Q. Didn't you tell him that the companies will con-
tend fraud?
A. Mr. Sacks on January 15th—Mr. Sacks, you
asked me a question.
Q. Right.
A. On January 15th, during the meeting then Mr.
Katz said to me that the statute in this case would
apply. This will be limited—limit the claim to a three
years’ period. And I said no, the companies will not be
balked by the statute of limitations in a case like this
because they will contend that there is a fraud.
This was no charge. This was saying it merely as a
defense to instituting the statute of limitations.
PO Pio
* * *
Q. Wasn’t that part and parcel of what you had told
them? ‘Listen. If I don’t take something back to New
York, you are not going to get any more film’?
A. No, sir, that is not so.
* * *
Q. Now, you tell us today that you didn’t say to
them, ‘I have to have something to go back to New
York with tonight’? You didn’t say that?
A. No, sir.
Q. You remember that you didn’t say that?
7
A. I have never said that to any exhibitor at any
time.
* * *
Q. Didn’t you tell him that in addition to his getting
films from everybody by signing a note, you all would
see that everything went back to normal with the other
distributors?
A. No, sir, I never did say that.
Q. You deny that?
A. Ido.
Azalea’s petition is full of other errors and inaccuracies
in conflict with the record. For example, Sargoy never con-
tended, as Azalea asserts at page 5 of the petition, that
Azalea owed $240,000.00 for underreported admission re-
ceipts. Sargoy originally claimed $88,000.00, ultimately
compromised at $70,000.00. However, those numerous dis-
tortions and inaccuracies have been put to rest by the deci-
sion of the Supreme Court of Virginia, so they will not be
answered in detail here.
Il.
ARGUMENT
A.
This Court Should Not Grant A Writ Of Certiorari To Review A
Finding Of Fact By A Trial Court Duly Affirmed By The Highest
Court Of Record Of That State.
Azalea’s petition argues that there was sufficient evidence
of coercion, if the testimony of Mr. Price, Azalea’s presi-
dent, be believed, so that the trial court and the Supreme
Court of Virginia both erred in finding that Azalea had
not been coerced into executing the promissory note at issue
here. As the trial court’s opinion indicates, the trial court
chose to believe Mr. Kornfeld’s denial that he ever made
any threat rather than Mr. Price’s conflicting testimony, In-
8
deed, Mr. Price’s testimony is effectively conceded to be
contradictory by Azalea itself in its petition at page 13. The
Supreme Court of Virginia considered that conflicting testi-
mony and it concluded that there was sufficient evidence to
support the trial court’s findings.
Now Aaalea invites this Court to review the evidence once
again and, contrary to the trial court and the Supreme Court
of Virginia, conclude that Azalea was indeed coerced into
signing the note. That is an invitation this Court has con-
sistently declined to accept, and Azalea shows no reason
why it should be accepted this time.
In Berenyi v. Immigration Director, 385 U.S. 630 (1967)
this court discussed its role in reviewing disputed issues of
fact. It said, pp. 635, 636:
“The petitioner asks us to reject as ‘clearly erro-
neous’ the factual conclusion about his party member-
ship reached by the District Judge and accepted by
the Court of Appeals. In order to do so, we would be
forced to disregard the Court’s repeated pronounce-
ments that it ‘cannot undertake to review concurrent
findings of fact by two courts below in the absence of
a very obvious and exceptional showing of error. [Cita-
tion omitted }.
* * *
“The policy underlying the ‘two-court’ rule is ob-
vious. This Court possesses no empirical expertise to
set against the careful and reasonable conclusions of
lower courts on purely factual issues. When, as here,
resolution of the disputed factual issues turns largely on
an assessment of the relative credibility of witnesses
whose testimonial demeanor was observed only by the
trial court, the rule has particular force. . . .”
That language is tailored to this case. Here two courts,
the Circuit Court of the City of Norfolk and the Supreme
Court of Virginia, have reviewed factual issues and have
9
resolved them in favor of Sargoy. Here, Judge Edward L.
Ryan, Jr., of the Circuit Court of the City of Norfolk heard
and observed Messrs. Price and Kornfeld on the stand and
chose to believe Mr. Kornfeld that there had been no co-
ercion. As the two-court rule had particular force in the
Berenyi case, it has here. The writ should not be granted to
review a contested issue of fact already twice resolved against
Azalea.
B.
The Courts Below Properly Applied This Court’s Decision
In Kelly v. Kosuga.
With the fact that no coercion was applied to it estab-
lished, Azalea’s contention that the trial court and the Su-
preme Court of Virginia erred in failing to permit it to raise
an antitrust counterclaim under the laws of the United
States is singularly without merit.
The trial court and the Supreme Court of Virginia, re-
lying upon the decision of this Court in Kelly v. Kosuga,
358 U.S. 516 (1959), held the defenses and counterclaim
inapplicable upon the ground that only where the note it-
self was an antitrust violation could the antitrust defenses
be made.
Kelly v. Kosuga involved a suit for payment of the pur-
chase price of 50 cars of onions. The defendant there sought
to defend upon the ground that the sale was made pursuant
to and was an indivisible part of an agreement which vio-
lated Section | of the Sherman Act. This Court, in affirming
the action of the trial court in striking that defense, said, at
page 521:
“cc
... where, as here, a lawful sale for a fair considera-
tion constitutes an intelligible economic transaction in
itself, we do not think it inappropriate or violative of
the intent of the parties to give it effect even though
10
it furnished the occasion for a restrictive agreement
of the sort here in question.”
Just as in Kelly v. Kosuga a lawful sale of onions for a
fair consideration constituted an intelligible economic trans-
action in itself, so here the promissory note given for what
both the trial court and the Virginia Supreme Court have
found to be as good and valuable is the same kind of intel-
ligible economic transaction. As such it should be accorded
the same dignity and freedom from antitrust attack as was
the sale in Kelly v. Kosuga.
The New York decisions cited by Azalea in its petition
are not in point. The contracts there sought to be enforced
contained within their very provisions a violation of the
antitrust laws. By enforcing the contract the court would be
aiding a violation of the laws.
Typical of those cases is Big Top Stores, Inc. v. Ardsley
Toy Shoppe, Ltd., 315 N.Y.S.2d 897 (N.Y.Sup.Ct. 1970).
There the plaintiff sought to enforce a contract which con-
tained in its terms an illegal tying arrangement. Far from
being in conflict with Kelly v. Kosuga, 358 U.S. 516 (1959),
upon which both the trial court and the Supreme Court of
Virginia relied, the court there distinguished the Kelly
case by pointing out that in the Big Top case the court’s
enforcement of the contract would itself perpetrate an il-
legality. As the court said, at page 908:
“Kelly v. Kosuga, 358 U.S. 516, 79 S.Ct. 429, 3
L.Ed. 2d 475 and sirnilar cases relied on by plaintiff are
readily distinguishable. They stand for the rule that a
party to a contract may not avoid payment for goods
sold and delivered to him on the ground that the con-
tract of sale violates the federal antitrust statutes by
provisions thereof separable from the promise to pay.
In such cases the plaintiff is not required, in order to
prove his case to disclose the illegality of the contract
11
pursuant to which the sale was made. Here the plain-
tiff is asking the court to enforce the very provision of
the franchise agreement which operates as an illegal
restraint of trade.”
None of the other cases cited by Azalea at pages 20-22
of the petition are even remotely relevant to this action.
Without distinguishing them all, a typical opinion is Gen-
eral Aniline and Film Corp. v. Bayer Co. 305 N.Y. 479, 113
N.E.2d 844 (N.Y. 1953). All that opinion holds is that an
antitrust consent decree in another action is not a bar to
an action for breach of contract. The other cases cited by
Azalea are even less relevant.
Kelly v. Kosuga, above, is not an aberration out of the
mainstream of American jurisprudence. To the contrary, it
logically follows this Court’s holding in Bruce’s Juices, Inc.
v. American Can Co., 330 U.S. 743 (1947). There this
Court first held that a defense that a commercial transac-
tion violated the antitrust laws would not be permitted in a
state court action based upon that transaction.
Kelly v. Kosuga has been consistently followed by the
several Courts of Appeal since it was decided. Thus, in F/
Salto, S.A. v. PSG Co., 444 F.2d 477 (9th Cir. 1971) the
court ruled that a defendant could not assert a violation of
the Robinson-Patman Act as a defense to a common law
contract action, saying, at p. 482:
“The Supreme Court has ruled that a Sherman Act
violation is not an affirmative defense to a contract suit,
even when the violation is inherent in the contract sued
upon, so long as judicial enforcement of the contract
would not be enforcing the precise conduct made unlaw-
ful by the Act [citations omitted ].”
12
Certainly the mere enforcement of the promissory note
here did not enforce conduct violative of the federal anti-
trust laws.
And the language of the court in \fedusa Corporation v.
Gordon, 496 F.2d 249 (6th Cir. 1974), following Kelly,
is peculiarly applicable in this case, at p. 252:
“If the purported oral agreement is violative of anti-
trust laws, an issue we do not here decide, the remedy
lies in antitrust litigation under appropriate statutes,
not in avoidance of a just debt.”
Kelly v. hosuga is, as the Virginia Supreme Court and
the trial court have already determined, dispositive of
Azalea’s antitrust claim unless this Court is ready to re-
examine the rationale which guided it in deciding Kelly v.
RKosuga. We submit there is no reason for re-examining
a rule well understood and consistently applied by lower
courts.
Cc.
Azalea Was Not Improperly Denied Trial By Jury
Azalea contends it was improperly denied trial by jury
even though Azalea’s waiver of trial by jury was contained
in the promissory note it executed. In its opinion, though,
the Supreme Court of Virginia held that such waiver clauses
have been upheld in a large number of cases.
Azalea also asserts that § 8.2-302(1) of the Code of
Virginia (Virginia’s version of the Uniform Commercial
Code) authorizes a court not to enforce an unconscionable
clause in a contract although otherwise enforcing the con-
tract. Azalea insists that the jury waiver clause was such
an unconscionable clause. As the Assignments of Error set
out earlier show, Azalea never made that contention in the
state courts and is therefore precluded from raising it now.
13
Even if the issue were properly before this court, though,
it is without merit. The courts have consistently held that a
contract clause waiving trial by jury is not unconscionable,
see David v. Manufacturers Hanover Trust Co., 298 N.Y.S.
2d 847 (N.Y.Ap. 1969), and the cases cited in that opinion.
Azalea has cited the court to only one case where a clause
in a contract waiving trial by jury was found to be un-
conscionable as defined by the Uniform Commercial Code,
David v. Manufacturers Hanover Trust Co., 287 N.Y.S.2d
503 (N.Y. Sp. Term 1968). It was precisely that holding
which was reversed on appeal in David v. Manufacturers
Hanover Trust Co., 298 N.Y.S.2d 847 (N.Y.Ap. 1969),
discussed above.
What Azalea really contends is that the Supreme Court
of Virginia improperly construed the Virginia constitution
and common law and the Virginia version of the Uniform
Commercial Code when it upheld Azalea’s waiver of trial
by jury. This court has pointed out from the earliest days,
though, that it does not sit to review decisions of the highest
state courts on matters of state law. A few cases illustrate
that principle.
In King v. West Virginia, 216 U.S. 92 (1910), Mr.
Justice Holmes, said, at p. 101:
“It is argued that the state court misconstrued the
statute, but we have nothing to do with that.”
And in Garner yv. Louistana, 368 U.S. 157 (1961), at
p. 166:
“We of course are bound by a state’s interpretation
of its own statute and will not substitute our judgment
for that of the state’s when it becomes necessary to
analyze the evidence... .”
14
To the same effect are, for example, United States v.
Texas, 314 U.S. 480 (1941), Copperweld Steel Company v.
Industrial Commission of Ohio, 324 U.S. 780 (1945), Herb
v. Pitcairn, 324 U.S. 117 (1945), and many others. In short,
there is no reason for granting certiorari to review the deci-
sion by the Virginia Supreme Court that Azalea’s jury
waiver was valid under state constitutional, statutory and
common law.
Azalea, attempting to find a constitutional issue to pique
the curiosity of this Court, asserts that it was deprived by its
waiver of a Seventh Amendment right to trial by jury in
the Circuit Court of the City of Norfolk. It cites no au-
thority for that proposition, and for good reason; all the
authority is to the contrary.
This Court disposed of that contention beginning with
Walker v. Sauvinet, 92 U.S. 90 (1875) at p. 92:
“The States so far as this amendment is concerned,
are left to regulate trials in their own courts in their
own way. A trial by jury in suits at common law pend-
ing in the State courts is not, therefore, a privilege or
immunity of national citizenship, which the States are
forbidden by the Fourteenth Amendment to abridge.”
In Hawkins v. Bleakly, 243 U.S. 210 (1917), an Iowa
Act which dispensed with trial by jury in certain actions
under the Iowa workmen’s compensation laws was chal-
lenged. In upholding the constitutionality of the Act, this
court reiterated that trial by jury “is not embraced in the
rights secured by the Fourteenh Amendment,” 243 U.S, at
216, and said, at p. 217:
“The State of Iowa, therefore, is as much at liberty
as any other State to abolish or limit the right of trial
by jury; or to provide for a waiver of that right, as it
has done by the act under consideration.”
PESP Re ae
15
This Court similarly noted in Afinneapolis and St. Louts
R.R. v. Bombolis, 241 U.S. 211 (1916), at p. 217:
“that the Seventh Amendment applies only to
proceedings in courts of the United States and does
not in any manner whatever govern or regulate trials
by jury in state courts or the standards which must be
applied concerning the same.”
This Court continued at p. 220:
“ . the limitations of the [Seventh] Amendment
are applicable only to the mode in which power or
jurisdiction shall be exercised in tribunals of the United
States, and therefore . . . its terms have no relation
whatever to the enforcement of rights in other forums
merely because the right enforced is one conferred by
the law of the United States.”
See also Alexander v. Virginia, 413 U.S. 836 (1973),
reh. den. 414 U.S. 881 (1973).
There is no Seventh Amendment right to trial by jury in
a state court on a state cause of action. Tl re is no basis
for granting a writ of certiorari to re-examine that principle.
IV.
CONCLUSION
Both the Circuit Court of the City of Norfolk, Virginia,
and the Supreme Court of Virginia have given Azalea’s
claims now asserted in support of a petition for writ of
certiorari careful and mature consideration and have re-
jected them. This Court does not review contested issues of
fact by writ of certiorari especially, as here, where two courts
have already considered them and the trial court had the
opportunity to observe the testimonial demeanor. Nor will
this Court grant certiorari to review a state court’s determi-
nation of state law.
16
Azalea’s waiver of trial by jury was effective and involves
no abridgment of constitutional or statutory rights. Kelly v.
Rosuga is well understood and applied and should not be
re-examined. Finally, it has been established for more than
one hundred years that there is no Seventh Amendment
right to trial by jury in a common law action in a state court.
Consequently, there is nothing left for this Court to re-
view. The petition for writ of certiorari should be denied.
Respectfully submitted,
Epwarp A. SAarGoy, ET AL.
By: Lewis TV. Booker
BenyAmMIn C. ACKERLY
Of Counsel
October 9, 1975
Hunton, Witutams, Gay & Gipson
P. O. Box 1535
Richmond, Virginia 23212
Counsel
ST
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.