Opposition Brief — Aluminum Co. of America v. Woods Exploration & Producing Co.
Supreme Court brief1975
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
~ ie
OCTOBER TERM, 1974
NO. 74-1525
ALUMINUM COMPANY OF AMERICA,, ET AL,
Petitioners,
v.
WOODS EXPLORATION & PRODUCING COMPANY,
INC., ET AL, Respondents.
BRIEF OF WOODS EXPLORATION &
PRODUCING COMPANY, INC., ET AL, IN
OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR
WRIT OF CERTIORARI
LEvERT J. ABLE
1201 First National Liife Bldg.
Houston, Texas 77002:
MANDEL & WRIGHT
HERMAN WRIGHT
1901 First National Liife Bldg.
Houston, Texas 77002
Tom F. CoLeMan, Jr.-
1201 First National Liffe Bldg.
Houston, Texas 77002
Attorneys for Respondents
Woops ExPpLoraTion & PRopuc-
ING ComPANyY, INc.-. STANLEY
C. Woops, SOUTHEASTERN PIPE-
LINE COMPANY
No.1 ouston,’ 77002
” ante :
f
-
2%
ort
moves
-
=
TABLE OF CONTENTS
NE EE 06 8essedeensieechoeeteks shunssadeous
DE. BE664.6 a be odnd eNews ee Ode RoAN ee Neb bieke teas
SE RON vccededenbedndeeanwhasatindaveseas
PE RasbtisbPiseireebaneshede een evbencsenawess
PU ca eh aw see Rciedanbidecacdtcnicesetanasesndé
I.
II.
Ill.
IV.
VI.
It was proper for the jury in the second trial to be
informed of the outcome of the prior litigation, since
the issue before the jury in the second trial presumed
the earlier findings on the monopolization issue ....
The underlying purpose of Rule 54(b) was served
by the consolidation of separate appeals from the
judgment on the monopolization issue and from the
judgment on the extraction plant issue, for the pur-
pose of oral argument and decision by the Court of
Appeals, where the Petitioners suffered no injury by
partial final judgment under Rule 42(b) .........
On the second trial, the Court properly refused to
re-submit antitrust liability to the jury and limited
the trial to the issue of damages flowing from
ALCOA, et al’s interference with the liquid extrac-
tion plant through their concerted activity ........
The trial Court properly denied, at the first trial,
evidence of drainage and Texas Supreme Court de-
cisions, which held that Woods, et al (Respondents)
produced from the common reservoir more gas than
that underlying their tracts, on the issue of monop-
olization, where there was no dispute over the fact
and that all of the gas drained from under Petition-
ers’ property was legally produced ...............
. Petitioners were not denied the right to develop be-
fore any jury the claimed drainage and confiscation
of vast quantities of Petitioners’ gas by Respondent
The trial Court correctly gave Instruction No. 32 to
the jury, because it followed the holding of the U. S.
Supreme Court and related to the question of South-
eastern’s preparedness to go forward with the con-
struction of the proposed extraction plant ........
NS cdo ees eed Kc aA cae Dla caeawmaearene
Coptiicate CF Samir oo aio oS so os beh oe ee ere ee one’s
14
16
19
19
21
24
26
II
LIST OF AUTHORITIES
CASES
Aluminum Co. of America v. Woods Exploration, Inc., 385
US. 991 (1966), 87 S.Ct. 602, 17 L.Ed.2d 450 .......
American Alliance Insurance Company v. Brady Transfer
and Storage Co., 101 F.2d 144, 151 (8th Cir. 1939)..
Beetler v. Sales Affiliates, Inc., 431 F.2d 651, pages 654-
i ee ra Veaasatianebacnnct ae «
Blonder-Tongue Laboratories, Inc. v. University of Llinois
Foundation, 402 U.S. 313, 91 S.Ct. 1434 (1971).......
California Motor Transport, Inc. v. Trucking Unlimited, 44
SA, ME REUUEE hob ewe hides neens sche ccertacseccecs
Cirillo v. Commissioner of Internal Revenue, 314 F.2d 478,
SR ED Cobb GUeccdceneeddeeechacetec.
Consumers Petroleum Co. v. Consumers Co., 176 F.2d 441,
ee ee ae ee ere
Continental Ore Company v. Union Carbide and Carbon
Corporation, 370 U.S. 690, 698, 82 S.Ct. 1404, 1409....
D.C. Federation of Civil Associations v. Volpe, 459 F.2d
RR Re a ee ere
Fairmount Glass Works v. Cub Fork Coal Co., 287 U.S. 474
et EE ont ba ibe ones badndevvececvccese
Furr v. Herzmark, 206 F.2d 468, 472 (C.A. D.C. 1953)..
Gasoline Products Co., Inc. v. Champlin Refining Co., 283
Se ee a UL ROUEED daunnewecdseseevencsss
Gottesmann v. General Motors Corp., 414 F.2d 956, pages
963 to 965 (2nd Cir. 1969), cert. den’d 403 US. 911...
Hanover Shoe, Inc. v. United Shoe Mach. Corp. (M.D. Pa.
1960) 185 F. Supp. 826, 828, affirmed 281 F.2d 481
(3rd Cir.) cert. denied, 364 U.S. 901, 939, 81 S.Ct. 234-
ee Ge ls CI Os Wa ob 06 6 bn ees ccceccusece
Hartford Life Ins. Co. v. Blincoe, 255 U.S. 129, 136 (1921)
Lifetime Siding, Inc. v. U. S., 359 F.2d 657 at 661 ......
LoCicero v. Humble Oil & Refining Co., 52 F.R.D. 28 (E.D.
Se en Cea Sete Gussie lweNabecneheee ces cee
Mass. Bonding & Insurance Co. v. J. R. Thompson Co., 88
F.2d 825, 832 and 833 (8th Cir. 1937), cert. denied 301
RR Be AS Pe he ee ae
May Department Stores Co. v. Bell, 61 F.2d 830 (C.A. 8th
Pe Tthec once de cheb Sea sebhescascencecsnes
Miller’s Mut. Fire Ins. Ass’n of Illinois v. Bell, 99 F.2d 289,
Pe
Morehead v. Poland, 457 F.2d 694, 696 (C.A. 7th Cir.
EES ooh Sk SiR ie
Mutual Life Insurance Co. of New York v. Hill, 193 U.S.
Page
3, 20
Ill
CASES Page
Nowell v. Dick, 413 F.2d 1204, 1212-1213 (Sth Cir. 1969) 10
Ocean Accident & Guarantee Corp. v. Penick & Ford, Ltd.,
BGR FAG 208, SOO UO GM. TSGD) iv icc scsaccccssess 18
Railroad Commission v. Alcoa, 380 S.W.2d 599 (1964).... 21
Railroad Commission of Texas v. Rowan & Nichols Oil Co.,
310 U.S. 573, 60 S.Ct. 1021, 84 L.Ed. 1368 (1940).... 19
Railroad Commission of Texas v. Rowan & Nichols Oil Co.,
Sib, US. SIO, G1 GCL. S43 CIOGL) wos ccccccsccccsene 20
Railroad Commission v. Woods Exploration & Producing Co.
Cs Cs Se MRUEE EM cai Kbn weber sciccnasencese 3
Smith v. Pittsburgh Gauge and Supply Co., 323 F.Supp.
SE Ae, OEE, Fan as Eds cha deb Adinsewevecoress 24
Stagecrafters-Club, Inc. v. District of Columbia Division of
American Legion, 111 F.Supp. 127, 128-129 (D.C. 1953) 13
Thompson v. Camp, 167 F.2d 733 (C.A. 6th 1948)...... 18
Thorpe v. National City Bank of Tampa, 274 F. 200 (C.A.
es Eee errrrr rey CTT TTT ee Ter Te eT err 18
Travelers Insurance Co. v. Bell, 188 F.2d 725, 726 (Sth Cir.
Oy rr ery St ere rry rer re rey eee 10
United States v. Bucon Construction Co., 430 F.2d 420, page
oe Bere er ere rr eT ere Terr ete eee 13
United States v. First National Bank and Trust Co. of Lex-
ington, 263 F.Supp. 268 (E.D. Ky. 1967) ............ 24
United States v. Wainer, 211 F.2d 669, 671 (7th Cir. 1954),
RE, GE Ae Wl, OEE bed cbicc nad bascnencarreasznnes 13
Washington Gas Light Company v. Connolly, 214 F.2d 254
ic Be SRE be kee sens ccnawereasnescenec vanes 18
White v. Murtha, 377 F.2d 428, pages 431, 432 (C.A. 5th
Rk SE whi Sank Seb A heb neha vans bohntend enanebers 17
Woods Exploration & Producing Co. v. Aluminum Co. of
America, 36 F.R.D. 107 (Judge Ingraham—S.D. Texas,
a ee rea eh ec acuw ins 2, 16
Woods Exploration & Producing Co. v. Aluminum Co. of
America, 382 S.W.2d 343 (Tex. 1964) mre ........... 2,23
Woods Exploration & Producing Co. v. Aluminum Co. of
America, 438 F.2d 1286 (Sth Cir. 1971) ............. 3
UNITED STATES STATUTES
OP ee ED Nb osa cal eR nescteiesnnevissneres 14
BP De SEPOEED Scewoken deaaebecrcsnonaceeccecnne’s 2
Pe Stas DEON Mma ibd cet besddnde cue Sesnndxednvatneds 15
FEDERAL RULES OF CIVIL PROCEDURE
NN 5 vic WA cS cekwees OC i0s FAAES6 LGA cea RaD Deh KN ws 19
Se PEED Shc kaekade cen cen CORN EKADOSAN CRORE nels Ko 19
OTHER AUTHORITIES
Supreme Court Rule 19 2... csccscesessenesccvcccsessess 2,24
IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1974
NO. 74-1525
ALUMINUM COMPANY OF AMERICA, ET AL,
Petitioners,
Vv.
WOODS EXPLORATION & PRODUCING COMPANY,
INC., ET AL, Respondents.
BRIEF OF WOODS EXPLORATION &
PRODUCING COMPANY, INC., ET AL, IN
OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR
WRIT OF CERTIORARI
OPINIONS BELOW
The slip opinion of the Circuit Court of Appeals, March
13, 1975, No. 72-2792, sought to be reviewed, is set out
in Petitioners’ Appendix, pages 107-128. Motions for
Rehearing and for Rehearing En Banc were denied
April 24, 1975 (Petitioners’ Appendix, page 129).
The opinions of the trial court and Circuit Court of
Appeals providing the justification for denial of this
petition are those of (1) the first opinion of the Fifth
2
Circuit, Woods Exploration & Producing Co. v. Alumi-
num Co. of America, 438 F.2d 1286 (Sth Cir. 1971),
cert. denied, 404 U.S. 1047 (Petitioners’ Appendix, pages
38-96; (2) that of Tom C. Clark, retired Justice of this Hon-
orable Court, who sat specially as the trial judge below
(whose opinion, dated February 6, 1973, is not published
but appears at pages 97-106 in the Petitioners’ Appendix) ;
and (3) the Fifth Circuit Court opinion (dated March
13, 1975, not yet published but appearing at pages 107-
129 in Petitioners’ Appendix).
Other opinions involving some aspect of this self-same
4 lawsuit not set out in Petitioners’ petition are: Woods
Exploration & Producing Co. v. Aluminum Co. of Amer-
ica, 36 F.R.D. 107 (Judge Ingraham—-S.D. Texas, 1963);
Woods Exploration & Producing Co. v. Aluminum Co. of
America, 382 S.W.2d 343 (Tex. 1964) n.r.e.
¥ JURISDICTION
As Petitioners indicate in their petition, jurisdiction is
predicated on 29 U.S.C. 1254 (1). The petition was filed
on June 4, 1975, and counsel for Respondents received
a copy of the same on that date.
PP OUTS hee ee NG
; One searches the petition herein in vain for an indica-
: tion of its compliance with the considerations set out in
; Supreme Court Rule 19.
QUESTIONS PRESENTED
Stripped of the invectives, the editorializing, and the
ostentatious use of adjectives by the Petitioners, the ques-
tion. presented by Petitioners here is whether or not they
have finally had their day(s) in court as to this piece of
litigation.
ives LORS ITU PL AIR ONAN NS
ee eT ee
Tee bay
ee
3
This case, in most of its aspects, has now been heard
and reviewed by two juries (first trial, six weeks; second
trial, one month); two Federal District Court Judges
(Ingraham and Singleton)—one on two different oc-
casions (Singleton); one retired Justice of this Honorable
Court, sitting specially as District Judge (Tom C. Clark) ;
two different panels of the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals
(Judges Brown, Goldberg, and Clark, first; then, Cole-
man, Ainsworth, and Simpson); reviewed by the entire
Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals twice on motions for en
banc hearings; by the Texas Court of Civil Appeals, 382
S.W.2d 343, and by the Texas Supreme Court, writ re-
fused, no reversible error (Tex. 1964; holding that
“Woods” had a cause of action for “Alcoa’s” misuse of
the Railroad Commission’s processes); and there have
been three other opinions of the Texas Supreme Court to
which “Woods” was a party (holding that the gas pro-
duced by Woods did not involve waste and was legally
produced). (Petitioners’ Appendix pages 130 to 179).
This Honorable Court has twice before denied writs of
certiorari in this protracted litigation—once in Railroad
Commission v. Woods Exploration & Producing Co. (Tex.
1966), 405 S.W.2d 313 (Petitioners’ Appendix, pages 130
to 163), cert. denied sub nom, Aluminum Co. of America
v. Woods Exploration, Inc., 385 U.S. 991 (1966), 87
S.Ct. 602, 17 L.Ed.2d 450; and, second, in Woods Explo-
ration & Producing Co. v. Aluminum Co. of America,
438 F.2d 1286 (Sth Cir. 1971) (Petitioners’ Appendix,
pages 38 to 96), where petition from said opinion was
docketed in this Court as Cause No. 1712 at the October
Term, 1970, and writ of certiorari was denied by this
Honorable Court in 1972 in 404 USS. 1047, 92 S.Ct.
701, 30 L.Ed. 736 on “The facts and opinion, D.C. 284
F.Supp. 582; 304 F.Supp. 845; 438 F.2d 1286.”
EPC Oe eR ee ene
Penta hab aici SUR ees A RK RAT IR, FEO SE A a aE
4
It is doubtful that many petitioners to this Court have
had, prior to filing their petitions, such massive due pro-
cess as the Petitioners here. Their real complaint is that
they have not been able to prevail.
STATEMENT
Petitioners, in their “Questions Presented” and in their
“Statement of the Case,” overstate their case. By way
of example, in “Question Presented No. 5” and “Statement
of the Case,” pages 5 and 8, of their Petition, the Petition-
ers state that they have not been permitted to develop
before any jury their contention as to the drainage and
confiscation by Respondents of vast quantities of Petition-
ers’ gas. It is uncontroverted that one of Alcoa’s theories
at the second trial (the one involved here) was that the
extraction plant was not economically feasible at the time
construction was proposed because, at the time, Alcoa
et al were challenging in the Texas courts the legality of
the 1/3—2/3 formula and the Railroad Commission’s
allowing multiple completions on Woods’ small town-lot
wells (See Circuit Court opinion pages 122 and 123,
Petitioners’ Appendix).
The Petitioners again overstate their case by declaring
(page 8 and elsewhere in their Petition), that “the first
trial verdict was perpetually paraded by the judge and
counsel alike befcre the jury.”
For a correct factual background, Respondents re-
spectfully refer the Court to: (1) the first opinion of the
Court of Appeals, 438 F.2d 1300 (Petitioners’ Appendix,
38-45 and 62-64); (2) the Memorandum Opinion of the
Trial Judge on February 6, 1973 (Petitioners’ Appendix
pages 97-106), and (3) the second opinion of the Court
of Appeals on March 13, 1975 (Pages 111-113, Petition-
ers’ Appendix).
Hil.
5
REASONS FOR NOT ALLOWING THE WRIT
I.
IT WAS PROPER FOR THE JURY IN THE
SECOND TRIAL TO BE INFORMED OF THE
OUTCOME OF THE PRIOR LITIGATION, SINCE
THE ISSUE BEFORE THE JURY IN THE SEC-
OND TRIAL PRESUMED THE EARLIER FIND-
INGS ON THE MONOPOLIZATION ISSUE.
(Reply to Petitioner’s Question Presented for Re-
view #1 and Reason Number I for Allowing the
Writ, Petitioner’s Petition, pages 4 and 14)
. THE UNDERLYING PURPOSE OF RULE 54(b)
WAS SERVED BY THE CONSOLIDATION OF
SEPARATE APPEALS FROM THE JUDGMENT
ON THE MONOPOLIZATION ISSUE AND FROM
THE JUDGMENT ON THE EXTRACTION PLANT
ISSUE, FOR THE PURPOSE OF ORAL ARGU-
MENT AND DECISION BY THE COURT OF AP-
PEALS, WHERE THE PETITIONERS SUFFERED
NO INJURY BY PARTIAL FINAL JUDGMENT
UNDER RULE 42(b).
(Reply to Petitioner’s Question Presented for Re-
view #2 and Reason Number II for Allowing the
Writ, Petitioner’s Petition, pages 2 and 15)
ON THE SECOND TRIAL, THE COURT PROP-
ERLY REFUSED TO RESUBMIT ANTITRUST
LIABILITY TO THE JURY AND LIMITED THE
TRIAL TO THE ISSUE OF DAMAGES FLOWING
FROM ALCOA, ET AL’S INTERFERENCE WITH
THE LIQUID EXTRACTION PLANT THROUGH
THEIR CONCERNED ACTIVITY.
(Reply to Petitioner’s Question Presented for Re-
view #3 and Reason Number II for Allowing the
Writ, Petitioner’s Petition, pages 5 and 15)
6
IV. THE TRIAL COURT PROPERLY DENIED, AT
THE FIRST TRIAL, EVIDENCE OF DRAINAGE
AND TEXAS SUPREME COURT DECISIONS,
WHICH HELD THAT WOODS, ET AL (RE-
SPONDENTS) PRODUCED FROM THE COM-
MON RESERVOIR MORE GAS THAN THAT
UNDERLYING THEIR TRACTS, ON THE ISSUE
OF MONOPOLIZATION; WHERE THERE WAS
NO DISPUTE OVER THE FACT AND THAT ALL
OF THE GAS DRAINED FROM UNDER PETI-
TIONER’S PROPERTY WAS LEGALLY PRO-
DUCED.
*
bY
2
5
a
%
at
es
V. PETITIONERS WERE NOT DENIED THE RIGHT
TO DEVELOP BEFORE ANY JURY THE
CLAIMED DRAINAGE AND CONFISCATION OF
VAST QUANTITIES OF PETITIONERS’ GAS BY
RESPONDENT.
(Reply to Petitioner’s Question Presented for Re-
view #4 and +5 and Reason Number III for
Allowing the Writ, Petitioner’s Petition, pages 5
and 16)
Blah OGD Noe Rebel Naina Mine aK aor ata eA Kciataets Bs
SANs sede
VI. THE TRIAL COURT CORRECTLY GAVE IN-
STRUCTION NO. 32 TO THE JURY, BECAUSE
IT FOLLOWED THE HOLDING OF THE U. S.
SUPREME COURT AND RELATED TO THE
QUESTION OF SOUTHEASTERN’S PREPARED-
NESS TO GO FORWARD WITH THE CON-
STRUCTION OF THE PROPOSED EXTRACTION
PLANT.
(Reply to Petitioner’s Question Presented for Re-
view #6 and Reason Number IV for Allowing the
Writ, Petitioner’s Petition, pages 6 and 16)
Yc a ER eatin it Bi Dike 52 es Sed a a
ie ecacetesinisnnmesy se
|
x
.
7
ARGUMENT
Petitioners resort to the word, “trifurcated,” in a Madi-
son-Avenue effort to mask a specious argument which has
been considered and rejected by the Fifth Circuit Court
twice and once by Associate Justice Clark (Retired). In
fact, the same argument was presented by these Petitioners
in their prior petition for certiorari filed from the first
opinion of the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals (404 U.S.
1047).
The simple fact is that the question of liability under
the Act (monopolization) was tried to a jury one time
(304 F.Supp. 845, page 847, 438 F.2d 1286, pages 1290-
1291). Growing out of that monopolization, Respondents
contended they had been damaged by the monopolization
of the Petitioners in “drilling for, producing and trans-
porting gas” (Question No. 2) in two respects: (1) the
pipeline and (2) the extraction plant. That first jury was
allowed to pass on only one phase of the damage issue—
the pipeline. When the Fifth Circuit Court reversed, it
simply said that the Respondents should be allowed to
prove, if they could, their damages regarding the extrac-
tion-plant phase of the damages, which extraction plant
had been thwarted by the concerted efforts of Petitioners.
The Trial Judge (Clark) on remand faithfully followed
the instructions of the Court of Appeals on this phase of
the damages and was affirmed for having done so, by the
same Fifth Circuit Court, which had ordered it done.
In one form or another, these Petitioners have repeat-
edly urged their argument of “drainage and confiscation.”
Indeed, the second jury spent several days listening to
this kind of evidence. It was this very evidence which
prompted Justice Clark in Instruction 32 to advise the
8
jury that lawful acts lost their “character (as such) when
they become constitutent elements of an unlawful scheme.”
The only newcomer, relatively speaking, to Petitioners’
stable of complaints, is as to the verdict in the first trial
which retired Justice Clark read to the jury as background
to explain the why of the evidence and issues in the second
jury trial. Even this has been passed on by the trial judge
and the Fifth Circuit panel which decided the case.
I.
IT WAS PROPER FOR THE JURY IN THE
SECOND TRIAL TO BE INFORMED OF THE
OUTCOME OF THE PRIOR LITIGATION,
SINCE THE ISSUE BEFORE THE JURY IN
THE SECOND TRIAL PRESUMED THE EAR-
LIER FINDINGS ON THE MONOPOLIZATION
ISSUE.
The Court of Appeals (page 121, Petitioners’ Ap-
pendix) clearly held the above.
The Trial Court’s charge to the jury on the prior ver-
dict, was invited by Petitioners. The Trial Court’s mem-
orandum opinion reflects the course of events:
“The Court in the first draft of the charge sum-
marized the jury findings at the first trial concerning
defendants’ monopolization of the extraction of gas
from Appling Field. When the defendants objected
that the characterization was not full and complete,
the Court then incorporated the whole verdict in
the charge. The defendants then objected to the
whole charge being read. The case was submitted on
the theory that the monopolization charge had been
established at the prior trial.” (Petitioners’ Appendix
104).
9
Petitioners again overstate their case when they say,
on Page 21 of their Petition, that the verdict was ad-
mitted for all purposes. The Court instructed the prospec-
tive jurors of the very limited purpose of the prior verdict
in considering the submitted issues (Circuit Court of Ap-
peals No. 73-1633, Appendix, 565-566). The court in his
charge also told the impaneled jury substantially the same
thing by Instruction Number 4, only in stronger terms,
as follows:
“Except where it is stated to the contrary in this
charge, you are specially instructed that the former
jury verdict and the answers therein do not constitute
any evidence in this trial and are not to be given
any weight or consideration whatsoever by you in
arriving at your answers to the issues to be submitted
to you for determination. You are instructed that
the matters tried in this trial were not tried or passed
upon in the former trial and that the issues submitted
to you for your verdict were not covered or included
in the former trial or in the verdict therein. You are
strictly admonished that you are to draw no favor-
able or unfavorable inferences from the jury verdict
in the former trial or any part thereof, either in favor
of or against any of the parties to this case, but are
to decide the issues put to you strictly on the evi-
dence which you have heard during this trial” (Cir-
ve Court of Appeals No. 73-1633, Appendix, 82-
3).
Absent any indication to the contrary, this Court must
assume that the jury followed the court’s instructions.
Lifetime Siding, Inc. v. U.S., 359 F.2d 657 at 661: Fair-
mount Glass Works v. Cub Fork Coal Co., 287 U.S. 474
at 485, 53 S.Ct. 252.
10
Petitioners also overstate their case on Page 21 of their
petition, when they say counsel flaunted the prior jury
verdict before the second jury and suggested to the second
jury that it should do the same thing to Alcoa that the
first jury had done. This is denied. However, Petitioners’
contention that the trial judge committed reversible error
by allowing Respondents’ counsel to utilize the prior
verdict in their jury arguments, if error at all, is fore-
closed by the fact that no objection was interposed to such
arguments. Travelers Insurance Co. v. Bell, 188 F.2d
725, 726 (Sth Cir. 1951); and Nowell v. Dick, 413 F.2d
1204, 1212-1213 (Sth Cir. 1969).
It is argued, on Page 19 of Petitioners’ petition, that
the submission of the verdict to the jury was improper
because it was not a final, unappealable verdict, and
they had in fact appealed such verdict. /nternational Shoe
Mach. Corp. v. United Shoe Mach. Corp., 315 F.2d 449 (ist
Cir. 1963), cert. den’d 375 U.S. 820 (1963), cited by
Petitioners, is not in point. In IJnternational Shoe, the
Court of Appeals sustained the District Court’s refusal to
accept in evidence the prior government judgment because
of the time gap between the activities of the Defendant
relied upon by the government and those relied upon by
the Plaintiff. Obviously, such a distinction does not exist
in the present case.
The cases cited in the footnote on Page 19 of Petition-
ers’ Petition only state the well-established rule that, under
§5(a), the government’s decree must be final before
admissible in a subsequent civil action.
The portion of the prior jury’s verdict to which Petition-
ers devote the major thrust of their complaint is Question
11
No. 2, wherein the jury found Petitioners, with F. E.
Appling and/or others, monopolized, etc. Any contention
by Petitioners that this finding is not final is foreclosed
by the decision of the Court of Appeals in 438 F.2d 1286,
at 1304, wherein it was held:
“We find that Plaintiffs have satisfied the evidentiary
requirements of the offense of monopolization.”
and, at 1307, where it was held:
“that the jury could find on this state of the facts
that defendants possessed monopoly power in the
Appling Field within the meaning of the Act.”
What other finding of the prior jury can Petitioners
complain of as having been improperly submitted to the
second jury because not final? Petitioners cannot and
would not, of course, complain of the reading to the
jury of Finding No. 1, which was favorable to Petitioners.
The jury’s answers to Questions 3(a) and 3(c) could
not have harmed Petitioners in the instant trial in that
such findings related only to Stanley C. Woods, individu-
ally, and to Woods Exploration & Producing Company;
and, particularly, since the trial court below had instructed
the jury in its charge that “Plaintiff Stanley C. Woods and
Woods Exploration & Producing Company having intro-
duced no evidence entitling them to have their case sub-
mitted to the jury” only as to the Plaintiff, Southeastern
Pipeline Company (Instruction No. 42, Circuit Court of
Appeals No. 73-1633, Appendix, 97).
Finding 3(b) was favorable to Petitioners and could
have redounded only to Petitioners’ benefit in the eyes of
12
the second jury. The same is true of Finding No. 4, that
Fred A. Wolcott did not sign Exhibit No. 85-A (7-A in
the second trial). In fact, the previous jury’s Finding No.
4 was so favorable to Petitioners that they made almost
endless attempts to relitigate the same question in the sec-
ond trial.
The prior jury’s Finding No. 5 that Petitioners and
F. E. Appling prevented Fred Wolcott from signing Ex-
hibit No. 85-A, was affirmed and ordered reinstated by
this Court. It was made more than abundantly clear to the
second jury that Southeastern relied on the oral agree-
ment between Robert Topper on behalf of Lumar, and
Woods, on behalf of Southeastern, for the construction
and operation of the extraction plant. Parenthetically, 7-A
was only introduced by Respondents because the trial
court stated that it would grant Petitioners’ request for a
continuance if it were not going to be introduced by Re-
spondents (Circuit Court of Appeals No. 73-1633, Ap-
pendix 572, 573).
Respondents submit that it is obvious that the jury in
the second trial was advised of the prior jury’s findings
only in order to remove the void in the trial insofar as the
monopolization issue was concerned.
Glen Falls Ins. Co. v. Yarborough, 396 S.W.2d 200
(Tex. Civ. App. 1965), writ ref'd n.r.e., and Looney v.
Traders & General Ins. Co., 231 S.W.2d 735 (Tex. Civ.
App. 1950) writ ref'd n.r.e., cited by Petitioners, were
state court cases and are not factually or procedurally ap-
plicable to this case.
Petitioners’ real contention is that the jury should not
have been informed of the prior jury verdict because Peti-
at SSS et sie PLL EIS LI OTE ELE, LAE ELLER IRE RE OL TL re
13
tioners having appealed from the partial judgment, there
was no final judgment; therefore, it was still, so to speak,
in limbo. But not so. The jury findings as to monopoliza-
tion (Question No. 2 of first verdict), the Petitioners’ pre-
vention of the use of a joint pipeline with Lumar and the
option to participate in the building of a joint extract-
tion plant (Question No. 5 of first verdict) are, in view
of the U. S. Supreme Court’s denial of a writ of certiorari,
as between the parties, as final and binding as any judg-
ment entered on such finding can be.
Further, the reasoning in Sec. 5(a) cases fails in the
instant case simply because, if the first verdict should be
overturned by the appellate court, then the verdict in the
second trial would necessarily also fall. However, when
the verdict in the first trial was sustained, then—to all in-
tents and purposes— what was submitted to the second
jury by the trial court’s charge was, even under Peti-
tioners’ theory, a final verdict.
It is not error to acquaint a jury with a prior verdict or
proceedings between the same parties. See Beetler vy. Sales
Affiliates, Inc., 431 F.2d 651, pages 654-655, (7th Cir.
1970), United States v. Bucon Construction Co., 430
F.2d 420, page 425 (Sth Cir. 1970), Gottesmann v.
General Motors Corp., 414 F.2d 956, pages 963 to 965
(2nd Cir. 1969), cert. den’d 403 U.S. 911, Cirillo vy.
Commissioner of Internal Revenue, 314 F.2d 478, at 482
(3rd Cir. 1964); Stagecrafters-Club, Inc. v. District of
Columbia Division of American Legion, 111 F. Supp. 127,
128-129 (D.C. 1953), followed in United States v.
Wainer, 211 F.2d 669, 671 (7th Cir. 1954), cert. den’d
355 U.S. 815.
14
Il.
THE UNDERLYING PURPOSE OF RULE 54(b)
WAS SERVED BY THE CONSOLIDATION OF
SEPARATE APPEALS FROM THE JUDGMENT
ON THE MONOPOLIZATION ISSUE AND FROM
THE JUDGMENT ON THE EXTRACTION
PLANT ISSUE, FOR THE PURPOSE OF ORAL
ARGUMENT AND DECISION BY THE COURT
OF APPEALS, WHERE THE PETITIONERS
SUFFERED NO INJURY BY PARTIAL FINAL
JUDGMENT UNDER RULE 42(b).
In order to meet Petitioners’ contention that, somehow
or other, the separate trial of the second damage issue
(extraction plant) had been tainted by the first jury trial
and the partial judgment covering liability and one dam-
age issue (pipeline), the Fifth Circuit Court consolidated
the appeal of the Petitioners taken from the entry of the
partial judgment (re: the pipeline) which had been pre-
viously argued, with their appeal taken from the judgment
entered as a result of the trial of the second element of
damages (extraction plant). Following such consolida-
tion, further argument was ordered before the court. By
this process, the appellate court obviously considered all
aspects of Petitioners’ objections and, as it said, satisfied
the “underlying purpose of Rule 54(b)” (see pages 113
and 114 of Petitioners’ Appendix).
28 U.S.C. Rule 42(b) clearly provides for separate
trials, in the furtherance of convenience or to avoid pre-
judice or when separate trials will be conducive to expedi-
tion and economy, of any claim, separate issue, or number
of claims or issues, as follows:
¥
a Me ORE BETTE ae et a ea teehee te
15
“SEPARATE TRIALS. The court, in furtherance of
convenience or to avoid prejudice, or when separate
trials will be conducive to expedition and economy,
may order a separate trial of any claim, cross-claim,
counter-claim, or third-party claim, or of any issue
or of any number of claims, cross-claims, counter-
claims, third-party claims, or issues, always preserv-
ing inviolate the right of trial by jury as declared by
the Seventh Amendment to the Constitution or as
given by a statute of the United States.”
The appellate court’s actions under 28 U.S.C. 2111
make the claimed error harmless. Said rule reads as fol-
lows:
“On the hearing of any appeal or writ of certiorari in
any case, the court shall give judgment after an ex-
amination of the record without regard to errors or
defects which do not affect the substantial rights of
the parties.”
There is no possible harm to Petitioners by the court’s
entry of the final partial judgment. Since there can be
no question but that the trial court was duty bound
to reinstate the jury verdict, had the trial court in the
exercise of his discretion determined not to enter a final
partial judgment, what would have been the status of
the case? Certainly, Respondents would have their first
verdict. When the trial on the issues as to an extraction
plant culminated, as it did, in a verdict for Respond-
ents, the court would then have been duty bound to
enter a judgment on both verdicts with interest running
from the respective dates of the verdicts, thus reaching
the same result.
On the first trial of the case and first opinion of the
Court of Appeals, writ of certiorari denied, Petitioners
16
asserted the right to have an injunction against the prose-
Cution of the state court case and the authority for the par-
tial final judgment was to protect them; and the entry of
the trial judge, in the second trial, benefited them as well
as Respondents. The Court of Appeals in the first case
(pages 84 to 94 of Petitioners’ Appendix).
Contrary to the statement on Page 22 and Page 23 of
Petitioners’ Petition, the Circuit Court of Appeals, writ
denied, in the first opinion, did not hold that Respon-
dents’ original suit was solely centered on the question of
false nominations. It recognized (pages 61 and 62 of
Petitioners’ Appendix) that in Respondents’ Original Peti-
tion, Respondents asserted other grounds for recovery
besides the false nominations. Also see Woods Explora-
tion & Producing Company, Inc., v. Aluminum Company
_ of America, et al, 36 F.R.D. 107, page 112 (1963).
Ii.
ON THE SECOND TRIAL, THE COURT PROP-
| ERLY REFUSED TO RE-SUBMIT ANTITRUST
LIABILITY TO THE JURY AND LIMITED THE
TRIAL TO THE ISSUE OF DAMAGES FLOW-
ING FROM ALCOA, ET AL’S INTERFERENCE
; WITH THE LIQUID EXTRACTION PLANT
THROUGH THEIR CONCERTED ACTIVITY.
The Circuit Court of Appeals in the second opinion
(see pages 119, 120 and 121 of Petitioners’ Appendix)
held that the extraction plant issue was not so wholly
separated as to require the re-submission of the antitrust-
liability question to the jury.
Monopolization of the production and transportation
of gas from the Appling Field having been established by
jury verdict the Defendants’ witness Reiss, (Court of Ap-
LOLI OLN CV LL IL RON SPREE RE LENE AC ee
17
peals 73-1633 App. 1424), general manager of Alcoa,
admitted that the prevention of or restrictions on the
production and transportation of gas diectly affected
and/or prevented the extraction of its by-products, as fol-
lows:
“Q. So then the direct effect of stopping production
from the small, town lot owners, if you were suc-
cessful, you will also be successful in stopping them
from using any extraction plant? If it is curtailed,
it would make it uneconomical and if it’s stopped,
it would make it disastrous? That is corect, isn’t it?
A. Yes, sir.”
This admits that the violation of the antitrust laws caused,
or at least was likely to cause, the type of loss and injury
which the second jury found Petitioners, sustained (Jury's
Answer to Question No. Two, second verdict, pages 1(a)
and 1(b) of Petitioners’ Petition for Writ).
In Continental Ore Company v. Union Carbide and
Carbon Corporation, 370 U.S. 690, 698, 82 S.Ct. 1404,
1409 the Supreme Court held that a jury, as the trier of
the facts, must be permitted to draw from circumstantial
evidence (here, direct) the inference that the necessary
causal relationship exists.
There can be no question that, the Court of Appeals
in 438 F.2d 1286, page 1307, established Petitioners’
monopolization of the production and transportation of
gas in the Appling Field. The Trial Judge in the second
trial of this case, was duty-bound to follow that court’s
decision. Consumers Petroleum Co. y. Consumers Co.,
176 F.2d 441, 442 (C.A. 7th Cir. 1949): D.C. Federa-
tion of Civil Associations v. Volpe, 459 F.2d 1231, 1267
(C.A. D.C. 1972). White v. Murtha, 377 F.2d 428 Pages
431, 432 (C.A. 5th Cir. 1967).
18
No one reading the Court’s opinion in 438 F.2d 1286
can reach any other conclusion but that as to the extrac-
tion plant antitrust liability was held to have been estab-
lished and need not be retried. There is a wealth of au-
thority supporting a remand for the determination of one
of several damages issues without again resubmitting the
other damage issues or the issue of liability. Thorpe v.
National City Bank of Tampa, 274 F. 200 (C.A. Sth
Cir. 1921); Mass. Bonding & Insurance Co. v. J. R.
Thompson Co., 88 F.2d 825, 832 and 833 (8th Cir.
1937), cert. denied 301 U.S. 707; American Alliance In-
surance Company v. Brady Transfer and Storage Co.,
101 F.2d 144, 151 (8th Cir. 1939); and Ocean Accident
& Guarantee Corp. v. Penick & Ford, Ltd., 101 F.2d
493, 500 (8th Cir. 1939). Hanover Shoe, Inc. v. United
Shoe Mach, Corp. (M.D. Pa. 1960) 185 F. Supp. 826,
828, affirmed 281 F.2d 481 (3rd Cir.) cert. denied, 364
U.S. 901, 939, 81 S.Ct. 234-237 (Nov. 21, 1960); and
LoCicero v. Humble Oil & Refining Co., 52 F.R.D. 28
(E.D. La. 1971); Blonder-Tongue Laboratories, Inc. v.
University of Illinois Foundation, 402 U.S. 313, 91 S.Ct.
1434 (1971); Washington Gas Light Company v. Con-
nolly, 214 F.2d 254 (C.A. D.C. 1954); Thompson v.
Camp, 167 F.2d 733 (C.A. 6th 1948); May Department
Stores Co. v. Bell, 61 F.2d 830 (C.A. 8th Cir. 1932).
Forty-two years ago the Supreme Court of the United
States laid down the law which permits a separate trial
on unresolved issues. Gasoline Products Co., Inc. v.
Champlin Refining Co., 283 U.S. 494, 51 S.Ct. 513
(1931) in which the Court said:
“Here we hold that, where the requirement of a jury
trial has been satisfied by a verdict according to law
upon one issue of fact that requirement does not
RINE PLANE NER Pe TAL aR TERME 8 rey h mapmecareny ——
19
compel a new trial of that issue even though another
and separable issue must be tried again.” (Page 515)
See also Furr v. Herzmark, 206 F.2d 468, 472 (C.A.
D.C. 1953); Morehead v. Poland, 457 F.2d 694, 696
(C.A. 7th Cir. 1972); Federal Rules of Civ. Pro., Rule
42(b), Separate Trials and Rule 59(a).
IV.
THE TRIAL COURT PROPERLY DENIED, AT
THE FIRST TRIAL, EVIDENCE OF DRAINAGE
AND TEXAS SUPREME COURT DECISIONS,
WHICH HELD THAT WOODS, ET AL (RE-
SPONDENTS) PRODUCED FROM THE COM.
MON RESERVOIR MORE GAS THAN THAT
UNDERLYING THEIR TRACTS, ON THE ISSUE
OF MONOPOLIZATION, WHERE THERE WAS
NO DISPUTE OVER THE FACT AND THAT ALL
OF THE GAS DRAINED FROM UNDER PETI-
TIONERS’ PROPERTY WAS LEGALLY PRO-
DUCED.
V.
PETITIONERS WERE NOT DENIED THE
RIGHT TO DEVELOP BEFORE ANY JURY
THE CLAIMED DRAINAGE AND CONFISCA-
TION OF VAST QUANTITIES OF PETITION-
ERS’ GAS BY RESPONDENT.
The Supreme Court early held in Railroad Commission
of Texas v. Rowan & Nichols Oil Co., 310 USS. 573, 60
S.Ct. 1021, 84 L.Ed. 1368 (1940), that the Supreme Court
of the United States would not interfere with the rulings
of the Railroad Commission of Texas and the regulatory
20
statutes of Texas even though the Railroad Commission
orders permitted drainage of oil and gas from under ad-
joining tracts, in the absence of waste. Also see Railroad
Commission of Texas v. Rowan & Nichols Oil Co., 311
U.S. 570, 61 S.Ct. 343 (1941).
The Circuit Court of Appeals, in its second opinion
(Petitioners’ Appendix 114-116), held that the exclusion
from the jury of two Texas Supreme Court decisions was
proper.
The market demand opinion of the Supreme Court of
Texas (Petitioners’ Appendix, pages 130 to 163) is the
result of an appeal from the granting of a motion for a
summary judgment which required the court to assume
the worst side of the case as to Woods and to assume
facts most favorable for Alcoa on drainage. Further, a
Petition for Writ of Certiorari was filed in the U. S.
Supreme Court by Alcoa to review that state court opinion
and was denied by the U. S. Supreme Court sub nom,
Aluminum Co. of America v. Woods Exploration, Inc.,
385 U.S. 991, 87 S.Ct. 602, 17 L.Ed.(2) 450 (1955).
The Court’s attention is called to the fact that the Supreme
Court of Texas specifically held (page 133 of Petitioners’
Appendix) :
“Waste is not involved, and there is nothing in the
record to suggest that any gas produced from the
Appling Field has been devoted to unlawful uses.”
When Woods became interested in the Appling Field,
he was aware that the Railroad Commission had set the
1/3—2/3 formula; and, on that basis, Woods Explora-
tion and its investors invested considerable sums of money
to drill for the gas, always projecting the probable return
ro we ETE PST SE LA BELT IER DO I TM OT
rE
21
under the applicable rules existing in the field. In Railroad
Commission v. Alcoa, 380 S.W.2d 599 (1964, Petition-
ers’ Appendix, pages 169 to 172) the Supreme Court of
Texas took cognizance of the fact that Alcoa aided in
establishing this very rule, and acquiesced in it for a long
time without complaint. The Texas Supreme Court held
that, after such a long time, it would be inequitable to
overturn the formula where operators had drilled and
completed wells at great expense in reliance on such for-
mula and where contracts had become} stabilized.
The trial judge, in the second trial, on motion for new
trial filed by the Petitioners, overruled their point on the
introduction of evidence of drainage. (See 3[b] and
[d] Petitioners’ Appendix, pgs. 104-105).
VI.
THE TRIAL COURT CORRECTLY GAVE IN-
STRUCTION NO. 32 TO THE JURY, BECAUSE
IT FOLLOWED THE HOLDING OF THE U. S.
SUPREME COURT AND RELATED TO THE
QUESTION OF SOUTHEASTERN’S PREPAR-
EDNESS TO GO FORWARD WITH THE CON-
STRUCTION OF THE PROPOSED EXTRAC-
TION PLANT.
The trial court correctly gave Instruction No. 32, be-
cause it followed the holding of the U. S. Supreme Court
decision in California Motor Transport, Inc. v. Trucking
Unlimited, 44 U.S. 508 (1972); and the Court of Ap-
peals, in its second opinion (Petitioners’ Appendix 122-
123) which held that the Instruction was clearly related
to the question of Southeastern’s preparedness to go for-
ward with the construction of the extraction plant and to
22
the question of the relation of the overall monopolization
finding in the first trial to the damages resulting from
frustrating of the building of Respondent’s extraction
plant.
The trial court, in overruling Petitioners’ motion for
new trial, clearly set out why Instruction No. 32 was
proper and supported by the evidence (3(e) page 105,
Petitioners’ Appendix).
Such instruction was proper because it related to South-
eastern’s contention of an overall and general intent
on the part of Petitioners to destroy Southeastern’s busi-
ness or property in the Appling Field, and did no more
than inform the jury that if the action taken by the Peti-
tioners before the Railroad Commission and the courts
was pursuant to a combination and for the purpose of
harassing and deterring Southeastern, such could be con-
sidered in connection with whether or not Petitioners had
an intent to frustrate and thwart construction of the ex-
traction plant.
Nor did the court’s instruction in anyway unfairly
characterize the Normanna and Claire Benz-Stoddard
cases, nor instruct the jury that they should conclude that
these lawsuits constituted violations of the antitrust laws.
In fact, the Trial Court in Instruction No. 11 told the
jury that “The said Defendants, of. course, had a right
to take such actions.” Circuit Court No. 73-1633, App.
85 and 86). This one sentence in Instruction No. 11
nullifies Petitioners’ contention that Instruction No. 32
was erroneous.
Petitioners next contend that Instruction No. 32 was
erroneous because in the first case Judge Singleton had
determined that the Petitioners’ motive for filing the law-
ype nee ON OL ET ee eee ae 3s ne ads SCO IE GOON GES, Bag AD AT ye MLN
23
Suits and taking action before the Railroad Commission
was not illegal in that there was “probable cause” for such
action. Petitioners contend these conclusions of Judge
Singleton were binding on Justice Clark in the second
trial as the law of the case. All the opinion of Judge
Singleton in 284 F.Supp. 582 held was that the Respond-
ents were not entitled to recover as damages “any loss
or expense which they might have suffered as a result of
any litigation identified in this opinion concerning the
validity of Railroad Commission rules, regulation, or or-
ders.” (Page 595). Southeastern has made no claim in this
suit to recover as damages any legal costs, court costs, or at-
torneys’ fees in connection with the matters referred to in
Judge Singleton’s opinion. The fact that Petitioners might
have probable cause to believe that the challenged Com-
mission orders were invalid in no way immunizes them to
combine and conspire in a course of conduct the pur-
pose of which was to drive Southeastern out of business.
The Court of Appeals, in reversing Judge Singleton’s var-
ious actions and decisions, at no point enunciated any
principles of law regarding action taken by the Peti-
tioners before the Railroad Commission jn seeking a
change in orders or new orders or in the institution and
prosecution of litigation. A matter not decided by an Ap-
pellate Court does not become the laws of the case. Hart-
ford Life Ins. Co. v. Blincoe, 255 U.S. 129, 136 (1921)
and Mutual Life Insurance Co. of New York y. Hill, 193
U.S. 551; Miller's Mut. Fire Ins. Ass'n of Illinois v. Bell,
99 F.2d 289, 292 (8th Cir. 1938). Moreover, our own
Texas courts in Woods Exploration & Producing Co.,
Inc. v. Aluminum Company of America, et al, 382 S.W.
2d 343 n.r.e., cognizant of all of the Texas decisions re-
lied on by Petitioners as proof that it could not have
monopolized the production and transportation of gas in
24
the Appling Field, nevertheless held that Respondents did
have a cause of action under the antitrust laws for misuse
of Railroad Commission procedures and the courts.
United States v. First National Bank and Trust Co. of
Lexington, 263 F.Supp. 268 (E.D. Ky. 1967) cited on
page 34 of Petitioners’ petition is not applicable in this
case. In that case there was a full trial on the merits. Not
so in 284 F.Supp. 582. Petitioners also cite Smith v.
Pittsburgh Gauge and Supply Co., 323 F.Supp. 256 (W.D.
Pa. 1971). If Petitioners had gone a step further and read
the opinion of the Third Circuit Court of Appeals (464
F.2d 870 [1972]) affirming the District Court they would
have discovered that the Smith case does not stand for
the proposition for which Petitioners cite it but on the
contrary supports Respondents in their contention that
Judge Singleton’s opinion in 284 F.Supp. 582 (1968)
on these “probable cause” matters was in no way pro-
hibitive of Justice Clark submitting Instruction No. 32
to the jury in the second trial.
D. C. Federation of Civil Assoc. v. Volpe, 459 F.2d
1231 (D.C. Cir. 1972), cited by Petitioners, also lends
no support to their contentions. There the Court of Ap-
peals simply held that their decision on a previous ap-
peal of the same case which required a remand to the
District Court for hearing, when no Supreme Court re-
view was sought, became the law of the case.
CONCLUSION
As we read Rule 19 of this Court, the only possible
“consideration” there listed which could be urged as
cause for the Court to exercise its “sound judicial dis-
cretion” and grant a review herein on certiorari is to be
found in the last part of 1(b):
25
“Where a Court of Appeals . . . has so far departed
from the accepted and usual course of judicial pro-
ceedings, or so far sanctioned such a departure by
a lower court, as to call for an exercise of this
Court’s power of supervision.”
It seems to us that the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals
in its two opinions (Petitioners’ Appendix 38-96 and 107-
129), taking into account the memorandum opinion of
retired Justice Clark (Petitioners’ Appendix 97-106),
amply demonstrate that this litigation has been handled, inso-
far as Petitioners are concerned, well within the “accepted
and usual course of judicial proceedings” and well within
the intent and purpose of the antitrust laws of the United
States. The Petitioners certainly fail to disclose any sub-
stantive reason for prolonging this litigation beyond its
present age of thirteen (13) years. Respondents respect-
fully urge the proposition that the opinions of the Court
of Appeals at long last lay this litigation to rest on solid
legal principles and recognized authorities as expressed
in the decisions of this Honorable Court. It is, therefore
respectfully prayed that Petitioners’ Application for Writ
of Certiorari be denied.
26
espectfully submitted,
al Life Bldg.
Houston, Texas 77002
(713) 224-6033
HERMAN WRIGHT
MANDEL & WRIGHT
1901 First National Life Bldg.
Houston, Texas 77002
(713) 225-6033
Tom F. CoLeMAN, Jr.
1201 First National Life Bldg.
Houston, Texas 77002
Attorneys for Respondents,
Woops EXPLORATION & PRODUC-
ING COMPANY, INC., STANLEY
C. Woops, SOUTHEASTERN PIPE-
LINE COMPANY
CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE
This is to certify that a true god correct copy of the
foregoing was served on the 2*” “day of June, 1975, on
attorneys for Petitioners, pursuant to Rule 33(1) of this
Court, by placing three (3) copies of the foregoing brief
in opposition to Petitioners’ Petition for Writ of Certiorari
in the U. S. Mail, first class, postage prepaid, addressed
to counsel of record for Petitioners, at his post office ad-
dress of record, thus serving all parties required to be
served.
EVERT J ABLE
DOT:
PRM LE OBA
SIRES MAE EIEN ate ae
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.